Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Roberts v. United States

Supreme Court brief1974

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

?

od :

iy .

*° i.

-

,

tas \

a 'e 6 . \

ie a vge ao

*

: \ ;

©

y ‘ ’

3 A

:

; »

a t .

>

. 6

°

e

é

,

‘ 7

2

x

‘ t

r See -* .

fs iY

. © ‘ ~

2 o-

2 %

°

IN ‘THE SUPREME COURT

OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1974

CAROLYN ROBERTS, Individually,

and STACY. ROBERTS, GAIL

ROBERTS and MATTHEW ROBERTS,

by CAROLYN ROBERTS, Their

Guardian Ad Litem,

Petitioners,

vs.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

RICHARD G. HARRIS

4500 Via Marina

Marina del Rev, California 90291

(213) 822-2061

~

NED GOOD. IAN HERZOG and AL SCHALLAU

By AL SCHALLAU

727 West Seventh Street, Suite 1127

Los Angeles, California 90017

(213) 683-0880

Attorneys for Petitioners

ER mF

TOPICAL INDEX

Table of Authorities

PETITION FOR WRIT OF

CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED

STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR

THE NINTH CIRCUIT

OPINIONS BELOW

JURISDIC TION

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

“STATUTES AND CONSTITUTIONAL

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

R-ASONS FOR GRANTING

THIS WRIT

ARGUMENT

Page

vi

12

14

II

THE OPINION OF THE COURT

OF APPEALS BELOW HAS

ACKNOWLEDGED THAT THERE

IS A CONFLICT OF AUTHORITY

AMONG THE LOWER COURTS

ON THE CRUCIAL LEGAL ISSUE

ON WHICH THIS CASE TURNS

(I.E., THE DISPUTED INTER-

PRETATION OF THE 1960

AMENDMENT TO SEC. 2 OF

THE SUITS IN ADMIRALTY ACT

[46 USC SEC. 742]); AND THERE

ARE NO DECISIONS FROM THE

SUPREME COURT ON THAT

CRUCIAL LEGAL ISSUE: AND

THIS CASE WAS ONE OF FIRST

IMPRESSION IN THE NINTH

CIRCUIT AS TO THAT CRUCIAL

LEGAL ISSUE. 14

IN ITS RESOLUTION OF THE

PURPORTED CONFLICT OF

JURISDICTION BETWEEN THE

FEDERAL TORT CLAIMS ACT

AND THE SUITS IN ADMIRALTY

ACT, AS SUCH CONFLICT

RELATES TO AVIATION TORT

CLAIMS ON NAVIGABLE WATERS,

THE DECISION OF THE COURT

OF APPEALS BELOW IS SQUARELY

IN CONFLICT WITH THE HOLDING

OF THE THIRD CIRCUIT IN

BLUMENTHAL V, UNITED STATES,

306 F.2ND 16 (3RD CIR, 1962),

AFFIRMING THE OPINION OF

ii.

III

IV

Page

THE DISTRICT COURT REPORTED

AT 189 F. SUPP. 439 (E,D.-PA.,

1960). RESOLUTION OF THAT

CONFLICT BY THE SUPREME

COURT IS NECESSARY IN THIS

CASE, 22

AS THE OPINION OF THE

COURT OF APPEALS BELOW

HAS STATED, THIS CASE

RAISES THE VERY ISSUE

WHICH THE SUPREME COURT

EXPRESSLY LEFT UNANSWERED

IN EXECUTIVE JET AVIATION,

INC. V. CITY OF CLEVELAND,

409 U.S. 249 (1972), (ILE.,

V},HETHER AN AVIATION TORT

CLAIM IS COGNIZABLE UNDER

MARITIME LAW, WHERE THE

AVIATION ACCIDENT OCCURS

DURING A TRANSOCEANIC

F LIGHT). 25

THE DECISION OF THE COURT

OF APPEALS BELOW RAISES A

VERY SIGNIFICANT ISSUE OF

FEDERAL STATUTORY CON-

STRUCTION WHICH REQUIRES

RESOLUTION BY THE SUPREME

COURT, PARTICULARLY TO

THE EXTENT THAT THE COURT

OF APPEALS' DECISION

CONSTITUTES A HOLDING THAT

THE 1960 AMENDMENT TO 46

USC SEC. 742 WAS A REPEAL

iii.

VI

Pa ge

BY IMPLICATION OF THE

PRE-1960 CONSENT OF THE

UNITED STATES THAT HAD

PERMITTED MARITIME WRONG-

FUL DEATH ACTIONS TO BE

MAINTAINED AGAINST THE

UNITED STATES UNDER THE

FEDERAL TORT CLAIMS ACT, 28

THE DECISION OF THE COURT

OF APPEALS BELOW (WHICH

INTERPRETS THE INTENT OF

CONGRESS IN ENACTING THE

1960 AMENDMENT TO 46 USC

SEC, 742), HAS CAUSED A

MOST SIGNIFICANT FEDERAL

CONSTITUTIONAL ISSUE TO BE

PRESENTED, WHICH IS WHETHER

THE LANGUAGE CONTAINED IN

46 USC SEC, 742 VIOLATES

FEDERAL CONSTITUTIONAL

STANDARDS OF VAGUENESS

AND FAIR WARNING. 31

A JUDICIAL DEFINITION BY

THE SUPREME COURT IS

NEEDED OF THE WORD

"STATE" CONTAINED IN THE

DEATH ON THE HIGH SEAS ACT

(46 USC SEC. 761 ET SEQ, ).

THIS CASE PRESENTS THAT

ISSUE FOR DETERMINATION, 37

VII INTERVENTION BY THE

SUPREME COURT IS NECES-

SARY IN THIS CASE TO

PREVENT THE COURT OF

APPEALS' ADMITTEDLY

"HARSH RESULT" FROM

PERPETRATING A MANIFEST

MISCARRIAGE OF JUSTICE

UPON PETITIONERS,

VIII THE RECURRING NATURE OF

THE ISSUES HEREIN PRESENTED

(CONCERNING AVIATION TORT

CLAIMS) CAUSES THOSE ISSUES

TO ASSUME ENORMOUS

GENERAL IMPORTANCE DUE

TO THE CONTINUOUS EXPAN-

SION OF AVIATION ACTIVITIES

ON AN INTERNATIONAL SCOPE,

RESOLUTION OF CRUCIAL

LEGAL ISSUES THAT HAVE

THUS FAR GONE UNRESOLVED

BY THE SUPREME COURT, IS

NECESSARY FOR THE BENEFIT

OF ALL LOWER COURTS, THE

BAR, AND THE AVIATION

INDUSTRY.

CONCLUSION

Page

39

41

43

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page

Blumenthal v. United States (1962)

306 F.2d 16 Si: 2Ba Bees

22, 23, 39, 40

Bouie v. City of Columbia (1964)

378 U.S. 347 23, 32, 33, 35

Calmar S.S. Corp. v. U. S. (1953)

345 U.S. 466 24

Executive Jet Aviation, Inc. v. City

of Cleveland (1972)

409 U.S. 249 4, 12, 25, 26

Galef v. U.S. (1928)

25 F. 2d 134 38

J. W. Petersen Coal & Oil Co.

v. United States (1970)

323 F. Supp. 1198 19, 20, 21

Jones v. Alfred H. Mayer Co. (1968)

392 U.S. 409 29

Kropp v. Douglas Aircraft Co. (1971)

329 F. Supp. 447 24, 25

Lambert v. People of the State of

California (1957)

355 U.S. 225 35, 36

McBoyle v. United States (1931)

283 U.S. 25 33

vi.

Page

McMaster v. New York Life

Insurance Co. (1901)

183 U.S. 25 35

Milliken v. Meyer (1940)

311 U.S. 457 39

Moragne v. States Marine Lines, Inc. (1970)

398 U.S. 375 ™ 27, 38

Moran v. United States (1951)

102 F. Supp. 275 i 8, 39, 40

Osborn v. Nicholson (1871) ~

80 U.S. 654 ; 30

Panama Railroad v. Napier Shipping

Company (1897)

166 U.S. 280 38

Pritchard v. Norton (1882) \

106 U.S. 124 . 36

Rosenberg v. United States (1953),

346 U.S. 273 29

United States v. Heth (1806)

7U.S. 399 35

U.ited States v. Pennsylvania

Chemical Corporation (19732) ‘

411 U.S. 655 . 39, 40

Wilmot v. Mudge (1880)

103 U.S. 217 . 29

vii.

Page

Wynne v. United States (1910)

217 U.S. 234 38

Constitution

Constitution of the United States,

Sth Amendment 6

Statutes

28 USC

§ 1292 (b) 2

§ 1346 (b) 5, &, 10, 12, 13,

18, 22, 27, 28, 29, 32, 34, 36, 41

§ 2401 (b) 6, 7, 8

§ 2671 5, 8

§ 2674 6

§ 2675 6, 7

§§2679, 2680 6

46 USC

§ 740 6

§ 741 9, 22, 23

§§ 741-752 3, 6

§ 742 3, 4, 5, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14,

19, 22, 28, 31, 32, 33, 34, 37

viii.

eee ee ——

2

Page

46 USC

§§ 761-767 6. & 86. 43,

23, 24, 37, 38, 39

§ 781 23, 41

§§ 781-790 6

Textbooks

2 Jayson Handling Federal Tort Claims

§ 257

17, 18

berets

No.

IN THE

SUPREME COURT

OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1974

i

:

|

Speen HS TRE ARR 4

CAROLYN ROBERTS, Individually,

and STACY ROBERTS, GAIL

ROBERTS and MATTHEW ROBERTS,

by CAROLYN ROBERTS, Their

Guardian Ad Litem,

Petitioners,

vs.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

' PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

Petitioners pray that a writ of certiorari issue

to review the judgment and opinion of the United

States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit,

entered in the above entitled case on June 6, 1974,

petition for rehearing denied July 9, 1974.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals below, as

yet unreported, is attached hereto as Appendix A.

By said opinion, the Court of Appeals reversed

an order of the District Court for the Central

District of California, in which the District

Court had denied the United States' Motion for

Dismissal of Petitioners' Complaint.

The Minute Order issued by the District

Court for the Central District of California

which denied the motion of the United States

to dismiss petitioners' First Amended Com-

plaint (unpublished) is attached hereto as

Appendix B.

The "Order Amending Order Denying

Mc'*>n to Dismiss,'' signed and filed in the

Uistmct Court for the Central District of

California on June 12, 1973 (unpublished)

by the terms of which the District Court

certified its order entered April 30, 1973

for interlocutory appeal under 28 USC Sec.

1292(b), is attached hereto as Appendix C.

The Order of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit denying the

Petition for Rehearing, which Order was filed

on July 9, 1974, is attached hereto as

Appendix D.

JU RISDIC TION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals of

the Ninth Circuit was entered on June 6,

1974. A timely Petition for Rehearing was

denied on July 9, 1974. The jurisdiction

of this Court is invoked under 28 USC Sec.

1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Where the opinion of the Court of

Appeals below has acknowledged that there

is a conflict of author:iy among the lower

courts on the crucial legal issue on which

this case turns (i.e., the disputed inter-

pretation of the 1960 amendment to Section 2

of the Suits in Admiralty Act [46 U.S.C.

§742]); and there are no decisions from the

Supreme Court on that crucial legal issue; and

the case was one of first impression in the Ninth

Circuit as to that crucial legal issue; -- under

such circumstances, where the law applicable

is admittedly unciear, cana statute of limita-

tions bar be constitutionally applied to

absolutely bar a plaintiff's cause of action for

wrongful death against the United States?

2. Ina case which does not involve a

"public vessel, '' can it properly be held that

plaintiff's sole and exclusive remedy for

wrongful death is under those laws entitled

"Suits in Admiralty by or Against Vessels or

Cargoes of United States," (46 U.S.C.

§§ 741-752)?

3. In actions against the United States

for aviation wrongful death occurring in

navigable waters, did Congress, by its 1960

amendment to Sec. 2 of the Suits in Admiralty

Act (46 USC Sec. 742) thereby revoke and repeal

the United States' pre-1960 waiver of sovereign

immunity that had previously authorized such

claims against the United States to be asserted

under the Federal Tort Claims Act?

4. If (as the Court of Appeals below has

held in this case) the 1960 amendment to Section

2 of the Suits in Admiralty Act (46 U.S.C. §742)

did constitute a repeal and revocation of the

United States' pre-1960 consent to having such

claims asserted under the Federal Tort Claims

Act; -- does the language used in 46 U.S.C.

§ 742 to manifest such repeal violate Federal

constitutional standards of vagueness and fair

warning ?

5. Where an amending statute (46 USC

Sec. 742) contains no express revocation of a

prior waiver of sovereign immunity, can sucha

revocation be found by implication without violat-

ing Federal constitutional standards of fair warning?

6. Concerning aviation tort claims, the

opinion of the Court of Appeals below stated:

"This appeal invites an examination of whether,

under the circumstances shown here, an

aviation tort claim is cognizable under mari-

time law.'' As acknowledged by the Court of

Appeals below, the Supreme Court expressly

reserved decision on this question in Executive

Jet Aviation, Inc. v. City of Cleveland, 409

U.S. 249 (1972). That question is squarely

4,

presented by this case.

