Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Coral Gables First National Bank v. American Surety Co.

Supreme Court brief1966

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

7 si Lt i cote

SUPRin ole Tk

pe OCTOBER TERM, 1 1965

No. aa

THE CORAL GABLES FIRST NATIONAL BANK and

PAN AMERICAN BANK OF MIAMI,

Petitioners,

vs.

AMERICAN SURETY COMPANY OF NEW YORK and

. JOHN C. NICHOLAS, As Trustee,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS,

Warp & Warp Wru1aM B. Rowan

1240 duPont Suilding Pan American Bank

Miami, Florida 33131 Miami, Florida 33131

Aitéfneys for The Coral and

Gables First National

Bank Lzo L. Foster

os Brock Building

Tallahassee, Florida

- Attorneys for Pan American —

| =

.

_ PEN PN STAN APE INEST NI ONL LASER ATP EES TIRE OT LSI NANI BPE OLE NET SE A AEE EIRENE) FIORE NEAR OER TS

BL. Mueernas, Inc., 1108 Osk Strest, Kanses City, Mo. 64106, HAsrison 1-9080

TABLE OF CONTENTS

¢ Opinion and Decision of U.S.C.A. 5, 349 F. 2d 595,

Opinion Appéndix A, Decision Appendix B ................ 1-2

Jurisdiction under Title 11, U.S.C., § 47, § 24, National

Bankruptcy Act, Within Time Fixed by Title 28,

U.S.C., § 2101(c)

QUESTIONS PRESENTED 3

Preliminary Statement As to Questions and Back-

ground 3-16

SUMMARIZED QUESTIONS— ere

Question (1) 16

Question (2) 16

Question (3) 7.

Question (4) 17-18

Question (5) * 18-19

Question (6) 19

STATUTES AND CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

INVOLVED—

Amendment V, Constitution of the United States... 19

Amendment XIV, Section 1, Constitution of the

United States 20.

Section 5198 (Title 12, §§ 85 and 86) 20-21

Title 12, U.S.C.A., § 1, Creating Bureau of Comp-

troller of Currency for National Banks: -........... 21

Title 12, U.S.C.A., § 21, Establishing the Govern- ,

ment of National Banks 21

U. S. Comptroller of Currency Ruling 1135A, Con-

cerning Participation with National Banks and

Other Banks 22

23

“ STATEMENT ...

; Analysis of Procedure and Background Leading Up

: to Issuance of Opinion of U.S.C.A. 5, 349 F. 2d

595 | 23-27

ey

m | INDEX |

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT RO Po

ARGUMENT 29-35

CONCLUSION aceon SEAT

Authorities Cited

John R. Alley & Co. v. Federal National Bon of Shao

nee, Oklahoma, 124 F. 2d 995 dietjnn

Alton v. Alton, 207 F. 2d 667 BOE gi Sad

Beacon Theaters, Inc. v. Westover, data ts. ticacd

948 . 1

Black, Trustee v. Boyd, U.S.C.A. 6, 248 F. 2a 156. .. 24

Burgess v. Nail, 103 F. 2d 37 . 39

Coral Gables First National Bank v. Constructors of

Florida, Inc. (Fla. App.), 119 So. 2d 741, certiorari

denied 123 So. 2d 349 (S. Ct. Fla.), certiorari denied |

US.C.A. 5, 365 U.S. 811, 81S. Ct. 690, 5 L. Ed..2d 691 . 8,9

Coral Gables First National Bank v. Constructors of .

Florida, Inc., 132 So. 2d 806, certiorari denied Fa.

S. Ct., 133 So. 2d 319, certiorari denied U.S. Supreme ©

“Ct. 82 S. Ct. 687, 369 US. 813 eee en 7 Ye hl

Coral Gables First National Bank v. Constructors, 299

i ee : 11, 13, 14

Coral Gables First National Bank v. Constructors of

Florida,’ Inc., 349 F. 2d 595 2

Coral Gables First National Bank v. Constructors of

Florida, Inc., 365 U.S. 811, 81 S. Ct. 690, 5 L. Ed. 2d ,

691

a. v. Greaney, 309 U.S. 190, 60 S. Ct. 480, 84 L. Ed.

Gene Durfee et uz. v. Julia E. Duke, 375 US. 106, 84

S. Ct. 242 42

First National Bank of Charlotte v. Morgan, 132-U.S. ,

141, 10 S. Ct. 37, 33 L. Ed. 282

21

Gondeck v. Pan American World Airways, Inc, 86 S ;

i oe

INDEX mI

Granville-Smith v. Granville-Smith, 349 U.S. 1, 75 S. Ct.

( 553 een . 30

Kalb v. Feuerstein, 308 U.S. 433, 60 S*Ct. 343, 84 L. Ed.

370 | 43

Leonardi v. Chase National Bank of the City of New

York, (U.S.C.A. 2, 1936) 81 F. 2d 19 38

McCollum v. Hamilton National Bank, 303 U.S. 245, 58

» &. Ct. 568, 82 L. Ed. 819 1, 16, 27

Mercantile: National Bank at Dallas v. Langdeau, 83

-S. Ct, 520, 371 U.S. 555 15,27_

ae National Bank v. Robinson, 83 S. Ct. 914, 373

-U.S. 591 15, 27

Republic National Bank of Dallas v. Langdeau, 371

U.S. 555, 83 S. Ct. 521 east ae

Riley v. New York Trust Co., 315 U.S. 343, 349, 62 S. Ct.

608, 612, 86 L. Ed. 885 42

Schulnacher v. Lawrence, 108 F. 2d 576 28

Southern Construction Company v. Rickard, 371 U.S. 57,

83 S. Ct. 108 14, 27, 32

Sulil Realty Corp. v. Rye Motors, Inc., 257 N. Y.S. 111 36

United States v. Simms, 1 Cranch (U. S.) 252, 2 L. Ed.

98 36

United States v. Stevenson, 215 U.S. 190, 54 L. Ed. 153,

30 S. Ct. 35 is ce

43

United States v. United States Fidelity & Guaranty Co.,

309 U.S. 506, 60 S. Ct. 653, 84 L. Ed. 894

:

7 Texts

1 Am. Jur. 2d 558, § 20 ......

23 Am.:Jur., §§ 64 and 65 .....: 35,

23 Am. Jur., § 45 |

LA. L. R. 3d 904

3

Title 11, US.C., § 47

Title 12, U.S.C.A., § 21

21

21

Title 12, US.C.A., § 1

Title 12, U.S.C.A., §§ 85 and 86

6, 7, 20, 21

3

Title 28, U.S.C., § 2101(a)

National Bankruptcy Act, § 24 -....

3

Amendment V, Constitution of U. S.

20

Amendment XIV, Constitution of U. S.

Comptroller of Currency Ruling 1135A

i

a

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1965 -

No.

~~

THE CORAL GABLES FIRST NATIONAL BANK and

PAN AMERIGAN BANK OF MIAMI,

Petitioners,

Vs.

AMERICAN SURETY COMPANY OF NEW YORK and

JOHN ,C. NICHOLAS, As Trustee,

Respondents. :

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS,

FIFTH CIRCUIT

To Tae Honoraste Eart C. WARREN, CHIEF JUSTICE OF THE

SuPREME CouRT OF THE UNITED STATES; AND THE ASSO-

CIATE JUSTICES OF THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED

STATES:

The petitioners, THE. CORAL GABLES FIRST NA-

TIONAL BANK, a federal banking institution, with its

. principal place of business in the City of Coral Gables,

'‘ County, Florida, and PAN AMERICAN BANK OF

a banking institution created under the laws of the State of

Florida, having its principal: place of business in Miami,

Dade County, Florida, respectfully pray that a writ of cer-

2

tiorari issue to review the judgment and opinion of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, in case

No. 21448, rendered on June 30, 1965, petition for rehearing

denied Septeniber 3, 1965, reported in 349 F. 2d 595. Judg-

ment of the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth

Circuit in the same case was entered on the same day as

the opinion, June 30, 1965. The petition for rehearing from

the order of June 30, 1965, was timely filed. -A copy of the

opinion is certified as a part of the Transcript of the Record

forwarded simultaneously herewith (Tr. 475). A copy of

the said judgment is certified as a part of the same Record

(Tr. 491). -A copy of the petition for rehearing is certified

as a part of the same Record (Tr. 493). A copy of the order

a ee ee

the Record (Tr. gon 3

-

OPINIONS scat

The opinion of the United States Court ofAppeals,

Fifth Circuit, dated June 30, 1965, is now reported as afore-

said, 349 F. 2d 595, and a copy thereof is not only in the

Record as aforesaid, but is reproduced and attached hereto .

as Appendix A, page Al. The judgment of the United

States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, is reproduced

and attached hereto as Appendix B, page A13. The peti-

‘tion for rehearing is reproduced and attached hereto as

"Appendix C, page“Al5. The order and judgment deny-

ing the petition for rehearing is reproduced and attached

- hereto as Appendix D,-page ‘42. ‘The opinion and judg-

ment of the United States District Court, Southern District

of Florida, dated December 20, 1963, which was the sub-

ject matter of the opinion and judgment of the United

‘States Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit, is shown in. the

- Transcript of the Record at pages 411 to 429, and is re-

produced and attached hereto as Appendix E, page A44. -

- JURISDICTION

This petition for certiorari is filed with this Court

under the provisions of Title 11, U.S.C., Section 47, and

Section 24, of the National Bankruptcy Act, and within

the time permitted under Title 28, US.C., Section 2101(c).

* QUESTIONS PBESENTED

The Coral Gables First National Bank, a United States

banking institution, in 1956 in the pursuit of its purposes

as a national bank in Coral Gables, Dade County, Florida,

made certain loans to “Constructors of Florida, Inc., a

Florida corporation. Two loans were made in July, 1956, |

both secured by recorded chattel mortgages valid under

the Florida law, said mortgages creating a lien upon cer-

tain itemized road machinery and collateral type of equip-

ment. After, the recording of these two mortgages in July,

1956, Constructors of Florida, Inc., a general contractor,

entered into.a contract with the municipality of West Palm

Beach, Florida, covering certain sewer installations. That

contract was negotiated and entered into in the latter part

of August, 1956, and at or about that time Constructors -

of Florida, Inc., applied for and’ received a performance

bond from American Surety Company of New York.

There was no relationship between the transaction involv-

ing the two chattel mortgages of July, 1956, and the sub-

sequent entry into the contract,and bonding arrangements

On or about November 14, 1956, The Coral Gables

First National Bank entered,into a third type of loan with

Constructors of Florida, Inc., in the original face amount

of approximately $442,000.00. A mortgage was executed

by Constructors of Florida, Inc., dated November 14, 1956,.

which was securell by a second equipment lien on much

of the equipment which had been covered by the first

mortgages of July, 1956, and with the addition of some

“minor pieces of equipment that had not been previously

mortgaged. In addition thereto, as the main security, Con-

structors of Florida, Inc., assigned to The Coral Gables

First National Bank the proceeds of the contractual pay-

, ments from the City of West Palm Beach sewer contract.

This mortgage was duly recorded and consent was ob-

tained from the American Surety Company, as well as

from the City of West Palm Beach.

The Pan American. Bank of. Miami, a Florida banking

institution, which with The Coral Gables First National

Bank was a member of the Federal Reserve System of the

United States, took a participation under a separate agree-

ment under the rules and regulations of the Federal Re-

serve Board and the Coniptroller of Currency, as super-

visor of ‘national banks, for approximately 55% of the third

loan and a slightly higher percentage of the first two

. chattel mortgages of July, 1956. There was no assign-

ment of any title of the mortgages or liens held by the

National Bank. The: participation of the State Bank un-

der the separate contract on the November 14, 1956, mort-

gage was not tered into until several weeks after No-

vember 14, 1956.% The National Bank had made the initial

loans and held title to all three mortgages. In March,

1957, the National Bank; pursuant to the terms of the

third. mortgage of November 14, 3956, contended that

there had been a.default in that mortgage and also that

there was a default for non-payment of certain install-

ment payments on the July, 1956, mortgages. The American

Surety Company took over the control and possession of

Constructors of Inc., on or about March 15, 1957,

and the stock o Constructors of Florida, Inc., was assigned

to certain designated representatives of the Surety Com-

5

pany. The November 14, 195g mortgage and notes were

then renegotiated and certain new trust agreements wer@

entered into under whith the payments from all three

mortgages were paid under the trust agreement to The e

Coral Gables First National Bank, as trustee, which in

turn under the contract was to make distribution on a

certain prorata basis of the sums collected from the City

of West Palm Beach contract. This was the first instance

where the proceeds of the West Palm Bach sewer con-

tract were pledged as additional security for the first two

mortgages, as well as for the third mortgage of November °

14, 1956. Constructors of Florida, Inc., through its con-

trol by the Surety Company, continued on the construc-_ mek

tion work and certain payments were made through June,

1957. No payments were made by the City of West Palm

: Beach directly to The Coral Gables First National Bank

Ras pursuant to that trust after June, 1957, but the payments

| were made diréctly by the City of West Palm Beach to

Constructors of Florida, Inc., for use by the Surety Com-

Pany in the completion of the sewer contract.

= In September, 1957, the National Bank instituted a

eke ae Circuit Court of Dade County, Florida, to tore-

close all three mortgages. The Pan American Bank of

Miami had been joined as a co-party plaintiff because of

the requirements of the Federal Comptroller's regulations

- governing the protection of participation interests with a

national bank where the loan was in default under Comp-

troller of Currency Ruling 1135A. There was no claim “

by the Pan American Bank that it held any title or legal

hi

me 6 +

who had been officers of Constructors of Florida, Inc., and

who had endorsed or guaranteed the payments. The Cir-

cuit Court of Dade County, Florida, was the State Court

of genera) jurisdiction.

The procedure was for the purpose of foreclosing the

lien of the National Bank on the equipment, as well as

cabs for the purpose éf seeking an accounting and impressing

a lien or judgment against American Surety Company

and/or the City of West Palm Beach on the proceeds of

the West Palm Beach sewer contract, the proceeds of

which were claimed to have been wrongfully diverted

from the National Bank. Application for the appointment

of a State Court receiver had been filed but had not been

presented to the Circuit Judge for a because within

a very ‘short time after the suit was fil& an involuntary

petition in Bankruptcy had been filed in the United States

District Court, Southern District of Florida, and a federal

Bankruptcy receiver had been appdinted, to-wit: John

Nicholas, who held possession and custody of all of the

assets, including the mortgaged equipment. The receiver

i and Constructors of Florida, Inc., through the receiver,

filed an answer in the State Court proceedings contending

that the National Bank had exacted usury in the loan

_ Of November 14, 1956. There was no claim of usury inter-

\"_gased by anyone with reference to the two chattel mort-

gage loans of July, 1956.

- Upon the filing of the claim for usury in the State

Court against the National Bank, the National Bank im-

mediately filed motions to strike or dismiss those portions 4

of the answer which set up usury against the National

Bank, because such a procedure for claiming usury against

a national bank by way of counterclaim in an equity fore-

| closure action by a national bank was prohibited by the

° . ‘provisions of the Federal Statutes, Title 12, U.S.C.,.§§ 85,

.

; ‘ > b£

7

and 86; Ait was contended at the outset that the only

remedy permitted for a suit by way of claim of usury

against a national bank was first of all limited to either

a forfeiture of the interest not yet paid, or for double the

amount of the interest actually paid, and it was claimed

that the State Court first-had no jurisdiction to entertain

any action by a borrower-against a national bank except

strictly in the amount of claim permitted under the

statute and in procedure which called for a separate action

in the nature of debt where only two parties could be in-

volved—one the borrower and the other the national bank.

- The claim of the National Bank was based upon the -

controlling opinion of this Court in the case of McCollum v.

Hamilton National Bank, 303 U.S. 245, 58 S. Ct. 568, 82 L.

Ed. 819. The State Court and counsel for the defendants

in that case, while admitting that the McCollum case had

laid down such a rule in the construction of the Statute,

Title 12, U.S.C., §§ 85 and 86,-and that those principles of

law and the determination of the restfictive jurisdiction,

both as to amount and procedure, such a counter-

claim in an equity suit, yet the Constructors of

Florida, Inc., contended that the opinion in the McCollum

case (which was issued by this Court in 1938) was based

" upon facts which arose before the adoption of the Federal

Rules of Civil Procedure which authorized compulsory

counterclaims, and that the Federal Rules of Civil Pro-

cedure established a new doctrine of substantive law rather

than mere adjéctive law, and superseded or by implication

amended the exclusive statutory provisions and remedies

_in Title 12, U.S.C., §§ 85 and 86. It was pointed out to

the Circuit Court of Dade County, Florida, that the

United States Court of Appeals for the Tenth Cifcuit, in

the,case of John R. Alley & Co. vy. Federal National Bank

of vee, Oklahoma, a 1942 decision, 124 F. 2d 995, had

held that such an amendment had been created by’ the

adoption of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, and while

, that was the only case of any appellate Court, state or

federal, the Circuit Court of Dade County, Florida, applied

that doctrine and ruled that the procedure by way of

counterclaim in the equity foreclosure action in said Court

‘could be carried on under the provisions of the Florida

Rules of Civil Procedure concerning compulsory counter-

claims, notwithstanding the strict prohibition as to proce-

dure and jurisdiction of any Court, state or federal, covering

both the procedure and the amount of a claim for recovery

of usury. ; . --

The National Bank continued this same objection as to .

jurisdiction and power of the Circuit Court of Dade County,

Florida, to. entertain these counterclaim procedures for

usury against a national bank in this.-manner and form

and in this amount throughout every stage of the procedure.

