Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Weersing v. United States

Supreme Court brief1969

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

ae FiLED-

SEP 23 1969

RF aS SO SEU! CUS

Fc URT. 1 &

|

- Supreme ¢ Court of of the United d ‘Sta tege + vans,

f

t

Cait “3 e ra

. - : ‘ : &

ta ) |

o 4 a

Joun FREDERICK WEERSING,

: )

Petitioner,

US.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, sa fase

. Respondent.

|

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

= U.S.C. §1254(1)). stat

_ Davin FINKEL‘and Hucu R. Mangs,

| 3 a £3440 Wilshire Boulevard,

; ~ Los Angeles, Calif. 90005,

Attorneys eg Petitioner.

Parker & Son, Inic., Law Printers, Los Angeles. Phone 685-9790

Sere Rt SELECTOR

TRE ROLE

. “ede

a

SUBJECT INDEX

Opinion Below ....... ba cs ics edeievalacs aie ee ieeatels

Jurisdiction ........... fi costcclehvedaaieecbese cosas

Questions Presented ne it, ETE. SIA IS an

Constitutionat Provisions, atic and. Administra-

tive Regulations Involved ...............+-- pawenineptetniynecnies

Statement of the Case>.................. BS eR MER Canon oF

Summary of Proceedings Below ................-:+-ss00-0++:

How the I FONG ssiscinsinceoncusinnndetanensdioninnenen

Reasons for Granting Certiorari ~.......0:..2...2.-:02000-+-

&

. Peekaiinary Statement .<..-..-...----rinsnceeesieen bpintinin

EL :

Proof. of a Valid Induction Order Is an Essential

Ingredient of the Offense Charged; and Con-

' viction Without Such Proof Offends ds Due Proc-

WUE iscttnncheacteotsencdsitanulseiaiabiies vlasailies asinicasdicain ties

oe III. 3

“Proof of Proper Order of Call Is an Issue Which

| May Not Only Affect the Due Process Rights

of the Accused Registrant, but Tends to Safé-

guard the Integrity of the Selective Process ...:..

IV.

It Is a Denial of Due Process to Substitnte an Un-

founded Presumption of Regularity for Proof

of an Essential Element of the Offense ..:...........

RABE WEEP 0 ARE LIBEL IES. PRA ER ASE AE ABE

ii.

Ne - | ” Page’

The Use of hi Piiesipted of Regularity in Se-

_ lective Service Cases Has Convoked Diverse and

Often Questionable Rationales Therefore, Re-

sulting in Conflicting and Confusing Applica-

tions Thereof, Not Only Between, but Within

BEE CRORES onc cevsnincwigseuserensi Themyimocaigatis en gelliicnesis 14 -

ee 7

The Presumption of Regularity Cannot Be Justi-

fied on Grounds’ of Convenience, Common Ex-

perience, Fact or _ PP" Speed eC ee ‘asteaet ae. 16°

aes ae: ene

> The Selective Service File at Bar Discloses Proce-

dural Error Which Strips the Local Board’s

Induction Order of Any Presumptive Validity

- to.Which It Otherwise Might Have Been En- |

tHeG ........ Sencheoesiadintinencncenantincnsinbledtisint Seca ni 20

CINE oo cicecincnies. ipaiuiaibdeoniiasia car eesti e e 21

» INDEX TO APPENDICES _

Appendix A. Opinion of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit ......... odmuaeiialues 1

Appendix B. Title 50 App., U.S.C. §462(a) pone,

Appendix C. Title 50 Appx., U'S.C. §454(a) ........ 10

Appendix D. Title 50 Appx., U.S.C. §455(a) ...... 11

Appendix E. 32 C.F.R. §1631.7(a) ecesocsccesneee ee

Appendix F. Partial List of -Selective Service

Cases Disclosing Administrative Irregularities

and Procedural Errors ..........-..-.--se-sessestesscsesseesseees 14

ee ne

“Bain, a sarte, WEUS, 17S. Ce 781 pea

~-Brede v. United States, 396 F. 2d 155, op. mod..

meee: |

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED «| |

Cases Page

400 F. IE I shidsidiacuicu aasoeinmdanees Riiidicnuicte

Carnley V. Cochran, 369 US. 506, 82'S. Ct. 884 ... 13

Chaney v. United States, 406 F. 2d 809 oe 15

Christoffel v. United States, 338 U.S. 84,69 Ss...

Rs FNM > Decl Miki tecoharnesinecdsaincuetanemousasalenenntinn 8, 12

Estep v. United States, $27 U.S. 114, 66°S, ct

. Mire dies RCO AP SEIT SPOOR OE Oa OH 8

Fannon v. United States, 155 F.2d-720, 11 Alaska ©

EON RA SR oD OOO cennisty.

Franks v. United States, 216 B20... 8

Garner v. Louisiana, 368 U.S. i157, 2 S.C.

a NN dca alerted sacetopacieietonacninn iicscadionssicisidciusscseisibionen -~ 8

Greer v. United States, 378 F. 2d 931 00... . 5,

Griffin v. California, 380 U.S. 609, 85 Sz Ct. 1229 .. 19 .

Johnson v. Florida, 391 U.S. 596, 88 S. Ct. 1713 ..... 8

Johnson v. Zerbst, 304 U.S. 458, 58 S. Ct. 1019 .... 13

"Keene ¥. United States, 266 F. 2d 378 ..7, 14, 15, 16, y7

Koch v. United States, 150 F. 2d. 762 aes eNeias 16.

Kretchet v. United States, I BE TOE cincannvcnese es

Leary-v. United States, 89 S. Ct. 1532 .......... 12, 17,.18

Miller v. United States, 388° F. 2d°973 ceceecoesceee UL

Miranda ~v. Arizona, 384 ick , 346, 86 S. Ct.

I eke WoL haces senlcingcowntnioainniaiisvavkonoataed 8, 13, 19

Morissette v. United States, 342 US. Boas, fe. !

Ries OI siebiscencocsntag TPO et IE EASA ett SUP 12

Sabriego v.- Maverick, 124 U. $. 261 SORA I a nee 12

; :

oom | * Page

Shepherd v. United States, 217 F. 2d 942 ........15, 19

Sicurella v. United States, $48 aS. 385, 75: S/R.

se A ae RE RINE EET ee Oa LO y----- 16

Slochower v. Bead of Higticr’ Exhiestion of the

City of N.Y., 350 U.S: 551, 76S. Ct./637. .....:2 19

nay, _ Stirone v. United States, 361 US. 212, 80 >: ee

270 : eeeccece ‘ eeeece wesseeneeseneeentatecesecementnreseteereesdeeny wccsccccccces 9

’ Storey v. ‘United States, 370F. are

- Thompson. y.. Louisville; “362“U.S? 199, 80.5. Ct

IE. MERE IN AP LENS ODEON cml, Mi 8:

Tot v. United States, 319 US. 463, 63 S; ‘Ct 1241. ~

EC SAIE MT a rer ubikabsasiededicsnnestscnakenihanecbicbetients lesan 17, 18

United States v. -Bornemann, 298 F. Supp. 1253 °::. ‘16

‘United States v. Bryan, 339 U.S. 323, 70 S: Ct.

SPR eds nee desbeaaen Shana acid aiiacad cchadalsdinie lian acsdade . 12

United States v. Dugdale, 389 F. 2d GEE ceernstnwcceun 11

United States v. Fatrick, B40 Fe. 2 Deion ssseetnsers 7

United States v. Lybrand, 379 F. Supp. 74... 16

United States v. Richmond, 274 F. ‘Supp: OF conn

United States v. Romano, 381 U.S. 136, 86.8. Ct.

279 vincsintavenssinaounnbesnpianpntsneainsinanininiestnaetieneliey Bey BO.

United States v.’ Ross, 92 U.S. 281 scaanaseasaaiaieiai 12

United States v. ‘Sandbank, 403 F. 2d 38, 89 S.

