Brief for the Respondent in Opposition — Chambers v. Beauchamp
Supreme Court brief1969
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
SUPREME COURT, U. & ae af
"SEP 29 1969
7 JO F a,c
—~ Sept Ct he Has Sh
Ocrosm Tsu, 1969 , ee
No. 554°
Joun T. CHAMBERS,
ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE ies <a
SUPREME COURT OF NEW MEXICO :
"BRIEF FOR RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION.
iniesets, Henna
Post Office Drawer 1567.
" Loyington, New Mexico 88260
Post Office Box 1298
.,Lovington, New Mexico 88260
ll
D> scmrram: saoruces ramrine co., mc, sanva re, W. u. 5 , s
INDEX
| Page
_ OPINION BELOW ........... 1
- JURISDICTION : dicuulens 2
- QUESTION PRESENTED. | .............--.--2ccqeeceocteoniovensinnnncoqneenen vessndionee 2
. StaTUTES INVOLVED palialicneae 2
SATEMENT oo ooca a eeceecceesceesceeceeetteee ” piveaklali. a
ARGUMENT ......... nea ‘itesledabtaiies i.
I. Certiorari will not issue wa review a decision of a~
state court of last resort on constitutional issues
presented for the first time on Motion for. Re-
IE scichcihssvesscsncncsinctinubalanjicnianamntiticieniie 9
II. Appropriate procedures were available to petition-
er to disqualify the trial judge, and :petitioner’s
failure to properly and timely use same, cannot be
considered a denial of due process 10
III. The refusal of the. New Mexico District Court to
recognize Peck’s ‘purported: Will and the pending
proceedings in the State of Texas didnot violate
the full faith and credii clause 13
IV. The decision below as to. Peck’s domicile and men-
tal capacity is based on a proper application of ©
precedents and is clearly correct... 15
ConcLusion Pace pieons 17 .
CITATIONS
CASES: |
American —s Company v. Baldwin
287 U.S. 156, 53 S.Ct. 98, 77 L.Ed. 231,
86 A.L.R. 298 (1932) ' ; 9
Barney v. Huff 2s
306 S.W.2d 617 (1959) ......: : 14
Barrow v. Mutual Life Ins. Co. of New York
- 147 P.2d nek 48 NeM. 206 (1944). 15
Belk v. Collea
61 S.E.2d 464, 207 Ga. 328 (1950). .15
_ Bogel v. White .;
: 168 S.W.2d 309 (1942) ‘ 15.
Burbank v. Ernst | acess "
232 U.S. 162,.34 S.Ct. 299 (1914) - - 14
Chapman v. John St. John Drilling Company
387 P.2d 454, 457, 73 N.M.«261 (1963) m 13
Commonwealth v. Kernochan 7 .
106 S.E, 367, 129 Va. 405 (1921) : 15
°
OFT ENTE PINNED
ii. INDEX Continued
Couyoumjian v.
yoy
103 N.W.2d 587, 594, 360 Mich. 371 (1960)
Davis v. Davis .
25 S.E.2d 181, 183; 223 N.C. 36 (1943)
Gutierrez v. Middle Rio Grande Conserva
282 P. 1, 34 N.M. 346, 70 A.L.R. 1261 (19
Hardgrove v. De Tra
34 S.W.2d 379 (1931), affirmed, De Tray v.
Hardgrove, 52 S.W.2d 239 (1932)
Holland v. Jackson
37 S.W.2d 726 (1931)
In re Collins’ Estate
165 A. 285, 286, 11 N.J.Misc. 233 (1932)
In re Fox West Coast Theatres
25 F.Supp. 250, Affirmed, C.C.A., 88 F.2d 212, cert.
den. (1937) Tally v. Fox Film Corporation, 57 S.Ct.
944, 301 U.S, 710, 81 L.Ed. 1363, Rehearing den., 58
S.Ct. 4, 302 US. 772, 82 L.Ed. 598 (1937)
In re Peter’s Estate ©
264 P.2d 1117 (1953)
Midwest Royalties v. Simmons
301 P.2d 334, 61 N.M. 399 (1956)...
Rivera v. Hutchings
284 P.2d 222, 59 N.M. 337 (1955) °.......2.......000-..-
Stanley v. Campbell
27 $0.2 411, 157 Fla. 891 (1946)........
