Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Foretich v. Lifetime Cable

Supreme Court brief1990

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

|, Supreme Court, U8,

90-35 {i Fired

| | || suk 9 tm

JOSEPN F. SPANIOL, UR,

CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

HILARY FORETICH,

Petitioner,

Vv.

LIFETIME CABLE and BRITISH BROADCASTING CORP.,

Respondents,

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

- NATHAN LEWIN

(Counsel of Record)

STEPHEN L. BRAGA

DOUGLAS F.. CURTIS

MILLER, CASSIDY, LARROCA

& LEWIN

2555 M Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20037

(202) 293-6400

Attorneys for Petitioner

WILSON - EPES PRINTING Co., Itic. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether a federal district court’s temporary restrain-

ing order, entered at the request of a child’s court-

appointed counsel, barring the broadcast on national tele-

vision of a surreptitiously filmed intimate private meet-

ing between the child and her mother was an unconstitu-

tional “prior restraint.”

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

GUBSLION PRESENTED ..........................cccccccccccccccccccs. i

BURR ED OE EPO BED «0... scan sacvascccccececceccecccecceccce iv

i cunucuenaeensnussbansenenccounes 1

sc csusmunniaasnaacacsennens oe 1

Ss snslinnuucncdasbbecicubevecascccues 1

1. Introduction ..................... An 1

sc sinanisinnndinnnunanannen 3

8. The Graphic Interview Session ....000 0... 3

4. The Tapes Are Provided ..........0.00000........ wore. ee 5

5. The Timing of the Broadcast........ . 6

Be I MII vccccnnxsscncccsesnsccees 6

7. Tee Deseries COURS TOOTING ................................ 6

i eee Eeeernee Gene © CONUIOP qu... 7

9. The Court of Appeals’ Action ... .............. eae 8

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT .................... 9

1. Not Every Order Affecting Future Expression

Is Presumptively Unconstitutional -....... BN a 9

2. Judicial Preservation of an Individual’s Right

to Privacy May Justify a Court Order Barring

a Television Broadcast .................................... 10

8. The Issue Is a Recurring One Which Is Not

Moot and the Court of Appeals’ Ruling Affects

the Ultimate Relief Available ....... Be eeiiedgelidesphallachas 13

SS RE <n Ai ERE we 14

aoe... |

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES: Page

Commonwealth v. Wiseman, 356 Mass. 251, 249

F_un retin ea OR IO ne ue ane 11

The Florida Star v. B.J.F., 109 S.Ct. 2603 (1989) .. 13

Honig v. Doe, 484 U.S. 305 (1988) 0.00. 14

Huskey v. National Broadcasting Co., 632 F. Supp.

I I I 11

In re King World Productions, Inc., 898 F.2d 56

UG ee et 11,12

Lewis v. Continental Bank Corp., 110 S. Ct. 1249

IRIN: codeatekihtdeidachiiactiiahs atc claan bees tics cadeeenaeaantanamendanes 14

Maryland v. Craig, 58 U.S.L.W. —— (June 27,

1990) (1990 U.S. LEXIS 3457) .......... a... 12

Meyer v. Grant, 486 U.S. 414 (1988) 14

Morgan v. Foretich, 528 A.2d 425 (D.C. App.

STI ‘nishccsediabicceucsdebeeeaaanacaeianibiiaianehaahabtitieldibiisbeslehisiaoiaciais 12

Morgan v. Foretich, 846 F.2d 941 (4th Cir. 1988) .. 3

Murphy v. Hunt, 455 U.S. 478 (1982) .....0.. 14

Near v. Minnesota, 283 U.S. 697 (19381) ........ 10

Nebraska Press Ass’n v. Stuart, 427 U.S. 539

IEE ee Ie aD NN eR, ee ae 10

New York Times Co. v. United States, 403 U.S.

I tee 10

Organization for a Better Austin v. Keefe, 402

ee 10

Smith v. Daily Mail Publishing Co., 443 U.S. 97

6 RRR Araneae ate RN neon aN nee aCe 13

Wiseman v. Massachusetts, 398 U.S. 960 (1970).... 11

OTHER AUTHORITIES:

Blasi, “Toward a Theory of Prior Restraint: The

Central Linkage,” 66 Minn. L. Rev. 11 (1981)... 9

Comment, “Indirect Gag Orders and the Doctrine

of Prior Restraint,” 44 U. Miami L. Rev. 165

RRR Sr Lee es eee INN de eo ee SA 10

Freund, “The Supreme Court and Civil Liberties,”

es tits SG MID IIE coco vaca ccacxtdcimaiakesneseceses 9

Jeffries, “Rethinking Prior Restraint,” 92 Yale L.

J. 409 (1983) 20.00. a lict abate edie ac anne eee 10

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Mayton, “Toward a Theory of First Amendment

Process: Injunctions of Speech, Subsequent Pun-

ishment, and the Costs of the Prior Restraint

Doctrine,” 67 Cornell L. Rev. 245 (1982) ...........

Murphy, “The Prior Restraint Doctrine in the Su-

reme Court: A Reevaluation,” 51 Notre Dame

Lawyer 898 (1976) ...... 5 slacosiueiididennhaliuamccahanmasioet

Redish, “The Proper Role of the Prior Restraint

Doctrine in First Amendment Theory,” 70 Va.

Be, Bea. GB CAGED annncccccccsncccccncesecsecsscscecenscescesenseens

Smith, “Prior Restraint: Original Intentions and

Modern Interpretations,” 28 William & Mary L.

in, GD CUD ececscencetnnccintceneneninennnnatanenensnsinnninsinn

Page

10

10

pn em

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

No. ——

HILARY FORETICH,

Petitioner,

v.

LIFETIME CABLE and BRITISH BROADCASTING CORP.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

OPINIONS BELOW

The per curiam order of the court of appeals issuing

a writ of mandamus (App. A, p. la) is not reported.

The temporary restraining order of the district court

(App. B, pp. 3a-4a) is not reported.

JURISDICTION

The order of the court of appeals issuing a writ of

mandamus was filed on April 6, 1990. The jurisdiction

of this Court rests on 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATEMENT

1. Introduction

Petitioner is Hilary Foretich, a 7-year-old child who

is the subject of an internationally publicized marital

2

dispute.’ This case concerns approximately four minutes

of a one-hour commercial film that was produced by the

British Broadcasting Company and that was aired by

Lifetime Cable to cable subscribers in the United States

on April 6, 7, 14 and 19, 1990. The sole issue is whether

Hilary, who was covertly filmed in a private session

with her mother when she was four years old, during

which she described sexual abuse by her father, is con-

stitutionally precluded frein obtaining an injunction pre-

venting the broadcast on television of the surreptitiously

taped private conversation she had with her mother.

The district court issued a narrowly drawn temporary

restraining order against broadcast of the film and set

the matter down for an evidentiary hearing on the is-

suance of a preliminary injunction. Approximately three

hours later, without hearing argument from the parties,

the court of appeals issued a writ of mandamus vacating

the temporary restraining order on the ground that it

“constitutes a prior restraint of the use of the video

footage of Hilary Foretich” (App. A, p. la). The court

1 See, e.g., “Charges of Parent Sex Abuse, and a Family Left in

Tatters,” N.Y. Times, Nov. 14, 1987, § 1, at 1, col. 5; “Mother Cites

Sex Abuse, Won’t Let Father See Child; Allegations Called ‘A Total

Lie’; She’s Jailed for Contempt in Custody Battle,” L.A. Times,

Dec. 20, 1987, § 1, at 2, col. 5; Mary McGrory, “When a Judge and

a Mother Collide in Court,” Newsday, Dec. 16, 1988, at 86; “Judge

Refuses to Release Mother Jailed for Hiding Her Daughter,” L.A.

Times, June 20, 1989, § 1, at 4, col. 1: “In the Best Interests of the

Child?”, The Boston Globe Magazine, July 16, 1989, at 16; “Bill to

Free Morgan Signed by President: Attorneys File for Release from

D.C. Jail,” Wash. Post, Sept. 24, 1989, at D1; “Girl in Custody Case

Emerges in New Zealand,” N.Y. Times, Feb. 24, 1990, § 1, at 9, col.

4; “Parents See Girl in Custody Fight,” N.Y. Times, March 19,

1990, § 1, at 16, col. 6; Suzanne Fields, “Doubts that Stalk Hilary’s

Sad Saga,” Wash. Times, March 1, 1990, at Fl; Mary McGrory,

“Hilary’s Appalling World,” Wash. Pest, March 4, 1990, at Cl.

See also M.A. Faber, “The Tormenting of Hilary,” Vanity Fair,

June 1990, at 120; C. Fremon, “The Real Elizabeth Morgan Story,”

Moxie, Feb. 1990, at 20; “Hiding Hilary,” Glamour, Nov. 1988,

at 248.

3

of appeals ruled that Hilary’s rights may only be “re-

dressed in legal actions that do not require a prior re-

straint in derogation of the First Amendment.” Jd. We

seek review by this Court because we believe the court

of appeals erred in concluding that the restraining order

against the public broadcast of the surreptitiously taped

private conversation violated the First Amendment.

2. Background

Hilary Foretich is the daughter of Dr. Eric A. Fore-

tich and Dr. Elizabeth Morgan. Her mother gained in-

ternational celebrity because of her refusal to produce

Hilary and make her available for court-ordered visita-

tions with her father. The mother alleged that the father

had sexually abused Hilary. The parents’ charges and

countercharges are recounted in Morgan v. Foretich, 846

F.2d 941 (4th Cir. 1988). After spending 25 months

in prison for civil contempt because of her refusal to

disclose Hilary’s whereabouts, Dr. Morgan was released

when Congress enacted Pub. L. No. 101-97 (1989).

3. The Graphic Interview Session

In December 1986, when Hilary was four years old,

her mother brought her to the office of Dr. Mary L.

Froning, a psychologist who had been assigned in Jan-

uary 1986 by the Chesapeake Institute to see Hilary in

therapy sessions. The Chesapeake Institute had been

selected by Dr. Morgan and was paid a fee by Dr. Mor-

gan for these sessions.

Hilary and her mother were taken to a room where

their session was photographed by a video camera. Hil-

ary was asked by a psychiatrist, in the presence of Dr.

Froning and her mother, to describe, by the use of dolls,

what her father had done to her. Hilary then stated

that she did not want to tell her story in the presence

of the psychiatrist and Dr. Froning. Both then left the

4 ‘

room, but the video camera continued to photograph the

session between Hilary and her mother.’

While using the dolls, Hilary described, in graphic

terms and with animated gestures, what her father had

done to her. On the film of this session in the respond-

ents’ one-hour film feature, the graphic conversation be-

tween Dr. Morgan and Hilary is also set forth in sub-

titles.?

2 The record in the district court does not discluse whether the

video equipment was visible, but Dr. Froning testified that the four-

year-old child had been told she would be filmed. App. C, p. 44a.

Dr. Froning’s testimony, which was presented at the hearing on the

request for a temporary restraining order, is set out in full at

pp. 37a-54a of Appendix C, which contains the unabridged tran-

script of proceedings before Judge Sporkin on April 6, 1990.

3 The text reads as follows:

HILARY: Make the Daddy doing ... to make the bad

things. Now take off...

DR. MORGAN: Okay, now you tell me you want me to take

the pants off, or do you want to take the pants off?

HILARY: Because the daddy took the pants so he could

poke the little child in the hiney.

Poke her . . . poke her in the hiney.

DR. MORGAN: Okay. And then we’ll pretend.

Now, when I say we’ll pretend we’re just going to pretend

that the dolls are doing it because it makes me a little unhappy

to really do that to the dolls.

So you tell me if that’s...

HILARY: Poke her like that.

DR. MORGAN: And then what else?

HILARY: Slaps her with his clothes off.

DR. MORGAN: Does he slap her with his hand?

HILARY: Yeah.

DR. MORGAN: And anything else?

HILARY: No.

DR. MORGAN: Does he slap her with his clothes on?

Should I put his clothes back on? Or does he slap her without

the clothes on?

* * * *

[Continued]

5

During the conversation with her mother, Hilary used

the dolls that were made available to her to show how

the individuals were positioned. Her voice—including in-

flections exhibiting exuberance, anger and excitement—

is clearly portrayed in the film, as are her bodily gyra-

tions during the narration.‘

4. The Tapes Are Provided

The BBC received the tapes for incorporation into its

film from Dr. Froning, who said she had been given

permission to provide the tapes by Dr. Morgan. The only

condition imposed by Dr. Froning on their use was that

Hilary’s face had to be obscured. Dr. Froning testified

3 [Continued]

HILARY: And Heather was sleeping, and then she got

poked, okay? Okay, she got poked. Daddy comes along and

pokes her.

DR. MORGAN: Show me what the other scary...

[Child slaps. !}

* * * *

HILARY: Writing right there.

DR. MORGAN: That’s what you wrote, and that’s what I

write okay?

HILARY: My daddy has a penis.

DR. MORGAN: Tell me where he puts it. Okay, what is

that?

HILARY: Mouth.

DR. MORGAN: Where else does he put it?

HILARY: [Points to her genitals. ]

DR. MORGAN: Okay, what do you call that?

HILARY: A hiney.

DR. MORGAN: Where else does he put it?

HILARY: In the ear.

4 A second portion of the film was taken in Dr. Morgan’s home by

a video camera. It shows Hilary crying loudly and wriggling in her

mother’s arms when a social worker comes to take her for a visita-

tion with her father. The crying continues for approximately one-

and-a-half minutes. In the district court, respondents voluntarily

agreed that they would not broadcast this portion of the film involv-

ing Hilary if they were restrained from broadcasting the sexual

abuse portion of the film. See App. C, p. 57a.

6

that the reason for this limitation was that Hilary was

still in hiding, and that she did not want her to be dis-

covered (App. C, p. 40a). Upon examination by Judge

Sporkin, Dr. Froning acknowledged that she had not se-

cured permission from Hilary’s court-appointed guardian

ad litem to provide the tapes to the BBC (App. C, pp.

5la-52a).

5. The Timing of the Broadcast

The Morgan-Foretich marital dispute was and con-

tinues to be a subject of substantial public interest. No

urgency was stated by respondents for broadcasting the

film Hilary in Hiding on the particular dates in April.

The respondents’ commercial arrangements with televi-

sion stations apparently controlled the timing of the

broadcast.

6. The Lawsuit

Dr. Foretich initiated this action on April 5, 1990,

seeking temporary and permanent relief on his own be-

half and on Hilary’s against any “airing, licensing or

distribution” ov the film Hilary in Hiding so long as it

contains the above segments of Hilary on camera. The

initial Complaint appears as Appendix D, pp. 59a-63a.

