Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Liberty Mutual Insurance Company, a Corporation v. Sandra Wetzel and Mari Ross, on Behalf of Themselves and all Other's Similarly Situated

Supreme Court brief1975

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

SANDRA WETZEL and MARI ROSS, on behalf

of themselves and all others similarly situated,

Petitioners,

Vv.

LIBERTY MUTUAL INSURANCE COMPANY,

Respondent.

PeTInon For A Warr or CERTIORARI

TO THE Unrrep States Court or APPEALS

FOR THE THinp Cincurr

INDEX

TABLE OF CITATIONS ..........ceccccccccceee

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI......

COPEINIRING BAAS oo csc c i cece nsnsccnsscsesssece

FUER MED 6 a nGnnhecena eX ccvaveuntenvessen’

QUESTION PRESENTED.................e000-

STATUTORY PROVISION INVOLVED..........

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ................0..

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT.........

The Court of Appeals Has Decided an

Important Question of Federal Law

Which Has Not Been, But Should Be,

DOE OY SUP CAEED, ov cs cewcccecucesacsices

LAAT sock acvadsavanessebacsnssavsnsess

ake —

INDEX TO APPENDIX

Page

Opinion of the United States Court of

SI aeUN Abad dhe dedcnveesceass la

Amended Judgment of the United States

Court of Appeals 2/14/75 ............0.ce eee da

District Court’s Memorandum Order on

Plaintiffs’ Motion to Determine Class

PS aS Les clase takwh de erecuvenecsse 35a

District Court’s Memorandum Order

on Pending Matters 12/6/73 .............-.206. 38a

Opinion of the District Court 1/9/74 ............. 43a

Order of the District Court 1/9/74 ............... T4a

District Court’s Memorandum and Amended

EE cece ssabis bus hoe bred oneobenes 76a

Table of Citations

TABLE OF CITATIONS

Cases

Air Line Stewards & Stewardesses Association

v. American Airlines, Inc., 9 FEP Cases 101

(N.D. Ill., November 18, 1974)................

Alexander v. Gardner-Denver Co., 415 U.S.

Se CE Grae cece aN ea Ad hh Gk Ghia hee on

Bartmess v. Drewrys U.S.A., Inc., 444 F.2d

1186 (7th Cir. 1971), cert. denied, 404 U.S.

We MTD eaehbe shah Vaated sh cies Rd cbs becnss

Boudreaux v. Baton Rouge Marine Contracting Co.,

437 F.2d 1011 (5th Cir. 1971) .................

Hamm v. City of Rock Hill, 379 U.S. 306 (1964) ....

Macklin v. Spector Freight Systems, Inc., 478 F.2d

Se EEE sie wpacccacbasadcesaniners

McDonnell Douglas Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S.

ere ea bes Cains sicne sakes bcc es

Strauss v. Douglas Aircraft Co., 404 F.2d 1152

MCCS LK Rr eich oe se s.0e bs 94090600

United States v. Masonry Contractors Association,

497 F.2d 871 (6th Cir. 1974) ..................

STATUTES AND RuLes or Court

Pub. L. No. 92-261, §4(a), 86 Stat. 104 .............

Be Us, SUPER) CFE baba ccdscecnsicsercsicss

ns ee IE ia bv ew 6550 ne 6.65 00s'en 0000s 0%

TE UBAs, Ferre OE OO. chs vicccicnvescsncncvess

42 U.S.C. §2000e-5(d) (1970)...................0..

42 U.S.C.A. §2000e-5(e) (1974) ................28..

42 U.S.C. §2000e-6(a) (1970) .................0.0..

42 U.S.C.A. §2000e-6(c) (1974) ...............0008

OTHER SOURCES

Remarks of Senator Humphrey, 110 Cong. Rec.

PE cc idwekikeheswi wed ei cawiwadesans

Remarks of Senator Javits, 110 Cong. Rec. 14191

SEP Rc ce Rhed Nee eb tbRad een dsaakibibeseene

a

|

|

|

|

|

|

|

'

'

|

|

;

}

'

'

|

j

OG LE

tel

A PRT Fan AD

gn the

Supreme Court of the United States

Ocroser TERM, 1974

No. 74-

SANDRA WETZEL and MARI ROSS, on behalf

of themselves and all others similarly situated,

Petitioners,

Vv.

LIBERTY MUTUAL INSURANCE COMPANY,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A Writ oF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNireD STATES CourT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

Petitioners Sandra Wetzel and Mari Ross pray that a

writ of certiorari issue to review that portion of the judgment

of the United States Court of Appeals entered on January 23,

1975, which vacated the judgment of the United States

District Court for the Western District of Pennsylvania

entered in favor of former employees of Liberty Mutual

Insurance Company who left the employ of Respondent

more than 210 days before the filing of Petitioners’

administrative charge with the Equal Employment Oppor-

tunity Commission.

2 Opinions Below, Jurisdiction

and Question Presented

OPINIONS BELOW

The following opinions are printed in the Appendix to

this Petition:

1. Opinion of the Court of Appeals dated January 23,

1975, as amended, February 25, 1975, reported at 508 F.2d

239 (3rd Cir. 1975) (1a);!

2. Unreported Memorandum Order of the District

Court dated August 16, 1972, holding that Petitioners’ action

was maintainable as a class action, but limiting the class to

present and future employees of the Respondent (35a);

3. Unreported Memorandum Order of the District’

Court dated December 6, 1973, which, inter alia, redefined

the class to include former employees (38a);

4. Opinion and Order of the District Court dated

January 9, 1974, granting Petitioners’ motion for partial

summary judgment on liability (43a, 74a). The opinion is

reported at 372 F. Supp. 1146 (W.D. Pa. 1974);

5. Unreported Memorandum and Amended Order of

the District Court dated March 19, 1974, entering judgment

in accordance with Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(b) (76a).

JURISDICTION

The opinion and judgment of the Court of Appeals were

issued on January 23, 1975. This Petition for Certiorari is

filed within ninety days therefrom. The jurisdiction of this

Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. §1254(1) (1970).

QUESTION PRESENTED

Is the time provision for filing a charge with the Equal

Employment Opportunity Commission contained in section

“a” references herein are to the designated page number of the

Appendix.

PELE AI OY ICL OE SLI I OS PEC LGS EPA NEE RIE NAR SE NCE MSG AB a SN LE WET BLE My

aioe ST TRL, CPM FETE LS REAL YY TARE APL OE See ONE TUE ME dae DOIN” OED: Lai SUAS? =,

Statutory Provision Involved , : 3

706(d) of the Civil Rights Act of 1964? a jurisdictional bar to

recovery in a private “pattern and practice” class action

where the employer’s discriminatory practices are shown to

have been continuous from the effective date of the Act until

after the filing of a charge?

STATUTORY PROVISION INVOLVED

The statutory provision involved is section 706(d) of the

Civil Rights Act of 1964,5 42 U.S.C. §2000e-5(d) (1970),

which provided:

§2000e-5. Enforcement provisions.

(d) Time for filing charges after occurrence of unlawful

practices or termination of State or local enforcement |

proceedings; filing of charges by Commission with

State or local agency.

A charge under subsection (a) of this section shall

be filed within ninety days after the alleged unlawful

employment practice occurred, except that in the case

of an unlawful employment practice with respect to

which the person aggrieved has followed the procedure

set out in subsection (b) of this section, such charge shall

be filed by the person aggrieved within two hundred

and ten days after the alleged unlawful emp pyment

practice occurred, or within thirty days after receiving |

notice that the State or local agency has terminated the

proceedings under the State or local law, whichever is_,

earlier, and a copy of such charge shall be filed by the

Commission with the State or local agency.

242 U.S.C.§2000e-5(d) (1970), now, as amended, 42 U.S.C.A. §2000e- °

S(e) (1974).

3The subsection was, amended by the Equal Employment Oppor-

tunity Act of 1972, Pub. L. No. 92-261, §4(a), 86 Stat. 104, to extend the

time for iiling charges and to add the requirement that notice of the charge

be served on the employer within ten days after filing. See 42 U.S.C.A.

§2000e-5(e) (1974). The effective date of the amendment was March 24,

1972, after the filing of the Petitioners’ Complaint in the District Court.

area

4 Statement of the Case

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This action was commenced as a class action under Title

VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C, §§2000e et seq..,

to obtain injunctive, declaratory and monetary relief.

Petitioners have, successfully challenged Respondent's

_ ‘hiring, promotion and pregnancy related practices as sex

discriminatory. Respondent i is a casualty insurance company

with offices throughout the United States. Both men and

women are employed in the Claims Department in what the

Respondent classifies as a “technical” capacity. Within the

“technical” classification are Claims Adjusters and Claims

Representatives, each of whose basic function is the

application of the necessary technical skills to investigate

and bring about'the proper disposition of claims. While each

_ is anentry level position open to college graduates, the salary

of an Adjuster is considerably higher than that of a

Representative. The opportunities for promotion are

unlimited for the Adjuster; they are severely limited for the

Representative. Prior to the Petitioners’ filing of charges

with the EEOC, the position of Adjuster was staffed

predom inantly by‘malcs; the position of Representative was

staffed predominantly by females.

Respondent’s employment policies relating to preg-

nancy have varied somewhat since the July 2, 1965, effective

date of Title VII. From 1948 until March, 1967, a pregnant

employee was not permitted to work beyond her sixth

month of pregnancy under any circumstances and was

discharged by the Resporident at that time. In March, 1967,

Respondent modified its leave policy slightly so that a

pregnant employee was not discharged until after her eighth

month of pregnancy. This policy of automatic termination

continued until September, 1970, when, as an‘alternative to

discharge, Respondent required its employees to take

uncompensated leaves of absence after the eighth month of

pregnancy and to return to work no later than six months

ORL EO CORRELL AI LO NE ani

WAP scat: OF 4s

Statement of the Case 5

from the commencement of the leave or three months from

the date of delivery, whichever came first. The policy was

modified to its present form in November, 1971, to enable an

employee to work prior to delivery for as long as her

physician verifies her ability to continue. The same

mandatory return dates, which apply only to maternity

leaves and not to other leaves of absence for other temporary

disabilities, remain in force.

Respondent also requires its employees to participate in

an income protection plan as a condition of employment.

The plan, which is funded in part through mandatory

employee contributions, provides employees with income

during periods of disability. Respondent pays no benefits

under the income protection plan for any disability related

to pregnaycy. Leaves or temporary absences due to

pregnancy related disabilities are not covered.

Mrs. Wetzel worked for Respondent as a Claims

Representative from J uly, 1967, until August, 1973. Mrs. Ross

worked for Respondent as a Claims Representative from

early 1970 to September, 1972. On May 14, 1971, Petitioners,

who were employed at Respondent's Pittsburgh office, filed

charges of sex discrimination with the Equal Employment

Opportunity Commission. They had filed a previous charge

with the appropriate state agency. After the EEOC issued

right to sue letters, Petitioners commenced this nationwide

class action on February 28, 1972, alleging that the

Respondent's hiring and promotion policies and its preg-

nancy related policies as to the female technical employees

in its Claims Department violated Title VII.‘

On August 16, 1972, the District Court ordered that the

suit was maintainable as a class action and that the

‘Petitioners alleged further that Respondent's policy of paying higher

salaries to Claims Adjusters than to Claims Representatives is unlawful. -

Since this claim was not susceptible of summary judgment treatment, a

non-jury trial was had. The trial was concluded in January, 1975. Final

judgment has yet to be entered.

AA AO Sin Sari cteeddiieiadaiaemmmaeeae __)

@

¥

E

stceaihiiiaediemaiaiiene.

6 Statement of the Case

nationwide class would include present and future female

technical employees in Respondent's Claims Department.

On December 6, 1973, the District Court amended its order

and defined the class as follows:

“The class represented by plaintiffs shall include all

female technical employees who were, are, or will be

employed in the defendant's claims department from

and after July 2, 1965, without limitation to territory in

the entire geographical area where defendant does

business.”

On January 9, 1974, the District Court ruled that the

Respondent’s hiring, promotion and pregnancy related

practices were violative of Title VII. The Court also found

that Respondent’s policies of denying the benefits of its

income protection plan to females with pregnancy related

disabilities and of requiring such employees to return to

work within a time limit applicable to no other disability or

to be fired were the “proper subject of injunctive

relief.”(75a). On February 20, 1974, the District Court,

pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(b), directed the entry of final

judgment on the pregnancy related issues. On March 19,

1974, the District Court, again pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P.

54(b), directed the entry of final judgment on the hiring and

promotion issues.

Respondent took separate appeals from the February

20 and March 19, 1974, orders. In Wetzel v. Liberty Mutual

Insurance Co.,__F .2d (No. 74-1233, 3rd Cir., February

11, 1975), petition for cert. docketed at No. 74-1245,

Respondent asserted that the District Court had erred in

finding its pregnancy related practices unlawful. The Court

of Appeals affirmed the summary judgment, holding that

“Liberty Mutual’s income protection plan and maternity

leave policy are violative of Title VII of the 1964 Civil Rights

Act.” Id., slip opinion at 17.

a: WER

CIEE EF LEIA NTR TELE LE IT TENT TEEN TINT

Statement of the Case 7

In the appeal which resulted in the judgment challenged :

here by Petitioners, Respondent contended that the District :

Court had erred in finding the challenged hiring and

promotion practices violative of Title VII and in resolving

the class action aspects of this case. In Wetzel v. Liberty

Mutual Insurance Co., 508 F.2d 239 (No. 74-1515, 3rd Cir.,

January 23, 1975) (la),° a separate panel of the Court of

Appeals affirmed the District Court’s judgment in all

respects except the one challenged here by Petitioners.

Relevant to this Petition, the Court of Appeals held that:

(1) the claims of employees who left the employ of

Respondent more than 210 days before the filing of

charges with the EEOC by Petitioners were time barred

by the “statute of limitations” contained in section

706(d) of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 (8a); and

(2) since the filing of a charge with the EEOC is a

“jurisdictional” requirement, the Court could consider

the issue on appeal even though Respondent failed to

raise it in the District Court (7a, n. 8).

The Court of Appeals vacated that part of the District

Court’s judgment in favor of the Kespondent’s former

employees whose claims were held to be time barred. @

IASG EYES LT EIN LOL LSI LE TEI TD

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The Court of Appeals Has Decided an Important Question

of Federal Law Which Has Not Been, But Should Be,

Settled By This Court.

This case involves an issue of national importance

concerning the administration of Title VII of the Civil Rights

Act of 1964 in a class action context. On the one hand, the

Court of Appeals held Respondent’s discriminatory hiring

and promotion practices to be continuing violations of Title

‘Liberty Mutual Insurance Company sought and received two stays

of the mandate of the Court of Appeals. It has filed its own Petition For

Writ Of Certiorari with this Court at No. 74-1288.

22

RS

<5 Khe ve

ih Sa) Rin ac . Fes Sle 7 EEE PINGS S OES LIP EE LOTS EG TNA OIE Be ty Ce |

OE Se aaa a cle eee Mea Ces re cae a

e Pe AB aes ee ot

8 Statement of the Case

VII which would have permitted the filing of a charge with

the EEOC by a present employee at any time (8a).° The

Court of Appeals also held that a plaintiff can maintain a

class action on behalf of employees who had not filed

charges with the EEOC (7a). On the other hand, however,

the Court held that employees who had left the

Respondent’s employ more than 210 days before the

Petitioners filed their charges could no longer file charges

with the EEOC, and that those females therefore must be

excluded from the class for failure to satisfy a “jurisdictional”

prerequisite to suit in the District Court (7-8a).

Petitioners contend, initially, that the former em-

ployees’ inability to comply with the time provision

contained in section 706(d) does not erect a jurisdictional

impediment to suit.‘ This provision is merely part of an

administrative remedy which must be exhausted by one

individual litigant, not the entire class of aggrieved

employees. The purpose of the provision is to ensure that the

purported grievance is not stale and to afford the EEOC the

opportunity to investigate and conciliate. See Boudreaux v.

Baton Rouge Marine Contracting Co., 437 F.2d 1011 (5th

Cir. 1971). Here, Respondent was apprised of the charges

and was afforded ample time to conciliate and change its

practices. And while the Respondent was found to have

modified its hiring and promotion practices subsequent to

the filing of the charges, its other employment practices

remain unaltered.

*This holding is consistent with established law. See, e.g., Macklin v.

Spector Freight Systems, Inc., 478 F.2d 979 (D.C. Cir. 1973); Bartmess v.

Drewrys U.S.A., Inc., 444 F.2d 1186 (7th Cir. 1971), cert. denied, 404 U.S.

939 (1971).

“While Petitioners are aware that this Court has stated twice that the

timely filing of a charge with the EEOC is a “jurisdictional” prerequisite,

McDonnell Douglas Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S. 792 (1973); Alexander v.

Gardner-Denver Co., 415 U.S. 987 (1974), in neither case was the

statement necessary to this Court’s holding or made in a class action

context.

Statement of the Case )

Since it is unnecessary for more than one employee to

file charges with the EEOC as a prerequisite to a Title VII

class action suit, it was unnecessary for any former employee

of Respondent to attempt to file charges with the EEOC.

Once the administrative process initiated by Petitioners had

ceased, former employees could file suit directly in the

District Court. The legislative history concerning the

administrative procedure is revealing. In addressing the

issue of whether any filing with the EEOC is necessary,

Senator Javits stated:

“The Commission does not hold the key to the

courtroom door. The only thing this title [Title VII}

gives the Commission is time in which to find that there

has been a violation and time in which to seek

conciliation ... .

