Record and brief — Missouri v. McNeely

Supreme Court brief2013

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

DOCKET

‘Ng SUPREME COURT

“mes” OF THE UNITED STATES

No. 11-1425

Title Missouri, Petitioner

Vv

Tyler G. McNeely

Docketed May 25, 2012

Lower Ct: Supreme Court of Missour\

Case Nos. (SC 91850)

Decision Date January 17, 2012

Rehearing Denied: March 6, 2012

Questions

Presented

~~~Date~~~ ~~~~~~~ Proceedings and Orders

May 22 2012 Petition for a writ of certiorari filed. (Response due June 25. 2012)

Jun 82012 Order extending time to file response to petition to and including July 25. 2012

Jul 252012 Brief of respondent Tyler G. McNeely in opposition filed.

Aug 82012 DISTRIBUTED for Conference of September 24, 2012

Aug 14 2012 Reply of petitioner Missouri filed. (Distributed)

Sep 25 2012 Petition GRANTED

Oct 31 2012 SET FOR ARGUMENT ON Wednesday. January 9, 2013

Nov 52012 Consent to the filing of amicus curiae briefs. in support of either party or of neither party

received from counsel! for the respondent.

Nov92012 Joint appendix filed (Statement of costs received)

Nov92012 Brief of petitioner Missouri filed.

Nov 13 2012 Consent to the filing of amicus curiae briefs. in support of either party or of neither party

received from counsel! for the petitioner.

Nov 16 2012 CIRCULATED

Nov 16 2012 Brief amicus curiae of Mothers Against Drunk Driving filed (Distributed)

Nov 16 2012 Brief amici curiae of Nationa! District Attorneys Association. et al. filed (Distributed)

Nov 16 2012 Brief amici curiae of Delaware. et al filed (Distributed)

Nov 16 2012 Brief amicus curiae of the United States filed. (Distributed)

Dec 10 2012 Brief of respondent Tyler G. McNeely filed. (Distributed)

Dec 10 2012 Motion of the Solicitor General for leave to participate in oral argument as amicus curiae

and for divided argument filed

Dec 14 2012 Brief amicus curiae of Rutherford Institute filed. (Distributed)

Dec 17 2012 Brief amici curiae of Law Professors filed. (Distributed)

Dec 17 2012 Brief amici curiae of Nationa! College for DU! Defense. et al. filed (Distriputed)

Dec 20 2012 Record received from The Supreme Court State of Missour|. (1 Box)

Jan2 2013 Reply of petitioner Missouri filed (Distributed)

Jan 42013 Motion of the Solicitor General for leave to participate in oral argument as amicus curiae

and for divided argument GRANTED

Jan92013 Argued For petitioner Jonn N. Koester. Jr.. Assistant Prosecuting Attorney Jackson

Mo.. and Nicole A. Saharsky. Assistant to the Solicitor General, Department of Justice

Washington. D. C. (for United States, as amicus curiae.) For respondent Steven R

Shapiro. New York, N Y

PETITION

FOR

WRIT OF

CERTIORARI

"Yj

ct}

i}

eae > F- e

3n The

Supreme Court of the Anited States

o

STATE OF MISSOURI,

Petitioner,

Vv.

TYLER G. McNEELY,

Respondent.

*

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The Missouri Supreme Court

°

PETITION FORA WRIT OF CERTIORARI

¢

OFFICE OF THE PROSECUTING ATTORNEY

CAPE GIRARDEAU COUNTY, MISSOURI

H. MORLEY SWINGLE, Prosecuting Attorney

JOHN N. KOESTER, JR., Counsel of Record

Assistant Prosecuting Attorney

100 Court Street, Suite 204

Jackson, MO 63755

(573) 243-2430

jnkoester@capecounty.us

Attorneys for Petitioner

State of Missourt

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

i

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether a law enforcement officer may obtain a

nonconsensual and warrantless blood sample from a

drunk driver under the exigent circumstances excep-

tion to the Fourth Amendment warrant requirement

based upon the natural dissipation of alcohol in the

bloodstream.

A

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTION PRESENTED....................cccseseeceeeeees i

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ...................ssecccseeeees: iv

EE CTT cicirensiniiscenrnsssncncnnniscemnimentadinaalals 1

Fe iniviniiinnisninniiidunitasaeibainiieapiannnia 1

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED...... 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE...................:.000020008 2

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION..... 11

I. The Decision Of The Missouri Supreme

Court Creates A Further Division Among

State Courts Of Last Resort And Con-

flicts With The Federal Circuits................ 1l

A. Courts holding that the natural dis-

sipation of alcohol in the bloodstream

is sufficient to create exigent circum-

stances justifying a warrantless blood

draw under Schmerber ..................0..0+- 15

B. Courts holding that Schmerber re-

quires additional “special facts” other

than the natural dissipation of alco-

hol in the bloodstream to create

exigent circumstances justifying a

warrantless blood draw....................... 26

C. The decision of the Missouri Supreme

Court has deepened the division

among state courts of last resort .......... 31

TABLE OF CONTENTS -— Continued

Page

II. The Missouri Supreme Court Misinter-

preted This Court’s Decision In

Schmerber v. California, 384 U.S. 757

(1966) And Improperly Applied The

III ociccnnccsvesvonssnnusvosseenieces 32

A. The Missouri Supreme Court misin-

terproted Schmer ber .........ccccscecescsscceses 32

B. It is objectively reasonable for a law

enforcement officer to obtain a war-

rantless blood test from a drunk driver

because of the imminent destruction of

CERISE ESE Ten ee ee 35

Ill. The Question Presented Is Of Substan-

tial And Recurring Importance ................. 39

I a rretiaemnenninenen 40

APPENDIX

Missouri Supreme Court opinion (January 17,

IITs tli iin ccnaidetdieetincridiinioeemeapueneeeenninetenseneenNanTeseeS la

Missouri Court of Appeals opinion (June 21,

ESS ne ee 23a

Trial court order and judgment (March 3, 2011).....39a

Missouri Supreme Court order denying rehear-

I i crncinmniiciicninnnnnanntd 47a

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES:

Breithaupt v. Abram, 352 U.S. 432 (1957).....34, 35, 37

Brigham City v. Stuart, 547 U.S#B98 (2006).......35, 36

Katz v. United States, 389 U.S. 347 (1967)................ 35

Kentucky v. King, 131 S.Ct. 1849 (2011).............. 14, 36

Michigan Dept. of State Police v. Sitz, 496 U.S.

I icecnsicieiieelitiinsncatitsietdaliaadlintalshediiuaiiati eatin 40

Mincey v. Arizona, 437 U.S. 385 (1978)..................... 36

People v. Thompson, 135 P.3d 3 (Cal. 2006) .............. 23

Schmerber v. California, 385 U.S. 757 (1966) .... passim

Skinner v. Railway Labor Executives’ Ass’n, 489

5 TRIOS EREooeree rer 21, 25, 37, 38

South Dakota v. Neville, 459 U.S. 553 (1983)............ 35

State v. Baker, 502 A.2d 489 (Me. 1985).................... 23

State v. Bohling, 494 N.W.2d 399 (Wis.

Tt hascicecmaianitnpeansbtintaiuaniniecliaivmnemeiinid 10, 15, 16, 29

State v. Cocio, 709 P.2d 1336 (Ariz. 1985)............ 23, 38

State v. Entrekin, 47 P.3d 336 (Hawai'i 2002)........... 23

State v. Faust, 682 N.W.2d 371 (Wis. 2004).....8, 16, 17

State v. Hoover, 916 N.E.2d 1056 (Ohio 2009) ....22, 23

State v. Johnson, 744 N.W.2d 340 (Iowa

Renee ene ee a ne enna eNO 11, 29, 30, 31

BE srcsvisstinsscmnatinminannasiinenpinaanininiiasanins 11, 19, 20, 38

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

State v. Milligan, 748 P.2d 130 (Or. 1988).....11, 18, 19

State v. Netland, 762 N.W.2d 202 (Minn. 2009).....10, 22

State v. Oliver, 293 S.W.3d 437 (Mo.banc 2009).......... 6

State v. Rodriguez, 156 P.3d 771 (Utah 2007) ... passim

State v. Shriner, 751 N.W.2d 538 (Minn.

aaa a a es 10, 20, 21, 22

State v. Woolery, 775 P.2d 1210 (Idaho 1985)............ 23

United States v. Berry, 866 F.2d 887 (6th Cir.

Rae ae eee ate Moy NREL 8, 23, 24

United States v. Chapel, 55 F.3d 1416 (9th Cir.

EATS ats Se RSE RIE Res OE SRS AST ee 31

United States v. Dionisio, 410 U.S. 1 (1973).............. 14

United States v. Eagle, 498 F.3d 885 (8th Cir.

REELS Se RES ACA Nees A ce 24

United States v. Prouse, 945 F.2d 1017 (8th Cir.

ESSERE aS eee SIN tre eens MAS e eR NEE ERE 24

United States v. Reid, 929 F.2d 990 (4th Cir.

AR ee RUN IE DE eae eS 25, 26

United States v. Santana, 427 U.S. 38 (1976)........... 36

Winston v. Lee, 470 U.S. 753 (1985)............... 14, 34, 37

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS:

Ss SEN, HUI, FID siniicicicienennietmnenneeiiensiiieinannsnte passim

I 5

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

STATUTES:

Mo. Rev. Stat. § 558.011 (Cum.Supp.2010).................. 5

Mo. Rev. Stat. § 577.010 (2000)..............-cccceeesseeeeeeeeeees 5

Mo. Rev. Stat. § 577.023 (Cum.Supp.2010) ................. 5

Mo. Rev. Stat. § 577.041.1 (Cum.Supp.2009) .............. 4

Mo. Rev. Stat. § 577.041.1 (Cum.Supp.2010) .............. 4

OTHER SOURCES:

3 W. LaFave, Search and Seizure, (4th ed.

1

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

The State of Missouri respectfully petitions for a

writ of certiorari to review the judgment of the Mis-

souri Supreme Court in this case.

«

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Missouri Supreme Court is

reported as State v. McNeely, 358 S.W.3d 65 (Mo.banc

2012), and can be found in the Appendix (hereinafter

“App.”), infra, la-22a. The order of the Missouri

Supreme Court denying rehearing is not reported.

App., infra, 47a-48a. The opinion of the Missouri

Court of Appeals is not reported, but can be found at

2011 WL 2455571 (Mo.App. E.D.). App., infra, 23a-

38a. The judgment of the trial court granting Re-

spondent’s motion to suppress evidence can be found

in the Appendix. App., infra, 39a-46a.

Sf

JURISDICTION

The Missouri Supreme Court entered its judg-

ment on January 17, 2012. The Court denied peti-

tioner’s motion for rehearing on March 6, 2012. The

jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1257(a).

2

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED

The Fourth Amendment to the United States

Constitution provides:

The right of the people to be secure in their

persons, houses, papers, and effects, against

unreasonable searches and seizures, shall

not be violated, and no Warrants shall issue,

but upon probable cause, supported by Oath

or affirmation, and particularly describing

the place to be searched, and the persons or

things to be seized.

=)

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Respondent filed a pretrial motion to suppress

evidence, seeking to exclude the results of a blood

sample taken after his arrest for driving while intoxi-

cated. The trial court granted the motion to suppress,

holding that the blood sample was obtained in viola-

tion of Respondent’s Fourth Amendment rights. App.,

infra, 39a-46a. Petitioner filed an interlocutory

appeal. The Missouri Court of Appeals, Eastern

District, reversed the ruling of the trial court. App.,

infra, 23a-38a. The Court of Appeals subsequently

transferred the case to the Missouri Supreme Court,

citing the general importance of the issue. Jd. The

Missouri Supreme Court affirmed the ruling of the

trial court, holding that Respondent's Fourth

Amendment rights were violated. App., infra, la-22a.

Petitioner filed a motion for rehearing, which was

denied. App., infra, 47a-48a.

A. Facts

On October 3, 2010, at approximately 2:08 A.M.,

Respondent was pulled over by a Missouri state

highway patrolman for exceeding the speed limit.

App., infra, 4a, 24a, 39a-40a. The patrolman noticed

that Respondent displayed signs of intoxication,

including bloodshot eyes, slurred speech, and the odor

of alcohol on his breath. Jd. These observations

changed the nature of the patrolman’s investigation

from a routine traffic stop to a drunk-driving investi-

gation. Jd. When the patrolman asked Respondent to

step out of his truck, he observed that Respondent

was unsteady on his feet. The patrolman then admin-

istered a series of standard field-sobriety tests. After

performing poorly on all of the tests, Respondent was

placed under arrest for driving while intoxicated. Jd.

The patrolman secured Respondent in his patrol

car and began to transport him to the county jail.

While in the patrol car the patrolmian asked Re-

spondent if he would agree to voluntarily provide a

breath sample when they arrived at the jail. Re-

spondent told the patrolman that he would refuse to

provide a breath sample. App., infra, 4a-5a, 24a-25a,

39a-40a. The patrolman then decided to drive directly

to a nearby hospital in order to obtain a blood sample

to secure evidence of intoxication. Jd. At the hospital

the patrolman read an implied consent form to Re-

spondent and requested a blood sample. Respondent

refused to voluntarily consent to the blood test. Jd.

The patrolman then directed a hospital lab technician

to draw a blood sample, which was collected as

4

evidence at 2:33 A.M. Jd. Chemical analysis of the

blood sample later revealed that Respondent’s blood-

alcohol content was 0.154 percent, well above the

legal limit of .08 percent. Jd.

The patrolman did not attempt to obtain a search

warrant before directing the hospital lab technician

to draw the sample of Respondent’s blood.’ App.,

infra, 4a-5a, 40a. Obtaining a search warrant in the

middle of the night in Cape Girardeau County in-

volves a delay, on average, of approximately two

hours. (Record on Appeal: Tr. 26-27.) The generally

accepted rate of elimination of alcohol in the blood-

stream is between .015 and .020 percent per hour.

(Record on Appeal: Tr. 20-21.)

' Although the patrolman had obtained search warrants in

driving while intoxicated cases in the past, he did not attempt to

obtain one in this case because he had read an article during a

training session that stated a search warrant was no longer

necessary due to a recent statutory amendment to the “refusal”

provision of the Missouri implied consent law. App, infra, 4a-5a

n.2. Prior to the amendment, the statute provi that if a

person refused a chemical test, then “none shall be given.” Mo.

Rev. Stat. § 577.041.1 (Cum.Supp.2009). Effective on August 28,

2010, the phrase “none shell be given” was deleted from the

statute. § 577.041.1 (Cum.Supp.2010). App., infra, 34a-38a, 43a-

45a. Nonetheless, the Missouri Supreme Court found it unnec-

essary to address the issue of the statutory amendment because

it held the Fourth Amendment was violated. App., infra, 21a n.9.

5

B. Procedural History

1. Cape Girardeau County Circuit Court

Respondent was charged by Information with

driving while intoxicated in the Circuit Court of

Cape Girardeau County, Missouri, in violation of

Mo. Rev. Stat. § 577.010 (2000).* (Record on Appeal:

Legal File 8-9.) Respondent filed a pretrial motion to

suppress evidence, seeking to exclude the results of

the blood sample taken after his arrest. Respondent

claimed that the nonconsensual and warrantless

blood sample was obtained in violation of his Consti-

tutional right to be free from unreasonable searches

and seizures under the Fourth Amendment to the

United States Constitution.” (Record on Appeal:

Legal File p. 12.)

* Because Respondent had two prior convictions for driving

while intoxicated, he was charged with a class D felony under

Missouri law, which carries a maximum term of imprisonment

of four years. A first time offense for driving while intoxicated is

a class B misdemeanor, carrying a maximum punishment of

six months in jail. Mo. Rev. Stat. §§558.011, 577.023

(Cum.Supp.2010).

* Respondent also alleged his right to be free from unrea-

sonable searches and seizures under the Missouri Constitution

was violated. (V.A.M.S. Const. Art. I, § 15.) Although the courts

below did not mention the Missouri constitutional provision, it

should be noted that the Missouri Supreme Court has held that

Article I, Section 15, provides the exact same guarantees

against unreasonable searches and seizures as under the

Fourth Amendment, and thus, the same analysis applies to

cases under the Missouri Constitution as under the United

(Continued on following page)

6

The trial court granted Respondent’s motion to

suppress evidence, holding that the warrantless blood

draw violated the Fourth Amendment. App., infra,

39a-46a. Basing the ruling on its interpretation of

this Court’s decision in Schmerber v. California, 385

U.S. 757 (1966), the trial court held that the natural

dissipation of alcohol in the bloodstream does not

constitute a sufficient exigency to justify a warrant-

less blood draw in a routine driving while intoxicated

case. App., infra, 42a-43a. While acknowledging that

Schmerber upheld a nonconsensual and warrantless

blood draw in a drunk driving case against a Fourth

Amendment challenge, the trial court found that

Schmerber was limited to the “special facts” of that

case. Id.

The trial court maintained that Schmerber

requires the existence of additional “special facts,”

other than the dissipation of alcohol in the biood-

stream, before a warrantiess blood draw may be

justified. These “special facts” were identified by the

trial court as a motor vehicle accident resulting in

physical injuries requiring emergency medical treat-

ment. Because Respondent was not involved in an

accident, and because Respondent did not suffer

physical injuries requiring emergency medical treat-

ment, the trial court concluded that Schmerber did

not apply. The trial court stated:

States Constitution. See State v. Oliver, 293 S.W.3d 437, 442

(Mo.banc 2009).

7

The facts before this court are substantially

different than the facts of Schmerber. There

was no accident. There was no investigation

at the scene of the stop other than the field

sobriety tests, which took less than ten

minutes. The defendant was not injured and

did not require emergency medical treat-

ment. This was not an emergency, it was a

run of the mill driving while intoxicated

case. As in all cases involving intoxication,

the Defendant’s blood alcohol was being me-

tabolized by his liver. However, a prosecutor

was readily available to apply for a search

warrant and a judge was readily available to

issue a warrant. Schmerbder is not applicable

because the “special facts” of that case, the

facts which established exigent circumstanc-

es, did not exist in this case to justify the

warrantless search.

App., infra, 43a.

2. Missouri Court of Appeals, Eastern Dis-

trict

Petitioner filed an interlocutory appeal to the

Missouri Court of Appeals, Eastern District. The

Court of Appeals, in a unanimous 3-0 decision, issued

a written opinion reversing the ruling of the trial

court. App., infra, 23a-38a.

The Missouri Court of Appeals held that, in

applying the exigent circumstances exception to the

warrant requirement, “special facts” are not required

to justify a warrantless blood draw. Instead, the

8

evanescent nature of blood alcohol evidence creates

exigent circumstances such that no warrant is needed

to conduct the search. App., infra, 33a. In its analysis,

the Court of Appeals found the interpretation of

Schmerber from other jurisdictions to be persuasive,

including the Wisconsin Supreme Court in State v.

Faust, 682 N.W.2d 371 (Wis. 2004), and the Sixth

Circuit in United States v. Berry, 866 F.2d 887 (6th

Cir. 1989). App., infra, 29a-31a. The Missouri Court of

Appeals concluded:

We have no reason to require ‘special facts’ in

addition to the facts that the officer had am-

ple cause to reasonably believe Defendant

was under the influence of alcohol and that

Defendant’s blood alcohol concentration

would continue to decrease, thus destroying

evidence, the longer the police waited to con-

duct a blood test.

App., infra, 33a.

Citing the general interest and importance of the

issue, however, the Missouri Court of Appeals trans-

ferred the case to the Missouri Supreme Court. App.,

infra, 24a, 38a.

3. Missouri Supreme Court

The Missouri Supreme Court disagreed with the

Court of Appeals and affirmed the ruling of the trial

court in a per curiam opinion, holding that the non-