This same objection was made not only in the State Court,

but it was made in the various appellate Courts of Florida,

and in two instances by a petition for certiorari to this

‘The ‘amount of the usury award and the procedure

was discussed in certain cases by the State Court in The

Coral Gables First National Bank v. Constructors of Florida,

Fla. App. 119 So. 2d 741, certiorari denied 123 So. 2d 349

(S. Ct. Fla.), certiorari denied in this Court, 365 US. 811,

o 81S. Ct. 690, 5 L. Ed. 2d 691. These cases are mentioned ae

in the opinion by the United States Court of Appeals,

Fifth Circuit, in the reported case to which certiorari is ~

sought, on page 596 of the reported opinion. In addition,

there were other cases in the State Court which the United

States Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit, did not even men-

‘tion in its opinion (see opinion of District. Court of Ap-

peal of Florida, Third District, 132 So. 2d 806, and denial

of certiorari to the Supreme Court of Florida, September 26,

a

me ——

f

9

1961, 133 So. 2d 319). A second petition for certiorari was

filed in this Court on the 21st day of December, 1961, and

certiorari denied March 5, 1962, 369 U.S. 813, 82 S. Ct. 687.

In the meantime, in November, 1958, after the Circuit Court

of Dade County, Florida, had rendered its decree of July,

1958, upholding a large usury claim in an amount com-

pletely excessive of the amounts provided for in the Fed-

eral Statutes, 12 US.C., §§ 85 and 86, and in which the

said State Court had upheld the right to enforce usury by

way of counterclaim under the doctrine of the R. H. Alley

& Co. case, supra, and while an appeal was pending under

supersedeas, Constructors of Florida, Inc., filed a volun-

tary Chapter X Reorganization proceeding in the United

‘States District Court, Southern District of Florida. ‘That

Court took fyll jurisdiction of all‘of the physical assets

of Constructors of Florida, Inc., including title, possession

and custody of the chattel equipment under the mortgages,

and proceeded to liquidate the actual “tangible personal

property by having an open sale in April, 1959. After the

sale of those tangible assets in April, 1959, The Coral

Gables First National Bank purchased the assets ‘on a

credit bid, so that the Circuit Court of Dade County,

Florida, had no jurisdiction in any way over those tangible

assets. The District Court of Appeal of Florida,

District, on March 22, 1960, rendered its opinion on

initial appeal from the judgment and decree of July :

‘and made a substantial reversal of certain of the

of the July, 1958, decree. Not satisfied with the decision

the Banks then pursued an attempted certifearl prosend-

ing to the Supreme Court of Florida, and when that Court

in September, 1960, denied certiorari without taking ju-

risdiétion, a petition was then filed in this Court on De-

cember 1, 1960, which was denied in February, 1961, 365 ©

US. 811, 81 S. Ct. 690, 5 L. Ed. 2d 691. The supersedeas

had been extended so that there was nothing final in the

10

State Court litigation until after this Court in February,

1961, denied the petition for certiorari. It was contended

that the litigation was then back for reconsideration for

new proceedings in the State Court, and the Chapter X

Reorganization Court was required to take over all pend- 4

ing litigation. Such an application for an injunction was |

made to the United States District Court, Southern Dis-

trict of which denied the injunction; but with cer-

tain tions requiring that the proceeds of any judg-

> ments for usury in the State Court be forthwith paid over

to John Nicholas, as Trustee in the Reorganization proceed- @

ings. In April, 1961-(see Tr. p. 201), the Circuit Court of |

Dade County, Florida, entered a modified decree, and as a

part of that amended decree, in paragraph 3, the Circuit

Court of Dade County, Florida, found that there were due

to The Coral Gables First National Bank,. et al., certain

sums of principal and interest on the loans of July 25 and

“July 24, 1956, and then ruled: “but the mortgages al-

legedly securing said loans are not enforceable as said

Banks are not in equity with clean hands.” In the very |

next sentence the Court said: “The Court does not deter- §

mine whether or not said loans are now in default inas |

much as the United States District Court for the Southern

District of Florida, in the proceedings for the reorganiza-

tion of Constructors of Florida, Inc. has assumed juris-

diction of said claims.”

It is true that in other parts of that decree (see Tr.

201) the Circuit Court of Dade County, Florida, in compli-

ance with the ruling of the Appellate Court of Florida,

reduced the interest penalties for usury from the sum of

several hundred thousand dollars, found in the decree of

. July, 1958, to about $80,000.00, yet that amount under the

\ provisions of the Federal Statutes could not have amounted |

: - to more than twice $11,500.00, which was interest actually ,

‘. paid. The Banks took an immediate-appeal, but without

‘ ®

|

11

, Supersedeas, to the Supreme Court of Florida by applying .

for a writ of certiorari, and also took an appeal to the

United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, which

resulted in the opinion of the Fifth Circuit, 299 F. 2d 736.

The amount of something over $400,000.00 in penalties was

- _ paid to the Trustee in the Reorganization proceedings, and

said funds are still on hand with the Trustee in the said

Reorganization proceedings.

The Stete Court proceedings on appeal, which were

ignored by the United States. Court of Appeals for the

Fifth Circuit in its last opinion, consisted of procedures in

the Supreme Court of Florida by certiorari, which was

denied, and then by a new’ petition for certiorari in this -

Court filed in December, 1961, which was denied by this

Court on the 5th day of March, 1962, 82 S. Ct. 687. Facts

and opinion referred to Florida Appellate 132 So. 2d 806,

Florida Supreme Court 133 So. 2d 319.

After this Court in March, 1962, denied the writ of

certiorari, then for the first time proceedings were activated

in the United States District Court, Southern District of

Florida, in the Chapter X reorganization. Objections to

the various claims had been made in 1959 and all parties _

had agreed that the hearings in the United States District ©

Court on the objections would not be heard or the issues

determined until the then pending procedures in the State -

Appellate Court had been determined. None of the parties,

to-wit: the Trustee, the Banks or the Surety Company, in

the plan of reorganization ever stipulated or agreed that

they would be bound in the Federal Court by the deter-

mination of the State-Court procedures. The Trustee has

made no such contention, and while thefe is an inference

from the last opinion by the United States Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit that such was the ease, that is not

borne out by the Record (see-Tr. pp.'91-94). (For a de-

12

tailed: discussion of this point see Petition for Rehearing,

pages 18 and 19, App. C, p. AlS),

There were many factors in the State Court litigation

and several parties involved who were not primarily in-

volved in the reorganization proceedings. The National

Bank had persisted in continued objections to the jurisdic-

tion of the Circuit Court of Dade County, Florida in its at-

tempt to entertain a cbunterclaim for usury in the State

Court foreclosure proceedings. That point had been_as-

signed as one of the errors in the lower State Court ‘and© >

had not been disposed of by the Florida Appellate Court.

The stipulation of the Banks, as above referred to in the

Record, did not contain any consent that it, the National

Bank, would accept the jurisdictional deterntination by the

State Court of its claim of jurisdiction in view of the spe-

cific language to the contrary in the Federal Usury Stat-

ute, 12 US.C.A., §§ 85 and 86. The plan itself did not

make any such requirement and these rights were all re-

served by all parties. This point is one of the fundamental

errors which we say was committed by the United States

Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit in the last opinion.

r The Record is clear that after March, 1962, and after

’ all appellate procedure had been concluded, both in the

Supreme Court of Florida and in this Court on the applica-

tion for petition for certiorari, the Trustee and his counsel,

John H. Gunn, then set down for argument and disposition

the various objections which had been filed by the Trustee

to the claims of American Surety Company and the claims

of the Banks, and the objections of the Banks to the claims

of American Surety Company had also been set down. The

Record does not disclose that the Trustee took the posi-

tion that the Banks had waived any right of further contest

because of the ct of the State Court litigation. The

issues were before the Referee, sitting as Special

13

Master, in the first instance and then before the District

Judge on these issues. The District Judge himself pro-

ceeded to determine the issues in the light of the mandate _

and opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Fifth Circuit in the decision in 299 F. 2d 736. These issues

were d ed after lengthy litigation and the opinion

and judgment of the United States District Court, Southern

District of Florida, was entered on December 20, 1963,

which is referred to in the Record and a copy of which is

‘attached hereto as‘ Appendix E, page A44. The United

States District Judge undertook this lengthy trial under

‘the provisions of the opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals, Fifth Circuit, 299 F. 2d 736 (see text p. 740), in

which that Court in note 16 said: —

“As in note 15, supra, we likewise expressly disavow

any purpose here to indicate any view on the extent

to which, if any, the State Court judgment is to de-

termine priorities, enforcement of security by the

Banks, or other creditors, or the Jike. Although the

Bankruptcy Court refused to enjoin execution on

the State Court judgment, the funds received by the Re-

ceiver are now, and will remain, subject to the sole con-

Pere cere

It is clear that.in April, 1961, when the State Court

entered its second decree, it did not have any jurisdiction of

any kind over the chattel mortgages of July, 1956, nor of

any of the chattels or equipment used as security for any

. of the three’ mortgages, with the exception of the claim

‘against American Surety Company and the City of West

Palm Beach. ‘In brief, in ‘the order of the District Court

since all of these assets had been for a number of years

in the Reorganization Court and had been sold and dis.

posed of; there could be no judgment of the Circuit Court

-®f Dade County, Florida, that could control the disposition

of the lien of those two-July, 1956, mortgages. In our

‘

©

14

‘opinion the District Court properly held that the so-called

‘doctrine of “clean hands” which would prevent the fore-

closure of those mortgages in the State Court against cer-

‘tain équipment would not determine any question of ulti-

‘mate title or lien on the assets and could not in any way

‘bind the District Court of the United States in the Re-

organization proceedings. Therefore, as a result of the pro-

ceedings in the United States District Court and under the

authority granted to it by the Appellate Court in the opin-

ion, 299 F. 2d 736, both the United States Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit and the subsequent opinion by the

United States District Judge specifically held that there

could be no doctrine of res judicata with reference to some

$131,000.00 as to the specific liens on the chattels which |

had always been in the possession of the Bankruptcy Court, —

either in the involuntary bankruptcy of 1957, or the subse-

quent Chapter X proceedings which began in 1958.

It was pointed. out in the opinion of the United States

District Court that the law of Florida, as well as the de-

cisions of various Federal Courts, clearly held that the mere

-refusal of a State Court to enforce a claim on the doctrine

of unclean hands could not act as a forfeiture of the lien

claims which were definitely fixed by- state law, and it was

the duty of the Court to enforce both the claim and the

liens of the mortgages in the Bankruptcy Court against the

assets in the Bankruptcy Court over which the Bankruptcy

Court had had jurisdiction at all times.

The United States District Court also pointed out that

since these other decisions of the State Court had been

rendered this Court had decided the case of Southern Con-

‘struction Company v. Pickard, 371 U.S. 57, 83 S. Ct. 108.

This case involved the determination. by this Court that

where a statute of the Congress,:such as the. Miller Act; de-

fined and oreated the rights of contractors or claimants un-

‘

15

der a Miller Act bond and also specified the exclusive

method of remedy and enforcement, that the law was final

and exclffsive and no Courts under the guise of rules of

procedure had the jurisdiction to go beyond and in con- —

tradiction of the specific sections on the matter of proce-

dure, venue and jurisdiction. Under the doctrine of this

case the original theory of the Tenth Circuit in the Alley

case, supra, was completely exploded, so that the question

of jurisdiction of the State Court to entertain suits against

a national bank for usury by way of counterclaim was def-

initely held in effect to be improper and without jurisdic-

tion. The District Judge in his opiniofi also specifically

pointed out that this Court in the case of Mercantile Na-

tional Bank at Dallas v. Langdeau, 83 S. Ct. 520, 371 U.S.

555, and in the case of Michigan National Bank v. Robin-

son, 83 S. Ct. 914, 373 U.S. 591,-had revitalized and clarified

the provisions of Title 12, U.S.C.A., §§ 85, 86 through 94,

and that all of the provisions of these protective statutes

pertaining to suits against national banks were still in force

and effect and had not been changed by implication. The

Mercantile National Bank of Dallas case involved suits

against the Republic National Bank of Dallas for fraud

claims in the 98th District Court of Travis County, Texas.

' Notwithstanding the venue provisions of the Texas Regula- .

-tory and Procedural Laws, this Court said that these na-

tional banks: under Federal Statutes specifying the place

- where proceedings may be had against federal associations

could be sued only in the county wHfére the national bank

is located, whether the suits are filed in a Federal Court

or a State Court. It held that the action in a State Court

could not be brought unless that State Court was sitting

in the county in which the bank had its principal place of

business, 3 5

In the Michigan National Bank case.above referred to,

372 U.S. 591, there was an actual claim for usury in certain

~

16: a

transactions in Nebraska, and subsequent suits in the Dis-

trict Court of Lancaster County, Nebraska, affirmed by the

- Nebraska Supreme Court upholding the doctrine that the

state law would control as to venue and procedure. In this

case on appeal this Court in applying the doctrines of Title

12, US.C., § 94, and Title 12, U.S.C., § 86, said that the

United States Statutes as to the procedure in usury claims

against a national bank had to be strictly applied and were

exclusive and controlled over any so-called concept of the

state laws.

Therefore, summarizing the questions presented, they

« May be briefly stated, as follows: -*

(1) Under the provisions of Statute 5198, of which 12

' US.C.A. §§ 85 and 86, are a part, does any court,

‘state or federal, in an action by a national bank to

foreclose chattel mortgages haye the right, juris-

diction or power to entertain a claim of usury as a

counterclaim to that foreclosure action, or must

the jurisdiction and power of that court, or any

o other court, be limited to entertain a suit by the

person who has paid usurious interest in an action

in the nature of an action of debt?

(2) Even in an action in the nature of an action for debt

as specifically recognized and authorized under the

decision of this court in McCollum v. Hamilton

’ National Bank, 303_U.S. 245, 58 S. Ct. 568, 82 L. Ed.

this

the United States and has it always been tle

of the United States since it was rendered in

1938, so as to make null and void the

in the State Court of Florida in the case at bar?

9

Pa

H]

(3)

17

Has the national bank in this case been denied the

protection of the Fourteenth Amendment of the

United States Constitution, in that by certain state

processes it has been deprived of its property with-

out due process of law and has been denied by the

State Courts of Florida the equal protection of the

laws which are guaranteeed to it by the Acts of

LR TING SRT SI LO © ROLE

(4)

ne ieee

:

ii

i

is a ee ee

under Title 12, U.S.C.A., § 85 and 86, any suit for

Suny’ geuitics Geum ahas% ‘bank of an

nature is restricted to a suit in the

affirmative

nature of an action for debt by the borrower against

the national bank, in which suit the bank

is en- -

titled to a jury trial, and where the extent of the

claim is restricted to a claim for the amount

of the usurious interest paid, can any court, state

or federal, grant a claim in excess of the amount

limited by the Act of Congress on the alleged

usurious third mortgage and at the same time enter

which are not even in contest, as an ~

penalty which would be binding upon a Chapter X

or bankruptcy court which at all times had posses-

ceedings? .

- (5) In this circumstance does the State Court have any

jurisdiction under the doctrine of unclean hands to -

pass a judgment which is res judicata upon a reor-

court so as to preclude the

ganization bankruptcy

district judge of the United States Court in the re-

organization

terest, of the liens against the proceeds of the bank-

ruptcy sales? (Note: All of the money, some

- $400,000.00, as a result of the executions in the

through its Trustee in the Reorganization proceed-

ings and have not been distributed or expended.)

The United States District Judge in the decree and

judgment of December 20, 1963, had separately or-

dered that this fund of $131,000.00, plus interest, in

rEitEt

ia

if

H.

i ae

il

E

i

i

:

‘

FAN

(6) Where usury is claimed against a national bank

in a Florida Circuit Court in ordinary foreclosure

on an original mortgage loan of $442,200.00, and

where only $11,500.00 was paid by the borrower for

interest, does any court, state or federal, under the

restrictive terms of Section 5198, also known as

12 US.C.A., $§ 85 and 86, have the jurisdiction or

power to render a judgment based solely upon

claim of usury, the effect of which is t6 wipe ou

the balance of a principal claim of $282,000.00, and

2

STATUTES AND CONSTITUTIONAL

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

(1) Amendment V, Constitution of the United States:

“No person shall be held to answer for a capital, or

otherwise infamous crime, unless on a presentment or

indictment of a grand jury, except in cases arising in the

land or naval forces, or in the militia, when in actual serv-

teh te then ot Wee ox pete Senge; Se ae

be subject for the same offence to be twice put jeopardy

of life or limb; nor shall be compelled in any criminal case

fo be a witness against himself; nor be deprived of life,

liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor shall

private property be taken for public use, without just

compensation.”

eee

20

(2) Section 1, Amendmerit XIV, Constitution of the United

St |

“All persons born or naturalized in the United

States, and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citi-

zens of the United States and of the State wherein

_they reside. No State shall make or enforce any law b

which shall abridge the privileges or immunities of citi-

zens of the United States;-nor shall any State deprive

any person of life, liberty, or property, without due .

" “process of law; nor deny to any person within its juris-

: diction the equal protection of the laws.”

- (3) Section 5198, General Statutes of the United States, Por-

tions of Which Are Involved in This Case, under Title

12, US.C.A., §§ 85 and 86: S

“§ 85. Rate of interest on loans, discounts and pur-

chases

Any association may take, receive, resefve, and

charge on any loan or discount made, or upon any.notes,

bills of exchange, or other evidences of debt, interest

at the rate allowed by the laws of the State, Territory,

or District where the bank is located, or at a rate of

1 per centum in excess of the discount rate on ninety-

day commercial paper in effect at the Federal reserve

bank in the Federal reserve district where the bank is

located, whichever may be the greater, and no more,

except that where by the laws of any State a different

te is limited for banks organized under State laws,

the rate so limited shall be allowed for associations or-

_ ganized or existing in any such State under this chapter.

