Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Downie v. New Jersey

Supreme Court brief1990

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

69«1914 MAY

No. cy oe

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1989

ANDREW DOWNIE,

DANIEL MATTHEWS,

MARTIN MAROTTA,

CHARLES CARROLL; Petitioners,

vs

STATE OF NEW JERSEY; Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE SUPREME COURT OF NEW JERSEY

Counsel And Member of the

Bar of The United States

Supreme Court

Francis X. Moore

P.O. Box 830

211 Mapie Avenue

Red Bank, New Jersey 07701

(201) 747-6666

ween

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1.DOES THE NEW JERSEY SUPREME COURT CREATE

A CONCLUSIVE OR UNREASONABLE PRESUMPTION

IN VIOLATION OF THE 14TH AMENDMENT REGARD-

ING THE RELIABILITY OF THE BREATHALYZER READ-

ING IN THE CONTEXT OF A PER SE STATUTE?

2.WHETHER N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 WITH THE WORD BREATH

ADDED BY THE NEW JERSEY SUPREME COURT IS

VAGUE IN VIOLATION OF THE DUE PROCESS CLAUSE

OF THE FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT?

3.DOES N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 AS INTERPRETED BY THE N.J.

SUPREME COURT, WHERE ADMITTEDLY 2.3% OF THE

POPULACE IS TREATED DIFFERENTLY, THEN THE

REST OF THE POPULATION, BECAUSE OF THEIR

BODIES, VIOLATE THE EQUAL PROTECTION CLAUSE

OF THE FOURTEENTH AND FIFTH AMENDMENT?

4.DOES THE NEW JERSEY SUPREME COURT'S DETER-

MINATION IN IT’S MARCH 23, 1989 ORDER, VIOLATE

THE PETITIONER’S PROCEDURAI DUE PROCESS

AND SIXTH AMENDMENT CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHT

TO A HEARING AND TO DEFEND HIMSELF?

LIST OF PARTIES BEFORE

NEW JERSEY SUPREME COURT

John A. Kaye

Monmouth County Prosecutor

Monmouth County Courthouse

Freehold, NJ 07726

Robert Del Tufo

Attorney General

State of New Jersey

Hughes Justice Complex

Amicus Curiae

CN-112

Trenton, NJ 08625

John Wherry, Jr.

Counsel for National Association

of Criminal Defense Attorneys

Amicus Curiae

2425 Pennington Road

Pennington, NJ 08534

TABLE OF CONTENTS

gos 6 5 4 SLs GSTs GAS Oe US 1

Sipwamames Or tre CAGE... we es 2

1.

DOES THE NEW JERSEY SUPREME COURT

CREATE A CONCLUSIVE OR UNREASONABLE

PRESUMPTION IN VIOLATION OF THE 14TH

AMENDMENT REGARDING THE RELIABILITY OF THE

THE BREATHALYZER READING IN THE CONTEXT

WHETHER N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 WITH THE WORD

BREATH ADDED BY THE NEW JERSEY SUPREME

COURT IS VAGUE IN VIOLATION OF THE DUE

PROCESS CLAUSE OF THE —

a INE PS a 12

DOES N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 AS INTERPRETED BY THE

N.J. SUPREME COURT, WHERE ADMITTEDLY 2.3%

OF THE POPULACE IS TREATED DIFFERENTLY,

THEN THE REST OF THE POPULATION, BECAUSE

OF THEIR BODIES, VIOLATE THE EQUAL

ROTECTION CLAUSE OF THE FOURTEENTH

AND FIFTH AMENDMENT?.............. 14

DOES THE NEW JERSEY SUPREME COURT'S

DETERMINATION IN IT’S MARCH 23, 1989 ORDER,

VIOLATE THE PETITIONER’S PROCEDURAL DUE

PROCESS AND SIXTH AMENDMENT CONSTITU-

TIONAL RIGHT TO A HEARING AND TO

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

United States Supreme Court:

Berger v California, 393 US 314, 21L

3 Ee 19

Castaneda v Partida, 430 US 482, 493,

St & Oe ee es ee ee ee. 16

Chambers v Mississippi, 410 US 284, 294,

95 L Ed 2d 207, 308 (1973)............... 18

Cox Broadcasting Corp. v Cohn, 420 US 469,

I Ce a ee 1

Federal Trade Commission v. National Lead

Company, et al., 352 US 419, 427; 1 L Ed

8 Pe A a 17

Flournoy v Weiner, 321 US 253, 263 (1944)....... 1

Francis v Franklin, 471 U.S. 307, 313,

314, 85 L Ed 2d 344, 353 (1985)....... 8, 9, 11, 15

Fuentes v Shevin, 407 US 67, 86; 32 L

Se one as eG 6 bo he 6 eee 19

Kolender v Lawson, 461 US 352, 357 (1983). ..... 13

Logan v Zimmerman Brush Co., 455 US 422,

437; 71.1 Gd Oe S66, S27O (0GSS) . we ee 18

Manley v Georgia, 279 US 1,73 LEd575()...... 11

iv

a

McMillan v Pennsylvania, 477 US 79,

ee ee Giles hie a Rs GS 9

McCleskey v Kemp, 481 US 279, 292, 95 L Ed

ee aa ee 6 a ee we 14

Prudential Ins. Co. v Cheek, 259 US

i TP > 1

Rock v Arkansas, 483 US , 97 L Ed 2d 37

SK ha a a Ss as 6 ae we eo 20, 21

Sandstrom v Montana, 442 US 510, 61 L Ed

eee or ee ee ee 8,9

South Dakota v Neville, 459 US 553,

ee Pek eee gerd 6 ky ss ee 5

Ulster County Court v Allen, 442 US

140, 156, 60 L Ed 2d 777, 791 (1978)........ 9, 10

United States v Gainey, et. al., 380

US 63, 66, 13 L Ed 2d 658, 662 (1965)...... 6, 7, 11

United States Appellate and District Court:

Defuentes v Duggen, (Case No 89-669

- CIV-ORL-19) - F Supp - (1989)............. 12

Frye v US, 293 F 1013, 1014 (1923)........... 12

Kay v US, 255 F 2d 476, 481 (1958)........... 11

United States v Downing, 753 F 2d

WE I oak evs vec we eee wavesen 12

7

United States v Warden of Clinton Prison,

28 F Supp 466, 463 (1938)... 2... 2 wee ee eee 11

New Jersey Caselaw:

State v. D’Agonstino, 203 NJ Super 69,

Ee ee er ar a ae eg 11

State v Downie, 229 NJ Super 207

fk ee ee 3, 10, 20

State v Tishio, 107 NJ 504 (1987). ............ 5

United States Code:

ee rr ra S

gS) 1

ee 1

New Jersey Statuted Annotated:

ke A” rr Ibid

PESGA. BOG. we ee eww ee 13

New Jersey Rules Of Evidence:

New Jersey Evidence Rule 13............... iS)

New Jersey Evidence Rule 14............... 9

New Jersey Evidence Rule 15............... 9

vi

NF

New Jersey Evidence Rule8............. 3, 17

New Jersey Rules of Criminal Practice:

Rule 3:13-1 . Se eee eee, 2

Disciplinary Rules:

DR 7-103(B), Supp June, 1978. ............. 21

Law Review Articles:

Giannelli, “The Admissibility of Novel

Scientific Evidence: Frye v United States

A Half Century Later," 80 Colum L

Se ere a dle ad aug 5 -4-e ee & a ws Oe 12

vii

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1989

ANDREW DOWNIE,

DANIEL MATTHEWS,

MARTIN MAROTTA,

CHARLES CARROLL; Petitioners,

vs

STATE OF NEW JERSEY; Respondent.

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

Petitioners, Downie, Matthews, Marotta and Carroll , appeal from

the final judgment of the Supreme Court of New Jersey, entered on

March 23, 1989 denying the petitioners/appellants their right to the

hearing they requested, and becoming final on January 31, 1990

amending N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 by judicial fiat.

Petitioner asserts that the interpretation of petitioners right to

present exculpatory evidence, and the evidence already presented

violate the fourteenth and sixth amendments to the federal consti-

tution. Further, petitioner asserts that the judicial fiat changing the

statute creates a vague statute in violation of the fourteenth amend-

ment. Finally, the evidences already presented and the interpretation

of that evidence in the context of the statute violate the equal

protection clause of the fourteenth and fifth amendments of the

constitution. Petitioner raises three federal issues not directly raised

below.

1. Hereinafter noted as petitioners.

viii

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the New Jersey Supreme Court deny-

ing the defendant a full and fair hearing was ordered on

March 23, 1989. The judicial order creating new legislation

was ordered on January 31, 1990. The notice of appeal

to this Court was filed within 90 days of the final judgment

below.

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 USC

Sec 1257(2). Although, it has been restated to address

this Court, the forth issue was substantially presented

below upon a grant of an interlocutory certification.

Petitioners believe that 28 USC Sec 2403(b) may apply

and will comply with same.

The apparent granting of petitioners’ request for a

hearing does not destroy this Court’s jurisdiction. Indeed,

petitioners challenged the New Jersey Supreme Court to

allow a full and fair hearing; not limited to just those issues

the Supreme Court picked out of the air without adequate

consultation with petitioners.

Questions One, two and three presented, although not

raised directly below, and thus nonappealable, are prop-

erly subject to this Court’s power to “take jurisdiction over

any aspect of this case which would otherwise fall solely

within [it’s] certiorari jurisdiction." Cox Broadcasting Corp.

v Cohn, 420 US 469, 487 n. 14 (1975). See also Flournoy

v Weiner, 321 US 253, 263 (1944) and Prudential Ins. Co.

v Cheek, 259 US 530, 547 (1922).

Although this appeal is_ interlocutory in nature,

petitioners assert that the decision of the New Jersey

Supreme Court is final. The issues presented by

_petitioners need to be determined before trial to allow a

fair trial.

The issues presented are questions of first impression

before this Court. The petitioners assert that the questions

1

presented have nationwide significance. The petitioners

assert that the record below provides the most compre-

hensive review, by the foremost experts in the field of

breathalyzer evidence, ever put before a Court in this

nation. Finally, the petitioners assert that because the

federal government mandates that States must create

legislation allowing courts to find people guilty based on

breathalyzer readings alone and the inability of this

machine to create reliable results, cries out for this Court

to grant Certiorari.

The petitioners will rely upon the Fifth, Sixth, and

Fourteenth Amendments to the Constitution of the United

States.1

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The petitioners/defendants have each been charged

with a violation of N.J.S.A. 39:4-50. Each of the petitioners

are represented by the firm of Francis X. Moore, P.A.

On March 30, 1988 petitioners moved before the Honor-

able Donald Pappa, J.M.C., at the trial court level, for an

order consolidating their respective cases into one court,

for the purpose of a pretrial hearing on the breathalyzer.

MT30-217 The petitioners were granted their request for

pretrial conference pursuant to Rule 3:13-1 by the trial

court.

Briefs were ordered regarding all argurnents to be

presented, and the burdens proposed on each issue.

On May 20, 1988 the trial court signed orders con-

solidating the cases, and setting June 25, 1988 as the

1. For the full text of the provisions relied upon by the petitioner see

PA-210.

2. MT stands for the Municipal transcript dated March 30, 1988, at

appendix PA-37 to PA-79.

date for the preliminary conference. Pretrial briefs were

to be filed no later then June 17, 1988. 3

On an unknown date, the County Assistant Prosecutor,

Mark Stalford approached the Monmouth County Assign-

ment Judge, Alvin Milberg regarding an appeal of the trial

court’s March ‘30, 1988 order. The Assistant Prosecutor

inquired regarding what steps the State must take to

effect such an appeal.4

On June 10, 1988, before the pretrial briefs could be

filed by the petitioners with the trial court, the County

Prosecutor filed leave to appeal on an interlocutory basis,

nunc pro tunc. The State’s motion to file out of time was

granted by Judge Milberg. After a hearing, with all parties

present, Judge Milberg ordered that the Municipal trial

court’s consolidation be reversed.

Finally, Judge Milberg ordered that the petitioners

should be allowed to have their R. 8 hearing, and that the

petitioners were allowed to present their issues to the trial

court for determination.

The State sought timely interlocutory leave from the

New Jersey Superior Court, Appellate Division.

The Appellate Court granted leave on an emergent

basis. The Appellate Court decision is found at State v

Downie, 229 NJ Super 207 (App. Div. 1988), at appendix

PA-28. ;

Petitioners then sought timely leave before the

Supreme Court of New Jersey. Certification was granted.

Petitioners assert that they followed the proper proce-

dures in attempting to present their issues before the trial

court. And that the case should be remanded to allow the

trial court to determine the issues and the appropriate

burdens. At no time are petitioners ever questioned by

the New Jersey Supreme Court regarding these issues.

3. See appendix at PA-111 to PA-115.

4. See Appendix PA-38.

3

The New Jersey Supreme Court ordered the case be

remanded for a fact finding hearing before the Superior

Court, Law Division. The New Jersey Supreme Court,

without consulting petitioners, ordered which issues

should be Cotermined and were allowed to be presented

on remand.° Petitioners were further restrained by the

remand court regarding the boundaries of their questions.

The following experts testified on remand in the order

in which they appeared chronologically. Doctor Robert F.

Borkenstein; Patrick Harding; Doctor Allan W. Jones;

Doctor James P. Payne; Doctor Gerald Simpson; Doctor

Michael P. Hlastala; Nizar K. Shajani; Doctor Kurt M..

Dubowski; Douglas M. Lucas; Rodney G. Gullberg.°

Petitioners assert that the remand hearing provides this

Court with the most extensive record about the

breathalyzer ever put before any Court in this country.

After remand, the case was set for oral argument before

the New Jersey Supreme Court. No briefs were requested

regarding the issues presented by remand. Petitioners

were never allowed the opportunity to argue within the

facts created by remand, regarding what issues be con-

sidered by the Supreme Court.

At oral argument petitioners were not questioned about

nor was the legislative intent ever discussed by the New

Jersey Supreme Court. Throughout the proceedings

below petitioners relied upon the clear language con-

tained in N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.

Had briefs been allowed or requested, the petitioners

would have raised the issues brought before this Court,

below. The individuals were then remanded back to the

Municipal Court for trial.

5. March 23, 1989 order attached at appendix PA-105 to PA-107.

6. See appendix PA-116 to PA-209.

4

THE QUESTIONS PRESENTED ARE SUBSTANTIAL

This Court “has repeatedly lamented the tragedy" of the

“carnage caused by drunk drivers." South Dakota v

Neville, 459 US 553, 558 (1983). In attempting to facilitate,

by whatever ‘means, easy drunk driving convictions

through strained interpretation of legislative intent, the

New Jersey Supreme Court has overreacted to this

Court’s pleas. See also State v Tishio, 107 NJ 504 (1987).

The New Jersey Supreme Court has again attempted

to preclude the petitioners from presenting exculpatory

evidence on their own behalf, and by adding a word to

N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 has effectively, by judicial fiat, legislated

a new statute. Justice Stein stated in the dissent that the

New Jersey Supreme Court,

.. IS afflicted with a severe case of institutionalized

amnesia. It has either forgotten, or has unaccountably

ignored, the most basic distinction between the legis-

lative and judicial branches of government.

Underlying this litigation was the premise, acknowl-

edged by all parties and the New Jersey Supreme Court,

that New Jersey’s drunk-driving statute is based on blood

alcohol content. State v Downie, ef. a/., 117 NJ 450 (1990),

at PA-1.

In response to federal legislation making the receipt of

certain federal highway funds contingent upon the enact-

ment of laws that attach criminal liability to persons with

blood alcohol levels in excess of .10% many States

legislated directly against driving with the proscribed

alcohol level. See 23 USC Sec. 408(e)(1)(C).

Throughout the proceedings below, petitioners relied

upon the apparently clear language contained in N.J.S.A.

39:4-50.

1.D0ES THE NEW JERSEY SUPREME COURT

CREATE A CONCLUSIVE OR UNREASONABLE PRE-

SUMPTION IN VIOLATION OF THE 14TH AMEND-

MENT REGARDING THE RELIABILITY OF THE

BREATHALYZER READING IN THE CONTEXT OF A

PER SE STATUTE?

Yes. Any time that either a court or the legislature

creates a presumption within the confines of a criminal

Statute the State has the burden of proving the

reasonableness of the presumption. United States v

Gainey, et. al., 380 US 63, 66, 13 L Ed 2d 658, 662 (1965).

. the constitutionality of the legislation depends

upon the rationality of the connection “between the

facts proved and the ultimate fact presumed." Id.

This Court created three different types of presumptions

which must be considered under the due process stan-

dards of the 14th Amendment; permissive, mandatory

and conclusive.

Petitioners assert that the New Jersey Supreme Court

has created a conclusive presumption that breathalyzer

results are reliable and will be the same for each person.

Petitioners assert if this Court concludes the presumption

7. The Attorney General, as Amicus below, argued that petitioners

were not entitled to a remand hearing because it was possible to

interpret the Statute. The New Jersey Supreme Court apparently did

not agree with the Attorney General's position, when the Court

ordered that there be a remand.

created by the New Jersey Supreme Court is only permis-

sive, the facts provided by the remand hearing mandates

that reasonable minds shift the burden of proof to peti-

tioners. Such a shifting of the burden creates a situation

where the State is relieved of its burden to prove guilt

beyond a reasonable doubt, and violates due process.

The State of New Jersey relies upon the breathalyzer

as the means to prove a defendant guilty of violating the

per se section of N.J.S.A. 39:4-50. The breathalyzer used

depends upon a conversion ratio of 2100 to 1,”

The New Jersey Supreme Court would have this Court

believe that this overestimation only occurs in 2.3% of the

population. However, the New Jersey Supreme Court

conveniently forgets the proofs show that, any one

person, at any time in that persons life, may be part of

that 2.3 percent, and thus be subject to conviction,

automatically, and improperly.

