Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Avern Trust v. Clarke
Supreme Court brief1970
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
LIBRARY ~~. Rae
SUPREME COURT, U. Ss. |
Office-Supreme |
| FILED’ o
{ _ JAN 19 1979
%5
a ar
SSS a
/ ®
ores. bee
acttotarcees .| ‘e's
AVIS,, CLERK |
ae ; £ - =
In THE
Supreme Court of the United States
Ocroser Term, 1969.
No. : 1091 : |
od
AVERN TRUST, VIRGINIA P. DOOLEY, JAMES A. DOOLEY
and JAMES A. DOOLEY FOUNDATION, ;
a charitable corporation,
Petitioners,
vs,
JOHN W. CLARKE and JOHN W. CLARKE CO.,
a corporation,
Respondents.
og - .
Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari To The
United States Court Of Appeals
.For The Seventh Circuit
&
Rosert A, SpreEcHER
111 W. Monroe Street
@&- Chicago, Tlinois 60603
Attorney for Petitioners
I ERE ire Wt ante gap ar
Salou ieee
MIDWEST LAW PRINTING GO., CHICAGO 60601, FINANCIAL 6-3988_
Sr moms a
“we :
&
. INDEX
’ :
PAGE
RN ee pe
Jurisdictional Statement 22222... cece cee ececeeeeeeeceeeee 2
Questions Presented — onto. icc ccseneosccectcecceegenceseeseeeeees 2
Concise Statement of the Case 0.0... cceccceeeceeece. 3
Reasons for Granting the Writ : Weiapsue tebeiaih 2 Seen : oe 12
1. This decision is in direct conflict with another
decision of the same Court of Appeals on the |
same matter of Federal law ..................... 12
2. This statutory action was tried as if it were a
common law fraud case; In exacting proof of
_ *“ntentional and deliberate” wrongdoing, and
admitting evidence of other transactions on
- which the investor profited, this Opinion con-
flicts with decisions of this Court and those of
the Second and District of Columbia Cireuits ... 15
3. The decision interprets Rule 5% of the Federal
* Rules of Civil Procedure so that it is impossible
to have a court of review pass upon objections
to instructions—a deleterious effect upon the
failure of future administration of this rule ab. ee
. Prayer for Writ of Certiorari ....05.0002....-...--cc.00.-c- 24
List Or AUTHORITIES
Cases:
Buttrey v. Merrill, ‘orn Pierce, Fenner & Smith,
Inc., 410 F. 2d 135 (7th Cir., 1969) ................ 12, 14, 15
Globus, et'al. v. Law Research Service, Inc., et al.,
_ Docket Nos. a il 68, U.S.C.A. 2d Cir. 1969 ... ©
at ASIN. cathy spate ces sheesh in Cine orsbalp acm vaivcemeewpevenspeabatinee 17, 16, 19
Hughes v. S.E.C., 174 F. 2d 969, 974 —.002... 18, 19
S.E.C. v. Capital Gains Research Bureau, Inc., 375
Ee Re CRED i haces Se csets as act iack 16
| Statutes: x |
me A SM 2
Securities Act of 1933 : ig
" Seetion 12(2)..(15,.U.S.C. §771(2)) ............- 13, 16, 18
Section 17(a) (15 U.S.C. §77q(a)) ........ 36, 17%; 2
Securities Act of 1934 ;
Section 10b (15 U.S.C. $78} (b) ) -.-.--.2-2-------ce-ee-e 13, 17
Section 15A (15 U.S.C. §780-3) ...0....2.2. eee 13, 14
Section 15(¢)(1) (15 U.S.C. §780(e)(1)) ......-........- 13
Rules: >
Rule 10b-5 (17 C.F.R: 240.10b- Seeepeenee acarnce 13, 15, 20
Rule 15e1-2 (17 C.F.R, 240.15e1-2) .........................- 14, 20
Rule 51, F.R.C.P. (28 U.S.C. Rule 51)... 20, 24
Rule 405 of the New York Stock Exchange eae 15
N. A.S.D. Rules of Fair Practice, Art. ITT, §§ 1,2.
In Tue
Supreme Court of the United States
Octoser TERM, 1969
No.
AVERN TRUST, VIRGINIA P. DOOLEY, JAMES A. DOOLEY
and JAMES A. DOOLEY FOUNDATION,
sy eo corporation,
Petitioners,
vs,
= JOHN W. CLARKE and JOHN W. CLARKE Co.,
a corporation,
Respondents.
Petition For A.Writ Of Certiorari To The
United States Court Of Appeals
For The Seventh Circuit
¢
\
Petitioners pray that a writ of certiorari issue to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit
to review the judgment of that Court entered on July
14, 1969, which affirmed a judgment of the District Court
for the Northern District of Illinois entered upon the
verdict of a jury finding the issues for the respondents.
£ ~
OPINION BELOW. *
No opinion was rendered by the United States District
Court. The opinion of the Court of Appeals for the
ain
Seventh Circuit affirming the District Court’s judgment
is reported as an Lege to 415 F. 2d Adyance Sheet
No. 4. ; om
eM oe :
=e <i
The order of ‘thd Court of ;Appeals for the Seventh
Cireuit sought to We,reviewed was entered on July 14,
1969. Petitioners filed a timely petition for rehearing,
which was denied on October 21, 1969.
The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
§ 1254(1).
QUESTIONS PRESENTED.
——-
1. Can the same Cireuit Court of Appeals in one
case hold that rules for the protection of investors state
‘separate and independent cause of action from counts
predicated on the Securities Acts and the rules promul-
egated thereunder, and in this ease hold that the dismissal
of a count alleging the violation of ‘similar rules, while |
improper, is not erroneous?
2. Are investors’ actions under the Securities Acts
and the rules thereunder to be tried as common law fraud
actions, so that proof of deliberate intent is required,
profits on other transactions admitted, together with
evidence of what the stock would have been worth had it
not been sold? ‘
ane
3. In investors’ actions against an underwriter under
the Securities Acts and the rules thereunder, can a Court
frustrate the Congressional policy of full disclosure and
fail to recognize the fiduciary relationship as a matter
of law? This decision is in direct conflict with a recent
case of the Second Circuit. :
4. Can Rule 51 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure
be employed by a Court of Appeals to avoid passing. on
objections concerning an admittedly erroneous instruc-
tion,-when the same objections were timely urged in the
District Court in writing and regarded as such by the
District Judge? .
STATEMENT OF THE CASE.
5
—
The Court of Appeals in its opinion provided no state-
ment of facts, but merely cited the allegations of plain-
tiffs’ complaint. ae
The opinion of the Coutt of Appeals does not set forth
the facts. Hence a statement will be necessary. In the
interests of simplicity, we shall first set forth the facts
about which there was no contradiction.
The respondent John W. Clarke & Company was ona
tered with the National Association of: Security Deal
and with the Securities and Exchange Comfiission. fe
270) Neither Clarke nor his company had ever been
members of any stock exchange. (A. 422) In the City of
Chicago, ‘where the respondents operated, there are only
six brokerage houses without seats on — Stock ‘ Ex-
change. (A. 842, 843)--
Members of a stock exchange receive a prescribed com-
mission of about 34 of 1% on stock transactions. (A.