State v. Garcia
142 P.2d 552, 47 N.M. 319 (1943) .......
" State v. Superior Court of Thurston County
255 P. 376, 143 Wash. 358 (1927)........
State ex rel. Lebeck v: Chavez
113 P.2d 179, 45 N.M. 161 °(1941) -......
Sullivan v. Kenney
126 N.W. 349, 358, 148 Iowa 361 (1910)
United States v. H ethington
279 F.2d 792, cert. den., 81 S.Ct. 271,
364 U.S, 908, 5 L.Ed.2d 224 (1960)
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND STATUTES:
Title 43, U.S.C.A., §172.:....
United States Constitution
Article IV, Section 1...............
Vernon’s Texas Rules of Civil Procedure
Vol. 3, Rule 335
_ MISCELLANEOUS:
Page on Wills, 1941 Ed., Vol..2, $726, P. .. 397
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
OcToBEeR TERM, 1969
No. 554 °
-_--—————_
*. Joun T. CHAMBERS,
Petitioner
Vv.
W. M. BeaucHamp, ADMINISTRATOR OF THE ESTATE OF
D. P. Peck, Deceasep, AND CARL ANDREW CHAMBERS,
Respondents I
ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
SUPREME COURT OF NEW MEXICO
BRIEF FOR RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION
OPINION BELOW
The opinion of the Supreme Court of New Mexico (Ap-
pendix B, Page B-1 of the Petition) is reported at 454 P.2d 772
and Se in Volume 80 N. M. when published.
~
2
JURISDICTION }
There is no jurisdiction to review the decision of the
Supreme Court of New Mexico for the reason that the con-
_ Stitutional questions raised by the petitioner for Writ of Cer- ©
tiorari were first presented to the Supreme Court of New
Mexico by Motion for Rehearing after the Opinion had been
written. The Motion for Rehearing was denied without Opin-
ion, and the Opinion of the Supreme Court was based on the
same construction and application of New Mexico law as the
Decision of the District Court.
QUESTION PRESENTED
Whether or not the Decision of the Supreme Court of N ew
Mexico violated petitioner’s rights under the Constitution of
the United States by denying him due process of law under
the provisions of the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to the
Constitution of the United States, or violated the full faith and
credit clause of Article IV, Section 1 of the Constitution rth the —
United States.
STATUTES INVOLVED
In addition to the statutes set out in Appendix “H” of the
Petition, the following is also deemed pertinent:
Rule 335, Vernon’s Texas Rules of Civil Procedure, Vol-
ume 3, compiled under Section 12, Review by District Courts
of County Court Rulings, Subsection A, Guardianships and
Estates of Decedents, reads, in material part:
“The appeal shall suspend the decision, order, decree,
or judgment, or the designated portion ‘thereof appealed
from, except as may be otherwise — provided by
law; * * *, -
STATEMENT
It is deemed necessary to supplement the Statement con-
tained in the Petition for Writ of Certiorari to provide cer- .
tain pertinent facts omitted therefrom.
\
3
Petitioner, John T. Chambers, seeks to recover for himself
the whole of his deceased uncle’s estate and. to deprive his
own brother and his own nephew’ from any share therein.
Under the applicable laws of descent and distribution, each
of said three heirs-at-law would receive an equal one-third
(1/3rd) share. ; | ‘
Petitioner’s effort is based on a purported Will which was
signed by his uncle in Dallas, Texas, in 1964, when D. P. Peck
was approximately 77 years old and had been mentally de-
ranged for some 54 years,‘and after petitioner had his uncle
released to his custody in 1963 from the Larned State Hospi-
tal for the Insane in the Staté of Kansas, had placed him in a
rest home in Dallas, and had himself appointed as Guardian.
in Dallas County, Texas, under a Petition alleging that his
uncle was still of unsound mind.
The whole of D. P. Peck’s estate stems from a single: half
section of land in Lea County, New Mexico, described as the
West Half (W%) of Section 26, Township 12 South, Range 37
East, N.M.P.M., on which Peck made his homestead entry on
February 25, 1909, and the whole of said estate was at all
times located and administered in the State of New Mexico ©
throughout the lifetime of D. P. Peck. After the original entry
in 1909, a Patent was finally issued on this half section on
August 21, 1931, to David P. Peck, with a later Patent being
subsequently issued on December 21, 1939, in lieu of and to
correct the previous Patent, which had erroneously contained’
a reservation of oil, gas and potash.
_ The events between 1909 and 1931 are especially signifi-
cant and appear from the certified and authenticated photo-
static copies of all the documents and records: of the General
Land Office relating to the issuance of these two (2) Patents,.
which were admitted into evidence in the hearing before the
District Court of Lea County, and which documents were cer-
tified under the seal of the General Services Administration,
National Archives and Record Service, as being on file in the
National Archives in Washington, D. C.
