Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Mitchell's Formal Wear, Inc. v. Kentucky Oaks Mall Co.

Supreme Court brief1991

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

90-7 26 | iat teat cs

FILED

| NOV 5 dame

C8 har

es

>_> ~ - —_ ~

~~. a

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

MITCHELL’S FORMAL WEAR, INC., Petitioner,

V.

KENTUCKY OAKS MALL COMPANY, Respondent. .

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Archer D. Smith, III

HARMON, SMITH, BRIDGES

& WILBANKS

1795 Peachtree Road, N.E.

Suite 350

Atlanta, Georgia 30309-2303

(404) 881-1200

Counsel of Record

Jeffrey B. Fleck

Mary DeGenaro

FLECK, MOSTOV &

SCHWARTZ

1100 Wick Building

Youngstown, Ohio 44503

(216) 743-3344

Counsel for Petitioner

QUESTION PRESENTED

Did the Supreme Court of Ohio err in holding it constitutionally

permissible for Ohio courts to assert personal jurisdiction over a

nonresident Georgia corporation even though the nonresident

corporations’s only contacts with the State of Ohio were entering

into a lease that contained a choice-of-law clause providing that

Kentucky law would govern, with an Ohio limited partnership for

retail space located in Kentucky, negotiating terms of the lease by

telephone between Georgia and Ohio, and mailing rent checks to

Ohio, as required by the lease?

a 7 Fi _ ..

ih luk one ete . ‘

esas Mr okt ee wars’ (finan ey kd ge oe

* ae a Si on team piri |

: me ei

a: ee a aoa

Lt)

LIST OF PARTIES AND

RULE 29.1 LIST

-

~

The parties to the proceedings below were the petitioner Mitchell’s

Formal Wear, Inc. and the respondent Kentucky Oaks Mall

Company. Mitchell’s Management Corporation, a Georgia Cor-

poration, owns one hundred percent of the stock of Mitchell’s

Formal Wear, Inc., a Georgia corporation. Mitchell’s Formal

Wear, Inc. has no other ownership interests in any other corpora-

tion.

TABLE OF CONTENTS ‘

Page

IO EEED ecccccscsesseennserstneenssesananinnnsnsanenensenmniiennnits i

Re IEE: clnhdtneictsnshenennneneennnnanseensnsaneinnbscinenniiiiibhnssamensenten ii

EIT snncennseseesqetsenenssnnannnoutnnetinncetsbonensnasesnensatehinnnee 1

PR II binctictepnnitininenenninnnnitinannennnnnnanniiannntinamennnaninnnentiiis 2

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION AND STATUTES IN-

WP OTE dnsleibttisnanpvticnesneconniinnninsnnenenssnavesnnstanasabensatansasescansenscanenceneees 3

ECCT TU BUTE SIMI cncenncetenenncensscscasesecisscseccnnentnenienanesi 6

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT .........cceccesseseseseeeeeees 10

I. The Ohio Supreme Court's assertion that Ohio courts

may exercise personal jurisdiction over a nonresident

lessee violates the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment to the United States Constitution and

conflicts with decisions of this Court and courts of other

states.

enn UnITITITT sschsnlstulciainnsinsimsnisonsiiiahiisbncncanensiibilibsinnieadanngiclaeinabbaalial 19

EIT, sieshiccnassinnescpinicbaiciteinedeceiitesiamnininesgtigatnaistileialiicinabdeniihiing la

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

7

Cases: Page

Advance Realty Associates v. Krupp, 636 F. Supp

hE et a ee 16

Anilas, Inc. v. Kern, 31 Ohio St.3d 163, 509 N.E.2d

EERE EE ices et Se 7,8

Arthur, Ross & Peters v. Housing, Inc., 508 F.2d

EE ER GUINTEED ceshttiincicienhscceciateansintelieniietieshievicienvenanionnice 16

ill

ee i

- -

Eh SC SSS SS ee teen

Page |

Burger King Corp. v. Rudzewicz, 471 U.S. 462

(RT ace tae Ren 7, 8, 10, 12-15, 17, 18

DelBello v. Japanese Steak House, Inc. 43 A.D.2d 455,

352 N.Y.S.2d 537 (N.Y. App. Div. 1974) ........ceccceceeees 16

Grossman v. Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., 682 F. Supp.

6 16

Hanson v. Denkla, 357 U.S. 235 (1958) .........cccceseeeseeeees 8, 11,15

International Shoe Co. v. Washington, 326 U:S.

we EST | Fe eS

Kulko v. Superior Court, 436 U.S. 84 (1978) .......ccccceceseeeeeeees il

McGee v, International Life Ins. Co., 355 U.S. 220

Tr swenseseattonnen 7,10

Milliken v. Meyer, 311 U.S. 457 (1940) ........ceccccceeseeseeseeeseees 11

558 F. Supp. 1118 TE 16

Ohio State Tie & Timber v. Paris Lumber Co., 8 Ohio

App.3d 236, 456 N.E.2d 1309 (1982) ..........ccccseseeseeeseesenes 7

Rush v. Savchuk, 444 U.S. 320 (1980) ........cccccccccesseesseeeeseeeees 11

Shaffer v. Heitner, 433 U.S. 186 (1977) .0.......ccccceccecseeeseees 7,8, 11

Signet Bank/ Virginia v. Tillis, 196 Ga. App. 433 (1990) .... 12, 17

Travelers Health Assn. v. Virginia, 339 U.S. 643 (1950) .......... 18

World-Wide Volkswagen Corp. v Woodson, 444 U.S.

| TTS A A 7, 8,10, 13

Wri ’ Vv. vrolet, Ine.

689 F. Supp 788 (S.D. Ohi0 1988) 0.0... ecceeeeeteeeeeseees 11

Statutes:

Page

Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 2307.382

SPIE IIS TEUIIIED cscitivesecvscccsenunstnnonanensnssorersoseostn 8,11

ee ne ee Fanaa iauncecedlia thai eeaiiatsdeneacepasennchiusnaneneenmencuctetnttniseccebianienabess 8

iv

f

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

MITCHELL’S FORMAL WEAR, INC., Petitioner,

V.

KENTUCKY OAKS MALL COMPANY, Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

The petitioner Mitchell’s Formal Wear, Inc. respectfuliy

prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment and

opinion of the Supreme Court of Ohio, entered in the above-

entitled proceeding on August 8, 1990.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Supreme Court of Ohio is reported at 53

Ohio St.3d 73 (1990), and is reprinted in the appendix hereto, p. 3a,

infra

The journal entry and opinion of the Court of Appeals of

Ohio, Seventh Appellate District, Mahoning County unreported.

It is reprinted in the appendix hereto, p. 11a, infra.

The judgment entry of the Common Pleas Court of Mahon-

ing County, Ohio is unreported. It is reprinted in the appendix

hereto, p. 17a, infra.

JURISDICTION

In January, 1988, the Ohio respondent brought this suit

against the Georgia petitioner in the Common Pleas Court of Ma-

honing County, Ohio. On September 20, 1988, the court granted

petitioner's motion to dismiss the complaint against it on the

grounds that Ohio courts lacked in personam jurisdiction over

petitioner. See p. 17a, infra.

Respondent appealed to the Ohio Court of Appeals for the

Seventh Appellate District, Mahoning County, Ohio. That court

affirmed the Common Pleas Court’s decision on June 29, 1989. See

p- 11a, infra.

Respondent then appealed to the Supreme Court of Ohio,

which, on August 8, 1990, reversed and remanded the case to the

trial court for further proceedings. See p. 2a, infra. No petition for

rehearing was sought.

Subsequently, petitioner filed a motion for stay in the Court

of Common Pleas, Mahoning County, Ohio. Respondent filed a

memorandum opposing motion to stay on or about October 4,

1990. The court denied the motion to stay on October 18, 1990.

The jurisdiction of this Court to review the judgment of the

Supreme Court of Ohio is invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §

1257(a).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION AND f

STATUTES INVOLVED

Section 1. All persons born or naturalized in the United States

and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of the United

States and of the State wherein they reside. No State shall make or

enforce any law which shall abridge the privileges or immunities

of citizens of the United States; nor shall any State deprive any

person of life, liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor

deny to any person within its jurisdiction the equal protection of

the laws.

Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 2307.382 (Anderson Supp. 1989).

Personal jurisdiction.

(A) A court may exercise personal jurisdiction over a

person who acts directly or by an agent, as to a cause of action

arising from the person’s:

(1) Transacting any business in this state;

(2) Contracting to supply services or goods in

this state;

(3) Causing tortious injury by an act or omission

in this state;

(4) Causing tortious injury in this state by an act or

omission outside this state if he regularly does or solicits

business, or engages in any other persistent course of

conduct, or derives substantial revenue from goods used

or consumed or services rei./ered in this state;

(5) Causing injury in this state to any person by

breach of warranty expressly or impliedly made in the sale

of goods outside this state when he might reasonably have

expected such person to use, consume, or be affected by the

goods in this state, provided that he also regularly does or

solicits business, or engages in any other persistent course

of conduct, or derives substantial revenue form goods used

or consumed or services rendered in this state;

(6) Causing tortious injury in this state to any

person by an act outside this state committed with the

purpose of injuring persons, when he might reasonably

have expected that some pons would be injured thereby

in this state;

(7) Causing tortious injury to any person by a

criminal act, any element of which takes place in this state,

which he commits or in the commission of which he is

guilty of complicity;

(8) Having an interest in, using, or possessing real

property in this state;

(9) Contracting to insure any person, property, or

risk located within this state at the time of contracting.

(B) Forpurposes of this section, a person who enters into an

agreement, as a principal, with a sales representative for the

solicitation of orders in this state is transacting business in this

state. As used in this division, “principal” and “sales representa-

tive” have the same meanings as in section 1335.11 of the Revised

Code.

(C) When jurisdiction over a person is based solely upon

this section, only a cause of action arising from acts enumerated in

this section may be asserted against him.

(A) When service , permitted. Service of process may be

made outside of this state, as provided herein, in any action in this

state, upon a person who at the time of service of process is a

nonresident of this state or is a resident of this state who 1s absent

from this state. The term “person” included an individual, his ex-

ecutor, administrator, or other personal representative, or a corpo-

ration, partnership, association, or any other legal or commercial

entity, who, acting directly or by an agent, has caused an event to

occur out of which the claim which is the subject of the complaint

arose, from the person’s:

(1) Transacting any business in this state;

(2) Contracting to supply services or goods in

this state;

(3) Causing tortious injury by an act or omission in

this state including but not limited to actions arising out of

the ownership, operation, or use of a motor vehicle or

aircraft in this state;

(4) Causing tortious injury in this state by an act or

omission outside this state if he regularly does or solicits

business, or engages in any other persistent course of

conduct or derives substantial revenue from goods used or

consumed or services rendered in this state;

(5) Causing injury in this state to any person by

breach of warranty expressly or impliedly made in the sale

of goods outside this state when he might reasonably have

expected such person to use, consume, orbe affected by the

goods in this state, provided that he also regularly does or

solicits business, or engages in any other persistent course

of conduct, or derives substantial revenue form goods used

or consumed or services rendered in this state;

(6) Having an interest in, using, or possessing real

property in this state;

(7) Contracting to insure any person, property, or

risk located within this state at the time of contracting;

(8) Living in the marital relationship within this

state notwithstanding subsequent departure from this

state, as to all obligations arising for alimony, custody,

child support, or property settlement, if the other party to

the marital relationship continues to reside in this state;

(9) Causing tortious injury in this state to any

person by an act outside this state committed with the

purpose of injuring persons, when he might reasonably

have expected that some person would be injured thereby

in this state;

(10) Causing tortious injury to any person bya

criminal act, any element of which takes place in this state,

which he commits or in the commission of which he is

guilty of complicity.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner is a Georgia corporation which operates retail

stores for the sale and rental of formal wear. All of petitioner's

stores and agents are located exclusively throughout the South-

eastern United States. Petitioner has never operated any stores in

Ohio.' Respondent is an Ohio limited partnership which owns

and operates the Kentucky Oaks Mall located in Paducah, Ken-

tucky. Respondentis an entity controlled by the Cafaro Company,

one of the largest developers of retail shopping malls in the United

States.

In 1985, petitioner and respondent entered into a lease

whereby petitioner leased from respondent unit number 640 of the

Kentucky Oaks Mali. (The lease is reproduced at p. 31a, infra.) Pe-

titioner never entered Ohio to negotiate the terms of the lease; all

negotiations were conducted by telephone and mail between

petitioner in Georgia and respondent in Ohio. Petitioner signed

the lease in Georgia and mailed it to respondent in Ohio. There-

fore, according to clause 43 of the lease (p. 71a, infra), which

provides that the lease became effective upon its delivery by

respondent to petitioner, the lease became effective in Georgia. Pe-

titioner’s only contacts with the State of Ohio were the negotiations

by telephone and mail and the mailing of rental payments to Ohio,

as required by the lease.

In spite of the Kentucky location of the leased property and

a choice-of-law clause providing that Kentucky law governs the

lease (clause 44, p. 72a, infra), in January, 1988, respondent sued

petitioner in the Court of Common Pleas of Mahoning County,

Ohio for an alleged breach of the lease. Petitioner immediately

moved to dismiss the complaint on the grounds that Ohio lacked

personal jurisdiction over petitioner. In its motion and brief and

supplemental brief, petitioner raised the issue that an Ohio court’s

exercise of personal jurisdiction over petitioner would violate

petitioner's due process rights and would contravene this Court's

decisions in International Shoe Co. v. Washington, 326 U.S. 310

The only states in which petitioner has ever operated its stores are:

Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North

Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia.

6

> sot lll

(1945) and its progeny. See p. 18a, infra.

On September 20, 1988, the Court of Common Pleas sus-

tained petitioner's motion to dismiss and ordered respondent's

complaint dismissed. See p. 17a, infra. In its judgment entry,

theCourt of Common Pleas did not specifically rely on Interna-

tional Shoe, but instead relied on Ohio State Tie & Timber, Inc. v.

Paris Lumber Co., 8 Ohio App.3d 236, 456 N.E.2d 1309 (1982) to de-

termine that “the contract between Defendant and the State of

Ohio [was] insufficient to make it fair and reasonable for the out-

of-state corporation to defend a suit in this jurisdiction.” P. 17a,

infra.

Respondent appealed the decision to the Ohio Court of

Appeals for the Seventh District, Mahoning County, Ohio. In its

brief, the respondent argued that petitioner was amenable to Ohio

jurisdiction pursuant to Ohio’s long-arm statute, that the exercise

of such jurisdiction comported with due process and that the

exercise of such jurisdiction would be consistent with this Court's

decisions in International Shoe v. Washington, 326 U.S. 310 (1945),

McGee v. International Life Ins. Co., 355 U.S. 220 (1957), Shaffer v.

Heitner, 433 U.S. 186 (1977), World-Wide Volkswagen Corp. v.

Woodson, 444 U.S. 286 (1980) and Burger King Corp. v. Rudzewicz,

471 U.S. 462 (1985).

The Court of Appeals affirmed the Court of Common

Pleas’ decision. In affirming, the court primarily relied on two

decisions, Anilas, Inc. v. Kern, 31 Ohio St.3d 163, 509 N.E.2d 1267

(1987) and Burger King Corp. v. Rudzewicz, 471 U.S. 462 (1985). In

its opinion, the court stated:

In the case of Burger King Corp. v. Rudzewicz

(1985), 471 U.S. 462, the United States Supreme

Court imposed jurisdiction on an out-of-state liti-

gant based upon the test that ‘he manifestly has

availed himself of the privilege of conducting busi-

ness there, and b e his activities are shielded

by the benefits and protection of the forum’s laws,

itis presumptively not unreasonable to require him

to submit to the burdens of litigation in that forum

as well.’

In the instant case, based upon the contract be-

tween the parties, the appellee’s activities, very

specifically, were not shielded by the benefits and

protections of Ohio law. The parties very specifi-

cally provided that the conditions of the lease would

be governed by and construed in accordance with

the laws of the State of Kentucky.

p. 15a, infra (emphasis supplied by the Court of Appeals). The

court held that because the parties had agreed that Kentucky law

would control the lease, it was not foreseeable that petitioner

would be haled into court in Ohio for litigation concerning the

lease. The court went on to state that because “ foreseeability is one

of the primary factors to be considered in determining whether

there are sufficient minimum contacts,” Anilas, Inc. v. Kern, 31

Ohio St.3d 163, 164, 509 N.E.2d 1267 (1987), to force petitioner to

litigate in Ohio would violate the principles of Anilas, Inc. v. Kern,

31 Ohio St.3d 163,509 N.E.2d 1267 (1987), and the cases cited inthat

decision, including International Shoe, Hanson v. Denkla, 357 U.S.

235 (1958), Shaffer v. Heitner, 433 U.S. 186 (1977), World-Wide

Volkswagen Corp. v. Woodson, 444 U.S. 286 (1980), Travelers

Health Assn. v. Virginia, 339 U.S. 643 (1950) and Burger King Corp.

v. Rudzewicz, 471 U.S. 462 (1985). Anilas at 164, p. 14a-15a, infra.

On July 28, 1989, respondent appealed to the Supreme

Court of Ohio. On August 8, 1990, the Supreme Court of Ohio

reversed the decision of the court of appeals and remanded the

case for further proceedings. The Ohio Supreme Court first

decided that petitioner’s activities with respondent reached the

level of“ transacting business” in Ohio pursuantto Ohio Rev. Code

Ann. § 2307.382 (Anderson Supp. 1989) and Ohio Civ. R. 4.3. The

court stated:

Accordingly, we hold that a commercial

- nonresident lessee, for purposes of personal juris-

diction, is “transacting any business” within the

plain and common meaning of this phrase, where

the lessee negotiates, and through the course of

dealing becomes obligated, to make payments to

its lessor in Ohio.

p. 6a, infra. Next, the court considered “whether the assertion of

personal jurisdiction by an Ohio court over Mitchell’s comports

with the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment.” p.

