Opposition Brief — Juzwin v. Asbestos Corp.

Supreme Court brief1990

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

>

STEPHEN JUZWIN, ef ux.,

Petitioners,

_V—

ASBESTOS CORPORATION, LTD., efc., et al.,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

SEE nRIEE — LL

a aca

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION FOR RESPONDENT

CAREY CANADA, INC.

ANDREW T. BERRY

Counsel of Record

KEVIN J. CONNELL

MCCARTER & ENGLISH

Four Gateway Center

100 Mulberry Street

Newark, New Jersey 07102

(201) 622-4444

Attorneys for Respondent

Carey Canada, Inc.

i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

AND RULE 29.1 STATEMENT

The parties to the proceeding below included:

1) Carey Canada, Inc. (defendant-appellant below)

[incorrectly listed in the petition as ‘‘Carey Cana-

dian Mines];

2) Stephen Juzwin and Mary Juzwin, his wife

(plaintiffs-appellees below);

3) The State of New Jersey (intervenor below);

4) Amtorg Trading Corp. (defendant-appellee below);

5) Asbestos Corp., Ltd. (defendant-appellee below);

6) Bell Asbestos Mines, Ltd. (defendant-appellee

below);

7) Flintkote Mines, Ltd. (defendant-appellee below);

8) Metropolitan Life Insurance Co. (defendant-appellee

below);

9) Leonard J. Buck, Inc. (third-party defendant-

appellee below).

10) Wilentz, Goldman & Spitzer, P.C. (counsel for ami-

cus curiae below).

Four corporations lis*2d in the petition were parties to the

proceedings in the district court, but were not parties to the

proceedings in the court of appeals: a) Turner & Newall,

P.L.C. (third-party defendant), b) National Gypsum Co.

(third-party defendant), c) Lac D’Amiante du Quebec Limitee

(defendant), d) Associated Ore & Metal Corp., Ltd. (fourth-

party defendant).

Pursuant to Rule 29.1 respondent Carey Canada, Inc.

states that its parent company is The Celotex Corporation.

(The Celotex Corporation’s parent is Jim Walter Corpora-

tion). Respondent has no affiliates or other than wholly

owned subsidiaries.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING AND RULE 29.1

A in occ cae ncdundceue eee i

TADLE OP AATTURIITIOE «<< ccs éccedccscnaeess iii

I od ci vaceae ee 1

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE CASE........... 2

A. POURRERETY DROUIN oo nnn cc cesaseicccscecs 2

De ee oo 6a ko 66o kos ee hee ee 3

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

I. THE DECISION OF THE THIRD CIRCUIT

DOES NOT CONFLICT WITH THE LAW

OF NEW JERSEY AND THE NEW JERSEY

APPELLATE COURTS ARE CURRENTLY

CONSIDERING WHETHER TO FOLLOW

TERRE DB ccs cncnaceceecinessseas 6

A. New Jersey Law Does Not Provide for the

‘Saving Construction’’ of the Tolling Stat-

ute Urged by Petitioners .........cccee0. 6

B. The New Jersey Superior Court, Appellate

Division is Currently Reviewing the Com-

merce Clause Issue Decided by the Third

eo ee ia bed on beeke eke 10

C. The Third Circuit Utilized Petitioners’

‘‘Saving Construction’ in Striking the

Tolling Statute on Commerce Clause

COORG 6.045 nsteeudakdanneeeeaseeeee 12

—

II.

Ill.

IV.

THE THIRD CIRCUIT’S DECISION STRIK-

ING THE NEW JERSEY TOLLING STAT-

UTE UNDER THE INTERSTATE COM-

MERCE CLAUSE IS ENTIRELY CONSIS-

TENT WITH THIS COURT’S PRECE-

A. Heightened Interstate Commerce Clause

Scrutiny is the Appropriate Standard of

Review for the Tolling Provision at Bar..

B. The Tolling Provision at Bar Cannot Sur-

vive Scrutiny Under the Interstate Com-

merce Clause Balancing Test ............

C. The Existence of a Commerce Clause Vio-

lation is Not Dependent Upon a Finding

That a State’s Enactment Confers Com-

petitive Advantages Upon its Residents...

EVEN IF THE THIRD CIRCUIT USED AN

INAPPROPRIATE STANDARD OF INTER-

STATE COMMERCE CLAUSE REVIEW,

THE DECISION BELOW STRIKING THE

NEW JERSEY TOLLING STATUTE IS

WARRANTED UNDER THE STANDARD

OF SCRUTINY APPLICABLE TO REGU-

LATIONS BURDENING INTERNATIONAL

DE CEGAG5 Gs 0866066000reencccces

RETROACTIVE APPLICATION OF THE

THIRD CIRCUIT’S DECISION STRIKING

THE NEW JERSEY TOLLING STATUTE

ON COMMERCE CLAUSE GROUNDS

CONSTITUTES A PROPER APPI ICATION

OF THIS COURT’S PRECEDENTS. ........

ETT TEE Ee

PAGE

14

14

18

21

22

24

30

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: PAGE

Allied Signal, Inc. v. Purex Industries, Inc., 242 N.J.

Super. 362, 576 A.2d 942 (N.J. Super. Ct. App. Div.

Anderson v. Owens-Corning Fiberglas Corp., No.

W-012500-89 (N.J. Super. Ct. Law Div. Middlesex

PPT PTTeT CTT TT TTT TOTTI TT TTT TT eT Tee 12

Armenti v. Carey Canada, Inc., No. L-045449-87 (N.J.

Super Ct. Law Div. Middlesex County), aff’d with-

out opinion, No. 177-88T3F (N.J. Super. Ct. App.

Div. order filed November 7, 1988) ............. 6, 7, 10

Badaracco v. Commissioner, 464 U.S. 386 (1984) .... 8

Bendix Autolite Corp. v. Midwesco Enterprises, Inc.,

486 U.S. 888, 108 S. Ct. 2218 (1988) ....7, 8, 13, passim

Board of Trustees of the Univ. of Illinois v. United

NE, See Meats ee CD 6 ha Nek ad ean wcescddesaces 22

Burnham v. Superior Court of California, County of

ee, Re es ks nS oan daca dcascedwses 9

Chevron Oil Co. v. Huson, 404 U.S. 97 (1971)..... 24, 25,

Cohn v. G.D. Searle & Co., 784 F.2d 460 (3d Cir.),

cert. denied, 479 U.S. 883 (1986) ...........ceeoe 27, 28

Cohn v. G.D. Searle & Co., 447 F. Supp. 903 (D.N.J.

1978), rev’d sub nom., Hopkins v. Kelsey-Hayes,

Inc., 628 F.2d 801 (3d Cir. 1980), vacated and

remanded, 455 U.S. 404 (1982), remanded sub nom.,

Hopkins v. Kelsey-Hayes, Inc., 677 F.2d 301 (3d Cir

1982), on remand, 598 F. Supp. 965 (D.N.J. 1984),

reversed in part and remanded, 784 F.2d 460 (3d

Cir.), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 883 (1986)........ 7, 17, 18,

19, passim

—

PAGE

Coons v. American Honda Motor Co., 94 N.J. 307,

463 A.2d 921 (1983) (‘‘Coons I’’), modified, 96 N.J.

419, 476 A.2d 763 (1984) (‘‘Coons II’’), cert. denied,

et Gs Ee EE 66 669.6 6:000-0000c0006e0K805 3, 27, 28

Coons v. American Honda Motor Co., 96 N.J. 419,

476 A.2d 763 (1984) (‘‘Coons II’’), cert. denied, 469

ft FF rr eer re 3

Coons v. Honda Motor Co., 176 N.J. Super. 575,- 424

A.2d 446 (App. Div. 1980), vacated, 455 U.S. 996

ee Pee ee re ee ee ee 26, 27

Crespo v. Stapf, 242 N.J. Super. 254, 576 A.2d 346

CR.t. SR: SA, I Te Te nok ccna ceneesas 15, 16

Cutler v. Raymark Industries, Inc., 707 F. Supp. 168

(D.N.J. 1989), overruled, Juzwin v. Asbestos Corp.,

E5G., GED Fue Ge Cee Gls, BHD bc kee wccnenciens 6

DiFalco v. Subaru of America, Inc., No. W-019907-88

(N.J. Super. Ct. Law Div. Passaic County), motion

for leave to appeal granted, Motion No. M-6197-89,

Docket No. A-6247-89T3F (N.J. Super Ct. App.

ee Se ee 5. 6 b'o 6e 000 0508 506008 11

Duke Power v. Carolina Environmental Study Group,

i Se Se TD 6 6 6 656605 06 Keehn ce cawean 20

Eli Lilly & Co. v. Sav-On-Drugs, Inc., 366 U.S. 276

SEP soc ku os cunssteeaccauansdackscauayecssevess 17

Ford Motor Co. v. Insurance Comm’r of Pa., 874 F.2d

926 (3d Cir.), cert. denied sub nom., United Service

Auto. Ass’n v. Foster, 110 S. Ct. 4i8 (1989) ...... 18

Great Western United Corp. v. Kidwell, 577 F.2d 256

(Sth Cir. 1978), rev’d 443 U.S. 182 (1979)......... 20

Harmon yv. Phillips Petroleum Co., 555 F. Supp. 447

ek Sn MOE na sec eece kas esau nekedunueeaedens 8

ii eee

vi

PAGE

Honda Motor Co. v. Coons, 455 U.S. 996 (1982).... 27

Hopkins v. Kelsey-Hayes, Inc., 628 F.2d 801 (3d Cir.

1980), vacated and remanded, 455 U.S. 984 (1982),

remanded, 677 F.2d 301 (3d Cir. 1982)........ 19, 20, 26

Hughes v. Oklahoma, 441 U.S. 322 (1979) .......... 15

Japan Line, Ltd. v. County of Los Angeles, 441 U.S.

a ee ee ne a ere 23

Juzwin v. Asbestos Curp., Ltd., 900 F.2d 686 (3d Cir.

errr rer rr TTT PT TET TET TT eee 1, 3, passim

Juzwin v. Amtorg Trading Corp., No. 87-3876, slip

op. (D.N.J. opinion filed February 28, 1989), rev'd,

og = — fF: Ce Ae RAITT IT TTT Tree l

Juzwin v. Amtorg Trading Corp., 705 F. Supp. 1053

(D.N.J. 1989), vacated on reconsideration, 718 F.

BS BAD CN Rs NOEs ccc ccccstevescscenteces 2

Lemke v. Bailey, 41 N.J. 295, 196 A.2d 523 (1963) .. 26

Lemon v. Kurtzman, 411 U.S. 192 (1973) (‘‘Lemon

PL en, SARE ig a a ey ear 24, 25

Leogrande v. Keene Corp., No. W-026197-87 (N.J.

Super. Ct. Law Div. Middlesex County)........... 12

Maine v. Taylor, 477 U.S. 131 (1986)............... 15

Materials Research Corp. v. Metron, Inc., 64 N.J. 74,

i is phe ee beck eeeeeeeknensess 4 17

Mayflower Securities Co. v. Bureau of Securities, 64

ee Oe ee OD CUED 24.0 cc endttcnceeenes ss 10

McGlone v. Corbi, 59 N.J. 86, 279 A.2d 812 (1971) . 29

Michelin Tire Corp v. Wages, 423 U.S. 276 (1976)... 22

Norfolk Southern Corp. v. Oberly, 822 F.2d 388 (3d

Eade nt ht sb0ees hessees beecebussacdeas 24

—

Vii

PAGE

Old Coach Development Corp. v. Tanzman, 881 F.2d

oe ee eT re 15

Pike v. Bruce Church, Inc., 397 U.S. 137 (1970)..... 18

Robinson v. Visual Packaging, Inc., 705 F. Supp. 216

es MING 4S es ONS ES ck cu Wieewetsanenescubeses 9, 10

Service Armament Co. v. Hyland, 70 N.J. 551, 362

EE eT er 10

South Central Timber Development Inc. v. Wunnicke,

Se ee Se hb 8 0 hw She ce he Keke races teedese 23

United States v. Curtiss-Wright Export Corp., 299 U.S.

Se Eo -wob + 6 64-00 u 0 064 Kb 44006000 008senebuens 22

Weinberger v. Salfi, 422 U.S. 749 (1975) ............ 20

Wickard v. Filburn, 317 U.S. 111 (1942) ............ 24

Constitutional Provisions:

is fo Se PTE rere 2, 3, passim

Came GME, GUO, Fwy Bbc ncccecanccccs 14, 19, 20, 21

Statutes:

Se eee, BRD CEOUED bec on ccncccccvecnonnceses 5

ee ce. IE UE Sh 4 6000s cccnennancuecstcann 4

ee ees: he SOE is 6.66 ce ancanuesccceneuces 4

ee se I CE 8 8.6 av oes ewan wan ankseccenn 12

N.J. Stat. Ann. § 2A:14-22 (West 1987) ....... 2, 3, passim

N.J. Stat. Ann. § 2A:53A-1-47 (West 1987).......... 29

N.J. Stat. Ann. § 14A:4-1(1) (West Supp. 1990)...... 16

N.J. Stat. Ann. § 14A:4-2(1) (West Supp. 1990)...... 4, 16

Vili

PAGE

N.J. Stat. Ann. § 14A:13-3(2) (West 1969)........... 17

N.Jj. Stat. Ann. § 14A:13-11(2) (West 1969).......... 17

Rules:

POF. COOUE TR. BSD ccc ccccncncccccccccsessccceces 7

PEF. SARE TR. GE cc ccc ccccccenccsccccccsccecans 12

Miscellaneous Authorities:

H. Black, Black’s Law Dictionary (Sth ed. 1979)..... 29

G. Gunther, Cases and Materials on Constitutional

SAD GE GE, BEND 0 6c chcccccccesvacscecsosceenes 20

RED PRB. SED Gk ccc cccccccnsecccsesesseses 27

J. Nowak, R. Rotunda & J. Young, Constitutional

Law (3d ed.

L. Tribe, American Constitutional Law (2d ed. 1988) 17, 22

cc onc de Ce ein ee ee eel ae ausched kee ees

0 ot oe > | eee SLR ec eek cee heed oe aee 5

LA

|

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

No. 90-76

>_>

STEPHEN JUZWIN, ef ux., _

Petitioners,

—Y

ASBESTOS CORPORATION, LTD., efc., ef al.,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

>_>

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION FOR RESPONDENT

CAREY CANADA, INC.

Respondent Carey Canada, Inc. [hereinafter ‘‘Carey Can-

ada’’] respectfully requests that this Court deny the petition

for a writ of certiorari seeking review of the Third Circuit’s

decision in this matter.

OPINIONS BELOW

Although the petition correctly notes the citation for the

court of appeals’ reported decision below, this respondent

wishes to add that the district court opinion it reversed is not

published and bears a different caption: Juzwin v. Amtorg

Trading Corp., Civil No. 87-3876, slip op. (D.N.J. opinion

filed February 28, 1989) (reprinted in the appendix to the

Dnata

2

petition’ at 27a). Two other district court opinions in the case

were published, but they concern issues unrelated to those

raised in the petition.’

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Preliminary Statement

This case involves the constitutionality of the New Jersey

“tolling statute,’’ N.J. Stat. Ann. § 2A:14-22 (West 1987),’

which provides, inter alia, that the statute of limitations

applicable to a plaintiff’s claim will toll—that is, cease to

run—as to a defendant foreign corporation (not organized

under the laws of New Jersey) during the time it is not ‘‘rep-

resented’’ within the state. For purposes of the tolling stat-

ute, a foreign corporation not ‘‘represented’’ within the

jurisdiction ‘‘by any person or officer upon whom summons

or other original process may be served,’’ will be ‘‘deemed

represented for purposes of this section if the corporation has

filed with the Secretary of State a notice designating a repre-

sentative to accept service of process.’’ N.J. Stat. Ann

§ 2A:14-22. Since respondent Carey Canada was ‘‘formed

under the laws of Canada, has no corporate offices in the

1 Hereinafter citations to the appendix to the petition will be stated as:

**Pet. App. a’’; citations to the petition itself will be stated as: ‘‘Pet.

2 The petition addresses the validity of the New Jersey ‘‘tolling stat-

ute’’ under the Commerce Clause of the United States Constitution; the two

published district court opinions concern the constitutionality of punitive

damages: Juzwin v. Amtorg Trading Corp., 705 F. Supp. 1053 (D.N.J.

1989), vacated on reconsideration, 718 F. Supp. 1233 (D.N.J. 1989). Unfor-

tunately, in preparing the reported version of the Third Circuit opinion

below striking the New Jersey tolling statute on commerce clause grounds,

West Publishing Co. erroneously replaced citations to the district court’s

unpublished tolling statute opinion with citations to one of the district

court’s reported punitive damages opinions. See Juzwin v. Asbestos Corp.,

Lid., 900 F.2d 686, 688 (3d Cir. 1990) (citing 705 F. Supp. 1053, 1055).

3. ~=Pet. App. 6a. Hereinafter cited without parenthetical reference to

publisher and date.

state of New Jersey, has never been registered to do business

there, and has not appointed an agent for service of process

with the Secretary of State. . . it is not ‘represented’ in New

Jersey within the meaning of the tolling statute.’’ Juzwin v.

Asbestos Corp., Ltd., 900 F.2d 686, 688 (3d Cir. 1990). Pet.

App. 7a. It is this provision regarding designation of an

agent to accept service of process’ which presented the issue

litigated below.

The relevant provision of the tolling statute was added to

the ‘‘current’’ tolling statute’ in 1984 in an attempt to cure a

constitutional defect responsible for the predecessor statute’s

invalidation by both state® and federal courts.’

B. The Facts

On or about July 24, 1987, petitioners Stephen Juzwin and

Mary Juzwin, his wife, filed an action in the Law Division of

the Superior Court of New Jersey alleging that Stephen

4 ‘‘Acorporation shall be deemed represented for purposes of this sec-

tion if the corporation has filed with the Secretary of State a notice designat-

ing a representative to accept service of process.’’ Pet. App. 6a.

5 Except for the addition of the relevant provision set forth in the pre-

ceding note supra, the ‘‘current’’ tolling statute stricken by the decision

below is identical to the ‘‘predecessor’’ tolling statute.