Joining the complaint as one of counsel for the plaintiffs

was Linda P. Holman, Esq., who had been appointed by

the Superior Court of the District of Columbia as guar-

dian ad litem for Hilary.

The complaint stated that Ms. Holman objected to the

airing of the tape of the therapeutic session as well as

the tape of Hilary’s reaction to the arrival of the court-

appointed social worker. She stated that “[t]he thera-

peutic tape is being broadcast in violation of Hilary’s

doctor-patient privilege, as I have not waived her right

to confidentiality” (App. D, p. 62a).

7. The District Court Hearing

The case came on for hearing on the plaintiffs’ re-

quest for a temporary restraining order before District

ae eed A ee a wt mi dc erent nate

7

Judge Stanley Sporkin on the morning of Friday, April 6,

1990. After hearing from counsel for Dr. Foretich and

for the respondents, Judge Sporkin concluded that Hilary

required separate representation. He appointed Nathan

Lewin, Esq., undersigned counsel, to represent Hilary on

a pro bono basis. App. C, p. 20a; App. E, p. 64a.

Undersigned counsel appeared at a reconvened hearing

called for 4:00 p.m. on April 6. Counsel argued that the

challenged portions of the film violated Hilary’s rights

of privacy and that the television broadcast would do

substantial present and future harm to Hilary. Counsel

noted that the availability of home recording devices

made it possible for total strangers to retain permanent

records of Hilary’s most intimate conversations with her

mother regarding a subject that is likely to be highly

distasteful and embarrassing during her entire life.

Each broadcast of this film increases the accessibility of

this filmed episode and the potential intrusion of total

strangers into Hilary’s private affairs, causing her ir-

reparable harm. App. C, pp. 23a-24a.

Counsel also cited to the district court judicial prece-

dent and other authority for issuing an injunctive order

to prevent such private wrongs even if the matter en-

joined might otherwise be protected by the free speech

and free press guarantees of the First Amendment. And

the court took the testimony of Dr. Froning, which was

offered by the respondents. On cross-examination, Dr.

Froning acknowledged that it is ordinarily harmful to a

child to broadcast publicly the child’s account of sexual

abuse. In Dr. Froning’s opinion, publication was justi-

fied in this case only because Hilary had to be protected

from further sexual abuse (App. C, pp. 45a-50a).

8. The District Court’s Order

At the conclusion of the hearing, Judge Sporkin issued

an order that temporarily restrained the defendants

8

from broadcasting “‘the scenes of the program, Hilary

in Hiding, involving the minor’s description of alleged

sexual abuse.” Appendix B, pp. 3a-4a. The order was

entered “in view of the irreparable harm that would be

caused to the minor Hilary Foretich if the broadcast of

scenes involving her description of alleged sexual abuse

were shown as planned” (/d., p. 3a). The judge sched-

uled a preliminary injunction hearing for April 17,

1990, at which time he indicated that he wished to hear

more detailed testimony concerning the circumstances

under which the videotape of Hilary had been made

available to the BBC and the potential harms to Hilary

from its showing.

9. The Court of Appeals’ Action

Without hearing from either Dr. Foretich’s lawyer or

Hilary’s appointed counsel, the court of appeals at 8:45

p.m. issued a writ of mandamus vacating the temporary

restraining order. The court relied entirely on the legal

proposition that the order “constitutes a prior restraint

on the use of the video footage of Hilary Foretich” and

that because there is “‘a heavy presumption against its

constitutional validity’”’ such a “ ‘prior restraint’ ” must

be vacated. The court of appeals concluded that Hilary’s

only remedy is “in legal actions that do not require a

prior restraint in derogation of the First Amendment”

(Appendix A, p. la). On April 11, 1990, Chief Justice

Rehnquist denied petitioner’s application to vacate the

writ of mandamus and reinstate the temporary restrain-

ing order.

9

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The court of appeals summarily vacated the district

court’s restraining order in the mistaken belief that

every court order banning future expression is a pre-

sumptively unconstitutional “prior restraint.” In fact,

the order issued by the district court presented few, if

any, of the evils of advance censorship that have gen-

erated the constitutional “prior restraint” doctrine. This

Court should grant certiorari in this case to clarify the

“prior restraint” doctrine and to prevent its misapplica-

tion to other cases involving injunctions needed to pro-

tect private rights.

1. Not Every Order Affecting Future Expression Is

Presumptively Unconstitutional—The primary error of

the court of appeals was its assumption that Judge Spor-

kin’s temporary restraining order was a “prior re-

straint” with constitutional significance. Although the

order would have prevented a small fragment of a fu-

ture television broadcast, it was not censorship in the

classic sense.

Almost forty years ago, Professor Paul A. Freund

noted, in a landmark article, that “prior restraint” can-

not automatically be placed “in a special category for

condemnation.” Professor Freund concluded, “The gen-

eralization that prior restraint is particularly obnoxious

in civil liberties cases must yield to more particularistic

analysis.” Freund, “The Supreme Court and Civil Liber-

ties,” 4 Vand. L. Rev. 533, 539 (1951).

More recent commentators have arrived at similar

conclusions. E.g., Murphy, “The Prior Restraint Doc-

trine in the Supreme Court: A Reevaluation,” 51 Notre

Dame Lawyer 898 (1976); Blasi, “Toward a Theory of

Prior Restraint: The Central Linkage,” 66 Minn. L.

Rev. 11 (1981); Mayton, “Toward a Theory of First

Amendment Process: Injunctions of Speech, Subsequent

10

Punishment, and the Costs of the Prior Restraint Doc-

trine,” 67 Cornell L. Rev. 245 (1982); Jeffries, “Re-

thinking Prior Restraint,” 92 Yale L. J. 409 (1983);

Redish, “The Proper Role of the Prior Restraint Doc-

trine in First Amendment Theory,” 70 Va. L. Rev. 53

(1984); Smith, “Prior Restraint: Original Intentions

and Modern Interpretations,” 28 William & Mary L.

Rev. 439 (1987); Comment, “Indirect Gag Orders and

the Doctrine of Prior Restraint,” 44 U. Miami L. Rev.

165 (1989).

There is a world of difference between a carefully lim-

ited temporary restraining order preventing, for not

more than ten days, the nationwide broadcast of a sec-

retly filmed intimate conversation between a child and

her mother and a system of broad administrative censor-

ship or a sweeping court order that forever bans future

expression of a certain kind. The former may be the

only effective means of preserving a cherished personal

right of privacy and may have negligible impact on pub-

lic issues. The latter could chill or freeze the expression

of opinion or important issues of governmental policy.

2. Judicial Preservation of an Individual’s Right to

Privacy May Justify a Court Order Barring a Television

Broadcast.—In an instance such as this one—when spe-

cifically identifiable expression is only marginally related

to public issues® but its disclosure unquestionably results

in a serious private wrong—the proper and constitu-

tionally permissible remedy is an injunction against pub-

lication. This Court’s language in Near v. Minnesota,

283 U.S. 697, 709 (1931); Organization for a Better

Austin v. Keefe, 402 U.S. 415, 418 (1971); and Nebraska

Press Ass’n v. Stuart, 427 U.S. 539, 557-58 (1976), sug-

5It is precisely because the specific fragment of videotape at

issue, as opposed to the information conveyed by Hilary’s words

alone, has no particular public importance that this case is entirely

different from New York Times Co. v. United States, 403 1).S. 718

(1971).

11

gests that the “prior restraint” doctrine would not apply

in these circumstances.

The classic illustration of an injunction to protect the

rights of privacy, sustained by this Court, was the court

order prohibiting commercial distribution of a documen-

tary film taken at the Bridgewater State Hospital for

the criminally insane. Commonweaith v. Wiseman, 356

Miss. 251, 249 N.E.2d 610 (1969). The grounds for issu-

ing the injunction were that the privacy of individual

inmates of the institution was invaded by commercial

distribution of the film. Over a dissent by three Justices,

this Court denied a writ of certiorari. Wiseman v. Massa-

chusetts, 398 U.S. 960 (1970).

The Bridgewater film was surely far more relevant to

a “debate on public issues” than the four minutes of film

that the plaintiff sought to bar in this case. The present

segment of film relates entirely to a private meeting

between a 4-year-old and her mother. Nonetheless, the

Massachusetts court and this Court recognized in the

Bridgewater case that, when privacy rights are involved,

an injunction that might otherwise appear to be a “prior

restraint” is a suitable remedy.*

The principal decision on which the court of appeals

relied in this case, In re King World Productions, Inc.,

898 F.2d 56 (€th Cir. 1990), involved the claim of a

6 The same analysis was provided by District Judge Milton I.

Shadur (an expert on First Amendment law, see 632 F. Supp. at

1294, n.17) in his opinion in Huskey v. National Broadcasting Co.,

632 F. Supp. 1282, 1294-95 (N.D. Ill. 1986). The Huskey case in-

volved a lawsuit against a film showing prisoners in the United

States Penitentiary in Marion, Illinois. Judge Shadur denied a

motion to dismiss the complaint alleging invasion of privacy by the

broadcast of the film. He observed that the “prior restraint” doc-

trine did not necessarily bar injunctive relief that is “narrowly

tailored” to preserve a privacy interest. Judge Shadur held that

“prevention of a private wrong” is different from “an injunction

against publication of the communication of ideas.” 632 F. Supp.

at 1294.

12

doctor whose alleged malpractice and unethical conduct

had been viedotaped by investigative TV reporters. The

doctor sought to enjoin broadcast of the film on the

ground that the filming had violated the federal wiretap

statute, 18 U.S.C. § 2511. The Sixth Circuit held that the

kind of information being disseminated by the broadcast

—the ethics of a doctor with “a national reputation for

his diet program and medical practice”’—was “the corner-

stone of the free press clause of the first amendment.”

898 F.2d at 57.

This case is totally different. Hilary’s parents have

thrust themselves into the spotlight of substantial public

interest, and they themselves may have no right to pre-

vent a public broadcast of a surreptitiously recorded film

that embarrasses them or invades their own privacy. But

their child—-who was 4 years old when the film was made

and is 7 now—should not be sacrificed for the sins of her

parents.

Hilary has a personal right to privacy with regard to

the details of her allegations of sexual abuse that over-

rides the interests and expressed wishes of either of her

parents. In Morgan v. Foretich, 528 A.2d 425 (D.C. App.

1987), the District of Columbia Court of Appeals affirmed

the trial court’s decision to close the hearings of this

marital dispute to the press and the public. The appellate

court quoted and approved the trial court’s finding that

the allegations “are highly sensitive’ and that “if re-

vealed to the public would be embarrassing and damaging

to the child and the child’s reputation, now and in the

future.” 528 A.2d at 426. The court held that publica-

tion of the allegations to the world would compromise

“this innocent child’s right to privacy and freedom from

notorious public scrutiny” and would be “adverse to the

best interests of the child.” Id. Cf. Maryland v. Craig,

58 U.S.L.W. (June 27, 1990) (1990 U.S. LEXIS

3457) (Recognizing that a State’s interest in the pro-

tection of minor victims of alleged sex crimes “ ‘from

POOL chet ey PLA DLE ass. ne ol

AS TOME ends Sime a ae

13

further trauma and embarrassment’ is a ‘compelling’

one” (citation omitted) ).

Nor is this a case in which the material that invades

the plaintiff’s privacy has been cast into the public domain

by operation of law or by the actions of public officials.

In The Florida Star v. B.J.F., 109 S.Ct. 2603 (1989), a

newspaper was found to be constitutionally privileged to

print the name of a rape victim who had been fully iden-

tified in a publicly available police report. This Court’s

opinion made it clear that the result would have been

different if the government agency had not provided the

information that the newspaper publicized. 109 S.Ct.

at 2611-12. And the same principle governed the deci-

sion on which the majority relied in B.J.F.—Smith v.

Daily Mail Publishing Co., 443 U.S. 97 (1979).

There is simply no legitimate free press interest in

Hilary’s highly personal communication with her mother,

with whom she wanted to speak in total privacy. Dis-

semination of that conversation to the entire world is

nothing more than a “private wrong” that can and should

be enjoined.

3. The Issue Is a Recurring One Which Is Not Moot

and the Court of Appeal’s Ruling Affects the Ultimate

Relief Available—After the court of appeals ruled, the

offending fragments of the film were shown on national

television on the scheduled dates. The broadcast of the

film did not, however, moot the case or the constitutional

issue.

The respondents retain control of the film, and they

may choose to show it any time in the future. The court

of appeals’ ruling obviously prevents a judge from en-

joining any future broadcast.’ Moreover, by its very

7 Petitioner has now amended her complaint to seek damages for

the respondents’ invasion of her privacy. She has retained, however,

a claim for injunctive relief should this Court reverse the decision

of the court of appeals.

14

nature, a request for a temporary restraining order

against a television broadcast, if denied, will become moot

if review in appellate courts is not permitted after the

broadcast takes place. Hence this is a situation involving

the two circumstances justifying appellate review in this

Court even after “abatement of the underlying injury.”

See Lewis v. Continental Bank Corp., 110 8S. Ct. 1249,

1255 (1990); Meyer v. Grant, 486 U.S. 414 (1988) ;

Honig v. Doe, 484 U.S. 305 (1988), Murphy v. Hunt,

455 U.S. 478, 484 (1982).

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for a writ of

certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

NATHAN LEWIN

(Counsel of Record)

STEPHEN L. BRAGA

DOUGLAS F. CuRTIS

MILLER, CASSIDY, LARROCA

& LEWIN

2555 M Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20037

(202) 293-640!

_ , . )

Attorneus for Pet

Julv 1990

APPENDICES

ey

@: HOMAGE

eee as

la

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

No. 89-7046

IN RE: LIFETIME CABLE and BRITISH

BROADCASTING CORP.,

Petitioners

[Filed April 6, 1990]

Before: Mikva, D.H. Ginsburg and Sentelle*, Circuit

Judges

Upon consideration of the emergency petition for writ

of mandamus, it is

ORDERED that the motion be granted. The district

court’s temporary restraining order constitutes a prior

restraint of the use of the video footage of Hilary Fore-

tich. Since a prior restraint has an immediate and irre-

versible impact, see Nebraska Press Ass’n v. Stuart, 427

U.S. 539, 559 (1976), “[a]ny prior restraint bears ‘a

heavy presumption against its constitutional validity.’ ”

In Re: King World Productions, Inc., et al., Case No.

90-1122, slip op. (6th Cir. January 29, 1990) (quoting

New York Times Co. v. United States, 403 U.S. 718,

714 (1971)). Any rights that Eric Foretich or Hilary

Foretich may have must therefore be redressed in legal

actions that do not require a prior restraint in deroga-

tion of the First Amendment. It is

FURTHER ORDERED that the district court’s tem-

porary restraining order entered on April 6, 1990 be

and is hereby vacated.