It is impossible to prove just who is less than 2100 to

1 and whether this person is less than 2100 to 1 at the

time the officer requests the defendant to submit to the

breathalyzer.

Petitioners rely upon Justice Blacks definition of a

presumption for definitional purposes. Justice Black, in

his dissent in United States v Gainey, supra. at 380 US

78-stated that, )

In its simplest form a presumption is an inference

permitted or required by law of the existence of one

fact, which is unknown or which cannot be proved,

from another fact which has been proved. The fact

8. The breathalyzer makes use of this same ratio whether the New

Jersey Supreme Court creates a new statute by adding the word

breath or whether the obvious interpretation of the statute is used.

Thus, even in a breath statute some people are overestimated as

against the norm of 2100 to 1. See Point 3 below.

7

-

presumed may be based on a very strong probability,

@ weak supposition or an arbitrary assumption. The

burden on the party seeking to prove the fact may

be slight, as in a civil suit, or very heavy - proof

beyond a reasonable doubt - as in a criminal prose-

Cution.... The validity of each presumption must be

determined in the light of the particular conse-

quences that flow from its use. When matters of

trifling moment are involved, presumptions may be

more freely accepted, but when consequences of

vital importance to litigants and to the administration

of justice are at stake, a more careful scrutiny is

necessary.

In Francis v Franklin, 471 US 307, 313, 314, 85 L Ed

2d 344, 353 (1985) this Court held that the first threshold

analysis is to determine the nature of the presumption

we are dealing with. These petitioners request this Court

determine whether the presumption created by the New

Jersey Supreme Court is permissive or mandatory in

nature in light of the facts created on remand. And if this

Court concludes the presumption created by New Jersey

Supreme Court is mandatory, is it conclusive? A man-

datory presumption is more likely to invoke the protec-

tions of the 14th Amendment, particularly if this man-

datory presumption is not subject to rebuttal, as in the

present case. However, even a permissive presumption

may be improper if "... the suggested conclusion is not

one that reason and common sense justify in light of the

proven facts before the jury (or judge)." Id. at 314, 315.

The test for determining what constitutes a mandatory

presumption was created in Sandstrom v Montana, 442

US 510, 61 L Ed 2d 39 (1979). This Court indicated that

the test for a jury instruction is what “might reasonably

have been understood by the jury (or trial court) as

creating a mandatory rebuttable presumption."

8

In the present case, the New Jersey Supreme Court

orders that trial courts must find that a breathalyzer

reading is an accurate and precise reading in terms of

any defendant, despite the State’s failure or inability to

prove facts which indicate such a preciseness, because

of each persons body’s metabolism. 9

The New Jersey Supreme Court fails to follow its’ own

rules of evidence. For if this reading is offered and the

reading is above a .10 the defendant is guilty, end of

story; even if reasonable minds could differ regarding the

interpretation of just who is less then 2100 to 1, or whether

the State could ever prove, beyond a reasonable doubt-

that any persons reading was actually 10."

It is obvious that the New Jersey Supreme Court seeks

by its ruling to relieve the State of the burden to prove the

defendant’s breath or blood reading beyond a reasonable

doubt. Petitioners assert that the New Jersey Supreme

Court’s actions curtail the factfinders freedom to assess

the evidence independently. Ulster County Court v Allen,

442 US 140, 156, 60 L Ed 2d 777, 791 (1979).

In criminal cases,

9. See also New Jersey Evidence Rules 13, 14, and 15.

10. See appendix at PA-142, PA-149, PA-152, and PA-176 for dis-

cussion of expert’s testimony in the within remand, wherein most

experts agreed that it is impossible to ever prove that a breath test

of .10 is proof beyond a reasonable doubt of an accurate precise

reading of .10. Both the inventer of the breathalyzer, Doctor

Borkenstein and Doctor Dubowski believe that it is improper to use

the breathalzyer in the context of a per se statute.

See also McMillan v Pennsylvania, 477 US 79, 86, 91 L Ed 2d

(1986) where this Court held that the reasonable doubt standard

applies to facts not formally identified as elements of the offense

charged.

... the ultimate test of any device’s constitutional

validity in a given case remains constant: the device

must not undermine the factfinder’s responsibility at

trial, based on evidence adduced by the State, to find

the ultimate facts beyond a reasonabie doubt. ld.

Petitioners assert that the trier of fact is forced, by the

New Jersey Supreme Court’s order, to accept the falla-

cious inference ordered by that Court as acceptable.

Ulster County Court v. Allen, supra. at 159. The New

Jersey Supreme Court further ordered that neither peti-

tioners nor anyone else may seek to rebut the presump-

tion created. Thus, this Court not only can, but must find

that this is a conclusive presumption and thus an irrebut-

table presumption. This irrebuttable presumption relieves

the State of its burden to prove beyond a reasonable

doubt the violation of the per se section of N.J.S.A.

39:4-50. Thus, the presumption created within the con-

fines of N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 creates a violation of the 14th

amendment and is therefore improper. Sandstrom v

Montana, supra. 442 US at 518. See also Francis v.

Franklin, supra. 471 US at 314 n. 2.

The respondent will no doubt argue that the presump-

tion created by the New Jersey Supreme Court is merely

permissive. Given the framework of permissive presump-

tions, petitioners assert that if this Court believes only a

permissive presumption is created, the presumption cre-

ated is arbitrary and not reasonable within the framework

of the scientific evidence presented and the per se nature

of N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.

11. The absurdness of this position must be looked at within the

framework of the knowledge that the petitioner had to go before the

Supreme Court of the State of New Jersey before he was allowed to

present any evidence concerning the reliability of breathalyzer. See

State v Downie, 229 NJ Super 207 (App. Div. 1988), at PA-28.

10

The test under the 14th amendment for the reasonable-

ness of a permissive presumption is the rationality of the

connection between the facts proved and the fact pre-

sumed. United States v Gainey, et al., supra. 380 US at

66. Or the suggested conclusion must be one that reason

and common sense justify in light of the proven facts.

Francis v. Franklin, supra. 471 US at 314, 315. Do the facts

as suggested in the remand, that 2.3% of the population,

where every person may become part of that 2.3%, at any

time in their life, rationally allow this Court to conclude

that the trial court may convict the petitioners if his

reading comes out above .10, without any other proofs?

Also the proofs, as accepted by the New Jersey Supreme

Court, suggest this 2.3% may be overestimated by as

much as 30% with the norm of 2100 to 1.'2

Petitioners assert this presumption is unreasonable for

two reasons: The presumption created as to reliability of

the reading is not based on extensive investigation by the

legislature. See also Kay v United States, 255 F 2d 476,

481 (1958). It is obvious that the legislature was never

- advised regarding the affect of the methodology of the

breathalyzer. Moreover, petitioners assert the sole reason

for the enactment of the per se section of N.J.S.A. 39:4-50

was to obtain highway funds from the federal govern-

ment. See State v. D’Agonstino, 203 NJ Super 69, 75 (L.

Div. 1984). This Court stated in Manley v Georgia, 279

US 1, 73 L Ed 575 ( ) that, “[a] mere legislative fiat may

not take the place of fact in the determination of issues

involving life, liberty and property." United States v

Warden of Clinton Prison, 29 F Supp 486, 493 (1939).

12. It must be noted, that the various research reported in the within

remand, suggests that this variable may be much lower, with one

report indicating as low as 1100 to 1, which will cause an overestima-

tion of 100%.

11

Additionally, the reasonableness of this assumption,

that every person is at least 2100 to 1, must be considered

in the context of the per se statute the assumption

provides evidence for. Particularly, where, as here, the

breathalyzer reading, with the 2100 to 1 ratio, in the

context of a per se statute, has not gained “such standing

and scientific recognition” by the scientific community as

would justify the courts in admitting the evidence. Frye v

United States, 293 F. 1013, 1014 (1923)! Or allowing

such evidence to become a permissive presumption. See

also Defuentes v Duggen (Case No 89-669-CIV-ORL-19)

F Supp - (1989) which recently declared a similar per se

Statute in Florida unconstitutional on its face based on the

conclusive nature of the evidence.

The issue of reasonableness becomes one of whether

or not the scientific community has generally accepted

the use of a breathalyzer as per se evidence? The answer

must be no! Therefore, the permissive influence is unrea-

sonable. Thus, petitioners asserts such a permissive pre-

sumption violates due process.

2.WHETHER N.J.S.A. 39:4-50, WITH THE WORD

BREATH ADDED BY THE NEW JERSEY SUPREME

COURT, IS VAGUE IN VIOLATION OF THE DUE

PROCESS CLAUSE OF THE FOURTEENTH AMEND-

MENT? .

Yes. The New Jersey Supreme Court has once again

imposed, by judicial fiat, a completely new statute for the

13. The petitioner asserts that the Frye test is no longer the best test

for consideration of the affect of scientific evidence. See United

States v Downing, 753 F. 2d. 1224 (1985) which considers the Frye

test as part of an overall approach. See Giannelli, “The Admissibility

of Novel Scientific Evidence: Frye v. United States A Half Century

Later," 80 Colum. L. Rev. 1197 (1980).

12

motoring public. The New Jersey Supreme Court has

transformed narrow and precise statutory language into

a vague statute.

The void for vagueness doctrine “requires that a penal

statute define the criminal offense with sufficient definite-

ness that ordinary people understand what conduct is

prohibited and in a manner that does not encourage

arbitrary and discriminatory enforcement." Kolender v

Lawson, 461 US 352, 357 (1983).

A fair reading of N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 or the legislative notes

that follow, does not indicate to any reasonable person

that his/her breath may become convicting evidence. The

word breath simply does not appear in terms of what

constitutes guilt. 14

The New Jersey Supreme Court adds the word breath,

because the Court realized, as Judge McGann stated in

his conclusions of fact that, “the 2100 to 1 ratio is

worthless for forensic purposes." (See PA-136). The New

Jersey Supreme Court somehow believes that by adding

the word breath to the statute, despite no indication by

the legislature of its’ intent to find people guilty by their

breath alcohol level, the New Jersey Supreme Court can

rationalize Judge McGann’s conclusions. 15

The simple fact remains that, ordinary citizens must

be left in a quandary regarding what constitutes improper

conduct under N.J.S.A. 39:4-50. Therefore, as applied, the

Statute is vague and violates the fourteenth amendment.

14. See PA-123 and N.J.S.A. 39:4-50. See also N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.1.

15. What the N.J. Supreme Court fails to realize, but will no doubt

preciude the petitioner/defendant from proving, is that the

breathalyzer machine makes the same improper calculation whether

you call it breath or blood. This calculation must still be considered

“worthless for forensic purposes.“

The machine has not changed simply because the New Jersey

Supreme Court wishes the reality of the overestimation to go away.

13

3.DOES N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 AS INTERPRETED BY THE

NEW JERSEY SUPREME COURT, WHERE

ADMITTEDLY 2.3% OF THE POPULACE IS TREATED

DIFFERENTLY, THEN THE REST OF THE POPULA-

TION, BECAUSE OF THEIR BODIES, VIOLATE THE

EQUAL PROTECTION CLAUSE OF THE FOUR-

TEENTH AND FIFTH AMENDMENT?

Yes. In the present case the New Jersey Supreme Court

has effectively ruled that trial courts may convict innocent

p2ople, but so what, the breathalyzer benefits most

people who may be guilty.

In the remand hearing the factfinder concluded that the

2100 to 1 ratio was “worthless for forensic purposes" when

looking at the entire population. The evidence presented

by both sides indicates that the 2100 to 1 ratio over-

estimates one’s true reading during the absorptive phase

of the alcohol assimilation. A significant percentage of the

population is being penalized by the same machine that

is giving another segment of the population an advantage.

The discrimination is based solely on ones individual

body physiology at the exact time one is forced to submit

to a breathalyzer.

In McCleskey v Kemp, 481 US 279, 292, 95 L Ed 2d

262, 278 (1987) this Court held it is the petitioners’/

defendants’ burden to prove “the existence of purposeful

discrimination” and that the discrimination “had a dis-

Ccriminatory effect" on him.

The statistical data must be viewed in the context of

this challenge. In the present case the New Jersey

Supreme Court alleges that only 2.3% of the population

is seriously overestimated. However, the New Jersey

Supreme Court discounts Doctor Simpson's testimony

because Doctor Simpson did not do any independent

research, but rather relied solely and primarily upon the

14

foremost expert in the field, Doctor Dubowski. However,

in the next breath the New Jersey Supreme Court con-

cludes that Doctor Dubowski’s research is the most reli-

able. 16

Petitioners assert that Doctor Simpson is the only

expert preserited who offers a_ statistical, scientific

method, of the error present from the use of the

breathalyzer. All other researchers only. rely upon the

actual subjects tested. Doctor Simpson attempts to apply

this alleged average of 2100 to 1 to the population as a

whole!”The State of New Jersey presented no rebuttal

evidence of such error analysis.

Doctor Simpson’s conclusions reflect a deviation much

greater then the New Jersey Supreme Court would like

us to believe.

Petitioners assert that, even with the 2.3 percent of the

population being treated differently than the other 97.7

percent, the State is invidiously discriminating against

that 2.3 percent. And this figure may be as high as 15 to

70 percent of the population, according to Doctor

Simpson.

Petitioners have proved “purposeful discrimination."

The State intends to offer these breath results against the

petitioners at trial. Therefore, the State knows the prob-

lems and intends on making use of the discriminatory

evidence.

16. See PA-8 where the New Jersey Supreme Court relies upon

Doctor Dubowski as the “most impressive expert.”

The petitioners find this assertion to be a little absurd, since Doctor

Simpson testified in the remand that his research relied upon “at least

100 research papers.”

17. See PA-206 to PA-208 for the method which Doctor Simpson

used in his error analysis.

15

However, petitioners admit there is a problem with the

second part of this Court’s test, because it is impossible

to apply the discrimination specifically to petitioners. But,

the State cannot prove that petitioners were not less than

2100 to 1 during the breath test. Petitioners rely solely

upon the concept of due process and fundamental fair-

ness in the context of this per se statute. Petitioners

assert that this Court must determine this issue within the

context of a per se application of the Statute. Thus, once

a prima facia case of purposeful discrimination is made

out, the burden should shift to the State of New Jersey

to prove that petitioners are not discriminated against.

Petitioners assert that the analysis that this Court

employ, in this case, should be akin to the analysis

employed in grand jury proceedings. See Castaneda v

Partida, 430 US 482, 493, 51 L Ed 2d 498, 509 (1977).

Thus, once petitioners establish that petitioners’ identifi-

able group is recognizable, and petitioners’ group,

through statistical data, is treated differently, there is a

presumption created of discrimination. And the burden

shifts to the State.

The State must prove that petitioners are not mistreated

compared with the rest of the population. If the State fails,

then petitioners assert that the application of the per se

statute must also fail.

Petitioners assert that the State of New Jersey, based

on the remand, cannot prove that petitioners were prop-

erly treated. Therefore, the use of discriminatory breath

tests in the context of a per se statute, using the method-

ology presently employed, causes N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 to

violate the equal protection clause of the fourteenth and

fifth amendments.

16

ee

4.DOES THE NEW JERSEY SUPREME COURT’S

DETERMINATION IN IT’S MARCH 23, 1989 ORDER,

VIOLATE THE PETITIONERS’ PROCEDURAL DUE

PROCESS AND SIXTH AMENDMENT CONSTITU-

TIONAL RIGHT TO A HEARING AND TO DEFEND

HIMSELF?

Yes. In the present case, the New Jersey Supreme

Court granted the petitioners their rights to an adversarial

inquiry regarding the breathalyzer. However, the Supreme

Court failed to provide the defendants an opportunity,

pursuant to R. 8, to provide the Hearing Court with ail the

issues which should be determined by the hearing

ordered. '8

Procedural Due Process includes not only protection

for the State but must also protect the defendant and his

right to bring all issues before the Court, which may

present a defense to the charges alleged. "It goes without

saying that the requirements of a fair hearing include

notice of the claims of the opposing party and an oppor-

tunity to meet them." Federal Trade Commission v Na-

tional Lead Company, et al., 352 US 419, 427; 1 L Ed 2d

438, 444 (1957). In the present case, the New Jersey

Supreme Court mandated certain issues be heard on

remand. Unfortunately, the Court by its actions, precludes

the defendant from bringing forward all issues which were

intended from the start.

The Supreme Court was never properly informed pur-

suant to a proper pretrial hearing, as provided in the Rules

of Court, regarding the issues which petitioners intended

to present. This occurred because the State interfered,

before the issues to be briefed were due.

The State sought to prevent the adversarial inquiry

18. See March 23, 1989 order at PA-106.

17

before the trial court’s determination of the issues. It was

improper for the New Jersey Supreme Court to reach out

and determine which issues the defendant may present.

The Court never inquired regarding the specific issues the

netitioners sought to produce. The New Jersey Supreme

Court’s ruling enables only the Supreme Court of New

Jersey to determine how the defendant should present a

defense!9This conclusion violates the defendant’s due

process and sixth amendment rights to a fair hearing.

“What the Fourteenth Amendment does require, how-

ever, ‘is an opportunity . . . granted at a meaningful time

and in a meaningful manner,’ (citations omitted) ‘for (a)

hearing appropriate to the nature of the case.’ Logan v

Zimmerman Brush Co., 455 US 422, 437; 71 L Ed 2d

265, 279 (1982). "The right of the accused in a criminal

trial to due process is, in essence, the right to a fair

opportunity to defend against the State’s accusations."

