Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Foley v. WCCO TV, Inc.

Supreme Court brief1990

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

69-18 8206.

EIDE D

| — Gh

MAY 1) 0

In the —

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1989

TOM FOLEY,

Petitioner,

vs.

WCCO T.V., Inc., a corporation,

Steven Eckert, John Lindsay,

Respondents.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari

to the Supreme Court

of Minnesota

PATRICK J. FOLEY

Counsel of Record

565 Northstar East

608 Second Avenue South

Minneapolis, Minnesota 55402

(612) 339-4511

Attorney for Petitioner

1990 — Bachman Legal Printing, 835 Second Ave. So., Mpls., MN 55402 — (612) 339-9518 6

FAX 612-337-8053

72a

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

I

Whether the Minnesota Courts failed properly to apply

First Amendment principles when those courts erred in

finding an absence of a jury issued on actual malice in this

public figure’s claim for defamation damages against news

m

II

Whether the Minnesota Courts failed properly to apply First

Amendment principles when those courts struck broadcast

remarks charging plaintiff with bribery, conflict of interest,

and obstruction of justice.

7

THE PARTIES

Petitioner: Tom Foley, represented by Patrick J. Foley, 608

Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402.

Respondents: WCCO T. V., Steve Eckert, and John Lindsay,

represented by Paula Osborn, 45 S. 7th Street, Minneapolis,

MN 55402 and Paul Hannah, 1122 Pioneer Building, St.

Paul, MN 55101.

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

| , iv

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENTr. 1

Jurisdictional of this Court 2

Constitutional Provisions Involved...................... 3

eee 4

A. The decision of the trial courrtrt 5

B. Facts unreported and not broadcast

by Respondents ...... I: ss sexecnsxac 7

C. The Decisions of the Court of Appeals 8

D. The Facts Ignored by the Minnesota Courts........ 9

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRT. 11

Minnesota Courts failed to make the independent

appellate review required by this Court in

New York Times v. Sullivan cases................. 11

1. This Petition presents a proper vehicle for this

Court to instruct all appellate courts as to

the requisites for conducting an independent

,, ines cecdecise....... 11

2. This Court’s benchmark decision in New

York Times Company v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254

(1964) was improperly applied by the Minnesota

courts which held that the statements that were

defamatory had not been made actual malice. ..... 12

3. The First Amendment authorities warrant

, ] ]ð 44. 13

4. This Court has the authority to reverse the state

r . 14

5. Appellate courts consistently reverse

erroneous findings on actual malice. ................ 14

The Minnesota Courts erred in applying

First Amendment principles in striking

certain broadcast statements. Question No. 2 16

iii

j„ü„ß9„ͤ7 .

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242 |

%%% ARV ⁵ / ðVß 12, 13, 14, 15

Berkus v. NBC, 161 Ill. App. 3d 47, 515 N. E.

RIFLES, SR > NT Fs ⅛ V 17

Blackburn v. State of Alabama, 361 U.S. 218 (1960)..... 13

Bose Corp. v. Consumer Union of U.S., Inc. 466 U.S.

485 1984, reh. den. 467 U.S. 126ùù21ꝓ“h7/ 12, 15

Curtis Pub. Co. v. Butts, 388 US. 130 (1967) .............. 18

Edwards v. South Carolina, 372 U.S. 229 (1963) ......... 13

Fiske v. State of Kansas, 274 U.S. 30. 14

Gertz v. Robert Welch, Inc., 418 U.S. 323 (1974) 18

Harte-Hanks Communications, Inc., v. Connaughton,

US. ,109S.Ct. 2678 (1989)............... 8 15, 17

Jacob Ellis v. State of Ohio, 378 U.S. 184, 190 (1964) 13

New York Times v. Sullivan, 376 U.S.

SRE ¾ / 2, 6, 7, 16, 17

Pape v. Time, Inc., 318 F. 2d 652 (7th Cir. 1963) 14

Pape v. Time, Inc., 354 F.2d 558 (7th Cir. 1965) .......... 14

Pape v. Time, Inc., 419 F.2d 980 (7th Cir. 196899 14

Rebozo v. Washington Post Co., 637 F. 2d 375

(5th Cir. 1981) cert. den. 454 U.S. 944 18

Rosenbloom v. Metromedia, Inc., 403 U.S. 29 (1971). ...13

Schiavone Const. Co. v. Time, Inc., 847 F.2d 1069

, ̃ —— uuncuas’ 17

iv

——— OO hg RN Lae

In the

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1989

TOM FOLEY,

Petitioner,

v.

WCCO T. V., STEVE ECKERT and

JOHN LINDSAY,

Respondents.

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

OPINIONS BELOW

The Minnesota Supreme Court entered an Order on

February 9, 1990 denying Petitioner’s Petition for Review

of the decision of the Minnesota Court of Appeals. (Apx.

1.)

The Petition for Review of the decision of the Court of

Appeals posited the issues of whether the Court of

Appeals erred in interpreting the United States

Constitution, First Amendment, when it held that

statements charging Petitioner with unethical and

criminal conduct were non-defamatory and that there

was an inadequate record demonstrating a jury issue on

actual malice by the Respondents. (Apx. 2).

The Minnesota Court of Appeals on December 26, 1989

entered an Order holding that certain statements were

true and not defamatory and that there was not evidence

of actual malic. (Apx. 3).

The trial court’s order is Apx. 4. The order for

judgment was entered on April 5, 1989. (Apx. 5).

1

JURISDICTION OF THIS COURT

This Court has jurisdiction to review the orders

described herein by certiorari pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

Section 1257(a) because petitioner has been deprived of

a jury trial by the unwarranted interpretations and has

been deprived of a jury trial by the unwarranted

interpretations of this Court’s decisions requiring

independent judicial review of evidence of actual malice

as required by New York Times v. Sullivan and thereby

involved an important interpretation of the United States

Constitution, First Amendment.

This Court has never defined what is required by the

appellate courts in giving independent appellate review

of the evidence on actual malice. This is an appropriate

vehicle for the Court to articulate precisely what must

be considered in determining whether a public figure

such as Petitioner must establish as proof of actual

malice in a defamation claim against news media.

Jurisdiction is lent by this Court’s rule providing for

review by certiorari when a State court has decided an

important question of federal law which has not been,

but should be, settled by this Court; and here the State

Court has decided a federal question in a way in conflict

with applicable decisions of this Court. Rule 17.1(c),

Supreme Court Rules.

This Court has jurisdiction to review the Order of the

Minnesota Supreme Court denying review of the

Minnesota Court of Appeals decision; and this Court

has jurisdiction therefor to review the Minnesota Court

of Appeals decision. The state court decisions were

beyond the constitutional authority of the Minnesota

Courts, were entered without deference to this Court’s

rulings and interpretations on important First

Amendment — defamation issues; and those decisions

fail to comply with the opinions of this Court on

defamation issues of public figures.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

INVOLVED

The United States Constitution, Amendment 1,

provides as follows:

Congress shall make no law respecting an

establishment or religion, or prohibiting the free

exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of

speech, or of the press; or of the right of the

people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the

Government for a redress of grievances.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Plaintiff Tom Foley has been elected county attorney of

Ramsey County, State of Minnesota, since 1978. He did not

participate in any of the investigation of the death of

Kathleen Greening, who died on July 21, 1982. That death

was attributed to undetermined causes by the Ramsey

County Medical Officer in 1982 and 1983. The Medical

Examiner, Dr. Michael McGee, informed Petitioner’s office

in October, 1985 that he would review the case.

Respondents inititated an investigation into Petitioner’s

proposed conduct relating to the investigation and the

change of designation of the cause of death by Dr. McGee.

The Roseville Police Department in February 1986,

informed one of the Petitioner’s assistants that there may

be a request for a search warrant in connection with the

investigation and the bank records of the decedent’s

husband, a lawyer in a prominent St. Paul firm. The

assistant st.ted that there was no probable cause for the

issuance of such a warrant. Petitioner was not informed of

the search warrant or his assistant’s decision.

Respondents interviewed Dr. McGee and recorded the

interview by videotape. Petitioner held a news conference

on the following day, February 27, 1986; and in the presence

of the Respondents Petitioner specifically denied any

involvement in the investigation or any suggestion to the

Ramsey County Medical Examiner, Dr. McGee, that there

should be a delay in the death certificate change.

The clear evidence of malice by Respondents is

demonstrated by its business records showing that three

days before the broadcasts, Respondents’ records warn that

the investigation may be a miscalculation or that “a local

prosecutor has blocked a murder investigation in which one

of his own campaign contributors is a prime suspect.” Yet,

none of the Minnesota Courts discussed this critical evidence

that would undoubtedly eliminate the defense of the First

Amendment freedoms and create a jury issue.

we — — — 2 8 Eee na

Respondents’ broadcasts reported that the Medical

Examiner’s Office stated that they were told not to change

the death certificate from accident to murder by Petitioner;

that the investigation indicated that a suspect may be one

of Petitioner’s campaign contributors; that Dr. McGee said

that the change had been delayed at the request of

Petitioner’s office, while showing a photograph of Petitioner;

and in the context of referring to Petitioner, Dr. McGee was

quoted as having stated “and so we have tried to cooperate

with them in that regard and have done essentially what

they have asked us.” The reference to the “them” and

“they” in the last quotation in context referred to Petitioner

although Dr. McGee’s statement in context was not meant

by him to include Petitioner.

dents broadcast on February 27, 1986 and repeated

this for ten months.

A. The decision of the trial court.

The trial court on March 16, 1988, (Apx. 4,) held with

regard to the various broadcasts as follows:

1. Respondents broadcast repeatedly along the lines that

“the (Petitioner) knew Greening was a potential suspect, yet

took money from him at least two times thereafter. There is

something there.” Also, broadcasts implied that Petitioner

had telephoned the Minnesota Attorney General’s Office

and thereafter a state investigator was “taken off the case.”

This was followed by, “*** if investigators knew of the

possible conflict of interest in 1982, whey it took three years

for Foley (Petitioner) to remove himself from the case.

The trial court held that charging Petitioner with a

conflict of interest was not a viable claim because:

Implicit in this is the inference that plaintiff was

personally aware of the letter, or that there was a

potential conflict of interest. In point of fact, there is

is no showing that the plaintiff was personally

aware of either the letter or the potential conflict of

interest. On the other hand, the statements made are

factually correst. *** The investigating policy agency

did identify a prime suspect in the murder. This

5

suspect was monetary contributor to the re-election

campaign of the plaintiff. Although it was not

designated as such, it is clear that there was a

conflict of interest. (Apx. 4, p. 13.)

The trial court regarding the conflict of interest issue

exonerated the Respondents because of the “fair comment

doctrine.” (Apx. 4, p. 14.) The doctrine was described by the

trial court as the qualified privilege on behalf of the media,

obviously a First Amendment issue. (Apx. 4, p. 8.)

2. The trial court ruled that the broadcasts that Petitioner

blocked the issuance of a search warrant to review the bank

records of the prime suspect “appears to be derogatory” to

Petitioner. (Apx. 4, p. 14.) The trial court said that “the

meaning conveyed is that (Petitioner) was seeking to

obstruct justice. If this were the meaning sought to be

conveyed, or if indeed it was the meaning conveyed, then

clearly it is capable of defamatory meaning.” (Apx. 4, p. 14.)

The court, however, struck this as non-defamatory because

of its “context.” It was based upon a subsequent report

explaining that this meant Ramsey County authorities

rather than Petitioner.

3. The trial court held that in context the broadcasts

about Petitioner communicating with the medical examiner,

Dr. McGee, about not changing the death certificate were

capable of defamatory meaning. (Apx. 4, p. 18).

4. The trial court, (Apx. 5,) on January 20, 1989 granted

summary judgment for the Respondents on the basis that

Petitioner had not established a triable issue on actual

malice as required by New York Times v. Sullivan, 376 U.S.

254 (1964). The trial court did not reiterate Petitioner’s proof

of actual malice. (Apx. 5, p. 10). The court held that the

Respondents reported that Petitioner had acted to keep Dr.

McGee from changing the death certificate but questioned

whether the jury could conclude that the defendents from

clear and convincing evidence knew that the reports were

false or entertained serious doubts.

Without summarizing Petitioner’s evidence, the trial

court erroneously held that there was no actual malice as

6

required by New York Times v. Sullivan, supra; and held

that there was an absence of evidence to demonstrate a

failure to ask the proper questions. (Apx. 5, p. 10).

B. Facts unreported and not broadcast by Respondents.

Respondent Eckert admitted that he never learned of any

indication that Petitioner objected to the change in the

death certificate. Respondent Eckert’s notes demonstrate

that he had planned to ask Dr. McGee about whether

Petitioner had caused any delay in the change in the death

certificate. His notes indicate that he desired to learn when

the M.E. office met with the County Attorney about the

cause of death and was that three times up to and in

December, 1985. And why they did not change the status to

murder after having talked with Petitioner. Respondents

Eckert and Lindsay never learned any indication that

Petitioner had communicated with Dr. McGee about

changing or not changing the death certificate. No records

of Respondent WCCO T. V. established that Petitioner ever

discussed the Greening death with Dr. McGee at any time.

