Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Brockstein v. Nationwide Mutual Insurance
Supreme Court brief1972
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
et
SUPREME ‘= COURT, ule.
: T1774
IN THE
Supreme Court of. the a States
y / as October Term, 1971
a a
NATHAN BROCKSTEIN and MANUEL. BROCKSTEIN,
} — business as CHURCH AVENUE. POULTRY,
. Petitioners,
agamst
NATIONW IDE MUTUAL IN SURANCE COMPANY, -
" Respondent. .
Sd
; PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE ¢
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
‘ FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT
-4
‘ -Jacos W. FRiepMay,-
| Attorney for Petitioners,
233 Broadway,
New _— N,. ¥.. 10007
- APPENDIX:
Opinion of United States Court of Appeals for the:
Second . Circuit Dated October 20, 1969 Keiaess
of United States Court of Appeals for the
Second Circuit After Remand Dated Septem-
ad .
d 7 \ PAGE
* Opinions Below a, ames Si Tre oe a paek tas ot 1
Jurisdiction ee eet AERO ey ne fa MEI T 2
Question Puen for Review .. sis nies le tien an he ee =
Statement of Case ......0.... ate Cisne 3 2
Reasons. for..Allowance of Writ.........¢)......-+ =
eo ree eens pee ig ey Chae MEET Wiecoan he er 7 o
‘PRO ee 13a 4
4 . NE ci, aE FON Re
ton . Cases Cited i rE -%
Board of imicaesiia v. Lumber mens ] Mutual Casualty
- Co. (C. A. 8), 419 F. 2d 837 ..... phan Roe a 5
Brown v. United. States Fidelity and Casualty Com-. —- .
pany (C. A. 2), We Es OOM Fa bs kas ke ekne . 6 :
Ging Vv. ‘Americati Liberty Insurance Co, (C. A. 5),
423. FR. 2d.115 .:....0..... eT Lee raasik 5
Young v. American Casailiy Company of Reading, ea
:.. Pa. ioiat A. 2), 416 F. 2d op eee 6
ee Statute Cited pre tg
'28U.S S. Colle, j er oe |
8. eee neers Deer ee 2
Ie x (oh ee Sea
2. : ne
. P , , -
, .
- ‘
‘ é 7
. | | |
- | : |
‘ -
, . ; : | |
| \
| .
| jae
| : ? | 24 4 .
’ ‘ |
’ XN ; i
. |
.
. ‘ | |
a . Baoan
; .*
- * . e ‘ a o * |
' : : a fae ° -
. a |
ns e %. : 5 |
. j :
.
’
. | |
“ F |
. : |
. os |
i |
.
| bs - . w
.
‘e ;
| . e .
’ * . |
@ .
.
*e - | |
4 &
‘
. |
— " er ‘
. ° 4 | : |
. |
: gs Sep
Vv | |
! — : : :
: |
“ . | :
' |
’ 7 : |
’ |
| | | , 3 ;
+ : re : s
‘ . | , |
. | |
°
° « 2 a * ; :
. ; |
: 3 2:
’ |
‘
° er |
.
o : |
7 | : re
‘ | : |
.
¢e .
. |
. . - ; | | |
. Vv ° , |
4
: ¢
a :
. |
.
: . | |
.
. Ri
gee ae ” rae OT ET ce Ee x | | - | |
> .
é | |
- . :
°
.
\
i -
iar ? | |
. :
.
- INTHE -
: Supreme Court of the Ruited States:
aay ae "Ocrosex.TeRM, 1971 ;
a.
+
Natuan Brockstern and MaNnveE. BRocKSTEIN, doing,
business as CHURCH AVENUE Povutry, a
CF mate Se - Petitioners,
. against oo hy :
Nationwwe Mutvay Insurance Company, -
: <i N +.
Respondent..
>
. es
& 77
aa PETITION-FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI THE
. ‘UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS )
| FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT. Siete
g To the. Honorable the Chief Justice of the United States’
: and the Associate Justices of the Supreme Court of.
the United States:- .
Your petitioners Nathan Brockstein and. Manuel ‘Brock-
stein, by their attorney, Jacob W. Friedman, respectfully
pray that a writ of certiorari igsue-to review a determina- |
tion of the United States Court of. Appeals for the Second _
Circuit rendered September 21, 1971, affirming, by a divided
Court, a judgment of the United States District Court for
the Eastern Distrigt ‘of New York in favor of defendant -
(respondent heréin). Be aaa ee
Opinions Below ,
Copies of the opinions of the Court of Appeals (the first
reported in 417 F: 2d 703) on two successive ‘appeals by
‘petitioners are hereto appended.
° *”
Jurisdiction - Rin te
“The: udgment of f the Court of. Appeals ‘was bad on?
Sept nber 21,' 1971.
‘The jurisdiction of the United Statas District Court: was
iy oked under 28 UW S. Code See. 1382. :
“Phe jurisdiction - ‘of. the Supreme. Court: of the’ ‘United |
er is invoked under 28 U. S. C ‘ode See. 1254.
e ‘ 4 P we ‘ os a
Question Presented for Review ae
> *
“Where a liabiblty insurance ‘company - astanbe to gettle. a
death action within the policy’ Tits: ‘although the excess
verdict theréafter rendered: appears a virtual certainty, .
cand: fails to keep the insured informed concerning settle:
ment: negotiations or to advise that a relatively minor,
‘contribution by the insured would ‘suffice ‘to settle the
action, s this ‘course of conduct constitute bad faith so —
as. to nder the insurer liable to its insu d for any
» excess payment 96 insured has: been seqenee ! to make?"
c
| Statgment, of Case aes a i
‘The ‘genesis sof. the matt er is an ncchuint oceurring in
1960.. A truck driven by petitiotiers’ employee was: negli-
gently. backed up, struek one- Kiely and caused his death.
_ Petitioner..was insured against such liability by. respond-
ent, with maximum eoverage of $50,000. Kiely, who died:
3 eight days after the -agcident, was a man of 59, with’a
life expeétancy of. 16.48 years ‘and . annual earnings. of
$7,000. . His: administratrix was represented: by Harry H:
Lipsig, an experienced and. well known lawyer, notably .
suecessful ‘in actions of ‘this character. ~The case could ©
have. -been settled tor 7” 000, but respondent refused to
— » J a
: . -
¥
~
?
&
is
¢ ¥
‘go above $35, 000. Bows éver; petitioners were not ifformed
of the status of the jegotiations or that a relatively small
“, eantribution . by. them could have disposed of: the litiga-
"tom. The suit ‘proceeded ito trial, the jury returned a
. verdict of $95,000, and a judgment was finally , entered: for
ee. $106, 418. 33: ‘Respondent paid the administratrix $50,000
plus: interest and costs, while petitioners effected a settle-.
