Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Baker v. Gotz

Supreme Court brief1974

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court of the Unite

.90°9 FILE copy} “FTP

APR 25 1974

IN THE

October Term, 1974.

No.73-1609

GEORGE P. BAKER, RICHARD C. BOND, JERVIS LANGDON,

JR., WILLARD WIRTZ, Trustees of the Property of the PENN

CENTRAL TRANSPORTATION COMPANY,

Petitioners,

«

FIDEL G6TZ, VOLKER G6TZ, FINANZ AKTIENGESELL-

SCHAFT, VILEDA ANSTALT, G6TZ AKTIENGESELL-

SCHAFT OF ST. GALLEN (Also Known as GOTZ AG OF ST.

GALLEN, or GO6TZ ANSTALT OF ST. GALLEN, or GOTZ

ETABLISSEMENT OF ST. GALLEN, or GOTZ ESTABLISH-

MENT OF ST. GALLEN), INTER-INDUSTRY AKTIENGE-

SELLSCHAFT OF ST. GALLEN (Also Known as INTER-

INDUSTRY AG OF ST. GALLEN, or INTER-INDUSTRY

ANSTALT OF ST. GALLEN, or INTER-INDUSTRY ETAB-

LISSEMENT OF ST. GALLEN, or INTER-INDUSTRY ESTAB-

LISHMENT OF ST. GALLEN), INTER-MARKETING CORP.

ANSTALT (Also Known as INTER-MARKETING CORP.

ETABLISSEMENT, or INTER-MARKETING CORP. ESTAB-

LISHMENT), MINOLTA ANSTALT, and FINANZ AG ST.

GALLEN.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT.

Epwin P. Rome,

Marvin Comisky,

Morris L. WEISBERG,

4 Penn Center Plaza,

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. 19103

Wituiam E. Taytor, Jr.,

500 Continental American Building,

On Rodney Square,

Wilmington, Delaware. 19801

‘ Attorneys for Petitioners

-

International Printing Co., 711 So. 50th St., Phila., Pa. 19143 — Tel. (215) 727-8711

WICRAEL RODAK JR_GLE

ie: a ee ee eS me

INDEX.

SY Cp ecnsun cuascncicindaceedenecssenesesnes

JURISDICTION... 22. cee ccc cece ccc cc cscs cceecccces

CIN PUD «ons occ ncccnccaccccccccccersssess

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS AND PROCE-

en I NII 0 Fe aw euine

Aare naaememmeennmneeie? ni SUNN a ok tah atc tintin wail wen

DS IE iccicnicdcancwenenenhudenans

oe PRED oidscucccteeieawekwewseny

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ............2eceeecees

I. The Court of Appeals In Banc Was Equally Divided

on the Important Federal Constitutional Questions

Dt ctinisoueeauesubanndbolimcubagmesnae

II. This Court Should Finally Settle the Issue Whether

the Delaware Sequestration Procedure Violates the

Due Process Provisions of the Fifth and Fourteenth

Amendments Because It Authorizes the Seizure of

Property Without Notice or Opportunity for Hear-

De csatdavedwnseivessnestkeeabeesbeseuseeusbs

III. This Court Should Finally Settle the Issue Whether

the Delaware Sequestration Procedure Violates the

Due Process Provisions of the Fifth and Fourteenth

Amendments When the State Lacks Minimum Con-

tacts With Either the Subject Matter or the Parties

IV. This Court Should Settle the Question Whether the

Sequestrations Constituted an Unconstitutional

SE SD viwenianreveneseedeunenns

(TESS TTD RRA I ie RS ER oe ie ON IDE GRO LE ONE EEN TP

12

15

15

21

MR eA te OTS By he by 2

Nr asics yc ty eet rd

BDisrieriisstivtesirsions s ctptiaitn sends

TABLE OF CASES CITED.

Page

Boyd v. United States, 116 U. S. 616 (1886) ........... 13, 25, 26

Camara v. Municipal Court, 387 U. S. 523 (1967) ......... 25

Chicago R. I. & P. R. Co. v. Sturm, 174 U. S. 710 (1899) ... 22

English v. Cunningham, 80 S. Ct. 18 (1959) ............... 16

Forsyth v. Hammond, 166 U. S. 506 (1896) ............... 2

Fuentes v. Shevin, 407 U. S. 67 (1972) ..... 12, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 23

Hanson v. Denckla, 357 U. S. 235 (1958) ............... 23

Biesvis wv. at, THB UL. & BES CUBS) ons cccccwcvcccccwcs 22

International Shoe v. Washington, 326 U. S. 310 (1945) . .22, 23,24

Landau v. Best, 187 A. 2d 75, 41 Del. Ch. 1 (Del. Supr. 1962) 24

Lebowitz v. Forbes Leasing and Finance Corp., 456 F. 2d 979

SE SEED cpa dadnnadnvnsiaecdavisasenaeacessaus 19, 21

Magnum Import Co. v. De Spoturno Coty, 262 U. S. 159

SE Sc .ccrdekudkase ponddeke ceaeetesebaecancenhes 16

McDonald v. Mabee, 243 U. S. 90 (1917) ................ 23

Meredith v. Fair, 306 F. 2d 374 (Sth Cir. 1962) ............ 16

Ownbey v. Morgan, 256 U. S. 94 (1920) ......... 12, 19, 20, 23, 24

Pennoyer v. Neff, 95 U. S. 714 (1877) ..........cceeeeee 22

Sniadach v. Family Finance Corp., 395 U. S. 337 (1969) .... 19

Weinress v. Bland, 71 A. 2d 59, 31 Del. Ch. 269 (Del. Ch.

ST cccuan tithe edu seated saenosseaneneeacane’ 24

MISCELLANEOUS.

Page

Cary, Federalism and Corporate Law: Reflections Upon Dela-

wore, SP Tele ©. 3. Ge CIPS) none ccckvcccccdescscc 17

Delaware Court of Chancery, Rules, Rule 4(db) ....2,5, 10, 11,13

ee Soy ED PEED gccnciescccestanecsnecaseen 24

ieee ele Ou C es aie irae gal lok 23

A a ed wed aod 2, 4, 8, 10

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 4(e) ......... 2, 3, 4, 8, 10

Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, Rule 35(a) .......... 15

Staff Report of the Committee on Banking and Currency of the

House of Representatives “The Penn Central Failure and

the Role of Financial Institutions” (1971), Part IV ... 9

is EE ID. 5 oc cae cncankeaGacn aude nck 24

United States Constitution :

i sk a a anes icin SS oucmarc@ eae 25

I: 13, 21

Fourteenth Amendment .......... eR PrES eR men Tea? 13, 21

an Mn. dc nil nd dagen cause htekamauewas 2

Pn te ie IE als cb aeons ini dose beuas 10

ls ee ED Gixtcknbengacecavenabacbadenseecac 10

Wright & Miller, Federal Practice and Procedure: Civil (1969)

PE at ek dnketadnenennnbansseueess oracles 3

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT.

Petitioners (Trustees) are the Trustees of the

Property of Penn Central Transportation Company

(Penn Central), Debtor in proceedings for the reorgan-

ization of a railroad pursuant to Section 77 of the

Bankruptcy Act, No. 70-347 pending in the United

States District Court for the Eastern District of Penn-

sylvania. The Trustees pray that a writ of certiorari

issue to review the judgment of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Third Circuit entered in this case on

February 21, 1974.

OPINIONS BELOW.

The per curiam opinion of the Court of Appeals in

bane dated February 21, 1974 is not reported, and is

printed in the Appendix (6a-7a).’ The majority and

dissenting opinions of the panel of the Court of Ap-

peals dated August 31, 1973 are not reported, and are

printed in the Appendix (12a-66a). The opinion of the

District Court dated December 20, 1971 is reported at

336 F. Supp. 197 (D. Del. 1971), and is printed in the

Appendix (73a-85a).

1. References are to the pages of the Appendix to this petition,

separately presented. Rule 23(1) of the Rules of this Court.

a

eee ee ee ee See SE teh we ned

SS it OE al acta im I EI

ye eas

Bitte tates tatandowrniin spaces Ned

to

Petition for Writ of Certiorart

JURISDICTION.

The Court of Appeals in bane entered judgment

(4a-5a) on February 21, 1974. A timely petition for

rehearing containing a suggestion for rehearing in bane

was filed by the Trustees on March 6, 1974, and was

denied by order (2a-3a) of the Court of Appeals in

bane dated March 15, 1974. The Trustees filed a motion

for stay pending application to this Court for a writ

of certiorari, which the Court of Appeals granted by

order (la) dated April 1, 1974, thereby staying its

mandate until April 25, 1974.

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28

U.S. C. § 1254(1). This Court’s power to issue a writ

of certiorari is in no way affected by the fact that the

Court of Appeals in bane was equally divided. Forsyth

v. Hammond, 166 U. S. 506, 513 (1896).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED.

Under Rule 4(e) of the Federal Rules of Civil Pro-

cedure, whenever a statute or rule of court of the state

in which a district court is held provides for notice toa

party not an inhabitant of or found within the state to

appear and respond or defend in an action by reason of

the seizure of his property located within the state.

service of the summons may be made under the eireum-

stances and in the manner prescribed in the statute or

rule. Delaware’s sequestration procedure—embodied

in 10 Del. C. § 366 and in Delaware Court of Chancery

Rule 4(db)—provides for such notice to a party not an

Petition for Writ of Certiorari 3

inhabitant of or found within the state to appear by

reason of the sequestration of his property located

within the state. The Delaware District Court issued

an order pursuant to Rule 4(e) providing for service

of the summons, in accordance with the Delaware se-

questration procedure, upon defendants, all aliens

located in Europe.

The questions presented are:

1. Does such sequestration violate the due process

provisions of the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments?

because it provides for the seizure of a non-resident’s

property located within the state without prior notice

and an opportunity to be heard?

2. Does such sequestration violate the due process

provision of the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments

when there are no minimum contacts between the state

and either the subject matter or the defendants, but the

defendants are all aliens not otherwise suable in the

United States?

3. Did the sequestrations herein constitute unrea-

sonable searches and seizures in violation of the Fourth

Amendment ?

2. When service of process is made pursuant to state law, the

federal court applies both federal and state law—federal law to deter-

mine the constitutional validity of the service and state law to see if

the procedures set out in the applicable state statute or rule have been

followed. Wright & Miller, Federal Practice and Procedure: Civil

(1969) § 1075, p. 316.

Bens. Yanai A acne 0

4

Petition for Writ of Certiorari

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

AND PROCEDURAL RULES INVOLVED.

Rule 4(e) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

provides in part:

Whenever a statute or rule of court of the state in

which the district court is held provides (1) for

service of a summons, or of a notice, or of an order

in lieu of summons upon a party not an inhabitant

of or found within the state, or (2) for service upon

or notice to him to appear and respond or defend

in an action by reason of the attachment or garnish-

ment of similar seizure of his property located

within the state, service may in either case be made

under the circumstances and in the manner pre-

scribed in the statute or rule.

10 Del. C. § 366 provides in part:

§ 366. Compelling appearance of non-resident

defendant

(a) If it appears in any complaint filed in the

Court of Chancery that the defendant or any one or

more of the defendants is a non-resident of the

State of Delaware, the Court may make an order

directing such non-resident defendant or defend-

ants to appear by a day certain to be designated.

Such order shall be served on such non-resident

defendant or defendants by mail or otherwise, if

practicable, and shall be published in such manner

as the Court directs, not less than once a week for

three consecutive weeks. The Court may compel

the appearance of the defendant by the seizure of

all or any part of his property, which property may

be sold under the order of the Court to pay the

Petition for Writ of Certiorari 5

demand of the plaintiff, if the defendant does not

appear, or otherwise defaults. Any defendant

whose property shall have been so seized and who

shall have entered a general appearance in the

cause may, upon notice to the plaintiff, petition the

Court for an order releasing such property or any

part thereof from the seizure. The Court shall

release such property unless the plaintiff shall

satisfy the Court that because of other circum-

stances there is a reasonable possibility that such

release may render it substantially less likely that

plaintiff will obtain satisfaction of any judgment

secured. If such petition shall not be granted, or

if no such petition shall be filed, such property shall

remain subject to seizure and may be sold to satisfy

any judgment entered in the cause. The Court

may at any time release such property or any part

thereof upon the giving of sufficient security.

Rule 4(db) of the Delaware Court of Chancery

Rules provides:

(db) Service by Publication and Seizure. (1)

no order shall be entered under 10 Del. C. § 366 un-

less it appears in the complaint that the defendant

or any one or more of the defendants is a non-resi-

dent of the State of Delaware and the application

therefor is accompanied by the affidavit of a plain-

tiff or other credible person stating:

(a) As to each non-resident defendant

whose appearance is sought to be compelled,

his last known address or a statement that such

address is unknown and cannot with due dili-

gene be ascertained.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari

(b) The following information as to the

property of each such defendant sought to be

seized :

(1) A reasonable description thereof.

(2) The estimated amount and value

thereof.

(3) The nature of the defendant’s

title or interest therein; and if such title

or interest be equitable in nature, the

name of the holder of the legal title.

(4) The source of affiant’s informa-

tion as to any of the items as to which the

affidavit is made on information and

. belief.

(5) The reason for the omission of

any of the required statements.

(2) Within three business days after the filing

of such bond or bonds as may be required or within

such other times as the court may fix, the Register

shall, in addition to making the required publica-

tion, send by registered or certified mail to each

defendant whose appearance is sought to be com-

pelled a certified copy of the order and a copy of

the pleading asserting the claim.

(3) After the filing of such bond or bonds as

may be required by the order, but not later than 10

days after the date of the order of seizure, the

sequestrator shall serve a certified copy of the

order upon the person, persons or corporation hav-

ing possession or custody of the property or control

of its transfer, and shall seize the property. The

sequestrator shall seize property which is, or ap-

Ty

Petition for Writ of Certiorari 7

pears, not to be susceptible of physical seizure

within the state by serving a direction in writing

that the person, persons or corporation having pos-

session or custody of the property or control of its

transfer, shall:

(a) retain the property and recognize no

transfer thereof until further notice from the

sequestrator or order of the Court;

(b) forthwith make a notation upon any

records pertaining to the property that such

property is held pursuant to the order of the

Court ; and

(ec) within ten days after the date of such

service, deliver a certificate under oath to the

sequestrator, specifying (i) such defendant’s

property, if any, of which it has possession,

custody or control or control of its transfer ;

(ii) whether the title or interest of each such

defendant is legal or beneficial; and (iii) if

legal, the name and address of the holder of

any equitable title or interest therein, if

known, and, if beneficial, the name and address

of the holder of the legal title thereto, if

known.

(4) Within twenty days after seizure, unless

otherwise specially ordered, the sequestrator shall

make his return to the court, therein setting out

all proceedings hereunder to the date of said re-

turn, including the date and hour of service and

seizure pursuant to subdivision (3) hereof.

(5) The court may in its discretion and sub-

ject to statutory requirements dispense with or

¥ divs Sd =

raters rinse sett rie ne caret sient. at ia Lani

rE

8 Petition for Writ of Certiorari

modify compliance with the requirements of any

part of this rule in any cause upon application to

it stating the reasons therefor.

The full texts of Rule 4(e) of the Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure and of 10 Del. C. § 366 are set out in

the Appendix, as well as other applicable statutory and

constitutional provisions involved.

ee

Petition for Writ of Certiorari 9

STATEMENT OF THE CASE.

1. In the District Court.

This case, which squarely presents the opportunity

for this Court to answer a challenge to the continuing

validity of established precedents, has its roots in a

bizarre factual setting.

In 1969, prior to its reorganization, Penn Central

obtained a $10 million loan from a syndicate of German

banks, $6 million of which was soon used in connection

with a railroad equipment program. The remaining $4

million was placed in a trust account in Liechtenstein.

After Penn Central instituted reorganization pro-

ceedings in 1970 and the appointment of the Trustees,

it was discovered that the $4 million * of the loan pro-

ceeds was no longer held in the trust and was in the pos-

session of defendant Vileda Anstalt, a Liechtenstein

entity owned and controlled by Fidel Gotz (Gotz) a

German citizen.*

On March 10, 1971, the Trustees instituted suit to

recover the misappropriated funds belonging to the

Debtor. This suit was brought against Gotz, his son

3. Specifically, the sum of DM 16,800,000 which in 1969 had

a value of in excess of $4.6 million, and which now has a value in

excess of $6 million.

4. Gotz has been described in a Congressional Staff Report on

the subject as “a German national operating his far-flung business

ventures out of the tiny European state of Liechtenstein” (103a).

The conversion of the $4 million by Gotz through entities controlled

by him, has been described in the same Report “as a tale of financial

chicanery rarely matched in the annals of the business world” (102a),

and as having “all the elements of a film script of international finan-

cial intrigue” (109a). See Staff Report of the Committee on Bank-

ing and Currency of the House of Representatives entitled “The

Penn Central Failure and the Role of Financial Institutions~ (1971).

Part IV of that study is entitled “Penn Central Loses Four Million

Dollars: A Story of International Intrigue,” and is set out in the

Appendix (100a-134a).

wise aa |

PR eR Pas a Oe ie ne ak ee

10 Petition for Writ of Certiorari

and seven ° entities, alleged to be controlled by Gotz, all

aliens located in Europe, and was filed in the United

States District Court for the District of Delaware,

basing the jurisdiction of the District Court upon 28

U.S. C. § 1332(a) (2) pertaining to aliens and diversity

of citizenship. Among other things, the complaint al-

leged that Gotz, acting through—and in conspiracy

with—the other alien defendants, fraudulently con-

verted and embezzled $4 million of Penn Central’s

moneys from the trust located in Liechtenstein.

