Petition for a Writ of Certiorari — Walker v. California
Supreme Court brief1967
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
19
20
21
22
23
.
INDEX -
Opinions Below. . 2. phi ‘eek
Jurisdiction a Wa a ae ee
Questions presented .., , 4 a aa
Statutes involved ...... ere
a re nse Pwo
Reasons for granting the writ . ee
Conclusion Pea eae ee ees
Appendix "A"
- Appendix "BY"
ae | CITATIONS
_ CASES: © : .
a
a ——————
“Anders v. California, 35 L.W. 4385. . .
‘Baggetti v. Bullitt, 377 U.S. 360...
.
_ Ellis v.U.-8., 356 U.S. 67 0. ww
‘Estes v. Texas, 361 “SS eee
- Glaccio Vv. Pennsylvania, 382 U.S. 399 °
Gideon v. Wainwright, 381 U.S. 532 . .
Sandoval v. Rattikin, Trustee ses eae
U.S. v. National Dairy Products tiiecuiicbad,
372: U.S. 29 ‘e + * ed e oo e — “3 e \e @ é ae:
Page
as 3
ae
. =
~ 4
_.
‘ 3 |
2
e
os
wn MeN OLD W/O
\p w N- oe
|| calif. Penal Code, Séction'121 . ...
WN i ee ae
MO COLO SID): Gao elacelecect
Calif. Penal Code, Section 118 . a,
“~~
e e
+ +
” s
9
.
.
.
ce
"@.
IN THE SUPREME ‘COURT OF THE UNITED STATES”
®
OCTOBER TERM, MO es «
see CHANDLER J. WALKER,. Petitionér).
© e2rNY our a nD we
NO! oa eal ‘
|: ‘THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA .
ory
oO:
PETITION FOR ‘A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
: "SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE. OF CALIFORNIA | :
CHANDLER J, | WALKER, your petitioner, prays that ae
Writ of Certiorati issue to review the denial of his Peti-
tion for Hearing: by the’ Supreme Court of the State of
California entered February 28, 1967; and effective on
issuance of remittitur ‘March 7, 1967.
7 OPINIONS BELOW |
The Minutes of the Supreme Court of the State of
California, denying the Petition for Hearing are reported |
at 65 A. C. No. 30, Minutes 3 and is printed in Appendix
1 "a hereto, infra, p. 20.
>
- . °
. ;
:
- "The opinion of the. California District Court of
@ || Appeal, Third Appellate District, as modified January $3:
_s-|/ 1967, is reported at 247 A.C.A, 632, 55 Cal. Rptr. 726,
a and is printed in Appendix: "A" hereto, infra, pl.
. “The Order of Probation of the Superior Court of
g || the State of California in and for the County of Sacramento
. is not reported, but is printed ‘in Appendix "A" hereto,
g || infra, p. 21. i a
s |
10 JURISDICTION ~~. |
11 poe | The Denial of Petition for Hearing by the
: 12 Supreme Court of the State of California was: entered
| 13 |} February 28, 1967; remittitur was issued on said denial
14] march 7, 1967, and is final. |
| 15 as The federal constitutional questions were
| 16 | raised as indicated at PP. 8 and 7; infra.
17: | 3. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked
18 under the provisions of -28 U. S. Code, Section 1257(3).
1g. | ) Se aula |
. QUESTIONS PRESENTED
Whether petgrioner’ was deprived of his ) rights
protected by the: |
1. Due pcoenes clause of the Fourteenth, Amend-
ment to the United States Constitution in that he was
convicted under penal provisions which were so indefinite
_and vague as to afford no ascertainable standard of
. oe ? i ’ -2- ° : .
POE as . say a aiid cual ‘ Acie ne A Sn
© oY 8 2 he A wD KS.
yF ~ ~*~ ee we ee eh
onN 8. eF |] WD KF O
19 -
criminglity. | 7
2. ‘Due process clause of the Fourteenth Amend-
ment to the United States Constitution in that he was 4
denied a fair trial. _ ved
Je Due process clause of the Fourteenth Amend-
ment to the United States Constitution in that he was
‘convicted \when he had no competent counsel to represent him
in the trial court.
STATUTES INVOLVED |
‘The Fourteenth Amendment to the Constitution. “2
the United States provides in pertinent part as follows:
"...nor shall any State deprive any person of .
life, liberty, or property, without due :
process of law;..." :
The statute describing the situations in which
a'Weit of Certiorari may be sought from a state court de-
cision, 28 U. S. Code, Section 1257(3), reads in pertinent
part as follows: _
"By writ of setbsoeuse, ¢. sii the validity
of a State statute is drawn in question on the
ground of its being repugnant to the Consti- .
tution...as where any...right..,is specially
set up or claimed under the Constitution. .of.
--ethe United States." .
The Penal Code sections of the State of California
Laviived herein are set forth in Appendix B, intre. .
! /
~ -— ~~ &
eo no YF SO
nh nny ei hts al pra eins Oe
~
be
er te atmo ne
© ©-N ® oOo &®& wa we
on
—sz
~~ owe
4, 1967, which was thereafter modified on January 5, 1967.
ee net
~ nem tn
of appeal. The Third Appellate District Court of Appeal of .
in the District Court of Appeal on January 18, 1967,
\ =
jal STATEMENT i |
CHANDLER J. WALKER (hereinafter referred to as
Petitioner), was charged by the Grand Jury of the County of
Sacramento ne indictment filed on November 24, 1964, — |
with three Counts of the crime of perjury. The case came on
regularly for trial by jury on March 10, 1965; and on March
29, 1965, the jury returned its verdict, finding Petitioner
guilty as charged in each of the three Counts. On April
19, 1965, Petitioner filed a motion for acned euteicebie®
was denied on ‘April 26, 1965..
On April 26, "1965, the passing -cf-jads gment | and
sentence was suspended and probation was granted for a
period of three years, Petitioner ‘being ordered to serve
three months in the County Jail on each of the three Cotice;.
Count I and III to run concurrently with each other and
consecutively with Count II. |
On April 5, 1965,- Petitioner filed timely notice
the State of California rendered its Opinion on January
Petitioner thereafter timely filed his petition for rehearing |
which said petition was denied January 26, 1967.
