Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Joslyn Manufacturing Co. v. James

Supreme Court brief1991

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

éF Supreme Court, U.S.

90 ss 6 9 FILED

No.

JUN 25 1990

JOSEPR-F-SPANION, JA

CLERK

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1989

>

POWERLINE SUPPLY COMPANY, INC.,

NELDA S. ELLIOTT AND BILL ELLIOTT

Petitioners,

versus

T. L. JAMES & COMPANY, INC.

Respondent.

*

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

He

Davip F. ButterFIELD

Counsel of Record

Mayer, SMITH & ROBERTS

1550 Creswell

Shreveport, LA 71101

(318) 222-2135

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTION PRESENTED

1. Cana corporation establish a wholly owned sub-

sidiary to operate a hazardous waste facility in order to

profit from the operation of the facility while at the same

time insulating itself from potential environmental lia-

bility under the Comprehensive Environmental Response,

Compensation and Liability Act of 1980, 42 U.S.C. 9601,

et seq.?

ii

LIST OF PARTIES

The parties to the proceeding below were:

Joslyn Manufacturing Co.

T. L. James & Company, Inc.

Powerline Supply Co., Inc.

Nelda S. Elliott and Bill Elliott

Louisiana & Arkansas Railway Co.

Lance D. Alworth

F. B. James

G. W. James .

STATEMENT UNDER RULE 29.1

Elliott Electric Supply Company, Inc., merged with its

wholly owned subsidiary, Powerline Supply Company,

Inc., on or about November 19, 1986, and Elliott Electric

Supply Company, Inc., was the surviving corporate

entity. Elliott Electric Supply Company, Inc., subse-

quently dissolved Powerline Supply Company, Inc., on

August 13, 1987.

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Ne ee ubacacecanee i

ee eka en ecacnwaccessdvcaseveseeves ii

Statement under Rule 29.1.....................008- ii

ee ii cnc kao sceescbcbsccbaceaus iii

a a coven ch cas atetnvawk esas iv

een eda k AG eee665 asks eunnsedecnec 2

ce. e kd sdb ienaaccences 2

Ne ee Vb au das abeeeesnses 3

Es os nv cc ea ckcdsseccscaessicen 3

Reasons for Granting the Writ

I.

II.

III.

The United States Court Of Appeals For The

Fifth Circuit Has Rendered A Decision In

Conflict With Decisions Of Other Federal

Courts Of Appeals On The Same Matter ....

The Ultimate Resolution Of The Issue Raised

In This Case Will Have Far-Reaching Implica-

tions For Corporate America And For The

Es so ine 5 ds be Unsanscecsenay cs

The Issue In This Case Must Be Resolved Uni-

formly To Insure The Proper Functioning Of

Financial Markets And To Provide Guidance

for Economic Expansion ....................

sg ROE ER an A ee ee rE:

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases:

Colorado vs. Idarado Mining Co., 18 Envtl.L.Rep.

(Envtl.L.Inst.) 20578 (D. Col. 1987).............. 7, 10

idaho vs. Bunker Hill C»., 635 FSupp. 665 (D.

Gs cai 4 as nae CakUbSss caaekieaencsass Fe,

Joslyn Corporation vs. T. L. James & Company,

Inc., 696 FSupp. 222 (W.D. La. 1988)............... 4

Josiyn Manufacturing Company vs. T. L. James &

Company, 893 F.2d 80 (5th Cir. 1990) .............. 4

New York vs. Shore Realty Corporation, 759 F.2d

POE WE US I ono kin hencccdcvacecnceccas 6, 7,9

United States vs. Carolawn Company, 21 E.R.C.

Se ES SG CLG Aah eadntaeeddadWetbaessicess 9

United States vs. Chem-dyne Corp., 572 F.Supp.

802 (S.D. Ohio 1983)

7S O@6886646066468068468066666 86 6668 66 6 8 6 6

United States vs. Conservation Chemical Co. 628

WUE, GPR COWRA BOND. BOUDD. ccc nncccccccceccscas MW

United States vs. Kayser-Roth Corp., 724 F.Supp.

Oe RIN WON A bikie 55 40.05 «EY N55 so cdccasnnnccees 10

United States vs. McGraw Edison Company, et al

Cu GB-SE20 (W.D. NY 29GB) ww ww ccc ccc cc cccn 10

United States vs. Mirabal, 23 E.R.C. 1511 (E.D. Pa.

Pet eo bidet iki S tee ee 10

United States vs. Mottolo, 629 F.Supp. 56 (D.N.H.

1984), 605 F.Supp. 898 (D.N.H. 1985), 695

Pomp. GIS (ON. 1908) 2... ccc cece scenes 3

United States vs. Nicolet, Inc., No. 85-3060 (E.D.

Se id 10

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

United States vs. Northeastern Pharmaceutical &

Chemical Company, Inc., 579 F.Supp. 823 (W.D.

Mo. 1984), aff’d in part, rev’d in part, 810 F.2d

Ce ee Pe SN Kk Rbknweaadaaadaunckarces 6, 7,9

United States vs. Reilly Tar and Chem. Corp. 546

F.Supp. 1100 (D. Minn. 1982) .................000.. 8

Vermont vs. Staco, Inc., 684 FSupp. 822 (D. Vt.

MOB AHNGV NAN ScdR ee SES cava GineseuemedeeReet 7, 10

STATUTORY PROVISIONS:

Se I cand cssnacccdinwacencsachsdcutatens 2

Te CRG GSahcnoeeknbevcebhowesSanben tanec 4

ee Se EE odo cha kn ndccdeecnnndeacccaeeneeeen 3

Oe Ne ME ktrncedun dsc bcecuanwececauacameunes 3, 4

ee ie PPD sas as AAAs hase 5 peanARuanaal 6

Gt a EE 6 be oaks sack ccackeasceansduvuauenaiie 2

LN: GE S90 4 WKS n and ckbcsecekucedecuubewente 4

ey SED i a.vknesvheccusncdesccnwuneewenen 4

FEDERAL RULEs:

Rule 54(b) Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

No.

-.

—_

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1989

vr

POWERLINE SUPPLY COMPANY, INC.,

NELDA S. ELLIOTT AND BILL ELLIOTT

Petitioners,

versus

T. L. JAMES & COMPANY, INC.

Respondent.

>

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

-.

The Petitioners, Powerline Supply Company, Inc.

(hereinafter referred to as “Powerline”), Nelda S. Elliott

and Bill Elliott, respectfully pray that a writ of certiorari

issue to review the Judgment and Opinion of the United

States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit entered in

the above entitled proceeding on January 29, 1990.

,

—_

i

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Fifth Circuit is reported at 893 F2d 80, and is

reprinted in the Appendix hereto, App. 1, inj/ra.

The Fifth Circuit’s denial of Petitioners’ application

for rehearing is unreported, but reprinted in the Appen-

dix hereto, App. 11, infra.

The opinion of the District Court for the Western

District of Louisiana is reported at 696 F.Supp. 222, and is

reprinted in the Appendix hereto, App. 13, infra.

_+

JURISDICTION

Invoking federal jurisdiction under 42 U.S.C. Section

9613(b), Joslyn Corporation (hereinafter referred to as

“Joslyn”) brought this action in the United States District

Court for the Western District of Louisiana, Shreveport

Division. On September 19, 1988, the district court

granted summary judgment in favor of respondent T. L.

James & Company, Inc. (hereinafter referred to as “James

Company”). On November 16, 1988, the district court

granted Joslyn’s motion for entry of judgment pursuant

to FR.C.P. 54(b).

On Joslyn’s appeal, the United States Court of

Appeals for the Fifth Circuit entered an opinion affirming

the district court’s ruling on January 29, 1990. The Fifth

Circuit denied Petitioners’ timely application for rehear-

ing on March 26, 1990. The jurisdiction of this court to

review the judgment of the Fifth Circuit is invoked under

- 28 U.S.C. Section 1254(1).

>

STATUTES INVOLVED

The following statutory provisions involved have

been printed in the Appendix: 42 U.S.C. Section 9607(a),

42 U.S.C. Section 9601(20).

=

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In 1985, the Louisiana Department of Environmental

Quality, Inactive and Abandoned Sites Division, issued a

compliance order to Joslyn, Powerline, James Company,

Lance D. Alworth, Louisiana & Arkansas Railway Com-

pany, and to multiple other potentially responsible par-

ties requiring environmental remediation at a former

wood creosoting facility located in Bossier City, Louisi-

ana. The facility is commonly referred to as the “Lincoln

Creosote site.” Lincoln Creosote Company, Inc. (hereinaf-

ter referred to as “Lincoln”), a wholly owned subsidiary

of James Company, operated the creosote facility from

1935 to 1950. Lincoln subsequently sold the facility to

Joslyn. Joslyn operated the facility from 1950 through

1969. Thereafter, the facility was dismantled by Koppers

Company, Inc., and abandoned. After abandonment, the

site was subdivided and sold to numerous individuals

and legal entities, including Powerline and Lance D.

Alworth. Louisiana & Arkansas Railway Company

owned land adjacent to the site and provided rail trans-

port services to and from the facility during its operation.

Joslyn filed suit against James Company, Powerline,

Koppers Company, Inc., Lance D. Alworth and the Loui-

siana & Arkansas Railway Company under the Compre-

hensive Environmental Response, Compensation and

Liability Act of 1980 (“CERCLA”), 42 U.S.C. 9601, et seq.,

and under the Louisiana Environmental Quality Act

(“LEQA”), LA-R.S. 30:2001, et seq. The suit sought contri-

bution for environmental remediation at the site.

James Company filed motions to dismiss all claims

against it for failure to state claims upon which relief

could be granted and for summary judgment. All parties

with claims against James Company argued that James

Company was “directly” liable for Lincoln’s environmen-

tal torts as an owner or operator of the facility pursuant

to 42 U.S.C. Section 9607(a) and LA-R.S. 30:2276(A)(5).

