Brief for the Respondent in Opposition — Powers v. Bethlehem Steel Corp.

Supreme Court brief1973

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

: De 22 197

Court of the United||States.

7 | MICHAEL RODAK, 3

Ocrozzn Tzem, 1973. -

ne DONALD E. POWERS,

Puatntirr, Perrrionze,

v.

BETHLEHEM STEEL CORPORATION,

Dezrenpant, RESPONDENT,

v.

McKIE LIGHTER CO., INC.,

Dzrenvant, RESPONDENT,

AND

DONALD E. POWERS,

Priamtirr, Perrrionszs,

v.

McKIE LIGHTER CO., INC.,

Dezrzexpant, ResPonDENT.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARL

Lzo F. Gurxx,

Guyyx & Dempsey,

One Boston Place,

Boston, Massachusetts 02108,

Attorney for Defendant, Respondent,

McKie Lighter Co., Inc.

Caries EB. Corson,

Tuomas E. Cancna, Jz., Of Counsel,

Table of Contents.

Statement of the case 1

Questions presented 7

Summary of argument 8

Argument 11

I. No conflict exists with the decision of another

Court of Appeals 11

II. No conflict exists between the decision of the

District Court and the Court of Appeals in the

present case, and any District Court opinion 14

III. No important question of federal law is pre-

sented by the present case 21

IV. The decision does not conflict with any ap-

plicable decision of the United States Supreme

Court 23

V. No ease has been cited in the Petitioner’s

argument which is material to the case at bar 24

VI. No conflict exists concerning the applicable

law between the decisions below and any estab-

lished precedents 33

VII. No ground for the considerations cited by

Rule 19 is presented 42

Conclusion 43

Table of Authorities Cited.

CasEs.

Atlantic Transport Co. v Imbrovek, 234 U.S. 52

(1913) 38

The Bart Tully, 251 F. 856 (6th Cir. 1918) 20

Berton v Tietjen & Lang Dry Dock Co.,

219 F. 763 (N.J. 1915) 19

STH ny AB oe et

Diiaciscenssinsiasis

saan

li TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Biggs v Norfolk Dredging Company, 360 F2d 360

(4th Cir. 1965) 19, 34

Braniff v Jackson Ave.-Gretna Ferry, Inc.,

280 F2d 523 (5th Cir. 1960) 32

Brinegar v Iron Ore Construction Company,

302 F. Supp. 630 (E.D. Ark. 1969) 32

Charles Barnes Co. v One Dredge Boat, 169 F. 895

(E.D. Ky. 1909) 16

Carumbo v Cape Cod Steamship Company,

123 F2d 991 (1st Cir. 1941) 17

Chesapeake & O. Ry. Co. v Thomason, 6 Cir.,

70 F2d 860 4)

Colby v Todd Packing Co., 77 F. Supp. 956

(Alaska 1948) 29

Cook v Belden Concrete Products, Inc.,

471 F2d 999 (5th Cir. 1973) 14

Cope v. Vallette Dry Dock Co., 119 U.S. 625 26, 27

Detroit, T & I R Co. v Banning, 173 F2d 752 40

Evansville & Bowling Green Packet Co. v Chero

Cola Bottling Co., 271 U.S. 19 (1926) 10 et seq.

Executive Jet Aviation, Inc. v City of Cleveland, |

409 U.S. 249 (1972) 7 et seq.

The General Cass, Fed. Cas. No. 5307, P. 170 |

(E.D. Mich. 1871) 31

Grant Smith-Porter Ship Co. v Rohde, 257 U.S. 469

(1922) 3]

Grimes v Raymond Concrete Pile Co., 356 U.S. 252

(1958) 9, 10, 24, 30

Guilbeau v Falcon Seaboard Drilling Co.,

215 F. Supp. 909 (La. 1963)

Gutierrez v Waterman Steamship Corporation ,

10 L.Ed. 297 2d (1963)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED ili

Hark v Antilles Air Boats, Inc., 41 U.S.L.W.

2506-07 (V.I. 1973) 22

Hess v United States, 361 U.S. 314 (1960) 39

The Hezekiam Baldwin, 8 Ben. 556, 12 Fed. Cas.

No. 6449 38

Kenny v New York, 108 F2d 958 (2nd Cir.

1940) 12, 14, 26

Knapp, Stout & Co. v McCaffrey, 177 U.S. 638

(1899) 23

Maltby v Steam Derrick Boat, 16 Fed. Cases, 564 29

McGuire v City of New York, 192 F. Supp. 866

(S.D. N.Y. 1961) 36

MeWilliams Dredging Co. v United States,

105 F. Supp. 582 (E.D. La. 1952) 38

Moores v Louisville Underwriters, 14 F. 226

(W.D. Tenn. 1882) 19

Muntz v A Raft of Timber, 15 F. 555 (E.D. La.

1883) 15

Nacirema Operating Co., Inc. v Johnson,

396 U.S. 212 (1969), reh. den. 397 U.S. 929

(1970) 37

New Bedford Dry Dock v Purdy, 258 U.S. 96 (1922) 23

Nogueira v New York, N.H. & H. R.R.,

281 U.S. 128 (1930) 23

Offshore Company v Robinson, 266 F2d 769

(5th Cir. 1959) 29

Peck v U. S. Steel Corp., 315 F. Supp. 905 (Minn.),

aff'd. 446 F2d 891 (8th Cir. 1970) 14

People v Gotshall, 123 Mich. 474, 82 N.W. 274 40

The Pioneer, 30 F. 206 (E.D. N.Y. 1886) 31

Se eee 5 Dt akan ab adl® Y SAMO AE TE MEET REL LEIS AA ORR ARNE NEE LOTS

iv TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Pleason v Gulfport Shipbuilding Corporation,

221 F2d 621 (5th Cir. 1955)

Raft of Cypress Logs, Fed. Cas. No. 11,527

(W.D. Tenn. 1882)

The Robert W. Parsons, 181 U.S. 17 (1903)

Seabrook v Raft of Railroad Ties, 40 F. 596

(S.C. 1889)

Spiller v Thomas M. Lowe, Jr. & Associates, Inc.,

328 F. Supp. 54 (Ark. 1971)

Spratley v Tidewater Construction Corporation,

238 F. Supp. 650 (E.D. Va. 1965)

Stafford v Perini Corporation, 475 F2d 507

(1st Cir. 1973)

Stanley v Guy Scroggins Construction Co.,

297 F2d 374 (Sth Cir. 1961) 10,

Swanson v Marra, 328 U.S. 1 (1945)

Thibodeaux v J. Ray McDermott & Co.,

276 F2d 42 (5th Cir. 1960)

Trask v Boston & Maine R.R., 219 Mass. 410,

106 N.E. 1022

Tregoning Boat Co. v United States, 15 Cust. Ct. 196,

C. O. 971 (1945)

United States v Bruce Dry Dock Co., 65 F2d 938

(5th Cir. 1933)

United States v Moran Towing & Transportation

Co., 374 F2d 656 (4th Cir. 1967)

United States v One Raft of Timber, 13 F. 796

(S.C. 1882)

Victory Carriers v Law, 404 U.S. 202 (1971)

sb)

30

33

19, 34

20, 34

17

18

40

16

20

13

lf

37

Sto aR

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

STATUTES.

1U.S.C. $3

19 U.S.C. § 1401(a)

98 U.S.C. § 1291, et seq.

33 U.S.C. § 414, Sect. 19

33 U.S.C. § 903

46 U.S.C. § 391(a)

46 U.S.C. § 740 (62 Stat. 496)

46 U.S.C. § 801

TREATISES.

The Law of Admiralty, Gilmore & Black (1957)

Moore’s Federal Practice, Vol. 7A (2nd Ed. 1972)

paragraph .215(2) et seq.

Wigmore on Evidence, 3rd Ed., Vol .II.

Sec. 459, 460

Ru.gs.

United States Supreme Court Rule 19

24, 25, 30

28

40

11, 42, 43

;

.

=a a la it AY ea ee ada Rae RT Ye a ae eae eR oR AR rll

| Supreme Court of the United States.

|

Octoser Term, 1973.

No. 73-86.

DONALD E. POWERS,

PuaintirF, Petitioner,

v

BETHLEHEM STEEL CORPORATION,

DEFENDANT, RESPONDENT,

v.

McKIE LIGHTER CO., INC.,

DEFENDANT, RESPONDENT,

AND

DONALD E. POWERS,

Puaintir¥, Peririoner,

v

McKIE LIGHTER CO., INC.,

DeFrenDaNt, RESPONDENT.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI.

Statement of the Case.

On October 6, 1967, shortly before daybreak, four men,

including the plaintiff, all of whom were experienced pile

drivers, were getting ready to start their day’s work at

0.0 5 A PRE EL INIT a0 aie ‘i — ="

2

Pier 3, Bethlehem Steel Shipyard in East Boston, Massa.

chusetts. (R.A. 253) The plaintiff testified at trial that he

classified himself as a pile driver and secured his work

from the Pile Drivers and Dock Builders Union.

‘‘Q The work that you did was classified as a pile

driver, is that correct?

‘‘A I classify myself as a pile driver, yes, sir.