297-299) Stock exchange members are prohibited from
splitting commissions with non:members. (A. 298) The
employees of the Clarke Company were himself and his
wife. (A. 270)
— >
Petitioner, James A. Dooley acted on behalf of himself
and the other petitioners. He is a Chicago lawyer. He
is extremely active as a trial and appellate lawyer. He
has contributed to his profession in lecturing at law
‘schools, bar associations, authoring nunrerous law review
articles, and revising Judge Cooley’ s work on torts. (A.
439-441) en , ee
~
The District Judge stated:
“The Court: As far as his (petitioner Dooley’s)
activities are concerned, this Court is willing to take
judicial notice of the fact that he has been on trial
practically all of the working hours of the time... .
I am willing to take judicial notice, because I have
many times called him myself for ‘trial and found
him engaged regularly and consistently. There is no
‘question about that counsel,’’ (R. 1478, A. 740)
The respondent John W. Clarke knew that Dooley de-
voted virtually all of his time to the practice of law. He
wrote to Dooley from time to time and made such state-
ments as the following:.
‘*Knowing your busy schedule .
‘‘When you get your heav€ burden of court off your
shoulders. . .'.” (P. Ex. 12)
‘*L know’ you, like everyone else, must liave fifty .
times more: to read than you have the time in which
to do it. faa
‘**Tf you can pesaility find the time to read |this. . “ay
(Pl. Ex. 13) ana |
‘*T know vou don’t have time to think of your invest-
ments... .” (Pl. Ex. 14)
*
From 1938 or 1939 td’ 1960, Dopley had purchased se-
curities from Baker, Walsh and Company. (A. 425) John
F. Baker, a firm member, and Dooley had been law school .
St
aa
; e
classmates. (A. 423, 425) At the end of 1960, Baker left
the security business to return to the practice of | ‘law.
(A. 423, 426) |
Baker acted as Dooley’s financial adviser from 1946 to
1960. (A. 443) Baker consulted with Dooley oe those
years. (A. 425, 431)
Baker, Walsh and Company riever handled ‘any under-
writings (A. 423, 430) and never owned any inventoried | -
stocks or bonds, (A. 423) The company was licensed as
a stock broker-dealer and was a stock exchange mémbher.
(A. 423)
On July 21, 1958, respondent Clarke telephoned Dooley
and invited him to lunch. (A. 308, 309, 444) Clarke had
read an article in the Wall Street Journal of July 7,
1958, (A. 309, 311) concerning a case wherein Dooley had
received a fee of $150,000. (Pl. Ex. 6) Clarke’s purpose
in hating the luncheon was to sell securities to Dooley.
(A. 311, 444, Pl. Ex. 7)
Dooley purchased $30,000 in bonds from respondents
in 1958 (A. 983, Pl. Ex. 142, 434) and $35,000 in bonds -
in 1959. (A. 984, Pl. Ex. 145) These transactions were
not the subject matter of petitioners’ complaint.
The relationship out of which this action arose com-
menced in 1960, when Baker was returning to the prac-
~—tice_of law. (A. 448) This“is manifest by Resp. Ex. 36, a
suggested program prepared by Clarke for Dooley dated-
September 14, 1960. (A. 966)
.
During this period, Clarke sold petitioners certain se-
curities, and petitioners sustained substantial losses.
A chart tells the facts. more succinctly than words:
igs Oa.
Peti-
Date Respondents’ tioners’
Issue Acq’d Profit* Loss**
American Nat’! Ins. 11/13/61 ¢$ 512.60 $ 1,287.40
Ariz. Pub. Serv. Co. 11/1/61 801.20 27,993.10
Ariz. Pub. Serv. Co. 9/18/62 1,000.00 21,619.78
Arlan’s Dept. Stores 9/26/61 695.75 1,592.40
} 5/10/62
Business Cap. Corp. 2/8/61 3,700.00 21,261.48
Calandrga..-Photo 8/9/61 235.00 510.15 —
‘Champion Spark Pl. 11/16/60 540.00 1,687.88.
Cowles Mag. & Broad. 10/30/61 . 680.00 4,530.88
Ford Motor ; 6/17/61 1,040.00 - 652.35
"| 2/24/62 1,015.00
Handschy Chemical 11/20/61 900.00 5,142.72
Rich. D. Irwin 8/29/61 234.00 1,406.86
Krvlon Ince. . 3/13/62 510.00 3,946.80
‘Marsh & McLennan 3/20/62 820.00 2,850.80
Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer 3/13/61 898.60 12,638.76 ©
Morse Shoe Co. 4/5/62 568.00 5,566.20
North Am. Accept. 11/29/61 | 400.00 2,384.98
Pauley Petroleum 1/19/62 547.60 18,547.60
Pioneer Nat’l Gas 346.90 22.20
Tip Top Products 12/14/61 3,460.00 39,617.85
Western Nat. Gas 11/2/61 1,315.15 24,789.18
| 2/15/62
3/16/62
Total Respondents’ Profit _. $20,219.80
Total Petitioners’ Loss $198,049.37
* As partially disclosed by respondents’ answers to interrogatories
. (A. 45-6) and summarized in petitioners’ Ex. 77, not received in evi-
dence but offered as part of offer of proof (A. 1275-6) and in peti-
tioners’ Ex. 20,.received in evidence. (A. 420) :
** As partially disclosed by respondents’ answers to interrogatories
(A. 39-44) and summarized in petitioner’s Ex. 82, received in e vi-
dence.
ar ee
The percentage of Clarke’s total allotment sold peti-
tioners and his profit per share are very telling:
Percentage of Profit
Issuer ; Respondents’ Shares Per
. Sold to Petitioners Share**
*Arizona Publi¢ Service Co, 100% ¢ 50
Arlan’s Dept. Stores (1) 114% 1.75
-Arlan’s Dept. Stores (2) 333, % 1.75
Business Capital Corp. 0% ° :1.00
_Calandra Photo Co. 3314 % 80
‘Champion Spark Plugs 40% 1.35
Cowles Mag. & Broadcast 20% 1.10
_*Ford Motor Co. (1) 3314 % . 2.66
_ *Ford Motor Co. (2) . 4124% 3.00
*General Motors Corp. 40% 1.00
Handschy..Chemical 25% 1.02
Inland Life Ins. 50% .24
*International Harvester Co. 100% 1.57
' Richard D. Irwin 3314 % 1.28
Kellwood Co. 40% 1.40
Krylon Ine. 40% =.
Marsh & McLennon % 25% 2.10
Morse Shoe Co. 32% » 1
North American Acceptance 6624 % 40
Northern Illinois Gas 20% 1.00
Sel-Rex Corp. 25% 1.98
Tip Top Products 50% 4.90
**21”’ Brands, Ine., . 16% 80
* Listed on New York Stock Exchange hut recommended and sold
to petitioners by Clarke only when underwriting or secondary issue
involved.
