Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Handy v. United States

Supreme Court brief1972

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

rene Dour, UW.

mar 5as Eth

, MAY 20 07)

iN (HH

SUPREME COURT GF ‘Hit wr danona HA OLE

October Term, 1972

No. bd

C. JON HANDY, ©

Vs.

Petitioner,

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Appellee,

PETITION FOR A WRIT GF GRRTTGRART fo THE

UNETED STATAS COURT GF APPEALS

FOR THE NENTH GfREUET

ROBERT M,. TALCOTT and

RICHARD G, SHERMAN

8500 Wilshire Blvd,,

Beverly Hills, Calif, 90211

Attorneys for Petitioner

C. Jon Handy

Pee NAR ME BNI Hd

rag Site

i

SUBJECT INDEX

Opinions Below ..cccccccccccccccccccccce

Jurisdiction cecccccccccccccccccccccccce

Constitutional Provisions ..ccccccccccce

Questions Presented ..cccccccccccccccces

Statement of the Case ..cccccccccccccccs

Statement Of FactS cccccccccccccccccccce

Summary Of Argument ceccccccccccccccccces

Reasons for Granting Certiorari ....ceee

ARGUMENT

Sixth Amendment Right To Counsel

I. A Psychiatric Examination To Which

The Defendant Is Compelled To Sub-

mit Himself By The Court During The

Course Of The Trial, At The Request

Of The Government, Is A Critical

Stage At Which The Defendant InA

Criminal Proceeding Is Entitled To

Have His Attorney Present .......

A. The Cases Decided By This Court

Compel the Conclusion That Peti-

tioner Should Have Been Afforded

The Right To Counsel e@eeeeeoeaeae eee

1. Sixth Amendment Guarantee Attaches

At All Critical Stages of the Pro-

ceedings @eeeeoeaeeea eee eeaeaeceaeaea een eee

2. POWELL Proves To Be Prophetic In

Case At Bar @eeeeneeeane2eeceaeneaeoaea ea eeoe2d

B. A Compelled Court Ordered Psychia-

tric Examination, During the Trial

Of A Defendant Is Frought With Even

More Potential Danger Than The In-

terrogation, Identification or other

Pretrial Processes ..cccccccccccce

ARENA EDR wf OMY EBA a!

ii

Page

l. Throughout The Right To Counsel

Decisions in Gideon, Massiah, Mir-

anda, Escobedo, Wade, Gilbert, and

Coleman, There Runs The Thread Of

Recognition That Counsel Is Essen-

tial To Protect The Integrity Of

The Fact Finding Process At The

Trial Itself eeceeececesevreeeeeeeeeee8e@ 13

2. The Psychiatric Examination Involv-

ed Here Was A "Critical Stage" Of

The Criminal Trial (Proceedings) ....- 15

Cc. Due Process And The Meaning Of The

Sixth Amendment Clause Mandates

Reversal "Where Counsel's Absence

Might Derrogate From The Accused's

Right To A Fair Trial eeeoenevneaeve2cceseseee? 19

1. Barring Defendant's Attorney From A

Government Requested, and Court Com-

pelled Psychiatric Examination Is

Constitutionally Impermissible In

That It Severely Limits Counsel's

Right To Cross-Examine The Key Gov-

ernment's Witness (Without Whom The

Defendant Could Not Have Been Con-

victed) Because There Is No Record

Of What The Defendant Said ......---+ 20

2. Appropriate Sixth Amendment Safe-

guards Have Been Suggested In Various

Federal and State CaseS cecccccccccee 21

3. The WADE-THORNTON Rationale To The

Right To Have The Assistance Of Coun-

sel In Similar Civil Proceedings Is

Well Established eeevoocoeoaeveaea eee eoea eee eee 27

4. It Need Not Be Speculated Upon As To

Whether Prejudice Resulted From The

Exclusion Of Petitioner's Counsel

From the Psychiatric Examination .... 29

eee Cae

a - 05 EPR NOT POL SONNET SIDI ENON MT

IGOR

SPOT AT STAIN AIS eo TC WRN OEP gk ARIE TATION Rog ny

Ir.

iItr.

IV.

iii

Page

Petitioner Was Unconstitutionally

Deprived Of His Sixth Amendment

Right To Counsel And His Fifth

Amendment Right Against Self-In-

i 32

A Defendant's Sixth and Fifth Amend-

ment Rights Are Violated Where The

Trial Court's Order Compels The De-

fendant To Submit To An Oral Psychi-

atric Examination By A Psychiatrist

Because It Does Violence To Due

Process and Fundamental Fairness ....32

The Trial Court's Order, Over Defen-

dant's Objection, Compelling Defen-

dant To Answer Questions Of and To

Pully Cooperate With Court Appointed

Psychiatrist Or To Forfeit His Right

To Present Expert Testimony On The

Issue Of His Insanity Is Unconsti-

tutional Under the Self-Incrimination

Clause Of The Fifth Amendment Because

It Extracts (Exacts) A Price For Ex-

ercising His Constitutional Right

Against Self-Incrimination. e@eeeceeeee 37

Compulsory Self-Incrimination As A

Condition To Presenting Expert Testi-

mony Is Incompatible Witn Decisions

Of This Court Condemning Such Pro-

cess As Violative Of The Fifth

Amendment SCeeneceoosooesevecocceocceal

The Letter and Spirit O£# The Fifth

Amendment Denied The Lower Court The

Power To Compel Testimony Over Objec-

tion Of The Privilege Against Self-

Incrimination 000060400000 08606 00660600

This Court Should Grant Certiorari To

Settle Conflicts, Confusion and Uncer-

brs, | Among The Circuit Courts of

Appeal With Respect To The Guidelines

og To Be Established By The

Trial Court Governing The Examination

Of A Defendant By A Psychiatrist

aePointed By the Court At The Request

Se SS Gc ccccécsoceccccecces 4a

ELEM) Spe nage " aT Ne Ame mr, T= Pa, »- ORY

Conclusion

Appendix A

Appendix B

Appendix C

iv

?

SER LOLOL IT EE ere > * guy 7 z

Vv

AUTHORITIES CITED

Cases Page

Argent v. United States, 325 F 2d 162 (Sth Cir.,

1 Di ccccccocccooesoesseoocecoosoosecesoosece 23

Bancrof v. Board of Governors of Registered

Dentists, 1202 Okla. 108 (1949).........ss00- if

Bollenback v. United States, 326 U.S.607 (1944)... 30

Boyd v. United States, 116 U.S. 616 ....cceeeeeeees 32

Buatte v. United States, 330 F 2d 342 (9th Cir.,

1964) eeeeeee ee ee eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee 26

Chapman v. California, 386 U.S. 18, 23 (1967) .... 20

Coleman v. Alabama, 399 U.S. | (1971) neesenecccoe ,

Doherty v. United States, 30 L Ed 2d 149; 92 S Ct

OFS CUST2Z) ccccccccccccccccccccsccecccccccccs 7

Douglas v. California, 372 U.S. 353 (1963) ....... 10

Escobedo v. Illinois, 378 U.S. 478 (1964) ........ 7, 13

Fallon v. Wyoming State Board of Medical Examiners,

bh} P 2d 322 (1968) ....ccccccncesccccccccecs i

French v. District Court, 153 Colo. 10, 14; 384 P 2d

268, 270 (1963) eeeeeee ee eee eee eeeeeeeeeeeeee 4]

Gardner v. Broderick, 392 U.S. 273 (1968) ........ 35, 40

Garrity v. New Jersey, 385 U.S. 493 (1967) ....... 36, 40

Gideon v. Wainwright, 372 U.S. 335 (1963)...7, 10, 13, 30

Gilbert v. California, 388 U.S. 400 (1965)....10, 13, 38

Givens v. Dept. of Alcoholic Beverage Control,

176 C A 2d 529 (1959) ......2- TTT TITT TTT 1

Glasser v. United States, 315 U.S. 60, soe 76,

(1GRZ) ccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccsce 19,30

Goldberg .v. Kelly, 397 U. S. 254 (1970) . eeecee eee rh

Gonzi v. Superior Court, 51 C 2d 586 .........4.. 28

Great Lakes Screw Corp. v. NLRB, 409 F 2d 375,

(7th Cir., 1965)...... PTTTTTT TT TT eecesccecce 10

Hamilton v. Alabama, 368 U.S. 52 (1961) eccce ecce 7, 30

Haynes v. Washington, 373 U.S. 503, 518, 519

(1GED) cccccccocccesccccccccocooccesoscocess 30

Heyford v. Parker, 396 F 2d 393 (10th Cir. "1968) . iP

Huyren v. Landon, 219 F 2d 404 (9th Cir. 1954)... 10

Isaac v. United States, 284 F 2d p.168 (D.C. Cir.

(USER) ccccccccccccscccccccsecseosesesecsces 26

Lynumm v. Illinois, 372 U.S. 528 (1963) seeeeeses 30

McKenzie v. United States, 266 F 2d 524 (10th

Cire, 1959) ccccccescces eesccececcococessoss 26

Malloy v. Hogen, 378 U.S. 1, 8 (1964) ........... 40

Massiah v. United States, 377 U.S. 200 (1964) ... 7, 13

Mempa v. Rhay, 389 U.S. 128 (1967) ...... Snacasee iW

Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966)...... 7, 13, 24,

37, 40

—_

es eeE——eeEeEeEeEeEeeeeeeeeeeeee

vi

Cont. Cases Page

People v. English, 31 I11. 2d 301, 201 N.E. 2d

445 (1964) SCPE HS HHH TESHHEEEEEEE 4]

People v. Morse, 70 C 2d 711, Cal Rptr 391 ..... 25

People v. Wax, 75 I11. App. 2d 163, 177-179; 220

N.E. 2d 600, 607-8 (1966) Cert. denied 387

U.S. 930s S$ CE 2051 (1967) ..ccccccccccccce 4]

Pointer v. Texas, 380 U.S. 400 (1965) .......... 10

Powell v. Alabama, 287 U.S. 45 (1932)....10,12, 13, 21,36

Re Gavit, 387 U. S. 1 (1967) eee eeeaeereeeeeeeeeeeee 10, "26

Reynolds v. Cochran, 365 U.S. 525, 531 (1961)..... 20

21

Schantz v. Eyman, (9th Cir. 418 F 2d 11, (1969)...

Schmerber v. California, 384 U.S. 757; 86 S Ct

1826 (1966).......... seeeceeeee 32, 33, 38, 39,amd 40

Schreiner v. United States, 30 L Ed 2d 222; 92

S$ Ct 326 (1972) ..... pecencoesnsnnseescosesce 10

Sharff v. Superior Court, 44 Cal 2d 508 (1955) ... 27

Shepard v. Bowe, 442 P 2d 238 (Ore. 1968) ........ 4]

Sheppard v. Maxwell, 384 U.S. 333 (1966) ......... 30

Sherbert v. Verner, 374 U.S. 398, 404-6 (1963).... 35

Spevack v. Klein, 385 U.S. 511 (1967) cocccccccces 36, &

State v. Olson, 274 Minn. 225, 143 N.W. 2d 69

1966) ere ee eee eee ee eee eee eeeeeeeeeeeee ee eeee 4]

State v. Whitlow, 210 A 2d 763 (1965) .........0.. 22

Steward v. Superior Court, 94 Ariz. 279; 388 P 2d

Tie GHD eevcseseagsocoeses peeaeccancccecs 22

Stromberg v. California, 283 U.S. "359 (1930) ..... 30

Thornton v. Corcoran, 407 F 2d 695, 702..... 18,27,28, 32

Thorpe v. Housing Authority, 386 U.S. 670, 679

(1967) SSCS SEETHER HEHEHE REO EE 35

Tumey ve Ohio, 273 U. Be 510 (1926) eee eee eeeeeeeee 30

Uniformed Sanitation Men Assoc. v. Commissioner

of Sanitations,392 U.S. 280 (1968) .......... 36, 40

U.S. v. Driscoll, 399 F 2d 135 (1968) "B10. 11, 24

U.S. v. Wade, 388 U.S. 218 (1967) ..... 1, 12, 13,

a, 18, 19, 3. 21

24, 27, 31, 32, 33,34

U.S. v. Westerhausen, 283 F.2d 844 (7th Cir. 1960), 26

U.S. v. Zeiler, 427 F 2d 1305 (3d Cir. 1970) ..... 10

Wade v. United States, 426 F 2f (9th Cir.

(1970) eeeee eee eee ee eee eee eeee eeeeeeee 28, 33, 4]

White v. Maryland, 373 U.S. 59 as

Whitfield v. Hanges, 222 F 745 (8th Cir. 1915).. 10

Whitus v. Georgia, 385 U.S. 545 (1967) .......... 30

Williams v. No. Carolina, 317 U.S. 287 (1943) ... 30

Counselman v. Hitchcock, 142 U.S. 547 at 562 .... 39

PR Se ey - WE tg MEET om OE hg

vil

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions

Page

Fifth Amendment, United States Constitution....... 15, 16,

32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 46, 41, 42, 43

Sixth Amendment, United StatessConstitution....... 2, 5,11

12,16,19,21,22,23,24,27,32, 33, 34,35,36,42, 43

I is I 4

ee Meise GHURNER GREP cccccccccecccseccccensebees 33

gt eS OR eee eer te 4

ay as EE SEED chndcdbasconccanenmedoeunnte 4

Calif. Penal Code, Section 1026 .....cccccccccecns 25

Other Authorities

Danforth, Death Knell for Pre-Trial Examination?... 4]

Journal of Taxation, (1970) 322,326 ......ccsecccees 31

Privilege Against Self-Incrimination, 19 Rutgers

L Rev 489 (1965) eeeeeeeee eee eeeereeeeeeeeeeee 4}

Requiring a Criminal Defendant to Submit To a

Government Psychiatric Examination: An In-

vasion of the Privilege Against Sel f-Incrimi-

mntten, SP Gary. 6. Rivrccccccccnccoccoccccece 4]

end

Peary

PATS Tees

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1972

No.

