Appendix — Panhandle Eastern Pipe Line Co. v. Columbia Gas Transmission Corp.

Supreme Court brief1990

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Coort, US, |

89-200

FILED

No. JUN 22 1999

SPANIOL, JR.

CLERK

IN THE a

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

PANHANDLE EASTERN PIPE LINE COMPANY, et al.,

. Petitioners,

COLUMBIA GAS TRANSMISSION CORPORATION, et al.,

Respondents.

APPENDIX TO

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

MERLIN E. REMMENGA RAYMOND N. SHIBLEY

PANHANDLE EASTERN PIPE Counsel of Record

LINE COMPANY BRUCE W. NEELY

TRUNKLINE GAS COMPANY MARLENE L. STEIN

5400 Westheimer Court Le Boeur, LAMB, LEIBY &

Houston, Texas 77056 MACRAE

(713) 627-5400 1333 New Hampshire Ave., N.W.

Suite 1100

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 457-7500

Attorneys for Panhandle Eastern

Pipe Line Company and

Trunkline Gas Company

KIM M. COCKLIN ROBERT W. PERDUE

Senior Vice President and ANDREWS & KURTH

General Counsel 1701 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W.

DOUGLAS FIELD, JR. Washington, D.C. 20006

Assistant General Counsel (202) 662-2700

TEXAS GAS TRANSMISSION Attorneys for Texas Gas

CORPORATION Transmission Corporation

3800 Frederica Street

Owensboro, Kentucky 42301

(502) 926-8686

(Attorneys Continued on Inside Cover)

WILSON - EPES PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

JEFFREY A. BRUNER

General Attorney

TRANSCONTINENTAL GAS PIPE

LINE CORPORATION

P.O. Box 1396

Houston, Texas 77251

(718) 439-3156

June 22, 1990

ROBERT G. HARDY

MICHAEL J. FREMUTH

ANDREWS & KURTH

1701 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006

(202) 662-2700

Attorneys for Transcontinental

Gas Pipe Line Corporation

APPENDIX

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Opinion of the Court of Appeals (Coluwmbia-IT) ............ la

Order of the Court of Appeals Denying Rehearing and

Suggestions for Rehearing Hn Banc (Columbia-II)..... 15a

Order of the Court of Appeals Staying its Mandate

ERIE ERE an Ea eee ee Paarl EO 16a

Order of the FERC on Remand Granting Waivers

| Tia cca cs Stace OPES HU steel eve ESE 17a

Order of the FERC Dewvine Rehearing and Reconsid-

I Ta haenabienenean 27a

Order of the FERC Granting Authority to Implement

Direct Billing Procedure (Panhandle) ...................... 33a

FERC Notice of Denial of Rehearing by Operation of

Sia ln oe PTA ec eaee Be ete 4la

Opinion of the Court of Appeals (Columbia-I) ............ 42a

Opinion of the Court of Appeals on Petitions for Re-

i ccenemetbalaanten 57a

Order of the FERC Granting Petitions to Institute

Direct Billing Procedure for Retroactive Production-

Related Cost Aliowances (Transco) ...................2.02.... 60a

Order of the FERC Granting Petitions to Institute

Direct Billing Procedure for Retroactive Production-

Related Cost Allowances (Texas Eastern) ................ 79a

Order of the FERC Granting Petitions to Institute

Direct Billing Procedure for Retroactive Production-

Related Cost Allowances (Texas Gas) ........................ 87a

Order of the FERC Granting Petitions to ‘astitute

Direct Billing Procedure for Retroactive Production-

Related Cost Allowances (Trunkline) ..............0......... 97a

Order of the FERC Granting Petitions to Institute

Direct Billing Procedure for Retroactive Production-

Related Cost Allowances (Panhandle) .........0000000000..... 110a

Order of the FERC Denying Rehevring and Clarifica-

RE tats nee > ee eR 124a

FERC Notice of Denial of Rehearing (Texas Eastern)... 134a

FERC Notice of Denial of Rehearing (Texas Gas) ........ 135a

ii

APPENDIX

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Order of the FERC Denying Rehearing (Trunkline)....

Order of the FERC Denying Rehearing (Panhandle) ....

RRR RON Ty -TO VIII occccitticcnssnenensnncimreamenianeae

la

APPENDIX

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

Nos. 88-1701, 88-1808, 88-1825, 89-1052,

89-1086, 89-1140, 89-1186 and 89-1200

COLUMBIA GAS TRANSMISSION CORPORATION,

Petitioner,

V.

FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION,

Respondent,

GENERAL SERVICE CUSTOMER GROUP, INDIANA GAS COM-

PANY, INC., PANHANDLE EASTERN PIPE LINE COMPANY,

THE KANSAS POWER AND LIGHT COMPANY,

Intervenors.

Petitions for Review of Orders of the

Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

Argued Oct. 12, 1989

Decided Feb. 9, 1990

Stephen J. Small, Boston, Mass., with whom John H.

Pickering, Timothy N. Black, Neal T. Kilminister, Susan

D. McAndrew, and Richard E. Gottlieb (for Columbia

Gas Transmission Corp.), Jeffrey M. Petrash, Washing-

ton, D.C., (for Michigan Consol. Gas Co.), Robert A.

MacDonnell, Philadelphia, Pa., and Kathleen A. Kane

2a

(for Philadelphia Elec. Co.) were on the joint brief, for

listed petitioners in Nos. 88-1701, 88-1808, 89-1052, 89-

1086, and 89-1200.

Philip B. Malter, with whom Charles F. Wheatley, Jr.

was on the brief, for petitioner Municipal Defense Group

in Nos. 88-1825 and 89-1140.

Raymond N. Shibley and Marlene L. Stein, Washing-

ton, D.C., were on the brief for petitioner Panhandle

Eastern Pipe Line Co. in No. 89-1186.

Frederic J. Georg entered an appearance for petitioner

Columbia Gas Transmission Corp., and James H. Holt,

Washington, D.C., entered an appearance for petitioner

Michigan Consol. Gas Co.

Jill Hall, Atty., F.E.R.C. (“FERC”), with whom Cath-

erine C. Cook, Gen. Counsel, and Jerome M. Feit, Solicitor,

FERC, Washington, D.C., were on the brief, for respond-

ent in all cases. Frank Lindh, Washington, D.C., and

Joseph 8. Davies, Attys., FERC, also entered appearances

for respondent.

Raymond N. Shibley, with whom Marlene L. Stein (for

Panhandle Eastern Pipe Line Co.), Robert G. Hardy and

Michael J. Fremuth (for Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line

Corp.), Douglas Field, Jr. and Robert W. Perdue, Wash-

ington, D.C., (for Texas Gas Transmission Corp.) were

on the joint brief, for intervenors in Nos. 88-1701, 88-

1808, 88-1825, 89-1052, 89-1086, 89-1140, and 89-1200.

William H. Penniman (for Process Gas Consumers

Group) and Mary E. Baluss and Marilyn A. Specht,

Washington, D.C., (for UGI Corp.) were on the joint

brief for intervenors in Nos. 89-1052, 89-1086, 89-1140

and 89-1200. Christopher J. Barr, Washington, D.C., also

entered an appearance for UGI Corp.

Martin J. Bregman, Topeka, Kan., and Steven J.

Kalish, Washington, D.C., entered appearances for in-

3a

tervenor Kansas Power and Light Co. in Nos. 88-1701,

88-1808, and 88-1825.

Before BUCKLEY, D.H. GINSBURG,* and SEN-

TELLE, Circuit Judges.

Opinion for the court filed by Circuit Judge BUCK-

LEY.

BUCKLEY, Circuit Judge:

These consolidated cases concern the assertion, by the

Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, of the power to

approve a retroactive rate increase through exercise of

its authority, under section 4(d) of the Natural Gas Act,

to waive the thirty days’ notice required by that section.

As we find that the Commission lacks such power, we

remand seven of the cases for action consistent with this

opinion and dismiss the eighth as moot.

I. BACKGROUND

A. Regulatory Background

In section 110(a) of the Natural Gas Policy Act of

1978, Congress provided that sellers of natural gas could

lawfully recover

any costs of compressing, gathering, processing,

treating, liquefying, or transporting such natural

gas, or other similar costs, borne by the seller and

allowed for, by rule or order, by the Commission.

15 U.S.C. § 3320(a). In July 1980, acting pursuant to

this rulemaking authority, the Federal Energy Regula-

tory Commission (“FERC” or “Commission’”’) informed

gas producers that it intended to allow them, as “first

sellers” of natural gas, to pass certain field compression

and gathering costs through to their pipeline customers

* Judge Ginsburg heard argument in, but did net participate in

the disposition of, this case.

4a

(“first purchasers”). Order No. 94, 45 Fed.Reg. 53,099

(1980) (“Order No. 94”). At the same time, the Com-

mission stated that it would not accept applications for

the recovery of these costs until it had completed further

rulemaking to establish an appropriate generic allowance

for such costs (“deferred costs”). Jd. at 53,107-08. The

Commission assured the producers that the new regula-

tions would provide a retroactive mechanism by which

they could recover the costs that were determined to be

allowable, from the effective date cf Order No. 94 until

the new regulations took effect. Jd. The new rules au-

thorizing their recovery were issued almost three years

later, in March 1983. Order No. 94-A, 48 Fed.Reg. 5,152

(1983) ; Order No. 94-B, 48 Fed.Reg. 5,190 (1983).

Under existing procedures, the first purchaser pipe-

lines could recover these deferred charges from their cur-

rent customers through the purchased gas adjustment

clauses (“PGA clauses”) authorized by Commission regu-

lations. 18 C.F.R. §§ 154.301-.310 (1988). These clauses,

which must be filed with and approved by the Commis-

sion, permit pipelines to recover through prospective sales

the estimated production-related costs they will be re-

quired to reimburse producers. Rather than pursue this

method, however, five pipeline companies petitioned FERC

for permission to “direct bill’ customers who had pur-

chased gas produced during the 1980-83 period (“second

purchasers”) for the deferred costs incurred in its pro-

duction.

The petitioning pipelines noted that buying patterzis in

the industry had changed significantly during the three

years that had elapsed between the issuance of Order No.

94 and Order No. 94-A. As a consequence, it could not be

assumed that the current customers who would have to

absorb the newly authorized charges prospectively through

PGA clauses were in any way representative of those

who, during those three years, had purchased the gas that

was subject to the deferred costs. The pipelines argued

5a

that considerations of equity required that those who had

purchased that gas pay its true cost through a system of

direct billing surcharges based on past purchases.

B. Procedural Background

After the Commission approved each of these peti-

tions,** various second purchasers petitioned for rehear-

ing. When all such requests were denied, Columbia Gas

Transmission Corp., The Municipal Defense Group, and

Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line Corp. petitioned for re-

view in this court, arguing that the allowance of the

direct billing amounted to retroactive ratemaking pro-

hibited by the Natural Gas Act (“NGA” or “Act”). We

agreed, struck the orders authorizing direct billing, and

remanded the case to the Commission for further pro-

ceedings consistent with our opinion. Columbia Gas

Transmission Corp. v. FERC, 831 F.2d 1135, 1142 (D.C.

Cir. 1987) (“Columbia I’).

We based our decision on a finding that the Commis-

sion’s orders had violated the well-established “filed rate

doctrine.” This doctrine, we noted, finds its origins in

sections 4(c) and 5(a) of the Natural Gas Act, 15 U.S.C.

§§ 717c(c), 717d(a), which require that every natural

gas company file rate schedules with the Commission that

will then govern the amounts they can bill their custom-

ers. 831 F.2d at 1140. The purpose of this rule is to

maintain predictability in the rates that will be charged,

and this purpose is accomplished by the guarantee that

rate changes will only be made prospectively. In arriving

** Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line Corp., 32 F.E.R.C. § 61,230,

reh’g and clarification denied, 33 F.E.R.C. {61,213 (1985); Texas

Eastern Transmission Corp., 32 F.E.R.C. { 61,493, reh’g denied,

33 F.E.R.C. § 61,257 (1985); Texas Gas Transmission Corp., 33

F.E.R.C. § 61,032, reh’g dente@, 83 F.E.R.C. § 61,596 (1985); Pan-

handle Eastern Pipe Line Co., 33 F.E.R.C. § 61,218 (1985), reh’g

denied, 34 F.E.R.C. § 61,231 (1986); and Trunkline Gas Co., 33

F.E.R.C. § 61,217 (1985), reh’g denied, 34 F.E.R.C. {] 61,021 (1986).

. 6a

at our decision, we specifically rejected FERC’s conten-

tion that Order No. 94 gave “everyone” notice of an im-

pending increase in rates, finding instead that Order No.

94 was “addressed exclusively to first sales of natural _

gas.”’ Jd. We thus held that in the absence of such notice,

FERC’s allowance of direct billing for surcharges on pre-

viously purchased gas violated the rule against retro-

active ratemaking.

FERC petitioned for rehearing, asserting that not-

withstanding our opinion and although the point had not

been argued on appeal, the Commission had implied au-

thority, under section 4(d) of the Act, to waive the filed

rate doctrine prohibiting retroactive changes in published

rates. Section 4(d) provides:

Unless the Commission otherwise orders, no changes

shall be made by any natural-gas company in any

such rate, charge, classification, or service, or in any

rule, regulation, or contract relating thereto, except

after thirty days’ notice to the Commission and to the

public. .. . The Commission, for good cause shown,

may allow changes to take effect without providing

the thirty days’ notice herein provided for by an

order specifying the changes so to be made and the

time when they shall take effect and the manner in

which they shall be filed and published.

15 U.S.C. § 717e(d) (1982) (emphasis added). The Com-

mission maintained that the waiver issue had “crystal-

lized” only after we had found that the Commission had

given inadequate notice to warrant lawful retroactive

ratemaking. Presumably, FERC was suggesting that be-

cause the filed rate doctrine requires adequate notice of

any rate change and because it has the power, under sec-

tion 4(d), to waive the notice requirement with good

cause shown, the Commission may, by dispensing with

this impediment, lawfully implement a rate retroactively.

As for the good cause required by section 4(d), FERC

found it in the adverse effects that would flow from a

El

—

7a

misallocation of the more than $1.5 billion in deferred

compression and gathering costs that had accumulated

from July 1980 through March 1988. Not only would

passing these costs along to current customers place the

burden on purchasers of entirely unrelated gas, it would

send the wrong market signals by distorting the true cost

of current gas supplies.

We declined to rehear the case; but in light of the mag-

nitude of the costs that were involved, we stated that on

remand,

FERC [would be] free to consider the waiver issue

and determine whether it may issue new orders on

grounds consistent with the principles enunciated in

our earlier opinion in this case.

Columbic Gas Transmission Corp. v. FERC, 844 F.2d

879, 880 (D.C.Cir.1988).

On remand, FERC asserted that it had unquestioned

authority to waive the filed rate doctrine for gcod cause

shown; and given the unique circumstances of this case,

it concluded its previous orders should be reaffirmed and

implemented. Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line Corp., 45

F.E.R.C. § 61,169 (1988). The Commission correctly

noted that in Columbiu I we held the direct billing pro-

cedure in the circumstances of these cases to violate the

prohibition in sections 4(c) and 5(a) of the Act against

retroactive ratemaking. Nonetheless, it concluded that

irrespective of whether Order Nos. 94 and 94-A consti-

tuted notice to downstream purchasers sufficient to over-

come the prohibition against retroactive ratemaking, “the

overriding public interest in the maintenance of orderly

gas markets through the equitable allocation of costs”

made it “necessary and appropriate in these proceedings,

under section 4(d) of the Natural Gas Act, to waive the

filed rate doctrine.” Jd. at 61,488 & n. 26.

Subsequently, in response to a petition by Panhandle

Eastern Pipe Line Co. (“Panhandle”) for permission to

8a

direct bill its customers, the Commission purported to

waive the filed rate doctrine for Panhandle as it had in

the cases on remand from this court. Panhandle Eastern

Gas Pipe Line Co., 44 F.E.R.C. § 61,173 (1988). Various

parties petitioned this court for review. In addition, Pan-

handle petitioned for review of Panhandle Eastern Gas

Pipe Line Co., 45 F.E.R.C. 761,444 (1988) (Letter

Order), in which FERC limited Panhandle to sixty days

of accrued interest in its direct billing. The Commission

then sought and received this court’s order consolidating

all of these petitions because of the common legal issues

presented.

II. DISCUSSION _

A. FERC’s Waiver Authority Under Section 4(d)

The Supreme Court has provided the following sum-

mary of the filed rate doctrine:

[T]he Act bars a regulated seller of natural gas

from collecting a rate other than the one filed with

the Commission and prevents the Commission itself

from imposing a rate increase for gas already sold.

Arkansas Louisiana Gas Co. v. Hall, 453 U.S. 571, 578,

101 S.Ct. 2925, 2931, 69 L.Ed.2d 856 (1981) (emphasis

added).

On remand, the Commission correctly identified the is-

sue before it, and now before us, as “whether the Com-

mission can and, in the circumstances of these cases,

should waive the filed rate doctrine.” 45 F.E.R.C. at

61,486. The Commission proceeded to resolve immediately

the question of its authority to waive the doctrine:

The Commission’s authority to waive the filed rate

doctrine and its discretion whether to exercise this

authority in particular circumstances are unques-

tioned. The only limitation imposed upon the Com-

mission by the statute is that the grant of a waiver

must be “‘for good cause shown.”

asl

9a

Id. (citations omitted). It then spent the remainder of its

opinion justifying the exercise of its watnority in this

particular case.

We find the scope of the section 4(d) waiver authority

far less obvious than the Commission does. As we ob-

served just three years ago:

No court has squarely decided whether the Com-

mission’s waiver power may extend backward past

the original filing date absent the parties’ agreement.

Indeed, resolution of the conflict between the waiver

power and the retroactive ratemaking rule presents

difficult questions of statutory interpretation and reg-

ulatory policy. ... [T]he Supreme Court has noted

the potential conflict between the ban on retroactive

ratemaking and the Commission’s waiver power. .

City of Girard v. FERC, 790 F.2d 919, 924 (D.C.Cir.

1986) (citing Arkansas Louisiana Gas Co. v. Hall, 453

US. 571, 578 n.8, 101 S.Ct. 2925, 2930-31 n.8, 69

L,.Ed.2d 856 (1981)). We conclude that while the Com-

mission has considerable latitude to waive the notice re-

quirement under section 4(d), its powers do not encom-

pass what it claims in this case.

