Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Safir v. Blackwell

Supreme Court brief1973

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited Sot arvay's: 202% JR.6

MAR 21 1974

OCTOBER TERM, 1973.

No. 73-1416

TRANS WORLD AIRLINES, INC. AND

AMERICAN AIRLINES, INC..

Petitioners.

VS.

ANNE B. ZIPES, PATRICIA A. SANTINI, PAMELA J.

DAILING, DARLENE PRESTON, BONNIE PULSKAMP,

SUSAN PRASCIUNAS, MARSHA JIMERSON, PHYLLIS

STILL, ELISABETH KORENGOLD. CHERYL ROSSI,

AND AIR LINE STEWARDS anD STEWARDESSES

ASSOCIATION, LOCAL 550, TWU, AFL-CIO,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR

THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

JaMES A. VELDE

One First National Plaza

Chicago, Illinois 60670

Attorney for Petitioners

Of Counsel

JAMES H. DOUGLAS

LAURENCE A. CARTON

ELiLiot M. SCHNITZER

GARDNER, CARTON, DOUGLAS,

CHILGREN & WauD

Gunthorp-Warren Printing Company, Chicago e@ 346-1717

we re > oe

satiate het ial es ee

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

I III Sra cra ear uly Grp ahwce: Sik aren nose ee 2

Statutory Provisions Involved ................2e0005s 2

Or oc cs vav dk hee ew ek a vee es 3

Rensons Sor Granting Wet ... 2.5 2c ccc ce eeees -oe

I. The Decision Below Failed to Give Effect to a

Union's Representative Authority to Make a Settle-

ment in Litigation Under Title VII and Rule 23..... 9

A. Union Had Authority Under Federal Law to

Represent Conflicting Seniority Interests in

Negotiating Settlement. and Airlines Were

Required to Negotiate with Union .......... 10

B. Congressional Intention Misinterpreted in Denial

pT I, ks 8 oa oA ocean cs 16

(1) Use of Wrong Criterion of Interpretation.. 16

(2) Congressicnal Intention in Both Railway

Labor Act and Title VII Can Be Given

Effect Without Destroying Union Author-

ity to Make a Court Approved Settlement 17

C. Rule 23(a)(4) Does Not Forbid Union Repre-

sentation of Conflicting Interests ........... 24

D. Aijrline Reliance on Union Authority ........ 26

Il. The Decision Misinterprets Rule 23 in Holding Class

Actions Should Have Been Brought Under Subdivi-

Se Waka pda s ae eee re nase has 29

A. Clear Language of Rule 23 Shows Class Actions

Were Under Subdivision (b)(2) of Rule 23 .. 30

B. Authorities Are All Contrary to Court of

Appesis’ Interpretation .........0..00550- 33

C. Serious Effect on Decided Cases ............ 36

IN stort Sale ee a ee ee 37

Appendix:

A. Court of Appeals Opinion ................ Al

B. Excerpts from Railway Labor Act .......... Al5

C. Excerpts from Title VII-Equal Employment

Opportunity, Civil Rights Act of 1964 ...... Al7

D. Rule 23. Federal Rules of Civil Procedure .... A22

CASES

Alexander v. Gardner-Denver Co., . _ o eee

A, ae es Os NEE 4S ene c senha eee b wos se 22-3

ALSSA v. American Airlines, 455 F. 2d 101 (C. A. 7,

SE I ke kia es kei keel ehennewn ines i es 5

Arkansas Education Assn. v. Board of Education, 446

Fe ee es a Es Cras ca eee re eke aes 33

Brandt v. Owens-Illinois, Inc., F. Supp. , CON

Fed. Sec. L. Rep. © 94.355 (S. D. N. Y. 1974)...... 33

Cleveland Board of Education v. LaFleur... U.S. ...........,

ea. Oe ee re A CPD oro vis cae ew eeness 20n

Conley v. Gibson, 355 U. S. 41 (1957) .............. 15

Cox v. United States Gypsum Co.. 284 F. Supp. 74 (N. D.

ee re rs Pret: 22

Elgin. Joliet & Eastern Railway Co. v. Burley, 325 U. S.

711 (1945) reh. 327 U.S. 661 (1946) ........ 12, 15, 26

Federal Maritime Commission v. Seatrain Lines, 411 U. ».

Fay Pe te LEED cin ek te ccuens Anew s 17

Ford Motor Co. v. Huffman, 345 U. S. 330 (1953) ..... 13

Gerstle v. Continental Airlines, 50 F. R. D. 213 (D. Colo.

ac San te ee eae ew eae cane ea baw ee eee

Hansberry v. Lee, 311 U.S. 32 (1940) .............. 25

Humphrey v. Moore, 375 U. S. 335 (1964) .......... 13, 24

NO ET Seer IE ENING Pas ce aes

itl

International Chemical Workers Union v. Planters Mfg.

Co., 259 F. Supp. 365 (N. D. Miss. 1966) .......... 27n

International Union v. Hoosier Cardinal Corp., 383 U. S.

ee er re ee Pye rer ee 27n

Jenkins v. United Gas Corp.. 400 F. 2d 28 (C. A. 5, 1968) 33

Local 179 v. Federal Paper Stock Co., 461 F. 2d 849

Si. SUPE oe hae oe bak ete a ee ain oes 27n

Local 186 v. Minnesota Mining & Mfg. Co., 304 F. Supp.

eo ee 3 eee er ee rer eer 27n

Masterson v. Pergament, 203 F. 2d 315 (C. A. 6, 1953)... 25

Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank & Trust Co.. 339 U. S.

SE ors oo vos ea a ER Ee eee Rea 25

Mungin v. Fiorida East Coast Railway Co.. 318 F. Supp.

ee a PO xa ss cera nae aes 33

National Airlines v. International Assoc. of Machinists, 478

ee es a FD <8 eens pe een cage eae 15, 26

Phillips v. Martin Marietta Corp.. 400 U.S. 542 (1971).. 20n

Porter v. Warner Co., 328 U.S. 395 (1946) ........... 31n

Pyzynski v. New York Central, 421 F. 2d 854 (C. A. 2,

ely Da ee aw ee ON whe eens + eee 14, 26

Robinson v. Lorillard Corp.. 444 F. 2d 791 (C. A. 4,

EE ia sine as ob a cola aie Maan ae wlacion eee pax waar 33

Rodriguez v. Swank, 318 F. Supp. 289 (N. D. Ill. 1970)... 33

Rosen v. Public Service Electric & Gas Co., 409 F. 2d 775

ee a dpa oka saan ed wah 6 ace ae 27n

Sibbach v. Wilson & Co., 312 U.S. 1 (1941)

Silver v. New York Stock Exchange, 373 U. S. 341 (1963) 16

Sprogis v. United Air Lines, 444 F. 2d 1194 (C. A. 7,

SNe eas va aL cka ee car eee eee on yies 6n

iV

State of Alabama v. United States, 304 F. 2d 583 (C. A.

es et at a te Ee ee gene ue ae art 3in

Steele v. Louisville & N. R. Co., 323 U. S. 192 (1944). .11, 24

United Founders Life Ins. Co. v. Consumers Nat. Life Ins.

Co. SOF FH, 26 OG CA. Fy AGTD oc cccectecscces 19n

United States v. Borden Co., 308 U. S. 188 (1939) ..... 16

Van Gemert v. Boeing Co., 259 F. Supp. 125 (S. D. N. Y..

REE Rs ee rere eee rarer pre ne ay pe ene 33, 34

Virginian Railway Co. v. System Federation, 300 U. S.

Pe OD oc ks cia edn S evened iukiereese® 11, 28

STATUTES AND RULES

Civil Rights Act of 1964, Title VII, 42 U. S. C. § 2000e

Wak 5x55 bas cose 2, 3, 8-10, 16-19, 21-23, 28, 30

UT oo. ota tar tain Pere ULES 9 Ste ip Rarer 17

ie eae S CRN ca ee CO aes ae ae 17

I oe hack nara he eae wey CR Oe 17, 20n

eter e ea ara Ca ke iss We oak RS OG 4,18

ENS en eee aia aie Guide aa Se eo A OF 3, 27n

fy PAR er eer eS re ee 18, 20n, 31

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure:

ss lrg La bea ate age wee ara em ee 27n

ER ety aden ic Ll hate wig uw Ret 10, 23, 25

I sc ace ae a ew eae aie ie 24

clone age tale ya A er AA A 33

EE os co wae d weds uh eos eww ee 2, 6, 8, 29-37

Paes enema per ee eer 2, 6, 7, 8, 29-37

EE ALS. wind tay GW ya G6 wae ee aoa A: 29n

I a a rag ea Aa ana gt a ieee Ae ar 2

Judicial Code, § 1254(1), 28 U. S.C. § 1254(1)...... 2

Labor Management Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. § 185(b).. 27n

a

ae eee ee ee ee eee

Vv

National Labor Relations Act, 29 U. S.C. § 160(c)..... 18

Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C. § 151 et seq. ..........

Pee Ea ERE eee eee Sales 2, 3, 10-12, 15-18, 21, 27, 28

MISCELLANEOUS

42 American Jurisprudence 2d 745 (1969) ........... 31

Kaplan, 1966 Amendments of the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure (1), 81 Harv. L. Rev. 356 (1967)......... 34

Levine and Moritz, The Resolution of Pilot Seniority Prob-

lems in Airline Merger Cases, 24 CCH Labor L. Journal

Ee Ee: babies oe sa eU ene keh eesaeer bes crue 18

Moore, Federal Practice (1969)... ...... ccc cece cece 35

1 Restatement of Agency, 2d § 8, pp. 30-31 (1958) ..... 28

Rosenfield, Air Line Mergers: The Public Interest in Labor

Protective Provisions, 61 Ky. L. J. 429 (1973) ...... 18

Wright & Miller, Federal Practice and Procedure (1972)

ee URE PETE E SOUR ET Eee Eee 9, 27n, 31, 35

Note, Collateral Attack on the Binding Effect of Class

Action Judgments, 87 Harv. L. Rev. 589 (Jan. 1974)... 37

baal

bus Te Reet sete ed no aint ote

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1973.

No.

TRANS WORLD AIRLINES, INC. AND

AMERICAN AIRLINES, INC.,

Petitioners,

VS.

ANNE B. ZIPES, PATRICIA A. SANTINI, PAMELA J.

DAILING, DARLENE PRESTON, BONNIE PUL»KAMP,

SUSAN PRASCIUNAS, MARSHA JIMERSON, PHYLLIS

STILL, ELISABETH KORENGOLD, CHERYL ROSSI,

AND AIR LINE STEWARDS and STEWARDESSES

ASSOCIATION, LOCAL 550, TWU, AFL-CIO,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR

THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

Petitioners Trans World “Aictines, Inc. and American Air-

lines, Inc. respectfully r.ay that a writ of certiorari issue to

review the judgmeni of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Seventh Circuit entered December 21, 1973 in four con-

solidated cases numbered 72-1335, 1336, 1399, and 1503.

A separate petition for a writ of certiorari, s.eking review of

the same judgment, was filed in Case No. 73-1240 in this Court

on February 12, 1974, Air Line Stewards and Stewardesses

Association, Local 550, TWU, AFL-CIO, Petitioner v. Anne

B. Zipes et al., Respondents.

FEE WA LIL RTT ae Peart Bee orang

PRB AOE ERE INRA I

2

The Court of Appeals’ opinion, not yet reported, is in

Appendix A to this petition.

This Court's jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U. S. C.

$ 1254(1). This petition is being filed within 90 days after

December 21, 1973, the date of the Court of Appeals’ judg-

ment.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Did a labor union, which was a statutory representative

of employees with conflicting interests agd which brought class

actions on their behalf under Title VII of the 1964 Civil Rights

Act, have authority to negotiate a binding settlement of Title

VII claims and remedies with the employer subject to court

approval under Rule 23(e) of the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure?

2. Was a class action seeking remedies under Title VII

of the 1964 Civil Rights Act not within subdivision (b)(2)

but within subdivision (b)(3) of Rule 23 of the Federal Rules

of Civil Procedure?

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Excerpts from the Railway Labor Act (45 U. S. C. 151

et seq.) and Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 (42

U. S. C. 2000e et seg.) and the entire Rule 23 of the Federal

Rules of Civil Procedure are printed as Appendices B, C, and D.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The two petitioner airlines are air carriers subject to the

Railway Labor Act.* The union that has filed a separate

certiorari petition, Air Line Stewards and Stewardesses Asso-

ciation, Local 550, TWU, AFL-CIO, was and is the certified

bargaining representative under the Railway Labor Act for

thousands of stewardesses acting as flight attendants in the

employ of the airlines.

After Title VII of the 1964 Civil Rights Act** became ef-

fective in July 1965, almost 600 stewardesses of the two air-

_lines were terminated for pregnancy or related grounds pursu-

ant to an established practice (II Supp. App. 163, 289). In

June 1970 the union filed charges with the Equal Employment

Opportunity Commission under Title VII against both airlines

claiming the practice was unlawful sex discrimination. The

union’s charges named terminated stewardesses of both airlines

as representative class members (I Jd. 115-122), some of whom

had filed grievances under the labor agreements (II /d. 172,

242). The EEOC later notified the union it could institute court

actions under $ 706(e) of Title VII (1 /d. 135,136).

Two Federal District Court actions, one against each airline,

were filed in August 1970, alleging the pregnancy practice vio-

lated Title VII (I Supp. App. 1-11). The union and five

stewardesses were plaintiffs in the TWA complaint. and the

union and 12 stewardesses in the American Airlines’ complaint.

Each complaint alleged the union was “a labor union and a

representative of employees as defined in the Railway Labor

Act”. Each complaint stated it was brought “pursuant to Rule

*45 U. S.C. 151 et seq. § 201 of the act so provides. See

Appendix B, p. A15S, for excerpts from the act.

** 78 Stat. 253; 42 U. S. C. 2000e er seq. See Appendix C, p.

A17, for excerpts.

4

23(b)(2)” of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure on behalf

of all stewardesses, employed after the Civil Rights Act, who

had been or would become pregnant. Prayers for relief included

a declaration of rights, an injunction, a “mandatory injunction”

for “affirmative action” to eliminate the effects of the violations,

back pay, costs, and attorneys’ fees. The airlines’ answers (I /d.

