Petition for Writ of Certiorari — V-1 Oil Co. v. Gerber

Supreme Court brief1990

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

- Supreme Court, U.S,

* FILED

90-1 82 ju. 23 Wee

JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR.

No. CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

V-1 OIL COMPANY,

US.

STEVEN P. GERBER, Respondent.

Petitioner,

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

Law Offices of Andrews & Anderson, P.C.

F. M. ANDREWS, JR., ESQ.

ROBERT O. ANDERSON, ESQ.

Broadway and Park :

Riverton, Wyoming 82501

(307) 856-9279

Attorneys for Petitioner

V-1 Oil Company

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

IS THE ADVICE OF AN ATTORNEY, STANDING

ALONE, THAT A STATE STATUTE ALLOWS

WARRANTLESS INSPECTION, A SUFFICIENTLY

EXTRAORDINARY CIRCUMSTANCE TO ALLOW

THE DEFENSE OF QUALIFIED IMMUNITY TO

STAND ON SUMMARY JUDGMENT, WHEN THE

LAW PROHIBITING SUCH WARRANTLESS IN-

SPECTIONS WAS CLEARLY ESTABLISHED, AND

THE ADVICE SOUGHT AND GIVEN DID NOT CON-

CERN THE CONSTITUTIONALITY OF THE ADMIN-

ISTRATIVE SEARCH STATUTE.

LIST OF PARTIES

All the parties are listed in the case caption.

li

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

Question Presented For Review ................. i

eae eee eseccetccuctecesee ii

en cea neisud buenas iii

EE ree iv

is cad ab ek bes ec0vssssceeeese l

ce ceed ea seseceecsesesecs 2

Constitutional Provisions and Statutes Involved... 2

ee es Se cwiseccctceseces 5

Reasons for Granting the Writ .................. 8

I. Resolution of the Questions is Necessary

to settle an Important Federal LawIssue .... 8

II. The Court’s Decision is in Conflict With

Its Own Prior Holdings and Decisions of

The Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals ........ 12

Ts eels wékeda ese d 6d ek eeees 13

NE A

A. Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Tenth Circuit in V-/ Oil

Company v. State of Wyoming, Department

of Environmental Quality; Steven P. Gerber,

F’ ke Se re A-1

B. Order of the United States District Court

Granting Defendant’s Motion for

Ee B-1

ce ckeeenseneucs

ea cd ce wes eb eadess euesees

ili

_ TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Alexander v. Alexander, 573 F. Supp. 373, 375,

m. 4 (MLD. Tema. 19GB)... onc ccccccccccccess

Burk v. Unified School District No. 329,

646 F. Supp. 1557, 1568 (D. Kan. 1986) .....

Donovan v. Dewey, 425 U.S. 594, 600, 602, 603

EE hau suk deus Gace eaaseesebd ones 0

England v. Hendricks, 880 F* 281, 284

GRE, SEED. aca cdecdasesescacusccene

Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800, 818,

102 S. Ct. 2727, 2738, 2739, (1982) .........

Johnston v. Koppes, 850 F’ 594, 596

a 5d aa ca ecdeteeeve ceases

Lavicky v. Burnett, 758 F’ 468, 476

EE a used iNbsev dace s sce

Lutz v. Weld County School District,784 F*

340, 342-343 (10th Cir. 1986) ..............

Marshall v. Barlow’s, Inc. 436 U.S. 307, 313-314

DD ctclechnduad suede adveeeescesn0

Melton v. City of Oklahoma City, 879 F° 706,

730-731 (10th Cir.), reh’g. en banc, 888 F°

PE Eo neste endbncennses

Mitchell v. Forsythe, 472 U.S. 511, 86 L. Ed’.

411, 105 S. Ct. 2806 (1988) ................

New York v. Burger, 482 U.S. 691 (1987) ......

Ortega v. City of Kansas City, Kansas,

659 F. Supp. 1201, 1211, (D. Kan. 1987) .......

Powell v. Mikulecky, 891 F’ 1456, 1457

es atte csi d eek uewcens

iv

PAGE

See v. City of Seattle, 387 U.S. 541, 546,

8 Ee per oe pods La hee pies eee aan 8

Tanner v. Hardy, 764 F’ 1024, 1027,

GUN EE a hak b en eed akeee dsb odes 9

V-1 Oil Company v. State of Wyoming,

Department of Environmental Quality, and

Steven P. Gerber, 696 F. Supp. 578

Se WL NS sk ok cae ak coe kkebe 1

V-1 Oil Company v. State of Wyoming,

Department of Environmental Quality, and

Steven P. Gerber, F’

Gee ES Siva cassdeseerieidamek. 1

Watertown Equipment Co. v. Norwest Bank of

Watertown, 830 F’ 1487, 1490, 1495

TR cus 9, 10, 13

Wentz v. Klecker, 721 F° 244, 247

ee ey oe re ey, 2 ee 9, 10

Rules, Statutes and Constitutional Provisions

SS Shas LD a bao 5k sdbecsa. eee 6

ae Seas E's sca ca views caenein ne 2

a ae S| mr en Tt 6

Ss ee ne nc ca ea eee 3, 4,6

Wyo. Stat. § 35-11-109(a) (vi) (1977,

I See 4, 5, 6, 7

Constitution of the United States,

IP eich Geo a. ee

Constitution of the United States,

Amendment V .............. Si ee eae y ae ey

Constitution of the United States,

SE oot 4 ee as

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

V-1 OIL COMPANY,

US.

STEVEN P. GERBER, Respondent.

Petitioner,

> om

aol

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

To the Honorable, The Chief Justice and Associate

Justices of the Supreme Court of the United States:

V-1 Oil Company, petitioner herein, prays

that a writ of certiorari issue to review the judg-

ment of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Tenth Circuit entered in this case on April

30, 1990.

OPINIONS BELOW

The majority and dissenting opinions of the Court of

Appeals for the Tenth Circuit entered April 30, 1990, has

not yet been reported. A copy of the opinion is attached.

(Appendix A). The opinion of the U.S. District Court is

reported at 696 F. Supp. 578 (D. Wyo. 1988). The Order

l

Granting Defendant’s Motion for Summary Judgment was

entered September 28, 1988. A copy of the Order is

attached. (Appendix B).

JURISDICTION

The Judgment of the United States Court of Appeals

was entered on April 30, 1990. Jurisdiction of this Court is

invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND

STATUTES INVOLVED

The following constitutional provisions and statutes

are involved:

Constitution of the United States, Amendment IV

Security from Unwarrantable Search and Seizure

The right of the people to be secure in their persons,

houses, papers, and effects, against unreasonable

searches and seizures, shall not be violated, and no

Warrants shall issue, but upon probable cause, supported

by Oath or affirmation, and particularly describing the

place to be searched, and the persons or things to be

seized.

Constitution of the United States, Amendment V

Rights of Accused in Criminal Proceedings

No person shall be held to answer for a capital, or

2

otherwise infamous crime, unless on a presentment or

indictment of a Grand Jury, except in cases arising in the

land or naval forces, or in the Militia, when in actual service

in time of War or public danger; nor shall any person be

subject for the some offense to be twice put in jeopardy of

life or limb; nor shall he be compelled in any criminal case

to be a witness against himself, nor be deprived of life,

liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor shall

private property be taken for public use, without just

compensation.

Constitution of the United States, Amendment XIV

Section 1. Citizenship Rights Not to Be Abridged

by States

All persons born or naturalized in the United States and

subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of the

United States and of the State wherein they reside. No

State shall make or enforce any law which shall abridge the

privileges or immunities of citizens of the United States;

nor shall any State deprive any person of life, liberty, or

property, witnout due process of law; nor deny to any per-

son within its jurisdiction the equal protection of the

laws.

Title 42 U.S.C. § 1983

Every person who, under color of any statute, or-

dinance, regulation, custom, or usage, of any State or

Territory or the District of Columbia, subjects, or causes to

be subjected, any citizen of the United States or other per-

son within the jurisdiction thereof to the deprivation of any

rights, privileges, or immunities secured by the Constitu-

tion and laws, shall be liable to the party injured in an

3

a

action at law, suit in equity, or other proper proceeding for

redress. For the purposes of this section, any Act of Con- \

gress applicable exclusively to the District of Columbia

shall be considered to be a statute of the District of

Columbia.

§ 35-11-109, W.S. 1977, Amended 1988.

Powers and duties of director.

(a) In addition to any other powers and duties

imposed by law, the director of the department

shall:

(vi) Designate authorized officers, employees

or representatives of the department to enter and

inspect any property, premise or place, except

private residences, on or at which an air, water or

land pollution source is located or is being con-

structed or installed, or any premises in which

any records required to be maintained by a sur-

face coal mining permittee are located. Persons

so designated may inspect and copy any records

during normal office hours, and inspect any mon-

itoring equipment or method of operation re-

quired to be maintained pursuant to this act at

any reasonable time (upon reasonable notice)

upon presentation of appropriate credentials,

and without delay, for the purpose of inves-

tigating actual or potential sources of air, water or

land pollution and for determining compliance or

noncompliance with this act, and any rules, reg-

ulations, standards, permits or orders pro-

mulgated hereunder. For surface coal mining

operations, right of entry to or inspection of any

4

operation, premises, records or equipment shall

not require advance notice. The owner, occupant

or operator shall receive a duplicate copy of all

reports made as a result of such inspections

within thirty (30) days. The department shall

reimburse any operator for the reasonable costs

incurred in producing copies of the records

requested by the department under this ¢ ection;

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

MATERIAL FACTS

Petitioner V-1 Oil Company owns and operates a self-

service gasoline station in Lander, Wyoming. It sells retail

gasoline and liquified petroleum gas to retail customers.

On April 28, 1988, the dirt and concrete had been

removed from the top of the gasoline storage tanks pre-

paratory for a pressure test for leaks pursuant to an order

of the Wyoming Environmental Quality Council. Respon-

dent Steven Gerber is an engineer with the Department of

Environmental Quality, Water Quality Division (DEQ).

On April 28, 1988, Mr. Gerber drove by the station and saw

concrete being broken out. He thought some storage tanks

were being removed and wanted to inspect the work. He

could not see the tanks without being on the property.

(Gerber Deposition, pp. 16, 17, 27). On that morning while

excavation was first in progress, Mr. Gerber came to the

excavation site and was asked to leave by the station

manager for V-1. The area had been roped off from the

general public with barrels, piping and flags. (Evans’

Deposition, pp. 15, 24-25; Wood Affidavit, Document No.