“But, Mr. President, that is not a condition

precedent to the action of taking a defendant into court.

A complainant has an absolute right to go into court, and

this provision does not affect that right at all.” 110 Cong.

Rec. 14191 (1964).

Senator Humphrey, sharing the same view, added: “The

individual may proceed in his ownright at any time. He may

take his complaint to the Commission, or he may go directly

to court.” 110 Cong. Rec. 14188 (1964). Senator Humphrey's

statement is significant here since this Court has relied on his

interpretations, as the bill’s floor manager in the Senate, in

construing other provisions of the Civil Rights Act of 1964.

See Hamm vt. City of Rock Hill, 379 U.S. 306, 311 (2964).

Under this reasoning, Title VII contains no express statute of

limitations, and thus the applicable statute of limitations is

the most analagous state statute, the benefits of which

Respondent waived by its failure to raise the defense in the

District Court. Strauss v. Douglas Aircraft Co., 404 F.2d

1152, 1155 (2d Cir. 1968); United States v. Masonry

Contractors Association, 497 F.2d 871 (6th Cir. 1974).

Alternatively, Petitioners submit that the time provision

sete

BWM Ot cll hata nd leah AR Me OP SEY

I ANDES PRN te TY

ROG DSR I, EY AIO LB

10 Statement of the Case

contained in section 706(d) is no more than a statute of

limitations which also can be waived. Air Line Stewards &

Stewardesses Association v. American Airlines, Inc., 9 FEP

Cases 101 (N.D. Ill., November 18, 1974).

Of further significance to the disposition of the issue

raised by this Petition is the fact that Petitioners, acting as

“private attorneys general,” alleged and proved a “pattern

and practice” of sex discrimination by Respondent.

Paragraph 11 of the Complaint alleged, inter alia, that:

“ .. defendant has enacted and effected national

policies and practices of unlawful and systematic

exclusion of and discrimination against women as a

class.”

The trial and appellate courts have held that Respondent

continuously violated Title VII from the effective date of the

Act until subsequent to the Petitioners’ filing with the EEOC.

Clearly, the Attorney General could have brought a “pattern

and practice” suit under section 707(a) of the Civil Rights Act

of 1964, 42 U.S.C. §2000e-6(a) (1970).*° In such a case, the

Attorney General could have recovered back pay on behalf

of the employees excluded from the class by the Court of

Appeals. United States v. Masonry Contractors Association,

497 F.2d 871 (6th Cir. 1974). The same result should obtain

where Petitioners have instituted a private “pattern and

practice” class action, so that the Respondent’s former

employees are not prejudiced by the Attorney General's

failure to act.

‘The Attorney General's function has been transferred to the EEOC.

42 U.S.C.A. $2000e-6(c) (1974).

Conclusion ll

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, Sandra Wetzel and Mari

Ross, on behalf of themselves and all others similarly

situated, pray this Honorable Court to grant this Petition For

A Writ Of Certiorari to review the issue raised herein on the

merits.

Respectfully submitted,

Howarpp A. SPECTER,

LITMAN LITMAN HARRIS & SPECTER, P.A.

1320 Grant Building

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, 15219

RosBert F. STONE

FINE, PERLOW & STONE

1528 Frick Building

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15219

Attorneys For Petitioners

PS ACUI ne

Jn the

Supreme Court of the United States

OcroBer TERM, 1974

No. 74-

SANDRA WETZEL and MARI ROSS, on behalf

of themselves and all others similarly situated,

Petitioners,

V.

LIBERTY MUTUAL INSURANCE COMPANY,

Respondent.

APPENDIX TO PETITION FOR A WRIT OF

CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES CourT

OF APPEALS FOR THE THIRD CiRCUIT

NO PMY a eS

Opinion of the Court of Appeals la

United States Court of Appeals

For THE THirp Circuit

No. 74-1515

SANDRA WETZEL and MARI ROSS, on behalf of

themselves and all others similarly situated, Equal

Opportunity Commission as amicus curiae

Vv.

LIBERTY MUTUAL INSURANCE COMPANY,

a corporation,

Appellant

(D.C. Civil Action No. 72-169)

APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES District Court

For THE WESTERN DistRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Argued October 30, 1974

Before STALEY, ALDISERT and RoseENn, Circuit Judges

—

2a Opinion of the Court of Appeals

OPINION OF THE COURT

(Filed January 23, 1975)

Rosenn, Circuit Judge

This appeal raises significant questions concerning the

management of class actions brought under Title VII of the

Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. §2000e et seq. (1970), as

amended Equal Employment Opportunity Act of 1972, 42

U.S.C. §2000e et seq. (Supp. II, 1972).

Appellant, Liberty Mutual Insurance Company (Liber-

ty Mutual), is a casualty insurance company with offices

throughout the country. Both men and women are employed

in the claims department of these offices in what the

appellant terms a “technical” capacity. Within its claims

department are adjusters and representatives, each of whose

basic functions is the application of the necessary technical

skills to investigate and bring about the proper disposition of

claims against the company. While each is an entry level

position open to college graduates, the salary of a claims

adjuster is considerably higher than that of a claims

representative. The possibilities for promotion are unlimited

for the claims adjuster; they are severely limited for the

claims representative. Before the filing of charges in this case

by the appellees, Sandra Wetzel and Mari Ross, the position

of claims adjuster was staffed predominantly by males; the

position of claims representatives was staffed predominant-

ly by females.! ;

Wetzel and Ross were employed as claims represen-

tatives in the Pittsburgh office of the company. Bothdesired

the higher paying adjuster’s position but were informed by

the Company that it was not open to women. Dissatisfied

with the Company’s policies, they filed charges of sex

1. The differences in Liberty Mutual’s hiring and promotional

practices as to claims representatives are set out in greater detail, infra at

pp. 28-30.

' Opinion of the Court of Appeals 3a

discrimination with the Pennsylvania Human. Relations

Commission (PHRC) on May 11, and with the Equal

Employment Opportunity ae (EEOC) on May 14,

1971.

The filing of these charges nl led the Company

to reassess its policies concerning these positions. In August,

1971, the Company decided to recruit women to become

claims adjusters and reviewed its roster of claims represen-

tatives to ascertain if any such representatives were

interested in, and qualified for, the position of claims

adjuster. This decision eventually led to the hiring of

approximately 10% of the claims re as claims

adjusters.

After the filing of the charges with PHRC, the Company

offered Wetzel and Ross positions as claims adjusters.

Because of information which they had received from

PHRC concerning back pay, and because of their belief that

the job offer was accompanied by unacceptable conditions,

they rejected the offer. Since PHRC had failed to conciliate

the parties, Wetzel and Ross were issued right to sue letters

by the EEOC. On February 28, 1972, Wetzel and Ross

commenced a class action alleging that the Company’s

hiring and promotion policies and its pregnancy related

policies as to the female technical employees in its claims

department violated Title VII. They further alleged that the

Company’s policy of paying higher salaries to claims

adjusters than to claims representatives violated the Equal

Pay Act of 1963, 29 U.S.C. §206(d) (1970).

In response to Wetzel’s and Ross’ motions, the district

court, on August 16, 1972, ordered that the suit was

maintainable as a class action? under Rule 23(b)(2) and that

the class would include “all present and future female

technical employees in the defendant’s claim department

2. All references to rules are references to the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure.

-_ Se

4a Opinion of the Court of Appeals

without limitation to territory in the entire geographical area

where defendant does business.” On September 14, 1972, the

court refused to require notices to be sent to the proposed

nationwide ¢lass and declined to maintain the class under

Rule 23(b)(3). In its final order of December 6, 1973, the

court amended the class to include former, as well as present

and future female technical employees, and reaffirmed its

determination to maintain the class under Rule 23(b)(2),

rather than Rule 23(b)(3). The court acknowledged,

~ however, that the class was maintainable under: either

subsection. It also saw “no immediate necessity of the class

action notice required of actions proceeding under Fed. R.

Civ. P. 23(b)(3).” No notice had been sent to any members of

the class as of the date of. this appeal.

On March 26, 1973, Wetzel and Ross moved for wablta

summary judgment.’ Counsel for both sides agreed that the

equal pay claim was not susceptible to summary judgment

treatment because disputed issues of fact existed as to

whether the work performed by claims representatives was

equivalent to that performed by claims adjusters. On

January 9, 1974, the court entered an interlocutory order that

the pregnancy related policies of the Company violate Title

VII, “are continuing violations and are the proper subject of

" injunctive relief.” On February 20, 1974, the district court

rendered final the interlocutory order. A notice of appeal

was filed and was docketed at No. 74-1233. That appeal is

presently before another panel of this court and the issues in

that appeal do not concern us here.

The district court inits interlocutory order of January 9,

1974, also ruled that the hiring and promotion policies of the

Company violated Title VII, but denied injunctive relief‘

3. Only the question of liability was to be decided at that time.

Determination of the relief to be granted was left for further proceedings.

: 4. The opinion of the district court is reported at 372 F. Supp. 1146

(W.D. Pa. 1974).

Opinion of the Court of Appeals 5a

“{b]ecause the evidentiary materials show that at certain

times subsequent to the filing of the administrative charge or

the within Complaint the Defendant has ceased or

discontinued the discriminatory practice[s].”"> In an un-

successful attempt to avoid piecemeal appeals, the court, on

March 19, 1974, rendered final this part of the interlocutory

order. In this appeal, Liberty Mutual has asked us to review

the district court’s management of the class action and its

granting of summary judgment against the challenged hiring

and promotion policies.

I

® A. Jurisdiction

Preliminarily, we note that, despite Wetzel’s and Ross’

contentions, we have jurisdiction to review the class action

aspects of this case. The district court, pursuant to Rule

54(b), rendered final the partial summary judgment as to the

Company’s hiring and promotion policies on March 19, 1974.

The determination of the class became final for the purposes

of 28 U.S.C. § 1291 at that time. The notice of appeal, filed

April 15, 1974, was timely as to all aspects of that judgment.

including the determination of the affected class.

B. Scope of Review

Before examining Liberty Mutual's contentions, we

must first decide the appropriate scope of review of the

district court’s actions. The extent of the scope of review is of

the utmost importance for, in some instances, it effectively

determines whether the actions of the district court wi!’ be

sustained. Lengthy deliberations on the subject are not

necessary, however, because the question is settled in this

circuit by the recent case of Katz v. Carte Blanche Corp., 496

F.2d 747 (3d Cir.) (en banc), cert. denied, 43 U.S.L.W. 3197

(October 15, 1974), in which Judge Gibbons wrote:

5. Id. at 1163. —

us

5 RLS RAN a RRR BL ORE SOAS

VERE SRG TAPE ELAR AS Fe Oe

6a Opinion of the Court of Appeals

[The scope of review] will depend to some extent upon

which facet of the multi-faceted determination is

challenged on appeal. The district court must determine

if the four prerequisites for a class action listed in rule

23(a) have been met. These are mandatory re-

quirements, and our review decides whether the

mandates have been met. The district court must also

determine whether the class action is maintainable

under rule 23(b)(1) or (2) so that it may proceed without

notice to or identification of the class members. Our

review will determine whether the court properly

classified the type of class action in reaching its decision

as to class action treatment.

Id. at 756 (citations omitted). Inasmuch as the district court

appropriately applied the criteria of Rule 23(a), the scope of

our review is whether the trial court did abuse its broad

discretion.®

II

The mandatory requirements of Rule 23(a)* must first

be met to maintain a class action. Liberty Mutual has made

6. The scope of review is summarized by Professor Moore:

In determining whether an action brought as a class action is to be

so maintained the trial court should carefully apply the criteria, set

forth in Rule 23. . . , to the facts in the case; and if it fails to do so its

determination is subject to reversal by the appe!!ate court when the

issue is properly before the latter court. On the other hand, where the

trial court does apply the Rule's criteria to the facts of the case, the

trial court has [a] broad discretion in determining whether the action

may be maintained as a class action and its determination should be

given great respect by a reviewing court.

3B J. Moore, Federal Practice 4 23.50 at 1104-05 (2d ed. 1974), quoted with

approval in Katz v. Carte Blanche Corp., 496 F.2d at 757.

7. Rule 23(a) provides:

(a) Prerequisites to a Class Action. One or more members of a

class may sue or be sued as representative parties on behalf of all only

if (1) the class is so numerous that joinder of all members is

impracticable, (2) there are questions of law or fact common to the

class, (3) the claims or defenses of the representative parties are

typical of the claims or defenses of the class, and (4) the

representative parties will fairly and adequately protect the interests

of the class.

PLE OE OD

Opinion of the Court of Appeals 7a

numerous attacks on the determination made by the district

court that the requirements of 23(a) had been met. After

careful consideration of its contentions, we need to discuss

only two.

First, Liberty Mutual contends that it was error to

include in the class all female technical employees who had

been employed since July 1, 1965. It contends that

employees whose claims are time barred by the statute of

limitations contained in then section 706(d) of Title VII, 42

U.S.C. § 2000e-5(d) (1970), should be excluded from the

class.”

We agree with Liberty Mutual that such individuals

should have been excluded. At the time charges were filed

with the EEOC, section 706(d) provided that where, as here,

a charging party had instituted proceedings with a state

agency which has jurisdiction over discriminatory employ-

ment practices, a charge must be filed with the EEOC within

210 days of the occurrence of the alleged unfair practice.’

As stated in Macklin v. Spector Freight Systems, Inc.,

478 F.2d 979, 986 (D.C. Cir. 1973):

Since a suit in court depends on an agency notice to

sue letter and since the agency cannot take the case

initially unless the timely filing requirements are met,

the timely filing requirements with respect to EEOC

appears to be a jurisdictional prerequisite to court

action under Title VII.

A plaintiff may bring a class action on behalf of those who

have not filed charges with the EEOC. Bowe v. Colgate-

8. Since the filing of a charge with the EEOC is a jurisdictional

requirement, we may consider the issue here although Liberty Mutual did

not raise it in the district court.

9. The Equal Employment Opportunity Act of 1972, Pub. L. No. 92-

261, $4, 86 Stat. 104 (March 24, 1972), extended the time for filing in such

cases to 300 days and renumbered §706(d) as §706(e). The effective date

of the amendment was March 24, 1972, after the filing of the complaint in

the district court.

8a Opinion of the Court of Appeals

Palmolive Co., 416 F.2d 711, 719-20 (7th Cir. 1969); Oatis v.

Crown Zellerbach Corp., 398 F.2d 496, 499 (5th Cir. 1968).

This tolls the statute of limitations for all members of the

class. American Pipe & Construction Co. v. Utah, 414 U.S.

538 (1974). But Wetzel and Ross cannot represent those who

could not have filed a charge with the EEOC at the time they

filed their charges. CWA v. New York Telephone Co., 8

F.E.P. 509, 513 (S.D. N.Y. 1974); Culbert [sic] v. General

Electric Co., 5 F.E.P. 969, 993 (E.D. Va. 1973);Garneau v.

Raytheon Co., 3 F.E.P. 1315 (D. Mass. 1971).

This conclusion does not mean, however, as Liberty

Mutual contends, that the numerosity requirement of

23(a)(1) has not been met. Wetzel’s and Ross’ charges

alleged the maintenance of discriminatory hiring and

promotion policies up to the time of the filing of their

complaint. Such policies are continuing violations of Title

VII and would allow a filing of a charge ai any time by a

present employee. Macklin v. Spector Freight Systems, Inc.,

supra at 987-88. The only employees barred from the class

are those who left the employ of the Company more than 210

days before the filing of the charges with the EEOC by

Wetzel and Ross. The class will be larger than the

approximately seven hundred female technical employees

presently employed by Liberty Mutual, meeting the

numerosity requirement of 23(a)(1). Of course, in the

determination of the relief to which members of the class

will be entitled, the district court should take into account

the modification of the class required by section 706(d).

The second attack on the district court’s determination

that the conditions of Rule 23(a) have been met is the

contention that Wetzel and Ross were not adequate

representatives of the class as required by Rule 23(a)(4).

Adequate representation depends on two factors: (a)

the plaintiff's attorney must be qualified, experienced, and

generally able to conduct the proposed litigation, and (b) the

hl a aie

ANPING OTT BE

a a

ades! | :

se Bed ob oe

SMILE TIE SS LEC MELT AS. “en

Opinion of the Court of Appeals Ya

plaintiff must not have interests antagonistic to those of the

class. Eisen v. Carlisle & Jacquelin, 391 F.2d 555, 562 ( 2d Cir.

1968).

Liberty Mutual does not dispute the district court's

finding as to the competency of counsel but it does object to

the court’s finding of “no conflict or antagonism betwen

Wetzel’s and Ross’ claims and the claims of the class.”

Liberty Mutual contends that employees, such as Wetzel and

Noss, Who have voluntarily severed their employment prior

to suit cannot adequately represent members of the class

who are presently employed by the company. We note the

existence of a dispute as to whether Wetzel’s and Ross’

termination of employment was, in fact, voluntary, but we

will assume, arguendo, that they voluntarily severed their

employment.