6 ~- In Coons v. American Honda Motor Co., 94 N.J. 307, 463 A.2d 921

(1983) [hereinafter ‘‘Coons I’’], modified, 96 N.J. 419, 476 A.2d 763 (1984)

{hereinafter ‘‘Coons IT’’], cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1123 (1985), the New Jersey

Supreme Court held that by requiring a foreign corporation to obtain a ‘‘cer-

tificate of authority’’ to do business in New Jersey in order to achieve ‘‘rep-

resentation’ and realize the benefits of the statute of limitations, the

predecessor tolling statute amounted to a ‘‘forced licensure provision’’ which

unconstitutionally burdened interstate commerce. Jd. at 318, 463 A.2d at

927. In Coons II the court held that its Coons J ruling should be applied pro-

spectively. [Hereinafter, where appropriate, the Coons opinions will be cited

without subsequent history].

7 Cohn v. G.D. Searle & Co., 598 F. Supp. 965 (D.N.J. 1984) (striking

statute on commerce clause grounds and applying decision retroactively),

reversed in part and remanded, 784 F.2d 460 (3d Cir.) (requiring prospective

application), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 883 (1986). [Hereinafter, where appropri-

ate, opinions in the Cohn line of decisions from 1978 to 1986 will be cited

without subsequent history].

4

Juzwin [hereinafter ‘‘Juzwin’’] developed a pulmonary condi-

tion as a result of his exposure to various asbestos-containing

products manufactured or supplied by the defendants.

Among the defendants named in the complaint was respon-

dent Carey Canada, a corporation organized under the laws

of Canada.

Upon application of defendant Amtorg Trading Corpora-

tion, the action was removed to the United States District

Court for the District of New Jersey, where jurisdiction was

based upon diversity of citizenship.®

During the course of discovery, plaintiffs supplied answers

to interrogatories admitting that Juzwin knew that he had

been diagnosed as having an asbestos-related condition on or

about August 16, 1982.” Moreover, on June 7, 1982—several

months before he learned of that diagnosis—Juzwin, repre-

sented by counsel, filed a Workers Compensation action for

the same type of condition at issue in the instant case and

subsequently collected benefits.'® Since plaintiffs’ action was

not filed within twc years of his diagnosis as required by the

applicable statute of limitations governing personal injury

claims, N.J. Stat. Ann. § 2A:14-2 (West 1987), defendant

Carey Canada moved for dismissal of plaintiffs’ complaint

on that ground, arguing that the New Jersey tolling statute

was invalid under the Commerce Clause of the United States

Constitution and therefore could not operate to toll the run-

8 To assist the Court and petitioner with respect to Rule 14.1(i), Carey

Canada notes that jurisdiction in the district court was predicated upon

diversity of citizenship pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1441(a) and 28 U.S.C.

§ 1332(c). The amount in controversy was alleged to exceed $10,000.

9 See Joint Appendix in Juzwin v. Asbestos Corp., Ltd., 900 F.2d.

686 (3d Cir. 1990) at pages i1 and 16c. [Hereinafter citations to the Joint

Appendix before the Third Circuit will be stated as ‘‘Jt. App. ”"). See

also tne opinion of the district court below at Pet. App. 29a-30a.

10 See Plaintiffs’ Answers to Part I Interrogatories, response to I[.27

attaching ‘‘Employee’s Claim Petition,’’ No. 82-16872 (filed June 2, 1982

with the Division of Workers Compensation, Department of Labor and

Industry, State of New Jersey), as well as two ‘‘Order(s] Approving Settle-

ment With Dismissal.’’ (Discussed in Carey Canada’s opening brief to the

Third Circuit at page 6).

5

ning of the limitations period. Carey Canada also requested

that the decision striking the tolling statute be applied retro-

actively. Pet. App. 28a; Jt. App. at 16.

Although Carey Canada, a Canadian corporation, has been

joined as a defendant in numerous federal and state actions

in New Jersey over the past eight or more years, it is not

‘*represented’’ in the jurisdiction for tolling statute purposes.

See Preliminary Statement supra. Furthermore, since Carey

Canada sold its asbestos fiber ‘‘F.O.B. Quebec, Canada,’’”

it did not conduct its business operations in the United

States.

The district court upheld the constitutionality of the tolling

statute, denied Carey Canada’s motion, and certified the toll-

ing statute issue for interlocutory appeal under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1292(b). The Third Circuit granted Carey Canada permis-

sion to appeal and reversed, holding that the tolling statute

impermissibly burdened interstate commerce. Furthermore,

the Third Circuit, speaking through the Honorable Collins J.

Seitz, C.J., held that its decision striking the tolling statute

should be retroactively applied. Juzwin, 900 F.2d 686, 696

(3d Cir. 1990). Pet. App. la, 26a.

11 Carey Canada’s Answers to Interrogatories at A.4. (Discussed in

Carey Canada’s opening brief to the Third Circuit at 7). A ‘‘Free on Board”’

point of origin contract requires the seller to put his goods in the possession

of the carrier at that location. See U.C.C. §§ 2-319 and 2-504.

al

6

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

I.

THE DECISION OF THE THIRD CIRCUIT DOES NOT

CONFLICT WITH THE LAW OF NEW JERSEY AND

THE NEW JERSEY APPELLATE COURTS ARE

CURRENTLY CONSIDERING WHETHER TO

FOLLOW THAT DECISION

A. New Jersey Law Does Not Provide for the ‘‘Saving Con-

struction’’ of the Tolling Statute Urged by Petitioners

One of the principal arguments advanced by petitioners for

grant of certiorari in the case at bar is that the Third Circuit

disregarded a ‘‘saving construction’’ of the tolling statute

adopted by New Jersey state courts. See, e.g., Pet. at 4, 6, 7,

12, 13, 14 and 24. In support of this argument, petitioners

cite the unpublished summary affirmance of the New Jersey

Superior Court, Appellate Division in Armenti v. Carey Can-

ada, Inc.,'* and a district court opinion, Cutler v. Raymark

Industries, Inc., 707 F. Supp. 168 (D.N.J. 1989), which was

overruled’? by the Third Circuit decision at bar.

Contrary to petitioners’ assertions, neither the bench opin-

ions rendered by Law Division Judges Keefe and Mannion,“

nor the order of the Appellate Division (Pet. App. 47a) con-

stitutes precedent ‘‘binding upon any court”’ since those deci-

12. Armenti v. Carey Canada, Inc., No. L-045449-87 (N.J. Super. Ct.

Law Div. Middlesex County), aff’d without opinion, No. 177-88T3F (N.J.

Super. Ct. App. Div. order filed Nov. 7, 1988).

13. In Cutler, the district court upheld the same tolling provision at bar

in Juzwin against a commerce clause challenge.

14 Thetwo bench opinions are reprinted in the appendix to this brief at

la and 23a, respectively. [Hereinafter citations to the appendix to this brief

will be stated as: ‘‘Brief App.’’].

ieee

7

sions were not approved for publication pursuant to N.J.

Court R. 1:36-3."°

Furthermore, this respondent respectfully maintains the

decisions in Armenti cannot serve even as persuasive author-

ity regarding the statutory construction and commerce clause

issues raised by petitioner. Both the initial trial court bench

opinion, rendered before this Court’s decision in Bendix

Autolite Corp. v. Midwesco Enterprises, Inc., 486 U.S. 888

(1988), and the second trial court bench opinion rendered

thereafter pursuant to defendants’ motion for rehearing, are

marred by erroneous interpretations of significant issues.'®

The Appellate Division’s order in Armenti cannot serve as a

greater source of persuasive authority since it ‘‘summarily

affirm[s] the Law Division’s ruling ‘‘for the reasons

expressed in the September 16, 1988 oral opinion of Judge

Mannion which effectively supplemented the May 27, 1988

oral opinion of Judge Keefe.’’ Pet. App. 47a.

A review of petitioners’ other arguments in support of the

‘saving construction’’ reveals the weakness of their position.

As in the proceedings below, petitioners maintain that the

New Jersey tolling statute is valid since, unlike the Ohio toll-

ing provision invalidated by this Court’s decision in Bendix,

486 U.S. 888 (1988), the New Jersey enactment permits out-

of-state corporations not registered to do business in New

Jersey to obtain the protection of the statute of limitations by

15 That rule provides: ‘‘No unpublished opinion shall constitute prece-

dent or be binding upon any court. Except to the extent required by res judi-

cata, collateral estoppel, the single controversy doctrine or any other similar

principle of law, no unpublished opinion shall be cited by any court. No

unpublished opinion shall be cited to any court by counsel unless all other

parties are served with a copy of the opinion and of all other relevant unpub-

lished opinions known to counsel including those adverse to the position of

his client.’’ Jd.

16 For example, Judge Keefe stated that the enactment did not unduly

burden interstate commerce on the theory that since it pertains to both indi-

viduals and corporations it is ‘‘not aimed simply at commerce conduct.”’

Brief App. 19a. Regarding Judge Mannion’s bench opinion, this respondent

respectfully maintains that undue weight was given to the New Jersey legisla-

ture’s perceived desire to create a constitutional statute. See Brief App.

at 39a.

8

designating a representative for service of process whose

authority is limited to causes of action as to which the corpo-

ration has a ‘‘nexus’’ with New Jersey, i.e., the minimum

contacts necessary for in personam jurisdiction under the Due

Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment. See, e.g., Pet.

at 5.

Although nothing in the wording of the New Jersey tolling

statute suggests that it permits the appointment of an agent

for service of process whose authority is limited to minimum

contact causes of action,'’ proponents of the statute in the

proceedings below argued that the absence of language pro-

hibiting such appointments permitted the federal courts to

perform ‘‘judicial surgery’’ and read in such a provision. The

argument that a judicial interpretation of the New Jersey toll-

ing statute may ignore the plain meaning of the enactment to

avoid an unconstitutional result conflicts with the sound legal

principle that a court cannot substitute its judgment for that

of the legislature by rewriting a statute."

Petitioners’ limited designation argument is also undercut

by New Jersey decisional law that designation of an agent to

accept service of process subjects a corporation to the general

jurisdiction of the forum.”

17 _—‘ The statute flatly states that: ‘‘A corporation shall be deemed repre-

sented for purposes of this section if the corporation has filed with the Secre-

tary of State a notice designating a representative to accept service of

process.’’ N.J. Stat. Ann. § 2A:14-22.

18 See, e.g., Badaracco v. Commissioner, 464 U.S. 386 (1984) (courts

are not authorized to rewrite a statute because they might deem its effects

susceptible of improvement); Harmon v. Phillips Petroleum Co., 555 F.

Supp. 447 (D. Mont. 1982) (court cannot substitute its judgment for that of

the legislature or insert what it deems has been omitted).

Unlike the excision of a severable unconstitutional provision, the task

urged by proponents of the “‘limited designation’’ argument would require a

court to traverse the boundaries between the judicial and legislative branches

of government and engage in the quintessentially legislative function of for-

mulating a new statute.

19 See, e.g., Allied-Signal, Inc. v. Purex Industries, Inc., 242 N.J.

Super. 362, 576 A.2d 942 (N.J. Super. Ct. App. Div. 1990). In Allied, plain-

— |

9

In support of their argument that the New Jersey tolling

statute permits the filing of limited designations, petitioners

also refer to the affidavit of Paul E. Wermuth, an attorney

for the New Jersey Secretary of State. Pet. at 12-13 & n.6. In

that affidavit, Mr. Wermuth, relying upon unpublished

‘tadvice of the New Jersey Attorney General’’ rather than a

formal opinion from that official, maintains that the Secre-

tary of State permits the ‘‘filing of designations by unregis-

tered, foreign corporations of representatives for service of

process only with respect to causes of action which have the

minimum contacts for due process purposes in this State.

Such designations are recorded by this office and insulate

foreign corporations filing such designations from causes of

action which have no nexus with New Jersey.’’”

tiff served its complaint on Purex’s registered agent for service of process

appointed pursuant to N.J. Stat. Ann. § 14A:4-1 and -2 (West. Supp. 1990).

[Reprinted at Pet. App. 56a-58a]. The ‘‘only question’’ on appeal was

whether plaintiff obtained personal jurisdiction over Purex by virtue of that

service. 576 A.2d at 943. ‘‘Purex contended that, while it owned real prop-

erty here, registering its agent for process was only related to New Jersey

~ environmental litigation stemming from its predecessor’s activities,’’ and

that ‘‘it had effectively left the State for purposes of Allied’s action.’’ /d.

Rejecting Purex’s limited designation argument, the court stated: ‘‘We know

of no New Jersey or Supreme Court authority for the proposition that a cor-

poration may limit a state’s jurisdiction in the manner Purex suggests and

none has been cited to us. Moreover, Purex asserts no limiting action on its

part in the appointment process under N.J.S.A. 14A:4-2.’’ Jd. Drawing on

Burnham v. Superior Court of California, County of Marin, 110 S. Ct. 2105

(1990), the court held that service on Purex’s registered agent conferred per-

sonal jurisdiction over that firm ‘‘regardless of the nature of the litigation.”’

576 A.2d at 945.

20 ‘‘Affidavit of Paul E. Wermuth’’ dated September 8, 1988 at para-

graph 5. [The affidavit is reprinted in the appendix hereto at Brf. App. 4Sa.]

The affidavit bears the caption of, and is discussed in, Robinson v. Visual

Packaging, Inc., 705 F. Supp. 216, 220 (D.N.J. 1989) (rejecting limited des-

ignation argument and striking iolling statute under commerce clause).

Although the proponents of the tolling statute referred to the affidavit in

making their ‘‘limited designation’’ argument, the document was not filed

with the clerk of the district court in the proceedings below. Nevertheless, the

i

10

Since the Wermuth affidavit is by no means a controlling

interpretation of the tolling statute,’ in the absence of a

binding state court precedent the Third Circuit was free to

construe the statute in a manner consistent with its plain

meaning and reject petitioners’ limited designation argument.

Indeed, a district court which struck the tolling statute on

commerce clause grounds prior to the Third Circuit’s ruling

below did exactly that.”

B. The New Jersey Superior Court, Appellate Division Is

Currently Reviewing the Commerce Clause Issue Decided

by the Third Circuit

One of the most obvious and compelling reason for deny-

ing the writ is the fact that the Appellate Division of the

Superior Court of New Jersey is currently considering

whether to follow the Third Circuit’s opinion in Juzwin v.

Asbestos Corp., Ltd., 900 F.2d 686 (3d Cir. 1990).

In DiFalco v. Subaru of America, Inc., the Appellate Divi-

sion of the New Jersey Superior Court recently granted a

defendant’s motion for leave to appeal to consider whether

the New Jersey tolling provision stricken in Juzwin violat

the Commerce Clause of the United States Constitution.”

Third Circuit considered the affidavit and permitted its filing in the supple-

mental appendix of the intervenor, the State of New Jersey.

The Wermuth affidavit does not indicate when the Secretary of State initi-

ated the informal administrative practice of accepting limited desi:nations.

Brf. App. 45a.

21 Service Armament Co. v. Hyland, 70 N.J. §51, 561, 362 A.2d 13, 19

(1976) (‘‘ ‘An appellate tribunal is . . . in no way bound by [an] agency’s

interpretation of a statute... .’’’) (quoting Mayflower Securities Co. v.

Bureau of Securities, 64 N.J. 85, $3, 312 A.2d 497, 501 (1973)).

22 Robinson v. Visual Packaging, Inc., 707 F. Supp. 216, 220 (D.N.J.

1989).

23. +~=In DiFalco, defendant Takata Corporation, a Japanese enterprise

not ‘‘represented’’ within New Jersey for purposes of the tolling statute,

moved for summary judgment on the ground that plaintiff’s action was not

filed within the two-year limitations period provided by N.J. Stat. Ann.

i iineniaiaeai il

11

Even if New Jersey’s Appellate Division does not reach the

commerce clause issue in DiFalco,“ grant of certiorari still

would not be appropriate in the case at bar since there are a

number of ‘‘tolling statute’? motions pending in the New Jer-

sey state trial courts which provide an opportunity for review

of that issue by New Jersey’s appellate courts.”

§ 2A:14-2 (West 1987). Relying on the Third Circuit’s decision in Juzwin,

Takata argued that the tolling statute could not be invoked to extend plain-

tiff’s time since the statute is invalid under the Commerce Clause. Both

plaintiff and the State of New Jersey as intervenor opposed the motion on

the ground that the Law Division should uphold the constitutionality of the

tolling statute despite the Third Circuit’s decision in Juzwin. The trial court

trial heard argument on June 15, 1990 and denied Takata’s motion ‘‘for the

reasons stated by the Deputy Attorney General.’’ Transcript of Proceedings

at page 30, lines 23-24. That ruling was memorialized by order dated June

21, 1990. Brief App. 49a. Defendant Takata then filed a motion for leave to

appeal with the Appellate Division of Superior Court which by order dated

August 6, 1990, agreed to review the trial court’s order. Brief App. 41a. See

also Brief App. at 43a (scheduling order).

24 ~~ Based upon this respondent’s review of available briefs in that case,

it appears that the plaintiff resisted Takata’s trial court motion on two

grounds: 1) the validity of the tolling statute and 2) a state procedural law

argument that her amended complaint against Takata should ‘‘relate back’’

to the filing of her original complaint (naming other defendants) so as to be

deemed timely.

25 Counsel for respondent Carey Canada represents defendants in a

considerable number of pending state court actions in which the tolling stat-

ute issue is potentially outcome determinative and virtually certain to be

appealed no matter which side prevails. If a particular state trial court judge

upholds the tolling statute and denies our defendant’s statute of limitations

motion, that defendant will appeal to the Appellate Division. If that state

trial court finds the tolling statute invalid under the commerce clause, either

plaintiff or the State of New Jersey—which intervenes in such actions to

defend the tolling statute—is quite likely to appeal. (Pursuant to N.J. Court.

R. 4:28-4(a)-(d), a litigant ‘‘question[ing]’’ the ‘‘validity of a statute, execu-

tive order, franchise, or constitutional provision of [the State of New Jer-

sey]’’ in an action to which the state is not a party, must notify the Attorney

General who may intervene to defend the statute. In the district court pro-

ceedings in the case at bar, the State of New Jersey intervened pursuant to

the analogous federal statute, 28 U.S.C. § 2403(b)).

12

Thus it would be an unnecessary departure from this

Court’s established practice to devote resources to the resolu-

tion of an illusory conflict between that intermediate state

appellate court” and the court of appeals when the former

may, within the next few weeks or months, choose to follow

the Third Circuit’s decision below. See Rule 10(b).

