Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Travers v. United States
Supreme Court brief1966
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
4
JOHN F. “DAMS, CLERK .
ve See
| Supreme Court tte Rated aes
_ OcToBER TEE, 1966
JOSEPH L. TRAVERS,
PETITIONER,
&
ea.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, .
RESPONDENT.
PETITION FORA WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF .
‘APPEALS FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT
Bee Epear L. Keuuey |
: Water J. Hurtey
10 Post Office Square
\ », Boston, Massachusetts
~ Counsel for Petitioner >
Blanchard Press, Inc., Boston, Mass. — Law Printers
gO
| Table of Contents | . AS
. oor ea Brae Page.
. Citation to Opinion Below ees eae re 1
_o urisdiction ...... oO EO Ee Prey etree. ee
Questions Presented .......... Poke eerie aga
MON II 2 32s Siw less clea rials: ae.
Statement of Facts .... 0 .:......... SP ane. A ec
Reasons for Granting Es bank ees cn sus eeu: oe
CIID © 5 i vc pee esa tienes) A Pie Ma a cae 5
Appendix A —
Opinion of the Court of Appeals for the First Circuit
in Joseph L. ‘Travers, Defendant, - Appellant, v.
United States of America, Appellee. ............ 6
: apie or AuTHoriTIES CITED ~
. a 3 | ‘ . | :
Cases
‘Tot v. United States, 319 U.S. 463 ...... pie: See es,
United States v. Romano, 382 U. §. 136 ............ 5.
- “Statutes
‘
ed 28 USC §1254(1) Ponies Meas a ae
aan 7 ST USC WT ....... 26... -+\, Bare th pas Tee : 2,4
Z . BR ie kad ay an Parad ant. .. 8, 4
& | : Constitutional Provisions
¥ 3
United States Constitution: : - |
Fifth Amendment ................... ery Oma 3
__—Fourteenth Amendment ...... wee ee ee: Pa ia aa ag
on i the
No. | pee cab.
7 . . ‘
ee
——
JOSEPH L. TRAVERS,
; pte on PETITIONER, sore
Us
~ UNITED. ae OF te. jo
; RESPONDENT. —
- PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF
APPEALS 5 FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT
ae
. Yo
“¢
“ <o entitled case on June 3, 1966.
. aera ‘ ie - Citation To Opinion biaee
‘dix A hereof. Ry
oe
a a | ;
Pen om . ; >
_ Srapreme Court uf the Huited 2 Sees :
Ocrossr : Ten, 1966 . pate 1
AN J neil L. Travers, petitioner, prays that a. writ of cer-
- -« tiorari issue to, review the judgment of the United States —
-» Court’ of Appeals for the First Circuit entered in _— above
The opinion of the Court of Appeals ir’ the First Cir-
\ cuit is reported i i UK 2d ani we is printed i in Appen-
rae, Y
, - °
° ‘ . 9 ,
.
‘Jurisdiction
ioe <*
The Julipmént of the Conrt of: ‘Appeals was dabei on
June 3, 1966. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked ‘under.
eek: Title, 28, United States Code, section 1254 1).
Quéstions Presented « 2
o*.:° >
1... Did the Court: of Appiele err in affirming a judg-
‘thent: of conviction rendered on an. indictment which was
based in part om a statute held by the Court of Appeals to
be purely civil in nature?
5. Did the Court of ‘seit err in affirming a judg-
ment of conviction: rendered on an indictment which was
based in part on a statute held by the Court 6f Appeals
‘to be purely civil in nature, but which statute makes evi-
dence of any payment by a: subcontractor to an [em-
ployeé] of a prime contractor the basis for a conclusive
presumption that the cost of such a. paymient was ul-
ies borne » by the United States? -
Ws
2 cae ‘Statutes Involved : y.
"Title 41, United wien: Came, Section 51 provjdes' in part
as follows:
; eine “<The payment of any fee, commission, or compen-
sation of any kind or the granting of any gift or gra-
tuity of any kind, either directly or indirectly, by or
on behalf of a subcontractor, as defined in section
§2-of this title, (1) to any officer, partner, employee,
or agent of a. prime ‘contractor holding “a negotiated
contract entered-into by any department, agency, or:
establishment of the United States for the furnishing
.8
3 |
. of supplies, materials, equipment or ‘services of any
kind whatsoever, or to any such prime contractor or.
