Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Kaufman v. City of New York

Supreme Court brief1990

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. iF Supreme Court, U.S.

EEE D

=

IN THE MAR 8 990

Supreme Court of the Hnitey Brags wR.

OctrosBer TERM, 1989

MELVYN KAUFMAN, 77 WATER STREET, INC., 77

WATER STREET ASSOCIATES, 127 JOHN STREET

FEE ASSOCIATES, 127 JOHN STREET ASSOCIATES,

437 MADISON AVENUE FEE ASSOCIATES, and

437 MADISON AVENUE ASSOCIATES,

Petitioners,

— against —

THE CITY OF NEW YORK, THE ENVIRONMENTAL

CONTROL BOARD OF THE CITY OF NEW YORK,

EDWARD I. KOCH, in his capacity as Mayor of the City

of New York, HARVEY W. SCHULTZ, in his capacity as

Commissioner of the Department of Environmental Protection,

and CHARLES M. SMITH, JR., in his capacity as

Commissioner of the Department of Buildings,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

MILTON S. GouLpD

Counsel of Record

SHEA & GOULD

1251 Avenue of the Americas

New York, New York 10020

(212) 827-3000

Attorneys for Petitioners

March 6, 1990

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Does a local law which requires petitioners to close their

buildings and spend $50 million in order to remove a substance

originally put in the buildings to comply with prior government

mandates effect a taking of said private property?

2. Does this Court only recognize two types of takings:

physical takings and regulatory takings, or should takings cases

be analyzed on an ad hoc basis?

3. Are petitioners required to establish the elements previous-

ly set out in regulatory takings cases where the local law in ques-

tion has economically harsh retroactive effects and is therefore

materially different from the prospective land-use regulations

which were challenged in the regulatory takings cases?

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

The parties to the proceeding are set forth in the caption of

the case.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW...... i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING ............ i

pe Fe iy 8 yy |: Vv

a 2

ee tub ak ae sana sak sacs wasn 2

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED.................. 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ................. 3

OE er 6

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page

A.A. Profiles, Inc. v. City of Fort Lauderdale,

850 F.2d 1483 (11th Cir. 1988), cert. denied,

ee Pe ey eee 10

Agins v. City of Tiburon, 447 U.S. 255 (1980) ... 8

G.T. Scott v. Greenville County, 716 F.2d 1409

ee en eee er re 10

Kaiser Aetna v. United States, 444 U.S. 164

rey peer mn ry yee ore 6, 9, 12,

13

Loretto v. Teleprompter Manhattan CATV

Corp., 458 U.S. 419 (1982) .................. 12, 13

Penn Central Transportation Co. v. City of New

York, 438 U.S. 104, reh’g denied, 439 U.S. 883

eee eer fae oe cay” 7, 10,

11, 15

Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon, 260 U.S. 393

CE <8 nwo cweewenscuueeneeeGanesaieewaues 15

Ruckelshaus v. Monsanto Co., 467 U.S. 986

| ee er rnin roy 6, 9

United States v. Causby, 328 U.S. 256 (1946) .... 13

Wheeler v. City of Pleasant Grove, 664 F.2d 99

(Sth Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 456 U.S. 973

Raa nEIPE TERME ee Bhan AT eno, Gr ein 9

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions

Fifth Amendment to the United States

28 U.S.C.

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure 12(b)(6)

N.Y. City Local Law 76 of 1985 .......

TABLE OF CONTENTS

APPENDIX

OPINION OF THE UNITED STATES COURT

OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT,

DATED DECEMBER 8, 1989 (891 F.2d 446). .

OPINION OF THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT FOR THE SOUTHERN

DISTRICT OF NEW YORK, DATED MAY

oe Fog | 6 Ure eee

COMPLAINT, DATED JULY 21, 1988 .........

AFFIDAVIT OF ROBERT KAUFMAN IN

OPPOSITION TO MOTION TO DISMISS,

DATED OCTOBER 28, 1988................

FIFTH AMENDMENT TO THE

I Sc acc cede havidasdiancannt

LOCAL LAW 76 OF THE CITY OF NEW

YORK FOR THE YEAR 1985 ...............

Page

A-44

A-47

A-48

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OctrosBer TERM, 1989

MELVYN KAUFMAN, 77 WATER STREET, INC., 77

WATER STREET ASSCCIATES, 127 JOHN STREET

FEE ASSOCIATES, 127 JOHN STREET ASSOCIATES,

437 MADISON AVENUE FEE ASSOCIATES, and

437 MADISON AVENUE ASSOCIATES,

Petitioners,

— against —

THE CITY OF NEW YORK, THE ENVIRONMENTAL

CONTROL BOARD OF THE CITY OF NEW YORK,

EDWARD I. KOCH, in his capacity as Mayor of the City

of New York, HARVEY W. SCHULTZ, in his capacity as

Commissioner of the Department of Environmental Protection,

and CHARLES M. SMITH, JR., in his capacity as

Commissioner of the Department of Buildings,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

Petitioners respectfully request that a writ of certiorari be issued

to review the decision of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Second Circuit, dated December 8, 1989, which affirmed

a final judgment of the United States District Court for the

Southern District of New York. The District Court dismissed

petitioners’ federal constitutional claims pursuant to Fed. R. Civ.

P. 12(b)(6) and dismissed petitioners’ pendent state law claims

for lack of subject matter jurisdiction.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Circuit Court of Appeals, dated December

8, 1989, and reported at 89] F.2d 446, appears in the Appendix

hereto at pages A-1-A-4. The opinion of the District Court, dated

May 24, 1989, and reported at 717 F. Supp. 84, is set forth at

pages A-5-A-26.

JURISDICTION

The decision of the Court of Appeals was made and entered

on December 8, 1989. This Court has jurisdiction to review the

decision of the Court of Appeals by writ of certiorari pursuant

to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Complaint alleges that petitioners’ property was taken

by respondents without just compensation in violation of the

Fifth Amendment to the Constitution of the United States’ This

constitutional violation was caused by the enactment of New

York City Local Law 76 of 1985 and its application to three of-

fice buildings previously constructed by petitioners.

These provisions of the Constitution and the Local Law are

set forth at pages A-47-A-58 of the Appendix.

' The Complaint contains other causes of action, which are not at issue in

this petition.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This is case of first impression in which petitioners, the holders

of fee or leasehold interests in three Manhattan office buildings,

are challenging the constitutionality of New York City Local

76 of 1985 (the “Local Law”) and the regulations purportedly

promulgated pursuant thereto (the “Regulations”). The Local

Law and Regulations mandate costly removal and/or encapsula-

tion of asbestos which petitioners originally put in their buildings

at respondents’ direction. The Local Law and the Regulations

place the entire financial burden associated with correcting the

prior governmental error on petitioners and other private

property owners. Complaint, { 20, at A-30.

The governmental error derives from prior regulations in effect

from 1958-1972. At that time, the City of New York (the “City”)

required petitioners herein and other builders of large office

buildings to fireproof such buildings as they were being con-

structed. The City expressly limited the types of materials which

could be used for this required fireproofing to asbestos and

cementitious material. Between 1968 and 1971, petitioners con-

structed the three office buildings at issue here. Petitioners us-

ed asbestos, as required by the City, to comply with the City’s

rigid fireproofing mandates in existence at the time the buildings

were being constructed.

Apparently at the same time that these buildings were under

construction, however, the City was already preparing to reverse

itself and prospectively prohibit the use of asbestos in new con-

struction. In late 1971, the City imposed such a prospective ban,

effective February 1972. Thus, the City, in all probability’, had

? By virtue of the dismissal of their complaint by the District Court, petitioners

have been unabie to take any discovery to establish when the City first con-

sidered a ban on asbestos; however, one of the three buildings at issue here,

127 John Street, was being built in 1971, and in late 1971, the City issued its

ban on asbestos, a ban which, petitioners submit, was not decided upon

overnight.

been considering a ban on asbestos during the very same years

(1968-1971) it was requiring petitioners to spend millions of

dollars to use asbestos in the three buildings at issue here.

In 1985, the City changed course for a second time. In that

year, the City passed Local Law 76 which, together with the

Regulations promulgated pursuant thereto, has required, and

will in the future require, petitioners to spend millions of dollars

and to close portions of their buildings in order to remove or

encapsulate the asbestos which petitioners originally installed

pursuant to the City’s prior mandates. The City, in the pro-

ceedings below, submitted no proof that it enacted Local Law

76 in 1985 based on new information not available to it in

1968-1972. Thus, Local Law 76 was nothing more than an ar-

bitrary act of political expediency, at the expense of a group of

building owners, such as petitioners, who were unlucky enough

to have complied with prior City edicts.

By the time the asbestos work is finished, every floor of each

building at issue will have been closed for significant periods

of time to allow for the City-mandated removal or encapsula-

tion of the asbestos. Petitioners will effectively have to close the

entire three buildings to undo the City’s mistake.

This remedial work will not only physically obstruct peti-

tioners’ use of the buildings, but it will also cost petitioners ap-

proximately $50 million, an amount equal to approximately 50

percent of the assessed values of the three buildings.’ .

> Since the statutory and regulatory scheme at issue went into effect, peti-

tioners have had to close portions of the three buildings at issue here for a

combined total of approximately 1,200 days and spend $8,494,536, solely to

remove or encapsulate the asbestos that the City required and approved. In

addition, petitioners have already lost $1,569,033 in rent due to the building

closings. Complaint, 44 35-37, at A-35-A-36; Affidavit of Robert Kaufman

in Opposition to Motion to Dismiss, { 2, at A-44. Petitioners will continue

to be injured by the challenged law and regulations since asbestos remains

on other floors in the three office buildings at issue. Complaint, 44 35-37,

(Footnote continued)

On July 22, 1988, petitioners commenced this action by fil-

ing the Complaint (A-27-A-43). In the complaint, petitioners

asserted that the Local Law and Regulations violated the tak-

ings and due process clauses of the United States and New York

State constitutions, and asserted other causes of action under

New York State law. The basis for subject matter jurisdiction

was 28 U.S.C. § 1331. By Notice of Motion dated September 9,

1988, respondents moved to dismiss the complaint for failure

to state a claim upon which relief can be granted. On May 24,

1989, the District Court for the Southern District of New York

dismissed the federal takings and due process claims for failure

to state a claim. A-5-A-26. The District Court also dismissed the

state law claims for lack of subject matter jurisdiction.

Petitioners appealed to the Court of Appeals for the Second

Circuit, which affirmed the judgment of the District Court. The

Court of Appeals, in its decision, adopted the opinion of the

District Court, writing that:

In light of the careful and comprehensive opinion of

the district judge, we see no reason for unnecessarily

adding to the pages of the Federal Reporter, 2d Series,

and we affirm substantially for the reasons given in

the judge's opinion.