Utilizing the provisions of Rule 4(e) of the Fed-

eral Rules of Civil Procedure, the Trustees applied

to the District Court for a sequestration order under

10 Del. C. § 366 (87a) and under Delaware Court of

Chancery Rule 4(db) (89a). The Trustees’ complaint

alleged that the defendants were all aliens located in

Europe. The Trustees filed the affidavit prescribed by

Delaware Court of Chancery Rule 4(db), containing

certain information concerning the property of the

non-resident defendants to be seized. The District

Court’s sequestration order directed the service of

copies of the summons, complaint and order by certified

mail upon defendants in Europe, and also directed

publication of the order in a local newspaper. The

clerk of the District Court sent such copies to the

defendants at their European addresses, which copies

were received. The District Court’s sequestration

order also provided for the appointment of a seques-

5. Four corporations and three Anstalt defendants. An -instalt

(translated as Establishment or Foundation) is an entity peculiar

to Liechtenstein, and in many ways is like a trust. There are no

shares, and it may be organized by one person. Rights in an Anstalt

are freely transferable by written assignment.

6. As to venue, 28 U. S. C. § i391(d) provides that “[d] An

alien may be sued in any district.”

-

die

Petition for Writ of Certiorart 11

trator, who served sequestration notices’ upon the

Delaware corporations, shares of stock or obligations

of which were alleged in the affidavit to belong to de-

fendants. Asa result of the District Court’s sequestra-

tion order, shares of stock and obligations * of three

Delaware corporations belonging to the three Anstalt

defendants was seized. Refusing to enter an appear-

ance in the District Court, all defendants moved to

quash the sequestrations and to dismiss the complaint.

On December 20, 1971 the District Court issued an

order (7la-72a) vacating the sequestrations, upon the

sole ground (84a) that the affidavit filed by the Trustees

failed, in its view, to properly specify the property

of each defendant sought to be seized, and that the

omission of the information was not excused by giving

the reasons for such omissions—a procedure author-

ized by Delaware Court of Chancery Rule 4(db).°

The Trustees appealed (69a-70a) from the District

Court’s order of December 20, 1971. They moved for

7. Sub-paragraph 3 of Delaware Court of Chancery Rule 4(db)

(90a) provides, in part, for seizure of intangible property by service

of a notice upon the person, persons, or corporation “having posses-

sion or custody of the property or control of its transfer”.

8. Defendants contend that the value of this property at the

time of sequestration was in excess of $7 million.

9. Delaware Court of Chancery Rule 4(db), sub-paragraph

(1)(b), provides that certain information “as to the property of

each such defendant sought to be seized” shall be included in the

affidavit, including “(3) The nature of the defendant’s title or in-

terest therein * * *.” However, sub-paragraph (b)(1)(5) (89a)

also provides that the affidavit shall include “The reason for the

omission of any of the required statements” (89a), thus permitting

omission of the information. Further, subparagraph (5) provides

that “The Court may in its discretion and subject to statutory require-

ments dispense with or modify compliance with the requirements of

any part of this rule in any cause upon application to it stating the

reasons therefor.” (91a).

F ated

bib eQiles Sikes pettaibas

12 Petition for Writ of Certiorart

a stay *° in the Court of Appeals, which was granted

on December 23, 1971 (67a-68a).

2. In the Court of Appeals.

A panel of the Court of Appeals on August 31,

1973 reversed the judgment of the District Court in

a scholarly opinion written by Judge Adams for the

majority (13a-42a); Judge Gibbons dissented (42a-

66a). The majority did not agree with the sole ground

of the District Court’s ruling—the asserted insuffi-

ciency of the affidavit filed on behalf of the Trustees—

and held the affidavit sufficient under Delaware law

(18a-22a).

Meeting the first of defendants’ constitutional

attacks on the Delaware sequestration statute under

the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments, the majority

held that the Delaware sequestration procedure repre-

sented an ‘‘extraordinary situation’’ within the mean-

ing of Fuentes v. Shevin, 407 U. S. 67 (1972). The

majority noted (27a-28a) that in Ownbey v. Morgan,

256 U.S. 94 (1920), this Court had upheld the consti-

tutionality of the Delaware foreign attachment statute

—a statute closely related to the sequestration statute—

and that Ownbey was referred to by this Court in

Fuentes as an example of such an ‘‘extraordinary

situation.”’

With regard to defendants’ attack on the seques-

trations under the Fourth Amendment, the majority

held that the Delaware sequestration procedure was

not encompassed by the Fourth Amendment, relying

10. Without such a stay, defendants would have been free im-

mediately to transfer the sequestered property, thereby defeating the

jurisdiction of the District Court. The stay pending appeal was con-

ditioned by the Court of Appeals upon the posting by the Trustees of

a bond in the amount of $25,000.

Petition for Writ of Certiorart 13

upon Boyd v. United States, 116 U. S. 616 (1886) and

Wyman v. James, 400 U. 8. 309 (1971) (40a-41a).

Judge Gibbons dissented, asserting, in part, that

the sequestrations were violative of the due process

provisions of the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments

because Delaware lacks minimum contacts with either

the subject matter or the parties (55a-66a).

The defendants filed a petition for rehearing in

bane, urging review by the full court of what de-

fendants described as ‘‘several major and novel issues

as to constitutional matters on the frontiers of current

constitutional litigation’’..*. On October 10, 1973 the

Court of Appeals granted (8a-9a) the defendants’

petition for rehearing in bane.

After reargument, the Court of Appeals in banc ”

filed a per curiam opinion (6a-7a) stating simply that

“the Court is evenly divided’’, and that the order of

the District Court appealed from would be affirmed.

The earlier reversal (10a-lla) of the order of the

District Court, which resulted from the panel’s de-

cision was transformed—because of the equal division

of the Court in bane on the constitutional issues which

prompted the reargument—into an affirmance of the

order of the District Court of December 20, 1971,

vacating the sequestrations. Thus, because of the

equal division of the eight Judges of the Court of

Appeals on the constitutional issues involved, the

order of the District Court, based upon alleged non-

conformance of the Trustees’ affidavit to the require-

ments of Delaware Court of Chancery Rule 4(db)—

11. Petition of Appellees for Rehearing and Suggestion of Re-

hearing In Banc, p. 1.

12. The Court of Appeals in banc consisted of the nine active

Judges with the exception of Judge Hunter who disqualified himself.

sient S ALR BAIN UIA EE ER BRE BB Di RRA AI OS cai

j

14 Petition for Writ of Certiorart

which ruling of the District Court the panel had held

to be erroneous under Delaware law—was affirmed.

The Trustees then petitioned for a rehearing in

bane, which the Court of Appeals in bane denied (2a-

3a) on March 15, 1974. The Trustees also moved for

stay pending application to this Court for a writ of

certiorari. Defendants opposed the stay, and de-

manded that any stay be conditioned upon the posting

by the Trustees of a bond in the amount of $1 million.

On April 1, 1974 the Court of Appeals issued an order

(1a) granting the Trustees’ motion for a stay pending

the filing of this petition, and continuing in effect the

$25,000 bond originally posted by the Trustees for the

stay pending appeal, thus rejecting the defendants’

demand for a $1 million bond.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari 15

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT.

I. The Court of Appeals In Banc Was Equally Divided

on the Important Federal Constitutional Questions

Involved.

1. The federal constitutional issues raised by de-

fendants were briefed for—and argued—to the courts

below. These issues were strenuously urged in de-

fendants’ petition for rehearing in bane. While the

District Court’s opinion rested upon the narrow

ground of alleged noncompliance with the Delaware

Court of Chancery Rule, the majority of the panel

held the District Court’s decision to be erroneous, and

went on to decide the constitutional issues, in an

opinion by Judge Adams, from which Judge Gibbons

dissented. It is indisputable that the Court of Appeals

granted defendants’ petition for rehearing in bane in

order to review the exceptionally important constitu-

tional questions '* involved, and which were again

13. Section M of the Internal Operating Procedures of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit (1974), re-

cently published, describes what has been the Court’s practice with

regard to rehearing in banc:

M. Rehearing, Criteria and Practice for Voting for

1. General Criteria and Court Practice for Voting for Re-

hearing :

a. Granting of rehearing in banc is totally within the

discretion of the cricuit judges of this Court in regular

active service.

b. F. R. A. P. 35(a), hearing in banc or rehearing in

banc, is not favored and ordinarily will not be ordered except

(1) where consideration by the full court is neces-

sary to secure or maintain uniformity of its decisions, or

(2) where the proceeding involves a question of

exceptional importance.

c. This Court does not, ordinarily, grant rehearing in

banc where the panel's statement of the law is correct and

RN Ne —

RABY Ov Austin tas,

call taal My | ant age Me cE

AGES OTE

eT

16 Petition for Writ of Certiorari

raised by defendants in their petition for rehearing

in bane. Were there any doubt, the fact that the

Court of Appeals stayed the issuance of its mandate

pending an application by the Trustees for a writ of

certiorari, is further indication of its view that this

case raises issues of exceptional importance, and ‘‘* * *

is one likely, under [our] practice, to be taken up by us

on certiorari * * *’’: Magnum Import Co. v. De

Spoturno Coty, 262 U. 8. 159, 163 (1922) ; English v.

Cunningham, 80S. Ct. 18 (1959) (Mr. Justice Frank-

furter as Acting Cireuit Judge) ; Meredith v. Fair, 306

F, 2d 374 (5th Cir. 1962).

And while the Court of Appeals in bane filed a

per curiam opinion stating only that the eight Judges

were equally divided—the earlier opinions of Judges

Adams and Gibbons illuminate, in part, the reasons

why four of the Judges were on one side, and four

Judges were on the other side, of the federal constitu-

tional issues involved.

13. (Cont’d.)

the controverted issue is solely the application of the law

to the circumstances of the case.

Third Circuit Rule 22, provides that after May 1, 1974 counsel for

a petitioner for rehearing in banc shall make the following statement:

“TI express a belief, based on a reasoned and studied profes-

sional judgment, that the panel decision is contrary to decisions

of the United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit or

the Supreme Court of the United States, and that consideration

by the full court is necessary to secure and maintain uniformity

of decisions in this Court, to-wit, the panel's decision is contrary

to the decision of the court or the Supreme Court in [citing

specifically the case or cases] or, that this appeal involves a

question of exceptional importance, to-wit [set forth in one sen-

tence].”

The Court of Appeals would clearly not have granted defendants’

petition for rehearing in banc merely to decide the non-constitutional

questions in this case, since decision of such issues by the Court in

bane would not have been necessary to secure uniformity of its deci-

sions, nor did such issues involve questions of exceptional importance.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari 17

2. The constitutional validity of the Delaware

sequestration procedure, additionally, is a matter of

practical importance, not merely because of the pend-

ing sequestrations in the Delaware federal and state

courts, but Delaware is the state of incorporation of

a great number™ of corporations and the potential

use of the sequestration procedure is also great.

3. This Court should exercise its supervisory

powers to decide the important federal constitutional

questions which equally divided the eight Judges of

the Court-of Appeals in bane. Unless it does so, the

District Court’s order vacating the sequestrations will

stand affirmed, thus defeating the jurisdiction of the

District Court, permitting the defendants immediately

to transfer their sequestered property, and leaving de-

fendant Gotz enriched at the expense of the Trustees’

Debtor.”*

II. This Court Should Finally Settle the Issue Whether the

Delaware Sequestration Procedure Violates the Due

Process Provisions of the Fifth and Fourteenth Amend-

ments Because It Authorizes the Seizure of Property

Without Notice or Opportunity for Hearing.

1. Defendants contend that the Delaware seques-

tration statute violates their due process rights because

their intangible property located in Delaware was

seized without prior notice or an opportunity to be

heard. Defendants rely upon Fuentes, 407 U. S. 67,

14. Probably 9,000 new corporations will be incorporated in

Delaware during 1974; see Cary, Federalism and Corporate Law:

Reflections Upon Delaware, 83 Yale L. J. 663, 668 (1974). It has

been unofficially estimated that 75,000 corporations are incorporated

in Delaware.

15. Gotz is reputed to be the owner of an international con-

glomerate valued at $500 million. New York Times, April 9, 1972,

p. 40, col. 4.

PANN Tee oe 0h dl SAE, aati

18 Petition for Writ of Certiorart

in which this Court struck down Pennsylvania and

Florida replevin statutes authorizing seizure of per-

sonal property without notice or an opportunity to be

heard. This Court however also said in Fuentes:

There are ‘extraordinary situations’’ that

justify postponing notice and opportunity for a

hearing. Boddie v. Connecticut, 401 U. 8., at 379.

These situations, however, must be truly unusual.

Only in a few limited situations has this Court

allowed outright seizure without opportunity for

a prior hearing. First, in each case, the seizure has

has been directly necessary to secure an important

governmental or general public interest. Second,

there has been a special need for very prompt

action. Third, the State has kept strict control

over its monopoly of legitimate force: the person

initiating the seizure has been a government

official responsible for determining, under the

standards of a narrowly drawn statute, that it

was necessary and justified in the particular in-

stance. * * * [407 U. S. at 90-91 (footnotes

omitted ) ]

In connection with these observations, this Court

cited Ownbey v. Morgan, 256 U. S. 94, with approval,

describing it as a case which involved ‘‘attachment

necessary to secure jurisdiction in [a] state court—

clearly a most basic and important public interest’’.

Fuentes, 407 U. S. at 91, note 23. In Ownbey this

Court had rejected a constitutional attack made upon

the exercise of quasi in rem jurisdiction under Dela-

ware’s foreign attachment statute, and under that

statute there was no pre-seizure notice or hearing.

2. The majority of the panel noted that Ownbey

involved the Delaware foreign attachment statute, a

Petition for Writ of Certiorari 19

statute closely related to the Delaware sequestration

statute, and that both in Sniadach and Fuentes this

Court referred to Ownbey as an example of an ‘‘ex-

traordinary situation’? (27a). The majority said:

* * * the continuing vitality of Ownbey is attested

tu by its presence in both Fuentes and Sniadach.

Unless and until the Supreme Court reverses

Ownbey this Court is duty bound to accord the

ease its full respect. (28a, n. 35)

The majority of the panel also pointed out (27a-

28a) that references by this Court to Ownbey in

Sniadach v. Family Finance Corp., 395 U.S. 337 (1969)

and Fuentes had caused the Court of Appeals in Lebo-

witz v. Forbes Leasing and Finance Corp., 456 F. 2d

979, 982 (3d. Cir.), cert. denied, 409 U. S. 843 (1972),

to uphold the constitutionality of Pennsylvania’s for-

eign attachment statute procedure against strong

attack.

3. The Delaware sequestration statute provides

that after a general appearance the seized property may

be released, and in Lebowitz it was contended that after

a general appearance there could no longer exist any

justification for the attachment. The Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit, however, said in Lebowitz that

it was bound by the decisions of this Court:

But we are not free to adopt our own view as to

post-appearance attachment. We say this because

we think the reasoning of the Supreme Court’s

decisions in Ownbey v. Morgan, 256 U. S. 94, 41

S. Ct. 433, 65 L. Ed. 837 (1921) and McKay v.

McInnes, 279 U. S. 820, 49 S. Ct. 344, 73 L. Ed. 975

(1929) precludes such action. Any reexamination

of the continuing vitality of these cases must come

from the Supreme Court. [456 F. 2d at 982]

dubbed A'S a OP al SOR. acs at la lita pases

4 Tee

a ee)

s

Petition for Writ of Certiorari

4. The Delaware sequestration statute comports

with the tripartite test of due process established in

Fuentes. First, this Court’s footnote characterization

of the attachment in Ownbey supplies the answer to the

inquiry of whether the seizure was “‘directly necessary

to secure an important governmental or general publie

interest.’’ This is not a case like Fuentes where the

statutes allowed private parties—serving their own

private advantage—unilaterally to invoke state power

to replevy goods from another. Fuentes, 407 U. S. at

93. A state has a legitimate interest in the exercise of

judicial jurisdiction with respect to property within

its borders. Seizure for the purpose of securing such

jurisdiction accordingly serves a most basic and im-

portant public interest.

Second, there was a need for prompt action.

Notice would afford the defendants an opportunity to

defeat the state’s interest in securing jurisdiction, by

the simple expedient of transferring the property.

This distinguishes this case from Fuentes, for here

the State of Delaware’s power to adjudicate was in

jeopardy.

Third, Delaware has kept a “‘strict control over its

monopoly” of foree. This Court said in Fuentes:

The statutes, moreover, abdicate effective state

control over state power. Private parties, serving

their own private advantage, may unilaterally in-

voke state power to replevy goods from another.

No state official participates in the decision to

seek a writ; no state official reviews the basis for

the claim to repossession; and no state official

evaluates the need for immediate seizure. There is

not even a requirement that the plaintiff provide

any information to the court on these matters.

The State acts largely in the dark. [407 U. S. at

93 (footnote omitted) ]

—

Here, unlike Fuentes, the order effecting the seizure

was issued by a District Court judge. That judge had

been supplied with a complaint and with an affidavit.

The information provided a basis for the determination

by the District Court that the seizure would be in fur-

therance of the “‘important public interest’’ underlying

the Delaware sequestration statute, and that prompt

action would be required in order that the state’s juris-

diction not be defeated.

This case does not present a situation where the

State of Delaware has abdicated ‘‘effective state control

over state power * * * [to] private parties, serving their

own private advantage * * *’’. Fuentes, 407 U. S. at

93. The sequestration procedure here attacked also

serves a public purpose as part of the ordered system of

conflict resolution which includes the exercise of judi-

cial power over property located within (te state.

Lebowitz, 456 F. 2d at 981.

5. The issue whether, under Fuentes, the Delaware

sequestration procedure violates the due process pro-

visions of the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments be-

eause it involves a seizure without prior notice or op-

portunity for hearing—an issue on which the eight

Judges of the Court of Appeals in bane split—should

be finally settled by this Court.

III. This Court Should Finally Settle the Issue Whether

the Delaware Sequestration Procedure Violates the Due

Process Provisions of the Fifth and Fourteenth Amend-

ments When the State Lacks Minimum Contacts With

either the Subject Matter or the Parties.