Respondent Eckert stated that he had no explanation for

why he did not broadcast that he did not ask the Medical

Examiner, Dr. McGee, whether the Petitioner had any role

in delaying the reclassification. He had no explanation for

whey he did not follow up on his earlier records which he

described as his “battle plan” to learn whether Petitioner

had involved himself “by telling medical examiners he did

not want the case to come back as murder ***.” That same

Respondent did not broadcast that if asked, Dr. McGee

would have stated that Petitioner never was involved in the

changing of the death certificate or the delay of that

change. The Respondent did not broadcast that the corporate

records of January 12, 1985 included a list of questions to

ask Dr. McGee and one was “Why didn’t they change the

status of case to murder after talking to Foley?”

The evidence clearly demonstrated at the trial court and

appellate level that Petitioner never discussed the matter

with Dr. McGee and never participated in any attempt to

delay the change of the death certificate or any of the earlier

facets of the investigation. Dr. McGee testified that if asked

7

by Respondent Eckert, he would have stated that Petitioner

never discouraged the initial investigation, that no one

from Petitioner’s office discouraged the original

undetermined classification of death; that no one from

Petitioner’s office used any influence to discourage the

revision. There is absolutely no evidence that Petitioner

took any action that was a conflict of interest, and the

Respondents admitted that in depositions presented to the

trial court and the Court of Appeals.

C. The Decisions of the Court of Appeals.

The Minnesota Court of Appeals on December 26, 1989

affirmed the summary judgment for the Respondents on

the issue of absence of evidence to make a triable issue on

actual malice. The court cited Harte-Hanks Communications,

Inc. v. Connaughton, US. , 109 S.Ct. 2678 (1989)

and New York Times v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254 (1964). The

Court of Appeals stated that the trial court had considerable

information before it and then gave a general listing of

documents rather than the contents thereof or any of the

deposition testimony. (Apx. 3, p. 11-12). The court

acknowledged that Petitioner was not personally involved

in the death certificate discussions but attributed a

subordinate’s actions to Petitioner. (Apx. 3, p. 12.) The Court

purported to give an “independent review of the record” and

affirmed the judgment. (Apx. 3, p. 13.)

The Minnesota Court of Appeals opinion involved a

dissent by Judge Randal, (Apx. 3, p. D-1 FF) and he states

that the matter is not appropriate for disposition for

judgment on the pleadings or summary judgment. He

states that

*** the record discloses disputed fact issues

concerning who, if anyone, from appellant’s office

put pressure on Dr. McGee not to change a death

certificate from undetermined to homicide. Did

appellant do it? Did appellant authorize someone

else to do it? (Apx. 3, D-1.)

Judge Randai states that,

1

Nee ee eee

SM AOR EL TNE eee.

E Y LD dna! Lita

Appellant makes out a reasonable case that at every

juncture, the broadcasts put him in as bad a light as

possible. (Apx. 3, p. D-2.)

Judge Randal stated that,

I donot find the broad shield of the First Amendment

impervious to appellant’s attack at this pre-trial

stage.

***T cannot escape the feeling that the trial court, in

effect, conducted a mini- trialꝰ on the issues, weighed

evidence and credibility and came to the conclusion

that (Petitioner) probably would not prevail at trial.

(Apx. 3, p. D-7.)

The Minnesota Court of Appeals majority stated that,

The affidavits reveal that Foley never personally

asked McGee to change the death certificate;

however, the affidavits and press release show that

Foley asked Assistant County Attorney Balck to

review the case file and that Balck advised McGee

against changing the death certificate because it

would not change the fact that there was insufficient

evidence to charge any suspect. (Apx. 3, p. 12.)

D. The Facts Ingnored by the Minnesota Courts.

Athough the Court of Appeals stated that it had given an

“independent review of the record,” (Apx. 3, p. 13), the

majority did not incorporate into its opinion the objective

evidence that petitioner presented by affidavit and

deposition to establish that the Respondents had planned to

determine the facts by interviewing Dr. McGee, interviewed

Dr. McGee, and withheld asking any of the pertinent

questions which would have resolved all of the issues.

Furthermore, the Respondents were present at the news

conference during which Petitioner specifically denied

causing any delay in the change of the death certificate.

This Court should articulate a statement requiring

appellate courts giving independent review to summarize

the specific facts adduced in support of actual malice before

the Court can conscientiously state that the evidence is

9

inadequate.

Petitioner through the entire litigation from the filing of

the Complaint predicated his claim for defamation damages

upon his being a public figure with the requirement of

demonstrating not only the falsity, which here is not really

contested, and actual malice in broadcasting the falsity.

Judge Randal in his dissent stated that as to the proof of

actual malice, “I suggest at this stage enough of a case

exists to present to a jury.” (Apx. 3, p. D-6). He added, “I do

not find the broad shield of the First Amendment impervious

to appellant’s attack at this pre-trial stage.” He concluded

that resolution of the factual disputes would authorize a

jury to find actual malice. (Apx. 3, D-7.)

Although the broadcasts repeatedly reported that

appellant had a conflict of interest and tied in that broadcast

with the receipt of a letter from the Roseville Police

Department from October, 1982 and suggesting that conflict

of interest, it is clear from the evidence that Petitioner never

knew of the letter and had no involvement in the

investigation before November, 1985. Yet, the courts despite

the broadcasts that “authorities” were aware of the possible

conflict of interest three years earlier, refused to hold that

these were capable of a defamatory meaning although the

broadcast included “Foley should have pulled out from the

beginning. He knew Greening was a potential suspect, yet

took money from him at least two times after that. There is

something there.” That was demonstrably false in the

evidence presented to the trial and appellate courts.

The Minnesota courts stated that subsequent broadcasts

explained the process and therefore eliminated the

defamatory content, a novel concept without legal

precendent.

The evidence shows that on the Dr. McGee transaction,

the Respondents acted with actual malice with reckless

disregard of the truth and falsity. Respondent Eckert

admitted that he never asked Dr. McGee about Petitioner in

any role during his extensive videotaped interview before

the broadcast. He admitted that the term “they” referred

not to Petitioner but to the Roseville Police Department and

10

somebody in the Ramsey County Attorney’s office.

Respondent had no explanation for why he did not broadcast

that Dr. McGee told him that no one said no to his changing

the death certificate. Respondent Eckert admitted that he

had planned to ask Dr. McGee specifically whether

Petitioner’s office has encouraged an initial undetermined

cause of death and that he was to learn when the RCME

office met with the County Attorney about the cause of

death and whether that was up to three times, and why in

December, 1985 the RCME did not change the status to

murder after talking with the Petitioner. He did not

broadcast that the RCME, Dr. McGee, had stated that he

would not change the death certificate because of family

wishes.

Respondent Lindsay testified that so far as he knew,

Petitioner never did anything to help or hinder the

investigation.

f Petitioner sought review of this matter with the Minnesota

Supreme Court and presented the legal issues as to whether

the Court of Appeals erred in interpreting the United States

Constitution First Amendment principles as non-defama-

tory in broadcasting false statements implying that plaintiff

was guilty of unethical and criminal conduct and whether

the Court of Appeals erred on the same principles in holding

that there was an inadequate record demonstrating actual

malice by the Respondents. (Apx. 2.) The Minnesota

Supreme Court denied review on February 9, 1990. (Apx. 1).

pre Er ny Se eee *

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Minnesota Courts failed to make the independent

appellate review required by this Court in New York

Times v. Sullivan cases. Question No. 1.

1. This Petition presents a proper vehicle for this Court to

instruct all appellate courts as to the requisites for conducting

an independent appellate review.

This Court has never stated precisely what is required in

a judicial opinion when there is a public figure suing for

| | 1

Er

eee

* —

damages from defamation broadcast by media defendents.

This Court should hold on the basis of the evidence in this

case that the Minnesota trial court and Court of Appeals

failed to demonstrate in its opinion that there was adequate

appellate independent review of the evidence. The Court

should hold further that the evidence in this case makes a

triable issue of actual malice.

2. This Courts benchmzr* dzcision in New York Times

Company v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254 (1964) was improperly

applied by the Minnesota Courts which held that the

statements that were defamatory had not been made with

actual malice.

This Court in New York Times made a detailed analysis

of the evidence to determine whether the record could

constitutionally support a judgment. Ibid at 284-285. The

Minnesota courts ignored Petitioner’s evidence.

The principal decision establishing the need for

independent review is Bose Corp. v. Consumer Union of

U.S., Inc. 466 U.S. 485 (1984), reg. den. 467 U.S. 1267, where

this court reviewed the record to determine whether the

evidence was of a “convincing clarity required to strip the

utterance of First Amendment protection ***.” 466 U.S. at

511. This court imposed the responsibility that

*** Judges, expositors of the Constitution, must

independently decide whether the evidence of the

record is sufficient to cross the constitutional

threshold that bars the entry of any judgment that is

not supported by clear and convincing proof of

‘actual malice.‘ Ibid at 511.

This matter was clarified by Justice White;s decision for

the court in Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242

(1986), in the holding that the evidence must be presented

“*** through the prism of the substantive evidentiary

burden.” Ibid. at 254. That opinion requires that “the

evidence of the non-movant is to be believed, and all

justifiable inferences are to be drawn in his favor.“ Ibid at

255.

12

.

This Court should grant this Petition and clarify precisely

what the appellate and trial court opinions must include to

establish that the court made the independent review of the

record as a basis for the conclusion that there was or was

not adequate evidence to make a jury issue on actual malice

with the substantive evidentiary standard of proof required

by Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., supra.

3. The First Amendment authorities warrant a trial in

this case.

This Court in Rosenbloom v. Metromedia, Inc., 403 U.S.

29 (1971) considered a defamation claim and held that “the

simple fact is that First Amendment questions of

‘constitional fact compels this Court’s de novo review.“ 403

US. at 54. The court cited two cases that were not defamation

claims, vis. Edwards v. South Carolina, 372 U.S. 229 (1963)

involving a breach of the peace conviction reversed because

of the constitutional rights of speech, assembly, and petition

for redress of grievances, and the court held that it is a duty

to make an “independent examination of the whole record;”

and Blackburn v. State of Alabama, 361 U.S. 218 (1960),

involving a criminal conviction and a reversal of the

conviction because of an unconstitutional, involuntary

confession. 361 U.S. at 205. In a review of a conviction for

possession in exhibiting an obscene film, this court held in

Jacob Ellis v. State of Ohio, 378 U.S. 184, 190 (1964) that,

Hence we reaffirm the principle that, in ‘obscenity’

cases as in all other involving rights derived from

the First Amendment guarantees of free expression,

this Court cannot avoid making an independent

constitutional judgment on the facts of the case as to

whether the material involved in constitutionally

protected.

This Court has consistently mandated that constitutional

issues and the facts revolving around them be independently

reviewed by the judiciary. Neither the trial court nor the

State Court of Appeals in this case did so with any deference

to or mention of the rich record supporting triable issue of

actual malice against the Respondents.

13

4. This Court has the authority to reverse the state court

decision.

It is clear under Fiske v. State of Kansas, 274 U.S. 380,

385-386 that this court may review the findings of fact by a

state court where a federal right has been msapplied as a

result of a finding shown by the record to be without

evidence to support is or where the conclusion of law on a

federal right and a finding of fact are so intermingled as to

make it necessary to analyze the facts to pass on the federal

question.

The record in the present case demonstrates that the

Minnesota Trial and appellate courts erred in applying this

Court’s constitutional principles by ignoring this Petitioner’s

record of facts.

5. Appellate courts consistently reverse erroneous findings

on actual malice.

In the libel action that eventually was resolved in this

Court’s opinion in Time, Inc. v. Pape, 401 U.S. 279 (1971),

the Seventh Circuit was deeply involved in reviewing the

record. In Pape vu. Time, Inc., 318 F.2d 652 (7th Cir. 1963), the

court reversed a dismissal of the Complaint alleging libel

for mischaracterization of an official report on the ground

that the jury could understand and read the article

differently from what the court did. The second reversal, in

Pape, v. Time, Inc., 354 F.2d 558 (7th Cir. 1965) was rendered

after this Court’s decision in New York Times Co. v.

Sullivan; and the Seventh Circuit determined that the trial

court erred in granting a motion for summary judgment for

the media. Ibid. at 560. In the third appeal, Pape v. Time,

Inc., 419 F.2d 980 (7th Cir. 1969), the trial court directed a

verdict for the news media defendent; and this was reversed

by the Court of Appeal opinion which held.

Surely, a deliberate act of omission can show malice

as well as an act of commission. Time omitted

mention of the fact that when the article was

written, the Pape-Monroe incident was reported in

‘justice’ as allegations in a complaint, not as proven

fact. Ibid. at 982.

14

The searching independent judicial review is manifested

by this Court’s opinion in Time, Inc. v. Pape, 401 U.S. 279

(1971), which reversed the Seventh Circuit in the case just

quoted, 419 F2d 980. This Court stated that the Court had

frequently reviewed the evidence to determine whether the

record would constitutionally support a judgment for a

plaintiff. 401 U.S. at 284. this Court held that the record did

not indicate a reckless disregard of the truth by the news

medium. 401 U.S. at 293.

