Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Irving v. United States

Supreme Court brief1971

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Sa l= “WIR tp Supreme @oart, @.%

ab insa” - w LITE Lg uU. & FILED

FEB 22 19m

IN THE | E. ROBERT SEAVER, OLERK

@

United States Supreme Court

OCTOBER TERM, 1970

No. 9

K. K. IRVING,

Petitioner,

vs

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent,

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

: UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

: FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

ERLE A. KIGHTLINGER

HOWARD J. DeTRUDE, JR.

ROBERT A. GARELICK,

KIGHTLINGER YOUNG GRAY

and HUDSON

Sixth Floor First Federal Building

11 North Pennsylvania Street

Indianapolis, Indiana 46204

Counsel for Petitioner

Central Publishing Company, Inc., Indianapolis, Ind.

INDEX

Page

Opinions Below ....... acne cVakeaas (rekw ka eeeers 2

Sr Er ree ree ey re seer 2

ements PINE i obo dais ics sons awe Par ee nee 2

Statutes and Federal Rules Involved ................ 3

RIL ON i obo 5nd oe Was es edn cuxdaauiciene 4

Reasons for Granting the Writ ........... se teee ees 8

CII peda enkeecuaeaees Sie saba ks 3 RESO 23

Appendix

A. Opinion and Judgments Below ............... la

B. Sample Cases Where Hearings Were Granted .. 41a

LIST OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Cases

Page

Brady v. U. S., —— U. 8. ——, 25 L. Ed. 2d 747, 758 ... 10

Brown v. Beto, 377 F. 2d 950 (5th Cir., 1967) ........ . 10

Glasser v. United States, 375 U.S. 60, 85, 2 S. Ct.

PEs hy TO I OD ips 5 hk ka opr hs bss naa os cabs 21

Little v. United States, 331 F. 2d 287 (8th Cir., 1964) ... 18

Machobroda v. United States, 368 U. S. 487, 493, 7 L.Ed.

a 475, 476, G2 BS. Ch. S10 iii. cide cui wie ies vei owsioe 11

Palmer v. U.S., 339 F. 2d 861 (10th Cir., 1956) ....... 18

Rabinowitz, et al v. U. S., 366 F. 2d 34 (Sth Cir. 1966) .. 21

Sanders v. U. S., 415 F. 2d 621 (5th Cir., 1969) ........ 18

Smith v. Texas, 311 U.S. 128, 136, 61 S. Ct. 169, 165,

ey Be Se kde Km cda Ha be AA AN sa kaeeabie's 21

Smith v. U. S., 223 F. 2d 750 (5th Cir., 1955) .......... 15

Smith v. U. S., 360 U. S. 1, 17-18, 3 L.Ed. 2d 1041, 1953

(Separate Opinion) .............. ce eee ee eee eee 15

Thiel v. Southern Pacific Co., 328 U.S. 217, 220, 66

S. Ct. 984, 985, 90 L.Ed. 1181 (1946) ................ 21

Townsend v. Burke, 334 U.S. 735, 92 L.Ed. 1690

GUE oie RAS gk he oa Paha eA AANA Sada ber ecneeds 13

United States v. Cashin, 281 F. 2d 699 (2nd Cir., 1960) .. 18

United States v. Central Rubber Co., 74 F. Supp. 368

6 8 RR ON: ere ree rete er or er 10

SP GER TIAESID al

LIST OF AUTHORITIES CITED—Continued

Cases—Continued

Page

United States v. Duke, 263 F. Supp. 828 (S.D. Ind.

wpscign OL EEE To FETT RR te Sete RRR aS 23

- United States v. Greenberg, 30 F.R.D. 164 (D.C. N.Y.,

sides SEE OL TEE OTe RE ne Ee 18

United States v. Hughes, 195 F. Supp. 795 (S.D. N.Y.,

(ating, REE ETE Pe OTR PE OTE OPIOID Tt) 18

United States v. Reonette, 291 F. Supp. 461, 463 (S.D.

ade! etn RR Te ER TT Tee TEP nn 22

U.S. v. Myers, 374 F. 24 707 (34d Cir., WRF 14

U.S. v. Rundel, 219 F. Supp. 538 i) MES ET Eee 14

U.S. v. Solomon, 442 F. 24.1110 (7th Cir., 1970) ...... 15

Whitus v. Georgia, ( 1967), 385 U.S. 545, 550, 17 L.Ed.

“scsthanes, Seen HECTOR Oars ae 22

Witcher v. Peyton, 405 F. 2d 725 (4th Cir., 1969) ...... 22

Statutes and Federal Rules

Be A SII ONN ick. dng eurdcbodcemecabdnn ddcocai 3

BP SN EE 050 hnwench baad dd ebewu as oc yal 2

6(b)(2), Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure ......... 6

Miscellaneous

1967 Judicial Conference Report, 42 F.R.D. 353 (1967) . 20

Black’s Law Dictionary, 4th Ed., p. 1353

iii

CO

IN THE

United States Supreme Court

OCTOBER TERM, 1970

No.

K. K. IRVING,

Petitioner,

vs

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent,

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

Petitioner prays that a Writ of Certiorari issue to re-

view the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Seventh Circuit entered in the case of United States

of America v. Fred G. Amick, et al.* on January 22, 1971.

* The appellants in the above entitled case other than Mr. K.

K. Irving were Fred G. Amick, Francis L. Broderick, William

M. Dowling, David R. Mayne, Gilbert E. McQuinn, H. R. Nash,

Walter C. Olsen, Leon O. Riggs, Van C. Volmer, Harold L.

Wymer, Indiana Investor & Business News, Inc., and Securi-

ties Services, Inc. Each appellant’s case was scparatel oo

eted but consolidated for purposes of filing an a ix and

oral argumeut only. This Petition for Writ of eriforart is

for Kenneth K. Irving only, all other Appellants below hav-

ing requested time to file a petition for a rehearing in the

Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit.

1

»

CITATIONS TO OPINIONS BELOW

Judgment without opinion of the United States District

Court for the Southern District of Indiana, Indianapolis

Division, was entered following Petitioner’s plea of nolo

contendere on July 28, 1967. The opinion of the United

States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Cirenit affirming

judgment is reported in — F. 2d — and is reprinted in

Appendix A, p. la.

JURISDICTION

The judgme, | of the Circuit Court of Appeals was en-

tered on January 22, 1971, reprinted in Appendix A, p. 1a.

The jurisdiction of the Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

Section 1254 (1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Was Petitioner denied due process of law when the

Trial Court and United States Attorney implied len-

iency in exchange for a plea of nolo contendere imme-

diately prior to the commencement of the trial?

2. Was Petitioner denied due process of law when the

sentence imposed was based upon erroneous and mis-

leading information supplied by the United States At-

torney to the Court cx parte?

3. Does a person commit a separate crime each time he

uses the U. S. Mail in violation of 15 U.S.C. § 77q(a)

(Section 17 of the Securities Act of 1933), or is the

use of tiie U. S. Mail necessary only to invoke Federal

jurisdiction?

4. Whether Petitioner was entitled to an evidentiary hear-

ing upon a prima facie showing that the grand jury

3 |

3

that indicted him was improperly drawn, constituted

and arrayed so as not to represent a cross section of

the community.

Whether the grand jury that indicted PEtitioner was

illegally and unconstitutionally summoned, drawn and

arrayed in that a representative cross section of the

community was not obtained.

STATUTES AND FEDERAL RULES INVOLVED

15 U.S.C. ¢ 77q(a)

**(a) It shall be unlawful for any person in the offer

or sale of any securities by the use of any means or in-

struments of transportation or communication in inter-

state commerce or by the use of the mails, direetly or

indirectly—

‘“*(1) to employ any device, scheme or artifice to

dcfraud, cr

‘*(2) to obtain money or property by means of any

untrue statement of a material fact or any omission

to state a material fact necessary in order to make

the statements made, in the light of the circumstances

under which they were made, not misleading, or

‘*(3) to engage in any transaction, practice, or

course of business which operates or would operate

as a fraud or deceit upon the purchaser.’’

18 U.S.C. 1861 (prior to 1968 Amendment)

Any citizen of the United States who has attained

the age of 21 years and who has resided for a period

of one year within the judicial district, is competent to

serve as a grand or petit juror unless:

(1) He has been convicted in a State or Federal court

of record of a crime punishable by imprisonment

ated |

4

for more than one year and his civil rights have

not been restored by pardon or amnesty.

(2) He is unable to read, write, speak and understand

the English language.

(3) He is incapable, by reason of mental or physical

infirmities.

3. Rule 6(b) (2) Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure

**(2) Motion to Dismiss. A motion to dismiss the in-

dictment may be based on objections to the array or

on the lack of legal qualification of an individual juror,

if not previously determined upon challenge. An in-

dictment shall not be dismissed on the ground that one

or more members of the grand jury were not legally

qualified if it appears from the record kept pursuant

to subdivision (c) of this rule that 12 or more jurors,

after deducting the number not legally qualified, con-

curred in finding the indictment.’’

4. United States Constitution, Amendment 5

‘*No person shall be held to answer for a capital, or

otherwise infamous crime, unless on a presentment or

indictment of a Grand Jury, except in cases arising in

the land or naval forees, or in the Militia, whea in

actual service in time of war or public danger; nor

shall any person be subject for the same offense to

be twice put in jeopardy of life or limb; nor shall be

compelled in any criminal case to be a witness against

himself, nor be deprived of life, liberty, or property,

without due process of law; nor shall private property

be taken for public use, without just compensation.’’

STATEMENT OF FACTS

On June 24, 1966, Petitioner, Kenneth K. Irving, was

indicted for violation of the Securities and Exchange Act

of 1933, 15 U.S.C. 77q(a). The indictment was in 41 counts;

5

38 counts charged specific violations of 15 U.S.C. 77q(a),

1 count charged violation of 77q(b), 1 count charged vio-

lation of 77e(a)(2), and 1 count charged conspiracy. The

indictment arose out of a public stock issue offered in the

State of Indiana by Air & Space Underwriters, Ine. to

raise sufficient capital to produce and distribute gyro-

planes.

This entire transaction began in 1959 when Umbaugh

Aircraft Corporation, a Florida corporation, was attempt-

ing to manufacture and sell gyroplanes. The Petitioner

purchased a franchise from Umbaugh to distribute the

gyroplanes in Indiana. The cost of the franchise was

$70,000.00. Umbaugh began getiing into financial diffi-

culties and the various franchise holders, including Peti-

tioner, paid additional funds to Umbaugh. After the

additional contributions were made, Umbaugh still did not

have sufficient capital and, in 1962, a petition for involnn-

tary bankruptey was filed in the Florida District Court.

While the Umbaugh bankruptey was pending, Air & Space

Underwriters, Inc. was formed by Petitioner and others

tor the purpose of salvaging the Umbaugh company and

to britg a new industry to Indiana. In 1963, Air & Space

Underwriters, Inc. submitted a plan of reorganization to

the Florida District Court. After a hearing the Florida

District Court approved the plan of reorganization. The

record in the Florida bankruptey proceeding shows that

included in the plan of reorganization was the sale of stock

by an intra-state public offering.

Air & Space Underwriters, Inc. began the public stock

offering which continued until June of 1965 when a civil

action was commenced entitled Securities & Exchange

Commission v. Robert S. Chappel, et al., Cause No. IP65-

C-279. The trial judge who tried this case heard the civil

BSE ee be OETKER *,

6

action and, on June 12, 1965, enjoined Air & Space Under-

writers, Inc. from selling stock.

On June 24, 1966, a grand jury indictment was returned

against Petitioner and others, which indictments charged

criminal violation for all acts complained of in the civil

action. Petitioner filed a motion, under Rule 6(b) (2)

F.R.C.P., challenging the array of the grand jury. The

motion raised the question of whether the grand jury was

constitutionally constituted because of the practice of us-

ing the ‘‘key man’’ system for choosing grand jurors. With

the motion, Petitioner filed 79 affidavits taken from the

key men as to the source of their recommendations of pros-

pective jurors ultimately used by the Clerk. These affi-

davits demonstrated that a true and representative cross

section of prospective jurors of the district could not be

obtained by the method employed. The trial court sum-

marily denied this motion.

The case was called for trial on May 31, 1967. Petitioner

appeared, with counsel, ready for trial. The trial did not

start on May 31st. Rather, the day was spent in chambers

conferring with the Court on various aspects of the case.

During this conference, the Court advised the parties that

he had heard the evidence in the civil case and that it ap-

peared to him that Petitioner was acting in good faith in

attempting to bring new industries to Muncie, Indiana. He

further advised that if the Petitioner desired, he would

accept a plea of nolo contendere. The United States At-

torney had no objection to this and indicated that it would

not make any recommendation to the Court concerning this

defendant. The next day, Petitioner changed his plea to

nolo contendere on 21 of the 42 counts of the indictment.