Petition for Hearing was filed February 6, 1967, in
the Supreme Court of the State of California. On February’
28, 1967, said petition was denied.- Remittitur was issued on|
LEONE EF DO ARE IDNR A Mat CN BY A wer cad
O29 Vio owe wD KH
~ §-~—§ F—& &— ~~
YX 2 8 &@ GHP OS
~
. @
|
|
said denial March Zs 1967.
| REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ieee
"Rie n\n aan The Court below has decided a federal question
te
of substance ina way probably. not in accord with applicable
ene
| \ decletous: of this Court. California Penal Code Section 118,
din defining perjury, states in substance that every person
who, having taken an oath to testify truthfully, and who
_then wilfully states a falsehood is guilty of perjury. Peti-
tioner was found guilty of this section and said conviction
was upheld on appeal based on California Penal Code Section
121 which states in substance that it is no defense to pro-.
_secution for perjury that the accused did not take the oath
to tell the truth but merely caused an officer, who could-
administer the oath, to certify that the oath had been taken.|
518 (1966):
These ewe statutes when read together, then, purport to
state, as interpreted by the California Courts below, that
one can be guilty of perjury, that is, wilfully testifying
under oath to a falsehood, even theugh that person is not
under oath. . donde
| ‘The vagueness of die statutory provisions cer- -
tainly appear: on their face. As stated in Giaccio v. 7
Pennsylvania, 382 U. S. 399, 15 L.ed. 2d 447, 86 S. Ct.
"It is sonehiighed that a law fails to meet
the requirements of the due process clause if
it is so vague and standardless that it leaves
ofe ;
PRUE DA fe PLIES DE ON ALTE se Be
-© ®@' NY ®@eFheun wo hw
K~ —~ — Foe ee SK
2 ®@ GD *# BW WD KF OC
~
@
decide, without any
aa ublic uncertain as to the conduct it .
prohibits or leaves jatese and jurors free to
egally fixed standards js
what is prohibited rand what is not in each . e
particular case." Role
“See also Baggett v. Bullitt, 377 U. S. 360, 12 Led. 24 @
377, 84S. Ct. 1316. | 7 i .
“With inna to the instant case the vagueness of sy
‘the statutory scheme is even more evident. As stated in
numerous. United States Supreme Court: opinions a statutory |
scheme is not. looked at in the abstract, but rather as
applied to the facts before the court. See U. S. v.
National Dairy Products Corporation, 372 U. S. 29, 9 L.ed.
2d°561, 83 S. Ct. 594, reg. den. 372 U.S. 961, 10 L.ed. 24
33, 83 S. ct. 1011. Here petitioner was. prosecuted for
signing his name to a deed of trust, asia witness, when he
had in fact not witnessed the signatures of the trustors, .
even though the notary public stated on direct examination
and cross examination ‘that he had not sworn the petitioner
prior to his signing said trust deed.
2. Petitioner was denied. a late trial because of
the adverse publicity prevalent in the Sacramento area re-
garding aluminum siding personnei, coupled ‘with the numerous
\ ene by the prosecution that petitioner was one of the- |
‘\tevede shoe boys.'' During the period. of the trial herein,
state and local law enforcement agencies were prosecuting
members of the aluminum siding industry for their. sharp
—
-6-
© oY oerunrw
~ ~ ~F ~& —
a fF Ww NO - Oo
_-
a
Ww
a
- cution remarks. relating to the aluminum siding industry. The
- District Attorney, could. not help but influence the jury. —
Court, ‘in the landmark’ case of Gideon v. Wainwright, 372
7 practices in lst procuring customers for aluminum siding con-
perjury, was in effect found guilty of being a "guede shoe
1628, and cages cited therein.
Sixth Amendment to the Constitution of the United States,
now incorporated into ‘the Fourteenth Amendment and made
accused had the right to. counsel in a state court prosecu-
tion. In-its reasoning the court stated at pages 344-345:
|
0
tracts. Petitioner, though supposedly’ being prosecuted for
boy" by’ association with the aluminum siding industry. The
record is replete with irrelevant testimony as well as prose+
local press carried front page stories on the. industry as a
whole, and these, coupled with the argument “of the Deputy.
* Trial by jury and a fair hearing by the Court, as” s opposed to Salt
a hearing in the newspapers and the community as a whole, on |
long been the criteria set down by this Honorable Court.
Estes v. Texas, 381 U.S. 532, 14 L.. ed. 2d 543, sedi S. Ct.
3. Petitioner, in the trial court; was denied his
constitutional right to the assistance of counsel; The
applicable to the States, provides in part that: "...and
to have the Assistance of Counsel for his defence." This
U. S. 335, 9 L.ed. 2d 799, 87S. Ct. 792, held that an
2 e ae
tn . eee eee P
x °
oN 2 oO ee ND KH,
oo oO NH ND ND DO DO KY KY KY KY KY KY KY . Se
®@ areas fF 6 © ® 20a & HF GC
NE TDM yuna! DOO WY ama See EERIE NOR ill pe Re Se eee Se ee Oe ee
"4 defendant's need for & lawyer is nowhere
better stated than in the moving words of Mr.
Justice Sutherland in Powell v. Alabama:
genta yr to be heard would be, in many
cases, of little avail if it did not compre- —
hend the right to be heard by counsel. Even .
the intelligent and educated layman has small
and sometimes no skill im the science of law.
If charged with crime, he is incapable, generally,
of determining for himself whether the indictment .
is good or bad. He is unfamiliar with the rules
of evidence. Left without the aid of counsel
he may be put on trialwithout a proper charge,
and convicted upon inc etent evidence; or
evidence irrelevant to the issue or otherwise
inadmissible. He lacks both the skill and |
knowledge adequately to prepare his defense, .
even though he have a perfect one. He re-
quires the guiding hand of counsel at every
step in the proceedings against him. Without
it, though he be not guilty, he faces the
danger of conviction because he does not know _..
pi Py mena his innocence.’ 287 U. S.,
at 68-69. a? |
In discussing the right to counsel,. this Court,
_ as well as the Constitution, refers to the "Assistance of
Counsel."" This certainly must imply that counsel be compe-_
tent to render the needed assistance to the accused. If ~
~ such counsel not be competent ‘then he could no more aid
the accused in determining whether an: indictment is good |
than could the accused himself. ‘So also if his counsel
not be competent then he could not determine or properly
raise the unconstitutional nature of a statute under which
the accused was charged. |
mt A reading of the transcript illustrates that
‘trial counsel in the instant case nowhere raised the
‘constitutional argument that the statutory scheme under
-8-
PY eB I ab we
~ ~ ~~ wo»
ao nN KF OO wo°
oN ®2@ oF ek BD BK
prosecutor.
which the petitioner was convicted is void for vagueness. ©
The only constitutional issue presented to the trial court
for its consideration was whether a fair trial had been
| allowed the petitioner. Cir. p. 41} et seq.) ..