After making his homestead entry in 1909, Peck on Au-
4 (8
gust 14, 1912, naleniied his final proof, in which he stated
that he-first established his residence on, April 15, 1909, built
a house, dug a well, set up outbuildings, strung wire and cul-
tivated 40-80 acres each year from 1909 to 1912. He also re-
ported .occasional absences from the land, which in 1911 and
1912 added up to 5% months each out of the entire year. In
support of his proof, he submitted the Affidavits of two neigh-
bors, who swore to his entry and attual residence on the land
for three years. In his Notice of Intention filed on June 18,
1912, Peck stated his residencé as being Scott, New Mexico,
(now Gladiola, New Mexico) ; being the post office nearest the -
said land. |
On April 18, 1913, the General Land Office rejected Peck’s
proof under the Act of June 6, 1912, on the ground that for the
years 1911 and 1912 accumulated absences exceeded the max-
imum five months per year, but advised that new proof might
be made when five years residence were shown from April 15,
1909, under the five year law or under the three year law by
showing further residence of at least seven months since the
submission of the proof in question, No appeal having been
made therefrom, patent authorization was cancelled on Octo-
ber 14, 1913. Peck’s entry, however, subject to later proof,
still remained on file in the Land Office at Las Cruces, New
Mexico.
\
On December 22, 1927, the Land Office in Las Cruces sent
Peck notice that, unless he made final proof, his claim would
be forfeited and his entry cancelled. No reply having been
received from Peck (correspondence was mailed to an old ad-
dress), the General Land Office in Washington, D. C., .can-
celled his entry on April 19, 1928.
On July 22, 1929, D. P. Peck’s father, E. C. Peck, wrote to
the Commissioner of the General Land Office advising that he
had paid the taxes on the half section in question for the vast
sixteen (16) years on behalf of his son, and that he had only
recently become aware of the cancellation of his son’s entry,
and that he wished to have the entry reinstated. His letter
further states that his son, some months after receiving a Cer-
tificate that proof had been made, had returned to his parents’
5
home in Kingman, Kansas, in a deranged state of mina. For-
mal application: for reinstatement of the cantelled entries
were duly made. Supporting documents and affidavits reveal
that Peck was later adjudged insane on December 24, 1914 by
the Probate Court of Kingman County, Kansas, and committed
to the State Hospital for the Insane at Osawatomie, Kansas,
and in 1923 was transferred to Larned State Hospital for the
Insane at Larned, Kansas, his mental derangement having
existed for two or more years prior to December 24, 1914, when
he was adjudged insane. When transferred to the Larned State
Hospital, Peck was suffering from Dementia Praecox; paranoid
type, a psychosis, and it was at that time concluded that in all
probability he would be confined to an institution for the rest
of his life,
On May 1, 1930, the acting Commissioner of Lands wrote
the Register in Las Cruces reinstating the entry.-In part, the
acting Commissioner wrote:
“The entryman is evidently entitled to consideration
under the act of June 8, 1880 (21 Stat. 166). The fact of
the entryman’s insanity was unknown to this office at the
time his proof was rejected and at the time his entries ~
were canceled. ;
“Upon consideration of the case under the five year
law, it sufficiently appears that the entryman complied
with the law up to the time he became insane. The entries
‘now combined under one serial 040591, are, therefore, re-
instated.”
The entry was finally confirmed by the General Land
Office on July 14, 1931. In’1939, when a corrected Patent was
issued, eliminating the oil, Fi "gas and | potash reservation, the
Land Commissioner wrote: o,
“Later E. C. Peck, as guardian, filed an application
for reinstatement of the entries was allowed additional
time within which to make further showing. In this, it
was disclosed that the entryman was adjudged to be of
unsound mind on December 24, 1914, that he was found
8 ete eet ‘
\
\
\
Ne
"ee } —
to be mentally unsound for about two years prior to that
time, which would fix his period of incompetency as be-
ginning in 1912, and that the insanity continued and was
reported as incurable.”
Peck’s estate was always located and. administered in the
State of New Mexico; W. M. Beauchamp was appointed Guard-
ian of his estate in 1939 on the Petition of Peck’s mother, and
continued in that capacity until after Peck’s death and his ap-
pointment as Administrator. It is to be noted that W, M. Beau-
champ was appointed Guardian of the estate-some thirty years
before The Honorable Kermit E. Nash ever ascended to the
Bench. The District Court of Lea County in its-Decision found
that “there was and is no property of the decedent ‘in any
other state.” This finding was amply supported by the evi-
dence and was not attacked in any manner by the petitioner.