At this time the parties, including the Court, agreed that

the Court would make his finding on the plea by con-

sidering only the evidence in the civil action and Petition-

a

er’s statements to the Securities & Exchange Commission.

Having heard this agreement, Petitioner departed and did

not participate in the trial that began against the remain-

ing defendants.

The jury trying the remaining defendants found them

guilty on various counts. The case was continued until

July 28th which was to be the sentencing hearing. Peti-

tioner appeared for the sentencing with counsel. Previous-

ly, Petitioner had filed 36 affidavits attesting to his good

character. The trial judge first asked each defendant what

he had to say before imposing sentence. When Mr. Irving

stepped before the Court, it was obvious something had

happened between the conference of May 31st and July

28th. The Court accused Petitioner of lying to the Florida

District Court, specifically referring to the Petitioner tel]-

ing the Florida Court that there would be no publie stock

offering. Further, the Court accused Petitioner of mak-

ing a profit on the transaction; he accused the Petitioney

of lying to the Florida Court in representing that he had

assets of $1,000,000.00, and he told Petitioner that the

plan of reorganization was steeped in fraud. While the

Conrt was making these various accusations, he was re-

feering to documents that neither Petitioner nor. his coun-

sel had seen. While Petitioner was attempting to answer

the accusations, the Court turned to the Assistant United

States Attorney and said, *‘you made a mistake in these

figures.’’ At this point, it became clear that the United

States Attorney had supplied the Court with material to

be used in fixing the penalty. No one knew what all was

furnished to the Court by the United States Attorney.

Petitioner and his attorney only knew that the accusa-

_tions made by the Court to Petitioner were erroneous.

After all the defendants had completed their statements to

s]

-

%

3

|

3

:

:

x

EET REA MBS: RS Minds See OU i,

dt HO Beas hocess

Bis en iteipairds

§

the Court, the sentences were imposed and Petitioner, who

had entered a plea of nole contendere, received the harsh-

est sentence of all. In fact, of all the defendants who pled

guilty or nolo contendere, only Petitioner and two

others received an executed sentence.

An appeal was commenced to the Seventh Cireuit Court

of Appeals and the trial court was affirmed.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

OF CERTIORARI

I

THE PETITIONER WAS DENIED DUE PROCESS

OF LAW WHEN THE TRIAL COURT AND UNITED

STATES ATTORNEY IMPLIED LENIENCY IN EX-

CiANGE FOR A PLEA OF NOLO CONTENDERE IM-

MEDIATELY PRIOR TO THE COMMENCEMENT OF

THE TRIAL.

The events that transpired during the conference when

the trial court implied leniency in exchange for a plea of

nolo contendere coupled with the sentence imposed renders

the entire proceeding unconstitutional.

The trial of the cause was to commence May 31, 1967,

at which time Petitioner appeared, with counsel, ready

to proceed. Trial did not commence but, rather, a confer-

ence was held wherein the Court discussed various aspects

of the case. The record of this conference, which is an

affidavit uncontradicted by anyone, reveals the following:

THE COURT:

‘¢. .. he had seen the aireraft fly and that it did, in

fact, rise into flight from a spot without ground roll

and that he was impressed by what he saw. He fur-

y

ther stated that he expected the jury to witness the

aircraft fly and to observe its flight characteristics. ’’

‘*. . . ‘Mr. Kightlinger, lets talk about your client.

Here’s a couple of men, Mr. Irving and Mr. Amick,

who after having been reasonably successful in the

materials and/or construction business, got involved

in an airplane deal in Florida. Due to their enthusi-

asm for the aircraft, about which they knew little or

nothing, they get involved for quite a bit of money.

When the thing went bust down there, they thought

they saw a chance to save the money and also bring

a new industry to Indiana, and did, in fact, through

a plan of re-organization, bring the project to Mun-

cie. They obviously knew little about the airplane

business and relied on engineers and others to guide

them’... . ‘I never did say they had to stop sell-

‘ing stock, I said they had to stop misrepresenting the

stock’.’’

After these remarks, the Petitioner’s counsel asked:

‘““*Mr. Stein, in light of what we have just heard,

what is the Government’s attitude about all this?’ ”’

The Government replied:

“*. . . the Government would not make any recommen-

dation to the Court and that the Government was not

interested in further harrassment of any of the de-

fendants. That their interest was in stopping the

abuses.”’

Judge Dillin then stated:

‘* ‘Certainly no one is going to plead Guilty, when

I have already indicated I will accept a plea of Nolo

Contendere’.’’

The Petitioner was aware that other defendants had

pled nolo contendere and had received suspended sen-

Oe een

10

tences. The only logical inference from what transpired

in the Court’s chambers and the suspended sentences that

were imposed is that the Court and the United States ai-

torney successfully induced Petitioner to enter a plea of

nolo contendere.

A plea of nolo contendere is not accepted in all cases

but has limited application. It has been stated that:

‘There are, however practical considerations which

allegedly speak for a retention of the plea. They are

said to exist in the type of wrong which ‘is not malum

in se, but rather malum prohibitative’ and peculiarly

of an economic nature.’’ 152 A.L.R. 253, at 295. See

also, United States v. Socony-Vacum Oil Co., 23

I’. Supp. 531 (D.C., 1938)

For this reason, a plea of nolo contendere has been used

in securities cases, anti trust cases and the like. Federal

Courts have accepted such pleas and have done so in a

spirit of ‘‘compromise’’ as was stated in United States v.

Central Rubber Co., 74 F.Supp. 368 (N.D. Ohio, 1947) :

‘*Such pleas in such circumstances have been consid-

ered in the nature of compromises.”’ at 369.

This Court has recognized plea bargaining as a judicial

fact of life, Brady v. U.S., — U.S. —, 25 L. Ed. 2d 747,

758, although trial judges should not participate therein.

Brown v. Beto, 377 F. 2d 950 (5th Cir., 1967).

With this general understanding of the plea of nolo

contendere, it becomes clear how the Petitioner was in-

duced into entering such a plea. As we have pointed out

previously, what transpired in the Judge’s chambers on

May 31, 1967, clearly led Petitioner and his counsel to

believe that there would be leniency shown in exchange

for a plea of nolo contendere. The Court made it clear that

11

he was familiar with the facts of the case having tried the

civil action. He clearly stated that he felt Mr. Irving was

enthusiastic about the fact that he was bringing a new

industry to Muncie, Indiana. The United States Attorney

further agreed that he would make no recommendation

regarding an executed sentence and was not interested in

harassing anyone. With this state of the record, to argue

that Mr. Irving was not induced to enter a plea of nolo

contendere is to ignore the obvious.

It is well settled that an induced plea is a denial of

due process. In Machiobroda v. United States, 368 U.S.

487, 493, 7 L. Ed. 2d 473, 478, 82 S. Ct. 510, this Court

held:

““A guilty plea, if induced by promises or threats

which deprive it of the character of a voluntary act,

is void. A conviction based upon such a plea is open

to collateral attack. See Walker v. Johnston, 312 US

275, 85 L ed 830, 61 S Ct 974; Waley v. Johnston, 316

US 101, 86 L ed 1302, 62 S Ct 964; Shelton v. United

States, 356 US 26, 2 L ed 2d 979, 78 S Ct 563, revg

(CA5 GA) 246 F2d 571.”

Further, this Court has held that it is a violation of

the Fifth Amendment for a Court or the United States

Attorney to deny a defendant the right to a free exercise

of his choice in pleading to a criminal indictment.

Brady v. U.S., — US. —, 25 L. Ed. 2d 747, 756.

Thus, it is clear that an induced plea is unconstitutional.

In the instant case, the record is clear that the trial judge

and the United States Attorney induced the plea of nolo

contendere. As a fact of life, even an attorney, as well as

his client, can be subject to judicial and Government

blandishments.

12

II

THE PETITIONER WAS DENIED DUE PROCESS OF

LAW WHEN THE SENTENCE IMPOSED WAS BASED

UPON ERRONEOUS AND MISLEADING INFORMA-

TION SUPPLIED BY THE UNITED STATES AT-

TORNEY TO THE COURT EX PARTE.

Following the conference of May 31, 1967, the Petitioner

entered his plea of nolo contendere at which time the Judge

and the parties agreed that the Court would consider only

the evidence heard in the civil action and statements made

to the Securities & Exchange Commission. Following this

agreement, Petitioner left the Courtroom feeling confident

that anything that was brought out in the trial of the re-

maining defendants did not have to be refuted by him.

Then, on July 28, 1967, Petitioner appeared with all of the

other defendants for the sentencing. At the sentencing

hearing, the Court first asked all of the defendants to make

whatever statements they desired in mitigation. The Court

heard all statements before imposing any sentences. When

Petitioner went before the Court he learned for the first

time the Court had not only considered the evidence ad-

duced at the trial, which he specifically agreed not to do,

but more importantly considered erroneous statements of

fact submitted by the United States Attorney. The Court

‘*accused’’ the Petitioner:

1. of lying to the Florida District Court when he rep-

resented that he had assets of One Million Dollars ($1,000,-

000.00) ;

2. of standing mute when it was stated to the Florida

District Court that no sale of stock was contemplated;

3. of making a profit from the stock sale; and

13

4. of entering into an agreement with Umbaugh and

Streets contrary to the orders of the Florida District Court.

The record discloses that the sentence imposed upon Pe-

titioner was a result of the Court considering the evidence

heard at the criminal trial as well as the erroneous infor-

mation furnished by the United States Attorney ex parte.

First, the Court heard mitigating statements from ten (10)

different defendants. Then, when those statements were

concluded, the Court immediately imposed sentences which,

in Petitioner’s case, was seven (7) years imprisonment.

During the Petitioner’s statement, it became obvious that

the United States Attorney had ex parte furnished the

Court with erroneous information. When the Court ac-

cused Petitioner of making a profit on the securities sale,

Mr. Irving attempted to demonstrate that he had in fact

suffered a loss. At this point, the Court turned to Mr. Man-

ahan, Assistant United States Attorne y, and said:

‘‘THE COURT: And then you had something left

over. Why, I think these figures are wrong. I am talk-

ing to Mr. Manahan. I think his figures give a wrong

impression of this deal. And although I still can’t see

$200,000, Mr. Irving, it does appear to me at this time

that you have taken a loss of probably in excess of

$150,000, just based on what I am looking.’’ (R. 529).

Further, while the Court was making the accusation,

he was referring to papers that had never been furnished

Petitioner and there was no way Petitioner could ade-

quately refute this information in the Court’s Possession.

It is well settled that a sentence based upon erroneous

information or erroneous belief is a denial of due process.

In Townsend v. Burke, 334 U.S. 735, 92 L. Ed. 1690: (1958),

this Court held:

14

‘The trial court’s facetiousness casts a somewhat

somber reflection on the fairness of the proceeding

when we learn from the record that actually the charge

of receiving the stolen saxophone had been dismissed

and the prisoner discharged by the magistrate. But it

savors of foul play or of carelessness when we find

from the record that, on two others of the charges

which the court recited against the defendant, he had

also been found not guilty. Both the 1935. charge of

larceny of an automobile, and the 19388 charge of entry

to steal and larceny, resulted in his discharge after

he was adjudged not guilty. We are not at liberty to

assume that items given such emphasis by the sentenc-

ing court, did not imfluence the sentence which the

prisoner is now serving.

‘*We believe that on the record before us, it is evi-

dent that this uncounseled defendant was cither over-

reached by the prosecution’s submission of misin-

formation to the court or was prejudiced by the court’s

own misreading of the record. Counsel, had any been

present, would have been under a duty to prevent the

court from proceeding on such false assumptions and

perhaps under a duty to seek remedy elsewhere if they

persisted. Consequently, on this record we conclude

that, while disadvantaged by lack of counsel, this

prisoner was sentenced on the basis of assumptions

concerning his criminal record which were materially

untrue. Such a result, whether caused by earelessness

or design, is inconsistent with due process of law, and

such a conviction cannot stand.’’ (Our emphasis.)

Further, the fact that Petitioner was represented by

counse] is not material.

U.S. v. Myers, 374 F. 2d 707 (3rd Cir., 1967) ;

U.S. v. Rundle, 219 F. Supp. 538 (1963).

Finally, while the Court could have been honestly mistaken

as to the record, ex parte communications between the

15

Government and Court are improper and have no place in

an adversary proceeding. They are presumptively prejudi-

cial.

Smith v. United States, 360 U.S. 1, 17-18, 3 L. Ed.

