Opposition Brief — Belliston v. Texaco Inc.

Supreme Court brief1972

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

# a COP y | _— Court, U. §.

FILED

JUN 2 yO?7>

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United] Stators.

October Term, 1971 a

Me EA, SO POI

No. 71-1433

THOMAS BELLISTON, et al.,

Petitioners,

vs.”

TEXACO INC.,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

- COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENT TEXACO INC. :

IN OPPOSITION :

MILTON HANDLER

425 Park Avenue

New York, New York 10022

ROBERT F. McGinnis —

135 East 42nd Street A

New York, New York 10017.

Altorneys for Respondent—Texaco Inc.

Of Counsel: ;

MiLas C. BrapForp, Jr. e

1570 Grant Street

Denver, Colorado 80210

Kaye, SCHOLER, FIERMAN, Hays & HANDLER

425 Park Avenue

New York, New York 10022

“CHRISTENSEN AND JENSEN

1205 Continental Bank Building

Salt Lake City, Utah 84101

a

eee

i EOS

TABLE OF CONTENTS

IE INE oo ck auias nurse vik accexc cance.

ME SE iy ce ae

B. The Horizontal Price-Fixing Claim ........

C. The Tie-In Claim ..... AVN ee aden kasde eee

ARGUMENT:

The Decision Below Was Correct And Presents

No Important Federal Questions .............

A. The Robinson-Patman Act Was Correctly

IE Dd bdkirebknndebevisdsvontnescesss.

B. The Horizontal Price-Fixing Claim Was

Correctly Found To be Unsupported by the

PN bods AS op chvssceexbcovccucscc ca,

CoNcLusion

Ta © eee eS RRER EO OCA CAR Aw a eee

13

14

14

18

21

ot

Wed SD) iE ve SORE RES STE AT Pe

bed in ssf gente ay

. .

Bt lye a Sears on i chert bate Meta Mec

>

=

¥

4

3

ii

Cases Cited

PAGE

Abramson v. Colonial Oil Co., 390 F. 2d 873 (Sth

Cir. 1968), cert. denied, 393 U.S. 831 ............ 15

Baldwin Hills Bldg. Materials Co. v. Fibreboard

Paper Prods. Corp., 283 F. Supp. 202 (C.D. Cal.

Sir scWiderea ie enn eee ba ee ene wee 16,17

Borden Co. v. FTC, 339 F. 2d 953 (7th Cir. 1964) ... 15

Cement Mfrs. Protective Ass’n v. United States,

SE NEE Dic haavatcehuceieceeeekccaueenaeds 20, 20n

Central Ice Cream Co. v. Golden Rod Ice Cream Co.,

287 F. 2d 265 (7th Cir. 1961), cert. denied, 368 U.S.

Me UiadaKA CHS 4aSces Web Vidas wh WeKeS be heh skies 15, 16

Cliff Food Stores, a v. Kroger, ine., 417 F. 2d 203

EE A oh 6 oc eS UNAS eRETERSE KR ER DEES MES 15

Food Basket, Ine. v. Albertson’s Inc., 383 F. 2d 785

to: errr ry rrr Tr errr tre 1)

Hiram Walker, Inc., v. A & S Tropical, Inc., 407 F..

2d 4, (Sth Cir. 1969), cert. denied, 396 U.S.901 .... 15

Layne & Bowler Corp. v. Western Well Works, Inc.,

(EE Ve bce da uescdsssereawesnacebaseads 21

Littlejohn v. Shell Oil Co., 456 F. 2d 225 (Sth Cir

BOE) Sieben ewasbewesnccheeNdsspusncusswenwens 16, 17

Moore v. Mead’s Fine Bread Co., 348 U.S. 115 .... 15,17

Myers v. Shell Oil Co., 96 F. Supp. 670 (S.D. Cal.

NAc cRGRENSS SHR R ee MNAN Kod ae edness beeches lj

Neely v: Eby Construction Co., 386 U.S. 317 ........ 21

Rice v. Sioux City Memorial Park Cemetery, Inc.,

Sch esha eau anKadaddekeusaes ss bnade chen 21

United States v. Beatrice Foods Co., 1972 Tr. Cas.

| 73,808-at p. 91,588 (D. Utah, 1972) ............ 19n

United States v. Container Corp., 393 U.S. 333 ...... 11, 18,

iil

' PAGE

18n, 19, 19n, 20, 20n *

United States v. Continental Qil Co., 1971 Tr. Cas.

{| 73,404 at p. 89,648 (D.N, Mex. 1971) .....:. .. 19n

United States v. FMC Corp., 1970 Tr. Cas. 173,258

RR Py CID ciao es eet cites SOuecue 19n

United States v. FMC Corp,, 306 F. Supp. 1106 (E.

Pe ME sens encenscitvericecus ao 19n

Walker Oil Co. vy. Hudson Oil Co., 414 F. 2d 588 (5th

Cir. 1969), cert, denied, 396 U.S. 1042 ............ 15

Willard Dairy Prods. Corp. v. Nat. Dairy Prods.

Corp., 309 F. 2d 943 (6th Cir. 1962), cert. denied,

Te OM DOO 500s taneessncenecuscccacsec.,., 15

Statutes Cited

28 U.S.C: § 1254 (1) ..2.......... eine Hes 1

Robinson-Patman Act 15 U.S.C. MOOD ésakchcnue 2, 3, 5,

6, 8, 9, 10, 11, 14, 15, 16, 17, 20

Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. FP age eee a) |

Rvues oF tHE SuPREME Court oF tHe Unrrep States:

EN a cokaneedsissvucerie wy ea eae 14

ETN te

TIM pal ee -

ie

Supreme Court of the Anited States

October Term, 1971

No. 71-1433

Thomas Be.usrox, of al.