This searching of the record in Pape history demon-

strates that the courts must give detailed analysis to the

factual record. This would be consistent with the basic

principle that on considering the motion for summary

judgment, the Court must resolve all inferences in favor of

the non-moving party and must perform the judicial role of

determining not the facts of the case but whether a fact

issue exists. The Minnesota courts in this case have given

no consideration in their opions to the evidence that

actually supports a jury finding, as suggested by Judge

Randal in his dissent in the Court of Appeals opinion.

The courts must independently decide whether the

evidence demonstrates malice by clear and convincing

proof. Bose Corp. v. Consumers U. of U.S, Inc., 466 U.S. 485,

512. The ruling on actual malice by summary judgment is

not designed to denigrate the role of the jury. Anderson v.

Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 255 (1986).

In Harte-Hanks Comm. Inc. v. Connaughton, USS.

, 109 S.Ct. at 2678 (1989), this Court exemplified the

role of the courts in giving independent judicial review of

the evidence on actual malice. However, this Court not only

gave independent examination but also stated the relevant

evidence that wouid have been considered favorable by the

jury in rendering a verdict for or against the plaintiff. The

Minnesota courts here, however, fail to state the Petitioner’s

abundant evidence on actual malice.

This Court should grant review and establish the basic

rules for how the courts demonstrate that they have indeed

made an independent review of the evidence on actual

malice. A consideration of Petitioner’s evidence would

15

warrant a reversal of the Minnesota courts decisions.

The Minnesota Courts erred in applying First

Amendment principles in striking certain broadcast

statements. Question No. 2.

The Minnesota Courts struck the Petitioner’s allegations

that charged among other things defamation by the

Respondents in broadcasting that Petitioner knew that

Greening “*** was potential suspect, yet took money from

him at least two times after. There is something there.”

Also, “Foley [Petitioner] blocked the search warrant.” Also

that “*** if investigators knew of possible conflict of

interest in 1982, why it took three years for [Petitioner]

Foley to remove himself from the case.”

The trial court held that statements of opinion by news

media are absolutely privileged under the First Amendment.

(Apx. 4, p. 5). That court held that public officials may be

subjected to the criticisms by the “qualified privilege of fair

comment” under the First Amendment. (Apx. 4, p.g 8). The

trial court held that on the charge of the conflict of interest,

although the evidence did not disclose the Petitioner was

aware of the conflict of interest, the statements were not

false. The court totally ignored the content of the allegations,

for the court did not quote the statements and ignored the

role of the jury in this First Amendment case.

The trial court continued in its errors by exonerating the

Respondents in the false broadcast that Petitioner “blocked

the search warrant.” Although conceding the apparent

derogatory nature, the trial court exonerated the

Respondents because in a subsequent report, the

Respondents explained what they meant. (Apx. 4, p 14).

The Minnesota Court of Appeals glossed over the

constitutional principles on the ground that expression of

opinion is a question of law for the trial court and is a

constitutional protection involving criticism of official

conduct under New York Times Co. v. Sullivan. (Apx. 3, p.

5.) The same rationale under the same general catagory of

First Amendment protection was granted, without any

detailed consideration of the actual broadcast statements,

with regard to the broadcast that Petitioner blocked a

16

ae ee = ae eee

eee ae te oe Eig re ee e

—

—s . —

3

search warrant and the broadcast about Petitioner’s conflict

of interest. (Apx. 3, p. 6, 7.) The Court of Appeals concluded

that the broadcast of the conflict of interest was based on

fact and coupled with opinion and legitimate criticism of

the public official. (Apx. 3, p. 7.)

The Court of Appeals decision was denied review by the

Minnesota Supreme Court. (Apx. 1.)

The Minnesota courts totally ignored the prevailing

principles that broadcast by videotape placing petitioner in

a false light and in improper context involves right to a trial

by jury and not an exoneration under the First Amendment.

Berkus v. NBC, 161 IIl. app. 3d 476, 515 N.E.2d 668 (1987).

The Minnesota courts erred in saying that there were no

unreported facts. (Apx. 3, p. 9.) The fact of the matter is the

falsity by itself inherently implies omitted, unreported

facts. Furthermore, the record was replete with evidence

that the Petitioner never talked with Dr. McGee, something

not reported; that Petitioner never participated in anything

involving the Greening investigation until November, 1985,

and not broadcast; that Petitioner did not know about the

purported conflict of interest letter of 1982 until three years

later; that Petitioner took no action on the Roseville Police

Department inquiry on the search warrant, not reported in

context; and that the medical examiner if asked would have

stated that no none told him not to change the death

certificate, not reported by the Respondents. This must

constitute evidence of reckless disregard within the meaning

of New York Times v. Sullivan. See Harte-Hanks

Communications, Inc. v. Connaughton, US. ;

109 S.Ct. at 2686. “A report that intentionally excludes

information that is as obviously exculpatory as the

information *** elected to delete simply cannot, under any

definition, be deemed either fair or accurate.” Schiavone

Const. Co. v. Time, Inc., 847 F.2d 1069, 1089 (3rd Cir. 1988).

This Court stated in Harte-Hanks that the reviewing

court must consider the factual record in full. U.S.

, 109 S.Ct. at 2696. The lower courts here obviously

never did so. It is significant that Justice Blackmun’s

concurring opinion pointed out so that the Supreme Court

17

we rf

has not strayed from the principle that the form and

content of the story are relevant not only to the falsity and

neutral reportage questions, but also to the question of

actual malice.” US. , 109 S.Ct. at 2699-2700.

Justice Blackmun pointed out that the method of

presentation of the news is relevant to determining whether

the publisher acted in reckless disregard of the truth. He

added that the Court’s opinion could not “ *** be read to hold

that the content of the article is irrelevant to the actual

malice inquiry.”

That is consistent with this Court’s opinion in Curtis Pub.

Co. v. Butts 388 U.S. 130 (1967), where the Court held that

the preparation may cast serious doubt on the adequacy of

the investigation, obviously a factor relevant to determining

actual malice. 388 U.S. at 138. Resolving issues that were

uncertain in a way to cast Petitioner in the worst possible

light may be considered evidence of the report as reckless

disregard for the truth or falsity. Rebozo v. Washington

Post Co., 637 F. 2d 375, 382 (5th Cir. 1981) cert. den. 454 U.S

964.

This Court should grant review of this matter because of

the errors of application of New York Times v. Sullivan by

the Minnesota courts. See Gertz v. Robert Welch, Inc., 418

U.S. 323, 330 (1974). The Court should then reverse the

Minnesota courts and remand.

Respectfully submitted,

PATRICK J. FOLEY

565 Northstar East

608 Second Avenue South

Minneapolis, MN 55402

(612) 339-4500

By:

Patrick Foley

18

9

mo

*

APPENDIX

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Minnesota Supreme Court Order denying review of

the Court of Appeals decision. February 9, 1990.

Petitioner’s Petition to Minnesota Supreme Court for

Review of Decision of Court of Appeals.

Minnesota Court of Appeals decision, December 26,

1989.

District Court Decision, March 16, 1988.

Memorandum to District Court decision of March 16,

1988.

Order for Judgment, April 5, 1989 and

Memorandum to Order for Judgment, April 5, 1989.

> = wis 2 0 are a Ses 7 4a

7 | 8

a a ee .

so” — N 1 ‘

2 *

9

—

1

i

j

a

1

APPENDIX A

STATE OF MINNESOTA

IN SUPREME COURT

No. C0-89-1225

TOM FOLEY,

Appellant,

| ve.

| WCCO TELEVISION, INC., et al.

| Respondents.

| ORDER

Based upon all the files, records and proceedings herein,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the petition of Tom

Foley for further review be, and the same is, denied.

Dated:

February 9, 1990 BY THE COURT:

. Chief Justice

A-

—————

APPENDIX B

STATE OF MINNESOTA

TOM FOLEY, PETITION FOR REVIEW

Petiticner, OF DECISION OF

vs. COURT OF APPEALS

WCCO T. V., Inc., a corporation, pella g

STEVE ECKERT, and 2 „

6—— Date of Filing of Court of

Respondents. Appeals Decision:

December 26, 1989.

Paula Osborn DePARCQ, HUNEGS,

45 S. 7th Street STONE, KOENIG &

Minneapolis, MN 55402 REID, P.A.

(612) 344-9300 Patrick J. Foley, (#30685)

565 Northstar East

Paul Hannah 608 Second Avenue South

1122 Pioneer Building Minneapolis, MN 55402

St. Paul, MN 55101 (612) 339-4511

(612) 223-5525

ATTORNEYS FOR

ATTORNEYS FOR PETITIONER

RESPONDENTS

B-1

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

PS j A 1

I. CRITERIA FOR REVIEW UNDER RULE 117

W 1

III. STATEMENT OF THE CASE ................... 2

Bs Sed oda cc anke cccdWenseucceses 3

APPENDIX

A. Court of Appeals Decision, December 26, 1989

. District Court Order for Judgment, April 5, 1989

Order and Memorandum of District Court,

March 16, 1988

Order of District Court, January 20, 1989 -

Order and Memorandum of District Court,

November 5, 1987

Affidavit on Evidence of Actual Malice,

filed in District Court

CONCLUSION 5

smo OD

B-2

STATE OF MINNESOTA

IN SUPREME COURT

TOM FOLEY, PETITION FOR REVIEW

Petitioner, OF DECISION OF COURT

vs. OF APPEALS

WCCO T. V., Inc., a corporation, 1

* RT and Appellate Court Case No:

JOHN LINDSAY, Date of Filing of Court of

Respondents. Appeals Decision:

December 26, 1989.

TO: The Supreme Court of the State of Minnesota:

I.

LEGAL ISSUES

A. Whether the court of appeals erred in interpreting the

United States Constitution First Amendment principles

when it held as non-defamatory false statements implying

that plaintiff was guilty of unethical and criminal conduct.

B. Whether the Court of Appeals erred in holding, under

First Amendment principles, that there was an inadequate

record demonstrating a jury issue on actual malice by the

respondents.

II.

CRITERIA FOR REVIEW UNDER RULE 117, SUBD. 2

This Court should grant discretionary review of the Court

of Appeals decision because the legal issues presented are

important and those upon which this Court should rule; the

lower courts have departed from the accepted and usual

course of justice as to call for an exercise of this Court’s

supervisory powers; and a decision by this Court will help to

B-3

clarify and harmonize the law on the legal issues involved

because of their possible statewide impact. Rule 117,

R.Civ.App.P.

III.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner filed suit in Ramsey County District Court for

damages from defamation as uttered by the respondents,

news media within the meaning of the First Amendment of

the United States Constitution and New York Times Co. v.

Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254 (1964). Petitioner proved the falsity of

the published statements, including, “The Ramsey County

Medical Examiner’s office officials say they were told not to

change the death certificate from accident to murder by

Foley.” “I-Team member Steve Eckert suggest that Foley’s

receipt [of political contributions] caused Foley’s inter-

vention“ *.” Z-1, Apx. 433. “He [Foley] knew Greening was

a potential suspect, yet took money from him at least two

times after. There is something there. Z-6, Apx. 434. The

trial court held that “Foley blocked the search warrant”

appeared to be derogatory. Other broadcasts implied that

petitioner had telephoned the Attorney General’s office and

thereafter a state investigator was taken off the case.

** if investigators knew of the possible conflict of interest in

1982, why it took three years for Foley to remove himself

from the case.”

The trial court held that all of the broadcasts other than

references to the Ramsey County Medical Examiner's

scenario were as a matter of law not defamatory and the

latter be dismissed for absence of adequate evidence of

actual malice.

The Court of Appeals affirmed the District Court deci-

sion. Apx. A.

IV.

ARGUMENT

The Court of Appeals ruling is inconsistent with Diesen v.

Hessburg, 437 N.W.2d 705 (Minn. Ct. App. 1989), Pet. Grtd.

B-4

442 N.W.2d 7891 (1989), now pending before this Court, and

Harte-Hanks Comm., Inc. v. Connaughton, US.

109 S.Ct. 2678 (1989). The court of Appeals was

told specifically in oral argument despite its statement,

Apx. A, p. 8, Par. 5, that the broadcasts could have been

rendered non-defamatory if the truth were told and the facts

were itemized for that Court that petitioner did not talk with

the medical examiner; took no action involving the

Greening investigation; was not involved in a conflict of

interest; took no action on the search warrant; never asked

the AG’s office to remove the investigator.

Any broadcasts of false facts showing a lack of character

or disregard of professional ethics of an attorney are

defamatory. Wachs v. Winter, 569 F.Supp. 1438 (D. C. N. V.

1983), even expressions of opinion. Cianci v. New York

Times Pub. Co., 639 F.2d 54, 64 2d Cir. (1980); King v. Globe

Newspaper Co., 400 Mass. 705, 512 N.E.2d 241 (1987); Harte-

Hanks Comm., Inc. u. Connaughton, supra, 109 S.Ct. at

2683 FN 3.

The Court of Appeals failed to make an independent

review as required by Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477

U.S. 242, 255-56 (1986), to determine the issue of petitioner’s

evidence demonstrating actual malice. The Court acknowl-

edges that petitioner never asked McGee to change the

death certificate, but exonerated respondents by stating

petitioner’s assistant discussed the matter with Dr. McGee

and held that those acts “may be attributable to him

[petitioner] for this purpose.” Apx. A, p. 12. Evidence of

actual malice is the respondent’s plan to interview the M.E.

to tie in petitioner with the delay in a death certificate

change. Apx. F. Respondent interviewed the M.E. and did

not question him about this petitioner. This is actual malice.