15). Mr. Gerber returned about 1:30 p.m. and again was

asked to leave the premises by Mr. Leonard Wood, V-1’s

area manager. Rick Evans, the station manager, on the

5

same day, told the day worker, Steve Drake, who came on

duty at approximately 3:00 p.m., that if any DEQ people

came to inspect, they were to be told to stay in the station

until he, Rick Evans, could get there. During the day, Ger-

ber had contacted Steve Jones, Assistant Attorney Gen-

eral for Wyoming, who advised him that § 35-11-109(a) (vi)

permitted warrantless searches. (Gerber Affidavit, Jones’

Affidavit, in support of Motion for Summary Judgment).

Mr. Gerber again returned to the station at 8:20 p.m.,

when all management people were gone, for the purpose of

gathering evidence of a possible DEQ violation. (Gerber

Deposition, pp. 16-21). He was accompanied by two peo-

ple, one of whom was a policeman. He showed the atten-

dant a business card and identified himself. He was told by

the station employee he was to stay in the station until Rick

Evans, the manager, arrived. Nevertheless, Gerber, claim-

ing he had the authority to inspect “under state law”

(Drake Deposition, pp. 7, 11, 13, 22), then proceeded to the

excavation site, took a sample of dirt, which he handed to

the policeman who had accompanied him, who then left

with the sample. When a demand for the return of the sam-

ple was made by Mr. Evans, Mr. Gerber stated he did not

have the sample. He later retrieved the sample from the

policeman. (Gerber Affidavit, Ex. 5).

PROCEEDINGS BELOW

Petitioner V-1 Oil Company brought this action in the

United States District Court, District of Wyoming, pur-

suant to 42 U.S.C. § 1983. Jurisdiction of that Court is

based on 42 U.S.C. § 1983, 28 U.S.C. § 1331 and 18 U.S.C.

§ 1343(3).

Named as defendants were the State of Wyoming,

Department of Environmental Quality and Steven P. Ger-

ber, alleging a warrantless search of V-1’s premises and

6

the seizure of a sample of soil, in violation of plaintiff's 4th,

5th and 14th Amendment rights to be free from unreason-

able search and seizure and to not be deprived of its pro-

perty without due process.

Defendants claimed 11th Amendment immunity on

behalf of the State and qualified good faith immunity on

behalf of Gerber, and further claimed that Gerber was law-

fully on the premises under the authority of § 35-11-109(a)

(vi) of the Wyoming Environmental Quality Act.

On Motion for Summary Judgment, the Honorable

Alan R. Johnson, Judge, granted the State’s Motion based

on its 11th Amendment immunity. The District Court

further found that § 35-11-109(a) (vi) allowed warrantless

searches; that the search was reasonable; that there was no

clearly established law prohibiting Gerber’s actions.

On appeal, the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals, revers-

ing in part, found that the subject statute authorized

warrantless searches, but that the statute did not provide a

constitutionally adequate substitute for a warrant; that the

law was clearly established and that Gerber’s warrantless

search violated petitioner’s 4th Amendment rights.

The Court then held that Gerber was qualifiedly

immune, (Judge Ebel dissenting) on the grounds of ex-

traordinary circumstances, i.e., that the statute had never

been tested in any court and that an Assistant Attorney

General advised Gerber that the statute authorized

warrantless searches. Gerber neither inquired, nor was he

advised, that the statute violated the Petitioner V-1’s con-

stitutional rights.

The defense of “extraordinary circumstances” was

never raised by their Respondent Gerber in the lower

Court, nor in the Circuit Court of Appeals. This defense

was brought up by the Circuit Court for the first time in

its opinion.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. Resolution of the Questions is Necessary to Settle

an Important Federal Law Issue

A. Introduction

The law requiring that a statute purporting to permit

warrantless searches must provide a constitutionally ade-

quate substitute for a warrant, has long been established.

Administrative searches conducted pursuant to statute of

general application require a search warrant. See v. City of

Seattle, 387 U.S. 541, 546 (1967); Marshall v. Barlow’s, Inc.,

436 U.S. 307, 313-314 (1978). The statute inspection pro-

gram in terms of certainty and regularity of its application

must provide a constitutionally adequate substitute for a

warrant. New York v. Burger, 482 U.S. 691 (1987), Donovan

v. Dewey, 425 U.S. 594, 600, 602, 603 (1981). Government

officials performing discretionary functions generally are

shielded from liability for civil damages insofar as their

conduct does not violate clearly established rights of

which a reasonable person would have known. Harlow v.

Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800, 818, 102 S.Ct. 2727, 2738, 2739

(1982). The test is an objective standard. /bid. at 818, n. 30,

102 S.Ct. 2739, n.30.

... The judge appropriately may determine, not

only the current applicable law, but whether that

law was clearly established at that time . . . if the

law was clearly established, the immunity de-

fense will ordinarily fail, since a reasonably com-

petent public official should have known the law

governing his conduct. Nevertheless if the official

pleading the defense claims extraordinary cir-

cumstances, and can prove that he neither knew

8

ora

nor should have known of the relevant legal stan-

dard, the defense should stand.

Harlow, supra, at 818, 102 S.Ct. at 2739.

B. The Advice of Counsel Alone, Is Not An

“Extraordinary Circumstance”’.

The question of the advice of counsel constituting a

factual defense of extraordinary circumstances has

never been decided by the Supreme Court. Indeed, what

may or may not constitute “extraordinary circumstances”

has never been addressed. Consequently, the law is unset-

tled and district and circuit courts have applied a variety of

rulings to deal with this issue.

Reliance on advice of counsel has upheld the

defense of qualified immunity in “perilous” situations,

Tanner v. Hardy, 764 F°1024, 1027 (4th Cir. 1988), (whether

to release or hold juvenile rapist beyond sentence); “uni-

que” situation, Wentz v. Klecker, 721 F° 244, 247 (8th Cir.

1983), (whether employee entitled to hearing under state

law, when law and employee’s status as contract employee

not clear); law unclear or unsettled, Mitchell v. Forsythe,

472 U.S. 511, 86 L.Ed’. 411, 105 S.Ct. 2806 (1988),

England v. Hendricks, 880 F’ 281, 284 (10th Cir. 1989), Alex-

ander v. Alexander, 573 F. Supp. 373, 375, n. 4 (M.D. Tenn.

1983), Burk v. Unified School District No. 329, 646 F. Supp.

1557, 1568 (D. Kan. 1986).

The defense of qualified immunity based on advice of

counsel has been denied, when law clearly established.

Watertown Equipment Co. v. Norwest Bank of Watertown,

830 F’ 1487, 1490 (8th Cir. 1987); advice did not address

constitutionality of the dismissal procedure invoked,

Johnston v. Koppes, 850 F’ 594, 596 (9th Cir. 1988). Reliance

on the advice of counsel alone will not satisfy an official’s

9

burden of acting reasonably. Wentz v. Klecker, supra, 247,

Watertown Equipment Co. v. Norwest Bank of Watertown,

supra, at 1495; advice of counsel in certain circumstances

rises to the level of extraordinary circumstances and is an

evidentiary issue to be presented to the jury. Ortega v. City

of Kansas City, Kansas, 659 F. Supp. 1201, 121), (D. Kan.

1987). Cf. Burk v. Unified School District No. 329, supra, at

1568, advice of counsel no defense on award of attorney’s

fees to prevailing plaintiff.

C. The Defense Of Extraordinary

Circumstances Based On Advice of

Counsel Raises a Factual Issue

In Lutz v. Weld County School District, 784 F° 340 (10th

Cir. 1986), the Tenth Circuit outlined the procedural steps

necessary for determining whether a defendant is entitled

to the defense of qualified immunity. The defendant must

first assert the defense, i.e., that he was performing a dis-

cretionary duty. Plaintiff must then prove that the law

relied on by plaintiff was clearly established at the time of

the alleged deprivation of civil rights. If the Court deter-

mines that the law was not clearly established, the Court

must enter judgment for the defendant, id. at 342-343. If, on

the other hand, the plaintiff convinces the Court that the

law was Clearly established, the Court must proceed to de-

termine whether the defendant has raised a fact issue as

to whether “exceptional circumstances” exist such that a

reasonable person in his position would not have known of

the relevant legal standard. If the defendant raises such a

fact issue, the defendant is entitled to a jury instruction on

the defense. If no fact issue is raised, the defendant is not

entitled to the defense as a matter of law.

In summation, the consensus of the opinions of the

various courts lean toward a granting of the defense when

10

the law was unsettled or the applicable statute unclear,

and toward a denial of the defense of qualified immunity

when the law was settled, unless the defendant raises a suf-

ficient factual issue of extraordinary circumstances to sub-

mit the question to the jury or trier of fact. Advice of

counsel appears to be only one element to be considered,

when extraordinary circumstances are claimed.

In the case at bar, the Tenth Circuit, without the

assertion of the defense of extraordinary circumstances by

the defendant, simply found as a matter of law that,

although the rights of the plaintiff were clearly settled, per

Donovan v. Dewey, supra, New York v. Burger, supra, and

Marshall v. Barlow’s, Inc., supra, the fact that the con-

stitutionality of the statute had not been judicially deter-

mined by any court, and that although the advice of council

was simply that the statute “permitted” warrantless entry,

without opinion as to the constitutionality of the statute,

constituted an extraordinary circumstance, thereby sub-

verting the plaintiff's right to have the question of rea-

sonableness submitted to a trier of fact.

The advice of counsel even of the dignity of a State’s

attorney general, coupled with the absence of a prior deci-

sion establishing that a specific search statute is uncon-

stitutional, is not such an extraordinary circumstance as to

warrant granting qualified immunity. To so hold would

negate the force of this Court’s historic rulings on the need

to protect a clearly established right.

There are literally hundreds of laws which have

never been tested for their constitutionality. To allow the

defense of advice of counsel that such a law “permits” the

proscribed act, would simply eliminate the clearly estab-

lished right, and render any attorney’s opinion an extraor-

dinary circumstance, when the issue of constitutionality is

neither requested nor tendered.

11

Any public employee acting under a warrantless

search statute can circumvent “clearly established” rule

by pointing out to the trial court that the statute has not

been tested or declared unconstitutional and that he acted

on advice of counsel. The danger is that counsel is not the

person whose reasonableness is being measured.

II. The Court’s Decision Is In Conflict With Its Own

Prior Holdings And Decisions Of The Eighth

Circuit Court of Appeals

A. Introduction

In the case at bar, the Circuit Court held as a matter of

law that the petitioner’s right not to be inspected without a

search warrant pursuant to such a statute as the Wyoming

Environmental Quality Act was clearly established. The

Court then ruled that extraordinary circumstances “pre-

vented” the respondent from knowing the relevant legal

standard. These extraordinary circumstances were: the

Assistant Attorney General’s advice that the statute per-

mitted such search and that the statute had not been pre-

viously tested in any court. Appendix A-14.