C. The Third Circuit Utilized Petitioners’ ‘‘Saving Construc-

tion’’ in Striking the Tolling Statute on Commerce Clause

Grounds

This respondent is obligated by Rule 15.1 to point out that

the Third Circuit did not ignore the ‘‘saving construction’’

urged by petitioners below.

Petitioners argue that the Third Circuit ‘‘abandoned the

principle that unnecessary constitutional adjudication should

be avoided if a statute can fairly be given a constitutional

interpretation”’ by refusing to employ the ‘“‘limited designa-

tion’’ construction described above under Point IA. See Pet.

at 4; 6-7; 12 & n.6; 14. Contrary to petitioners’ assertions,

the Third Circuit expressly stated that it evaluated the consti-

tutionality of the tolling statute in accordance with the lim-

ited designation argument urged by petitioners and adopted

by the district court below.

The district court concluded that, unlike the Ohio statu-

tory scheme, the New Jersey tolling statute does not

compel the conclusion that designation of an agent for

service of process subjects a foreign corporation to the

general jurisdiction of the New Jersey courts. The court

noted the Secretary of State’s practice of accepting des-

Two state court cases in which counsel for respondent Carey Canada soon

expects decisions on the constitutionality of the tolling statute are: Leogrande

vy. Keene Corp., No. W-026197-87 (N.J. Super. Ct. Law Div. Middlesex

County) (motion of defendant Pittsburgh Corning returnable September 14,

1990}; Anderson v. Owens-Corning Fiberglas Corp., No. W—012500-89

(N.J. Super. Ct. Law Div. Middlesex County).

26 See discussion of the New Jersey Superior Court, Appellate Divi-

sion’s unpublished summary affirmance in Armenti under Point IA supra.

13

ignations of a representative for service of process only

for causes of action having a nexus with New Jersey.

Such a limited designation, the court held, imposed no

unconstitutional burden on interstate commerce.

II. As we read Bendix, the New Jersey tolling statute

would be invalid if it were applied to all foreign corpo-

rations, regardless of their connection with New Jersey.

However, we will assume without deciding that the New

Jersey Supreme Court would interpret the statute to per-

mit designation of an agent for service of process only

for causes of action having a nexus with New Jersey.

The issue then become whether the statute so interpreted

still constitutes an impermissible burden on interstate

commerce.

Juzwin v. Asbestos Corp., Ltd., 900 F.2d 686, 689 (3d Cir.

1990). Pet App. 7a-8a. The concluding paragraph of Judge

Seitz’s commerce clause discussion also notes that the ‘‘lim-

ited designation’’ construction of the tolling statute was uti-

lized: ‘‘Thus, even with a limiting construction, N.J. Stat.

Ann. § 2A:14-22 violates the commerce clause under either

[the heightened scrutiny or balancing] test since a nondiscrim-

inatory procedure, less burdensome to interstate commerce,

could be adopted by New Jersey.’’ Jd. at 692. Pet. App. 14a-

1Sa.

Even if one were inclined to accept petitioners’ suggestion

that the Third Circuit merely ‘‘purported’’ to utilize the

saving construction while actually evaluating the statute on

the premise that it did not permit foreign corporations to file

limited designations,” one must note that the court of

appeals would have been within its rights in doing so since

petitioners’ construction is at variance with the plain meaning

of the statute and not supported by any binding state prece-

dents. See Point IA supra.

27 ~=—s See, e.g., Pet. at 4.

14

Il.

THE THIRD CIRCUIT’S DECISION STRIKING THE

NEW JERSEY TOLLING STATUTE UNDER THE

INTERSTATE COMMERCE CLAUSE IS ENTIRELY

CONSISTENT WITH THIS COURT’S PRECEDENTS

A. Heightened Interstate Commerce Clause Scrutiny Is The

Appropriate Standard of Review for the Tolling Provision

at Bar

Petitioners raise a number of objections to the Third Cir-

cuit’s resolution of the commerce clause issue. Initially, peti-

tioners complain that the New Jersey tolling provision should

not have been reviewed under the ‘‘heightened scrutiny’’

interstate commerce clause standard. See Pet. at 15-17. Peti-

tioners begin their argument with the unusual assertion that

‘*[jJudicial review of state statutes challenged under the Com-

merce Clause are governed by a two-track standard, similar

to the two-tiered scrutiny of the Equal Protection Clause.’’”

Petitioners claim that the ‘‘sole basis for the [Third Cir-

cuit’s] application of the heightened scrutiny standard was its

erroneous conclusion that the statute on its face, ‘applies to

out-of-state corporations but not to New Jersey corpora-

tions.’ 900 F.2d at 689 and n.3 (9a).””

Contrary to petitioners’ assertion, the tolling statute provi-

sion at issue in the case at bar—the one which permits ‘‘cor-

28 See Pet. at 15. Respondent Carey Canada understands there are

three basic levels of review under the equal protection clause (strict scrutiny,

intermediate tier review typically employed in gender discrimination cases,

and rational basis review) and three basic standards of review under the com-

merce clause. See generally J. Nowak, R. Rotunda & J. Young, Constitu-

tional Law § 14.3 at 528-33 (3d ed. 1986) (regarding equal protection). A

brief discussion of the three standards of commerce clause review appears in

the Third Circuit’s opinion below. Juzwin v. Asbestos Corp., Ltd., 900 F.2d

686, 689 (3d Cir. 1990). Pet. App. 8a.

29 ~=—s— Pett. at. 16. Petitioners buttress this argument with the assertion that

since the tolling statute has provisions applicable to individual ‘‘citiz¢ns’’ of

New Jersey who temporarily leave the state, it is a facially neutrai, nondis-

criminatory enactment. See Pet. at 16-17.

is A a i aommmpacoanape aaa

15

porations’’ to achieve representation by designating an agent

for service of process*°—applies exclusively ‘‘to out of state

corporations but not to New Jersey corporations. .. .”’

Juzwin, 900 F.2d 686, 689 [footnote omitted]. As the Third

Circuit noted: ‘‘The critical words are ‘any corporation or

corporate surety not organized under the laws of this

State.’ ’’ Juzwin, 900 F.2d at 689, n.3 (quoting N.J. Stat.

Ann. § 2A:14-22). Since the New Jersey tolling provision is

facially discriminatory, the heightened scrutiny test is appro-

priate:

Statutes which discriminate on their face or in their

plain effect against interstate commerce are subject to

heightened scrutiny. This heightened scrutiny places the

burden on the state to ‘‘demonstrate both that the stat-

ute ‘serves a legitimate local purpose,’ and that this pur-

pose could not be served as well by available

nondiscriminatory means.”’

Old Coach Development Corp. v. Tanzman, 881 F.2d 1227,

1231 (3d Cir. 1989} (citations omitted) (quoting Maine v.

Taylor, 477 U.S. 131, 138 (1986)) (quoting Hughes v. Okla-

homa, 441 U.S. 322, 336 (1979)).

Also unpersuasive is petitioners’ argument that the tolling

statute should be deemed ‘‘a facially neutral, non-

discriminatory enactment”’ in the case at bar since it also tolls

the statute of limitations with respect to individuals who

leave the state. Even if one could accept the premise that the

existence of a distinct provision depriving individuals of a

limitations defense justified the discrimination between for-

eign and domestic corporations, a binding New Jersey state

trial court precedent has stricken the tolling statute on com-

merce clause grounds with respect to a nonresident individ-

ual. Crespo v. Stapf, 242 N.J. Super. 254, 576 A.2d 346

(N.J. Super. Ct. Law Div. 1990).

In Crespo, plaintiff brought a product liability action alleg-

ing personal injuries attributable to a machine supplied by

defendant Stapf, a resident of Germany who operates his

30 ~=The only provision relevant to the case at bar is contained in the

final paragraph of the statute: See Pet. App. 6a, or see n. 4 supra.

16

unincorporated business in that nation. The court, reviewing

the relevant provision’! under a balancing test,’” held the stat-

ute unduly burdensome of interstate commerce since ‘‘the

only method by which a nonresident individual may receive

the protection of our statute of limitations is to become a res-

ident of this state.’’ Jd. at 260, 576 A.2d at 348. ‘‘A state

‘may not condition this exercise of the defense (of the statute

of limitations) on the relinquishment of rights that the for-

eign . . . (defendant) would otherwise retain.” Among the

rights a foreign defendant would retain is the right to choose

his residence, and in particular, to choose not to be a resident

of this State.’’ Jd. at 260, 576 A.2d at 349 (citation omitted)

(quoting Bendix Autolite Corp. v. Midwesco Enterprises,

Inc., 486 U.S. 888, 893 (1988)).

Petitioners’ next argument against application of strict

interstate commerce clause scrutiny is based on the premise

that since corporations organized under the laws of New Jer-

sey (as well as those foreign corporations licensed to transact

business within the state) are required to continuously main-

tain ‘‘a registered office in [the] State’’ and a ‘“‘registered

agent [for service of process] having a business office identi-

cal with such registered office,”””? the New Jersey tolling stat-

ute is nondiscriminatory in that it ‘‘does not impose any

burden on nonresident corporations that is not imposed

equally on domestic corporations’’ which must ‘‘appoint an

agent for service of process as a precondition to obtaining

corporate status.’’ Pet. at 7. See also, Pet. at 17 (‘‘No out-

31 See n.4 supra.

32 The court declined to review the provisions regarding nonresident

individual defendants under the per se test on the theory that: ‘‘The purpose

of this statute, however, is to preserve causes of action which New Jersey res-

idents may have against nonresidents, not to erect barriers against foreign

businesses competing with New Jersey ones.’’ Crespo v. Stapf, 242 N.J.

Super. 254, 258, $76 A.2d 346, 347-48 (N.J. Super. Ct. Law Div. 1990). This

respondent respectfully maintains that the tolling provision in Crespo war-

ranted review under the per se test.

33. sON..J. Stat. Ann. § 14A:4-1(1) (West 1990). Pet. App. 56a-57a. See

also, N.J. Stat. Ann. § 14A:4-2(1) (West 1990) (requiring said agent to

accept service of process on behalf of corporation). Pet. App. 57a.

te padi ty inate viva

17

of-state-corporation is subjected to a registration burden that

is not applied equally to New Jersey corporations’’). This

previously unasserted™ argument fails to appreciate the basic

difference between intrastate and interstate commerce, and

fails to understand the elementary proposition of constitu-

tional law that the scope of permissible state regulation is

considerably greater with respect to the former.** Moreover,

petitioners’ argument regarding the scope of permissible state

regulations with respect to corporations with substantial

intrastate activities is completely irrelevant to foreign corpo-

34 Since this statutory argument was not raised below, petitioners can-

not properly assert it in their petition to this Court. See G.D. Searle & Co. v.

Cohn, 455 U.S. 404, 412, n.7. Petitioner did make arguments below based

upon different New Jersey statutes affecting corporations, but they were sig-

nificantly different. N.J. Stat. Ann § 14A:13-11 (West 1969) pertains to for-

eign corporations engaged in intrastate business activities, and provides, infer

alia, that any such corporation which fails to obtain a certificate of authority

to transact business in the state is prohibited from maintaining ‘‘any action

or proceeding in any court of this State.’’ § 14A:13-11(1). Petitioners, citing

subparagraph (2) of the statute, argued that since foreign corporations trans-

acting business in the state who fail to obtain a certificate of authority are

not precluded from ‘‘defending any action or proceeding’’ the New Jersey

tolling statute was not unduly burdensome:

Furthermore, the denial of a limitations remedy does not even impair

the ability to defend a suit on the merits or to raise the equitable

defense of laches. The New Jersey statutory scheme explicitly states:

{citation to N.J. S.A. § 14A:13-11(2).

Third Circuit ‘‘Brief for Plaintiffs-Appellees Stephen and Mary Juzwin’’ at

9. See Materials Research Corp. v. Metron, Inc., 64 N.J. 74, 312 A.2d 147

(1973) (“‘transacting business term of § 14A:13-11 does not apply to corpora-

tions engaged only in interstate commerce).

In support of their argument petitioners also cited N.J.S.A. § 14:13-3(2)

(West 1969) which provides, inter alia, that ‘‘a foreign corporation shall not

be considered to be transacting business within this State’’ by virtue of its

participation in a legal proceeding. § 14:13-3(2)a). See above-referenced

brief at 16 (also citing N.J.S.A. § 14A:13-11(2)).

35 See, e.g., Eli Lilly & Co. v. Sav-On-Drugs, Inc., 366 U.S. 276, 284

(1961) (non-New Jersey corporation which engaged in ‘‘local intrastate busi-

ness’’ through New Jersey office with 18 salaried employees could be barred

from maintaining action in state court for noncompliance with state statu-

tory scheme requiring such corporations to obtain certificate of authority.

See generally L. Tribe, American Constitutional Law § 6-5 (2d ed. 1988).

18

rations engaged in purely interstate or (like respondent Carey

Canada) international commerce.

Given the facially discriminatory character of the tolling

provision at bar, the Third Circuit’s use of the heightened

scrutiny standard of commerce clause review is clearly proper

and in accordance with this Court’s decision in Bendix Auto-

lite v. Midwesco Enterprises, Inc., 486 U.S. 888, 891 (1990).

B. The Tolling Provision at Bar Cannot Survive Scrutiny

Under the Interstate Commerce Clause Balancing Test

Petitioners maintain that the Third Circuit also erred in

finding the tolling statute violative of the commerce clause

under the balancing test enunciated in Pike v. Bruce Church,

Inc., 397 U.S. 137 (1970). See Pet. at 18-21. Petitioners do

not contend that the statute at bar should have been reviewed

under the deferential standard of commerce clause review;”

rather they maintain that the Third Circuit improperly

applied the balancing test in a manner “‘tantamount to very

strict scrutiny.’’ Pet. at 18.

Petitioners’ argument that the balancing test was misap-

plied is based primarily upon their assertion that the Third

Circuit’s decision below ‘‘was in flagrant disregard of this

Court’s decision in G.D. Searle & Co. v. Cohn, 455 U.S.

404, 410-11 (1982).’’?”’ The decision below does not conflict

36 Asthe Third Circuit noted: ‘‘None of the parties argue that the cor-

rect standard to be applied to the New Jersey tolling statute is that of defer-

ential review. New Jersey has, of course, a legitimate interest in facilitating

the claims of its citizens, but we are not here concerned with a ‘peculiarly

strong’ state interest, such as health or safety. These are the areas that most

commonly invoke the deferential standard. Juzwih v. Asbestos Corp., Lid.,

900 F.2d 686, 689, n.2 (3d Cir. 1990) (quoting Ford Motor Co. v. Insurance

Comm’r of Pa., 874 F.2d 926, 941 (3d Cir.), cert. denied sub nom., United

Services Auto. Ass’n v. Foster, 110 S. Ct. 418 (1989)).

Petitioners’ statements to the effect that the Third Circuit should have

been ‘‘relatively deferential’ or shown ‘‘substantial deference’’ to the New

Jersey tolling statute appear only in connection with their request for review

under the Pike balancing test. See, ¢.g., Pet. at 7 and 18.

37 ~—s Pet. at 19. See also Pet. at 6 (‘‘[The Third Circuit's] holding was in

direct conflict with this Court’s decision in G.D. Searle & Co. v. Cohn, 455

ala ee

19

with this Court’s decision in Cohn. In Cohn, this Court

affirmed the Third Circuit's ruling upholding New Jersey’s

previous—not current—tolling statute against an equal pro-

tection challenge, but nevertheless vacated the judgment

below and remanded the case to the court of appeals for con-

sideration of petitioner G.D. Searle’s argument that the stat-

ute violated the Commerce Clause.*

As in the proceedings below, petitioners rely on decisions

upholding the previous New Jersey tolling statute against due

process”? and equal protection challenges in support of their

argument that the courts’ ‘‘balancing’’ of the predecessor

tolling statute’s burdens and benefits under those constitu-

tional tests impels the conclusion that the current tolling stat-

ute should be upheld if reviewed under the ‘‘balancing test’’

employed in commerce clause cases.“ This argument ignores

U.S. 404 (1982), a decision which rejected the identical overinclusivity attack

on the New Jersey tolling statute asserted in the guise of an equal protection

challenge.’’) (emphasis in original); Pet. at 7 (‘‘flagrant disregard’); Pet. at 6

and 19 (Third Circuit ‘‘did not even attempt to distinguish’’ Cohn).

38 455 U.S. 404, 412 (1982), remanded sub nom., Hopkins v. Kelsey-

Hayes, Inc. , 677 F.2d 301 (3d Cir. 1982). The Third Circuit in turn remanded

the case to the district court to develop a record regarding the commerce

clause issues. 677 F.2d at 302, on remand, 598 F. Supp. 965 (D.N.J. 1984).

The district court held the predecessor tolling statute violative of the com-

merce clause and determined that its decision should be retroactively applied.

598 F. Supp. at 969. The Third Circuit reversed the district court’s decision

only with respect to the retroactivity issue and remanded for further proceed-

ings consistent with that ruling. Cohn v. G.D. Searie & Co., 784 F.2d 460,

467 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 883 (1986).

39 ~~ In the consolidated Cohn v. G.D. Searle & Co./Hopkins v. Kelsey-

Hayes cases, Third Circuit rejected both due process and eqmal protection

challenges to the previous New Jersey tolling statute. Hopkins v. Kelsey-

Hayes, Inc., 628 F.2d 801, 811 (3d Cir. 1980). Since G.D. Searle & Co. tried

to assert different due process arguments in the proceedings before this

Court, only the equal protection challenge was reviewed. G. D. Searle & Co.

v. Cohn, 455 U.S. 404, 412, n.7 (1982)

40 = See, e.g., Pet. at 6 (stating that the Third Circuit’s decision below

‘‘was in direct conflict with this Court’s decision in G.D. Searle & Co. v.

Cohn, 455 U.S. 404 (1982), a decision that rejected the identical over-

inclusivity attack on the [predecessor] New Jersey tolling statute asserted in

the guise of an equal protectiun challenge’’) (emphasis in original).

20

the reality that the ‘‘balancing tests’? employed in due process

and equal protection cases vindicate different interests*’ and

are substantially more deferential to state regulations than the

“‘balancing test’? employed in commerce clause cases.”