Per Curiam

* A separate statement by Judge Sentelle is attached.

2a

Sentelle, Circuit Judge, concurring in the grant of the

petition for writ of mandamus: Although I am deeply

concerned that mandamus not become a means to

render appealable temporary restraining orders, in the

case of prior restraint I find the necessary exceptional

circumstances to support issuance of this extraordinary

writ, for the reasons stated by the Sixth Cirevit in Jn

Re: King World Productions, Inc., et al., Case No. 90-

1122, slip op. (6th Cir. January 29, 1990).

38a

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

Civil Action No. 90-796

(Stanley Sporkin )

Eric A. FORETICH, et al.,

Plaintiffs,

V.

LIFETIME CABLE, et al.,

Defendants.

ORDER

[Filed April 6, 1990]

On consideration of the plaintiffs’ application for a

temporary restraining order and the argument of counsel

appointed by the Court ad litem to represent the minor

involved in the film, and the Court’s examination of

portions of the film Hilary in Hiding that is scheduled

to be broadcast on April 6, 7, 14, and 19, 1990, by the

defendants, and the testimony of Dr. Mary Froning, and

in view of the irreparable harm that would be caused to

the minor Hilary Foretich if the broadcast of scenes in-

volving her description of alleged sexual abuse were

shown as planned, it is

ORDERED that the plaintiffs’ application is granted,

and it is further

ORDERED that the defendants are restrained from

airing, licensing or distributing the scenes of the pro-

4a

gram, Hilary in Hiding, involving the minor’s descrip-

tion of alleged sexual abuse until April 17, 1990, at

9:30 a.m., when the Court will hold a preliminary in-

junction hearing on this matter.

Dated: 4/6/90

/s/ Stanley Sporkin

United States District Judge

5a

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

Docket No. CA 90-796

Eric A. FORETICH and HILARY FORETICH,

Plaintiffs,

Vs.

LIFETIME CABLE and BRITISH

BROADCASTING CORPORATION,

Defendants.

Washington, D.C. April 6, 1990 9:55 a.m.

TRANSCRIPT OF MOTION FOR TEMPORARY

RESTRAINING ORDER BEFORE

THE HONORABLE STANLEY SPORKIN

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE.

APPEARANCES:

For the Plaintiffs: KLAINE MITTLEMAN, Esq.

For the Defendants: LEE LEVINE, Esa.

6a

[2] INDEX

_

Witnesses for the Plaintiff: Direct Cross Redirect Recross

Mary Froning 45 53 — —

Exhibits: Marked Received

Plaintiff’s Exhibit No.1 40 40

Defendant’s Exhibit No. 1 48 48

Defendant’s Exhibit No. 2 52 52

7a

[3] PROCEEDINGS

THE DEPUTY CLERK: Eric A. Foretich, et al.

versus Lifetime Cable, et al., Civil Action 90-796. Elaine

Mittleman represents the plaintiff. Lee Levine repre-

sents the defendant.

THE COURT: [I'll hear the plaintiff.

MS. MITTLEMAN: Good morning, Your Honor.

Elaine Mittleman for—

THE DEPUTY CLERK: Please come to our lectern.

MS. MITTLEMAN: Your Honor, Linda Holman, who

is the Court appointed guardian ad litem for Hilary is

ill today, and she can’t be here.

THE COURT: Go ahead.

MS. MITTLEMAN: We have asked for what is well

acknowledged to be an extraordinary remedy which would

be the—we structured our request as narrowly as pos-

sible to omit the screening of tapes involving Hilary

herself on this upcoming Lifetime Cable.

One segment of the tape in particular to the best of

my knowledge has not been seen on any other program

besides this Lifetime Cable. It was produced by the BBC,

which shows Hilary under her mother’s control discussing

really in a very offensive manner. I mean it is pathetic

for this child to be subjected to this, specific sexual acts.

She points to her own body parts. She refers to her

father’s genitals. It has no redeeming social value

whatsoever.

[4] It is not enlightening to the public. It is inflam-

matory. It appeals to the prurient interests, and it is an

utter invasion of Hilary’s privacy. It does not edify

the public.

THE COURT: Are you arguing on behalf of Hilary?

I don’t understand who—what your standing is?

MS. MITTLEMAN: I represent Dr. Foretich. I

would be glad to speak on behalf of Hilary as well.

There has been some controversy, confusion, whatever you

want to call it, as to Hilary’s legal representation. I

8a

am now representing her in another legal action, but in

a third legal action, Judge Gesell just recently ruled

that since she had a guardian ad litem, it was up to the

guardian ad litem to represent her.

Now, under the Rule 17(c), a child, if she has a

cause of action, you know, the Court has its authority to

appoint someone to represent her. And from the cases

I read, if it is felt that the person coming forward is

adequate, the Court, you know, can accept that person

as the child’s representative.

Linda Holman’s appointment was pursuant to the

visitation in the Superior Court.

THE COURT: That’s the problem I have. I don’t

know where the standing is here, quite frankly, because

I didn’t appoint any guardian ad litem.

MS. MITTLEMAN: Well, that’s correct, and that

was [5] just the issue in front of Judge Gesell. And

my position, frankly, is different than what Judge Gesell

ruled. I’d be glad to—

THE COURT: Well, has Judge Gesell been in this

case?

MS. MITTLEMAN: No, but we have a case in which

we are suing Glamour, and I’ve got the opinion if you’d

like to see it.

THE COURT: You’re suing who?

MS. MITTLEMAN: Glamour Magazine, under def-

amation, and we sought to add Hilary as a plaintiff,

and Dr. Foretich as her next friend, and Judge Gesell

just ruled that she already had a guardian ad litem.

But as I said, in another case where we have just a

standard tort case, I am her attorney. So we’ve had

conflicting rulings on that.

THE COURT: You are her attorney? Appointed

by whom?

MS. MITTLEMAN: I’m not appointed by anybody.

We have yet another case in front of Judge Henry

Green in which we are suing under traditional tort

cases. We’re suing Dr. Morgan and a variety of the

9a

experts, and Hilary is a plaintiff in that case. I am the

attorney for Hilary in that case, and that has—

THE COURT: Well, who hired you in that case?

MS. MITTLEMAN: Dr. Foretich.

THE COURT: Hired you to represent Hilary.

MS. MITTLEMAN: Well, I’m representing him as

well. [6] I’m representing him, Hilary and his parents.

THE COURT: Well, you see, here’s my problem.

MS. MITTLEMAN: Linda Holman, who is Hilary’s

attorney, guardian ad litem, joins in this request.

THE COURT: But did Judge Gesell rule that a

guardian ad litem appointed in another court action

could have standing in his action?

MS. MITTLEMAN: No, he didn’t. May I read you

his—

THE COURT: Sure.

MS. MITTLEMAN: I just got this yesterday.

THE COURT: Is this a related case, by the way,

Betty?

MS. MITTLEMAN: I don’t think it could be consid-

ered a related case. I mean I don’t know how broadly

you want to define related.

It says, “Under Rule 17(c), this provision is not

applicable under the circumstances of this case. In the

course of the continuing dispute over Hilary, the Su-

perior Court appointed a guardian ad litem to protect

Hilary’s interest. Plaintiffs do not dispute this point.

The battle over Hilary continues in the Superior Court.

It would be wholly inappropriate to recognize either

parent as an appropriate guardian in any case.”

So that’s where that was left.

THE COURT: Well, I understand that. But my

problem [7] is that they have appointed—as I understand

the guardian ad litem, is that that was appointed for

that particular case.

MS. MITTLEMAN: That would be my understand-

ing as well.

10a

THE COURT: And it would seem to me that if

anything, I would have to appoint somebody.

MS. MITTLEMAN: I think that would be an ac-

ceptable alternative, and that would be something I

would—

THE COURT: But as this point we don’t have the

time to appoint and, you know, I don’t know how I could

make that appointment without having all the interests

represented.

MS. MITTLEMAN: That’s right. There are cases,

as I said, in which the parent’s attorney was—or else

in another case, I don’t remember the name of it, but

where teachers sued on behalf of retarded children and

they were allowed to go forward because the Court said

they were skilled at doing that.

THE COURT: Well, let’s get by that. Let’s get

to the issue in this—the other issue in this case. As I

understand from the papers that just came in, this

television program has already been shown in the United

States?

MS. MITTLEMAN: That’s correct, Your Honor. It

was aired once. The first time I saw the tape was two

days ago. Dr. Foretich, as you may know, was in New

Zealand for about three weeks, and I wasn’t really able

to confer with him, and it is our position that this up-

coming four planned showings [8] have been widely

publicized and, you know, it’s on the newsletter. It’s

on the media, and—

THE COURT: How did they get the tape? Do you

know?

MS. MITTLEMAN: That I don’t know. I assume it

came from the BBC. It was a BBC production. It was

aired in Britain. It was enjoined—to the best of my

knowledge, it was enjoined in New Zealand from being

aired.

THE COURT: It has been enjoined in New Zealand?

lla

MS. MITTLEMAN: That’s my understanding. New

Zealand, as everyone has been saying, has different laws

than we do.

THE COURT: Where was this shown in the United

States?

MS. MITTLEMAN: It was under the Lifetime Cable,

I believe.

THE COURT: It was shown on the same—

MS. MITTLEMAN: My understanding is the Life-

time Cable licensed this program from the BBC. The

BBC produced it.

THE COURT: Soit’s already been shown once?

MS. MITTLEMAN: Right. Now, on that point, I'd

like to say something, if I could. Under the Pentagon

papers cases, to the best of my ability to read the opin-

ions, there were simultaneous actions in New York and

here about the release of those papers. And both Courts

went forward and different newspapers had released dif-

ferent amounts of materials and I [9] think this Court

even acknowledged that, well, we know some of the stuff

has already been printed somewhere else. It might go

to the L.A. Times or who knows where. That didn’t seem

to be significant.

In other words, it is still a republication, if you will,

and on that point, I’d also like to mention something

about Judge Gesell’s opinion, which is that on Glamour

Magazine, it has been alleged that they gave permission

to the friends of Elizabeth Morgan, who are the same

people that are touting this program, and they distributed

it to Glamour Magazine, and Judge Gesell said that that

could be a republication under defamation. So I’m say-

ing—

THE COURT: We’re not talking defamation. You

still have that claim.

MS. MITTLEMAN: That’s right.

THE COURT: You’re not going to lose that claim.

MS. MITTLEMAN: No, but my point is that four

more screenings of Hilary is just four more times to have

her privacy invaded. People are on notice now. They

12a

can tape this thing, keep it in their libraries. The Ferber

Court emphasized that putting these child—you know,

the visual images of children in the mass media is a per-

manent record. It’s not just a one time thing.

THE COURT: What are the particular problems?

Can you do it quickly to show me what it is that you’re

complaining |10] about?

MS. MITTLEMAN: Yes, I’d have to find the spot on

the tape, but it’s only a limited segment of the tape that

is particularly offensive.

THE COURT: How long is the tape?

MS. MITTLEMAN: The whole tape is I think about

40 minutes.

THE COURT: No, I don’t want to see the whole tape.

MS. MITTLEMAN: No, no, I didn’t—what?

THE COURT: Can you just get to the right part?

MS. MITTLEMAN: I think it’s somewhere in the

middle of the tape. Is there some way—I’m not—

THE COURT: Who set that up? Is that your tape?

MS. MITTLEMAN: I think it’s Mr. Levine’s tape.

MR. LEVINE: Your Honor, we will be specially ap-

pearing for the defendant. We provided the tape. I think

the Court set up the tape machine.

THE COURT: Do you know how to get to the right

parts? =

MS. MITTLEMAN: I think we can fast forward it.

I could clarify, there are two different tapes of Hilary.

One of the tapes, Mr. Levine is correct, was seen on other

shows, and it really isn’t as offensive as the tape with

the specific—I mean if you want to get the most narrow

limiting, it’s the one with the specific body parts that are

offensive.

[11] THE COURT: I just want to see what you are

complaining about.

MR. LEVINE: It will probably take a few minutes,

Your Honor.

MS. MITTLEMAN: If you want me to, I can try to

fast forward it while they are talking if that will help.

13a

THE COURT: Well, Tom, you know how to use that

machine, don’t you? Go ahead. Help her. You do it for

me. Go ahead. You can do it for them. Come on. Do I

have to get you an order?

(Brief pause. )

MS. MITTLEMAN: This is it, Your Honor.

(Whereupon, the videotape was shown in the court-

room. )

MS. MITTLEMAN: I was just going to say, to the

best of my understanding, that man is Dr. David Corwin,

who was one of Dr. Morgan’s expert witnesses, and the

woman next to Dr. Morgan is Mary Froning, who is

described as Hilary’s therapist, who is a_ psychologist

and have participated in the litigation throughout, and

as far as I know, this was not admitted into evidence by

any Court.

(Whereupon, the videotape was continued to be shown

in the courtroom. )

MS. MITTLEMAN: I believe that’s the sum of the

most offensive tape. Now, I'd like, if I could just say

something, if that is convincing to anyone of the reality

of the [12] charges—

THE COURT: That’s bad stuff, I admit that.

MS. MITTLEMAN: It’s staged. It would be like

third hand hearsay, you know, under the Rules of Evi-

dence, according, you know, I mean it doesn’t go to the

truth of the facts, and it has no—its content is of no

value. It is not informing the public and the way I read

the Supreme Court cases, including New York Times

versus—I mean the Pentagon papers case, it isn’t a ques-

tion—Ii was surprised at this myself, but under what is

considered obscenity. which with children is a broad defi-

nition of obscenity, it is considered outside the First

Amendment. It is not considered prior restraint.

Justice Brennan stated that in—

til

l4a

THE COURT: Are you arguing that this is obscene?

Is that your argument?

MS. MITTLEMAN: I’m arguing that it’s represent-

ing—it’s showing a child referring to sexual acts, refer-

ring to her father’s genitals, having her point to body

parts which are purportedly describing sexual acts. It is

certainly concerning sexual acts of a child, and, you know,

there is great concern now with revealing the names of

women, adult women, rape victims, much less having

them act it out on camera. I find subjecting a child to

that is totally offensive.

I mean if that were my own daughter, I don’t know

what I would do. It serves no—it has no value. It serves

[13] no purpose besides further the claims of Dr.

Morgan, which have not prevailed in Court, and it’s com-

pletely abusive of Hilary’s rights.

THE COURT: Thank you.

MR. LEVINE: Your Honor, Lee Levine appearing

specifically for the defendants. I’d just like to make a

few points that do not go to the substance of the broad-

cast.

First, as Your Honor has pointed out, I have severe

questions about whether there is any standing here.