In Harte-Hanks Comm., Inc. v. Connaughton, supra, the

reporters interviewed Connaughton, had specific denials

from Connaughton, knew of a sharp conflict on the various

versions; knew that there was a critical witness, whom they

never interviewed. The Supreme Court found actual malice

on the reporters’ refusal to interview the critical witness. 109

S.Ct. at 2697. Blackmun, J. emphasized that the form

B-5

and content of the story are relevant not only to the falsity

in neutral reporter’s questions, but also to the question of

actual malice.” 109 S.Ct. at 2699-2700.

The Court of Appeals is at odds with Diesen and incon-

sistent with Connaughton. Defamation of a public official

may be by implication. Connaughton end Diesen settle

that. The court of appeals failed to hold that proof of actual

malice may be by circumstantial evidence.

The Court of Appeals held subsequent descriptions or

explanations to exonerate respondents. Apx. A, p. 6, Section

B. The court erred in holding that there was a conflict of

interest even if petitioner did not know of the letter or

participate in the investigation. Apx. A, p. 7.

Actual malice is clearly demonstrated by the thoughtful

dissent of Judge Randall that petitioner made out a reason-

able case “at every juncture,” Apx. A, p. D-2, and that

defamation is concocted out of truth taken out of context,

omitted facts, unbalanced reporting, and slants designed to

do injury.” Apx. A, p. D-6.

CONCLUSION

The broadcasts were not about the processes but were

fake reports about this petitioner’s part in the investigation,

the blocking of the search warrant, and the delaying of the

change of the death certificate. The Court of Appeals

argument, that “Foley was not personally involved in the

death certificate discussion.” Apx. A, p. 12, but a conflict of

interest even if petitioner had not participated in the

investigation.

This Court should grant this review because the Court of

Appeals decision is clearly inconsistent with its own

opinion in Diesen and clearly inconsistent with and contra-

dicted by the U.S. Supreme Court decision in Connaughton.

Respectfully submitted,

DePARCQ, HUNEGS, STONE,

KOENIG & REID, P.A.

By: _/8/ Patrick J. Foley

Patrick J. Foley, #30685

565 Northster East

608 Second Avenue South

Minneapolis, MN 55402

(612) 339-4511

ATTORNEYS FOR PETITIONER

B-7

U

ey

1

APPENDIX C

STATE OF MINNESOTA

IN COURT OF APPEALS

NO. 00-88-1225

WCCO TELEVISION, INC.,

et all.,

Respondents.

608 Second Avenue South

Minneapolis, MN 55402

St. Paul, MN 55102

Paula D. Osborn

Oppenheimer, Wolff & Donnelly

Suite 3400, Plaza VII

45 South Seventh Street

Minneapolis, MN 55402

Filed: December 26, 1989

Office of Appellate Courts

SYLLABUS

1. Statements consisting of truths, opinions, and criti-

cisms of official conduct are not defamatory as a matter of

law.

2. A public figure must produce clear and convincing

evidence upon which a jury could find actual malice to

defeat a summary judgment motion brought in a defama-

tion action.

Affirmed.

Heard, considered, and decided by Gardebring, Presiding

Judge, Forsberg, Judge, and Randall, Judge.

OPINION

GARDEBRING, Judge

Appellant Tom Foley commenced this defamation action

against respondent WCCO-TV and its I-Team reporters

contending that WCCO-TV aired broadcasts of a defama-

tory nature against Foley. The broadcasts concerned

Foley’s position as Ramsey County Attorney and the

alleged failure of his office to properly investigate and

resolve the manner of death of a Launderdale, Minnesota

woman.

Foley appeals the trial court’s dismissal of numerous

allegations for failure to state a claim upon which relief may

be granted and entry of summary judgment against him on

the remaining allegations. We affirm both the trial court’s

order dismissing the nonactionable allegations and the

order granting summary judgment on the remaining

allegations.

FACTS

On July 21, 1982, a woman’s naked body was found under

water in the bathtub of her Lauderdale, Minnesota home.

There was no evidence that she intended to take a bath nor

that she intended to commit suicide. Furnishings in the

woman’s bedroom indicated possible signs of a struggle.

Initially the Roseville police department investigated the

woman’s death. The case was presented to the Ramsey

County Attorney’s Office but no charges were ever brought.

At that time, Dr. Michael McGee, the medical examiner,

listed the manner of death as “undetermined.” However, by

the fall of 1985, Dr. McGee was considering changing the

manner of death designation on the death certificate to

“homicide.”

In early 1986, at the urging of a friend of the deceased,

C-2

WCCO.-TV began a review of the death, and its handling by

the criminal justice system. The I-Team investigated the

matter by reviewing police reports, interviewing officials

involved in the case and close friends of the deceased. On

February 27, 1986, the station aired the first of several

broadcasts discussing the death and the law enforcement

activities surrounding it. WCCO-TV admits the general

tone of the broadcasts was critical of all public officials and

agencies involved in the investigation, including Tom

Foley and the Ramsey County Attorney’s Office.

Foley commenced this action against WCCO-TV alleging

that the I-Team initiated an investigation into Foley for the

purpose of defaming him, and has acted deliberately and

repeatedly with actual malice to him and with reckless

disregard to the falsity of the matters asserted with respect

to the investigation of this woman’s death.

Foley alleged numerous statements having possible de-

famatory meaning. Upon the trial court’s order, Foley filed

a more definite pleading consisting of 197 statements

alleged to be defamatory. The trial court separated Foley’s

allegations into four factual scenarios and analyzed them

for defamatory content. The scenarios are: (1) that Foley

requested the Attorney General’s office to remove a state

investigator from the case; (2) that Foley blocked the

issuance of a search warrant to search the financial records

of the deceased’s husband, one of his campaign contributors

and a suspect in the murder investigation; (3) that Foley

was aware of an inherent conflict of interest involving

himself and the deceased’s husband; and (4) that Foley

asked Medical Examiner Dr. Michael McGee not to change

the designation on the death certificate from

“undetermined” to “homicide.”

The trial court dismissed the first three factual scenarios

for failure to state a claim upon which relief may be granted

and subsequently entered summary judgment against

Foley on the fourth scenario.

C-3

ISSUE

1. Did the trial court err in dismissing allegations for

failure to state a claim upon which relief may be granted?

2. Did the trial court err in granting summary judgment?

ANALYSIS

I.

Allegations Dismissed for Failure to State a Claim

Upon Which Relief Can be Granted

A plaintiff suing in defamation is required to plead and

prove that the defendant published a statement of fact, that

was false, that concerns the plaintiff, and that tends to

harm the plaintiff's reputation and to lower him or her in

the estimation of the community. Lewis v. Equitable Life

Assurance Society, 389 N.W.2d 876, 886 (Minn. 1986).

In reviewing cases dismissed for failure to state a claim

on which relief can be granted, the appellate court de-

termines whether the complaint sets forth a legally suf-

ficient claim for relief. Elzie u. Commissioner of Public

Safety, 298 N.W.2d 29, 32 (Minn. 1980).

Truth is a complete defense, and true statements, how-

ever disparaging, are not actionable. Stuempges v. Parke,

Davis & Co., 297 N.W.2d 252, 255 (Minn. 1980). Opinions are

also absolutely protected by the first amendment. Price v.

Viking Penguin, Inc., 881 F.2d 1426, 1431 (8th Cir. 1989).

Under the first amendment there is no such thing as

a false idea. However pernicious an opinion may

seem, we depend for its correction not on the con-

science of judges and juries but on the competition of

In thie case, the court determined that Foley failed to adquately

specify the claimed defamatory language in the original complaint,

and ordered Foley to submit a more detailed recitation of the alleged

defamatory statements. Our review of the legal sufficiency of the

claims is therefore based upon the statement entitled “Plaintiffs

Allegations of Specific Words Establishing Defamation,” as well as

the complaint itself.

C-4

other ideas. But there is no constitutional value in

false statements of fact.

Gertz v. Robert Welch, Inc., 418 U.S. 323, 339-40 (1974)

(footnote omitted).

Whether a statement is one of opinion, hence absolutely

protected by the first amendment, or one of fact, is a

questions of law for the trial court. See Janklow v. News-

week, Inc., 788 F.2d 1300, 1305 n.7 (8th Cir. 1986) (en banc),

cert. denied, 479 U.S. 883 (1986).

Furthermore, Foley’s allegations must be considered against

the background of a profound national commitment to the

principle that debate on public issues should be uninhibited,

robust, and wide-open, and that it may well include

vehement, caustic, and sometimes unpleasantly sharp

attacks on government and public officials.

* * *

Criticism of their official conduct does not lose its

constitutional protection merely because it is effective

criticism and hence diminishes their official reputations.

New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254, 270, 273

(1964).

The trial court considered the alleged defamatory state-

ments contained in each factual scenario in light of what is

legally required to state an actionable claim for efamation

of a public official.

A. Scenario 1: Removal of Investigator

WCCO-TV reported that an investigator from the Min-

nesota Attorney General’s Office began to assist the Rose-

ville police in the investigation; that when Foley learned of

the investigator’s involvement, he called a deputy attorney

general, who subsequently removed the investigator from

the case because he did not want it to appear that Ramsey

County was conducting the investigation inadequately;

and that Foley denied requesting the removal of the

investigator from the case.

C-5

The trial court determined that this was a factual account

of the events as they occurred. Furthermore, the court stated

that the questions raised by WCCO-TV concerning this

scenario were editorial opinions and legitimate criticisms of

public officials. We agree.

B. Scenario 2: Search Warrant

WCCO TV reported that Foley's office blocked a search

warrant to search the financial records of the deceased’s

husband. A subsequent report clarified that this meant

Foley’s office believed the police lacked probable cause to

justify issuance; however, a warrant could have been

obtained by appearing before a judge.

The trial court determined that the warrant was, in fact,

denied and, viewing the statement in context, the sub-

sequent explanation was sufficient to obliterate any pos-

sible inference that Foley sought to obstruct justice by

opposing the search warrant. We concur.

C. Scenario 3: Conflict of Interest

In its I-Team broadcasts, WCCO-TV reported that the

deceased’s husband was a suspect in the case, and that he

and 25 of his co-workers were contributors to Foley's re-

election campaign and that some of the co-workers were

members of Foley’s campaign committee. This, WCCO-TV

reported, created a conflict of interest. In October 1982, a

letter was sent from the Roseville police department to the

Ramsey County Attorney’s Office suggesting the presence

of a conflict of interest; however, it was not until three years

later that the case was transferred to Anoka County to

avoid the conflict. WCCO-TV questioned and criticized the

delay in transferring the case to Anoka County.

The trial court determined that a conflict of interest

clearly existed and that WCCO-TV’s reporting of the matter

was factually based and coupled with opinion and legiti-

mate criticism of a public official and his office.

Even if Foley did not personally know of the letter or did

not actively participate in the investigation until November

1985, the Ramsey County Attorney’s Office did have knowil -

edge of the potential conflict of interest and was in charge of

the investigation. A conflict of interest arises when a

C4

lawyer’s representation may be materially limited by the

lawyer’s own interests. Minn. Rules of Professional Con-

duct 1.7. Conflicts of interest may be imputed to all lawyers

associated with that firm. Minnesota Rules of Professional

Conduct 1.10(a). From the facts, it appears that WCCO-TV

had a reasonable basis upon which to conclude that a

conflict of interest existed and to question the delay in

transferring the case to Anoka County; therefore, we agree

with the trial court’s conclusion.

D. Defamation by Innuendo

Appellant also argued before the trial court that many of

the statements, even if true on their face, are defamatory by

innuendo.

The trial court, relying on Valento v. Ulrich, 402 N.W.2d

809 (Minn. Ct. App. 1987), and Hirman v. Rogers, 257

N.W.2d 563 (Minn. 1987), held that there can be no defama-

tion of a public official by innuendo.

On appeal, appellant renews this argument, citing Diesen

v. Hesaburg, 437 N. W. ad 705 (Minn. Ct. App. 1989), pet. for

rev. granted, 442 N.W.2d 781 (Minn. May 12, 1989), a case

handed down by this court since the trial court ruling.

However, the Diesen rationale is inapplicable on these

facts. The Diesen holding turned, first, on the existence of

known facts which, if reported, could have changed the

defamatory implication of the article, and secondly, on the

plaintiff's proof of actual malice by clear and convincing

evidence.

In this case, Foley has not pleaded, nor does the record

reveal, any additional material facts that the I-Team

knowingly omitted which would have removed the al-

legedly defamatory tone of their broadcasts.

Further, the law is clear that in a defamation action

brought by a public official, the constitutional guarantees of

the first amendment preclude recovery absent a showing

that the statement was made with “actual malice.” New

York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254, 279-80 (1964).