1. Defendants assert that the sequestration of the

property of a non-resident where Delaware lacks mini-

mum contacts either witn the subject matter or the

Petition for Writ of Certiorari 21

vse! i nl PRR ~]

Dae inlays O50, 002 await Sat

Juels MNOS ra A ade ats Sinencraibd atthe

eee ee

Bo wenrinic

22 Petition for Writ of Certiorart

parties violates due process, an argument based upon

International Shoe v. Washington, 326 U. S. 310

(1945). Defendants assert that a court cannot assert,

even quasi in rem jurisdiction, unless either the parties

or the subject matter of the action have minimum con-

tacts with the forum. Judge Gibbons, in his dissent

from the panel’s opinion, accepted the defendants’

contention that the minimum contacts analysis set out

in International Shoe and developed in connection with

in personam jurisdiction, constitutionally must also be

applied to cases of quasi in rem jurisdiction. Thus,

rejecting landmark decisions * of this Court—holding

a state’s power over persons or property within its

boundaries is enough to establish quasi in rem juris-

diction—Judge Gibbons asserted:

It is time that Ownbey v. Morgan, 265 [sic] U. S.

94 (1921), be considered in light of International

Shoe Co. v. Washington, supra, and its progeny.

There is no reason for considering the jurisdiction

recognized in Ownbey v. Morgan, supra, as exempt

from the stricture of the fifth and fourteenth

amendment due process clauses. Ownbey v.

Morgan, supra, and International Shoe Co. v.

Washington, supra, cannot be reconciled if the

former is not applied subject to a minimum con-

tacts analysis * * * (65a)

2. Judge Adams—speaking for the majority of the

panel—pointed out that the Trustees did have substan-

tial contacts with Delaware, and that the valid state

interests in protecting residents and affording a forum

to litigate grievances could not be satisfied in case of

16. Harris v. Balk, 198 U. S. 215 (1905) ; Chicago R. 1. & P. R.

Co. v. Sturm, 174 U. S. 710 (1899) ; Pennoyer v. Neff, 95 U. S. 714

(1877).

aa

Petition for Writ of Certiorari 23

defendants who could not be served in the United States

in any less restrictive manner, and that, therefore, the

procedure used was necessary to secure jurisdiction and

was under the circumstances appropriate as a response

to an “‘extraordinary situation” within the exception

described in Fuentes (31a). After discussing the doc-

trines of International Shoe, Hanson v. Denckla, 357

U. S. 235 (1958), and Ownbey, Judge Adams observed:

If consent to personal jurisdiction is the necessary

implication of the entry of a general appearance,

then application here of the ‘‘minimum contacts”’

tests seems misguided, and the in terrorem effect of

the sequestration procedure might well pass con-

stitutional muster. Ultimate resolution of this

issue would depend, then, on which course of anal-

ysis a court were to pursue—the ‘‘voluntary con-

tact’’ test of International Shoe and Hanson or the

‘*implied consent’’ view of Ownbey. (36a) (foot-

notes omitted)

3. The minimum contacts doctrine is not applicable

where, as here, the plaintiff invokes the quasi in rem

jurisdiction of the court. Almost 60 years ago Justice

Holmes declared that the ‘‘foundation of jurisdiction

is physical power’’ over persons and property within a

state’s territorial borders. McDonald v. Mabee, 243

U.S. 90, 91 (1917).

4. Delaware’s jurisdiction over intangibles—such

as shares of stock of, or the obligations or debts of, a

Delaware corporation—is based upon two Delaware

statutes, the effect of which is to prevent such intangible

property from ever being embodied in a document,

which document might be physically located outside of

the State of Delaware. Under 8 Del. C. § 169 (92a)

the situs of shares of stock of a Delaware corporation is

" 7 rt is bios!

Sia ESO A Li D Eh RE AB a a0 se Mah Mates tater eahad 9 Pcs con? PON Re |

ee ee er ot eed

detras*ibs

Jabs Was lable Laine, 22020

24 Petition for Writ of Certiorart

regarded as Delaware, no matter where the share cer-

tificates may be located. Furthermore, the debts or

obligations of a Delaware corporation also have their

situs—as intangibles—within the State of Delaware.”

Even when such intangibles may be regarded as ‘‘in-

vestment securities’? within the meaning of the Uni-

form Commercial Code (UCC) (and, therefore. by

definition ‘‘negotiable’’), they, nevertheless, still have

their situs in Delaware. Delaware—uniquely out of the

49 states which have adopted the UCC—is the only state

which has rejected Section 8-317(1) in the form recom-

mended by the UCC draftsmen (95a-96a), and in lieu

thereof has enacted Section 8-317(1) of 5A Del. C.

(93a-94a), which establishes the unique Delaware rule

that such intangibles can never be embodied in a docu-

ment. Thus, the intangible property of Delaware cor-

porations—corporate stock and obligations—always

has its situs in Delaware, no matter where the docu-

ments evidencing such intangibles may happen to be

physically located.

5. The issue whether Ownbey must be read in light

of International Shoe, that is, whether the doctrine of

minimum contacts, which is applicable to in personam

jurisdiction, also applies to quasi in rem jurisdiction—

an issue on which the Court of Appeals in bane split—

should be finally settled by this Court.

IV. This Court Should Settle the Question Whether the

Sequestrations Constituted an Unconstitutional Search

and Seizure.

1. Defendants argued in the courts below that the

sequestration order ‘‘constituted a general warrant in

17. Weinress v. Bland, 71 A. 2d 59, 31 Del. Ch. 269 (Del. Ch.

1950) ; Landau v. Best, 187 A. 2d 75, 41 Del. Ch. 1 (Del. Supr.

1962).

Petition for Writ of Certiorari 25

its most obnoxious form, indeed precisely as that

noxious instrument stood when it became the specific

abuse against which the Fourth Amendment was

directed. 99 18

The majority of the panel held, however, that an

examination of the early cases of this Court shows

clearly that the protection of the Fourth Amendment

does not extend to seizures of a civil nature. Boyd v.

United States, 116 U.S. 616 (1886). Noting that while

the concept of what constitutes a search or seizure

impermissible under the Fourth Amendment has

evolved significantly since the late nineteenth century,

the majority said that ‘‘the path of that evolution has

been neither so straight nor so exorable that it encom-

passes sequestration proceedings, at least at the present

time.’’ Compare Camara v. Municipal Court, 387 U.S.

523 (1967) with Wyman v. James, 400 U.S. 309 (1971).

The majority also pointed out that the Court of Appeals

in Lebowitz had summarily dismissed the same Fourth

Amendment contention. 456 F. 2d at 980 (40a-41a).

2. In their petition for rehearing in bane de-

fendants strenuously urged that the sequestrations in

this case violated their Fourth Amendment rights,

and that it is ‘‘well established’’ that the Fourth

Amendment applies to civil actions:

Yontrary to the majority holding, it is well es-

tablished that the Fourth Amendment applies tu

civil actions. Camara v. Municipal Court, 387

U. 8. 523 (1967) ; See v. City of Seattle, 387 U.S.

541 (1967) * * *.”

18. Brief for Fidel Gotz, et al., Defendants-Appellees 40-41.

19. Petition of Appellees for Rehearing and Suggestion of Re-

hearing In Banc, p. 13.

q

Bitsiainais

26

Petition for Writ of Certiorari

Defendants urged with respect to Boyd that:

Furthermore, the statement relied upon by the

majority from the Boyd case, decided in 1886,

was not only mere dictum but is no longer the

law, as the above decisions show. The Supreme

Court plainly took the Fourth Amendment argu-

ment seriously in Fuentes (see fn, 2.) * * **°

And defendants further urged with respect to Wyman:

But Wyman dealt with the propriety of a re-

quirement that a welfare caseworker make

periodic visits to a recipient’s home. The Court

specifically reaffirmed that Fourth Amendment

protections are not restricted to the criminal law

field (400 U. S., at 317). It held that there was

no ‘‘search’’ involved, and even if there were it

was not unreasonable.”

3. The issue whether the sequestrations effected

herein under the Delaware statute constituted an un-

reasonable search and seizure—an issue on which the

Court of Appeals in bane split—should be finally

settled by this Court.

20. Ibid.

21.Jd. at 14.

Petition for Writ of Certiorart 27

CONCLUSION.

For the foregoing reasons this Court should grant

the Trustees’ petition for a writ of certiorari, settle

the important constitutional issues on which the eight

Judges of the Court of Appeals in bane were equally

divided, and remand the case for further proceedings

in the Court of Appeals.

Respectfully submitted,

Epwin P. RoMgE,

MarvIN CoMISKY,

Morris L. WEISBERG,

4 Penn Center Plaza,

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. 19103

WituiaMm E. Taytor, JR.,

300 Continental American Building,

On Rodney Square,

Wilmington, Delaware. 19801

Attorneys for Petitioners.

-99 FILE COPY

- wee aw

| IN THE ae a hee

Supreme Court of the United States ~

October Term, 1974.

No. @3~ESOO

GEORGE P. BAKER, RICHARD C. BOND, JERVIS LANGDON,

JR., WILLARD WIRTZ, Trustees of the Property of the PENN

CENTRAL TRANSPORTATION COMPANY,

Petitioners,

vu.

FIDEL GO6TZ, VOLKER G6TZ, FINANZ AKTIENGESELL-

SCHAFT, VILEDA ANSTALT, GOTZ AKTIENGESELL-

SCHAFT OF ST. GALLEN (Also Known as GOTZ AG OF ST.

GALLEN, or G6TZ ANSTALT OF ST. GALLEN, or GOTZ

ETABLISSEMENT OF ST. GALLEN, or GOTZ ESTABLISH-

MENT OF ST. GALLEN), INTER-INDUSTRY AKTIENGE-

SELLSCHAFT OF ST. GALLEN (Also Known as INTER-

INDUSTRY AG OF ST. GALLEN, or INTER-INDUSTRY

ANSTALT OF ST. GALLEN, or INTER-INDUSTRY ETAB-

LISSEMENT OF ST. GALLEN, or INTER-INDUSTRY ESTAB-

LISHMENT OF ST. GALLEN), INTER-MARKETING CORP.

ANSTALT (Also Known as INTER-MARKETING CORP.

ETABLISSEMENT, or INTER-MARKETING CORP. ESTAB-

LISHMENT), MINOLTA ANSTALT, and FINANZ AG ST.

GALLEN.

APPENDIX TO

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT.

Epwin P. Rome,

Marvin Comisky,

Morris L. WEISBERG,

4 Penn Center Plaza,

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. 19103

WituiaM E. Taytor, Jr.,

500 Continental American Building,

On Rodney Square,

Wilmington, Delaware. 19801

Attorneys for Petitioners

International Printing Co., 711 So. 50th St., Phila., Pa. 19143 — Tel. (215) 727-8711

LER 25

TABLE OF CONTENTS OF SEPARATE APPENDIX.

Page

Order of the Court of Appeals Granting the Trustees’ Motion

for Stay Pending Application for a Writ of Certiorari ... la

Order of the Court of Appeals in Banc Denying the Trustees’

Petition for Rehearing in Banc ............ccccccccees 2a

Judgment of the Court of Appeals in Banc ................- 4a

Opinion of the Court of Appeals in Banc ............+.5+6. 6a

Order of the Court of Appeals in Banc Granting Defendants’

Petition for Rehearing te Dame .......sccccvcccccccecs 8a

Judgment of the Panel of the Court of Appeals ............ 10a

Opinions of the Panel of the Court of Appeals .............. 12a

Order of the Court of Appeals Granting the Trustees’ Motion

Gee: Date, Te FD ov vcceinsenisesveviccanses 67a

Trustees’ Notice of Appeal to the Court of Appeals ........ 69a

Goder of the District Camit 2... ccccccccvcccccscceccecses 7la

Gotniom of Che Tletvicd Camst ....cccsveccencccesesccccess 73a

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 4(e), 28 U. S. C. (1960, Cum.

Sk SE cdvdves dennacdesaedeeemeieasea 86a

Delaware Sequestration Statute, 10 Del. C. § 366 (1953, Cum.

RED vcabuevcusscsecsdevenescseeurereewesens 87a

Delaware Chancery Rule 4(db), 13 Del. Code (1970) ...... 89a

Pe ET nhiducdcnsesauwacwias abageredasodusanewsker 92a

Se Be Sa EE hbk dee nein Sonn cesaccensecasaeaneeens 93a

Section 8-317 of the Uniform Commercial Code Recommended

et Sie EY, BUND sv aciccccvasenkcveanascwcsoes 95a

Fourth Amendment to the Constitution of the United States .. 97a

Fifth Amendment to the Constitution of the United States ... 98a

Foureenth Amendment (Section 1) to the Constitution of the

i a ee ea 99a

Staff Report of the Committee on Banking and Currency .... 100a

ORDER OF THE COURT OF APPEALS GRANTING

THE TRUSTEES’ MOTION FOR STAY PENDING

APPLICATION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI.

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For THE THIRD CIRcuIT

No. 71-2150.

GEORGE P. BAKER, RICHARD C. BOND,

JERVIS LANGDON, JR., WILLARD WIRTZ,

TRUSTEES OF THE PROPERTY OF THE PENN CEN-

TRAL TRANSPORTATION COMPANY,

Appellants

v.

FIDEL GOTZ, et aL.

Pursuant to Rule 41(b) of the Federal Rules of

Appellate Procedure, it is ORDERED that issuance of the

certified judgment in lieu of formal mandate in the

above cause be, and it is hereby stayed until April 25,

1974, and it is

FURTHER ORDERED that no final judgment in man-

date form having issued, the $25,000 security heretofore

filed in connection with the stay shall continue to con-

stitute security in connection with the petition for

certiorari.

/s/ Cotiins J. Seitz,

Chief Judge.

Dated : April 1, 1974

(la)

|

4

!

:

5

i

;

|

|

2

2a Court of Appeals Order (3/15/74)

ORDER OF THE COURT OF APPEALS IN BANC

DENYING THE TRUSTEES’ PETITION FOR

REHEARING IN BANC.

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For THE Txuirp Circuit

No. 71-2150.

GEORGE P. BAKER, RICHARD C. BOND,

JERVIS LANGDON, JR., WILLARD WIRTZ,

TRUSTEES OF THE PROPERTY OF THE PENN CEN-

TRAL TRANSPORTATION COMPANY,

Appellants

v.

FIDEL GOTZ, er At.

SUR PETITION FOR REHEARING.

Present: Serrz, Chief Judge, Van Dusen, ALDISERT,

Apams, Grssons, Rosenn, Weis and GarrTH,

Circuit Judges.

The second petition for rehearing filed by Appel-

lants in the above entitled case having been submitted

to the judges who participated in the decision of this

court and to all the other available circuit judges of

the circuit in regular active service, and no judge who

concurred in the decision having asked for rehearing,

Court of Appeals Order (3/15/74) 3a

and a majority of the circuit judges of the circuit in

regular active service not having voted for rehearing

by the court in bane, the petition for rehearing is

denied.

By THE COURT,

CoLuins J. SEITz,

Judge.

Dated : March 15, 1974

T —

}

4a Court of Appeals Judgment (2/21/74)

JUDGMENT OF THE COURT OF APPEALS IN BANC.

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For THE TuHrirp Circuit

No. 71-2150.

GEORGE P. BAKER, RICHARD C. BOND,

JERVIS LANGDON, JR., WILLARD WIRTZ,

: TRUSTEES OF THE PROPERTY OF THE PENN CEN-

TRAL TRANSPORTATION COMPANY,

Appellants

:

|

v.

FIDEL GOTY, er at.

(D. C. Civil Action No. 4072)

3

; On AppEAL FROM THE UNrTeEp States District Court

j FOR THE District OF DELAWARE.

Present: Seitz, Chief Judge and VAN DusEN, ALDISERT,

Apams, Gisppons, RosENN, WEIS and GARTH,

Circuit Judges.

JUDGMENT ON REHEARING.

This cause came on to be heard on the record from

the United States District Court for the District of

Delaware and was reargued by counsel.

Court of Appeals Judgment (2/21/74) da

On consideration whereof, it is now here ordered

and adjudged by this Court that the judgment of the

said District Court, filed December 20, 1971, be, and

the same is hereby affirmed and the stay previously

granted by this Court is hereby vacated. Costs taxed

against appellants.

ATTEST :

THomas F.. QUINN,

Clerk.

February 21, 1974

| *

6a Court of Appeals Opinion (2/21/74)

OPINION OF THE COURT OF APPEALS IN BANC.

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For THE THtrD CIRcuIT

No. 71-2150.

GEORGE P. BAKER, RICHARD C. BOND,

JERVIS LANGDON, JR., WILLARD WIRTZ,

TRUSTEES OF THE PROPERTY OF THE PENN CEN-

TRAL TRANSPORTATION COMPANY,

Appellants

Ne ee Ne ee *

s Vv.

FIDEL GOTZ, Et At.

, On AppeAL From THE UnitTep States District Court

FOR THE District oF DELAWARE.

(C. A. No. 4072)

Argued April 9, 1973

’ Before Van Dusen, ADAMS and GIBBONS,

Circuit Judges.

Reargued In Banc November 16, 1973.

Reargued before Seitz, Chief Judge, Vax Dvusen,

ALDISERT, ADAMS, GIBBONS, ROSENN, WEIS and

GarTH, Circuit Judges.

Edwin P. Rome Arthur G. Connolly

Marvin Comisky Attorney for Appellees

Morris L. Weisberg

William E. Taylor, Jr.

Attorneys for Appellants

Court of Appeals Opinion (2/21/74) Ta

OPINION OF THE COURT.

(Filed February 21, 1974)

PER CURIAM:

On this appeal from the order dated December 20,

1971, the Court is evenly divided.

The order will be affirmed and the stay heretofore

entered will be vacated.

desde eile: Ua in Ae ate pica RAR ii Sc FRI BIE Ca ae iow Sis BALA Ee tea cece:

Br wa deh bs cit RIA eR at bet

8a Court of Appeals Order (10/10/73)

ORDER OF THE COURT OF APPEALS IN BANC

GRANTING DEFENDANTS’ PETITION FOR

REHEARING IN BANC.

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 71-2150.

GEORGE P. BAKER, RICHARD C. BOND,

JERVIS LANGDON, JR., WILLARD WIRTZ,

TRUSTEES OF THE PROPERTY OF THE PENN CEN-

TRAL TRANSPORTATION COMPANY,

Appellants,

v.