6a, infra. The court conciuded that merely because petitioner

conducts business outside Georgia and entered into a lease with an

Ohio-based limited partnership, an Ohio court's exercise of juris-

diction over petitioner comports with due process.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I.

The Ohio Supreme Court's assertion that Ohio

courts may exercise personal jurisdiction over a

nonresident lessee violates the Due Process Clause

of the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States

Constitution and conflicts with decisions of this

Court and courts of other states.

The Supreme Court of Ohio has attempted to expand the

“permissible scope of state jurisdiction over foreign corporations

and other nonresidents,” ee v. Internatio ife Ins. Co., 255

U.S. 220, 222 (1957), by slighting constitutional considerations, to

allow a landlord to sue its tenant in the landlord’s home state, with

little consideration of the tenant’s connections with the state. By

equating a “lease agreement” with a “franchise agreement,” the

court has ignored the minimum contacts analysis it was required

ta pursue in order to exercise long-arm jurisdiction, without

violating due process concerns, over petitioner. In doirg this, the

court has violated the principles of International Shoe Co. v.

Washington, 326 U.S. 310 (1945) and its progeny including Burger

King Corp. v. Rudzewicz, 471 U.S. 462 (1985). If this decision is al-

lowed to stand, all landlord-tenant cases will be litigated in the

landlord’s home state, regardless of the location of the leased

premises.

In World-Wide Volkswagen Corp. v. Woodson, 44 US.

286 (1980), this Court stated that “[t]he Due Process Clause, by

ensuring the ‘orderly administration of the laws,’ gives a degree of

predictability to the legal system that allows potential defendants

to structure their primary conduct with some minimum assurance

as to where that conduct will and will not render them liable to

suit.” Id. at297 (quoting [nt tional Shoe Co. v. Washington, 326

U.S. 310, 319 (1945)).

This Court established the modern due process require-

ments for the exercise of personal jurisdiction over a nonresident

defendant in International Shoe Co. v. Washington, 326 U.S. 310

10

(1945), holding that “due process requires only that in order to

subject a defendant to a judgmentin personam, if he be not present

within the territory of the forum, he have certain minimum

contacts with it such that the maintenance of the suit does not

offend ‘traditional notions of fair play and substantial justice.”” Id.

at 316 (emphasis supplied) (quoting Milliken v. Meyer, 311 U.S.

457, 463 (1940)). Subsequently, the Court has refined this stan-

dard.

For example, in Hanson v. Denkla, 357 U.S. 235 (1958), this

Court stressed that it is the defendant’s contacts with the forum

which are important and that the “unilateral activity of those who

claim some relationship with a nonresident defendant cannot

satisfy the requirement of contact with the forum State.” Id. at 253.

Similarly, in Shaffer v. Heitner, 433 U.S. 186 (1977), Kulko v.

Superior Court, 436 U.S. 84 (1978), and Rush v. Savchuk, 444 U.S.

320 (1980), this Court emphasized that the defendant's relation-

ship with the forum is more important than the defendant’s mere

ownership of property in the forum (Shaffer), the forum state’s

interests in resolving the litigation (Kulkg), and the plaintiff's ties

with the forum (Rush).

The conflict between Lianson, Shaffer, Kulko and Rush and

the instant case could not be more complete. In the case at bar, the

Supreme Court of Ohio stressed the respondent's interests in

resolving the litigation in Ohio and the State of Ohiv’s interests in

providing its citizens with a forum over the petitioner's interests.

Of particular relevance is the following quote from the opinion:

[A]ppellant’s and the forum state’s interest

in adjudicating the dispute is strong. The General

Assembly, pursuant to R.C. 2307.382(A)(1), intended

to provide a forum for Ohio residents. Likewise, ’.

.. Ohio has an interest in resolving suits brought by

one of its residents and has a substantial interest in

seeing that its residents get the benefit of tneis

bargain. . .”

p. 10a, infra (quoting Wright Int’l Express, Inc. v. Roger Dean

Chevrolet Inc., 689 F. Supp 788, 791 (S.D. Ohio 1988)). The court’s

focus on the respondent's interests and the respondent's contacts

with the State of Ohio is again apparent in its listing of petitioner's

11

purported contacts. In its opinion the court states:

Mitchell’s conducted negotiations of the

lease terms by telephone contact to Ohio with

appellant, an Ohio-based limited partnership.

Mitchell’s intentionally and purposefully directed

activities at Ohio when it agreed to the contract

terms, signed the document in Georgia and sent it

to Ohio to be signed by appellant. The ten-year

lease requires that Mitchell’s submit to appellant

on 2 monthly or annual basis rental payments,

maintenance costs, association fees and sales re-

ports. If Mitchell’s refuses to make the contractu-

ally required payments in Ohio, as alleged by

appellant, such refusal will undoubtedly cause

foreseeable injuries. Further, Mitchell’s is not pro-

vided with unfettered control of its retail sale and

rental operation. The lease calls for appellant's ap-

proval in many areas and aiso restricts or regulates

many activities. Mitchell’s is also aware that all

communications need be directed to appellant in

Ohio.

p. 8a-9a, infra. Upon examination of the criteria recited by the Ohio

Supreme Court, it is clear that this list is merely a list of respon-

dent's ties to Ohio; these regulations of petitioner’s conduct are in-

cidental to the purpose of the contract -- to establish a Mitchell’s

Formal Wear store in Paducah, Kentucky. Such contact based

upon the mere fortuitous consequence of respondent's place of

residence is insufficient to support a finding that petitioner has

purposefully established such meaningful contacts and connec-

tions with Ohio that it should reasonably be expected to appear

there to defend an action based upon its alleged failure to perform

its part of the contract in Georgia. See, Signet Bank/ Virginia v.

Tillis, 196 Ga. App. 433 (1990). Respondent’s locationis irrelevant;

the object of the contract is unit number 640 located in the Ken-

tucky Oaks Mall, Paducah, Kentucky.

Equally in conflict with the decision below is Burger King

Corp. v. Rudzewicz, 471 U.S. 462 (1985), the case the Supreme

Court of Ohio relied on most heavily in its opinion. The decision

12

below conflicts with Burger King in three respects: first, the Ohio

Supreme Court considered factors, other than the petitioner's

contacts with the forum, more important in determining whether

it was constitutionally permissible to exercise jurisdiction over

petitioner; second, the Ohio Supreme Court equated the lease

agreementin the instant case with the franchise agreement at issue

in Burger King, ignoring the realities of the situation; third, the

Supreme Court of Ohio ignored Burger King’s directives concern-

ing the jurisdictional effect of choice-of-law provisions in con-

tracts. In Burger King, Justice Brennan wrote:

Once it has been decided that a defendant

purposefully established minimum contacts within

the forum State, these contacts may be considered

in light of other factors to determine whether the

assertion of personal jurisdiction would comport

with ‘fair play and substantial justice.’ Interna-

tional Shoe Co. v. Washington, 326 U.S. at 320, 66

S.Ct. at 160. Thus, courts in ‘appropriate case[s]’

may evaluate ‘the burden on the defendant,’ ‘the

forum State’s interests in adjudicating the dispute,’

‘the plaintiff's interest in obtaining convenient and

effective relief,’ ‘the interstate judicial system’s

interest in obtaining the most efficient resolution of

controversies, and the ‘shared interest of the sev-

eral States in furthering fundamental substantive

social policies.’

Burger King at 476-477 (quoting World-Wide Volkswagen Corp.

v. Woodson, 444 U.S. 286, 292 (1980)). Justice Brennan made it

clear that the “other factors” should be considered only after it has

been decided that adefendant purposefully established minimum

contacts within the forum state. The Supreme Court of Ohio’s

consideration of the “other factors” such as the respondent's

interest in litigating in Ohio, the forum State’s interests, and the

burdens on the petitioner, took on paramount importance, over

and above its consideration of petitioner's purposefully establish-

ing contacts with the forum, in its decision to exercise jurisdiction

over petitioner.

Similarly, the Supreme Court of Ohio ignored the realities of

petitioner's relationship with the respondent and the forum and

instead equated the lease agreement at issue in this case with the

franchise agrement at issue in Burger King. Based on this faulty

assumption, the court concluded that petitioner had established

sufficient contacts with Ohio so that Ohio courts might exercise

jurisdiction over petitioner. In its opinion the cc urt states that it

considers the Burger King decision because that case “involved a

contract dispute substantially similar to the issue presented before

us today.” p.7a, infra. This is not so. The purpose of the franchise

agreement in Burger King was to establish one more Burger King

restaurant. The store in Michigan was known as a Burger King -

- both the franchisor and the franchisee had the same identity. The

Florida franchisor regulated virtually every aspect of the opera-

tion. In the instant case, the purpose of the lease agreement was

to establish a Mitchell’s Formal Wear store in Kentucky; any

regulation of the petitioner by the respondent was incidental to

this purpose. Respondent’s only connecticn with petitioner's

purpose was that it owned the Kentucky real estate. Thus,

although the Supreme Court of Ohio heavily relies on Burger King

inits analysis of the facts of the case, the contracts at issue in the two

cases are factually dissimilar.

Finally, the Supreme Court of Ohio ignored the directives

in Burger King concerning the jurisdictional importance of choice-

of-law provisions. In Burger King, one of the defendant's contacts

with the State of Viorida was that the franchise agreement specifi-

cally provid’ < <nat Florida law would govern any disputes con-

cerning the franchise agreement. In discussing the importance of

the choice-of-law provision, this Court stated:

Moreover, we believe the Court of Appeals gave insuffi-

cient weight to provisions in the various franchise documents pro-

viding that all disputes would be governed by Florida law. The

franchise agreement, for example, stated:

‘This Agreement shall become valid when exe-

cuted and accepted by BKC at Miami, Florida; it

shall be deemed made and entered into in the State

of Florida and shall be governed and construed

under and in accordance with the laws of the State

14

of Florida. . .’

The Court of Appeals reasoned that choice-of-law provisions are

irrelevant to the question of personal jurisdiction, relying on

Hanson v. Denkla for the proposition that ‘the center of gravity for

choice-of-law purposes does not necessarily confer the sovereign

prerogative to assert jurisdiction.’ 724 F.2d at 1511-1512, n.10,

citing 357 U.S., at 254, 78 S.Ct., at 1240. This reasoning misper-

ceives the import of the quoted propositicn. The Court in Hanson

and subsequent cases has emphasized that choice-of-law analysis

-- which focuses on all elements of a transaction, and not simply on

the defendant’s conduct — is distinct from minimum-contacts

jurisdictional analysis -- which focuses at the threshold solely on

the defendant’s purposeful connection to the forum. Nothing in

ourcases, however, suggests that a choice-of-law provision should

be ignored in considering whether a defendant has ‘purposefully

invoked the benefits and protections of a State’s laws’ for jurisdic-

tional purposes.

Burger King at 481-482. The Supreme Court of Ohio gives no

weight to the fact that the parties had agreed that Kentucky law

would govern their disputes. Instead, the court merely states that

itis “satisfied that the guidelines set forthin Burger King have been

met.” p. 9a,infra. The court ignores the fact that it was unforesee-

able to petitioner that it would be haled into court in Ohio when it

had agreed that Kentucky law would govern the lease and the

leased premises were located in Kentucky. In fact, the court asserts

that merely because petitioner conducts its retail operations out-

side of Georgia, because petitioner “elected to establish a store

bordering appellant's state and considering today’s modern means

of transportation, it is not unreasonable for Mitchell’s to defend

itselfin Ohio.” p. 9a, infra. Itis abundantly clear that the Supreme

Court of Ohio did not consider whether it was foreseeable for

petitioner to be haled into court in Ohio. It is equally clear that the

court did not consider, as it was required to do, the fairness of

forcing petitioner to defend a suit in Ohio. See, International Shoe

Co. v. Washington, 326 U.S. 310 (1945). In essence, the court held

that because petitioner is a business, petitioner was subject to the

Ohio courts’ jurisdiction. The obvious implication is that a busi-

ness can be haled into court in any state, regardless of the business’

15

contacts with the state.

The decision of the Supreme Court of Ohio conflicts with

decisions ofother jurisdictions. Directly on point with the decision

below is Grossman v. Wal-Mart Stores, Inc, 682 F. Supp. 752

(S.D.N.Y 1988). In Grossman, the defendant, a Delaware corpora-

tion with its principal place of business in Arkansas, operated

retail stores throughout various states. The defendant operated no

stores in New York. However, the defendant purchased goods in

New York for resale elsewhere and maintained an office in New

York for the convenience of its buying agents, when they were on

buying trips in New York. The plaintiff, a resident of New York,

and the out-of-state defendant entered into a lease agreement for

retail space in Tennessee. The plaintiff sued the defenuant in New

York foran alleged breach of the lease. The court held that itlacked

jurisdiction over the nonresident debtor. See, also, Advance

Realty Associates v. Krupp, 636 F. Supp 316 (S.D.N.Y. 1986) (New

York court had no jurisdiction over Massachusetts defendant in

lawsuit arising out of New York plaintiff's sale of Illinois property

to defendant) and DelBello v. Japanese Steak House, Inc., 43

A.D.2d 455, 352 N.Y.S.2d 537 (N.Y. App. Div. 1974) (New York

courts had no jurisdiction over Florida franchisor in lawsuit aris-

ing out of New York franchisee’s attempt to rescind the franchise

contract). In Northern Trust Co. v. Randolph C. Dillon, Inc., 558

F. Supp. 1118 (N.D. Ill. 1983), the court held that it had no

jurisdiction over a California corporation in an action involving a

lease entered into with an Illinois corporation for equipment

located outside of Illinois. In that case, the contract was accepted

in Illinois, the contract contained a choice-of-law clause that pro-

vided Illinois law would govern, e t ed in tele-

one calls with the Illinois plaintiff and the defendant made

payments on the lease to the plaintiffin Illinois. Nevertheless, the

court held that “[t]hese contacts are not sufficient to satisfy the

requirements of due process.” Id. at 1122.

Similarly, in Arthur, Ross & Peters v. Housing, Inc., 508

F.2d 562 (5th Cir. 1975), the Fifth Circuit held that the District Court

for the Southern District of Texas had properly dismissed the

lawsuit against the defendant for lack of in personam jurisdiction.

The lawsuit arose from the defendant's alleged breach of an agree-

16

ment involving the purchase of real estate and the formation of a’

limited partnership between the North Carolina defendant and

the Texas plaintiff. The real estate was not located in Texas. The

plaintiff alleged that the defendant was subject to jurisdiction in

Texas because it entered into a contract by mail with a Texas resi-

dent, part of the contract vas to be performed in Texas, negotia-

tions forthe agreements were carried on by mail between the Texas

and North Carolina parties and the contract was mailed to plain-

tiffs Texas place of business for signing. In dismissing, the court

stated, “After considering the facts alleged in the pleadings,

memoranda and affidavits filed herein, the quality, nature and

extent of the contacts that the defendant has with the State of Texas

are not sufficient, individually or together, to satisfy the require-

ment that the defendant purposefully invoke the benefits or

protection of the law of Texas.” Id. at 565 (quoting the unreported

opinion of the district court which was attached to the Fifth

Circuit’s opinion as an appendix).

In Signet Bank/ Virginia v. Tillis, 196 Ga. App. 433 (1990)

the Georgia Court of Appeals affirmed the trial court’s refusal to

domesticate a Virginia judgment, ruling that the Georgia defen-

dant had insufficient contacts with Virginia such that he could

reasonably be expected to defend a lawsuit there. The Virginia

plaintiff had extended a contract fora credit card to the defendant.

The defendant signed the contract, mailed it to Virginia, used the

credit card and mailed payments to Virginia. The court held that

the defendant’s contacts in Virginia were insufficient for the

Virginia court to exercise personal jurisdiction over him.

In light of these cases, it is clear that the Supreme Court of

Ohio has- created a confusing precedent, likely to generate even

further confusion among other courts. The precedent violates the

principles of Burger King Corp. v. Rudzewicz, 471 U.S. 462 (1985),

in three ways: first, the Ohio Supreme Court considered factors,

other than the petitioner's contacts with the forum, more impor-

tant in determining whether it was constitutionally permissible to

exercise jurisdiction over petitioner; second, the Ohio Supreme

Court equated the lease agreement in the instant case with the

franchise agreement at issue in Burger King, ignoring the realities

of the situation, third, the Supreme Court of Ohio ignored Burger

17

King’s directives concerning the jurisdictional effect of choice-of-

law provisions in contracts. It is equally clear that the decision is

in conflict with decisions of other states.

If the decision is allowed to stand, it will have far-reaching

effects. Forexample, according to the instant decision, ifan Alaska

corporation leases California property from a Florida corporation,

the Florida corporation will be able to sue the Alaska corporation

in Florida, even if the parties had stipulated that California law

would govern, and even if the Alaska corporation’s only contacts

with Florida were through the mails and by telephone. Similarly,

a landlord that leases to various tenants property located through-

out the United States will be able to merely maintain a post office

box in a community in which it feels beneficial to litigate and sue

its tenant in that community. Although this is an extreme case, its

facts are not outside the realm of the instant decision. Plenary

consideration by this Court is essential in order to give other courts

guidance in determining when it is constitutionally permissible to

exercise jurisdiction over a nonresident defendant.

18

CONCLUSION i

For these various reasons, this petition for certiorari should

be granted.