7. Do the words ''occurring on the high

seas beyond a marine league from the shore of

any State, or the District of Columbia, or the

Territories of or dependencies of the United

States,'' found in 46 USC §761 (Death on the

High Seas Act) refer to States of the United

States of America? Or is the foreign country

of Okinawa considered a ''State'' within the

meaning of 46 USC $761?

8. Concerning aviation tort claims for

death occurring on navigable waters, are the

tort remedies against the United States provided

by 46 USC §742 (Suits in Admiralty) and the

Federal Tort Claims Act (28 USC §1346(b) and

§ 2671 et seq. ), mutually exclusive to the extent

that a plaintiff will suffer an absolute forfeiture

of his cause of action if it turns out that his

attorney guessed wrong ?

9. Where the decision of the Court of

Appeals below has by the Court's own admission

reached a "harsh result, '' where the crucial

legal issues on which the case turns are mani-

festly unclear, should the Supreme Court

exercise its power of supervision over the lower

court to prevent the perpetration of a harsh

miscarriage of justice?

=

bat ear SL re

STATUTES AND CONSTITUTIONAL

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

(1) Fifth Amendment, Constitution of the

United States, provides in pertinent part:

"No person shall be. . . deprived of life,

liberty, or property without due process

i: ee

(2) Federal Tort Claims Act, 28 USC

§1346(b); §2401(b); §2674; §2675; §2679; §2680.

(Texts of applicable statutes are at Appendix

E, pp. 1-5).

(3) Suits in Admiralty by or against

Vessels or Cargoes of United States, Title 46

U. S. Code, Chapter 20. (46 USC §§741-752".

(Texts of the statutes are at Appendix E, pp. 5-13).

(4) 46 USC §740 - Extension of Admiralty

and Maritime Jurisdiction.

(Text of statute is at Appendix E, pp. 13-14).

(5) Death on the High Seas Act, Title 46,

U. S. Code, Chapter 21. (46 USC §§761-767).

(Texts of statutes are at Appendix E, pp. 14-17),

(6) Suits in Admiralty Against United

States for Damages Caused by Public Vessels

("Public Vessels Act"), Title 46 U. S. Code,

Chapter 22. (46 USC §§781-790).

(Texts of statutes are at Appendix E, pp. 17-21).

oy aoe ieienisieemmatnen

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioners are the widow and three minor

children of Decedent Walter Roberts, who died

on July 27, 1970 when the cargo plane on which

he was the navigator crashed in navigable

waters off the coast of Okinawa. The plane,

which was owned by Flying Tiger Lines, was

approaching the Naha Air Base, Okinawa, for

a ground controlled landing when it crashed in

navigable waters 1500 to 1900 feet short of the

runway.

The subject aircraft was on a trans-oceanic

cargo flight that had originated in Los Angeles,

and was bound for Victnam.

Petitioners filed a timely administrative

claim under the Federal Tort Claims Act

(28 USC Sec. 2401[b] and Sec. 2675) on July

26, 1972, which was rejected by the appropri-

ate Federal agency on August 22, 1972.

Petitioners then filed a timely suit under the

Federal Tort Claims Act against the United

States on November 21, 1972 in the District

Court for the Central District of California. |

By their First Amended Complaint, petitioners

asserted two bases of liability against the

United States:

(1) That United States Air Force personnel

negligently directed the ground controlled

landing; and

(2) That after the crash of the aircraft in

navigable waters, United States Air Force

personnel negligently failed to rescue plaintiffs'

‘es

decedent from said waters.

Petitioners' counsel proceeded against the

United States under the Federal Tort Claims

Act, relying on .... authority of Blumenthal v.

United States, 306 F.2d 16 (3rd Cir. 1962),

affirming the District Court's opinion at 189

F. Supp. 439 (E.D.-Pa. 1960); and Moran v.

United States, 102 F. Supp. 275 (Conn. 1951).

' Petitioners' First ‘Amended Complaint

pleaded three causes cf action, all relying upon

the same specific acts of negligence described

above. The First Cause of Action asserted

that the District Couri had jurisdiction under

the Federal Tort Claims Act (28 USC Sec.

,1346(b) and Sec. 2671‘et seq.); the Second

Cause of Action was asserted as a "Maritime

Wrongful Death" under the general admiralty

and maritime jurisdiction (Federal Rule of

Civil Procedure 9(h); and the Third Cause of

Action was based on the ''Death on the High

Seas Act," (46 USC Sec. 761-767), and

asserted that the subject plane crash and death

occurred in navigable waters on the high seas

"more'than a marine league from the shores

_of the United States.".

The Government moved to dismiss the

First Amended Complaint, contending that the

aviation crash did not give rise to a maritime

Claim. Secondarily, the Government contend-

ed that even if maritime jurisdiction were

appropriate, petitioners' suit against the United

States was cognizable solely under the statutes

entitled "Suits in Admiralty By Or Against

Vessels Or Cargoes Of The United States,"

8.

(46 USC Sec. 741-752).

The District Court below rejected the

Government's contention, and at oral a. ,ument

the District Court stated: ''I think where the

Government is in error is that you're trying to

rely on the Admiraity Section, which involves

public vessels and we don't have a suit against

public vessels here.'' The District Court

concluded that it had Jurisdiction to entertain

petitioners’ suit as a maritime wrongful death

action under the Federal Tort Claims Act.

The District Court below certified its

order denying the Government's Motion to

Dismiss,for Interlocutory Appeal under 28

USC Sec. 1292(b) (Appendix C), the District

Court being of the opimon that the Government's

Motion to Dismiss raised a ciose jurisdictional

question.

The Court of Appea!s for the Ninth Circuit

reversed the District Court and held that the

Government's Motion to Dismiss should have

been granted (Appendix A, p. 10). A

Timely Petition for Rehearing filed by your

petitioners was denied by the Court of Appeals

below on July 9, 1974 (Appendix D, pp. 1-2).

The Court of Appeal below held that

although petitioners’ administrative claim and

lawsuit were both timely filed under the

Federal Tort Claims Act (FTCA) (28 USC

Sec. 2401{b]), petitioners should have filed

their suit under the Suits in Admiralty Act

(46 USC Sec. 741-752).

9.

In making its decision, the Court of Appeal

below held: (a) that by reason of the 1960

amendment to Sec. 2 of the Suits in Admiralty

Act (46 USC Sec. 742), all aviation wrongful

death actions against the United States arising

under the general maritime law or under the

Death on the High Seas Act must now be brought

exclusively under the Suits in Admiralty Act

(SIA); and (b) that the necessary corollary is

that petitioners' action for aviation wrongful

death in this case cannot be maintained under

the FTCA (Appendix A,pp.8-9),

The Court of Appeal below stated: ‘We

therefore conclude tinct to the extent that appel-

lees' claim is ccgnizable in admiralty, it is

governed by the Suits in Admiralty Act and

absolutely time-barred by Sec. 745 of that

Act. The Government's Motion to Dismiss

should have been granted." (Appendix A,

p. 10).

The opinion of the Court of Appeal below

acknowledged that the result reached was

"harsh" (Appendix A, p. 9), and further stated

that petitioners' maritime claim here presented

was properly maintainable under the FTCA

prior to the 1960 amendment to the Suits in

Admiralty Act (46 USC Sec. 742). The Court

of Appeal below (while acknowledging that

there was post-1960 judicial authority to the

contrary) held that the 1960 amendment to 46

USC Sec. 742, ". . . has been interpreted by

a majority of courts as a legislative attempt

to bring all maritime torts asserted against

the United States within the purview of the

SIA." (Citations of supporting and contrary

10.

authorities follow). (Appendix A, p. 8).

The above holding of the Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit in this case is squarely

contrary to the post-1960 decision of the Third

Circuit Court of Appeals in Blumenthal v.

United States, 306 F. 2d 16 (3rd Cir. 1962),

which affirmed the opinion of the District

Court which is at 189 F.Supp. 439 (E. D. -Pa.

1960). Although the Blumenthal case, supra,

was extensively briefed and argued in the

Court of Appeals below, the case was not cited

or mentioned at all in the opinion of the Court

of Appeals below (Appendix A). Concerning

the Blumentnal case, supra, during oral argu-

ment in the Court of Appeals below, Circuit

Judge Hufstedler very correctly pointed out to

counsel that the Ninth Circuit is not bound to

follow the decisions of the Third Circuit.

In the Ninth Circuit, this was a case of

first impression as to the crucial issue on

which the Court of Appeals below held that

the case must be summarily dismissed. There

are no decisions of the Supreme Court on that

crucial issue (i.e., the disputed interpretation

of the 1960 amendment to 46 USC Sec. 742).

Petitioners respectfully pray that this

Court grant a Writ of Certiorari in this case to

resolve the obvious conflicts in the various

lower courts concerning the crucial issues of

Federal statutory construction on which this

case turns.

11.

REASONS FOR GRANTING

THIS WRIT

(1) The opinion of the Court of Appeals below

has acknowledged that there 1s a conflict of

authority among the lower courts on the crucial

legal issue on wnicnh this caseturus(i.e., the

disputed interpretation of the 1960 amendment

to Sec. 2 of the Suits in Admiralty Act [46 USC

Sec. 742]); and there are no decisions from

the Supreme Court on that crucial legal issue;

and this case was one of first impression in

the Ninth Circuit as to that crucial legal issue.

(II) In its resolution 1 the purported conflict

of jurisdiction between the Federal Tort Claims

Act and the Suits in Admiralty Act, as such

conflict relates to aviation tort claims on

navigable waters, the decision of the Court of

Appeals below is squarely in conflict with the

holding of the Third Circuit in Biumenthal v.

United States, 306 F.2d 16 (2rd Cir. 1962),

affirming the 9pinion ot the District Court

reported at 189 F. Supp. 439 (E. D. -Pa.,

1960). Resolution of that conflict by the

Supreme Court is necessary.

(II1) As the opinion of the Court of Appeals

below has stated, this case raises the very

issue which the Supreme Court expressly left

unanswered in Executive Jet Aviation, Inc. v.

City of Cleveland, 409 U.S. 249 (1972), (i.e.,

whether an aviation tort claim 1s cognizable

under maritime law, where the aviation acci-

dent occurs during a trans-oceanic flight).

‘ ee Ca . ’ Pvgiy wir oA te ne,

® — .

(IV) The decision of the Court of Appeals be-

low raises a very significant issue of Federal

statutory construction which requires resolu-

tion by the Supreme Court, particularly to the

extent that the Court of Appeals' decision

constitutes a holding that the 1960 amendment

to 46 USC Sec. 742 was a repeal by implication

of the pre-1960 consent of the United States

that had permitted maritime wrongful death

actions to be maintained against the United

States under the Federal Tort Claims Act.

(V) The decision of the Court of Appeals below

(which interprets the intent of Congress in

enacting the 1960 amc ndment to 46 USC Sec.

742), has caused a most significant Federal

Constitutional issue to be presented, which is

whether the language contained in 46 USC Sec.

742 violates Federal Constitutional standards

of vagueness and fair warning.

(VI) A judicial definition by the Supreme

Court is needed of the word "'State"’ contained

in the Death on the High Seas Act (46 USC Sec.

761). This case presents that issue for

determination.

(VII) Intervention by the Supreme Court is

necessary in this case to prevent the Court of

Appeals' admittedly "harsh result'' from per-

petrating a manifest miscarriage of justice

upon petitioners.

(VIII) The recurring nature of the issues

herein presented (concerning aviation tort

claims) causes those issues to assume enor-

mous general importance due to the continuous

13.

expansion of aviation activities on an inter-

national scope. Resolution of crucial legal

issues that have thus far gone unresolved by

the Supreme Court, is necessary for the

benefit of all lower courts, the Bar, and the

aviation industry.

ARGUMENT

I

THE OPINION OF THE COURT OF

APPEALS BELOW HAS ACKNOW-

LEDGED Ti'AT THERE IS A

CONFLICT OF AUTHORITY AMONG

THE LOWER COURTS ON THE

CRUCIAL LEGAL ISSUE ON WHICH

THIS CASE TURNS (I. E., THE DIS-

PUTED INTERPRETATION OF THE

1960 AMENDMENT TO SEC, 2 OF

THE SUITS IN ADMIRALTY ACT [46

USC SEC. 742]); AND THERE ARE NO

DECISIONS FROM THE SUPREME COURT.

ON THAT CRUCIAL LEGAL ISSUE;

AND THIS CASE WAS ONE OF FIRST

IMPRESSION IN THE NINTH CIRCUIT

AS TO THAT CRUCIAL LEGAL ISSUE,

The opinion of the Court of Appeals below

stated:

"It is axiomatic that Congressional waiver

of sovereign immunity is’ a prerequisite

to any suit brought against the United

States under admiralty law or otherwise.

14,

° 7. wie

, ‘

~ ae Nl be

"Recognizing this fact, the appellees rely

upon the Federal Tort Claims Act, 28 USC

Sec. 1346(b), 2671 et seq., as an expres-

sion of the governmental consent to be

sucd., The United States, however,

contends that maritime claims against the

Government arising under either the Death

on the High Seas Act or the general mari-

time law are cognizable solely under two

specific admiralty statutes, the Suits in

Admiralty Act (SIA), 46 USC Sec. 741-742

and the Public Vessels Act, 46 USC Sec.