We begin by observing that FERC’s reliance on City of

Girard, supra, and United Gas Pipe Line Co. v. FERC,

707 F.2d 1507, 1511 (D.C.Cir.1983), for the proposition

that its power to waive the filed rate doctrine is unques-

tioned, 45 F.E.R.C. at 61,486 and n. 12, is completely mis-

placed. Even a cursory reading of City of Girard will

show that, far from holding that FERC had unquestioned

authority to waive the filed rate doctrine, we took pains

to avoid the question and resolved the issue by affirming

the Commission’s own determination that “good cause”

was lacking. 790 F.2d at 924-25. Indeed, in Girard, the

Commission would arguably have had a stronger case for

retroactive action, as the municipality there was request-

ing only its reclassification into another category, that of

full-requirements user, for which a valid tariff was al-

10a

ready in force, rather than, as here, requesting a retro-

active change in a valid tariff. Nonetheless, we specifi-

cally “decline[d] to address” the issue of whether FERC’s

waiver power may extend backward past the original

filing date. Id. at 924. United Gas Pipe Line Co., for its

part, is irrelevant to the issue before us. That case dealt

with the Commission’s power to waive its own regulation

prohibiting a certain transportation rate adjustment

mechanism, 18 C.F.R. § 154.38(d) (3), see United Gas

Pipe Line Co., 707 F.2d at 1509, and not with the waiver

of the statutorily grounded filed rate doctrine.

Although the question of FERC’s authority to waive the

filed rate doctrine was technically left open by prior de-

cisions, we believe the statutory language of section 4/d)

and the logic of our decisions in City of Piqua v. FERC,

610 F.2d 950 (D.C.Cir.1979), and Columbia I deny the

Commission the authority it claims. It is clear from the

statutory language that section 4/d) is directed at the

situation in which a utility, in this case a natural gas

company, wishes to make a change in a rate that is al-

ready in full legal effect. The section stipulates that “no

change [in filed rates] shall be made” by a company

“except after thirty days’ notice to the Commission and

to the public.” 15 U.S.C. § 717c(d). Further in the same

paragraph, the Commissicn is given authority, with good

cause shown, to “allow changes to take effect without the

thirty days’ notice herein provided for.” Jd.

It is apparent that this statutory notice, which the

Commission may waive on a showing of good cause, is not

the notice of prospective rate adjustments to which we

referred in Columbia I when we stated that the NGA’s

prohibition against retroactive rate increases might have

been overridden if FERC had provided “adequate notice

that [downstream] purchasers would be expected to pay

the deferred charges at a later date.” 831 F.2d at 1140.

That statement was addressed to those circumstances in

which the Commission has authorized increases in prices

lla

previously paid by purchasers who were already on notice

that the prices they were paying were provisional only.

Thus, in City of Piqua v. FERC, 610 F.2d 950, 954-55

(D.C.Cir.1979), this court considered the siuation where

a utility provider and a town had contractually agreed

upon a new, higher rate to take effect, by terms of the

contract, on May 10, 1977. Jd. at 951. Filing with the

Commission was delayed for a few months because of the

need to have the agreement approved by local authorities.

Id. We held in that case that FERC, in approving the

agreement, had not engaged in retroactive ratemaking:

“the negotiated ratechange was not retroactive; it was

prospective from the date of the contract.” Jd. at 954.

As the Commission’s waiver gave only prospective effect

to the rate change, it did not implicate the filed rate

doctrine.

The Fifth Circuit reached the same conclusion in Hall

v. FERC, 691 F.2d 1184 (5th Cir.1982). In that case,

the Commission had denied a request for the waiver of

statutory notice so that a “favored nations clause” in a

filed contract could be given effect. The Commission based

its denial on the prohibition against retroactive rate in-

creases. /d. at 1191. In finding that the Commission had

erred, the court noted that in the circumstances of the

case, “the Commission’s waiver gives prospective appli-

cation to the rates contractually author ed by the parties

at the effective date contemplated by the contract.” Jd. at

1192. The court also made another significant observa-

tion. Referring to an earlier case for comparison, the

court noted that where a company “sought a higher rate

than that ever filed with the Commission or contemplated

by the rate schedule/contract,” then a “purer example of

an action for a retroactive rate increase would be difficult

to imagine;” thus “a waiver of section 4(d) notice filing

requirements was neither involved nor applicable.” Id. at

1191 (emphasis added).

12a

The Commission acknowledges that courts have found

“good cause for granting a waiver” only where the par-

ties had previously agreed to a rate change. 45 F.E.R.C.

at 61,487 n. 20. It then attempts to distinguish City of

Piqua and Hall by arguing that while the courts have

found “good cause” in giving effect to the “intent of the

parties” in those cases, that is not the only basis upon

which it can show good cause for granting a waiver. Id.

at 61,487 & n. 20. As it has found that the public inter-

est and equity require the approval of direct billing in

these cases, the Commission asserts that it has sufficient

cause, under section 4(d), to grant a waiver even with-

out ecnsent of the parties. /d.

But here again, the Commission misinterprets those

cases where a seemingly “retroactive” rate was approved.

City of Piqua and Hall did not authorize the Commission

to impose rate retroactively because giving effect to the

parties’ intent is a policy of the Act and therefore “good

cause’ within the meaning of section 4(d). Rather, those

cases found that because of pre-existing agreements be-

tween the parties and the notice that went automatically

with them, those rates were not in fact retroactive. Jd. at

1192; City of Piqua, 610 F.2d at 954. City of Piqua is

quite emphatic about this:

The retroactive ratemaking rule thus bars ... the

Commission’s retroactive substitution of an unrea-

sonably high or low rate with a just and reasonable

rate. The present situation is immediately distin-

guishable. In this case, two parties agreed on new

rate schedules and on the effective date for the new

contract. The negotiated rate change was not retro-

active; it was prospective from the date of the con-

tract.

Id. at 954.

13a

The same principle obtains when the Commission itself

places parties on notice (as it did the first sellers and first

buyers of natural gas in Order No. 94) that the rates

they will be paying are subject to retroactive adjustment

at a later date. This procedure, moreover, is squarely

analogous to that in section 4(e) of the NGA in which

the published rates, by express terms of the statute, re-

main subject to later modification and are therefore pro-

visional in nature. 15 U.S.C. § 717c(e). Notice does not

relieve the Commission from the prohibition against retro-

active ratemaking. Instead, it changes what would be

purely retroactive ratemaking into a functionally pros-

pective process by placing the relevant audience on notice

at the outset that the rates being promulgated are provi-

sional only and subject to later revision. This in no way

dilutes the general rule that once a rate is in place with

ostensibly full legal effect and is not made provisional, it

can then be changed only prospectively.

In sum, we have found no support for the Commission’s

contention that on a finding of sufficient cause, it has the

authority, under section 4(d), to waive the filed rate

doctrine. Thus, as the Commission had failed to provide

adequate notice to the downstream purchasers that the

price they would be paying for gas during the 1980-83

period would be subject to adjustment, the Commission

was without authority to impose a retroactive surcharge

for whatever cause.

The Commission may well be correct in its assessment

of the equities here involved and of the distortion in mar-

ket signals that may result from the allocation of $1.5

billion in prior production costs to current sales. We are

unaware, however, of any principle in equity or law that

empowers an agency to ignore explicit legislative com-

mands in order to mitigate the damage its errors of judg-

ment or rulemaking delays may have caused.

l4a

B. FERC’s Power to Limit Panhandle’s Carrying Cost

Recovery

Because we find that direct billing for these charges is

unlawful under the Act, it follows that we need not de-

cide the question of the lawfulness of FERC’s denial of

interest in excess of sixty days to Panhandle.

III. CONCLUSION

For the reasons discussed above, we hold that as it has

no authority, under section 4(d), to waive the filed rate

doctrine, the Commission has invalidly reinstated its prior

orders. Accordingly, we dismiss as moot the petition in

No. 89-1186, grant the other petitions for review, again

strike the orders authorizing direct billing, and remand

to the Commission for further proceedings consistent with

this opinion.

So ordered.

15a

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

No. 88-1701

COLUMBIA GAS TRANSMISSION CORPORATION,

Petitioner

Vv.

FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION,

Respondent

and Consolidated Cases

BEFORE: Wald, Chief Judge; Mikva, Edwards, Ruth

B. Ginsburg, Silberman, Buckley, Williams,

D.H. Ginsburg, Sentelle and Thomas, Cir-

cuit Judges

ORDER

[Filed April 19, 1990]

The Suggestion For Rehearing En Banc of the inter-

venor pipelines has been circulated to the full Court. No

member of the Court requested the taking of a vote

thereon. Upon consideration of the foregoing it is

ORDERED, by the Court en banc, that the suggestion

is denied.

Per Curiam

FOR THE COURT:

CONSTANCE L. DUPRE

Clerk

By: /s/ Robert A. Bonner

ROBERT A. BONNER

Deputy Clerk

16a

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

No. 88-1701

COLUMBIA GAS TRANSMISSION CORPORATION,

Petitioner

¥~

FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION,

Respondent

and Consolidated Cases

BEFORE: Buckley, D.H. Ginsburg and Sentelle, Cir-

cuit Judges

ORDER

[Filed May 30, 1990]

Upon consideration of the motions for stay of mandate

and of the response thereto it is

ORDERED, by the Court, that the Clerk is directed to

withhold issuance of the Court’s mandate through June

22, 1990.

Per Curiam

FOR THE COURT:

CONSTANCE L. DUPRE

Clerk

By: /s/ Robert A. Bonner

ROBERT A. BONNER

Deputy Clerk

17a

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION

Docket No. RP85-148-007

TRANSCONTINENTAL GAS PIPE LINE CORPORATION

Docket No. RP85-170-004

TEXAS EASTERN TRANSMISSION CORPORATION

Docket No. RP&5-181-002

TEXAS GAS TRANSMISSION CORPORATION

Docket No. RP85-202-002

TRUNKLINE GAS COMPANY

Docket No. RP85-203-003

PANHANDLE EASTERN PIPE LINE COMPANY

ORDER ON REMAND GRANTING WAIVERS

(Issued November 1, 1988)

Before Commissioners: Martha 0. Hesse, Chairman;

Charles G. Stalon, Charles A. Trabandt, Elizabeth Anne

Moler and Jerry J. Langdon.

The five separate proceedings captioned above have

been remanded to the Commission by the United States

Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit.’

1 See Columbia Gas Transmission Corp. v. FERC, 831 F.2d 1135

(D.C. Cir. 1987), modified on reh’g, 844 F.2d 879 (1988).

18a

History of These Proceedings

The Commission had issued orders in each of these

proceedings * granting the five pipeline companies au-

thority to pass on to their purchasers under direct billing

procedures certain retroactive production-related gather-

ing and compression costs which the pipeline companies

were required to pay their producers and suppliers pur-

suant to Section 110(a)(2) of the Natural Gas Policy

Act of 1978 (NGPA),* and the Commission’s Order No.

94 series implementing that section.*

2 Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line Corp., 32 FERC { 61,230, reh’g

and clarification denied, 33 FERC § 61,213 (1985); Texas Eastern

Transmission Corp., 32 FERC {§ 61,493, reh’g denied, 33 FERC

{| 61,257 (1985); Texas Gas Transmission Corp., 33 FERC {§ 61,032,

reh’g denied, 33 FERC {§ 61,359 (1985); Panhandle Eastern Pipe

Line Co., 33 FERC { 61,218 (1985), reh’g denied, 34 FERC { 61,231

(1986) ; Trunkline Gas Co., 33 FERC § 61,217 (1985), reh’g denied,

34 FERC § 61,021 (1986).

815 U.S.C. § 3320(a)(2). Section 110(a)(2) allows a first seller

of natural gas to charge an amount exceeding the applicable maxi-

mum lawful price “to the extent necessary to recover .. . any costs

of compressing, gathering, processing, treating, liquefying, or trans-

porting such natural gas, or other similar costs, borne by the seller

and allowed for, by rule or order, by the Commission.”

#In July 1980, under Order No. 94, FERC Statutes and Regula-

tions § 30,178. the Commission allowed gas producers and other

NGPA first sellers to recover some production-related costs as add-

ons to NGPA ceiling prices. Cost recovery for compressing or

gathering gas was postponed, however, pending a rulemaking to fix

generic ceilings for these two kinds of production-related costs, and

the Commission stated that, in the interim, no applications for recov-

ery of such costs would be accepted. But the Commission, in Order

No. 94, assured first sellers that “a retroactive collection procedure

will be provided under which the allowance for compression [and

gathering] costs determined under the generic rulemaking will be

applied to costs incurred with respect to gas delivered on or after

the effective date of this Rule if collection of such costs is con-

tractually authorized.” FERC Statutes and Regulations {% 30,178,

at p. 31,218. That retroactive collection procedure was set in mo-

19a

Pursuant to Order Nos. 94 and 94-A, producers in

1983 began charging pipeline customers the compression

and gathering costs that had built up on deliveries made

between July 1980 and March 1983. Pipelines so charged

began passing these costs through to their customers un-

der their PGA clauses.°

The pipelines soon experienced difficulties in attempt-

ing to recover these very substantial retroactive costs

from their purchasers in the volatile natural gas market

of the mid-1980s. As an alternative to recovering these

costs in their PGAs, several pipelines therefore requested

authority from the Commission to “direct bill’ these

costs. Under direct billing a pipeline would calculate

each customer’s share of the retroactive costs accrued

during the years 1980 to 1983 based on that customer’s

actual purchases during each month to which the retroac-

tive allowances applied. Each customer’s total amount

due, plus interest, would then be billed and paid in equal

installments over several months or, at the customer’s

option, in a single lump-sum payment.

tion in March 1983 with the generic allowances of Order No. 94-A

and related orders. See generally FERC Statutes and Regulations

7 30,419 and 18 C.F.R. § 271.1104(e). Order Nos. 94 and 94-A,

including the retroactive collection provisions, were affirmed in

relevant part in Texas Eastern Transmission Corp. v. FERC, 769

F.2d 1053 (5th Cir. 1985), cert. dented, 106 S. Ct. 1967 (1986).

5 Because these costs were part of the pipeline’s cost of purchasing

gas, they could be recovered through PGA clauses. 18 C.F.R.

$§ 154.801-.310. Additionally, as part of the NGPA first sale price,

these costs were guaranteed passthrough under NGPA § 601, which

provides that “[f]or purposes of Sections 4 and 5 of the Natural

Gas Act,” amounts lawfully paid as part of the NGPA first sale

price are “deemed to be just and reasonable” and “the Commission

may not deny any interstate pipeline recovery of any [such] amount

... except to the extent the Commission determines that the amount

paid was excessive due to fraud, abuse, or similar grounds.” 15

U.S.C. § 3431(c) (2).

20a

After the Commission approved such direct billing pro-

cedures in these five proceedings,® Columbia Gas Trans-

mission Corporation (Columbia), which purchased gas

from the five pipeline applicants during the retroactive

period and is a party to each of these proceedings, ap-

pealed the Commission’s five orders approving the direct

billing procedures to the D.C. Circuit

The court held that the pipelines’ direct billing for

retroactive production-related costs in the circumstances

of these cases violated the prohibition in sections 4(c)

and 5(a) of the Natural Gas Act’ against retroactive

ratemaking.* While recognizing that the prohibition

against retroactive ratemaking “might have been over-

ridden through adequate notice that purchasers would be

expected to pay the deferred charges at a later date,” the

court found that no such notice had been given here.

It held that Order Nos. 94 and 94-A provided the re-

i quired notice only “to a highly restricted audience” of

NGPA first sellers and their customers that those sellers

could collect for past costs, and not to anyone else.’ On

rehearing, the Court, while declining to alter its earlier

decision, did authorize the Commission on remand to con-

sider whether it has the authority to waive the filed rate

doctrine *® in the circumstances of these cases and

whether it is appropriate for the Commission to do so.

6 See n. 2, supra, and accompanying text.

715 U.S.C. §717c(c), 717d(a). These provisions form the basis

for what is generally referred to as the “filed rate doctrine,” the

parameters of which the Supreme Court, in Arkansas Louisiana Gas

Co. v. Hall, 453 U.S. 571, 578 (1981), explained to be that “the

{Natural Gas] Act bars a regulated seller of natural gas from col-

lecting a rate other than the one filed with the Commission and

prevents the Commission itself from imposing a rate increase for gas

already sold.”

8831 F.2d at 1142.

®831 F.2d at 1140.

10 See n. 7, supra, and accompanying text. Under section 4(d)

of the Natural Gas Act, 15 U.S.C. § 717c(d), the Commission may

“for good cause shown” waive the advance notice requirement for

the filing of an alteration in a rate.

2la

Issues on Remand

The scope of the Commission’s present analysis has

been circumscribed by the court which instructed “that

FERC is free to consider the waiver issue” but otherwise

reversed the orders issued by the Commission.'' What

must first be considered, therefore, is whether the Com-

mission can and, in the circumstances of these cases,

should waive the filed rate doctrine. If these questions

are answered in the affirmative, the Commission is then

free, consistent with the court’s directions, to leave its

five previous orders intact. If, however, these answers

are negative, a different solution consistent with the

court’s remand must be found.

Discussion

The Commission’s authority to waive the filed rate doc-

trine and its discretion whether to exercise this authority

in particular circumstances are unquestioned.'* The only

limitation imposed upon the Commission by the statute is

that the grant of a waiver must be “for good cause

shown.” *8

Here, while the pipelines’ customers have opposed di-

rect billing for the retroactive production-related gather-

ing and compression costs, there is no question that the

11 See 844 F.2d at 880.

12 City of Girard v. FERC, 790 F.2d 919, 925 (D.C. Cir. 1986);

United Gas Pipe Line Co. v. FERC, 707 F.2d 1507, 1511 (D.C. Cir.

1983). While the City of Girard case dealt with section 205 of the

Federal Power Act, 16 U.S.C. § 824d, it is settled that “the relevant

provisions of [the Natural Gas Act] are in all material respects

substantially identical to the equivalent provisions of the Federal

Power Act.” Appalachian Power Co. v. FPC, 529 F.2d 342, 344

(D.C. Cir. 1976) (quoting FPC v. Sierra Pacific Power Co., 350

U.S. 348, 353 (1956) ).