Chambers v Mississippi, 410 US 284, 294, 35 L Ed 2d

297, 308 (1973).

This Court broadly defines due process requirements.

In the present case the defendant faces the State’s threat

to take money in the form of fines, costs, and surcharges,

and to take away the privilege to drive, and the threat of

taking one’s liberty.

The Fourteenth Amendment draws no bright lines

around three-day, 10-day, or 50-day deprivations of

property. Any significant taking of property by the

State is within the purview of the Due Process Clause.

While the length and consequent severity of a

deprivation may be another factor to weigh in

determining the appropriate form of hearing, it is not

decisive of the basic right to a prior hearing of some

19. See point 1. above.

18

kind. Fuentes v Shevin, 407 US 67, 86; 32 L Ed 2d

556, 573 (1972).

The requirement of the right to be heard in a meaningful

manner raises no impenetrable barrier in the State of New

Jersey’s constant drive to facilitate easy convictions of

citizens charged with violating N.J.S.A. 39:4-50. This Court

applies a balancing test regarding the right to be heard

in a civil context. Under this test the nature of the case

and the importance of the interests involved is one consid-

eration which must be balanced against valid govern-

mental interests. Fuentes v Shevin, supra. 407 US at 571.

The nature of the present case is a criminal proceeding.

The importance of the issue involved is enormous be-

cause proofs from the breathalyzer can constitute the sole

means of convicting a citizen. Serious questions surround

the applicability of the breath test result to any particular

person. As well as concerns with the scientific com-

munities Condemnation of the use of a breathalyzer in a

per se statute.

Also, there are serious questions surrounding the reli-

ability of the machinery employed. Considering all of the

above together, a valid question arises regarding the

proofs the State must present, for a violation of the per

se section of N.J.S.A. 39:4-50. Finally, one must consider

the importance given to any breath test reading after

weighing the above.

This right to inquire is not absolute, “[b]ut its denial or

significant diminution calls into question the ultimate

"integrity of the fact-finding process” and requires that the

competing interest be closely examined. Berger v

California, 393 US 314, 21 L Ed 2d 508 (1969).

In the present case, the Appellate Court ordered an

absolute exclusion of evidence regarding the admissibility

and reliability of breath test results. State v Downie, et.

al., Supra. 229 NJ Super at 213 at PA-28.

19

In Rock v Arkansas, 483 US_, 97 L Ed 2d 37 (1987)

this Court discussed the Fourteenth Amendment in the

context of a per se prohibition of admission of evidence.

In Rock, the defendant could not remember certain

aspects of her activities related to her Manslaughter

charge. The defendant placed herself under hypnosis in

order to help her recall her activities.

Under hypnosis the defendant recalled that she did not

place her finger on the trigger of the gun but rather the

gun went off accidently after her husband grabbed her

arm. Based on these new facts the gun was tested. It was

determined that the gun’s trigger mechanism was defec-

tive. The gun was prone to fire without pulling the trigger,

if the gun was dropped or hit. Rock v Arkansas, 483 US

at ,97LEd 2d at 37. ’ :

The defendant was not allowed to testify about her new ;

memories in the trial court. The defendant could only

testify about her prehypnotic memories. The trial court's

ruling was based on the State’s per se exclusion of

hypnotic evidence. )

This Court framed the issue in this context, “[w]hether

a criminal defendant's right to testify may be restricted

by a state rule that excludes her post-hypnotic testi-

mony?"

‘In the present case, the issue may be framed, whether

the New Jersey Supreme Court may impose a per se rule

excluding relevant, material exculpatory evidence from

being heard? This Court held that per se exclusion of

evidence is detrimental to the defendant and violates due

process. Rock v Arkansas, 483 US at ,97LEd 2d at 49.

eee ee

(hee 4 te eae

Na li ENA A mah are de remain < nett

In footnote 12 this Court stated,

The rule [per se exclusion of evidence] leaves a trial

judge no discretion to admit this testimony, even if

the judge is persuaded of its reliability by testimony

at a pretrial hearing. Rock v Arkansas, 483 US at,

97 L Ed 2d at 49.

The logical question is what is the New Jersey Supreme

Court’s fear? After all, a full pretrial hearing serves the

interests of both parties, not just the defendants/

petitioners. A prosecutor’s job is to see that justice is

done not merely to facilitate the convictions of the State’s

citizens. See PA-49. See also Disciplinary Rule 7-103(B),

Supp June, 1978.

21

CONCLUSION

For the above reasons, petitioners assert that this is a

case of first impression before this Court. Petitioners

assert the record created by the remand in the within

case presents facts never before assembled in one case.

Moreover, based on the facts and the per se nature of the

machine and evidence involved, (which may work to

remove the factfinder from the process), this Court should

determine the serious issues raised and ignored by the

New Jersey Supreme Court.

Res lly Submitted,

rancis X. Moore

P.O. Box 830

211 Maple Avenue

Red Bank, NJ 07701

(201) 747-6666

Michael R. Speck

On the brief.

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1989

ANDREW DOWNIE,

DANIEL MATTHEWS,

MARTIN MAROTTA,

CHARLES CARROLL; Petitioners,

vs

STATE OF NEW JERSEY; Respondent.

PETITIONER’S APPENDIX

TABLE OF APPENDICES

State v Downie, ef. a/., 117 NJ 450 (1990)............

State v Downie, et. al., 229 NJ Super

er a ee a eer, Vo

State v Downie, et. al., Law Division Transcript

ee Ek re i © ie eek ol es cee

State v Downie, Municipal Court Transcript

Ee

January 31, 1990 New Jersey Supreme Court Order

Denying presentation of Supplemental Evidence,

and Supplemental Oral Argument................

March 20, 1989 New Jersey Supreme Court Order, -

Granting a remand for Determination of Evidence.......

January 26, 1989 New Jersey Appellate Court

Order granting the Right of the State of

Pee GY I wk ee tt tee

July 1, 1888 New Jersey Law Division Order

Granting the State of New Jersey’s request

for a Nunc Pro Tunc Interlocutory Appeal............

May 20, 1988 New Jersey Municipal Court

Order Setting a Preliminary Pretrial

Hearing date of June 25, 1988..................

May 20, 1988 New Jersey Municipal Court

Order Setting a Date of June 17, 1988

for Pretrial Briefs to be filed....................

State v Downie, et. al., Temporary Remand,

Pe ae a eile ke eat a werd db uw 4 48 oO

Constitutional Amendments 5th, 6th & 14th. . 2... .00020.

(se aaPDS heed TF intrest 2 leet ate LID

STATE OF NEW JERSEY, PLAINTIFF-RESPONDENT,

v. ANDREW DOWNIE, DANIEL MATTHEWS, MAR-

TIN J. MAROTTA, AND CHARLES F. CARROLL,

DEFENDANTS-APPELLANTS.

Argued February 27, 1989 --- Remanded

March 23, 1989.

Reargued October 23, 1989 --- Decided

January 31, 1990.

SYNOPSIS

During unrelated drunk driving prosecutions in various

municipal districts, before same judge and where defen-

dants were represented by same attorney, the Superior

Court, Law Division, Monmouth County, permitted

municipal court judge to hear arguments relating to ad-

missibility of breathalyzer evidence. State appealed. The

Superior Court, Appellate Division, 229 N.J.Super 207,

reversed and remanded. Defendants appealed. The

Supreme Court, Garibaldi, J., held that courts would con-

tinue to take judicial notice of reliability of breathalyzer

evidence of per se violations of driving while intoxicated

statute.

Affirmed.

Stein, J., dissented and filed opinion.

1. Criminal Law 304(1)

Courts shall take judicial notice of the general reliability

of breathalyzer tests in establishing per se violation of

driving while intoxicated statute. N.J.S.A. 39:4-50(a).

2. Automobiles 411

Defendants in driving while intoxicated cases are not

permitted to challenge blood alcohol determinations made

Pa-1

by breathalyzer by taking results and extrapolating to

produce estimate of content at time of arrest. N.J.S.A.

39:4-50(a).

Francis X. Moore argued the cause for appellants (Fran-

cis X. Moore, attorney; Michael R. Speck, on the brief).

Mark P Stalford, Assistant Prosecutor, argued the cause

for respondent (John Kaye, Monmouth County Prosecutor,

attorney).

Boris Moczula, Deputy Attorney General, argued the

cause for amicus curiae Attorney General of New Jersey

(Peter N. Perretti, Jr, Attorney General, attorney).

E. John Wherry, Jr., submitted briefs on behalf of amicus

curiae National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers

(Voorhees, Bennet & Wherry, attorneys).

The opinion of the Court was delivered by

GARIBALDI, J.

This appeal involves yet another challenge to the scien-

tific reliability of breathalyzers by defendants charged under

N.J.S.A. 39:4-50. Specifically, defendants challenge the

accuracy of the breathalyzer test results based on partition

--- ratio variability.

Defendants are charged with violating N.J.S.A. 39:4-

50(a), which makes it unlawful for a person to operate

"a moter vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of

0.10% or more by weight of alcohol in the defendant's

blood...". This provision enacted by 1983 amendment

Pa-2

defines the per se violation of driving while intoxicated.

("OWI"). The breathalyzer, the machine the State employs

to ascertain blood alcohol, measures the amount of alcohol

in the breath and multiplies that by 2100 to arrive at the

level of alcohol in the arterial blood supplying alcohol

to the brain. This 2100:1 partition ratio presumes that

every 2.1 liters (2100 milliliters) of expired alveolar air (air

expired in the last 1/3 portion of a deep breath) contains

approximately the same quantity of alcohol as one milliliter

of blood. If a person’s actual blood-breath ratio is lower

than 2100:1, the breathalyzer will overestimate blood al-

cohol, and vice-versa.

Defendants assert that because people have broadly

divergent ratios of breath alcohol relative to blood alcohol,

the 2100:1 partition ratio is inaccurate and the breathalyzer-

test results premised on that partition ratio are scientifically

unreliable.

We reject this challenge to the breathalyzer, and con-

tinue to deny admissibility of extrapolation evidence to

refute the breathalyzer’s results. We find that breathalyzer

testing is a practical and reasonably accurate way of ful-

filling the Legislature’s intent to punish drunk drivers.

A. Background Procedural History and Facts

Downie sought a pretrial, pursuant to Ru/e 3:13-1(b),

in order to present expert testimony regarding the scientific

unreliability of breathalyzer-test results. To economize on

the costs of presenting that testimony, Downie moved

Pa-3

to consolidate his case with the drunk-driving cases of

three other defendants also represented by his attorney.

The other defendants are Mr. Matthews, Mr Marotta and

Mr. Carroll. The cases arose in four different municipalities,

all served by the same municipal court judge, who con-

solidated the four actions with regard to common questions

of law and fact and granted a pre-trial conference.

The Monmouth County Prosecutor filed a motion to

appeal nunc pro tunc the municipal court’s consolidation

order. The Law Division found that consolidation was im-

proper but permitted the municipal courts to consider

evidence regarding the admissibility and competency of

breathalyzer-test results. The State appealed from the Law

Division's Order.

The Appellate Division, relying on this Court's order

in Romano v. Kimmelman, 96 N.J. 66 (1984), that judicial

notice “shall” be taken of the scientific reliability of

breathalyzers, subject to few limited exceptions not at

issue in this case’, reversed the Law Division and held

that evidence regarding the scientific reliability and ac-

curacy of the breathalyzer-test results based on parti-

tion-ratio variability was inadmissible. 229 N.J.Super. 207.

'The Romano Order states that judicial notice “shall” be taken

of the scientific reliability of breathalyzers, with freedom from radio

frequency interference being the only qualificaton, and with the

only issues subject ot prooof being the working nature of the

particular machine, the qulification of the operator, and the method

of administration of the test. None of these issues are in question

on this appeal. No defendant alleges any fault in the operation

of the breathalyzer used in his case, but all challenge the accuracy

of the partition ratio.

Pa-4

ee ee

The Appellate Division considered this Court’s decisions

in State v. Tischio, 107 N.J. 504, 506 (1987), app.dism.,

484 U.S. 1038, 108 S.Ct. 768, 98 L.Ed.2d 855 (1988)

(N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 mandates a coviction for DWi based

solely on the breathalyzer reading in excess of .10% taken

within reasonable time of arrest even if reading at time

of operation would have been lower), and State v. Johnson,

42 N.J. 146, 171 (1964) (testimony disputing the accuracy

of the breathalyzer device has negligible probative value

in the present state of knowledge of the scientific and

medical community), as reflecting this Court’s strong belief

in the accuracy at reliability of the breathalyzer.

The Appellate Division also decided that the Monmouth

County Prosecutor had standing to represent the State,

229 N.J.Super. at 209 n. 1, and that the Municipal Court

lacked authority to consolidate cases in different municipal

courts. /d. at 210 n.

2. On the other hand, the court found no impediment

to the presentation of common proof or argument on

simiiar matters pending before the same court in more

than one jurisdiction in the interest of judicial economy.

Ibid.

This Court granted the defendants’ motion for leave

to appeal and the Attorney General’s motion for leave

to appeal as amicus curiae.

B. Factual Record on Limited Remand

This Court remanded the four consolidated cases to

the Law Division for a hearing, at which the defendants

and the State were instructed to present “evidence to

develop a factual record on the allegation that partition

Pa-5

ratio variability compromises the scientific reliability of

breathalyzer test results (and) which hearing shall address

the following issues. One: The nature and extent of the

variability of the partition ratio. And, two, the effect, if

any, Of such variability of the partition ratio on the reliability

of breathalyzer test results."

The experts who testified before the trial court were

Drs. Borkenstein, Hlastala, Payne, Jones, Dubowski, and

Simpson, Messrs. Shajani, Lucas, and Harding, and Sot.

Gulburg. Dr. Borkenstein, who invented the breathalyzer,

commented on its scientific reliability. Dr. Hlastala outlined

potential physical variables that could affect the blood-

breath partition ratio. Drs. Jones, Dubowski, and Payne

commented on their blood-breath experimental studies.

Messrs. Shajani and Lucas, Harding and Sgt. Gullberg

explored their own field work and laboratory studies. Dr.

Simpson analyzed the works of others from a statistical

perspective, but presented no experimental or field work

of his own.

After hearing the experts’ interpretation of the

physiological data, the lower court found the seven fol-

lowing conclusions of fact:2

1. The breathalyzer, Models 900A, is.a scientifically

reliable and accurate device for measurement of the al-

cohol content of a person’s breath (assuming proper

functioning of the instrument and a qualified operator).

2The trial court also prepared a synopsis of each expert's testimony

and a written overview of the issue, including a detailed description

of the basic theory of the blood/breath ratio.

Pa-6

pe UL PSR Pe ES Ota oat Hed

Pieters nea ene

2. In converting at a ratio of 1 to 2100 the breath-alcohol

concentration present in the person’s biood, the

breathalyzer reading is not scientifically accurate.

3. Calculated biood-breath ratios are worthless for foren-

sic purposes. They are subject to so many variables as

to be unuseable except for gross estimates of a person’s

true lung partition ratio, and then only at a particular mo-

ment. (Borkenstein, Dubowski, Payne, Jones, Lucas).

4. In a persecution for drunk driving, the breathalyzer

calibrated at 2100 to 1 is biased in favor of the accused.

(A) It under-reads the average person’s (blood alcohol)

by some 9% or 10%, Compared to a venous whole-blood

sample that might be simultaneously taken. (B) Its trun-

cated readings give the accused the benefit of anywhere

from .001% to .009% on a given test reading. (C) The

start line set on the breathalyzer scale gives the subject

the benefit of another .003% on any test reading. (All

experts agree on the foregoing.) (D) The lower value of

two consecutive readings taken fifteen minutes apart is

used for proof.

5. The breathalyzer gives a correct reading of alcohol

in the breath at a particular moment. It does not distinguish

between pre-peak “absorptive” or post-peak "post-absorp-

tive" stages in the intake and elimination of alcohol in

the blood. Those terms are of value only to the scientist.

6. The breathalyzer does not overestimate alcohol in

the blood at the .10% level to the detriment of the accused.

That is clearly so in the post-peak stage. In the pre-peak

stage. In the pre-peak stage the breathalyzer reading is

more accurate in predicting the amount of alcohol affecting

Pa-7

the brain than is a venous blood sample and it cannot

be empirically demonstrated that it is in error, so long

as two breath readings are taken within fifteen minutes

of each other, do not differ by more than .10%, and the

lower of the two is used for proof purposes. (Jones,

Shajoni, Dubowski, Lucas).

7. For the breathalyzer to give readings that can be

used with confidence, the operator must be sure that

at least twenty minutes have expired since the last ingestion

of alcohol to avoid the presence of “mouth" alcohol, which

can give a falsely high reading.

The parties amici filed exceptions to the trial court’s

Conclusions of Fact. The Monmouth County Prosecutor’s

Office as well as the Attorney General generally agree

with the trial court’s findings. Their exceptions relate

primarily to their concern that the conclusions of fact are

so terse and brief that without further explanation they

will be misinterpreted.

Accordingly, the Attorney General suggests that Con-

clusions of Fact #2 and 3 be expanded to read as follows:

Finding #2

2. The breathalyzer is calibrated at a breath/blood con-

version ratio of 1 to 2100 in determining the amount of

alcohol in an individual’s system. Use of a 1 to 2100

3The Offices of the Monmouth County Prosecutor and the Attorney

General submitted exceptions. The Attorney General’s Office also

submitted Proposed Findings of Fact. The attorney for the defendants

submitted exceptions and Proposed Findings of Fact in which Amicus

Curiae, National Association of Criminal Trial Lawyers (NACTL), joined.