We believe that a former employee, who is not entitled

to reinstatement, may still be an adequate representative of a

class of past and present employees alleging discriminatory

employment practices.'° Whether a party adequately

represents a class depends on all the circumstances of the

particular case. 3B J. Moore, Federal Practice, 4 23.07[1] (2d

ed. 1974) (hereinafter cited as Moore). That a person is no

longer employed with a company and is not entitled to

reinstatement is but one of the circumstances to be

10. A former employee has standing to bring such a suit. Hackett v.

McGuire Bros., Inc., 445 F.2d 442 (3d Cir. 1971).

We are aware that, in a similar situation, the Sixth Circuit has reached

the opposite conclusion. Heard v. Mueller Co., 464 F.2d 190 (6th Cir.

1972). However, in Heard the former employee attempted to represent a

class of present and prospective employees only. Here the class includes

past employees as well. Further, the court in Heard decided that the

company’s employment practices were not discriminatory before

deciding the class action issue. Here, of course, no such determination was

made. Finally, the only support for the holding in Heard was Huff v. N. D.

Cass Co., 468 F.2d 172 (5th Cir. 1972), which was subsequently reversed in

Huff v. N. D. Cass Co., 485 F.2d 710 (5th Cir. 1973) (en banc).

ELE DORI NREL ON PEGE IE OER EGN SELIG IS LOSE NDEY PLIES IEEE NE BOONE II OREM OEE Rint

SPOUT ONL BIR EA,

SOO: 43% 7

q

iz

fe Sed ey Ket alg BR

4

;

i

PSS ROS Cn REE ERD GE NN ee Ra aliens.

LE AR EAR ee aor,

1a

Piha aed LAN

a

TPesees

4

|

:

£

3

3

4

a

z

2

=

3

I AO OS pect

10a Opinion of the Court of Appeals

considered in the determination of whether Rule 23(a)(4)

has been met. In fact, as the court observed in Mack v.

General Electric Co., 329 F. Supp. 72, 76 (E.D. Pa. 1971),

with respect to plaintiffs who were former employees of the

company, “being familiar with [the company’s] employ-

ment practices and being free from any possible coercive

influences of [the company’s] management, [the plaintiffs]

are better situated than either job applicants or present

employees to present an intelligent and strongly adverse

case against [the company’s] alleged discriminatory prac-

tices.” Moreover, were the position advanced by Liberty

Mutual adopted, employers would be encouraged to

discharge those employees suspected as most likely to

initiate a Title VII suit in the expectation that such employees

would thereby be rendered incapable of bringing the suit as

a class action. Reed v. Arlington Hotel Co., 476 F.2d 721 (8th

Cir.), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 854 (1973).

In the present case, the district court specifically found

that the requirements of Rule 23(a)(4) have been met. The

interests of Wetzel and Ross in combatting the sexually

discriminatory policies of the Company surely are coexten-

sive with all female technical employees, whether formerly

or presently employed. We do not perceive any interests of

the former employees antagonistic to those of the present

employees. The relief to be granted by the district court,"'!

whether it takes the form of back pay, mandatory hiring of

female claims adjusters, or increased promotional oppor-

tunities for women will benefit all members of the class.!?

11. We intimate no opinion as to what relief, if any, is appropriate.

12. We believe that Air Line Stewards & Stewardesses Ass'n Local 550

v. American Airlines, Inc., 490 F.2d 636 (7th Cir. 1973), cert. denied,

US, (1974), upon which Liberty Mutual relies, is distinguishable

because there the relief to former stewardesses (reinstatement with no loss

of seniority) would have been antagonistic to the interests of stewardesses

presently employed with less seniority. Here, the only group whose

Opinion of the Court of Appeals Ila

We see no other factors revealing that the plaintiffs were not

adequate representatives of the class. The district court did

not abuse its discretion in holding that Wetzel and Ross

adequately represented the class.

Ill

A. Characteristics of (b)(2) and (b)(3) actions

In addition to meeting the mandatory requirements of

Rule 23(a), the class must be maintainable under either

subsection 23(b)(1), (b)(2), or (b)(3). In the usual class

action, the determination of whether the action should

proceed as a 23(b)(2) or as a 23(b)(3) action offers little

difficulty. In the present case, however, the order of the

district court finding injunctive relief unnecessary as to

Liberty Mutual’s hiring and promotional practices in its

12. (Continued)

interests are hostile to those of the class are the male claims adjusters, and

they, of course, are not members of ‘he class.

13. Rule 23(b) provides:

(b) Class Actions Maintainable. An action may be maintained as

a class action if the prerequisites of subdivision (a) are satisfied, and in

addition:

(2) the party opposing the class has acted or refused to act on

grounds generally applicable to the class, thereby making ap-

propriate final injunctive relief or corresponding declaratory relief

with respect to the class as a whole; or

(3) the court finds that the questions of law or fact common to the

members of the class predominate over any questions affecting only

individual members, and that a class action is superior to other

available methods for the fair and efficient adjudication of the

controversy. The matters pertinent to the findings include: (A) the

interest of the members of the class in individually controlling the

prosecution or defense of separate actions; (B) the extent and nature

of any litigation concerning the controversy already commenced by

or against members of the class; (C) the desirability or undesirability

of concentrating the litigation of the claims in the particular forum:

(D) the difficulties likely to be encountered in the management of a

class action.

:

y

ee ees Pe

va whe RON DI Wapedia

he ake AR eR

OO UR ak ale

en

OEE SP AEE Fe PREF. em

12a Opinion of the Court vf Appeals

claims department, because the Company's practices as to

these issues have ceased, presents complications. Whether

(b)(2) or not (b)(2) is indeed the question.

In the instant case, the district court found that the class

could be maintained under either 23(b)(2) or 23(b)(3), but

exercising its discretion decided to maintain the class under

23(b)(2). Liberty Mutual vigorously contends that the class

could only be maintained under (b)(3), and that the

procedural prerequisites for maintaining a (b)(3) suit have

not been met. We find no error in the district court's

determination that the class was properly mafntainable

under (b)(2).

In reviewing Liberty Mutual's contentions, it is

necessary to understand the basic nature of (b)(2) and (b)(3)

suits and the res judicata effects of judgments upon

members of the respective classes.

A (b)(2) suit is permitted when the opposing party has

acted or refused to act on grounds generally applicable to

the class. Advisory Committee's Note to Proposed

Amendments to Rule 23, 39 F.R.D. 69, 102 (1966)

{hereinafter cited as Advisory Committee]. By its very

nature, a (b)(2) class must be cohesive as to those claims tried

in the class action. Note, Managing the Large Class Action:

Eisen v. Carlisle & Jacquelin, 87 Harv. L. Rev. 426, 441

(1973). The rule recognizes that the res judicata effect of a

judgment may only be tested in a subsequent action.

Advisory Committee, supra at 106, citing Restatement of

Judgments § 86, comment (h), § 116 (1942). Because of the

cohesive nature of the class, Rule 23(c)(3)'* contemplates

14. Rule 23(c)(3) provides:

(3) The judgment in an action maintained as a class action under

subdivision (b)(1) or (b)(2), whether or not favorable to the class,

shall include and describe those whom the court finds to be members

of the class. The judgment in an action maintained as a Class action

under subdivision (b)(3), whether or not favorable to the class, shall

include and specify or describe those to whom the notice provided in

subdivision (c)(2) was directed, and who have not requested

exclusion, and whom the court finds to be members of the class.

Opinion of the Court of Appeals 13a

that all members of the class will be bound. Advisory

Committee, supra at 106; C. Wright, Federal Courts § 72, at

314 (2d ed. 1970) [hereinafter cited as Wright]. Any resultant

unfairness to the members of the class was thought to be

outweighed by the purposes behind class actions:

eliminating the possibility of repetitious litigation and

providing small claimants with a means of obtaining redress

for claims too small to justify individual litigation.'°

Rule 23(b)(3) permits a class action where the questions

of law or fact common to the class predominate over

questions only affecting individual members and the “class

action is superior to other available methods for the fair and

efficient adjudication of the controversy.” While not a true

successor to the “spurious” class action which existed prior to

the 1966 amendments, Wright, supra at 312, the (b)(3) class

action developed therefrom. In the spurious class action,

members of the class would be bound by the judgment only

if they intervened in the action. Moore, supra at 702. Various

courts of appeals permitted intervention after a judgment

favorable to the class. Many commentators objected that

such one-way intervention resulted in binding the members

of the class only when the class had won. To eliminate the

unfairness of this one-way intervention, the Advisory

Committee concluded that class members should be

brought in prior to the determination of a defendant's

liability, thus making the estoppel mutual. See Katz v. Carte

Blanche Corp., supra at 759; Advisory Committee, supra at

105.

Binding all members of a (b)(3) class, however, was not

thought by the Advisory Committee to be as fair as binding

all members of a (b)(2) class. By the very nature of a

heterogeneous (b)(3) class, there would be many instances

where a particular individual would not want to be included

15. See Katz v. Carte Blanche Corp., supra at 759; Wright, supra at

306.

i4a Opinion of the Court of Appeals

as a member of the class.'* To respect these individual

interests, rule 23(c)(2)'" was written to afford an opportunity

to every potential member to opt out of the class. See Katz v.

Carte Blanche Corp., supra at 759; Advisory Committee,

supra at 104-05. For the opt out procedure to be effective,

23(c)(2) also provides for notice to be sent to all potential

members prior to the final determination of the class. Eisen

v. Carlisle & Jacquelin, 417 U.S. 156 (1974).

With the potential unfairness to members of the (b)(3)

class eliminated by the opt out procedure, 23(c)(3)

contemplates that all members of the (b)(3), as well as

members of the (b)(2) class, will be bound by the res

judicata effect of the judgment. Wright, supra at 314.

B. Appropriateness of (b)(2) for this action

Liberty Mutual contends that this suit could not have

been maintained as a class action under (b)(2) because such

class actions are limited to only those suits in which final

injunctive relief is found to be appropriate. In support of this

16. An excellent example is the situation found in Katz v. Carte

Blanche Corp., supra, in which it was alleged that Carte Blanche violated

the Truth in Lending Act in its disclosure of finance charges. Assume,

contrary to the decision, that a (b)(3) class was allowed to be maintained.

Carte Blanche might counterclaim against the members of the class for

amounts owing from use of the credit card. A delinquent account debtor

may well decide that a judgment for amounts owing will outweigh any

benefits he might obtain from a favorable judgment resulting from the

Truth in Lending Act violation. j

17. Rule 23(c)(2) provides:

(2) In any class action maintained under subdivision (b)(3), the

court shall direct to the members of the class the best notice

practicable under the circumstances, including individual notice to all

members who can be identified through reasonable effort. The notice

shall advise each member that (A) the court will exclude him from the

class if he so requests by a specified date; (B) the judgment, whether

favorable or not, will include all members who do not request

exclusion; and (C) any member who does not request exclusion may,

if he desires, enter an appearance through his counsel.

“Sey

AP PORE LA OAT Be

Opinion of the Court of Appeals 15a

position, Liberty Mutual relies on the language of (b)(2),'°

the comments of the drafters of the rule,'’ and the case of Air

Line Stewards & Stewardesses Association, Local 550 v.

American Airlines, Inc., supra.”®

The district court, after discovery and extensive

briefing, considered whether the action here was properly

maintained under (b)(2) three separate times. In its last

memorandum order of December 6, 1973, the court

indicated that maintenance under (b)(2) was proper because

Liberty Mutual had “ ‘acted or refused to act on grounds

generally applicable to the class’ and the representative

plaintiffs seek among other remedies, ‘final injunctive relief

or corresponding declaratory relief.” In his opinion of

January 9, 1974, Judge Weber noted:

Because the evidentiary materials show that at certain

times . . . subsequent to the filing of the administrative

charge or the within Complaint the Defendant has

ceased or discontinued the discriminatory practices,

injunctive relief is not appropriate as to those practices.

372 F. Supp. at 1163.

The precise issue before us then is whether a district

court, having determined that a Title VII suit brought in

good faith for injunctive relief may be maintained under

18. See note 13 supra.

19. “[Subdivision (b)(2)] does not extend to cases in which the

appropriate final relief relates exclusively or predominantly to money

damages.” Advisory Committee, supra, at 102. See Moore, supra, at 654.

20. Airline stewardesses had brought suit seeking injunctive relief

against the airlines’ policy of permanently discharging pregnant

stewardesses. After the institution of the suit, the airlines eliminated the

practice. The court noted:

When the airlines ended their discharge policy, the actions became

virtually moot as far as the currently employed stewardesses were

concerned, and purely prospective relief against the practice became

of little moment. The (b)(3) character of actions, while always

present as to the discharged stewardesses, became even more

obvious.

490 F.2d at 643. For a further discussion of the case, see note 30 infra.

l6a Opinion of the Court of Appeals

(b)(2), is required to redetermine that the suit be maintained

under (b)(3) and comply with its procedural requirements

once it concludes on a motion for summary judgment that

changed conditions make injunctive relief no longer

appropriate. We decline to so hold.

First, a Title VII suit against discriminatory hiring and

promotion policies is necessarily a suit to end discrimination

because of a common class characteristic, in this case sex.

Bowe v. Colgate-Palmolive Co., 416 F.2d 711, 719 (7th Cir.

1969); Oatis v. Crown Zellerbach Corp., 398 F.2d 496, 499

(5th Cir. 1968). The conduct of the employer is actionable

“on grounds generally applicable to the class,” and the relief

sought is “relief with respect to the class as a whole.” The

class, all sharing a common characteristic subjected to

discrimination, is cohesive as to the claims alleged in the

complaint. Thus, a Title VII action is particularly fit for

(b)(2) treatment, and the drafters of Rule 23 specifically

contemplated that suits against discriminatory hiring and

promotion policies would be appropriately maintained

under (b)(2). Advisory Committee, supra at 102. Since a

Title VII suit is essentially equitable in nature,”! it cannot be

characterized as one seeking exclusively or predominantly

money damages. Franks v. Bowman Transp. Co., 495 F.2d

398 (5th Cir. 1974).

The basic nature of a Title VII suit is not altered merely

because the employer’s change of discriminatory policy

prior to the motion for summary judgment has obviated the

need for injunctive relief. The conduct of the employer is

still answerable “on grounds generally applicable to the

class,” and the relief sought is still “relief with respect to the

class as a whole.” The cohesive characteristics of the class are

21. “Thus, the action and the relief authorized are essentially

equitable in nature. This is true not only of traditional injunctive relief

which may be granted, but also of the back pay award.” Franks v.

Bowman Transp. Co., 495 F.2d 398, 406 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 43

U.S.L.W. 3328 (December 10, 1974).

e

/

ROT A BOLAND NA of OO

WARY IN NAD

Opinion of the Court of Appeals \7a

‘the vital core of a (b)(2) action. Functionally, these

characteristics of the class are still intact in the suit. Nothing

has changed to require the procedural protections of (b)(3)

to determine the presence or absence of liability. The class is

still appropriately maintained under (b)(2).

Second, the language of (b)(2) does not support the

‘contention that (b)(2) actions are limited to final injunctive

relief or declaratory judgments only. Rather, the language

describes the type of conduct by the party opposing the class

which is subject to equitable relief by class action under

(b)(2). As recently stated in Pettway v. American Cast Iron

Pipe Co., 494 F.2d 211, 257 (5th Cir. 1974):

: All that need be determined is that conduct of the

party opposing the class is such as makes such equitable

relief appropriate. This is no limitation on the power of

the court to grant other relief to the established class,

‘especially where it is required by Title VII. . . .

Liberty Mutual's policies at the time these charges were

made were such that final injunctive relief was appropriate.

This satisfies the language of the rule. The nature of these

policies, and the nature of the class opposing these policies,

does not change’ merely because subsequent action by

Liberty Mutual eliminates the need for final injunctive relief.

Moreover, although the court found that injunctive

relief was unnecessary, it did determine the presence of

liability on the part of Liberty Mutual. The court did not

preclude the possibility of directing affirmative action,” in

22. The district court in its first class action order dated August 16,

1972, stated: ;

[W]e find that the defendant has acted or refused to act on grounds

generally applicable to the class, thereby making appropriate final

_ declaratory or injunctive relief with respect to the class as a whole.

Claims of sexual discrimination are particularly appropriate for such

determination.

23. 372 F. Supp. at 1163. We do not suggest what relief, if any, may be

appropriate. ;

WES ———

4 e

~ 18a Opinion of the Court of Appeals

addition to back pay, to remedy conditions caused by the

offensive discriminatory practices. Such affirmative action

ultimately would, in effect, constitute final injunctive or

declaratory relief. “No one has suggested that this [relief]

violates the dictates of subdivision (b)(2).” Pettway v.

American Cast Iron Pipe Co., supra at 257. .

Courts have held that a (b)(2) class is appropriate in a

Title VH suit where both fina? injunctive and monetary retief

are granted. Franks v. Bowman Transp. Co., supra at 422;

Pettway v. American Cast Iron Pipe Co., supra at 257;

Johnson v. Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co., 491 F.2d 1364,

1375 (5th Cir. 1974); Robinson v. Lorillard Corp., 444 F.2d

791, 801-02 (4th Cir. 1971), petition for cert. dismissed, 404

U.S. 1006 (1972); Bowe v. Colgate-Palmolive Co., supra at

720. Maintenance of a class action under (b)(2) in a Title VII

, action has also been held to be appropriate when the actions

of the defendant after the complaint had been filed had

obviated the need for final injunctive relief. Arkansas

Education Ass'n v. Board of Education, 446 F.2d 763 (8th

Cir. 1971).