891 F.2d at 447, at A-4.

The writ of certiorari should be granted because this case

presents novel questions of takings jurisprudence which have

enormous constitutional implications. New York City, believ-

ing that it can do whatever it wants whenever it wants at no

cost to itself, has required petitioners to pay the full and substan-

tial cost of correcting a prior City error. By endorsing the City’s

cavalier actions, the courts below decided federal questions in

ways which conflict with applicable decisions of this Court.

at A-35-A-36. Petitioners will be required to close their buildings for a com-

bined total of approximately 3,450 days and spend $32,354,696 to remove the

remaining asbestos. Complaint 44 35-37, at A-35-A-36; Kaufman Affidavit,

q 3, at A-45. The future asbestos-related building closings will cost plaintiffs

an estimated $8,445,360 in lost rent. Complaint, {4 35-37, at A-35-A-36.

ARGUMENT

Petitioners argued below that the City’s actions effected an

unconstitutional taking of private property because the actions

have caused, and will continue to cause, temporary physical oc-

cupations of petitioners’ property, and at the same time have

inflicted, and will continue to inflict, major economic injuries

on petitioners.

Thus, petitioners put forth a takings claim which does not

fit neatly into the purely “physical” or purely “regulatory”

categories of takings. The instant takings claim contains both

physical and non-physical elements. Further, another key com-

ponent of petitioners’ takings claim is that petitioners must

undergo the aforesaid physical occupation and pay the huge costs

required to remove the asbestos in order to correct a prior City

error which caused the petitioners to put the asbestos in their

buildings in the first place.

The courts below ruled in essence that even though petitioners

put asbestos in their buildings because of prior governmental

edicts, petitioners could not challenge the City’s 1985 decision

to compel petitioners to spend $50 million to correct the prior

City error which required them to use the asbestos. This was

so, the courts held, notwithstanding the fact that (a) the City

apparently acted in 1985 to require the removal of the asbestos

on the very same information it had in 1968-1971, when it

directed the use of the asbestos in petitioners’ buildings, and

(b) the City apparently mandated use of the asbestos while it

knew it was planning to ban its use. Now, the City is requiring

petitioners to allow their premises tq be occupied and to pay

the huge costs of removing the asbestos which was put in at the

direction of the City apparently at the very time the City was

considering banning its use.

Petitioners argued below that their reliance on prior govern-

mental directives was indeed relevant to takings analysis under

the Supreme Court rulings in Kaiser Aetna v. United States, 444

U.S. 164 (1979), and Ruckelshaus v. Monsanto Co., 467 U.S. 986

(1984). Petitioners also contended that their takings claim should

be analyzed on an “ad hoc” basis, and should not be limited

to an analysis under this Court’s “regulatory takings” doctrine,

because, as this Court has held, there is no “set formula” for

the analysis of takings cases. Penn Central Transportation Co.

v. City of New York, 438 U.S. 104, 124, reh’g denied, 439 U.S.

883 (1978). .

The Courts below rejected both of these critical arguments

by petitioners. On the first question, reliance on prior City edicts

directing the use of asbestos, the District Court held:

Contrary to plaintiffs’ suggestion, compliance with

the City’s prior fireproofing requirements does not

remove this case from the established case law regard-

ing the government’s ability to restrict use of property

for the public benefit.

District Court Opinion, at A-24. The Second Circuit, by adop-

ting the District Court’s opinion, created a conflict between the

circuits, and between itself and this Court, on the relevance of

reliance on prior governmental directives in takings analysis.

See pp. 8-10, infra.

On the second question, whether the instant case was simp-

ly a “regulatory takings” case, the District Court held that the

Local Law at issue here is no more than “a regulation on the

use of property,” A-21, even though the Local Law at issue here

does not simply prohibit future uses of property, as in the typical

regulatory takings case, but instead imposes costly retroactive

obligations on petitioners who must spend millions of dollars

to remove asbestos in order to be able to continue to use their

buildings as intended. Accordingly, the District Court and Court

of Appeals held that petitioners were handcuffed by the

regulatory takings doctrine which was established in cases in-

volving prospective zoning and land-use regulations, which doc-

trine forces property owners to show they can make no

economically viable use of their land under the challenged land-

use or zoning regulation. The instant action is simply not a land-

use or zoning case. By forcing petitioners to prove a takings claim

using this inapposite line of cases, the lower courts improperly

expanded and misapplied the doctrine of those prospective land-

use cases beyond what was intended by this Court, and also ig-

nored this Court’s teachings that taking cases are “ad hoc” and

are not to be analyzed under any “set formula.” Penn Central,

supra, 438 U.S. at 124.

In the instant suit, the City’s actions go far beyond a tradi-

tional regulatory takings case involving a challenge to a pro-

spective land-use or zoning law. When the character of the

governmental action is a land-use or zoning law, merely pro-

hibiting certain potential uses of a property in the future, there

will be a “taking” only if the property owner is denied all

“economically viable” use of his property. Agins v. City of

Tiburon, 447 U.S. 255 (1980). Petitioners never alleged that they

were denied all “economically viable” use of their property. Peti-

tioners have alleged, however, that the Local Law will impose

a severe, $50 million, financial burden on them. Further, this

burden is retroactive, not prospective, as it is in the regulatory

takings cases, since here petitioner must undertake the burden

of removing or encapsulating the asbestos, a burden which is

particularly inequitable because the City is solely to blame for

the presence of the substance it now demands petitioners remove

or encapsulate.

Research reveals no reported cases where the courts have held

that such retroactive legislation by a state or municipal authority

must be challenged under the regulatory takings doctrine. Thus,

in the instant case, petitioners should not be required to prove

the complete destruction of their real property, since the in-

terference by the City with their property rights is decidedly

more pronounced than in a routine, wholly prospective, land

use Or zoning case.

This is particularly true because this Court has made it clear

that reliance on prior governmental actions is relevant in con-

stitutional takings analysis, a point ignored by the courts below.

The District Court wrote simply that “compliance with the City’s

prior fireproofing requirements does not remove this case from

the established case law regarding the government's ability to

restrict the use of pruperty for the public benefit.” District Court

Opinion, at A-24. By so ruling, the court ignored the holdings

of this Court and other courts of appeals that reliance by the

property owner on prior governmental acts is without question

relevant to takings analysis.

In Kaiser Aetna v. United States, supra, 444 U.S. at 178-179,

this Court expressly held that one factor in its finding that there

was a taking was prior conduct by government on which the

property owner relied. Moreover, in Kaiser Aetna this Court

decided in favor of a property owner who was relying on the

mere acquiescence or implied consent of the government. Here,

on the other hand, petitioners relied on the prior affirmative

requirements of New York City to install asbestos as a fireproof-

ing material. Likewise, in Ruckelshaus v. Monsanto Co., 467

U.S. 986, 1011 (1984), this Court held in a takings case that an

“explicit governmental guarantee formed the basis of a

reasonable investment-backed expectation.”

Courts of Appeals in other circuits have also held reliance on

prior governmental decisions to be highly relevant in the analysis

of takings claims. Wheeler v. City of Pleasant Grove, 664 F.2d

99 (5th Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 456 U.S. 973 (1982), was one

such case. In Wheeler, the local government granted a building

permit for an apartment complex to the plaintiffs. As the Court

observed, “in reliance on the permit, the plaintiffs initiated

preparatory work.” 664 F.2d at 100. Following a public “uproar”

about the granting of the permit, the city passed a new or-

dinance, “which forbade the construction of new apartments.

The city then prohibited the plaintiffs from proceeding with

construction.” Id.

The Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals, affirming the District

Court’s finding that a taking had occurred, wrote that “if a

regulatory undertaking is confiscatory in nature, it is a taking.”

Id. Significantly, the Wheeler Court distinguished this issue from

the separate question of whether “the city’s purpose in enac-

ting the measure was ... rational.” In other words, an other-

wise proper and rational governmental action could still be a

10

taking because of its retroactive effect on property owners who

relied on prior governmental actions. Jd.

The Fourth Circuit has also endorsed the Wheeler “con-

fiscatory taking” doctrine. See G.T. Scott v. Greenville Coun-

ty, 716 F.2d 1409, 1421 (4th Cir. 1983). And in a recent case,

A.A. Profiles, Inc. v. City of Fort Lauderdale, 850 F.2d 1483

(llth Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 109 S. Ct. 1743 (1989), the Eleventh

Circuit reaffirmed the Wheeler rule. Therefore, the District

Court and Second Circuit decisions in the instant case, which

summarily rejected petitioners’ argument that they relied on

prior government edicts, stand in conflict with rulings of this

Court and other courts of appeals. The writ of certiorari should

therefore be issued so that this Court can settle this conflict.

Further, in ruling that petitioners could not assert a taking

other than a pure “physical” or pure “regulatory” taking, the

Court of Appeals acted contrary to the long-established man-

date of this Court that all takings cases are ad hoc, and, therefore,

there are not simply two neat and distinct categories of takings.

Indeed, rather than separate the physical and non-physical

aspects of the Local Law, as the District Court did in its analysis,

the courts below should have combined and analyzed as a whole

all of the intrusive aspects of the Local Law and thereby con-

sidered this complaint as a whole on an “ad hoc” basis. This

is so because, as this Court has held:

[W]e have frequently observed that whether a par-

ticular restriction will be rendered invalid by the

government's failure to pay for any losses proximate-

ly caused by it depends largely ‘upon the particular

circumstances [in that] case.’

Penn Central, 438 U.S. at 124. This Court has never held that

only some relevant factors should be considered in takings

analysis, in isolation from the other factors involved. Here, the

District Court ruled that there was no pure “physical” taking

and no pure “regulatory” taking (see District Court Opinion,

at A-21-A-24) and the Court refused to combine the physical and

non-physical effects of the Local Law and Regulations.

1]

Petitioners claim that there was indeed a taking, given the im-

pact of all the relevant factors, including that the petitioners

are being required to pay the cost of correcting a prior govern-

ment error.

At no time has this Court held that there are only two distinct

types of takings — physical and regulatory. And at no time has

this Court held that if one aspect of a law’s impact is not suffi-

cient in and of itself to constitute a taking, then that aspect

should be completely ignored and discarded when considering

the effect of other aspects. The District Court did that here by

dismissing completely the physical impact of the Local Law on

petitioners’ property. Rather, the Supreme Court has recognized

that takings analysis is always “ad hoc [and] factual.” Penn Cen-

tral, at 124.