C. JON HANDY,.

Petitioner,

VS.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Appellee.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

Petitioner prays that a Writ of Certiorari

issue to review a judgment of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit entered

in the above-entitled case on October 20, 1971

and amended on March 22, 1972.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals is

reported at 454 F 2d 885 (1972). Said opinion

is printed and attached hereto and made a part

hereof as Appendix A and B.

JURISDICTION

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked

under 28 U.S.C., Section 1254 and Rule 19.1 (b),

Supreme Court Rules in order to decide a grave

constitutional question of great public interest

which has not heretofore been, but should be,

settled by this Honorable Court and to resolve

conflict between the various Courts of Appeals

————— or

—7_"

on the same matter.

The United States Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Circuit affirmed the conviction of peti-

tioner on October 20, 1971. Petitioner's

petition for re-hearing and suggestion for

appropriateness of hearing en banc was denied

by amended Order on March 22, 1972 (infra Appen-

dix B). An Order extending time to file Peti-

tion for Writ of Certiorari to and including

May 20, 1972, was granted by this Honorable

Court on April 18, 1972, by Mr. Justice Douglas.

All questions raised in this instant peti-

tion were raised in the Court below and on

appeal to the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

1. The Constitutional provisions involved

are the Sixth and Fifth Amendments to the United

States Constitution. They are printed in l

U.S.C. XLVI. The Sixth Amendment provides in

pertinent part:

"In all criminal prosecutions,

the accused shall enjoy the right

e « « to have the Assistance of

Counsel for his defence."

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

I. This Court Should Grant Certiorari To

Determine Whether A Psychiatric Exami-

nation To Which The Defendant Is Com-

pelled To Submit Himself By The Court

During The Course Of The Trial, At The

Request Of The Government, Is A Critical

Stage At Which The Defendant In A Crimi-

nal Proceeding Is Entitled To Have His

Attorney Present.

II. This Court Should Grant Certiorari To

Determine Whether Petitioner Was Un-

constitutionally Deprived Of His Sixth

Amendment Right To Counsel And His

Fifth Amendment Right Against Self-In-

crimination.

EF PERE LIE INS NE LEC PERNT GP TE

Itt.

-3-

This Court Should Grant Certiorari

To Determine Whether The Trial Court's

Order, Over Defendant's Objection, Com

pelling Defendant To Answer Questions

Of and To Fully Cooperate With Court

Appointed Psychiatrist Or To Forfeit

His Right To Present Expert Testimony

On The Issue Of His ne Is Un-

constitutional.

This Court Should Grant Certiorari

To Settle Conflicts, Confusion and

Uncertainty Among the Circuit Courts

Of Appeal With Respect To The Guide-

lines Required To Be Established By

The Trial Court Governing The Exami-

nation Of A Defendant By a Psychia-

trist Appointed By the Court At The

Request Of The Government.

Re

-4-

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The course of the proceedings, and the

facts, insofar as they are pertinent to the

questions presented by this Petition, are as

follows: 1/

A. The Course of the Proceedings

By indictment filed in the United States

District Court for the Central District of

California, in Case No. 5667, Petitioner was

charged with wilfully and knowingly submitting

to an Internal Revenue Agent, a false and fraud-

ulent Management Fee Agreement in violation of

18 U.S.C. Section 1001. In Case No. 37429,

Petitioner was charged, in five Counts, with

wilfully and knowingly attempting to evade

corporate income taxes for the years 1964 and

1965, in violation of 26 U.S.C. Section 7201

(Counts One and Two); assisting in the prepara-

tion and presentation of false and fraudulent

returns filed by Palm Springs Panorama, Inc.,

a corporation, for the years 1964 and 1965, in

violation of 26 U.S.C. Section 7606 (2) (Counts

Three and Four); and filing a false and fraudu-

lent return for the year 1965 on behalf of

Petitioner and his wife, in violation of 26

U.S.C. Section 7201 (Count 5). 2/

The indictments were consolidated for

trial and following an extensive and complicated

trial which consumed 15 days, the jury found

Petitioner guilty in Case No. 5667 and guilty of

the first four Counts in Case No. 37429. Peti-

tioner was sentenced to the custody of the

Attorney General for a period of five years on

each of the Counts, the sentences to run

concurrently.

1/ For a more detailed recitation, this Court is

Pie respectfully referred to the Opinion of the United

States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, which

is made a part hereof as Appendix ''A'' and "'B".

Petitioner was acquitted on Count Five of this

indictment.

a a eR YR ee wee s

-5-

B. Statement of Facts

Although the financial transactions at the

core of Petitioner's criminal case were simple

in outline, the facts and contentions relating

thereto were complex. Indeed, they were so

complicated and involved that the Government

consumed 11% days presenting their facts and

defendant 3% days presenting psychiatric evi-

dence. Furthermore, the complexity of the case

was compounded by the testimony of six doctors,

two of whom were court appointed, in connection

with Petitioner's insanity defense. The two

court appointed psychiatrists were appointed

and defendant was compelled over defendant's

objection, to meet with them and discuss the

facts of the case with them without his attorney

despite his Sixth Amendment right to counsel.

The Trial Court's Orders 3/appointing the

two psychiatrists each provided, inter alin,

that the Petitioner present himself at designa-

ted times and places, as each psychiatrist might

deem necessary; that Petitioner afford “such

cooperation and information as may be required

by said doctor properly to conduct the mental

examination" and that “such examination shall

not be in the presence of any counsel or steno-

grapher designated by defendant". (Emphasis

supplied)

Each of said Orders additionally provided

that if Petitioner did not comply with the

Orders, he “shall be precluded at tr.al from

presenting testimony upon the issue of his

alleged mental incapacity by any expert by whom

he has been interviewed".

All but one of the psychiatrists testified

that, at the time of the alleczd commission of

the crimes, Petitioner was suffering from

chronic paranoid schizophrenia, that Petitioner

lacked substantial capacity to appreciate the

3/ True copies of the Orders appointing psychiatrists

Davis and Deering, filed September 4, 1970, and being

po. 501-502 and pp. 511-512 of the Clerk's Record on

Appeal are reproduced and made a part hereof as

: Apoendix "'C'',

—_ e

a

4/ “Tr.". when used hereafter, refers to the Renorter's

-6-

wrongfullness of his conduct, that Petitioner

lacked substantial capacity to conform his con-

duct to the requirements of the law, that Peti-

tioner was not in control of his actions and

therefore, could not have a criminal intent to

defraud the Government and that Petitioner met

the legal definition of insanity in all respects.

Dr. Deering, the one psychiatrist who feiled to

join in the unanimous opinions of the other five

doctors, dissented rather than concurred from

the aforesaid consensus. Although he diagnosed

Petitioner as suffering from an obsessive conm-

pulsive neurosis, he also concluded that his

diagnosis was extremely difficult since Petition-

er was a “sick man“, since Petitioner's obses-

sive compulsive neurosis had many features sim-

ilar to chronic paranoid schizophrenia, since

Petitioner was sick since the age of two, and

since Handy was engaged in “self-destructive

behavior".

As is evident from a reading of the Court's

Orders appointing the psychiatrists, (Appendix

"c" hereof) Petitioner was precluded from having

counsel, or a stenographer, present at the

examination but the Orders did not preclude the

prosecution having counsel and/or a stenographer

present during the examination. It cannot be

faizly ascertained from the record whether or

not counsel for the Government or a Government

stenographer were actually present during the

psychiatric examinations of the Petitioner, as

ordered by the Court. However, the record is

clear that following a first examination of the

Petitioner, by court appointed psychiatrist Dr.

Deering, the doctor met with the prosecutor on

two occasions, during one of which the prosecu-

tor delivered certain “papers" to the doctor's

office. (Tr. 2247) 4/ 5/

Transcriot of Proceedings at trial.

-7=-

On one occasion, the prosecutor asked the

doctor to examine the Petitioner a second time.

Dr. Deering thereafter, did perform a second

examination of the Petitioner. (Tr. 2274) of

5/ Although the nature and identity of some of the

™ "papers" delivered by the prosecutor to Dr. Deerine

were made known during the course of the Cross-

Examination of Dr. Deering at the trial, it cannot

be ascertained from the record whether or not the

prosecutor delivered other papers or documents, not

alluded to in the proceedings. to the doctor. It is

here noteworthy that one of the "papers'' which was

delivered to Dr. Deering by the prosecutor was a

transcript of the prosecutor's Opening Statement to

the jury. We are hard pressed to determine why a

prosecutor's Opening Statement was in any way

essential to the doctor's diagnosis of the Petition-

er, while the Opening Statement of Defense Counsel

(which apparently was not qiven to the doctor by

the prosecutor) was somehow immaterial to the diag-

nosis. It is additionally noteworthy that while the

doctor accepted the "papers" proferred to him by the

prosecutor, the doctor declined to accept, or to

look at, certain "papers" which were offered to him

by the Petitioner.

6/ Although the reasons for, or the necessity of, a

Bid second examination of Petitioner by Dr. Deering

were not alluded to at the trial, and would be mat-

ters of conjecture, one might perhaps speculate that

the prosecutor was somehow unhappy with the results

of Or. Deering's first examination of the Petitioner.

It is noteworthy that after the second of the exami-

nations had been performed, Dr. Deering testified

that the Petitioner was sane at the commission of

his offenses, whereas, all of the five other experts,

including court appointed Dr. Davis, testified that

Petitioner was insane. (Dr. Deering did agree with

defense counsel, on Cross-Examination that there was

mo question but that the Petitioner was a sick man;

that there was no question but that his diagnosis

had been an extremely difficult one to make; and that

Petitioner could have been insane during 1964, 1965,

and 1966, (Tr. pp. 2247 and 2275).

OT oti e a ett rne Ear RS te a a ee

-8-

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Reasons For Granting The Writ

A mid-trial psychiatric interview to which

a defendant whose sanity is in question is com

pelled to submit, under penalty of effectively

forfeiting his insanity defense, is a crucial

stage of the proceedings and the presence of

counsel is therefore essential to protect the

integrity of the fact-finding process at the

trial itself.

In light of the rationale of united states

v. Wade, such psychiatric interview is so fraught

with danger so as to require the guiding hand of

counsel during the proceeding.

This Petition seeks to have this Court now -

hold that a Court appointed psychiatric examina-

tion of a defendant whose sanity is in question,

is a "critical" stage of the Proceedings and

that in such a situation the defendant should

be afforded the “guiding hand of counsel” in

the very psychiatric examination upon which

hinges his guilt or innocence.

-9-

ARGUMENT

Sixth Amendment Right To Counsel

I A PSYCHIATRIC EXAMINATION TO WHICH

THE DEFENDANT IS COMPELLED TO SUB-

MIT HIMSELF BY THE COURT DURING THE

COURSE OF THE TRIAL, AT THE REQUEST

OF THE GOVERNMENT, IS A CRITICAL

STAGE AT WHICH THE DEFENDANT IN A

CRIMINAL PROCEEDING IS ENTITLED TO

HAVE HIS ATTORNEY PRESENT.

A. The Cases Decided By This Court

Compel the Conclusion That Petitioner

Should Have Been Afforded The Right

To Counsel.

The right of defendants in criminal cases

to be afforded the “guiding hand of counsel” at

crucial pretrial, trial and post-trial stages of

a criminal proceeding, has received the expand-

ing protection of the courts during recent years.

The right to counsel, commencing with

Gideon 7/, held that a defendant could not be

assured a fair trial in the absence of counsel.

By virtue of a plethora of decisions following

Gideon, this Court has now extended the right to

counsel to an individual suspect subjected to

surreptitious interrogation. 8/ In addition, both

the arraignment 9/ and the time of entering a

plea 10/ have been determined to be "critical

stages" requiring the presence of counsel.