When you are asking for the kind of extraordinary relief

that we’re talking about here, the guardian is not present

in the courtroom.

THE COURT: Can’t I appoint a guardian?

MR. LEVINE: I suppose the Court has the power to

do that. However, there has been no indication that any-

one acting on behalf of the child has suggested that this

broadcast should be enjoined.

THE COURT: Well, the father. You don’t think a

father has an interest?

MR. LEVINE: I think the father has an interest,

but I also think that there has been a guardian appointed.

The guardian is not here.

THE COURT; But that guardian is appointed in an-

other matter. I think I have the right with the father

15a

coming in here and saying that the child’s interests are

being abused, [14] but I mean that’s pretty bad stuff.

MR. LEVINE: Your Honor, that stuff has been

broadeast on several prior occasions. A prior restraint

here would do absolutely no good to protect the interests

that they are seeking to protect here.

THE COURT: How did you get the video?

MR. LEVINE: From my client.

THE COURT: And who did your client get it from?

MR. LEVINE: From Dr. Morgan.

THE COURT: Who?

MR. LEVINE: From Dr. Morgan, who is the child’s

mother.

THE COURT: Boy.

MR. LEVINE: Your Honor, this same information,

this same exact broadcast was broadcast in early March

all over the United States on this cable network. Before

that broadcast, as the declarations that we’ve submitted

demonstrate, Ms. Mittleman was in contact with the cable

company.

THE COURT: The fact that it has been broadcast

once, does that mean that the child doesn’t have a right

after that? I mean, here’s the problem as I see it from

your standpoint. Here you have an innocent little babe,

a child, who I’m just wondering in the interest of that

child should this be broadeast? And I don’t see how the

mother can exercise those rights for that child. I really—

I must tell you that I am very [15] troubled by this.

MR. LEVINE: Your Honor, I would submit that to

the extent that the Court is troubled, there are legal

remedies involving subsequent awards of damages that

are available. The law of prior restraint is very clear,

that once publication has been made, especially in this

case. We’re not talking about simply one prior broadcast,

albeit nationwide of this particular program—

THE COURT: But then what you’re arguing is there

has been no prior restraint. It’s been broadcast once.

But are you saying to me that if there is after a trial

16a

and the child’s rights are so paramount that this thing

should not be broadcast again that a Court can’t issue as

part of its relief an injunction?

MR. LEVINE: I think under the circumstances of

this case, I would say you cannot, Your Honor. I would

say that in the first place the information has been

broadly disseminated already. Second of all, the domicile

of this plaintiff is the Commonwealth of Virginia, which

does not recognize the tort of invasion of privacy.

Second of all, even if it did, there is a well recognized

exception to the tort of invasion of privacy when the mat-

ter broadcast is of public interest.

THE COURT: That’s a public interest?

MR. LEVINE: Your Honor, Ms. Mittleman referred

to [16] the concern over the identity of the publication

of names of rape victims. The Supreme Court last term

in the Florida Star versus B.J.F. case, specifically said,

so long as it deals generally with matters—

THE COURT: Well, let me tell you what I think I’ve

got to do here before I make a decision. I want to ap-

point somebody in the interest of this child, and we got

to do it quickly, I realize. When is this supposed to be

broadcast, tonight?

MR. LEVINE: This evening, Your Honor.

THE COURT: Well, let me—I don’t know who to ap-

point. I mean this is going to be a pro bono situation

obviously. I can’t pay anybody, but I do want to hear

somebody with the interest of the child, other than with

the respect to the plaintiff here. But I have to get some-

body. We’ll have to schedule this for later this afternoon.

MS. MITTLEMAN: Your Honor, may I make one

point?

THE COURT: Surely.

MS. MITTLEMAN: These cases have had a lot of

jurisdictional questions and although it is true Dr.

Foretich resides in Virginia, I would say that Hilary,

although she’s in New Zealand now, her residence, at

least it was before she was abducted away, it was the

17a

District of Columbia, so this is where the Courts have

dealt with her.

THE COURT: Who is a prominent preeminent First

[17] Amendment lawyer in this city that I could ap-

point?

MR. LEVINE: Your Honor, I’m trying to think of

one.

THE COURT: Iknow of Abrams in New York.

MS. MITTLEMAN: That’s what I was going to say.

THE COURT: But I think he might have a conflict.

MS. MITTLEMAN: A lot of major firms are already

involved.

THE COURT: Griswald, and he’s here in town; isn’t

he? Maybe I could call him.

MS. MITTLEMAN: That firm would not have had

any conflicts in this case. -

THE COURT: P. Griswald. Anybody in the schools

around here?

MR. LEVINE: Your Honor, may I make a recom-

mendation?

THE COURT: Sure.

MR. LEVINE: Barrett Prettyman at the Hogan and

Hartson firm.

THE COURT: He’s good.

MR. LEVINE: He argued the Nebraska Press Asso-

ciation case in the Supreme Court.

THE COURT: Okay. Let me see if I can get some-

body in her interest.

MS. MITTLEMAN: Your Honor, J think that’s an

excellent suggestion. I would support that.

THE COURT: How about Lloyd Cutler?

[18] MS. MITTLEMAN: Wilmer, Cutler, Pickering

is Dr. Morgan’s attorney.

THE COURT: Oh, I’m sorry. He’s Morgan’s attor-

ney.

MS. MITTLEMAN: Does the name of Kevin Bain

mean anything to anybody?

MR. LEVINE: Your Honor, the problem I’m having

is that most First Amendment lawyers in this town are

18a

engaged in litigation with Ms. Mittleman on behalf of

Mr. Foretich defending various—

MS. MITTLEMAN: Which leads me to a point that

I was also hoping to make, which is that I agree that

normally damages after the fact, that’s the standard

First amendment thing, but we'll be suing from now

until doomsday.

THE COURT: That’s just pretty rough stuff, and

my point is that if this kid has any rights, they ought to

be—whatever, they ought to be protected. Again, I’m not

the First Amendment authority. I might become one

after this case, but I do know from the little that I’ve

read, that the Courts do take some great pains when a

child is involved. And, indeed, they have passed all kinds

of legislation protecting children.

The FCC doesn’t allow certain shows at certain times,

So we do have a very delicate matter here, which has got

to be protected.

MS. MITTLEMAN: On that point, it occurred to me

that since this was produced by the BBC, I wonder if a

domestic [19] company may not have even been willing

to put that on the air. I mean, that may be—

THE COURT: Well, what’s that mean? I—

MR. LEVINE: Your Honor, may I have a word?

THE COURT: Surely.

MR. LEVINE: If the Court feels most comfortable

appointing a guardian, obviously that’s fine with the de-

fendants. But may I respectfully suggest that even as-

suming that Hilary—+that there is an invasion of privacy

here and that Hilary has an interest that is due to be

protected, I must respectfully submit that this Court

simply has no authority to issue a prior restraint.

Ms. Mittleman’s—the basis for her claim that the prior

restraint doctrine doesn’t apply is that this is child porno-

graphy under the Ferber case. The Ferber case, which

we have submitted a copy to the Court, makes two

points—

xt nce

19a

THE COURT: Look, believe me, I understand prior

restraint a little bit. But I am not convinced that when

a child is involved, when a session—when she’s involved

with a doctor, and that doctor videotaped that which

whether she was agreeable to that or not, I don’t know.

And then when they use that videotape for purposes other

than it was designed for and to say that that child does

not have an interest—

MR. LEVINE: I’m not suggesting that the child

doesn’t have an interest.

[20] THE COURT: Let me ask you. Suppose there,

for example, there was a parent put a kid into prostitu-

tion, a youngster what, four years old. Are you saying—

and then they took pictures of the kid. Are you saying

that that child would not have any interest in having

her rights vindicated?

MR. LEVINE: I’m not suggesting that at all.

THE COURT: Are you saying that a prior restraint

would not lie there?

MR. LEVINE: If we were here in the District of

Columbia, Your Honor, and the District of Columbia or

Congress passed a statute that empowered Courts to is-

sue prior restraints pursuant to a specifically defined

kind of sexual act that constituted in the judgement of

the legislature child pornography, the Ferber case would

say that there was no First Amendment protection and

that an injunction could issue.

But the Ferber case says—

THE COURT: I'll appoint you as guardian. You

made a very powerful argument.

MR. LEVINE: The Ferber case says in the absence

of a legislative enactment specifically defining child por-

nography and in the absence of the kind of definition of

child pornography that you just described, a child en-

gaging in actual sexual conduct with lewd exhibition of

the genitals and that sort of thing that a Court does not

have power to override the First Amendment protections

at stake.

20a

\

[21] THE COURT: I don’t understand why—how

does a statute amend the Constitution? Why is it that

a statute can be so powerful, but a Court’s decision can-

not be as equally as powerful?

MR. LEVINE: Because, Your Honor, the Ferber

case, which is the case upon which she relies, starts from

the premise that the explicit sexual conduct depicted in

that case did not rise to the level of obscenity if it had

been adults involved. And the Court was asked to ad-

dress the question of can it nevertheless be penalized,

and I should point out that’s not even a prior restraint

case. That’s a subsequent punishment case, but the

Court was asked to decide whether, even though it didn’t

rise to the level of adult obscenity, could it still forfeit

its protection under the First Amendment, and the Court

said, yes, but only under one circumstance, where a legis-

lature has thought about it and defined it and declared it.

THE COURT: All right. Let me—we will reschedule

this for 5:00 tonight, and I hope you’ll be in touch—

who is handling this? David or Susie, are you handling

this? Either David or Ms. Cohen will be in touch.

Let me take a few minutes. I want to see if I can get

one of these people. Is Prettyman—are both of you sat-

isfied with Prettyman or Griswald?

MS. MITTLEMAN: Yes, Your Honor.

[22] MR. LEVINE: Fine, Your Honor.

THE COURT: All right. Thank you.

(Brief recess. )

THE COURT: We’re back on that case. Let me tell

you what I’ve done. I’ve appointed Mr. Nathan Lewin of

Miller and Cassidy as the guardian ad litem, but we

have to get all the documents over to his place imme-

diately. So who can—including the tape. Who can—

MR. LEVINE: We can take it over.

THE COURT: Would you do that?

2la

MR. LEVINE: There is only the one copy of the

tape.

THE COURT: Could you do that? We got to call—

who do we have to call? We have to call Ms. Mittleman

to tell her, and I don’t mind either one of you filling him

in. I don’t have any problem with that.

MR. LEVINE: Is he expecting us?

THE COURT: Well, would you call him and tell

him? He’s expecting all the papers. The only thing is to

get them over as quickly as possible.

(Recess from 10:45 a.m. until 4:20 ».m.)

THE DEPUTY CLERK: Eric A. Foretich, et al.

versus Lifetime Cable, et al., Civil Action 90-796.

THE COURT: Mr. Lewin, as the first order of busi-

ness, do you have any objection of my appointing you

guardian ad litem in this case?

[23] MR. LEWIN: No, Your Honor, I have no ob-

jection.

THE COURT: All right. And I want to thank you

so very much for being willing to take the appointment

in the best traditions of the legal profession on an ab-

solutely pro bono basis.

Now, I guess I want to hear from you. I’ve heard

from the other parties today. You’re the only one I

haven’t heard from.

MR. LEWIN: Well, Your Honor, just let me say that

since I was advised this morning by Your Honor, I have

met with the counsel for the parties who were kind

enough to come to my office and provide me with the doc-

umentation and with the film regarding .this particular

action, and I had a brief telephone conversation as well

with Dr. Froning, who I think the defendants have an

affidavit that they are filing with the Court from Dr.

Froning and she told me that in substance on the phone

as well.

Let me say to Your Honor that—

THE COURT: Who is Dr. Froning? Is she in the

picture?

22a

MR. LEWIN: Yes, she’s in the picture. She’s the

psychologist who apparently examined—

THE COURT: Let me just read this for a second.

(Brief pause. )

THE COURT: Fine. Thank you. I’ve read it.

[24] MR. LEWIN: And let me just say, Your Honor,

that in the limited time, of course, that I have had since

being advised this morning and appearing here this af-

ternoon, I have viewed it as being my function in terms

of being appointed by the Court to represent the inter-

ests of Hilary, not to really make any evaluations or

judgments of as it were the global battle, which I cannot

do certainly within the limited period of time that’s

available,—

THE COURT: Neither can I.

MR. LEWIN: —the battie between Drs. Foretich

and Morgan.

THE COURT: That’s why you’ve been appointed. I

need somebody who is going to represent this child.

MR. LEWIN: Yes, Your Honor.

Well, let me say that having viewed the film and hav-

ing considered the law in the area, I believe on behalf of

Hilary that the Court should issue an order enjoining

the showing of at least what amounts to I think two and

a half minutes of this film, because there are two and

a half minutes of it which I believe do invade the privacy

rights of this child, and which I think under existing law

there is authority for the Court to issue an order that

would enjoin the showing of those two and a half min-

utes and there are another approximately minute and

a half where the child or her voice appears in the film,

and which I must say is not as invasive of her privacy

[25] rights, but nonetheless, I think certainly does her

no good, and in the long run may prove to be embar-

rassing to her, which on her behalf, I would also request

that the Court enjoin, but not with the compelling na-

ture, I think of the two and a half minutes.

23a

THE COURT: What was the other minute? The one

I saw, the one that bothered me extremely is the one with

the mentioning of the private part of the human being

and telling where that part gets placed. That to me—

MR. LEWIN: Yes, Your Honor, that is—

THE COURT: That’s the part you’re agreeing to?

MR. LEWIN: No, that I believe ought to be enjoined.

THE COURT: Yes.

MR. LEWIN: Yes, definitely. That’s I think the

most clearly invasive of her privacy rights. They are

really three separate little segments which are just tied

together I think by narration of Dr. Morgan in between,

first a minute and approximately 38 seconds, then ap-

proximately 46 seconds and then approximately 35 sec-

onds, all of which take place apparently in the psychol-

ogist’s office, and I must say under circumstances which

indicate to me from the introductory statements that the

child believed she was in privacy with her mother, that

there was nobody else who was watching at the time.

She had asked that the doctor leave and everybody

[26] else leave, and I think she was not aware that this

was being videotaped. Consequently, she was engaged in

what was a private conversation which to this four

year old was a conversation with her mother.

She then described using dolls in some graphic detail

what I thing she was recounting was episodes with her

father. First, an episode that she had with her father,

then an episode, the second portion, that her sister had

with ker father, and then the third again with her

father. Those are I think particular events which I must

say given today’s technology, if this were to go out on

public—I understand it’s been shown one time, but it

gets more publicity I think every time. If it goes out

on television, there is, of course, the facility for any-

body in the world to tape it. If appears on public tele-

vision. It appears on television to the public.

