Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Walker v. Indiana

Supreme Court brief1974

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

LIBRARY | FILE

SUPREME COURT, U- S

no. @3- 823

MICHAEL RODAK, JR.,

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1973 :

JAMES F. WALKER, s

Petitioner

Vs.

STATE OF INDIANA,

Respondent

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SUPREME COURT OF INDIANA

Of Counsel: Counsel for Petitioner:

Ralph R. Blume Donald D. Doxsee

Stanley A. Levine 323 West Berry Street

344 Utility Bldg. Fort Wayne, Indiana 46802

Fort Wayne, Ind. Phone:

46802 219-4223436

November, 1973

STH PZ ES A ER 7’ r St ad I sa OTS gE

INDEX

Gpimieoms Belew . . «+ 2+ © © © 2

eo 6 6 wwe ee ee

Question Presented ........

Constitutional Provisions Involved

Statement of the Facts ......

Federal Question Raised in

ne «ss we * + ee e+

Reasons for Granting Writ. ....

+ - oe & « »« ¢ © « « «

Appendix A - Opinion of the Court

ems « «+ 6+ « 6 «© & © @

Appendix B - Petition for

Re-Hearing. . a a ae

Denial of Petition for

Ce . « « « « + #* « * «6

Appendix C - Petition for Transfer

to Indiana Supreme Court. ...

Denial of Petition for Transfer

Appendix D - Sentence of Trial

Court a. s s* oe o 7. - +. _ _ _ 7 .

Motion to Correct Errors. ...

AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Chimel v. California (1969) 395

U.S. 752, 23 L.Ed.2d 685,

on a Ps + » « « « * # @

PEAT Ee AA

Coolidge v. New Hampshire (1971)

U.S. , 29 L.Ed.2d 564,

583, 91 S.€s- > © - . e e e 7x 8

Constitutional Provisions:

Fourth Amendment

Fourteenth Amendment

Statutes:

- oe 2 oe eee

x

¢

i

j

POTS GEM AEN ite ORD

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1973

JAMES F. WALKER,

Petitioner

vs.

STATE OF INDIANA,

Respondent

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SUPREME COURT OF INDIANA

The petitioner, JAMES F. WALKER, prays

that a Writ of Certiorari issue to review

the opinion and judgment of the Indiana

Court of Appeals rendered in the proceed-

ings on March 7, 1973. A timely petition

for re-hearing was denied on May 8, 1973,

and a timely petition for transfer to the

Supreme Court of Indiana was denied without

opinion on August 30, 1973.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Indiana Court of

Appeals (Appendix A, pp. A-2 to A-22) was

rendered on March 7, 1973, and is reported

in _ Ind. App. , 293 N.E.2d 35. The

petition for re-hearing (Appendix B, pp. B-l

to B-6) was denied without opinion (Appen-

dix B, p. B-7) on May 8, 1973. The petition

for transfer to the Supreme Court of Indiana

(Appendix C, pp. C-l to C-3) was denied

without opinion (Appendix C, p. C-4) on

C0 petit CEPR OMEN EE

AUP etiataal ie

OO Rl Cue Aa NAR

August 30, 1973, and is not yet reported.

JURISDICTION

The order or judgment of the Indiana

Court of Appeals was rendered on March 7,

1973. A timely petition for re-hearing

was filed and denied on May 8, 1973. A

timely petition for transfer to the Supreme

Court of Indiana was filed and denied with-

out opinion on August 30, 1973. This

petition is filed less than 90 days from

date of the Supreme Court of Indiana's

denial of transfer. The jurisdiction Qf

this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. $057(3).

QUESTION PRESENTED

The petitioner was arrested without

a warrant on a charge of professional

gambling. The evidence against the

petitioner was secured by means of a search

of the person of the petitioner and of the

premises occupied by him. A search warrant

for the premises has been suppressed by

the trial court as invalid.

The question presented then is

whether the evidence secured against the

petitioner by means of a warrantless

search and seizure was valid as being a

necessary incident of an arrest.

Pe ee a PD em ee

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

This case involves the following con-

stitutional provisions:

(1) The Fourth Amendment to the Con-

stitution of the United States, which pro-

vides as follows:

"The right of the people to be

secure in their persons, houses,

papers, and effects against un-

reasonable searches and seizures,

shall not be violated..."

(2) The Fourteenth Amendment to the

Constitution of the United States, which

provides as follows:

"All persons born or naturalized

in the United States and subject

to the jurisdiction thereof, are

citizens of the United States and

of the state wherein they reside.

No state shall make or enforce any

law which shall abridge the privileges

or immunities of citizens of the

United States nor shall any state

deprive any person of life, liberty,

@ property, without due process of

law; nor deny to any person within

its jurisdiction the equal protection

of the laws."

STATEMENT OF THE FACTS

On April 5, 1971, several Fort Wayne

City Police officers possessing arrest

warrants for two men other than the peti-

tioner went to Stewart's Smoke Shop. On

arrival they arrested one of the men for

TORY sh oa . |

; FS ESR OE SEES RE SP , 3 SN

BP RE BRI OP

whom they had an arrest warrant. They

read the arrested person a search warrant

which was later quashed and the evidence

suppressed. The officers had earlier

observed the other person for whom they

had a warrant enter a separate part of

the building occupied by Stewart's Smoke

Shop which had its own outside entrance.

The person already arrested gave the

officers a key to it.

The officers left the Smoke Shop and

went to the other place and tried the key

which did not work. The officers then

knocked on the door which was opened by the

other person for whom they had an arrest

Warrant. He stepped back and the officers

entered the premises. There was a partitition

to block the view of people who stepped in.

The officers, however, walked past the parti-

tion and observed the petitioner sitting at

a table on which there was an adding

machine, money and numbers slips, at which

time the petitioner was arrested on a

charge of professional gambling and

searched. The search of the petitioner's

person revealed $250.00, some odd change

and two numbers slips, along with some

miscellaneous items. While the evidence

of the items on the table and on the peti-

tioner's person was suppressed as to the

invalid search warrant, they were wrongfully

admitted into evidence as incident to the

petitioner's arrest.

At no time did the petitioner or

anyone else give any indication that they

had weapons, were going to flee the scene

or make any effort to destroy the evidence.

e

E

&

x,

:

“a

$

=

3 ™ yee 5 eRe .

FEDERAL QUESTION RAISED IN STATE COURT

In the Circuit Court of Allen County :

At the trial of this cause the federal

question raised by this petition was raised

by objections to direct testimony, introduc-

tion of evidence and in the Motion to Correct

Errors. The objection to the testimony and

the evidence were specially made on the

basis of the Fourth Amendment to the United

States Constitution and a citation of the

case of Chimel v. California (1969) 89 S.Ct.