The Tenth Circuit Court has previously held that

when a duty is unclear, it is a defense that the defendant

relied on the advice of the prosecuting attorney’s office.

Lavicky v. Burnett, 758 F° 468, 476 (10th Cir. 1985).

The Tenth Circuit Court rejected the defense of

advice of counsel in Melton v. City of Oklahoma City, 879 F°

706, 730-731 (10th Cir.), reh’g. en banc granted on other

grounds, 888 F’ 724 (10th Cir. 1989) stating:

Where the law is clearly established, there is no

justification for excusing individuals from lia-

bility for their actions.

12

Reliance on legal advice is not a factual dispute, but

rather is a legal question of whether counsel’s advice was

objectively reasonable in light of the prevailing law. Powell

v. Mikulecky, 891 F° 1456, 1457 (10th Cir. 1989).

On the other hand, the Eighth Circuit seems to square

with the majority of the District and Circuit Court cases

which require advice of counsel to be considered, when the

law is unclear and unusual facts exist which would prevent

a reasonable person knowing they violated another’s con-

stitutional rights. Burk v. Unified School District No. 329,

supra, at 1568 (D. Kan. 1986).

The advice of counsel would not satisfy a defendant’s

burden of acting reasonably, where the law is clear, except

in “unique” or “perilous” situations. Watertown Equip-

ment Co. v. Norwest Bank of Watertown, supra, at 1495 (8th

Cir. 1987).

CONCLUSION

The Tenth Circuit Court’s decision granting qualified

immunity on the grounds of advice of counsel coupled with

an untested search statute should not be permitted to

stand. Such a decision will subvert the long established

rule that the defense of qualified immunity is not available

in the absence of the extraordinary circumstances. Such

extraordinary circumstances must be such that would pre-

vent a reasonable public official from knowing that he is

violating the plaintiff's constitutional rights.

For the reasons set forth herein, the petiton for a writ

of certiorari should be granted.

WHEREFORE, petitioner V-1 Oil Company res-

pectfully requests that its petition for writ of certiorari

be granted.

13

Dated this 19th day of July, 1990.

LAW OFFICES OF:

ANDREWS AND ANDERSON, P.C.

aT s

Riverton, Wyoming 82501

Telephone: (307) 856-9279

Attorney for Petitioner

14

APPENDIX A

88-2691

United States Court of Appeals

For the Tenth Circuit

SLIP OPINION

A-l

APPENDIX A

NO. 88-2691

United States Court of Appeals

FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

V-1 OIL COMPANY, A Wyoming

corporation

Plaintiff-Appellant,

No. 88-2691

v.

STATE OF WYOMING, Department of

Environmental Quality;

STEVEN P. GERBER,

Nm me mre ee ee eee ee ee”

Defendants-Appellees.

A-2

(D.C. No. C88-0155-J)

Appeal from the

United States Dis-

F. M. ANDREWS, JR., ANDREWS J trict Court For the

AND ANDERSON, P.C., RIVERTON, District of

WYOMING, ATTORNEY FOR PLAIN- Wyoming

TIFF-APPELLANT. (D.C. NO.

C-88-0155-J)

STEVE C. JONES, SENIOR ASSIS-

TANT ATTORNEY GENERAL, AND

KAREN A. BYRNE, SENIOR ASSIS- Before

TANT ATTORNEY GENERAL (JO- HOLLOWAY,

SEPH B. MEYER, ATTORNEY Chief Judge,

GENERAL WITH THEM ON THE ANDERSON

BRIEFS), CHEYENNE, WYOMING, and EBEL,

ATTORNEYS FOR DEFENDANTS.- Circuit Judges.

APPELLEES.

ANDERSON

Circuit Judge.

Plaintiff-appellant V-1 Oil Company (“V-1’’) appeals

an adverse summary judgment and an award of attorneys’

fees rendered by the district court. We affirm.

a ii

BACKGROUND

The district court, V-1 Oil Co. v. Wyoming, 696 F.

Supp. 578 (D. Wyo. 1988), found the following undisputed

facts: Defendant-appelles Steven P. Gerber is an official of

defendant-appellee the Wyoming Department of Environ-

mental Quality (“DEQ”), an agency of defendant-appellee

the State of Wyoming. He was aware that previous inves-

tigations of the V-1 Oil Station in Lander, Wyoming re-

vealed that it was a source of groundwater pollution. On

April 28, 1988, he noticed, while driving by, that the con-

crete above the station’s underground storage tanks was

being removed. Twice he tried to find eut what was being

done, and twice he was refused permission to enter the

_ property. Informed of this, a senior assistant attorney

general tried to obtain a court order allowing Gerber to

inspect the premises, but no judge was available. The

attorney then advised Gerber that the Wyoming Environ-

mental Quality Act (“the Act”) authorized him to conduct

a warrantless search. That evening, Gerber, accompanied

by a policeman and the Lander City Attorney, returned to

the gas station, visually inspected the tanks, and took a soil

sample from the exposed area. Id. at 579-80.

On May 27, 1988, V-1 filed suit under 42 U.S.C. § 1983,

alleging that the search violated V-1’s Fourth Amendment

rights. The district court granted summary judgment for

each defendant. DEQ and the State were dismissed

because of their Eleventh Amendment immunity from suit

in federal court. Jd. at 580. V-1 does not appeal this holding.

Gerber was deemed entitled to judgment because the

statute authorizes warrantless searches, id. at 581, such

searches are constitutional, id. at 582, and Gerber’s con-

duct fell within his qualified immunity because it violated

no clearly established right, id. at 583. The judgment in

favor of Gerber is the subject of No. 88-2691.

A-4

The defendants then filed a motion for attorneys’ fees

under 42 U.S.C. § 1988. They documented the total time

spent on the case, but did not state how many hours were

spent on each particular issue. See R. Vol. I at Tabs 23, 32,

35. In an unpublished order, the court found that V-1’s

claims against the State and DEQ were frivolous and that

for a time V-1 had relied upon an outdated version of the

Act, and decided to award the defendants fees for time

spent addressing those issues. Order, Jan. 19, 1989, R. Vol.

I at Tab 37, at 2-3. V-1 does not appeal these conclusions.

The court then estimated that the defendants spent

twenty-two hours responding to these claims, and awarded

fees based upon that estimate. Jd. at 2. Whether the court

was entitled to estimate how much time was spent on the

issues upon which it awarded attorneys’ fees, or instead

should have required that the movants’ records be broken

down by issue, is the subject of No. 89-8011.

DISCUSSION

I. WARRANTLESS SEARCH

A. Whether The Wyoming Environmental

Quality Act Authorizes Warrantless

Searches

Gerber claims that section nine of the Act authorizes

warrantless inspections of suspected sources of pollution.

That section empowers certain officers, including

Gerber, to

“enter and inspect any property, premises or

place, except private residences, on or at which

an air, water or land pollution source is located or

is being constructed or installed .... Persons so

designated may ... inspect any monitoring equip-

ment or method of operation required to be main-

tained pursuant to this act... for the purpose of

A-5

investigating actual or potential sources of air,

water or land pollution and for determining com-

pliance or noncompliance with this act...”

Wyo. Stat. § 35-11-109(a) (vi) (1988).

V-1 contends that this section did not authorize the

search which took place, either because it does not

authorize warrantless searches or because it only auth-

orizes warrantless searches of monitoring equipment and

methods of operation required by the Act, and under-

ground storage tanks do not fall into this category. We

disagree.

V-1’s first contention seems to be “that a warrant was

required since the statute nowhere mentions the words

‘warrantless search.’” V-1 Oil Co. v. Wyoming, 696 F. Supp.

578 (D. Wyo. 1988) at 581. Courts do not infer a warrant

requirement from statutes which authorize inspections

but do not discuss the necessity of warrants. Instead, a

bare authorization for inspections is construed to author-

ize warrantless inspections. See, e.g., Exotic Coins, Inc. v.

Beacom, 699 P. 2d 930, 940 (Colo.), Appeal dismissed, 474

U.S. 892 (1985); State v. Williams, 648 P. 2d 1156, 1160-61

(Kan. Ct. App. 1982); State v. Galio, 587 P. 2d 44, 47 (N.M.

Ct. App. 1978); State ex rel. Industrial Comm’n v. Wasatch

Metal & Salvage Co., 594 P. 2d 894, 897 (Utah 1979). We see

no reason to believe that the Wyoming Supreme Court

would construe this statute any differently.

Second, because the Wyoming Environmental

Quality Act should be construed liberally, People v. Platte

Pipe Line Co., 649 P. 2d 208, 212 (Wyo. 1982); Roberts Con-

str. Co. v. Vondriska, 547 P. 2d 1171, 1182 (Wyo. 1976), we

hold that underground gasoline storage tanks are a

“method of operation required to be maintained pursuant

to thie] act.” The phrase “pursuant to” has a broader

meaning than the word “by.” See Black’s Law Dictionary

A-6

647 (abr. 5th ed. 1983). The statute authorizes the inspec-

tion, not only of facilities which the Act specifically re-

quires, but also of any mechanism which is necessary to

avoid committing a violation. Without proper storage

equipment, gasoline could escape and pollute the sur-

rounding land and groundwater. This is prohibited by,

inter alia, Wyo. Stat. § 35-11-301 (1988). Therefore, the Act

authorized Gerber to inspect V-1’s tanks.

B. Whether a Warrantless Search Pursuant to

the Wyoming Environmental Quality Act is

Constitutional

The warrant requirement of the Fourth Amendment

applies to commercial premises. See v. City of Seattle, 387

U.S. 541, 543 (1967). An exception to this requirement has

developed, however, for “pervasively regulated busi-

ness|es|,” United States v. Biswell, 406 U.S. 311, 316 (1972),

or “ ‘closely regulated’ industries,” Marshall v. Barlow’s,

Inc., 436 U.S. 307, 313 (1978) (quoting Colonnade Catering

Corp. v. United States, 397 U.S. 72, 74 (1970) ). To be reason-

able, the warrantless inspection of such a business must

meet the three-part test enunciated in New York v. Burger,

482 U.S. 691 (1987):

“First, there must be a ‘substantial’ government

interest that informs the regulatory scheme

yursuant to which the inspection is made...

Second, the warrantiess inspections must be

‘necessary to further [the] regulatory scheme.’