So anybody can record it, and simply this recording of

these very private moments that this four year old had

24a

with her mother, I think would be available 10, 15 years

from now to haunt her at any time that she goes, any

place that she goes. People can play this recording back

to her where she thought she was speaking privately

with her mother.

Consequently, I believe that in her interest, her pri-

vacy interest, I know that the plaintiff has made a claim

based on obscenity or pornography. Our view on behalf

of Hilary is that there is quite a different rationale

here, which [27] is one of privacy interests that would

entitle the Court I think under the prior restraint cases.

There is a very strong line certainly of cases that say

that Courts may not issue prior restraints, but what they

cover are by and large matters of political discussion or

of public attention. There is a very fine discussion in

a case called Husky versus National Broadcasting Com-

pany in the Northern District of Illinois decided in 1986

by Judge Shadur, if that’s the way he pronounces his

name, S-H-A-D-U-R, and particularly pages 1294

through 1296. There is a discussion of the availability

of injunctive relief, prior restraint when there is an in-

vasion of privacy.

In addition, there was a celebrated instance involving

a film called Titticut Follies, which was a documentary

of events at Bridgewater State Hospital, where the State

of Massachusetts successfully obtained an injunction

against the showing of that film, because it invaded the

privacy of the inmates of the institution. The Supreme

Court denied certiorari. The case is reported at 249

Northeast 2d. 610, and the denial of certiorari is at 398

US 960.

And if I had to find parallel situations, there are pa-

rallel cases where even the Court of Appeals for this

Circuit directed that portions of tapes that were pub-

licly available and that there was a public interest in be

redacted so that privacy not be invaded.

\28] Specifically at the time of the ABSCAM eases,

there were, as I’m sure Your Honor will recall, there

> scene anaeielll

25a

were tapes that were taken of various Congressmen and

others who were charged and convicted, and the Court of

Appeals here said in a case reported at 653 F. 2d. 609

at page 619, when it authorized that they be made pub-

lic, that the possible injury to innocent third persons is

a factor that may properly be taken into account by the

District Court in passing upon applications to copy and

make such records public, and that, therefore, it would

be appropriate to require that wherever there would be

an invasion of injury to innocent third persons that the

tapes be redacted or amended so that those portions are

removed.

And on the basis of those authorities, it appears to

us, it appears to me as counsel for Hilary, that there is

ample authority for this Court to say that when there

is an invasion to privacy and when it can be very spe-

cifically designated what it is that has to be removed

from the film because of the invasion of privacy, this

Court can issue an order that says that those portions

that relate to Hilary should be enjoined.

The rest of the firm is a matter of public interest. The

parties are there, but at least those portions that relate—

that show her in there very private moments with her

mother discussing these matters we think should be en-

joined, should not go out to the public, because it would

harm her privacy interests.

'29| Ithink the fact that she’s not in the United States

today is a factor that certainly lessens the interest some-

what, but I think the fact that this is available gener-

ally is going to harm her in the future, and, therefore,

as an attorney whe is here and is not obviously able

either to speak with my client, but nonetheless, trying to

present to the Court the interests om behalf of this child,

I think that there is authority and basis for issuing such

an injunction, and I would request that it be done.

THE COURT: Have you drafted papers along those

iines, Mr. Lewin?

26a

MR. LEWIN: Unfortunately, given the time, we

have not.

THE COURT: All right. I want to hear. I’m just

saying in case I issue it whether—all right. The first

time I think I’ve ever caught you asleep.

Go ahead.

MR. LEVINE: Your Honor, a few housekeeping

matters first. With me at counsel table at the end of

the table is Larry Scharff, who is a partner in the Reed,

Smith firm here in Washington.

THE COURT: Pleased to have you.

MR. LEVINE: He’s general counsel to the Radio,

Television News Directors Association and they are here.

Given the short notice, they haven’t had a chance to file

any papers, {30] but they are here as amicus in sup-

port of the defendants.

In addition, we’ve handed up to the Court and filed

with the Clerk this morning two declarations, one that

Mr. Lewin referred to from Dr. Froning and the other

one from Mr. Lambert who is the producer of the pro-

gram in Britain.

I’d like to spend a minute talking about what is in

those declarations because I’d like to emphasize to the

Court that the moving parties here, Mr. Lewin, because

of the shortness of time, Ms. Mittleman for reasons I

don’t quite understand, have made absolutely no, zero,

evidentiary showing, other than the fact that we brought

the broadcast and showed it to the Court.

We seem to have been focusing on one question here

which is the question of whether—

THE COURT: I would think that the father has

some rights as to his daughter. I mean if you can’t

understand it, I’ll explain it to you.

MR. LEVINE: No, no. I can’t understand why

they’ve made no evidentiary showing when they are ask-

ing for the extraordinary relief of an injunction and

that’s my point. And the point that I am trying to make,

Your Honor, is that we have provided to the Court an

27a

affidavit from a psychologist who has examined Hilary

on some 80 some odd occasions who is of the view clin-

ically that there is nothing wrong with this broadcast

and it is not invasive of her privacy, and I would ask

the [31] Court to pay due regard to that.

Your Honor, the trouble that I’ve had with this pro-

ceeding today is basically the Court has reacted, Mr.

Lewin has reacted, I think many reasonable people react

to this broadcast by saying, this is offensive. I don’t

like it. I wouldn’t broadcast it. I don’t think it should

be shown.

With all due respect to Mr. Lewin and to ail the rest

of us, unless there is a legally cognizable cause of action

that empowers a Court to say I can make the decision

for the editors in this case, and I can decide and_ not

leave it to the editors under the First Amendment to

decide whether this should be broadcast, and unless there

is a legally cognizable cause of action that authorizes

a prior restraint in this setting, I think that there isn’t

much any of us can do about it, other than leave Hilary

and Dr. Foretich to their remedies at common law.

THE COURT: You see, the problem you have is how

you phrase the issue. And it reminds me of the story

that Justice Scalia once said—once told about he was in

a—a young priest who liked to smoke was talking to

another priest who also liked to smoke, and he asked

the priest, he said, well, you know, I don’t understand

how you get away with this. When I’m smoking, the

Father in charge tells me I can’t do it. And he says,

what you did, he says, you asked the wrong question.

(32) He said, what happened, you probably said, is it

all right to pray while I’m smoking, and what the ques-

tion should be is it all right to smoke while praying.

And so you see, you get to the point of how you ask—

the other thing is is the glass half filled or is the glass

half empty.

The point that I’m trying to make is and I think

what Mr. Lewin, who I think you know, I asked him

ES

28a

this morning to come in as objective as he knew how.

I don’t think we spoke more than a couple of minutes

because he said he was busy doing a lot of other things,

and he said, just get the papers over. And I told both

of you to go over and talk to him as much as you like.

But the concern I have is really not with the first

amendment. The concern I have is with this young

child. If you start asking what is in this child’s best

interest, and it seems to me that this child’s rights have

been—possibly been extremely violated here. The child

doesn’t know what’s going on. What can this little child

consent to?

Let’s assume some pornographer went out and took

pictures of this, as I mentioned to you this morning,

and to say that there is no way to remedy a situation

such as that and to say that the First Amendment rears

its wonderful head and says that that is not—cannot be

dealt with is terribly, terribly troublesome. That’s the

problem I have with this case. It’s the child’s interests

and the child’s rights and [33] for—I cannot see how,

and I’ll give you your opportunity, but how is the in-

terest of this child being protected here?

And let me just go one step further. Let’s just go

with me along this line. Let’s suppose we have, as we

do here, a full lawsuit, and let’s suppose that this child

is now suing to have her rights vindicated, and let’s

suppose that a Court should find that her rights have

been violated.

Now, are you trying to tell me that at the end of that

trial and case, and a Court is saying I’m going to issue

relief, to say that that child can—I think you would

agree would be able to get some money damages from

somebody, but to say that you couldn’t withdraw that

film from the public view, I think that would be in

keeping with our traditions in the law. That is a proper

measure of an equitable relief and could be granted as

damages or conceded as damages by the Court.

29a

That’s the way that I see it, and I don’t see it as

this—how is the First Amendment vindicated here by

showing this tape?

MR. LEVINE: Your Honor, let’s put the First

Amendment aside for just a second and go with just

your hypothetical. We have a lawsuit. A complaint comes

in. Let’s say it alleges invasion of privacy, and I come

in here and I bring a motion to dismiss. And I say to

Your Honor, Your Honor, the District of Columbia—

let’s assume Hilary lives in the District of Columbia and

the District of Columbia is involved [34] here.

The District of Columbia has issued a decision saying

that we don’t recognize the tort of invasion of privacy.

That’s what the District of Columbia Court of Appeals

has said. I think in that situation you have to say, gee,

I think this is terrible and I think it is really bad that

Congress—

THE COURT: I said we’ve been talking invasion of

privacy, but I don’t think that that is the sole cause

of action that we’re talking here. You’re talking about

giving something a label. I don’t know, again, what my

point right now is that I’ve got before me is really a

restraining order question, because I want to consider

these issues, but I don’t know if I have to now phrase

this in terms of whether it is invasion of privacy or

whether it is some other kind of tort that’s like defama-

tion or a tort that is an assault on this young child.

I don’t know how if this young child had been taken

out and hit by somebody, there would be an assault and

a battery. Now, when this child is now being whacked

by a person who has, in effect, invaded her most sacred

kinds of things, that’s terrible.

Let me ask you something. Suppose this doctor had

told her to undress, and suppose he had asked her to

demonstrate and graphically use instruments to demon-

strate. We gave her a penis to actually demonstrate.

Are you trying to say to [35] me that this Court could

do nothing about that? I’m not saying it’s obscene or

80a

pornographic, because obviously if you are trying to

demonstrate something like that, that would bother me.

MR. LEVINE: Your Honor, it would be hard for

me to deal with that hypothetical ‘in the abstract, because

I have a hard time knowing how an editor could make

what would be a decision that that would be worth

broadcasting, and secondly, if it did, under the invasion

of privacy tort, as I understand it, how it could shelter

under the newsworthiness, public interest exception to

the privacy tort.

In this case, and I think it’s something that needs to

be said, and it’s said in the afhdavit of Mr. Lambert that

we have submitted to the Court. The issue of whether

those sessions, of whether Hilary’s testimony that she

has been abused was coached in those sessions or whether

they were given of her own free will and were due to be

credited has become a major issue in this dispute be-

tween the parents.

I don’t want to get into the dispute between the par-

ents either, but I think that given the intense public

attention that has been given to this matter, including

broadcasts of this program before and other programs

and written material that has described these sessions in

great detail that this Court cannot say that a prima facie

case of invasion of privacy has been made out.

[36] THE COURT: Let me give you another hypo-

thetical. Suppose—as I understand it, this was supposed

to be utilized in the trial. Am I wrong on that?

MR. LEVINE: I think it was. 1 don’t know.

THE COURT: Now, are you saying that if a Court

took this at a trial, an open trial, that a Court could not

have put a protective order and said that they were not

going to permit that to be shown? I mean other than to

the immediate fact finders. Of course, a Court could

have done that.

MR. LEVINE: But that’s a very different situation,

Your Honor. That’s a situation where the Court is

3la

— _aniniinnssiscccasumaiaalagaailll

being asked to affirmatively grant rights of access to

information that is in its possession because it’s a Court.

There is a much lower level of First Amendment pro-

tection granted in that situation than there is to when

someone has independently and totally lawfully gotten

the material and someone is trying to restrain them from

publishing it or broadcasting it in advance.

THE COURT: [I'll tell you what I’m going to do

here. I believe I don’t have enough data or information,

and I will—I don’t know. Because I think you do raise

a good issue of the question of how are we going to label

whatever this cause of action. But I do believe there is

enough here to issue a TRO, and I’m going to issue a

TRO for 10 days, and I’ll set it for trial.

I want to get all of these for a preliminary [37] in-

junction, but I would like to get all of these matters

squared away, just exactly what is the—I believe there

is a cause of action. I don’t know how to be able to—

how the parties are going to be able to articulate it. I

do hope that perhaps some more information can be ob-

tained as to how this occurred, and getting probably

testimony from the mother and the father and how they

feel that this is in the interest of this child.

And I must tell you that, while I believe that the First

Amendment has virtually unlimited bounds, and I am a

very strong believer in the First Amendment, I think

that in this case it has been exceeded. I must tell you

that I just—those bounds have been exceeded, and, there-

fore, I am going to issue the TRO, and I believe there

is the strong likelihood that the parties will prevail be-

cause I believe this is in the interest of this child, and

I will set this down for a hearing in 10 days.

Do I have a date? And I don’t believe that your organ-

ization will be hurt one bit if you just wait until we

get this thing litigated.

Mr. Lewin, are you going to be able to stay in on

this?

32a

MR. LEWIN: Your Honor, as I advised the Court,

I am now personally in the middle of a trial in Los

Angeles.

THE COURT: You personally?

[38] MR. LEWIN: It will be—I think it will be con-

cluded in two weeks. Either I or somebody else from

my firm will handle it.

THE COURT: Good. Just let me know who that is.

MR. LEVINE: Your Honor, I know you’ve entered

your ruling. There was—at least for the record, I’d

like to get in one other thing, if that’s permissible.

Ms. Mittleman alluded to it this morning. I’d like

to hand up to the Court a copy of the decision issued

by Judge Gesell two days ago. In that decision, Your

Honor, Judge Gesell dismissed an invasion of privacy

claim brought by Dr. Foretich against Glamour Maga-

zine on the grounds that the State of Virginia in which

Dr. Foretich lives does not recognize the cause of action,

and under District of Columbia choice of law rules, it

is the Virginia law that applies.

I would argue just for the record that that ruling

should control this case and that there should be no cog-

nizable right to privacy.

THE COURT: Well, I’ll read it. Again, all these

things, and I have a great respect for Judge Gesell. It’s

unusual that we would see things differently, but I don’t

know whether this is the same type of case.

MS. MITTLEMAN: Your Honor, I’d like to respond

to what he said.

THE COURT: Well, I will in just a second. Just

give [39] me a chance here. That I am not making

any final decisions at this point. I am giving you what

I believe that I think when I balance the interest of the

young child and I balance the interest of the First

Amendment, and of your client, I believe that I am com-

pelled to give the child’s interests the higher priority

here and to put a TRO on it as this time until this

matter can be further fully explored.

33a

What did you want to say? You’ve been quiet and

I think you have a right to say something.

MS. MITTLEMAN: Ill just be very brief, but in

terms of the invasion of privacy, Your Honor is correct.

We have not mentioned anything about a tort. We have

not couched it as invasion of privacy. But Dr. Foretich

is a resident of Virginia. As I said this morning, Hilary

is presumably a resident of the District of Columbia,

which does have the tort of invasion of privacy. The

Vaciliatis case is well known.