This Court has expressly stated that it has developed no “ ‘set

formula’ for determining when ‘justice and fairness’ require that

economic injuries caused by public action be compensated by

the government, rather than remain disproportionately concen-

trated on a few persons.” Penn Central, 438 U.S. at 124. Noting

that takings inquiries are “essentially ad hoc [and] factual,” this

Court has stressed that several factors are of “particular

significance” to takings analysis. Id. at 124. Specifically, this

Court has stated:

The economic impact of the regulation on the clai-

mant and, particularly, the extent to which the regula-

tion has interfered with distinct investment-backed

expectations are, of course, relevant considerations .. .

[s]o too is the character of the governmental action.

Id.

The courts below gave short shrift to the Local Law’s impact

on petitioners’ “distinct investment-backed expectations,” a factor

identified by this Court in Penn Central to be of “particular

significance” in takings cases. 438 U.S. at 124. When petitioners

constructed the three large urban office buildings at issue, they

did not expect to have to seal off the buildings and pay millions

12

of dollars to remove a major construction material used at the

City’s direction. See Complaint, 4 31-33; A-34-A-35. The Local

Law, therefore, directly and drastically interferes with peti-

tioners’ distinct investment-backed expectations.

In addition to (1) the oppressive financial burdens inflicted

on the petitioners by the City, (2) the interference with peti-

tioners’ distinct investment-backed expectations, and (3) the

reliance on prior City requirements, which were ignored by the

courts below, there is an additional factor — physical in-

terference with the property — weighing in petitioners’ favor

and distinguishing this case from a routine “regulatory” taking.

The Local Law and Regulations physically interfere with peti-

tioners’ use of their properties in two ways. First, the Law and

Regulations affirmatively require petitioners to seal off and close

portions of their buildings for long periods of time in order to

remove or encapsulate asbestos. Second, the Law and Regula-

tions force petitioners to turn over control of their buildings

(while undergoing asbestos treatment) to a group of City-

certified asbestos treatment workers. Petitioners, thus, are forced

to submit to the occupation of their buildings for extended

periods of time by outside parties licensed by the City. The in-

stant case therefore involves a physical interference with plain-

tiffs’ buildings, along with the additional major, inequitable

financial penalties imposed on petitioners, all to rectify prior

mistakes by the City in requiring the use of asbestos.

It makes no difference under this Court’s rulings whether

government agents themselves are padlocking the doors, whether

third parties (such as asbestos contractors) are doing the physical

taking, or whether the property owner himself is closing the

building under orders from the government. Loretto v.

Teleprompter Manhattan CATV Corp., 458 U.S. 419 (1982);

Kaiser Aetna, 444 U.S. at 164. The key inquiry is whether there

is a government-mandated physical interference with the owner's

use of his property, and there is such government-mandated

physical interference here. As this Court stated in Loretto:

13

A permanent physical occupation authorized by state

law is a taking without regard to whether the State

. is the occupant.

458 U.S. at 433, n.9. In Loretto, the Court held that there was

a taking where the state ordered certain building owners to allow

private cable television companies to install cables on the

buildings. It was irrelevant that it was not government or the

public at large physically invading the property.

In Kaiser Aetna, supra, where government, by statute, mere-

ly authorized members of the public to use a private entity’s

waterway, the Court held that there was governmental action

“far beyond ordinary regulation,” “an actual physical invasion,”

and a taking. Kaiser Aetna, supra. In Kaiser Aetna, the Court

held that governmental action which required a property owner

to allow the public to use its private marina was indeed a govern-

mental taking.

The constitutional irrelevancy of the identity of the persons

who actually carry out the physical interference with the pro-

perty owner’s use is directly related to the doctrine that courts

should focus “on the owner’s loss, not the taker’s gain,” when

analyzing takings claims. United States v. Causby, 328 U.S. 256,

261 (1946). Thus, the constitutional taking is the obstruction to

the property owner, caused by some governmental action. This

action by government can be the simple passage of a statute,

and there need not be actua! physical intrusion by government

agents themselves. Loretto; Kaiser Aetna. In the instant action

there is actual physical intrusion by asbestos contractors licens-

ed by the City, whose presence is required by City statute to

remove the asbestos which the City required to be put into the

private property in the first place.

Moreover, this Court has held that “a permanent physical oc-

cupation authorized by government is a taking without regard

to the public interests that it may serve.” Loretto, 458 U.S. at

426. The courts below erroneously ruled that there was no tak-

ing of petitioners’ property. In so ruling, these lower courts

14

decided an important question of federal law in a way which

conflicts with applicable decisions of this Court. Surely, govern-

ment cannot in effect dump an allegedly hazardous substance

on private property and later force the property owner to seal

off the property and pay government-certified third parties to

remove the substance at a cost of $50 million. The prior City

mandate is solely to blame for the presence of asbestos on peti-

tioners’ properties; as a result, petitioners should not be forced

to seal off their properties and remove it, at a cost of $50 million,

without just compensation from the government.

15

CONCLUSION

Petitioners respectfully submit that this Court should take

heed of its long-established holding that “while property may

be regulated to a certain extent, if regulation goes too far it will

be recognized as a taking.” Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon,

260 U.S. 393 (1922). Here, the Local Law has “gone too far”

by forcing the property owner to incur substantial expenses to

undo a City error and by physically interfering with the use and

enjoyment of the buildings. Since takings analysis must be “ad

hoc [and] factual,” Penn Central, supra, at 124, the courts below

gave petitioners short shrift and ignored the mandates of this

Court. This Court should issue a writ of certiorari and address

the broad questions about governmental power and private pro-

perty rights raised herein. Otherwise, the doctrine of law ap-

plicable to regulations on prospective land development will have

been successfully expanded to punish innocent property owners

who have suffered the misfortune of having fully and faithfully

complied with prior, ill-founded, governmental edicts.

Respectfully submitted,

Mitton S. GouLp

SHEA & GOULD

Attorneys for Petitioners

1251 Avenue of the Americas

New York, New York 10020

Telephone: (212) 827-3000

Of Counsel:

RosBert J. Warp

JONATHAN M. LANDSMAN

APPENDIX

A-l

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

No. 339 August Term 1989

Argued: November 13, 1989 Decided: December 8, 1989

Docket No. 89-7621

MELVYN KAUFMAN, et al.,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

- against -

THE CITY OF NEW YORK, et al.,

Defendants-Appellees.

Before: FEINBERG and MESKILL, Circuit Judges, and

COFFRIN, District Judge.*

Appeal from judgment of the United States District Court

for the Southern District of New York, Robert J. Ward, J., grant-

ing defendants-appellees’ motion to dismiss federal constitutional

claims and dismissing pendent state law claims.

Affirmed.

* Honorable Albert W. Coffrin, Senior United States District Judge for the

District of Vermont, sitting by designation.

titrant

A-2

MILTON S. GOULD, New York, NY

(Shea & Gould, Robert J. Ward,

Jonathan M. Landsman, of Counsel),

for Plaintiffs-Appellants.

ELIZABETH S. NATRELLA, New York,

NY, Assistant Corporation

Counsel of the City of New

York (Peter L. Zimroth,

Corporation Counsel of the

City of New York, Pamela

Seider Dolgow, Assistant

Corporation Counsel, Julian

Bazel, Assistant Corporation

Counsel, of Counsel), for

Defendants-Appellees.

PER CURIAM:

Plaintiffs-appellants, the holders of fee or leasehold interests

in three Manhattan office buildings, appeal from a judgment

of the United States District Court for the Southern District of

New York, Robert J. Ward, J., dismissing their complaint on the

motion of defendants-appellees City of New York, the En-

vironmental Control Board of the City of New York, Edward

I. Koch, in his capacity as Mayor of the City of New York, and

the Commissioners of the Department of Environmental Pro-

tection and the Department of Buildings. The district court

dismissed plaintiffs’ federal constitutional claims on the merits,

and their pendent state claims for lack of subject matter

jurisdiction.

Appellants challenge the constitutionality of New York City

Local Law No. 76 of 1985 and related regulations (Local Law

76). During 1968-1971, the period when the buildings in issue

‘ Local Law 76 was amended in December 1986 by Local Law No. 80 of 1986.

The main provisions of Local Law 76 as amended have been codified in the

Administrative Code §§ 24-]146.] and 27-198.1.

area tiiritineeneeenenniieiaeill

A-3

were constructed, appellants, in compliance with the city’s prior

fireproofing requirements, installed asbestos, which was then

one of two city-approved fireproofing materials. In 1971, the

City banned the use of sprayed asbestos in building construc-

tion, and in 1985 Local Law 76 as enacted. That law requires,

among other things, that the presence and condition of asbestos

be ascertained before any building alteration or demolition is

performed; that asbestos be removed or encapsulated if such

work will cause asbestos to become airborne; and that all

asbestos abatement activities be conducted in accordance with

approved safety procedures by people with appropriate train-

ing and certification. Local Law 76 does not require that

building owners remove asbestos that is undisturbed or that will

not be disturbed by alteration or demolition.

Appellants contend that the challenged law effects a

regulatory taking of their property without just compensation

by requiring them to pay the costs of the City’s past mistakes

and by rendering their office buildings unfit for their intended

purpose unless appellants incur very substantial expenses. In ad-

dition, appellants argue that Local Law 76 effects a physical

taking, by requiring them to seal off and close portions of their

buildings. Appellees reject the characterization of Local Law

76 as a physical taking, since the law only regulates the uses

to which appellants’ property can be put, and contend that the

regulatory taking claim also fails, since appellants’ have not

alleged that they are no longer able to operate their buildings

at a profit.

Appellants also argue that Local Law 76 (a) offends substan-

tive due process by retroactively requiring them to bear all of

the costs of removing asbestos originally installed at the City’s

direction, and (b) denies them procedural due process, because

of the improper delegation of governmental power to private

asbestos investigators, whose certifications determine whether

a project is subject to the requirements of Local Law 76, and

because of the absence of any provision for a hearing or appeal

from an adverse determination to a neutral governmental of-

ficer. With respect to the substantive due process claim, appellees

A.4

respond that the City can require property owners to comply

with new safety measures that are rationally related to its

legitimate interest in public health and safety, even where com-

pliance entails costly improvements to existing, lawfully con-

structed buildings. With respect to the procedural due process

claim, appellees maintain that state delegations of power do not

implicate federal constitutional concerns, and that appellants

have adequate administrative and judicial remedies, including

recourse to the state courts.

Judge Ward dealt with all of appellants’ constitutional! claims

in his opinion, which is reported at 717 F. Supp. 84. Appellants

raise other, less substantial, arguments, which we need not

discuss. We have considered them, and they are unpersuasive.

