Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Cave v. United States
Supreme Court brief1968
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
31
APPENDIX “C” -
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH.CIRCUIT
”
No. 18859
James Doyle Cave,
VS;
United States of America,
~ September Term, 1967
Appeal from the United States
District Court for the
Southern District of Iowa.
On consideration of the motion of appellant for a stay of
the mandate in this cause pending a petition to the Supreme
Court of the United States for a writ of certiorari, it is now here
ordered by this Court that the issuance of the mandate herein
be, and the same is hereby, stayed to and including May 1,
1968. If within said period of time there is filed with the Clerk
___of this Court a certificate of'the Clerk of the Supreme Court of —
‘the United States that a petition for writ of certiorari and
record have been filed, the stay hereby granted shall continue
until the final disposition of.the case by the Supreme Court.
“March 28, 1968,
Citations. to. Opinions Below pnaduswes seuwendoies -
~ Jurisdiction . . seveocers Secseevvcceeesccccocios ~
Questions Presented’ ....<. -ie veces ede ede ‘fe
Statement sev eebserateserenvemssenerdeatesiv:
Appendix B (Order isanies Rehearing) ie ae a
Appendix C (Order Granting Time to Petition for
WE Sh Goede ieee eco case: ee
CasesCited
Carlson v. United States, 187 F. 2d 366 (10th Circuit) .
Housten v. United States, 95 F. 2d 168 (8th Circuit) .,
United States v. Tippett, 353 F. 2d 335 (4th Circuit) . .
United States-v, Willis, 322 F. 2d $48 (3rd Circuit) ..
United States v. Wilson, 284 F.2d 407 (4th Circuit) .
31
io
id
In the Supeeme Court of the United States
o——-0—"—-0
OCTOBER TERM, 1967
: | on
oo 0-0
No.
. *
_ JAMES DOYLE CAVE, a 4
| —_ Petitioner
~~ £
; YY . 4 boss
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, __ |
— on - Respondent.
. °
: PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
'. , UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
: Wine ae 3
(Oo
2
Petitioner prays: thet a welt Gf covtionisttetio to voviow ihe
judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth
Circuit entered in the above entitled case on March 1, 1968. )
CITATIONS TO OPINIONS BELOW.
The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the
_ Eighth Circuit, entered on March -1, 1968; is printed in
Appendix “A” hereto, infra pp. -29and is feported in —— Fed.
yee | 23
«
> ae
. i
‘
_ JURISDICTION .
The. judgment of the Circuit Court of Appeals for ‘the
Eighth Circuit was entered on March 1, 1968, and is printed in —
Appendix “A”, infra p..5 . The jurisdiction of this Court is | —S >
invoked under. 28 U,S.C.; ¢1254(1). Rule 19(b). Petition for
rehearing denied March 22, 1968. Order printed in. Appendix
“B”, infra p.30. Order granting time to petition for certiorari is
* printed Apel. “C”, infra p. 31.
QUESTIONS PRESENTED
1. Witnesses from whom property is alleged to have been .
obtained by fraud having testified that they were willipg sellers
© at the price obtained; whether or not any other value is then the
proper: subject in inquiry in order to establish jurisdictional
ast “valye of more than $5,000.00.
2, Whether . or not establishing that property alleged to
have been obtained by fraud i is in excess - $5,000.00 i isa part
of establishing conspiracy.
Mg STATEMENT ms "
James Doyle Cave, Des Moines, Iowa, was convicted of the
crimes of conspiracy (18 U.S.C. +371) and _ interstate
transportation of fraudulently obtained property over
$5,000.00 (18 U.S.C. 2314). The United States Circuit Court of .
Appeals for the Eighth Circuit affirmed the. convictions on
March 1, 1968, and denied rehearing on March 22, 1968.
Petitioner was sentenced to 2 years. and fined $3,000.00.
James Doyle Cave is an employee of. lowa Power and Light
Company, the local electrical all and has been s0 siete
- for many years.
Also tried with Cave were Calvin Dennis Sirkin, aliss Horry
Karl, and Sanford Samuei Amsterdam, alias Jake Jackson, “
We ee
Chicago, Illinois. Calvin Dennis Sirkin, alias Harry Karl, and -
Sanford Samuel Amsterdam, operated a drug store for a few
weeks prior to the incidents. sralven | in the alleged criminal act
‘in Des Moines, asap
Sirkin, alias Heery Karl, had fraudulently purchased
numberous appliances from local businesses and had them
delivered to the drug store. The Government produced the
; sellers to establish the value of the merchandise purchased. The ©
various sellers were permitted to testify as to the “suggested
retail price”, the “regular retail price”, “wholesale price”, and -
the “actual sale price” to the defendant Sirkin, alias Harry Karl, -
over Sinton of James Doyle Cave. ~
It was sail out by the attorneys for the defendants and
. James Doyle Cave that in each i involving the
purchase of an item at the price paid. b 7 , alias Harry Karl,
| the seller was a willing seller.
The total value of ‘the items. purchased a dlaies in
interstate commerce at the “actual sale price” was the sum of
$4, 497. “4. ‘
The ‘alana of the various sellers as to the “suggested
retail price”, “regular retail price”, and “wholesale price” was
introduced over the proper objection of the defendants.
By using the “suggested retail price” as the value of the
| Seeny Sip Sevens ne ae Sp eaten ele Stee
of the jurisdictional amount.
On appeal the admisability of the evidence as: to
“suggested retail price” was assigned as error. The Eighth
Cire Comet ef Appeals abestnt Gis claien of etter. :
a
4
| -REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT -
1. A conflict on “jurisdictiorial value” evidence exists
, _« between the various circuit courts and should be resdélved by
ee this Court. U, S. v. Tippett, 353 F. 2d 335 (1965).(4th Circuit);
_U.S. v. Willis, 322 F. 2d 548 (3rd Circuit); Husten v.'U. S., 95 —
F. 2d 168 (1938) (8th Circuit).
. 2. A conflict exists between the circuit courts as to the
necessity of proving “jurisdictional value” in establishing a
“conspiracy” conviction. United States v. Wilson, 284 F. 2d
407 (4th Circuit); Carlson vy. Si — F. 2d 366 (10th
» Circuit). é
CONCLUSION ;
For thé foregoing reasons, this Petition for Writ of
Certiorari should be granted.