A RIMINE ceiedapsiighcannecatpeigaiatactostntainieianit 7, 14, 15, 16, 19

United States v. Smith, ‘291 F. Supp. 63 e 19

United States ex rel. Bergdoll v v. Drum, 107 F

| Venus v. United States, 368 -U. s. “345, 82 S, Ct. 384,

rev'’g 287 F, 2d 304 veleninnnenilbctninniilicin soesenesneeeneseettesseeee

cd

Page

Ward: v. United States, 344 U.S. 924, 73 S. Ct.

a4, ceva 196-F 2d 441 ae

Yates v. United States, 404 F.2d 462; aire. den’d,

407 F F. 2d 50 soakeanacenennienn 7, 8, 9; 14, 15, 16, 18, 19 —

Zuziak’ V.- Used” States, 119 F.2d 140 ...... wegseoneoal 8 |

Regulations ) y)

Code of Federal Regulations, Title 32, Sec. 1604. | ae

Code of Federal’ Regulations, Title 32, Sec. 1606.1 .. . 20 ;

_ Code of Federal Regulations, Title 32;, Sec. 1628. -

Code of Federal Regulations, Title*32,, Sec. 1631 .. 10°

Code of Federal Regulations,. Title 32, Sec. 1631.2 10

Codefof Federal Regulations, Title K ae Sec. 1631.6 .. 10

Code sia Federal ee Title 32, Sec. 1631. 7

miesicmaanete Aecbespinvsinissncenennenipysesvennpanessvopeecateceecs 3, 10

3 | Statutes ;

Code’ of Federal Regiilations, Title * Sec. 1660. 20-

OF suhawiates Sesiiplsiiablhcieisieinian fnviailegdaneticahopuieepiaas 21

Military . Selective Service Acct of "1967, Sec. ‘ mm 9

United States Gode, Title 18, Sec. 3231 dcedaecealacs 4

Unitéd States Code,: Title 28, Sec. 1254(1) .... 2

‘United States Code,. Title 50: App., Sec. ee 3 : |

United States Code, Title 50 App., Sec. 455° .....3, 10

> United States Code, Title 50 App., Sec. 455(a) (2)

silica pans ei eaten od ee

‘ United States Code, Title 50 App., Sec. 462. igo 3.

United. States Code Annotated, Title 50, See. 462 a.

United States Constitution, Fifth Amendment ate DS ..

ew

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1969 —

aad . No. eccesoce

JoHN FREDERICK WEERSING,

| Petitioner,

US.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

. a >

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

(28 U.S.C. §1254(1)). | :

@

To the Honorable Chief Justice of the United S tates

Supreme Court, and to the Honorable Assoqgat: :

- Justices Thereof:

Petitioner, John Frederick Weersing, prays that a

Writ of Certiorari issue to review the judgment of the’

United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit,

made and entered on August 7, 1969, iif thre-ease en>-

titled United States of America v. John Frederick Weer-

sing, No. 23055.

Opinion Below.

. The opinion and judgment of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit is not yet reported; and

a copy of said opinion and judgmerit is appended hereto

as Appendix “A.”

%

EEE EEE EEE eae_e_ aw a

—2—

Jurisdiction.

1. The judgment of said Circuit Court of Appeal

was filed and entered on August 7,1969. © —

2. No application for rehearing was made to. said.

_ Circuit Court, and-no rehearing of ‘the cause has» been

ordered by said court.

3. The date for filing this Petition, under Rule 22

of the Rules of the Supreme Court, was September. 6,

1969: but we file same was extended to September

22, 1969 by ordgr of Mr. Justice Douglas, dated Septem-

ber 12, 1969.

4. Jurisdiction to review said judgment of said Cir- ~

cuit Court is conferred on this court by Title 28 U.S.C.

§1254(1).

Questions Presented.

The only question presented by this Petition is the

following,

WHETHER PETITIONER’S CONVICTION

FOR: REFUSAL TO SUBMIT TO INDUCTION

PURSUANT TO AN ORDER “DULY GIVEN”

BY HIS DRAFT BOARD VIOLATES DUE PROC-

ESS OF LAW WHERE THE ONLY PROOF OF

AN ESSENTIAL ELEMENT OF SAID OFFENSE

- RESTS SOLELY UPON A PRESUMPTION UN-

AUTHORIZED BY STATUTE, IMPOSED WITH-

OUT NOTICE AND BY IMPLICATION, AND

UNSUPPORTED BY REASON, COMMON EX-

PERIENCE, FACT OR LAW, AND WITHOUT

ANY RATIONAL CONNECTION TO ANY FACT

PROVED.

4

ar Se

Constitutional Provisions, Statutes and

Administrative Regulations Involved.

The constitutional provision involved herein is the

Fifth Amerfdment -to the United States Constitution

which states; in pertinent part:

i “No person shall . . . be deprived of life, liberty,

or property without ies process of law . Af geile

The statutes involved herein are Title 50 U. ol hes

§§454, 455, and 462; which are set forth, respectively,

in Appendix “B”, “C” and-“D” hereof.

' The administrative renihinsiadl involved herein is 32

C.F.R. §1631.7, which ‘is set férth in Appendix | a ha

hereof.

Statement of the Case.

Summary of Proceedings Below.

On March 27, 1968, a one-count indictment was re-

turned and filed-in United States District Court for

the Central District of California [C. T. 2-3],’ charg-

ing Petitionés. with violation - of . 50 U.S.C.A. §462 by:

refusing to submit to induction pursuant to “a notice

and order by said Local Board No. 139 . . . duly givert

to the cotati :

i, ee represents’ the Clerk’s Transcript of the certified record

of the proceedings in the District Court below; and the number

refers, of course, to the pages thereof at which ‘the decided ref-

erence may be found.

2Said indictment reads in pertinent part, as follows:

“Defendant JOHN FREDERICK WEERSING . .

registered as required by said [Universal Military Training

and Service] Act and thé regulations promulgated thereun-

der and thereafter became a registrant of Local Board No.

94, Los Angeles, California; pursuant to said Act. and the

regulations promulgated thereunder, the defendant was .clas-

(This footnote is continued on the next page)

og

‘

Sere,

nS

APT PT

SPELT EI eI et

FOI ER Te Severe

Jurisdiction of the United States District Court to try

said offense was derived from Title 18 U.S.C. §3231.

Petitioner was arraigned on said indictment and en-

tered a plea of not guilty thereto on April 15, 1968

[C. T..4]. Thereafter, Petitioner, being represented by

counsel at all stages of the proceedings agairtst him,

waived a jury and special findings [C. T. 5]. :

On May 7, 1968, Petitioner’s case came on for trial

before the Hon. Irving Hill, Judge of the United States -.

District Court for said district [C. T..28]. Following

a court trial, and upon submission of the cause, the

court found Petitioner guilty of ‘the offense charged

[C. T. 28]. |

On May 27, 1968, Petitioner was sentenced by the

trial court to three (3) years imprisonment and judg- |

ment was entered accordingly [C. T. 36]. _

Notice of Appeal was filed’on May 27, 1968 [C. T.

37]; and the United States Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Circuit ‘affirmed said judgment on Bie 0 Pe

1969 (Opinion, Appendix “A”): ,

sified in Class 1-A and was subsequently notified of said —

classification by said Board; thereafter said Board trans-

ferred the defendant for induction to Transfer Board 139

in San Diego County, California, both of said Boards being

then and there, and at all times herein mentioned, duly

created and/ acting under the Selective Service System es-

tablished by said Act, thereafter [sic] a notice and order

by said 1 Board No. 139 was duly given to the defend-

ant to report for induction into the armed forces of the

United States of America on August 29, 1967 im Los An-

geles. County, within the Central District of California ;

and at said time and place the defendant knowingly failed

and refused to be inducted into\the armed forces of the

United States as so notified ir £94 to do.”

9a SRSA SSIS BP ASG LNG TIA ER EBS TCDS

How the Question Arose.

_ The government’s case at trial consisted solely of

°Petitioner’s Selective Service file which was admitted in

evidence without objection [R. 5, 8];° and which .con-

tained, among other documents, petitioner’s induction

orders (SSF 111, 154).

Petitioner filed a written motion for judgment of.

acquittal specifying eight (8) grounds in support there-

of, including the following: [C. T. 26, 27]

SO OK

mT

t

“eS

5. The government has wholly. failed to prove a

violation of the Act°and Regulations by the de-

fendant as charged in the indictment.

x OK oe

7. The Local Bodrd did not follow the Selective

Service Regulationscig its consideration of the de-

fendant’s claim and evidence.

KK

The only evidence offered by the defence was the testi-

mony of Petitioner who took the stand and testified -

briefly on a point not raised here [R. 11-22]. The

defence thereupon rested, and Petitioner renéwed and ©

argued his motion for judgment of acquittal. The trial

court denied said motion, and found Petitioner guilty

as charged [R. 53; C. T. 28].

The government offered no evidence at trial to show

the regularity of the order of call, or to establish the

>,

validity of the induction me Tee

‘“

3R. refers to the Reporter’s transcript of the ofal proceedings

had in ithe trial court; and the number signifies the pages.

thereof at which cited reference may be found.

a.