Pa-8

ee ee

ratio in the conversion of measured breath alcohol con-

centration to venous blood alcohol concentration is scien-

tifically inaccurate in that it results in an underestimation

of venous blood alcohol concentration. The more scien-

tifically acceptable conversion ratio is 1 to 2300. However,

the forensic scientific community, aware that a 1 to 2300.

However, the forensic scientific community, aware that

a 1 to 2100 ratio benefits a defendant, has retained this

ratio for law enforcement purposes.

and that the following sentences be added to Finding

#3:

For this reason, a comparison of the actual differences

between breath test and venous blood test results is the

only valid form of analysis of the accuracy of breath testing

instruments calibrated at a 2100:1 ratio to determine

venous blood alcohol concentration. Reliable empirical

evidence demonstrates that these actual differences are

very small.

We agree with the Attorney General that the suggested

versions of conclusions of fact #2 and 3 are helpful in

understanding the Law Division’s findings of fact.

Defendants allege that the Court can consider only

conclusions of fact #2 and #2, and that we are con-

Stitutionally precluded from considering conclusions of fact

#1,4,5,6, and 7, because they were outside the scope

of the remand and the defense did not have a fair op-

portunity to present its side of those issues. We find no

merit in that position. The conclusions of fact are based

on the experts’ testimony and address the two issues

the Court specifically directed the Law Division to consider

Pa-9

on its remand. Aside from a specific exception to con-

clusion #6, the defense exceptions are not related to

any specific conclusions of fact but consist instead of

general allegations that the Legislature’s intent was to

base DWI convictions on the blood-alcohol level of the

driver and that the Law Division “erroneously concluded

that the breathalyzer does not overestimate alcohol in

the blood to the detriment of the accused."

(1) Based on our examination of the voluminous scien-

tific evidence and the exceptions and proposed findings

of fact filed by the parties and amici, we agree with the

trial court’s conclusions of fact.

As the evidence demonstrates, the use of the partition

ratio has been the subject of discussion and debate: in

the scientific community for years. Scientists have per-

formed many studies, stemming from as far back as 1930,

to determine the various factors that might affect the range

of the partition-ratio variability. Hence, we find no merit

to the defense’s contention that the variability of the par-

tition ratio represents a new scientific development.

Experts generally agreed on the physiological process

trigered by the ingestion of alcohol. A relatively small per-

centage of ethyl alcohol ( the alcohol contained in alcoholic

beverages ) is absorbed directly through the stomach -

into the blood that carries it to the brain. The remaining

alcohol is absorbed more slowly through the intestinal

tract. The alcohol reaches the brain via the carotid arteries.

The amount of alcohol present in the water in the brain

Pa-10

is what affects the driver’s ability to operate a motor vehicle.

After passing through the brain, the blood travels back

through the venous system to the liver, the heart and

back into the arterial system and lungs. The liver me-

tabolizes the alcohol. Once absorbed, the alcohol! will con-

tinue to affect the brain until it is completely metabolized.

The body undergoes at least two metabolic phases

following the ingestion of alcohol. The absorptive (pre-

peak) phase lasts from the initial ingestion of an alcoholic

drink to the point of the peak-alcoho! blood level. The

rate of absorption depends on variables such as the

amount of food in the stomach, the amount of pure alcoho!

ingested, and the rate of drinking. That initial phase is

followed by the post-absorptive (post-peak) phase, which

witnesses a decline in alcohol-blood levels.

During the post-absorptive phase, most experts agree

that venous blood, arterial blood, and breath are all good

indicators of the amount of alcohol in the brain. During

the absorptive phase, however, arterial blood, which takes

the alcohol to the brain, is the most accurate measure

of alcohol in the brain. venous blood may underestimate

the amount of alcohol in the brain during the absorptive

period because it does not circulate close to the brain

and is entirely dependent on the amount of alcohol derived

from the intestines, Thus, during the absorption period

arterial blood may reflect a much higher percentage of

alcohol than venous blood.

ideally, arterial blood, drawn from the carotid artery,

would furnish the most accurate estimate of alcohol in

the brain. Yet, a complicated, painful, and potentially

dangerous procedure is necessary to draw arterial blood.

Pa-11

The arterial blood does carry the alcohol to the lurigs

where it diffuses into the alveolar air space and is exhaled

in the breath. Because of that, many experts consider

alveolar air, or air expelled from the lungs at the end

of a deep breath, as the best practical measure of alcohol

in the brain during the absorptive phase. Capillary blood,

drawn from the fingertip and emanating from the shunt

between the arterial and venous systems, is also a sound

measurement of alcohol during the absorptive phase.

For law enforcement purposes, the drawing of capillary

blood and venous blood are a more intrusive and bur-

densome test than the breathalyzer. They require punctur-

ing the body of a suspected drunk driver by experienced

medical personnel who can and must take meticulous

care that blood samples not become contaminated. Capil-

lary blood drawn from the fingertip is small in amount

and the alcohol it contains easily evaporates when exposed

to the air. Extraction of venous blood, while not posing

a problem with evaporation, is an invasive procedure re-

quiring trained medical personnel. Moreover, venous blood

is unreliable in reading the amount of alcohol affecting

the brain during the absorptive phase.

In contrast, the breathalyzer may be administered by

a trained police officer, and requires only that the suspect

exhale deeply into the machine. Assuming the machine

is in working order and the test is properly administered,

all experts agree the breathalyzer can read the amount

of alcohol in the breath with a great deal of accuracy.

The operative inquiry is then whether the breathalyzer

may overestimate blood alcohol to the extent that some

drivers would be erroneously convicted.

Pa-12

ee eee ee een

The 2100:1 partition ratio, in its absolute simplicity belies

the fact that each subject’s partition ratio is affected by

a host of complex physiological variables. Henry's law,

in physical chemistry, states that when a liquid that contains

a volatile substance, such as alcohol, makes contact with

air in a closed container and at a known temperature,

a certain amount of alcoho! will escape into the air space

above in the form of vapor. The rate at which the alcohol

vaporizes will depend on the concentration of the alcohol

in the liquid and on the temperature. The higher the

temperature, the more alcohol will escape to the vapor.

When there is a fixed temperature and concentration of

alcohol, a state of equilbrium will result in which the

amounts of alcohol in air and liquid are static.

The breathalyzer applies Henry’s law to the blood which

courses through the lungs carrying alcohol. As the arterial

blood passes through the lungs, some of the alcohol

will become vaporized in the alveolar air and expelled

in the breath. The breathalyzer is calibrated to presume

that at 34° Celsius, a solution of 121 grams of alcohol

per 100 milliliters of water will give off alcohol to the vapor

of .10 grams per 210 liters of vapor. Thus, we arrive

at the current 2100:1 partition ratio.

Dr. Dubowski found that individual partition ratios vary

greatly. In one experiment, Dubowski paired blood and

breath samples from experimental subjects. He found that

the partition ratio of samples from different people ranged

from 1706:1 to a high of 3063:1 despite each having

ingested the same amount of alcohol. A person’s partition

ratio may vary from time to time. Moreover, it may be

that no two people have the exact same partition ratio.

Thus, the 2100:1 partition ratio is merely an estimate that

Pa-13

roughly approximates most people’s ratio and that is

Calibrated to give the benefit of the doubt to the subject

in most instances.

Expert witnesses generally agreed that the breathalyzer,

using a 2100:1 partition ratio, will usually underestimate

the amount of alcohol in the blood. That is due to a

variety of factors. First, most people’s partition ratios may

be closer to 2300:1 than to 2100:1. Second, the

breathalyzer results are truncated, or the third decimal

position is dropped when read. If a person reads .099

on the breathalyzer, the results will be shortened to read

.09, thereby underestimating the breath alcohol. Third,

a suspect may not provide enough deep breath to register

all of the alcohol present in the alveolar air. Fourth, the

breathalyzer’s scale is set .003 below the start line and

this gives suspects an added benefit. Finally, under current

procedures, law-enforcement officials will count only the

lower of two breathalyzer results, obtained fifteen minutes

apart, as evidence against a suspect. These, among other

less-significant factors, cause the breathalyzer to render

many more results on the low side than on the high

side.

Dr. Borkenstein testified that a 2300:1 partition ratio

would probably result in more accurate breathalyzer read-

ings. He estimated that 9% of those who take the

breathalyzer test receive lower readings of alcohol in their

blood than are accurate. In contrast, he estimated that

only three persons in a thousand might be convicted

as a result of an erroneously-high breathalyzer reading.

He adduced that breathalyzer researchers and members

of the National Safety Council adopted the 2100:1 partition

ratio instead of the more accurate 2300:1 ratio because

Pa-14

swt ee a ve ee Eee OU ee eee ee

ham aa mateRindh A: 2 Ratha

they wanted to err on the low side and have almost no

errors on the high side.

Dr. Borkenstein’s statements were echoed by almost

all the witnesses. Mr. Harding estimated that the

breathalyzer readings were, on average, 11% lower than

the alcohol present in the blood. Dr. Jones, who conducted

in-depth empirical studies for Sweden, indicated that 1.8%

of the population has a partition ratio of less than 2100,

while 98.2% have a higher partition ratio in the post-ab-

sorptive phase. Dr. Payne estimated the mean partition

ratio to be 2271:1. In a study he conducted in 1966,

he had estimated an even higher partition ratio of 2470:1.

The trial court found Dr. Dubowski to be the most im-

pressive expert witness. Likewise, prior New Jersey courts

have relied on Dr. Dubowski, recognizing him to be a

leading authority on the scientific reliability of the

breathalyzer. State v. McGinley, 229 N.J.Super. 191, 200

(Law Div.1988) (cited in State v. Dovnie, supra. 229

N.J.Super. at 211). Therefore, it is essential to dispel any

prior misconceptions of his scientific position. In McGinley,

the trial court stated that according to Dr. Dubowski there

was a 14% overestimation and that “every breathalyzer

reading should be reduced by .055%." The Appellate

Division in this case also relied on this mistaken reading

of Dr. Dubowski’s position. 229 N.J. at 211.

At the remand hearings, Dr. Dubowski stated that he

never testified that .055 should be deducted from each

breathalyzer result. Moreover, with respect to the 14%

overestimation figure he said that at the time he testified

at a trial in Alaska on which the McGinley couri ‘slied,

he did not have the statistical data analysis he now has

Pa-15

and that his previous simplified testimony does not fairly

and correctly reflect the facts.

Dr. Dubowski also testified that the breathalyzer un-

derestimates blood aicohol much more frequently than

it overestimates it but is generally highiy accurate in reading

breath-alcohol content. He based his conclusion in part

on the results of a study in which he compared the results

obtained using the breathalyzer with results obtained using

sophisticated laboratory equipment in 709 pairs of breath

samples.

In another study of subjects in the post-absorptive

phase, involving 388 paired venous blood/breath samples,

Dr. Dubowski found that in 86% of cases, the breathalyzer

underestimates the blood-alcohol level. In 14% of the

cases, it did not underestimate the blood-alcohol! level.

Of that 14%, in 2.3% of cases the breathalyzer states

exactly the blood-alcohol content. In 9.4% of the cases,

the breathalyzer overestimates the blood-alcohol level at

the third decimal level, where it has no impact on the

subject’s breathalyzer reading. In only 2.3% cases does

the breathalyzer materially overestimate the blood-alcohol

level potentially to the detriment of the accused. Even

the 2.3% figure is subject to question inasmuch as it in-

volves separate pairs from the same subject. !t is not

established that 2.3% of the people would have a higher

breathalyzer reading than the actual percentage of alcoho!

in their blood.

Still, despite the evidence that the breathalyzer could

potentially wrongfully convict less than 2.4% of suspected

drunk drivers, some scientists still pose objections to the

test based on the infinite physical factors that affect the

Pa-16

blood-breath ratio. Biological factors such as mouth

temperature, gender, body temperature, medication,

menstrual cycle, and oral contraceptives may have some

theoretical effect on breathalyzer readings. In addition,

hematocrit, or the ratio of the volume of blood cells to

the total volume of blood, expressed as percentage, may

have some theoretical effect. Women have generally lower

hematocrit meaning a iower percentage of their blood

is comprised of cells, and therefore a higher percentage

is comprised of water. No scientist during the remand

hearing could establish that thest theoretical effects were

sufficiently concrete as to be significant. Moreover, these

factors would not always inflate breathalyzer readings.

Even defense witnesses admitted that some of these fac-

tors would actually lower breathalyzer readings.

Our review of the record on remand is in conformity

with the conclusions of fact determined by the trial court.

We are satisfied that the breathalyzer is a reliable and

indispensable tool for law-enforcement purposes.

It is important to note the legislature’s statutory pronoun-

cement on drunk driving. N.J.S.A. 39:4-59(a) states that

"(a) person who...operates a motor vehicle with a blood

alcohol concentration of 0.10% or more by weight of al-

cohol in the defendant's blood" is guilty and subject to

punishment. N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.2 states that drivers on public

roads consent to the taking of breath samples for the

purpose of ascertaining their blood-alcohol levels

(proveded the test is administered according to statutory

standards). Finally, N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.3 provides that the

Pa-17

Attorney General has the authority to promulgate breath-

testing procedures and standards governing the qualifica-

tions and competence of those who administer the test.

Those statutory pronouncements give rise to certain

ambiguities. N.J.SA. 39:4-50(a) refers to .10% as

measured by the weight of alcohol in the defendant's

blood. It does not explicitly refer to a particular measure

of alcohol in the breath as constituting the per se infraction

of drunk driving. N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.2, the “implied consent"

statue, does refer to breath samples explicitly, but also

mentions the ascertaining of blood-alcohol levels as the

ultimate purpose of breath testing. The statutes give rise

to the ambiguity of whether a .10% breathalyzer reading

was intended to be sufficient to convict someone, even |

when the breathalyzer may have a maximum 2.3% chance |

of overestimating blood alcohol. |

It is an accepted principle ci statutory construction that |

an ambiguous statute shouid be interpreted in light of |

the statutory purpose. Accountemps Div. of Robert Half |

of Philadelphia, Inc. v. Birch Tree Group, Ltd., 115 N.J. |

614 (1989); Horwitz v. Reichenstein, 15 N.J. 6,8 (1954); |

In re Petition of Battle, 190 N.J.Super. 232, 236

(App.Div.1983). We must search for indications of legis-

lative intent or for the inferences that may be drawn from

the structure and purpose of the statute. State v. Maguire,

84 N.J. 508, 514 (1980)("In resolving...questions of

Statutory construction, we are mindful that our task is

to effectuate the legislative intent in light of the language

used and the objects sought to be achieved."). Moreover,

we should make reference to legislative history not only

where statutory language is ambiguous but also where

literal interpretation would thwart the overall statutory

Pa-18

eee enna

scheme. State v. Tischio, 107 N.J. 504, 509(1987), app.

dism. 484 U.S. 1038, 108 S.Ct. 768, $8 L.Ed.2d 855 (1988);

Exxon Corp. v. Hunt, 97 N.J. 526 (1984).

The legislative hearings on N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.2 provide

some insight into whether it is reasonable to assume that

the statute's: mention of breath was an acknowledgement

by the legislature that breath, not blood, would be the

final measure of intoxication. The then-Attorney General,

Arthur J. Sills, told the Senate Committee on Law and

Public Safety that inebriation would be ascertained through

“the use of a breath test." Public Hearings on Senate

Bill No. 8 (Driving While Impaired) and Senate Bill No.

9 (Implied Consent), February 28, 1966, at 39. In addition,

the Attorney General commented on how there had been

@ process of “gradual acceptance of chemical test laws

which provide statutory standards for interpreting the

results of chemical tests performed on persons charged

with the offense of driving while under the influence of

intoxicating liquor." /d. at 32. The Attorney General's state-

ments attest to the acceptance, progressive over time,

of the breathalyzer as the ideal chemical measurement

of degree of inebriation.

Others who testified before the Senate Commiittee

echoed the Attorney General's reliance on the breathalyzer.

The Director of the Division of Motor Vehicles spoke of

scientific testing as being definitive of the individual's level

of impairment. /d. at 51. The president of the New Jersey

Licensed Beverage Association referred to “the ap-

proximate number of cocktails one would need to con-

sume" so that “the scientific reading to discover the alcoho!

content would be .10%." /d. at 31A. The then-Superin-

tendent of the State Police summarized the tenor of the

Pa-19

hearings when he stated that the chemical test, or

“drunkometer" (analogous to our present breathalyzer),

“is the best method of separating the innocent from the

guilty." Id. at 12A. Although chemical tests may refer to

a broader class than just the breathalyzer pervaded the

hearings. There was an assumption underlying the hear-

ings that a breathalyzer reading of .10% should be sufficient

to establish impairment.

New Jersey enacted the .10% per se law partly in

response to federal standards and incentive programs.

Legislative history reveals that those federal statutes also

presumed the reliability of the breathalyzer. See Assemble

Judiciary, Law, Public Safety and Defense Committee State-

ment to Senate Bill No. 1833, L.1983, c. 129; 23 U.S.C.A.

Sec. 408, 23 C.F-R. Ch. 111, Part 1309; 3 U.S.Code Con-

gressional and Administrative News, 97th Congress,

Second Session (1982) 3367 at 3370. Thus, federal stand-

ards appear to have been formulated with the presumption

that the breathalyzer would be one of the preferred

measures of intoxication.

We have previously held the New Jersey statutory lan-

guage to presume the validity of breathalyzer test results.

In State v. Tischio, supra, 107 N.J. at 522, we held that

“the statute prescribes an offense that is demonstrated

solely by a reliable breathalyzer test administered within

a reasonable period of time after the defendant is

stopped..which test results in the proscribed blood alcoho!

level." (Emphasis added.) In State v. Johnson, 42 N.J.

146 (1964), and Romano v. Kimmelman, 96 N.J. 66(1984),

we also declared our conviction in the accuracy and

reliability of the breathalyzer.