Respectfully submitted,
VERNE LAWYER
427 Fleming Building ©
- Des Moines, Iowa 50309 _
Attorney for Petitioner
5 ‘
| APPENDIX “A” &
_ UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS =~
aad _ - FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT
No. 18,859 .
- . ; 4 5 rn
James Doyle Cave, — _ Appellant,
v. |
United States of America, :
Appellee.
No. 18,895 ,
‘ a, Appeals from the.
United States District’
: Sanford Samuel elit, Court for the Southern
| District of nn.
v. |
- United States of America,
- Bes . Appeliee.
_ No. 18,938 :
Calvin Dennis Sirkin, Appellant,
"esti
: : ‘
United States of America,
.
(J. ia | (March 1, 1968.)
‘Before Van Gosterhout, Chief Judge: meetin, Circuit Judge, ;
‘and Harris, Chief District Judge.
Harris, Chief District Judge.
The appellants bring these inci from convictions by a
jury and judgments entered thereon finding them guilty upon
. each of two counts of an indictment. The Grand Jury of the
Southern District of Iowa on May 26, 1966, returned a two
count indictment against James Doyle Cave, Calvin Dennis
Sirkin (also known as Harry Karl), and Sanford Samuel
Amsterdam (also known as Jake Jackson) involving conspiracy
and interstate transportation of property obtained by fraud.
The cases were submitted on the original files and briefs.
Count I of the indictment charges conspiracy in violation
of Title 18 U.S.C. +371; . Count II of the indictment charges
interstate transportation of. property obtained by fraud in
violation of Title 18 U.S.C. 42314. ? The indictment is rather
lengthy and it appears unnecessary to restate it here as no
question ‘of its sufficiency is raised by appellants and pertinent -
provisions will-be included in the statement summarizing the
evidence. |
2 _— of convictions were > catenctl by tt the Honorable
Roy L, Stephenson, Chief Judge, presiding. Calvin Dennis Sirkin
(Harry Karl) and Sanford Samuel Amsterdam (Jake Jackson)
were each sentenced on Count I to imprisonment for a period
of five years and fined $10,000, and on Count HI to
imprisonment for a period of five _yeats to run concurrently
—
. 1 Section 371. “If:two or persons conspire * * * to commit any offense
the United Staten ** in any nee Or any purpose, and one or more
such persons do Gat Sct to cltect the object of the , each shall be fined .
not more than $10, or imprisoned not more than 5 years, or b ital patient
wares, securities or a ot
ares, merchandise, securities or money, of the 4 Eh
“a en a tite Gam ton roam.
7
with the sentence imposed on Count A. janie Doyle €ave was
sentenced to imprisonment for a period of two years and fined
$3,000 on Count I and on Count II to imprisonment for a
. period of two years to run concurrently with the sentence
imposed on Count I.
&
Separate-appeals have been taken. Appellant Cave files a
separate brief. Appellants: Amsterdam and Sirkin have filed their
briefs jointly. All — will be disposed of in this opinion.
The three aeilintii contend that the court erred in failing
‘to direct a judgment of acquittal for the reason that the
Government failed to establish the jurisdictional value of
$5,000. In addition thereto Appellant Cave contends (1) the
evidence was insufficient to establish the allegations as to him;
- and (2) the Court erred in admitting testimony and exhibits
which were hearsay, incompetent, irrelevant and immaterial as
__ to him. However, at the close of the Government’s °S case when —
Appellant Cave ‘filed a written. ‘notion Of his claims of error
motion in connection with their motion of acquittal at that.
time. We examine these claims and.recite the facts applicable to |
- each of them.
Except for one exhibit offered by defendant Cave,
appellants failed to testify, or offer any evidence in their own
defense, which is their right. Nevertheless, the testimony of the
Government is. uncontradicted, except as to any possible
Caeepeies in the. “testimony of matters relevant to the case.
C3 3 ,
~ In view of the nature of these cai Asin eva
of law applicable thereto, a rather full and complete statement
of the facts appears to be necessary.
“The evidence discloses that in August, 1965, Pearl Michlin
was the sole owner of an Iéwa Corporation, Super Drug, Inc., a”
‘
8 eee :
retail drug business located at 609 Walnut Street in Des Moines,
Iowa. The drug store was actually operated by her husband,
_ Harry Michlin, assisted by their son Franklin, Harry Michlin also
was the owner of a drug store, King’s Pharmacia in San Juan,
Puerto Rico, |
_ During the early part of the summer, 1965, the Michlins
advertised the sale of Super Drug in the local newspapers and a
well-known trade magazine. In July, 1965, ‘Harry Michlin
received a telephone call from Lew Farrell indicating an interest
in the the proposed sale and arranged a meeting for the purpose
of discussing it. , ’ |
A few days later Mr. Michlin joined Mr. Farrell at the Des
Moines airport. Farrell had with him Allen Robert Rosenberg _
introduced to Michlin as Mr. Allen, and another man unnamed.
Allen (Rosenberg), a large person, some six feet two inches or
more tall, weighing 240 pounds, talked to Michlin about the
sale of Super Drug. No commitment was made and no
_ agreement for any further meeting.