THE COURT: Well, this is going to be a nationwide,

and I assume there has got to be an invasion of—if

that’s the tort, there has got to be somewhere in this

country where that applies.

MS. MITTLEMAN: I’m saying that relying on

Judge Gesell’s opinion based on Dr. Foretich’s residency

in Virginia. It’s not our point.

THE COURT: I understand. At this point, I am

issuing a TRO.

[40] MS. MITTLEMAN: I'd like one more thing.

In terms of the evidence, I don’t know if the tape was

introduced into evidence. If so, I don’t know if you

would want to introduce it in—

THE COURT: Yes, the tape will be in evidence as

your Exhibit 1 and as the guardian ad litem’s Exhibit

1. I will enter into evidence both of these declarations.

(Plaintiff’s Exhibit No. 1 marked for identification

and received in evidence. )

MR. LEVINE: Can we also—

THE COURT: But I do think that I would like to

see some testimony. I would like to hear from the mother

as to how she believes that this is in the best interest

of this child as opposed to being in the best interest of

herself. I would like to know, and I think these have

all got to be resolved at the hearing. I think that we

need some experts, quite frankly, other than experts

who have an interest in this matter.

ee

iene

34a

MR. LEVINE: Your Honor, in—

THE COURT: Wait a minute. Another thought I

just had, I would like to know how the mother—i mean

how this whole thing was arranged and why it was, in

fact, given, something as private as this turned over to

the media. To make a circus out of this thing? I really

must—you got me really worked up now, but I really

must tell you that I can’t see how this is much different

than—-not that this is child [41] pornography, but dif-

ferent than a child pornographer that goes out and abuses

a little child. I really don’t.

While motives might be different, the effect is the

same on this little child. And, you know, as I review

that, the business of cutting off this child’s face is ab-

solutely brutal. I think it adds to the terrible impression

you get from this film. I mean that was particularly

bothersome.

By the way, I’m going to limit it only to that first—

to the part that I saw. I assume you know what it is.

The part that involves where you put that thing. All

right. Does that properly describe it or is there some—

MR. -LEWIN: Well, Your Honor, I guess I was

speaking of that part, and then I mentioned there was

another part, and I guess the proposed order that the

plaintiffs had submitted related to any part in which

Hilary is shown. Now, I assume they—there are photo-

graphs of Hilary. I think photographs of Hilary have

been generally available, but there is another portion

where again her face is as Your Honor has said is sort

of blocked out where there is a social worker who comes

to the house to take her for visitation with her father.

THE COURT: I didn’t see that.

MR. LEWIN: That’s in the film.

THE COURT: I know. But you got to understand.

I didn’t have 40 minutes today to see it. I didn’t have

your luxury, Mr. Lewin.

35a

[42] If you want me to look at that, I'll look at that at

this time, but i did nut see that part. The part that I

saw was the part that you saw.

MR. LEWIN: Well, I don’t know whether the de-

fendants will be playing this film if that portion is re-

moved or whether the choice is that the entire film will

not be played without it. If so, that question may be

moot. On the other hand,—

THE COURT: Describe what you saw that you

didn’t like, and why you didn’t like it.

MR. LEWIN: Well, because what happens is she

is sitting there in her mother’s lap. The social worker

says, you know, I’ve come to take you for your father.

She starts crying. Her face again is sort of blocked out.

She’s crying. Then there is the scene—what happens

is it pans away from that particular view. She continues

to cry in the background while Dr. Morgan is describ-

ing the fact that she went through great turmoil in

terms of permitting her child to go through this. So you

have the voice of Hilary in the background.

It is not, as I say, as offensive as the other portion,

not as much of an invasion of privacy, but, again, if

I was viewing it from the child’s interest, which Your

Honor has instructed me, then—

THE COURT: All right. Ill order that other part,

and if it is reversed, it can be reversed from that. But

the key to this is again, I hope you folks understand what

I’m [43] saying that I’m looking that if there is such

a cause of action, which I believe there is, and at the

end of the case, I believe that I would be entitled to say

that that document should not be shown any more, even

if it had been shown 100 times out there. That I be-

lieve that that is enough to—now, I could be wrong.

But that’s where I am, and does somebody have a piece

of paper for me to sign?

MR. LEVINE: Your Honor, before you irrevocably

put pen to paper on this, may I think in fairness to

36a

the Court because of some comments you made, I need

to make a couple of comments.

Dr. Froning who executed the affidavit who was the

person who gave permission to give the tapes for use in

this documentary and advised Dr. Morgan that that

would be a good idea is here. She—

THE COURT: What?

MR. LEVINE: She is here.

THE COURT: She’s here?

MR. LEVINE: Yes.

THE COURT: Well, why didn’t you put her on the

stand?

MR. LEVINE: If you want to, I’ll be happy to do

that. Also, Dr. Foretich is here. Dr. Morgan who you

alluded to is in New Zealand, and I don’t think she’s

going to be here [44] in the next 10 days.

THE COURT: Well, I would like to have those peo-

ple, but we’ll do that at the preliminary injunction. At

this stage, it’s 10 minutes to 5:00. I promised Mr.

Lewin, who has some religious beliefs that he has to sat-

isfy tonight that I would not tie him up that tong, and

I assume you are going to try to appeal this, and so,

therefore, I think if the Court of Appeals wants to send

it back and you can keep these people here to take some

testimony, I’ll be prepared to take testimony. Do you

have somebody from your office here who can—

MR. LEWIN: Yes, I have my partner, Mr. Braga,

is here.

THE COURT: And I know him well. The child will

be ably represented.

MR. LEVINE: I just feel that I need for the record,

Your Honor, to make it clear that she is here and is

available.

THE COURT: I know. But I wish you would have

told me before.

MR. LEWIN: Your Honor, if it is going to take

another 20 minutes or half an hour, I can be here. I

mean, I don’t mind, if Your Honor wants to have—

37a

THE COURT: Well, if you feel that—do you want

to introduce some testimony?

MR. LEVINE: Your Honor, my feeling is—

[45] THE COURT: Well, put your witness on.

MR. LEVINE: All right.

Now, did I understand Your Honor to say that you

would be enjoining this other portion?

THE COURT: No, I’m not going to be enjoining

anything. I’m going to hear testimony.

MR. LEVINE: I understand that. But if you were—

I didn’t understand the result of the last colloquy before

we got to this testimony. —

THE COURT: Well, let me just hear this testimony.

MARY FRONING, DEFENDANTS’ WITNESS,

SWORN >

BY MR. LEVINE:

Q. Could you state your name for the record please?

A. Dr. Mary L. Froning, F-R-O-N-I-N-G.

Q. What is your occupation, Dr. Froning?

A. I’m a licensed psychologist.

Q. Can you tell the Court a bit about your educa-

tional background and training?

A. I received a doctorate in clinical psychology and

then began to specialize in children and families and

finally in child sexual abuse, which has been my field |

since 1984.

Q. Where are you currently employed?

A. I’m in a group private practice in Silver Spring,

Maryland.

Q. Are you familiar with the Chesapeake Institute?

[46] A. Yes, I began working there in February—

excuse me, August, 1984.

Q. And how long did you work there?

A. Until January of 1989.

Q. In what capacity?

A. Iwas the senior staff psychologist.

38a

Q. What did you do as senior staff psychologist of

the Chesapeake Institute?

A. Chesapeake Institute is a center for the study,

evaluation and treatment of child sexual abuse. I did

research, performed evaluations and treatment of all

people involved with child sexual abuse, offenders, child

and adult victims and other family members.

Q. Did you during that period at the Chesapeake

Institute have occasion to examine and treat Hilary

Foretich?

A. Yes, I did. I began to see her in January of 1986.

Q. How long did you see Hilary?

A. I saw her continuously between January of ’86

and August of 1987 for a total of 87 sessions.

Q. Were you her treating psychologist?

A. Yes, I was.

Q. Did there come a time when you were contacted

by someone named Steven Lambert?

A. Yes.

Q. Who is Steven Lambert?

[47] A. Steven Lambert is the producer for Hilary in

Hiding of the BBC.

Q. That’s the broadcast that you understand to be

at issue today; is that correct?

A. Yes.

Q. Could you tell the Court a little bit about the

circumstances under which you made available to Mr.

Lambert the videotapes that have occupied our attention

here this evening?

A. Yes. Mr. Lambert came to me first in the sum-

mer of ’89 and then for I think production reasons things

got cancelled, and then came back to me in the fall of

’°89. In order to better understand this case, he wanted

to talk to Hilary’s treating therapist, and I spoke with

him at length.

At some point in time, I don’t recall exactly how, the

existence of the videotapes became known to him, but

| 39a

he knew of them and I told him that I thought they

were heipful to the understanding of the case.

Q. Before we get to that, Doctor, how is that you felt

that you were professionally permitted to be having dis-

cussions with Mr. Lambert about one of your patients?

A. I had a release from Dr. Morgan, who is Hilary’s

legal custodian. We updated that every six months to

make sure that she continued to believe that was in her

child’s best interest.

MR. LEVINE: Your Honor, may I approach the

witness with a copy of the consent forms?

[48] THE COURT: You certainly may.

MR. LEVINE: Could I ask that it be marked for

identification as Defendant’s Exhibit 1, I guess.

(Defendant’s Exhibit No. 1 marked for identification. )

BY MR. LEVINE:

Q. Could you describe for the Court what Defendant’s

Exhibit 1 is?

A. There are two releases. One is—they are both exe-

cuted by Dr. Elizabeth Morgan, one for Hilary and one

for Dr. Morgan herself.

MR. LEVINE: Your Honor, I’d like to move the ad-

mission of Defendant’s Exhibit 1.

THE COURT: Admitted into evidence.

(Defendant’s Exhibit No. 1 received in evidence. )

BY MR. LEVINE:

Q. When you talked to Mr. Lambert about providing

him with copies of the tapes, what—did you tell him that

he had your permission to use the tapes?

A. At the point at which we were discussing it, it

was only to help him understand the case. At some point

in time, and he was—asked to view them with me. Un-

fortunately, I was unavailable. So Dr. Morgan picked up

the tapes. They were in my possession and viewed them

with Mr. Lambert. At some point [49] in time then

there was a decision made to use them in the broadcast.

tll

40a

Q. Did you give your permission to Mr. Lambert to

use the tapes in the broadcast?

A. I don’t believe specific permission, but through

Dr. Morgan it came to be agreed that they would be

helpful.

Q. And you had no problem with that?

A. Ihad no problem.

Q. Why did you believe that it was appropriate to use

the tape recordings in the broadcast?

A. I need to add that it was with the expressed rea-

son that permission was given only if Hilary’s face were

shadowed, and that was because that at the time she was

still in hiding and I did not want to in any way provide

help for hiding—for finding Hilary.

THE COURT: What was this? Ave you telling me

she was still in hiding, and you knew she was in hiding?

THE WITNESS: Everyone knew she was in hiding.

THE COURT: But you knew where she was?

THE WITNESS: No, no, no, sir, I did not. But I

didn’t want her picture—these were films that were taken

in 1987, before she went into hiding.

THE COURT: Oh, I see. Before she went into

hiding:

THE WITNESS: Yes.

BY MR. LEVINE:

[50] Q. Why did you believe it was appropriate to use

the tapes in the context of this documentary?

A. It’s my position that in order for people to protect

Hilary, they needa to believe her story, which she tells

pretty ably in those videotapes, that she is a sexually

abused child. And I don’t think people can understand

that other than hearing from Hilary herself.

. Has there been some problem from your perspec-

tive with the credibility vis a vis others of Dr. Morgan

when she tells Hilary’s story or when others tell Hilary’s

story?

4la

A. Right. The typical story of, you know, he says

this and she says that has left people totally confused I

think.

Q. Doctor, have you talked to Hilary about the issue

of whether or not events—the events depicted on the

videotape or others like them concerning her should be

publicized?

A. Ihad one conversation with her about it.

Q. Did you make notes of that conversation?

A. Yes, I did.

MR. LEVINE: Your Honor, may I approach the wit-

ness.

THE COURT: Yes. Now, who did you have the con-

versation with?

THE WITNESS: With Hilary Foretich.

THE COURT: When was that?

THE WITNESS: August 20 of 1986 when this case

first became public.

[51] THE COURT: These tapes became public in

1986?

THE WITNESS: No, the case did, because her

mother went to jail the first time in August of 1986.

THE COURT: And you saw her when?

THE WITNESS: I started seeing her in January and

continued to see her until she went into hiding.

THE COURT: In 1986?

THE WITNESS: Right. All through 1986 and part

of 1987.

THE COURT: And you had a conversation with her?

THE WITNESS: About publicity.

BY MR. LEVINE:

Q. I’ve handed you what I’ve asked the Court to mark

for identification as Defendant’s Exhibit 2. Can you

identify that document?

MS. MITTLEMAN: Judge Dickson has taken ex-

traordinary measures over these years to keep Hilary’s

42a

privacy maintained, and it is my understanding that this

type of material is under seal in the D.C. Superior Court.

THE COURT: And it will remain under seal here.

You have no problem with it being placed under seal?

MR. LEVINE: With the notes I have no problem.

THE COURT: What?

MR. LEVINE: I have no problem that the notes are

under seal.

[52] THE COURT: Admitted into evidence under

seal.

(Defendant’s Exhibit No. 2 marked for identification

and received in evidence under seal. )

BY MR. LEVINE:

Q. Can you describe for the Court your conversations

with Hilary concerning publicity? If the notes will help

you refresh your recollection, feel free to refer to them.

A. These were notes taken at the time, usually 10

minutes after the sessions. This particular note then was

taken on August 20, 1986. Hilary came in talking about

the fact that she had seen something on TV of which I

was a part about her having been sexually abused. So

we began to talk about it.

What I explained to her was that I had two different

ideas about this. One that I wanted to protect her pri-

vacy, and second of all, that I wanted people to know

that she and her mother were telling the truth about what

had happened. She seemed to understand that, and I

think got closer to me at the end of that session than she

had been for a long time, which is I think she thought I

understood how she felt about things.

Q. Have you had an opportunity to review the broad-

cast, Hilary in Hiding, that is at issue in this case?

A. Yes, I have.

Q. Do you have a professional judgment based on

your treatment of Hilary with respect to whether the

airing of this [53] broadcast would cause her any harm?

A. Yes, I do.

—

43a

Q. And what is your opinion?

A. In my opinion, based on my knowledge of Hilary,

I believe that it helps create an atmosphere of protection

for her, and that to me is the main reason for any press

coverage, is her protection. Based on my knowledge of

her, I do not see a negative outcome for her based on this

particular broadcast, which I think protects her privacy

as well as it can by the shadowing of her face.