Respectfuily submitted,

Archer D. Smith, III

HARMON, SMITH, BRIDGES

& WILBANKS

1795 Peachtree Road, N.E.

Suite 350

Atlanta, Georgia 30309-2303

(404) 881-1200

Counsel of Record

Jeffrey B. Fleck |

Mary DeGenaro

FLECK, MOSTOV & SCHWARTZ

1100 Wick Building

Youngstown, Ohio 44503

(216) 743-3344

Counsel for Petitioner

19

APPENDIX

THE SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

1990 TERM

To wit: August 8, 1990

Kentucky Oaks Mall Company, :

Appellant, - : Case No. 89-1337

v. : JUDGMENT ENTRY

Mitchell’s Forrnal Wear, Inc. : APPEAL FROM THE

Appellee. : COURT OF APPEALS

This cause, here on appeal from the Court of Appeals for

Mahoning County, was considered in the manner prescribed by

law. On consideration thereof, the judgment of the court of

appeals is reversed and the cause is remanded to the trial court tor

further proceedings consistent with the opinion rendered herein.

It is further ordered that the appellant recover from the

appellee its costs herein expended; and that a mandate be sent to

the Court of Common Pleas for Mahoning County to carry this

judgment into execution; and that a copy of this entry be certified

to the Clerk of the Court of Appeals for Mahoning County for

entry.

(Court of Appeals No. 88C A183)

/S/

THOMAS J. MOYER

Chief Justice

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

KENTUCKY OAKS MALL COMPANY, APPELLANT, v.

MITCHELL’S FORMAL WEAR, INC., APPELLEE. ,

[Cite as Kentucky Oaks Mall Co. v. Mitchell’s Formal Wear, Inc.

(1990), 53 Ohio St. 3d 73.]

Civil procedure ~- Personal jurisdiction -- Commercial

nonresident lessee is “transacting any business” within the

plain and common meaning of the phrase when through

the course of dealing it becomes obligated to make pay-

ments to its lessor in Ohio -- R.C. 2307.382(A)(1) and Civ.

R. 4.3(A)(1), construed and applied.

O.Jur 3d Courts § 280.

A commercial nonresident lessee, for purposes of personal

jurisdiction, is “transacting any business” within the plain

and common meaning of the phrase where the lessee nego-

tiates, and through the course of dealing becomes obli-

gated, to make payments to its lessor in Ohio. (R.C.

2307.382[A][1] and Civ. R. 4.3[A][{1], construed and ap-

lied.)

ENO. 89-1337 -- Submitted June 6, 1990 -- Decided August

8, 1990.)

Appeal from the Court of Appeals for Mahoning county,

No. 88 C.A.183

Appellee, Mitchell’s Formal Wear, Inc. (“Mitcheil’s”), a

Georgia corporation, allegedly defaulted on a lease agreement

between itand appeliant, Kentucky Oaks Mall Company, an Ohio-

based limited partnership. Appellant sued Mitchell’s in the Court

of Common Pleas of Mahoning County, Ohio, to recover “lease-

hold charges” due and owing appellant.

The lease agreement between appellant as lessor, and

Mitchell’s as lessee, concerned a storeroom known as Unit No. 640

in the Kentucky Oaks Mall, Paducah, Kentucky. Mitchell's is

engaged in the retail sale and rental of formal wear. Mitchell’s op-

erates one hundred one stores in eleven states primarily in the

Southeastern United States. [tis undisputed that atleast part of the

negotiations concerning the lease were conducted by telephone

calls to and from Ohio. Mitchell’s signed the lease in Georgia and

mailed the document to Ohio where, it appears from the record,

-™

appellant signed the contract. The lease is for a term of ten years

and requires that all communications be sent to appellant’s home

office in Youngstown, Ohio. All lease payments are to be sent to

a Cleveland, Ohio address. In addition, Mitchell’s is required on

a periodic basis to pay a “common area maintenance” cost and

“merchants association” fee to appellant. Rental payments consist

ofa minimum yearly amount to be paid monthly and a percentage

of gross sales if sales reach a fixed level. As a result, Mitchell!’s is

required to submit monthly and annual sales reports to appellant.

The lease, among other matters, requires Mitchell’s to obtain

approvals from appellant and restricts or regulates many activi-

ties. Furthermore, clause 44 of the lease states that the lease shall

be governed and construed by Kentucky law.

On January 8, 1988, appellant filed its complaint against

Mitchell’s. The trial court granted Mitchell’s motion to dismiss for

lack of personal jurisdiction.

Appellant appealed to the Court of Appeals for Mahoning

County. The court of appeals affirmed the trial court and reasoned

in part:

“In the instant case, based upon the contract between the

parties, the appellee’s activities, very specifically were not shielded

by the benefits and protections of Ohio law. The parties very spe-

cifically provided that the conditions of the lease would be gov-

erned by and construed in accordance with the laws of the State of

Kentucky.

“Based upon the agreement as to the pertinent law, itis our

opinion that under the test of foreseeability, it could not be said

that the appellee, upon the execution of the subject lease, should

have reasonably anticipated being haled into a court within the

State of Ohio.”

The cause is now before this court pursuant to the allow-

ance of a motion to certify the record.

David A. Fantauzzi and Daniel P. Daniluk, for appellant.

Fleck, Mostov & Schwartz, Jeffrey B. Fleck, Mary DeGe-

naro, Harmon, Smith & Bridges and Archer D. Smith, IIL, for ap-

pellee.

Douglas, J. Pursuant to Civ. R. 12(B)(2), Mitchell’s moved

to dismiss appellant’s complaint for lack of personal jurisdiction.

The trial court, on that basis, dismissed the complaint and the court

of appeals affirmed. Thus, we must first decide whether Mitchell's

conduct falls within Ohio’s “long-arm statute” or applicable civil

rule, and if the statute or civil rule confers personal jurisdiction,

4a

.

:

then we must determine whether granting jurisdiction comports

with the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment to the

United States Constitution. See Fallang v. Hickey (1988), 40 Ohio

St. 3d 106, 532 N.E.2d 117.

In this appeal, personal jurisdiction over a nonresident de-

fendantis governed byR.C. 2307.382, which states in relevant part:

“(A) A court may exercise personal jurisdiction over a

person who acts directly or by an agent, as to a cause of action

arising from the person’s:

“(1) Transacting any business in this state;

“*ee*

“(C) When jurisdiction over a person is based solely upon

this section, only a cause of action arising from acts enumerated in

this action may be asserted against him.” (Emphasis added.)

Likewise, the applicable civil ruleis Civ. R.4.3(A)(1), which

authorizes out-of-state service of process on a defendant who is “*

* * (t]ransacting any business in this state{.]” Mitchell’s argues

that, pursuant to Section 5(B), Article IV of the Oh o Constitution,’

Civ. R. 4.3(A)(1) supersedes R.C.2307.382(A)(1). We disagree and

find that the statute and civil rule are consistent and in fact

complement each other. R.C. 2307.382(A)(1) authorizes a court to

exercise personal jurisdiction over a nonresident defendant, whereas

Civ. R. 4.3(A)(1) provides for service of process to effectuate that

jurisdiction. Both require that the nonresident be “transacting any

business” in Ohio.

Appellant asserts that the negotiations prior to the signing

of the lease, and the subsequent duties and obligations created by

the agreement, are sufficient to establish that Mitchell's is transact-

ing business in Ohio. Mitchell’s, on the other hand, contends that

because the physical location of the leased storeroom is in Ken-

tucky, it is Kentucky, not Ohio, where all business is transacted.

We again disagree.

It is clear that R.C. 2307.382(A)(1) and Civ. R. 4.3(A)(1) are

very broadly worded and permit jurisdiction over nonresident

defendants who are transacting any business in Ohio. “Transact,”

Section 5(B), Article I V of the Ohio Constitution states in relevant part:

“*** All laws in conflict with such rules shall be of no further force or effect af-

ter such rules have taken effect.”

as defined by Black’s Law Dictionary (5 Ed. 1979) 1341, “*** means

to prosecute negotiations; to carry on business; to have dealings *

**. The word embraces in its meaning the carrying on or prosecu-

tion of business negotiations but itis abroaderterm than the word

which have been

either wholly or coaly brought to a conclusion * * *.” (Emphasis

added.)

In the case at bar, Mitchell’s negotiated the lease by tele-

phone contact to Ohio with an Ohio-based limited partnership.

Mitchell’s intentionally and voluntarily entered into a ten-year

contract by signing the document in Georgia and mailing it to

Ohio. The document creates ongoing duties and obligations for

the life of the contract. Undoubtedly, both parties sought the

benefit of each other’s bargain in hopes of realizing a pecuniary

gain. The fact that Mitchell’s maintained no physical presence in

Ohio does not preclude a finding that it transacted business in this

state.

Thus, we are convinced that Mitchell’s conduct falls un-

equivocally within the plain and broad language of R.C.

2307.382(A)(1) and Civ. R. 4.3(A)(1). Similarly, our finding is

reinforced by the fact other courts have passed on this issue

reaching the same result, to-wit: that a lease agreement, in certain

circumstances, is “transacting business” within the forum state’s

long-arm statute. See, e.g., Wright Internat. Express, Inc. v. Roger

Dean Chevroiet, Inc. (S.D. Ohio 1988), 689 F. Supp. 788; Vena v.

Western General Agency, Inc. (N.D. Ill. 1982), 543 F. Supp. 779;

Klippel v. Heintz (1982), 231 Kan. 312, 644 P. 2d 428; Schanno

Transp..Inc, v. Smith (Minn. 1981), 312 N.W. 2d 114; SD Leasing,

Inc. v. Al Spain & Assoc., Inc. (1982), 277 Ark. 178, 640S.W. 2d 451.

Accordingly, we hold that a commercial nonresident les-

see, for purposes of personal jurisdiction, is “transacting any

business” within the plain and common meaning of the phrase,

where the lessee negotiates, and through the course of dealing

becomes obligated, to make payments to its lessor in Ohio.

II

Once having decided that Mitchell’s conduct falls within

the purview of R.C. 2307.382(A)(1) and Civ. R. 4.3(A)(1), the

question becomes whether the assertion of personal jurisdiction

by an Ohio court over Mitchell’s comports with the Due Process

Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment.

Over forty years ago, in International Shoe Co. v. Washington;

(1945), 326 U.S. 310, the court announced that a state may assert

personal jurisdiction over a nonresident defendant if the nonresi-

dent has “* ** certain minimum contacts with it such that mainte-

nance of the suit does not offend ‘traditional notions of fair play

and substantial justice.”” (Citation omitted.) Id. at 316. Since 1945,

the court, on numerous occasions, has elected to address the Due

Process Clause as it pertains to personai jurisdiction over a non-

resident defendant. In particular, for purposes of this appeal, we

turn our attention to Burger King Corp. v. Rudzewicz (1985), 471

U.S. 462, which involved a contract dispute substantially similarto

the issue presented before us today.

In Burger King, Rudzewicz, a franchisee residing in Michi-

gan, was sued in Fiorida by Burger King, a Florida-based corpora-

tion, for breach of contract and trademark infringement. The

contract was negotiated with both the Florida-based headquarters

of Burger King and its Michigan district office. The twenty-year

lease provided that the relationship would be governed by Florida

law and it required that all monthly fees and relevant notices be

sent to the Florida headquarters. The court ruled that the assertion

of jurisdiction did not offend due process and stated:

“*** Rudzewicz established a substantial and continuing

relationship with Burger King’s Miami headquarters, received fair

notice from the contract documents and the course of dealing that

he might be subject to suit in Florida, and has failed to demonstrate

how jurisdiction in that forum would otherwise be fundamentally

unfair ** *” Id. at 487.

Justice Brennan, in writing for the majority of the court,

reviewed prior cases and concluded that “* * * the constitutional

touchstone remains whether the defendant purposefully estab-

lished ‘minimum contacts’ in the forum State. International Shoe

Co. v. Washington, supra, at 316.” (Emphasis added.) Id. at 474.

The nonresident defendant has purposefully established mini-

mum contacts “** * where the contacts proximately result from ac-

tions by the defendant himself that create a ‘substantial connec-

tion’ with the forum State * * * where the defendant ‘deliberately’

has engaged in significant activities within a State * * * or has

created ‘continuing obligations’ between himselt and residents of

the forum * ** he manifestly has availed himself of the privilege of

conducting business there, and because his activities are shielded

by ‘the benefits and protections’ of the forum’s laws itis presump-

tively not unreasonable to require him to submit to the burdens of

litigation in the forum as well.” (Citations omitted and emphasis

7a

added inpart.) Id. at 475-476. Furthermore, minimum contacts are

satisfied when the defendant foreseeably causes injury in the

forum state if “* * * the defendant’s conduct and connection with

the forum State are such that he should reasonably anticipate being

haled into court there.’ ** *” Id. at 474 (quoting World-Wide

Volkswagen Corp. v. Woodson [1980], 444 U.S. 286, 297).

Justice Brennan also noted that the question of whether

personal jurisdiction exists does not end with a finding that the

nonresident defendant has purposely established minimum con-

tacts and stated:

“Once it has been decided that a defendant purposefully

established minimum contacts within the forum State, these con-

tacts may be considered in light of other factors to determine

whether the assertion of personal jurisdiction would comport with

‘fair play and substantial justice. **** Thus courts in ‘appropriate

cases{s]’ may evaluate ‘the burden on the defendant,’ ‘the forum

State’s interest imi adjudicating the dispute,’ ‘the plaintiff's interest

in obtaining convenient and effective relief,’ ‘the interstate judicial

system’s interest in obtaining the most efficient resolution of

controversies,’ and the ‘shared interest of the several States in

furthering fundamental substantive social policies.’ * * * These

considerations sometimes serve to establish the reasonableness of

jurisdiction upon a lesser showing of minimum contacts than

would otherwise be required. * * * On the other hand, where a

defendant who purposefully has directed his activities at forum

residents seeks to defeat jurisdiction, he must present a compel-

ling case that the presence of some other considerations would

renderjurisdiction unreasonable.” (Citations omitted and empha-

sis added.) Id. at 476-477.

In light of the guidelines articulated above, and after a

thorough review of the record before us, it is apparent that

Mitchell’s purposefully directed activities at an Ohio-based lim-

ited partnership, so that it could reasonably anticipate being haled

into an Ohio court. Moreover, it is equally evident that the

assertion of personal jurisdiction over Mitchell’s comports with

fair play and substantial justice.

Mitchell’s conducted negotiations of the lease terms by

telephone contact to Ohio with appellant, an Ohio-based limited

partnership. Mitchell’s intentionally and purposefuily directed

activities at Ohio when it agreed to the contract terms, signed the

document in Georgia and sent it to Ohio to be signed by appellant.

The ten-year lease requires that Mitchell’s submit to appellant on

a monthly or annual basis rental payments, maintenance costs,

association fees and sales reports. If Mitchell’s refuses to make the :

contractually required payments in Ohio, as alleged by appellant,

such refusal will undoubtedly cause foreseeable injuries. Further,

Mitchell’s is not provided with unfettered control of its retail sale

and rental operation. The lease calls for appellant’s approval in

many areas and also restricts or regulates many activities. Mitch-

ell’s is also aware that all communications need be directed to

appellant in Ohio.

Mitchell’s, as does the court of appeals, urges that because

the lease explicitly states that Kentucky law controls the rights of

the parties, Mitchell’s is not shielded by the benefits and protec-

tions of Ohio law, and, therefore, it could not reasonably have

anticipated being haled into an Ohio court. We disagree.

Although the lease contains a choice-of-law provision, this,

standing alone, does not automatically defeat a finding that mini-

mum contacts exist. Burger King, supra, at 478. Whether a non

resident defendant purposefully established minimum contacts

with the forum depends upon the dealings between the parties

prior to and following the document's execution, contemplated

future consequences, along with the terms of the contract. Id. at

479. We are aware that the choice-of-law provision may be a

significant factor in the overall picture; however, considering

Mitchell’s dealings and the creation of continuing duties and

obligations with appellant, we are satisfied that the guidelines set

forth in Burger King have been met.

Having found that Mitchell’s purposefully established

minimum contacts with Ohio, it now remains only to inquire

whether the assertion of jurisdiction comports with “ fair play and

substantial justice.”

Initially, we find that the burden on Mitchell’s is not

excessive. Again, in Burger King, supra, the court noted that “**

* because ‘modem transportation and communications have made

it much less burdensome for a party sued to defend himself ina

State where he engages in economic activity,’ it usually will not be

unfair to subject him to the burdens of litigating in another forum

for disputes relating to such activity. McGee v. International Life

Insurance Co, [(1957), 355 U.S. 220] ***.” Id. at 474. Mitchell's, a

Georgia corporation, operates one hundred one stores throughout

the Southeastern United States and Kentucky. Based on Mitchell’s

extensive operations, the fact that it elected to establish a store

bordering appellant's state and considering today’s moder: means

of transportation, it is not unreasonable for Mitchell’s to defend

itself in Ohio.

Ya

Finally, appellant’s and the forum state’s interest in adjudicating

the dispute is strong. The General Assembly, pursuant to R.C.

2307.382(A)(1), intended to provide a forum for Ohio residents.

Likewise, “* * * Ohio has an interest in resolving suits brought by

one of its residents and has a substantial interest in seeing that its

residents get the benefit of their bargains. ** *” Wright Internatl.

supra, at 791.

Accordingly, we reverse the judgment of the court of

appeals and find that the trial court had an adequate basis upon

which to assert personal jurisdiction over Mitchell’s. The cause is

remanded to the trial court for further proceedings consistent with

this opinion.

Judgment reversed and cause remanded.

Moyer, C.J., Sweeney, Homes, Wright, H. Brown and

Resnick, JJ., concur.