“‘Q You got your work from the pile drivers and

dock builders union?

‘““A Yes, sir.’’ (R.A. 98)

In each of the three counts of his complaint against

McKie Lighter Co., Inc., the plaintiff had alleged:

‘‘On or about October 6, 1967 the plaintiff was ...

a seaman and member of the crew of a lighter.”’

But his testimony given at trial was:

“‘Q Mr. Powers, you were working at Pier 3 o

October 6, 1967, is that correct?

‘A Yes, sir.

“‘Q Is it correct to say that at the Pier 3 job, you

had no lighter?

‘*A No, sir, we did not.

‘“‘Q You had been working at the Pier 3 job from

approximately August through October?

‘“*A Of 1967, yes.’’ (R.A. 92)

Accordingly, the plaintiff testified that there was no

lighter and he negated the allegation in the complaint —

Before the Pier 3 job started in August, 1967, two months

before his injury, he had been working as a pile driver in

Harvard Square. (R.A. 93) Before that, he had worked on

the construction of the Cambridge Courthouse, the Mer-

Pride. Bids CPde Mod Mion

» 23

a

' chants National Bank Building and the Boston City Hospital.

(R.A. 99, 100)

The contract for which the plaintiff was employed de-

scribed the work to be performed in the following terms:

**. . . (McKie Lighter) shall provide for but not

limited to the installation of concrete jackets on 53

concrete piles . . . consisting of wire brushing of all

existing resteel and concrete surfaces coming in con-

tact with the new work, the furnishing and installation

of removable steel and concrete forms, the furnishing

and placing of all reinforcing steel and concrete, the

} furnishing and installation of all expansion bolts, wire

mesh and other accessories . . . necessary to complete

the work. . .”’

During his trial testimony, the plaintiff described his

j work as follows:

““Q The work you were doing on the piling was

cleaning the outside of the piling and then you had to

put forms around them, steel forms, you put reinforcing

rods inside the steel?

‘A That is correct.

““Q And poured concrete inside the forms. Is that

correct?

“A Yes, sir.

“‘Q In order to do that, the pouring of the concrete,

you got it by trucks on the top of the pier. It came

j down by hoses and went inside the forms.

“‘A That is correct.’’ (R.A. 95)

Two men would normally stand on top of the pier

handling the hoses and two men would stand on a narrow

float tied under the pier pouring the concrete around the

pilings. The pilings under the pier were in rows. The pier

| ‘

i

4

itself was some 30 to 40 feet wide. (R.A. 95, 96) The space

between each row of pilings under the pier was called a

bay. (R.A. 97)

The work on the piles under the pier was accomplished by

standing on a narrow floating stage or raft tied under the

pier. The one in use at the time of the plaintiff’s injury

was 4 feet wide, some 25 feet long, and composed of four

timbers secured together. (R.A. 30, 304, 305) The plaintiff

testified that it,

‘was 3 1/2 to 4 feet wide. This was on 10 x 10,

12 x 12 timbers bonded together.’’

The co-worker nearest the plaintiff, called by the plaintiff

as a witness, testified at R.A. 305:

‘‘Q Three or four feet wide?

‘“‘A Yes, that is right.’’

The lines from the pier were tied to the raft at all times.

(R.A. 99) The plaintiff testified (R.A. 99) concerning the

lines between the pier and the raft:

‘‘Q It was either tied to the raft or tied to the pier

at all times?

‘*A It was tied to the raft at all times.’’

The floating stage was used as a work surface by the men

under the pier repairing the pilings according to the plair-

tiff’s testimony in deposition, at trial (R.A. 97, 98):

‘“‘T call your attention to your deposition, partic-

ularly the bottom of page 16:

‘Q Were you attempting to move the raft along,

parallel to the face of the pier?’

‘*You answered:

5

,

‘A Well, they were alongside the pier when we

started work. And then the foreman would

designate a bay he wanted to work in and

then we would move them alongside and

, then nose them into the bay.’

“Q ‘Q You mean pull them alongside that way and

then turn them in that way?

‘‘A Pulled it by lines, yes.

“‘Q ‘Q And then these rafts were just work sur-

faces?

‘A Wooden rafts, right.

‘Q But, I mean, they were used as your work

surface so you could work on the piles?’

‘*You answered: ‘Yes’.

, ‘‘That is true, isn’t it?

} ‘“‘A That is right sir.’’

The distance that the raft would be moved to start work

on the piles under the pier would be some 10 to 20 feet.

(R.A. 98) Thus at R.A. 98 the plaintiff testified:

“‘Q And that distance you would move them would

be anywhere from 10, 15, 20 feet?

i ‘‘A It would vary depending upon where the fore-

man would designate an area where you had to work.’’

On the particular morning the distance the raft was to

be moved was described by the plaintiff as 15 or 20 feet.

Thus at R.A. 96 the plaintiff testified:

‘“‘Q What was the distance the raft was going to

move on the morning of October 6?

“‘A It would be pretty hard to say.

“‘Q Would you say about 15, 20 feet?

‘“‘A It could be in that area, yes, sir, on that partic-

ular morning.’’

—

Be ate

Re AN aed ‘

ni, =

J

6

On the morning of October 6, 1967 the pile drivers placed

a pair of lights on the side of the pier with bulbs at several

foot intervals. (R.A. 309, 310) While the plaintiff was

standing on the four-foot wide work float tied to the pier,

the light up on the pier which was nearest him and some

10 to 12 feet over his head, suddenly ‘‘popped’’ and a

particle of the bulb caused his eye injury. (R.A. 114)

There was no evidence that anything struck the bulb, or

concerning any impact from any source, and no witness

knew why the bulb had broken. (R.A. 45, 114, 286, 287, 307,

257, 258) The men were provided with three types of eye

shields: hoods to wear during standblasting, dark eye

shields to wear during welding or burning, and clear glass

eye shields to wear at any time including chipping work.

The decision when to wear the goggles was an individual

one. (R.A. 121, 122) The plaintiff testified he saw no reason

to wear goggles at the time of his injury (R.A. 122), but he

had them with him at that time. (R.A. 122, 154).

“<Q You did have goggles with you when working

over there?

‘““A Yes, sir.

“Q You did not use them when working on the

morning of October 6, 1967?

‘‘A There was complete darkness, no need of goggles

at that particular time.

‘‘Q There was a light on, the light you have been |

talking about. |

‘‘A There was a light on, yes, sir.’’ (R.A. 122)

On December 29, 1969, three months after he had started |

the present suit in which he alleged he was,

‘¢a seaman and member of the crew of a lighter’’,

7

(and in which his testimony at trial confirmed there was no

lighter, R.A. 92) the plaintiff testified under oath on the

witness stand at a formal Compensation Hearing, in the

presence of his counsel, that he was a pile driver.

*Q Did you tell the Compensation Commissioner

you were always classified as a pile driver?

‘““A Yes, sir, I did.

“‘Q You did that on December 29 in order to re-

ceive compensation as a harbor worker.

“A Yes.’’ (R.A. 105)

The plaintiff also received and accepted the benefits of

the Compensation Statute. (R.A. 105) Section 903 of that

Statute (Title 33 U.S.C.) excludes,

‘ta member of the crew of any vessel’’

from its benefits. Section 905 makes it the employee’s ex-

clusive remedy against his employer.

Questions Presented.

1. Whether the District Court and Court of Appeals

correctly ruled that a work float consisting of four one-foot

timbers used as a work surface by a pile driver while pour-

ing concrete around the old piles under a pier to repair

them, being at all times tied to the pier, was not a vessel

and was not used in ‘‘traditional maritime activities, in-

volving navigation or commerce on navigable waters.’’!

2. Whether the District Court and Court of Appeals

correctly ruled that a self-styled ‘‘pile driver’’, a member

of the Pile Drivers Union, whose work was to install steel

forms under a repair yard pier and pour concrete into

those forms by a hose from a delivery truck on the pier,

' Executive Jet Aviation, Inc. v City of Cleveland, 409 U.S. 249,

256 (1972)

ge on

8

while standing on a narrow work float, four feet wide,

always tied to the pier, does not have a nexus with ‘‘tradi-

tional maritime activities, involving navigation or commerce

on navigable waters’’? and was not a member of the crew

of a vessel.

Summary of Argument.

The decision of the Court of Appeals for the First Cir.

cuit is completely in accord with, and expressly follows the

very recent opinion of this Honorable Court in the Execu.

tive Jet Aviation, Inc. v City of Cleveland, 409 U.S. 249,

(1972). That decision was issued several weeks before the

orai argument in the case at bar; it was considered by the

parties and the Court of Appeals on oral argument and

expressly followed by the Court of Appeals in its Opinion.

The standards required for admiralty jurisdiction and other

legal principles applicable to the case at bar were fully

described by this Honorable Court in the Executive Jet

Aviation opinion. The decision of the Court of Appeals

cites and follows that opinion and is not in any respect in

conflict with that opinion. The decision of the Court of

Appeals is also in complete accord with the opinions of

other Courts of Appeal and with other District Courts in-

cluding all cases cited in the Petition.