. ment by: paying $25,000, for which . amount, ph Eaey: sued eye
cs respondent n. the present action. /. ‘ ; ert
oa * Upon: ‘the foregoing facts thé . United ‘States: District © |
|. Court for the Rastern District of. New York. (Dooling, J). «|
; ‘rendered a judgment in favor of respondent. Petitioners.
-- . appéaled to ‘the. United States: Court. of Appeals for. the’
' “Second Circuit, which in-an opinion by Feinberg, Pire. J. é
held in
__ substanee: Where the, action of an insurance company in .
allowing ‘a case to coyitinue’ ‘rather than settling it made it. °:
/
(reported i in. 417 F. 20.763, copy hereto anriexed),
highly “probable | ‘that the insured would bésubjected to
So . (exeess” liability, and where the ‘insured’s personal expo-
.. sure ‘was high and the additional risk of the insurer was -
~ far. less, the’ failure of the insurer to. settle was. indicative
of bad faith; that. in a suit by the insured against the —
insurer where the verdict. was substantially more than the
“ poli¢y: limit, where it.could have been settled by an addi-
_” tionak $5,000, it ; ‘was essential to determine what- the in-
, tthe amount required to settle and would —
5 “be willing to contribute ; and that.it was significant to -
.. aseertain w ‘ther the insured had been properly: apprised --
_° of the like. risk. Accordingly, the case Was remanded :
| for furthor findings ‘as to. (1) precisely what: the Brock-
steins wre told or knew regarding the amount needed to:
settle- the: (ely action, the amount the insurer was ‘willing
to coptribute, and: what their potential personal liability: ;
“Wwas/ and (2): what they, were Yhen | ane to contribute © x
th nselves. ”
a
%
va
a ee 4
ad .
. a *
%
-A rehearing w: was held in the District Cut: with fur-
ther ‘findings, all of which, as will be shown below, sus-:
‘tained ‘the posture of ‘petitioners. Nevertheless, the Dis-
trict ‘Court adhered -to its. original determination and
again rendered judgment in favor of respondent. Peti-
tioners: todk a second appeal, and the judgment was
vafirmed, with Moore, Cire. J., dissenting.
It is from that gletermination | that petitioners file the
» present — for certiorari.
Reasons for Allowance of Writ |
;
,
so far upheld on appeal is completely untenable in the
light of the further findings made upon rehearing. Thus,
> in response to the issues emphasized by the remand, the
District Court expressly found: (a) petitioners had the.
financial means to-contribute $10,000 or even more (fur
ther finding 70 at 296a); (b) petitioners were not told
‘*the amout needed to settle the Kiely aétion’’ (73-A at
298a) ; (¢), petitioners were not advised ofthe settlement
position so as to suggest that. there was a difference to be
~ made up (73-B at 298a); (d) petitioners. would ‘have con-
tributed $10,000 or more if advised by respondent. that
they had the right to contribute to a settlement (76-A at
299¢); (e) respondent never mentioned to petitioners that
they had tlie opportunity ‘‘to make a relatively small.
contribution to avoid a large exposure’’ (77 at 301a); (f)
no’ one on behalf of respondent indicated to petitioners
that a contribution by them to settlement was possible
(78 at 301a). In the face of these additional findings and
the failure of respondent to produce any further evidence
in support of a defense of good faith, a judgment in -
favor of respondent is quite devoid of any justifiable
foandation.
1. The conclusion reached by the District Court, and
»
2. ‘The Court of Appeals | in the very majority o —_—— .
: of ‘which we seek a review admitted : .
‘*It is true that the insurer made no mention of
the possibility that the Brocksteins might -make a>
contr#bution; the imsurer apparently thought that
doing so would have been improper... . But now
that we have spoken out on the subject, insurers
are put.on notice and should act oe, in the
- fature,”’
-And in its first opinion the same Court wed dnctanets” aad
“*We hold that bad faith may be evidenced by
_ the failure of the insurer even to mention to the
«insured his opportunity to make a relatively small -
contribution to avoid a large exposure,”’ e
‘ and elsewhere in the opinion referred to this element as’ |
‘the crux of the matter.’’ How can there be any justifi--
cation for stressitig this item as being decisive, and then,
upon a finding ‘in favor-of petitioners on the vital and.
critical issue, brushing it aside and consequently relieving
respondent of any liability? Tt is quite un tandable
how Moore; Cire. J., in his’ dissent was co to
observe at the outset that ‘“‘the result reached by the
4ajority is- quite contrary to our previous statement on
the first appeal of the principles applicable to this case.’’
”
3. The last- majority opinion ef the Court of Appeals
appears te be squarely at variance with the law as ex: .
pressed in recent. holdings of the Third ‘and Fifth Cir- ~
cuits: So, in Board of Education v. Lumbermans Mu-
tual Casualty Co. (C. A. 3), 419 F. 2d 837, it was held
that whether the amount defendant was willing to pay was
communicated to plaintiff was crugial on the-i issue of good
faith, citing the opinion on the first appeal herein. Ging .
v. American Liberty Isurance Co. (C. A. 2), 423 F. 2d
115, also cited the first Brockstein opinion in support of
the conclusion that the duty of the insurance company
ee
*
. included’ apprising ‘the client of settlement
opportunities within a reasonable time after they
were -presented; it entailed, the duty to warn, the
client of difficulties which the litigation posed for
him wherever such difficulties: were not inchided in
the contract of indemnity; it included the duty ‘to
advise the client of: the outcome of the litigation
and of any particular procedares which might lessen
its financial impact upon him; and it included the
conduct of settlement negotiations in good faith in -
. the interests of the insured wherever those inter-
ests might be divergent from the interests of the
insurance company. diy
It ‘appeats reasonably certain that the two other Courts
referred to would, havé come to the opposite conclusion
in the instant case. Obviously, a conflict in the. law as ‘ex-
pounded by different-circuits presents ‘a classic case for ~
the assumption of jurisdiction: by this Court.
‘4. Even as to the Court of Appeals for tlt® Second Cir-’
cuit, the second opinion herein suggests a different set of
principles from those. set forth in other reported decisions
of the same tribunal, notably Brown v. United States Fidel- -
ity and Casualty Company (C. A. 2), 314 F. 2d 675, and
Young v. American Casualty Company of Reading, Pa.