Actual malice has been defined as “knowledge that [the

statement] was false of reckless disregard of whether it was

false or not.” Id. at 280. Actual malice must be proven with

convincing clarity. Id. at 11

Because the actual malice standard is the cornerstone of

protection for free exchange of ideas about public officials, it

may never be presume or inferred by innuendo. Hirman,

257 N.W.2d at 566.

In the absence of either unreported facts which could

have changed the implication of the broadcasts or clean

and convincing evidence of actual malice, Diesen does not

apply.

We have reviewed the dismissed statements in light of the

above considerations and we agree with the trial court that

the numerous allegations contained in these three factual

scenarios consisted of truths, opinions, and criticisms of

official conduct, and that further the theory of defamation

by innuendo is not available on these facts; therefore, the

trial court’s dismissal of these allegations for failure to state

a claim upon which relief may be granted is no erroneous as

a matter of law.

II.

SUMMARY JUDGMENT ON THE BASIS OF THE

ABSENCE OF ACTUAL MALICE

The trial court determined that one fact scenario appeared

to be capable of defamatory meaning, and therefore

actionable. This set of statements became the subject of the

later summary judgment motion. The factual setting of

those alleged defamatory statements concern Medical

Examiner Dr. Michael McGee and the cause of death

designation on the deceased’s death certificate.

Dr. Michael McGee performed the autopsy on the woman

and marked on the death certificate that the manner of

death was “undetermined.” In 1985, three years after the

autopsy, McGee decided he wanted to change the

“undetermined” classification to “homicide.” He contacted

Roseville police officer Lunzer and assistant Ramsey County

attorney Charles Balck, who had been assigned by Foley to

review this case.

On November 5, 1985, a meeting to review the matter was

attended by Balck, McGee, Lunzer, and James Essling, an

C-8

investigator for the medical examiner’s office. Balck and

Lunzer concluded that even if the manner of death was

changed, there was insufficient evidence to obtain criminal

charges. All four men agreed not to change the death

certificate.

On February 27, 1986, Dr. McGee changed the death

certificate to “homicide.” That same day, Foley called a

press conference and denied mishandling the case and

informed the media that the case was being transferred to

the Anoka County Attorney’s Office to avoid any potential

conflicts of interest. The case subsequently went to a grand

jury. No indictment was issued.

WCCO.-TV’s report of the above incident included a quote

from Dr. McGee:

[A}hd so we've tried to cooperate with them in that

regard and have essentially done what they’ve

asked us. *** They’ve asked us at this time to hold

the death certificate in the position it is now until

they can explore any further examination they have

to do.

The trial court did not strike the McGee allegations from

Foley’s complaint; however, it did grant summary judgment

in favor of WCCO-TV upon finding no evidence indicating

actual malice.

On appeal from a summary judgment the reviewing court

determines whether there are any genuine issues of material

fact and whether the trial court erred in its application of

the law. Hubred v. Control Data Corp., 442 N.W.2d 308, 310

(Minn. 1989).

Because Foley holds the elected position of Ramsey

County Attorney and performs governmental duties directly

related to the public interest, he is a public official and,

therefore, must prove actual malice before any defamation

ran be found. Harte-Hanks Communications, Inc. v.

Connaughton, US. a , 109 S.Ct. 2678,

2685 (1989); Hirman v. Rogers, 257 N.W.2d 563, 566 (Minn.

1977). Actual malice requires proof that the statement was

made with knowledge that it was false or with reckless

C-9

disregard of whether it was false or not. New York Times

Co., 376 U.S. at 279-80.

[Rjeckless conduct is not measured by whether a

reasonable prudent man would have published or

would have investigated before publishing. There

must be sufficient evidence to permit the conclusion

that the defendant in fact entertained serious doubts

as to the truth of his publication. Publishing with

such doubts shows reckless disregard for truth or

falsity and demonstrates actual malice.

St. Amant v. Thompson, 390 U.S. 727, 731 (1968).

On appeal from summary judgment in public figure

defamation cases, the test is whether the evidence in the

record could support a reasonable jury finding that the

plaintiff has shown actual malice by clear and convincing

evidence. Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242,

255-56 (1986).

In considering WCCO-TV’s motion for summary

judgment, the court had considerable information before it.

This information included the pleadings, discovery

documents, motions and accompanying memoranda, scripts

of the I—Team broadcasts, and tapes of a telephone

conversation between the deceased’s close friend and

Investigator Essling indicating that Foley’s office made the

request. The record also included the press release issued by

Foley on February 27, 1986, and affidavits of Foley, McGee,

Balck, Essling and I-Team reporters Steve Eckert and John

Lindsay.

Foley asserts that actual malice is demonstrated by

WCCO-TV’s repeated broadcasts that Foley’s office

requested McGee not to change the death certificate. Foley’s

picture accompanied this segment of the I-Team report. In

particulary, Foley contends that actual malice is shown by

the I-Team’s failure to ask McGee the ultimate question,

that is, whether Tom Foley personally asked McGee not to

change the death certificate classification from

“undetermined” to “homicide.”

The affidavits reveal that Foley never personally asked

C-10

— Z ů

McGee to change the death certificate; however, the

affidavits and press release show that Foley asked assistant

county attorney press release show that Foley asked

assistant county attorney Balck to review the case file and

that Balck advised McGee against changing the death

certificate because it would not change the fact that there

was insufficient evidence to charge any suspect.

Balck is an employee of Foley’s office and was acting

within the scope of his employment. Therefore, we believe

that although Foley was not personally involved in the

death certificate discussion, the acts of Balck may be

attributable to him for this purpose. In addition, WCCO-TV

specifically broadcasted McGee’s press statement that the

Ramsey County Attorney’s Office never instructed him not

to change the death certificate.

Upon independent review of the record, we find that

WCCO-TV investigated this matter by reviewing public

documents and interviewing the public officials and private

citizens involved in this case. The record is devoid of

evidence that WCCO-TV broadcasted its report knowing

that the information was false or that WCCO-TV

entertained serious doubts as to the truth of its publication;

therefore, we conclude that summary judgment is proper in

the absence of any issues of material facts relating to actual

malice.

While the dissent in this matter argues that summary

judgment is a “blunt instrument,” in public official

defamation cases summary judgment is the preferred

remedy because it prevents persons from being discouraged

in the full and free exercise of their first amendment rights

with respect to the conduct of their government. See

Washington Post Co. v Keogh, 365 F.2d 965, 967-68 (D.C.

Cir. 1966), cert. denied, 385 U.S. 1011 (1967). We believe its

use and application here is appropriate.

DECISION

Many of Foley’s claims were dismissed properly for

failure to state a claim upon which relief can be granted

because they were not defamatory. Further, Foley failed to

C-11

produce clean and convincing evidence that could support a

reasonable jury finding that WCCO-TV’s I-Team

broadcasted its reports with actual malice. We reviewed the

remainder of Foley’s claims on appeal and find them to be

without merit under the facts of this case.

Affirmed.

RANDALL, Judge, dissenting.

I respectfully dissent. I do not find this complicated case

at this time, on this record, appropriate for disposition by a

Rule 12 motion for judgment on the pleadings and/or

summary judgment.

The voluminous record contains numerous disputed fact

issues and allegations by appellant that key facts were

known, but omitted or slanted. Appellant argues vigorously

that a jury is entitled to see the entire picture, and that if

they resolve certain inferences in this favor actual malice

could be found. There are several key areas in dispute. What

did appellant actually know; what did appellant actually

do; and what did respondents really know about what

appellant did or did not do, as opposed to what they actually

published.

Relative to appellant’s allegations that were dismissed on

respondents’ motion for summary judgment, the record

discloses disputed facts issues concerning who, if anyone,

from appellant’s office put pressure on Dr. McGee not to

change a death certificate from undetermined to homicide.

Did appellant do it? Did appellant authorize someone else to

do it? Was it “pressure” or just a common sense decision not

to make a hurried change just because of publicity? Did

respondents know this but continue to intentionally imply

that the pressure or suggestion not to change the death

certificate came from appellant himself?

On the issues disposed of by granting respondents’

motion for judgment on the pleadings, I find it difficult to

hold, as a matter of law, that appellant could not produce

facte which, if proven, could lead a reasonable jury to find

defamation. On the issue of whether appellant contacted

the attorney general’s office to remove an investigator from

the case, there is a dispute over whether the investigator

C-12

was actually “removed” and a dispute as to whether

appellant deliberately requested a “removal,” if one occurred.

Relative to the search warrant, did appellant “block” it in

the perjorative sense or was the decision made based on

reasonable judgment by a prosecuting attorney that

probable cause for a search warrant could not be found. Did

respondents subsequent “clarification” remove all taint or

did the implication linger that appellant deliberately

hindered an ongoing investigation? On the issue of the

suspect’s political contributions, were the amounts so

insignificant and their timing such that respondents, with

years of experience covering local, state, and nationa!

elections, knew that the minimal amount in question could

not influence a homicide investigation. If they knew that,

did they intentionally broadcast a partial story to imply

otherwise? I am not in a position to weigh the merits of

appellant’s ultimate case to a jury. However, I can say with

reasonable conviction that if all factual disputes and all are

answered by a jury in appellant’s favor, the high threshold

a public official needs to meet to prove actual malice could

be satisfied.

Appellant makes out a reasonable case that at every

juncture, the broadcasts put him in as bad a light as

possible. Did respondents actually know the facts which

would have dramatically changed the slant they were

putting on the story? If they knew, then, did they intention-

ally withhold them with “reckless disregard for truth or

falsity?”

The majority correctly points out that a public official has

a heavy burden of proof in a defamation case.

Actual malice requires proof that the statement was

made with knowledge that it was false or with

reckless disregard of whether it was false or not.

New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254, 279, 84

S.Ct. at 7261 (1964).

Reckless conduct is not measured by whether

reasonable prudent person would have

published or would have investigated before

C-13

publishing; rather, there must be sufficient

evidence to conclude that the defendant in fact

entertained serious doubts as to the truth of its

publication. Publishing with such doubts shows

reckless disregard for truth or falsity and

demonstrates actual malice.

St. Amant v. Thompson, 390 U.S. 727, 731 (1968).

However, I find that this burden of actual malice can be

met short of proof that there were out and out deliberate lies.

In a case presently before the Minnesota Supreme Court,

Diesen v. Hessburg, 437 N.W. 2d 705 (Minn. Ct. App. 1989),

this court, relying on a Tennessee Supreme Court case,

Memphis Publishing Co. v. Nichols, 569 S.W.2d 412 (Tenn.

1978), found that statements, even if true taken in their

literal context could amount to defamation. In Deisen we

said:

In Nichols, a private citizen was allegedly defamed

by the implication that she was having an adulterous

affair with a neighbor’s husband. If all the facts had

been printed by the paper, this defamatory and false

implication would not have been created. The court

in Nichols stated that the defendant’s reliance on

the truth of the facts was misplaced because the

question was “whether libel as published would

have a different effect on the mind of the reader from

that which the pleaded truth would have produced.”

Id. at 420 (quoting Fleckenstein v. Friedman, 266

N. V. 19, 23, 193 N. E. 537, 538 (1937)). The publication

of the complete facts could have conceivably led the

reader to conclude that there was no adulterous

relationship.

The published statement, therefore, so distorted

the truth as to make the entire article false and

defamatory. It is no defense whatever that

individual statements within the article were

literally true. Truth is available as an absolute

defense only when the defamatory meaning

conveyed by the words is true.

C-14

Id.

We agree with the holding in Nichols. There may be

defamation by implication, where known facts are

omitted, which could have changed the defamatory

implication of the article. It is clear that this is a

half-truth, which amounts to merely a lie.

Diesen, 437 N. W. ad at 709.

Respondents argue vigorously that in all respects truth is

a complete defense. However, I find that the defense of

“truth” is not confined to an examination of just the five

alphabetical components of the word.

Here, appellant may be able to prove a case of

defamation by implication discovered in Diese. The

thrust of respondents’ broadcasts was that appellant, a

prominant elected official, has intentionally stonewalled

and interfered with a homicide investigation because a

suspect was a political contributor. The content and slant

of the broadcasts permit no other inference. This inference

was intentionally and deliberately created by respondents.

The following story is likely apocryphal but serves to illustrate the

point. Supposedly years ago in a small southern town, the editor of the

local newspaper chose up sides against the mayor running for re-

election and threw his newspaper support behind the challenger. On

the evening before election day, the editor bannered the headline

“Mayoral Incumbent Caught Eating a Dead Female Thigh.” The

predictable happened. The next day the town had a new mayor and the

defeated incumbent, not being at all convinced of his participation in

such a dastardly deed, hired a law firm to investigate and bring suit.

Upon completion of the investigation, it came out that at a Sunday

Church social one month before the election the mayor, his wife, his

two children, and his grandparents were in attendance where the

main course was roast turkey with all the trimmings. The newspaper

editor, sitting at an adjoining table, observed the mayor holding a

napkin in front of his face (because his socially conscious mother

disapproved of adults eating in public with their fingers) while avidly

chomping on a hen turkey drumstick. At trial, when the fowl“ facts

came to light, over the editor’s protestations that every word in the

headline was defendable, the judge did find that a suit did lie.

did lie.