2d 1041, 1053 (Separate opinion) ;

See also Smith v. United States, 223 F. 2a 750 (Sth

Cir., 1955) (same case) ;

U.S. v. Solomon, 422 F. 2a 1110 (7th Cir., 1970).

The record in this case clearly demonstrates that the

Court was mistaken in the four (4) accusations alluded

to previously.

Regarding the Court accusing Petitioner of lying to the

Florida District Court concerning his ownership of $1,-

000,000.00 in assets, there is nothing which would show

this to be a lie. Petitioner recognizes that in 1967 he gave

financial data to the probation officer during a pre-sen-

tence investigation but this certainly does not demonstrate

that in 1963 he did not have $1,000,000 worth of assets. To

everyone’s knowledge there never was a financial state-

ment given the probation officer but merely financial data

furnished at an interview. To accuse the Petitioner of

lying under these circumstances is not justified.

The second accusation, that Petitioner told the Florida

District Court that he did not intend to sell stock, is con-

trary to the record. The record in the bankruptcy hearing

demonstrates that Petitioner’s attorney made the follow-

ing representation:

‘**MR. MORRISON: There has been filed here, Your

Honor, in this case heretofore, I believe, a committment

from a bank to the extent of $800,000.00 to be made

available to the Irving group for this project. Like-

ale at

7S eR trp EtS gay ATER Fe Ne gE . a

RUE TREO) Oo ma

PRE RP te RY oy

Pe er Le ams

16

wise, they contemplate an intra-state offering of se-

eurities in Indiana, which will also contribute to the

assets of Air and Space Underwriters. There are many

private individuals who seek to secure such stock, but

of course it cannot yet be offered. There appears,

Your Honor, to counsel that there is more than ade-

quate financial resources behind the Irving plan to

execute it fully.’’’ (R. Exhibits § II-18).

The third accusation, that Petitioner made a profit on

the securities sale, was apparently straightened out when

the Court found Mr. Manahan’s error in arithmetic; but,

the final accusation, that Petitioner had entered in an

agreement with Umbaugh and Streets contrary to th:

Florida Court’s order, was based upon pure speculation.

There is nothing in the record anywhere which substanti-

ates this misconception. In fact, the only evidence is that

all agreements with Umbaugh and Streets which were

made prior to the reorganization plan being approved were

cancelled pursuant to the Florida Court’s order. No where

is there any evidence that this order was disobeyed.

The only way the Court to have such a misconception

is if the ex parte material furnished by the Government

contained such reference.

Fairness in criminal cases has been a mandate ever

since the Constitution was adopted. In the instant ease,

fairness was completely lacking. When the Court indicates

that there will be leniency shown in exchange for a plea

of nolo contendere and the United States Attorney agrees

in this procedure the reviewing Court should insist that

their understandings be earried out. To induce a plea and

agree not to consider evidence heard at a criminal trial

which lulls a person into a feeling of confidence, and then

to consider such evidence, cannot be countenanced. The

opinion of the Court of Appeals disposes of this point by

17

referring to the attorney’s offer to the Government at the

time to consider the evidence to be adduced upon the trial.

But the Appeals Court neglects to point out that the Gov-

ernment rejected this suggestion and the agreements as

referred to herein were then firmed. The Government can-

not now have it both ways, any more than the Petitioner

could have done so.

As a practical matter, the attorney and his client, the

Petitioner, are confronted at sentencing with a mass of

charges distilled from the trial by the Judge and, obvi-

ously, a meaningful reply under these circumstances to

correct erroneous assertions was not possible. The require-

ment of due process cannot neglect the actual setting in

which such miscarriages of justice are initially born. An

even greater miscarriage of justice occurred whenever the

prosecution ex parte implanted erroneous information in

the mind of the Court. In this ease, when the United States

Attorney stated that he would make no recommendation

regarding an executed sentence then the Assistant United

States Attorney, in the role of an advocate, submits mis-

information to the Court ex parte, the climate created is

inexcusable. Such conduct is the antithesis of fairness

and due process and should be reviewed by this Court.

III

DOES A PERSON COMMIT A SEPARATE CRIME

EACH TIME HE USES THE U.S. MAIL IN VIOLA-

TION OF 15 U.S.C. § 77q(a) (Section 17 of the Securities

Act of 1933), OR IS THE USE OF THE U.S. MAIL

NECESSARY ONLY TO INVOKE FEDERAL JURIS-

DICTION. /

The indictment in this case consisted of thirty-nine (39)

counts or securities fraud. Each count involved a separate

it es] a od ag

MESON RO Ne GUNN

ERE FTE AS CaN N eae in tate, oy

i ae

IR St gs ae

18

mailing. The Court found against Petitioner on six (6)

counts. This raises the question of whether each mailing is

a separate eriminal offense or whether the mailing is only

a prerequisite to involving the Federal Seeurity Law (15

U.S.C. 77 (q)a). The Seventh Cireuit Court of Appeals

failed to decide whether each mailing was a separate of-

fense or whether each scheme was a separate offense. Other

Courts that have ruled on this question have held both

ways. The Second and Eighth Cirenit have held that the

use of the mails is not a part of a scheme but is only juris-

dictional.

United States v. Cashin, 281 F. 2d 699 (2nd Cir.,

1960) ;

Little v. United States, 331 F. 2d 287 (8th Cir.,

1964) ; é

United States v. Greenberg, 30 F.R.D. 164 (D.C. N.Y.,

1962) ;

United States vr. Huges, 195 FP. Supp. 79 (S.D.

N.Y., 1961) ;

The Tenth and Fifth Cireuit have held that each mailing

is a separate offense.

Palmer v. U.S. 339 F, 2d 861 (10th Cir., 1956),

Sanders v. U.S, 415 F. 2d 621 (5th Cir., 1969).

It would appear that the view taken by the Second and

Eighth Circuit is the better reasoned view. It would appear

that the Securities Act is designed to prevent a fradulent

scheme from being employed to sell securities. The scheme

is the important element necessary to create a criminal of-

19

fense. It becomes a Federal crime when the scheme is used

interstate. The Securities Act reads:

‘**Whoever, having devised or intending to devise

any scheme or artifice to defraud * * * for the purpose

of executing such scheme or artifice to @ ‘raud * * *

for the purpose of executing such scheme or artifice

or attempting so to do, places in any post office * * *

any matter or thing * * shall be fined * * *,’ ”

From this language, it is clear that Congress intended

to prohibit a fradulent scheme and provide that the use of

the mail was jurisdictional. Subjecting Petitioner to a plea

to some portion of thirty-nine (39) counts, all arising from

one (1) alleged scheme, is erroneous.

Further, the Court of Appeals failed to consider this

point on behalf of the Petitioner. Here, Petitioner entered

a plea of nolo contendere to twenty-one (21) counts

of the indictment. By refusing to consider this point as to

Petitioner, the Seventh Circuit has tacitly approved the

position of the Tenth and Fifth Circuits which has held

that each mailing is an indictable offense. This, then, adds

to the split between the Circuits and requires clarification

by this Court.

It is fundamental that criminal law be clear and unam-

biguous. With a split of authority as to the true meaning

of the Securities Act, there is such an ambiguity that it is

impossible for a person to know what the law is. This am-

biguity should be removed. In view of sentences to be

served consecutively, the question to this Petitioner is

more than academic.

Tee Denice MARRS tie Mich a

20

IV

THE DENIAL OF AN EVIDENTIARY HEARING

WHERE A PRIMA FACIE SHOWING IS MADE IS

ERROR.

At the outset of this case, Petitioner filed a motion to

dismiss the indictment pursuant to Rule 6(b) (2) of the

Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure objecting to the

array of the grand jury because it was selected by the use

of the key man system. In support of the motion, Petitioner

filed seventy-nine (79) affidavits reflecting interviews

with the various ‘‘key men”’ used by the Clerk of the dis-

trict and the standards they used in submitting names of

prospective jurors. The District Court overruled this

motion without a hearing.

The affidavits (Defendants-Appellants Joint Exhibits,

Section 1) showed that the key men used personal stan-

dards in submitting names of prospective jurors which

standards were illegal and which made it impossible to ob-

tain a representative cross section of the district. For

example, sixteen of the affidavits show that women were

excluded; five clearly indicate cconomic discrimination;

five indicate that potential jurors were excluded because of

their religion or lack of it; two excluded people because of

their politics; four excluded negroes, and when asked why

negroes were excluded stated that they did not know any

well enough; and one excluded anyone not of his religious

or racial group; four excluded persons on the basis of their

particular occupation.

In spite of these affidavits and without any counter-

affidavits or evidence, the Court summarily overruled Peti-

tioner’s motion.

The key man system has been the subject of much litiga-

tion and concern. The Judicial conference in 1967, 42

21

F.R.D. 353 (1967) condemned this system that has ‘‘al-

lowed for unintentional as well as intentional discrimina-

tion’’. The landmark case of Rabinowitz et al. v. United

States, 366 F. 2d 34 (5th Cir., 1966), condemned the use of

‘*key men’’-as a method of selechug jurors. As a result

trial courts, almost without exception, granted hearings to

scrutinize the selection of grand and/or petit jurors where

the question has been raised. (See Appendix B, p. 41a.)

Congress has now abolished the use of the key man system

by the Jury Selection Service Act of 1968 amending 28

U.S.C. 1861 et seq.

The grand jury system is a critical element in criminal

judicial process and its fair administration is essential to

achieve a workable system of criminal justice. Thus, it is

incumbent upon District Courts to. earefully analyze their

selection process to insure that such a system complies with

the requirements established by this Court.

Thiel v. Southern Pacific Co., 328 U.S. 217, 220, 66

S. Ct. 984, 985, 90 L. Ed. 1181 (1946) ;

Smith v. Texas, 311 US. 128, °136, 61 S. Ct. 164,

165, 85 L. Ed. 84;

Glasser v. United States, 315 U.s. 60, 85, 62..S. Ct.

457, 471, 86 L. Ed. 680.

The affidavits filed by Petitioner were sufficient to show

a prima facie case which required an answer by the Govern-

ment. A prima facie case has been defined as:

‘A litigating party is said to have a prima facie case

when the evidence in his favor is sufficiently strong

for his opponent to be called on to answer it. A prima

facie ease, then, is one which is established by suffi-

cient evidence, and can be overthrown only by rebut-

ting evidence adduced on the other side. In some cases

CHORE IR PO OK: PRT AREA Ov A ORE Shy Pu

POS LOOMS IE EES

wR

RT eS

yer pai ', Se eee ee ee ee

22

the only question to be considered is whether there is

a prima facie case or not. Thus a grand jury are bound

to find a true bill of indictment, if the evidence before

them creates a prima facie case against the accused:

and for this purpose, therefore, it is not necessary for

them to hear the evidence for the defense. Mozley &

Whitley. And see State v. Hardelein, 169 Mo. 579, 70

S.W. 130; State v. Lawlor, 28 Minn. 216, 9 N.W. 698.”’

Black’s Law Dictionary, 4th Ed., p. 1353.

In the instant case, the Government made no factual re-

sponse. The Supreme Court recently, in Whitus-v. Georgia,

(1967), 385 U.S. 545, 550, 17 L. Ed. 2d 599, 604, stated:

‘However, once a prima facie case is made out, the

burden shifts to the prosecution.’’

In the instant case, the highly subjective approach and

illegal standards used by the great majority of the key

men is at war with principles insisting upon a jury com-

posed of a fair cross section of the community. Witcher v.

Peyton, 405 F. 2d 725 (4th Cir., 1969). Yet, the Court said

nothing about it.

The hearing requested by Petitioner would have given

him the opportunity to conduct discovery and subpoena

witnesses. No investigation of any kind had been instituted

in the Southern District of Indiana to examine the selection

of jurors prior to Petitioner’s motion. This sharply con-

trasts with reported decisions which indicate zealousness

to conduct such earings, e.g., United States v. Leonette,

291 F. Supp. 461, 463 (S.D. N.Y. 1968). A system that at the

very time of Petitioner’s motion had been condemned from.

all quarters should at the very least been carefully scruti-

~ nized rather than summarily sanctioned. The Court of Ap-

peals disposed of this question by referring to Judge Steck-

eof

23

ler’s opinion in United States v. Duke, 263 F. Supp. 828

(S.D. Ind. 1967). The Government, in its brief to the Court

of Appeals, referred to the fact that the 79 affidavits taken

by counsel for Petitioner were considered in the Duke case.

This reference is correct, but what really happened is that

counsel for Petitioner talked with the 79 key men, secured

their affidavits and prepared for an evidentiary hearing.

