Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Transit Casualty Co. v. Security Trust Co.

Supreme Court brief1971

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

IN THE

presen Court of the United States.

Oc TOBER TERM, 1971

No.

TRANSIT Casu ALTY Company, ET AL., Petitioners,

Vv.

Security Trust CoMPANY, ET AL., Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

_ UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS F eel

THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

t

« #

FE. Barret? PRETTYMAN, JR.

Perer F. Rousse LOT

$815 Connecticut Avenue

W ashington, D. Cc. 20006

P : GEORGE P. Bowrr

901 Washington Avenue

St. Louis, Missouri 63178

SAMUEL J. Powers, JR.

First Federal Building

Miami, Florida 33132

- Attorneys for Petitioners

Press OF ByRoN S. ADAMS PRINTING, INC., WasuINGTON, D.C.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Table of ‘Ludisacitine we : PETAR aN etd carlo =

Opinions Below ....... Bee EMER su tcp rcace 9

Jurisdiction ...ecc0r0e.e.. Setenlereeiiaens dis oe vane

Ocaatiain PN 5 oo eu eU a cen Gul vee b canuch 3

Rani IN Coc re ed oa Teer PTT er eT ee 23

Statement of the. Case . : Kieae eee as Sy Se ae kf ; 4

Reasons for Granting the Writ ai cueteek Rinduewes 15

: OMI oda iva teedkes Peeteer a ee wewake .

Appendix A—Opinion and Judgment of. the United

States District Court for the Southern Miatriet of

a ee eas nm Ate no” le Oe la

Appendix ‘B-—Opinion and Fudan of the United

States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Cireuit ... 4a

Appendix C—Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Fifth Ci&uit Denying Rehearing

and ae Peer er teseeresees +. dla

_TABLE-OF AUTHORITIES

CasEs: pees

_ Ackermamn y. United States, 340 U.S. 193 (1950) =<" 16°

- Barber v.. Turberyille, 94 U.S. App. D.C. 335, 218 F.2d

MR RE cree ccrewee sata ee, 20

' Bros., Tne. v. W. E. Grace Mfg. Co., 320 F.2d 594 (5th _

Cir, BOONE Snes ENCE RET ERECOLG LRT ERS eee ia ei?

Conley v. Gibson, 355 U.S. 41 (1957) .............. .. 2

Federal Trade Comm’ nv. Colgate Palmolive Co., 380 —

ak ONO COE cadence iai cee ees . 22

. en

- ee _ able of Contents Continued” .

Page

Fleming v. Huebsch — Corp., 159 F.2d 581 (7th

Cir, MN ae kavales CO Gn Renee Made Ne RLU G Keane 22

Griffin v. Kennedy, 120 us . App. D.C. 104, 344°F.2d 7

BOB (UGGS) choo onda cake cote cs eweeeasas Pe torre 22.

King v. Mordowanee, 46 F.R.D. 474 (D. R.T. 1969) . 17

Kinnear Corp. v. Crawford Door Sales Co., 49 F. RD.

3 (D. SC. 1970) 2... cece ccc dicctwesecs sects x ae

Klapprott v. United States,.335 U.S. 601 (1949) ...... 16

L. P. Steuart, Ine. v. Matthews, 117 U.S. AppwD.C. 279,

' 99 F.2d 234, cert. denied, 379 U.S: 824 (1964) + co, ae

Markert' v. Swift & Co., 173 F.2d 517 (2d Cir. 1949) . 2

' Patapoff v. Vollstedt’s, Ine., 267 F.2d 863 (9th is,

| hres errr errr rr re rr rrr rr 16, 20, 21 -

Rinieri v. News Syndicate Co., 385 F. 2d 818 (24 Cir. |

| ed Aenrary PE ETO CE TOT NTT OEE UTS 17

Robins v. Piteairn, 3° Fed. Rules Berv. 601 (N.D. Til.

1) ne ee ere 20

Russell v: Cunningham, 279 F.2d 797 (9th Cir. 1960) .. 22 -

Schramm v. Murdock- sisoy i Chev. Co., 312- F.2d 249

(10th Cir. 1962) ... 02... eee eee eee eee teens 22

Tozer v. Charles A. ia ‘Milling 5, 189 F.2d 242

(Bd Civ. 1951) 2... cece cece eee e decccccccccopes 20

Transit Casualty Co. v. Atkins, 372 F. a 441 (5th Cir.

iP merry rrr ry rr rre Tr err rrr. 10, 11 .

Transit Casualty Co. v. Security Trust Co., 396 F.2d

* 803 (5th Cir.), supplemental opinion on ‘rehearing, «

899 F.2d 665 (1968), cert. denied, 393 US. 1024

¢0])\:) SR oo -B

Transport Pool Div. ‘of Cont., Leas., Tne. v. dee Jones

Truck. Co., Ine., 319 F. Supp. 1308 (N.D. Ga. 1970). 17 es

United States v. Backofen, 176 F.2d 263 (3d Cir. 1949) 17

\gited States v. Erdoss, 440 F.2d 1221 (2d Cir. 1971),

pet. for cert. filed sub nom. Horvath v. United

- States, No. 71-2, June 30, 1971 (pending) ...... 16,17

United States v. Hongham, 364 1.S. 310° (1960) ...... 28

_ United States v. Miller, 9 F.R.D. 506 (M.D. Pa. 1949). 17

United States v. Williams, 109 F. nase 456 (W.D. ee

Ark. POURED ca oic cc taccscsocsgacaveqscas eee ee cee 20

Table of,Contents Gontinued 7 iii

| , | Page

STATUTES AND RULES: a 7 ;

UA AE os. hiss cian 2

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure : / i |

Rule" 23(a) ........... Pease ek tee aan aens 18

Rule. 41(b) ...... ere rr ory ee ere Seuueeis ror ra

ek Peery orn rer ein ey rae Choe mpere

Rule 60(b) ....... Pee oR eae passim

OTHER AUTHORITIES:

Comment, Equitable Power of a Federal Court To

Vacate a Final Judgment for ‘‘Any Other Reason

Justifying Relief’’—Rule 60(b) (6), 33 Mo. L. Rev.

«427 (1968) 2........ PEE EE Oe ROP Ee TPE err 15, 16

Report of the Advisory Committee on the Federal | .

Rules of. Civil Procedure (May, 1954) ....... jas oe

- Wham; Federal District Court Rule 60(b): A Humane

:

_ Rule Gone Wrong, 49 A.B.A. Journal 566 (1963) .. 20.

INTHE - \:

Supreme Curt nf the United States

Ov TE nk Tern, _—

"TRANSIT CASUALTY COMPANY, ET AL. Petitioners,

oe

—Seeunrry Trust Company, er an, Respondents.

«

-

PETITION. FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE.

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR

THE FIFTH CIRCUIT :

—

Petitioners, Transit Casualty Company, ct al.,' prat

that a writ of certiorary issue to review the decision

and judgment of the Unite ¢ States Court'of Appe: us »

‘In addition to Transit Comuidly; Compeniy, the following par-.

ties are .petitioners: Charter National Insurance Company ;

Farmers Elevator Mutual Insurance Company ; Agway Insurance

Company ; LaSalle Casualty Company; Mid-America Fire & Marine

Insurance Company, and Mutual. Boiler and Mae hinery. Insurance

Company.

|

|

=

for the Fifth Cireuit in the above-entitled case entered

on April 1, 1971, in favor-of respondents, Security

Trust Company, ef al? : |

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion and judgment of the United States Dis-

trict Court for the Southern District of Ftorida have

not been. officially reported and are printed as Ap-:

pendix A hereto. The opinion and judgment of the -

United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Cireuit

affirming the judgment of the District Court have been

officially reported at 441 F.2d 788, and are printed as

Appendix B hereto. The opinion of the Fifth @ir-

euit denying both rehearing and rehearing en bane

has not been officially reported and is printed as Ap-

pendix C hereto.

- JURISDICTION

The United States District Court for the Southern

District of Florida denied petitioners’ Motion for Re-

lief of Judgment on November 19, 1969 (App. A). On.