** Taken from Pl. Ex. 33, (R. 928-830) and Clarke’s testimony
(A. 374 et seq.).
a
On Clarke’s advice, petitioners sold Business Capital
Corporation an<l purchased California Growth. (So also on
his advice they sold Calandra Photo, Richard D. Irwin, .
Handsehy Chemical, Tip-Top Products, Western Natural
Gas, Pauley Petroleum, Cowles Magazine and Broad-
casting, Krylon” n’and Marsh and McLennan. (A. 410, 409,
411, 484, 412, 475, 479, 480, 481)
During this period, Clarke never advised petitioners to
purchase New York Stock Exchange stocks, unless he was
acting as an underw riter or a member of a selling group.
(A. 410) So also was it uncontradicted that when Dooley
would ask Clarke about a security listed on an exchange,
Clarke would tell him it was a poorly managed company.
(A. 449) Clarke himself said: ‘‘I might have told him
that in an effort to persuade him not to purchase the
security.” (A. 351)
Dooley and his wife were guests for dinner in the home
of Clarke and his wife during 1961 and 1962 (A. 315,
451-2); the Dooleys: were entertained at the Saddle and
Cycle’ Club by the Clarkes in 1961 (A. 316-452); the
Clarkes were guests for dinner in the Dooleys’ home (A.
316, 317, 452); Dooley and Clarke went on a retreat
together in December, 1960, at Bellarmine Hall (A. 316,
451); Dooley was invited to lunch by Clarke on ten or,
twelve occasions (A. 314, 452); Clarke and his wife rend-
ered some assistance to Dooley and his wife in connec-
tion with an adoption problem (A. 317-18), and Clarke
obtained San Francisco hotel accommodations for Dooley
in 1962 (Pl. Ex. 18), and throughout his correspondence
referred to Dooley as ‘‘Dear Jim.” (A. 317)
Clarke testified that he considered himself and Dooley
to be ‘‘companionable friends.’’ (A. 317)
ae sae
Clarke telephoned many times. (A. 314, 318-9) When
he could not reach Dooley, he left messages. (A. 318)
Dooley’s office kept a record of the times, Clarke called
but did not talk to Dooley. These showed 83 messages
between July 1958 and February 1963. (Pl. Ex. 7; A. 699;
A. 318-19) There were: 1 message in 1958; 5 messages in
1959; 12 messages in 1960; 27 messages in 1961; 35
messages in 1962, and 3 messages in 1963. (Pl. Ex. 7)
Clarke stated that frequently when he called Dooley,
Dooley was in court (A. 319-20), and that at times he
called“Dooley early in tlie morning before he went to
court. (A. 320)
In conversation with Dooley’s secretary, Clarke would
refer to Dooley as ‘‘our favorite slave” or ‘‘Dirty face”
—which he said were friendly salutations. (A. 319)
Clarke admitted that on three occasions he told Dooley
he was buying for his wife the same securities he was
recommending. He listed three separate securities: Cham-
pion Spark Plug (A. 335), Sel-Rex (A. 366-7) and North-
ern Illinois Gas Co. (A. 389) Dooley contended that
Clarke’s customary approach was that he had 4ought —
the identiegl security for his wife..(A. 470)
@
Marcella Niehoff, a widow, (A. 539) stated that Clarke
often invited her to dinner at his home (A. 539, 572);
that shortly after such dinners Clarke would telephone
her and recommend she purchase certain securities (A.
539, 540), and that several times he said (A. 544): ‘‘This
stock is good, because I just bdught a block of it diss my .
wife Maude.” (A. 542). .
During the acquisition of the above securities, Dooley
did not know in what capacity the respondents were act-
ing. (A. 457, 486) Dooley first learned of it in April 1963,
<PPLA_ERSLNP REAL ARAM Re =: ie St za
CRE abe
a oe
- when another broker informed him that respondents had
been selling to the petitioners as principals at an unusual
profit. (A. 457, 492) Daley would not have purchased the
securities if he had, known of the respondents’ real inter-
_ est in those securities, namely, if he was confining his
recommendations to situations where he was an under-:
writer or member of a selling group, and thus making a
substantial profit. (A. 491, 716)
Dooley: did ngt know that the respondents were not
members of any stock exchange. (A. 714-715)
Respondents failed to provide petitioners with final
prospectuses with or before confirmations, although the
confirmation reads: ‘‘copy of prospectus has been for-
warded to customer.” (A. 271, 272, 273 and see PI. Ex.
1) It is sent with the confirmation, if it is available, (A.
973) and in many cases is sent out after the confirma-
‘tion. (A. 273, 276) The sale becomes effective upon the
confirmation (A. 272) so the customer does not see the
final prospectus until after the sale has been completed.
_ (A. 287) Petitioners were never advised by respondents
that in most of the transactions, respondents were acting
as underwriters,,and in at least one, as a market-maker,
except that the confirmations showed an ‘‘X” mark in a
box purporting to show respondents acted as ‘‘principal”’
or ‘‘agent” in each transaction.
The only controverted facts turn around: (a) Dooley’s
testimony that generdlly Clarke advised him he was buy-
ing for his wife the same security he sought Dooley to
purchase; and (b) what occurred at the September 1960
luncheon, the beginning of the relationship. ss
i
At the September, 1960, luncheon according to Dooley,
he told Clarke that Baker was going out of the securities
business, and that Dooley was, therefore, contemplating
engaging the investment services of Stein, Roe and Farn-
ham (A. 448), who are investment counselors rather than
brokers or dealers. (A. 349) Dooley further told Clarke
that he devoted all of his time to his profession and
had no time to look after investments. (A. 450) Clarke
told Dooley that he had been on LaSalle Street since he
was a boy, was well acquainted with all phases of finan-
cial work and| would give Dooley his personalized atten-
tion, (A. 449) /and would be happy to look after Dooley’s
investments. (A. 450) 4
Clarke admitted he took Dooley to lunch on September
16, 1960, but denied’ that Dooley mentioned Baker or
Stein, Roe and Farnham. (A. 348-9) However, Clarke
admitted that as part of his business, he tells people -
what they ought to or ought not to buy, tells them the
good points and bad points of securities and recommends
securities when ‘‘I have in mind their particular needs,
or I at least attempt to evaluate their needs in connec-
tion with the security.’? (A. 312)
The petitioners suffered the following losses on its —
transactions with the respondents (Pl. Ex. 82).:
_Virginia P. Dooley $69,061.63
James A. Dooley 92,601.90
Avern Trust 29,280.50
James A. Dooley Foundation 7,105.34
Total losses $198,049.37
—12—
a A ae Ba Ses Ne
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT.
_ 1, ‘This decision is in direct conflict with another deci- .
sion of the same Court of Appeals on the same matter of
Federal law.
The opinion in this case is directly, contrary to Buttrey
vy. Merrill, Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc., 410 F. 2d
135 (7th Cir., 1969), decided by same Court of Appeals.
: Petitioners urged error in the District Court’s dismissal
prior to trial (A. 153) of the second count of the amended
complaint (A. 85-5), based on respondents’ violations of
certain Sections of Article III of the Rules of Fair Prac-
tice of the National Association of Securities Dealers
; \\(N.A.S.D.) promulgated under the Securities Exchange
: Act of 1934. These sections provide, inter alia, as follows:
‘‘Section 1. A member, in the conduct of his busi-
ness, shall observe high standards of commercial
honor and justice and equitable principles of trade.”