When no rate is fixed by the laws of the State, or

Territory, or District, the bank may take, receive, re-

serve, or charge a rate not exceeding 7 per centtim, or

1 per centum in excess of the discount rate on ninety-

- day commercial paper in effect at the Federal reserve

bank in the Federal reserve district where the bank is

located, whichever may be the greater, and such in-

terest may be taken in advance, reckoning the days for

~’ which the note, bill, or other evidence of debt has to

—s

21

run. The maximum amount of interest or discount to

be charged at a branch of an association located out-

side of the States of the United States and the/District —

of Columbia shall be at the rate allowed by the laws {

of the country, territory, dependency, province, domin-

ion, insular possession,’ or other political subdivision

where the branch is located. And the purchase, dis-

count, or sale of a bona fide bill of exchange, payable

at another place than the place of such purchase, dis-

count, or sale, at not more than the current rate of ex-

change for sight drafts in addition to the interest, shall

not be considered as taking or ren 5 ape rate

of interest.”

§ 86. Usurious interest; penalty for taking; limitations .

The taking, receiving, reserving, of charging a rate

of interest greater than is allowed by the preceding |

section, when knowingly done, Shall be deemed a

forfeiture of the entire interest which the note, bill, or

other evidence of debt carried with it, or which has

been agreed to be paid thereon. In caséthe greater rate

of interest has been paid, the person by whom it has op

been paid, or his legal representatives, may Tecover /

back, in an action in the nature of an action of debt, |

twice the amount of the interest thus paid from the -

association taking or receiving the same: Provided,

That such action is commenced within two years from

the time the usurious transaction occurred.”

(4) U.S.C.A., Title 12, § 1, which authorizes the crea-

tion of the Bureau of the Comptroller of Currency for na-

tional banks, and U.S.C.A., Title 12, § 21, authorizing the

creation of national banks through the operation of the

Comptroller of Currency, which creates a complete system

for not only the establishment by the Government of na-

‘ tional banks a8 distinct and separate from any power of

State Courts or the laws of the States in interference with

the operation and control, except as it may be permitted

by Congress (Deitrick v. Greaney, 309 U.S. 190, 60 S. Ct.

480, 84 L. Ed. 694). |

”

22 -/

1 am? COMPTROLLER OF CURRENCY —

“1135A. Sale of loan participations to other banks on

a ‘last in-first out’ basis.

The sale of a participation in a loan to another

bank (usually the sale of the ‘overline’ or legally ex-

. cessive portion of a loan) under an arrangement

whereby the placed portion of the debt must first be

subordinates the interest of the selling

’ bank. It is unsound to place the selling bank in a posi-

tion whereby any loss that may occur on the entire

pose BSG opera bad pace Farge! tees

tion must be borne by it, and ‘overline’

* the intent and purpose of RS. $200 woul be nullified

under an agreement having this effect. To avoid this

possibility, participation arrangements giving to one of

the participating banks an earlier maturity or prefer-

ence with respect to payment of the obligation(s) in

the regular course Uf business, should provide that in

_the event of default. (interest and/or principal pay-

ments “past due and unpaid for such period as the

participants may by agreement determine) on the loan,

* the appointment of a receiver, or bankruptcy of the

borrower, the participating banks shall share in all sub-

sequent loan payments and collections in proportion to

the percentage of participation held by each bank at the

time of the default, the appointment of a receiver, or

bankruptcy. With respect to participations in real es-

tate loans see Paragraph 2715.”

e

STATEMENT

In the statement of questions involved and the refer-

ences to the various opinions. we have set forth in detail

- the steps taken in the Courts of Florida, the timely objec-

tions made and the proceedings in the United States Dis-

trict Court, Southern District’ of Florida, in both the in-

voluntary bankruptcy of Constructors of Florida, Inc.,

which began in October, 1957, and the subsequent proceed-

ings in the voluntary Chapter X Reorganization proceeding

which began in the early part of November, 1958. *

As the result of the questioned procedure beginning

in the Circuit Court of the Eleventh Judicial Circuit in and

for Dade County, Florida, in Chancery, in September, 1957,

the National Bank sought only to foreclose a,mortgage on

chattels. The chief defendant was Constructors of Florida,

Inc., a Florida corporation. There was no diversity of

citizenship. The chattels were present in Florida. Relief

was sought against the City of West Palm Beach, a Florida

municipality, and against the American Surety Company

of New York, which was authorized to do business in the

State of Florida. There were numerous individual defend-

ants who had endorsed or guaranteed the various notes se-

cured by the mortgages. The Chancery Courts, or equity

Courts as they are called in Florida, are for the purpose,

among other things, of foreclosing certain liens, jurisdiction

of which is fixed in the Constitution of Florida and by the

statutes. There are no jury trial systems used in Florida

in the Chancery or equity side of the Court.

Shortly after the equity foreclosure suit had been

‘started an involuntary petition for bankruptcy had been

filed by outside creditors against Constructors of Florida,

me 24

Ine, ed ahah tt th sinitega) eens A reaivel te

Bankruptcy was appointed pending the question of adjudi-

cation. That receiver, together with the Constructors of_

Florida, Inc., principals, filed an answer in the nature of a

counterclaim, claiming an action affirmatively against the

National Bank for usury. At that stage of the procedure,

as we have heretofore set forth, the National Bank raised

the question by motions to strike and dismiss the counter-

claims, setting forth §§ 85 arid 86, U.S.C., Title 12, in which

the question was squarely presented that even though the

foreclosure could continue in the State Court against the

chattels, Constructors of Florida, Inc., had no right to raise

the question of affirmative usury in that proceeding; that

it was relegated to a separate suit in the nature of an action

for debt where the only issues to be involved would be a

claim by Constructors of Florida, Inc., or its receiver, on

the one hand, as plaintiff, and the National Bank as defend-

ant. A jury trial was allowed and was mandatory in such

a case under the Florida law which has maintained a sepa-

ration between equity and law actions. Even where only

the cause of action is maintained under the Federal Rules

of Civil Procedure, yet where the issue is one that was

- triable in a law action with a jury, before the adoption

of the rules the right to a trial by a jury was preserved

(see Black, Trustee v. Boyd, U.S.C.A. 6, 1957, 248 F. 2d

156. See also Beacon Theaters, Inc. v. LA me ocaal 359 US.

500, 79 S. Ct. 948).

The question was also raised that since there was only

an actual payment of interest on the mortgage of November

' 14, 1956, of $11,500.00, the total claims under Title 12,

US.C.A., § 86, would be limited to a claim of double that

amount. It was pointed out that the relief sought, which

called for forfeiture of principal and excessive interest re-

payments and other penalties under the Florida statutes,

was not applicable and that the Circuit Court of Dade

‘25 *

County, Florida, while having jurisdiction for the fore-

‘closure of the lien of the mortgages did not have any right

or jurisdiction in face of the federal statutes to enter-

tain such an action. Notwithstanding this plain objection

the Circuit Court of Dade County, Florida, proceeded,

which ultimately resulted in a usury penalty exaction wip-

ing out the principal of the National Bank’s claim and ex-

acting affirmative damages in excess of $400,000.00. That

Court also attempted to hold that certain mortgages which

were not involved in the usury feature could not be en-

forced in the equity Court of the State of Florida because

the Bank was in equity with unclean hands,

As we have heretofore pointed out, all of the tangible

personal property had heen seized by the Bankruptcy

Court under its receiver and that property was never under

the control or legal custody. of the Circuit Court of Dade

‘County, Florida. .

In the fall of 1958, there was a voluntary petition for

reorganization filed by Constructors of Florida, Inc. The

‘technical difference that was brought about by ‘the ap-

proval of the Chapter.X Reorganization petition was that

the trustee in Chapter X was then vested not only with

possession and custody, but full title to all of the assets of

Constructors of Florida, Inc. Claims were filed by the Na-

tional Bank in the Chapter X proceedings and a tentati =

allowance in the amount of approximately $282,000.00 on

its three mortgages was entered.

Was Waris Coast Wee eal cemebiad bn'o acres ta

the Circuit Court of Dade County, Florida, on June 26, 1958,

amended on July 2, 1958, and a complete and full super-

sedeas bond had been filed pursuant to an appeal from that

decree to the District, Court of. Appeal of Florida, Third

District. That Court, the appellate Court,-did not. make

"any ruling until March, 1960, when there was a decree par-

26

tially in affirmance and partially in reversal on certain -

points. Prior thereto, in April, 1959, the United States Dis-

trict Court, sitting as a Reorganization Court, ordered a sale

of all of the tangible property. This property was sold and

the proceeds of that sale were held under the supervision ¢

of the United States District Court in the name of the

trustee for the entry of proper orders of distribution.

_ After the decree based upon the mandate of the

Florida Appellate Court was entered in April, 1960, the mat-

ter was again appealed, but as a result of the judgment of

boar 1960, no supersedeas was granted and the trustee in

ptcy was paid new money in the sum of approxi-

mately $400,000.00, which was then taken over by the trus-

tee in the Chapter X proceedings and that fund, together

-with the proceeds of the original sale in 1959, in the orig-

inal amount of $106,000.00, plus irterest, is still held in the

trustee’s account under the supervision of the United States

District Court in the reorganization proceedings. Other

features of the background of the litigation have been dis-

cussed by the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth

- Circuit in its opinion, 299 F. 2d 736, and later in the opin-

ion of the United States District Judge, dated December 20,

1963, a copy of which is attached to this petition as

Appendix E, page A44. Other features were discussed in

* the opinion, the review of which is now sought, by the

United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth. Circuit, 349

F. 2d 595. '

As the result of the last opinion by the United States 3

Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit these penalties ex-

acted by the State Court have been upheld without any

retrial of the issues in the Federal Court insofar as the

distribution of money is concegned. There has never

been any trial in any action brought by Constructors of

Florida, Inc., romepete or the trustee, Oy rer entity

21°

visions of Title 12, U.S.C.A,, §§ 85 and 86. The provisions

of the mandatory law of the United States through the

Acts of Congress have been ignored. The actual errors

in the opinion of the United States Court of Appeals, Fifth

Circuit, have been specifically pointed out in the petition

for rehearing, which for the sake of brevity we refer to,

_a copy of which opinion is attached hereto as Appendix

C, page A15. |

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

‘

I.

The Courts of Florida, as well as the United Sta

District Court, Southern District of Florida, .and

- United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, have

failed or refused to give any consideration of or weight

to the mandatory and exclusive provisions of Title 12,

U‘S.C.A., §§ 85 and 86, in the allowance of certain exorbi-

tant claims in the nature of penalties and forfeitures ‘against

a national bank.

I.

The United States Court_of Appeals for the Fifth

Circuit in its opinion, 349 F. 2d 595, has rendered an opin-

-ion which is in conflict with the decisions of this Court

in the cases of McCollum v. Hamilton National Bank, 303

U.S. 245, 58 S. Ct. 568, 82 L. Ed. 819; Mercantile National

Bank at Dallas v. Langdeau, 371. U.S, 555, 83 S. Ct. 521;

Michigan National Bank v. Robinson, 372 U.S. 511, 83 S.

Ct. 914; Republic National Bank of Dallas v. Langdeau,

371 US. 555, 83 S. Ct. 521; Southern Construction Company

v. Pickard, 371 U.S. 57, 83 S. Ct. 108. The opinjon of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit is

also in conflict with the 6pinion of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit in the case of Schumacher

v. Lawrence, 108 F. 2d 576. The controlling subject

matter of the federal opinion, beginning with the McCollum

case and the Schumacher case, is as follows, and we quote

from page 570 of the McCollum case, 58 S. Ct. 568, where

this Court said: . Se a

“One paying a national bank usurious interest and

entitled to enforce the penalty may not cia be it

by way of set-off in a suit brought upon his note to

: SARE. »” |

F «

at

Il ’ d ¢

When a Chapter X Reorganization Court has obtained

moneys through the process of a State Court, which said

‘Cot was acting under a procedure prohibited by the

federal law in an action against a national bank and now

over $500,000.00 of funds received from the“hational

by way of usury penalties, is that Chapter X Reor-

ganization Court to be permitted to disburse those moneys

which are claimed to have been wrongfully extracted and,

therefore, wrongfully held by the trustee when the said

United States District Court has not of itself determined

the equitable issues? We respectfully say that this Court

should grafit this writ so as to determine whether a

Federal Court sitting in reorganization proceedings is en-

titled to make disbursements of money which it has re-

ceived in contravention of and in non-compliance’ with the

federal fequirements, to the end that it is aiding and abet-

ting in the disbursement of funds which have been col-

lected by other sources without due process of law and

icc tol eto gee bury

ARGUMENT :

We are not seeking at this stage of the procedure

to have this Court on this petition for certiorari examine

the records in all of these cases and to try de novo the.

amount of usury penalties, if any, that should have been

extracted or exacted from the National Bank. That is a

matter that no Court having competent jurisdiction, in

our opinion, has ever passed upon iri the type of procedure

or suit exclusively authorized by the federal law. If the

-federal decisions—particularly the decisions of this Court

in the McCollum case, supra,”and other cases—can be

ignored, then what is the use of having a separate federal

banking system? What is the use of having rules and reg-

ulations by the Comptroller of Currency, and what is the

use of having statutory enactments by the Congress? dn

suits against a national bank for usury, if the Congress

many years ago saw fit to set up’restrictive provisions

to prevent suth a condition as resulted in this case, then

where is the protection today which Congress intended at

the inception of the creation of the Federal Banking

System? -

‘ In the opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit, 349 F. 2d 595, we have pointed out

in the petition for rehearing to that Court the many errors

which we contend were -committed by the Court, as well

as many features of -that opinion, which do not clearly

disclose the actual record and wherein the opinion is based

upon erroneous conclusions of fact as shown in the Record.

The doctrine of res judicata as so sweepingly invoked by _

the United States Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit, is not

based upon any real determination of issues determined

by a companion or éollateral State Court where that Court ~

had jurisdiction over.the subject matter. 3

A

,

senieiiaaenenenes eee 2 mn meer nearer samnerm PRIES

oo 6

An interesting and, we think, applicable case in theory

is a decision by this Court of Granville-Smith v. Granville-

Smith, 349 U.S. 1, 75 S. Ct. 553. This case was a review

of two decisions by the United States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit—the first one the case of Alton v.

Alton, 207 F, 2d 667—and the original Granville-Smith

case in the United States Court of Appeals for the Third

Circuit, 214 F. 2d 820. .These decisions involved the ju-

risdiction of certain District and Territorial Courts set up

under the Act of Congress for the Virgin Islands, Division

of St. Thomas and St. John. Divorces had been granted

by that District Court in hundreds of instances based up-

on the actions of the Territorial Assembly which had pro-

Vinee ene © Cre. Be, ees, Semmens th Snes teretesy

qualified a plaintiff to bring an action for divorce.

In the Alton case Sonia Alton, a resident of West Hart-

ford, Connecticut, went to the Virgin Islands, where she

arrived February 10, 1953. After six weeks and one day

of continuous presente there she filed a suit for divorce

on March 25, 1953. Her husband, David Alton, the de-

_ fendant, entered an appearance and waived service. The

case was referred to a Commissioner, who recommended

that the plaintiff be granted a divorce. When the cause’

came on to be heard before the judge of the District Court,

that judge questioned the evidence as to domicile. The

District Judge entered a judgment denying ‘the divorce

and the plaintiff appealed to the United — Court of

Appeals, Third District.

In the Granville-Smith case, 214 F. 2d 820, involving

a similar set of facts, the United States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit relied upon its decision in the Alton

case, 207 F. 2d 667, and, affirmed. The basis for the de-

cision in the Alton case which was relied tpon was that

notwithstanding the act of te Territorial Assembly and

. = -_-

31

the passage of the divorce law and procedure thereunder

authorized and determined that a six weeks continuous

residence was sufficient to give the Court jurisdiction to

enter a divorce, yet that provision in itself did not comply

with the due process clauses of the United States Constitu-

tion as set forth in the Fifth Amendment or in what was

called the Organic Act where the Congress had authorized

the Assembly to pass certain laws for ifs own internal .

jurisprudence and procedure. The Third Circuit pointed

out that the parties can not by their consent confer ju-

risdiction of the subject matter upon a Court which does

not have authority to deal with the subject matter.

When this Court reviewed the Granville-Smith case

above mentioned, it discussed in detail the Organic Act of

1936, wherein the Congress of the United States provided

a.complete government for the Virgin Islands, including

a Legislative Assembly. Without burdening this Court at

this stage of the proceeding with all of the details of that

landmark decision, the results established that the

Congress of the United States assumed the power to

legislation over subject matter which it clearly had

right to control—and even to create in this instance—that

the granting of power or the restriction of power as con-

tained in the Congressional Act was binding. This Court

pointed out that the Congress had limited the type of

powers which the Legislative Assembly for the Virgin

Islands was granted, and held that the grant by the

Legislature did not authorize the passage of a law which

would give the District Court of the Virgin Islands the

power to accept the mere proof of a six weeks residence

‘as proof of honest intent and domicile so as to give the

District Court jurisdiction over a divorce action where

those facts and none other were established in record.

Here was a case where the Congress acted, Legisla-

tive Assembly then acted and created these which .

—-

32

had full and complete power as a matter of general ju- ~

risdiction over divorces in general, but as this Court said,

_ the Congress had not granted to the Legislative Assembly

_or to that Court the power to set up procedural standards

which were not in accord ith the fundamentais of the

United States Constitution on due process under the Fifth

Amendment or the Fourteenth Amendment.