12, 17) denied the class action allegations and alleged the

pregnancy practice was not unlawful sex discrimination under

the act; was based on economic, medical, and operational con-

siderations that were described in detail; and was a “bona fide

occupational qualification reasonably necessary to the normal

operation” of the airlines’ business under ¢ 703(e) of Title VII.

In October 1970 both airlines and the union amended their

labor agreements to eliminate pregnancy as a ground for ter-

mination and to allow maternity leave and subsequent return to

work (I Supp. App. 126-34).

In July 1971 the airlines and union officials entered into

settlement agreements covering the claims of the terminated

stewardesses (I Supp. App. 33, 37, 44, 48). The agree-

ments provided that terminated stewardesses would be placed

on a preferential hiring list to give them reemployment rights to

fill vacancies: they would retain their seniority on the date of

termination; and they would have maternity leave if pregnant on

reemployment (I Supp. App. 44, 48). The agreements provided

they would become effective only on final judgment approving

them and dismissing all other claims with prejudice.

On July 16, 1971 the District Court entered orders directing

a hearing to be held on the compromise on August 30; finding

the action “properly maintained as a class action”; defining the

class to consist of terminated stewardesses; and ordering a

notice to be given them (I Supp. App. 27). Notices explaining

the compromise, sent to 240 class members by American Air-

lines and 346 class members by TWA, stated that court ap-

proval of the compromise would bind all class members and bar

further action against the airlines (I Jd. _ )-2, 41-2, 52). In

PO AMA E OR A S O ao - a Sete AE

5

August 1971 the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

filed a motion for leave to intervene in opposition to the com-

promise, primarily on the ground of the inadequacy of the notice

(1 Supp. App. 38-9). On the District Court's denial of the

motion, the EEOC appealed to the Court of Appeals for the

Seventh Circuit, which stayed the compromise hearing pending

the appeal. In January 1972 the Court of Appeals affirmed the

District Court's denial of intervention, Air Lines Stewards and

Stewardesses Assuciation, Local 550 v. American Airlines, 455

F. 2d 101 (C. A. 7, 1972).

In February 1972 a new notice for a hearing in March, or-

dered by the District Court, was mailed to class members (I

Supp. App. 55, Il /d. 189,342). A terminated American stew-

ardess, Darlene Preston, wrote American class members, stating

her dissatisfaction with the compromise and asking them to re-

turn forms setting forth their views (I /d. 99,102; II Jd. 186).

She also filed a new class action in the same District Court,

charging the union with breach of its duty of fair representation

(I Id. 60). A terminated TWA stewardess, Anne B. Zipes,

wrote TWA class members that TWA had no defense to the

claims; stated her opposition to the compromise for not provid-

ing seniority since termination and also back pay; and requested

the return of a form to that effect (I /d. 104-5). She also, by

her attorneys, filed objections to the compromise and the union’s

representation of employed and terminated stewardesses, claim-

ing they had conflicting interests and that the class action should

be under subdivisions (b)(2) and (b)(3) of Rule 23 (I Id.

78-87). On March 6 a California attorney filed a notice on

behalf of six stewardesses who had filed a class action under

Title VII in July 1971 against American Airlines in the United

States District Court, Central District of California (I Jd. 73).

The notice claimed these stewardesses had “opted out” of the

class in these present cases.

Hearings on the settlement were held in the District Court

between March 10 and 17, 1972 (II Supp. App. 141-522).

ee ee eee Ses

6

Counsel for the union and other plaintiffs testified that, under

the settlement, all terminated stewardesses could return to

work whether they had voluntarily resigned, resigned by coercion,

or been terminated for violation of a rule prohibiting conceal-

ment of pregnancy; the return would be to the base of their

choice regardless of where terminated; they would retain their

termination seniority; the main concession to the airlines was the

dismissal of the claim for back pay: and without the settlement

it would take five years to litigate the cases to a conclusion be-

cause of the many different factual situations involved in de-

termining individual remedies (II /d. 155-7, 168-9). Of nine

stewardesses testifying in opposition to the compromise, some

indicated their unwillingness to return to work and all objected

that the compromise failed to include “full” seniority and back

pay to the time of rehiring (II /d. 183-191, 212-7, 226, 230).

The District Judge’s oral decision on March 17, 1972 (II

Supp. App. 500-3) noted the difference between termination on

pregnancy and on marriage, which had been involved in a prior

case he had decided*. After discussing the issues of seniority and

back pay, he concluded the compromise was “excellent” be-

cause it would return the stewardesses to work immediately. He

overruled all objections and denied the objectors’ motion to re-

align the class members and create a (b) (3) class in addition to

the (b)(2) class under Rule 23. Orders found the class actions

to be under Rule 23(b) (2); held plaintiffs to be “adequate repre-

sentatives” of the class of terminated stewardesses; approved the

compromise and held it binding on all class members (I Supp.

App. 88-9). The Preston action filed against the union in the

same court was dismissed (I Jd. 93).

On appeals by objecting stewardesses, the Court of Appeals’

opinion in December 1973 (Appendix A of this petition) re-

versed the orders approving the compromises in the two actions

* His holding that the rule terminating a stewardess on marriage

was unlawful sex discrimination was affirmed in Sprogis v. United Air

Lines, 444 F. 2d 1194 (C. A. 7, 1971).

Seo EER re ee RS AT CO hd FTA ARE TIS Oe ID Se ee oo Nee

7

against the airlines; held the union had no authority to repre-

sent the class of terminated stewardesses and settle their rights

under Title VII; ruled the actions should have been treated as

(b)(3) class actions to allow class members to exclude them-

selves from the class. The remanding provision of the opinion

(p. Al4) directed the District Court to permit one or more

named plaintiffs or class members to replace the union as the

representative of the class: to create sub-classes if it appeared

desirable for adequate representation: to send notices giving

class members the opportunity to exclude themseives from the

class; and to proceed with the litigation to a conclusion unless

a settlement was approved by the court. The judgment dismissing

the Preston action was reversed.

The respondents named in this petition, in addition to the

union, are stewardesses who filed objections in the District Court

and appealed to the Court of Appeals.

PAAR SURG Shaan Pots SB “

REASONS FOR GRANTING WRIT

There are unusually strong reasons for the exercise of this

Court's power of review on the two separate questions stated in

this petition. The questions in the petition of the stewardesses’

labor union are too narrow to present adequately the problems

created by the Court of Appeals’ decision.

The basic policy in favor of prompt disposition of litigation

has already been defeated in this case.* In July 1971 the airlines

‘* and the union negotjated a settlement, subject to court approval,

of the remedies of/al rminated stewardesses in class

actions under, e VII of the Civil Rights Act. The District

ed the settkement in March 1972. Appeals by

stewardesses, sustained in the Court of Appeals

in December 1 have resulted in a big setback that reverses

the District Court's approval of the settlement and remands the

litigation to its June 1971 status.

This is not because the settlement was found unfair. The

Court of Appeals, without discussing the fairness of the settle-

ment, nullified it on two grounds. First, that the union had no

authority to negotiate the settlement because the stewardesses

had conflicting seniority interests. Second, that the class action,

treated throughout the litigation as within subdivision (b) (2)

of Rule 23 of the Federal Rule of Civil Procedure, was within

subdivision (b)(3) so that class members were denied a right

to exclude themselves from the class. The decision on these

grounds, which are reflected above in the two “Questions Pre-

sented” and below in Points I and II, destroys a long established

function of labor unions and ignores the rationale of Rule 23,

as this petition demonstrates. The decision will greatly prolong

this litigation. It will produce confusion and delay in much

Title VII and other federal litigation, particularly in administer-

ing “the big case”.

9

The first question, whether a labor union has authority to

negotiate a class action settlement in Title VII cases subject to

court approval, is “an important question of federal law which

has not been, but should be. settled by this court.” (Rule 19(b)

of this Court. third clause).

The second question, involving the proper classification of

class actions and their binding effect, is of equal importance for

decision by this Court, since it affects class actions in all kinds

of federal litigation. not merely under Title VII. The Court of

Appeals’ decision on this second question conflicts with de-

cisions of Courts of Appeals of the Fourth, Fifth, and Eighth

Circuits* (Rule 19(b). first clause).

I.

THE DECISION BELOW FAILED TO GIVE EFFECT TO A

UNION’S REPRESENTATIVE AUTHORITY TO MAKE A

SETTLEMENT IN LITIGATION UNDER TITLE VII AND

RULE 23

The Court of Appeals’ opinion applies a conclusive presump-

tion. The conflicting seniority interests among stewardesses are

held to destroy the union’s authority to make a binding settle-

ment though approved by the District Court. The starting point

of the court's reasoning is the union attorney's admission that

the seniority granted terminated stewardesses in a settlement

would be detrimental to the seniority of the employed stew-

ardesses (p. A7). The defect in the union’s power is so extreme

that it is held per se unlawful. The factual adequacy of the

union’s authority was expressly adjudicated when the settlement

and the union’s authority were approved after a contested hearing

in the District Court.** The Court of Appeals thus conclusively

* See below, p. 33. _

** The District Court’s adjudication of the adequacy of a class

representative under Rule 23 is a matter of judicial discretion, re-

viewable only for abuse. 7 Wright & Miller, Federal Practice and

Procedure, § 1765 at 623.

10

presumed that the union’s authority was invalid as a matter of

law even though seniority was involved in only one of the

issues in the litigation.

The Court of Appeals concedes that the union, as a certified

collective bargaining representative under the Railway Labor

Act, may represent antagonistic interests in making binding

settlements under many decisions of this Court (pp. A8-10). But

this federal substantive law is held not to apply. The employee's

right to redress under Title VII of the 1964 Civil Rights Act

is said to be “individual” (/d.). Since that would prevent any

settlement of Title VII remedies on a collective basis, it is

inconsistent with the court’s remanding direction that a class

representative chosen by the District Court may make an ap-

propriate settlement (p. Al4). Also, the union’s “adequacy

as a representative party” and its “unique authority to com-

promise the rights of its members” are said not to exist “in

a Class suit when such rights do not arise out of collective

bargaining agreements” (p. All). The union’s disqualification

is thus based on the nature of Title VII remedies and Rule 23

of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. The court below thus

refused, in a class action under Title VII, to apply the basic

provisions of federal law that authorize a union to represent

conflicting seniority interests and favor the settlement of em-

ployment disputes.

A. Union Had Authority Under Federal Law to Represent

Conflicting Seniority Interests in Negotiating Settlement,

and Airlines Were Required to Negotiate with Union

The Court of Appeals’ opinion greatly underestimates the

purposes, meaning, and effect of Railway Labor Act provisions

concerning the settlement of disputes and the legal relationships

among the union, employees, and the carrier.*

* See Appendix B, pp. A15-6, for excerpts from Railway Labor

Act.

“ a

Sek eT aaa wen

11

The Railway Labor Act's express provisions require air car-

riers and union representatives to negotiate and encourage them

to make binding settlements of disputes despite conflicting

interests among employees. The act's first operative provision

requires carriers and employees to “exert every reasonable

effort” to make agreements “concerning rates of pay. rules, and

working conditions” and to “settle all disputes. whether aris-

ing out of the application of such agreements or otherwise”

(§ 2 First, 45 U. S. C. 152 [emphasis added]). Disputes are

required to be considered, not in individual dealings with em-

ployees, but “in conference between representatives designated

and authorized so to confer . . . by the carrier or carriers and

by the employees thereof interested in the dispute” ($§ 2 Sec-

ond). The employees’ “representative” must be chosen by the

“majority” of the “craft or class of employees” ($ 2 Fourth).

The specific meaning of these general! provisions is indicated

by illustrative decisions in which this Court has emphasized the

extremely strong public policy in favor of union authority to

negotiate the settlement of controversies involving conflicting

interests of employees.

The statutory direction to the carrier to “treat with the rep-

resentative so certified as the representative of the craft or

class” ($ 2, Ninth) requires the carrier not merely to meet with

the union but “to make reasonable efforts to compose differences

—in short, to enter into a negotiation for the settlement of labor

disputes such as is contemplated by § 2, First”. Virginian Rail-

way Co. v. System Federation No. 40, 300 U. S. 515, 548

(1937).

The union is not only authorized, but required, to represent

craft or class members with conflicting interests and whether

or not they are union members. The leading case of Steele v.

L. & N. R. Co., 323 U. S. 192 (1944), found the word “rep-

resentative” in the act “plainly implies that the representative

is to act on behalf of all the employees which, by virtue of the

statute, it undertakes to represent” (p. 199). $2 Second of

the act, requiring carriers to bargain with the chosen repre-

De AEL IAEA SP A UE RP EE AO ne SM EMER SE CL

12

sentative, “operates to exclude any other from representing a

craft” (p. 200) and the designated representative is “responsi-

ble” for “those who are not members of the represented organi-

zation, as well as those who are members” (p. 201). This

Court went so far in Steele as to say that Congress in the

Railway Labor Act “has seen fit to clothe the bargaining repre-

sentative with powers comparable to those possessed by a legis-

lative body both to create and restrict the rights of those whom

it represents” (p. 202). A “corresponding duty” was also held

to exist. The opinion said that Congress had intended to im-

pose on the representative “the duty to exercise fairly the power

conferred upon it in behalf of all those for whom it acts, without

hostile discrimination against them”. But this duty, it was said,

does not bar the representative “from making contracts which

may have unfavorable effects on some of the members of the

craft represented” (p. 203).

A union’s authority to make a binding settlement of ten

employees’ back pay claims, though limited in a first opinion

as involving mere “grievances”, was held sustainable absent

contrary proof in a second opinion on rehearing, Elgin, Joliet

and Eastern Ry. Co. v. Burley, 325 U. S. 711 (1945) and 327

U. S. 661 (1946). The first opinion indicated a union had

exclusive authority to make a binding settlement of a “major”

dispute but not a “minor” one, i.e., a grievance (325 U. S.

724-5). Justice Frankfurter’s dissent for four Justices contended

the union had binding authority over grievance settlements.

On rehearing, granted after amicus briefs stated that settled

labor practice was invalidated by the first opinion, the second

majority opinion emphasized that the Railway Labor Act “im-

poses correlative affirmative duties upon the carrier, the collec-

tive agent and the aggrieved employee to make every reasonable

effort to settle the dispute”; and said it would be inconsistent

for the act to require the carrier and the union to negotiate

concerning a settlement “while withholding power from them

to make that settlement effective finally as against the employee”

(327 U. S. 665). The case was remanded for factual deter-

= = DSLR ETS SEER RE AN - eens

13

mination of the employees’ contentions that the union lacked

authority to represent them.