1315 U.S.C. § 717c(d); Section 4(d) of the Natural Gas Act. See

Arkansas Louisiana Gas Co. v. Hall, 453 U.S. 571, 578 n. 8 (1981).

22a

waiver is in the public interest. In each of these five

proceedings, the Commission has previously made find-

ings * that the pipelines’ direct billing procedures are an

equitable and practical method of allocating cost responsi-

bility. Under these procedures, pricing signals are not

distorted by the influx of substantial retroactive Order

No. 94-A costs. Furthermore, these procedures equitably

bill customers for the higher amounts they should have

paid for gas based on actual purchases during the past

billing periods and more accurately allow the true cost of

current gas supplies to be reflected in the pipelines’

PGAs. Thus, in approving these procedures, the Com-

mission was only upholding the usual rule that it can use

its equitable powers to require utility customers to bear

costs incurred for their benefit where the benefits and

costs are not simultaneous.”

In Hall v. FERC, the court stated that “perhaps [the]

most compelling reason” for deciding whether a waiver

of the filed rate doctrine should be granted or denied is

whether a different group of consumers will pay for the

gas than the ones who used it.’* The court there found

no evidence showing that the pipeline’s customer profile

had changed during the relevant period and therefore

could neither affirm nor reverse the Commission’s denial

of the waiver on that basis alone. (The court did reverse

the Commission’s denial of the waiver, however, based

upon lack of substantial evidence to support the four

~ bases for the Commission’s denial, including change in

14 F.9., Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line Corp., 33 FERC { 61,213,

at p. 61,443.

15 F.g., Public Systems v. FERC, 709 F.2d 73, 80, 85-86 (D.C.

Cir. 1983). See also Mid-Tex Electric Cooperative v. FERC, 773

F.2d 327, 349-50 (D.C. Cir. 1985); Interstate Natural Gas Ass’n v.

FERC, 756 F.2d 166, 171 (D.C. Cir. 1985) (recognizing the im-

portance of identifying customers receiving refunds due them).

16691 F.2d 1184, 1192-93 (5th Cir. 1983), cert. denied sub nom.

ARKLA v. Hall, 464 U.S. 822 (1983).

23a

customer profile. See 691 F.2d at 1191, 1198.) There is

no question here that the pipelines’ customer profiles have

changed. As a result, absent waiver, many of those cus-

tomers who used the gas during the 1980 to 1983 period

will not pay these compression and gathering costs. In-

stead, current customers will pay these costs for those

former customers. Equity and the public interest demand

that these costs '* be both recovered by the pipelines and

fairly allocated by the pipelines to those who benefitted

from the activities by which the costs were incurred.

Accordingly, we conclude that the public interest is best

served by granting the section 4(d) waiver.*®

The situation here is not analogous to those cases, in-

cluding City of Girard v. FERC," where the rate change

involved arose out of a private contract and the parties’

consent was considered essential.*° In those cases, the

courts were interpreting private contracts and were op-

erating within the context of the seminal principles that

17 This is not a penny-ante matter. Estimates of these costs for

all producers range up to $1.5 billion.

18Jt is established that the Commission has broad authority to

settle matters fairly. E.g., Columbia Gas Transmission Corp. v.

FERC, 750 F.2d 105, 109 (D.C. Cir. 1984) (“The breath of agency

discretion is, if anything, at [its] zenith” in the “fashioning of

policies, remedies and sanctions ... .”) (payback of natural gas

at contract, not market, price).

19 See 790 F.2d at 925.

20 The courts have consistently approved the “Commission’s long-

standing general policy . .. to find ‘good cause [for granting a

waiver]’ only when the parties to the rate have agreed at some

point in their negotiations on an effective date and the waiver is in

the public interest.” See City of Girard v. FERC, 790 F.2d at 924;

Hall v. FERC, 691 F.2d at 1192; City of Piqua v. FERC, 610 F.2d

950 (D.C. Cir. 1979). In circumstances where the parties have

agreed upon an effective date, the Commissicn waiver is not truly

retroactive but rather gives “prospective application to the rates

contractually authorized by the parties at the effective date con-

templated by the contract.” Hall v. FERC, 691 F.2d at 1192.

24a

both the Federal Power Act and the Natural Gas Act

were drafted to encourage and protect the right of par-

ties to establish rates by individual contracts and that

neither Act “evinces [any] purpose to abrogate private

rate contracts as such.” *! In those cases, then, the Com-

mission and courts were merely implementing the par-

ties’ intentions as expressed in their private contracts

and the public interest was not opposed to such effectua-

tion.”

In these proceedings, however, the circumstances man-

date that the nature of and necessity for the parties’ con-

sent be evaluated in the context of the overriding public

interest in the orderliness of the nation’s natural gas

markets and the ultimate benefit to gas consumers which

will thereby result.

The proceedings at issue here evolved out of the generic

Order No. 94 series which established and implemented

the collection by producers from pipelines of reasonable

gathering and compression costs.» The Commission’s di-

rect billing orders were likewise generic to the extent

that they implemented the passthrough of these costs to

all pipeline customers similarly situated.

It is unreasonable to have expected that pipelines could

have formally agreed with their customers (many of

whom were by then former customers) whereby those

customers would reimburse the pipelines for their Order

No. 94 series costs so long as those customers saw any

possibility of avoiding these very substantial payments.

At the same time, however, those customers, like Colum-

bia, were fully cognizant, from their involvement in the

21 Hall v. FERC, 691 F.2d at 1193 n. 16 (quoting United Gas

Pipe Line Co. v. Mobile Gas Corp., 350 U.S. 332, 338 (1956) ).

22 See City of Girard v. FERC, 790 F.2d at 925; Hall v. FERC,

691 F.2d at 1191-92 n. 13.

28 These orders were expressly authorized in section 110(a) (2)

of the Natural Gas Policy Act, 15 U.S.C. § 3320(a) (2).

me sve We ae ae seheWay

25a

Order No. 94 series proceedings, that during the 1980 to

1983 period between the issuance of Order No. 94, sus-

pending applications for gathering and compression costs,

and the issuance of Order No. 94-A, which effectively

lifted that suspension,“ they were not paying the full

cost of the gas volumes they in turn purchased from the

pipelines.”

In these circumstances, the consent of the pipelines’

customers ** must take a secondary position to the over-

riding public interest in the maintenance of orderly gas

markets through the equitable allocation of costs.

Accordingly, under our equitable powers to fashion

remedies effectuating fair results,77 we conclude that it

is necessary and appropriate in these proceedings, under

setcion 4(d) of the Natural Gas Act, to waive the filed

rate doctrine.

The Commission orders:

(A) For good cause shown, the notice requirement of

section 4(d) of the Natural Gas Act, 15 U.S.C. § 717c(d),

24 See n. 4, supra.

25 Columbia was obviously aware of the implications of the Order

No. 94 series. It participated in those proceedings before the Com-

mission and before the 5th Circuit in the Texas Eastern litigation.

See 769 F.2d at 1057.

26 The court found that Order Nos. 94 and 94-A did not consti-

tute notice to downstream purchasers sufficient to override the pro-

hibition against retroactive ratemaking. 831 F.2d at 1140. We are,

of course, bound by that finding. We do not believe, however, that in

our analysis here of customers’ consent to direct billing in the

context of waiver of the filed rate doctrine we are prohibited thereby

from acknowledging and taking into consideration that these cus-

tomers were fully aware of the implications of the Order No. 94

series, including the 5th Circuit’s upholding of these orders in the

Texas Eastern litigation.

27 Columbia Gas Transmission Corp. v. FERC, 750 F.2d at 109;

quoted in n. 21, supra.

26a

is waived with respect to the five applications for Com-

mission approval of direct billing procedures in these

proceedings.

(B) The orders previously issued by the Commission

in these proceedings, as clarified and supplemented by

this order pursuant to the court’s remand orders, shall

be complied with and implemented.

Commissioner Langdon voted present.

28 See n. 2, supra.

a

27a

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION

Docket No. RP85-148-008

TRANSCONTINENTAL GAS PIPE LINE CORPORATION

Docket No. RP85-170-005

TEXAS EASTERN TRANSMISSION CORPORATION

Docket No. RP85-181-003

TEXAS GAS TRANSMISSION CORPORATION

Docket No. RP85-202-003

TRUNKLINE GAS COMPANY

Docket No. RP85-203-004

PANHANDLE EASTERN PIPE LINE COMPANY

ORDER DENYING REHEARING

AND RECONSIDERATION

(Issued January 24, 1989)

Before Commissioners: Martha O. Hesse, Chairman;

Charles G. Stalon, Charles A. Trabandt, Elizabeth Anne

Moler and Jerry J. Langdon.

On November 1, 1988, the Commission issued its “Order

on Remand Granting Waivers” in the five above-captioned

proceedings.’ In that order, the Commission, pursuant to

145 FERC {[ 61,169 (1988).

28a

its authority under section 4(d) of the Natural Gas Act,’

granted waivers of the filed rate doctrine to the five pipe-

line companies named above, thereby permitting them to

pass on to their purchasers under direct billing procedures

certain retroactive production-related gathering and com-

pression costs which the pipeline companies were re-

quired to pay their producers and suppliers pursuant to

section 110(a) (2) of the Natural Gas Policy Act of 1978,°

and the Commission’s Order No. 94 series implementing

that section.’ The order describes the history of these pro-

ceedings as well as the Commission’s Order No. 94 series

proceedings.

Timely requests for rehearing of the Commission’s No-

vember 1, 1988 order have been filed by Columbia Gas

Transmission Corporation (Columbia), Michigan Consoli-

dated Gas Company (Mich Con), and, jointly, Philadel-

phia Electric Company and Philadelphia Gas Works

(Philadelphia). For the reasons set forth below, we are

denying these requests for rehearing.°

The common argument raised on rehearing is that the

Commission erred in granting waiver of the filed rate

doctrine to the pipeline companies in the circumstances of

these cases because the pipeline companies’ purchasers

never consented to the direct billing procedures for the

retroactive production related gathering and compression

costs. Absent such consent, assert the applicants for re-

hearing, the Commission is imposing a retroactive rate

increase upon the customers of the pipeline companies in

violation of the ban against retroactive ratemaking.*®

215 U.S.C. § 717e\d) (1982).

315 U.S.C. § 3320(a) (2) (1982).

4 See 45 FERC at p. 61,485 n. 4 (1988).

5On December 29, 1988, the Municipal Defense Group filed a

motion for reconsideration raising the same objections as the

applicants for rehearing. We will also deny that motion.

6 See Arkansas Louisiana Gas Co. v. Hall, 453 U.S. 571, 578 n. 8

(1981).

29a

Mich Con asserts, further, that even if the Commission

has the authority here to waive the filed rate doctrine, the

necessary good cause, in the form. of truly extraordinary

circumstances warranting waiver, has not been demon-

strated. In addition, Columbia asserts that since the Com-

mission’s decision to grant waivers here is inconsistent

with its prior practice of permitting waiver only when the

contracting parties agreed to a retroactive date, the Com-

mission must acknowledge the change and substantiate

the reason for the change and it has not done so here.

Finally, Philaaelphia argues that the Commission’s “equi-

table powers to fashion remedies effectuating fair re-

sults” 7 can only be used in a manner consistent with the

Natural Gas Act’s ban on retroactive ratemaking, not to

circumvent that ban.

In the November 1, 1988 order, we discussed the ab-

sence of agreement by the pipeline companies’ customers

and concluded that, in the circumstances of these cases,

the consent of these customers must take a secondary

position to the overriding public interest in the mainte-

nance of orderly natural gas markets through the equita-

ble allocation of costs.* We distinguished those cases ®

cited by the applicants for rehearing where good cause for

waiver of the filed rate doctrine was found “only when

the parties to the rate have agreed at some point in their

negotiations on an effective date.”

In those cases, we stated, the rate changes had arisen

out of private contracts and the Commission and courts

were merely implementing the parties’ mutual intentions

745 FERC at p. 61,488.

8 We indicated that the magnitude of these costs for all producers

approached $1.5 billion. See 45 FERC at p. 61,487 n. 17.

® City of Girard v. FERC, 790 F.2d 919 (D.C. Cir. 1986); Hall v.

FERC, 691 F.2d 1184 (5th Cir. 1982) ; City of Piqua v. FERC, 610

F.2d 950 (D.C. Cir. 1979).

10 City of Girard v. FERC, 790 F.2d at 925.

30a

(or lack thereof) with respect to an effective date as ex-

pressed in their contracts. Furthermore, we indicated that

in those cases not only was the public interest not opposed

to such effectuation, but it was actually served by imple-

menting the parties’ expressed intentions in a manner

consistent with the policies embodied in the Federal Power

Act and the Natural Gas Act encouraging and protecting

parties’ rights to establish rates by individual contracts.

We found, in summary, that in the particular circum-

stances of these cases, the equitable results from granting

the waivers alone satisfied the good cause requirement

under section 4(d) of the Natural Gas Act and so, acting

pursuant to our equitable powers to fashion remedies

effectuating fair results, we granted the waivers." .

While it is certainly true, as we stated in our order of

November 1, 1988,'* and as the applicants for rehearing

have argued, that the Commission in the past has, with

judicial approval, considered the good cause requirement

of section 4(d) of the Natural Gas Act (and the equiva-

lent section 205(d) of the Federal Power Act) to be sat-

isfied in circumstances where the parties to a rate have

agreed at some point in their negotiations on an effective

date and the waiver is in the public interest,’* we believe

that the element of the parties’ agreement was a product

of the particular facts in those cases and does not alter

the underlying principle that the Commission’s satutory

11 While customers’ consent was lacking, we stated in our previous

order that the customers, like Columbia, were fully cognizant, from

their involvement in the Orcer No. 94 series proceedings, that dur-

ing the 1980 to 1983 period between the issuance of Order No. 94,

suspending applications for gathering and compression costs, and

the issuance of Order No. 94-A, which effectively lifted that suspen-

sion, they were not paying the full cost of the gas volumes they in

turn purchased from the pipelines. See 45 FERC at p. 61,488 and

n. 26.

1245 FERC at p. 61,487 n. 20.

18 F.g., City of Girard v. FERC, 790 F.2d at 925.

™ antes ai 6 att SD: LR is 2 Paes Paha.

BBs >

8la

authority to waive the filed rate doctrine for “good cause”

rests upon equitable implementation of what we perceive

to be in the public interest.

In each of the cases relied upon for the proposition

that the parties’ consent is essential to a finding of good

cause, the relevant agreement on an effective date for a

rate was that between the parties in their original con-

tract (or asserted contract) and each case arose, in the

first place, because one of the parties to the original

agreement had breached or otherwise failed to comply

with its terms,” or was asserting that an agreement with

respect to an effective date did in fact exist.** In each

case, therefore, the parties’ consent was a relevant factor

only to the extent a private rate contract was all that

was involved and only because, in such circumstances, the

policies of the Federal Power and Natural Gas Acts en-

couraging and protecting parties rights to establish rates

by individual contracts and the public interest in holding

parties to their contractual agreements were both served

thereby. In short, in these cases consent was a collateral

element of the public interest; it was not, in and of itself,

an essential element of good cause.’’ Consent, to our view,

has never been a sine qua non for granting waivers. It is

merely an incident in our determination of where the

public interest lies.

14 The underlying purpose of the Natural Gas Act is protection

of the consumer. See Atlantic Refining Co. v. Pub. Serv. Comm’n,

360 U.S. 378, 388 (1959).

18 Hall v. FERC, 691 F.2d 1184; City of Piqua v. FERC, 610

F.2d 950.

16 City of Girard v. FERC, 790 F.2d 919.

17 Since, as we indicated in our previous order (45 FERC at

p. 61,488), it was unreasonable to expect agreement among the

pipelines’ many customers to reimburse the pipelines for their

Order No. 94 costs, it clearly would not be in the public interest to

permit just one such customer to refuse to agree and thereby

distort the entire direct billing mechanism and, in the process,

usurp the public interest.

32a

Where, however, as is the case in the instant proceed-

ings, requiring consent in order to grant the waivers

would impede the otherwise overwhelming public interest

in granting them,'® consent is irrelevant.’® Accordingly,

we deny the requests for rehearing and the motion for

reconsideration.

The Commission orders:

(A) The requests for rehearing filed by Columbia Gas

Transmission Corporation, Michigan Consolidated Gas

Company, and, jointly, Philadelphia Electric Company

and Philadelphia Gas Works are denied.

(B) The motion for reconsideration filed by the Mu-

nicipal Defense Group is denied.

18 Jn our initial order here, we described the negative effects to

the industry of not granting waivers in these proceedings. See

45 FERC at pp. 61,487-61,488.

39 We do not, therefore, see this analysis as reflecting a change

in policy as Columbia has asserted.

nak ae *.

38a

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION

Docket No. RP88-203-00"

PANHANDLE EASTERN PIPE LINE COMPANY

. ORDER GRANTING AUTHORITY TO

IMPLEMENT DIRECT BILLING PROCEDURE

(Issued July 29, 1988)

Before Commissioners: Martha 0. Hesse, Chairman;

Anthony G. Sousa, Charles G. Stalon and Charles A.

Trabandt.

On June 30, 1988, Panhandle Eastern Pipe Line Com-

pany (Panhandle) filed a petition for authority to insti-

tute a direct billing procedure to recover from its custom-

ers production-related costs pursuant to Order No. 473.'

It also requests waivers of the Commission’s regulations

and the provisions of Panhandle’s tariff as may be re-

quired to permit the use of the direct billing procedure.

Panhandle proposes to bill each jurisdictional customer

directly for its pro rata share of specific Order No. 473

costs which have actually been paid by Panhandle to one

of its producer-suppliers, Phillips 66 Natural Gas Com-

pany (Phillips), together with the appropriate interest

calculated in accordance with the Commission’s regula-

1 Compression Allowances and Protest Procedures Under NGPA

Section 110, Order No. 473, FERC Statutes and Regulations § 30,747,

reh’g granted in part, Order No. 473-A, FERC Statutes and Regula-

tions { 30,788 (1987).

84a

tions. Panhandle proposes that the jurisdictional portion

of the payment be allocated among its jurisdictional cus-

tomers based on the proportion of sales to each customer

during the period December 1, 1979 through December 31,

1984, to the total sales during that same period. This

time frame corresponds to the period during which Pan-

handle paid the Order No. 473 amount to its producer-

supplier.