We think it sufficient by reference to this case to show

this Court at this time and at this stage of the procedure

that where the Congress adopted a full and comprehen-

sive system for the creation and operation of national

banks as a. banking system separate and apart from state

procedure or state laws, and as a part of that act permitted

both state and federal Courts to entertain and have ju-

risdiction over usury claims against a national bank, they

had not only the power but perhaps the duty to see what

kind of usury claims could be filed, what kind of procedure

could be used, and what was the limit of the jurisdicti

grant to either the state or the federal Courts in aw: g

penalties for usury against a national bank. The Con-

gress did so in no uncertain terms.

We think the doctrine of the cases above mentioned,

together with the consideration by this Court of its own

Opinion in the case of Southern Construction Company v.

Pickard, 371 U.S. 57, 83 S. Ct. 108, should convince this

Court that this certiorari should be granted. This was a |

case involving certain conflicting claims under a Miller Act

?

suit against a contractor and surety growing ‘out of a .

federal project. The claim was made that the Miller Act,

40 U.S.C. 270b, 40 U.S.C.A. 270b, provided, and we quote

from page 109, second column of the reported decision in

ess eR Cl

“The Miller Act, ‘however, since, that: atte i

stituted under its provisions ‘shall be brought * * *

=

33

in the United States Distriet Court for any district in

which the contract was to be performed and executed

and not elsewhere * * *.’” .

Under this statute Mr. Pickard determined that he

would have to file an action for work which he had per-

formed in Tennessee in the United States District Court

for the Middle District of Tennessee and that he would

“have to file his claim for work done in Georgia in the

appropriate United States District Court there. He first

brought a suit in the United States’ District Court for the

Middle District of Georgia and then, in determining that

he was wrong in including a part of the Tennessee project

in the Georgia suit, he filed suit in Tennessee for that

portion of the work. The contention was-made that under

the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 13(a), Pickard

‘was required to file any claims or counterclaims in the

first suit brought, which would include claims for both

the Georgia and the Tennessee projects. This Court re-

versed such a holding by the United States Court of Ap-

--peals for the Sixth Circuit and said (see text, second

column, page 110):

“The requiremeht that counterclaims arising out of

the same transaction or occurrence as the opposing —

party’s claim ‘shall’ be stated in the pleadings was

designed to prevent multiplicity of actions and to

achieve resolution in a single lawsuit of all- disputes

arising out of common matters: The Rule was partic-

© utarly directed against one who failed to assert a

counterclaim in one. action and then instituted a

second action fn which that.counterclaim became the

basis of the complaint. * * *

It is readily ‘eppatent that thig policy has fib 'ap-

plication hefe. In this instance, the plaintiff-respond-

ent, who originally sought: to combine all his claims

ina single suit, correctly concluded that he was re-

od

mon to both. Under these circumstances, we‘hold that

Rule 13(a) did not compel this counterclaim to be

meds in wiketere: of the two sults the first respon-

sive pleading was filed.”

The gist of this case as applied to the facts in the

case at bar was, in our opinion, to hold that where the

Congress creating an act such as the Miller Act, created

substantive rights and provided for a special and exclu-

sive remedy,that remedy was a part of the whole sub-

stantive act and was not amended or cast aside by any

provisions of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure or any

other rules of civil procedure in any state Court.

We have never questioned on behalf of the National

Bank that Constructors of Florida, Inc., in the early fall

of 1957 could have filed a suit in the nature of an action

for debt on the law side of the Circuit Court of Dade

County;—Blorida, where Constructors of Florida, Inc., '

through its receiver, -would be the sole plaintiff and the

National Bank would be the sole defendant. The receiver

could have sought double the amount of $11,500.00, if he

, could have established before a jury sufficient facts from

* which the jury could find usury. A total claim under

the Federal -Statute, Title 12, U.S.C.A., § 86, would have

been approximately $23,000.00. This suit could have been

carried on while the suit on the equity side of the Court

could have proceeded for the foreclosure of these mort-

gages. Had.this orderly and statutory procedure been

certied on Tn Tine with the stattitory restrictions, this case

35

would not be before this Court. It was not carried on

on that basis and the results have been shocking. We

do not say that there is any evidence of bad faith or over-

reaching intentionally by the Courts of the State of Florida,

or that any real prejudice was shown against a national

bank. However, regardless of the intent, the results were

shocking and amounted to a taking and confiscation of

the National Bank’s property rights without due process

of law. We can find no other reported case within the ju-

risprudence citations of this country, either state or federal,

where such a proceeding has ever been upheld.

CONCLUSION

_ There seemed to be some confusion in the opinion of

the United States Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit, in both

of its opinions, 299 F. 2d 736, and 349 F. 2d 595, as to what

the Congress meant when it inserted in Title 12, U.S.C.A.,

§ 86, what was intended by the designation of a particular

procedure .in the nature of an action for debt, with a strict

limitation as to the amount that could be recovered. In

1 Am. Jur. 2d 558, 5 ye PG, TT Soe SNe a

action of debt, stating: \/ 9

“The common-law action of debt lies for the re-

covery of a fixed and definite sum of money or of a

‘sum of money which can be ascertained from fixed

data by computation or is capable of cee readily re-

duced to certainty.” —

The quotations from 1 eee: Soethd O00 bor chamamlans

' by the authors’ reference to 23 Jur., § 65, page 655,

under the general heading of “Forfeitures and Penalties”,

Before referring to Section 65 we will point out the state-

ments in the prior Section 64, which are as follows: :

. ©

36

“Thus, where a new-and independent obligation for a

penalty is created by a statute, the statute must be

strictly followed, and where the only remedy is by in-

dictment, and the penalty is not certain, an action for

debt will not lie as it lies upon an ordinary penal stat-

ute. The rule which excludes other remedies where a

statute creates a right and provides a special remedy

for its enforcement rests upon the teem prohibi-

tion of all other remedies.”

In the notes in support of the statement that the

penalty procedure is exclusive and prohibits all other pro-

. cedure where it is defined in the statute (see United States

~ y. Simms, 1 Cranch (U.S.) 252, 2 L. Ed. 98; United States v.

Stevenson, 215 U.S. 190, 54 L. Ed. 153, 30 S. Ct. 35.

In 23 Am. Jur., § 45, p. 637, in the last paragraph of

said section, the authors make this statement:

“The remedy by the infliction of a statutory

penalty may or may not be exclusive. When a statute

imposes a duty. where none exists before and pre-

scribes a penalty for.failure to perform it, eee

ciple is that such remedy is exclusive.” |

See also the case of Sulil Realty Corp. v. Rye Motors, Inc.,

‘Westchester County Court, January 19, 1965, 257 N. Y. S.

111. '

We submit that usury penalties were unknown at the

common law. There is no general usury legislation under

the Acts of Congress. The laws of usury in the various

states have no application to claims for usury against na-

tional banks. Congress could just as well have prohibited

any claim for usury against a national bank, regardless of

the statutory provisions of the various states. Instead of

that it created a special exclusive definition of; usury in

Title 12, US.C., § 85. It. provided for the exclusive and

only remedy and the limitation of the amount of a claim

37

for usury against a national bank. The common law action

for debt or action in the nature of debt was a specialized

type of exclusive remedy to be used only in certain par-

ticular instances. At the time of the inclusion of this stat-

utory provision by the Congress in the national banking

laws of this country there was no ambiguity about the pro-

cedure or the raaximum penalties authorized in said Act.

As we have pointed out above, Florida maintains a dual

system where law and equity actions are still separate.

We have heretofore pointed out that even in a suit in a

United States District Court where there is supposed to

be only one form of action under the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure, yet if such a suit was brought in the United

States District Court under the Federal Rules of Civil Pro-

cedure it would require the same classification and entitle

the national bank to a jury trial.

The United States District Judge determined in the

decree of December 20, 1963, that the National Bank had

. maintained its objections to the procedure in the State

Court by way of counterclaim in an equity action and to

the penalty sought to be enforced right from the inception

in every stage of the procedure. We emphasize that we

have not waived our position at any time. The United

States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit in the opinion

in 349 F. 2d 595 now under attack recognized that finding

- by the Court below, but reversed the impact of those ob-

- jections by holding that since we had raised that point in

the State Court at every stage of the procedure, it had cer-

tainly been passed upon by the State Court and, therefore,

ee ee

federal limitations was res judicata.

There have been certain opinions which have been

collected in the notes in 1 A. L. R. 3d, beginning at page

904, which have set forth and held in certain instances that

38

the venue features in Section 5198, United States Statutes,

Title 12, U.S.C.A., § 94, could be waived. The controlling

case on this point is a decision by this Court in the case

of First National Bank of Charlotte v. Morgan, 132 U:S. 141,

10 S. Ct. 37, 33 L. Ed. 282, an 1889. decision, and while

this Court said that the actions of a national bank in enter-

ing into and defending a suit in a State Court not in the

‘county of its domicile, without objecting at any time until

appellate proceedings took place, would amount to a waiver,

but ‘the editorial writers in referring to that case haye

overlooked the fact that this Court in that same opinion

said that in the absence of circumstances creating a waiver,

that statute is a fundamental restriction and that the mere

waiver of the venue situation would not give the State

Court in that particular instance jurisdiction where the

claim itself was contrary to the restrictive provisions of

the federal statutes.

"Perhaps the leading case—or at least one of the first

- applicable cases on this subject—is the case of Leonardi v.

Chase National Bank of the City of New York (U.S.C.A.

2, 1936), 81 F. 2d 19. In this case a resident of Florida

sued a national bank with its principal and central office

in the Southern District of New York. It had a branch of-

fice at Brooklyn, in the Eastern District of New York. The

‘bank appeared specially to contest the Court’s jurisdiction

and moved to set aside the service and dismiss the com-

plaint on the’ ground that the National Banking Laws spe-

cifically provided for venue of suits against national banks.

After the Judge of the Eastern District of New York denied

the bank’s motions as to venue, then the bank instead of

attempting an interlocutory appeal, which it could not do,

tried the case of the merits. Plaintiffs recovered (see 11 .

F. Supp. 85), but the appellate Court reversed. In a rather

comprehensive opinion the Court pointed out that the terms

and conditions of the Federal Statute, particularly § 86,

39

Title 12, as well as other pertinent provisions of Section

5198, was clearly a restriction on jurisdiction. It held that _

once a national bank makes 4 timely objection to jurisdic- -

tion of the Court based upon the specific limitations of the

federal act which conditionally granted jurisdiction and

that objection was overruled,.it could go ahead and try the

case on the merits without waiving or consenting to juris-

diction. This did not keep the lower Court from being re-

versed and, as was-said in this opinion,-there was no way.

in which the proceeding in the Eastern District of New York

could be maintained since the Court had “no jurisdiction”.

The case at bar presents even a stronger situation, be-

‘cause the question of the inherent lack of jurisdiction in.

the State Court was maintained throughout the entire pro-

ceedings.

The learned Judge who prepared the opinion for the

United States Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit, in holding

that the proceédings in the State Court could not be col-

laterally attacked in these ‘proceedings in the Federal Court

relied largely upon the decision from the Tenth Circuit in

Burgess v. Nail,.103 F. 2d 37, and he extracted from that

ee a quotation: ;

” “Error in determination of questions of law or fact

on which the court’s jurisdiction in particular case de-

_ pends, the court having general jurisdiction of the

cause and of the*person, is ‘error in exercise of juris-

diction’ and affords no ground for collateral attack.”

He quotes several other decisions in footnotes 2 and 3,

as shown in the reported decision, 349 F. 2d, on page 600:

We respectfully say that the citations in question are not —

in point, because it is shown in the Burgess decision: relied

upon in the opinion that while the State Court of Oklahoma

hhad. general jurisdiction over certain trusts, and even ‘in-

- volving Indian affairs, it did not have jurisdiction because

4

. 40

of the Federal Statutes to set aside the trusts. The Burgess

decision was written for the Tenth Circuit by Judge

Phillips, who was then a Judge of the Tenth Circuit. This

same Judge Phillips wrote the opinion for the United States

Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit, now in question. He was

sitting by designation in the Fifth Circuit, designated as

Senior Judge of the Tenth Circuit. His own interpretation

in the last opinion now under question of the Burgess case

opinion which he wrote in 1939, differs from the actual

wording and holding of his decision in the Burgess case.

Great stress is laid upon-the fact that the Circuit Court

of Dade County, Florida was a Court of general jurisdic-

tion and tinder the Constitution of Florida that jurisdiction

is set forth as follows (see second column, page 600, of the

reported decision):

- “*Thescircuit courts shall have exclusive original

jurisdiction in all cases in equity except such equity

jurisdiction as may be conferred on juvenile courts, in

all cases at law not cognizable by subordinate courts

os a™.

We do not question that the Circuit Court had juris-

_ diction of the. foreclosure proceedings as originally insti-

tuted. We do say, however, that the Circuit Court of

Dade County, Florida under its guise of equity power had

' no jurisdiction. under the doctrine of equity to violate the

provisions of Title 12, U.S.C.A., § 86, which only authorized

a common law suit in the nature of an action for debt on

a claim for usury against.a national bank. The Circuit

Court of Dade County, Florida is not a Court of general

‘jurisdiction in law matters, because that is determined by

-—the amount in controversy of the type of procedure in- ~

volved. gist, pa

However, there is one point now raised in this petition

to.this Court which has not heretofore been raised in the

41 a

sarin faintest taints ae sepa tad tee Miia cia

determinations. 'The moneys, whether rightfully or wrong-

fully extracted from the National Bank, are in the posses-

sion of the Federal Court sitting as a Reorganization Bank-

ruptcy Court. $400,000.00 of the money was extracted by

proceedings in the State Court under such type of proteed-

ings that were utterly barred by the Federal Statutes.

“$106,000.00, plus interest, which had always been within ©

the custody of the Federal Court, was not extracted by any

order of an affirmative nature by the equity Court of the

State of Florida. That came about solely by virtue of the

proceedings in the United States District Court.

It is, therefore, clear that we, on behalf of the Banks,

make.the contention that since the State Court had no ju-

risdiction on the usury situation although some $400,000.00

was extracted from the Banks, yet that money has come

to repose in the Federal Reorganization Court. The

$106,000.00, plus interest, has always been in the Federal

Court. It is, therefore, the error of-the Federal Court in

the disposition of these sums wrongfully extracted that we

Say the Federal Courts have committed error. The District

‘Judge fully recognized that he certainly could not be bound

‘by any orders of the State Court with reference to the

tangible property and the,limits thereon which had always

beeh under the control of the Federal Court, and he af-

firmatively ordered those sums repaid in furtherance of the

admitted valid liens of the two July, 1956, mortgages. In

addition thereto, an analysis of the opinion of the United

‘States District. Judge reflects that he felt that under the

decisions relied upon by the Banks he was not bound by

the State Court determination of issues as to the usury

claims, but that he might be bound under the construction

of the United States Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit, in the

first opinion, 299 F. 2d 736. The-United States District -

a

42

‘Court did not uphold any usury claim, nor did the United

States Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit, ever pass upon the

‘validity of that claim.

We feel that we will not be carrying out our responsi-

bility to this Court if we do not point out with utter

candor that we, as attorneys for the Banks, are concerned

with our inability to properly construe.certain language by

this Court in the opinion in the case of Gene Durfee et ux.,

Petitioners, v. Julia E. Duke, 375 U.S. 106, 84 S. Ct. 242,

a 1963 opinion. This case involved a dispute about some

border land on the southern boundary of Nebraska and the

northern boundary of Missouri. In the reported decision

of the Durfee case, 84 Supreme Court Reporter, text page

244, this Court discussed the constitutional command of full

faith and credit as implemented by Congress, to the end

that .

“judicial proceedings * * * shall have the same full

faith and credit in every court within the United

States * * * as they have by law or usage in the

ee

We further quote:

“Full faith and credit thus generally requires every

o-

State to give a judgment at least the res judicata effect.

—— the judgment would be accorded in the State

it. “By the Constitutional provision for

tok tee ok the local doctrines of res judicata,

: speaking generally, become a part of national juris-

prudence, and therefore federal questions cognizable

here.’ Riley v. New York Trust Co., 315 U.S. 343, 349,

62 S. Ct. 608, 612, 86 L. Ed. 885.”

It is then pointed out in this opinion, second column

of the text on page 244, that in mdny decisions this Court

_has held that a judgment ofa Court in one state is con-

Se ee ee

ee

43

if the Court in the first state had the power to pass upon

, the merits—had jurisdiction, that is, to render the judg-

ment. The Court quoted from Mr. Justice Bradley, as fol-

lows: »

“As Mr. Justice Bradley stated the doctrine in the lead-

ing case of Thompson v. Whitman, 18 Wall. 457, 21

L. Ed. 897, ‘we think it clear that the jurisdiction of

the court by which a judgment is rendered in any State

may be questioned in a collateral proceeding in andther

State, notwithstanding the provision of the fourth ar-

ticle of the Constitution.and the law of 1790, and not-

withstanding the averments contai in the record of |

the judgment itself.’”

While the ultimate decision by this Court in the

Durfee case would—inferentially at least—imply that

where parties.are before a state Court and the matter of

the’ state Court’s jurisdiction is litigated, regardless of

whether the state Court was right or wrong, there could

be no collateral attack, yet we do find in this Durfee case

an explicit determination that there is another rule where

the doctrines of federal preemption or — immunity

may be controlling.

Tite Coliee Geld wpens Kall ¥: Pendiabelid The U8.

433, 60 S. Ct. 343, 84 L. Ed. 370, and United States v.

United States Fidelity & Guaranty Co., 309 U.S. 506, 60 —

S. Ct. 653, 84 L. Ed. 894. We submit that these two cases

are directly applicable to the facts at bar and are con-

trolling. ,

iented Kallygens heve.sons,n,qquiition au: be the. pieoan

of the Wisconsin County Court, which had general jurisdic-

tion over mortgage foreclosures under the Wisconsin law.