Bisa by ate AE I babendil al SEN Pe a

Petitioner attacked the validity of the induction order

at trial, albeit not upon the grounds urged here.*

| Specifically, Petitioner did not ¢xpressly challenge the

propriety of the order of call, although he contends here

that Points 5 and 7-of his motion for judgment of ac-

quittal should be construed to embrace this theory.

On appeal, the Petitioner contended, inter alia, that A

his conviction was not sustainéd by -sufficient evidence

in that there was™no proof that he had been duly or

lawfully selected for induction either pursuant to a meet- |

ing.of his Local Board, or that he had been selected

in the proper order (See: Petitioner’s Opening’ Brief on

Appeal, pp. 13 et seq. .).

The Court of Appeals in its opinion (Appendix 7 Nae

at p. 2) held, in-effect, that although the government

had the burden of establishing the validity of the in-

-duction order, Petitioner waived the Order of Call point

by failing to raise it at trial and declared that Petitioner’s

conviction was supported by the presumption of regu-

larity accorded to the administrative proceedings lead-

ing up to his induction order (Op. PP. 2-3).

%

*At trial, Petitioner focused his argument on two contentions:

(1) that his personal appearance hearing before the Local

Board was unfair and inadequate [R. 39-42, 11-22} and (2) that

the Board’s refusal to reopen his classification, after he had

filed a post-induction claim for conscientious objector status was

arbitrary and a denial of due process [R. 23-39].

On appeal, Petitioner also contended that the Board’s denial

of his occupational deferment claim was ‘without basis and

fact. . ;

Sh Mab a kt Pee ct

a ae

REASONS FOR GRANTING CERTIORARI. |

I,

Preliminary Statement.

Although the Government failed to prove, or offer

proof, that Petitioner was called up in regular order, as,

in effect, was alleged in the Indictment, the Ninth Cir-

cuit held. that where that issue was not raised at

trial, such proof was obviated by the presumption of

regularity which the Court found attached to the Selec--

tive Service proceedings giving rise to the issuance of

Petitioner’s Induction Order. :

Petitioner contends, inter alia, that proof of proper

order of call is an essential: element of. the offense and

that resort to the presumption of regularity as a sub-

stitute therefor denies him due process of law in viola-

tion of the Fifth Amendment to the United States Con- .

stitution. ; ‘ a

ade. II.

Proof of a Valid Induction Order Is an Essential In- |

gredient of the Offense Charged; and Convic- —

tion Without Such Proof Offends Due Process.

Most circuits seem to agree that one of the essential

elements in a prosecution.for a refusal to submit to in- |

duction is proof that the induction order is valid (Yates

v. United States, 404 F. 2d 462, reh’g den’d, 407 F. 2d

50, 51. (1st Cir. 1969); Fannon v. United States, 155 - +

«F, 2d 720, 721, 11 Alaska 91 (9th Cir., 1946); Keene

v. United States, 266 F. 2d 378, 380 (10th Cir., 1959);

but see; United States v. Sandbank, 403 F. 2d 38, 40

(2nd Cir., 1968); cert. den. ........ US... 0 6S Oy

1301 (1969) ; United States v. Fatrick, 140 F. 2d 5. al

Cir., 1944), . | =

ERA NG RIT: LETRA PG blo I Sa WL TRE Se Cine TETRA LF a iv.

Ci alta tbat

4

on to

The burden of proving a valid induction order lies |

. &

and remains with the Government (Yates v. United |

States, supra; Kretchet v. Umited States, 284 F. 2d

561, 566 (9th Cir., 1960) ; Franks v. United States,.

216 F. 2d 266, 270 (9th Cir., 1954); Zuziak v. United

States, 119 F. 2d 140, 142 (9th Cir., 1941)). ;

_An order to report for induction issued to a. regis-

trant called out of proper order is an invalid order

(United States v. Smith, 291 F. Supp. 63 (D, N.H.,

1968); United States v. Miranda, #73-76 (D, P.R.,

11-18-68), 1 S.S.L.R. 3265 (unreported) ).°

A registrant is under no duty to salacts with an in- -

valid induction order (Estep v. United States, 327 U.S.

114, 121-122, 66 S. Ct. 423, 427 (1946)).

Conviction upon a charge’ not made or proved i is a

denial of due process of law (Johnson v. Florida, 391

_ U.S. 596, 88 S. Ct. 1713 (1968) ; Garner v. - ‘Lenina:

368 U.S. 157, 82 S. Ct:7248 (1961); Thompson v.

Louisville, 362 U.S. 199, 204, 206, 80 S. Ct. 624, 628,

629 (1960) ).

...Failure to prove every element of the offense charged ~

bars a conviction (Christoffel v. United, States, 338

“US. 84, 89, 69 S. Ct. 144%, 1450 (1949) ; Ward v.

United States, 344 U.S..924, 73 S. Ct. 494, rev’g 195

F. 2d 441 (Sth Cir., 1952); Venus v. United States,

368 U.S. 345, 82 S. Ct. 384, rev’g 287 F. 2d 304

(9th Cir., 4960) ; Fannon v. United States, supra, 155

F. 2d 720)." .

5S.S.L.R. refers to the Selective Service Law Reporter pub-

lished in Washington, D.C., under the auspices of the Public pa

» Education Institute, and reporting opinions and proceedings or

pertinent portions thereof, in selective service cases, some of

which are not reported in the official reports.

—9—

Moreover after an Indictment has been returned, its

charges may not be broadened or contracted through

amendment except by-the Grand Jury (Ex parte, Bain,

121. U.S. 1, 7 S. Ct. 781 (1887) eited with ‘approval

. in Stirone v. United States, 361 U.S. 212, 215-217, 80

S. Ct. 270, 272, 273 (1960) ). - :

The Indictment at bar charged Petitioner with failure ©

and refusal to submit to induction pursuant to an order

from his draft board “duly given”.

Hence, where the Government alleges that'an induc- .

tion order has been duly issued or given,: it does not

lie within the power of the Court or the Government

to dispense with proof thereof (Stirone v. United

States, supra).

The question, therefore, is whether the Due Process ©

Clause of the Fifth Amendment permits reliance upon

the presumption of | regularity in lieu of affirmative

proof of the proper ‘order of call to support petitioner’s

y conviction. :

here,

III.

Proof of Proper Order of Call Is an Issue Which

May Not Only Affect the Due Process Rights

of the Accused Registrant, but Tends to Safe-

guard the Integrity of the Selective Process.

In Yates v. United States, supra, 404 F. 2d at p. 466,

the ee af Appeals .for. the first Circuit observed:

. There exists the possibility. that capricious or

Blt er action was taken by a Local Board; a

defendant has little opportunity to obtain proof

of discrimination; and there is no chance or pro-

cedure to review this issue before the agency. There

ought, therefore, to be a means of exerting con-

stant pressure on the Local Boards to adhere faith-

fully to the ai of call regulation.” -

‘“

=

Authority for the selection and induction process, as’

well as certain limitations thereon® lies in §5 of the

Military Selective Service Act of 1967 [50 U.S.C.

§455] enacted on’ June 30, -1967, which empowers the

President to promulgate: regulations toward that end.

Pursuant .to that mandate, the President issued. reg-

ulations, incorporated in 32 C.F.R- §1631, governing

the’ establishment of quotas and the selection process.

Selection is based on the quota of men determined

- nationally and for each ‘state by the National Director °

of Selective Service (32 C.F.R. §1631. 2).

The State Director, in turn, slldcates to each Local

Board in his state the number of men required to be fur-

nished by each board, and issues a Notice of Call on

Local Board (SSS Form 201) “directing the Local

Board to select and deliver for induction the number of

men allocated to the Local Board” (32 C.F.R. §1631. 6).

The Local Board is authorized to select and. deliver

only such number of men as will fill. the call. More-

over, the mode of selection by the Local Board must

follow a prescribed order, beginning with delinquents,

’ volunteers, and nori-volunteers, according to age and

marital status, with the — first. (32 C.F.R.

'§1631.7). i.

In the trial of United States v. John Raymond: Jones,

#3450-EAC (C.D., Calif., August, 1969), Major Al-’

bert Madsen, Chief of Manpower Division of the Cali-

fornia State Selective Service Headquarters, testified

that it had been the State Director’ s practice to call up.

For example, §455(a) (2) of Title 50 D.S.C. App., foseves |

the. order of induction “for such registrants within such age ~

groups as has been heretofore established and in effect” on the

effective date of said statute: -

SE Tes Red ecb Alera ar tan oe

ot

‘two or three times the riumber of men to be inducted

ine rder to insure .that the State met its national quota.

_ Exhibits introduced in that case showed’ that over a

two year period, said defendant’s Local Board alone had

a net total of forty (40) overcalls.”