Subsequent to the filing of the motion, the motion in Duke

was filed and the affidavits were copied by the attorney

representing Duke and presented to Judge Stickler. Coun-

sel, in Duke, then presented his argument and peutioner’s

counsel, who had gathered all of the facts, was precluded

from participation. By this method, the Government was

able to obtain a stamp of approval on the jury selection

method without this Petitioner or his counsel participat-

Ing.

CONCLUSION

The Petitioner asserts and raises questions of constitu-

tionality pertaining to his treatment by the trial court,

from the selection of the Grand J ury that indicted him, to

the handling of his plea, and his sentencing. The Grand

Jury which indicted the Petitioner was improperly drawn

so that it was impossible to obtain jurors who represented -

a fair cross-section of the community. The Petitioner was

denied a hearing upon the issue. The Court of Appeals dis-

posed of the question, finding that the ruling of another

judge of that same Court in a subsequent case, using Peti-

tioner’s affidavits and evidence, sufficed as a hearing. This

foreclosed the Petitioner from participating in an important

aspect of his own case pertaining to a question that he had

initially raised, and had supported by affidavits, and was

entitled to call witnesses, examine them, and cross-examine

them in support of his position.

24

Prior to a change in plea from not guilty to nolo conten-

dere, the Petitioner had reasonable expectations of leniency

in exchange for the plea which followed discussions of the

Petitioner, other parties, the Court, and the Government.

However, the Petitioner received a i.arsh sentence, which

was unjustified in the light of the discussions inducing the

plea, and the agreements made pursuant to its entry, which

were not observed.

The procedure at sentencing compounded the error. Here

for the first time the Petitioner found that the United

States Attorney had ex parte furnished the Court with in-

formation to be used in fixing the penalty. The Court

further considered information which, under the stress of

the moment, could not be meaningfully explained although

satisfactory explanations existed. Obviously information

furnished to the Court was erroneous.

This treatment of the Petitioner was further aggravated

by a forty-one count indictment for one alleged violation of

the Securities Act. The plea to the multiple count indict-

ment resulted in consecutive sentences. There exists a split

of authevity regarding the interpretation of the Securities

Act of | 83 which should be resolved by this Court.

The Petitioner asserts that the total impact of the han-

dling by the trial court of his case denied him his constitu-

25

tional rights. All of these questions are substantial and

affect the fundamental rights of the Petitioner. Here due

process was lacking, and these errors can only be cured by

granting certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

ERLE A. KIGHTLINGER

HOWARD J. DeTRUDE, JR.

ROBERT A. GARELICK,

KIGHTLINGER YOUNG GRAY

and HUDSON

Sixth Floor First Federal Building

11 North Pennsylvania Street

Indianapolis, Indiana 46204

Counsel for Petitioner

APPENDIX A

3n the

United States Court of Appeals

For the Seventh Circuit

September Term, 1969 January Session, 1970

Nos. 17084-087, 17089-095

United States of America, Appeal from the

Plaintiff-Appellee, United States Dis-

+ trict Court for the

Southern District

Fred G. Amick, et al., of Indiana.

Defendants-A ppellants. ,

V.

January 22, 1971

Before FAIRCHILD, CUMMINGS and KERNER,

Circuit Judges.

FAIRCHILD, Circuit Judge. These are appeals by ele-

ven individuals and two corporations from judgments of

conviction of violations of 15 U.S.C. §77q (Section 17

of the Securities Act of 1933, Frauduicnt interstate trans-

actions). Kight of the individual appellants and the

corporations were convicted by a jury.’ The other three

1 Another corporation, convicted by the jury, has not ap-

pealed.

la 17084-087, 17089-095

17084-087,17089-095 2a

individual appellants weie convicted upon pleas of nolo

contendere. Others were named in the indictment, but

entered pleas or had separate trials, and are not involved

on these appeals.

The charges arose out of sales of the common stock

of Air & Space Underwriters, Inc. (ASU). ASU was

newly formed and contemplated a business (through a.

subsidiary) of manufacturing and selling gyroplanes. A

gyroplane is similar to a helicopter in that each has a

rotor wing. The gyroplane’s rotor, when in flight, is free

wheeling and not powered. Forward motion is generated

by a propeller. A helicopter’s rotor, on the other hand,

is powered in flight and has forward motion as a result.

ASU took over the development of the gyroplane from

Umbaugh Aircraft Corporation pursuant to a plan of

reorganization of that company, approved in a Chapter

X proceeding by a federal district court in Florida. There

is evidence that the gyroplane to be produced could land

and take off without a runway, and could carry a passen-

ger in addition to the pilot. It was hoped that it could

be produced at a price which would make it feasible for

various types of business and personal transportation

uses.

ASU stock was sold to investors in Indiana from

August 14, 1963 until July, 1965 when the SEC obtained

an injunction. The prices paid by investors during this

period aggregated $2.1 million. 15 gyroplanes were p.o-

duced and sold.

It appears, virtually beyond dispute, that during this

period the effort to promote sales of ASU stock included

general releases and individual communications which

contained untrue statements of material facts, omitted

material facts necessary to make the statements made

»

3a 17084-087,17089-095

not misleading, and included devices to defraud and

practices which would operate as a fraud upon the pur-

chaser. The areas of misrepresentation included the price

at which the plane could be sold, progress toward produc-

tion, orders on hand, and the financial history and econdi-

tion of ASU. The details will not be stated except as

required in discussion of particular counts. There was

abundant evidence of pattern of conduct, plan, and design

from which a jury could find that the false and misleading

assertions, to the investing public by way of the media,

including the Indiana Investor in particular, and to

prospective purchasers by sales literature and individual

sales efforts, constituted a scheme to defraud, changing

in content from time to time. The ultimate question is

whether the appellants were properly found criminally

responsible for wilfully having employed such scheme or

wilfully having obtained money by means of such mis-

representations.

Appellants challenge the indictment on several grounds,

and make other attacks on procedure. Those who stood

trial argue that the evidence was insufficient to support

the respective guilty verdicts.

1. The challenge to the array of the grand jury.

All appellants contend that the grand jury which indicted

them was unlawfully selected. Appellants who stood trial

assert the same defect with respect to the petit jury.

The challenge is made to an early step in the system

by which most names were selected for the jury list from

which the names of veniremen were drawn. Documents

were placed before the district court in support of and

opposition to the challenge. Most of them were the same

as those described and considered by Chief J udge Steckler

17084-087,17089-095 &

of the same court in overruling a similar challenge at

about the same time.”

Appellants rely principally on statements appearing

in Rabinowitz v. United States® although there was no

showing in the instant case suggesting the virtual exclu-

sion or gross under-representation on the jury list of any

group or class of residents of the district or division.

The names of prospective grand jurors were drawn

from among 1,200 names, at least 300 being on the jury

list in each of four divisions. The names of prospective

petit jurors were drawn from the 300 on the list in the

Indianapolis division. The division lists were maintained

at 300 by addition from time to time of names of persons

who had answered questionnaires and been found quali-

fied and not exempt. Most of the names of the larger

number to whom the questionnaires had been sent were

supplied by so-called key men who were asked by the

clerk and jury commissioner to supply them.

As needed, the clerk and jury commissioner sent a form

letter to key men in the counties in the district. According

to an affidavit by the clerk, the key men were persons

‘‘who were thought to be widely acquainted with persons

of diverse backgrounds within their own communities,

and were most likely to suggest jurors representing a

fair cross section of such communities. ”’

The form letter soliciting suggestions was before the

court. It stated in part that jurors must be ‘‘capable and

impartial and .. . selected without regard to race, color,

2 United States v. Duke (S.D. Ind., 1967), 263 FSupp, 828.

3 (5th Cir., 1966), 366 F2d 34. In a later decision, Mobley v.

United States (1967), 379 F2d 768, 773, the fifth circuit stated

that in Rabinowitz “we did not thus declare the ‘key man’

selection system illegal as such.”

da 17084-087,17089-095

creed, politics or station of life.’ The recipient was asked °

‘to suggest the names of men and women in your com-

munity who, in your judgment, would make qualified

jurors.’’ A sheet setting forth 28 U.S.C. §§1861 and 1862,

listing qualifications and exemptions, was enclosed and

it was said, “In making your suggestions please refer

to the statutory requirements set forth on the attached

sheet.” Apparently about 140 key men had responded to

such letters in the course of three years.

In November, 1966 several individuals interviewed 79

key men concerning the type of persons whose names

each had suggested and prepared affidavits summarizing

the interviews. These affidavits were before J udge Dillin

as they had been before Judge Steckler. It seems fair

to say in summary that most or all the key men said

they had some standard in mind as to who would make

a ‘‘responsible’’ juror. Indeed, any form of key man sys-

tem of suggestion would almost necessarily involve the

application of some subjective standard of that type. We

do not consider, however, that either constitutional con-

cepts or any statutes applicable in 1966 or 1967 com-

pelled a purely random selection from the whole body

of qualified persons in the community.‘

It appears from the affidavits that several key men

acknowledge’ that they had not suggested names of

persons belonging to particular groups or classes. Some

of the reasons, e.g., that jury duty would be a hardship

on poorly paid workers, that men make better jurors than

women, and that young adults are too immature, would

tend to establish invalidity if such reason were found

* The indictment and trial preceded enactment of the Jury

Selection and Service “ct of 1968, 28 U.S.C. §§ 1861-1871, re-

quiring a system of random selection from among those who

vote or register to vote.

3

$

f

¢

3

z

J

&

:

a

‘

“

]

3

i

i

17084-087,17089-095 6a

to have guided most or a substantial group of key men,

but we deem the degree to which these reasons operated

among the total number interviewed was clearly insub-

stantial.

The district court, in overruling the challenge, con-

cluded that the key man system was not invalid per se,

and that the affidavits neither established exclusion of

classes of qualified persons nor made a showing sufficient

to require further inquiry. We agree.

2. Challenges to form and sufficiency of indictment.

The first 38 counts of the indictment charged varying

groups of defendants with violations of 15 U.S.C. §77q

(a). The outline is similar to the one discussed in United

States v. Birrell.’ Count 39 charged appellants Vollmer

and Indiana Investor and Business News, Ine. (Indiana

Investor) and others with violation of 15 U.S.C. § 77q(b)

in publicizing ASU stock. Count 40 charged several de-

fendants with violation of 15 U.S.C. 77e(a)(2) by mailing

ASU stock without a registration statement being in ef-

fect. Count 41 charged all defendants with conspiring to

commit the offenses charged in the other counts.

A number of ¢he first 38 counts and count 40 were

dismissed on motion of the government or for failure

of proof. The jury acquitted various defendants on several

counts among the first 38, and acquitted all defendants

on count 41. The jury convicted Vollmer and Indiana

Investor on count 39 and convicted one or more appel-

lants on each of the remaining first 38 counts.

Each of the first 38 counts charged that several defen-

dants, by the use of the mails in the offer and sale of

ASU stock, to a particular purchaser, wilfully (1) em-

5(S.D.N.Y., 1967), 226 FSupp 539.

7a 17084-087,17089-095

ployed devices, schemes and artifices to defraud, (2)

obtained money and property by means of untrue state-

ments of material facts and omissions to state material

facts necessary in order to make the statements made,

in the light of the circumstances under which they were

made, not misleading, and (3) engaged in transactions,

practices, and courses of business which would and did

operate as a fraud and deceit upon purchasers, including

the purchaser named in the particular count In each

count, also, the date, addressee, and content of a mailed

communication were alleged.

Each of the 38 counts contained a detailed description

of the manner in which all defendants allegedly accom-

plished (1), (2), and (3) above referred to with respect

to all purchasers of ASU stock, generally. The largest

part of the description set forth the history of ASU, its

acquisition of the Umbaugh company, the transactions

by which particular defendants became interested as

stockholders, directors, officers, or underwriters of ASU,

and the amounts of stock sold during particular periods

of time by named groups of defendants. At trial, there

seems to have been little if any dispute about the back-

ground facts so alleged.

Paragraph 2 of this description set forth fourteen

statements of fact which were alleged to be false and

to have heen wilfully made as part of the devices,

schemes, and artifices to defraud and of the transactions,

practices and courses of business operating as fraud.

Paragraph 3 set forth ten statements of fact, alleged to

have been omitted, but necessary to make the statements

made not misleading. Each list was said not to be ex-

clusive.

IHS. Ran ia a

esa

17084-087,17089-095 8a

The detailed description just referred to alleged a

course of conduct from May 15, 1963 to the date of the

indictment, appeared as part of count 1, and was incor-

porated by reference in each of the following 37 counts.

