Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Ruud v. United States

Supreme Court brief1966

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

” i Office-Supreme Court, U.S.

LIBRART ; FILED

- covet. U.

.

‘ opera oe

i :

2

JOHN F. DAVIS, CLERK ©

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

29 4°

WILLIAM L. MAXWELL,

Petitioner,

v.

DAN D. STEPHENS, Superintendent of Arkansas

State Penitentiary.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT ECA.

' axe

.

GEORGE HOWARD, Jr. JACK GREENBERG

3291 Main Street JAMES M. NABRIT, III

Pine Bluff, Arkansas MICHAEL MELTSNER

LEROY D. CLARK

FRANK H. HEFFRON

HAROLD B. ANDERSON 10 Columbus Cirele

205 Century Building New York, New York 10019

Little Rock, Arkansas ‘

ANTHONY G. AMSTERDAM

3400 Chestnut Street

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Attorneys for Petitioner

INDEX

PAGE

IIE TIIIIID ss ss:sschcideacassncctesenaacteahicaalancaieneaaieasameiciaheiaaia 1

ME 5 sscsascnesnctedcate-actoch nasiecinssiccs eg edensamntodamasndoaumaanetiadas 2

eee rE on eemnaenes 2

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions Involved ...... +

RIN. osc sis canteens icecocbeduansiheve misedeneorckeemsacenonicieseunanraotn 7

Pe GE CN so Benccitcirenesessiccserotcneinemaciennenees 8

Capital Punishment for Rape .................................... 13

a, BEE DED een eee 17

Jurisdiction of the Distriet Court —......0000200020.... 18

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ...........-....0---22---2-ceeeeeeeeeee 18

I. Certiorari should be granted to determine the

legality of search of petitioner’s home without a

warrant, in petitioner’s absence, under purported

SOE OF Tt SD irc. 18

A. The search and seizure issues are important,

requiring consideration by this Court on certi-

NE senescent eee eceaaoaemannne 22

B. The decision below is wrong and sends peti-

tioner to death in violation of his Fourth-

Fourteenth Amendment rights -.......................... 29

II. Certiorari should be granted to determine

whether Arkansas’ death penalty for rape is un-

constitutional because (A) an unrebutted prima

ll

PAGE

facie showing has been made of its racial applica-

tion, in violation of the equal protection clause of

the Fourteenth Amendment, or (B) its allowance

to the jury of unfettered discretion to impose

capital punishment for all offenses of rape, in

the absence of aggravating circumstances, permits

cruel and unusual punishment in violation of the

Eighth and Fourteenth Amendments ...................... 33

A. Petitioner’s Equal Protection contention,

wrongly rejected below presents an impor-

tant question for consideration by this Court

SR I ieee nett ecssancineguhudaccromvoionmmaedinniaien 33

B. The Court should grant certiorari to consider

petitioner’s contention that his sentence is un-

constitutional under the Eighth and Fourteenth

aa ic cacaleserasasanmacoeancinowni 44

IlI.- Certiorari should be granted to determine

whether use of poll tax books containing racial

designations, as required by statute, in the system —

of jury selection is constitutional 2.0.0.0... 46

Ikea eee ee enna ee res freee sa 51

TABLE OF CASES

Aaron v. Holman, U.S. Dist. Ct., M.D. Ala., C.A.

ERENCES GY RSet ata aoe en RIE ACE en ee 36

Abel v. United States, 362 U.S. 217 (1960) 00000000... 21

Alabama v. Billingsley, Cir. Ct. Etowah County,

No. 1159 ......0..0su. absdlsnduracbatidaeiniibatachaatnndetionea ideas 36

Allison v. State, 204 Ark. 609, 164 S.W.2d 442 (1942) 44

Amos v. United States, 255 U.S. 313 (1921) _........... 25, 29, 31

lil

PAGE

Anderson v. Martin, 375 U.S. 399 (1964) ...............-+- 37, 48

Arnold v. North Carolifia, 376 U.S. 733 (1964) ............ 39

Avery v. Georgia, 345 U.S. 559 (1953) ..........---------------- 48

Bailey v. Henslee, 287 F.2d 936 (8th Cir. 1961), cert.

denied, 368 U.S. 877 ..................-ceccccscsecsessnsssessecesrersoseres 39

Boyd v. United States, 116 U.S. 616 (1886) .................... 32

Brown v. Board of Education, 347 U.S. 483 (1954) .... 37

Burge v. United States, 332 F.2d 171 (8th Cir. 1964),

cert. denied, 379 U.S. 938 .............-.-:.-escseeeeeeeeeeeesesees 24, 25

Burge v. United States, 342 F.2d 408 (9th Cir. 1965) 28

Bush v. Kentucky, 107 U.S. 110 (1882) .....................-.--- 38

Calhoun v. United States, 172 F.2d 457 (5th Cir.

BOD annsevsicnstnescseveciecesnssescrosocnsosneenetorstusinnsneananwsennensnonseten 27, 28

Carroll v. United States, 267 U.S. 132 (1925) ............ 21, 28

Cassell v. Texas, 339 U.S. 282 (1950) -........-..------------------ 46

Channel v. United States, 285 F.2d 217 (9th Cir. 1960) 24

Chapman v. United States, 365 U.S. 610 (1961) ........ 21, 29

Cline v. Frink Dairy Co., 274 U.S. 445 (1927) .............. 43

Cobb v. Balkcom, 339 F.2d 95 (5th Cir. 1964) ................ 50

Cofer v. United States, 37 F.2d 677 (5th Cir. 1930) ... 27

Commonwealth v. Wright, 411 Pa. 81, 190 A.2d 709

(NOG) on cncennnennncsnnsnsncepeenencensvensnenensncesaseceseevasssoctensnsasowewnets 22, 26

Communist Party v. Subversive Activities Control

Board, 367 U.S. 1 (1961) ...........-.-.-...-c.csesseeeeesnsnsesees = 39

Connally v. General Construction Co., 269 U.S, 385

CBI) anna cnersnsnsnscoasnesecnterenreovssvesisceresomensesnenesasnasannnensnceeenents 43

Cox v. Louisiana, 379 U.S. 536 (1965) -.............-.------------- 43

Craig v. Florida, Sup. Ct. Fla., No. 34,101 -.................. 36

Cutting v. United States, 169 F.2d 951 (9th Cir. 1948) 28

Davis v. United States, 327 F.2d 301 (9th Cir.

TOD ccessicecvenesenecsnsescsenlomrerereeornosntenemenemseensatieiiens 23, 26, 28, 29

Ww

PAGH

Davis v. United States, 828 US. O82 (1946) 26

Dombrowski v. PAlater, S80 U.S. 479 (1965) 433

Driekill vo United States, J&P Med. 146 (th Cir. 1922) 28

Blmore v. Commonwealth, 282 Ky. 443, 188 S.Widd 966

(1940) 31

Butiek vo Carrington, 1 How. St. Tr. 10290 (CLP. 1765) 32

Bacobedo vo Ulingia, 878 US. 478 (164) 32

Rubanks vo Louisiana, 356 ULS. O84 (1958) 40

Fay vo Nota, 872 U.S. 881 C1968) | 50

Fisher v. United States, 824 Fild 775 (Sth Cir, 1963),

eort, denied 877 U.S, 999 28

Foster vo United States, 281 F.2d 810 (8th Cir, 1960) 27

Fowler v. Rhode Island, 845 U.S. 67 (1953) ae

Frank v. Maryland, 359 U.S. 860 (1959) 32

Fredricksen vo United States, 266 F.ld 468 (D.C. Cir.

W9) aaa aaiaibaadnapeacawes 28

Freedman v. Mary land, “380 us S.51 (1965) _.. oo 648

Frve v. United States, 315 Fd 491 (9th Cir. 1963),

cert, denied, 375 U.S. S49 | aaceBiaa nen Saidansgiaattenstaie . ee

Gatlin v. United States, 326 F. - 666 (D.C. Cir, 1963) 22

Goamillion v. Lightfoot, 364 U.S. 339 (1960) . .. 40

Gouled v. Cnited States, 255 U.S. 298 (1921) o. 25

Hamilton v. Alabama, 376 U.S. 650 (1964) 000000... 37

Hamm v. Virginia State Board of Elections, 230 F.

Sapp. 156 (E.D. Va. 1964) aff'd sub nom. Tancil v.

Ug IT TN ca lense ad 46, 47

Hart v. United States, 316 F.2d 916 (5th Cir. 1963) .... 24

Henslee v. Stewart. 311 F.2d 691 (8th Cir. 1963),

COON. OM, De nnn 39

Hernandez v. Texas. 337 U.S. 475 (1954) 2000... 38, 40

PAOE

Herndon v. Lowry, 301 U.N. 242 (1987) 42

Hester v. United States, 265 US. 57 (1924) iat

Higgins v. United States, 200 F.2d 819 (IC. Cir.

| ye 24

Holt v. State, 17 Win. 21 468, 117 N, W, 2d 626 (1962) 22

Holthey v. United States, 224 F.2d 823 (Sth Cir, 1995) 2

Johnath v. United States, 333 U.S, 10 (1948) 21, 25, 90

Johnson v. Lerbat, 304 U.S, 458 (1998) 80,

Jones v. United States, 357 0.8. 493 (1958) 000000 2

Joseph Burstyn, Ine, v. Wilson, 343 U.S. 495 (1952) .. 44

Judd v. United States, 190 F.2d 649 (D.C. Cir, 1951), 24

~~

Lombard v. Louisiana, 373 US. 267 (1968) 20000. 42

Louisiana ex rel. Scott v. Hanchey, 20th Jud. Dist. Ct,

Parish of West Felieiana 0000000000 ee. .

Louisiana v. United States, 380 U.S. 145 (1965) 2.000... 43

Lustig v. United States, 338 U.S. 74 (1949) 000000... 29

McDonald v. United States, 307 F.2d 272 (10th Cir.

MII i sssvosnsecocsaddaceannbeencniohechiasactinsaen da ansasiomeemiaianinaidd 25

McDonald v. United States, 335 U.S. 451 (1948) 0... 27

McLaughlin v. Florida, 379 U.S. 184 (1964) 00000. Aw

Mapp v. Ohio, 367 U.S. 643 (1961) 2000000 23, 32

Martinez v. United States, 333 F.2d 405 (9th Cir.

SITU sisnsnsncssipsnconcdedeaenepananithicaaanntseencndunidaenemipaldeneieticn 23, 24

Mitchell v. Stephens, 232 F. Supp. 497 (E.D. Ark.

1964) _........... Willacacaielsasscensn son uaugsonsuanoonaceustadaieteaneiaien 36

Moorer v. MacDougall, U.S. Dist. Ct., E.DS.C. No.

AC-1583 ............. Rig aterenisstnisnenensedaentiincieontanrcneinaeibeunsaneets 36

Mosco v. United States, 301 F.2d 180 (9th Cir. 1962),

ee SS? Fa

N.A.A.C.P. v. Alabama, 357 U.S. 449 (1958) 7

vi

PAGE

N.A.A.C.P. v. Button, 371 U.S. 415 (1963) .0000002 2... 43

Neal v. Delaware, 103 U.S. 370 (1881) ........000000.00000000.... 38

Niemotko v. Maryland, 340 U.S. 268 (1951) .......00000000... 37

Norris v. Alabama, 294 U.S. 587 (1935) ...0...0000000000000... 40

Oyama v. California, 332 U.S. 633 (1948)... 40

Pekar v. United States, 315 F.2d 319 (5th Cir. 1963) 24

Peterson v. City of Greenville, 373 U.S. 244 (1963) .. 42

Preston v. United States, 376 U.S. 364 (1964) .....00..0...... 21

Ralph v. Pepersack, 335 F.2d 141 (4th Cir. 1964) ........ 44

Reece v. Georgia, 350 U.S. 85 (1955) 00. 40

Reed v. Rhay, 323 F.2d 498 (9th Cir. 1963), cert.

I, TAG sincera a sictedtensttcacbiananiiaicanresdiaaaiiienin 24

Rees v. Peyton, 341 F.2d 859 (4th Cir. 1965) ............ 26, 28

Reszutek v. United States, 147 F.2d 142 (2d Cir. 1945) 28

Rios v. United States, 364 U.S. 253 (1960) ................ 21, 23

Roberts v. United States, 332 F.2d 892 (8th Cir.

SEED) sinscichcovastoucitapdiahiein gpamamandecdionaadiativendiademisiiiadl 27, 28, 29

Robinson v. Florida, 378 U.S. 153 (1964) _..00000.... 42

Robinson v. United States, 325 F.2d 880 (5th Cir. 1964) 22

Romero v. United States, 318 F.2d 530 (5th Cir. 1963),

ee Rs Deemer 28

Rorie v. State, 215 Ark. 282, 220 S.W. 2d 421 (1949) 44

Rudolph v. Alabama, 375 U.S. 889 (1963) .............. 13, 44, 45

Sartain v. United States, 303 F.2d 859 (9th Cir. 1962),

Os a te ne 28

Shelley v. Kraemer, 334 U.S. 1 (1948) ....--.ecccccsccssecsssee-0 37

Skinner v. Oklahoma, 316 U.S. 535 (1942) 2000000000... 45

Smith v. Cahoon, 283 U.S. 553 (19381) 2.000002... 43

State v. Hanna, 150 Conn. 457, 191 A.2d 124 (1963) .... 22

State v. Scrotsky, 39 N.J. 410, 189 A.2d 23 (1963) ...... 22

Stein v. United States, 166 F.2d 851 (9th Cir. 1948) .... 29

vii

PAGE

Stoner v. California, 376 U.S. 483 (1964) .......... 21, 29, 32, 33

Swain v. Alabama, Ala. Sup. Ct., 7 Div. No. 699 .......... 36

Tatum v. United States, 321 F.2d 219 (9th Cir. 1963)

Teasley v. United States, 292 F.2d 460 (9th Cir. 1961)

SS

United States ex rel. Goldsby v. Harpole, 263 F.2d 71

(5th Cir. 1959), cert. denied, 361 U.S. 838 ................ 50

United States ex rel. McKenna v. Myers, 232 F. Supp.

GB CERD,. PG. 1006) oecccccerccsisicccncoscoccccpiscvceness a 26, 28, 29

United States ex rel. Puntari v. Maroney, 220 F. Supp.

GOL CW.D. Pa. TRGB) cnccnccsocccccccscccassscccascsecenssssvescsssenccesens 27

United States ex rel. Seals v. Wiman, 304 F.2d 53 (5th

Cir. 1962), cert. denied, 372 U.S. 924 ......2.2.------scsnee- 50

United States ex rel. Stacey v. Pate, 324 F.2d 934 (7th

Cir. 1963), cert. denied, 377 U.S. 937 (1964) .............. 26

United States v. Arrington, 215 F.2d 630 (7th Cir.

DOG) eaecccccncicecesscenscoctacscsesssocesnsesttasscaimmpionniacssseciiemesueseioneniins 23

TO) acecccccncctncccccceciseccsnnsccnsssasscenintsanscsstnincsinanctnnseneststsstte 26

United States v. Blok, 188 F.2d 1019 (D.C. Cir. 1951) 32

United States v. Boston, 330 K.2d 937 (2d Cir. 1964),

cort. denied, 377 U.S. 1006 22...2....-csccccscceccccecerescscessscssnsase 28

United States v. Eldridge, 302 F.2d 463 (4th Cir. 1962) 28

United States v. Evans, 194 F. Supp. 90 (D.D.C. 1961) 24

United States v. Goodman, 190 F. Supp. 847 (N.D. IIl.

DOGE) asaciceccncecicsenncnntascensnssassuteassecencnseenatassconeccesssemensnianesiores 26

United States v. Haas, 106 F. Supp. 295, 109 F. Supp.