(C. A. 2), 416 F. 2d 906. These divergences were sig-
nifieantly noted by Moore, Cire. J., in his dissenting opin-
ion herein. His conclusion was-that ‘‘the opinion of the
majority to.me seems quite contrary.to our previous dé-
- ¢isions and to the views of five judges of this court.’’
5. It is further manifest that the present application
° . z . ‘* °
_ presents meritorious and certainly arguable questions of a
kind likely to-drise in ther cases and+éalling: for authori-
tative disposition—especially in view of the contrary views.
expressed both in this as well as in other circuits. More-
over, judicial notice may well be taken of the millions of
liability insurance’ palicies now in forge and of the huge
‘volume of litigation of witich their construction is dis-
positive. While petitioners are naturally concerned with
their own rights, the controversy is of a sort. with which
courts are likely to be confronted jn increasing number.
Ultimate appellate review would be most helpful in fur-
nishing sound guidelines to,aid in the just resolution of
future similar controversies.
CONCLUSION
For the foregoing reasons; your petitioners respect-
fully pray that a writ of certiorari issue to the United .
States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit to the
end that this cause may be reviewed and determined by
this Court; that the determination, order and judgment
of the said Court of Appeals may be reversed, and that
petitioners be granted such other, further and different ;
relief as may seem proper.
Dated: New York, N.*Y., December 7, 1971..
Respectfully submitted,
a
Jacos W. FriepMan,
Attorney for Petitioners,
233 Broadway,
New York;. N. Y. 10007 |
ONPG EN OE APR GOLIATH ee
ey ae
.
—
.
'
.
.
ee
:
“> i
»*
:
.
o ,.
- .
-
-
.
*
. *
bd -
. -
~~ al
e
-
5 *
. ;
:
-
oo -
. .
,
-
.
° .
. y >
-
.
a*
-
.
.
os *
u .
.
.
.
.
-
‘
ve
e -
-
= a
-
.
.
. .
,
ek
; a. '.
3
-
i) .
? : as
*
- -
-
e x
8
‘
. o
an.
“
s Pr
.
® - >
.
ee
' that is a fertile source of litigation by insured against in-.-
Opinion of United States Court of ppeals for the -
. Second Circuit Dated Octeber 20, 196 aaa
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
For tHe Secoxnp Circvitr
«
“No. 131—September Term, 1969.
?
-
(Argued September 8, 1969 . Decided October-20; 1969.) _
° se i ————— . .
Docket No. 31393
s. .
* Naruan Brocksrers and Maxver Brockstern, doing
business as Cutrcen Avenve Povtrry,
Plaintiff s-A ppellauts,
—against—
Nationwipe Mutuar Ixsvrance Compaxy,
‘Defendant-A ppellee.
-
vv
-
Before: a ! ;
LumBarp, Chief Judge,
© Smiru and Feinserc, Circuit Judges.
. P ~w -
Fensere, Circuit J udge:
The sense of repose afforded. by the knowledge that one _
is insured is sometiines shattered by the rude news that a
‘policy does not fully cover a cJaim. ‘What happens after
surer. This is such a case, in which plaintiffs Nathan and
Manuel Brockstein, doitig business as‘Chureh Avenue Poul-
try, appeal ftom a judgment in favor of their insurer, de-
o - o
.-
ek
s a ee a,
=
Ld .
4 th AAPA R AEM MASS Fic inh Maw fect abe
yates
MO RITIA) aiap 8
4 Ae AMAA BELTED AH the hs RSC RRRER S80
~il
eeitinin’ Nationwide Mytual Insurance: Company; after a
non-jury trial before. John F,, Dooling, J ee ch in the United”
States District Court for the Eastern ot New York.
_ Plaintiffs sued to recovery $25,000, thé amount they paid in
exeess of thie policy limit to settle a judgment against them |
in a:death action. ‘For tr ‘asons given below, we remand
the case to the district court.
= .* Yd
I.
The action drises out of an accident that occurred
March 1960, when Irving Bloom, an employee driving a
truck owned by plaintiffs, fatally injured John F. Kiely
in backing wp. At that time,- plaintiffs: were insured by’
defendant Nationwide against liability for personal injuries
or death resulting from use of the truck by plaintiffs or
their employees. Maximum coverage for any one person
re
“Was $90,000. Aécording to the findings of the court below,
Mr. Kiely died in the hospital eight days after the accident. :
Kiely was then 59, had an indicated life expectancy of °
16.4 years, and was earning $7, 000 per year. Shortly there-
after, the ‘decedent’ s administratrix, sued the Brocksteins
and Bloom. "The complaint had two causes of action : one,
based on wrongful death, sought damages of $50,000 for
the widow; the other, based on the deceased’s pain and
suffering, claimed $500,000." Counsel for the administratrix
_was Harry H. Lipsig, an experienced and well- known trial
lawyer. Settlement attempts, of whith more later, were
abortive; the case was tried in January 1963. The jury
returned a verdict of $65,000 on the wrongful death claim
and $30,000 on the pain and suffering action. Judgment, as
finally entered, was for $106,413.33. This liability was dis-
charged by payment to the administratrix of $93,847.81, of
’ The complaint was amended to rey erse Coe figures after the
Vv erdict came in. ; , -
which ‘defendant N ationwide paid $58,847.81 -(450,000 plus *
interest and costs) and the Brocksteins paid $25,000. There-. -
"after, in the action now before us, the Brocksteins sued” -
Nationwide for the $25,000. . ; :
- The theory of ,plaintiffs’ action is that @der New York
law, which concededly governs, Nationwide did not prop-
erly represent their interest in its efforts to settle’ the
case. The insurance policy provided that with respect to
the relevant coverage, the insurer shall: . %
defend any suit against the Insured alleging such’ —
injury .. and seeking damages on account thereof, .
even if such suit is groundless, false or fraudulent ;
but. the Company may make such investigation,
negotiation and settlement of any claim or suit as it
deems expedient.
While this - broad statement appears to give, the: insurer
unlimited settlement ‘discretion, such is not the case—and
for geod reason. The policy confers upon the insurér the
exclusive right to decide whether to settle or defend, but .
that decision may affect not only ‘its own interest but also
'- that of the insured. Since the insurer has that exclusive
-right, it must take responsibility for its exercise. While
the insurer has an interest in paying out as little as pds-
sible on claims covered by its policies, the insuredhas an
interest in not being: exposed to a- judgment beyond the
policy limit. When these two interests conflict, the company
has the unenviable duty of dealing fairly with them both.
See Harris .v. Standard Accident & Insurance Co., 191 F. -
Supp. 538, 540 (S.D.N.Y.), rev’d on other grounds, 297. F.