10a

[ENTERED JUNE 29, 1989]

STATE OF OHIO _ ) IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF OHIO

MAHONING

COUNTY ) SS: SEVENTH DISTRICT

KENTUCKY OAKS MALL CO.,_ )

PLAINTIFF-APPELLANT, )CASE NO. 88C.A. 183

-VS- ) JOURNAL ENTRY

MITCHELL’S FORMAL WEAR,

INC., )

DEFENDANT-APPELLEE. )

For the reasons stated in the opinion rendered

herein, the assignment of error is overruled and it is the final

judgment and order of this court that the judgment of the Common

Pleas court of Mahoning County, Ohio, is affirmed. Costs to be

taxed against appellant.

/s/ Joseph E. O’Neill

/s/ Joseph Donofrio

/s/ Edward A. Cox

JUDGES.

lla

STATE OF OHIO, MAHONING COUNTY

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS

SEVENTH DISTRICT

KENTUCKY OAKS MALL CO.,_ )

PLAINTIFF-APPELLANT, )CASE NO. 88C.A. 183

- VS- ) OPINION

MITCHELL’S FORMAL WEAR,

INC., )

DEFENDANT-APPELLEE. )

CHARACTER OF

PROCEEDINGS: Civil Appeal from Ma-

honing County Common

Pleas Court Case

no. 88-cv-57

JUDGMENT: Affirmed.

APPEARANCES:

For Plaintiff-Appellant: Daniel P. Daniluk

Jay Blackstone _

2445 Belmont Avenue

Youngstown, Ohio

44505-0186

12a

For Defendant-Appellee: Jeffrey B. Fleck

Mary DeGenero

1100 Wick Building

Youngstown, Ohio 44503

and

Archer D. Smith, III

Harmon, Smith &

Bridges

1759 Peachtree

Road, N.E.

Atlanta, Georgia 30309

[UDGES:

Hon. Joseph E. O’Neill

Hon. Joseph Donofrio

Hon. Edward A. Cox

DATED: June 29, 1989.

13a

O’NEILL, P.J.

The appellant filed a complaint in the lower court alleging

that it and the appellee had entered into a lease on or about March

28, 1985, in Youngstown, Ohio, whereby the appellee leased from

the appellant certain premises in the Kentucky Oaks Mall in

Paducah, Kentucky. Basically, the complaint alleged that the

appellee had breached the lease and prayed fora money judgment

against the appellee along with the costs of the action, including

court costs and attorney fees.

The appeilee responded to this complaint by filing and

serving a motion to dismiss contending that Mahoning County

was an improper venue for the case and, further, that the lower

court lacked in personam jurisdiction of the appellee.

After both parties had filed briefs and after the conduct of

an evidentiary hearing, the trial judge found for the appellee and

dismissed the complaint.

The trial judge ruled in part that, based upon the evidence

and upon the contract, it was not “fair and reasonable for the out-

of-state corporation to defend a suit in this jurisdiction.”

A timely notice of appeal was filed from this judgment.

In disposition of this case, we find very pertinent hereto a

postion of the opinion of the Ohio Supreme Court as set forth in the

case of Anilas, Inc. v. Kern (1987), 31 Ohio St. 3d 163. It is set forth

by the Supreme Court, at page 164:

“It is well established that ’*** due process requires

only that in order to subject a defendant to a judgment

in personam, if he be not present within the terri-

tory of the forum, he have certain minimum con-

tacts with it such that the maintenance of the suit

does not offend “traditional notions of fair play and

substantial justice.”’ International Shoe Co. v.

Washington (1945), 326 U.S. 310, 316. Ordinarily,

this requires that a party ‘purposefully * * * [avail]

itself of the privilege of conducting activities within

the forum State ***.’ Hanson v. Denckla (1985), 357

U.S. 235, 253. Injudging minimum contacts, a court

properly focuses on ‘the relationship among the

defendant, the forum, and the litigation * * *.’

Shaffer v. Heitner (1977), 433 U.S. 186, 204.

“Courts have consistently held that foreseeability

is one of the primary factors to be considered in

determining whether there are sufficient minimum

l4a

See baa,

contacts. “* * *[T]he foreseeability that is critical to

due process analysis * * * is that the defendant's

conduct and connection with the forum State are

such that he should reasonably anticipate being

haled into court there.’ World-Wide

Volkswagen Corp. v. Woodson (1980), 444 U.S.

286, 297. Thus, where the defendant ‘has himself

created “continuing obligations” between himself

and residents of the forum, Travelers Health Assn.

v. Virginia [1950], 339 U.S. at 648, *** he manifestly

has availed himself of the privilege of conducting

business there, and because his activities are shielded

by “the benefits and protections” of the forum’s

laws, it is presumptively not unreasonable to re-

quire him to submit to the burdens of litigation in

that forum as well. Jurisdiction in these circum-

stances may not be avoided merely because the de-

fendant did not physically enter the forum State.’

(Emphasis sic.) Burger King Corp. v. Rudzewicz

(1985), 471 U.S. 462, 475-476.”

At the evidentiary hearing, which the trial court con-

ducted, there was introduced and admitted a Joint Exhibit 1 which

was a copy of the lease involved. Paragraph 44 of that lease

specifically provides:

“***This lease shall be governed by and construed

in accordance with the applicable laws of the state

where the demised premises are located.”

In the case of Burger King Corp. v. Rudzewicz (1985), 471

U.S. 462, the United States Supreme Court imposed jurisdictionon

an out-of-state litigant based upon the test that “he manifestly has

availed himself of the privilege of conducting business there, and

because his activities are shielded by the benefits and protection of

the forum’s laws, it is presumptively not unreasonable to require

him to submit to the burdens of litigation in that forum as well.”

(Emphasis added).

In the instant case, based upon the contract between the

parties, the appellee’s activities, very specifically, were not shielded

by the benefits and protections of Ohio law. The parties very spe-

cificaily provided that the conditions of the lease would be gov-

erned by and construed in accordance with the laws of the State of

Kentucky.

Based upon the agreement as to pertinent law, it is our

opinion that, under the test of foreseeability, it could not be said

15a

that the appellee, upon the execution of the subject lease, should

have reasonably anticipated being haled into a court within the

State of Ohio.

Accordingly, the judgment of the trial court is affirmed.

Donofrio, J., concurs.

Cox, J., concurs. APPROVED:

osep!. E. O’ Neill

PRESIDING JUDGE.

16a

STATE OF OHIO =} IN THE COURT OF COMMON PLEAS

} ss: CASE NO. 88 CV 57

MAHONING

COUNTY } DATE September 20, 1988

KENTUCKY OAKS MALL CO.,

PLAINTIFF JUDGMENT ENTRY

VS.

MITCHELL’S FORMAL WEAR, INC.,

DEFENDANT

This cause is before the Court on Defendant’s Motion to

Dismiss. Defendant contends that the action is improperly ve-

nued and that this Court lacks in personam jurisdiction over the

Defendant.

Upon review of the evidence presented, briefs of counsel

and applicable law, the Court finds the contract between Defen-

dant and the State of Ohio insufficient to make it fair and reason-

able for the out-of-state corporation to defend a suit in this jurisdic-

tion. See, Ohio State Tie & Timber vs. Paris Lumber, 8 Ohio App.

3d 236 (1982).

Defendant’s Motion To Dismiss is sustained and Plaintiff's

Complaint is hereby ordered dismissed at Plaintiff's costs.

APPROVED:

Attorney for Plaintiff

/s/ William G. Houser

Attorney for Defendant JUDGE

17a

[FILED APRIL 21, 1988]

IN THE COURT OF COMMON PLEAS

MAHONING COUNTY, OHIO

KENTUCKY OAKS

MALL CO. ) CASE NUMBER 88 CV 57

PLAINTIFF ) JUDGE WILLIAM HOUSER

vs. ) MOTION TO DISMISS

MITCHELL’S FORMAL

WEAR, INC. )

DEFENDANT )

Now comes the Defendant, Mitchell’s Formal Wear, Inc., by

and through its counsel, and pursuant to Rule 12(B) of the Ohio

Rules of Civil Procedure, moves this Court foran Order dismissing

Plaintiff's Complaint on the grounds of improper venue and lack

ofin personam jurisdiction. The reasons for this motion are stated

more fully in the brief attached hereto and incorporated herein as

though fully rewritten.

Respectfully submitted,

/s/

JEFFREY B. FLECK, Esq.

MARY DeGENARO, ESQ.

FLECK, MOSTOV & SCHWARTZ

1100 Wick Building

Youngstown, Ohio 44503 ;

216/743-3344

Attorneys for Defendant

18a

5

a

3

4

a

BRIEF

On or about March 28, 1985, Plaintiff (hereinafter referred

to as “Cafaro”) and Defendant (hereinafter referred to as “ Mitch-

ell’s”) entered into a lease agreement concerning property located

in Paducah, Kentucky. One of the inducements to Mitchell’s to

enter into said lease agreement, was that Cafaro represented that

a department store, or anchor store would be located at the end of

the mall where Mitchell was leasing space. Based upon this

representation, Mitchell’s entered into said lease. However, there

was no such anchor store, and as a result, Mitchell’s sustained

significant business loss due io its location within the mall.

Due to a substantial loss of income, in 1986 in the approxi-

mately amount of $40,000.00, Mitchell’s attempted to negotiate

with Cafaro mutually acceptable ground upon which to terminate

said lease. These negotiations continued through October, 1987

with various agents of Cafaro who appeared to have actual

authority to enter into some sort of settlement agreement.

Sometime in October, 1987 Cafaro and Mitchell’s reached

an agreement as to terms under which the lease agreement would

be cancelled. (Exhibit “A”). Cafaro persuaded Mitchell’s to

remain as tenants through the end of 1987. Mitchell’s was then to

vacate the premises by January 8, 1988 and present Cafaro with a

check in the amount of $7,000.00 to fully release it of any obliga-

tions under the lease. On or about November 23, 1987 Mitchell’s

executed said agreement and forwarded it to Cafaro. On or about

December 28, 1987, Mitchell’s forwarded to Cafaro a check in the

amount of $7,000.00 (Exhibit “B”) pursuant to the oral agreement

reached between the parties. Cafaro is still in possession of said

check and, contrary to the oral agreement reached by Cafaro and

Mitchell’s, instituted this action.

Cafaro’s Complaint must be dismissed, as not only does

this Court lack in personam jurisdiction over Defendant, addition-

ally, this action is improperly venued. Paragraph 44 of the lease

agreement provides as follows:

“44. Governing Law. This lease shall be governed

by and construed in accordance with the applicable

laws of the state where the Demised Premises are

located.”

The demised premises are twcated in the Kentucky Oaks Mall in

Paducah, Kentucky. Pursuant to Rule 3(B)(2), (3), (5) and (6), of the

Ohio Rules of Civil Procedure and Kentucky Rev. Statutes Sections

19a

a

452.400 and 452.450, the proper form for this action is the county

where the Defendant has its principal place of business, conducted

the activity which gave rise to the claim for relief or where the

property which is the subject of the action is located. In this case

on all three grounds the proper form is McCracken County,

Kentucky and not Mahoning County, Ohio. As there is an avail-

able forum pursuant to the above-quoted sections of both Ohio

and Kentucky Civil Rules, Plaintiff cannot avail itseif of Ohio Civ.

R. 3(B)(10) which provides that an action may be commenced in the

county in which a Plaintiff has its principal place of business.

Further, as Defer:dant is a Georgia Corporation with its

principal place of business located in Atlanta, Georgia, this Court

lacks in personam jurisdiction over the Defendant. rule 4.3(A) of

the Ohio Rules of Civil Procedure outlines when service is permit-

ted upon a non-resident of this state. A non-resident is subject to

service of process when the event out of which the claim which is

the subject of the complaint arose from the non-resident’s:

“1.Transacting any business in this state,

2.Contracting supply services or goods in this state...

4.Causing tortious injury in this state by an act or

omission outside this state if he regularly does or

solicits business, or engages in any other persistent

course or conduct or derived substantial revenue

from goods used orconsumed or services rendered

in this state;” Ohio Civ. R. 4.3(A) 1, 2 and 4

Mitchell’s meets none of the above bases for out of state service.

The lease agreement was entered into to effect the business of

providing a tuxedo rental service in the state of Kentucky, and not

in the State of Ohio. Mitchell’s does not have any of the minimum

contacts set out by Rule 4.3 of the Ohio Rules of Civil Procedure to

vest this Court with in personam jurisdiction.

For the foregoing reasons, and upon the authorities cited,

Defendant, Mitcheil’s Formal Wear, Inc., respectfully requests

that this Court grant its Motion to Dismiss on the grounds that this

action is improperly venued and, further, that this Court lacks in

personam jurisdiction over Defendant. Defendant further prays

for its costs, including reasonable attorney fees incurred in pre-

senting this Motion, and any other such relief as the Court may

find equitable and just.

20a

7

7

3

ef

%

Respectfully submitted,

/s/

JEFFREY B. FLECK, ESQ.

MARY DeGENARO, ESQ.

FLECK, MOSTOV & SCHWARTZ

1100 Wick Building

Youngstown, Ohio 44503

216/743-3344

Attorneys for Defendant

CERTIFICATE Or SERVICE

I hereby certify that acopy of the foregoing Motion to Dismiss

has been delivered by regular U. S. Mail to: Daniel Daniluk,

Attorney for Plaintiff, 2445 Belmont Avenue, Youngstown, Ohio

44505 this 21st day of April, 1988.

j

/s/

JEFFREY B. FLECK, Esq.

MARY DeGENARO, ESQ.

Attorneys for Defendant

As they do not pertain to this Petition for Writ of Certioran,

Exhibits A and B to the Motion to Dismiss are not reproduced.

[FILED ON JUNE 8, 1988]

IN THE COURT OF COMMON PLEAS

MAHONING COUNTY, OHIO

KENTUCKY OAKS MALL CO. :

PLAINTIFF, : CIVIL ACTION

vs. ; FILE NO. 88-CV-57

MITCHELL’S FORMAL

WEAR, INC., : JUDGE WILLIAM

HOUSER

DEFENDANT.

DEFENDANT'S SUPPLEMENTAL BRIEF OF

AUTHORITY IN SUPPORT OF ITS MOTION TO DISMISS

FACTS

In March of 1985, Plaintiff, an Ohio limited partnership,

(hereinafter referred to as “Ky. Oaks”) and Defendant, a Georgia

corporation, (hereinafter referred to as “ Mitchell’s”) entered intoa

lease agreement concerning property located in Paducah, Ken-

tucky. Mitchell’s is a Georgia corporation engaged in tuxedo sales

and rentals in the southeastern United States only. Neither of these

activities is conducted in Ohio. No officer of or counsel for

Mitchell’s went to Ohio to conduct negotiations. Mitchell’s has no

officers, agents or stores in Ohio.

The leased premises was built in Kentucky by a Kentucky

contractor. The lease stated that rental payments would be paid to

Cafaro in Youngstown, Ohio.

On January 22, 1988, Cafaro sued Mitchell’s in Mahoning

County, Ohio. The court can take judicial notice of the fact that the

Ohio line is approximately 270 miles from the instant shopping

center in Paducah, Kentucky. The lease recites that the governing

law is the law of the state where the shopping center is located,

22a

4

3

namely Kentucky. Mitchell’s moved to dismiss the action because

Ohio lacks personal jurisdiction over Mitchell’s.

Ae O NOTIONS OF FAIR PLAY AND

SUBSTANTIAL JUSTICE” REQUIRE THAT THIS

CASE BE DISMISSED.

The Due Process Clause “requires .. . that in order to

subject a defendant to ajudgmentin personam, if he be not present

within the territory of the forum, he have certain minimum

contacts with it such that the maintenance of the suit does not

offend ‘traditional notions of fair play and substantial justice.”

International Shoe co. v. Washington, 326 U.S. 310, 316. (1945)

(quoting Milliken v. Meyer, 311 U.S. 457, 463 (1940)). In Wainscott

v. St. Louis-San Francisco Ry. Co., 47 Ohio St.2d 133 (1976), the

Ohio Supreme Court applied the guidelines set out in Interna-

tional Shoe and determined that the contacts which existed be-

tween the out-of-state defendant and the State of Ohio were

insufficient for the State of Ohio to fairly claim jurisdiction. In

Wainscott, the Missouri defendant solicited business in Ohio, paid

personal and property taxes in Ohio, and maintained two offices

in Ohio. The court stated that “[t]he opinion in International Shoe

makes it clear that the quality and nature of the activity conducted

within a state in a given case must be viewed in relation to the fair

and orderly administration of the laws.” Id. at 143. In spite of the

defendant's substantial activity in Ohio, the court concluded that

the existing contacts were not “such as to make it fair and reason-

able for the [out-of-state] corporation to defend a suit in this

jurisdiction.” Id. at 144.

Unquestionably, the Missouri corporation in Wainscott

had substantially more contacts with Ohio than does Mitchell’s in

the present case. The only contacts Mitchell’s has with Ohio are the

payment of rent to an Ohio location and the fact that the contract

was accepted in Ohio. Additionally, the Missouri corporation

actively pursued its Ohio contacts by soliciting business there.

Mitcheil’s never solicited business in Ohio; any activities con-

ducted in Ohio were incidental to the leasing of Kentucky prop-

erty. Consequently, it would not comport with “traditional no-

tions of fair play and substantial justice” for Mitchell’s to be forced

to defend a suit in Ohio.

The court in Garrett v. Ruth Originals Corp., 456 F.Supp

376 (S.D. Ohio 1978), also applied the guidelines set out in Interna-

tional Shoe to a case construing the Ohio long-arm statute. Their

application of the guidelines focused on several factors that the

Sixth Circuit had identified as important in the analysis. Ia. at 381.