Petition ‘ve,

va.

Texaco Ixc.,

Respondent,

Ox Prermox ror a Warr or Ceerionan to rue Uxiren

Stares Covrr or Arreaus ror tur Textu Crmevrr

Opinion Below

The Court of Appeals’ opinion is reported at 455 F.2d

175 and is printed as Appendix A to the Petition (App.

A, pp. hxix).

Jurisdiction

Petitioners invoke this Court's jurisdiction under 28

USC. 6125411). The judgment of the Court of Appeals

*as entered on February 4, 1972 and rehearing was denied

on March 7, 1972,

2 ee De _—_——— a

”

=

Questions Presented

Five pages of the Petition are devoted to a lixting of

15 Questions Presented for review (Pet. 7). The Ques.

tions incorrectly state the deci<ion below, present ax facts

matter which ix not the <ahject of any evielence of record

or is contrary to the evidence, fail to di-elose other dis.

positive and critical fact« amd, regrettably, otherwise dis.

tort and misrepresent the true ix<ues. Unfortunately, pomt

by point explanation and correction woul! <o lengthen this

brief and burden thi« Court ax to be t tally inappropriate.

In addition, ax petitioners implicitly acknowledged in the

Court of Appeals where their brief enumerated some 2

issues for review (pp. 2-4), thix Court could in no event

grant the relief plaintiffs <eck—rein-tatement of the dis-

trict court judgment—without dealing with many more than

Petitioners’ 15 Questions.’

On the other hand, the Court of —— found it w-

necessary to reach most of these issues because it conclude:

that each of the three claims« before it <houlkd be dismissed -

The bases upon which that Court predicated this conclusion

present the following Question=:

1. Whether the Court of Appeals erred in con-

cluding that the explicit juri«lictional prerequisite

of the Robinson-Patman Act that “either or any of

the purchases involved in such di<crimination are

in commerce”, 15 USC. (13(a), is not satisfied

where the alleged di<crimination involves Texaco’:

sales in Utah to petitioner« (Texaco retailers in

Utah) and to the alleged favored customer (a

* Thus, Texaco’s Docketing Statement in the Court of Appeak

UGE Gel te on eoenenees) taqeien ope

Texaco distributor in Utah) of gasoline refined by

another oil company in Utah and purchased from

the refinery by Texaco in Utah?

2. Whether the Court of Appeals, in reviewing

the record in this case, erred in concluding that the

evidence was insufficient to permit a finding that

Texaco entered into an unlawful agreement with

other major oil companies to fix the wholesale price

of gasoline in violation of the Sherman Act?

3. Whether the Court of Appeals, in reviewing

the record in this case, erred in concluding that the

evidence was insufficient to permit a finding that

Texaco engaged in tic-in selling with respect to

tires, batteries and accessories (““TBA”’) in viola-

tion of the Sherman Act? .

3

Because petitioners failed fo meet even the’ threshold

“commerce ”’ requirement of their Robinson-Patman claim,

the Court of Appeals did not have to deal with Texaco’s

further position that they also failed to sustain their

burden of proof on each and every one of the other es-

sential elements of that claim and that their underlying

assumption that it was unlawful to charge wholesalers less

than retailers was invalid. Thus, the Court did not reach

the inadequacy of proof of injury to competition; the

absenoe of any comparison of the net prices (after allow-

ances) actually paid by each plaintiff and the net prices

damages. It also did not have to deal with Texaco's posi-

tion that its pricing was sheltered by the meeting competi-

tion defense.

(e- @? © aa) «ep ee Powe

_— ee = ee ee

—

Similarly, with respect to the alleged horizontal pric

fixing and TBA tie-in claims, since the Court of Appeal.

found the evidence of violation insufficient, it did wot haw

to pass upon the total absence of proof of injury and

damages in both instances, which independently requires

their dismissal, —

The foregoing issues and others, including the blatan

denial of a fair trjal to Texaco ~—all of which it was uw.

uecessary for the Court of Appeals to rule apon—would,

if petitioners’ request is granted, become issues for brie!

ing and original review in this Court. Petitioners <pecit.

cally advise that they do hot wish remand of any question

to the Court of Appeals (Pet. fn).

Finally, petitioners seck review of the award of

$52,249.25 costs for the printing of the trial transcript in the

appendix on appeal. Again, the form of the Question Pre.

sented (Pet. 7, Ques. 14) is typically less than candid, as the

facts presented to the Court of Appeals in the February 3,

1972 affidavit of Robert F. MeGinnis, Esq. and exhibits

thereto make clear. One of the issues on appeal was the per-

vasive bias and prejudice of the trial judge, going te

every evidentiary ruling by him and his attitude and con-

duct throughout the trial. Consequently, it appeared u-

desirable to try to select and print only portions of the

trial transcript rather than thé whole. Before resolving

the matter, however, Texaco’s counsel sought and obtained

the consent of petitioners’ counsel to the designation of

the full trial transcript for printing. -Thereafter, on April”

? Not only did the district judge substitute his view of the facts

for those of the jury by directing verdicts in petitioners’ favor « °

many issues, but he identified himself with petitioners’ cause through-

out. Even the bare statistics are revealing: No objection to any e&

hibit offered by petitioners was sustained: Erery objection to &

_ hibits offered by’ Texaco was sustained ; 19 of every 20 objections b:

Texaco were denied ; 68 of petitioners’ 70 objections were

nz at ,

)

i2, 1971, Texaco served and filed its Designation of the

Contents of the Appendix which expressly referred to

this agreement of counsel, stating: **The consent of plain-

ifs" counsel has been obtained to this designation.”