C-15

The allegations are extremely serious. They are in a

proper area, governmental activity, for the media to

scrutinize, but the media’s privileges are not unbounded.

The first amendment is a high and mighty wall, but does

not stretch to infinity.

When hearing motions for failure to state a claim upon

which relief can be granted or summary judgment, courts

are not asked to weigh evidence, determine credibility,

resolve factual disputes, and decide the merits of a

plaintiff's case. Instead, a court’s duty is simply to

determine if a claim could ever lie, and as to summary

judgment, our duty is simply to determine whether genuine

issues of material fact exist, not how such issues should

be resolved.” Vacura v. Haar’s Equipment, Inc., 364

N.W.2d 387, 391 (Minn. 1985) (emphasis added). To make

this determination, the evidence must be viewed in the

light most favorable to the non-moving party, and all

doubts and factual inferences must be resolved against

the moving party.” Nord v. Herreid, 305 N.W.2d 337, 339

(Minn. 1981). Summary judgment is not intended as a

substitute for trial ***.” Vacura, 364 N.W.2d at 391

(citation omitted). Because summary judgment is a blunt

instrument,” its use should be limited to cases in which it

is perfectly clear that not issue of fact is involved.“

Donnay V. Boulware, 275 Minn. 37, 45, 144 N.W.2d 711,

716 (1966). This is not such a clear case; consequently,

disposition by summary judgment is inappropriate, as is

disposition by dismissal for failure to state a claim on

which relief could be granted.

Appellant’s status as a public figure? prevents him from

receiving any damages absent proof of actual malice, New

York Times, 376 U.S. at 279, but I suggest at this stage

enough of a case exists to present to a jury. Although the

New York Times standard of actual malice is high, we need

to avoid getting hung up on the term “actual malice.” In

2Generally, false allegations which attach a person's professional

conduct are defamatory per se. Becker v. Alloy Hardfacing &

Engineering Co., 401 N.W.2d 655, 661 (Minn. 1987); Lee v. Metropolitan

Airport Commission, 428 N.W.2d 815, 819, (Minn. Ct. App. 1988).

C-16

reality, media people (unless they are looking for another

job and want to draw unemployment compensation during

the search) do not come right out and start a story by

stating, “I have malice against you and intend to publish

deliberate falsehoods.” Rather, defamation is concocted out

of truth taken out of context, omitted facts, unbalanced

reporting, and slants designed to do injury. Generally, in all

civil cases the plaintiff's burden of proof is rarely made easy

by frank admissions by a defendant to all the essential

elements that a plaintiff needs to make a case. The purpose

for factfinders is often to sift through half truths and

distortions. Plaintiff is entitled to build a case, carefully laid

evidentiary block upon block, and strive to convince a jury

that the implications and inferences he wants drawn were

so intended by defendant.

I do not find the broad shield of the first amendment

impervious to appellant’s attack at the pretrial stage.

Ultimately at trial, respondents could prevail but sufficiency

of the evidence is not now the issue on appeal. Based on tis

record, I believe that is a jury resolved all inferences for

appellant and against respondents, it could find actual

malice.

The trial court did a conscientious job on setting up and

analyzing the issues. But I cannot escape the feeling that

the trial court, in effect, conducted a “mini trial” on the

issues, weighed evidence and credibility, and came to the

conclusion that appellant probably would not prevail at

trial. Summary judgment is not the prope: forum to resolve

disputed issues, but rather to see if genuine issues of

material fact exist. See Hinrichs v. Farmers Cooperative

Grain & Seed Association, 333 N.W.2d 639, 641 (Minn.

1983).

If this case proceeds to trial, the trial court still has three

stages at which it can exercise discretion to prevent an

unjust result. The trial court can direct a verdict for

defendant at the close of plaintiff's case or at the close of all

the evidence, but before the case goes to jury. Additionally,

the trial court can grant a judgment notwithstanding the

verdict if the case goes all the way to a jury verdict, but the

C-17

court feels a manifest injustice has been done. Each of these

dispositions, although as drastic as summary judgment,

display an inherent fairness to a plaintiff that summary

judgement and pretrial dismissals do not, as these three

alternatives at least allow the plaintiff to present a case. If,

upon the conclusion of plaintiff's presentation, the trial

court decides that the plaintiff cannot prevail, as a matter of

law, and dismisses, the plaintiff had a day in court.

Summary judgment and dismissal on the pleadings have a

legitimate place in the legal system, but should not be a

substitute for trial and were never meant to be a calendar

control device in jurisdictions with high case loads.

In conclusion, I would find that appellant has ai least

presented claims upon which relief could be granted. As to

the propriety of summary judgment, I find unresolved

material and substantial fact questions. I would order the

parties to complete pretrial discover, and proceed to trial on

the merits.

C-18

APPENDIX D

STATE OF MINNESOTA

COUNTY OF HENNEPIN

DISTRICT COURT

FOURTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT

No. 87-4560

TOM FOLEY,

Plaintiff,

vs.

WCCO T. V., Inc. a corporation,

STEVE ECKERT, and JOHN LINDSAY,

Defendanis.

ORDER

A motion for dismissal for failure to state a claim upon

which relief can be granted and/or failure to comply with

the Court’s order of November 2, 1987, can on for hearing

before the undersigned, one of the judges of the above-

named Court, on December 19, 1987.

Patrick Foley, Esq., appeared on behalf of the plaintiff.

Paul Hannah, Esq., and Paula Osborn, Esq., appeared on

behalf of the defendants.

Based upon all the files, records and proceedings herein,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED:

That the following paragraphs of plaintiffs complaint

incorporating plaintiffs allegations of specific words

establishing defamation are dismissed for failing to state a

claim upon which relief can be granted:

All paragraphs A through Z-18 except C-1, D-7, D-8, D-9,

D-10, D-19, H-9, M-2, M-3, O-1, O-2, P-3, P-4, T-14, T-15, T-16,

T-17, U-3, V-3, Z-1(2), Z-1(7), ZI), (I), Z-8(8).

D-1

BY THE COURT:

Dated: Robert G. Schiefelbein

March 16, 1988

D-2

MEMORANDUM

Defendants move this Court for an order, pursuant to

Rule 12 of the Rules of Civil Procedure for the District

Courts, granting dismissal of the plaintiff's complaint. It is

defendants’ contention that plaintiff's complaint fails on

two separate grounds: 1) that plaintiff has failed to comply

with the Court’s order of October 2, 1987, where the court

ordered the plaintiff to provide a more definitive statement

of the claims, and 2) that the 44 “libelous statements” which

plaintiff lists in the More Definite Statement do not as a

matter of law state a claim for relief in defamation.

I

SPECIFICITY AND CONTEXT

A brief recitation of the procedural posture of this case is

necessary in order to adequately address the issues presently

pending before this Court. In response to the Court’s finding

that plaintiff has failed to adequately specify the claimed

defamatory language in the original complaint, plaintiff

filed a pleading entitled Plaintiff's More Definite Statement.

In this document, plaintiff amplified the number of separate

and distinct counts of allegedly libelous statements to 44.

These 44 statements, numbered A through Z-18, are a

curious miscengation of broadcast recitations in verbatim,

and print media reporting, from a wide variety of sources.

At oral argument on December 19, 1987, the Court advised

the parties that, in order for this litigation logjam to be

broken, the plaintiff should file a detailed recitation of the

specific words which form the basis for the plaintiff's

lawsuit for damages resulting from the alleged defamation.

Plaintiff, in response, has now supplied the Court and

defendants with the allegations of specifid words

establishing defamation. This document details, as noted

above, a series of broadcasts by the defendants, and a

number of printed media reports from various sources. The

E-1

alleged singular defamatory statements number 197 in

total.

It should be noted from the outset that plaintiff has

vehemently protested this procedure. It is plaintiff's

contention that, by forcing the plaintiff to reduce to

specificity the defamatory allegations, the Court has merely

bought into a clever ruse posited by the defendants. Plaintiff

has stated from the outset of this litigation that the

statements and the overall content of the broadcasts must

be considered as a whole. Plaintiff asserts that this exercise

in reduction of the statements to specificity is a tactic

employed by the defendants to ensure that the individual

claims will fall out of the lawsuit for failure to state a claim

upon which relief can be granted. It is plaintiffs sincere

contention that the Court must view the proverbial whole

forest, and not dwell in the minutiae of the simple trees. In

point of fact, plaintiff has stated, “cases uniformly hold that

statements must be considered in context with the entirety

of the articles or statements”. Plaintiffs Allegations of

Specific Words Establishing Defamation at 2. This Court is

in complete agreement with the plaintiff. The law is clear

that specific statements of defamatory import must be

considered as a whole; they must be read in the context of

the entire communications. See e.g., Sharon v. Time, Inc.,

575 F. Supp 1162 (1983); Marcone v. Penthouse Intern. Ltd.

533 F. Supp. 353 (1982).

It is the Court’s role, at this juncture, to consider the 44

allegations of defamation to determine if each is capable of

a defamatory meaning. The Court will consider these

statements in the context of the entirety of the broadcasts

and printed media reports. While the court concedes that the

statements are to be considered in context, that does not

relieve the plaintiff of the requirement to specify the

defamatory statements. As early as 1898, the Supreme

Court of Minnesota stated:

... itis well settled that the specific words which have

been published must be set out. It is not sufficient

merely to state the effect of the language or that the

E-2

7

N

|

4

ä

*

iy

4

s

‘4

F

2

publication was of a certain defamatory tenor and

import. The plaintiff cannot content himself with

drawing his own inference from the words pub-

lished, and then allege such inference, without

apprising the defendant of the words of which he

complains. While in actions for libel it may not be

essential to set forth an entire article, it is absolutely

necessary to set forth in precise words such parts or

passages as are claimed to be actionable.

American Book Co. v. Kingdom Publishing Co., 71 Minn.

363, 73 N.W. 1089 (1898).

Further, in the landmark Herbert v. Lando litigation,

Judge Haight specifically stated:

A defamation plaintiff is obliged to specifically

ideritify those statements which he claims were

made with actual malice.

Herbert v. Lando, 596 F. Supp. 1178 at 1197 (S. D. N. v. 1984).

In the instant case, plaintiff has persisted in refusing to

between claimed defamatory statements and a

determination of whether the statements made are cap-

able of a defamatory meaning ...” Utecht v. Shopko Dept.

Store, 324 N.W.2d 652 (Minn. 1982). Accordingly, the Court

has analyzed the rather voluminous allegations to syn-

thesize what statements by the defendant appear to be

actionable.

II.

ELEMENTS OF PRIMA FACIE CASE

AND CONSTITUTIONAL IMPACT

A plaintiff suing for libel is required to plead and prove

that the defendant published: I) a statement of fact; 2) that

is false; 5)that concerns the plaintiff and; 4) that tends to

harm the plaintiff's reputation and to lower him or her in

the estimation of the community. See, Jadwin v. Minne-

apolis Star & Tribune Co., 390 N.W.2d 437 (Minn. Ct. App.

1986); Lewis v. Equitable Life Assurance Society, 389

N.W.2d 876 (Minn. 1986); Stuemges v. Parke, Davis & Co.,

E-3

297 N.W.2d 252 (Minn. 1980). In addition, as articulated in

NY Times v. Sullivan and its progeny, a public official must

also prove that a defendant published the defamatory

statement knowing it was false or with reckless disregard of

whether it was faise. NY Times v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254 at

270-80 (1964); see also, Hirman v. Rogers, 257 N.W.2d 563

(Minn. 1977). to be actionable, a defamatory statement of

fact about a public official must have been made with the

above noted “actual malice”; that is, the NY Times

standard. In the instant case, it is clear that the plaintiff,

Mr. Foley, is a public official. Mr. Foley is the Ramsey

County Attorney. As such, his cause of action in defama-

tion must satisfy the constitutional parameters of the law.

In order for Mr. Foley to prevail, he must demonstrate that

defendants knew that the statements they were publishing

were false, or that they published the statements with a

reckless disregard as to their truth or falsity.

It is true that this is a weighty burden for a public official

defamation plaintiff to surmount. However, as will be

demonstrated, there are strong historical policy reasons for

the implementation of these jurisprudential obstacles in the

path of a public official defamation plaintiff.

III.

OPINION

While the United States Supreme Court has constitu-

tionalized the common law of defamation as it regards a

public official, the prima facie elements discussed above are

stil paramount as the initial threshhold of a cause of action

in defamation. The issue of falsity of the alleged defamatory

statements is central to the disposition of a defamation

action; only false and defamatory statements of fact are

actionable.

Under the First Amendment there is no such thing

as a false idea. However pernicious an opinion may

seem, we depend not on the conscience of judges and

juries but on the competition of other ideas.

Gertz u. Robert Welch, Inc., 418 U.S: 323 (1974); see also,

E-4

Capen v. Daugherty, 402 N.W.2d 561 (Minn. Ct. App. 1987).

The First Amendment to the United States Constitution

holds statements of opinion as absolutely privileged.