Several attacks are made upon the indictment. We

find no merit i: them, and point them out briefly, as

follows:

Vagueness: The indictment dealt with a subject matter

sufficiently complex that care is required in reading it,

but it is not vague. In each of the first 38 counts several

defendants are charged in the terms of the statute with

wilfully performing the proscribed acts in the offer and

sale of ASU stock to a named purchaser, and the inciden-

tal use of the mails is described. As already mentioned,

each count contained a general description of the back-

ground and a list, though not exclusive, of fraudulent

statements and omissions, alleging conduct continuing

generally throughout two years, although the transactions

and some of the misrepresentations took place at different

times within the two year period. The dates of mailing

in all counts fell within that period.

The indictment ‘‘contains the elements of the offense

intended to be charged, ‘and sufficiently apprises the

defendant of what he must be prepared to meet, and,

in case any other proceedings are taken against him for

a similar offense, whether the record shows with accuracy

to what extent he may plead a former acquittal or con-

viction.’ ’”

Incorporation by reference: It happened that count 1,

in which the general description of the background and

of the fraud was expressly set out, was dismissed for

6 Haynes v. United States (1932), 285 U.S. 427, 431.

9a 17084-087,17089-095

failure of proof. Several appellants contend that dismissal

erased the count so that the portion of each other count

incorporating part of count 1 by reference incorporated

nothing. They claim it follows that without the in-

corporated part of count 1, all other counts ceased to

charge an offense. The latter proposition is not clear but

in any event we reject the argument that the counts must

be read as if the incorporated material ceased to exist

upon dismissal of count 1.

Duplicity: 15 U.S.C. §77q(a) makes it unlawful, in

the offer or sale of securities, by the use of the mails,

to engage in certain conduct. The proscribed conduct is

described as (1), (2) or (3).7 Fach count of the first

38 charges that defendants engaged in (1), (2), and (3).

It is argued that each count charges three distinct of:

‘ fenses.

An answer was suggested by Crain v. United States.’

There the ‘‘statute was directed against certain defined

modes for accomplishing a general object, and declaring

that the doing of either one of several specified things,

each having reference to that object, should be punished.

. . . We perceive no sound reason why the doing of the

yen

*“T7q. Fraudulent interstate transactions.

“(a) It shall be unlawful for any person in the offer or

sale of any securities by the use of any means or instruments

of transportation or communication in interstate commerce or

by the use of the mails, directly or indirectly —

“(1) to employ any device, scheme, or artifice to defraud, or

“(2) to obtain money or property by means of any untrue

statement of a material fact or any omission to state a material

fact necessary in order to make the statements made, in the

light of the circumstances under which they were made, not

misleading, or

“(3) to engage in any transaction, practice, or course of

business which operates or would operate as a fraud or deceit

upon the purchaser.”

® (1896), 162 U.S. 625, 636.

Siesatyn Ral eA A Si ERASER WAAR A tT TET IED

Sis Mendis 58 CORR LTT

17084-087,17089-095 10a

prohibited thing, in each and all of the prohibited modes,

may not be charged in one count, so that there may be

a verdict of guilty upon proof that the accused had done

any one of the things constituting a substantive crime

under the statute.’’

The Crain rationale has, correctly, we think, been ap-

plied to the offenses now under consideration:

‘‘The statute thus embraces in the disjunctive three

separate and distinct acts as a crime. The indictment

charges the three offenses in the language of the stat-

ute, but they are charged in the conjunctive. An in-

dictment charging a statutory offense must follow

the statute creating it; but where the statute de-

nounces several acts as a crime, they may be charged

in one indictment or in a single count if they are

connected in the conjunctive. An indictment drawn

in that manner is not duplicitous, and it suffices to

prove any one or more of the charges. [citing

cases.]’”

Multiplicity: Appellants argue that the allowable unit

of prosecution is participation in the allegedly fraudulent

course of conduct, and that any particular use of the mails

in connection with any particular sale is only a jurisdic-

tional fact upon the basis of which participation in the

overaii course of conduct can be federally prosecuted;

that the first 38 counts ailege no more than one offense.

Courts have differed as to ‘‘the allowable unit of prose-

cution’’° under this statute. a

There is authority for the view (1) that, as is true

of mail fraud, each separate use of the mails in the execu-

Psy oa re v. United Staies (10th Cir., 1938), 100 F2d 628,

: 10 United States v. Universal C.I.T. Credit Corp. (1952), 344

U.S. 218, 221.

lla 17084-087,17089-095

tion of a scheme to defraud in the sale of securities con-

stitutes a separate offense; (2) that each separate offer

or sale transaction in which the proscribed conduct is

employed and the mails used is the allowable unit;1 (3)

that where an indictment charges employment of pro-

scribed conduct in separate transactions as separate

counts, the determination whether there was one offense

with several victims or a separate offense upon each vic-

tim can ordinarily not be made until proof is in;!* (4)

that where an indictment alleges a scheme to defraud

and a number of separate mailings and sales in separate

counts, but fails to show that the crime charged in any

one count differs from that charged in the others, all

counts are to be consolidated and all but one dismissed

as separate counts."

The counts in this indictment charged not only separate

mailings, but separate sales, so that neither (1) nor (2)

would require dismissal of any count. Under (3) dis-

missal before trial would be inappropriate, and the ques-

tion need be considered only with respect to cumulative

penalties on several counts. We consider (3) a sounder

view than (4).1° We hold that the district court properly

"Palmer v. United States (10th Cir., 1956), 3839 M2d 861,

867, cert. den. 350 U.S. 996.

Sanders v. United States (5th Cir., 1969), 415 F2d, 621,

626; United States v. Saporta (E.D.N.Y., 1967), 270 FSupp.

183, 186. In this circuit it has been said that “the government

must show some impact of the scheme on the investor and that

the mails were used in those instances where the impact oc-

curred.” United States v. Schaefer (7th Cir., 1962), 299 F2d

625, 629.

bak United States v. Birrell (S.D.N.Y., 1967), 266 FSupp. 539,

* United States v. Hughes (S.D.N.Y., 1961), 195 FSupp.

795, 798.

*® Cf. United States v. Universal C.1.T. Credit Corp. (1952),

344 U.S. 218, 224; United States v. Ketchum (2d Cir., 1963),

320 F2d 3, 7.

READE RAY ESM aia WA Stet eng

17084-087,17089-095 l2a

refused to dismiss or consolidate counts before trial, and

shall give further consideration to the matter when we

reach the claim that consecutive sentences were inap-

propriate.

3. Joinder. Various appellants contend that offenses

and defendants were improperly joined, and that in any

event discretionary severance should have been granted.

Rule 8(a) F.R.Cr.P. allows joinder of two or more ‘of-

fenses in separate counts in one indictment ‘‘if the of-

fenses charged . . . are of the same or similar

character or are based on... two or more acts or trans-

actions connected together or constituting parts of a com-

mon scheme or plan.’’ There can be no question of the

propriety of joining the first 38 counts in one indictment.

Count 39 charged wilfully, by use of the mails, giving

publicity to and describing ASU stock for a consideration

received from an issuer, underwriter, and dealer without

fully disclosing the receipt and amount of the considera-

tion. Count 40 (later dismissed) charged wilfully causing

ASU stock, an unregistered security, to be carried

through the mails for sale and delivery. Count 41 (upon

which all appellants were acquitted) charged a conspiracy

to commit the other offenses. All the substantive offenses

were violations of the securities act, involved the same

security, and were alleged to have occurred during the

duration of the alleged conspiracy. We have no doubt

that at the least the acts and transactions upon which

all 41 counts were based were ‘‘connected together or

constituting part of a common scheme or plan.’’ Joinder

of the offenses was authorized by the rule.

Rule 8(b) permits joinder of two or more defendants

if they are alleged to have participated in the same series

13a 17084-087,17089-095

of acts or transactions constituting an offense or offenses.

All defendants need not be charged in each count. We

think the acts and transactions alieged in the first 38

counts, and in counts 39, 40, and 41 may be deemed one

series of acts or transactions for the purpose of this rule.

Several appellants contend that they were prejudiced

by joint trial and that the district court abused its dis-

cretion in denying motions for severance under Rule 14,

F.R.Cr.P.

We do not find it so. It is true that the proof was vol-

uminous (4,000 pages of transcript, covering four weeks

of trial, and more than 1,000 exhibits, at least marked

for identification). Several appellants were securities

salesmen, while others occupied positions of greater re-

sponsibility and authority. Several appellants were —etive

in sales of ASU stock during periods when other appel-

lants were not. On the other hand, there was also con-

siderable overlapping in time. The proof was orderly and

as chronological as reasonably possible, and the court gave

frequent cautionary instructions. As will be seen when

sufficiency of the evidence is discussed, the jury was

capable of discernment among counts and among de-

fendants.

We consider the trial fundamentally fair.

During the investigation by the SEC various defendants

had given testimony pursuant to administrative sub-

poenas. Transcripts were received by the court, but were

not put before the jury except as excerpts were read.

In each case the court instructed the jury that the excerpt

was to be considered only against the defendant who made

the statement.

STE PR

Ee

TPN PRE Re! OG 8 ete er ee

EE EE ee

17084-087,17089-095 14a

Appellant Broderick contends that he was denied the

right of confrontation and cross-examination’® by such

reading. He fails to specify the portions of statements

of his codefendants which incriminated him. His name

was apparently mentioned only in the portion read from

appellant Olsen’s SEC testimony. Olsen did not testify.

These references established Mr. Broderick’s presence at

several conversations or occasions only generally de-

scribed, and if they could be deemed incriminating in any

sense, they were merely cumulative and the error, if any,

harmless beyond a reasonable doubt.

These excerpts were not highly incriminating with re-

spect to the person testifying except as they laid a founda-

tion for an inference that the person knew the state of

affairs was different from that which was represented

to purchasers. In instructing the jury that these excerpts

must be weighed with caution and the circumstances

scrutinized to determine whether they were made volun-

tarily, the court referred to them several times as ‘‘state-

ments’? and once as ‘‘alleged admissions’’. Several

appellants contend that the latter characterization was

prejudicial. We do not find it so.

4. Pretrial publicity and voir dire. Certain appellants

contend that prejudicial pretrial publicity required the

court to dismiss the indictment or postpone the trial.

There had been news stories concerning the indictment,

about a year before trial. Two days before trial there

had been two news stories. One referred to a ‘‘stock

swindler’’ and concerned an unrelated indictment. An-

other reported the nolo contendere pleas of two of appel-

lants’ codefendants, and referred to the ‘‘gyroplane

swindle’’. Appellants were not named.

16 Bruton v. United States (1968), 391 U.S. 123.

loa 17084-087,17089-095

The district judge conducted a careful and extensive

voir dire. 64 prospective jurors were questioned. Although

40 said they had read or heard something in the media

about the case, only two said they had formed opinions

which would require evidence to overcome. They were

excused. Most of the other 38 could not recall the extent

of what they had read or heard and none had formed

any opinion. Some recalled very recent news reports stat-

ing that the trial was to begin. There was nothing to

indicate these had any prejudicial content. 9 of the 38

were selected for the jury. The answers indicated the

content of the news stories had made little impression.

Denial of continuance was not an abuse of discretion,

and we see no reason to believe the publicity affected

the fairness of the trial.

The district judge questioned the prospective jurors,

but invited defense counsel to request additional ques-

tions, which the judge then asked. Although objections

to this method are urged by some of the appellants, it

is authorized by Rule 24 (a) F.R.Cr.P.7

d. Claim of mistrial because of approach to juror.

Just before the beginning of the trial, Mz Morrow, a

juror who ultimately became foreman, reported an inei-

dent to the distriet judge. A Mr. Rank, a business associate

of Morrow, who was president of a bank, had told Morrow

of a call Rank received from appellant Vollmer after selec-

tion of the jury. According to Rank, Vollmer had once

attempted unsuccessfuly to arrange a mortgage for some

property that Rank was interested in. Mr. Vollmer asked

Rank if Rank thought that Morrow remembered Vollmer.

and if Morrow’s decision as juror would be influenced

"7 See cases cited in Hamer v. United States (9th Cir., 1958),

259 F2d 274, 279.

DUT ated POOH ESA Rink CR At ei ae NRT AE Re ASAD I REA

17084-087,17089-095 16a

in any way because Vollmer was unsuccessful in arranging

for the mortgage. Morrow told the judge he did not re-

member Vollmer and had no recollection of the transac-

tion. He said he had not told any other juror of the call

and promised not to do so.

The court and counsel discussed the situation. Defense

counsel moved for a mistrial, but the court decided to

proceed.

Judge Dillin informed the jury : ubstantially as follows:

‘‘One of the parties . . . contacted an acquaintance and

asked him a question which required the acquaintance

to ask a member of the jury for the answer, thus, of

course, bringing to the attention of the juror the party

who asked the question in the first place. The juror very

properly related this to the Clerk, who related it to me,

and I have now made it known to the attorneys. ... I

think, on thorough reflection, that nothing improper was

intended, although, as I say, it was an irregularity on

the part of the person who did it. ... I am sure nothing

out of the way will happen in the future, but if anything

does, please report it promptly.’’