Pa-20

In light of the scientific and legislative evidence, we

find unpersuasive the argument that blood should be the

sure and ultimate measure of inebriation. Blood, itself is

not monolithic. Venous blood differs from the arterial blood,

which actually takes alcohol to the brain. Venous blood

may be far less accurate as an indication of the amount

of alcohol affecting the brain than breath in the absorptive

phase.* Given the fact that the legislature desired to bar

driving while intoxicated, it appears logical that the blood

contemplated was the arterial blood, which takes alcohol

to the brain. Because arterial blood is practically unob-

tainable, then breath, not venous blood, is the most con-

sistently accurate reflection of the concentration of alcohol

affecting the brain. Thus, the legislative and judicial ref-

erence to "blood" is not an intended concession that blood

tests are the preferred method for ascertaining inebriation.

The dissent alleges that we are, in fact, converting a blood

statute to a breath statute. Post at 470. Instead, we are

reflecting the legislative intent that “blood,” inasfar as it

refers to arterial blood, is best represented by breath

samples.

Other states have acknowledged the breathalyzer to

render results that are conclusive of the defendant's guilt

or innocence. In State v. Rucker, 297 A.2d 400 (1972),

the Delaware Supreme Court addressed the defendant’s

claim that possible error in breath testing might indicate

that his blood-alcohol level was below the level proscribed

by statute. The court rejected that claim, holding that

4atthough it is recommended that people not be tested within twenty

minutes after they ingest their last drink, the absorptive period

may be much longer than twenty minutes in most individuals.

Pa-21

the test result, rather than the proscribed blood-alcohol

level, was the essential element of the offense:

Under the terms of the statute the trier of fact must

determine whether the test results show the required per-

centage of alcohol in the blood. The trier of fact is not

free to disregard the mandate of the statute or to question

the wisdom of the General Assembly in providing that

test results constitute proof of that element of the crime.

The possible variance in results between various types

of tests...may be an inherent weakness of the statutory

provisions. The General Assembly could have considered

these possible variances when it enacted the legislation

but the legislation is so worded as to preclude these

factors from being considered as issues of fact.

If there had been evidence that the test was improperly

administered, such evidence could cast such doubt on

the result as could be considered by the trier of fact

in determining whether the statutory requirement had been

met. But, as indicated, evidence that the type of tests

already approved by the General Assembly when properly

conducted are still subject to possible variations in results

is not a matter which is here left to the trier of facts.

(Id. at 402-03.)

In light of Tischio and other New Jersey precedent,

the breathalyzer should receive similar deference in this

state as in jurisdictions such as Delaware. See, e.g., Cooley

v. Municipality of Anchorage, 649 P.2d 251, 254 (Alaska

Ct.App.1982) (breathalyzer is accurate in vast majority

of cases despite possible variations in converting breath-

alcohol concentration to blood-alcohol concentration);

People v. Capporelli, 148 ill App.3d 1048, 103 IIl.Dec. 864,

868, 502 N.E.2d 11, 15 (1986) (legislative provision that

Pa-22

beathalyzer is an available measure of intoxication is based

on sufficient scientific data as to be rational); Heddan

v. Dirkswager, 336 N.W.2d 54, 62 (Minn.1983)

(breathalyzer, if administered correctly, is highly accurate);

State v. Brayman, 110 Wash.2d 183, 751 P2d 294 (1988)

("While the record may establish that breath is a less

direct measure of blood-alcohol levels, it does not establish

a lack of reasonable and substantial relationship between

breath alcohol and impairment."). In many of these states

a breath-alcohol reading of .10% is explicitly cited in the

statutory language, without any reference to blood alcohol,

as being sufficient evidence of the defendant’s guilt, as-

suming the machine is operated correctly and is in good

working order.

We believe that the legislature intended the breathalyzer

to be a measure of inebriation and not just biood alcohol.

It is not necessary for there to be “unanimity of opinion

or universal infallibility...for judicial acceptance of generally

recognized matters." State v. Johnson, supra, 42 N.J. at

181. Judicial notice serves “to provide a speedy and ef-

ficient means of proving matters which are not in genuine

dispute." V. Biunno Current N.J. Rules of Evidence, Com-

ment 1 to Evid.R. 9 (quoting RWB Newton Assocs. v.

Gunn, 224 N.J.Super. 704, 711 (App.Div 1988) (hereinafter

Biunno). When a scientific device has been held to be

reliable, it is no longer necessary for there to be expert

testimony on that issue at every trial. Biunno, supra, Com-

ment 12 to Evid.R. 9. We are convinced that as long

as proper procedures are followed, the breathalyzer should

remain a subject of judicial notice.

The breathalyzer reads alcohol with unimpeachable ac-

curacy. Breath, in turn, is the best measure of alcohol

Pa-23

in the arterial blood, which feeds alcohol to the brain.

The 2100:1 partition ratio does combine with other

physiological factors to underestimate blood alcohol in

a significant number of cases. This results, however, only

in giving suspects an added benefit of the doubt. Every

method of ascertaining blood alcohol carries inherent

problems. No method is 100% accurate. We hold that

the breathalyzer, with a maximum overestimation error

margin of 2.3%, is not only the best practical tool, but

the tool the legislature intended to carry out its will. Romano

v. Kimmelman, supra, 96 N.J. 66.

We are confident that continued use of the breathalyzer

will not lead to unjust convictions. The scientific evidence

is more conclusive now than ever that the chances of

overestimation are extraordinarily small. We must construe

legislative intent in cases in which statutory language is

ambiguous. The legislature wanted drunk drivers off the

road. As a measure for determining a motor vehicle viola-

tion, a scientific test that produces predictably accurate

results in 97.7% of the cases is not unreasonable. Because

of this we also continue to reject the admissibility of ex-

trapolation evidence. Stat v. Tischio, supra, 107 N.J. 504.

(2) In conclusion, we hold that the breathalyxer fulfills

legislative policy and intent to provide a reliable and fair

measure of alcohol in the brain. Breathalyzer results can

continue to be used in prosecution of the per se offers

of drunk driving. The reliability of breathalyzer results will

continue to be the subject of judicial notice in drunk-driving

prosecutions. Extrapolation evidence will also continue

to be inadmissible.

Pa-24

The breathalyzer is unsurpassed in its combined prac-

ticality and usefuiness. It errs on the low side in a significant

number of cases, in order not to overestimate blood alcohol

in the greatest possible number of cases. We are convinced

this is justifiable in order to further the legisiature’s will

and maintain efficiency in our system of justice.

The judgement of the Appellate Division is affirmed

and the four matters are remanded to the municipal courts

for separate trials to be held consistent with this opinion.

STEIN, J., dissenting.

The Court is afflicted with a severe case of institutional

amnesia. It has either forgotten, or has unaccountably

ignored, the most basic distincton between the legislative

and judicial branches of government.

Underlying this litigation was the premise, acknow-

ledged by all parties and this Court, that New Jersey’s

drunk-driving statute is based on blood-alcohol content.

N.J.S.A. 39:4-50. The single issue was whether the

breathalyzer, which measures breath-alcohol content, in-

accurately converts breath alcohol to biood-alcohol con-

tent, inaccurately converts breath alcohol to blood alcoho!

because the conversion ratio at which the breathalyzer

is calibrated exceeds the so-called partition ratio of a por-

tion of the population. This Court ordered a remand hearing

“to develop a factual record on the allegation that partition

ratio variability compromises the specific reliability of

breathalyzer-test results ***." 114 NJ. 498 (1989).

Evidence adduced at the remand hearing demonstrates

that the breathalyzer is highly reliable, underestimating

blood-alcohol content in most cases, but materially over-

Pa-25

estimating blood-alcohol content in most cases, but

materially overestimating blood-alcohol content in ap-

proximately 2.3% of all subjects tested.

Confronted with such evidence, the Court today “con-

strues" our drunk-driving statute as proscribing .10% or

more of alcohol in the breath as well as in the blood.

Ante at 466-468. That interpretation enables the Court

to sustain the use of the breathalyzer as a device for

proving violations of the drunk-driving statute even in that

small number of cases in which the breathalyzer materially

overestimates blood alcohol. At the same time, the Court

disregards not only the unmistakably plain statutory lan-

guage, but also its own opinions that have repeatedly

and consistently characterized the statutory violation in

terms of a prohibited amount of alcohol in the blood.

See State v. Tischio, 107 N.J. 504, 506, 510, 516, 517,

522 (1987); Romano v. Kimmelman, 96 N.J. 66, 72, 78,

82 (1984); State v. Johnson, 42 N.J. 146, 151, 158, 169,

172-73 (1964).

Although the Court’s resourcefulness is doubtless well-

motivated, the taint on the judicial process is ineradicable.

It is also totally unnecessary. Evidence in the record sug-

gests that a relatively minor adjustment in the partition

ratio at which breathalyzers are calibrated would eliminate

all material overestimates of blood alcohol, and a further

remand would permit testimony to be elicited on the extent

of the required adjustment. Moreover, the Legisiature’s

concern over the ravages of drunk driving is well-docu-

mented. Guided by the Attorney General, who has par-

ticipated as amicus in this appeal, it is a virtual certainty

that the Legislature would act swiftly to amend the drunk-

driving statute to provide specifically that the prohibited

Pa-26

quantity of alcohol in either the breath or blood constitutes

a violation.’ But if an amendment to the statute is required,

that is the business of the Legislature. It is not the function

of this Court.

Chief Justice WILENTZ and Justices HANDLER,

POLLOCK, and O’HERN join in this opinion.

Justice STEIN has filed a separate dissenting opinion.

Justice CLIFFORD did not participate.

For affirmance and remand - Chief Justice WILENTZ,

HANDLER, POLLOCK and O’HERN - 4.

For reversal - Justice STEIN - 1.

See, e@.g., Cooley v. Municipality of Anchorage, 649 P2d 251,

252 (Alaska Ct.App.1982) (reflecting amendment to Anchorage DWI

ordinance to define violations in terms of blood alcohol or breath

alcohol): People v. Capporelli, 148 lil.App.3d 1048, 103 Ill.Dec. 864,

867, 502 N.E.2d 11, 14 (1986) (describing Illinois DWI statute that

defines violations in terms of blood-alcohol or breath-alcoho!l content);

State v. Brayman, 110 Wash.3d 183, 751 P.2d 294, 296 (1988)

(reflecting amendment to Washington DWI statute to define violations

in terms of blood-alcohol or breath-alcohol content); Okla.Stat.Ann.

tit 47, 11-902A1 (West 1989) (defining violation Oklahoma DWI

statute in terms of blood alcohol or breath alcohol).

Pa-27

STATE OF NEW JERSEY, PLAINTIFF-APPELLANT,

v. ANDREW

DOWNIE, DANIEL MATTHEWS, MARTIN MAROTTA,

AND

CHARLES CARROLL, DEFENDANTS-RESPONDENTS

Superior Court of New Jersey

Appellate Division

Argued October 25, 1988-Decided

November 28,1988.

SYNOPSIS

During unrelated drunk driving prosecutions in various

municipal districts, before same judge and where defen-

dants were represented by same attorney, the Superior

Court, Law Division, Monmouth County, permitted

municipal court judge to hear arguments related to ad-

missibility of breathalyzer evidence. State appealed. The

Superior Court, Appeliate Division, Dreier, J.A.D., held that:

(1) county prosecutor had standing to appear in cases;

(2) municipal judge lacked authority to consolidate cases

arising in different municipal courts; (3) while consolidation

may be inappropriate, common proof and argument could

be joined for purposes of judicial economy; and (4) in

light of prior Supreme Court order, new scientific challenges

to breathalyzer test results were inadmissible except as

offer of proof.

Reversed and remanded.

1. District and Prosecuting Attorneys 7(1)

Pa-28

Since county prosecutor had plenary authority to

prosecute defendants, he could supersede various

municipal prosecutors and represent State in criminal

proceedings. N.J.S.A. 2A: 158-4, 2A:158-5; R. 3:23-9.

2. Action 57(6)

Municipal judge lacked authority to consolidate cases

arising in different municipal courts.

3. Trial 2

While consolidation of cases in different municipalities

may be inappropriate, there is no impediment to either

litigant on his motion, or for a municipal judge from making

application to assignment judge for an order permitting

common proof of or argument on similar matters pending

before same judge in more than one jurisdiction in the

interest of judicial economy.

4. Automobiles 411

In light of prior Supreme Court order requiring that

judicial notice be given to breathalyzer test results in drunk

driving prosecutions, new scientific challenges to those

results and to the tests themselves were inadmissible ex-

cept as offer of proof for purpose of making a record;

overruling State v. McGinley, 229 N.J.Super. 191.

Before Judges ANTELL, DREIER AND HAVEY.

Mark P. Stalford, Assistant Prosecutor argued the cause

for appellant (John Kaye, Monmouth County Prosecutor,

attorney; Mark P. Stalford, of counsel and on the letter

brief).

Stephen M. Pascarella argued the cause for respon-

dents (Francis X. Moore, attorney; Francis X. Moore, on

the letter brief).

The opinion of the court was delivered by

DREIER, J.A.D.

Pa-29

(1) The State appeals, on leave granted, from a Law

Division order permitting the municipal courts of four

municipalities, all served by the same municipal court

judge, to hear arguments relating to the admissibility of

breathalyzer evidence. The defendants in the four cases

ere represented by the same attorney. The Monmouth

County Prosecutor superseded the various municipal

prosecutors and represented the State at the Law Division

hearing and in this court.’ In separate actions arising

in Burlington County, similar arguments have been raised

and disposed of in State v. McGinley, 229 N.J.Super. 191

(Law Div. 1988)

(2,3) On the substantive issue, we understand that each

defendant finds no fault with the operation of the particular

breathalyzer involved in his case, but rather challenges

whether the breathalyzer machines in general accurately

test the subject’s blood-alcohol content. The Law Division

judge determined that the four matters should not have

been consolidated and that four separate hearings should

‘Defendants challenge the right of the Monmouth County Prosecutor

to appeal the Law Division decision. N.J.S.A. 2A:158-4 and 5 give

the Attorney General and county prosecutors plenary jurisdiction

to prosecute all criminal matters in this State. It is clear from

the wording of N.J.S.A. 2A:158-5 that the words “criminal business"

in 8 4 are not limited to crimes, but include the prosecution of

“offenders against the laws." Cf. R. 3:23-9. Since the Monmouth

County Prosecutor has primary authority to prosecute, he may

supersede the various municipal prosecutors; we therefore reject

the standing issue raised by defendants.

Pa-30

be held. He refused, however, to preclude the municipal

courts from holding such hearings.2

(4) The State urges that Romano v. Kimmeiman, 96

N.J. 66, 72 (1984), conclusively determined by an order

of general application, that

(t)he Smith and Wesson Breathalyzer Models 900 and

900A are found to be scientifically reliable and accurate

devices for determining the concentration of blood alcohol.

Such scientific reliability shall be the subject of judicial

notice in the trial of all cases under N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.

And see discussion of this Order, 96 N.J. at 82. The

Order further stated:

The results of the administration of Mode! 900 can

be received in evidence in accordance with the standards

under State v. Johnson, 42 N.J. 146 (1964), without further

proof establishing any additional conditions for admis-

sibility (concerning radio frequency interference). (96 N.J.

at72)

2The State contends that the deconsolidation order is not properly

before us, since the defendants have not taken a cross-appeal.

This is so, and we find no authority for a municipal judge to

consolidate cases arising in different municipal courts. But for future

guidance we see no impediment to a litigant on his or her own

motion, or as directed by a municipal court judge, making an

application to the Assignment Judge in the interest of judicial economy

for an order permitting, not consolidation, but a common proof

hearing or argument on matters pending before the municpal judge

in more than one jurisdiction.

Pa-31

Further,

All... future cases under N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 shall be

prosecuted in accordance with the terms of the within

Order, which shall remain in effect unless otherwise

modified by further order, or final decision of this Court.

(id. at 74).

See also State v. Tischio, 107 N.J. 504, 506(1987),

app. dism. for want of substantial federal question, ---

U.S. ---, 108 S.Ct. 168, 98 L.Ed.2d 855 (1988), holding

that NSA. 39:4-50 mandates a conviction for DWI based

solely on the breathalyzer reading in excess of .10%. Even

in the 1964 case of State v. Johnson, cited in Romano,

the Supreme Court stated that

(w)hile such testimony (disputing the accuracy of the

breathalyzer device) is probably technically still admissible,

its probative value and weight is almost nil in the present

state of knowledge of the scientific and medical community.

(State v. Johnson, 42 N.J. at 171).

It appears that the “almost nil" chance noted in Johnson

has ripened into a more plausible attack based upon

new data. But the issue here is whether in the face of

the Supreme Court’s Order and decision in Romano, such

proof can be accepted other than as offer of proof for

the purpose of makimg a record. R. 1:7-3. In State v.

McGinley, the trial judge initially determined that, applying

the principles of stare decisis, he was without jurisdiction

to challenge the Supreme Court decisions in Johnson,

Romano and Tischio. 229 N.J.Super. at 194-95. He then

reconsidered and issued the McGinley opinion, stating

that the new challenges involved factors never before

presented to the Supreme Court. /d. at 194-97. In Romano

Pa-32

the breathalyzer survived a general challenge based only

upon radio frequency interference, and the Court permitted

specific proof of the particular device’s or location’s sen-

sitivity. in McGinley, four additional factors were raised,

and heve been incorporated by defendants here by ref-

erence:

The scientific evidence upon which the defendants rely

shows the following:

(1) The breathalyzer is designed to test persons having

a 2100/1 blood-breath ratio. Such ratios in fact vary from

1100/1 to 3200/1 and the variance can produce erroneous

test results. High readings are produced in 14% of the

population. (2) The temperature of the machine itself varies,

affecting test results. (3) Body temperatures vary, affecting

test results. (4) Hematocrit (the solid particles in whole

blood) levels vary, particularly between males and females,

affecting test results. These sources of error make

breathalyzer test results suspect and, to insure reliability,

require the substantial reduction of blood-alcohol percent-

ages based on a translation of those results. The leading

expert in the field, recognized as such by both State and

defense, is of the opinion that the reduction should be

055. (229 N.J.Super. at 193.)