On‘or about August 11, 1965, Mr. Allen called Mr. Michlin
. and asked that he meet him at the Des Moines airport. On
_ arriving at the airport Michlin was introduced to a Mr. Harry
Karl by Allen. It later developed and is admitted that Harry
Karl is in fact Calvin Dennis Sirkin, one of the defendants
herein,
Mr. Michlin took Mr. Allen (Rosenberg) ‘and Mr. Sirkin
(Harry Karl) to the Super Drug store. He showed Sirkin around
the store and explained its operation. On inquiry from Allen,
Michlin advised that the liabilities and assets, including fixtures
of the. business were each about $25,000. Michlin asked
$10,000 for the corporate stock on behalf of his wife. There
was further discussion between Sirkin and Michlin at the store;
Allen had left. After he returned, Allen and Michlin left Sirkin
9 ‘ ; -
at the store and went to the home of Lew Farrell where an
agreement was made to transfer all of the stock of Super Drug, |
Inc., to Harry Karl (Sirkin). Michlin and Allen returned to the
prea. § They had an additional conferencé with Sitkin =” all
tliree agreed to the terms of the sale.
Sirkin. thus obtained control of the assets of - the
corporation, which h included the inventory, store fixtures and
the corporation’s- bank account with. a .balance of some
$1300.00. In return Sirkin was to issue to Mrs: Michlin two
checks in the amount of $2, 000 each on the Super Drug, Inc.,
- bank account; one check postdated two weeks following the
consummation of the sale and one postdated four weeks
following the consummation of the sale. Michlin gave Sirkin a_
list of the. liabilities of the corporation. He guaranteed its
accuracy within ten percent. It was further agreed that if. the
liabilities exceeded those listed, plus ten percent, the excess
would be deducted from the $4, 000 ‘to be — for the stock in
postdated checks.
in Suithen consummation of the sale Mr. Michlin
_ authorized his attorney to prepare the necessary papers and his
‘son Franklin accompanied Sirkin to the Valley Bank & Trust
Company where control of the bank account of the corporation
was transferred to Harry Karl (Sirkin). /
On returning to the drug store. Harry. Karl (Sirkin) issued
two checks, each in the sum of $2,000 payable to Pearl Michlin
on the Super Drug, Inc., account; one was dated August 19,
1965, and the. other dated August 26, 1965. The arrangements
for the transfer of the. stock and the consummation of the sale
were thus completed August 11, 1965. The ownership and
operation of the drug store and all activities were thereafter
3 ee en ea :
Before leaving for Puerto Rico on August’ 14 or 15, 1965, ;
. ee eT ee ee the new owner
‘
he ° . .
{a
.
r
10
. of Super Drug, to Herbert Collins, the pharmacist. Collins was _
asked to remain as pharmacist of. the store and agreed. At
Michlin’s suggestion - another former employee, Larry
Christensen, was employed by Karl on a part-time basis. Karl
also employed Marie DeBrouse as cashier. |
Under Karl’s management of the nen store the stock of
_ merchandise immediately went down. The employees noted
that Karl failed to maintain the stock and inquired about it.
Karl stated that Michlin had misled him regarding the liabilities
of the business and as a consequence the store was short of
cash, This concluded one phase of the sequence of events and.
' began another.
~ ~On_August 30, 1965, another individual, Sanford Samuel
Amsterdam, one of the defendants herein, arrived at the drug
store and was introduced to the employees. by Harry Kari as
Jake Jackson, the new bookkeeper. The office was located in
the basement of the store. Amsterdam, known as Jake Jackson,
went’ to’ the office where -he spent most of his time. When
employee Christensen arrived at the store that afternoon, Karl
(Sirkin) took. him to the basement and introduced him to Jake
Jackson (Amsterdam) as “Jake” and advised that Jake was a
: en in the business.
The next day, August 31, 1965, Karl told Marie DeBrouse
that some big items would be coming to the ‘drug store and
when they arrived she was to notify Jake (Amsterdam) and that
he would come up from the office and take care of them. Karl
also advised her that if she had any problems, to take them up
with Jake. There was a telephone in the basement office and it
was from this office that Karl and Jake conducted most of their
. Sa . -
es dew Amid 31, 1965, Elmer Harleen, ‘a partner
. in Central TV sale located in Des Moines, received a telephone
11
call from a man who identified himself as Harry Karl, manager
of Super Drug. He told him that he wanted a certain color '
television-phonograph combination for promotional purposes at
his store. Harleen did not have this particular set but did have a
comparable. model. Karl placed an order for it and i quired as
to the price. He was quoted a retail price of $975.00. The caller
stated that he just wanted the set brought down and set on the
floor; there would be no service or installation; and it wOtld be
a_cash sale on delivery; with this representation a ‘price of
$875.00, plus sales tax, was agreed to. Harleen made up an_.
invoice and arranged for the delivery of a RCA Model HG883L,
Serial Number 16CA9819. It was delivered to Super Drug where
a check was given in the sum of $892.50 drawn on Super Drug,
Inc., signed by Harry Karl. The check was later presented for —
payment and returned marked “Account Closed”. :
Also, later that day, August 31, 1965, B. A. Amos, a
salesman for Mitcham TV of Des Moines, received a call from a
person who represented Super Drug and wanted a color
television set to be given as a prize for promotional purposes.
The sale of a RCA Model 881W was consummated at a Price of
$975.00; delivery was made to Super Drug and a check was:
issued therefor in the sum of $975.00 drawn on Super Drug,
Inc., signed by Hafry Karl. When the check was presented for
payment it was returned marked “Account Closed”.
_... Also, on August 31, 1965, Charles Gilderbloom, manager
of the electrical appliance department at Younkers Department.
Store, returned a call from a Mr. Harry Karl at Super Drug. Karl
wanted to buy-a RCA Model HG761W color television set to
give away as a prize. He asked for a special price. The retail
price was $765.00. Gilderbloom agreed to sell the set for
$634.80, plus sales tax, on a cash sale basis, Mr, Gilderbloom
made out the sales ticket and arranged for delivery the ‘next
day, September 1, 1965. On delivery, a check was issued on the
Super Drug, Inc., bank account, signed by Harry Karl, When
12>
presented for payment it was returned marked “Account ©
Closed”: hee i : ,
~ On August 31, 1965, Mr. Karl called Gene Nicholson
Stores and talked to Mark Summey, a salesman, He identified
himself from Super Drug. He wanted @-combination color
TV-radio-phonograph to be used as a gift. A Curtis-Mathes:
Model U321BMX was sold and delivered for $700.00, plus sales
_tax. On delivery to Super Drug a check in the sum of $714.00
drawn on Super Drug, Inc,, and signed by Harry Karl was given. .