This Court has guaranteed that even a sus-

pect (not yet a defendant) is entitled to counsel

prior to, and during interrogation 11/as well as

7/ See Gideon v. Wainwright, 372 U.S. 335 (1963)

See Massiah v. United States, 377 U.S. 200 (1964)

8/

9/ See Hamilton v. Alabama, 368 U.S. 52 (1961)

10/ See White v. Maryland, 373 U.S. 59 (1963)

1/ See Escobedo v. Illinois, 378 U.S. 478 (1964)

and Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966)

ORES PNSERS 7 RRR Re EN os RN AREER IR IR CON a aa tee ge ATP AZPY OWL

AR aca mA GTI LET TNT RI ENE eT ae ter san ter UI

—

| -10-

during the course of a lineup. 12/ The right of

a defendant to counsel at a preliminary hearing

has recently been given expression. 13/ The

right to counsel during trial has, of course,

been recognized for sometime. 14/ The right to

counsel was then expanded to afford criminal

defendants the assistance of counsel in post-

conviction appeals, 15/ and even on a Petition

for a Writ of Certiorari. 16/

The right to counsel at photographic identi-

fications has been recognized by the United

States Court of Appeals. 17/ This Court has

further guaranteed the right to counsel in non-

criminal juvenile court proceedings. 18/

The right to counsel has further been guar-

anteed in proceedings which are neither criminal

nor quasi-criminal. Thus, the right has been

expanded to include an alien in a deportation

proceeding; 19/ an employee in National Labor

Relations Board proceedings; 20/ a doctor or

12/ See United States v. Wade, 388 U.S.218 (1967)

and Gilbert v. California, 388 U.S. 263 (1967)

13/ = See Pointer v. Texas, 380 U.S. 400 (1965)

and Coleman v. Alabama, 399 U.S. ! (1971)

14/ See Powell v. Alabama, 287 U.S. 45 (1932)

and Gideon v. Wainwright, 372 U.S. 335 (1963)

15/ = See Douglas v. California, 372 U.S. 353 (1963)

16/ See Doherty v. United States, 30 L Ed 2d 149; 92 S$ Ct

175 (1972) and Schreiner v. United States, 30 L Ed

2d 222; 92 S Ct 326 (1972)

l7/ See United States v. Zeiler, 427 F 2d 1305 (3d Cir

1970)

18/ = See Re Gault, 387 U.S. 1 (1967)

19/ See Whitfield v. Hanges, 222 F 745 (8th Cir. 1915);

and Hyun v. Landon, 219 F 2d 404 (9th Cir. 1954)

20/ See Great Lakes Screw Corp. v. NLRB, 409 F 2d 375

(7th Cir. 1969)

PE OUD MeN NAL ME NLT OE TPT IG IT IE TELR OLE BPs AG I8

alle

dentist in license revocation proceedings; 21/

a liquor licensee; 22/ and in numerous other

proceedings before various boards or administra-

tive agencies.

It has also been recognized that the men-

tally infirm are entitled to counsel in proceed-

ings involving their commitment to or release

from an institution, 23/ and probationers and

parolees have recently come under the protective

umbrella of the Sixth Amendment. 24/ Even wel-

fare recipients have been afforded counsel's

protection. 25/

It is thus apparent that the Sixth Amend-

ment right to counsel has been guaranteed and

implemented by this Court to afford the protec-

tion of counsel from the time that one becomes

a suspect, through and includitg appeal and

other post conviction proceedings.

l. Sixth Amendment Guarantee

Attaches At All Critical

Stages of the Proceedings

The foregoing decisions of this Court

flowed from a recognition of the fact that pro-

ceedings prior to trial may well settle the

accused's fate, thus reducing the trial itself

to a mere formality. Thus, this Court pointed

out in United States v. Wade, 388 U.S. 218, 224:

1/ See Fallon v. Wyoming State Board of Medical

~~ ExamIners, 441 P 2d 322 (1968) and Bancroft v.

Board of Governors of Registered Dentists, 202 Okla.

108 (1949)

22/ See Givens v. Dept. of Alcoholic Beverage Control,

ue 176 CA 2d 529 (1959)

See Heyford v. Parker, 396 F 2d 393 (10th Cir. 1968)

See Mempa v. Rhay, 389 U.S. 128 (1967)

See Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254 (1970)

se: er ae 3

—

@12<

“In recognition of these

realities of modern criminal

prosecution, our cases have

construed the Sixth Amendment

guarantee to apply to ‘critical’

stages of the proceedings."

This Court further, in U.S. Wade, supra,

defined the term "critical stage of the proceed-

ings" as follows: (388 U.S. 218 at 226,

“The accused is guaranteed

that he need not stand alone

against the State at any stage

of the prosecution, formal or

Ourt or out, where

counsel's absence might ogate

from the accused's right to a

fair trial." (Emphasis supplied)

It is clear that a defendant's right to

counsel at a given stage in a criminal prosecu-

tion is not linked “only to protection of sixth

Amendment rights", but rather, the essential

elements are "whether potential substantial pre-

judice to defendant's rights inheres in the par-

ticular confrontation and ability of counsel to

help avoid that prejudice" (United States v.

Made, Supra, at 227).

Thus the question presented by this peti-

tion is whether a psychiatric examination of a

defendant, ordered by the Court during the

course of a criminal trial, is a "critical"

stage of the proceedings. For reasons that we

shall point out herein, it is most respectfully

submitted that the very psychiatric examination

upon which may well hinge a defendant's guilt

or innocence is indeed a "critical" stage of

the proceedings, and that in such a situation,

the defendant should be entitled to the "guiding

hand of counsel” during the course of a psychia-

tric examination of that defendant compelled by

the Court during the course of a criminal trial.

2. POWELL Proves to Be Prophetic

In Case At Bar.

Indeed, this Court, as long ago as 1932,

recognized that it is the duty of the courts to

Se eR gp ROTI Ek i a

ee-

ee

-1]13-

protect the ignorant, the feeble-minded, the

illiterate and those otherwise incapable of

adequately protecting themselves, by providing

adequate counsel to assist and guide them in

their defense. In a statement which has now

proven to be prophetic, this Court said,

in Powell v. Alabama, 287 U.S. 45, 71:

"All that it is necessary now

to decide, as we do decide, is that

in a capital case, where the defen-

dant is unable to employ counsel

and is incapable adequately of mak-

ing his own defense because of ig-

norance, feeble mindedness, illiter-

acy, or the like, it is the duty of

the court, whether requested or not,

to assign counsel for him as a neces-

Sary requisite of due process of law;

and that duty is not discharged by

an assignment at such a time or

under such circumstances as to pre-

clude the giving of effective aid

in the preparation and trial of

the case."

What this petition seeks is to have this

Court now hold that a defendant whose sanity is

in question, be afforded the guiding hand of

counsel in the very proceeding upon which hinges

his guilt or innocence.

B. A COMPELLED COURT ORDERED PSYCHIA-

TRIC EXAMTNATTON, DURING THE TRIAL

OF A DEFENDANT IS FROUGHT WITH EVEN

MORE POTENTIAL DANGER THAN THE IN-

TERROGATION, IDENTIFICATION OR OTHER

PRETRIAL PROCESSES.

1. Throughout the Right To Counsel

Decisions in Gideon, Massiah, Mir-

anda, Escobedo, Wade, Gilbert, and

Coleman, There Runs the Thread of

Recognition That Counsel Is Essen-

tial To Protect the Integrity of

The Fact Finding Process At The

Trial Itself.

The potential prejudice which might inure

to a criminal defendant (suspected to be insane)

ELSE ME ELE EOE SIO AO Tg SONIA afoae PPO Sey EY

vr Meee Vw

-14-

at a psychiatric examination by a court appoint-

ed or government psychiatrist, in a situation

where the defendant is required to proceed with-

out the presence of his counsel or a record is

readily apparent.

This Court has recognized the necessity of

counsel to protect against suggestive influences.

In United States v. Wade, 388 U.S. 230-232:

“In any event, neither witnesses

r_ line articipants are t to

be alert for conditions prejudicial

to the suspect. And if they were,

it would likely be of scant benefit

to the suspect since neither wit-

nesses nor lineup participants are

likely to be schooled in the detec-

tion of suggestive influences. Inm-

proper influences may go undetected

by a suspect, guilty or not, who

experiences the emotional tension

Which we might expect in one being

confronted with potential accusers.

Even when he does observe abuse, if

he has a criminal record he may be

reluctant to take the stand and open

up the admission of prior convictions.

er, an rotestations by the

s ect of the fairness of the line

made at trial are likely to be in

vain; the jury's choice is between

the accused's unsupported version

and that of the police officers

present. In short the accused's

inability effectively to reconstruct

at trial any unfairness that occurred

at the lineup may deprive him of

his only opportunity meaningfully to

attack the credibility of the witness

courtroom identification." (Emphasis

supplied) (citations omitted)

The psychiatric interview presents a fact

finding process which is no less fraught with

danger of suggestive influences, improper con-

duct and difficulty of reconstruction, than the

lineup involved in Wade. No less than a lineup,

the psychiatric confrontation “is peculiarly

riddled with innumerable dangers and variable

EE ES SOREL EI IE SE TINT EIN IIIT TE De NEOTEL

-15-

“factors which might seriously, even crucially,

derogate from a fair trial " (United States v.

Wade, Supra, at 228).

2. THE PSYCHIATRIC EXAMINATION IN-

VOLVED HERE WAS A “CRITICAL STAGE"

OF THE CRIMINAL TRIAL (PROCEEDINGS)

In enumerating the various areas of poten-

tial prejudice inherent in the reliability of

the fact-finding process of the psychiatric con-

frontation, “where counsel's absence might dero-

gate from the accused's right to a fair trial",

we have chosen the following "variable factors"

to portray why the defendant whose sanity is in

question requires the aid of counsel:

a) The defendant would undoubtedly be de-

void of any ability to determine at some

point during the interview (should the same

become necessary) that it is in his best

interests to invoke his Fifth Amendment

privilege and terminate further inquiries

(even at the price, as here, of having his

insanity defense stricken). The presence

of counsel would ensure that such decision

was an enlightened one and made with a full

knowledge of all of the legal and other

ramifications inherent in the invocation.26/

b) By virtue of the inherent imbalance of

psychiatric expertise which exists between

the two par=ies present at such examination,

the alienist could completely dominate and

maneuver the defendant in his recitation,

the defendant being continually at a loss

te ever relate the actual proceedings to

either his counsel, or in court. 27/

26/

27/

—

We do not intimate that defendant's counsel should be

permitted to voice objections to the psychiatrist's

questions, or to otherwise interfere in any manner

with the examination. The presence of counsel, how-

ever, would most definitely ensure that the defendant's

Fifth Amendment rights would be protected and timely

invoked should the necessity therefor arise.

Reliance upon the doctor to protect the interests of

the defendant is an inadequate substitute for the pre-

sence of conscientious counsel.

PLEO SOLE LEER LL LER OLLIE IE OPE EE I NED LORE EGE NAN IEI NOS AAI STE

REE RR ee eee PRP MW SRL Ie he ss, ck

_——

BLS IRAE OLAS 2 OOK ORE

¢

mr

?

~

]

-16-

c) Behind the closed doors of the psychia-

trist's office, an unscrupulous but skilled

practitioner could hypnotize or otherwise

brainwash an unprotected defendant. 28/

da) The same skilled, yet unethical psychi-

atrist could so design the interview,

through the power of suggestion, so as to

convince a suggestible defendant that the

defendant actually committed the crime,

where, absent such suggestion, the defen-

dant had no recollection of any of the acts.

29/

e) The interviewing psychiatrist might, in

the absence of counsel, spend only a brief

few minutes (or for that matter, no time at

all) with the defendant and thereafter

testify at the trial as to the factual

basis for his finding. 30/

28/

29/

Defense counsel's being permitted to record and ob-

serve the proceedings in an adjoining room through

the use of a one-way mirror and being permitted to

interrupt the interview only for the purpose of advis-

ing his client with respect to the invocation of the

client's Fifth Amendment privilege, would thus, not

only ensure the defendant's Sixth Amendment rights

while also preserving the privacy and dignity of the

examination, but would also be a solution to the con-

tention that the presence of defenee counsel in the

room during the psychiatric interview would impede or

otherwise interfere with the examining process.

Petitioner would suggest that a proper method for re-

cordation of the proceedings at the psychiatric inter-

view, and one which would not in any way interfere with

the examining processes, would be to record the entire

examination on video or audio tape. Thus, should any

question arise later as to the propriety or conduct of

the examination or any part thereof, the trial court

could (in an in-camera proceeding, just as is done in

cases involving confessions or the discovery of evi-

dence in the hands of prosecution) review the video or

audio tape for the purpose of determining whether or

not the course of the interview proceeded in such a

fair or proper manner so as to permit the psychiatrist

to testify as to his conclusion on the issue of sanity.

CT ERE, Fe a Ra dol cates

olF=

£) A defendant would undoubtedly experience

serious difficulty in reconstructing the

questions, answers and nuances involved in

the interview.

g) A defendant could not possibly relate

to counsel, so as to effectively assist

counsel in the cross-examination of the

psychiatrist, the amount of time interval

between each question of the psychiatrist

and the answer of the defendant (a factor

which counsel understands to be of some

importance in psychiatric practice).

h) The defendant might reveal 100 facts

during the interview, 5 of which support

the psychiatrist's conclusion of sanity

and 95 which would support the contrary

view Of insanity. 3)

i) A defendant unaided by counsel might

not recognize that the psychiatrist's fail-

ure to inquire adequately into a detailed

history of the patient would invalidate or

otherwise impune the credibility of the

psychiatrist's ultimate conclusion.

j) A skilled “prosecution" psychiatrist

examining a defendant can readily talk the

defendant into (or coerce) the defendant

to “confess" his guilt which he otherwise

would not have done absent the compelled

examination.

Cont.

One could hardly expect a defendant, untrained in the

art, to recognize that a proper psychiatric evalua-

tion involves a more lengthy discourse between

examiner and patient.

The presence of defense counsel or the recordation

of the proceedings would ensure a full and accurate

record of the questions and answers so that defense

counsel on cross-examination might be able, at the

trial, to establish by the psychiatrist's own testi-

mony, that the greater weight of the facts elicited

at the psychiatric interview balance in favor of the

conclusion insanity.

PRP IMAL SF

-18-

k) Supposing that during the course of a

psychiatric interview the psychiatrist

questions the defendant as to other crimes.

1) The defendant is incriminating him-

self and/or faces the possibility of

additional charges;

ii) Even if for some reason additional

charges could not be filed, for example,

i.e., statute of limitations, the defen-

dant's background revelations could come

before the jury, thus leading the jury

to believe that the defendant is more

likely to be guilty of the present charge.