The settlement of conflicting seniority interests by a union,

the very matter here held to be beyond the union’s authority in

a class action under Title VII, was generally sustained in Ford

Motor Co. Vv. Huffman, 345 U. S. 330 (1953). Citing Steele,

the opinion explained that the union had a “statutory obligation

to represent all members of the appropriate unit” (p. 337)

and stressed the likelihood of seniority conflicts among repre-

sented employees (pp. 338-9):

“Inevitably differences arise in the manner and degree to

which the terms of any negotiated agreement affect indi-

vidual employees and classes of employees . . . The com-

plete satisfaction of all who are represented is hardly to

be expected . . . Differences in wages, hours and condi-

tions of 2mployment reflect countless variables. Seniority

rules governing promotions, transfers, lay-offs and similar

matters may, in the first instance, revolve around length

of competent service. Variations acceptable in the dis-

cretion of bargaining representatives, however, may well

include differences . . .”

Another union settlement of a dispute over conflicting senior-

ity interests was sustained in Humphrey v. Moore, 375 U. S.

335 (1964), where one union representing the employees of

two merged companies entered into an agreement fixing the

relative seniority rights of the two employee groups. A state

court held the agreement invalid because of “antagonistic inter-

ests of two sets of employees represented by the same union

advocate” (p. 341). Reversing, this Court said that the duty of

fair representation was not breached when the union had taken

“a good faith position contrary to that of some individuals whom

it represents” and “in supporting the position of one group of

employees against that of another” (p. 349). The opinion ex-

plained the public interest in the union’s negotiating authority

despite the conflicts between different groups of employees:

“Just as a union must be free to sift out wholly frivolous

grievances which would only clog the grievance process,

fae INE LEAN wRE Bt ED SRE

14

sO it must be free to take a position on the not so frivo-

lous disputes. Nor should it be neutralized when the

issue is chiefly between two sets of employees. Conflict

between employees represented by the same union is a

recurring fact. To remove or gag the union in these cases

would surely weaken the collective bargaining and griev-

ance processes” (pp. 349-50) (Emphasis added).

Two recent Court of Appeals’ decisions in the Second and

Fifth Circuits illustrate how far the Court of Appeals in the

present case has failed to give effect to a union’s authority as

an employee's representative.

Pyzynski v. New York Central Railroad Company, 421 F.

2d 854 (C. A. 2, 1970), emphasized the strong public policy

in favor of a union’s power to settle even One employee's claim.

The employee had been denied reemployment after an injury;

had authorized the union to file a grievance proceeding, which

he lost; and the union and the employer then negotiated a

settlement for his return to work without back pay. He sued

for back pay in a District Court, denying the union’s authority

to settle. The trial court's decision for him was reversed. The

Court of Appeals’ opinion, written 25 years after the Burley

case, explained how this Court's decisions in the intervening

years had indicated the strong reasons why a union has broad

authority to represent an employee's individual interests:

“At the time the Burley decisions were written the duty

of fair representation had only recently been developed

in Steele v. Louisville & N. R. R. Co., 323 U. S. 192

(1944) ... It has since been recognized that the duty

of the collective representative to represent fairly all those

for whom it acts is broadly applicable to all facets of

the employee’s relationship with his collective agent includ-

ing particularly the settlement of grievances [citing cases].

This duty is enforceable in the federal courts . . . and

provides a more effective means of protecting the employee

against arbitrary abuses of settlement procedures than

those envisaged in the Burley case . . . It is more realistic

to require the collective agent to represent an employee's

individual interests in good faith than to assume that the

ae Re NIE: SV SE eae Re SO 2

]

a

employee, if left in control of his grievance, can act in his

own behalf to safeguard his rights.” (pp. 862-3)

In National Airlines Vv. International Association of Machinists,

478 F. 2d 1062 (C. A. 5, 1973), an airline and a union

entered into an agreement covering almost 1000 employees

“entitled to reinstatement and, or back pay” because of the air-

line’s illegal discharges after a wildcat strike. A number of

employees, dissatisfied because their interim earnings were de-

ducted from a back pay allowance, contended their collective

representative had “no authority to reso've and settle individual

claims for back pay”. The Court of Appeals rejected this con-

tention on two grounds. The union had “exclusive authority”

to bind objecting employees because the back pay issue was

“an integral part” of the discharge following the wildcat strike,

which the Court characterized as “a major dispute” (p. 1065).

And the employees had “allowed the company and the union to

negotiate for nearly a year without registering any objections to

being bound by whatever agreement was finally reached” (p.

1066) so that the second Burley opinion supported the binding

effect of the settlement.

The federal substantive law, created by the Railway Labor

Act and these court decisions, has a pervasive effect on the re-

lationships among carriers, employees, and the employees’ statu-

tory representative. Under that law these relationships are a

“continuous process”, involving “day-to-day adjustments in the

contract and other working rules . . . and the protection of

employee rights already secured by contract”. Conley v. Gibson,

355 U. S. 41, 46 (1957). The policies favoring the union’s

representation of conflicting interests and the settlement of dis-

putes are so strong that they should be held to have been

reversed by Congress only if required by express legislation

declaratory of a much stronger contrary public purpose.

ee 24 eet eee

16

B. Congressional Intention Misinterpreted in Denial

of Union Authority

(1) Use of Wrong Criterion of Interpretation

in denying the union’s Railway Labor Act authority to make

a court-approved settlement in this case, the Court of Appeals

looks to Title VII to see if it adopts the provisions of the earlier

statute. Title VII is said not to “»ecessarily recognize” a union's

power of exclusive representation, and “policy reasons” of Title

VII are said not to “militate” in favor of the same representa-

tive status for the union under Title VII that it has under the

Railway Labor Act (p. Al0). The Court of Appeals treats

Title VII as repealing the earlier statutory authority to the ex-

tent Congress did not expressly incorporate the prior law in

Title VII. The reverse reasoning process, apparently overlooked

by the Court of Appeals, is required by basic decisions of this

Court.

The right method, which is to see whether the new statute

necessarily forbids what the earlier statute permits or requires,

was explained in Chief Justice Hughes’ much quoted statement

in United States v. Borden Co., 308 U. S. 188, 198 (1939).

The “cardinal principle” is that “repeals by implication are not

favored”. When there are two acts on the same subject, “the rule

is to give effect to both if possible”. The Congressional intention

to repeal “must be clear and manifest”.* As a result, the first

inquiry is whether the provisions of both acts can be given

effect rather than whether the later repeals the earlier. Accord-

ingly Silver v. New York Stock Exchange, 373 U.S. 341 (1963),

reversed a Court of Appeals’ holding that conduct forbidden by

the Sherman Act was exempted from it by the 1934 Securities

Exchange Act. There being no express exemption in the later

statute, the opinion of Justice Goldberg noted that “any re-

* Justice Story was quoted to the effect that there must be “a

positive repugnancy between provisions of the new law and those

of the old; and even then the old law is repealed by implication only

pro tanto to the extent of the repugnancy” 308 U. S. at 199.

17

pealer of the antitrust laws must be discerned as a matter of

implication”. “Repeal”, he said, “is to be regarded as implied

only if necessary to make the Securities Exchange Act work,

and even then only to the minimum extent necessary. This is the

guiding principle to reconciliation of the two statutory schemes”

(p. 357). See also Federal Maritime Commission v. Seatrain

Lines, 411 U. S. 726, 36 L. Ed. 2d 620, 626-7 (1973).

(2) Congressional Intention in Both Railway Labor Act and Title

VII Can Be Given Effect Without Destroying Union Authority

to Make a Court Approved Settlement

The first relevant inquiry on the relationship of the Railway

Labor Act to Title VII, whether both can be given effect. is

readily answered. A union's authority under the Railway Labor

Act to represent terminated stewardesses. despite the conflicting

seniority interests of employed stewardesses, will further the pur-

poses and aid the administration of Title VII. If this were not

true, as the Court of Appeals apparently assumed, the next

question would be whether Congress intended in Title VII to

repeal Railway Labor Act provisions that granted such authority.

Title VII would have such an effect only if “necessary” to make

Title VII “work”. It is clear that Congress did not intend such

a repeal.

Title VII is a labor relations act. It recognizes the wide scope

of a union’s representation authority by defining it as an organ-

ization existing “for the purpose. in whole or in part, of dealing

with employers concerning grievances. labor disputes. wages,

rates of pay. hours, or other terms or conditions of employment”

($ 701[d]). The racial, sex, or ethnic discrimination forbidden

by the act is outlawed by calling it an “unfair employment

practice”. a term used repeatedly in the act ($ 703).* The

two substantive liability issues in Title VII cases [i.e.. as here,

whether the airlines’ pregnancy practice was sex discrimination

under § 703(a) and not “a bona fide occupational qualification

* Quoted in Appendix C. p. A17. i a are

Ne a tet es ee.

reasonably necessary to the normal operation” of the airlines

under § 703(e)] affected the entire “craft or class” of all the

thousands of airline stewardesses and were suitable for union-

management consideration and settlement. Reinstatement, sen-

iority, and wages are rights that are remedied by the relief

provisions in § 706(g) of Title VII. which authorizes the

District Court to enjoin an unlawful employment practice and

order “such affirmative action as may be appropriate, which may

include reinstatement or hiring of employees. with or without

back pay.” The source of these rights is the collective bargain-

ing agreement in the case of carriers subject to the Railway

Labor Act. The s 706(g) remedies were copied* by Congress

from the relief provisions of ¢ 10(c) of the National Labor

Relations Act (29 U. S. C. 160(c)).

It seems likely, if not certain, that Congress did not intend to

forbid unions, exercising their regular authority despite conflict-

ing interests, to negotiate with carriers and settle Title VII claims

of unlawful employment practices involving thousands or hun-

dreds of employees. A basic provision of the Railway Labor Act

directs unions and carriers to settle all disputes ($ 2 First, 45

U. S. C. 152). Unions and their attorneys are experts in the

often complicated rights to reinstatement, seniority,** and back

pay which, whether involved in Title VII actions or otherwise,

have their origin in collective bargaining contracts. Congress

would not lightly discard the use of such a large supply of expert

knowledge and skill that would be beneficial in enforcing and

administering the provisions of Title VII. The purposes of

Title VII will be furthered if the union's statutory authority and and

* See interpretative memorandum introduced by Senator Joseph

Clark, 110 Cong. Rec. 7214 (1964).

** Union officials in the airline industry are particularly cxperi-

enced in dealing with seniority problems. which often present great

difficulties in airline mergers. See: Rosenfield, Air Line Mergers: The

Public Interest in Labor Protective Provisions, 61 Ky. L. J. 429

(1973); Levine and Moritz. The Resolution of Pilot Seniority Prob-

lems in Airline Merger Cases. 24 CCH Labor L. Journal 617

(1973).

19

the legal principles that favor the settlement of disputes are

applied in Title VII litigation. The principles of the Steele,

Humphrey, and other cases noted above* can be applied easily

in Title VII actions by permitting a union to make a binding

settlement despite the inevitable conflicts in its statutory rep-

resentation.

The safeguards against favoritism by the union to one em-

ployee group over another include. in addition to the union's

liability for breach of its duty of fair representation, court scrut-

ing of any settlement since court approval is required when, as

here, the Title VII action is a class action under Rule 23.

The benefits to be derived from the union's exercise of its

representative powers in a Title VII action are illustrated by

the course of these cases. Stewardesses complained to the union

early in 1970 that the airlines’ pregnancy practice was unlawful

sex discrimination. The union, after filing charges with the

EEOC and obtaining its permission, filed suit in August. In

October it negotiated an amendment of the collective bargain-

ing agreement to eliminate pregnancy as a ground for termina-

tion. By July 1971 the union and the airlines had agreed to a

settlement of the rights of almost 600 terminated stewardesses.

The settlement obtained their prompt return to work with ter-

mination seniority but without back pay.** The complex litiga-

tion that was avoided .by this settlement was testified to at the

hearing in the trial court (II Supp. App. 169). Many legal and

factual uncertainties about the probable recoveries were involved

in the settlement.***

*Pp. 11-5.

** On the first appeal in these cases the Court of Appeals em-

phasized the policy in favor of the settlement of Title VII cases.

455 F. 2d at 109. This is not mentioned in the second opinion.

*** The District Court’s approval of the merits of the settlement

under Rule 23(e). reversible only for “a clear showing . . . of an

abuse of discretion” [United Founders Life Ins. Co. v. Consumers

Nat. Life Ins. Co., 447 F. 2d 647, 655 (C. A. 7, 1971)] and not

disturbed by the Court of Appeals. depended on the uncertainties

if the litigation were contested (/d.). Here there was serious

20

Strong practical reasons make it unlikely that Congress in-

tended in Title VII to exclude unions from the negotiation of

remedies, at least in class actions. If all disputes under the act

must be litigated individually to completion without union

participation, proceedings under the act will be certain to be

complicated and protracted. In class actions involving the

entire “craft or class”, ordinary representatives under Rule

23(a)(4) would be unable to act for conflicting interests. Sub-

classes would have to be provided with the probability that

uncertainty that the stewardesses, who fly for only “a very short

period of time” (II Supp. App. 168), would ever obtain any

remedy, at least comparable to the certainty of prompt reinstate-

ment provided by the settlement in July 1971. Recovery would be

denied completely unless the airlines’ pregnancy practice were found

to be unlawful “sex discrimination” within the intention of Congress

in § 703(a) of Title VII; rules governing the pregnancy of state em-

ployees were recently held to violate substantive due process rather

than the prohibition of sex discrimination in the Equal Protection

Clause, Cleveland Board of Education v. LaFleur, .... U.S. .....

42 U. S. L. W. 4189 (Jan. 1974); and this Court’s only interpreta-

tion of the sex provision of § 703(a), requiring “persons of like quali-

fications” to be given the same employment opportunities irrespective

of sex, would not make the pregnancy practice unlawful, Phillips v.