Additionally, only with the benefit of hindsight do we

now know that injunctive relief against the Company's

hiring and promotion practices was not necessary in this

case. At the (c)(1) hearing, the district court specifically

found that the conduct of Liberty Mutual made appropriate

final injunctive relief.2‘ Requiring the court to reconsider

_ and possibly redetermine the class at the time of the

summary judgment application and redirect the course of

the litigation with notice and other procedural requirements

would inevitably complicate a type of litigation which by its

nature is complex at its best. For this court to compel a

redetermination of the class at that point probably’ would

require the district court to consider the merits of the case,

and ultimately would lead to a practice of holding a

2A. See note 22 supra.

!

al ce a ee ti

iP A i DAD pee CE

RRA on PORT ERY 1 etd OO Cm PEE.

Opinion of the Court of Appeals 19a

preliminary hearing on the merits at the time of the initial

(c)(1) class determination. This, of course, the Supreme

Court has made clear the district court may not do:

We find nothing in either the language or history of

Rule 23 that gives a court any authority to conduct a

preliminary inquiry into the merits of a suit in order to

determine whether it may be maintained as a class

action. Indeed, such a procedure contravenes the Rule

.... [It] is directly contrary to the command of

subdivision (c)(1) that the court determine whether a

suit denominated a class action may be maintained as

such “as soon as practicable after the commencement of

[the] action... .”

Eisen v. Carlisle & Jacquelin, 417 U.S. 156, 177-78 (1974). It is

at the (c)(1) hearing that the class must be shown to possess

the characteristics required by (b)(2). Of course, the district

court may amend its determination at a later date. See

23(c)(1). But we decline to hold that a court must reconsider

its determination when, at the decision for summary

judgment, it finds injunctive relief to be inappropriate.

Finally, we have reviewed the (b) (2) issue on this appeal

as if the action in the district court involved only the hiring

and promotion policies of Liberty Mutual. Wetzel and Ross,

however, also attacked in the district court Liberty Mutual's

pregnancy related policies, and its policy of paying higher

salaries to claims adjusters than to claims representatives.

Due to the piecemeal nature of the appeals from the district

court, the only substantive issue before us involves the hiring

and promotion policies, but in the absence of the argument

by Liberty Mutual that different classes should have been

created for different issues,° we must consider the propriety

25. Rule 23(c)(4)(A) permits an action to be brought or maintained as

a class action as to particular issues only. See note 25 infra. From our

review of the record, it does not appear that Liberty Mutual had requested

the district court to maintain the class under (b)(3) as to its hiring and

promotion policies while maintaining the class under (b)(2) for the other

issues. In this court Liberty Mutual has only attacked the maintenance of

the class as a whole.

PRESALE PLT ALI EG IB LAPS

20a Opinion of the Court of Appeals

of the class determination in the light of all the substantive

issues raised in the district court. Liberty Mutual has

changed, as a result of the charges brought by Wetzel and

Ross, neither its pregnancy related policies, nor its higher

salary policy to claims adjusters. In the event these policies

are found to be violative of Title VII, final injunctive relief

will be necessary as redress. The (b)(2) nature of the class,

while visible as to the promotion and hiring issues, becomes

translucent when viewed in the light of the multifaceted

attack upon Liberty Mutual's policies.

Liberty Mutual also contends that if the requirements of

both (b)(2) and (b)(3) are met, the court should certify the

class under (b)(3) to provide the procedural protections,

namely notice and opting out, which (b)(3) affords

members of the class. Virtually every class action meeting

the requirements of 23(b)(2) will also meet the less severe

requirements of 23(b)(3). Van Gemert v. Boeing Company,

259 F. Supp. 125, 130 (S.D. N.Y. 1966). If the actions are

classified under (b)(3), members of the class could elect to

opt out and thereby not be bound by the judgment. This

would permit the institution of separate litigation and would

defeat the fundamental objective of (b)(2), to bind the

members of the class with one conclusive adjudication. Van

Gemert v. Boeing Company, supra at 130-31. As discussed

above,”6 the procedural protections of (b)(3), opting out and

notice, are necessary because of the heterogeneity of the

(b)(3) class. They are unnecessary for the homogeneous

(b)(2) class.

The recent Supreme Court decision in Eisen v. Carlisle

& Jacquelin, 417 U.S. 156 (1974), does not support the

Company’s contention. Eisen does not extend the (b)(3)

notice requirement to (b)(2) actions, nor to actions

maintainable under either (b)(2) or (b)(3). We therefore

agree with the Van Gemert principle that an action

26. See pp. 13-15 supra.

ia aie LPL DAIL IIE SELIG IT VAPOR VEEN OR SLIME A ORLY RAE

Opinion of the Court of Appeals Qla

maintainable under both (b)(2) and (b)(3) should be treated

under (b)(2) to enjoy its superior res judicata effect and to

eliminate the procedural complications of (b)(3) which

serve no useful purpose under (b)(2). This principle has been

widely adopted in the federal courts. See Moore, supra

4123.31[3] and cases cited therein.

C. Inclusion of former and future employees

¥

&

¥

F

,

Liberty Mutual asserts that the inclusion of former

employees in the (b)(2) class was an abuse of discretion

because such employees, even at the time of the filing of the

complaint, could only have been interested in monetary

relief. It again relies on Air Line Stewards & Stewardesses

Association Local 550 v. American Airlines, Inc., supra.”

A short answer to this contention is that former

employees may well be interested in the eradication of the

Company’s discriminatory policies and their effect.

Employees who had despaired of becoming claims

adjusters, or of receiving promotions to positions higher than

those of claims representative supervisor, may well desire to

renew their employment with Liberty Mutual if the

discriminatory practices are terminated.

Moreover, even if the former employees were in-

terested in only monetary relief, Rule 23(c)(4)(B)* permits,

but does not require, the district court to divide the class into

appropriate subclasses. Such subdivision is required where

the class includes . . . subclasses with divergent interests,

or where certain representatives adequately represent

only one group and other representatives represent

another group.

27. See note 20 supra.

28. Rule 23(c)(4) provides:

(4) When appropriate (A) an action may be brought or

maintained as a class action with respect to particular issues, or (B) a

class may be divided into subclasses and each subclass treated as a

class, and the provisions of this rule shall then be construed and

applied accordingly.

oud P we on yong ~a9TRS . a9 MOP EET AL Dw 1 4 “s PE LY ID ALIN Ao ME — |

DAO APE ME ITS

22a Opinion of the Court of Appeals

Moore, supra, 4 23.65 at 1251, and cases cited therein. Here,

as we have observed, the interests of the former and present

employees in this class action are congruent: the elimination

of, and relief from, Liberty Mutual's discriminatory policies.

We do not perceive any interests of the two groups which are

mutually antagonistic. We also believe that the former

employees can adequately represent the interests of the

present employees.’ The district court did not abuse its

discretion by failing to create subclasses.”

Liberty Mutual additionally contends that inclusion of

future employees in the class is improper because injunctive

relief has been found to be unnecessary by the district court.

As noted above,*! the district court may well conclude that

affirmative relief is necessary to completely dissipate the

effects of the Company’s discriminatory policies. If it so

finds, the inclusion of future employees in the class may be

useful. However, if the court should find that such

affirmative relief is unnecessary, inclusion of future

employees would appear to be improper.

29. See p. 9 to p. 11, supra.

3. The congruence of interests and absence of antagonism between

the two groups distinguish this case from Air Line Stewards &

Stewardesses Association Local 550 v. American Airlines, Inc., supra, both

as to this issue of subclasses and the issue of whether the class was properly

maintained under (b)(2). See pp. 15-20. In Air Line Stewards, American

Airlines and TWA had permanently discharged stewardesses who became

pregnant. The Association, certified bargaining representative for airline

cabin attendants, brought suit to enjoin the practice, and after the

companies terminated the practices, negotiated a settlement. Objecting

stewardesses appealed approval of the settlement by the district court.

The appellate court noted that the Association, which was composed of

active airline attendants, could not adequately represent the former

attendants because the two groups had conflicting interests. The former

stewardesses would desire reinstatement with no loss of seniority, leap-

frogging them over less senior active stewardesses. Seniority had an

important effect on promotions, trip assignments, and other aspects of

employment. The court, desirous of allowing the former stewardesses to

opt out of the settlement, held that a (b)(3) subclass should have been

created. Here, we perceive no need for former employees to opt out.

31. See p. 18 supra.

Opinion of the Court of Appeals 23a

IV

Liberty Mutual contends that if the action is main-

tainable under (b)(2), we should hold that notice should

have been given prior to determination of liability to all

members of the class, either under our supervisory powers

over the circuit district courts or under the requirements of

due process.”

Suits brought by private employees are the cutting edge

of the Title VII sword which Congress has fashioned to fight

a major enemy to continuing progress, strength, and

solidarity in our nation, discrimination in employment.

What is required by Congress is the removal of artificial,

arbitrary, and unnecessary barriers to employment

when the barriers operate invidiously to discriminate on

the basis of racial or other impermissible classification.

Griggs v. Duke Power Co., 401 U.S. 424, 431 (1971). Class

actions, which allow attorneys to receive fees commensurate

with time and effort expended on what often are complex

and difficult litigations, are powerful stimuli to enforce Title

VI. The imposition of notice and the ensuing costs often

discourage such suits. See Eisen v. Carlisle & Jacquelin, 417

U.S. 156, 179 (1974). Therefore, we are reluctant to impose

notice requirements under our supervisory power for Title

VII (b)(2) actions unless Rule 23 so requires or unfairness

will result to the parties.

Rule 23 definitely does not require mandatory notice for

(b)(2) actions. By its terms, the mandatory notice re-

32. There is a serious question whether Liberty Mutual, during a

colloquy with Judge Aldisert, abandoned its due process contention at

oral argument. We consider the contention, found in the written brief,

because the colloquy is not altogether clear and because of the Company's

reliance on Eisen v. Carlisle & Jacquelin, 391 F.2d 555 (2d Cir. 1968).

Eisen’s requirement of notice in (b)(2) actions was predicated on due

process not, as Liberty Mutual contended at oral argument, on the

supervisory power of the court.

33. Rule 23(c)(2) in pertinent part provides:

Ya Opinion of the Court of Appeals

quirement of (c)(2) applies only to actions maintained under

(b)(3).

Whether the court should require notice to be given

to members of the class to make a determination, [of

whether a class should be maintained under (b)(2)] or of

the order embodying it, is left to the court's discretion

under subdivision (d)(2).

Advisory Committee, supra at 104. We will not presume to

exercise supervisory powers, as urged upon us by counsel for

Liberty Mutual, to mandate notice which the Federal Rules

of Civil Procedure, promulgated by the Supreme Court

under authority from Congress, 28 U.S.C. $2072, specifically

do not require.

Moreover in Eisen v. Carlisle & Jacquelin, 417 U.S. 156

(1974), the Supreme Court held that there should be strict

adherence to the notice requirements of Rule 23(c)(2). In the

light of Eisen, deviation from the literal requirements of the

rule would be incongruous and, at the same time, would also

fly in the face of its spirit. As discussed supra,** mandatory

notice is required in (b)(3) actions for the effective operation

of the “opt out” provision, which is essential to protect the

interests of individuals in the heterogeneous group. The “opt

out” procedure, however, is not necessary for the protection

of interests of individuals in the homogeneous (b)(2) class. In

the instant case, determination of liability on the part of

Liberty Mutual to each member of the class depends on

whether it discriminated on the basis of sex. This question is

common to the claims of all members of the class. “In the

degree that there is cohesiveness or unity in the class . . . the

33. (Continued)

In any class action maintained under subdivision (b)(3), the court

shall direct to the members of the class the best notice practicable

under the circumstances, including individual notice to all members

who can be identified through reasonable effort. . . .

3A. See pp. 14-15 supra.

Opinion of the Court of Appeals 25a

need for notice to the class will tend toward a minimum.”

Advisory Committee, supra, at 106. In this proceeding, the

fundament for claims of each member of the class rests

squarely on the same issue and the need for individual notice

is superfluous.

The due process argument presents a more difficult

question. Liberty Mutual primarily relies on dictum in Eisen

v. Carlisle & Jacquelin, 391 F.2d 555, 564-65 (2d Cir. 1968)

that

notice is required as a matter of due process in all

representative actions and 23(c) (2) merely requires a

particular form of notice in 23(b) (3) actions. Mullane v.

Central Hanover Bank & Trust Co., 339 U.S. 306 (1950).

Several courts of appeals and district courts have followed

this dictum.*> Wetzel and Ross counter with the following

dictum of this circuit in Katz v. Carte Blanche Corp., 496

F.2d 747, supra at 756:

The district court must also determine whether the class

action is maintainable under rule 23(b) (1) or (2) so that

it may proceed without notice to or identification of the

class members.

We believe that this battle of the dicta lends scant assistance

to either party.°6 We believe it preferable to analyze the

35. Schrader v. Selective Serv. Sys. Local Bd. No. 76, 470 F.2d 73 (7th

Cir.), cert. denied, 409 U.S. 1085 (1972); McCarthy v. Director of Selective

Serv. Sys., 322 F. Supp. 1032 (E.D. Wis. 1970), aff'd per curiam on other

grounds, 460 F.2d 1089 (7th Cir. 1972); Zeilstra v. Tarr, 466 F.2d 111 (6th

Cir. 1972); Pasquier v. Tarr, 318 F. Supp. 1350 (E.D. La. 1970), aff'd per

curiam on other grounds, 444 F.2d 116 (5th Cir. 1971); Newman v. Avco

Corp., 43 U.S.L.W. 2135 (M.D. Tenn. Sep. 6, 1974).

36. With the exception of Newman v. Avco Corp., supra, the cases in

the preceding footnote are suspect in their precedential value on the notice

issue because of their confused procedural history.

In Gregory v. Hershey, 311 F. Supp. 1 (E.D. Mich. 1969), the district

court rendered a declaratory judgment that the class before it was entitled

to fatherhood deferments from Selective Service. The Gregory court had

not provided members of the class with notice. Plaintiffs in the cases upon

:

5

F

.

;

i

4

i

$

|

:

OCD 6B PRY HI Na

26a Opinion of the Court of Appeals

problem in light of the policies underlying the constitutional

requirement of due process.

The due process problem surfaces because the class

action judgment binds all members of a (b) (2) class. The

Second Circuit in requiring notice relied solely on Mullane v.

Central Hanover [sic] & Trust Co., 339 U.S. 306 (1950),

which concerned the judicial settlement of accounts by the

trustee of a trust fund created under state banking law. The

Court held that the State could not assert jurisdiction over

the trust beneficiaries unless notice were mailed to all

whose names and addresses were known, and notice by

36. (Continued)

which Liberty Mutual relies claimed to be members of the class in

Gregory.

Schrader v. Selective Serv. Sys. Local Bd. No. 76, 329 F. Supp. 966

(W.D. Wis. 1971), held the judgment binding despite the lack of notice.

Pasquier v. Tarr, 318 F. Supp. 1350 (E.D. La. 1970), and McCarthy. v.

Director of Selective Serv. Sys., 322 F. Supp. 1032 (E.D. Wis. 1970),

rejected plaintiff's res judicata claims by relying on the dicta in Eisen.

Following the decisions in the preceding paragraph, Gregory was

reversed. The reversal of Gregory on the ground that the court had lacked

subject matter jurisdiction, 436 F.2d 513 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, 403 US.

922 (1971), sent these cases back to court and produced several new ones.

Pasquier and McCarthy were affirmed on appeal but on the ground that

Gregory was void for lack of subject matter jurisdiction. See McCarthy v.

Director of Selective Serv. Sys., 460 F.2d 1089 (7th Cir. 1972); Pasquier v.

Tarr, 444 F.2d 116 (Sth Cir. 1971). Schrader was reversed because “the

absolute failure to give any indicia of notice to absent members

render[ed] the purported class in Gregory futile.” Schrader v. Selective

Serv. Sys. Local Bd. No. 76, 470 F.2d 73, 75 (7th Cir.) cert. denied, 409 US.

1085 (1972). Zeilstra v. Tarr, 466 F.2d 111 (6th Cir. 1972), reversed another

district court decision holding Gregory binding on the grounds that

Gregory had been void, for lack of both notice and subject matter

See Note, Collateral Attack on the Binding Effect of Class Action

Judgments, 87 Harv. L. Rev. 596-97 (1974), upon which the foregoing

analysis is predicated.

We are inclined to believe that the courts in the above cases reached

for the notice requirement as an answer to the complex res judicata effect

of the class action rather than carefully considering whether due process

actually requires notice to absent members of the class.

Opinion of the Court of Appeals Tia

publication given to those beneficiaries who were unknown

or contingent. Mullane, however, denied that individual

notice was required in every action.

The Supreme Court plainly stated that it had not

committed itself to any formula in achieving a balance

between the interests of the State and the interests of the

individual parties in the litigation or in “determining when

constructive notice may be utilized or what test it must meet.

Personal notice has not in all circumstances been regarded as

indispensable to the process due to residents, and it has more

often been held unnecessary as to nonresidents.” Id. at 314.