Background

In Order No. 473, the Commission amended 18 C.F.R.

§ 271.1104 to permit first sellers of natural gas to collect

allowances for the cost of fuel or power required to drive

compression facilities upon which construction commenced

yrior to enactment of the NGPA. The Commission per-

mitted producers to collect these amounts retroactively

from August 10, 1987 back to July 25, 1980, or any ear-

lier date on which the producer filed an application with

the Commission to recover NGPA Section 110 production-

related costs. Direct billing of certain compressor costs

has previously been approved by the Commission.’

Description of the Filing

Panhandle proposes to collect by the direct billing pro-

cedure, $15,715,672.68 (including interest) from its juris-

dictional customers. Panhandle states that the above

amount is the jurisdictional portion of the compressor

costs paid to its producer-supplier (Phillips) and pro-

poses that these costs be allocated among its jurisdictional

customers according to the ratio of each customer’s total

jurisdictional sales during the period December 1, 1979

through December 31, 1984, to the total sales during the

same period. Panhandle filed tariff sheets* which set

2 See CNG Transmission Corp., 42 FERC { 61,227 (1988): Na-

tional Fuel Gas Supply Corp., 48 FERC {§ 61,283 (1988).

8 Nineteenth Revised Sheet Nos. 3-C.1, 3-C.2 and 3-C.83 to FERC

Gas Tariff, Original Volume No. 1.

ee ee ree

35a

forth the resulting amount allocated to each of its juris-

dictiona! customers and requests an effective date of

August 1, 1988 to implement the proposal.

In addition, Panhandle has supplied a schedule detailing

how the allocation is to be accomplished and the individual

customer sales data and resulting amounts of Order No.

473 costs. The schedule alsc shows the cost allocation

between Panhandle’s jurisdictional and non-jurisdictional

sales customers of the total Order No. 473 payment.

Panhandle proposes to bill each customer on August 10,

1988, for the amount allocated to each customer, including

interest. Each customer will have the option of paying its

allocated amount in twelve monthly installments pursuant

to the monthly billing procedures contained in Panhandle’s

tariff. Additional interest will be calculated if the cus-

tomer chooses to pay in twelve monthly installments.

Because several of its firm sales contracts will expire

prior to completion of the twelve month installment pe-

riod, Panhandle requests that the Commission require that

its customers’ obligation to pay such amounts be extended

until the amounts are paid in their entirety.

To account for the direct billing procedure, Panhandle

proposes to establish a separate Account No. 191 sub-

account. Panhandle will debit the sub-account with the

Order No. 473 payments and would credit the amounts

received from its customers under the direct billing pro

—eedure.

Panhandle maintains that the direct billing proposal

is the most equitable and appropriate method of allocating

such costs because it matches these costs to each custom-

ers’ respective purchases during the period in which the

costs were incurred. It contends that recovery of these

payments through the normal PCA mechanism would be

inappropriate because a customer could avoid its fair

share of the costs by reducing future purchases.

36a

Public Notice, Motions to Intervene and Protests

Public notice of Panhandle’s filing was issued on July

7, 1988, providing for protests, motions or notices to inter-

vene to be filed on or before July 14, 1988. Timely notices

or motions to intervene were filed by the parties listed in

Appendix A to this order. Pursuant to Rule 214 (18

C.F.R. § 385.214 (1987)) any timely filed motions to in-

tervene are granted unless an answer in opposition is

filed within 15 days of the date such motion is filed. Any

timely filed motions or notices not listed in Appendix A

are also granted in accordance with Rule 214.

Several parties filed petitions contesting Panhandle’s

direct billing proposal. Michigan Gas Storage Company

(MGSC) requests that the proposed effective date of the

proposal be suspended pending further investigation.

MGSC states that it has several questions regarding the

filing that should be resolved before the filing is accepied.

Specifically, MGSC questions Panhandle’s allocation of

$2.02 million of these costs to MGSC, the circumstances

surrounding the incurrence of Order No. 473 costs, and

whether Panhandle has provided sufficient good cause to —

obtain a waiver of the Commission’s regulations and the

filed rate doctrine.

Columbia Gas Transmission Company (Columbia),

Kansas Power and Light Company (KP&L), Michigan

Consolidated Gas Company (MichCon), and Municipal

Defense Group (MDG) oppose the direct billing proposal

as violative of the filed rate doctrine and the prohibition

against retroactive ratemaking.

Discussion

The Commission finds that Panhandle’s direct billing

proposal is an equitable and practical method of allocating

cost responsibility for thse past period Order No. 473

costs. Panhandle’s proposal is similar to other Order No.

ie Be ay

37a

473 proposals which were accepted by the Commission.‘

While the Commission declined to adopt a general rule for

the direct billing of compressor facility costs in Order No.

473, it stated that it would be receptive to filings by pipe-

lines to implement direct billing mechanisms where appro-

priate.®

Appropriate circumstances are present in this case. The

costs which Panhandle seeks to recover are nonrecurring

out-of-period costs. An attempt to recover such costs

through the PGA mechanism would allow customers to

escape cost liability by reducing future purchases from

Panhandle. The direct billing mechanism provides a fair

and accurate method of allocating cost responsibility ac-

cording to the purchases of Panhandle’s customers during

the period in which these costs were incurred.

‘Lae intervenors argue that acceptance of Panhandle’s

proposal will constitute a violation of the filed rate doc-

trine and the prohibition against retroactive ratemaking.

The intervenors argue that it is a well established prin-

ciple of ratemaking that natural gas customers cannot be

retroactively assessed increased charges without prior no-

tice.° In Columbia, the court found that direct billing

mechanisms approved by the Commission under Order

Nos. 94 and 94-A’ could not be lawfully imposed without

4 See supra note 2.

5 Order No. 473 at p. 30,673.

6 Citing Columbia Gas Transmission Corp. v. FERC, 831 F.2d

1135 (D.C. Cir. 1987), aff’d on rehearing, 844 F.2d 879 (D.C. Cir.

1988); see also Arkansas-Louisiana Gas Co, v. Hall, 453 U.S. 571

(1981).

7 Regulations Implementing Section 110 of the Natural Gas Policy

Act of 1978 and Establishing Policy Under the Natural Gas Act,

Order No. 94, FERC Statutes and Regulations, Regulations Pre-

ambles 1977-1981 § 30,178 (1980), reh’g granted in part, Order No.

94-A, FERC Statutes and Regulations, Regulations Preambles 1982-

1985 § 30,419, modified, Order No. 94-B, FERC Statutes and Regu-

lations, Regulations Preambles 1982-1985 { 30,421, reh’g denied,

38a

proper notice. However, on rehearing of Columbia, the

court affirmed that on remand the Commission was free

to consider whether waiver of the filed rate doctrine is

warranted in view of the magnitude of the costs at issue.®

Here, equity demands that Panhandle be granted a

waiver of the notice requirement to permit implementa-

tion of the direct billing procedure which will allow Pan-

handle to collect production-related costs from those cus-

tomers who caused their incurrence. Failure to grant a

waiver under these circumstances would result in Pan-

handle having to absorb costs which its suppliers are

expressly authorized to collect and which it is entitled to

recoup from its customers. Furthermore, a pipeline’s au-

thorization to recover these costs does not restrict the

rights of interested parties to contest the propriety of

individual Order No. 473 payments. Since the protest

procedure gives both pipelines and their customers the

opportunity to challenge the authority of gas suppliers to

collect these costs, the Commission does not believe that a

notice requirement is also necessary to protect customers.

Accordingly, the direct billing proposal submitted by

Panhandle is approved subject to the following conditions:

(A) Panhandle is required to identify the specific con-

tracts with Phillips to which the Order No. 473 costs

pertain.

Order No. 94-C, FERC Statutes and Regulations, Regulations Pre-

ambles 1982-1985 { 30,454, reh’g denied, Order No. 94-D, 23 FERC

{| 61,279, clarified, Order No. 94-E, FERC Statutes and Regulations,

Regulations Preambles 1982-1985 § 30,528 (1983), clarified further,

Order No. 94-F, FERC Statutes and Regulations, Regulations Pre-

ambles 1982-1985 {| 30,654, reh’g denied, Order No. 94-G, 32 FERC

| 61,483 (1985). Order No. 94-A was affirmed in part in Texas

Eastern Transmission Corp. v. FERC, 769 F.2d 1053 (5th Cir.

1985), cert. denied, 106 S.Ct. 1967 (1986). The rulemaking pro-

ceeding that culminated in the issuance of Order No. 473 originated

as a consequence of the court’s remand in the Texas Eastern case.

® Columbia, 844 F.2d at 880; see generally City of Piqua, Ohio v.

FERC, 610 F.2d 950 (D.C. Cir. 1979).

veree

39a

(B) Panhandle is required to provide workpapers de-

tailing its calculation of the amount to be charged its

customers and tite specific cost allocation to each customer.

(C) Panhandle is required to state the date that it

first received a billing for Order No. 473 costs from Phil-

lips, and to explain the reason for Panhandle’s delay in

filing to recover these costs.

In addition, the Commission shall require that any

customer who elects to pay its direct billed costs over a

twelve-month installment period be charged additional

interest calculated in accordance with section 154.102 (c)

of the Commission’s regulations.°

The Commission orders:

(A) Panhandle’s tariff sheets listed in footnote 3 of the

order are accepted for filing subject to the conditions con-

tained in the order.

(B) Waiver of the Commission’s regulations and of

Panhandle’s tariff is granted to the extent necessary to

effectuate the direct billing procedure.

918 C.F.R. § 154.102(c) (1987).

40a

APPENDIX A

Citizens Gas & Coke Utility

Missouri Public Service Division of Utilicorp United, Inc.

Northern Indiana Public Service Company

Illinois Commerce Commission

Illinois Power Company

General Service Customer Group

East Ohio Gas Company _

Indiana Gas Company

Michigan Gas Storage Company*

Michigan Consolidated Gas Company”*

Kansas Power & Light Company*

Municipal Defense Group*

Columbia Gas Transmission Corporation*

* Denotes parties that have also protested filing.

ee ee ne ts tee ee! ny

er rset. 4 ee

Oe mt acta gO eae RIE fs

4la

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION

Docket No. RP88-203-001

PANHANDLE EASTERN PIPE LINE COMPANY

NOTICE OF DENIAL OF REHEARING

BY OPERATION OF LAW

(Issued September 21, 1988)

Lois D. Cashell, Acting Secretary.

On August 26, 1988, Columbia Gas Transmission Cor-

poration and Michigan Consolidated Gas Company filed

requests for rehearing of the Commission’s order in the

above-captioned docket issued on July 29, 1988.1 On Au-

gust 29, 1988, Municipal Defense Group filed a request

for rehearing of the July 29 order. That order granted

Panhandle Eastern Pipe Line Company waiver of the

Commission’s notice requirement and approved the imple-

mentation of a direct billing procedure to recover from

its customers production related costs pursuant to Order

No. 473.?

Take notice that the Commission determined to take no

action on the requests for rehearing. Accordingly, the

requests for rehearing are denied by operation of law

pursuant to Rule 713(f) of the Commission’s Rules of

Practice and Procedure (18 C.F.R. § 385.713 (f) ).

144 FERC { 61,173 (1988).

2 Compression Allowances and Protest Procedures Under NGPA

Section 110, Order No. 473, FERC Statutes and Regulations § 30,747,

reh’g granted in part, Order No. 473-A, FERC Statutes and Regula-

tions § 30,788 (1987).

42a

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

Nos. 85-1846, 85-1847, 86-1021, 86-1074,

86-1082, 86-1164 and 86-1187

COLUMBIA GAS TRANSMISSION CORPORATION,

Petitioner,

Vv.

FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION,

Respondent,

PUBLIC SERVICE ELECTRIC AND GAS COMPANY, PHILADEL-

PHIA GAS WORKS, PHILADELPHIA ELECTRIC COMPANY,

BAY STATE GAS COMPANY, et al.,

Intervenors.

Petitions for Review of Orders of the

Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

Argued Dec. 15, 3.'86

Decided Oct. 27, 1987

Richard L. Gottlieb, Charleston, W.Va., for petitioner

Columbia Gas Transmission Corp. in Nos. 85-1846, 85-

1847, 86-1074, 86-1082 and 86-1164. Steve H. Finch,

G.D.H. Snyder, and S.J. Small, Charleston, W.Va., en-

tered appearances for Columbia Gas Transmission Corp.

Philip B. Malter, with whom Charles F. Wheatley, Jr.,

Annapolis, Md., and Paul M. Flynn, Washington, D.C.,

een tek inte: OL Mii

Ne mene int lb ait eae oe

43a

were on the brief, for petitioner Mun. Defense Group in

No. 86-1187.

Michael J. Fremuth, with whom Thomas F. Ryan, Jr.,

and Robert G. Hardy, Washington, D.C., were on the

brief, for Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line Corp., peti-

tioner in No. 86-1021 and intervenor in No. 85-1847; and

on the joint brief for intervenor pipelines, syith Bolivar

C. Andrews, Carl W. Ulrich, Judy M. Johnson, and J.

Stephen Martin, Houston, Tex., for intervenor Texas

Eastern Transmission Corp.; William Douglas Field, Jr.,

‘Owensboro, Ky., and Michael R. Waller, Houston, Tex.,

for intervenor Texas Gas Transmission Corp.; Raymond

N. Shibley, Lawrence G. Acker, and Patrick J. Whittle,

Washington, D.C., for intervenors Trunkline Gas Co. and

Panhandle Eastern Pipe Line Co. Thomas R. Sheets,

Houston, Tex., also entered an appearance for inter-

venor Texas Eastern Transmission Corp.

John H. Conway, Atty., F.E.R.C., for respondent. Bar-

bara J. Weller, Sol., and A. Karen Hill, F.E.R.C., Wash-

ington, D.C., were on the brief, for respondent.

Glenn W. Letham and Joshua L. Menter, Washington,

D.C., were on the brief, for intervenor Memphis Light,

Gas & Water Div. in No. 86-1074.

John Sandor, Washington, D.C., was on the brief for

amicus curiae The Nat. Ass’n of Consumer Owned Gas

Systems, urging reversal.

Frank P. Saponaro, Jr. and Jennifer K. Walter, Wash-

ington, D.C., entered appearances for intervenor Phila-

delphia Gas Work:

James R. Lacey, Newark, N.J., entered an appearance

for intervenor Public Service Elec. and Gas. Co.

Robert A. MacDonnell, Philadelphia, Pa., entered an

appearance for intervenor Philadelphia Elec. Co.

John S. Schmid, Washington, D.C., entered an appear-

ance for intervenors Bay State Gas Co., et al.

44a

John E. Holtzinger, Jr., John T. Stough, Jr., and

Jacolyn A. Simmons, Washington, D.C., entered appear-

ances for intervenor Atlanta Gas Light Co.

Stanley M. Morley, Joel F. Zipp, and Paul W. Diehl,

Washington, D.C., entered appearances for intervenor

South Carolina Pipeline Corp.

Nusha Wyner, Newark, N.J., Stanley W. Balis, and

Susan N. Kelly, Washington, D.C., entered appearances

for intervenor Public Advocate of New Jersey.

Frank H. Strickler and Gordon M. Grant, Washing-

ton, D.C., entered appearances for intervenor Washing-

ton Gas Light Co.

David E. Blabey, Albany, N.Y., Richard A. Solomon,

and David D’Alessandro, Washington, D.C., entered ap-

pearances for intervenor Public Service Com’n of the

State of N.Y.

Jerry W. Amos, Greensboro, N.C., entered an appear-

ance for intervenor Piedmont Natural Gas Co., Inc.

William W. Ross and Daniel L. Koffsky, Washington,

D.C., entered appearances for intervenor Consumers

Power Co.

James H. Holt and Jeffrey M. Petrash, Detroit, Mich.,

entered appearances for intervenor Michigan Consol. Gas.

Co.

John R. Schaefgan, Jr. and Richard M. Merriman,

Washington, D.C., entered appearances for intervenors

General Customer Service Group, et al.

Before BUCKLEY and WILLIAMS, Circuit Judges,

and GERHARD A. GESELL,* U.S. District Judge for

the District of Columbia.

Opinion for the Court filed by Circuit Judge BUCK-

LEY.

* Sitting by designation pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 292(a).

Aiba Ie abn es» book Nathan

45a

BUCKLEY, Circuit Judge:

Petitioners challenge Federal Energy Regulatory Com-

mission orders permitting five pipelines to recover a sur-

charge from their customers on gas already sold to them.

The amount of the surcharge would, in effect, reimburse

the pipelines for the amounts that the pipelines had sub-

sequently been required to pay to producers for certain

deferred production-associated costs. The principal issue

in these cases is the propriety, under the governing stat-

utes, of such a surcharge.

We conclude that the Commission exceeded its author-

ity when, without proper notice, it approved what in

effect were retroactive increases in the price of natural

gas previously sold by the pipelines to their customers.

I. BACKGROUND

Under the Natural Gas Act (“NGA”), 15 U.S.C.

$§ 717-717w (1982), natural gas companies are required

to keep on file with the Federal Energy Regulatory Com-

mission (“FERC” or “Commission”) “schedules show-

ing all rates and charges for any transportation or sale

[of natural gas] subject to the jurisdiction of the Com-

mission.” 15 U.S.C. § 717c(c) (1982). Under the Nat-

ural Gas Policy Act of 1978 (“NGPA”), 15 U.S.C. §§ 3301-

3432 (1982), Congress established ceiling prices for “first

sales” (typically sales by producers to pipeline companies

(“first purchasers”) ) of various categories of natural

gas. 15 U.S.C. §§ 3312-3319 (1982). In section 110 of the

NGPA, Congress permitted natural gas producers to

charge for certain production-related costs in excess of the

ceiling prices established under the NGPA:

[A] price for the first sale of natural gas shall not

be considered to exceed the maximum lawful price

applicable to the first sale of such natural gas under

this part if such first sale price exceeds the maxi-

46a

mum lawful price to the extent necessary to re-

cover.—

. . 7

(2) any costs of compressing, gathering, process-

ing, treating, liquefying, or transporting such nat-

ural gas, or other similar costs, borne by the seller

and allowed for, by rule or order, by the Commission.