2034, 295 U.S.752. The issue was preserved

On appeal by the Motion to Correct Errors.

(Appendix D, pp. D-2 to D-5)

In the Indiana Court of Appeals: The

question was preserved on appeal by filing

the above-mentioned Motion to Correct Errors

in the Indiana Court of Appeals and argument

in the briefs filed with the Court. The

matter was further preserved in the petition

for re-hearing. (Appendix B, pp. B-l to B-6)

In the Supreme Court of Indiana: The

federal question was preserved in the peti-

tioner's petition to the Supreme Court of

Indiana to accept transfer of the case.

(Appendix C, pp. C-1l to C-3)

REASONS FOR GRANTING WRIT

The court below has decided a Federal

question of substance in a way probably not

in accord with applicable decisions of this

Court. The question involved is whether

the search in April, 1971. of a room and

person, both out of the view of police

officers when they arrested another person

some ten (10) feet away at the entrance of

PY PR a -

a |

aca

PEPER RGIS NBR Ge Itt

the same store building, was a permissible

search under the Fourth Amendment in the

light of this Court's holding in Chimel v.

California (1969) 395 U.S. 752, 23 L.Ed.2d

~_ -- —_——

685, 89 S. Ct. 2034.

The search was conducted apparently

subsequent to the warrant arrest of one

James Bates at a storeroom entrance. There

were no weapons and there was no destructible

evidence in view at the time of the arrest or

shortly thereafter. There was no cause for

the arresting officers to believe they were

in danger, that destructible evidence could

be secreted or destroyed or that the

arrested person would make any effort

whatsoever to flee or otherwise avoid arrest.

At the time of the search and arrest the

police officers had an invalid search

warrant for the premises where the arrest

was made.

The Court of Appeals of Indiana in

sustaining the trial court's admission into

evidence of the money, "numbers slips" and

other physical items found in the area behind

a partition and some ten (10) feet from the

arrested person's area of physical control,

cites at length from Chimel v. California,

supra, at pages 41 and 42 as follows:

"When an arrest is made, it

is reasonable for the arresting

officer to search the person

arrested in order to remove any

weapons that the latter might seek

to use in order to resist arrest

or effect his escape. Otherwise,

the officer's safety might well be

endangered, and the arrest itself

frustrated. In addition, it is

~~ i ~

et Rei a Pare ses PUNE E RAT RRS TAR EEE .

ithe Be gene» |

entirely reasonable for the arresting

officer to search for and seize any

evidence on the arrestee's person in

order to prevent its concealment or

destruction. And the area into which

an arrestee might reach in order to

grab a weapon or evidentiary items

must, of course, be governed by a

like rule. A gun on a table or in

a drawer in front of one who is

arrested can be as dangerous to the

arresting officer as one concealed in

the clothing of the person arrested.

There is ample justification, therefore,

for a search of the arrestee's person

and the area ‘within his immediate

control'--construing that phrase to

reach the area from within which he

might gain possession of a weapon

or destructible evidence."

However, the Indiana Court appears

-© have applied this holding to a greater

sxtent than permitted by a reasonable

interpretation of that cited portion of

-himel, in that the Indiana Court would

ermit a warrantless search for destructible

svidence at any time an arrest is made and

in any part of the area where it is made

sven though there is no probable cause for

such a search and even though it goes

yeyond an appropriately limited search of

she arrestee.

The situation presented in this case

.s Closely analogous to the hypothetical

statement of facts set forth in footnote

3 in this Court's opinion in Coolidge v.

lew Hampshire (1971) | U.S. __, -29

1.Ed.2d 564, 583, 91 S.Ct. , wherein

this Court notes: teas

entirely reasonable for the arresting '

officer to search for and seize any. )

evidence on the arrestee's person in i

order to prevent its concealment or

destruction. And the area into which

an arrestee might reach in order to

grab a weapon or evidentiary items

must, of course, be governed by a

like rule. A gun on a table or in

a drawer in front of one who is

arrested can be as dangerous to the

arresting officer as one concealed in

the clothing of the person arrested.

There is ample justification, therefore,

for a search of the arrestee's person

and the area ‘within his immediate

control'--construing that phrase to

reach the area from within which he

might gain possession of a weapon

or destructible evidence.”

However, the Indiana Court appears

to have applied this holding to a greater

extent than permitted by a reasonable

interpretation of that cited portion of

Chimel, in that the Indiana Court would

permit a warrantless search for destructible

evidence at any time an arrest is made and

in any part of the area where it is made

even though there is no probable cause for

such a search and even though it goes

beyond an appropriately limited search of

the arrestee.

The situation presented in this case

is closely analogous to the hypothetical

statement of facts set forth in footnote

23 in this Court's opinion in Coolidge v.

New Hampshire (1971) _— U.S. __, 29

L.Ed.2d 564, 583, 91 S.Ct. , wherein

this Court notes: rage

pegay eee LPAE WES ; oop ax

SS Seino cana tarp re ee eee

- - « Where, however, the

arresting officer inadvertently

comes within plain view of a

piece of evidence, not concealed,

although outside of the area under

the immediate control of the arrestee,

the officer may seize it, so long as

the plain view was obtained in the

course of an appropriately limited

search of the arrestee. (Emphasis

added.)

In the instant case one of the basic

errors of the arresting officers was to

obtain their "plain view" of the evidence

when they went beyond the limits of the

arrestee's person and some ten (10) feet

beyond his reach, at a time when they had

no cause to look for weapons or destructible

evidence, and when they were also operating

pursuant to an invalid search warrant.

The existence of the search warrant,

albeit unlawful, eliminates any argument

of the State of Indiana that the search

was inadvertent. The warrant for the

search involved the very items of evidence

that were found in the store building and

on the person of the man arrested without

a warrant.

The other limit on the plain view

doctrine is that a warrantless search is

never constitutionally permissible in the

absence of "exigent circumstances". Coolidge

v. New Hampshire, supra, at 29 L.Ed.2d 584,

In the instant case the evidence is clear

that the police officers had ample opportunity

to obtain a search warrant because they had,

in fact, obtained one several days before.

Prior to the trial it was held invalid as

being based on “stale facts".

ae ne eer cmp nengen ene Teme

In effect this case represents a

clearly maneuvered “plain view" of the evidence

' sought and obtained by the police and later

introduced into evidence against your

+ petitioner.