Finally, ‘the statute’s inspection program, in

terms of the certainty and regularity of its appli-

cation, [must] provid[e] a constitutionally ade-

quate substitute for a warrant.’ In other words,

the regulatory statute must perform the two basic

A-7

functions of a warrant: it must advise the owner of

the commercial premises that the search is being

made pursuant to the law and has properly de-

fined scope, and it must limit the discretion of

the inspecting officers. To perform this first

function, the statute must be ‘sufficiently com-

prehensive and defined that the owner of com-

mercial property cannot help but be aware that

his property will be subject to periodic inspec-

tions undertaken for specific purposes.’ In addi-

tion, in defining how a statute limits the

discretion of the inspectors, . . . it must be ‘care-

fully limited in time, place, and scope.’ United

States v. Biswell, 406 U.S., at 315.”

Id. at 702-03 (quoting Donovan v. Dewey, 452 U.S. 594, 600,

602, 603 (1981) ). The two major questions relevant to the

constitutionality of Gerber’s search are whether V-1 is per-

vasively regulated and whether the Act provides a con-

stitutionally adequate substitute for a search warrant.’

1. Whether V-1 Is Pervasively Regulated

' The other two parts of the Burger test may be discussed

summarily.

V-1 concedes, Appellant’s Brief at 1 and we agree, that the

protection of the environment and the public from pollution in

general, and from leakage from underground gasoline storage

tanks in particular, is a substantial governmental interest.

We cannot determine from the record whether warrantless

inspections are necesssry to the regulatory scheme, i.e., whether

there will be times that DEQ cannot obtain a warrant promptly

enough for the subsequent search to be effective, see

McLaughlin v. Kings Island, 849 F. 2d 990, 996 (6th Cir. 1988);

Blackwelder v. Safnauer, 689 F. Supp. 106, 139 (N.D.N.Y. 1988).

Fortunately, such a determination is not necessary to our dis-

position of this case.

A-8

A pervasively regulated industry is one which has

“sucha history of government oversight that no reasonable

expectation of privacy could exist ... .” Marshall v.

Barlow’s, Inc., 436 U.S. at 313 (citation omitted). “T]he

doctrine is essentially defined by ‘the pervasiveness and

regularity of the . . . regulation’ and the effect of such

regulation upon an owner’s expectation of privacy.” New

York v. Burger, 482 U.S. at 701 (quoting Donovan v. Dewey,

452 U.S. 594, 606 (1981) ). Pervasively regulated industries

“represent the ‘exception’ rather than the rule.” Marshall

v. Horn Seed Co., 647 F.2d 96, 99 n.1 (10th Cir. 1981) (quot-

ing Marshall v. Barlow’s, Inc., 436 U.S. at 313); see also

McLaughlin v. Kings Island, 849 F.2d 990,994 (6th Cir.

1988).

Wyoming state law’ requires a license and payment of

a fee before one may do business as a gasoline dealer. Wyo.

Stat. § 39-6-203(b) (1988). Violation of this requirement is

a misdemeanor. Wyo. Stat. § 39-6-213(a) (1988). The price

of the gasoline must be displayed conspicuously, Wyo.

Stat. § 39-6-205 (1988), and gasoline tax must be collected,

Wyo. Stat. § 39-6-209 (1988). However, while gasoline

wholesalers and refiners must submit reports and keep

special records, Wyo. Stat. § § 39-6-204, -206, -208 (1989),

gasoline dealers face no similar requirement. Under fed-

eral law, owners of underground gasoline storage tanks

must furnish substantial and detailed information about

the tanks and must permit certain inspections® and mon-

itoring. See 42 U.S.C. § § 6991-9li.

* Gasoline stations also may be regulated by municipal

authorities, Wyo. Stat. § 15-1-103(a) (xxvii) (1988), but the City

of Lander has not done so.

° Gerber has not claimed that he was acting pursuant to the

federal inspection provision, 42 U.S.C. § 699Id(a). Also, the

constitutionality of that provision is not before us.

A-9

In Burger, the Supreme Court held that New York

vehicle dismantlers were pervasively regulated because

they were subject to the following circumscriptions: the

requirement of a license and payment of a fee; the main-

tenance and availability for inspection of certain records;

the display of the operator’s registration number; and the

existence of criminal penalties for failure to comply with

these provisions. Burger v. New York, 482 U.S. at 704-05.

The aggregation of requirements to which Wyoming gas

stations are subject is equally intrusive, so we affirm the

district court’s holding that V-1 was _ pervasively

regulated.

2. Whether the Statute Provides a

Constitutionally Adequate Substitute

for a Warrant

The district court concluded, with no explanation,

that the Act provided a constitutionally adequate sub-

stitute for a warrant. V-1 Oil Co. v. Wyoming, 696 F. Supp. at

582. We disagree. The statute is not so “ ‘comprehensive

and defined that the owner of commercial property cannot

help but be aware that his property will be subject to

periodic inspections undertaken for specific purposes.’ ”’

Burger v. New York, 482 U.S. at 703 (quoting Donovan v.

Dewey, 452 U.S. 594, 600 (1981) ).

First, because the Act applies to every business in

Wyoming, it provides no notice whatsoever to the owner of

any particular business that his or her property will be sub-

ject to warrantless inspections. The only warrantless

administrative searches which have been upheld are those

conducted pursuant to narrow statutes which regulate par-

ticular industries. Rush v. Obledo, 756 F. 2d 713, 718-19 (9th

Cir. 1985); cf. Marshall v. Barlow’s, Inc., 436 U.S. at 321.

Administrative searches conducted pursuant to statutes

A-10

of general applicability require search warrants. See, e.g.,

Marshall v. Barlow’s, Inc., 436 U.S. at 313-14 (Occupational

Safety and Health Act); See v. City of Seattle, 387 U.S. at

546 (Seattle Fire Code); Lone Steer, Inc. v. Donovan, 565 F.

Supp. 229, 232 (D.N.D. 1982) (Fair Labor Standards Act),

rev'd on other grounds, 464 U.S. 408 (1984); Western Alfalfa

Corp. v. Air Pollution Variance Bd., 510 P.2d 907, 909-10

(Colo. Ct. App. 1973) (Colorado Air Pollution Control Act),

rev'd on other grounds, 416 U.S. 861 (1974); New Mexico

Envtl. Improvement Div. v. Climax Chem. Co., 733 P.2d

1322, 1323 (N.M. Ct. App. 1987) (New Mexico Hazardous

Waste Act).

Second, the Act provides no “assurance of regularity”

of inspections. Donovan v. Dewey, 452 U.S. 594, 599 (1981).

In both Burger, 482 U.S. at 711, and Dewey, 452 U.S. at 604,

the inspections were conducted on a regular basis. The

Wyoming Environmental Quality Act leaves inspectors

free to inspect any business as often or seldom as he or she

pleases. A warrant is required if searches are “so random,

infrequent, or unpredictable that the owner, for all practi-

cal purposes, has no real expectation that his property will

from time to time be inspected by government officials.”

Donovan v. Dewey, 452 U.S. at 599; see also Serpas uv.

Schmidt, 827 F. 2d 23, 29 (7th Cir. 1987) (“To satisfy the

‘certainty and regularity’ requirement, an ‘inspection pro-

gram must define clearly what is to be searched, whocan be

searched, and the frequency of such searches.’ (quoting

Bionic Auto Parts & Sales, Inc. v. Fahner, 721 F. 2d 1072,

1078 (7th Cir. 1983) ), cert. denied, 108 S. Ct. 1075 (1988).

Because the Act does not provide a constitutionally

adequate substitute for a warrant, Gerber’s warrantless

search violated V-1’s Fourth Amendment rights.

C. Whether Gerber Was Qualifiedly Immune

From Suit

A-11

Government officials performing discretionary func-

tions have a qualified immunity from suit.

“(W]hether an official protected by qualified

immunity may be held personally liable for an

allegedly unlawful official action generally turns

on the ‘objective legal reasonableness’ of the

action, assessed in light of the legal rules that

were ‘clearly established’ at the time it was taken.

The contours of the right must be sufficiently

clear that a reasonable official would understand

that what he is doing violates that right. This is

not to say that an official action is protected by

qualified immunity unless the very action in

question had previously been held unlawful, but

it is to say that in the light of pre-existing law

the unlawfulness must be apparent.”

Anderson v. Creighton, 483 U.S. 635, 639, 640 (1987) (quot-

ing Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800, 818, 819 (1982) )

(citations omitted). “Once a defendant raises the defense

of qualified immunity as a defense to an action, ‘[t]he plain-

tiff carries the burden of convincing the court that the law

was clearly established.’ ” Powell v. Mikulecky, 891 F. 2d

1454, 1457 (10th Cir. 1989) (quoting Pueblo Neighborhood

Health Centers, Inc. v. Losavio, 847 F. 2d 642, 645 (10th Cir.

1988) ).

“If the law was clearly established, the immunity

defense ordinarily should fail, since a reasonably

competent public official should know the law

governing his conduct. Nevertheless, if the

official pleading the defense claims extraor-

dinary circumstances and can prove that he

neither knew nor should have known of the rele-

vant legal standard, the defense should be su-

A-12

stained. But again, the defense would turn pri-

marily on objective factors.”

Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800, 818-19 (1982). The

defendant bears the burden of proving such circumstan-

ces. See Pleasant v. Lovell, 876 F. 2d 787, 794 (10th Cir.

1989).

1. Whether The Right Was Clearly

Established

When the search here at issue took place, the Burger

decision was almost a year old. The Dewey decision, upon

which Burger relied heavily, was almost seven years old.

The Barlow’s decision was almost ten years old. At the

same time there was no precedent for the proposition that

a generally applicable statute which permitted irregular

inspections could constitutionally authorize a warrantless

search. We hold that V-1’s right not to be inspected without

a search warrant pursuant to a statute such as the Wyom-

ing Environmental Quality Act was clearly established.

2. Whether Extraordinary Circumstances

Existed‘*

As its name suggests, the “extraordinary circumstan-

ces” exception to the rule that a qualified immunity

defense fails where the defendant violated a clearly es-

tablished right applies only “rarely.” Skevofilax v. Quigley,

586 F. Supp. 532, 539 n.6 (D. N.J. 1984). The circumstances

* The district court did not address this question. We may con-

sider it, however, because “we are ‘free to affirm a district court

decision on any grounds for which there is a record suf-

ficient to permit conclusions of law, even grounds not relied

upon by the district court.’ ” Griess v. Colorado, 841 F. 2d 1042,

1047 (10th Cir. 1988) (quoting Alfaro Motors, Inc. v. Ward, 814 F.

2d 883, 887 (2d Cir. 1987) ).