consensual and warrantless blood draw was a violation

9

of Respondent’s Fourth Amendment rights. App.,

infra, la-22a.

The Missouri Supreme Court held that

Schmerber was expressly limited to its facts, and,

noting that the patrolman was not confronted with

these same “special facts,” concluded that exigent

circumstances did not exist. App., infra, 2a-3a, 8a-

10a, 19a-2la. Explaining its rationale, the Court

stated:

The patr:'man here, however, was not faced

with the ‘special facts’ of Schmerber. Because

there was no accident to investigate and

there was no need to arrange for the medical

treatment of any occupants, there was no de-

lay that would threaten the destruction of

evidence before a warrant could be obtained.

Additionally, there was no evidence here that

the patrolman would have been unable to

obtain a warrant had he attempted to do so.

The sole special fact present in this case,

that blood-alcohol levels dissipate after

drinking ceases, is not a per se exigency pur-

suant to Schmerber justifying an officer to

order a blood test without obtaining a war-

rant from a neutral judge.

App., infra, 3a.

To support its view that Schmerber was limited

to its facts, the Missouri Supreme Court asserted that

Schmerber explicitly warned against expansive

interpretations. App., infra, 18a. The Court relied on

the following language in Schmerber:

10

It bears repeating, however, that we reach

this judgment only on the facts of the present

record. The integrity of an individual’s per-

son is a cherished value of our society. That

we today hold that the Constitution does not

forbid the States minor intrusions into an

individual’s body under stringently limited

conditions in no way indicates that it permits

more substantial intrusions, or intrusions

under other conditions.

Schmerber, 384 U.S. at 772. The Missouri Supreme

Court concluded that to allow a warrantless blood

draw in the absence of “special facts” would be to

ignore this Court’s cautious limitation on the holding

in Schmerber. App., infra, 19a.

In its analysis, the Missouri Supreme Court

acknowledged that a clear and increasing split of

authority has recently developed among other state

courts of last resort in their respective interpretations

of this Court’s decision in Schmerber. The Missouri

Supreme Court expressly disavowed the reasoning of

other jurisdictions previously holding that the rapid

dissipation of alcohol in the bloodstream constitutes a

sufficient exigency to draw blood without a warrant,

including the Wisconsin Supreme Court," the Minne-

sota Supreme Court,” and the Oregon Supreme

* State v. Bohling, 494 N.W.2d 399 (Wis. 1993); State v.

Faust, 682 N.W.2d 371 (Wis. 2004).

* State v. Shriner, 751 N.W.2d 538 (Minn. 2008); State v.

Netland, 762 N.W.2d 202 (Minn. 2009).

11

Court.* App., infra, 16a-19a. Ultimately, the Missouri

Supreme Court adopted the rationale of the Utah

Supreme Court in State v. Rodriguez, 156 P.3d 771

(Utah 2007), and the Iowa Supreme Court in State v.

Johnson, 744 N.W.2d 340 (Iowa 2008), where the

courts held that Schmerber requires “special facts”

beyond the natural dissipation of alcohol in the

bloodstream in order to justify a warrantless search.

App., infra, 10a-13a.

Petitioner filed a motion for rehearing, which

was overruled by the Missouri Supreme Court on

March 6, 2012. App., infra, 47a-48a.

¢

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

I. The Decision Of The Missouri Supreme

Court Creates A Further Division Among

State Courts Of Last Resort And Conflicts

With The Federal Circuits

The ruling of the Missouri Supreme Court has

further deepened the division among state courts of

last resort on a fundamental Fourth Amendment

issue. The ruling also conflicts with decisions of the

Federal Circuits. The Missouri Supreme Court

acknowledged that a clear and increasing split of

authority has recently developed among state courts

* State v. Milligan, 748 P.2d 130 (Or. 1988); State v.

Machuca, 227 P.3d 729 (Or. 2010).

12

of last resort in their respective interpretations of this

Court’s decision in Schmerber. Some courts have

interpreted Schmerber broadly, holding that the

natural dissipation of alcohol in the bloodstream is

sufficient to create exigent circumstances justifying a

warrantless blood draw in drunk-driving related

crimes. Other courts have taken a narrow, more

restrictive view, essentially holding that Schmerber is

limited to its “special facts.” This emerging conflict on

a fundamental Fourth Amendment issue will likely

continue to divide courts throughout the United

States until this Court takes action to clarify the

holding in Schmerber.

Schmerber v. California, 384 U.S. 757 (1966)

In Schmerber, this Court considered whether a

nonconsensual and warrantless blood test taken from

a defendant suspected of driving while under the

influence of intoxicating liquor violated the Fourth

Amendment. There, defendant had been arrested at a

hospital while receiving treatment for injuries suf-

fered in an accident after his automobile skidded off

the road and struck a tree. Jd., at 758, 759 n.2. At the

direction of a police officer, a warrantless blood sam-

ple was withdrawn by a physician despite the fact

that defendant refused to consent to the test. Jd., at

758-759. Chemical analysis of the blood sample

revealed defendant was intoxicated. Jd. A report of

the analysis was admitted at trial over defendant’s

objection, resulting in a conviction for a misdemeanor

13

offense of driving under the influence of intoxicating

liquor. Jd., at 759 n.1.

On appeal, defendant claimed that the noncon-

sensual and warrantless blood withdrawal violated

his right to be free from unreasonable searches and

seizures under the Fourth Amendment. This Court

disagreed. Holding the warrantless blood test was a

reasonable search and seizure under the Fourth

Amendment, this Court first concluded that probable

cause existed to arrest the defendant for driving

under the influence of alcohol. Jd., at 768-769. Next,

this Court turned its attention to whether a search

warrant was required before taking the blood sample.

Concluding the warrantless search was reasonable,

this Court stated:

The officer in the present case, however,

might reasonably have believed that he was

confronted with an emergency, in which the

delay necessary to obtain a warrant, under

the circumstances, threatened ‘the destruc-

tion of evidence.’ We are told that the per-

centage of alcohol in the blood begins to

diminish shortly after drinking stops, as the

body functions to eliminate it from the sys-

tem. Particularly in a case such as this,

where time had to be taken to bring the ac

cused to the hospital and to investigate the

scene of the accident, there was no time to

seek out a magistrate and secure a warrant.

Given these special facts, we conclude that

14

the attempt to serure evidence of blood-

alcohol content in this case was an appropri-

ate incident to petitioner’s arrest.’

Id., at 770-771 [citation omitted}. This Court further

concluded that the test itself was reasonable, noting

that blood tests are a “highly effective means of

determining the degree to which a person is under

the influence of alcohol” and that such tests are

commonplace and routine, involving “virtually no

risk, trauma, or pain.” Jd. Finally, this Court found

the test was performed in a reasonable manner in

that the blood was taken by a physician in a hospital

environment according to accepted medical practices.

Id. The defendant’s right under the Fourth Amend-

ment to be free of unreasonable searches and sei-

zures, therefore, was not violated. Jd., at 772.

Recently, a deep split has emerged among various

courts applying’ conflicting interpretations of

Schmerber.

” Although the decision was cast in terms of the “search

incident to arrest” exception to the warrant requirement,

subsequent decisions of this Court have recognized Schmerber

as falling under the exigent circumstances exception. See United

States v. Dionisio, 410 U.S. 1, 8 (1973); Winston v. Lee, 470 U.S.

753, 759 (1985); Kentucky v. King, 131 S.Ct. 1849, 1857 n3

(2011).

15

A. Courts holding that the natural dis-

sipation of alcohol in the bloodstream

is sufficient to create exigent circum-

stances justifying a warrantless blood

draw under Schmerber

Wisconsin Supreme Court

In State v. Bohling, 494 N.W.2d 399 (Wis. 1993)

the Wisconsin Supreme Court held that the dissipa-

tion of alcohol from a person’s bloodstream consti-

tutes a sufficient exigency to justify a warrantless

blood draw as long as the blood draw is taken at the

direction of a law enforcement officer from a person

lawfully arrested for a drunk-driving related crime,

and there is a clear indication that the blood draw

will produce evidence of intoxication. Jd., at 406. In

reaching this conclusion, the Court noted that a “well-

recognized exigent circumstance is the threat that

evidence will be lost or destroyed if time is taken to

obtain a warrant.” Jd., at 401. Analyzing this Court’s

decision in Schmerber, the Court stated:

Schmerber can be read in either of two ways:

(a) that the rapid dissipation of alcohol in the

bloodstream alone constitutes a sufficient ex-

igency for a warrantless blood draw to obtain

evidence of intoxication following a lawful

arrest for a drunk driving related violation

or crime — as opposed to taking a blood sam-

ple for other reasons, such as to determine

blood type; or (b) that the rapid dissipation of

alcohol in the bloodstream, coupled with an

accident, hospitalization, and the lapse of

16

two hours until arrest, constitute exigent cir-

cumstances for such a blood draw.

Bohling, at 402. The Court concluded that the most

reasonable and logical interpretation of Schmerber

was the first one set forth:

A logical analysis of the Schmerber decision

indicates that the exigency of the situation

presented was caused solely by the fact that

the amount of alcohol in a person’s blood-

stream diminishes over time. The fact that

an accident occurred and that the defendant

was taken to the hospital did not increase

the risk that evidence of intoxication would

be lost. A hospital trip to another location at

which a medically qualified person is present

is standard procedure for taking a blood

sample in a drunk driving case, regardless of

whether an accident occurred.

Bohling, at 402-403.

In State v. Faust, 682 N.W.2d 371, 378 (Wis.

2004), the Wisconsin Supreme Court reaffirmed that

the exigency justifying a warrantless blood draw is

the rapid metabolization and dissipation of alcohol in

the bloodstream. There, the defendant was pulled

over in a routine traffic stop, exhibited signs of intoxi-

cation, and was arrested for driving while intoxicated.

Id., at 374. The defendant consented to provide a

sample of his breath for chemical analysis, which

revealed his blood alcohol content was slightly above

the legal limit. Jd. Believing that he needed to secure

additional evidence of intoxication, the arresting

17

officer requested the defendant to voluntarily provide

a blood sample, which he refused. Jd. Without

attempting to obtain a search warrant, the officer

then transported the defendant to a local hospital

where a medica! technician administered a blood test.

Id.

The Wisconsin Supreme Court upheld the war-

rantless and nonconsensual blood test. The Court

reiterated that “Schmerber stands for the proposition

that the fact that alcohol rapidly dissipates in the

bloodstream justifies an officer’s belief that he is

faced with ‘an emergency, in which the delay neces-

sary to obtain a warrant, under the circumstances,

threatens the destruction of evidence.’” Faust, at 377

(quoting Schmerber, 385 U.S. at 770). The Court

stated:

The fact that the police have obtained a pre-

sumably valid chemical sample of the de-

fendant’s breath indicating the defendant’s

level of intoxication does not change the fact

that that the alcohol continues to dissipate

from the defendant’s bloodstream. The evi-

dence sought ‘remains on a course to be de-

stroyed.’

Faust, at 378 [Citation omitted]. The Court concluded

that the presence of one presumptively valid chemical

sample of the defendant’s breath does not extinguish

the exigent circumstances justifying a warrantless

blood draw. Id., at 379. Thus, “([tJhe nature of the

evidence sought, not the existence of other evidence,

determines the exigency.” Jd.

18

Oregon Supreme Court

The Oregon Supreme Court likewise held that it

is the evanescent nature of the evidence sought that

constitutionally justifies the taking of a blood sample

without a search warrant. State v. Milligan, 748 P.2d

130, 136 (Or. 1988). In so holding, the Court first

determined that the police officer did, in fact, have

probable cause to believe that an analysis of the

defendant’s blood would yield evidence that he had

committed an alcohol-related crime. /d., at 134. The

Court then turned its attention to whether the police

were required to obtain a search warrant before

ordering the blood draw, and ultimately concluded

that the warrantless blood draw was justified under

the exigent circumstances exception to the warrant

requirement. Jd. The Court stated, “[w]hen he was

seized, the officers had probable cause to believe that

defendant was a vessel containing evidence of a crime

he had committed — evidence that was dissipating

with every breath he took.” Jd. The Court noted that

in order to accurately determine the level of alcohol in

the suspect’s blood at the time of the alleged crime,

the police must obtain an initial sample of the sus-

pect’s blood with as little delay as possible. Jd.

In reaching this conclusion, the Oregon Supreme

Court analyzed this Court’s decision in Schmerber.

The Oregon Supreme Court interpreted the “special

facts” existent in Schmerber to be the evanescent

nature of alcohol in the blood, and the fact that the

blood test was reasonable in that it was performed by

a physician in a hospital environment according to

19

accepted medical practices. Milligan, at 135. The

Oregon Supreme Court did not find that an accident

resulting in physical injuries requiring emergency

medical attention were “special facts” necessary to

justify a warrantless blood draw. Instead, the Court

found that Schmerber “relied on the exigency created

by the evanescent nature of blood alcohol and the

danger that important evidence would disappear

without an immediate search.” Milligan, at 135.

Recently, in State v. Machuca, 227 P.3d 729 (Or.

2010), the Oregon Supreme Court reiterated that the

evanescent nature of a suspect’s blood alcohol content

is an exigent circumstance that will ordinarily permit

a warrantless blood draw. /d., at 736. There, the

Court rejected an approach that would have required

the State to prove that it could not have obtained a

search warrant without sacrificing the evidence. /d.

The Court concluded that the focus should be on the

exigency created by blood alcohol dissipation, not on

the speed with which a warrant could presumably be

obtained. Jd. The Court acknowledged that, from time

to time, there may be rare instances where a search

warrant could be both obtained and executed in a

timely fashion. Jd. “The mere possibility, however,

that such situations may occur from time to time does

not justify ignoring the inescapable fact that, in every

such case, evidence is disappearing and minutes

count.” Jd. The Court reaffirmed the holding in Milli-

gan, concluding that “when probable cause to arrest

for a crime involving the blood alcohol content of the

suspect is combined with the undisputed evanescent

20

nature of alcohol in the blood, those facts are a suffi-

cient basis to conclude that a warrant could not have

been obtained without sacrificing the evidence.”

Machuca, at 736.

Minnesota Supreme Court

The Minnesota Supreme Court held that the

dissipation of alcohol in a defendant’s blood creates a

“single-factor exigent circumstance” that will justify a

warrantless and nonconsensual blood draw. State v.

Shriner, 751 N.W.2d 538 (Minn. 2008). The Court

based its holding on the imminent destruction of

evidence, noting that with every passing minute, the

most probative evidence is subjected to destruction by

the body’s natural processes. Jd., at 545. The Court

stated, “[i]Jt is undisputed that as a result of the

body’s physiological processes, the blood-alcohol

content in a defendant's blood dissipates with the

passage of every minute.” Jd., at 546. The Court

rejected a “totality of the circumstances” approach

that would require law enforcement officers to con-

sider the length of delay in obtaining a search war-

rant in determining whether exigent circumstances

exist. Jd. The Court found that requiring an officer in

the field to speculate on a range of other factors

outside of the officer’s control would place an unrea-

sonable burden on law enforcement. /d., at 549.

Instead, the Court held that under “single-factor

exigency” it is objectively reasonable to conclude that

the alcohol content in a defendant’s blood dissipates

with the passage of time due to the human body’s

21

natural, physiological processes. /d., at 548. A war-

rantless search is justified based on the imminent

destruction of evidence when there is the potential

loss of evidence during the delay necessary to obtain

a warrant. Jd. Since it is undisputed that the loss of

the most probative evidence occurs during the time it

takes to obtain a warrant, exigent circumstances are

present based on the imminent destruction of evi-

dence. Id., at 549.

The Minnesota Supreme Court found that its

conclusion was consistent with Schmerber and subse-

quent decisions of this Court. The Court cited Skinner

v. Railway Labor Executives’ Ass’n, 489 U.S. 602

(1989), where this Court noted:

[A]lcohol and other drugs are eliminated

from the bloodstream at a constant rate, and

blood and breath samples taken to measure

whether these substances were in the blood-

stream when a triggering event occurred

must be obtained as soon as possible ... the

delay necessary to procure a warrant never-

theless may result in the destruction of valu-

able evidence.

Shriner, at 547 (quoting Skinner, 489 U.S. at 623).

The Minnesota Supreme Court also addressed

the argument that the judgment in Schmerber was

limited “only on the facts of the present record” and

did not permit “more substantial intrusions, or intru-

sions under other conditions.” Shriner, at 547 n.9

(quoting Schmerber, 385 U.S. at 774). The Court

22

conciuded that “[t]his language, however, is properly

analyzed as indicating that Schmerber should not be

viewed as authorizing the police to take warrantless

blood draws in circumstances other than when they

suspect a person of drunk driving.” Shriner, at 547

n.9.

In State v. Netland, 762 N.W.2d 202 (Minn.

2009), the Minnesota Supreme Court reaffirmed that

the evanescent nature of the evidence creates the

conditions that justify a warrantless search. /d., at

213. There, the defendant had been charged with

misdemeanor offenses for driving while intoxicated

and refusing a chemical test. Jd., at 205-206. The

Court noted that whether the degree of the underly-

ing offense constitutes a felony or a lesser crime is

immaterial to the circumstances created by the

dissipating blood-alcohol evidence. Jd., 213. Rather, it

is the chemical reaction of alcohol in the person’s

body that drives the conclusion on exigency. Jd. The

Court concluded that “no warrant is necessary to

secure a blood-alcohol test where there is probable

cause to suspect a crime in which chemical impair-

ment is an element of the offense.” Jd., at 214.*

* The Ohio Supreme Court reached a similar conclusion in

State v. Hoover, 916 N.E.2d 1056 (Ohio 2009). Discussing