1) The interviewing psychiatrist testifies

that the defendant told him, during the

interview, of having engaged in some immoral

conduct, and in thus relating the patient's

history to the jury, as the basis for the

psychiatrist's opinion, the jury is inflamed

or otherwise prejudiced.32/

i) The presence of counsel or a record

of the proceedings might reveal that no

such history was ever, in fact, given

by the patient. 33/

32/ Amore intelligent cross-examination of the court

~~ appointed psychiatrist could be conducted by the

presence of counsel at the interview,

33/ The Court of Appeals has recognized in Thornton v.

Corcoran, 407 F 2d 695, 702, that defense counsel in

insanity cases are "frequently unable to examine

government witnesses with sophistication" and that

‘much greater attention must undoubtedly be devoted

to the discovery of devices where this lack of

sophistication on the part of the bar can be combat-

ted. An obvious starting point in the search js

the hospital where the defendant receives a psychia-

tric examination."

re eness

_ ae

er

-19-

We shall notburden this Court further with

a lengthy recitation of the additional possibil-

ities which might be reiterated for cited) to

demonstrate the possibility of prejudice to the

reliability of the fact-finding process ata

compelled psychiatric examination.

"In short, the accused's in-

ability effectively to reconstruct

at trial any unfairness that occur-

red at the lineup may deprive him

of his only opportunity meaningfully

to attack the credibility of the

witness' courtroom identification.”

United States v. Wade, 388 U.S. at

230-232.

Indeed, the absence of defendant's attorney,

at the time he was interviewed by the Government's

psychiatric witness, is a “critical stage" and

the presence of defendant's attorney must aid in

the reliability of the fact-finding process.

Cc. DUE PROCESS AND THE MEANING OF THE

SIXTH AMENDMENT CLAUSE MANDATES

REVERSAL “WHERE COUNSEL'S ABSENCE

MIGHT DERROGATE FROM THE ACCULED'S

RIGHT TO A FAIR TRIAL."

The Court's Order appointing psychiatrist

to examine the petitioner which specifically pre-

cluded the presence of defense counsel at the

examination, while being silent with respect to

the presence of Government counsel, vitiated

the essential fairness of the proceedings and

deprived petitioner of due process of law and

his right to counsel.

In a case in which sanity is raised as an

issue, can it be seriously argued that there

can be any more critical stage than at a court

appointed psychiatric examination of the defen-

dant?

In short, the presence of counsel is part

and parcel of a fair trial is also manifested in

the Court's persistent refusal to search the

record of a trial for prejudice, once the right

to counsel is shown to have been violated.

Glasser v. United States, 315 U.S. 60, 75, 76

lla aaa i oe

oe

-20-

(1942); Reynolds v. Cochran, 365 U.S. 525, 531

(1961); White v. Maryland, 373 U.S. 59 (1963);

United States v. Wade, 388 U.S. 218, 236 (1967);

Chapman v. California, 386 U.S. 18, 23 (1967).

i. Barring Defendant’s Attorney From

A Government Requested, and Court

Compelled Psychiatric Examination

is Constitutionally Impermissible

In That It Severely Limits Counsel's

Right To Cross-Examine the Key Gov-

ernment's Witness (Without Whom The

Defendant Could Not Have Been Con-

victed) Because There Is No Record

Of What The Defendant Said.

The failure of counsel to be present at

deposition involving a critical witness ina

civil proceeding would probably be considered

gross negligence.

Compare this to the necessity of having

counsel present at a psychiatric examination

had during a criminal trial where the one crucial

issue is the defendant's sanity. 34/

It thus becomes evident that defendants’

counsel does not have an adequate opportunity to

impeach the testimony of an expert witness when

he has no idea, or reliable source from which to

determine whether or not the defendant provided

the psychiatrist with the necessary facts upon

which to base a conclusion. For example, what if

the defendant was feeble-minded, catatonic, or

otherwise stood mute during the examination. The

defense counsel cannot accurately determine, nor

can any appellate court ever review, what tran-

spired "behind the closed doors" at defendants‘

oral examination. 35/

34/ The accused has no control whatsoever regarding the

conduct ot the psychiatric examination,

35/ itis difficult to see how any proceedings could have

been more critical to petitioner than the compel led

psychiatric examination.

o CigT (Perse ecrz PTT RSE NR a

REPUTE ME YEH ete ty rer

af}-

This Court expressly held in Wade:

: ". . « the principal of Powell

v. Alabama and succeeding cases

requires that we scrutinize any |

pretrial confrontation of the

accused to determine whether the

: presence of his counsel is neces-

sary to preserve the defendant's

basic right to a fair trial as

affected by his Eeant meaningfully

to cross-examine e witnesses

against him and to have effective

assistance of counsel at the trial

itself." (388 U.S. at 227) (Em

phasis by the Court “any”.)

What this Petition seeks is to have this

Court now hold that a defendant whose sanity is

in question, be afforded the guiding hand of

counsel in the very proceeding upon which hinges

his guilt or innocence. 36/

oe

2. APPROPRIATE SIXTH AMENDMENT SAFE-

GUARDS HAVE BEEN SUGGESTED IN VARIOUS

FEDERAL AND STATE CASES,

The United States Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Circuit, in Schantz, v. Eyman, (9th Cir.

“418 F 2d 11, (1969) Cert. denied 397 U.S.1021

(1970) was faced with a situation involving the

post indictment questioning by a state psychia-

* trist, on instructions of the prosecutor, with-

out notice to, and in the absence of, counsel.

The procedure violated Petitioner's right to the

assistance of counsel at a critical stage of the.

proceedings against him. Said the Court of

Appeals, in Schantz, v. Eyman, Supra, at 13:

"The precise question, therefore,

is whether potential substantial pre-

judice inhered in petitioner's post

indictment pretrial confrontation with

the state's psychiatrist, and whether

counsel's presence would have helped

avoid the prejudice."

36/ If the psychiatric examination is improperly conduc-

ted, the defendant isthua deprived of the opportun-

ity of ever proving his innocence,

ARs Cpa eS RRO MATL CAP IV AR DD CoOL RRP? & wet 8 a RRS

eae ee IMT BY

eB

pi eae)

-22-

The Court of Appeals, rejecting the arju-

ment that the presence of counsel could not

have avoided prejudice because counsel could

have done no more than advise Petitioner to

refuse to submit to the examination (the same

course which Petitioner chose in the absence of

counsel). The opinion went on to point out

that counsel could have done much more. Counsel

could have told Petitioner that his refusal to

be examined might be admitted in evidence against

him and could have advised him whether, in light

of this fact, it would have been better to agree

to the examination, the court continued, 418 F

2d 11 at 14:

"If this course had been adopted,

counsel might have afforded Petitioner

further protection by insisting that

the examination be conducted under

appropriate safeguards, such as the

use of neutral experts, the presence

of a defense representative, and the

preparation of a taped or stenograph-

ic record of the examination." 37/

The Supreme Court of Arizona has held that

the courts of that State lack statutory or in-

herent power to compel a defendant to submit to

a pre-trial mental examination. 38/

The record here is devoid of any testimony

or evidence which would even remotely suggest

that the examination by the court appointed

psychiatrists would have been reduced in effec-

tiveness, or have been otherwise impaired, by

the presence of defense counsel or a stenograph-

er. The presence of such reasons on-the record

appears to have been essential to a determina-

tion of the question by the Supreme Court of

New Jersey in State v. Whitlow, 210 A 2d 763

(1965). Said the Supreme Court.of New Jersey,

at 776:

37/ The trial court in this pending petition, precluded

the petitioner from having either Counsel or a sten-

ographic reporter present.

/ See Steward v. Superior Court, 94 Ariz. 279 388 P 2d

191, (1963) decided upon other than Sixth Amendment

grounds.

PE ere De ier Ie PANEL ke FLEE NN ST OLE AP Ne ES oy

aR

"If, upon application by the

state for leave to examine, defense

counsel requests permission to be

present at the examination, the

court should require some showing

by the prosecutor as to the atti-

tude of the psychiatrists about

the presence of counsel. Of course,

if there is no objection, permission

should be granted. (In such case,

counsel should realize his atten-

dance is in the capacity of an

observer, not an active partici-

pant.) If, in their view the

presence of such a nonprofessional

would hinder or operate to reduce

the effectiveness of their exami-

nation, or if they assert they

cannot examine in his presence,

the court may in the exercise of

its discretion exclude counsel

from the examination. In this

event, if defendant requests,

consideration may be given to the

feasibility of permitting such de-

vices as recording instruments or

the like to be utilized at the

psychiatric interview. In any

case the court should allow a

defense psychiatrist to attend the

examination, if such a demand is

made."

As we have pointed out, the record here is

silent with respect to the feelings of the court

appointed psychiatrists as to the presence of

defense counsel, a stenographer, or a defense

psychiatrist.

It is suggested, however, that in any

event, the overriding weight of Sixth Amendment

guarantees afforded a defendant tips the scales

unmistakenly in favor of the presence of defense

counsel at a court appointed psychiatric exami-

nation. That counsel's presence might somehow

impede the effectiveness of the psychiatric

examination, must be balanced against the Sixth

Amendment guarantee of the presence of counsel

at proceedings where the results might well

determine the fate of a defendant. We believe

Ne EO OOM LLL ELIOT, LN LE COTE IL INE HEN VD SAB |? Teens

ween 7

~24-

that this court has spoken quite clearly as to

the direction in which the scales must tip in

such situations. In U.S. v. Wade, 338 U.S. 218,

237-238, this Court held:

“And to refuse to recognize the

right to counsel for fear that counsel

will obstruct the course of justice is

contrary to the basic assumptions upon

which this Court has operated in Sixth

Amendment cases. We rejected similar

logic in Miranda v. Arizona concerning

presence of counsel during custodial

interrogation, 384 U.S., at 480-481:

'(A)n attorney is merely exer-

cising the good professional judgment

he has been taught. This is not cause

for considering the attorney a menace

to law enforcement. He is merely carry-

ing out what he is sworn to do under

his oath-to protect to the extent of his

ability the rights of his client. In

fulfilling this responsibility the

attorney plays a vital role in the ad-

ministration of criminal justice under

our Constitution. '

In our view counsel can hardly impede

legitimate law enforcement; on the con-

trary, for the reasons expressed, law

enforcement may be assisted by pre-

venting the infiltration of taint in

the prosecution's identification evidence."

in United States v. Driscoll, 399 F 2d 135

(1968), the Court of Appeals for the Second Cir-

cuit, while not passing upon the appellant's

contention that under United States v. Wade,

supra, he was constitutionally entitled to have

his lawyer present during a psychiatric exami-

nation, nevertheless reversed a judgment of

conviction holding that counsel could have en-

sured certain procedural safeguards, under

appropriate conditions, such, as, if feasible,

having the appellant's own representative

present at, or requiring a transcript or video-

tape of the examination (399 F 2d 138).

pet

ses

Be Sea a ta Sea z4

AAPA A FAY

«ZS

The California Supreme Court has also had

occasion to comment upon the issue. In People

v. Morse, 70 C 2d 711; 76 Cal Rptr. 391, that

court commented:

"Recognizing the importance

of accurate psychiatric evaluation

in cases involving the mental con-

dition or state of mind of the

accused, we have thus endeavored

to preserve the effectiveness of

psychiatric examination within

the framework of constitutional

guarantees to the assistance of

counsel at all stages of the pro-

ceedings." (Emphasis added) 39 7

39/

California, unlike the Federal Courts, has formulated

an enlightened procedure with respect to the trial of

criminal matters in which the question of a defendants

sanity is put into issue. By virtue of Section

1026 of the California Penal Code, California

provides for a bifurcated trial. Most of the objec-

tions to a defendant's cooperating with a prosecution

or court appointed psychiatrist are thereby eliminated

since, under this procedure, the defendant's statements

with respect to the issue of guilt may be introduced

only at the sanity phase of the trial and the psychia-

trist may not testify, nor may any evidence of the

defendant's statements to the psychiatrist, be put be-

fore the jury at the guilt phase of the proceedings.

It is suggested, at a later point in this petition,

that this Court should, under its supervisory authori-

ty over the proceedings in the Federal Courts, adopt a

similar procedure so that both a defendant and his

counsel might be more freely inclined to cooperate

with court appointed psychiatrists, rather than,as

here, be placed between the Scylla of being forced to

cooperate with the Court appointed psychiatrist under

penalty of being precluded from introducing any expert

testimony of insanity and the Charibides of having the

psychiatrist testify from statements made by the defen-

dant during the course of such examination.

BN ROIS REET ME CER RE CR Ars ‘ . EE ap

a ———

Indeed the young and the mentally infirm

require as much, if not a greater degree, of

assistance than those who are merely criminally

suspect. This Court quite recently had occasion

to point out in Re Gault, 387 U.s. 1, 28 (1967),

that:

- =26-

“Under our Constitution,

the condition of being a boy

does not justify a Kangaroo

Court.*

This Court should grant certiorari here to

similarly hold that the condition of beirg in-

sane does not. justify a psychiatric examination

from which are precluded the defendant's counsel,

or any record of the proceedings.