GAB CUD. Phen. TOG) iccincceccceccssnsccsncnqecccenccctccrnsstcnccnee 24, 25

‘United States v. Heine, 149 F.2d 485 (2d Cir. 1945) -.... 25

United States v. Hilbrich, 341 F.2d 555 (7th Cir. 1965) 22

United States v. Horton, 328 F.2d 132 (3rd Cir. 1964),

cart. Gemied, BTT UB. GIO 3nnapocaea-a.ccanccccccccccescccnsebessnecens 22

United States v. Jeffers, 342 U.S. 48 (1951) -.......... 21, 29

Vili ”

PAGE

United States v. MacLeod, 207 F.2d 853 (7th Cir.

ERE SRR «CO Se a eee 24, 25

United States v. Minor, 117 F. Supp. 697 (E.D. Okla.

ape ns RC SARIS 0s cE eR 24

United States v. Mitchell, 322 U.S. 65 (1944) 0.020... 25

United States v. Page, 302 F.2d 81 (9th Cir. 1962) ........ 23

United States v. Pugliese, 153 F.2d 497 (2d Cir. 1945) 27

United States v. Rabinowitz, 339 U.S. 56 (1950) .......... 21

United States v. Rivera, 321 F.2d 704 (2d Cir. 1963) ..... 25

United States v. Roberts, 179 F. Supp. 478 (D. D.C.

ee 24, 25

United States v. Ruffner, 51 F.2d 579 (D. Md. 1931) 27

United States v. Rykowski, 267 Fed. 866 (S.D. Ohio

DIS Sill ovcibunecseahiaceinasiedtecssederaniietdndacmeniverunnaaiey Sea acne 27

United States v. Sergio, 21 F. Supp. 553 (E.D.N.Y.

RN Rec et 1 ie PC BE SED RADEON DAE Re ROE 27

United States v. Sferas, 210 F.2d 69 (7th Cir. 1954),

ET, I, Ge Fhe nna vsc cence cseccssesnisacintnses 26, 27

United States v. Smith, 308 F.2d 657 (2d Cir. 1962-63),

Ue ey te Fe osc creche etree 22

United States v. Walker, 197 F.2d 287 (2d Cir. 1952),

ie I SO 27

United States v. Walker, 190 F.2d 481 (2d Cir. 1951),

I NT I FE sa ices cedcncecectaevecssmsenin: 27

United States v. Ziemer, 291 F.2d 100 (7th Cir. 1961),

I I, I I acc cance ite lineceee 24

United States v. Zimmerman, 326 F.2d 1 (7th Cir.

Ra ae a Se sn te SEE DALAL CNC A AEG A 28

Villano v. United States, 310 F.2d 680 (10th Cir. 1962) 22

Von Eichelberger v. United States, 252 F.2d 184 (9th

sa alacant ecatecdnceetR lairdepiniadecenncnsils 98

a a Oe ee ee ~ *

ix

PAGE

Waldron v. United States, 219 F.2d 37 (D.C. Cir.

BOG) acsisnscincisininesscnsecnsssnsoebacsnisastesiovcsetinsnbigeerontetassemsctorses 26, 29

Watson v. City of Memphis, 373 U.S. 526 (1963) .......... 37

Whitus v. Balkcom, 333 F.2d 496 (5th Cir. 1964), cert.

Genied, 379 U.S. O81 ..............c.-c-cececesssscceeecesscsnsssesnsoceasneses 50

Williams v. United States, 263 F.2d 487 (D.C. Cir.

DDD asscesciivessnssievesscsacccscancioeccnsecsencesnistbvhesttarnseeniouinseaiaes 26

Winters v. New York, 333 U.S. 507 (1948) .................... 43

Wion v. United States, 325 F.2d 420 (10th Cir. 1963),

cert. Gomied, S77 U.S. G66 .......:...n..cccceececennsoserecoseneesiee 28

Woodard v. United States, 254 F.2d 312 (D.C. Cir.

1958), cert. denied, 357 U.S. 930 -.........-------eeeeeeeeeeees 28

Yick Wo v. Hopkins, 118 U.S. 356 (1886) ...................... 37

Zap v. United States, 328 U.S. 624 (1946) 02.2... 26

STATUTES

BE UTE. GID CI) niin cnc nicscissaninsermetomnncnsserosrencnion 34

TE TBR. SIG CAGE) anissscsricsseeocinsierniniennonnesnnciniccnntnsbowes 34

SB UGC. GUSGA(1) (ROGB) nanan nncscnncssccccscsccisessscesricoinie 2

OE UC. SI COR. cicichindnekeee 18

Rev. Srat. §1977 (1875), 42 U.S.C. §1981 (1964) -........ 37

Supreme Court Rule 19(1) (b) ......-----.-.-----:.:c:-:eeeeeeeeeees 22

Civil Rights Act of 1866, Ch. 31, $1, 14 Stat. 27 —...... 36, 38

Enforcement Act of May 31, 1870, ch. 114, §§$16, 18,

WB Beek. 20 TOE. ccc cae eeiins eeee 36

Axa. Code §§14-395, 14-397, 14-398 (1958) -................... 33

Ark. Stat. ANN. §3-118 (1956) ........-2.02...22.--220c-sccseceeesees 4,17

PAGE

Ark. Srat. Ann. §3-227 (1956) ..........................-..---- ae

Ark. Stat. ANN. §39-208 (1962) ........2...2.2..2....-0cc.sececccceecees 6,17

Ark. Stat. Ann. §§41-805 to 41-810 (1964) —............. 42

Arg. Stat. Ann. §41-3403 (1964) —..200000000.. 7, 8, 13, 33

Ark. Stat. Ann. §41-3405 (1964) 2000000002 33

Ark. Stat. Ann. §41-3411 (1964) 200022 33

Ark. Srat. Ann. §43-2153 (1964) —...00000002000000.... 7, 13, 33

Akx. Stat. Ann. §§46-144, 145 (1964) 00. 42

Ark. Stat. Ann. §§55-104, 105 (1947) 22202 .. 42

Argx. Srat. Ann. §73-1218 (1957) ..........2......22.20.-cc-eccseeee- 42

Ark. Stat. ANN. §73-1614 (1957) 2200202222... eeeeeee 42

Ark. Stat. Ann. §73-1747 (1957) .222.2222...02..:ccccccccseceeeeeet 42

Ang. Srar. Aw. §76-1119 (1957) ...2.2.22.2.2.22...-cscececcsceneeee 42

Ark. Strat. Ann. §80-509 (1960) 20020222 eeeeeeee 42

Ark. Stat. Ann. §80-2401 (1960) 2.000022 .. 42

ArK. Stat. Ann. §84-2724 (1960) _..000000 eee 42

BD. Cl; CO. BAT, Se CD insist reircces 34

Fria. Stat. Ann. §794.01 (1964) ............... Si pdsaadatsoaoavenuens 33

Ga. Cope Ann. §26-1302 (1963) ....22...220022002.cccccccccccsssceenee 33 »

Ga. Cope ANN. §26-1304 (1963) 200000002220... 34

Ky. Rev. Srat. Ann. §435.090 (1963) _..000000020 34

La. Rev. Stat. Awn. §14:42 (1950) >.....02.222.e eee 34

Wim. Acmpm. Camm, rt, Boy GI incest 34

Mp. Ann. Cons, art. 27, §§461, 462 (1957) 00... 34

Miss. Cope ANN. §2358 (1956) 202.2....2..2.eccecccecceeeeseeees 34

Vernon’s Mo. Stat. ANN. §559.260 (1953) 200000... 34

Nev. Rev. Stat. §200.360 (1963) 2.000000. 33

Nev. Rev. Star. §200.400 (1963) 2.00.22. oo. eect 33

BA. Gum. Beew. GORE CURR) oe 34

oe Seen yr

PAGE

Oxia. Stat. Arn., tit. 21, §1111 (1958) —.....2.. 34

Oxta. Stat. Ann., tit. 21, §§1114, 1115 (1958) —.......... 34

GL. Came Ame. GIGTS (IGG) ccnccccccccccccsssecccensececensssccses 34

BC..Come Asim. GIBGD (IGG) anncesecrcccccoccaccnccccocccnsecncescosoors 34

Tenn. Cope Ann. §§39-3702, 39-3703, 39-3704, 39-3705

COD ernie cten gn arconecsscncnsninipeichivtsicnenanniasnnciiaisntamcnnananstrshutoete 34

Trex. Pen. Cove Ann., art. 1183 (1961) -.................-...-.. 34

Trex. Pen. Cope Ann., art. 1189 (1961) ........................---. 34

Va. Cope Aww. §18.1-16 (1960) .o...ccccccccccccccccceebreeeeeee 34

Va. Cope ANN. §18.1-44 (1960) -...22.2..22.-.2-cceccecceeceeeeeceeeseeees 34

OrHEeR AUTHORITIES

Wernoren, Tue Urce to Punisn, 164-165 (1956) -...... 42

Bullock, Significance of the Racial Factor in the Length

of Prison Sentences, 52 J. Crim. L., Carm. & Pou.

Te ID sticeectecctertetesbindneihncanedoinsintantaadonensiinintons

Fairman, Does the Fourteenth Amendment Incorporate

the Bill of Rights, 2 Stan. L. Rev. 5 (1949) .........

Hartung, Trends in the Use of Capital Punishment, 284

pS A: —_| eRe nara nan ENTE n NET Senne Be

Lewis, The Sit-In Cases: Great Expectations, [1963]

Supreme Court Review 101 ........222222222222..20.---ccceeeeooeeeeee

Packer, Making the Punishment Fit the Crime, 77

ees 3S *: ae

tenBroek, Thirteenth Amendment to the Constitution

of the United States, 39 Cauir L. Rev. 171 (1951) -...

Weinstein, Local Responsibility for Improvement of

Search and Seizure Practices, 34 Rocky Mr. L. Rev.

Be CR agrees dehccscoeeendhnhenianneennttancinieiicemneiinlniassiteniciin

42

xii

PAGE

Wolfgang, Kelly & Nolde, Comparison of the Executed

and the Commuted among Admissions to Death

Row, 53 J. Crm. L., Cram. & Pox. Sct. 301 (1962) .... 42

Comment, 69 Dick. L. Rev. 69 (1964) —...0000000000. ee... 22

Note, 51 Cau. L. Rev. 1010 (1963) ...00000. ee. 22

Note, U. Inu. L. Forum (1964) 200000000 . =

Note, 109 U. Pa. L. Rev. 67 (1960) 0.000000... 35

Note, 113 U. Pa. L. Rev. 260 (1964) .....000000 2. 22

Note, Wis. L. Rev. 119 (1964) 2000000. 22

Annot., 31 A.L.R. 2d 1078 (1953) 0... 22

Conc. Guose, 39th Cong., Ist Sess. 475 (Jan. 29, 1866)

SE II Solis sccacduieachrahiencteosinapldnsionantmiinbenninbieiiitns 38

Cone. Grosz, 39th Cong., Ist Sess. 1758 (April 4, 1866) 38

New York Times, July 24, 1965, p. 1, col. 5 2000... 45

Unrtep States DEPARTMENT oF JUSTICE, BUREAU OF

Prisons, NationaL Prisoner Statistics, No. 32:.

Executions, 1962 (April 1963) 2.0.00... 43

In THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1965

Wim L. Maxwe.,

Petitsoner,

v.

Dan D. Srepuens, Superintendent of Arkansas

State Penitentiary.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

Petitioner prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review

the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Eighth Circuit entered in the above-entitled case on June

30, 1965.

Opinions Below

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Eighth Circuit (C.A. 1)’ and the dissenting opinion of Judge

Ridge (C.A. 24) are as yet unreported. They are set forth in

1The certified record, which is not printed, consists of six volumes.

Volume I contains the record of proceedings in the district court except

for the transcript of the hearing. It is cited as D.C. ——.

Volumes II and III, paginated consecutively, contain the complete

record of proceedings in the Garland County Circuit Court and are cited

as Ark. ——.

Volume IV is the transcript of the hearing in the district court and is

cited as Tr. ——.

Volume V contains depositions and is not cited in this petition.

Volume VI contains the opinion and orders of the court of appeals and

is cited as C.A. ’

7

2

the appendix,’ pp. 2a, 26a. The opinion of the United

States District Court for the Eastern District of Arkansas

(D.C. 39) is reported at 229 F. Supp. 205 and is set forth

in the appendix, p. 30a. The opinion of the Supreme Court

of Arkansas is reported at 236 Ark. 694, 370 S.W. 2d 113

and is set forth in the appendix, p. 55a.

Jurisdiction

The judgment of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Eighth Circuit was rendered on June 30, 1965

(C.A. 28). The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked pur-

suant to 28 U.S.C. $1254(1).

Questions Presented

1. Petitioner, a Negro, was detained at the police station

on suspicion of rape of a white woman. His requests to use

a phone to call a lawyer or his family at home were denied.

Two white policemen went to his home at 5:00 a.m. to obtain

evidence. They had no warrant. Only petitioner’s mother

and two younger brothers were at home. The policemen

were admitted by petitioner’s mother. They searched peti-

tioner’s room and obtained a coat belonging to him. The

coat was used at his trial, which resulted in a sentence of

- death.

a) ‘Where petitioner’s mother was visibly upset, did not

know of her right to resist a warrantless search, and was

not informed 0 right, did her acquiescence in the

search and seizure satisfy the requirements of voluntari-

ness and iniihesmiling requisite to waiver of Fourth-

Fourteenth Amendment rights!

* The appendix is separately bound.

TEE LT LIN LA TEN

3

b) If the answer to question (a) is yes, did acquiescence

by petitioner's mother waive petitioner’s Fourth-Four-

teenth Amendment rights as well as her own?

2. Where petitioner, a Negro sentenced to death for the

rape of a white woman, has shown that nine times as many

Negroes as whites have been executed for rape in Arkansas

although in three representative counties (to which inquiry

was limited) an equal number of Negroes and whites have

been convicted of rape, may the State deny that racial dis-

crimination violating the equal protection clause of the

Fourteenth Amendment produced such a result without

submitting proof that impartial and non-arbitrary factors

explain the grossly disproportionate number of Negro exe-

cutions?

3. Does Arkansas’ granting to the jury of unfettered

discretion to impose capital punishment for all offenses of

rape, irrespective of the existence of aggravating circum-

stances, permit cruel and unusual punishment in violation

of the Fourteenth Amendment?

4. Did the system of selecting petit jurors used in Gar-

land County satisfy the equal protection clause of the

Fourteenth Amendment where the qualifications of all pro-

spective jurors were determined by reference to poll tax

books which, pursuant to state statute, designated the race

of each elector?

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions Involved

This case involves the Fourth, Fifth, Eighth, and Four-

teenth Amendments to the Constitution of the United States.

This case also involves the following Arkansas statutes :

Arkansas Statutes ANNOTATED, §3-118 (1956) :

3-118. List of poll tax payers furnished county clerk

and election commisstoners.—Not later than the 15th day

of October of each year the collector shall file with the

county clerk a list containing the correct names, alpha-

betically arranged (according to the political or voting

townships, and according to color) of all persons who have

up to and including October ist of that year paid the poll

tax assessed against them respectively. The correctness of

this list shall be authenticated by the affidavit of the col-

lector in person. The county clerk shall at once record the

said list in a well bound book to be kept for that pur-

pose....

Arkansas Statutes ANNOTATED, §3-227 (1956):

3-227. Evtdence of right to vote—Filing and return of

documents—Additional list of voters—Poll tax receipts,

requirements—Certified poll tax lists—Rejection of bal-

lots—No person shall be allowed to vote at any primary

election held under the laws of this State, who shall not

exhibit a poll tax receipt, or other evidence that he has

paid his poll tax within the time prescribed by law to en-

title him to vote at the succeeding general State election.

Such other evidence shall be:

(a) A copy of such receipt duly certified by the clerk of

the county court of the county where such tax was paid.

b)

(b) Or, such person’s name shall appear upon the list

required to be certified to the judges of election by section

three of Act 320 of Acts of 1909 [§3-118].

Or, if any person offering to vote shall have attained the

age of twenty-one [21] years since the time of assessing

taxes next preceding such election, which period of assess-

ment is here declared to mean between the second Monday

in May and the second Monday in September of each year,

and possesses the other necessary qualifications, and shall

submit evidence by written affidavit, satisfactory to the

judges of election, establishing that fact, he shall be per-

mitted to vote.