Schmerber, the Court stated, “(t]he United States Supreme

Court has held that if an officer has probable cause to arrest a

driver for DUI, the result of an analysis of a blood sample taken

over the driver’s objection and without consent is admissible in

evidence, even if no warrant has been obtained.” Jd., at 1060.

The Court found this is so because “delaying the test to get a

(Continued on following page)

23

United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth

Circuit

In United States v. Berry, 866 F.2d 887 (6th Cir.

1989), the Sixth Circuit upheld a warrantless blood

draw against a Fourth Amendment challenge. The

Court held that the search was reasonable because

the officer had ample cause to believe the defendant

was under the influence of alcohol, and because the

method of testing was safe and reasonable. /d., at

890. Reading Schmerber as an application of the

exigent circumstances exception to the warrant

requirement, the Sixth Circuit emphasized that the

authorities in Schmerber had probable cause estab-

lishing that the results of the blood test would be

positive. Berry, at 891. The Court found that because

warrant would result in a loss of evidence.” Jd. Other state

courts holding that the dissipation of alcohol in the bloodstream

creates exigent circumstances under Schmerber include: the

Arizona Supreme Court in State v. Cocio, 709 P.2d 1336, 1345

(Ariz. 1985) (“Because of the destructibility of the evidence,

exigent circumstances existed. The highly evanescent nature of

alcohol in the defendant’s blood stream guaranteed that the

alcohol would dissipate over a relatively short period of time.”);

the Maine Supreme Judicial Court in State v. Baker, 502 A.2d

489, 493 (Me. 1985) (“The bodily process that eliminates alcohol

also provides exigent circumstances obviating the need to obtain

a warrant prior to administering a blood test.”); and the Idaho

Supreme Court in State v. Woolery, 775 P.2d 1210, 1212 (Idaho

1989) (“The destruction of the evidence by metabolism of alcohol

in the blood provides an inherent exigency which justifies the

warrantless search.”). See also the Hawaii Supreme Court in

State v. Entrekin, 47 P.3d 336, 348 (Hawai'i 2002), and the

California Supreme Court in People v. Thompson, 135 P.3d 3

(Cal. 2006).

24

evidence of intoxication begins to dissipate promptly,

it was evident that there were exigent circumstances

justifying the warrantless blood draw. Jd. Although

the defendant in Berry was involved in a serious

accident resulting in physical injuries, the Sixth

Circuit did not identify these facts as critical factors

in its analysis. Instead, the Court simply concluded,

“[wle find no constitutional violation in police direc-

tion of qualified medical personnel at a medical

institution or facility without a warrant to administer

a blood test when the police have probable cause to

suspect that the results of the blood test would be

positive.” Jd.’

* The Eighth Circuit has likewise relied on Schmerber to

justify warrantless blood tests when the police have probable

cause to conduct the tests. See United States v. Prouse, 945 F.2d

1017 (8th Cir. 1991), where the Court approved warrantless

blood tests taken from defendants suspected of operating a

commercial passenger airplane while under the influence of

alcohol. Relying on Schmerber, the Court held that no warrant

was needed because the “percentage of alcohol in the blood

begins to diminish shortly after drinking stops.” Prouse, at 1024

(discussing Schmerber, 384 U.S. at 770-771). See also United

States v. Eagle, 498 F.3d 885 (8th Cir. 2007), where the Court

found exigent circumstances exist when there is a risk of

destruction of evidence, including a risk that a defendant's

blood-alcohol content will dissipate because “the body functions

to eliminate [alcohol] from the system.” Eagle, at 893 (quoting

Schmerber, 384 U.S. at 770-771).

25

United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth

Circuit

United States v. Reid, 929 F.2d 990 (4th Cir.

1991), was a consolidation of two cases involving

routine traffic stops on the George Washington Me-

morial Parkway. Both defendants showed signs of

intoxication, failed field sobriety tests, and were

arrested for driving while intoxicated. There were no

accidents involved in either case, nor were there any

physical injuries. The defendants argued that war-

rantless breath tests violated the Fourth Amendment.

Id., at 991-992. Relying on Schmerber, the Fourth

Circuit held the warrantless breath tests were justi-

fied under the exigent circumstances exception to the

warrant requirement. Reid, at 993. To support this

position, the Fourth Circuit further relied on the

decsion of this Court in Skinner, supra, finding that

Skinner “reiterated the notion that time is of the

essence when there is a need to test alcohol in the

body when it stated that ‘the delay necessary to

procure a warrant may nevertheless result in the

destruction of valuable evidence.’” Reid, at 993

(quoting Skinner, 489 U.S. at 623).

The Fourth Circuit also rejected the argument

that the availability of a procedure to obtain a search

warrant over the telephone diminished the exigency.

Reid, at 993. The Court examined the intricate re-

quirements of obtaining such a warrant and conclud-

ed that the procedure did not alter the exigency of the

situation. The Court stated, “[o]bviously, compliance

26

with these rules takes time. Time is what is lacking

in these circumstances.” /d.

B. Courts holding that Schmerber re-

quires additional “special facts” other

than the natural dissipation of alcohol

in the bloodstream to create exigent

circumstances justifying a warrantless

blood draw

Utah Supreme Court

In State v. Rodriguez, 156 P.3d 771 (Utah 2007),

the Utah Supreme Court considered whether the

dissipation of alcohol in the bloodstream creates “per

se” exigent circumstances justifying a warrantless

blood draw under the Fourth Amendment. Addressing

the State’s contention that there is a recognized

general exigency which applies to warrantless blood

draws because of the destruction of evidence, the

Court stated:

Had the United States Supreme Court held

that the Fourth Amendment permits police

to conduct a warrantless blood draw when-

ever evidence of alcohol is present, the task

before us would be easy. However, the fact

that it has not so held places us in the posi-

tion of following a course that is part divina-

tion and part pragmatism. We engage in

divination when, employing what we might

ambitiously call a principled approach to

prophecy, we attempt to predict how the

United States Supreme Court might decide

the question before us. This is a perilous

27

activity. As we will see when we take up the

clearest pronouncement of the Supreme

Court on the issue of alcohol and warrants,

the Supreme Court could have created forty

years ago the very categorical exigent cir-

cumstance rule for alcohol that the State

now seeks. But it did not.

Id., at 774.

The Utah Supreme Court proceeded to analyze

this Court’s decision in Schmerber, finding that

Schmerber requires the combination of three catego-

ries of “special facts” to create exigent circumstances.

Rodriguez, at 776. The three categories of Schmerber

“special facts” were identified by the Court as: (1)

blood-alcohol content begins to drop shortly after

drinking ends; (2) time had been taken to transport

the defendant to a hospital and to investigate the

accident scene; and (3) the necessity to seek out a

magistrate and secure a warrant would require even

more time. Jd. The Court stated:

Contrary to the assertion of the State,

Schmerber does not stand for the proposition

that the loss of evidence of a person’s blood

alcohol level through the dissipation of alco-

hol from the body was a sufficient exigency

to justify a warrantless blood draw. Rather,

these three categories of “special facts” com-

bimed iv create the exigency. The evanes-

cence of blood-alcohol was never special

enough to create an exigent circumstance by

itself.

Id., at 776.

28

To support its conclusion that the dissipation of

alcohol in the bloodstream, without more, does not

create exigent circumstances justifying a warrantless

blood draw, the Court highlighted the following

language in Schmerber: “that we today hold that the

Constitution does not forbid the States’ minor intru-

sions into an individual’s body under stringently

limited conditions in no way indicates that it permits

more substantial intrusions, or intrusions under

other conditions.” Jd., (quoting Schmerber, 384 U.S.

at 772). The Court concluded that this “guarded

language employed by Justice Brennan to define the

Court’s holding in Schmerber reinforces our conclu-

sion that the Court did not intend a categorical

recognition of blood-alcohol exigency.” Rodriguez, at

776.

Ultimately, the Utah Supreme Court held that

the warrantless blood draw in Rodriguez was reason-

able under the “totality of the circumstances” because

a serious accident resulting in a fatality had occurred.

Id., at 781. Although the Court was sharply critical of

the police officers for not considering the possibility of

obtaining a search warrant, the Court concluded the

warrantless blood draw was reasonable under the

“totality of the circumstances” because the passenger

in the defendant’s vehicle was expected to die. Id.

“One fact dominates all others with respect to its

relevance to whether the warrantless blood draw was

reasonable: that [victim] was expected to succumb to

her injuries.” Jd. The Court fourid that this fact

“significantly altered the warrant acquisition calculus.”

29

Id. The Court concluded that the “severity of the

possible alcohol-related offense bears directly on the

presence or absence of an exigency sufficient to justify

a blood draw without a warrant.” Id.

The Utah Supreme Court recognized that its

interpretation of Schmerber was squarely at odds

with the decision of the Wisconsin Supreme Court in

State v. Bohling, supra. The Utah Supreme Court

expressly disavowed the reasoning of the Wisconsin

Supreme Court, asserting that its conclusion rested

on “a flawed reading of Schmerber, and a misapplica-

tion of Skinner.” Rodriguez, at 777.

Iowa Supreme Court

In State v. Johnson, 744 N.W.2d 340 (lowa 2008),

the Iowa Supreme Court considered whether, and

under what circumstances, the natural dissipation of

alcohol in the bloodstream creates exigent circum-

stances justifying a warrantless blood draw. In its

analysis, the Iowa Supreme Court noted that

Schmerber has been discussed by cases from other

jurisdictions with mixed conclusions. Jd., at 343. The

Court proceeded to analyze and compare the interpre-

tations of Schmerber by both the Wisconsin Supreme

Court in State v. Bohling, supra, and the Utah Su-

preme Court in State v. Rodriguez, supra. Johnson, at

343-344. After comparing the two interpretations, the

Iowa Supreme Court endorsed the Utah Supreme

30

Court’s view in Rodriguez, agreeing that three sepa-

rate categories of “special facts” must be combined to

create the exigency. Johnson, at 344.

To support this interpretation, the lowa Supreme

Court placed emphasis on the following language in

Schmerber: “[i]Jt bears repeating, however, that we

reach this judgment only on the facts of the present

record.” Jd., at 344 (quoting Schmerber, 384 U.S. at

772). The Iowa Supreme Court maintained that the

“present record” referred to in Schmerber showed that

time had to be taken by the arresting officer to inves-

tigate the scene of the accident, to attend to injuries,

and to process the defendant. Johnson, at 344. The

Court concluded that “there was more underlying the

seizure of blood in Schmerber than the mere phenom-

enon of alcohol dissipation.” Jd.

Ultimately, the Court held that the warrantless

blood draw was justifiable because the facts of the

case were sufficiently similar to the facts in

Schmerber. Id. The Court relied on the fact that the

defendant in Johnson was involved in an accident

resulting in injuries to another person, the defendant

attempted to leave the scene on foot, and the blood

test was not administered until approximately two

and a half hours after the accident. Jd., at 344. The

Court was therefore satisfied that “time-based con-

siderations similar to those in Schmerber” were

present. Jd.

31

C. The decision of the Missouri Supreme

Court has deepened the division among

state courts of last resort

The Missouri Supreme Court has adopted a

narrow interpretation of Schmerber, following the

reasoning of the Utah Supreme Court in Rodriguez,

supra, and the lowa Supreme Court in Johnson,

supra. This has created a further division among

state courts of last resort.’ This emerging conflict on

a fundamental Fourth Amendment issue will likely

continue to divide both state and federal courts until

this Court clarifies the holding in Schmerber. The

intervention of this Court is imperative in order to

facilitate uniform application of the Fourth Amend-

ment.

" The Missouri Supreme Court also asserted that its

holding was consistent with the Ninth Circuit in United States v.

Chapel, 55 F.3d 1416 (9th Cir. 1995). App., infra, 13a-l4a.

However, it appears to be at least somewhat unclear whether

the Ninth Circuit would require a showing of additional “special

facts” before allowing a warrantless blood draw. The Ninth

Circuit simply held that there are three Schmerber require-

ments that must be met before a law enforcement officer may

take a warrantless blood test: (1) the officer must have probable

cause to believe the suspect has committed an offense of which

the current state of one’s blood will constitute evidence; (2) the

officer must reasonably believe an emergency exists in which the

delay necessary to obtain a warrant would threaten the loss or

destruction of evidence; and (3) the procedures used to extract

the sample must be reasonable and in accord with accepted

medical practices. Jd., at 1419.

32

To illustrate the point, if a drunk driver traveling

on an interstate highway were to be pulled over in

the state of Wisconsin or Minnesota, law enforcement

authorities would be permitted to obtain a warrant-

less blood test based upon their high courts’ respec-

tive interpretations of this Court’s decision in

Schmerber. However, if this same drunk driver were

able to cross the state line into lowa before being

pulled over, law enforcement authorities would be

precluded from ordering a warrantless blood test

based upon the Iowa Supreme Court’s interpretation

of Schmerber. This glaring conflict will not be recon-

ciled until this Court takes action to clarify the hold-

ing in Schmerber.

Il. The Missouri Supreme Court Misinterpret-

ed This Court’s Decision In Schmerber uv.

California, 384 U.S. 757 (1966) And Improp-

erly Applied The Fourth Amendment

A. The Missouri Supreme Court misin-

terpreted Schmerber

The Missouri Supreme Court interpreted

Schmerber to require additional exigency, beyond the

natural dissipation of alcohol in the bloodstream, in

order to justify a warrantless blood draw. To support

this narrow reading, the Court relied extensively on

language in Schmerber that it understood to be an

explicit warning against expansive interpretations:

It bears repeating, however, that we reach

this judgment only on the facts of the present

33

record, The integrity of an individual’s per-

son is e cherished value of our society. That

we today hold that the Constitution does not

forbid the States minor intrusions into an

individual’s body under stringently limited

conditions in no way indicates that it permits

more substantial intrusions, or intrusions

under other conditions.

Schmerber, 384 U.S. at 772. App., infra, 18a-19a. The

Missouri Supreme Court’s reliance on what it under-

stood to be an “explicit warning against expansive

interpretations,” however, is misplaced. This “explicit

warning” was directed at the nature of the bodily

intrusion itself, not on the underlying facts of the

drunk-driving arrest. In the paragraph immediately

preceding this “explicit warning,” Schmerber empha-

sized that the intrusion at issue, the simple blood

test, was performed in a reasonable manner.

Schmerber, 384 U.S. at 771-772. Noting that the

blood sample was taken by a physician in a hospital

environment according to accepted medical practices,

Schmerber proceeded to warn against procedures

which might not be safe:

We are thus not presented with the serious

questions which would arise if a search in-

volving use of a medical technique, even of

the most rudimentary sort, were made by

other than medical personnel or in other

than a medical environment — for example, if

it were administered by police in the privacy

of the stationhouse. To tolerate searches un-

der these conditions might be to invite an

34

unjustified element of personal risk of infec-

tion or pain.

Id. Schmerber thus made it clear that blood tests

performed by unqualified personnel in non-medical

settings would not be tolerated. Schmerber made it

equally clear that other, more invasive, bodily intru-

sions would likewise not be tolerated.

This Court was confronted with an example of a

much more invasive bodily intrusion in Winston v.

Lee, 470 U.S. 753 (1985). There, this Court held it

was unreasonable under the Fourth Amendment to

compel a robbery suspect to undergo a surgical opera-

tion to recover a bullet that had lodged in his chest.

Finding that Schmerber provides the appropriate

framework of analysis for cases involving surgical

intrusions beneath the skin, this Court concluded

that compelling a suspect to undergo a surgical

procedure to recover a bullet was precisely the sort of

example of the “more substantial intrusions” cau-

tioned against in Schmerber. Winston, 470 U.S. at

755. In so holding, this Court reiterated that

“Schmerber recognized society's judgment that blood

tests do not constitute an unduly extensive imposition

on an individual’s personal privacy and bodily integri-

ty.” Id., at 762.

Indeed, this Court has long recognized that a

simple blood test is a minor intrusion for constitu-

tional purposes. In Breithaupt v. Abram, 352 U.S. 432

(1957), this Court recognized that “[t]he blood test

procedure has become routine in our everyday life.”

35

Id., at 436. Holding that there is nothing ‘brutal’ or

‘offensive’ in the taking of a blood sample when done

under the protective eye of a physician, this Court

found that a simple blood test “would not be consid-

ered offensive by even the most delicate.” Jd., at 435-

436. Later, in South Dakota v. Neville, 459 U.S. 553

(1983), this Court noted that “[t]he simple blood-

alcohol test is so safe, painless, and commonplace...

that the state could legitimately compel the suspect,

against his will, to accede to the test.” Jd., at 563.

There, this Court plainly stated, “Schmerber ...

clearly allows a State to force a person suspected of

driving while intoxicated to submit to a blood alcohol

test.” Id., at 559.

B. It is objectively reasonable for a law en-

forcement officer to obtain a warrant-

less blood test from a drunk driver

because of the imminent destruction of

evidence

It is a basic principle of Fourth Amendment law

that searches and seizures conducted without a

warrant are presumptively unreasonable. See Katz v.

United States, 389 U.S. 347, 357 (1967). Because the

ultimate touchstone of the Fourth Amendment is

“reasonableness,” however, the warrant requirement

is subject to certain exceptions. Brigham City uv.

Stuart, 547 U.S. 398, 403 (2006). An action is “rea-

sonable” under the Fourth Amendment, regardless of

the individual police officer’s state of mind, as long as

the circumstances, viewed objectively, justify the

36

action. Jd., at 404. Although a search warrant must