FIDEL GOTZ, Er At.

A ppellees.

Present: Seitz, Chief Judge and VAN DUSEN, ALDISERT,

Apams, GIBBoNs, RosENN, WEIS and GARTH,

Circuit Judges.

ORDER.

The Petition for Rehearing filed by. defendant-

appellees in the above captioned matter having been

submitted to the judges who participated in the deci-

sion of this court and to all the other available circuit

judges of the Circuit in regular active service, and a

majority of such active circuit judges having voted for

rehearing in bance, it is

Court of Appeals Order (10/10/73) 9a

ORDERED that the Petition for Rehearing in banc is

granted, and the judgment of this court entered on

August 31, 1973, is vacated, and it is

FuRTHER ORDERED that the Clerk of this Court shall

list this appeal for rehearing or reconsideration before

the court in bance at the convenience of the court.

By THE COURT,

CoLuins J. SEITz,

Chief Judge.

DatepD: October 10, 1973.

7 ™

10a ss Court of Appeals Judgment (8/31/73)

j JUDGMENT OF THE PANEL OF THE COURT

OF APPEALS.

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 71-2150.

bias nirvana abies tea er cay Ae

GEORGE P. BAKER, RICHARD C. BOND,

JERVIS LANGDON, JR., WILLARD WIRTZ,

TRUSTEES OF THE PROPERTY OF THE PENN CEN-

TRAL TRANSPORTATION COMPANY,

Appellants

: v.

FIDEL GOTZ, Et At.

(D. C. Civil Action No. 4072)

3 —————

On APPEAL FrRoM THE UNITED States District Court

FOR THE DISTRICT OF DELAWARE.

Present: VAN Dusen, ADAMS and GIBBONS,

Circuit Judges.

JUDGMENT.

This cause came on to be heard on the record from

the United States District Court for the District of

Delaware and was argued by counsel.

Court of Appeals Judgment (8/31/73) lla

On consideration whereof, it is now here ordered

and adjudged by this Court that the order of the said

District Court, filed December 20, 1971, be, and the same

is hereby reversed and the cause is remanded for action

consistent with the opinion of this Court. Costs taxed

against appellees.

ATTEST:

/s/ M. EizaBETH FERGUSON,

Chief Deputy Clerk.

August 31, 1973

12a Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73)

OPINIONS OF THE PANEL OF THE COURT

OF APPEALS.

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 71-2150.

GEORGE P. BAKER, RICHARD C. BOND,

JERVIS LANGDON, JR., WILLARD WIRTZ,

TRUSTEES OF THE PROPERTY OF THE PENN CEN-

TRAL TRANSPORTATION COMPANY,

Appellants

v.

FIDEL GOTZ, Et AL.

On APPEAL FROM THE UNITED StaTEs District Court

FOR THE DISTRICT OF DELAWARE.

(C. A. No. 4072)

Argued Monday, April 9, 1973.

Before: VAN Dusen, ADAMS and GIBBONS,

Circuit Judges.

Edwin P. Rome

Marvin Comisky

Morris L. Weisberg

William E. Taylor, Jr.

Attorneys for Appellants

Arthur G. Connolly

Attorney for Appellees

Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73) 13a

Opinion of the Court.

(Filed August 31, 1973)

Apams, Circuit Judge:

The Trustees of the Penn Central Transportation

Company (Trustees) appeal to this Court from an

order of the district court vacating a sequestration at-

tempted by the Trustees against the property of de-

fendant-appellees Fidel Gotz, his son Volker Gotz, and

a number of corporations alleged to be controlled by

Gotz. All of the defendants ‘‘are citizens of foreign

states and reside in Continental Europe.’’ In granting

the defendants’ motion to vacate, the district court did

so on the basis that the Trustees had failed to conform

fully to the required procedures.

The underlying dispute, from which this case

arose, involves an alleged conspiracy between Gotz and

several of the defendant corporations. Through the

conspiracy Gotz allegedly caused $4,000,000., belonging

to the Penn Central, deposited in a Lichtenstein bank,

to be converted to the use of Gotz and the corporations

in which he had an interest. The activity involved

occurred before the entry of the Penn Central into re-

1. Sequestration is a procedure for compelling the appearance

of a defendant. In its operation, it is similar to the more common

procedure of foreign attachment. In each, the plaintiff commences

the suit by requesting that a judicial officer seize the property of an

out-of-state defendant. The defendant is given notice of the seizure

and is advised that unless he appears to defend the action, the prop-

erty seized will be awarded to the plaintiff by default.

Delaware has both sequestration and foreign attachment, the

primary difference being that foreign attachment is an action at law

while sequestration is effected in Chancery. See generally, E. Folk,

The Delaware General Corporation Law, Appendix I at 569-71

1972).

Because of the similarity of the two actions, they will be referred

to at times interchangeably in the third section of this opinion.

~~

f

l4a Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73)

_ organization. The Trustees, not surprisingly, sought

* to recover this amount.

I.

To commence the recovery litigation, the Trustees

filed a complaint in the federal district court, with

jurisdiction based on diversity of citizenship. Rule

4(e) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure provides

that:

**Whenever a statute or rule of court of the state in

which the district court is held provides (1) for

service of a summons, or of a notice, or of an order

in lieu of summons upon a party not an inhabitant

of or found within the state, or (2) for service upon

or notice to him to appear and respond or defend

in an action by reason of the attachment or gar-

nishment or similar seizure of his property located

within the state, service may in either case be made

under the circumstances and in the manner pre-

scribed in the statute or rule.”’

Because Rule 4(e) adopts for the district courts

the rules of the state in which the district court in ques-

tion is located, the Trustees sought to effect service on

the defendants through the Delaware sequestration

provisions.*

In broad outline, the Delaware sequestration pro-

cedure is as follows: The sequestration statute, 10 Del.

C. § 366, provides that if in a complaint filed in the

2. Rule 4(e) was incorporated into the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure in 1963. wie Phage nab pam a non yh ely ae

could not be commenced in the federal courts, though actions begun

in that manner in state courts could be removed to federal court. The

1963 amendment enacting rule 4(e) cured this anomalous situation.

4 Wright & Miller, Federal Practice and Procedure § 1119 (1969).

—

Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73) 15a

Court of Chancery, it appears that the defendant is a

non-resident of Delaware, the Court may order such

defendant to appear. Such appearance may be com-

pelled by the seizure of all or any part of the defend-

ant’s property. Such seizure is carried out by an officer

of the court. The defendant whose property is seized

is given notice of the commencement of the proceedings

by mail, if feasible, and also by publication. If he does

appear, the seizure may be dissolved, but the defendant

has then submitted to in personam jurisdiction.

Delaware Chancery Rule 4(db), promulgated pur-

suant to section (b) of the statute limits the use of the

sequestration proceeding. To utilize sequestration, the

plaintiff must supply an affidavit which is to include,

inter alia, a description of the property to be seized,

specifying the amount, the nature of defendant’s title,

and the source of the affiant’s information. If any

information is omitted, the affidavit must contain the

reason therefor.

Sequestration in Delaware may be made of prop-

erty not susceptible of physical seizure. And this pro-

vision has been interpreted to permit seizure of certain

equitable interests, so long as the interests are capable

of being sold.*

Employing this Delaware procedure, the Trustees,

on March 10, 1971, filed in the district court a complaint

requesting sequestration of the property of the non-

resident defendants. That same day, the district court

entered a sequestration order and gave notice to the

defendants that they were to appear to defend by April

3. 8 Del. C. § 169 (Cum. Supp. 1968). See Green v. Johnston,

99 A. 2d 627 (1953). The statute and regulation have been inter-

preted to mean that shares of a Delaware corporation, held by a

non-resident, with the certificates evidencing the interest out-of-state,

are nonetheless seizable. Such seizure is accomplished by notifying

the transfer agent.

~

l6a Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73)

22, 1971. Pursuant to the order, debentures, warrants

and notes held by the defendants in Delaware corpora-

tions were seized.

On March 22, 1971, the Trustees filed an amended

complaint, again seeking sequestration. Pursuant to

the amended complaint, notice was sent to the defend-

ants requiring that they appear on May 4, 1971. The

defendants did not do so by April 22, 1971, the deadline

established by the original complaint. They did, how-

ever, file a motion to quash the sequestration before

May 4, 1971, the deadline created by the second, or

amended, complaint. Between April 22nd and May 4th

the Trustees obtained, from a deputy clerk, a default

against the defendants who had failed to appear by

April 22nd. The defendants moved to vacate that de-

fault, and such motion was granted by order of the

district court dated December 3, 1971. In view of the

confusion created by the two complaints served on de-

fendants, and since the defendants did appear by May

4th, and bearing in mind this Court’s ‘‘reluctance to

permit the final disposition of substantial controversies

by default’’* and the high standard necessary to re-

verse an order in a default situation,’ we affirm the

vacation of the default.

Responding to the order to appear, the defendants

on May 4, 1971, filed a motion to quash the sequestration

or to dismiss the action for lack of jurisdiction. On

December 20, 1971, the district court granted the motion

to quash but denied the motion to dismiss. The Trus-

tees appealed from the granting of the motion to quash.

It is to that issue that we must address our attention.

4. Hutton v. Fisher, 359 F. 2d 913, 916 (3d Cir. 1966).

5. To reverse a district court's action in a matter of this sort,

this Court must find that there was an abuse of discretion. Tozer v.

Charles A. Krause Milling Co. 189 F.2d 242, 246 (3d Cir. 1951).

Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73) 17a

IL.

The able and experienced district judge, granting

the motion to quash the sequestration, focused on a

narrow question of Delaware law,*® and found that the

affidavit filed in support of the sequestration request

was inadequate.

As stated earlier, the procedure to be employed in

effectuating service under the sequestration statute, 10

Del. C. § 366, is set forth in Chancery Rule 4(db). In

pertinent part, that Rule states:

““(db) Service by Publication and Seizure.

(1) No order shall be entered under 10 Del. C.

§ 366 unless it appears in the complaint that the

defendant or any one or more of the defendants is

a non-resident of the State of Delaware and the

application therefor is accompanied by the affi-

davit of a plaintiff or other credible person stating:

**(a) As to each non-resident defendant whose

appearance is sought to be compelled, his last

known address or a statement that such address is

unknown and cannot with due diligence be ascer-

tained.

“*(b) The following information as to the

property of each such defendant sought to be

seized :

**(1) A reasonable description thereof.

(2) The estimated amount and value thereof.

is controlling on questions concerning the state

procedure ed by ix Dede exnte eaamenst to €28. Ge. ©

Rule 4(e). = ia < Piedmont Aviation, Inc., 295 F. Pm

228 (S. D. N. ¥. 1968) aff'd 411 F. 2d 812 (2d Cir.), cert.

396 U. S. 840 (1969).

re ewe Vee. ee

18a Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73)

(3) The nature of the defendant’s title or

interest therein; and if such title or in-

terest be equitable in nature, the name of

the holder of the legal title.

(4) The source of affiant’s information as to

any of the items as to which the affidavit

is made on information and belief.

(5) The reason for the omission of any of

the required statements.

* * * * * * *

(5) The court may in its discretion and sub-

ject to statutory requirements dispense with or

modify compliance with the requirements of any

part of this rule in any cause upon application to it

stating the reasons therefor.”’

The two sections of the Rule most germane to this

appeal are subsection (1)(b)(5) and section (5).

Pursuant to the Rule’s directive, the Trustees sub-

mitted an affidavit. It set forth that defendant Fidel

Gotz, his son, or one or more of his alter ego corpora-

tions held notes or shares in thirteen Delaware cor-

porations. Regarding several but less than a majority

of these corporations, the affidavit stated the estimated

amount and value of the defendants’ holdings. The

exact nature of the defendants’ title was not specified,

and the identity of which specific defendant was the

holder of the interest in any of the corporations was not

stated.

Affiant sought to overcome these deficiencies by

furnishing, as provided for in section (1)(b)(5), a

statement of the reasons for the omissions. Aware of

the shortcomings of his affidavit, the affiant ascribed

a

Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73) 19a

the omissions to the complete control over the informa-

tion retained by Fidel Gotz.’

The property located and seized by the seques-

trator was possessed by Inter-Marketing Corp., Minolta

Corp. and Vileda Corp., three of the defendant cor-

porations.

The district court, noting that the affidavit did not

specify that any of the three named corporate defend-

ants did possess the specific property seized, ruled that

the affidavit was insufficient to support the seques-

tration.

Holding that section (1) (b) (5) permitted only the

omission of statements required by subsections (1) (b)

(1)-(4), the district court concluded that denominating

the specific possessor defendant was a requirement not

of those subsections but a general requirement of sec-

tion (1) (b) and therefore not curable under (1) (b) (5).

That subsection being unavailable to the plaintiffs, the

district court then turned to section (5) of the Rule

which gives the court discretion, upon application by

the plaintiff, to dispense with other requirements.

The district court refused to consider whether it

was proper to dispense with other requirements because

it found that application had not been made for the

dispensation. This finding was made by the district

court despite the fact that a different judge of the dis-

trict court had granted the original sequestration re-

quest. Underlying the action of the second district

judge in quashing the sequestration was a desire to

7. For example, the affidavit stated:

“A ffiant is unable to state the value of any of the property owned

by any of said defendants . . . because that information is

peculiarly within the knowledge of said defendants and the cor-

poration whose shares, notes, debentures, debts and contract ob-

ligations are involved.”

20a Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73)

prevent the use of the sequestration statute for ‘‘fishing

expeditions,’’ attempts by individuals to commence

harassing litigation by making sweeping claims and

alleging that the defendant owns property in one or

more of a large number of companies. Such abuse had

been common prior to the adoption of Rule 4(db),* and

the district court expressed a fear that if this affidavit

were held adequate because of either section (1) (b) (5)

or section (5), there would be a return to dragnet-type

seizures.

This Court holds that, under the circumstances of

this ease, the affidavit submitted was sufficient to sup-

port the sequestration.’ The danger of a “‘fishing ex-

pedition”’ is not present when, as in this case, the affiant

endeavors to attain the maximum possible degree of

specificity, and additional precision is beyond the

affiant’s facilities, because of the complex inter-cor-

porate activities of multiple interrelated defendants.

Along much the same line, the affiant has asserted that

the corporations holding the legal title of the shares are

but alter egos of the principal defendant. Thus, for the

purpose of protecting against dragnet seizures, there

may be considered to be one defendant with many

facets. On these bases, the fears of the district court

would not appear to be well-founded in this case.

Further, a reversal of the order quashing the

sequestration appears supported in part by our reading

of Delaware case law, specifically Rebstock v. Lutz, 158

A. 2d 487 (1960). In that case, the plaintiffs, minority

8. See Cantor v. Sachs, 162 A. 73 (Del. Ch. 1932).

9. There were actually two affidavits submitted, one in connec-

tion with the complaint filed March 10 and one with the amended

or second complaint filed March 22. Since the district court did not

deal explicitly with one or the other, we have treated the affidavits

as one, as did the district court.

oh

a

Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73) 2la

shareholders, commenced a suit against directors of a

corporation by seeking to sequester shares held by the

directors in three Delaware corporations. The com-

plaint named nineteen individual defendants, but the

accompanying affidavit specified neither who among

defendants held shares in the three corporations nor

the amount of the holdings of any of the defendants.

The affidavit alleged, pursuant to subsection (1) (b)

(5):

‘*Deponent cannot state or estimate the number of

shares owned by each of the individual defendants

and the defendants named as co-partners in Model,

Roland & Stone because the information is avail-

able only to the respective defendants or to the cor-

poration whose shares are involved.’’ *°

The subsequent seizure revealed that five of the individ-

ual directors held shares in the three designated cor-

porations.

Under these facts, the defendants moved to vacate

the seizures. Their motion was denied by the Chancel-

lor,” and the denial was affirmed by the Supreme Court

of Delaware. The Supreme Court held that (1) (b) (5)

was designed to allow omissions if explained, and in

Rebstock, as in this case, one of the omissions was the

failure to specify which among numerous defendants

possessed shares of any of three corporations. The

Delaware court further held that section (5) was not

the sole remedy for this type of omission.

It is with some hesitancy that this Court reverse a

ruling on Delaware law made by an experienced Dela-

ware district court judge. Nonetheless, given the re-

10. Rebstock v. Lutz, 158 A. 2d 487, 490 (1960).

11. Lutz v. Boas, 156 A. 2d 96 (1959).

4

ie

ee eA

moh cic alas A ales

ee

ee ee ee ee eT!

a

22a Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73)

semblance between Rebstock and the present case, this

Court holds that the affidavit filed here is sufficient

under Delaware law.”

The defendants have asserted several other

grounds on which the vacation of the sequestration

order can be sustained.** One of these grounds, that

the Delaware sequestration statute is unconstitutional,

raises difficult questions dealt with in section III. One

other ground appears not insubstantial, and we shall

now consider it briefly.

The return of the sequestrator showed that the

following securities had been seized:

(a) 30,000 SSI Computer Corp. common stock

purchase warrants.

(b) $1,000,000 principal amount 7% subordinated

note, SSI Computer Corp. (now Itel Com-

puter Leasing Corporation).

12. The dissent asserts that this holding constitutes a “specious

refutation” of the district court and that reliance on Rebstock is not

warranted.

The procedure apparently employed in Rebstock consisted of

the filing of affidavits asserting that each of nineteen defendants owned

an unknown number of shares in one or more of several corporations.

The return of the sequestrator revealed that five of the nineteen de-

fendants held shares in the named corporations. Thus, as to many

if not all of the remaining fourteen defendants, any affidavit asserting

that the defendant owned an unknown number of shares would appear

to be a misstatement. In the present case, there was no allegation

that a particular defendant, among the inter-related corporate de-

fendants, was the owner of a particular number of shares.

Between the procedure here, and that employed in Rebstock, it

is difficult to determine which produced more of the “beating of the

bushes,” so criticized by the dissent. Here, at least, the affidavits

submitted would appear to be free of misstatement.