When the check was presented for payment it was returned
marked “‘Account Closed”, -
On August 31, 1965, Kenneth Kdlsem, owner and manager
of Ingersoll TV located in Des Moines, received a call from a
person identifying himself as Harry Karl with Super Drug. He
wanted a color combination TV set for a promotional purpose.
He explained it would be a cash sale on delivery. A price of
$650.00, plus tax, was agreed to and a Zenith 7050W was
delivered to Super Drug. ‘A check was given in the sum of
_ $663.00 drawn on Super Drug, Inc., signed by Harry Karl, The
check was presented for payment . and returned marked
“Account Closed”, & : Veer
Also, on August 31, 1965, Ed Orth, Salesman for Philco
Distributors, Inc., received a telephone call from the new owner
of Super Drug. He wanted a Philco air conditioner to use as a
. door prize for promotional purposes. A price of $189.54 was
agreed to on‘a cash sales basis. A Philco Model 9ACS54 air —
conditioner. was delivered on September 1, 1965, to Super
Drug, through an error by the delivery-man it was delivered on a
credit basis rather than a C.O.D. Philco Distributors, Inc., was
never paid for the unit by Super Drug.
. On August 31, 1965, Dale McCombs, an order ‘clerk
employed by Gifford—Brown; Inc., in Des Moines, received a
af
Closed”.
call from a person identified as ‘Harry Karl of Super Dnig, He
.wanted to purchase an air conditioner for a door prize on
reopening of his store. A Chrysler Model H-1353 was purchased
for $198.00, plus sales tax. It was delivered to Super Drug on
September I, 1965. A check was issued in the sum of $201.96
drawn on Super Drug Inc., signed by Harry Karl. The check was
returned when —, fer payment marked “Account
On August 31, 1965, Harry Kramer, owner of Midwest
Vacuum Cleaner Company in Des Moines, received a telephone.
_ call from a man who identified himself as Harry Karl of Super .
Drug. He wanted to purchase ‘six upright vacuum cleaners for
promotional purposes, A price of $49.00 each for the six.units
- was agreed upon and Kramer personally delivered them to
Super Drug. He regeived in return a_check. in the arhount of
$294.00, drawn on Super Drug, Inc., > ge ikem Kari. The
retail price for each unit was $59.00,
presented for payment ‘i it was returned marked “Account
On August ‘31, 1965, Rudolph Pileplin. manager of
| “Pidgeon’s Store in Des Moines, received a telephone call from a |
man’ who identified himself as Harry Karl and wanted to
purchase an air conditioner for promotional purposes at his
store. They agreed on a price of $175.00, plus sales tax for the
purchase of a Model 409 General Electric air conditioner. The
EWG i
See eee ee
On August 31, 1965, jd Wisi al ide
Television, located in Des Moines, received a call from a man
representing himself from Super Drug and wanted to obtain a
color’ television-combination set to give as a prize in his .
promotional program. Hauck advised he did not have such a
combination set'in stock. The caller requested him to ascertain.
rm.
the dhack wes
14
the price of a set of this kind ond call him back. This particular
television set was in‘ the price range from’$800.00 to $1200.00,
| It was not ordinarily stocked by A & aA Television. Hauck called
the Des Moines Credit Bureau and made i inquiry regarding Super :
Drug. From the information he received he advised Super Drug
- he was not interested.
. The evidence further reveals that on. pial 31, 1965, the
employees at the store ‘observed four television sets and six
vacuum cleaners delivered to the store, On each delivery “Jake”
(Amsterdam) came up from the basement office and gave an
envelope to the deliveryman, except on one or two occasions he
_ gave it to Mrs, DeBrouse to give to the deliveryman. When the
pharmacist Collins and Mrs, DeBrouse, the cashier, asked Karl
about the merchandise being delivered he stated that he was
‘going to give them away as pernes in a drawing ‘op the Grand
Opening.
The aati items delivered on August 31 were in the store
: when both Mr. Collins and Mrs. DeBrouse left at 6:00 p.m.,
When they returned the next morning for duty at 9:00 a.m.,
September 1, 1965, the merchandise had been removed.
“On TE ig 1, 1965, at 7:03 a.m., James Cave, a
defendant herein, rented a sixteen foot van lift truck from
Greater Iowa Leasing Co. It was retumed at 9:45 a.m. on the
same Gay.
Also, on Woisieedas September. 1, 1965, when the two air
const on Wainnay, epne 196, nh
Super Drug store, Jake came from the basement and gave an.
envelope to each deliveryman, ; Observing the activity, Mr.
Collins, the pharmacist, told Mr. Kar (Sirkin) that it appeared |
; ' to. him something “phony” was going on and requested his pay
on
’ i
for the days he had worked that week before leaving the store.
: oe ee ey dt te Tatars be wanted his péy
at the end of each day.
3 &-.
YY
15
During the afternoon of .the same day employee
Christensen went to the store for his check. Karl and Jake
informed him that they were going to change the store to a drug
‘ store with an electrical appliance section. It would be necessary
to get the merchandise out of the store as the painting ;
contractors were coming in to remodel. They asked Christensen
to work that night, which he did. Christensen had not worked
on August 31, but on that day, September 1; he observed the
large console g6lor ‘television set and air conditioners in the
~ store. He testified that he heard conversation between Karl and
epdrrtee taking all eanayues toa warehouse.
‘iin. before Mrs. DeBrouse left that evening Karl told her
he was closifig the store for remodeling for a week or $0, and be
would call her whet to come back to work,
In the sequence of events defendant Cave went to the
Bethel Mission Transient Shelfer for Men, about 7:45 p.m.,
September 1, 1965, where he arranged with Rev: Perry,
assistant superintendent, for three men to load a truck. Charles: ~
White, John Viola and Harold McMains were selected. Cave was
“known to-them only as “Jim”, and he drove them from the
Mission to the back door of the Super’Drug ‘store. En route to
the store Cave told them he had about four hours: work for °
. them, packing and moving on for which he would pay
$1.50 an hour.