Such procedure would appear’to be at variance with

the aforementioned Selective Service Regulations, and

calls into question the very integrity of the Selective

Service System. Moreover, it is apparent that an ifn-

proper order of call a. well. prejudice the procedural

due process rights of t he registrant.

For 4 , follc owing’ receipt of an induction no- .

tice, Petitioner“ filed a claini*for classification..as a Con-

scientiquis” Objector, and requested ‘that his classification —

be re-opened for that purpose (Op. 5; SSF 113).° The

Courts below sustained the, Local Board’s refusal to

re-open Petitioner’s classification because it appeared

from his communications to the Board that his beliefs

had crystallized before the induction order had issued.

Therefore, he could not show a change of circumstance -

beyond his control justifying the. re-opening of his clas- .

-. sification (Op. at p. 6; See: United States v. Dugdale,

389 F. 2d 482, 484-485 (1968); 32 CFR. §1625.2).

However, if Petitioner was selected out of order, his”

induction notice would thereby have been vitiated, and_

his Conscientious Objector claim would then have quali-

fied. for review (Miller v. United States, 388 F. 2d

973 (9th. Cir’, 1967)).

7The undersigned has copies of the Exhibits above referred

to, and will submit the same to the Court upan request. A tran- |

script of. the testimony above referred to was not yet available

at the time this Petition went to the printer. ~

8S.S.F. refers to Petitioner’s Selective Service File, received .

~ in évidence at trial as Exhibit A, and incorporated as a part

_of the Certified Record on Appeal and here. |

=

| 7

It Is a Denial of Due Process tos Substitute an Un-

founded Presumption of Regularity. ‘for Proof

of an Essential Element of the Offense.

This court has long held the view that:

“The presumption that public officers have done

their duty, like the presumption of innocence, is”

“undoubtedly a legal: presumption, but it»does not

supply proof of a substantive fact . . nowhere is

the presumption held fo be a substitute for proof

of an independent and material fact.” (United

States v. Ross, 92 U.S. 281, 284; Sabriego v.

Maverick, 124 U.S. 261, 285). *

A presumption cannot constitutionally stand in lieu

of proof where: unsupported by common: experience

or by substantial evidence, or where lacking a rational

connection with the fact proved (Leary v. United States,

89 S. Ct. 1532, 1547 et seg. (1969); United States v.

Romano, 381 U.S. 136, 141, 86 S. Ct. 279, 282 (1965);

Tot v. United States, 319 U.S. 463, 468-469, 63. S. Ct.

1241, 1245-1246 (1943)). ©

. Neither can an implied presumption substitute for

proof of an essential ingredient of the offense (Moris-

sette v. United States, 342 U.S. 246, 275, 72 S. Ct. 240,

256. (1952); Christoffel v. United States, supra, 383

U.S 84, 89-90, 69 S. Ct. 1447, 1450; cf. United States v.

Bryan, 339 U.S. 323, 70 S, Ct. 739 (1950) (where the

presumption was allowed because the assumed fact was

collateral to the offense charged)).. - ,

The Court of Appeals below held that “the presump-

tion of regularity of official acts is sufficient, at least,

to preclude reversal where, as here, ‘the issue of the

—13—

regularity of the order of call was not raised in the

trial court.” (Op. at’ p. 2).

Thus the Court in effect inferred Petitioner had

waived-the issue based on a silent record. But, as this

~ Court has noted in another context :

“Presuming waiver from a silent record is imper-

missible.” (Carnley v. Cochran, 369 U.S.506, 516,

82 S. Ct. 884, 890 (1962); Miranda v. Arizona,

384 U.S. 436, 475, 86 S. Ct. 1602, 1628 (1966);

See.afso: Johnson v. Zerbst, 304 U.S. 458, 58 S.

Ct. 1019). |

If the burden of proving the validity of an induft-

tion order or the regularity of the order of call was

upon the Government, Petitioner was under no duty to

speak in the absence of proof, or to suggest what proof

would be required, or to disclose his defenses thereto—

including the defense of standing silent on an insuf-

ficient record (See: Miranda v. Arizona, supra, 384

U.S. at p. 460, and cases cited thereat).

Indeed, if the presumption relieves -the Government

f the obligation to produce evidence on the issue, it

oes so whether or not the accused puts the Government

on notice. Accordingly, the opinion of the learned

Court below leaves standing a conviction unsupported

~ by proof which is conceded to be the Government’s obli-

gation to produce, but which duty the court presumes

was waived by Petitioner’s silence. If this unique but

startling rationale be left to stand, the Defendant’s

mantle of innocence will soon be converted to a cloth

woven so firie that only he will be able to see it.

LE PLY LEG, TT RT

e “

Pe RS RT REDE Oe

PE Ey Gy LO

—14—

Mes:

The Use of the Presumption of Regularity in Selec-

tive Service Cases Has Convoked Diverse and ~

Often Questionable Rationales Therefore, Re-

sulting in Conflicting and Confusing Applica-

tions Thereof, Not Only Between, but Within

the Circuits.

As suggested by the opinion of the Court below, most

Circuit Courts accept the view that the Government’s _

burden of proof is met by reliance on- the presumption

of regularity; .at least absent notice by defendant put-

ting the validity of the induction order at issue (Weers-

ing v. United States, #23055 (8-7-69) (Opinion be-

_low); Yates v. United States, supra, 404 F. 2d at pp.

465-466, rehr’g den. 407 F. 2d at p. 51); or evidence

ding to rebut the presumption (United States v.

Sandbank, 403 .F. 2d 38, 40 (2nd Cir., 1969)) (al-.

though there is language suggesting that the invalidity

of the order is an affirmative defense); Greer v.

United States, 378 F. 2d 931, 933 (Sth Cir., 1967); but

see: Chaney v. United States, 406 F..2d 809, 813 (5th -’

Cir., 1969) (requiring clear and convincing evidence

to rebut presumption) ; Keene v.' United States; 266 F.

2d 378, 380 (10th Cir., 1959) ).°

But “despite apparent harmony among the circuits as

to the propriety of invoking the presumption on a silent

record, there is wide diversity and confusion on the

rationale therefor and the circumstances and standards

’ governing it its applieation.

®The opinions of the 6th Circuit in United States v. N orman,

iaieaal i ae nce anal Dec. 7-15-69), ‘and United States v.

Boroski, - , (#18,548, Dec. 6-25-69) have not yet

been anil, oa ‘were not available to undetsigned at this

writing.

are |

Thus the Second Circuit views application of the pre-

sumption as merely “permitting the government to pre-

sent its case-in-chief freA of a technical nicety.”

(United States v: Sandbank} supra, 403 F. 2d at p. 40

(fn) ). y

On the other hand, the Keene court, while acknowledg-

ing that the government has the burden of proving the

validity of the order, finds the presumption of regularity

like the presumption of innocence, a “procedural safe-

guard.” (Keene v. United States, supra, 266 F. 2d at -

*p. 381).

We have already noted that the First Circuit, and

presumably, by its emphasis on the rationale of Yates,

supra, the Court of Appeals below, invoked the presump-

tion on a waiver theory (Yates v. United States, supra,

404 F. 2d at p. 466). That is, the government is re-

quired to prove up the propriety of the order of call

or otherwise establish the validity of the induction no-

tice only when notified by the accused that the same

is at issue.

Not so the Fifth Circuit, which, in Chaney v. United

- States, supra, 406 F. 2d at p. 813, recently held that

‘evidence through the lips of the Local Board’s clerk that

the Board applied an erroneous view. of the law to re-

quests for reopening of classifications, was not suf- |

ficient to overcome the presumption of regularity.

Contrast that approach with the one taken by the

"Ninth Circuit in Shepherd v. United States, 217 F. 2d

942 (1954) where the Court of Appeals expressly re-

fused to invoke the presumption of regularity to sus-

‘tain an inference that an Appeal Board had disregarded

the erroneous advice of the Department of Justice con-

y

-

-—16—

cerning the claim of a conscientious ‘objector (Accord:

Sicurella v. United States, 348 U.S. 385, 75 S. Ct. 403

(1955)). | , ane

In some cases, the presumption of regularity has been

_ applied, perhaps more appropriately, to collateral issues,

as where the court has refused to draw inferences ad-

verse to the Local Board’s proceedings;? either because

based on speculation or conjecture, or on deductions

which are unreasonable or irrelevant, or inconsistent

with the record.

Thus, in United States v. Bornemann, 298 F. Supp.