23a

When applying these factors to the present case, the conclusion is

no different than that compelled by the Wainscott analysis -- it is

unreasonable to require Mitchell’s to defend a suit in OHio.

One of the factors important to a fairness analysis is

“presence” in the forum. Presence in the forum is important

“because physical contacts ‘provide a clue to the significance

attached by the defendant to the activities occurring within the

forum state -- and thus aclue as to his expectations.’” Garrett at 382

(quoting In-Flight Devices Corp. v. Van Dusen. Air, Inc., 466 F.2d

220 (6th Cir. 1972)). In the case at hand, no agent of Mitchell’s was

physically present in Ohio for purposes involving the lease.

According to the Garrett court, the lack of presence, although not

dispositive is “significant.” Id.

A second factor which must be considered is “the reason-

able expectations of the defendants in light of the actual impact

upon the forum.” Id. The only impact on Ohio resulting from the

lease negotiations is “the creation of a duty owed to one of its

residents.” Id. at 380. The court in Garrett recognized such an

obligation as an “extreme case,” and a “simple case,” Id., unlike

the unavoidable impact present in Garrett where the defendant

“required that the plaintiff leave his established position of em-

ployment and place of residence in Ohio,” thereby “withdrawing

his human capital from the state.” Id.

A third factor to be considered is the “expectations the

defendant reasonably should have had with regard to the possibil-

ity of defending a suit in a distant forum.” Id. at 382. Mitchell’s

maintains no office in Ohio, none of its representatives spend time

there, and it receives no income from Ohio. All contacts Mitchell's

has with Ohio are incidental to its leasing of Kentucky real estate

from Plaintiffin Kentucky, approximately 270 miles from the Ohio

lines. It is unreasonable to contend that Mitchell’s should have

expected to defend a suit in Ohio.

Il. OHIO LACKS IN PERSONAM JURISDICTION

I : U IT LL’S

N SINESS IN OHIO.

Ohio Rev.Code §2307.382 provides in pertinent part, that:

(A) A court may exercise personal jurisdiction over a

person who acts directly or by an agent, as to a cause of action

arising from the person’s: (1) transacting any business in this

state; (2) contracting to supply services or goods in this state; and

(3) causing tortious injury by an act or omission in this state.

However, according to the Ohio Court of Appeals, “Ohio

has not extended long-arm jurisdiction to the limits of due process

24a

OE eT TO ee aT

a al ps as ae

but, instead, actual transaction of business in Ohio is a prerequisite

to rN exercise of long-arm jurisdiction under the circumstances,”

i Vv. ber, 8 Ohio App.3d 236, 238

(1982), Therefore, in addition to the traditional due process

minimum contact requirements, see, International Shoe Co. v.

Washington, 326 U.S. 310 (1945), Wainscott v. St. Louis - San

Francisco Ry. Co., 47 Ohio St. 2d 133 (1976), there is a requirement

that an out-of-state resident transact business in Ohio for Ohio to

exercise jurisdiction over him. The court in Ohio State Tie &

Timber relied on Ohio Civ. R. 4.3(a) to reach this conclusion. Ohio

State Tie & Timber, Inc. v. Paris Lumber, 8 Ohio App 3rd 236, 238.

Ohio Civ. R. 4.3(A) defines when out-of-state service of process is

permitted. The language of the rule parallels the language of the

long-arm statute. Civ.R.4.3(A) permits the service of process

outside of Ohio upon a non-resident only under certain specified

circumstances, including when the non-resident is “transacting

any business in this state.” Ohio Civ.R. 4.3(A)(1). This subsection

of the rule is the only possible basis for Ohio to exercise long-arm

jurisdiction over Mitchell's in this case. Therefore, the issue in this

case is whether Mitchell’s ever transacted any business in the State

of Ohio. The answeris no. Mitcheil’s has insufficient contacts with

Ohio to charge it with transacting business in Ohio and thereby

subject it to Ohio jurisdiction in that its only contacts with Ohio

were the payment of rent to an Ohio location and the fact that the

contacts with Ohio were the payment of rent to an Ohio location

and the fact that the contract was accepted in Ohio.

Further, the fact that the contract was accepted in Ohio is

not a “contact” with Ohio for jurisdictional purposes. Rather, the

location of a contract’s acceptance usually determines which law

will govern the terms ofa contract. However, this lease specifically

states in paragraph 44 that “[t]he lease shall be governed by and

construed in accordance with the applicable laws of the state

where the demised premises are located.” Because the demised

premises are located in Paducah, Kentucky, Kentucky law con-

trols.

Kentucky may assert jurisdiction over both parties while

complying with constitutional due process requirements. In Info-

Med, Inc. v. National Healthcare, Inc., 669 F.Supp. 793 (W.D.Ky.

1987), the court states, “[i]t is a well established that the Kentucky

long-arm statute allows state courts to reach to the full constitu-

tional limits of due process in the extension of jurisdiction over

non-resident defendants.” Id. at 795. Kentucky’s long-arm stat-

ute, KRS 454.210(2)(a)(1), states in part:

25a

A court may exercise personal jurisdiction over a

person who acts directly or by an agent, as to a

claim arising from the person’s: 1. Transacting any

business in this Commonwealth. . .

Therefore, again the issue is whether both parties were transacting

business in Kentucky. The answer is yes.

Ky. Oaks operates the Kentucky Oaks Mall in Paducah,

Kentucky. Mitchell’s leased a store from Ky. Oaks in that Mall.

Certainly, these operations constitute transacting business in

Kentucky. Therefore, Kentucky may properly assert jurisdiction

over both parties.

Frequently, where the Ohio courts have dismissed cases

because of a lack of jurisdiction over an out-of-state defendant, the

defendant has had many more contacts with Ohio than does

Mitchell’s. In Ohio State Tie & Timber, the court granted the de-

fendant’s motion to dismiss for lack of personal jurisdiction. The

court held that “[t]he ordering of goods from an Ohio resident by

telephone from Kentucky bya Kentucky resident, which goods are

to be shipped to Kentucky by the Ohio resident does not constitute

the transaction of business in Ohio by the Kentucky resident who

ordered the goods, even though the goods had to be specially

prepared to meet the needs of the Kentucky resident.” Id. at 238.

In the case at hand, the defendant's contacts with Ohio are

less substantial than the out-of-state defendant's in Ohio State Tie

& Timber. In this case, the only contacts between the Ohio

resident, Ky. Oaks, and the out-of-state defendant, Mitchell's,

were telephone calls and letters through the mail. Never was

Cafaro required to specially prepare and ship goods from Ohio to

Mitchell’s in another state. Moreover, the property covered by the

lease agreement between the parties is in Kentucky, not Ohio.

Another case, factually similar to the one at hand, where

the Court of Appeals for Ohio found that Ohio had no jurisdiction

over a non-resident corporation is NRM Corp. v. Pacific Co., 36

Ohio App.2d 179 (1973). In NRM, an Ohio corporation NRM, filed

an action in Ohio court on an account with an Oregon corporation,

Pacific. Pacific had signed and mailed to NRM an order for the

purchase of machinery. The machinery was manufactured in

Ohio and shipped to Oregon. Thirty-three payments were mailed

from Oregon to NRM in Ohio over the course of 3 years. Business

transactions were conducted by mail and by telephone for the

most part. One time, however, Pacific’s purchasing agent trav-

elled to Ohio to negotiate differences that had arisen between the

parties. Nevertheless, the court held that “the signing, and

26a

mailing, in Oregon, of an order for the purchase of machinery by

an Oregon corporation from an Ohio corporation, which machin-

ery is to be shipped to and used in Oregon, is not such a’minimum

contact’ in Ohio as to charge the Oregon firm with ‘transacting any

business’ in Ohio, and thereby subject it to the jurisdiction of the

Ohio courts. The fact that an agent of NRM visited Akron to

compromise the controversy is immaterial.” Id. at 182.

The contacts involved ix the case at hand are substantially

fewer than those involved in NRM. Never did an agent or officer

of Mitchell’s travei to Ohio. Never was Ky. Oaks required to ship

any product to Mitchell’s in another state. The only contacts

Mitchell’s had with Ohio were the negotiations conducted by tele-

phone and mail and the payment of rent to Ky. Oaks in Ohio.

Accordingly, Mitchell’s has insufficient contacts in Ohio to charge

it with transacting any business in Ohio, and to subject it to the

jurisdiction of the Ohio courts.

Consistently, when Ohio has asserted jurisdiction over an

out-of-state defendant, the contacts the defendant has had withthe

state are substantially greater that the contacts Mitchell’s has with

Ohio. For example, in a case with facts similar to the facts of this

case, Meadowbrook Mall Co. v. State Side Imports of West Vir-

ginia, Inc., Mahoning Common Pleas no. 84-CV-1250 (unreported),

the defendant’s motion to dismiss for lack of personal jurisdiction

was denied because it was found that the defendant had trans-

acted business in the State of Ohio. However, in that case, the

defendant had not only negotiated a lease with the plaintiff, an

Ohio company, for out-of-state property, but additionally it had

negotiated a contract with the plaintiff's contractor, also an Ohio

resident. The fact of additional negotiations distinguishes Mead-

owbrook Mall from the present case.

Ill. THIS ACTION IS IMPROPERLY VENUED.

By attempting to bring this a-tion in Mahoning County,

Ohio, Ky. Oaks has attempted to avaii itself of the doctrine of

forum non conveniens, which was explicitly rejected by the Ohio

Supreme Cort in State, ex. rel. Starnerv. Deltoff, 18 Ohio St. 3d 163

(1985).

Pursuant to Civ. R. 3, an Action is to be tried where venue

is proper, not convenient forthe Plaintiff. The Court of Appeals for

Trumbull County has held in Beraducce v. Teachers Retirement

System, 21 Ohio App. 3d 195 (1984) that the controlling authority

interpreting Civ. R. 3, governing venues, is Varketta v.Gen Motors

Corp., 34 Ohio App. 2d 1 (1973).

27a

In resolving whether the bases for venue set out in the rule are

each alternatives to the other, the Court held:

“The answer to this question is obvious by a clear

reading of the language of this rule. Civil Rule 3(B)

establishes a system of priorities. The first nine pro-

visions of 3(B) are alternatives, and each may be a

proper basis for venue, but they do not have to be

followed in any order. Plaintiff has a choice where

the action will be brought if any of the counties

specified in C. R. 3(B)(1) through (9) are a proper

forum under the facts of the case. The tenth provi-

sion under civil Rule 3(B)(10) is available only if

none of the first nine is available, and the eleventh

provision is only available if none of the first ten is

available.” Id. at 6.

The decision in Varketta that if a forum pursuant to Civ. R.

3(B)(1) through (9) is availabie, then action must be venued there

(see syllabus).

This is buttressed by the Ohio Supreme Court’s

decision in Morrison v. Sterner, 32 Ohio St. 2nd 86

(1972) were the court held:

“The first nine provisions of Civ. R. 3(B) are on an

equal status, and any court therein maybe a proper

and initial peace of venue.” Id. at 89.

See also, staff notes to Civ. R. 3(B). There is an available

forum under Civ. R. 3(B)(2), (3), (5), and (6) in McCracken County,

Kentucky, where this action wculd be properly venued, and must

be brought. Therefore, pursuant to Civ. R. 3(B) and the holding in

Varketta and Morrison, Ky. Oaks cannot use Civ. R. 3(B)(1) as a

basis for vesting this Court with venue in this action, as the proper

venue for this action is McCracken County, Kentucky, which is a

forum available to Ky. Oaks. This action must be dismissed for

improper venue.

The Mahoning County Common Pleas Court has spoken

on these issues. Judge Jenkins in Case No. 84 CV 1206 dismissed

the same plaintiffin that case for want of jurisdiction. The facts are

basically the same. The law is the same.

CONCLUSION

The defendant's motion to dismiss should be granted. The

28a

Ohio court lacks personal jurisdiction over the defendants because

the defendants have insufficient minimum contacts with Ohio to

constitute “the transacting of any business” as required for juris-

diction by Ohio Civ. R. 4.3(A)(1). Additionally, the Ohio court’s

assertion of personal jurisdiction over the defendants does not

comport with “traditional notions of fair play and substantial

justice,” as required by International Shoe and its progeny.

In addition to the foregoing, plaintiff requests that the

Motion to Dismiss be granted on the grounds inat this action is

improperly venued for the foregoing reasons and upon the au-

thorities cited.

HARMON, SMITH & BRIDGES Respectfully submitted,

/s/ /s/

ARCHER D. SMITH, III JEFFREY B. FLECK, ESQ.

1759 Peachtree Road, N.E. MARY DeGENARO, ESQ.

Atlanta, GA 30309-2303 Fleck, Mostov & Schwartz

404/881-1200 1100 Wick Building

Youngstown, Ohio 44503

OF COUNSEL 216/743-3344

Attorneys for Defendant

29a

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a copy of the foregoing Supplemental

Brief of Defendant has been hand delivered this 8th day of June,

1988, to: Daniel Daniluk, Esq. and Jay Blackstone, Esq., Counsel

for Plaintiff, at the Mahoning County Courthouse, Youngstown,

Ohio 44503.

/s/

JEFFREY B. FLECK, ESQ.

MARY DeGENARO, ESQ.

Attorneys for Defendant

LEASE

THIS LEASE, made on the 28th_ day of March, 1985, by

and between KENTUCKY OAKS MALL COMPANY, an Ohio

Limited Partnership _, having an office at 2445 Belmont Avenue,

P. O. Box 2186, Youngstown, Ohio 44504 (hereinafter referred to as

“Landlord”), and MITCHELL'S FORMAL WEAR, INC, a Geor-

ia Corporation, having an office at 4030C Pleasantdale Road, At-

lanta, GA_30340 (hereinafter referred to as “Tenant”).

WITNESSETH:

1. Demised Premises

The Landlord hereby demises and leases to the

Tenant, and the Tenant hereby rents from the Landlord, the

following described premises situated in the__City _ of Paducah

, County of __ McCracken _ and State of _ Kentucky

A one-story room, without basement, having approximate

measurements of _Thirty and 00/100 - (30.00) feet

in width, (Center to center of side walls), and Twenty-five

7 .67) feet in depth, (Outside of front

wall tocenter of rear wall), located as shown outlined in red

on Exhibit C, attached hereto and made a part hereof, to be

constructed by Landlord as part of a shopping center

known as KENTUCKY OAKS MALL (hereinafter referred

to as “Shopping Center”). The Demised Premises are

identified as:

UNIT NO. 640 KENTUCKY OAKS MALL __ Paducah,

Kentucky

“Demised Premises”, as used in this lease, shall refer to the

storeroom described above (but shall not include the roof of the

Demised Premises and the area beneath the Demised Premises).

Gross area of the Demised Premises shall be the number of square

feet of total floor space (including the mezzanine and double-

decked storage platforms, if any).

The size, type and shape of the building in which the

Demised Premises are located and/or the Shopping Center shall

be subject to such changes, enlargements and/or reductions as

Landlord at any time deems desirable for the benefit of the

3la

Shopping Center, so long as the location and size of the Demised

Premises shall not be substantially changed except as otherwise

specifically provided for in this lease.

Landlord shall have the exclusive right to use all or any

partof the roof overthe Demised Premises and exterior walls of the

Demised Premises for any purpose; to erect in connection with the

construction there of temporary scaffolds and other aids to con-

struction on the exterior of the Demised Premises, provided that

access to the Demised Premises shall not be denied; and to install

and use pipes, ducts, conduits and wires leading through the

Demised Premises and serving other parts of the Shopping Center

in locations which will not materially interfere with Tenant’s use

thereof. In addition to the foregoing, Landlord may make any use

- it desires of the side and rear walls of the Demised Premises,

provided that there shall be no encroachment upon the interior of

the Demised Premises and provided further that the Tenant’s

access to the Demised Premises shall not be impaired. Landlord

hereby reserves the right at any time to make alterations or

additions to, and to build additional stories on, the building in

which the Demised Premises are contained and to build adjoining

the same. Landlord also reserves the right to construct other

buildings or improvements in the Shopping Center from time to

time and to make alterations thereof or additions thereto and to

build additional stories on such building or buildings and to

incorporate additional land into the Shopping Center and build

thereon and to construct deck or elevated parking facilities.

2. Construction

Landlord and Tenant agree that the construction and

improvements of the Demised Premises shall be done as described

in Exhibit A entitled “Specifications”, attached hereto and made a

part hereof. Any work in addition to any of the items specifically

enumerated in said Exhibit A shall be performed by the Tenant at

its owncost and expense. Any work thatis an obligation of Tenant

but is done by Landlord on behalf of Tenant, whether or not

pursuant to Exhibit A orto this clause, shall be at Tenant's sole cost

and expense and will be paid for by Tenant to Landlord based on

the cost to Landlord of such work, together with the sum equal to

fifteen percent (15%) of said cost for overhead and an additional

sum equal to ten percent (10%) of said amount for profit, all due

and payable within ten (10) days after billing from Landlord to

Tenant.

If Tenant does not submit to Landlord the drawings and

32a

specifications (whether original or revised) required in Exhibit A

within the time limits therein set forth, or if Tenant fails to proceed

with the work required to be done by Tenant as set forth herein or

in Exhibit A, then for purposes of determination of commence-

ment of the term as set forth in Clause 3 hereof, the Demised

Premises shall be deemed to be substantially completed by Land-

lord when so much of such work shall have been substantially

completed by Landlord as could then be performed without such

drawings and specifications or without such work of Tenant. In

any event, Landlord’s work shall have been substantially com-

pleted when so much as been accomplished as to permit Tenant to

enter the Demised Premises to begin any work required to be done

by Tenant or to begin fixturing.