In light of the careful and comprehensive opinion of the district

judge, we see no reason for unnecessarily adding to the pages

of the Federal Reporter, 2d Series, and we affirm substantially

for the reasons given in the judge’s opinion.

Judgment affirmed.

A-5

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

CN EE x

MELVYN KAUFMAN, 77 WATER

STREET, INC., 77 WATER STREET

ASSOCIATES, 127 JOHN STREET FEE

ASSOCIATES, 127 JOHN STREET

ASSOCIATES, 437 MADISON AVENUE

FEE ASSOCIATES, and 437 MADISON

AVENUE ASSOCIATES,

Plaintiffs,

- against -

THE CITY OF NEW YORK, THE EN- : OPINION

VIRONMENTAL CONTROL BOARD OF

THE CITY OF NEW YORK, EDWARD I. : 88 Civ. 5124

KOCH, in his capacity as mayor of the (RJW)

City of New York, HARVEY W.

SCHULTZ, in his capacity as Commis-

sioner of the Department of Environmental

Protection, and CHARLES M. SMITH,

JR., in his capacity as Commissioner of the

Department of Buildings,

Defendants.

APPEARANCES

SHEA & GOULD

1251 Avenue of the Americas

New York, New York 10020

MILTON S. GOULD

ROBERT J. WARD

JONATHAN M. LANDSMAN

Of Counsel

A-6

Attorneys for Plaintiffs

CORPORATION COUNCIL FOR THE CITY OF NEW YORK

100 Church Street

New York, New York 10007

GABRIEL TAUSSIG

ALBERT G. FREDERICKS

JULIAN BASEL

Of Counsel

Attornevs for Defendants

WARD, District Judge.

Plaintiffs have challenged the laws and regulations enacted

and administered by defendants regarding asbestos removal or

encapsulation during building alteration, renovation, or demoli-

tion work on the grounds that these laws and regulations, inter

alsa. violate substantive due process, procedural due process and

constitute a taking without just compensation under the Fifth

and Fourteenth Amendments to the United States Constitution.

Plaintiffs also assert several pendent state law claims. Defen-

dants have moved to dismiss the federal claims in the complaint

pursuant to Rule 12(b)(6), Fed. R. Civ. P. and to dismiss the pen-

dent state claims for lack of subject matter jurisdiction under

Rule 12(b)(1), Fed. R. Civ. P. For the reasons that follow, the

motion is granted and the complaint is dismissed.

BACKGROUND

Plaintiffs are the holders of fee or leasehold interests in three

Manhattan office buildings built between 1968 and 1971. Defen-

dants include the City of New York (the “City”), the En-

vironmenta] Control Board of the City of New York, Mayor Ed-

ward I. Koch, and the Commissioners of the Department of En-

vironmental Protection (“DEP”) and the Department of

Buildings (“DOB”).

Tues vthice buildings are located at 77 Water Street, 437 Madison Avenue,

ot :

auc LZ jot: Street

A-7

The City requires new office buildings to contain fireproof.

ing material. Prior to 1971, asbestos-containing material, along

with cementitious material, were the two types of material ap-

proved by the New York City Board of Standards and Appeals

(“BSA”) for fireproofing in steel deck structural steel office

buildings, the type of buildings involved in this case. Plaintiffs

used asbestos-containing material in the construction of their

buildings in order to comply with the fireproofing requirements.

In 197], in response to the public health hazards associated with

airborne asbestos, the City banned the use of sprayed asbestos

in building construction, effective February 1972. Administrative

Code of the City of New York (“Administrative Code”)

§24-146(b).

In December 1985, the Council of the City of New York

enacted Local Law No. 76 of 1985 (“Local Law 767).* This law

amended the City Air Pollution Control Code to address the

public health hazards posed by airborne asbestos. The Deciara-

tion of Legislative Findings and Intent to Local Law 76 states:

[t]he council hereby finds that exposure to airborne

asbestos fibers and particles in the air has been linked

by reputable medical and scientific authorities to a

significant increase in the incidence of diseases sucn

as asbestosis, bronchogenic carcinoma, mesotheliom _

and other malignancies and that substantial amounts

of materials containing asbestos have been used in

buildings for fireproofing, insulation, soundproofing,

decorative and other purposes. The council further

finds that the predominant cause of asbestos becom-

ing airborne is due to the performance of building

renovation and demolition without adequate

adherance [sic] to procedures for safeguarding workers

and the general public a

* Local Law 76 was amended in December [986 bs Loca Law No. © or (S86.

The main provisions of Local Law 76 as amended have Deer codified in te

Administrative Code §§ 24-146.1 and 27-198.;

A-8

Local Law 76, § 1. Accordingly, Local Law 76 was designed

to provide a regulatory framework that would ensure building

alteration or demolition work would not cause asbestos to

become airborne and thereby threaten the public health.

Local Law 76 requires the presence and condition of asbestos

be ascertained before any building alteration, renovation or

demolition work is performed. If asbestos is found, it must either

be sealed in place or removed if the work would disturb it and

cause it to become airborne. The law also requires that all

asbestos abatement activities be conducted in accordance with

approved safety procedures and be performed by persons with

appropriate training and certification. The law does not require

the sealing or removal of any asbestos which is not being dis-

turbed or will not be disturbed by the alteration or demolition

work.

Pursuant to Local Law 76, before the DOB will approve any

plans for building alteration, renovation or demolition work,

the applicant must file either a certification prepared by an

“asbestos investigator” that the work to be performed will not

constitute an “asbestos project”, or submit an “asbestos inspec-

tion report” which sets forth the condition of the building in

relation to the presence and condition of asbestos. Administrative

Code §27-198.1(a).’

An asbestos investigator must be certified by the DEP as hav-

ing “satisfactorily demonstrated his or her ability to identify the

presence and evaluate the condition of asbestos in a building

and structure.” Administrative Code § 24-146.l(a)(3). An

* The DOB is empowered to examine and approve plans for the construction

and alteration of buildings and to require such work be performed in accor-

dance with other City laws and regulations. Charter of the City of New York

(City Charter”) §645(b)(1)-(2). An owner of a building is responsible for main-

taining the building in a safe condition and his or her authorization is re-

quired for DOB approval of any building alteration of demolition work. Ad-

ministrative Code §§ 27-128, 27-140, 27-142, 27-151. In addition, in order to

receive DOB approval for alteration or demolition work, the plans for such

work must be prepared by, or under the supervision of, a qualified profes-

sional. Administrative Code § 27-140.

OO ee |

A-9

“asbestos project” is defined as any work in connection with the

alteration, renovation, modification or demolition of a building

which will disturb more than two hundred sixty (260) linear

feet or one hundred sixty (160) square feet of friable asbestos

containing material, or lesser amounts which the DEP may

establish by regulation. Administrative Code §24-146.1(a)(8). The

law defines “asbestos-containing material” as asbestos or any

material containing more than one percent (1%) asbestos by

weight, and such material is defined as “friable” if it can be

“crumbled, pulverized or reduced to powder when dry, by hand

pressure”. Administrative Code §24-146.1(a)(4),(9).

Certification that the building work does not constitute an

asbestos project removes the work from the requirements of Local

Law 76. The asbestos inspection reports do not remove the

planned work from the regulatory scheme and need not be

prepared by an asbestos investigator.

The task of regulating asbestos abatement activities was

delegated by Local Law 76 to the DEP with directions to pro-

mulgate regulations regarding the health and safety of the public

and persons who work at or in the vicinity of an asbestos proj-

ect. Administrative Code §24.146.l(c). in March 1987, the DEP

adopted regulations implementing the requirements of Local

Law 76 concerning asbestos removal or encapsulation. These

regulations were subsequently amended in May and August 1987

and January and May 1988. DEP Regulations §§ 8000 et seq.

In December 1986, the DEP adopted regulations governing the

training and certification of asbestos investigators, asbestos

handlers, and asbestos handler supervisors. These regulations

were subsequently amended in January, June and August 1987

and May 1988. DEP Regulations §§8110-8146.

The DEP regulations regarding asbestos investigators provide

that an applicant must be either a professional engineer,

registered architect, certified industrial hygienist or safety pro-

fessional, graduate with a bachelor’s degree in engineering, ar-

chitecture, environmental health science or a related field or

an individual with extensive experience in asbestos investiga-

tion. DEP Regulations § 8140. In addition, the applicant must

EE

A-10

successfully complete a minimum course of instruction on

various aspects of asbestos. DEP Regulations §§ 8140, 8115.

Local Law 76 provides that owners, lessees and occupants of

premises are responsible for the lawful conduct of any work sub-

ject to the law. Civil penalties exist for the violation of the pro-

visions of Local Law 76, or any order, rule or regulation pro-

mulgated thereunder and certain fees are established for the ap-

proval of asbestos related projects. Administrative Code

24-178(b)(5)(i). The parties do not contest that compliance with

these procedures in removing asbestos can be costly.‘

In May 1988, Local law No. 46 of 1988 (“Local Law 46”)

amended the Administrative Code to allow for individual

variances from the requirements of the Local Law 76 and the

regulations for specific asbestos projects. Variances may be

granted if adequate proof is presented that compliance with par-

ticular requirements related to asbestos removal or encapsula-

tion would impose unreasonable hardship. In granting a

variance, such conditions as the policies of the Administrative

Code require may be imposed. Local Law 46 at §7.°

* Plaintiffs allege they have already spent $5,592,083 at 77 Water Street,

$2,176,746 at 437 Madison Avenue and $722,707 at 127 John Street to remove

asbestos containing material in compliance with Local Law 76. Complaint,

filed July 22, 1988, at 44 35-37. Plaintiffs also allege that future compliance

will cost approximately $2,954,318 at 77 Water Street, $18,864,238 at 437

Madison Avenue, and $10,536,140 at 127 John Street. Jd. In addition, plain-

tiffs claim they will suffer a significant loss of rental income from each building

due to compliance with the law. Jd. Finally, plaintiffs assert that Local Law

76 has increased the cost of securing mortgages for their properties. Jd. at { 38.