All such original and certified copies of poll tax receipts

_and written affidavits shall be filed with the judges of elec-

tion and returned by them with their other returns of

election, and the said judges of election shall, in addition

to their regular list of voters, make an additional list upon

their poll books of all such persons -permitted by them to

vote, whose names do not appear on the certified list of poll

tax payers, and such poll books shall have a separate page

for the purpose of recording names of such persons.

It shall be the duty of each elector, at the time of pay-

ment of his poll tax, to state, and it shall be the duty of the

collector to record and certify in his receipt evidencing the

payment of such poll tax, the color, residence, postoffice

address (rural route, town or street address), voting pre-

cinct, and school district, of such person at the time of the

payment of such tax, and all poll tax receipts not containing

such requirements shall be void and shall not be recognized

by the judges of election; provided, however, it shall not be

necessary to state or have certified the street address of

any such person in cities and towns where the numbering

of houses is not required by the ordinances thereof.

6

The certified liste required by section 3 of Act 320 of

1909 [§3-118] shall contain, in addition to the name of the

person paying such poll tax, his color, residence, post-

office address (rural route, town, or street address where by

ordinance the numbering of houses is required), the school

district and voting precinct, and such list shall be arranged

in alphabetical order, according to the respective voting

precinets, The county election commissioners shall supply

the judges of primary elections with printed copies of such

lista... .

Arkansas Stature Annotatap §39-208 (1962):

Preparation of lists of petit jurors and alternates—In-

dorsement of lists. —The commissioners shall also select

from the electors of said county, or from the area constitut-

ing a division thereof where a county has two [2] or more

districts for the conduct of circuit courts, not less than

twenty-four (24) nor more than thirty-six (36) qualified

electors, as the court may direct, having the qualifications

prescribed in Section 39-206 Arkansas Statutes 1947 Anno-

tated to serve as petit jurors at the next term of court;

and when ordered by the court, shall select such other num-

ber as the court may direct, not to exceed twelve [12]

electors, having the same qualifications, for alternate petit

jurors, and make separate lists of same, specifying.in the

first list the names of petit jurors so selected, and certify

the same as the list of petit jurors; and specifying in the

other list the names of the alternate petit jurors so se-

lected, and certifying the same as such; and the two [2]

lists so drawn and certified, shall be enclosed, sealed and

indorsed “lists of petit jurors” and delivered to the court

as specified in Section 39-207, Arkansas Statutes 1947,

Annotated for the list of grand jurors.

7

Ankannas Stratitiun Annoraten §41-3408 (1962):

41-3403, Penalty for Rape.—-Any person convicted of the

orime of rape shall suffer the punishment of death for life

imprixonment]. [Act Dec. 14, 1842, $1, p. 19; C. & M. Dig.

62719; Pope's Dig., §3405.]

Anwansas Sravures Ansoratren §43-2153 (1962):

43-2163, Capital caxes—Verdict of life imprisonment. —

The jury shall have the right in all case where the punish-

ment is now death by jaw, to render a verdict of life im-

prisonment in the State penitentiary at hard labor.

Statement

Petitionay William L. Maxwell, a Negro, was charged by

information for the crime of rape on November 7, 1961

(Ark. 1). He was convicted in the Circuit Court of Garland

County, Arkansas, and sentenced to death on April 5, 1962

(Ark. 42). The conviction was affirmed by the Supreme

Court of Arkansas, and rehearing was denied.

A petition for writ of habeas corpus was filed in the

United States District Court for the Eastern District of

Arkansas on January 20, 1964 (D.C. 1). It alleged, inter

alia, that the number of Negroes on jury panels in Gar-

land County was systematically and intentionally limited

through the use of poll tax books designating the race of

qualified jurors (D.C. 2-3). On January 21, 1964, the dis-

trict court issued an order to show cause and a stay of exe-

cution (D.C. 6). On January 31, 1964, the court permitted

an amendment to the habeas corpus petition alleging that

clothing of petitioner was seized during an unlawful search

and introduced at trial (D.C. 11-13). On February 12, 1964,

petitioner filed a second amendment, alleging that Ark.

8

Stat. Ann. §41-3403 (1962 Repl. Vol.), providing for the

death penalty upon conviction of rape, was applied with

unequal severity against Negroes (D.C. 33). It was al-

leged that imposition of the death penalty in rape cases not

involving loss of life was erratic and in conflict with the

mores, principles and basic concepts of fairness of civil-

ized societies (D.C. 34). At the hearing on February 12,

1964, the district court permitted the filing of the second

amendment (Tr. 22).

Following the hearing held on February 12, 13, and 27,

the district court dismissed the petition for writ of habeas

corpus afd vacated the stay of execution on May 6, 1964

(D.C. 62). On May 19, 1964, petitioner filed notice of appeal

(D.C. 70). The district court granted a petition for cer-

tificate of probable cause for appeal and stayed execution

pending appeal (D.C. 67).

The United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Cir-

cuit affirmed on June 30, 1965 (C.A. 1, 28), Judge Ridge

dissenting on the search and seizure issue (C.A. 24).

On July 13, 1965, the court’ of appeals granted a stay of

the mandate for thirty days. If the clerk of the court of

appeals receives within that time period a certificate from

the clerk of this Court that a petition for writ of certiorari

has been filed, the stay is to continue in effect until final

disposition of the case by this Court (C.A. 29).

Search and Seizure

In his amended petition for the writ of habeas corpus,

petitioner contended that his Fourteenth Amendment rights

against unreasonable search and seizure had been violated

by the use made at his trial of a blue coat seized from his

9

bedroom closet by police officers acting without a warrant

(D.C. 11). The court of appeals found that the

blue coat in question was obtained from that closet.

It was eventually sent to the FBI laboratory. At the

trial there was expert testimony that fibers in the coat

matched others found on the victim’s pajamas and on

part of a nylon stocking picked up near the scene of

the crime, and that fibers in the pajamas matched those

found on the coat (C.A. 17).

Accordingly, the court of appeals—as had the district court

—entertained petitioner’s Fourth-Fourteenth Amendment

contentions on the merits (C.A. 16; see D.C. 45). It rejected

those contentions, finding that the warrantless seizure of

the coat was validated by consent given the officers, in

petitioner’s absence following his arrest, by petitioner’s

mother (C.A. 23).

The facts surrounding the search and seizure may be

concisely stated by adopting the findings of the court of

appeals, with a few additions supported by the testimony

of police officers or by the uncontradicted testimony of

petitioner’s witnesses in the district court. In the para-

graphs which follow, the quoted portions are taken from

the circuit court’s opinion (C.A. 16-18); bracketed inser-

tions with record references are from the transcript in the

district court.

“. . . The offense took place at approximately three\

o‘clock in the morning of November 3, 1961. It was raining

and wet. The victim was promptly taken by the police to

a hospital. At the hospital she described her assailant to

Captain Crain of the Hot Springs Police Department and

to Officer O.D. Pettus, a Negro. She stated that the man

had told her he was Willie C. Washington. Two persons

with that name, senior and junior, were brought before her

10

but she identified neither. [A third Negro man was also

brought in but not identified. (Tr. 256, 258, 262-263; testi-

mony of Captain Crain and of the victim.)] She described

her attacker in greater detail. Pettus thereupon suggested

that it might have been Maxwell. Officer Childress, who

was on car patrol duty and in uniform at the time, was

directed by radio to pick up Maxwell. He went to the

Maxwell home. The defendant’s mother, then age 38, an-

swered his knock. [Maxwell’s father was then away from

home at work. (Tr. 159; uncontradicted testimony of Max-

well’s father.)] He told her he wanted to talk to William.

She let him enter, checked to see if her son was in, and

led Childress to the bedroom occupied by Maxwell and two

younger sons. [Childress awakened Maxwell by shining a

flash in his face. (Tr. 135, 186-187; uncontradicted testi-

mony of Maxwell’s mother and Maxwell.)] Childress told

Maxwell he wanted to talk to him down town and asked

him to dress. Childress testified that Maxwell went to the

closet for clothes that were hanging there in a wrapper,

and that he asked him ‘to put on these other clothes here

that he had on.’ The latter were wet. Maxwell testified

that he was told to put on the clothes he had on that night,

that he went to the closet to get these, that he was then

told to put on the clothes folded on the chair, that he was

going to take those clothes to the cleaners, and that they

were not his. [It is uncontested that Maxwell objected to

wearing the clothes on the chair, which he said were wet

and not his, but that Childress told him to put them on

anyway. (Tr. 267; testimony of Officer Childress.) ]

{Maxwell’s mother testified that she was upset at this

time. (Tr. 135.) At the hearing below, Childress was asked

whether he had advised Maxwell or his parents (sic) that

they were entitled to consult with an attorney, and replied:

“No, I didn’t give them any advice at all because I didn’t

11

know whether he was being arrested or what. I just re-

ceived the call over the radio to go pick him up. I didn’t

know what it was.” (Tr. 267.) ]

“Maxwell was taken to the hospital and before the victim.

She at first did not identify him as her attacker but wit-

-nesses described her as visibly disturbed and shaking when

he stood before her. She later said she recognized him but

feared for her life if she identified him. Maxwell was

taken from the hospital to the police station.

[The district court found “that when petitioner was

taken into custody and incarcerated in the City Jail he

was not permitted to see his parents or a lawyer.” (D.C.

49.) This finding was based on petitioner’s testimony that

“IT asked them could I use the telephone to call my—my

mother, somebody to come up, a lawyer or something, and

they told me I weren’t going to use the phone or nothing

..” (Tr. 189; see also Tr. 190.) The testimony is un-

contradicted; Captain Crain testified only that he did not

advise petitioner of his right to consult an attorney (Tr.

250), and that he made no attempt to bring petitioner

before a magistrate because there was no magistrate’s court

until 9:00 a.m., the magistrate had traffic court at that

time, and “We still had not completed our investigation.”

(Tr. 253.) Petitioner’s incommunicado detention continued

for two or three days thereafter in the jail to which he

had been removed to avoid mobbing. (Tr. 192-196; uncon-

tradicted testimony of petitioner.) ]

“Both sides admit that the exact times and place of

Maxwell’s arrest ‘is not entirely clear from the record’.

It might have been at the home at about four a.m. or

shortly thereafter at the hospital.

“Captain Crain, with Officer Timms, went to the Maxwell

home about five a.m. to get, as he testified at the habeas

12

corpus hearing, ‘some more clothes that we thought might

help us in our investigation of this case’ or, as he tostifled

at the trial, ‘I was looking for a particular object... I

wanted what he was wearing that night’. They had no

search warrant, Mra. Maxwell permitted them to enter.

[She testified below: “IT did not know nothing about axk-

ing the officer for a search warrant, I didn’t—I just didn’t

know..." (TY. 146.) And, again, responsive to a question

why she had not asked the officers for a warrant: “Be-

cause I didn’t know—know to just quite honestly I didn't

know—I was—well, | was half asleep and I just wasn’t—

didn’t think to ask him. And I kept—my children were

all at home and I just didn’t think anything were wrong.”

(Tr. 156.)] They were in uniform. The testimony is in

conflict as to whether Mrs. Maxwell was then informed

of any charge against her son; Crain said he so advised

her but she stated, ‘He didn't say nothing about no rape

cease’. (The district court found she had been so advised).

She directed the officers to the clothes closet... . [Captain

Crain testified that Officer Timms checked the closet while

he, Crain, talked to petitioner’s mother. “Well, we—I felt

sorry for her. She was in—well, she wasn’t feeling any

too good being—having a thing like that happen and her

son being accused.” (Tr. 243.) |

“Mrs. Maxwell was understandably upset at the times

the officers called at her home. In the margin we quote

her testimony as to both the first call’? and the second call."

2“ |. it was late and I was asleep and someone knocked un

the door and I woke up and I asked who was it and he said the

policeman and I went to the door to let him in. He asked me did

I have a son here by the name of William and I told him yes and

he just come on in, he didn’t have a search warrant or anything

and I let him. I didn’t know any better myself but I—I didn’t

know that he—you know, everything was all right,»my children

were at home and all and I just let him in.”

13] opened the door and I was afraid not to let them in because

—you know—when they said they were police officers—well, you

13

just—I've just always—I just let the police officers in because I]

just feel like he is for peace and all, and I just—I don’t know, I

didn’t know anything—I never been in anything like this and

I just let them in and I still didn’t think anything, didn’t any of

those officer (sie) have any search warrant or anything, didn’t

show me anything like that.”

Maxwell’s father worked at night and was not home when

the officers called.”

{Asked at the hearing below whether he had told Mrs.

Maxwell that she did not have to relinquish the items of

clothing to him, Captain Crain replied that he did not

recall. (Tr. 248.) He testified flatly that he did not men-

tion to Mrs. Maxwell that things taken could be used in

evidence against her son. (Tr. 249.)]

Capttal Punishment for Rape

Petitioner’s second amended petition in the district court

challenged the constitutionality in their application to him

of the Arkansas statutes allowing capital punishment for

rape in the diseretion of the jury. Ark. Stat. Ann. §§41-

3403, 43-2153 (1964 Repl. Vols.), p. 7, supra. He con-

tended that prosecutors and juries applied the statutes

racially, in that Negroes convicted of rape upon white

women were-usually sentenced to death, while other classes

of rape convicts usually received lesser sentences (D.C.

33); that the death sentence in his case “where life has

not been forfeited is so erratic so as to deny due process

of law” and equal protection of the laws (D.C. 34); and

that in such a case the death sentence constituted cruel

and unusual punishment (D.C. 34).? In support of the

3 The language of part (2), para. 3, of the seeond amendment to the

petition paraphrases the language of the opinions dissenting from denial

of certiorari in Rudolph v. Alabama, 375 U.S. 889 (1963) (D.C. 34), and

was understood by the district court to raise an Eighth-Fourteenth Amend-

ment issue (Tr. 10-13).

14

claim of racial discrimination, petitioner’s counsel sought

leave to take testimony of certain state officials, and to

submit to the prosecutors or clerks of court of the 72

Arkansas counties not to be covered by oral testimony

interrogatories or questionnaires inquiring with respect

to all rape prosecutions after January 1, 1954 the name

and race of the defendant, the race of the prosecutrix, the

extent to which deadly force was attempted or employed

in the course of the offense, and the disposition including

sentence.‘ Counsel for the State expressed doubt that such

information could be supplied by the prosecutors or county

clerks (Tr. 312-313), and the district court thereupon

declined “to go into an expedition of trying to submit it

to the 72—72—75 clerks when I am convinced that they

cannot furnish most of it.” (Tr. 313.) However, over the

strenuous objection of State’s counsel (Tr. 314-317), and

notwithstanding the court’s disposition to believe “that

the information that the petitioner is trying to obtain

can’t be obtained” (Tr. 317), the court did agree, as a

“trial run” (Tr. 317) to hear testimony of state officials

for three counties, in order to “see how fruitful it might

be on a smaller basis” (Tr. 318; see Tr. 317-321). Ac-

cordingly, petitioner presented the testimony of the cir-

cuit clerk, sheriff and prosecuting attorney of Garland

County (Tr. 327-356), the circuit clerk and prosecuting

attorney of Pulaski County (Tr. 357-385), and the circuit

*The request to take depositions and to submit interrogatories and

questionnaires was first made in the second amendment to the petition

(D.C. 34). It was pressed at the hearing (Tr. 6-10, 14-26) and, following

an initially inconclusive disposition (Tr. 25-26), renewed (Tr. 227). The

district court asked counsel for the petitioner to prepare for the court’s

consideration the sort of interrogatories he wished to submit (Tr. 228-229) ;

this was done (Tr. 311-312); and petitioner’s request for leave to submit

the interrogatories renewed again (Tr. 310-311). After the district court

determined to permit testimony limited to three counties as a “trial run”

(see text infra), petitioner’s counsel put the draft questionnaire into the

record to preserve his point (Tr. 321).