Opening for business in the Demised Premises by Tenant

shall constitute an acceptance of the Demised Premises and an

acknowledgement by Tenant, that the Demised Premises are inthe

condition required under this lease, except as to deficiencies of

which Tenant notifies Landlord in writing prior to opening.

3. Term

TO HAVE AND TO HOLD the Demised Premises for a

term of ten (10) lease years, to commence seventy-five (75) days

after substantial completion of all of Landlord’s work in the

Demised Premises in accordance with Clause 2 of this lease, or on

the date Tenant opens for business (whichever is sooner).

The first lease year shall be for a period of twelve (12)

consecutive calendar months from the commencement date of the

lease term, except that if such commencement date shall be other

than the first day of a calendar month, the first lease year shall be

the period from such commencement date to the end of the calen-

dar month in which it shall occur, plus the following twelve (12)

calendar months. Each lease year after the first lease year shall be

a successive period of twelve (12) calendar months.

The parties agree that once the commencement date of the

term has been established and upon the request of either party, a

short form or memorandum of this lease will be executed for

recording purposes, which short form or memorandum of lease

wiill set forth the actual commencement and termination dates of

the term. Tenant agrees that it shall not record this lease without

the written consent of the Landlord. Any fees or cther charges

levied by any governmental authority, including the cost of re-

‘cording said short form or memorandum of lease, will be at the

expense of the party requesting that said lease be recorded.

33a

If the term of this lease shall not have commenced within

five (5) years of the date hereof, then this lease shall automatically

become null and void and both parties relieved of all obligations

hereunder.

Tenant covenants and agrees that promptly after Landlord

delivers possession of the Demised Premises to Tenant, Tenant

shall commence and shall proceed with due diligence to make all

. improvements to and install in the Demised Premises all fixtures

and other equipment which may be necessary or proper in the

operation of Tenant’s business and thereafter to open its store for

business.

4._ Mini nt

Tenant hereby covenants and agrees to pay to the Landlord

as minimum annual rental for the Demised Premises, the follow-

ing:

(a) Commencing with the first (1ST) lease year and

continuing to the end of the _ FIFTH (STH) lease

year of the term of this lease, the sum of _ FOUR-

and_ 04 D ARS

($14,000.04) per year, payable in equal monthly in-

stallments of ONE THOUSAND ONE HUNDRED

IXTY- and 67/100 DOLLARS ($1,167.6

each, all in advance on the first day of every calen-

dar month during said period. Landlord shall

grant a credit of One Thousand Five Hundred

Dollars ($1,500.00) to Tenant’s rent obligation above,

and apply such to Tenant’s rent forthe first and sec-

ond months of the term hereof.

If the term of this lease shall commence on a day

other than the first day of the month, Tenant shall

pay in advance on said commencement day Mini-

mum Rent equal to one-thirtieth (1/30) of the monthly

Menimum Rent multiplied by the number of days

in the fractional month for which Tenant is obli-

gated to pay rent.

(b) Commencing with the _ SIXTH (6TH) lease year

and continuing to the end of the TENTH (10TH)

lease year of the term of this lease, the sum of

SI OUSA nd_08/100 DOLLARS

.08) per year, payable in equal monthly in-

stallments of

RTY-THREE a 00 -

LARS _ ($1,333.34) each, all in advance on the first

day of every calendar month during said period.

5._ Percentage t

In addition to the payment of Minimum Rent as hereina-

bove provided, Tenant shall pay to Landlord during each year of

the term hereof as Percentage Rent, the following:

(a) Commencing with the first (1ST) lease year and

continuing to the end of the _FIFTH (5TH) lease

year, a sum equal to _SIX (6%) percent of ail gross

sales made in, on or from the Demised Premises

during each lease year during said period in excess

of $200,000.00, prorated for any period more than

a twelve (12) month lease year or less than a twelve

(12) month lease year, (hereinafter referred to as

“Breakpoint”).

(b) Commencing with the _SIXTH (6TH) lease year

and continuing to the end of the TENTH (10TH)

lease year, a sum equal to _SIX (6%) percent of all

gross sales made in, on or from the Demised Prem-

ises during each lease year during said period in

excess of $225,000.00, prorated for any period more

than a twelve (12) month lease year or less than a

twelve (12) month lease year.

In the event the fixed Minimum Rent for any lease year (or

partial lease year) shall be reduced or abated for any reason

whatsoever, the Breakpoint of gross sales for determining the

Percentage Rent shall likewise be reduced proportionately. In the

event Tenant ceases to operate its business in the Demised Prem-

ises for any reason whatsoever, then the gross sales made in, on,

or from the Demised Premises during the lease year in which

Tenant ceased to operate its business in the Demised Premises

shall equal the amount of gross sales actually made in, on or from

the Demised Premises during that lease year multiplied by the

fraction having as its numerator 365 and having as its denominator

the number of days during that lease year Tenant was actually

open for business in the Demised Premises in compliance with

Clause 6 of this lease.

Tenant shall submit to the Landlord on or before the

fifteenth (15th) day following each monthly period during the

term hereof, a written statement of gross sales for the preceding

calendarmonth, such statement to set forthin reasonable, accurate

detail the amount of gross sales for said monthly period. Com-

ill

mencing with the month in which the aggregate gross sales for any

lease year (or for a partial lease year) shall first exceed the Break-

point set forth in this Clause 5 (or a proportionate part thereof for

a partial lease year) and thereafter, as to all gross sales during the

remainder of such lease year (or partial lease year), Tenant shall

pay to Landlord Per -entage Rent concurrently with the submis-

sion by Tenant of the written statement of gross sales. On or before

the last day of the menth following the close of each lease year (or

partial lease year), Tenant shall furnish to the Landlord astatement

certified either by a certified public accountant employed by

Tenant orby anofficer of Tenant of the gross sales forthe preceding

lease year (or partial lease year) and shall tender therewith the bal-

ance of Percentage Rent due for such lease year (or partial lease

year). If the Percentage Rent installments paid by Tenant during

any lease year (or partial lease year), exceed the Percentage Rent

due for such lease year (or partial lease year), Landlord shall

refund said excess amount to Tenant within thirty (30) days after

receipt of Tenant's certified statement of gross sales.

“Gross sales”, as used herein, shall mean the amount of

sales of all merchandise and/or services sold or rendered in, on,

about or from the Demised Premises by Tenant orany subtenants,

licensees or concessionaires, whether for cash oronacharge, credit

or time basis without reserve or deduction for inability or failure

to collect, including but not limited to such sales and services: (1)

where orders originate at and/or are accepted by Tenant in

demised Premises but delivery or performance thereof is made

from or at any place other than the Demised Premises; (2)

pursuant to mail, telegraph, telephone or other similar orders

received or filled at or in Demised Premises; (3) by means of

mechanical and other vending machines in the Demised Premises

(but this shall not be construed as aconsent of Landlord to Tenant's

use of such machines); (4) which Tenant in the normal and

customary course of business would credit or attribute to its

business upon Demised Premises or any part or parts thereof.

There shall be deductible from gross sales (to the extent that they

are included):

(a) Amounts of refunds, allowances or discounts to

customers provided they have been included in

gross sales and provided further that if such re-

funds, allowances or discounts are in the form of

credits to customers, such credits shall be included

in gross sales when used.

= eh te) NES ba

(b) Exchange of merchandise between stores of Tenant

where such exchanges are made solely for the op-

eration of Tenant’s business and not for the pur-

pose of consummating a sale which has been made

at, in, on or from the Demised Premises and/or for

the purpose of depriving Landlord of the benefit of

such sales which ctherwise would have been .nade

at, in or from the Demised Premises.

(c) Returns to shippers and manufacturers for credit.

(d) Sales of trade fixtures orstore operating equipment

after use thereofin the conduct of Tenant's business

in the Demised Premises.

(e) All sums and credits received in settlement of

claims for loss or damage to merchandise.

(f) Amount of any excise or sales iax levied upon retail

sales and payable over to the appropriate govern-

mental authority, provided that specific record is

made at the time of each sale of the amount of sales

tax and the amount thereof is expressly charged to

the customer.

The Tenant covenants and agrees to keep upon the De-

mised Premises or at its principal office, books and records in ac-

cordance with generally accepted accounting practice, in which

shall be recorded gross sales. The books and records of account

shall also include all federal, state and local tax returns of Tenant

relating to Tenant's sales. Such books and records shall be open to

the inspection of the Landlord and Landlord’s authorized agents

at all reasonable times upon reasonable notice, during business

hours at any time during the term of this lease and fora period of

at least one (1) year after the termination of this lease. If Landlord

shall make an audit of Tenant’s records and any such audit shows

that the amount of gross sales on Tenant’s statement was under-

stated by more than Two Percent (2%) for any calendar year (but

prorated for any shorter period), then Tenant (in addition to

paying the Percentage Rent due for such understatement) shall

pay to Landlord the cost of the audit.

6. Use

Tenant agrees that the Demised Premises shall be occupied

by no other person or entity except upon and with the written

consent of Landlord first had, and shall be used for the sole

purpose of _a retail store forthe sale and rental of formal wearand

related wedding items and apparel. Tenant recognizes that

37a

the specific limited use prescribed herein is a material considera-

tion to Landlord in order that the Shopping Center will maintain

an appropriate tenant mix.

Unless otherwise consented to in writing by Landlord,

Tenant agrees to conduct its business i in the Demised Premises

under the name of

Tenant agrees to keep its Demised Premises adequately

illuminated and continuously and uninterruptedly open for busi-

ness during the same days, nights and hours as any department

store or stores located in the Shopping Center and at least, in any

event, from the hours of 10:00 a.m. to 9:30 p.m. Monday through

Saturday, and shall maintain therein a substantial stock of mer-

chandise and a sufficient number of employees for the purpose of

selling said merchandise, unless prevented from doing so by-

strikes, fire, casualties or other causes beyond Tenant's control. In

no event, however, will Tenant open for business after 10:00 p.m.

or before 9:00 a.m. on any day without Landlord’s consent. Tenant

shall be under no obligation to be open on any Sunday.

Tenant agrees that so long as this lease remains in effect,

Tenant (or any officer, director orshareholder owning capital stock

of Tenant if Tenant be a corporation) will not, either within the

Shopping Center (except under lease from Landlord) or within

five (5) miles of the Shopping Center, measured from the perime-

ter of the Shopping Center, directly or indirectly own, operate or

be financially interested in, either itself or with others, a business

like orsimilarto the business authorized to be conducted under the

terms of this lease. Due to the difficulty in determining the extent

to which Landlord would be damaged by reason of loss of Percent-

age Rent or otherwise in the event that Tenant should breach the

foregoing covenant, Tenant agrees that Landlord shall, in addition

to any other remedies otherwise available to it, be entitled to add

seventy-five percent (75%) of the gross sales (as defined in this

lease) from any such location established in violation of the

foregoing covenant to the gross sales from the Demised Premises

for the determination of Percentage Rent due under Clause 5

thereof. Tenant agrees to furnish to Landlord an annual certified

statement of gross sales from any such location(s) in accordance

with Clause 5 of this lease.

Tenant further agrees that during the entire term hereof, no

part of the Demised Premises shail be abandoned or left vacant

unless the Demised Premises have been destroyed by fire or other

casualty.

2)

(3)

(4)

(5)

(6)

A. Affirmative Obligations

Tenant agrees at its own cost and expense

to:

(1)

t

Keep and maintainina safe, neat and clean condi-

tion all portions of its Demised Premises and ap-

purtenances including adjoining areas, storefront,

vestibules, entrances and returns, doors, fixtures,

windows and plate glass.

Use its best efforts to cause all trucks servicing its

Demised Premises to load and unload priorto the

hours of opening for business to the general

public of the Shopping Center, where reasonably

practicable in light of Tenant’s business opera-

tion.

Cause its employees, officers and agents to park

only in such places as provided and designated

by the Landlord for employee parking, and spe-

cifically, not to permit parking by any of them in

any service court area. (Landlord reserves the

right to impose fines against Tenant for any vio-

lation of these parking restrictions by Tenant or

Tenant's employees; Landlord further reserves

the right to have towed any automobile parked in

violation of this clause.)

Abide by and observe all reasonable rules and

regulations established by Landlord from time to

time with respect to the operation of the Shop-

ping Center and its Common Areas.

Cooperate fully with the Landlord and other ten-

ants of the Shopping Centerin promoting the use

of trade names and slogans as may be adopted for

the Shopping Center and in all promotional and

advertising campaigns.

Advertise with a display-type advertisement a

minimum of two (2) times during each lease year

with a total of at least one-eighth (1/8) tabloid per

lease year in the printed media selected by Land-

lord or the Merchants Association or Marketing

Fund, and pertaining to events sponsored by

Landlord or the Merchants Association or Mar-

keting Fund; in the event Tenant fails or refuses

to comply with these minimum advertising re-

39a

(7)

(8)

(9)

(10)

(11)

quirements, Tenant will pay to Landlord an amount

equal to the cost of such advertisements, upon

demand, said amount to be considered as addi-

tional rental for the purposes of this lease. Addi-

tionally, Tenant agrees to expend three percent

(3%) ofits gross sales on local and regional adver-

tising (electronic and paper) in each year.

Keep its display windows and signs electrically .

lighted during such hours that the Shopping

Centeris open for business and during such other

periods as the Landlord may reasonably pre-

scribe.

Shut off all exhaust fans, if any, servicing the De-

mised Premises at all times when the Demised

Premises are closed; if Tenant’s Demised Prem-

ises front on an enclosed mall, Tenant shall main-

tain positive air pressure so as to prevent the

drawing ofheated orcooled air from the enclosed

mall and sha! keep the Demised Premises heated

or air-conditioned, as the case may be, to at least

the same minimum temperature (in the case of

heat) or at the same maximum temperature (in

the case of air-conditioning) as Landlord shall

attempt to maintain in such mall.

Handle and dispose of all trash, rubbish, refuse,

garbage and waste in accordance with regula-

tions established by Landlord, use and pay for

the services of the designated trash hauler for the

Shopping Center, and not permit the accumula-

tion (unless in sealed metal containers) or burn-

ing of any trash, rubbish, refuse, garbage or waste

materials in, on orabout any part of the Shopping

Center.

Participate in any reasonable exterminating pro-

grams that may be established by Landlord for all

or substantially all other stores and businesses in

the Shopping Center.

Take no action which would violate Landlord’s

union contracts, if any, affecting the Shopping

Center, nor create any work stoppage, picketing,

labor disruption or dispute or any interference

40a

(12)

with the business of the Landlord orany tenant or

occupant inthe Shopping Center orwith the right

and privileges of any customer or other person

lawfully in and upon said Shopping Center, nor

cause any impairment or reduction of the good-

will of the Shopping Center.

Pay when due all personal property taxes as-

sessed against Tenant's fixtures and furnishings,

all taxes arising out of the operation of Tenant’s

business, and pay for all license fees, occupa-

tional taxes and other governmental charges as-

sessed by reason of Tenant's use or occupancy of

the Demised Premises; Tenant will permit no lien

to attach to the Demised Premises as a result of

taxes payable by Tenant.

Negative Obligations

Tenant agrees that it shall not, without first obtaining

Landlord’s consent:

(1)

(2)

(3)

Permit its Demised Premises to be used in any

way which will injure the reputation of the same

(or of the Shopping Center) or may be anuisance,

annoyance, inconvenience or damage to the ten-

ants of the Shopping Center or of the neighbor-

hood including, without limiting the generality

of the foregoing, noise by the playing of any mu-

sical instrument or radio or television, or the use

of a microphone, loudspeaker, electrical equip-

ment, or utilizing flashing lights or search lights

or any other equipment which in the judgment of

the Landlord might cause disturbance, impair-

ment orinterference with the use orenjoyment by

any other tenant in the Shopping Center.

Display any merchandise, solicit business or dis-

tribute advertising or promotional matter out-

side its Demised Premises orin any way obstruct

sidewalks or Common Areas adjacent thereto.

Permit deliveries of any kind through the front

eritrance of its Demised Premises except where

no other entrance to the Demised Premises is

available.

4la

(4)

(5)

(6)

(7)

(8)

(9)

(10)

8. Signs

Permit its Demised Premises to be used for lodg-

ing purposes.

Permit any auction sale, fire sale, bankruptcy sale

and/or going-out-of-business sale, or similar types

of sensational sales promotions to be conducted

in the Demised Premises.

Use, occupy, suffer or permit any use of its

Demised Premises which would (a) violate any

law, ordinance or regulation, (b) constitute a

nuisance, (c) constitute an extra-hazardous use,

or (d) violate, suspend or void any policy or

policies of insurance of either Landlord or any

other tenant in the Shopping Center, or increase

the cost of such insurance over and above its nor-

mal cost.

Subject any fixtures, furnishings or equipment in

or on Tenant’s Demised Premises which are af-

fixed to the realty to any mortgages, liens, condi-

tional sales agreements, security interests or en-

cumbrances.

Operate on the Demised Premises or in any part

of the Shopping Center any coin- or token-oper-

ated vending machines or similar devices (in-

cluding without limitation, pay telephones, pay

lockers, pay toilets, scales, amusement devices

and machines for the sale of merchandise and/or

commodities).

Use any forklift truck, tow truck or any other

powered machine for handling freight in the

Demised Premises unless the same be powered

by electricity.

Place aload onany floorinthe Demised Premises

or within the interior of the Shopping Center

which exceeds the floor load per square foot

which such floorwas designed tocarry, orinstall,

operate or maintain therein any heavy item of

equipment except in such manner as to achieve

proper distribution of the weight.