April 1, 1971, the United States Court of Appeals for

the Fiftl, Cireuit issued an opinion affirming the Dis-

triet Court’s Judgment (App. B). Petitioners filed a

timely motion for rehearing and suggestion-for rehear-

ing en bane which was denied by the Fifth Cireuit: on

May 28, 1971 (App. ©). Jurisdiction of this Court is

invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

= In addition to Security. Trust Compahy, the following parties

are respondents:* the State'Treasurer and, ex officio, Insurance

Comniissioner of the State of Florida, as substitute Receiver of

MeKinley & Company, ahd the Deputy Insurance Commissioner

of the State of Florida, as Deputy Receiver of McKinley & Com-

pany.

.

3

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

l.(a) Should the view of the Ninth Circuit or the

conflicting view of the Fifth and Second Circuits pre-

vail on the issue of whe ‘ther Rules 60(b) (1) and 600b)

(6) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure ere mutu-

ally exclusive ? |

(b) Should a motion for relief of judgment ee

Rule 6GO0b) of the Federal Rules of Civil, Procedure, .

filed more than one year after the original judgment

was entered and yet within one year from a substan-

tinlly modified second judgment, and alleging a reason

for relief which has some characteristics similar to

those enumerated in Rule *G0(b) (1) and other char-

acteristics which are’ not specifically mentioned any-

where in Rule 600b), be considered inder the ‘‘any-

other-reason?’ provisions: of’ Rule 60(b)(6), or be

limited to consideration under Rule 60(b) (1) and

— therefore rejected as untimely ?

2, Despite the purpose and intent of Rule 60(b)

of ap Kederal Rules of Civil Procedure, may a class

comprising over 1,500 individual and corporate plain-

tiffs be barred forever from obtaining a_ hearing

on the merits of a $1,000,000 claim for gross negligence,

mismanagemeMt, and constructive fraud, because the

trial counsel for the named -plaintiffs;defendants’ trial

counsel, and an associate District Judge all misinter-

preted the legal significance of a procedural order

- entered by the Chief District Judge as part of what

the Fifth Circuit characterized as a ‘‘housekeeping

operation’? |

RULE INVOLVED

Rule 60(b) of the Federal Rules of € ‘ivil Procedure

provides in pertinent part:

On motion and upon such terms a as are just, the

court may relieve a party or his legal representa-

> 4

tive from a final judgment, order, or proceeding

for the following reasons: (1) mistake, inadvert-

ence, surprise, or excusable neglect; * * * or (6)

any other reason justifying relief from the oper:

tion of the judgment. The motion shall be Sain

within a reasonable time, and for reasons (1) * *.*

not more than one year after the judgment, order,

-, or proceeding was entered or taken. * * *

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

For over five years, petitioners have vigorously, un-

eeasingly, and thus far unsuccessfully attempted to

- obtain a hearing on the merits of two complaints seek-

ing more than $1,000,000. for gross negligence, mis-

management, and constructive fraud. They have been

denied that hearing on the merits because the Fifth .

Cjreuit below adopted a construction of Rule 60(b)

prevailing in the Second Circuit rather than the ad-_

mittedly’ conflicting and broader construction of that

rule adopted by the Ninth Circuit and numerous other

federal courts. Unless this Court grants certiorari to

resolve these conflicting interpretations of Rule 60(b),

petitioners’ cause of action will be oc per-

‘manently, |

On January 28 and February 11,.1966, petitioners

Transit Casualty Company (“Transit Casualty’’) and

Charter National Insurance Company (‘‘Charter Na-

tional’’) filed two related complaints int the United

States District Court for the Southern District of

Florida against respondent-Seeurity Trust Company

(‘*Security Trust’’) and respondents Insurance Com-

missioner of the State of Florida and his Deputy (R.

12-76, 261-283).° Both complaints were brought as

3 The designation ‘‘It.’’ refers to both the first volume (pp. 1-

319) and the second volume (pp. 320-467) of the printed record

below.

dD

class actions; Transit Casualty and Charter National

were the only named plaintiffs (R. 12, 261). The rest

of the class consisted of twenty-four other insurance

companies, all of whom were ‘listed in an exhibit -to

the complaints (R. 13, 59-60, 176, 262). Plaintiffs were

all ereditors of a Florida instirance company, McKinley

& Company (‘‘McKinley’’), which had become insol-

vent (R: 14-15, 23). Jurisdiction was based on diver-

sity of citizenship and the requisite jurisdictional

amount (R. 13-14,'261-262).

'. The complaints charged that Security Trust, in vari-

ous legal capacities including sole. stockholder and

trustee of McKinley (R. 16, 263), had engaged in a

series of acts and omissions constituting gross negli- -

gence, mismanagement and constructive fraud to, the

great damage of plaintiffs and their class (R. 16, 25,

263, 272). ae i |

Security Trust was charged with the following acts

and omissions,.among others: _

—maintaining McKinley’s books and accounts in a

manner which did not accurately reflect the com-

pany’s transactions in disregard of the advice of

an independent certified public accountant, con-

tained in a 99-page report (R. 16, 26).

—violating its duty and obligations as a trustee by .

permitting McKinley to commingle premium funds

which were required’ by contracts with petitioners

to be maintained in separate trust accounts (R.

18). a Ser

—failing to remove the president of McKinley from

office after receiving written notice from Lloyds of

London that the president was making false and

misleading statements concerning losses being suf-

fered by insurance companies on business being

written through McKinley (R. 19). |

—permitting McKinley to pay exorbitant and uncon-

scionable salaries and bonuses to executives and_

Ns BRIE Aa, RE FEIT OR SIS RS Ba ee FS SN Bl ENS NS IS ra Ha

6

employees .of the company, including certain

bonuses $88,000 in excess of the amounts authorized

by the McKinley Board of Directors (R. 20-21).

—permitting McKinley to make unsecured advances

‘and loans to its officers and employees totalling

over $125,000 (R. 21). .

—permitting certain executives of MelKinley to en--

gage ina conspiracy pursuant to which they agreed

to provide false: data’ on losses suffered—by Me-

Kinley in order to obtain renewal of *Metinley’s

eontracts with various London insurance ¢pm-

panies (R. 26-27). oC

—permitting the chairman of the Board of Directors

of McKinley to divert trust funds belonging to

petitioners in amounts in excess of $390,000 for

purposes completely disassociated from peti-

tioners’ affairs (R. 30).

—failing to act on reports received from London

insurance brokers advising that. McKinley’s re- .

ported losses were in error in various percentages

‘anging between 150 and 350 per cent (R. 30).

Plaintiffs asserted that the aforementioned actions and

omissions of Security Trust, and many other specified

actions and omissions, had damaged the class -repre-

sented by the named plaintiffs in an amount in excess

of $1,000,000 including interest and costs (R. 24, 29, |

39). uri

On June 30, 1966, after respondent Security Trust

had answered the complaints and the parties had begun’

various forms of discovery, petitioners’ attorneys

learned that Security Trust’s attorneys had written

. letters directly to certain of those class members who

had not been named as plaintiffs but whose names had.

been listed in the aforementioned exhibit to the com-

wd Dt Wb Red

ao :

plaints (R. 101-102).’- These letters contained the

following paragraph:

This letter is to inquire whether your company

has knowledge of this litigation or has given its

consent to be named as a meniber of [the] alleged

class, Unless I hear from you promptly that your

company does not have such knowledge and has

not given its’ consent, it will be necessary in the

near future to take the depositions of- your officers

and possibly your directors, [R. 104.] -

Petitioners’ attorneys considered these letters a breach

of ethics and immediately-sent a telegram to Security

Trust’s counsel which requested that ‘ you cease and

desist writing and communicating directly or indirectly

with clients represented by this firm’’ (R. 105).

In attempting to explain their conduct, Security

Trust’s lawyers wrote to petitioners’ lawyers that same

day, June’ 30, 1966, and sent a copy of their letter to

Chief District Judge Fulton (R. 105-106). In that

letter, Security Trust’s attorneys asserted:

Ordinarily, members. of a class claimed to be

represented by named plaintiffs are only quasi-

parties, and therefore may not be subject to the

discovery rules relating to the officers, directors

and managing agents of corporate parties.