A-13

must be such that the defendant was so “prevented,” Fer-

nandez v. Leonard, 784 F. 2d 1209, 1216 (1st Cir. 1986); Stu-

dent Servs. for Lesbians/Gays & Friends v. Texas Tech

Univ., 635 F. Supp. 776, 781 (N.D. Tex. 1986), from knowing

that his actions were unconstitutional that “he should not

be imputed with knowledge of an admittedly clearly estab-

lished right,” Robinson v. Bibb, 840 F. 2d 349, 350 (6th Cir.

1988).

The circumstance most often considered for treat-

ment as “extraordinary” is reliance upon the advice of

counsel. See Carey, Quick Termination of Insubstantial

Civil Right Claims: Qualified Immunity and Procedural

Fairness, 38 Vand. L. Rev. 1543, 1444-55 (1985). Of course,

such reliance is not inherently extraordinary, for few things

in government are more common than the receipt of legal

advice. Still, “reliance on the advice of counsel in certain

circumstances rises to the level of extraordinary circum-

stances.” Ortega v. City of Kansas City, Kan., 659 F. Supp.

1201, 1211 (D. Kan. 1987), rev'd on other grounds, 875 F. 2d

1497 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, 110 S. Ct. 325 (1989); cf.

English v. Hendricks, 880 F. 2d 281, 284 (10th Cir. 1989),

cert. denied, 110 S. Ct. 1130 (1990); Lavicky v. Burnett, 758

F. 2d 468, 476 (10th Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 1101

(1986). But cf. Powell v. Mikulecky, 891 F.2d 1454, 1457-58

(10th Cir. 1989); Melton v. City of Olkahoma City, 879 F. 2d

706, 731 (10th Cir.), reh'g en banc granted, 888 F. 2d 724

(10th Cir. 1989).°

° The dissent errs when it reads Melton as a bar to finding Ger-

ber qualifiedly immune. That decision does not address the

extraordinary circumstances exception, so it cannot be con-

sidered binding authority on the scope of the exception. Melton

instructs us not to refer to legal advice the defendant received

when we decide whether or not the governing law was clearly

established; it gives no guidance in deciding when a defendant

should not be expected to have known the governing law.

A-14

Whether reliance upon legal advice “bars our imputa-

tion to |the defendant] of constructive knowledge concern-

ing the laws allegedly violated by his conduct,” Polson v.

Davis, 635 F. Supp. 1130, 1144 (D. Kan. 1986), depends

upon the circumstances of each case. Compare Arnsberg v.

United States, 757 F. 2d 971, 982 (9th Cir. 1984), cert.

denied, 475 U.S. 1010 (1985); Burk v. Unified School Dist.

No. 329, 646 F. supp. 1557, 1568 (D. Kan. 1986); Wells v.

Dallas Indep. School Dist., 576 F. Sump. 497, 508 (N.D. Tex.

1983); Alexander v. Alexander, 573 F. Supp. 373, 375 n.4

(M.D. Tenn. 1983), aff'd without opinion, 751 F. 2d 384 (6th

Cir. 1984) with Watertown Equip. Co. v. Norwest Bank

Watertown, 830 F. 2d 1487, 1495-96 (8th Cir. 1987); Ortega v.

City ef Kansas City, Kan., 659 F. Supp. at 1211. Relevant

factors include how unequivocal, and specifically tailored

to the particular facts giving rise to the controversy,* the

advice was, see Watertown Equip. Co. v. Norwest Bank

Watertown, 830 F. 2d at 1496; Ortega v. City of Kansas City,

Kan., 659 F. Supp. at 1211, whether complete information

had been provided to the advising attorney(s), see Burk v.

Unified School Dist. No. 329, 646 F. Supp. at 1560-61; cf.

Moore v. Marketplace Restaurant, Inc., 754 F.2d 1336, 1348-

49 (7th Cir. 1985) (separate opinion of Coffee, J.), the prom-

* We reject the position of the dissent that the advice must be

couched in certain- precise legal terms before an official is

entitled to rely upon it. See infra at None of the

cases cited above makes that suggestion. Such a requirement

cannot be inferred from the statement in Watertown Equipment

that the defendants were not qualifiedly immune because the

advice “did not unequivocally assure |them] of the con-

stitutionality of the South Dakota attachment statute,” 830 F.

2d at 1495, because the problem there was not specificity

(indeed, juct like in the case, the attorney discussed the very

statute under which the defendants acted), but equivocation:

the attorney told the defendants that there was “ ‘some risk’ that

|the plaintiff] could successfully attack |the statute’s| constitu-

tionality.” Jd. at 1496.

A-15

inence and competence of the attorney(s), see Alexander v.

Alexander, 573 F. Supp. at 375 and n.4; cf. Johnston v. Kop-

pes, 850 F. 2d 594, 596 (9th Cir. 1988), and how soon after

the advice was received the disputed action was taken, see

Tanner v. Hardy, 764 F. 2d 1024, 1027 (4th Cir. 1984); Green

v. Brantley, 719 F. Supp. 1570, 1584 (N.D. Ga. 1989).

We hold that a reasonable officer in Gerber’s posi-

tion—that is, an officer who conducts a warrantless search

on the same day he was advised by fully informed, high-

ranking government aitorneys that a particular statute,

which had not yet been tested in any court, lawfully

authorized that particular search—should not be expected

to have known that the search was unconstitutional. This

was not, as the dissent claims, “mere reliance on attorney’s

advice” or “attorney’s advice without more.” Infra at

. Because Gerber was prevented by extraor-

dinary_ circumstances from knowing the relevant legal

standard, he is qualifiedly immune.

Il. ATTORNEYS’ FEES

The amount of an award of attorneys’ fees under 42

U.S.C. § 1988 “is particularly within the discretion of the

trial court.” Higgins v. Oklahoma ex rel. Oklahoma Employ-

ment Sec. Comm'n 642 F. 2d 1199, 1203 (10th Cir. 1981).

“Accordingly, an attorneys’ fee award .. . will be upset on

appeal only if it represents an abuse of discretion. Find-

ings on underlying questions of fact are subject to the

clearly erroneous standard of review.” Mares v. Credit Bur.

of Raton, 801 F. 2d 1197, 1201 (10th Cir. 1986) (citations

omitted).

The district court’s finding that twenty-two hours

were spent on the issues for which fees were awarded is not

clearly erroneous. Nor was it an abuse of discretion to

reach that finding by means of estimation, “so long as there

A-16

enema)

|was| sufficient reason for its use.” Jd. at 1203. That the

court was not granting fees for the entire litigation, but only

for an indiscrete portion thereof, is sufficient reason for

estimating hours. Other courts have approved similar

methods. See, e.g., Jenkins by Agyei v. Missouri, 838 F. 2d

260, 264 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 109 S. Ct. 221 (1988); Aubin

v. Fudala, 821 F. 2d 45, 47 (1st Cir. 1987); Foster v. Board of

School Comm’rs., 810 F. 2d 1021, 1023-34 (11th Cir.), cert.

denied, 484 U.S. 829 (1987); Evers v. County of Custer, 745

F. 2d 1196, 1204-05 (9th Cir. 1984). Courts of Appeal have

even been known on occasion to estimate how much time

particular claims consumed. See, e.g., Raton Gas Transmis-

sion Co. v. FERC, 891 F. 2d 323, 330-31 (D.C. Cir. 1989);

Ustrak v. Fairman, 851 F. 2d 983, 989 (7th Cir. 1988).

We have before us a request from the defendants for

attorneys’ fees for work done on V-1’s appeal of the fee

award. A party who successfully defends a section 1983

action and is awarded attorneys’ fees, then successfully

defends an appeal of that fee award, may recover attor-

ney’s fees for services rendered on the appeal. See Glass v.

Pfeffer, 849 F. 2d 1261, 1266 and n.3 (10th Cir. 1988). The

standard for awarding fees remains the same as below;

whether the appeal is “ ‘frivolous, unreasonable, or without

foundation.’ ” Coverdell v. Department of Social & Health

Servs.; 834 F. 2d 758, 770 (9th Cir. 1987) (quoting Hughes v.

Rowe, 449 U.S. 5, 14-15 (1980) (per curiam) ). Because the

appeal in No. 89-8011 meets this standard, we grant the

request and “remand to the district court for the sole and

limited purpose of determining a reasonable fee for the

time spent defending on appeal the attorney fee award.”

Glass v. Pfeffer, 849 F. 2d at 1268.

No. 88-2691 is AFFIRMED. No. 89-8011 is AF-

FIRMED, but REMANDED for a determination of an

appropriate attorneys’ fee award.

No. 88-2691 — V-1 Oil Company v. Wyoming

A-17

EBEL, Circuit Judge, dissenting.

Although I agree with the majority opinion’s conclu-

sion that the warrantless search was unconstitutional, I

cannot agree with its analysis of the “extraordinary cir-

cumstances” basis for qualified immunity. Therefore, I

respectfully dissent from the majority’s holding that Ger-

ber was protected from suit by qualified immunity. I have

four concerns with the majority opinion’s reliance on the

extraordinary circumstances test in this case.

1. Attorney’s advice, without more, is insuffici-

ent as a matter of law to establish qualified

immunity.

My first concern with the majority’s treatment of

qualified immunity is that it advances nothing beyond

receipt of an attorney’s advice to establish the extraor-

dinary circumstances necessary to bestow qualified im-

munity. As the majority observed, few things in govern-

ment are more common than the receipt of legal advice. If

the Supreme Court intended legal advice, without more, to

be sufficient, it surely would have said so in Harlow, or it

would have used some words other than “extraordinary”

circumstances.

Although the Supreme Court has not defined what it

meant by extraordinary circumstances, the term itself

suggests things such as (1) extreme urgency, (2) an extraor-

dinarily important public interest which justifies precipi-

tous action without careful exploration of the legal un-

derpinnings, or (3) actions by the plaintiff which somehow

mislead the defendant or invited the unconstitutional con-

duct of the defendant. These extraordinary circumstances

share a common characteristic, which is not present in

mere reliance on attorney’s advice, in that they are all

A-18

somewhat beyond the controi of the defendant and may be

objectively measured. Reliance upon attorney’s advice is

solely within the control of defendants and, if that is all that

were required, is vulnerable to manipulation by defen-

dants in order to broaden their qualified immunity far

beyond the parameters anticipated by the Supreme

Court.