generally be secured before conducting a search, this

Court has recognized that “the exigencies of the

situation” may make the needs of law enforcement so

compelling that a warrantless search is objectively

reasonable under the Fourth Amendment. /d. (quot-

ing Mincey v. Arizona, 437 U.S. 385, 394 (1978)).

This Court has identified several exigencies that

may justify a warrantless search, including the hot

pursuit of a fleeing suspect, United States v. Santana,

427 U.S. 38, 42-43 (1976), the need to render emer-

gency assistance or protect a person from imminent

injury, Brigham City, 547 U.S. at 403, and the need to

prevent the imminent destruction of evidence, Ken-

tucky v. King, 131 S.Ct. 1849, 1856 (2011). Indeed, in

King this Court stated that “[i]t is well established

that ‘exigent circumstances,’ including the need to

prevent the destruction of evidence, permit police

officers to conduct an otherwise permissible search

without first obtaining a warrant.” Jd., at 1853-1854.

Thus, when a law enforcement officer has probable

cause to conduct a search, a warrantless search will

be justified under the exigent circumstances excep-

tion to the warrant requirement if the officer has an

objectively reasonable belief there is a risk that

evidence will be destroyed during the delay necessary

to obtain a search warrant.

There can be no dispute that the level of alcohol

in the bloodstream of a drunk driver is highly proba-

tive evidence. This Court has recognized that blood

tests are exceptionally probative in drunk-driving

37

prosecutions, finding that they are “a highly effective

means of determining the degree to which a person is

under the influence of alcohol.” Schmerber, 384 U.S.

at 771. See also Breithaupt, supra, 352 U.S. at 439

(noting that blood tests are “a scientifically accurate

method of detecting alcoholic content in the blood,

thus furnishing an exact measure upon which to base

a decision as to intoxication.”); Winston, supra, 470

U.S. at 763 (“Especially given the difficulty of proving

drunkenness by other means ... results of the blood

test were of vital importance if the State were to

enforce its drunken driving laws.”).

There can also be no dispute that the level of

alcohol in the bloodstream of a drunk driver is subject

to destruction by the body’s natural, physiological

processes. In Schmerber, this Court found that that

the arresting officer might reasonably have believed

he was confronted with an emergency in which the

delay necessary to obtain a warrant threatened the

destruction of evidence because “the percentage of

alcohol in the blood begins to diminish shortly after

drinking stops, as the body functions to eliminate it

from the system.” Schmerber, 384 U.S. at 770. In

Skinner, supra, this Court recognized that because

alcohol is eliminated from the bloodstream at a

constant rate, “blood and breath samples taken to

measure whether these substances were in the blood-

stream when a triggering event occurred must be

obtained as soon as possible” and that “the delay

necessary to procure a warrant nevertheless may

38

result in the destruction of valuable evidence.” Skin-

ner, supra, 489 U.S. at 623.

Blood alcohol evidence is extraordinarily unique

precisely because it is an indisputable fact that

alcohol is naturally eliminated from the human body.

The exigency involved in quickly securing blood

alcohol evidence is even more compelling than other

situations where there is a risk of destruction of

evidence because the alcohol in a suspect’s blood is

certain to disappear, while other types of evidence

may only be very likely to disappear. See State v.

Cocio, 709 P.2d 1336, 1345 (Ariz. 1985). See also 3 W.

LaFave, Search and Seizure, § 5.4(b), at 199 (4th ed.

2004) (discussing blood alcohol evidence and noting

that “the ‘evanescent’ character of the evidence is

inherent in its nature and does not depend upon any

motive of the defendant to destroy it.”) As the Oregon

Supreme Court recently stated in State v. Machuca,

227 P.3d 729, 736 (Or. 2010), the focus of the courts

should be on the exigency created by blood alcohol

dissipation, not on the speed with which a search

warrant could presumably be obtained.

The decision of the Missouri Supreme Court,

however, actually requires police officers to stand by

and allow the best, most probative evidence to be

destroyed during a drunk-driving investigation. This

is wholly inconsistent with core principles of the

Fourth Amendment. Proper application of the Fourth

Amendment must take into account the need for the

police to act quickly in order to prevent the destruc-

tion of evidence. When a law enforcement officer has

39

probable cause to arrest a person for a drunk-driving

related crime, it is certainly objectively reasonable to

conclude that blood alcohol evidence will continue to

dissipate during the inevitable delay necessary to

obtain a search warrant. Under these circumstances,

it is reasonable for an officer to direct medical per-

sonnel at a hospital te draw a blood sample from a

drunk driver without first obtaining a search war-

rant. This comports with Fourth Amendment stan-

dards of reasonableness.

Ill. The Question Presented Is Of Substantial

And Recurring Importance

Drunk driving is a serious problem on public

roads and highways throughout the United States.

This Court is well aware of the dangers posed by

drunk drivers. Summarizing the problem over twenty

years ago, this Court stated:

No one can seriously dispute the magnitude

of the drunken driving problem or the States’

interest in eradicating it. Media reports of

alcohol-related death and mutilation on the

Nation’s roads are legion. The anecdotal is

confirmed by the statistical. ‘Drunk drivers

cause an annual death toll of over 25,000 and

in the same time span cause nearly one mil-

lion personal injuries and more than five bil-

lion dollars in property damage.’ For

decades, this Court has ‘repeatedly lamented

the tragedy.’ ‘The increasing slaughter on our

highways ... now reaches the astounding

figures only heard of on the battlefield.’

40

Michigan Dept. of State Police v. Sitz, 496 U.S. 444

(1990) [citations omitted].

Proper and consistent application of the Fourth

Amendment is essential in order for law enforcement

to effectively enforce drunk-driving laws throughout

the United States. This Court’s resolution of the

question presented is critically important to law

enforcement efforts to promote public safety by rid-

ding our roads and highways of drunk drivers, efforts

which have been constrained by misinterpretation of

this Court’s decision in Schmerber and improper

application of the Fourth Amendment.

°

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be

granted.

Respectfully submitted,

OFFICE OF THE PROSECUTING ATTORNEY

CAPE GIRARDEAU COUNTY, MISSOURI

H. MORLEY SWINGLE, Prosecuting

Attorney

JOHN N. KOESTER, JR.,

Counsel of Record

Assistant Prosecuting Atterney

100 Court Street, Suite 204

Jackson, MO 63755

(573) 243-2430

jnkoester@capecounty.us

la

358 S.W.3d 65

Supreme Court of Missouri,

En Banc.

STATE of Missouri, Appellant,

v.

Tyler G. McNEELY, Respondent.

No. SC 91850.

Jan. 17, 2012.

Rehearing Denied March 6, 2012.

John N. Koester Jr., Cape Girardeau County Prose-

cuting Attorney’s Office, Cape Girardeau, for State.

Stephen C. Wilson, Wilson & Mann LC, Cape

Girardeau, for McNeely.

Stephen D. Bonney, Kansas City, for amicus curiae

American Civil Liberties Union of Eastern Missouri

and American Civil Liberties Union of Western Mis-

souri.

Talmage E. Newton IV, St. Louis, for amicus curiae

Missouri Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers.

James B. Farnsworth, Jefferson City, for amicus

curiae Attorney General’s Office.

PER CURIAM.

Tyler McNeely (Defendant) refused to consent to

an alcohol breath test or a blood test after he was

arrested for driving while intoxicated. The arresting

patrolman, without seeking a warrant from a judge,

ordered a medical professional to draw Defendant’s

blood. The trial court sustained Defendant’s motion to

2a

suppress the results of the blood test as the noncon-

sensual and warrantless blood draw was a violation

of his Fourth Amendment rights.

The issue before the Court in this interlocutory

appeal is: Under what “special facts” is a nonconsen-

sual and warrantless blood draw in a DWI case a

reasonable search and seizure under the Fourth

Amendment?

This Court recognizes the two competing inter-

ests involved in answering that question, namely,

society's interest in preventing the harms caused by

drunken driving and an individual’s Fourth Amend-

ment right to be secure in his or her person and to be

free of unreasonable searches and seizures.

The United States Supreme Court addressed this

issue in the landmark case of Schmerber v. Califor-

nia, 384 U.S. 757, 86 S.Ct. 1826, 16 L.Ed.2d 908

(1966). There, the Supreme Court provided a limited

exception to the warrant requirement for the taking

of a blood sample in alcohol-related arrests. Jd. at

772, 86 S.Ct. 1826. The holding, which was expressly

limited to the facts of that case, ultimately rested on

certain “special facts” that might have led the officer

to reasonably believe he was faced with an emergency

situation in which the delay in obtaining a warrant

would threaten the destruction of evidence. Jd. at

770-71, 86 S.Ct. 1826. The threat of evidence destruc-

tion was caused by the fact that the percentage of

alcohol in a person’s blood begins to diminish shortly

after drinking stops and because time had to be taken

3a

both to investigate the accident scene and transport

the defendant to the hospital. Jd. These events left no

time for the officer to seek out a judge to secure a

search warrant. Id. Schmerber held that these “spe-

cial facts” permitted a warrantless blood draw. Jd. at

771, 86 S.Ct. 1826.

The patrolman here, however, was not faced with

the “special facts” of Schmerber. Because there was no

accident to investigate and there was no need to

arrange for the medical treatment of any occupants,

there was no delay that would threaten the destruc-

tion of evidence before a warrant could be obtained.

Additionally, there was no evidence here that the

patrolman would have been unable to obtain a war-

rant had he attempted to do so. The sole special fact

present in this case, that blood-alcohol levels dissi-

pate after drinking ceases, is not a per se exigency

pursuant to Schmerber justifying an officer to order a

blood test without obtaining a warrant from a neutral

judge.

The judgment of the trial court is affirmed.’

' Affirming the trial court’s decision granting the motion to

suppress does not result in the dismissal of the case against

Defendant. Instead, the state may proceed in the prosecution of

the DWI charge against Defendant based on other evidence not

gathered in violation of the Constitution.

4a

I. Facts

A Missouri state highway patrolman, while

performing his patrol, stopped Defendant’s truck for

speeding at 2:08 a.m. As the patrolman spoke with

Defendant during the routine traffic stop, he noticed

that Defendant displayed the tell-tale signs of intoxi-

cation — bloodshot eyes, slurred speech, and the smell

of alcohol on his breath. These observations changed

the nature of the patrolman’s investigation from a

routine traffic stop to a DWI investigation. He asked

Defendant to step out of the vehicle and to perform

standard field-sobriety tests. Defendant performed

the tests poorly, and the patrolman placed Defendant

under arrest for driving while intoxicated. After

securing Defendant in the patrol car, the patrolman

asked him if he would consent to a breath test. De-

fendant refused.

The patrolman testified that, in his more than 17

years of experience, he had obtained warrants when

he needed to test the blood of DWI suspects. This

time, however, he was influenced by an article he

previously had read, written by a traffic safety re-

source prosecutor, in “Traffic Safety News.” He testi-

fied that the article asserted officers no longer needed

to obtain a warrant before requiring DWI suspects to

submit to nonconsensual blood tests because of recent

changes in Missouri’s implied consent law.’ Based on

* The article, Warrantless Blood Draws: Are They Now

Authorized in Missouri?, acknowledged that the former version

of section 577.041.1 stated that if a person refused both the

(Continued on following page)

5a

this understanding, the patrolman did not seek a

warrant and drove Defendant to the local] hospital to

test his blood to secure evidence of his intoxication.

There, Defendant refused to consent to a blood draw.

Over Defendant’s refusal, the patrolman directed a

phlebotomist to draw Defendant’s blood for alcohol

testing at 2:33 a.m. The blood sample was analyzed,

and the results revealed that Defendant’s blood-

alcohol content was well above the legal limit.

Defendant moved to suppress the results of the

blood test as a violation of his Fourth Amendment

rights. The trial court sustained the motion. The

State brings this interlocutory appeal.’

Il. Standard of Review

A trial court’s ruling on a motion to suppress will

be reversed only if it is clearly erroneous. State v.

Sund, 215 S.W.3d 719, 723 (Mo. banc 2007). This

Court defers to the trial court’s factual findings and

breath-analyzer and the blood draw test, then “none shall be

given.” Section 577.041.1, RSMo Supp.2008. However, that

section was amended prior to Defendant’s arrest by the deletion

of the phrase “and none shall be given.” Section 577.041.1,

RSMo. Supp.2010. With the removal of that phrase, the prosecu-

tor asserted that police officers now may “rely on the well settled

principle that obtaining blood from an arrestee on probable

cause without a warrant and without actual consent does not

offend constitutional guarantees.” The prosecutor’s assertion

rests on a fundamental misreading of Schmerber.

* This Court has jurisdiction pursuant to article V, section

10 of the Missouri Constitution.

6a

credibility determinations and considers all evidence

and reasonable inferences in the light most favorable

to the trial court’s ruling. Jd. Whether conduct vio-

lates the Fourth Amendment is a question of law,

which is reviewed de novo. Id.

Ill. Analysis

The issue before this Court is whether the natu-

ral dissipation of blood-alcohol evidence is alone a

sufficient exigency to dispense with the warrant

requirement under the Fourth Amendment.

The Fourth Amendment to the United States

Constitution ensures “[t]he right of the people to be

secure in their person ... against unreasonable

searches and seizures.” The United States Supreme

Court has repeatedly held that “searches conducted

outside the judicial process, without prior approval by

judge or magistrate are per se unreasonable under

the Fourth Amendment — subject to only a few specif-

ically established and well-delineated exceptions.”

Katz v. United States, 389 U.S. 347, 357, 88 S.Ct. 507,

19 L.Ed.2d 576 (1967).

An exception to the general rule requiring a

search warrant is when exigent circumstances are

present. United States v. Cisneros-Gutierrez, 598 F.3d

997, 1004 (8th Cir.2010). Exigent circumstances exist

if the time needed to obtain a warrant would endan-

ger life, allow a suspect to escape, or risk the destruc-

tion of evidence. Id.

7a

Every Fourth Amendment analysis requires the

balancing of two competing interests: (1) the right of

the individual to be secure in his or her person, house,

papers, and effects against unreasonable searches

and seizures and (2) society's interest in discovering

and eliminating criminal] activity. Schmerber recog-

nized this essential and inevitable struggle of the

Fourth Amendment:

Search warrants are ordinarily required for

searches of dwellings, and absent an emer-

gency, no less could be required where intru-

sions into the human body are concerned.

The requirement that a warrant be obtained

is a requirement that the inferences to sup-

port the search “be drawn by a neutral and

detached magistrate instead of being judged

by the officer engaged in the often competi-

tive enterprise of ferreting out crime.” The

importance of informed, detached and delib-

erate determinations of the issue whether or

not to invade another’s body in search of evi-

dence of guilt is indisputable and great.

384 U.S. at 770, 86 S.Ct. 1826 (quoting Johnson

v. United States, 333 U.S. 10, 13-14, 68 S.Ct. 367, 92

L.Ed. 436 (1948)) (internal citations omitted).

A. Schmerber v. California

Schmerber provides the backdrop to this Court’s

analysis in the case at hand. In Schmerber, the de-

fendant was driving a vehicle that skidded off the

8a

road. Jd. at 758 n. 2, 86 S.Ct. 1826. He and his pas-

senger were injured and taken to the hospital for

treatment. Jd. At the hospital, the defendant was

arrested and, without his consent or a warrant, an

officer directed a physician to take a sample of the

defendant’s blood. Jd. at 758, 86 S.Ct. 1826. Analysis

of the blood sample revealed that the defendant was

intoxicated. Jd. at 759, 86 S.Ct. 1826. The defendant

objected to the trial court’s receipt of the blood sample

evidence, contending that the warrantless blood draw

violated his Fourth Amendment right to be free from

unreasonable searches and seizures. /d.

The Supreme Court reasoned that drawing an

individual’s blood for evidentiary purposes is a search

that implicates the Fourth Amendment. Id. at 769-70,

86 S.Ct. 1826. Ordinarily a search warrant would be

required to perform a blood draw when a person does

not consent. Jd. at 770, 86 S.Ct. 1826. The circum-

stances in Schmerber, however, led the Supreme

Court to carve out a very limited exception to the

warrant requirement for a blood draw in alcohol-

related cases. Id. at 772, 86 S.Ct. 1826. The limited

exception of Schmerber ultimately rested on certain

“special facts” that might have caused the officer to

reasonably believe he was faced with an emergency

situation in which the delay in obtaining a warrant

would threaten the destruction of evidence. Jd. at

770-71, 86 S.Ct. 1826. The threat of evidence destruc-

tion was caused by the fact that the percentage of

alcohol in a person’s blood begins to diminish shortly

after drinking stops and because there was an

9a

accident requiring time to be taken to both transport

the defendant to the hospital and to investigate the

scene of the accident. Jd. Given those “special facts”

the Supreme Court concluded that the warrantless

search was valid incident to the defendant’s arrest.

Id. at 771, 86 S.Ct. 1826. Although Schmerber

couched its limited exception to the warrant require-

ment in terms of a search incident to arrest, it has

since been read as an application of the exigent

circumstances exception to the warrant requirement.

United States v. Berry, 866 F.2d 887, 891 (6th

Cir.1989).

The State urges that Schmerber gives officers the

broad authority to direct medical professionals to

conduct warrantless and nonconsensual blood draws

on DWI defendants on mere probable cause of intoxi-

cation. The State asserts that the dissipating nature

of blood-alcohol evidence alone constitutes a sufficient

exigency to dispense with the warrant requirement in

alcohol-related cases.

Schmerber, however, requires more than the mere

fact that alcohol naturally dissipates in the blood

stream. Instead, it requires a showing of “special

facts” to provide an exigency to conduct a warrantless

bodily intrusion. Schmerber, 384 U.S. at 770-71, 86

S.Ct. 1826. The “special facts” present in Schmerber

included the time delay created by the investigation

of the accident as well as the transportation of the

defendant to the hospital. Jd. These “special facts”

might have caused the officer to reasonably believe he