If you will show me written authorizations from

the, members of: the class for the filing of these

suits or your own assurance of representation suf-

ficient to insure, that their officers, directors and

-managingrégents will submit to discovery without

service of subpoena, I will be glad to withdraw my

letters promptly. [R. 106.] | i

The next day, July 1, 1966, petitioners’ attorneys filed :

a motion ‘‘to enjoin and prohibit defendants’ TN ae

_

—~ ; g .

from communicating directly or indirectly with plain-

tiffs represented herein by counsel and from attempt-

ing to intimidate and threaten said plaintiffs and from

obstruetion of justice’? CR. 101-103). After this. mo-

tion was filed, the parties continued to engage in dlis-

covery. On September 6, 1966, Seeurity Trust an-

‘swered the motion (R. 172-175), denied any unethical

conduct, and stated in part: -

6. If the only basis for the claim of the. attorney-

client relationship arises by reason of the alleged

elass membership, the defendant submits that. it

and its counsel have the right and freedom to com-

municate directky with such non-parties * dite

173.] .

7. If. on the other hand, the firm of Blackwell,

Walker & Gray has by contract. the authority to

represent any or ;llof the alleged class members,

then as to those so represented, counsel for defend-

ant eoneede that there should be no communica-

tion. It is submitted that Blackwell, Walker &

Gray should, therefore, be required to disclose to

the Court and counsel the nature and basis of.

their claim of attoriey-client relationship with the

non-party elass members so_ that all, Court and

-eounsel, will be advised as to how to proceed in

tlfe litigation with regard to such non-parties.. [R.

ri 173-174.)

ight days later, on September 14, 1966, Chief Dis-

trict Judge Fulton entered an order ruling on several

eoutested motions between the parties, including peti-

tioners’ motion for an injunction (R- 176-181). This

erucial order provided : oe :

At the hearing upon the oregoing Motions it

was made to appear that counsel for Plaintiffs has

also been retained to represent. other parties who

constitute the alleged class.

9

Thereupon, it is,

Ordered and Adjudge das follows:

1. Plaintiffs shall within ten (10) days hereafter

amend their complaints so as to inelude as parties

Plaintiff all members of the alleged class who have

- retained counsel for the Plaintiffs to. represent

them * * *.° LR. 178-179.]

Two days after this order was enter ea. on Se wines

1G, 1966, the United States District Court for the South-

ern District of Florid: i, sua Spounte and without giving

any reasons, transferred the case from Chief Judge

Fulton to newly-appointed Judge Atkins (Kh. 181-182),

who heard all subsequent proceedings. As will be

shown bulow, this fact became vital in the ultimate

outcome, ; .

On September 19, 1966, petitioners moved to modify

Chief Judge Fulton’s September 14, 1966 order to per-

mit an interlocutory appeal, contending (1) that Chief

Judge Fulton’s order would require them to name as.

plaintiffs all the members of the class, and (2) that

-the naming of all class members would divest the Dis-

trict, Court of jurisdiction because several class meni-

bers were Florida corporations and thus diversity of

citizenship would be destroyed (R. 182-184).* As

shown below, this interjwretation of the legal require-

ments of this order was wrong, but it was shared at

the time by both defense counsel and Judge Atkins.

Petitioners’ requests for modification and for a stay

were denied on September 23, 1966 (R. 187).

‘Matinee Transit Casualty ae | Charter National, neither

of which was a Florida corporation, were particularly anxious

to maintain the case in the Federal District Court rather than in

a Florida state court’ to eliminate even the possibility that a re-

spondent Florida corporation, the Florida Insurance Commissioner,

or his Deputy might receive partial treatment (R. 418-419).

10 ad

On October 5, 1966, See a filed a new motion to

amend Chief Judge Fulton’ s September 14, 1966 order,

“a new request for a stay, and a motion to amend their

complaints (R.°190-198). ‘This new motion again

' alleged that the September 14 order required peti-

tioners to name as plaintiffs every class member and

that doing so would oust the court of jurisdiction. But

~ most importantly, the new motion pointed out that —

even if there had previously been any doubt about the |

practicality of naming every class member, it was now

clearly impractical in view of the amended complaints

- annexed to the motion, which showed that the class con-

sisted of 37 companies in addition to the-two named

plaintiffs and 1,621 individuals (R. 191). The newly ©

named class members were all English companies and

individuals—comprising a Lloyds of London syndi-

cate—who were also creditors of McKinley (R. 193- .

196). Without comment, Judge Atkins granted the

motion to amend the complaints but denied the re-.

newed motion to amend. Chief Judge Fulton’ s order

€R. 209-210).

Petitioners then’ sought a writ of prohibition and

mandamus from the Fifth Circuit seeking to set aside

that portion of “Chief Judge Fulton’s September 14

order which they felt unreasonably required them to

name every class member as a party and which they

felt would oust the District Court from its jurisdiction.

On February 9, 1967, the Fifth Circuit, in a two-page

per curiam opinion, declined to issue the requested |

writs, stating: 7

Irrespective of the _ correctness of the order

below, it is apparent that this case is. not in an

appropriate stage for appellate review. * * * It

is not clear what the precise effect of ‘the order

will be on the outcome of the litigation * * *.

11

Without in any manner * * * wnderteking to de-

termine whether the order complained of was cor-

rectly or incorrectly entered * * * we deny the

relief prayed for * * *. [Transit Casualty Co. vy.

“Atkins, B72 BF, 2d 441, 442 (5th°Cir. 1967).]

On May 9, 1967, petitioners filed a further amend-

ment to their complaints adding seven named plaintiffs

to the original two named plaintiffs (R. 221-224), and

amending the enumerated class to consist of-1,554 ad-

ditional companies and individuals (R. 223). Respond-

ents then moved on May 18, 1967 to dismiss the.com-:

plaints for lack of federal subject matter jurisdiction

or, in the alternative, for failur e to comply with the

Sentenber 14, 1966 order. ‘In support of their motion,’

respondents referred to a portion of petitioners’ brief .—

in support of writs of mandamus and prohibition, in

which petitioners had stated that “it is undisputed”

that several of the companies whose joinder would be

réquired ander this ruling w exe Florida corporations

(R. 226). Referring to petitionérs’ latest amendment

to their complaints, respondents erroneously stated that

this aniendment did not comply with the September 14,

1966 order because the amendment did not join as ad-

ditional plaintiffs several Florida é¢ompanies ‘which

the plaintiffs had represented to [the court] and the -

Fifth Cireuit as having retained counsel for the plain-

tiffs in this suit’? (R. 226). Respondents agreed with

petitioners that joinder of tliese Florida companies

would.oust the court of jurisdiction (R. 226).

On July 13, 1967, Judge Atkins dismissed petitioners’ ;

complaints with prejudice for failure to comply with

| nee Judge Fulton’s order of a 14, 1966 (R.

9-231), holding, in part, as follow.

~The Amendment to the Complaj nt[s] filed « on May

9, 1967 in an effort to ey sen the order of

12

September 14, 1966, conspicuously fails to include

three Florida corporations which the plaintiffs

have represented th [the court] *-*.* to com-

prise members of the alleged class which must

be named pursuant to the Order of September 14,

1966, since they. were legally represented by eoun-

sel for the plaintiffs. . [R. 229-230.] Pie

On July 17, 1967, petitioners moved to vacate, or in

the alternative to amend, the order of dismissal, pur-

Suant to Rule 59 of the Federal Rules of Civil. Pro-

, cedure (R. 231-236). This motion again emphasized .

the unfairness of being required by the court to name’

every member of .the class as a party plaintiff and

‘to name.as parties plaintiff residents of Florida whe

would oust the District Court. of jurisdiction.

This Rule 59 motion came on-for oral argument

before the District Court on July 24, 1967 (R. 239-

259). At this argument, petitioners’ attorneys assured

the. court that their relationship with the Florida

companies. which were members of the class was no

different from their. relationship with all. other mem-

bers of the elass who. were not named plaintiffs: -

“The Court: 7 tae

_ You do represent those three Florida corpora-

tions, do you not? |

Mr. Larkin: re ie

As members of the class, definitely, Judge. I

mean, just as we represent the 1600 underwriters

-at Lloyds who haye said in response to the notice

that went out, *‘we want to be members of this |

elass, and we want this lawsuit\ brought, and we -

are content. to be bound by whatever the outcome -

is,’’? so, yes, we represent them. :

We are not retained by them. [R. 248.]