In the case of Anders v. California, 35 L.W. 4385,
No. 98 = October Term, 1966, the Court discusses counsel for
the accused as necessarily, being an advocate and not merely
acting as amicus curiae. See also Ellis v. United States,
356 U. S; 674, 675 (1958). | |
Mr. Justice Fortas, with whom Mr. Justice Douglas
joined, in. dissenting from the denial of certiorari in
Sandoval et ux. v. Rattikin, Trustee,385 U. S. 901,
expresses his concern with the need for competent counsel
to fulfill the Constitutional requirement of the Sixth
Amendment, at page 902:
"To some extent,.a lawyer's client like ! |
a doctor's patient must suffer the consequences |
of his champion's mistakes. But there are. limits;
and the courts are and should be = to re-
lieve the client of his lawyer's default when-
ever that is feasible and does not result in
unfairness to others. See Mr. Justice Black's
dissent from the denial of certiorari in
Santana v. United States, ante p. 848,"
Counsel here went through the motions of defending
‘petitioner but nowhere raised the constitutionality of the
Penal Code Sections here involved, or the conduct of the
The trial record establishes that the petitioner
was improperly prejudiced in the minds of the jury and their |
——_ > ae : |
© 2 NY OO Oo 8 we wD KB
~ ~~ ww
ob YF SO
13
14 |
15
‘ie
17
18
19
20°
21
22°
23
24
- 25
en pee ———
passions "inflated in each of the following respects, without
objection being raised by. trial counsel:
| .-
The prosecution was permitted to introduce
‘evidence of fraud and chicanery on the part
of the defendant's salesmen which was un- .
connected in any way with defendant on the
‘charges before the Court. (Tr. 300, 301,
316, 317).
‘The prosecution was permitted to impugn
- defendant by intruducing- evidence that
defendant made no investigation of his sales- a |
men before employment. (Tr. 376).
The prosecution was permitted to impugn de-
fendant by introducing evidence that defendant
_. had no knowledge whether the salesmen had
- local permits. (Tr. 367, 368, 370, 373).
The prosecution was permitted to impugn
defendant by evidence that:
(a) The contract. price for work ‘wetcins
substantial. sums returned to them by.
check or cash in the nature of a rebate.
(Tr. 394, 398).
(b) ‘The fact of these rebates was not
reported by defendant to his supplier,
Alcoa Aluminum Co. (Tr. 398).
(c) The salesuen asked the customers. not
-10-
. to mention the rebates to Alcoa,
ee
' This lack of timeliness in raising an objection
based on the United States Constitution has so far prevented
a. reversal of the conviction, and is raised in this Court _
of last. resort by. attorneys for the petitioner because of
our duty to preserve his constitutional rights. in our own
role as advocates,
wa
a CONCLUSION.
‘ a“
ee
For the reasons set forth above, it is respectfully
submitted that this Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
should be granted.
CLARENCE H. PEASE
. LALLY, MARTIN, CHIDLAW & VIETS
- Clarence-H. Pease
‘CLARENCE H, PEASE
Attorneys for Petitioner
DATED: May 31, 1967
SN ee se
; i eg y
, -_ Yr PY» Be
es a on > ae non FY OO 68 oO N Oo KH Fe FA D KY
BRBRRBBBES
of perjury. _ (Pen. Code, sec. 118.) Pronouncement of ee
will follow a statement of the facts.
' provement business specializing in the sale of aluminum
i Appendix a ‘al
IN THE COURT OF APPEAL OF. THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA |
‘IN AND FOR THE THIRD APPELLATE DISTRICT
| _ (Sacramento)
THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA
.. ') 3 Criminal No.3886
Plaintiff and Respondent, .
)
)
)
| )
vs. ; F ) F
Saba )
CHANDLER J. WALKER, )
)
)
. ' Filed: Jan. 4,.1967
Defendant and Appellant.
Chandler Z. Walker was convicted of three cdunts
judgment was suspended and probation granted. He pro-
perly appeals’ from the order etattius probation. |
The crucial question ‘presented on this appeal io
whether an oath was taken by Walker before a notary pu-
blic. with sufficient foxmality to permit a charge of per-
jury within the meaning of section 118 of the Penal Code.
We hold there were irregularities in the manner in
' which the notary administered the oath to Walker but? \eoungiite
an oath was adninistered ‘and that perjury was proved.
Other points’ urged for reversal are without merit and the
judgment should be affirmed. Explanation of our holding
Walker was the former owner of the West Coast
Construction Company, and as such he was in the home im- +
‘ts
a — = — ARERR LG EA AOS 5 OYE ORE tO IG EO RE ITS BIN pte a id
ee YP YP YF Bb
a aA fF aA YD F O
Ju
oon eo a Pe we DW Pe
wae
products. He employed salesmen whom he described as
' “independent contractors." - These salesmen actually
secured the orders. .
Three sales by the Walker. organization are in-
volved in three counts of perjury prosecutions on which
Walker was convicted: A discussion of one of these
sales in detail will suffice for the purposes of this
opinion.
This was a sale by these "independent contractors"
_to Willis Dunbar and his wife. They agreed to have
- aluminum siding and a roof and canopy placed on their
"home for the sum of $3, 000. To their knowledge they
signed only a credit report and a Job authorization or- -
der. These were in the form of a printed pad with car-
bon paper inserted between counterparts. The. salesman
told the Dunbars that they would have to sign a third
7 copy of the credit application because the carbon paper _
had not shown.an impression of their signatures on the
third counterpart. They did so, believing they were
only signing the credit a aeariatatiaieaatl A work completion.
order was signed upon completion of the job. Dunbar
testified that at no time did he sign a deed ‘of trust;
Mrs. Dunbar's testimony was similar to that of her hus-
band's; and she too testified that she never knowingly
gigned a deed of trust. In fact the proposition that a
a aie oe ar a
© oN O82 KH Fk we WD w
Y~ Y-§ YF YF YY FY
2X 2 © #& | WY KF O
~.