It is suggested that juror Morrow probably became

prejudiced against Vollmer by Vollmer’s call and that

the other jurors probably became prejudiced against all

appellants on trial as a result of being told that an un-

named party had indirectly contacted an unnamed juror.

We think the incident is not of sufficient import

reasonably to lead to those conclusions.

6. Sufficiency of the evidence. The first 38 counts

rested upon separate sales and mailings. The mailings

were made on dates from October 14, 1963 to June 1,

1965.

lia 17084-087,17089-095

The first public offering of ASU stock began August

14, 1963 and was formally terminated June 1, 1964. The

price was $4 per share.

The second publie offering, at $6 per share began in

June, 1964.

An offer at $5 per share was made to existing stock-

holders October 19, 1964.

The stock was split in December, 1964. Control of ASU

changed from appellants Irving and Amick and their

associates in January, 1965 to Chappell and his associates.

In March, 1965 the SEC began its investigation and in

July, 1965, it obtained an injunction against fraudulent

sales.

Count 41 charged 23 individual and 6 corporate defen-

dants, including appellants, with conspiring among them-

selves and with others named. The conspiracy allegedly

continued from May 15, 1963 to the date of this indictment

in 1966. Concededly many of the defendants did not par-

ticipate in sales of ASU stock throughout the period, but

it was the theory of the government that each was a

member of the conspiracy during the period he was in-

volved in the sales effort. The jury, however, acquitted

of conspiracy all who stood trial.

We have already referred to the material incorporated

in each of the 38 counts, alleging that from May 15, 1963

on, all appellants and others engaged in the conduct pro-

seribed by 15 U.S.C. 77q(a), (1), (2), and (3) in the man-

ner described in detail. Government counsel evidently con-

sidered, in drawing the indictment, that each defendant

was responsibly associated in the fraudulent conduct

throughout that defendants’ participation in sales of

stock. Again, however, the jury rejected reliance on any

Ser ea St aN 4

HEB te OE SE ER SPU TSO ARR DR UD lara aU ods

17084-087,17089-095 18a

assumption of that nature and seems cautiously to have

considered each count submitted, one by one.

a. The case as to Amick. Mr. Amick and Mr. K. K.

Irving had held a dealership under Umbaugh. They were.

moving forees in the organization of ASU May 15, 1963

and the take-over from Umbaugh, under a plan or reor-

ganization. Amick was secretary-treasurer of ASU and.

chairman of the board. He was active in management

and ia the planning and arrangement of the various offer-

ings of stock. The jury could well have found that the

successive offering prices and the stock split were a means

of giving a false impression of increasing value. He must

surely have known the material facts and responsibly have

known of the misrepresentation and omissions in the sales

material and the promotional news releases. He resigned

as an officer in January, 1965, and as a director shortly

thereafter.

Amick was charged in each of the first 38 counts. 26

of them were submitted to the jury. His active central

role makes it seem likely that conviction on all eounts,

at least those which arose before his resignation, might

have been sustained. The jury convicted, however, on 8

counts and acquitted on the rest. Chronologically, the

dates of the mailings in 6 of the counts on which he was

convicted ran from March 4, 1964 to September 1, 1964.

The dates of mailing in the two other counts were October

14 and 21, 1964. Amick did not deal in person with these

purchasers. But the jury could clearly find that the for-

bidden fraudulent practices were employed in these sales

and that Amick was wilfully responsible for their employ-

ment.

Amick was sentenced to four years imprisonment on

eount 6 (March 4, 1964) and two years on each other

19a 17084-087,17089-095

count. The two year terms are concurrent with each other,

but consecutive to the four year term. The content of

the fraud did not remain static. Disclosures concerning

some of the adverse history of Umbaugh were omitted

from the prospectus for the second offering, although

included in the first. The expectation of benefits from

an agreement with a Canadian group in August 1964 were

grossly overstated. Decepiive iotograph were sent to

stockholders just before the October; 1964 offer in order

to create the impression that regular production had

begun. There were other additional misrepresentations

from time to time. As previously stated, there are deci-

sions holding that each mailing or each sale is a distinct

offense, and it would logically follow that cumulative pen-

alties could be imposed. Even under a different view,

however, we think that the scheme to defraud involved

in the various counts was sufficiently different as time

went on, and that Amick was sufficiently active in formu-

lating and augmenting the scheme that the use of the

scheme in each of the respective counts could fairly be

deemed a distinct offense with cumulative penalties, at

least to the extent imposed here.

b. The case as to Broderick. Broderick was employed

as a salesman for Van Horn Associates, dealer or under-

writer for the first public offering. In June, 1964 he was

employed by ASU as ‘‘stock control manager’’. He re-

- vised the prospectus, omitting material facts, and stating

untruths with respect to patents and production, and used

it in a number of sales.

Broderick was charged in the first 17 counts, the dates

of mailing running from October 14, 1963 to September

29, 1964. 10 counts were submitted to the jury. He was

convicted on count 17, and acquitted on the others.

Tt EAE ig TTS Syed lea NE ALR ASA EP. EAP GE MIN IG AA FEE EPO OPE RIO MERE

BE eT ee ee eee eT

17084-087, 17089-0995 20a

Count 17 involved a sale of stock to Rufus S. Gray,

and mailing the certificate to him.

Mr. Gray testified that about August 20, 1964, two men

called at his office, MeQuinn and Broderick. Both dis-

cussed ASU stock. He was given the prospectus which

Broderick had revised. Gray was unable to say which

man made particular siatements but one or the other

represented that the company had over a million dollars

in backlog orders, which was false, and that the price

of the plane would be around $13,900, a matter which

was still highly speculative, and that the plane could be

flown with three or four hours instruction. The jury could

well say that the scheme was employed in the sale.

Whatever the reason the jury acquitted Broderick of

other counts, we think it could properly find him guilty

on this count. The jury could properly find him respon-

sible for statements even if made by McQuinn since

they were made in Broderick’s presence and in a joint

effort to sell the stock. Broderick’s position with ASU

was sufficiently responsible to make him chargeable with

knowledge of the facts. Wilfullness could be inferred.

ce. The case as to Vollmer and Indiana Investor. Mr.

Vollmer was editor of the Indiana Investor and Business

News, published weekly by defendant corporation of simi-

lar name. Indiana Investor was devoted to ‘‘News of Indi-

ana Business, Industry, and Securities’’. The record

shows that it was frequently a channel by which mislead-

ing information concerning ASU stock reached investors

and several purchasers testified that their interest in ASU

stock had been generated by reading Indiana Investor.

The government contends that almost from the beginning

of the fraudulent promotion of ASU stock Vollmer fre-

quently visited the company’s facilities and was aware

2la 17084-087, 17089-095

of facts in the light of which the news stories and some

of his own editorial comments in Indiana Investor were

false or misleading. There is evidence to support this

contention.

Vollmer and the publishing corporation were charged

in 36 of the first 38 counts, with mailing dates ranging

from February 19, 1964 to June 1, 1965. 26 of these counts

were submitted to the jury. It convicted Vollmer and the

corporation on count 26, and acquitted them on all others.

They were also charged and convicted on count 39, a viola-

tion of 15 U.S.C. § 77q(b).

Count 26 involved a purchaser named Janie Stech, and

a mailing to her on January 21, 1965 of a confirmation

for 1,000 shares at $6 per share. The sale was made by

defendant Dowling, an employee of defendants Mayne and

Securities Services, also convicted on that count.

Mrs. Stech testified that she had first become interested

in ASU stock as a result of reading in Indiana Investor

about the planned stock split. She had then bought 200

shares from Dowling in December, 1964. While consider-

ing the purchase of the 1,000 shares solicited by Dowling

in January, she went to see Vollmer and asked him

about Dowling and the plane. Vollmer spoke favorably of

both, but told her he knew where she could get stock

for $4 instead of $6. She considered herself committed

to Dowling, however, and bought from him. Later another

dealer telephoned her and offered stock for $4. ™

It must be acknowledged that Mr. Vollmer made no

identifiable affirmative misrepresentation in the conver-

sation about whieh Mrs. Stech testified. We think, how-

ever, that the evidence tending to show that he knowingly

published false or misleading reports and editorial com-

4

3

ry

3

2

3

17084-087, 17089-095 22a

ment concerning ASU, was sufficient, in the light of the

circumstances, to find him a wilful and knowing partici-

pant in the fraudulent course of conduct which generated

the sales to Mrs. Stech, and, indeed, othevs.

At about the time of the Stech purchase of 1,000 shares,

Vollmer persuaded Van Horn, the president of Commer-

cial Capital, an interested dealer, to send a letter to all

Commercial Capital and ASU stockholders recommending

that they subscribe to Vollmer’s paper. Vollmer prepared

the letter, saying that Commercial Capital and ASU

planned to use Indiana Investor to keep the Indiana in-

vestment community informed on the progress of ASU.

The letter was mailed January 25. Very possibly the jury

selected this particular count because of the personal ap-

peal of Mrs. Stech to Vollmer for advice and the oppor-

tunity that gave him to give her information she needed

and because of the proximity in time to the letter of Janu-

ary 25 and the events dealt with in count 39.

Count 39 charged Vollmer and Indiana Investor, and

two others not on trial, with wilful violation of 15 U.S.C.

§ 77q(b). The gist of the charge was that they ‘‘by the

use of the mails, published and .. . circulated . . . news-

paper articles . . . which, though not purporting to offer

a security for sale, described such security ... for a

consideration received, directly and indirectly, from an

issuer, underwriter and dealer without fully disclosing

the receipt of such consideration and the amount thereof”’.

The Indiana Investor of January 29, 1965 was alleged

to have been mailed on that date.

The January 29 issue reported acquisition of control

of ASU by Robert Chappell’s company, Investment

Corporation of America (ICA) and an investment of

‘‘over $2 million’’, accomplished in major part by the

23a 17084-087, 17089-095

purchase of a block of authorized, but unissued stock.

This was itself untrue or, at least, misleading. But the

point under count 39 was that Chappell and Vollmer had

discussed the preparation and publication of the story,

and at Vollmer’s suggestion, Chappell had agreed to buy

subscriptions for all stockholders of ICA. The testimony

was that this would cost $1,000 or $1,200. On February

1, however, Chappell gave Vollmer an ICA check for

$2,500. The January 29 issue of Indiana Investor did not

disclose that consideration would be received.

We think the jury could properly find that Vollmer

published the article in return for the promise of payment.

Vollme: and Indiana Investor contend that 15 U.S.C.

$77q(b), here found to have been violated, abridges free-

dom of the press, contrary to the first amendment.

The purpose of the statute is clear, and was stated

in a committee report at the time of passage of the act

as follows:

Section 17(b) ‘‘is particularly designed to meet the evils

of the ‘tipster sheet’ as well as articles in newspaper

or periodicals that purport to give an unbiased opinion

but which opinions in reality are bought and paid for.’’*

The substantial interest of the investing public in know-

ing whether an apparently objective statement in the

press concerning a security is motivated by promise of

payment is obvious. We see no significant abridgement

ae Committee on. Interstate and Foreign Commerce. H.R.

Rep. No. 85, 73d Cong., Ist Sess. (1933) 24.

2

17084-087, 17089-0905 24a

of freedom of the press in requiring disclosure of a prom-

ise of payment if there has been one.’®

d. The case as to Olsen. Olsen entered the picture when

employed by ASU as a stock salesman at the beginning

of the second public offering (late June, 1964). In August,

1964, Van Horn, president of Commercial Capital

Corporation (formerly Van Horn Associates) agreed to

assist ASU and again began to sell stock to the public.

Van Horn hired Olsen as a salesman for Commercial

Capital, and Olsen later became sales manager.

Olsen was charged in counts 10 to 38, the mailing dates

ranging from July 3, 1964 to June 1, 1965. 23 of these

counts were submitted to the jury. It convicted Olsen

on counts 18, 23, 24, and 25, aequitting him on the others.

Count 18 involved a purchase of 200 shares by Mr.

Perkins in October, 1964 from Commercial Capital. Olsen

and Wymer called on him. They told him ASU would

be in production at an early date, had about a year’s

work ahead, and-had about a year’s parts inventory com-

pleted, in the shop and paid for.

Count 23 involved a purchase of 200 shares by Mr.

Whitney in December, 1964. Olsen told him the plane

would cost $13,500 and that ASU had quite a few back

orders.