Because the Court linked the requirement of notice to the

particular circumstances of each case, it is important to note

that the situation in Mullane is significantly different from

the situation in a (b) (2) class action. First, Mullane dealt with

the established interests of individuals in specific property, a

common trust fund. Second, the interests of all the

beneficiaries in that fund were not identical; some were

entitled to interest income, while others were concerned

with capital growth. These interests were represented by

different guardians, but the personal interests of the

guardians functionally differed from the interests of the

beneficiaries. Therefore, a significant possibility existed that

they did not adequately represent the beneficiaries in the

action.” Third, the beneficiaries had a resident fi luciary asa

caretaker of their interest in the trust “[b]ut it is their

caretaker who in the accounting becomes their adversary.”

Id. at 316. Under these circumstances, the possibility that

parties having conflicting interests in specific property could

be bound by an action of which they have no actual notice

and brought by parties who possibly could represent those

interests inadequately does violate due process. This

possibility could not occur in a (b) (2) action.

37. See Comment, Adequate Representation, Notice and the New

Class Action Rule; Effectuating Remedies Provided by the Securities

Laws, 116 U. Pa. L. Rev. 889, 912-13 (1968).

28a Opinion of the Court of Appeals

The very nature of a (b) (2) class is that it is

homogeneous without any conflicting interests between the

members of the class. Since the class is cohesive, its members

would be bound either by the collateral estoppel or the stare

decisis effect of a suit brought by an individual plaintiff.

Thus, as long as the representation is adequate and faithful,

there is no unfairness in giving res judicata effect to a

judgment against all members of the class even if they have

not received notice. Adequacy of representation of the class

is a mandatory requirement for the maintenance of a class

action under Rule 23(a). If the representation proves

inadequate, members of the class would not be bound.

Hansberry v. Lee, 311 U.S. 32, 44-46 (1940). Gonzales v.

Cassidy, 474 F .2d 67 (5th Cir. 1973). Of course, there may be

circumstances when the court, in its discretion, believes that

notice to the absent members of the class is necessary for the

fair conduct of the action. Rule 23(d) (2) anticipates such

situations and permits the court to then require such notice.

In most cases, however, “[n]otice would add little or

nothing.” Moore, supra, at 1152. We decline, therefore, to

hold that due process ineluctably requires notice in all (b) (2)

class actions.

We do not believe that Mullane overruled sub silentio

the case of Hansberry v. Lee, supra, in which the Court was

faced with the question of the res judicata effect to be given

to a state class action. The Court wrote:

It is a principle of general application . . . that one

is not bound by a judgment in personam in a litigation in

which he is not designated as a party or to which he has

not been made a party by service of process.

oO oO o

To these general rules there is a recognized

exception that, to an extent not precisely defined by

judicial opinion, the judgment in a “class” or “represen-

tative” suit, to which some members of the class are

EG IPE LES RO

LAS LEIA DO I EET OSI IR, wee

Opinion of the Court of Appeals 29a

parties, may bind members of the class or those

represented who were not made parties to it.

[T]his Court is justified in saying that there has

been a failure of due process only in those cases where it

cannot be said that the procedure adopted, fairly

insures the protection of the interests of absent parties

who are to be bound by it.

Id. at 40-42.

We believe that if there is truly adequate representation,

the interests of absent parties to a (b) (2) class are protected.

We thus agree with the framers of the rule,” several district

courts that have expressly considered the question,” and

several of the commentators” that notice to absent members ©

of a (b) (2) class is not an absolute requisite of due process. __

For the foregoing reasons, we have concluded that there was |

no denial of due process in this case.

es ARRON AND OUP OY TLE ROE MSTA ITT PME SE IRE NEE fo

38. There is a strong presumption that the rule is valid. See Hanna v.

Plumer, 380 U.S. 460 (1965).

39. Northern Natural Gas Co. v. Grounds, 292 F. Supp. 619, 636 (D.

Kan. 1968) (“the essential requisite of due process as to absent members of

the class is not notice, but the adequacy of representation of their interests

by named parties”); Dolgow v. Anderson, 43 F.R.D. 472 (S.D. N.Y. 1965)

(“adequacy of representation, not form of notice, is the crucial

consideration”). See Woodward v. Rogers, 344 F. Supp. 974, 980 (D. D.C.

1972) aff'd, 486 F.2d 1317 (D.C. Cir. 1973) (“where the adequacy of the

representation of the class interests by the named parties is clear, where no

apparent purpose would be served by notice to this wide ranging

class . . . and where, indeed, judgment is in favor of the class, the essential

requisites of due process have been met without further notice.”)

40. Moore, supra 4 23.55; Note, Constitutional & Statutory Re-

quirements of Notice Under Rule 23(c)(2), 10 B.C. Ind. & Comm. L. Rev.

571 (1969); Comment, Adequate Representation, Notice and the New

Class Action Rule; Effectuating Remedies Provided by the Securities

Laws, 116 U. Pa. L. Rev. 889 (1968).

Pyar | é

ie aa WARES Peet PONIR REL OL BIAS FAL OOD AY IRENE AD TIE A TONG HER Sa yy rune spear gg

PLR ER Tg POD a

3a Opinion of the Court of Appeals

V

Almost anticlimactically, we turn to the question of

whether the district court properly granted Wetzel’s and

Ross’ motion for summary judgment. To fully consider this

questiion, we must review the evidence in some detail.

The Company historically had employed claims

adjustters but the position of claims representatives was not

created until sometime in 1965. Of the 3,129 claims adjusters

hired between July 1, 1965, and March 17, 1972, only two

were women; they were hired after Wetzel and Ross filed .

their administrative charges. During that same period, 2,329

persoms were hired as claims : 2presentatives of which 2,302,

or 98.84% were women. During each year between 1965-

1969, an average of 1,441 adjusters worked for the

Company; in none of those years were more than two:

adjusters women. In 1970, the number of women female

adjusters increased to 5 or 0.31% of the 1,645 adjusters

employed that year. In 1971, that percentage increased

slightly to 2.82.

It does not appear that women were any less qualified to —

become claims adjusters than men. When the Company

decided to recruit women claims adjusters in 197], it found

that of its then existing claims; representative force of 600

women, approximately 1/3 were considered qualified to

become claims adjusters. Approximately 10% of the claims

representatives were offered and accepted the claims

adjusters’ position.

This statistical evidence is buttressed by additional

documentary evidence. The Company’s_ recruitment

brochure describes the position of claims representative as

“Fit for a Queen.” In contrast, the brochures entitled “A

Management Career in Liberty Mutual’s Claims Depart-

ment,” challenge the applicant with the inquiry, “Are you the

right man?”

/

Opinion of the Court of Appeals _ dla

Liberty Mutual's training manual, copyright 1970, is

replete with reference to pronouns of the female gender.*!

The evidence with respect to the Company's promotion

policy is just as impressive. Promotions available to female

claims representatives were only to positions of supervising

claims representative and claims representative supervisor.

Claims adjusters, however, could be promoted to those

positions and to numerous other positions which could not

be achieved without first being an adjuster.

Between July 1, 1965, and January 18, 1973, the

Company had not employed one woman as a branch office

claims manager but had employed in the same position

between 121 and 142 men annually. During the same period,

no more than 9 or 1.65% of all persons employed on an annual

basis as claims supervisors were women. Not one woman

was promoted to claims supervisor from the ranks of claims

representative between July 1965 until the end of 1969. Of

the 97 persons promoted to claims supervisor in 1970, only

41. Typical are the following general instructions:

This course consists of four text books and a Form Book, plus

supplementary materials, designed to help you train your new Ciaims

Representative. The first two text books covered A, AP & SA

Claims—when your C.R. finishes Books 1 and 2 she will be able to

process an automobile claim from first report to closing. Book 3 will

equip her to handle L & S1. cases. Book 4 will teach her to handle X

and SX cases... . ; :

s ° e

/

‘To get the most out of this training program, you should:

b. Supply the trainee with required materials before she starts to

work through any volume... . :

; ° © ©

e. Ask the trainee to complete the chapter on which she is working

before going to change of pace activity.

Use this program patiently. Let your C.R. take, within suggested

limits, the time she needs to complete the course (emphasis supplied).

RR STMT SE OAT ayy

Pew CREAT 4 ee are,

32a Opinion of the Court of Appeals

one was a woman. Again in 1971, only one woman was

promoted. This statistical ‘evidence is also corroborated by

the Company’s recruiting brochures. The brochures for

claims representatives describes the only advancement

opportunities as supervising claims representative and

claims representative supervisor. The brochure for claims

- adjusters refers to the glowing advancement opportunities

available to the claims adjuster. ;

Rule 56(c) provides that summary judgment shall be

granted when there is no genuine issue of material fact and

when the moving party is entitled to judgment as a matter of

law.*? Rule 56(e) provides that the adverse party must by

affidavit set forth specific facts ——— the existence

of a genuine issue for trial:

We are aware of the admonition that “[i]n the area of

employment, with its complexities and variables, statistics

must be analyzed with careful attention both to supportive

and opposing facts.” Pettway v. American Cast lron Pipe

Co., 494 F.2d 211, 230-31 n. 44 (5th Cir. 1974). But we also

recognize the oft cited rule that “statistics often tell much

and courts listen.” Alabama v. United States, 304 F.2d 583,

586 (5th Cir,) aff'd per curiam, 371 U.S. 37 (1962). In fact,

statistics are particularly appropriate in Title VII class

42. Rule 56(c) provides in pertinent part: _

... The judgment sought shall be rendered forthwith if the

pleadings, depositions, answers to interrogatories, and the admissions

on file, together with the affidavits, if any, show that there is no

genuine issue as to any material fact, and that the moving party is

entitled to judgment as a matter of law. .

43. Rule 56(e) peovides, in pertinent part:

aan for summary judgment is made and supported as

i pengeyompre! ang bees fest aoa

sBogetiaal or denials of his pleading, but his response, by affidavits,

or as otherwise provided in this , must set forth specific facts

showing that there is 2 genuine issue for trial. If he does not so

respond, summary judgment, if appropriate, shall be entered against

him. |

_ oe * eae POE LOI LAI IO LES SST TO SE IAG” LIL LOO LIE Cae

Opinion of the Court of Appeals 33a

actions where it is the aggregate effect of acompany’s policy

on the class which is important.“

Under McDonnell Douglas Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S.

792 (1973), once the plaintiff has established a prima facie

case of discrimination, the burden shifts to the empioyer to

provide non-discriminatory reasons to rebut the prima facie

case. The statistics in this case establish the existence of a

prima facie case of sex discrimination. The burden

thereupon shifted to Liberty Mutual to establish that these

statistics were midleading or to establish non-discriminatory

reasons for its policies. Despite its assurances that “good and

sufficient reasons for the existence of these statistics,

together with full explanation, will be offered in due course

at the proper time,” the district court found that Liberty

Mutual's response to plaintiffs’ motion “failed to address this

burden at all, let alone rebut the Plaintiffs’ evidence.” The

time for explanation has come and gone. We believe the

evidence established as a matter of law the existence of

sexual discrimination in violation of Title VIL

The Company also raises eight disputed issues of

material facts which it claims the district court either

declared immaterial or improperly resolved. We have

carefully examined each and find no merit in any of them.

The judgment of the district court as to the maintenance

of the class action will be affirmed. The part of its order

which includes in the class past employees whose claims are

time barred will be vacated. The district court's granting of

summary judgment will be affirmed.

44. Numerous courts have relied on evidence of numerical disparity

among classes of employees to prove discrimination under Title VIL. See.

e.g., Rowe v. General Motors Corp., 457 F.2d 348 (5th Cir. 1972): United

States v. Ironworkers Local 86, 443 F.2d 544 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 404

U.S. 984 (1971); Parham v. Southwestern Bell Telephone Co., 433 F.2d 421

(8th Cir. 1970); Jones v. Lee Way Motor Freight, Inc., 431 F.2d 245 (10th

Cir. 1970), cert. denied, 401 U.S. 954 (1971). Although all of these cases

were decided after full trial, we see no reason why statistical evidence is

less appropriate at a hearing on a motion for summary judgment.

ition SRT RRT DDR FE Hee Bite EE, O87 Hig hale Nis aR OS RA ae MAR RY LENGE: Site NEL NS taicig OR SIT

aa APIO ONDO EV EPEY = Bt ht

34a Amended Judgment of the Court of Appeals

United States Court of Appeals

For THE THirp Circuit

No. 74-1515

SANDRA WETZEL and MARI ROSS, on behalf of

themselves and all others similarly situated

Equal Opportunity Commission as amicus curiae

VS.

LIBERTY MUTUAL INSURANCE COMPANY,

a corporation,

Appellant

(D.C. Civil Action No. 72-169)

On APPEAL FROM THE UNITED States District Court

FOR THE WESTERN DistTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Present: STALEY, ALDISERT and RosENNn, Circuit Judges

AMENDED JUD@MENT

This cause came on to be heard on the record from the

United States District Court for the Western District of

Pennsylvania and was argued by counsel.

On consideration whereof, it is now here ordered and

adjudged by this Court that that part of the order of the said

District Court entered March 19, 1974 which relates to the

maintenance of the class action be, and the same is hereby

affirmed; that part of the said order which includes in the

class past employees whose claims are time barred be, and

the same is hereby vacated; that part of the order granting

summary judgment be, and the same is hereby affirmed.

Costs taxed against appellant.

ATTEST:

February 14, 1975 Clerk

District @5urt’s Memorandum Order 8/16/72 35a

Whited States District Court

W. D. Pennsylvania

SANDRA WETZEL and MARI ROSS on behalf of

themselves and all others similarly situated,

Plaintiffs,

Vs.

LIBERTY MUTUAL INSURANCE COMPANY,

a corporation,

Defendant.

Civ. A. No. 72-169

MEMORANDUM ORDER ON PLAINTIFFS’

MOTION TO DETERMINE CLASS ACTION

The Court has allowed limited discovery to proceed

before determination of Plaintiffs’ Motion for Class Action.

Thereafter the parties submitted voluminous briefs and the

court heard oral argument thereon.

From the p!eadings, the evidentiary materials produced

on discovery and the briefs of the parties we make the

following determination.

(1) The class is so numerous that joinder of all members

is impracticable.

The plaintiffs allegedly represent all female employees

over the nation in the claims department of defendant's

business, past, present and future, since 1965. Defendant

admits to employing about 700 female claims represen-

ne |

RAR hy eter

36a ~—rDistrict Court’s Memorandum Order 8/16/72

tatives alone in this category, disregarding females in other

categories in this department.

(2) There are questions of law and fact common to the

alleged class.

Plaintiffs aver a company-wide policy of discrimination

directed toward females which eliminates females from

holding certain positions and limits pay, promotions and

benefits. The plaintiffs charge a common claim of dis-

crimination against a class of persons of which they are a

part. The questions of law and fact necessary to determine

plaintiffs’ rights are patently common to the class that they

claim to represent; the existence of company-wide dis-

criminatory employee practices based on sex.

(3) The claims of the representative parties are typical

of the claims of the class.

Plaintiffs’ claims are that they are subject to discrimina-

tion in employment practices because of their sex, and they

allege that all members of their sex in the class of employees

named are subject to the same discriminatory system. There

is no conflict or antagonism between their claims and the

claims of the class.

(4) The representative parties will fairly and adequate-

ly protect the interests of the class.

The essential element in this determination is the

qualification, experience and ability of the attorneys

representing the representative parties, and there is no doubt

in the court’s mind of their ability and energy as illustrated

by the efforts demonstrated in the prosecution of this case to

this date.

In addition to the above elements we find that the

defendant has acted or refused to act on grounds generally

applicable to the class, thereby making appropriate final

declaratory or injunctive relief with respect to the class as a

whole. Claims of sexual discrimination are particularly

appropriate for such determination.

District Court's Memorandum Order 8/16/72 37a

Because the declaratory and injunctive relief demanded

can only be of benefit to those members of the class who are

presently employed, or who may be employed in the future,

we believe that under the present state of the record we must

limit the class to such employees. Because of high turnover

and changes of name and residence through marriage, we

believe that the inclusion of past employees would make the

class unmanageable.

We believe that the class must be company-wide or

nation-wide in scope, covering all employees of the

defendant in that class throughout the nation because of the

allegation of a company-wide policy of sex discrimination.

It is, therefore, Ordered that Plaintiffs’ Motion for

determination of class action be Granted pursuant to the

provisions of Fed. R. of Civ. P. 23(c)(1), and that the class

represented by plaintiffs include all present and future

female technical employees in the defendant's claims

department without limitation to territory in the entire

geographical area where defendant does business.

This Order is made conditional, subject to further Order

of this court, and may be altered, amended or revoked prior

to a determination on the merits.

Pending notification to the class, neither plaintiffs or

their counsel, nor defendant, nor its counsel shall solicit or

otherwise contact the class concerning the pending litigation

independently or in the absence of court approval. This

Order shall not affect the rights of the parties or counsel to

contact members of the class in the ordinary course of

business or discovery.

Upon application of the parties or either party the court

will consider the form and manner of notice which may be

given to the class, or any part of it, as to any matter arising out

of the conduct of this action as a class action.

So Ordered this 16th day of August, 1972.

/s/ GeraLp J. WEBER

Gerald J. Weber

United States District Judge

oe |

38a __— District Court's Memorandum Order 12/6/73

Wnited States District Court

* ° (Caption—72-169) ° °

MEMORANDUM ORDER ON PENDING MATTERS

Pursuant to a conference of counsel held on December 3,

1973 it appears to this court that certain determinations are

now necessary for the orderly advancement of the above

entitled litigation. Accordingly, the following pending

matters will be considered herein:

(1) whether the class action shall proceed under Fed. R.