This is not to say that attorney’s advice is an irrelevant

consideration. I agree with the proposition, found in many

of the cases cited by the majority, that attorney’s advice is

one, but only one, factor to be considered. I would consider

it in evaluating the second prong of the extraordinary cir-

cumstances test: i.e. whether the defendant can prove that

“he neither knew nor should have known of the relevant

legal standard.” If he received erroneous, but good faith,

legal advice that his conduct was permissible, that would

tend to show that he neither knew nor should have known

that he was violating the clear legal standards, provided

that there existed extraordinary circumstances which

enhanced the reasonableness of his reliance upon the

erroneous legal advice.

Four of the cases cited in the majority opinion purport

to discuss receipt of legal advice in the extraordinary cir-

cumstances framework. Watertown Equipment Co. v. Nor-

west Bank Watertown, 830 F. 2d 1487, 1495 (8th Cir. 1987),

appeal dismissed and cert. denied, 486 U.S. 1001 (1988);

Green v. Brantley, 719 F. Supp. 1570, 1583-84 (N.D. Georgia

1989), appeal dismissed, 895 F. 2d 1387 (11th Cir. 1990);

Ortega v. City Of Kansas, 659 F. Supp. 1201, 1211 (D. Kan.

1987), rev'd on other grounds, 875 F. 2d 1497 (10th Cir.

1989); and Burk v. Unified School District, 646 F. Supp.

1557, 1568 (D. Kan. 1986). Cf. .\foore v. Marketplace, 754

F.2d 1336, 1348 (7th Cir. 1985) (receipt of advice from

supervisor created extraordinary circumstances).

A-19

Watertown Equipment and Green expressly state that

reliance on attorney advice is only one of several factors to

be considered in examining qualified immunity. Similarly,

in Ortega, the court, while not finding the defendants

immune under the facts of that case, stated that “reliance

on the advice of counsel in certain circumstances rises to

the level of extraordinary circumstances.” Ortega, 659 F.

Supp. at 1211 (emphasis added). That language suggests

that the advice of counsel by itself does not create extraor-

dinary circumstances but that extraordinary circumstan-

ces require reliance on counsel plus something more. This

appears consistent with the two part nature of the extraor-

dinary circumstances test as articulated by Harlow. Only

the court in Burk states unequivocally that legal advice

constitutes extraordin circumstances. However, in

Burk, the law was found to be unclear and reliance on the

extraordinary circumstances test merely provided an

alternative ground for relief. Thus, at most, we are dealing

with dicta in that case.

The other cases cited in the majority opinion that dis-

cuss reliance on legal advice are not cases involving the

extraordinary circumstances defense. Rather, the major-

ity of them merely refer to the attorney’s advice as evi-

dence going to whether the law was unclear or not violated.

See Arnsberg v. United States, 757 F. 2d 971 (9th Cir. 1985)

(defendant did not violate clearly established law), cert.

denied, 475 U.S. 1010 (1086); Wells v. Dallas Independent

School Dist., 576 F. Supp. 497, 508-09 (N.D. Tex. 1983) (law

unclear); Alexander v. Alexander, 573 F. Supp. 373, 376

(M.D. Tenn. 1983) (Attorney advice was used by the court

to show that defendant did not violate clearly established

law. However, the court notes in footnote 4 that the facts

could equally show that defendant neither knew nor

should have known the law.), aff'd, 751 F. 2d 384 (6th Cir.

1984). Therefore, those cases address the basic Harlow

test, which we have agreed was satisfied in this case.

A-20

2. The legal advice received here cannot

constitute extraordinary circumstances.

Second, even assuming that receipt of attorney’s

advice without more could occasionally rise to the level of

extraordinary circumstances, I do not believe the facts of

this case justify invocation of the extraordinary cir-

cumstances test. The majority opinion makes clear that

the plaintiff has satisfied the first Harlow test by showing

that the defendant has violated a clearly established con-

stitutional right of which a reasonable person would have

known. Notwithstanding that fact, the extraordinary cir-

cumstance proposed in the opinion that overrides this

knowledge is nothing more than legal advice that the

requested search was authorized by Wyoming statute.

Neither the appellate briefs nor the record suggests that

the defendant sought or received legal advice that the

search would be constitutional under the Fourth Amend-

ment of the United States Constitution. Thus, against the

acknowledged backdrop that a reasonable person should

have known that this search was unconstitutional, the

defendant should at least be required to seek and obtain a

specific opinion from counsel as to the constitutionality of

the search before he can rebut the constructive knowledge

of unconstitutionality that is imputed to him by virtue of

the plaintiff's satisfaction of the first Harlow test.

The qualified immunity cases cited in the majority

opinion do not stand for the proposition that legal advice is

a generic term and that one size fits all needs. In several of

the cases cited there is nothing in the opinion to suggest

that the attorney’s advice was not directed specifically to

the constitutional question at issue. See, e.g., Arnsberg, 757

F. 2d at 981 (whether execution of a warrant violated 4th

Amendment); Alexander, 573 F. Supp. at 378 (whether

revocation of commutation of sentence deprived plaintiff

A-21

of liberty interest without due process).

The Ninth Circuit in Johnston v. Koppes, 850 F. 2d 594

(9th Cir. 1988), found that whether legal advice specifically

addressed the constitutionality of the alleged action is one

factor to consider in determining whether reliance on that

advice gives rise to qualified immunity. See 850 F. 2d at

596. In Watertown Equipment, the Eighth Circuit found

that reliance on legal advice did not establish qualified

immunity, in part, because the advice “did not une-

quivocally assure [defendant] of the constitutionality of

the |state statute].” Watertown Equipment, 830 F. 2d at

1495.

The district court in Ortega similarly found that the

defendants were not entitled to qualified immunity be-

cause the legal advice relied upon was not sufficiently

tailored to the particular acts at issue. Ortega was a § 1983

suit based on the violation of a state extradition statute. In

Ortega, the defendants failed to ask the attorneys the

specific factual question of whether mailing notices to out-

of-state suspects was proper.

In this case, Gerber failed to ask the specific legal

question of whether the search was constitutional but

rather he sought, and received, advice directed only to

whether such a search was authorized under Wyoming law.

Gerber was the Northwest District Supervisor of the

Wyoming Department of Environmental Quality, Water

Quality Division and his duties included investigating dis-

charges of pollution into groundwater. As a district super-

visor with a duty to conduct investigations, he reasonably

should have known of the constitutional implications of a

warrantless search and should have made sufficient in-

quiry to have known the clearly established legal test

under Burger for administrative searches. The record does

not establish that Gerber made the necessary inquiry.

A-22

3. The majority’s holding is contrary to the

Tenth Circuit case of Melton v. City of

Oklahoma City.

Third, I believe that the majority opinion is contrary

to Tenth Circuit law. The Tenth Circuit authority contrary

to the maiority’s holding is Melton v. City of Oklahoma City,

879 F. 2d 706, 730-731 (10th Cir.), reh’g en banc granted on

other grounds,888 F. 2d 724 (10th Cir. 1989).' In Melton, the

court held that attorney’s advice cannot bestow immunity

when conduct violates a clearly established right (such as

we have found to exist in this case). The court explain-

ed:

[The defendant] argues that he relied in good

faith on the advice of municipal counsel in send-

ing his letter to [plaintiff], and, therefore, he

should be absolved of any personal liability for

the consequences of his actions. While super-

ficially attractive, this argument proves too

much. Adopting the proffered position would

immunize officials from liability via the simple

expedient of consulting counse] In Harlow, the

Supreme Court sought to protect officials in the

good faith exercise of discretion in areas of the

law which are not clearly charted. However,

where the law is clearly established, there is no

justification for excusing individuals from lia-

bility for their actions. In sum, officials are pre-

' The other Tenth Circuit cases cited by the majority are inap-

plicable because none of them deal with a situation where a

defendant is seeking to rely on attorney’s advice for immunity

when his conduct violates clearly established law. See Powell v.

Mickulecky, 891 F. 2d. 1454 (10th Cir. 1989); England v. Hen-

dricks, 880 F. 2d 281, 284 (10th Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 110 S. Ct.

1130 (1990), and Lavicky v. Burnett, 758 F. 2d 468, 476 (10th Cir.

1985), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 1101 (1986).

A-23

sumed to know and abide by clearly established

law. When their actions are otherwise, their

claims of qualified immunity will fail.

Melton, 879 F. 2d at 730-31. I do not believe that Melton

should be read so strictly that an individual can never be

excused from liability if he acts contrary to clearly es-

tablished law. See Harlow, 457 U.S. at 818-19. However, I

do not believe that it can be read so broadly that it would

permit finding Gerber immune from suit solely upon

reliance on attorney advice.

4. The extraordinary circumstances

defense was not raised below.

Fourth, I believe that it is inappropriate to affirm on

the basis of extraordinary circumstances when that

theory was not clearly advanced or argued on appeal or,

apparently, below. We can affirm on a ground not raised

below provided the record is sufficiently clear to permit us

to do so and provided that both parties had an adequate

opportunity to develop the record on the issue that we

choose to rely upon. See Seibert v. University of

Oklahoma, 867 F. 2d 591, 597 (10th Cir. 1989). Here, Ido not

believe that the appellant has had a full and fair oppor-

tunity to develop in the record the lack of extraordinary cir-

cumstances such as urgency or compelling state interest. I

also do not believe that appellant has had an adequate

opportunity to establish that the legal advice sought and

given may have dealt only with the procedural compliance

with Wyoming law rather than constitutional issues.

As stated in the majority’s opinion, one of the factors

in deciding whether counsel’s advice can be relied upon is

how specific and unequivocal the advice is. Unless we

know all of the circumstances of what the defendant sought

A-24

ee, ee ee ee ee ed

en ered

Ae Ate

ed

from counsel and what the counsel advised, I fear we are

deciding this case on an incomplete record and in a way

that is unfair to the appellant since we are springing this

defense upon it on appeal.

For the reasons stated above, I respectfully dissent

from the majority opinion’s holding that Gerber was

immune from suit.

A-25

APPENDIX B

C88-0155-J

4

!

;

United States District Court

FOR THE DISTRICT OF WYOMING

ORDER

B-1

APPENDIX B

C88-0155-J

IN THE

United States District Court

FOR THE DISTRICT OF WYOMING

V-1 OIL COMPANY, a Wyoming corporation

v.

STATE OF WYOMING, DEPARTMENT

OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY, and

STEVEN P. GERBER,

Defendants.

ORDER GRANTING DEFENDANT’S MOTION

FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT

I. Standard on Summary Judgment

A party moving for summary judgment has the burden

of showing that there is no genuine issue as to any material

fact, and that he is entitled to judgment as a matter of law.