©
=
deed of trust would be given had never been discussed.
A deed of trust was introduced: signed by the Dun-
bars. It also included what was proved to be the signa-
ture of Walker “as witness." A form in the following
language appears thereon: ee & ¢-
"(P] ersonally appeared Chandler J. Walker, personally .
‘known to me to be the person whose name is subscribed
to the within Instrument, as a witness thereof, who
being by me duly sworn deposse pare says:. That he re-—
_ sides in Sacramento. and that he was present and saw
Willis F. Dunbar & Lily B. Dunbar personally known to
| him to be the same persons described ‘in and whose names —
| . are subscribed to the within Instrument as Buyers, exe-
cute and deliver the same, and said Buyers acknowledges
(sic) to said affiant that they exécuted the same; and
said affiant subscribed his name thereto as a Witness."
This form was signed by Leonard C. Silvani, a notary |
public. . The form is partially a printed form. The per-
Sonalized portions were proved to have been written in
by Walker who presented the instrument to Silvani to be
notarized. ; | | .
Walker, who testified in-his own behalf, admitted
‘that he had not seen the Dunbars sign the deed of trust.
His defense to the tii of perjury was that he was not
under oath when he appeared before the notary. mS
oe 3
Jig
‘© © 2 oO HT BA DP Hw
114
715
18
~ ef pe
no Yf Oo
13
16
17
. Silvani, the notary, testified that Walker was
under oath. In addition to being a notary, Silvani was
engaged in the real estate mortgage business. He tes-
tified that Walker, periodically during the period when
the transactions involved in the prosecution occurred,
had called upon him to perform notarial duties. His
testimony as to the manner in which he had administered
the oath is equivocal. We have set forth material por-
tions in a footnote.l
. lon direct examination he testified: "Q. [D]id
you swear him to the contents of that a¢knowledgment?—
- © +» A. Yes. He was under oath, yes. Q. All right.
So in essence, and correct me if I'm wrong, you asked .
Mr. Walker whether or not he had observed the Dunbars °
place their signatures to that document? A. Yes.
Q. And he said 'yes'? A. Yes. Q. And you asked him
whether or not the contents of that. acknowledgment were
true, is that correct? A. I don't recall asking him.
Q. To what you would swear him is true, is that correct
(Mr. Railey [the prosecuting attorney] then raised his
hand demonstrating to the witness what he meant)? .
A. Yes. Q. And what was his response to that? A. ‘He
replied yes. Q. All right, that's what I-want to know.
- + «+ Q. Altogether, approximately how many.times ...
had Mr. Walker appeared before you and been sworn? ...
Q. That he observed the signatures of these trustors to
these Deeds of Trust? A. I'd say several. I don't.
know exactly.". -. a
He testified on cross-examination when asked how
he had administered the oath to Walker: “Well, there
was nothing--nothing physical. I asked Mr. Walker, 'Did
you witness that signatures'? And I mentioned the name
of the trustors and he replied affirmatively and then I
might add that in this inception when I first started -
notarizing documents for him that I told him at that
_ time any documents notarized you had to be under oath to.
have them notarized. And maybe the format wasn't what
it should be, but--he was under oath. There was no
(continued on next page) Pass
-4-.
© ®2 NY Oo oo bh we wD BH
10
me ee a
gee
The evidence regarding the other charges is.
similar. It is unnecessary to discuss them in detail.
The prosecution showed with reference to the charge in-
||| volving other customers (Houston and Herise Brengettsey) .
that Walker had told a deputy district attorney that he
had signed the deed of trust as a witness to their sig-
natures but without actually having been presept when.
, ie E
_ they signed; that he had written up the certificate be-
‘fore presenting it to Silvani and had obtained -Mr. Sil-
vani's signature 4s the notary and’ that the notary's
seal had been affixed. (He also stated that in all
cases this procedure was for the purpose of making it
possible for him to record the deeds of trust.)
' (contiriued from page 4).
raising of the hand or anything. I asked him if he wit-
nessed. the signatures and he had." ; :
Later he testified:: ". . . I considered he was
under oath, and he knew-it."
In response to a question by the court: | "(W] hen
Mr. Walker came in to your office, did he raise his right
‘hand and solemnly swear that the writing he was going to
make was the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the
truth, did he do that? A. Not in that terminology, no."
On redirect: "Q. .. . Now are you convinced that
he understood he was swearing to the authenticity of those
Signatures? A. Yes. Q. Would you tell him? A. Would
I tell him he was swearing to the authenticity? Q. Yes.
A. I would tell him that."
- 5 -
=
© oN O20 GF Fw wD Kw
y
/
/
As to his understanding about being under oath
‘Walker had stated to the attorney: "Q. And ec. tdvens, -
did you appear before him personally at that time? A.
Yes, I did. Q. And. did he administer an oath? A. I
would say so. Q. Yes. Now had you really witnessed
‘their signatures on this. document? A, Set had. not. °2 ‘
Government Code section 27287 . provides in part |
here material: "[B]efore an instrument can be recorded
its execution shall be acknowledged “a the person exe-
| cuting it ° = - or proved by sen iaiaictatties witness Be
_-
2In his testimony at the trial Walker rétracted
this statement. After having admitted he had not ac-
tually witnessed any of the signatures on the\ deeds of
‘trust,.he testified on direct examination a. Do
you recall the details on each time you we (before.
Silvani to have his proof of signature as witness no-
tarized] on each particular one? A.- No. .Q. You
don't recall any? A. I don't recall the details, no.
» « « Q. Do you have any explanation as to why you
appeared before Mr. Silvani and said that you witnessed
the signatures'’when you weren't the one that did wit-
ness them; somebody else did. Do you have any explana-
tion for the jury and the court? A. Well, I treated it--
this, prior to the first contact with the District
Attorney's Office--I treated the deeds of trust ina
rather careless and light fashion. ...
He Later testified: "Q. Well, if you don't re-
call--I mean, your, testimony is you don't recall having
transacted the notarization, so you couldn't recall as °
a basis where you admit you were sworn or administered
an oath? The question is -- [A colloquy between coun-
sel and the court followed] 9. Mr. Walker, on any
occasion did Mr. Silvani swear you in and did you take
an oath on any of the notarizations involved in this
/ proceeding, or at any time? A. No. Q. And I'm making ~
/ reference to the raising of the hand and things like
that? A. No."