Q. Have you seen other broadcasts about Hilary here

in the United States over the last six months?

A. Yes. ;

Q. Based on your observation, is this broadcast ma-

terially different in the impact that it would have on

Hilary as any of those other broadcasts?

A. I believe it is one of the ones that might have a

more positive impact for her safety.

Q. And why is that?

A. Because I think it presents Hilary’s story by see-

ing Hilary.

MR. LEVINE: Your Honor, I have no further ques-

tions.

THE COURT: All right.

CROSS-EXAMINATION

BY MR. LEWIN:

[54] Q. Dr. Froning, with regard to the episodes that

are on the film, am I correct in saying that—firs? of all,

were you there when that film was made?

A. The one with David Corwin and myself and Dr.

Morgan and Hilary, yes, I was there.

Q. And if I recall correctly, you were in the room,

but not during the period of time that makes up the bulk

of what is on the film?

A. That’s correct.

Q. And am I correct in saying that, in fact, Hilary

did not want you or Dr. Corwin to be in the room when

she was making these statements?

A. That’s correct.

44a

Q. And this is after you had been her therapist for

how long?

A. Eleven month.

Q. And this was sometime after this meeting in Au-

gust when you say you went on television; is that cor-

rect?

A. That’s correct.

Q. And so she was only ready to disclose that when

you were out of the room and Dr. Corwin was out of the

room?

A. That seemed to be more comfortable to her, yes.

Q. And just in terms of your expert opinion, is it fair

to say that the child under those circumstances is really

disclosing something that is most private to her if she

wants everybody else to leave other than her mother?

[55] <A. I don’t know if private is the word I would

use. Maybe something she’s ashamed of.

Q. She’s ashamed of. So she doesn’t want it known

by anybody other than her mother in the confidentiality

of that room?

A. I don’t know that I can interpret that from that

action of Hilary.

Q. Well, how else would you interpret her asking you

and Dr. Corwin to leave?

A. Just because it is more comfortable for her to tell

her mom. She’s more used to telling her mom. She was

thinking about the feelings she was having right then and

not who would see this or anything like that.

Q. And you think a child would not feel betrayed if

afterwards it turned out that what she told her mom

confidentially after she asked you and Dr. Corwin to

leave is broadcast to the entire world on television?

A. I don’t—she knew it was being videotaped, and

she knew chat Dr. Corwin and I would see the tape. We

made that clear to her.

Q. You told her that you were going to see the tape?

A. Yes.

45a

Q. And nonetheless, she—

THE COURT: How old was she at this time?

THE WITNESS: Four years old.

BY MR. LEWIN:

[56] Q. Now, you’ve been experienced in other cases,

haven’t you, of sexual abuse?

A. Yes.

Q. And isn’t it true that in the usual sexual abuse

case with a minor, the minor is really very reluctant to

talk about the episode?

A. Absolutely.

Q. And that it is ordinarily viewed as embarrassing

by the child to have to speak about it and to have it

made public?

A. To speak about it, sometimes to have it made pub-

lie.

Q. Well, would you say sometimes more often than

not?

A. Probably.

Q. And, in fact, isn’t it true that in order to over-

come that, you’ve got to really kind of persuade the child

that it was good for it to become public in some way?

A. I wouldn’t say that. I would talk to them about

the issues that it brings up for them. I know of a par-

ticular child, if you’d like an example of how it was

handled when it became public.

Q. But we had a conversation this afternoon in which

you told me, did you not, that really in these other cases

that you’ve had, the children have expressed concern and

then you had to be talking to them and persuading them

that it was really no shame for them to become public?

A. That’s correct.

157] Q. But that ordinarily children view it as being

an embarrassment and a shame for them for that to be

public.

A. That’s because of the context that incest occurs,

which is that it is secret and that it is done without any-

46a

one else present. They have—children have a feeling of

shame about it. You know, I don’t believe that we, as a

society, should add to that shame.

Q. Well, would you generally believe that conversa-

tions that you have with children.who have reports of

being sexually abused, would it be good for those children

if those sessions with them were broadcast on television

to the public?

A. Oh, absolutely not. I mean this—

Q. It would be harmful, wouldn’t it?

A. —is a most extraordinary situation.

Q. But in the ordinary case it would be very harmful

to a child to broadcast a session in which the child is

describing an incestuous sexual episode with a parent;

is that true? In the ordinary case?

A. Without permission of the child?

Q. Well, let’s take a four year old child, with or with-

out permission. First of all, is the permission of a four

year old child, I mean, do you think that’s really some-

thing that ought to bind whether a matter like that ought

to go on television?

A. Well, I’m a clinician, not a lawyer.

[58] Q. I understand.

But as a clinician, do you think ié is good in the long

run for a child, for that child to be bound by what she

says at the age of four years old as to whether she thinks

she wants to be on television?

A. I can’t answer that question. I don’t know. That

would be speculation.

Q. Well, you’d agree with me, that’s not really sensi-

ble that a child ought to be bound by—

A. That’s all we have. That’s all we have. If we had

something else, then—

Q. And you’d agree with me that ordinarily it would

be very harmful to a child to broadcast over television

this very private discussion that she has about a sexual

episode that she relates happened to her?

A. If she wanted people to know about it, then I don’t

think it would be very harmful. If she didn’t want people

47a

to know about it, then I would think it might be harmful

to her.

Q. Well, would you agree with me that if she wanted

everybody to leave the room at the time, she apparently

did not want everybody to know about it?

A. I don’t think that you can draw that conclusion,

because what she was saying is she is just more com-

fortable talking about it without us there. She knew—

she had told those things to me many times, and she told

Dr. Corwin many times [59] after that about her abuse.

It’s just that particular time she didn’t feel comfortable

doing it.

Q. It’s a fact, is it not, Dr. Froning, that the reason

for your conclusion is that you are firmly and totally

persuaded and you fully believe that, in fact, Hilary

Foretich was sexually abused?

A. Yes.

Q. If that were—if there was some doubt in your

mind about whether she had been sexually abused, you

would agree that it would be harmful for that kind of

intimate discussion to be broadcast publicly; is that true?

A. I don’t have any clinical experience to answer that

question.

Q. Well, let me ask you about clinical experience.

You sometimes have patients or children who report to

you that they have been sexually abused, but you may

have some doubt about whether they have or have not

been sexually abused?

A. That’s true.

Q. Would you have any doubt at all in your mind

that if you had such a meeting with a child, and there

were some doubt about whether the child was sexually

abused, that it would be harmful to that child to have

such a meeting broadcast on television?

A. That’s such a hypothetical. I’m really having a

hard time answering that hypothetical because the issue

is protection, [60] not privacy.

48a

Q. No, no. I mean you have had cases of children

about whom will tell you that they have been sexually

abused, but you are not sure whether they have or have

not. Has that happened?

A. If there were a privacy, privacy would come first,

unless protection needed to come first.

THE COURT: But he’s asking you a very simple

question. If a child has come and has been mistaken or

has told you a fantasy, he’s asking you how would the

child be better off if you put that on nationwide televi-

sion, which would only prove that the child has fantasized.

How would that child be better off?

THE WITNESS: I don’t think he or she would be

better off.

THE COURT: Is that the question you were asking?

MR. LEWIN: Well, yes.

BY MR. LEWIN:

Q. But even short of that, if you didn’t know whether

it was a fantasy or not. In other words, what I am say-

ing to you, assume with me that you have a child who

tells you this kind of an intimate story and you don’t

know whether it is true or not. You would agree, would

you not, as a professional psychologist that it would be

harmful to that child to have the confidential discussion

with you in which she describes her sexual abuse broad-

cast on television?

[61] A. Yes, I agree.

Q. And, therefore, the only reason why you are stat-

ing your conclusion from the witness stand here today is

because you believe personally from all your discussions

that there was sexual abuse?

A. Correct, and Hilary needs protection from that.

Q. But to the extent that a Court concludes that at

the present time it doesn’t know whether there was sexual

abuse, you agree, as a professional, that it would be

harmful to a child in that cireumstance where you don’t

49a

know whether there is sexual abuse to broadcast this

kind of a film?

A. I’m not a lawyer or a judge. I’m a clinician mak-

ing decisions on—

THE COURT: I think she’s answered the question.

Let’s go on.

MR. LEWIN: All right.

BY MR. LEWIN:

Q. And finally, let me ask you, you’ve said in answer

to questions from defendants’ counsel that you don’t think

that this film is materially different from any other

things that have appeared on television regarding this

case. Has there been any other—

A. I don’t believe that’s what I said.

Q. Oh, I don’t know. What did you mean when you

said it wasn’t materially different?

[62] A. The only thing that is different is the Corwin

piece, because that has not been shown before.

Q. All right.

Well, that’s what I’m asking you. Would you agree

with me that that piece which has Hilary describing all

this is materially different from anything that has ever

appeared on television before, except for this film to the

extent it has appeared on television?

A. I think it is different, yes.

Q. And it is different from your vantage point in

terms of the impact on the child as a psychologist. See

that that being on television has more—is likely to have

more of a lasting impact on her than any other thing

that has heretofore appeared on television?

A. Iwouldn’t make that conclusion.

Q. Well, do you think it makes a material difference

to her psychological well being whether or not this partic-

ular portion appears on television?

A. I don’t know whether she would have more problem

with her erying on TV or her telling about the abuse on

TV.

50a

Q. Oh, good. I’m glad you raised that.

How about the crying on TV? Would that have some

psychological impact, the crying? aint about the abuse.

A. I don’t know.

Q. You’re a psychologist. Do you think it would in

terms of [63] children of that age if their crying in these

circumstances is broadeast and is, therefore, available to

the public and can always be sort of played back to them

or people can say they’ve seen it. Could that have a harm-

ful impact on a child?

A. I suppose it’s possible. You have to weigh the

greater harm of lack of protection.

Q. And to you the ultimate thing is that this child

has to be protected from Dr. Foretich?

A. She has to be protected from further sexual abuse,

yes.

Q. And that justifies putting it on television? That’s

the thing to your mind justifies putting it on television?

A. Absolutely.

Q. And it is a fact, is it not, that in terms of your

professional relationship with Hilary that has grown out

of Dr. Morgan retaining the Chesapeake Institute?

A. That’s correct.

Q. So that you have essentially been paid for your

services through the Chesapeake Institute which was re-

tained by Dr. Morgan?

A. At $16 a hour, yes.

MR. LEWIN: Thank you.

THE COURT: He’s getting noting. Usually law-

yers, you can make them feel bad when you say some-

thing like that, but not this one.

Now, would you tell me in this Exhibit 2, there is a

[64] little asterisk and it says, “I explained my difficul-

ties.” Is that you talking?

THE WITNESS: Yes.

THE COURT: And it says, “I wanted people to be-

lieve her and her mother.” Is that what it says?

5la

THE WITNESS: That’s correct.

THE COURT: But I felt badly about sharing private

things about her on TV.

THE WITNESS: That’s right.

THE COURT: She seemed to understand. What did

you mean by that?

THE WITNESS: I was sharing things that had gone

on in our sessions, and she and I both knew that those

were private.

THE COURT: Well, what did you mean by you felt

badly about sharing private things on TV?

THE WITNESS: Oh, I had been interviewed on TV

about Hilary’s abuse.

THE COURT: And she saw that?

THE WITNESS: She saw one broadcast.

THE COURT: And she was unhappy about it?

THE WITNESS: She was initially unhappy, and

then seemed to understand after we talked about it.

THE COURT: And you said, you felt badly about it?

THE WITNESS: I did. I had some concerns. I mean

[65] psychologists are not used to sharing confidential

information.

THE COURT: In this case here, how did you meet

those concerns or satisfy those concerns when don’t you

usually try to get the permission of the patient?

THE WITNESS: Well, I got her mother’s permission.

THE COURT: You got the mother’s permission.

THE WITNESS: That’s what is required in the

ethics of a psychologist.

THE COURT: But weren’t you aware there was a

guardian ad litem here?

THE WITNESS: There was not yet one appointed

at that point.

THE COURT: There had not been one appointed at

this time?

THE WITNESS: Until September of 1987.

THE COURT: When was that, September?

THE WITNESS: Yes, and this was August.

THE COURT: So you felt—

52a

MS. MITTLEMAN: Not 1987, Your Honor. Hilary

was abducted in August of 1986.

THE WITNESS: Excuse me. September of ’86.

THE COURT: Well, can I get the date when the

guardian ad litem was appointed?

THE WITNESS: September ’86. It was after Dr.

Morgan got out of jail the first time.

[66] THE COURT: Soin September of ’86—

MS. MITTLEMAN: She was appointed to facilitate

the visitation and most of these so-called therapy ses-

sions were under court supervision, et cetera. So there

was certainly access to getting other permission besides

Dr. Morgan.

THE COURT: Are you saying that all these per-

missions that you granted and gave all took place be-

fore a guardian ad litem had been appointed?

THE WITNESS: No, my understanding of the role

of the guardian ad litem was only to do with things

that occurred in D.C. Superior Court. That was what

was explained to me by the guardian.

THE COURT: Yes but don’t you think that that

would have been a person that you should have gone

to since you knew there was this litigation between the

mother and the doctor, Dr. Foretich. I guess they are

both doctors. Between her mother and her father.

THE WITNESS: The only conversation—well, the

only—I did talk with her about publicity?

THE COURT: And what did she say?

THE WITNESS: Well, I sent her an article where

I was quoted, and she sent me back a note and said,

thank you.

THE COURT: But she’s here today opposing this. I

assume she’s still opposing this; is that correct?

MS. MITTLEMAN: Yes, Your Honor. She is just

ill [67] today.

THE COURT: All right.

THE WITNESS: We have very different views of

this case, Ms. Holman and I.

58a

THE COURT: I know you do. I must assume you

have.

All right. Anything further? Is there anything

further? Any further witnesses?

Do you have any further witnesses?

MS. MITTLEMAN: I'd like to—

THE COURT: Go ahead. But let’s do it quickly.

MS. MITTLEMAN: Very, very briefly. I would just

like to comment that if she was proffered as some sort

of an expert witness, we would object to that.

THE COURT: She hasn’t been qualified as an ex-

pert. She’s a fact witness.

MS. MITTLEMAN: Okay. Exactly. That’s my

point.

THE COURT: In this jurisdiction, usually a fact

witness cannot be an expert witness.

MS. MITTLEMAN: Okay. That would be my point

that she would be a fact witness, and so that her testi-

mony as to what is good treatment or bad treatment is

only a fact.

THE COURT: Is there anything further?

MS. MITTLEMAN: I would also like to mention that

Mary Froning and Chesapeake Institute are defendants

in another litigation pending in the United States Dis-

trict Court.

[68] THE COURT: For whom?