Indeed, to illustrate this principle one need only recall that

although the predecessor New Jersey tolling statute was

upheld by the Third Circuit and this Court against equal pro-

tection and due process challenges in Cohn v. G.D. Searle,

41 For purposes of due process and equal protection analysis, so-called

‘feconomic and social regulations’’ (such as tolling statutes) are reviewed

under the highly deferential ‘‘rational basis’’ test which virtually presumes an

enactment valid unless the litigant challenging it shows it to be ‘‘demonstra-

bly arbitrary or irrational.’’ Duke Power Co. v. Carolina Environmental

Study Group, Inc., 438 U.S. 59 (1978) (due process). Equal protection and

due process review require only that the court ask whether the challenged

enactment is rationally related to any constitutionally permissible state inter-

est. See Hopkins v. Kelsey-Hayes, Inc., 628 F.2d 801, 809 (3d Cir. 1980).

Furthermore, there is authority that review under that standard permits the

court to hypothesize as to the motivations of the state legislature to find a

legitimate objective promoted by the legislation under attack. See Wein-

berger v. Salfi, 422 U.S. 749 (1975). Since the Commerce Clause vindicates

the exclusively federal power over international and interstate commerce, a

less deferential standard of review is appropriate than that employed in

rational basis due process and equal protection cases reviewing economic and

social regulations predicated upon the states’ traditional police powers.

42 See, e.g., Bendix Autolite v. Midwesco Enterprises, Inc., 486 U.S.

888, 893-94, text preceding n.3 (1988) (‘‘It is true that serving foreign corpo-

rate defendants may be more arduous than serving domestic corporations or

foreign corporations with a designated agent for service, and we have held

for Equal Protection purposes that a State rationally may make adjustments

for this difference by curtailing limitations protection for absent foreign cor-

porations. G.D. Searle & Co. v. Cohn, 455 U.S. 404 (1982). Nevertheless,

State interests that are legitimate for equal protection or due process pur-

poses may be insufficient to withstand Commerce Clause scrutiny’’); Great

Western United Corp. v. Kidwell, 577 F.2d 1256, 1285 (Sth Cir. 1978) (Wis-

dom, J., opinion of the court) (striking an Idaho ‘‘takeover statute’ under

commerce clause balancing test characterized as providing ‘‘a stricter stan-

dard [of review] than the ‘rational relationship’ test of due process analy-

sis’’), rev’d on other grounds, 443 U.S. 182 (1979). See also G. Gunther,

Cases and Materials on Constitutional Law at 311 (%h ed 1975) (cited in

Great Western, $77 F.2d at 1285); Juzwin, 900 F.2d 686, 695. Pet. App. 23a.

wh Sow iat

21

that same statute was shortly thereafter stricken as viclative

of the Commerce Clause.”

Contrary to petitioners’ assertions that the court below

‘*failed to recognize New Jersey’s legitimate interest in its

tolling statute,’ the Third Circuit expressly acknowledged

that interest, but found the burdens of the statute ‘‘grossly

disproportionate to the state’s interest in assisting resident

plaintiffs in the pursuit of claims against foreign corpora-

tions.’’ Juzwin, 900 F.2d 686, 691, 692. Pet. App. 14a.

C. The Existence of a Commerce Clause Violation is Not

Dependent Upon a Finding that a State’s Enactment Con-

fers Competitive Advantages Upon its Residents

Petitioners seem to argue that the tolling statute does not

impermissibly burden interstate commerce since it does not

create any competitive advantages for New Jersey businesses.

See Pet. at 7, 10, 15-16. While not conceding the factual

premise of that argument, this respondent maintains that

petitioners’ legal theory is far too simplistic a view of the

commerce clause and one not adequately supported even by

the cases they cite.”

43 See note 38 and accompanying text supra.

44 Pet. at 18. See also Pet. at 6 (The [Third Circuit] held that New Jer-

sey lacked a legitimate interest in ameliorating the impact of the statute of

limitations. . . .’’)

45 For example, petitioners’ theory fails to account for the heightened

scrutiny standard of review applicable to facially discriminatory enactments.

See Point IIA supra. Furthermore, this respondent does not find support in

the cases cited for the broad proposition that creation of competitive advan-

tages for domestic corporations is the definitive test of a commerce clause

violation.

22

Ill.

EVEN IF THE THIRD CIRCUIT USED AN INAPPRO-

PRIATE STANDARD OF INTERSTATE COMMERCE

CLAUSE REVIEW, THE DECISION BELOW STRIKING

THE NEW JERSEY TOLLING STATUTE IS WAR-

RANTED UNDER THE STANDARD OF SCRUTINY

APPLICABLE TO REGULATIONS BURDENING

INTERNATIONAL COMMERCE

Even if this Court determines that the Third Circuit erred

in striking the New Jersey tolling statute under the heightened

scrutiny or balancing tests applicable to regulations burdening

interstate commerce, issuance of the writ would nevertheless

be inappropriate since the enactment could not survive review

under the most stringent standard of review applicable to

enactments burdening ‘‘foreign’’—i.e. international—

commerce. Although defendant Carey Canada argued below

that the tolling statute could be stricken under the foreign

commerce clause, the Third Circuit found it unnecessary to

reach that issue in light of its holding that the enactment

impermissibly burdened interstate commerce. See Juzwin v.

Asbestos Corp., Ltd., 900 F.2d 686, 690, n.6. Pet. App. 12a.

Article I, § 8 of the United States Constitution grants Con-

gress the power ‘‘to regulate Commerce with f- -eign

Nations.’’ ‘‘This clause has been construed as all but exclu-

sive: ‘It is an essential attribute of the power that it is...

plenary . . . [and that] its exercise may not be limited, quali-

fied or impeded to any extent by state action.’ ’’ L. Tribe,

American Constitutional Law, § 6-21 at 468 (2d ed. 1988)

(quoting Board of Trustees of the Univ. of Illinois v. United

States, 289 U.S. 48, 56 (1933)). [Hereinafter cited as

‘*Tribe’’]. See also Michelin Tire Corp. v. Wages, 423 U.S.

276 (1976) (regulation of foreign commerce is exclusively a

federal power); J. Nowak, R. Rotunda & J. Young, Consti-

tutional Law 125, 131 (3d ed. 1986).

Since the powers of the federal government concerning for-

eign or external affairs are different in origin and nature

from those involving domestic or internal affairs,“ it is

46 United States v. Curtiss-Wright Export Corp., 299 U.S. 304 (1936).

Power over domestic affairs is shared by the federal government and the

|

ee Tee ee ee TE ere we ee

uw

“ 2 East

23

hardly surprising that state enactments burdening inter-

national commerce are subject to stricter scrutiny than those

which burden only interstate commerce. ‘‘It is a well-accepted

rule that state restrictions burdening foreign commerce are

subjected to a more rigorous and searching scrutiny.’’ South

Central Timber Development Inc. v. Wunnicke, 476 U.S. 82,

100 (1984). In Japan Line, Ltd. v. County of Los Angeles,

441 U.S. 434 (1979), a decision striking a California ad

valorem property tax statute as applied to Japanese shippers,

the Court expressly rejected arguments that regulations bur-

dening international commerce are entitled to no more strin-

gent review under the Commerce Clause than that applied to

regulations affecting interstate commerce. Jd. at 446, 448 and

nn. 12 and 13.

As mentioned above, Carey Canada is incorporated under

Canadian law, has no corporate offices in the state of New

Jersey, has never been registered to do business in the state

of New Jersey, and has not appointed an agent for service of

process with the New Jersey Secretary of State. Since Carey

Canada sold its asbestos fiber ‘‘F.O.B. Quebec, Canada’’®’ it

did not conduct its business operations in the United States

and is entitled to have the New Jersey tolling statute reviewed

under the exacting standard applicable to state regulations

burdening foreign commerce. Given the broad definition of

‘foreign commerce,’’“ and the obvious impact or such com-

states since the former’s powers were carved from the general legislative

powers originally held by the states. In the domestic sphere the federal gov-

ernment possesses only those powers specifically granted to it by the Consti-

tution and those ‘‘necessary and proper’’ to the exercise of those enumerated

powers. Power over foreign affairs, however, was never possessed by the

States since it passed directly from the sovereign nation of Great Britain to

the federal government. Jd. at 316-18.

47 See n.il and accompanying test supra.

48 Tribe at 468-469. In the proceedings below, Carey Canada called the

Third Circuit's attention to a case in which that court declined to employ the

brozdest permissible interpretation of the term ‘‘burden on commerce’’ for

purposes of foreign commerce clause review. As Carey Canada explained

below, however, that decision is distinguishable from the case at bar since it

involved a nondiscriminatory regulation which presented only a hypothetical

ee

24

merce in the case at bar, review under the foreign commerce

clause would surely strike the tolling statute in the case at

bar. Indeed, in Bendix this Court struck a similar Ohio toll-

ing statute under a less rigorous interstate commerce clause

standard due to the ‘‘significant’? burdens that enactment

imposed. 108 S. Ct. 2218, 2221 (1988). Furthermore, the

greater cumulative burden the tolling statute poses to interna-

tional commerce also argues for invalidation of the statute

under the foreign commerce clause.”

IV.

RETROACTIVE APPLICATION OF THE THIRD CIR-

CUIT’S DECISION STRIKING THE NEW JERSEY TOLL-

ING STATUTE ON COMMERCE CLAUSE GROUNDS

CONSTITUTES A PROPER APPLICATION OF THIS

COURT’S PRECEDENTS

Petitioners maintain that the Third Circuit’s ruling accord-

ing its decision striking the tolling statute retroactive effect

represents ‘‘an inappropriate application of the standards laid

out in Chevron Oil Co. v. Huson, 404 U.S. 97 (1971) and

Lemon v. Kurtzman, 411 U.S. 192 (1973).’’ Pet. at 22. Peti-

tioners do not assert that the Third Circuit employed a prin-

ciple of retroactivity which conflicts with a decision of this

Court, or a decision of another court of appeals, nor do they

ask this Court to enunciate a new rule of law. See Pet. at

22-25.

burden to foreign commerce: its only potential effect on that commerce was

an increase in price to ultimate consumers of the litigant’s product. Norfolk

Southern Corp. v. Oberly, 822 F.2d 388, 404-407 (3d Cir. 1987). In addition

to distinguishing that case, Carey Canada also argued that a broad interpre-

tation of the term ‘‘burden on commerce’’ for purposes of international and

interstate commerce clause review is supported by the decisions of this Court.

See, e.g., Wickard v. Filburn, 317 U.S. 111 (1942) (farmer growing wheat for

home consumption subject to regulation under federal power over interstate

commerce).

49 The cumulative nature of burdens imposed by the tolling statute was

discussed in Carey Canada’s opening brief to the Third Circuit at 22.

25

Respondent Carey Canada respectfully maintains that peti-

tioners’ mere claim of misapplication of the correct retroac-

(ivity standards does not constitute a sufficiently ‘‘special’’ or

‘*important’’ matter to warrant issuance of the writ. Rule 10.

Indeed, review of the retroactivity issue in accordance with

petitioners’ request would amount to no more than a repeti-

tion of the Third Circuit’s meticulous application of the

proper balancing test to a case involving a state statute with a

long, intricate history.

In making its retroactivity ruling, the Third Circuit, draw-

ing on Lemon v. Kurtzman, 411 U.S. 192 (1973) (Lemon I1),

applied the three-factor test enunciated by this Court in

Chevron Oil Co. v. Huson, 404 U.S. 97 (1971):

First the decision to be applied nonretroactively must

establish a new principle of law, either by overruling

clear past precedent on which litigants may have relied,

or by deciding an issue of first impression whose resolu-

tion was not clearly foreshadowed. Second, it has been

stressed that ‘‘we must ... weigh the merits and

demerits in each case by looking to the prior history of

the rule in question, its purpose and effect, and whether

retrospective operation will further or retard its opera-

tion.’’ Finally, we have weighed the inequity imposed by

retroactive application, for ‘‘{w]here a decision of this

Court could produce substantial inequitable results if

applied retroactively, there is ample basis in our cases

for avoiding the ‘injustice or hardship’ by a holding of

nonretroactivity.”’

404 U.S. at 106-07 (citations omitted).

Although Chevron calls for consideration of arguments

pertaining to each of the three factors, the ultimate decision

regarding retroactivity must be based on an overall evaluation

of the merits. A litigant seeking to avoid retroactive applica-

tion bears the burden of establishing that ‘‘on balance the

weight of the three Chevron factors favors prospective appli-

cation.’’ Juzwin, 900 F.2d at 693. Pet. App. 17a-18a. In the

case at bar the Third Circuit ordered retroactive application

based upon a finding that all three Chevron factors favored

26

retroactive application. Juzwin, 900 F.2d at 693-97. Pet.

App. 15a to 26a.

Petitioners apparently maintain that the Third Circuit erred

in applying the first Chevron factor” in finding that petition-

ers ‘‘could not have reasonably relied upon the statute in fail-

ing to bring suit earlier.’’ Pet. at 23.

Petitioners suggest that their reliance on the tolling statute

was reasonable since the previous version of the enactment

had been subject only ‘‘to several constitutional challenges

from 1983 to 1986.’’ Contrary to petitioners’ suggestion,

the predecessor tolling statute had been challenged on various

constitutional grounds since 1963,°' and was under almost

continuous attack from 1978 to 1986 in both federal and

state courts. Moreover, the predecessor statute had been

50 Petitioners do not expressly state which Chevron factors they are

addressing. See Pet. at 23-25.

$1 See Lemke v. Bailey, 41 N.J. 295, 196 A.2d 523 (1963) (upholding

statute against equal protection challenge).

$2 A chronological account of the Coons and Cohn litigations high-

lig’tts petitioners’ imprudence in delaying the filing of their action.

In 1978, the district court held that by denying the statute of limitations

defense to nonresident corporations subject to long-arm jurisdiction, the

predecessor tolling statute violated the Equal Protection Clause of the Four-

teenth Amendment. Cohn, 447 F. Supp. 903, 912 (D.N.J. 1978). In 1980, the

Third Circuit reversed. Sub nom. Hopkins v. Kelsey-Hayes, Inc., 628 F.2d

801 (3d Cir. 1980). (Although Searle raised the commerce clause issue in its

brief as a subsidiary argument, the Third Circuit declined to address it. See

Hopkins, 677 F.2d 301, 302 (3d Cir. 1982)).

In 1980 American Honda unsuccessfully argued in both the law and appel-

late divisions of New Jersey Superior Court that the predecessor tolling stat-

ute unduly burdened interstate commerce. See Coons v. American Honda

Motor Co., 176 N.J. Super, 575, 424 A.2d 446 (App. Div. 1980). American

Honda then sought leave to appeal the issue to the New Jersey Supreme

Court. See Coons I, 94 N.J. 307, 463 A.2d 921 (1983). When that court

refused to hear the case, American Honda appealed it to this Court. /d.

In February of 1982, this Court affirmed the Third Circwit’s 1980 equal

protection ruling in Hopkins, 628 F.2d 801, but remanded the case to the

court of appeals for consideration of Searle’s commerce clause argument.

Cohn, 455 U.S. 404, 414 (1982).

(footnute continued)

Ss wa ee dedanaesae

ee

27

under attack on commerce clause grounds beginning in

1980.°° As the opinion below so carefully explains, petition-

ers’ delay in filing suit in reliance on the tolling statute can-

not be justified. See Juzwin, 900 F.2d at 692-95. Pet. App.

18a-23a.

Petitioners also maintain that since the New Jersey legisla-

ture drafted the current tolling statute in 1984 specifically to

In March of 1982, this Court vacated the state court judgment in Coons,

176 N.J. Super. 575, 424 A.2d 446 (App. Div. 1980) (rejecting American

Honda’s commerce clause challenge to the tolling statute), and remanded the

case for reconsideration in light of the recent decision in Cohn, 455 U.S. 404.

Honda Motor Co. v. Coons, 455 U.S. 996 (1982). In response to this

remand, the New Jersey Supreme Court certified the cause on its own

motion. See Coons, 94 N.J. 307, 463 A.2d 921 (1983).

In April of 1982, the Third Circuit remanded Cohn (sub nom. Hopkins vy.

Kelsey Hayes, Inc., 677 F.2d 301 (3d Cir 1982)) to district court to develop a

record regarding commerce clause issues.

In August of 1982, plaintiff Stephen Juzwin learned of his alleged injury

when he was diagnosed as having an asbestos-related condition. In August

1983 the New Jersey Supreme Court held the predecessor tolling statute

unduly burdensome of interstate commerce and applied that ruling retroac-

tively. Coons I, 94 N.J. 307, 463 A.2d 921 (1983). In January of 1984 the

New Jersey Supreme Court heard argument as to whether it should recon-

sider its retroactivity ruling and in June of that year it issued a decision pro-

viding for prospective application. Coons II, 96 N.J. 419, 476 A.2d 763

(1984).

In response to Coons I, the New Jersey legislature hastily drafted, debated

and enacted into law—in August of 1984—a successor [the current] tolling

statute.

In December 1984, the district court held that the predecessor tolling stat-

ute violated the commerce clause and retroactively applied its decision.

Cohn, 598 F. Supp 965 (D.N.J. 1984). Like many, if not all significant devel-

opments regarding the tolling statute, the ruling was reported at length in the

legal trade press. See 115 N.J.L.J. 135 (1985). In 1986, the Third Circuit

reversed the district court’s decision only with respect to the retroactivity rul-

ing. Cohn, 784 F.2d 460, 467.

53 The opinion below states that the ‘‘first hint of a commerce clause

problem with the New Jersey tolling statute came early in 1982 with the

Supreme Court’s decision in G.D. Searle & Co. v. Cohn, 455 U.S. 404

(1982).’” Juzwin, 900 F.2d at 693. This respondent notes that the previous

tolling statute was challenged in state courts on commerce clause grounds as

early as 1980. See preceding footnote supra.

28

cure the constitutional defects of the predecessor tolling stat-

ute stricken by Coons I and Cohn v. G.D. Searle & Co.,”

plaintiff Juzwir.’s reliance on the current enactment was rea-

sonable. This argument is also unpersuasive.