2d 627 (2d Cir. 1961), cert. denied, 369 U.S. 843 (1962).
‘ Therefore, the insurer’s power, not to settle is actually moreé
limited than the languige of the policy indicates. e-
_ We have. recently reviewed the applicable cases dealing
‘with the insurer's obligation in settlement situations. In
ie '
. ; tc oe °
\ ? ae
Brown vy. L “nited States yf ‘idelity & envinte: c v., BY4-¥.
2d 675 (2d Cir. 1963), we concluded that a New York ‘court
would require at the very least that the insur er’s decision’
-.s whether to defend or settle must be made in good faith .
and that “in ev raluating ‘the propriety -of a Settlement”.
when thevinterest of the e company and the insured may .
differ, the interest of-the latter ‘‘must be given at least
equal consideration.’’, We there stated, 314 F. 2d at 678,
*- that the rule may be phrased: as follows ;
“With respect. to the decision whether to settle or
try the case, the insurance company must: in good
eer <i 4s faith view the situation as it-would if there were no
«polity limit applicable to the elaim.”’ | Keeton, Lia-
. | . bility Insurance and -Responsibility for Settlement,
x Soir « “67 Harv:’L. Rev. 1136,.1448 (1953)] « “(T]he fainest
“> s method of balancing the interests i$ for the insurer
4 , to treat the claim as if it wére alone liable for the
: yn veey ’*- Bell v. Commercial Ins. Co., 280
; 4, 515 (3d Cir. 1960)..
“Moreov ar, we quoted, 314 F. 2d “at 679, from the district
| court opinion in Harris, supra, ‘to emphasize that an in-
>. ’ surer’s bad faith,
is most readily inferable when the severity of the
plaintiff’s injuries is such that any verdict against, +.
* “the insured fs: likely to be greatly in excess of the \
policy limits, and further when the facts in the case
: __indicate that a defendant’ s verdict on the issue of
+ _ liability is doubtful. . |
New York law was again assessed in Y oung V. American °
- Casualty Co. F. 2d +—, slip op. 3383 (2d Cir. 1969),
which was tesiedl after Tudge Dooling’s decision in this
ease. Chief J udge Lumbard stated there: sfor this court at
lip op. 3388-89 as amended :
ee
e 6. Ee
‘Where, becausggof the likelihood that an excess ver- ° :
_ diet -will be returned, the greater financial risk of
the litigation rests ou the insured, a finding of bad
faith on the part of the insurer may. be based-on such
factors as these: tr Te ;
on (1) The failure of the insurer to investigate prop-
erly the circumstances of the accident. ie
(2). The refusal of the insurer to accept a settlenient’
within the limits of fhe policy. ‘
(3) The failure of the ‘ixsurey to inform the insured:
of a compromise offer. ;
(4) The failure of .the insurer. to attempt to induce
* contribution by the insured. [Footnote omitted. |
. With this brief summary: of our recent decisions construing. °”
New York law,” we turn to the facts of, the ease before us.
rg Bi, : : II, : aa
Plaintiffs claims that the failure of Nationwide to settle |
the-Kiely action against the Brocksteins for less thaii the
policy limit of $50,000; coupled ‘with Nationwide’s other
actions and inaction, conclusively show its bad faith. That
the Kiely action could have been—and almost was—settled
for less than $50,000 is clear. J udge Dooling found that the
early demand in the case by Kiely’s lawyer, Lipsig, was for
$100,000, but that well before trial, Lipsig told O'Neill, one -
‘of the insirer’s lawyers, that if the policy limit was $50,000,
Lipsig would recommend settlement for $45,000, that -this
offer was repeated by Lipsig at a later pre-trial conference
and at trial, and finally, that during the trial the presiding
? We note that both Brown v. United ‘States Fidelity & Guar. Co.
_and Harris v. Standard Acc. & Ins. Co. Were. cited with approval .
in Cappano v. Phoenix Assurance Co., 280 N-Y.& 2d 695 (App.
Div. 4th Dep't 1967)... gaa
\
-
~ =
oo |
i? ::
are told O'Neill, that the’ éase could be settied for 440,000.
- Meanwhile, the insurers evaluation of the case for settle-
ment purposes was not too far off- from Lipsig’ s. When the .
_ driver, of. tht truck, ‘Bloom, was deposed in July 1961,-
plaintiff Manuel Brockstein was told by the insurer’s
lawyer that lie thought the- case would be settled ‘out of
for about $35,000. In. May 1962; the insurer *g Regio al
Manager, after a full’ conference with claims personnel,
.fixed a settlement authorization for the case of $35,000, .
which apparently was never changed. However, its lawyers
~ were only given ‘‘authority’’‘at-that time to go to $25,000.
Five months later, this authority was inereasid to $32,000... >
Nevertheles$, in the ‘byzantine bargaining that so. often
characterizes these cases, ‘Lipsig was: apparently never
offered more than $15,000 until the trial, when an offer of |
$52,500 was made.’ During trial, the insurer finally: author-
izedgits attorney. to go. to $35,000, and this offer was made, °
Whether this w as. done while Lipsig was still prepared to
‘ take $40,000. i is not clear;* whats clear is that the parties
. were at one time during the trial apart by $7 7300 at most—.
and possibly by only #9,000. The © jury, retured a ‘verdict :
of $95,000.
‘Turning to factors emphaniond in- Harris. wa _Brown,. 3
' the parties disagree as to what was a reasonable ‘predic- :
tion of the verdict in the Kiely action. Kiely was. earn-
ing $7,000. a year. and had a life expectancy of over 16
- ‘years when he was killed, had been steadily, employed for
30 years before and had hho history of prior iHnesses.