* Section 7 of Local Law 46 provides:

[t]he commissioner [of the DEP] may grant individual variances

for asbestos projects at specific sites, from particular requirements

related to asbestos prescribed by this code and regulations or orders

of the commissioner promulgated thereunder, whenever it is

found, upon presentation of adequate proof, that compliance with

such requirements would impose unreasonable hardship. In grant-

ing a variance the commissioner may impose such conditions as

the policies of this code may require and shall publish in the City

(Footnote continued

(OO OL ———————

A-11

Local Law 76 and the regulations have previously been

challenged in federal court by asbestos abatement contractors

on the ground that they were preempted by the regulations of

the occupational Safety and Health Administration. The district

court’s dismissal of that action was affirmed in part and reversed

in part by the Second Circuit in Environmental Encapsulating

Corp., v. City of New York, 855 F.2d 48 (2d Cir. 1988). The

Second Circuit held that a valid public health purpose, as op-

posed to occupational health and safety, protected a majority of

the City’s asbestos laws from a preemption challenge. Id. at 57.

However, two worker safety regulations regarding medical sur-

veillance of asbestos abatement workers and worker respiratory

protection, were found to be preempted by federal law. Id.

DISCUSSION

The Court’s role on a motion under Rule 12(b)(6) to dismiss

for failure to state a claim upon which relief can be granted

is a limited one: it must accept plaintiffs’ well pleaded allega-

tions at face value and construe the allegations in the complaint

in plaintiffs’ favor. Dwyer v. Regan, 777 F.2d 825, 829 (2d Cir.

1985). The court may dismiss the complaint only if “it appears

beyond doubt that plaintiff can prove no set of facts in support

of his claim that would entitle him to relief.” Conley v. Gibson,

355 U.S. 41, 45-46 (1957).

A. Substantive Due Process:

Economic and social welfare legislation is consistent with the

requirements of due process if it is rationally related to a

legitimate governmental objective. E.g., Village of Belle Terre

v. Boraas, 416 U.S. 1, 8 (1974) (zoning ordinance restricting land

use to one family dwellings upheld against constitutional

challenge).

Record no later than seven days after granting of such variance

a statement of the reasons leading to his or her decision.

Administrative Code § 24-146.1(i). The procedure to be followed by an appli-

cant seeking a variance is set forth in DEP Regulations § 8102.

A-12

It is by now well established that legislative Acts ad-

justing the burdens and benefits of economic life come

to the Court with a presumption of constitutionality,

and that the burden is on one complaining of a due

process violation to establish that the legislature has

acted in an arbitrary and irrational way .... [It is]

clear that legislation readjusting rights and burdens

is not unlawful solely because it upsets otherwise

settled expectations.

Usery v. Turner Elkhorn Mining Co., 428 U.S. 1, 15-16 (1975).

A statute that does not burden a suspect class or a fundamental

interest will not be overturned unless the varying treatment of

different groups or persons is so unrelated to the achievement

of any legitimate purpose that the Court can only conclude that

the legislature’s action was irrational. E.g., Pennell v. City of

San Jose, 108 S.Ct. 849, 859 (1988) (rent control ordinance

authorizing hearing examiner to consider hardship to tenants

in determining the extent of a rental increase for landlords did

not violate due process or equal protection).*

Plaintiffs do not contest the legitimacy of the stated purpose

of Local Law 76 “to safeguard the public health by requiring

that renovation or demolition projects which disturb asbestos

be conducted in accordance with procedures established pur-

suant to the provisions of this local law .. .” Local Law 76 at

§1. This Court also concurs with the Second Circuit's explicit

recognition that Local Law 76 and the regulations “have a

legitimate and substantial purpose to promote public safety and

health.” Environmental Encapsulating Corp., v. City of New

York, supra, 855 F.2d at 55.

Instead, plaintiffs challenge the manner in which the City

has sought to achieve this legitimate purpose of protecting the

public health. They argue it is irrational to make building owners

pay the cost for asbestos safety when the City approved the in-

stallation of such asbestos in the first instance. The crux of

* Neither fundamental! nghts nor suspect classifications are involved in the

present action

plaintiffs’ argument is estoppel: the City required fireproofing

and approved the use of asbestos-containing materials as one

of two available fireproofing methods; plaintiffs chose to install

asbestos solely because of the City’s fireproofing requirements;

therefore the City is estopped from requiring plaintiffs to pay

the costs of ensuring the safety of the public from asbestos when

alteration, renovation, or demolition work is performed on the

buildings.

It is clear however, that an owner of a lawfully constructed

building can be compelled in the name of public safety to make

improvements to the property, even when those improvements

require great expense. E.g., Queenside Hills Realty Co. v. Saxl,

328 U.S. 80, 82-83 (1946). (New York law requiring installation

of sprinklers can be applied to buildings constructed in confor-

mity with preexisting laws). Construction of a building in full

compliance with existing laws does not provide an owner with

immunity against the subsequent legitimate exercise of police

power by the state. Id.

Little need be said on the due process question. We

are not concerned with the wisdom of the legislation

or the need for it. Protection of the safety of persons

is one of the traditional uses of the police power of

the States _ Many types of social legislation

diminish the value of the property which is regulated.

The extreme cases are those where in the interest of

the public safety or welfare the owner is prohibited

from using his property. We are dealing here with a

less drastic measure. But in no case does the owner

of property acquire immunity against the exercise of

the police power because he constructed it in full com-

pliance with the existing laws. The police power is one

of the least limitable of governmental powers, and in

its operation often cuts down property rights.

Id. (citations omitted).

Plaintiffs argue this is a case of first impression because the

City’s express approval of the installation of asbestos-containing

A-14

material is fundamentally different than the passage of laws and

regulations which are later superceded by more exacting re-

quirements. While plaintiffs’ position is sympathetic, there is

no reasoned distinction between this case and other cases which

upheld the legislatures ability to require building owners to com-

ply with new safety requirements which differed from preex-

isting ones. See Queenside Hills Realty Co. v. Saxl, supra, 328

U.S. at 82-83; McCallin v. Walsh 64 A.D. 2d 46, 407 N.Y.S.2d

852 (Ist Dept.), affd, 46 N.Y.2d 808, 413 N.Y.S.2d 922 (1978) (due

process challenge rejected to a City law which required the in-

stallation of costly elevator alarm and sprinkler/smoke control

systems and the adoption of a fire safety plan in certain office

buildings); Oriental Boulevard Co. v. Heller, 27 N.Y.2d 212, 221,

316 N Y.S.2d 226, 231 (1970) app dism‘d, 401 U.S. 986 (1971) (law

requiring installation of air pollution control equipment held

constitutional). In each of these cases, new laws were enacted

that forced a building owner to make costly expenditures to his

or her property in the interest of public health and safety, even

though the building had been in compliance with the prior legal

requirements.’

In McCallin, the court rejected the argument that the City

could not constitutionally pass legislation which would require

builders to take out previously lawful elevator equipment and

replace it with other equipment designed to further protect

public safety, despite the fact that this meant the costly removal

of the prior lawful equipment. McCallin v. Walsh, supra, 64

A.D.2d 46, 60-64 407 N.Y.S.2d 852, 859-63. Plaintiffs suggest

that advances in safety technology justified the new safety laws

in McCallin and such advances are not present in this case. This

argument is misguided. The advances in science that unveiled

the safety risks presented by asbestos are indistinguishable

’ Similarly, the fact that plaintiffs may not have been at fault for the existence

of the dangerous condition does not exempt them from the exercise of the City’s

constitutional power to protect the public from the condition. See generally,

Section 107 of the Comprehensive Environmental Response Compensation and

Liability Act of 1980, 42 U.S.C. § 9607 (strict liability imposed on property

owners for the costs of remedial action to clean up hazardous waste on their

property).

A-15

from the developments plaintiffs concede would justify new

regulations imposing costly burdens on property owners. The

adoption of public health and safety regulations does not con-

stitutionally constrict the City’s future ability to exercise its police

powers in order to protect the public. When the public welfare

is found to be in need of additional protection over and above

the current regulatory scheme enacted by the City, there is no

due process impediment to the City’s power to rationally modify,

rescind, or overrule its prior regulations.

1. Retroactivity

Local Law 76 and the regulations apply only when owners

chose to perform alteration, renovation, or demolition work on

their buildings in the future. Nevertheless, plaintiffs argue the

law has a retroactive effect because all office buildings in New

York of necessity require such work in order to remain

economically viable as office buildings readily adaptable to new

tenants. Therefore, they claim Local Law 76 forces them to

retroactively undo their compliance with the fireproofing

regulations.

Retroactive legislation is generally constitutional, even if it

upsets settled expectations or imposes a new liability based on

a past act. Canisius College v. United States, 799 F.2d 18, 25

(2d Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 481 U.S. 1014 (1987). Due process,

however, “generally does not permit retrospective application

of statutes that cause especially ‘harsh and oppressive’ conse-

quences.” Louis Vuitton S.A. v. Spencer Handbags Corp., 765

F.2d 966, 972 (2d Cir. 1985). The proper test for determining

the constitutionality of an economic or social law which has a

retroactive effect is the same as that for a law with only a pro-

spective effect: whether there exists a legitimate legislative pur-

pose for the law which will be accomplished by a rational means.

Pension Benefit Guaranty Corp. v. R.A. Gray Co., 467 U.S. 717,

729 (1984). For retroactive laws, the retroactive application itself

must be justified by a rational legislative purpose. Jd. at 730.

Plaintiffs argue the Court should apply the structured, four-

part substantive due-process test enunciated in Nachman Corp.

A-16

v. Pension Benefit Guaranty Corp., 592 F.2d 947 (7th Cir. 1979),

affd on other grounds, 446 U.S. 359 (1980), and endorsed in

this District by Textile Workers Pension Fund v. Standard Dye

& Finishing Co., 549 F.Supp. 404, 406 (S.D.N.Y. 1982), aff,

725 F.2d 843.* The four factors set forth in Nachman to decide

if legislation represents a rational means to a legitimate end are:

(1) the reliance interests of the parties affected; (2) whether the

impairment of the private interest is effected in an area previous-

ly subjected to regulatory control; (3) the equities of imposing

the legislative burdens; and (4) the inclusion of statutory pre-

visions designed to limit and moderate the impact of the burdens.

Nachman Corp. v. Pension Benefit Guaranty Cord., supra, 592

F.2d at 960.

Assuming for the purposes of this motion that Local Law 76

has a retroactive effect and that the criteria enunciated in

Nachman are relevant, Local Law 76 still clearly meets the re-

quirements of due process. Plaintiffs’ only applicable conten-

tion relates to the first prong of the Nachman test: reliance on

the City’s approval of asbestos-containing material as a fireproof-

ing method. Reliance on prior law alone is clearly not enough

to state a due process claim. See Queenside Hills Realty Co. v.