was faced with an emergency situation in which the

10a

further delay in obtaining a warrant would threaten

the destruction of evidence. Jd. Under this limited

fact situation, Schmerber held a nonconsensual,

warrantless blood draw was permissible under the

Fourth Amendment. Jd. at 772, 86 S.Ct. 1826. This

interpretation of Schmerber is supported by other

jurisdictions that have addressed this issue.

B. Other Jurisdictions That Have Addressed

Schmerber Have Held That “Special Facts”

Beyond the Natural Dissipation of Blood-

Alcohol Are Required

Since Schmerber, several courts have addressed

whether Schmerber’s holding allows for nonconsen-

sual, warrantless blood draws in routine DWI cases.

The Supreme Court of Utah held that the dissipating

nature of blood-alcohol evidence alone is not a per se

exigency justifying a warrantless search. State v.

Rodriguez, 156 P.3d 771, 772 (Utah 2007). In Rodri-

guez, the defendant was critically injured in a serious

automobile accident and was rushed to the hospital.

Id. An officer went to the hospital where the defen-

dant was being treated and observed the odor of

alcohol on her breath, slurred speech, red eyes, and

belligerent behavior. Jd. Blood was drawn from the

defendant through an IV line that the hospital staff

had previously inserted in her arm. Jd. The analysis

of her blood revealed that her blood-alcohol level was

five times the legal limit in Utah. Jd. At trial, the

defendant moved to suppress the evidence obtained

from the warrantless blood draw. Id.

lla

Rodriguez, in analyzing Schmerber, stated: “The

evanescence of blood-alcohol was never special enough

to create an exigent circumstance by itself.” Jd. at 776.

Instead, the Utah court reasoned, Schmerber’s exigent

circumstances exception to the warrant requirement

rested on all of the “special facts” of Schmerber, and

the natural dissipation of blood-alcohol was only one

of those “special facts.” Id. Rodriguez adopted a

totality of the circumstances test for the determination

of whether there exists a sufficient exigency justifying

a warrantless blood draw. Id. at 782. Rodriguez rea-

soned that the seriousness of the accident in the case,

coupled with the compelling evidence of the defen-

dant’s alcohol impairment, was “sufficient to establish

that the interests of law enforcement outweighed, in

this instance, [the defendant’s] privacy interests.” Id.

at 781. The Supreme Court of Utah held that, given

the totality of the circumstances, probable cause and

exigent circumstances justified a warrantless blood

draw in the case before it. Id. at 782.

Similarly, the Supreme Court of Iowa noted that

Schmerber rejected the notion that the natural dissi-

pation of blood-alcohol constituted a per se exigency

justifying a warrantless blood draw. State v. Johnson,

744 N.W.2d 340, 344 (Iowa 2008). In Johnson, the

defendant was involved in a car accident that caused

serious injury to the driver of another car. Jd. at 341.

After the accident, the defendant fled the scene on

foot, but the police tracked him down not far from the

scene. Jd. He was arrested and taken to the police

12a

station, where he refused a breath test. Jd. Subse-

quently, he was taken to the hospital, and a blood

sample was drawn without a warrant and without his

consent. Jd. Analysis of his blood revealed that his

blood-alcohol concentration was well above the legal

limit in Iowa. Jd. The defendant moved to suppress

the results of the blood test. Jd.

Johnson analyzed the admissibility of a warrant-

less blood draw performed in accordance with an

Iowa statute authorizing such draws. Id.‘ The de-

fendant argued that the officer was not faced with an

“emergency” under the Iowa statute. Id. The Iowa

court found that there were Schmerber-like time-

based considerations present in the case before it

because the officer had to take time to investigate the

scene, track down the fleeing defendant, administer

sobriety tests, and transport him to the police station

and hospital. Jd. at 344. Two and a half hours after

the accident, officers were finally able to draw the

* The Iowa statute in question closely tracked the ration-

ales of Schmerber, allowing a nonconsensual, warrantless blood

draw when the operator of a motor vehicle is arrested for an

“accident that causes a death or personal injury reasonably

likely to cause death” when three additional elements are

present: (1) the officer reasonably believes the blood drawn will

produce evidence of intoxication; (2) the blood is drawn.by a

medical personnel; and (3) the officer reasonably believes that

he or she is confronted with an emergency situation in which the

delay necessary to obtain a warrant threatens the destruction of

the evidence. Jd. at 342 (quoting Iowa Code section 321J.9

(2005)).

13a

defendant’s blood. Id. Johnson held that the warrant-

less blood draw was permissible because the officer,

in investigating a serious injury accident, “might

reasonably have believed that he was confronted with

an emergency, in which the delay necessary to obtain

a warrant, under the circumstances, threatened the

destruction of evidence.” Id. at 342-43 (quoting

Schmerber, 384 U.S. at 770, 86 S.Ct. 1826). The

Supreme Court of Iowa rejected the idea that

Schmerber created a per se exigency based on the

nature of blood-alcohol alone. Jd. at 344. Instead, it

noted that “there was more underlying the seizure of

blood in Schmerber than the mere phenomenon of

alcohol dissipation.” Jd.

Finally, the Ninth Circuit held that an arrest is

not a constitutional prerequisite to a warrantless

blood draw in United States v. Chapel, 55 F.3d 1416,

1420 (9th Cir.1995). In so holding, the court discussed

the constitutionality of nonconsensual, warrantless

blood draws. It reasoned that although a nonconsen-

sual, warrantless blood draw may be based upon

probable cause instead of requiring an arrest,

Schmerber requires more:

In addition to probable cause, the other

Schmerber requirements remain in place.

The officer must still reasonably believe that

an emergency exists in which the delay nec-

essary to obtain a warrant would threaten

the loss or destruction of evidence. The pro-

cedures used to extract the sample must still

l4a

be reasonable and in accordance with

accepted medical practices.

Id. at 1419.

Chapel’s interpretation of Schmerber is con-

sistent with this Court’s holding today. The DWI

defendant in Chapel had been severely injured in a

motorcycle accident; therefore, the officer was faced

with an emergency situation that — taken with the

natural dissipation of blood-alcohol, the accident

investigation, and the hospital transportation time

delay — constituted exigent circumstances justifying a

nonconsensual, warrantless blood draw. See id. at

1417-20.

Contrary to the State’s assertion, no case in

Missouri supports a per se rule that the natural

dissipation of blood-alcohol is alone sufficient to

constitute exigent circumstances that would permit

officers in every DWI case to take blood from a sus-

pect without consent or a search warrant.’ The State

* The State cites State v. Ikerman and State v. Setter to

support its position that warrantless blood draws are permissi-

ble in DWI cases, but both of these cases applied Schmerber in

terms ofa search incident to arrest. Setter, 721 S.W.2d 11, 16

(Mo.App. 1986); Ikerman, 698 S.W.2d 902, 904-05 (Mq App.1985).

The State acknowledges, however, that “[wJhile Schmerber casts

its decision in terms of the ‘search incident to arrest’ exception to

the warrant requirement, it has since been read as an applica-

tion of the ‘exigent circumstances’ exception.” Appellant’s

Substitute Brief at 17; See also Berry, 866 F.2d at 891; Rodri- .

guez, 156 P.3d at 776; Johnson, 744 N.W.2d at 342; State v.

Shriner, 751 N.W.2d 538, 543 (Minn.2008); Chapel, 55 F.3d at

(Continued on following page)

15a

argues that State v. LeRette supports its position. 858

S.W.2d 816 (Mo.App.1993). In LeRette, the defendant

was the driver of an automobile involved a serious-

injury accident. Jd. at 817. When the officer arrived

at the scene, emergency personnel were loading the

defendant into an ambulance. Jd. While investigating

the accident, the officer found several beer cans

among the wreckage debris, including a half-empty

can. Jd. Later, at the hospital, the officer found the

defendant with a tube down his throat and unable to

communicate. Jd. The officer directed a hospital

employee to take a blood sample from the defendant

for the purpose of determining his blood-alcohol

content. Id. LeRette justified the warrantless blood

draw based on the facts that the percentage of alcohol

in the bloodstream diminishes with time and that the

delay caused by having to obtain a warrant might

result in the destruction of evidence. The court stated

that “both prongs of the exigent circumstances excep-

tion were established — probable cause that incrimi-

nating evidence would be found and exigent circum-

stances justifying the search.” Jd. at 819. While the

court in LeRette did not specifically identify the

exigent circumstances, it is significant to note that

there was some passage in time for the officer to

remain at the scene to do investigatory work while

1418; State v. Bohling, 173 Wis.2d 529, 494 N.W.2d 399, 402

(1993). To the exteut that Jkerman and Setter interpret

Schmerber to allow a nonconsensual warrantless blood draw

incident to arrest in DWI cases without other exigent circum-

stances, they are no longer to be followed.

16a

the defendant was taken to the hospital. See id. at

817. Further, when the officer later arrived at the

hospital, he was confronted with an individual with

whom he could not communicate. Jd. at 817.

The factual circumstances in LeRette are signifi-

cantly different from the case here, as notably LeRette

involved an accident that required investigation and

a further time delay when the driver was taken to a

hospital for treatment, unlike the routine DWI stop

in this case. LeRette embodied a straight forward

application of the “special facts” of emergency con-

templated by Schmerber, in that the DWI suspect in

LeRette — just as the defendant was in Schmerber —

was involved in a serious-injury accident that caused

a time delay in both the investigation of the accident

and the transportation of the defendant to the hospi-

tal. Id. at 819."

C. This Court Disagrees with Jurisdictions

That Have Adopted a Per Se Exigency

Analysis

In contrast to the forgoing, Wisconsin, Oregon,

and Minnesota have adopted the rationale that the

rapid dissipation of alcohol alone constitutes a suffi-

cient exigency to draw blood without a warrant. State

* To the extent that LeRette could be read as permitting a

warrantless blood draw based on the mere fact that alcohol

diminishes in the blood stream over time, it is no longer to be

followed.

17a

v. Bohling, 173 Wis.2d 529, 494 N.W.2d 399, 406

(1993); State v. Machuca, 347 Or. 644, 227 P.3d 729,

736 (2010); State v. Netland, 762 N.W.2d 202, 212-13

(Minn.2009). In a 4-3 decision, the Supreme Court of

Wisconsin stated:

Schmerber can be read in either of two ways:

(a) that the rapid dissipation of alcohol in the

bloodstream alone constitutes a sufficient ex-

igency for a warrantless blood draw to obtain

evidence of intoxication following a lawful

arrest for a drunk driving related violation

or crime — as opposed to taking a blood sam-

ple for other reasons, such as to determine

blood type; or (b) that the rapid dissipation of

alcohol in the bloodstream, coupled with an

accident, hospitalization, and the lapse of

two hours until arrest, constitute exigent cir-

cumstances for such a blood draw.

Bohling, 494 N.W.2d at 402. The Wisconsin court

believed that that the more reasonable interpretation

of Schmerber was the former. Jd. It reasoned that the

exigency in Schmerber was caused “solely” by the fact

that alcohol dissipates in a person's blood stream over

time. Id. Bohling held that a warrantless blood draw

is permitted when a person is lawfully arrested for a

drunken-driving related crime and there is a clear

indication that the evidence obtained will produce

evidence of intoxication. Id. at 406."

"In a subsequent 4-3 decision, the Supreme Court of

Wisconsin extended its holding in Bohling to permit nonconsen-

sual, warrantless blood draws even when the defendant has

(Continued on following page)

18a

Similarly, the Supreme Court of Oregon held that

the natural dissipation of a defendant’s blood-alcohol

is an exigent circumstance that will “ordinarily

permit a warrantless blood draw.” Machuca, 227

P.3d at 736 (relying on its prior interpretation of

Schmerber in State v. Milligan, which stated “the

evanescent nature of the evidence sought ... consti-

tutionally justifies [a warrantless blood draw].” 304

Or. 659, 748 P.2d 130, 136 (1988)).

Finally, a divided Supreme Court of Minnesota

held that the natural dissipation of alcohol in the

blood creates “single-factor exigent circumstances”

that justify a warrantless, nonconsensual blood draw.

Netland, 762 N.W.2d at 212-213 (citing State v.

Shriner, 751 N.W.2d 538, 549-50 (Minn.2008)).

Shriner interpreted the Schmerber exigency to rest

only on the fact that the “percentage of alcohol in the

blood begins to diminish shortly after drinking stops,

as the body functions to eliminate it from the sys-

tem.” Shriner, 751 N.W.2d at 545 (quoting Schmerber,

384 U.S. at 770, 86 S.Ct. 1826; internal quotation

marks omitted).

This Court cannot agree with these interpreta-

tions of Schmerber. In Schmerber, the Supreme Court

rejected a per se exigency and explicitly warned

against such expansive interpretations:

consented and submitted to a breath test. State v. Faust, 274

Wis.2d 183, 682 N.W.2d 371, 379 (2004).

19a

It bears repeating, however, that we reach

this judgment only on the facts of the present

record. The integrity of an individual’s per-

son is a cherished value of our society. That

we today hold that the Constitution does not

forbid the States minor intrusions into an

individual’s body under stringently limited

conditions in no way indicates that it permits

... intrusions under other conditions.

Schmerber, 384 U.S. at 772, 86 S.Ct. 1826.

Schmerber requires some exigency beyond the mere

natural dissipation of blood-alcohol evidence. It

explicitly found that the time delay that resulted

from both the investigation of the accident and the

transportation of the defendant to the hospital were

“special facts” that authorized a warrantless blood

draw under the Fourth Amendment. Jd. at 770-71, 86

S.Ct. 1826. To allow a warrantless blood draw in the

absence of such “special facts” would be to ignore the

Supreme Court’s statement in Schmerber that the

Constitution in no way permits warrantless blood

draws “under other conditions.” Jd. at 772, 86 S.Ct.

1826.

IV. Conclusion

Schmerber reaffirms that warrantless intrusions

of the body are not to be undertaken lightly and that

exigency is to be determined by the unique facts and

circumstances of each case. Schmerber directs lower

courts to engage in a totality of the circumstances

analysis when determining whether exigency permits

20a

a nonconsensual, warrantless blood draw. It requires

more than the mere dissipation of blood-alcohol

evidence to support a warrantless blood draw in an

alcohol-related case. Schmerber, 384 U.S. at 770-71,

86 S.Ct. 1826. Officers must reasonably believe that

they are confronted with an emergency where the

delay in obtaining a warrant would threaten the

destruction of evidence. Jd. at 770, 86 S.Ct. 1826. The

question of whether an emergency exists sufficient to

trigger the exigent circumstances exception to the

warrant requirement heavily depends on the exis-

tence of “special facts” and must be determined on a

case-by-case basis. In routine DWI cases, in which no

“special facts” exist other than the natural dissipation

alcohol in the blood, a warrant must be obtained

before such evidence is gathered. This requirement

ensures that the inferences to support the blood draw

be made by a neutral and detached judge “instead of

being judged by the officer engaged in the often

competitive enterprise of ferreting out crime.” John-

son, 333 U.S. at 13-14, 68 S.Ct. 367. The warrant

requirement is especially important when the issue is

“whether or not to invade another’s body in search of

evidence of guilt.” Schmerber, 384 U.S. at 770, 86

S.Ct. 1826.

Defendant’s case is unquestionably a routine

DWI case. Although his body was working naturally

to expunge the alcohol in his system, there were no

other “special facts” of exigency in his case. There was

no accident to investigate and no injuries to attend to

that required the patrolman to expend time, delaying

2la

his request of Defendant to submit to blood-alcohol

testing. The patrolman could not identify any exigent

circumstances and made no attempt to obtain a

search warrant. The nonconsensual, warrantless

blood draw was taken only 25 minutes after Defendant

was stopped. Time-based considerations similar to

those in Schmerber were not present here.” There

were no “special facts” in this case, other than the

natural dissipation of blood-alcohol, that indicated

the arresting patrolman was faced with an emergency

where the delay in obtaining a warrant would threat-

en the destruction of evidence. He was not justified,

therefore, in failing to seek a warrant before drawing

Defendant’s blood over his refusal to consent.”

Defendant’s Fourth Amendment right to be free

from unreasonable searches of his person was vio-

lated, and the trial court’s judgment sustaining De-

fendant’s motion to suppress is affirmed. The State

may go forward in the prosecution of the DWI charge

against Defendant based on evidence gathered in

* For example, in Johnson, more than two and a half hours

had passed between the accident and the warrantless blood

draw. Johnson, 744 N.W.2d at 344. In Schmerber, the exact time

that had elapsed was not reflected in the opinion, but the

investigation of the accident and the transportation of the

defendant to the hospital caused a time delay. Schmerber, 384

U.S. at 770-71, 86 S.Ct. 1826.

* Because the warrantless blood draw in this case was a

violation of Defendant’s Fourth Amendment right to be free from

unreasonable searches, there is no need to address the State’s

arguments based on Missouri’s implied consent law.

22a

conformity with the Constitution. The case is re-

manded.

TEITELMAN, C.J., RUSSELL, BRECKENRIDGE,

FISCHER, STITH, and PRICE, JJ., and ASEL, Sp.J.

concur.

DRAPER, J. not participating.

23a

2011 WL 2455571

Missouri Court of Appeals,

Eastern District,

Division Four.

STATE of Missouri, Appellant,

v.

Tyler G. McNEELY, Respondent.

No. ED 96402.

June 21, 2011.

Transferred to 2012 WL 135417.

Appeal from the Circuit Court of Cape Girardeau

County, Benjamin F. Lewis, Judge. John N. Koester,

Prosecuting Atty. For Cape Girardeau County, Jack-

son, MO, for appellant.

Stephen C. Wilson, Cape Girardeau, MO, for re-

spondent.

ROBERT G. DOWD, JR., Judge.

The State of Missouri appeals from the trial

court’s grant of Tyler G. McNeely’s (“Defendant”) mo-

tion to suppress evidence. Defendant was charged with

driving while intoxicated, Section 577.010, RSMo 2000."

In its sole point, the State argues the trial court erred

in granting Defendant’s motion to suppress the blood

sample seized from Defendant’s person after he was

arrested for driving while intoxicated because the

sample was taken without Defendant’s consent and

* All further statutory references are to RSMo 2000, unless

otherwise indicated.

24a

without a search warrant. We would reverse; how-

ever, in light of the general interest and importance of

the issues involved, we transfer the case to the Mis-