- (2) to any officer, partner, employee, or agent, of- ae
higher tier subcontractor holding a subcontract under .
the prime contract, or to any such subcontractor. either
as. an inducement for the award of a subcontract or
order from the prime contractor. or any subeontrac-
. tor, or as-an acknowledgment of a subcontract or
award previously, awarded, is prohibited . .. The.
amount of any such fee, ¢ cost, or expense shall be re-
. eoverable on behalf of the United States from the -°
_ Subcontractor or the récipient thereof by setoff of.
moneys otherwise owing to the subcontractor either —
directly by the United*States, or by a prime contrac-
' tor under any contract or by an ‘action in an appro-
priate court of the United States. Upon a showing
that a subcontractor patd fees, commissions, or com-
pensation er granted gifts. or gratuities to an officer,
partner, employee, or ‘agent of @ prime contractor or
of another higher tier subcontractor, in connection: %
with the award of a_subcontract-or order. thereunder, . |
it. shall be concluswely presumed that the cost, of such -
_ expense was included in the. price of ‘the subcontract
_ or order and ‘ultimately barne by the United States... .s
(Emphasis supplied). 4 -~ »%
Title 41, United States om Section 54 provides as fol-
lows: - set i Bates eige
. “a person a. shall aiiagl. Pe or’ in-
directly, make -or receive: any such prohibited pay-
ment shall be fined not more than $10,000 or be im-
prisoned for not more than two years or both.”
4 ee
Statement of Facts Dae
- The appellant, Joseph L. Travers, was indicted for vio-
lation of Title 4T; United States Code, Sections 51-54. (RA.
4a) The appellant seasonably moved to dismiss the indict-
ment on the ground that the provisions of Title 41, United. |
States Code, Sections 51-54 are unconstitutional and thus a
trial and conviction under these provisions would deny him '
' his rights under the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to
the United States Constitution (RA. 1a, 2a) The appellant’ Ss.
ei motion to.dismiss the indigtment was denied (RA. 2a) and
the appellant was ‘subsequently convicted of the-charge. in”
the United States District Court for the District of Massa- -
chusetts, and was sentenced to imprisonment for four
-months-and to pay a fine of $2,500 (RA. 3a). The appellant
seasonably filed his notice of appeal (RA. 3a). Pending this _ .
appeal the appellant is not presently confined and he re-. _
mains frée upon his personal recognizance,
- Reasons For Granting The Writ
1. The decision of the Court of site on the issue
_of the applicability of §51 of Title 41; United States Code,
raises an issue of national importance in contracts and
subcontracts on work for the federal. government since it
fails to acknowledge that §51 was enacted originally so.
as to apply and to ‘‘cost plus fixed fee’’ contracts and
does not acknowledge the difference in ‘application when
applied toa meee contract.
2. The decision of the Court of Appeals sustains a con-
viction under an indictment which was expressly based
upon §51 which contains ‘a’ conclusive. presumption but
which the Court holds is purely civil in nature so that the
grand jury relied-on a civil statute in returning a criminal :
charge. Se" bead
) f
/
we 3
3. The decision of the Court of Appeals sustains a con-
_Viction based on-indictmént predicated in part on a con-
’ elusive presumption statute in conflict with the decisions
of this Court in Tot v. United States, 319 U. S. 463 and
United States Vv. mane, 382 U.S. tei
\ .
Conclusion
’ For the foregoing reasons this petition for a writ of
certiorari — be granted.
a Respectfully submitted,
Epear L. Kevuey
Water J. Hurtey
Counsel for Petitioner °
10 Post Office Square
Pee , Boston, Massachusetts
wt g
8
No. 6687.
. oO
_ statute is the Anti-Kickback Act, 41 U.S. C. § 51-54) .
Appendix A
Unrrep Srates Court or ApPEaLs-
For tae Fist Crmovrir
JOSEPH L. TRAVERS,
DEFENDANT, APPELLANT, _
‘4 Aa; *.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
APPELLEE.
' APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS
‘ ‘ e
_, Before Aupricu, Chief Judge,
-McEntez and Corrin, Circuit Judges.
Edgar L. Kelley, with whom Walter J. Hurley was on brief, for
appellant.
John Paul Sullivan, Assistant U. S. Attorney, with whom W. Arthur
Garrity, Jr., United States Attorney, was on brief, for appellee.
_ OPINION OF THE COURT.
June 3, 1966.