‘While his’ widow would not’ be automatically entitled to
an award of Kiely’ s entire expected salary, nevertheless.
a verdict im excess of $50,000: on these items alone was
8 Judge Dodling found: that after Lisi rested his case. in the
Kiely. action, he raised his figure. to $50
| egwahe ease
oO
4
readily’ predictable. When .to’ this is added a sum )for
- ‘Kiely’s pain and suffering for/the ‘eight days he lingered,
while conscious, in the hospital, it whys obvious—in, the
~ words of Harris and Brown—that’a verdict ‘greatly in
po,
-excess of the policy limits’? was ‘‘likely,’’ if: liability is
assumed. As to that, the insurér was inexplicably opti-
mistic ‘about the possibility of a defendant’s verdict in a ©
_ ease where Bloom, the driver of the“truck,- had no visibil-
7 ' ity ‘‘in the center rear,’’ as Judge Dooling found, and
‘ injured Kiely while backing: up. It-is true that Bloom
stated at his deposition that he had- sounded his horn, but
he apparently had’ never ‘said. this before, mo to police
officers who ‘investigated the accident orJat a Motor’
Vehicle Bureau hearing. All in all, it is clear; in the lan:
guage of Harris and Brown, that) ‘‘a defendant’s verdict
on the issue of. liability’? was ‘“doubtful,”’ at the yery -
‘least. = .
| ’ coe co el
Accordingly, allowing the case to’ continue made / it
hig probable that the Brocksteins would be subjected
to petsonal liability. Their personal expostre was high;..
it turned out to be $45,000. The additional risk ‘to the
insurer was -far less; $10,000 at most, assuming that
Lipsig would accept. $40,000 in setflement. Moreover, that
disposition could have, been achieved by an .additional |
offer of $5,000 to $7,500. While” all of this under the
- €ases already referred to could be evidence: of, bad faith,
’ it_was certainly not conclusive. Were: the inquiry %o stop
there, we would not be inclined to disturb-J udge Dooling’s.
conclusion that Nationwide did not breach its obligations
* Nationwide argues that the.expected verdict ivould be diminished
by reducing to present value the widow's expectaney from Kiely's ”
future, earnings. On the record before us, we cannot tell whether
such a cltarge was given in ihe Kiely action or even requested. As
to the uncertain pradtice in New York on‘such a request, see Com-
mittee on, Pattern Juty Instructions, New York Pattern Jury In-
.. structiong—Civil. 25) Comment pp. 516-18.(1965), °°
SS
|
.
proceed nor asked for it.® | It is xe clear from the use
Sa
is what transpired between the insurer and its insured,
to which we now turn.
. In his opinion, 266 F. Supp. at 224, Pe Dooling con-
cluded that dt the crucial stage of settlement
plaintiffs, early notified that the case involved a
_claim in excess of. coverage, and advised during
trial of the stages of negotiation and that an ad-
~ verse verdict was possible and could go into excess,
took no action tacitly looking to defendant to
handle the matter. The defendant insurer elected
* # to: go to verdict, and the result was disastrous.
” ‘to plaintiffs; even though the judge may ‘have been ‘unduly
restrictive in assessing the inferences open to him undeg
New York law.* However, ‘the troubling aspect of the case
/
The judge also made separate findings that the Brock.
steins neither were asked to contribute nor volunteered to
do so, and that they were neither given advice on how to
* The judge charactérized New,York law as
uny ielding i in declining to recognizé any duty-to settle, or to
see “bad faith”-in refusals to settle, or other acts; that, cir-
= cumstantially, suggest that" the insurer pursued its.own inter-
_est and left the insured to take care of his own exposure to
uninsured liability.
266 F. Supp. at 225. That this appears ‘to bé in canflict with this
_-court’s statement in Brown; 314 F. 2d at 678, was recognized by
* District J Port in Bates y. Merchants Mutual Ins. Co., 277 F..
Supp. 308, 312 (N.D.N.Y? 1967). aff'd per curiam, 392 F. 2d 591 |
(28 Cir. 1968).
* The pnly written advice given was a a tae from Nationwide to
the Brocksteins in Janvary 1962—after the key ees in the
case had been taken—which stated :
As you know the accident involving John F.. Kiely pho” Was
killed in an accident on March 7, 1900" lias commenced an:
action against the company gnd against Irving- Bloom. This” ”
matter has been in suit for® time and as you may
- (fodtnote Conginued on next page)
i
4 “
$7 : . Sa .- .8
. . « tes : . j E .
me the Brocksteins were kept adequately informed
of the ceurse of settlement negotiations, of the realistic
- chances of an adverse verdict about the policy limits, and —
of how high sueh a verdict might be. In particular, it is
not clear whether the Brocksteins were ever told that
“ © $40,000 would settle the case, and that the insurance com-
pany was not willing to-go beyond $35,000. The failure
to keep the Brockstéins informed im this matter could
itself contribute to an inference of. bad faith under the
. authorities discussed above. Moreover, even if it is found
that the Brocksteins were kept and precisely ad-
~ vised, they were never told—either when Nationwide cur-
sorily informed them that they had a right to have their
own separate counsel participate* or when the settlement
negotiations were at their actin they could con-
tribute to a settlement.
The-insurer. argues that it is”* ‘ridjeulous’ ** to assume
’ that the Brocksteins were so willing, but we do not agree.
Perhaps they would not have advanced one cent, but we
P . (footnote continued from previous page)
remember is being handled for you and for Nationwide by
James T. Whalen’s office. We know you have been ‘givifig
him every cooperation possible. We wish to call your atten-
tion to the fact that you have been sued for an amount in '
excess of your policy Jimits. To that extent therefore
have an uninsured .mterest in this action. Lf you- should
@esire to retain your own personal attorney at your own
expense to protect this uninsured interest please feel free to
do so, Understand however that whether.or not you should
do this rest entirely with you.
If you have any further questions about this matter please
_® do not hesitate to call this office or the offices of Mr. Whalen
at any time. Our telephone number here is. WHite Plains -
-8-6500.
The first sentence of the letter was, of course, not only obscure but *
inaccurate ini its reference to an action against the company. As-the
Brocksteins found out to their ultimate. dismay, the action was —
agaist them.
* See note 6 supra.
* Appellee’s brief, p. 15."
ast a aid iver?
rn ——
AGO taney Wc
Gas ~ os
connote ve yooh Gate kes ty aah RD enn alll
”
be
e
°
10a
F ‘ : .
simply do not know what plaintiffs would have done if ‘the
subject of contribution, had been discussed with them at.
the crucial time with explicit advice-as to the possible al-. |
ternative course open and the additional amount required
. to settle. At the very least, we think that the trial-judge |
should-make a fitiding on the issue. For the crux of the
matter is this: At the time when the parties Were ‘so close,
the Brocksteins needed what then District Judge Kaufman
in Harris, supra, 191 F. Supp. at 543, n. 10, called the
‘<judgment . . . of an informed expert,” since they could
‘*hardly be expected to make an objective appraisal of the
facts and relevant law in their own éase.’’ This need is’
pointed up by Nationwide’s reliance in this court on tes--
timony of Nathan Brockstein that he did not think that .