Civ. P. 23(b)(2) or under Fed. R. Civ. P. 23(b)(3);

(2) what redefinition of the plaintiff class is now

appropriate;

(3) whether, at what time and in what form, notice

should be addressed to class members;

(4) plaintiffs’ Motion for an Order Compelling Dis-

covery filed December 3, 1973; and

(5) plaintiffs’ Motion for Reconsideration filed

December 3, 1973.

1.

This class action is at least arguably proper for

treatment under either Rule 23(b)(2) or 23(b)(3). Rule

23(b)(2) is applicable because the defendant “has acted or

refused to act on grounds generally applicable to the class”

and the representative plaintiffs seek, among other

remedies, “final injunctive relief or corresponding

declaratory relief.” Subdivision (b)(3) may also be

applicable because of the presence of common questions of

law and fact and because, in the judgment of this court, a

class action is superior to any other available method for

resolving the instant dispute with fairness and efficiency.

PE OOO I EOI LE OE 5 LO LLL EY OLERG LI NEE ALL TE OLE. TIES INTE

District Court's Memorandum Order 12/6/73 39a

It may be argued that the primary purpose of this action

is not the securing of injunctive or declaratory relief but is the

recovery of money damages and, therefore, 23(b)(2)

treatment is inappropriate. Wright and Miller, addressing

this question, suggest avoiding such disputes and, so long as

the prerequisites of Rule 23(a) have been met, allowing the

action to proceed under subdivision (b)(2). 7A Wright and

Miller, Federal Practice and Procedure § 1775, p. 23 [1972

ed.}. In accord with this and the weight of other authority, it

is hereby ORDERED that the class action, although proper

for treatment under either subdivision (b)(2) or (b)(3), shall

proceed under Rule 23(b)(2). See Johnson v. City of Baton

Rouge, Louisiana, 50 F. R. D. 295, 300 [1970]; Zachary v.

Chase Manhattan Bank, 52 F. R. D. 532, 534 [1971]; Mungin

v. Florida East Coast Railway Co., 318 F. Supp. 720, 730-731

[1970], affd. 441 F. 2d 728 [5th Cir. 1971]; 3B Moore's

Federal Practice § 23.31[3], pp. 23-526, 527.

2.

The plaintiff class was first defined in this Court's

Memorandum Order of August 16, 1972. It was there held

that declaratory and injunctive relief could be of benefit

only to present or future employees. Under the then existing

state of the record it was thought that inclusion of past

employees would render the class unmanageable. The

problems considered included the turnover rate in defen-

dant’s female employees and changes of names and

addresses through marriage. The court limited the class to all

present and future female technical employees in defen-

dant’s claims department.

Plaintiffs’ counsel now allege and defendant's counsel

does not dispute that the entire class is not likely to include

more than 2,500 persons even if past employees are

included. After discovering that the defendant maintains

records of the names and the last known address of its

We KE WROTE someeentcng

40a _ District Court's Memorandum Order 12/6/73

former employees, plaintiffs have moved for a redefinition

of the class to add those past employees who can be located

and identified by first class mail at the plaintiffs’ expense.

The court’s concern with the manageability of the class

action is allayed by counsel representation of a maximum

class membership figure. Therefore, it is hereby ORDERED

that the Memorandum Order of August 16, 1973 is

AMENDED to add to the plaintiff class all former female

technical employees of defendant who, on or after July 2,

1965, were employed in the defendant's claims department.

Because no method of distribution or form of notice to the

class has yet been approved it is not now necessary to adopt

plaintiffs’ suggested limitation that class members be

located and identified.

It is ORDERED that the Memorandum Order of

August 16, 1972 permitting plaintiffs, pursuant to Fed. R.

Civ. P. 23 (c)(1) to proceed with this action as a class action

be AMENDED as follows with respect to the class therein

defined:

The class represented by plaintiffs shall include all

female technical employees who were, are, or will be

employed in the defendant’s claims department from and

after July 2, 1965, without limitation to territory in the entire

geographical area where defendant does business.

In all other respect the Memorandum Order of August

16, 1972 remains in full force and effect.

3.

Having determined that the action shall proceed as a

class action under Fed. R. Civ. P. 23(b)(2), we see no

immediate necessity of the class action notice required of

actions proceeding under Fed. R. Civ. P. 23(b)(3), nor of the

application of the provision which authorizes notice to a

class member of his right to request exclusion from the class

by a specified date.

IO MIT SAMEERA ig PT OIE “ “= -e ar) wo on =

LLL T IOI CP OE

District Court's Memorandum Order 12/6/73 4la

However, Fed. R. Civ. P. 23(d)(2) allows, if required

for the protection of members of the class or otherwise for

the fair conduct of the litigation, that notice be given in such

manner as the court may direct to some or all of the members

of the class of any step in the action.

The court, therefore, invites the application of counsel

for approval of a form and method of distribution of such

notice as may be advisable at any stage of this action. Prior to

such application counsel shall meet and confer with a view to

reaching agreement as to the desirability, form and manner

of distribution of such notice, and shall report to the court in

such application the areas of agreement as well as any area of

disagreement.

4.

Plaintiffs have moved to compel the production for

examination of certain notes made by deposition witness

Robert A. Penney contemporaneously with Mr. Penney’s

interviews with the named-plaintiffs representative parties.

In accordance with the oral instructions of the court of the

conference of counsel on December 3, 1973 it is ORDERED

that defendant shall respond to Plaintiffs’ Motion showing

the cause, if any, why such production should not be

ordered. _

Defendant shall file said Response on or before

December 17, 1973.

\

5.

Plaintiffs have also moved for reconsideration of our

Order of November 27, 1972 which restricted Plaintiffs’

discovery. On consideration of the Motion, the represen-

tations made therein, and the oral arguments made at the

conference of December 3, 1973, it is ORDERED that:

Defendant shall produce for inspection and copying by

Plaintiffs’ counsel all statements taken by Defendant from

any member of the class defined herein and reduced to

\

Ft RE ROTO el

—

42a District Court's Memorandum Order 12/6/73

writing concerning the recruitment, hiring, employment, job

description, compensation, maternity leave and health

insurance benefits of employees from and after July 2, 1965.

Defendant shall also produce for inspection by Plaintiffs’

counsel the persounel file of any employee or former

employee from whom such a statement was secured. The

term “statement” as used herein shall include a written

statement prepared or signed by said employee and any

memorandum or summary of a statement made or interview

conducted which was summarized or reported in writing by

any other person.

Otherwise, the restrictions of the Order of November

27, 1972 remain in effect. The court reserves for later

determination when the need becomes apparent, Plaintiffs’

request for production of the last known names and

addresses of former female technical employees in Defen-

dant’s claims department.

So Ordered this 6th day of December, 1973.

/s/ GerALp J. WEBER

Gerald J. Weber

United States District Judge

ce:

All counsel

Or AAA PAP OEE.

Opinion of the District Court 1/9/74 43a

IN THE

Wnited States District Court

° ° (Caption—72-169) ° °

Jan. 9, 1974

OPINION

Wesen, District Judge

The two named Plaintiffs on behalf of themselves and

all other female technical employees employed in Defen-

dant Liberty Mutual Insurance Company’s Claims Depart-

ment (the Company) have filed a Complaint charging that

the Company discriminated against women in hiring, job

classification, promotions, and in the compensation and job

benefits they received for the jobs they were allowed to

hold.

The Representative Plaintiffs are Sandra Wetzel, a

woman, who was hired by Defendant Company as a

“Claims Representative” in July 1967, and Mari Ross, who

was hired by Defendant Company as a “Claims Represen-

tative” in September 1967. Both allege that they suffered

discrimination by reason of their sex because of the hiring,

job classification, pay differential, and employment benefit

policies of Defendant Company and that these policies were

applied to all female technical employees in the Defendant's

Claims Department throughout the nation where Defendant

Company did business.

The court determined that the action should proceed as

a class action covering all female technical employees in the

Defendant's Claims Department in the entire geographical

area where the Company did business. The class as now

defined includes all such employees who were hired or

working for the Company in its Claims Department since

July 2, 1965, the effective date of Title VII of 42 U.S.C.

§2000e et seq., the Equal Employment Opportunity Act of

1972.

hoe

yee

RONG EE CEG Gre OTE OF

44a Opinion of the District Court 1/9/74

Extensive discovery has been employed and the

Plaintiffs now file a motion for partial summary judgment on

certain of the issues raised. I: is agreed between the parties

thatt one of the issues, designated the “equal pay” issue, is not

susceptible of summary judgment at this time because there

are disputed issues of fact with respect to whether or not the

work performed by women in the job classification of

“Claims Representative” was equal to the work performed

by men in the job classification of “Claims Adjuster” for

which they were paid a substantially higher salary.

However, the Plaintiffs at this time allege that there is no

genuine issue as to any material fact with respect to the job

classification under which men and women were originally

hired as technical employees in the Claims Department,

with regard to the promotional policy within the Claims

Department, and with regard to the pregnancy and

maternity leave policies of the Company including the

disability income protection plan of the Company as applied

to women on maternity leave.

The key point of discrimination set forth in the

pleadings, evidentiary material and briefs of the plaintiffs,

and the amicus curiae brief of the United States Equal

Employment Opportunity Commission is the hiring policy

of the Company, since original assignment in effect

determines the employee’s future chances of promotion

within the Company. Because the Company in its Claims

Department promotes from its own ranks, the opportunity

for advancement depends upon the entry level position to

which an employee is assigned upon first being employed by

the Company’s claim division. Promotion to the higher rank

of Claims Supervisor was limited to persons holding the

position of Claims Adjuster and throughout most of the

period under consideration through 1970 was limited to male

employees because all Claims Adjusters were male. On the

other hand the entry level classification in the Company's

Opinion gd the District Court 1/9/74 45a

Claims Department of “Claims Representative” was

exclusively limited to women throughout most of the period

under consideration here. There was no avenue of promo-

tion to Claims Supervisor and higher supervisory positions

from those personnel classified as “Claims Representatives”

on entry into the Company in its Claims Division.

There were two higher supervisory positions in the

“Claims Representative” category, that of “Supervising

Claims Representative” and “Claims Representative Super-

visor”, but no promotion beyond the second rank. Although

the line of responsibility from “Claims Representative

Supervisor” runs to “Claims Supervisor” there is no similar

line of promotion because all “Claims Supervisors” are

drawn from the ranks of “Claims Adjuster”.

/

/

ORC Abe PEM Matatie OLE APA OF Le oP

‘

46a Opinion of the District Court 1/9/74

The lines of euhaaieien: and promotion are illustrated

as follows:

CLAIMS DEPARTMENT - . TECHNICAL EMPLOYEES

Lines of Responsibility and Epemaation

"Division Claims Manager

| PI) ae

EES? eR

Branch Office Claims Manager |

Branch Office Assistant Claims Manager

/

‘

'

‘

Claims Supervisor

i a

.

Claims Representative Supervisor

Claims Representative (CR)

lines of responsibility

lines of promotion _...._._..__-

‘The same educational requirements were in 1965 and

thereafter until 1970 with respect to the hiring of “Claims

Adjusters” and “Claims Representatives”, a college degree.

No prior experience in the insurance business was required

and in fact the Company did not hire persons who had

worked’ for other insurance companies in its entry level

positions in the Claims Department.

- Although the Defendant Company had employed

_ “Claims Adjusters” for a long period of time the position of

“Claims Representative” was created in mid-1965. The

position was created when the Company had decided to

‘

Opinion of the District Court 1/9/74 47a

handle more of its claims work from inside its offices. A

recruiting brochure for this position was prepared and

circulated through college placement offices and employ-

ment agencies. The qualification for the “Claims Represen-

tative” position included a college degree. The recruiting

brochure is entirely female oriented. Its title page bears the

capiton and picture identifying the position as a job fit for a

queen. It shows women in its illustrations of persons

performing their duties in this capacity. Between July 1, 1965

and the end of 1966, 401 persons were hired for the positions

of “Claims Representative”, not one of which was male.

Between July 1, 1965 and March 17, 1972, 2,329 persons were

hired as “Claims Representatives” of which 2,302 or 98.547

were women. The first male “Claims Representative” was

hired in 1969, four in 1970, and twenty in 1971. During the

period from 1965 until the end of 1970, the Company hired

over 2,000 “Claims Adjusters”, not one of which was female.

The recruiting brochure used by the Company during

this period describing the position and duties of “Claims

Adjusters” was entirely male oriented, its illustrations

showing men performing the duties of the position, and

bearing the legend in large type, “Are you the right man?”,

and reciting the avenues of advancement from Claims

Adjuster through Branch Office Claims Manager, Division

Claims Manager, Manager Home Office Examiners’

Division, and so on up the ladder. The Company promoted

to advanced positions in its Claims Department solely from

those persons who had served it in the capacity of “Claims

Adjuster”.

The two Representative Plaintiffs were hired in the

position of “Claims Representative” and they have deposed

that in answer to their inquiries they were informed that the

position of “Claims Adjuster”, the beginning of the

promotional ladder in the Claims Department, was not

available for women. It has been admitted by represen-

48a Opinion of the District Court 1/9/74

tatives of the Defendant that the two named Representative

Plaintiffs were qualified for the position of “Claims

Adjuster” at the time of the original hiring.

It would serve little purpose to recite in detail the great

mass of statistical evidence which the Plaintiffs have

produced in support of their contention that the two initial

entry positions were segregated between male and female

applicants, that the educational requirement for both

positions was the same, that no prior insurance experience

was required for either position, that the functions per-

formed in these positions were very similar, that the pay

differential between the positions was substantial, being

approximately $2,500 per year greater for the Claims

Adjuster, that prior to 1971 no opportunity was given to

women “Claims Representatives” to qualify for the position

of “Claims Adjuster”, and that all promotions to higher

positions in the Claims Department were made from the

ranks of the exclusively male “Claims Adjuster” classifica-

tion.

In addition to the statistical evidence which is un-

rebutted here the Plaintiffs have produced additional

supporting evidence of the Company’s employment policies

with respect to women in the Claims Division. Much of this

3 evidence is in the form of oral testimony and affidavits

7 which may be subject to a question of credibility but a good

deal of the supporting evidence is documentary and

supports the Plaintiffs’ contention of a recognized pattern of

3 treating the male and female employees in the Claims

Department differently in respect to recruitment, hiring

classifications, promotional opportunities, and salary.

We are not speaking of salary or compensation with

respect to the question of whether equal pay was given for

the same work but in connection with the entry level salary

paid for the two classifications and the salary differential

between “Claims Representatives” of considerable ex-

| en PERSIA Mra CRT IRAN SONS

SSO A

De® as EF OPE OI ELI GIT EPP BLE AOD ORY I BEE ELE E OF OOO.

Opinion of the District Court 1/9/74 49a

patsy ti aks |

perience and the starting salary which they could receive

when openings were finally made available to “Claims

Representatives” to become “Claims Adjusters”.

Two sections of Fed. R. Civ. P. 56 are applicable to our

consideration of Plaintiffs’ motion for summary judgment.

Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c) provides in part:

“The judgment sought shall be rendered forthwith if the

pleadings, depositions, answers to interrogatories, and

[the] admissions on file, together with the affidavits, if

any, show that there is no genuine issue as to any

material fact, and that the moving party is entitled to

judgment as a matter of law.”

and Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(e) which provides in part:

“When a motion for summary judgment is made and

supported as provided in this rule, an adverse party may

not rest upon the mere allegations or denials of his

pleading, but his response, by affidavits, or as otherwise

provided in this rule, must set forth specific facts

showing that there is a genuine issue for trial. If he does

not so respond, summary judgment, if appropriate,

shall be entered against him.”

The Plaintiffs have relied chiefly on statistical evidence

in support of their contention of discriminatory employment

policies and in many cases the courts have accepted such

evidence in determination of whether Title VII has been

violated. Parham v. Southwestern Bell Telephone Co., 433

F.2d 421 [8th Cir. 1970]; Witherspoon v. Mercury Freight

Lines, Inc., 457 F. 2d 496 [5th Cir. 1972]; Bing v. Roadway

Express, Inc., 444 F. 2d 687 [5th Cir. 1971]; Rowe v. General

Motors Corp., 457 F. 2d 348 [5th Cir. 1972]. In accordance

with these decisions and under the doctrine of McDonnell

Douglas Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S. 792, 93 S. Ct. 1817, 36 L.

Ed. 2d 668 [1973], once the plaintiff has established a prima

facie case by setting forth statistics of this kind the burden is

on the employer to sufficiently explain the disparity in +

hiring; conclusory statements that the employer never

te

ETRE

SOa Opinion of the District Court 1/9/74

discriminated in hiring is insufficient to satisfy this burden.

As stated in McDonnell, supra, “The burden then must shift

to the employer to articulate some legitimate, non-

discriminatory reason for the respondent's rejection.” (p.

802, 93 S. Ct. p. 1824). We are of the opinion that the

Defendant's response to the Plaintiffs’ motion for summary

judgment fails to address this burden at all, let alone rebut

the Plaintiffs’ evidence.