15 U.S.C. § 8320(a) (1982).

Upon enactment of the NGPA, the Commission im-

mediately issued, and at the same time sought public

comment on, interim regulations to implement section

110. Interim Regulations Implementing the Natural Gas

Policy Act of 1978 §§ 271.101-271.1106, 43 Fed.Reg.

56,448, 56,552-77 (1978). The Interim Regulations did

not implement every provision of the NGPA, but merely

proposed guidelines to deal with those areas demanding

the most immediate atyention. Jd. at 56,452. Part 271 of

the Interim Regulations specified the maximum lawful

prices applicable to first sales of natural gas. Id. at 56,-

552. Subpart K prescribed “regulations under which a

price for a first sale of natural gas shall not be consid-

ered to exceed the applicable maximum lawful prices set

forth in Part 271 if such first sale price exceeds the maxi-

mum lawful price to the extent necessary to recover...

production related costs approved by order of the Com-

mission under § 271.1105.” Jd. at 56,574.

In 1980, FERC amended Subpart K to, inter alia, (1)

allow sellers of committed or dedicated natura! gas under

the NGPA to apply for production-related costs in ex-

cess of NGA allowances, (2) permit certain sellers of

natural gas to collect NGA allowances without applica-

tions, and (3) provide for a new category of production-

related costs (“other costs”). Order No. 94: Order

Amending Interim Regulations Under the Natural Gas

Policy Act of 1978 and Establishing Policy Under the

Natural Gas Act, 45 Fed.Reg. 53,099 (1980).

on Se

47a

In the same order, the Commission announced that it

would not accept applications for “compression costs”

until the Commission completed proceedings to determine

an appropriate generic allowance:

Compression is perhaps the single most complex cost

category which we must consider for a production-

related add-on. First, of the activities specifically

listed under section 110, compression, more than any

other, can be undertaken as a production or non-

allocable activity. Second, no standard or prevailing

industry practice now exists for determining the

costs of compression. This means that a seller seek-

ing to add-on compression costs must make a show-

ing as to the costs incurred and the type of com-

pression undertaken. If this must be done case-by-

case for each seller there is a potential for long delay

and inconclusive results. Rather than this approach

(which was the approach of the interim regulations

issued in December 1978), we believe that an appro-

priate allowance for compression can be determined

which would apply for specific kinds of compression.

To this end we will inaugurate a generic proceeding

to determine the appropriate allowance. . .. During

the pendency of the proceeding, in our exercise cf

discretion, we will accept no applications for com-

pression costs.

Id. at 58,107 (footnote omitted). The Commission initi-

ated the same kind of proceeding to establish an appro-

priate generic allowance for “gathering costs.” Jd. at

53,108. The Commission assured first sellers that a “ret-

roactive collection procedure will be provided under which

the allowance for compression [and gathering] costs de-

termined under the generic rulemaking will be ‘applied

to costs incurred with respect to gas delivered on or after

the effective date of this Rule if collection of such costs

is contractually authorized.” Jd. at 53,107 (footnote

omitted).

48a

In the meantime, first purchasers of the gas had re-

course to an existing method for recovering these addi-

tional estimated costs from their customers; namely, a

system of prospective charges called “purchased gas ad-

justment clauses” (“PGA clauses”). 18 C.F.R. § 154.38-

(d) (4) (1987). PGA clauses, like rates, must be filed

with and approved by the Commission before being put

into effect. Proposed PGA clauses must also be accom-

panied by cost studies “based upon actual costs for the 12

months of most recently available actual experience.”

18 C.F.R. § 154.38(d) (4) (i). This mechanism thus per-

mits pipelines to recover through prospective sales, on the

basis of reasonably current calculations, the fluctuating

production-related costs they are required to reimburse

producers.

In 1983, the Commission issued Order Nos, 94-A, 48

Fed.Reg. 5,152 (1983), and 94-B, 48 Fed.Reg. 5,190

(1983), containing its long-promised regulations address-

ing generic compression and gathering cost allowances.

These orders authorized natural gas producers to recover

retroactively from first purchasers the costs incurred by

the producers in the delivery and compression of natural

gas (“deferred costs’) delivered to the pipelines prior to

March 7, 1983 (the effective date of Order Nos. 94-A and

94-B), but after July 25, 1980 (the effective date of

Order No. 94) or the date on which the producer filed

an application with the Commission for reimbursement

of the deferred costs, whichever was earlier. 18 C.F.R.

§ 271.1104(e) (1987).

A number of first purchaser pipeline companies sought

to pass these costs on to their customers (“downstream

purchasers”). To this end, they petitioned FERC for

permission to bill their customers directly for the cus-

tomers’ pro-rata shares of these deferred expenses, such

billing to take the form of a surcharge for gas purchased

by each customer during the three-year period between

the issuance of the interim order (Order No. 94) and the

final orders (Order Nos. 94-A and 94-B). In five cases,

49a

the Commission issued orders * granting pipeline com-

panies permission to do so. The “direct billing” method

for reimbursement is described in the proposal submitted

by Transcontinental Gas Pipeline Corp. (“Transco”) and

approved by the Commission. Under its terms, Transco

undertook

to calculate each customer’s share of the retroactive

allowances based on each customer’s actual pur-

chases during each month to which the retroactive

allowances apply. Each customer’s total amount due,

plus interest, will then be billed and paid in equal

installments over a twelve-month period, or paid in

a single }ump-sum payment at the customer’s option.

32 F.E.R.C. 7 61,230 at 61,545. Thus, in contrast with

the prospective PGA clause mechanism, the direct billing

procedure was designed to provide pipelines with a method

for recovering retroactively, through a system of sur-

charges, the amounts the Commission determined they

were required to reimburse producers for production-as-

sociated costs that had accrued during the three-year

period.

Petitioners have appealed each of the five orders. Co-

lumbia Gas Transmission Corp. and the Municipal De-

fense Group (representing a nuinber of distribution com-

panies that purchase natural gas from pipeline compa-

nies) challenge the legality of direct billing on the ground

that it constitutes retroactive ratemaking prohibited by

the Natural Gas Act. Columbia Gas also asserts that the

direct billing procedure is inconsistent with FERC’s own

* Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line Corp. [“Transeo"), 32 F.E.R.C.

© 61,230, reh’g and clarification denied, 33 F.E R.C. © 61,213 (1985);

Texas Eastern Transmission Corp., 32 F.E.R.C. © 61,493, reh'g de-

nied, 33 F.E.R.C. § 61,257 (1985); Teras Gas Transmission Corp.,

33 F.E.R.C. © 61,032, reh’g denied, 33 F.E.R.C. © 61,359 (1985);

Panhandle Eastern Pipe Line Co., 33 F.E.R.C. © 61,218 (1985),

reh'g denied, 34 F.E.R.C. © 61,231 (1986); and Trunkline Gas Co.,

33 F.E.R.C. © 61,217 (1985), reh’g denied, 34 F.E.R.C. € 61,021

(1986).

50a

precedent, and that the PGA clause mechanism is the only

method (aside from filing for rate increases) that is au-

thorized for recovering such additional expenses.

_The Commission, supported by various intervening

_ pipeline companies, defends its approval of the direct bill-

ing procedure on the basis of its equitable results, as it

would require customers to pay the actual cost of the gas

they have purchased. The Commission also argues that

its orders do not constitute retroactive rulemaking be-

cause the Commission’s 1980 and 1983 ordeis provided

adequate notice that the deferred costs would be passed

along to the pipelines and their customers.

Although Transco supports the concept of direct bill-

ing, it challenges FERC’s decision ‘to apply a different

rate of interest on amounts previously collected under

PGA clauses that Transco must now refund to customers

and the rate it may apply in calculating the total amount

to be recovered from them through direct billing. The

Commission has admitted that its consideration of this

issue was based on error and, on November 24, 1986, it

moved that we remand this one issue for further con-

sideration. :

II. ANALYSIS

A. The Rule Against Retroactive Ratemaking

Both Columbia and the Municipal Defense Group chal-

lenge direct billing as constituting retroactive ratemak-

ing and therefore contrary to law. The Commission de-

fends its decisions to allow pipeline companies to directly

bill their customers for deferred production-related ex-

penses on the basis of an equitable result:

*The Commission . . . determined that allocating

these costs to the pipelines’ customers on the basis

of volumes purchased at the time the costs were in-

curred “will equitably bill customers for the higher

amounts they should have paid based on actual pur-

chases during the past billing periods.” This is a

>

5la

sound reason for adopting the direct billing method;

thus the Commission’s choice of that method is ra-

tionally based.

Brief for Commission at 13 (quoting Transco, reh’g and

clarification denied, 33 F.E.R.C. { 61,213 at 61,443) ; see also,

e.g., Transco, 32 F.E.R.C. 7 61,230 at 61,543 (“[Transco’s

proposal] is administratively effective, equitable, and

meets our concern that pricing signals not be distorted

by the influx of substantial retroactive Order No. 94-A

costs. Above all, it will break up the logjam that has

existed and permit a relatively speedy passthrough of

long overdue cost responsibility.”). The Commission fur-

ther argues that “Order Nos. 94 and 94-A put everyone

on notice that these compression and gathering costs

would be retroactively collected, once the Commission de-

termined the appropriate method and dollar amount.”

Brief for Commission at 14 (citing Transco, 32 F.E.R.C.

7 61,230 at 61,544-45, and 33 F.E.R.C. {| 61,213 at 61,443).

Although the parties have mounted an extensive se-

mantic battle over whether the FERC orders amount to

retroactive ratemaking (or rate authorization), the ef-

fect of the orders is quite clear: downstream purchas-

ers are expected to pay a surcharge, over and above the

rates on file at the time of sale, for gas they had already

purchased. However descrived, this constitutes a retro-

active rate increase that we find to be prohibited by the

NGA. While that prohibition might have been overridden

through adequate notice that purchasers would be expected

to pay the deferred charges at a later date, Order Nos.

94 and 94-A did not constitute such notice. Because they

were addressed exclusively to first sales of natural gas,

they cannot be deemed to have placed downstream pur-

chasers on notice that they in turn would be expected

to absorb those costs through a system of surcharges

collected after the fact. Thus there is no support for

the Commission’s assertion that its orders “‘put everyone

on notice.”

52a

The rule against retroactive ratemaking is derived

from the provisions in the NGA requiring sellers of nat-

ural gas to file their rates with the Commission and de-

fining its authority to modify them. The pertinent statu-

tory language reads as follows:

Under such rules and regulations as the Commis-

sion may prescribe, every natural-gas company shall

file with the Commission, . . . and shall keep open

in convenient form and place for public inspection,

schedules showing all rates and charges for any

transportatioi: or sales subject to the jurisdiction of

the Commission. . . .

15 U.S.C. § 717¢(c).

[T]he Commission shall have no power to order any

increase in any rate contained in the currently ef-

fective schedule of such natural gas company on file

with the Commission, unless such increase is in ac-

cordance with a new schedule filed by such natural

gas company... ._

15 U.S.C. § 717d (a).

These provisions form the basis for the “filed rate

doctrine.” In its discussion of the doctrine in Arkansas

Louisiana Gas Co. v. Hall, 453 U.S. 571, 576-78, 101

S.Ct. 2925, 2929-30, 69 L.Ed.2d 856 (1981), the Supreme

Court notes that

the [Natural Gas] Act bars a regulated seller of

natural gas from collecting a rate other than the one

filed with the Commission and prevents the Commis-

sion itself from imposing a rate increase for gas

already sold.

Id. at 578, 101 S.Ct. at 2931. Moreover, the Court ex-

plicitly states, in a footnote, that “the Commission may

not impose a retroactive rate alteration and, ‘in particu-

lar, may not order reparations... .” Jd. at n. 8 (em-

phasis in original) (citing FPC v. Sunray DX Oil Co.,

”

PO ye eer nee

ne ae ee ee

58a

391 U.S. 9, 24, 88 S.Ct. 1526, 1534, 20 L.Ed.2d 388

(1968) ).

We have recently had occasion to explain, in the case

of electrical utilities, the rationale for prohibiting retro-

active increases in filed ratés: —

The wholesale purchasers of electricity cannot plan

their activities unless they know the cost of what

they are receiving, particularly if they are retailers,

who must calculate their appropriate resale rates,

.. . but also if they are large-scale purchaser-users.

Providing the necessary predictability is the whole

purpose of the well established “filed rate” doctrine,

which “forbids a regulated entity to charge rates for

its services other than those-properly filed with the

appropriate federal regulatory authority.”

Electrical Dist. No. 1 v. FERC, 774 F.2d 490, 493 (D.C.

Cir.1985) (quoting Arkansas Louisiana Gas Co. v. Hall,

453 U.S. 571, 577, 101 S.Ct. 2925, 2930, 69 L.Ed.2d 856

(1981)). Although FERC claims that “Order Nos. 94

and 94-A gave notice that the prices paid for gas during

the pendency of the Commission’s rulemaking were not

final prices,” Brief for Commission at 16, the orders were

explicitly concerned with first sales. Furthermore, even

in that context, the Commission was careful to limit the

application of Order No. 94-A to those cases in which

first purchasers were contractually bound to pay the de-

ferred costs.

As a general matter, the final rules will not operate

to authorize the collection of amounts for production-

related costs incurred prior to today. A basic prin-

ciple of administrative procedure is that rules should

operate prospectively only. We see no reason to de-

part from this principle in implementing these amend-

ments. To the contrary, there is good reason to ad-

here to it. :

54a

48 Fed.Reg. at 5,161. In a footnote to the above-quoted

section, the Commission stated:

An exception is made in the case of delivery or

compression services. However, this exception is

based upon the Commission’s notice in Order No. 94

_that these costs could be recovered. In addition, this

recovery is under. particular safeguards to insure

that amounts collected for these services may only

be collected if contractual authority existed to collect

them at the time they were incurred.

Id. at n. 89 (emphasis added) ; see 18 C.F.R. § 271.1104

(c) (4) (ii). Tt is thus clear that the notice provided by

the two orders was limited to a highly restricted au-

dience.

Furthermore, contrary to what the Commission sug-

gests, Brief for Commission at 16 n. 10, notice may not

be imputed as a result of the “passthrough” provision

in section 601 of the NGPA, 15 U.S.C. § 3431(¢).. While

section 601 permits a pipeline to recover any amount

paid for natural gas that “is deemed to be just and rea-

sonable for purposes of sections 4 and 5 of [the NGA],”

id. § 3431(c) (2) (A), we read nothing in the language

of the section to warrant a resort to retroactive as op-

posed to prospective rate increases.

We need not address’ whether the Commission might

have accomplished the goal of permitting pipelines to pass

these costs on to their customers (in proportion to their

takes in the three-year period following Order No. 94)

through a system of specific PGA clauses for each ac-

count because that issue is not before us. See Brief for

Commission at 20. Such a device, in any event, would

differ significantly from that selected by the Commission,

as it would allow all surcharged customers to plan ac-

cordingly and would enable those with access to more

than one pipeline to respond to the surcharges by reduc-

ing purchases from the pipeline(s) imposing the highest

en ey whey hk: Mihaela dha

3 55a

additional costs. Nor need we determine whether the

Commission, in order to avoid unjust enrichment, might.

“have ordered pipelines to begin collecting production-

related cost surcharges at the time of issuance of Order

No. 94, subject to adjustment when Order No. 94-A speci-

fied the exact production-related cost allowances.” Joint

Brief for Intervenor Pipelines at 22 (citing Kansas

Cities v. FERC, 723 F.2d 82, 93 (D.C.Cir.1983)). As

none of the parties has demonstrated that proper notice

was afforded to pipeline customers that they might be sub-

ject to a surcharge on past purchases, we decline to ad-

dress this hypothetical issue.

B. Prior FERC Precedent

Columbia Gas argues also that the Commission’s de-

cision to permit direct billing for deferred expenses is

inconsistent with prior Commission opinions, orders, and -

regulations, and that the Commission failed to provide an

adequate explanation of why it departed from its: prior

rulings. Because we hold the Commission acted beyond

its authority in approving the direct billing of deferred

costs, we need not decide whether its explanation of its

alleged departure from past practice was sufficiently rea-

sonable.

C. The Interest Decision

Transco argues that it is being penalized in the amount

of almost a million dollars by the FERC order allowing

direct billing because it is required to pay customers a

higher rate of interest on amounts it is required to re-

fund from past PGA clause collections than it is allowed

to charge those same customers on their shares of directly

billed deferred costs. Because we find the FERC orders

allowing direct billing to be ultra vires, the question of

the interest differential is moot. Accordingly, we deny

the Commission’s November 24, 1986 motion to remand

that issue for further consideration.

_

56a

III. CONCLUSION

The five orders on review violate the NGA’s prohibition

against retroactive ratemaking. We therefore strike the

orders authorizing direct billing and remand to the Com-

mission for further proceedings consistent with this opin-

ion.

So ordered.

57a

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

Nos. 85-1846, 85-1847, 86-1021, 86-1074,

86-1082, 86-1164 and 86-1187

CoLUMBiA GAS TRANSMISSION CORPORATION,

‘ , Petitioner,

Vv.

FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION,

Respondent.

April 22, 1988

Catherine C. Cook, Gen. Counsel, Jerome M. Feit, Sol.,

and John H. Conway, Atty., F.E.R.C. (“FERC”), Wash- .

ington, D.C., were on respondent’s petition for rehearing

and suggestion for rehearing en bane and FERC’s sup-

plemental brief in response to court’s February 23, 1988

order.

Raymond N. Shibley and Marlene L. Stein, Washing-

ton, D.C., were on the petition for rehearing and sug-

gestion for rehearing en banc, for intervenors Panhandle

Eatsern Pipe Line Co. and Trunkline Gas Co. and in-

tervenors’ memorandum brief in response to court’s order.

Thomas F. Ryan, Jr., Robert G. Hardy, and Michael

J. Fremuth, Washington, D.C., for Transcontinental Gas

Pipe Line Corp., and William Douglas Field, Jr., Owens-

boro, Ky., for Texas Gas Transmission Corp., were on

the petition for rehearing and suggestion for rehearing

en banc and the pipelines’ joint supplemental brief in re-

sponse to court’s order.

58a

Richard L. Gottlieb, Giles D.H. Snyder, and S.J. Small,

Charleston, W.Va., were on the supplemental brief, for

petitioner Columbia Gas Transmission Corp.