As previously stated, following the New Jersey Supreme

Court’s decision in Coons J striking the tolling statute, the

New Jersey legislature rushed to enact a replacement. The

replacement (i.e., the current tolling statute), enacted in

effect under emergency conditions, was identical to the old

statute except for the final ‘‘designation of agent’’ provision

added to avoid the ‘‘forced licensure’’ defect identified in

Coons I. See Preliminary Statement supra. Since lawyers

practicing in common law jurisdictions inevitably reassert

legal theories which have prevailed in past cases, a commerce

clause challenge to the replacement tolling statute was to be

expected. The fact that the legislature merely repaired the one

defect identified in Coons IJ without considering whether the

revised statute could withstand commerce clause scrutiny

made that challenge all but inevitabie. The fact that the

Coons I court struck the ‘‘forced licensure’’ aspect of the

predecessor tolling statute does not give grounds for reliance

on a replacement statute hastily repaired by addition of an

untested ‘‘designation of agent’’ provision. In drafting the

current tolling statute, the 1984 New Jersey legislature simply

did not correct the long-standing ‘‘amenability to service’’

problem which required the holding below. Juzwin, 900 F.2d

at 695. Pet. App. 23a.

In support of their argument regarding the second Chevron

factor, petitioners suggest that Judge Seitz did not give due

consideration to the Third Circuit’s 1986 ruling requiring pro-

spective application of the district court decision striking the

tolling statute on commerce clause grounds. See Pet. at 24-

25. While it is true that Judge Seitz did not quote from his

opinion in Cohn v. G.D. Searle & Co. v. Cohn, 784 F.2d 460

(3d Cir. 1986) (Seitz, J., opinion of the court) in discussing

54 96N.J. 307, 463 A.2d 921 (1983).

55 598 F. Supp. 965 (D.N.J. 1984), reversed in part and remanded, 784

F.2d 460 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 883 ($986).

—

PE eed le Ite. cathe VERGO Se cle enema RE ON lai ley 8d:

a Nt ns PO

ee

Pemiet. De

a. AAP OS Reeth aly Rate. wath

29

the second Chevron factor, Carey Canada maintains that

Judge Seitz’ opinion below more than adequately explains

why the marked differences between Cohn and the case at

bar required retrospective application of the latter decision.*

Regarding the third Chevron factor, petitioners claim that

equitable considerations favor prospective application of the

decision below. Pet. at 25. This assertion ignores the reality

that prospective application of the decision striking the toll-

ing statute would cause great hardship to domestic, i.e., New

Jersey, corporations as weli as foreign corporations which

complied with the tolling statute. As the opinion below

briefly mentions, under New Jersey law’’ the right of a defen-

dant to seek contribution is not affected by the running of

the limitations period. Juzwin, 900 F.2d at 696. Pet. App.

25a. ‘‘Thus, even New Jersey corporations and foreign cor-

porations who have complied with the provisions of the toll-

ing statute would continue to be deprived of the protection of

the statute of limitations when they were joint tortfeasors

with a nonrepresented foreign corporation’’™® which will

implead them as third party defendants. Jd.

Also unpersuasive are petitioners’ arguments that equity

favors plaintiffs who delayed filing their actions in reliance

or the tolling statute,’ and that the Third Circuit improperly

56 See Juzwin, 900 F.2d 686, 692-697 (3d Cir. 1990) (Seitz, J., opinion

of the court) (retroactivity discussion). Pet. App. 15a-26a. Since application

of the Chevron retroactivity test requires a case-specific analysis, it would

have been improper for the Third Circuit to uncritically repeat its 1986 ruling

in Cohn.

$7 N.J. Stat. Ann. § 2A:53A-1, ef seg. (West 1987); McGlone v. Corbi,

59 N.J. 86, 279 A.2d 812 (1971) (defendant has right to implead unjoined,

joint tortfeasor for purposes of proving their common liability even after

limitations period on plaintiffs claim has run).

58 This is often the situation in asbestos and other toxic tort actions ia

which plaintiffs join a large number of defendants.

59 Equity certainly does not favor a plaintiff like Juzwin who, after

recovering Workers Compensation settlements, delays for years before filing

his action. See n.10 and accompanying text supra. The doctrine of laches ‘‘is

based upon the maxim that equity aids the vigilant and not those who slum-

ber on their rights.’ H. Black, Black's Law Dictionary at 787 (Sth ed. 1979).

30

ordered retrospective application without the benefits of fac-

tual determinations by the district court.”

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petition should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

ANDREW T. BERRY

Counsel of Record

KEVIN J. CONNELL

McCCARTER & ENGLISH

Four Gateway Center

100 Mulberry Street

Newark, New Jersey 07102

(201) 622-4444

Attorneys for Respondent

Carey Canada, Inc.

Andrew T. Berry

Of Counsel

Kevin J. Connell

On the Brief

September 10, 1990

60 See Pet. at 5S. Petitioners should have submitted all their proofs

when the retroactivity issue was litigated in district court. See Jt. App. at !6

(regarding Carey Canada’s argument to the district court in favor of retroac-

tive application).

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Transcript of Proceedings, Armenti v. Carey Canada,

Inc., No. L-45449-87 (N.J. Super. Ct. Law Div.

Middlesex County May 27, 1988) (Hon. John E.

PS MC ce bc ce wbadk aeeancstee0es en weed ces

Transcript of Proceedings, Armenti v. Carey Canada,

Inc., No. L-045449-87 (N.J. Super. Ct. Law Div.

Middlesex County September 16, 1988) (Hon.

SE Es I, Beta 6 6 606 6s 6 000 6504406

Order, DiFalco v. Subaru of America, Inc., Docket

No. AM-1642-89T3, (sic), Motion No. M-6197-89

(N.J. Super. Ct. App. Div. Aug. 6, 1990) (Hon.

James M. Havey, J.A.D.) (order granting motion for

Se I Socks bcc eee SuhAseuad bhab ues ceess.

Scheduling Order, DiFaico v. Subaru of America, Inc.,

No. A-6247-89T3F (N.J. Super. Ct. App. Div. Aug.

SS POPE eT TEES ETT CET TT TET TET TT CTTe

Affidavit of Paul E. Wermuth dated Nov. 8, 1988,

(with attached ‘‘Exhibit A’’), Robinson v. Visual

Packaging, Inc., No. 86-5059 (D.N.J. marked ‘‘orig-

inal filed Nov. 2, 1988’’) [Also filed in supplemental

appendix of intervenor, the State of New Jersey in

Juzwin v. Asbestos Corp., Litd., No. 89-5420 (3d

RUN. oR KCLEAKE CK SANE EAS OER EAR MADRE aL ERS KAS

Order, DiFalco v. Subaru of America, Inc., No. W-

019907-88 (N.J. Super. Ct. Law Div. Passaic County

PE es EE CECE ECLC Neb aha ceeadesentcnenaenes

PAGE

la

23a

Ala

43a

4Sa

OLE TOL LLORES FFE ARR BD

la

SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY

LAW DIVISION

MIDDLESEX COUNTY

DOCKET No. L-45449-87

—

ARMENTI, ef ai.,

Plaintiffs,

—Vvs.—

CAREY CANADA, ef al.,

Defendants.

>

MOTIONS

Middlesex County Courthouse

New Brunswick, New Jersey

May 27, 1988

Before: Honorable John E. Keefe, J.S.C.

APPEARANCES: Wilentz, Goldman & Spitzer

By: Philip A. Tortoreti, Esq.,

Attorneys for the Plaintiffs

McCarier & English

By: Gita F. Rothschild, Esq.,

Attorneys for Carey Canada & Turner

& Newell

Goldfein & Joseph

By: Roseann Lynn Brenner, Esq.,

Attorneys for ACL & Bell

Harry Z. Haushalter, Esq.,

Deputy Attorney General

Attorney for the Intervenor

Stanley Grabon, C.S.R.

Official Court Reporter

2a

[2] (May 27, 1988.)

THE COURT: Armenti versus Carey Canada.

MR. ROTHSCHILD: Gita Rothschild; McCarter & English,

for Carey Canada and Turner & Newall.

Ms. BRENNER: Roseann Brenner for A. C. L. and Bell.

MR. HAUSHALTER: Harry Haushalter for the intervenor,

Attorney General of New Jersey.

Mr. TORTORETI: Philip Tortoreti for Wilentz, Goldman &

Spitzer, for the plaintiff.

THE CourRT: I assume no one has any opposition to the

Attorney General’s motion to intervene on this moticn; is

that correct?

Ms. ROTHSCHILD: That’s correct.

THE CourRT: Okay. That motion is granted.

MR. HAUSHALTER: Thank you, your Honor.

THE CouRT: Mr. Tortoreti, this is your motion.

MR. TORTORETI: Good moming, your Honor. As you

know, this is a motion addressing the—affecting the constitu-

tionality of the statute, the new tolling statute. I think that

we can say that it is not in dispute that the defendants here

do not have an agent designated for service of [3] process.

We can say that it is not disputed that if the tolling statute is

constitutional, that the statute of limitations has not run.

They do not dispute that the new tolling statute was made

effective law in 1984 and, therefore, there was no break

between the Coons-II decision and the tolling statute, the new

tolling statute.

What we have is a constitutional challenge.

THE CourT: Well, the relief that you seek specifically is to

strike the defense of statute of limitations.

MR. TORTORETI: That’s correct. The statute of limitations

has not even commenced running as of this date as against

these defendants because they do not have agents appointed

for service of process.

As regards the due process and equal protection challenges,

I don’t know that there’s anything that I have to say. I mean

that has been addressed thoroughly in prior decisions. 1 have

nothing to add that.

3a

As to the, as to the challenge which was effective in over-

turning the prior tolling statute, we start out that there has to

be a presumption in favor of constitutionality by the [4]

court. The case law is clear, that your Honor must presume

constitutionality, and further that your Honor, if you are

leaning toward an interpretation that might find the statute

unconstitutional, you must interpret it in a constitutional

manner, if you can reasonably.

Given that background, given the fact that there’s also a

presumption that the legislature acted with knowledge of the

constitution and in consideration of the constitution, and

given the fact that this legislative act, the amendment to the

tolling statute specifically states that the legislature was

addressing the constitutionality of the statute, I think it’s

clear that even if we say no more and don’t even address the

merits, that this statute is constitutional at least as regards

this court’s review of it.

Going to the merits of the argument, Coons-1 found the

prior tolling statute unconstitutional because it was silent on

designation of an agent for service of process by a foreign

corporation. That being the case, it looked to the other ave-

nues by which a foreign corporation could designate an

agent, and the majority, the four member majority as com-

pared to [5] the three member dissent found the only way

that could be done is by actually registering to do business.

They then characterized that as a forced licensure and it

was therefore a violation of the commerce clause. We do not

have that now. What we have now is a designation, a simple

designation for service of process. There is absolutely no

other baggage that goes along with it. Simply designated for

service of process. They can do this by a simple filing with

the Secretary of State’s office.

They have argued that subjects them to the jurisdiction of

this court and the courts of New Jersey and, therefore, they

are giving up jurisdictional defenses. Those jurisdictional

defenses have been unsuccessful as to these defendants in the

past. But even disregarding that, they offer absolutely no

indication whatsoever of one instance where designating an

agent for service of process pursuant to the new tolling stat-

4a

ute has resulted in a waiver of any jurisdictional defenses, in

personam jurisdictional defenses.

I would submit, your Honor, first of all, [6] that even if

they did, if it was a waiver, that does not render the statute

unconstitutional and that does not constitute a forced licen-

sure and you would be forced into a balancing test under the

applicable law, not a per se violation.

THE CouRT: Let me stop you for a second. You're saying

that there’s nothing in the statute that implicates or suggests

that someone who files and designates an agent for the ser-

vice of process is consenting to the jurisdiction of the court

in personam.

MR. TORTORETI: That’s correct.

THE Court: All right.

MR.- TORTORETI: Absolutely true.

THE CourT: So that they can come in and defend.

MR. TORTORETI: Absolutely.

THE CourRT: On due process.

MR. TORTORETI: That’s correct.

THE Court: All right.

MR. TORTORETI: They can say that this court or any court

in the State of New Jersey has no in personam jurisdiction.

Even if they did lose the in personam jurisdiction defense

as a result, I would submit [7] that the balancing test proce-

dure as compared to the per se violation procedure would be

in place. But I think, by the way, your Honor has to look at

the statute as constitutional.

What the tolling statute does by auowing appointment of

an agent for service of process is places the foreign corpora-

tion as regards service of process in exactly the same position

as the domestic corporation with respect to service of pro-

cess, that is, that a New Jersey plaintiff can serve process on

a putative or a potential defendant by serving somebody in

New Jersey.

Now these defendants argue that we have been able to

serve them in Canada, so that that’s ridiculous. First of all,

these are not the only foreign corporations that exist in the

world. There are lots of them. Number two, if we—it so hap-

pens that we are able to serve them with process, these defen-

Sa

dants, because they have been involved in asbestos litigation

in New Jersey for ten, “welve, fifteen years.

The court has to view this in the context of the general

law, the general situation. This is a constitutional challenge.

That’s pointed out in my papers, that at least Asbestos Cor-

poration [8] Limited at one point in time acknowledged that

the new tolling statute is constitutional and they were trying

to undermine the retroactive effect of the statute.

THE CourT: Mr. Tortoreti, now that you have got me

into the balancing test, let’s get to the critical issue. Tell me

what the difference between our statute and the Ohio statute

is. Distinguish, in other words, the Bendix case from—

MR. TORTORETI: The Ohio statute, your Honor, did not

carry with it an appointment for service of process clause.

The Ohio statute was the same as our old tolling statute. If

you read the opinion, the opinion is completly clear.

THE Court: I’ve read it.

MR. TORTORETI: All right. I’m not implying that you

didn’t, your Honor. You might have drawn that inference.

THE Court: Yes, I might have.

MR. TORTORETI: We are suggesting that maybe counsel

for A. C. L. and Bell didn’t read the opinion.

Ms. BRENNER: I object to that.

Ms. ROTHSCHILD: Thanks, Phil.

[9] MR. TORTORETI: You did get me off track. I’m sorry.

When the court in the federal court in Ohio indicated that

they were dealing with conjecture and speculation, it was

because there was conjecture and speculation as to whether

or not there could be a simple designation. We do not have

that here. We have an absolute designation provision.

I have the opinion—! do not have the opinion here, your

Honor, but I quoted it in my brief.

THE COURT: What are you looking for?

MR. TORTORETI: At page 189 of the opinion they charac-

terize it, the argument made by the party trying to toll the

Statute, as highly speculative and void of any statutory sup-

port. The statutory support that they are referring to, if you

read that clause in pari materia with the rest of the decision,

is that there is no provision in that statute for appointment

6a

of service of process, of an agent for service of process. We

have that here.

I think that it’s a distinguishable statute. It’s really more

akin to the tolling statute that was found unconstitutional.

{10} THE CouRT: Okay. Thank you. Mr. Haushalter?

Mr. HAUSHALTER: Thank you, your Honor. Let me con-

cur with Mr. Tortoreti’s argument, and he is correct with

regard to the Bendix decision. I think that page 189 the court

said with regard to Bendix’s suggestion that the corporation

may merely notify the Secretary of State of it’s designated

representative, we note simply here that this argument is

highly speculative and devoid of any statutory support.

That’s the Coons-1. And the Ohio court simply indicated

there was no statutory support for a foreign corporation to

merely designate an agent. It must actually register to do

business. The forced licensure.

We have here an argument of forced representation. That

seems to be the argument that in order for a foreign corpora-

tion to avoid the tolling it must designate an agent, and by

doing so it exposes itself to suit from any plaintiff, from any-

where. We disagree. That is not, in fact, the case.

We pointed out first of all that the designation that can be

filed with the Secretary [11] of State clearly can be limited so

that the in personam defense is not destroyed, that the for-

eign corporation can still defend on the basis of no in per-

sonam jurisdiction.

THE CourRT: Of course that’s not provided for in the stat-

ute, though, is it?

Ms. HAUSHALTER: This is part of the jurisdictional right

of the Secretary of State to accept these types of designations

and he, in fact, is doing that or she is doing that. That in

fact is the way that many of these foreign corporations are

designating agents.

THE CouRT: That’s exactly what the Sixth Circuit found

wrong with the Ohio statute in that it did not provide for

that exception.

MR. HAUSHALTER: Well, we feel our statute does provide

for it.

7a

THE CouRT: Why would you have to? I guess the point

that I am getting to is why does the Secretary of State really

have to do that? Why would the Secretary of State have to

affirm in some way that a person who files and names an

agent in this state would have the right to contest in per-

sonam jurisdiction? It’s a constitutional right anyway.

[12] MR. HAUSHALTER: The Secretary of State is just

accepting filings. I don’t think that it’s up to the Secretary of

State to gauge whether the filings are proper or not. She is

accepting these filings. Whether those filings are valid,

whether in fact the limited designation has validity, would

have to be argued in individual cases. We maintain that it’s a

proper method for dealing with this situation.

THE Court: I think that you think that I am fighting with

you, but actually I think that I am agreeing with you. Justice

Stevens in his dissent in the Coons case points out the fact

that one can—no state legislation can ever void a party's

right to come into a jurisdiction and contest on the due pro-

cess clause jurisdiction over the person. | think that I am

agreeing with you.

MR. HAUSHALTER: We subscribe to your Honor’s posi-

tion. I think that Mr. Tortoreti appropriately noted that we

had three justices in Coons-1, and they dissented, but they

dissented with regard to the very issue that was decided in

that Bendix case, namely that you do have, or they felt that

the Secretary of State could accept the [13] designations with-

out having these foreign corporations actually file to do busi-

ness. The point being once having reached that result, those

three justices said that that kind of a designation is constitu-

tional unaer a balancing test.

And the critical quote is on page 328 of 94 N.J., where the

court is saying, ‘“‘the message they send to the’’—this is the

foreign corporations—‘‘message they send to the New Jersey

consumer is clear and forceful. The legislature has asked

manufacturers to send one little brief message about where

they can be found if anything goes wrong with the motorcy-

cle. Again, this is Honda, the defendant here.’’

If this kind of an argument, the forced representation is

sustained, then we have no tolling statute. There is just no

8a

tolling statute. This destroys the very heart of the toliing stat-

ute, which means that a foreign corporation which cannot be

reached can wait two years, or whatever the appropriate stat-

ute of limitations is, and then come into the state and not be

concerned about ever being sued. Forget about the long arm,

of course.

[14] This is really the critical aspect of this case, judge,

because if this kind of an argument is sustained, there’s no

tolling statute, and the New Jersey plaintiffs are not going to

be protected and this is the critical issue that was decided in

Coons-II decision, and in the Searle case where we had very

clear statements by the U.S. Supreme Court about the impor-

tance of this policy of sustaining causes of action for New

Jersey plaintiffs.

And if you don’t have a tolling statute you can’t protect

those plaintiffs, and I think that’s ultimately what has to be

decided in this case and that is what the balancing test is all

about.