In 1963, when Peck was then 77 years old, his nephew, the
petitioner, had him released to his custody by the Larned
State Hospital. At this time, Peck was not cured of his mental
illness, his mental illness was incurable, but there was noth-
ing more that could be done in ¢he way of treatment; and
sir ce he was not violent, he could be cared for as well in a
rest home. The petitioner took Peck to Dallas and piaced him
in Terrell’s Rest Home. In September of 1963, the petitioner
had himself appointed as Peck’s Guardian in a Dallas Court,
attaching to his Petition a letter from a Texas doctor, which
stated that on August 1, 1963, he had examined Peck and
found him to be of unsound mind.and unable to manage his
personal affairs. It was following this, on May 12, 1964, that
Peck signed the purported Will leaving his entire estate to the
petitioner, or in the event of the prior death of petitioner, then
to petitioner’s children.
Within ten (10) days following Peck’s death on Septem-
ber 4, 1966, W. M. Beauchamp, through counsel, requested pe-
titioner to bring the purported Will.to New Mexico, where the
estate was located, and to offer it for probate, if petitioner ae
maintained it was a valid Will. This petitioner.never chose. to
do, and some five months later, said W. M, Beauchamp finally
7
commenced proceedings for administration of the estate in
New Mexico. |
At the hearing in the District Court of Lea County, the
Administrator offered by deposition the testimony of Dr. D.
H. Davis, a duly licensed medical doctor of the State of Kan-
sas, and a member of the psychiatric staff of the Larned State
Hospital, who had past personal acquaintance with Peck and
personal knowledge of his condition at the time he left Lar- °
ned. In addition, the Administrator offered the testimony of
Dr. Warren T. Brown, now of Albuquerque, New Mexico, who-~
listed among his qualifications teaching and serving as Chair-
man of the Department of Psychiatry and Mental Hygiene at
Yale University, neuro-psychiatric consultant to: the Wes Pa-
cifice‘Base Command during-World War II, and Proféssor and
Chairman of the Department of Psychiatry and Néurology at
Baylor University College of Medicine in the Texas Medical
Center in Houston, Texas. Petitioner counteredonly with T.
Mack Terrell, owner ‘and operator of Terrell’s Rest Home.
Counsel for: Détitioner in his Brief-In-Chief filed in the
New Mexico’Supreme’Court admitted with respect to his only
eo
Pa
witness, J. Mack Terrell, “It is impossible to point out ‘any -
one portion of Mr. Terrell’s testimony which would indicate
that David’P. Peck was in control of all his faculties in 1964
or that he was knowledgable of the natural objects of his
bounty or the nature of his,estate * * *.”
The hearing before the District Court of Lea County was
initially set for May 2, 1967. The Affidavit of Disqualification
filed by petitioner stated that none of the. three Judges of the
‘Fifth ‘Judicial District could, according to the belief of peti-
tioner, preside over the action with impartiality. These three
Judges were The Honorable George L. Reese,, residing at Ros-
well, Chaves County, New Mexico; The Honorable Caswell S.
Neal, residing at Carlsbad, Eddy County, New Mexico, and
The Honorable Kermit E. Nash, residing at Hobbs, Lea Coun-
- ty, New Mexico. This proposed disqualification was not made
on any constitutional grounds, as set forth in the N ew Mexico
Constitution, and was not accompanied by any motion, but
rather was merely an attempted. statutory disqualification,
8 i
which does not set forth any facts on which the alleged im-
partiality is based.
On May 1, 1967, counsel for petitioner served a Motion for
Continuance on counsel for the Administrator, and on May 8,
1967,, secured and filed an Order signed by District Judge -
Kermit E. Nash continuing the hearing to June 19, 1967. Pre-
vious to serving the Motion for.Continuance, petitioner’s coun-
sel had obtained the consent of the Administrator’s-counsel to
a continuance, and at that time stated he was aware that by . 2
obtaining an Order. for Continuance he, would be waiving the
Affidavit of Disqualification previously: filed. The Motion for
Continuance states as its.sole ground the fact that counsel had
not had sufficient time to properly prepare fer trial.