Charles F. Wheatley, Jr., Annapolis, Md., and Philip

B. Malter, Washington, D.C., were on the brief in re-

sponse to court’s order for Municipal Defense Group.

Before BUCKLEY and WILLIAMS, Circuit Sudges,

and GESELL,* U.S. District Judge for the District of

Columbia,

Opinion PER CURIAM.

ON PETITIONS FOR REHEARING

PER CURIAM:

The Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (“FERC”)

and various intervenor pipelines have petitioned this

court for a rehearing of Columbia Gas Transmission Corp.

v. FERC, 831 F.2d 1135 (D.C.Cir.1987). They assert

that our decision notwithstanding, FERC has the implied

authority under section 4(d) to waive the “filed rate”

doctrine. 15 U.S.C. §717c(d), see generally City of

Piqua, Ohio v. FERC, 610 F.2d 950 (D.C.Cir.1979). Be-

cause the issue had not been argued on appeal, we di-

rected the parties to submit supplemental briefs ad-

dressing the following question:

Can the court properly consider and decide, at this

time, the question of waiver of the “filed rate doc-

trine,” the issue not having been explicitly raised

and fully briefed by the parties previously?

Order of Feb. 23, 1988.

In its supplemental brief, FERC asserts that the sec-

tion 4(d) waiver issue “crystallized’”’ only after this court

concluded that ratepayers had been provided with “inade-

quate notice to warrant lawful retroactive ratemaking.”

* Sitting by designation pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 292(a).

i A La et AR alah HA: ait

Wahi canst ieecrncnntssr z

59a

Supplemental Brief for Respondent at 6. Accordingly,

the Commission urges that we exercise our authority to

consider the issue on rehearing in light of the impact

of our decision on the public interest, citing Consumers

Union v. FPC, 510 F.2d 656, 661-62 (D.C.Cir.1974).

Supplemental Brief for Respondent at 6-7.

In Consumers Union, we noted our authority to con-

sider arguments on rehearing that were not raised in

the briefs or oral argument. “Our willingness to [en-

tertain new arguments] rests on a balancing of consid-

erations of judicial orderliness and efficiency against the

need for the greatest possible accuracy in judicial de-

cisionmaking. The latter factor is of particular weight

when the decision affects the broad public interest.” Id.

at 662.

In view of the magnitude of the costs at issue in this

case, we are persuaded that we can best serve that in-

terest by leaving our remand order in place and affirm-

ing that FERC is free to consider the waiver issue and

determine whether it may issue new orders on grounds

consistent with the principles enunciated in our earlier

opinion in this case.

So ordered.

60a

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION |

Docket Nos. RP85-148-000,* TA85-3-29-000

and TA85-3-29-002

TRANSCONTINENTAL GAS PIPE LINE CORPORATION

ORDER GRANTING PETITION TO INSTITUTE DI-

RECT BILLING PROCEDURE FOR RETROACTIVE

PRODUCTION-RELATED COST ALLOWANCES

WITH CONDITIONS, REJECTING COMPLIANCE

TARIFF FILING AND RELATED MOTION AS

MOOT, AND GRANTING WAIVERS

(Issued August 15, 1985)

Before Commissioners: Raymond J. O’Connor, Chair-

man; A. G. Sousa and Charles G. Stalon.

By this order, we grant, with certain conditions, a peti-

tion filed on May 22, 1985, by Transcontinental Gas Pipe

Line Corporation (Transco) to institute -a special -pro-

cedure to directly bill its customers for about $127 million

in “retroactive” production-related cost allowances it as-

serts it has paid or will soon pay its natural gas suppliers.

These allowances are authorized under section 110(a) (2)

of the Natural Gas Policy Act of 1978 (NGPA)! and

section 271.1104 * of th. Commission’s NGPA rules. Ac-

* Not consolidated.

115 U.S.C. § 3320(a) (2).

218 C.F.R. § 271.1104 (1984).

at (ei

ae

6la

cording to Transco, they relate to natural gas that Transco

purchased in NGPA first sales during the period July 25,

1980, through August 31, 1984. Transco proposes to allo-

cate these costs to those of its customers who actually

benefitted from the production-related services performed

during that period and then to directly bill these amounts

in twelve roughly equal. monthly installments. The cus-

tomers would also have the option to make a single lump-

sum payment. This procedure would replace Transco’s

present purchased gas adjustment (PGA) method of flow-

ing through retroactive production-related costs in its

rates.

In this order, we also reject as moot certain tariff sheets

Transco filed on May 31, 1985, in purported compliance

with our April 30, 1985 PGA suspension order issued in

Docket No. TA85-3-29-000, et al. The proposed tariff

sheets would have implemented recovery of a portion of

these production-related cost allowances through the exist-

ing PGA provisions of Transco’s tariff. In addition, we

will direct that Transco provide a more detailed explana-

tion of its gas purchasing programs in order to comply

with Ordering Paragraph (C) of our April 30th order.

Interventions and Protests

Public notice of Transco’s petition was issued in Docket

No. RP85-148-000 on May 28, 1985, providing for pro-

tests, motions, or notices to intervene to be filed on or

before June 6, 1985. The persons listed in Appendix A

to this order filed timely motions or notices to intervene

in Docket No. RP85-148-000. In addition, notice of

Transco’s May 30, 1985 compliance filing in Docket No.

3 Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line Corp., 31 FERC § 61,129 (1985).

On May 30, 1985, Transco also filed a motion for clarification of

Ordering Paragraph (C) of our April 30th order and a request

for stay of the effectiveness of its revised tariff sheets filed May 31,

1985 in Docket No. TA85-2-29-002. We will also reject that motion

in this order.

62a

TA85-3-29-002 was issued on June 5, 1985, providing for

protests, motions, or notices to intervene to be filed on or

before June 12, 1985. Appendix B lists persons who filed

timely motions or notices to intervene in Docket No.

TA85-3-29-002. Pursuant to Rule 214* any timely filed

motions to intervene are granted unless an answer in

opposition is filed within 15 days of the date such motion

is filed. Any timely filed motions or notices not listed in

the appendices are also granted in accordance with the

conditions of Rule 214.

Five persons filed motions to intervene out of time in

Docket No. RP85-148-000: Piedmont Natural Gas Com-

pany (Piedmont), Conoco, Inc. (Conoco), Long Island

Lighting Company (Long Island), Elizabethtown Gas

Company (Elizabethtown), and the Pennsylvania Public

Utility Commission (Pennsylvania PUC). Long Island

and Pennsylvania PUC each filed a motion to intervene

out of time in Docket No. TA85-3-29-002.

In determining if good cause has been shown to permi*

a late intervention, the Commission may consider the fol-

lowing factors: whether (1) the movant had good cause

for failing to file the motion within the time prescribed;

(2) any disruption of the proceeding might result from

permitting the intervention; (3) any prejudice to, or

additional burdens upon, the existing parties might result

from permitting the intervention; (4) the motion con-

forms to the requirements of paragraph (b) of Rule 214;

and (5) the movant’s interest is not adequately repre-

sented by other parties in the proceeding.

In their respective motions, each of the late movants

has established an interest in this proceeding. At this

early stage of the proceeding, other parties will not be

prejudiced by granting their requests for intervention.

Accordingly, the Commission finds that good cause exists

to permit the late interventions.

#18 C.F.R. § 385.214 (1984).

e Sten at op linlee aanatnals

Ten persons filed protests or requests for hearing in

Docket No. RP85-148-000: Public Advocate of New Jer-

sey (Public Advocate), Brooklyn Union Gas Company

(Brooklyn Union), South Jersey Gas Company (South

Jersey), Washington Gas Light Company and Frederick

Gas, Ine. (jointly, WGL), Columbia Gas Transmission

Corporation (Columbia), Public Service Electric and Gas

Company (PSE&G), North Carolina Natural Gas Corpo-

ration (NCNG), and Piedmont. Public Advocate, WGL

and PSE&G also filed protests in Docket No. TA85-3-29-

002. Finally, on June 14, 1985, WGL filed an answer in

opposition to Transco’s motion for clarification and stay

filed May 30, 1985 in Docket No. TA85-3-29-000, et al.

Transco’s Direct Billing Proposal

According to Transco, its petition is part of a two-

pronged effort to, first, clean up a large, outstanding lia-

bility for “retroactive” production-related cost allowances

it owes its producer-suppliers and, second, recoup all of

these payments from its customers without being inequi-

table or sending inaccurate price signals in the process.

The first part involves verifying the accuracy of the in-

voiced allowances and then paying producer-suppliers

the verified amounts." The second part is a direct billing

procedure whereby Transco will recoup these payments

from its customers in twelve monthly installments rather

than through the PGA.

Transco refers to the allowances that it intends to

directly bill as “retroactive Order No. 94 payments” in

5 At this juncture, Transco reports that it has verified and already

paid about $90 million in these allowances and that it expects the

total to reach its estimate of $127.7 million. According to Transco,

there may be differences between what is invoiced and what is the

appropriate amount. It will only pay the amount it verifies. We

will discuss this aspect of its proposal later in response to several

of the protests, and only note here that the fact that such differences

may result does not persuade us to reject the proposal.

64a

order to distinguish them from “current” Order No. 94

payments that it has been paying.®

With regard to “current” payments, Transco has been

using its PGA to pass the cost of the allowances it has

actually paid through to its customers.* Now, because of

the large liability still outstanding, and because of what

Transco asserts are the “inequities and undesirable mar-

ket distortions inherent in recovering retroactive Order

No. 94 costs through PGA filings,” it seeks to implement

its proposed direct billing procedure. The company as-

serts that direct billing will be more equitable to its cus-

tomers than PGA passthrough because it will be able to

match the production-related costs incurred in prior pe-

riods with actual purchases of its customers during those

same prior periods.

Transeo notes that numerous customers on its system

are now purchasing at much lower levels than during the

period when the production-related costs were ineurred.

Therefore, according to Transco, those customers would

be assessed substantially less than their equitable portion

of cost responsibility related to those periods. Further,

®Order No. 94, FERC Statutes and Regulations, Regulations

Preambles 1977-1981, § 30,178 (1980); OrderNo. 94-A, FERC

Statutes and Regulations { 30,419 (1983); Interim Rule, Docket

Nos. RM80-73-000 and RM80-74-000, FERC Statutes and Regula-

tions § 30,420 (1983); Order No. 94-B, FERC Statutes and Regula-

tions { 30,421 (1983); Order No. 94-C, FERC Statutes and Regula-

tions { 30,454 (1983); Order No. 94-D, 23 FERC { 61,280 (1983);

Order No. 333, Regulations Implementing Refund Procedures Un-

der Subpart K of Part 271 for Production-Related Costs, Docket

No. RM&3-6-000, FERC Statutes and Regulations § 30,494 (1983);

Order No. 334, FERC Statutes and Regulations § 30,495 (1983);

Order No. 334-A, 25 FERC { 61,445 (1983); Order No. 94-E, 25

FERC {61,458 (1983). Order Nos. 94-A through 94-D are cur-

rently pending on appeal sub nom. Texas Eastern Transmission

Corp. v. F.E.RC., et al., No. 83-4390 (5th Cir.).

7 See, e.g., Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line Corp., 29 FERC

© 61,148 (1984).

65a

Transco asserts that direct billing avoids the distortion in

market signals that would result if it were to pass these

amounts through its PGA and charge increased com-

modity rates to all of its customers.

Turning to the mechanics of its direct billing proposal,

Transco proposes to calculate each customer’s share of the

retroactive allowances based on each customer’s actual

purchases during each month to which the retroactive

allowances apply. Each customer’s total amount due, plus

interest, will then be billed and paid in equal installments

over a twelve-month period, or paid in a single lump-sum

payment at the customer’s option._A portion of the total

billings is still an estimate due to the fact that Transco

is still verifying and paying a substantial portion of the

allowances. The total, now estimated to be about $127.7

million, will be charged to a special subaccount at the time

the direct billing begins. To the extent Transco pays an

amount different than what it previously estimated, it

will debit or credit the special subaccount, thereby modify-

ing the remaining monthly billing amounts. At the end

of the twelve-month veriod, Transco will transfer any re-

maining balances to its Account No. 191 and will reflect

this amount in its next PGA.

Apart from the fact that Transco’s $127.7 million figure

presently includes projections, there are two other com-

ponents of this figure that should be noted. First, this

figure includes about $18.9 million in retroactive allow-

ances Transco previously used to offset Btu refunds pur-

suant to Order No. 399-A.° The offset provision was sub-

sequently vacated in Interstate Natural Gas Association

of America v. F.E.R.C., et al.’

The second component consists of about $32.3 million of

retroactive payments Transco already has recovered from

its customers through its PGA as authorized in Docket

8 FERC Statutes and Regulations § 30,612 (1984).

9756 F.2d 166 (D.C. Cir. 1985).

66a

Nos. TA84-2-29-002 °° and TA85-1-29-000." In order to

treat its -eustomers as if it had not previously passed

through any of these retroactive allowances, Transco pro-

poses to refund this $32.3 million amount plus interest

to its customers and then, after reallocating these pay-

ments in accordance with the matching principle of its

proposal, directly billing these amounts as if they had not

previously been recovered. Transco proposes to refund

this amount within 15 days of the date of Commission

approval of its petition.

Discussion

Based on our review of Transco’s proposal we believe

that it should be approved as conditioned below. It is ad-

ministratively effective, equitable, and meets our concern |

that pricing signals not be distorted by the influx of sub-

stantial retroactive Order No. 94-A costs. Above all, it

will break the logjam that has existed and permit a rela-

tively speedy passthrough of long overdue cost respon-

sibility.

We are mindful of the adverse reaction of the protest-

ers and certain other intervenors who seek rejection or at

least a hearing on the proposal. To the extent appropriate,

we will condition our authorization to meet the various

legitimate concerns of these parties.’* However, the bal-

ance of the objections are without merit and do not per-

suade us that the proposal should not be implemented

immediately.

10 Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line Corp., 27 FERC Jf 61,227

(1984).

11 Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line Corp., 29 FERC { 61,148

(1984).

12 Our conditions relate to clarifying the procedures used, par-

ticularly interest calculations, ensuring clear and timely reporting,

and requiring back-up data if not previously filed.

a

a

3

i

babbiniio'y 8 2

ti a

Aine oo ed TR lan sae! 1 ov

am Wena em

—

67a

Several protesters argue that Transco’s proposal is pre-

mature because the amounts to be billed are still uncertain

and subject to change for various reasons. For example,

several assert that Transco’s proposal is premature be-

cause of the pending appeal of Order Nos. 94 through

94-D in the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals. WGL as-

serts that a decision by the court could render Transco’s

proposed charges uncollectible. Public Advocate urges

that we require Transco to hold in escrow all amounts

collected from its customers by direct billing pending the

outcome of the Court of Appeals litigation.

Despite the fact that these orders have been challenged

in court, section 271.1104 of-our regulations promulgated

“by those orders is effective and authorizes Transco’s

first seller suppliers to charge and collect the subject

production-related cost allowances from Transco.'* We

only address the procedures that Transco proposes to use

to collect from its own customers. As we stated above,

we believe those procedures are equitable.

Certain parties argue that the proposal also is pre-

mature because the accuracy of the allowances that

Transco will directly bill is still at issue. South Jersey

and Public Advocate note that Associated Gas Distributors

(AGD) filed a blanket protest in Docket No. GP85-4-000

to the production-related cost “blanket affidavits” *° filed

138 Texas Eastern Transmission Corp. v. F.E.R.C., No. 83-4390.

Oral argument was held March 8, 1985. —

14 Because of section 271.1104(e)(3) requirements regarding the

time to collect the retroactive allowances, i.e., by December 31, 1984,

there may be cases where a waiver of that provision may be needed.

We note that on September 7, 1984, Transco filed a petition for

waiver of section 271.1104(e)(3) in Docket No. GP84-53-000. We

shall deal with that petition by separate order.

158 See 18 C.F.R. § 154.94(k) (1984). These blanket affidavits are

only required with respect to first sales of gas still subject to the

Natural Gas Act. Accordingly, AGD’s protest does not relate to

many of the production-related cost allowances at issue here.

68a

by every company selling gas to Transco. In that protest,

which is pending before the Commission, AGD requested

a hearing regarding all of the production-related cost al-

lowances covered by the protested blanket affidavits. South

Jersey asserts that, among other things, the AGD protest

raises the question of whether Transco’s suppliers had

contractual authority to collect these allowances. Brook-

lyn Union asserts that there is a material discrepancy

between Transco’s $127.7 million estimates of retroactive

costs and the amounts it has previously identified in its

previous PGA filings. Accordingly, Brooklyn Union re-

quests that we not approve the direct billing proposal at

this time and instead set for hearing the issue of whether

Transco’s payments of the retroactive allowances were

properly computed and contractually authorized. Further,

it urges that any direct billing procedure that we even-

tually adopt should be applicable only to the recovery of

Transco’s actual cash payments and not estimates.

We recognize the concerns of these parties, but we

again emphasize that we are only approving a billing

procedure. Our action here does not constitute a decision

regarding the validity of any production-related cost al-

lowances paid or collected as part of this procedure, and

any amounts so paid and collected are subject to refund."®

Further, we will adopt Brooklyn Union’s suggestion that

Transco only be permitted to directly bill for its actual

cash payments to allay Brooklyn Union’s concerns that

billed amounts may recover estimated but as yet unpaid

liabilities. Because Transco only pays what it believes is

lawful under § 271.1104, this will mean that only those

actual cash payments, on which both the first seller and

16 All of Transco’s first seller suppliers have a continuing obliga-

tion to refund any amounts unlawfully collected in excess of the

applicable allowances authorized by section 271.1104. See 18 C.F.R.

§ 270.101(e) (1984). Further, no amounts that Transco pays in

excess of the applicable NGPA maximum lawful price inclusive of

such allowances are permitted automatic passthrough under section

601(b)(1) of the NGPA, 15 U.S.C. § 3431(b) (1).

ee TN Re ee Nae eR Ce ee ee

eee TS tw

69a

Transco agree, will be collected through direct billing.