In the 1972 opinion in Executive Jet Aviation, Inc. v City

of Cleveland, 409 U.S. 249, the Supreme Court noted that

with respect to admiralty jurisdiction a mechanical or locus

standard has been ‘‘actively criticized’’ and recognized as

the more appropriate basis,

‘« traditional maritime activities, involving naviga-

tion or commerce on navigable waters.’’ (At page 256)

2 Executive Jet Aviation, Inc. v City of Cleveland, 409 U.S. 249,

256 (1972)

9

In the case at bar there has been no navigation or com-

merce on navigable waters. The plaintiff by his own testi-

mony and by his own witnesses classified himself as a pile

driver, obtained all his work from the Pile Drivers Union

and before starting on the job for the defendant, McKie,

a few months earlier, had been engaged as a pile driver in

the construction of a bank, a courthouse, and a hospital,

all inside the City of Boston. The work he was performing

at the time of his injury was to repair old piles under a

pier by pouring concrete into steel forms around the old

piles by a hose which was attached to a cement delivery

truck on top of the pier. To perform the repairs of the old

piles he stood on a narrow work float four feet wide, made

of four one-foot timbers secured together, and some 25 feet

long. He testified it was at all times tied to the pier. It was

moved only to reach the pile to be repaired on the partic-

ular day or approximately 10 to 20 feet each morning. It

was entirely localized work under the pier repairing the

piles and in no sense concerned,

‘.,. traditional maritime activities, involving naviga-

tion or commerce on navigable waters.’’ (Page 256,

Executive Jet Aviation, Inc. v City of Cleveland, 409

U.S. 249 (1972).)

Each case cited in the Petition has been analyzed in

detail in the Respondents’ Brief and the absence of any

materiality has been shown from the facts of each case.

For purposes of illustration in this summary, reference is

made to two cases, each of which was cited three times in

the Petition. In Grimes v Raymond Concrete Pile Co., 356

U.S. 252 (1958), cited at pages 10, 14 and 17 of the Peti-

tion, the plaintiff was working 110 miles out in the ocean

and was transferring from a tug, on which he ate and slept,

in a breeches buoy in heavy weather to a so-called Texas

ad Re '

tower when the rough seas threw him against the pilot house

of the tugboat causing his injury. Yet the Petition says

on page 10 that Grimes was a person

10

‘‘nerforming the same work as the plaintiff’’,

and on page 17 the Petition refers to the Grimes case as,

‘“similar evidence.’’

The present plaintiff was a pile driver who stood on a float

four feet wide made of timbers tied together underneath a

pier so that he might pour concrete, from a delivery truck

up on top of the pier, into steel forms around the old piles

while the float was at all times tied to the pier and once a

day moved 10 or 20 feet.

The Petition cites on three occasions the case of Stanley

v Guy Scroggins Construction Co., 297 F2d 374 (5th Cir.

1961), at pages 9, 14 and 17. Stanley was working 40 miles

out in the Gulf of Mexico and was transferring from a tug

to an oil drilling tower in rough weather when the roll of

the vessel in the heavy seas caused his injury while he was

attempting to leave the tug. Yet at page 9, the Petition

contends that the Stanley case is one of

‘similar facts’’,

to that of the present plaintiff who was a self-styled pile

driver pouring concrete into forms around old piles under-

neath a pier on a narrow work float four feet wide which

was always tied to the pier and was merely used to stand

on in order to perform the work of repairing the old piles. |

The decision below additionally parallels the following

language in the case of Evansville & Bowling Green Packe!

Co v Chero Cola Bottling Co., 271 U.S. 19 (1926), in which

the Supreme Court rejected any admiralty jurisdiction or |

status of a vessel for a wharf float saying at page 21:

a

Bat

“aca

'

‘It had no machinery or power for propulsion and

was not subject to government inspection as are vessels

operated on navigable waters... The wharf boat was

used to transfer freight between steamboats and land

and from one steamboat to another... Charges made

for services performed by its use were for storage and

handling and not for transportation. .. It was not

practically capable of being used as a means of trans-

portation... It performed no function that might not

have been performed as well by an appropriate struc-

ture on the land and by a floating stage or platform

permanently attached to the land. It did not encounter

perils of navigation to which craft used for transporta-

tion are exposed.’’

11

A factual analysis of all of the cases cited in the Petition

confirms that the decision of the Court of Appeals in the

case at bar is entirely in accord with all of the cases cited

by the Petitioner and is in accord as well with the recent

and controlling decision of this Honorable Court in the

case of Executive Jet Aviation, Inc. v City of Cleveland,

409 U.S. 249 (1972).

Because none of the considerations required by Rule 19

of the United States Supreme Court are supported by the

Petition in the case at bar, the Respondents respectfully

| submit that the Petition should be denied.

Argument.

| I. No Conruct Exists with THE DECISION OF ANOTHER

Court or APPEALS.

No question exists that the raft being used as a work

float in the openings (called bays) under the pier to repair

the pilings was ‘‘3 1/2 to 4 feet wide’’, composed of

12

‘timbers bonded together’? with ‘‘no deck or surface

around it’’. (R.A. 30)

The witness Ward called by the plaintiff, and who was

the pile driver standing beside the plaintiff, testified as

follows concerning the width of the raft or work float on

which he and the plaintiff were standing:

‘“‘Q The narrow one about three feet wide, is that

right?

“, 70.

‘‘Q Three or four feet wide?

‘“‘A Yes, that is right.

‘“‘Q So there would be no difficulty in getting this

narrow raft in between the pilings into the bay, is that

right?

‘‘A No, there never was much difficulty getting

either one in between the bays.’’ (R.A. 305)

The plaintiff himself described the raft as follows:

‘it was 3.1/2 to 4 feet wide. This was on 12 x 12,

10 x 10 timbers bonded together. There was no deck

or surface around it. . .’’ (R.A. 30, 304, 305)

No question exists that it was ‘‘tied to the pier at all

times’’ and that it moved ‘10, 15 or 20 feet’’ depending

upon the particular pilings being repaired.

The cases cited by the Petitioner at pages 8 and 9 of the

Petition are clearly consistent with the decisions of the

District Court and Court of Appeals in the case at bar.

Kenny v New York, 108 F2d 958 (2nd Cir. 1940), con-

cerned a ‘deck scow’? named ‘*The Columbiad’’. It was

large enough to have been the subject of a bare boat

charter. Further details concerning the deck scow are found

in the District Court opinion at 28 F. Supp. 175. The

District Court notes that it was moored by anchors in the

Paes. debian

13

tideway and sustained the damage during a storm because

she had been improperly anchored. It was large enough to

have accommodated several large fireworks display pieces,

having in mind the required spacing between such pieces.

At page 959 the Circuit Court of Appeals noted it was

‘capable of navigation at all times’’.

United States v Moran Towing & Transportation Co.,

374 F2d 656 (4th Cir. 1967) concerns a 9400-ton floating

drydock which was 360 feet long and 100 feet wide. It was

being towed to sea for intentional sinking in the ocean

depth when it foundered and sank, blocking the channel. The

sole issue before the Court was the applicability of the so-

called Wreck Statute under which the United States Corps

of Army Engineers were seeking to recover some $163,000

as the cost of removal of the sunken wreck as a menace to

navigation in the channel. The Court noted that the explicit

language of the Wreck Statute (33 U.S.C. § 414, Sect. 19)

applied to any,

‘‘sunken vessel, boat, watercraft, raft or other

similar obstruction.’’

The significant characteristics therefore were the effect of

the sunken object to serve as an underwater obstruction in

its sunken condition. It is plainly without materiality to

the issues in the case at hand. It may also be noted from

the standpoint of statutory construction that Congress saw

fit to include the word ‘‘raft’’ as a later word in a sequence

which earlier had included the word ‘‘vessel’’. By normal

rules of statutory construction the text of that Statute

would indicate an intention by Congress to differentiate

between a vessel and a raft. The Petitioner, however, pur-

ports to cite the case as authority for the opposite conclu-

sion, stating it on page 8 as a case,

‘‘where rafts were held to be vessels’’.

— : a A aT “8 a

ma OLE = LEI LITO rs — — a |

~ ;

14

There was no raft in the case, but only a sunken wreck of a

former drydock. Neither the deck scow in the Kenny case

nor the 9400-ton sunken drydock in the Moran case are

material to the case at bar or to the purpose for which they

are cited by the Petitioner.

Peck v U. S. Steel Corp., 315 F. Supp. 905 (Minn), —

affirmed 446 F2d 891 (8th Cir. 1970), concerned a large

derrick barge, named the S2, which was large enough and |

powerful enough to have lifted a tugboat entirely out of

the water. The suit concerned injury to the tug when it

was being lifted out of the water by the derrick barge. To |

cite that case as an illustration of a case ‘‘where rafts were

held to be vessels’’ is plainly unsound.

Nor is the case of Cook v Belden Concrete Products, Inc.,

472 F2d 999 (5th Cir. 1973), an illustration of a case where |

a ‘‘raft-like object was not a vessel.’’ The Cook case con-

cerned a former barge transformed into a functioning dry-

dock used for the launching of other newly constructed

barges. It relates to a specialized line of cases which have

treated the subject of floating drydocks. There is no

reference anywhere in the opinion to any ‘‘raft-like object”,

nor is there any dry dock in the case at bar.