Count 25 involved a purchase of 1,000 shares by Mr.

and Mrs. Rauer in December. The shares were bought

from Commercial Capital and the salesman was appellant

Wymer. The vrice per share was $8.75. Wymer told the

19 See Communist Party of the United States v. Subversive

Activities Control Board (1961), 367 U.S. 1, 97-102; Lewis

Publishing Co. v. Morgan (1913), 229 U.S. 288; United States

v. Harris (1954), 347 U.S. 612; Burroughs v. United States

(1934), 290 U.S. 534. —

20a 17084-087, 17089-09511

Rauers the stock would be worth $12 per share by spring

and that ASU had enough backlog of orders to last two

years at continuous production. The July 9, 1964 prospec-

‘us Was given the Rauers.

The evidence establishes that at least by the time of

these transactions, Olsen knew material adverse facts con-

cerning the financial: situation of the company and the

sack of production, and should have known of the lack

of firm orders for the plane. As sales manager of Com-

mercial Capital he instructed its salesmen at sales

meetings. We think that he could properly be convicted

on counts 18 and 23 where he personally made false or

misleading statements and failed to make necessary addi-

tional statements, and on Count 25 where the representa-

tions were not personally made by him, but by a salesman

whom he instructed, and were consistent with the pattern

of fraudulent conduct with which he was responsibly

associated. Olsen had recommended Wymer to Van Horn

for employment, saying Wymer was a good salesman ‘‘ but

also very fast in the field and should be watched with a

very close eye’’,

Count 24 involved a purchase of 120 shares in December,

1964 from appellant Securities Services. Appellant

Dowling was the salesman who dealt with the purchasers.

We know of no evidence directly connecting Olsen with

this transaction. We do not consider the evidence of his

association with ASU or Commercial Capital in fraudulent

conduct in the marketing of this stock to be sufficient proof

of responsibility for the practices followed by Securities

Services, although there is a brief reference to his having

conducted one sales meeting for that company in the

absence of appellant Mayne. We conclude that. this

conviction and sentence on this count must be set aside,

although concurrent sentences remain in force.

17084-087, 17089-0995 26a

e. The case as to Wymer. Wymer became a stock

salesman for ASU in July, 1964, and was later employed

by Commercial Capital.

Wymer was charged in counts 11 to 38, the mailing dates

ranging from July 20, 1964 to June 1, 1965. 22 of these

were submitted to the jury. He was convicted on counts

15, 18, and 25, and acquitted on the others.

Count 15 involved mailing by Commercial Capital to

Mr. and Mrs. Riley on September 1, 1964 of a confirmation

for 100 shares. Wymer had told Riley before he bought

that ASU had thousands of orders and that production

had just started. These statements were untrue and

material, and of a type characteristic of the scheme.

Counts 18 and 25 have been described in d., above.

There is ample evidence that Wymer knew that the

representations were untrue and intended that they

persuade the prospective purchasers.

Wymer contends that the government failed to prove

that the purchasers relied on the untrue statements. It

is true that they did not testify that they believed and

relied on his assertions.

Courts have said that in prosecutions under 15 U.S.C.

§77q(a), at least where a fraudulent scheme was employed,

it is unnecessary to prove that a victim parted with money

or property in reliance upon misrepresentations.”°

Considering the language of the three subdivisions of

77q(a), it is clear that the activity proscribed by subdivi-

20 Farrell v. United States (9th Cir., 1963), 321 F2d 409, 419,

cert. den. 375 U.S. 992; Frank v. United States (10th Cir.,

1955), 220 F2d 559, 563; Bobbroff v. United States (9th Cir.,

1953), 202 F2d 389, 391.

27a 17084-087, 17089-095

sions (1) and (3) need not be successful to be unlawful,

and reliance by a victim need not be proved. (1) proscribes

the employment of a device, scheme, or artifice to

defraud. (3) proscribes engaging in a_ transaction,

practice, or course of business which would operate as

a fraud or deceit upon the purchaser as well as one which

does. (2) deals specifically with untrue and misleading

statements, but such statements are often elements or

manifestations of a device, scheme, or artifice covered by

(1) or of a transaction, practice or course of business

covered by (3), so that when conduct unlawful under (1)

or (3) has been proved it is not necessary to have proved

conduct unlawful under (2). We conclude thai proof of

any degree of reliance was not required here.

It may be that the making of an untrue or misleading

statement in the offer or sale of securities by the use of

the mail or interstate telephone call might be so isolated

from any other transaction that it would be unreasonable

to deem it an element of a scheme or other conduct pro-

seribed by (1) or (3). If so, the statement would not

be unlawful under (2) unless it caused someone to part

with his money or property. (2) declares it unlawful to

obtain money or property by means of an untrue state-

ment or material omission. Even in that instance, the

victim’s testimony that he relied would not be essential

where causation could be inferred from all the circum-

stances.”!

f. The case as to Mayne. David Mayne was president

of Securities Services, Ine., a broker-dealer. In the fall

of 1964 Van Horn discussed ASU stock with Mayne, and

71 See cases cited, 35 C.J.S., False Pretenses, § 52, including

People v. Gordon (Calif. C.A., 2d Dist., 1945), 162 P2d 110,

124; State v. Hastings (N.D., 1950), 41 NW2d 305; Corscot v.

State (1922), 178 Wis. 661, 671, 178 NW 465.

17084-087, 17089-095 28a

a while later, Commercial Capital, Van Horn’s company,

supplied Securities Services with blocks of shares for

resale. Securities Services sold stock amounting to more

than $382,000 and Mayne himself sold $54,000.

Mayne and Securities Services were charged in counts

22-38, the mailing dates ranging from December 15, 1964

to June 1, 1965. Twelve of these were submitted to the

jury. Mayne and his company were convicted on counts -

24, 26, 29, 30, 32, 33, and 34, and acquitted on the others.

Count 24 (already referred to under d.) involved a sale

of 120 shares to Mr. and Mrs. Shaffer. The confirmation

was mailed December 24, 1964. Mr. Shaffer dealt

personally with Dowling, an employee of Securities

Services. Dowling told him ASU had three years’ back

orders. This was untrue and material and a part of the

scheme-pattern. Shaffer bought additional shares on later

occasions. The jury acquitted Dowling on this count. It

may well have given him the benefit of a doubt on the fact

that he was relatively new and should not at that stage

be held criminally accountable for the fraudulent scheme.

An acquittal of Dowling on that basis is not inconsistent

with conviction of his employer.

Count 26 (already referred to under c.) involved a sale

of 1,000 shares to Mrs. Stech. Confirmation was mailed

January 21, 1965. In November Mr. Mayne made an

appointment with her over the telephone. Mr. Dowling

kept the appointment. Mrs. Stech bought 200 shares in

December. Dowling arranged to take her to the Auto Show

in Indianapolis in January. The plane was on display

there.

The display at the Auto Show was part of a stock sales

promotion planned by several appellants. Stock salesmen

29a 17084-087, 17089-095

were active there. Mayne prepared some of the sales

literature for use at the Auto Show.

A summary ‘sheet prepared by Mayne represented that

the plane was FAA certified; that the selling price was

$13,390; that the products of ASU were then being

distributed through 150 dealers; that approximately 3,500

planes had been ordered with dealer down payments; that

the backlog represented $47,000,000; and that $3,000

invested in ASU stock at various dates since September,

1963 was then worth $5,400. Each of these statements was

untrue, or, at best, misleading unless qualified by addi-

tional statements which were omitted. This material was

distributed at the show by Securities Services salesmen.

Mrs. Stech testified that Dowling pointed to a paper

in the roof of the plane and said it was a certificate, and

worth a million dollars. He told her the stock could not

go down in price. He later told her he had 1,000 shares

reserved for her, and that there was a firm in Canada that

would take all they could get of it.

Count 29 involved a sale of 100 shares to Mr. and Mrs.

Gilley. The certificate was mailed March 24, 1965. Mr.

Gilley dealt personally with Mr. Von Foerster, a defendant

not on trial, an employee of Securities Services. Mr. Von

Foerster gave him a copy of the summary sheet prepared

by Mayne and referred to under count 26, showed him an

ASU stock sales booklet used by Mayne and other

Securities Services salesmen, containing untrue and

misleading statements of material facts, and orally made

untrue or misleading statements concerning production

plans and the price of the plane.

Count 30 involved a sale of 100 shares to Mr. Sears, with

confirmation mailed March 24, 1965. Sears also dealt with

17084-087, 17089-095 30a

Von Foerster and received the same summary sheet and

was shown the same sales booklet as Mr. Gilley.

Count 32 involved a sale of 50 shares to Mr. and Mrs.

Lang, with confirmation mailed April 5, 1965. Mr. Lang

also dealt with Von Foerster, was shown the same sales

booklet as Gilley and Sears, and was told untrue informa-

tion about current production, back orders, and the price

-of the plane.

Count 33 involved a sale of 300 shares of Securities

Services to Mr. and Mrs. Whitaker. The sale and the

mailing of the certificate April 13, 1965 were proved. We

find no evidence disclosing the information given. Con-

viction of Mayne and Securities Services on this count

could rest only upon an inference that a scheme to defraud

frequently employed by them in the sale of a particular

security was employed in every sale at about the same

time. We consider this inference, under the circumstances

of this case, too weak to constitute proof beyond a reason-

able doubt, and conclude that conviction on this count

must be set aside. The sentences on other counts, how-

ever, are concurrent.

Count 34 involved a sale of 50 shares by Securities

Services to Mr. and Mrs. Wininger, with certificate mailed

April 16, 1965. Mr. Wininger received the same summary

sheet as Gilley and Sears.

Counts 24, 26, 29, 30, and 32 involved sales made by

employees of Seeurities Services, of which Mayne was

president. Mayne employed, instructed, and supervised

these salesmen. He prepared and provided them with sales

material containing untrue and misleading statements.

There is, in our judgment, sufficient evidence upon which

to find that he knew of the fraudulent character of the

3la 17084-0§7 | 17089-095

scheme which the salesman would employ” ind intended

that the prospective purchasers be persuadeq t, buy the

stock. We conclude that the convictions of Mayne and

Securities Services on these counts are

adequately

supported, and support the respective sentences

ge. The case as to Dowling. Dowling was a salesman

for Securities Services in late 1964 and eally 1965. He

later became a salesman for Commercial Capitay,

Me was charged in counts 22 to 38, the Mailing dates

ranging from December 15, 1964 to June 1, 1965. Twelve

of these were submitted to the jury. He was convicted on

count 26 and acquitted on the others. The facts relevant

to count 26 have been summarized above, in dq, and f. We

think the evidence supports the finding that he made the

representations knowingly and wilfully.

h. The case as to Riggs. Mr. Riggs was Manager of a

life insurance agency. He became interested in ASU at

the Auto Show and approached Olsen about selling stock.

They made a deal whereby Riggs and his salesmen would

receive $1.50 per share of stock which they sold for

Commercial Capital. At the time the price of the stock

was $6 and Riggs was to pay $4.50. -

Riggs was charged in counts 27 to 38, with mailing dates

from February 8 to June 1, 1965. Seven of these counts

were submitted to the jury. Riggs was convicted on count

38 and acquitted on the other counts.

Count 38 involved a sale of 137 shares to Dr. Briggs.

The confirmation was mailed June 1.

38 Mayne was surely in a position where he ji8 deemed to

have known that which could have been learned by inquiry

reasonably to be expected. See cases cited infra, fm- 23.

ure

17084-087, 17089-095 32a

Dr. Briggs was a medical examiner for the life insurance

company. He was first approached by James Dillon, one

of Riggs’ agents. Dillon said ASU stock was a good buy,

and he showed pictures of the plane. Dr. Briggs telephoned

Riggs to inquire about the stock. Riggs said it was scarce,

was a good buy at $7 and would go up to $10 in a short

time. He said about fifteen planes per month were being

produced. This was untrue, as well as the representation

that the stock was scarce. Briggs bought at $7. A week

later he decided to buy more and found he could buy 625

shares through a local bank at $5.62-1/2. Riggs could give

no satisfactory answer when. told of this. At about the same

time as his sale to Briggs, or shortly before, Riggs had

been buying ASU stock from a disinterested dealer at

about $4.50 per share and selling it to investors at about

$6.60 per share. Riggs had visited the plant and was aware

that certification of the plane had been held up. Although

there is no direct evidence that he was informed of the

truth as to lack of production, he admitted that he did not

know how many planes were being produced because ‘‘I

heard all kinds of figures’’. We think that the jury’s find-

ing of wilfulness in misrepresenting production can

properly rest upon the proposition that he recklessly made

the representation for the purpose of inducing a purchase

when he must have had serious question what the facts

were, but had failed to use reasonable means at hand to

learn them.”