Martin Marietta Corp., 400 U. S. 542 (1971). If the pregnancy

practice were sex discrimination under $703(a), it was still not un-

lawful if it embodied a “bona fide occupational qualification rea-

sonably necessary” to airline operation; the economic, medical, and

operational considerations for the airlines’ pregnancy practice were

alleged in the answers (I Supp. App. 13-4, 18-9). The legislative

history does not support a broad interpretation of the sex discrimina-

tion provisions of Title VIT because sex discrimination was hurriedly

inserted in Title VII on the floor of Congress without committec

hearings or reports. 110 Cong. Rec. 2577, 2581, 2584, 2720

(1964). The EEOC’s guidelines on sex discrimination did not origi-

nally (1965) treat the airlines’ pregnancy practice as sex discrimina-

tion (30 Fed. Reg. 14926) and in fact did not set forth a policy

relating to pregnancy until March 31, 1972 (37 Fed. Reg. 6835),

which was after the approval of the settlement in the trial court in

this litigation. There were many doubts about the likelihood of re-

covery of the several kinds of affirmative relief under $ 706(g) by

many stewardesses because of their termination for causes other

than claimed sex discrimination: because of the discretion granted the

trial court to order reinstatement “with or without back pay”; because

of the deduction from back pay of “interim . . . amounts earnable

with reasonable diligence”; and because of limitations provisions (II

Supp. App. 154).

a

21

representatives would be chosen by District Court judges, as

the remanding order of the Court of Appeals in this case would

require. One unlawful employment practice by one employer

affecting cae large group of employees would produce many

cases filed in many District Courts with many different results.

The Court of Appeals would supplant the statutory representa-

tive elected by a majority of the craft with a representative whose

choice depends on who happens to file a class action. Congress

would not have intended such a result, which its prior statutes

prevent, without careful provision for it in Title VII.

It is true that some provisions of the Railway Labor Act are

probably affected by the provision of § 703(c) of Title VII

making it an unlawful employment practice for a union to

engage in specified acts of race, sex, etc. discrimination. The

union's position when it is charged with unlawful discrimina-

tion would be inconsistent with its duty to represent the em-

ployees making the charges. Then, under the principle of the

Silver case noted above.* the statutory provision for the union’s

authority would be held to have been impliedly repealed “to the

minimum extent necessary” to make § 703(c) “work”. That is

not the situation here where the union filed charges against the

carriers with the EEOC and then filed the two class actions

against the carriers.

The Court of Appeals’ opinion (p. Al3), attempting to show

the individuality of the employee's remedies, exaggerates the

significance of a*statement in the opinion on the first appeal,

which was an answer to an EEOC contention. The EEOC

claimed a right to intervene because § 706(a) requires it to seek

to eliminate an alleged discriminatory practice by conciliation.

The first opinion said this EEOC interest was insufficient to

justify intervention because the employee was the “real party in

interest in conciliation endeavors” and was completely free “to

accept or reject the proposals of union or employer as well as the

position taken by the Commission”. The Congressional provi-

°F. ©

Pee EE BL we

SONA SP, Dy MRO OK

oe)

sion for administrative conciliation indicates no intention about

exclusion of the union from a settlement of a later District

Court proceeding. And the reference to a union was to a fe-

spondent charged with an unlawful employment practice, not

a union negotiating for an employee. The Cox case cited in the

earlier opinion (445 F. 2d at 106 n. 10) so indicates. *

There is thus no basis in Congressional intention for the

Court of Appeals’ refusal to give effect to a union’s representa-

tive authority in seeking class action remedies for unlawful dis-

crimination under Title VII. The two basic statutes involved,

the Railway Labor Act and Title VII, did not create exclusive

legal domains. They can be well administered together. If there

is any conflict between the two as the Court of Appeals loosely

indicated, the provisions of Title VII should yield to the older and

more comprehensive federal labor laws enacted by Congress and

developed by this Court. This is because, at least with respect

to the union’s authority to sue and participate in litigation as a

representative of employees with conflicting interests, Congress

did not intend to repeal the federal law that permits and even

requires such representation.

Alexander v. Gardner-Denver Co., ..... U. S. ......, 42

U.S. L. W. 4214 (decided February 19, 1974, while this cer-

tiorari petition was being written) does not hold that Congress

had a contrary intention. There a single employee. claiming

wrongful discharge because of racial discrimination, had been

unsuccessful in an arbitration proceeding under a labor contract.

He was held not to have waived his remedy under Title VII. In

the present case the employees urged the union to take their

claims to arbitration in early 1970 (II Supp. App. 152). That

was not done. The union persuaded them to file a charge with the

* Cox v. United States Gypsum Co., 284 F. Supp. 74 (N. D. Ind.

1968). aff'd 409 F. 2d 289 (C. A. 7, 1969), rejected an em-

ployer’s contention, based on ambiguous statutory language, that its

agreement to an EEOC conciliation proposal thereby barred em-

ployees from a District Court suit under § 706(g) against both

the employer and the union.

a > eae

a

EEOC, and the Title VII class actions followed. The present

litigation involves, not the effect of labor law remedies outside

Title VII as in the Alexander case, but the capacity of a

federal statutory representative to exercise his function in the

prosecution of District Court actions authorized by § 706(e)

and (g) of Title VII.

Another contrast with the Alexander case is that the present

case involves a class action on behalf of almost 600 terminated

stewardesses brought under Rule 23 of the Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure. It seems certain that the opinion in the Alex-

ander case, in emphasizing the individuality of an employee’s

rights under Title VII, was not intended to forbid the prosecution

of remedies in class actions under Rule 23. The Courts of

Appeals have noted that a class action is a particularly appro-

priate procedure in prosecuting remedies under Title VII.*

The opinion of the Court of Appeals in the present action permits

the class action to continue and even indicates that the affirma-

tive remedies of reinstatement, seniority, and back pay could

be disposed of by a settlement (p. Al4). If the opinion

in the Alexander case does raise a question about the propriety

of a class action or the settlement of class action claims under

Rule 23(e). it is particularly important that this Court review

the present cases in order to clarify the law in a very important

area.

A footnote in the Alexander opinion** criticizes union power

in stating that arbitration is a less appropriate forum for Title

VII issues than the Federal Courts. These remarks do not apply

to class actions in the District Court under Rule 23 where

objecting employees are protected by the necessity of court ap-

proval of the settlement. Further, it is significant that Congress

in Title VII, while expressly making a union liable for unlaw-

ful discrimination, did not expressly forbid it in Title VII actions

* “* Oatis Vv. ‘Crown Zellerbach Corp., 398 F. 2d 496, 498 (C. A.

5, 1968); Bowe v. Colgate-Palmolive Co., 416 F. 2d 711, 719

(C. A. 7, 1969).

** 42 U.S. L. W. 4220 n. 19.

Dt Sit RA AREAS PEALE SO SS ART CREE. PI PIOELL AN Teale - . No tet em re

24

to exercise its statutory powers and duties as the representative

of the majority of the craft of employees.

C. Rule 23(a)(4) Does Not Forbid Union Representation of

Conflicting Interests

The Court of Appeals’ opinion overlooked an important

distinction in the language of Rule 23(a)(4). The court held

that the union’s representation of conflicting seniority interests

violated the requirement of subdivision (a)(4) that “the

representative parties will effectively and adequately protect the

interests of the class’ (quoted p. A22. emphasis added). This

provision does not specify a conflict of interests as a disquali-

fication. A representative may act for a class with conflicting

interests if he will adequately protect class interests. Congress

has made the union a special statutory protector of the conflicting

interests of union members with a substantive duty of fair

representation of such interests, as held by Steele, Humphrey

and other cases discussed above.* This special union representa-

tion satisfies the criterion of subdivision (a) (4). contrary to the

Court of Appeals’ ruling, unless there is proof of ineffective or

inadequate class protection; and here, as explained above,** the

District Court adjudicated the union’s effectiveness and adequacy

as a representative.

This interpretation of Rule 23 is supported by additional con-

siderations. When the Court of Appeals stated (p. All) that

the union’s adequacy as a class suit representative must be

“tested and judged in the ordinary way”, the court held that

subdivision (a)(4) had overridden the federal substantive law

that created the union’s regular role. Under the Rules Enabling

Act [48 Stat. 1064 (1934); 28 U. S. C. 2072] a procedural

provision could not validly modify substantive federal law.

25

should be interpreted to sustain its validity. Further, in resorting

to a class action under Rule 23, the union submitted itself to

judicial supervision of its performance as a representative, includ-

ing the scrutiny of any settlement by reason of the requirement

of court approval in subdivision (e). This, combined with the

union’s liability for breach of its substantive duty of fair repre-

sentation, provides double assurance that the union “will effec-

tively and adequately protect the interests of the class”.

The Court of Appeals’ opinion (p. A8) raises a possible viola-

tion of procedural due process, citing Hansberry v. Lee, 31}

U. S. 32. 45 (1940), for a statement “that a judgment in a

class action can only bind absent class members where the

representative's interests coincide with those of the balance of

the class”. The basic due process protections of a notice* and a

hearing were accorded the objectors in the present cases (I

Supp. App. 55). Their attorneys (other than the union's) ap-

peared at and participated fully in the hearings held in March

1972 (II Jd. 141). In Masterson v. Pergament, 203 F. 2d 315,

330 (C. A. 6, 1953), cert. den. 346 U. S. 832, rejecting con-

tentions that a settlement under former Rule 23(c) was invalid

because of inadequate notice and the dual role of lawyers repre-

senting class members. the Court of Appeals explained that the

District Judge. in granting his approval, was “a third party to

the compromise” and that the objection of class members to

inadequate representation at the hearing could not be sustained.

Thus, in the present case, if a due process question is raised

by the statutory agent's representation of conflicting employee

interests. the employees are protected by the two safeguards of

the union’s duty of fair representation and judicial review of

the representation.

* On the first appeal the Court of Appeals’ opinion, after review-

ing the provisions of the July 1971 notice, later duplicated in the

February 1972 notice, concluded (455 F. 2d at 108) that it “suf-

ficiently conveyed the required information,” citing Mullane v. Cen-

tral Hanover Bank & Trust Co., 339 U. S. 306 (1950).

CONNER RENN RL RRC SIT RON RE Lk

26

D. Airline Reliance on Union Authority

The airlines negotiated with the union and made a binding

settlement in reliance on representations that the union had

authority to act. The representations were made by the air-

lines’ opponents in the litigation, the union and the stewardesses

for whom it acted. The Court of Appeals, after stating that in

some cases class members could so clearly acquiesce in their

union’s efforts that “they would be estopped” from excluding

themselves from a settlement, concluded, “Nothing revealed in

this record puts these cases in that posture”.* This conclusion

is based on a faulty analysis of the conduct by the union and its

members in dealing with the carriers.

The carriers’ reliance on representations of union settlement

authority has been held to be an important factor in consider-

ing union authority that might otherwise be in doubt. In the

second Burley opinion, the majority said that the employee

could not “stand by with knowledge or notice of what is going

on with reference to his claim”, “allow matters to be thrashed

out to a conclusion”, “and then come in for the first time to

assert his individual rights” (327 U. S. 666-7). Twenty-five

years later the Second Circuit said in the Pyzynski case (421

F. 2d at 859-860),

“The Burley decisions may be said to have held that

a carrier may rely on the authority of a union to

negotiate a conclusive settlement . . . if it can be shown

either that the union acted upon a basis of actual authority,

whether individually given or to be gathered from the

union constitution or bylaws or from custom and usage

or that the employee had notice or knowledge of the

actions taken by the union in his behalf and took no steps

to negate the union’s authority”.

In the National Airlines case, involving a settlement of remedies

for the illegal discharge of 1000 employees, the Fifth Circuit

held that 28 objecting employees, “having allowed the I. A. M.

*P. Al3.

TRL SR TT ms 0 ,

eS GRATE ERE, OE

27

[the union] to negotiate with the result that the company bar-

gained under the assumption that all claimants including these

twenty-eight would be bound by the settlement, may not now

declare that this agreement is null and void with respect to them”

(478 F. 2d at 1066).

In the present controversy, the stewardesses and the union

repeatedly used the processes and practices of federal labor

law to pursue their Title VII remedies. In early 1970, when

several terminated stewardesses took action against the pregnancy

practice, they did so by filing grievances with the union, their

statutory representative under the RLA (II Supp. App. p. 151).

The union as their representative negotiated the dispute, unsuc-

cessfully, with the airline employers. When the union as the

stewardesses’ statutory representative filed charges with the

EEOC (I /d. 115), the EEOC authorized the union to file

actions under Title VII (I 7d. 135). In the District Court

complaints filed in August 1970 the union did not sue as a

person discriminated against by the pregnancy practice but as

“a representative of employees as defined in the Railway Labor

Act, 45 U. S. C. 151” (I Id. 2, 7). The union had broad

authority to sue on behalf of employees on several grounds.*

The settlement set aside by the Court of Appeals was negotiated

* A union has been held capable of bringing an action under

§ 706(e) of Title VII as a “person aggrieved”, and the EEOC has

authorized such suits by unions as it did in these cases. /nternational

Chemical Workers Union v. Planters Mfg. Co., 259 F. Supp. 365.

366 (N. D. Miss. 1966); Local 186 v. Minnesota Mining & Mfg.

Co., 304 F. Supp. 1284, 1293 (N. D. Ind. 1969); Local 179 v.

Federal Paper Stock Co., 461 F. 2d 849, 851 (C. A. 8, 1972):

Rosen v. Public Service Electric & Gas Co., 409 F. 2d 775, 780

(C. A. 3, 1969) and 477 F. 2d 90, 94 (C. A. 3, 1973). A union

also has broad powers to sue “in behalf of” employees under

§ 301(b) of the Labor Management Relations Act (29 U. S. C.

185(b)) which, unlike other provisions of the statute, does not

exclude persons covered by the Railway Labor Act. A union also

has capacity to sue without joining the employees it represents under

several clauses of Rules 17(a) and (b) of the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure. See International Union v. Hoosier Cardinal Corp., 383

U. S. 696, 700 (1966); 6 Wright and Miller, Federal Practice and

Procedure, § 1552, pp. 689-91 (1971).

ROA RETR GO ARAN re ota < 2 ENE DAR Bi Ue VD

28

by union officers and the labor relations officers of the airlines

in July 1971 (II Supp. App. 326). Copies of the labor con-

tract with a notice explaining its binding effect went to the

hundreds of terminated stewardesses in August 1971 (I 7d.