Following the entry of the District Court’s Decision, peti-
tioner in appealing to the New Mexico.Supreme Court, only
filed a Praecipe for a portion of the record, and in setting forth
his points to be relied on in the appeal, made no mention,
whatsoever, as to the attempted disqualification, on which he
now relies so strongly. Likewise, petitioner’s Brief-In-Chief in
the New Mexico Supreme Court contains no Point directed to
this question, but merely contains a short reference to it at
the end of the Brief. No mention is’made of the Fifth or Four-
teenth Amendments to the United States Constitution in either ©
petitioner’s Brief-In-Chief or Reply Brief in the New Mexico
Supreme Court under any of the Points therein raised: The
first mention of due process and equal protection appears in |
petitioner’s Brief in Support of Motion of Rehearing in the
New Mexico Supreme Court,
9
ARGUMENT
L
Certiorari Will Not Issue to Review a Decision of a State Court of
Last Resort on Constitutional Issues Presented for the First
Time on Motion for Rehearing. ‘
An unbroken line of decisions of this Court hold that cer-
tiorari will not issue to review a decision of the court of last
resort of a state upon Federal constitutional questions that
were not presented to the state court until motion for rehear-
ing afer final opinion..Typical of these cases.is the. case of
American Surety Company.v. Baldwin, 287 U.S. 156, 53 S.Ct.
98, 77 L.Ed. 231, 86 A.L.R. 298, (1912). The Court there said:
“The Surety Company petitioned for a rehearing. In
that petition, besides reiterating several of its previous
contentions, it urged, for the first time, that the rendition
of the judgment on its undertaking violated the due pro-
cess clause of the Fourteenth Amendment. The petition
was denied without opinion, The federal claim there made
cannot serve as the basis for review by this Court. The
contention that a federal right had been violated rests on
giving notice and an opportunity to be heard. The same
ground of objection had been raised throughout the pro-
ceedings but solely as a matter of state law. There had
been ample opportunity earlier to present the objection
as one arising under the Fourteenth Amendment. Com-
pare Corkran Oil & Development Co. v. Arnaudet, 199
U.S. 182,193, 50 L.Ed. 143, 149, 26 S.Ct. 41; Godchaux Co.
v. Estopinal, 251 U.S. 179, 181, 64 L.Ed. 213, 214, 40 S.Ct.
116; Live Oak.Water Users’ Asso. v. Railroad Commission,
269 U.S. 354.°357, 70 L.Ed. 305, 308, 46 S.Ct. 149. This is not
the action g the trial court in entering judgment without
a case where,.as in Saunders v. Shaw, 244 U.S. 317, 320, 61’
L.Ed. 1163, 1165, 37 S.Ct. 638, the federal claim arose from
the unanticipated disposition of the case at the close of
the proceedings in the state Supreme Court: Compare Ohio
ex rel. Bryant v. Akron Metropolitan Park Dist., 281 -U.S.
74, 79, 74 L.Ed. 710, 715, 66 A.L.R. 1469, 50 S.Ct. 228. Nor:
is the federal claim based, as in Brinerhoff-Faris Trust &
GREE A GY TO
10
Sav. Co. v. Hill, 281 U.S. 673, 678, 74 L.Ed. 1107, 1112, 50
S.Ct, 451, upon the unanticipated act of the state Supreme
Court in giving to a statute a new construction which
threatened rights under the,Constitution. Compare Mis- .
souri ex rel. Missouri Ins. Co. v. Gehner, 281 U.S. 313, 320,
74 L.Ed. 870, 875,. 50 S.Ct. 326.” —
- The case at big. does not come within any of the excep-
tions to the settled rule. The Supreme Court of New Mexico
denied the Motion for Rehearing which first raised the federal
constitutional questions without opinion, The ‘Decision of the
District Court and the Decision of the Supreme Court were
based upon the same construction and application of New
Mexico law. If a federal constitutional question was to be re-
lied upon, it should have been presented to the trial court, and
_in any event to the Supreme Court of New Mexico upon the
appeal and not for the first time-upon Mofion for Rehearing.
There was nothing in the Decision of the Supreme Court of
New Mexico that could in any manner be said to have pro-
duced an unanticipated result.
/
I.
Appropriate Procedures Were Available to Petitioner to Disqual-
ify the Trial Judge, and Petitioner's Failure to: Properly and
Timely Use Same, Cannot Be Considered a Denial of Due
Process. ;
In the State of New. Mexico, there are two types of dis-
qualification, i.e., constitutional and statutory. If a litigant
chooses to disqualify a Judge on a constitutional ground, it is
necessary that a motion, objection, or other appropriate
remedy be invoked calling the grounds of disqualification
to the Court’s attention and demanding a ruling thereon.
Gutierrez v. Middle Rio Grande Conservancy District, 34 N.M.