It is submitted that the admission of

| this evidence over the objection of counsel,

_ as being in "plain view", and within the

- permissible scope of a search incident to

an arrest, is crucial and prejudicial to

_ petitioner, in that the objects admitted

_ into evidence over objections were the

only probative evidence introduced against

the defendant and is the only evidence upon

which the conviction could be based.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, this

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari should be

granted.

Respectfully submitted,

?

Attorney fof Petitioner

November 23, 1973

(iiss

ION ROT er ty AS eR:

AC Yn nan

Denne

STATE OF INDIANA

CLERK OF THE SUPREME COURT

AND COURT OF APPEALS

’ BILLIE R. MCCULLOUGH, CLERK

217 STATE HOUSE

INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA 46204

TELEPHONE 633-5200

NO. 3-972A62

James F. Walker V. State of Indiana

You are hereby notified that the Indiana

Court of Appeals has on this day issued

the enclosed Opinion.

Please acknowledge receipt of this

notice in order that our records

may show that you have been notified

of this action.

WITNESS my name and the seal of

said Court, this 7th day of March, 1973.

(SEAL)

s/ Billie R. McCullough

Clerk Supreme Court an

Court of Appeals

IN THE

COURT OF APPEALS OF INDIANA

THIRD DISTRICT

JAMES F. WALKER

Appellant (Defendant

Below)

STATE OF INDIANA

Appellee (Plaintiff

)

)

)

)

Vv. ) No. 3-972 A 62

)

)

)

Below) )

APPEAL FROM THE ALLEN CIRCUIT

COURT, HON. JACK P. DUNTEN,

SPECIAL JUDGE

SHARP, J.

In this case the Appellant, James F.

Walker, was chrged by way of affidavit of

the offense of professional gambling under

-C. 1971, 35-25-1-2, Ind. Ann. Stat.

10-2330 (Burns 1972). The Appellant

explicitly waived a trial by jury and this

case was tried before the trial court alone.

The Appellant was found guilty by the trial

court and sentenced to the Indiana State

Farm for a period of six months and assessed

a fine in the sum of $500.00. Motion to

Correct Errors was duly filed and overruled

resulting in this appeal.

Examining the factual record with the

inferences most favorable to the State it

is disclosed that on April 5, 1971 three

members of the Fort Wayne Police Department

along with a member of the Indiana State

Police went to 1233 South Lafayette Street

irryeicersmercessenes

WOO NR, Tame

EV REA NG Abs Ve +5.

' in Fort Wayne, Indiana to execute two arrest

| warrants for Robert L. Stewart and James

' Bates, Sr. The arrest warrants were in

_ reference to the offense of professional

' gambling. These police officers arrived

at the above address at approximately

1:00 o'clock P.M. The building at this

_ address faces Lafayette Street with a door

to the south portion on the north end of

_ the building and a door to a storeroom or

a utility room on the south end of the

_ building. The building is used as a

_ cigarette and cigar store with the business

name of Stewart's Smoke Shop. When the

police arrived at Stewart's Smoke Shop

they knew that James Bates, Sr. was in

the south portion of the building and

that Robert Stewart was in the store

portion of the building. The police

officers entered the store building

portion of the Smoke Shop building first.

They advised Robert L. Stewart that they

had a warrant for his arrest, read the

warrant to him, advised him of his rights,

and asked him for a key to the south

portion of the Smoke Shop. Robert L.

Stewart was the operator of the business

and the owner of the real estate upon

which the Smoke Shop was situated.

One detective then stayed with Stewart

while two other detectives went to the

south Door of the Smoke Shop. At this

point it is necessary and desirable to

consider the precise testimony of officer

Lloyd Ellis:

"Q And then, as I understand

your testimony, you asked

him for a key. Now, what

was this key for?

0 > o »

Well, this key would be for

the room that we seen Mr.

Bates earlier go into this

room.

How long prior to your

arrival had you seen Mr.

Bates go into this room,

if you can recall?

We went there earlier and we

were hoping that there would

be more people in there, and

we had seen Mr. Bates, he was

the only one we knew definitely

was there, and it was about

fifteen or twenty minutes prior

before that he arrived, that

he went into this back room

there.

All right, you asked Mr.

Stewart, as I understand it,

for the key to this other room,

is that correct?

Yes.

Did he give it to you?

Yes, he gave me a key.

Then what, if anything, did

you do?

I left Detective Platt there

with Mr. Stewart and myself

and Detective Snyder went

out the door, the Smoke Shop,

and went approximately twenty

feet to the other door, and

I tried the key and it unlocked,

OR OSS ; r nS PEST WETIE LY , RO PRI ED

Baad vata Ty wed se Ss aS

but there was evidently another

lock on the inside that had

to be unlocked. So I knocked |

on the door, and after this Mr.

Bates came to the door, opened

the door and stepped back and

I stepped in.

zs eke

Was there any conversation that

occurred at that time?

I think I just said to him,

‘James Bates,' and he just

kind of nodded, and as he did

he stepped back into the back

part.

He stepped back away from you

when he saw you?

Yes, it would be about three

steps, as I recall. There's

a partition, sort of like a

wind-break, as you open the

door so that you can't see

into the building. You've

got to walk in about two steps

and then turn about a step or

two steps and you're behind

that partition. He stepped

back toward, back by the

partition.

What, if anything, did you do

at that time?

I stepped back with him.

And what, if anything, did you

observe at that time?

Well, as soon as I stepped back

past this partition, wind-break,

or whatever you want to call it,

I observed the defendant Mr.

Walker sitting at a table with

the adding machine and the

number slips, and...

eek

Detective Ellis, with regard

to number slips, can you tell

the court what you mean by

number slips?

Well, number slips are any

type of paper or a slip of

paper, it can be any form,

with a combination of three

numbers crossed, or they can

be boxed or squared, with a

dash on them, there will be

a figure such as a $1.50, and

these are bets that are made

on the stock market quotations,

advances, declines and unchanged

for the day. And also you will

have a number or code number for

the writer who will be on this

slip and initials of the person

purchasing this slip, and down

at the bottom will be the total

amount bet on the slip; there

will be a date on this slip.

These are slips that are used

in the numbers.

You mean the people purchase

these slips with a number on

them for money?

Right.

Ser ARTs

: Tbe Fa

:

:

|

i

And this is wagering, correct?

Yes, wagering.

Q All right, now. prior to April 5,

1971, had you occasion to see

or personally examine number slips,

were you familiar with them, in

other words?

A Yes, we have made purchases on

these number slips.