781-790."

a“ % * *

"The District Court, believing that the

admiralty statutes extended only to claims

involving United States vessels or cargo

concluded that the appellees' maritime

claim was maintainable solely under the

FTCA. Prior to 1960, this interpretation

of the intersecting scope of the statutes

would have been correct. However, in

1960, Congress amended Sec. 742 of the

SIA by deleting the language which res-

tricted the statute to claims involving

merchant vessels and substituting a broad

new jurisdictional statement:

, 'In cases where if such vessel were

privately owned or operated, or such

cargo were: privately owned or pos-

sesge:’, or if o private person or

property were involved, a proceeding

in admiralty could be maintained, any

appropriat~ nonjury proceeding in

15.

$

¢

3

Ps RYO oO

personam may be brought against the

United States... ."

The addition of the phrase ‘or if a private

person. . . were involved’ has been inter-

preted by a majority of courts asa

legislative attempt to bring all maritime

torts asserted against the United States

within the purview of the SIA. (Citations

of supporting and contrary authority follow. )

"We therefore conclude that the Suits in

Admiralty Act, as amended, encompasses

aviation wrongful death actions against the

United States arising under the general

maritime law or under the Death on the

High Seas Act. (Citations.) The neces-

sary corollary is that the appellees' action

is therefore not maintainable under the

FTCA. (28 USC Sec. 2680(d)."

Appendix A, pp. 8-9.

Footnote 11 of the opinion of the Court of

Appeals below states:

", . . While the appellees' claim arising

out of the (subsequent rescue operations)

is more readily classified as 'maritime'

in nature, it still requires the pleading of

an appropriate jurisdictional statute

authorizing suit against the Government.

Since we conclude that the SIA is the only

statute proper in this instance, we hold

16.

that the appellees' action based either

upon the crash or upon the rescue opera-

tions is not maintainable under the FTCA."

(Appendix A, p. 9).

%

"While the result is harsh, it is well

established that the limitations period in

the Suits in Admiralty Act is jurisdictional

in nature:'' (Appendix A, p. 9).

"We therefore conclude that to the extent

that the appellees' claim is cognizable in

admiralty, it is governed by the Suits in

Admiralty Act and absolutely time-barred

by Sec. 745 of that Act. The Government's

motion to dismiss should have been

granted. Reversed." (Appendix A, p. 10).

4

The Court of Appeal below has acknowledged

that the various lower courts are not in unani-

mous accord with the result reached by the

Court of Appeals in this case. In 1968 it was

po'nted out in 2 Jayson Handling Federal Tort

Claims, Sec. 257, that:

"It is no longer open to question that a

maritime tort for which no remedy is

provided either by the Suits in Admiralty

Act or by the Public Vessels Act may be

the basis of a claim under the Tort Claims

Act. Thus, the United States may be

17.

held liable under the Tort Claims Act

for a drowning when a tug was caused to

capsize on navigable waters; (Hess v.

United States, 361 U.S, 314 [1960]; or

for a Civilian's death occurring when he

bailed out of a military plane being

negligently operated over international

waters (Blumenthal v. United States, 306

F.2d 16 (3rd Circ., 1952);. .. or for

negligence in connection with rescue

operations at sea (United States v. DeVane,

306 I. 2d 182 [5th Cir., 1962]; United

States v. Gavagan, 280 F. 2d 319 (5th Cir.,

1960], certiorari denied 364 U.S. 933

{[1961]); or for injuries sustained as the

result of the absence of a guard rail by

workmen repairing a lighthouse located

on a breakwater (Gowdy v. United States,

271 F. Supp. 733 (W.D. 1967)"

(Emphasis added).

The state of uncertainty that exists in this

area of the law is cogently illustrated by a

contention made by the Government in its

Openi::; — :ief i ‘curt of ..,-eals below in

which the Government contended simultaneously

that petitioners could not maintain their action

under the Federal Tort Claims Act because

their remedy was exclusively in admiralty;

and to apparently cover itself against all

possible contentions by petitioners, the Govern-

ment's Opening Brief also includes the following

diametrically opposite contention:

"The considerations behind Executive Jet

underscore the inapplicability of admiralty

law to the present case. Here, as

18,

already mentioned, plaintiff alieges

negligent conduct by Government air

traffic controllers and Air Force person-

nel occurring on land at the Naha Air

Base, Okinawa. The accident occurred,

according to the amended complaint,

'while this aircraft was making an approach

to landing at Naha Air Base, Okinawa'

and this accident, like the one in Executive

Jet, was 'only fortuitously and incidentally

connected to navigable waters' and bore

no 'significant relationship to traditional

maritime activity.' This is not evena

case of a mid-vceanic crash over which

‘it could be argued' admiralty jurisdiction

attached." (Government's Opening Erief,

pp. 19-20).

The uncertainty as to whether any remedy

existed in admiralty in fuvor of petitioners in

this case, makes it man: festly unjust that

petitioners have been made to suffer summary

dismissal of their cause of action for wrongful

death for simply having guessed wrong.

The Government's contention concerning

the 1960 amendment to 46 USC Sec. 742, which

was embraced by the Court of Appeals below,

was summarily rejected in 1970in J. W.

Petersen Coai « Oil Company v. United States,

323 F. Supp. 1198 (N, D. -Ill., 1970), as

follows:

"The Government concedes that before

1960 in cases not involving Government

vessels it had not consented to be sued

under the Suits in Admiralty Act and that

19,

, — |

:

ye

‘

<M OP.

the Federal Tort Claims Act constituted

the Government's waiver of sovereign

immunity for maritime torts not involving

Government vessels." (323 F. Supp. at

p- 1203).

we we ae

a4 - 2f

"In 1960, Congress amended 46 USC Sec.

742, Therein the Government contends

that by the inclusion of the words 'or if a

private person or property were involved'

Congress intended to include all maritime

torts within the Suits in Admiralty Act

and not just taose involving vessels owned,

possessed, or operated by or for the

Government. . . . This court believes

that the 1960 amendment had no such

purpose.

te J

- °

"That the 1960 amendment was not intended

to change the requirement of a vessel

‘owned by. . . or in possessionof...

or operated by or for the United States, '

is supported by the immediate statutory

context of the phrase in question. Van

Dusen v. Barrack, 376 U.S. 612 (1964).

The full title is Suits in Admiralty by or

against Vessels or Cargoes of the United

States. The amended 46 USC Sec. 742,

itself, still speaks of suits being brought

in the district 'in which the vessel or cargo

charged with liability is found.' And 46

USC Sec. 740 speaks of presenting a claim

to the 'agency owning or operating the

20.

vessel' involved. . . . Petition of the

United States, 216 F. Supp. 775 (D. Or.

1963) also supports the view that a

Government vessel is still required.

Based on the foregoing, the court concludes

that unless the vessel was 'owned by...

in the possession of. . . or operated by

or for the United States' there is no remedy ©

available under the Suits in Admiralty Act.

If that be so, then there is no bar to an

action under the Federal Tort Claims Act."

(323 F. Supp. at pp. 1204-1205).

Ae

f os

Petitioners respectfully submit that the

granting of this writ is necessary to resolve

the above conflict among the various lower

courts which concerns the very issue on which

this case was decided in the Court of Appeals

below.

aie

-

8 Aa PEP AGT a SE

Il

IN ITS RESOLUTION OF THE PURPOR-

TED CONFLICT OF JURISDICTION

BETWEEN THE FEDERAL TORT CLAIMS

ACT AND THE SUITS IN ADMIRALTY

ACT, AS SUCH CONFLICT RELATES

TO AVIATION TORT CLAIMS ON NAVIG-

ABLE WATERS, THE DECISION OF

THE COURT OF APPEALS BELOW IS

SSQUARELY IN CONFLICT WITH THE

HOLDING OF THE THIRD CIRCUIT IN

BLUMENTHAL V. UNITED STATES,

306 F.2ND 16 (3RD CIR, 1962),

AFFIRMING THE,OPINION OF THE

: DISTRICT COURT REPORTED AT 189

, F, SUPP. 439 (E.D.-PA., 1960).

RESOLUTION OF THAT CONFLICT BY

| THE SUPREME COURT IS NECESSARY

IN THIS CASE,

;

|

:

eh aT adn

er |

WO RRO Le ey

~~

OE TOURED ore

Although the Blumenti:ai case, supra, was

extensively briefed and argued by both parties,

the opinion of the Court of Appeals below does

not cite or mention the Blumenthal case at all.

| Blumenthal was an action for aviation wrongful

\; death. None of the cases cited by the Court

. of Appeal below in support of its interpretation

of the 1960 amendment to 46 USC Sec. 742,

involved actions for aviation wrongful death,

and none of those cited cases are from the

Ninth Circuit. ° :

In the Court of Appeals below, the govern-

ment sought to distinguish the Blumenthal case

solely on the basis that it was filed prior to

;

‘

;

99 y

a) 5

. y ’ . orraperrcumere- Ee ss wee? peer gy

‘

1960 (even though it was decided by the Third

Circuit Court of Appeals in1962). However,

neither the Government nor the Court of Appeals

has cited any cases that have distinguished or

overruled the Blumenthal holding on the basis

urged by the Government in this case.

To now reject the Blumenthal holding and

apply such rejection retroactively to forever

bar petitioners' cause of action for wrongful

death is the very kind of "unforeseeable and

retroactive" judicial construction of statutes

which the Supreme Court rejected in Bouie v.

City of Columbia, 378 U.S. 347 (1964).

In the Blumenthal case, supra, the Third

Circuit held that in an action for aviation wrong-

ful death brought against the United States under

the Death on the High Seas Act, 46 USC Sec.

761 et seq., the absence of any involvement of

a vessel of the United States dictated that

plaintiff's cause of action must be pursued

under the waiver of sovereign immunity pro-

vided by the Federal Tort Claims Act (28 USC

Sec. 1346[b]). The Third Circuit further stated

that the absence of a vessel of the United States

precluded invoking jurisdiction against the

United States under the Public Vessels Act,

46 USC Sec. 781 et seq., or the Suits in

Admiralty Act, +6 USC Sec. 741 et seq.

Obviously, the holding of the Third Circuit

in the Blumenthal case, supra, is diametrically

contrary to the holding of the Ninth Circuit in

the case at bar. The Ninth Circuit has held in

the case at bar that an action for aviation

wrongful death against the United States

23.

aden

a

brought under the Death on the High Seas Act,

must be based on the waiver of sovereign

immunity contained in the Suits in Admiralty

Act or the Public Vessels Act, notwithstanding

that there was no public vessel of the United

States involved in this case.

The District Court below, in denying the

Government's motion to dismiss, stated:

"I think where the Government is in error

is that you're trying to rely on the

Admiralty Section, which involves public

vessels and we don't have a suit against

public vessels here."

The Supreme Court has held that a privately-

owned ship operating on a war mission for the

United States was employed as a merchant

vessel, and not as a public vessel subject to the

Public Vessels Act. Calmar S.S. Corporation

v. United States, 345 U.S. 446 (1953).

4

Another post-1960 aviation wrongful death

case which reached a holding contrary to that

of the Court of Appeals below is Kropp v.

Douglas Aircraft Company, 329 F. Supp. 447

(E.D.-N. Y., 1971), in which the District

Court stated that:

"Suits maintainable against the private

person based on the Death on the High

Seas Act may similarly be brought

against the Government by virtue of the

Federal Tort Claims Act. . . unless the

suit comes within the exceptions to the

Act, as to which the Government does not

24.

v Siero

: waive its sovereign immunity."' (329 F.

Supp. at p. 455).

Your petitioners respectfully pray that this

Court issue its Writ of Certiorari to resolve

the above described conflict among the lower

courts.

III

AS THE OPINION OF THE COURT OF

APPEALS BELOW HAS STATED, THIS

CASE RAISES THE VERY ISSUE WHICH

THE SUPREME COURT EXPRESSLY

LEFT UNANSWERED IN EXECUTIVE

JET AVIATION, INC, V. CITY OF

CLEVELAND, 409 U.S. 249 (1972),

(I.E., WHETHER AN AVIATION TORT

CLAIM IS COGNIZABLE UNDER

MARITIME LAW, WHERE THE AVIA-

TION ACCIDENT OCCURS DURING A

TRANSOCEANIC FLIGHT),

As noted earlier, the Government contended

in the Court of Appeal below that this accident

"bore no significant relationship to traditional

maritime activity, '' and that "this is not even

a case of a mid-oceanic crash over which it

could be argued admiralty jurisdiction attached. "’

(Government's Opening Brief, p. 20).

Concerning the Executive Jet issue in this

case, the Court of Appeals below stated:

"The District Court. . . concluded that

it had jurisdiction to entertain appellees'

25.

suit as a maritime wrongful death action

under the FTCA, This appeal invites an

examination of whether, under the cir-

cumstances shown here, an aviation tort

claim is cognizable under maritime law. '

‘Appendix A, pp. 2-3).

+

"As far as the general maritime law is

~uneerned, Executive Jet Aviation, Inc.

v. City of Cleveland, 409 U.S. 249 (1972)

is necessarily the starting point in any

effort to define a 'maritime tort' in the

aviation context.’ (Appendix A, p. 3).

"(In Executive Jet) the Supreme Court thus

expressly reserved the question which is

before us now."' (Appendix A, p. 5).

at te ate ale

° " *e 76

"More significantly, the transoceanic

transportation of cargo is an activity which

is readily analogized with 'traditional

maritime activity.' Indeed, before the

advent of aviation, such shipping could

only be performed by waterborne vessels.