41-52). Yet, as the union's certiorari petition explains (pp.

16-17), no objection was made to the union’s authority until

February 28, 1972.

In addition to the airlines’ justified reliance on Railway Labor

Act authority, the principle of apparent authority in the common

law of agency provided the basis for a binding settlement. Ap-

parent authority “results from a manifestation by a person that

another is his agent, the manifestation being made to a third

person”; and if it exists, “the third person has the same rights

with reference to the principal as where the agent is authorized”,

1 Restatement of Agency, 2d § 8, pp. 30-31 (1958). This

principle is different from the doctrine of estoppel (/d. 32-3).

The reasonableness of the airlines’ reliance on the union’s

authority is evident. The agent chosen by the stewardesses to

act for them in their claims of an unlawful employment prac-

tice under Title VII was not an interloper but their statutory

labor representative. The airlines were aware that the stew-

ardesses had conflicting seniority interests, but that does not

disqualify a labor representative under the Railway Labor Act.

The reasonableness of the union’s exercise of its authority was

apparent because, with the actions brought as class actions

under Rule 23, the required court approval of the settlement

would give any employee an opportunity to litigate objections.

It was reasonable of the airlines to negotiate with the union,

as the statute required it to do. Virginian Railway Co., 300

U. S. at 548.

™ eT a ee ed ~~ _ ~~

29

II.

THE DECISION MISINTERPRETS RULE 23 IN HOLDING

CLASS ACTIONS SHOULD HAVE BEEN BROUGHT UNDER

SUBDIVISION (b) (3)

The Court of Appeals’ holding that the class actions for

terminated stewardesses were under Rule 23(b)(3) has two

important results. Since (b)(3) class members must be given

a notice to permit them to exclude themselves from the class*

and since such a notice was not given, the judgment approving

the settlement is a nullity under the Court of Appeals’ ruling;

and the settlement itself is nullified because the right of exclu-

sion is contrary to the provision of the settlement that it is

binding on all class members. This result destroys a disposition

of the litigation by settlement years after it was made. As a

precedent, the misapplication of Rule 23, treating a (b)(3)

class as an exclusive alternative to (b)(1) and (b)(2) classes,

will have far-reaching results in other cases. The Court of

Appeals’ (b) (3) classification and the resulting limitation on the

binding effect of class action judgments are contrary to the

language and purposes of Rule 23 and all relevant legal authority.

In its certiorari petition, the union accepts this Court of

Appeals’ ruling that the terminated stewardesses should have

been in a (b)(3) class with a right of exclusion and implies

(p. 17, n16) that the airlines were wholly responsible for

treating the class as (b)(2) in the District Court. On the con-

trary. as the record makes clear,** the union and the other plain-

* Appendix D, p. A22, contains the text of Rule 23. Subdivision

(c)(2), p. A23, requires a notice only in a (b)(3) class that

permits a class member to exclude himself.

| ** Both complaints filed by the union and representative steward-

' esses alleged without ambiguity that the actions were brought

“pursuant to Rule 23(b)(2)” (I Supp. App. 2, 8) with clear

factual allegations for a (b)(2) class. The same allegations were

made by objecting terminated stewardesses in independent litigation

(Supp. Rec. 1; I Supp. App. 62, 63). The airlines’ answers denied

the class action allegations (I Supp. App. 12, 17; par. 4). Attorneys

for the union and other plaintiffs approved in writing July 1971

orders that the actions were properly maintainable as class actions (I

SORE OEE MOL Te a ORL PIN

30

tiffs treated the class as (b)(2) beginning with the filing of the

litigation in August 1970. The union’s contention, made in this

Court for the first time, that the class is (b)(3) and that class

members may exclude themselves is a repudiation of its lower

court position that affected the entire course of the litigation.

A. Clear Language of Rule 23 Shows Class Actions Were

Under Subdivision (b)(2) of Rule 23

The Court of Appeals’ narrow application of Rule 23(b) (2)

may seem superficially sound. In these Title VII actions the

stewardesses sought remedies under § 706(g) which authorizes

the District Court to “enjoin the respondent” from an unlawful

employment practice and also “to order such affirmative action

as may be appropriate, which may include reinstatement of

hiring of employees, with or without back pay”. The employed

stewardesses were believed entitled to an injunction only, and

subdivision (b)(2) was held applicable to them by the Court

of Appeals.* Subdivision (b) (2) describes a (b) (2) class action

as one in which the party opposing the class “has acted .

on grounds generally applicable to the class”, and then men-

tions the remedies for the conduct, “thereby making appropriate

final injunctive relief or corresponding declaratory relief with

respect to the class as a whole”. But subdivision (b) (2) was held

not applicable to the terminated stewardesses because such a

stewardess sought affirmative relief under § 706(g), “reinstate-

ment, back pay and accrued seniority” that “would depend on

facts peculiar to her” (p. Al2). They were held within sub-

division (b)(3), which applies when “questions of law or

fact common to members of the class predominate over any

Id. 28- 9); ‘February 1972 notices to class members that they would

request the court to find the action to be under Rule 23(b)(2)

(I Jd. 58, 59); and notices in July 1971 and February 1972 that

the court had ruled the actions maintainable as class actions for

terminated stewardesses with “final judgment . . . binding upon all

members of the class” (I /d. pp. 30-31 and 55-56).

* Page Al2.

31

questions affecting only one member”. However, this interpreta-

tion is shown, on analysis, to be contrary to the intended meaning

of Rule 23.

First, mandatory injunctions are overlooked by the Court of

Appeals’ interpretation. When subdivision (b)(2) refers to

“appropriate final injunctive relief", it includes the affirmative

remedies provided for in § 706(g). The very word “affirmative”

used in § 706(g) is commonly used to describe the relief pro-

vided in a mandatory injunction. A mandatory injunction is

granted when “some affirmative act or acts” are “essential to

restore the status quo”, § 16, 42 Am. Jr. 2d 745 (1969). The

provisions for injunctions in Rule 65 of the Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure include mandatory injunctions, although the

word “mandatory” is not used in the rule. The same is true of

a statute.* In a Title VII action the ordering of “such affirma-

tive action as may be appropriate”. including “reinstatement . . .

with or without back pay” as provided in $ 706(g) is thus within

the description of the (b)(2) class as one where the party has

acted against the class generally, “thereby making appropriate

final injunctive relief . . . with respect to the class as a whole”.

The newest treatise on the federal rules says of this (b)(2)

provision, “Injunctive relief embraces all forms of judicial orders,

whether they be mandatory or prohibitory.” 7A Wright &

Miller. Federal Practice and Procedure, § 1775, p. 21 (1972).

* In Porter v. Warner Co., 328 U. S. 395, 397 (1946). a statute

forbidding the collection of rents in excess of a stated formula

provided for “an order enjoining such acts or practice”. It was

held that affirmative relief was permitted in addition to the prohibi-

tion of future conduct. “Nothing’ is more clearly a part of a subject

matter of a suit for an injunction than the recovery of that which

has been illegally acquired . . .” ‘To the same effect under the Civil

Rights Act of 1957, see State of Alabama v. United States, 304 F. 2d

583, 590 (C. A. 5, 1962):

“Mandatory injunctions affirmatively compelling the doing of

some act, rather than merely negatively forbidding continua-

tion of a course of conduct, are a traditional tool of equity . . .

Certainly the order may command affirmative action where the

enabling statute provides, as this one does. for the use of an

injunction ‘or other order’ ™

32

Second, the language of Rule 23(b) as a whole indicates that

the (b)(1) and (b)(2) classes are both within the description

of the (b)(3) class and that subdivision (b)(3), the last al-

ternative, does not apply if the class is within subdivision (b) (1)

or (b)(2). Class (b)(1) is described as one in which the prose-

cution of separate actions would create a risk of inconsistent or

varying adjudications that would establish “incompatible stand-

ards of conduct for the party opposing the class” or “adjudica-

tions with respect to individual members” that would “be dis-

positive of the interests of the other members not parties”. The

(b)(1) class, formed to avoid varied adjudication, and the

(b)(2) class, in which an opponent's conduct is generally

applicable to the class, are likely to be within the broader

description of the (b)(3) class. i.e., one in which (1) ques-

tions of law or fact common to members of the class must

predominate over questions affecting only individual members

and (2) the class action must be superior to other available

methods of adjudicating the controversy fairly and efficiently.

Whatever the class, the same relief is likely to be available, such

as the prohibitory and affirmative remedies under § 706(g)

of Title VII in the present case.

The correct reading of Rule 23(b) is thus clear. Subdivisions

(b)(1), (b)(2), and (b)(3) overlap. When a class is within

subdivisions (b)(1) or (b)(2), it is so treated; class members

may not exclude themselves; and the final judgment is binding

on the class members whether the judgment follows a contested

trial or a settlement. If the class is not within subdivision (b) (1)

or (b)(2), but is within the looser and broader subdivision

(b) (3), the members may exclude themselves from the class

but the judgment after a trial or settlement is binding on mem-

bers who have not excluded themselves from the class.

The Court of Appeals uses the reverse of the required reason-

ing in applying the rule. Finding the class to be within (b) (3),

it holds the class is therefore not within (b)(2). But the class is

intended to be confined to (b)(2) even though it is also within

33

(b)(3). A wealth of authority shows the errors in the Court

of Appeals’ interpretation.

B. Authorities Are All Contrary to Court of

Appeals’ Interpretation

The court decisions are all one way, holding that, if an action

is classifiable as (b)(3) as well as (b)(1) or (b)(2), it should

be classified as (b)(1) or (b)(2). Decisions to that effect

are cited in a footnote,* showing that this result achieves the

purposes of Rule 23 “to avoid a multiplicity of suits, provide

common binding adjudication, and prevent inconsistent or vary-

ing adjudications” (Mungin, 318 F. Supp. 730). In the pioneer

decision (Van Gemert), Chief Judge Ryan perceived that “vir-

tually every class action that meets the requirements of 23(b) (1)

or 23(b)(2) will also meet the less severe requirements of

23(b)(2)"; and he added that “Rule 23(b)(3) is not appli-

cable” where “the stricter requirements of 23(b)(1) and 23

(b)(2) are squarely presented by the plaintiffs’ claims”. This

Court denied full review in two of the cases in 1971 (Rodriguez,

Mungin). Two of the cases were Title VII class actions (Jenkins,

Robinson), the Fourth Circuit saying in the latter that, since

“the defendants’ liability for back pay is rooted in grounds

applicable to all members of the defined class”, “the award

of back pay, as one element of the equitable remedy, conflicts

in no way with the limitations of Rule 23(b)(2)”. The ruling

of the Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit in the present

cases is contrary to decisions of the Fourth (Robinson), Fifth

(Jenkins), and Eighth (Arkansas Education) Circuits.

* Van Gemert Vv. Boeing Co., 259 F. Supp. 125, 130-1 (S. D.

N. Y. 1966); Jenkins v. United Gas Corp., 400 F. 2d 28, 34 (C. A.

5, 1968); Rodriguez v. Swank, 318 F. Supp. 289, 294-5 (3 judge

court, N. D. Ill. 1970), aff'd. memo. op. 403 U. S. 901 (1971);

Mungin v. Florida East Coast R. Co., 318 F. Supp. 720, 730 (D. C.

M. D. Fla. 1970), aff'd 441 F. 2d 728 (C. A. 5, 1971), cert. den.

sub nom. Howard v. Florida East Coast R. Co., 404 U. S. 897

(1971); Robinson v. Lorillard Corp., 444 F. 2d 791, 801-2 (C. A.

4, 1971); Arkansas Education Assn. Vv. Board of Education, 446

F. 2d 763, 768 (C. A. 8, 1971); Brandt v. Owens-Illinois, Inc.,

snes F. Sapp. ........ CCH Fed. Securities L. Rep. € 94,355 (S. D.

N. Y. 1974).

34

In the notes on the 1966 amendments to the Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure, this Court’s Advisory Committee indicated the

particular relevance of a (b)(2) class in a Title VII action.

The committee’s notes stated, citing seven Court of Appeals

cases:

“Illustrative [of subdivision (b)(2)] are various actions

in the civil-rights field where a party is charged with dis-

criminating unlawfully against a class, usually one whose

members are incapable of specific enumeration”. 39

F. R. D. 69, 102.

The comment on subdivision (b)(3) siated that “class-action

treatment is not as clearly called for as in those described above

[classes (b)(1) and (b)(2)], but it may nevertheless be con-

venient and desirable depending upon the particular facts”

(/d.).

Professor Benjamin Kaplan, reporter to the Advisory Com-

mittee on the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure from 1960 to

1966, has explained why a class should be held (b)(1) or (2)

rather than (b)(3) in order to forbid exclusion and make the

judgment binding on all class members. 1966 Amendments

of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure (1), 81 Harv. L. Rev.

356, 375-400 (1967). Under the federal equity practice before

the rules, the result in a class action was generally held binding

on all class members.* The so-called “spurious” class action

under the 1938 rule became “snarled” because class members

“could remain outside the action if the determination were ad-

verse to their interests and in that event they would not be

bound” (p. 385). Under the 1966 amendments, Professor

Kaplan noted, “It will be found that cases satisfying (b)(1) or

(b)(2) will also pass muster under (b)(3)”; and then, citing

Judge Ryan’s Van Gemert opinion he added, “the cases should

*Professor Kaplan quoted Justice Story’s statement in his treatise

that the decree in a class action “will ordinarily be held binding upon

all other persons standing in the same predicament, the Court taking

care, that sufficient persons are before it, honestly, fairly and fully

to ascertain and try the general right in contest”, 81 Harv. L. Rev.

at 377, n. 72.

35

then ordinarily be treated under the former provisions [(b) (1)

or (2)] rather than the latter [(b)(3)]” (p. 390, n. 130).

To the same effect are the two great modern treatises on

federal practice: 3B Moore's Federal Practice, © 23.31(2}-(3],

pp. 23-526, 527 (1969):

“The three types of class suits are not always mutually ex-

clusive. Indeed, at times there is much overlap. And while

a class action of the third type may qualify less frequently

as a type one or type two class suit; a class action that

meets the requirements of either or both of the first two

types may well satisfy the requirements of the third type.”