15

clerk, sheriff and prosecuting attorney of Jefferson County

(Tr. 386-421). The evidence given by these officials is

summarized in the margin, substantially in the words of

the court of appeals.’ It demonstrated, first, that the in-

formation sought by the petitioner was, for the most part,

available: of 59 defendants charged in three counties over

ten years, the race of all but four defendants was known;

the race of 47 of their 63 victims was known; and dispo-

5 The quoted passage which follows is from the opinion of the court of

appeals (C.A. 7-8). Bracketed insertions supply omitted information,

derived from the testimony of the state officials at Tr. 327-421.

“As to Garland County, for the decade beginning January 1, 1954,

Maxwell’s evidence was to the effect that seven whites were charged

with rape (two of white women and the race of the other victims not

disclosed), with four whites not prosecuted and three sentenced on

reduced charges; that three Negroes were charged with rape, with one

of a Negro woman not prosecuted and another of a Negro receiving

a reduced sentence, and the third, the present defendant, receiving

the death penalty. With respect to Pulaski County for the same

decade, there were 11 whites (two twice) and 10 Negroes charged,

with the race of the victim of two whites and one Negro not dis-

closed. Three whites received a life sentence. [Two of these had white

victims; the third, a victim of undisclosed race.] One white was ac-

quitted of rape of a Negro woman. One received a sentence on a

reduced charge [victim, white], two were dismissed [victims, white],

two cases remained pending [victims, white], one was not prosecuted

[victim of undisclosed race], and the last was executed on a convic-

tion for murder [victims, white; two rape charges were nol prossed].

Of the Negroes, three with white victims and two with Negro victims

received life. One case was dismissed [victim of undisclosed race},

one was not arrested [victim, white], two with Negro victims were

sentenced on reduced charges, and one, Bailey, with a white victim,

was sentenced to death. In Jefferson County eight Negroes were

charged, with the cases against five dismissed [victims, one white, one

Negro, three of undisclosed race], another dismissed when convicted

on a murder charge [victim of undisclosed race], and two receiving

sentences on reduced charges [victims, Negro]. Sixteen whites were

charged. One was charged three times with respect to Negro victims

and as to two of these charges received five years suspended on a

guilty plea. [The remainder had white victims, except in the single

case indicated infra.] Two others received three year sentences. One

is pending, one was executed, and the rest were dismissed [one of

these latter having a victim of undisclosed race.] The race of four

defendants was not disclosed; three of these cases were dismissed and

one is pending.”

16

sitions of all prosecutions, including sentence, were known.

Second, the evidence showed that for the counties and

period covered, Negroes were charged with rape consider-

ably less frequently than whites (by a ratio of 2:3) and

were convicted of rape no more frequently than whites.

Specifically, the figures are:

Garland Pulaski Jefferson Total

Number of White 7 11 (two twice) 16 (onethrice) 34 (two twice)

defendants (one thrice)

charged Negro 3 10 8 21

Total 10 21 28 (four un- 59

known race)

Number of

defendants White 0 3 4 (one twice) 7 (one twice)

convicted Negro 1 6 0 7

of rape Total 1 9 4 14

Number of

defendants White 0 0 1 1

sentenced Negro 1 1 0 2

to death Total 1 1 1 3

On the basis of evidence in the state court transcript, it

further appears, as found by the court of appeals, “that,

in the 50 years since 1913, 21 men have been executed for

the crime of rape [in Arkansas]; that 19 of these were

Negroes and two were white; that the victims of the 19

convicted Negroes were white females; and that the vic-

tims of the two convicted whites were also white females.”

(C.A. 7.) The court of appeals held, as did the district

court, that this was an insufficient showing of racially

discriminatory application of the death penalty for rape

(C.A. 8; see D.C. 60), and both courts refused to give

consideration to petitioner’s contention that capital pun-

ishment for rape was cruel and unusual punishment, the

circuit court saying that a declaration of the unconstitu-

tionality of the death penalty on this ground “must be

for the Supreme Court in the first instance and not for

17

us.” (C.A. 11-12; and see the district court’s similar dis-

position at D.C. 61).

Selection of Jury Panels

In Garland County, Arkansas, petit jury lists were se-

lected by a jury commission consisting of three commis-

sioners, who met periodically to draw up a list of names

(Tr. 47, 64). They relied primarily on their knowledge

of persons in the community (Tr. 61), but also used a

telephone book (Tr. 60, 77) and a list of persons who had

previously served (Tr. 55, 77).

At the time of petitioner’s trial, only qualified electors

who had paid the poll tax were eligible to be jurors. Ark.

Stat. Ann. §3-227 (1956); §39-208 (1962). The jury com-

missioners checked the poll tax books to determine

whether the persons they had selected were qualified

(Tr. 70, 80). An Arkansas statute required that poll tax

books designate the race of all qualified electors. Ark.

Stat. Ann. §3-118. The poll tax book for September 1961,

introduced in evidence as Exhibit I, showed a small “c”

after the names of Negro electors (Tr. 57, 59).

After the jury commission completed the jury list, the

commission transmitted the list to the circuit clerk (Tr.

99-101). The circuit clerk for Garland County between

1955 and 1963 testified that the lists had “c’s” after the

names of Negroes when he received them (Tr. 48-50).

The clerk also testified that he copied the lists, placing the

names and racial markings into a jury book (Tr. 42).

The issue of discriminatory selection of jury panels was

not raised in the state courts. Following petitioner’s ap-

prehension on November 3, 1961, two attorneys were ap-

pointed to defend him on November 28, 1961 (Ark. 2).

They were discharged at their request on February 5,

%

18

1962 (Ark. 15). On January 31, 1962, Attorney Christopher

C. Mercer was hired to defend petitioner (Ark. 13). Mercer

discussed many aspects of the case with petitioner, in-

eluding the jury panel, but he did not discuss with peti-

tioner whether to raise the issue of racial discrimination

in the jury selection process (Tr. 298, 305-306).

Jurisdiction of the District Court

Jurisdiction of the United States District Court for the

Eastern District of Arkansas was based on 28 U.S.C. $2241.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Certiorari should be granted to determine the legal-

ity of search of petitioner’s home without a warrant,

in petitioner’s absence, under purported consent of

his mother.

Two issues arising out of the search of petitioner’s home

and seizure of his clothing without a warrant call for the

exercise of this Court’s certiorari jurisdiction. The State

of Arkansas seeks to support the search and seizure under

consent given by petitioner’s mother in his absence fol-

lowing his arrest. Petitioner contends, first that his

mother’s acquiescence in the search and seizure was not

voluntary and understanding ; second, that her acquiescence

could in no event effect a waiver of petitioner’s Fourth-

Fourteenth Amendment rights. The district court rejected

petitioner’s contentions on one theory and the court of

appeals on another, Judge Ridge dissenting. On this foun-

dation, relief against the death penalty has been denied.

19

The facts surrounding the search and seizure issues have

been set forth at pp. 8-13, supra. Except in a minor point,

they are uncontested. A white police officer went to the

home of petitioner’s Negro family in Hot Springs, Arkan-

sas, shortly before 4:00 a.m. Petitioner’s father was away

at work; petitioner’s 38 year old mother, petitioner, and

two brothers were at home asleep. The officer woke peti-

tioner’s mother by knocking at the door. She asked who

was there; he said it was a policeman; she let him in.

“He asked me did I have a son here by the name of

William and I told him yes and he just come on in, he

didn’t have a search warrant or anything and [| let him

in. I didn’t know any better myself, but I—I didn’t know

that he—you know, everything was all right, my children

were at home and all and I just let him in.” P. 12, supra.

Once inside, the officer awakened petitioner by shining

a flashlight in his face and told him to get dressed. He

refused to permit petitioner to put on the clothing chosen

by petitioner, ordered him to put on other clothing. Peti-

tioner was told that he was being taken to the police

station, that the police wanted to talk to him. He was not

told why. Petitioner’s mother was not told that she could

call an attorney; she was not told the charges against

petitioner; the officer “didn’t give them any advice at all

because I didn’t know whether he was being arrested or

what.” Pp. 10-11, supra.

Petitioner was taken to a hospital for identification by

a white rape victim, then to the police station where he

was held incommunicado and refused permission to, phone

a lawyer or his parents. One hour later, two white police

officers returned to petitioner’s home. Petitioner was then

incarcerated; it was about 5:00 a.m.; and although the

officers went for the specific purpose of obtaining clothing

which would incriminate petitioner, they sought no search

warrant. Petitioner’s father was still not home. They

20

asked petitioner’s mother if they could come in take some

of petitioner’s clothing. She let them in and directed them

to the closet. “I opened the door and I was afraid not to

let them in because—you know—when they said they were

police officers—well, you just—I’ve just always—I just

let the police officers in because I feel like he is for peace

and all, and I just—I don’t know, I didn’t know anything—

I never been in anything like this and I just let them in

and I still didn’t think anything, didn’t any of those officer

have a search warrant or anything, didn’t show me any- ‘

thing like that.” P. 12, supra. “I did not know nothing

about asking the officer for a search warrant.” P. 12, supra.

Petitioner’s mother testified below that the officers had not

told her the charges against her son. Crain contradicted

this, said that he told her the charges and—as might be

expected of a Negro mother whose son is charged with

rape of a white woman in Arkansas—“well, she wasn’t

feeling any too good being—having a thing like that hap-

pen and her son being accused.” P. 12, supra. In any

event, the mother’s testimony that she did not know the

officers needed a warrant to maké the search was uncon-

tested. Captain Crain said he did not recall that he told

Mrs. Maxwell she need not relinquish the clothing, and

testified flatly that he did not advise her the clothing

could be used against her son. While he was talking to

her, his companion officer took the coat which provided a

damaging link in the evidence later used to support peti-

tioner’s conviction and sentence of death.

On this.record, the district court found that it was the

mother’s “free and voluntary choice to permit the police

to enter and search the closet.” (D.C. 49.) “However, the

propriety of the search and seizure need not rest solely

upon the consent given by petitioner’s mother. The law-

fulness of this search and seizure is based upon a consi-

_

21

deration of all the facts and circumstances. ... [T]Jhere

was nothing unfair, unreasonable or oppressive in the

conduct of the police in the performance of the search

and seizure... .” (D.C. 49.) Apparently recognizing the

untenability of this latter ground,® the court of appeals

6 Although language in some of this Court’s cases has suggested that the

test of validity of a search and seizure under the Fourth Amendment is

general reasonableness, e.g., United States v. Rabinowitz, 339 U.S. 56

(1950), the Court has never sustained the warrantless search of a dwelling

not incident to arrest unless validated by consent. And, at least since 1950,

the Court’s decisions have made clear that a warrantless search is eo ipso

unreasonable and unconstitutional, e.g., United States v. Jeffers, 342 U.S.

48 (1951) ; Chapman v. United States, 365 U.S. 610 (1961), unless “‘...

brought . . . within one of the exceptions to the rule that a search must

rest upon a search warrant.’” Stoner v. California, 376 U.S. 483, 486

(1964), quoting Rios v. United States, 364 U.S. 253, 261 (1960). See also

Jones v. United States, 357 U.S. 493 (1958). Those exceptions are

specific. There are special rules relating to search of moving vehicles,

stemming from Carroll v. United States, 267 U.S. 132 (1925), not in-

volved here. There is the doctrine allowing search incident to a valid ar-

rest, United States v. Rabinowitz, supra, which cannot validate the present

search. Preston v. United States, 376 U.S. 364 (1964). Cases involving

“abandoned property,” see Abel v. United States, 362 U.S. 217 (1960),

fall vutside the scope of “persons, houses, papers, and effects” in which

the Fourth Amendment guarantees the citizen against unreasonable search

and seizure. See Hester v. United States, 265 U.S. 57 (1924). But peti-

tioner’s home and clothing are clearly within the protection of the Amend-

ment and, inside that sphere, the Court’s decisions allow only the excep-

tions enumerated above to the warrant requirement. Dictum in a few

eases also suggests that a warrant may be foregone if compelling neces-

sity to seize easily transported or destroyed contraband or instruments of

crime makes resort to a magistrate impossible. Johnson v. United States,

333 U.S. 10 (1948); Chapman v. United States, supra. But no such

necessity has found by any of the courts below; nor could it have

been on this sop Hence, absent consent, the search and seizure here

were unconstitfitional.

However, even were the question under the Fourth Amendment one—

as the district court believed—of general reasonableness, fairness and un-

oppressiveness, it would be difficult to imagine a more unreasonable, unfair

and oppressive search. Having petitioner in their custody and seeking

items of his clothing to incriminate him, the police did not ask his per-

mission to seize them. Instead, they detained him incommunicado, re-

fused him leave to phone a lawyer or the persons at his home. Then,

without a warrant, at 5:00 a.m., they went to petitioner’s dwelling and

intruded on his mother for the second time that night. Uniformed, and

without explaining that she had a right to refuse them entry, they asked

permission to come in, which she—unknowing—granted.

22

rested the validity of the search solely upon its finding

of consent. (C.A. 19, 23.)

A. The search and seizure issues are important,

requiring consideration by this Court on

certiorari.

The two issues thus presented—the requisites for valid

waiver of the requirement of a search warrant, and the

effect of waiver by one cotenant upon the Fourth-Four-

teenth Amendment rights of another—clearly present “an

important question of federal law which has not been, but

should be, settled by this court.” Supreme Court Rule

19(1)(b). The circuit courts are in conflict on both issues.

(1) No issue under the Fourth Amendment is more fre-

quently litigated than the validity of consent to a war-

rantless search.’ Nor is any issue more critical to the

Amendment’s effective protection, for where consent is

found all of the scrupulous safeguards preserved by this

Court’s decisions as limitations upon official intrusion are

nullified. Not only is no warrant required, but—the pro-

tection of the Amendment being deemed waived—searches

7 In addition to the cases collected in the following pages, see, e.g., these

recent federal circuit court decisions: Mosco v. United States, 301 F.2d

180 (9th Cir. 1962) ; United States v. Smith, 308 F.2d 657 (2d Cir. 1962) ;

Villano v. United States, 310 F.2d 680 (10th Cir. 1962); Frye v. United

States, 315 F.2d 491 (9th Cir. 1963); Robinson v. United States, 325 F.2d

880 (5th Cir. 1964); Gatlin v. United States, 326 F.2d 666 (D.C. Cir.

1963); United States v. Horton, 328 F.2d 132 (3d Cir. 1964); United

States v. Hilbrich, 341 F.2d 555 (7th Cir. 1965). Litigation of the issue

in the State courts is not less frequent, see e.g., the California cases col-

lected in Note, 51 Cauir. L. Rev. 1010 (1963) ; State v. Hanna, 150 Conn.

457, 191 A.2d 124 (1963); State v. Scrotsky, 39 N.J. 410, 189 A.2d 23

(1963) ; Commonwealth v. Wright, 411 Pa. 81, 190 A.2d 709 (1963); Holt

v. State, 17 Wis.2d 468, 117 N.W.2d 626 (1962), and the importance of

the question has made it the subject of much recent law review comment,

eg., Comment, 69 Dick. L. Rev. 69 (1964); Comment, [1964] U. Ini. L.

Foaum 653; Note, 113 U. Pa. L. Rev. 260 (1964); Note, [1964] Wis. L.

Rev. 119. For earlier state cases, see Annot., 31 A.L.R.2d 1078 (1953).

23

and seizures may proceed without probable cause*® and

unfettered of any other constraint of reasonableness.’

