Opposition Brief — Sugar v. Diamond Mortgage Corp., 111 S. Ct. 968 (1991) (No. 90-1021)

Supreme Court brief1991

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S,

: FILED

a JAN 22 199)

No. 90-1021 | JOSEPH F: SPANIOA, Use |

: CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

PETER SUGAR, DAVID D. WARNER,

and JAFFE, SNIDER, RAITT & HEUER,

Professional Corporation,

Petitioners,

Vv.

DIAMOND MORTGAGE CORPORATION OF ILLINOIS

and A.J. OBIE & ASSOCIATES, INC.,

Respondents.

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari To The United

States Court Of Appeals For The Seventh Circuit

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

RonaLp R. PETERSON

Russ M. StroBei

Counsel of Record

C. STevEN TOMASHEFSKY

DaniEL S. GOLDMAN

JENNER & BLOCK

One IBM Plaza

Chicago, Illinois 60611

(812) 222-9350

Counsel for Respondents

Photex — 444 North Wabash Avenue — Chicago 60611 — 321-0223

LC Aas

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ............ ii

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT .......eeee. ° 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ........... 3

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION. 14

I.

THE JUDGMENT BELOW RESTS

ON AN INDEPENDENT STATE-LAW

GROUND IN WHICH THERE IS

NO FEDERAL INTEREST........... 14

A. This Court Should Not

Devote Its Limited

Resources To Deciding

A Pure Question Of

State i. « «i aoe ao ee #@#eee#e#seee#*# 15

B. The Court Of Appeals Did

Not Improperly Disturb

Any Factual Findings By

The District Court........ 18

Cc. Petitioners Present No

Colorable Due Process

RMS kato ne eae ke oe a ia a 22

oo

THE COURT OF APPEALS' DECISION

OF THE BANKRUPTCY RULES ISSUE

WAS FULLY CONSIDERED AND

PRESENTS NO SPECIAL REASONS

JUSTIFYING REVIEW........ eee ee 27

A. The Bankruptcy Rules

Apply In "Related To"

PUA sc ccc es eecees 29

nite

B. This Is An "Adversary

Proceeding," To Which

The Bankruptcy Adversary

Rules Apply..........-2+e--

C. Applying Nationwide

Service Of Process Does

Not Offend The Due

Process Clause In This

COBO cccccscceces seseseses

CARMA AU ccc ees etee ees aseeeeseee

EXHIBIT (Ill. P.A. 86-840)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Asahi Metal Industry Co. v. Superior

Court, 480 U.S. 102 (1987) . .

Bose Corp. v. Consumers Union of United

States, Inc., 466 U.S. 485

(Jeet aw we ee eo eo S's

Burger King Corp. v. Rudzewice, 471 U.S.

462 (1985) . _ _ _ . _ *. o

Carlton v. BAWW, Inc., 751 F.2d 781 (5th

Cie. 2BGS) «1 «+ 6 © «© 6 & ee 8

Deluxe Ice Cream Co. v. R.C.H. Tool

Corp., 726 F.2d 1209 (7th Gir.

1984) & 6 wwe eae eee ew 4

Elscint, Inc. v. First Wisconsin

Financial Corp. (In re Xonics

Inc.), 813 F.2d 127 (7th Cir.

|) Re ee ae ed ae

38

42

46

25

19

26

36

17

33

-iii-

Granfinanciera, S.A. v. Nordberg, 109 S.

Ct. 2782 (1989)

Green v. Advance Ross Electronics Corp.,

86 Ill. 2d 431,

(1981) ..

Haring v. Prosise, 462 U.S.

427 N.E.2d 1203

306 (1983) ..

In re Oil Spill by Amoco Cadiz, 699 F.2d

909 (7th Cir.), cert. denied sub

nom. Astilleros Espanoles, S.A.

v. Standard Oil Co.,

864 (1983)

Insurance Co. of the State of

Pennsylvania v. Ben Cooper,

ing,., 111 S&S. Ct.

Jacobs/Kahan & Cc. v. Marsh,

464 U.S.

peas + SF

425 (1990) ...

740 F.2d 587

(7th Cir. 1984) . ca a

John Waiker & Sons, Ltd. v. DeMert &

Dougherty, Inc., 821 F.2d 399

(7th Cir. 1987) Sy ee

Kelly v. Nodine (In re Salem Mortgage

Co.), 783 F.2d 626 (6th err.

1986) ..

Mason v. F.

Maschio Fu G.B.

383 (7th Cir.

Miles _v. Apex Marine Corp.,

317 (1990)

Milkovich v. Lorain Journal Co.,

Ct. 2695 (1990)

LI Luigi and Franco Dal

Northern Pipeline Construction Co. v.

Marathon Pipe Line Co.,

50 (1982)

s.n.c, 832 F.2d

1987) “ : » @ @

2ii S&S. Ct.

110 S.

458 U.S.

30,

16

15

25

17

17

33

25

39

39

42

Pacor, Inc. v. Higgins, 743 F.2d 984 (3d

Cis. Seeay. . .

Pembaur v. Cincinnati, 475 U.S. 469

(1986) .

Petty v. Cadwallader,

135 Ill. App.

3d

695, 482 N.E.2d 225 (4th Dist.

1985) .

Pierson v. Ray, 386 U.S.

Pullman-Standard v. Swint,

(1982) .

Ragan v. Merchants Transfer & Warehouse

Co., 207 U.S.

Reda, Inc. v. Harris Trust & Savings Bank

(In re Reda, Inc.),

178 (Bankr. N.D. Ill.

Shaffer v. Heitner,

Texaco, Inc. v. Hasbrouck,

2535 (199

United States v. Union Pacific Railroad

433 U.S.

OR sr ng

547 (1967)

456 U.S.

530 (1949)

°

273

60 Bankr.

1986)

186 (1977)

Co., 98 U.S. 569 (1878)

110 S. Ct.

Wasserman v. Immormino (In re Granger

Garage, Inc.), No. 89-4022 (6th

Cir. Nov.

30, 1990)

App. LEXIS 20847

’

1990 U.S.

World-Wide Volkswagen Corp. v. Woodson,

444 U.S.

286 (1980)

33

16

16

15

19

16

17

44

31

24

-V-

STATUTES

Bankruptcy Act of 1978 ("Bankruptcy Code"),

Pub. L. No. 95-598,

92 Stat. 2549 . ..-«-. 2 - 30,

Bankruptcy Amendments and Federal

Judgeship Act of 1984 ("BAFJA")

Pub. L. No. 98-353, 98 Stat.