1253, 1258 (D., Conn., 1969), the court refused to

speculate that on a de nove review, the Appeal Board

indulged in the same erroneous theories applied by the

Local Board (See also: Storey v. United States, 370

F. 2d 255 (9th Cir., 1966); Koch v. United States,

150 F. 2d 762 (4th Cir., 1945) (evidence suppérted

presumption) ; United States v: Richmond, 274 Fé Supp.

43;-62 (C.D., Cal., 1967) (evidence supported p p-

tion ; issue collateral) ).

-

VI.

' The Presumption of Regularity Cannot Be Justified

on Grounds of Convenience, Common Experi-

ence, Fact or Law. |

Only in Keene v. United States, supra, 266 F. 2d

at p. 381 (and inferentially, Yates, on rehearing (407

F. 2d at p. 51) )—does a court expressty grapple with

the conflicting presumption of innocence.” There,

10Of coure, the opinion in United States v. Lybrand 379 F.

Supp. 74 at p. 82 (E.D., N.Y., 1967) expresses a “grave doubt

about the propriety and the constitutionality of presuming an es-

sential element of a serious crime. [Citing cases].” But Lybrand

' appears to have been overruled by Sandbank, supra, 403 F. 2d at

p. 40.

~v

—17— ae,

| 4

after tha Ng Tot v. United States; supra, the ,

‘Keene court states:

“Neither do we think that traditional presumption

of innocence overcomes the presumption of regu-

larity and validity. Both are founded in the policy 7

. of the law as procedural safeguards [citing au- _&£.

thorities], They stand in lieu of fact until over- .-

-come by fact; they do not conflict, rather they - Be

‘operate secéssively to shift the duty of producing

evidence at ‘the ultimate risk of non-persuasion . kc 4

one operates as an invulnerable cloak of innocence |

until removed by proof ‘beyond a reasonable doubt;

the other operates as a rule of law to sustain the

burden of proof and support a finding of guilt .. .”

This theory ignores the teachings of Leary, Romano

and Tot, to wit: That a presumption can only substitute

for affirmative proof, if at all, where supported ‘in rea-

son and common experience and by a rational nexus

between the fact presumed and the fact proved.

EEE LG A OTRO TOA IT HERIOT MIRON YN ARAN DP IE

In none of the Selective Service cases invoking the

presumption of regularity has the ultimate fact—that

fis, the validity of the induction order, or here, the pro-

‘priety of the order of call—been restablished except by

the presumption. So, the Tenth Circuit is saying that

the) aceunes must discard his mantle of innocence in

response to a presumption which has, support only in ay

*fj i¢tion and convenience.

‘In Leary, Romano and Tot, min the statutory ;

presumption was also rebuttable, and likewise, was

grounded on convenience. Its effect, if not its function

was to compel the defendgft“to negative inferences

from proved facts through his own testimony or by

other evidence.

RTE em Pe ise

v

ASOT ANE ERT VR NEVINS, PVE ISL T EN ILEST UY ONE HIER Yn

$ _

The presumption of regularity is from the same de-

sign and purpose and draws on the same rationale;

but there is a significant distinction. In Leary, Romano

and Tot, the defendant had knowledge which, theoreti- ;

cally at least, could dispel or rebut the inference (Leary,

in fact, attempted to do so, ‘albeit unsuccessfully).

With the presumption of regularity, however, knowl-

edge or information of the irregularity of the order

‘ of call or other procedure is not necessarily in the. pos-

_ session of the accused, but rather is under the control

--and administration of the government. As the First

Circuit noted in Yftes, supra, (404 F. 2d at p. 466):

“There is n difficulty in the perhaps rare case

\ ] nt. can produce evidence of a per-

‘son who should have been .¢alled before him but

was not. In such a case, the government cannot

disprove a leak in the bucket simply by. showing

that most of it was tight. But when the defendant

lacks any such proof, his only recourse ig,to exam-

ine the clerk of the Local Board. This may not

conclusively establish the absence of any violation

of the regulation, but, since the clerk must. testify

_ ™ any case to the validity of the order to veport,

there is little extra burden on the government to

have him prepared to testify on order of call.” °

(Emphasis supplied).

Thus, on grounds of accessibility to proof and the

probabilities of administrative error, the Yates court

questions the propriety of indulging the presumption in-

lieu of. proof. )

‘It does $0, in the final sae, because “what is

involved, while an element of the offense, has not been

a) ey

o%

deemed important enough in the particular case to make

any effort to elicit facts . . .’” (Emphasis supplied)

(Yates, supra, 404 F. 2d at p. 466; see: Sandbank,

supra, 403 F. 2d at p. 40 (fn.)). But, under the prin-

_ ciples heretofore discussed, the court cannot infer waiv-

er of proof from a.silent record. For the accused there,

as here, was simply exercising his constitutional right °

to remain silent—a right from which no adverse in-

ferences may be drawn (see: Griffin v. Califormia,

380 U.S. 609, 85 S. Ct. 1229 (1965); Slochower: v.

Board of Higher Education of the City of N.Y., 350

U.S. 551, 557, 76 S. Ct. 637, 640).

Besides, as we have seen, the presumption of regu-

larity as to order of call is not necessarily warranted

(See: United States v. Smith, supra, 291 F. Supp. 63;

United States v. Miranda, supra, 1 SSLR 3265)..Un-

like most administrative agencies, Local and Appeal

Boards in the Selective Service System are comprised

of lay persons serving voluntarily without special ex-,

pertise or training,” and. whose enormous case load’

defies reflective deliberation. These factors, combined

with an extensive record of procedural error by.’Selec- '

tive Service Boards,” raises a serious. constitutional

Shepherd v. United States, supra, 217 F, 2d at p. 945;

United States ex rel. Bergdoll v. Drum, 107 F. 2d 897,:900 (2nd

Cir., 1939). Local Board members testifying. in two Selective

Service cases.in the Central District: of California recently dis-

closed an unfamiliarity with many Selective Service regulations

bearing on Board procedures and on classifications (United

States v. Ronald Jack. Willens, #2892-JC., 3/18-19/69 (unre-

ported); United States v. Daniel Lott, #1921-P.H., 10/9/68

(unreported)). Copies of the reporter’s transcripts are in the

possession of the undersigned counsel, and will be made available

to the court upon request.

12See Appendix F, infra, which contains a partial list of

cases belying the presumption of regularity, usually: to the regis-

(This footnote is continued on the next page)

_ —20— |

question as to whether the presumption of regularity

is justified, either in fact or law, in Selective Service

cases. —

Bs ‘VIL.

The Selective Service File at Bar Discloses Proce-

dural Error Which Strips the Local Board’s In-

duction Order of Any Presumptive Validity to

Which It Otherwise Might Have Been Entitled.

Petitioner’s Selective Service file, reveals that no

. tmheeting was held by the Local Board preceding the is-

suance of the two induction orders in his case.

* -Selective Service Regulation Section 1631.7(a) pro-

vides that each “Local Board . . . shall select and or- |

der” the required number of men for induction. The

regulations are silent as to the powers or duties of a

clerk, and refer to such employee only once (32 CFR.

§1606.1). aS

On the other hand, 32 C.F.R. §1604.59 states: sg

“Official papérs issued by a Local Board may be

signed by any compensated employee of the Local

Board, if he is authorized .to do_so_ by ‘resolution

duly adopted by and entered in the minutes of the

meetings of the Local Board; provided, that the

Chairmen or member of the Local Board must

sign a particular paper when specifically required

, to do so by the,Director of Selective Service.”

trant’s prejudice. It seems reasonable to assume that the number

of such cases avhich do not reach the courts, or official publica-

tions, are many times the number appearing in Appendix F.

18(SSF 13..See: Entry for June 20, 1967; Note: there appears

to be no entry on the cover sheet for August 11, the date when

‘ Petitioner’s second induction order was issued; but ‘the latter

document appears at p. 154 of the Selective Service file).

Meh

oo

It would thus appear that the regulations contem-

plate a meeting ofthe Board at which registrants are

selected for induction, and to confer authority upon

either a clerk or Board member to sign an induction

notice. . :

In Brede v. United States, 396-F. 2d 155, op. mod.

400 F. 2d.599 .(9th Cir., 1968), a case involving an

order to Seport for alternative civilian service, the 9th

Circuit Tonstrued comparable regulations (32 C.F.R.

§1660.20(b)) as requiring such a meeting of the Local

Board. ‘The court refused to apply the Brede doc-

trine to the case at bar on the ground that the issue

was not raised at trial (Op. at p. 3).

However, if Petitioner’s contention is correct, that

is, that the Local Board was required to meet for the

purpose of selecting and ordering men up for induction,

then the record belies the presumption of regularity for

it appears on the face of Petitioner’s Selective Service ~

file that no such meeting occurred. |

At very least, if there was authority for the tsidac-

tion order, pursuant to a Board meeting, it would seem

incumbent upon the government to prove it. If such a

résolution existed, that burden could easily have been.

met—certainly more easily than could Petitioner prove -

its non-existence. .