souri Supreme Court, pursuant to Supreme Court

Rule 83.02.

On October 3, 2010, Corporal Mark Winder (“Cor-

poral Winder”) observed Defendant driving above the

posted speed limit. As he was following Defendant

before he pulled him over, Corporal Winder observed

Defendant crossing the center line of the road three

times. When he made contact with Defendant, he

detected “a strong odor of intoxicants on his breath

and his eyes were glassy and bloodshot.” Defendant

stated he had a couple of beers, and when Corporal

Winder asked him to step out of the vehicle, he was

unstable on his feet and swayed while maintaining

his balance.

Corporal Winder administered four field sobriety

tests on Defendant, and Defendant performed poorly

on each of them. Defendant refused to give a breath

sample into a portable breath tester and was subse-

quently placed under arrest for driving while intoxi-

cated.

Corporal Winder began to transport Defendant

to the Cape Girardeau County Jail to administer

a breath test, but Defendant stated he would refuse

to take a breath test. Thus, Corporal Winder trans-

ported Defendant to the St. Francis Medical Center

Lab to obtain a blood sample.

25a

Corporal Winder read Defendant the Missouri

Implied Consent and asked that he provide a blood

sample. Defendant refused. Corporal Winder informed

Defendant that, pursuant to Missouri law, he was

going to obtain the blood sample against his refusal.

At that point, a lab technician withdrew a blood

sample from Defendant. The sample showed Defen-

dant’s blood-alcohol level was 0.154 percent. Corporal

Winder immediately took possession of the sample

and transported Defendant to the Cape Girardeau

County Jail. After arriving at the jail, Corporal Winder

again read Defendant the Missouri Implied Consent

and asked that he submit to a breath test, but De-

fendant again refused.

The State filed charges against Defendant for

driving while intoxicated. Defendant subsequently

filed a motion to suppress the blood sample taken

from Defendant because it was taken from Defendant

without his consent and without a warrant.

In ruling on the motion, the trial court found this

case did not involve exigent circumstances and,

relying on Schmerber v. California, 384 U.S. 757, 86

S.Ct. 1826, 16 L.Ed.2d 908 (1966), it found the Fourth

Amendment requires either a warrant or exigent cir-

cumstances to withdraw blood without consent. The

trial court noted that the holding in Schmerber, where

the results of the blood test were found to be admis-

sible, was limited to the “special facts” of that case,

which included a delay of two hours while the officer

investigated the scene of an accident before delivering

the defendant to the hospital and the court’s specific

26a

finding that there was no time to seek out a magis-

trate and secure a warrant. As a result, the trial court

granted Defendant’s motion to suppress evidence

obtained by the warrantless blood withdrawal in this

case where there was no accident and no substantial

delay between the traffic stop and the blood draw and

both a prosecutor and judge were readily available to

issue a search warrant. The State appeals the sup-

pression of the evidence.

In its sole point, the State argues the trial court

erred in granting Defendant’s motion to suppress the

blood sample seized from Defendant without his con-

sent and without a warrant after he was arrested for

driving while intoxicated because the legislature

eliminated the “none shall be given” language from

Section 577.041, and that was the only provision un-

der Missouri law barring police officers from obtain-

ing nonconsensual and warrantless blood samples.

We agree.

Our review of a trial court’s ruling on a motion to

suppress is limited to a determination of sufficiency

of the evidence to sustain the trial court’s finding.

State v. Kriley, 976 S.W.2d 16, 19 (Mo.App. W.D.1998).

At the hearing on the motion, the State has the bur-

den of going forward with the evidence and the risk of

non-persuasion to show by a preponderance of the

evidence that a motion to suppress should be over-

ruled. Section 542.296.6; State v. Cook, 273 S.W.3d

562, 567 (Mo.App. E.D.2008). The burden is placed

upon the State because warrantless searches are pre-

sumptively unreasonable. State v. Weddle, 18 S.W.3d

27a

389, 396 (Mo.App. E.D.2000). We will affirm the judg-

ment of the trial court if there is sufficient evidence

which would support the trial court’s decision to sus-

tain the motion to suppress on any ground alleged in

the defendant’s motion. Kriley, 976 S.W.2d at 19. We

will only reverse the trial court’s judgment if it is

clearly erroneous. Jd. The trial court’s judgment is

clearly erroneous if we are left with the definite and

firm belief that a mistake has been made. Id.

In reviewing the trial court’s decision to grant a

motion to suppress, we view the evidence presented

and all reasonable inferences drawn therefrom in the

light most favorable to the trial court’s order and dis-

regard all evidence and inferences to the contrary.

State v. Abeln, 136 S.W.3d 803, 808 (Mo.App. W.D.2004).

We defer to the trial court’s factual findings, and we

review de novo whether the Fourth Amendment was

violated as a matter of law under the facts found by

the trial court. Jd.

The Fourth Amendment to the United States

Constitution guarantees that citizens will not be sub-

ject to unreasonable searches or seizures. U.S. Const.

Amend. IV; Simmons v. State, 247 S.W.3d 86, 90

(Mo.App. S.D.2008). A search conducted without a

warrant is presumptively unreasonable. Jd. An excep-

tion to the general rule that a search requires a war-

rant exists when exigent circumstances are present.

Id. Exigent circumstances exist if the time needed to

obtain a warrant would endanger life, allow a suspect

to escape, or risk the destruction of evidence. Id. The

overriding function of the Fourth Amendment is to

28a

protect personal privacy and dignity against unwar-

ranted intrusion by the State. Schmerber, 384 U.S. at

767, 86 S.Ct. 1826.

Here, we are dealing with questions of law and,

thus, our review is de novo. The State contends we

are confronted with a two-prong inquiry here: (1) is a

nonconsensual and warrantless blood draw under

these circumstances a reasonable search and seizure

under the Fourth Amendment; and (2) if so, does the

Missouri implied consent law prohibit such noncon-

sensual and warrantless tests? We will begin with the

first question.

The watershed case in this area of law is

Schmerber. In Schmerber, the defendant was con-

victed of driving an automobile while under the in-

fluence of intoxicating liquor. Schmerber, 384 U.S. at

758, 86 S.Ct. 1826. The defendant had been arrested

for driving while intoxicated at a hospital while re-

ceiving treatment for injuries suffered in an accident

involving the car he had been driving. Jd. At the

direction of a police officer, a blood sample was taken

from the defendant by a doctor at the hospital, and

this sample showed he was intoxicated. Jd. at 758-59,

86 S.Ct. 1826. The report of this analysis was admit-

ted at trial, even though the defendant objected

because the blood had been drawn despite his refusal.

Id. In affirming the admission of the blood sample at

trial, the Supreme Court noted the officer might have

reasonably believed that he was confronted with an

emergency, in which the delay necessary to obtain a

warrant threatened the destruction of evidence under

29a

the circumstances because the percentage of alcohol

in the blood diminishes as the body functions to

eliminate it from the system. Jd. at 770-71, 86 S.Ct.

1826. The Supreme Court noted “special facts” of this

case included the fact that “time had to be taken to

bring the accused to the hospital and to investigate

the scene of an accident, [and] there was no time to

seek out a magistrate and secure a warrant.” Jd. The

Supreme Court found the defendant’s rights under

the Fourth Amendment had not been violated. Jd. at

772, 86 S.Ct. 1826.

While the Court in Schmerber ostensibly relied

on the “search incident to arrest” exception to the

warrant requirement, subsequent courts have found

it can be read as an application of the exigent circum-

stances exception to the warrant requirement. U.S. v.

Berry, 866 F.2d 887, 891 (6th Cir.1989). The court in

Berry noted because “evidence of intoxication begins

to dissipate promptly, it is evident in this case that

there were exigent circumstances indicating the need

to take such action.” Jd. While Berry involved a war-

rantless blood draw at the hospital some time after a

one car accident and the defendant was unconscious

and unable to give consent, the court did not justify

its ruling that the blood draw occurred under exigent

circumstances with any “special facts.” Jd. The court

merely stated “[tJhe officer had ample cause to believe

that defendant was under the influence of alcohol.

The method of testing was safe and reasonable and

administered by qualified personnel. It was done only

30a

after there was a reasonable basis to effect this

‘search and seizure.’” Jd. at 890.

In State v. Faust 274 Wis.2d 183, 682 N.W.2d

371, 373 (2004), the Supreme Court of Wiscdnsin

found “the rapid dissipation of alcohol in the blood-

stream of an individual arrested for a drunk driving

related offense constitutes an exigency that justifies

the warrantless[,] nonconsensual test of that individ-

ual’s blood.” In that case, the court went even further

by saying a warrantless, nonconsensual blood test

was permissible because the presumptively valid

chemical sample of the driver’s breath that the police

already had did not extinguish the exigent circum-

stances justifying the warrantless, nonconsensual blood

draw. Id. The facts of that case involved a routine

traffic stop, executed because the license plates were

not registered to the vehicle. Jd. at 374. Upon ap-

proaching the vehicle, the officer smelled a strong

odor of intoxicants and observed the driver slurring

his speech. Jd. The officer then administered a field

sobriety test that the driver failed. Jd. The driver

then volunteered to submit to a preliminary breath

test, which indicated his blood alcohol concentration

was above the legal limit. Faust, 682 N.W.2d at 374.

The driver was then placed under arrest and taken to

police headquarters where he performed another

breath test, indicating his blood alcohol content was

above the legal limit. Jd. The officer then requested

that the driver submit to a blood test, but the driver

refused, at which point the officer transported him to

a hospital and had a phlebotomist administer a blood

3la

test without ever seeking a warrant. Jd. The results

of the blood test were admitted into evidence and

showed the driver had a blood alcohol content above

the legal limit. Jd. The court in Faust also rejected an

argument that Defendant puts forth in this case, that

is, that Schmerber should be narrowly interpreted

and its holding limited to cases with “special facts,”

finding instead that “exigent circumstances exist

based solely on the fact that alcohol rapidly dissipates

in the bloodstream.” Id. at 377.

Missouri courts have recognized and adopted the

holding in Schmerber. In State v. Ikerman, 698 S.W.2d

902, 904-05 (Mo.App. E.D.1985), the court noted

Schmerber supports the general principle that the

warrantless extraction of a blood sample without con-

sent but incident to a lawful arrest is not an unconsti-

tutional search and seizure and that the results of a

blood test performed thereon are admissible in evi-

dence. Thus, the implied consent statute authorizing

a “search,” that is, the extraction of blood for a blood

alcohol test, without a warrant or actual consent does

not offend the constitutional guarantees of due pro-

cess or of freedom from unreasonable search and

seizure of one who has first been arrested. Id.

Further, in State v. Lerette, 858 S.W.2d 816, 819

(Mo.App. W.D.1993), a trooper arrived at the scene of

a one car accident and spoke with the passenger in

the vehicle who smelled of intoxicants and who indi-

cated that the defendant had been driving the car

at the time of the accident. The trooper also found

several beer cans strewn among the wreckage debris

32a

including a partially full beer can in a Budweiser

“coolie” holder next to the wrecked vehicle. Jd. The

accident involved a single vehicle driven by the de-

fendant that for no apparent reason ran 30 feet off

the roadway, rolling and flipping over and resulting

in serious injuries to the defendant. Id. The court

found that considering that the trooper was aware of

all of this evidence after he arrived at the scene, he

had ample cause to believe that the defendant was

under the influence of alcohol while he was driving

his car at the time of the accident. Jd. The court found

these facts establish that the trooper had probable

cause to believe that incriminating evidence would be

found if the defendant’s blood were tested. Jd. When

the trooper arrived at the hospital, the trooper could

not tell if the defendant was conscious or not, ‘but he

could not communicate with him and therefore, could

not obtain his consent to a blood test. Jd. The trooper

directed hospital personnel to conduct a blood test

anyway, and the results of the blood test were later

suppressed by the trial court on the defendant’s mo-

tion. Id. That order was reversed, and the court noted

considering that the percentage of alcohol in

the bloodstream diminishes with time and

that the delay caused by having to obtain a

warrant might result in the destruction of

evidence, this court finds that there were ex-

igent circumstances warranting [the trooper’s]

actions and, as such, it would have been un-

reasonable to require him to take the time to

obtain a search warrant.

Id.

33a

In Faust, Berry, and Lerette, where the courts

followed Schmerber in applying the exigent circum-

stances exception to the warrant requirement, the

courts did not require any “special facts” to justify the

application of the exigent circumstances exception.

Instead, they merely rely on the evanescence of blood

alcohol concentrations as creating exigent circum-

stances such that no warrant is needed to conduct a

search. We note both Berry and Lerette involved de-

fendants who were unconscious or unable to give

consent, but with respect to getting consent while

evidence of alcohol is metabolized, an inability to give

consent is effectively the same as a refusal of consent;

the police are forced to either get a warrant or justify

a blood test under exigent circumstances. We have no

reason to require “special facts” in addition to the

facts that the officer had ample cause to reasonably

believe defendant was under the influence of alcohol

and that Defendant’s blood alcohol concentration

would continue to decrease, thus destroying evidence,

the longer the police waited to conduct a blood test.

We also note that while we are dealing with an

intrusion into a person’s body to obtain their blood,

the Court in Schmerber noted extraction of blood

samples for testing is a highly effective means of

determining the degree to which a person is under

the influence of alcohol. Schmerber, 384 U.S. at 771,

86 S.Ct. 1826. Further, writing over forty years ago,

the Court noted “such tests are a commonplace in

these days of periodic physical examination and ex-

perience with them teaches that the quantity of blood

34a

extracted is minimal, and that for most people the

procedure involves virtually no risk, trauma, or pain.”

Id.

Thus, we find Defendant’s Fourth Amendment

rights were not violated by the warrantless blood

draw in this case.

We now turn to the question of whether the

Missouri implied consent law prohibits such noncon-

sensual and warrantless tests. To further attempt to

rid the highways of drunk drivers, our legislature

enacted, like many other states, an “implied consent”

statute. The theory behind this law is that the use of

public streets and highways is a privilege and not a

right, and that a motorist, by applying for and accept-

ing an operator’s license, “impliedly consents” to sub-

mission to a chemical analysis of his blood alcohol

level when charged with driving while intoxicated.

Gooch v. Spradling, 523 S.W.2d 861, 865 (Mo.App.

W.D.1975). Section 577.020, Cum.Supp.2009, the im-

plied consent statute, states in pertinent part:

Any person who operates a motor vehicle up-

on the public highways of this state shall be

deemed to have given consent to, subject to

the provisions of sections 577.019 to 577.041,

a chemical test or tests of the person’s

breath, blood, saliva or urine for the purpose

of determining the alcohol or drug content of

the person’s blood pursuant to the following

circumstances:

(1) If the person is arrested for any offense

arising out of acts which the arresting officer

35a

had reasonable grounds to believe were com-

mitted while the person was driving a motor

vehicle while in an intoxicated or drugged

condition; .. .

3

The test shall be administered at the direc-

tion of the law enforcement officer whenever

the person has been arrested or stopped for

any reason.

Along with the implied consent statute, the leg-

islature enacted a “refusal” statute, Section 577.041,

RSMo Cum.Supp.2010 which currently provides, in

relevant part:

If a person under arrest, or who has been

stopped pursuant to subdivision (2) or (3) of

subsection 1 of section 577.020, refuses upon

the request of the officer to submit to any

test allowed pursuant to section 577.020,

then evidence of the refusal shall be admis-

sible in a proceeding pursuant to section

565.024, 565.060, or 565.082, RSMo, or sec-

tion 577.010 or 577.012.

Previously, this provision provided:

If a person under arrest, or who has been

stopped pursuant to subdivision (2) or (3) of

subsection 1 of section 577.020, refuses upon

the request of the officer to submit to any

test allowed pursuant to section 577.020,

then none shall be given and evidence of the

refusal shall be admissible in a proceeding

pursuant to section 565.024, 565.060, or

36a

565.082, RSMo, or section 577.010 or

577.012.

Section 577.041.1 Cum.Supp.2009. (emphasis added).

The previous version of Section 577.041 has been

interpreted in State v. Trumble, 844 S.W.2d 22, 24

(Mo.App. W.D.1992), where the court noted the stat-

ute meant a motorist “has the present, real option

either to consent to the test or refuse it.” The court

further found the statute provided that if one chooses

not to comply with the arresting officer’s request, by

refusing to take a chemical test, then evidence of that

refusal may be admissible in a proceeding against the

motorist and further that the motorist’s license may

be subject to revocation. Jd. The court also noted

Section 577.041 provided the statutory requirements

which must be satisfied in order to admit an ar-

restee’s refusal into evidence, and, as a result, that

section was more consistently read as providing a

resource for the state in the prosecution of drunk

driving cases rather than creating a “right” for an

arrested motorist to refuse the test. Id.

However, no Missouri case has dealt directly with

the import of the removal of the words “none shall be

given” from Section 577.041. In State v. Smith, 134

S.W.3d 35, 36-37 (Mo.App. E.D.2003), after arresting

a driver for driving while intoxicated, an officer ob-

tained a search warrant to draw blood after the

driver refused to submit to a chemical test. The court

in that case interpreted the “none shall be given”

language of Section 577.041 and concluded that the

37a

provisions of Section 577.041 do not prohibit the

admission of chemical test results obtained by war-

rant from a person arrested for driving while intoxi-