» 6 @
- and the acknowledgtient of proof CMe EEO as prescribed
_by daw.”
An "acknowledgment" is not here involved;. there
was a purported . proof by a purported subscribing wit- /
ness with a ‘purported sworn certificate. Such proof,
of course, under oath, with the notary’ & certificate is
a prerequisite to geoordation: (Govt. Code, sec. 27287,
supra.) The evidence ‘Shows Walker knew this. It was
his purpose to obtain a recordation of the deed of trust
established to have been obtained. fraudulently. The
—_
‘latter act is not that for /which he was being prosecuted.
This does not’mean that knowledge of the necessity of .
an oath is unimportant.
Section 218. of the Penal Code provides in part
that "Every person who, having taken an oath that he
_ will testify, declare, depose or certify truly before ~
any competent . . - person, in any of. the cases in. which
such an Oath may by law be administered, wilfully and
contrary to such oath, states as ‘true any material
Matter which he knows to be false. . . is guilty of
perjury."
A false statement pursuant to the proof or:
acknowledgment of an instrument before a notary public
may be the basis of a charge of perjury. (Ex parte -/
Carpenter, 64 Cal. 267; Civ.. Code, sec. 1181; ‘gee also —
-7-
© 2 NY ®@ HT eF AD PB
10
11
~nessing the signatures to an instrument in writing.
| was administered in an irregular manner, or that the
People v. Teixeira, 59 Cal.App. 598.) This rule, of
‘course, applies to an oath administered by a notary on.
_a proof by a subscribing witness.
To convict one. of the crime of perjury in vio-.
oO
fation of Penal Code section 118 it must be proved that
| the defendant: . {1) took an oath that’ he would testify,
declare, depose or certify truly before (2) a cenpenent
| tribunal or person (3) that such oath was taken in a
ease in which an oath may be lawfully administered, .and
(4) that the accused wilfully and contrary to such oath
stated as true, a material fact which he knew was false.
(People v. Gilbert, 217 Cal.App.2d 662, 666; People Vv.
Baranov, 201 Cal.App.2d 52, 57-58.) | :
The manner of administering an oath in "an action
‘or proceeding” is carefully spelled out. (Code Civ.
Proc., b6c. 2094.) Singularly enough we find no spe-
¢ial form prescribed for the administering of an oath |
when,.as here, a party is certifying to his act of wit-
?.
' Section 121 of the Penal Code provides: “It is
no-defense to a prosecution for perjury that the oath
7
person accused of perjury did not go before, or was not
in the presence of, the officer purportizig to aGuensotes.
the oath, if such accused caused or procured such
| officer to certify that the oath had been taken or
“ig administered. “ |
3 Although no California authority, applying this
4 section has been cited by counsel’ (and we find wails
5 with facts paralleling those of the case at bench, there .
6 are cases which-assist us in determination of the pro-
7 blem presented. |
8 In Peters v. City and County of San Francisco,
9 41 cal. 2a 419, our Supreme Court has stated (at p. 426):
10 “The claim: may be regarded as a 'verified' one within the
11 meaning of the statute although plaintiff did not appear
12 before a notary to sign the verification. (C£. Germ Ve
13 City & County of San Francisco, 99 Cal.App.2d 404 [222
14 P.2d 122] [involving an identical provision in the city
15 charter). The object of requiring verification is to
16 hold the claimant responsible for any’ false statements
17 made in the claim, and, as pointed out in the Germ
18 ouee,. it is no defense to a prosecution for perjury
19 that the person accused of swearing falsely ‘did not go
20 before, or was not. in the presence 6f, the officer
21 purporting to administer the oath, if such accused
22 ownees or procured such officer to certify that the
23 ‘| - dats had been taken or administered, ' (Germ v. City &
24 County of dan Peanciecd, 99 Cal.App.2d 404, 413-414
25 || [222 p.2d 122]; Pen. Code, sec. 121; see People v.
re (2 9s aor
© oN OO HT hw wD Ke
: |
‘Darcy, 59 Cal.App.2d 342 [139 P.2d 118].) It may’ be.
inferred from the evidence that plaintiff ‘was aware
that she was seauives eo sign the verification under -
oath, and her attorney caused the notary te SOECEST
that. plaintiff had sworn to the statement made in the
claim. | Accordingly, it appears that there has been
substantial compliance with the statutory requirement
of verification." | |
The case’ before us shows, we think, closer com-
pliance with the requirements of oath-administration
than was present in Peters,. supra.
In People v. Brown, 125 Cal.App.2d 83, it was
held (at p.88) that it was not necessary that the words
given that defendant had raised his hand in making
his statement. (Here Silvani had indicated on direct
examination that Walker had raised his hand, but the
weight’ of this testimony was, it must be recognized,
lessened by his admission on cross-examination that
“there was nothing physical" in the adninistering of .
the oath. Also when ‘the court asked the compound and
leading question, re a .. did he raise his right hand
and eaten swear that the writing he was going to
make [NB, that Walker had already made the writing]
was the ‘ruck, the whole truth and nothing but the
"oath", “swear” or-"depose" be used. There evidence was
>
: ’
a ad .
fA FPL OE IY TOLLE EK TU ‘ Ltinjaibhciel rw , eager ?
Ped IOP + Ds ae C1 eR Eten oA) kia iS tn be thins Di Pom ae en SS SES Se eee
. a :
.
ey truth, aid he do that? the answer was: "Not in that -
2 terminology, no." Unexplored was the. exact, or the
3 gist: of,.the terminology which was used. (See foot-
4 {| note l.) AN
5 In People v. Darcy, 59 Cal.App.2d 342, the court
. 6 states (at p, 350): "A person who, being required by
7 || law to make a sgatement under cath, willfully and
8 knowins ay falsifies such statement; purportedly made
9 sates oath, in any particular, is guilty of perjury
10 as a matter of law ‘whethex or not the oath was in fact
11 | taken (sec. 129), rr and ‘the: offense is complete upon
12 || delivery of the affidavit to another person, with the in-~
13 tent that it be uttered or published as true,"
14 ‘turning to other juriedictions, we. find cases
15 with facts siniiaz to the case before us.