‘Caine, Circuit Judge. Defendant was indicted and con-
' vieted for having paid, as an officer of a subcontractor, a
, fee or gratuity to a purchasing agent of a prime contractor
as an inducement for, or acknowledgement of, subcontract
awards on work for the federal government. The relevant
“4 The Act, as it relates to this case, may-be broadly summarized -
as follows: -
Section 51 prohibits payment of any gratuity on behalf of a sub-
contractor to an agent of a contractor “holding a negotiated contract”
with a United States agency: It prohibits including such a gratuity
ee a or om
-_
7
_ Defendant’s sole contention is that Section 51. ‘‘is.on its
face unconstitutional in that it purports to create a federal
- erime predicated upon an irrebuttable presumption [of
loss to the government], with no rational connection in |.
common experience. between the fact proved and the ulti-
‘miate fact conclusively presumed.’’ His basic argument is ©
‘that such a connection did exist under the original version
of Section 51 (60 Stat. 38) as enacted in 1946, which applied.
only to cost-plus-a-fixed-fee or -cost reimbursable contracts.
Under this version, there was a logical linkage between
kickbacks and inflated costs to the government. But with
the substitution in 1960 (Pub. L. 86-695) of the word |
‘‘negotiated’’ for the ‘‘cost-plus-a-fixed-fee’’ and ‘‘other
cost reimbursable basis’’ language, argues defendant, there
is no longer any reasonable inference that a kickback is _
ultimately borne by the government. Tot v. United States,
1943, 319 U.S. 463, and United States v. Romano, 1965, 382
U.S. 136, both involving rebuttable presumptions in crimi- _ _
nal cases, are vate as authority for’ the auppenee flaw in *
this case. :
We do not reach the. question of the validity of the con- .
clusive presumption, because it seems clear to-us that
Section 51-is solely concerned with civil remedies.. Section
action, and withholding from sums otherwise due the subcontractor.
It also specifies: “Upon a showing that a subcontractor paid fees, com-
missions, or compensation or granted gifts or gratuities to an officer,
partner, employee, or agent of a prime contractor or of another higher
tier subcontractor, in connection with the award of a subcontract or
order thereunder, it shall be conclusively presumed: that the cost of
such expense was included in the: price of the subcontract pr order
and/ultimately borne by the United. States.”
Section. 52 consists of definitions .of terms. “Negotiated contract”,
_ is defined to mean “made without formal advertising”.
Section 53 gives the General Accounting Office power to audit
books of contractors and subcontractors. © .
Section 54. states: “Any person who shall knowingly, directly or
inditectly, make or receive any such prohibited payment shall be fined
not both than $10,000 or be imprisoned for not more than. two years,
or Dot -
8
54, a criminal statute, by referring to “such prohibited
payment’’, merely incorporates the definitions of pro-.
-seribed kickbacks and no other provisions. As we have.
_ pointed out elsewhere, this crime of bribery stands by it-
self and does not depend ‘on subsequent actions. Specifi-
eally, it is not necessary that the government be financially
harmed. Howard v. United States, 1 Cir., 1965, 345 F.2d
126,128, cert. denied, 382 US. 838. Not only does a:read-
ing of 41 U.S.C..51-54 indicate a clear distinction between
civil and criminal sanctions, but both legislative history
- ~- and subsequent interpretation confirm such a reading.
. In supplying requested: comments’ on the proposed 1960
amendment to the House Committee on Government Oper-
ations, the Acting Deputy Attorney General recognized
that the question of rational connection between the pre-
sumption and a kickback could be raised if fixed-price con-
tracts were brought within the reach of the statute. That -
this question relates only to civil actions wala: made clear
‘by the context of the letter, for the paragraph” containing
the above observation begins with this sentence: ‘‘The
’ keystone of the civil liability created by the statute-is the
‘conclusive presumption’ that any such payment was in-
eluded in the price of the subcontract and was ultimately
borne by the United States.’’ U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News,
86th Cong. 2d Sess., 1960, -p. 3304.2 This letter was specifi-
eally referred to in the Housé ent on the 1960 amend-
ments. Id. at 3293. ‘
Moreover, as long-ago as 1955, the court in United States
v. Davio, E.D. Mich., 1955, 136 F. Supp. 423, 429 stated:
‘‘Section 1 of the Anti-Kickback. Act, which is the only
section under consideration, is civil in’ aa.
. 2 While counsel for defendant saw fit to include the first point of the
Department of Justice letter’ in his brief, he chose to ignore the
language last er. Counsel for the government did not repair the
defect.
9
The district judge was careful to avoid any reference to -
the presumption in his charge, which defendant’ s counsel
commended. Defendant asserts, without apy substanti-
ation, the possibility of prejudice by reason of an improper
consideration of the presumption by the grand jury. In-
dictments are not so easily to be impeached F conjecture. |
Affirmed.
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.