II. No Cowruict Exists BETWEEN THE DeEcISION OF THE

District Court aNp THE CovurT oF APPEALS IN THE

Present Case, anp Any District Court Option.

Nor is there any merit in the suggestion in the Petition

concerning a conflict or indeed confusion at the District

Court level. None of the cases cited is material to th

present case.

United States v One Raft of Timber, 13 F. 796 (SC.

1882), concerned a raft of lumber for moving a quantity

of lumber to market. It was large enough to have been |

navigated by sail and when anchored without lights in the

)

>

15

navigating channel caused a self-evident hazard to naviga-

tion. The issue before the Court was the applicability of a

Statute which required navigating lights on coal boats,

trading boats, rafts or other water craft. The case does not

present any holding that a raft is a vessel since the Statute

expressly refers to rafts as part of its sequence. In the

particular instance the raft was of such size that it was

actually being navigated and presented a navigational

hazard to other vessels in the channel when unlighted.

In Muntz v A Raft of Timber, 15 F. 555 (E.D. La. 1883),

the raft was used as a means of transporting an amount of

lumber down the Mississippi River and was of such size

that when it got away during a storm, it took two large

and one small tugboats to manage it. It has no materiality

! to the pouring of concrete into a form around a piling

under a pier from a hose leading from a concrete delivery

truck while standing on a narrow work float always tied

to the pier. It is of particular interest that the Court in the

Muntz case made the following comment at page 557:

‘“‘The decision in this case need not be taken as

holding that a raft is a vehicle of navigation or can

commit a maritime tort or as being subject to any

other obligations or responsibilities than a bale of

cotton would be subject to under the same circum-

stances.’’

In Seabrook v Raft of Railroad Ties, 40 F. 596 (S.C.

1889), the raft of lumber was 150 feet square and it caused

collision damage to a large steam dredge while traveling

down the Stone River. The 150-foot raft had first traveled

down the Edisto River and then other navigable rivers and

then finally to the Stone River where the collision occurred.

It was characterized by the Court as a *‘voyage of many

days duration’’. Further, that

16

‘‘it was manned with a pilot who was in command, a

crew of four men and a cook’’.

The Court also stated at page 598 that,

‘‘Necessarily it was constructed to withstand the

buffeting of the waves and wind .. .”’

Charles Barnes Co. v One Dredge Boat, 169 F. 895 (E.D.

Ky. 1909), concerned the mortgage of a

‘‘pump boat, its machinery, sails, furniture and

apparel’’.

It was described by the libellant as having

‘a secow bow, a scow stern, a deck fore and a deck

aft, and a cockpit in the center covered by a cargo

bow’’.

The Court noted it was

‘‘eapable of being towed to any place in the Ohio

River where its services might be needed’’.

Accordingly, it functioned as a vessel in activity as well as

in its characterization in the mortgage.

In the case of Tregoning Boat Co. v United States, 1s

Cust. Ct. 196, C. O. 971 (1945), a case in the Court of

Customs, concerned the classification for custom duties of —

a lifeboat fitted with sails, a rudder, food, water and signal-

ling equipment. It was designed to accommodate 12 persons

and save them during a storm at sea. No reasonable relation

to the present work stage tied under the pier can be made.

There is no factual and no legal relationship between any

of the foregoing cases and the case at hand. Not only is it

clear that the plaintiff’s work was that of a pile driver

pouring concrete around steel forms under a pier, while

17

standing on a work float +’ x 1’ x 25’ used only to stand on

while it was always tied to the pier, but his work was

clearly not that of a seaman as defined in the case of

Carumbo v Cape Cod Steamship Company, 123 F2d 991

(1st Cir. 1941). That definition was quoted and followed by

the Supreme Court in Swanson v Marra, 328 U.S. 1, 5 (1945)

and was cited in the Opinion of the District Court in the

present case. (R.A. 371) The Carumbo decision at page 995

reads as follows:

“‘The requirements that the ship be in navigation;

that there be more or less permanent connection with

the ship; and that the worker be aboard primarily to

aid in navigation appears to us to be the essential and

decisive elements of the definition of a ‘member of a

crew’.”’

All three of the requirements must be met. Since the

plaintiff was working on a floating stage under a pier which

was always tied by lines to the pier he fails the first of the

three requirements, Le.,

“that the ship be in navigation’’.

The Supreme Court used as its comparable phrase,

“‘encounter perils of navigation to which craft used

for transportation are exposed’’,

which appears at page 21 in Evansville € Bowling Green

Packet Co. v Chero Cola Bottling Co., 271 U.S. 19 (1926).

Secondly, it is clear that he had no

“‘more or less permanent connection with the ship’’,

since his only relationship to the staging was to stand on it

while he was repairing the piles. (R.A. 97, 98)

FS NO HAG

pC ERATE LE POE IES PIT OF WS EE » GR OR SO I aD =

The third requirement, that the seaman be aboard

primarily to aid in navigation, is plainly deficient since the

plaintiff primarily and indeed exclusively was working on

the repair of pilings under the pier.

The phrase,

‘*primarily to aid in navigation”’,

has been construed to include the specialized mission of the

vessel as a vessel. Thus, although an oiler or wiper in the

engine room would not be directly aiding in navigation,

he would be plainly a member of the crew since he is aiding

in transporting the vessel over the sea. Similarly on a

passenger vessel where entertainment of the passengers was

part of the mission of the voyage an orchestra player wou'd

be included as a member of the crew for such a voyage. But

if the only function of a floating stage is to be essentially

at rest under a pier, no one can be regarded as on board

‘‘primarily’’ to aid in its navigation since no navigation is

intended or performed. The primary and only performance

is that of cleaning and repairing piles driven into the

ground under a pier only 40 feet wide while standing on a

stage float permanently tied to that pier.

Evansville & Bowling Green Packet Co. v Chero

Cola Bottling Co., 271 U.S. 19 (1926)

Thibodeaux v J. Ray McDermott €& Co., (5th Cir.

1960) 276 F2d 42.

Nor does any relationship or any conflict exist between

the following District Court cases cited by the Petition at

page 8 and the case at bar:

Raft of Cypress Logs, Fed. Cas. No. 11,527 (W.D. Tenn.

1882), concerned the navigation of a large commercial raft

of cypress logs on a voyage of several hundred miles from

New Madrid, Missouri to Memphis, Tennessee to reach the

Si

#

&

& we

-

potter nee

lumber markets. The case concerned the wages of the sail-

ing crew during that lengthy voyage and is plainly a non-

material situation to the present case.

Moores v Louisville Underwriters, 14 F. 226 (W.D. Tenn.

1882), concerned the interpretation of a cargo insurance

policy applied to a lumber raft towed astern of a Mississippi

steamboat for purposes of transporting the lumber to the

lumber market. It was large enough to have a barge towed

astern of it. It is patently extraneous to the present case

both in its factual circumstances and its legal issues.

Berton v Tietjen & Lang Dry Dock Co., 219 F. 763 (N.J.

1915), concerned a floating dry dock and its characteriza-

tion at the bottom of page 8 of the Petition as a ‘‘raft-like

object’? is wholly unsound. The case follows a long line of

specialized cases relating to floating dry docks which held

them not to be vessels. There is no suggestion anywhere

that a floating dry dock was in any manner concerned in the

present case.

The references at the top of page 9 of the Petition to

19

‘‘other appellate decisions . . . under similar facts’’

is not supported by the cases which follow since none of

them has facts which are in any respect similar to the case

at bar.

In Stafford v Perini Corporation, 475 F2d 507 (1st Cir.

1973), the plaintiff was injured while working on the deck

of a large ocean going scow two miles at sea in the waters

of Narragansett Bay.

In Biggs v Norfolk Dredging Company, 360 F2d 360

(4th Cir. 1965), the plaintiff was characterized by the Court

in the following language at page 362:

‘*Biggs, who held a Coast Guard certificate as a sea-

man, had on occasion handled the lines and assisted in

maneuvering the barges.’’

Ce ale ih HE RSE EEK TOR 2 LIE CE TEE PIT

Moreover, at the time of his injury, Biggs was standing on

a derrick barge and had just stepped onto the derrick barge

from a pontoon barge. There were several other barges

there which the plaintiff also maneuvered. There is no sug-

gestion anywhere in the present record that the present

plaintiff had any certificates as a seaman, nor was there

either any derrick barge, nor was there any barge of any

kind in use at the Pier 3 job where he was employed at the

time of his injury.

In Stanley v Guy Scroggins Construction Co., 297 F2d

375 (Sth Cir. 1961), cited by the Petitioner at page 14 of

the Petition, the plaintiff was some 40 miles out in the Gulf

of Mexico and was swinging from a tug to board a drilling

tower. The plaintiff ate, slept and bathed on a tugboat

which serviced the tower and worked on the tower itself.

The maritime quality of his work is evidenced by the fact

that the roughness of the sea was the immediate cause of

his injury. At page 376 the Court states:

‘‘Just as Stanley was about to swing, a large wave

lifted the boat up. Stanley was thrown off balance. He

swung out, clutching the rope, and banged into a steel

ladder on the platform.’’