Saxl, supra, 328 U.S. at 82-83. Further, it was evident that the

area of building alterations was one subject to intensive regula-

tion, including regulations protecting the public welfare. Plain-

tiffs could not reasonably have expected to acquire immunity

from the future exercise of the City’s police powers by compliance

with the existing safety provisions. To the contrary, building

owners could very well expect to be subject to future public

health regulations when conditions were uncovered in their

* Plaintiffs do not point out that the Second Circuit in Textile Workers ex-

pressly declined to decide if such a test was appropriate to apply to retro-

active legislation. Textile Workers Pension Fund v. Standard Dye and Finishing

Co., Inc., 725 F.2d 843, 850 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 467 U.S. 1259 (1984). Fur-

thermore, the Supreme Court, in Pension Benefit Guaranty Corp. v. R.A. Grey

& Co., supra, 467 U.S. at 727 n.6, rejected the application of the Nachman test

in the context for which it was devised, federal! legislation affecting economic

benefits and burdens. The Supreme Court, however, did leave open the

possibility that these four factors might be relevant in some circumstances. /d

a |

A-17

buildings which posed a threat to public health or safety,

regardless of the source of the condition. The third and fourth

factors of Nachman also favor upholding the asbestos law. Im-

portantly, plaintiffs receive the economic benefits from the

alteration, renovation, or demolition work they wish to do on

their buildings and the law only applies when plaintiffs volun-

tarily seek to undertake such work. While plaintiffs may be re-

quired to bear the cost to protect the public from airborne

asbestos in their buildings, they are granted the reciprocal

privilege of profiting from the public through the use of these

buildings. In addition, the Supreme Court has explained that:

[u]nder our system of government, one of the State’s

primary ways of preserving the public weal is restric-

ting the uses individuals can make of their property.

While each of us is burdened somewhat by such

restrictions, we, in turn, benefit greatly from the

restrictions that are placed on others... . These restric-

tions are “properly treated as part of the burden of

common citizenship.” Kimball Laundry Co v. United

States, 338 U.S. 1, 5 (1949). Long ago it was recognized

that “all property in this country is held under an im-

plied obligation that the owner's use of it shall not

be injurious to the community, .. ”

Keystone Bituminous Coal. Ass'n v. De Benedictis, 480 U.S. 470,

491-92 (1987)(citations omitted).

Finally, the variance provision allows for mitigating cir-

cumstances to be considered when compliance with the law is

argued to be infeasible in the individual case. Accordingly, Local

Law 76 satisfies the requirements of due process even under the

Nachman test plaintiffs urge the Court to apply.

Moreover, restricting the ability of a property owner to use

his or her property in the specific manner which is most likely

to expose the public to the dangers associated with airborne

asbestos is clearly a limited, rational approach to effectuate the

valid purpose of protecting the public health; plaintiffs have not

stated a substantive due process claim.

EE

A-18

B. Procedural Due Process

Plaintiffs argue that the private asbestos investigators are im-

properly given unbridled reign to determine the application of

Local Law 76. The gravamen of this argument is that the

absence of a formal procedure for an appeal from an asbestos

investigator's refusal to certify the absence of asbestos is a denial

of property without due process of law.

There is clearly no merit to plaintiffs’ procedural due pro-

cess claim. The determination that friable asbestos be removed

or encapsulated has been made by the legislature. The deter-

mination as to how asbestos abatement work is to be performed

is made by the DEP pursuant to Local Law 76. The decision

not to approve permits for building alteration or demolition work

is made by the DOB. The protection offered by the legislative

process satisfies the requirements of procedural due process when

the legislature enacts a law, or an agency promulgates a rule,

affecting a general class. See e.g., J. Nowak, R. Rotunda, J.

Young, Constitutional Law, 2d. ed., 1983 at 556.

Asbestos investigators fulfill a role analogous to the qualified

professionals, usually registered architects or professional

engineers, who are required to prepare or supervise the prepara-

tion of all building pians authorized by the owner. See Ad-

ministrative Code § §27-140, 27-142, and 27-151. The DOB is em-

powered to examine and approve such plans. City Charter

§645(b)(1). Any owner who retains a licensed or certified pro-

fessional and is not satisfied with the licensee's work, has three

remedies: (1) he or she can simply obtain the services of another

professional; or, in the case of incompetent or dishonest work,

(2) he or she can report the professional to the licensing or cer-

tifying body; or (3) he or she can take the matter to court by

suing the professional for negligence or malpractice.’ Even

* Plaintiffs’ allegation that asbestos investigators may be unwilling to certify

that asbestos is not present in a building because of the fear of civil liability

from an incorrect certification is purely speculative and insufficient to sup-

port a procedural! due process claim.

A-19

if the asbestos investigators are construed as performing a govern-

mental function, plaintiffs have recourse to a forum affording

them full due process rights regarding the investigators’ deter-

mination, including the right to a hearing and an impartial deci-

sion maker. An adequate state court remedy satisfies the re-

quirements of due process. Campo v. New York City Employees’

Retirement System, 843 F.2d 96, 102-03 (2d Cir.), cert. denied,

109 S.Ct. 220 (1988). More importantly, it is the legislature, the

DEP and ultimately the DOB who act as the relevant decision

makers in the process. Plaintiffs do not challenge any of these

decisions as a constitutional violation of procedural due process.”

Furthermore, the variance provision provides plaintiffs an op-

portunity to be individually heard by the DEP regarding the

specific asbestos project in question. Plaintiffs, apparently

unaware of the amendment adding the variance provision, argue

that the absence of a variance makes the Local Law fatally defi-

cient, and distinguishes it from the similar law upheld in

McCallin. Obviously, the existence of such a variance moots this

aspect of plaintiffs’ argument.

C. Taking of Property Without Just Compensation

The Fifth Amendment, made applicable to the States through

the Fourteenth Amendment, provides, in relevant part, that

“private property [shall not] be taken for public use, without

just compensation.” This guarantee “was designed to bar Govern-

ment from forcing some people alone to bear public burdens

which, in all fairness and justice, should be borne by the public

as a whole.” Armstrong v. United States, 364 U.S. 40, 49 (1960).

However, the Supreme Court has often “upheld substantial

regulation of an owner’s use of his own property [against tak-

ing claims] where deemed necessary to promote the public

” Defendants argue that plaintiffs have no standing to assert a procedura! due

process argument based on a hypothetical failure of an asbestos investigator

to certify that work will not disturb asbestos because they have admitted that

their buildings contain asbestos and are subject to Local Law 76. Regardless

of their standing to maintain such a claim, the Court concludes that the claim

itself is insufficient to provide plaintiffs with relief.

A-20

interest.” E.g. Loretto v. Teleprompter Manhattan CATV Corp..,

458 U.S. 419, 426 (1982). In fact, regulation restricting the use

of property is a primary means available to a State to protect

the public welfare. Keystone Bituminous Coal Ass'n v. De

Benedictis, supra, 480 U.S. at 489-91 (1987) (prohibition on the

mining of coal from certain areas to prevent subsidence damage

did not constitute a taking of mine owners’ property).

No set formula exists to determine whether compensation is

constitutionally due for a governmental restriction on proper-

ty. Loretto v. Telepromoter Manhattan CATV Corp., supra, 458

U.S. at 426. The analysis of whether a taking has occurred is

generally “ad hoc, [and] factual.” Penn Central Transportation

Co. v. City of New York, 438 U.S. 104, 124 (1978). Several fac-

tors should be considered in a takings analysis, including the

character of the governmental action and the economic impact

of the regulation on the claimant, especially the extent to which

the regulation has interfered with distinct investment-backed

expectations. Id.

On the one hand, when the character of the restriction reaches

the “extreme form of a permanent physical occupation, a tak-

ing has occurred.” Loretto v. Telepromoter Manhattan CATV

Corp., supra, 458 U.S. at 426 (New York statute providing that

a landiord must permit a cable television company to install its

cable facilities upon his or her property found to be a taking).

On the other hand, a statute regulating the uses that can be

made of property results in a taking if it “does not substantially

advance legitimate state interests ... or denies an owner

economically viable use of his land.” Agins v. Tiburon, 447 U.S.

255, 260 (1980); Keystone Bituminous Coal Ass'n v. De Benedic-

tis, supra, 480 U.S. at 485; United States v. Riverside Bayview

Homes Inc., 474 U.S. 121, 125 (1985).

Plaintiffs argue Local Law 76 constitutes governmental ac-

tion akin to a physical taking because plaintiffs are required to

remove materials originally installed at the City’s direction

through a process of sealing off and closing portions of their

buildings. Defendants respond that plaintiffs assert at most a

regulatory takings claim and, because they do not allege the

A-21

extinguishment of all economically viable use of their proper-

ty, the takings claim is not viable.

The character of Local Law 76 is clearly that of a regulation

on the use of property. The law only applies when the owner

of property seeks to use it in a manner which threatens to make

asbestos become airborne. The fact that a use regulation may

have some impact on the physical characteristics of the land is

unexceptional. See Keystone Bituminous Coal Ass'n v. De

Benedictis, supra, 480 U.S. at 488-89, n.18. Plaintiffs argue that

an expansive definition of what constitutes a physical appropria-

tion of property is called for because of the City’s prior fireproof-

ing requirements. Plaintiffs, however, have presented no legal

support for such a claim. In fact, applying a broad brush in

construing whether a regulation works a physical appropria-

tion of property flies in the face of the Supreme Court's express

warnings against overly constricting State's ability to regulate

the use of property to protect the public welfare. Loretto v.

Teleprompter Manhattan CATV Corp., supra, 458 U.S. at 441.

In holding that a taking had occurred in Loretto, the Supreme

Court specifically underscored the narrowness of its ruling, bas-

ing its determination on the fact that the statute in question

resulted in an actual physical appropriation of part of the

landlords’ property. Loretto v. Teleprompter Manhattan CATV

Corp., supra, 458 U.S. at 441. The Supreme Court in FCC v.

Florida Power Corp., 480 U.S. 245, 251 (1987), reemphasized

the narrow scope of Loretto, finding it inapplicable to regula-

tions which decreased the rent cable television companies had

to pay utility companies for the use of utility poles because the

utility companies had previously agreed to allow access to the

poles." Even if Local Law 76 is analyzed under the framework

set forth in Loretto and Florida Power for the physical ap-

propriation of property, the law does not constitute a taking of

plaintiffs’ property because it requires asbestos be removed

“ The Supreme Court expressly declined to reach the question of whether

Loretto would apply were the utility companies required to offer access to

the cable television providers. FCC wv. Florida Power Cor., supra, 480 U.S.

at 251-52, n.6.

A-22

only if the building owner voluntarily chooses to undertaxe

alteration work which will cause asbestos to become airborne.