James Company argued that it was to be afforded the

traditional protection of shareholder immunity for the

environmental torts of its subsidiary and that the record

would not support piercing Lincoln’s corporate veil to

impose environmental liability on James Company. The

district court granted summary judgment in favor of

James Company. Joslyn Corporation vs. T. L. James & Com-

pany, Inc., 696 F.Supp. 222 (W.D. La. 1988).

Upon Joslyn’s motion, the district court entered final

judgment in favor of James Company pursuant to F.R.C.P.

54(b). Upon appeal to the United States Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit, the decision of the district court was

affirmed. Joslyn Manufacturing Company vs. T. L. James &

Company, 893 F.2d 80 (5th Cir. 1990).

Whether by outright ownership or by endorsement,

James Company owned all of the common and preferred

stock in Lincoln and provided all of the capital necessary

for Lincoln’s operation. Specifically, James Company

guaranteed Lincoln’s purchases of creosote oil and lent

Lincoln approximately $500,000 in order to purchase a

reliable source of timber.

At all iimes, James Company controlled a majority of

Lincoln’s directors. James Company and Lincoln had

interlocking directors and officers. James Company’s

executive officers were advised and informed as to Lin-

coln’s operation on a frequent, if not daily, basis and

reserved the right to confirm and ratify Lincoln’s top

level management decisions. In order to protect its invest-

ment in Lincoln, James Company hired and fired on-site

managers.

James Company consistently received dividends on

Lincoln’s preferred stock and profited from its loans to

Lincoln. James Company purchased creosote products

from Lincoln, and Lincoln purchased materials from

James Company. Lincoln made charitable contributions at

the request and direction of Lincoln’s board members

controlled by James Company.

Lincoln’s corporate headquarters were located in the

James Building in Ruston, Louisiana. Lincoln never paid

any rent for the use of James Company’s facilities. in the

interest of convenience, Lincoln often held its corporate

meetings immediately following the corporate meetings

of the James Company.

Lincoln’s creosote operation spilled creosote residue

at various places around the site. The site also developed

6

a creosote drainage problem that was never corrected,

despite the recommendations of on-site managers.

,%

a al

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I.

The United States Court Of Appeals For The Fifth Cir-

cuit Has Rendered A Decision In Conflict With Deci-

sions Of Other Federal Courts Of Appeals On The Same

Matter.

In the case of New York vs. Shore Realty Corporation,

759 F.2d 1032 (2nd Cir. 1985), (hereinafter cited as Shore

Realty), the court noted that CERCLA’s definition of the

phrase “owner or operator” excluded a “person who,

without participation in the management of a... facility,

(held) indicia of ownership primarily to protect his secu-

rity interest in the facility.” The court concluded the use

of this exception implied that an owning stockholder who

managed the corporation was liable under CERCLA as an

Owner or operator. The court held a corporate share-

holder who managed the facility directly liable for his

corporation’s environmental tort without resorting to a

corporate veil piercing analysis.

sn the case of United States vs. Northeastern Phar-

maceutical & Chemical Co., Inc., (hereinafter cited as NEP-

PACCO), 810 F.2d 726 (8th Cir. 1986), the court held an

individual named John W. Lee liable for environmental

remediation as person who had arranged for the disposal

of hazardous substances in violation of 42 U.S.C. Section

|

9607(a)(3). The court expressly noted that Mr. Lee’s lia-

bility was distinct from the derivative liability that results

from piercing the corporate veil.

In direct contrast to Shore Realty, and NEPPACCO, the

court below in the instant case stated:

Joslyn urges this Court to read CERCLA’s defi-

nition of “owner or operator” liberally and

broadly to reach parent corporations whose sub-

Sidiaries are found liable under the statute. In

doing so, Joslyn urges us to follow the several

Courts, including the Second Circuit, which

have extended CERCLA liability to parents. See

New York vs. Shore Realty Corporation, 759 F.2d

1032 (2d Cir. 1985); United States vs. Mottolo, 695

F.Supp. 615 (D.N.H. 1988); Colorado vs. Idarado

Mining Co., 18 Envtl.L.Rep. (Envtl.L.Inst.) 20578

(D. Col. 1987); Vermont vs. Staco, Inc., 684

F.Supp. 822 (D.Vt. 1988); Idaho vs. Bunker Hill

Co., 635 F.Supp. 665 (D.Idaho 1986). We decline

to do so.

893 F.2d at 82

The Fifth’s Circuit’s opinion expressly rejected exis-

ting precedent in other federal appellate courts. The

importance of the issue raised by the conflicting opinions

requires that this Court grant this writ application to

settle the issue. Otherwise owners and operators of haz-

ardous waste facilities within the jurisdictional bound-

aries of the Fifth Circuit will have significantly greater

protections over owners and operators of hazardous

waste facilities in other parts of the country.

II.

The Ultimate Resolution Of The Issue Raised In This

Case Will Have Far-Reaching Implications For Corpo-

rate America And For The Public In General

If the decision of the court below is correct, corporate

America, particularly those corporations involved in haz-

ardous waste activities, should form subsidiaries to con-

duct operations with potential environmental

consequences. Under such arrangements, the parent cor-

poration would be able to profit from the hazardous

waste activity while incurring none of the potential lia-

bilities. So long as the parent corporation’s conduct with

respect to the subsidiary is not so outrageous as to justify

piercing the subsidiary’s corporate veil under traditional

notions of corporate law, the parent corporation can com-

pletely avoid CERCLA liability.

On the other hand, the incorporation of subsidiary

corporations to operate hazardous waste facilities could

have a devastating impact upon the public. Even a small

hazardous waste facility might generate an environmen-

tal disaster. The operating subsidiary corporation might

not have the financial ability or insurance to bring about

environmental remediation. The cost of the clean up

would then be forced upon the taxpayers, a result never

intended by Congress in enacting CERCLA. As the court

pointed out in the case of United States vs. Reilly Tar and

Chem. Corp., 546 F.Supp. 1100 (D. Minn. 1982), CERLC'A

was designed to insure that those responsible for prob-

lems caused by the disposal of chemical poisons bear the

costs and responsibility for remedying the harmful condi-

tions they created.

-

ee -

Ill.

The Issue Raised In This Case Must Be Resolved Uni-

formly To Insure The Proper Functioning Of Financial

Markets And To Provide Guidance For Economic Expan-

sion

Enormous amounts of corporate stock are bought

and sold based upon the belief that the investor does not

stand personally liable for the corporation’s debt. But is

this belief justified in the context of environmental lia-

bility? Congress expected the Courts to develop a Federal

common law to supplement the statutory provisions of

CERCLA. United States vs. Chem-dyne Corp., 572 F.Supp.

802 (S.D. Ohio 1983). However, the decision of the Court

below flies in the face of a developing body of Federal

common law holding corporate shareholders directly lia-

ble for corporate environmental torts under certain cir-

cumstances.!

' In all of the cases below, shareholders who were directly

involved in a corporate hazardous waste activity or who were

actively involved in the management of the facility were found

directly liable, expressly or by implication, for the corpora-

tion’s environmental tort: United States vs. Northeastern Phar-

maceutical & Chemical Company, Inc., 579 F.Supp. 823 (W.D. Mo.

1984), aff'd in part, rev’d in part, 810 F.2d 726 (8th Cir. 1986):

Idaho vs. Bunker Hill Co., 635 F.Supp. 665 (D. Idaho 1986);

United States vs. Mottolo, 629 F.Supp. 56 (D.N.H. 1984), 605

F.Supp. 898 (D.N.H. 1985), 695 F.Supp. 615 (D.N.H. 1988);

United States vs. Conservation Chemical Co., 628 F.Supp. 391

(W.D. Mo. 1985); New York vs. Shore Realty Corp., 759 F.2d 1032

(2d Cir. 1985); United States vs. Carolawn Company, 21 E.R.C.

(Continued on following page)

10

Because of the decision of the Court below, financial

markets still lack the high degree of certainty necessary

for proper functioning. When compared to the decisions

of other Federal Courts on the same issue, the decision in

this case makes it impossible to predict whether a share-

holder can rely on traditional principles of corporate law

or whether a shareholder may be directly liable for the

corporation’s environmental torts. When investors cannot

precisely calculate the amount of their potential liability,

they are less willing to invest the capital necessary for

economic expansion.

Given the widespread institutional and individual

ownership of corporate stock, and given the percentage

of the gross national product directly or indirectly related

to the production, disposal and consumption of hazard-

ous waste products, the issue raised by this case requires

resolution by this Honorable Court. Environmental reme-

diation is such an expensive proposition that economic

planning for all segments of the national economy is

frustrated in the absence of a clear understanding as to

potential liability under CERCLA’s statutory provisions.

Those called upon to resolve key issues in CERLCA’s

liability scheme cannot be guided by the current uncer-

tainty and conflict existing in the federal jurisprudence.

(Continued from previous page)

2124 (D.S.C. 1984); United States vs. Mirabal, 23 E.R.C. 1511

(E.D. Pa. 1985); Colorado vs. Idarado Mining Co., 18 E.L.R. 20578

(D. Co. 1987); Vermont vs. Staco, Inc., 684 F.Supp. 822 (D. Vt.

1988); United States vs. Kayser-Roth Corp., 724 F.Supp. 15 (D.R.I.

1989); United States vs. McGraw Edison Company, et al, Cv

88-542C (W.D. NY 1989); United States vs. Nicolet, Inc., No.

85-3060 (E.D. Pa. 1989).

11

Because of the economic, political and social sensitivity of

envirenmental remediation, CERLCA’s liability scheme

requires uniform resolution, and the necessary uniformity

can only be supplied by this Court.

a

4

CONCLUSION

The conflicting messages being sent by the federal

courts concerning shareholder liability for corporate

environmental torts require that this Court grant this

Petition for Writ of Certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

Mayer, SmitH & Roserts

Attorneys for Powerline Supply

Company, Inc., Nelda S. Elliott and

Bill Elliott

By /s/ David F. Butterfield

Davip F. ButterFiELD

1550 Creswell

Shreveport, LA 71101

(318) 222-2135

INDEX TO APPENDIX

Opinion of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals..... App. 1

Denial of Petitioners’ Application For Rehearing . . .App. 6

Opinion of the United States District for the West-

ern District of Louisiana...................... App. 7

App. 1

JOSLYN MANUFACTURING COMPANY,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

Vv.