‘‘Section 2. In recommending to a customer the
ara purchase, sale or exchange of any security, a mem-
ber shall have reasonable grounds for believing that
the recommendation is suitable for such customer
upon the basis of the facts, if any, disclosed by such
customer as to his other security holdings and as to
his financial situation and needs.”’
This Court of Appeals conceded that under Buttrey v. ©
Merrill, Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc., the district
court in this case ‘‘improperly dismissed the claim for
violation of section 2” because section 2 is intended ‘‘for
the direct protection of investors.”
&
an
%:
4
Se
&
The Buttrey case involved the ‘‘Know Your Customer
Rule” or ‘“‘The Rule of Due Diligence,’’ of the New York
ae
Stock Exchange, which was held to authorize an implied :
private right of action because it was intended to protect
the public. -
The Court of Appeals admitted that the N.A.S.D. rules
- are for the protection of the publicas is Rule 405 of-the
New York Stock Exchange ft held that the district court
- improperly dismisse e claim for violation of section 2
of the N.A.S.D: Rules, but concluded ‘‘plaintiff was not™
prejudiced by dismissal because the same theory was in-
corporated under the claim for violation of section 15 of
the Securities and Exchange Act * * *”. (Opin. p. 7a) This
conclusion is without basis. It is no more correct than af-
firming a dismissal of an action under the Federal Safety
Appliance Act because the jury found for the defend-
ant under the Federal Employers’ Liability Act. The
Court of Appeals (a) itself made an election of remedies
causing petitioners to travel the more difficult road; (b)
affirmed an admittedly erroneous dismissal of a court.
which could well be the basis of a favorable jury verdict.
¥
The N.A.S.D. rules were adopted pursuant to Section
15A of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, not pur-
suant to Section 15 (an entirely separate and different
section of the act).
Plaintiffs’ Count I, which was the only count tried by
the jury, was based on Sections 12(2) and 17(a) of the |
Securities Act of 1933 and on Section 10(b) (and Rule
10 b-5 promulgated thereunder) of the Securities Ex-
change Act of 1934 (A. 81-2).
Section. 15(¢c)(1) provides:
‘*No broker or dealer shall make use of the mails
or of any means or instrumentality of interstate com-
merce to effect any transaction in, or to induce the
ee
_ purchase or sale of, any security (other than com-
mercial paper, bankers’acceptance, or commercial
bills) otherwise than’ on a national securities ex-
change, by means of any manipulative, deceptive or
other fraudulent device or contrivanée. * * *”
Rule-te 1-2, promulgated under Section 15(¢)(1) reads
__-as follows: : 3
ae
‘‘(a) The term manipulative, deceptive or other.
fraudulent device or contrivance, as used in section
15(c)(1) of the Act, is hereby defined to include any
act, practice, or course of business which operates or _
would operate as a fraud or deceit upon any person.
‘‘(b) The term manipulative, deceptive or other
fraudulent device or contrivance, as used’ in section
' 15(ce)(1) of the Act, ‘is hereby defined 40 oe
untrue statement of a material fact4nd any omission
to state a material fact necessarv-in order to make
the statements made, in the light of the circumstances
under which they are made, not misleading, which
statement or omission is made with knowledge or
reasonable grounds to believe that it is untrue or
misleading. :
‘“¢e) The seope of this rule shall not be limited
by any specific definitions of the term manipulative,
deceptive, or other fraudulent device or contrivance
contained in other rules adopted pursuant to section
15(¢)(1) of the Act.”’
Neither Section 15 (Section 15(c)(1)) nor the rule
promulgated thereunder (Rule 15¢ 1-2), relied upon by
the petitioners in Count I, bears any resemblance to the
sections of the N.A.S.D. rules, which have definite specific
prohibitions.
In Buttrey, this same Court of Appeals held each of
- the three counts stated a separate cause of action. Count
=. = —a
”
Se
_~ I was based on Rule 405 of the New York Stock Ex-
change; Count IT ‘‘was based on the same factual. al-
legations’’ and alleged a violation of Section 17 of the ©
1933 Act and Rule 10 b-5 under the 1934 Act; and Count
ITI alleged violations also of Section 17 and Rule 10 b-5.
If the three counts in By#ttrey stated separate causes
of action, the two counts in this case stated separate |
causes of action the:Court of Appeals erroneously :
held that Count I incorporated: ‘‘the same theory” as
“Petitioners were entitled to a jury determina-
on Count II.
2. This statutory action was tried as if it were a com-
mon law fraud case; in exacting proof of “intentional and
deliberate” wrongdoing, and admitting evidence of other
transactions on which the investor profited, this opinion
conflicts with decisions of this Court and those of the Sec- ©
ond and District of Columbia Circuits.
Today actions between. investor and broker represent
a substantial segment of civil litigdtion. There has been
no decision of this Court articulating’ the guidelines for
the trial of cases under this Act of Congress. Until this -—
Court acts, problems.arising under this federal statute, .
which must have a uniform interpretation, will be inter-
preted in the same patchwork fashion as actions .under
the Federal Employers’ Liability Act were prior to this
Court’s intervention three decades ago. ’
Here the District Court and the Seventh Circuit Court
of Appeals have exacted that plaintiff, in an action un-
der this statute, prove intentional and deliberate: wrong-
doing by defendants, allowed evidence of investors’ profits
on other transactions not in violation of the Act, per-
mitted evidence as to market fluctuations after the sale
: —16—
by the investor, notwithstanding the statute itself fixes
the damages (15 U.S.C. 77L).
Above all, there was a refusal to recognize the fiduciary .
relationship whieh exited between petitioners and _re-
paren At the instance of respondents, ‘over petition-
ers’ specific objections, the jury was instructed thus:
‘‘You are instructed that in order for you to re-
turn a verdict in’ favor of the plaintiffs on such
charge, you must be convinced that the plaintiffs
established by a preponderance of the evidence each
and every one of the following propositions: ... .