Sen ap cecibied ah thsisdans tue vdahldicdl bb ear
door. It was unlocked and opened, He and the three men
entered. Cave was in-his car from which he unloaded new boxes
and brought them into the store. Cave introduced White, Viola
_ and McMains to defendant Amsterdam as “Jake” and told them
that he, Jake, would tell them what to do. Viola put new boxés
together and the others, including Karl and Jake, ‘took the —
merchandise from the shelves and put it in the boxes. Employee
CS Seen A See ee a eee wise Cave
16
was still in the store when Christensen left. Christensen heard
Cave on the telephone calling rental agencies for trucks to move
the merchandise. Cave inquired of the three laborers from the _-
Mission if either of them could drive a truck; White volunteered.
When White left to go get the truck, Cave left the store. Packing
continued. until about 11:45 p.m. Defendant Sirkin was giving
most of the orders and he and Amsterdam spent considerable
time talking on the telephone. |
Before .12:00 that night Cave returned and picked up
laborer White to take him to Greater Iowa. Leasing Corporation
to get a truck. On the way Cave said that he had to meet a man.
- at. the airport at midnight. He drove to the airport and left . ©
White in the car while he went into the terminal building: he
_. came out momentarily got into the.car and said “I missed my _
fellow but maybe he’s down to the house”. On the way back he
stopped at Lew Farrell’s house at 3600 Fleur Drive, A large,
heavy set man and another younger man came out and Cave
advised them that he had missed the man at the airport. The
Cave then drove’ laborer White in his car to Greater lowa
Leasing Corporation; they both went into the office, Since prior
| arrangements had been made for the rental of a twenty foot van
lift, truck, this truck was rented to Chartes Robert White, the
laborer, for “Parker Super Drug” at 12:08 a.m., September 2,
1965, Cave did net go back. to the drug store, but White drive
- the truck, back and. parked \it on a side street as he had been
instructed by Jake (Amsterdam). White knocked on the front
door and Amsterdam, let him in, Since they were ready to load
_ they inatracted White to. back the truck up to the door. |
pt, |
.
; | 3 17
Defendants Sirkin and: Amsterdam and the three laborers
began loading the truck. It became apparent that the truck
: would not hold all of the merchandise. Amsterdam gave White
Gas $4.00 and instructed him to take a cab to the leasing company —
and get another truck. White returned to Greater Iowa Leasing ©
- Corporation at 2:16 a.m., obtained an eighteen foot van lift
truck, which he drove back to the store, »
‘These two defendants and the three laborers completed
the loading-:about 4:45 a.mi. All the merchandise, including the
television console and air conditioners, had been removed from
the store and loaded into the trucks. The laborers wete paid for
their work. ra a
_ Sirkin remainéd at the store. ‘Amsterdam with White,
Viola, and McMains drove the loaded trucks to the Western
o ‘Transportation terminal where they were parked ‘at
Amsterdam’s direction. Amsterdam then went into the terminal
where he contacted Joe Frank, manager of the Des Moines —
terminal of .Western Transportation Company. Amsterdam
identified himself as Jake Jackson, an employee of Super Drug,
and said that he wanted to load a trailer to go to Chicago, Frank
ativised him he would have to wait until daylight; it was then
about 5:00 a.ni,, September 2, 1965. Amsterdam 7 White,
Viola and McMains if they would come back later in the
morning and transfer the merchandise from the trucks into a
trailer, the three agreed. Amsterdam gave McMalins a telephone
number and asked thatvhe call him at 9:30 that morning.
At 9:00 a.m. Collins, the pharmacist, went to Super Drug .
to begin his day’s work. He found the store locked, brown
Paper covering the. windows, and a sign on the door which said
“Closed for Remodeling”. neg
About 9:30 a.m, that morning McMains called Amsterdam;
on instructions to meet him at 10:00 a.m., at the Western
+
| : . a
ee
terminal, McMains, White and Viola went to the terminal; In a
few minutes Cave ‘and Amsterdam arrived, ‘Amsterdam went
into the terminal where he contacted Jerry Almond, an
- ‘employee of Western. Amsterdam identified himself as Jake
_ Jackson, a representative of C & M Merchandise Company. He
furnished Almond necessary information to prepare a bill of
lading for shipment of 125 cartons of drug sundries weighing
16,000 pounds and five television consoles from C & M
Merchandise, Inc., Des Moines, to C & M Merchandise, Inc.,
4444 N. Milwaukee, Chicago, Illinois, on Western Trailer No.
460.
On instructions from Amsterdam, Cave, White, Viola and
McMains transferred the merchandise to Trailer 460. While this
was being done Amsterdam told McMains that part. of. the _
merchandise was going to Chicago and pest of it was going to
Detroit.
After the first rented truck of Greater lowa edie
Corporation had ‘been emptied, Cave advised White he had more
“Sstuff” to be picked up and instructed White to take the truck
to 63rd Street, North of University Avenue, and wait for him.
White went to the designated place and waited, Cave and
Amsterdam. arrived by car in a few minutes. White was directed
to back the truck into the driveway of 1707 63rd Street,
Occupied by Miss Darlene Bradley. Miss Bradley was Cave’s
friend for many years and worked for him as an employee in a
chib. She testified that Cave had access to her garage and. had
permission to use it. Cave, Amsterdam and White removed four
color television consoles and a number of small boxes out of the
garage and loaded them on the track. White drove the truck
“back to Western’s terminal. When they arrived the second
rented truck had been unloaded and they then loaded onto the
_ Wailer the merchandise brought from Miss Bradiey’s garage. The
‘doors of the trailer were closed. The rented trucks were
- Tetumed to Greater Lowa Leasing Corporation, The trucks were
19
checked i in by Cave and eaaatcietat at 2: 04 p.m., Raptor »
1965.