Bloom was responsible for the accident and that he would
not be willing to pay money for sométhing he was not -re-
sponsible for. Such a decision by an insured cries out for
the ‘‘judgment of an informed expert’ ‘_for precise infor-
mation and an informed reasonable.prediction rather than -/
cursory information.- In assessing Nationwide’s liability
here, great significance would attach° toa finding whether *
the Brocksteins would have made a contribution to the
settlement had they been properly apprised of the pos-—
‘sibilities of the risk they ran. We note that under Young,
- supra-.at 3390-91, the burden is on Nationwide to show that
-the Brocksteins would not have contributed.
We realize that the situation of the insurer at:that dene
is delicate: If it presses its insured too hard—or even at
all—that may be evidence of bad faith,’ but if it does. abso-
® While there do not seem to be any New York cases directly on
" point, suggestions that the insured contribute to a settlement have
‘ been relied on in a number of jurisdictions: as one indication of bad
“f4ith. See. e.g, American Mut. Liab. Ins. Co. v. Cooper, 61 F. 2d
~446 (5th Cir. 1932), cert. denied, 289 U.S. 736 (1933) Brown &
McCabe. Inc. v. London Guar..c» Acc. Co., 232 F. 298 (D. Ore.
* 1915); Keeton, supra at 1149 n. 32; 7A J. Appleman, Insurance
law and Practice $4711 n. 12 (1962). °
“a
lla
lutely iiothing that too may count against it.’ i Judge
Dooling clearly saw the problem, but apparently concluded
that the insurer, to avoid a findmg of bad faith, need never
engage in conduct in between these two extremes. We do
not agree. The judge aptly recognized the need for-‘‘a con-
trolled arms-length discussion between the assured and the , °
insurer about their tespective interests in thé settlement.””
266 F. Supp. at 227.. We think that this need must be met,
a proposition not. adequately ‘recognized by the judge.”
There is nothing per se improper: in the bare mention By
the insurer that contribution is. possible.'* _Any impro-
priety would seem to arise from insistence upon a con-
tribution’as the price of settlement, particularly where the
‘amount demanded is relatively high compared with what |
the insurer. i : willing to contribute. There is no incon-
sistency in requiring the insurer ‘to inform the insured of
his chance to make’a contribution in order to settle the.
case. .We hold that bad faith may be evidenced by the
‘failure of ‘the insurer even to mention to the insured his.
‘opportunity ‘to make a_ relatively small contribution to.
avoid a large exposure. * Although we find rio. New York
case directly on. point, we believe that this holding is a
correct prediction of what the New York courts’ would '
decide. on the issue.
Indeed, thé’situation of the insurer’s lawyer is even more deli-
gate, See Keeton, supra at 1157-73. Keeton stggests various changes
in policy forms to remove potential conflict. Jd. at 1183-86.
11 Thus, the judge stated, 206 F. Supp. at 227, that-at the critical
point the insurer's. lawyer Re
deals with the. personal-i injury plaintiff not as representing
the assured but as representing the insurer to the extem of
its. interest, and without, apparently a duty even to report the
~ settlement ‘discussion to Its nominal client, the assured.
'* Keeton, supra at ah 50 n. 32,
\
\
-
oper SEA Bi gh PEre Ondene Pal emriy a
~
.
he pee es
~~
be
ai bb a bd i's Sat ot
f) pee
Accordingly, we remand the case) to Judge Dooling to
make further findings—on this record if he can or on a
reopened record if necessary—as to (1) precisely what the
Brocksteins were told or knew regarding the amount needed
to settle the Kiely action, the.amount the insurer was will-
ing to contribute, and what their potential pérsonal liabil-—
ity was, and (2) what they were then willing to contribute
themseves.* Thereafter, the court should again decide
upon the entire record whether Nationwide acted in bad.
faith under the principles set forth herein. Judgment re-
manded for further proceedings ‘consistent with this opin-
ion.
"We do not preclude-the judge ‘trom reopening the record to -
ascertain other facts, see, e.g., note 4 supra, .
| Sa,
° o
Opinion of United States Court of Appeals for the Sonal
— Cireuit After Remand Dated September 21, 1971
| UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
For THE Seconp Ci1rcurr
No.:849-—September Term, 1970.
(Argued J une 28, 1971 ; Decided September 21, 1971).
Docket No. 71. 1071 eee <7
Aa
. i
Naruan Brocksterx and Manver Brocksres, doing
business as Cuurcn Av ENUE Property,
Mt Plaintiff s-A ppellants
against | :
Navionwive Murua Lxsurance Company,
Defendant-Appelee a
. Before:
_ Moore, Feixpenc AND MANSFIELD,
Circuit Juilpin,
FeinserG, Circuit J udge:
In the prior appeal in this case, Brockstein .. Nation-
wide Mutual Insurance Co., 417 F.2d 703 (2d Cir. 1969),
with which familiarity will be assumed, wA remanded to
the district court to: determine again whether the Broch- -
‘stems, plaintiffs-insureds, were entitled to. recover dam-
“4a:
© : . ” : 2
. . . .
. . ‘ 7 ° " - -
= Se ows —— ee. s . ° .
j “9 ie . °
sc rem. Pia. . . oe
¥ . te a
: k — a ae e.
° -e = eee .
. . n
. : te -
é are .
‘ ages from their insurer because of its failure to settle an
i _action ‘brought against plai tiffs by the administratrix of
: John F. Kiely (Kiely). As a result of that mistake in
E judgment, Kiely recoveréd $95,000 against the Brochsteins,
| $453000 more than-the amount of the poli¢y provided by
$ defendant. The Brochsteins’ excess liability to Kiely was
z ultimately settled for $25,000, for which they sued defend-
j ant-insurer. In our earlier decision, we held, among .
{| other. thingsthat the bad faith of an insurer in Seats
to settle a om against the insured
——_—
4 ay ts evidenced by the failure of the insurer even
: (ib mention to the insured his opportunity to make a
: relatively small contribution to, avoid a large ex-
4 ‘posure. © oer
| 417 F.2d at 709: We sought further findings as to
‘a . (1) precisely what the’ Brocksteins. were told or
knew regarding the amount neéded to settle the ©
Kiely action, the amount the insurer was willing to
, contribute, and what their potential person liability
3 : was, and (2) what they were then willing to con-
4 tribute themselves. | Footnote: omitted.
4 | and directed the trial court again to oe) lon
decide upon the entire record’ whether Nationwide |
. acted in bad faith — the principles set forth
. herein.
On remand, J udge ‘Dooling made extensive further find-
: ings of fact, including the key finding that:
fl 3 The inference of : constructive bad faith that
might be drawn in somé circumstances from the
-. failure/ ofthe insurer to mention to the insured-his -
| opportunity to make a contribution to the settle-
We a ~ ment ip order to avert the risk of a verdict in ex-
a loa
. 2 ig
cess ‘of the policy limit is’ insufficient, on the. facts —
of the present case to establish bad faith in fact.