Appellant then proceeded to incur the printing expense

on the hasis of this stipulation. Some two months elapsed

before Texaco reecived a letter from plaintiffs’ counsel

dated June 9, 1971 stating for the first time that the

uvderstanding referred to in the April 12th Designation.

was incorrect. The Court of Appeals, upon consideration

of the aflidavits, correspondence and related circumstances,

allowed an appropriate sum as taxable costs with respect

to this printing. That anyone would attempt to treat

this as a subject warranting consideration by the Justices

of this Court—aml at the same time withhold from this

Court any mention of the April 12th Designation and re-

lated faets—is extraordinary. It presents no question for

Supreme Court review.

Indeed, no aspect of the decision of the Court of Ap-

peals presents any important question of federal law or

is the subject of conflict among the circuits.

Statement of the Case

The Petition seeks review of the Tenth Cireuit’s decision

reversing a judgment entered by the District Court, Hon.

Willis W. Ritter presiding, on a jury verdict in petitioners’

favor, and directing entry of judgment in favor of respond-

ent Texaco. Since the case involves three distinct claims—

price discrimination in violation of the Robinson-Patman

Act and horizontal price-fixing and tie-in selling in violation

of the Sherman Act *—the facts and proceedings relevant

to each are set’ forth separately.

* There was a “fourth claim in the district court that Texaco

allegedly fixed plaintiffs’ retail prices, of gasoline. The jury found

BD edad we

A. The Robinson-Patman Claim

Petitioners were fifteen Texaco retailers cach of whom

operated a Texaco gasoline service station in Salt Lake

City, Utah, or its environs during all or part of the period

June 1963 to June 1967, purchasing the product from

Texaco and reselling it at retail to motorists.‘ Their princi-

pal claim in the District Court was that Texaco violated

Section 2(a) of the Robinson-Patman Act, 15 U.S.C. § 13(a),

by virtue of the fact that it sold gasoline to Flinco, Ine.

(**Flinco’’), a wholesale distributor which from. tinie to

time also operated retail stations, at a lower price thay

that charged petitioners.

Texaco purchased all of the gasoline it sold in Utah—

including that sold to petitioners and to Flinco—from

American Oil Company’s Utah refinery where American

made gasoline to Texaco’s specifications (352-56, 553,

1909-12). Texaco sold this gasoline to petitioners at its

retailer or ‘‘tankwagon”’ price. With respect to Flinco,

Texaco sold gasoline at its distributor discount off the

tankwagon price in recognition of the wholesaling fune.

that plaintiffs were not injured or damaged thereby, rendering this

claim moot. Accordingly, there was no occasion to appeal the

erroneous instructions and rulings which enabled the jury to find a

violation against the evidence. Petitioners now contend, incredibly,

that Texaco should be found to have participated in a horizontal

agreement with major oil companies to fix wholesale prices on the

basis, in part, of the jury verdict relating to plaintiffs’ retail prices

(Pet. 4, Ques. 3(e)). It might be noted therefore, that it was

proven that plaintiffs charged any prices they chose (Exs. D-48, 49)

so that, for example, plaintiff Belliston disregarded Texaco’s sugges

tions over 99% of the time throughout the relevant period (/d.).

* Exs. P-23a, D-11, D-53, D-120-21; 680, 730-32.

—a —— ree en ee

tions Flinco performed * which-retailers such as petitioners

did not undertake.* — Flineo’s contract with Texaco was on

a year-to-year basis (Exs, P-5, P-6; 1223). Hence, unless

Flinco received a discount competitive with that granted

by other major oil companies in the area, Texaco faced

the loss of Flinee to another supplier. Consequently,

the amount of Flinco’s distributor discount was set in

response to changes in the discounts granted distributors

by competing major oil companies (Exs. D-122-28 ; 1873-75,

Isii-88). The discount did not exceed the wholesaling

expenses and a reasonable return on investment (241, 1192-

93, 1496-97, 1739).

Frequently, to meet its competition, Texaco gave

retailers in different parts of the Salt Lake area discounts

or ‘‘allowances’’ off the tankwagon price.* ‘Flineo would

not receive such allowances unless it was supplying a

station in the particular depressed area, and then only

70° of the amount that would be given a retailer supplied

directly. The allowances sometimes exceeded 4¢ per

gallon, while the distributor discount on regular gasoline

was always less than 4¢ per gallon (Exs. P-15, D-123;

1881, 1886-88).

° Ex. P-15; 221-22, 251-54. 281-85, 399-402, 410-11, 1122-23,

1337-41, 1362-64, 1518-21, 1678, 1681-84, 1687, 1723-24, 1870-74.

* 229-30, 286, 760-61, 962-63, 1123, 1338-41, 1345, 1494-96,

1520-22, 1681-83, 1869-72, 1944.

"1215-16, 1504, 1874-75, 1891-93, 1958.

“Ex. D-131 (letter of May 21, 1963, p. 3); 112-13, 208-09,

217-19, 223-24, 869, 956, 1239-40, 1335, 1442.