cated who has refused a police officer’s request to

submit to a test. Jd. at 38. The court noted the com-

mand that “none shall be given” was addressed only

to the authority of law enforcement officers to proceed

with a warrantless test under Chapter 577. Id. at 40.

Thus, the court in Smith found the “none shall be

given” language prevented law enforcement officers

from obtaining nonconsensual blood draws without a

court-issued warrant. Subsequent to that holding, the

legislature amended Section 577.041 to remove the

words “none shall be given” from the statute. Thus,

we are presented with the question of whether law

enforcement officers are now permitted to obtain war-

rantless, nonconsensual blood draws when they have

reasonable suspicion that a person is driving while

intoxicated. We note the legislature is presumed to

know the state of the law when it enacts a statute.

State v. Prince, 311 S.W.3d 327, 334 (Mo.App. W.D.2010).

Further, the legislature is presumed to intend what

the statute says, and we give effect to the words

based on their plain and ordinary meaning. /d. at

334-35. In light of our analysis above, we would con-

clude because of the recent revision of Section

577.041, removing the words “none shall be given,”

law enforcement officers are now permitted to order a

warrantless blood draws when they have reasonable

suspicion that a person is driving while intoxicated.

However, no Missouri case has yet addressed the

38a

import of the removal of the words “none shall be

given” from Section 577.041.

We would find the trial court erred in granting

Defendant’s motion to suppress the blood sample

seized from Defendant without his consent and with-

out a warrant after he was arrested for driving while

intoxicated. However, in the light of the fact that no

Missouri case has yet addressed the import of the

removal of the words “none shall be given” from Sec-

tion 577.041, which we believe involves a significant

departure from current case law as represented by

the Smith case, and the general interest and im-

portance of the issues involved, we transfer the case

to the Missouri Supreme Court, pursuant to Supreme

Court Rule 83.02.

KURT S. ODENWALD, PJ. and GARY P.

KRAMER, Sp.J., concur.

39a

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF CAPE GIRARDEAU

COUNTY, MISSOURI DIVISION II

STATE OF MISSOURI, )

PLAINTIFF, )

va. ) CASE NO.

) 10CG-CR01849-01

TYLER G. MCNEELY, )

DEFENDANT.)

ORDER AND JUDGMENT ON

DEFENDANT’S MOTION TO SUPPRESS

The Defendant moved to suppress the results of a

blood test taken without his consent and without a

search warrant. Evidence on the motion was adduced

on January 14, 2011 and the matter was taken under

advisement pending receipt of briefs. Now, on the

third day of March, 2011, the Court makes the follow-

ing findings of fact, conclusions of law and judgment.

THE FACTS

Corpora] Mark Winder was on patrol in Cape

Girardeau County at 2:08 A.M. on Sunday, October 3,

2010. He was northbound on Kingshighway in the

City of Cape Girardeau when his radar indicated that

the Defendant’s vehicle was speeding. Winder made a

U-turn and stopped the Defendant, Tyler G. McNeely.

Winder observed that the Defendant showed

signs of intoxication, which he confirmed with field

sobriety tests. The Defendant declined to submit to a

40a

test with a portable breath testing device. Winder

arrested the Defendant and placed him in his patrol

car at 2:18 A.M..

While en route to the Highway Patrol office at

the Cape Girardeau County Sheriff’s office in Jack-

son, Winder asked the Defendant if he would submit

to a breath test at the sheriff’s office. The Defendant

said that he would not.

St. Francis Medical Center in Cape Girardeau

was nearby and Corporal Winder drove there. Winder

read the implied consent form to the Defendant. The

Defendant said that he would not consent to a blood

test for alcohol. Winder noted the time of the refusal

as 2:33 A.M on the implied consent form. Winder

directed the lab technician to draw the Defendant’s

blood and a sample was taken.

The Defendant was transported to the jail where

he was again read the implied consent law and re-

fused to take a breath test. Winder noted the second

refusal at 2:55 A.M. No effort was made at any time

to obtain a search warrant to procure the blood

sample. Winder testified that he had been instructed

that due to changes in the law, a warrant was not

necessary to obtain the Defendant’s blood sample.

Winder testified that he was sure that there was

a prosecutor on call when he stopped the Defendant.

He testified that the Cape Girardeau County Prose-

cutor hes prepared an affidavit form for officers to use

for a search warrant for blood of DWI suspects. He

testified that he had obtained search warrants in

4la

these circumstances less than ten times but he was

never unable to obtain a warrant due to the unavail-

ability of a prosecutor or a judge. Further, Winder

testified that there was no reason to believe that he

could not have obtained a search warrant due to the

unavailability of a prosecutor or a judge. The Court

received evidence of six cases in which search war-

rants for blood were obtained in Cape Girardeau

County after regular business hours.

Sergeant Blaine Adams of the Missouri Highway

Patrol testified that the Highway Patrol issued a

communication instructing that warrantless searches

for blood were only to be used in exigent circumstances

and then only in driving while intoxicated cases that

resulted in death or serious injury. Further, the patrol

had instructed that warrantless searches were to be

conducted only after expending all reasonable means to

obtain a search warrant. The communication further

recommended that zone sergeants (like Adams) meet

with local prosecutors to discuss the procedure for

when warrantless searches would be appropriate.

This communication relied in part on the amendment

(effective prior to the Defendant’s arrest) of §577.041

RSMo. to delete the words “then none shall be given”

from the implied consent law.

Sergeant Adams testified that he met with the

Cape Girardeau County Prosecuting Attorney whose

advice was the opposite of the Highway Patrol inter-

office communication. According to Adams, the prose-

cutor instructed him that, “[I]f it’s a standard DWI

arrest or if it’s a motor vehicle accident with no

42a

injuries and they refuse, to go ahead and draw their

blood. [The Prosecutor] said if it was a vehicle acci-

dent with injuries, he would prefer to get a search

warrant...”

As to the exigency of the circumstances of a DWI

arrest, Sergeant Adams was of the opinion that “any

DWI arrest is exigent circumstances because you

have evidence being destroyed with every passing

minute.”

Sergeant Adams agreed that the Highway Patrol

communication recommended warrantless searches

only in exigent circumstances where there was a

manslaughter or vehicular assault with serious

injuries. He also agreed that the Prosecuting Attor-

ney’s instructions were the opposite: that warrantless

searches were appropriate for run of the mill DWI’s

but in a serious case the troopers should apply for a

warrant. Sergeant Adams agreed that the Defend-

ant’s case was exactly a run of the mill case.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

In Schmerber v. California, 384 U.S. 757 (1966).

the United States Supreme Court affirmed the de

fendant’s conviction for driving while intoxicated

Schmerber had challenged the State’s warrantles:

withdrawal of a blood sample following his arrest

The court found that the blood draw did not violat.

Schmerber’s Fourth Amendment rights because i:

was a search incident to his arrest. However, th«

court also found that this was an emergency situatior

43a

because there was a delay of about two hours for the

officer to investigate the scene of the accident and for

the defendant to be delivered to the hospital and that

the evidence of alcohol in his blood was being dimin-

ished by normal bodily function. The court specifically

found that “there was no time to seek out a magis-

trate and secure a warrant. Given these special facts,

we conclude that the attempt to secure evidence of

blood-alcohol content in this case was an appropriate

incident to petitioner’s arrest.” Schmerber at 771.

The facts before this court are substantially

different that the facts in Schmerber. There was no

accident. There was no investigation at the scene of

the stop other than the field sobriety tests, which

took less than ten minutes. The defendant was not

injured and did not require emergency medical

treatment. This was not an emergency, it was a run of

the mill driving while intoxicated case. As in all cases

involving intoxication, the Defendant’s blood alcohol

was being metabolized by his liver. However, a prose-

cutor was readily available to apply for a search

warrant and a judge was readily available to issue a

warrant. Schmerber is not applicable because the

“special facts” of that case, the facts which estab-

lished the exigent circumstances, did not exist in this

case to justify the warrantless search.

The next question is whether, as Corporal Winder

believed, amendment of §577.041 RSMo. made it

unnecessary to obtain a search warrant. The statute

was amended in 2010, well after the Court of Appeals

44a

issued its opinion in State v. Smith, 134 S. W.3d 35

(Mo.App., E.D., 2004).

In Smith, the defendant was arrested for driving

while intoxicated, refused the breath test and was

then subjected to a blood test pursuant to a search

warrant. The trial court held that the implied consent

law prohibited a blood test ordered by a search war-

rant if the defendant refused the breath test. The

statute in effect at that time stated, “If a person

under arrest ... refuses ... to submit to any test

allowed pursuant to §577.020, then none shall be

given ... ” The Court of Appeals held that §577.041

was addressed to the authority of law enforcement

officers to administer an alcohol test after a refusal.

The court held that the statute was not addressed to

the authority of courts issuing search warrants.

Smith, at 40.Therefore the trial court’s order sup-

pressing the evidence was reversed.

What, then, is the effect of the legislature remov-

ing the words, “then none shal] be given” from

§577.041? Clearly, it removes any doubt that a blood

test may be compelled by search warrant after a

refusal by a drunken driving suspect, and so, the

statute is now consistent with the holding in Smith.

The amendment would also reverse part of the

holding of State v. Ikerman, 698 S.W.2d 902 (Mo.

App., E.D., 1985). In Ikerman, the police obtained a

warrantless blood sample incident to a de facto ar-

rest. The Court of Appeals held (among other things)

that the test result was inadmissible because the

45a

defendant refused the test and §577.041 required

that where the warrantless test was refused, “none

shall be given.” Those four words have been deleted,

therefore, the amendment allows police to obtain a

warrantless blood draw without consent — but only

under certain circumstances.

The amendment of §577.041 does not and cannot

overcome the holding in Schmerber v. California, and

the holdings of the Missouri courts, that the Fourth

Amendment requires either a warrant or exigent

circumstances to withdraw blood without consent.

“[A]bsent consent or exigent circumstances, law

enforcement officers must obtain a warrant to con-

duct a search and seizure that would invade a consti-

tutionally — protected privacy interest.” Smith, at 37.

Although the Highway Patrol and the Prosecut-

ing Attorney maintain that a search warrant is not

necessary to draw blood after a DWI arrest, both

hedge their advice to law enforcement officers about

the circumstances when a warrant is not necessary.

They do not have full confidence in their positions,

and justly so. None of the authorities submitted on

this issue have held, on their own facts, that an

officer may obtain a warrantless blood draw on an

ordinary driving while intoxicated arrest when a

warrant could be procured in a timely manner. None

of the authorities submitted on this issue have held

that the mere natural metabolization of alcohol from

the defendant’s blood — standing alone — amounts

to exigent or special circumstances which justify a

46a

warrantless blood draw under Schmerber v. Califor-

nia.

The motion is therefore sustained and the evi-

dence obtained by the warrantless blood withdrawal

is ordered suppressed.

3/03/2011 /s/

DATE BENJAMIN F. LEWIS,

CIRCUIT JUDGE

cc: Mr. Koester

Mr. Wilson

47a

(SEAL)

CLERK OF THE SUPREME COURT

STATE OF MISSOURI

POST OFFICE BOX 150

JEFFERSON CITY, MISSOURI

65102

March 6, 2012

BILL L. THOMPSON TELEPHONE

INTERIM CLERK (573) 751-4144

Mr. John N. Koester, Jr. via e-filing system

Office of Prosecuting Attorney

100 Court Street

Jackson, MO 63755

In Re: State of Missouri, Appellant, vs.

Tyler G. McNeely, Respondent.

Missouri Supreme Court No. SC91850

Dear Mr. Koester:

Please be advised the Court issued the following

order on this date in the above-entitled cause: “Appel-

lant’s motion for rehearing overruled.” Draper, J., not

participating.

Very truly yours,

BILL L. THOMPSON

/s/ Cynthia L. Turley

Cynthia L. Turley

Deputy Clerk, Court en Banc

Cc:

Mr. Stephen C. Wilson

Mr. Talmage E .Newton, IV

Mr. Stephen D. Bonney

Mr. Anthony E. Rothert

Mr. James B. Farnsworth

via e-filing system

via e-filing system

via e-filing system

via e-filing system

via e-filing system

OPPOSITION

BRIEF

RECORD 11-1425 i |

BRIEFS |

IN THE oe

Supreme Court of the Merited States

ee Be

STATE OF MISSOURI

Petitioner,

—Y,——

TYLER G. MCNEELY,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE MISSOURI SUPREME COURT

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

Stephen Douglas Bonney Steven R. Shapiro

ACLU Foundation of Kansas Counsel of Record

& Western Missouri Ezekiel R. Edwards

3601 Main Street Hayley E. Horowitz

Kansas City, MO 64111 American Civil Liberties

(816) 994-3311 Union Foundation

Anthony E. Rothert a — ape

ACLU of Eastern Missouri (212) rartny 0004

454 Whittier Street sshapise@acia.crs

St. Louis, MO 63108

(314) 652-3114 Stephen C. Wilson

Wilson & Mann, L.C.

2907 Independence Street,

Suite C

P.O. Box 512

Cape Girardeau, MO 63702-0512

(573) 651-1950

Library of Congress

dope Lars

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Re Fr BI I cctccscccctctssctcnesccssccsscosssens iil

SPIES IT EID cecinicernescsossscnssscccesccsceccnnceses 1

COUNTER-STATEMENT OF THE CASE................. 2

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION ........... 5

I.

II.

THIS CASE IS AN INAPPROPRIATE

VEHICLE FOR THE COURT TO

DETERMINE WHEN EXIGENT

CIRCUMSTANCES JUSTIFY A

NONCONSENSUAL AND WARRANTLESS

SE? GIT ccncicccsonnscccccnstnesscasnoscesnessesssenese 5

A. The Arresting Officer In This Case Did

Not Act On The Basis Of Exigent

Circumstances In Ordering A

Technician To Draw Respondent's Blood

Without Consent Or A Warrant. .......... 6

B. To The Extent That Resolution Of The

Exigency Question Turns On The

Science Of Alcohol Dissipation, The

Record In This Case Is Insufficient For

A Full And Fair Evaluation Of The

RR ee eee ee RF Hn eee 8

C. Resolution Of The Question Presented

Will At Best Have An Uncertain Impact

On The Outcome Of This Case. .......... 12

MOST JURISDICTIONS RECOGNIZE THAT

FACTORS OTHER THAN ALCOHOL

DISSIPATION ARE RELEVANT IN

DETERMINING WHETHER EXIGENCY

JUSTIFIES A WARRANTLESS BLOOD

Ey teitiniicnnenicnisanndintannsicinnmmnemiebensaeeaieepesinin 14

lil. THE MISSOURI SUPREME COURT

CORRECTLY CONSTRUED SCHMERBER V.

CALIFORNIA TO REQUIRE MORE THAN

THE MERE DISSIPATION OF ALCOHOL

FROM THE BODY TO JUSTIFY A

WARRANTLESS BLOOD DRAW UNDER

THE LIMITED EXIGENT CIRCUMSTANCES

EXCEPTION TO THE WARRANT

REQUIREMENT OF THE FOURTH

IE iinscrtsisnintedisinsntniinicaaniientninnednnen 23

A. Exigent Circumstances Are

Traditionally Assessed Based On The

Totality Of The Circumstances. .......... 24

B. The Missouri Supreme Court Correctly

Applied Schmerber To The Facts Of

ESRI ener ver nae Dae 26

TD iciesiicsidiaesicatiiesciniisctitnienieinaaisatanionitesaiaulesin 29

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Arizona v. Gant, 556 U.S. 332 (2009)....................06. 26

Bristol v. Commonwealth,

RF ee 16

Deeds v. State, 27 So.3d 1135 (Miss. 2009).............. 17

Graham v. Connor, 490 U.S. 386 (1989) .................. 24

Hammer v. Gross, 932 F.2d 842 (9th Cir. 1991)...... 20

Kentucky v. King, --- U.S. ---,

I i a reetduntaineeaatintll 28

Kirk v. Louisiana, 536 U.S. 635 (2002).................... 28

Mapp v. Ohio, 367 U.S. 643 (1961) .................ceceeeees 28

Marshall v. Columbia Lea Regional Hosp..,

S74 FB TSS CASI CAP. BEG wvcoccccccecseccescsccscccceses 19

Mincey v. Arizona, 437 U.S. 385 (1978) ............... 8, 26

Nelson v. City of Irvine,

143 F.3d 1196 (9th Cir. 1998)......................... 20, 23

People v. MacCallum, 925 P.2d 758 (Colo. 1996) .... 16

People v. Schall, 59 P.3d 848 (Colo. 2002) ............... 16

People v. Thompson, 135 P.3d 3 (Cal. 2006)...... 17, 18

People v. Wehmas,

246 P.3d 642 (Colo. 2010).............ccccseccseess 15, 16, 23

Richards v. Wisconsin, 520 U.S. 385 (1997) ...... 25, 26

Roaden v. Kentucky, 413 U.S. 496 (1973) ................ 24

Schmerber v. California,

a ne a iatentenancemernmomniinad passim

State v. Baker, 502 A.2d 489 (Me. 1985).................. 20

State v. Bohling 494 N.W.2d 399 (Wis. 1993).......... 21

State v. Cocio, 709 P.2d 1336 (Ariz. 1985)............... 20

State v. Engesser, 661 N.W.2d 739 (S.D. 2003) ....... 17

State v. Entrekin, 47 P.3d 336 (Haw. 2002)............. 21

State v. Faust,

682 N.W.2d 371 (Wis. 2004).................... 21, 22, 23

State v. Hoover, 916 N.E.2d 1056 (Ohio 2009)......... 22

State v. Johnson, 744 N.W.2d 340 (lowa 2008) ....... 16

State v. Kimball, 361 N.W.2d 601 (N.D. 1985)........ 18

State v. Lamont, 631 N.W.2d 603 (S.D. 2001) ......... 17

State v. Machuca, 227 P.3d 729 (Or. 2010).............. 21

State v. Mullins, 489 S.E.2d 923 (1997)...........000..... 15

State v. Netland, 762 N.W.2d 202 (Minn. 2009)...... 22

State v. Rodriguez, 156 P.3d 771 (Utah 2007)......... 16

State v. Shepherd,

840 P.2d 644 (Okla. Crim. App. 1992)... 16

State v. Shriner, 751 N.W.2d 538 (Minn. 2009)....... 22

State v. Stern, 846 A.2d 64 (N.H. 2004)................... 18

State v. Stone, ---S.E.2d ---,

2012 WL 2369483 (W. Va. June 21, 2012) ........... 15

State v. Wong, 486 A.2d 262 (N.H. 1984)................ 18

State v. Woolery, 775 P.2d 1210 (Idaho 1989).......... 21

United States v. Banks, 540 U.S. 31 (2003)......... 7,24

United States v. Berry,

866 F.2d 887 (6th Cir. 1989) ................:ccccccccrreseees 20

1V

United States v. Eagle,

498 F.3d 885 (8th Cir. 2007)........................04: 18, 19

United States v. Prouse,

945 F.2d 1017 (8th Cir. 1991)......................... 19, 20

United States v. Reid,

929 F.2d 990 (4th Cir. 1991)....................2...00 20, 23

United States v. Resendiz-Ponce,

ici ewensamicnnnconedenne 14

Winston v. Lee, 470 U.S. 753 (1985)................... 25, 26

STATUTES

FE 14

Alaska Stat. Ann. § 28.35.032(a).....................-eeee00 15

Alaska Stat. Ann. § 28.35.035(a)...........0.cecc0cc0e0ee0eee- 15

Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 28-1321(D)(1) ...................... 14

Conn. Gen. Stats. Ann. § 14-227b(b)........................ 15

Conn. Gen. Stats. Ann. § 14-227c(b) ........................ 15

Fia. Stat. Ann. § 316. 19BB(1)(e) ........ccccccccccccccccecesees 15

Ga. Code Ann. § 40-5-67.1(d)..................ccecsscsecseeeoees 14

Ga. Code Ann. § 40-5-67.1 (d.1).............ccccccccsecscsceees 14

cc ereneunndnnsancesqoososes 15

8 ee 15

Ts crnenenconanonnnooresoos 15