We therefore do not interpret Executive

Jet, supra, as precluding a maritime

action on the facts of this case."'

(Appendix A, p. 5).

96.

eit eiea _|

This case also presents for interpretation

by the Supreme Court the issue of whether a

cause of action for wrongful death occurring

in navigable waters, can be asserted as a

commonlaw cause of action for wrongful death

(Moragne v. States Marine Lines, Inc., 398

U.S. 375 [1970]), and if so, is such a cause of

action properly asserted against the United

States pursuant to the waiver of sovereign

immunity in the Federal Tort Claims Act?

There are no cases from the Supreme Court to

provide guidance to the lower courts or to the

Bar on that issue. The difficult nature of that

issue focuses sharply in this case, particularly

with respect to petitioners' cause of action

based on the negligent failure of the Air Force

personnel to rescue petitioners' decedent

from the navigable waters.

97

a . rvs A BO mALS inte fe EPROPS, AE LAE AAO

ai 4

>

IV

z

*

Z

a

2

‘a

4

THE DECISION OF THE COURT OF

APPEALS BELOW RAISES A VERY

SIGNIFICANT ISSUE OF FEDERAL

STATUTORY CONSTRUCTION WHICH

REQUIRES RESOLUTION BY THE

SUPREME COURT, PARTICULARLY

TO THE EXTENT THAT THE COURT

OF APPEALS' DECISION CONSTITUTES

A HOLDING THAT THE 1960 AMEND-

MENT TO 46 USC SEC, 742 WAS A

REPEAL BY IMPLICATION OF THE

PRE-1960 CONSENT OF THE UNITED

STATES THAT HAD PERMITTED

MARITIME WRONGFUL DEATH ACTIONS

TO BE MAINTAINED AGAINST THE

UNITED STATES UNDER THE FEDERAL

TORT CLAIMS ACT,

ay eat Nitdorety

The Court of Appeals below held that by its

1960 amendment to 46 USC Sec. 742, Congress

repealed the pre-1960 consent of the United

States to be sued under the FTCA for mari-

time wrongful death. However, the legislative

history of the 1960 amendment reveals no

intent by Congress to repeal or affirmatively

withdraw any previous consent to be sued.

On the contrary, all of the legislative history

cited by the Government and by the Court of

Appeals below, demonstrates an intent by

Congress to broaden the jurisdictional bases

for asserting maritime claims.

Petitioners contend tnat where the

sovereign has previously consented to being

& 28.

“- sen + Sect AW teat SO OD

sued for maritime wrongful death under the

3

4 Federal Tort Claims Act, any repeal or affir-

d mative withdrawal of that consent must be

3 ‘ manifested in clear, concise, and unambiguous

4 statutory language. Petitioners further

. contend that such a repeal or affirmative with-

drawal of the consent of the sovereign to be

sued for maritime wrongful death under the

‘FTCA cannot be accomplished by judicial

construction of statutory language which lends

itself to several interpretations by reasonable

judges and attorneys.

The Supremé Court-has held that the car-

dinal rule is that statutory repeals by

implication are not favored. Jones v.

Alfred H. Mayer Company, 392 U.S. 409

(1968). Ifa statutory repeal by implication

is found by a court, the intention of the

) legislature to repeal the statute must be clear

and manifest, and it is not sufficient to

establish merely that the subsequent law

covers some or all of the cases provided for

by the prior statute. Instead it is essential

that there be a positive repugnancy between

the provisions of the new law and the provisions

of the old law. Rosenberg v. United States,

346 U.S. 273 (1953), reconsideration denied,

346 U.S. 324,

When a repeal by implication is relied on,

it must be impossible for both statutory provi-

sions under consideration to stand because one

necessarily destroys tle other. Wilmot v.

Mudge, 103 U.S. 217 (1880). Repeals of

statutes by implication are unfavored unless

the implication is so clear as to be equivalent

_' 29,

+ aD

to an explicit declaration, and every doubt

should be resolved against such a construction,

Osborn v. Nicholson, 80 U.S. 654 (1871).

In the case at bar, the finding of a repeal

by implication of the prior waiver of sovereign

immunity by the United States to have maritime

tort claims prosecuted under the Federal Tort

Claims Act is certainly not clear, and is not

necessary in that said implication creates a

conflict in jurisdiction. The judicial finding

of a repeal by implication can hardly be con-

sidered irresistible since several District

Courts have thus far managed to resist, as

well as the Third Circuit Court of Appeals.

It can hardly be said that such a repeal by

implication is free from reasonable doubt.

Again, since an obvious conflict exists

among the lower courts, Clarification of this

uncertainty by the Supreme Court is necessary

for the benefit of the lower courts and the Bar.

30.

V

THE DECISION OF THE COURT OF

APPEALS BELOW (WHICH INTERPRETS

THE INTENT OF CONGRESS IN

ENACTING THE 1960 AMENDMENT

TO 46 USC SEC. 742), HAS CAUSED A

MOST SIGNIFICANT FEDERAL CONS-

TITUTIONAL ISSUE TO BE PRESENTED,

WHICH IS WHETHER THE LANGUAGE

CONTAINED IN 46 USC SEC, 742

VIOLATES FEDERAL CONSTITUTIONAL

STANDARDS OF VAGUENESS AND FAIR

WARNING.

If (as the Court of Appeals below has held in

this case) the 1960 amendment to 46 USC Sec.

742 did constitute a repeal and revocation of

the United States' pre-1960 consent to having

maritime wrongful death claims asserted under

the Federal Tort Claims Act; -- the language

used by Congress in 46 USC Sec. 742 to

manifest such a repeal] is violative of Federal

Constitutional standards of vagueness and fair

warning. By reason of the vagueness of said

Sec. 742 and the lack of fair warning accorded

to petitioners thereby, petitioners have been

deprived of a valuable property right (to wit:

a vested cause of action for wrongful death),

without due process of law.

In its application to this case, the inter-

pretation of the 1960 amendment to 46 USC Sec.

742 urged by the Government and accepted by

the Court of Appeals below, cannot be recon-

ciled with the Constitutional standard that

31.

* ae ne aD

Congress, when it enacts statutes, must

afford every person affected by the statute a

"right of fair warning'' which may not be

abrogated by vague statutory language.

Bouie v. City of Columbia, 378 U.S. 347

(1964).

If the intent of Congress (when Congress

enacted the 1960 amendment to 46 USC Sec.

742) had been to impose new jurisdictional

restrictions upon the maintenance of actions

for maritime torts, it is preposterous to

believe that Congress could have manifested

such a delimiting intent by adding to the

amended statute the words "any appropriate

nonjury proceeding in personam may be

brought against the United States...”

Both the Government and the Court of

Appeals below have acknowledged that prior

to 1960, proceeding under the Federal Tort

Claims Act was “an appropriate nonjury pro-

ceeding" for maintaining a maritime wrongful

death action against the United States. It is

inconceivable that the insertion of the words

"any appropriate nonjury proceeding in per-

sonam may be brought against the United

States . . .'' into the amended Sec. 742,

could be intended by Congress as meaning that

the Federal Tort Claims Act was to become

an inappropriate nonjury proceeding for main-

taining a maritime tort claim against the United

States.

Neither the Government nor the Court of

Appeals below have come to grips with the

meaning to be attributed to the words "any

32.

appropriate nonjury proceeding in personam

may be brought against the United States...

which are found in the 1960 amendment to 46

USC Sec. 742.

In Bouie v. City of Columbia, 378 U.S.

347 (1964), the Supreme Court stated:

", . . A statute which either forbids or

requires the doing of an act in terms so

vague that men of common intelligence

must necessarily guess at its meaning and

differ as to its application violates the

first essential of due process of law."

(378 U.S. at p. 351)

"There can be no doubt that a deprivation

of the right of fair warning can result not

only from vague statutory language but

also from an unforeseeable and retroactive

judicial expansion of narrow and precise

statutory language."' (378 U.S. at p. 352).

In 1931, Justice Holmes wrote: ". . . It

is reasonable that a fair warning should be

given to the world in language that the common

world will understand, of what the law intends

to do if a certain line is passed. To make the

warning fair, so far as possible the line should

be clear.'' McBoyle v. United States, 283 U.S.

25 (1931).

If by its 1960 amendment to 46 USC Sec.

742, Congress did actually intend to transform

a previously appropriate nonjury proceeding

33.

a

(the FTCA) into an inappropriate nonjury

proceeding for the maintenance of maritime

tort claims against the United States, the

language chosen by Congress to manifest such

intent is hopelessly violative of the above

described Constitutional standard articulated

by the Supreme Court.

The position asserted by the Government

and upheld by the Court of Appeals below leads

to the conclusion that the words "any appropri-

ate nonjury proceeding in personam may be

brought against the United States. . ."’ (which

are found in the amended 46 USC Sec. 742),

actually must be taken to mean "only a

proceeding in admiralty may be brought

against the United States."' Petitioners res-

pectfully submit that if Congress had intended

such a meaning, the lawmakers could have and

should have found the proper words to express

such a meaning.

In the case at bar, the United States

Government is attempting to escape liability

for a tort claim for wrongful death, and is

using as its means of escape the obviously

ambiguous, unclear, and confusing statutory

language drafted into law by the United States

Government, acting through Congress.

Under such circumstances, wherein

defendant is the party which drafted confusing

language on which it bases its escape from

liability, the court should examine the merits

of such a defendant's contentions from the same

posture from which the courts examine con-

fusing and ambigupus clauses contained in

34,

Cn

Be

wee

$e.

{

E :

sg

4

a

f

©

!

2

&

a

4

=

H

3

t

t

,

~~ en ||

insurance policies. The Supreme Court has

held that an ambiguity in an insurance policy

must be construed in favor of indemnity and

against a forfeiture. McMaster v. New York

Life Insurance Company, 183 U.S. 25 (1901).

In the time-honored case of United States v.

Heth, 7 U.S. 399 (1806), Justice Cushing wrote:

"The words of a statute, if dubious, ought in

cases of the present kind, to be taken most

strongly against the lawmakers." (7 U.S. at

p- 413).

In Bouie v. City of Columbia, supra, the

Supreme Court held that if a violation of due

process Of law nas been perpetrated by reason

of a vague statute, '. . . the violation is that

much greater when, because the uncertainty as

to the statute's meaning is itself not revealed

until the court's decision, a person is not even

afforded an opportunity to engage in such

speculation before committing the act in

question."' (378 U.S. at p. 352).

Although many of the leading cases dealing

with unconstitutionally vague statutes were

criminal or quasi-criminal statutes, the

Supreme Court has recognized the need for

application of the same Constitutional standards

to civil statutes. In Lambert v. People of

the State of California, 355 U.S. 225 (1957),

the Supreme Court, per Mr. Justice Douglas,

stated:

"Engrained in our concept of due process

is the requirement of notice... . Notice

is required before property interests are

disturbed, before assessments are made,

35.

;

before penalties are assessed. Notice

is required in a myriad of situations where

a penalty or forfeiture might be suffered

for mere failure to act. Recent cases

illustrating the point are Mullane v.

Central Hanover Bank & Trust Company,

339 U.S. 306; Covey v. Town of Somers,

351 U.S. 141; Walker v. City of Hutchin-

son, 352 U.S. 112. These cases involved

only property interests in civil litigation."

(355 U,S. at’p. 228).

Concerning the nature of the property rights

of which petitioners have been summarily de-

prived in this case without due process of law,

the Supreme Court has held that a vested right

of action is property in the same sense in which

tangible things are property, and is equally

protected against arbitrary interference.

Pritchard v. Norton, 106 U.S. 124, 132 (1882).

The admitted existence of the pre-1960

consent by the United States to the assertion of

maritime tort claims against the sovereign

under the Federal Tort Claims Act, placed an

affirmative duty upon the United States Govern-

ment to give clear and fair warning to the

citizenry that they would be required to assert

such claims under different rules of law and

jurisdictional procedures after 1960. Congress

gave no such warning to the citizenry, and the

existence of any such changes in the jurisdic-

tional procedures for asserting such claim,

have been established only by judicial legisla-

tion. It certainly cannot be reasonably

contended that the United States Government

gave such "clear and fair warning to the

36.

citizenry" by the obviously ambiguous amend-

ment to 46 USC Sec. 742.

Petitioners respectfully request that this

Court issue its Writ of Certiorari to examine

the constitutionality of 46 USC Sec. 742 as

amended in 1960.

VI

A JUDICIAL DEFINITION BY THE

SUPREME COURT IS NEEDED OF THE

WORD "STATE" CONTAINED IN THE

DEATH ON THE HIGH SEAS ACT (46

USC SEC. 761 ET SEQ.). THIS CASE

PRESENTS THAT ISSUE FOR DETER-

MINA TION,

In the case at Bar, the Complaint alleges

that the subject crash occurred 1500 to 1900

feet off the shore of Okinawa (which is less

than one marine league from Okinawa but much

more than one marine league from the shores

of any State, territory or dependency of the

United States).

On this particular issue, the Death on the

High Seas Act (46 USC Sec. 761) provides that

the jurisdiction of the Act is limited to the

death of a person "occurring on the high seas

beyond a marine league from the shore of any

State, or the District of Columbia, or the

territories or dependencies of the United States

"

8 e@

37.