Q And, as a matter of fact, prior

to April 5, 1971, had you been

engaged in investigation of the

numbers racket? ;

A Yes, sir.

In the course of that investiga- ;

tion, did you have occasion to

see or familiarize yourself

with number slips?

A Yes, sir.

Q And the numbers game as it was

played at that particular time?

EEE I EO ee IEE r

A Yes, sir.

Q And are you telling the court,

from your experience, that the

slips that you observed on the

table in the premises at 1233

South Lafayette Street were, in

your opinion, number slips?

5 i ad BIRO T ES ITE wegen

PE RADON Re ENE PB LO

Be le nase CA cee dct vee |

i

=

g

A

4

“

A Yes, sir, they were number slips.

Q All right, would you continue,

please, then, to relate to the

court what you observed on your

entry into this side room?

A Well, as I came around the side

there, I looked over, I looked

around the whole room and as I

looked over, I saw only one

other person there in this

back room who was James Walker,

and there was two round tables

sitting side by side and these

slips were stacked in different

stacks and they had an adding :

machine tape on with a total, :

and they were stapled together -

the slips were stapled. There

was stacks of money that had

been stacked into piles, and

there was some change there, I

believe, and an adding machine

and some scratch paids (sic)

with figures on the table.

These were sitting directly

in front of where Mr. Walker

was sitting.

> 29

Ft oe eet Be

Q Now, as I understand it, he

was seated at one of these

round tables?

A Yes,sir.

Q And what, if anything, did

he do upon your entry into

the room?

‘ A-8 ;

ah OER LS a GES,

.

se el eT

he Se Ae

ei

2

A Nothing. He just leaned

back in his chair and sat

there.

zsee*k

Q And before you entered this

room and observed the defen-

dant and the money and number

slips on the table, as you

have testified, did you con-

duct any search of that room?

A Of the back room?

Q Yes. é

A No, I hadn't conducted any

search until after I placed

Mr. Bates under arrest, read

the warrant to him and advised

Mr. Walker he was under arrest

on a preliminary charge of

professional gambling. I

searched both subjects.

Q Did you have to move anything

or uncover anything to see

these number slips, money,

adding machine or the defendant?

A No, before we picked anything

up or moved anything, we called

for a photographer and had him

photograph it just as we found

it when we walked in.

x eee

Q All right, now you've stated

that you placed Mr. Walker

under arrest at that time

for a preliminary charge of

| a9 :

ay, a Se oe WE Dies §

BONEN PRE AT NG ABIDE A

professional gambling, is that

correct?

A That's right.

Q What, if anything, did you do

at that time?

A Well, I searched the subject.

Q What, if anything, did you find?

A I found in his pockets, his

pants pocket, I found $250

and some odd change and two

slips that I identified myself

as being number slips and some

other personal papers, car

registration and some odds and

ends that were in his jacket,

and things like this."

On cross-examination by the 3

Appellant's counsel, Officer Ellis testified, ‘

in part, as follows: ey

Q Officer, when you first

entered the building, would

you be able to observe these e

two tables and the objects

shown here by looking through

the front door?

A From outside, standing on the

sidewalk?

Without going inside the room?

A No, you would have to...

You couldn't see it standing

in the doorway. This wall here,

that you see here, where these ;

two tables are against it, :

is a thin partition, and the

' |

doorway is about two foot,

and you have to step over and

then up, and this is where Mr.

Bates stepped. He reached .

around this corner and unlocked

this door, and I stepped up here

to come up where he was stand-

ing and then I look over to

the side and there was these

two tables (referring to States's

Exhibit No. 1).

But you have to walk inside the

building to get the view of

these tables, is that right?

Yes, you have to go inside the

building approximately two foot.

%

*

‘a

“a

&

Se

ia

Nas

¥

‘4

F,

=

=

=

2S

*

i

*

¥,

So that simply a plain glance

through the door would not re-

veal those tables?

No, you couldn't see them from

standing in the doorway. :

Now, where was Mr. Bates in

relation to those tables when

you first observed him?

When I first observed Mr. Bates,

he came around that corner of

that partition, reached over,

unlocked the door, and there is

a small step about the size of

this (indicating) to step up

and, say, like the door was

here. He unlocked it and I

stepped around about this

far (indicating) and he backed

up -- he backed up past that

partition and I backed up to

him, and there would be the

A-11 ;

me

Ne ETTORE NG AO IFO

tables. He was standing right

at the edge of the table, .

actually, off to the side.

Q All right, did Mr. Bates do

or say anything to you at that

time?

A No he didn't say anything. I

just told him I had a warrant

for his arrest, and as I come

up to read it to him, all I Had

to do was turn over to the side

and there was the two tables

sitting there."

The trial court also had before it

photographs to supplement the oral testimony fe

of the police officers in addition to the 4

evidence introduced from the person of the

Appellant and from the tops of the two

tables in question. From the evidence

it is clearly inferable that the so-called

"windbreak" in the partition in question

formed an entryway into and was a part of

the room in which Bates and the Appellant

were located at the time of their arrests.

It is also clearly inferable that all of

the events which transpired after the entry

of the two police officers with the arrest

warrant for Bates occurred inside the same

room. When Bates and the police took two

steps from the entryway they did not enter

a different room but only completed their

entry into the same room. On this question

the trial court had a choice between the

testimony of the police officers and of

Bates. The evidence clearly infers that

we are here concerned with one room not two.

The only evidence in any way contrary to the

testimony of the police officers was given

on behalf of the Appellant by said James

Bates, Sr. whose credibility was challenged

by impeaching evidence.

A-12

————=—

EYP LEE BD DELLE ND

SP ee at) Gna ate Wdt¢

In order to determine this appeal

we must consider the following issués:

1. Whether some of the items of

evidence introduced were incident to a

legal arrest and whether they were in

plain view of the arresting officer

when he arrested the Appellant without

a warrant.

2. Whether there was probable

cause to arrest the Appellant for the

offense of professional gambling without

an arrest warrant.

3. Whether the items taken from the

person of the Appellant constituted a

search of his person incident to a valid

arrest.

4. Whether all of the evidence

presented was sufficient to sustain a con-

viction of guilty of professional gambling.

x

For our purposes here we will assume

that the arrest warrant for Bates was a

valid one and was sufficient to authorize

the presence of the two police officers

in this particular room at this particular

time for the purpose of properly executing

such arrest warrant. I.C. 1971, 35-1-19-6,

Ind. Ann. Stat. 8 9-1009 (Burns 1972),

provides as follows:

"To make an arrest in criminal

actions the officer may break open

any outer or inner door or window

of a dwelling house or any other

building or inclosure to execute

the warrant, if, after notice of

his authority and purpose, he be

refused admittance."