The case is clearly no material or reasonable precedent

for a pile driver repairing fixed piles underneath a 40-foot

pier, on a narrow float staging tied at all times to or under

that pier.

In United States v Bruce Dry Dock Co., 65 F2d 938 (5th

Cir. 1933) and The Bart Tully, 251 F. 856 (6th Cir. 1918),

the Courts were confronted with the procedural problems

which have since been cured by the enactment first of the

Federal Tort Claims Act, 28 U.S.C. § 1291, et seq., and

second by the Extension of Admiralty Jurisdiction Statute,

62 Stat. 496, 46 U.S.C. § 740. In each case a collision had

+6 wal

‘

occurred between a vessel and a land unit under circum-

stances which would have afforded admiralty jurisdiction

to the vessel but not to the owner of the dry dock in one

instance, or to the wharf in the other. Since both cases

would lie within the statutory extension of admiralty juris-

diction, the cases are without current authoritative applica-

tion except to point to the reasonableness of the Statutes

which have now been enacted to meet the exigencies sug-

gested by the cases cited.

None of the cases cited by the Petitioner as grounds for

consideration for review on certiorari is material to the

case at bar, nor do they present any conflict with the case

at bar. They do not reasonably support the granting of

certiorari by this Honorable Court.

21

III. No Important Question oF F'eperaL Law 1s PresENTED

BY THE PRESENT Case.

With so recent and searching a review by the Supreme

Court concerning the standards of admiralty jurisdiction as

Executive Jet Aviation, Inc. v City of Cleveland, 409 U.S.

249 (1972), it is especially clear that no further review in

that identical field warrants the exercise of this Court's

discretion in granting certiorari. A significant summary of

the law applicable to the case at bar with respect to mari-

time jurisdiction appears at page 261 of that decision in the

following text :

‘In sum, there has existed over the years a judicial,

legislative, and scholarly recognition that, in deter-

mining whether there is admiralty jurisdiction over a

particular tort or class of torts, reliance on the rela-

tionship of the wrong to traditional maritime activity

is often more sensible and more consonant with the

purposes of maritime law than is a purely mechanical

application of the locality test.’’

dah Bos

RAIA BLE ME LEPIELELE ELLIS WES ETE EEL AMIS AEA : os sa Migainen Dias SMcr se ¥ sales wh

ots

22

This opinion was expressly followed by the Court of

Appeals in the case at bar. Whether the local nature of the

plaintiff’s work pouring concrete around fixed piles under a

pier from a delivery truck overhead is the controlling

standard, or whether the essentially stationary narrow work

float, always tied to or under the pier as a working surface

to perform that fixed local work, is the standard, there is

a complete absence of any :

‘‘maritime nexus—some relationship between the tort

and traditional maritime activities, involving naviga-

tion or commerce on navigable waters.’’ Page 256,

Executive Jet Aviation v City of Cleveland, 409 US.

249.

Here, the plaintiff was working on or under a pier and

using a small, crude work float merely to stand on to per-

form his work as a pile driver. It is a contrived absurdity

for the Petition to refer (as it does at page 5 thereof) to

‘‘navigating’’ or ‘‘transport’’.

The ‘‘transport’’ and ‘‘navigating’’ was a distance of 10 or

20 feet while always tied to the pier and the positioning

was convenience in performing the work of pouring con-

crete around the old pilings underneath the pier. The

propriety of the decision by the Court of Appeals especially

guided by the scholarly and thorough direction in the cur-

rent opinion of this Court in Executive Jet Aviation, In.

v City of Cleveland, 409 U.S. 249, wholly refutes any ground

for this Court’s discretion in granting certiorari in the

present case.

In Hark v Antilles Air Boats, Inc., 41 U.S.L.W. 2506-07

(V.I. 1973), an injury occurred at a considerable distance

off shore in a seaplane which was, as the Court pointed out,

used as a mobile vessel. After the plane had moved at high

speed over the water for takeoff and had barely become air-

borne, the damage occurred. There is plainly no analogy

or materiality between the present case and the operation

of seaplanes at high speed, either before take off or after

take off, for a several hundred mile run between two islands

in the Caribbean in the Virgin Islands group.

23

IV. Tue Decision poes Not Conruict with Any APPLICABLE

Decision OF THE UNITED States SuprREME Court.

The Petitioner cites at pages 9 and 10 of the Petition the

following three cases as illustrations of a ruling ‘‘that a

raft similar to the one at bar may be a vessel’’. An ex-

amination of the facts of the cases, however, does not sup-

port this contention.

In Knapp, Stout & Co. v McCaffrey, 177 U.S. 638 (1899),

the Supreme Court ruled that a Bill in Equity in the State

Court of Illinois was a proper remedy for enforcing a

possessory lien against a raft of lumber for towage services

from Stillwater, Minnesota to St. Louis, Missouri provided

to other rafts of lumber. The Court noted that it was not

an action in rem against the raft as a res and therefore

not intended to be an admiralty action. The non-admiralty

jurisdiction of the Illinois Court was sustained.

New Bedford Dry Dock v Purdy, 258 U.S. 96 (1922),

concerned a 200-foot long car float which had ‘‘steering

apparatus and a steam plant of the propeller type for pro-

pulsion’’. It was plainly incorrect for the Petitioner at

page 9 to refer to the case as ‘‘a raft similar to the one at

bar’’.

The third case, Nogueira v New York, N.H. & H.R.R., 281

U.S. 128 (1930), concerned another car float, this time

described as being of 500 tons’ dimension Not only was its

size sufficient for transferring heavy railroad cars across

wide areas such as New York harbor, but its freeboard and

Sr a

2 eS. te hae

- Re Wek te: f Ppa

COR ee 8

decking were also designed for similar maritime commercial |

transportation. It plainly has no application to the case at |

bar and it is completely unsound to refer to it as ‘* a raft

similar to the one at bar’’.

Nor is it correct to refer to the plaintiff in the case of !

Grimes v Raymond Concrete Pile Co., 356 U.S. 252 (1958), |

as

24

‘‘performing the same work as the plaintiff per. |

formed herein’’.

The plaintiff Grimes was 110 miles at sea, being transferred |

in a breeches buoy from a rolling tugboat in heavy weather |

to a sea based so-called Texas tower when the rolling of

the sea caused him to be thrown against part of the struc-

ture. It is completely unsound to characterize circumstances

of such an injury with the present plaintiff pouring con-

crete into steel forms underneath the pier from a hose

attached to a truck on the surface of the pier while stand-

ing on a work float some four feet wide, which was moved

15 or 20 feet each day in accordance with the location of

the particular piles being repaired under the pier.

None of the citations presented by the Petition is material

to the case at bar and no proper ground for the granting

of certiorari has been presented by the Petitioner there-

from.

V. No Case HAS BEEN CITED IN THE PetITIONER’s ARGUMEST

WHICH 18 MATERIAL TO THE CASE aT Bar.

The Petition makes initial reference to the definition used

to describe a vessel by Messrs. Gilmore & Black in their

text, The Law of Admiralty, (1957) at page 30 reading:

«| | floating structures capable of transporting

something over water.’’

18 AD RRIRRAEBOE Pe) o6

The authors applied footnote No. 105 on page 30 to that

quoted definition citing first the case of Pleason v Gulf-

port Shipbuilding Corporation, 221 F2d 621 (5th Cir. 1955).

That case is also cited by the Petitioner.

The vessel in the Pleason case to which the above phrase

was applied was called the ‘‘Carol Ann’’. It was 183 feet

long with a 32-foot beam and a 20-foot depth. It was built

in 1943 as a salvage vessel for the United States Navy.

It was of wood and steel with 1,500 gross tons burden. It

had earlier made voyages to Honduras and had crossed the

Gulf of Mexico. In the case at bar, a work float was always

tied to the pier and merely positioned for the day’s work

by lines which were always tied to the 40-foot wide pier.

The pilings were being cleaned and then re-strengthened

by placing an additional thickness of cement around the

steel reinforcement. The sole purpose was to provide a

work stage for workmen repairing the pilings under the

pier. Thus, at page 91 of the transcript when the plaintiff

was asked to testify in confirmation of his earlier deposi-

tion, the record states:

25

**Q ‘Q You men pull them alongside that way and

then turn them in that way?’

‘‘A Pulled it by lines, yes.

‘“‘Q ‘Q And then these rafts were just work sur-

faces?

‘A Wooden rafts, right.

‘Q But, I mean, they were used as your work

surfaces so you could work on the piles?’

‘You answered: ‘Yes.’ That is true, isn’t it?

‘‘A That is right, sir.’’ (R.A. 97, 98)

Footnote No. 105 at page 30 in The Law of Admiralty,

after citing the Pleason case, then cites two additional cases

to illustrate what is not a vessel, and one additional case

to illustrate what is a vessel. The latter case, illustrating

what is a vessel, is Kenny v The City of New York (CA 9

1940) 108 F2d 958. The vessel in that case was a deck scow

under bare boat charter at the rate of some $300 a month

and named the ‘‘Columbiad’’. Its dimensions are not givey

but it was used for a public fireworks display and one may |

reasonably infer a length in excess of 200 feet, having in

mind the necessity for open spacing between large fireworks

display pieces so that each can be lighted successively,

The two cases cited by Gilmore & Black to illustrate what

is not a vessel provide strong confirmation of the ruling by |

the District Court and Court of Appeals in the present case.