13. On appeal, the appellate court must affirm the decision of

the lower court, if correct, although the lower court relied on a dif-

ferent and incorrect ground. Helvering v. Gowran, 302 U. S. 238,

245 (1937).

-

Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73) 23a

(c) 50 shares of SSI Computer Corp. common

stock (now Itel Computer Leasing Corp.).

(d) 25,360,500 (Swiss franes) principal amount

8% notes of Textron Atlantic, Inc.

(e) $500,000 principal amount of SSI Computer

Corp. debentures (now Itel Computer Leasing

Corporation).

(f) 10,000 Itel warrants.“

Various types of securities are present in this list-

ing. The sequestration statute does not, by its terms,

define what is property seizable under the statute.

Shares of common stock of Delaware corporations are

seizable property ; * securities representing a debt owed

to a non-resident by a Delaware corporation vary as to

whether they are seizable.

‘*A debt owed to a nonresident of Delaware is

sometimes subject to sequestration in order to

compel his appearance in the Delaware courts. The

key consideration is whether the debt is repre-

sented by a negotiable instrument. If it is nego-

tiable, then it does not have a Delaware situs and

may not be seized. In other words, unlike stock

of a Delaware corporation, the situs of a negotiable

bond issued by a Delaware entity is not Delaware

but follows the certificate. On the other hand, if

the indebtedness is represented by a non-negotiable

instrument, then it is like any other debt and re-

tains a Delaware situs and may thus be seized

under sequestration process.”

14. Baker v. Gotz, 335 F. Supp. 197, 199 (D. Del. 1971).

15. 8 Del. C. § 169.

16. E. Folk, supra note 1 at 592. (Footnote omitted)

Pee aR oes

24a Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73)

The Trustees argue that this distinction between

negotiable and non-negotiable securities has not sur-

vived Delaware’s modification of the Uniform Com-

mercial Code.” They contend that this alteration in-

dicates that all securities are seizable. The defendants,

however, assert that the alteration merely preserves the

existing Delaware judicial rules determining seizabil-

ity. Professor Folk agrees with the interpretation

suggested by the defendants.”

The district court did not determine which, if any,

of the securities seized are negotiable. Such resolution,

since it may involve a question of fact, is, in the first

instance, properly made by the district court.” If the

17. Section 8-317(1) of the Uniform Commercial Code as gen-

erally adopted provides:

“(1) No attachment or levy upon a security or any share

or other interest evidenced thereby which is outstanding shall be

valid until the security is actually seized by the officer making

the attachment or levy but a security which has been surrendered

to the issuer may be attached or levied upon at the source.”

Delaware, however, has enacted a different provision. 5A Del.

C. §8-317(1) states:

“(1) Nothing contained in this title shall repeal, amend

or in any way effect (sic) the provisions of sections 169 and 324,

title 8, or sections 365 and 366, and chapter 35, title 10; and to

the extent that any provision of this title is inconsistent with such

sections, sections 169 and 324, title 8, and 365 and 366 and

chapter 35, title 10, shall be controlling.”

The Trustees argue that this section indicates that sequestration

may be had of any type of property, regardless of whether that prop-

erty is embodied in a negotiable instrument. The defendants, on the

other hand, contend that this section merely carries forward estab-

lished Delaware law on what items are seizable.

18. E. Folk, supra note 1 at 592, n.160. The distinction based

on the negotiability rule was enunciated in Landau v. Best, 187 A. 2d

75 (1962). There does not appear to be a post-UCC case dealing

with this question.

19. The dissent suggests that there should not be a remand on

this issue, because only “phantom facts” remain to be found by the

district court. However, this Court, as an appellate tribunal, does

Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73) 25a

district court determines that these securities are not

negotiable, that will conclude this aspect of the inquiry,

since non-negotiable securities would be sequesterable

under the statutory construction advanced by either

party. Only if the securities are found to be negotiable

will statutory interpretation be required. Thus, it

would not appear that the question is ripe for adjudica-

tion, and, therefore, it will be deferred pending the dis-

trict court’s factual determination, and if necessary, its

construction of the Delaware statute.”

The defendants, however, concede that the 50

shares of SSI Computer Corp. (now Itel Computer

Leasing Corp.) (item (c)), are seizable under the Dela-

ware sequestration statute.” This seizure appears un-

assailable insofar as Delaware law is concerned. Thus,

there remains property which has been properly seized

according to the Delaware sequestration statute. For

that reason, this Court must perforce proceed to meet

the challenges raised to the constitutionality of the

statute itself.”

19. (Cont’d.)

not have before it the instruments embodying the interests seized, nor

an exact description of those interests. While the determination of

the negotiability of these instruments requires an application of law,

the law must be applied to facts, And these facts have not yet been

developed. Indeed, were we to make a decision now, we might be

more validly charged with deciding on the basis of phantom facts.

20. On remand, the district court should consider Gotz’s argu-

ment that the $500,000 principal amount, SSI Computer Corp. deben-

tures (item (e)) are not seizable because they were sold prior to the

sequestration. This question need not be reached if the debentures

are found to be negotiable and held to be not seizable under Delaware

law.

21. Brief of Appellee at 29.

22. The defendants also urge that the Trustees’ action is basically

at law, not in equity, and consequently could not be brought in the

Delaware Court of Chancery. They further contend that because

sequestration is available only in Chancery, that procedure should not

dict

a ey a ee Ee

TREN TOE Oe

26a Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73)

Il.

Having found that the sequestration order was

proper under Delaware law, the Court must now pro-

ceed to the contention of the defendants that the seizing

of their property by sequestration, prior to a hearing,

violated due process.”

In considering the constitutionality of the state

procedure, it is important to bear in mind that this

Court’s task is not to assess the wisdom of a procedure

characterized by some as a ‘“‘bludgeon.’’ Rather, our

assignment is limited to measuring the state statute and

rules against the decisions of the Supreme Court de-

lineating the elements of due process.

The recent cases of Sniadach v. Family Finance

Corp.* and Fuentes v. Shevin® provide the benchmark

against which prehearing seizures must be gauged.”

22. (Cont’d.)

be available to a plaintiff in a federal court whose action sounds at law.

This contention of the defendants must be weighed against the Trus-

tees’ assertions that their action is in equity since it seeks an account-

ing and imposition of a constructive trust and involves complex ac-

counting and allegations of fraud. The Trustees also suggest that

there is no longer a sharp cleavage in the federal courts between law

and equity and that Rule 4(e) permits utilization of state procedures

in any federal action, since all are denominated civil actions. Rule 2

F. R. Civ. P. This dispute has not been resolved by the district court

and, in view of this Court’s disposition of the case, our resolution

of the question at this time would appear to be premature.

23. Because of the incorporation of the state procedure provision

on F. R. Civ. P. 4(e), Gotz’s claim must be primarily that his Fifth

Amendment right to due process is being abridged, and secondarily

that the underlying state statute deprives him of rights secured under

the Fourteenth Amendment.

24. 395 U. S. 337 (1969).

25. 407 U. S. 67 (1972).

26. See E. Folk & P. Moyer, Sequestration in Delaware: A

Constitutional Analysis, 73 Colum. L. Rev. 749 (1973) (hereinafter

Folk & Moyer).

Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73) 27a

Although both Sniadach and Fuentes dealt with sei-

zures from persons at the lower end of the economic

spectrum,” Fuentes makes clear that the principle

enunciated is wide-ranging in its application.* The

basic holding of these two eases is that unless, as the

Supreme Court stated, ‘‘extraordinary situations’’ ob-

tain, absent notice and a prior hearing, pre-judgment

seizures of property violate fundamental tenets of due

process.” Since the Delaware procedure utilized here

is essentially a pre-judgment seizure, the question he-

comes whether, nonetheless, it is permissible because of

the presence in this case of an extraordinary situation.

Both Sniadach and Fuentes set forth examples of

the type of situations the Supreme Court considers

extraordinary.” In both cases, Ownbey v. Morgan ®™

was referred to as an exemplar of such a circumstance.”

Ownbey involved the Delaware foreign attachment stat-

ute, a statute closely related to the sequestration statute

challenged here. The Supreme Court’s citation to

27. In Sniadach the seizure challenged was the garnishment of

wages for non-payment of debt. In Fuentes the ancient practice of

replevin was attacked. Both of these procedures are commonly ap-

plied against the poor who are unable to meet installments due on

credit purchases.

28. Prior to Fuentes two lines of cases had developed, one line

holding that Sniadach was a bar to virtually all prehearing seizures,

the other line limiting Sniadach to situations akin to wage garnish-

ments. Compare e.g. Black Watch Farms vy. Dick, 323 F. Supp.

100 (D. Conn. 1971) with e.g. Swarb v. Lennox, 314 F. Supp. 1091

(E. D. Pa. 1970), aff'd 405 U. S. 191 (1972).

29. 395 U. S. at 339, 342; 407 U. S. at 90.

30. The Court in Fuentes indicates that extraordinary situations

permitting prehearing seizures, include collection of the internal reve-

nue, assistance to the war effort, and protection against an imminent

bank failure, contaminated food and misbranded drugs. 407 U. S

at 91-2.

31. 256 U. S. 94 (1921).

32. 395 U. S. at 339; 407 U. S. at 91, n. 23.

Wee ee ne eee Ss ae

a ee dus

28a Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73)

Ownbey led this Court, in Lebowitz v. Forbes Leasing

and Finance Corp.,* to uphold the constitutionality of

Pennsylvania’s foreign attachment procedure,” in the

face of a strong challenge.™

Although it might be contended that the Court,

now, could hold that Lebowitz is binding in this case,”

and on that basis sustain the Delaware statute, an ex-

plication of the considerations that must be balanced

in this due process challenge lead to the same conclu-

sion, sustaining the Delaware procedure as applied in

this case.

The question that must be posed is, assuming an

encroachment upon one’ right, what is the legitimate

state interest justifying such a burden. In a typical

ease of foreign attachment or sequestration, the state’s

interest may not be of such magnitude to override the

right to a pre-seizure hearing.” That question need

33. 456 F. 2d 979 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 409 U. S. 843 (1972).

34. P. R. Civ. P. 1251-79, 1285-92.

35. The difficulty this Court had in reconciling the Ownbey

citation with the philosophy of Sniadach can be seen in both the

majority opinion, by Chief J Seitz, and the concurring opinion,

po Gibbons. 456 F. 2d at 982-3. However, the continuing vitality

of Ownbey is attested to by its presence in both Fuentes and Sniadach.

Unless and until the Supreme Court reverses Ownbey this Court

is duty bound to accord the case its full respect.

36. This Court’s prior reliance on Ownbey has been criticized in

two thoughtful recent notes. See Comment, Foreign Attachment

After Sniadach and Fuentes, 73 Colum. L. Rev. 342 (1973) ; Com-

ment, Quasi in Rem Jurisdiction and Due Process Requirements, 82

Yale L. J. 1023 (1973).

37. The Supreme Court’s language indicates that extraordinary

circumstances must be present to permit a prehearing seizure. In

determining whether there is an extraordinary circumstance, the

icons is Ghee’ t Oe eeet f te aoe Ss ema ¢

summary proceeding. Therefore, whether ysis is denominat

a search for extraordinary circumstances or a balancing under due

process, the final inquiry remains the extent and importance of the

state’s interest.

‘—_

Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73) 29a

not be decided at this point, for this is not the typical

foreign attachment or sequestration case.

It is crucial to recall that the defendants cannot be

located within the United States and are not liable to

im personam service under the applicable Delaware

statutes.“ Thus, the constitutional challenge becomes

more circumscribed, for if the procedure is constitu-

tional as applied to the defendants, further examination

of it would be impermissible.

**[OJne to whom application of a statute is con-

stitutional will not be heard to attack the statute

on the ground that impliedly it might also be taken

as applying to other persons or other situations in

which its application might be unconstitutional.”

Several interests of the state are frequently as-

serted as the bases for justifying foreign attachments,

or, as in this case, sequestration. These interests in-

elude: protecting state residents by affording them a

forum ; “ insuring that a fund be available from which

a judgment may be satisfied ; “ reducing or eliminating

extended litigation arising from attempted long-arm

service ;“* and the more metaphysical interest of the

38. Delaware has a rather limited “long-arm” statute for secur-

ing jurisdiction. 10 Del. C. § 3104, 8 Del. C. § 343.

39. United States v. Raines, 362 U. S. 17, 21 (1960). Raines

involved a Federal statute, but the rule clearly applies to state statutes,

see e.g. Yazoo v. Mississippi Valley R. Co. v. Jackson Vinegar Co.,

226 U. S. 217 (1912). The presence of both Federal and state rules

or statutes in this case, see note 20, supra, does not affect the per-

tinence of this mandate.

40. See Lebowitz v. Forbes Leasing and Finance Corp., 326

F. Supp. 1335, 1348-9 (E. D. Pa. 1971) aff'd 456 F. 2d (3d

Cir.), cert. denied, 409 U. S. 843 (1972).

41. See id. at 1349. See also, Comment, 73 Colum. L. Rev. at

7-8.

42. See Lebowitz v. Forbes ing and Finance Corp., 456

F. 2d 979, 982 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, U. S. 843 (1972).

a ee ee

ae a. ee

Arte amoethé;

30a Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73)

state in exercising its power as sovereign over property

within its jurisdiction.”

Were the defendants here amenable to service pur-

suant to a Delaware statute or, even if the defendants

were not liable to suit in Delaware but were liable in

another state of the Union, we would be presented with

not inconsideraable difficulty in holding that these as-

serted state interests outweigh the right of the property

owners to notice and a hearing prior to being deprived,

even temporarily, of their property.“

Gotz, his son, and the alter ego corporate defend-

ants named in the complaint are all ‘‘citizens of foreign

states and reside in continental Europe.’’* As such,

they are not liable to effective service by or in the

United States, either under a Delaware statute or by

proceedings brought in a sister state.

The plaintiffs are trustees of a corporation that is

incorporated in Delaware, has extensive power in

Delaware, and conducts a significant amount of busi-

43. U. S. Industries v. Gregg, 348 F. Supp. 1004, 1019-21 (D.

Del. 1972).

44. In the usual situation, many of the state’s objectives can be

achieved without causing the deprivation of rights associated with

prehearing seizures. If the potential defendant is amenable to service

im personam, that proceeding might be sufficient to provide resident

plaintiffs with a local forum. Similarly, if the case were between two

ae es re ae Oe ee ay pee

seizing a fund prior to judgment. endants were out-of-state,

proceedings under the Gatton Enforcement of Judgments Act, ¢.g.

12 P. S. $§ 921-928 (Pennsylvania), or pursuant to the full faith and

credit clause, U. S. Const. Art. IV $1, would provide the plaintiff

with the means to satisfy any judgment obtained.

From these illustrations, it becomes clear that the presence of less

restrictive, alternative means to legitimate state ends might present

ne eee aes Oe ee Se a oe Oe

dures in the normal situation. Compare Folk & Moyer, 73 Colum.

L. Rev. at 759-68.

45. Baker v. Gotz, 336 F. Supp. at 200.

Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73) 3la

ness in Delaware.“ In view of the fact that the plain-

tiffs here do have substantial contacts “* with Delaware,

and that the valid state interests in protecting residents

and affording a forum to litigate grievances cannot be

satisfied in the case of defendants who cannot be served

in the United States in any less restrictive manner, the

procedure used here is necessary to secure jurisdiction

and under the circumstances appropriate as a response

to an extraordinary situation within the exception de-

seribed in Sniadach and Fuentes.“* Therefore, we hold

that, as applied in this case, the absence of a pre-seizure

hearing in the Delaware sequestration procedure does

not violate due process.”

The foregoing conclusion is, of course, bottomed

on the premise that Delaware may, consistent with due

process, provide a forum for the adjudication of the

Trustees’ claim.” The defendants contest this premise,

46. The main line of the debtor-corporation’s Eastern corridor

passenger and freight service runs through Delaware.

47. Whether the state has a legitimate interest in providing out-

of-state plaintiffs a forum to sue out-of-state defendants is a question

which we do not reach. Here, the plaintiffs have sufficient ties in

Delaware to be considered not out-of-state. See generally Interna-

tional Shoe Co. v. Washington, 326 U. S. 310 (1945).

48. The use of Ownbey in the Fuentes case as an example of

an extraordinary situation has drawn some skeptical comment. See

Comment, 73 Colum. L. Rev. at 344-7. Comment, 82 Yale L. J. at

1025-6. However, as applied to the facts of a case similar to this, the

import of the citation is clear. Here, the prehearing seizure is jus-

tifiable because it provides the only means for the state to gain juris-

diction over a suit appropriately brought in its court.

49. Accord, Gordon v. Michel, 297 A. 2d 420 (Del. Ch. 1972).

50. In this point, the discussion has addressed the question

whether due process requires a pre-seizure hearing. Analysis has

been focused on the presence or absence of “extraordinary situa-

tions.” The conclusion has been reached that the non-availability

of the defendants in the United States presents an extraordinary

situation.

This same non-availability of the defendants raises questions con-

cerning the propriety of adjudicating this claim in Delaware. The

a

32a Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73)

; asserting that any attempted exertion of jurisdiction

over them by Delaware would be, in reality, nothing

short of an exercise of in personam jurisdiction. Since

the exercise of in personam jurisdiction raises the

specter of a judgment not limited by the value of their

property, defendants contend that the procedure is

unconstitutional.

The highest court of Delaware has, in fact, in-

dicated that the sequestration procedure, once properly

instituted, leaves a defendant only the choice between

defaulting, and thus forfeiting the property seized, or

entering a general appearance to defend on the merits.”

A general appearance subjects a defendant to the in

personam jurisdiction of the court; thus, defendants

argue, the Delaware procedure seeks, by its in terrorem

effect, to secure personal jurisdiction where none could

be obtained otherwise. Defendants consequently main-

tain that when tested by the standards of due process

enunciated in International Shoe Co. v. Washington,”

the Delaware procedure must be struck down, at least

insofar as it permits the rendition of judgments exceed-

ing the amount of any property lawfully seized.™

i

pit Bisel

50. (Cont’d)

discussion now turns to that distinct question. The dissent, however,

would appear to blur the distinction between the questions by suggest-

ing that language employed to answer the first question is actually

involved in the answer to the second.