Tenant agrees that it will not erect any signs without first

obtaining Landlord’s approval as to size, color, type and location

of the permitted signs, and Tenant agrees that no sign will be

erected unless it meets the standards as set forth in Exhibit B

attached hereto and made a part hereof. Tenant agrees not to

display any banners, pennants, search lights, window signs,

balloons, or similar temporary advertising media. Tenant agrees

to maintain its signs in a good state of repair and save the Landlord

harmless from any loss, cost or damage as a result of the erection,

maintenance, existence or removal of the same and shall repair any

damage which may have been caused by the erection, existence,

maintenance or removal of such signs. Upon vacating the De-

mised Premises, the Tenant agrees to remove all signs and repair

all damage caused by such removal.

9. Utilities

From the date the work of the Landlord in the Demised

Premises is substantially completed, or from the date Tenant

begins its work in the Demised Premises, whichever first occurs,

Tenant ag es to pay for all utility services rendered or furnished

to the Demised Premises including heat, water, electricity, sprin-

kler charges, fire line charges, sewer rental, sewage treatment

facilities and the like, together with all taxes levied or other charges

on such utilities and governmental charges based on utility con-

sumption, standby utility capacity or potential utility use. If any

such utilities are not separately metered or assessed or are only

partly separately metered or assessed and are used in common

with other tenants of the Shopping Center, Tenant will pay to

Landlord an apportionment of such charges for utilities used in

common based on the gross area leased to each tenant using such

common facilities, in addition to Tenant’s payments of the sepa-

rately metered charges. If Landlord shall supply any such serv-

ices, Tenant will purchase same from Landlord at charges not in

excess of the charges for the services in question made by any util-

ity corporation or governmental agency supplying such utilities in

the area. Any such charges for services supplied by Landlord, or

charges for utilities which may be rebilled by the Landlord, shall

be due and payable as additional rent within ten (10) days after

billings therefor are rendered to Tenant. In no event shall Land-

lord be liable for the quality, quantity, failure or interruption of

such services to the Demised Premises, except where such is due

to Landlord’s gross negligence or wilful misconduct.

10. xes

A. Commencing with the first day of the term of this

lease or the date tenant cpens for business, whichever first occurs,

43a

Tenant shall thereafter pay Tenant's pro rata share of the Real

Estate, Tax Expense which shall include all real estate taxes and

assessments both general and special imposed by federal, state or

local governmental authority or any other taxing authority having

jurisdiction over the Shopping Cente, against the land, buildings

and all otherimprovements within the Shopping Center owned or

leased by the Landlord, together with any and all expenses in-

curred by Landlord in negotiating, reviewing, appeaiing or con-

testing such taxes and assessments. Real Estate Tax Expense shall

include the gross amount of real estate taxes, but such amount

shail not be increased by any additional charges or penalties

incurred by Landlord due to late payment of real estate taxes nor

be reduced by any discount earned by Landlord due to early

payment of real estate taxes Tenant’s pro rata share shall be

computed by multiplying the total of such Real Estate Tax Expense

by a fraction whose numerator is the gross area of Tenant's

Demised Premises and whose denominator is the number of

square feet of total ground floor leasable space within the Shop-

ping Center owned or leased by the Landlord. Tenant hereby

waives any right it may have, by statute or otherwise, to protest the

real estate taxes and assessments.

Landlord shall estimate Tenant’s annual pro rata share of

such Real Estate Tax Expense and one-twelfth (1/12) of the amount

so estimate shall be paid by Tenant on the first (1st) day of each

calendar month in advance. Within ninety (90) days after the end

of each tax year, Landlord shall furnish Tenant a statement in

reasonable detail of the Real Estate Tax Expense for the prior year

and, thereupon, there shall be an adjustment between Landlord

and Tenant with payment to or repayment by Landlord, as the case

may required, to the end that Landlord shall receive the entire

amount of Tenant’s annual pro rata share for such period. Any

repayment that may be due by Landlord to Tenant may, at

Landlord’s option, take the form of a credit on Tenant’s next

succeeding payment or payments pursuant to this clause. If

Tenant's pro rata share is greater than the amount paid by Tenant

during the prior tax year, Tenant shall pay the Landlord the

difference between the amount paid by Tenant and the amount

actually due within ten (10) days after receipt of Landlord’s

statement.

B. Itis the intention of the parties hereto that Landlord

shall receive the rents and other charges required to be paid to

Landlord by Tenant pursuant to this lease on ar absolutely net

basis and that Tenant shall, except as specifically provided in this

lease to the contrary, pay all costs, expenses and obligations of

every kind ornature whatsoever relating to the Demised Premises

or any improvements thereon or to the tenancy therein created by

this lease, which costs, expenses and obligations may arise or

become due during the term of this lease (including any extensions

thereof). Therefore, Tenant alone shall be responsible for payment

of any type of tax, excise or assessment (regardless of label or

whether in the form of a rental tax, gross receipts tax, sales tax,

business or occupation tax, use assessment, privilege tax, fran-

chise tax, or otherwise, except any tax, excise or assessment which

in substance is a net income or franchise tax that is based solely on

Landlord’s net income) levied, assessed or imposed at any time by

any governmental authority upon or against the Demised Prem-

ises, the use or occupancy of the Demised Premises, the rents and

other charges payable by Tenant to Landlord, or otherwise with

respect to the Landlord-Tenant relationship. Tenant shall pay the

full amount of such tax, excise or assessment directly to the

appropriate governmental authority, unless the applicable law

expressly imposes solely on Landlord the duty to pay or collect

such tax, excise or assessment, in which case Tenant shall pay the

full amount of such tax, excise or assessment as additional rent

under this lease to Landlord, on or before the date when any fine,

penalty or interest would be added thereto for nonpayment.

Notwithstanding that the applicable law may impose on Landlord

the duty to pay or collect such tax, excise or assessment, Landlord

shall in no event be obligated by Tenant to pay such tax, excise or

assessment and Landlord shall be indemnified against and saved

harmless from the same by Tenant. IN the event (i) Tenant fails to

timely pay such tax, excise or assessment and Landlord pays the

same, or (ii) Landlord elects in its sole discretion to pay the same

in advance, Tenant shall promptly reimburse Landlord for the

amount thereof (including the fine, penalty or interest, if any) as

additional rent under this lease, and such additional rent shall be

deemed to be due as of the last date before any fine, penalty or

interest would be added to such tax, excise or assessment for

nonpayment. The provisions of this paragraph shall also apply to

any such tax, excise or assessment which may at any time replace

or supplement any tax, excise or assessment described in Section

A or B of this clause.

45a

A. Landlord shall make available from time to time

within the Shopping Center such Common Areas as and to the

extent Landlord shall alone from time to time appropriate. Common

Areas shall be defined as including but not limited to any parking

areas, driveways, service courts, access and egress roads, side-

walks, opened and enclosed courts and malls, landscaped and

planted areas, fire corridors, meeting areas and public restrooms.

Landlord shall operate, mange, equip, light, repair and maintain

said Common Areas for their intended purposes in such manner

as Landlord shall inits sole discretion from time to time determine,

and may from time to time change the size, location, elevation,

nature and/or use of any Common Areas and may make installa-

tions and/or construct, erect, move or remove permanent or

temporary improvements therein or thereon, including but not

necessarily limited to, buildings, structures, booths and kiosks.

Landlord shall have the right to retain revenue from income-

producing events whether or not conducted for promotional

purposes or by or through the Merchants Association or Market-

ing Fund. .

B. Tenant, its officers, employees, customers and

invitees shall have the non-exclusive right in common with Land-

lord and all others to whom landlord has or may hereafter grant

rights, to use said Common Areas as designated by Landlord

subject to such rules and regulations as Landlord may impose.

Landlord may atany time close any Common Area to make repairs

or changes or prevent the acquisition of public rights in such area

or to discourage non-customer parking.

lve Tenant shall pay to Landlord for Landlord’s oper-

ating, maintaining arg repairing said Common Areas, an annual

amount equal to Three and 50/100 Dollars ($3,50) per square foot

of gross area of Tenant’s Demised Premises per calendar year, on

a prorated basis for any period less than a full calendar year. Said

amount shall be considered as additional rent and subject to all of

the provisions of this lease as to default in the payment of rent and

shall be payable within thirty (30) days after the commencement of

this lease or the date the Tenant opens for business, whichever first

occurs, and within thirty (30) days after the commencement of

each calendar year thereafter. Regardless of the gross area of the

Demised Premises, Tenant’s payment hereunder will not be less

than Three Thousand & 00/100 Dollars ($3,000.00) in any calendar

year.

46a

Landlord covenants and agrees to keep and maintain, atits

own cost and expense (except as hereinafter set forth), the roof and

other exterior portions of the Demised Premises and the plumb-

ing, sewage and utility lines outside the building in which the

Demised Premises are located, and to make any structural repairs

in the interior of the Demised Premises; except, however, that

Landlord shall not be responsible for the following, even if exterior

or structural: storefront, doors, door frames, door checks and

operators and windows; reasonable wear and tear; damage caused

by any act or negligence of Tenant, its employees, agents, invitees,

licensees or contractors; such structural or exterior portions not

originally constructed by the Landlord; and any structural or

exterior portions of the Demised Premises abutting an open or

enclosed mall. Other than as herein provided, Landlord shall not

be responsible to make any other improvements or repairs of any

kind in or upon the Demised Premises.

Tenant covenants and agrees to keep and maintain at its

own cost and expense in good order, condition and repair the

Demised Premises and every part thereof, except as hereinbefore

provided, including, but without limitation, the exterior and

interior portions of all doors, door frames, door checks and opera-

tors, windows, plate glass and showcases surrounding the De-

mised Premises, all plumbing and sewage facilities, and electrical

systems within or beneath the Demised Premises, servicing Prem-

ises, fixtures, heating, air-conditioning and electrical equipment,

and interior walls, floors and ceilings, signs and all interior build-

ing appliances and similar equipment, and any portions of the roof

and other exterior areas of the Demised Premises which have been

altered by the Tenant. Tenant further agrees to replace any of said

equipment servicing Premises when necessary at its own cost and

expense.

Tenant shall promptly comply with all present and future

laws, regulations or rules of any county, state, federal and other

governmental authority and any bureau and department thereof,

and of the National Board of Fire Underwriters or any other body

exercising similar function which may be applicable to the De-

mised Premises, including the making of any required structural

changes thereto, except where Landlord is obligated as to such

under this Lease.

_ IfTenant refuses or neglects to commence or complete said

repairs or changes promptly and adequately, Landlord may, but

shall not be required to do so, make or complete said repairs or

changes and Tenant shall pay the cost thereof to Landiord upon

demand, together with the sum equal to fifteen percent (15%) of

said costs for overhead and an additional sum equal to ten percent

(10%) of said amount for profit, all due and payable within ten (10)

days after billing from landlord io Tenant.

13. § ter of Demised Prem

Tenant covenants and agrees to deliver up and surrender

to the Landlord the possession of the Demised Premises upon the

expiration of this lease or its earlier termination, as herein pro-

vided, in as good condition and repair as the same shall be at the

commencement of said term ormay have been put by the Landlord

during the continuance thereof -- ordinary wear and tear and

damage by fire or the elements, excepted. Nothing herein shall be

construed as relieving the Tenant of any of its obligations under

the provisions of Clause 12 above.

14. Property in the Demised Premise

Except as to Tenant's trade fixtures, all leasehold or build-

ing improvements, including without limitation carpeting and

padding, fluorescent light fixtures and heating and air-condition-

ing equipment, and all construction work done by the Tenant or

prior tenants attach to the freehold when installed or completed

and shall be the property of the Landlord, unless abandoned in

writing by Landlord, in which event Tenant shall assume owner-

ship of and responsibility for same. Tenant shall not remove,

destroy or alter any leasehold or building improvement without

first giving adequate prior written notice to Landlord who shall

have the right to demand that Tenant salvage and deliver to

Landlord, at the expense of Tenant, any existing improvement or

construction work. Al! store fixtures or trade fixtures and signs

shall remain the property of the Tenant subject at all times to a

security interest in favor of Landlord to secure Landlord’s claim for

rent and othersums which may become due to the Landlord under

this lease, subordinate to the interests of inventory finance Lender

of Tenant, i.e., Trust Company Bank, Ailanta, Georgia.

Tenant further agrees that all personal property of every

kind or description which may at any time be in the Demised

Premises shall be at the Tenant's sole risk, or at the risk of those

claiming under the Tenant. Landlord shall not be responsible or

liable to Tenant for any loss or damage that may be occasioned by

the acts or omissions of persons occupying any space adjacent to

or adjoining Tenant’s Demised Premises, or any part thereof.

48a

Except for its gross negligence, Landlord shall not be responsible

or liable to Tenant for any loss or damage resulting to Tenant or its

property from roof leaks, water, gas, steam, fire, or the bursting,

stoppage or leaking of sewer pipes, or from the heating or plumb-

ing fixtures, or from electric wires, or from gas or odors, or caused

in any manner whatsoever.

15. Alterations

Tenant further covenants not to permit structural or exte-

rior alterations of or upon any part of the Demised Premises except

by and with the written consent of the Landlord first had. All

alterations and additions to the Demised Premises shall be made

in accordance with all applicable laws, ordinances and regulations

and shall remain for the benefit of the Landlord and the Tenant

further agrees, in the event of making such alterations as herein

provided, to indemnify and save harmless the Landlord from all

expenses, liens, claims or damages to either persons or property or

the Demised Premises, arising out of or resulting from the under-

taking or making of said alterations or additions.

16. Assignment and Subletting

Tenant covenants and agrees not to assign this lease or to

sublet the whole or any part of the Demised Premises, or to permit

any other persons to occupy same, references elsewhere herein to

assignees notwithstanding. Any assignment or subletting, even

with the consent of Landlord, shall not relieve Tenant from liability

for payment of rent or other sums herein provided or for the

obligation to keep and be bound by the terms, conditions and

covenants of this lease, notwithstanding the fact that this lease

may be amended by agreement between such assignee or subten-

ant and Landlord. In the event any assignment or subletting, even

with the consent of Landlord, results in rental income or other

lease charges in an amount greater than that provided for in this

lease, then such excess shall belong to the Landlord and shall be

payable to Landlord as additional rental herein reserved. The

acceptance of rent from any other person shall not be deemed to be

a waiver of any of the provisions of this lease or to be a consent to

the assignment of this lease or subletting of the Demised Premises.

Notwithstanding anything to the contrary contained in

this Clause 16, Landlord shall not unreasonably withhold its

consent to any assignment of this lease unless Landlord shall have

a reasonable basis for withholding such consent, such as, but not

limited to, the financial responsibility, the merchandising ability

49a

and practices, and the general desirability (character and reputa-

tion) of the proposed assignee, and if the net worth of the proposed

assignee shall be at least equal to or the greater of (i) the net worth

of the Tenant as of the date of this lease, or (ii) the net worth of the

Tenant immediately preceding the date of such assignment. Any

such assignment shall be upon and subject to all of the covenants,

provisions and conditions contained in this lease, all of which shall

be assumed by any such assignee by a written instrument satisfac-

tory to Landlord, and such assignment shall not relieve the Tenant

of or from any of its obligations under this lease.

An assignment for the benefit of creditors or oy operation

of law shall not be effective to transfer any rights to assignee

without the written consent of the Landlord first having been

obtained.

Provided Tenantisa corporation, thenifat any time during

the term of this lease any part or all of the corporate shares of

Tenant shall be transferred by sale, assignment, operation of law

or other disposition so as to result in a change in the present

effective voting control of Tenant by the person or persons owning

a majority of said corporate shares on the date of this lease,

excluding transfers between existing shareholders. Tenant shall

promptly notify Landlord in writing of such change, and Landlord

may terminate this lease at any time after such change in control

by giving Tenant ninety (90) days’ prior written notice of such

termination.

17. Holding Over

If the Tenant shall remain in possession of all or any part of

the Demised Premises after the expiration of the term of this lease

or any renewal thereof, then the Tenant shall be deemed a tenant

of the Demised Premises from month to month at one hundred

fifty percent (150%) of the Minimum Rent, Common Area Main-

tenance and Insurance charges payable during the last year of the

term of this lease or any renewal thereof, and subject to all of the

terms and provisions hereof, except only as to the term of this

lease.

8. Access to Demised Premise

Tenant further agrees to permit the Landlord’s agents to

inspect or examine the Demised Premises at any reasonable time

upon reasonable notice (except in an emergency), and to permit

the Landlord to make such repairs to the building of which the

Demised Premises are a part that the Landlord may deem desir-

4

4

E

4

F

‘

:

:

rE

4

3

¥

%

j

:

&

a

£

5

i

able or necessary forits preservation and which the Tenant has not

covenanted herein to do or has failed so to do.

Tenant further agrees that on and after ninety (90) days

next preceding the expiration of the term of this lease the Landlord

orits agents shall have the right to show the Demised Premises to

potential tenants, and to place notices offering the Demised Prem-

ises “To Let” or“ For Sale” on the front of the Demised Premises or

any part thereof.

19. Trade Fixtures

Tenant may, at the expiration of said term, remove all the

Tenant's trade fixtures which can be removed without costly

injury to, orundue defacement of the Demised Premises; provided

all rents stipulated are paid in full and Tenant is not otherwise in

default hereunder, and that any and all damage to Demised

Premises or to Landlord’s premises (resulting from or caused by

such removal) shall be promptly repaired at Tenant's expense.

20. Quiet Enjoyment

Landlord covenants and agrees that if the Tenant shall

perform all of the covenants and agreements herein stipulated to

be performed on the Tenant's part, the Tenant shall, at all times

during said term, have the peaceable and quiet enjoyment and

possession of the Demised Premises without ary manner of

hindrance from the Landlord or any persons lawfully claiming

through the Landlord.