°

Conclusion.

The scope of judicial review in Selective Service cases

is the narrowest known ¢o the law. This, coupled with

the history of administrative irregularity in the Selec-

tive Service System, the lack: of training and expertise

‘among its Board members, and the severe penalties that

flow from conviction for failing to obey an induction

7

/

order, counsel cautious iinet of the presumption ;

_ of regularity asa substitute for proof.

Petitioner therefore urges that the government should |

be required to establish what it has alleged, based on

records available to it. To impose or shift such duty

upon the accused would require him to engage'in a fish-

ing expedition which obviously would not be sanctioned.

For the foregoing reasons, the within, Petition ea

Certiorari should therefore be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Davip FinxeEt and Hucu R.’MAngs,

. By Hucu R. MANEs,.

Attorneys for Petitioner.

6 ee PEAT Ae LR RRL, Pe NR tar ele a OP .

a ate lee ag ae atl Sie le aly

APPENDIX A.

Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals”

for the Ninth Circuit.

United States Court of Appeal for the Ninth Cirenit. \,

' United States of America, Plaintiff-Appellee, -vs.

John Frederick Weersing, Defendant-A ppellant. No.

23,055.

[August 7, 1969]

Appeal from the United Statés District Court for

the Central District of California.

Before: BARNES, BROWNING, and CARTER, Cir-

cuit Judges.

BROWNING, Circuit a

Defendant was convicted of refusing to sybmit to

induction in violation of 50 U.S.C. App. § . We.

‘affirm.

The indictment alleged, in the words of the statute,

' that defendant “knowingly” refused to be inducted.

Defendant contends that failure to allege that he acted

“wilfully” renders the indictment materially defective.

We held in Graves v. United States, 252 F.2d 878,

882/(%h Cir. 1958), “that the word ‘knowingly’ in the

statute here involved may not be as strong-a word as

‘wilfully’ . . ., hut the use of either of these words re-

quires proof of culpable intent. . . .”’ We did not hold,

as defendant suggests, that the word “wilfully” must

‘appear in the charge. On the contrary, although the in-

dictment in Graves alleged that the defendant acted

“knowingly,” the conviction was reversed only for lack

1See also United States v. — 394 F.2d 230, 231-32 (3rd

Cir. 1968).

-

es

of proof of culpable intent.” If, as Graves holds, the

word “knowingly,” in the statute, necessarily implies

wilfulness, it is sufficient for the same purpose in a-

charge under ‘the statute, absent any suggestion that

defendant was thisled or prejudiced in any way. United

States v. Beatty, 350 F.2d 287 (6th Cir..1965). Neither

of the cases cited by defendant as direct contrary au-

thority sohold®= / ,

Defendant contends that the stint failed to

prove that he was ordered to report for induction by

the local bard pursuant to its authority, or that he

was selected for induction in proper order.

Defendant did not challenge the sufficiency of the

evidence in either respect in the trial court.

The Courts of Alppeals of five circuits have consid-

ered whether the p -inni must affirmatively es-

tablish as a part of its\case-in-chief that the order to the

‘defendant to report for induction was issued in the

sequence provided by Selective Service Regulation 32.

C.F.R. § 1631.7. While the precise problem presented

and the rationale applied differ in the various cases, it

is clear that all of these courts would agree that the

presumption of regularity of official acts is sufficient,

at least, to preclude reversal when, as here, the issue

of the regularity of the order of call was not raised

in the trial court. United States v. Norman, .... F.2d

(6th Cir. 1969), No. 18,779, filed July 15, 1969; Little

v. United States, .... F.2d .... (10th Cir. 1969), No.

153-68, filed May 6, 1969; United States v. Boroski,

2Defendant does not challenge the sufficiency of the evidence to

establish culpable intent.

®Potter v. United States, 155 U.S. 438, 446 (is04) ; United

States v. Baker, 262 F.Supp. 657, 678 (D.D.C. _—

a

_.. F.2d “.. (6th Cir. 1969), No. 18,548, filed June 25,

1969; Yates v. United States, 404 F.2d 462, 465-66

(1st Cir. 1968), rehearing denied 407 F.2d 50 (1969) ;

United States v. Sandbank, 403 ¥.2d 38,.40 (2d Cir.

1968) ; Pique v. United States, 389. F.2d 765 (5th Cir.

1968); Lowe v. United States, 389 F.2d 51, 52 (5th

Cir. 1968); Greer v. United States, 378 F.2d 931,

°933 (5th Cir. 1967). We see no reason to depart from

this unanimity of view. - oe

The reasons supporting this position (see particular-

ly Yates v. United States, supra, 404 F.2d at 465-66)

apply equally to absence of specific proof that the order

to defendant to report for induction was issued or au-

thorized by the local board itself rather than by the

boatd member who signed it. Accordingly, assuming

that. Selective Service Regulation § 1631.7(a) required

action by the whole board in issuing or authorizing the .

“order to report for induction, we hold that lack of proof

of specific compliance with this requirement is not a

ground for reversal when, as here, the issue was not

raised/at trial. Little v. United States, supra.*

The. defendant requested But was denied deferment as

a person “whose employment ... is . . . necessary to

the maffitenance of the national health, safety, or in-

terest.” 50°U.S.C.App. § 456(h)(2). He contends that

the denial was without basis in fact; and that the local

board should have given him notice of his right to have

the appeal from its action heard by the appeal board for

the area in which he was ‘employed. Neither: conten-

*The record in Brede v. United States; 396 F.2d 155 (9th Cir.

1968), modified 400, F.2d 599 (9th Cir. 1968), discloses that

failure of the local board to comply with Selective Service Regu-

lation § 1660.20(d) was raised by motion for judgment of ac-

quittal at the close of the prosecution’s case.

a?

tion was made in the trial court. Assuming they are

properly before us, we hold they are without merit.

Whether or not we would have reached the same

conclusion as the board on the merits of defendant’s

. request for occupational deferment, we are satisfied

that there was a basis in fact for the board’s decision.

To obtain a deferment iunder section 465(h)(2), the

registrant must satisfy the board (1) that he is en-

- gaged in activity necessary to the maintenance of: the

national health, safety, or interest; (2) that he cannot

,be replaced; and (3) that his removal would cause a

material loss of effectiveness in the activity. 32 C.F.R.

§ 1622.23.

Defendant based his request upon his employment

as an assistant planner in the Planning Department’ of

the City of San Diego, specializing in the application of

electronic digital computer techniques to city planning.

He pointed out that city planning improves the environ- -

ment: of urban dwellers, particularly in housing and

transportation, and that a favorable environment en-

-hances their productivity. He noted that San_Diego is

the site of important naval activities employing many

San Diego workerg.#fe offered. evidence that there was

a scarcity of yy aagebeior in both city planning and

electronic data processing, and that this combination of

skills was of unusual importance to the effective devel-

opment of a number of: specific pee in the San

Diego City Planning Department.

_ We think the. board could properly determine from

this showing that the relationship between defendant’s:

employment and the maintenance of national health,

safety, and interest ws too remote and indirect to jus-

Pe RO eg ee

dons’. ~

tify deferment under section 456(h)(2). The board

could conclude that city planning; as such, was no more

directly related to the national’ health, safety, or interest

than many if not most other municipal services, and

that San Diego’s involvement in one aspect of national

defense was not materially greater than the involvement

of other American cities of equal size in other aspects of

the complex and widespread national defense effort.

_ The record also contained facts to support the con-

clusion that defendant was not irreplaceable and that

his removal would not cause material ‘loss to the effec-

tiveness of city planning in San Diego. The board noted

that defendant had been employed in his. position for

only five. months, and that he was one of two persons

engaged in research and computer programing in the

San Diego Planning Department. Moreover, -while de-

fendant’s supervisor initially wrote, “We ‘hive no one:

available, nor do we know of anyone, who.could replace

him in the type of program he is now establishing for

,” he later stated, somewhat less sweepingly, that de-

festa was “one of the: relatively few people available

to us” with the requisite ‘qualifications.

Defendant contends that the board should have ad-

vised him of his right to have*his appeal submitted to

the appeal board for the area in which he was employed,

rather than to the appeal board for the area in which

his local board was located. 32 C.ER. § 1626.11(b):

The right conferred by section 1626.11(b) is condi-

tioned upon the filing of a written request. No such re-

quest was filed until after the appeal had been decided

adversely to the defendant. Defendant argues, however,

that the cireumstances disclosed in this record imposed

an obligation upon: the local board to ‘transfer the ap-

a

OPTI OTE

\y

—h— ;

‘peal without a written request or ‘to call. defendant’s

attention to the regulation so that he sight invoke its

_ provisions.