The Frazier-Lemke Act enacted by Congress in the exer-

cise of its supreme power over bankruptcy denying to any

state court jurisdiction over a petitioning farmer-debtor or’

44

‘his property rendered the confirmation of a mortgage fore-

closure sale and/its enforcement without bankruptcy court’s

"consent the county court’s power, and, that when

such a decision was entered it was beyond the jurisdiction

of the Court and’ void. In headnote 4 we find this state-

ment, as announced by the Court in its opinion: ,

Headnote 4: »

“The ftates cannot, in the exercise of control over

local laws and practice; vest state courts with power

: to violate the supreme law of the land.”

Headnote 5:

fannie ensittbidiandh antie-te sepdate butt

ruptcy, Congress can limit the jurisdiction which

Sein forts has. tie hard bas eee,

re “pe ane aadinadin neciomed wala

ruptcy law.

Headnote 8:

“The language and broad policy of the Frazier-

Lemke Act conclusively show that Congress deprived

a Wisconsin county court of jurisdiction to continue or

maintain in any manner mortgage foreclosure proceed-

ings against farmer-debtors without consent, after hear-

ing, of bankruptcy court in which farmer-debtors’ peti-

tion was pending, and hence confirmation of mortgage

foreclosure sale, execution of sheriff's deed, writ of

assistance, and ejection of farmer-debtors from their

___ property, to the extent based upon county court's ac-

tions, were all unlawful.” +

Ry,

ite This Court further held in that case that such an act

deprived the County. Court, a Court of general jurisdiction,

( ra

“the jurisdiction to make any valid or binding orders in the

face of the restrictive provisions of the federal law.

The second case mentioned, United States v. United

¢

States Fidelity & Guaranty Co., raised a problem that is

somewhat similar, but not exactly on factual similarity, to j

the facts in the Kalb case. There was a reorganization —~

proceeding in the Federal District Cofft tor Missouri where

the lessee of certain coal lands of the Choctaw and

Chickasaw Nations were seeking a reorganization. Two

questions were involved in that certiorari proceeding to this

ee ee ee eee

porter, page 655, as sapeeponee

“This certiorari bri tio alight Na a

view: (1) Is a former judgment against the United

States on a cross-claim, which was entered without

» statutory authority, fixing a balance of indebtedness to

, ~ be collected a provided by law, res judicata in. this

litigation for collection of the balance; and (2) as the

controverted former judgment was entered against the

Choctaw and Chickasaw Nations, appearing by

the United States, does the jurisdictional act of April 26,

1906, 34 Stat. 137, authorizing adjudication of cross de-

ae aa a a ee ee eee

ons, permit the.former credit, obtained by the prin-

. dpa ns bac cnet te ee

ant here, to be set up in the present suit.”

There was no question but what there had been some

prior adjudications in one of the Missouri courts, in which |

all of the parties had apparently joined, but this Court held

that the Congress had exempted suits against the Indian

Nations, except as. seemed authorized by” Congress.

g

46

‘This Court held that this immunized the Indian Nations and

the United States acting for them from direct suits, or even

suits by way of counterclaim, except in the event of the

cross or counterclaim provision being made for such a

-counterelaim in “any United States Court in the Indian

: territory”, and the Court pointed out that with this ex-

pressed @9NMMMEgEEm restriction by the Congress such a 7,

judgment was not only void, but.that it did not and could

not have any effect as res judicata.

This Court is certainly not precluded by any of the

past procedure in the State Court, or even in the two

attempted applications for certiorari from the State Court

proceedings, to review this whole matter and to render such

judgments as are reqifired in the control of the disposition

of the funds now under the control of the United States

District Court, Southern District of Florida. We need only

to mention the last expression by this Court as of October

18, 1965, in the case of Gondeck v. Pan American World

Airways, Inc., case No. 919, reported in the November 15,

1965, Advance Sheet of 86 S. Ct. 153. One statement con-

tained-in headnote 1 of the reported decision will show the

pertinency of this case to the question at hand:

“Interest, in finality of litigation must yield where

interests of justice would make strict application of

rules unfair.” @

We respectfully say-that this Court is not precluded

from the consideration of this case because of any doctrine

of-éstoppel or res judicata by the invalid State Court pro-

cedures, but that it should determine the federal questions’

involved and require that the statutory procedure and lim-

,.

vs ed \

eee ee |

od

, 47

itations of the Acts of Congress, Title 12, US.C.A., § 86, be

strictly followed.

Respectfully submitted,

Warp & Warp

1240 duPont Building

Miami, Florida 33131

‘ fa By

WILLIAM GresHAm Warp

Attorneys for The Coral Gables

First National Bank.

~~ Wittram B, Roman

Pan American Bank Building

Miami, Florida

and %

Leo L, Foster

Brock Building

Tallahassee, Florida

: By

_. Witr1am B. Roman

“ae Attorneys for Pan American

Bank of Miami.

Fs aad

o

a

&

Al

APPENDIX A.

IN THE |

United States Court of henecks

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 21448

IN THE MATTER OF CONSTRUCTORS OF FLORIDA,

INC., Debtor in Reorganization

AMERICAN SURETY COMPANY OF NEW YORK,

Appellant, ~

versus 4.

THE CORAL GABLES FIRST NATIONAL BANK and

JOHN NICHOLAS, Trustee,

Appellees.

IN THE MATTER OF CONSTRUCTORS OF FLORIDA,

INC., Debtor in Reorganization

THE CORAL GABLES FIRST NATIONAL BANK,

Appellant,

AMERICAN S COMPANY OF NEW YORK and

Berg NICHOLAS, Trustee,

Appellees. —

ae

: Appeals from the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Florida.

(June 30, 1965.) : -

Before TUTTLE, Chief Judge, and PHILLIPS,*.and

WISDOM, Circuit Judges.

*Senior Judge of the Tenth Circuit, sitting by designation.

(

| ¢

=

7

2

Oe A2

PHILLIPS, Circuit Judge: These appeals are from

an order of the United States District Court for the South-

ern District of Florida entered in a Chapter X reorganiza-

tion proceeding, The reorganization debtor, Constructors

of Florida, Inc., will hereinafter be referred: to as Con-

structors.

A phase of the reorganization proceeding here in-

volved was before this court on a former appeal, Coral

Gables First Nat. Bank v. Constructors of Florida, Inc., 5

Cir., 299 F.2d. 736, and much of the facts here pertinent

are set forth in the opinion in that case. Many of the

facts here pertinent are also set forth in more detail in

a related state court proceeding, Coral Gables First Nat.

Bank v. Constructors of Fla.,. 119 So.2d 741, c.d. 123 So.2d

349, c.d. 365 U.S. 811.

In January, 1957, the‘Coral Gables First National Bank

and the Pan: American Bank of Miami, a Florida state bank,

hereinafter referred tg individually as Coral Gables and

Pan-American and collectively as the Banks, brought an

action in the Circuit Court of Dade County, Florida

(Chancery No. 205613E) to foreclose three chattel mort-

gages given to them by Constructors to secure three loans

dated July 24, 1956, July 25, 1956, and March 20, 1957,

upon which there was ali to be due the sums of

$13,888.95, $92,690.85 and $151,802.46, respectively. Ameri-

can Surety Company of New York, hereinafter referred

to as Surety, and the City of West Palm Beach were

joined as defendants, the Banks alleging that they were

liable for any deficiency remaining after foreclosure. Con-

structors counterclaimed against the banks for penalties’

for usury allegedly charged by the Banks in connection

with the March 20, 1957, loan in violation of Federal and

State law, and Surety counterclaimed against the Banks

for damages it allegedly incurred because of false infor-

J

Se

?

AZ,

mation furnished to it by the Banks as to the financial _

condition of Constructors and also claimed a prior lien

on the property described in the mortgages.

In October, 1957, an involuntary petition in bank-

ruptcy was filed Sgainst Constructors and the Bankruptcy

Court by appropriate orders authorized the State*Court

litigation to proceed to final determination and the receiver

to appear therein in behalf of the debtor. In November,

1958, a petition for reorganization under Chapter X was

filed and an order was entered authorizing the Trustee

in the reorganization proceeding to continue to prosecute

te claims asserted by the debtor in the State Court action.

In December, 1958, a proposed plan of reorganization was

filed which provided for the continuation of the State

Court litigation. The plan in part read:

“Article I.

' Definitions.

“* * * the following terms, when used in the

Plan, shall have the meanings respectively attributed

to them below.

>

_*. ss * & #8

“Bank Litigation: That certain litigation entitled

Coral Gables First National Bank, et al, v. Construc-

tors of Florida, et al, in the Circuit Court of the

Eleventh Judicial Circuit, in and for Dade County,

Florida, in Chancery, case number 205613, togethér

with all appellate or review proceédings which have

arisen or may hereafter arise therefrom.

“Net Pr®ceeds of Bank Litigation: The net

amount recovered by Debtor or Trustee out of Bank

litigation, after payment of all costs, expenses and

attorney’s fees arising therefrom.

e * ¢.¢«/*# ¢ P :

° “et”

A4

“Article IV.

Classification of Creditors

“A. Secured Claims:

“Class I—The claim of American Surety Com-

pany of New York, Or the claim of Pan American

Bank of Miami and Coral Gables First National Bank,

: against the Debtor, to the extent of the value of the

/ Debtor’s property encumbered to secure such claim,

it being understood that whether either of said claim-

ants shall be entitled to be considered secfred, and

the relative priority of their said claims, if valid, will

be dependent upon the final outcome of Bank Litiga-

tion; * * *” (Italics ours)

The plan ,;was approved by the court on December 15,

1958.

On January 5, 1959, Coral Gables filed a claim in the

amount of $282,548.83. Its claim stated in part as follows:

“That the consideration of said debt is for moneys

loaned on security. (See in detail all proceedings ©

_Circuit Court of Dade Co., Florida, Chancery No.

205613E and reference to matters on appeal, District

Court of Appeals, Third District, No. 58-526, said pro-

ceedings being referred to in the petition and previous

orders of this Court entered herein, full reference to

same made a part hereof.)”

On the same date Surety filed a claim in the amount

of $1,691,483.72 “of which $50,000.00 is estimated to be

secured and $1,641,483.72 unsecured.”

On March 6, 1959, Coral Gables filed a consent to the

plan which: stated that it “approves and accepts the plan

of reorganization and consents to the Court entering an

order confirming the plan of reorganization.”

AS

On March 11, 1959, the Bankruptcy Court confirmed

the reorganization plan with certain modifications not here

material. a

. Meanwhile, on June 26, 1958, the Florida State Court

had entered its “Partial Final Decree” in the Bank liti-

gation. That court found that the Banks were joint ad-

venturers and agents of each other and that the Banks

had charged usurious interest in connection with the March

20, 1957, transaction in violation of §§ 687.04 and 687.07,

Florida Statutes, 1957. The court held that because of such

usury Coral Gables was liable to Constructors under 12

U.S.C.A. § 86 for double the amount of interest collected;

that Pan American was liable to Constructors under

§ 687.07, supra, for all the principal and interest paid by

Constructors on the usurious transaction; and that under

§ 687.0% supra, the principal and interest allegedly re-

maining due the Banks on the March 20, 1957, transaction

should be cancelled.

With respect to the other two mortgages, foreclosure

of which was sought, the Court adjudged that while the ~

debts were still owing, the Banks were barred from ob-

taining foreclosure of the mortgages, relief equitable in

nature, because they were “not in equity with clean hands,”

and that the lien of Surety against the personalty de-

scribed in such ‘mortgages: was superior to that of the

Banks. That judgment was appealed to the District Court

of Appeals, Third District, where it was held-that the Cir-

cuit Court of Dade County erred in forfeiting Coral

Gables’ proportionate share of the unpaid principal-of the

March -20,. 1957, loan since. such forfeiture constituted a

?

_ AG ©

| penalty in excess of that permitted to be imposed upon

a national bank by 12 U.S.C.A. Sec. 86,’ adjusted the pro-

portionate participation of the two Banks in the trans-

action of March 20, 1957, and modified the judgment in

one other respect not here material. In all other respects

the judgment below was affirmed. Certiorari was denied

by the Florida Supreme Court (123 So.2d 349) and by

the United States Supreme Court (365 U.S. 811). There-

after, the court below made additional findings, modified

its decree to conform with the mandate of the Court of

Appeals and adjudged that the Banks were also barred

from obtaining foreclosure of the mortgage made in con-

» nection with the transaction of March 20, 1957, because

they were “not in equity with clean hands.” No appeal

was taken from the modified decree. .

In April, 1961, the Banks petitioned the Bankruptcy

Court for an injunction prohibiting further State Court

proceedings and any enforcement of or execution on «the

State Court judgment. That relief was denied and the

Bankruptcy Court authorized the Trustee to execute on

the State Court judgment. The Banks appealed from that

order to this court and we affirmed, holding that the Bank-

ruptcy Court had the power to permit continuance of the

State Court litigation and that the State Court had ju-

risdiction to make and had made a judicial determination

1. 12U.S.C.A. S@. 86 provides as follows:

“The taking, receiving, reserving, or charging a rate of

en ee ee eee oe eacee. senlien,

when knowingly done, shall be.deemed a forfeiture of the

AT 2%

of the claims and cross-claims of the Constructors and the -

Banks. We refrained from expressly determining the

questions of priorities and* enforcement of security by

the Banks and other creditors as those issues were not di-

rectly before us on that appeal.

Based upon this court’s opinion and the State Court

judgment the Trustee then filed additional objections to

the claim of the Banks, objecting to the allowance and

classification of the Banks’ claim as a secured claim, and

to participation by the Banks in the proceeds of the re-

covery made by the Trustee in the Bank litigation- and

asserting that the Banks’ claim should be allowed as an

unsecured claim only in the amount determined to be ow-

ing by the State Court. :

The Banks moved for an order directing-the Trustee

to pay to them the moneys previously recovered by him

in the State Court action stating as its grounds. therefor

the following: “The decree of the State Court is void in-

sofar as the usury fea are concerned, and any money

erroneously collected therefrom is a trust fund now in the

hands of the Trustee in Chapter X Reorganization Pro-

ceedings in this case. The opinion of the State Court is

therefore subject to the claim that it lacked jurisdiction,

and therefore it is a void judgment which is not binding

on anyone and particularly not binding upon this Court.

It is the duty of this Court sitting as a Court of equity

as well as a Chapter X Reorganization Court, to direct

the return of funds which have been specifically traced

and which have not yet been disbursed. These funds

should be returned to the parties from whom they were

recei Nod a

sok aobimhie oe iseccimad ance

objections of the Trustee to the claim of the Banks, the

U. S. District Court for the Southern District of Florida,

oP (PAT CR etch alee

Seth SM TC sedi MH te

e x coe

‘Miami Division, held that the Banks were barred by res

judicata from attacking the determination by the State

Court of its jurisdiction, but that the mortgages held by

the Banks were valid and enforceable. The Court ordered

that the motion of the Banks for an order directing the

Trustee to pay to them the moneys collected in the State

Court action be denied; that the Banks and Surety had

valid liens against the proceeds from the sale of the prop-

erty covered by the mortgages; that the matter of the

relative pridrities between the Banks and Surety be re-

ferred to the Referee in Bankruptcy as Special Master;

that the Banks be awarded a secured claim in the amount

found by the State Court to be due to them against the

proceeds from the sale of the property covered by their

mortgages and an unsecured claim for the deficiency; and

that the Trustee’s objections to the allowance of the Banks’

claim as a secured claim be overruled.

The Banks have appealed from thst order insofar as

it sustained the objections of the Trustee to their claim,

failed to determine the priority of the Banks’ ,claim as

against Surety’s claim, and overruled their motion order-

~ ing the Trustee to pay over to them the moneys recovered

in the State Court action.

Surety has appealed from that order insofar as if al-

lowed the claim of the Banks as a secured claim and over-

ruled the objections of the Trustee to the allowance of

the claim of the Banks as a secured claim.

The Trustee has taken the position that the order of

the Court below should be reversed to the extent that it

fails to give full force and effect to the State Court judg-

ment and in all other respects should be affirmed, but

has not filed a notice of appeal.

5)

‘ A9

The’ Banks contend that. the Circuit Court of Dade

County, Florida, had no jurisdiction to determine the

issue of usury committed by a national bank raised by

Constructor’s counterclaim. We are of the opinion, how-

ever, that that question has been finally adjudicated and

- conclusively settled as between these parties by previous

adjudications not now open to attack by the Banks.

The doctrine of res judicata embodies two main rules

which may be stated as follows: is

(1) The final judgment or decree of a court of com-

petent jurisdiction upon the merits concludes the parties /

and their privies to the litigation, and constitutes a bar to

a new action or suit upon the same cause of action either

before the same or any other tribunal.

— (2) Any right, fact or matter in issue and directly

adjudicated, or necessarily involved in the determination

of an actiofi before a competent court in which a judg-

ment or decree has been rendered upon the merits, is con-

clusively settled by the judgment therein and cannot again

be litigated between the same parties and their privies,

whether the claim, demand, purpose or subject-matter of

the two suits is the same 6r not.

The principle of the first rule is referred.to as “bar

by former judgment,” and the secohd as “conclusiveness

of judgment.”

The action brought by the Banks for an injunction

prohibiting further State Court proceedings which was

the subject of the earlier appeal to this court directly

presented on the merits the issues of whether the’ Bank-

ruptcy Court had the power to direct. the continuance of

the State Court litigation and whether’ the Circuit Court

9. Henderson v. United States Radiator Corporation, 10 Cir.

78 F.2d 674, 675.

To the same effect see: United States v. Burch, 5 Cir., 294

- F.2d 1, 5; Kelliher v. Stone & Webster, 5 Cir., 75 F.2d 331, 333.