21. Insurance ;

A. Tenant covenants and agrees to obtain and have in

force upon mutual execution and delivery of this lease, and to keep

in force continuously thereafter until the expiration of the entire

term of this lease: (1) comprehensive general liability insurance

relating to the Demised Premises and its appurtenances on an

occurrence basis with minimum limits of liability in amounts of

Two Hundred Fifty Thousand Dollars ($250,000) for bodily injury,

personal injury or death to any one person, Five Hundred Thou-

sand Dollars ($500,000) for bodily injury, personal injury or death

to more than one person, and Five Hundred Thousand Dollars

($500,):00) with respect to damage-to property by water or other-

wice; (2) fire and extended coverage, vandalism, malicious mis-

chief and special extended coverage insurance in an amount

adéquate to cover the cost of replacement of all leasehold or

building improven:ents in the Demised Premises which were

5la

originally constructed by Tenant, as well as the cost of replacement

of all fixtures, equipment, decorations, contents and personal

property therein; (3) plate glass insurance with respect to all plate

and other glass in the Demised Premises; and (4) if there is a boiler

or air-conditioning equipment in, on, adjoining or beneath the

Demises Premises, broad form, boiler or machine insurance in the

amount of One Hundred Thousand Dollars ($100,000). Tenant

agrees to deliver to Landlord, at least fifteen (15) days prior to the

time such insurance is first required to be carried by Tenant, and

thereafter at least fifteen (15) days prior to the expiration of any

such policy, either a duplicate original oracertificate and true copy

of all policies procured by Tenant in compliance with its obliga-

tions hereunder, together with evidence of payment therefor and

including an endorsement which states that such insurance may

not be cancelled except upon ten (10) days’ written notice to

Landlord and any designee(s) of Landlord.

B. All of the aforesaid insurance shall be written by

one (1) or more responsible insurance companies satisfactory to

Landlord; all suchinsurance may be carried undera blanket policy

covering the Demised Premises and any other of Tenant's stores

and shall contain endorsements that: (1) such insurance may not

be canceled or amended with respect to Landlord (or its designee[s]),

except upon ten (10) days’ written notice by registered mail to

Landlord (and such designee[s]}) by the insurance company; and

(2) Tenant shall be solely responsible for payment of premiums for

suchinsurance. Inthe event Tenant fails to furnish such insurance,

the Landlord may obtain such insurance and the premiums shall

be deemed additional rent to be paid by Tenant to the Landlord

upondemand. Itis further agreed that any statements made inthis

section concerning minimum insurance requirements cannot be

construed by the Tenant as indicating either the adequacy or

sufficiency of insurance required for the Tenant’s purposes, nor

shall such requirements be used to define the responsibility of the

Tenant to repair, restore or replace as otherwise covered in this

lease.

wi The minimum limits of the comprehensive general

liability policy of insurance shall in no way limit or diminish

Tenant’s liability under Section D hereof and shall be subject to

increase at any time, and from time to time, after the commence-

ment of the fifth (5th) year of the term hereof if Landlord in the

exercise of iis reasonable judgment shall deem same necessary for

adequate protection. Within thirty (30) days after demana

thereforby Landlord, Tenant shall furnish Landlord with evidence

52a

7 Ae Rae

AER eiypsio Hite

tah Scandic iniice mcaee ee

that such demand has been complied with.

D. Tenant will defend, indemnify and save Landlord

harmless from and against any and all claims and demands in

connection with any accident, injury or damage whatsoever caused

to any person or property arising directly or indirectly out of the

business conducted in the Demised Premises or occurring in, onor

about the Demised Premises or any part thereof, or arising directly

orindirectly from any act or omission of Tenant or any concession-

aire or subtenant or their respective licensees, servants, agents,

employees or contractors, and from and against any and all costs,

expenses and liability incurred in connection with any such claim

or proceeding brought thereon. The comprehensive general liabil-

ity coverage maintained by Tenant pursuant to Section A above

shall specifically insure the contractual obligations of Tenant as set

forth herein. -

E. Tenant agrees, at its own cost and expense, to

comply with all of the rules, regulations and recommendations of

the Fire Insurance Rating Organization having jurisdiction and

any similar body. If at any time and from time to time, as a result

of or in connection with any failure by Tenant to comply with the

foregoing sentence or any act of omission or commission by

Tenant, its employees, agents, contractors or licensees, or as a

result of or in connection with the use to which the Demised

Premises are put (notwithstanding that such use may be for the

purposes hereinbefore permitted or that such use may have been

consented to by Landlord), the fire insurance rate(s) applicable to

the Demised Premises, or the building in which same are located,

or to any other premises in said building, or to any adjacent

property owned or controlled by Landlord, or an affiliate of

Landlord, and/or to the contents in any or all of the aforesaid

properties shall be higher than that which would be applicable for

the lease hazardous type of occupancy legally permitted therein,

Tenant agrees that it will pay to Landlord, on demand, as addi-

tional rental, such portion of the premiums for all fire insurance

policies in force with respect to the aforesaid properties and the

contents of any occupant thereof as shall be attributable to such

higher rate(s). If Tenant installs any electrical equipment that

overloads the lines in the Demised Premises or the building which

the Demised Premises are located, Tenant shall, at its own cost and

expense, promptly make whatever changes are necessary to remedy

such condition and to comply with all requirements of the Land-

lord and the Board of Fire Insurance Underwriters and any similar

body and any governmental authority having jurisdiction thereof.

53a

For the purpose of this paragraph, any finding or schedule of the

Fire Insurance Rating Organization having jurisdiction thereof

shall be deemed to be conclusive. In the event that this lease so

permits and Tenant engages in the preparation of food or pack-

aged foods or engages in the use, sale or storage of inflammable or

combustible material, Tenant shall install chemical extinguishing

devices (such as ansul) approved by the Fire Insurance Rating

Organization and shall keep such devices under service as re-

quired by such organization. If gas is used in the Demised

Premises, Tenant shall install gas cutoff devices (manual and

automatic). :

F. Each insurance policy carried by Landlord or Ten-

ant and insuring all or any part of the Shopping Center, the

Demised Premises, including improvements, alterations and changes

in and to the Demised Premises made by eiiher of them and

Tenant's trade fixtures therein, shall be written in a manner to

provide that the insurance company waives all right of recovery by

way Of subrogation against Landlord or Tenant as the case may be,

in connection with any loss or damage to the Demised Premises

property or businesses caused by any of the perils covered by fire

and extended coverage, building and contents, and business

interruption insurance, or for which either party may be reim-

bursed as a result of insurance coverage afiecting any loss suffered

by it; provided, however, that the foregoing waivers shall apply

only to the extent of any recovery made by the parties hereto under

any policy of insurance now or hereafter issued. So long as the

policy or policies involved can be so written and maintained in

effect, neither Landlord nor Tenant shall be liable to the other for

any such loss or damage. In the event of inability on the part of

either party to obtain such provision in its policy or policies with

the carrier with whom such insurance is then carried, or such

carriers requiring payment of additional premium for such provi-

sion, the party so affected shall give the other party written notice

of such inability or the increase in premium as the case may be.

The party to whom such notice is given shall have fifteen (15) days

from the receipt thereof within which: (1) in the case of such

inability on the part of the other carrier, to procure from the

aforesaid party's insurance carrier in writing, at no increase in

premium over that paid theretofore by the party so affected, such

waiver of subrogation; (2) in the case of increased premium, to pay

the party so affected the amount of such increase; (3) to waive, in

writing, within the time limit set forth herein, such requirement to

obtain the aforesaid waiver of subrogation. Should the party to

whom such notice is given fail to comply as aforesaid within the

said fifteen (15) day period, each and every provision in this para-

graph in favor of such defaulting party shall be cancelled and of no

further force and effect. It is further agreed that no right of

recovery shall be waived by a party if that party has elected, within

the scope of this agreement, to self-insure (in whole or in part and

to the extent of such self-insurance) as respects any insurance

required herein, if damages sustained are deemed to be a result of

negligence on the part of Landlord or Tenant.

G. Landlord agrees to maintain: (1) comprehensive

general liability insurance relating to the Shopping Center and its

Common Areas onan occurrence basis in the minimum amount of

One Million Dollars ($1,000,000); (2) fire and extended coverage,

vandalism, malicious mischief and special extended coverage

insurance to the extent of the replacement value of the Shopping

Center buildings and improvements originally constructed by

Landlord. Tenant agrees to pay to Landlord, as its share of

Landlord’s general insurance costs and expenses, an annual amount

equal to twenty cents (20¢) persquare foot of gross area of Tenant's

Demised Premises per calendar year (but not less than One

Hundred Fifty & 00/100 Dollars [$150.00] per calendar year), to be

adjusted annually upward or downward, but never less than the

above amount, in directed proportion to the increase or decrease

of the annual cost and expense to Landlord for such insurance

from the date of this lease to the annual period in question. Said

amount to be paid by Tenant shall be considered as additional rent

and subject to all of the provisions of this lease as to default in the

payment of rent and shall be payable within thirty (30) days after

the commencement of this lease or the date the Tenant opens for

business, whichever first occurs, and within thirty (30) days of the

commencement of each calendar year thereafter.

22. Eminent Domain

A. If the whole of the Demised Premises, or such

portion thereof as to render the remainder unsuitable for the

purposes forwhich the Demised Premises were leased, be taken or

condemned for any public or quasi-public use or purposes by any

competent authority in appropriation proceedings or by any nght

of eminent domain, then this lease shall cease and terminate from

the time possession thereof is required for publicuse. Any dispute

under the provisions of this paragraph shall be submitied to the

American Arbitration Association in accordance with its proce-

dures at such time, which determination shall be binding upon the

55a

parties hereto.

B. If any part of the Demised Premises shall be so

taken and this lease shall not terminate under the provisions of

Section A above, then Landlord at its own expense, shall repair and

restore the portion not affected by the taking and thereafter the

Minimum Rent to be paid by Tenant shall be equitably and

proportionately adjusted. The repair and restoration work of

Landlord shall not, however, exceed the scope of the work re-

quired to be done by Landlord in originally constructing Tenant's

Demised Premises and the cost thereof shall not exceed the net

proceeds of the condemnation award actually received and re-

tained by Landlord.

S All compensation awarded or paid upon such a

total or partial taking shall belong to and be the property of

Landlord without participation by Tenant and without any deduc-

tion therefrom for any present or future estate of Tenant. Tenant

shall, however, be entitled to claim, prove and receive in such

condemnation proceedings, such award as may beallowed forloss

of business and for fixtures and other equipment installed by

Tenant, provided that no such claim of Tenant shall diminish or

otherwise adversely affect Landlord’s award or the award of any

and all ground and underlying lessors and mortgagees.

23. Fire or Other Casualty

A. Should the Demised Premises (or any part thereof)

be damaged or destroyed by fire or other casualty insured under

the standard fire and casualty insurance policy with approved

standard extended coverage endorsement applicable to the Demised

Premises, Landlord shall, except as otherwise provided herein,

and to the extent it recovers proceeds from such insurance, repair

and/or rebuild the same with reasonable diligence. Landlord’s

obligation hereunder shall be limited to the building and improve-

ments originally provided by Landlord when the Demised Prem-

ises were originally constructed. Landiord shall not be obligated

to repair, rebuild or replace any property telonging to Tenant or

any improvements to the Demised Premises furnished by Tenant.

Unless this lease is terminated by Landlord as hereinafter pro-

vided, Tenant shall, atits cost and expense, repair, restore, redeco-

rate and refixture the Demised Premises and restock the contents

thereofina manner and to at least a condition equal to that existing

prior to such damage or destruction, except for the building and

improvements to be reconstructed by landlord as above set forth,

and the proceeds of all insurance carried by Tenant on the prop-

erty, decorations and improvements as well as fixtures and con-

tents in the Demised Premises shall be expended by Tenant for

such purposes. In the event the Demised Premises are completely

or partially destroyed or so damaged by fire or other casualty and

this lease is not terminated as hereinafter provided, there shall be

no abatement of rent; it being understood and agreed that the

~ Tenant shall, at its sole discretion, cost and expense, procure

necessary insurance to protect itself against any interruption of its

business.

B. Notwithstanding anything to the contrary con-

tained in the preceding Section A or elsewhere in this lease,

Landlord at its option may terminate this lease on thirty (30) days’

notice to Tenant, given within ninety (90) days after the occurrence

of any damage or destruction if (1) the Demised Premises be

damaged or destroyed as a result of a risk which is not covered by

Landlord’s insurance, or (2) the Demised Premises be damaged

and the cost to repair the same shall be more than twenty-five

percent (25%) of the cost of replacement thereof, or (3) the Demised

Premises be damaged during the last three (3) years of the term, or

(4) the building of which the Demised Premises are a part shall be

damaged to the extent of twenty-five percent (25%) or more of the

then monetary value thereof (whether the Demised Premises be

damaged or not), or (5) if any or all of the buildings or Common

Areas of the Shopping Center are damaged (whether or not the

Demised Premises are damaged) to such an extent that, in the sole

judgment of Landlord, the Shopping Center cannot be operated as

an integral unit.

wa Except to the extent specifically provided forin this

lease, none of the rentals payable by Tenant, nor any of Tenant’s

other obligations under any provisions of this lease, shall be

affected by any damage to or destruction of the Demised Premises

by any cause whatsoever, and Tenant hereby specifically waives

any and all additional rights it might otherwise have under any

law or statute.

24. Default by Tenant

In the event:

(a) Tenant shall fail to pay ariy rental or other charges

when due hereunder and such default continues for

more than ten (10) days; or

(b) Tenant shall fail to observe or perform any of the other

terms, conditions or covenants of this lease to be ob-

served or performed by Tenant and such default con-

tinues for more than ten (10) days; or

57a

(c) Tenant or an agent of Tenant shall falsify any report

required to be furnished to Landlord pursuant to the

terms of this lease; or

(d) Tenant or anagent of Tenant shall suffer this lease to be

taken under any writ of execution,

then Landlord, besides other rights or remedies it may have, shall

have the immediate right to terminate this lease, in which event

Tenant shall have no further right, title or interest in orto either the

Demised Premises or this lease, or to reenter and attempt to relet

without terminating this lease and, in either event, to remove all

persons and property from the Demised Premises and store such

property in a public warehouse or elsewhere at the cost of and for

the-account of Tenant, all without demand, service of notice cr

resort to legal process and without being deemed guilty of trespass

or becoming liable for any loss or damage which may be occa-

sioned the: eby. Notwithstanding any provision of this lease to the

contrary, Landlord, at its option, may, without terminating this

lease or affecting Tenant’s obligation to pay Percentage Rent and

othercharges equivalent to rent, declare the entire amount of Mini-

mum Rent for the remainder of the term of this lease immediately

due and payable and collect such amount by any lawful proce-

dure.

If at any time after the execution of this lease, Tenant or any

Guarantor of this lease shall commence, in any court pursuant to

any Statute either of the United State or of any State, an insolvency

or bankruptcy proceeding (including, without limitation, a pro-

ceeding for liquidation, reorganization or for adjustment of debts

of an individual with regular income), or if such a proceeding is

commenced against Tenant or any Guarantor of this lease and

either an ordez for relief is entered against such party orsuch party

fails to secure a discharge of the proceeding within thirty (30) days

of the filing thereof, or if Tenant or any Guarantor of this lease

becomes insolvent or is unable or admits in writing its inability to

pay its debts as they become due, or makes an assignment for the

benefit of creditors or petitions for or enters into an arrangement

with its creditors or a custodian is appointed or takes possession

of Tenant’s or any Guarantor’s property, whether or not a judicial

proceedings is instituted in connection with such arrangement or

in connection with the appointment of such custodian (each of the

foregoing events are hereinafter referred to as an “act of bank-

ruptcy”), then Landlord, besides other rights or remedies it may

have, shall have the immediate right to terminate this lease or

reenter and attempt to relet without terminating this lease and

remove ail persons and property from the Demised Premises and

such property may be removed and stored in a public warehouse

or elsewhere at the cost of, and for the account of, Tenant, all

without service of notice or resort to legal process and without

being deemed guilty of trespass, or becoming liable for any loss or

damage which may be occasioned thereby and Landlord may

retain as liquidated damages any rent or money received by

Landlord from Tenant or others on behalf of Tenant. In the event

of a proceeding involving Tenant under the Bankruptcy Code, 11

U.S.C. 101 et seq., if this lease is assumed by Tenant’s trustee in

bankruptcy (after he has cured all existing defaults, compensated

Landlord for any loss resulting therefrom and provided adequate

assurance of future performance), then this lease may not be as-

signed by the trustee toa third party, unless such party (i) executes

and delivers to Landlord an agreement in recordable form whereby

such party assumes and agrees with Landlord to discharge all

obligations of Tenant under this lease, including, without limita-

tion the provisions of Clause 6 relating to the permitted use of the

Demised Premises and the manner of operation thereof; (ii) has a

net worth and operating experience at least comparable to that

possessed by Tenant named herein and any Guarantor of this lease

as of the execution of this lease; and (iii) grants Landlord, to secure

the performance of such party's obligations under this lease, a

security interest in such party's merchandise, inventory, personal

property, fixtures, furnishings, and accounts receivable (and inthe

proceeds ofall of the foregoing) with respect to its operations in the

Demised Premises, and in connection therewith, such party shall

execute such security agreements, financing statements and other

documents (the forms of which are to be designated by Landlord)

as are necessary to perfect such lien.

If Landlord, withou* terminating this lease, either (i) elects

to reenter and attempts to relet, as hereinbefore provided, or (ii)

takes possession pursuant to legal proceeding

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.