Thank you, judge.

THE Court: Isn’t that basically the issue here? If I knock

out this statute, there’s no tolling statute that can ever be

passed and not violate the interstate commerce clause. How

less minimal can the intrusion be than the New Jersey legisla-

ture has made it in this amended statute?

MS. BRENNER: Well, your Honor, I have a different inter-

pretation of the Bendix case than counsel.

THE CourRT: That’s not my question. That’s [15] not my

question. My question is what I’ve just asked you. How less

intrusive could a statute be, a tolling statute be than the New

Jersey statute already is?

MS. BRENNER: The statute that would contain a provision

that would protect a foreign corporation’s right to object to

in personam jurisdiction.

THE CourRT: I just made that point before. Do you dis-

agree with the point that you have that right regardless of

what a statute says or doesn’t say? How can a statute ever

preserve for you a right that you have? It’s pari of the

organic law.

9a

Ms. BRENNER: It’s our position, your Honor, that it’s

quite possible that by designating an agent we could possibly

be waiving that right.

THE CoOuRT: Under what theory?

Ms. BRENNER: Under the theory that then there is a resi-

dent agent of the state who is accessible to be served with suit

by any New Jersey claimant on any cause of action filed in

any state or federal court in New Jersey, and it’s a position

of A. C. L. and Bell that they always [16] object to in per-

sonam jurisdiction.

THE COURT: Let me give you a hypothetical, okay? Let’s

assume that Bell Asbestos Mines delivered its fiber into the

United States but not to the State of New Jersey. Your driver

went from Canada, around the State of New Jersey, to Dela-

ware, left off his fiber, and instead of going back the same

route to Canada, came up the New Jersey Turnpike, and

someone—and Mr. Tortoreti happened to see him going up

the Turnpike and hit him with process. There’s no question

that he was served, right?

Ms. BRENNER: Yes, your Honor.

THE Court: Are you telling me that you can’t come in to

court and raise the question of jurisdiction over the person of

Bell Asbestos based upon that service?

Ms. BRENNER: No, your Honor.

THE Court: All right. Service is a separate issue from

jurisdiction, isn’t it?

MS. BRENNER: Yes, your Honor.

THE CouRT: Okay.

Ms. BRENNER: Your Honor, if I may address the Bendix

case, I think what’s important that everybody is overlooking

is the fact that the [17] Sixth Circuit found that the imper-

missible burden, irrespective of what is required of the defen-

dant, was the fact that they had to, which your Honor just

nullified my argument about waiving jurisdiction, whether

they have to choose to be exposed to suit ad infinitim or sub-

ject themselves possibly to service of process of claims that

may not otherwise meet minimal contacts.

THE CourT: I’m not making any holding now. I’m asking

you questions and I think that’s an interesting question that

10a

we have to address, and I guess what I’m suggesting is the

Sixth Circuit didn’t have to say that much. That’s all that I

am saying. I’m not bound by the Sixth Circuit.

Ms. BRENNER: That’s correct.

THE CourRT: But in terms of analyzing the law, I’m just

wondering whether they had to say that much. Is the Ohio

statute different from our prior statute, or is it basically iden-

tical?

MS. BRENNER: It’s similar statute, your Honor.

THE CourRT: Okay. Getting back to my original question

then. If you are in a jurisdiction that’s governed by the Sixth

Circuit opinion and you are a legislator, what kind of a [18]

tolling statute can you pass that would meet the constitu-

tional muster of Bendix? The answer is none, right?

Ms. BRENNER: Well, one that provides for preserving that

_ right, your Honor

THE Court: All right.

Ms. BRENNER: Which your Honor has stated to me you

believe that is an organic right under the due process clause.

THE COURT: Well, do you disagree with me?

MS. BRENNER: I would debate it, your Honor.

THE COURT: Well, you’re a good advocate. I would expect

you to debate it, but now I want you to tell me why you dis-

agree with me legally. What’s wrong with that analysis?

Ms. BRENNER: I’m at a loss, your Honor.

THE CouRT: Okay. You have raised the defense of laches.

Ms. BRENNER: Yes, I have, your Honor.

THE Court: In the event that I should find that the stat-

ute is constitutional, you say that, nonetheless, the plaintiff’s

claim is barred by the doctrine of laches.

Ms. BRENNER: That’s correct, your Honor. [19] I believe

that if you take the intent of the tolling statute, which has

been stated by counsel and your Honor to protect claims of

New Jersey plaintiffs, and you look to the doctrine of laches

which states that a plaintiff who has inexcusably delayed

bringing a claim, the only excusable delay for a plaintiff to

bring a claim under—I believe Searle and Velmohos implicitly

state if a plaintiff was unable to serve a foreign, unrepre-

sented foreign corporation due to the fact that they do not

lla

have a designated agent or haven’t registered to do business

in the State of New Jersey, Velmohos stated flatly in clear

language in the footnote that if an unrepresented foreign cor-

poration does not have the defense of the statute of limita-

tions and the plaintiff has waited until it expired to bring

suit, that defendant is permitted to raise the defense of

laches.

Searle—and the United States Supreme Court quoted that

language and stated flatly a defendant has that right to raise

that defense. Implicit in that statement along with the state-

ment of the court as to the interests sought to be protected

by the tolling statute, the interests to be [20] protected is a

plaintiff who can’t find the defendant who has run out of

time because of that difficulty.

Well, if a plaintiff waits eight, nine, ten years and a defen-

dant is as easily served as A. C. L. and Bell within twenty-

two days after they file suit, we don’t see—I can’t find the

inexcusable, I mean the excusable delay. It’s our position that

it’s inexcusable. Plaintiff has averred nothing to explain why

he waited eight years to bring this suit after he was diagnosed

in 1980. The suit was filed in ’87.

7HE COURT: Let me ask you a question. What is laches?

Ms. BRENNER: That’s an equitable doctrine, your Honor.

THE Court: It’s a defense, right?

Ms. BRENNER: That’s correct.

THE COURT: Who has the burden of proof on the

defense?

MS. BRENNER: I do, your Honor.

THE CourRT: Okay. And it’s clear, isn’t it, that laches is

something that—as applied where the claim is not barred by

the statute of limitations, correct?

[21] MS. BRENNER: Excuse me. I’m sorry.

THE COURT: Laches is a defense that can be used only

where the claim is not barred by the statute of limitations.

You don’t need it otherwise.

MS. BRENNER: Right.

THE CourRT: Okay: So the question of delay in filing suit

has to be linked up with another element which you forgot to

discuss, right? There’s two elements to it.

12a

Ms. BRENNER: Prejudice, your Honor.

THE CouRT: Right.

Ms. BRENNER: It’s obvious that a defendant sued eight

years later in that witnesses, evidences, each year passes, it’s

either lost, misplaced, destroyed.

THE CourT: That’s the problem with asbestos litigation in

general, isn’t it?

MS. BRENNER: That’s correct, your Honor, and that’s

why you can’t let stale claims be coming into court for no

other reason than the plaintiff just didn’t want to be coming

into court until eight years later, and they are well aware of

the situation, and this is well publicized litigation. A. C. L.

and Bell have been involved [22] in this for years.

THE Court: Tell me specifically how your client is preju-

diced in this case.

Ms. BRENNER: The man worked and was diagnosed in

1980. I have no information, I don’t have any information in

the papers as to his, how long he was employed and where he

was employed.

THE COURT: You know where he was employed. You

know from the complaint where he was employed, don’t

you?

MS. BRENNER: I’m not sure, your Honor.

THE Court: I know from reading the briefs where he was

employed.

MR. TORTORETI: Only because of your Honer’s order

which requires that we plead it.

THE CcuRT: All right. I also know that your client has

been involved in litigation out of this plant for at least the

last nine years that I have been sitting on asbestos litigation.

Now I want to know how specifically in this case your client

was prejudiced by the fact that he didn’t file suit earlier.

What witnesses have been lost because of his delay? Not

because of the latency of the disease, which is a problem in

and of itself, but because of his delay. What witnesses [23]

have been lost?

13a

Ms. BRENNER: As a practical matter, your Honor, there’s

another area that has to be looked at. The only people that

are, because of the tolling statute, the only defendants, viable

defendants in this case, if the tolling statute is declared con-

stitutional, is the unrepresented foreign corporation.

THE CoOuRT: Not true.

MS. BRENNER: Unless the unrepresented foreign corpora-

tion now turns around and brings in the domestic or resident

defendants.

THE COURT: What’s wrong with that?

Ms. BRENNER: That’s a whiplash effect. The represented

defendants in the state, they lose the benefit of the statute of

limitations as well.

THE CourRT: That’s the way it goes. The statute of limita-

tions on a claim for contribution doesn’t arise until the judg-

ment is entered against you.

Ms. BRENNER: That’s correct, your Honor.

THE COURT: Thei’s to protect you, right? That protects

you.

Ms. BRENNER: Minimally, your Honor. If it never comes

to judgment, if you never get a [24] judgment, then obviously

you are not going to be hit for contribution or indemnity.

THE Court: Exactly.

Ms. BRENNER: Defendants originally have the benefit of

that statute of limitations. The statute effectively eliminates

the statute of limitations in asbestos or any litigation, actu-

ally, for resident as well as non resident defendants.

THE Court: I’m still looking for prejudice. Show me

prejudice and maybe they don’t get the benefit of the statute.

I’m still looking for it. Tell me where it is.

Ms. BRENNER: Well, your Honor, I still think it’s because

the only viable defendants now are the unrepresented foreign

corporations. Whether or not there’s indemnification or con-

tribution, they are still going through the cost of litigation;

that’s prejudice. Cost of litigation is awfully high. A lot of

these cases obviously never come to trial. A lot do, but a lot

don’t come to trial.

I think that there’s extreme prejudice in situations such as

this where the statutes run on the resident defendants, I’ll call

l4a

them, as [25] opposed to the unrepresented foreign corpora-

tions.

THE CourRT: Okay. Thank you. Ms. Rothschild?

Ms. ROTHSCHILD: Your Honor, you directed a question

which asked if this telling statute is declared unconstitutional,

what less intrusive statute could be drawn? And | think that

there is an answer to that, your Honor, because I think that I

disagree with Mr. Tortoreti that this statute must be viewed

only in the context of all of those foreign corporations who

are not defendants in this case. I think quite the contrary.

The statute ought to be viewed in this case in the context of

these defendants, in the context of defendants who have been

accepting service, appearing in this court, and defending

cases, paying settlements and judgments for the last eight

years.

And I think a statute could be drawn which excepts from

its provisions defendants like these, defendants who do

accept service and who do come in and defend and who

behave in New Jersey just like domestic corporations in the

context of responding to lawsuits.

THE Court: But the Supreme Court of the [26] United

States in the Searle case said that is not a legitimate argument

when you’re talking about the constitutionality of a statute,

at least from the point of view of equal protection.

Ms. ROTHSCHILD: I don’t think that Searle made a dis-

tinction between defendants who have an agent for service of

process and defendants who, although they don’t have an

agent for service of process, are amenable to service, accept

service and come in and defend.

THE Court: I think that they do.

Ms. ROTHSCHILD: I think that they do not view in the

context of a, of this situation, I don’t think that they declare

such a statute as the type that I have hypothesized to be

unconstitutional.

THE CourRT: Justice Blackmun’s opinion says as follows.

“It is true, of course, that respondents had little or no trou-

ble locating this particular, well known defendant-petitioner,

but the tolling provision is premised on a reasonable assump-

1Sa

tion that unrepresented foreign corporations, as a general

rule, may not be so easy to find and serve.”’

MS. ROTHSCHILD: Well, I don’t think that [27] statement

means that if you drew a statute which provided for the

unrepresented foreign corporation who is not easy to find

and serve, such as the statute as it exists now, but excepted

and gave the benefit of the statute of limitations to those

who not only are easy to serve but who voluntarily come in

and defend, then that would not be unconstitutional under

any decision of the Supreme Court.

THE CouRT: How does a plaintiff do that? How do you

draft a statute like that in the first place and, secondly, how

do you put a plaintiff in a position where they have to know

whether they are dealing with someone that’s easy to serve or

someone that’s difficult to serve?

Ms. ROTHSCHILD: Doesn’t the plaintiff have an obligation

to, with reasonable speed and diligence, after discovering that

he has a cause of action, to file a complaint? Isn’t that the

basis of the statute of limitations, to protect against the prej-

udice that may occur generally, as a general matter, by the

disappearance of witnesses and staleness of evidence?

THE Court: All the legislature is trying to do here is to

put the plaintiff and the [28] defendants on the same playing

field, and it has to be level. It can’t be uneven. And what

they’re trying to do is saying let’s make it a level playing field

and let the plaintiff have the same chance of suing a foreign

tort-feasor as they do a resident tort-feasor.

Ms. ROTHSCHILD: That’s right, but this statute doesn’t do

that. What this statute does is give the plaintiff, balances it in

favor of the plaintiff because the plaintiff here can sit on his

cause of action, vis-a-vis a foreign corporation that is well

known to him, that has been in this state defending cases, the

same kinds of cases, and playing settlements and judgments

for the last eight or ten years, can sit on that cause of action

simply because that foreign corporation has not designated

an agent, has not done a ministerial act of designating a

agent for service of process.

l6a

THE CourRT: That’s an argument that has been raised and

found wanting in two cases, Velmohos, and in the Searle

case.

Ms. ROTHSCHILD: But no, because those two cases were

challenged under equal protection and due process grounds.

But the Supreme Court found [29] under commerce clause

constraints that the argument which wasn’t advanced in those

two cases and which would have succeeded was sufficient.

Your Honor has argued that there is a difference

between—

THE CourRT: I’m not arguing anything. I’m asking ques-

tions.

MS. ROTHSCHILD: Your Honor last posited that there may

be a difference between service of process and acceptance of

jurisdiction.

THE Court: Sure.

Ms. ROTHSCHILD: And that there is nothing in the statute

which specifically waives a defendant by appointing an agent

to—waives the claim that there’s no personal jurisdiction. It

seems to me that that argument is as highly speculative and

devoid of statutory support as the argument that was

addressed by the Sixth Circuit, and while we have the repre-

sentation of the Attorney General’s office that that is in fact

what he or she does, there certainly is no statutory support

one way or the other to say that.

And although your Honor has suggested that perhaps by

designation of an agent you don’t waive [30] your right to

assert lack of in personam jurisdiction, the very nature of the

agency concept is that the Secretary of State or whomever it

is that you appoint is your alter ego for accepting service of

process, and by accepting service of process it is at least evi-

dence of, if not a waiver, and I don’t necessarily concede

that it’s not a waiver, that you accept.

That’s not like being slapped with a summons as you drive

up the New Jersey Turnpike. That is your agent and alter ego

to accept service of process. Even if it’s not a waiver, it’s cer-

tainly evidence of a submission to the jurisdiction of this

state whether or not you would be subject to the jurisdiction

17a

of this state under the minimum contacts theory had you

been served under the long arm statute somewhere else.

So I think that there is an intrusion, if there’s a choice that

the defendant must make, and that really in most cases the

way that you come in and contest personal jurisdiction is that

you are served under the long arm statute and make a special

appearance for the purpose of contesting jurisdiction, and so

it permits you to come into court and not waive, by coming

into this state, [31] any defenses that you have, but for the

ability to make a special appearance you would have to come

in, and once you come in, I think historically it has been

been the rule that you have submitted to the jurisdiction of

the court.

By appointing an agent, your agent to accept service of

process, I think that there is a reasonable argument that can

be made that you have done that there too. I don’t suggest

that the defendants I represent necessarily have a good argu-

ment regarding minimum contacts. But if we are to view the

statute as it applies generally, I am virtually certain that there

are defendants out there who do. But in the context of these

defendants, I think that there is a statute that can be drawn

that would not infringe on commerce clause considerations

and would be sustainable under the protection and due pro-

cess clauses. ‘

As some of us have recently learned, it doesn’t take much

to sustain a statute or a court made rule under the equal pro-

tection and due process clauses, and I don’t think that there

would be anything in the less intrusive statute that I described

that would change that.

The last point that I would like to address [32] is that I

think that the phrase highly speculative and devoid of statu-

tory support in the Sixth Circuit case is equally susceptible to

the interpretation that what is highly speculative and devoid

of statutory support is the assertion that the defendants may

do this, that is, appoint an agent for service of process and

thereby avoid that Catch 22

THE CourT: Can I just read to you a footnote from Jus-

tice Steven’s dissent in the Searle case?.Mind you, he’s dis-

senting.

18a

**] do not understand the court to be holding that New Jer-

sey has a legitimate interest in attempting to require all cor-

porations to submit in all cases to the jurisdiction of its

courts, and that discrimination against unregistered foreign

corporations is justified by the state’s desire to accomplish

this purpose. Since a state may not enact a law that prohibits

a foreign corporation from asserting a due process defense to

an exercise of personal jurisdiction by a state court, I do not

believe that the state may justify a classification that disfav-

ors unregistered foreign corporations on the ground that they

refused to take action that would [33] accomplish the same

purpose.’’

Ms. ROTHSCHILD: As your Honor correctly pointed out,

we now have dicta in a dissent, and I am not sure how per-

suasive that would be in the face of a challenge to a statute

which—

THE CouRT: Weil, that’s what he’s saying the majority is

saying. He is saying that the majority is saying that they are

not construing the tolling statute by denying a foreign corpo-

ration the right to contest in personam jurisdiction. That’s

the whole court. He’s merely making an observation as to

what the entire court seems to agree on.

Ms. ROTHSCHILD: But that’s not in the context of a stat-

ute which requires you to appoint an agent for service of pro-

cess in order to take advantage of the statute of limitations. |

don’t know that he would say that when we’re dealing with

that type of a statute.

THE CourRT: Thank you. I’m going to decide the motion

today, although I reserve the right to file a formal opinion in

the event of an appeal.

It is my view that the Bendix case is not binding on the

courts of this state. I find that the facts of that case are dis-

tinguishable from [34] the facts of the current case. The Ohio

statute seems to be very similar to the first statute promul-

gated in the state which the Coons-1 opinion found to be

wanting under the interstate commerce clause, that is, the

Ohio statute in effect required licensure as well as the regis-

tration of an agent to effect service of process in order to toll

19a

the Ohio statute of limitations. That, in effect, was the prob-

lem with our first statute in New Jersey.