However, the court denied the Rule 59 motion (R; 236-

237, 259).

13. :

On June 28, 1968, the Fifth Circuit. affirmed ‘the

District Court’s dismissal in a ‘four-sentence per

- curiam opinion which stated simply, ‘‘we agree with ~

the order of dismissal by y the district court, but vacate

that part of the order making the dismissal with

_ ‘prejudice and remand with’ instructions to enter the

order without prejudice.’’ Transit Casualty Co. v.

Security Trust Co., 396 F.2d 803.2 At this juncture,

limitations had run against any new action which

might be brought between the parties. On August 29,

1968, the Fifth Circuit denied a petitfon for rehearing,

and issued another per curiam opinion. stating, ‘‘ap- °

pellants overlook that really the only issue on appeal

is the compliance vel non with the. District Court’s

order of September 14, 1966, and, haVing found a

failure of compliance on the part ‘of appellants, the

District Court’s judgment of dismissal was affirmed ~

** *. Transit Casualty Co. v. Security Trust Co.,.

399 F. 2d 665, This Court denied certiorari on Jan-

uary 13, 1969,. perhaps because of the interlocutory

nature of the Fifth Circuit ruling. 393 U.S. 1024.

On April 24, 1969, petitioners sought leave from | _

the Fifth Cireuit to file a motion in the Distriet Court

pursuant to Rule 60(b)(6) of the Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure for relief from the judgment dis-

missing ‘their complaints, and concurrently lodged

that motion with the District Court (R. 321, 340-347).

The Fifth Cireuit granted leaye to proceed (R. 338).

The central thrust of the Rule 60(b)(6) motion

was that plaintjffs’ counsel, defendants’ counsel, and ‘

. Judge Atkins had all misinterpreted Chief J udge Ful-

ts -:

- 5 A new order dismissing without prejudice was ‘eiheved by the ©

‘District Court in complianee with the Fifth Cireuit’s mandate -

on September 10, 1968 (R. 333-334).

Ss

\ :

\ le

~ ton’s September 14, 1966 order. Under this shared

erronequs interpretation, the order had been read to )

require the naming of the aforementioned Florida cor-

porations and perhaps some other parties as plain-

tiffs. ° Since the Florida companies had not been named

as plaintiffs, Judge Atkins had concluded that plain-

tiffs had disobeyed Chief Judge Fulton’s order,’ and

accordingly he dismissed the complaints. However,

petitioners now maintained that the order did not

require that the Florida corporations. or any other

particular parties. be named, but ‘only. that all parties

who had retained plaintiffs’ ie firm be named. Since,

in fact, all parties who had retained plaintiffs’ law

firm had at all times prior and subsequent to Septem-

ber 14, 1966 been named as plaintiffs, the September

14 order had been complied with continuously, albeit

unwittingly. Thus, the correct legal interpretation of

Chief Judge Fulton’s order distinguished betsaveen -

those ‘class members who were feprescnted by: plain-

tiffs’ law firm—the entire class—and those class mem-

hers who had retained that law firm—the named plain- :

tiffs. Since all parties and Judge Atkins had failed

to recognize this legal distinction in Chief Judge Ful-.

ton’s order, it would be unfair and inequitable not te

amend the netvly-entered judgment of ‘‘dismissal with-

out prejudice” so as to read, ‘* dismissal without preg

dice, and with leave to amend. the: complaints.” ee

the absence of such an amendment of the District

Court’s judgment, plaintiffs would have to institute

new lawsuits, and such new suits now would be barred

by the statute of limitations, which had run two years

previously (R. 340-345, 353-375).

Despite these arguments, the District Court denied

the request for relief in a short opinion and order.

entered on November 19, 1969 (Appendix A hereto).

15

The court held that plaintiffs were not entitled to

relief under Rule 60(b)(6) ‘because, in the court’s

opinion, plaintiffs’ claim for relief was based upon

the “typical case of mistake and nothing more’’—a

ground for relief exclusively dealt with by Rule 60

(b)(1). The court further held that relief under the

latter rule was barred as untimely because it had

been requested more than one year after the entry of

beh meee ane order of dismissal with prejudice on. July

12,1967. According to the District Court, the one-

wean -limitations period commenced to run from the

date of this original order, riot from the date of the

newly-entered, order dismissing without prejudice on

September 10, 1968.°

On. appeal, the Fifth Circuit affirmed the District

Court’s rulings, stating that:

{S]ome eulogy may be appropriate, inasmuch as

our decision will apparently deal a fatal blow

to a cause which set forth over four years ago

to recover damages in excess of $1,000,000 * * *

and has not onee been bi “ought to court on .the

merits.

»

. REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

This Court should grant certiorari to ree ‘tify what

has aptly been described as the ‘‘manifest *-* * eon-

fusion of opinion and muddled application” of Rules

60(b) (1) and 60(b)(6) of the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure by the -lower federal courts.’

®In its opinion, the Distiiet, Court erroneously stated that:

Plaintiffs’ Rule 60(b) motion was filed on July 1, 1969.. In fact,

as noted above, the motion was filed on: April 24, 1969 (R. 321,

340-347).

7Comment, Equitable Power of a Federal Court To Vacate a

Final Judgment For “Any Other Reason Justifying Relief?’ —

Rule eee 33 Mo. L. Rev. 427, 437, 439 Stains

A 16

The confusion has stemmed largely from the ‘* pleth-

ara”’ of opinions (seven in all) issued by this _—

when it last construed these rules over. twenty year

ago in Ackermann v. United States, 340 U.S. 193 (1950)

(5 to 3 decision), and Klapprott v. United States, 335

U.S. 601 (1949) (5 to 4 decision). The opinions in

the instant case demonstrate why this Court should

address itself to a problem it has not discussed for

so long, ra as one commentator put it even three

years ago: .

‘

¢

The lack of clarification from the source of, the

confusion. shrouds Rule 60b in the same cloak of

mystery and uncertainty that obscured its eom-

-mon law antecessors, thereby frustrating thé very

purpose of its existence. This situation has pre-

railed for nearly twenty years, hopefully: it will

not persist mucli longer."

One result of the confusion over the meaning of

Rule 60(b) has been a conflict in circuits. The See-

ong Circuit observed as recently as April 2, 1971,

in a ease which is now pending before this Court,

that its construction of the relationship between Rules

60(b)(1) and 60(b)(6) was, in direct confliet with

‘that adopted in the Ninth Cireuit.® If the Fifth Cir-

cuit in the instant case had followed the Ninth Cir-

“Comment, supra note 7 at 441. Petitioners note that ‘they do

not necessarily agree with the methods of clarification of this

situation suggested by the commentator, but completely concur

with his conclusion that this Court should resolve the confusion

at the earliest possible moment.

® Compare United States v. Erdoss, 440 F.2d 1221, 1223 (2a Cir.

1971), pet. for cert. filed sub nom. Horvath v. United Slates, No.

71-2, June 30, 1971, with Patapoff v. Vollstedt’s, Inc., 267 F.2d

863 (9th Cir. 1959).

a : J

17

cuit rather than'the Second Circuit,” it would have

had to hold that petitioners’ motion could properly be

maintained under Rule 60(b)(6). However, on .the

‘authority of the Second Circuit construction .of these

rules, the -Fifth Circuit below held instead: that pe-

titioners’ motion could only: be consider ed under Rule

60(b)(1)."

This conflict in the federal courts has been particu-

larly apparent in those many instances in which a

party has moved under Rule 60(b) for relief from a

judgment more than one year after the.judgment was

entered, alleging a reason for relief which. has some

characteristics similar to those enumerated in Rule

60(b) (1), such as “‘mistake” or ‘“exeusable negtect,”’

~ but which has other characteristics which are sui

generis and therefore fall under Rule 60(b) (6). In

these circumstances, the Second and Fifth’ Circuits

would bar relief, bed many other federal courts have

granted relief? In the view of these latter courts,

The Fifth Circuit below expressly relied on the Second Cir-

~cuit’s opinion in Rinierit v. News Syndicate Co., 385 F.2d 818

(2d Cir. 1967), to support its holding that ‘‘the reason for re-

’ Hef set forth in Rule 60(b) (1) cannot be the basis for relief

under Rule 60(b)(6).’’ In United States v.’ Erdoes, supra, the

Second Circuit expressly reaffirmed its Rinieri ruling.