A-13

In McGregor v. State, 200 Ind. 496,

163 N.E. 596 (1928), the police officers

had gone into a public store maintained

by the defendant to apprehend a law violator

and finding the door of an adjoining room

open were authorized to enter to make an

arrest and if necessary, could have broken

open the door.

Even under the testimony offered by

Bates under the above statutory and case

authorities the police officers were properly

in the room with Bates and the Appellant

for the purpose of executing a valid arrest

warrant.

We must next turn to the question of

probable cause for the arrest of the

Appellant on the charge of professional

gambling without a warrant. At the time

of the arrest of Bates pursuant to a valid

arrest warrant, in the sam: room, in plain

view of the arrestinc officer was the

Appellant sitting in front of two tables.

The photographs of these two tables as

they appeared at that time were placed into

evidence. We have carefully examined these

photographs in the transcript. On these

tables were an electric adding machine

plugged into an electric wall socket, on

the table by the adding machine were piles

of so-called "number Slips". There were

adding machine tapes stapled to the stacks

of number slips, and there were stacks of

currency and some small change. There

were also scratch pads with figures and

several ball point pens, ashtrays and

matches. All of these were directly in

front of the Appellant as he sat facing

these items on these two small round tables

Which had been pushed together. These

number slips were introduced into evidence

and had been carefully examined by this

court.

A-14

ann ae he Se TEN ORE EN TRB TREY YOU

In Smith v. State, Ind. °

271 N.E. 2d 133, 136 (1971), our Supreme

Court stated: :

"The test for probable cause

to make an arrest is whether at

the time of the arrest the facts

and circumstances within the know-

ledge of the officers and of which

they had reasonably trustworthy

information were sufficient to

warrant a prudent man of reasonable

caution in believing that the

arrestee had committed or was

committing an offense." (citing

numerous authorities)

In this case the police officers had

information that a numbers gambling activity

was operating out of the premises of

Stewart's Smoke Shop, that Bates, for whom

an arrest warrant had been issued, was a

known gambler, there were number slips and

currency in piles with adding machine

totals connected with the piles, an

electric adding machine in use in close

proximity to this Appellant at the precise

time of his arrest. Certainly under all

of these circumstances there was probable

cause for the arrest of the Appellant.

II

Having concludec that there was sufficient

probable cause for his arrest we must next

determine whether or not the items of

evidence in plain view on the two tables

in question which were immediately in front

of the Appellant and the items taken from

his person at that time by the arresting :

police officers were proberly (sic) admitted E

;

Oe _

into evidence.

A-15

In Harris v. United States, 390 U.S.

234, 236 (1968), an unanimous Supreme Court

of the United States, with one justice not

‘participating and with Justice Douglas

concurring separately, stated:

“Once the door had lawfully

been opened, the registration card,

with the name of the robbery victim

on it, was plainly visible. It

has long been settled that objects

falling in the plain view of an

officer who has a right to be in

the position to have that view are

subject to seizure and may be

introduced in evidence. Ker v.

California, 374 U.S. 23, 42-43 (1963);

United States v. Lee, 274 U.S. 559

(1927); Hester v. United States,

265 U.S. 57 (1924)."

Our Supreme Court followed Harris in

Alcorn v. State, Ind. , 265 N.E. 2d

413, 416 (1970), where it said:

"The word ‘search' connotes

uncovering that which is hidden,

prying into hidden places for that

which is concealed. It is not a

search to observe what is open to

view."

See also, Presley v. State, _Ind. __,

284 N.E. 2d 526 (1972); Griffin v. State,

—— , 285 N.E. 644 (1972); and

Luckett v. State, _—=s Ind. ___, 284 N.E. 2d

738 (1972).

A-16

IIr.

ct

sz

1)

o

a}

@

a

t+

ww

3

Q

bes

bee

Q

®

ie]

rh

rh

ron

Q

1)

a]

a

Ye RY, er

In Chimel y. California, 395 u.s.

752, 762 (1969), mr. Justice Stewart, Speaking

for a majority of the Supreme Court, stated:

- AOE SODUS THU tenn nioe a treo

"When an arrest is made, it is

reasonable for the arresting officer

to search the person arrested in order

arrest or effect his excape (sic).

Otherwise, the officer's safety

might well be endangered, and the

arrest itself frustrated. In addition,

it is entirely reasonable for the

arresting officer to search for and

seize any evidence on the arrestee's

of course, be governed by a like

rule. A gun on a table or ina

Od Satin DORE.

arresting officer as one concealed

in the clothing of the person arrested.

There is ample justification,

therefore, for a search of the arrestee's

person and the area ‘within his

immediate control'--construing

that phrase to reach the area from

within which he might gain possession

of a weapon or destructible evidence."

In Chimel there was no basic dis-

agreement between the majority and the

dissenters over the question of a search

of the person at the time and incident

to a valid arrest. Likewise, in Paxton v.

State, _ Ind. 1 263 N.E. 2d 636 (1970),

there was no basic difference in our own

Supreme Court when it followed and applied

Chimel. In Paxton as in Chimel both the

majority and dissenting opinions were ‘

premised on the accepted propostion (sic) é

that an arresting police officer may,

incident to a valid arrest, search the

person and the clothing of the arrestee.

The Appellant in this case would have us

interpret Chimel and Paxton as limiting

such search to situations in which there

is a question of the safety of the arresting

officer. The plain language in Chimel

is quite clear that there is an additional

and equal reason for such a search and that

is to "search for and seize any evidence

on the arrestee's person in order to prevent

its concealment or destruction".

Our Supreme Court has had the occasion

to follow and apply the rules relating to

search incident to a legal arrest on

several recent cases. See Sanchez v.

State, _ Ind. __.1 267 N.E. 2d 374 (1971);

Farrie v. State, Ind. , 266 N.E.

212 (sic) (1971);"and Luckett v. State,

——. se __—g- SBE WLR. 24 338 (1972).

A-18

Di ee RAE RM a

The search of the Appellant's person

in this case was constitutionally permissible

and the products of that search were not

constitutionally excludable from evidence.

Iv.