A10

of Dade County, Florida, had the power to determine the

claims between-Constructors and the Banks. The order

of the Bankruptcy Court denying such injunctive relief

and permitting execution by the Trustee on the State

Court judgment, after affirmance by this. court conclu-

sively settled those issues between the parties. Such is-

sues cannot again: be litigated on the petition of the Banks

for an order directing the Trustee to pay back the funds

obtained through execution on the State Court judgment.

Although the demand is different, the issues are identical.

Furthermore, the. Banks are also concluded by the is-

sues adjudicated by the State Court and may not relitigate

_those issues in this. proceeding. The claim of the Banks

that the State Court was without jurisdiction to adjudicate

' the issues of usury and the right to foreclose the. mort-

- gages and relative security rights of the Banks and the

Surety to the property described in the mortgages is not

well taken. The determination by a court of general

jurisdiction of. its own! jurisdiction is conelusive as to the

parties and their privies. “In Burgess v. Nail, 10 Cir., 103

F.2d 37, 43-44, the court said:

“* * * Error in the determination of ‘questions

. of law or fact upon which the Court’s jurisdiction in

‘the particular case depends, the court having general

jurisdiction of the cause and the person, is error in

the exercise of jurisdiction. Such an error affords

no ground for collateral attack.’*

4 The Florida Constitution, Article 5, Sec, 6(3), (FS.A.

Const. Article 5, Sec. 6{3)) establishes the jurisdiction of

Circuit Courts in that State as follows:

3. See also: Bostwick v. Baldwin Drainage Dist., 5 Cir., 133

F.2d 1, 4-5, c.d. 319 U.S. 742; Greene v: Uniacke, 5 Cir., 46 F.2d

916, 920-921, c.d. 283 U.S. 847: Stoll v. Gottlieb, 305 U.S. 165, ate

‘Baldwin. v. Travelling Men’s Ass’n., 283 US. ‘$22, "825-526;

CIS. Judgments, Sec. 427, p. 840.

**

A

eek

%

All ae

“(3) Jurisdiction. The circuit courts shall have

exclusive original -jurisdiction in all cases in equity

except such equity jurisdiction as may be conferred

on juvenile courts, in all cases at law not cognizable

by subordinate courts * **.”. -

‘The. Banks. poncede that: they. contested. the juriadie-

Aion. of the State Court in that forum and the court below

so found. Moreover, the Circuit Court’ of Dade County

was required of necessity to determine its own jurisdiction

as an integral part of thé proceedings in the Bank litiga-

tion. Therefore, that determination is conclusive as to that

issue as among the parties to that action and the Banks

may not litigate it again. The court*below did not err

‘in. denying the motion of the Banks for an order directing

the Trustee to pay back to them the funds obtained

through execution on the State Court judgment.

- However, we are of the opinion that’ the court below

erred in failing to treat the determination by the Circuit

6)

of Dade County that the chattel mortgages of the -

Banks were unenforceable as conclusive upon the parties

‘to. that proceeding. “The doctrine of conclusiveness of

judgment applies alike to the decrees of courts exercising

‘equity jurisdiction and to the judgments of courts of law.”*

The Circuit Court of Dade‘ County’ had exclusive

equity jurisdiction.* Since the’ Bank litigation was com-

menced by the Banks for the purpose of foreclosing its

that court of that action, ‘and the parties to the Bank litiga-

tion are also in the instant case. Thus, the deter-

mination by Circuit Court of County ‘that the

mortgages were unepforceable for equita ee is

_ conclusive as t6 those parties oP poe, not. agairf be

ry Sg ST Addin nck’ WA. hd ;

5. ¥-.S.A. Const. Art. 5, Sec. 6(s), supra. me

' Also, Article IV of the Reorganization Plan, supra,

clearly contemplated that the validity of the claimed secu-

rity of Surety and the Banks would be left for determina-

tion by the State Court in the Bank litigation. Not only

did the Banks fail to appeal from the order confirming

that plan, but also they affirmatively approved and ac-

cepted the plan and consented to its confirmation by the

court.

11 U.S.C.A. Sec. 624, provides in part as follows:

Z

“Upon confirmation of a plan—

“(1) The plan and its provisions shall be bind-

ing upon the debtor, upon every other corporation is-

suing securities or acquiring property under the plan,

and upon all creditors and stockholders, whether or not

such creditors and stockholders are affected by the

plan or have accepted it or have filed proofs of their

claims or interests and whether or not their claims

or interests*have-been scheduled or allowed or are

allowable.”

ei ts Anciin: tip er edt “br “a0

ganization plan and since the confirmation order was not

appealed, the détermination by the Bankruptcy Court in

its confirmation order pursuant to 11 U.S.C.A. Sec. 621

that the plan complied with subchapter X of Chapter X .

ee cone one an

equitable and feasible is not now open to attack.*

randiede, Gi ‘seteniantét Coscia’ beliw dient

be affirmed insofar-as it gives effect to the’ judgment. of

the State Court in the Bank litigation and reversed inso-

far as it sustained the ‘validity of the mortgages of the

Banks determined by the State Court to be unenforceable.

a ee ne eee

g 11 henstngten on aed ad Sec. 4712 ((1961) Revision).

v

Al3

AEPENDIX B ~

United States Court of Appeals,

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

OCTOBER TERM, 1964

eee ee Ee eee ee

No. 21448 | :

D. C. Dockét No. 3736-Bk-Ec |

IN THE MATTER OF CONSTRUCTORS OF FLORIDA,

INC., Debtor in Reorganization

AMERICAN SURETY COMPANY OF NEW YORK,

Appellant,

- . ‘versus

THE CORAL GABLES FIRST NATIONAL BANK and ,

* JOHN NICHOLAS, Trustee,

Appellees.

IN THE MATTER OF CONSTRUCTORS OF FLORIDA,

INC., Debtor in Reorganization

\ THE CORAL GABLES FIRST NATIONAL BANK,

mh? ee:

% as 4

4

AMERICAN SURETY COMPANY OF NEW YORK

and JOHN NICHOLAS, Trustee,

\

Appellees. Pe

Southern District of Florida.

Before TUTTLE, Chief Judge, and PHILLIPS,* and

. WISDOM, Circuit Judges.

*Senior Judge of the Tenth Circuit, sitting by designation. _

wy

. Al4

Judgment

This cause came on to be heard on the transcript of

the record from the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Florida, and was argued by counsel;

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, It is now here

ordered and adjudged by this Court that the judgment of

the said District Court in this cause be, and the same is

hereby affirmed in part, and reversed in part; and that

this cause be, and it is hereby remanded to the said Dis-

trict Court for further proceedings in accordance with the

ee : |

It is further ordered and adjudged that the appellee-

appellant, The Coral Gables First National Bank, be con-

- demned to pay the costs of this cause in this Court for

which execution may be issued out of the said District

Docketing cause, etc. ........ $ 25.00

Cost of Printing Record ~.........$1226.75

Total .. $1251.75

Issued as Mandate: Sep 13 1965

* «June 30, 1965

w

Al5

APPENDIX C

United States Court of Appeals

FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 21,448 &

IN THE MATTER OF CONSTRUCTORS OF FLORIDA,

INC., Debtor in Reorganization.

AMERICAN SURETY COMPANY OF NEW YORK,

Appellant,

THE CORAL GABLES FIRST NATIONAL BANK

° ahd JOHN NICHOLAS, Trustee, .

Appellees.

IN THE MATTER OF CONSTRUCTORS OF FLORIDA,

INC., Debtor in Reorganization. f

THE CORAL GABLES FIRST NATIONAL BANK,

and PAN AMERICAN BANK OF MIAMI,

Appe

Vs.

AMERICAN SURETY COMPANY OF NEW YORK

- JOHN NICHOLAS, Trustee, _

Appellees,

Warp & Warp Wr11am B. Roman

1240 duPont i Pan American Bank Building

Miami; Florida 33131 Miami, Florida

Gables First National Lzo L. Foster

Bank Brock Building

Tallahassee, Florida

‘ Attorneys for Pan American

Al7

AUTHORITIES CITED

John R. Alley & Co. v. Federal National Bank of Shaw-

nee, Okla., 124 F. 2d 995 20

Coral Gables First National Bank v. Constructors of

Florida, Inc., 299 F. 2d 736 31

Couch v. United States, 235 F. 2d 519 24

Douglas v. State of Alabama, 85 S. Ct. 1074 1... 21

First National Bank of Birmingham v. Daniel, 239 F. 2d

801 ya

McCollum v. Hamilton National Bank, 303 U. S. 245, 58

S. Ct. 568, 82 L. Ed. 819

Mercantile National Bank at Dallas v. Langdeau, 83

S. Ct. 521 aa

20

37

Michigan National, Bank v. Robinson, 83 S. Ct. 914... 37

37

Republic National “Bank of Dallas v. Langiom, 83

S. Gt. 521

Sibbach v. Wilson & Co., 312 U. S. 1, 61S. Ct.-422, 427,

85 L. Ed. 479 Ps 23

Southern gt ae Company " v. Pickard, 371 U. S.

57, 83 S. Ct. 1 25, 26, 37

Sulil Realty Corp. v. Rye Motors, Inc., 257 N.Y.S. 111 38,39 _

In re Wiid, C.C.N.Y. 1873, 11 Blatchf. 243 Fed. Cas.

No. 17,645 21

Statutes , :

Statute 5197, Title 12, U.S.C.A. § 85 ee 20, 21

Statute 5198, Title 12, US.C.A. § 86 at

Bankruptcy Act, § 256, 11 U.S.C. 656

Bankruptcy Act, § 257, 11 U.S.C. 057 - :

' Texts

1 Am. Jur. 2d, p. 558 “

Judicial Comment on Federal Rules

of Civil Procedure

' 83S. Ct. 43

4

einen a nsataoes *

United States Court of Ap eals

FIFTH CIRCUIT

ey wet

No. 21,448 pe

IN THE MATTER OF CONSTRUCTORS OF FLORIDA,

INC., Debtor in Reorganization.

AMERICAN SURETY COMPANY OF NEW YORK,

Appellant, s > -.

vs.

THE CORAL GABLES FIRST NATIONAL BANK

and JOHN NICHOLAS, Trustee, -

’ Appelless:

PUNE ain pReNe Ae Po aga

IN THE MATTER OF CONSTRUCTORS OF FLORIDA,

INC., Debtor in Reorganization. |

THE CORAL GABLES FIRST NATIONAL BANK .

and PAN AMERICAN BANK OF MIAMI,

' Appellant,

vs.

AMERICAN SURETY COMPANY OF NEW YORK

and JOHN NICHOLAS, Trustee,

| Appellees.

» “ : bo ce tata a aah Raa

-

io]

>

ae

‘ _ PETITION FOR REHEARING

_ Come now the appellants, THE CORAL GABLES

FIRST NATIONAL BANK and PAN AMERICAN BANK

OF MIAMI, and respectfully petitioh the Court to grant a

/

~

A20

, Yehearing and a reconsideration of the opinion of June 30,

_“ 1965, for the following reasons:

The opinion prepared for the Court by Judge Phillips,

Senior Judge of the Tenth Circuit, and adopted without dis-

sent by the other two members of this Court, seems to be

based upon three assumptions. The first assumption is

_a matter of law, but is not as clearly pointed out in the

opinion as itjhad been in a statement from the Bench?

made by Judge Phillips at the time of oral argument.

The controversial case, which from a matter of law :

seems to have been the focal point throughout this entire

litigation, was whether the case of John R. Alley & Co. v7

Federal National Bank of Shawnee, Oklahoma was in con-

flict with the then existing decisioh of the Supreme Court

of the United States of McCollum v: Hamilton National

Bank, 303 U. S. 245, 58 S. Ct. 568, 82 L. Ed. 819. These

two cases were discussed in the brief of the appellant

Banks, the first being discussed on pages 7 and 8 and the

, latter case being discussed at page 36. ;

In.the McCollum case the Supreme Court of the United

States pointed out that usury penalties or the right to cl

a penalty for usury against a national bank was

by two statutes of the United States—Section 5197, whid

is now referred to as Title 12, § 85, U.S.C.A., and Sectior

5198, which is Title, 12, § 86. For the purposes of this peti-

tion it is only necessary to consider the McCollum case in

the light of the two statutes above mentioned.

seth 8: tases the-ttghl-cf-a netiensl bank Asin

business in a state as to the rate of interest it may legally

charge. The rate is specifically fixed, but there is the added

provision in Section 85, which is put in there as an excep-

tion, and we quote: eee

¢

- *

A21

“except that where by the laws of any State a dif-

ferent rate is limited for banks organized under State

laws, the rate so limited shall be allowed for associa

idns organized or existing in any such Stafe under

this chapter.”

. This) creates a binding control on the right of a national

bank to charge interest on a loan and fix the rate thereon.

This is a federal law and_ violation of Section 85 is a violation

of a federal law—not a violation of a state law (see Tiffany

v. National’ Bank, Mo. 1873, 18 Wall. 409, 21 L. Ed. 862).

Statute 5198 (12 U.S.C.A., § 86), which section is copied

in the footnote on page 6 of the’ printed opinion, fixes the

‘penalty where a federal bank violates the provisions of

Section 85, and in the same act and as a part of the same

section fixes the exclusive remedy, and we quote:

“In case the greater rate of interest has been

the person by whom it has been paid, or his legal

representatives, may-.recoyer back, in an action in

the nature of an action of .debt, twice the amount

of the interest thus paid from the association taking

or receiving the same.” ;

, . Im the McCollum case and in the other federal. cases

which we have mentioned in our brief, as well as in all

of the state cases’on the subject, the remedy and the pro-

cedure for the enforcement have been held to be exclusive.

It has been held that even where there is no penalty under

the state law, nevertheless where a federal bank has vio-

lated the federal law there is 4 right for recovery (see

In re Wild, C.C.N.Y. 1873,.41 Blatchf. 243 Fed: Cas. No.

17,645). ; , .

In attempting to analyze the position of this Court in its

opinion of June 30, 1965, we have sincerely sought to de”

- termine just why there should be any confusion about the

©

A22

law of this case, because it seems clear that the result of

‘the case under consideration has clearly violated the fed-

eral restrictions, rights, remedies and forfeiture penalties

many times beyond the specific: and exclusive remedies

In the John R. Alley case from the Tenth Circuit

(January 13, 1942) the McCollum decision, which had been

rendered on February 28, 1938, was discussed. In the opin-

et en (see text, first column, p. 997)

it is said:

“It has been held without exception that the right

granted by the statute can be asserted only in a sep-

arate and independent action in the nature of an ac-

tion in debt.” —

quoting cases beginning with Barnet v. Muncie National

Bank, 98 U. S. 555, 25 L. Ed. 212, and ending with the last |

case of McCollum v. Hamilton National Bank, 303 US.

245, 58 S. Ct. 568, 82 L.. Ed. 819. The opinion continues

further: ~ . 5

“The rationale of these cases is that where, as here,

the statute creates a right or offense and provides a

specific remedy or punishment, those provisions are

exclusive and the liability can be eriforced only in an

action brought specificaHy and exclusively for that

purpose.”

Then the opinion continues (see second column, p.

997): : ;

f “All of these decisions antedate the adoption of the

New Rules of Civil Procedure, 28 U.S.C.A. following

section 723c, and our question is to determine whether

the adoption of the new rules has modified the rule an-

nounced in these decisions.”

¢

( =

Then the Court proceeded to hold that since the Fed-

eral Rules of Civil Procedure provided for compulsory

- counterclaims, the exclusive features of Title 12, § 86,

were repealed. The said opinion further laid.down the rule

‘that if there is'a conflict between the procedure provided

for.in-the statute for the enforcement of the right created

thereby and that provided for in the Rules of Civil Pro-

‘cedure, the statutory exclusive remedy is abolished and

yields to the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. The

Court relied upon the case of Sibbach v. Wilson & Co., 312

U. S. 1, 61 S. Ct. 422, 427, 85 L. Ed. 479. We respectfully

say that a reading of that case would call for a different

conclusion. In.61 Supreme Court Reporter, a page a4; we

find this statement by-the p Reernen Court:

“Hence we diaitdicdke that the Act of June 19, 1934,

was purposely restricted in its operation to matters

of pleading and court practice and procedure. Its

two provisos or caveats emphasize this restriction.

The first is that the court shall not ‘abridge, enlarge,

nor modify the substantive rights’, in the guise of reg-

ulating procedure. The second is that if the rules are

to prescribe a single form of action for cases at law and

suits in equity, the constitutional right to jury trial

inherent in the former must be preserved. There

are other limitations upon the authority to prescribe

rules which might have been, but were not mentioned

in the Act; for instance, the inability of a court, by

rule, to extend or restrict the jurisdiction mies cad

a statute.”

The satetsent inthe’ Alley ‘chet busta: Upen this Sa-

preme Court opinion of 1941, while it may have been the

law of the Tenth Circuit, so far as we can tell has never

been followed by any other Court, either state or federal,

- unless it can be said that the Florida Courts adopted that

procedure in the instant’ case.

A24

In a research of this Alley case we find it mentioned

only several times, but on other points. However, it was

mentioned to some degree in the case of Couch v. United

‘States (U.S.C.A. Dist. of Col., 1956), 235 F. 2d 519. In

that case, which involved a criminal appeal, the trial

judge in the United States District Court had not strictly

. followed Rule 32(a) of the Federal Rules of Criminal Pro-

cedure at the time of entering sentence. The Appellate

Court, in a panel consisting of eight judges, refused to hold

that the Federal Criminal Rules were binding as a matter

of law to the extent that a slight variation would vitiate

* the trial. One judge, Judge Fahy (see second column text,

p. 521), dissented and held that Rule 32(a) of the Federal

Criminal Rules has the force and effect of law and that the

rule meant what it said and there could be no deviation.