Fed.R.Civ.P. 56(c). Summary judgment is appropriate

when a moving party points to an absence of evidence to

support the nonmoving party’s case; a moving party is not

required to support its motion with affidavits or other

similar materials negating the nonmovant’s claim. Celotex

Corporation v. Catrett, 106 S. Ct. 2548, 2553 (1986).

A material fact is one that might affect the outcorne of

a suit under governing law. Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc.,

B-2

|

;

:

|

|

:

106 S.Ct. 2505, 2510 (1986). A genuine issue as to a material

fact exists when the evidence is such that a reasonable jury

could return a verdict for the nonmoving party. Jd. A mov-

ing party is entitled to judgment as a matter of law where

the nonmoving party has “failed to make a sufficient show-

ing on an essential element of her case with respect to

which she has the burden of proof.” Celotex, 106 S.Ct. at

2553. The evidence of the nonmoving party is deemed true

and all reasonable inferences are drawn in his favor. Ander-

son, 106 S.Ct. at 2514. The material facts in this case are

undisputed.

Il. Background

Steven P. Gerber is the Northwest District Supervisor

for the Wyoming Department of Environmental Quality,

Water Quality Division. That district includes Fremont

County, Wyoming, the location of Lander, Wyoming.

Affidavit of Steven P. Gerber, ‘ 1. As part of Mr. Gerber’s

duties, he investigates discharges of pollution, such as pet-

roleum products, into groundwater. Jd. at 5. On 28 April

1988 Mr. Gerber was aware that the V-1 Oil station in Lan-

der, Wyoming, was a source of gasoline pollution. Inves-

tigations previously conducted had indicated that this

station was the source of nearby groundwater pollution. /d.

at I 3-4.

On 28 April 1988, at approximately 11:00 a.m., Mr.

Gerber drove by the V-1 Oil station in Lander, Wyoming.

He noticed that concrete over underground storage tanks

was being removed. Mr Gerber stopped and asked Rick

Evans, manager of the V-1 Oil station, what they were

doing. Mr. Evans refused to say and asked Mr. Gerber to

leave. Mr. Gerber left. At approximately 3:15 p.m. Mr. Ger-

ber drove by the station and saw Leonard Wood, area

supervisor for V-1 Oil. Mr. Gerber stopped and asked Mr.

Wood what they were doing. Mr. Wood refused to say but

B-3

stated that Mr. Gerber was not welcome on the property.

Mr. Gerber left the property. Jd. at " 7-8.

Throughout the day Mr. Gerber had been on the

telephone with Steve Jones, Senior Assistant Attorney

General for Wyoming, discussing a possible inspection of

the underground storage tank area. Jd. at {| 9. Mr. Jones

sought a hearing with either Judge Ranck or Judge Kail,

seeking a court order allowing inspection. A sufficiently

immediate hearing could not be obtained. Affidavit of

Steve Jones, “ 5-7. Mr. Jones consulted with three other

attorneys, and all agreed that Wyo. Stat. § 35-11-109(a) (vi)

(Supp. June 1988) permitted a warrantless inspection. Jd.

at "% 8-9.

At approximately 7:00 p.m. L. M. Chipley, Lander

City Attorney, telephoned Mr. Jones about the situation.

He agreed with Mr. Jones’s interpretation of the statute,

and he further agreed that he and a Lander policeman

would accompany Mr. Gerber during his inspection. The

policeman’s presence was to deter violence. /d. at § 11.

At approximately 8:20 p.m. Mr. Gerber, Mr. Chipley,

and Lt. Metzger entered the V-1 premises. Mr. Gerber

identified himself to Steve Drake, the attendant on duty.

Mr. Gerber handed him a business card and informed him

of the imminent investigation. Affidavit of Steven Gerber

at ‘ 13. Acting under instructions, Mr. Drake told Mr. Ger-

ber to wait until Mr. Evans had arrived. Deposition of

Steve Drake at p. 29. Mr. Gerber instead inspected the

excavation area. The tops of the underground storage

tanks had been uncovered, indicating to Mr. Gerber that

the tanks were not being removed, but that the tanks and

lines leading up to the tanks were being tested for tightness

and integrity. Mr. Gerber noticed very strong hydrocarbon

odors. Affidavit of Steven Gerber at ‘\{ 14-15. He collected

a soil sample from soil around the underground storage

tank closest to the station. Lt. Metzger received an acci-

B-4

ies r

dent call requiring him to leave. After being informed of

this call, Mr. Gerber felt that he should also leave. He

informed Mr. Drake that he was leaving, but upon request

agreed to stay until Rick Evans arrived. Mr. Gerber gave

the soil sample to Lt. Metzger as he left. Jd. at ‘ 16-18.

Rick Evans arrived at the station at approximately

8:30 p.m. He told Mr. Gerber to put the soil sample back.

Mr. Gerber informed him that Lt. Metzger had the sample.

Mr. Evans asked Mr. Gerber to leave, and he did so. Jd. at

‘| 19-23. Mr. Gerber later obtained the soil sample from

Lt. Metzger. He stored it for safekeeping at the DEQ

office. In accordance with Wyo. Stat. § 35-11-109(a) (vi),

Mr. Gerber supplied Mr. Wood and V-1 Oil’s attorney with

a report of the investigation. Jd. at { 23.

On 27 May 1988 V-1 Oil filed a complaint in this court

under 42 U.S.C. § 1983, alleging deprivation of its rights

secured by the fourth, fifth, and fourteenth amendments.

Named as defendants were the state of Wyoming, the

Department of Environmental Quality, and Steven P. Ger-

ber. On 12 August 1988 defendants filed a motion for sum-

mary judgment. In V-1 Oil’s brief opposing the motion, it

stated that “|t|]he defendant State of Wyoming’s Motion

for Summary Judgment should be granted, pursuant to the

State’s immunity as provided by the 11th Amendment to

the Constitution.”’ The court agrees with this view. The

eleventh amendment prohibits suits in federal court

against a state or one of its agencies or departments unless

consent is shown. Pennhurst State School & Hospital v.

Halderman, 465 U.S. 89, 100 (1984); Meade v. Grubbs, 841

F. 2d 1512, 1524-26 (10th Cir. 1988). No consent has been

' At the 9 September 1988 motion hearing, plaintiff's counsel

informed the court that he wished to reconsider this concession.

The court gave him time to respond in writing. On 26 September

1988 the court received a letter from plaintiff's counsel stating

that “I have not found any cases giving the Plaintiff any relief in

this matter.”

B-5

shown. V-1 Oil argues that the suit should proceed

against Steven P. Gerber in his individual capacity.”

III. The Warrantless Search

The question arises whether the warrantless search

was permissible. In deciding this, the court looks to Wyo.

Stat. § 35-11-109(a) (vi), which provides as follows:

(a) In addition to any other powers and duties im-

posed by law, the director of the department

shall:

(vi) Designate authorized officers, employees

or representatives of the department to enter

and inspect any property, premise or place,

except private residences, on or at which an

air, water or land pollution source is located or

is being constructed or installed, or any prem-

ises in which any records required to be main-

tained by a surface coal mining permittee are

located. Persons so designated may inspect

and copy any records during normal office

hours, and inspect any monitoring equipment

or method of operation required to be main-

tained pursuant to this act at any reasonable

time upon presentation of appropriate creden-

tials, and without delay, for the purpose of in-

vestigating actual or potential sources of air,

water or land pollution and for determining

compliance or noncompliance with this act,

* The eleventh amendment does not bar suit against officials

in their individual capaeities since “|a] victory in a personal-

capacity action is a victory against the individual defendant,

rather than against the entity that employs him.” Meade, v.

Grubbs, 841 F. 2d 1512, 1526 n.16 (10th Cir. 1988) (quoting Ken-

nedy v. Graham, 473 U.S. 159, 167-68 (1985) ).

B-6

and any rules, regulations, standards, permits

or orders promulgated hereunder. For surface

coal mining operations, right of entry to or in-

spection of any operation, premises, records

or equipment shall not require advance notice.

The owner, occupant or operator shall receive

a duplicate copy of all reports made as a result

of such inspections within thirty (30) days. The

department shall reimburse any operator for

the reasonable costs incurred in producing

copies of the records requested by the depart-

ment under this section|.]

Defendant contends that this statute requires a warrant or

a court order before an inspection may be made. This court

disagrees.

The statute allows inspections under stated con-

ditions. First, under the first sentence of subsection (vi),

the inspector must qualify as one entitled to inspect. Mr.

Gerber qualifies. Affidavit of Randolph Wood at { 3.

Second, provided the inspection is made at any reasonable

time upon presentation of appropriate credentials and

without delay, such a designated employee may inspect

any method of operation required to be maintained pur-

suant to the Wyoming Environmental Quality Act, Wyo.

Stat. § § 35-11-101 through 35-11-1304 (Supp. June 1988).

This authority is given to investigate actual potential sour-

ces of air, water, or land pollution and to determine com-

pliance or noncompliance with this act, and any rules,

regulations, standards, permits, or orders promulgated

under it. No one disputes that Mr. Gerber’s inspection

occurred while the station was open for business. No one

disputes that Mr. Gerber presented appropriate creden-

tials and inspected without delay.’ Because all conditions

3 The court simply notes that the requirements of the statute

B-7

imposed by the statute were met, the court concludes that

the inspection complied with the statute.

Plaintiff V-1 Oil seems to contend that a warrant was

required since the statute nowhere mentions the words

“warrantless search.” In New York v. Burger, 107 S.Ct.

2636 (1987), the Court examined a statute allowing inspec-

tions in the automobile junk yard industry. The Court con-

cluded that warrantless searches were allowed under the

statute even though the words “warrantless search” were

not contained within it. Jd. at 2639 n.1. The Court later

noted that “[njumerous states have provisions for the

warrantless inspections of vehicle dismantlers and auto-

mobile junk yards” and listed as an example Wyo. Stat. §

31-13-112(e) (1977). Id. at 2641 n.11. this Wyoming statute

also does not include the words “warrantless search.” Hav-

ing determined that Mr. Gerber was entitled to conduct a

warrantless inspection under the Wyoming statute, the

court now turns to the issue of whether the warrantless

inspection complied with the United States Constitu-

tion.

IV. Warrantless Administrative Searches

The fourth amendment prohibits unreasonable

searches and seizures of commercial premises, as well as

private homes. See v. City of Seattle, 387 U.S. 541, 543

(1967). A business operator’s reasonable expectation of

privacy in commercial property extends to administrative

inspections designed to enforce regulatory statutes.

were met. The relevant inquiry in a suit under 42 U.S.C. § 1983,

however, is whether plaintiff was deprived of a federal right. See

Wise v. Bravo, 666 F. 2d 1328, 1331 (10th Cir. 1981). That inquiry

focuses on whether the statute allows warrantless in-

spections, not whether its conditions were met.