346, 282 P. 1, 70 A.L.R. 1261, (1929); Midwest Royalties . v. Sim-
mons, 61 N.M. 399,°301 P.2d 334, (1956). A statutory disquali-
fication is made by the filing of an Affidavit of Disqualifica-. .
tion stating that the Judge before whom the matter is to be.
. tried cannot preside over the same with impartiality, accord-
ing to the belief of affiant, without any facts or grounds being
or
°
—~,
—n., : .
1° ;
alleged, this method of a cacag being in the nature of -
@ personal privilege.
The application to dinguality. a Judge must be properly ~~
made. In re‘Fox West Coast Theatres, D.C: Cal., 25 F.Supp.
250, affirmed, C.C.A,, 88 F.2d 212, (1937), certiorari .denied,
Tally v. Fox Film Corporation, 57 S.Ct..944, 301 U.S. 710,.81.. ~
L.Ed. 1363, Rehearing denied, 58 S.Ct. 7, 302 U.S. 772, 82 L.Ed.
-598, (1937). This‘is true in the State courts of New Mexico as
well as elsewhere; an informal request is.not sufficient, Mid-
west Royalties v. Steamons, Supra. ; )
| ‘The Western Union aie letter sent on April 13, 1967, by
: petitidner to The Honorable Kermit E. Nash obviously could
not be considered a proper application for disqualiffication. ,
It apparently was based on alleged bias ‘and prejudice rather
than any constitutional grounds. It did not state that peti-
tioner was disqualifying the said Judge, but rather requested
the Judge to disqualify himself and-to récuse Sarai from the
matter. pear ee
‘
It is to be noted that the said night letter from the peti-
tioner further requested a postponement of the hearing set for
May 2, 1967,.and requested a return wire as to the Court’s
* action on the said request as to postponement, as well as to
ig disqualification.
That the disqualification-of a Judge may be waived, espe-
cially where it is not based on constitutional grounds, is well
supported by precedent. State ex rel. Lebeck’ 'v. Chavez, 45
N.M. 161, 113 P.2d 179, (1941); State v, Garcia, 47 N.M. 319,
142 P.2d 552, (1943); United States v. ‘Hethington, C.A.. IL,
279 F. 2d 792, cert. den., 81 S.Ct. 271, 364 U.S, 908, 5 L.Ed. 224,
(1960). In State ex. vel, Lebeck v. Chavez, the Supreme Court |
of New Mexico wrote:
“We can see no distinction between the right to waive
and the circumstances under which a party may waive.
such disqualification before having attempted to disqual-
“~~
ify.a judge, and the right to waive and the circumstances °
under which it may be done after the effort to disqualify.
Our attention has not been called to any. cases making
2
e
«
OIE POR LIO RMR ESTE
‘
> 12 —
such a distinction, where the right to waive exists in the
first place. We hold, therefore, that as to all causes of
action set forth,\petitioners have waived the question of
disqualification, regardless of whether they had at first
appropriately or irregularly attacked it.” —
After petitioner m@quested The Honorable Kermit E, Nash
to recuse himself amd to postpone the hearing, and did not
obtain’ a favorable response to either request, petitioner final-
dy on April 1967, entered an appearance in the matter
through Ne exico counsel, David L. Norvell, Esq., who
then on Ap filed petitioner’s Affidavit of Disquali-
fication, di against all three Judges, of the Fifth Judicial
District;‘coverng three Counties. He followed this with a°Mo-
tion for Continuance, mailed to opposigg counsel on May 1,
1967, and obtained an Order from The Honorable Kermit E.
Nash continuing the hearing to June 19, 1967. A further ver-
bal continuance was also obtained by petitioner’s counsel con-
tinuing the hearing to July 27, 1967.
The Supreme Court of New Mexico in its Opinion prop-
erly held that the action following the filing of the Affidavit
of Disqualification effectively waived any right of disqualifi-
cation claimed by petitioner. It is submitted that petitioner’s
request for a postponement by his night letter of April 13,
1967, would likewise constitute additional action, prior to the
filing of the Affidavit of aNaqualinontam, effectively wre
any right of disqualification.
‘In any event, having obtained the necessary continuances
to prepare for the hearing, petitioner never again raised the
matter of his attempted disqualification until the closing para-
graphs of his Brief-In-Chief before the New Mexico Supreme
-Court. Compare Rivera v. Hutchings, 59 N.M. 337, 284 P.2d
. 222, (1955), on which petitioner relies, where counsel consist-
ently through the trial and proceedings placed in the record
his objection to the Court proceeding, obviously preserving the
question for review, without waiver. If petitioner’s counsel
had desired to preserve any right of disqualification that he ©
may have had, an application to the New Mexico Supreme
Court for a Writ of Prohibition was also available, but was
not used,
\ 13
‘ The Opinion of the New Mexico Supreme Court that any
right of disqualification was effectively waived is undoubted-
ly correct. As to the assertions of lack of due process and equal
protection under the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments, made
for the first time in petitioner’s Motion for Rehearing before
the New Mexico Supreme Court, petitioner’s own failure to
properly and timely use the procedural methods of disquali-
fication available to him cannot be considered as a denial of
due process and equal protection.