* * * * *

“If an action can be maintained under (b)(1) and/or

(b) (2), and also under (b) (3), the court should order that

the suit be maintained as a class action under (b)(1)

and or (b)(2), rather than under (b)(3), so that the

judgment will have res judicata effect as to all the class

(with no member having the right to opt out), and not

defeat the policy underlying the (b)(1) and (b)(2)

class suits”.

7A Wright and Miller, Federal Practice and Procedure, § 1777,

p. 49 (1972):

“Since the common question standard of Rule 23(b) (3)

is in some ways much less demanding than that of either

Rule 23(b)(1) or Rule 23 (b)(2). actions that are

maintainable under either of these provisions also fre-

quently satisfy the requirements for subdivision (b) (3).

However, . . . when a particular action qualifies under

another portion of Rule 23(b) as well as Rule 23(b) (3),

it should be treated as if it had been brought exclusively

under the other provision. This will mean that the special

procedural provisions applicable to Rule 23(b)(3) suits

and the privilege to opt-oui of the action should be operable

only when the class action is maintainable under that sub-

section alone”.

The Court of Appeals cites only one inconclusive opinion,

and no other authority, for its holding that the terminated

stewardesses must be in a (b)(3) class, Gerstle v. Continental

Airlines, Inc., 50 F. R. D. 213 (D. Colo., 1970). There an

EL A a aw

36

airline stewardess brought a Title VII class action against her

employer claiming sex discrimination and an unlawful discharge

under an abandoned airline rule terminating stewardesses on

marriage. In the cited report the District Court conditionally

held the class action could be maintained, although the dis-

cussion of the class as (b)(3) in the opinion was not reflected

in the order (p. 220). The class was said to be (b)(3) “in

that the claim under Title VII is not only a common question

in this case, it is the predominant question in the litigation”

(p. 219, original emphasis).* The reason given for this 1970

statement in the Gerstle opinion was wholly illogical as a basis

for a (b)(3) rather than a (b)(2) class because in a (b)(2)

action the common questions also predominate over those af-

fecting only individuals. The Gerstle opinion, as that of the

Court of Appeals in the present case, mentioned none of the

cases or other contrary authorities described above.

(C) Serious Effect on Decided Cases

The practical consequences of the Court of Appeals’ error

in its unique holding that a class is (b)(3), regardless of

whether it is also (b)(1) or (b)(2), are far reaching. Almost

every (b)(1) or (b)(2) class can be shown to be within sub-

division (b)(3), but the right of exclusion on notice exists only

in (b)(3) cases. For that reason, as Professors Wright and

Miller say, the privilege to opt-out “should be operable only

when the class action is maintainable under that subsection

[(b)(3)] alone”. The Court of Appeals’ contrary holding

opens the door to widespread direct and collateral attacks on

(b)(2) class action judgments in all kinds of cases, a much

* There was no mention of the possible application of sub-

division (b) (2). Later the class was “declassified” when it appeared

to consist of only 14 members, as shown in the later report of the

same case, 466 F. 2d 1374 (C. A. 10, 1972). The litigation was

finally dismissed on the merits, for failure to prove that the alleged

sex discrimination was the cause of the discharge of the two plain-

tiffs, as held in the still later report of the same case, 358 F. Supp.

545 (D. C. Colo. 1973).

et ee won

37

wider field than Title VII litigation. The decision will permit

class members in a disposed of (b)(1) or (b)(2) case to seek

to vacate a prior judgment on the ground that the class was

properly (b)(3), that exclusion notices were not given, and

that the judgment is not binding. And without direct attack of

this kind, class members disappointed with a (b) (2) class action

judgment are enabled by the Court of Appeals’ ruling to sue on

their own account and defeat the plea of res judicata on the same

ground. See Note, Collateral Attack on the Binding Effect of

Class Action Judgments, 87 Harv. L. Rev. 589 (Jan. 1974).

CONCLUSION.

For the foregoing reasons, this Court is urged to issue a Writ

of Certiorari to review the judgment of the Court of Appeals for

the Seventh Circuit as prayed.

Respectfully submitted,

JAMES A. VELDE

One First National Plaza

Chicago, Illinois 60670

Of Counsel

JAMES H. DOUGLAS

LAURENCE A. CARTON

ELLioT M. SCHNITZER

GARDNER, CARTON, DOUGLAS,

CHILGREN & WAUD

March 1974.

ene eve a

PORTE Re are

Al

APPENDIX A

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

SEPTEMBER TERM, 1973

Nos. 72-1336, 72-1503

AIR LINE STEWARDS AND STEWARD-

ESSES ASSOCIATION, LocaL 550,

TWU, AFL-CIO et al.,

Plaintiffs,

Vv.

AMERICAN AIRLINES, INC.,

Defendant,

DARLENE PRESTON, et al.,

Appellants in No. 72-1336,

BONNIE PULSKAMP, et al.,

Appellants in No. 72-1503.

No. 72-1335

Arr LINE STEWARDS AND STEWARD- \

ESSES ASSOCIATION, LocaL 550,

TWU, AFL-CIO et al..

Plaintiffs,

Vv.

TRANSWORLD AIRLINES, INC.,

Defendant,

Patricia A. SANTINI, et al.,

Appellants.

No. 72-1399

DARLENE PRESTON, et al.,

Plaintiffs-A ppellants,

Vv.

AMERICAN AIRLINES, INC., et al..

Defendants-A ppellees. J

SEPTEMBER SESSION, 1973

Appeals from the

United States Dis-

trict Court for the

Northern District

of Illinois, Eastern

Division.

J. SAM PERRY,

Judge.

70 C 2069

Appeal from the

United States Dis-

trict Court for the

Northern District

of Illinois, Eastern

Division.

J. SAM PERRY,

Judge.

70 C 2071

Appeal from the

United States Dis-

trict Court for the

Northern District

of Illinois, Eastern

Division.

J. SAM PERRY.

Judge.

72 C 498

ARGUED SEPTEMBER 11. 1973—DECIDED DECEMBER 2'. 1973

Before KILEY, FAIRCHILD, and STEVENS, Circuit Judges.

MM A es RS. n ee

A2

FAIRCHILD, Circuit Judge. These appeals form a sequel to

Air Lines Stewards, etc., Loc. 550 vy. American Airlines, Inc.,

455 F. 2d 101 (7th Cir., 1972), and some of the background

facts appear there. That decision, affirming denial of interven-

tion by EEOC, was filed January 18, 1972. Thereafter notices

of hearing in the district court on approval of the settlement,

referred to at 455 F. 2d 103, were mailed to members of the

class in each action. A hearing was held. Plaintiff union

(ALSSA) and the defendants supported the settlement, and the

support of several individual members of the class was made

known. Objections on behalf of dissatisfied members of the

classes, including several named individual plaintiffs, were filed

or made known-at the hearing.

On March 17, 1972, a judgment was entered in each action

(American Airlines, Inc., and Trans World Airlines, Inc., being

the respective defendants), approving the settlement, ordering it

implemented, and dismissing the action on the merits. Appeals

were filed by members of the classes. including certain named

plaintiffs, in each case. A relate action against American and

ALSSA was also dismissed, and those plaintiffs appealed.

Appellants contend that the district court should not have

approved the settlements because ALSSA (certified bargaining

agent for airlines cabin attendants under the Railway Labor

Act), which negotiated the settlements disposing of the interests

of members of the class, had interests antagonistic to them.

Appellants also maintain that they were entitled to exclude

themselves from the action and avoid the binding effects of the

judgments. Other arguments are urged in addition.

Until October, 1970, defendant airlines followed the practice

of discharging, permanently, a stewardess who became pregnant.

On August 18, 1970, ALSSA and 12 stewardesses who had lost

their jobs under this policy commenced an action against Ameri-

can challenging this practice as unlawful sex discrimination, in

violation of 42 U. S. C. § 2000e, et seq. The complaint asserted

that the action was within Rule 23(b)(2), F. R. Civ. P., and

~

A3

that the class consisted of all present and former American

stewardesses employed at any time since July 2, 1965, the effec-

tive date of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, who had been, desired

to be, or would in the future desire to be, pregnant. The com-

plaint sought declaratory, injunctive, and monetary relief. On

the the same day, ALSSA and five individuals filed a similar

action against TWA.

Counsel for ALSSA signed the complaint as attorney for the

plaintiffs and conducted the litigation and negotiations for settle-

ment. He did not consult the individual plaintiffs nor any other

men.vers of the class concerning the terms of settlement.

By October, 1970, ALSSA and the airlines had made collec-

tive bargaining agreements which eliminated the challenged

practice prospectively. Thus, although the class defined by the

complaints included currently employed stewardesses who,

presumably, had an interest in the declaratory and injunctive

relief sought, that segment of the class had little further interest

in the action, except for such interest as the junior among them

would have adverse to the reinstatement of previously discharged

stewardesses. Since the currently employed stewardesses were

more actively the constitutents of ALSSA, the change of cir-

cumstances made ALSSA at least a less adequate representative

of the remaining members of the class than it may have been

considered for the entire original class.

In July, 1971, counsel agreed on a settlement, subject to

court approval. The proposed terms required discharged stew-

ardesses who desired re-employment to notify the airline within

60 days from court approval. They would then be placed on a

preferential hiring list, to be employed to fill vacancies before

others were hired. When offered a job, a stewardess must accept

within 10 days and meet specified standards of physical condi-

tion. The airline would have no liability whatsoever to any

stewardess who failed, timely, to give the notice of desire to be

re-employed or notice of acceptance of an offer. If re-employed,

the stewardess would start with the same seniority as she had

RE LO POE RENTER (hs LEE ON 2 OR ST Sea a ates Candie,

Se RSE SEWER AS

A4

* up to the date of termination, in the case of TWA, or that

seniority plus 90 days additional in the case of American. Under

the agreement, an order would be entered defining the class, in

each case, as all former stewardesses who were removed from

the payroll because of pregnancy, between July 2, 1965 and

July 31, 1969, in the case of TWA, and August 11, 1970, in the

case of American. If approved the settlement and resulting

judgment, would bind all members of the class.

It does not appear that the district court made any order

concerning the maintenance of these actions as class actions,

pursuant to Rule 23(c)(1), until July 16, 1971, after the

settlement had been proposed. On that date, the court ordered

that the class in each action be redefined in accordance with the

settlement agreement, and that the action be maintained as a

class action. The order did not expressly address the fulfillment of

the prerequisites listed in Rule 23(a) nor of any additional re-

quirement of Rule 23(b). Presumably the court did not consider

(b)(3) applicable, as it did not order a notice pursuant to

(c)(2).! Notices of hearing on approval of the settlement were

1. Rule 23(b)(3) provides:

“An action may be maintained as a class action if the pre-

requisites of subdivision (a) are satisfied, and in addition:

(3) the court finds that the questions of law or fact com-

mon to the members of the class predominate over any questions

affecting only individual members, and that a class action is

superior to other available methods for the fair and efficient

adjudication of the controversy. The matters pertinent to the

findings include: (A) the interest of members of the class in

individually controlling the provecution or defense of separate

actions; (B) the extent and nature of any litigation concerning

the controversy already commenced by or against members of

the class; (C) the desirability or undesirability of concentrating

the litigation of the claims in the particular forum; (D) the

difficulties likely to be encountered in the management of a

class action.”

Rule 23(c)(2) provides:

“(2) In any class action maintained under subdivision (b)

(3), the court shall direct to the members of the class the best

notice practicable under the circumstances, including individual

i ee ee ee

-AS

sent out, both in July, after which the hearing was delayed

by the appeal, and again the next February.*

At or before the March, 1972, hearing on approval of the

settlement, opposition to it was manifested by some of the named

plaintiffs and by other members of the class in each action.

With some variations, the objectors wanted all, or more nearly

all, of the “whele loaf”, i.e., reinstatement with seniority accrued

to date, anu back pay. Several members of the American class,

the appellants here in No. 72-1503, had brought their own action

July 14, 1971 in the Central District of California. They had

attempted to opt out of the instant action, their California action,

meanwhile, having been stayed. The district court heard object-

ing plaintiffs and class members, and their attorneys, only in

the capacity of objectors, and in effect recognized ALSSA as the

sole representative plaintiff, representing all class members, in-

cluding the individual named plaintiffs.

The judgments entered as a result of the hearings determined

that “Plaintiffs”, without distinguishing between ALSSA and

other plaintiffs, are adequate representatives of the class and have

adequately represented them; that the action is a Rule 23(b) (2)

class action:* that the judgment is binding on all members of

notice to all members who can be identified through reasonable

effort. The notice shall advise each member that (A) the court

will exclude him from the class if he so requests by a specified

date; (B) the judgment, whether favorable or not, will include

all members who do not request exclusion; and (C) any mem-

ber who does not request exclusion may, if he desires, enter

an appearance through his counsel.”

2. Rule 23(e) requires a notice to class members of a proposed

settlement. The appellants contest the adequacy and accuracy of

the notice procedures used here. In light of our disposition of the

balance of the case, we do not reach this issue.

3. Rule 23(b)(2) provides:

“An action may be maintained as a class action if the pre-

requisites of subdivision (a) are satisfied, and in addition:

“(2) the party opposing the class has acted or refused to

act on grounds generally applicable to the class, thereby making

appropriate final injunctive relief or en, declaratory

relief with respect to the class as a whole; or .

Cte a ee ET a + ee ee ee

A6

the class; and that the settlement is fair, reasonable, and adequate

for all.

On February 28, 1972, Darlene Preston, a plaintiff in the

action against American, above referred to, had brought a new

class action against American and ALSSA predicated upon a

claim of unlawful discrimination similar to that in the earlier

complaint, and upon a claim that ALSSA failed to fulfill its duty

of fair representation. Judgment was entered March 20, 1972

dismissing the complaint, apparently on the ground that the

claims had been adjudicated by the judgment of March 17, 1972.

1. ALSSA’s Representation of the Class.

Mr. Feldman, counsel for ALSSA, and attorney of record for

all the plaintiffs, testified in support of the settlement.

He took into consideration the proposition that the answer to

the ultimate question of liability, common to all members of the

class, i.e., whether the discharge policy was a violation of the

Act, was less than a certainty. He felt that about 90% of the

members of the class faced a serious legal question as to recovery

because they had been terminated long before any complaint was

filed with EEOC and these stewardesses might not be able to

rely on the later filing by other members of the class. He noted

that the circumstances of termination varied and that these differ-

ences might raise questions concerning recovery by members of

the class. The airlines had terminated some on the ground of

pregnancy, and others on the ground that they had concealed

pregnancy, in violation of a company rule. Others had volun-

tarily resigned after becoming pregnant, and others resigned, but

claimed they were coerced.