, The rationale of the Fifth Circuit in this case also conflicts

with the analysis of Rule 60(b)(6) contained in one of its own

prior opinions, Bros., Inc. v. W. E. Grace Mfg. Co., 320 F.2d

594, 609 (5th Cir. 1963). (‘While the circumstances Heflected by

all of these papers bear many of the earmarks of a mere plea

for reopening for newly discoyered evidence under (2) or fraud

under (3), it is something more’’), :

“E.g., L. P. Steuart, Inc. vy. Matthews, 117 U.S. App. D.C.

279, 329 F.2d 234, cert. denied, 379 U.S. 824 (1964); United

States v. Backofen, 176 F.2d 263 (3d Cir. 1949) ; Transport Pool

Div. of Cont. Leas., Ine. v. Joe Jones Truck. Co., Inc., 319 F. ”

Supp. 1308 (N.D. Ga. 1970) ; King v. Mordowanec, 46 F.R.D. 474

(D. R.I. 1969) ; Umted States v. Miller, 9 F.R.D. 506 (M.D. Pa:

' 1949).

(18

it. is only when the reason advanced falls completely

within the scope of those enumerated in Rule 60(b) (1)

that relief is barred as untimely, if the motion is filed

more than one‘year after judgment is entered: In

view of the over-all objective of the Federal Rules

to obtain at least some’ form of hearing on the merits

and of the basic purpose of Rule 60(b) in particular to

prevent injustice, we submit that the Ninth Cireuit

approach is clearly the better one, and we urge this

Court to adopt it. a

The District ‘Court, sustained by the Fifth Circuit,

asserted that petitioners’ request for reef here was

a “typical case of mistake and nothing more,’’? and

therefore that Rule 60(b) (6) was inapplicable. This

ruling is clearly incorrect. As indicated in our State-

ment, there is nothing whatever “typieal’? about the

situation in which petitioners became embroiled in this

ease. and much more than a mere ‘‘mistake’? was in-

volved. Petitioners’ trial counsel was required to

_ construe an ambiguous order of the Chief District

Judge’ who was replaced two days after he entered

that order by a newly-appointed associate District

Judge. The interpretation «* the order plaintiffs’

counsel adopted was so. plausible that both defense

counsel and the newly-appointed District Judge as-

signed to hear the case eoneurred in the interpreta-

tion. When the order was first entered, it was not

unreasonable to suppose that a District Judge might

require all members of a class to be named as plain-

tiffs when the class was alleged to eontain only 26

“members'—particularly when doing so might be a

13 FRCP Rule 23(a) requires that one of the prerequisites for

maintaining a class action is that the ‘‘class is so numerous that

joinder of all members is impracticable.’

gs 2 ig aR BUTS 5 SONA niin Wie Pee Soke aE TEES et ra NA: SAMUEL Ee 5 0S TERI OE

19°

convenient means to resolve the existing dispute be-

tween the parties over which members of the class

‘* could or could not be contacted directly by defend- .

- ants’ attorneys.

Later, the second District Judge permitted an amend-

ment to the. complaints wlittk showed that the class

in reality’ contained over 1,500 members, but never-

theless entered: an order dismissing the complaints

with prejudice for failure to comply With the earlier

order. He adhered to the order of dismissal despite

the assurances of plaintiffs’ counsel on oral argument

that ail cliss*members who had formally retained his

law firm were named as plaintiffs. Thus, plaintiffs’

counsel réasonably concluded that the District Judge

still felt that the order had not been complied with,

because that judge coristrued the order ‘to require the

naming as ean of at least some additional mem-

bers of the class (including the Florida companies)

Which had not yet been so named. Having immedi-

ately challenged the effect of this order as being

grossly unfair after dismissal was entered, and having

obtained no redress from the District Judge, plain-

tiffs appealed, but were met with a ruling by the Fifth

Circuit that thee only issue on appeal was whether the

trial court properly: dismissed under FRCP Rule 41(b)

for failure to abide by ‘an aioe that the trial court

felt. had not been compli ith. When that appeal

failed, and this Cowt d. fo certiorari, plaintiffs

were eed with ‘the question of whether there were

any other: conceivable means to obtain a trial on the

merits. of their $1,000,000 damage claim. |

Since Rule 60(b) then. appeared to be the proper

and only vehicle to correct a manifestly unfair and

inequitable result, counsel applied to the District Court

”

20

for relief under that rule, anticipating that the court

would apply the rule in the humane spirit its drafters

had envisioned" and other courts had chosen to do.”

Neither the District Court nor the Fifth Circuit did

so, thus reinforcing the conclusion expressed by an

experienced state trial judge that in interpreting Rule

60(b), ‘‘some courts have mistakenly adopted a rule

of strict construction contrary to the intent of the

authors of this ‘humane’ rule.’’ ** a

The District Court and the Fifth Cireuit also of-

fered dicta in transitu to the effect that relief under

Rule 60(b)(6) would have been denied even had it

been available. These dicta ednitot be‘reconciled with

holdings by many other courts that’ relief under Rule

60(b) (6) should be granted under circumstances even

less compelling than those here.” | For example, in

Pata poff v. Vollstedt’s, Inc., supra, a petition for m-

voluntary bankruptey was filed against Mrs. Patapoff.

‘Her attorney advised both her and her husband to

file an ‘‘Admission or Confession of Bankruptey,”’

14 Report of the Advisory Committee on the Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure, May, 1954, page 55. ‘‘We suggest that it may

be fairly concluded that the intent in adopting Rule 60(b) «was

to avoid the technicalities surrounding the ‘ancient’? common law

and equitable remedies * * *.’? Wham, Federal District Court

Rule 60(b): A Humane Rule Gone Wrong, 49 A.B.A. Journal 566

(1963). . ;

E.g., Barber vy. Turberville, 94 U.S. App. D.C. 335, 218 F.2d

34 (1954); Tazer v. Charles A. Krause Milling Co., 189 F.2d 242

(3d Cir. 1951) ; United States v. Williams, 109 F. Supp. 456 (W.D.

Ark. 1952). = > ;

16 Wham, supra note 14 at 567.

7 EB... Patapoff v. Vollstedt’s, Inc., supra; Kinnear Corp. v.

_ Crawford Door Sales Co., 49 F.R.D. 3 (D. S.C. 1970). See also

the other cases cited in note 12, supra. Cf. Robins v. Pitcairn, 3

Fed. Rules Serv. 601 (N.D. Ill. 1940).

>

ee

21.

assuring her that she and her husband ‘‘would be given

an opportunity to be heard before the referee for the

purpose of finally determining whether or not they

were in fact bankrupts.’’* This legal advice proved

incorrect, and Mrs. Patapoff was adjudicated a bank-

rupt on the basis of her ‘‘Admission.”’ She moved

to set the judgment aside under Rule 60(b). The trial

court denied the motion, but the Ninth Circuit reversed

and directed that the judgment be vacated: —

Rule 60(b) is clearly designed to permit a de-

sirable legal objective: that cases be’ tried: on

their merits. :

We need not here be concerned with whether the

mistake under which appellant acted was a mis- —

take of law, induced by the erroneous advice

given her by the attorney. If we assume that the

‘‘mistake, inadvertence, surprise, or excusable

neglect’’, listed in subdivision (1) of Rule 60(b)

does not ordinarily apply where the mistake, in:

~advertence, ete. relates to a mistake of law, yet

subdivision (6) provides that relief can be granted

for ‘‘any other reason justifying relief from the

’ operation of the judgment.” °[267 F.2d at 865.]