In Moragne v. States Marine Lines, Inc.,

supra, the Supreme Court held that when death

occurs within the territorial waters of a State

of the United States, the Death on the High

Seas Act does not apply, but a commonlaw

cause of action for wrongful death can be

maintained. This of course raises the issue

of what law applies when death occurs within

the territorial waters of a foreign country ?

In Panama Railroad v. Napier Shipping

Company, 166 U.S. 280 (1897), the Supreme

Court held that the fact that a cause of action

arose in the waters of a foreign port is

immaterial, ana heid that the law is well

settled both in England and the United States

that torts originating within the waters of a

foreign power may be the subject of a suit ina

domestic court.

The above principle established in the

Panama Railroad case, supra, was further

extended in Galef v. United States, 25 F.2d

134 (D.C. -S.C. 1928) which held that the

jurisdiction of maritime courts of the United

States extend to maritime torts committed in

the ports of harbors and territorial waters of

foreign powers (independent of foreign law),

and that such torts will be redressed in

American maritime courts by virtue of the

maritime law as accepted by this country.

In Wynne v. United States, 217 U.S. 234

(1910), the Supreme Court was confronted

with an issue of interpretation of the word

"State, '' in regard to a criminal statute. The

Supreme Court there held that the word ''State"

38.

h

F

E

&

applies to States of the United States, and not

to any separate particular community.

In the case at Bar, petitioners submit that

the Death on the High Seas Act provides a

remedy against the United States, irrespective

of whether the plane crashed within or without

one marine league from the shore of Okinawa.

That such a cause of action can be asserted

under the Federal Tort Claims Act is supported

by Blumenthal v. United States, 306 F. 2d 16

(1962); and Moran v. United States, 102 F.

Supp. 275 (Conn. 1951).

Vil

INTERVENTION BY THE SUPREME

COURT IS NECESSARY IN THIS CASE

TO PREVENT THE COURT OF APPEALS'!

ADMITTEDLY "HARSH RESULT" FROM

PERPETRATING A MANIFEST MISCAR-

RIAGE OF JUSTICE UPON PETITIONERS,

The opinion of the Court of Appeals below

admits to having reached a "harsh result" in

this case. Under the unusual circumstances

here presented, such an admittedly "harsh

result'' cannot be reconciled with the Supreme

Court's admonition that civil courts must adhere

to ''traditional notions of fair play and substan-

tial justice implicit in due process."' Milliken

v. Meyer, 311 U.S. 457 (1940).

In United States v. Pennsylvania Chemical

Corporation, 411 U.S. 655 (1973), the Supreme

39.

Pitt iad

Court held that the United States Government

could not penalize a corporation where the

court found that the defendant corporation had

been "affirmatively misled" by the Govern-

ment's prior rulings, interpretations, and

opinions. The Supreme Court held that to the

extent that the Government's regulations

deprived the defendant corporation of fair

warning as to what conduct was prohibited,

there could be no doubt that "traditional notions

of fairness" prevent the Government from

proceeding with a prosecution. \

In the case at Bar, the sovereign's pre-

1960 consent to having maritime tort claims

asserted against it under the FTCA, constituted

a body of experience and informed judgment to

which it was proper for attorneys to resorft\for

guidance, particularly by refernce to the hald-

ings in Moran v. United States, 102 F. Supp.

275 (Conn. 1951); and Blumenthal v. United

States, 306 F.2d 16 (3rd Cir., 1962).

It is important to note that in United Statks

v. Pennsylvania Chemical Corporation, supra,

the Supreme Court based its decision on

"traditional notions of fairness" and not on

Constitutional due process grounds,

Application of ''traditional notions of fair- \

ness" in the present case, would tend to require

that the unexpected holding of the Court of

Appeals below cannot be applied retroactively

to summarily bar petitioners' claims for wrong-

ful death.

40.

Vill

THE RECURRING NATURE OF THE.

ISSUES HEREIN PRESENTED (CON-

CERNING AVIATION TORT CLAIMS)

CAUSES THOSE ISSUES TO ASSUME

ENORMOUS GENERAL IMPORTANCE

DUE TO THE CONTINUOUS EXPAN-

SION OF AVIATION ACTIVITIES ON AN

INTERNATIONAL SCOPE, RESOLUTION

OF CRUCIAL LEGAL ISSUES THAT

HAVE THUS FAR GONE UNRESOLVED

BY THE SUPREME COURT, IS

NECESSARY FOR THE BENEFIT OF

ALL LOWER COURTS, THE BAR, AND

THE AVIATION INDUSTRY.

With the literal explosion of air passenger

miles traveled in recent years, it is readily

foreseeable that more plane crashes on

navigable waters will be occurring in future

years which could subject the United States to

liability for aviation torts. Thus the confusing

jurisdictional issues herein presented must be

resolved by the Supreme Court of the United

States to provide the Bench and Bar with

adequate methods for handling cases.

At the present time, the Bench and Bar do

not have a clear and decisive mandate from the

Supreme Court as to whether an aviation death

case on navigable waters should be brought

against the United States under FTCA, or under

the Suits in Admiralty Act. If such a deter-

mination is left to the lower trial courts or

lower appellate courts to determine on a

41.

case-by-case basis, serious iujustices could

result by reason of the disparity in the statutes

of limitation under the two procedures.

It should not be a policy of the Federal

courts to dispose of litigation merely upon

confusing and ambiguous statutes on jurisdic-

tion and procedural matters. Basic fairness

demands that a definite statement be issued by

the Supreme Court clarifying this serious

jurisdictional and procedural dilemma that now

exists on matters involving maritime tort

claims against the United States.

For the above reasons, the decision of the

Court of Appeals in the instant case raises

questions of general and continuing importance

in the prosecution of Federal tort and maritime

actions against the United States. Petitioners

respectfully submit that it is in the public

interest that the Supreme Court establish viable

and consistent doctrines concerning jurisdic-

tion and procedures on such matters.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, petitioners

respectfully pray that this Court issue a Writ

of Certiorari to review the judgment and

opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit entered on June 6, 1974

(rehearing denied July 9, 1974), in Ninth

Circuit Case No. 73-2260.

Respectfully submitted,

RICHARD G. HARRIS,

NED GOOD, IAN

HE RZOG and AL

SCHALLAU

By AL SCHALLAU

Attorneys for Petitioners

43.

—_

‘ APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

CaRroLyn Kosenrts, Individually, and Stacy Ros. |

ERTS, Gaw. Rosperts and MarrHew Roserts,

by Caro.yn Roserts, their Guardian ad

Litem,

Plaintiff-Appellees, 7 No. 73-2260

vs.

Unrrep States oF AMERICA,

Defendant-Appellant. J

{June 6, 1974]

Appeal from the United States District Court

from the Central District of California

Before: ELY, HUFSTEDLER and TRASK,

Circuit Judges

TRASK, Circuit Judge:

The United States appeals from an order denying its motion

for dismissal of the appellees’ complaint. Because the motion

raised a close jurisdictional question the District Court certified

its order for an interlocutory appeal under 28 U.S.C. § 1292(b).

The United States filed an application in this court to prosecute

that appeal and we granted the application. Upon review of the

applicable authorities we conclude that the court erroneously

denied the Government’s motion to dismiss.

This is a wrongful death action arsing out of the crash of a

Flying Tiger Lines cargo plane on July 27, 1970. The plane was

approaching the Naha Air Base, Okinawa, for a ground con-

trolled landing when it crashed in navigable waters 1500 to 1900

fect short of the runway. Charging that United States Air Force

personnel negligently directed the landing and subsequent rescue

2 Carolyn Roberts, ct al. vs.

operations, the widow and three minor children of the plane's

navigater (appellees) filed suit against the United States on

November 21, 1972.1 Their original complaint was brought under

the Federal Tort Claims Act (FTCA), 28 U.S.C. §§ 1346(b),

2671 ct seq., and sought $2,500,000 damages for wrongful death.

The United States, however, suceossfully argued that bee:use the

tort was alleged to have oceurred in Okinawa, the action was

therefore barred by section 2680(k) of the FTCA whieh excludes

“fajny claim arising in a foreign country.” The District Court

accordingly dismissed the suit but granted the appellecs leave

to amend.

In their subsequently amended complaint the appellees relied

upon the same basic facts but stated them somewhat differently.

The first cause of action was still based upon the FTCA. How-

ever, instead of alleging that the events ocenrred “at or near

Naha Air Base, Okinawa, Ryukyu Islands” which would open the

claim to the “foreign country” exclusion of section 26S80(k) the

complaint alleged that the events occurred “while the aireraft was

making an approach to landing... over the high seas crashing

into navigable waters... .” Thus, the elaim was asserted to be

“maritime.” A second cause of action was asserted as a “Maritime

Wrongful Death” under the general admiralty and maritime jur-

isdiction, Fed. R. Civ. P. 90h), and a third cause of action was

alleged under the “Death on the Iligh Seas Act,” 46 U.S.C.

S$ 761-767.

The specifie acts of negligence relied upon were the same as to

each of the three claims: that the United States negligently

directed the landing of the aircraft and the subsequent rescue

operations of its passengers.

The United States again moved to dismiss the action, arguing

that the aviation erash did not give rise to a maritime claim.

Secondarily, the Government contended that even if maritime jr

isdiction were appropriate, the appellees’ suit against the United

States was cognizable solely under the Suits in Admiraltw Aet

(STA), 46 U.S.C. §§ 741-752, and not the FTCA as averred. The

District Court rejected both of these arguments and concluded

1An administrative claim was tiled oo July 26. 1972, and rejected hy

the appropriate Federal agency on August 22, 1972.

y .

United States of America 3

that it had jurisdiction to entertain the appellees’ suit as a mari-

time wrongful death action under the FTCA.

This appeal invites an examination of whether, under the cir-

ewnstanees shown here, an aviation tort claim is cognizable under

maritime law. Preliminarily we note that if viewed as stating a

“land” rather than a “maritime” tort, the appellees’ complaint

under the FTCA is indeed barred by 28 U.S.C. § 2680(k). Ser

United States v. Spelar, 338 U.S, 217 (1949).2 To therefore shift

the locus of their claim from Jand to sea, the appellees rely upon

two independent sources: the general maritime law, and a specific

federal statute, the Death on the High Seas Act, 46 U.S.C.

§§ 761-768.

As far as the general maritime law is concerned, Executive Jet

Aviation, Inc. v. City of Cleveland, 409 U.S. 249 (1972) is nee-

essurily the starting point in any effort to define a “maritime

tort” in the aviation context. In E.recutive Jet the Supreme Court

rejected the traditional locality test which found maritime juris-

diction whenever a tort oceurred in navigable waters.’ A literal

2Under the FTCA, a tort claim arises at the place where the negligent

act or omission oecurred and not where the negligence had its “operative

effect,” (i.e., the situs of injury). Richards v. United States, 369 U.S. 1

(1962). An American military base located on foreign soil is fully within

the foreign country exception (section 2680(k)), United States v. Spelar,

338 U.S. 217 (1949), and this court has previously classified Okinawa as

a foreign country for the purposes of the FTCA, Cobb v. United States,

191 F.2d 604 (9th Cir. 1951), cert. denied, 342 U.S. 913 (1952).

The Cobb classification was based upon the status of Okinawa as of

1949. We note that on May 15, 1972, after the cause of action in this suit

arose, the island was returned to the empire of Japan. 23 U.S.T., Part 1

at 447.

3A classic statement of the locality test appears in The Plymouth, 3

Wall. 20, 36 (1855); “Every species of tort, however occurring, and

whether on board a vessel or not, if upon the high seas or navigable

waters, is of admiralty cognizance.” The duradility of this test is reflected

by the fact that the Supreme Court approvingly applied the locality

standard in the term immediately prior to the Krecutive Jet decision.

Vietorv Carriers, Inc. v. Law, 404 U.S. 202, 205 (1971).

A distinet problem is the determination of where an aviation tort

“occurs.” Unlike the rule developed under the Federal Tort Claims Act,

sce supra, n.2, in applying the maritime locality test a tort is deemed to

occur not where the wrongful act or omission had its ineeption, but at the

place where it became operative, i... place of injury. Oppen v. Actna

S Be

4 Carolyn Roberts, ct al. vs.

application of this test over the years had brought aviation tort

eases within admiralty jurisdiction depending, of course, upon

where the aircraft crashed.4 However, in Exceulire Jet the

Supreme Court criticized the fortuity of this jurisdictional classi-

fication and announeed a new twofold test for determining

whether a maritime tort was pleaded. The Court retained the

navigable waters locality prerequisite but added a maritime

“nexus” requirement:

“ . . PWle conelude that the mere feet that the alleged

wrong ‘occurs’ or ‘is located’ on or over navigable waters-—

whatever that means in an aviation context—is not of itself

sufficient to turn an airplane negligence case into a ‘maritime

tort.” It is far more consistent with the history and purpose

of admiralty to require also that the wrong bear a significant

relationship to traditional maritime activity.” /d. at 268.