Reviewing an allegation that a verdict

in a criminal case is contrary to law and

is not sustained by sufficient evidence,

we will not weigh evidence or resolve the

credibilitiy of witnesses. Instead, this

court will look to that evidence most

favorable to the State and the reasonable

inferences to be drawn therefrom and the

conviction will be affirmed, if from that

viewpoint, there is substantial evidence

of probative value from which the trier of

facts could reasonably infer that the

Appellant was guilty beyond a reasonable

doubt for the crime for which he was

reasonably convicted. See Riner v. State,

%

%

ig

Ss

a

¥

rs

3

$

SaceR err Ne ANAM YS Doe SE gS eM

Ind. , 281 N.E. 2d 815 (1972),

Buise v. State, Ind. , 281 N.E. 2d

93 (1972); and McKinley v. State, __ Ind.

, 281 N.E. 2d 91 (1972).

It is also well established that a

conviction may be sustained even though it

is based wholly on circumstantial evidence.

See Miller v. State, _— Ind. __, 285

N.E. 2d 843 (1972), and Vaughn v. State,

_.. Ind. __, 266 N.E. 2d 219 (1971).

Recently in McAfee v. State,

Ind. , 291 N.E. 2a 554, 556 (1972), Justice!

Prentice stated:

Le SEALE ORL DAO ONS

"The evidence in this case is

circumstantial, but conviction may

be sustained by circumstantial

evidence alone, and we can not say

that, based on that evidence,

although only circumstantial, and

the reasonable inferences to be

drawn therefrom the evidence is

insufficient as a matter of law.

Where the sufficiency of circumstantial

evidence is in question, we examine

it carefully, not for the purpose

of finding whether or not it is

aiequate to overcome every reasonable

hypothesis of innocence, but with the

view of deciding whether an inference

may be reasonably drawn therefrom

tending to support the finding of

the trial court. Stice v. State

(1950), 228 Ind. 144, 89 N.E. 2d

915; Petillo v. State (1950), 228

Ind. 97, 89 N.E. 2d 623."

In this case there was a valid arrest

warrant for a known gambler on the charge of

professional gambling who was known to be at

this particular location. The Appellant was

found in a room with two sets of locks so

as to prevent persons entering without the

permission of those inside the room. The

inference is clearly permissible that the

sole and only purpose of this particular

room was the nerve center of a numbers

professsional gambling operation which is

clearly within the definition of professiona!

gambling as found in I.C. 1971, 35-25-1l-l,

Ind. Ann. Stat. 810-2330 (Burns 1972).

That evidence clearly permitted the trier

of fact to preclude any hypothesis that

this room and its occupants were engaged

in any "social pastime" as defined in

Peachey v. Boswell, 240 Ind. 604, 167

N.E. 2d 48 (1960). Even though so-called

“policy slips" and “number slips" may not

be gambling devices in order to sustain

a conviction for possession thereof under

the authority of Brooks v. State, 249 Ind.

291, 231 N.E. 2d 816 (1967), the evidence

of their possession taken together with

all of the other evidence here is relevant

to the total circumstances which the trier

of fact could consider in order to determine

a case involving the charge of of (sic)

professional gambling. Here we have much

more than a case of mere presence at the

scene of a crime. We find the Appellant

at the nerve center of a gambling numbers

Operation in the backroom of a public

business establishment which room has a

door with two separate locks, one for entry

from the outside and one for the inside

only. The evidence clearly excludes the

hypothesis that this was a place for social

respite. We find the Appellant at such

time and place under circumstances that

clearly point to his participation in this

professional gambling Operation. When the

contents of his pockets are compared with

the evidence in plain view the trier of

fact, in this case an experienced and

highly qualified trial judge, could properly

have exluded any reasonable hypothesis

of innocence under the above quoted

statement from McAfee. While possession

of the items in Appellant's pockets would

not be a crim, (sic) the possession of

these items in the total circumstantial

context of this case, is sufficient to

Support a conviction of professional

gambiling(sic). The evidence Clearly

Supports the conclusion that Appellant

was a participant in such professional

gambling operation.

;

:

rem BERS

ER LAIMA EY) GET CMON IES 8

A-21

Cher RETR, ie ae

PRT + ar.

PP ae tginie xe

We find no reversible error in the

record here and the conviction is affirmed.

Hoffman, C. J. and Staton, J. concur.

EVN IA NE RPE MN RL OT ER

RMA +

IN THE

COURT OF APPEALS OF INDIANA.

THIRD DISTRICT

JAMES F. WALKER,

Appellant (Defendant

below)

vs. NO. 3-972A62

STATE OF INDIANA,

Appellee (Plaintiff

below)

i ie te

APPELLANT'S PETITION FOR REHEARING

The Appellant petitions the Court to

grant a rehearing in the above-entitled

cause.

The Appellant respectfully represents

that the Court erred in its opinion and ;

decision in the following respects: :

1. In holding that the arresting

police officers had a right to be inside a

particular room at the time they were

executing a valid arrest warrant and this

fact justified their examining the room

without a search warrant and, thereafter,

seizing and introducing as evidence what

they observed in the room.

PANS PAS Et

AA re

This decision and holding is erroneous

because the police officers could reasonably

have read the warrant to and taken the party

arrested into custody without entering the

room where the evidence was observed.

There was no evidence presented that the

arresting officers were required to enter

the room, walk past a partition or “wind-

break" in the entry way in order to make

the arrest nor did they have reason to

suspect that they were in danger from acts

of the party being arrested or that

destructible evidence relating to “profes-

sional gambling" was within the suspect's

immediate control.

2. In holding that the cvidence was

sufficient to show that the police officers

had probable cause to arrest the defendant

as a “professional gambler".

This decision and holding is erroneous

because the Court draws unreasonable

inferences or finds facts that are not in

evidence. Contrary to the Court's finding

there was no evidence that: :

- « « the police officers had 4

information that a numbers gambling r

activity was operating out of the :

premises of Stewart's Smoke Shop, i

that Bates, for whom an arrest

warrant had been issued, was a

known gambler ...

agentes haath. ct pois et adevlass bese

The balance of the presumed evidence

upon which the Court finds probable cause

for the arrest was obtained as the result &

of an illegal search and seizure and was ;

nothing more than defendant was sitting :

in front of a table in “close proximity"

to an adding machine, currency, and number i

slips, which in and of itself is not a

crime or evidence of any crime in the

State of Indiana.

In holding that the evidence seized

in the storeroom and introduced against

defendant by the State was in "plain view"

of the police officers and consequently no

search warrant was required.

rrentet Mite

This decision and holding is

erroneous because the police officers

when they observed the evidence were not.

in a place where they constitutionally had

a right to be nor was their observance of

the evidence inadvertent, permitted by

consent, or caused by their pursuing some

other valid police activity unrelated to

the examination of the room for evidence

of "professional gambling".