"Ex. P-6; 208-10, 223, 255-56, 285-86, 407, 1079-80, 1205-06,

1208.

8

During the period in question there were approximately

500 gasoline stations in Salt Lake City and another 50 in

the neighboring town of Bountiful (Exs. D-52, 54; 1335,

1344). These stations sold Texaco, other major brand

and independent or nonbranded gasoline. In ‘general, the

Flinco-supplied stations were located several miles from

any petitioner’s station,'® with many other stations located

substantially closer."'

- In the Court of Appeals it was Texaco’s position that

petitioners’ proof was insufficient on cach clement of their -

Robinson-Patman claim:

(1) None of the alleged discriminatory sales was

in commerce as required by the statute;

(2) There was no evidence of substantial com-

petition between each plaintiff and even one Flineo

salary-operated Texaco station, much less evidenee

that each plaintiff competed with all such Flineo

stations scattered as they were over a 30-mile area

(the assumption upon which plaintiffs’ thepry of

recovery depended) ; '*

(3) There was no evidence that each plaintiff's,

let price was higher, considering allowances, than

the net price to any Flinco salary-operated station

with which it may have been in substantial com-

petition ;

anne -

Tn some instances there were 10 or 12 miles separating a

plaintiff from the nearest Flinco Texace station. Exs. D-52, 3:

493, 645, 658, 666, 671, O85, 783, 867, 888, 914, 957, 971, 973-74,

993, 998, 1017. .

Ml Exs. D-32, 54; 492-94, 673, 696-97, 740, iret 868-09,

914-16, 957, 998-99,

12 Ex. D-54; 1139. In fact, no plaintiff even specified the name

or location of a single Flinco salaty-operated station with which he

supposedly competed. As the Court of Appeals noted, although

Flinco was a wholesaler: “At times it was necessary for Flinco to

place its own salaried personnel in charge of stations to keep them

pen.” (App. A, p. iit)

-«

- — — — RE en cose

9

(4) There was no evidence that any such differ-

ence in net price produced any injury to competition

but, on the contrary, evidence that the distributor

discount was exhausted by wholesaling expenses and_

a-reasonable return on investment; and

(9) There was no competent evidence of injury

to petitioners’ business or property or of any-

measurable damage.'®

The Court of Appeals found it necessary to deal.only

with the first of these reasons for reversal, holding that,

under the clear language of the statute and the overwhelm-

ing weight of authority, the ‘‘in commerce” requirement of

the Robinson-Patman Act had not been met. Accordingly,

the judgment in petitioners’ favor was reversed and judg-

ment for Texaco directed. .

B. The Horizontal Price-Fixing Claim

Although petitioners alleged that Texaco conspired with

other major oil companies to fix the wholesale price of

gasoline, there was no claim and absolutely no proof tha®

Texaco agreed with its competitors on the prices it would

charge its dealers. Instead, the claim was predicated upon

'* Plaintiffs’ response in the Court of Appeals, when confronted

with an unanswerable demonstration of the fatal deficiencies in

their damage proof at trial, was to suggest to that Court that it

not only give them another chance to prove the quantum of damages

but that it tell them how to go about it.

“[I]f the -Fouler rule applies, but this: Court should hold

that the computation was not sufficiently precise, this Court

should state what method of computing the difference is suffi-

cient and remand for computation by a master and direction

of a verdict upon the master’s findings” (Brief for Appellees

49).

The Petition for Certiorari, although requesting reinstatement of

the district court judgment, makes na reference to the glaring

defects in plaintiffs’ proof of damages. Indeed, the subject does

hot even appear among the 15 Questions Presented.

—r”

10

the following conduct fy Texaco: (1) it made its current

tankwagon price and general allowances to dealers pub-

licly available, as it had done for decades (1242, 1445,

1893-94, 1904-05); and (2) before granting general price

allowances to enable its dealers in an area to remain com.

petitive, it sought to verify its competitors’ current pub-

lic price postings, either by personal observation or by

telephoning for the information ' to comply with the meet-

ing competition provisions of the Robinson-Patman Act.'*

For decades, Texaco’s wholesale prices have been

publicly available as soon as they go into effect (1893-

95). Texaco has furnished them to anyone, including pub-

lications, dealers and other oil companies, whether or not

such other companies made their current prices public

(1242-44, 1445-46, 1904-05). Beeause the information was

public, it provided a convenient reference point for the

price term of Texaco’s numerois gasoline supply contracts

with dealers, making it unnecessary to send out formal

notices to each dealer every time a price change occurred.

It also had the further important purpose of satisfying

Texaco’s customers that they were all being treated alike

(1894). And, needless to say;with the many dealers in any

locality necessarily possessed of this knowledge, the in-

formation could hardly be treated as confidential in any

case. It had to become public and there was no point in.

treating it on other than an‘ open and above-board basis. -

In light of these economic Gensiderations, other oil com-

panies likewise as a general rule publicly posted their

tankwagon prices: (114, 168, 1225).

In price war situations at the retail level, Texaco, before

granting general price allowances to dealers in any area

4125-26, 582, G89, 988-89, 1225-26, 1238-41, 1244, 1250-51,

1275, 1277, 1333, 1436-41.