T.L. JAMES & CO., INC.,

Defendant-Appellee,

Vv.

POWERLINE SUPPLY CO., INC.,

Defendant Third Party

Plaintiff-Appellant.

and

Nelda S. ELLIOT, Bill Elliot, and Lance

D. Alwosth, Louisiana and Arkansas

Railroad Co., Defendants-Appellants,

Vv.

Floyd Benjamin JAMES and George

William James, Sr., Third Party

Defendants-Appellees.

No. 88-4901.

United States Court of Appeals,

Fifth Circuit.

Jan. 29, 1990.

Corporation ordered to clean up contaminated site of

former wood treating and/or creosoting operation initi-

ated action under Comprehensive Environmental

Response, Compensation, and Liability Act and Louisiana

Environmental Quality Act. The United States District

Court for the Western District of Louisiana, Shreveport

Division, Tom Stagg, Chief Judge, 696 F.Supp. 222,

entered summary judgment for defendants, and corpora-

tion appealed. The Court of Appeais, Gee, Circuit Judge,

held that: (1) the Acts did not impose direct liability on

parent corporations for violations of their wholly owned

App. 2

subsidiaries, and (2) the corporate vei! could not be

pierced to impose liability on the parent corporation.

Affirmed.

Robert E. Holden, Mary S. Johnson, Liskow & Lewis,

New Orleans, La., for plaintiff-appellant.

David F. Butterfield, Mayer, Smith & Roberts, Shre-

veport, La., for Elliot & Powerline Supply.

Kevin M. Ward, Cogswell & Wehrle, Denver, Colo.,

James L. Adams, Brook, Morial, Cassibry, Fraiche &

Pizza, Shreveport, La., for Lance D. Alworth.

Bobby S. Gilliam, Jerald N. Jones, Wilkinson, Car-

mody & Gilliam, Shreveport, La., for Louisiana and

Arkansas Railroad Co.

William F. Ridlon, II, Asst. Atty. Gen., Baton Rouge,

La., for amicus curiae, State of La.

Donald A. Carr, U.S. Dept. of Justice, Michael P.

Healy, Anne S. Almy, Appellate Section, Land & Natural

Resources Div., Washington, D.C., for amicus curiae U.S.

Donald B. Mitchell, Jr, Stephen J. Weiss, James P.

Mercurio, Arent, Fox, Kintner, Plotkin & Kahn, Washing-

ton, D.C., and Robert G. Dawkins, Dawkins, Coyle &

Carter, Ruston, La., for defendant-appellee, T.L. James &

Co., Inc.

Appeals from the United States District Court for the

Western District of Louisiana.

App. 3

Before GEE and JONES, Circuit Judges and

HUNTER, District Judge:*

GEE, Circuit Judge:

Appellant contends that the Comprehensive Environ-

mental Response, Compensation, and Liability Act

(“CERCLA”) and the Louisiana Environmental Quality

Act ("LEQA”) impose direct liability on parent corpora-

tions for violations of their wholly-owned subsidiaries.

Appellant further contends that, absent such liability, the

corporate veil should be pierced to impose liability in the

instant case. We disagree with both contentions.

Facts

This case arises from the environmental cleanup of a

former creosoting plant constructed by the Lincoln Cre-

osoting Company, Inc. (“Lincoln”) in Bossier City, Louisi-

ana. Under Lincoln’s creosoting recovery system, raw

creosoting chemicals dripped from the treating cylinders

to a sump pit located underneath the system. Lincoln

recovered some creosoting chemicals from the sump. The

remaining chemicals were discharged into an open ditch

and flowed to the eastern portion of the site, where the

chemicals collected in a slough. From the slough, the

creosoting chemicals were washed away by rain to the

surrounding land areas and waterways.

Lincoln was incorporated in 1935 when C.A. Tooke

and J.R. Hayes proposed a business arrangement with

* District Judge of the Western District of Louisiana, sitting by

designation.

App. 4

T.L. James whereby T.L. James Co., (“James Co.”) would

put up the initial capital in return for stock in the com-

pany. Under the arrangement, Tooke and Hayes would

purchase 40% of the 200 shares of common voting stock

and James Co. would own 60% of the common stock and

all 200 shares of the non-voting preferred stock of Lin-

coln. Tooke and Hayes endorsed their shares over as

security for their unpaid capital subscription.

At the initial Board of Directors meeting, Tooke was

elected Vice President and designated “General Manager

with full power and discretion to conduct the affairs” of

Lincoln. T.L. James was elected President; his son G.W.

James later succeeded him. Lincoln originally established

a seven member Board of Directors. Five of these direc-

tors were associated with James Co., Tooke and Hayes

held the other two seats. Lincoln maintained separate

financial books and a separate corporate banking

account. Only Hayes and Tooke had check-signing

authority. Lincoln regularly held shareholders and direc-

tors meetings.

|

Dissatisfied with Lincoln’s performance in the

mid-1940’s, G.W. James bought out Hayes. G.W. James,

then president of Lincoln, hired Lacy, a former James Co.

employee, to replace Hayes. In 1945 Lincoln reduced its

Board of Directors to five. The new Board consisted of

three Lincoln employees who had no ties to James Co.

and two persons associated with James Co. In 1947, the

Board was expanded to eight members and consisted of

four Lincoln employees and four persons associated with

James Co.

App. 5

Lincoln owned its own property and equipment, and

maintained its own employees, payrolls, insurance, pen-

sion system, and workman’s compensation program. Lin-

coln filed its own tax returns.

In 1950 Tooke died and Lincoln was sold to Joslyn

Manufacturing Co. (“Joslyn”). Joslyn owned and oper-

ated the plant until Koppers Company, Inc. (“Koppers”)

purchased it in 1969. Koppers owned the plant until 1971.

The property then passed through five separate owners,

the last of which subdivided the property. Appellant

Powerline Supply Company (“Powerline”) purchased one

of the subdivided lots in 1982. Appellant Alworth pur-

chased one such iot in 1983. Appellant Louisiana and

Arkansas Railway Company (“Railway”) owned property

adjoining the plant site from 1923 through 1972.

Joslyn filed this action in the district court invoking

that court’s exclusive jurisdiction under Section 113(b) of

the CERCLA. 42 U.S.C. Section 9613(b). Joslyn brought

this action claiming that James Co. was liable under 42

U.S.C. Section 9607(a)(2) as an “owner or operator.” Jos-

lyn also advanced claims under the Louisiana Environ-

mental Quality Act (“LEQA”). La.Rev.Stat.Ann. Section

30:2001 (West Supp.1989). The defendants included James

Co., Railway, and Powerline. Powerline filed third-party

complaints against, inter alia, Lance Alworth; Alworth

then filed a cross-claim against James Co.

The district court granted James Co.’s motion for

summary judgment, concluding that Congress, in enact-

ing CERCLA, did not intend an exception to the general

rule in corporation law of limited liability. 696 F.Supp.

222.

App. 6

Discussion

CERCLA provides in relevant part:

Section 107(a)(2), 42 U.S.C. Section 9607(a)(2), makes

liable:

(2) any person who at the time of disposal

of any hazardous substance owned or opperated

[sic] any facility at which such hazardous subs-

tances were disposed of... .

“Owner or operator” is defined in the statute as:

(20)(A)(ii) in the case of an onshore facili-

ty . . . any person owning or operating such

facility, and (iii) in the case of any facility, title

or control of which was conveyed due to bank-

ruptcy, foreclosure, tax delinquency, abandon-

ment, or similar means to a unit of State or local

government, any person who owned, operated

or otherwise controlled activities at such facility

immediately beforehand. Such term does not

include a person, who, without participating in

the management of a. . . facility, holds indicia of

ownership primarily to protect his security

interest in the . . . facility.

42 U.S.C. § 9601(20).

Joslyn urges this court to read CERCLA’s definition

of “owner or operator” liberally and broadly to reach

parent corporations whose subsidiaries are found liable

under the statute. In doing so, Joslyn urges us to follow

the several courts, including the Second Circuit, which

have extended CERCLA liability to parents. See New York

v. Shore Realty Corp., 759 F.2d 1032 (2d Cir.1985); United

States v. Mottolo, 695 F.Supp. 615 (D.N.H.1988); Colorado v.

Idarado Mining Co., 18 Envtl.L.Rep. (Envtl.L.Inst.) 20578

(D.Col.1987); Vermont v. Staco, Inc., 684 FSupp. 822

App. 7

(D.Vt.1988); Idaho v. Bunker Hill Co., 635 F.Supp. 665

(D.Idaho 1986). We decline to do so.

Significantly, CERCLA does not define “owners” or

“operators” as including the parent company of offen-

ding wholly-owned subsidiaries. Nor does the legislative

history indicate that Congress intended to alter so sub-

stantially a basic tenet of corporation law. “It is elemen-

tary that the meaning of a statute must, in the first

instance, be sought in the language in which the act is

framed, and if it is plain . . . the sole function of the

courts is to enforce it according to its terms.” Caminetti v.

United States, 242 U.S. 470, 485, 37 S.Ct. 192, 194, 61 L.Ed.

442 (1917). Joslyn asks this court to rewrite the language

of the Act significantly and hold parents directly liable

for their subsidiaries’ activities. To do so would dramati-

cally alter traditional concepts of corporation law. The

“normal rule of statutory construction is that if Congress

intends for legislation to change the interpretation of a

judicially created concept, it makes that intent specific.”

Midlantic Nat’l Bank v. New Jersey, 474 U.S. 494, 501, 106

S.Ct. 755, 759, 88 L.Ed.2d 859 (1986). Any bold rewriting

of corporation law in this area is best left to Congress.