We ee Se eos a ek ee 8

ce Wee ee ks a ae a ae ee

$6 rece eee 4 Se Se eo

Aa U8.G. 6 OR.

oe ee Oe ee Se See ee ee

a ie, ee nw a Se Se

i Caw See hk ae a SS Se

aS a ee go ew ie 8 eo

se Fe Sr a

OE ey eg og a ee

11 U.S.C. § 552(a)

i Mee OC Oe kk

i > a 2) ee

ee ae re

28 U.S.C. § 157(b)(1) ...

28 U.S.C. § 157(c) (1)

28 U.S.C. § 1332(a) (1)

31,

32,

43,

42

ae U.8.€.-§ i334€@) «++ 6 « « 20, a2

ee Uu8.e. & A3340B) «© «© ew wo se passim

noe. © Seeeene ". fe et es —e

28 U.S.C. § 1452 . wes eek oe Ak oe oe

28 U.S.C. § 2075 aes ie ee en ee ee a ee

Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 110, § 2-209 ..... 8

eg eee ae rere or er er a ee

RULES

Supreme Court Rule 10.1(a) : +e 4) ee ee

an. Sie O See 6 6s ae ee wee 9

Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(b) (6) a ee ee Oe ee

re ee Cee, ge eb ee

Bankruptcy Rule 1001 es *« © «6 @ 66 eee

Bankruptcy Rule 2004 a an a a oe ae a

Bankruptcy Rule 7001(1) .... ++ ++. 9, 38

Bankruptcy Rule 7001(10) ‘ * *«-s * #-bo8 nee

Bankruptcy Rule 7004(d) ..... .. . passim

-vii-

MISCE OUS

H.R. Rep. No. 595, 95th Cong., 2d Sess.

445-46, reprinted in 1978 U.S.

Code Cong. & Admin. News 5787

S. Rep. No. 989, 95th Cong., 2d Sess.

153-54, reprinted in 1978 U.S.

Code Cong & Admin. News 5787 .

Bankruptcy Rule 7001, Advisory Committee

at ks «ee: ee ee eee

1 Collier on Bankruptcy, § 3.01 oath 3 ed.

eee ek ee wwe ee ia

32,

32,

42

41

36

No. 90-1021

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1990

PETER SUGAR, DAVID D. WARNER, and JAFFE,

SNIDER, RAITT & HEUER, Professional

Corporation,

Petitioners,

Vv.

DIAMOND MORTGAGE CORPORATION OF ILLINOIS

and A.J. OBIE & ASSOCIATES, INC.,

Debtors-in-Possession,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF

CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

SEVENTH CIRCUIT

RESPONDENTS BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

Respondents, Diamond Mortgage

Corporation of Illinois ("Diamond") and

A.J. Obie & Associates, Inc. ("Obie"),

respectfully request that this Court deny

the petition for a writ of certiorari

seeking review of the decision below. The

-2-

opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Seventh Circuit is

reported at 913 F.2d 1233 (1990).

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The judgment below rests on

alternative grounds, one of which is

solely a matter of Illinois law. Thus,

even if this Court were inclined to review

the federal-law issue in this case, it

could not change the outcome unless the

Court also reviewed and reversed the Court

of Appeals' state-law holding. This Court

should not expend its limited resources in

reviewing appe’’ate determinations of

state law or in issuing advisory opinions

that cannot change the judgment below.

2. Moreover, Petitioners' argument

for review of the federal-law issue

demonstrates no conflict with any opinion

of this Court, no conflict among the

circuits, and no dissenting opinions or en

~_

banc consideration of the issue in the

Court of Appeals. Indeed, Petitioners

themselves demonstrate a unanimity of

judicial and academic support for the

Court of Appeals' holding and merely argue

that all these courts and commentators are

"confused." Only Petitioners are

confused. The petition presents no

federal issue needing clarification and

should be denied.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Diamond was a mortgage lender that

made loans on real estate located in

Illinois. It is an Illinois corporation,

and, at all times, its only offices have

been in Illinois. Obie was an affiliated

Illinois corporation that offered for

sale, solely to Illinois investors,

mortgage notes originated by Diamond and

secured by Illinois real estate.

~

On August 25, 1986, Diamond and Obie

filed petitions for reorganization under

Chapter 11 of the Bankruptcy Code in the

United States Bankruptcy Court for the

Northern District of Illinois. Some

investors had received a properly recorded

assignment of a mortgage and were treated

as secured creditors. Many other

investors, however, never were assigned a

mortgage and became unsecured creditors of

the bankruptcy estates. The corporations'

combined insolvency exceeded $10 million.

Petitioners are Detroit-based

attorneys who represented Diamond and Obie

as securities counsel from 1981 until

shortly before the bankruptcies.

VY Diamond also sued Michigan attorney

Ronald M. Barron (and several law firms of

which he was senior partner). The Barron

defendants acted as Diamond's and Obie's

general counsel during the 1981-86 period.

Although the Court of Appeals' ruling

applies to the Barron defendants, they

have not joined in Petitioners' petition

or filed one of their own.

oo

Petitioners prepared the offering

circulars distributed by Obie to Illinois

investors. They also reviewed and revised

advertising materials used by Obie to

solicit Illinois purchasers for the

Diamond mortgage notes. Finally, they

corresponded with Illinois regulatory

agencies on Diamond's and Obie's behalf.

At the same time they represented

Diamond and Obie, Petitioners also

represented several Michigan-based

corporations affiliated with Diamond and

Obie. The Complaint alleges that

Petitioners committed legal malpractice

and breached their fiduciary duties to

Diamond and Obie in four ways. First,

they simultaneously represented the

Michigan corporations that were a

transacting business with Diamond and Obie

and which looted Diamond and Obie in those

transactions. Second, they failed to

advise, Diamond and Obie properly as to the

«he

conflict of interest posed by that

Simultaneous representation. Third, they

failed to withdraw from the conflicting

representation when they should have done

so. Fourth, they failed properly to

advise Diamond and Obie regarding the

corporations' own unsafe and unsound

business practices. These breaches

prolonged Diamond's and Obie's existence

past the point of insolvency and deepened

the insolvency.

In 1988, Diamond and Obie, as

debtors-in-possession, filed the Complaint

in the United States District Court for

the Northern District of Illinois, the

district in which the Chapter 11 cases

were pending.*/ The Complaint predicated

2/ Diamond and Obie filed the Complaint

with the District Court clerk because they

were entitled to a jury trial, and it was

established in the Northern District of

Illinois that Article I bankruptcy judges

could not conduct jury trials. See, e.g.,

Reda, Inc. v. Harris Trust & Savings Bank

(continued...)