Defendant lived and worked in San Diego, where

there were both local boards and an appeal board. De-

fendant’s local. board was located in Pasadena, and his

appeal board in -Los Angeles. Defendant had appeared

personally before the Pasadena local board, traveling

from San Diego for this purpose. He advised his local

board that~he would like to appear personally before

the appeal board “if. necessary,” and. asked when the

appeal board would meet since it was “a longe drive

to Pasadena.” Since the regulations did not provide for

a personal appearance before the appeal board, the local

board did not respond to defendant’s inquiry but simply

forwarded the file to the appeal board, which affirmed

the local board’s rejection of defendant’s claim.

We see nothing in these circumstances to alert the lo-

cal board to defendant’s desire that the appeal be heard

by the San Diego appeal board, if indeed this was de-

fendant’s wish prior to the adverse decision of the Los ©

Angeles appeal board. On an earlier occasion defendant ~

had arranged with his Pasadena local board for transfer |

to a San Diego board for his physical examination. He |

did not request a. general transfer from the Pasadena

local board to a San Diego local board; and he later

traveled to Pasadena for a personal appearance’ before

that local board in support of his request for occupation-

al déferment» If the question occurred to the board at

all, it, could properly have assumed that, for reasons of . ‘

his own, defendant preferred not to have his appeal

submitted to the San Diego appeal board. .Certainly

we cannot say that the local i failure to transfer

the appeal sua sponte or to inquire as to defendant’s

wishes violated the regulations « or denied defendant pro-

cedural due process.

nn a =e '

The defendant’s final contention is hat the local

board improperly refused to reopen his\etassification

and consider his conscientious objector claim.

The local board mailed defendant an induction notice

on June 20, 1967. On June 24 defendant wrote tothe

board claiming exemption as a conscientious objector.

His letter arrived on June 26.

The board was without power to reopen defendant’s

classification after mailing the induction notice unless it

could specifically: find that there had been a change in ~

_defendant’s status resulting from circumstances over

which he had no control. 32 C.F.R. § 1625.2.

We need not decide whether the maturing of a con-

scientious objection to war is a circumstance “over

which the registrant had no control”—a question now

pending before this court in bane in Ehlert v. United

States, No. 21,930. The board must also find that “a

change in the registrant’s status” occurred after the

mailing of the notice of induction; and’ defendant of-

fered no facts upon which such a a isis might have

been based.

In his SSS Form No. 150 defendant attributed his

convictiohs to participation in church activities. as a

child, parental influence, and college training—all of

which occurred long prior to the mailing of defendant’s

notice of induction.

Defendant wrote to his draft board that the arrival

of this notice precipitated the filing of his conscientious

objector claim and that he had not submitted it’ earlier

because he had mistakenly supposed that appellate proc- |

“essing of his claim for an occupational deferment was

‘not completed and an order to report for induction

therefore would not be issued.° As the trial court said,

“defendant’s letter asserting for the first time his views

on conscientious objector matters cléarly reveals no

new views or recent maturing or changing of them in

' the two, or at most four-day period between the-notice

of induction and the sending of this letter. In fact,

it reveals to the contrary. What is new is the determina-

tion to assert these views in view of the induction no-

tice now having come to him. And it is clear that that

assertion was precipitated, as he says himself, by the .

induction notice, and not by any change or \difference

in 'the views themselves.” See Oshatz v. United S tates,

404 F.2d 9, 10-11 (9th Cir: 1969); Briggs v. United

States, 397 F.2d 370, 372 (9th Cir. 1968);. United

States v. Dugdale, 389 F.2d 482, 484-85 (9th Cir.

1968). en eee,

Affirmed.

The letter read, in part: |

“You may question the late arrival of this statement of

beliefs. It is in part precipitated -by the arrival of an order ~

to report for induction: I was suddenly and absolutely

faced with having to throw over my life’s work and, within

fifteen days, begin an instructional regimen of violence and

mayhem. is

Also, I was misled by the State Selective Service Head-

quarters when they informed me in a letter. dated June 13,

1967 that ‘. . . if you have further questions regarding your

rights; we suggest you contact your local board for an ap-—

pointment with the appeal agent.’ I construed this as meaning :

I(had an additional period in which to review my- case with -

legal coun'sel to prepare another appeal, and that- this, would

grant me the usual immunity from induction while this was

pending. If I hads believed otherwise, I would not iene

delayed in bringing this new information to your attention”

> (emphasis added). pgs

APPENDIX B.

Title 50 App., U.S.C. §462(a).

Title 50. App. U.S.C. eee) which states in rele-

vant part as follows:

Gey & “wae . . person charged as. herein

eevtika Sea hi ‘ay of carrying out any of the

provisions of this title, or the rules or regulations

made or directions given thereunder, who shall

knowingly fail or ‘neglect to perform such duty

. or who in any manner shall knowingly fail or

neglect or refuse to perform any duty required of -

“him under or in the execution of this title or rules,

regulations, or directions made pursuant to this

title . . . shall,-upon conviction in any district court

of the United States of competent jurisdiction; be

punished by imprisonment ae not more than five

years or a fine of not more than $10,000, or ~

both such’ fine and i imprisonment .. .”

RAMMED SL TLE PBA TE RO RLEL AEE LOOT SAREE EEA SGI SEN IR IEE SEY, EMER OG SEINE

j terEhE Ay

es a

; APPENDIX C.

Title. 50 Appx., U.S.C. §454(a).

Title 50 Appx. U.S.C. pette) which provides in

pertinent part as follows: | >

“ . the President is authorized, from time to

time, . . . to select and induct into the Armed -

Forces of the United States for training and serv-

ice in the manner provided in this Title ... . such

number of persons as may be required to / aici

and maintain the strength of the Armed Forces.”

—11—

APPENDIX D.

Title 50, Appx., U. Ss. C. §455(a).

"Title 50, Appx., U.S.C. §455(a), provides in rele-

~ vant part as follows:

“(a)(1) The selection of persons for * training

and service under §4 7§454 of this Title] shall

be made in an impartial manner, under. such rules

.and regulations as the . President may prescribe, —

_ from the persons who are liable for such training

and service and who at the time of selection are

Pn ey and classified, but not’ deferred or ex-

* empted . fe ;

Se ee \ ie

"“(2) Notwithstanding the provisions of Par-

agraph (1) of this subjection, the President in

establishing the order of induction for registrants

within the various age groups found qualified for

induction shall not effect any change in the méthod

of determining the relative order of induction for

such registrants within such age groups as has q

been heretofore established and in effect on the v

date of enactment of this paragraph [June 30,

1967], unless ‘authorized by law enacted [there- ;

afte} ......"

LOA Oe A NRE

:

;

- APPENDIX E.

32 C.F.R. §1631.7{a).

32 C.F.R. §1631.7(a) which provides, in pertinent

part, as follows:

“(a) When a call is placed without designation

of age group or groups, each Local Board, upon

receiving a Notice of Call on Local Board (SSS

Form 201) from the State Director of Selective

Service . . . shall select and order to report for

induction the number of men required to fill the

call. from among its registrants who have been

classified in Class 1-A and Class-1-A-O and have

been found acceptable for service in the Armed

Forces and to whom the Local Board has mailed

a Statement of Acceptability (DD Form 62) at

least 21 s before the date fixed for induction;

Provided, that a registrant classified in Class 1-A

or Class 1-A-O who is delinquent may be selected

and ordered to report for induction to fill-an in-

duction call notwithstanding the fact ‘that he has

not been found acceptable for service in the Armed

Forces and has not been mailed a Statement of Ac-

ceptability (DD Form 62); And provided further,

that a registrant classified in Class 1-A or Class

1-A-O who has volunteered for induction’may be

selected and ordered to report for induction. not-

withstanding the fact that he has not been found

acceptable for service in the Armed Forces and

regardless of whether or not a Statement’ of Ac-

ceptability (DD Form 62) has been mailed to

him. Such registrants . . . shall be selected and or-

dered to report for induction in the following or-

der:

“(1) Delinquents who have attained the age of ,

19 years in the order. of their. dates of birth

with the oldest. being selected first.

(2) Volunteers who have not attained the age

of 26 years in-the sequence in which they have

volunteered for induction.

(3) Non-volunteers who have attained the age

of 19 years and have not attained the age of

26 years and who (A) do not have a wife...

in the order of their dates of birth with the

oldest being selected first, or (B) who have a

wife whom they married after [August 26,

1965] .. . in the order of their dates of birth

with the oldest being selected first.