51. See Sands v. Lefcourt Realty Corp., 117 A. 2d 365 (Del.

1955) : cf. Schwartz v. Miner, 36 Del. Ch. 481, 133 A. 2d 599 (1957).

i 52. 326 U. S. 310 (1945).

3 53. The federal district court in Delaware has recently addressed

; itself to this contention. Basing its conclusion on the fundamental

; proposition that the “foundation of jurisdiction is physical power,”

Judge Stapleton held that the presence of the property in the state

gave the state power over the property and this provided sufficient

contact. U. S. Industries v. Gregg, 348 F. Supp. 1004, 1019-21

(D. Del. 1972).

Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73) 33a

On the record before us, it would appear that the

only contact between the defendants and Delaware is

the property seized by the sequestrator. Since that is

their sole contact, it may be argued that the defendants’

exposure to liability should be limited to the degree of

their property in Delaware, i.e., limited to the degree of

their contact with Delaware. As discussed earlier,”

however, questions remain as to which of the de-

fendants’ properties seized are indeed properly se-

questerable. Thus, the specific monetary value of the

defendants’ contact with Delaware awaits further

adjudication. The Trustees seek to recover $4,000,000

from the defendants. Yet, there has not been any de-

termination of the probability of success of the Trus-

tees’ claim.” Since resolution of these underlying

issues—which the dissent characterizes as phantom

facts—is necessary before we can say with certainty

that the Trustees’ judgment will exceed the amount of

the property seized, the constitutional issue such an

‘“texcess’’ judgment would present is not yet ripe for

determination. Accordingly, we decline to answer it

at this time.

We are not unmindful of the awkward position in

which the defendants are left by our reluctance to de-

cide whether, consistently with the Constitution, they

may be subjected to a liability exceeding the value of

the property sequestered. Given that the Delaware

procedure does not provide for limited appearances,

the defendants are now met with a choice between

defaulting on the one hand and, on the other, entering

a general appearance to defend the action. Since we

54. See text accompanying notes 10-16, supra.

55. At the time of a sequestration request, seizures will be

ordered if the “complaint, regardless of its merits, is on its face a

bona fide allegation.” Folk & Moyer, 73 Colum. L. Rev. at 755.

sven

34a Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73)

have left the question unanswered, defendants, if they

choose to defend generally, and if they are found liable

in an amount surpassing the value of their property

legitimately seized, will be forced to litigate the con-

stitutionality of the excess award in another appeal.™

If the constitutional question is decided adversely to

i them on that appeal, their opportunity to limit their

liability by defaulting will, quite obviously, have

passed. Conversely, a decision to default now, with the

attendant forfeiture of their property, would work to

deprive them of the benefit of any subsequent judicial

; determination that an award in such an action may not

; exceed the value of seized property. Thus, by staying

our hand on this point, it may well be that we have

deprived the defendants of the opportunity to make a

fully informed choice between default and general

appearance.

Moreover, it appears that the constitutional ques-

tion presented by the possibility of a judgment exceed-

ing in amount the value of defendants’ property is

neither an insubstantial nor a frivolous one. If we

; assume that defendants will, as a practical matter,

decide to defend this action generally, it may be no dis-

tortion of language to maintain that they will have been

*‘eoerced” into subjecting themselves to the in per-

: sonam jurisdiction of the court.” The only justifiable

basis of in personam jurisdiction is, of course, ‘*power”’

over the defendants’ person. Since the decision in

6 De Pua eP PEO eye Nae See ee

56. See discussion at p. 31, infra.

57. Indeed, at least one court has pointed out that the “avowed

purpose of Delaware’s sequestration statute is to compel a general ap-

pearance and thereby produce a basis for im personam jurisdiction.”

U. S. Industries Inc. v. Gregg, 348 F. Supp. 1004 (D. Del. 1972).

See also Folk & Moyer, supra, at 789.

58. See Pennoyer v. Neff, 95 U. S. 714 (1877).

Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73) 35a

International Shoe Co. v. Washington, 326 U. S. 310

(1945), the exercise by courts of in personam jurisdic-

tion over persons without the territorial bounds of the

forum has been tested against the so-called ‘‘minimum

contacts’’ standards. Where a person elects to do

business in a state, be it merely through the appoint-

ment there of agents or salesmen, it is not conceptually

difficult to conclude that that person, having voluntarily

accepted the benefits conferred by the state upon those

doing business, may be forced to accept the burdens

implicit in subjection to personal jurisdiction. ‘‘ Mini-

mum contacts”’’ voluntarily established, therefore, offer

an acceptable predicate for in personam jurisdiction:

a personal judgment rendered under such conditions

‘“‘does not offend ‘traditional notions of fair play and

justice.’ ’’® In this connection, the Supreme Court in

Hanson v. Denckla stated:

‘**TI]t is essential in each case that there be some

act by which the defendant purposefully avail it-

self of the privilege of conducting activities within

59. 326 U. S. at 316.

60. Id. Both the Court of Appeals of New York and the U. S.

Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit have upheld the constitu-

tionality of New York’s practice of allowing a plaintiff in an accident

case to attach a contingent debt owed to the defendant by a New

York insurer, although the defendant would not otherwise be subject

to suit in New York. See Simpson v. Loehman, 21 N. Y. 2d 305,

287 N. Y. S. 2d 633, 234 N. E. 2d 669 (1967), reargument denied,

21 N. Y. 2d 990, 290 N. Y. S. 2d 914, 238 N. E. 2d 319 (1968) ;

Minichiello v. Rosenberg, 410 F. 2d 106 (2d Cir. 1968) (en banc),

cert. denicd, 396 U. S. 844 (1969). Significantly, the Court of Ap-

peals of New York has held that recovery in an action brought pur-

suant to this procedure must be limited to the amount of the debt

seized, i.e., to the amount of the insurer’s liability. See Simpson,

supra.

4 This Court, in an admiralty context, has expressly declined to

adopt the New York practice. See Robinson v. Shearer & Sons, Inc.,

429 F. 2d 83 (3d Cir. 1970).

’ ET rR Tee

ERAN ERA OE A TARE REO Oil arid

weareiaibiibdec dant

5 Xiph PASI she Nestea! Cac Ai et Nene bs AMO Ft cig SEE tai. EERE IAC

Ce TE Tae ee

——e

36a Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73)

the forum state, thus invoking the benefits and

protections of its laws.’’®

In a case such as this, it might persuasively be

argued that since the ‘‘voluntariness’’ of defendants’

contacts with the forum state is, at best, attentuated,

a personal judgment exceeding the value of their prop-

erty—seizure of which is the only real jurisdictional

base—would offend against due process. However,

there appears to be substantial authority to the effect

that a ‘‘coerced’’ general appearance will not be deemed

involuntary at all, since by opting to appear generally

the defendant has in fact ‘‘consented’’ to the court’s

jurisdiction. In Ownbey v. Morgan, supra, the Court

spoke with apparent approbation of this ‘‘conversion

of a proceeding quasi in rem into an action in personam.

. .’?* Tf consent to personal jurisdiction is the

necessary implication of the entry of a general appear-

ance, then application here of the ‘‘minimum contacts”’

tests seems misguided, and the in terrorem effect of the

sequestration procedure might well pass constitutional

muster. Ultimate resolution of this issue would de-

pend, then, on which course of analysis a court were to

pursue—the ‘‘voluntary contact”’ test of International

Shoe and Hanson or the ‘‘implied consent’ view of

Ownbey.®

Having illustrated that seemingly divergent lines

of Supreme Court and lower court decisions leave the

61. 357 U. S. 235, 253 (1958). (Emphasis added)

62. 256 U. S. at 111. Cf. Pennoyer v. Neff, supra, 95 U. S. at

730-31, where the court contrasted in personam judgments against

absent defendants with those in which the party “voluntary ap-

peared.” See Anderson v. Benson, 117 F. Supp. 765, 769-70 (D.

Neb. 1953), and compare Salmon Falls Mfg. Co. v. Midland Tire

& Rubber Co., 285 F. 214, 218-19 (6th Cir. 1922).

63. See generally Folk & Moyer, supra, at 789-95.

a

defendants virtually in the dark as to the constitu-

tionally permissible extent of their liability, we re-

iterate, with some disquietude, that we cannot at this

time lay their uncertainty to rest. This Court has long

honored the proposition that we are bereft of power to

render ‘“‘an opinion advising what the law would be

upon a hypothetical state of facts.””“ The interdiction

against advisory opinions emanates from the very

fountainhead of our jurisdiction, Article III of the

Constitution. Like other doctrines falling under the

general head uv: “‘justiciability,’’ it serves to assure that

federal courts stay their mandate until confronted with

‘a question . . . precisely framed and necessary for

decision... .”’™

The constitutional question here under discussion,

albeit one of vital interest to the defendants, is not, at

this juncture, ‘‘precisely framed and necessary for

decision.’”’ The amount of the defendants’ property

legally seizable remains undetermined; the precise

value of any property legitimately seized is, perforce,

unknown; the extent of their potential liability is yet

to be resolved. There thus survives the real possi-

bility that our resolution of the constitutional issue

would indeed prove ‘‘advisory,’’ if defendants’ liability

64. Aetna Life Ins. Co. v. Haworth, 300 U. S. 299, 241 (1937) ;

accord North Carolina v. Rice, 404 U. S. 244, 246 (1971). See

Conover v. Montemuro, No. 71-1871 (3d Cir. Filed Dec. 20, 1972)

slip op. at 18 (Adams, J., concurring) aff'd en banc (3d Cir. Filed

May 8, 1973) ; Super Tire Engineering Co. v. McCorkle, 469 F. 2d

914 (3d Cir. 1972).

65. United States v. Fruehauf, 365 U. S. 146, 157 (1961). See

South Carolina v. Katzenbach, 383 U. S. 301, 335 (1966) ; Muskrat

vy. United States, 219 U. S. 346 (1911); C. Wright, Federal Courts

334 (1963).

66. Even if the amount of lawfully seizable property and the

value thereof were known, the question whether the district court’s

judgment will exceed that value would, obviously, remain unanswered.

Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73) 37a

_ Meee ne he

- 4 be r vere PE as eee a eS fe iid

Bano: wee Saket ‘piioics Neck cin a i it AN al ia cel AT OSA OANA CATES

38a Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73)

happens to be less than the value of the seized property.

As much as our appreciation of the hardship visited

upon the defendants may move us to reach the constitu-

tional question, the counsel of recognized limitations

upon our jurisdiction is more compelling. Accord-

ingly, we hold that resolution of the question would be

premature.

One further consideration convinces us of the

wisdom of declining to settle this due process issue

now. As indicated above,” the Supreme Court of Dela-

ware has held that the Delaware sequestration pro-

cedure does not permit a limited appearance to defend

on the merits.“ However, the Delaware court has ap-

parently never given its full attention to the constitu-

tional argument that may be mounted against the

sequestration statute, insofar as that statute is con-

strued to permit a judgment exceeding the value of

property seized.” It is not inconceivable that prior to

determination by the court below of the extent of de-

fendants’ liability, the Supreme Court of Delaware,

moved by its perception of this specific constitutional

issue, will re-interpret the sequestration statute to

prohibit judgments in excess of property seized. Such

an interpretation, authoritative and binding upon the

federal judiciary, would, of course, obviate any need

for this Court to gauge the Delaware statute against

constitutional standards.

We think, too, that where the courts of a state have,

over the years, repeatedly upheld a statute such as the

67. See text accompanying note 48, supra.

68. See Sands v. Lefcourt Realty Corp., supra, 117 A. 2d at 368.

69. See generally Folk & Moyer, supra, at 789-95. Compare

the analysis in U. S. Industries v. Gregg, supra, 348 F. Supp. at

1019-21, where Judge Stapleton apparently found no constitutional

violation worked by the statute’s avowed purpose of “coercing” gen-

eral appearances.

Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73) 39a

Delaware sequestration law, notions of comity militate

in favor of allowing those courts the first opportunity

to test the statute against new inroads of constitutional

attack. The courts of Delaware have only recently

reaffirmed their readiness, in a proper case, to subject

the sequestration law to thoroughgoing constitutional

analysis.”

This is not to say that we would defer decision of

the constitutional question were it properly before us,

merely to allow the Delaware court the first opportunity

to pass on the constitutional validity of the statute.”

But where, as here, the constitutional issue is not yet

ripe for decision in a federal court, a salutary effect

upon state-federal relations may be had by holding in

abeyance our power to strike down the state statute

under attack.”

Having set forth our reasons for refusing to settle

the constitutional issue at this time, we are not disposed

to conclude that we are powerless to meliorate defend-

ants’ plight. While Rule 4(e) of the Federal Rules

of Civil Procedure permits commencement of this ac-

tion by the ‘‘borrowing’’ of Delaware’s quasi in rem

procedure, nothing in the Rule appears to require that

we ‘‘borrow,’’ as well, all the accoutrements of Dela-

ware’s practice. Thus in the interest of fairness, the

defendants, even if they elect to enter a general appear-

ance and defend on the nierits, shall not be deemed to

have waived their constitutional claim. Accordingly,

70. See Gordon v. Michel, 297 A. 2d 420 (Del. Ch. 1972).

71. Compare Railroad Comm. of Texas v. Pullman, 312 U. S.

496 (1941).

72. Were the highest court of Delaware to be of the opinion that

“excess” judgments are, indeed, invalid, it would appear to have

statutory authority to “sever” from the sequestration statute those

words thought to permit the rendition of the excess award. See 1

Del. C. § 308; Conrad v. State, 41 Del. 107, 16 A. 2d 121 (1940).

Tete Fs ae

Seeteabiat EPR ALE Killa hh RS LAIBLE ALLA Teles CL BO

essinbed eT a SVR beer

:

4

!

;

a

4

A

40a Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73)

if a judgment by the district court exceeds the value of

defendants’ lawfully seized property, such would be

open to constitutional attack either in the district court

or on appeal.

We hold, therefore, that the presence of property

in Delaware and the involvement of the Penn Central

with Delaware provide sufficient basis for the assump-

tion of jurisdiction by Delaware. Thus, we reject,

within the context of this appeal, the claims of the de-

fendants that employment of the sequestration statute

deprives them of due process.

The defendants further contend that the seizures

made by the sequestrator ® violate the Fourth Amend-

ment since they were not made pursuant to a warrant

based on probable cause. An examination of early

cases indicates quite clearly that the protection of the

Fourth Amendment was not considered to extend to

seizures of a civil nature. In Boyd v. United States,"

the Supreme Court stated in dicta:

‘‘The entry upon the premises, made by a sheriff

or other officer of the law, for the purpose of seiz-

ing goods and chattels by virtue of a judicial writ,

such as an attachment, a sequestration, or an exe-

cution, is not within the prohibition of the Fourth

or Fifth Amendment.’ ”

While it is clear that the concept of what consti-

tutes a search or seizure impermissible under the

Fourth Amendment has evolved significantly since the

late nineteenth century, the path of that evolution has

73. The sequestrator is an officer of the court empowered to serve

writs, similar to a sheriff or constable. E. Folk, supra note 1 at 581.

74. 116 U. S. 616 (1886).

75. Id. at 624.

Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73) 4la

been neither so straight nor so inexorable“ that it

encompasses sequestration proceedings, at least at this

time.”

Moreover, in Lebowitz, the same Fourth Amend-

ment claim was raised, and this Court dismissed the

contention summarily.”

Bound by the holding of this Court in Lebowitz

and guided by the unrepudiated pronouncement of

the Supreme Court in Boyd, we reject the defendants’

Fourth Amendment claim.

IV.

The constitutional challenge mounted by the de-

fendants on this appeal has impelled this Court to

examine carefully a statute of the State of Delaware.

Our examination has, however, been confined to the

statute’s impact on the litigants present here, in the

factual setting of this case. Save for litigation involv-

ing the right of free speech,” inquiry into a statute

beyond that required for deciding the immediate dis-

pute is not only doctrinally impermissible but indica-

tive of a misapprehension of the role of a court in our

society. Invalidating legislation is serious business,

and should not be indulged in lightly, if there is any

basis for substantiating it-

Recognition that the task of the judiciary is de-

ciding cases, and that cases are comprised of discrete,

76. Compare Camara v. Municipal Court, 387 U. S. 523 (1967)

with Wyman v. James, 400 U. S. 309 (1971).

77. See generally Comment, Laprease and Fuentes: Replevin

Reconsidered, 71 Colum. L. Rev. 886, 898-901 (1971).

78. 456 F. 2d at 980.

79, See e.g. Thornhill v. Alabama, 310 U. S. 88 (1940). “It is

not merely the sporadic abuse of power by the censor but the perva-

sive threat inherent in its very existence that constitutes the danger

to freedom of discussion.” Jd. at 97.

Sed

ee oe a ae

ee ee Geet a eee

ew See) ot erane es Tey

a. ee ee ee ee ee

42a Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73)

at times even unique facts, is necessary to a proper

appreciation of the place of the court in our federal

system. We are not empowered to be knights-errant,

striking dowa any statute that appears to us to be un-

attractive. Rather, we may invalidate a statute only

when its actual effect on a litigant before the court is

to deprive that litigant of a right secured by a superior

law, here the United States Constitution.”

Moreover, this Court is neither equipped nor em-

powered to act as a finder of fact. Appellate adjudica-

tion involves reviewing the application of law to facts

found by the district courts, even though at times it

may be enticing to forego this necessary albeit time-

consuming step. On occasion, in a zeal to decide all

issues presented, some have asserted that a particular

issue involves only the application of law, thus obvi-

ating the need for facts found by a district court.

Although this approach, having the advantage of

celerity, is to some inviting, sound judicial procedure

requires that it be eschewed in favor of a more orderly

resolution of a particular case.

For all the reasons set forth above, the judgment

of the district court will be reversed and the case re-

manded for action consistent with this opinion.