In the case before us it was represented at oral argument

that these factors would be shown, plus additional factors

such as race. For example persons of Asian origin tend

to show falsely high readings based upon average biood-

breath ratios under 2100/1. While there may be constitu-

tional ramifications if these allegations are proven, we

do not reach this issue. It is better left for review on

a more complete record, perhaps after Supreme Court

review.

The problem with the approach taken in McGinley and

argued here is that the Supreme Court’s order in Romano

was not that judicial notice "may" be taken, but that judicial

notice “shall* be taken of the scientific reliability of the

breathalyzers. The machines were “found to be scien-

tifically reliable and accurate devices for determining the

concentration of blood alcohol." 96 N.J. at 72. The only

qualification to this finding was the necessary proof of

freedom from radio frequency interference. “All...future

cases under N.J.S.A. 39:50-4" are subject to the order.®

Once judicial notice is taken, no proof to the contrary

is permitted. Evidence R. 11; Klimko v. Rose, 84 N.J.

496, 50-4 (1980). As noted in Romano, the only issues

subject to proof in the admission of breathalyzer results

are the working nature of the particular machine, the

qualification of the operator, and the method of administra-

tion of the test. 96 N.J. at 91. Therefore the order remanding

the matters to the separate municipal courts for proof

Outside of these permitted areas was substantively in-

correct.

The issues raised by defendants are of significant dimen-

sions since they have alleged variables, herefore uncon-

sidered by New Jersey appellate authority, in the

interpretation of breathalyzer results. As noted in McGinley,

other states have considered the issue, with varying results.

Compare State of Nebraska v. Burling, 224 Neb. 725,

400 N.W. 20 872 (1987), with People v. Pritchard, 162

CalApp.3d Supp. 13, 209 Cal. Rptr.314 (Super. Ct. 1984),

3Since Romano, the statute was amended to read as it was

enforced in Tischio. But the Supreme Court in Romano was aware

of the new per se language, 96 N.J. at 78-79, 94, and still made

ts order effective in all future cases.

Pa-34

Pam?

and People v. Gineris, 162 Cal App 3d Supp. 18, 209

Cal.Rptr. 317 (Super.Ct.1984). The issues are especially

important in New Jersey in view of the per se application

of N.J.S.A. 39:4-50. The matter of the temperature of the

machine may easily be solved, and can constitute merely

another item on the operator’s checklist. But, if defendants

are correct concerning the variability of the 2100/1 breath-

blood ratio (the internal basis upon which the breathalyzer

machine is based), vastly different individual blood-alcohol

content can result in the statutory .1% reading. Viewed

a different way, inebriated drivers may pass, while com-

paratively sober drivers may fail a breathalyzer test. Focus-

ing on the variation in the 2100/1 breath-blood ratio, and

accepting that the test must be one which indicates blood-

alcohol content, significant sections of the population may

be held to a standard different from others. As to an

individual’s difference from the norm, if the only way one

can determine how he or she fits within the alleged breath-

blood ratio continuum of from 1100/1 to 3200/1, with the

additional variables of the person’s hematocrit levels, is

to have a blood test (which itself could conclusively es-

tablish the blood-alcohol level), then the machine may

well be no more than a rough gauge of inebriation in

all but the most serious cases. See State of Nebraska

v. Bruling, supra, applying a 52.38% reduction factor, as

opposed to the .055 reduction suggested in McGinley.

We recognize these problems, but we are also bound

by Romano Order, which we view as a Clear exercise

of the Supreme Court’s constitutional rule-making power.

N.J. Const. (1947), Art. VI, § Il, par.3. The Order is definite

when it states that it is binding in all future cases. 96

N.J. at 74. While we recognize the scholarly and persuasive

analysis of the court in McGinley, we must overrule that

Pa-35

decision unless and until the Supreme Court takes some

action to relax the Romano Order. We can only suggest

that this matter be reviewed immediately, perhaps by a

Supreme Court remand of these cases to a judge or

master to establish a record. We may not, however, take

this action ourselves, and are constrained under the

present law to reverse and remand the four matters before

us for separate trials at which such proof shall be in-

admissible except to make a record for some future appeal.

We will nevertheless, on our own motion grant a stay

to permit defendants to petition the Supreme Court for

certification.

REVERSED AND REMANDED.

Pa-36

MONMOUTH COUNTY SUPERIOR COURT

LAW DIVISION -

DOCKET NO.: 13525

STATE OF NEW JERSEY,

Plaintiff, TRANSCRIPT OF

-VS- ELECTRONICALLY

RECORDED

PROCEEDINGS

ANDREW DOWNIE, DANIEL

MATTHEWS, MARTIN

MAROTTA

and CHARLES CARROLL,

Defendants.

June 15, 1988

TRANSCRIPTION REQUESTED BY: COUNTY

PROSECUTOR'S OFFICE BEFORE: HON. ALVIN Y. MIL-

BERG, A.J.S.C.

APPEARANCES:

MARK B. STALFORD, ESQ.

For the Plaintiff.

JAMES BUTLER, JRS.,

For the City of Asbury Park

FRANCIS X. MOORE, ESQ..,

For the defendants.

Pa-37

THE COURT: Please be seated. Good morning

Gentlemen.

MR. STALFORD: Good morning.

THE COURT: State of New Jersey versus Downie, Mat-

thews, Marotta and Carroll, miscellaneous number 6-426-

88. May | have the appearances on the record please.

First the Prosecutor?

MR. STALFORD: Mark B. Stalford, Assistant Monmouth

County Prosecutor.

MR. BUTLER: James Nelson Butler, Jr. appearing on

behalf of the City of Asbury Park.

MR. MOORE: Francis X. Moore, 21% Maple Avenue,

Red Bank, New Jersey on behalf of defendants, if it please

the Court.

THE COURT: All right, gentlemen, | guess it is about

some two weeks ago, Mr. Stalford came to ry chambers

to advise me that he wanted to appeal a consolidiation

in the municipal court and asked what steps he should

take.

| directed that he file a motion without a date and

that | would fix a date and that once it is filed, | would

notify counsel. | guess about two or three days thereafter

the motion was filed and | notified counsel that | would

hear the case today.

1 will call upon you first Mr. Stalford. First, you can

address your motion for leave to appeal, nunc pro tunc.

Pa-38

MR. STALFORD: Your Honor, first | should put on the

record that the factual statements made in my brief, -

and | think | made this clear, -- and if | didn’t, | attempted

to in my brief, -- are made based upon those facts or

those pieces of information that | could put together on

the short notice that | had to work on this matter.

If there are any inaccuracies, they were not intentional,

they were not made in any way to try and thwart justice

or to misrepresent things to the Court. But | was in a

position of having limited amounts of time. Mr. Butler who

was in a trial on a murder case, and he seems to be

the man most familiar with this from the State’s point

of view.

i was not party to the initial matters and the initial

proceedings on this, -- and | say that only in the fact

that | didn’t have the chance to be there, to know what

was gding on, and to have first-hand knowledge.

So as far as factual inaccuracies, -- they are not made

intentionally, they are not made to thwart justice as we

seem to glean from Mr. Moore’s brief. But they are made

because that was the best information | could get at the

time.

With regard to my motion for leave to appeal, -- first

| think it comes in two parts. One, am | the right party

to be here? That is, am | as the County Prosecutor's

representative, the right person to be standing befcre

Your Honor?

In that regard, | would bring up two points. One, as

the rule states, on all appeals to the Law Division, on

Pa-39

municipal court matters, -- involving disorderly persons

and motor vehicle offenses, -- the Court Prosecutor is

the representative of the State.

If we were to follow the procedure Mr. Moore seems

to be advocating in his brief, -- it would be up to one

of the municipal prosecuter or a municipal prosecutor

to actually bring the motion for leave to appeal. That

having been granted, to step aside and have the County

Prosecutor ther: walk in and actually argue the merits

of the appeal.

| submit that that is a bifurcated process which is not

the intent of the statute. The statute says that the County

Prosecutor is to represent the State on appeal. It means

all aspects of the appeal, which would include the motion

for leave to appeal, because it is being brought to the

same court.

lf we were to have that process that Mr. Moore seems

to be advocating today in this Court, Mr. Butler would

be standing here now arguing for leave to appeal, then

Mr. Butler and | would switch places. And | would come

forward and Mr. Butler would retire. It seems to be an

awkward and not what was intended by the Statute.

The second point is, is the County Prosecutor entitled

to bring leave to appeal under these circumstances? |

submit that the County Prosecutor has a supervisory role

in all matters having to do with criminal and quasi-criminal

matters in the County of Monmouth, by constitutional man-

date. He is, -- that is, the County Prosecutor, the chief

law enforcement office of the County, -- that he has the

authority to supercede a municipal prosecutor in all matters

Pa-40

relating to those statutes which -- statutes and enactments

which deal with State Legislature.

| would not say that if we were here on a municipal

ordinance violation. That being so, | would submit that

the County Prosecutor is in fact, the proper authority to

bring a motion for leave to appeal, -- to bring this matter,

to bring any matter, and to present any matter involving

State statutes to the courts, -- whether it be the Superior

Court, Law Division or the municipal courts, if the County

Prosecutor so desires.

The motion for leave to appeal is brought on a nunc

pro tunc basis, because in fact, if we count the days

from the date that orders were entered by Judge Pappa,

-- | am in fact ten days, -- that is, the State is ten days

out of time. | would submit that there is good cause

to leave to grant the motion nunc pro tunc because the

County Prosecutor’s Office acted as expeditiously as pos-

sible under the circumstances, in that we knew nothing

about this matter until June 1st., when | received a cover

letter from Judge Pappa, which was directed | believe

to Mr. Moore and possibly to all the parties, enclosing

signed orders.

That is the first notice, -- the first time anyone had

brought anything to the attention of the Prosecutor's Office.

THE COURT: Why did he send that to you Mr. Stalford?

MR. STALFORD: | have no idea and | have not discussed

that with Judge Pappa. | did note that | was cc’d on

the letters and the enclosed orders.

Pa-44

THE COURT: | was curious to know how you learned

about this. You just explained it to me. Okay, go ahead.

MR. STALFORD: That is it. That was the first time,

-- | didn't know anything that happened in municipal court.

| was not noticed on the motions that Mr. Moore brought,

-- and | say that only for the fact that | didn’t have notice.

THE COURT: All right.

MR. STALFORD: Not from any other standpoint. | didn’t

know it was argued. | didn’t know it was pending. No

one had brought it to your attention. Anyone in my office

to my knowledge, -- and | am the person in the Prosecutor’s

Office who would be made aware of these things.

So, at that time, that was my first time, first information,

first knowledge of what was going on. And in fact, the

motion was filed within ten days of that date.

THE COURT: Let’s move on to the next issue, -- con-

solidation.

MR. STALFORD: We have a situation Your Honor where

a municipal court judge has taken four cases, in four

separate towns, and consolidated them into one proceed-

ing. Not because of conflict, not because the judge of

Town A can’t here the case, and therefore, it has been

sent to Town B to be heard, on some reciprocal agreement

to the towns, but on the basis of a common issue.

| submit that there is no authority in municipal court

anyone can point to, that allows a municipal court judge

to do that. | think what we have to do is, --

Pa-42

THE COURT: If he couldn't do it, could | do it? In

other words, can it be done by anyone?

MR. STALFORD: | don’t see any authority anywhere

in the rules that says that anybody can do it. But | think

if anyone can do it, it would have to be brought to a

supervisory judge; that is, a Superior Court, Law Division

Judge or higher.

And | say that because your jurisdiction; that is, the

Superior Court, Law Division extends not only throughout

the County, but in fact, throughout the State. Judge

Pappa’s jurisdiction sitting in Asbury Park is limited to

the boundaries of Asbury Park. His jurisdiction in Deal

is limited to the boundaries in Deal, and so it is in South

Belmar, and in Allenhurst. He has no authority over those

other cases.

So, Sitting as the Asbury Court judge, he has no authority

to consolidate any other case into that Asbury Park case,

or with that case.

Your Honor, as a Superior Court judge has authority

over matters involving Asbury Park, Allenhurst, South Bel-

mar and Deal. And if there is any justification or authority

in the statutes, or in our case law to do a consolidation

under any circumstances, it would lie within Your Honor.

And | would submit that there is some precedent for

consolidating matters. It was done a few years ago in

another case involving Mr. Moore, -- and | believe its

caption, State versus Lopat, which eventually gave rise

to Romano vs. Kimmelman case which also was attacking

the breathalyzer. |

-

Pa-43

But the authority | would submit has to lie within the

Law Division.

THE COURT: When were those cases consolidated?

MR. STALFORD: | believe, -- in one of Judge Horan’s

courts, and | am not sure whether it was Atlantic Highlands

or one of the other, -- Mr. Moore would probably be able

to help us. But there were a series of defendants in the

Lopat case.

THE COURT: Was there any objection to that con-

solidation?

MR. STALFORD: | would have to rely on Mr. Moore.

| was not a member of the Prosecutor’s Office at the

time, and | don’t know. | know that there was intervention

eventually by the Prosecutor, and | believe at some point,

the Attorney General's Office. And eventually the Attorney

General took over the whole case, as far as the State

was concerned.

So, there is no authority. There is no way that you

can extend a municipal court judge’s authority to do what

was Gone there. if Mr. Moore wants to bring this issue

up, he can raise it in any one of these cases. If he wants

to raise it in all the cases, he has to bring some action

into the Law Division to somehow bring all the cases

together to hear the issue.

The only issue left, -- the only part of this appeal that

is left, is the actual issue which Mr. Moore wants to raise.

And as | understand it and again, this has been based

on representation or information gathered by me, and

it is not in any way by discussions or representations

made by Mr. Moore to me or by anybody in his office.

The issue underlying all of this is an attack on the

integrity, the principles upon which the breathalyzer

machine operates. | would submit that if we look at the

plain clear language and order in Romano vs. Kimmelman,

we find that such an attack is not permitted without sone

action by the Supreme Court of New Jersey.

The Supreme Court has acted in Romano versus Kim-

meiman. It has mandated, ordered, that judicial notice

of the accuracy of the machine shall be judicially noticed

by lower coucrts. There wasn't any discretion, any leeway

left within the lower courts. Judicial notice shall, - man-

datory language.

The other parts of the order in Romano versus Kim-

meiman which deal with the proper operation of the

machine, -- | would submit that what they are talking

about there, is was the machine properly tested for its

internal workings like a radar machine is tested to be

properly operating on the day in question.

In other words, was there a pre and post test spot

check of the operation of the machine. Was it operating

properly? Was the ampule, --

THE COURT. Is this something you should be arguing

before the municipal court judge and not before me now?

MR. STALFORD: Well, the municipal court judge has

already ruled that won't be hearings. So, the appeal is

now on whether there should be hearings. This should

Pa-45

aenaniemimaiiaaaasiilel

The municipal court has ruled that there shall be hear-

ings and that is what | gleaned from the orders.

THE COURT: We will find out from those that were

down there exactly what is going on. As you say, you

got this all second-hand.

MR. STALFORD: Absolutely. | have no first hand

knowledge of what happen ed.

THE COURT: Okay, anything else?

MR. STALFORD: Just if | can finish what | was saying,--

THE COURT: Sorry.

MR. STALFORD: The Supreme Court was talking in,

the machine must be operating properly, were the spot

checks, -- where the coordinator is checking the machine

and making sure that it was giving a .10 reading when

a simulator one .10 solution is put in, -- that there was

no fault in the mechanics of the machine, -- not the un-

derlying principles, not the basis of the machine. That

has been judicially noticed. But, is it functioning? Is the

procedure of the machine operating properiy? Are the

mechanics of it working properly? Is the mechanics of

Pa-46

Pr ee a a —_——- = tte ti i el i ee

- ne = = a es 4 . ae a aa

the ampule properly constituted, and is the operator duly

certified to operate the machine?

Those are the parts that the State must prove on each

individual occasion, -- not the underlying principles of the

machine, -- the scientific principles upon which the machine

operates or gives its reading.

And | submit that is, if | understand it, the attack which

Mr. Moore wants to bring. And | submit that the municipal

court is the wrong place to be bringing that attack. Thank

you.

THE COURT: The Order of Consolidation that you refer

to states, “and it appearing to the Court that all of them",

meaning all of these four cases, “involve claims and defen-

ses based on each case upon the, one, accuracy and

reliability of breath testing machines, -~- methodology,

science and fact. Incompetency and admissibility of breath

testing procedures and systems"

And that is what you are objecting to, is that correct?

MR. STALFORD: Yes, sir.

THE COURT: Okay, Mr. Butler, what is your position?

You are the Prosecutor in Asbury Park, is that correct?

MR. BUTLER: That is correct Your Honor.

THE COURT: Have you, at any time, discussed this

case with the other prosecutors in Deal and South Belmar

and Allenhurst?

Pa-47

MR. BUTLER: Yes, | have Your Honor. Initially when

Mr. Moore originally had brought this application before

Judge Pappa, he had a case in each of the four

municipalities where Judge Pappa sits. Each of the

Prosecutors were noticed that this particular motion was

going to be made, -- the postion for consolidation and

the arguments which Mr. Moore espoused with reference

to this matter.