. (4) Non-volunteers [between 19 and 26 who

married before August 26, 1965]. ...

(5) Non-volunteers who have attained the age

of 26 years in the order of their dates of birth

with the youngest being selected first.

(6) Non-volunteers who have attained the age

of. 18 years .6 months and who have not

__attained the age OF9 years .

* *

onitus

APPENDIX F. |

Partial/ List of Selective Service Gases Disclosing

Mmihistrative Irtegularities an Procedural

Errors.

The following is:a partial list of selective service

cases disclosing administrative irregularities and pro-

cedural errors: It is offered as tending to show that

the presumption of regularity is not applicable to the

selective service field because not supported by fact

or common experience.

Oesterich v. Selective Service Local Board No. 1 1, :

393 U.S. 233, 99'S. Ct. 414 (punitive reclassification

-_ of theology. sttident for protest agpinst war); Applica-_

tion of Shapiro, 392 F. 2d 397 (Bd Cir., 1968) (1-A

classification invalidated because lack of quorum) ;

Talcot v. Reed; 217 F. 2d 360 (9th Cir., 1954) (Fail-

ure of Board to grant personal appearance; wrongful

denial of reopening of classification based on Selective

Service. Bulletin holding pregnancy to be a status over

which registrant has control, so as to bar, on that ac-

count, -induction notice reopening); Jn re Abram-

son, 196 F 2d 261 (3d Cir., 1952) (Induction notice

sent to. rong city); Franks v. United States, 216 F.

2d 266 (9th Cir., 1954), (FAilure ‘of Local Board to

consider classification for which registrant eligible) ;

Knox v. United States, 200 F. 2d 398, and cases cited

at p. 401, (9th Cir., 1952) (Failure to reclassify regis-

trant after personal appearance, thereby. depriving him

of appeal rights; court refuses to invoke presumption

of regularity as aid to convigtion); Peebles v. United

States, 220 F. 2d 114 (C.A. 7, 1955) (Board members

found biased and prejudiced v. registrant claiming C.O.

2

j

¥

| —1s—

status); Uffelman v. United States, 230 F. 2d 297

(9th Cir., 1956) (Failure of Board to appoint ad--—

visors to registrants to post their names, held not

prejudicial error) ; Gatchell v. United States, 378 F. 2d

_ 287 (9th Cir., 1967) (Appeals Board’s application of er-

roneous standards to ‘ministerial claim); Accord: Si-

curella v. United States, 348 U.S. 385, 392, 75 -S. Ct.

403; Shepard v. United States, 217 F. 2d 942, 944-946

(9th Cir., 1954); United States v. Stepler, 258 F. 2d

310, 317 (3d Cir., 1958); Henderson v. United States,

223 F. 2d 421 (7th Cir., 1955) ; Olvera v. United States, —

223 F. 2880 (5th Cir., 1955); Townsend v. Zimmer-

man, 237 F. 2d 376 (6th Cir., 1956) (Failure of Local

Board Chairman to adhere to regularities. held preju-

dicial to registrant’s appeal rights); Mizrahi u. United

States, 409 F. 2d 1219 (9th Cir. 1969) (refusal to re-

open based on erroneous interpretation. of regulations

and improper standards); Accord: United States v.

Freeman, 388 F. 2d 246, 248 (7th Cir., 1967; reh’g

den’d 1968); United States v. Stafford, 389 F. 2d ,

215 (2d Cir., 1968); Petrie v. United States, 407 F.

2d 267 (9th. Cir., 1969); Woo v. United States, 350

F. 2d 992 (9th Cir., 1965)); Battiste' v. United States,

F. 2d 910 (5th Cir.; 1969) (Failure of Board’s

clerk to refer registrant’s letter to Local Board held

not prejudicial) ;-Brede v. United States, 396 F. 2d 155,

modified, 400 F.2d 599 (9th Cir.,-1968) (Unauthor-

ized issuance of induction order); United States v.

Bellmer, 404 F. 2d 132 (3d Cir., 1968) (Failure of

Board to forward registrant’s letter to State Director;

absence from ‘file at trial defeats presumption of regu-

larity); Chaney v. United States, 406 F. 2d 809 (C.A.

5th, 1969) (Refusal to reopen based on erroneous view

—16—

of law, held not prejudicial; clerk’s testimony fot suf-

ficiently clear and convincing as to overcome prestimp-

tion of regularity) (Crane v. Hershey, 410 F. 2d 962,

966 (1st Cir., 1969) Erroneous denial of> 1-S classifica-

tion based on National. Director’s Memorandum in di-

rect conflict with standard; accord: Foley v. Hershey, .*°

‘409 F. 2d 827 (7th Cir., 1969) ; Catano v. Local Board

No. 94, 298 F. Supp. 1183 (E.D. Pa., 1969)); Shep-

- ard v. United States, 217 F. 2d 942 (9th Cir. 1954),

rehearing denied, 220 F. 2d~855 (9th Cir., 1955),

(Agpeal Board presumed to have followed erroneous

advice of Department | of Justice). United States v.

Walsh, 279 F. Supp. 115 (D.C. Mass, 1968) (Failure

of Local Board to meet and consider. request for re-

opening of classification); United States v. Burlich,

257 F. Supp. 906 (S.D. N.Y., 1966) (Failure to re-

open classification upon presentation of prima facie

claim for new classification; Accord: United States v.

Vinceli, 215 F. 2d 210; rehearing denied, 216 F. 2d

681 (2nd Cir., 1954); United States.ex rel. Berman v.

Craig, 207 F. 2d 888 (3d Cir., 1953)); United States

v. Kezmes, 125 F. Supp. 300 (W.D. Pa. 1954) (De-

nial of 4-D exemption based on erroneous theories) ;

United States v. Rund, 299 F. Supp. 408 @D, N.D.,

1969) (No basis in fact for refusal to classify regis-

‘ trant 1-0); United States v. Blaisdell, 294 F. Supp.

1303 (D., Me., 1968) (Failure of Local Board to con-

sider post-induction Notice C.O. claim held to preclude

conviction) ; United States v. St. Clair, 293 F. Supp.

337..(E.D.N.Y., 1968). (denial of C.O. claim. based

on erroneous hae’ Accord: United States v. Shac- °

‘ter, 293 F. Supp. 1057 (D., Md., 1968) ; United States

a e

v. Bryant, 293 F. Supp. 922 (W:D., Ark., 1968) ; Cupit

° ”

—17—

v. United States, 292 F. Supp. 146 (W.D., Wis., 1968)

(Order to ‘@port for civiliam work not authorized by

Board); United States v. Fargas, 66 Cr. 792. (S.D.

N.Y., 1969) and United States v. Hudson, 67 Gr. 681 .

(S.D.N.Y., 1969) .... F. Supp. ong k Ska. Be0o-

(Substitution of Doeuments in registrant’s files by

- Selective Service offices following indictment; and pro-

cedural irregularities in processing of C.O. claims);

United States v. Deppe, No. .67 Cr. 473 (E.D., N.Y.,

11/21/68) 1 S.L.R. 3285 (Dismissal on motion of :

government on discovering that member of Local Board

did not reside in city where Board located); United

States v. McNeal, No. 41, 993 (N.D., Cal., 9/10/68)

1 S.S.L.R. 3227 (failure of Local Board to consider

1-S claim, or to supply registrant with C.O. form when

requested to do so; on latter point, see also: Boswell v._

United States, 390 F. 2d 181 (C.A. 9th, 1968));

United States v. Madrid, No. 68-82-S:A. (W.D., Tex.,

8/7/68) 1 S.S.L.R. 3168 (induction order. issued while

appeal pending); Striker v. Resor, 283 .F. Supp. 923

(D., N.J., 1968) (possible: consideration by Board of

anonymous phone messages concerning registrant’s al-

*

leged immorality, misinformation to registrant regard-

ing his rights; ‘See also: In re Schmidt, 68 F. Supp.

765 (N. D., Cal., 1946) (reclassification “based on er-

? .

roneous selouiy regarding registrant’s activities) );

United States v. Giessel, 129 F. Supp. 223 (D., N.J.,

1955) (failure to advise registrant of his procedural

rights); Ex Parte Barrial, 101 F. Supp. 348 (S.D.,

Cal., 1951) (1-A classification and induction based on

Local Board resolving contravening regularities).

9

—

Ra Ey is a ae

Car Ne RET EN BOP RT aay)

SONY EERE EP My TERT i ea ol al or

-

eM ee DIO reser

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.