If a criminal suspect is to be deemed

able of properly protecting himself at a police

station or a lineup, a defendant who is suspect-

ed of being insane could hardly be expected to

protect himself at a psychiatric examination

without the “guiding hand of counsel" being

present to ensure the essential fairness of the

proceedings. 40/

40/ While it could possibly be said that the psychiatric

examination is not an in-court proceeding as to thus

require the stenographic reporting of the psychia-

tric examination and the presence of counsel for the

purposes of insuring an accurate record, it is quite

apparent that any trier of fact relies most heavily

upon the opinion of the examining psychiatrist in

determining the question of sanity. Indeed, a long

series of cases (McKenzie v. United States, 266 F

2d 524 (10 Cir. 1 ; Unit tates v. Westerhausen

283 F 2¢ 844 (7th Cir. ; Argent v. Unit tates

325 F 2d 162 (Sth Cir. 1963); Tsaac v. Unit tates,

284 F 2d p.168 (D.C. Cir. 1960) a tte v. Unit

States 336 F 2d 342 (Sth Cir. 1964) reversed judg-

ments of conviction where the Government sought to

rely upon the testimony of lay witnesses to overcome

substantial evidence of insanity on the part of

professionals. The crucial importance of the psy-

chiatric examination is thus self-evident.

_ — RENE SEE Ty ing

i ll

—

—_~

sai -27-

3. The WADE-THORNTON Rationale to

The Right To Have The Assistance

Of Counsel In Similar Civil Pro-

We tablished

The right of a party to a civil action to

have the assistance of counsel and a court re-

porter present during a physical examination was

recognized sometime ago by the California

Supreme Court. In ffv erior Court, 44

Cal 2d 508 (1955), Chief Justice Gibson, speak-

ing for a unanimous Court, held that whenever a

doctor selected by the defendant conducts a

Physical examination of the Plaintiff,

"There is a possibility that

improper questions may be asked,

and a lay person should not be

every

plaintiff, therefore, should be per-

mitted to have the assistance and

The California Supreme Court rejected the

argument that objections by counsel might hinder

the examination, stating that the client should

not be left unprotected on the assumption that

the attorney might interfere and that should any

such interference occur, appropriate steps could

be taken by the Court.

The United States Court of Appeals for the

District of Columbia circuit, in Thornton v.

Gercorap, 407 F 2d 695 (D.c. Cir. 1969), similar-

ly rejected the government's argument that the

presence ‘of defense counsel during a psychiatric

staff conference might prove a disruptive influ-

ence or impair the eficacy of the examination.

Noting this Court's observation in United States

v. Wade, 388 U.S. 237-238, that:

"To refuse to recognize the right

to counsel for fear that counsel will

obstruct the course of justice is

contrary to the basic assumptions

upon which this court has operated in

Sixth Amendment cases.*

——_ IT LIE ID TE TS PS be yt a een

_—

The Court of Appeals, thus, was of the opinion

that:

-2e-

"the argument that a lawyer

will prove a fatally disruptive

influence at such a hearing is

not compelling.” (407 F 2d 701)

The Court of Appeals thereupon opined (407 F 2d

695, 702):

"The Petitioner's claim that

the logic of Wade v. United States

should apply to his staff conference

at St. Elizabeth's Hospital is

therefore anything but frivolous."

In Gonzi v. Superior Court, 51 C 2d 586

(1959), the California Supreme Court, again

speaking unanimously, recognized the right of

either party to a personal injury action to

have a reporter present during a physical exami-

nation, holding:

"If an injured plaintiff is not

. permitted to have a reporter present

at the court-ordered examination by

defendant's doctors there is no dis-

interested person present to report,

or later testify to, what occured

during the examination. If the

defense-employed doctor is called

upon to testify at the trial on the

issue of plaintiff's injuries his

version of the questions and answers

elicited at the examination might

differ materially from plaintiff's

counsel's version of the same ques-

tions and answers. It appears to us

that orderly procedure in the adminis-

tration of justice requires that per-

mission be granted at the request of

either party for a reporter's pre-

sence in such a situation as is here

presented.”

If there is a cognizable right to the pro-

tection and assistance of counsel during a

medical examination of a litigant in a civil

proceeding which seeks merely the recovery of

=... RTS EERE SEM. TRE ST i nN ae le cea

-29-

money damages, the argument that a defendant in

a criminal case, where life or liberty are at

stake, who is suspected of being insane should

be entitled to the protection and guidance of

counsel during a medical examination, becomes

an even more compelling one.

4. It Need Not be Speculated

Upon As To Whether Prejudice

Resulted From The Exclusion

Of Petitioner's Counsel From

The Psychiatric Examination

Assuming, arguendo, as we have contended

here, that the Court ordered psychiatric exami-

nation of Petitioner was a critical stage of the

proceedings, it becomes unnecessary to speculate

as to the various services that Petitioner's

counsel might have performed had he been per-

mitted to be present at the Court ordered psy-

chiatric examination of Petitioner. 4]/ 42/

4j)/ Counsel's presence, however, might well have

discouraged the prosecutor from subsequently

communicating with Dr. Deering following the

first examination. As we have previously

pointed out, the prosecutor here not only

delivered certain documents to the doctor, but

on at least two occasions held discussions with

him. We do not deem it pertinent to comment at

length upon the questions raised by the prose-

cutor's conversations with Dr. Deering. Suffice

it to say, that any such communication with a

trial juror would surely have resulted in the

imposition of sanctions. (The relationship of

Dr. Deering to the prosecutor was no different

than that of a prosecutor and a juror. Or.

Deering, like a trial juror, was in effect

ordered by the Court to reach a conclusion as to

an issue in the case.)

Ay It should also be remembered that the Court's

Orders, while prohibiting the presence of defense

counsel, did not similarly prohibit the presence

of the prosecutor.

P27 ase v7 ~ - epee a — —

——

-30-

As this Court had occasion to point out

long ago, in Glasser v. United States, (1942),

315 U.S. 60, 76:

". . « The right to have the assistance of

counsel is too fundamental and absolute to

allow courts to indulge in nice calcula-

tions as to the amount of prejudice arising

from its denial.

That indeed was the whole point of Gideon.

In dealing with the denial of counsel in

pretrial proceedings, this Court, in Hamilton

v. Alabama, 368 U.S. 52,55 (1961) speaking

unanimously through Mr. Justice Douglas, opined:

". « « We do not stop to determine whether

prejudice resulted."

In numerous other instances, this Court

has evidenced its views that reversals of

judgments of conviction would ensue as the re-

sult of a denial of fundamentally protected

rights without the necessity of any showing of

prejudice. 43/

43 / For examples of this Rule, see Tumey v. Ohio, 273

U.S. 510 (1926) (Judges financial interest tn re-

sult even though defendant clearly guilty); Lynumn

v. [llinois, 372 U.S. 528 (1963) (holding harmless

error argument to be an “impermissible doctrine!’

where confesseion erroneously admitted); Haynes v.

Washington, 373 U.S. 503, 518, 519 (1963) (reversal

for tmproperty admitted confession even though it

was unnecessary to the conviction); Sheppard v,.

Maxwell, 384, U.S. 333, (1966)-(reversal where

defendant exposed to adverse pretrial publicity,

no showing necessary that jurors were prejudiced);

Bollenback v. United States, 326 U.S. 607 (1944)

instruction on unconstitutional presumption even

though ample other evidence to sustain the convict-

tion); Whitus v. Georgia , 385 U.S. 545 (1967)

(discrtmination in selection of Grand or Petit

jurors); Stromberg v. California, 283 U.S. 359

(1930 ) and Williams v. No. Carolina, 317 U.S 287

(1943) ( reversal. of conviction based on unconsti-

tutionally impermissible grounds, although convic-

tion could have been sustained on valid alterna-

tive ground).

— PEELE IIE ORIOLES Nr OP LG ISR ROUBINI Oe snot

SPO RTD re OME ap

Be os

_—

ane

=3leq

CONCLUSION

The conclusion thus appears inescapable

that the trial court's Orders precluding Peti-

tioner's counsel from being present at the court

ordered psychiatric examinations affected the

fundamental faitness of the proceedings and

requires a reversal from a denial of counsel.

In holding that the defendant has the right

to assistance of counsel at the post-indictment

lineup, this Court, in United States v. Wade,

supra, pointed to the critical nature of the

confrontation between the accused and the victim

or witnesses and the possible dangers to the

accused. Dangers such as the domination of the

accused by a highly trained psychiatrist or the

suggestion by the psychiatrist that the accused

is guilty of a crime by virtue of the charge

against him are equally present in the confron-

tation between the accused and the psychiatrist.

As has been stated in a recent article

discussing the presence of counsel and a steno-

graphic record at psychiatric examination:

“Without the aid of a mentally

sound client, without the aid of a

stenographic record, and without

actual presence at the examination,

defense counsel, at best, could

merely speculate as to what actually

occurred. Arguably, when a defendant

is taken behind closed doors with a »

Government's expert mine-prober, the

Sixth Amendment and the due process

clause entitle the defendant to a

minimal degree of protection at least

in the form of counsel and a permanent

stenographic record of the examination."

1970 Journal of Taxation 322, 326

eee a a ts i a! tk PEDAL Oe TO

fe by a lineup. 388 U.S. at 221-223, 87

If. PETITIONER WAS UNCONSTITUTIONALLY

DEPRIVED OF HIS SIXTH AMENDMENT

RIGHT TO COUNSEL AND HIS FIFTH

AMENDMENT RIGHT AGAINST SELF IN-

CRIMINATION.

A. A Defendant's Sixth and Fifth

Amendment Rights Are Violated

Where the Trial Court's Order

Compels the Defendant to Submit

to An Oral Psychiatric Examina-

tion By A Psychiatrist Because

It Does Violence to Due Process

and Fundamental Fairness.

Mr. Justice Berger, in THORNTON, supra, at

705, while sitting as a Circuit Judge for the

United States Court of Appeals for the District

of Columbia commented:

"Moreover, I see no theoretical

or practical justification apart

from the Fifth Amendment for permit-

ting counsel to attend these pre-

trial encounters." (Emphasis added)

Petitioner agrees with Chief Justice Berger

that a Sixth Amendment violation becomes less

theoretical and more practical when coupled with

a compelled-violation of the defendants Fifth

Amendment privilege.

Thus, we proceed here to discuss the case

at bar under the proposition that the two rights

are of equivalent Constitutional Stature and

enjoy equal procedural protection and may even

unite into a whole under particular circumstances.

Boyd v. United States, 116 U.S. 616. Here, as

in Thornton, at 699:

". . « The Sixth Amendment claim

cannot be resolved without reference

to the privilege against self-incrimi-

nation. The Supreme Court disposed

of that issue in Wade on the ground

that no ‘evidence of a testimonial or

communicative nature' was extracted

S. Ct. at 1929; see also Schmerber v.

California, 384 U.S. 757, 86 S Ct.

"1826 (1966). This argument can

hardly do service in the context

of a psychiatric examination, how-

ever, where the words of the accused

are critically important in deter-

mining his mental condition." (at 700)

In addition, in the case at bar, it must

be remembered that the psychiatric examinations

in question were requested by the prosecution

and the Court compelled the defendant to choose

between his Constitutional Rights under the

Sixth and Fifth Amendments or be precluded from

exercising his equally Constitutional right of

presenting a meritorious defense on the issue

of his sanity.

In Wade se United States, 426 F 2d 64, 74

(9th Cir. 1970) (en banc),

“Finally, it must be noted that

Wade has presented in addition to

the insanity issue, a question of

great importance that has not as yet

been satisfactorily answered in this

or any other Circuit. This question

is whether a trial court, when appoin-

ting a psychiatrist to examine the

defendant pursuant to 18 U.S.C. Sec-

tion 4244 or pursuant to its inherent

powers, may properly order that the

examination cover both competency to

Stand trial and criminal responsibil-

ity at the time of the alleged off-

ense. More importantly, assuming

that this order is valid the question

is raised whether a court has the in-

herent power to order, as the District

Court here did, that the defendant

must cooperate and provide information

to the court-appointed psychiatrist,

or else be ‘precluded at the time of

trial from offering any evidence upon

the defense of insanity‘ ."

“This type of order requires the

defendant to supply the court-appoint-

ed psychiatrist with information on

the basis of which, in part, the

psychiatrist can form an opinion of

ERE TER RE BT PII, eer ae poe «<q

2 a ORES

li ie i ee

-

pon

nated by defendant." (Order Appointing Psychia-

-34-

“the defendant's mental state at

the time of the offense. If the

psychiatrist is subsequently per-

mitted to testify for the prosecu-

tion during trial, the result may

be that the defendant's own words

are used against him. Therefore,

coerced cooperation with a psychia-

trist not chosen by the accused may

violate the Fifth Amendment privilege

unless it can be justified on one or

more of various theories that have

been discussed by both courts and

commentators. . .”

"It is quite obvious that a

_ grave constitutional question is

presented."

In the case at bar, it is clear that, over

his objection, petitioner was compelled to

“afford such cooperation and information as may

be required by" court-appointed psychiatrists

outside the “presence of any counsel . . . desig-

trists Exhibit C, Supra),44/

In the words of the lower court (Ibid.):

"If the defendant does not comply

with this order he shall be precluded

at trial from presenting testimony

upon the issue of his alleged mental

incapacity by any expert by whom he

has been interviewed."

Accordingly, the compulsion on petitioner

to relinquish his Fifth Amendment right against

self-incrimination and his Sixth Amendment

right to counsel in order to assert his insanity

defense is clear.

The only question is whether such surrender

is constitutional.

447 Dr. Deering was called by and testified on behalf

of the prosecution herein.

’

veer ner s ;

REE OTR

or eee

~~ =

In Sherbert v. Verner, 374 U.S. 398, 404-

406 (1963), the Supreme Court held that the

exercise of privileges and rights cannot be

governed by conditions or qualifications which

erode or emasculate constitutional rights.