The cases are Cope v Vallette Dry Dock Co., 119 US. 623,

and Evansville d Bowling Green Packet Co. v Chero Cola

Bottling Co., 271 U.S. 19 (1926). In the Bowling Green

Packet case, the United States Supreme Court denied the

status of a vessel to a barge 223 feet long, 48 feet wide with

a 6-foot depth. It had earlier made trips up and down the

Mississippi River. At the time of the incident concerned in

the litigation it was tied to a pier as a ‘‘wharf boat’’ and

moved only short distances each day to accommodate itself

to the currents in the river. At page 21, the Supreme Court

cited a number of circumstances negating the status of a

vessel stating:

‘‘Tt had no machinery or power for propulsion and -

was not subject to government inspection as are vessel

operated on navigable waters... The wharf boat wa:

used to transfer freight between steamboats and land

and from one steamboat to another... Charges made

for services performed by its use were for storage and

handling and not for transportation ... It was no!

practically capable of being used as a means of trans-

portation... It performed no function that might not

have been performed as well by an appropriate strue-

ture on the land and by a floating stage or platform

permanently attached to the land. It did not encounter

perils of navigation to which craft used for transporta-

tion are exposed.’’

The reference by the Supreme Court to ‘‘a floating stage

or platform permanently attached to the land’’ coincides

perfectly with the work platform tied to the pier in the

present case. The plaintiff himself described the line from

the pier as,

‘It was tied to the raft at all times.’’ (R.A. 99)

If the work boat in the Bowling Green Packet case was

not ‘‘practically capable of being used as a means of trans-

portation’’ although it was 243 feet long, 48 feet wide and

6 feet deep, then far more impractical would be any means

of transportation from these lashed floating timbers held

together temporarily by rope. They were clearly suitable

for the purpose for which they were being used, namely, as

a floating stage for pile drivers working under a 40-foot

pier to which it was at all times secured as was the wharf

boat.

The second case cited by Gilmore & Black in footnote

105 is Cope v Vallette Dry Dock Co., 119 U.S. 625 (1887).

In that case the Court ruled that a floating dry dock was

not a vessel and gave its reasons in the following detail

at page 627:

‘They describe the dry dock as a structure contrived

for the purpose of taking ships out of the water, in

order to repair them, and for no other purpose. They

state that it consisted of a large oblong box with a

flat bottom and perpendicular sides; that in the year

1866 it had been put in position by being permanently

Are {

eV a ee

NS ree

moored by means of large chains to the right, or

Algiers, bank of the Mississippi River, and was sparred

off from the bank by means of spars, to keep it afloat.

When it was desired to dock a steamboat or other

vessel, it was sunk by letting in water until the vessel

to be docked could be floated into it. It was then raised

> by pumping the water out, leaving the docked vessel

in a position to be inspected and repaired. It was

furnished with engines, but they could only be used for

pumping, and the dry dock had no means of propul-

sion, either by wind, steam, or otherwise. It was not

designed for navigation, and could not be practically

used therefor.’’

Whatever the source of the definition, whether the

Statutes of the United States as in 1 U.S.C. § 3, 19 U.S.C.

§ 1401(a), 46 U.S.C. § 801, or in Volume 7A of Professor

Moore’s treatise on Federal Practice, (2nd Ed. 1972) para-

graph .215(2) et seq, the connotation of transportation by

water in terms of commerce and navigation is inherent

throughout. They are also consistent with the comment of

the Supreme Court at page 256 in the case of Executive Jet

Aviation, Inc. v City of Cleveland, 409 U.S. 249 (1972)

reading :

‘¢Other Courts, however, have held in such situations

that a maritime locality is not sufficient to bring the

tort within Federal admiralty jurisdiction, but that

there must also be a maritime nexus—some relation-

ship between the tort and traditional maritime activ-

ities, involving navigation or commerce on navigable

waters.”’

In addition to citing the cases already considered, the

Petitioner at page 11 also cites the following cases whose

Pare ——E «

f

oo,

2 re Sea we

is make it clear that they are without any materiality to

ease at bar.

a Offshore Company v Robinson, 266 F2d 769 (5th Cir.

9), the plaintiff was a regular member of the drilling

w serving on a barge 200 feet long, 104 feet wide, and

feet deep used as a mobile drilling platform in the Gulf

Mexico. At page 772 the Court stated:

“It has no engines and is moved by tugs from one

well located in the Gulf to another. It has living

quarters for the crew and a galley in a two-story house

on top of the deck. Six life rafts are carried, each

capable of holding 10 men. Regular abandon ship drills

were held aboard Offshore No. 55. Its life-saving gear

was approved by the Coast Guard.’’

he case is entirely different from that of the present

tiff whose work as a pile driver was under a pier on a

k float as a platform to pour concrete into steel forms

n a hose leading from a truck up on the pier.

n Colby v Todd Packing Co., 77 F. Supp. 956 (Alaska

3), the Court pointed out that salvage could properly

against either a vessel or its cargo or any object at sea

1 value. It quoted at page 958, from an earlier case of

tby v Steam Derrick Boat, 16 Fed. Cases, 564, which

ed in part:

“It has long been held that property, whether it has

been an actual instrument or subject of commerce or

not, may be the subject of salvage.’’

1 short, there are many instances where bales of wool

ther items of cargo have been the subject of salvage.

re is no holding whatever in the case that the fish trap

ribs of logs were in any sense a vessel. In accord with

——_——_ LEN AL EO LPL oe Hin ia BI gee

SPARE EEO Gn Beles

that view is the comment in Messrs. Gilmore & Black’s text,

The Law of Admiralty, at the end of footnote 105 on page

30 concerning the salvable qualities of an airplane where

the authors point out that salvage is not dependent upon

the status as a vessel, by saying:

‘‘In any case a decision that an airplane may be the

subject of salvage need not imply that it is a ‘vessel’.”

In Spiller vy Thomas M. Lowe, Jr. & Associates, Inc., 328

F. Supp. 54 (Ark. 1971), the vessel was one of a fleet of

six 16-foot boats being used by a mapping and survey party

to travel a 206-mile segment of the Red River, that is, from

mile 230 to mile 436 of that river. At page 57, the Court

comments as follows: |

‘‘The manufacturer’s rating for the boat in question

was as follows: This boat is built to accommodate |

under normal conditions an outboard motor of not more

than 35 OBC certified horsepower and five persons at

150 pounds per person or a properly located maximum

weight of 1,080 pounds for persons, motor and gear.”

In Guilbeau v Falcon Seaboard Drilling Co., 215 F. Supp.

909 (La. 1963), the vessel was 260 feet long and 52 feet

wide fitted with sleeping quarters and a galley for the

crew. It was moved from various places in inland waters

by tugboat and at the time of the injury had been towed to

a location in a navigable river.

None of the foregoing cases is material or comparable

to the case at bar, of a work platform four feet wide, which

was always tied to a pier and used for standing to pour

concrete into forms around fixed pilings under a pier. The

Petition next cites at page 12 two cases which effectively

illustrate the caliber of transportation contemplated by the

+ “iN

ARB OVER SA? . ore a at ANT

31

definition. Thus in The General Cass, Fed. Cas. No. 5307,

Pp. 170 (E.D. Mich. 1871), the Court considered a lumber

scow used for carrying loads of lumber across the shoals

in the Saginaw River over which the larger vessels were

unable to pass safely. In describing the commerce in which

the lumber scow was engaged, the Court stated at page 170:

‘‘The lumber of the Saginaw valley, as an article of

commerce, passing down and out of the Saginaw river,

on its way to the lumber marts of other states and

countries, constitutes one of the greatest interests of

its kind in the world, and in its transportation employs

vessels of all sizes, forms and capacities, and all kinds

of propelling power, from the insignificant scow, like

the one here in question, to the largest sized vessels and

steamers that float the lakes. The business and employ-

ment of each, irrespective of the accidents of size, form,

capacity or propelling power, appertains equally to

trade and commerce, and all therefore equally subject

to the jurisdiction of this court.’’

The static function of the present plaintiff standing on a

four foot work float, always tied to or under the pier, in

order to repair the pilings under the pier, is completely

opposite to the commerce described in the foregoing case.

The work float was kept on the outside of the. pier after

hours and moved into the bays under it to work on the

piles, a distance of some 10 to 20 feet, and yet the Peti-

tioner at page 12 characterizes this action as ‘‘repeatedly

used to transport men and equipment over navigable

waters’’.

In The Pioneer, 30 F. 206 (E.D. N.Y. 1886), a dredge,

large enough to carry a steam-operated shovel and bucket

for digging navigable channels, was concerned. It is in no

sense a precedent for a three and one-half to four foot work

Ri ihiin stein iin cts lh oii eit

float which was always tied to or under the pier in order

that pile drivers might pour concrete into forms around

the piles underneath the pier and which they moved every

morning some 10 to 20 feet to start their work.