Res eT

olen

subject matter jurisdiction on both 28

U.S.C. §§ 1332(a)(1) (diversity of

citizenship) and 1334(b) (bankruptcy).

Petitioners do not contest the validity of

either jurisdictional basis. Pet. at 2-3

and n. 3.

Petitioners moved to dismiss under

Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(b)(2), alleging lack of

personal jurisdiction.2#/ Diamond and

2/ (...continued)

(In re Reda, Inc.), 60 Bankr. 178, 182-83

(Bankr. N.D. Ill. 1986); cf.

Granfinanciera, S.A. v. Nordberg, 109 S.

Ct. 2782, 2802 (1989) (leaving open

question whether bankruptcy judges can

conduct jury trials). This Court recently

remanded on jurisdictional grounds a case

in which certiorari had been granted to

decide whether bankruptcy judges can

constitutionally conduct some jury trials.

Insurance Co. of the State of Pennsylvania

v. Ben Cooper, Inc., 111 S. Ct. 425

(1990).

3’ ~=petitioners also moved to dismiss

under Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(b) (6), alleging

failure to state a claim for which relief

can be granted. The District Court did

not reach this issue. Petitioners

reasserted their 12(b)(6) motion in the

Court of Appeals, which rejected

Petitioners' claim. Petitioners' Appendix

(continued...)

-3-

Obie argued that jurisdiction was proper

pursuant to nationwide service of process

under Bankruptcy Rule 7004(d) and the

Illinois long-arm statute, Ill. Rev. Stat.

ch. 110, 4 2-209.“ On Petitioners'

motion, the District Court stayed all

discovery, including discovery as to

jurisdictional facts.?/

V/ (...continued)

("APP.") 26a-27a. Petitioners do not seek

review of that ruling here.

3/ This statute was amended effective

September 7, 1989 by Public Act 86-840.

The current statute differs significantly

from the statute in effect when the

Complaint was filed. See Exhibit 1

hereto.

a/ Petitioners assert that the factual

record is "extensive" and includes all of

their files. Pet at 4. While Diamond and

Obie took some discovery pursuant to

Bankruptcy Rule 2004 before filing the

Complaint, they never had the opportunity

to take discovery on the specific

jurisdictional issues Petitioners raised.

Nor did they have the opportunity to test

Petitioners' assertion that all files were

turned over. Indeed, some files were

withheld on a claim of privilege and were

not produced when the asserted privilege

was later waived.

alpen

The Magistrate, to whom the motion

was referred, recommended dismissal. APP.

36a. Apparently relying on the text of

Bankruptcy Rule 7001 prior to its 1987

amendment, the Magistrate held that the

Bankruptcy Rules could only be applied in

Bankruptcy Court. APP. 3la. Further, the

Magistrate held that, notwithstanding

Petitioners' acknowledged contacts with

Illinois, Diamond's and Obie's claims did

not “arise from" those contacts within the

meaning of the Illinois long-arm statute.

APP. 32a-36a.

The District Court adopted the

Magistrate's recommendation in a one-

paragraph minute order. While conceding

there was "superficial logic" to the

proposition that the bankruptcy courts are

no longer jurisdictionally distinct from

the district courts, the District Court

held that Diamond and Obie could utilize

Bankruptcy Rule 7004(d) only in bankruptcy

—yo

court. APP. 38a. The District Court

adopted without comment the Magistrate's

recommendation as to the Illinois long-arm

statute.

Diamond and Obie moved to reconsider,

noting again that the 1987 Bankruptcy

Rules amendments had made the Bankruptcy

Rules expressly applicable in the district

courts. The District Court denied

reconsideration, this time holding that

the Bankruptcy Rules are applicable only

in “core proceedings" as defined in

28 U.S.C. § 157. APP. 4la.

Contrary to Petitioners' assertion

(Pet. at 21) that the District Court

"found that it could not assert

jurisdiction over the Jaffe attorneys

consistent with these due process

considerations," neither the District

Court nor the Magistrate made reference to

any due process considerations.

ata

The Court of Appezls reversed,

holding that the adversary Bankruptcy

Rules, and Rule 7004(d) in particular, by

definition apply to this proceeding and

that the District Court's exercise of

personal jurisdiction over Petitioners

would not violate the Fifth Amendment Due

Process Clause. APP. 12a-20a. In so

doing, the Court of Appeals rejected

Petitioners' contentions that the

Bankruptcy Rules apply only to proceedings

"commenced" in a bankruptcy court and that

they apply only to "core" proceedings.

APP. 12a-16a; APP. 17a-18a.

The Court of Appeals also reversed

the District Court's judgment as to the

Illinois long-arm statute, finding an

independent and alternative basis for

personal jurisdiction under Illinois law.

While the Magistrate and the District

Court had held that the statute conferred

jurisdiction only if specific negligent

-12—<

acts were performed in Illinois, the Court

of Appeals found the Magistrate's

treatment “"perplex[ing]." APP. 23a.

Noting that Illinois courts consistently

require only that the cause of action "lie

in the wake of the transaction of

business" in Illinois, APP. 22a, the Court

of Appeals observed that Petitioners'

failure to reveal their conflicts of

interest and to remedy them lay "in the

wake of" all their contacts with Illinois,

including visits, correspondence, and

telephone calls. APP. 23a.

Finally, the Court of Appeals

rejected Petitioners' contention that the

District Court's exercise of personal

jurisdiction under the Illinois long-arm

statute would violate the Due Process

Clause. There was no dispute that

Petitioners had intentionally provided

services directly to their Illinois

clients and that those services were

%: Son

expressly tailored to the requirements of

their Illinois clients. APP. 24a-25a.

Nor had Petitioners shown that litigation

in the Northern District of Illinois, the

location of the clients they had

represented and where they had performed

acts on those clients' behalf, was

excessively burdensome. APP. 26a.°%

After the Court of Appeals issued its

opinion, Petitioners filed a petition for

rehearing with suggestion for rehearing en

banc. The Court of Appeals denied this

petition, no judge in active service

requesting a vote for rehearing. APP.

43a-44a.

& Petitioners, who are based in

Detroit, contended they could be sued

anywhere in the state of Michigan, but

that litigation in Chicago would impose an

undue (and, therefore, unconstitutional)

burden. However, in practical terms,

travel between Detroit and Chicago is far

less burdensome than travel between

Detroit and, for example, Michigan's Upper

Peninsula.