Gissons, Circuit Judge, dissenting

I coneur in that part of Judge Adams’ opinion

affirming the vacation of a default entered against the

defendants. I dissent from the reversal of the district

court’s order because of my disagreement with the

80. “This Constitution, and the laws of the United States which

shall be made in pursuance thereof . . . shall be the supreme law

of the land.” U. S. Const. Art. VI, § 2.

Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73) 43a

majority over the proper interpretation of the Dela-

ware Sequestration Statute, over the treatment of the

defendants’ due process contentions, and over post-

ponement of the resolution of issues properly before

us. Since the district court’s interpretation of the

Delaware Sequestration Statute provides an adequate

nonconstitutional basis for decision, I would affirm on

that ground, and will commence analysis of the case at

that point.

A. Application of the Delaware Sequestration Law

This diversity action (that is the only federal

jurisdiction alleged) was brought by the Trustees of

Penn Central Transportation Company against Fidel

Gotz, a West German national, Volker Gotz, a Swiss

national and seven business entities organized in

Switzerland or Liechtenstein. The complaint charges

that Fidel Gotz controls the seven business entities,

and that acting through them in Europe he fraudu-

lently m sappropriated four million dollars belonging

to the estate being administered by the plaintiffs.

None of the defendants are residents of Delaware or

qualified to do business there. The transactions giving

rise to the alleged misappropriation did not take place

in Delaware. The only process which has issued from

the district court is a sequestration order issued pur-

suant to the borrowing provision of Fed. R. Civ. P.

4(e)(2)- Prior to 1963, an action could not have been

commenced in a United States District Court in this

manner. Big Vein Coal Co. v. Read, 229 U. 8. 31

(1913) ; Davis v. Ensign-Bickford Co., 139 F. 2d 624

(8th Cir. 1944). The 1963 amendment to Rule 4(e)

made it possible to bring an original quasi in rem

action in the federal court. But the district court in

— ant. te —. s tive t th | bens iin >

tta Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73)

a diversity case can go no further in compelling a de-

fendant’s appearance by the quasi in rem device than

could the state court whose jurisdictional device it

borrows-

The sequestration by which this action commenced

was issued on the basis of a conclusively framed affi-

davit alleging, on information and belief without

specifying the source of the belief in any detail, that

one or more of the nine defendants had a legal or an

equitable interest in one or more of thirteen different

categories of property. The sequestrator’s return in-

dicated that three of the defendants, Inter-Marketing

Corp. Anstalt, Minolta Anstalt, and Vileda Anstalt, had

an interest in property in three of the sixteen concerns

in Delaware to whom notice of the sequestration had

been addressed. As to six of the nine defendants, the

sequestrator reported no property subject to sequestra-

tion. By an order dated September 14, 1971, the dis-

trict court vacated the sequestration as to these six

defendants and no appeal has been taken from that

order. On December 20, 1971, the district court

quashed the sequestration as to Inter-Marketing,

Minolta and Vileda on the ground that the affidavit

supporting it was insufficient under the applicable

Delaware statute and rules. See 336 F. Supp. 197

(D. Del. 1971). The property in issue, as disclosed in

the return of the sequestrator, is as follows:

(1) Sequestered at SSI Computer Corp. (now

ITEL Computer Leasing Corp.)

(a) 50 shares of SSI common stock owned by

Inter-Marketing

(b) 30,000 warrants to purchase SSI common

stock, owned by Inter-Marketing

Ve

Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73) 45a

(ec) 10,000 warrants to purchase ITEL stock,

owned by Vileda

(d) a $1,000,000 principal amount 7% note of

SSI Computer Corp. held by Inter-Mar-

keting

(e) $500,000 principal amount of SSI regis-

tered debentures. These debentures had

been sold by Vileda on December 22, 1970

by physical delivery and by payment, but

on the date of sequestration, March 17,

1971, had not yet been registered in the

name of the purchaser because the trans-

fer agent had requested additional sig-

nature guarantees. When the sequestra-

tion took place the buyer was still in the

process of complying with this request.

(2) Sequestered at Textron Atlantic, Inc.

(a) 25,360,500 (Swiss francs) principal

amount 8% notes of Textron, held by

Minolta.

For reasons which will appear hereinafter, somewhat

different legal issues are presented by the attempted

sequestration of common stock, of warrants to purchase

common stock, of negotiable notes and of registered

debentures. Moreover, there is a significant distinction

between the debentures sold on December 22, 1970, and

the balance of the property. None of the indicia of

ownership of these various interests was physically

seized in Delaware.

The sequestration statute, 10 Del. C. § 366(a), per-

mits the Court of Chancery to make an order compel-

ling a nonresident defendant to appear. The court may

aa Sas

Diss dtiet

dithee bosib hetnsanle! dec dheshial

a.

46a Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73)

compel such appearance ‘*‘. . . by the seizure of all or

any part of his property.’’ The defendant can obtain

release of the property only by entering a general

appearance. The statute provides that any transfer or

assignment of the seized property shall be void. 10 Del.

C. § 366(e).

The operation of such foreign attachment statutes

(or as here their equitable counterpart) is not notori-

ously fair. Commenting on the proposed amendment

to Rule 4(e) which ultimately made their use available

in original proceedings in the federal courts, Professor

Carrington noted the anomaly that state courts could

use quasi in rem procedures while federal district

courts could not, but observed:

‘**The anomaly, however, is an anomalous exception

to an anachronistic rule. In the light of the emerg-

ing concept of personal jurisdiction, the quasi in

rem procedure is rarely useful to plaintiffs except

in eases which the defendant ought not to be asked

to defend in the forum chosen by the plaintiff.”

Carrington, The Modern Utility of Quasi In Rem

Jurisdiction, 76 Harv. L. Rev. 303, 306 (1962).

The anachronism of the quasi in rem devise for com-

pelling an appearance in a_ jurisdiction in which a

defendant ought not to be asked to defend is com-

pounded when coupled with procedures which would

permit wholesale fishing expeditions among dozens of

possible debtors in order to discover some property

which may be used as an appropriate bludgeon with

which to exercise that compulsion. To insure against

such a potential abuse of the Delaware statute, and

hence of the jurisdiction of the Delaware courts, that

state adopted Delaware Chancery Rule 4(db). A key

Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73) 47a

concern was that prior to the seizure the plaintiff should

with reasonable certainty specify that which was to be

seized. In Cantor v. Sachs, 18 Del. Ch. 359, 390-91, 162

A. 73, 85 (1932), Chancellor Wolcott expressed the con-

cern thus:

**Tn the instant case the defendants happen to be

in the business of buying and selling and under-

writing stocks and bonds. In a sense they are

merchants and their merchandise consists of secu-

rities. By securing a sequestrator to roam around

and seize all the stock of Delaware corporations

owned by the defendants or standing in their

names, amounting as I have before stated to about

368,339 shares, the complainants have practically

taken from the possession of the defendants a con-

siderable portion of their merchandise and turned

it over to the equivalent of a receiver pendente lite,

before a single item of liability is established

against them, on an ex parte application. Now

that sort of thing is rather drastic. Such drag net

enterprises are not to be encouraged. I expressly

disclaim any purpose to characterize the present

complainants or their solicitors, when I say that it

is common knowledge that frequently the processes

of courts are utilized by a certain class of litigants

appropriately described by the expressive word

‘snipers.’ If such litigants are permitted to in-

augurate suits against defendants who are reputed

to be large holders of stock, and secure from the

court an official ‘fisherman’ to go forth in their be-

half and drag a sein through the corporate waters

in the blind search for the property of defendants

in the hope that vexatious seizures might result,

scandalous abuses could be perpetrated. There

48a

yun eee ay eee —

0h aes Mah ah sta Sims Lik Nada! Sadie Ap i Saal ie Nall ih er te shove tens tao Ne natinst

for

pe doin Sih garni: iM. od

Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73)

should of course be no obstacle thrown in the way

of honest suitors who file their bills in the best of

faith. How to obviate the possible abuses and at

the same time preserve the rights of litigants who

are actuated by a bona fides of purpose, is a diffi-

cult problem.

* = *

Furthermore, some safeguard should be pro-

vided against what for want of a better term I may

call fishing expeditions. It seems to me that com-

plainants who seek to bring their adversaries into

court by seizure of their property ought to be pre-

pared to say with reasonable certainty what prop-

erty they desire to have seized. It is hardly com-

portable with the dignity of the court to appoint a

judicial agent to go forth on a hunt in behalf of

a complainant and beat the bushes for him.”’

Rule 4(db) is the result of the Chancellor’s concern

that the court not be used as an agent to go forth on a

hunt in behalf of a complainant and beat the bushes

him so that he can bludgeon an appearance in

Delaware. It requires that the affidavit contain:

**(1)(b) The following information as to the prop-

erty of each such defendant sought to be seized:

(1) A reasonable description thereof.

(2) The estimated amount and value thereof.

(3) The nature of the defendant’s title or in-

terest therein; and if such title or interest be equi-

table in nature, the name of the holder of the legal

title.

Aa ea

wey

Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73) 49a

(4) The source of affiant’s information as to

any of the items as to which the affidavit is made

on information and belief.

(5) The reason for the omission of any of the

required statements.”’

Nowhere in the affidavit on which the sequestration

order was based is it stated that Inter-Marketing,

Minolta, or Vileda owned any of the property which

has been sequestered. Indeed the affiant expressly

negates knowledge of such ownership, averring:

*“*8. Affiant is unaware of and, therefore, unable to

state that any person or persons or other legal

entities have an equitable or legal interest in any

of said property because such information is

peculiarly within the knowledge of the defendant

Fidel Gotz or persons or corporations subject to

his control and domination and not available to

plaintiffs or affiant.’’

It must be apparent to anyone that if the quoted aver-

ment is sufficient to avoid the application of Rule

4(db)(1)(b) then that rule, as a means of satisfying

the concern about fishing expeditions expressed by the

Chancellor in Cantor v. Sachs, supra, is meaningless.

The quoted averment is one that could be made by any-

one in the world with respect to anyone reputed to be

a large holder of corporate securities. As the district

court put it:

“If Taylor’s affidavit is sufficient to support the

present seizure, so also would be an affidavit stat-

ing that one or more of fifty defendants might

own specified stock or bonds in one or more of one

hundred companies.”’ 336 F. Supp. at 202.

Latiare mer Tee

eee oe Ce on ee ee Me

a Celie edad Vineet ate

bok ie

itt nth ast trate a ae hid Seriado ib toes

inal aL the ell A Rarirdea ele, Fi

50a Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73)

The majority opinion answers this contention by say-

ing:

“The danger of a ‘fishing expedition’ is not

present when, as in this case, the affiant endeavors

to attain the maximum possible degree of spec-

iticity, and additional precision is beyond the

affiant’s facilities, because of the complex inter-

corporate activities of multiple inter-related de-

fendants.”’

This amounts to saying that the less specific is the

plaintiff’s information the greater is the justification

for turning the court’s sequestrator into ‘‘a judicial

agent to go forth on a hunt in behalf of a complainant

and beat the bushes for him.’’ Cantor v. Sachs, 18 Del.

Ch. at 391, 162 A. at 85. Such a construction of the

Delaware rule is a complete emasculation of its in-

tended purpose.

Reinforcing its specious refutation of the district

court’s analysis, the majority opinion continues:

‘* Along much the same line, the affiant has asserted

that the corporations holding the legal title of the

shares are but the alter egos of the principal de-

fendant. Thus, for the purpose of protecting

against dragnet seizures, there may be considered

to be one defendant with many facets. On these

bases, the fears of the district court would not ap-

pear to be well-founded in this case.”’

The less the plaintiff can tell the court about who holds

what the principal defendant actually owns, in other

words, the greater is the justification for sending the

court’s judicial agent forth to beat the corporate

bushes for the plaintiff. This was not what Chancellor

Wolcott had in mind.

Pr

The majority also finds solace in Rebstock v. Lutz,

39 Del. Ch. 25, 158 A. 2d 487 (1960). There is no

similarity between this case and Rebstock. The defect

in the affidavit with which Rebstock deals is a failure

to state the estimated amount and value of the property

as required by Rule 4(db)(1)(b)(2). The court held

that the omission was explained sufficiently for pur-

poses of subpart (5) of paragraph 1(b). As to owner-

ship, the Rebstock affidavit stated:

‘**Upon information and belief the property of said

defendants consists of shares of stock in Slayton

Associates, Ine., and Managed Funds, Incorpo-

rated, and Christiana Oil Corporation.’’ 39 Del.

Ch. at 30, 158 A. 2d at 490.

Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73) dla

It did not say, as does the affidavit in this case, that

the affiant was unaware of the owners of the property.

Rebstock quite clearly supports the interpretation of

the Delaware rule made my the experienced Delaware

district judge in this case, and, indeed, was relied on

in his opinion. 336 F. Supp. at 202. That opinion, as

does the Rebstock opinion, draws a distinction between

the specific information in the affidavit which may be

omitted pursuant to subparagraph (1)(b)(5) of Rule

4(db) and the general power of the court, in its dis-

cretion, to dispense with or modify any part of the

sequestration rule. Rule 4(db)(5). Rebstock only

involved the facial sufficiency for purposes of sub-

paragraph (1)(b)(5) of the affidavit respecting an

omission of amount and value. It did not, as the

majority opinion suggests, involve an application to

the court for discretionary relief pursuant to Rule

4(db)(5). No such application was made in this case.

As the district court put it:

“satin acceh anes anaaectel

ere eee aye, ie ty

ee ea

52a Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73)

‘‘The need for a plaintiff to specify the property

of each defendant sought to be seized is so basic

that if it is excusable at all it can only be by

judicial action taken under 4(db) (5). Plaintiffs

have never applied for or obtained such approval.”

336 F. Supp. at 203.

The Delaware requirement that the Delaware court

exercise an informed discretion before it will permit

its sequestrator to act as ‘‘a judicial agent to go forth

on a hunt in behalf of a complainant and beat the

bushes for him”’ is a reflection of the court’s apprecia-

tion that there are due process limitations upon its

power to use the quasi in rem device to dragoon a

defendant into a general appearance in Delaware.

Those due process limitations will be referred to in a

later part of this opinion. Since Judge Steel’s inter-

pretation of the Delaware sequestration rule, with

which he is obviously far more familiar than any mem-

ber of this panel, is entirely consistent with its text,

with the purpose announced by Chancellor Wolcott in

Cantor v. Sachs, supra, and with every Delaware au-

thority interpreting it, I would affirm on the same

ground on which he decided.

But the appellees have advanced additional rea-

sons for affirmance, some of which present noncon-

stitutional issues dealt with by the majority largely

by avoiding the responsibility of decision. Each is

substantial and each suggests an affirmance in whole

or in part on nonconstitutional grounds.

(1) The $500,000 principal amount of SSI de-

bentures were sold by Vileda on December 22, 1970

by physical delivery and payment. These were regis-

tered debentures so that arguably Vileda still had hare

oa >

ge

Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73) 53a

legal title on March 19, 1971, the date of the sequestra-

tion. But the Delaware law is clear that absent special

circumstances property in which the defendant has

only a legal interest should not be subject to sequestra-

tion. See Jacobs v. Tenney, 316 F. Supp. 151, 162 (D.

Del. 1970) ; Nickson v. Filtrol, 265 A. 2d 425 (Del. Ch.

1970) ; Steinberg v. Shields, 38 Del. Ch. 423, 153 A. 2d

599 (1959). The order quashing the sequestration as

to these debentures clearly should be affirmed. This

issue the majority opinion treats in a footnote, refer-

ring it back to the district court. But the fact of sale

is not in dispute. Either the cited authorities apply,

or they do not. If the majority do not contest their

application, why should this ground for affirmance be

referred back to the district court?

(2) Of the securities sequestered, there are only

50 shares of SSI common stock. The balance of the

securities consisted of notes, debentures and warrants

to purchase stock. Under the Uniform Commercial

Code these notes, debentures, and stock warrants, as

well as the common stock, are investment securities.

5 A. Del. C. § 8-102(a). Under that Code investment

securities are negotiable instruments having their situs

where the instrument is held. 5 A. Del. C. § 8-105(1).

When Delaware adopted the Uniform Commercial

Code, however, a savings clause, 5 A. Del. C. § 8-317(1),

was included to the effect that the Code would not be

construed to amend or repeal certain other statutes,

ineluding 8 Del. C. § 169, which provides:

‘‘For purposes of title, action, attachment, gar-

nishment and jurisdiction of all courts held in this

State . . . the situs of the ownership of the capital

stock of all corporations existing under the laws

tCnsebab Prd wd G

. te oe

si ah cha AM ap SD LRP Lice EP PERE ALL SAGAS

FW N co aca Sb GES NR A AAI Ni MN Dart oN EES I Se

> Dp ee eS eee

dta Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73)

of this State . . . shall be regarded as in this

State.”’

That statute applies by its terms only to the 50 shares

of SSI stock. It is not in point with respect to the

remaining investment securities. wo Delaware cases

have held that securities representing indebtedness of

a Delaware corporation have their situs in Delaware.

See Landau v. Best, 41 Del. Ch. 1, 187 A. 2d 75 (1962) ;

Weitnress v. Bland, 31 Del. Ch. 269, 71 A. 2d 59 (1950) ;

accord, Jacobs v. Tenney, supra. But in Landau, the

Supreme Court of Delaware, citing Bank of Jasper v.

First National Bank, 258 U.S. 112 (1922), aecknowl-

edged that if the debentures in issue were negotiable

they would have no situs in Delaware. 41 Del. Ch. at

2-3, 187 A. 2d at 76. The court looked to New York

law, since the indentures pursuant to which the de-

bentures were issued stated that New York law should

apply. The Landau finding of nonnegotiability was

based on the then-existing New York law. Under

N. Y. U. C. C. § 8-105(1) (McKinney 1964) the result

would of course be different. In the instant case, the

notes, debentures and warrants, provide that New

York or California law should apply. California, too,

has adopted U. C. C. § 8-105(1) (West Supp. 1973).

Thus, under the Landau analysis none of the seques-

tered securities except the 50 shares of SSI common

stoek, to which 8 Del. C. § 169 applies, had a situs in

Delaware, and none was subject to the quasi in rem

jurisdiction of a Delaware court. As to all these nego-

tiable investment securities, the order quashing the

sequestration should be affirmed.