Mr. Feldman testified that ALSSA made the decision to agree

to the settlement. One advantage was that it afforded an op-

portunity to every member of the class to return to work, in-

cluding those against whom the statute of limitations defense

might have been urged. as well as those whose claim did not

have that problem; those whose termination had clearly been

A7

grounded on pregnancy, as well as those who had less clearly

been terminated for that cause.

Mr. Feldman conceded that ALSSA had obligations to groups

which had conflicting interests. Junior currently employed

stewardesses would be harmed by immediate reinstatement of

former stewardesses, and the settlement did not provide such

reinstatement. Seniority has a very important effect on stew-

ardesses’ trip assignments and the like. Thus the former stew-

ardesses who were reemployed pursuant to the settlement would

want seniority to accrue during the period they had been out of

the job, but the greater the seniority awarded to them, the larger

the number of currently employed stewardesses who would be

put to disadvantage. Mr. Feldman testified that the extent of

seniority agreed on represented a compromise of the interests

of the various groups.

The airlines said they were unwillir, to negotiate concerning

back pay. Mr. Feldman conceded that if the matter were liti-

gated and liability established, there would probably be in-

dividual members of the class who could establish back pay

claims. He estimated that full litigation would consume about

five years. ALSSA decided to subordinate the interest of those

who wanted to recover money to the interest of those who de-

sired to return to work. This, he said. was an example of

bargaining agent responsibility, to resolve in good faith the

conflict in interest between groups. both of which are repre-

sented by the union.

Rule 23(a)(3) requires that the claims of a representative

plaintiff be typical of the claims of the class and (4) requires

that the representative plaintifi ill fairly and adequately protect

the interests of the class. It has been indicated “that the reasons

for requiring an individual plaintiff in a class action to be a

member of the class do not necessarily preclude an association

from representing a class where its raison d'etre is to represent

the interest of that class. ™ Tt seems clear, however, that unless

4. Norwalk Cc ORE v. Norwalk Redev elopment Agency, 395 F.

2d 920, 937 (2d Cir.. 1968).

Se ee ae SS

A8

ALSSA’s status as certified bargaining agent under the Rail-

way Labor Act alters the situation, it cannot, under the cir-

cumstances, be treated as the equivalent of a group of former

stewardesses terminated on account of pregnancy, and thus mem-

bers of and adequate representatives of. the class.

ALSSA admittedly considered and to some extent protected

the interests of the currently employed stewatwesses in working

out the settlement. They. who are presently presumably in

control of ALSSA. are not members of the class as now defined,

and they have antagonistic interests. In Hansberry v. Lee, 311

U. S. 32. 45 (1940). the Supreme Court held that a judg-

ment in a class action can only bind absent class members

where the representative's interests coincide with those of the

balance of the class.

Counsel for ALSSA apparently would concede that if

ALSSA were deemed merely an association of presently em-

ployed stewardesses, or even of both presently and formerly

employed stewardesses, it would not be deemed an adequate

representative of the class. Counsel argues. however, that

ALSSA’s role as an exclusive collective bargaining agent for

the stewardesses employed by these airlines gives it the power

to accommodate and adjust the rights of present and former

stewardesses which spring from Title VII, subject only to its

obligation of fair representation. If this position were adopted,

it need only be shown that ALSSA acted in good faith and in a

manner which could be deemed fair. in making the choices in-

volved in the settlement. Approval of the settlement could then

be set aside only if the findings of good faith and fairness were

found clearly erroneous.

In Steele v. Louisville & Nashville R. R. Co.. 323 U. S.

192, 200 (1944). the Supreme Court held that the Railway

Labor Act. in requiring the carrier to bargain with the chosen

representative. operated to exclude any other representative. and

deprived minority members of the craft of the right to choose

a different representative or to bargain individually as to mat-

~~ i PORE es a DE RBA) es

A9

ters which are properly the subject of collective bargaining.

It follows that the representative may make contracts having

unfavorable effects on some of those represented, but the repre-

sentative has “the duty to exercise fairly the power conferred

upon it in behalf of all those for whom it acts, without hostile

discrimination against them.” A similar holding was reached

under the National Labor Relations Act in Ford Motor Co. Vv.

Huffman, 345 U. S. 330, 336 (1953).

In Humphrey v. Moore, 375 U. S. 335 (1963), the Supreme

Court dealt with challenges to the resolution of grievances

pursuant to a multi-party collective bargaining agreement. At

p. 349, the Court said, concerning the antagonistic interests of

two groups, that “both groups [were] represented by the same

union, whose president supported one group and opposed the

other at the hearing before the Joint Conference Committee.

But we are not ready to find a breach of the collective bargaining

agent’s duty of fair representation in taking a good faith position

contrary to that of some individuals whom it represents nor

in supporting the position of one group of employees against

that of another.”

In Vaca v. Sipes, 386 U. S. 171 (1967), a union member

who had been discharged sued the union for its refusal to take

the grievance to arbitration under the collective bargaining

agreement. The Supreme Court found no evidence of personal

hostility or bad faith on the part of the union officers, and set

aside a verdict in favor of the plaintiff. “Having concluded that

the individual employee has no absolute right to have his griev-

ance arbitrated under the collective bargaining agreement at

issue, and that a breach of the duty of fair representation is not

established merely by proof that the underlying grievance was

meritorious, we must conclude that’that duty was not breached

here.” p. 194.

Counsel suggests that accommodation of the Railway Labor

Act with Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 requires

that the collective bargaining representative be accorded the

EHF OES P ERO Se PEN ee Be SF Pete . REELED 5. WE Pee

Ald

same power and held to the same degree of duty as the cases

just cited accord it in the formulation and administration of

collective bargaining agreements and the rights of individual

employees thereunder. We are unable to agree.

Title VII. unlike the National Labor Relations Act and Rail-

way Labor Act, does not create nor necessarily recognize powers

of exclusive representation, either for those currently employed

in the unit nor for a group which would include those claiming

to have been unlawfully discharged. The situation is not parallel,

and it does not seem to us that policy reasons militate in favor

of similar status for the bargaining representative. An individual

who claims to have been the victim of unlawful discrimination

has the right to redress individually, whether the discrimination

was an isolated act or a general practice.

“The real party in interest in conciliation endeavors

is the employee alleged to have been discriminatorily

treated. He is completely free to accept or reject the pro-

posals of union or employer as well as the position taken

by the [Equal Employment Opportunities] Commission.”

Air Lines Stewards, etc. Loc. 550 v. American Airlines,

Inc., 455 F. 2d 101, 106 (7th Cir., 1972).

Surely the fact that a labor organization is defined in 42

U. S. C. § 2000e and made a potential defendant in unlawful

employment practice cases does not. as counsel seems to sug-

gest, indicate an intention on the part of Congress that a col-

lective bargaining representative play a special role in Title VII

actions to redress unlawful employment practices by an em-

plover.

We think a union may serve its members by being plaintiff in

a suit to vindicate their civil rights. “There is nothing in the

law which precluded the Union from recognizing the injustice

done to a substantial minority of its members and from moving

to correct it.” Bowe v. Colgate-Palmolive Company, 416 F. 2d

711, 719 (7th Cir., 1969). When it espouses the interest of

one group of its members, it doubtless has an obligation of

fairness to any members whose interests are in conflict. But

ee | ee

All

except for the area of collective bargaining and its necessary

incidents, the union has no unique authority to compromise the

rights of its members. Its adequacy as a representative party

in a class suit, and its authority to compromise the rights of its

members in a class suit when such rights do not arise out of

collective bargaining agreements are to be tested and judged in

the ordinary way.°

2. The Right of Class Members to Exclude Themselves from

the Actions Originally Brought.

Appellants argue that the district court must offer the mem-

bers of the class the opportunity to “opt out”, or exclude them-

selves from the class. Rule 23(c)(2) requires that such op-

portunity, and an alternative opportunity to enter an appearance

through counsel, must be afforded in any class action maintained

under Rule 23(b) (3). Unless a class action is maintained under

Rule 23(b) (3), no right to opt out exists. All members of the

class are bound by the judgment.

5. See Cook County College Teachers U., Loc. 1600, A. F. T.

v. Byrd, 456 F. 2d 882, 885 (7th Cir., 1972); Mungin v. Florida

East Coast Ry. Co., 318 F. Supp. 720 (M. D. Fla., 1970), aff'd

441 F. 2d 728 (Sth Cir., 1971), cert. denied 404 U. S. 897;

Amalgamated Meat Cutters of No. Am. Vv. Safeway Stores, Inc., 52

F. R. D. 373, 375 (D. Kan., 1971). Amalgamated Meat Cutters

is similar to the present case. There, certain of the defendant's

female employees and their union filed a class action alleging that

the defendant had failed to pay men and women the same wage for

the same work, a violation of 42 U. S. C. § 2000e-5(e). The union

and the employer negotiated a compromise and sought the court's ap-

proval under rule 23(e). Certain of the class members, including

one of the individual named plaintiffs, objected to the compromise

as unfair. The district court refused to approve the settlement and

ordered independent counsel appointed for the dissenting class mem-

bers. The court observed that:

“However, counsel for the plaintiffs has appeared in a dual

capacity—that is, both the Union's attorney and attorney for

the Class members. It is apparent from the communications in

the file, as well as the expressions in open court, that the in-

terests of the Union as a plaintiff, and the interests of at least a

portion of the members of the Class are in conflict and not

identical.” 52 F. R. D. at 375.

Al2

On July 16, 1971, when the first orders dealing with the

actions as class actions were entered, the court did not expressly

address the question whether or not they fell under Rule 23

(b)(3). In the judgments, the court held they fell under Rule

23(b) (2), thus foreclosing the opportunity of any member of

the class to exclude herself.

Rule 23(b)(2) applies to class actions in which

“the party opposing the class has acted or refused to act

on grounds generally applicable to the class, thereby making

appropriate final injunctive relief or corresponding declara-

tory relief with respect to the class as a whole... .”

When these actions were filed, the class included both stew-

ardesses who had been terminated for pregnancy and those who

might in the future be terminated for that cause. The latter

were primarily, perhaps solely, interested in a declaration that

the practice of termination for that reason is unlawful and an

injunction against it. As to that group, (b)(2) would clearly

be applicable.

Subdivision (b)(3) applies where:

“the court finds that the questions of law or fact common

to members of the class predominate over any questions

affecting only individual members, and that a class action

is superior to other available methods for fair and efficient

adjudication of the controversy.”

All the stewardesses share the common question of whether

the discharge-for-pregnancy policy was lawful. Those who had

aleady been discharged were interested in reinstatement with or

without back pay, and assuming a favorable decision on the

cemmon question, the entitlement of any particular former

stewardess to reinstatement, back pay, and accrued senior-

ity would depend on the facts peculiar to her. The amount of

back pay would be computed separately for each, and reduced

by her interim earnings.” Mr. Feldman’s testimony shows other

6. 42U.S.C. § 2000e-5(g).

De NP NEO at ODES ea ~ ee

Al3

differences among individual cases. Some who had not filed

with EEOC might have difficulty in establishing that right to

rely on the filings of others. The manner and stated cause of

termination of employment varied.

As to the discharged stewardesses, the class actions would,

even at the beginning, have had to be maintained under (b)(3),

with each such stewardess having the right to exclude herself,

or appear through counsel.

When the airlines ended their discharge policy, the actions

became virtually moot as far as the currently employed steward-

esses were concerned, and purely prospective relief against the

practice became of litthe moment. The (b)(3) character of

the actions, while always present as to the discharged steward-

esses, became even more obvious.

In Gerstle v. Continental Airlines, Inc., 56 F. R. D. 213

(D. Colo., 1970), a former stewardess brought a class action,

seeking injunctive relief, back pay. and reinstatement for

stewardesses terminated because of marriage. The airline had

dropped the policy after terminating plaintiff. The court held

that in view of the change in policy there was no case for in-

junctive relief, but that the action should proceed under (b) (3)

as to the other types of relief. The present actions are similar.

We have no doubt that even in a class action subject to

(b)(3), situations could arise where individual members of a

class so clearly acquiesced in and accepted the efforts of their

union or other plaintiff for so long a period and under such

circumstances that they wouid be estopped from exercising their

right to exclude themselves and “spoiling” a settlement obtained

by such efforts. Nothing revealed in this record puts these cases

in that posture.

The actions originally brought against the two airlines should

have been, and should henceforth be treated as (b)(3) class

actions with the attendant right of a class member, for a rea-

sonable interval, to exclude herself or appear through counsel

pursuant to Rule 23(c)(2).

RAS IN Se <e <s PANE ASS RI ite YAR ELD

Al4

3. Remand of the Actions Originally Brought Against the

Two Airlines.

On remand, the district court should:

(1) Permit one or more of the named plaintiffs or other

members of the class in each action to replace ALSSA as the

representative of the class. If it should appear desirable for

adequate representation of all class members, subclasses, each

with its own representative, may be created.

(2) Require that notices, pursuant to Rule 23(c)(2) be

sent, offering to each member of the class the opportunity to

exclude herself from the class or appear through counsel.

(3) Proceed with the litigation unless settlement as to some

or all issues is agreed on by the appropriate parties, and ap-

proved, on notice, by the court.

4. The Preston Action Brought in February, 1972.

We express no conclusions with respect to this action except

that, since it was dismissed on the theory that the claims therein

had been adjudicated by a judgment now being reversed, the

judgment dismissing it should also be reversed.

The judgments appealed from are reversed and the causes

remanded for further proceedings consistent with this opinion.

Circuit Rule 23 shall apply on remand.

eatin! es ee

AlS5

APPENDIX B

EXCERPTS FROM RAILWAY LABOR ACT

(May 20, °926, ch. 347, 44 Stat. 577 as amended, 45 U. S. C.