Furthermore, the Court in Loretto took steps to explain that

the invalid law removed the rights of ownership from the

landlords by directing that a third party be allowed to instal]

the cable television equipment. If the landlords were simply re-

quired to install the equipment themselves a different question

might have been presented, because they would have continued

to enjoy the rights of ownership, including the ability to con-

trol compliance with the statute. Loretto v. Teleprompter

Manhattan CATV Corp., supra, 458 U.S. at 440-41, n.19.2 Local

Law 76 and the regulations clearly allow plaintiffs to maintain

all their rights of control over the manner in which compliance

with the law is achieved.

Despite plaintiffs diligent attempts to characterize Local Law

76 as a physical invasion of their property, the law simply

regulates the uses that they can make of the buildings, and does

so in a rather narrow manner. The ability to renovate the

buildings is conditioned on the protection of the public from

the dangers associated with airborne asbestos. Plaintiffs are free

to use the buildings without making alterations or to make alter-

ations that do aot present a public health hazard by causing

asbestos to become airborne. If plaintiffs choose either of these

alternatives, the strictures of Local Law 76 can be completely

avoided. The extent of any alteration work to be performed,

and therefore the extent of the cost of compliance with the law

* In Katser Aetna v. United States, 444 U.S. 164, 179-80 (1979) the Supreme

Court found a taking had occurred from the imposition of a navigational servi-

tude by the government on plaintiff's private marina, subjecting it to access

by the public. The navigational servitude imposed by the government in Kaiser

Aetna stripped plaintiffs of their ability to exclude the public from their pro-

perty, a fundamental element of their rights as owners, and as such was an

actual physical invasion which constituted an appropriation of plaintiffs’ pro-

perty. Jd. Local Law 76 and the regulations do not present an analogous fac-

tual situation as an owner's dominion and control over his or her property,

including the right to exclude others, remains unaffected by the City’s

requirements

SE

A-23

for any asbestos project, is solely left to the discretion of plain-

tiffs. Furthermore, plaintiffs continue to control the activities

that occur in their buildings and remain able to supervise or

dismiss the qualified individuals they voluntarily choose to re-

tain to perform the asbestos removal work. It is plaintiffs who

remain ultimately responsible for compliance with the re-

quirements of Local Law 76. Their ownership rights in the pro-

perty are not significantly diminished by the requirements of

asbestos removal.

Plaintiffs next contend that Local Law 76 and the regulations

constitute a taking because they eliminate the intended use of

the property as office buildings readily adaptable to tenants with

diverse office space needs. Plaintiffs creative definition of the

intended use of their property, while resulting in a conflict with

the requirements of Local Law 76, does not state a takings claim.

Legislation enacted pursuant to the police power will not be

a taking because it denies an owner the most profitable, or

preferred, use of the property. Keystone Bituminous Coal Ass'n

v. De Benedictis, supra, 480 U.S. at 489 n.18; Penn Central

Transportation Co. v. City of New York, supra, 438 U.S. at 124,

133; Goldblatt v. Town of Hempstead, 369 U.S. 590, 592 (1962)

(ordinance prohibiting certain excavation did not constitute tak-

ing even though it prohibited prior use of land by plaintiff);

Village of Euclid v. Amber Realty Co., 272 U.S. 365 (1926).

Moreover, regulations which have caused substantial reduc-

tions in property value have not been found to constitute a tak-

ing. Sadowsky v. City of New York, 732 F.2d 312, 317-18 (1984);

Pompa Construction Corp. v. City of Saratoga Springs, 706 F.2d

418, 425 (2d Cir. 1983). See also Hadacheck v. Sebastian, 239

U.S. 394, 410 (1915) (ordinance prohibiting use of property as

brick yard not a taking even when the result is a decrease in pro-

perty value from $800,000 to $60,000). When the health, safe-

ty, or general welfare of the public would be protected by prohi-

biting a particular contemplated use of land, the Supreme Court

has consistently upheld land use regulation that destroyed or ad-

versely affected recognized real property interests. Penn Central

Transportation Co. v. City of New York, supra, 438 U.S. at 125.

aerated

A-24

Contrary to plaintiffs’ suggestion, compliance with the City’s

prior fireproofing requirements does not remove this case from

the established case law regarding the government'’s ability to

restrict the use of property for the public benefit. As the Supreme

Court has noted:

“taking” challenges have . . . been held to be without

merit in a wide variety of situations when the

challenged governmental actions prohibited a

beneficial use to which individual parcels had

previously been devoted and thus caused substantial

individualized harm.”

Penn Central Transportation Co. v. City of New York, supra,

438 U.S. at 125. Indeed, valid zoning laws which prohibit an

entire use of property result in more severe hardship on proper-

ty owners than Local Law 76, which only adds to the cost of

a specific use of property dangerous to the public, and leaves

the final choice on how to use the property in the hands of the

owner.

Plaintiffs have failed to allege a sufficient diminution in value

or use of their buildings caused by Local Law 76 to state a claim.

While they contend that compliance with the law will result

in substantial cost, they make no allegation that the buildings

will be robbed of all economic use. Complaint at 44 34-38.

Plaintiffs have not alleged that the law will force them to give

up the general use of their property as office buildings, nor have

they even alleged that the operation of their buildings will be

unprofitable. See Keystone Bituminous Coal Ass'n v. De Benedic-

tis, supra, 480 U.S. at 495-96. (“petitioners have not claimed

the Act makes it commercially impracticable for them to

continue mining... . Indeed, petitioners have not even pointed

to a single mine that can no longer be mined for profit”).

Plaintiffs are not required to seal off the entire building while

asbestos is removed under the regulations, only those sections

which will be affected by the alteration work. Those parts of

the building not being renovated are fully available for plaintiffs’

use and economic benefit. Apparently, the buildings continue

tl

A-25

to be used by plaintiffs as office buildings, a reflection of plain-

tiffs own determination that the benefits of continued opera-

tion outweigh the costs of compliance with Local Law 76.

Local Law 76 and the regulations impose additional costs on

plaintiffs as incident to their ownership of property, but these

costs are well within the scope of the City’s police powers. Ac-

cordingly, plaintiffs have failed to state a constitutional takings

claim.”

D. State Law Claims

The second through eighth claims for relief in the Complaint

assert a series of pendent state causes of action which attack

the validity of Local Law 76 and the DEP regulations. Briefly,

these claims allege that:

(a) Local Law 76 delegates legislative and governmen-

tal authority to the DEP in violation of the state

constitution;

(b) Local Law 76 delegates sovereign authority to a

private person in violation of the state constitution;

(c) the DEP regulations are inconsistent with Local

Law 76;

(d) the DEP regulations are inconsistent with the Air

Pollution Control Code, of which Local Law 76 is a

part;

(e) Local Law 76 and the regulations violate the En-

vironmental Conservation Law;

® Plaintiffs argue that the motion to dismiss should be denied in order to af-

ford chem the opportunity to conduct discovery concerning when the City

knew of the dangers of airborne asbestos and why a prior City draft of Local

Law 76, with more onerous requirements on property owners, was not adopted

by the City. Neither of these subject areas will yield information relevant to

the determination of the constitutional claims and therefore the discovery re-

quest is insufficient to defeat the motion to dismiss.

A-26

(f) Defendants are estopped from enforcing Local Law

76;

/

(g) Defendants have been unjustly enriched.

Dismissal of the federal claims upon which plaintiffs base

jurisdiction in federal court at this preliminary stage in the case

calls for the discretionary dismissal of the pendent state claims

as well. See United Mine Workers v. Gibbs, 383 U.S. 715, 726

(1966). No prejudice will accrue to plaintiffs by such a dismissal

as New York Civil Practice Law and Rules §205(a) allows plain-

tiffs to reecommence any action in state court within six months

after it is dismissed by a federal court on jurisdictional grounds,

if it was timely commenced in the first instance. See Dunton

v. County of Suffolk, 729 F.2d 903, 911 n.8 (2d Cir.), amended

on other grounds, 748 F.2d 69 (1984). Therefore, the pendent

state claims should be dismissed pursuant to Rule 12(b)(1), Fed.

R. Civ. P. for lack of subject matter jurisdiction.

CONCLUSION

Local Law 76 and the regulations do not violate substantive

due process, procedural due process, nor do they constitute a

taking without just compensation under the Fifth and Four-

teenth Amendments to the Constitution. Accordingly, defen-

dants’ motion to dismiss the federal constitutional claims is

granted. The pendent state law claims are also dismissed for

lack of subject matter jurisdiction.

It is so ordered.

Dated: New York, New York

May 24, 1989

/s/Robert Ward

U.S.D.J.

A-27

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

MELVYN KAUFMAN, 77 WATER

STREET, INC., 77 WATER STREET

ASSOCIATES, 127 JOHN STREET FEE

ASSOCIATES, 127 JOHN STREET

ASSOCIATES, 437 MADISON AVENUE

FEE ASSOCIATES, and 437 MADISON

AVENUE ASSOCIATES,

Plaintiffs,

- against -

THE CITY OF NEW YORK, THE EN- : Civil Action

VIRONMENTAL CONTROL BOARD OF No.

THE CITY OF NEW YORK, EDWARD I. :

KOCH, in his capacity as mayor of the COMPLAINT

City of New York, HARVEY W.

SCHULTZ, in his capacity as Commis-

sioner of the Department of Environmental

Protection, and CHARLES M. SMITH,

JR., in his capacity as Commissioner of the

Department of Buildings,

Defendants.

Plaintiffs Melvyn Kaufman, 77 Water Street, Inc., 77 Water

Street Associates, 127 John Street Fee Associates, 127 John Street

Associates, 437 Madison Avenue Fee Associates, and 437 Madison

Avenue Associates, by their attorneys, Shea and Gould, for their

complaint herein allege:

A-28

PARTIES

1. Plaintiff Melvyn Kaufman is a co-owner of the fee in-

terest in the land having the street address 77 Water Street, New

York, New York; he lives and works in New York County.

2. Plaintiff 77 Water Street, Inc. is a corporation incorporated

in the State of Minnesota and is the other co-owner of the fee

interest in the land having the street address 77 Water Street,

New York, New York.

3. Plaintiff 77 Water Street Associates is a partnership organ-

ized pursuant to the laws of the State of New York and holds

the leasehold interest in the land having the street address 77

Water Street, New York, New York.

4. Plaintiff 127 John Street Fee Associates is a partnership or-

ganized pursuant to the laws of the State of New York and holds

the fee interest in the land having the street address 127 John

Street, New York, New York.

5. Plaintiff 127 John Street Associates is a partnership organ-

ized pursuant to the laws of the State of New York and holds

the leasehold interest in the land having the street address 127

John Street, New York, New York.