**(2) That the defendants in connection with sales
of securities to plaintiffs made false statements of
material facts or omitted to state material facts nec-
essary to be stated in order to make the statements
made in the light of the cirétimstances under which
they were made not misleading and_,that the acts,
practices, and course of condutt engaged in by the
defendants constituted a device, scheme or artifice to
defraud and that the said acts, practices and course
‘of conduct did operate as a fraud or deceit upon
the purchasers, and
**(3) That said alleged falee statements, omissions,
acts, practices and course of conduct were intentional
and deliberate.” (Emphasis added.) »
’ The Court of Appeals regarded intent necessary, say-
ing: ‘‘The specific intentional and deliberate violations
of the anti-fraud of the Act charged were that the de-
fendants sold to the plaintiffs a substantial portion of
each, underwriting Clarke and Company participated in
..’’ (Opinion p. 2a)
This Court pointed out in S.E.C. v. Capital Gains Re-
search Bureau, Inc., 375 U.S. 180 (1963), in construing
the Investment Advisers Act of 1940, and granting the
Commission an injunction:
a
a a
‘It would defeat the manifest purpose of the In-
vestment Advisers Act of 1940 for us to hold, there-
fore, that Congress, in empowering the courts to
enjoin any practice which operates ‘as a fraud or de-
ceit,’ intended to require proof of intent to injure
and actual injury to clients.” (p. 192) pat
But this opinion does not seem to have resolved this
issue in investors’ actions under the Securities Acts. Thus
in the recent case of Globus, et al. v. Law Research
Service, Inc., et al., Docket Nos. 32766-68, decided Sep-
tember 8, 1969, by the Court of Appeals for the Second
Cireuit, that Court noted that in actions under the Se-
eurities Act, the question of intent to defraud ‘‘has been
the subject of much debate. See, e.g., SEC v. VanHorn,
371 F. 2d 181, 185 (7th Cir. 1966); Ellis v. Carter, 291
F. 2d 270 (9th Cir. 1961); Royal Air Properties, Inc. v.
Smith, supra; Fishmay vi, Raytheon Mfg. Co.,. supra;
Weber v. C.M.P. Corp., 242 F. Supp. 321 (S.D. N.Y. 1965) ;
Bromberg, Securities Law, §§ 2.6(1), 2.7(1); 6 Loss,
supra, at 3552-53, 3883-88." It continued thus: ‘‘But the
trend is clearly away frem enforcing a scienter require-
ment equal to the ‘intent to defraud’ required for common
law fraud. Before there may be a violation of the securi-
ties acts there need not be present all of the same ele-
ments essential to a common law fraud, see SEC vy. Great
American Industries, 407. F..2d 453, 463, cert. denied, .
ee U.S. ..... (my coneurring opinion).”
Petitioners tendered their Instruetion No. 25:
‘*In order for the plaintiffs to recover for a viola-
tion of the securities laws it is-not necessary that
they prove that the defendants had a fraudulent
intent.” (A. 1426)
Further demonstration of the common law concept of
this statutory action was manifest in allowing respond-
218—
ents. to show profits by petitioners on transactions other
than those in issue. (A, 589, 595, 617, 622, 649, 650, 659-
60, 671) In such an action, the only issue is whether
the defendant violated the Act on issues complained of.
If the law were otherwise, it would permit the violating
broker to tell the defrauded investor that on certain
other. transactions the imvestor had made a profit.
The Court of Appeals opinion of the Seventh Circuit
is directly counter to that of the Second Circuit in the
Globus ease, (Globus, et al. v; Law Research Service, Inc.,
_ et al., Docket Nos. 32766-68, aes. 2d Cir.) where
J udge Kaufman, stated:
‘‘But, Judge Mansfield was correct in stating the is-
sue to the extent of the loss the plaintiffs suffered
as a result of their sale, not whether subsequent
transactions in the stock led to a profit. Any other
concept would prevent one from suing an. issuer of
stock even for the most flagrant violations.’’
To the same effect is the District of Columbia Court of
Appeals in Hughes v. S.E.C., 174 F. 2d 969, 974.
Another manifestation of improper use of common law
concepts was the admission in evidence, over petitioners’
objection, of respondents’ Exhibits 169 to 175 inclusive.
(A, 1123-1153, 1489) These-were charts” transactions
not in issue, profits realized, profits unrealized, and the
stock market as of March '6, 1964, the date of the filing
of the suit, notwithstanding that petitioners had admit-
tedly sold the securities and sustained the loss. This fact
fixed their damages under the statute. (15 U.S.C. 77 1)
If a broker-dealer, who defrauds an investor, can urge
that the investor would have sustained no loss had he
held the security in question, then the acts and the rules
of the Commission are meaningless.
a
The frustration of the Congressional policy of full dis-
closure was complete when the Court of Appeals con-
sidered this case as one involving ‘‘a dealer and his cus-
tomer.” It is well established that an underwriter or a
market-maker is a fiduciary as a matter of law.
In Globus v. Law Research Service, Inc., ...... Rb. lie
(2nd Cir., 1969), the Court of Appeals said:
‘‘And Congress intended to impose a ‘high stand-
ard of trusteeship’ on underwriters.”
The Court cited Kroll, ‘‘Some Reflections on Indemnifi-
- cation Provisions and S.E.C. Liability Insurance in the
Light of Barchris and Globus,” 24 Business Lawyer 681
(1969) at page 687, where the following appears:
‘“We all know that Congress intended that Sec-
tion 11 would impose on management and under-
writers who sponsor and issue a high standard of
trusteeship and a ‘duty of competence as well as
innocence.’ |H.R. Rep. No. 85, 73rd Cong., Ist Sess.
(1933) 3, 5, 9; 8. Rep. No. 47, 73rd Cong., 1st Sess.
5 (1933)]. The section was intended to ‘promote care-
ful adherence to the statutory requirements.’ _
nr
See also: Hughes v. Securities & Exchange Com., 174
F. 2d 969 (C.A. D.C.), which cannot be reconciled. with
this decision, and Cohen’s analysis of the status of broker-
dealer as a fiduciary, Duke University Law School, ‘‘Con-
ference on Seturities Regulation’? (Commerce Clearing
House, 1965) pp. 60-61.
It must be remembered that of the twenty transactions
in issue, fourteen involved respondents as underwriters,
and a fifteenth as a market-maker.
The Court of Appeals did not address itself to this
question of law, but stated: ‘‘* * * here, the jury, by vir-
SEE GE eo a re EIR, Mette RES OB 2 ee BER NIE aS ues eS APRS
—_), |
tue of its general verdict, necessarily found that such a
relationship did not exist.’’ (Op. p. 3a)
Of course, there is no proposition of law that a gen-
eral verdict has any such significance, partionlarly when
error has intervened.
3. The: decision interprets Rule 51 of the Federal Rules
of Civil Procedure so that it is impossible to have a court
of review pass upon objections to instructions—a deleteri-.
ous effect upon the future administration of this rule.
We have already set forth respondents’ given Instruc-
tion 18, ante, p. 16, whereby, in order to recover, peti-
tioners were required to prove: (a) all the elements of
wrongdoing provided for by the Act and rules, although
-the Act and the rules are in the disjunctive ‘‘or’’ and
(b) deliberate and intentional wrong. :
The error described by the Court of ee was as
follows:
‘*. . . the elements of wrongdoing are connected by
the word § and’ in the instructions given, whereas, the |
Act and Rules join them by the disjunctive word
‘or’.” (Op. p. 6a)
In the applicable statute and rules (Section 17(a) of
the 1933 Act and Rule 10b-5 and Rule 15e 1-2), the first
two ‘‘ands”’ in paragraph 2 of the instruction are ‘‘ors”
and paragraph 3 of the instruction is not in the statute.
The Court of Appeals stated that ‘‘With reference to
Instruction No. 18, plaintiffs’ counsel. merely stated that
it was repetitious’’ and that this was an inadeqtate ob-
jection under Rule 51. |
Fie il On Na eg A
= an ss ime (RS et a: RR RDN NE Br Si
¥
Bs
S® wr
My i, ae
OF i ; er AX
is e~ <4 2 3 Z j Z :
mie PNET
and these objections to this instruction covered the exact
re é \
f 4 2% ®
The record shows. that petitioners tifcia in f=
grounds urged in the Cotirt of Appeals.