Defendant Amsterdam promised the three laborers if they
would “come” to Chicago he would give them jobs of the samé
_ type of work and pay them $100.00 to $150.00 a week.
Amsterdam wrote on a. paper what was purported to: be his
home phone number in Chicago and signed his name’ “Jake
Jackson” on the slip, which he gave to White. They went to
Chicago later and attempted to contact “Jake Jackson” at the
number give to them, but were unsuccessful,
The : activities for the three days at Super’ Drug were
reported and during the afternoon of September 2 Collins went
to the store with the Iowa State Pharmacy Examiner to check
the narcotics. They found the narcotics were still in the cabinet
but all the merchandise was gone,
Harry Michlin deoeitues the two checks given. to Mrs..
Mictilin in ‘the sum of $2;000 each, but they were returned
marked “Payment evinces rp and were never eee. ;
- Defendant Cave was an employee of Iowa Power & Light
Company. He stated to Agent Mullaney of the Federal Bureau
of: Investigation that he first became acquainted with Karl
several years prior to these events when Cave was operating a
Key Club in Des Moines, Karl was a patron and claimed to be
from Detroit. Cave said he accidentally ran into Karl in’ Des
Moines at which time Karl told him that he had purchased ;
Super Drug from Harry Michlin. Cave claims. that Karl
contacted him ‘for assistance in obtaining trucks and some
laborers to move merchandise, He said that Mr. Karl informed
him that he-had been ordered or instructed by his landlord to
_vacate the premises, which was the reason for his moving the
stock, went on to relate to Agent Mullaney the events of
his — as has been described.
20
. Defendant’ Cave was shown a photograph of defendant
Sanford Samuel Amsterdam (Jake Jackson) by Special Agenit
Mullaney and asked. Cave if. he_knew or recognized him. Cave
‘stated that he did not. : SIO ea pe
- On September 4, 1965, Amsterdam was’ arrested in -
Chicago by officers of the Chicago Police Department: He was
interviewed by Special Agent Perkins of the F.B.I., during
which time he stated that he had recently won $13,000 from
Harry Karl in a gin rummy game at the Super Drug store in Des
Moines, lowa. After the game Karl had tequested him to take:
the winnings in the form of money orders. He would not say
what date the card game took place, but did say that he was in
the Super Drug store in Des Moines the day following the game
and all the merchandise was there at the time. 7
On September 7, 1965, Trailer 460 arrived at the terminal
.of Western Transportation Company in Chicago, Illinois,
Western attempted to make delivery to the consignee without
success. The tfailer was stored: temporarily, and by order of the
United States District Court for the Southern District of Iowa,
Western returned Trailer 460 to Des Moines consigned to John
Landess, Reveiver in Bankruptcy of Super Drug, Inc, The trailer
arrived in. Des Moines September 24 still sealed with the seal
number which had been issued to Amsterdam on September 2
at the Des Moines terminal. The trailer was opened and found
to be filled with the merchandise that included the various
items described herein. Each of the items were subsequently
AIT to the suppliers through action of the Bankruptcy
... IN. THEIR ATTACK ON THE JUDGMENTS OF
“ESTABLISH SURISDICTIONAL VALUE AS REQUIRED
BY LAW. THLE 18USC/¢ 371.
We first dispose of this contention as applicable to Count I
of the indictment which charges that the defendants entered
into a conspiracy between themselves and other unknown
— persons to commit an offense against the United States by
transporting in interstate ‘commerce goods, wares and
merchandise of the value of more than $5,000, which the
defendants knew to have been taken by fraud.
That there was a conspiracy committed i is undisputed. It is is
also undisputed that one or more of the defendants committed
overt acts to effect the object of the conspiracy. |
It’ is further undisputed that some goods, wares and
merchandise obtained by fraudulent representations were
transported in -interstate’ commerce through the combined
efforts and actions of the defendants.
In each of the ttansactions with the ten - business
establishments described herein, the caller, who claimed to be _
either Mr. Karl, or a representative of Super Drug, Inc., made
sopeveoetations that the merchandise was to be usai for ° ‘give
away”’, or ‘ ‘Pelee for promotional purposes.
Tifle 18 U.S.C, Tt 231 1 provided as follows:
“As used in this pan
“se
“* ‘value’ means the face: par, or tied value,
whichever is the greatest, and the aggregate value of
all goods, wares, and merchandise * * * referred to in
a single indictment shall constitute the Value
thereof.”
Appellants contend that the par RiNe cost (wholesale) of
the merchandise shipped in interstate commerce from Des
Moines, Iowa,. to Chicago, Illinois, amounted to $3,806. 34; that
22
actual sales price claimed to be market value as willing seller to
a willing buyer $4,769.90; and that the suggested retait price by
manufacturers to be $5,131.90. They submit a table to further
substantiate their contention as to appropriate value. to .be
placed on these items from the eight businesses obtained under
false representations.
The defendants strenuously insist that the actual sales
price agreed upon in each instance should be the market value
and thus aggregating less than $5,000.
The government contends and also submits a table which
shows the price to be paid for the eight items to be $4,577.60;
the retail price $5,134.60; and the retail price upon the
appellants’ notes found in the basement office onired as
testimony to total $5,363.96.
ee ee eo ee
uniformly held that the value of property taken by fraud is the
market value at the time and place of taking. Husten y. U. S., 95
F. 24-168, 171 (8Cir., 1938), and cases cited therein. The retail
or market value was properly used by the district 'judge.
Kowalchuk v. U, S., 176 F. 2d 873, 876 (6 Cir., 1949); Gordon
v. U. S., 164 F. 2d 855, eT 1947); Husten v, U.'S.,
supra. }
The trial court instructed the jury that in the present case
the market value would be the retail market value. The items
involved were of the same character and quality for the retail
trade. and were generally produced for the purpose’ of sale at
retail, They had. an individual retail: market value. Therefore, the
retail value should prevail over wholesale or replacement vale.