Appellants have pointed this court to little in the

legislative history of CERCLA to indicate that Congress

intended to make such a significant change in corporation

law principles. Powerline points to an “inherent” under-

lying intent of congress to hold those who profited from

hazardous waste sites responsible for the cost of cleanup

and a desire to effectuate a timely cleanup of these sites.

As the Court noted in Edmonds v. Compagnie Generale

Transatlantique, 443 U.S. 256, 267, 99 S.Ct. 2753, 2759, 61

L.Ed.2d 521 (1979), reh. denied, 444 U.S. 889, 100 S.Ct. 194,

App. 8

62 L.Ed.2d 126 (reviewing Court of Appeals’ decision

modifying longshoreman’s preexisting rights), “[SJilence

is most eloquent, for such reticence while contemplating

an important and controversial change in existing law is

unlikely.” Without an express Congressional directive to

the contrary, common-law principles of corporation law,

such as limited liability, govern our court’s analysis. See

Berger v. Iron Workers Reinforced Rodmen Local 201, 843 F.2d

1427-1430 (D.C.Cir.1988).

If Congress wanted to extend liability to parent cor-

porations it could have done so, and it remains free to do

so. The Seventh Circuit recently declined to expand the

“owner or operator” definition, although it recognized

the policy benefits inherent in a broad reading of the

Act’s scope. Edward Hines Lumber Co. v. Vulcan Materials

Co., 861 F.2d 155 (7th Cir.1988) (“To the point that courts

could achieve ‘more’ of the legislative objectives by

adding to the lists of those responsible, it is enough to

respond that statutes have not only ends but also

limits.”).

As the district court observed, Congress is quite

capable of creating statutes that hold shareholders or

controlling entities liable for the acts of valid corpora-

tions. In fact, Congress adopted a “control” test in the

next subsection of the statute. Under CERCLA, the term

“owner or operator” is defined for facilities conveyed to

state or local governments by bankruptcy, tax delin-

quency or abandonment, as “any person who owned,

operated or otherwise controlled activities at such facility

immediately” before conveyance. 42 U.S.C. Section

9601(20)(A)(iii) (emphasis added). No such “control” test

appears in subsection (ii), the subsection at issue in this

App. 9

case, and we will imply none. Similarly, La.Rev.Stat.Ann.

Section 30:2276 (West 1989 Supp.) does not impose direct

liability on parent corporations for the acts of their sub-

sidiaries.

Further, the facts here militate against piercing the

corporate veil. Lincoln faithfully adhered to basic corpo-

rate formalities by keeping its own books and records

and holding frequent shareholder and directors meetings.

the daily operations of Lincoln and James Co. were sepa-

rate. Hayes and Tooke were the most involved in the

operations of Lincoln; neither was employed by James

Co. Lincoln owned its own property, and the property

was not used by James Co. Lincoln filed separate tax

returns. Lincoln paid its own bills and made its own

arrangement for employee benefits. The notes from the

1950 special shareholders meeting indicate that Lincoln

operated quite independently from James Co.

The district court was correctly guided by our court’s

prior decision in United States v. Jon-T Chemicals, Inc., 768

F.2d 686 (5th Cir.1985), cert. denied, 475 U.S. 1014, 106 S.Ct.

1194, 89 L.Ed.2d 309 (1986). There, our Circuit set out

criteria for analyzing the issue of “control” in the parent/

subsidiary context. In this case, the district court ran

through the “laundry list” and properly found that the

facts did not justify piercing the corporate veil. Veil pierc-

ing should be limited to situations in which the corporate

entity is used as a sham to perpetrate a fraud or avoid

personal liability. See Jon-T, supra at 691 (quoting Krivo v.

Industrial Supply Co. v. National Distillers & Chem. Corp.,

483 F.2d 1098, 1106 (5th Cir.1973)) (“control required for

liability under the ‘instrumentality’ rule amounts to total

domination of the subservient corporation, to the extent

App. 10

that the subservient corporation manifests no separate

corporate interests of its own and functions solely to

achieve the purposes of the dominant corporation”). The

facts in this case do not support a finding that Lincoln

was designed as a bogus shell for James Co. to hide

behind.

The district court allowed extensive discovery in this

case. Appellants have pointed to those matters that they

believe constitute a material issue of fact for determining

whether James Co. can be held indirectly liable for Lin-

coln’s activities. Those facts, if true, do not justify pierc-

ing the corporate veil. Therefore, the district court’s grant

of James Co.’s summary judgment motion was proper. We

AFFIRM.!

1 Because it was not ruled on below we do not here pass

on Powerline’s “corporate distributee theory of liability - Pow-

erline asserts that James Co. was Lincoln’s corporate distrib-

utee and that, as such, James Co. may be responsible.

App. 11

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 88-4901

JOSLYN MANUFACTURING COMPANY,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

V.

T.L. JAMES & CO., INC.,

Defendant-Appellee,

V.

POWERLINE SUPPLY CO., INC.,

Defendant Third Party

Plaintiff-Appellant.

and

Nelda S. ELLIOT, Bill Elliot, and Lance

D. Alworth, Louisiana and Arkansas

Railroad Co., Defendants-Appellants,

V.

Floyd Benjamin JAMES and George

William James, Sr., Third Party

Defendants-Appellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Western District of Louisiana

ON PETITION FOR REHEARING

(Filed March 26, 1990)

Before GEE and JONES, Circuit Judges, and HUNTER,

District Judge:*

* District Judge of the Western District of Louisiana sitting by

designation.

App. 12

PER CURIAM:

IT IS ORDERED that the petition for rehearing filed

in the above entitled and numbered cause be and the

same is hereby DENIED.

CLERK’S NOTE:

SEE FRAP AND LOCAL

RULES 41 FOR STAY OF THE

MANDATE.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

Thomas Gibbs Gee

United States Circuit Judge REHG-4

App. 13

JOSLYN CORPORATION

A

T.L. JAMES & COMPANY, INC. et al.

Civ. A. No. 87-2054.

United States District Court,

W.D. Louisiana,

Shreveport Division.

Sept. 19, 1988.

Corporation ordered to clean up contaminated site of

former wood treating and/or creosoting operation initi-

ated action under Comprehensive Environmental

Response, Compensation, and Liability Act and Louisiana

Environmental Quality Act. In memorandum ruling on

various motions, the District Court, Stagg, Chief Judge,

held that: (1) individual liability could not be imposed on

corporate officers under CERCLA for hazardous waste

cleanup, nor could parent corporation be held directly

liable without first piercing the corporate veil, and (2)

that veil would not be pierced, absent proof that parent

had complete domination of finances, policies, and prac-

tices of subsidiary.

Summary judgment for defendant.

Robert E. Holden, J. Berry St. John Jr., William Craig

Wyman, Liskow & Lewis, New Orleans, La., James W.

Hailey Jr., Hailey, McNamara, Hall, Larmann & Papale,

Metaire, La., Liskow & Lewis, Lafayette, La., for plain-

tiffs.

Robert G. Dawkins, Dawkins, Coyle & Carter, Ste-

phen J. Weiss and Donald B. Mitchell, Arent, Fox, Kintner,

App. 14

Plotkin and Kahn, Washington, D.C., for T.L. James & Co.

Inc.

Bobby S. Gilliam, Wilkinson, Carmody & Gilliam,

Shreveport, La., for La. & Ark. Ry. Co.

James B. Gardner, Lunn, Irion Johnson, Salley & Car-

lisle, Shreveport, La., for Commercial Union Ins. Co.

Philip C. Stahl, Katherine E. Rakowsky, Grippo &

Elden, Chicago, Ill., Redoux R. Provosty Jr., F. Rae Swent,

Provosty, Sadler & deLaunay, Alexandria, La., for Nat.

Sur. Corp.

J. Fleet Howell, Wiener, Weiss, Madison & Howell,

Shreveport, La., for Koppers Co., Inc.

David F. Butterfield, Mayer, Smith & Roberts, Shre-

veport, La., for Powerline Supply Co.

Kevin M. Ward, Michael C. Donovan, Charles Kevin

Cahill, Denver, Colo., James L. Adams, Kennedy, Good-

man & Donovan, Shreveport, La., for Lance D. Allworth:

(defendant & third party).

James L. Nelson, Shreveport, La., for Graham W.

Rogers and John Walker Price: (third parties).

Gary M. Zwain, Duplass, Witman & Zwain, Metairie,

La., for Wesley D. Burdine: (third party).

Jerald Harper, Cook, Yancey, King & Galloway,

Shreveport, La., for David Myatt: (third party).

MEMORANDUM RULING

STAGG, Chief Judge.

App. 15

Joslyn Corporation (hereinafter “Joslyn”) initiated

this action against, inter alia, T.L. James & Company, Inc.

(hereinafter “T.L. James” or “James Company”), asserting

an action under the Comprehensive Environmental

Response, Compensation and Liability Act (hereinafter

“CERCLA”)' and the Louisiana Environmental Quality

Act (hereinafter “LEQA”)?. The suit was instituted by

Josiyn after the Louisiana Department of Environmental

Quality had issued several orders to certain parties,

including Joslyn, requiring the investigation and cleanup

of a contaminated site in Bossier Parish, Louisiana that

was formerly a wood-treating and/or creosoting opera-

tion. The claims, cross claims, counterclaims and third

party demands involved in this action are too numerous

to list.

Presently under advisement are the following:

1. T.L. James’s motion and renewed motion to dismiss

plaintiff’s complaint or, in the alternative, for sum-

mary judgment;

2. T.L. James’s motion and renewed motion to dismiss

the cross claim of Powerline Supply Company;

3. T.L. James’s motion to dismiss the cross claim of the

Louisiana and Arkansas Railway Company for failure

to state a claim or, in the alternative, for summary

judgment;

1 42 U.S.C. §§ ©601-9657 (1982) and (Supp. V 1987), as

amended by Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act

of 1986, Pub.L., No. 99-499, 100 Stat. 1613 (1986).

2 La.Rev.Stat. 30:1051 et seq.

a

App. 16

4. T.L. James’s motion to dismiss the counterclaim of

Lance D. Alworth; and

5. T.L. James’s motion to dismiss the amended cross

claim of Lance D. Alworth.