This issue, the majority opinion suggests, ‘‘may

involve a question of fact,’’ and on this basis holds that

Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73) dda

the issue is not ripe for adjudication. What issue of

fact? What additional facts will serve to illuminate

whether the law of New York or of California would

treat the securities as negotiable investment securities

under the Uniform Commercial Code? What addi-

tional facts will serve to guide the district court as to

the appropriate choice of law on the issue of nego-

tiability? The ‘‘question of fact’’ is a phantom, con-

jured up as an excuse for postponing decision on a legal

issue clearly ripe for adjudication. Meanwhile, the

issuers of the negotiable investment securities remain

subject to an order of sequestration.

Contrast the majority’s willingness to reverse the

interpretation by an experienced Delaware district

court judge of a Delaware statute and rule, with both

of which he is obviously far more familiar, with its

unwillingness to decide an issue of choice of law and an

issue of negotiability under a uniform law of invest-

ment securities. These questions are referred back to

the same district judge, although, as to them, this court

obviously is as well qualified to decide as is he, and al-

though they are clearly ripe for adjudication. Of

course this irresolution has the added feature of leaving

in the hands of the plaintiffs whatever leverage they

obtain from continuing the sequestration order in effect

in the interim. I most strongly disassociate myself

from such a result.

B. The Constitutionality of the Delaware

Sequestration Law as applied.

Appellees contend that under the circumstances of

this case Delaware could not constitutionally exercise

quasi in rem jurisdiction to force them to make a gen-

eral appearance in the courts of that state because

cited sata

nse

hah coal Ak ne celled toe SG eee Dee! oh) dbs ne RSL

sas

Se SENOS ME at thing?

d6a Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73)

Delaware lacks minimum contacts with either the sub-

ject matter or the parties. Their contention is strength-

ened, of course, because the bulk of the sequestered

securities are debt obligations of corporate debtors. If

the determining factor for the exercise of quasi in rem

jurisdiction over a debt is the presence of the debtor

within the jurisdiction of the court, such presence is

not dependent upon the debtor’s place of incorporation.

It would exist in any state in which a corporate debtor

had qualified to do business or was otherwise present.

See Harris v. Balk, 198 U. S. 215 (1905). As pointed

out above, such a result is now precluded by § 8-105(1)

of the Uniform Commercial Code. The majority de-

clines to rule on that issue, however. That Delaware

is the state of incorporation of the debtor is an irrele-

vancy, for many corporate debtors incorporated else-

where are present there, and many incorporated there

are present in all fifty states of the Union. The issue

is whether a foreign national, with respect to a foreign

transaction, can be compelled to litigate in any one of

the fifty states’ in which a corporate debtor happened

to be present whose negotiable debt securities, or other

oligations, the defendant happened to own.

Traditionally, the approach of confining jurisdic-

tion, for due process purposes, to those jurisdictions

having certain minimum contacts, has been followed in

eases involving in personam jurisdiction. E.g., Inter-

national Shoe Co. v. Washington, 326 U. S. 310 (1945) ;

U. S. Industries, Inc. v. Gregg, 348 F. Supp. 1004 (D.

Del. 1972). But where, as here, no party is a resident

of the state, and the cause of action did not arise in the

state, and the claim, except for potential satisfaction of

1. There would be venue in this diversity case in all judicial

districts. 28 U. S. C. § 1391(d).

_———

Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73) d7a

a judgment, involves no property within the state, a

court must, I submit, make the same interest analysis

before asserting jurisdiction quasi in rem as it would

before it asserted jurisdiction in personam. The better

reasoned authorities which have considered the matter

have made such an analysis.

In Atkinson v. Superior Court, 49 Cal. 2d 338, 316

P. 2d 960 (1957), cert. denied, 357 U. S. 569 (1958),

for example, Judge Traynor stated that since a person

might be forced personally to appear (the very pur-

pose of the procedure) when a state asserted quasi in

rem jurisdiction, a minimum contacts analysis should

be made tu determine whether forcing such an appear-

ance was consistent with due process.

A quite significant group of cases presenting a

closely analogous issue aruse as a result of the attach-

ment procedure sanctioned by the New York Court of

Appeals in Seider rv. Roth, 17 N. Y. 2d 111, 216 N. E.

2d 312, 269 N. Y. S. 2d 99 (1966). In that case the

plaintiff, a New York resident, was involved in an

automobile accident in Vermont with a resident of

Canada. The court held that quasi in rem jurisdiction

in New York was obtained when the plaintiff attached

an automobile insurance liability policy issued in

Canada by an insurance company which was doing

business, and hence minimally present, in New York.

The court reasoned that the obligation of the insurer

to defend and indemnify was a debt which could be

attached wherever the debtor could be found. It re-

considered the problem in the light of a constitutional

objection in Simpson v. Loehmann, 21 N. Y. 2d 305,

310-11, 234 N. E. 2d 669, 671, 287 N. Y. S. 2d 633, 636-

37 (1967), reargument denied, 21 N. Y. 2d 990, 238

N. EF. 2d 319, 290 N. Y. S. 2d 914 (1968) (per curiam),

——— ss rrr Srtwt~—‘“——.CS.

be sab ota AI aA LER AA EIS

ii Naa nan natn can nL Ni A ch ha RR Samson ne aes Near Dakinaal Paaein Week oR Uo Me 7

ia’ » , Sadie “

ee eee -

58a Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73)

and relying on Harris v. Balk, supra, held the pro-

cedure to be constitutional. In Minichiello v. Rosen-

berg, 410 F. 2d 106 (2d Cir. 1968), aff’d on rehearing

in banc, 410 F. 2d 117, cert. denied, 396 U. S. 844

(1969), the Seider v. Roth, supra, quasi in rem proce-

dure came before the Second Circuit. Judge Friendly

noted that the Seider decision had judicially created a

direct action statute. Analyzing the interests and con-

tacts involved, he concluded that the Supreme Court

probably would uphold such a statute enacted for the

benefit of New York residents, or for the benefit of

nonresidents injured in New York. 410 F. 2d at 110.

On rehearing in bane, Judge Friendly dealt directly

with the due process issue arising from the exercise of

quasi in rem jurisdiction. He found that the exercise

of such jurisdiction was justified by Harris v. Balk,

supra. Three judges dissented, distinguishing Harris

v. Balk, and urging that there were insufficient New

York contacts to sustain jurisdiction. See 410 F. 2d

at 113-17 (Anderson, J., dissenting from the panel

decision), and 410 F. 2d at 120-22 (Anderson, Lumbard

and Moore, JJ., dissenting from the in bane decision).

The majority opinions in Minichiello, however, rest at

least in part on the limitation upon Seider v. Roth,

supra, announced in Simpson v. Loehmann, supra, 21

N. Y. 2d 990, 238 N. E. 2d 319, 290 N. Y. S. 2d 914

(1968) (denying reargument) (per curiam), which

held that even if the defendant appeared and defended

on the merits a judgment could be rendered only up

to the amount of the policy. This result was later

codified. See N. Y. C. P. L. R. 320(e), which allows a

limited appearance in all cases of quasi in rem juris-

diction. The Second Circuit noted that this meant

that a Seider judgment could not be given collateral

Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73) 39a

estopped effect in a later suit. 410 F.2d at 112. Thus,

the Minichiello holding recognized that the Seider

jurisdiction could not be resorted to in order to compel

a general appearance, and that it was available only

for New York resident plaintiffs or for New York

accidents. These limitations were contirmed in Farrell

vr. Piedmont Aviation, Inc., AVL BL 2d 802, 816-17 (2d

Cir.), cert. denied, 396 U.S. Mo (1989). Judge

Friendly noted that without these limitations the

Seider procedure would be of doubtful constitution-

ality and that [t]he constitutional doubt arises from

New York's lack of meaningful contact with the claim

eres at, 817. Cf. United States v. Firat

National City Bank, 379 US. 378, 381 (1965), in which

the Court, sustaining exercise of quasi in rem jurisdic-

tion, noted that the result might have been different

if the defendant whose account in Citibank had been

attached had not alse been subject to in personam

jurisdiction under the New York long arm statute.

Quite clearly the Second Circuit in Farrell rejected

the view that the presence of a debtor within the juris-

diction is sufficient without other minimum contacts,

to sustain a compelled general ap: earance by use of a

quasi in rem attachment. .

Applying a minimum contacts tests in this case

compels the conclusion that the exereise of quasi in

rem jurisdiction would violate due process. There is

no possibility, under the Delaware statute and rule,

of a special appearance.’ None of the parties are

2. The majority does not resolve the question whether the fed-

eral district court, under the 1963 amendment to Rule 4(e), must

accept the Delaware quasi in rem procedure as it stands, or may on

its own permit a special appearance. Compare Dry Clime Lamp

Corp. v. Edwards, F. 2d 590 (5th Cir. 1968), with United States

vy. Balanovski, 236 F. 2d 298 (2d Cir. 1956), cert. denied, 352 U. S.

968 (1957).

Pen eee TY

eee, oe ee ey ee eee

setitaiabisediihshinlinieis say shila

60a Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73)

Delaware residents. The cause of action did not arise

in Delaware. The interest of Delaware is no greater

than that of any jurisdiction in which a debtor may

be found whose investment securities or other debts

one of the defendants happen to hold. See Lebowitz

. Forbes Leasing and Finance Corp., 456 F. 2d 979

(3d Cir.), cert. denied, 409 U.S. 843 (1972), in which

this court’s analysis of the Pennsylvania foreign at-

tachment statute focused on the Pennsylvania govern-

mental interests involved. See also Note, Quasi in

Rem Jurisdiction and Due Process Requirements, 82

Yale L. J. 1023, 1025-26 (1973).

The majority opinion finds two due process justi-

fications for the exercise of quasi in rem jurisdiction

in Delaware.

The first ground is that the defendants are not

amenable to in personam service in Delaware or any

other state of the union.* The opinion even relies upon

Delaware’s rather limited long-arm statute. 10 Del. C.

§ 3104, 8 Del. C. § 343. One defect in this reasoning

is that it relies upon the very absence of minimum

contacts as a ground for ignoring the due process re-

quirement that before jurisdiction is asserted there be

such contacts. The less justification there is for assert-

ing personal jurisdiction, in other words, the greater is

the justification for attaching property which may be

used to bludgeon a general appearance. Such reason-

ing involves, it seems to me, an inversion of the due

3. The majority notes:

“Were the defendants here amenable to service pursuant to a

Delaware statute, or even if the defendants were not liable to suit

in Delaware but were liable in another state of the Union, we

would be presented with not inconsiderable difficulty in holding

that these asserted state interests outweigh the right ‘of the prop-

erty owners to notice and a hearing prior to being deprived, even

temporarily, of their property.” (footnote omitted).

a

Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73) 6la

process clause. Another defect in this reasoning is that

the unamenability of the defendants to process in the

United States has occurred in this case not by reason of

anything they have done, but because, so far as the

record discloses, they have never been here. Penn Cen-

tral, the plaintiffs’ predecessor in title to the claim

being asserted, chose to do business with foreign na-

tionals in a foreign jurisdiction. I cannot see for the

life of me why that possible improvidence on the part

of the Penn Central can be resorted to by the trustees

as a reason for forcing those foreign nationals to make

a general appearance in Delaware, a state having no

relationship with the transaction involved, or forfeit

debts owed from third parties having no relationship

with the transaction involved.

The second ground is that the ‘‘plaintiffs are trus-

tees of a corporation that is incorporated in Delaware,

has substantial property in Delaware and conducts a

significant amount of business in Delaware.’’ Penn

Central Transportation Company is a corporation

which was organized under the laws of Delaware, but

its principal office, according to the complaint, is in

Philadelphia. For purposes of diversity jurisdiction,

in a railroad reorganization, the citizenship of the

bankrupt is determinative. 11 U. S. C. §§ 205(/),

46(b). Congress could have given subject matter juris-

diction in this type of ease to all federal district courts.

See Williams v. Austrian, 331 U. S. 642 (1947), for the

broader jurisdiction available to a Chapter X trustee.

Instead, under sections 23 and 77(7) of the Bankruptcy

Act it has limited federal jurisdiction to those courts

in which the debtor could have sued. Moreover, it could

have made process in such cases extraterritorial. Had

that been done, our analysis would have been concerned

with whether such an exercise of jurisdiction and proc-

ii allele ial —s

Joa

a a Nl a RT ee

Pe ery Se Tee

62a Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73)

ess is consistent with the law of nations. However,

since Congress has not done this, jurisdiction in this

case is grounded solely on diversity of citizenship.

Thus, we are confronted with the question whether

Penn Central could, by virtue of its ineorporation,

ownership of property and business conducted in Dela-

ware, have compelled a foreign national, with whom it

did business elsewhere, to subject itself to jurisdiction

in that State’s courts. Obviously Delaware has no in-

terest peculiar to it. If Delaware can assert jurisdic-

tion on such grounds, so can any other of the numerous

states in which Penn Central was qualified to do busi-

ness, owned property and did business. If Delaware

can assert jurisdiction on this basis, undoubtedly the

courts of every state in the Union would be open to

corporations such as General Motors Corporation,

which do business, and own property, almost every-

where. The cases following Jnternational Shoe Co. v.

Washington, supra, preclude this result for purposes

of in personam jurisdiction. All that is added here is

the happenstance of locating a garnishee in Delaware.

That is the sole real connection of Delaware with this

lawsuit, and is not such a connection as, consistent with

due process, permits Delaware to compel a general ap-

pearance or even a limited appearance in its courts in

connection with litigation entirely unrelated to the

debt. But see Standard Oil Co. v. Superior Court, 44

Del. 538, 62 A. 2d 454 (1948), where the Delaware

Supreme Court upheld the foreign attachment statute

in an action by a nonresident plaintiff against a non-

resident defendant on a foreign cause of action.

4. Incorporation in Delaware is particularly insignificant for a

railroad, since it is to some extent the creature of the legislative fran-

chise of every state through which its lines pass.

Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73) 68a

While partially rejecting the defendants’ due

process contentions, the majority opinion apparently

leaves open the question whether, by the quasi in rem

device, a foreign national can be compelled to submit

to an in personam judgment beyond the value of the

property seized. Postponement of the resolution of

that question is justified by the same phantom fact

issues which the majority relies upon to avoid decision

as to which of the securities were actually subject to

sequestration. Because of the majority’s nondeter-

mination as to the securities subject to sequestration

both the amount of the property seized and the amount

of the plaintiffs’ claim are in doubt, and these two

doubts, one of which the majority has gone to great

pains to create, serve as the excuse for not deciding

whether the defendants can be coerced into a general

appearance in order to contest the plaintiffs’ claim

against the seized property. The suggested justifica-

tion for this course is an unwillingness to decide con-

stitutional issues ‘‘prematurely’’. As the majority

opinion candidly concedes, this ruling gives the defend-

ants a Hobson’s choice. Neither this court, nor, ap-

parently, the district court, should decide the constitu-

tionality of compelling a general appearance so as to

subject defendants to a judgment in excess of the

amount of property seized until such time as the

amount of the plaintiffs’ claim has been liquidated.

But, in order to contest the amount of the plaintiffs’

claim, the defendants will, if the Delaware statute

applies, be required to enter a general appearance. The

majority does not even suggest that something short

of a general appearance should be permitted if the

defendants attempt some sort of reservation of rights.

None is permitted under the Delaware statute. Thus,

the defendants run the risk that on the second appeal,

tthe YR Rr a Pol! late Peewee ss |

eT

Sf ee See ta py Cn ew TLS Wenn en tw Ree tar Te et tee ae

ee eee

64a Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73)

after judgment, we will enforce the general appearance

in accordance with its terms, or that some other juris-

diction will afford comity to any resulting judgment.

To avoid these risks, the defendants must surrender to

the plaintiffs the property seized—several million dol-

lars worth—and forget about litigating the plaintiffs’

claims.

Let us suppose, however, that the defendants do

choose to litigate, that a judgment against them in ex-

cess of the property seized does result, and that on

appeal, we hold that the issue of the coerced general

appearance is still open. What will have occurred to

make the due process claim any more ‘‘concrete’’ at

that point than it is now? Nothing, I submit. If, on

the other hand, the defendants litigate and win, at

least to the extent that the plaintiffs’ judgment is less

than the seized property, this court would have avoided

a decision on the legality of the coerced general ap-

pearance. But the cost of that avoidance will have

been to subject the defendants to the risks referred to

above, and to the loss of use of several million dollars

of property in the meantime. The practical effect of

the course chosen by the majority is to add to the set-

tlement leverage resulting from a massive ex parte

seizure the additional leverage resulting from the un-

certainties and ambiguities of its ruling. This is not

my idea of responsible judicial action, especially when

there is an available nonconstitutional ground on which

the matter could be decided. We could hold that while

Rule 4(e), Fed. R. Civ. P., permits the commencement

of a federal diversity action by borrowed quasi in rem

process, it does not require the borrowing, as well, of

the state law rule prohibiting the contesting of liability

in the absence of a general appearance. A holding that

ZZ

Court of Appeals Opinions (8/31/73) 65a

in the federal courts a special appearance is permitted

would satisfy even the majority’s expressed timidity

about applying the due process clauses to a state

statute.

Another aspect of the majority opinion puzzles

me. This is a diversity case in an article III court.

Yet explicitly and implicitly the opinion suggests that

foreign residents, because they are such, should receive

less consideration of their due process claim that they

should not be dragooned into a Delaware lawsuit than

would be afforded to residents of the United States.

Such an approach, it seems to me, is inconsistent with

the only substantial reason for the existence of di-

versity jurisdiction, namely affording nonresidents a

forum in which they will be on equal footing with

residents. Instead, the majority says that because the

defendants are not amenable to in personam process

in Delaware or any other state in the Union, Dela-

ware’s interest in subjecting their property to seizure

is thereby greater.

There are, as I have said above, several adequate

nonconstitutional grounds for affirming the district

court. But accepting the majority’s misinterpretation

of Delaware law, there should still be an affirman

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Baker v. Gotz · 417 U.S. 955 | Frix