And on the particular date that the motion was argued,

Richard Mills appeared in Court and he consented to

the application as well as the consolidation as well as

| did. Mr. Shore and Mr. Gallager were also noticed and

they had presented no objection with reference to this

particular matter being consolidated.

Prior to appearing in Court, | would just like Your Honor

to know the reason why, when | was approached by

Mr. Pascarella and Mr. Moore to move this matter in the

Asbury Park Municipal Court, -- they informed me of the

potential argument they were going to make with reference

to the 2100 to one, -- the blood to breath ratio.

Well, prior to agreeing to have this application made

in Asbury Park, | had an opportunity to speak to Dr.

Tindle. Dr. Tindle is an expert with the State Police, who

we use in many drunk driving trials. When | spoke to

Dr. Tindle he informed me that the breathalyzer is based

upon the blood to breath ratio of 2100 to one, which

is the average blood to breath ratio in a person’s body.

Mr. Moore’s position and the position espoused by

Mr. Moore, and he will correct me if | am wrong, is that

everyone is not at a 2100 to one. Dr. Tindle informed

Pa-48

me that there is a possibility of a .04 variation in the

reading if the individual who is tested is less than a 2100

to one.

Of course, it would be the defense’s burden to prove

that his client was less than a 2100 to one, and then

he would have to prove what if any variation that would

have on the breathalyzer machine.

| personally thought that was a viable issue and if we

have people coming into court, -- and municipal court

is a place, -- and | hate to say this, because it is kind

of corney, -- but a place where we are trying to seek

truth and justice. And if Dr. Tindle’s information that he

provided to me was correct, and | have no reason to

doubt it, since we have use him on many drunk driving

cases. Then it is of concern to me, if we are convicting

people, -- for instance their symptoms are in fact, proper

and they don’t appear to be drunk and if their blood

to breath ratio is say 1200 to one, and the variation is

a .04 and their reading is a .10 or .11 and that would

kick it down to a .07 and not at the presumption there

between the .05 and .10 where we can still get a conviction

for drunk driving. But if their symptions are in fact accurate,

they lose the presumption, then maybe the person should

be found not guilty of drunk driving.

That was the premise that | agreed to hear this particular

situation. | consented to a consolidation because -- as

opposed to having Mr. Moore submit the experts in. four

different towns, -- we said we would just consolidate it

all in Asbury Park and | would in fact act as the Prosecutor.

And if other parties wanted to sit, they would sit. If not,

Pa-49

-- and Mr. Mills did appear. Mr. Shore and Mr. Gallagher

just wanted me to let them know what was going on.

It was agreed thet | would in fact notice the Attorney

General’s Office once | received the copies of the order.

And as a matter of fact, | spoke to Mr. Stalford as to

the person that | should in fact, contact in the Attorney

General’s Office.

The reason why | wanted to contact the Attorney

General’s Office was because | remembered years ago,

when | was in the Monmouth County Prosecutor’s Office,

| recalled in this particular courtroom, they had, -- they

were taking the machines apart and everything, and Mr.

Moore was here, and they had the State Police, - and

| can’t remember the gentleman’s name from the State

Police who was handling the case, but they argued that

particular motion up here. So, | was noticing the Attorney

General’s Office because they usually get involved when

you are talking about the reliability of the breathalyzer

machine. So that was my inciination --

THE COURT: Why weren't they noticed about this mo-

tion to consolidate?

MR. BUTLER: Because we were all consenting to that.

And we didn’t feel it was necessar y for them to notice

at that point in time because all of the municipal prosecutors

were in fact, consenting to the motion to consolidate.

THE COURT: Their concern was the reliability of the

machine as you just stated. | would have thought that

they would have notified before the fact, not after the

fact.

MR. BUTLER: Well, | was notifying them after the fact,

-- that was my decision to make. The rest of the municipal

prosecutors did not tell me whether they wanted the At-

torney General noticed or not. But | felt it appropriate

to notice the Attorney General prior to having any pretrial

memorandums. That is why | was noticing the Attorney

General. How Mr. Stalford got his notice, -- | guess the

Judge just sent a notice.

THE COURT: The judge apparently sent it to him. What

is your position on standing of the County Prosecutor?

MR. BUTLER: | think Your Honor the proper forum,

-- it should be held in municipal court. | think as far as

this whole argument, -

THE COURT: No, the standing, -- does the Prosecutor

have standing to come to bring this motion?

MR. BUTLER: To be truthful with you, | don’t know,

-- | don’t think he does. | would think it is a proper ap-

plication that should be made to the municipal court, where

it was made. All the municipal prosecutors were noticed,

two municipal prosecutors were there.

THE COURT: In other words, what you are telling me

is, that you really oppose this motion?

MR. BUTLER: In essence, | do. Because | think the

proper forum is in municipal court.

THE COURT: Does the Prosecutor have standing to

go into the municipal court and try this case if he wants

to, or any case?

Pa-51

MR. BUTLER: In essence, | think he does.

THE COURT: Okay.

MR. BUTLER: In essence, | think he does. If he wants

to do that, --

THE COURT: He has standing to go down there and

try this case, but you are telling me you don’t think he

has standing to take this appeal?

q MR. BULTER: | am going to backtrack for a moment

@ Your Honor. | am going to backtrack for a moment. In

thinking that through, the Prosecutor’s Office does have

right to go to the municipalities, so | guess he would

have standing to make this application. But | think the

proper place to make the application should be in municipal

court.

THE COURT: | think the Prosecutor has the right to’

go into municipal court, just like the Attorney General

} has the right to go into the County Prosecutor’s Office

and run the show.

MR. BUTLER: He has a right to do that. He can’t come

# down to our forum, but | think this forum is not the proper

forum to do that.

THE COURT: Mr. Moore.

MR. MOORE: Your Honor, obviously, and | am sure

you know, | talk very fast, - so if | am talking too fast,

raise your hand and | will try and stop or slow down.

First, if it please the Court, --

Pa-52

THE COURT: No, | just would tell you to make sure

that | hear everything you say, don’t talk too fast. Don’t

have me raising my hand all the time. Take your time

so | can comprehend everything you are saying.

MR. MOORE: If | sec any reflection -- | understand

that.

THE COURT: Because | maybe so intent listening to

you, | may not be able to coordinate raising my hand.

MR. MOORE: | can totally understand that, so | will

watch your eyes to make sure if there is any inflection,

if it please the Court, with relationship to some significant

intelligent statement that | will attempt to repeat.

| respectfully submit to the Court, with relationship to

the issue as to whether or not the Prosecutor has standing,

-- Obviously, if it please the Court, we are not talking

about an appeal, -- we are talking about a leave to appeal

at this state of the proceeding.

if we were talking about an appeal, there is no question

in my mind that the Prosecutor on an appeal to the County

Court may very well have standing. The . juestion is whether

or not he has the standing with relationship to the leave

to appeal under our rules.

Obviously under the circumstances, what we are talking

about is the physical appearance on notice of municipal

prosecutors who are in fact the representatives of the

State on notice, and | might add, if it please the Court,

although the defendant submitted briefs with relationship

to the authority under which we felt that the Court had

Pa-53

the power to be able to grant the consolidation, when

we did appear, physically from Mr. Gallagher, Mr. Shore,

- not only was | not privy to any conversations they

might have had with Mr. Butler, but there were no responses

from them from the point of view of opposing briefs to

the consolidation, -- no documentation whatsoever. Similar-

ly the case with Mr. Mills.

Obviously under the circumstances, the one person

we must look at is the defendant. And the defendant

is entitled to believe that people who appear on behalf

of the State have the authority to appear, which they

do. Secondly, that there is something wrong with what

may have happened before Judge Pappa. Obviously they

have certain limited period of times within which they can

take certain action. Nobody did. Nobody did.

| would respectfully submit to the Court that the question

5 has been raised as to whether or not the issues with

relationship to the prior consolidation in State v. Lopat,

whether or not that was the characterization that may

have existed in Lopat. Let me respectfully submit to the

Court that | am reading from the flysheet of the Appellate

Division and my recollection is 196 New Jersey Super,

544. If | am incorrect, then obviously under the circumstan-

ces | stand corrected.

Itis at page 11 on the flysheet, which obviously therefore

§ would be ten pages from the beginning on the recorded

Opinion. It says, -- defendants argue that that municipal

§ Court judge lacked authority to consider the suppression

of breathalyzer evidence. The argument comes late, --

| to everyone here of course, -- the State in Lopat by failing

Pa-54

to seek leave to appeal contrary ruling, accepted the

municipal court jurisdiction to hear the evidentiary matter.

in any event defendants rely on 3:5-7, which requires

application for suppression to be made to the Superior

Court only in matters involving unlawful search and seizure

-- they cite, et cetera. The suppression application in Lopat

however was not based upon the competence of the

evidence sought to be suppressed but rather on the alleged

unlawful nature of the arrest itself.

In Lopat the municipal court was concerned with the

competence of the evidence based upon the reliability

of the breathalyzer and tne conditions existing at athe

time of its use. It is entirely appropriate for a municipal

court to consider such a challenge in the manner in which

the scientific evidence was obtained, and the precautions

taken to avoid distortion.

They cite of course, State versus Wojesek (phonetic),

which | am sure Your Honor will recall. Part of that case

of course, emenated in this County. In any event, obviously

if it please the Court, there was consideration by the

Court in Romano at the Appellate Division level with

relationship to that circumstance.

That issue was not appealed by the Attorney General

either. So that when the matter did show up in the Supreme

Court, obviously that issue was the law. In any event

let me respectfully submit does he have standing? The

people who have standing, if it please the Court are the

municipal prosecutors.

Pa-55

Your Honor asked the question whether or not the

Prosecutor can go down to the municipal court and

prosecute the matter? The answer to the question is the

affirmative, yes. Obviously there are procedure with

relationship to that too, if it please the Court.

| respectfully submit there is procedures with relation-

ship to the Attorney General intervening within the County

Prosecutor’s category, and that if it please the Court is

my understanding from my experience in the Attorney

General’s Office would have required the assignment judge

as a matter of fact to take certain steps in order to do

so.

All of those procedures if it please the court, which

may have been formulated were not formulated in this

case. There is of course, very clearly with relationship

to recitation of the State’s brief an allegation that notice

was required of the County Prosecutor by my filing for

a motion of consolidation in municipal court. No so. -

| would respectfully submit that there is absolutely no

requirement with relationship to notice to those parties.

As a matter of fact, | would respectfully submit as a practical

matter, | am sure Your Honor recalls that the Superior

Court must be fed up with the Office of Francis X. Moore

filing motions before the Superior Court on a regular basis.

THE COURT: | wouldn't say that.

MR. MOORE: And in addition to that, if it please the

Court, -- | am sorry, -- and in addition to that, | would

respectfully submit there is no requirement other than

the 3:5-7 or the constitutional application.

Pa-56

The second issue if it please the Court if he has no

standing obviousi:, -- is whether or not he is of our time.

Obviously, ther is no requirement for written orders in

municipal court. That is Rule 7:4. That as a matter of

fact, the oral order is the time when it begins to run

against you. If in fact that was March 30th., and | must

add, March 30th. was a second appearance date if it

please the Court, because the Court wanted to me certain.

-- Judge Pappa did, that there in fact, had been notice

to the prosecutors of the municipalities involved.

The second question is whether or not the prosecutor's

argument concerning the jurisdiction, -- | cite, if it please

the Court, 39:5-3, which is very clear, -- all proceeds are

in the proper jurisdiction when they are before the judge

who has the jurisdiction to hear it.

Now, for the sake of the moment from the point of

view of the consolidation, let me respectfully submit to

the Court, the facts and circumstances under which it

would come about to be in Asbury Park. Number one,

the issue was presented to the Court in each of those

courts by motions with relationship to attach.

Judge Pappa called, -- as a matter of fact, even Mr.

Butler was in on the conversation when we were in cham-

bers, when Judge Pappa said, Mr. Moore, | really am

in a position where | want to hear what it is all about.

is Dr. Debowski’s .055 the proper tolerance? Is in fact,

there a methodology by which the 2100 to one breath

blood partition co-efficient ratio in fact is not the average?

ls there in fact a methodology by which the scientific

community is in a position to tell us whether or not the

Pa-57

se ak.

body temperature can be critical? Yes. Mr. Moore, | want

the experts. How do you get them in here? Judge, very

simple. All | have to do is be in a position to recognize

that | have a client who is capable of affording to pay

$28,000.

the seeker of the truth will hear the truth as to what

bury Park Municipal Court, South Belmar, Deal or

Allenhurst.

But | would respectfully submit that | will do everything

possible if it please the Court to bring in the necessary

experts. In addition, | will submit to the Court the experts

who exist throughout the country with relationship to the

blood/breath partition coefficient ratio. Mr. Moore, obvious-

ly you must make that application. Judge, | will make

it in Asbury Park. Mr. Butler was there. With Your Honor’s

permission, | will make it in Asbury Park. Fine. | make

it in Asbury Park.

The first day | appear in Asbury Park, i would respectfully

submit the Court wants to be certain the municipal

prosecutors quite justifiably were noticed. Additional

notices are transmitted, and on March 30, the Court hears

the argument.

| can remember if it please the Court that | stood up

and | was up for approximately a half hour to thirty-five

minutes with relationship to that argument. The issue of

the argument was relatively simple. Judge Pappa’'s position

Pa-5&

under the circumstances because of their expertise anc

they field in which they are involved, -- quote, unquote,

(indiscernible) that obviously to reach out bring them

in, would require that it be put for a particular day.

Judge Pappa being extremely gracioius | might add,

Mr. Moore, | think probably the better performance, --

and | think Mr. Butler was there then, -- would be to

hoid these matters on Saturday. He asked Mr. Butler would

he have any objection to it.

MR. BUTLER: | asked for it.

MR. MOORE: All right, Mr. Butler asked for it. Obviously,

if it please the Court, at that moment, -- that as a con-

venience to the Court, it causes a judicial determination

to be made by the same judge incidentally, who has the

jurisdiction of each of the four matters, -- and obviously

if it please the Court, the only inquire then left was to

determine whether or not the clients were capable of being

able to afford to pay that type of expert fee.

That is, the seeking of the truth, | would respectfully

submit that is supposed to be the empowering of municipal

court jurisdiction.

Pa-59

When | say there were four people, -- there were two

people there, there were four people noticed. in addition

to that, -- | really am somewhat confused. If the Prosecutor

wants to intervene, | welcome the opportunity for one

individual from the Prosecutor’s Office to try the case

against me, but in the proper forum.

| would respectfully submit that if Mr. Stalford wants

to come to Asbury Park as a result of the judge’s direction,

| invite him to be there. Obviously, if it please the Court,

that is not the concern. Had that been the concern, that

is relatively simple.

THE COURT: it may be after today Mr. Moore.

MR. MOORE: | would hope that he would be. But |

would hope, if it please the Court, that it is in the proper

forum in Asbury Park, and | hope that he realizes that

Mr. Butler in being gracious about making certain that

Saturdays would be the day that we could call the experts,

because of the conveniences, -- from other states, -- that

| would respectfully submit that | would anticipate hopefully

that Mr. Stalford would be in the same position as Mr.

Butler, -- and be certain that he would make himself avail-

able on Saturday morning.

Pa-60

Obviously, if it please the Court, if you don’t place

it in that forum, the question arises is this a prejudice

to the defendants? The prejudice is obvious. Mr. Downie

is a young man who is working day to day to keep hirnself

alive. When you were a defense counsel, as | am sure

Your Honor can recall, -- you were in a position where

you were saying to the client you have to pay certain

experts. The immediate reaction is, my God are they so

expensive. The second reaction is, give me some time.

Obviously Mr. Butler and Judge Pappa were being gra-

cious about it, because there is currently , -- whether

Your Honor knows and | am sure Your Honor keeps track

on a regular basis, a particular mental gyration in which

the scientific community has diversified itself into camps

deciding whether or not the per se in fact and be proven

with a 2100 to one, -- where the tolerances in some people’s

mind are zero two, zero one, zero four, zero five, and

obviously if it please the Court, | will respectfully submit

that the point of the motion in the municipal court in

Asbury Park was, by convenience, to make certain that

those experts could be produced, and that obviously the

result would come about as to the disposition that would

be proper and the truth would be known.

The next, if it please the Court is whether or not the

municipal court has the power to consolidate. Let me

respectfully submit that it is clear to me under Rule 7:4-2f,

it is please the Court, that you can try complaints together.

And under 7:4-2f, in all other matters, with the consent

of the persons charged, -- that’s me, -- the Court, --

that is Judge Pappa, for convenience may consolidate

complaints for trial.

Pa-61

What could be more convenient under 7:4-2d | would

respectfully submit, -- strike that. 7:42f, -- for the municipal

judge who sits in the same four towns to hear the same

evidences with relationship to whether or not there is

an issue of admissibility of evidence.

Don’t, -- | would respectfully submit, -- misunderstand

me. The issue, | would respectfully submit, is not quickly

paraphrased as dealing with the breathalyzer reliability.

That is not it. Under 39:4-50.3, the Attorney General has

@ responsibility to determine that the methodology and

the procedure is satisfactory. That is the statutory direction

to the Attorney General.

The question that is being resolved in Asbury Park

is that since April 7th, of 1983, when in fact, we converted

ourselves from an issue of corroborative proof or inference

from which the trier of fact would determine guilt or in-

nocence, -- by a combination of other evidences including

the resultant machine. Are we now at a point where since

April 7th, 1983 there is a different standard in the scientific

community by which the Attorney General is commis-

sioned, to determine if the methodology and procedure

which is being enforced is different from what it was when

it was used as corroborative proof.