Though these motions present several issues, they all

request the court to determine whether CERCLA imposes

direct liability upon a parent corporation or requires a

claimant to pierce the corporate veil before liability may

attach. A recitation of material facts will be deferred until

the court completes its analysis of this legal issue.

DIRECT OR DERIVATIVE LIABILITY?

Section 107(a) of CERCLA, 42 U.S.C. § 9607(a), pro-

vides, in relevant part:

Notwithstanding any other provision or ruie of

law, and subject only to the defenses set forth in

subsection (b) of this Section -

> * . * » .

(2) any person who at the time of disposal

of any hazardous substance owned or operated

any facility at which such hazardous substances

were disposed of [shall be liable under this Sec-

tion].

Under 42 U.S.C. § 9601(20)(A), the term “owner or opera-

tor” means “in the case of an onshore facility or an

offshore facility, any person owning or operating such

facility.” “Person” includes an “individual, firm, corpora-

tion, association, partnership . . . commercial entity... . ”

Id. at § 9601.

|

App. 17

Joslyn? argues that T.L. James must be deemed an

“owner or operator” under CERCLA § 107(a) and is,

therefore, directly liable. CERCLA does not specifically

address the question of whether a court may hold a

parent corporation or corporate officers liable for clean-

up costs without first piercing the corporate veil. Several

courts addressing the issue have held that corporate offi-

cers may be individually liable for hazardous waste

clean-up under CERCLA. The undersigned respectfully

declines to adopt the analysis utilized by these courts

because they have chosen to ignore the corporate form

without an express congressional directive.

In Berger v. Columbia Broadcasting System, Inc., 453

F.2d 991, 994 (Sth Cir. 1972), the Fifth Circuit made clear

the importance of the corporate structure:

* For the sake of brevity, reference will only be made to

Joslyn’s position which has been adopted by all the nonmoving

parties against whom motions are presently under consider-

ation.

* State of New York v. Shore Realty Corp., 759 F.2d 1032 (2d

Cir.1985); United States v. Ward, 618 F.Supp. 884 (E.D.N.C.1985);

United States v. Conservation Chemical Company, 619 FSupp. 162

(W.D.Mo.1985); United States v. Mottolo, 605 F.Supp. 898

(D.N.H.i985); United States v. Carolawn Company, 21 Env’t Rep.

Cas. (BNA) 2124 (D.S.C.1984); United States v. Northeastern

Pharmaceutical & Chemical Company (NEPPACCO), 579 F.Supp.

823 (W.D.Mo.1984), affirmed in part, reversed in part, 810 F.2d 726

(8th Cir. 1986); United States v. Wade, 577 F. Supp. 1326 (E.D.Pa

1983). Also, in Idaho v. The Bunker Hill Company, 635 F.Supp. 665

(D.1d.1986), liability was imposed, without piercing the corpo-

rate veil, under CERCLA on a parent corporation held to the

“owner or operator” of a disposal facility.

App. 18

It is elemental jurisprudence that a corporation

is a creature of the law, endowed with a person-

ality separate and distinct from that of its

owners, and that one of the principal purposes

for legal sanctioning of a separate corporate per-

sonality is to accord stockholders an oppor-

tunity to limit their personal liability.

See also, Baker v. Raymond International, Inc., 658 F.2d 173,

179 (Sth Cir.1981) (“[t]he principle of limited liability

remains a dominant characteristic of American corporate

law.”), cert. denied, 456 U.S. 983, 102 S.Ct. 2256, 72 L.Ed.2d

861 (1982); and Krivo Industrial Supply Company v. National

Distillers and Chemical Corp., 483 F.2d 1098, 1102 (5th

Cir.1973) (“the corporate form . . . is not lightly disre-

garded since limited liability is one of the principal pur-

poses for which the law has created the corporation.”). In

Cort v. Ash, 422 U.S. 66, 84, 95 S.Ct. 2080, 2090, 45 L.Ed.2d

26 (1975), the Supreme Court refused to create a federal

private right to action for allegedly illegal corporate cam-

paign contributions, holding that:

Corporations are creatures of state law, and

investors commit their funds to corporate direc-

tors on the understanding that, except where

federal law expressly requires certain respon-

sibilities of directors with respect to stock-

holders, state law will govern the internal affairs

of the corporation.

In Homan & Crimen, Inc. v. Harris, 626 F.2d 1201, 1205

(Sth Cir.1980), cert. denied, 450 U.S. 975, 101 S.Ct. 1506, 67

L.Ed.2d 809 (1981), Medenco, Inc. owned 100 per cent of

the stock of Homan & Crimen, Inc. an unrelated corpora-

tion doing business as Southwestern General Hospital.

The hospital submitted its Medicare cost reports for two

years, claiming $830,000 as a step up in the cost basis of

App. 19

4

its assets. Id.5 There were costs incurred by Medenco, Inc.

In claiming entitlement to this amount, plaintiffs argued

under 42 C.F.R. § 405.427 that “costs applicable to ser-

vices, facilities, and supplies furnished to the provider by

organizations related to the provider by common owner-

ship or control are includable in the allowable cost to the

provider at the cost to the related organization.” Id. at

1208 (emphasis added).

Based upon this regulation, Homan & Crimen con-

tended that “form should not be exalted over substance

and the fiction of the separateness of the corporation and

its shareholders should not be used to reach an unfair

and unjust result.” Id. The United States Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit rejected this argument:

To this contention, the response must be that if

the separateness of the corporation and its

shareholders is a fiction, it is one which the law

has long recognized and will not lightly go

behind. citations omitted.] For the regulation to

cut through or ignore that mass of established corpo-

rate law upon which the Secretary relied would

require at the very least a clear intention, a compel-

ling case. It cannot be done by implication as plain-

tiffs suggest here.

Id. (emphasis added.) Stated differently, “[w]hether latent

federal power should be exercised to displace state law is

primarily a decision for Congress.” Wallis v. Pan American

Petroleum Corp., 384 U.S. 63, 68, 86 S.Ct. 1301, 1304, 16

L.Ed.2d 369 (1966). “Even where there is related federal

legislation in an area, as is true in this instance, it must be

° See, 42 U.S.C. §§ 1395X and 1395F.

App. 20

remembered that ‘Congress acts . . . against the back-

ground of the total corpus juris of the states... .” Id.

quoting from Hart and Wechsler, The Federal Courts and the

Federal System at p. 435 (1953).6

Based upon the foregoing authorities, this court

holds that the corporate form, including limited liability

for shareholders, is a doctrine firmly entrenched in Amer-

ican jurisprudence that may not be disregarded absent a

Specific congressional directive. Neither the clear lan-

guage of CERCLA nor its legislative history provides

authority for imposing individual liability on corporate

officers or direct liability on parent corporations.” Though

it is recognized that CERCLA was enacted in the “waning

hours of the 96th Congress,” and was “the product of

apparent legislative compromise [that] is not a model of

clarity,” Tanglewood East Homeowners v. Charles-Thomas,

6 See also, Burks v. Lasker, 441 US. 471, 478-79, 99 S.Ct.

1831, 1837-38, 60 L.Ed.2d 404 (1979) (holding that in actions

asserting violations under the Investment Company Act and

the Investment Advisers Act, federal courts must apply state

corporate law governing the authority of independent direc-

tors to discontinue shareholders’ derivative actions because

corporate law is not an area in which these statutes authorize

federal courts to “fashion a complete body of federal law”):

Pipefitters Local Union No. 562 v. United States, 407 U.S. 385,

413-14, 92 S.Ct. 2247-2263, 33 L.Ed.2d 11 (1972) (refusing to

pierce veil of union political fund despite evidence of control

and domination, in view of compliance with formal Statutory

requirements).

” Comment, Corporate Officer Liability for Hazardous Waste

Disposal: What Are the Consequences?, 38 Mercer L.Rev. 677, 679

(1987).

App. 21

Inc., 849 F.2d 1568, 1572 (5th Cir.1988), this court will not

read into the statute a provision disregarding decades of

corporate law. The court’s conclusion is buttressed by the

fact that Congress has, in the past, specified that share-

holders or controlling parties are to be held responsible

for the acts or debts of a valid corporation. See, e.g.,

Depository Institution Management Interlocks Act, 12

U.S.C. §§ 8201-3207; LR.C. § 1239(b)(2), (3) (1976); Fair

Labor Standards Act § 3(r), 29 US. § 203(r); and ERISA

§ 4001(b), 29 U.S.C. § 1301(b)(1); see also, 16 C.ER. § 15.482

(1981). Absent a similar provision in CERCLA, this court

finds no direct liability against James Company.

THE RULE OF DECISION

It is undisputed that federal law governs in actions

arising under nationwide federal programs. United States

v. Kimbell Foods, Inc., 440 U.S. 715, 726, 99 S.Ct. 1448, 1457,

59 L.Ed.2d 711 (1979). The question is whether state law

Should be adopted as the rule of decision or whether

federal common law should control. As the Supreme

Court has noted:

That the statutes authorizing these federal lend-

ing programs do not Specify the appropriate

rule of decision in no way limits the reach of

federal law. It is precisely when Congress has

not spoken “in an area comprising issues sub-

Stantially related to an established program of

government operation, [citation omitted,] that

Clearfield [Trust Company v. United States, 318

U.S. 363, 367, 63 S.Ct. 573, 575, 87 L.Ed. 838

(1943)] directs federal courts to fill the inter-

Stices of federal legislation according to their

own standards.”

App. 22

440 U.S. at 727, 99 S.Ct. at 1458, quoting from Mishkin, The

Variousness of “Federal Law”. Competence and Discretion and

the Choice of National and State Rules for Decision, 105

U.Pa.L.Rev. 797, 800 (1957). The normal course of analysis

would require this court to apply the test set forth in

United State v. Kimbell Foods, Inc., supra, as explained by

Georgia Power Company v. Sanders, 617 F.2d 1112 (5th

Cir.1980) (en banc), cert. denied, 450 U.S. 936, 101 S.Ct.