Handy's exercise of his insanity defense

was conditioned upon an unrestricted examination

by two court appointed psychiatrists, which ex-

amination violated his Fifth Amendment right

against self-incrimination and his Sixth Amend-

ment right to counsel. Here, as in Sherbert

to condition Handy's insanity defense upon his

willingness to surrender his Sixth and Fifth

Amendment rights effectively penalized the exer-

cise of his Constitutional rights. See also

Thorpe v. Housing Authority, 386 U.S. 670, 679

(1967):

“The right to continue the exer-

cise of a privilege granted by the

State cannot be made to depend upon

the grantee's submission to a condi-

tion prescribed by the state which is

hostile to the provisions of the Fed-

eral Constitution. . . If the State

may compel the surrender of one con-=

stitutional right as a condition of

its favor, it may, in like manner,

compel a surrender of all. It is

inconceivable that guaranties embedded

in the Constitution of the united

States may thus be manipulated out

of existence."

In sum, the trial court compelled Handy to

surrender his right to counsel and his right

against self-incrimination in order to raise his

insanity defense. In Gardner v. Broderick, 392

U.S. 273 (1968), this Court held that a New York

City Charter provision, under which a policeman

had been dismissed for failing to waive his

right against self-incrimination and to signa

waiver of immunity from prosecution, was uncon-

stitutional. Here, as in Gardner, the "mandate

of the great privilege against self-incrimina-

tion” cannot tolerate its surrender since it is

clear that Handy's examination by two court

appointed psychiatrists was unrestricted and

compelled solely to establish, as an element of

-36-

his alleged offense, his legal sanity beyond a

reasonable doubt. See also: Uniformed Sanita-

tion Men Assn. v. Commissioner of Sanitation,

392 U.S. 280 (1968); Spevack v. Klein, 385 U.S.

511 (1967); and Garrity v. New Jersey, 385 U.S.

493 (1967).

This Court in Wade held:

“Of course, nothing decided or

said in the opinions in the cited

cases links the right of counsel only

to protection of Fifth Amendment rights.

Rather those decisions 'no more than

reflect a constitutional principle

established as long ago as Powell v.

Aigbeme.* . « o*

However, in the case at bar the Petitioner's

Sixth Amendment rights are Closely linked to his

Fifth Amendment privilege.

For this reason alone, Handy's conviction

must be reversed.

PRI Pe

a3 f=

IIt. The Trial Court's Order, Over

Defendant's Objection, Compell-

ing Defendant to Answer Questions

Of and To Fully Cooperate With

Court Appointed Psychiatrist Or

To Forfeit His Right To Present

Expert Testimony On the Issue Of

His Insanity Is Unconstitutional

Under the Self-Incrimination Clause

of the Fifth Amendment Because It

Extracts (Exacts) a Price For Exer-

cising His Constitutional Right

Against Self-Incrimination.

In discussing the compelled self-incrimina-

tion issue at bar, petitioner will try to show

that in its application in reason here, it is

utterly incompatible with the historic dimen-

sions of the Fifth Amendment privilege, as con-

strued and applied by this Court; and that to

compel a sanity defendant to testify involuntar-

ily contravenes the plain command of that

Amendment.

A. Compulsory Self-Incrimination As

A Condition to Presenting Expert

Testimony Is Incompatible With

Decisions Of This Court Condemning

Such Process As Violative Of The

Fifth Amendment.

This Court has repeatedly noted that one of

the principal policies underlying the privilege

is "the inviolability of the human personality”

and that:

“Our accusatory system of crim-

inal justice demands that the Govern-

ment seeking to punish an individual

produce the evidence against him by

its own independent labors rather

than by the cruel, simple expedient

of compelling it from his own mouth."

Miranda v. Arizona,

384 U.S. 436, at p.

460 (1966)

While the trial court's order here did not

as ee

-

eee

ON MAT EY CPI mEr er,

—

-38-

technically purport to compel "communications"

or “testimony”, it is evident that any order

directing a defendant to submit to an unrestric-

ted psychiatric examination, by its very essence

compels communications and testimony.45/ It seems

certain that no competent psychiatrist would pro-

fess to conduct any examination of a defendant

for the purpose of determining his insanity at

the time of the commission of an alleged crime

without eliciting verbal responses from the def-

endant. The situation here thus differs from

Sch MGEDCE v.- California, 384 U.S. 757 (1966),

and Gilbert v. California, 388 U.S. 263 (1967).

Those cases involve “non-verbal" acts or

conduct and there was clearly no communication

or testimony involved. Indeed, this Court, in

lbert v alifornia, supra, while holding that

the taking of handwriting exemplars did not vio-

late the petitioner's Fifth Amendment privilege

against self-incrimination, pointed out that

(388 U.S. 263,266):

"The privilege reaches only com-

pulsion of ‘an accused's communica-

tions, whatever form they might take,

and the compulsion of responses which

are also communications, for example,

compliance with a subpena to produce

one's papers' and not ‘compulsion

which makes a suspect or accused the

source of "real or physical evidence"

- « «' “ (Emphasis added)

Thus, while the voice identification of a

defendant is an identifying physical characteris-

tic outside of the Fifth Amendment protection

(Wade, Supra), the communications which petition-

er herein was effectively compelled to engage in

with the examining psychiatrists were not for

the purpose of identifying physical characteris-

tics but, by the very essence of the communica=-

tions, appellant was effectively compelled to

4g As we have pointed out elsewhere the defendant could

—— have refused to comply with the order, or stood mute

at the examination at the price of foregoing his

insanity defense.

Re BR Bt ey

-39-

discuss not only the circumstances of his life,

but the circumstances surrounding the commission

of the alleged crimes.

We believe that the issue involved herein

was alluded to in Schmerber v. California, 384

U.S. 757, where this Court pointed out (384 U.S.

757 at 764-765):

“Some tests seemingly directed

to obtain ‘physical evidence' for

example, lie detector tests, measur-

ing changes in body function during

interrogation, may actually be direc-

ted to eliciting responses which are

essentially testimonial. To compel

a person to submit to testing in

which an effort will be made to de-

termine his guilt or innocence on

the basis of physiological responses,

whether willed or not, is to evoke

the spirit and history of the Fifth

Amendment. Such situations call to

mind the principle that the protec-

tion of the privilege ‘is as broad

as the mischief against which it

seeks to guard,' Counselman v.Hitch-

cock, 142 U.S. 547 at 562."

To compel petitioner herein to submit to

psychiatric evaluations, of necessity, required

testimonial compulsion. As this Court continued

in Schmerber, which held that blood tests did

not constitute testimonial compulsion within the

meaning of the Fifth Amendment (384 U.S. 757,765):

“Petitioner's testimonial capa-

cities were in no way implicated;

indeed, his participation except as

a donor, was irrelevant to the re-

sults of the test, which depend on

chemical analysis and on that alone."

While the donor's testimony is irrelevant

to the results of the test which depend upon

chemical analysis alone, the participation of

the patient in a psychiatric interview is the

very thing that is relevant to the results which

depend not upon any scientific or objective test

but solely upon the conclusions drawn by the

z

ord

SEs

v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436, 442-444 (1966); Gardner

v. Broderick, 392 U.S. 273 (1968); Uniformed Sani-

tation Men Association v. Commissioner, 392 U.S.

-40-

psychiatrist from the verbal and testimonial

communications of the defendant.

The situation here far more closely resem

bles that of a defendant being compelled to sub-

mit to a lie detector test which the Supreme

Court has, in Schmerber v. California, supra,

pointed out would be violative of his Fifth

Amendment rights since the test was an effort to

determine his guilt or innocence on the basis of

physiological and verbal responses. A test in

which an effort is made to determine the guilt

or innocence of a defendant based, as here, on

his own verbal communicative responses certainly

must evoke the spirit and history of the Fifth

Amendment.

In sum, the privilege is fulfilled only

when the person is guaranteed the right “to

remain silent unless he chooses to speak in the

unfettered exercise of his own will." Malloy v.

Hogan, 378 U.S. 1, 8 (1964)

1. The Letter and Spirit of the Fifth

Amendment Denied The Lower Court

the Power To Compel Testimony Over

Objection Of the Privilege Against

Self-Incrimination.

The right against self-incrimination is one

of the most ancient and respected rights granted

in the United States Constitution. (see Miranda

280 (1968); Garrity v. New Jersey, 385 U.S. 493

(1967); and Spevack v. Klein, 385 U.S. 511 (1967).

The Court's reasoning in the Garrity and Spevack

cases is summarized as follows:

*. - e the Self-Incriminacion

Clause of the Fifth Amendment. ..

should not be watered down by impos-

ing. . . a price for asserting it."

Spevack v. Klein, 385 U.S. 51l, 514

(1967).

Application of such reasoning to the in-

stant case demands a holding that a court cannot

ah i al Si a Dee

=e

force an accused to choose between the defense

of insanity and his constitutional right against

self-incrimination. To hold otherwise would be

to force a defendant to choose between an impor-

tant and vital defense and the exercise of his

free choise "to remain silent."

The Ninth Circuit has recognized that the

issue obviously presents "a grave constitutional

question.” Wade v. United States, supra, at 74.

State courts have not been reluctant tc apply

the foregoing principle to closely similar situ-

ations.46/ Legal commentators have also recogniz=-

ed the logic and wisdom of this rationale.47/

46/ See Shepard v. Bowe, 442 P 2d 238 (Ore. 1968) (holding

that a defendant could not be compelled to answer at a

pretrial mental examination, a psychiatrist's questions

concerning his. conduct relating to-the offense charged);

: State v. Olson, 274 Minn. 225, 143 N.W. 2d 69 (1966),

‘ (defendant may not be compelled to a psychiatric exam-

= ination where unprotected against self-incrimination) ;

People v. English, 31 I11. 2d 301, 201 N.E. 2d 445(1964)

(invocation of Fifth Amendment privilege at psychiatric

examination upheld); People v. Wax, 75 Ill. App. 2d 163,

177-179, 220 N.E. 2d 600 607-008-(1966). cert-denied

387 U.S. 930, 87 S Ct 2051 (1967), (right of defendant

to remain mute during examination of court appointed

psychiatrist upheld, even though. defense of insanity

raised at trial); French v. District Court, 153 Colo.10

14, 384 P 2d 268, 270 (1963), (holding trial court's

order striking defendant's plea of not guilty by reason

of insanity because of refusal to cooperate with court

appointed psychiatrist improper as imposing a penalty or

forfeiture for the exercise of Fifth Amendment rights).

47/ See Canforth, Death Knell for Pre-Trial Examination?

Privilege Against Self-Incrimination, 19 Rutgers L.Rev.

489 (1965), ("if we are to remain true to the accusa-

: torial system with the privilege against self-incrimi-

é nation at its core, it seems necessary that a defendant

a who has raised the defense of insanity at the time of

the alleged crime cannot be compelled to respond to the

question of a court-appointed psychiatrist.'' See 19

Rutgers L.Rev. at 505); See alsoan article entitled

Requiring a Criminal Defendant to Submit to a Govern-

ment Psychiatric Examination: An Invasion of the Priv-

tlege Against Self-Incrimination, at 83 Harv. L.Rev.

ee RIE ES PT SLE FL ERIM NL EH

=43~

IV. This Court Should Grant Certiorari

To Settle Conflicts, Confusion and

Uncertainty Among the Circuit Courts

Of Appeal With Respect To The Guide-

Lines Required To Be Established By

The Trial Court Governing the Exam-

ination Of A Defendant By a Psychia-

trist Appointed By the Court At The

Request Of The Government,

This petition presents the Opportunity for

Constitutional interpretation that goes far be-

yond the geographical limits of the Ninth Cir-

cuit Court of Appeals, and indeed beyond the

interests of the petitioner herein in that the

principal issue here is one of recurring signi-

ficance,

Not only is the decision of the Ninth Cir-

cuit Court of Appeals clearly wrang, it is a

grave example of the depravation of due process

and the defendant's fundamental right to a fair

trial. Not only is the Ninth Circuit's opinion

herein worthy of review, but the paramount issue

is, likewise, of compelling national significance

in view of the confusion and uncertainty among

the various Circuit Courts of Appeal with respect

to the necessary guidelines that are required to

be established in order to conduct examinations

by court appointed psychiatrists within the

spirit and letter of the Constitutional dictates

of the Sixth Amendment to the Constitution, while

at the same time not offending the mandate of

the right against self-incrimination under the

Fifth Amendment to the United states Constitution,

Cont.

4y/ 4648 (sets forth.the values that this court has describ-

ed as being protected by the privilege against self-

incrimination, 83 Harv. L. Rev, 655-656. After analy-

zing the effect of a compulsory psychiatric examination

on these values, the note continues; ''since the psy-

chiatric examination elicits information akin to testi-

monial evidence and since the examination conflicts

with values protected by the privilege, it should be

found to be the kind of information gathering in which

participation cannot be required by the state. 83 Harv.

L. Rev. at 660."

:

—

-43-

The Second, Fourth, Seventh, Eighth, Ninth,

and D.C. Circuits have struggled to provide the

Government, in a sense of fair play, with the

prosecution's right (under appropriate rules)

to compel psychiatric examinations of defendants

by court-appointed physicians. In so doing,

great confusion and uncertainty has arisen, as a

result of the inherent conflict, with the Fifth

and Sixth Amendments arising out of the insanity

issue in Federal criminal trials. Unlike the

specific plea in most state courts of "Not Guilty

by Reason of Insanity" the Federal system pro-

vides that once the sanity of the defendant comes

into issue the Government must establish defen-

dant's sanity as an element of the crime, beyond

a reasonable doubt.