15 Ex, D-130; 102-04, 113-15, 168-70, 1226, 1241-42, 1440.

16 Exs,.D-130, 131 (letter of May 21, 1963, pp. 1, 3) ; 1895-1900.

‘ll

to enable them to remain competitive, sought to verify the

current publie price postings of one or more competitors

in order to comply with the meeting competition provisions

of the Robinson-Patman Act. The verifying clerk could

do this by personally going over to read the posting or, for

convenience, telephone for this public information.27 Again,

other oil companies faced the same problem of Robinson-

Patman Act verification and some inevitably pursued a

similar compliance route.

Misreading this .Court’s decision in United States v.

Container Corp., 393 U.S. 333, the district court directed a

verdict on this claim in petitioners’ favor. On appeal, the

Court of Appeals concluded that Container was inappli-

}° cable for many reasons, including (1) the publie nature of

the prices involved; (2) the absence of any stabilizing effect

on prices or ‘‘chilling’’ of the competitive atmosphere, as

illustrated by the highly volatile nature of gasoline prices

in the area where there were ‘“‘many gasoline wars of long

duration involving drastic price cuts’’; and (3) the need

to verify the amount of competitive price euts to satisfy

| the requirements of the meeting competition defense. In

addition, the Court made it clear that the evidence was in-,

sufficient to permit a finding on any basis that Texaco was

guilty of participation in an alleged horizontal price-fixing

conspiracy. On the contrary, the record showed Texaco’s

conduct to be independent, competitive and entirely lawful.

The Court of Appeals concluded:

‘“‘The retail gasoline trade in Salt Lake City

underwent many drastic price wars during the peri-

od in question. When a war started, it was necessary

for the supplier of the retail outlets to grant allow-

ances to their outlets so that they could lower their

prices in order to remain competitive. When Texaco

heard from one of its Dealers that a competitor had

lowered its prices, Texaco endeavored to verify the

information. Texaco neither asked for nor received

*7 102-04, 113-15, 167-69, 1225, 1241-44, 1919-22

wre

.

a: Pr ny ee ee ny Eee

12

information about impending price changes. By

seeking verification Texaco’ was simply complying

with the requirements laid down in Federal Trade

Commission v. A. E. Staley Manufacturing Co., 324

U.S. 746 (1945). That is, Texaco was attempting to

confirm the reports ,of its retail outlets that their

'. competitors had lowered their prices. This much

would be necessary before Texaco could lower its

prices and still be within the ‘meeting competition’

defense.’’ (App. A, p. xvi; emphasis added)

When petitioners moved in the Court of Appeals for re-

hearing and a new trial on the assertion that the evidence

was sufficient to permit a jury finding of agreement with

other major oil companies to fix “prices, the Court of

Appeals, finding no such sufficient evidence, denied the

motion.** ;

18 Petitioners’ Question Presented No. 3 (Pet. 3-4) tenders this

sufficiency issue but seriously misrepresents the record. Thus, it lists

7 items which it claims spell conspiracy but which the record does

not support. For example, the record does not establish the existence

of “price identity.” Quite the opposite ; prices differed widely in the

area during the period. Indeed, in this very casé petitioners com-

plain of Texaco’s own different price to Flinco and of Flinco’s

selling to its dealers at 2¢ below the price petitioners paid Texaco

(Pet. 46). In fact, the record discloses that it was Texaco’s unwill-

ingness to. accede to petitioners’ unlawful efforts (dating back to

1961) to have it dictate Flinco’s prices which prompted the bringing

of this suit (Ex. P-36, D-43; 423-29, 434, 437, 441, 444-46, 480-84,

488-90, 584-85). Secondly, the reference to a “systematic exchange

of prices among competitors controlling 85% of the market” is

*equally baseless. Not only is the key factor of the public nature of

the prices omitted, but the Court of Appeals explicitly found:

“Here, 42% of the gasoline stations in the Salt Lake City

area were independently operated. Not only does the record

fail to disclose a price exchange agreement among all of the

major supplying companies, but it also fails to evidence any

exchange involving the suppliers of the independently operated

service stations.” (App. A, p. xv).

The other factors listed by petitioners in Question 3 similarly play

fast and loose with the evidence and add up to nothing approaching

evidence- that would permit a finding of illegal conduct.

-

13

Finding the evidence insufficient on the issue of viola-

tion, the Tenth Cireuit did not have to deal with the issues

of impact and damages and did not do so. It should be

noted, however, that there was no evidence from which a

jury could properly conclude that any petitioner was in-

jured in his business or property by virtue of the alleged

agreement to exchange current publicly available price in-.

formation ; nor was there any evidence from which a jury

could rationally measure any petitioner’s damages. More-

over, there was not even a showing that the claimed con-

spiracy had any impact whatever—on prices or anything

‘else. The record will be searched in vain for a scintilla

of evidence that but for the claimed conspiracy prices would

have been lower.

C. The Tie-In Claim

Texaco recommended to its dealers that they buy tires,

batteries and accessories (‘‘TBA’’) from any one of four

tire companies with national distribution and public accept-

ance with whom Texaco had sales commission agreements

(Ex. P-30; 381-84, 1483-84). Texaco received a commission

for its sponsorship when such a company sold to a Texaco

dealer. This claim was predicated on the theory that as a

result of such sponsorship, the dealers were forced or com-

pelled to accept unwanted TBA in order to get a product

they did want. The proof, however, belied the claim.

Indeed, 12 plaintiffs offered no evidence at all regarding

what prompted their selection of TBA, and the remaining

3 did not testify that Texaco in any way affected their

TBA clioices (453-54, 467-69, 570-72, 974-76, 999-1002).