Little wonder that “consent” is the policeman’s preferred

authority to search; that in 1954 a federal circuit court

remarked upon “this increasing practice of federal officers

searching a home without a warrant on the theory of

consent .. .”;'® that the response of more than one state

police official following Mapp v. Ohio, 367 U.S. 643 (1961),

was, in substance: “We are going to get consent to search

forms similar to the ones used by the F.B.1.” ™

(2) Nothwithstanding frequent litigation, the decisions

of the lower courts are in irresolvable conflict and con-

fusion. All courts agree, of course, that consent must be

“voluntary” to be effective. But, as the Ninth Circuit has

recently said, “In other contexts the word voluntary might

comnote anything from enthusiastic action taken on one’s

own initiative, at one extreme, to grudging action just

short of being compelled by what the law would regard

as duress, at the other.” Martinez v. United States, 333 F.2d

405, 407 (9th Cir. 1964). Far from giving meaping to the

concept of voluntariness as respects consent to a warrant-

less search, the circyit courts of appeals have more or

less explicitly declared the concept not susceptible of

reasoned analysis. “Each case necessarily depends upon

its own facts. The mere fact that a particular panel of

this court may feel that another panel, in a prior decision,

was mistaken in holding that a finding was ‘clearly erro-

neous’ is not a basis for convening the court in bank and

overruling the prior decision.” United States v. Page, 302

§ See Rios v. United States, 364 U.S. 253 (1960).

* See, ¢.g., Davis v. United States, 327 F.2d 301 (9th Cir. 1964).

1° United States v. Arrington, 215 F.2d 630, 637 (7th Cir. 1954).

") See the Appendix to Weinstein, Local Responsibility for Improve-

ment of Search and Seizure Practices, 34 Rocky Mr. L. Rev. 150, 176, 177

(1962). For similar responses, see id. at 178-179.

24

F.2d 81, 86 (9th Cir. 1962), distinguishing Channel v. United

States, 285 F.2d 217 (9th Cir. 1960). See also Hart v.

United States, 316 F.2d 916, 920 (5th Cir. 1963); United

States v. Ziemer, 291 F.2d 100, 103 (7th Cir. 1961); Burge

v. United States, 332 F.2d 171, 173 (8th Cir. 1964); Tatum

v. United States, 321 F.2d 219, 220 (9th Cir. 1963). Ex-

pectably, the result of thus calling consent a “question of

fact,” without attempting to formulate any general prin-

ciples of law which tell the trier what facts he is to in-

quire about and what he is to do if he finds one set of

facts rather than another, has been serious inter-circuit

conflict." In Untted States v. Roberts, 179 F. Supp. 478

(D.D.C. 1959), Judge Youngdahl found a mother’s con-

sent involuntary on facts virtually indentical with those of

the present case. This sort of fortuitous result may be

blinked away, under the prevailing lore of the circuit courts,

by saying that two district judges took different views

on the same question of fact. But when the cases are closely

compared, it becomes apparent that what controlled the

differing results were differing views on an unarticulated

question of law: whether one who does not know and is

not told that officers cannot make a search without a war-

rant should be held to waive the warrant requirement by

agreeing to a request for leave to search. Judge Young-

12 Compare Pekar v. United States, 315 F.2d 319 (5th Cir. 1963), with

United States v. Ziemer, 291 F.2d 100 (7th Cir. 1961). Compare Higgins

v. United States, 209 F.2d 819 (D.C. Cir. 1954), with United States v.

MacLeod, 207 F.2d 853 (7th Cir. 1953). Compare Reed v. Rhay, 323 F.2d

498 (9th Cir. 1963), with United States v. Evans, 194 F. Supp. 90 (D.D.C.

1961). Compare United States v. Haas, 106 F. Supp. 295, 109 F. Supp.

433 (W.D. Pa. 1952), with United States v. Minor, 117 F. Supp. 697

(E.D. Okla. 1953). Underlying these inconsistent results are large in-

consistencies of attitude. Compare the inhospitality toward a finding of

consent by the Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit,

e.g., Judd v. United States, 190 F.2d 649, 651-652 (D.C. Cir. 1951), with

the hospitality toward such a finding by the Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Cireuit, e.g., Martinez v. United States, 333 F.2d 405, 407 (9th

Cir. 1964).

20

dahl assumed that the answer to this question was nega-

tive ;'* District Judge Young below assumed that it was

positive; the Court of Appeals below affirmed without dis-

cussing the question; and, indeed, the question has not

been explicitly framed in any circuit court decision.‘ Surely

this question is one which permits and rationally demands

an answer in law; but until this Court grants review to

frame and decide such subordinate questions underlying

the issue of consent, circuit court decisions in cases involv-

ing life or death will continue to be made lawlessly.

This Court has not decided a case involving the volun-

tariness of consent to search and seizure in almost twenty

years. The few decisions prior to that time do not squarely

address the questions arising in case after case today."

13Tn Roberts, defendant’s mother had been told by the searching officers

that they were not permitted to search without a warrant unless she con-

sented. But Judge Youngdahl found: “It is difficult to believe that this

particular woman understood the significance of what the officers told her;

it is quite implausible to believe she was aware a search warrant was a

prerequisite to a valid search.” 179 F. Supp. at 479. Therefore, Judge

Youngdah] found her consent ineffective. In. the present case, Judge

Young found consent by petitioner’s mother effective on a record which

makes clear that she did not know and was not told that a Search warrant

was a prerequisite to a valid search.

14In a number of cases where effective consent has been found, it ap-

pears the person consenting was told that, unless he consented, a search

could not be made without a warrant. United States v. Heine, 149 F.2d

485 (2d Cir. 1945) ; United States v. Rivera, 321 F.2d 704 (2d Cir. 1963) ;

United States v. MacLeod, 207 F.2d 853 (7th Cir. 1953); Burge v. United

States, 332 F.2d 171 (8th Cir. 1964) ; United States v. Haas, 106 F. Supp.

295, 109 F. Supp. 443 (W.D. Pa. 1952). But consent has also been found

where no such warning was given, e.g., McDonald v. United States, 307

F.2d 272 (10th Cir. 1962) (alternative ground), and petitioner has found

no cireuit decisions squarely facing the question.

18 Gouled v. United States, 255 U.S. 298 (1921), where consent was

procured by misrepresentation, and Johnson v. United States, 333 U.S. 10

(1948), where entry “was granted in submission to authority,” id. at 13,

have been viewed as extreme cases. United States v. Mitchell, 322 U.S. 65

(1944), eonsiders only the effect of the McNabb rule on consent to search.

McDonald v. United States, 335 U.S. 451 (1948), does not distinctly ad-

dress the question of voluntariness of consent. The Amos case is discussed

at p. 31, infra. \

26

Worse still, the Court’s most extended discussion of the

consent principle came in the “public documents” cases,

Davis v. United States, 328 U.S. 582 (1946), and Zap v.

United States, 328 U.S. 624 (1946); and notwithstanding

the admonition that “Where officers seek to inspect public

documents at the place of business where they are required

to be kept, permissible limits of persuasion are not so

narrow as where private papers are sought,” ** the courts

of appeals have relied on Davis and Zap in sustaining

searches for entirely private items.’’ The circuit court

below thus erroneously relied on Davis. (C.A. 20.) Peti-

tioner respectfully submits the question is ripe for renewed

consideration by the Court.

(3) Similarly, the question under what circumstances,

if any, consent to search given by one cotenant can affect

the Fourth Amendment rights of another, urgently de-

mands the attention of the Court. Frequently arising in

cases where, as here, the voluntariness of the consent is

also in issue,’* the point is one upon which the “federal

court decisions . . . are not in accord.” Commonwealth v.

Wright, 411 Pa. 81, 85, 190 A.2d 709, 711 (1963).'* The

Eighth Circuit itself, in an opinion upon which the de-

cision below relies, has admitted that “Without the benefit

of a Supreme Court clarification of the issue, those federal

16 Davis v. United States, supra, 328 U.S. at 593.

1T See, e.g., Rees v. Peyton, 341 F.2d 859 (4th Cir. 1965), relying on

Zap.

18 See, e.g., United States v. Sferas, 210 F.2d 69 (7th Cir. 1954);

Waldron v. United States, 219 F.2d 37 (D.C. Cir. 1955); Williams v.

United States, 263 F.2d 487 (D.C. Cir. 1959); Davis v. United States,

327 F.2d 301 (9th Cir. 1964); United States v. Goodman, 190 F. Supp.

847 (N.D. Ill. 1961) ; United States v. Block, 202 F. Supp. 705 (S.D.N.Y.

1962); United States ex rel. McKenna v. Myers, 232 F. 65 (E.D. Pa.

1964).

1$ Wright itself is not in aceord with United States ex rel. Stacey v.

Pate, 324 F.2d 934 (7th Cir. 1963), decided six months later.

27

courts which have considered the question have taken

divergent positions.” Roberts v. United States, 332 F.2d

892, 895 (8th Cir. 1964).2° Early decisions held that the

cotenant’s consent could not validate a warrantless search

against complaint by a person having a possessory in-

terest in the premises searched." Most of the subsequent

cases appearing to give effect to such consent can be ex-

plained on various narrow grounds. Where the consenting

and complaining parties were co-conspirators as well as

cotenants and consent was given for the purpose of be-

guiling the searching officers, the result rested simply on

the ordinary concepts of agency applicable among cou-

spirators.** In a number of cases, the complaining party

had no possessory interest whatever in the place searched;

if given standing to complain at all,** it was as a means for

vindicating by the exclusionary sanction the rights of the

possessor ;** and a finding of consent by the possessor

ended the complaining party’s grievance, which had never

been bottomed on infringement of his own protected in-

2° The Eighth Circuit had earlier reserved the question. Foster v. United

States, 281 F.2d 310 (8th Cir. 1960).

*1 Cofer v. United States, 37 F.2d 677 (5th Cir. 1930) (alternative

ground); United States v. Rykowski, 267 Fed. 866 (S.D. Ohio 1920)

(alternative ground); United States v. Ruffner, 51 F.2d 579 (D. Md.

1931).

*2 See United States v. Pugliese, 153 F.2d 497 (2d Cir. 1945) (alter-

native ground); United States v. Sferas, 210 F.2d 69 (7th Cir. 1954) ;

United States v. Sergio, 21 F. Supp. 553 (E.D.N.Y. 1937).

*3 In some of the cases in which the courts advert to consent by a party

other than the one complaining of a search, the opinions make relatively

clear that they are doing so for the purpose of stressing that the consent-

ing party, but not the complaining party, had the sort of interest in the

searched premises which the Fourth Amendment protects. See United

States v. Walker, 190 F.2d 481 (2d Cir. 1951), 197 F.2d 287 (2d Cir.

1952); Calhoun v. United States, 172 F.2d 457 (5th Cir. 1949); United

States ex rel. Puntari v. Maroney, 220 F. Supp. 801 (W.D. Pa. 1963).

4 See McDonald v. United States, 335 U.S. 451 (1948).

28

terests.** Cases involving searches and seizures of mov-

ables upon consent of the person to whom their owner

had entrusted them stand on different principles: warrant-

less searches of movables being lawful if based upon prob-

able cause,** consent in such cases is pertinent only be-

cause the information conveyed in the consenting party’s

communication to the police gives the police reasonable

ground to believe items subject to seizure are concealed

within the movable.” Yet in a few recent decisions, among

which petitioner’s is the most extreme, courts have thought

to find within these earlier cases a general principle which

the cases will not support, that one cotenant in a dwelling

may effectively waive another’s constitutional immunity

against warrantless search.”

38 Woodard v. United States, 254 F.2d 312 (D.C. Cir. 1958) (complain-

ing party is transient guest in consenting party’s dwelling); Fredricksen

v. United States, 266 F.2d 463 (D.C. Cir. 1959) (same); Rees v. Peyton,

341 F.2d 859 (4th Cir. 1965) (same); Calhoun v. United States, 172 F.2d

457 (5th Cir. 1949) (same); Burge v. United States, 342 F.2d 408 (9th

Cir. 1965) (same). See also Cutting v. United States, 169 F.2d 951 (9th

Cir. 1948); Von Eichelberger v. United States, 252 F.2d 184 (9th Cir.

1958); Wion v. United States, 325 F.2d 420 (10th Cir. 1963). The prin-

ciple is apparent in cases sustaining against an absentee landlord’s com-

plaint searches consented to by his tenant in possession. See Driskill v.

United States, 281 Fed. 146 (9th Cir. 1922); Reszutek v. United States,

147 F.2d 142 (2d Cir. 1945); Fisher v. United States, 324 F.2d 775 (8th

Cir. 1963).

26 Carroll v. United States, 267 U.S. 132 (1925); United States v.

Boston, 330 F.2d 937 (2d Cir. 1964) (alternative ground); Romero v.

United States, 318 F.2d 530 (Sth Cir. 1963) (alternative ground); United

States v. Zimmerman, 326 F.2d 1 (7th Cir. 1963).

27 Compare Sartain v. United States, 303 F.2d 859 (9th Cir. 1962), with

Holzhey v. United States, 223 F.2d 823 (5th Cir. 1955), where the

movable was within a dwelling and consent of a cotenant was held in-

effective. See also United States v. Eldridge, 302 F.2d 463 (4th Cir. 1962).

Cases involving entry into a dwelling, upon consent of one cotenant, to

arrest another, have been thought to involve the same principle, since

arrest may be made on probable cause without a warrant. See Teasley v.

United States, 292 F.2d 460 (9th Cir. 1961).

°8 Roberts v. United States, 332 F.2d 892 (8th Cir. 1964); Davis v.

United States, 327 F.2d 301 (9th Cir. 1964); United States ex rel. Me-

Kenna v. Myers, 232 F. Supp. 65 (E.D. Pa. 1964). These cases, like the

29

No such broad doctrine is sanctioned by this Court’s

decisions. But neither has the Court condemned unequiv-

ocally a finding that one cotenant’s Fourth Amendment

rights may be waived by another. The question was re-

served in Amos v. United States, 255 U.S. 313 (1921), and

has not since been considered by the Court. Cases holding

that a landlord may not effectively consent to search of his

tenant’s premises, see Lustig v. United States, 338 U.S.

74 (1949); United States v. Jeffers, 342 U.S. 48 (1951);

Chapman v. United States, 365 U.S. 610 (1961), were

thought distinguishable by the courts below, which read

the Court’s recent statement in Stoner v. California, 376

U.S. 483, 488 (1964), that “the rights protected by the

Fourth Amendment are not to be eroded by strained ap-

plications of the law of agency or by unrealistic doctrines

of ‘apparent authority,’” as limited to such cases. The

issue is squarely presented in the present case, and de-

mands decision by this Court.

B. The decision below is wrong and sends petitioner

to death in violation of his Fourth-Fourteenth

Amendment rights.

(1) Judged by appropriate standards, the consent to

search given by petitioner’s mother was not voluntary

and understanding. While this Court has never had occa-

sion to confront the question squarely, its opinion in John-

decision below (see C.A. 20) purport to rest upon the cases cited in notes

17-22 supra. The Roberts holding, however, did not involve a seizure of

the complaining party’s personal effects, and in Davis the trial -ecourt

found that the purpose of the officers making entry was to talk to the

occupant, not to search. McKenna is quite similar to the instant case.

In Stein v. United States, 166 F.2d 851 (9th Cir. 1948), it was indeed

held that a commonlaw wife could validate by her consent the search of

the dwelling which she shared with her husband. Waldron v. United

States, 219 F.2d 37 (D.C. Cir. 1955) (alternative ground), is to the con-

trary, unless the cases are reconcilable on the ground that the husband

in Stein had closed up the house and moved out prior to the search.

30

sow v. United States, 333 U.S. 10, 13 (1948), plainly takes

the view that in order to be effective a consent to search

or seizure must be “an understanding and intentional

waiver of a constitutional right.” This is the concept of

waiver ordinarily applicable to fundamental guarantees.

See Johnson v. Zerbst, 304 U.S. 458, 464 (1938). It is not

enough that the individual acquiesces in a method of

procedure against which the Constitution gives protec-

tion; he or she must know of the protection which the

Constitution gives and intentionally abandon or relinquish

it. On the present record it is uncontested that petitioner’s

mother neither knew nor was told that the officers needed

a warrant to conduct a lawful search. For this reason

alone, her consent was ineffective. The point is the

stronger because, one hour before she allowed the inerim-

inating search, she had seen a police officer who arrested

her son without a warrant compel him to put on clothes

which he did not choose to wear. Nothing in the subse-

quent conduct of the officers dispelled the implication that

their power to seize items of clothing without a warrant

was limitless.

Other considerations too compel the conclusion that this

consent failed to meet constitutional standards for waiver.