1403, 67 L.Ed.2d 372 (1981). This inquiry, however, is

unnecessary because the Fifth Circuit has held:

[W]e find no need to determine whether a uni-

form federal alter ego rule is required, since the

federal and state alter ego tests are essentially

the same. Our non-diversity alter ego cases have

rarely stated whether they were applying a fed-

eral or state standard, and have cited federal

and state cases interchangably.

United States v. Jon-T Chemicals, Inc. 768 F.2d 685, 690 n.6

(5th Cir.1985), cert. denied, 475 U.S. 1014, 106 S.Ct. 1194, 89

L.Ed.2d 309 (1986) (citations omitted)8.

The Fifth Circuit in Jon-T Chemicals then proceeded to

set forth general standards of piercing the corporate veil

that have evolved in this circuit. In Krivo Industrial Supply

Company v. National Distillers & Chemical Corp., 483 F.2d

1098, 1102 (5th Cir.1973), the Fifth Circuit noted: “[o]ne of

8 For a view that state Alter ego, as opposed to federal

common law, will conflict with the purposes of CERCLA, see,

Note, Liability of Parent Corporations for Hazardous Waste

Cleanup and Damages, 99 Harv.L.Rev. 986 (1986). Though the

Court in Jon-T was faced with Texas law, the undersigned is

satisfied that the principles utilized in this opinion would

control whether Louisiana or federal common law governs. See,

infra, at 232-33.

Ee |

|

App. 23

the most difficult applications of the rule permitting the

corporate form to be disregarded arises when one corpo-

ration is sought to be held liable for the debts of another

corporation.” Unless the parent corporation expressly or

impliedly assumes responsibility for the debts of the sub-

Sidiary. Liability will attach only when the parent “mis-

uses that corporation by treating it, and by using it, as a

mere business conduit for the Purposes of the dominant

corporation.” Id. Two elements are held to be essential:

First, the dominant corporation must have con-

trolled the subservient corporation, and second,

the dominant corporation must have prox-

imately caused plaintiff harm through misuse of

this control.

Id. at 1103, citing, inter alia, Berger v. Columbia Broadcasting

System, Inc., 453 F.2d 991 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 409 US.

848, 93 S.Ct. 54, 34 L.Ed.2d 89 (1972). The Court further

held:

The control required for liability ... amounts to

total domination of the subservient corporation,

to the extent that the subservient corporation

manifests nc separate corporate interests of its

own and functions solely to achieve the pur-

poses of the dominant corporation.

Krivo, 483 F.2d at 1106. In so holding, the Fifth Circuit

adopted the recommendation of Professor Fletcher:

The control necessary to invoke what is some-

times called the ‘instrumentality rule’ is not

more majority or complete stock control but

such domination of finances, policies and prac-

tices that the controlled corporation has, so to

speak, no separate mind, will or existence of its

own and is but a business conduit for its princi-

pal.

Id. quoting from 1 W. Fletcher, Cyclopedia of the La of Private

Corporations § 43 (Perm. ed. rev. 1963). See also, John-T

Chemicals, 768 F.2d at 691; and Baker v. Raymond Interna-

tional, Inc., 656 F.23d (sic) 173, 180 (5th Cir.1981). In

determining whether a parent corporation has exercised

the requisite degree of control over a subsidiary to pierce

the corporate veil, the Fifth Circuit has developed a laun-

App. 24

dry list of factors. These included whether:

(1)

(2)

(3)

(4)

(5)

(6)

(7)

(8)

(9)

(10)

(11)

(12)

:

the parent and the subsidiary have com-

mon stock ownership;

the parent and the subsidiary have com-

mon directors or officers;

the parent and the subsidiary have com-

mon business departments;

the parent and the subsidiary file consoli-

dated financial statements and tax returns;

the parent finances the subsidiary;

the parent caused the incorporation of the

subsidiary;

the subsidiary operates with grossly inade-

quate capital;

the parent pays the salaries and other

expenses of the subsidiary;

the subsidiary receives no business except

that given to it by the parent;

the parent uses the subsidiary’s property

as its Own;

the daily operations of the two corpora-

tions are not kept separate; and

the subsidiary does not observe the basic

corporation formalities, such as keeping

App. 25

separate books and records and holding

shareholders and board meetings.

Jon-T Chemieals, 768 F.2d at 691-92 (citations omitted).

Resolution of the alter ego issues is “heavily fact-specific”

and requires an evaluation of the totality of the aforemen-

tioned factors. Id. at 694.

THE FACTS

This dispute is over the materiality of facts, not their

existence. Lincoln Creosoting Company, Inc. (hereinafter

“Lincoln”) was incorporated in the State of Louisiana on

December 4, 1935. The idea to form Lincoln came from

Messrs. Tooke and Hayes, who approached Mr. T.L.

James. Mr. James paid $20,110 for 120 shares of voting

common stock of Lincoln and 200 shares of non-voting

preferred stock. C.A. Tooke and J.R. Hayes received 40

Shares each of the voting common stock of Lincoln for a

total of 40 per cent of the Lincoln stock. All outstanding

stock certificates, however, were accompanied by

endorsements back to James Company. The endorsements

of Tooke and Hayes were to the effect that they have

endorsed the stock to T.L. James “where it shall remain

until such time as their earnings from dividends on the

stock shall have repaid the par value of the stock.”9 Since

° This is evidenced by a letter from J.C. Love Jr. of T.L.

James to the vice president of the National Surety Corporation

dated May 25, 1948. The letter g0es on to state: “While actually

T.L. James & Company only owns 60 per cent of the capital

Stock, they do, as of this time, control the full 100 per cent and

will continue to do so until such time as dividends may have

repaid all the original value of 40 per cent owned by the

operators.” Joslyn Exhibit 8.

App. 26

Lincoln never paid any common stock dividends, James

Company had control over 100 per cent of Lincoln’s

stock.

Lincoln’s first board of directors consisted of seven

members: Mr. T.L. James, Mrs. T.L. James Jr., Mr. G.W.

James, Mr. Floyd B. James, Mr. C.A. Tooke, Mr. J.R. Hayes

and Mr. V.A. Davidson. Excluding Messrs. Tooke and

Hayes, all were officers, directors and/or shareholders of

T.L. James & Company. At the first meeting of the Lincoln

Board of Directors, Mr. Tooke, who was vice president of

Lincoln, was designated as general manager with full

power and discretion to conduct the corporation’s affairs.

The property at issue in this suit was purchased in

Lincoln’s name on December 17, 1935. At least since 1936,

Lincoln had its own bank account at the Commercial

National Bank in Shreveport. Checks were signed jointly

by Messrs. Tooke and Hayes. From its inception. Lincoln

frequently and periodically held separate meetings of the

directors and shareholders. At the annual shareholders

meetings, Mr. Tooke was responsible for making the

report of the preceding year and outlining policy for the

coming year.

Mr. T.L. James died in July of 1944. On September 11,

1944, the Lincoln directors met and chose Mr. G. William

James as the successor-president of Lincoln. Mr. G. Wil-

liam James served as president of Lincoln from 1944

through 1950.

In 1943 and 1944, Lincoln lost money. In the summer

or fall of 1944, Mr. G.W. James approached J.E. Lacy

concerning employment with Lincoln. James offered Lacy

$1,000 a month for three months to “go over there [to

App. 27

Lincoln] and see what was the matter with this plant,

why it wasn’t making any money.”!° Lacy accepted the

job and worked for three weeks. Lacy surmised that the

problem at Lincoln was an internal fight between Messrs.

Tooke and Hayes. According to Lacy, “Hayes’ ambition

was to get out and get a plant of his own. So he was not

doing the things he should be doing, and that left Tooke

with the inability to make the plant operate properly.”™!

Subsequent thereto, Lacy was employed by Lincoln.

This came about after G.W. James bought out Hayes’

interest. Lacy was placed in charge of production. Lacy,

however, was only on Lincoln’s payroll and not that of

T.L. James & Company. At a shareholders meeting on

March 13, 1945, a resolution was passed thanking Hayes

for his service to Lincoln and noting that Hayes was “the

originator of the ideas which developed Lincoln.”12 At

the same meeting. G.W. James was reelected president

and Tooke was reelected vice president. V.A. Davidson

was elected secretary replacing Mr. Hayes.

At a directors meeting on October 8, 1945, a new

resolution was passed pursuant to which Messrs. Tooke,

Lacy and Plummer were authorized to sign checks on

behalf of Lincoln.

At a special shareholders meeting on March 3, 1947,

the number of directors was increased to eight. Four of

these were Lincoln employees and four were affiliated

1° Deposition of Lacy at 15, Joslyn Exhibit 15.

1 Td. at 16.

12 See Attachment “C” to TLL. James’ Statement of Undis-

puted Facts as 67.

App. 28

with James Company. The four Lincoln employees were

Tooke, Freeman, Lacy and Plummer.

A special board meeting was held on December 29,

1947, at which time it was agreed that due to rather

substantial obligations of Lincoln, it would not be advis-

able to consider any common stock dividends on account

of the 1947 earnings. Upon the motion of J.C. Love,

however, it was agreed that $20,000 be presented to Cen-

tenary College toward the T.L. James Memorial Fund.

At the regular annual meeting of stockholders on

March 9, 1948, Tooke reported that the “future of the

treating business is rather a vague picture.”'!3 The vague-

ness was due to the declining demand for creosoted

products as the result of consumers’ inability to secure

wire and transformers. In addition, the creation of new

creosoting plants was noted to have caused the supply of

creosoted items to be unreasonably large. Despite this,

Tooke stated his belief that the 1948 operations would be

profitable. G.W. James commented at this meeting that he

felt “the management of the creosoting business was to

be commended for assuming such a logical attitude with

reference to the forthcoming problems.” 14

At a special directors meeting held on December 16,

1949, a resolution was passed granting authority to any

two among C.A. Tooke (vice president), H.R. Freeman

(director) and W.W. Colbert (purchasing agent), to make

13 Td. at 84.

14 Id. at 85.

|

App. 29

withdrawals from Lincoln’s corporate account at Com-

mercial National Bank in Shreveport. This resolution was

approved by G.W. James and Mr. Davidson.