The maritime claims asserted in E.urccculire Jet avose from the

erash of a chartered jet en route from Cleveland, Ohio to VPort-

land, Maine. The aireraft struck and ingested a flock of seaeulls

on takeoff and erashed in the navigable waters of Lake Erie. The

Supreme Court had little difficulty in concluding that “a flight

that would have been almost entirely over Jand and within the

continental United States” bore an insufficient relationship with

traditional maritime activity. However, the Court declined to gen-

eralize as to other aviation tort contexts, commenting instead:

“We need not decide today whether an aviation tort ean

ever, under any circumstances, bear a sufficient relationship

to traditional maritime activity to come within admiralty

jurisdiction in the absence of legislation. It could be argued.

for instance, that if a plane flying from New York to Londen

crashed in the mid-Atlantic, there would be admiralty juris.

diction over resulting tort claims even absent a specifie stat

ute. An aircraft in that situation might be thought to bes

Grosse Pointe Farms, 355 F.2d 962 (lth Cor. 1967); Wilson ve Trans

ocean Airlines, 121 F. Supp. 85, 92 (N.D. Cal. 1954). The Supreme Cour

in Exceutive Jet, supra, discussed the difliculties inherent in determinins

tort loens in the aviation context, but the Cowt did net propose snothe

test. J7. at 266-65.

4See Erceutive Jet, supa at 264, ni.

United States of America : © §

a significant relationship to traditional maritime activity

because it would be performing a function traditionally per-

formed by water-borne vessels.” Jd, ut 271,

The Supreme Court thus expressly reserved the question which

is before us now.5

An examination of the record provides several bases for «dis-

tinguishing the air accident in this case from the erash which

oceurred in Exceutive Jet. According to the appellees’ amended

complaint, the Flying Tiger Lines aireraft was engaged in trans.

porting eargo between Los Angeles and Viet Nam; Okinawa was

merely one of a number of intermediate stopping points. Geo-

graphic realities, therefore, do not make the cargo plane's contact

with navigable waters entirely “fortuitous.” More significantly,

the transoceanie transportation of cargo is an activity which is

readily analogized with “traditional maritime activity.” Indeed,

before the advent of aviation. such shipping could only be per-

formed by waterborne vessels. We therefore do not interpret

Executive Jet, supra, as precluding a maritinie action on the facts

of this case.

The appellees’ alternate reliance upon the Death on the High

Seas Act (DOHSA), 26 U.S.C. § 3 761-768, is more questionable.

Although the Supreme Court has explicitly sanctioned the bring-

ing of aviation wrongful death eases under a literal construction

of the DOINISA,$ the facts alleged in the appellees’ own brief vast

5We find little assistance in the post-Irecutive Jet cases, as none have

involved claims arising from a transoceanic aviation accident. /.7.,

Teachey v. United States, 963. F. Supp. 1197 (ALD. Pla. 1975) chelicopter

erash durmg a land shuttle); Higginbotham v. Mobil Oil Corp., 357 F.

Supp. 1164 (W.D. La. 1973) (helicopter erash during performance of

activities identical to those performed by erew boats); Hawk v. Antilles,

Airboats, Inc., 355 F. Snop. 685 (D.C. Virgin Islands 1973) (erast ot a

seaplane).

5“Indeed, it may be settled today that this specific federal statute gives

the federal admiralty courts jurisdiction of such wrongful-death actions.

. - . ;

“Of course, under the Death on the High Seas Act, a wroneful death

action arising owt of an airplane erash on the high seas beveud a marine

leazne from ‘the shore of a State mas clearly be brought in a federal

admiralty court.” Executive Jet, supra at 263-64, 271, n.20.

6 Carolyn Roberts, et al. vs.

doubt upon the statute’s applicability. The appellees concede that

the alleged tort occurred a maximum of 1900 feet from the Oki-

nawa shore, i, in presumably foreign territarial waters In vies

of the somewhat ambiguous language of the statute itself and the

apparent lack of authority on the point, we hesitate te conclude

whether a tort occurring within foreign territorial waters comes

within the purview of the Death on the High Seas Aet,?

However, we find it unnecessary to resolve this question since

our aeceptanee of appellees’ maritime tert designation on either

this or Evecutive Jet ground would require recognition of another

jurisdictional obstacle prohibiting this suit.

‘The Act itself reads:

Whenever the death of a person shall be eansed be wronetul net,

nevlect, or default occurring on the lich seas bhevond a nerine leaerne

from the shore of any State, or the Distiet of Columbia, or ihe

Territories or dependencies of the United States, the personal repre-

sentative of the decedent may maintain a suit ber catuages ate the

distriet courts of the United States, ii admiralty, for the exclusive

benefit of the decedent's wife, husband, parent, clild, or dependent

relative against the vessel, person, or corporation whieh would hase

been liable if death lad not ensued. Mar. 50, 1920, & 111, 51, 51

Stat. 537." 46 U.S.C. § 761.

While a distance of 1900 feet from shore would almost certainly be

within a foreign state's territorial waters, we have noted that some toreign

states lave extended their territorial waters for fishing purposes te much

greater distances than “one marine leazue.” (Approximately 3 nautical

miles.) Beeause Congress only has power to fix the extent of territorial

waters measured from the shores of its own country it may well have

considered all waters beyend one marine leacne from these shores to be

“high seas” for purposes of DOTISA se long as navicable, even theuzh

within the territorial waters of a forcizi state.

Relatedly, a law review article discussing the Act observes:

“In addition, it is not clear whether the DISA would have apy

cation when the accident oveurs on territorial waters of a fercon

eountry. Nevertheless, the seope of several admiralty irisdietoon

elearly extends to such cases, aud presumably the seope of the DISA

would be the same exeept in the areas where it is expressly not

applicable.” 51 Cal. Lev, 589, 307 (Wii),

For a discussion of the meaning of the terin “high seas” see United States

v. Flores, 289 U.S. 137 (1935) and United States v. Rodgers, 150 ULS. 249

(1893). But see United States v. Koss, 459 F.2d 1555, 1557 (oth Cir.

1971).

United States of America 7

It is axiomatic that Congressional waiver of sovereign immn-

nity is a prerequisite to any suit brought against the United

States under admiralty law or otherwise. Recognizing this fact,

the appellees rely upon the Federal Tort Claims Act, 28 USC.

$$ 1346(b), 2671 cf seg, as an expression of governmental con-

sent to be sued.’ The United States, however, contends that mari-

time claims against the Government arising under cither the

Death on the High Seas Act or the general maritime law are

cognizable solely under two specific federal admiralty statutes,

the Suits in Admiralty Act (STA), 46 U.S.C. §§ 741-752 and the

Public Vessels Act. 46 U.S.C. $$ 781-790. Neither side disputes

the fact that jurisdiction under the FTCA and the two adniiralty

statutes is mutually exclusive, 28 U.S.C. § 2680(d).

The District Court, believing that the admiralty statutes ex-

tended only to claims involving United States vessels os eargo

concluded that the appellees’ marttine claim was maintainable

solely under the FTCA. Prior to 1960, this interpretation of the

intersecting seope of the statutes would have been earreet.o Tovw-

ever, In 1960, Congress amended section 742 of the SIA by delet-

ing the language which restricted the statute to claims involving

merehant vessels'® and by substituting a broad new jurisdictional

statement:

“In cases where if such vessel were privately owned or oper-

ated, or such cargo were privately owned or possessed, or if

SThe appellees appear to argue that the Death on the High Seas Act

constitutes an independent jurisdictional base. Sce Appellees’ Brict at 2.

However, this ts clearly not the case. The DOTISA merciv creates a ex ise

of action for wrowrtud mantime death where none previous!) existed;

the act dves not contain any provision waiving sever¢ign imanwnity. A

suit against the United States brought ander the DOHSA still requires

the pleading of a separate federal statute authorizine suit) Goat the

government. See ¢.7., Allen v. United States, 388 F.2e 166 (9th Cir.

1964); 51 Cal. L.Rev. 389 (1963).

"See e.g., Somerset Seatood Co. vo Vuiteld Stotes, 195 F202 G31 (4th

Cir. 1951), and the diseussion in De Bardeleben Marine Corp. ve United

States, 451 F.2d 140 (Sth Cir. 1971).

MPrior to the 1960 ameudment, section 742 read as originally cnacted:

“Tn cases where W such vessel were privately owned or operated. or

if such earvo were privately owned and possessed, a proceedine: in

admiralty could be maintsined at the time of the commencement of

8 Carolyn Roberts, ct al. vs.

a privale person or property were tuvolecd, a proceeding in

admiralty could be maintained, any appropriate nonjury pro-

ceeding in personam may be brought against the United

States... .” Pub. L. No. 86-770, £3, 74 Stat. 912. (Emphasis

added)

The addition of the phrase “or if a private person... were

involved” has been interpreted by a majority of courts as s legis-

lative attempt to bring all maritime torts asserted against the

United States within the purview of the SEAL See De Bardleben

Marine Corp. v. United States, 451 F2d WO (sth Cir, 171);

Richmond Marine Panama, S.A. vr. Vuited States, 350 BL Sup.

1210, 1219-1220 (SDNY. 19923: TVauhrederict Cre fron A/S «.

United States, 241 F. Supu. 88 (ELD Mieh. 196452 Contra, JTW.

Petersen Coal & OU Co. v. United States, S25 FL Stapp. Tos

(N.D. Th 1970). Moreover, this estonded interpretation of the

STA appears to conform with retrospective Coneressional under.

standing of the Net. as the court in Me hind Marine Panama,

S.A, v. United States, supra, notes:

“Although subsequent Congressional explanation of the mean

ing of a statute is not binding om the courts, fo is iiterestine

to note, nevertheless, ihat a Senate Report of Aueat 17,

1972 explained that the 1960 snicndment extends jorisdietion

under the Suits in Admiralty Net cio the fall range of adit

ralty cases which might have been maintained bad a private

person or property been invelved rather than the Govern.

ment or its agents and emplovecs or property. Senate Report.

No, 92-1079, 92d Cong... 2d Sess. 1972, 9 US. Code Cong.

and Admin. News, po. #45, 4090.7 [do ot 1220, mete,

We therefore conelnde that the Suits in Admirs!ty Net,

amended, encompasses aviation wronaglul death getions against t

United States arising under the @eneral mearitige laa or under

the Death on the High Seas Aet. See Wen e. Voted states, 35s

F.2d 160 (%h Cir. 1964) (Text aecoipanysing mi; The neces.

Hh

‘

'

the

the action herein provided ter, a tibei ia persenam mins be brows) t

avainst the United States or azatiet aa corporation 2... as the ex

may be, provided that sich vessel is enplesed as a micerenint ves-el

or is a tigboat operated by such corporecen

United States of America Hf)

sary corollary is that the appellees action is therefore not main.

tainabie under the PTCA, 28 Cos.) 8 268000) .1

Finally, in anticipation of ana lverse resolution of these issues.

the appellees request a second opportunity to amend their eam.

plaint in conformity with the eenii’s jurisdictional eonelsions

Appellees further coutend that sceetoon sniendment should lat:

back” so us te avoid the time bar of the tye year Timitations

period contained in the Suits in Admiralty Aet, 46 USC. £745,

In support of this request the oupellees eite Beer v. Uuiled

States, SoS FL OST kd Cie 16200 end other eases errvanen ists

bronebt under the ETOA in whieh a transfer to adr: Iv was

allowed.

However, the Appetioes’ Situation is distinenishabl: from the

preecdent they cite in that the gpa Hees ordained complaint was

het filed cutih affer the two verre SEA limitetion- period tad

Already expired, Since anv ariondment fled now ea oante refer

haved toy the lite s hye no othe rhage Wews arty af coumplaien t was frleal

Fed. BR. Civ. PL fe), the “rehition back” areement esmmot save

this setion from the operation af seeqen TEI! While the ve cult

Is haesti. i? is well ee tisha] Tits Titer 04 1; ten s 3 i wloap 1!

Suits in Nemuiradty Net is nisisctetions! am matere

“The two your timeshar ef the Suits in Adminalte Net is

. ’ iar -o s ‘ :

1s SD UMM a pee herd pestis Unter gn ordinary Stat

Mites at Pobnietts tions, Ure ee Coleggey. yf They shit? Sfaatittes og

el iin is Dheet exiine itiwhese | tte liv statutory te prev has

thipeseed It is onls baplededenteeca bile The troe-bor at the sstitts

mo Ndmtretts Net renders a claim agains: the United States

TUNE thes So a af forsissend gue the p dessin the gy Nees ottompa te

distingcush ihe events wines preritec the nis eps org? rhe ent

Pesce operetions. Whar the on Mm) tbasine ’ the titles

et V IN is dere rm liv wittssif - bette on Wie. its re jias

the plea Ihe oot an OPP perisste ‘ ul ostutute gether, ;

weainst the coverviment. Simee we ecuelude that the SEA is eoonty

statute proper ti this inpstatec, we | 1 thiat Shpeioes ste t bone

either apon the erush oer

tneer the FITC.

Under the Suits in N@miretty Net the twee vear stat

mi THO Pere ue operations as not muditainable

} vow ‘ > ed dite et Vaaitutiens

hezins to rnu from the date of ie par. vate than the date at ce atin

whatnistrative elm. MeMahon o. fo cted States, S42 UL8. 2. 2AsE

Kindrew sv. United States, 409 Fo 49 65th Cir. 1973)

10 Carolyn Roberts, et al. vs.

not only unenforeeable, but extinguishes the elain: itself, for

when the sovercign, immune from suit, consented te be sued

it was made a condition of the right to sue that suits so

authorized had to be brought within the time-har period.”

States Marine Corp. v. United States, 283 F.2d 776, 778 old Cir,

1960). Sce also McMahon v. United States, 342 US. 24 C1951).