The conference on instructions commenced on Friday, |
January 26, 1968 (A. 1286) and petitioners’ objections to
respondents’ instruction No. 18 covered four pages of the
record (A. 1303-1306), including a continuing objection
by petitioners as to the magnitude of the burden of proof
which No. 18 saddled upon petitioners.@
The conference on instructions was adjourned to Mon-
day, January 29 (A. 1325). When the conference on in-
structions was resumed on Monday, the following oc-
eurred (A. 1326-7):
‘*Mr. Dooley: Your Honor, we prepared some writ-
ten instructions—written objections—to the defend-
ants’ tendered instructions. :
‘‘The Court: If we have written objections that
will save us time. Leave is granted to plaintiffs to
file its objections to the tendered instructions in
, written form, and it will not be necessary to hear
anything any further on that.
‘‘Mr. Flynn: I don’t even have a copy of it,: your
Honor.
‘‘The Court: That is what I am saying, J will re-
tire and study them. You will take time to look at
them and then I will hear you briefly on that and
very briefly and rebuttal, because these are very
extensive. So we will handle it in that manner.”
(Emphasis added.)
It is obvious that the written objections were part of
the conference and were regarded as such by the District
Court and counsel.
The written objections eovered 15 pages and included
eight specific objections to respondents’ instruction No.
4
ba J
—29__
18 (A. 163-165), including the following se cane (A.
164):
“<Defendants’ Tendered Instruction No. 18
‘‘Plaintiffs object to this Instruction for the fol-
lowing reasons:
es Fe Re, ae Ke
‘PD. Refers to the Sections by Terminology which
is improper since the jurors will not have the cor-
rect terminology of the Statute. We refer to Sec-
tions (a) (1) (2) and (3):
* * * * *
“EF. Paragraph 2 of the said complaint [should
be ‘instruction’] requires the plaintiffs to prove cer-
tain facts in the conjunctive ‘and that the acts,
practices’ etc., whereas under plaintiffs’ complaint
and in the law in this case there can be a recov-
ery upon proof of any charge within the complaint
—“G, There is no requirement under the Act as
set forth im paragraph (3) of this Instruction to
prove that the omissions, acts and courses of con-
duct ‘were intentional and deliberate.’ To hold that
_ the plaintiffs had to do. this is.to place wpon them
an onus with the law which the law does not.’’ (Km-
phasis added.) (A. 164, 165) .
The objection was made as clearly and specifically as
possible.
The written objections were made during, and in fact
at the very beginning of, the Monday conference (A.
1326-27).
The district court stated in the record that prior to the
charge he would take a recess to retire and study the
written objections (A. er hae following occurred (A.
1346) :
a ee
“The Court: Well now, counsel, you have given me
a 15-page written, which I am going to file, and
your record is protected.”
“The Court: All right, let the record show that.
this Court has given a hearing for the purposes of
conforming to the rules in order that all instructions
may be submitted and that all may be objected to by
the respective parties in order to preserve the rec-
ord for possible appeal.
‘‘Mr. Barnett: (Counsel for Plaintiff) And our
written objections will stand.’’
“The Court: I have notified the Clerk to file your
written objections.” (Emphasis added.)
As if that were not enough, petitioners tendered their
instruction 25, concerning intent. (A. 1426)
There was nothing humanly possible that petitioners
could have done further to make their objections and to
state the grounds for the objections.. The Court of Ap-
peals stated:
**. . . the trial judge gave the plaintiffs an oppor-
tunity to elaborate upon the written objections. With
reference to instruction number 18, plaintiffs’ coun-
sel merely stated that it was ‘repetitious’.”’
The district court did not ‘‘give an opportunity to
elaborate.’’ Petitioners’ counsel simply volunteered as fol-
lows (A. 1359):
‘“Your Honor, may we note that there are 1, 5, 16,
25, 13, 17, 18 and 19 instructions tendered by the
defendant which the Court has indicated he is going
to give dealing with the preponderance of the evi-
dence and the burden of proof. We object on the
-ground of ‘repetition along with the other objections
we have already stated.’’ (Emphasis added.)
Certainly Rule 51 was never intended for the purpose
for which it was thus employed in these circumstances.
If this be true, then there can be no preservation of ob-
jections to instructions.
For a Court of Appeals to say the objections were not
made is hardly consistent with its responsibility. This
alone should justify the granting of this writ under the
supervisory powers of this Court, to insure the rights
of other litigants.
PRAYER FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI.
Wherefore, petitioners pray this Court’s writ of certi-
orari to review and reverse the judgment of the ‘Court of
Appeals for the Seventh Circuit in this case.
Respectfully submitted,
Rospert A, SPRECHER
111 W. Monroe Street
Chicago, Illinois 60603
» Attorney for Petitioners
— fs
In the
Bnited States Court of Appeals
For the Seventh Circuit
4 |
_Sepretiser Term, 1968 < Aprit Session, 1969
No. 16957 f
AverN Trust, Viratnia P. Doo.ey,
‘James A. Dootey and James A.
Dootey Founpation, a corpora- | Appeal from the
tion, r United States Dis-
Plaintiff s-A ppellants, trict Court for, the
Oe ae g Northern District
Vv. of Illinois, Eastern
Divis; |
JoHN W. CiarkeE and Joun W. ee
CuarKE & Co., a corporation,
Defendants-A ppellees. )
JuLy 14, 1969
Before Kirey, Swycert and Kerner, Circuit Judges.
Swycert, Circuit Judge. The plaintiffs in this action, /.
James A. Dooley, his wife, Virginia, the Avern Trust,
of which the Dooleys are the beneficiaries, and the James
A. Dooley Foundation, a charitable corporation, seek
damages for fraud and breach of a fiduciary relationship—
arising from a series of securities transactions during
1961-63 with the defendants, John W. Clarke & Co., a
broker-dealer in securities, and John W. Clarke, its pres-
ident. -
The amended complaint charged the defendants with
fraud by virtue of their alleged violation of sections
"on
(Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals)
12(2) and 17(a)(1)(2) and (3) of the Securities Act of
1933, 15 U.S.C. §§771(2) and q(a)(1)(2) and (3), and
certain antifraud provisions and rules promulgated there-
under of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, section
10(b) and Rule 10b-5 and section 15(¢)(1) and Rule 15e
1-2, 15 U.S.C. §78j}(b), 17 CFR 240.10b-5, and 15 U.S.C.