The response of the Defendant raises eight issues of

defense, as follows:

1

Neither of the named Representative Plaintiffs is

currently in the employ of the Defendant. This is not a

contested issue of fact. The Plaintiffs admit that both the

representative party Plaintiffs have left the employ of

Defendant and the question of whether or not their

termination from employment was voluntary or forced by

discriminatory employment practices of the Defendant is

not an issue before us at this time. This is a matter of law

concerning standing and it has been held that a former

employee may bring an action to enforce rights under this

statute claimed to have been infringed. In Hackett v.

McGuire Bros., Inc., 445 F.2d 442 [3d Cir. 1971] this

contention was rejected;

“The national public policy reflected ...in Title

VII. . . may not be frustrated by the development of

overly technical judicial doctrines of standing or

election of remedies. If the plaintiff is sufficiently

aggrieved so that he claims enough injury in fact to

present a genuine case or controversy in the Article III

sense, then he should have standing to sue in his own

right and as a class representative.” (pp. 446, 447).

The Circuit Court continued:

“A person claiming to be aggrieved may never have

been an employee of the defendant. Indeed the Act

SE LAZO OOO ~~

¢ Pg EN REELS BS

— ee ve . reer Se

fi

Opinion of the District Court 1/9/74 5la

forbids discrimination not only by employers, 42 U.S.C.

§2000e-2(a)(2), but also by potential employers, 42

U.S.C. §2000e-2(a)(1), by labor organizations, 42

U.S.C. §2000e-2(c), and by employment agencies, 42

U.S.C. §2000e-2(b). An aggrieved person obviously is

any person aggrieved by any of the forbidden practtices.

(pp. 445-446).

An interesting commentary on the argument asserted to this

court was made in Reed v. Arlington Hotel Co., Inc., 476 F.

2d 721 [8th Cir. 1973}:

“ ..if this kind of an individual [a discharged

employee, not seeking reinstatement] would! be

prevented from bringing class actions as the rules

permit, there would be a windfall for the employer, and

when any such matter was coming up, all they would

have to do is discharge the employee . . .” (p. 72:3).

2.

The Defendant argues that the representative jparty

Plaintiffs were offered “Claims Adjuster” status and has filed

evidence to this effect. This is not denied by Plaintiff's but

they contend that the terms of the offer were unaccepitable

and were made after the charges of discrimination were

filed in this case with the United States Equal Employiment

Opportunity Commission in 1971. We find this to be a

disputed issue of fact which may be relevant to the question

of damages of the representative party ‘Plaintiffs, but

irrelevant to the question of violation of the stafute which is

before us. Under all circumstances, it is shown by the

evidence that the offer of “Claims Adjuster” status was made

long after the effective date of the statute in question, after

both representative Plaintiffs had been employed im the

positions of “Claims Representatives” for several years, and

after the filing of the Complaints before the EEOC in this

matter.

=

&

>

&

&

:

z

52a Opinion of the District Court 1/9/74

3.

Defendant claims that there is a dispute as to the content

of conversations between representatives of the Company

and a representative of the Pennsylvania Human Relations

Commission. This alleged conversation bears on the

Company’s motive and intent in offering “Claims Adjuster”

status to the named-Plaintiffs at the time that it did. We find

this completely immaterial to the issue before us at this time

because the offer of Claims Adjuster status was not made

until the alleged discriminatory practices in violation of Title

VII of the Act had continued for several years and the issue

had been raised by a Complaint to the Equal Employment

Opportunity Commission by the named Plaintiffs.

4.

The Defendant contends that there is a disputed issue of

fact on the question of whether or not the qualifications and

entrance requirements for the position of “Claims Adjuster”

are substantiall:, different from those of “Claims Represen-

tative”. Although with respect to the duties and respon-

sibilities of each position which we have previously

designated as the “equal pay” issue, not before the Court on

this Summary Judgment motion, nevertheless we are

concerned at this time with whether or not qualified female

applicants were excluded from the position of “Claims

Adjuster” and its subsequent promotional ladder. The

statistical evidence shows that of more than 2,000 persons

hired for the porition of “Claims Adjuster” up through 1970,

not one was female. The Defendant's own representatives

have admitted that the representative Plaintiffs in this case

were qualified for the position of “Claims Adjuster” at the

time of original hiring. Therefore, we find that the

Defendant has not met the burden of showing why no

female personnel were hired for the “Claims Adjuster”

position during the period following the effective date of

Opinion of the District Court 1/9/74 53a

Title VII until sometime after August 1971 and subsequent to

the filing of complaints in the within matter. Plaintiff's

contention is further supported by evidence that no female

employees occupied the supervisory position of “Claims

Supervisor” in the Company which were filled from the

ranks of the “Claim Adjusters” until at least 1970. If the jobs

were substantially dissimilar as the Defendant claims, the

differential in starting salary may be justified but the total

exclusion of women from entry into the higher paid “Claims

Adjuster” position would remain as a discriminatory

practice, and the promotional policy of the company in

drawing all of its supervisory personnel from the ranks of the

exclusively male “Claims Adjusters” continued and

emphasized the discriminatory effect of the policy.

Therefore, we find that the Defendant's argument of a

difference in the qualifications or duties of the two positions

is. immaterial to the Plantiffs’ charge that women were

discriminated against in the selection of persons to fill the

“Claim Adjuster” position. The company has offered no

evidence of any bonafide occupational qualification to

justify the complete exclusion of women for this position for

over a period of five years, particularly in view of its later

determination that some women “Claims Representatives”

were qualified for and were offered these positions.

5.

The Defendant argues that it is not clearly established

by the evidence that a large number of Defendant's female

employees were desirous of and qualified for better

positions. We cannot see the materiality of this argument to

the question presently before us. The undisputed evidence

establishes that after charges were filed in this case, the

Defendant did interview its “Claims Representatives” and

that 10% of them were offered and accepted positions as

“Claims Adjusters”. It was further established by testimony

Ba ST i ah

SS ae

ba

nee

ONE RNE

LT CROP ERP we ee

ie abs dae Labbe 1}

+ Fwy

Shseiidl tales hn haan

" ee

a Opinion of the District Court 1/9/74

of a Company representative that the Company considered

one-third of its women “Claims Representatives” to be

qualified for the position of “Claims Adjuster”. We fail to see

how these facts alter the statistical evidence that of the more

than 2,000 “Claims Adjusters” hired between 1965 and 1970

none were women, that all of the “Claims Representatives”

hired during this period were women, that no woman in the

job classification of “Claims Representative” was ever

promoted to the supervisory position of “Claims Supervisor”

during this period; that the Company deliberately engaged

in the recruitment of women for the “Claims Represen-

tative” position and represented the “Claims Adjuster”

position to be solely a position for male applicants.

6.

The Defendant objects to using the import of the

recruiting brochures which were offered in evidence by

Plaintiffs and has shown that they have since been

superseded by new recruiting literature that is not sex

oriented. However, in this matter as in several other matters

offered in defense in this case the evidence shows that the

Company policy changed after having been continued for a

period of approximately five years from the effective date

of Title VII and after the threat of the instant litigation

became imminent. While the change in Company pdlicy

may affect the question of the amount of damages for which

it may be laible, we cannot see what effect it has on the

liability of Defendant for its policy from and after July 2,

1965.

7

The Defendant disputes the Plaintiffs’ statement that

Defendant discouraged acceptances for the offer given to

female “Claims Representatives” for re-classification to the

position of “Claims Adjuster”. We do not find this to be a

dispute on a material issue of fact. Whether or not the

eee PLS PELE FLL III LO PATE LEO ILE PAA BPE LOE I *

\

Opinion of the District Court 1/9/74 55a

company discouraged its female “Claims Representatives”

from accepting the offered position of “Claims Adjuster”,

after that occupational classification was opened to women

is immaterial to the issue or whether or not the Company

practiced discrimination in its employment policies from

and after July 2, 1965.

For the purposes of this motion we may assume that the

Company did not discourage its female employees from

accepting offers to transfer to the classification of “Claims

Adjuster.”

a

<

Fs

:

£

8.

The Defendant disputes the inferences which the

Plaintiffs draw from the facts that no women were

promoted to the positions of Branch Office Claims Manager

and above. Whether or not there is a dispute from these

inferences the undisputed fact remains that no women in the

Defendant's organization were promoted to or held these

positions, and the Defendant has failed to come forward

with any evidence to explain or refute the disparity in

promotional practices.

Il.

A second issue presented by Plaintiffs’ motion for

summary judgment may be broadly categorized as the

maternity leave issue. This in turn is divided into two sub-

issues which we label as

‘

(a) the maternity leave conditions of employment and

(b) the income protection plan as applied to maternity

leave.

(a) Maternity leave policy.

Until March 1967, the Company policy was to terminate

the employment of a pregnant employee at the end of her

sixth month of pregnancy. Thereafter, until September 1970

Z

lad

¢

“

4 ALI TERI DE TD TILE SEL AY ST AAT

56a Opinion of the District Court 1/9/74

the policy was to terminate an employee after the eighth

month of pregnancy. An employee so terminated could be

re-employed, at the sole discretion of the Company, if she

re-applied for employment after the birth of her child and if

there was a position, available.

In September 1970, Company policy was changed to

require pregnant employees either to terminate employ-

ment or to take a leave of absence at the end of the eighth

month and to return to work either within six months of the

date of termination of employment or three months from

date of delivery, whichever comes first.

In November 1971, Company policy was again changed

to permit an employee to work for as long as her physician

certifies here ability to work prior to commencing a

maternity leave of absence.

(b) Income Protection Policy.

The Company provides as a fringe benefit of employ-

ment an Income Protection Plan which provides for the

payment of income during periods of disability. This plan is

funded by insurance benefits. The only long term disability

for which no benefits are provided is pregnancy. Further-

more, the Defendant's health insurance plan provides

coverage for children of employees who are working for the

Company at the time of the birth of the child, and this

excludes from coverage the child of an employee who is

absent on a maternity leave of absence at the time of the

birth of the child._

There is no disputed issue of fact as to the provisions of

the maternity leave policies and the fringe benefit coverage

of Defendant Company. The question presented to us is

solely a matter of law as the application of Title VII to these

undisputed facts.

A threshold question raised by Defendant is that the

Plaintiffs have not fulfilled the statutory requirement of

exhaustion of the administrative remedy, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-

Opinion of the District Court 1/9/74 57a

5(e) because the charges filed by these Plaintiffs with the

EEOC never mentioned this aspect of the complaint. The

policy of the statute is to give the EEOC an opportunity to

investigate and conciliate charges of discrimination.

The strongest case urged by Defendant Company is

Tedford v. Airco Reduction Co., 4 F.E.P. Cases 406 [5th Cir.

1972], where the Court of Appeals reversed the dismissal by

the District Court of a claim for discriminatory hiring

practices because of mootness. The Appeals Court held that

the subsequent hiring of plaintiff did not extinguish

plaintiff's claim for back wages. However, the Court of

Appeals did sustain the dismissal of claims of a dis-

criminatory seniority system and discriminatory job

assignments because,

“the only factual allegation in Tedford’s EEOC

complaint was that Airco had refused to hire him as a

truck driver because of his race.”

oO J o J oO

“But giving this factual allegation the most generous

construction possible, we still are unable to conclude

that the investigation could properly have extended to

Airco’s seniority system, the driver lists, and the like. A

charge filed before the EEOC is not a plenary charter

for a Commission investigation of every aspect of a

company’s employment practices. The conclusion is

unavoidable that the EEOC has never been called upon

to investigate these practices, and accordingly that

litigation of their validity in federal court is premature.”

4 F.E.P. Cases, p. 409.

However, this was the same Circuit Court that decided

Sanchez v. Standard Brands, 431 F. 2d 455 (5th Cir. 1970},

and the Tedford court gave due regard to the Sanchez

doctrine.

However, the courts have not restricted a plaintiff's suit

under 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5(e) to the specific issues raised

before the EEOC, nor to the specific findings of the EEOC.

mg RE ee eee ieee Bhets) hu

58a Opinion of the District Court 1/9/74

“Respondent satisfied the jurisdictional prerequisites to

a federal action (i) by filing timely charges of

employment discrimination with the Commission and

(ii) by receiving and acting upon the Commission's

statutory notice of the right to sue, 42 U.S.C. § § 2000e-

5(a) and 2000e-5(e). The Act does not restrict a

complainant's right to sue to those charges as to which

the Commission has made findings of reasonable cause,

and we will not engraft on the statute a requirement

which may inhibit the review of claims of employment

discrimination in the federal courts... . . and the courts

of appeal have held that, in view of the large volume of

complaints before the Commission and the nonadver-

sary character of many of its proceedings ‘court actions

under Title VII are de novo proceedings and...a

Commission “no reasonable cause” finding does not bar

a lawsuit in the case.’ Robinson v. Lorillard Corp., 444 F.

2d 791; 800 [C.A. 4, 1971]; Beverly v. Lone Star Lead

Construction Corp., 437 F. 2d 1136 [C.A. 5, 1971];

Flowers v. Local 6, Laborers International Union of

North America, 431 F. 2d 205 [C.A. 7, 1971]; Fekete v.

United States Steel Corp., 424 F. 2d 331 [C.A. 3, 1970].”

McDonnell Douglas Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S. 792, 798-

799, 93S. Ct. 1817, 1822, 1823, 36 L. Ed. 2d 668 [1973].

In Sanchez v. Standard Brands, Inc., cit. supra, it was

explained that in filing a charge with the EEOC an aggrieved

person is supplied with a simple one-page charge form in

which a row of boxes is provided to check the category of

discrimination. We have as Exhibits in the present case the

Notice of Charge which the EEOC gave to Defendant

Company for each case which indicates “Basis of

Discrimination—Sex”, and Nature of Charge—Promotion—

Terms and Conditions.” The Sanchez court found that no

charging party should be barred from the assertion of a

charge because of the technicality of his description.

“Surely the only procedural requirement which should

confront a Title VII complainant is the requirement that

oP OCA ROR oe

; ale DERI EL LS MOL) PT AE LE MOPED Oe ns he

:

&

2

Opinion of the District Court 1/9/74 59a

he state, within the ninety-day period, facts sufficient to

trigger a Commission investigation. 431 F. 2d p. 462.

Sanchez continues:

“At least one district court in this circuit has addressed

itself to the question, however, and in our judgment it

responded to the question by giving the correct answer.

In King v. Georgia Power Co., N.D. Ga. 1968, 295 F.

Supp. 943, Judge Smith held that the allegations in a

judicial complaint filed pursuant to Title VII ‘may

encompass any kind of discrimination like or related to

allegations contained in the charge and growing out of

such allegation during the pendency of the case before

the Commission.’ 295 F. Supp. at 947. In other words,

the ‘scope’ of the judicial complaint is limited to the.

‘scope’ of the EEOC investigation which can reasonably

be expected to grow out of the charge of discrimina-

tion.” 431 F. 2d p. 466.

It appeared from oral argument that Defendant,

although it had received the “Notice of Charge of

Employment Discrimination”, had not seen copies of the

original charges filed by Plaintiffs with the Commission

before the argument. It appeared that they had never been

requested. They were supplied to the court and counsel the

day following the argument on this motion. The charge of

Plaintiff Mari Ross states, inter alia, “During interview for

position as claims representative was subjected to questions

regarding marital situation and birth control.” Furthermore,

the Plaintiffs were required to pursue their charges through

an appropriate state agency, the Pennsylvania Humgn

Relations Commission, which on July 1, 1971, sent to

Defendant a Complaint which recited, inter alia:

“The complainants further allege that female

applicants, as a condition of hire, are subjected to

inquiries about anticipated marriage and family size,

while men are not similarly evaluated as a condition of

hire.”

(Aune, Deposition, Exhibition 1).

60a Opinion of the District Court 1/9/74

The court believes that the, Representative Plaintiffs

have properly employed the administrative procedures of

Title VII which are a prerequisite to suit in the district court,

they have properly raised the issue of sex discrimination in

the “terms and conditions” of employment, that they

specifically raised allegations of discrimination in respect to

marital status and family planning sufficient to satisfy the

administrative investigation requirement for raising the

. specific question of sex discrimination in maternity leave

and pregnancy disability income policies in the present

lawsuit.

As a point of departure in considering the merits of

Plaintiffs’ charges of sex discrimination with respect to

Defendant's maternity leave and pregnancy disability

income protection policies it might appear to the lay mind

that we are treading on the brink of a precipice of absurdity.

Perhaps the admonition of Professor Thomas Reed Powell

to his law students is apt; “If you can think if something

which is inextricably related to some other thing and not

think of the other thing, you have a legal mind.”

We are dealing witha statute enacted by the Congress

of the United States which says:

“It shall be unlawful employment practices for an

employer—

(1) to fail or refuse to hire or to discharge any

individual, or otherwise to discriminate against any

individual with respect to his compensation, terms,

conditions, or privileges of employment, because of

such individual's . . . sex; or

(2) to limit, segregate or classify his employees in any

way which would deprive or tend to deprive any

individual of employment opportunities or otherwise

adversely affect his status as an employee, because of

such individual's . . . sex.” 42 U.S.C. § 2000e—2(a).

The defendant argues that its policies with regard to

maternity leave and income protection for disability

GIALLO) PP

y : an co.

ny

:

:

Opinion of the District Court 1/9/74 6la

excluding pregnancy are not sex discriminatory because

pregnancy is “sui generis” and thus subject to special

treatment.