B-8

eee nat ant RECs Set St i ig NES hai:

Marshall v. Barlow’s, Inc., 436 U.S. 307, 312-13 (1987). This

expectation of privacy in commercial premises is less than

the expectation in an individual’s home. Donovan v. Dewey,

452 U.S. 594, 598-99 (1981). The expectation of privacy in

“closely regulated” industries is particularly attenuated.

New York v. Burger, 107 S.Ct. at 2642. “Certain industries

have such a history of government oversight that no

reasonable expectation of privacy... could exist for a prop-

rietor over the stock of such an enterprise.” Jd. (quoting

Marshall, 436 U.S. at 313). See New York v. Burger, 107

S.Ct. 2636 (vehicle dismantlers and automobile junk

yards); Donovan v. Dewey, 452 U.S. 594 (1981) (stone

quarries); United States v. Biswell, 406 U.S. 311 (1972)

(firearms); Colonnade Corporation v. United States, 397

U.S. 72 (1970) (liquor dealers).

Upon fulfillment of three criteria, a warrantless search

of a pervasively regulated business will be deemed

reasonable. New York v. Burger, 107 S.Ct. at 2643-44. First,

there must be “a ‘substantial’ government interest that

informs the regulatory scheme pursuant to which the

inspection is made.” Id. at 2644. This is met by health and

safety dangers resulting from leaks in underground gas-

oline storage tanks. Second, “the warrantless inspections

must be ‘necessary to further |the] regulatory scheme.’ ” Jd.

(quoting Donovan v. Dewey, 452 U.S. at 600). This condi-

tion is also met. The State made an effort to obtain a court

order. Only after it became obvious that the order could

not be obtained while the tanks were exposed did the State

abandon that effort. Third, “the regulatory statute must

perform the two basic functions of a warrant: it must advise

the owner of the commercial premises that the search is

being made pursuant to the law and has a properly defined

scope, and it must limit the discretion of the inspecting

officers.” New York v. Burger, 107 S.Ct. at 2644 (citing

Marshall, 436 U.S. at 323). The statute in question does

both.

B-9

Those engaging in the business of storing and dis-

pensing gasoline have chosen to engage in a pervasively

regulated business. Wyoming has passed many laws limit-

ing their conduct. See, e.g., The Wyoming Environmental

Quality Act, Wyo. Stat. § § 35-11-101 through 35-11-1304;

Wyo. Stat. § § 39-6-201 through 39-6-214 (licensing, taxing,

and record keeping of gasoline distributors); Wyo. Stat. §

15-1-103(a) (xxviii) (Cum.Supp. 1988) (The governing

bodies of all cities and towns may: Regulate or prevent the

storage, use and transportation of any combustible or

explosive material within the corporate limits or within a

given distance thereof); Wyoming Department of Environ-

mental Quality Rules and Regulations, Water Quality Divi-

sion, Chapter IV, Regulations for Releases of Oil and

Hazardous Substances into Waters of the State of Wyom-

ing. Federal law also pervasively regulates underground

storage tanks. See 42 U.S.C. §§ 6991 through 6991i

Cum.Supp. May 1988).‘

4

These statutes require that owners of underground -

storage tanks (containing petroleum, including crude oil or any

fraction thereof, which is liquid at standard conditions of tem-

perature and pressure) provide information relating to the

tank’s existence, size, type, location, and uses. 42 U.S.C. §

6991a(i). Extremely detailed regulations relating to release

detection, prevention, and correction are mandated under the

statutes. 42 U.S.C. § 6991b. Of particular interest is the statute

governing inspection, monitoring, testing and corrective action,

which provides in part as follows:

(a) Furnishing information. For the purposes of de-

veloping or assisting in the development of any

regulation, conducting any study, [taking any cor-

rective action] or enforcing the provisions of this

subtitle [42 USCS § § 6991 et seq.], any owner or

operator of an underground storage tank (or any tank

subject to study under section 9009 [42 USCS §

6991h] that is used for storing regulated substances)

shall, upon request of any officer, employee or repre-

B-10

ERRATA TR heb! Js

In light of this extensive regulation, the court is puz-

zled by the attitude of V-1 Oil as expressed in the deposi-

tion of its employee, Rick Evans: “We just allow no

inspections, no nothing, without permission.” “[I]t really

sentative of the Environmental Protection Agency,

duly designated by the Administrator, or upon re-

quest of any duly designated officer, employee, or

representative of a State acting pursuant to sub-

section (h) (7) of section 9003 [42 USCS § 6991c

(h) (7)] or with an approved program, furnish in-

formation relating to such tanks, their associated

equipment, their contents, conduct monitoring or

testing, permit such officer at all reasonable times

to have access to, and to copy all records relating to

such tanks and permit such officer to have access for

corrective action. For the purposes of developing or

assisting in the development of any regulation, con-

ducting any study, taking corrective action, or en-

forcing the provisions of this subtitle [42 USCS § §

6991 et seq.], such officers, employees, or represen-

tatives are authorized—

(1) to enter at reasonable times any establishment

or other place where an underground storage tank

is located;

(2) to inspect and obtain samples from any person

of any regulated substances contained in such

tank;

(3) to conduct monitoring or testing of the tanks,

associated equipment, contents, or surrounding

soils, air, surface water or ground water; and

(4) to take corrective action.

Each such inspection shall be commenced and com-

pleted with reasonable promptness.

42 U.S.C.S. § 6991d(a). The court notes that inspections are not

conditioned on obtaining a court order or warrant. The court

further observes that the statutes pervasively regulate owners

of underground storage tanks such as V-1 Oil’s.

B-11

shouldn’t matter to them. It’s our business what we’re

doing out there.” Deposition of Rick Evans at 7, 25. Those

views do not conform with the scheme set forth in the

statutes.

V. Qualified Immunity

As an executive official, Steven Gerber is entitied to

assert qualified immunity from this suit. See Scheuer v.

Rhodes, 416 U.S. 232 (1974). In Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 457

U.S. 800, 818 (1982), the Court held that “government

officials performing discretionary functions generally are

shielded from liability for civil damages insofar as their

conduct does not violate clearly established statutory or

constitutional rights of which a reasonable person would

have known.” This approach removed subjective good

faith from the analysis and centered on objective good

faith. Objective good faith “involves a presumptive

knowledge of and respect for ‘basic, unquestioned con-

stitutional rights.’ ” Jd. at 815 (quoting Wood v. Strickland,

420 U.S. 308, 322 (1985).

In Anderson v. Creighton, 107 S.Ct. 3034 (1987), the

Court further refined its objective good faith analysis.

Seeking to avoid a “rule of virtually unqualified liability

simply by alleging violation of extremely abstract rights,”

the Court declared that a violation of a constitutional right

would not necessarily defeat qualified immunity. Qualified

immunity would still apply, the Court reasoned, unless the

“contours of the right [were] sufficiently clear that a

reasonable official would understand that what he is doing

violates that right.” Jd. at 3039. See also Watson v. City of

Kansas City, Kansas, No. 86-2501, slip op. at 15-16 (10th

Cir. Sept. 14, 1988). Otherwise stated, the question is

whether a reasonable official could have believed his co-

duct lawful “in light of clearly established law and the

B-12

information the searching officers possessed.” Anderson v.

Creighton, 107 St.Ct. at 3040.

In this case, there is no clearly established law pro-

hibiting Mr. Gerber’s actions. In fact, as this court has

found, the law indicates the contrary. The statute does not

require a warrant, and warrantless searches of pervasively

regulated industries are permissible. Mr. Gerber’s duties

include investigating discharges of pollution into ground-

water. He knew that previous investigations had indicated

that V-1 Oil’s station was the source of nearby ground-

water pollution. He could reasonably expect that the tanks

would not long remain exposed. Based upon the status of

the law and the information he possessed, the court must

conclude that a reasonable official in his position would not

understand that he was violating a right. As earlier stated

the court does not believe that he did violate a right.

V-1 Oil carries the burden of convincing this court that

the constitutional rights relied upon were clearly es-

tablished. Pueblo Neighborhood Health Centers v. Losavio,

847 F.2d 642, 645, (10th Cir. 1988) (citing Lutz v. Weld

County School District, 784 F. 2d 340, 342-43 (10th Cir.

1986) ). V-1 Oil must do more than merely identify in the

abstract a clearly established right and allege that defen-

dant has violated it. Losavio, 847 F. 2d at 645 (citing Ander-

son v. Creighton, 107 S.Ct. at 3039 n.2). V-1 Oil has not met

these burdens. It is therefore

ORDERED that defendant’s motion for summary

judgment is GRANTED.

Dated this 28th day of September, 1988.

By the Court:

/s/ ALAN R. JOHNSON

ALAN R. JOHNSON

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

B-13

ae

we ele OO

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, F. M. Andrews, Jr., one of the attorneys for the

petitioner herein, and a member of the Bar of the Supreme

Court of the United States, hereby certify that on the 19th

day of July, 1990, I served copies of this Petition for Writ of

Certiorari to the United States Court of Appeals for the

Tenth Circuit, by mailing copies in a duly addressed

envelope, with first class postage prepaid, to the following

attorney of record:

Steve Jones

Senior Assistant Attorney General

State of Wyoming

123 Capitol Building

Cheyenne, Wyoming 82002

Attorney for Respondent

F. M. An s,

Law Offices_of

Andrews and Anderson, P.C.

Broadway and Park

Riverton, WY 82501

Telephone: (307) 856-9279

Attorneys for Petitioner

Po a ee

AFFIDAVIT OF MAILING

I, F. M. Andrews, Jr., one of the attorneys for the

petitioner herein, and a member of the Bar of the Supreme

Court of the United States, hereby certify that on the 19th

day of July, 1990, I deposited in the United States Post

Office located at 5th and Main in Riverton, Wyoming, with

first class postage prepaid, and properly addressed to the

Clerk of the Supreme Court of the United States, within

the time allowed for filing, this Petition for Writ of Cer-

tiorari to the United States Court of Appeals for the Tenth

Circuit.

Andrews and Anderson, P.C.

Broadway and Park

Riverton, WY 82501

Telephone: (307) 856-9279

Attorneys for Petitioner

STATE OF WYOMING )

) ss.

COUNTY OF FREMONT )

SUBSCRIBED SWORN to before me at River-

ton, Wyoming, this vA 7 day of July, 1990.

ARY PUBLIC - State of Wyoming

‘My commission expires:

/- 4-93

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.