Herman». U, S;, 289° F. 2d 362 (5 Cir., riaraare as v.U, S.,
“t
In-Herman v. U. S., supra, the court said:
ot 5 tone ae ton te
23 .
“The standard test for determining market value of stolen
property is the price a willing buyer would pay a willing
seller at the .time and place the property was
stolen, * * * General retail value would naturally include a
reasonable mark-up, and evidence. as to retail value of the
goods is properly admissible.”
The qualifications of the witnesses from the various
businesses are not questioned. Each testified as to the value of ©
‘the merchandise and it was proper to receive the testimony in
evidence as to the retail value of these items along with the
other values submitted in the tables of the parties. Gordon vy, U,
S., supra. . eo
The defendants rely heavily on_the case of U. S. v. Willis,
322 F. 2d 548 (3 Cir., 1963), as a case almost identical to the
'. factual situation here. That case aegis however, in
that it was reversed because the witness who furnished exhibits
showing alleged retail value of the goods, admitted that he was —
not qualified as an expert to furnish an opinion as to the retail
value. The court held the admission of this testimony was
prejudicial error since the exhibits were the only proof from -
which the jury could infer that the merchandise in question had
a market value al $5,000 or more.
However, this is a charge of conspiracy. ‘The testimony
established that there were two additional items with values not.
inchideg in the table of either party. A Model 409 General
Electric air conditioner at a price of $175.00, plus tax, was
ordered from Pidgeon’s Store in Des Moines in the same manner.
as orders from other businesses. The overt act in furtherance of
the unlawful scheme was. performed sf the telephone call and
ae to purchase, : \ ;
ema
\
‘Also, ” an attempt was made -to purchans ‘ solot |
television-combination set from A & A television in Des Moines,
- 24
which had a minimum price of $800.00. The overt act was
performed by ‘the telephone call, even though the purchase
failed because of the acuity of the employee of the company.
Assuming arguendo, but not deciding, the defendants
admitted value of $4,497.44 of the items actually delivered and —
transported in interstate commerce. to be the proper value that
should be used. The two additional items they attempted to
obtain but-not delivered with a value of $975.00 would bring
the total aggregate to $5,472.44, 7 ,
“It is not’ necessary to a conviction of a party to the
conspiracy that he perform any overt act, or that the
conspiracy succeed. Conviction may rest on proof of the
doing of any overt act by any of his co-conspirators for the
purpose of effecting the object of the conspiracy, and it is
not necessary to conviction that the overt act in itself be
one prohibited. by law.” Berger v, U. S., 145 F, 2d 181,
187, 188, on "
The offense of conspiracy is complete when an agreement
is made to commit an unlawful act and any overt act is made in
the furtherance- of the agreement whether or not the
contemplated crime is consummated. Marx v, U, S., 86 F. 2d
245, 249 (8 Cir., 1946); Pinkerton v, U, S., 328 U. S. 640; 644;
U, S, v. Bayer, 33) U. S, 532, 542; Carlson v, U, S.; 187 F, 2d
366, 369(10Cir., 1951), tC filthy
‘In. the Carlson vy, U. S., supra, this question was carefully
interstate commerce, and that an overt act’ in furtherance
25.
of the conspiracy was committed by one of the
conspirators, It was not necessary, however, to prove that
wheat of a value of $5,000.00, or more, or that any wheat
in fact was fraudulently obtained and transported. The
offense was complete when the unlawful agreement was
_ formulated and an overt act in furtherance thereof was
performed. Nor was it necessary that the overt act.
constitute the crime that was the subject of the conspiracy _
or even that it itself be a criminal act. Although innocent
@ . in itself, an overt act is sufficient to complete the crime of
es _ conspiracy if performed in furtherance thereof.” -
| We think the question of value as applicable to the charge
Gea of conspiracy in Count I was properly and correctly presented
to the jury for its determination and the evidence sufficient.
Appellant Cave next contends:
THE EVIDENCE WAS INSUFFICIENT TO ESTABLISH |
THE ALLEGATIONS OF THE INDICTMENT AS TO
HIM AND THE COURT ERRED IN. FAILING TO
SUSTAIN DEFENDANT’S MOTIONS FOR JUDGMENT
OF ACQUITTAL MADE AT THE CLOSE OF
GOVERNMENT’S EVIDENCE AND AT THE CLOSE OF
ALL THE EVIDENCE AND MOTION FOR JUDGMENT
OF ACQUITTAL NOTWITHSTANDING THE VERDICT. |
Se A oe ae
Defendants Sirkin and Amsterdam adopt this contention
of defendant Cave in the record, but do not argue it in their. :
‘brief.
It is 4 well established ruie that in considering the recdrd |
on appeal in a criminal case from a jury verdict of guilty, the
appellate ‘court must take that view of the evidence which is
most favorable .in support of the: verdict and accept as
established all reasonable inferences that tend to support the
action of the jury. McClard, et al. v.ULS.,... F.2d... (8 Cir., »
December 4, 1967); Koolish v. U. $.,-340 F. 2d 513, 519 (8 -
26
- Cir., 1965), cert. den. 381 U. S..951 (1965); Smith v, U. S., 331
_ F, 2d 265, 278 (8 Cir., 1964), cert. den. 379 U. S. 824 (1964);
Thogmartin v, U, S., 313 F. 2d 589, 590 (8 Cir., 1963); Koop v.
U, S,, 296 F. 2d 53 (8 Cir., 1961); Blauner v. U. S., 293 F. 2d
723, 725:(8 Cir,{}961), cert. den. 368 U.S. 931, 82S. Ct. 368,
. 7.L, Ed, 2d 1939Cf Taylor v: Mississippi, 319 U. S. 583, 585—6
j (1943), 63 S. Ct. 1200, 87L. Ed. 1600. :
The undisputed evidence. as sindsiadloal herein establishes
the relationship of the three defendants and their actions
toward effecting the object of the conspiracy. Cave and Sirkin
. (Karl) renewed. acquaintances shortly after Sirkin arrived in Des
Moines, Cave was associated with the events that followed. He
assisted in effectuating the conspiracy. Even so, only a few days
thereafter, he denied that he knew the defendant Amsterdam.