151 et seq., 1964 Edition)

§ 151. Definitions

When used in this chapter and section 225 of Title 28 and for

the purposes of said chapter and section—

<< + * -

Sixth. The term “representative” means any person or per-

sons, labor union, organization, or corporation designated either

by a carrier or group of carriers or by its or their employees,

to act for it or them..

a * 7 ~

This chapter may be cited as the “Railway Labor Act” (May

20, 1926 ch. 347, $ 1. 44 Stat. 577).

= oa = = =

§151a. General Purposes

The purposes of the chapter are: . . . (4) to provide for the

prompt and orderly settlement of all disputes concerning rates

of pay, rules or working conditions; (5) to provide for the

prompt and orderly settlement of all disputes growing out of

grievances or out of the interpretation or application of agree-

ments covering rates of pay, rules. or working conditions. (May

20, 1926, ch. 347, § 2, 44 Stat. 577: June 21, 1934, ch. 691,

$ 2, 48 Stat. 1186).

§ 152. General duties

First. Duty of carriers and employees to settle disputes.

It shall be the duty of all carriers, their officers, agents, and

employees to exert every reasonable effort to make and main-

RAL RI ERT cya

Al6

tain agreements concerning rates of pay, rules, and working

conditions, and to settle all disputes, whether arising out of the

application of such agreements or otherwise, in order to avoid

any interruption to commerce or to the operation of any carrier

growing out of any dispute between the carrier and the em-

ployees thereof.

Second. Consideration of disputes by representatives.

All disputes between a carrier or carriers and its or their

employees shall be considered, and, if possible, decided, with

all expedition, in conference between representatives designated

and authorized so to confer, respectively, by the carrier or car-

riers and by the employees thereof interested in the dispute.

of tk on * a

Fourth. Organization and collective bargaining; .. .

Employees shall have the right to organize and bargain col-

lectively through representatives of their own choosing. The

majority of any craft or class of employees shall have the right

to determine who shall be the representative of the craft or class

for the purposes of this chapter. . . (May 20, 1926, ch. 347,

$ 2, 44 Stat. 577...)

x * * * *

181. Application of sections 151, 152, and 154-163 to

PP

carriers by air.

All of the provisions of sections 151, 152, and 154-163 of

this title are extended to and shall cover every common carrier

by air engaged in interstate or foreign commerce, and every

carrier by air transporting mail for or under contract with the

United States Government, and every air pilot or other person

who performs any work as an employee or subordinate official of

such carrier or carriers, subject to its or their continuing au-

thority to supervise and direct the manner of rendition of his

service. (May 20, 1926, ch. 347, § 201 as added Apr. 10,

1936, ch. 166, 49 Stat. 1189).

Frets ew eine

Al7

APPENDIX C

EXCERPTS FROM TITLE VII—EQUAL EMPLOYMENT

OPPORTUNITY, CIVIL RIGHTS ACT OF 1964.

Public Law 88-352, 78 Stat. 253, ff.; 42 U. S. C. § 20006 et seq.

(1972 Amendments Not Included)

[255] Discrimination Because of Race, Color, Religion, Sex,

or National Origin

SEc. 703. (a) It shall be an unlawful employment practice

for an employer—

(1) to fail or refuse to hire or to discharge any individ-

ual, or otherwise to discriminate against any individual

with respect to his compensation, terms, conditions, or

privileges of employment, because of such individual's race,

color, religion, sex, or national origin; or

(2) to limit, segregate, or classify his employees in any

way which would deprive or tend to deprive any individual

of employment opportunities or otherwise adversely affect

his status as an employee, because of such individual's race,

color, religion, sex, or national origin.

(b) It shall be an unlawful employment practice for an

employment agency to fail or refuse to refer for employment, or

otherwise to discriminate against, any individual because of his

race, color, religion, sex, or national origin, or to classify or

refer for employment any individual on the basis of his race,

color, religion, sex, or national origin.

(c) Itshall be an unlawful employment practice for a labor

organization—

(1) to exclude or to expel from its membership, or

otherwise to discriminate against, any individual because of

his race, color, religion, sex. or national origin;

ene ee a ID wea 8 wre SI SAE NS EEA UTR A

Al8

(2) to limit, segregate, or classify its membership, or

to classify or fail or refuse to refer for employment any

individual, in any [256] way which would deprive or tend

to deprive any individual of employment opportunities, or

would limit such employment opportunities or otherwise

adversely affect his status as an employee or as an appli-

cant for employment, because of such individual's race,

color, religion, sex, or national origin; or

(3) to cause or attempt to cause an employer to dis-

criminaie against an individual in violation of this section.

* us 6 * *

(e) Notwithstanding any other provision of this title, (1) it

shall not be an unlawful employment practice for an employer

to hire and employ employees, for an employment agency to

classify, or refer for employment any individual, for a labor or-

ganization to classify its membership or to classify or refer for

employment any individual, or for an employer, labor organiza-

tion, or joint labor-management committee controlling appren-

ticeship or other training or retraining programs to admit or

employ any individual in any such program, on the basis of his

religion, sex, or national origin in those certain instances where

religion, sex, or national origin is a bona fide occupational

qualification reasonably necessary to the normal operation of

that particular [256] business or enterprise, and (2) it shall not

be an unlawful employment practice for a school, college, uni-

versity, or other educational institution or institution of learning

to hire and employ employees of a particular religion if such

school, college, university, or other, educational institution or

institution of learning is, in whole or in substantial part, owned,

supported, controlled, or managed by a particular religion or by

a particular religious corporation, association, or society, or if

the curriculum of such school, college, university, or other edu-

cational institution or institution of learning is directed toward

the propagation of a particular religion.

a ~ i eee

a

Al9

[259] Prevention of Unlawful Employment Practices

SEC. 706. (a) Whenever it is charged in writing under oath

by a person claiming to be aggrieved, or a written charge has

been filed by a member of the Commission where he has reason-

able cause to believe a violation of this title has occurred (and

such charge sets forth the facts upon which it is based) that an

employer, employment agency, or labor organization has en-

gaged in an unlawful employment practice, the Commission

shall furnish such employer, employment agency or labor organ-

ization (hereinafter referred to as the “respondent”) with a

copy of such charge and shall make an investigation of such

charge, provided that such charge shall not be made public by

the Commission. If the Commission shall determine, after such

investigation, that there is reasonable cause to believe that the

charge is true, the Commission shall endeavor to eliminate any

such alleged unlawful employment practice by informal methods

of conference, conciliation, and persuasion. Nothing said or

done during and as a part of such endeavors may be made public

by the Commission without the written consent of the parties.

or used as evidence in a subsequent proceeding. Any officer or

employee of the Commission, who shall make public in any

manner whatever any information in violation of this subsection

shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction

thereof shall be fined not more than $1,000 or imprisoned not

more than one year.

* * * * *

(d) A charge under subsection (a) shall be filed within

ninety days after the alleged unlawful employment practice oc-

curred, except that in the case of an unlawful employment prac-

tice with respect to which the person aggrieved has followed the

procedure set out in subsection (b), such charge shall be filed

by the person aggrieved within two hundred and ten days after

the alleged unlawful employment practice occurred, or within

thirty days after receiving notice that the State or local agency

A20

has terminated the proceedings under the State or local law,

whichever is earlier, and a copy of such charge shall be filed by

the Commission with the State or local agency.

(e) If within thirty days after a charge is filed with the

Commission or within thirty days after expiration of any period

of reference under subsection (c) (except that in either case

such period may be extended to not more than sixty days upon

a determination by the Commission that further efforts to secure

voluntary compliance are warranted), the Commission has been

unable to obtain voluntary compliance with this title, the Com-

mission shall so notify the person aggrieved and a civil action

may, within thirty days thereafter, be brought against the re-

spondent named in the charge (1) by the person claiming to

be aggrieved, or (2) if such charge was filed by a member of

the Commission, by any person whom the charge alleges was

aggrieved by the alleged unlawful employment practice. Upon

application by the complainant and in such circumstances as the

court may deem just, the court may appoint an attorney for

such complainant and may authorize the commencement of

the action without the payment of fees, costs, or security. Upon

timely application, the court may, in its discretion, permit the

Attorney General to intervene in such civil action if he certifies

that the case is of general public importance. Upon request, the

court may, in its discretion, stay further proceedings for not more

than sixty days pending the termination of State or local pro-

ceedings described in subsection (b) or the efforts of the Com-

mission to obtain voluntary compliance.

(f) Each United States district court and each United States

court of a place subject to the jurisdiction of the United States

shall have jurisdiction of actions brought under this title. Such

[261] an action may be brought in any judicial district in the

State in which the unlawful employment practice is alleged to

have been committed, in the judicial district in which the em-

ployment records relevant to such practice are maintained and

administered, or in the judicial district in which the plaintiff

rl ans Ee ee ers >

A2l

would have worked but for the alleged unlawful employment

practice, but if the respondent is not found within any such

district, such an action may be brought within the judicial district

in which the respondent has his principal office. For purposes

of sections 1404 and 1406 of title 28 of the United States Code,

the judicial district in which the respondent has his principal

office shall in all cases be considered a district in which the action

might have been brought.

(g) If the court finds that the respondent has intentionally

engaged in or is intentionally engaging in an unlawful employ-

ment practice charged in the complaini, the court may enjoin

the respondent from engaging in such unlawful employment

practice, and order such affirmative action as may be appropriate,

which may include reinstatement or hiring of employees, with

or without back pay (payable by the employer, employment

agency, or labor organization. as the case may be, responsible

{261] for the unlawful employment practice). Interim earnings

or amounts earnable with reasonable diligence by the person

or persons discriminated against shall operate to reduce the back

pay otherwise allowable. No order of the court shall require

the admission or reinstatement of an individual as a member of a

union or the hiring, reinstatement, or promotion of an individual

as an employee, or the payment to him of any back pay, if such

individual was refused admission, suspended, or expelled or was

refused employment or advancement or was suspended or dis-

charged for any reason other than discrimination on account of

race, color, religion. sex or national origin or in violation of

section 704(a).

PELE SIRE LBA II SE A ST

A22

APPENDIX D

RULE 23, FEDERAL RULES OF CIVIL PROCEDURE

CLASS ACTIONS.

(a) Prerequisites to a Class Action. One or more members

of a class may sue or be sued as representative parties on behalf

of all only if (1) the class is so numerous that joinder of all

members is impracticable, (2) there are questions of law or fact

common to the class, (3) the claims or defenses of the repre-

sentative parties are typical of the claims or defenses of the class,

and (4) the representative parties will fairly and adequately

protect the interests of the class.

(b) Class Actions Maintainable. An action may be main-

tained as a class action if the prerequisites of subdivision (a) are

satisfied, and in addition:

(1) the prosecution of separate actions by or against indi-

vidual members of the class would create a risk of

(A) inconsistent or varying adjudications with respect to

individual members of the class which would establish incom-

patible standards of conduct for the party opposing the class, or

(B) adjudications with respeci to individual members of the

class which would as a practical matter be dispositive of the

interests of the other members not parties to the adjudications or

substantially impair or impede their ability to protect their inter-

ests; or

(2) the party opposing the class has acted or refused to act

on grounds generally applicable to the class, thereby making

appropriate final injunctive relief or corresponding declaratory

relief with respect to the class as a whole; or

A23

(3) the court finds that the questions of law or fact common

to the members of the class predominate over any questions

affecting only individual members, and that a class action is

superior to other available methods for the fair and efficient

adjudication of the controversy. The matters pertinent to the

findings include: (A) the interest of members of the class in

individually controlling the prosecution or defense of separate

actions; (B) the extent and nature of any litigation concerning

the controversy already commenced by or against members of

the class; (C) the desirability or undesirability of concentrating

the litigation of the claims in the particular forum; (D) the

difficulties likely to be encountered in the management of a class

action.

(c) Determination by Order Whether Class Action to be

Maintained; Notice; Judgment; Actions Conducted Partially as

Class Actions.

(1) As soon as practicable after the commencement of an

action brought as a class action, the court shall determine by

order whether it is to be so maintained. An order under this

subdivision may be conditional, and may be altered or amended

before the decision on the merits.

(2) In any class action maintained under subdivision (b)

(3), the court shall direct to the members of the class the best

notice practicable under the circumstances, including individual

notice to all members who can be identified through reasonable

effort. The notice shall advise each member that (A) the court

will exclude him from the class if he so requests by a specified

date; (B) the judgment, whether favorable or not, will include

all members who do not request exclusion; and (C) any mem-

ber who does not request exclusion may, if he desires, enter an

appearance through his counsel.

(3) The judgment in an action maintained as a class action

under subdivision (b)(1) or (b)(2), whether or not favorable

to the class, shall include and describe those whom the court

finds to be members of the class. The judgment in an action

SE SUE EI

NSERC Pris Hin TE AT RS ASIN Nk x 0 Rs Ie 6 Se —

A24

maintained as a class action under subdivision (b) (3), whether

or not favorable to the class, shall include and specify or de-

scribe those to whom the notice provided in subdivision (c) (2)

was directed, and who have not requested exclusion, and whom

the court finds to be members of the class.

(4) When appropriate (A) an action may be brought or

maintained as a class action with respect to particular issues, or

(B) a class may be divided into subclasses and each subclass

treated as a class, and the provisions of this rule shall then be

construed and applied accordingly.

(d) Orders in Conduct of Actions. In the conduct of actions

to which this rule applies, the court may make appropriate

orders: (1) determining the course of proceedings or prescrib-

ing measures to prevent undue repetition or complication in the

presentation of evidence or argument; (2) requiring, for the

protection of the members of the class or otherwise for the fair

_conduct of the action, that notice be given in such manner as the

court may direct to some or all of the members of any step in

the action, or of the proposed extent of the judgment, or of the

opportunity of members to signify whether they consider the

representation fair and adequate, to intervene and present claims

or defenses, or otherwise to come into the action; (3) imposing

conditions on the representative parties or on intervenors; (4)

requiring that the pleadings be amended to eliminate therefrom

allegations as to representation of absent persons, and that the

action proceed accordingly; (5) dealing with similar procedural

matters. The orders may be combined with an order under Rule

16. and may be altered or amended as may be desirable from

time to time.

(e) Dismissal or Compromise. A class action shall not be

dismissed or compromised without the approval of the court,

and notice of the proposed dismissal or compromise shall be

given to all members of the class in such manner as the court

directs.

As amended Feb. 28, 1966, eff. July 1, 1966.

e

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Safir v. Blackwell · 414 U.S. 975 | Frix