Mr. Tooke died on May 4, 1950. As a result, a special

meeting of Lincoln’s Board of Directors was held on May

15, 1950. G.W. James stated that he “felt very keenly the

loss of not only the sincere friendship, but the keen

business judgment of C.A. Tooke.”15 Mr. James further

stated that the purpose of the meeting was to try to

decide what course should be followed without the lead-

ership of Mr. Tooke. James stated that: “As everyone

knew, Lincoln Creosoting Company had originally been

organized through the efforts of Mr. Tooke and that it had

been the attitude of those in Ruston that it was Mr.

Tooke’s enterprise and had been since it was first orga-

nized.” Without the leadership of Mr. Tooke, it was G.W.

James’ opinion and the opinion of those in Ruston that

the business should be sold. It was agreed at the meeting

that every effort should immediately be made to sell

Lincoln. In the event that a purchaser could not be

secured, it was agreed that plans would be made for an

orderly liquidation. Since Mr. Lacy was most familiar

with the general management of the business, it was

agreed that he would assume the position formerly held

by Mr. Tooke. It was then approved that Lacy’s name

would be added to the list of names of any two required

signatures to withdraw funds from Lincoln’s account.

Floyd B. James stated that, “it was his Opinion and that of

the members he had spoken with that the corporation

was indebted to Mr. Tooke for the development of the

15 Id. at 98.

App. 30

corporation from its infancy to its present status and that

in view of these facts he moved that the corporation pay

to Mrs. Tooke, the widow of C.A. Tooke, his salary for a

period of twelve months... . “16

A special meeting of stockholders was held on July

20, 1950 for the purpose of considering the sale of Lin-

coln’s principal assets. Mr. Lacy outlined a proposition to

purchase Lincoln that had been made by Joslyn Manufac-

turing & Supply Company. After a general discussion of

the proposal, a resolution was introduced by Mr. Plum-

mer which authorized G.W. James to execute a memoran-

dum agreement with Joslyn Manufacturing & Supply

Company for the sale of Lincoln’s physical plant and real

estate, the entire black stock inventory, the entire white

stock inventory, the entire stock of creosote oil and the

entire account of usable transient freight. This resolution

was unanimously adopted by the Board of Directors on

July 20, 1950.

The shareholders voted on December 27, 1950 to

repurchase as treasury stock 41 shares of common stock

held by Messrs. Lacy, Freeman and Plummer, and the

Tooke heirs. The shareholders also agreed that all 200

shares of preferred stock held by James Company, which

were the original capitalization of Lincoln, should be re-

deemed at par value of $100 a share plus accrued divi-

dends to the next dividend date.

At the March 20, 1951 annual meeting of the Board of

Directors, Lacy advised that the transfer of Lincoln's

properties to Joslyn Manufacturing Company was nearly

16 Id. at 99.

App. 31

complete and that all miscellaneous items of charge and

credit had been settled. The only matter remaining to

consummate the sale was the payment of the monthly

amount, as provided for in the memorandum agreement.

Mr. Lacy then summarized outstanding business matters

to be resolved and stated that, in his estimation, the entire

affairs of the creosoting company should be completed

well in advance of the close of the 1951 calendar year. The

same eight directors who had served since 1947 were

reelected, with the exception of C.A. Tooke Jr., who was

elected to replace the late C.A. Tooke.

On November 26, 1951, the shareholders of TL.

James & Company, Inc. held a special meeting “to con-

sider the desirability . . . of mak[ing] a contribution or

donation from T.L. James & Company, Inc. to Centenary

College of Louisiana . . . consisting of all shares of stock

of Lincoln Creosoting Company, Inc. presently owned”

by James Company.'? A resolution was unanimously

passed authorizing this donation. The James Company

board of Directors approved this resolution on December

10, 1951.

On December 19, 1952, a Certificate of Dissolution

was signed dissolving Lincoln. According to the Certifi-

cate, “all debts, obligations and liabilities of this corpora-

tion have been paid and discharged,” that “there are no

suits pending against this corporation in any Court,” and

that the assets have been distributed to the shareholders

17 See, Attachment “D” at 195 to TLL. James’ Statement of

Undisputed Facts.

App. 32

“in accordance with their respective rights and inter-

ests.” 16

ANALYSIS OF LAW AND FACTS

Joslyn urges that six of the twelve factors cited in Jon-

T Chemicals, supra, support the conclusion that the corpo-

rate veil should be pierced. Specifically, Joslyn points out

that the parent and subsidiary have common stock own-

ership as well as common directors. It is further urged by

Joslyn that the positions held by G.W. James and Mr.

Davidson constituted direct control over Lincoln's

finances.!9 These facts are undoubtedly true and material:

Nevertheless, our cases are clear that 100 per

cent ownership and identity of directors and

8 Attachment “A” to T.L. James’ Statement of Undisputed

Facts.

19 In support of this contention, Joslyn refers to two letters

from G.W. James and V.A. Davidson to their accountant. The

letters were written in regard to an IRS audit concerning these

individuals’ salaries from Lincoln. Contained in the letters are

statements that these directors were consistently involved in

the financial affairs of Lincoln, and that Mr. Davidson served

as a contact between plant personnel and G.W. James. Though

these letters evidence minimal control in financial affairs, they

bear no weight in determining control over the nuts and bolts

of Lincoln’s operations and the day-to-day affairs. It must be

remembered that the corporate veil will not be pierced unless

the parent’s control “amounts to total domination of the sub-

servient corporation, to the extent that the subservient corpo-

ration manifests no separate corporate interest of its own and

functions solely to achieve the purposes of the dominant cor-

poration. Krivo, 483 F.2d at 1106. “Merely taking an active part

in the management of the debtor corporation does not auto-

matically constitute control... .” Id. at 1105.

App. 33

officers are, even together, an insufficient basis

for applying the alter ego theory to pierce the

corporate veil. [Citing Nelson v. International

Paint Company, 734 F.2d 1084, 1092 (5th Cir.1984)

and Miles v. AT & T, 703 F.2d 193, 195 (5th

Cir.1983).] Instead, we maintain the fiction that

an officer or director of both corporations can

change hats and represent the two corporations

separately, despite their common ownership.

Jon-T Chemicals, 768 F.2d at 691; see also, Baker, 656 F.2d at

180 (“Ownership of a controlling interest in a corporation

entitles the controlling shareholder to exercise the normal

incidence of stock ownership . . . without forfeiting the

protection of limited liability.”); and Berger, 453 F.2d at

994 (same).

Joslyn also points out that James Company made

substantial loans to Lincoln, including the initial capital-

ization. The uncontroverted record establishes, however,

that these loans were repaid. In any event, “the general

rule is that the mere loan of money by one corporation to

another does not automatically make the lender liable for

the acts and omissions of the borrower.” Krivo, 483 F.2d at

1104, citing Peterson v. Chicago, Rock Island and Pacific

Company, 205 U.S. 364, 27 S.Ct. 513, 51 L.Ed. 841 (1907).

Joslyn also asserts that the James Company hired and

fired Lincoln’s executive officers. This allegation is based

upon the hiring of Lacy and the resignation of Hayes.

Though this is minimally indicative of control, it can

hardly be said to rise to the level justifying disregard of

the corporate form. Indeed, “to justify a judicial deroga-

tion of the separateness of a corporate creature, an

aggrieved party must prove something more than... the

parent’s use of its power as an incident of its stock

App. 34

ownership to elect officers and directors of the subsid-

iary.” Berger, 453 F.2d at 994.

Joslyn also takes issue with the fact that T.L. James

Sr., G.W. James and V.A. Davidson worked out of James

Company’s corporate offices. Lincoln neither had a lease

nor paid rent for the use of these offices. Once again, this

is only marginally relevant. These individuals were offi-

cers of both corporations. Clearly, they had to work

somewhere. That they chose to work out of James Com-

pany’s corporate offices simply is not sufficient to disre-

gard the separate corporate structures.

The lengthy factual account set forth above estab-

lishes beyond doubt that Lincoln strictly adhered to basic

corporate formalities by keeping its own books and

records and frequently and periodically holding share-

holder and director meetings. The daily operations of

Lincoln and James Company were kept separate. The

driving forces behind Lincoln were Messrs. Hayes and

Tooke, neither of whom was employed by James Com-

pany. Lincoln owned its own property where the physical

plant was situated. This property was not utilized for the

business of James Company. None of Lincoln’s employees

were on the payroll of James Company. Though James

Company provided capital for Linco!n’s initial incorpora-

tion, it was the effort and initiative of Messrs. Tooke and

Hayes that resulted in the formulation of Lincoln. Lincoln

filed separate income tax returns.

In addition to these compelling facts, it should also

be noted that Lincoln paid its own bills and made

arrangements for employee benefits such as sick Pay,

retirement and profit sharing. Lincoln Creosoting’s

App. 35

invoices directed that payment be made to Lincoln and

not to James Company.

SUMMARY JUDGMENT STANDARDS

The purpose of summary judgment is to isolate and

dispose of factually unsupported claims or defenses in

the spirit of the rule requiring a just, speedy and inexpen-

sive determination of every action. Celotex Corp. v. Catrett,

477 U.S. 317, 106 S.Ct. 2548, 2555, 91 L.Ed.2d 265 (1986);

Meyers v. M/V Eugenio C, 842 F.2d 815, 816-17 (5th

Cir.1988). Indeed, “summary judgment procedure is

properly regarded not as a disfavored procedural short-

cut, but rather as an integral part of the Federal Rules as a

whole. ...” Celotex, 106 S.Ct. at 2555, citing Fed.R.Civ.P. 1

and Schwarzer, Summary Judgment Under the Federal Rules:

Defining Genuine Issues of Material Fact, 99 F.R.D. 465

(1984).