-14-

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

THE JUDGMENT BELOW mnoee ON AN

INDEPENDENT STATE-LAW GROUND

IN WHICH THERE IS NO FEDERAL INTEREST.

Wholly apart from the bankruptcy

issue resolved by the Court of Appeals,

the decision below rests alternatively and

independently on personal jurisdiction

conferred by the Illinois long-arm

statute. Thus, even if this Court were to

conclude that the Court of Appeals wrongly

decided the bankruptcy issue, the judgment

could not be changed unless this Court

reviewed and reversed the Court of Appeals

on a question of Illinois statutory

interpretation.

This Court should not grant

certiorari to interpret Illinois law.

Implicitly recognizing this, Petitioners

attempt to recast the state-law issue as a

question of standard-of-review. This

atGea

attempt mischaracterizes the Court of

Appeals' holding and, even if accepted

arguendo, presents only a fact-bound

inquiry unsuited to review by this Court.

A. This Court Should Not Devote Its

Limited Resources To Deciding

A Pure Question Of State Law.

This Court "do[es] not ordinarily

review the holding of a court of appeals

on a matter of state law." Pierson v.

Ray, 386 U.S. 547, 558 n. 12 (1967); see

also Haring v. Prosise, 462 U.S. 306, 314

n. 8 (1983). There is no significant

federal interest in having this Court

interpret the Illinois long-arm statute.

The Illinois courts are charged with

principal responsibility for interpreting

Illinois law. This Court's limited

resources should be reserved for other

purposes.

Moreover, the Illinois long-arm

statute has been significantly amended

~16<

since the time this action was commenced.

See Exhibit 1 hereto.” It would be

particularly wasteful for this Court to

expend its resources on interpreting a

superseded statute.

This Court routinely "accord[s] great

deference to the interpretation and

application of state law by the courts of

appeals." Pembaur v. Cincinnati, 475 U.S.

469, 484 n. 13 (1986); see also Ragan v.

Merchants Transfer & Warehouse Co., 337

U.S. 530, 534 (1949). The Court of

Appeals has extensive experience in

interpreting the Illinois long-arm statute

”/ While the former statute applicable

here had been interpreted by Illinois

courts independently of the Due Process

Clause, see, e.g., Green v. Advance Ross

Electronics Corp., 86 Ill. 2d 431, 436-37,

427 N.E.2d 1203, 1206 (1981); Petty v.

Cadwallader, 135 Ill. App. 3d 695, 697,

482 N.E.2d 225, 227 (4th Dist. 1985), the

amended statute now permits jurisdiction

on “any .. . basis now or hereafter

permitted by the Illinois Constitution and

the Constitution of the United States."

P.A. 86-840 § l(c).

“39a

and has issued numerous opinions on the

relevant issue. The Court of Appeals

did not ignore the cases on which

Petitioners relied but, rather, carefully

considered them. APP. 23a-24a. Exercise

of this Court's certiorari jurisdiction to

review an issue of solely historical and

parochial inmaeebe: is wholly unjustified.

Finally, the law of personal

jurisdiction is especially fact bound.

See, e.g., Shaffer v. Heitner, 433 U.S.

186, 221 (1977) (Brennan, J., concurring

in part and dissenting in part). Even if

this Court were inclined to review a

question of state law, review of the

holding below is unlikely to generate any

8/ ~See, e.g., John Walker & Sons, Ltd.

v. DeMert & Dougherty, Inc., 821 F.2d 399,

401-04 (7th Cir. 1987); Jacobs/Kahan & Co.

v. Marsh, 740 F.2d 587, 589-91 (7th Cir.

1984); Deluxe Ice Cream Co. v. R.C.H. Tool

Corp., 726 F.2d 1209, 1212-16 (7th Cir.

1984); In re Oil Spill by Amoco Cadiz, 699

F.2d 909, 915 (7th Cir.), cert. denied sub

nom. Astilleros Espanoles, S.A. v.

Standard Oil Co., 464 U.S. 864 (1983).

-18-

principles of general application even for

Illinois litigants.

B. The Court Of Appeals Did Not

Improperly Disturb Any Factual

Findings By The District Court.

Petitioners attempt to wring a

federal issue out of a state-law question

by asserting that the Court of Appeals

"improperly substituted its views for

those of the district court.” Pet. at 24.

Petitioners simply ignore the actual

inquiry the Court of Appeals undertook.

The Magistrate recognized that

Petitioners had contacts with Illinois on

Diamond's and Obie's business, including

personal visits, phone calls, and letters.

APP. 33a. But the Magistrate thought that

these contacts "do not appear to

constitute the malpractice of which

plaintiffs complain." APP. 34a. Further,

the Magistrate thought that the Illinois

statute was not satisfied because, as he

otR—

read the Complaint, Petitioners had not

committed any acts of malpractice in

Illinois. APP. 35a.

Petitioners concede that the question

whether there is a "nexus" between their

Illinois contacts and the cause of action

alleged in the Complaint "is a mixed

question of law and fact subject to de

novo review." Pet. at 24-25; see, e.gqg.,

Pullman-Standard v. Swint, 456 U.S. 273,

287 (1982) (district court's findings

resting on erroneous view of applicable

law are subject to de novo review).

Appellate courts are free to

correct errors of law, including

those that may infect a so-called

mixed finding of law and fact, ora.

finding that is predicated on a

misunderstanding of the governing

rule of law.

Bose Corp. v. Consumers Union of United

States, Inc., 466 U.S. 485, 501 (1984).

Here, the Magistrate's and District

Court's findings were predicated on a

-20-

misunderstanding of the governing long-arm

statute. The controlling question is not

what Petitioners' Illinois contacts were,

but the legal significance of those

contacts as measured by the statutory

standard.

The Court of Appeals held that the

Magistrate (and, by adoption, the District

Court) applied an overly rigid

interpretation of the Illinois statute.

While the Magistrate apparently thought

that the cause of action must arise from

business actually transacted in Illinois,

the Court of Appeals held that "Illinois's

long-arm statute '"requires only that the

cause of action lie im the wake of the

transaction of business [in Illinois]."'"

APP. 22a.

Applying this standard, the Court of

Appeals found that Petitioners' Illinois

contacts easily satisfied the Illinois

statute. The essence of Diamond's and

RD a

Obie's Complaint was Petitioners' failure

to disclose material conflicts and their

failure to withdraw as counsel.

Petitioners "had an obligation to disclose

their conflict of interest when they

transacted business or gave legal advice

to Diamond and Obie in Illinois." APP.