3. In holding the search of Appellant's

person was constitutionally permissible

and the products of the search were not

constitutionally excludable from the

evidence.

This decision and holding is erroneous

because in the instant case the police had

no probable cause to believe or reason to

suspect that they were in danger from a

weapon that defendant had on his person

or within his reach or that there was

destructible evidence relating to é

“professionable gamblina" on his person

or within his immediate reach or control.

SEG ALTRS 9 SSIS SONS WOR CCAS ETE

es fot ESE NT ER ARS Oe ee M Be

me AC Na a

Sea eat

4. In holding that the evidence in

this case, although circumstantial, was

sufficient to support the finding of

Appellant's guilt because the facts in

evidence supported a reasonable inference

"tending to support" the guilty finding

of the trial court.

This decision and holding is erroneous

because the only facts in this case insofar

as the defendant-appellant is concerned are

that he was sitting in "close proximity" to

a table with number slips, money and an

adding machine on it, in a small storeroom

Sa ot re

with another man who had just been arrested

by warrant for professional gambling.

There was no evidence that the storeroom. was

the "nerve center of a gambling operation

in the backroom of a public business

establishment .. ." or that it had "two

separate locks", and even if such evidence

were in the case this would not be sufficient

to reasonably establish anything other

than the fact that defendant was sitting

in such a place; and this is clearly not

acrime. There is not one shred of

evidence that defendant was personally {

engaged in the operation of the presumed j

gambling operation. Active participation ‘

in a crime or conspiracy cannot be inferred ‘

from mere presence at the scene thereof. .

This lack of evidence cannot be cured by '

the fact that an “experienced and highly

qualified trial judge" observed the

evidence and excluded any reasonable é

hypothesis of innocence. The experience ‘

and qualifications of the trier of fact '

cannot supply factual deficiencies in the

evidence.

5. That the opinion of this Court

contravenes a ruling precedent of the

Supreme Court as stated in its opinion

in the case of Paxton v. State (1970),

_. Ind. __, 263 N.E.2d 636, which

ruling precedent is that a search incident

to an arrest would not be valid unless the

arresting officer had reason to suspect

that he was in danger or there was probable

cause to believe there was destructible

evidence relating to the crime within the

suspect's immediate control or on his

person.

That said ruling precedent was

contravened by the Court in this case

as shown by the following language

contained in the opinion of this Court:

The Appellant in this case

would have us interpret Chimel

and Paxton as limiting such search

to situations in which there is a

question of the safety of the

arresting officer. The plain

language in Chimel is quite

dear that there is an additional

and equal reason for such a search

and that is to "search for and

seize any evidence on the arrestee's

person in order to prevent its

concealment or destruction".

* & &

The search of the Appellant's

person in this case was constitutionally

permissible and the products of that

search were not constitutionally

excludable from evidence.

6. That the opinion of this Court

contravenes a ruling precedent of the Supreme |

Court as stated in its opinion in the case

of Alcorn v. State (1970) Ind. °

265 N.E.2 , Which ruling precedent is

that when evidence falls in the plain view

of an officer who has a right to be in the

position to have that view it is subject to

seizure and may be introduced in evidence.

That said ruling precedent was

contravened by the Court in this case as

shown by the following language contained in i

the opinion of this Court: r

BOER GER RF et EE, PO =~ ¢g

Por our purposes here we will

assume the arrest warrant for Bates

was a valid one and was sufficient

to authorize the presence of the

two police officers in this

particular room at this particular

time for the purpose of properly

executing such arrest warrant.

It was clear from the Court's opinion

that the police officers at the door of the

room where they could have arrested the

suspect could not see by a plain glance

the evidence in the room because there was

a thin partition or "windbreak" which

blocked their view. It was only after the

officers entered the doorway, came into the

room and looked around the partition that

the evidence came within their “plain view".

See pages 3, 4 and 6 of the Court's opinion

for the specific evidence relied upon by

the Court.

The Court then quoted Alcorn and

indicated that because the officers had not

uncovered that which was hidden, or pried

into places for things that were concealed

there was no search and ipso facto the

evidence simply fell into their view,

even though they looked and sought out the

evidence in a room where they were not

required to be when they arr«~ted the

suspect.

S/ Ralph R. Blume

Ralph R. Biume

344 Utility Building

Fort Wayne, Indiana 46802

219-423-3525

=

-

A

x

be

Attorney for Appellant-Defendant

i PEA en “ot a =

STATE OF INDIANA

CLERK OF THE SUPREME COURT

AND COURT OF APPEALS

BILLIE R. MCCULLOUGH, CLERK

217 STATE HOUSE

INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA 46204

TELEPHONE 633-5200

NO. 3-972A62

James F. Walker ws. State of Indiana

>

.

:

E

2

f

£

You are hereby notified that the :

Court of Appeals has on this day denied z

appellants petition for rehearing.

George B. Hoffman, Jr., C.J.

Ly eye

Please acknowledge receipt of this

notice in order that our records

may show that you have been notified

of this action.

WITNESS my name and the seal of

said Court, this 8th day of May, 1973.

(SEAL)

s/ Billie R. McCullough

eferk Supreme Court and

Court of Appeals

RSLS cl ee OSE

1) Se

IN THE :

SUPREME COURT OF INDIANA

JAMES F. WALKER,

Appellant (Defendant

below)

STATE OF INDIANA,

Appellee (Plaintiff

below)

ee ee ee ee ee ee

APPELLANT'S PETITION FOR TRANSFER

:

e

The Appellant petitions the Supreme

Court to transfer this cause to said Supreme i

Court for review and in support of his :

petition states the following pursuant to ‘

Appellate Rule 11(B)(1) and (2): :

1. The Indiana Court of Appeals g

decided this case with a :

written opinion filed on the :

7th day of March, 1973.

ae The decision of the Court of

Appeals was against this

appellant.

3 That a petition for rehearing

was filed with the Court of

Appeals in time on March a3¢

1973, and that a reharing was

denied on the 8th day of May,

1973.

4. That the decision of the Court

of Appeals is in error in that

it contravenes rulings precedent

of this Court as follows:

=e

+N he ee

The decision of the Indiana

Court of Appeals contravenes

a ruling precedent of this

Court as stated in its -

opinion in the case of Paxton

v. State (1970) Ind. ‘

-E.2d 636, in which this

Court held that a search

incident to an arrest would ;

be valid only if the arresting ©

officer had probable cause or ~

reason to suspect that he was ©

in personal danger or that he

he had probable cause to

believe there was

destructible evidence

relating to the crime for

which the arrest was made :

within the suspect's imme- f

diate control or on his

person. Contrary to this

precedent the Indiana Court

of Appeals has ruled that

an arrestee's person may be

searched at any time, regard-

less of whether or not the

arresting officer had

reasonable cause, to:

* © + Search for and

seize any evidence on

the arrestee's person

in order to prevent its

concealment or destruction.