Finding no evidence of coercion, the Court of Appeals di-

rected that this claim be dismissed. Again, the Court did

not reach the issue of impact and damages as to which,

once more, there was no evidence. Without rhyme or rea-

son, the jury found no damages as to three ‘plaintiffs, $1

damages as to two others and a total of $2,693 for the re-

7S se RE ma

snake

14

maining ten. Despite its de minimis nature, the Petition

seeks certiorari and review to reinstate this bascless

verdict. ,

ARGUMENT

The Decision Below Was Correct And Presents No

Important Federal Questions.

Rule 23(4) of the Rules of this Court provides that

the ‘‘failure of a petitioner to present with accuracy,

brevity, and clearness whatever is essential to.a ready and

adequate understanding of the points requiring considera-

tion will be a sufficient reason for denying his petition.”

It is respectfully submitted that the Petition is-neither ac- {

curate, brief nor clear. Indeed, it totally misconceives the

role of the Supreme Court jn the judicial system. It would

have this Court serve as a second court of appeals, impli-

eating itself in a morass of factual issues which involve

neither important federal questions nor conflicts among the

circuits. When the Petition’s irrelevancies, diatribes and

extra-record speculations are stripped away, what remains }

is the indisputable fact that the decision of the Court of

Appeals was eminently correct, was fully in accord with

all of the applicable precedents, and raises no issue war-

ranting review by this Court.

A. The Robinson-Patman Act Was Correctly

Applied -

Section 2(a) of the Robinson-Patman Act, 15. U.S.C.

§ 13(a), provides, in relevant part, that:

‘‘Tt shall be unlawful for any person engaged wm

commerce, in the course of such commerce, .. . to

discriminate in price ... where either or any of the

purciases-invalved_in_such discrimination are wm .

commerce. .. .’’ (emphasis supplied) ~~ ~ ----- -~--

It has long been settled that this plain statutory language

means precisely what it says. To violate the Robinson-

Se

£)

15

Patman Act, a seller must not only be ‘‘engaged in com;

meree,’? and his acts be in the course of such commerce

but at least one of the alleged discriminatory sales must

be in commerce. This controlling principle was enunciated

by this Court in Moore v. Mead’s Fine Bread Co., 348 US.

115, 118: io

‘‘Respondent is engaged in commerce, selling

bread both locally and interstate. In the course of

such business, it made price discriminations, main-

taining the price in the interstate transactions and

cutting the price in the intrastate sales.’’ (empha- -

sis by the Court)

Since Moore, the rule has been uniformly applied by the

lower courts. See, e.g., Walker Oil Co. v. Hudson Ou Co.,

414 F.2d 588 (Sth Cir. 1969), cert. denied, 396 U.S. 1042;

Hiram Walker, Inc. v..A & S Tropical, Inc., 407 F.2d

4 (5th Cir. 1969), cert. denied, 396 U.S. 901; Abramson -

v. Colonial Oil Co., 390 F.2d 873 (Sth Cir. 1968), cert.

denied, 393 U.S. 831; Food Basket, Inc. v. Albertson’s

Inc., 383 F.2d 785 (10th Cir. 1967); Willard Dairy Corp.

v. Nat. Dairy Prods. Corp., 309 F.2d 943 (6th Cir. 1962),

cert. denied, 373 U.S. 934; Central Ice Cream Co. v. Golden

Rod. Ice Cream Co., 287 F.2d 265 (7th Cir. 1961), cert.

denied, 368 U.S. 829; Cliff Food Stores, Inc. v. Kroger,

Inc., 417 F.2d 203 (Sth Cir. 1969); Borden Co. v. FTC, 339

F.2d 953 (7th Cir. 1964).

The Court of Appeals merely applied this settled

principle in holding that the statute’s ‘‘in “commerce”’

requirement was not met here because all of Texaco’s rele-

vant sales of gasoline were made in Utah. More par-

ticularly, Texaco purchased the gasoline from American

in Utah and resold it, to petitioners and to Flinco, within

that state. Moreover, the gasoline itself never crossed

a state line. It was refined by American in Utah from

z

‘

a i tal

y

CARA FOO UINAR TS

LETRA NAST, "| seer Ry

Hg OMIT SSM LPL LNT OS TIF

d :

me

16

crude oil, a separate and distinct product, which had been

- brought into the state by American.

Petitioners challenge this ruling essentially on three

grounds: (1) that so construed the statute may be rendered

ineffective; (2) that this Court?s ruling in Standard Oil ©

Co. v. FTC, 340 U.S. 231 is somehow inconsistent with the

Court of Appeals’ decision; and (35) that the Fifth Circuit's

recent decision in Littlejohn v. Shell Oli Co., 456 F.2d 225

(Sth Cir. 1972) stands tor a contrary principle. None of

these assertions has merit.

Petitioners’ arguments with respect to the theoretical

effectiveness of the Robinson-Patman Act should be ad-

dressed to Congress, not this Court. The determination

that price discriminations involving solely intrastate sales

are beyond the purview of the statute was made by the

legislature when the statute was enacted and, of course,

it is for it to determine whether the law should be amended.