7. Alleged bias of judge. Appellants Vollmer and

Indiana Investor suggest that the district judge ought to

have recused himself, and that certain colloquies between

28See United States v. Ross (2d Cir., 1963), 321 F2d 61, 65,

cert. den. 375 U.S. 894; Irwin v. United States (9th Cir., 1964),

338 F2d 770, 774, cert. den. 381 U.S. 911; United States v.

Schaefer (7th Cir., 1962), 299 F2d 625, 629; United States

v. Vasen (7th Cir., 1955), 222 F2d 3, 8, cert. den. 350 U.S. 834.

TT? SNA eh ee ine ,

33a 17084-087, 17089-095

the judge and their counsel deprecated counsel so as to

diminish his effectiveness before the jury.

These appellants sought a change of venue, with an

affidavit asserting that Judge Dillin had issued a prelimi-

nary injunction July 12, 1965 in a civil action brought by

the SEC, alleging substantially the same facts as the

indictment, and quoting Judge Dillin’s oral findings

adverse to these appellants. Judge Dillin found the

application for change of venue insufficient and denied

it.

Rulings and findings made by a judge in the course of

‘a judicial proceeding are not in themselves sufficient

reasons to believe that the judge has a personal bias or

prejudice for or against a party.4 The affidavit was

insufficient to oust Judge Dillin under 28 U.S.C. §144.

These appellants set forth nine short excerpts from the

record. Most were critical of some aspect of trial procedure

being employed by counsel and some directed him to cease.

Most of the admonitions seem to us to have been

merited and appropriate in substance. We are not

persuaded that they communicated to the jury any view

held by the judge on the merits of the case nor that they

in any way deprived these appellants of a fair trial.

8. Challenge to SEC subpoenas. Certain corporate

records of Indiana Investor were used against it and

against Vollmer. The government had obtained these

records by an SEC subpoena issued pursuant to 15 U.S.C.

§77s(b) and enforced by the district court, pursuant to

§77v(b). Appellants Vollmer and Indiana Investor claim

that the judicial compulsion exercised was an unreasonable

7, Ex parte American Steel Barrel Co. and Seaman (1918),

eS a 35, 43; Tucker v. Kerner (7th Cir., 1950), 186 F2d

7 MED ENO IEF EIR PRIN SIE BPE DON CRIES ~ i

ORES a ne

17084-087, 17089-095 Sta

seizure under the Fourth Amendment. No claim is made

that the records were other than corporate.

It may well be that any challenge now made became

foreclosed by the adverse result of the judicial proceed-

ing which resulted in enforcement of the subpoena. In any

event, the subpoena was not the general subpoena dealt

with in Hale v. Henkel® upon which appellants rely.

The answer to their claim is summarized in Oklahoma

Press Pub. Co. v. Walling as follows : ,

“{Pyhe Fifth Amendment affords no protection by

virtue of the self-inerimination provision, whether for

the corporation or for its cificers; and the Fourth,

if applicable, at the most guards against abuse only

by way of too much indefiniteness or breadth in the

things required to be ‘particularly described,’ if also

the inquiry is one the demanding agency is authorized

by law to make and the materials specified are rele-

vant. The gist of the protection is in the requirement,

expressed in terms, that the disclosure sought shall

not be unreasonable.’ ’*®

9. Other claims of error upon trial. We have examined

other claims of error in rulings and instructions, but find

no merit in any.

10. Irving’s claims: Appellant K. K. Irving was

president of ASU and active in its organization and

management. He was charged in all counts except count

39. On June 1, 1967, just before the trial, and when

accompanied by his counsel, he entered a plea of nolo

contendere to 21 counts. After the trial, on July 28, 1967,

at the same time others were sentenced, the court found

25 (1906), 201 U.S. 43, 77.

6 (1946), 327 U.S. 186, 208. See Penfield Co. of Cal. v. Se-

curities and Exch. Com’n (9th Cir., 1944), 143 Fld 746.

30a 17084-087, 17089-095

him guilty on counts 10, 12, 14, 19, 20, and 21. He was

sentenced to five years on count 10, and two years on

each other count. The term on count 12 Was consecutive

to that on count 10, and all other terms were concurrent

with that on count 12.

Mr. Irving raises challenges, as do other appellants, to

the grand jury, the indictment, refusal of severance and

denial of continuance on account of pretrial publicity.

Apparently he considers that his plea does not foreclose

the latter contentions on the theory that immediate joint

trial subjected him to pressures which made his plea

involuntary. As already set forth, we deem all these

claims insufficient.

Mr. Irving also challenges the propriety of the sentences

on several other grounds, which we now consider.

Irving claims that the court improperly considered the

evidence heard at trial. Under the circumstances, where

the plea was entered the morning the trial was to begin,

and further consideration of the plea was postponed, it

would seem very likely that the court would consider the

evidence at trial to the extent it bore upon the charges

to which Irving had pleaded nolo contendere. It is clear

the court did consider the evidence at the criminal trial

in determining that there was a prima facic showing that

the offenses charged had been committed. Irving appears

to claim, however, that a colloquy just after the plea was

entered included an understanding that the court was

limited to evidence it recalled from the earlier civil litiga-

tion and to Irving’s own testimony in SEC investigation.

Although those sources were mentioned as appropriate

for consideration by the court in making findings of guilt,

we can find no limitation to them or exclusion of evidence

at trial, express or implied. Indeed counsel for Irving said,

ea ee

-17084-087, 17089-095 36a

in the course of the colloquy: **... my understanding was

that... and I indieated to Mr. Stein [the United States

Attorney] that the evidence that the Court would hear

in the pending ease... it was my understanding with Mr.

Stein that that could be used for the purposes that were

indicated,”

The seeond claim is that assertions made by the court

at the hearing prior to the pronouneement of sentence

showed that the court relied on erroneous information.

The colloguy between the court and Mr. Irving after

counse! had spoken amounts to fifteen pages of transeript.

The covrt outlined several adverse factors: That Irving

and others nad committed a deliberate fraud on the

reorganization court in Florida; that Irving had misrepre-

sented in that court his ability and willingness to commit

a million dollars worth of assets to ASU if necessary; had

misrepresented that no public offering of stock was

contemplated in the near future; and had jointed in an

improper agreement to give Mr. Umbaugh an interest in

ASU.

Three of the allegedly erroneous accusations relate to

the above matters. The differences between Irving and

the court in these respects are matters of interpretation

of and choice of inferences from facts which were

thoroughly established.

The court also stated that although Irving claimed to

have lost $200,000 in ASU, figures worked out at the

court’s request, apparently by the government, indicated

he came out a little better than even.

Mr. Irving was given an opportunity to respond to all

the court’s assertions and he succeeded in convincing the

court that the computations were in error and that he had

suffered a loss exceeding $150,000. The error was

ova 17084-087, 17089-095

acknowledged by the court before — sentence was

pronounced.

The third claim is that the seven year total sentence

is substantially longer than those imposed in & number

of reported cases, The government counters with citations

of securities fraud cases where the terms were longer

than seven years, Disparity in sentences is not a predicate

for appellate review.

11. McQuinn’s claims. Mr. McQuinn was a stock sales-

Ian employed by ASU in the summer of 1964. He was

charged in counts 7 to 17, with mailing dates from April

8, 1964 to September 29, 1964. He entered a plea of nolo

contendere to eleven counts and was found guilty on counts

16 and 17.

He raises only challenges which have already been

disposed of.

12. Nash’s claims. Mr. Nash was sales manager for ASU

and had previously been employed by Umbaugh. He was

charged in every count except count 39. On June 1, 1967

(at the same time as Irving) he pleaded nolo con-

tendere to 21 counts. On July 28, the court found him guilty

on counts 10, 14, 18, 19, 20, and 21, and sentenced him to

concurrent terms, the longest being five years on count

10. Nash appeared without counsel on June 1 and July

28. In August, counsel filed a motion on his behalf to set

aside the conviction and for leave to withdraw the plea.

The court set aside the conviction and sentences, appar-

ently because the record did not affirmatively indicate

waiver of counsel on J uly 28, but denied leave to withdraw

the plea. On October 26, the court found Nash guilty on

counts 10, 14, 19, 20, and 21 and sentenced him to

concurrent terms, the longest being four years on count

10. All other counts were dismissed or findings of ac-

quittal made.

17084-087, 17089-095 38a

Mr. Nash makes contentions similar to some of those

made by Mr. Irving and other appellants and already

disposed of. In addition he contends in his brief or appeal

that the district court ‘‘committed error in holding that

[he] waived the right to counsel at the time he entered

his plea of nolo contendere’’. He also asserts that when

his conviction was sect aside he gained the right to liberality

in considering his request for leave to withdraw his plea.

We do not find the latter argument very persuasive where

the conviction was set aside, as here, on grounds arising

after the plea. We observe, also, that Nash is not justly

entitled, unless there be good reason, to put the govern-

ment to a long and repetitious trial which would not have

been necessary if Nash had maintained his plea of not

guilty and stood trial as scheduled.

We conclude that there was a sufficient waiver of

counsel at the time the plea was entered. The facts are,

in substance, as follows:

Mr. Van Orman, who is Nash’s counsel on this appeal,

filed an appearance as counsel for Nash in the district

court July 22, 1966, and continued to represent him until

April 14, 1967 when the court permitted Van Orman to

withdraw. Van Orman had made motions on behalf of Nash

and had appeared April 3 at a pretrial conference. The

trial date of May 31 (later postponed one day) was then

set. Nash appeared May 29 and requested a continuance

in order to seek counsel. The continuance was denied. He

appeared May 31 and June 1 without counsel.

On the morning of June 1, Nash, Irving, and Mr. Kight-

linger, Irving’s counsel, were before the court, Mr.

Kightlinger stated that he had explained the plea about

to be entered to his client and that since Nash was not

represented, he had, upon request by Nash, ‘‘given him

39a 17084-087, 17089-095

advice as to the effect of the plea which he desires to

make’’, After asking and obtaining Nash’s permission,

Kightlinger said he was entering nolo contendere pleas

for both. The court then carefully and precisely explained

the meaning, effect and consequences of a nolo contendere

plea. It has not been claimed, nor could it be, that there

Was any deficiency in compliance with Rule 11, F.R.Cr.P.

After full explanation, the court said: ‘‘Now, Mr. Nash

is not represented by counsel this morning, but in the past

he at one time had counsel. Counsel withdrew his appear-

ance, stating at that time that Mr. Nash was financially

able to hire counsel but had not completed his arrange-

ments with counsel. Mr.-Nash has never indicated to the

Court that he is not financially able to hire counsel. He

has appeared here as his own counsel on one or two

occasions, the last being yesterday morning, so counsel

has not been appointed for Mr. Nash. It has been my

finding or opinion, as things have gone, that he has elected

to represent himself. Is that right, Mr. Nash?” Mr. Nash

replied, ‘‘Yes, Your Honor.”’

The court then inquired as to their pleas. Each pleaded

nolo contendere, The court accepted the pleas, but stated

he would make no finding until he heard something to

prove the corpus delicti. The discussion concerning the

source of proof, already referred to, followed.

There would be a serious problem if this were a typical

Our conclusion is strengthened by the facet that the

motion, prepared and filed by Nash’s counsel in August,

17084-087, 17089-095 40a

neither claims any lack of understanding about the nature

of the charge or the consequences of the plea nor that he

didn’t intelligently waive counsel.

We think that Nash has failed to show that withdrawal

of the plea is necessary to correct manifest injustice, and

that there was no unfairness or abuse of discretion in

denying such leave.

The convictions and sentences of appellant Olsen on

county 24, and of appellants Mayne and Securities

Services on count 33 are set aside. In all other respects

the judgments appealed from are affirmed.

A true Copy:

Teste:

Clerk of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Seventh Circuit.

APPENDIX B

United States v. Rabinowitz, 366 F. 2d 34, (5th Cir., 1966)

Mobley v. United States, 379 F. 2d 768 (5th Cir., 1967)

United States v. Cohen, 275 F. Supp. 724 (1967 )

United States v. Hunt, 265 F. Supp. 178 (W.D. Texas,

1967) .

Hanson v. United States, 393 F. 2d (10th Cir., 1968)

United States v. Leonette, 291 F. Supp. 461 (S.D. N.Y.,

_ 1968)

Cuil Sraves v. Valentine, 288 F. Supp. 957 (D. Puerto

Rico, 1968)

King v. Cook, 297 F. Supp. 99 (N.D. Miss., 1969)

Salisburg v. Grimes, 406 F. 2d 50 (5th Cir., 1969)

Sanders v. United States, 415 F. 2d 621 (5th Cir., 1969)

Witcher v. Peyton, 405 F. 2d 725 (4th Cir., 1969)

4la

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.