The test of voluntariness of a consent to search and seizure

should be more stringent than that for voluntariness of a

confession, for while it is plain that some questioning is

essential to police investigation, only the convenience of

police officers requires procurement of consent to search

in lieu of a warrant. There is legal process consistent with

the Fourth Amendment for attaining the officer’s end, but

he chooses not to use it. Here, it was more convenient

to the Hot Springs police to disturb a Negro woman at

5:00 a.m. than to disturb a magistrate. Following one

hour after arrest of her son in their home—a circumstance

31

calculated to distract her, and which Captain Crain ob-

served had in fact distracted her—two white, uniformed

officers asked admittance for the purpose of a warrant-

less search and it was granted. These conditions consti-

tute the sort of “implied covrcion” found in Amos v. United

States, 255 U.S. 313, 317 (1921),?°—coercion to be con-

demned becaused of its almost inevitable tendency to

produce an undeliberated and cowed consent. See Elmore

v. Commonwealth, 282 Ky. 443, 138 S.W.2d 956 (1940),

relied on by Judge Ridge in his dissent below. Where such

conditions are found, judicial speculation that petitioner’s

mother did not succumb to their overbearing force is al-

together impermissible.

(2) Even assuming the mother’s consent voluntary and

understanding, it could not effectively waive petitioner’s

constitutional rights. The officers went to petitioner’s home

for the specific purpose of seizing items of clothing which

would incriminate him. He was available to them; they

had him in custody at the time. But no effort was made,

after due warning of his constitutional rights, to ask his

permission for the search. Whatever may be the case

when the individual at whom a search is aimed cannot be

found by the police, only callous disregard for the Fourth

Amendment can justify allowing the police to bypass a

man whom they hold confined and seek a waiver of his

rights at the hands of another. “It is important to bear

29 The facts in Amos upon which this Court found consent ineffective

were as follows: “Coleman and Rector . . . as deputy collectors of Internal

Revenue . . . went to defendant’s home and, not finding him there, but

finding a woman who said she was his wife, told her they were revenue

officers and had come to search the premises ‘for violations of the revenue

law’; . . . thereupon the woman opened the store and the [offieers] . . .

entered, and in a barrel of peas found a bottle containing not quite a

half-pint of illicitly distilled whiskey . . .; and . . . they then went into

the home of the defendant and on searching found two bottles under the

quilt on the bed, one of which contained a full quart, and the other a little

over a quart of illicitly distilled whiskey.” 255 U.S. at 315.

32

in mind that it was the petitioner’s constitutional right

which was at stake here...” Stoner v. California, 376

U.S. 483, 487 (1964). And it would be callousness com-

pounded to allow such bypassing where, as here, the police

are detaining their prisoner incommunicado, preventing

him, in flagrant violation of Escobedo v. Illinois, 378 US.

478 (1964), from calling upon a lawyer for his protection

or from phoning the very persons at home whose consent

to search the police are then actively seeking.

Moreover, any rule which would permit one cotenant,

without actual authority from another, to waive the lat-

ter’s Fourth Amendment rights ignores the intimate re-

lationship between the Fourth and Fifth Amendments

which this Court has long remarked. Boyd v. United States,

116 U.S. 616, 633-635 (1886); see Mapp v. Ohio, 367 U.S.

643, 657 (1961). Whatever its modern extensions, the

Fourth Amendment has at its core a prohibition of war-

rantless official entries designed to secure incriminating

evidence against a criminal suspect. Entick v. Carring-

ton, 19 How. St. Tr. 1029 (C.P. 1765) ; Frank v. Maryland,

359 U.S. 360, 365 (1959). Entries of this sort are dis-

similar to other entries, both by reason of their practical

consequences and because the historical experience em-

bodied in the Fourth Amendment has singled them out

as a source of especial concern. See United States v. Blok,

188 F.2d 1019 (D.C. Cir. 1951). And so it does not follow

that, because petitioner’s mother might have admitted a

friend, relative or the exterminator to petitioner’s bed-

room closet, she could consistently with the Fourth Amend-

ment admit a policeman in quest for evidence of petition-

er’s guilt. Of actual authority to permit this incriminating

search, petitioner’s mother had none. Petitioner believes

this Court spoke generally, and not with reference only

to the landlord-tenant relationship, when it said in Stoner

ee ee ae ee

33

v. California, supra: “Our decisions make clear that the

rights protected by the Fourth Amendment are not to be

eroded by strained applications of the law of agency or

by unrealistic doctrines of ‘apparent authority.’ ” 376 U.S.

at 488. Nothing more than an unrealistic finding of ap-

parent authority supports the death sentence on this record.

Certiorari should be granted to determine whether

Arkansas’ death penalty for rape is unconstitutional

because (A) an unrebutted prima facie showing has

been made of its racial application, in violation of the

equal protection clause of the Fourteenth Amendment,

or (B) its allowance to the jury of unfettered discre-

tion to impose capital punishment for all offenses of

rape, in the absence of aggravating circumstances,

permits cruel and unusual punishment in violation of

the Eighth and Fourteenth Amendments.

A. Petitioner’s Equal Protection contention, wrongly

rejected below presents an important question for

consideration by this Court on certiorari.

Seventeen American States retain capital punishment

for rape. Nevada permits imposition of the penalty only

if the offense is committed with extreme violence and great

bodily injury to the victim;*° the remaining sixteen juris-

dictions—which allow their juries absolute discretion to

punish any rape with death—are all southern or border

states.*! The federal jurisdiction and the District of Colum-

30 Nev. Rev. Stat. §200.360 (1963). See also §200.400 (aggravated as-

sault with intent to rape).

31 The following sections punish rape or carnal knowledge unless other-

wise specified. Ala. Code §§14-395, 14-397, 14-398 (Reeomp. Vol. 1958) ;

Ark. Stat. Ann. §§41-3403, 43-2153 (1964 Repl. Vols.) ; see also §41-3405

(administering potion with intent to rape); §41-3411 (foreing marriage) ;

Fla. Stat. Ann. §794.01 (1964 Cum. Supp.); Ga. Code Ann. §§26-1302,

34

bia, with its own strong southern traditions, also allow

the death penalty for rape.”

Between 1930 and 1962, the year in which petitioner was

sentenced to die, 446 persons were executed for rape in

the United States. Of these, 399 were Negroes, 45 were

whites, and 2 were Indians. All were executed in Southern

or border States or the District. The percentages—89.5%

Negro, 10.1% white—are revealing when compared to simi-

lar racial percentages of persons executed during the

same years for murder and other capital offenses. Of the

total number of persons executed in the United States,

1930-1962, for murder, 49.1% were Negro; 49.7% were

white. For other capital offenses, 45.6% were Negro;

54.4% were white. Louisiana, Mississippi, Oklahoma, Vir-

ginia, West Virginia and the District of Columbia never

executed a white man for rape during these years. To-

gether they executed 66 Negroes. Arkansas, Delaware,

Florida, Kentucky and Missouri each executed one white

man for rape between 1930 and 1962. Together they exe-

cuted 71 Negroes. Putting aside Texas (which executed

13 whites and 66 Negroes), sixteen Southern and border

States and the District of Columbia between 1930 and

1962 executed 30 whites and 333 Negroes for rape: a ratio

26-1304 (1963 Cum. Supp.); Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. §435.090 (1963); La.

Rev. Stat. Ann. §14:42 (1950) (called aggravated rape but slight force

is sufficient to constitute offense; also includes carnal knowledge); Md.

Ann. Code, art. 27, §§461, 462 (1957); see also art. 27, §12 (assault with

intent to rape); Miss. Code Ann. §2358 (Recomp. Vol. 1956); Vernon’s

Mo. Stat. Ann. §559.260 (1953); N.C. Gen. Stat. §14-21 (Recomp. Vol.

1953); Okla. Stat. Ann., tit. 21, §§1111, 1114, 1115 (1958); S.C. Code

Ann. §§16-72, 16-80 (1962) (includes assault with attempt to rape as well

as rape and carnal knowledge); Tenn. Code Ann. §§39-3702, 39-3703,

39-3704, 39-3705 (1955); Tex. Pen. Code Ann., arts. 1183, 1189 (1961);

Va. Code Ann. §18.1-44 (Repl. Vol. 1960); see also §18.1-16 (attempted

rape).

3218 U.S.C. §2031 (1964); 10 U.S.C. §920 (1964); D.C. Code Ann.

§22-2801 (1961).

35

of better than one to eleven. Clearly, unless the incidence

of rape by Negroes is many times that of rape by whites,

capital punishment for rape survives in the twentieth cen-

tury principally as an instrument of racial repression.”

33 The figures in this paragraph are taken from Unrrep States Depart-

MENT OF JUSTICE, BuREAU oF Prisons, NATIONAL Prisoner STATISTICs,

No. 32; Executions, 1962 (April 1963). Table 1 thereof shows the fol-

lowing executions under civil authority in the United States between

1930 and 1962:

Number

Per Cent

Number

Per Cent

MURDER

Total White Negro

3298 1640 1619

100.0 49.7 49.1

RAPE

Total White Negro

446 45 399

100.0 10.1 89.5

OTHER OFFENSES

Total White Negro

68 37 31

100.0 54.4 45.6

Other

39

12

Table 2 thereof shows the following executions under civil authority in the

United States between 1930 and 1962, for the offense of rape, by State:

District of Columbia

Florida

White Negro

@| wensnhuoBeteBEwutBe

46

If thie be eo—if the raclally unequal resulta in’ these

States derive from any cause Which takes account of race

as a factor in meting out punishment——-a Negro punished

by death isn denied, in the moat radical sense, the equal

protection of the laws. One of the cardinal purposes: of

the Fourteenth Amendment was the elimination of racially

discriminatory eriminal sentencing. The Mirat Civil Rights

Act of April 9 1866, eh. 31, 91, t4 Stat. 27, declared the

Negroes citizens of the United States and guaranteed that

“auch citizens, of every race and color, .. . shall be sub-

ject to like punishment, pains, and penalties [as white

citizens], and to none other, any law, atatute, ordinance,

regulation, or custom, to the contrary notwithstanding.”

The Pourteenth Amendment was designed to clevate the

Civil Rights Act of 1866 to constitutional stature. See,

eg, tenBroek, Thirteenth Amendment to the Constitution

of the United States, 39 Cave, L. Rev. 171 (1951); air-

man, Does the Fourteenth Amendment Incorporate the

Bul of Rights, 2 Svan. L. Rev. 5 (1949). The Enforce-

ment Act of May 31, 1870, ch. 114, §§16, 18, 16 Stat. 140,

144, implemented the Amendment by reenacting the 1866

act and extending its protection to all persons. This ex-

plicit statutory prohibition of racially discriminatory sen-

* The contention that racially discriminatory application of the death

penalty in rape cases denies equal protection has been raised in a number

of cases now pending in state and federal courts. See, eg., Mitchell v.

Stephens, IRQ F. Supp. 497, 507 (ELD. Ark. 1964), appeal pending;

Moorer v. MacDougall, U.S. Dist. Ct, E.D.S.C., No. AC-1583, petition

fer writ of habeas corpus pending; Aeron Vv. Holman, U.S. Dist. Ct.,

M.D. Ala. C.A, No. 2170-N, proceedings on petition for writ of habeas

corpas stayed pending exhaustion of state remedies July 2, 1965; Swain

v. dladame, Ala. Sup. Ct.. 7 Div. No. 699, petition for leave to file peti-

tem for writ of error coram nobis denied June 25, 1965; Alabama v.

Bukagsiey. Cir. Ct. Etowah County, No. 1159, motion for new trial and

motion for redaction of sentence pending; Craig v. Florida, Sup. Ct. Fla.,

Ne. 34.101, appeal from denial of motion for reduction of sentence pend-

ime: Lowisiama ex rei. Scott v. Hanchey, 20th Jud. Dist. Ct., Parish of

West Feliciana. petition for habeas corpus pending.

DE i NERA ot ON Nat tm

a7

fencing survives tuday us Kev. Srat. 61977 (1876), 42

U.S.C. §1981 (1964),

For purposes of the prohibition, it is of course imma-

terial whether a State writes on the face of its statute

hooks: “Rape shall be punishable by imprisonment .. .,

except that rape by a Negro of a white woman, or any

other aggravated and atrécions rape, shall be punishable

hy death by electrocution,” or whether the State's juries

read a facially color-blind statute to draw the same racial

line, Discriminatory application of a statute fair upon

its face ix more difficult to prove, but no less violates: the

Stute’s obligation to afford all persons within its juris-

diction the equal protection of the laws. E.g., Yick Wo v.

Hopkins, 118 U.S. 356 (1886); Niemotko v. Maryland, 240

U.S. 268 (1951) (alternative ground); Mowler v. Rhode

Island, 345 U.S. 67 (1953); Hamilton v. Alabama, 376 US.

650 (1964) (per curiam). And it does not matter that

the discrimination is worked by a number of separate

juries functioning independently ‘of each other, rather

than by a single state official. However it may divide re-

sponsibility internally, fhe State is federally obligated to

assure the equal application of its laws. This Court has

long sustained claims of discriminatory jury exclusion

95 It is also immaterial whether a State imposes different penalties for

classes of cases defined in terms of race, gy whether it imposes a penalty

of death in all cases of a given crime, subject to the option of the jury

in some racially defined sub-class of the cases. The Fourteenth Amend-

ment’s obligation of equality extends not only to those “rights” which a

State is federally compelled to give its citizens, but also to any benefits

the State may choose to give any class of them, however gratuitously.

Brown v. Board of Education, 347 U.S. 483 (1954); Watson v. City of

Memphis, 373 U.S. 526 (1963).

36 Execution by the State of the death sentence which it has given juries

discretion to impose clearly provides that “interplay of governmental and

private action,” N.A.A.C.P. v. Alabama, 357 U.S. 449, 463 (1958). quoted

in Anderson v. Martin, 375 U.S. 399, 403 (1964), whieh makes the State

responsible for the diserimination. Shelley v. Kraemer, 334 U.S. 1 (1948).

38

upon a showing of exclusion continuing during an extended

period of years, without inquiry whether the same jury

commissioners served throughout the period. E.g., Neal

v. Delaware, 103 U.S. 370 (1881); Bush v. Kentucky, 107

U.S, 110 (1882); Hernandez v. Texas, 347 U.S. 475 (1954).

Congress, when it enacted the 1866 Civil Rights Act know-

ing that “In some communities in the South a custom pre-

vails by which different punishment is inflicted upon the

blacks from that meted out to whites for the same of-

fense,” " intended precisely by the Act, and subsequently

by the Fourteenth Amendment, to disallow such “custom”

as it operated through the sentences imposed by particular

judges and juries."

So the question on this record is one of proof: whether

petitioner has made a sufficient showing of racially dis-

eriminatory capital sentencing under Arkansas’ rape stat-

utes. The court of appeals below held that he had not,

and in so holding rested its decision upon two principles

of sufficient generality and importance to merit this Court’s

review on certiorari. First, the court of appeals rejected

without discussion petitioner’s attempt to apply the “prima

facie” evidence principle of the jury-exclusion cases to

proof of sentencing discrimination. Stating that “the bur-

den is on the one asserting discrimination” (C.A. 6), it

declined to find that burden carried because: “The cir-

cumstances of each rape case have particular pertinency.

We are given no information as to how many Negroes and

how many whites, after investigation, were not charged”

(C.A. 9). Second, it rejected petitioner’s attempt to draw

37 Cone. Guose, 39th Cong., Ist Sess. 1758 (4/4/1866) (remarks of

Senator Trambuall, who introduced, reported and managed the bill which

became the act).

38 See the text of the act supra; see also, e.g., Conc. GLose, 39th Cong.,

lst Sess. 475 (1 29 1866), 1759 (4/4/1866) (remarks of Senator Trum-

ball).

Mae etl BR A hen ae ene BN an MD

39

evidentiary support from the fifty-year history of admin-

istration of capital punishment for rape in Arkansas, on

the ground that “The defense argument goes too far and

would, if taken literally, make prosecution of a Negro im-

possible in Arkansas today because of the existence in

the past of standards which are now questionable.” (C.A.