23a. The Magistrate's "perplex[ing]"

treatment of the Complaint simply ignored

the cause of action Diamond and Obie

alleged. Id.

The Court of Appeals was not bound by

either the Magistrate's interpretation of

the Illinois long-arm statute or his

interpretation of the Complaint.”

Neither of these is a factual

2/ Contrary to Petitioners' assertion

(Pet. at 25-26), the Court of Appeals did

not ignore facts and "recitf{e] the mere

allegations of the complaint." The

Complaint's allegations determine the

cause of action that must arise from the

jurisdictional contacts. The Court of

Appeals focused on the Complaint because

the Magistrate failed to do so in his

treatment of Diamond's and Obie's claims.

——

-22-

determination. The Court of Appeals

properly reviewed these matters de novo

and applied the undisputed facts.

The record in this action does not

present the standard-of-review issue

Petitioners wish to assert. Petitioners

agree that the Court of Appeals was

entitled to undertake de novo review of

the intertwined questions of law.and fact

that determine personal jurisdiction.

That is exactly what the Court of Appeals

did.

e. Petitioners Present No Colorable

Due Process Claim.

Making a brief stab at a

constitutional argument, Petitioners

assert that their Due Process Clause

rights were violated because they had no

"fair warning" that their representation

of Diamond and Obie might subject them to

personal jurisdiction in Illinois. Pet.

at 27. This argument has no chance of

-23-

success. It runs counter to this Court's

well-established due-process

jurisprudence, and it presents no novel or

important issues warranting a reassessment

of this Court's prior decisions.

Petitioners assert that they could,

over a five-year period: (1) knowingly

represent an Illinois client; (2)

knowingly represent a client that made

mortgages solely on Illinois real estate

and sold investments solely to Illinois

investors; (3) knowingly tailor their work

product to the Illinois client's Illinois

needs; and (4) knowingly transmit their

work product to the client in Illinois

through letters, phone calls, and personal

visits - yet still have no "fair warning"

that the client might sue them for

malpractice in Illinois. Petitioners'

contention is self-refuting, as the Court

of Appeals correctly held.

a

-24-

This is not a case like World-Wide

Volkswagen Corp. v. Woodson, 444 U.S. 286

(1980), in which the stream of commerce

eventually and unforeseeably carried the

defendant's product to a far-off state.

444 U.S. at 295-97. Here, the sale of

services was directly to Illinois. As

this Court observed in Worid-Wide

Volkswagen:

Hence if the sale of a product of a

manufacturer or distributor such as

Audi or Volkswagen is not simply an

isolated occurrence, but arises from

the efforts of the manufacturer or

distributor to serve, directly or

indirectly, the market for its

product in other States, it is not

unreasonable to subject it to suit

in one of those States if its

allegedly defective merchandise has

there been the source of injury to

its owner or to others. The forum

State does not exceed its powers

under the Due Process Clause if it

asserts personal jurisdiction over a

corporation that delivers its product

into the stream of commerce with the

expectation that it will be purchased

by consumers in the forum State.

444 U.S. at 297-98 (emphasis added).

Here, Petitioners had more the an

=-25-

expectation that their "product" - legal

services - would be purchased by consumers

in Illinois. That was a certainty, since

the sale was direct to Diamond and Obie.

And, like a car that lacks a critical

part, Petitioners' product was defective:

it lacked loyalty.

Petitioners not only dealt directly

with Diamond and Obie in Illinois, they

tailored their product to their Illinois

clients' specific needs. While merely

placing a product in the stream of

commerce does not suffice to connect the

producer with a particular forum state,

"designing the product for the market in

the forum State" adds the necessary

connection. Asahi Metal Industry Co. v.

Superior Court, 480 U.S. 102, 112 (1987);

Mason v. F. LLI Luigi and Franco Dal

Maschio Fu G.B. s.n.c, 832 F.2d 383, 386

(7th Cir. 1987); Amoco Cadiz, 699 F.2d at

916 (same). Petitioners had to know that,

GE

-26-

if the product was defective, they were

likely to be sued in Illinois.

Personal jurisdiction does not depend

on technicalities. So long as a defendant

has "purposefully directed" its acts

toward residents of the forum state, the

defendant need never have been physically

present in the forum state to be subject

to jurisdiction there. Burger King Corp.

v. Rudzewicz, 471 U.S. 462, 476 (1985).

The Due Process Clause does not require a

"mechanical" tally of visits, letters, or

phone calls. Burger King, 471 U.S. at

478.

Petitioners' physical contacts with

Diamond and Obie in Illinois are

substantial. But even if they were not,

this Court's decisions demonstrate that

Petitioners' longstanding attorney-client

relationship with Diamond and Obie makes

the exercise of personal jurisdiction in

Illinois both foreseeable and just. This

-27-

case supplies neither novel facts nor

special considerations of justice that

would warrant review.

THE COURT OF awemesa* DECISION OF THE

BANKRUPTCY RULES ISSUE WAS FULLY

CONSIDERED AND PRESENTS NO SPECIAL

REASONS JUSTIFYING REVIEW.

Though they hyperbolically state that

"(ijt is difficult to imagine a more

important conflict than the question of

personal jurisdiction presented by this

case," Pet. at 5, Petitioners point to no

conflict with any decision of this Court

or of any court of appeals.

Further, Petitioners themselves cite

a dozen district court and bankruptcy

court decisions fully consistent with the

decision below. Pet. at 9 n. 9; id. at 16

n. 14; id. at 17 n. 15. Ignoring the

obvious conclusion that the lower courts

are consistently getting the issue right,

-28-

Petitioners attempt to spin gold from

straw by asserting that the "havoc" of

these allegedly incorrect decisions "is

approaching epidemic proportions." Id. at

16.

Petitioners' approach to certiorari

turns this Court's rules on their head.

Supreme Court Rule 10.1(a) provides that

the hallmarks of a decision meriting

review are conflict with a decision of

this Court or the decision of another

court of appeals, or an extensive

departure from the accepted and usual

course of judicial proceedings. To the

contrary, Petitioners assert that

unanimity of lower-court opinion—

demonstrates “widespread confusion," Pet.

at 5, and requires this Court's action.

Rather than stem the tide of correct

decisions below, this Court should reserve

its certiorari jurisdiction for issues

that present important conflicts. As the

-29-

following sections show, Petitioners'

construction of the Bankruptcy Rules and

their enabling statutes is grounded on a

misreading of the Rules' language and sows

confusion where none exists.

A. The Bankruptcy Rules Apply

In "Related To" Proceedings.