MS. MITTLEMAN: Whoare the plaintiffs?

THE COURT: No, who has that case?

MS. MITTLEMAN: Judge Green.

THE COURT: Well, how many judges do you have

in this case? How can we have all the judges? You

have Green. You got Gesell. Why don’t you the next

time put in a related case and then give it to the first

judge that had it. I mean I don’t think we can tie up

the whole bench here.

MS. MITTLEMAN: I agree, Your Honor. That was

one reason why asking for a remedy of coming to Court

after this thing was broadcast would just be one more

54a

case. I mean, you know, the travesty that is done to

Hilary— |

THE COURT: I think that I would suggest to my

brethren and sisters on the bench that somehow we get—

which Green was it, Joyce or Harold?

MS. MITTLEMAN: Harold Green. That would be

fine, Your Honor.

THE COURT: And who was the first judge that had

one of these cases?

MS. MITTLEMAN: Judge Gesell.

THE COURT: Are you the one that is bringing all

these cases?

MS. MITTLEMAN: Yes, Your Honor.

THE COURT: I would suggest that we get them

before [69] one judge.

MS. MITTLEMAN: That would be acceptable.

THE COURT: See, you’re running in now—I’m be-

ing accused of deciding differently than Judge Gesell,

and that’s what we’re trying to avoid.

MS. MITTLEMAN: I understand that.

THE COURT: Now, but I don’t know. I think we’re

going to have to handle it. Betty, will you talk to the

other Clerks and see how they want to handle this.

Anything further you have? Oh, I’m sorry. Go ahead.

MR. LEWIN: Your Honor, I’d just like to—

THE COURT: I cut you off. Did you want to have

any questions you want to ask?

MS. MITTLEMAN: Well, I mean, if she’s a fact wit-

ness, she stated what she observed. So I’m not going—in

other words, I’m not going to rely on her opinion.

THE COURT: I think Mr. Lewin did a pretty good

job.

Go ahead.

MR. LEWIN: As far as I’m concerned, the witness

can step down.

THE COURT: Al! right. You may step down.

(Witness excused. )

THE COURT: All right.

55a

MR. LEVINE: Your Honor, I just want to make two

very quick points. I realize the hour is getting late. One

is that [70] can we just have it agreed that for purposes

of an appellate record everything that we’ve submitted

with our papers, including the two tapes and the affi-

davits this morning are in evidence for purposes of—

THE COURT: Yes. But let me say this to you. I,

again, the last I’ve seen of the law on TRO’s, I don’t

know that they are appealable. There may be some excep-

tion. But this is a TRO that I’m issuing in this case, and

I am setting a preliminary injunction for—well, 10 days

takes us te recess. I will put it on the 17th. You’re

assuming you’re going to appeal, and I assume that for

one day that you will maintain the TRO. If you don’t,

I’ll issue another one.

This will be the 17th, at 10:00 a.m. or 9:30.

MR. LEVINE: Your Honor, just for the interest of

completeness of the record, I feel like I must make one

point.

THE COURT: Surely. You’ve been very good, I[

must tell you. I admire you. Go ahead.

MR. LEVINE: If there is one thing that is clear in

the law surrounding the First Amendment, and I’m quot-

ing directly from cases, there is a “heavy presumption”

against prior restraints. That means they have the bur-

den to show that they’ve got a cause of action, that

they’ve got evidence in support of the cause of action.

There is no heavier presumption in our law, it seems to

me than that against prior restraints.

[71] THE COURT: I understand that.

MR. LEVINE: And I’m faced with a situation here

where they have known about this broadcast for over a

month. They apply for a TRO the night before the broad-

east is supposed to come on. They put on absolutely no

evidence, not a centilla [sic] of evidence. We come forward

with evidence, including the views of a clinician who has

examined the child 80 times that this is not a problem.

They have no evidence to rebut it.

56a

THE COURT: They have had the most graphic and

the most dynamic evidence that you could conceive of,

and that’s the document itself, and I don’t know what

more—he now has the witness here I think that shows

that she may not have been as careful as she should have

been in this case. So I think they’ve got evidence.

And, indeed, this is a TRO. There is a legal issue here.

You’re looking at it strictly from the First Amendment.

I believe you’ve got to look at it from the First Amend-

ment, but you also got to look at it from the interest of

this child.

And we in this country are very protective of children,

and we’ve got a four year old girl that we’re now told

gave a consent. How conceivably could she have done

that? Unless she might be a rocket scientist. I mean

what they did to this—if there has been abuse, in my

view, there has been a grave abuse of this child, of mak-

ing her—why she needs 11 [72] months of being under

a doctor’s care when they are videotaping every one of

these sessions and then giving it to the media. I can’t

understand that.

MR. LEVINE: Your Honor, with all due respect--

THE COURT: Really, I must tell you, and, again, I

den’t want to take any sides in this crazy kind of litiga-

tion, but I wish someone would look at this child’s inter-

est. That was my concern, and I can’t conceive—as a

father, as a parent, I cannot conceive that this could in

any way be in the child’s interest.

MR. LEVINE: And Your Honor, if they had put on

a psychiatrist, if they had put on evidence, if they had

done anything to meet their burden.

THE COURT: They’ll be given that opportunity.

MR. LEVINE: But in the meantime, you are taking

a broadeast that has already been broadcast nationally

once, you say it’s a temporary restraining order. It is

still an injunction against publication, against broadcast

at this time.

57a

THE COURT: Go ahead. I’ve got to give you some

time, because he’s going to be going out of here.

MR. LEWIN: Just on that. Just on this last point,

Your Honor, I trust that the reason I sort of acquiesced

when I was told that there was a witness was that in

case there was any question about evidence, I .did want

to get something in on this. I think, frankly, if this case

is taken up on appeal, [73] the testimony of this witness

is I think helpful at least in terms of my case.

THE COURT: You got the tape.

MR. LEWIN: The tape and I would urge that the

transcript certainly be transcribed promptly, if, in fact,

counsel is planning to take this up to the Court of Ap-

peals. But I think the Court’s conclusion that there ought

to be a temporary restraining order issued can be based,

I think, on the tesitmony of this witness.

THE COURT: Fine. Will you give me a document

now? I have not seen that other piece, and since I have

not seen it, and you tell me—you know how to reach it?

MR. LEWIN: It very shortly follows—

THE COURT: We don’t have the film.

MR. LEVINE: It’s here.

THE COURT: You have it?

MR. LEVINE: It went back downstairs.

Perhaps we could short circuit this a little bit. I

talked to my clients before I came over here. They were

debating between whether they would pull the broadcast

totally or whether they would do something electronically

to remove the segment. I’ll represent to the Court that

if they are going to remove one for this purpose, they’ll

remove both. go they’ll either do neither or both.

THE COURT: Were you able to draft a piece of

paper [74] while you were waiting there?

MS. MITTLEMAN: There was an order, Your

Honor, attached.

THE COURT: Where’s the order?

58a

MR. LEVINE: Your Honor, I would vehemently ob-

ject to the order. It’s over broad. It refers to any visual

depiction of Hilary.

THE COURT: I’m not going to give an over broad

order.

Mr. Lewin, when do you think—I can give you a—I

got in my outer room a word processor.

MR. LEWIN: We’ll_draft up an order, Your Honor.

THE COURT: I want to see it. So you can wait in

the room. All right.

(Proceedings concluded at 5:25 p.m.).

* * * *

59a

APPENDIX D

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

Civil Action No. 90-0796

SPORKIN, J. SS

ERIC A. FORETICH,

10440 New Ascot Drive

Great Falls, VA 22066

(703) 759-5530

and

HILARY FORETICH, an infant who sues through

her father and next friend,

Diplomat Motel

127 Papanui Road

Christchurch 1, New Zealand,

Plaintiffs,

v.

LIFETIME CABLE

36 - 12 35th Av.

Astoria, NY 11106

(718) 482-4000

and

BRITISH BROADCASTING CORPORATION

2030 M St., N.W.

Suite 607

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 223-2050,

Defendants.

60a

COMPLAINT FOR PRELIMINARY AND

- PERMANENT INJUNCTION

[April 5, 1990]

1. Jurisdiction is founded upon 28 U.S.C. § 1331 and

§ 1332, and D.C. Code § 13-423(a). Venue lies in this

district under 28 U.S.C. § 1391, because the claims al-

leged arose in this district.

2. Plaintiff Eric A. Foretich, D.D.S., is an oral sur-

geon and the father of Hilary Foretich. He is a citizen

of the commonwealth of Virginia.

3. Plaintiff Hilary Foretich is the infant child of Eric

Foretich and Elizabeth Morgan. Hilary was born on

August 21, 1982. She was a citizen of the District of

Columbia, residing at 4401 Westover Place, N.W., Wash-

ington, D.C. 20016, before she was taken away from the

District of Columbia in violation of a court order in

Morgan v. Foretich, C.A. No. D-684-83, a case still pend-

ing in the D.C. Superior Court before Judge Dixon.

Hilary was recently located in New Zealand, living with

her maternal grandparents. Matters are pending at this

time in the New Zealand courts which will have a bear-

ing on Hilary’s residence.

4. Defendant Lifetime Cable is, upon information and

belief, a company which airs television programs over

cable. Upon information and belief, its principal place

of business is in New York.

5. Defendant British Broadcasting Corporation is,

upon information and belief, a foreign corporation. It

maintains an office in the District of Columbia.

FACTUAL BACKGROUND

6. The British Broadcasting Corporation (‘“BBC’’)

has produced a program titled Hilary in Hiding (“pro-

gram”). It was aired in Britain for their 40 Minutes

program.

‘

a

6la

7. Upon information and belief, Lifetime Cable will

air this program on the following dates: April 6 at 9

p.m., April 7 at 10 p.m., April 14 at 3 p.m., and April 19

at 2 p.m. The program is listed on pages 49 and 51 of

the TV Week section of The Washington Post, dated

April 1-7, 1990.

8. The Organization, Friends of Elizabeth Morgan

(“FEM’’) sends out a newsletter to an unknown number

of those on the mailing list. The newsletter dated Spring

1990 gives notice of the upcoming program under the

heading “Media Watch.”

9. FEM has an 800 toll-free number that informs the

caller about matters involving Dr. Morgan. The number

is 1-800-888-MRGN. Upon information and belief, the

message on the 800 number has recommended the upcom-

ing program, Hilary in Hiding.

10. The program contains two different tapes show-

ing Hilary. These tapes involve either conversations and

demonstrations with dolls about sexual matters, including

discussion of the genitals, or show Hilary in a private

Situation, including discussion with her mother and a

social worker about a visit with her father. Upon in-

formation and belief, the tape with Dr. Morgan aud the

social worker was filmed at Dr. Morgan’s former home

in the District of Columbia.

11. Upon information and belief, the tapes of Hilary

included in the program were prepared under the auspices

of her mother for use in litigation. As such, they have

no literary, scientific, educational or any other value to

the public.

12. The tapes explicitly depict Hilary in private situ-

ations, discussing intimate and purportedly sexual mat-

ters. They include some captioning in the apparent effort

to clarify Hilary’s statements to the viewing public.

13. The allegations of sexual abuse which are dis-

cussed in the program have not been substantiated in

62a

court. See Morgan v. Foretich, 546 A.2d 407, 410 (D.C.

App. 1988).

14. Dr. Foretich is portrayed in a false light in this

»rogram, particularly through the’showing of the tapes

of Hilary, which were prepared under the auspices of

Dr. Morgan.

15. Plaintiffs will be specially and irreparably harmed

by the airing of the program, particularly the segments

showing Hilary on camera. Plaintiffs have no adequate

remedy at law.

16. I, Linda P. Holman, the D.C. Superior Court-

appointed guardian ad litem for Hilary A. Foretich,

hereby join in the request to have those portions of the

broadeast which feature Hilary enjoined from airing.

One of the videotapes of Hilary was made during a

therapeutic session with David Corwin and Mary Froning

during litigation and the other was made before a court-

ordered visit with the court-appointed social worker. As

Hilary’s guardian ad litem, I object to the tapes’ airing.

I have not granted permission to have the tapes made

public nor would I ever do so. The therapeutic tape is

being broadcast in violation of Hilary’s doctor-patient

privilege, as I have not waived her right to confidential-

ity. More importantly, however, both of the videotapes

violate Hilary’s guaranteed rights to privacy. The tapes

are explicit and I believe their airing will irreparably

harm Hilary, both now and in the future as she matures.

Because the tapes are highly personal, private and inti-

mate, in Hilary’s best interest, they must remain so and

therefore be deleted from the program. Defendants can-

not demonstrate that they are prejudiced by the deletion

of these portions of the program. Although I strongly

object herein only to those portions of the prograra with

Hilary on, air, I believe the airing of the whole program

does a disservice to Hilary and also invades her right to

privacy.

63a

WHEREFORE, plaintiffs pray as follows:

A. For an Order declaring that the program Hilary

in Hiding will not include any portions or segments with

Hilary appearing on camera;

B. For a preliminary and permanent injunction, re-

straining defendants from any airing, licensing or dis-

tribution of the program, Hilary in Hiding, containing

segments showing Hilary on camera;

C. For an Order awarding plaintiffs their costs, ex-

penses and attorney’s fees; and

D. For such other and further relief as the Court may

deem appropriate.

Respectfully submitted,

qs/ Elaine Mittleman

ELAINE MITTLEMAN

Bar No. 317172

2040 Arch Drive

Falls Church, VA 22043

(703) 734-0482

Attorney for Dr. Foretich

/s/ Linda P. Holman

LINDA P. HOLMAN

Bar No. 341578

1800 11th St., N.W.

Suite 100

Washington, D.C. 20001-5015

(202) 797-1310

Guardian ad litem

for Hilary Foretich

64a

APPENDIX E

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

Civil Action No. 90-796 SS

ERIC A. FORETICH, et a/.,

Plaintiffs

Vv. is,

LIFETIME CABLE, et al.,

Defendants.

ORDER

It is this 6th day of April 1990,

ORDERED that Nathan Lewin, Esquire, is appointed

Guardian ad Litem for the minor plaintiff Hilary

Foretich.

‘s/ Stanley Sporkin

STANLEY SPORKIN

United States District Judge

Copies to:

Elaine Mittleman, Esq.

2040 Arch Drive

Falls Church, VA. 22043

Linda P. Holman, Esq.

1800 11th St. N.W., Suite 100

Washington, D.C. 20001-5015

Lee Levine, Esq.

toss, Dixon & Masback

555 13th St. N.W., Suite 1300 East

Washington, D.C. 20004

Nathan Lewin, Esq.

Miller, Cassidy, Larroca & Lewin

2555 M St. N.W., Suite 500

Washington, D.C. 20037 ;

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.