16 In State v. Anderson tmens.) 285 P.2d 1073, a
17 - deputy sheriff went before a county judge and as a- .
18 jf result of the statements he made a complaint was pre-
19 pared. The complaint stated: "Duane Anderson being 7
20 duly sworn, en oath says ie oe ts After the complaint
21 was: prepared-it was executed by the deputy and a warrant
22, was issued and a party arrested. In the prosecution»
23 i for perjury against the deputy, he claimed that he was
24 not under oath, as the judge charged with administering
25 || ' the oath, signed the same in silence and without state-
26 . vee | | - «# 2 |
o OY 2H hm ww D-H
ments or questions to the deputy. There was at the
time a Kansas statute requiring the laying of the
right hand on the Holy’Bible in the taking of an oath.
The court said, however, *. - it is common knowledge
' that such requirements are not always complied with
strictly. The question is whether .. under the circum-
iam what was done was (a] ... . nullity." The
court pointed out that the deputy read the statement —
after the judge prepared it’ and further commented:
"surely some weight must be given to opening state-
ments of the complaint and to the physical acts of the
party even though statutory formalities were not ob-
served." The theory of the court was that there was
nothing to show that there was a design by either the
judge or Anderson to have Anderson “unsworn." Thus,
silence did not- outweigh the wording of the SunSnesanee
‘and the actual signing in viewoF the fact. that there
was nothing from which it could be concluded that: the
party intended not to be sworn. In the case at bench.
Walker not only read the statement, he had prepared it.
There ‘is a comprehensive note (as of 1927) in 51
American: tow Reports 840 on cases covering the formali-
ties required in the administering of oaths. The note
is annotation to a reported case, Atwood v. State of
Mississippi (Miss.) 111 So. 865, 51 A.L.R. 836. There
ts
ae
© 2 NY O® FF YD
~ -~ fF
oe no FY OO
w
xe
15
16 |
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
— PONG AP CLI IE IE AIS AD UO ad ee} nemmymaccsonen pres ae SS grpe,
bmw tot, 3h LAA RO 1 NO CAE LAA A OE th ak APO 800 ik in Ripa s+ 6s 7 2 lac and 2 hee
. +
‘
the questioned "oath" was administered by a justice of
‘the peace to an affidavit for a search warrant. The
officer did not require the affiant to hold up his hand
to be sworn, nor was there formal oral administration
of the oath; but as the opinion states (on Pp. 838 of 51
A.L.R.). "the evidence shows, without conflict, ‘that both.
the affiant and the justice of the peace knew and réalized
that an oath-was necessary before a search warrant could .
be obtained, and that they considered what was done at.
the time the oath was signed by the affiant and the-
warrant issued by the justice of the peace to be suf-
ficient in law to constitute an oath. . .. Both of
them ‘understood, without anything being saia@l to that
*
effect, that the affiant was making the necessary affi-
davit to obtain the search warrant.”
In the note in 51 American Law Reports 840 et
seq. other authorities expressing rigid rules are cited
as well as those stating iibesad rules. We take the
position that the California Legislature, by the pro- °
; visions of Penal Code section 121, has committed this
state to a liberal policy in ruling upon the ‘question
whether compliance with formalities in oath taking has
' ’ ; -
been had. We pay willing obedience to that rule. The
busy business world of today inevitably spawns informality
in the performance of ceremonial functions, particularly |
- 13 -
aie Sa ae en eae ee
_ those which are (at least “in some respects) \. the ves-
‘‘tiges of a more ritualistic era. We look, modernly,
to wabotance- neue than form. In the field of law Tato
which this case falls the manifested intent with which
an act is done should weigh more heavily than the ob-
servance of punctiliousness in its ceremonial aspects.
Symbolism should not. be confused with solemnization.
Here, _ aithough considerably Goubt attends the testimony,
both of the notary and of defendant Walker as to just
what acts did occur when the "proof" was made and cer-
cified to, there is no question whatever: about the
following: (1) Walker himself pygpared--wrote out--
the very form which states, "Chandler J. Walker oe «
being by me duly sworn deposes and says ee did rid Walker
‘had ‘the specific intent to make the statement as a sworn
4
‘statement, and he was well a that the instrument
would be regarded as one sworn to--to the end that it
‘could be placed of record; (3) he approached the* notary.
to have the necessary form notarized; (4) he was informed
by the notary to the effect that he, Walker, would be
regarded as being under. oath, and (5) both the notary.
and Walker regarded the latter as being ‘under oath. We
hold under the facts related there was sufficient sub-
stantial evidence -before the. jury, adequately instructed,
_to justify its implied finding that the formalities of
A es -14- Ke | aan
oath taking had been complied with.>
1 ;
2 Walker also contends that adverse publicity hed on
3 a profound prejudicial effect upon the fairness of hike -
rt trial. It is asserted that there waé ‘almost a fairly
| 5 front page feature story in the local press setting
6 |} forth accusations made against "inethical practices in
“9 the aluminum siding industry." ee: 7
8 The record does not show any motion for a diaiage
9 of venue made. A defendant may not claim for the first
10 time on appeal that. he was depsived of a fair trial em
ql eon an unbiased jury because of newspaper publicity
eT | where with full imowledge of the publicity he made no -:
13 objection and failed to move for a change of venue.
14 | (People v. Magee, 217 Cal.App.2d 443.) Moreover, there
15 is no stiowing in this record either of the extent or
16 || Come ee, apna |
hood Even on’ the question as to whether there was
17 | actually a hand-raising ceremony there is conflict.
“+ - Silvani's direct testimony that there was suffers by —
18} his statements on cross-examination, particularly his.
‘negative answer to the judge's question. (Sce foot-
19 |; note.1, supra.) But Walker acknowledged that on one
occasion at least he had been sworn. Silvani testified
20 there was a solemnization ceremony of some sort. Our
; code spells out no particular words which must be used;
21 on the contrary it condones informality of fact. Where —
i there is a conflict in the testimony a reviewing court
‘Goes not reweigh; we do not have to be convinced of a .
fact necessary to establish guilt beyond a reasonable
doubt; our inguiry ends when we find substantial evidence
from which a jury reasonably could be so convinced.
(People v. Hall, 62 Cal.2d 104, 109-110; People v. Ro-
-pbillard, 55 Cal.2d 88, 93; People v. Daugherty, 40 Cal.