Although the Petitioner purports to suggest that the

vessel in Brinegar v Iron Ore Construction Company, 302

F. Supp. 630 (E.D. Ark. 1969), was a makeshift pontoon

oil carrier, the facts in the case indicate that the vessel was

capable of carrying a thousand gallons of fuel and it also

had sufficient power to tow a large dredge, and also to tow

several barges on the Arkansas River. Further, because of

her ability to transport a thousand gallons, she was subject

to the provisions of Title 46, U.S.C. § 391(a), which required

that she be in command of a licensed master, and her

manning requirements required the approval and inspection

of the United States Coast Guard. The case is completely

without materiality to the present instance of a four-foot

work float tied underneath the pier in order that pile drivers

could stand on it to pour concrete around the piles under

the pier.

Finally, the Petitioner refers to the case of Braniff +

Jackson Ave.-Gretna Ferry, Inc., 280 F2d 523, (5th Cir.

1960). A printing error in the Petition refers to ‘‘Gretna

Terry, Inc.”’ instead of the correct name, ‘‘Gretna Ferry,

Inc.’’. As that key word ‘‘Ferry’’ indicates, the case con-

cerns a large ferry boat traveling down the Mississippi

6 tan. ef SAR SAT ER TE EE SS PEE NT as NL = rae ens Se ene ae

—

River, and while so traveling a work tender was put over —

the side, attached to the ferry and traveling with it, in order

to make some mechanical repairs while underway. The

tender capsized while being handled by the crewmembers

of the ferry. The case has no relation to the facts of th —

present case in which the plaintiff was performing :

stationary land-based task of pouring concrete around pile:

under a pier while standing on a four-foot work float whieh

was always tied to the pier, and which moved some 10 to

PEER rye NRE

FDR TREE ED abt

33

20 feet solely for the purpose of positioning it beside the

particular pile to be worked on. In sum, none of the cases

cited in the Petition in Section 1 of its Argument is mate-

rial to the case at bar, and the decisions of the Court of

Appeals and of the District Court are in no sense in con-

flict with any decision either of the United States Supreme

Court, or of any Court of Appeals, or of any District

Court.

VI. No Conruict Exists ConcerniInG THE APPLICABLE LAW

BETWEEN THE Decisions BeLow anp Any ESTABLISHED

PRECEDENTS.

(a) The contention in the Petition that the work float

was not an extension of the land is without materiality. It

is material rather that the float was always tied to the pier,

that from its narrow width and simple construction of four

lashed timbers, it was completely unsuitable to navigation

or ocean transportation, and suitable only for its actual use

for standing while doing the pile driving work around the

old piles under the pier. In each of the cases cited by the

Petitioner at pages 13 and 14, the maritime activities were

plain from the distance at sea at which the activities were

occurring and by the nature of the activities. Thus in the

case of Spratley v Tidewater Construction Corporation.

238 F. Supp. 650 (E.D. Va. 1965), the plaintiff was

regularly employed on a barge which was traversing the

open waters of Chesapeake Bay across a distance of some

20 miles. The vessel on which he was injured was described

by the Court at page 650 as,

‘“‘A barge of approximately 50 by 128 feet on which

was mounted a derrick or crane.

A cogent indication of the maritime quality of the plain-

tiff's duties is found in the fact that at the time of his in-

88.10 EL IE. PEELE DET its PDE Pa OE CRM ONS, = ee ees FE et

juries the waters in which the vessel was then opcrating

were so rough that the circumstances of his injury were

described as follows on page 651:

‘‘ Just as Spratley began to step down the roughness

of the sea caused the barge and its crane to jerk the

scaffold suddenly into the air whereupon Spratley lost

his balance and fell .. .’’

The plaintiff plainly encountered,

‘‘perils of navigation to which crafts used for trans-

portation are exposed’’.

Evansville & Bowling Green Packet Co. v Chero |

Cola Bottling Co., 271 U.S. 19 (1926), 21.

In Biggs v Norfolk Dredging Company, 360 F 2d 360,

(4h Cir. 1965), the plaintiff not only

‘held a Coast Guard certificate as a seaman’’,

but there were

‘‘several barges ranged along the shipyard’s dock”,

together with a larger

‘‘derrick barge’’,

which the plaintiff was on board performing his work in-

cluding the maneuvering of the various barges.

In the two remaining cases cited at page 14, the plaintif

in Stanley v Guy Scroggins Construction Co., 297 F2d 3i

(5th Cir. 1961), was working 40 miles out in the Gulf of

Mexico and his injuries were caused ‘‘when a large wave

threw him against an offshore oil drilling platform.”’

The plaintiff in Stafford v Perini Corporatoin, 475 Fi

507 (1st Cir. 1973) was on the deck of a large ocean goilg |

:

‘

;

3

35

scow working when it was some two miles from shore in

the waters of Narragansett Bay.

In Grimes v Raymond Concrete Pile Co., 356 U.S. 252

(1958), the plaintiff was 110 miles at sea attempting to

transfer in a breeches buoy in rough weather from a roll-

ing tugboat to a so-called Texas tower when the rough

seas caused his injury.

The maritime activities of all of these plaintiffs in the

cited cases are plainly apparent, but the activities of the

plaintiff in the case at bar were those of a pile driver work-

ing under a pier pouring concrete around old pilings while

he stood on a work float which served merely as a plat-

form to perform that pile driving work. It was at all times

tied to the pier, and was some four feet wide. There would

plainly be no impact upon the uniformity of maritime law

by the allocation of such a localized function to the local

law of the land. It would be completely in accord with the

views of the Supreme Court stated in the Evansville ¢&

Bowling Green Packet Co. v Chero Cola Bottling Co., 271

U.S. 10 (1926) at page 22:

“It was not practically capable of being used as a

means of transportation... It performed no function

that might not have been performed as well by an ap-

propriate structure on the land or platform perma-

nently attached to the land. It did not encounter perils

of navigation to which craft used for transportation

are exposed.’’

(b) The contention on page 15 of the Petition that ad-

miralty jurisdiction in non-aviation cases ‘‘depends solely

on the situs of the injury’’ is not well founded, and is plain-

ly in conflict with the current views of the Supreme Court

in Executive Jet Aviation, Inc. v City of Cleveland, 409

U.S. 249 (1972) at page 261, reading as follows:

ee ee . FE NS ana YS

ee i A

ee GE RRILSI A ASSIS OL ITE LOO MEETET At a ae wwe ite

ES ks

36

‘‘In sum, there has existed over the years a judicial,

legislative, and scholarly recognition that, in deter.

mining whether there is admiralty jurisdiction over a

particular tort or class of torts, reliance on the rela.

tionship of the wrong to traditional maritime activity

is often more sensible and more consonant with the

purposes of maritime law than is a purely mechanical

application of the locality test.’’

The significant phrase, ‘‘traditional maritime activities”,

was defined more fully earlier in the decision at pages 255

and 256 where the Court refers to,

‘¢... traditional maritime activities involving naviga-

tion or commerce on navigable waters.’’

and

‘¢. . . traditional forms of maritime commerce and

navigation. ’’

At page 256, footnote 6, the Supreme Court refers to the

case of McGuire v City of New York, 192 F. Supp. 866,

(S.D. N.Y. 1961). That Opinion of the District Court con.

tains a scholarly review of the authorities which in tum

also support the language of the United States Supreme

Court which we have quoted. At page 871 of the McGuire

case the Court therein states:

‘«The touchstone has been whether the action, tort for

example, was not merely one of local concern but was

in fact a thing having an intimate relation with nav-

gation and interstate and foreign commerce.”’

Further, on page 871, the McGuire case also contains the

following comment:

37

‘‘That the locality test was and continues to be a rule

of exclusion or limitation is recognized by the Supreme

Court.”’

The phrase, ‘‘rule of exclusion or limitation’’, indicates in

effect that without the locality test, no jurisdiction exists,

but with it no jurisdiction exists unless there is also,

‘‘.,, traditional maritime activities, involving naviga-

tion or commerce on navigable waters.’’ Executive

Jet Aviation, Inc. v City of Cleveland, 409 U.S. 249

(1972) at page 256.

Thus, in Victory Carriers v Law, 404 U.S. 202 (1971),

the land-based injury was clearly non-maritime and was

excluded from maritime jurisdiction. In contrast, Gutier-

rez v Waterman Steamship Corporation, 10 L. Ed. 297 2d

(1963), a land-based injury was included because it was

caused by a maritime activity, namely the condition of the

cargo carried to Ponce, Puerto Rico on the SS Hastings,

then being discharged.

Victory Carriers v Law, 404 U.S. 202 (1971)

Gutierrez v Waterman Steamshin Corporation,

10 L.Ed. 2d 297

In Grant Smith-Porter Ship Co. v Rohde, 257 U.S. 469

(1922), an uncompleted newly-constructed vessel was ruled

to be therefore still a land-based activity and the tradition-

al rule that a new vessel while still under construction is

a non-maritime activity was followed.

The case of Nacirema Operating Co., Inc. v Johnson, 396

US. 212 (1969), reh. denied 397 U.S. 929 (1970), concerned

a land-based injury and the ruling of the Court was equally

consistent but turned more specifically on the language of

the Federal Compensation Statute which was interpreted

to exclude land-based activities.