§780(¢)(1), 17 CFR 240.15¢ 1-2. The amended complaint
further charged the defendants with a violation of section
18A(b)(7) of the Exchange Act, 15 U.S.C. §780-3(b) (7),
and sections 1, 2 and 18 of Article III of the Rules of
Fair Practice of the National Association of Securities
Dealers. Compensatory damages in the amount of $152,500
and punitive damages in the amount of $295,000 were
demanded. :
The specific intentional and deliberate violations, of the
antifraud provisions of the Acts charged were that the
defendants sold to the plaintiffs a substantial portion
of each underwriting Clarke & Co. participated in for the
purpose of realizing an underwriting. profit that was
larger than the commission charged ih connection with
the purchase of listed securities and for the purpose of
avoiding any possible liability on the underwriting com-
mitment of Clarke & Co.; that the defendants did not
advise the plaintiffs of the “risks inherent” in the securi-
ties purchased by the: plaintiffs; that the defendants
consistently took a position adverse to the plaintiffs in
that Clarke & Co. secretly dealt as a principal with the
plaintiffs; and that'the defendant, Clarke, made the mis-
representation that he was purchasing large blocks of
securities being offered to the plaintiffs for the acqount |
of his avife and that he held large blocks of such securities.
After extensive discovery, a jury trial was held and,
after denial of the defendants’ motions for a directed
verdict made at the close of the plaintiffs’ case and after
all the evidence was in, the jury returned its verdict
finding the, issues for the Paap eao Plaintiffs’? motions
for judgmént notwithstanding the verdict and for a new
trial were denied. This appeal followed.
Since the evidence in this case is voluminous, we will
discuss it only as it relates to particular errors that have
been raised in this appeal. Most of the errors here relate .
B »
a
(Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals)
to questions of fact that were within the province of the |
jury to determine. Thus, as a court of review, our inquiry
is limited to deciding whether there was substantial
evidence to support the jury’s verdict.
The first contention presented is that the plaintiffs
were entitled to a judgment notwithstanding the verdict.
The standard to be applied in determining whether they
were entitled to a judgment n.o.v. was recently stated
by this court in Funk v. Franklin Life Ins. Co., 392 F.2d
913, 915 (7th Cir. 1968); “The. motion is properly denied
where the evidence, along with all inferences to be reason-
ably drawn therefrom, when viewed in the light most .
favorable to the party opposing such motion, is such that
reasonable men in a fair and impartial exercise of their
judgment may reach different conclusions.”
The plaintiffs suggest that as a matter of law a fiduciary
relationship existed between plaintiffs and defendants.
Support for this position is said to be found in the eases
of Charles Hughes & Co. v. S.E.C., 139 F.2d 434 (2d Cir.
1943), cert denied, 321 U.S. 786 (1944), Hughes v. S.E.C.,
174 F.2d 969 (D.C. Cir. 1949), and Norris & Hirshberg,
Inc. v. S.E.C., 177 F.2d 228 (D.C. Cir. 1949). These au-
thorities are not controlling here since all present Sub-
stantially dissimilar factual situations and in each the
finder of fact eoncluded from the evidence that a relation-
ship of trust and confidence existed between a dealer
and his customer, whereas, here, the jury, by virtue of its
general verdict necessarily found that such a relationship
did not exist. Although there was much evidence that
the defendant, Clarke,-promoted a friendship with. Dooley
for the purpose of selling him securities, there was also
evidence that Dooley acted in a manner inconsistent with
his claimed financial naivete and fiduciary relianee. For.
example, Dooley maintained quite detailed ledger sheets
covering all of his investments during the course of his
dealings with the defendants. These ledger sheets reveal
that Dooley had the time and interest to look after his
investments and that he was aware of the nature of the
securities being sold to him by Clarke, as well as Clarke’s
capacity. The dispute between the parties in April 1961
over the clipping by Clarke’s secretary of certain mu-
—4a—
(Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals)
nicipal bond coupons belonging to Dooley and Dooley’s
careful comparison pricing in September 1962 of some
$1,000,000 of government bonds which he intended to
purchase are further evidence of Dooley’s lack of com-
plete reliance on Clarke’s financial advice and services.
A major contention of the plaintiffs is that they were
defrauded by Clarke in that they did not know and Clarke
did not disclose to them that hep was an underwriter and,
thus, when he was acting as a principal in dealing with
them, Clarke was making a profit as a principal. Further,
the plaintiffs assert that they did not know the difference
between a principal and an agent in securities transactions
until 1963. This was a question of credibility for the jury.
Further, the con!irmation of each sale made by the defen-
dants to the plaintiffs stated whether the confirmed sale
was made with the defendants acting in their capacity |
as principal or agent. The jury had reason to believe
that the plaintiff, Dooley, especially in light of his legal
experience and the volume of his previous securities
transactions, knew the difference between principal and
agent transactions and was fully cognizant of Clarke’s
role as underwriter.
For the first time in their reply brief, the plaintiffs
urge thatthe defendants violated section 5(b) of the
Securities Act of 1933 in that they did not always accom- _
pany or precede confirmations of sale with a final form
of the prospectus. This violation of section 5(b) is said
to constitute liability under section’12. At trial, the plain-
tiffs proceeded on the theory that the defendants failed
to comply with the provisions of Rule 1l5cl-4, 17 CFR
240.15¢1-4, promulgated under the Exchange Act of 1934.
Since that rule requires only that a final prospectus be
received by the customer before completion of the sale,
there was no issue whether a final form prospectus pre-
* eeded confirmation. The proof at trial as well as the
tendered jury instructions related only to a theory of
recovery under the, Exchange Act Rule. Thus, the factual
inquiry was whether with respect to each of the under-
writings in question the plaintiffs received prior to the
time payment was due a final form prospectus which
disclosed that Clarke & Co. was an underwriter and the
=
- (Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals) -
total amount of underwriting profit. The jury instructions »
spoke only in terms of whether a rospectus was received
prior to the time payment was due. Under the circum-
‘stances, the plaintiffs are precluded from arguing a new
theory of recovery for the first time on appeal. Cleury
v. Indiana Beach, Inc., 275 F.2d 543 (7th Cir.), cert. denied,
364 U.S. 825 (1960); Miller v. Avirom, 384 F.2d 319 (D.C.
Cir. 1967). t ;
The plaintiffs claim that the business operations of
Clarke & Co. were conducted in a manner similar to a
Roars aaa “Ht There is no support in the record for this
assertion. The securities sold by Clarke *& Co. were not
of the low-priced speculative variety normally associated
with such operations. Additionally, there is no evidence
of high-pressure selling methods or misrepresentations
concerning the securities involved.
Despite the plaintiffs’ contention, the evidence estab-
lished that the plaintiffs authorized each transaction they
had with the defendants. The plaintiffs rely on Dooley’s
‘testimony that the defendants purchased several issues
on behalf of the plaintiffs without prior authorization.
Clarke denied this testimony and stated that prior to
selling each of the securities in question he discussed
them with Dooley and obtained his approval to buy them.
The jury believed Clarke. Dooley’s testimony cannot be
the basis for a judgment n.o.v.
The plaintiffs’ final argument relating to its judgment
n.o.v. contention is that certain “admissions” of John
Clarke constituted a prima facie case of fraud and viola-
tion of a fiduciary relationship. We have considered these
statements of defendant Clarke, most of which are in-
nocuous or ambiguous, and do not view them in the light
suggested by the plaintiffs.
The second major category of errors alleged by the
plaintiffs pertains to the instructions given by the district
court. The plaintiffs cite the giving or failure to give
thirteen separate instructions as reversible error. We will
only discuss the more substantial of the alleged errors,
since we find no error in the instructions.