The judge again found for defendant-insurer, and this ap-
peal followed.
Appellants ities: that the judge did not follow our direc-
tions and that defendant acted in bad-faith as a matter of |
law. As to the former contention, Judge Dooling reopened
the record, as our opinion authorized, heard testimony
from five witnesses, including one -of the plaintiffs and
the lawyer who defended the Kiely action against them,
and carefully reconsidered the question of the imsured’s
- bad, faith in refusing to settle that action. There is no
doubt at all-in our minds that the judge attempted to and
did comply «with our. directions in all respects..
Appellants’ altérnative argument is that, in any event,
the findings of the judge on remand required a conclusion
as a matter of law that the insurer acted in bad faith. Ap-.
pellants base their claim principally on. the findings’ that
tion to the settlement of even $10,000, but were not re-
quested to do so and were not told that a relatively smal]
contribution on their part would avoid a large exposure or
that such’ a course was possible.
The judge did make the findings to which plaintiffs
‘refer. .But he also characterized as ‘“necessarily hypo-
_thetical and not adequate as the basis for a finding’’ the
-testimony of one of the plaintiffs that he would have con-
tributed from $5,000 to $12,500 to a settlement if defendant
plaintiffs had cash on hand sufficient to make. a contribu- *
~
had ‘advised him he could: The judge also found that
O'Neill (trial counsel for the Brochsteins and the insurer)
did advise the Brochsteins that the outeome was not pre-’
dictable, that the verdict could bein excess of ‘the policy - -
limits, what the ‘‘posture of the settlement discussiéns
as they. progressed during nic canons which the.
& ORSON Re Ore Oe etre Com
so et ei nd Se
pis
MAMA) veriar tit
pias
Ra ee eae
“6a
difference between offer nud demand ‘was ev ident,’ > aml
‘what amount the insurer was willing to offer. The jade
also found that the Brochsteins ‘‘uff€erstood that [if a
verdict were rendéred in excess of the policy limit] in
stich ease the liability would be their firny’s.’’. F-nally, the -
judge pointed out that if there had béen a*negotiation:
between the Brochsteins, the insurer and’ the Kiely inter-
ests, all sorts of eventualities might have, occurred; e.g.,
_Kiely could hav (increased the demand upon learning that
further sums were available or the Brochsteins might not
have been willing to make a substantial contribution un-
less the insurer made a ‘similar increase.
As we pointed out in. our earlier opinion, 417 F.2d at
105, the ultimate issue before the judge was whether the
insurance company dealt fairly and adequately with its
insured under New York law.' A finding of good faith or.
“lack of bad faith is merely-a shorthand way of resolving
the. series of issues embodied in that concept. When the _
trier of fact is convinced that under the applicable law the —
insurer on all the evidence did deal properly with its in- '
- sured, we are not disposed to overrule that judgment. It — :
_ is true-that the insurer made no mention of the possibiligy
that the Brochsteins might make a contribution; the in-
" surer _ apparently thought - that doing, so. would have
_ been improper. As we noted in the first appeal, 417 F.2d
at 708-09, its concern at that time is understandable. But
- now that we have spoken out on the subject, insurers are
put on notice and should act accordingly .in the future.
Thrs means that they must tread the narrow and difficult
line oer merely informing the insured in a proper
case. ‘‘of his chance to make a contribution in order to -
settle the case’” and insisting ‘‘upon a contribution as the .
oe
1We note that- some jurisdictions apparently ‘impose a_ stricter
standard: of Jiability upon.the insurer than New York ‘does.- See
generally Note, Recent Developmeats in the Excess Judgment -Suit,
- 36 Bklyn L. eit 464. (1970) ; 64 De Paul LL. Rev. 604-(-1970).
oie enews. ert
price of settlement.’ ’* 417 F.2d at 709.. Insurers must be
_ particularly careful not to do the latter or to use the pos-
sibility of contribution from the insured as a means of ©
" evading their own responsibilities. — = _*
_. We do not suggest that this is- au) ‘open and shut case or
that the problem it illumines can be dealt with easily. The
, contrary is ‘the fact. As Judge Dooling pointed out:
[T]he limited coverage situation becomes. atly -un-:
satisfactory i in the final settlement s
sured has not retained counsel to ‘epresent. him in
his role as> ‘self-insurer on the excess risk. |
We ggree and point wut as we did before, 417 F.2d at 709 |
n.10, that the insuret’s lawyer at that stage is ina ‘‘deli-
eate’” situation.2 For the future, we suggest that an in-
surer must be careful to give an insured full-and accurate
information as to settlement possibilities not only in the
early, but also in.the late, stages. of negotiation, including -
the advice that to the extent. that there is an uninsured
interest, the insured has the option of being. represented
by separate counsel. -But on this record and after the care-
ful sifting of the evidence by the district judge, we should -
reverse his finding ‘of na, bad faith only if the rule is that —
failure to notify an insured of his opportunity to con- -
tribute always requires a finding of bad faith. But: this
court did. not go that far in our prior opinion er in the
‘ cases upon \which we relied, e.g., You ig -v. American Casu-
alty Co., 416, F. 2d 906 (2a Cir, 1969); ene v. United
States Fidelity, & Guaranty Co., 314. 5 (2d Cir.
_ 1963). And. we ‘decline to adopt such a rule now:
2 Cf. Lysick Vv. Wadom, 65 Cal. Rptr.. 406 (Ct. App. 1968). dis- «
cussed in Sevier, Beyond, the “Bad Faith‘ Rule: New Exctss Liabil-
ity for Insurance Carriers, and Their Attorneys, Proceedings,. ABA
Section of Insurance, Ne ligence, and. Com ensation L Ww. 391,
‘396-99 (1969). ex :
—
‘ e-
\ P . é .
\
\ a
\ < bs ; . +
AN ° *e
a .
‘
i.
2 ’ { *.
ia GADD ole Rett
)
- _ - 7 e ? : a A es ut
So RGEC RA sep PONG EAL SI AIAN DAS sce is sii vi
°
Sp.
ey
“ipa S
BO MAN es Sm A ae eed ON
: ry : ‘
Saaity in ithe Been ca wae
¢
5 Moor Circuit Judge (dissenting }:
. —settled ‘for less than: $50,000 is clear:’’
a ee,
At oral argument appellants: called to our attention two
regent decisions which cite. our, prior opinion. - But both |
- support the view that the decision. here is essentially for |
‘the trier of fact. .In Ging v. American Inberty Insurance
Co., 423 F.2d 115 (5th Cir. 1970), summary judgment, for
the insurer was reversed ‘so that a trial. could be had ‘on
the issue of good faith. ‘Tn Board of. Education A. Lum-
- berniens Mutual. Casualty Co.; 419 F.2d 837 (3d Cir: 1969), ‘<4
the trier of fact found against the insurance company, and ~
the appellate court affirmed.