2d 876, 885.). sf Suey Oe 0%
- 15 -
~~. -
eee ee
© ®@ NY @-o ww B)w
SOLER RE RR ee weet ee ee
hs
cer een een RAM ALLY AGERE EN
scope of the adverse publicity: or “that. it was impossible
“ ©
to secure an impartial trial.
X : |
/ Appellant claims that the prosecution inflamed
the jury with reference to.Walker and his salesmen as —
"suece shoe boys” and “aluminum siding racketeers."
‘There is a reference to “suede shoe boys" in: thie argument
by defense . counsel on motion for a new trial. y The dis-
trict’ ‘attorney’ S arguménts to the jury are not in the
recoré. We have no way of knowing. whether the remark.
was made; if made, whether they were objected to or. in
what context the statements were uttered. An appellate
court will not consider statements of error asserted_in—
a breif which are not supported by the record. (People
v. Boyden, 181 Cal.App.2d 48; People v. Deriso, 222 Cal.
App. 24 478. y:
‘Moreover, perjury is a specific intent crime.
(People v. Guasti, 110 Cal.App.2d 456, 464.) As we
have shown, proof by the prosecution that Walker inten-
@ es ras. |
tionally swore falsely to serve his nefarious purposes
was an important factor in the state's case. There was
" overwhelming evidence that his purposes were “iniquitous.
A prosecuting attorney may use appropriate epithets
| warranted by the evidence. {People v. Mitchell, 63 Cal.
2d 805, 809.) We see no ‘reason to exclude such an
epithet —— because it is one properly catalogued @ as
- - 16 -
OEM LP AGED ICR
-being within the vulgate. - .
a oe purported appeal from the order denying the _
motion for new-trial is dismissed. The judgment is
_ affirmed.. > 3 ;
&
- | | oe
a ¢ ) Be Pierce, Pe J.
6 fee *
I concur: i | : dla da \
7: leg 3 J eA ¢
| Regan, “J. | a Tarte
8 ; a , a > ’
9.
10 ;
‘11! -
!
12 ii
i
13 |:
16 ji : ees
: 1S " ;
cere a |
47 Re
18 j,... °
19 jj
"20
3
3 i 2 rs
oo
seat wt the
IN. THE COURT OF APPEAY OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA.
“IN and POR THE THIRD APPELLATE DISTRICT
(@edteneste) Hiatt By eee
\ JHE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA, |
- Plaintiff and Respondent,
vs. @
CHANDLER PP WALKER,
® eer eet eee ee
Defendant and Appellant.
MODIFICATION OF OPINION
BY THE COURT: |
The tvpewritten opinion of: tate court in the above
entitled. case filed January 3, 1967, is modified as ‘follows:
On page ll, ‘last Paragraph, strike the word ” judgment”
and insert the’ fol lowing: “atdar granting probation,” The :
Filed: AN ~ 5 1967 ©
_ 3 Criminal No, 3886
sentence will then read: “The order granting probetion. is affirmed, %
>
6
/
/
, ae IN AND FORTHE © ¢
PECDLG OF THE STATE OF CALITORIZA eee i
' CHANDEBR 7. WALKER : |
ae ; Pe,
(eewhetorney General (Nelson Kempsky)
™ |
IN THE.
“Bast Gout of Agel of he ate of Gtr
x
‘THIRD APPELLATE, DISTRICT
vse ee vo le le 2 3 Cpdme, 3686
— sppel dent's petition Zor zchoaring is denied.
," |
ee Ra 3 } | a ee Nae Beat
| 7 “PEERCS, PS Te
winhion 8. Swaigert
. 36S P e Caxvrolil
Resorter of Decisions”
JANS wv G 1967 ° ‘
GIST. COURT CF. eg DIST. :
_ WILFRIED J. KRAMER
Qy-—-
CM eG ee ene oie are
~~
KY Oo
~
”
13
14
© 2 NY O.n & ww ND
IN THE SUPREME COURT
(OF THE
STATE. OF CALIFORNIA
PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA. - 3 Criminal
CHANDLER J. WALKER.
By the Court: ce 7
Appellant's petition for hearing denied.
DATED: February 28, 1967
(CHANDLER J, WALKER, Defendant.
by a jury of the. ‘crime of Perjury, as charged in Counts 1,
2 and 3 of tie Indictment, and made application for proba-_
‘SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA IN, AND FOR
THE COUNTY OF SACRAMENTO :
Xe. 28702 Department 5
Hon. ELVIN F. SHEEHY R
> Judge of the Superior ~
; al Court
PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALTFORNIA, ) $2 . ae
vs. ae ORDER OF PROBATION
WHEREAS, on ‘the 29th day of March, 1965, the said
defendant appeared before ‘the Court and was found Guilty
tion; and
ne WHEREAS, on this date the Court being fully
advised and having considered the report heretofore filed
by the Probation Officer in the above entitled case;
IT IS ORDERED that the matter of passing judgment
and sentence is suspended for a osetia of three (3) years,
‘during which time the defendant, CHANDLER J. WALKER,’ will
be on probation; and | x a, !
IT Is. FURTHER ORDERED that said defendant,
CHANDLER ; WALKER, be and he is hereby confined in the
County Jail of the County of Sacramento for a period of —
‘three (3) months as to Count 1, and that said defendant |
be and he is ici confined in the ‘County Jail of the County
-21- :
o oN ®@ oT eke Bw ND
sapaeoee»nrneeeee. ..w fr » * ef © fe
Beoese ©» 6 e0e.278e @ @ & 8 & SO
>
-
' o£ Sacramento: for a period of three (3) months as to Count
2, said term to be served consecutively as to the term of |
confinement as to Count 1, and that said defendant be and
‘he is hereby confined in the County Jail of the County ”
of Sacramento for a period of three (3) months as to Count
ae said term to be served concurrently as to the term of
confinement as to Count 2, the same to constitute the first —
six (6) months of this Order of Probation; and | P
‘It is the Order of the Court that you, CHANDLER |
J, WALKER, shall, during your term of Probation, comply in
all-respects with the following General Conditions of pro- |
bation as authorized by the provisions of the Probation sad
Statutes of the. State of California. Further, that you
. shall comply in all respects with any Special Conditions
of Probation contained in your Order of Probation or which
may subsequently be ordered by the Court or the Probation
Officer. - - | | | | |
: 1. Obey all Laws applicable to you. —
2. Live a respectable, honest, and temperate life.
33 Keep only good company and respectable hours. |
4
. Not frequent or visit any undesirable
establishment or places.