It is well established that the gist of the offense of
conspiracy is agreement among conspirators to commit an —
Offense. attended by an act of one or more of the conspirators
to effect the object of the conspiracy. It is quite true, as urged
by the defendants and as held in United States v, Falcone, 311
U. S. 205, 240, that “Those having no knowledge .of ‘the
conspiracy are not conspirators.” Such rule is of no. aid to the
_ defenéants in this case~as there is substantial evidence to
establish that cach was a member and participant in the
conspiracy.
Of course, not all of the evidence is direct; much of it is
‘circumstantia?. But, “participation in a criminal conspiracy need
not be proved. by direct evidence; a common purpose and plan .
may be inferred from a ‘development and a collocation of.
- circumstance’ ”, Thogmartin v. U. S., supra; Issacs v. U. S., 301
F, 2d 706, 725 (8 Cir.,. 1962), cert, den. 37] U.S, 818, 83'S.
_ Ct. 32, 9 L, Ed, 2d 58; Glasser v. U, & 315 U.S. 60, 80, 62'S.
” Ct. 457, 469, 86 L,. Ed, 680; where it is established that a
; conspiracy has been formed, ‘‘but slight evidence, connecting a
%
-
.
27
defendant therewith may still be substantial, and if’ 50,
sufficient”. Issacs'v. U., S., supra; Galatas v, U, S.,. 8 Cir., 80 F.
2d 15, 24, cert. den. 297 U.S. 711, 56 S. Ct. 574, 80 L. Ed.
998; McDonald v. U, S., 8 Cir., 89 F. 2d 128, 138, 139, cert.
den, 301 U. S. 697, 57S. Ct. 925, 81 L. Ed, 1352; crx, v, U..
S., 86 F. 2d 245, 250.
This court stated the rule siinthate in Phelps, v, U, S, 160
F, 2d 858, 867, as follows:
~ “Once there is. ‘ satisfactory proof that a conspiracy hes
been formed, the question of a particular defendant’s
connection with it may be merely a matter of whether the
stick fits so naturally into position in the fagot as to
convince that it is part of it. It is therefore possible for the .
circumstances on an individual defendant’s participation in
an established conspiracy to become.substantial from their
weight in position and context, though in abstraction they
may seem only slight.” Cf. Issacs v. U, S., 301 F. 2d 706,
725,
There was substantial oe Pi to support the_action of the |
jury in returning a verdict of guilty ome each. of the
defendants.
The oe Somtqnten of defendant Cave i is:
THE COURT ERRED IN ADMITTING TESTIMONY
AND EXHIBITS THAT WERE HEARSAY,
INCOMPETENT, IRRELEVANT, AND IMMATERIAL
AS TO HIM.
Defendants Sirkin* and Amsterdam embraced this
contention in the record, but did not ificlude it in their brief.
"The argument here is that the admission of the testimony |
of various conversations by one or more of the conspirators not.
2B.
made in the presence of defendant Cave, and principally the ©
telephone calls to the various businesses arranging for the
. merchandise which was outside of his presence, was hearsay,
irrelevant, immaterial and improper, and, therefore, prejudicial,
It is strongly contended by Cave that he had no knowledge of
_ the prior wrongdoings of Amsterdam and Sirkin,
“A defendant can join a conspiracy at any time and may
be found to have done so when, with knowledge of its
existence, he has undertaken to further its design. Thomas
v, United: States, 8 Cir., 156 F. 897, 912, 84 C.C.A. 477,
17 L.R.A., N.S., 720; Allen v. United States, 7 Cir., 4 F.
2d ge 691; Parnell v. United States, 10 Cir., 64 F. 2d
324,327." -° « Al opi ;
The well recognized rule that there must be proof aliunde
before the acts and declarations of an alleged conspirator not
made in the presence of a defendant may be admitted, does not
serve here to render the testimony timely challenged
inadmissible. Thogmartin v. U. S., supra; Glasser v. U, S., 315 U.
-S. 60, 74, 62 S. Ct. 467; Minner y, U. S., 10 Cir, 1943, 57 F, 2d
In view Of the foregoing conclusions as to the conspiracy
count it is unnecessary for us to consider the evidence as to the
second count charging interstate transportation of the
merchandise obtained by fraud, If the defendants were properly
Convicted upon either count of the indictment, then in 2s much
as the'sentences on each count is the same and is not more than
Thogmartin v. U.S., supra, Wood v. U. S., & Ciz., 1960, 279 F.
2d 359,'360; Bowen v. U. S., 8 Cir, 1946, 153 F.2d 747, 751, .
_ Gest. den. 328.U. S. 835, 66 S. Ct. 980, 90 L. Ed. ¥6¥1; Gantz
vy. U, S., 8 Cix., 1942, 127 F. 2d 498, 501, cest. den. 317 U.S.
625, 63 S. Ct. 47, 87 L. Ed. 505.
29
This somewhat lengthy and vigorously contested case
presented a number of difficult questions for the presiding”
judge. The contentions of error are without merit. We are
convinced that theré was no prejudice to the appellants through
any of the trial court’s rulings, that the cases were tried with
great care by Judge Stephenson, and that the appellants had a
’ fair trial. |
Judgments affirmed.
A true copy.
ss Attest:
Clerk, U. S. aes of Appeals, Eighth Circuit.
30
APPENDIX “B”
- UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS»
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT |
No. 18859
James Doyle Cave, Ns ieieeh ir .
. _, Appellant,
vs. Ae | <
" United States of America
Appeal jon the’ United States
District Court for the
Southern District of Iowa.
Petition of appellant for rehearing in this cause having
been considered, it is now here ordered by this Court that’ the
same be, and jt is hereby, denied.
: March 22, 1968
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.