Pursuant to authority granted by

Congress, 28 U.S.C. § 2075, this Court

has promulgated rules of procedure for

bankruptcy cases and proceedings (the

"Bankruptcy Rules"). Among these is

Bankruptcy Rule 7004(d), which provides

for nationwide service of process.

Petitioners assert that, although the

District Court properly had subject-matter

jurisdiction under the "related to" prong

of the bankruptcy jurisdictional statute,

28 U.S.C. § 1334(b), the Bankruptcy Rules

do not apply to any "related to”

proceedings, whether they are before a

district judge or a bankruptcy judge.

a2Q=

This sweeping nullification of the

Bankruptcy Rules finds no support from any

court and is dead wrong.

In Northern Pipeline Construction Co.

v. Marathon Pipe Line Co., 458 U.S. 50

(1982), this Court invalidated the portion

of the Bankruptcy Act of 1978, Pub. L. No.

95-598, 92 Stat. 2549, that granted to

Article I bankruptcy judges the power to

decide state-law disputes subject only to

appellate review. 458 U.S. at 87 and n.

40. In the wake of Northern Pipeline,

Congress enacted the Bankruptcy Amendments

and Federal Judgeship Act of 1984

("BAFJA"), Pub. L. No. 98-353, 98 Stat.

333, which created the following

jurisdictional scheme:

(1) district courts have "original

and exclusive jurisdiction of

all cases under title 11 [of the

United States Code]." 28 U.S.C.

§ 1334(a);

{

(2) district courts have "original

but not exclusive jurisdiction

of all civil proceedings arising

-31-

under title 11, or arising in or

related to cases under title

11." 28 U.S.C. § 1334(b);

(3) district courts may refer "all

cases under title 11 and any or

all proceedings arising under

title 11 or arising in or

related to a case under title

11" to bankruptcy judges. 28

U.S.C. § 157(a);

(4) bankruptcy judges may enter

final orders, subject only to

appellate review, in "core"

proceedings. 28 U.S.C.

§ 157(b) (1); and

(5) bankruptcy judges may "hear a

proceeding that is not a core

proceeding but that is otherwise

related to a case under title

11" but may make only

recommended findings and

conclusions to the district

court, subject to de novo

review. 28 U.S.C. § 157(c)(1).

Unlike the independent bankruptcy courts

created by the 1978 Bankruptcy Code, the

bankruptcy judges under BAFJA are "a unit

of the district court." 28 U.S.C. § 151.

Their jurisdiction is solely derivative of

the district courts' jurisdiction.

Wasserman v. Immormino (In re Granger

Garage, Inc.), No. 89-4022 (6th Cir. Nov.

-32-

30, 1990), 1990 U.S. App. LEXIS 20847 at

*6-*7.

The 1978 Bankruptcy Code and BAFJA

created several significant jurisdictional

terms of art. The bankruptcy "case," over

which the district courts have exclusive

jurisdiction (subject to referral toa

bankruptcy judge) includes the whole

collection of "proceedings," each one of

which in form may resemble a separate

lawsuit, that must be adjudicated after a

bankruptcy petition is filed. S. Rep. No.

989, 95th Cong., 2d Sess. 153-54,

reprinted in 1978 U.S. Code Cong & Admin.

News 5787, 5939-40 ("As used in this

section, everything that occurs in a

bankruptcy case is a proceeding.") ;

1 Collier on Bankruptcy, § 3.01 at 3-20-21

(15th ed. 1990).

"Proceedings" are of three types:

(1) those "arising under title 11," (2)

those “arising in... a case under title

-33-

11," and (3) those "related to a case

under title 11." 28 U.S.C. § 1334(b). A

proceeding is "related to" a case under

title 11 if its outcome "affects the

amount of property available for

distribution or the allocation of property

among creditors." Elscint, Inc. v. First

Wisconsin Financial Corp. (In re Xonics,

Inc.), 813 F.2d 127, 131 (7th Cir. 1987);

accord, Kelly v. Nodine (In re Salem

Mortgage Co.), 783 F.2d 626, 634 (6th Cir.

1986); Pacor, Inc. v. Higgins, 743 F.2d

984, 994 (3d Cir. 1984). The District

Court had subject-matter jurisdiction

under the "related to" prong of 28 U.S.C.

§ 1334(b) because, although the

substantive law goveriiing Diamond's and

Obie's cause of action is not supplied by

title 11, its outcome will have a

Significant impact on the distribution to

creditors. Petitioners do not contest

this. Pet. et 3.

Pn

-34-

Petitioners argue that none of the

Bankruptcy Rules is applicable in

proceedings under the "related to"

jurisdictional prong of 28 U.S.C.

§ 1334(b), regardless of whether the

proceeding is pending before a district

judge or a bankruptcy judge. This

represents a change of position.

Petitioners argued below that, as the

District Court held (APP. 38a), Rule

7004(da) would have applied had this

lawsuit been filed with the bankruptcy

clerk's office. Nevertheless,

Petitioners' new assertion is as incorrect

as their old one.

Petitioners' whole argument is based

on a misreading of Bankruptcy Rule 1001,

which provides:

The Bankruptcy Rules and Forms govern

procedure in cases under title 11 of

the United States Code.

Petitioners incorrectly equate the phrase

"cases under title 11" with the first

athe

prong of 28 U.S.C. § 1334(b), which grants

the district courts original but not

exclusive jurisdiction over "all civil

proceedings arising under title 11."

Thus, Petitioners argue, proceedings

deriving jurisdiction from.§ 1334(b)'s

third ("related to") prong are excluded

from the Bankruptcy Rules' scope.

A "case under title 11" is not the

same thing as a "proceeding arising under

title 11." As shown above, a "case under

title 11" is the umbrella under which all

disputes connected with the bankruptcy

estate are collected. See 28 U.S.C.

§ 1334(a) (granting district courts

exclusive jurisdiction of "all cases under

title 11"). By contrast, a "proceeding

arising under title 11" is a proceeding

that asserts a cause of action based on

some title 11 provision. H.R. Rep. No.

“595, 95th Cong., 2d Sess. 445-46,

reprinted in 1978 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin.

|

—_

News 5787, 6401; Carlton v. BAWW, Inc.,

751 F.2d 781, 787 (5th Cir. 1985); 1

Collier on Bankruptcy 4 3.01 at 3-23-26.