9.) Together, these grounds make proof of discrimination

in the application of the death penalty nigh impossible.

Petitioner does not seek to tangle the State of Arkansas

in past sins. He seeks only a fair opportunity to demon-

strate the obvious: that his present incarceration under

sentence of death is the product of a long-continued and

continuing system of discriminatory administration of

justice, operating in every gap of discretion left by the

State’s written law, to deny him equal treatment and

subject him to extreme punishment which in practice is

virtually never applied to the white man, but is reserved

as the ultimate weapon of terror to hold the Negro in his

place. To show this, he relies on the past, and necessarily

so. “Institutions, like other organisms, are predominantly

what their past has made them. History provides the

illuminating context within which the implications of pres-

ent conduct may be known.” Communist Party v. Sub-

verswe Activities Control Board, 367 U.S. 1, 69 ( 1961). It

is unreasonable to seek to understand petitioner’s death

sentence in isolation from history—most pertinently, Ar-

kansas’ long-time practice of systematic jury exclusion,

see, e.g., Bailey v. Henslee, 287 F.2d 936 (8th Cir. 1961) ;

Henslee v. Stewart, 311 F.2d 691 (8th Cir. 1963), and

Arkansas’ fifty-year experience in the exercise of jury ‘dis-

cretion to impose the death sentence for rape. This Court

has looked far into the past in jury-exclusion cases, e.g.,

Arnold v. North Carolina, 376 U.S. 773 ( 1964), and by the

nature of things proof of capital sentencing discrimina-

40

tion requires a still more extended canvass. For the death

sentence is rarely imposed; it is a random scourge—albeit

applied better than nine times to one against a Negro.

Petitioner asks this Court to consider whether he has

not made a prima facie showing of discrimination, suffi-

cient to throw some burden of explanation on the State.

Because of the Fourteenth Amendment’s overriding pur-

pose to secure racial equality, “racial classifications [are]

‘constitutionally suspect,’ .. . and subject to the ‘most

rigid scrutiny.’ ...” McLaughlin v. Florida, 379 U.S. 184,

192 (1964). This principle has as its corollary that a suffi-

cient initial showing of unequal treatment of the races is

made, calling State procedures in question, whenever it

appears that the races are substantially disproportion-

ately represented in groups of persons differently dis-

posed of under those procedures: such a showing compels

the inference that a State is drawing the racial line unless

the State offers some justification in non-racial factors for

the disproportion. E.g., Norris v. Alabama, 294 U.S. 587

(1935); Hernandez v. Texas, 347 U.S. 475 (1954); Reece

v. Georgia, 350 U.S. 85 (1955); Eubanks v. Loutsiana, 356

U.S. 584 (1958); Gomillion v. Lightfoot, 364 U.S. 339

(1960) ; cf. Oyama v. California, 332 U.S. 633 (1948). Here

the disproportion is extreme: more than nine executed

Negroes to one executed white over fifty years. The dis-

trict court impermissibly circumscribed petitioner’s proof

by limiting to three counties his inquiry into the causes of

the disproportion, but the evidence taken in the counties—

treated by the district court as a “trial run” and appar-

ently thought by the court of appeals not unrepresentative

of the State (C.A. 18)—clearly negatived the possibility

that the nine-and-a-half to one ratio was accounted for by

differing numbers of rape convictions for the races. Three

whites to two Negroes were charged, and an equal num-

ber of whites and Negroes convicted of rape.

41

This alone should suffice to make an initial showing of

racial discrimination and throw the burden of explenation

to the State. Of course it is true, as the court of appeals

said, that the circumstances of each particular rape case

are significant for sentencing. To determine with scien-

tific precision the influence of the racial factor in capital

sentencing, it would be desirable to gather data concern-

ing, and to hold constant, other potential factors: the

number of assailants and victims in a rape episode, the

ages of the defendant and the prosecutrix, the character

of each, the degree of force which the sentencing jury

could find that the defendant employed, and the degree

of resistance with which he was met, the extent of injury

if any to the prosecutrix—in all, an innumerable host of

details about the parties, the offense and the trial. Many

of these matters cannot be shown with respect to past

rape prosecutions. Many can, and with far more ease by

the State than by the petitioner. Whatever the State can

show in explanation should be permitted to be shown and

then evaluated. The issue on the present record is whether

the State has any obligation to show anything, or whether

it may rest silent in the teeth of evidence that more than

nine times the number of Negroes than whites convicted

of rape are sentenced to death.

This Court should hold that the State may not rest on

such a record. Several considerations support the holding.

First, the hypothesis of racial discrimination is particu-

larly likely in view of the coincidence between the Arkansas

figures and those of the other jurisdictions—all southern—

which have executed persons for rape during the past

thirty years. For all jurisdictions, the Negro-white ratio

is nine to one—although for other crimes than rape it is

about one to one. Studies and observations by students of

the criminal process tend to support the hypothesis of

42

discrimination. E.g., Bullock, Significance of the Racial

Factor in the Length of Prison Sentences, 52 J. Crim. L.,

Crim. & Pou. Scr. 411 (1961); Wolfgang, Kelly & Nolde,

Comparison of the Executed and the Commuted among

Admissions to Death Row, 53 J. Crim. L., Camm. & Pot. Sct.

301 (1962); Hartung, Trends in the Use of Capital Pun-

ishment, 284 Annas 8, 14-17 (1952) ; WerHoren, THE Urce

to PunisH 164-165 (1956).

Second, the broader picture of Arkansas life and law

cannot be ignored. The State’s resistance to the rights of

Negro school children and to the law of the land at Little

Rock, its pattern of excluding Negroes from its criminal

juries, have a place in the estimate of probabilities. Ar-

kansas still by statute forbids the intermarriage of whites

with Negroes, Ark. Stat. Ann. §§55-104, 55-105 (1947),

and punishes interracial cohabitation (called concubinage)

as a felony, although intraracial cohabitation is a misde-

meanor, Ark. Stat. Ann. §§41-805 to 41-810 (1964). The

lesson it thus officially teaches its citizens respecting the

abhorrence in which even voluntary interracial sexual re-

lations should be held cannot help but have an impact on

the views which a criminal jury will hold of an interracial

rape. Cf. Peterson v. City of Greenville, 373 U.S. 244

(1963) ; Lombard v. Louwtstana, 373 U.S. 267 (1963); Rob-

mson v. Florida, 378 U.S. 153 (1964).*°

Third, the absolute discretion which Arkansas law gives

jurors to decide between life and death, undirected by any

rational standards for making that decision, see part

39 On the statute books of Arkansas still stand requirements of segre-

gation in railroads (including waiting rooms), Ark. Stat. Ann. §73-1218

(1957), street cars, Ark. Stat. Ann. §73-1614 (1957), buses, Ark. Stat.

Ann. §73-1747 (1957), schools, Ark. Stat. Ann. §80-509 (1960), penal

institutions, Ark. Stat. Ann. §§46-144, 46-145 (1964), deaf and blind in-

stitutes for children, Ark. Stat. Ann. §80-2401 (1960), chain gangs, Ark.

Stat. Ann. §76-1119 (1957), and any “establishment where gaming is

legal,” Ark. Stat. Ann. §84-2724 (1960).

43

III(B), wfra, invites the influence of arbitrary and dis-

criminatory considerations. This Court has long been

concerned with a vagueness of criminal statutes which

“licenses the jury to create its own standard in each

case.” Herndon v. Lowry, 301 U.S. 242, 263 (1937). See,

e.g., Smith v. Cahoon, 283 U.S. 553 (1931); Cline v. Frink

Dairy Co., 274 U.S. 445 (1927); Connally v. General Con-

struction Co., 269 U.S. 385 (1926); Winters v. New York,

333 U.S. 507 (1948). The vice of such statutes is not

alone their failure to give fair warning of prohibited con-

duct, but the breadth of room they leave for jury caprice

and suasion by impermissible considerations, N.A.A.C.P.

v. Button, 371 U.S. 415, 432-433 (1963) ; Freedman v. Mary-

land, 380 U.S. 51, 56 (1965); Lewis, The Sit-In Cases:

Great Expectations, [1963] Supreme Court Review 101,

110; Note, 109 U. Pa. L. Rev. 67, 90 (1960), including racial

considerations, see Louisiana v. United States, 380 U.S.

145 (1965); Dombrowski v. Pfister, 380 U.S. 479 (1965) ;

Cox v. Loutsiana, 379 U.S. 536 (1965). Unlimited sentenc-

ing discretion in a capital jury presents this vice in the

extreme. To paraphrase Joseph Burstyn, Inc. v. Wilson,

343 U.S. 495, 505 (1952): “Under such a standard the most

careful and tolerant [lay juror] . . . would find it virtually

impossible to avoid favoring one [race] .. . over another.”

Petitioner requests the Court to grant certiorari, that it

may review and reverse the judgment of the court of ap-

peals, which cast an unwarranted and impossible burden

upon petitioner in demonstrating that he had been denied

equal treatment in the most grievous penalty known to law.

a4

B. The Court should grant certiorari to consider

petitioner’s contention that his sentence is un-

constitutional under the Eighth and Fourteenth

Amendments.

The issue which three Justices of the Court thought

deserving of certiorari in Rudolph v. Alabama, 375 U.S.

889 (1963), was deemed by the court of appeals below one

which “must be for the Supreme Court in the first in-

stance.” P. 16, supra. The Fourth Circuit has taken the

same view. Ralph v. Pepersack, 335 F.2d 141 (4th Cir.

1964). Petitioner respectfully requests the judgment of

the Court on the issue.

The question is not. in this aspect, whether on any

rational view which one might take of the purpose of

criminal punishment, the defendant's conduct as the jury

might have found it at its worst on this record could sup-

port a death sentence consistent with civilized standards

for the administration of criminal law. As the issue of

penalty was submitted to the jury in their unlimited dis-

cretion under Arkansas procedure,” their attention was

directed to none of the purposes of criminal punishment,

nor to any aspect or aspects of the defendant’s conduct.

They were not invited to consider the extent of physical

harm to the prosecutrix, the moral heinousness of the

defendants’ acts, his susceptibility or lack of susceptibility

to reformation, the extent of the deterrent effect of killing

the defendant “pour décourager les autres.” Cf. Packer,

Making the Punishment Fit the Crime, 77 Harv. L. Rev.

1071 (1964). They were permitted to choose between life

and death upon conviction for any reason, rational or

irrational, or for no reason at all: at a whim, a vague

caprice, or because of the color of petitioner’s skin if that

** Allison V. State, 204 Ark. 609, 164 S.W.2d 442 (1942); Rorie v. State,

215 Ark. 282. 220 S.W.2d 421 (1949).

45

did not please them. In making the determination to

impose the death sentence, they acted wilfully and un-

reviewably, without standards and without direction.

Nothing assured that there would be the slightest thread

of connection between the sentence they exacted and any

reasonable justification for exacting it. Cf. Skinner v.

Oklahoma, 316 U.S. 535 (1942). A judgment so uncon-

fined, so essentially erratic, is per se eruel and unusual

because it is purpoxeless, lacking in any relationship by

which its fitness to the offense, or to the offender or to

any legitimate social purpose may be tested. It is cruel

not only because it is extreme but because it is wanton;

and unusual not only because it is rare, but because the

decision to remove the defendant from the ordinary

penological regime is arbitrary. To concede the complex-

ity and interrelation of sentencing goals, see Packer, supra,

is no reason to sustain a statute which ignores them all.

It is futile to put forward justifications for a death so

inflicted ; there is no assurance that the infliction responds

to the justification or will conform to it in operation.

Inevitably under such a sentencing regime, capital punish-

ment in those few, arbitrarily selected cases where it is

applied both is “ ‘disproportioned to the offenses charged’ ”

and constitutes “‘ unnecessary cruelty.” Rudolph v. Ala-

bama, supra, 375 U.S. at 891." :

‘!The United States Department of Justice has taken the following.

position on continued imposition of the death penalty: “We favor the

abolition of the death penalty. Modern penology with its correctional and

rehabilitation skills affords greater protection to society than the death

penalty which is inconsistent with its goals. This Nation is too great in

its resources and too good in its purposes to engage in the light of present

understanding in the deliberate taking of human life as either a punish-

ment or a deterrent to domestie crime.” Letter of Deputy Attorney

eral Ramsey Clark to the Honorable John L. MeMillan, Chairman, Dis-

trict of Columbia Committee, House of Representatives, July 23, 1965,

reported in New York Times, July 24, 1965, p. 1, eol. 5.

46

Certiorari should be granted to determine whether

use of poll tax books containing racial designations,

as required by atatute, in the system of jury selection

ia constitutional,

This Court has long made clear that “Jurymen should

be selected as individuals, on the basis of individual quali-

fications, and not as members of a race.” Cassell v. Tewas,

B89 US, Wx, WEL|7_ Petitioner contends that the jury selee-

tion procedures established by state law and used in

Garland County, Arkansas, encourage and permit the se-

lection of jurors on the basis of race, in violation of the

Fourteenth Amendment.

In Garland County, petit jury lists are selected by a

jury commission consisting of three commissioners who

meet together periodically and draw up a list of names

(Tr. 47, 64). They rely primarily on their knowledge of

persons in the community (Tr. 61), but also use a telephone

book (Tr. 60, 77) and a list of persons who have previ-

ously served (Tr. 55, 77). At the time of petitioner’s trial,

only qualified electors who had paid the poll tax were eli-

gible to be jurors.*? Thus the jury commissioners checked

the poll tax books to determine whether the persons they

had selected were qualified. In accordance with statute,

Ark. Stat. Ann. (3-118 (1956), the poll tax books desig-

nated the race of all qualified electors (Tr. 57, 59).

In the recent case of Hamm v. Virginia State Board of

Elections, 230 F. Supp. 156 (E.D.Va. 1964) aff'd sub nom.

Tancd v. Woolls, 379 U.S. 19, a three-judge district court

declared that Virginia statutes requiring that lists of

*2In November, 1964, Arkansas approved a constitutional amendment

outlawing the pol] tax. Ark. Const., Amend. 51.

Pea

47

voters and taxpayers be kept in separate books according

to race violated the Fourteenth Amendment. The district

court stated that it was now

axiomatic that no State ean directly or casually pro-

mote a distinetion in the treatment of persons solely

on the basis of their color. To be within the condem-

nation, the governmental action need not effectuate

segregation of facilities directly. Cf. Anderson v.

Martin, 375 U.S. 309, 402, 84S, Ct. 454, 11 L. Ed. 439

1964, The result of the statute or policy must not

tend to separate individuals by reason of difference

in race or color, No form of State discrimination, no

matter how subtle, is permissible under the gnarantees

of the Fourteenth Amendment. 280 F. Supp. at 157-

158.

One of the Virginia statutes struck down dealt specifically

with poll tax lists.‘

The court of appeals in this case, however, merely stated

that the JIamm case “appears to cast some doubt on [the]

validity” of racially designated poll tax books (C.A. 15).

By refusing to give full weight to the three-judge court's

decision and this Court’s affirmance, the court of appeals

was able, in a capital case, to avoid the full force of

petitioner’s constitutional claim. The court should have

acknowledged that racially designated poll tax books are

unconstitutional and should have examined Arkansas’ jury

selection procedures from this starting point. Its failure

to do this, and the consequent need for clarification of the

issue, is reason enough for this Court to grant certiorari.

The court of appeals tried to minimize the significance

of the racially designated poll tax books on the ground that

‘The Arkansas statute differs in that it does not eall for separate

books, but this distinction is without significance.

48

the jury commissioners drew up an independent list of

jurors before consulting the poll tax book. ut the fact

that an independent list is drawn up first does not elimi- ©

nate the many opportunities for discrimination created by

the statutorily imposed system of racial designations.