Although the Ninth Circuit had no difficulty granting

relief to Mrs. Patapoff on these relatively simple facts,

the Fifth Circuit would have us believe that the per- -

‘manent loss of a $1,000,000 damage claim under the

extraordinary circumstances of this case is not suffi-

ciently ‘‘exceptional’’ to warrant relief under Rule

’ 60(b) (6). | |

The District“ Court and the Fifth Circuit finally

held that relief under Rule 60(b)(1) was barred as

untimely. All parties concede that this holding is.cor-

rect if the one-year limitations period of Rule 60(b) (1)

began to run on the date of entry of the original order

22

_ dismissing with prejudice—July 13, 1967. The Dis-

’ trict Court conceded that the.second order dismissing

without prejudice ‘substantially’? modified the- first

order, but nevertheless ruled that limitations: began

to run from the date of the first order. © ae

Petitioners’ research has disclosed no cases dealing

with this question under Rule 60(b), other than. the

opinions below, and therefore it appears to be one

of first impression and of obvious importance in. this

Court. Petitioners did cite to the courts below several

cases holding that the time within which to appeal runs

from the date of entry-of a substantially modified order,

not the date of entry of the original order.“ But

‘the District Court stated simply that. these cases were

“not authoritative since they deal with the time limit

for appeals.’? We submit, that our construction is

more in keeping with the broad equitable purposes of

Rule 60(b), and therefore that relief is warranted un-

der Rule 60(b).(1).” - | _

CONCLUSION:

‘This Court has repeatedly emphasized that the Fed-

eral Rules are not a game—¢especially one designed to

prévent a case from being heard. It has said, ‘for

example: me

The Federal Rules reject the approach that-plead-

ing is 4 game of skill in which one misstep by

18 B.g., Federal Trade Comm’n vy. Colgate: Palmolive Co., 380

U.S. 374 (1965) ; Schramm v. Murdock-Salyer Chev. Co., 312 F.2d

249 (10th Cir. 1962).

- 19 Many cases have granted relief under Rule 60(b) (1) on less -

compelling facts than those here. E.g.; Griffin v. Kennedy, 120

U.S. App. D.C. 104, 344 F.2d 198 (1965) ; Russell v. Cunningham,

979 F.2d 797 (9th Cir. 1960); ef. Fleming v. Huebsch Laundry

,Corp., 159 F.2d 581 (7th’Cir. 1947). \

23

counsel may be ‘decisive of the outcome and accept

the principle that the purpose of [pleading is to

facilitate a proper decision on the merits. [Conley

v. Gibson, 355'U.S. 41, 48 (1957) ; accord: United

States Vv. Hougham, 364 U.S. 310, 317 (1960).]

- Even a cursory reading of the opinions below, in light

of the record facts, indicates that-these liberal rules

have been contorted.- ‘‘Though the case: has been

shunted back and forth between the trial and appel- °

late courts, it has not yet progressed beyond an ex-

ercise. in pleading niceties.’’ Markert v.. Swift & Co.,

173 F.2d 517, 518 .(2d Cir. 1949). Under these cir--_

cumstances, ‘‘plaintiffs cannot properly be denied 2 :

- portunity to present the case — believe they have.

Ibid. — ,

This is wees a case eheee plaintiffs have slept on their

rights and now belatedly seek assistance. ‘Plaintiffs .

have vigorously and unceasingly been - attempting to

secure a trial on the merits of their claims for more

than five years, by:

—amending their complaints,

. —seeking reconsideration of or ‘der s at the trial cunt

‘level,

—seeking review by w ay of ‘writ of pr ohibition and

mandamus,

—appealing;

—requesting rehearings, .

' —requesting certiorari, and

-—moving to amend the. judgment.

- If this Court denies certiorari, ‘plaintiffs? final oppor-

tunity to litigate their $1,000,000 damage claim on the °

merits will have been extinguished.

24

Accordingly, this Court should grant certiorari, re-

verse the opinion and judgment of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, and remand

this ease to that court with directions’ to order the

District Court to amend its judgment to permit peti-

tioners to file amended complaints in the District

Court. ) . :

Respectfully submitted,

' B. Barrett PrerryMan, JR.

Peter F. Rovsseior

815 Connecticut Avenue

Washington, D. C. 20006 |

Grorcr P. Bowe

901 Washington Avenue |

St. Louis, Missouri 63178-

SAMUEL J. POWERS, Jr.

First Federal . Building

- Miami, Florida 33132

“Attorneys for Petitioners

fs os

- . P

vy, «

*

% ,

% . eo \

\:

fone, . e ~

. ¥

oe

>

se .

bad ,

¥ ¢ o

‘ Oa, .

© - €

i, _

” . ss

.

ae .

* «

.

> & :

bad ; - :

.

o)

d .

* .

. .

2

=

~¥ of fi

«

a

oe ° 5

%

° ; 6

si .

a e- - —a — — —— - - : a ne ee nen nee ote

. .

‘ oe “s .

% ‘ 4

-

2 »

- -

» .

= ~ _>

. la . od

.

. . .

; .

.

.

: .

7 eer - :

. e . .

* # .

4 . =

ts .

a ° .

; : : *

*, ’ .

a . :

a 2

. -

< a ‘

} Ye . a

. °. .

e > ¢

> ’ « "

j eee 4 :

i . : : :

. . ~ .

bad . P|

: . ‘$e

z t. Pe oH .

. s ‘

. . . < .

, =. .

. * - - . .

, . . . : .

Py rt gt ie . :

7 . ° e

. e

. a

‘ . ‘ <D ’

? .

Paes i. ‘

’ . . ie . «

is .

ake . .

, = .

' ‘i :

7 : he

. fe 4 ° .

id . . e ‘ E

a . os a

-

as APPENDIX A

Order

Filed Nov. 19, 1969.

(Tifle Omitted.)

This Cause is before the Court on the Joint Motion of .

Plaintiffs and Class Members. for Relief of Judgments

pursuant to Rule 60(b)(6) of the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure, The Court has heard argument of cotinsel

and received: Supplemental Memoranda of -Law. as re-

quested by the Court.

~The judg rent. that Plaintiffs seek relief ‘from is an

Order dismissing the Complaint dated July 12, 1967. The

Complaint was dismissed pursuant to Rule 41(b) for’

failure to comply with an order dated September 14, 1966.

The September Order was an attempt by this Court to

perform a ‘housekeeping’? operation with a view to de-|

termining whether the action was maintainable as a class

action pursuant to Rule 23, as Amended. The July Order

explicitly found that Plaintiffs had failed to ae, with

the September Order.

On appeal the Fifth Cireuit reversed that part of the

July Order that dismissed the cause with prejudice but

vffirmed as to the correctiess of the dismissal. Transit

Casualty.Company, et al. v. Security Trust Company, et al.

396 F.2d 808 (5th | Cir. 1968). Rehearing was denied,

with a Per Curiam opinion. 399 F.2d 665 (5th Cir. 1968).

Therefore the case stands dismissed without the Court

ver having had the opportunity to decide the maintain-

vbility of this suit as a class action.

. Plaintiffs now: seek to have the case reopened on the

otis that they misunderstood the import of the Sep-

ember Order. The misunderst anding arose from the use’

f the terms ‘‘retained’’ and ‘‘represented.?’ However,

f paragr aph (1) of the September Order directing Plain.

2a

tiffs to amend their Complaints is read in conjunction with

the paragraph immediately before it, it becomes difficult

to envision how Plaintiffs could have been confused. “The

Court, for the purpose of this motion, will accept without

so finding, that Plaintiffs were indeed confused.

This motion was brought under Rule 60(b)(6) on the

ground of ‘‘other reasons justifying relief.’’ The cases

and legislative history hold that Rule 60(b)(6) is ‘‘mu-

tually exclusive’? of the other subdivisions of Rule 60(b) —

* andin particular Rule 60(b) (1). Renieri [sie] v. News Syn-

dieate Co., 385 F.2d 818 (2nd Cir. 1967). However, it seems

that some Courts have invoked the broad equitable power

of Rule 60(b)(6) so ‘as to prevent ‘‘extreme hardship

or injustice.’ Barron & Holtzoff (Wright Edition § 1330,

p. 426. The situation here is not the type that. justifies

such an extreme exercise of diseretion. /

- If Plaintiffs are entitled to relief it must come by virtue

of Rule 60(b)(1). The pleadings indieate the typical case

of mistake and nothing more. There is no allegation that

the misunderstanding was created by either the Court, the

Defendants or some other cause. It is purely and simply

the mistake of Plaintiffs.