I.
- *,
The Refusal of the New Mexico District Court to Recognize Peck’s oy
Purported Will and the Pending Proceedings in the State of
Texas Did Not Violate the Full Faith and Credit Clause.
In petitioner’s appeal to the New Mexico Supreme Court,
petitioner based his contention that the District Court erred
in failing and refusing to, honor and recognize the pending
‘proceedings in Texas on the doctrine of comity, rather than
the full faith and credit clause of the United States Constitu-
tion. In his Brief-In-Chief filed in the New Mexico Supreme
Court, he ¢tates “A state court,, in conformity to state policy,
» by cemity, gives a remedy which the full faith and credit
clause does not compel.” It was not until his Motion for Re-
hearing was filed that he urged that the full faith and credit
clause had been violated.
However, under neither the rule of comity nor the full
faith and credit clause, was the District Court of Lea County
required to recognize Peck’s purported Will or the decree of
the Dallas County Court admitting it to probate in that Court.
The Order of the County Court of Dallas County has been
appealed from, and under the statutes of Texas (Vernon’s
. Texas Rules Annotated—Civil Procedure, Vol. 3, Rule 335) is
thus held in suspense. Since there is no finality, whatsoever,
to the said Order of the Dallas County Court, it is not entitled
to full faith and credit. In Chapman v. John St. John Drilling
Company, 73 N.M. 261, 387 P.2d 454, 457; (1963), the Supreme
Court of New Mexico stated:
°
14
7 (4f 5] It is not disputed that the award of the Tcxas
‘Industrial Accident Board has been appealed in the man-
ner provided by Texas law and that such appeal is now
pending and undisposed of. We are thus confronted with
the further question of whether the appeal denies the
-» Texas award that finality requisite to Invoke the full faith
and credit clause. In an excellent annotation on ‘Judgment
as res judicata pending appeal or motion for a new trial,
or during the time allowed therefor,’ in 9 A.L.R.2d 984,
993, the general rule is announced that under the full
faith and credit clause a foreign judgment is conclusive in
_another state only to the same extent it is conclusive in
the state where it was rendered. It follows that a deter-
mination by the courts of Texas as to the finality of its
_. judgment is controlling. It is well settled. in Texas that
- ‘an appeal from a judgment prevents its operation as res
‘ judicata.’ Sabine Pilots Ass’n v. Lykes Brothers Steam-
. .ship,-Inc. (Tex. €iv. App. 1961) 346 S.W.2d 166, 169; Ray
’ | wy. Hasley (5th Cir. 1954) 214 F.2d 366, 368.”
-. Even assuming that the Order of the County Court of
-Dgllas County was final, a New Mexico court would not be
bound under any doctrine of comity to admit the Will in New
Mexico, but would be entitled to re-examine the question of
’ the jurisdiction of the Texas Court. This is a well recognized
principle, and recognized by this Court. Burbank v. Ernst, 232
U.S. 162, 34 S.Ct. 299, (1914); Holland v. Jackson’, 37 S.W.2d
' 726, (Supreme Court of Texas, 1931); Barney v. Huff, 326
. §.W.2d 617, (Court of Civil Appeals of Texas, 1959); Page on
Wills, 1941 Ed., Vol. 2, $726, p. 397. In Burbank v. Ernst, supra,
'.. Wherein the Louisiana Courts had refused to recognize the
probate of a Will in Texas on the ground that the testator died
domiciled in Louisiana and thus the Texas Court had no jur-
‘isdiction, this Court upheld tHe Louisiana Court, and. used the .
- ee language:
“Of course, the jurisdiction of the Texas Court de-
* pended upon the domicile of Burbank, which therefore
was open to re-examination.”
The Texas Courts also recognize that no jurisdiction exists
15
to admit a Will in Texas if the decedent was not domiciled in
Texas and had no property therein on which the’ Will could
operate. Hardgrove v. De Tray, 34 S.W.2d 379, (Court of Civil
Appeals of Texas, 1931), affirmed, De Tray v. Hardgrove, 52
S.W.2d 239, (Commission on Appeals of Texas, rpperces A,
1932).