A party seeking summary judgment always bears the

initial burden of informing the district court of the basis

for its motion, and identifying those portions of the

record which it believes demonstrate the absence of a

genuine issue of material fact. Celotex, 106 S.Ct. at 2553. A

defendant moving for summary judgment may rest on

the absence of evidence to support an essential element of

the plaintiff’s case. Celotex, 106 S.Ct. at 2554; International

Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers, ALF-CIO,

Lodge No. 2504 v. Intercontinental Manufacturing Company,

Inc., 812 F.2d 219, 222 (5th Cir.1987) Once this burden has

been established, the burden shifts to the nonmoving

party to demonstrate a genuine issue of material fact.

Matsushita Electric Industrial Company v. Zenith Radio

App. 36

Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 106 S.Ct. 1348, 1355-56, 89 L.Ed.2d 538

(1986). If the evidence is merely colorable or not signifi-

cantly probative, summary judgment may be granted.

Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 106 S.Ct. 2505,

2511, 91 L.Ed.2d 202 (1986). In fact, the nonmoving party

has an affirmative duty to come forth with “significant

probative evidence demonstrating the existence of a tri-

able issue of fact.” Southmark Properties v. Charles House

Corp., 742 F.2d 862, 877 (5th Cir.1984).

The summary judgment standard has been said to

mirror that of Fed.R.Civ.P. 41(b) for involuntary dismissal

in nonjury cases. Professional Managers v. Fawer, Brian

Hardy & Zatzkis, 799 F.2d 218, 223 (Sth Cir.1986). In this

respect, Judge Rubin has noted:

If the decision is to be reached by the court, and

there are no issues of witness credibility, the

court may conclude on the basis of the affi-

davits, depositions, and stipulations before it,

that there are no genuine issues of material fact,

even though decision may depend on inferences

to be drawn from what has been in controverti-

bly proved . . . even if that conclusion is deemed

‘factual’ or involves a ‘mixed question of law

and fact.’ A trial on the merits would reveal no

additional data. Hearing and viewing the wit-

nesses subject to cross-examination would not

aid the determination if there are neither issues

of credibility nor controversies with respect to

the substance of the proposed testimony. The

judge, as trier of fact, is in a position to and

ought to draw his inferences without resort to

the expenses of trial.

Nunez v. Superior Oil Company, 572 F.2d 1119, 1123-24 (Sth

Cir.1978).

App. 37

The court is satisfied that James Company fulfilled its

intitial burden by first proving that liability will attach only if

the corporate veil is pierced and then by establishing,

through competent proof, facts showing that under the gov-

erning substantive law the corporate form should not be

disregarded. Joslyn’s rebutting facts and arguments, even

considered in their totality, simply do not constitute signifi-

cant probative evidence demonstrating a triable issue of fact.

This is especially true in this nonjury case where substantial

discovery has been conducted. This court was particularly

liberal in affording the parties ample opportunity to brief the

legal issues and provide supporting documentation. Joslyn

has not made the court aware of any uncompleted discovery

which would be relevant toward the issue of derivative

liability. Stated differently, Joslyn has not come forward with

proof demonstrating a triable issue of fact as to whether the

James Company exercised total domination over Lincoln to

the extent that Lincoln manifested no separate corporate

interest of its own and functioned solely to achieve the

purposes of James Company. Jon-f Chemicals, 768 F.2d at 691;

Krivo, 483 F.2d at 1106. There is simply no proof that James

Company had complete domination of finances, policies and

Practices to cause Lincoln to be not a separate business entity

but a mere conduit of James Company. Id.

Based on the foregoing, the court concludes that

summary judgment be GRANTED in favor of T.L. James

& Company, and that all claims against it be DISMISSED

WITH PREJUDICE.?° Assuming, without deciding, that

20 Though this court declined to follow the analysis uti-

lized by the cases cited in footnote 4, supra, it is noteworthy

(Continued on following page)

iii

App. 38

the LEQA is constitutional and Joslyn has satisfied pre-

requisites to filing an action, the foregoing analysis estab-

lishes that Joslyn cannot pierce the corporate veil under

Louisiana law, which utilizes a similar if not more strin-

gent rule than that applied in this opinion. See, generally,

GRW Engineers, Inc. v. Elam, 504 So.2d 117, 120 (La.App.

2d Cir.1987), writ denied, 506 So.2d 1230 (La.1987); Harris

v. Best of America, Inc., 466 So.2d 1309, 1315 (La.App. 1st

Cir.1985), writ denied, 470 So.2d 121 (La.1985); Kingsman

Enterprises, Inc. v. Bakersfield Electric Company, Inc., 339

So.2d 1280, 1282 (La.App. 1st Cir. 1976); Menard v. Associ-

ated Royal Crown Bottling Company, 249 So.2d 363, 364-65

(La.App. 4th Cir.1971). Accordingly, summary judgment

must be GRANTED in favor of T.L. James & Company

with respect to claims against it under LEQA.

(Continued from previous page)

that this court would have likely reached the same result under

applicable corporate law at least in Conservation Chemical, Mot-

tolo and Shore Realty. These cases involved factual situations

where the personal participation in the illegal disposal of haz-

ardous waste by the corporate officers was significant. As one

commentator has noted, these “courts have avoided the com-

mon law rule of limited liability by either explicitly or implic-

itly applying a generally recognized exception; a corporate

officer is liable for the wrongful acts of a corporation when he

personally participates in the wrongful conduct.” Comment, 38

Mercer L.Rev. at 685. If T.L., James & Company and its officers

and directors had been actively involved in the day-to-day

operations of Lincoln, including the disposal of hazardous

waste, then, arguably, liability would attach. See, generally,

Shingleton v. Armor Velvet Corp., 621 F.2d 180 (Sth Cir.1980);

L.C.L. Theatres, Inc. v. Columbia Pictures Industries, Inc., 619 F.2d

455 (5th Cir.1980); Tillman v. Wheaton-Haven recreation Associa-

tions, Inc., 517 F.2d 1141 (5th Cir.1975).

|

App. 39

An order consistent with the terms of this memoran-

dum ruling shall issue herewith.

App. 40

§ 9607. Liability

(a) Covered persons; scope; recoverable costs and dam-

ages; interest rate; “comparable maturity” date

Notwithstanding any other provision or rule of law,

and subject only to the défenses set forth in subsection (b)

of this section - :

(1) the owner and operator of a vessel or a

facility,

(2) any person who at the time of disposal

of any hazardous substance owned or operated

any facility at which such hazardous substances

were disposed of,

(3) any person who by contract, agree-

ment, or otherwise arranged for disposal or

treatment, or arranged with a transporter for

transport for disposal or treatment, of hazard-

ous substances owned or possessed by such per-

son, by any other party or entity, at any facility

or incineration vessel owned or operated by

another party or entity and containing such haz-

ardous substances, and

(4) any person who accepts or accepted

any hazardous substances for transport to dis-

posal or treatment facilities, incineration vessels

or site selected by such person, from which

there is a release, or a threatened release which

causes the incurrence of response costs, of a

hazardous substance, shall be liable for -

(A) all costs of removal or vemedial

action incurred by the United States Gov-

ernment or a State or an Indian tribe not

inconsistent with the national contingency

plan;

App. 41

(B) any other necessary costs of

response incurred by any other person con-

sistent with the national contingency plan;

(C) damages for injury to, destruction

of, or loss of natural resources, including

the reasonable costs of assessing such

injury, destruction, or loss resulting from

such a release; and

(D) the costs of any health assessment

or health effects study carried out under

section 9604(i) of this title.

The amounts recoverable in an action under this section

shall include interest on the amounts recoverable under

subparagraphs (A) through (D). Such interest shall accrue

from the later of (i) the date payment of a specified

amount is demanded in writing, or (ii) the date of the

expenditure concerned. The rate of interest on the out-

standing unpaid balance of the amounts recoverable

under this section shall be the same rate as is specified for

interest on investments of the Hazardous Substance

Superfund established under subchapter A of chapter 98

of Title 26. For purposes of applying such amendments to

interest under this subsection, the term ‘comparable

maturity” shall be determined with reference to the date

on which interest accruing under this subsection com-

mences.

42 § 9601

(20)(A) The term “owner or operator” means (i) in

the case of a vessel, any person owning, operating, or

chartering by demise, such vessel, (ii) in the case of an

onshore facility or an offshore facility, any person owning

or operating such facility, and (iii) in the case of any

facility, title or control of which was conveyed due to

App. 42

bankruptcy, foreclosure, tax delinquency, abandonment,

or similar means to a unit of State or local government,

any person who owned, operated or otherwise controlled

activities at such facility immediately beforehand. Such

term does not include a person, who, without participat-

ing in the management of a vessel or facility, holds indi-

cia of ownership primarily to protect his security interest

in the vessel or facility.

(B) In the case of a hazardous substance which has

been accepted for transportation by a common or contract

carrier and except as provided in section 9607(a)(3) or (4)

of this title, (i) the term “owner or operator” shall mean

such common carrier or other bona fide for hire carrier

acting as an independent contractor during such trans-

portation, (ii) the shipper of such hazardous substance

Shall not be considered to have caused or contributed to

any release during such transportation which resulted

solely from circumstances or conditions beyond his con-

trol.

(C) In the case of a hazardous substance which has

been delivered by a common or contract carrier to a

disposal or treatment facility and except as provided in

section 9607(a)(3) or (4) of this title (i) the term “owner or

operator” shall not include such common or contract

carrier, and (ii) such common or contract carrier shall not

be considered to have caused or contributed to any

release at such disposal or treatment facility resulting

from circumstances or conditions beyond its control.

(D) The term “owner or operator” does not include

a unit of State or local government which acquired own-

ership or control involuntarily through bankruptcy, tax

App. 43

delinquency, abandonment, or other circumstances in

which the government involuntarily acquires title by vir-

tue of its function as sovereign.

The exclusion provided under this paragraph shall not

apply to any State or local government which has caused

or contributed to the release or threatened release of a

hazardous substance from the facility, and such a State or

local government shall be subject to the provisions of this

chapter in the same manner and to the same extent, both

procedurally and substantively, as any nongovernmental

entity, including liability under section 9607 of this title.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.