Beer Aeeitwc akan.

pe,

38

In Atlantic Transport Co. v Imbrovek, 234 U.S. 52 (1913),

The Supreme Court alluded te the maritime activity re.

quirement and noted that it was in any event clearly satis.

fied since the plaintiff was working on a large packet steam.

ship stowing its cargo for the international run between

Hamburg, Germany and New York. The Petitioner at

page 15 strangely cites the Imbrovek case for the conten.

tion that ‘‘the presence of a vessel is not required’’, al-

though the packet steamer Pretoria, on which the plaintiff

was stowing the cargo, was engaged in the Hamburg.

America steamship run. The Petition on the same page

15 cites the cases of McWilliams Dredging Co. v United

States, 105 F. Supp. 582 (E.D. La. 1952), and The Hezeki-

am Baldwin, 8 Ben. 556, 12 Fed. Cas. No. 6449, for the con-

tention that no vessel is required. Yet in the McWilliams

case the discharge line of a hydraulic dredge which ex-

tended completely across the harbor channel was struck by

a departing ocean cargo vessel, and the scow in The Heze-

kiam Baldwin was large enough to carry grain-loading

equipment throughout the harbor to cargo ships to load and

unload their grain cargoes. The dredge and discharge line

in the McWilliams case which so blocked the channel that

the departing steamer struck it in mid-channel were clearly

related to the traditional maritime activity of navigation

in the same channel. The scow in The Hezekiam Baldwin

was itself a vessel which moved about the harbor to the

various places where it might be required for the purpose

of transferring grain from one vessel to another. It not

only carried grain cargoes across the harbor,

‘‘from one vessel to another’’,

but was itself,

‘‘subject to the same vicissitudes and perils of the

seas to which all vessels are exposed’’. (page 15)

NPA AMT A CRIA MG LARA ATR SOD LEIA BS Oa RETA Bob SS NLT ETOD SLE IIE ae

39

The Robert W. Parsons, 181 U.S. 17 (1903), concerned a

large canal boat which carried cargo between Lake Erie and

New York Harbor, and then travelled across the Harbor or

the Lake to its destination.

Each of these cases readily meet the jurisdictional stand-

ards currently set forth in Executive Jet Aviation v City

of Cleveland, 409 U.S. 249 (1972), at page 256, of

‘*,.. traditional maritime activities involving naviga-

tion or commerce on navigable waters’’.

The total absence of these requirements in the case at bar

in which a self-styled pile driver was pouring concrete in-

to forms under a pier while standing on a float, four feet

wide, always tied to the pier is plain, and the rulings of the

District Court and the Court of Appeals were proper.

(c) After citing a number of cases previously cited in

the Petition, the Petitioner at page 18 cites the case of

Hess v United States, 361 U.S. 314 (1960). In that case,

the plaintiff was working on board a tug and barge in the

Columbia River when the tug and barge struck a pier,

causing the tug and barge to founder and capsize in the

turbulent waters from the spillway of the dam. The flotilla

was operating in a navigable river and was clearly engaged

ina maritime activity. Indeed, the Court of Appeals Opin-

ion, 259 F'2d 285 (9th Cir. 1958), in its comment at footnote

4, at page 289, states:

‘‘But here it cannot be doubted that the activities in

which the decedent was engaged had a direct relation

to navigation and commerce.’’

The decisions in the Courts below are therefore wholly

in accord with all applicable precedents and preserve the

uniformity reflected in those precedents,

40.

Petitioner also seeks to rely upon the testimony of so-

called experts to which reference is made at page 17 of the

Petition. The testimony of the proposed expert, Willard

Appley, was not material to the issues and was properly

excluded by the Trial Court. In describing his experience

with vessels, Mr. Appley referred to the operation of a

tugboat, and towage of deck scows, lighters and barges,

In his cross-examination under voir dire (R.A. 332) he

admitted that the barges were from 175 to 225 feet by about

40 feet beam. There was no lighter, scow, tug, or barge in

use at any time during the performance of the job at Pier 3

from the commencement of that job in August, 1967, until

the date of the plaintiff’s injury in October, 1967. The

proffered testimony by Willard Appley was properly ex-

cluded by the Court and the Court reasonably exercised

its sound discretion thereby.

‘*Tt is a well established rule of evidence that circum-

stances under which other comparable conduct occurs

should be substantially similar. Wigmore on Evi-

dence, 3rd Ed., Vol. IT, Sec. 459, 460; Chesapeake & 0.

Ry. Co. v. Thomason, 6 Cir., 70 F.2d 860; People v.

Gotshall, 123 Mich. 474, 479, 82 N.W. 274; Trask v.

Boston & Maine R.R., 219 Mass. 410, 415, 106 N.E.

1022.’’

Detroit, T € I R Co. v Banning, 173 F2d 752,

756

The other purported expert, Ward, was a co-worker of

the plaintiff who was standing near him. He did not pur-

port to contradict the plaintiff’s own testimony that the

raft was some three and one-half to four feet wide, and his

testimony to that effect (R.A. 304, 305) is quoted herein

at page 4. Nor did he purport to contradict the plaintiff's

_

41

own testimony that the raft was tied to the pier at all times

and was merely used under the pier to repair the piles.

Any reference in the petition to movement of the raft,

‘‘over navigable waters’’,

necessarily is prescribed by the specific testimony that the

movement would be some 10, 15 or 20 feet depending upon

the location of the piles to be worked on that morning as

laid out by the foreman of the job. Plainly, these specifics

are consistent with the local quality of the work being per-

formed, and are inconsistent with,

‘*... traditional maritime activites, involving naviga-

tion and commerce.’’

Executive Jet Aviation, Inc. v City of Cleveland,

409 U.S. 249, page 256

It is of some interest that the section of the Petition com-

mencing on page 13 and ending on page 20 is the verbatim

text of the Petitioner’s earlier Motion for Rehearing

already filed and already ruled on by the Court of Appeals.

The two ‘‘hypothetical’’ situations on page 19 have already

been evaluated by the Court of Appeals as reaching,

“distorted results not dictated by anything said or

implied in our opinion.’’

The assumptions contained in each hypothetical are com-

pletely unrelated to the actual facts of the case. In the

first, if the seaman were a crewmember of a vessel arriving

at a harbor, that status would be obviously a basis for his

action and there is nothing in the Opinion of April 8, 1973

which would contravene it. The second hypothetical is so

abstruse as to be unclear in its presentation. Moreover,

there are numerous assumptions which are not only un-

ee

Bein Sah easels ares ee 5

42

supported by, but in conflict with, the facts presented by the

present plaintiff. There is nothing in either hypothetica

which is material to or affected by the Opinion of the Cour

of Appeals of April 9, 1973.

VII. No Grounp ror tHe ConsmperaTions CITED sy Ruy

19 is PREsENTED.

The issues in the present case have been thoroughly con

sidered in a complete Opinion of the District Court, and in

two further adjudications by the Court of Appeals for the

First Cireuit in the initial Appeal and in the Motion for

Rehearing. But, in addition the plaintiff also has testified

in a formal Hearing before the Bureau of Employee’s Con-

pensation, as a result of which he secured an adjudication

by the Deputy Commissioner that he was within the cov-

erage of the Longshoremen’s and Harbor Workers’ Act.

By virtue of the express terms of that Statute he could not

be within its terms and at the same time qualify as a sea-

man and member of the crew of a vessel. Although there

are cases where a plaintiff has proceeded sequentially, first

in the Compensation Forum, and next in the Judicial For.

um, there is no case in which the plaintiff has testified to

opposite effect in both of these fora in parallel. The pres-

ent plaintiff not only filed his Complaint in this action al-

leging that he was,

‘‘a seaman and member of the crew of a lighter,”

(there being no such lighter), but three months after he

had filed this suit he testified under oath before the Con-

pensation Commissioner that he was a pile driver and in tk

presence of his counsel sought and secured the benefits of

a Statute whose terms were preemptive of his purporte

status of aseaman. There have in all, therefore, been som

86 lg

four adjudications which have preceded the present Peti-

tion. The first being adjudication before the Federal Com-

pensation Commissioner, the second being that of the Dis-

trict Court, the third and fourth being that of the Court of

Appeals on the formal Appeal and the Motion for Rehear-

ing. These considerations point additionally to the un-

reasonableness of the present Petition, and the appropri-

ateness of its denial.

Conclusion.

The Petition fails to cite a single decision by any Court

at any level which is in any degree in conflict. The Petition

does not present any basis for meeting the considerations

governing the review on certiorari provided by Rule 19

of the Supreme Court. The Respondent, McKie Lighter

Co., Inc., respectfully submits that the Petition should

properly be denied. The Respondent, Bethlehem Steel

Corporation, respectfully submits that the Petition should

be denied.

LEO F. GLYNN,

GLYNN & DEMPSEY,

One Boston Place,

Boston, Massachusetts 02108,

Attorney for

McKie Lighter Co., Inc.

CHARLES E. COLSON,

THOMAS E. CARGILL, JR., Of Counsel,

CARGILL, MASTERMAN & CAHILL,

225 Franklin Street,

Attorneys for Bethlehem,

Steel Corporation.

SSNS ST ORS SS Ee SNP Gee

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.