Rule 60(b)(1) must ‘he brought within a reasonable time

not to exceed one year from the date of the order from

which relief is sought. Plaintiff feels that the time should

run from the Order on Mandate dated September 10, 1968.

It is asserted that the time runs from a substantive change

in the order. The cases cited by Plaintiffs are not au-

thoritative since they deal with the time limit for appeals.

In fact, the case most strenuously urged by Plaintiff argues

to the contrary result. Federal Trade Commission v. Min-

neapolis-Honeywell Regulater Company, 344 U.S. 206

(1952). .The decision of the ‘Fifth Circuit in the present

case did cause a substantive change in that it reversed

the dismissal ‘‘with préjudice.’? However, the aspect of

the order that was so vitally important to Plaintiffs was

ae

the dismissal itself. The complaint remained dismissed.

As far as Plaintiffs stood they remained as they were at

the time of the July Dismissal Order. It cannot be said

that in context this was a substantial modification. The

Court is compelled’ to the conclusion that it is the July

Dismissal Order that Plaintiff seeks relief from and the

time limit must run’ from that date unaffected by . the

~ Order on Mandate.

A. reasonable time is usually eonatr aoa as the time al-

lowed for appeal. McDowell v. Celebrezze, 310 F.2d, 43 (5th

Cir. 1962); 7 Moores [sie] Federal Practice, Para. 60. 22[3]

(2nd ed. 1955). However, the prosecution of ‘an appeal

does not bar the siication to the District Court for .

‘relief pursuant to Rule 60(b). Ferrell v. Trailmobile, Inc.,

223 F.2d 697 (Sth Cir. 1955). Plaintiff should have sought

relief in this Court within‘ one year of the Order of July

12, 1967. An appeal does not toll the one year time limit.

Although the Petition for Rehearing had not been denied,

the decision of the Fifth Cireuit had been rendered leav-

- ing sufficient time to file the motion here under considera-

‘tion which was filed July 1, 1969. It is therefore

Ordered and Adjudged that Plaintiffs’ Motion for Relief —

Pursuant to Rule 60(b)(6) be treated as a motion pur-

suant to 60(b)(1) and as such be denied as being un-

timely filed.

Done and Ordered at Miami, Florida this 18th day of ©

November, 1969. i

C. Ciype ATKINS,

United States District Judge.

3

4a

APPENDIX.B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS.

FIFTH CIRCUIT

Nos. 29145, 29146

TRANSIT CASUALTY COMPANY, ‘ETC., ET AL.,

Plaintiff s-A ppellants,

‘ V.

Security Trust ‘CoMPANY, ETC., ET AL.,

Defendants-A ppellees.

April‘ 1, 1971

Before Bett, Dyer and Roney, Cireuit Judges.

Roney, Cireuit Judge:

This is an appeal from an order of the District Godin

denying motions of plaintiffs for relief under Rule 60(b)

of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. *Finding no error

‘in the District Court’s holding that: the motions were not

timely filed, we affirm.

Although the point for review is narrow, some eulogy

may be appropriate, inasmuch as our decision will ap-

parently deal a fatal blow to a cause which set forth

over four years ago to recover damages in excess of

41,000,000, haS thrice visited this Court, knocked once on

the door of the United States Supreme Court, had the -

‘attention of-two experienced trial judges, and has not once

been brought to court on the merits.

I.

In January, 1966, Transit Casualty Company, a Mis- -

Pe ] ’ : b]

souri corporation, and. Charter National Insurance Com-

pany, an Arkansas corporation, filed two class actions

seeking to recover trust funds which were allegedly dis-

sipated by defendant, Security Trust Company, a on

5a

corporation, through acts of negligence and constructive .

fraud in the management and operation of another Florida

corporation, McKinley and Company. Defendant Security

was executor and trustee of the estate of John E. Me-

Kinley, Jr., deceased, and as such was sole stockholder

of McKinley and Company.'. The thrust of the claim con-

cerned alleged misappropriation of insurance premium

trust funds. The complaints were filed -for plaintiffs’ own

use and for the use of some twenty-four other named in-

surance companies, who were alleged to constitute a class.

On September 14, 1966, the District Court: ordered. the

plaintiffs to ‘amend their complaints so as to include

as parties plaintiff all members of the alleged class’ who

havé retained counsel for the plaintiffs to represent them

in these two eases.’?? This Order has een the source

of plaintiffs’? problems throughout: this case.

Tnitially troubled by the September Order, plaintiffs

sought to set it aside by an application ‘to this Court

‘for a writ in the nature of prohibition and mandamus,

whieh was denied on the ground that the District, Court’s

-

* McKinley and Company was in state court receivership. The

receiver and deputy receiver were named defendants in the suit.

2In June, 1966, defendant’s attorney wrote letters to the insur-

ance companies who were named plaintiffs as members of the celass..

The letters*stated that the defendant a information that some

members of the class had been named. withbut their knowledge and

consent, and inquired whether the respective company had given

its consent to be so named, Plaintiffs’ counsel, thereupon, sent a

telegram to defendant’s attorneys requesting them to stop com-

municating ‘‘with clients represented by their frm” in the law-

suit. The defendant’s attorneys responded that they would do

so if plaintiffs’ attorneys would show them written authorizations

from the.class members or give assurances of: representation: suf-

ficient to permit discovery from the corporate officials without

service of a subpoena.. The plaintiffs then. filed a motion to enjoin

and prohibit the defendant’s attorneys from communicating with

plaintiffs represented by plaintiffs’ eovinsel. It was in this factual

setting that the Order of September 14, 1966, was entered.

@

6a

ruling was merely a ‘housekeeping’? order, and was not

subject to review at that stage of the proceeding. Transit

Casualty Co. v. Atkins, 372 F.2d 441 (5th Cir. 1967). The

_ plaintiffs then filed amended complaints naming a number

of additional plaintiffs. On. March 22, 1967, on ‘defend-

ant’s motion the Court entered another order requiring

the plaintiffs and their counsel to comply with the Court’s

September Order within 20 days. After extending the

time an additional 30 days..by stipulation, the defendant

fled a motion to dismiss for failure to comply. with the

Order, on the ground that the attorneys for .plaintiffs

had claimed to represent three Florida corporations and

they were not joined as plaintiffs. On July 13, 1967, the

District Court dismissed the’comp aints with prejudice find-

ing that plaintiffs had not complied with the Order of

September 14, 1966. The dismissal was affirmed on appeal, .

with the modification that it be without prejudice. Transit

Casualty Co. v. Seeurity Trust Co., 396 F.2d 803 (5th Cir.

1968), reh. den. 399 F.2d: 665 (1968), cert. den. 393 U.S.

1024, 89 S.Ct. 685, 21 L.Ed. 568 (1969). *Pursuant to the

mandate, the District Court entered an order dismissing

the cases without prejudice on September 10, 1968.

IT.

On April 24, 1969, the plaintiffs served motions** for

relief under Rule 60(b)(6), F.R.Civ.P., asking the court

to vacate its dismissal without prejudice and re-enter the

judgments: with leave to file amended complaints.* The

* ‘ .

-% Although motions: were filed in ‘each ease, for the sake of

clarity they will be discussed hereafter as a single motion and our

discussion is equally applicable to both Cases. } ‘

2 The records of the District Court show the motion as being

filed on July 1, 1969, and the District Court in its Order denying

the motion recognized that date as the filing date. The plaintiffs

contend that the date is erroneous and point to the date of service,

April 24, 1969, as being correct. The discrepancy in the dates is

immaterial to our decision in this nvatter. . ;

Ta 7

motion was based on an alleged misunderstanding of the -

import. of the Order of September, 1966, with respect to

the phrase ‘‘to include as parties plaintiff all members -

‘of the alleged class who have retained ecouhsel for the

- plaintiffs to. represent them in these two cases.’’ The

plaintiffs contend that the Order had actually been com-

plied with at the time that the court dismissed the case

for lack of compliance, that the court would not have

entered the dismissal had it known the true facts con-

tained in the. record, and that it should relieve the plain-

tiffs from the error by granting them leave to file amended

pleadings and thus further maintain this action.