That is consistent with the self-implementing feature of

our production-related cost rules.’ Any amounts in dis-

pute between Transco and its suppliers are automatically

excluded from the direct billing procedure. Disputes as

to the amounts that are directly billed can be raised be-

fore the Production-Related Costs Board.'*

Several protesters expressed concern that they may not

be permitted to passthrough the directly billed amounts at

the state level. For example, WGL asserts that Transco’s

customers may experience a lag of up to two years before

recovering these billed costs through their local rates, or,

alternatively, the state regulatory agencies may disallow

the costs as premature. South Jersey seeks a delay in

implementing direct billing until November 1, 1985, to

coincide with its state-approved PGA-type procedures.

Public Advocate argues that the proposal is\grounded on

what may be an incorrect assumption that distributors

will attempt to match these amounts with their own cus-

tomer’s actual purchases just as Transco has done. If that

is not the case, then, it argues, these billed amounts can

be avoided by interruptible customers thereby shifting an

unfair share of these-costs to firm customers. All of these

concerns relate to potential problems at the state and local

level after billings are paid by Transco’s customers and

are more appropriately to be considered and resolved by

the state or loca! regulatory agency.

Public Advocate further argues that since the

production-related cost allowances to be directly billed are

17 We note that our rules contemplate a self-implementing pro-

cedure whereby the purchaser is primarily responsible for policing

the accuracy of production-related cost allowances it is billed by its

first seller suppliers. See Order No. 94-C, FERC Statutes and Reg-

ulations § 30,454, at pp. 30,472-73 (1983). Transco’s ongoing process

of verifying the amounts it is invoiced is in accord with these

self-implementing procedures.

18 See 18 C.F.R. § 271.1105 (1984).

70a

purchased gas costs, they should be included in Transco’s

commodity costs and therefore subject to renegotiation to

make Transco’s gas more marketable. By directly billing

these costs, Public Advocate asserts that the producers and

Transco will continue to collect what Public Advocate

believes is an excessive current cost of gas plus the retro-

active allowances in the form of a demand-type charge.

It argues that this would eliminate the incentive for the

producers to give up on the collection of these allowances.

Public Advocate asserts that the proaucers should be given

the clear signal that the market place will not withstand

the collection of the retroactive payments through any

means and that they should renegotiate their contracts

accordingly. We have reviewed the proposal and deter-

mined that the direct billing approach applied to the costs

at issue here is equitable.. This approach imposes the cost

responsibility on the customers who bought the gas with

which the section 110 payments are associated.

Several protesters argue that the proposal involves

retroactive ratemaking. While Philadelphia Gas Works

(PGW) charges that all collections would be suspect,

PSE&G focuses only on the $32.3 million that Transco

previously collected through its PGA but now intends to

refund and then directly bill. PSE&G argues that the

$32.3 million should not be refunded and then directly

billed. These objections are without merit and, in effect,

constitute a collateral attack on Order No. 94-A, et al.

Order No, 94-A expressly authorized the collection of

retroactively effective allowances which, to the extent di-

rectly billed now, are a cost to those customers. Moreover,

authorizing a refund and subsequent direct billing of the

$32.3 million already charged is not retroactive ratemak-

ing. All amounts Transco previously collected in its PGA

proceedings were collected subject to refund. To the ex-

tent we approve a direct billing of that $32.3 million

amount (which is a prospective action), a refund is appro-

priate and is authorized by our prior PGA suspension

orders to avoid a double-collection.

Pees ee er ee re waist oa e é

‘

+

|

x

%

-

T1la

Columbia argues that Transco’s direct billing pro-

posal is similar to one that we rejected in Tennessee Gas

Pipeline Co., 29 FERC {1 61,150 (1984). Columbia’s argu-

ment is incorrect. Tennessez proposed a permanent

change to its tariff to allow for direct billing of any

extraordinary item over $1 million. The Commission

found that Tennessee had not shown good cause to waive

the Commission’s PGA rules, particularly section 154.38

(d) (4) (iv) (d). The Commission expressed its concern

over the uncertainty of what Tennessee meant by an

“extroardinary item” and the fact that the $1 million

minimum did not, in and of itself, appear to be an ex-

traordinary amount in comparison to Tennessee’s unre-

covered purchased gas costs.'® Here, Transco’s proposal

relates to a clearly defined, extraordinary out-of-period

cost item appropriate for special treatment. However,

to be consistent with our discussion in Tennessee, we will

condition our approval to require that, should Transco be

obligated to refund any retroactive payments to its cus-

tomers following the close of the direct billing period, it

must directly pay the refunds in lump sum payments.

Miscellaneous Matters

Regarding interest, Transco only states that interest

will be calculated “in all cases in accordance with the

Commission’s PGA regulations.” To allay concerns re-

garding the ambiguity of Transco’s interest computa-

tions, we will direct that, first, as to any production-

related cost allowance payments that Transco paid but

has not previously recouped, interest shall be computed for

purposes of direct- billing in accordance with section

154.38(d) (4) (iv) (ec) of the Commission’s rules. Second,

as to the refund of the $32.3 million in previously col-

lected amounts, interest shall be calculated in accordance

with section 154.67(c) (2), 18 C.F.R. § 154.67(ce) (2)

(1984). This second requirement is to clarify that the

1929 FERC { 61,150, at p. 61,329.

72a

interest Transco will owe on the $32.3 million refund

amount cannot be’reduced by the application of principles

of interperiod tax allocation that would have applied had

we authorized interest to be calculated in accordance with

our PGA regulations as Transco requested.”

Several of the protesters assert that Transco’s proposal

is deficient insofar as it fails to include proposed revised

tariff sheets. Furthermore, and consistent with their

view that tariff sheets are required, these parties assert

that any such filing should be suspended fer the full 5-

month statutory period under section 4(e) of the Natural

Gas Act.”

While we agree that the amounts to be directly billed

do constitute part of Transco’s “rates” to its customers,

this proposal does not require submission of tariff sheets.

Any such sheets would necessarily change each month and

would consist of a listing, company-by-company, of the

actual amounts billed. That is information which we

will obtain by report. As to the technical requirements of

the Natural Gas Act requiring the filing of changes in

tariffs, the original gas costs to which these section 110

payments apply were reflected on tariff sheets. Here, we

are permitting retroactive change in those costs as per-

mitted by the NGA and our regulations.” All billings will

be subject to refund and may be protested at the close of

the twelve-month billing period after each customer’s

final total billing is known. To the extent waivers of our

rules are required to effect this billing procedure in this

manner, they are granted for good cause shown.

20 See 18 C.F.R. § 154.38(d) (4) (iv) (6) (1984).

2115 U.S.C. § 717c(e).

22 We note that we likewise did not require revised tariff sheets

in the case of a similar direct billing proposal by Natural Gas

Pipeline Company that we approved by letter order issued January

29, 1985. See, Natural Gas Pipeline Co., 30 FERC {§ 61,138 (1985).

73a

Finally, we shall require Transco to file a report within

30 days of the end of the 12-month billing period detail-

ing its actual billings and the disposition of remaining

balances. Further, we will require that Transco file a

refund report regarding its dispersal of the $32.3 million

in refunds within 15 days after it makes those dispersals.

We shall also require Transco to submit, within 15 days

of each monthly billing, the information required by sec-

tion 271.1104(f) and contract provisions necessary to

verify the accuracy of its retroactive allowance payments.

Transco’s Compliance Filing in Docket No.

TA85-3-29-000

As we noted at the outset of this order, Transco filed

certain tariff sheets that would have reflected PGA treat-

ment of some of the same retroactive production-related

cost allowance payments we are allowing it to directly bill.

On May 31, 1985, Transco filed proposed revised tariff

sheets in order to comply with Ordering Paragraph (C)

of our PGA suspension order issued in Docket No. TA85-

3-29-000 on April 30, 1985.** In that order, we rejected

Transco’s filed tariff sheets that reflected the elimination

of recovery of retroactive production-related cost allow-

ances and ordered Transco to include sufficient produc-

tion-related costs to balance the amounts passed through

to its winter customers in its last PGA in Docket No.

TA85-1-29-000.** At the time we issued that order,

Transco had yet to file its direct billing proposal. Now

that we have its proposal before us, Transco’s revised

tariff sheets are no longer appropriate, and as such, we

shall reject them as moot. In addition, and for the same

reason, we shall reject as moot a motion Transco filed

May 30, 1985, in Docket No. TA-85-3-29-000 requesting

clarification of Ordering Paragraph (C) of our April 30,

23 Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line Corp., 31 FERC { 61,129

(1985).

24 Jd. at pp. 61,265-65.

74a

1985 order and stay of the effectiveness of the revised

tariff sheets filed on June 5, 1985. Except as provided

below, we therefore will not discuss any of the objections

made to Transco’s compliance filing in the protests and

answers filed in response.

In its June 12, 1985 protest in Docket No. TA85-3-

29-000, et al., Public Advocate asserts that, in its com-

pliance filing of May 31, 1985, Transco failed to provide

the information regarding Transco’s Market Retention

Program and Market Maintenance Program (MRP and

MMP, respectively) as ordered in our April 30th sus-

pension order.* Upon review of Transco’s compliance

filing we find that, for the reasons set forth in Pub-

lic Advocate’s protest, Transco’s response is deficient

and not in compliance with our order. Accordingly, we

shall. order Transco to fully comply with Ordering Para-

graph (C) of our April.30, 1985 order regarding its

MRP and MMP within 30 days of this order. Finally, in

an answer to Transco’s motion for clarification and stay,

WGL argues that Transco failed to provide information

regarding Order 94-A costs it expects to pay during the

current PGA period as directed by that order. In light

of our action today, we will no longer require Transco to

file that information and will modify our April 30th

order accordingly.

The Commission orders:

(A) Transco’s petition for direct billing filed in Docket

No. RP85-148-000 on May 22, 1985, is granted and its

direct billing procedure is made effective as of the date

of issuance of this order subject to the conditions set

forth below.

(B) Waiver of the Commission’s regulations is granted

to the extent necessary to permit Transco to implement

its direct billing proposal as conditioned in this order.

25 Jd. at p. 61,266.

75a

(C) Transco is permitted to implement the direct bill-

ing procedures described more fully in the text above and

in its petition, subject to the following conditions:

(1) While it may initially base its twelve month bill-

ings on the total of .actuai plus estimated payments,

Transco shall include in its monthly billings to its cus-

tomers only amounts it has actually paid prior to the

issuance of each such monthly billing.

(2) Transco shall compute interest on the production-

related cost allowance payments it has made and not pre-

viously recouped in accordance with 18 C.F.R. § 154.38

(d) (4) (iv) (ec) (1984) and section 22.7 of the General

Terms and Conditions of Transco’s FERC Gas Tariff,

Second Revised Volume No. 1.

(3) Within 15 days of. the date of this order,

Transco shall directly refund, by lump-sum payments,

$32,303,982.00 io its customers consistent with the dis-

cussion in the text above, plus interest thereon computed

in accordance with 18 C.F.R. § 154.67(¢c) (2) (1984), and,

within 15 days of the dispersal of such refunds, Transco

shall file a report with the Commission detailing the

amounts refunded to each customer, and showing the

basis for each such amount and the date puri.

(4) Within 30 days of the end of the twelve-month

billing period, Transco shall file a report that details:

(a) Transco’s actual monthly billings identified on a

company-by-company basis and (b) the amount and dis-

position of any remaining balance in its special sub-

account.

(5) Within 15 days of each monthly billing, Transco

shall file: (a) the information required under 18 C.F.R.

§ 271.1104(f), and (b) the relevant contractual provi-

sions supporting the billed costs, to the extent that such

information or contracts have not previously been filed

with the Commission.

76a

(6) Within 30 days of the date of this order, Transco

shall file all information regarding its MRP and MMP

required by Ordering Paragraph (C) of the Commis-

sion’s order issued April 30, 1985 in Docket No. TA85-

3-29-000, et al., including:(a) a detailed explanation of

each such response (b) supporting information and data,

(c) any other information necessary to fully respond to

the deficiencies raised in the protest by Public Advocate

filed on June 12, 1985, in Docket No. TA8&5-3-29-000,

et al.

(D) Transco’s Substitute Thirty-Fifth Revised Sheet

Nos. 12 and 15 and Substitute First Revised Sheet No.

15-A to its FERC Gas Tariff, Second Revised Volume

No. 1, are rejected as moot.

(E) Fransco’s Motion for Clarification and Stay filed

May 30, 1985, in Docket No. TA85-3-29-000, et al. is re-

jected as moot.

(F) Ordering Paragraph (C) of the Commission’s

order issued April 30, 1985, in Docket No. TA85-3-29-000,

et al, 31 FERC { 61,129, is modified to eliminate the

requirement of filing information and revised tariff

sheets regarding Order No. 94-A costs.

(G) The late motions to intervene filed by Piedmont,

Conoco, Long Island, Elizabethtown, and Pennsylvania

PUC are granted subject to the rules and regulations

of the Commission; provided, however, that the participa-

tion of the intervenors shall be limited to matters affect-

ing asserted rights and interests set forth in their mo-

tions to intervene; and provided, further, that the admis-

sion of such intervenors shall not be construed as recog-

nition that they might be aggrieved by any order entered

in this proceeding.

77a

APPENDIX A

Motions to Intervene: Docket No. RP85-148-000

The Public Advocate of New Jersey '

The Brooklyn Union Gas Company *

South Jersey Gas Company ”

Washington Gas Light Company and

Frederick Gas Company, Inc.'

Columbia Gas Transmission Corporation '

Public Service Electric and Gas Company ”

Philadelphia Gas Works

South Carolina Pipeline Corporation

Consolidated Edison Company of New York, Inc.

Allied Corporation

Atlanta Gas Light Corporation

Arco Oil and Gas Corporation

National Fuel Gas Supply Corporation

Consolidated Gas Transmission Corporation

Southern Natural Gas Company

Texas Eastern Transmission Corporation

North Carolina Natural Gas Corporation and

Public Service Company of North

Carolina, Inc.'

Pennsylvania Gas and Water Company

UGI Corporation

Philadelphia Electric Company

Commonwealth Gas Pipeline Corporation

Delmarva Power and Light Company

North Penn Gas Company

Owens-Corning Fiberglas Corporation

The Public Service Commission of the State of

New York

1 Also filed a protest.

2 Requested hearing.

78a

APPENDIX B

Motions to Intervene: Docket No.

TA85-3-29-002

Public Advocate of New Jersey '

Texas Eastern Transmission Corporation

Brooklyn Union Gas Company

Consolidated Edison Company of New York, Inc.

Public Service Electric and Gas Company °

National Fue! Gas Supply Corporation

1 Also filed a protest.

* Request hearing.

79a

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION

Docket No. RP85-170-000

TEXAS EASTERN TRANSMISSION CORPORATION

ORDER GRANTING PETITION TO INSTITUTE DI-

RECT BILLING PROCEDURE FOR RETROACTIVE

PRODUCTION-RELATED COST ALLOWANCES

WITH CONDITIONS, AND GRANTING WAIVERS

(Issued September 30, 1985)

Before Commissioners: Raymond J. O’Connor, Chair-

man; A. G. Sousa and Charles G. Stalon.

By this order we grant, with certain conditions, a peti-

tion which Texas Eastern Transmission Corporation

(Tetco) filed on July 3, 1985, proposing that it be per-

mitted to bill its customers directly for approximately

$74 million (plus interest) in retroactive production-

related cost allowances it asserts it has paid or will soon

pay its natural gas suppliers.' These allowances are au-

thorized under section 110(a)(2) of the Natural Gas

Policy Act of 1978 (NGPA)? and section 271.1104* of

the Commission’s NGPA rules. According to Tetco, they

relate to natural gas that Tetco purchased during the

period July 25, 1980 through April 30, 1985. Tetco pro-

poses to allocate these costs to those of its customers who

actually benefited from the production-related services

1Tetco will collect interest pursuant to the Commission’s PGA

Regulations, 18 C.F.R. § 154.38(d).

215 U.S.C. § 3320(a)(2)..

818 C.F.R. § 271.1104 (1984).

80a

performed during that period and then to directly bill

these amounts in twelve monthly installments. The cus-

tomers would have the option to make a single lump-sum

payment. Tetco’s direct billing procedure would replace

the purchased gas adjustment (PGA) method of flowing

through retroactive production-related costs in its rates.

This approach will remove market disterting gas costs

attributable to past periods from Tetco’s current and

future PGA filings, and thus avoid distortion of market

signals.

Background

Pursuant to section 110 of the Natural Gas Policy Act

of 1978 (“NGPA”), the Commission has established

“production-related cost” allowances payable to certain

sellers of natural gas in addition to the otherwise ap-

plicable maximum lawful ceiling price for natural gas.

Among the costs listed under section 110 for which an

allowance may be permitted, are costs borne by the seller

for gathering, transporting, compressing and condition-

ing the gas sold. In December of 1978, the Commission

issued interim rules implementing section 110 of the

NGPA of 1978 (Docket No. RM79-3, issued December

1, 1978). [FERC Statutes and Regulations, Regulations

Preambles 1977-1981 { 30,026]. Under those rules, cer-

tain qualified sellers were granted allowances above the

applicable ceiling price for certain costs incurred in

gathering, transporting and compressing natural gas. In

most cases, however, sellers had to apply to the Commis-

sion before such an allowance could be collected.

On July 25, 1980, the Commission issued Order No.

94 [FERC Statutes and Regulations, Regulations Pre-

ambles 1977-1981 § 30,178] whereby the Commission sus-

pended applications for gathering and compression al-

lowances under section 110, but retained the application

procedure for costs incurred to transport gas. The Com-

mission announced in Order No. 94 its intention to es-

tablish in future orders industry-wide generic allowances

8la

for compression and gathering costs which would be ef-

fective as of the date of issuance of Order No. 94.*

Tetco has already paid, and will pay producers a sub-

stantial amount for Order No. 94 costs that were in-

curred during the Commission defined retroactive pe-

riod, as well as retroactive amounts related to the period

March 7, 1983, through April 30, 1985.

Interventions

The Commission issued notice of Tetco’s petition on

July 12, 1985, with motions to intervene or protests due

July 22, 1985. The persons listed in the Appendix to

this order filed motions or notices_to intervene. Four of

the motions to intervene were filed late.