Petitioners' argument founders on

their assumption that the phrase "cases

under title 11" as used in Bankruptcy Rule

1001 means the same thing as “proceedings

arising under title 11" as used in 28

U.S.C. § 1334(b). It doesn't.1¥

Indeed, if Petitioners' argument were

correct, this Court, in promulgating the

Bankruptcy Rules, and Congress, in

sanctioning them, would have left a huge

gap in bankruptcy procedure, because,

under Petitioners' argument, even

bankruptcy courts cannot apply the

1v/ By the same token, Petitioners'

argument that 28 U.S.C. § 2075 does not

authorize rulemaking for "related to"

proceedings (Pet. at 9-10) must fail.

Section 2075 gives this Court authority to

prescribe rules of practice and procedure

"in cases under title 11." Again, this

does not mean "in proceedings arising

under title 11."

=37=-

Bankruptcy Rules in "related to"

proceedings. But the Bankruptcy Courts

cannot apply the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure either. See Fed. R. Civ. P.

81(a)(1) ("These rules do not apply to

proceedings in bankruptcy"). Thus,

according to Petitioners, this Court and

Congress have left bankruptcy courts with

no rules to govern procedure in the

numerous "related to" proceedings that

they adjudicate every day.1/

Petitioners' argument is not only

erroneous, it produces an impossible

result.

iW Petitioners recognize this problem

and suggest that the Advisory Committee on

Civil Rules needs to make some changes.

Pet. at 8 n. 8. But they are apparently

the first and only ones to see the need

for a change. Only on Petitioners'

garbled reading of the statute and the

Rule is a change necessary.

-38-

B. This Is An "Adversary

Proceeding," To Which

The Bankruptcy Adversary

Rules Apply.

Petitioners' second textual argument

is that, even if the Bankruptcy Rules

apply to "related to" proceedings, the

7000-series rules apply only to “adversary

proceedings," and this is not one. This

argument fails because, as the Court of

Appeals correctly found, this is an

adversary proceeding as defined in the

Bankruptcy Rules.

"Adversary proceeding" is another

bankruptcy term of art. It is defined

among other things, a proceeding "to

recover money or property... ."

Bankruptcy Rule 7001(1). This suit is

"to recover money." Petitioners argue

as,

one

(Pet. at 12-13) that this phrase applies

only to proceedings to “recover" money

that was once part of the estate. This

contention has no legal support and is

—

contrary to common sense. Money is

fungible. Only if a suit sought the

return of specific coins or dollar bills -

which would be of interest only to a

numismatist - would the suit be one to

"recover money" in the sense Petitioners

advance. Yet lawyers and courts,

including this Court, regularly speak of

"recovering" money damages. See, e.g.,

Miles v. Apex Marine Corp., 111 S. Ct.

317, 320 (1990) (“recover damages for loss

of society"); Milkovich v. Lorain Journal

Co., 110 S. Ct. 2695, 2704 (1990)

("recovery of presumed or punitive

damages"); Texaco, Inc. v. Hasbrouck, 110

S. Ct. 2535, 2538 (1990) ("respondents

recovered treble damages") .1¢/

1#/ It is also obviously nonsense to

speak of "recovering" punitive or treble

damages in Petitioners' parlance, because

the money paid by the defendant was never

even notionally the prior property of the

plaintiff.

~Ap@

Petitioners frequently assert that

this suit is not an adversary proceeding

because it is essentially a state-court

action that, solely by virtue of Diamond's

and Obie's bankruptcy, is proceeding ina

federal court. However, Bankruptcy Rule

7001(10) expressly provides that any

state-court suit removed to federal court

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1452 is an

adversary proceeding. 1/ Thus, had this

suit originally been commenced in state

court, upon its removal to federal court

it would by definition be an adversary

proceeding. The fact that this suit was

commenced in federal court rather than

i3/ Though in non-bankruptcy litigation

only a defendant may remove to federal

court, 28 U.S.C. § 1441(a), Section 1452

provides that a "party" may remove claims

related to bankruptcy cases. Thus, had

Diamond and Obie commenced this suit in

state court and then filed their

bankruptcy petitions, they would have been

entitled to remove.

-4 1-

state court does not make it any less an

adversary proceeding.

Finally, the Advisory Committee notes

to Rule 7001 negate Petitioners'

contention. The notes state:

Proceedings to which the rules

in Part VII apply directly include

those brought to avoid transfers by

the debtor under §§ 544, 545, 547,

548 and 549 of the Code; subject to

important exceptions, proceedings to

recover money or property... .

Sections 544, 545, 547, 548, and 549 of

the Bankruptcy Code in a sense apply to

the “recovery" of property transferred

away by the debtor. But "proceedings to

recover money or property" is an

independent prong following the semicolon.

It does not modify the avoidance of

transfers; it adds another category. If

Petitioners' interpretation were correct,

this separate category would not exist.

Much of Petitioners' argument is

devoted to a discussion of "plenary" and

"summary" proceedings under the now-

-42-

repealed Bankruptcy Act of 1898. But the

1978 Bankruptcy Code eliminated these

categories and changed the structure of

bankruptcy courts and their jurisdiction.

Northern Pipeline, 458 U.S. at 54; see

also S. Rep. No. 989, 95th Cong., 2d Sess.

153, reprinted in 1978 U.S. Code Cong. &

Admin. News, 5787, 5939 ("[P]roceeding

here is used in its broadest sense, and

would encompass what are now called

contested matters, adversary proceedings,

and plenary actions under current

bankruptcy law."). Petitioners thus argue

from principles and definitions that no

longer exist.

Cc. Applying Nationwide Service Of

Process Does Not Offend The Due

Process Clause In This Case.

Petitioners' final argument is that

the Due Process Clause prohibits assertion

of nationwide personal jurisdiction in a

"related to" proceeding under 28 U.S.C.

-43-

§ 1334(b). Even if there were merit in

Petitioners' argument, this case is not a

proper test. As noted above (see section

I(C)), Petitioners' contacts with the

state of Illinois are quite substantial

enough to satisfy any reading of the Due

Process Clause. Thus, even assuming

arguendo that 28 U.S.C. § 1334(b) requires

minimum contacts with the forum state,

Petitioners have such contacts. This case

therefore does not present the question

whether a defendant's contacts with the

United States alone, as opposed to the

forum state, satisfy the Due Process

Clause. This Court should not grant

certiorari to decide an abstract question

where it is inevitable that the Court of

Appeals was correct as to the result.