He quoted the John R. Alley case as his authority.

This Court has clearly held in the case of First National

Bank of Birmingham v. Daniel, a 1956 decision, 239 F. 2d

801, that the recovery of usury against a national bank

was restricted to twice the’sum paid for interest within a

two-year statutory period prior to the suit. No Court so far

as we can find, excepting the decision of the Tenth Circuit

in the Alley case and the case now in question in the Con-

structors of Florida case, has ever entertained or permitted

a proceeding for usury against a national bank except in

‘strict accord with the statute as to the procedure and the

right to separate suit.

In speaking of the effect of the Rules of Civil Pro-

cedure and proposed amendments Mr. Justice Black and

' Mr. Justice Douglas (see 83 Supreme Court Reporter, page

43) commented upon the fact that they had objected to

some of the proposed amendments which were not adopted

because the amendments were getting away from the lim-

ited purposes of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure and

we

Gj

—

A25

beginning to abridge constitutional or statutory rights

» which were enjoyed as a matter of substance. These state- -

ments are important not just because they were made by

two Justices of the Court, but because they were made at

a time when the entire Court had before it for consideration

the case of Southern Construction Company v. Pickard, 371

U. S. 57, 83 S. Ct. 108. This was a per curiam opinion by

the entire Court, without any dissent. Here was a suit

“under the Miller Act. The Court points out (see text, p.

109):

_ “The Miller Act, however, requires that suits in-

stituted under its provisions ‘shall be brought * * *

"in the United States District Court for any district in

' which the contract was to be performed and executed

and not elsewhere * * *.’ Since this statute appeared

to prohibit an action in the Georgia District Court on

the Tennessee project, Pickard in April 1957 filed the

present action against petitioners in the United States

District Court for the Middle District of Tennessee re-

lating to the Tennessee project only.”

Then it is pointed out that the Georgia action proceeded

to trial and there were some decisions reached because of s

the dismissal of the counterclaim theory in Georgia. Then

in the Tennessee action it was pleaded that Southern’s

action wa barred by the doctrine of res judicata. In the

proceedings in Tennessee the District Court apparently

allowed the $35,000.00 claim which had originally been in-

_ volved in the Georgia Court, but the Court of Appeals for

. the th Circuit reversed (see 293 F. 2d 493). That Ap-

pellate Court held that since there had been no allocation

_of the $35,000:00 payment as: between the Georgia and

Tennessee projects, that item under Rule 13(a) of the Fed-

eral Rules of Civil Procedure, 28 U.S.C.A., was a potential

compulsory counterclaim and it should have been filed not-

withstanding the provisions of the Miller Act. In other

x

A26

words, the Sixth Circuit following thegdoctrine of the Tenth

Circuit in the Alley case said that the Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure superseded oh naa the statu-

tory provisions for procedure.

The Supreme Court, however, reversed the Sixth Cir-

cuit and the Supreme Court unanimously held that the

statutory relief and procedure fixed in the Miller Act con-

trolled, and in effect it held where the statute provided the

type of procedure and the place of the procedure, that pro-

cedure was properly followed and that was the exclusive

remedy, using these words (see text, p. 110):

“In this instance, the plaintiff-respondent, who orig-

inally sought to combine all his claims in a single suit,

correctly concluded that he was required by statute to

split those claims and to bring two separate actions in

two different districts. The fragmentation of these

claims, thefefore, was compelled by federal law, and

the primary defendant in both actions was thus fo

the first time confronted with the choice of which o

the two pending suits should be resorted to for the

assertion of a terclaim common to both. Under

’ these circumstances, we hold that Rule 13(a). did not

compel this coun to be made in whichever of

. the two suits the first responsive pleading was filed.

Its assertion in the later suit, to which Southern, not

without reason, considered it more appurtenant, by

no means involved the circuity of action that Rule 13

(a) was aimed at preventing.” /

An action for debt; which is provided for as the exclu- .

sive remedy in Title 12, U.S.C.A., § 86, is a well known and

specific common law remedy and has been carried into

practically all of the states at one time or another (see

1 Am. Jur. 2d, p. 558). The authors point out that the

action for debt would lie where there could be a specific

claim even based on a quantum meruit, but that it does

not lie for unliquidated damages. They point out that an

=

~~

A27

action in debt or in the nature of debt lies to recover statu-

toryOpenalties or to recover import duties. It is clear to

understand why the Congress made reference to the action

for debt, because (1) it clearly defined the forfeiture fea-

tures that could be determined; (2) it would not permit

claims for torts, damages or anything of that type—it was

simply restricted to the claim for forfeitifre under statutory

penalties or similar actions; and (3) it was a common

law action in which juries were to hear the evidence and

where no other issues could be involved.

_If this procedure had been followed in the present case

either the Constructors of Florida in its own right, or its

receiver or trustee in Bankruptcy, would have been re-

quired to file a suit in the nature of a plenary action in

debt. The Coral Gables First National Bank, which was

the lender and owned title to all the assets, would have

been the sole defendant. - of Florida would

have had the burden of proving the usury to the satisfaction

of a jury. No other issues would have been involved. If

the jury was satisfied that more than the legal rate of in-

terest had been charged or contracted for, it could not have

entered any judgment except for double the amount of the

interest actually paid, which in this case would have been

double approximately $11,000.00. -The national bank

would have in its other procedure reduced its claim and

taken over security with a deficiency over, if the security

was not sufficient. ‘A

Usury penalties while civil on one side may be

criminal under some of the statutes in some. states.

Florida is one of those states. So the Coral Gables First

8 National Bank, or its officers, could be guilty of a mis-

demeanor. Certainly no one would charge that it could

be convicted in a trial without a jury.

A28

We ‘think that herein lies the main reason for mis-

understanding. Apparently the Courts of Florida, and

even this Court, have followed the doctrine that no sub-

stantive right of the national bank had been violated; that

it makes no difference what type of action was utilized,

what Court heard the case, or what kind of results were

obtained. The theory of this opinion concerning which

we seek a rehearing might easily besummarized by simply

stating that the plaintiffs in the Court below selected the

state Court for the foreclosure of its mortgage, ‘and that,

therefore, anything that happened after that time was up

to the state Court and if it made a mistake or violated

the strict and clear concepts of the federal law, we had

- mo remedy. May we point out that the Supreme Court of

the United States in the case of Douglas v. State of

Alabama (April 5, 1965), 85 S. Ct. 1074, said (text p. 1078):

“* * .* we follow our consistent holdings that the

adequacy of state procedural bars to the assertion of

federal questions is itself a federal question. See

Wright v. Georgia, 373 U.S. 284, 289-291, 83 S. Ct. 1240,

1243-1245, 10 L. Ed. 2d 349. In determining the suf-

ficiency of objections we have applied the general

principle that an objection which is ample and timely

to bring the alleged federal error to the attention of

the trial court and enable it to take appropriate cor-

rective action is sufficient to serve legitimate state

interests, and therefore — to preserve the claim

‘for review here.” :

We, therefore, say that on that principle of law the

procedure used in the state Court in accepting and ruling

on the counterclaim was so clearly violative of the federal

statutes and so clearly resulted in depriving the national

bank of its rights without due process of law ne there

was utter lack of judicial process.

A29

‘The next phase of this Court’s opinion seems to flow

from a total misunderstanding of the record, either on our

part or on the part of the Court. We refer to the bottom

of page 5 and page 6 of the printed opinion, where this

Court discusses the decrees and findings of the state

Court. It is true that in the first opinion of the Circuit

Court of June 26, 1958, termed “Partial Final Decree”,

the Court did enter joint judgments holding that the Coral

Gables Bank, which was a national bank, was a co-ad-

venturer and agents of each other with the state bank,

the Pan American Bank... However, that theory was ex-

ploded by the opinion of the’ Appellate Court. The Ap-

pellate Court announced the correct interpretation of law

that the penalties and remedies fixed under Title 12, § 86,

were exclusive; but it completely failed to apply that

doctrine, which we say was in contravention of a fedefal

right. It is true that we applied for certiorari to the

Supreme Court of Florida and also to the United States

Supreme Court, neither of which was granted.. Then this

Court said in its present opinion (p. 7): “ ie

4 “Thicteithie. the cove below tanks ediitiind? Mhiteas,

modified its decree to conform with the mandate of the

Court of Appeals and adjudged that the Banks were

also barred from obtaining foreclosure of the mortgage

made in connection with the transaction of March 20,

1957, because they were ‘not in equity with clean

hands.’ No appeal was taken from the modified de-

cree.”

From that time on the Court seems to say that the

matter was res judicata. This order on the first mandate

is shown.in the Transcript of Record at page 201, and is

the order upon which execution was issued and the money

paid to the trustee in the reorganization proceedings, but

the controlling factor in that decree is set forth in para-

A30 * a

"graphs III and IV, shown on pages 203 and 204, in which

the Court’ said: 4

“TII.. That Constructors of Florida, Inc., is in-

debted to Coral Gables First National Bank and Pan

American Bank of Miami in the amounts of Fourteen

Thousand Three Hundred Twenty-Six Dollars and

Seventy-Seven Cents ($14,326.77), and Ninety-Five

Thousand Six Hundred Thirty-Six Dollars and

Seventy-Seven Cents ($95,636.77), principal and inter-

est included-to May 1, 1958, respectively, on the loans

of July 25, 1956 and July 24, 1956; but the mortgages

allegedly securing said loans are not enforceable as

said Banks are not»in equity with clean hands. Said —

loans were not in default as of the commencement of

this action. The Court does not determine whether

or not said loans are now in default inasmuch as the

United States District Court for the Southern District

of Florida, in the proceedings for the reorganization

of Constructors of Florida, Inc. has assumed jurisdic-

tion of said ¢laims.

IV? That Constructors of Florida, Inc. is indebted

5to Coral Gables First. National Bank in the*amount of

Eleven Thousand Two Hundred Seventy-One Dollars

and Twenty Cents ($11,271.20) on the loan of Novem-

ber 14, 1956; but the mortgages allegedly securing said

loan are not enforceable as said Banks are not in

equity with clean hands. Said loan was not in de-

fault as of the commencement of this action. The

Court does not determine whether or not said loan is

now in default inasmuch as the United States District

Court for the Southern District of Florida, in the pro-

ceedings for the reorganization of Constructors of

Florida, Inc., has assumed jurisdiction of said claims.”

The federal ‘Court, sitting as a’ reorganization Court

under the provisions of Section 256, 11 U.S.C. 656, had

taken over through its trustee all of the proceedings with

reference to the liens against the actual personal property

A31

under Section 257, 11 U.S.C. 657.: The trustee became

vested with all of the rights of the prior receiver in the

involuntary bankruptcy and had physical possession of the

chattels which were security for the debt. The state Court

had never appointed any receiver or custodian, so that in

the decree of April 14, 1961, as far as the personal property

was concerned the state Court had been completely super-

seded and there could be no adjudication by the state

Court with reference to those claims, or any part thereof,

insofar as that affected the lien or the amounts due or

the parties to whom they were due.

, We think the Court is confused in its factual findings

with reference to the procedure which was followed after

April 11, 1961. Two procedures were followed—one in

the federal Courts and one in the state Courts. In the

federal Court an appeal was taken from the order of Judge -

Emett C. Choate refusing to take over and restrain the

state Court litigation. That appeal restilted in.the opinion

of this Court, 299 F. 2d, page 736. This opinion was ren-

dered on February 26, 1962. That date is important be-

cause at that time this Court, before any ef the state Court

procedure became final, in note 16, on page 740 of 299

Federal Reporter, 2nd Series, said: *

“As in‘note 15, supra, we likewise expressly disavow

any purpose here to indicate any view on the extent

to which, if any, the State Court judgment is to deter-

mine priorities, enforcement of security by the Banks,

or other creditors, or the like. Although the Bank-

ruptcy Court refused to enjoin execution on the State

Court judgment, the funds received by the Receiver

are now, and will remain, subject to the sole control

and disposition of the Bankruptcy Court.”

"Ths ether ‘proceeding to’ thi hate Coket Wee areas

appeal from the order and decree on the mandate of April.

-11, 1961, to which a motion to quash was filed, and the

-~

m6

~

j

seu Se

District Court of Appeal of Florida, Third ‘District, entered

an order quashing the appeal (see 132 So. 2d 806). This _

order quashing the appeal was then covered by a petition

for certiorari to the Supreme Court of Florida by -final

opinion of September 26, 1961, 133 So. 2d 319, case No.

3). 5 : ;

‘Within the time prescribed by law.a second petition

for certiorari was filed in the Supreme Court of the United

States as a petition for writ of certiorari té the District

Court of Appeal of Florida, Third Appellate District, ‘and

that petition was denied“by the Supreme Court of the

United States on March 5, 1962, or some seven or eight

days after this Court had rendered its opinion on the ap-

peal from Judge.Choates’ refusal to grant the injunction.

Therefore, at the time this Court rendered its first opinion

referring the matter back for further action and with the

grant of powers in the opinion of February 26, 1962, the

proceedings in the state Court and its various appellate

processes had not been concluded. The money was in the

hands of the trustee in‘the Chapter X proceedings and

from that time on the United States District Court, South-

ern District of Florida, had taken sole control of all facets

of the case. The printed record before this Court shows

that beginning with May 2, 1962, or within several months

i. after the mandate of this Court and the denial of the peti-

tion for certiorari from the state Court procedures, the

trustee then instituted certain proceedings in the United

States District Court (see Tr. 215 through 378). The trial

procedure which we have above referred to and which this

Court in its opinion clearly overlooked is also set forth

in the printed Transcript of the Record, pages 376, 377 and

378.

We respectfully say that the second phase of this

Court’s opinion as shown on page 7, therefore, is clearly

= A33

erroneous, -because ¢he extensive appeals and appellate

procedures through the Supreme Court of the United

States were pending up until March 5, 1962. Those pro-

cedures were not further followed because, as aforesaid,

the money was in the Registry of the United States Dis-

trict Court and the determination of the amounts, priorities,

liens and the whole question of that distribution were in -

the custody of the federal court.

Whether the failure of this Court to recognize those

procedures, or the correction of the opinion in that regard,

would make any ultimate difference in this Court’s con-

clusions is pure conjecture on our part, but we respectfully

say that it should because it ties directly into the third

phase of this Court’s opinion, which was based upon the

theory of either res judicata or estoppel by the approval

of the plan in 1959. In that regard we respectfully say

that this Court in its opinion overlooked certain basic mat-

ters with reference to the doctrine of res judicata and

the doctrine of estoppel under the plan. We refer the

Court to page 60 of the printed Transcript, wherein the

Court entered a tentative order approving the plan of re-

organization filed on November 21, 1958. This order was

filed December 15, 1958 and, as shown on page 62 of the

Transcript, that order was made without prejudice in any

manner or form to prevent the trustee or any creditor,

or the debtor, or the stockholders, from in ing such

objections as they may deem advisable. On page 72 of the

printed Transcript an order of January 15, 1959 is shown

and reference to the so-called Bank litigation on the. appeal

pending in the District Court of Appeal of Florida, Third

District, was excepted from the operation of said plan.

On page 74, as shown by the order of January 9, 1959, the

' United States District Court in the reorganization proceed-

ings took over all of the furniture, fixtures, equipment and

-A34

other physical chattels of the debtor and directed that they ~~~

‘should be administered by the trustee under the provisions

‘of the Bankruptcy Act and not according to any procedure

‘in the state Court. The Court had the right to do this

under the provisions of Sections 256, 257 and 258 of: the

‘National Bankruptcy Act, as above set forth. Obj

to the claims of both the American Surety y and

the Coral Gables First National Bank, ‘et al. were filed,

and also objections to the plan had been filed.

On February 27, 1959 a joint stipulation and motion

was entered into (Tr. 91) in which Jobn Nicholas, as

‘trustee, American Surety Company of New York, The

‘Coral Gables First National Bank and Fitzgerald Engineer-

ing Company, -Inc. stipulated that the reference on ‘these

plans and objections’ and claims which had been referred

to L. Earl Curry, as Referee. and Special Master, mouid

“be ‘withheld, and this language was used: "

“but that itis not. feasible to determine the validity

or amount of said claims until the outcome of certain

pending litigation, and that it is to the best interest

of the estate that the attached order be entered.”

That order was entered on February 27, 1959, as shown ‘in

the Transcript at pages 92 and 93, and in paragraph “6”

of that order (see Tr. 94) the further determination by the

federal Court of any of these matters affecting the disposi-

tion of the tangible properties held by the trustee and not

ox the stake Cont, ween, venartnd, 0 we quote:

“until -the final outcome of that certain. litigation

CORGIINOY S88 EE enn harstelire

‘ee renee een

Based upon that stipulation -and understanding The

, Coral Gables First National Bank consented to the modifica-

tion of the plan of reorganization, but only with the specific

°

ye A35

done

restrictions as to the time in which the federal Court would

determine these problems. There were many matters in-

volved in the state Court litigation with other parties who

were not involved directly in the usury claims, but which

might have had an indirect involvement in the carrying out

of the plan. Nowhere in the record will this Court find any

agreement by any of the parties that the federal Court

would yield jurisdiction based solely and exclusively upon

the determination made in the state Court. We respect-

fully say that in this respect this opinion is in error. |

On March 11, 1959 the Court entered a special order

confirming the plan of reorganization as modified, but all of

the restrictions contained in the previous stipulations and

orders were reserved. However, as shown in the Transcript

at page 113, the United States District Court in the re-

organization ordered the liquidation of all of the tangible

assets upon which liens were claimed. by The Coral Gables

First National Bank. This point was further emphasized in

the printed Record (see p. 122, 7). In the Transcript on

page 129 there is shown the order confirming the sale, dated

April 10, 1959, showing that the sale of all of the tangible

assets had been handled solely by the trustee under the

Chapter X reorganization proceedings, and after some in-

termediate proceedings following the first order of confir-

mation a new order was entered on May 6, 1959 (Tr. 170)

confirming and reaffirming the sale by the trustee of‘all

of the tangible property assets. That was the situation

until May 23, 1961, or a period of approximately two years,

at which time the trustee then filed a petition (see Tr.