lowa Code Ann. § 321.1001) ............c..ccccccccccsceeseeeess 15

Towa Code Amm. § SB1d.1GA(1) ....ccccccccccccccccccccsccccess. 15

ss I, OP ED vcccccccccccscnsescoccsessccsoocsscers 15

ee a ccacncnscnnesesecsscsuoccoeess 15

Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 189A.105(2).......cccccccceccceeeeeeees 14

Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 90 § 24(1)(e).................cceceeeeee 14

Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 90 § 24(1)(f)..............0..cceceeeeeee 14

Md. Code Ann., Transp. § 16-205.1(b)(1) ................. 15

Md. Code Ann., Transp. § 16-205.1 (c)(1)................. 15

Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. § 257.625d(1) .................... 14

eh SRN, Ss Te GE ET seneneecennnicenneentinismenkineesapannin 10

Mo. Ann. Stat. § 577.041 .....cccccccccecccscccceseeessesessseeeees 13

Be ts SI, Oe Unc ctccscececeniencnedscindabendducnsaidensen 3

Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-402(4) .0............ccseeeeeeeeeeeeeees 14

Mont. Code Ann. § 61-8-402(5) ....... 00... cececeecceeeeeeees 14

N.C. Gen. Stat. Ann. § 20-16.2 (c) .............00000...0000000 14

N.D. Cent. Code Ann. § 39-20-01.1 «0.0.0.0... 15

N.D. Cent. Code Ann. § 39-20-04(1)..............ee. 15

N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 265-A:14(1) 0.0... ee eens 15

N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 366-A:1G.........0cc-ccscseccssscesesees 15

N.M. Stat. Ann. § 66-8-111(A)...............ccccccsssscsssseees 14

N.Y. Veh. & Traf. Law § 1194(2)(a)(4)(b)(1), ........... 14

N.Y. Veh. & Traf. Law § 1194(3)................. eee 14

EF | Cen 15

is a, B,C iciincictsctsininttstensinititatinitieaniniaa 14

BRE, Glam, Cre © BR BFE. BD ncccccccccicccocscsscecceccesecoces 14

Be, GhGM. BI B BNF BID ccccccccccccncscccscccscccccvscsss 14

S.C. Code Ann. § 56-5-2946. ..............cccsscccsssccserersssees 15

S.C. Code Ann. § 56-5-2950(B) .................sseccccceeeeeees 15

23 Vt. Stat. Amm. tit. 2B § LBOBD) .......ccccscccccesscescoses 15

8 ee Se Sennen 15

Ss is EE OIE incintiiseuciininisiitdicnadistiiendinibadinnimebubies 15

Wash. Rev. Code Ann. § 46.20.308(3) ...............00.0... 15

Wash. Rev. Code Ann. § 46.20.308(5) ..................2... 15

Wyo. Stat. Ann. § 31-G-102(d) ................ccscccccscocescees 15

OTHER AUTHORITIES

A.W. Jones, Biochemical and Physiological Research

on the Disposition and Fate of Ethanol in the Body,

in Garriott’s Medicolegal Aspects of Alcohol (James

C. Garriott ed., 5th ed. 2008)...................... 9,10, 12

Charles L. Winek & Kathy L. Murphy, The Rate and

Kinetic Order of Ethanol Elimination, 25 Forensic

RE Ree es A ar 10, 11

Douglas Posey & Ashraf Mozayani, The Estimation

of Blood Alcohol Concentration: Widmark

Revisited, 3 Forensic Sci., Med. & Pathology 33

ERE Be RE a PL 7 RTS, 2a Se ee 8

Joseph E. Manno et al., Experimental Basis of

Alcohol-Induced Psychomotor Performance

Impairment, in Garriott’s Medicolegal Aspects of

Alcohol (James C. Garriott ed., 5th ed. 2008)...... 13

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration,

Alcohol and Highway Safety: A Review of the State

OE TAmmUPaeGn® © B.B GOOD nccccccccccccecccccscececcscccescees 11

Yale A. Caplan & Bruce A. Goldberger, Blood, Urine,

and Other Fluid and Tissue Specimens for Alcohol

Analyses, in Garriott’s Medicolegal Aspects of

Alcohol (James C. Garriott ed., 5th ed. 2008)...... 11

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the Missouri Supreme Court

correctly held that Petitioner violated the Fourth

Amendment by _ subjecting Respondent to a

nonconsensual and warrantless blood test after his

arrest for driving while intoxicated when (a) the

arresting officer testified that there were no exigent

circumstances requiring a warrantless search, (b)

both a prosecuting attorney and a judge were

available to respond to any request for a search

warrant, (c) Respondent’s performance on multiple

field sobriety tests was observed by the arresting

officer and preserved on videotape, and (d)

Respondent’s refusal to consent to a Btess test is

admissible under Missoun law?

Respondent respectfully submits this brief in

opposition to the petition for a writ of certiorari in

this case.

COUNTER-STATEMENT OF THE CASE

At approximately 2:08 a.m. on October 3, 2010,

Missouri State Highway Patrol officer Mark Winder

pulled Respondent Tyler McNeely over for exceeding

the speed limit by 11 miles per hour. (Tr. at 4:7-5:25,

12:17-13:2.)! Based on his observations during the

traffic stop and Respondent's performance on four

field sobriety tests, Corporal Winder suspected that

Respondent was intoxicated. (Jd. at 6:1-7:20, 8:4-7.)

He asked Respondent to take a portable breath test,

but Respondent declined. (/d. at 7:23-8:3.) Winder

then placed Respondent under arrest. (/d. at 8:8-9.)

When asked whether he would take a breath test at

the police station, Respondent declined again, and

Winder took him to a nearby medical laboratory to

obtain a blood sample. (Jd. at 8:10-9:4.) At the

medica] center, Winder asked whether Respondent

would submit to a blood test.2 (Jd. at 8:24-10:5.)

After Respondent declined the blood test, Winder

directed a lab technician to take a blood sample over

Respondent's objection at 2:33 a.m. (Jd. at 10:6-13,

11:3-6.) Winder testified that he made no effort to

' Citations to “Tr.” refer to the transcript of the suppression

hearing held on January 14, 2011.

* Although drawing an individual’s blood and testing its

contents are two distinct processes, for the purposes of this brief,

Respondent adopts the convention of the lower courts and uses

the terms “blood draw” and “blood test” interchangeably to refer

to the process of taking an individual's blood.

obtain a search warrant. (Jd. at 15:16-20.) He also

testified that he chose not to seek a warrant because

he had been told it was unnecessary rather than

because of any exigency, that he assumed a

prosecuting attorney and a judge would have been

available had he chosen to seek a warrant, that he

had never experienced a problem obtaining warrants

in the past under similar circumstances, and that he

had no reason to believe he could not have obtained a

warrant in this case. (/d. at 14:1-4, 15:21-24, 16:23-

17:10.) Respondent’s blood sample indicated an ethyl]

alcohol level of 0.154%, in excess of the legal limit of

0.08%. (Record on Appeal, Legal File [hereinafter

“Record”] at 26.) He was charged with driving while

intoxicated in violation of Mo. Rev. Stat. § 577.010.

Respondent filed a pretrial motion in Cape

Girardeau County Circuit Court to suppress the

results of the blood test taken without his consent

and without a search warrant. After a hearing at

which Corporal Winder and Sergeant Blaine Adams

of the Missouri State Highway patrol testified, the

trial court held that the blood sample was drawn in

violation of the Fourth Amendment and should be

suppressed. (Pet. App. at 46a.) The trial court

reasoned: “None of the authorities submitted on this

issue have held, on their own facts, that an officer

may obtain a warrantless blood draw on an ordinary

driving while intoxicated arrest when a warrant

could be procured in a timely manner.” (Jd. at 45a.)

Petitioner filed an interlocutory appeal in the

Missouri Court of Appeals. That court transferred

the case to the Missouri Supreme Court but noted

that it would find the blood draw constitutional.* (Jd.

at 24a, 26a, 38a.)

The Missouri Supreme Court affirmed the trial

court’s suppression order. (Jd. at la, 3a.) Noting

that warrantless searches are per se unreasonable

unless they fall within certain narrow exceptions, the

Missouri Supreme Court weighed society’s interest in

preventing drunk driving against the defendant’s

Fourth Amendment interest in freedom from

unreasonable searches and concluded that the fact

that the blood alcohol level dissipates over time does

not, by itself and without regard to other factors,

qualify as an exigent circumstance under Schmerber

v. California, 384 U.S. 757 (1966). (Pet. App. at 2a,

20a-22a.) Accordingly, it held that determining

whether an officer could reasonably believe that

exigent circumstances exist depends on the totality of

the circumstances in any given case. (/d. at 19a-

20a.) On the facts before it, the court found no

reason to fear “delay that would threaten the

destruction of evidence before a warrant could be

obtained” where “there was no accident to

investigate[,] . . . there was no need to arrange for

the medical treatment of any occupants,” and “there

was no evidence . . . that the patrolman would have

3 In transferring the case to the state supreme court, the court

of appeals explained that Respondent’s suppression motion

implicated not only the Fourth Amendment, but a recently

amended state law governing nonconsensual blood draws in

cases of suspected drunk driving. The court of appeals

transferred the case in the interest of having the statute

construed by the state’s highest court. (Pet. App. at 38a.)

Because the Missouri Supreme Court decided the issue on

Fourth Amendment grounds, it did not reach the state law

question. (Jd. at 21a n.9)

been unable to obtain a warrant had he attempted to

do so.” (Ud. at 3a.)

On March 6, 2012, the Missouri Supreme

Court denied Petitioner’s motion for rehearing. (d.

at 47a.)

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

I. THIS CASE IS AN INAPPROPRIATE

VEHICLE FOR THE COURT TO

DETERMINE WHEN EXIGENT CIRCUM-

STANCES JUSTIFY A NONCONSENSUAL

AND WARRANTLESS BLOOD DRAW.

This case is a poor candidate for a grant of

certiorari for three reasons. First, the arresting

officer acknowledged that his decision to order a

nonconsensual blood test was based on the fact that

he had been told warrants were unnecessary rather

than on any concern that he could not obtain a

warrant in timely fashion, making this a strange

case in which to construe the exigency exception to

the Fourth Amendment. Second, the record in this

case is devoid of any testimony from a qualified

expert on the complicated science of alcohol

metabolism. An understanding of that science is

critical to evaluating the categorical claim that any

drunk driving arrest presents exigent circumstances

that, in every instance, justify a warrantless blood

test. Because the science is both complicated and

contested, proper resolution of the constitutional

issues in this case would be enhanced by a fully

developed record. This case does not present one.

Finally, it is by no means clear that resolution of the

question presented will significantly affect the

outcome of this case.

A. The Arresting Officer In This Case Did

Not Act On The Basis Of Exigent

Circumstances In Ordering A Technician

To Draw Respondent’s Blood Without

Consent Or A Warrant.

Corporal Winder, the arresting officer, was

asked during the suppression hearing in this case if

his decision to forego a warrant was based on any

concern that he could not obtain one in timely

fashion. He said no.‘ When asked why he did not

4 Q: Was there any particular exigent circumstance as

you understand that from your training or emergency

circumstances that dictated the need to immediately get

blood from Mr. McNeely?

A: Exigent, no.

Q: Okay. In your time as a highway patrolman, have

you obtained search warrants to obtain blood from

people that have been arrested for driving while

intoxicated?

A: Yes.

Q: On any of the times in your training or in your

experience when you have wanted to get a search

warrant, have you been unable to because of the

unavailability of a prosecuting attorney?

A: No.

Q: Have you ever been unable to because of the

unavailability of a judge?

A: No.

Q: On this particular night, did you have any reason to

believe that you couldn't have gotten a search warrant

6

seek a warrant, Winder testified that his decision

was based on an article he had read by a prosecutor

stating that it was unnecessary to obtain a warrant

before drawing blood in cases of suspected drunk

driving. (Tr. at 14:1-20.)

In proceeding without a warrant, Winder

disregarded a directive from a _ superior that

warrantless blood draws in suspected drunk driving

cases should be conducted “only .. . in exigent

circumstances and then only on

manslaughter/vehicular assault cases with serious

physical or disabling injuries, after expending all

reasonable means to obtain a search warrant.”

(Record at 35.) He also ignored his personal

experience of over 17 years as a patrolman. (Tr. at

4:12-14.) Winder had never had trouble in the past

obtaining search warrants for blood samples from

people he had arrested for driving while intoxicated

and had no reason to believe this occasion would be

any different. (Jd. at 16:17-17:10.) In assessing

exigency, “the facts known to the police are what

count,” United States v. Banks, 540 U.S. 31, 39

(2003), and none of the facts testified to by Corporal

Winder suggests he faced an emergency situation. A

case in which the searching officer testified that he

did not face exigent circumstances is a poor vehicle

for deciding the scope of the exigent circumstances

exception.

because of the unavailability of a prosecutor or the

unavailability of a judge?

A: No.

(Tr. at 14:24-15:3, 15:25-16-3, 16:23-17:10.)

B. To The Extent That Resolution Of The

Exigency Question Turns On The Science

Of Alcohol Dissipation, The Record In

This Case Is Insufficient For A Full And

Fair Evaluation Of The Issue. ‘

A finding of exigency requires a determination

that evidence of guilt will be destroyed if time is

taken to obtain a warrant. Mincey v. Arizona, 437

U.S. 385, 394 (1978) (finding no_ exigent

circumstances because “[t]here was no indication

that evidence would be lost, destroyed, or removed

during the time required to obtain a_ search

warrant’). As it pertains to blood alcohol content

(“BAC”), such a_ determination depends on

physiological data about the process of alcohol

metabolism, data that is the subject of ongoing

scientific study. See, e.g., Douglas Posey & Ashraf

Mozayani, The Estimation of Blood Alcohol

Concentration: Widmark Revisited, 3 Forensic Sci.,

Med. & Pathology 33 (2007). Absent robust scientific

inquiry into the complex pharmacokinetic processes

governing the gradual rise and eventual fall of

BAC—an inquiry which the sparse record on appeal

does not permit—the Court is poorly positioned to

make two critical determinations: whether any blood

test taken after the time of operation is probative of

BAC at the earlier time when a defendant was

driving, and the rapidity with which evidence of BAC

is in danger of disappearing. When resolution of a

critical issue depends on a full and complete record,

the Court should await, before decision, the proper

development of such a record. That is especially so in

this case because this Court has recognized in

Schmerber that a nonconsensual blood test raises

serious Fourth Amendment issues _ involving

8

fundamental questions of “human dignity and

privacy,” Schmerber, 384 U.S. at 770.

The oversimplified portrait of alcohol

metabolism painted by the minimal record glosses

over important areas of complexity. BAC does not

simply decrease over time; instead, alcohol is

metabolized in two distinct, gradual phases:

absorption and elimination. A.W. Jones, Biochemical

and Physiological Research on the Disposition and

Fate of Ethanol in the Body, in Garriott’s

Medicolegal Aspects of Alcohol 47, 54 (James C.

Garriott ed., 5th ed. 2008). In the first phase, BAC

rises as alcohol is distributed from the stomach

throughout the body. /d. at 55-68. This absorption

process does not occur at a constant rate and depends

on dozens of variables; it may take anywhere from 30

minutes to two hours for BAC to reach its peak. Jd.

In the second phase, BAC drops as the alcohol is

gradually converted to carbon dioxide and water. Id.

This two-step progression is’ critical for

understanding and evaluating the evidentiary value

of BAC. For example, a blood test taken 30 minutes

after a defendant has ceased operating a vehicle,

revealing a .10% BAC, might mean that the

defendant in fact had no measurable quantity of

alcohol in his bloodstream at the time he was driving

if he was still absorbing alcohol during those 30

minutes. On the other hand, if the alcohol was being

eliminated during the 30-minute interval, it might

indicate that the BAC at the time of operation was

significantly higher than .10%. Though unlikely, it

might even indicate that BAC at the time of

operation was, in fact. exactly .10% if the defendant

happened to finish absorption and begin elimination

during the elapsed time between operation and the

blood test.

Therefore, an officer who obtains a BAC

reading of .08% or higher at any time does not have

the smoking-gun evidence necessary to convict a

defendant. Since the amount of alcohol in a

defendant’s bloodstream is constantly changing, the

result of a blood test taken some time after a

defendant has stopped driving is not direct evidence

of the defendant’s BAC at the time of operation.5 To

estimate BAC at the time of operation based on a

later blood test, a techniqve known as retrograde

extrapolation is typically used. See Jones, supra, at

103. When based on a single blood sample,

retrograde extrapolation generally calculates an

earlier BAC by simply multiplying the time elapsed

between operation and the blood draw by the average

alcoho] elimination rate. See Charles L. Winek &

Kathy L. Murphy, The Rate and Kinetic Order of

Ethanol Elimination, 25 Forensic Sci. Int’ 159, 159

(1984).

This record does not provide nearly enough

information to properly evaluate the reliability of

retrograde extrapolation and, in turn, the degree to

which a blood test taken after a defendant stops

driving can yield probative evidence.* To the extent

5In Missouri, a reading of .08% BAC or more is prima facie

evidence of intoxication “al the lime the specimen was taken,”

not at the time the defendant was driving. Mo. Ann. Stat. §

306.117 (emphasis added).

© Retrograde extrapolation may yield questionable results for

several reasons. First, it ordinarily assumes that the defendant

had already begun eliminating alcohol while operating the

vehicle. See, e.g., Jones, supra, at 103-04. Because alcohol

10

that the state intends to rely on _ retrograde

extrapolation, however, it may do so using a blood

sample taken at any time before alcohol is completely

eliminated from the defendant’s system and BAC is

zero. On the basis of the generalizations presented

in the record, a police officer has a minimum of four

hours to obtain a warrant and perform a blood test.’

Nothing in the record suggests that a blood test

taken further from the time of the arrest renders

retrograde extrapolation less accurate.

absorption is less regular, and as a result less predictable than

alcohol elimination, it is often difficult to determine when a

defendant completed absorption. Jd. Moreover, even if an

expert knew that a defendant was still absorbing alcohol at the

time he or she was driving, the relationship between time and

BAC during absorption is neither constant nor consistent,

making earlier BAC difficult to estimate. Jd. Second,

retrograde extrapolation is generally performed using an

average elimination rate, rather than the elimination rate of

the particular defendant, which is difficult to calculate. Thus,

experts will over- or underestimate the BAC of a defendant with

an above- or below-average alcohol elimination rate. See, e.z.,

Winek & Murphy. supra, at 165.

* A defendant whose BAC is barely above the .08% legal limit at

the time he is operating the vehicle, who has already begun

eliminating alcohol, and who eliminates

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Record and brief — Missouri v. McNeely · 569 U.S. 141 | Frix