Naturally, to do so requires an appropriate

psychiatric interview where the defendant, of

necessity, must offer "oral testimony" on the

issue in order that the Government's expert may

make an appropriate determination. To do so,

without permitting the presence of the "alleged"

incompetent's attorney indeed shocks not only

the conscience of the Federal system of trial,

but clearly violates the mandate of the Sixth

Amendment even if the trial court is scrupulous-

ly careful to avoid the contamination of “con-

fession" and/or guard against the admission of

any such evidence at the time of trial.

Thus counsel, or at least the right to coun-

sel, has become the sine qua non of fairness at

every stage of a felony proceeding in order to

protect the integrity of the fact finding pro-

cess of trial.

No constitutional theory justifies limit-

ing that protection.

48/ Trial courts should be required to grant a bifurcated

trial where a defendant's sanity is drawn into issue

when court compels defendant to choose between an unre-

stricted oral psychiatric examination by court appoin-

ted psychiatrists, not restricted to defendant's sanity,

or forego presentation of expert testimony upon the

issue of his mental incompacity by any expert by whom

he has been examined.

—— spre

CONCLUS ION

For the foregoing reasons this petition

for a writ of certiorari should be granted.

ROBERT M. TALCOTT and

RICHARD G. SHERMAN,

Attorneys for C. Jon Handy,

Petitioner.

a ae eC 2 re ae ne es

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

Unrrep States or AMERICA, ,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

ve + No. 71-1924

C. Jon Hanpy,

Defendant-A ppellant. 7

[October 20, 1971]

Appeal from the United States District Court

’ for the Central District of California

Before: CHAMBERS, Chief Judge, WEICK® and CARTER,

Circuit Judges.

WEICK, Circuit Judge:

In Counts 1 and 2 of a 5-count indictment returned by the

Grand Jury, Handy, as manager of Palm Springs Panorama,

Inc. (“P.S.P.”), was charged with filing false and fraudulent

income tax returns and wilfully attempting to evade income taxes

owed by said corporation for the calendar years 1964 and 1965,

in the respective amounts of approximately $350,020 and $241,030,

in violation of 26 U.S.C. § 7201. In Counts 3 and 4 Handy was

charged with wilfully aiding, assisting, counseling and procuring

the preparation and presentation of fraudulent income tax returns

for P.S.P. for said calendar years, in violation of 26 U.S.C.

§ 7206(2). In Count 5 he was charged with wilfully attempting to

evade taxes of about $6,000 in behalf of himself and his wife, in

violation of 26 U.S.C. § 7201. In a separate one-count indictment

he was charged with submitting to an Internal Revenue Agent a

*Honorable Paut C. Weick, Cireuit Judge, United States Court of

Appeals for the Sixth Circuit, sitting by designation.

APPENDIX "A"

Bre Sey see

mat ie

—_—

2 United States of America vs.

false document purporting to be a Management Fee Agreement, in

violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1001.

At the conclusion of a 15-day trial, Handy was found guilty by

a jury on counts 1, 2, 3 and 4 of the indictment, and acquitted

on count 5. He was found guilty also on the separate indictment

charging him with submitting a false document to an Internal

Revenue Agent. He was sentenced under the provisions of 18

U.S.C. § 4208(¢) to five years’ imprisonment on each of the

counts on which he was found guilty, the sentences to run con-

currently. He was released on a $10,000-bail bond pending

appeal.

The charges on which Handy was convicted stemmed from

alleged phony deductions taken in the income tax returns of

P.S.P. in the amount of $709,963, labeled “Management Services

and Consultant fee” in the year 1964, and $900,000 in the year

1965 fez forfeited deposit on an alleged purchase of land.

There was substantial evidence that the sum of $709,963 was

not pa‘d by P.S.P. to Handy in the year 1964, or at any other

time; that the alleged written contract providing for payment

of said sum was spurious; and further, that the forfeited deposit

which was deducted was fictitious. The alleged fictitious loss was

not entered on the corporate books until after the return had

been filed.

The profits of P.S.P. for ten months in 1964 amounted to

$762,000. It had made provision for federal taxes amounting to

$374,000. The deduction of $709,963, if valid, would have wiped

out most of the profits for that year and would have eliminated

most of the income tax.

Handy had entered into a written agreement with Messrs.

Kagan, Manchel and Silverman (the owners of all of the shares

of stock of P.S.P.) on December 14, 1964, to purchase their

shares of stock for $4,000,000. He negotiated a corporate loan

for P.S.P. from Transamerica Financial Corporation, the pro-

ceeds of which were used to pay for said stock.

There was evidence that the shareholders who sold their shares

to Handy refused to allow him any compensation for so-called

management and consulting services. In the written contract for

APPENDIX "A"

a

a i ee ae Aa ee ee a

Set A

sc. SI

C. Jon Handy 3

the purchase of said shares Handy waived any claim for such

services against either P.S.P. or said shareholders.

In appellant’s brief it is stated:

“During the trial witnesses for the prosecution testified

that the management fee agreement and forfeited deposit

documents were false whereas witnesses for the defense testi-

fied that they were truc.”

In our judgment, the overwhelming evidence supports the

Government’s contentions with respect to these two deductions.

Appellant's briefs are addressed to other issues which we will

consider.

I

The Insanity Defense

The principal defense of Handy was that he was insane at the

time the alleged criminal acts were committed. This, of course,

is not the usual defense in income tax evasion cases.

There was substantial evidence that during the period of time

in question Handy was able to and did engage in extensive ne-

gotiations in important and complex business transactions. At

one time he operated an imeome tax service in Las Veras, Nevada.

He held himself out as being an expert in income tax matters,

particularly in the area of tax deductions. He sct up an elabor-

ate scheme to avoid taxes in the present case. To people with

whom he dealt he did not appear to be insane.

Handy relies on the testimony of four psychiatrists and onc

psychologist to substantiate his claim of insanity. One of the

psychiatrists who testified for the defense was court-appointed.

They examined Handy in 1970, about five years after the critical

dates of 1964 and 1965.' They testified in substance that Handy

had paranoid schizophrenia: that he lacked capacity to appre-

ciate the wrongfulness of his conduct: that he was not in control

of his actions: and that he could not have criminal intent to de-

fraud the Government.

‘Ome psychiatrist, Dr. MeKeever, had previously examined Handy in

1952, while he was in the Air Force, in connection with Handy’s appli-

eation for a discharge. Dr. McKeever at that time thought Handy was

feigning mental illness in order to obtain a discharge from service.

APPENDIX "A*

> ay ewer Oe oa 2 eh Ry Ne:

a BY de adel

De tire

ere

United States of America vs.

Dr. Wilkens, who testified for Handy, admitted that where

a person is acting rationally in his business areas, that fact would

suggest that his disorder was minimized at that time. To the

same effect was some of the testimony of Dr. Suarez. Also, Handy

was able to advise one of the psychiatrists who examined him

as to the Ninth Circuit’s rule in insanity cases.

Dr. Deering, a court-appointed psychiatrist who testified for

the Government, was of the opinion that in 1964-1966 Handy

did not lack substantial capacity to appreciate the wrongfulness

of his conduct, or to conform his conduct to the requirements of

the law, and that he was legally sane. He admitted that Handy

had neurosis and that his case was diffenlt to diagnose.

In addition, the testimony of three tay persons was put in evi-

dence by stipulation.

Handy contends that the evidence supporting his claim of in-

sanity is overwhelming and that the District Court erred in deny-

ing his motion for judgment of acquittal. We disagree.

Handy’s evidence was sufficient to overeome the presumption

of sanity, and the burden of proof was then cast upon the

Government to prove sanity bevond a reasonable doubt. Hartford

v. United States, 362 F.2d 63 (9th Cir. 1966). The evidence must

be considered in the light most favorable to the Government.

United States v. Nelson, 419 F.2d 1237 (9th Cir. 1969) :

Glasser v. United States, 315 U.S. 60 (1942); Wendt v. United

States, 394 F.2d 627 (9th Cir. 1968).

While the testimony of lay witnesses, standing alone, cannot

rebut the testimony of Handy’s psvchiatrists and psvchologist,

Buatte v. United States. 330 F.2d 342 (9th Cir. 1964). it is im.

portant evidence to be taken into account with other evidence in

the case, particularly the testimony of the Government psychia-

trist, Dr. Deering, which conflicted with the testimony of defend-

ant’s experts.

The fact that the defense had more experts to testify than the

plaintiff had, is not of controlling importanee. The weight of the

evidence is not determined by the number of witnesses who testify

for either side, but by the quality of their testimony. The eredi-

bility of experts is to be determined by the jury, not by the court.

APPENDIX "A"

SUPP ae vogesue

Se

Mate OPE Yrs

ate

PE NON ee

CU. Jon Handy 5

In our opinion there was substantial evidence to support the

jury’s verdict and we will not disturb it.

We find no violation of the accused’s Fifth and Sixth Amend-

ment rights in the order of the District Court appointing two

psychiatrists to examine him.? The order provided:

“If defendant does not comply with this order he shall

be precluded at trial from presenting testimony upon the

issue of his alleged mental capacity by any expert by whom

he has been interviewed.”

This order was materially different from the order which was

questioned in Wade v. United States, 426 F.2d 64, 74 (9th Cir.

1970).

it would indeed be anomalous if defendant were permitted to

offer psychiatric testimony to support his defense of insanity,

and by refusing to submit to an examination by a court-appointed

psychiatrist preclude the Government from offering testimony to

the contrary. The examination ordered by the Court was au-

thorized by statute. 18 U.S.C. § 4244. The statute contains pro-

tective features barring the use of any statement made by an

accused person on the issue of guilt. Indeed the Court may even

have inherent power to make such an order.

The order entered here dil not compel “communications” or

“testimony”. It may be likened to compelling blood tests, hand-

writing exemplars, “fingerprinting, photographing or measure-

ments, to write or speak for identification, to appear in court,

to stand, to assume a stance, to walk, or to make a particular

gesture.”2* Schmerber v. California, 384 U.S. 757 (1966). See

also Gilbert v. California, 388 U.S. 263 (1967).

Other Circuits have upheld such an order. United States v.

Baird, 414 F.2d 700 (2d Cir. 1969); United States v. Bohle,

_.. F.2d —. (No. 18,604, 7th Cir. 1971); United States v.

Albright, 388 F.2d 719 (4th Cir. 1968); Pope v. United States,

372 F.2d 710 (8th Cir. 1967).

2One of the court-appointed experts testified for the defendant.

2°There is no claim here that the court-appointed psychiatrist who

examined Handy testified as to any statement made to him by Handy

relating to the issue of guilt.

APPENDIX "A"

Pa 5

United Stutes of America vs.

rT.

The Allen Charge?

The case was submitted to the jury on Friday morning, Sep-

tember 25, 1970. The jury deliberated all day Friday, until

6:00 p.m., and was excused until the following Monday at 9:30

a.m. It deliberated all day Monday, until 5-15 p.m., when it

.

reported to the Court that it was unable to reach a verdict.

The Court conferred with counsel for the Government and for

the defendant. The Court stated what transpired at this econfer-

ence, in denying the motion for a new trial:

“I think the record in this ease indicated . . . the fact that

before the court gave the Allen charge [defense counsel]

was asked if he had any objection to the charge. He was

given a copy of Mathes and Devitt to read. He was also

made aware of the fact that the charge had come in for

some fire in the Sullivan case. Then when he was asked,

after he had an opportunity to read the instruction, if he

had any objection to it, his answer was ‘No objection.’ ”

4

4

;

4

:

J

1

>

4

’

Since neither counsel had any objection, the Court delivered the

Allen charge. The jury was exeused until 10:00 a.m. the follow-

ing morning, when it returned its verdict.

The charge which the Court gave was taken substantially from

Mathes and Devitt’s Federal Jury Practice and Instructions. The

charge contained the matters omitted from the instruction eriti-

eized by this Court in Sullivan 1. United States, 414 F.2d 714

(9th Cir. 1969), where the conviction was nevertheless affirmed

on the ground that the omissions were immatcrial.

The instruction has been consistently approved in the Ninth

Cireuit when it is in a form not more coercive than that in

Allen. Sullivan v. United States. supra, and cases therein cited.

United States v. Moore, 429 F.2d 1305 (9h Cir. 1970).

Counsel relies on an affidavit proeured from juror VanOrsdel,

who stated in substanee that she Was coereed by the instruction

into agreeing to the verdiet; and she further charged that juror

Maloviech was mentally ineompetent. Tf the affidavit has any

3The name of the charge is derived from the ease of Allen v. United

States, 164 U.S. 492. 501 (1896), where the giving of such a charge was

held not to be prejudicial error.

hella it as ¥ as i Ak Lae

es PONE RE a oe

the tree

As whee

CU. Jon Handy 7

truth in it, it is apparent that juror VanOrsdel ignored the in-

struction of the Court, the substance of which was repeated

several times:

«|. , [Y]ou should not surrender your honest convictions

as to the weight or effect of evidence, solely because of the

opinion of other jurors, or for the mere purpose of return-

ing a verdict.”