J udgment affirmed.
; re “aes
>
Because i in my opinion the result reached. by tlie majority ’
is quite epntrary to our previous statement on the first
agg of the ‘principles applicable to this case, Brockstein
Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company, 417 PF. 2d 703 .
(4969) and the fact hitherto found which I beliey re to be
determinative, I must dissent.
There i is little. ‘need ‘to search beyond ovr earlér opinion
and J udge Dooling’ s finding's on remand. The background
of fact has been adequately stated. Suffice it to say that
_| the Brochsteins: held a $50,000 accident insurance: policy
__ issued by Nationwide. An accident occurred and they were
sued in an action referred to as ‘the ‘Kiely ease. At this
point we must consider the only operative facts: as found
‘by this, court.
- “That the Kie ly adtinn pre = e. been:
and almost was
* Judge Dooling (on the first trial) found that tlre sanly
‘ demand of Lipsig. (Kiely? s lawyer) was for $100,000 ‘‘but
. that, well before. trial, ae told O'Neil (Nationwide’s
. __aéted ‘tin bad faith,”’
: a : | _ .
. law ryer) * © Silt if the poliey. was for $50,000 [whieh it
_ was], Lipsig would recommend settlement for, $45,000, that *
this offer was repeated by Lipsig at.a later pre-trial con-
ference and at trial, and finally, that during the trial the
. . presiding judge told O’Neill. that the cas Gould be settled .
~~ for $40,000.’” 417 F.2d.at 706. Thus the proof is incontes-
table that the case could have been settled within the policy |
limits and the Brochsteins completely relieved of the lia- --
bility from which they were. protected under the policy "°
which “they had ‘purchased for this purpose. Nationwifle-
failed to make the available settlement. Instead it
ceeded to trial and a $95,000 verdict was returned, Ax a-
result the Brochsteiny instead of being fully protecte
found themselves subjected to a $45,000 excess polict judg-\
“ment which-.they ultimately settled for $25,000. Upon these
facts and the law, Nationwide’s liability would appear to
have | been clear. How then does. a contrary result occur? .
* This “gourt’s previous opinion points to the answer. It
spoke in terms of ‘‘bad faith’’, failure of Nationwide: to
advise the Brochsteins of their. opportunity to make a con--
- tribition to a’ settlement (a factor wholly irrelevant to the
issue) and whether .the Brochsteins would ‘have made a°*
contribution to a settlement even if so advised by: Nation-
_ wide of any such possibility (equally irrelevant). How-_
- ever, this court remanded the case to Judge Dooling to
make findings (and on further testimony if necessary) as °
to. what was told to the Brochsteins by Nationwide reélat- ’
ing to the amount needed to settle the Kiely action, the
amount Nationwide would contribute and the Brochgtein’s:
potential liability—all to determine whether Nationwide
In my opinion J udge Decking’ s further findings Ende: at
our. behest do not meet the controlling legal issues Thus
‘he finds (#86,306a) that ‘‘There is: no evidence that there
Was | penne bad faith on N ationwide’ s part {acting thr oligh
—_:
hn as F
O'Neill or other representative than .0’ weully* "ee 0
. Again in Finding +87 he stresses-eontribution and failure
- by Nationwide to mention this \possibility -to <the Broch-
steins as leading to- an ‘inference of constructive bad ;
faith."*~ Hérein lies the error in the approach of Judge
Dooling and the majority opinion. It is unnecessary un-
Jer the law, to find “thad mene" ‘ix evidenced by facts -
showing evil motive or purpose: . . +a
In Young x. ‘American C. asualty Company, of Reading, ;
#., 6 F.2d 906 (1969), Judgé Limbard (then Chief
Judge) said at page 910 that “‘a finding of bad faith on ~
the part of the insurer -may be hased such factors as
these; * "3 °(2) The refusal of the indurer to acce a
sett within the limits of the see © FS
; of any necessity to couch “‘bad faith’ ‘in terms of
evil pul appears from Judge Lambard’s further com-
_Anents that in the usiial case, to establish bad faith by the
insurer an ingured should demonstrate that thé elaim could
have been settled within the policy Mmits, * * a Here
‘the majority Aay that in this case this fact (settlement
Yowithin the init of the policy) is “clear.” Judge Lum-
hard continua) ‘““Whére an insurer receives an offer of
settlement ue ex -of the coverage of its. policy. it acts
fx, bad faith if it fails to make an-attempt * * * (to seeure
a reduction) andj* *.* (fails to advise the insured of
"settlement opport iTres) ** *" An & fortiori case is
presented where, ax here, the hasie fact ix conceded that a
-
s<eltlement could have been effected within the sree of
the policy. :
Even in Judge Wyait ’s dissenting opinion in Youug,.it
- Was stated that “the core of the actionahle wreng is the
failure or refusal of the insurance carrier to settle when
sftlement within the policy limit could have been, and
#
should have been, effected.’ Young. pp. 92. The ‘*exsen- ve
m4)
*
-
tial clespent of the case for the insured [was] that othe
claim could have been settled within the policy limit.”’
Again here that fact is not disputed.
A somewhat similar’ situation arose in Brown vy. United
States Fidelity and. Casualty Company, 314 F.2d 675 (1963)
in which this court reversed the dismissal of a complaint
im an action by.an insured against an insurance ¢ompany
for failure to settle. In that opinion-Judge’ Kaufman writ-
ing for the court said that “we are convinced that the
good-faith settlement standard controls in New York in
cases of an assured + personal liability resulting from the
insurer's, faiture to settle within the policy limits."
Brown
“at :
4 SE If ton 5 may be evidenced by the failure of the
; rer even to mention to the insured his opportunity to
: bare a relatively small contribution to avoid a larger ex-
posure,”’ as held in Brockstein, supra, at 709, -how much
the more is it evidenced by the established fact that a
settlement could have been effected within the policy limits
| wiring even a small contribution.
Since the Upinion of the majority to me seems _ con-
PP tg our previous decisions ang to the views of oa
judges of thix conrt, I, would reverse the jetguent di
_ missing the action on the merits.
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.