Very simple, -- if it produces a uniform and reliable

result, it can be corroborative. Question. Does the standard

by which the statutory enactment changed change the

attitude from the point of view of the Court’s position

as to whether or not judicial notice is acceptable as to

that result?

Pa-62

The answer to the question is very clear. Justice Handler,

at page 90 of Romano vs. Kimmelman is a matter of

fact, almost, almost cautioned the attorney general by

first mentioning at page 89, the burden with relationship

to proof and then at page 90, the circumstances if it

please the Court under which it was to be concerned,

-- under which the State should have been concerned

-- my heavens. | know | can find it very quickly.

_____ And that, if it please the Court, is the language which

is reflected at the bottom of 89 and the top of 90, --

and here, in drunk driving prosecutions, a substantial bur-

den of proofs to establish the competency or admissibility

of the results of the breathalyzer test is appropriate be-

cause of the serious consequences of the breathalyzer

reading in such prosecutions. See State vs. Johnson,

which incidentally Justice Handler says, “Accordingly, in

this case, we hold that the burden of proof prescribed

under State vs. Johnson, Supra 42 New Jersey be followed

as to all conditions necessry for the admissibility of breath,

Does that sound conclusive? Of course it does not.

What he is saying is, State versus Johnson, 42 New Jersey

is still the law, and therefore, if it is, there are three criterion

set up before the admissibility of the result can come

about. |

One, that the machine is properly approved by the

statute. | have just argued that if it please the Court with

relationship to methodology. Two, that in fact the operation

technique and methodology and procedure is scientifically

reliable. Romano did not deal with the methodology and

procedure, if it please the Court. It dealt very simply with

Pa-63

the external sources which may be infused into the machine

from outside the machine.

| would respectfully submit that 2100 to one does not

deal with the machine. The machine of course is critical

to the extent that there is a, -- there is a valve, as |

am sure Your Honor knows, that collects 56.5 milliliters

of air which is exactly 140 to 2100 to one, on the belief

that the scientific community says that the average person

would have 2100 to one.

But that there is a total divergence, -- there is no u-

nanimity as to where we each stand, -- if that be true

where you are using what is called Biers Lambert Law

as to logarithmic equations which bring it back to the

alleged breath alcohol reading, -- what is the reading,

if it is an average person?

| would respectfully submit that if that reading result

would be only for average people, that the only people

who could in fact be tested on that machine is Chinese

people because there is more of them than there are

of anybody else, and they must be the average. It must

be a woman because there is more women than men,

and they probably are dead, because there is more dead

people than live.

If that is true, does the scientific commuity consider

whether or not there are standard deviations, and in fact,

average deviations.

THE COURT: All right, Mr. Moore you have five more

minutes, and | think | -

Pa-64

MR. MOORE: Thank you. Your Honor, in order to make

cetain that | don’t miss anything, is there anything that

Your Honor particularly wants me to attach significance

to?

THE COURT: It is all significant Mr. Moore. What you

think you want to call to my attention, you know, -- you

are welcome to do so. You can test the standing of the

prosecutor. You also can take the position that this motion

if you did have standing, is out of time. The position

is that under Rule 7:2-f.

MR. MOORE: 7:4-2f.

THE COURT: 7:4-2f, -- the Court has tre right to con-

solidate cases of similar facts, -- and ;you have just argued

the position as to the admissibility of evidence in municipal

court. | think you have covered everything.

MR. MOORE: Ok, that reminds me -- that reminds me

of one Your Honor. The question you raised with relation-

ship to whether or not the pretrial hearing is the proper

tribunal, --

THE COURT: Pretrial hearing is the proper tribunal?

| don’t -

MR. MOORE: Before the municipal court. Is the minicipal

court the proper tribunal to hold this type of a pretrial

hearing? And | read to you of course, --

THE COURT: The municipal court can pretry a criminal

case.

Pa-65

MR. MOORE: The other question that he raises, -

THE COURT: If it is necessary, -- there is no question

about that, and | think the prosecutor takes the position

that the municipal court judge can conduct a pretrial.

What he takes issue with is what he is going to pretry.

Right Mr. Stalford?

MR. STALFORD: Yes, Your Honor.

MR. MOORE: You mean, whether or not he is going

to pretry it? | have no objection to --

THE COURT: No, whether the municipal court judge

can pretry a case. What Mr. Stalford takes issue with

is the issues that the judge is going to pretry.

MR. MOORE: Incidentally, | would respectfully submit,

from the point of view of the pretrial is allegations in the

confines of his brief, saying that he has foreclosed. In-

cidentally, 313-1, a and b, - and Rule 8:1, | would respect-

fully submit are very clear. If the comments directly under

the rules clearly say, that the State is not foreclosed.

There is no foreclosure.

As a matter of fact, the pretrial conference if it were

to be held tomorrow in fact, | would respectfully submit

would clearly delineate the issues which would be

presented to the Court. And whether or not the standards

as to the approval which incidently is the proper evidences

which should be presented to the Court.

These are more proper | would respectfully submit than

under State vs. Lopat, which Romano vs. Kimmelman

Pa-66

Clearly in the Appellate Division level said was the proper

tribunal before which it was to be heard.

The other answer, - in State vs. Lopat, | would respect-

fully submit, -- Your Honor asked the question of the

prosecutor. | will give you the answer as | recall it. One,

was there in fact objection: Yes. The objection was raised

by the Attorney General. Question. When did the Attorney

General get involved? The Attorney General by formal

application intervened in State vs. Lopat, as a result of

a subpoena to individuals or the State service, -- they

made the application on hearing. It was heard. They were

invited in.

The issue was as to the 3:5-7, -- the same as it is

in the Appellate Division, which was raised by the Attorney

General before the municipal prosecutor, before the

municipal judge, -- at that time it was denied, it was raised

again before Judge Shebell, again the same category,

when we appeared before Judge Shebell at a later time,

and again it was raised at the Appellate Division level

in Romano.

Obviously therefore, if it please the Court, it seems

extremely clear, that the circumtances of events which

would be brought before the municipal court are the proper

ones for the court to consider. Incidentally, we don’t have

any transcript here, and we have no preliminary conference

where the issues are set out in a pretrial memorandum.

Had the court had that, tomorrow morning, -- on a

Saturday of course, the Court would have been in a position

where the issues would have been certainly categorized.

Incidentally, when he was to issue the order, for the pretrial

Pa-67

memorandum, - Mr. Stalford and the County Prosecutor,

if they wanted to intervene then would have intervened

them.

If there was an issue which was not in the category

of evidence, --

THE COURT: He didn’t know about it then Mr. Moore.

He said he didn’t learn about it until after the order was

signed.

MR. MOORE: Judge, at least two of these cases have

been up here already.

THE COURT: How can you intervene when you don't

know something is happening?

MR. MOORE: Two of these cases, have been up here

already.

THE COURT: All right, anything else Mr. Moore. | think

you have covered everything.

MR. MOORE: Thank you Your Honor. And how you

intervene if it please the Court is by making certain that

the municipai prosecutor or the county prosecutor wants

the municipal to notice him of certain events. That is the

way you do it? It is not the responsibility of the defendant.

Thank you.

THE COURT: | agree with that.

MR. STALFORD: Your Honor, may | respond briefly,

-- very briefly.

Pa-68

lial

THE COURT: Yes.

MR. STALFORD: | would bring to the Court’s attention

that the Lopat decision which Mr. Moore cites predates

Romano vs. Kimmelman, and in addition is an Appellate

Division decision, which wouid be totally overruled in any

way that conflicts with Romano vs. Kimmelman.

With regard to supercession, -- supercession is not

done with the intervention of any judge. Supercession

because both the Attorney General and the County

Prosecutor are constitutional officers, -- does not require

the Court’s intervention, aid or assistance. It is only if

intervention in the case is required, -- then application

to the court is necessary.

THE COURT: Maybe after what you have heard here

today, you might want to do that.

MR. STALFORD: That may be, -- with regard to Mr.

Moore’s requirement, -- again, he misstates, misrepresents

what | put in my brief. | made it clear that the beginning

of this hearing, -- | put in my brief what | did only to

note why time limits were not met.

| was not noticed, |, in no way, implied, inferred or

required Mr Moore to notice my office. If he didn’t and

he violated a rule that is one thing, but | haven't said

that in this case. Mr. Moore seems to keep thinking that

| did.

And on that same line, if Mr. Moore is insisting that

the Attorney General has the responsibility for the integrity

of this machine, it seems to me, and he cites the statute

Pa-69

to that effect, -- it seems to me clearly the Attorney General

should have been made a party to all of this, -- and

they were.

As far as prejudice to his defendants because we are

going to try a matter in municipal court, -- or something,

-- | don’t understand his argument.

THE COURT: Prejudice says that they can’t afford

$28,000 separately. They can maybe afford it jointly. So,

he wants to try them together and split the expenses.

That is prejudice.

MR. STALFORD: Well, but he says it in terms of, |

want to have the hearing on Saturday. It seems to me

Judge, that Saturdays occur once a week, and that if

an expert witness from Nebraska, --

THE COURT: He didn’t ask for Saturday, somebody

else asked for Saturday.

MR. STALFORD: But he is pushing Saturday as the

proper time. It seems to me that a Superior Court judge

who hears a case five days a week, would be an easier

forum to try a case like this, than a municipal court judge,

who sits Saturdays.

THE COURT: | am not bringing the case up here Mr.

Stalford.

MR. STALFORD: As far as 7:4-2f is concerned, it is

Clear that the intent of that rule has nothing to do with

cases in separate municipalities. As raised in my brief,

if we had four separate judges, -- could Judge Pappa

Pa-70

have done this? That is the criteria. If one Case was in

Belmar with Judge Broadbelt, and another case was in

Manalapan with Judge Thinkler, and anothier case was

in Middletown, with Judge Steib, -- could Judge Pappa

have done this?

THE COURT: No, he did it because he is the judge

MR. STALFORD: No, and | submit absolutely not.

THE COURT: -- in all four of these courts, South Belmar,

Deal and Allenhurst and Asbury.

MR. STALFORD: Right, but | say the criteria for whether

consolidation be done has to lie in the sense of what

| just put forth because these are limited, -- courts of

limited jurisdiction. As the judge of any one town he has

no jurisdiction over the cases in another town. 7

As far as the methodology | raised that, and that is

all | have. Thank you.

THE COURT: | didn’t hear the last thing you said, |

am sorry.

MR. STALFORD: | don’t have anything further. | was

about to start another point.

THE COURT: Anything else Mr. Butler?

MR. BUTLER: No, Your Honor.

THE COURT: Anything else Mr. Moore?

Pa-71

MR. MOORE: No, Your Honor. Thank you.

THE COURT: The prosecutor of Monmouth County

seeks leave to appeal, nunc pro tunc from an order of

the Asbury Park Munic’pal Court dated May 20th., 1988.

Municipal Court Judge Pappa consolidated four DWI cases

originating from four separate municipalities; Deal, Allen-

hurst, South Belmar and Asbury Park.

The order sets a date for a pretrial conference, required

pretrial memoranda from each party and set a date for

the preliminary pretrial hearing. The procedural history

of the cases are as follows, -- Andrew Downie, Daniel

Matthews, Martin Marotta and Charles Carroll have each

been charged with a violation of NJSA 39:4-50, driving

under the influence of alcohol.

They were charged in separate municipalities of Asbury

Park, South Belmar, Deal and Allenhurst. Each defendant

is represented by Francis X. Moore. Judge Pappa is the

municipal court judge in each of these municipalities.

The defendant moved before Judge Pappa on March

1988 to consolidate the four cases for the purposes of

a pretrial hearing on the issue of admissibility of

breathalyzer reading evidence, to exclude all evidence

of the breathalyzer test results at a trial of their respective

cases for pretrial conference and for a hearing. On May

20th., 1988 Judge Pappa signed the order consolidating

these matters.

The appeal before me today raises four issues, -- |

will address each one separately. First, does the Monmouth

County Prosecutor have standing to represent the State

on this appeal? Rule 7:4-4b states in pertinent part, “Ap-

Pa-72

pearance at prosecution. Whenever his judgment, the in-

terests of justice so require, upon the request of the Court,

the Attorney General, County Prosecutor, Municipa! Court

Prosecutor or municipal attorney as the case may be,

may appear in any court on behalf of the State or the

municipality and conduct a prosecution of any action.

But if the Attorney General, County or Municipal Court

Prosecutor or municipal attorney does not appear, any

attorney may appear in behalf of any complaining witness

to prosecute the action for and on behalf of the State

or the municipality."

It is clear from this Rule that the Monmouth County

Prosecutor could have appeared in this action and

prosecuted the named defendants. The County Prosecutor

has the power to represent the State on all matters arising

in Monmouth County.

Rule 3:24A states, “Either the prosecuting attorney or

the defendant may seek leave to appeal to the Superior

Court, Law Division from an Interiocutory Order entered

before trial by a court of limited criminal jurisdiction.

Prosecuting attorney is defined by Rule 3:23-9c as being

the County Prosecutor in all the cases. Therefore, this

Court is satisfied that the Monmouth County Prosecutor

is the proper entity to represent the State on this appeal.

The County Prosecutor is the entity that usually undertakes

the representation of the State’s interest when a matter

is appealed.

The case before me today is no different. Defendant's

contention that only the municipal prosecutor could have

Pa-73

sought leave to appeal this order, -- appeal this order

is without merit. Even if one of the municipal prosecutors

had requested leave to appeal in the Superior Court, their

interests would still be represented by the County once

the matter was brought to Freehold.

Second issue, -- should leave to appeal nunc pro tunc

be granted. Rule 3:24c is clear. Appeals pursuant to this

rule shall be taken within ten days after the entry of such

order. Judge Pappa entered his order on May 20th., 1988.

The Prosecutor’s Notice of Motion was dated June 10th..,

1988.

The Appellate Diviision in State v. Burton, 207 NJ Super,

53 Appellate Division, 1986 however held that Rule 3:24

may be enlarged. The State is therefore not confined

to the ten day time limit set forth in the rule. The Court

did state that, the longest extension should only be twenty

days. Thus it would appear that the State is within the

time frame set forth by the Court in Burton.

Accordingly, | grant the State leave to appeal nunc

pro tunc, to challenge the May 20th. order.

Third issue. Should these matters have been con-

solidated? Rule 4:38 states in pertinent part, "Actions in-

volving a common question of law and fact arising out

of the same transaction may be consolidated by the Court."

Further. Rule 7:4-2a which defendant relies upon states

the Court may order that two or more complaints be

tried together if the offenses arose out of the same facts

and circumstances.

Pa-74

Defendant alleges that these matters should be con-

solidated because they involve common questions of law.

This however is not enough. For a court to permit con-

solidation, there must exist common questions of law and

fact. These four matters each involve different defendants

in different municipalities, different police officers, and

presumably different blood alocho! readings, and

presumably different circumstances arising during the ar-

rest.

| therefore find that it was completely incorrect of Judge

Pappa to have consolidated these cases. There is ab-

solutely no factual similarity alleged between them. The

cases are related, but for defendant counsei’s intent to

raise the same defense. This is not sufficient for con-

solidation.

Accordingly, | hereby deconsolidate these four cases.

The cases should now proceed in separate trials in each

of their respective municipalities.

Four, is the municipal court the proper forum for a

hearing on the issues raised? The State requests that

| preclude the applicable municipal courts from holding

hearings on the scientific reliability of the breathalyzer

in question.

The State relies on a recent Supreme Court decision

in Romano vs. Kimmelman, 96 NJ 66, 1984 which deter-

mined that the Model 900, 900A breathalyzer machine

should be considered scientifically reliable for the purposes

of determining the contents of blood alcohol.

Pa-75

The Court stated, "Such scientific reliability shall be

the subject of judicial notice in a trial of all cases under

39:4-50." This Court finds merit in the State’s argument.

It is clear that the defendants raised more than just one

defense with respect to the breathalyzer.

The Order of Consolidation states, "The above entitled

actions have come on for pretrial hearing as to Rule 7:4-2D

and 3:12-1, and it appearing to the Court that all of them

involve claims and defenses based in each case upon

one, accuracy and reliability of breath testing machines,

methodology, science and fact, and two, incompetency

and inadmissibility of breath testing procedures and sys-

tems."

| find that the defense of the incompetency and in-

admissibility of breath testing procedures is clearly an

initial issue that is within the jurisdiction of the municipal

court. The Romano cases strictly limited its holding to

the scientific reliability of the machine.

This issue should not be raised in any trial court pursuant

to Romano. | trust that Judge Pappa will rule accordingly

under a Rule 8 hearing.

As for the second issue, | decline to order Judge Pappa

on how to rule. Evidence will be presented to him. He

will consider testimony, and it is the municipal court’s

function and decision as to the competency and admis-

sibility of the procedures used, not this Court's.

If the County Prosecutor is concerned with what takes

place in municipal court, he certainly has the authority

to supercede the local prosecutor and prosecute the case.

Pa-76

Accordingly, | deny the State’s request to preclude the

municipal court from conducting the requested hearings.

It is their decision as to whether certain evidence is ad-

missible pursuant to the dictates of Romano.

in conclusion, this Court having granted the Prosecutor

leave to appeal does hereby deconsolidate the cases

herein. These matters should not proceed separately in

each district municipality. It will be up to Judge Pappa

to decide whether the evidence submitted by the defendant

is admissible pursuant to a Rule 8 hearing.

Mr. Stalford, | will ask that you prepare the form, --

you submitted some order. | guess | can probably use

the one you submitted, and fix it up. Well, actually your

order is only for the Nunc pro tunc appeal. | think | will

need another order on the other two issues.

MR. STALFORD: If Your Honor

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Downie v. New Jersey · 498 U.S. 819 | Frix