Neither infaney nor any other disability can toll the running of

this statute. Sqambati v. United States, 72 Ptd 297 12d Cir

1949), cert, denied, 337 US. 938 (1949). Accord, Woillrams ov,

United States, 133 F. Supp. 319 CE.D. Va. 154). aed, 22s F 2d

129 (4th Cir. 1955), cert. denied, 351 US. 986 (T9900 84

We therefore conclude that to the extent that the appellees’

claim is cognizable in admiralty, it is governed by the Suits in

Admiralty Act and absolutely time-barred by 2 745 of that Aet.

The Government's motion to distiss shenld have becom granted

Reversed.

13[p similar vein this court has held that the tistitutien of a sud moder

the FTCA within the statutery period of limitetion is a qerisdsetonn! re-

quirement, and that the fimitetion period is net tolled luring munovity.

Mann v. United States, 399 Pvd 672 69t. Cir, TOS):

States, 353 F.2d 578 (9th Cir, 1965). Indecd, appetlees do not contest the

point here.

Brown ve United

PERNAU-WALSH PRINTING CU., SAN Li \NeTSCO 6§-12-74—450

APPEND‘*X B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

CIVIL MINUTES - GENERAL

Case No. 72-2784-EC- Date April 30, 1973

Title Carolyn Roberts, etal -v- U.S.A.

Docket Entry Ent procs hrg & denying deft's

motion to dismiss lst amended complaint.

Ent ord deft 20 days to file an answer.

PRESENT:

iiON. E. AVERY CRARY, JUDGE

Wayne E. Payne Virginia Wright

Deputy Clerk Court Reporter

ATTORNEYS PRESENT FOR PLAINTIFFS:

Ian Herzog

ATTORNEYS PRESENT FOR DEFENDANTS:

Larry Dier for James Stotter

Ass't. U. S. Attorney

PROCEEDINGS: HEARING Defendant's Motion

to Dismiss First Amended Complaint:

Counsel presente as shown and argue the motion.

Court denied defendant's motion to dismiss the

first amended complaint.

B-1

ss de

Court permits defendants 20 days in which to

file an answer.

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

CAROLYN ROBERTS, )

individually, and STACY )

ROBERTS, GAIL ROBERTS)

and MATTHEW ROBERTS, ) No. 72-2784-EC

by Carolyn Roberts, )

their Guardian ad Litem, ORDER AMEND-

ING ORDER

DENYING MOTION

TO DISMISS,

Plaintiffs,

Vs.

UNITED STATES OF

AMERICA,

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

Defendant. )

)

The interlocutory order of this Court

entered April 30, 1973, denying the motion of

the defendant United States to dismiss plaintiffs’

amended complaint for lack of jurisdiction

(motion for reconsideration denied June 4,

1973), is hereby amended to include the state-

ments required by Title 28, U.S.C. §1292(b),

and Rule 5(a), Federal Rules of Appellate

Procedure, necessary for a petition for

permission to appeal.

IT IS ORDERED that the Order denying the

defendant's motion to dismiss, entered April

30, 1973, is hereby amended to include the

C-1

PEPER AD

following:

This Order involves a controlling question

of law as to which there is substantial

ground for difference of opinion, and, an

immediate appeal from this Order may

materially advance the ultimate termina-

tion of this litigation.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the above

described Order, as hereby amended, shall be

deemed entered as of the date of this Order for

purposes of computing the allowable time for

the filing of a petition for permission to appeal,

and for this purpose only.

DATED: June 12, 1973.

/s/ E. Avery Crary

E, AVERY CRARY

United States District

Court

APPENDIX D

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

CAROLYN ROBERTS, ) FILED

Individually, and STACY ) July 9, 1974

ROBERTS, GAIL ROBERTS

and MATTHEW ROBERTS,)

by CAROLYN ROBERTS, )

their Guardian ac Litem,

Plaintiffs -

Appellees,

No. 73-2260

vs.

UNITED STATES OF

AMERICA,

Defendant-

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

Appellant. )

)

Before: ELY, HUFSTEDLER and

TRASK, Circuit Judges

ORDER

The panel as constituted in the ‘above case

has voted to deny the petition for rehearing and

to reject the suggestion for rehearing en banc.

The full court has been advised of the

suggestion for an en banc hearing, and no judge

D-1

of the court has requested a vote on the sugges-

tion for rehearing en banc. Fed. R. App. P.

35(b).

The petition for rehearing is denied and the

suggestion for rehearing en banc is rejected.

APPENDIX E

TEXTS OF STATUTES AND CONSTITU-

TIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

(1) Fifth Amendment, Constitution of the

United States, provides in pertinent part:

"No person shall be. . . deprived of life,

liberty, or property without due process of

a a

-(2) Federal Tort Claims Act: Sections

28 U.S.C. §1346(b):

'(a) The District Court shall have original

jurisdiction, concurrent with the court of

claims, of:

'(b) Subject to the provisions of chapter

171 of this title, the district courts,

together with the United States District

Court for the District of the Canal Zone

and the District Court of the Virgin Islands,

shall have exclusive jurisdiction of civil

actions on claims against the United States,

for money damages, accruing on and after

January 1, 1915, for injury or loss of

property, or persona! injury or death

caused by the negligent or wrongful act or

omission of any employee of the Govern-

ment while acting within the scope of his

office or employment, under circumstances

where the United States, if a private

person, would be liable to the claimant in

accordance with the law of the place where

E-1

the act or omission occurred. "'

28 U.S.C. §2401(b):

'(b) A tort claim against the United

States shall be forever barred unless it is

presented in writing to the appropriate

Federal agency within two years after such

claim accrues or unless is begun within six

months after the date of mailing, by certified

or registered mail, of notice of final denial

of the claim by the agency to which it was

presented. "'

28 U.S.C. §2674:

"The United States shall be liable,

respecting the provisions of this title

relating to tort claims, in the same manner

and to the same extent as a private indivi-

dual under the circumstances, but shall

not be liable for interest prior to judgment

or for punitive damages.

"If, however, in any case wherein death

was caused, the law of the place where the

act or omission complained of occurred

provides, or has been construed to provide,

for damages only punitive in nature, the

United States shall be liable for actual or

compensatory damages, measured by the

pecuniary injuries resulting from such

death to the persons respectively, for

whose benefit the action was brought, in

lieu thereof."

&

'

ft

ma

28 U.S.C. $2675:

(a) An action shall not be instituted upon

a Claim against the United States for money

damages for injury or loss of property or

personal injury or death caused by the

negligent or wrongful act or omission of ‘

any employee of the Government while

acting within the scope of his office or

employment, unless the claimant shall have

first presented the claim to the appropriate

Federal agency and his claim shall have

been finally denied by the agency in writing

and sent by certified or registered mail.

The failure of an agency to make final

disposition of a claim within six months

after it is filed shall, at the option of the

claimant any time thereafter, be deemed

a final denial of the claim for purposes of

this section. The provisions of this sub-

section shall not apply to such Claims as

may be asserted under the Federal Rules

of Civil Procedure by third party complaint,

cross Claim, or counterclaim.

'(b) Action under this section shall not

be instituted for any sum in excess of the

amount of the claim presented to the

federal agency, except where the increased

amount is based upon newly discovered

evidence not reasonably discoverable at

the time of presenting the claim to the

federal agency, or upon allegation and

proof of intervening facts, relating to the

_ amount of the claim.

"(c) Sisgesition of any claim by the

Attorney General or other head of a federal

k-3 f , -

agency shall not be competent evidence of

liability or amount of damages."

28 U.S.C. §2679:

'(a) The authority of any federal agency

to sue and be sued in its own name shall

not be construed to authorize suits against

such federal agency on claims which are

cognizable under section 1346(b) of this

title, and the remedies provided by this

title in such cases shall be exclusive.

'(b) The remedy against the United States

provided by sections 1346(b) and 2672 of

this title for injury or loss of property or

personal injury or death, resulting from

the operation by any employee of the Govern-

ment of any motor vehicle while acting

within the scope of his office or employment,

shall hereafter be exclusive of any other

civil action or proceeding by reason of the

same subject matter against the employee

or his estate whose act or omission gave

rise to the claim."

28 U.S.C. §2680:

"The provisions of this chapter and

section 1346(b) of this title shall not apply

to <=

* He % mE %% % mE Hs x6

'(d) Any claim for which a remedy is

provided by sections 741-752, 781-790 of

Title 46, relating to claims or suits in

admiralty against the United States.

fe. Fs as a

« ° « é 76 7 76 -

E-4

'(k) Any claim arising in a foreign

country. "

(3) Suits in Admiralty by or Against

Vessels or Cargoes of United States, Title

46 U.S. Code, Chapter 20. (46 U.S.C.

§§ 741-752).

46 U.S.C. §741 Exemption of United

States Vessels and Cargoes from Arrest

or Seizure

"No vessel owned by the United States or

by any: corporation in which the United

States or its representatives shall own the

entire outstanding capital stock or in

possession of the United States or of such

corporation or operated by or for the

United States or such corporation, and no

cargo owned or possessed by the United

States or by such corporation, shall, in

view of the provisions made herein for a

libel in personam, be subject to arrest or

seizure by judicial process in the United

States or its possessions: provided, that

this chapter shall not apply to the Panama

Railroad Company."

46 U.S.C. §742 Libel in Personam

"In cases where if such vessel were

privately owned or operated, or if such

cargo were privately owned or possessed,

or if a piivate person or property were

involved, a proceeding in admiralty could

be maintained, any appropriate nonjury

proceeding in personam may be brought

E-5

™- ——' “a

against the United States or against any

corporation mentioned in Sec. 741 of this

title. Such suits shall be brought in the

District Court of the United States for the

district in which the parties so suing, or

any of them, reside or have their principal

place of business in the United States, or

in which the vessel or cargo charged with

liability is found. The libelant shall forth-

with serve a copy of his libel on the United

States Attorney for such district and mail

a copy thereof by registered mail to the

Attorney General of the United States, and

shall file a sworn return of such service

and mailing. Such service and mailing

shall constitute valid service on the United

States and such corporation. In case the

United States or such corporation shall file

a libel in rem or in personam in any

district, a cross-libel in personam may

be filed or a set-off claimed against the

United States or such corporation with the

same force and effect as if the libel had

been filed by a private party. Upon

application of either party the case may,

in the discretion of the court, be trans-

ferred to any other District Court of the

United States. "'

46 U.S.C. §743 Procedure in Cases of

Libel in Personam

"Such suits shall proceed and shall be

heard and determined according to the

principles of law and to the rules of prac-

tice obtaining in like cases between private

parties. A decree against the United

E-6

States or a corporation mentioned in Sec.

741 of this title may include costs of suit,

and when the decree is for a money judg-

ment, interest at the rate of 4% per annum

until satisfied, or at any higher rate which

shall be stipulated in any contract upon

which such decree shall be based.

Interest shall run as ordered by the court.

Decrees shall be subject to appeal and

revision as provided in other cases of

admiralty and maritime jurisdiction. If

the libelant so elects in his libe, the suil

may proceed in accord ince with the prin-

ciples of libels in rem wherever it shall

appear that had the cargo or vessel been

privately owned and possessed a libel in

rem might have been obtained. Elections -

so to proceed shall not preclude the

libelant in any proper case from seeking

relief in personam in the same suit.

Neither the United States nor such cor-

poration shall be required to give any bond

or admiralty stipulation on any proceeding

brought hereunder. "'

46 U.S.C. §744 Release of Privately

Owned Vessel After Seizure

"If a privately owned vesse! not in the

possession of the United States or of a

corporation described in Sec. 741 of this

title is arrested or attached upon any

cause of action arising or alleged to have

arisen from previous possession, owner-

ship, or operation of such vessel by the

United States or by such corporation, such

vessel shall be released without bond or

E-7

stipulation therefor upon the suggestion by

the United States, through its Attorney

General or other duly authorized law officer,

that it is interested in such cause, desires

such release, and assumes the liability for

the satisfaction of any decree obtained by

the libelant in such cause, and thereafter

such cause shall proceed against the United

States in accordance with the provisions of

this chapter.

46 U.S.C. §745 Causes of Actions for

Which Suits May Be Brought; Limitations;

Exceptions; Actions Which May Not Be

Revived; Interest on New Claims

"Suits as authorized by this chapter may

be brought only within two years after the

cause of action arises: provided, that

where a remedy is provided by this chapter

it shall hereafter be exclusive of any other

action by reason of the same subject

matter against the agent or employee of

the United States or of any incorporated or

unincorporated agency thereof whose act

or omission gave rise to the claim:

provided further, that the limitations con-

tained in this section for the commencement

of suits shall not bar any suit against the

United States brought hereunder within one

year after December 13, 1950, if such suit

is based upon a cause of action whereon a

prior suit is based upon a cause of action

whereon a prior suit in admiralty or an

action at law was timely commenced and

was or may hereafter be dismissed because >

solely improperly brought against any

E-8

person, partnership, association or cor-

poration engaged by the United States to

manage and conduct the business of a

vessel owned or fare boat chartered by the

United States or against the master of any

such vessel: provided further that after

June 30, 1932, no interest shall be allowed

on any claim prior to the time when suit on

such claim was brought as authorized by

Sec. 742 of this title unless upon a contract

especially stipulating for the payment of

interest."