The first analysis I suppose is whether this statute inter-

feres with interstate commerce to the point that it is unconsti-

tutional. And we are recommended by case law to apply

either the per se test or the balancing test to that question. It

is suggested, I think, even in the Bendix case, that the per se

rule should not be applied where it is clear on the face of the

statute that the legislature has not intended to prefer its state

economically over that of another state, or where the unde-

clared intent of a statute is not to prefer the home state eco-

nomically over a foreign state.

And I think the tolling statute, although it clearly has

impact on out of state [35] corporations, is not designed to

favor either defendants or plaintiffs within the state over out

of state defendants. First of all, it affects out of state per-

sons, that is individuals, and out of state corporations. So

it’s not aimed simply at commerce conduct.

Secondly, it doesn’t favor either defendants or plaintiffs in

the forum state. As I indicated before, it’s my view that this

statute simply places all the parties on the same level playing

field and gives the plaintiff the opportunity to serve a tort-

feasor who is a resident of New Jersey the same way that he

would serve a non-resident defendant, that is, it simplifies the

service of process only and makes everyone equal in that

respect.

The question then is, and I think that the legitimate state

interest involved in this statute has been so well addressed

and decided by Velmohos and by the Cohn versus Searle case

that I’m just going to jump right over it and go to the ques-

tion of whether under the balancing test, since we have legiti-

mate state interests that are being advanced by the statute,

whether there is a less intrusive way of impacting on inter-

state commerce but [36] accomplishing the same state goals

and results.

It would appear to me that this amendment to the statute

was obviously taken from the legislative point of view of

meeting the constitutional infirmities of the prior statute, and

20a

the legislature was attempting to find the least intrusive way

of doing it.

And all a foreign corporation need do in order to gain the

benefit of our statute of limitations is to designate an agent

for the service of process by filing a paper. I believe that if

this court were to adopt the Bendix opinion to this current

statute there would be no way a legislature in the United

States could pass a tolling statute that would comply with the

interstate commerce clause.

In my view, it is incorrect to make the observation that by

requiring someone to file a piece of paper designating an

agent for the purposes of service you are consenting to the in

personam jurisdiction of the forum state. That I think is a

fatal analysis of the Sixth Circuit. Service of process and in

personam jurisdiction are distinct questions, and I think

clearly the organic law permits a defendant to come before

the [37] forum court and say you don’t have jurisdiction over

me on the typical due process grounds that are always

advanced in questions of jurisdiction. And I think that’s

clearly suggested by the Supreme Court of the United States

in the Cohn versus Searle case, not only by the majority, but

also by the dissent.

And I think that it’s unnecessary to require a state legisla-

ture to say to get the benefit of our statute of limitations you

have to file a piece of paper designating an agent tor service

of process and, by the way, just to remind you, you do have

a constitutional right to contest in personam jurisdiction

under the due process clause of the United States Constitu-

tion. I just think that’s unnecessary, and that is, as I perceive

this argument, to be the only criticism of the New Jersey stat-

ute, save the fact that no tolling statute whatsoever will meet

constitutional muster in the United States, and I find it diffi-

cult to believe in view of the fact that the United States

Supreme Court in the Cohn versus Searle case has enumier-

ated several reasons why they think the states have a legiti-

mate interest in protecting their citizens by passing a [38]

tolling statute. So it seems to me by reading the Cohn deci-

sion that the United States Supreme Court was not saying

2la

there is no tolling statute that can ever be passed that would

not meet constitutional muster.

For those reasons I find the New Jersey tolling statute not

be a burden on interstate commerce and not to be a violation

of the United States Constitution.

On the collateral issue of laches, I agree that the Cohn case

seems to suggest that in order to pass the equal protection

clause muster, laches would have to be an affordable defense

in order for foreign defendants to be treated fairly in terms

of the possibly prolonged time between accrual of the cause

of action and institution of suit. But laches is an affirmative

defense. The defendant has the burden of proving not only

an undue delay in terms of filing the complaint, but also the

presence of real prejudice by reason of the delay, and you

have to differentiate in toxic tort cases the real problems that

result because of the latency of asbestos related diseases from

the prejudice that results by reason of the plaintiff waiting

seven years from the time of [39] diagnosis until the filing of

suit. There has to be some affirmative showing by the defen-

dant that there is real factual prejudice. I see none in this rec-

ord and, therefore, I cannot grant the defendant's motion

which is a partial summary judgment motion. I deny the

motion on laches without prejudice to explore it further fac-

tually at the time of trial or before, but night now I have no

record to base any finding of prejudice.

Any questions?

MR. TORTORETI: Your Honor, I’m assuming that our

motion for summary judgment on the statute of limitations

grounds is granted.

THE CouRT: The motion is granted.

MR. TORTORETI: And the cross motion in all regards is

denied because you think the cross motion also addressed the

statute of limitations.

THE Court: Yes.

MR. TORTORETI: Thank you.

Ms. ROTHSCHILD: Thank you, your Honor.

THE COURT: The Order, however, should reflect that |

have simply denied the motion on the defense of laches with-

out prejudice.

MR. TORTORETI: I understand that.

22a

[40] CERTIFICATE

I, STANLEY GRABON, C.S.R. # X100377, an Official Court

Reporter of the State of New Jersey do hereby acknowledge

that the foregoing is a true and accurate transcript of my

stenographic notes of the within proceedings to the best of

my ability.

/s/ STANLEY GRABON

STANLEY GRABON, C.S.R.

OFFICIAL COURT REPORTER

23a

[1] SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY

LAW DIVISION—MIDDLESEX COUNTY

DOCKET No. L-045449-87

—~<—

DOMINICK ARMENTI and THERESA ARMENTI,

his wife, ef al.,

Plaintiffs,

—

CAREY CANADA, INC., ef al.,

>

TRANSCRIPT OF MOTION

Middlesex County Courthouse

New Brunswick, New Jersey

Friday, September 16, 1988

TRANSCRIPT ORDERED BY:

Roseann Lynn Brenner, Esq.

APPEARANCES: WILENTZ, GOLDMAN & SPITZER, ESQS.

By: ALAN M. DARNELL, ESQ., -

For the Plaintiffs.

[2] MCCARTER & ENGLISH, ESQS.

By: GITA F. ROTHSCHILD, EsQ.,

For the Asbestos Claims

Facility Defendants.

GOLDFEIN & JOSEPH, ESQS.

By: ROSEANN L. BRENNER, EsqQ.,

For the Defendants A.C.L. & Bell.

CARY EDWARDS, ATTORNEY GENERAL

OF N.J.

By: HARRY HAUSHALTER, ESQ.,

Deputy Attorney General,

For the Intervener.

24a

June Andrian, C.S.R.

License X100362

Middlesex County Courthouse

P.O. Box 964

New Brunswick, N.J. 08903

ao

[2] THE CouRT: Armenti versus Carey Canada, Inc. et al.,

docket number L-45449-87.

Counsel, enter your appearances. 7

Ms. BRENNER: Roseann Brenner for A.C.L. and Bell.

Ms. ROTHSCHILD: Gita Rothschild for the Asbestos

Claims Facility defendants.

Mr. DARNELL: Alan Darnell for the plaintiff Armenti.

Mr. HAUSHALTER: Attorney General’s Office, intervener.

THE Court: As indicated on the card that has been pro-

vided to me by my staff, this is a motion granting defendants

relief from the Court’s order of June 2, 1988, granting plain-

tiff’s motion for partial summary judgment and denying

defense’ cross motion for summary judgment.

MS. BRENNER: That’s correct, your Honor.

THE Court: Basically what was the order that was

granted at that time?

Ms. BRENNER: Judge Keefe entered an order granting

plaintiff’s motion for partial summary judgment in effect

striking defendants’ defense of statute of limitations to the

claim brought by a Dominick Cortese.

Defendants had cross claimed to plaintiff’s motion because

plaintiff had initiated the question of the constitutionality of

the New Jersey tolling statute in their moving brief and the

defendants picked up the ball [3] obviously and ran with it,

and we challenge the constitutionality of N.J.S.A. 2A:14-22

which is the New Jersey Tolling Statute which tolls the Stat-

ute of Limitations to defendants and unrepresented foreign

corporations who are not present in the State and cannot be

served in the State, and provides for a designation of an

agent to make them represented in the State. In other words,

25a

all they have to do is file a designation with the Secretary of

State to be considered present in the State.

THE Court: All right. As I understand it, the basis for

the rehearing so to speak of that motion is defense counsel’s

position that U.S. Supreme Court case of Bendix held the

similar Ohio statute unconstitutional.

MS. BRENNER: That’s correct.

THE CouRT: The New Jersey statute should be unconstitu-

tional.

Ms. BRENNER: Your Honor, this case was initiated in 1987

under the title captioned Armenti, but Dominick Cortese is a

plaintiff in this case. He brought this in 1987 for asbestos

related which was diagnosed and freely admits in ’80. That’s

the defense of the statute of limitations that he waited seven

years to bring a suit. Therefore, that’s the basis of our

defense for the statute of limitations. Defendants submit

plaintiffs had filed their motion for partial summary judg-

ment to strike that [4] defense based on the New Jersey toll-

ing statute.

If I may, in the process of giving procedure, I think it’s

important to give the Court just a brief history of the statute

itself because there was a prececessor to this statute which

the New Jersey Supreme Court declared unconstitutional

because it did not provide for the designation of an agent. In

order to designate an agent you had to register to do busi-

ness. They considered that a forced licensor provision and

therefore an impermissible burden on interstate commerce.

THE Court: That’s Coons !.

Ms. BRENNER: That’s Coons 1. The burden was found to

be to enable a defendant to get the benefit of the statute of

limtations you were forced to register to do business and they

considered that an impermissible burden for a foreign corpo-

ration to undergo. Now, there was also Coons 2 which held

that was prospective and not retroactive in effect.

Defendants contest the constitutionality or contested before

Judge Keefe on the basis that the current amended statute

because the legislature after Coons 1 amended the New Jersey

tolling statute to provide for a designation procedure where

they didn’t have to register to do business. They responded

26a

directly to what the New Jersey Supreme Court did. The

looked at the decision and [5] said okay, this is unconstitu-

tional because we’re making them registered business. Let

them file notice with the Secretary of State to designate an

agent. Therefore, it takes that burden from them, so the leg-

islature did that. That brought in the current tolling statute.

Defendants then came and contested the constitutionality

of that statute before Judge Keefe on the basis that statute is

unconstitutional because it requires a defendant, an unrepre-

sented foreign corporation who does not intend to be bound

to the general jurisdiction or consent to the general jurisdic-

tion of New Jersey, to designate an agent to accept service of

process in New Jersey thereby consenting to the general juris-

diction. We contend that that was, in fact, a violation of the

commerce clause. We also contend it violated equal protec-

tion and due process, and the crux of the argument and what

the Sixth Circuit Bendix opinion and the United States

Supreme Court opinion dealt with was the commerce clause.

What I’m going to address only today is obviously the com-

merce clause.

We contended before Judge Keefe that, in fact, was not

constitutional because it forced the defendant to choose

between being liable forever to any claim brought by a New

Jersey resident or waive personal jurisdiction in New Jersey

which is something that A.C.L. and Bell do not want [6] to

consent to the personal jurisdiction of New Jersey, and they

find that an impermissible burden on interstate commerce

since they are exclusively foreign corporations engaged in

such.

Now, we relied also on the Bendix opinion which is a Sixth

Circuit opinion. The Court in Bendix had ruled that an Ohio

statute which stated that the statute of limitations was tolled

as to defendants of corporations who were not present in the

State it was tolled until they did become present in the State.

It was a tolling provision for the statuie of limitations if

you’re not present. To be present in Ohio you had to desig-

nate an agent.

The Sixth Circuit determined that that, in fact, was a viola-

tion of the commerce clause in that we essentially argued the

27a

same thing to Judge Keefe in that they forced a foreign cor-

poration to decide between being liable forever and not get-

ting the benefit of the statute of limitations or submitting to

get that benefit they would just have to waive personal juris-

diction, the right to contest personal jurisdiction.

Judge Keefe—this is obviously prior to the United States

Supreme Court decision—Judge Keefe determined that the

Bendix decision was not, in fact, binding upon himself or

New Jersey Courts because the Ohio statute and New Jersey

statute were distinguishable in that the Ohio [7] statute

required in order to appoint an agent you would have a

licensing procedure as the original New Jersey Statute had,

and he stated that since the current New Jersey tolling statute

allowed you to designate an agent, that they were distinguish-

able and that therefore he was not bound by what the Sixth

Circuit said in Bendix.

He went a little further and stated that he considered the

fatal flaw in Bendix—another reason why he wouldn’t follow

Bendix—the Bendix Court held that by designating an agent

you waive the right to contest in personam jurisdiction. He

felt that that was incorrect. He stated that one can’t waive

the right to contest personal jurisdiction. That was an organic

right. We disagreed then and we still disagree with that.

THE Court: Is there anything new by way of argument

that you have that you didn’t have before Judge Keefe?

Ms. BRENNER: Yes. It all interchanges. That’s why I’m

giving you everything.

THE COURT: Okay.

Ms. BRENNAN: If that’s permissible to the Court.

THE COURT: Go ahead.

Ms. BRENNAN: The Court has the papers. The Court is

aware Judge Keefe also held that the statute did not apply to

commerce because it affects individuals as well as foreign

corporations. Therefore, he stated that he looked [8] to the

Supreme court holdings in Velhmohos, New Jersey Supreme

Court, and G.D. Searle, United States Supreme Court, where

they challenged due process.

The Supreme Court stated that the prior New Jersey Stat-

ute was constitutional even though it required a license or

28a

provision because the State had legitimate interest in protect-

ing claims of its interest in locating hard to reach defendants

and so he stated the Supreme Court found a legitimate State

interest. I adopt that legitimate State interest. The current

statute is simply trying to put everybody on the same

ballfield. Therefore, there’s no discrimination in in versus out

of State people or corporations.

He went forward. He felt there was no other statute that

could pass constitutional muster but for New Jersey’s current

tolling statute. Our motion for a cross summary judgment

was denied and plaintiff’s was granted. He upheld the consti-

tutionality. Shortly thereafter, a matter of two or three

weeks, the United States Supreme Court ruled on the Bendix

decision, affirmed the Sixth Circuit. They found the Ohio

statute which required the designation or appointment of an

agent to be an impermissible burden on interstate commerce

in that it forced by appointing an agent, it forced an unrepre-

sented foreign corporation to submit to the general jurisdic-

tion of the [9] States Courts for all actions.

The Court went further to discuss how a State statute

which requires or conditions an ordinary legal defense such

as the statute of limitations, which we all know is not a right

but an ordinary legal defense, that if they condition that or

take it away from an out of State defendant as opposed to an

in State defendant, and that defendant was involved in com-

merce, then that statute would be reviewed under the com-

merce clause. They also stated that a statute which requires a

corporation to appoint an agent...

(There is a pause.)

THE COURT: May I suggest you confer with counsel for a

moment on that point?

Ms. ROTHSCHILD: If I may be heard briefly.

THE COURT: Why don’t you confer for a moment.

(There is a pause.)

Ms. BRENNER: Excuse me. I| apologize for the momentary

blank on my part.

THE CourRT: That’s all right.

29a

MS. BRENNER: The Court stated that any State statute

that requires a foreign corporation to designate it agent, to

accept service, and the corporation—excuse me.

(There is a pause.)

THE Court: All right. You want to pause at this moment

and let someone else speak or do you want to come [10] back

to that point?

Ms. BRENNER: If I can have one second to bring my

thoughts together. I do believe this is a rather complicated

issue because it involves so many different aspects and it’s

causing some difficulty in relating it to the Court.

THE COURT: You want me to take a short break?

MSs. BRENNER: Could we? Would that be permissible,

your Honor?

THE Court: I'll do that.

(There is a recess.)

Ms. BRENNER: If I could resume, your Honor. The

Supreme Court in Bendix examined the Ohio statute. They

stated that a statute that is acceptable or State interests that

are acceptable under equal protection and due process clause,

those interests may not be acceptable under the commerce

clause or sufficient under the commerce clause to attain con-

stitutionality for a particular statute. They did, in fact, refer

to G.D. Searle in their opinion in Bendix. They stated yes,

it’s true a State has a definite interest in protecting a plain-

tiff, in trying to alleviate the burden on a plaintiff who must

go the extra measure to serve an unrepresented defendant in

an action in a given State, and that for those reasons a stat-

ute which would deny an ordinary defense or take away

someone’s [11] limitation period would, in fact, be constitu-

tional. It passes equal protection, your Honor, because

there’s sufficient interest in the State.

They stated in this particular Bendix case that a State can-

not justify a statute which takes away an ordinary legal

defense or conditions it on a waiver of a right such as per-

sonal jurisdiction cannot be justified when you can, in fact,

reach the foreign defendant, the unrepresented foreign defen-

dant, by a long arm statute. They said this is not an accept-

able State interest or sufficient State interest to permit the

30a

deprivation or the withdrawal of an ordinary legal defense

and condition that defense on a right that the party would

otherwise have, an individual liberty interest that they would

have.

The Court went further to say that when a statute requires

an unrepresented foreign defendant to designate an agent to

accept service of process or lose the statute of limitation, they

are in effect making that defendant who designates an agent

subject to the general jurisdiction of that particular State.

They said, as they concluded throughout this entire opinion,

this is an unacceptable and impermissible burden, totally

unreasonable, and doesn’t pass under the commerce clause.

It’s unconstitutional.

Now, I do believe that when Judge Keefe distinguished

Bendix, he was distinguishing it on the basis that we had a

[12] provision where you designate an agent by notice, and

Ohio had a provision where you designate that agent because

you had to register to do business and appoint an agent. The

Supreme Court in Bendix is clear and reiterates throughout

the entire opinion that if you designate or appoint an agent

you are consenting to the general jurisdiction of that State

and that is an unreasonable burden on commerce.

Now, plaintiff claims that the Supreme Court found the

Ohio statute unconstitutional because it had no provision for

the designation of an agent for service of process, for the

sole and exclusive purpose of extricating a punitive defendant

from the tolling provision.

We submit respectfully to the Court that the Supreme

Court found the designation of an agent which subjects a

foreign corporation to the general jurisdiction of the State,

that was unreasonable. They made it clear the statute which

requires foreign corporations to designate an agent to accept

service would fall under the commerce clause because the act

of designation of an agent itself, regardless of the method,

whether it’s by notice, whether it’s by licensing, by registering

to do business, regardless, that notice in and of itself results

in the submission to the general jurisdiction of the forum. As

I stated, and I don’t want to repeat myself, the Court didn’t

3la

distinguish the forum in which you designate that [13] agent,

whether it be by notice or by registering.