172) terequire The Coral Gables First National Bank to put

the money represented by its credit bid of April, 1959 back

into the Registry of the federal Court. _

On. June 28, 1961 (Tr. 207) the Courtsissued an order

to show cause directed to The Coral Gables First National

+

> a

_

$ A36

_, Bank as to why the money should not be replaced with the

* trustee, and after appropriate proceedings an order was

entered on July 27, 1961 (Tr. 209) in which the sum of

$120,591.69 was decreed to be paid by The -Coral Gables

First National Bank, which was the $106,000.00 bid: plus

‘interest, but directing in paragraph “2” (see Tr. 210), that

the said trustee, John Nfcholas, was directed to deposit that

sum in a special bank account separate from the accounts

containing the trustee’s other funds, and to make no dis-

bursement from this said special bank account except upon

further order of the Court. Paragraph “3” (Tr. 210) pro-

vided: : £5 ’ bee ck M4,

“This order is made without prejudice to the

further determination by this Court on the alleged

legal issues raised in the answer of The Coral Gables |

_ First National Bank to the order to show cause, which °

legal issues are reserved for further | ination by

this Court upon further hearings notice.”

No appeal was taken by anyone on this order. We

respecffully say that all parties in this case knew that the

federal Court—not the state Court—had taken over all of

the tangible property and had taken unto its complete juris-

diction that phase of the litigation.

Rajee ta cencnathcens had este Guaplited th thle Court

‘on the first appeal and after the Supreme Court of the

United States had denied certiorari, then in accordance with’

the understanding of all. of the parties a determination of

‘the priority of the claims and the validity of the mortgage

claims was undertaken by the reorganization Court. An

‘order of Teference was made February 27, 1963 (Tr. 224)

referring the matter to J. B. Booher, the Referee, as Special

‘Master. Then supplemental &nd additional objections to

the claims. ef The Coral Gables First National Bank were

ee Sa een

~ A

if

A37

_ taken before the Referee (see Tr. 228). Extensive briefs

were filed by the trustee (Tr. 228 through 250) and the

same type of memorandum was filed by the Banks, to-wit:

The Coral Gables First National Bank on its own behalf

and as trustee for Pan American Bank of Miami, shown

beginning at page 250 of the Transcript. Extensive exhibits

were attached, and this matter was tried for the first time

in the federal Court in the reorganization proceedings. This

answer, memorandum and exhibits are shown in the

Transcript at pages 350 through 378. Before these pro-

ceedings could be completed, on May 23, 1963, The Coral

Gables First National Bank filed its motion (Tr. 379

through 390), in which it,was pointed out (see Tr. 384)

that pending these hearings in the District Court in the re-

organization proceedings the Supreme Court of the United

States had rendered three pertinent and controlling opinions

—Southern Construction Company, Inc. v. Petitioner et al.,

83 S. Ct. 108, which.we contended exploded the doctrine of

the Alley case and the right of determination of usury claims

by cross.bill in an equity action on the foreclosure of the

mortgage in the state Court. We then pointed out (see

Tr. 385). that the United States Supreme Court in the case ©

of Mercantile National Bank at Dallas v. Langdeau and

Republic National Bank of Dallas v. Langdeau, 83 S. Ct. |

521, in’'a combined opinion involving the provisions of ©

United States Statute 5198, Title 12, US.CA, §§ 85

through 94, in which the Supreme Court had reiterated, re- .

confirmed or reestablished the fact that the specific pro-

visions of Statute 5198, with: references to usury claims

against a national bank were exclusive and that no Court,

whether it be a state Court or a federal Court, had any

power or jurisdiction to proceed otherwise: We point out

(see Tr. 387) that the.Supreme Court of the United States ~~

in an opinion dated March 25, 1963, Michigan National Bank’

Ws Robinson, 83 S. Ct. 914, had also made a similar ruling

in some usury matters involving-a national bank of Mich-

te

‘A328

_ a which had done business in Nebraska. The Nebraska

‘Courts had used their own state procedure and rules for the

_ determination of usury claims against the Michigan bank.

“The Supreme Court, however, held in aceordance with’ the

previous cases just mentioned, that they were in error in

‘doing so and that the provisions of Statute 5198 were ex-

clusive. It was based upon these two concepts—first, that 3

ithe reorganization Court had at all times from the date of

the reorganization in the fall of 1958 assumed exclusive con-

-trol over the intangible assets, and, second, that the pro-

cedure followed by the:state Courts of Florida were in viola-

tion of the restrictive provisions of the federal statutes with

reference to.the usury and penalty claims. Judge Emett C.

Choate in his order of December 20, 1963 made a complete

analysis of these cases and the background and held that

The Coral Gables First National Bank claim on the first

mortgages of July, 1956, being no way involved in the usury

procedure or usury penalties, could not be defeated by any

collateral orders of a state Court and to that extent he

granted relief to The Coral Gables First National Bank. We

respectfully say that there was no error in that proceeding

in that regard and that this Court’s determination in the

third phase of the order that that point was res judicata_or

ee ee eens ee

‘this entire record is considered. ¢

With reference to the second phase of the usury

charge Judge Choate ordered that he felt that he was pre-

cluded not by any state Court procedure, but by. some

language in the first opinion of this Court, 299 F. 2d 736.

This Court apparently in its opinion did not pass upon that

point, but based its conclusién in the third phase of the case

for reversal of Judge Choate upon other grounds, which we

respectfully say are not tenable.

tess Our position is supported by a recent decision of the

Courts of New York in the case of Swulil Realty Corp.,

plaintiff, v. Rye Motors, Inc., defendant, Westchester

r

A39

County Court, January 19, 1965, case reported in 257 N.Y.S.

111. This case involved an attempt by a New York Court to

punish by contempt a Conriecticut national bank for failing

to comply with certain orders of the New York Court. The

Court discussed the provisions of Title 12, US.C.A., § 94,

which is one of the sections in U.S. Statute 5198, and held

that these requirements of the statute affecting claims

against national banks were mandatory in the-absence of a

consent or a waiver, quoting as aytho?ity for that statement

Mercantile National Bank at Dalias v. Langdeau, 371 U. S.

555, 561, 83 S. Ct. 520, 528, 9 L. Ed. 2d 623, which is one of

st

the cases we have relied upon. In paragraph 7 of the opinion

of that Court (text p. 115 of the reported case) that Court

said:

“Sn ont epiebnn, in eae Sea

state granted to a national banking association by the~

National Banking Act (12 U-S.C.A. § 94, supra), in the

* absence of a waiver thereof or consent to submit to

such foreign court’s jurisdiction, is pre-eminent over —

the jurisdiction and venue provisions of the State of

New York as embodied in the provisions of Article 3

and Article 52, of the CPLR. As was said in (Crofoot v.

Giannini, 196 Misc. 213, 92 N.Y.S. 2d 191), since a

national banking association is a creature of federal,

rather than state law, the question of where it can be

sued is governed by federal laws.”

“We say that the'same doctrine applies in this case and

that no Court, state or federal, could have proceeded with

any determinatien of usury. This money is in the federal

Court and should be disbursed only in accordance with the

~ _ federal doctrines. - fot |

We realize that the issues in this case may be such

that a certiorari would be taken to the Supreme Court of

the United States for its ultimate decision, regardless of who

is the successful party. The question as to whether the

Alley case by the Tenth Circuit in 1942 was a valid and

r

A40

proper decision, or as to the question-as to where the later

cases of the Supreme Court of the United States above

mentioned overrule that doctrine nunc pro tunc are-matters

of serious federal constitutional and statutory constructions.

We do say’ sf urge, however, that the state of the

record as disclosed by the present opinion is not an accu-

rate or even a fair representation of the factual matters

as disclosed in the record, and that we are entitled to have

this Court pass squarely upon these questions so that the

issue, if and when presented to the Supremé Court of the

United States, will be squarely determined one way or

the other, We, therefore, say that in the interest of clarity

and in the interest of justice, a rehearing should be granted

and, if the Court feels it Kenceratrt that reargument be per-

mitted.

Respectfully submitted,

Warp & Warp

1240 duPont Building)

.Miami, Florida 33131

W. G. Warp >

S _ Attorneys for The Coral Gables

First National Bank.

i,

¥

.

A4l ,

I HEREBY CERTIFY that the above and foregoing «

petition for rehearing is filed in good faith and riot for the

purposes of any delay.

W. G. Warp

I. HEREBY CERTIFY that a copy of the foregoing ~ |

Petition for Rehearing was this ............ day of July, 1965, )

mailed to Blackwell, Walker & Gray, First Federal Build-

ing, Miami, Florida, and Tom Maxey, 3001 Ponce de Leon

Boulevard, Coral Gables, Florida, attorneys for American

Surety. Company of New York, and John H. Gunn, 1534

‘duPont Building, sient, ‘Florida, attorney for John

Nicholas, Trustee. ¢

W. G.. Warp.

& A42 :

APPENDIX D

i IN THE

United States Court of denial

No. 21448

IN THE MATTER OF CONSTRUCTORS OF FLORIDA;

INC., Debtor in Reorganization.

AMERICAN SURETY COMPANY OF NEW YORK,

Appellant, \

versus

THE CORAL GABLES FIRST NATIONAL BANK and

JOHN NICHOLAS, Trustee,

ees: : ' Appellees.

,

IN THE MATTER OF CONSTRUCTORS OF FLORIDA,

INC., Debtor in Reorganization.

_____THE CORAL GABLES FIRST NATIONAL BANK,

Appellant,

versus

s, AMERICAN SURETY COMPANY OF NEW YORK and =

JOHN NICHOLAS, Trustee,

Appellees.

.

Appeals from the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Florida *

.

e. (Filed Sept. 3, 1965)

A43

On Petition for Rehearing

Before TUTTLE, Chief Judge, PHILLIPS* ad. Wee

Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM:

PD TOE ay ibe page oe ae

he orn ere on eens ee and the same is,

hereby DENIED. —

“Of the Tenth Circuit, sitting by designation,

Fe

en ee ee eer

ee a ey

A44

Appendix 1,

Memorandum Opinion on Trustee’s Objections to

Claim of Coral Gables First National Bank and

on Bank’s Motion for Order to Pay Funds.

Filed Dec. 20, 1963.

(Title Omitted.)

Statement of Case. _

This matter is before the Court on Objections of John

Nicholas, Trustee, and Supplemental and Additional Ob-

jections of the Trustee to the Claim of the Coral Gables

First National Bank filed in these corporate reorganiza-

tion proceedings, and on the Motion of the Bank for Order

Directing Trustee to. Pay Funds, and upon the Trustee’s

response thereto.

The Pleading Pertaining to the Bank’s Claim and Objec-

tions thereto:

On January 5, 1959, the Bank filed its secured claim

in the amount of Two Hundred Eighty-two Thousand, Five

Hundred Forty-eight and 83/100 ($282,548.83) Dollars,

based on certain mortgages which had been the subject

of extensive State Court litigation.’

1. The Proof of Claim states in part: “$282,548.83, which

includes interest due to May 1, 1958, plus interest from said date,

plus attorney’s fees. See case No. 205,613-E, Circuit Court of

Dade County, Florida—Chancery. .. .

(5) That the consideration of said debt is for monies loaned

on security. (See in detail] all proceedings, Circuit Court of Dade

Co., Florida, Chancery No. 205,613-E in reference to matters on

appeal, District Court of Appeal, Third District, No. 58-526, said

Es

f

8

:

AS

On January 27, 1959, 28 apenas ec ogRTUES

this Claim. These objections were:

(a) “That the Debtor is not indebted to the Creditor

in the amount stated.

(b) That the Proof of Claim is improperly and in-

accurately prepared in that it declares a priority of a

secured creditor for the;creditor when the creditor is un-

secured in a lesser amount than shown by the Proof of

Claim. z nies =

_ (c) That the Creditor has charged the Debtor a

usurious rate of interest and therefore is precluded from

enforcing its claim.”

Subsequently, by order entered in the Court on Febru-

ary 27,.1959, upon the stipulation of all the interested

parties, the Bank’s claim was allowed as a secured claim

in the amount of $156,728.75 and an unsecured claim in the

amount of $125,820.08: However, such allowance was

2 the purpose of voting upon the acceptance or rejection

e Plan of Reorganization in the proceedings,” and

por allowance was “without prejudice to the right of any

interested party with respect to the distribution of the

proceeds of this estate to later object to the classification,

priority of amount” of said claim. The final determination

7. That there are no setotts or counter-claims to the same

(except see litigation files above mentioned).

a

4

~ A4M6

the State Court litigation designated in the Plan of Reor-

ganization as “Bank Litigation” which is discussed at

length below. |

After the State Court litigation had been completed, —

the Trustee, pursuant to the terms and provisions of the

Order of February 27, 1959, filed additional objections to

the claim of the Coral Gables First National Bank which

raised the following points.

i. Se dis ahs “oh lidienbincaedl tnx Chameerse:Be0-

ceedings 205,603-E (the Bank Litigation) ‘that the various

liens, claimed by the Coral Gables First National Bank and

allegedly participated in by the Pan American Bank of

Miami are unenforceable and that, therefore, the entire

bank claim is unsecured.

2. It has finally determined in the benk: pro-

ceedings that the of the Coral Gables First National

Bank is in the proper amount of ban So all of which

is unsecured.

3...The Coral Gables. First National Bank cannot

participate in the proceeds effected by the recovery of the

Trustee from the Coral Gables First National Bank and

the Pan American Bank of Miami by way of usury

penalties; nor, at this time, in the funds realized from the

sale of assets.

The Pleadings Pertaining to the Banks’ Motion. for Order

Directing the Trustee to Pay Funds:

On May’ 23, 1963, the Banks filed their Motion for an

Order Directing the Trustee to Pay Funds. This was a

motion seeking the repayment to the Banks of the monies

ee ee

asc judgment.

~\ me

- * A Response to the Trustee to said Motion was filed

May 31, 1963. The Banks’ motion was in essence a col-

, lateral attack on the jurisdiction of the State Court to

* ‘entertain the counterclaims against the banks which-led

to the judgment against them. The effect: of this attack

will be discussed in detail below. |

History of the “Bank Litigation”: |

_ The history of these organiza proceedings and

cuit, reported at 299 F.2d 736. As that

State Court litigation began when the Claimant, The Coral <

Gables First National Bank, together with the Pan Ameri-

can Bank of Miami instituted an action seeking to foreclose

three chattel mortgages. This action, filed in the Circuit

Court in and for Dade County, Florida, prior to the onset

of any Federal Bankruptcy proceedings, named Construc-

tors of Florida, Inc., the Debtor in these proceedings, as

defendant. -The first two of these mortgages involved

‘amounts due of ‘$13,888.95 and $92,690.85. These are des-

-ignated the July mortgages referring to the month in 1956

when they were executed. . The third mortgage, having an

alleged balance of $151,802.46, is referred to as the Novem-

ber mortgage as it was executed November 14, 1956.. All

of these mortgages had been given to the Banks by Con-

_structors to secure certain loans. -Various. counterclaims

‘were asserted*by Constructors and the other Defendants

in ‘said action to recover usury and related penalties from

the Banks, Thereafter, an ‘involuntary Petition in Bank-

‘ruptcy ‘was filed’ against Constructors, and, subsequently,

‘a: Petition for Corporate Reorganization filed in the Bank-

ruptcy ‘was approved.’ A Trustee was - appointed, anda

; Plan of Reorganization was proposed and confirmed. “The

Receiver in Bankruptcy, and thereafter the Trustee “in

9

. =e ¢

Corporate Reorganization, were substituted for Construc-

tors in the State Court action. Provision was made in the

Plan of Reorganization (which was accepted by the

Banks) for the continuation of the “Bank Litigation” in

the Florida State Courts. |

Aller telel- 0 the iguate by sie Sista Count “a Par-

' tial Final Decree was entered which, among other things,

found the November 14, 1946 loan and mortgage transaction

usurious under Florida law. A substantial judgment in

favor of the Trustee against said Banks on the usury

counterclaims was entered. The judgment determined the

July mortgages to be valid indebtedness due the banks by

the debtor. However, the Chancery Court denied the

Bartks’ prayers for foreclosure of the J uly mortgages on

the ground that these mortgages, and notes secured there-

by, were not in default and not subject to foreclosure in

that action. The State Court further held the liens of the

July mortgages unenforceable as the Banks were not in

equity with clean hands: Apparently on this. basis the

State Court held that liens of the City of West Palm

Beach and of: American Surety Company of New York

against the chattels and equipment encumbered by said

mortgages were superior to any claims of the Banks as-

serted in said action.

An appeal was taken by the Banks to the District

Court of Appeal of, Florida, Third District, which Court

by its opinion reported at 119 So.2d 741 (1960). modified

» said Partial Final Decree in certain respects, not pertinent

- here, but affirmed the denial of foreclosure of the two July. -

mortgages. Thereafter Petitions of the Banks for Writ

of Certiorari were denied by the Supreme Court.of Florida

as reported at 123 So.2d 349 (1960) and by. the Supreme

Court of the United States, 365 U.S. 811 (1961).

fake from the

Constructors of

A49

Upon denial of further appeal, the State Trial Court

entered its Order and Judgment on the Mandate*. which

., on his counterclaim, have and

Tué Orde

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.