We believe that the court may take judicial notice of

certain well kuown facts and statistics to illustrate the

problem. We have taken our statistics from the United States

Census figures as published in the 1974 edition of the World

Almanac. In 1970, according to the census figures, there

were 105,000,000 women and 100,000,000 men in the United

States. In 1972 there were 31,000,000 women and 51,000,000

men, sixteen years of age and upwards, employed in the

United States. Women between the ages of fourteen through

forty-four amounted to 43.5% of the total female population

or 45,675,000 women, which we equate with the childbear-

ing age. There is a necessary overlapping of the 31,000,000

women in the work force sixteen years of age and older, and

the 45,000,00 women in the childbearing ages of fourteen to

forty-four. There were 3,191,000 live births in the United

States in the year ending June W, 1973 which produces a

birth rate of about fifteen per 1,000 of total population, but a

fertility rate of sixty-nine births per 1,000 women fifteen to

forty-four years of age. We recognize that more precise

statistics are available but we are not concerned with

ninutiae and only recite these figures to illustrate the scope

of the problem. Pregnancy is a natural condition, it is an

expectable condition, it is a statistically foreseeable condi-

tion, and ultimately it is a necessary condition. It is a

condition limited to women, not by statutory law or custom,

but by biological law. If three-eighths of our employee

working force consists of women, and their age group

necessarily overlaps in large measure the childbearing age

group, pregnancy is certain to occur in a statistically

expectable number of employees. We have no doubt that a

large insurance company is well aware of the precise

statistics. We further note from this case that the defendant's

recruiting policies for female technical employees in its

x -ngpeere

nag aren Nah

¥ ow

62a Opinion of the District Court 1/9/74

claims department was aimed at young women finishing

their college education, and that its promotional policy was

to advance personnel within its own ranks and not draw

upon outside sources. This policy would only increase the

incidence of young women of childbearing age among the

female employees of a growing business organization such

as Defendant, which hired over 2,000 new female claims

representatives in a five year period.

Because pregnancy is a natural, expectable, and

societally necessary condition, which is certain to occur in a

statistically predictable number of women in the labor force,

we see no merit in Defendant's argument that it may be

excluded from equality of treatment in conditions and

benefits of employment because it is a voluntary condition.

Whether voluntary or not, it occurs with certainty and

regularity. The distinction drawn between one hiring policy

for men and another for women—each having pre-school

age children—was rejected by the Supreme Court in Phillips

v. Martin Marietta Corp., 400 U.S. 542, 544, 90S. Ct. 496, 27

L. Ed. 2d 613 [1971] where there was no showing that the

condition in question is a bonafide occupational qualifica-

tion necessary to the operation of that particular business or

enterprise.

The United States Equal Employment Opportunity

Commission which is ‘the administrative body created by

Title VII to adminsiter the Act, has issued the following

Guidelines with respect to the question at issue:

§ 1604.10 Employment policies relating to pregnancy

and childbirth.

(a) A written or unwritten employment policy or

practice which excludes from employment applicants

or employees because of pregnancy is in prima facie

violation of Title VII.

(b) Disabilities caused or contributed to by pregnancy,

miscarriage, abortion, childbirth, and recovery,

Opinion of the District Court 1/9/74 63a

therefrom are, for all job-related purposes, temporary

disabilities and should be treated as such under any

health or temporary disability insurance or sick leave

plan available in connection with employment. Written

and unwritten’ employment. policies and practices

involving matters such as the commencement and

duration of leave, the availability of eXtensions, and

accrual of seniority and other benefits or temporary

disability insurance or sick leave plan, formal or

informal, shall be applied to disability due to pregnancy

or childbirth on the same terms and conditions as thes

are applied to other temporary disabilities.

(c) Where the termination of an employee who is

temporarily disabled is caused by an employment

policy under which insufficient or no leave is available,

such a termination violates the Act if it has a disparate

impact on employees of one sex and is not justified by

business necessity.

29 C.F.R. Labor, Chapter XIV, Part 1604, As Amended

(As of March 31, 1972).

§ 1604.9 Fringe Benefits.

(a) “Fringe benefits,” as used herein, includes medical,

hospital, accident, life insurance and_ retirement

benefits; profit-sharing and bonus plans; leave; and

other terms, conditions, and privileges of employment.

(b) It shall be an unlawful employment practice for an

employer to discriminate between men and women

with regard to fringe benefits.

29 C.F.R. idem.

We give full recognition to the principle urged upon us

that the EEOC Guidelines, 29 C.F.R. §1604.10, effective

April 5, 1972, do not have the force of law in the sense that the

“regulations” or “substantive rules” of an administrative

body authorized by statute to promulgate regulations to

implement existing law have a binding effect. We also

recognize that the Guidelines are interpretive statements of

64a

Opinion of the District Court 1/9/74

what the administrative officer thinks the regulations mean.

Gibson Wine Co. Inc. v. Snyder, 90 U.S. App. D.C. 135, 194

F. 2d 329 [1951]. We are not compelled to follow them, but

some deference is due. Espinoza v. Farah Manufacturing

Co.,

462 F. 2d 1331, 1335 [6th Cir. 1972].

Our own Court of Appeals states it more strongly:

“Such an administrative interpretation is entitled to

great deference. Griggs v. Duke Power Co., 401 U.S.

424, 433-434, 91 S. Ct. 849, 28 L. Ed. 2d 158 [1971]; Udall

v. Tallman, 380 U.S. 1, 85 S. Ct. 792, 13 L. Ed. 2d 616

[1965]. That the guideline was not promulgated until

after this suit was initiated is of no moment. Rights

which came into being when the Act was passed are not

abrogated by administrative interpretation. Bartmess v.

Drewrys U.S.A., Inc., 444 F. 2d 1186 [C.A. 7], cert

denied, 404 U.S. 939, 92 S. Ct. 274, 30 L. Ed. 2d 252

{1971].”

“A reading of the statute convinces us that the

commission's interpretation furthers the legislative

purpose of the Act and is consistent with the plain

meaning of the language employed.

‘Congress intended to strike at the entire spectrum of

disparate treatment of men and women resulting from

sex stereotypes.’ Sprogis v. United Air Lines, 444 F. 2d

1194, 1198 [C.A. 7], cert denied, 404 U.S. 991, 92S. Ct.

536, 30 L. Ed. 2d 543 [1971].” Rosen v. Public Service

Electric and Gas Co., 477 F. 2d 90 [3rd Cir. 1973], at pp.

94-95.

The only current provision of the Defendant's maternity

leave policy under attack is the provision that the employee

who is granted a leave of absence for maternity must return

to w

men

‘ork on a date certain or be terminated from employ-

t. Plaintiffs’ Complaint is zeroed in on the target that this

limitation on leave of absence for temporary disability is

only

men

applied to maternity cases. There is no such require-

t for any other disability.

Opinion of the District Court 1/9/74 65a

Because state and local governments were exempted

under Title VI until 1972, there are few Title VII cases

involving pregnancy that give us guidelines, but the question

has arisen frequently under cases presenting claims of denial

of equal protection or denial of civil rights under color of

state authority. We believe that Title VII standards are more

compelling on a private employer in view of the express

statutory mandate upon employers and the absence of the

question of a “rational basis” for classification by which a

state statute is measured. Dandridge v. Williams, 397 U.S.

471, 90S. Ct. 1153, 25 L. Ed. 2d 491 [1970]. While a fixed state

policy of classification may survive an equal protection

attack it may still be violative of Title VII. See Schattman v.

Texas Employment Commission, 459 F. 2d 32 [5th Cir.

1972], and Newmon v. Delta Airlines, Inc., 475 F. 2d 768 [5th

Cir. 1973].

A district court in the Fifth Circuit has recognized that:

“Schattman, ...turned upon a divided Appellate

Court's interpretation of the federal statute as it then

read on the question of its exclusion from coverage of

state employers and employees.” Vick v. Texas

Employment Commission, 6 EPD 5990 [S. D. Tex. Aug.

30, 1973].

However, the Vick case found this impediment to jurisdic-

tion removed by the 1972 Amendment to Title VII, and

proceeded to find that the state’s denial of unemployment

benefits on the grounds that the last trimester of pregnancy

rendered a woman unavailable for work, violated the

provisions of Title VII.

“While the expectancy of life confined and incident to

female pregnancy involves many delicacies of personal,

institutional and societal interest, Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S.

113 [93 S. Ct. 705, 35 L. Ed. 2d 147] 41 L. W. 4231

(January 22, 1973), such a natural and necessary female

condition cannot be a basis for categorical discrimina-

tion in light of Phillips and its plain interpretation of

Title VII of the Act.” Vick, cit supra, 5 EPD p. 5992.

i oe

Pere

66a Opinion of the District Court 1/9/74

Nevertheless, we can take some guidelines from the Equal

Protection Clause cases dealing with pregnancy.

Judge Brown in his dissent in Phillips v. Martin Marietta

Corp., 416 F. 2d 1257 [5th Cir. 1969], vacated per curiam 400

U.S. 542, 91 S. Ct. 496, 27 L. Ed. 2d 613 [1972] noted with

respect to that case, where women with pre-school age

children were denied employment, but not men:

“The distinguishing factor seems to be motherhood

versus fatherhood. The question then arises: Is this sex-

related? To the simple query the answer is just as

simple: Nobody—and this includes Judges, Solomonic

or life tenured— has yet seen a male mother. A mother,

to oversimplify the simplest biology, must then be a

woman”. 416 F. 2d p. 1259.

To the argument that pregnancy is a voluntary status,

the court in Buckley v. Coyle Public School System, 476 F.

2d 92 [10th Cir. 1973] says:

“The fact, if it be a fact, that pregnancy is a voluntary

status really has nothing to do with the question. The

point is that the regulation penalizes the feminine school

teacher for being a woman and, therefore, it must be

condemned on that ground.” 476 F. 2d at p. 95.

The Court of Appeals reversed the District Court's dismissal

and remanded the case to the District Court for determina-

tion of a compelling state interest to justify the regulation.

In Green v. Waterford Board of Education, 473 F. 2d

629 [2nd Cir. 1973], the Court of Appeals reversed a District

Court's dismissal of a complaint alleging that an inflexible

maternity leave policy denied equal protection. Even

though the District Court had found a rational basis for the

school board’s action, the Court of Appeals found that the

state’s interests were not sufficiently promoted by rule to

justify the arbitrary and inflexible regulation applied to

pregnancy as distinguished from other disabilities.

“The heart of plantiff’s case is that disqualifying a

physically capable woman from working because of a

Opinion of the District Court 1/9/74 67a

condition related solely to her sex is unconstitutionally

discriminatory. Plaintiff admits the obvious, that men

do not become pregnant, but points out that men, being

human, are also subject to crises of the body, some of

which, like childbirth, give ample warning: A cataract

operation or a prostatectomy, for example, may be

planned months ahead. Because male teachers are not

forced by defendant Board to take premature leave

because of a known forthcoming medical problem,

female teachers should not be treated differently. Thus

stated, the argument is persuasive, even compelling.

One realizes with a shock what so many women now

proclaim: Old accepted rules and customs often

discriminate against women in ways that have long been

taken for granted or have gone unnoticed.” (p. 634).

See also the following Equal Protection clause cases

involving maternity leave: LaFleur v. Cleveland Board of

Education, 465 F. 2d 1184 [6th Cir. 1972], cert. granted 411

U.S. 947, 93S. Ct. 1921, 36 L. Ed. 2d 408, but Cf. Cohen v.

Chesterfield County School Board, 474 F. 2d 395 [4th Cir.

1973], cert. granted, 411 U.S. 947, 93 S. Ct. 1925, 36 L. Ed. 2d

408.

Defendant has interposed a defense of good faith

reliance upon an administrative interpretation, particularly

in its defense on the income protection exclusion policy here.

This may be a matter to consider when the questions of

affirmative relief or back pay are determined but we cannot

see its application to the immediate question of the inflexible

maternity leave standard. During the period prior to the

Guidelines published in March 1972, there were no

guidelines or opinions issued by the EEOC. 42 U.S.C. §

2000e-12(b) (Sec. 713(b) of the Act) provides that “no person

shall be subject to any liability or punishment for an unlawful

employment practice if he pleads and proves that the act or

commission complained of was in good faith, in conformity

with and in reliance upon any written interpretation or

opinion of the Commission.”

a.)

2 ae

oe,

ist ae de OA WEE Re a A

cepaa a Rub rea tA a BE,

Sdvthexecett {SS At

| eens SSW

68a Opinion of the District Court 1/9/74

We do not believe that the various opinion letters

referred to in the brief of amicus curiae United States

Chamber of Commerce, with respect to the inclusion of

maternity benefits in an insurance plan meet the re-

quirements of Sec. 713; there is no evidence that defendant

relied upon them, they were not addressed to the defendant,

and do not otherwise conform to the requirements of a

written opinion under which the defense of reliance may be

asserted. Local 189 United Papermakers and Paperworkers,

etc. v. United States, 416 F. 2d 980 [5th Cir. 1969]; Sprogis v.

United Air Lines, Inc., 444 F. 2d 1194 [7th Cir. 1971].

The maternity leave policy of the company which since

1970 has granted a leave of absence for six months from the

last date of work before delivery, or for three months from

date of delivery, whichever comes first has no relation to the

fitness of any individual female to perform the functions of

her job.

The defendant has not alleged, nor has it offered any

evidentiary material to establish that there is a disputed issue

of fact dependent upon a bona fide occupational qualifica-

tion. Such a bona fide occupational qualification is a defense

to a charge of discrimination where sex is a bona fide

occupational qualification reasonably necessary to the

normal operation of that particular business or enterprise.

This has been narrowly construed by the courts. In Weeks v.

Southern Bell Telephone and Telegraph Company, 408 F.

2d 228 [5th Cir. 1969] the Court held this must give the

employer “a factual basis for believing that all or substantial-

ly all women would be unable to perform safely and

efficiently the duties of the job involved.” In Rosenfeld v.

Southern Pacific Co., 444 F. 2d 1219 [9th Cir. 1971] the court

held the exclusion of women justified only when “the sexual

characteristics of the employee are curcial to the successful

performance of the job, as they would be for the position of a

wet-nurse.” Under Rosenfeld, if one woman can do the job

Opinion of the District Court 1/9/74 69a

the employer cannot impose a blanket rule denying all

women the opportunity.

Under the company policy any female who cannot

return to her job within three months of delivery of her child

is automatically terminated. No other disability is cause for

such automatic termination. “For a woman, however, the

effects of pregnancy and pregnancy-related illness are

debilitating in much the same way as the physical and mental

conditions that are included within the scope of the disability

insurance program.” Aiello v. Hansen, 359 F. Supp. 792

[N.D. Cal. 1973].

We conclude, as a matter of law, that the maternity

leave policy in effect in Defendant Company at the present

time and since September 1970 in the respect in which it

requires a female to return to work within three months of

the date of delivery of her child, or six months from the

beginning of her maternity leave, whichever date is earlier,

or face termination of employment, is violative of Sec. 703,

of Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended, in

that such policy discriminates against female employees on

the basis of sex.

Because only this present policy is still in existence,

injunctive relief as to this practice is appropriate at this time.

We further find that all prior company policies in effect

since July 2, 1965, which compelled pregnant female

employees to leave employment at a fixed period of

pregnancy before delivery were likewise violative of the

Act, and the company policy in effect since July 2, 1965

which denied reemployment because of pregnancy and

maternity were violative of the Act. Because these practices

have ended there is no need for injunctive relief, and the

question of the intentional nature of the violation and the

appropriate relief will be considered in a subsequent stage of

these proceedings.

i adenomas nat eet

LANA icin A ESR Re WE a Vee GS RINT TE Pe ERS NY

men

| enone Raab ER ak RE AA ORE

70a Opinion of the District Court 1/9/74

Some additional considerations must be weighed with

respect to plaintiffs’ claim that the Income Protection Plan of

Defendant company is discriminatory to female employees.

The Company provides its employees with a contributory

insurance plan for continuation of income for a “long term

illness”, i.e. an illness requiring treatment by a doctor of eight

or more calendar days which causes absence from work.

Such “benefits are not payable for disability due to

occupational injury or to sickness covered under Workmen’s

Compensation Insurance; for disability due to pregnancy;

for a disability in excess of 104 weeks; or for a disability

during which you were not treated by a physician licensed to

practice medicine.”

Pregnancy is the only disability, not within the other

exceptions, not covered by the Income Protection Plan.

Pregnancy is a condition limited to women. Conditions

limited to men, such as prostate troubles; are not excluded,

nor is any exclusion provided for a nuinber of ilinesses whose

incidence among males is greatly predominant (i.e. gout 19

to 1; the Merck Manual, 10th ed. 1961).

The brief of the United States Chamber of Commerce

as amicus curiae cites cost of the program if pregnancy were

included, as a justification for exclusion.

We must emphasize the distinction made by the

Guidelines, § 1604.10(b) that it is “disabilities caused or

contributed by pregnancy, miscarriage, abortion, child-

birth, and recovery therefrom” which for job-related

purposes are to be treated as temporary disabilities. They do

not cover leave for child rearing, but only for job disability.

No evidence has been presented to us by Defendant as to the

average duration of pregnancy disability. Again, we have a

difficult time in freeing ourselves from stereotype thinking.

We note that the Defendant’s policy for maternity leave

prior to delivery has accommodated itself from a fixed

number of months prior to delivery to the recognition that an

employee may work prior to delivery as long as she is able to

Opinion

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.