46 U.S.C. §746 Exemptions and

Limitations of Liability

"The United States or a corporation des-

cribed in Sec. 741 of this title shall be

entitled to the benefit of all exemptions and

of all the limitations of liability accorded

by law to the owners, charterers, opera-

tors, or agents of vessels."

46 U.S.C. §747 Seizures in Foreign

Jurisdictions.

"If any vessel or cargo within the purview

of Sec. 741 and 744 of this title is arrested,

attached, or otherwise seized by process

of any court in any country other than the

United States, or if any suit is brought

therein against the master of any such

vessel for any cause of action arising

from, or in connection with, the posses-

sion, operation, or ownership of any such

vessel, or the possession, pierage, or

ownership of such cargo, the Secretary of

E-9

State of the United States in his discretion,

on the request of the Attorney General of

the United States, or any other officer duly

authorized by him, may direct the United

States Consul residing at or nearest the

place at which such action may have been

commenced claims such vessel or cargo as

immune from such arrest, attachment, or

other seizure, then to execute an agree-

ment, undertaking, bond or stipulation for

and on behalf of the United States, or the

Secretary of Commerce or a corporation

described in Sec. 741 of this title as by

said court required, for the release of such

vessel or cargo, and for the prosecution

of any appeal; or may, in the event of such

suits against the master of any such vessel,

direct said United States Consul to enter

the appearance of the United States, ‘or of

the Secretary of Commerce, or of such

corporation, and to pledge the credit there-

of to the payment of any judgments or costs

that may be entered in such suit. The

Attorney General is vested with’ power and

authority to arrange with any bank, surety

company, person, firm, or corporation in

the United States, its territories and pos-

sessions, or in any foreign country, to —

execute any such aforesaid bond or stipula-

tion as surety or stipulator thereon, and

to pledge the credit of the United States to

the indemnification of such surety or

stipulator as may be required to secure’

the execution of such bond or stipulation.

The presentation of a copy of the judgment

rule in any such suit, certified by the

clerk of the court and authenticated by the

E-10

i ? a [om

‘

oa a

certificate and seal of the United States

Consul, claiming such vessel, or cargo,

or his successor, and by the certificate of

the Secretary of State as to the official

capacity of such consul, shall be sufficient

evidence to the proper accounting officer

of the United States, or of the Secretary

of Commerce, or of such corporation for

the allowance and payment of such judg-

ments: provided, however, that nothing in

this section shall be held to prejudice or

preclude a claim of the immunity of such

vessel or cargo from foreign jurisdiction

in a proper case."

46 U.S.C. §748 Payment of Judgrient,

Order, or Settlement

"Any final judgment rendered in any suits

herein authorized, in any final judgment

within the purview of Sec. 744 and 747 of

this title, in any arbitration award or

settlement herein agreed to under the

provisions of Sec. 749 of this title, shall,

upon the presentation of a duly authenti-

cated copy thereof, be paid by the proper

accounting officers of the United States

out of any appropriation or insurance fund

or other fund especially available therefor;

otherwise there is appropriated out of

money in the Treasury of the United States

not otherwise appropriated, a sum suf-

ficient to pay any such judgment or award

or settlement."

E-11

PUREE OO OEE BoP a

46 U.S.C. §749 Arbitration, Compromise,

or Settlement of Claims

"The Secretary of any department of the

Government of the United States, or the

board of trustees of any corporation men-

tioned in Sec. 741 of this title, having

control of the possession or operation of

any merchant vessel are, and each is,

authorized to arbitrate, compromise, or

settle any claim in which suit will lie

under the provisions of Sec. 742, 744,

and 750 of this title. "'

46 U.S.C. §750 Recovery for Salvage

Services by Vessel or Crew

"The United States, and the crew of any

merchant vessel owned or operated by the

United States, or a corporation mentioned

in Sec. 741 of this title, shall have the

right to collect and sue for salvage services

rendered by such vessel and crew, and any

monies recovered therefrom by the United

States for its own benefit, and not for the

benefit of the crew, shall be covered into

the United States Treasury to the credit

of the department of the Government of the

United States, or of such corporation,

having control of the possession or opera-

tion of such vessel.

46 U.S.C. §751 Disposition of Monies

Recovered by the United States

"All monies recovered in any suit brought

by the United States on any cause of action

E-12

Nee rere —— 4

arising from, or in connection with, the

possession, operation, or ownership of

any merchant vessel, or the possession,

carriage, or ownership of any cargo, shall

be covered into the United States Treasury

to the credit of the department of the

Government of the United States, or of the

corporations mentioned in Sec. 741 of

this title, and a control of the vessel or

cargo with respect to which said cause of

action arises, for reimbursement of the

appropriation, or insurance fund, or other

funds, from which the loss, damage or

compensation for which such judgment was

recovered has been or will be paid.”

46 U.S.C. $752 Reports as to Awards

and Settlements

"The Secretary of any Department of the

United States, and the board of trustees of

any corporation mentioned in Sec. 741 of

this title, shall report to the Congress at

each session thereof the arbitration awards

or settlements of claims which shall have

been agreed to under this chapter since

the previous session, and in which the

time to appeal shall have expired or have

been waived."

(4) 46U.S.C. $740 Extension of

Admiralty and Maritime Jurisdiction

“The admiralty and maritime jurisdiction

of the United States shall extend to and

include all cases of damage or injury, tw

person or property, caused by a vessel

E-13

SRA

wee

SPEEA

fe Oe eretiwt aD

on navigable water, notwithstanding that

such damage or injury be done or consum-

mated on land.

"In any such case suit may be brought in

rem or in personam according to the prin-

ciples of law and the rules of practice

obtaining in cases where the injury or

damage has been done and consummated on

navigable water: provided, that as to any

suit against the United States for injury

done or consummated on land by a vessel

on navigable waters, the Public Vessels

Act or Suits in Admiralty Act, as appropri-

ate, shall constitute the exclusive remedy

for all causes of action arising after June

19, 1948, and for all causes of action where

suit has not been hitherto filed under the

Federal Tort Claims Act: provided further,

that no suit shall be filed against the United

States until there shall have expired a

period of six months after the claim has

been presented in writing to the Federal

agency owning or operating the vessel

causing damage. "'

(5) Death on the High Seas Act, Title 46,

U.S. Code, Chapter 21. (46 U.S.C. §§761-

767).

46 U.S.C. §761 Right of Action:

Where and by Whom brought:

"Whenever the death of a person shall be

caused by wrongful act, neglect, or default

occurring on the high seas beyond a marine

league from the shore of any State, or the

B-id-

District of Columbia, or the Territories

or dependencies of the United States, the

personal representative of the decedent

May Maintain a suit for damages in the

District Court of the United States, in

admiraity, for the exclusive benefit of the

decedent's wife, husband, parent, child

or dependent relative against the vessel,

person or corporation which would have

been liable if death had not ensued."

46 U.S.C. §762 Amount and Apportion-

ment of Recovery

"The recovery in such suits shall be a fair

and just compensation for the pecuniary

loss sustained by the persons for whose

benefit the suit is brought and shall be

apportioned among them by the court in

proportion to the loss they may have

severally suffered by reason of the death

of the person by whose representative the

suit is brought."

46 U.S.C. §763 Limitations

"Suits shall be begun within two years from

the date of such wrongful act, neglect, or

default, unless during that period there has

not been reasonable opportunity for secur-

ing jurisdiction of the vessel, person, or

corporation sought to be charged; but after

the expiration of such period of two years

the right of action hereby given shall not

be deemed to have lapsed until ninety days

after a reasonable opportunity to secure

jurisdiction has offered."

E-15

46 U.S.C. §764 Rights of Action Given

by Laws of Foreign Countries

Whenever a right of action is granted by

the law of any foreign state on account of

death by wrongful act, neglect, or default

occurring upon the high seas, such right

may be maintained in an appropriate action

in admiralty in the courts of the United

States without abatement in respect to the

amount for which recovery is authorized,

any statute of the United States to the

contrary notwithstanding. "

46 U.S.C. §765 Death of Plaintiff

Pending Action

"If a person dies as the result of such

wrongful act, neglect, or default as is

mentioned in subsection 761 of this title

during the pendency in court of admiralty

of the United States of a suit to recover

damage for personal injuries in respect to

such act, neglect, or default, the personal

representative of the decedent may be

substituted as a party in the suit and may

proceed as a suit under this chapter for

the recovery of the compensation provided

in Sec. 762 of this title."

46 U.S.C. §766 Contributory Negligence

"In suits under this chapter the fact that

the decedent has been guilty of contributory

negligence shall not bar recovery, but the

courts shall take into consideration the

degree of negligence attributable to the

E-16 —

decedent and reduce the recovery accor-

dingly."

46 U. S.C. §767 Exceptions from Opera-

tion of Chapter :

"The provisions of any state statute

regulating or giving rights of action or

remedies for death shall not be affected

by this chapter. Nor shall this chapter

apply to the Great Lakes or to any waters

within the territorial waters of any state,

' or to any navigable waters in the Panama

Canal Zone."

(6) Suits in Admiralty Against United

States for Damages Caused by Public Vessels

("Public Vessels Act"), Title 46, U.S. Code,

Chapter 22. (46 U.S.C. §§781-790).

46 U.S.C. §781 Libel in Admiralty

Against or Impleader of United States

"A libel in personam in admiralty may be

brought against the United States, or a

petition impleading the United States, for

damages caused by a public vessel of the

United States, and for compensation for

towage and salvage services, including

contract salvage, rendered to a public

vessel of the United States: provided, that

the cause of acticn rose after the sixth _,

day of April, 1920,"

46 U.S.C. §782 Venue of Suit: Applica-

tion of Provision of Chapter 20

"Such suits shall be brought in the District

Court of the United States for the district

in which the vessel or cargo charged with

creating the liability is found within the

United States, or if such vessel or cargo

be outside the territorial waters of the

United States, then in the District Court of

the United States for the district in which

the parties so suing, or any of them,

reside or have an office for the transaction

of business in the United States; or in case

none of such parties reside or have an

office for the transaction of business in

the United States, and such vessel or cargo

be outside the territorial waters of the

United States. Such suits shall be subject

to and proceed in accordance with the

provisions of Chapter 20 of this title or

any amendment thereof, insofar as the

same are not inconsistent herewith, except

that no interest shall be allowed on any

claim up to the time of the rendition of

judgment unless upon a contract expressly

stipulating for the payment of interest.”

46 U.S.C. §783 Cross-libel, set-off,

or counterclaim

"In the event of tre United States filing a

libel in rem or in perso1am in admiralty

for damages caused by a privately owned

vessel, the owner of such vessel, or his

successors in interest, may file a cross-

libel in personam or claim a set-off or

E-18 =

counterclaim against the United States in

such suit for and on account of any damages

arising out of the same subject matter or

cause of action; provided, that whenever a

cross -libel is filed for any cause of action

for which the original libel is filed by

authority of Sec. 781 through 790 of this

title, the respondent in the cross-libel

shall give security in the usual amount and

form to respond to the claims set forth in

said cross-libel unless the court, for cause

shown, shall otherwise direct; and all

proceedings on the original libel shall be

stayed until such security shall be given."

46 U.S.C. §784 Subpoenas to Officers

or Members of Crews

"No officer or member of the crew of any

public vessel of the United States may be

subpoenaed in connection with any suit

authorized under Sec. 781 through 790 of

this title without the consent of the secre-

tary of the department or the head of any

independent establishment of the govern-

ment having control of the vessel at the

time the cause of action arose, or of the

master or commanding officer of such

vessel at the time of the issuance of such

subpoena. "

46 U.S.C. §785 Suits by Nationals of

Foreign Governments

"No suit may be brought under Sec. 781

through 790 of this title by a national of

any foreign government unless it shall

E-19

ee

appear to the satisfaction of the court in

which suit is brought that said government,

under similar circumstances, allows

nationals of the United States to sue in its

courts."

46 U.S.C. §786 Arbitration, Compromise,

or Settlement

"The Attorney General of the United States

is authorized to arbitrate, compromise, or

settle any claim on which a libel or cross-

libel would lie under the provisions of Sec.

781 through 790 of this title and for which

a libel or cross-libel has actually been

filed."

46 U.S.C. §787 Payment of Judgments

or Settlements

"Any final judgment rendered on any libel

or cross-libel herein authorized, and any

settlement had and agreed to under the

provisions of Sec. 786 of this title, shall

upon presentation of a duly authenticated

copy thereof, be paid by the proper

accounting officer of the United States

out of any monies in the Treasury of the

United States appropriated therefor by

Congress. "

46 U.S.C. §788 Lien Not Created

Against Public Vessels

"Nothing contained in Sec. 781 through 790

of this title shall be construed to recognize

the existence of or as creating a lien

E-20

SNe teens

against any public vessel of the United

States."

46 U.S.C. §789 Exemptions and Limita-

tions of Liability

"The United States shall be entitled to the

benefits of all exemptions and of all limi-

tations of liability accorded by law to the

owners, charterers, operators or agents

of vessels. "’

46 U.S.C. §790 Reports by Attorney

General

"The Attorney General of the United States

shall report to the Congress at each session

thereof all claims which shall have been

settled under Sec. 781 through 790 of this

title. "'

E-21

An 5 —— EME IE ROSE Sb EAL LV\ LINE! CLE A, LL DELICE AS ED Ee

SEP APOLLON ITI ONL, NES AEM TE ORTH SY RN TR IT SP

2 REI TES

:

;

:

3

L

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.