In any event, the Court of Appeals'

decision was correct. Relying on an

unbroken line of decisions, the Court of

Appeals properly held that Congress may

yo

constitutionally provide for nationwide

service of process and that it has done so

—y APP. 19a-20a; see also United

States v. Union Pacific Railroad Co., 98

U.S. 569, 604 (1879) (the Constitution

does not prohibit Congress from providing

that suits of a special character may be

brought in any federal circuit court).

Petitioners argue that their state-

created rights should not be altered by

the happenstance that their clients have

filed bankruptcy petitions. But it is

commonplace that state-created rights

change in bankruptcy. Secure property

rights may be avoided as preferences or

fraudulent conveyances. il U.S.C. §§ 547,

548(a). Indisputable rights to foreclose

or pursue actions against a debtor are

stayed. 110U.S.C. § 362. Perfected

security interests in fruits of collateral

may be negated. 11 U.S.C. § 552(a).

~45-

Nothing in the decision below changes

Petitioners' fundamental substantive

rights. Whether they are liable for

malpractice has not been affected by the

"happenstance" of bankruptcy. The only

difference potentially created by

bankruptcy is the physical location of the

trial. This is a much lesser change than

the substantive changes wrought by 11

U.S.C. §§ 362, 547, 548(a), and 552 and

does not rise to constitutional dimension.

-46-

CONCLUSION

For all of the reasons stated above,

the petition for a writ of certiorari

should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

Ronald R. Peterson

Russ M. Strobel

Counsel of Record

Cc. Steven Tomashefsky

Daniel S. Goldman

JENNER & BLOCK

One IBM Plaza

Chicago, Illinois 60611

(312) 222-9350

Counsel for Respondents

EXHIBIT

Illinois Public Act 86-840,

Amending Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 110, § 2-209

LAWS

OF THE

STATE OF ILLINOIS

EFIGHTY-SIXTH

GENERAL ASSEMBLY

1989

PUBLIC ACT 86-1

THRU

PUBLIC ACT 86-1027

4629 PUBLIC ACT 86-839

health centers.

Passed in the General Assembly June 14, 1989.

Approved September 7, 1989.

Effective January l, 1990.

PUBLIC ACT 86-840

(Senate Bill No. 772)

AN ACT to amend the Code of Civil Procedure, approved

August 19, 1981, as amended, by changing Section 2-209.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Illinois,

represented in the General Assembly:

Section 1. The Code of Civil Procedure, approved August

19, 1981, as amended, is amended by changing Section 2-209 as

follows:

(Ch. 110, par. 2-209)

Sec. 2-209. Act submitting to jurisdiction - Process.

(a) Any person, whether or not a citizen or resident of

this State, who in person or through an agent does ary of the

acts hereinafter enumerated, thereby submits such peiscn,

and, if an individual, his or her personal representative, to

the jurisdiction of the courts of this State as to any cause

of action arising from the doing of any of such acts:

(1) The transaction of any business within this

State;

(2) The commission of a tortious act within this

State;

(3) The ownership, use, or possession of any real

estate situated in this State;

(4) Contracting to insure any person, property or

risk located within this State at the time of

contracting;

(5) With respect to actions of dissolution of

marriage, declaration of invalidity of marriage and legal

separation, the maintenance in this State of a

matrimonial domicile at the time this cause of action

arose or the commission in this State of any act giving

rise to the cause of action;

(6) With respect to actions brought under the

Illinois Parentage Act of 1984, as now or hereafter

amended, the performance of an act of sexual intercourse

within this State during the possible period of

conception;-

(7) The making or performance of any contract or

promise substantially connected with this State;

(8) The performance of sexual intercourse within

this State which is claimed to have resulted in the

conception of a child who resides in this State;

(9) The failure to support a child, spouse or

former spouse who has continued to reside in this State

since the person either formerly resided with them in

this State or directed them to reside in this State;

(10) The acquisition of ownership, possession or

control of any asset or thing of value present within

this State when ownership, possession or control was

acquired;

(11) The breach of any fiduciary duty within this

State;

(12) The performance of duties as a director or

New matter indicated by italics - deletions by strikeout.

:

&

x

PUBLIC ACT 86-840 4630

officer of a corporation organized under the laws of this

State or having its principal place of business within

this State;

(13) The ownership of an interest in any trust

administered within this State; or

(14) The exercise of powers granted under the

authority of this State as a fiduciary.

(b) A court may exercise jurisdiction in any action

arising within or without this State against any person who:

(1) Is a natural person present within this State

when served;

(2) Is a natural person domiciled or resident

within this State when the cause of action arose, the

action was commenced, or process was served;

(3) Is a corporation organized under the laws of

this State; or

(4) Is @ natural person or corporation doing

business within this State.

(c) A court may also exercise jurisdiction on any other

basis now or hereafter permitted by the Illinois Constitution

and th. Constitution of the United States.

(d) +b} Service of process upon any person who is

subject to the jurisdiction of the courts of this State, as

provided in this Section, may be made by personally serving

the summons upon the defendant outside this State, as

provided in this Act, with the same force and effect as

though summons had been personally served within this State.

fe) te}y Service of process upon any person who resides

or whose business address is outside the United States and

who is subject to the jurisdiction of the courts of this

State, as provided in this Section, in any action based upon

product liability may be made by serving a copy of the

summons with a copy of the complaint attacned upon the

Secretary of State. The summons shall be accompanied by a $5

fee payable to the Secretary of State. The plaintiff shall

forthwith mail a copy of the summons, upon which the date of

service upon the Secretary is clearly shown, together with a

copy of the complaint to the defendant at his or her last

known place of residence or business address. Plaintiff

shall file with the circuit clerk an affidavit of the

plaintiff or his or her attorney stating the last known place

of residence or the last known business address of the

Gefendant and a certificate of mailing a copy of the summons

and complaint to the defendant at such address as required by

this subsection (fe) te}. The certificate of mailing shall be

prima facie evidence that the plaintiff or his or her

attorney mailed a copy of the summons and complaint to the

defendant as _ required. Service of the summons shall be

deemed to have been made upon the defendant on the date it is

served upon the Secretary and shall have the same force and

effect as though summons had been personally served upon the

defendant within this State.

(f) tdy Only causes of action arising from acts

enumerated herein may be asserted against a defendant in an

action in which jurisdiction over him or her is based upon

subsection (a) thts-Section.

(g) tez Nothing herein contained limits or affects the

right to serve any process in any other manner now or

hereafter provided by law.

Section 2. This Act takes effect upon becoming law.

New matter indicated by italics - deletions by strikeout.

4631 PUBLIC ACT 86-840

Passed in the General Assembly June 28, 1989.

Approved September 7, 1989.

Effective September 7, 1989.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.