Plaintiff contends further that the New Jersey tolling stat-

ute allows for the foreign corporation to file a notice to des-

ignate an agent as opposed to the licensor in provision of

Coons | to gain the benefit of the statute of limitation and

that this provision makes it unconstitutional. Again that’s not

what the Supreme Court has ruled and the Supreme Court

never even addressed remotely any distinction as to how you

designate an agent. They state it clearly, just plain and sim-

ply, you designate that agent, you’ve consented to jurisdic-

tion.

There are abundant Supreme Court opinions that speak to

ihe issue of waiving or consenting to the general jurisdiction

of the Court. One such opinion is the Insurance Corporation

of Ireland, Ltd. v Campaign DES Beuxite, cite 456 United

States 694. It was argued in the Third Circuit. Certiori was

granted. It was decided on June °82, wherein the Supreme

Court stated a defendant who takes advantage of certain

State procedures can, in fact, consent by taking advantage of

those procedures to the general jurisdiction of that State’s

Courts.

lt went further to state that plaintiffs can take behavior or

historic fact of a defendant’s behavior and argue that they

have consented to the jurisdiction of the Court by their

behavior whether it be voluntary or in-[14]voluntary. There-

fore, I throw that in to buttress my argument that the

Supreme Court considers any designation of any agent of a

foreign corporation to accept service of process to submit

that foreign corporation to the general jurisdiction of a par-

ticular forum.

THE CourRT: Let me just ask you this while you’re pausing

there a moment. If the statute were to say or were to be

interpreted to say that designating or naming an agent sub-

mitted the defendant to jurisdiction of the Court but that the

defendant could then argue that the Court did not have in

personam jurisdiction, would that change things at all?

MR. BRENNER: Under the Supreme Court’s ruling, which

is Bendix, I don’t believe it would. I believe by the mere vir-

32a

tue of your appointing that agent, whether or not you can go

in and argue later, you’ve already put someone there to

accept your service and consent to the jurisdiction of that

State, the Supreme Court, and also there’s no statutory pro-

vision which permits the Secretary of State to accept such a

designation number one. Number two, we don’t know that

that’s proper. Number three, it’s my feeling that your Honor

is looking to the law which calls on the Court to interpret a

statute constitutionally if it is at all possible, and this is one

of the reasons why I gave you all that history about Coons 1.

[15] The legislature did, in fact, intend for the statute to be

constitutional. There’s no question about that. What they

tried to cure in their amendment was the burden of register-

ing of every foreign corporation registering to do business,

not the burden that the Supreme Court has found in a similar

statute of consenting to the general jurisdiction of the State.

We submit and we firmly urge the Court that no matter

what kind of designation you file, you have just created your

consent to the general jurisdiction of the State and any suit

can go and pick up a piece of paper and regardless of your

designation say here, they filed this. They’ve consented to the

jurisdiction. I have a cause against them. You have jurisdic-

tion. I do believe the Supreme Court rulings, the Insurance

Corporation of Ireland case, state that defendant’s action,

regardless if you try to limit it, is only a piece of paper, and

the Secretary of State accepts it without statutory support, I

might add, that you still consent to the general jurisdiction of

the Court.

THE CourRT: Miss Rothschild, is there anything you

wanted to add to the argument?

Ms. ROTHSCHILD: I'll be very brief, your Honor. Stated

very simply, the reason we’re back in court talking about this

statute is because the Supreme Court in Bendix [16] said that

Judge Keefe was wrong when he said that a tolling statute

which merely required the appointment of an agent for ser-

vice of process was constitutional.

Your Honor has now asked whether if the statute were

interpreted to permit a party to come in later and argue that

there was no in personam jurisdiction would it then be con-

33a

stitutional and I believe your Honor is alluding to the Attor-

ney General’s argument that they. in fact, have been

permitted in the case of Cassiar Asbestos Company a limited

designation. I believe he attached a copy of that limited des-

ignation to his papers and the limited designation saying they

are only designating an agent for service of process in order

to receive process but that they in no way consent to the

jurisdiction of the Court.

THE Court: Let me stop you right there. Actually I had

asked the question if the statute actually said that, or the

Court interpreted the statute that way, what would the Ben-

dix effect be?

Ms. ROTHSCHILD: I think if the statute actually said that,

we might be on weaker ground under Bendix because Bendix

itself says the suggestion that Midwesco had the simple alter-

native of designating an agent for service of process in its

contract with Bendix or tendering an agency appointment to

the Ohio Secretary of State is not persuasive. Initially there is

no statutory support for either [17] option and so the

Supreme Court is troubled by the fact that the statute itself

does not provide for a limited designation and so | think it

would make a difference here were such statutory support for

a limited designation. 1 would feel more comfortable repre-

senting my clients and advising them to file such a limited

designation if I could point to the tolling statute and say, you

see, it really is okay. The legislature says so. You are not

submitting to the general jurisdiction of the Court.

Now the Attorney General says there is no statutory sup-

port but we have done it and look here. Here’s the case of

Cassiar. And I say, number one, Cassiar apparently is taking

its chances as to how that limited designation will be inter-

preted by the many Courts in New Jersey. Number two, that

hasn’t been tested yet. I don’t believe that Cassiar has come

forward on a motion for summary judgment asserting the

statute of limitations where they have said, listen, we filed

this designation so that we could take advantage of the stat-

ute and here we are, we want to take advantage of the stat-

ute, and there hasn’t been any kind of a legal determination

about whether or not that, in fact, operated to exclude them

34a

from the provisions of the tolling statute whicn I think is the

reason why the Supreme Court was looking for statutory sup-

port, so I think, yes, there would be a difference.

[18] THE CourRT: Okay.

Mr. HAUSHALTER: May it please the Court, I think we

have an issue that for us, one, attempting to decide what the

Supreme Court in Bendix really says, I don’t think the

Supreme Court in Bendix really dealt with our statute. |

don’t think the Supreme Court in Bendix is telling your

Honor how to rule in this case.

We have a statute. It’s a different statute than what we

have in Ohio. Our statute does not require the designation of

an agent as part of the process of registering to do business.

The Chio statute did and that’s why in the Ohio statute you

had no limitation with regard to the nature of representation.

When you register to do business you have to go through the

entire routine that is involved with that procedure, including

the representation or designating of an agent fer general

jurisdiction. We don’t have that requirement.

Our statute was amended after Coons 1 specifically to

allow unregistered corporations to designate an agent for pur-

poses of service of process. The statute does not say that

that’s for purposes of designating an agent for general juris-

diction. It is silent on that. We maintain that we have a pol-

icy, the Secretary of State has a policy of accepting the

designations which are limited, namely, to the point where

the foreign corporation is saying to New [19] Jersey and to

New Jersey plaintiffs for service of process this is our agent

but only with regard to those types of actions where there is

due process minimial contact. That is the way our statute

now has to be interpreted in order to make it constitutional.

There’s no question about that. That is one thing that Bendix

does tell us.

We maintain that is, in fact, an appropriate viable way of

interpreting our statute and that’s the way the statute must be

interpreted. If it is not we have no tolling statute. We have

no tolling statute unless our position is sustained by the

Court because there is nothing else the legislature can do. If

our interpretation, the way we are indicating the statute

35a

should be interpreted is unconstitutional, then the fundamen-

tal right of a legislature to enact a tolling statute is lost, but

there is nowhere in Bendix where that is said. In fact, the

Court in Bendix tried to indicate very clearly that if we have

a system where the designation is limited and oniy establishes

the designation for purposes of those actions which are based

on the long arm aspect, then we have a constitutional desig-

nation, and that’s all we are saying here today. That is the

exact way we are indicating to the Court that statute should

be interpreted, and so again we have nothing from Bendix

that tells this Court that under our interpretation our statute

is unconstitutional.

[20] Judge Keefe was absolutely correct. That is exactly

what Judge Keefe said. He says he must interpret our statute

so that the designation of the agent is limited only with

regard to causes of action which have minimum contact in

this State. There’s nothing that Bendix said that indicates

Judge Keefe is wrong. Judge Keefe is absolutely right. We

agree with Judge Keefe. His position is even stronger now

because, in fact, what he has indicated is the way the statute

must be interpreted in order for it to be constitutional.

We've indicated in our brief, your Honor, the established

principles of construction that our Courts have utilized,

namely, to attempt to interpret statutes so that they have a

constitutional result, and clearly had our legislature known

about Bendix would have made that statute clear. After

Coons | our legislature came and very quickly enacted an

amendment in order to make our statute constitutional.

The policy of the State is very, very clear and that’s noted

also in the Coons 2 decision and in the Searle decision by the

Third Circuit. The policy that this State has with regard to

attempting to have a viable tolling statute and all of that sup-

ports an interpretation that we are seeking this Court to sus-

tain.

Mr. DARNELL: Your Honor, I'll do my best to be [21]

brief. 1 agree with everything Mr. Haushalter has said to the

Court. I'd like to add in Coons 1 our Supreme Court of New

Jersey said that the old tolling statute violated the commerce

clause because it required a waiver of one’s jurisdictional

36a

defenses as part of the licensor provisions and therefore

exacted too much of a burden and therefore violated the

commerce clause. Bendix doesn’t say much different. It says

the Ohio statute they interpreted requires the same thing.

What we’re faced with is a question of statutory interpreta-

tion. We are not in Ohio. We are in New Jersey. In New Jer-

sey we’ve already gone through the process that was alluded

to in Bendix of statutory support. The first statute was said

to be unconstitutional in Coons 1. Our legislature passed a

new statute in response to that.

In response to the statement by the Supreme Court of New

Jersey that you cannot constitutionally have a statute that

requires a waiver of jurisdictional defenses as a condition of

appointing an agent for service of process, it was clearly the

intent of the legislature who was invited by the Supreme

Court to give it another try. It is set forth in the statutory

history that is at one point set forth at page 5S of the Attor-

ney General’s brief. There was no doubt, there can be no

doubt, that the legislature [22] intended to pass a constitu-

tional statute. If passing a constitutional statute means it

must be interpreted so as not to require a waiver of jurisdic-

tion then sobeit. That’s what the legislature wanted as set

forth in the legislative history.

Had the statute said by appointing stich service of process

a corporation hereby expressly waives any jurisdictional

defenses and expressly subjects itself to jurisdiction, we might

be in a different situation though even then this Court could

do judicial surgery on the statute as is aliowed as was done

by the Supreme Court of New Jersey in the Chamber of

Commerce case that’s referred to in the briefs. In any event,

as I said before, we’re not in Ohio. We’re in New Jersey.

The change bave been made to the statute, and to interpret

the statute as the defendants request would require this Court

to look for a way to find it unconstitutional which would be

completely contrary to the mandates of our Supreme Court

which is you look for a way to find the statute to be constitu-

tional.

Because we’re basically dealing with statutory reconstruc-

tion and interpretation, I don’t believe that the Bendix case

37a

restricts this Court in any way, shape or form from constru-

ing a New Jersey statute, which statute has never been con-

strued by the Supreme Court of the United States. To the

contrary, in Velmohos the Supreme Court [23] sent it back to

the Supreme Court of New Jersey to construe what they

found to be—maybe they sent it back to the Third Circuit—

an opaque comment in Velmohos as to whether or not our

previous statute required a waiver of jurisdictional defenses;

that by some fortuitous path of appellate history ended up in

the Coons | case.

So, I think that based on what I’ve said it’s clear as could

be that the legislature intended to pass a constitutional stat-

ute; that they passed the new statute, the statute under attack

here, in response to the statement of Coons that you can’t

have a statute that requires waiver of defenses. And to read

this statute to require such a waiver is to go against the well-

established rules of statutory construction and would be in

direct disagreement with the way that Judge Keefe interpreted

this very same statute in June of 1988. Thank you, your

Honor.

THE Court: Is there anything you wanted to say further?

Ms. ROTHSCHILD: Yes. I think that the Attorney General

and Mr. Darnell both concede that but for the Attorney Gen-

eral’s statement that a limited designation will be accepted.

Bendix requires the New Jersey statute to be declared uncon-

stitutional because Bendix says whatever the difference is

between the Ohio statute and the New Jersey statute, even if

the mere appointment of an [24] agent for service of process

was the only thing that a foreign corporation had to do, it

would be unconstitutional because it would be a submission

to the general jurisdiction of the Court.

Mr. Haushalter has said we understand that Bendix

requires that we accept limited designations so there’s nothing

more the legislature could do in passing a statute. We’re

accepting limited designations and that makes it okay under

Bendix. The answer is there is more the legislature could do.

It could provide the statutory support that the United States

Supreme Court was looking for for that kind of an act, and

the Supreme Court was unhappy that it wasn’t in the Ohio

38a

statute, that kind of assurance, and it would be equally

unhappy that it’s not in the New Jersey statute.

THE Court: I think I’ve heard sufficient argument unless

somebody has a new point to raise.

Ms. ROTHSCHILD: Your Honor, it is actually new. I would

like to respond to Mr. Darnell’s comments about Coons 1

and the basis upon which the New Jersey Supreme Court did

evaluate the original New Jersey statute as unconstitutional. |

have the opinion right here, page 318. The question is

whether the denial of the statute of limitations defense to an

unlicensed foreign corporation forces that corporation to

obtain a license. That was the burden [25] that the Court

found. The New Jersey Supreme Court found the burden to

be forcing them in order to get the benefit of the statute of

limitations to register to do business. They tried to do indi-

rectly what they couldn’t do directly, number one.

Number two, I think it’s important for the Court to note

the Supreme Court stated quite clearly in the third paragraph

from the end of its opinion that a State interest to protect the

plaintiffs to have viable claims against unrepresented foreign

corporations isn’t sufficient, period, where you have a long

arm statute and you can reach that defendant.

It’s clear they reached A.C.L. and Bell within days of fil-

ing the Complaint through the long arm service. There’s no

question but that they could have in 1980 obtained service on

these defendants. The Supreme Court says you can’t have a

tolling statute that takes away ordinary defenses unless you

give up a right. I think the Supreme Court is saying you can’t

do that. That’s unconstitutional, and no matter what you do

to a statute, whether you let them file a paper, yes, you

notice the designation as opposed to licensing, it’s unconstitu-

tional, period. That’s all I wanted to say.

MR. HAUSHALTER: May I respond to that because I think

that’s a twist that was not initially noted. That [26] statement

is somewhat inaccurate and misleading with all due respect to

counsel. The Supreme Court made a balancing analysis and

said that this public policy that the State has to allow plain-

tiffs to file suit against these unrepresented foreign corpora-

tions is outweighed when the tolling statute requires the

39a

foreign corporations to submit to the general jurisdiction of

the State. That’s the key. The balancing under that factual

analysis goes for the defendants and goes against the tolling

statute. What we’re saying is we have a new balancing

approach, your Honor. Our balancing approach is the policy

of the State versus forcing these foreign corporations to come

in and only submit to limited jurisdiction. Under that balanc-

ing approach, your Honor, the statute should be sustained

and I think that’s where Bendix is not applicable because

Bendix doesn’t deal with that analysis. Thank you, Judge.

Ms. BRENNER: If I may, there is no statutory support in

New Jersey statutes for any limited designations. Thank you.

THE Court: All right. On this motion the issue really is

what the effect of the Supreme Court Bendix opinion has on

our statute of limitations which is N.J.S.A. 2A:14-22 which

reads in pertinent part, where a person is not represented in

this State by any person or officer upon whom summons or

other original process may be served, [27] therefore they shall

not be computed as part of the time period within which a

statute can be started. And in the final paragraph it states,

‘*A corporation shall be deemed represented for purposes of

this section if the corporation has filed with the Secretary of

State a notice designating a representative to accept service of

process.”’

The Court finds that this statute was amended in response

to the Coons | decision which held that the prior statute was

unconstitutional because it required the foreign corporation

to submit to the jurisdiction of the court. I believe that the

Attorney General, Mr. Haushalter, has correctly stated the

law when he says the Court, when deciding constitutionality

of the statute, has the right and the duty to interpret it in

such a manner that would remain constitutional if that is the

intended purpose of the legislature. He argues further in

effect that the legislature’s quick response to the Coons 1

decision indicates that they, the legislature, were attempting

to pass a statute that would be constitutional. I accept that

argument also. -

The question then remains does the naming or designating

of a representative by the notice required by Statute N.J.S.A.

40a

14-22 to accept service of process eliminate the right of a

defendant to contest to personal jurisdiction. The statute

doesn’t say it does. The [28] Court has a right to perform

judicial surgery so to speak. I will avail myself of that right

and I will interpret the statute to read that there is no waiver

by the foreign corporation in providing the notice under the

statute. There is no waiver of the right of that foreign corpo-

ration to contest service of process and to contest in per-

sonam jurisdiction. In view of that I find the statute to be

constitutional and therefore the motion is denied.

I hereby certify that the foregoing is a true and accurate

transcript of proceedings as taken stenographically by

me at the date and at the place hereinbefore set forth.

/s/ JUNE _ANDRIAN, C.S.R.

June Andrian, C.S.R.

OFFICIAL COURT REPORTER

4la

SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY

APPELLATE DIVISION

DOCKET No. AM-1642-89T3

MOTION No. M-6197-89

Before Part: Q

Judges: HAVEY AND STEIN

—

CHERYL A. DIFALCO

—vs.—

SUBARU OF AMERICA, INC. et al.

>

ORDER ON MOTION

MOTION FILED: July 6, 1990

ANSWER FILED: July 18, 1990 By: Attorney General

SUBMITTED TO CourRT: July 30, 1990

ORDER

This matter having been duly presented to the court, it is

on this 3lst day of July, 1990, hereby ordered as follows:

Motion by appellant Takata Corporation for Leave to

Appeal is GRANTED.

SUPPLEMENTAL:

[STAMP FILED

Illegible) APPELLATE DIVISION

AUG 6 1990

[Ilegible]

Clerk

42a

FOR THE COURT:

JAMES M. HAVEY

James M. Havey J.A.D.

43a

SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY

APPELLATE DIVISION

DOCKET No. A-6247-89T3F

>

‘CHERYL A. DIFALCO

—VvVs.—

SUBARU

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Opposition Brief — Juzwin v. Asbestos Corp. · 498 U.S. 896 | Frix