_ This appeal deals exclusively with the alleged error -

of the District Court in dismissing the- motion as being ney

untimely.

IIT. -

The first question is thé determination of the date from

which to measure the timeliness of plaintiffs’ motion.

The original order of dismissal was entered on July 12,

1967. Clearly the time for relieving the plaintiffs from

that dismissal was the date of its entry, unless some rule

. of law or procedure extended the time.

[1-4] Aldsongh plaintiffs appealed bieid: the order of

_ dismissal, such appeal does not toll ‘the time for making

a 60(b) motion. This is because such motion can be made

even ‘though an appeal . has been taken and is pending.

Corn v. Guam Coral Co., 318 F.2d 622 (9th Cir. 1963);

Ferrell v. Trailmobile, Ine., 223 F.2d 697 (5th Cir. 1955) ;

7 Moore, Federal Practica, § 60.28[2] (2d Ed. 1970). - If

the appeal results in a substantive change, then the time’

would run from the substantially modified order entered

on mandate of the appellate court. Federal Trade Com-

mission v. Minneapolis- Honeywell Co., 344 U.S. 206, 73

S.Ct. 245, 97 L.Ed. 245 (1952). The decision of our Court

on the appeal did not cause a substantive change in. that

/ . -e

8a

the dismissal was merely: changed to be without prejudice.

As far as this suit was concerned, after-the entry of the

order on the mandate on September 10, 1968, the plaintiffs

stood in the exact position as they did on July 12, 1967.

’ As far as their claim was concerned, the appeal determined

‘that the dismissal would not act as a bar to another suit:

in this or another forum, but as to pursuing the cause of

‘netion in this suit, the complaint. remained ‘dismissed.

Changing a dismissal with prejudice to a dismissal with-

eut prejudice is not such a ‘substantial substantive change

as to renew the right of plaintiffs to bring a motion for.

reliefunder Rule 60(b), F.R.Civ.P., or extend their: time

for filing such a motion, : ates

The Distri Court correctly held that the time for

bringing {He 60(b) motion for relief from the diSmissal

of the Complaint began on July 12, 1967.

IV.

* The District Court treated plaintiffs’ motion as having

been, brought under Rule ‘60(b) (1). As such it was clearly

‘ untimely because the rule specifically provides that such

motions must be made *‘not more than one year after the

judgment, order or proceeding was entered or taken.’’

Even using plaintiffs’ date of service of April 24,1969,

the motion was filed over a year and nine months after

July .12, 1967, and could not bé considered by the. court

under Rule 60(b)(1). +. ,

.

V. Fan

The final question then is whether the District Court

properly treated the motion as being brought under Rule -

60(b)(1) rather than. under 60(b}(6) as designated by .

_plaintiffs. The difference could be significant because

while one year absolutely bars the, 60(b)(1) motion, the

60(b)(6) motion can be made within a rehsonable time,

which plaintiffs argue could extend more than one year.

‘

be

9a

‘Rule 60(b), Federal Rules’ of Civil Procedure, provides

as follows: ; ;

‘‘Mistakes; Inadvertence; Psvceate Neglect; Newly -

Discovered Evidence; Fraud, etc. On motion and upon

such terms as are just, the court may relieve a party

or: his legal representative from a final judgment,

order, or proceeding for the following reasons: (1)

mistake, inadvertence, surprise, or excusable neglect;

* * * or (6) any other reason justifying relief from

the operation of the judgment. The motion shall be

made within a reasonable time, and for reasons (1),

_ (2) and (3) not more-than one year after the. judg- -

ment, order, or proceeding was entered or taken. A

. motion: under this subdivision (b) does not affect the

finality of a judgment or suspehd its operation. * * * ”

‘ [5] The motion was hela on .an allered misunder-

standing of the import of the Order of September 14, |

1966, with respect to the phrase ‘‘all members of the al-

leged class who have retained counsel ‘for the: plaintiffs

to represent them in these two cases.’’ .The misinder-

standing results from the words ‘‘retained’’ and ‘‘repre-

sent.’? Although the plaintiffs have continuously stated

that they represent all members of the class, ineluding the

Florida companies, which were not joined, they allege -

that they were retained only by the original plaintiffs.

Therefore, they’ contend,. the Order of September, 1966,

was complied with since all members of. the class who,

retained them were joined as plaintiffs, and thus the

dismissal . for failure to comply with the Order ‘was er-

roneous. :

We agree with the District Court that this is a typical

ease of mistake and nothing more. ‘‘Mistake,’’ which as

a common word should be given its common meaning,

means to misunderstand the meaning or intention of some-

thing, or to’ misinterpret it. The misunderstanding as *

to the distinction between ‘‘retained’’ .and ‘‘represented’’

NAD AE OLE RN EE HE ORE

10a ee :

falls squarely within the definition of “mistake.” 4 Gila

River Raneh, Ine. v. United States, 868 Wd 854 (9th

Cir. TGS), se

It makes no difference wiathaae the ease way dismissed

beeause Jthe plaintiffs mistakenly thought they rep com-

plied with 4he Order, when in facet they had not, « * he-

Tenuse the eourt mistakenly thought “they had aie ‘sae

plied with the Order, when in faet they had. The ground ‘

“for relief, i it were toe be granted, would be that) pro-,

vided for by ‘tmistake’? in Rule GO(b) (1).

“ VI.

16] Rule Gob) (1) wd Rule GO(D) (6) are not part

pass and are mutually exclusive, Riniert v. News. Syndi-

eate Co. 38d Fi2d SIS (2d “Cir. 1967): 7 Moore, Federal

Practiee, © 60.2711] (2d Md. 1970). The reason for -relief:

set forth in Rule 60(b)(1) eannot be the basis for relief

under Rule 60(b) (6); .

- Neverthdless, the Distriet Court further considered

whether dank othersefAsons brought plaintiffs within the

-broad equitaMe power of Rule GO(b)(6), whieh could be

invoked to prevent extreme hardship or injustice. Barron

& Holtzo? (Wright dition) § 1330, p. 426 (1 58). The

Court determined that ‘the situation here is not the

type th: at justifies such an extreme exereise of diseretion.’

On review of the reeord reveals no other: reasons which.

would compel the court to exere ise its dixeretion in: grant-

ing relief or would show any abuse of discretion in denyi ing

relief.

,

Affirmed. én . - -

4 Alth ough contending that these cireamstances were smitten

other than ‘‘mistake."’ the plaintiffs’ brief continually referred

to the matter in terms of mistake. Thus, they used the following

phrases ** mistaken conclusion of fhe counsel,’’ ‘‘mistakenly be-

li eved by counsel,’’ ‘plaintiffs’ counsel mistakenly maintained, “

‘mistaken’ representation by ‘counsel,”’ ‘plaintiffs’ counsel” mis-

taken! y informed the court’ that the September order required

soinder of all members of the class.”’ The synonyms. ‘‘misunder-

‘standing’ ‘ and ‘‘misinterpretation’’ were also regularly used in

the brief.

Bi,

Aint De GI 000 OS PRE DB VOM

as

Ha irs cancer

APPENDIX C

— IN THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

Nos. 29145 and 29146

<

RANSIT Casuaury Company, ETC, ET Alu,

‘ oe 3 Plaintifs Ajipellants,

|

V.

‘Secunrry ase Comrany, ETC., ET Al.., ;

_ De fe ndants- A Lppellces.

.

Appeals from the United’ States, District Court for the

Southern insinict of: Mlorida

On Peririon ror’ ReENEARING AND PHTITION FOR.

Renearina En Banc _ ‘

(Opinion Apr. 1, 1971, 5 Cir., 1971, ——, F.2d = ae

(May 28, 1971)

Before Ber LL, Drex and Roney, Circuit Judges.

Per Curtam: The Petition. for Rehearing is Denrep

and no member of this panel nor’ Judge in regular active

service on the Court having requested that the Court be

polled on rehearing en bane, (Rule 35 Fedéral Rules of

‘Appellate Procedure; Local Fifth Circuit Rule 12). the

Petition for Rehearing. En Bane is Denmp. -’

‘

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.