IV.
The Decision Below as to Peck’s Domicile and Mental Capacity
Is Based on a Proper erm of Precedents and Is Clear-
ly Correct.
The whole of Peck’s estate arises from the half section of
land in Lea County, New Mexico, on which a Patent was fi-
nally issued in 1931. The reinstatement of Peck’s homestead
by the General Land Office was based on the fact that Peck
became insane in 1912, before he left his homestead in New
Mexico, as well as on the fact that he had made an ventry, was
an actual bona fide resident on the land up to the time of his
insanity and had complied in good faith with the Jegal re-
quirements up to the time of his becoming insane. Title 43,
— US.C.A., $172. —
Since Peck was insane in 1912 before he left New Mexico,
he is presumed to have been incapable of changing his domi-
cile from the place it was when he became incompetent. In re
Collins’ Estate, 165 A. 285, 286, 11 N.J.Misc. 233, (1932); Cou-
youmjian v. Anspach, 103 N.W.2d 587, 594, 360 Mich. 371,
(1960); Sullivan v. Kenney, 126 N.W. 349, 358, 148 Iowa 361,
(1910); Commonwealth v. Kernochan, 106 S.E. 367, 129 Va.
405, (1921); State v. Superior Court of Thurston County, 255
P. 376, 143 Wash. 358, (1927); 96 A.L.R.2d 1236. Further, his
incompetency is presumed to continue until otherwise shown.
Stanley v. Campbell, 27 So.2d 411, 157 Fla. 891, (1946); Belk v.
Colleas, 61 S.E.2d 464, 207 Ga, 328, (1950); In re Peter’s Estate,
264 P.2d 1109, 1117, (1953); Davis v. Davis, 25 S.E.2d 181, 183,
223 N.C. 36, (1943); Barrows v. Mutual Life Ins. Co. of New
York, 48 N.M. 206, 147 P.2d 362 (1944); Bogel v, White, 168
S.W.2d 309, (Court of Civil Appeals o of Texas, 1942).
With these well recognized presumptions, the burden was
. 16
on petitioner to prove that somehow Peck had regained his
mental capacity. This he was unable to do. His only witness,
J. Mack Terrell, the owner and operator of the Rest Home
where Peck spent his last three years, did not so testify. Pe-
- titioner never did explain how, after in 1963 having himself
appointed as Peck’s guardian in Dallas on an application sup-
ported by a doctor’s affidavit that Peck was then of unsound
mind, he can now contend that Peck had regained his mental
capacity. As previously noted, the District Court in making its
decision had the benefit of the testimony of two doctors,
trained and experienced in psychiatry, one of whom was per-
sonally acquainted with Peck and had personal knowledge of
his condition.
With there being no satisfactory proof that Peck had ever
regained his mental capacity, the District Court was correct in
finding that Peck’s legal residency was still in New Mexico,
where he was domiciled when he became insane, and with the
whole of Peck’s estate being located in New Mexico and peti-
tioner refusing to bring the purported Will to New Mexico
and offer it for probate, the District Court was fully entitled
“to proceed with determining heirship under the applicable
New Mexico statutes in the proceedings in which said estate
was being administered,
The petitioner in his Petition for Writ of Certiorari speaks
of “plain fairness” and “simple justice,” yet. he seeks to gain
the whole of his deceased uncle’s estate, and to deprive his
own brother and nephew of any share therein. What could be
fairer and more just than to divide the Peck estate in equal
shares among the three heirs-at-law, just as the District Court
of Lea County did, and which the Supreme Court of New
- Mexico affirmed,
17
CONCLUSION
For the foregoing reasons, the Petition for Writ of Cer-
tiorari should be denied.
“ Respectfully submitted,
Merritt L. Norton.
and
A. M. SWARTHOUT
Counsel for Respondents
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE
_ Merrill L. Norton, one of the attorneys for Respondents
_herein, and a member of the Bar of the Supreme Court of the
United States, hereby certify that on this.22@....day of Sep-
_ tember, 1969, I served copies of the foregoing Brief For Re-
spondents In Opposition on counsel for petitioner by mailing
said copies in duly addressed envelopes, with first class post-
* age prepaid, to petitioher’s respective attorneys of record, as -
follows: F
WILLIAM C. ODENEAL, JR.
511 Adolphus Tower
Dallas, Texas 75202
J. REDWINE PATTERSON
Praetorian Building
Dallas, Texas 75201
M L. Norton
Post Office Drawer 1567 |
Lovington, New Mexico 88260
a
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.