Whether a statement is one of opinion, hence absolutely

protected by the First Amendment, or one of fact, is a

question of luw for the trial court. Janklow v. Newsweek,

Inc., 788 F.2d 1300 (8th Cir. 1986). In Janklow, the Eighth

Circuit Court of Appeals articulated a 4-part test consisting

of various factors to determine whether a statement is one of

fact or opinion.

The Janklow factros are:

a) The precision and specificity of the disputed statement

(the more imprecise, the more likely opinion);

b) The statement’s verifiability (the less verifiable, the

more likely opinion);

e) The literary and social context in which the statement

was made (including the entire communication’s tone, the

use of cautionary language, the category of publication, its

style of writing and intended audience); and

d) The statements public context (consideration of the

public or political arena in which the statement was made).

Capan v. Dougherty, 402 N.W.2d 561 (Minn. Ct. App. 1987)

citing Janklow, 788 F2d at 1302-03.

Further, while it is clear that distinguishing fact from

opinion is by no means a simple task, the definition of

opinion is given a broad spectrum. Opinion has been

equated with rhetoric, and figurative language, and is, in

any event, not actionable if, in context, the audience would

understand the statement is not a representation of fact.

Jadwin v. Minneapolis Star & Tribune Co., 390 N. W. ad at

441. If the statement is true in substance, inaccuracies of

expression or detail are immaterial. Id.

Perhaps most significantly, given that it is the Court's

task to construe the language of the alleged defamatory

statements, the Court must give words their obvious and

natural meaning unless they are alleged to have been used

and understood in a different sense.” Jadwin at 442.

E-5

IV.

TRUTH

At common law a defamatory statement was presumed to

be false. Truth was an absolute, affirmative defense. See,

Jadwin, 367 N.W.2d at 480. A defendant accused of making

defamatory statements had the burden of proving that the

statements were true. The burden has now been shifted by

the advent of the constituional parameters of the law of

defamation. The burden is now upon the plaintiff to prove

that the statements are false. In addition, truth is a defense

to defamation only when the underlying implicaiton of the

statement is true, not merely when the statement is verbally

accurate. Lewis, 389 N.W.2d at 889.

The Court concedes that the truth or falsity of a statement

is generally a question for the trier of fact. However, the

Court would hasten to add that it would only be a jury

question for statements that meet the threshold of being

capable of a defamatory meaning. As such, it is clear that at

this juncture, the simple truth of a statement would make it

not actionable as a matter of law.

V.

Fair Comment; Qualified PRIVILEGE

In considering the overall context of the pending liti-

gation, it should be noted that the parties involved are a

public official and a media organization. This media

organization, defendants, is actively engaged in the pro-

fession of news coverage, reporting, investigation, and

commentary. A simple fact of the matter is that organiza-

tions engaged in the activity that defendants are engaged

in have, since time immemorial, commented upon the

activities of public officials. This idea and its machination

go to the very heart of our present system of government.

The media has long been referred to as the Fourth Estate. In

addition to the checks and balances of the three prongs of

government articulated by our Constitution, the media,

both print and broadcast, serve a vital function as a

watchdog of the affairs of government. Both federal and

E-6

state courts have long recognized a qualified privilege on

behalf of the media to comment on the conduct of public

officials. See, e. g., Freidell u. Blakely Printing Co., 163

Minn. 226, 203 N. W. 974 (1925). This doctrine of privileged

communication rests upon the above-noted public policy

considerations. The law in Minnesota is:

A. Communication, to be privileged, must be made

upon a proper occasion, from a proper motive, and

must be based upon a reasonable or probable cause.

When so made in good faith, the law does not imply

malice from the communication itself, as in the

ordinary case of libel. Actual malice must be

proved, before there can be a recovery, and in the

absence of such proof, the plaintiff cannot recover.

Stuemges, 297 N. W. 21 256-57 (quoting Hebner v. Great

Northern Railway, 78 Minn. 289, 292, 80 N.W. 1128, 1129

(1899).

In the instant case, it is clear that defendants have a

historic qualified privilege to comment upon the affairs of a

public official. The qualified privilege of the ia de-

fendant in this case is clearly within the abo ted

language. As such, allegedly defamatory statements that

come within the penumbre of the qualified privilege of fair

comment are not actionable.

To establish the defense of fair comment, the defendant

has to show 1) that the published criticism was one of

legitimate public interest, 2) that the criticism was based

on facts either stated or otherwise known to the reader, 3)

that the criticism represented the actual opinion of the

critic, and 4) that the criticism was not made solely for the

purpose of causing harm to the person criticized. Ollman v.

Evens, 750 F.2d 970 at 974, note 5 (1984).

VI.

INNUENDO

Words are defamatory when they tend to injure the

plaintiffs reputation and expose the plaintiff to public

hatred, contempt, ridicule or degradation. Gadach v.

E-7

Benton County Co-op Ass n., 236 Minn. 507, 53 N.W.2d 230

(1952). Words may be divided into those that cannot

possibly have a defamatory meaning, those that are rea-

sonably susceptible to a defamatory meaning as well as an

innocent one, and those that are clearly defamatory on their

face. Morey v. Barnes, 212 Minn. 153, 2 N.W.2d 829 (1942).

In addition, a statement may carry a defamatory meaning

only by reason of extrinsic circumstances. The question

whether a claimed defamatory innuendo is reasonably

conveyed by the language used is for the Court to determine.

Utecht v. Shopko Dept. Store, 324 N.W.2d 652 (Minn. 1982).

If the words are capable of a defamatory meaning, it is for

the jury to decide whether in fact they were so understood.

Utecht at 654.

In construing the language as set forth in the complaint,

the Court must give the statement its obvious and natural

meaning. Jones v. Monizo, 276 Minn. 371, 150 N.W.2d 213

(1967). See, e.g., Phipps v. Clark Oil & Refining Corp., 396

N.W.2d 588 (Minn. Ct. App. 1986). When statements

charged as defamatory are not so upon their face, it is for the

Court to determine whether the construction of the lan-

guage put forward by the innuendo is permissible. Marudas

v. Odegard, 215 Minn. 357, 10 N.W.2d 233 (1943).

Plaintiff, in addition to his adamant urging that all 197

statements be considered as a whole, has additionally

posited that many of the statements are defamatory only by

innuendo. In other words, plaintiff asserts that the in-

ference to be gleaned from a variety of the numerous

allegations is, indeed, defamatory. Plaintiff has alleged

that defendant colored the coverage of the events implicit to

this litigation in such a manner as to lead to only one

conclusion; Tom Foley used the power of his office, in

various situations, to thwart the investigation into the

murder of Kathy Greening. Plaintiff's primary assertion,

from the outset of this litigation, has been that the totality of

the broadcasts, laced with innuendo, is the sum of the

defamation. It is plaintiff's primary belief, as noted supra,

that to examine each statement as a singular premise will

defeat plaintiffs cause of action. This Court is not so

E-8

persuaded. The law states that a cause of action in defama-

tion shall set out with specificity the alleged defamatory

statements. Further, the law is that the alleged defamatory

statements shall be considered as a whole, in context with

one another.

While the Court has considered the allegations in context,

the issue of innuendo as relates to the instant case bears

further examination. The hard line according to the Minne-

sota Supreme Court is that there can be no defamation of a

public official by innuendo. See, Valento v. Ulrich, 402

N.W.2d 809 (Minn. Ct. App. 1987); Hirman v. Rogers, 257

N.W.2d 563 (Minn. 1977).

The Court in Hirman stated:

If a defamation action brought by a public official

falls within the constitutional constraints of the NY

Times rule, actual malice may never be presumed.

The burden of proving actual malice is upon the one

alleging defamatory statements and it must be

proven with convincing clarity.

Hirman v. Rogers, 257 N.W.2d at 566.

In Valento v. Ulrich, the appellants asserted that a letter

gave rise to a false innuendo that the plaintiff was involved

in dirty politics. The letter did not expressly state that either

the plaintiff or his election committee were responsible for

the alleged dirty politics. Under Minnesota law, the Court

determines whether an alleged defamatory innuendo is

reasonably conveyed by the language used. See, Price v.

Viking Press, Inc., 625 F. Supp. 641 (D. Minn. 1985). The

Court stated:

... even if the court were to conclude that the letter

falsely implies that appellants were responsible ...,

such conclusion does not address the issue of actual

malice. By arguing only that [the] letter contained a

false innuendo that appellants played a part [in the

dirty politics], appellants must rely on an inference

of actual malice arising from such innuendo. As we

have already noted, malice cannot be premused or

inferred.

E-9

Valento v. Ulrich, 402 N.W.2d at 813.

The law in Minnesota is clear; malice cannot be presumed

or inferred from statements. Malice must be proven with

convincing clarity. Malice is the applicable standard to be

utilized by the plaintiff in the instant case. As malice

cannot be presumed or inferred from statements bearing

innuendo, it is clear that there can be no defamation of a

public official by innuendo.

VII.

ANALYSIS OF THE CONTENTS OF THE 44

ALLEGATIONS OF DEFAMATION

As noted earlier, plaintiff has alleged 44 separate al-

legedly defamatory counts within the amended complaint.

Pursuant to this Court’s order, plaintiff has expanded these

44 counts to a total of 197 specific statements of allegedly

defamatory content. The Court has analyzed this material

and arrived at the following conclusions.

The Court has considered four factual scenarios that

have been analyzed for defamatory content. The four

scenarios are: 1) that the plaintiff asked the Medical

Examiner, Dr. McGee, not to change the designation on the

death certificate from undetermined to homicide; 2) that

plaintiff called Thomas Fabel of the Attorney General’s

office requesting the removal of Investigator Samuelson; 3)

that the plaintiff blocked the issuance of a search warrant;

and 4) that plaintiff was aware of an inherent conflict of

interest involving himself and one of the suspects in the

murder investigation shortly after the murder of Kathy

Greening.

A) Starting in reverse order, the Court looks first to the

questions of the alleged conflict of interest. Without delving

into a lengthy recitation of the facts surrounding this

alleged conflict of interest, let it suffice to be stated that

ther. was a letter written shortly after the death of Kathy

Greening alerting officials to the fact that one of the prime

suspects was a campaign contributor to plaintiffs re-

election campaign. Plaintiff asserts that this is capable of

the inference that the plaintiff knew of this conflict of

E-10

interest, yet failed to act expeditiously and, indeed, failed to

transfer the investigation to Anoka County earlier than in

fact was done. Implicit in this is the inference that the

plaintiff was personally aware of the letter, or that there

was a potential conflict of interest. In point of fact, there is

no showing that the plaintiff was personally aware of either

the letter or the potential conflict of interest. On the other

hand, the statements made are factually correct. The

statements are not false. The investigating police agency

did identify a prime suspect in the murder. This suspect was

a monetary contributor to the reelection campaign of the

plaintiff. Although it was not designated as such, it is clear

that there was a conflict of interest. In point of fact, it was

this conflict of interest that later prompted the plaintiff to

transfer the investigation to the Anoka County Attorney.

Defendants have heatedly pursued the question of why it

took three-and-one-half years to transfer the case. This is a

legitimate concern of a news-organization and, moreover,

the public in general, whom plaintiff serves as the chief law

enforcement official of Ramsey County. Given the legiti-

macy of the question, and the concomitant legitimate

criticism of a public official as clearly phrased statements of

opiniyn, coupled with the underlying truth of the factual

scenario, the statements surrounding the conflict of interest

are not actionable as a matter of law. The statements

reported as facts are true, and the questioning commentary

articulated by defendants is merely opinion.

In addition, this questioning commentary is clearly

within the purview of the fair comment doctrine discussed

supra.

B) The second factual scenario to be addressed is that of

the reporting by the defendants that plaintiff blocked the

issuance of a search warrant that was to look into the bank

records of the prime suspect in the Greening murder case.

The statement, “Foley blocked the search warrant,” ap-

pears to be derogatory to the plaintiff. Piaintiff asserts that

it is capable of a defamatory meaning. The defamatory

meaning conveyed would be that, if not for plaintiffs

conduct in opposition to the search warrant, the warrant

E-11

would have been issued. The meaning conveyed is that

plaintiff was seeking to obstruct justice. If this were the

meaning sought to be conveyed, or if indeed it was the

meaning conveyed, then clearly it is capable of defamatory

meaning. However, as noted throughout this memoran-

dum, as well as throughout plaintiff's abundant pleadings

and oral argument, the statement must be viewed in

context.

Defendants did state,. . before Foley bowed out of the

case his office blocked a search warrant aimed at the bank

records of his campaign contributor.” However, at a

subsequent report, Defendant Eckert stated that the

blocking of a search warrant meant that the Ramsey

County authorities thought that their was insufficient

probable cause to justify issuance, and in any event, the

warrant could be obtained by going straight to the judge.

This is a correct statement of the process involved in the

issuance of a search warrant. Ergo, taken in context, it is

clear that this statement is not false and not defamatory. As

such, counts numbered J2, Ji (also is not of and concerning

plaintiff), KI, K3, K10, K11 and M5 (also opinion) are

dismissed for failure to state a claim upon which relief can

be granted.