A juror may not impeach his verdict where the facts sought to

be shown cssentially inhere in the verdict. Bryson v. United

States, 238 F.2d 657 (9th Cir. 1956); Rakes v. United States,

169 F.2d 739 (4th Cir. 1948).

In Rakes, supra, Associate Justice Prettyman of the Court of

Appeals for the District of Columbia, sitting by designation,

stated :

“The same rule requires that jurors are not to be har-

assed in any manner because of a verdict they have ren-

dered. If jurors are conscious that they will be subjected to

interrogation or searching hostile inquiry as to what occurred

in the jury room and why, they are almost inesexpably in-

fluenced to some extent by that anticipated annoyance. The

courts will not permit that potential influence to invade the

jury room. He who makes studied inquiries of jurors as to

what occurred there acts at his peril, lest he be held as

acting in obstruction of the administration of justice. Much

of such conversation and inquiry may be idle curiosity, and

harmless, but a searching or pointed examination of jurors

in behalf of a party to a trial is to be emphatically con-

demned. It is incumbent upon the courts to protect jurors

from it.” (169 F.2d at 745-746)

Wright, Federal Practice & Procedure, § 554 fn 42.

Appellant relics on decisions from three other Circuits which

apparently no longer apply the rule in Allen.‘

We decline, as we did in Sullivan, to re-examine the rule in the

present appeal.

4United States v. Thomas, ........ an ces (D.C. Cir. 1970), 39 U.S.L,

Week 2306, reaffirmed in banc, 40 U.S.L.Week 2140 (1971); United States

v. Fioravanti, 412 F.2d 407 (3d Cir. 1969); United States v. Brown, 411

F.2d 930 (7th Cir. 1969).

APPENDIX "A"

ELC SOF Rh poo

a MIR PO TRNNT MGs Bere My PRE LE PRN CNIS Sah! eee a ae a

i

i

sma) eee

United Slutes of America vs.

Handy was represented in this case by capable and experienced

counsel who did not object to the giving of the instruction. Rule

30 Fed.R.Crim.P. provides that no party may assign as error

any portion of a charge or an omission to charge unless he ob-

jected before the jury retired.

Rule 52(b) permits us to notice plain error; but we do not

regard the alleged error as plain. We think it was intelligently

waived.

III

Misconduct of the Jury

The affidavit of juror VanOrsdel, filed more than a month after

the trial, not only stated that she was coerced by the Allen

charge, to return a verdict which she did not want to return,

but she also undertook to detail the seeret deliberations in the

jury room and the conduct and statements of fellow-jurors.

She further endeavored to pass upon the sanity of a fellow-

juror Evelyn Malovich.

Relative to charges concerning the mental processes of the

jurors, the Court ruled that evidence would not be allowed to

impeach the verdict. As to any extraneous influences on the

jurors, the Court did conduct two post-trial evidentiary hearings.

At the first hearing five jurors were examined and cross-examined

by counsel for the Government and for the defendant. At the

conclusion of the hearing the Court ruled that the charges of

misconduct made by juror VanOrsdel concerning her fellow-

jurors had not been proven. We agree,

There remains for consideration only the claim of juror Van

Orsdel that juror Evelyn Malovich was mentally incompetent.

The Court decided to conduct an evidentiary hearing on this

subject only after the Court had examined the Juror Qualifica-

tion Form which juror Malovich had filled out and signed.

Juror Malovich had answered question 7 on the form as

follows:

“7. Do you have any physical or mental infirmity impairing

your eapacity to serve as a juror

Yes (Yes or no) If so, deseribe it fully,

APPENDIX "A"

A eh Oa ge lle ee naman le ei ee

ai Pure < Ori 2 2

EAS

C. Jon Handy 9

The Court furnished a copy of the form to counsel for defend-

ant. It will be observed that although the first part of Question 7

was answered, the second part was left blank. The jury clerk

obviously did not notice the response.

Juror Malovich was called to the witness stand by the Court,

who conducted an extensive examination of her. When shown her

answer to Question 7 on the juror questionnaire form, she testi-

fied: “Your Honor, that is a mistake.”

She denied that she had any physical infirmities, or ever suf-

fered from any mental illness; she testified that she had never

been examined by any doctor for any possible mental illness.

She testified that the correct answer to Question 7 was a.

She also denied statements purportedly made in the jury room,

attributed to her by juror VanOrsdel. The Court tested her

recollection on a number of matters. The Court further asked her

who had the burden of proof, and she replied, “The Govern-

ment.”

The foreman of the jury had previously testified that there was

no question in his mind regarding the mental cape*ty of juror

Malovich and that she had capacity to understand the pro-

ceedings.

The District Court ruled in part as follows:

“T am reading (sic] to make my ruling on this issue.

“My ruling is that Juror Malovich is mentally qualified to

serve as a juror in this case. She certainly, in my opinion,

and based on her testimony, suffers from no physical or

mental infirmities I think she certainly possesses ordinary

capacity to observe, listen, understand, diseuss the evidence

in the ease, the arguments of counsel and the court's charge.

“f am certainly impressed with th: fact that we have a

woman here who for the past 11 years or 12 years has held

down a job as an electronic assembler where she is required

to deal with clectronie component parts and place them on

printed eivenits, solder. She has to look at drawings and

instructions am] follow those. She certainly, it would indi-

eate, has the ability to think and to reason... .

GPE POOLE ALE EET Be

_

10

United States of America vs.

“She appears to the court to have an average understand-

ing of the English language. Certainly I don’t remember the

exact time we started with her, but certainly the court ques-

tioned her for a period of probably a half hour and she

understood the court’s questions and her answers were in-

telligent and responsive.

“She appeared to the court to be completed [sic] oriented

and knew what she was doing. She indicated that at no

time had she ever been treated for or consulted with a

doctor about or suffered any mental illness. And her answer

to Question 7 on Court’s Exhibit A was just a mistake.

“Mrs. VanOrsdel told the court that she through [sic}

‘uror Malovich had problems with her hearing, but I could

detect no such problem. She testified she was able to under-

stand the questions that the lawvers asked and the answers

given by the witness. And though there were some occasions

when prehaps the testimony wasn’t too clear, or the question,

but it was cleared up later on for her.

“I might also add that as I commented during our last

hearing I detected nothing unusual about her during voir

dire or during the period of time that she sat as a juror in

this case. She appeared to be attentive, alert. I can recall

no time when she was late for jury duty.

“So my conclusion, as I have already stated it, is that she

suffers from no mental infirmity and that she appears to

this court to be a perfectly normal, ordinary juror. There is

not the slightest doubt about that in my mind.”

u

In our opinion there was substantial evidence to support these

findings of fact of the District Court, and they are not clearly

erroneous. We find no basis for setting aside a jury verdict

merely because a juror made a mistake in answering a question

on the form, which mistake went unnoticed by the jurv clerk.

Appellant has shown no prejudice. As found by the Court he

was tried by a jury of competent persons.

Furthermore. the challenge to the selection of jurors must be

made “before the voir dire examination begins. . . .” 28 U.S.C.

§ I867(a), (e). No challenge was made in this case until after the

verdict.

LR LENIN PINUPS NINA LY INAS Be re hi mage ye Te Oe PAT LIE RT INY FCI he FFM

: % + “

E

2

H ‘

t

;

g

£

g

5

&

7

2

om

C. Jon Handy ll

Appellant argues that he should have been granted permission

to cross-examine juror Malovich. The Court did permit counsel to

submit questions to be propounded to juror Malovich, but he did

not propound all questions that were submitted as the Court

thought that even some lawyers could not answer all of them.

As we previously pointed out, the Court was quite liberal in

permitting examination and crossexamination of five of the

jurors. It was discretionary with the Court when to call a halt

and avoid further harassment of the jurors. We find no abuse of

discretion.

Affirmed. -

PERN AU-WALSH PRINTING CO., SAN FLZANCISCO 10-22-71—380

mitre stam cost cr arn | LE D

PR TSE NoTe ciecvrir MAR 2 2 1972

WM. B. LUCK, CLERC

UIITSD STATES OF ALGTLICA,

Plainti?f-asceliss,

vs. Mo. 71-1°24

C. J RADY, GRDER

Defendcant-Acpellant.

Before: CHAMSISS, WHICZ and CAxTm, Circuit Judges.

The petition for renearing is denied.

The sussesticn for rehacring en sanc has been cazsed

te all active circuit judzes cf the Court ind none haz re-

quested an en banc hearing. ThereZor\s, tne suggestion for

remearing en Sanc is reijectad.

Te is ordered trat tna first sencamee in the para-

graph which is next to the last suresrsch cn paws 5 of the ali

> wee

opinicn Se amended 39 a3 to read:

Som, P he a2

a2 OFcer entere+ tere 2id not compel "eomne:2-

4 me : — a eres ‘

eaticers® cr *testizcmy® on the Lacue cf gudlt cf tre

devar 7.) + ae — «= gee es nina

—~ = woe see VO

APPENDIX "B”

Satter sot s 2 MOM REL

> SEP 4 1970

CLERK U)S. DISTRICP COURT 7

CENTRAL OISiRICE a earn p<.

ALIEORN

<a

DEP

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

/

Nos. 5667 and 37429-HP-CD

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff,

Vv. ORDER APPOINTING PSYCHIATRIST

C. JON HANDY,

Defendant.

ee et et eet ee ee eet ee eet ee

The Court being advised that the defendant C. JON HANDY

intends to assert in this case the defense of mental incapacit:

at the time of alleged commission of the crimes charged, and

that defendant further intends to offer upon this issue the

expert testimony of psychiatrists who have interviewed him;

And the United States Attorney having moved the Court

for an order appointing a psychiatrist to examine the defendan)

on the question of his alleged mental incapacity at the time

of the alleged crimes;

And the matter having been submitted to the Court upon

the plaintiff's and defendant's memoranda of points and

authorities, and he Coext being fully advised in this enter.

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that DR. ALVIN E. DAVIS, whom the

Court finds is a qualified and impartial psychiatrist, be

and he hereby is appointed to examine said defendant and to

report to the Court on the question of whether at the time of

~

APPENDIX "C"

PSEA ER TYR Tih, SE DPE EE PRS AORN TRL rt! S oe “

TPO LON IRAN RC MEIC ORDER

the allegedly criminal conduct defendant as a result of mental

disease or defect lacked substantial capacity either to

appreciate the wrongfulness of his conduct or to conform his

conduct to the requirements of law. Attached hereto are

copies of the Indictments in this case, which shall serve to

inform said doctor of the nature and times of the conduct

alleged as criminal in this case.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that said defendant be present at

the United States Court House, Room JS7$, 312 North Spring

Street, Los Angeles, California, on September 10, 1970 at

12:00 Noon, and at such other times and places as said doctor

may deem necessary for the purpose of said examination; and

that defendant afford such cooperation and information as may

be required by said doctor properly to conduct the mental

examination; and that such examination shall not be in the

presence of any counsel or stenographer designated by defendan

If defendant does not comply with this order he shall be

precluded at trial from presenting testimony upon the issue

of his alleged mental incapacity by any expert by whom he has

been interviewed.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that such examination be at the

expense of the United States Government.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that said doctor shall have

delivered to the undersigned Judge of this Court the original

and two copies of his report, the Court after examination of

said report and in its discretion to furnish identical copies

of the whole or part thereof to the United States Attorney

and to Richard G. Sherman, the attorney for the defendant.

Dated: September 4, 1970.

cL”

Ky Pee

Harry Pregerson

“United States District Judge:

WeyDE : .

REP y NAY aay pera, EB RON Ye oe OE RNS ROLY ee Gre et

ie — a — ae

SEP 4 . 1970

BE Sat

oer:

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff, Nos. 5667 and 37429-HP-CD

ORDER APPOINTING PSYCHIATRIST

Defendant.

The Court being advised that the defendant C. JON HANDY |

intends to assert in this case the defense of mental incapacity

at the time of alleged commission of the crimes charged, and

that defendant further intends to offer upon this issue the

expert testimony of psychiatrists who have interviewed him;

And the United States Attorney having moved the Court

for an order appointing a psychiatrist to examine the

defendant on the question of his alleged mental incapacity at

the time of the alleged crimes;

And the matter having been submitted to the Court upen

the plaintiff's and defendant's memoranda of points and

authorities, and the Court being fully advised in this matter,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that DR. HAROLD C. DEERING, whom

the Court finds is a qualified and impartial psychiatrist, be

and he hereby is appointed to examine said defendant and to

report to the Court on the question of whether at the time of

o]-

; APPENDIX "C"_ : SFA}

a ada a ace ee at Be ean ee a . nes Y—

iinet veri

the allegedly criminal conduct defendant as a result of mental

@isease or defect lacked substantial capacity either to

appreciate the wrongfulness of his conduct or to conform his

conduct to the requirements of law. Attached hereto are

copies of the Indictments in this case, which shall sérve to

inform said doctor of the nature and times of the conduct

alleged as criminal in this case.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that said defendant be present at

the office of said Dr. Harold C. Deering, at 321 East 2nd

Suite 1002

Street,/Los Angeles, California, on September 6, 1970 at

9:00 A.M., and at such other times and places as said doctor

may deem necessary for the purpose of said examination: and

that defendant afford such cooperation and information as may

be required by said doctor properly to conduct the mental

examination; and that such examination shall not be in the

presence of any counsel or stenographer designated by

defendant. If defendant does not comply with this order he

eaten mn

shall be precluded at trial from presenting testimony upon

the issue of his alleged mental incapacity by any expert by

whom he has been interviewed.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that such examination be at the

expense of the United States Government.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that said doctor shall have

delivered to the undersigned Judge of this Court the original

and two copies of his report, the Court after examination of

said report and in its discretion to furnish identical copies

of the whole or part thereof to the United States Attorney

and to Richard G. Sherman, the attorney for the defendant.

Dated: September 4, 1970.

—- popes

‘ad mntees Seabee District Judge

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.