Ty

The decision of the Indiana

Court of Appeals contravenes

a ruling precedent of this

Court as stated in its

Opinion in the case of

Alcorn v. State (1970)

—_.. “BG. Ss 265 N.E. 2d

413, in which this Court

held that when evidence .

falls in the plain view of

an officer, who is then in

a rightful and reasonable

position to have that view,

it is subject to seizure

and may be introduced in

evidence. Contrary to this

precedent the Indiana Court

of Appeals has ruled that any

view of evidence, whether

rightful, reasonable or

wrongful is valid unless the -

officers were actually required

to uncover that which was :

hidden or pry into places for

things that were concealed,

there is no "search" and

consequently no constitutional

bar to its admission into

evidence as being the fruit

of an illegal "search".

bs

S/ Ralph R. Blume

Ralph R. Blume

344 Utility Building

Fort Wayne, Ind. 4689.

219-423-3525

Attorney for Appellant-

Defendant

PARKER TANENE I Vo BE NAL YM RE *

t

J

STATE OF INDIANA ;

CLERK OF THE SUPREME COURT

AND COURT OF APPEALS |

BILLIE R. MCCULLOUGH, CLERK

217 STATE HOUSE

INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA 46204

TELEPHONE 633-5200

NO. 3-972A62

James F. Walker v. State

Toke cg ot

You are hereby notified that the Insiana (sic)

Supreme Court has on this day Denied i

Appellants Petition to Transfer without Y

Opinion. Hunter, Acting Cc. J. 8/30/73

Please acknowledge receipt of this

notice in order that our records

may show that you have been notified

of this action.

WITNESS my name and the seal of

said Court, this 3lst, day of

August, 1973.

(SEAL)

S/ Billie R. McCullough

Clerk Supreme Court an

Court of Appeals

panes a aA Raat ot od Re Nt we

STATE OF INDIANA ) IN THE ALLEN CIRCUIT COURT

)SSs:

COUNTY OF ALLEN ) CAUSE NO. 14651

STATE OF INDIANA

vs.

JAMES WALKER

SENTENCE

{After a finding of guilty] It is,

therefore, ordered, adjudged and decreed

by the Court that the defendant, James F.

Walker, is guilty of the offense of

Professional Gambling, as charged in the

affidavit, and that he be and he is here-

by sentenced to the Indiana State Farm

for a period of six (6) months, and that

he be fined in the penal sum of Five

Hundred ($500.00) Dollars, and that he

pay and satisfy the costs herein taxed.

s/ Jack P. Dunten

Special Judge

PPLE MLE LEO a ES

- Bok

STATE OF INDIANA ) IN THE ALLEN CIRCUIT COURT

)Ss: ;

COUNTY OF ALLEN ) CAUSE NO. 14651

STATE OF INDIANA

vs.

JAMES WALKER

DEFENDANT'S MOTION TO CORRECT ERRORS

Comes now the Defendant and files

herein his Motion to Correct Errors pur-

suant to Trial Rule 59 as follows:

1. The decision of the Court is not

supported by sufficient evidence upon all

necessary elements of the crime of "profes-

sional gambling" as charged in the Affidavit

filed herein, in the following particulars:

A. The State failed to prove by any

evidence of probative value that the

Defendant:

(1) Knowingly engaged in

gambling;

(2) Accepted or offered to

accept money or other

things of value risked in

gambling;

(3) Accepted money or other

things for profit;

(4) Affected the public by any

activity on his part;

{RARE DAL ME EE 0 Ned

(5) Owned, controlled, and main-

tained gambling lotteries

or numbers games or sold

chances therein.

B. The State failed to present evidence

in this case, one based solely on circumstan-

tial evidence, which was so conclusive in

character or which pointed so surely and

unerringly to the guilt of the Defendant

that every reasonable hypothesis of innocence

was excluded.

2. Uncorrected errors of law occurred

and were properly raised in the proceedings

at the trial, in that:

A. The Court admitted into evidence

certain monies, paper slips, a photograph

of a table with an adding machine, paper

slips, and other miscellaneous items on it

over the timely objection of the Defendant

that such evidence was obtained as the

result of an unconstitutional search

without a valid search warrant having

been first obtained.

B. Defendant was not released from

custody although he was arrested without

a warrant first having been obtained and

without probable cause.

STATEMENT OF FACTS AND GROUNDS

1. As to the specification of error

in Paragraphs 1A and 1B above, the facts

and grounds are:

The only evidence introduced by

the State during the course of the

trial involved a single isolated

incident in which a police officer

ac |

SEEN Steering ameptagengs

a BAe SRN TPT LE. OND

er to |

during an illegal search observed

the Defendant seated at a table and

one other person, a man standing near

a doorway, in a small storeroom

occupied by a table on which there

was an adding machine, some paper

money and a small quantity of paper

slips on which certain figures

had been written. This evidence is

Clearly not sufficient to prove

that Defendant was engaged in

professional gambling as alleged

in the Affidavit filed in this

cause; and is not so conclusive in

character nor does it so surely

and unerringly point to the guilt

of the Defendant as to exclude every

reasonable hypothesis of Defendant's

innocence in this pure case of

circumstantial evidence.

2. As the specification of error in

Paragraph 2A above, the facts and grounds

are:

During the course of the trial of

this cause to the Court, the Court

over the timely objection of the

Defendant, admitted into evidence

certain exhibits and a photograph

which the police officer had ob-

tained by a search without a valid

search warrant and without probable

cause contrary to the Defendant's

Fourth Amendment right under the

Federal Constitution and Article l,

section 1l rights under the Indiana

Constitution to be secure against

mreasonable searches and seizures.

3. As to the specification of error

aragraph 2B above, the facts and grounds

Defendant was arrested illegally

because there was no warrant issued

for his arrest, and there was no

probable cause for such arrest as

the evidence relied on for the arrest

was obtained as the result of an

illegal search.

WHEREFORE, Defendant prays that this

't grant Defendant's Motion to Correct

rs, enter an Order of Dismissal, and

r his immediate release from custody.

BLUME, WYNEKEN,LEVINE & CLIFFORD

By _

Ralph R. Blume

344 Utility Building

Fort Wayne, Indiana 46802

Phone: 219-423-3525

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.