C) The next factual scenario to be addressed is the

allegation that the plaintiff phoned Thomas Fabel of the

Attorney General’s office to have Investigator Samuelson

removed from the investigation. Again, plaintiff would

assert tha the inference to be drawn is that plaintiff was

seeking to obstruct the investigation into the murder of

Kathy Greening. The facts, as conceded by the parties, are

that plaintiff did call Fabel. Samuelson did stop

participating in the investigation. Officer Lunzer, of the

Roseville Police Department, stated that he welcomed the

assistance of Investigator Samuelson. In a Fabel interview

carried by defendants, Fabel stated that his motivation in

pulling Samuelson off of the investigation was that he did

not want it to appear that the Ramsey County investigators

were not doing an adequate job. Taken in context, it is clear

that this is not defamatory of the plaintiff. At best, there

E-12

was some confusion as to which police agency was

adequately pursuing the investigation. However, that would

not bring the statements involving this fact situation into

the arena of defamatory meaning. The series of events are

quite innocent, and not defamatory.

Further, it would appear that the questions raised by the

defendants about this series of events are editorial

judgments related to legitimate criticism of public officials,

and again, not actionable under Minnesota law. Therefore,

counts numbered Al-12 (also opinion or hyperbole), D11,

D12, D13 and D20 are dismissed for failure to state a claim

upon which relief can be granted.

Before delving into the statements which the Court views

as actionable in this litigation, it is important to address the

number of statements that are either true or clearly opinion,

and hence not actionable.

The Court will not burden the parties with a recitation of

the alleged dafamatory verbage. Rather, the Court will cite

the parties to the numbered counts with explanation as

deemed appropriate.

D) It is the opinion of this Court that the following

statements are true factual statements, and hence not

actionable as defamatory. For purposes of illustration, let

us examine one count. count C2 states en toto:

“A police investigation indicated a suspect might be

one of Foley’s campaign contributors.”

This is not opinion. This is not innuendo. This is simple

truth. There was a police investigation. This investigation

did turn up a suspect. This suspect was a contributor to Tom

Foley’s reelection campaign. It is not actionable as a matter

of law.

The following counts are true, and therefore dismissed for

failure to state a claim upon which relief can be granted:

B (also privileged fair comment), C@, D1, D2, (also fair

comment), D14, D15, D16, D17, D18, D21, El, Fl, F4, G1, G2,

G3, H1, H4, H5, H6, H7, K2, K7, KS, K9, LI, 03, Q2, Q4, Q5,

Rl through R11 (also opinion), T2, T3, T8, T9, T10, T11, T12,

T13.

E) The following counts are in the dominion of opinion.

E-13

As hereinbefore discussed, opinion is absolutely protected

un the First Amendment to the Constitution. In addition, as

discussed above, it is sometime difficult to discern whether

a statement is fact or opinion. In recognizing this difficulty,

the Eighth Circuit has supplied a 4-part test. Rather than

take the numerous allegations that this Court has deem to

be opinion and fit them into the aforementioned Janklow

factors ad infinitum, the Court shall take one example to

address the Jankiow factors. Looking to Count D5 in which

Defendant Eckert states:

“She believes the authorities missed key evidence

and failed to perform important tests which could

have proved murder.”

Mr. Eckert is clearly reporting the opinion of Ms. Caro!

Kellogg, a.friend of the decedent, Kathy Greening. Ms.

Kellogg did feel frustration at the seeming standstill cf the

murder investigation. However, her comments and feelings

as to the stat of the investigation are no more than opinion.

Ms. Kellogg’s statements throughout the series of reports

are predicated on this frustration. This frustration is

minimally ventilated through expression of her opinions as

to the investigation. They are fraught with imprecision and

emotion, thereby more likely opinion.

Ms. Kellogg’s statements rae not highly verifiable as fact,

and hence opinion. In addition, the social context in ch

the statements are made is that Ms. Kellogg was extremely

frustrated as to the state of the investigation into the death

of her close friend. Ms. Kellogg had dire concerns over the

lack of progrees and seeming incompetence, and has strong

opinions to express.

As to the statements’ public context, Ms. Kellogg has

gone to the authorities and to the media seeking any avenue

of resolution to, what was to her mind, an unsolved murder

case. The statements must be considered in this context.

Defendants were simply reporting Ms. Kellogg’s opinion.

In utilizing the above rationale, the Court concludes that

the following statements are opinion, thereby not actionable

defamation, and dismissed for failure to state a claim upon

which relief can be granted:

E-14

D3, D4, D5, D6, D22, D23, D24, F2, F3, H2, H3, H8, II, K4,

K5, K6, k12, M1, M4, M5 (see also, search warrant discussion

supra), Nl, 04, 05, ’ 07, Pl, P, P5, PG, Ql, Q3, . Q8,

, Q10, RI, R4, R5, RG, RS, R11 (also true), Sl, TI, T4, T5,

T6, T7, 718, 719, 720, Z4, 218.

In addition, although the following statements related to

the actionalbe defamatory statements, they are opinion,

and therefore excluded:

Q6, R2, R3, R7, NM, R10, T2, T18, T13.

F) While the Cowrvis of the opinion that the vast majority

of the statements alleged by the plaintiff to be defamatory

are, indeed, not defamatory, there are a number of

statements that appear to be capable of defamatory

meaning, and thereby remain for jury determination. See,

Utecht v. Shopko Dept. Store, 324 N.W.2d 652 (Minn. 1982).

The factual setting of the statements that are capable of

defamatory meaning involve the allegations that plaintiff

telephoned the Medical Examiner, Dr. McGee, requesting

that McGee not change the designation of cause of death

from undetermined to homicide.

Count C1 states:

“The Ramsey County Medical Examiner’s office

[Dr. McGee] officials say they were told not to

change the death certificate from accident ot murder

by Foley.”

Here, quite clearly, the language indentified plaintiff. It

may be false is the truth was that the officials asked that the

designation remain undetermined pending further

investigation. In addition, this Court is unaware of

information that plaintiff was perscnally aware of the

interaction with Dr. McGee. Although defendant observes

that the designation of undetermined or homicide is not

essential or of legal effect to a prosecution, nevertheless,

these statements are capable of a defamatory meaning. The

defamatory meaning is that plaintiff personally requested

Dr. McGee not to change the designation of cause of death

os that plaintiff would not have to prosecute a homicide

where the suspect was a monetary contributor to plaintiff's

reelection campaign. In effect, a listener could conclude that

E-15

8

the statement was — Foley was misusing the power of his

office to obstruct a murder investigation. This is clearly

capable of a defamatory meaning.

As it is this Court’s role at this juncture to merely

determine whether statements are capable of defamatory

meaning, it is the Court’s opinion that the following

statements are worthy of resolution by the trier of fact:

C1, D7, D8, D9, D10, D19, H9, M2, M3, Ol, O2, P3, PA, T14,

T15, T16, T17.

G) Lastly, plaintiff has alleged in Counts U-Z3 and Z5-

Z17 allegations of defamatory content as articulated by

various media in the Twin Cities area. Plaintiff alleges that

these publications are, in fact, republications of defamatory

content.

It is the opinion of this Court that, as defendants astutely

point out, for the most part these are not republications but

rather are commentary by local media on a controversy in

wich the plaintiff was clearly a participant. None of the

numerous sources cited by plaintiff as republication are

named as a defendant.

VIII.

CONCLUSION

The allegedly libelous statements in this litigation appear

in a series of broadcasts that comment on important

political events. It should be noted that the television

programs under consideration involve various kinds of

information and stimuli. It is not every commun‘cation,

verbal or nonverbal, audio or visual, that is subject to the

test or evaluation to determine if defamation occurred.

Rather, the law requires a statement of fact. Otherwise, the

Court would, in effect, impose on defendant an obligation to

be prepared to substantiate the truth and accuracy of each

and every opinion and comment; a task not only elusive but

impossible. The net result would not only have a chilling

effect on freedom of the press, but it would emasculate the

media’s effectiveness in its role to examine and comment on

the very fabric of life in America, especially with respect to

E-16

the role of government and that of the so-called public

servant.

The plaintiff in this litigation is a public servant; he is a

public official. His views and acts must remain open to a

wide range of commentary and criticism, protected from

even the slightest degree of regulation. Sharon v. Time, Inc.,

575 F.Supp. 1162 at 1167 (1983). Given that plaintiff is a

public official, he must prove that the allegedly defamatory

statements were made with actual malice. Absent actual

malice, it is properly thought that battles over what was

true and not true could and should be waged in the media

rather than in the courts, and that the public rather than a

jury would render the final verdict. Schiavone Const. Co. v.

Time, Inc., 619 F.Supp. 684 (D.C.N.J. 1985).

As the Court in Schiavone notes:

This action may result in a verdict favorable to the

plaintiffs’ but is may also, along with other

defamation cases, result in a timorous and tentative

press content to preport on births, weddings, deaths,

and craft fairs. While it is essential to protect the

individuals from a powerful media which can destroy

reputations forever through abuse of that power, the

greater danger lies in the destruction of the

independence of the media itself.

Schiavone at 170.

This case cries out for an historical recitation of freedom

of the press. From the rallying cry of freedom in Tom

Paine’s invigorating Common Sense to the nauseating bile

of Larry Flynt’s Hustler, this country has long held as its

banner the nation of a free, unfettered and vital, open

media.

While there is an obvious inherent tension between the

press and those they seek to take to task, our country has a

long history of support for public airing of controversy and

criticism. It is, indeed, a cornerstone of our democracy.

As has been noted, this is a classic case of media criticism

or investigation of a public official. Although public officials

are not fair game for untruthful, malicious, derogatory

attacks, they are appropriately subject to evaluation,

E-17

investigation and criticism. Accordingly, none of us in

public office are removed or immune from media attention,

which may be unfair and may sometimes offend our

sensibilities. Although this type of broadcast is presented as

“hard news,” they have a custom of more colorful, even

irascible language, than do traditional news media. High

spirited presentation if increasingly the norm, especially in

areas of controversy involving public officials. It is the

crucible of public debate that will test the validity of this

type of presentation; it is not the Court’s province to intrude

into the manner of presentation chosen by the free media.

In a free society, that choice is appropriately, if not

essentially, left to open, bold debate.

While plaintiff has taken umbrage at the manner and

tone in which the broadcasts were presented, the law is such

that courts are averse to intruding on matters of editorial

judgment.

Not only are venial shortcomings such as pomposity and

boastfulness subject to analysis, but investigation and

evaluation of performance in office is warranted and a

protected right.

As per the foregoing discussion, the counts enumerated in

this memorandum are dismissed for failure to state a claim

upon hich relief can be granted. Conversely, those claims

articulated under the banner of the fact situation involving

the allegations of plaintiff requesting the Medical Examiner

not to change the cause of death designation, as enumerated

in this memorandum, are capable of defamatory meaning

and therefore actionable.

Per this memorandum and order, the Court orders the

parties to hold a rule 2.02 conference with respect to

discovery in the remaining disputes.

LET THIS MEMORANDUM BE MADE PART OF THE

FOREGOING ORDER.

RG. S.

E- 18

APPENDIX F

STATE OF MINNESOTA

COUNTY OF HENNEPIN

DISTRICT COURT

FOURTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT

TOM FOLEY,

Plaintiff,

vs.

WCCO T. V., Inc., a corporation,

STEVE ECKERT, and

JOHN LINDSAY,

Defendants.

ORDER FOR JUDGMENT

File No. 87-4560

Plaintiff's motion for reconsideration of the Court’s order

of January 20, 1989, was submitted to the Court upon

Patrick J. Foley, Esq., represented plaintiff. Paul Hannah,

Esq., represented defendants.

Based upon all the files, records and proceedings herein,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED:

That plaintiffs motion for reconsideration is, in all

respects, denied.

ORDER FOR JUDGMENT

IT TT HEREBY ORDERED:

That defendants have judgment on plaintiff's complaint,

together with their costs and disbursements herein.

LET JUDGMENT BE ENTERED ACCORDINGLY.

F. I

BY THE COURT

Dated:

April 5, 1989 Robert G. Schiefelbein

MEMORANDUM

This Court has reconsidered its January 20, 1989, order

dismissing plaintiffs complaint and has reviewed the

submissions of the parties. Not surprisingly, the parties

have reiterated the same respective positions which they

have maintained essentially since this case commenced.

This case is the classic coufrontation between the

reputation of an individual, his most prized possession, and

freedom of the press, the free, frank and informed discussion

by the public of issues, ideas and criticism, a right in scope

peculiar to our nation.

Although this Court remains unconvinced of any

inappropriate behavior of Mr. Foley, the law does not stifle

criticism of public officials nor terminate investigative

reporting merely on the basis of an individual opinion or

denial of wrongdoing by the person who is the focus of the

inquiry.

Accordinginly, the decision of this Court remains

unchanged. The Court would, however, specifially invite

any reviewing authority not to limit inquiry to appellate

briefs but, as this Court has done, review each submission of

the parties, including the many briefs, pleadings,

depositions, affidavits and other documents in order to gain

a full appreciation of the issues confronting this Court and

the manner in which this litigation has progressed.

LET THIS MEMORANDUM BE MADE PART OF THE

FOREGOING ORDER.

RG. S.

F. 2

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.