In determining if good cause has been shown to permit

a late intervention, the Commission may consider the fol-

lowing factors: whether (1) the movant had good cause

for failing to file the motion within the time prescribed;

(2) any disruption of the proceeding might result from

permitting the intervention; (3) any prejudice to, or ad-

ditional burdens upon, the existing parties that might re-

sult from permitting the intervention; (4) the motion

*On January 24, 1983, the Commission issued the interim rule

establishing industry-wide delivery and compression allowances in

Docket Nos. RM80-73-000 and RM80-74-000, et al. The Commission

also issued Order Nos. 94-A and 94-B [FERC Statutes and Regula-

tions, Regulations Preambles 1977-1981 { 30,419, 30,421], as final

orders, which defined the eligibility criteria for collection of the

allowances for production-related costs (Docket Nos. RM80-47-002

and RM80-47-003). These rules were effective as of March 7, 1983.

The rules were affirmed in Texas Eastern Transmission Corp. v.

F.E.R.C., No. 83-4390 (5th Cir., Aug. 19, 1985). The allowances

for “production-related” costs are set out in the Commission’s

Rules ard Regulations, section 271.1104. The regulations promul-

gated » ‘er section 110 provide for the retroactive recovery of

costs incuvred in delivering and compressing natural gas for serv-

ices provided prior to March 7, 1983, the effective date of Order

No. 94-A, but after July 25, 1980, the effective date of Order No.

94. 18 C.F.R. 271.1104(e).

82a

conforms to the requirements of paragraph (b) of Rule

214; and (5) the movant’s interest is not adequately

represented by other parties in the proceeding.

In their respective motions, each of the late movants

has established an interest in this proceeding. At this

stage of the proceeding, other parties will not be preju-

diced by granting their requests for intervention. Ac-

cordingly, the Commission finds that good cause exists

to permit the late interventions.

Four interveners protested Tetco’s petition: Columbia

Gas Transmission Corporation, Municipal Defense Group,

Philadelphia Gas Works and the Algonquin Customer

Group. Two interveners requested that the Commission

set this matter for hearing: New Jersey Natural Gas

Company and National Gas and Oil Company. The pro-

testers and New Jersey Natural Gas company raise no

issues which were not previously addressed by the Com-

mission in orders approving direct billing proposals by

Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line Corporation and Ten-

nessee Gas Pipeline Company;* their arguments there-

fore will not be specifically addressed herein.

Protests

National Gas and Oil Company (NGO) asserts that

Tetco’s billing allocation is incorrect. NGO claims that

its bill is partially based on volumes NGO had trans-

ferred to other of Tetco’s DCQ customers and that Tetco’s

proposal would result in an overcharge to NGO of

$606,756.39. The Commission will direct that Tetco file

within 15 days of the issuance Commission’s order either:

(1) a response to the allegations of NGO, or (2) an ap-

propriately revised billing allocation if the concerns raised

by NGO are correct. This compliance filing will provide

NGO with a forum to continue to take issue with Tetco’s

direct billing proposal, if necessary.

5 See 32 FERC { 61,230 mimeo, at 6-11; 31 FERC { 61,308, at

-p. 61,695 (1985).

o

é

#

j

$

4

<

4

4

y

— se eer es oe wa Sh hae oP eee eS ee ee

Nee CAR wwee fede

83a

_&ssociated Natural Gas Company (ANG) filed com-

ments objecting to Tetco’s proposal. ANG lost a major

segment of its distribution system December 1, 1984 * and

is concerned that Tetco’s proposal will result in a sub-

stantial rate increase to customers other than those who

actually incurred the subject costs. ANG’s estimated to-

tal bill is $506,496.10; the Commission staff estimates

that about $55,000 of this relates to ANG’s lost load.’

While the Commission recognizes ANG’s problem, this is

an issue which is appropriately addressed at the state

level; since it concerns sales not for resale, it is not sub-

ject to Commission determination.

Discussion

Tetco’s proposal is for an equitable and practical

method of allocating cost responsibility, similar to pro-

posals the Commission has approved in two previous in-

stances. The Commission agrees, however, with those

protesters who argue that Tetco should not include esti-

mated amounts in its billing. It is appropriate, nonethe-

less, to use estimates to calculate the total amount upon

which the twelve monthly bills are based in order to avoid

progressively larger bills as payments to producers are

actually made. Limiting Tetco’s collection of retroactive

Order No. 94 amounts to the levels it has actually paid

at the time of the monthly billing will also provide Tetco

with an incentive to process outstanding production-re-

lated cost invoices so they can be included in monthly

bills. We will, therefore, approve TETCO’s proposal,

subject to appropriate conditions, and grant the necessary

* The distribution system was operated by ANG until November

30, 1984, when the City of Kennett, Missouri acquired it. Kennett

now buys gas directly from Tetco. The necessary abandonments and

certificates were issued in Docket Nos. CP83-300 and CP83-°01.

7 Based on ANG’s release to Kennett of 10.811 percent of ANG’s

purchases from Tetco pursuant to the noted dockets. ANG’s opera-

tion of the Kennett distribution system is non-jurisdictional.

® See footnote 5, supra, and accompanying text.

()

84a

waivers. This acceptance does not constitute a decision

regarding the validity of any production-related cost al-

lowances paid or collected as part of this procedure; any

amounts so paid and collected are subject to refund.°

The Commission orders:

(A) Tetco’s petition for direct billing filed in Docket

No. RP85-17-000 on July 3, 1985, is granted, and its

direct billing procedure is made effective as of October

1, 1985, subject to the conditions set forth below:

(1) Production-related cost allowances paid or collected

as part of the direct billing procedure are subject to

refund as provided in this order;

(2). While Tetco may initially base its twelve monthly

» billings to its customers on the total retroactive Order

No. 94 payments (both estimated and actual), it may

include in its “monthly bills to customers only amounts

it has actually paid prior to the issuance of each monthly

billing;

(3) Teteo is directed to file within 15 days a response

to NGO’s allegations concerning its direct billing alloca-

tion, or a revised direct billing principal allocation con-

sistent with NGO’s concerns;

(4) Tetco is required to file a report, within 30 days

of the end of the 12-month billing period, that details

Tetco’s actual monthly billings by ¢ustomer, and the dis-

position of any remaining amounts; and

(5) Teteo is required to file, within 15 days of each

monthly billing, (a) the information required under sec-

® All of Tetco’s first seller suppliers have a continuing obligation

to refund any amounts unlawfuily collected in excess of the ap-

plicable allowances authorized by section 271.1104. See 18 C.F.R.

§ 270.101(e) (1984). Further, no amounts that Tetco pays in

excess of the applicable NGPA maximum lawful price inclusive

of such allowances are permitted automatic passthrough under sec-

tion 601(b)(1) of the NGPA, 15 U.S.C. § 3431(b)(1).

ATR

4 Se eS eee oe

85a

tion 271.1104(f) of the Commission’s regulations, and

(b) the relevant contractual provisions supporting the

billed costs, to the extent that such information has not

been previously filed at the Commission;

(B) Waiver of the Commission’s regulations is granted

to the extent necessary to permit Tetco to implement its

direct billing proposal as conditioned in this order.

(C) The late motions to intervene filed by National

Gas and Oil Company, Long Island Lighting Company,

Texas Gas Transmission Corporation, and Peoples Nat-

ural Gas Company, are granted subject to the rules and

regulations of the Commission; provided, however, that

the participation of the intervenors shall be limited to

matters affecting asserted rights and interests set forth

in their motions to intervene; and provided, further, that

the admission of such intervenors shall not be construed

as recognition that they might be aggrieved by any order

entered in this proceeding.

(D) The petitions for hearing are denied.

re

86a

APPENDIX

Motions to Intervene

1. Columbia Gas Transmission Corporation *

2. Municipal Defense Group '

8. Philadelphia Gas Works’

4. The Algonquin Customer Group’ |

5. New Jersey Natural Gas Company 2

6. Associated Natural Gas Company

7. Consolidated Edison Co. of New York, Inc.

8. Equitable Gas Company

9. Arkla Energy Resources

10. Public Service Electric and Gas Company

11. Union Electric Company

12. Consolidated Gas Transmission Corporation

13. The Process Gas Consumers Group

14. Central Illinois Public Service Company

15. Niagara Mohawk Power Corporation

16. Algonquin Gas Transmission Company

17. Elizabethtown Gas Company

18. Philadelphia Electric Company

19. Brooklyn Union Gas Company

20. Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line Corporation

21. National Gas and Oil Company * *

22. Long Island Lighting Company *

23. Texas Gas Transmission Corporation *

24. The Peoples Natural Gas Company *

1 Also filed protest.

2 Requested hearing.

3 Late-filed motion to intervene.

87a

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION

Docket No. RP85-181-000

TEXAS GAS TRANSMISSION CORPORATION

©

ORDER GRANTING PETITION TO INSTITUTE DI-

RECT BILLING PROCEDURE FOR RETROACTIVE

PRODUCTION-RELATED COST ALLOWANCES

WITH CONDITIONS, AND GRANTING WAIVER

(Issued October 16, 1985)

Before Commissioners: Raymond J. O’Connor, Chair-

man; A. G. Sousa and Charles G. Stalon.

By this order we grant, with certain conditions, a peti-

tion which Texas Gas Transmission Corporation (Texas

Gas) filed on August 7, 1985, proposing that the Com-

mission permit it to bill its customers directly for retro-

active production-related cost allowances it asserts it has

paid or will soon pay its natural gas suppliers. These

allowances are authorized under section 110(a) (2) of

the Natural Gas Policy Act of 1978 (NGPA)? and sec-

tion 271.1104 ? of the Commission’s NGPA rules. Accord-

ing to Texas Gas, they relate to natural gas that Texas

Gas purchased during the period August 1, 1980, through

December 31, 1984 (the “retroactive period’’).

115 U.S.C. § 3320(a) (2).

218 C.F.R. § 271.1104 (1984).

88a

Texas Gas proposes to allocate these costs to those of

its customers who actually benefitted from the production-

related services performed, and then to bill these amounts

directly to the customers. Texas Gas’ direct billing pro-

cedure would replace the purchased gas adjustment (PGA)

method of flowing through retroactive production-related

costs in its rates. This approach will remove market dis-

torting gas costs attributable to past periods from Texas

Gas’ current and future PGA filings, and thus avoid dis-

tortion of market signals.

Background

Pursuant to section 110 of the NGPA, the Commission

has established “production-related cost” allowances pay-

able to certain sellers of natural gas in addition to the

otherwise applicable maximum lawful ceiling price for

natural gas. Among the costs listed under section 110 for

which an allowance may be permitted, are costs borne by

the seller for gathering, transporting, compressing and

conditioning the gas sold. In December of 1978, the Com-

mission issued interim rules implementing section 110 of

the NGPA (Docket No. RM79-3, issued November 29,

1978) [FERC Statutes and Regulations { 30,026]. Un-

der those rules, certain qualified sellers were granted al-

lowances above the applicable ceiling price for certain

costs incurred in gathering, transporting and compress-

ing natural gas. In most cases, however, sellers had to

apply to the Commission before such an allowance could

be collected.

On July 25, 1980, the Commission issued Order No.

94 [FERC Statutes and Regulations { 30,178] whereby

the Commission suspended applications for gathering and

compression allowances under section 110, but retained

the application procedure for costs incurred to transport

gas. The Commission announced in Order No. 94 its in-

tention to establish in future orders industry-wide generic

allowances for compression and gathering costs which

eee

89a

would be effective as of the date of issuance of Order

No. 94.8

Texas Gas reviewed and verified a significant portion

of the Order No. 94 costs incurred during the retroactive

period and claimed by its producer-suppliers. Texas Gas

offset these amounts (approximately $48.8 million) against

a corresponding amount of Btu refunds owed to Texas

Gas by the corresponding producers pursuant to Order

No. 399-A [FERC Statutes and Regulations {| 30,612).'

Since that time the offset mechanism has been vacated

by the Commission in its Order No. 399-B [FERC Stat-

utes and Regulations {| 30,651]. Additionally, Texas Gas

states that it anticipates that its pipeline suppliers will

soon bill it for retroactive Order No. 94 costs.°

3 On January 24, 1983 [FERC Statutes and Regulations § 30,420),

the Commission issued the interim rule establishing industry-wide

delivery and compression allowances in Docket Nos. RM&0-73-000

and RM80-74-000, et al. The Commission also issued Order Nos.

94-A and 94-B [FERC Statutes and Regulations {30,419 and

{| 30,421], as final orders, which defined the eligibility criteria for

collection of the allowances for production-related costs (Docket

Nos. RM80-47-000 and RM80-74-003). These rules were effective

as of March 7, 1983. The rules were affirmed in Texas Eastern

Transmission Corp. v. F.E.R.C., No. 83-4390 (5th Cir., Aug. 19,

1985). The allowances for production-related costs are set out in

the Commission’s rules and regulations, section 271.1104, supra.

The regulations promulgated under section 110 provide for the

retroactive recovery of costs incurred in delivering and compressing

natural gas for services provided prior to March 7, 1983, the effec-

tive date of Order No. 94-A, but after July 25, 1980, the effective

date of Order No. 94. 18.C.F.R. § 271.1104(e).

* Order No. 399-A was subsequently overturned on appeal. /nter-

state "VWatural Gas Association v. F.E.R.C.,. 756 F.2d 166 (D.C.

Cir. 1985).

5 The Commission has approved the petitions of two of Texas

Gas’ pipeline suppliers to collect retroactive Order No. 94 amounts

by direct billing. See Tennessee Gas Pipeline Co., 31 FERC § 61,308

(1985); Texas Eastern Transmission Corp., 32 FERC { 61,493

(September 30, 1985).

90a

The Proposed Direct Billing Mechanism

Texas Gas proposes, in order to implement its direct

billing procedure, to calculate each customer’s proportion-

ate share of Order No. 94 costs during the retroactive

period as compared to the total of all purchases by all

customers on the system during the period. Texas Gas

proposes next to compute the Btu refunds owed to each

customer in accordance with the procedures specified in

the Commission’s Order No. 399. 3

Once Texas Gas has established the customer’s Order

No. 94 cost liability and its Btu refund, Texas Gas pro-

poses to submit to the customers an invoice for the Order

No. 94 costs and.a credit memorandum reflecting the cus-

tomer’s Btu refund. The two statements are to be ac-

companied and reconciled by a payment from Texas Gas,

if the customer’s Btu refund exceeds its refund. In the

latter case, to the extent that the customer’s Order No.

94 costs exceed its Btu refund, the customer would have

the option of paying this amount in oze lump-sum pay-

ment, or in twelve monthly instaiiments plus interest,

computed in accordance with the Commission’s PGA reg-

ulations. The twelve-month period would begin on the

first day of the first month following Commission ap-

proval of this petition.

A new subaccount of Texas Gas’ Account No. 191

would be created to include the Order No. 94 costs re-

maining which were not paid in a lump-sum payment.

This new subaccount would be credited with the monthly

payments received from the customers during the twelve-

month period.

Motions to Intervene

Texas Gas’ petition was noticed by the Commission on

August 16, 1985, with comments due by August 23, 1985.

Fourteen companies listed in the appendix filed timely

motions to intervene. The Louisville Gas and Electric

Co., Beckett Paper Company, and Indiana Gas Co. and

91a

Ohio River Pipeline Corp. jointly, filed requests for leave .

to intervene out of time.

In determining if good cause has been shown to per-

mit a late intervention, the Commission may consider the

following factors: whether (1) the movant had good

cause for failing to file the motion within the time pre-

scribed; (2) any disruption of the proceeding might re-

sult from permitting the intervention; (3) any prejudice

to, or additional burdens upon, the existing parties might

result from permitting the intervention; (4) the motion

conforms to the requirements of paragraph (b) of Rule

214; and (5) the movant’s interest is not adequately

represented by other parties in the proceeding.

In their respective motions, the late movants have es-

tablished an intere*+ in this proceeding. At this early

stage of the proceedi:g, other parties will not be preju-

diced by granting the requests for intervention. Ac-

cordingly, the Commission finds that good cause exists to

permit the late interventions.

Protests

Memphis Light, Gas and Water Division, City of Mem-

phis, Tennessee (Memphis), protests in limited respects

Texas Gas’ petition. Specifically, Memphis’ protest makes

four recommendations: (a) that the Commission should

expressly limit its approval to the billing procedure it-

self, and affirm that the amounts paid are subject to

review and refund; ‘b) Texas Gas should only bill di-

rectly for its actuai cash payments to first sellers; (c)

Texas Gas should calculate interest for purposes of di-

rect billing in accordance with Section 154.38(d) (4) (iv)

(ce) of the Commission’s Regulations (interest provision

of the PGA regulations); (d) Texas Gas should provide

the Commission with schedules showing its calculations of

Order No. 94 costs and individual customers’ direct bill

amounts. Memphis’ recommendations have merit, and

will be incorporated into the Commission’s order.

92a

Western Kentucky Gas Co. and Louisville Gas and

Electric Co. expressed concern that Texas Gas’ proposal

might be considered as retroactive ratemaking. The Com-

mission has found such concerns unwarranted in accept-

ing an earlier proposal for direct billing.®

Columbia Gas Transmission Corp. (Columbia) states

that its purchases from Texas Gas have declined since the

retroactive period, and argues that as a consequence ac-

ceptance of Texas Gas’ proposal will increase Columbia’s

gas costs by about $6.8 million. Columbia asserts that

this frustrates the Commission’s least-cost purchasing

policy for pipelines, and obscures market signals. We

find no merit in Columbia’s protest. Contrary to Colum-

bia’s position, the direct billing mechanism avoids the dis-

tortion in market signals that would result if Texas Gas

were to pass these Order No. 94 amounts through its

PGA and charge increased commodity rates to all its cus-

tomers. Further, these additional costs relate to prior

period purchases of Columbia, and such costs should be

borne by Columbia. If such costs were to remain in the

PGA surcharge of Texas Gas different customers of

Texas Gas would be required to bear such costs due to

the changed customer purchase profile on Texas Gas’ sys-

tem.

The Public Service Commission of Commonwealth of

Kentucky argues that production-related costs cannot be

charged until the contractual entitlement of the producers

thereto have finally been determined. Section 271.1104 of

the Commission’s regulations, however, authorizes Texas

Gas’ first seller suppliers to charge and collect the sub-

ject production-related cost allowances from Texas Gas.

The Commission herein only addresses the procedures that

Texas Gas proposes to use to collect from its own .cus-

tomers and not the costs themselves. Our acceptance of

6 See Tran

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Appendix — Panhandle Eastern Pipe Line Co. v. Columbia Gas Transmission Corp. · 498 U.S. 907 | Frix