The plaintiffs specify as error defendants’ instruction
number 18. which sets forth what matters plaintiffs must
—
(Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals)
prove to show a violation by defendants of section 17(a)
(1)(2) and (3) of the Securities Act and Rules 10b-5 and
15e1-2 promulgated under the Exchange Act. Plaintiffs
complain that this instruction is erroneous in that the
elements of wrongdoing are connected by the word “and”
in the instruction—given, whereas, the Act and Rules
join them by the disjunctive word “or.” It.is our view
that the plaintiffs waived their right to raise this error
since at the conference on instructions and following the
court’s charge, they failed to make the objection that is
now being relied upon. The plaintiffs’ further contention
that thgir written objections to the instructions contained
the efor now raised must fall. After leave was granted
to file written objections just minutes before the jury
was charged, the trial judge gave the plaintiffs an oppor-
tunity to elaborate upon the written objections. With
1eference to instruction number 18, plaintiffs’ counsel
merely stated that it was “repetitious.” This was inade-
quate notice of the objection. Rule 51 of the Federal Rules
of Civil Procedure precludes the assignment of error
when no. specific objection to an instruction is made.
Likewise, the Supreme Court has -expressly required that
objections be specific. Palmer v. Hoffman,-318 U.S. 109,
119 (1943). 7
Three of the instructions complained of, numbers 2,
25 and 28, were the plaintiffs’ own instructions. We do
not find that any jury confusion could have resulted
from. the asserted inconsistency between the plaintiffs’
tendered instructions and the defendants’ instructions
numbered 18, 20 and 30. Defendants’ instructions numbers °
8 and 7 were taken verbatim from Mathes: and Devitt,
Federal Jury Practice and Instructions (1965). These.
instructions were not erroneous.
Plaintiffs claim a variety of evidentiary errors were
committed by the trial judge. These errors are said to
arise from the allowance into evidence of certain testi-
mony adduced by the defendants and the exclusion from
evidence of certain matters that the plaintiffs sought to
introduce. It would serve no useful purpose to canvass
these claims of prejudicial error. We have considered
the claims and find them to be without merit.
wa
(Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals)
Error is asserted to have resulted from the district
court’s striking the plaintiffs’ claim for punitive damages.
It is difficult to see how. the plaintiffs can complain about
this. Not only was their proof insufficient to persuade
the jury to award compensatory damages, but also the
evidence in the case was completely devoid of any hint
of the wantonness, malice or impropriety that must under-
line a claim for punitive damages. Further, it has been
held that punitive damages cannot be recovered in a
private aetion brought under the Exchange Act and the
Rules thereunder. Estate Counseling Service, Inc. v.
Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc., 303 F.2d
527 (10th Cir: 1952). In addition, section 12(2) of the
Securities Act expressly provides that the measure of
damages is recovery of “the consideration paid for such
security with interest thereon.”
Plaintiff alleges as error’the dismissal by the district
judge of the claim based on violations of section 1, 2
and 18 of Article III of the Rules of Fair Practice of the
National Association of Securities Dealers. In Buttrey
v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc., No. 17136
(7th Cir., filed April 17, 1969), this court held that there
was a private right of action for violation of Rule 405
of the New York Stock Exchange in order to protect
the public. The Rules of the N.A.S.D. were enacted under
section 15A of the Securities and Exchange Act. 5 U.S.C.
§780-3: Section 2 of Article III of the Rules of Fair
Practice is intended “for the direct protection of in-
vestors.” Lowenfels, Implied Liabilities Based Upon Stock
Exchange Rules, 66 Colum. L. Rev. 12, 29 (1966). There-
fore,- the district judge improperly dismissed the claim
for violation of section 2. However, plaintiff was not
prejudiced by dismissal because the same theory. was
incorporated under the claim for violation of section 15
- of the Securities and Exchange Act. 15 U.S.C. $780.
We have considered the other errors raised by the
plaintiffs and find them to be without substance. This
-lawsuit grew out of a complicated factual background.
The issues of fraud and breach of a fiduciary relationship
in-the last analysis presented questions of credibility
and fact. The jury was in the best position to make a
determination of these facts. We are unwilling to overturn
-
5s BIB WO Si <TR EI a OL —
Se rae
(Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals)
_ the result of a trial that lasted almost three weeks and
where substantial evidence supports the jury’s verdict.
The judgment of the district court is affirmed.
A true Copy:
Teste:
,
Clerk of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Seventh Circuit.
ak ae mere,
* F
°
.
P
"
ol)
LIBRARY 6 ea eee
UPREME COURT, U.S. | FEB 17 1970
- Jv Fans, een
IN THE
_—S Court of the Gnited States
Oorommn Tena, 1969.
Pate
a
No. 1091
AVERN TRUST, VIRGINIA P. DOOLEY, JAMES A.
DOOLEY axp JAMES A. DOOLEY FOUNDATION, |
A CORPORATION, .
Petitioners,
vs.
JOHN W. CLARKE np JOHN W. CLARKE & CO.,
A CORPORATION,
: Respondents.
1 ——————
BRIEF nN OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR
WRIT OF CERTIORARI.
*
-Joun H. Bisuopr,
. 141 West Jackson Boulevard,
Chicago, Illinois 60604, _
Attorney for Respondents. ¢
Of Counsel:
Bisnor, Ericson & FiYNyN,
141 West Jackson Boulevard,
Chicago, Illinois 60604.
THE GUNTHORP-GARREN PRINTING COMPANY, OMICARO
>
@
INDEX.
PAGF
mensoment. Of the Case. osnk ss os os Ko eo ees oi ea ary
I. Nature of the Action and Proceedings Below.. 3
II. Facts Relevant to the Issues Raised by. the
hes i, AR ee PLES Pees We RIG Re 4
The Writ Should Not Be Granted ........:......: 2)
I. The Decision Below Is Absolutely Consistent
With Buttrey v. Merrill Lynch, and Therefore
Is No Conflict of Decisions Within the Seventh
i a RS Ea ee LC pn er see een TONG wena StL) he ap 25
II. The Opinion Below Is Not In Conflict With
Any Decision of this Court or of the Courts of
Appeals of the Second and District of Colum-
bia Circuits With Regard to the Necessary Fle-
ments to be Established in a Private Action
Under the Securities Act or Exchange Act .... 29
IIT. The Court of Appeals Has. Applied Rule 51 of
the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure in Ac-
cordance With the Mandate of This Court Laid
Down in Palmer v. Hoffman .........:...... 34
COMME Os are ee ee en ote ea rs dee ens 36
AUTHORITIES.
Cases.
Buttrey v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith,
Inc., 410 F. 2d 135 (7th Cir., 1969) .:........... . .20, 26
Colonial Realty Corporation v. Bache & Co., 358 F. 2d
RIG (AG Rite BOY as Ses bad SAG oe eee ee ed 26
Globus v. Law Research Service, Inc., Nos. 32766-68 |
mag ie. Une (2nd Cir., 1969); Fed. See. L. Rep.
Rt Se aay ere pare Pee re eee pee pats chy Ay Ua 31 -.
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.