A selection procedure which provides unnecessary oppor-

tunities for discrimination violates the Fourteenth Amend-

ment. In Avery v. Georgia, 345 U.S. 559, a conviction was

reversed because the names of potential jurymen were

placed on different colored slips according to race. The

trial judge testified that he selected the slips without re-

gard to color, but Chief Justice Vinson stated that “Even

if the white and yellow tickets were drawn from the jury

box without discrimination, opportunity was available to

resort to it at other stages in the selection process.” /d.

at 562. And Justice Frankfurter, concurring said: “We

may accept the testimony of the judge who drew the

slips from the box as to the honesty of his purpose; that

testimony does not refute the fact that there were oppor-

tunities to discriminate, as experience tells us there will

inevitably be when such differentiating slips were used.

Id. at 564.

That a state must not provide unnecessary “opportu-

nities to discriminate” is also shown by Anderson v. Martin,

375 U.S. 559, where this Court ended the Louisiana prac-

tice of designating the race of all candidates for public

office. There was, of course, no positive proof that these

racial designations in any way influenced the voting pat-

terns of Louisiana citizens. Nonetheless, the Court held

that the designations were unconstitutional because the

state was indicating that race was “an important—per-

haps paramount—consideration” in a voter’s choice. Jd.

at 402. The Court added that a state cannot “encourage

its citizens to vote for a candidate solely on account of

hates eta

49

race. Cf. Steele v. Louisville d N. R. Co., 323 US. 192,

203, 89 L. Ed. 173, 183, 65 S. Ct. 226 (1944). And that

which cannot be done by express statutory prohibition

cannot be done by indirection.” Jd. at 404. In the jury

situation it is clear that a state cannot encourage, or even

permit, its jury commissioners to select juries on the basis

of race. But the Arkansas procedure, “by indirection,”

both permits and encourages selection along racial lines.

The Court of Appeals, having held against petitioner

on the merits, stated that it was “unnecessary to consider

the argument [raised in the district court] that Maxwell

waived any objections to the petit jury panel and did so

within the permitted scope of Fay v. Noia, supra, 372 U.S.

438-40 (1963).” The district court had strongly suggested

that petitioner waived his rights with respect to jury se-

lection by failing to raise the issue in the state courts. It

relied on the fact that the attorney who represented psti-

tioner in the state courts was aware of petitioner’s con-

stitutional rights and familiar with the procedure for

selecting jurors in Garland County. The district court

also noted the trial attorney’s testimony that he had “dis-

cussed the jury panel” with petitioner. It apparently in-

terpreted this testimony as meaning that the attorney had

discussed with Maxwell the jury selection procedures used

in Arkansas. A more plausible interpretation is that the

attorney merely talked with petitioner about the desir-

ability of certain jurors. There was no explicit evidence

‘hat the attorney discussed with petitioner the question of

raising or not raising a challenge to the method of jury

selection by motion to quash, and, in fact, the attorney

testified that he never gave petitioner this choice (Tr. 297-

298, 305-306). There is no evidence that petitioner knew

or understood the nature of the right involved or the par-

ticular practices of the jury commission attacked here.

50

Waiver of a constitutional right is the “intentional re-

linquishment or abandonment of a known right or privi-

lege.” Johnson v. Zerbst, 304 U.S. 458, 464. In Fay v.

Nota, 372 U.S. 391, this Court declared that “the doctrine

of fictitious waiver is unacceptable.” The strict standards

required by the courts before finding waiver of the con-

stitutional right to a jury chosen without discriminaticn

on account of race are set forth in a line of Fifth Circuit

cases. United States ex rel. Goldsby v. Harpole, 263 F.2d

71 (5th Cir. 1959), cert. denied, 361 U.S. 838; United States

ex rel. Seals v. Wiman, 304 F.2d 53 (5th Cir. 1962), cert.

denied 372 U.S. 924; Whitus v. Balkcom, 333 F.2d 496 (5th

Cir. 1964), cert denied, 379 U.S. 93; Cobb v. Balkcom, 339

F.2d 95 (5th Cir. 1964). In Goldsby and Seals, as in the

case of petitioner, “the important fact . . . was that the

attorney for the Negro defendant did not consult his client

with regard to his decision to refrain from making attacks

on the jury system.” Whitus, supra, 333 F.2d at 502. Thus

the fact that trial counsel did not raise the issue with re-

spect to county jury selection methods can in no way

prejudice petitioner, for petitioner was never actually

consulted concerning the attorney’s failure to raise the

issue.

ol

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons the petition for writ of

certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Jack GREENBERG

James M. Nasrit, IIT

MicHAEL MELTSNER

Leroy D. Cuark

Frank H. Herrron

10 Columbus Circle

New York, New York 10019

Greorce Howarp, Jr.

32914 Main Street

Pine Bluff, Arkansas

Harotp B. ANpDERSON

205 Century Building

Little Rock, Arkansas

AntHony G. AMSTERDAM

3400 Chestnut Street

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Attorneys for Petitioner

‘

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

WILLIAM L. MAXWELL,

*»

Petitioner,

v.

DAN D. STEPHENS, Superintendent of Arkansas

State Penitentiary.

APPENDIX TO

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

GEORGE HOWARD, Jr. JACK GREENBERG

32914 Main Street JAMES M. NABRIT, III

Pine Bluff, Arkansas MICHAEL MELTSNER

LEROY D. CLARK

FRANK H. HEFFRON

HAROLD B. ANDERSON 10 Columbus Circle

205 Century Building New York, New York 10019

Little Rock, Arkansas ‘

ANTHONY G. AMSTERDAM

3400 Chestnut Street

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Attorneys¥or Petitioner

—_

Anited States Court of Appeals

For THE E1gHtu Circuit

No. 17,729

September Term, 1964

&

Wiiuum L. Maxwet.,

Appellant,

vs.

Dan D. Steruens, Superintendent of Arkansas

State Penitentiary.

APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

EASTERN DISTRICT OF ARKANSAS

Judgment of Court of Appeals

This cause came on to be heard on the original files of

the United States District Court for the Eastern District

of Arkansas, and was argued by counsel.

On Consideration Whereof, It is now here Ordered and

Adjudged by this Court that the Order of the said District

Court entered May 6th, 1964 in this cause, denying peti-

tion for writ of habeas corpus be, and the same is hereby,

affirmed, in accordance with majority opinion of this Court

this day filed herein.

June 30, 1965.

Order entered in accordance

with majority opinion :—

Rosert C. Tucker

Clerk, U. S. Court of Appeals

for the Eighth Circuit.

2a

Opinion of Court of Appeals

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For THE E1igHtuH Crrcvit

No. 17,729

WituuaM L. Maxwe.t,

Appellant,

v.

Dan D. StepuHens, Superintendent of Arkansas

State Penitentiary,

7 Appellee.

APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

EASTERN DISTRICT OF ARKANSAS

[June 30, 1965. ]

Before Matrues, BLackmun, and Ripeg, Circuit Judges.

Buacxmun, Circuit Judge.

William L. Maxwell, a Negro possessing an eighth grade

education, stands convicted by a jury in the Circuit Court

of Garland County, Arkansas, of the crime of rape, as de-

fined by § 41-3401, Arkansas Statutes 1947. The offense

was committed on November 3, 1961. Maxwell at the time

was 21 years of age. The jury did not “render a verdict

3a

Opinion of Court of Appeals

of life imprisonment in the State penitentiary at hard

labor”, as it had the right to do under §{§ 43-2153 and

41-3403, and for which it had been given an alternate ver-

dict form. As a consequence, and in line with the inter-

pretation consistentlyg given {43-2153 by the Supreme

Court of Arkansas,’ the death sentence was imposed. On

appeal the conviction was affirmed. Mazwell v. State, 236

Ark. 694, 370 S.W.2d 113 (1963).?

Four days before the execution date which was fixed

following that unsuccessful appeal Maxwell filed a petition

for a writ of habeas corpus in the United States District

Court for the Eastern District of Arkansas. Judge Young

conducted a hearing on the federal constitutional issues

raised by that petition. Briefs were filed. The court

wrote a detailed opinion denying the relief requested,

Maxwell v. Stephens, 229 F.Supp. 205 (E.D. Ark. 1964),

but then granted Maxwell’s petition for a certificate of

probable cause, as contemplated by 28 U.S.C. § 2253, and

further stayed execution.

Except for an early period prior to the state trial when

court appointed attorneys were in the case, Maxwell has

been represented through all the state and federal pro-

ceedings by competent, although different, non-court-ap-

pointed counsel.

1 Kelley v. State, 133 Ark. 261, 202 S.W. 49, 54 (1918); Bullen v. State,

156 Ark. 148, 245 S.W. 493, 494 (1922) ; Clark v. State, 169 Ark. 717, 276

S.W. 849, 853-54 (1925); Smith v. State, 205 Ark. 1075, 172 S.W.2d 248,

249 (1943); Turner v. State, 224 Ark. 505, 275 S.W.2d 24, 31 (1955);

Stewart v. State, 233 Ark. 458, 345 S.W.2d 472, 475 (1961), cert, denied

368 U.S. 935.

2 No petition for certiorari was filed with the Supreme Court of the

United States. This of course no longer constitutes a failure to exhaust

available state remedies. Fay v. Noia, 372 U.S. 391, 435-38 (1963) ; Curtis

v. Boeger, 331 F.2d 675 (8 Cir. 1964).

da

Opinion of Court of Appeals

We note, as we have noted before in other cases of this

type,’ that Maxwell’s guilt or innocence is not in issue

before us. This is still another situation where, as the

United States Supreme Court described the posture of an

earlier Arkansas case, “ ... what we have to deal with

is not the petitioners’ innocence or guilt but solely the

question whether their constitutional rights have been

preserved”. Moore v. Dempsey, 261 U.S. 86, 87-88 (1923).

The circumstances and details of the crime are, as

usual, sordid. They are set forth in the Arkansas opin-

ion, pp. 114-16 of 370 S.W.2d, and need not be repeated

here. It suffices only to say that the victim was a white

woman, 35 years old, who lived with her helpless ninety-

year-old father; that their home was entered in the early

morning by the assailant’s cutting or breaking a window

screen; that in the ensuing struggle the victim bit her

assailant and caused bleeding; and that she was assaulted

and bruised, her father injured, and the lives of both

threatened. Confessions taken from Maxwell were not

employed at the trial. The defense presented no evidence.

The jury was out several hours. No question is raised as

to the sufficiency of the evidence.

Qn this habeas corpus appeal Maxwell presses three

issues:‘ (1) he was denied due process of law and the

' * Beiley v. Henslee, 287 F.2d 936, 939 (8 Cir. 1961), cert. denied 368

U.S. 877; Henslee v. Stewert, 311 F.2d 691, 692 (8 Cir. 1963), cert. denied

* Other issues arged in district court, see pp. 208-09 and 211-12 of

229 F.Supp., but abandoned 6n this appeal, were the legality of Maxwell’s

arrest, the denial of a motion,for change of venue, the validity of con-

ee ee ee a 2 eee ee poe

Sadana lige he was wearing. This search produced or revealed

hair, a nylon thread, and blood and seminal stains which tended to

nthe Ae Fame te trie egace ta

5a

Opimon of Court of Appeals

equal protection of the laws, guaranteed by the Fourteenth

Amendment, because he was sentenced under statutes

which are discriminatorily enforced against Negroes; (2)

he was denied due process and equal protection because

the Garland County jury lists revealed race and were

compiled from racially designated poll tax books; and (3)

the taking of his coat while he was in custody, and refer-

ences to it in testimony at the trial,’ violated rights guar-

anteed to him under the Fourth, Fifth, and Fourteenth

Amendments.

A. The statute’s enforcement. The argument here is

that § 41-3403, which prescribes the death penalty for

rape, and § 43-2153, which, since its enactment as Acts

1915, No. 187, §1, permits a jury in a death punishment

case to render a verdict of life imprisonment, although

perhaps constitutionally valid on their face, have been

discriminatorily enforced against members of the Negro

race and in favor of members of the white race. It is

claimed that in practice “Negroes remain liable to the

supreme penalty for the crime of rape, but whites, with

very rare exceptions, suffer lesser punishments”; that

“there is reason to believe that every person suffering

the death penalty has been convicted of a crime against

a white woman”; that “All but two of the men executed

for rape since 1913 have been Negroes”; that Negro de-

fendants are more likely to be sentenced to death and

5 No point is apparently made about the fact the coat itself (despite

a contrary statement in the Maxwell brief) was not introduced in evi-

dence. In view of this, we do not raise the point on our own seccord.

We assume that, for present purposes, questions of admissibility are as

applicable to testimony concerning the coat as to the coat itself. McGinnis

v. United States, 227 F.2d 598, 603 (1 Cir. 1955); Williams v. United

States, 263 F.2d 487, 488-89 (D.C. Cir. 1959). See Silverthorne Lumber

Co. v. United States, 251 U.S. 385, 391-92 (1920), and Wong Sun v. United

States, 371 U.S. 471, 484 (1963).

6a

Opinion of Court of Appeals

only white women are protected by the deterrence of the

supreme penalty; that in Garland County (Hot Springs),

Pulaski County (Little Rock), and Jefferson County (Pine

Bluff), in the decade beginning January 1, 1954, only

three charges were lodged against white men for the rape

of Negro women; that one of these resulted in an acquit-

tal and the other two in reduced charges; that in the

same period seven Negroes were charged with raping

white women; that of these, two were sentenced to death,

three to life imprisonment, one dismissed, and one not

apprehended; that “This history raises serious doubts

about the fairness of Arkansas’ system of criminal jus-

tice”; that the figures are not to be explained by the pro-

portion of Negroes in the state’s total population nor by

any claim that the crime rate is higher among Negroes,

for in the three counties about two-thirds of the rape

charges were against white persons; that the proportion

of Negroes who receive the death penalty “cries out for

an explanation”; that race is the answer; and that the

state should be required to come forward with a rational

explanation.

It is further argued that there is no basis for assuming

a Negro’s victims have better character than the victims

of whites; that differing sentences for Negroes and whites

are consistent with Arkansas’ system of justice; that re-

sponsibility for administration of penalties in rape cases

lies with other officials besides juries; that “it is not what

public officials say but what they do which must be deter-

minative when discrimination is at issue”; that in Max-

well’s state court proceedings “several occurrences under-

scored the presence of the racial factor”, namely, the use

of the term “nigger”, the excuse or successful challenge

of the nine Negroes who were called for jury service, and

7a

Opinion of Court of Appeals

the prosecutor’s reference to the race of the defendant

and the victim three times during the state trial “ander

the guise of requesting the jurors to dismiss the fact from

their minds”; that the state’s laws on segregation and

the history of the resistance to desegregation of schools

in Little Rock are consistent with the contention that race

is a factor in the disposition of rape cases and the im-

position of the death penalty; that the court erred in re-

stricting the defense proof of race figures to the three

counties; and that, finally, the imposition of the death

penalty for rape violates due process in that it is a cruel

and unusual punishment.

This question of unconstitutionality in application was

raised \both in the Supreme Court of Arkansas and in the

United States district court. Each tribunal decided the

issue adversely to Maxwell. Pp. 117-18 of 370 S.W.2d;

pp. 216-17 of 229 F.Supp.

There can be no doubt that the equal protection clause

of the Fourteenth Amendment and 42 U.S.C. § 1981,‘

which implements it, (and, it would appear, Art. 2, §3,

of the Arkansas Constitution)’ operate to invalidate any

state statute which would differentiate punishment solely

on the basis of race. Virginia v. Rives, 100 U.S. 313, 318

(1879); Strauder v. West Virginia, 100 U.S. 303, 307

(1879); McLaughlin, v. Florida, 379 U.S. 184, 192-94

(1964) ; see Skimmer v. Oklahoma, 316 U.S. 535, 541 (1942).

We recognize, too, that a statute’s discriminatory admin-

* Section 1981. “All persons within the jurisdiction of the United States

. . Shall be subject to like punishment, pains, penalties, taxes, licenses,

and exactions of every kind, and to no other.”

7“The equality of all persons before the law is recognized, and shall

ever remain inviolate; nor shall any citizen ever be deprived of any right,

privilege or immunity, nor exempted from any burden or duty, on account

of race, color or previous condition.”

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.