Insofar as Standard Oil is concerned, that case is

plainly inapposite, as the Court of Appeals properly noted

(App. A, p. xi). There, the seller transported gasoline,

not crude oil, from Indiana into Michigan from whence

it sold the selfsame product at discriminatory prices to its

Michigan dealers. As the Court of Appeals held, ‘‘ Standard

shipped the gasoline to itself across a state line. The

product was- never altered; therefore, the ‘flow of com-

merce’ theory applied.’’( Jd.) Here,*on the other hand,

it was American, not Texaco, which transported crude oil,

not gasoline, into Utah where Texaco bought it. When

discriminatory sales are made in one state of a finishee

product converted in that state from raw materials emanat-

ing from another state, the flow of commerce has come to

a halt, and the statute is inapplicable. Central Ice Crea

Co. v. Golden Rod Iee Cream Co., 287 F.2d 265 (7th Cir.

1961), cert. denied, 368 U.S. 829; Baldwin Hills Bldg.

Materials Co. v. Fibreboard Paper Prods. Corp., 283 F.

17

Supp. 202, 204 (C.D. Cal. 1968) ; Mow v. Shell Ou Co.,

96 F. Supp. 670 (S.D. Cal. 1951). Standard Oui is thes

completely consistent with the ruling below, as well as

with the unbroken course of uniform decision in the courts

of appeals since the Moore ruling almost two decades ago.

Nor is Littlejohn of avail to petitioners. That case, unlike

this one, did not involve the typical secondary-line claim

by a customer that the seller charged lower prices to other

customers with whom it competed. Instead, the plaintiff

there was not a customer of the seller but an independent.

gasoline dealer in indirect competition with defendants.

His claim, of the primary-line variety, was that he was in-

jured by defendants’ low price sales to those dealers who

were his local competitors, which low price sales were sub-

sidized by higher priced sales to other customers in a

different state. In other words, Littlejohn involved a situa-

tion analogous to the typical area price discrimination claim

in primary-line cases such as Moore. In Littlejohn, as in

Moore, there were sales across state lines to meet the stat-

ute’s commerce requirements. Here, per contra, there is

no claim of any discriminatory Sale outside of Utah.

In short, the commerce aspect of this case, as decided

in the Court of Appeals, involves no novel issues, no,

substantial federal questions, and no diversity of opinion

among the circuits. It accordingly does not warrant review

by this Court.

The petition also seeks review of other: Rcbinson-.

Patman issues which, in light of its finding with respect

to commerce, the Court of Appeals did not reach. Far

from supporting the grant of certiorari, the existence of

all these other hurdles to recovery by petitioners under-

scores the futility of any such grant. Petitioners’ claim is.

so fundamentally deficient and so devoid of evidentiary

support as to make it particularly ill-suited for the resolu-

tion of any legal issue.

18

B. The Horizontal Price-Fixing Claim Was Cor-

rectly Found To be Unsupported by the Evi-

dence

The ruling of the Court of Appeals that United States

v. Container Corp., 393 U.S. 333 is distmguishable from

the present case is eminently correct. Indeed, Container’s

inapplicability is demonstrable on three separate and dis-

tinct grounds, all of which were relied upon by the Court

of Appeals.

First, Container dealt with an exchange of price in-

formation which ‘‘was not available from another source’

(393 U.S. at 335). It did not deal with verification of -

publicly posted and available prices. There is all the dif=

ference between inquiring about and disclosing public infor- “ )

‘mation for purposes of convenience and the exchange of

price data which in some industries is a closely guarded

secret. Obviously, businessmen must have the right to pub-

lish and disseminate price lists, to put price tags and signs

‘on products, to announce publicly what their prices are, and,

in order to be competitive, to make efforts to learn what

prices are being charged by other sellers. It is noteworthy

that the Government never challenged in Container the

exchange of information which was otherwise publicly

available (Brief of United States on Appeal 41). The

thrust of its complaint there was that when a customer

asked package manufacturers to submit price quotations

for a special packaging order, sellers should not have

given their confidential quotation to a competitor in ad-

vance of the latter’s bid; thereby defeating the buyer’s

hope of bettering either seller’s offer—a glaringly different

situation from the instant one.’®

19 As the Court of Appeals stated: “The prices were publicly

available. They were noted in the trade journals and often an

nounced in the Wall Street Journal. This distinguishes Container

in. that the prices involved there were not available through other

sources. Texaco made its prices available to anyone regardless of

any reciprocity’ (App. A, p. xiv). That the Container ruling

Second, this: Court did not hold that an agreement to

exchange non-public price information is per se illegal.

The Container decision was premised on the express finding

that the exchange agreement in question had an anti-

competitive effect. In Mr. Justice Douglas’ words, ‘‘the

result of this reciprocal exchange of prices was to stabilize

prices. .. .”’ 393 U.S. at 336. Indeed, the opinion made

it clear that, some price exchange arrangements might have

no anticompetitive effect:

19

‘*Price information exchanged in some markets

may have no effect on a truly aa iets price.’’

Id. at 337. .

‘Here, on the other hand, there is not an iota of proof that

) the vigor of price competition was chilled by any exchange.

In the Court of Appeals’ words, ‘‘the record is replete

has no bearing on agreements to exchange publicly available prices

is further demonstrated by the judgment in United States v. FMC

Corp., 1970 Tr. Cas. $73,258 (1.D. Pa. 1970), a case in which

the defendant was found to have fixed prices by exchanging non-

public price information and discussing the need for higher prices.