5. Be gainfully employed at employment approved >
by the Probation Officer having your super~ :
vision; not voluntarily change employment |
without having first gained apgroves for such
- change; or if discharged, or if: your employ-
ment is terminated (either permanently or _
temporarily) for any cause whatsoever, you are |.
to notify your Probation Officer within 48 hours.
eee =22-_
a ie pteogoe
‘oo ® N @f A, e&® aA DOD
~~ »- ~F YF KY FY KF &
YN ogo qo & WA NO fF O
~
@
“yesidence for more than 2
You are not to remain gg from your regular
ide hours without first
having secured permission from your Probation
Officer. You are to notify your. Probation
- Officer at once of any intended change of ad-
_. dress and the reasons therefor. :
10.
You-are to contribute regularly. to the support
and maintenance of all those for whose si rt
and maintenance you are legally responsible.
You are to follow in all respects any reason-
able instructions given to you by the Probat@pn |
Officer having your supervision. a
-You are to report‘in person to the Division
of Adult Probation at such times and dates as
the Probation Officer having your supervision
‘may direct. (If for any reason beyond your
- control you are unable to report on. your
assigned date and time, you shall communicate
this fact to the Division of Adult Probation.
on or before the assigned date.) —
You shall allow Probation Officers to visit
your home and places of employment at — * e
reasonable times. . eat ou.
\
- You ‘are hereby advised that failure by you to comply with
all of the foregoing General Conditions of Probation or
any Special Conditions of Probation will make you liable.
(1) to have this probation revoked, extended, or amended
which may result im the imposition of any sentence’ the
Court could have imposed on you before you were placed on
‘probation; (2) your confinement in the County Jail for
intermittent periods; (3) the extension of your probation
up to the maximum provided by law; (4) the change of or .
adding to the conditions of. your probation within the
‘limits of the Probation Statutes. |
A The term of this order of probation shall be three
-23--
POD) 9 ROE hs AGELESS DG IES Mpa ep
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
a1
12
13.
BY
15
16
17
18
19
Witnessed by:
(3) years.
Done in open Court this 26th day of april, 1965. ee
ATTEST: ie i nae . |
C. C. LaRUE, Clerk, © Cee oO
By s/ G. L. Swetzer Swch. Mpp_pi teat ial
Deputy :
g/ Elwin-F. Sheehy —_
Judge of the Superior Court
The foregoing terms and Conditions of Probation have been
explained to’me and I fully understand them and agree
in every particular to abide by them.
Date Med
: Probationer
- Officer ©
Sec. 1203.4, Penal Code: PROBATIONER MAY WITHDRAW
PLEA OF GUILTY
Every defendant who has fulfilled the ced of
his probation for ‘the entire period thereof, or who. shall.
have been discharged from probation prior to the termination
of the ‘period thereof, shall at any time thereafter be
permitted by the court to withdraw his plea of guilty and
enter a plea of not guilty; or if he has been convicted
after a plea of not guilty, the court shall set aside the.
verdict of i icles and in either case the court’ shall tnenes
upon dismiss “the accusations or information against such |
-24-
© .® NX' oan & a no
. a
‘under Section 12021.
defendant, who shall - thereafter. be released from a1 ee
and disabilities resulting From the offense or crime of
which he has been convicted. . The probationer shall be .
authorized in writing; provided, that in ‘any subsequent
prosecution of' such defendant for any other offense, such
prior conviction. may be pleaded and proved and shall have
the same effect as if probation had not been granted or
* Dismissal of an secusation or information pursuant
to this section does not permit a person to own, possess
or have in his custody or control any. firearm capable of
being concealed upon the person or prevent his conviction
2
informed of this right and privilege ‘in his probation pepers.|
The probationer may make. ‘such application and change of plea’
in person or by attorney, or by the rinre officer
~ the sonamanten or information. dismissed.
© oN 2 Oo ® |W WD eS
nn
nv F Oo
13
14
15
16
17
i8
19
20
21
. +92
23
24
25
26
‘which he
APPENDIX '"'B"'.
California Penal Code Section 118:
"Every. person who, having taken an oath that
he will testify, declare, depose, or certify truly
before any competent tribunal, officer, or person, |
in any of the cases
law be administered
in which such an oath may by
, wilfully and contrary to —
Oe ee Se as true any material matter
ee range von cg
peralty of perjury
such testimony, dec
certification is
of perjury and wilf
material matter whi
guilty of perjury."
ows to be false, and every person who
» deposes, or certifies under
in any of the cases in which
larations, depositions, or
permitted by law under penalty
a. ve as true any
ch knows to be false, is
California Penal Code Section 121:.
"Te is -no. defe
nse to a prosecution for per-
jury that the oath was administered or taken in .
an irregular manner, or that the person accused
of perjury did not
presence of, the of
the oath, if such accused caused or procured such
officer to certify
or administered.
go before, or was not in the
icer purporting to administer
that the oath had been taken >
/
oN oak a pnp we
~ -
on KK Oo ©
~
W
‘14
15°
16 ||
“17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24 |
25
26
PROOF OF SERVICE BY MAIL - 1013a, 2015.5 C. C. P.
STATE OF | CALIFORNIA )
ss.
1} County of ‘Sacramento =
L am a citizen of the United States and a covitent
of the Comiy aforesaid; I am over the age of eighteen -
| years and hot a party to the within abéve entitled action;
my business address is 926 J Building, Sacramento, California.
On the | ond day of June _, 1967, I aswwnd
‘the within Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the Supreme .
Court of the State of California on the below named in said
action, by placing a true copy thereof enclosed in a.
sealed envelope with postage thereon fully prepaid, _in the
United States post office mail box at hecuiinniee, California,
addressed as follows:
Attorney General of t ate of California
500 Wells Fargo Bank Buil a
Fifth Street and Capitol Mal
Sacramento, California 95814
Honorable Thomas C. L “Stat
t
DATED: This 29d day of June _, 1967,
I declare under ied of sie that the fore-
on shila
Clarence H. Pease -
| going is true and correct.:
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.