See 306 I. Supp. 1106, 1142-43 (E.D. Pa. 1969). Despite this

finding, the final judgment specifically permitted the exchange of

price “information which has been previously or is simultaneously

released to the trade generally or has been disclosed by any person

ucts.” Jd. at p. 89,028. Accords, United States v. Beatrice Foods

‘Co., 1972 Tr. Cas. § 73,853 at p. 91,588 (D. Utah 1972); United

States v. Continental Oil Co., 1971 Tr. Cas. § 73,404 at p. 89,648

(D. N. Mex. 1971). Indeed, any other reading of Container would

require the absurd conclusion that a department store courts Sherman

Act lability if its clerk calls a competing store to obtain information

about prices posted in the store window in order to avoid walking

over to see for himself.

with references to many eounlitie wars of long duration -

who is not competing with defendant in the sale of such .. . prod-.

&

20 :*

involving ‘drastic price cuts. This hardly indicates a

‘chilling’ of the competitive atmosphere.’’ (App. A, p.

pg Nae |

Third,. this Court recognized the continued vitality of.

Justice Stone’s opinion in the Cement case, which held that

price information could be exchanged for lawful purposes,

such as to prevent a fraud by purchasers.”' Here the lawful

purpose of the verification of posted prices ‘was to enable

Texaco to comply with the Robinson-Patman Act. As the

Court of- Appeals found, ‘‘[b]y seeking verification Tex-

aco was simply complying with the requirements laid down

in FTC v. A. E. Staley Mfg. Co., 324 U.S. 746 (1945). That

is, Texaco was attempting to confirm the reports of its re-

tail outlets that their competitors had lowered their prices.

This much would be necessary before Texaco could lower

its prices and still be within the ‘meeting competition’ de-

fense.’’ (App. A, p. xvi).

In sum, the Court of Appeals’ conclusion that Con-

tainer is not applicablé here was correct on each of the

three stated grounds.

*20 Witnesses on both sides agreed on the fact of incessant price

wars (869, 956, 988, 1335, 1426, 1442, 1902-03, 1907-08). There

were between 76 and 102 price changes (depending on the sec-

tion of Salt Lake City affected) in the prevailing major brand

price among retailers. during the period in ‘suit and a range of retail

price fluctuations of 10¢ per gallon, which was 100% of the lowest

retail price (ex state tax) of regular gasoline and 70% of the

lowest premium price (ex state tax) (IExs. D-81, P-23, p. 5; 1616-

22). Such price changes, as petitioners themselves elicited, corte-

sponded to price changes at the wholesale level (217-19, 1441, 1460-

61). .

21 Thus, the Container opinion distinguished Cement Mfrs. Pro-

tective Ass’n v. United States, 268 U.S. 588, on the ground that the

“controlling circumstances” of that case were not present:

“[The] cement manufacturers, to protect themselves from

delivering to contractors more cement than was needed for @

specific job and thus receiving a lower price, exchanged price

information as a means of protecting their legal rights from

fraudulent inducements to deliver more cement than was needed

for a specific job.” 393 U.S. at 335.

e’

21

In evident recognition of this fact, petitioners assert

that this Court should also review the Court of Appeals’

denial-of their motion for rehearing on an alternative Sher-

man Act premise. .As noted above, however, there is no

. sound’ basis in the evidence for the new theory which peti-

tioners espouse (supra note 18). The Court of Appeals

properly concluded, in denying rehearing, that the evidence

of record is insufficient to permit a finding on any basis

that Texaco entered into any price-fixing agreement with

other oil companies. It was entirely appropriate for that

Court to have made this determination in disposing of the

rehearing motion. Neely v. Eby Construction Co., 386 U.S.

317, 329. Plainly this matter does not rise to the level of

a wibatratial federal. question warraniing the expenditure

by this Court of the time and effort needed to examine a

massive record on a question of sufficiency of evidence

which the Court of Appeals has already done.

Conclusion

Chief Justice Taft stated for a unanimous Court in

Layne & Bowler Corp. v. Western Well Works, Inc., 261

U.S. 387, 393, ‘‘it is very important that we be consistent

in not granting the writ of certiorari except in cases in-

‘volving principles the settlement of which is of importance

to the public as distinguished from that of the parties....’’

See also, Rice v. Sioux City Memorial Park Cemetery, Inc., |

d49 U.S. 70, 74. It is respectfully submitted that the instant’

Petition raises no question of importance. The Court of

Appeals’ dismissal of the Robinson-Patman claim involved

the straightforward application of explicit statutory lan-

guage to the indisputable facts. Its dismissals of the tie-in

and horizontal price-fixing claims were clearly correct and

were founded upon its assessment of the sufficiency of the

evidence-in this récord. The Tenth Circuit’s award of.

printing costs is also a matter which, it need hardly be

oe PERS Fa I ad ew 7 eee 5 ’

stated, is best left to the judgment of the courts of appeals,

Accordingly, the decision below does not warrant review

by this Court. Moreover, it is respectfully submitted, the

fact that the petition would require the Supreme Court to

embark upon a wholesale review ofa host of issues with

‘which the Court of Appeals properly found it pointless to

. burden itself, further renders the grant of certiorari pat-

ently inappropriate.

June 2, 1972

Respectfully subnutted,

fick js Moor

Mitton Hanxpier

425 Park Avenue

New York, New York 10022

Rosert F. McGixxis

135 East 42nd Street

New York, New York 19017

Attorucys for Re spond nt- Ty raca Inc.

Of Counsel:

Mizas C. Braprorp, Jr.

1570 Grant Street

Denver, Colorado 80210

Kaye, Scnorer, Frermax, Hays & Haxvwuer

425 Park Avenue

New York, New York 10022

CHRISTENSEN AND JENSEN

1205 Continental Bank Building

Salt Lake City, Utah 84101

e,

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.