6. Plaintiff 437 Madison Avenue Fee Associates is a partner-

ship organized pursuant to the laws of the State of New York

and holds the fee interest in the land having the street address

437 Madison Avenue, New York, New York.

7. Plaintiff 437 Madison Avenue Associates is a partnership

organized pursuant to the laws of the State of New York and

holds the leasehold interest in the land having the street address

437 Madison Avenue, New York, New York.

8. Defendant The City of New York (the “City”) is a municipal

corporation chartered under the laws of the State of New York.

A-29

9. Defendant Environmental Control Board is a board formed

pursuant to statutory authority under the New York City

Charter.

10. Defendant Edward I. Koch is the Mayor of the City of

New York.

11. Defendant Harvey W. Schultz is the Commissioner of the

Department of Environmental Protection.

12. Defendant Charles M. Smith, Jr. is the Commissioner of

the Department of Buildings.

JURISDICTION AND VENUE

13. This action arises under the Fifth and Fourteenth Amend-

ments of the Constitution of the United States, 42 U.S.C. 1983,

Sections 6, 7 and 1] of Article I of the Constitution of the State

of New York, the New York State and New York City laws alleged

herein and the common law. This is an action to declare un-

constitutional and void New York City Local Law No. 76 of 1985

(Int. 891-B), as amended by New York City Local Law No. 80

of 1986, and the regulations promulgated pursuant thereto.

14. This Court has jurisdiction over this action pursuant to

28 U.S.C. § 1331 and the principles of pendent jurisdiction.

15. Venue is proper in this district pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§ 1391(b).

FACTUAL BACKGROUNL

16. On or about 1968, plaintiff 437 Madison Avenue Associates

erected a building having the street address 437 Madison Avenue,

New York, New York. On or about 1970, plaintiff 77 Water Street

Associates erected a building having the street address 77 Water

Street, New York, New York. On or about 1971-72, plaintiff 127

John Street Associates erected a building having the street ad-

dress 127 John Street, New York, New York (these buildings are

hereinafter collectively referred to as “the Properties”).

A-30

7. When the Properties were being erected, plaintiffs were

required, pursuant to New York City Administrative Code pro-

visions in effect, to use certain approved fireproofing material

in the construction of the aforesaid buildings.

18. Pursuant to New York city Administrative Code provisions

in effect at the time the Properties were being built, only

materials approved by the Board of Standards and Appeals

(“BSA”) could be used for fireproofing, and, at the time, the BSA

had approved only two types of materials which could be used

effectively in fireproofing steel deck structural steel buildings,

such as the Properties: asbestos containing material (“ACM”)

or cementitious material. The accepted method for construct-

ing large office buildings was at the time, and still is, the steel

deck method.

19. As a result of the requirements constituted by and con-

tained in the aforesaid provisions and approval, plaintiffs used

ACM as the fireproofing material in the Properties.

20. Despite (a) previously requiring plaintiffs to install

fireproofing in the Properties, (b) specifically limiting the choice

of fireproofing material which plaintiffs could use in erecting

the Properties, and (c) effectively requiring the use of asbestos

or one other material for said fireproofing, in 1985 the City

passed legislation which, together with regulations promulgated

pursuant thereto, in effect requires plaintiffs, and all other

owners of buildings in New York City who had used ACM in

constructing their buildings because of the prior City regula-

tions and BSA approval, to remove or encapsulate the ACM and

to be responsible for the full costs of removal or encapsulation

of this ACM, which costs are greatly inflated by the procedures

required by said legislation and regulations.

21. In particular, on November 19, 1985, the Council of the

City of New York enacted New York City Local Law No. 76 of

1985 (Int. 891-B) (“the Loca] Law”), which legislation was signed

by defendant Koch on December 2, 1985.

A-31

22. On December 9, 1986 the Local Law was amended by

the Council of the City of New York by legislation known as

New York City Local Law No. 80 of 1986, which legislation was

signed by defendant Koch on December 22, 1986.

23. Defendant Schultz is empowered by the Local Law to

enact regulations pursuant to the Local Law and enforce cer-

tain of its provisions.

24. Defendant Smith is empowered by the Local Law to deny

building permits and approval of plans to those applicants for

permits and those applicants for approval of plans who do not

comply with the Local Law or with regulations promulgated

by defendant Schultz under the Local Law.

25. Defendant Environmenta! Control Board is empowered

by the Local Law to impose civil penalties for violations of any

of the Local Law’s provisions or of any regulations promulgated

pursuant thereto.

26. On March 27, 1987 defendant Schultz promulgated

regulations purportedly pursuant to the Local Law as amended,

known collectively as The Asbestos Control Program Rules and

Regulations, Section 8000 et seq. (“the Regulations”). The

Regulations became effective on April 1, 1987 and were amended

in 1988.

27. The Local Law imposes, inter alia, the following obliga-

tions upon plaintiffs who, since they were required to follow

City requirements and pursuant to BSA approval, used ACM

in the construction of their Properties:

a. Plaintiffs, and other applicants who seek building

permits or approval of building plans, cannot obtain

such permits or approval of plans unless an “asbestos

investigator” certifies that the alteration, renovation,

modification or demolition work which is to be per-

formed on the building will not disturb a certain

amount of friable ACM. The ownership of large of-

fice buildings necessarily involves continual turnover

a a

A-32

of tenants and continual major alteration, renovation,

modification and demolition work in connection

therewith, which by the nature of the work disturbs

more than the allowable friable ACM at buildings

where, because of the City requirements and BSA ap-

proval, ACM was used, so that this certification can-

not be obtained where ACM was used.

b. If plaintiffs, or other applicants, are unable to

obtain such certification, which is the case where there

is major alteration, renovation, modification or

demolition and where ACM was used because of City

requirements and BSA approval, said person must sub-

mit to defendant Smith a fee not to exceed $800 and

a plan approved by defendant Schultz for preventing

the ACM from becoming airborne which details com-

pliance with the Local Law and any rules or regula-

tions promulgated thereunder. This plan, in order to

be even considered for approval by defendant Schultz,

must also be accompanied by a fee not to exceed

$1,000.

c. Plaintiffs, or other applicants, are subject to stop-

work orders if defendant Schultz determines that the

work being performed on the Properties violates the

Local Law or any rules and regulations promulgated

thereunder.

d. Plaintiffs, or other applicants, are subject to any

regulations promulgated pursuant to the Local Law

and face fines imposed by defendant Environmental

Control Board of up to $10,000 for each violation of

the obligations imposed by the Loca] Law or any

regulations promulgated pursuant thereto.

28. The Regulations impose, inter alia, the following obliga

tions upon plaintiffs and other building owners who, since they

were required to follow city requirements and pursuant to BSA

approval of ACM, used said material in the construction of their

properties:

—————————

A-33

a. Plaintiffs, as building owners, and other building

owners similarly situated, are singled out as being

responsible for the proper performance of the exten-

sive and burdensome asbestos abatement activities re-

quired by the Regulations, including (i) removal,

enclosure or encapsulation of ACM, (ii) preparation

of the workplace for said activities, (iii) sampling,

analysis and monitoring activities to detect the

presence of any disturbed ACM and (iv) air clearance

monitoring which must be performed at the conclu-

sion of any work performed on the buildings where

ACM is disturbed, all of which requirements are ex-

tremely expensive.

b. Plaintiffs, as building owners, and other building

owners similarly situated, are singled out as being

responsible for determining the absence or presence

of ACM which will be disturbed during the course

of alteration, renovation, modification or demolition

activities in connection with work on the buildings

and for following the notification procedures set forth

in the Regulations, which include that plaintiffs must

submit a filing fee of $500-$800 in every instance that

work in connection with alteration, renovation or

modification of the buildings will disturb a certain

amount of ACM.

c. Plaintiffs, as building owners, and other building

owners similarly situated, are singled out to be the

employers of those persons required to conduct air

sampling and/or analysis in connection with work

which will disturb a certain amount of ACM and are

thus liable for said persons’ negligence in the per-

formance of said sampling or analysis, the cost of their

employment, and for any violations by said persons

of the Local Law or Regulations, amounting to ab-

solute liability of plaintiffs by virtue of their status

as building owners.

itera ell

A-34

d. Plaintiffs, as building owners, and other building

owners similarly situated, are required to evacuate

that portion of their buildings where asbestos abate-

ment activities are occurring until the air in that por-

tion of the building is free, according to the standards

set forth in the Regulations, of any ACM, which period

may take as long as three months, at great loss of in-

come to plaintiffs.

29. The Local Law provides that where any person fails to

comply with the obligations set out in paragraphs 27 and 28

hereof, they shall be liable for civil penalties of up to $10,000

for each violation of the Local Law and/or Regulations cited

by defendant Schultz, excepting violations of § 1403.2-9.12(b)(1)

of the Local Law (for handling asbestos without a license) for

which a lesser penalty is provided.

30. The Regulations specifically make plaintiffs as building

owners, and other building owners similarly situated, liable for

the aforesaid penalties regardless of whether it is they or another

applicant for a building permit or approval of plans, such as

a building tenant, who violates any of the obligations set forth

in paragraphs 27 and 28 hereof.

31. The ownership of large office buildings necessarily involves

continual turnover of tenants and continual major alteration,

renovation, modification and demolition work in connection

therewith, which by the nature of the work disturbs the ACM

beyond the allowable limits set in the Local Law and Regula-

tions. Thus, even though the Local Law, and to a lesser extent

the Regulations, may at first glance appear only to be an at-

tempt to maintain certain safety standards when ACM is being

disturbed, in reality the Local Law and Regulations, by virtue

of the continuing alterations, renovation, modification and

demolition required in large office buildings, in effect, requires

the owners of such buildings to spend large sums of money to

remove or encapsulate the ACM, which the owners used in the

buildings in the first place because it was effectively one of two

fireproofing materials required by the City.

A-35

32. Further, without removing or encapsulating the ACM,

the owners cannot obtain a permit to alter or renovate, and thus

cannot rent to a new tenant once the present tenant vacates.

Therefore, the owner has no choice but to spend the large sums

of money to remove or encapsulate the asbestos, since other-

wise his floors must remain vacant and he will lose large sums

of money, all because he was required to use ACM as effective-

ly one of two fireproofing materials required by the City.

33. Thus, what may seem like an effort to maintain safety

conditions where a building owner chooses to disturb ACM is

in fact a transparent attempt by defendants to require plain-

tiffs and other building owners to bear the huge expense of

removing or encapsulating ACM which was used in the buildings

because it was effectively one of two fireproofing materials re-

quired to be used by the City.

34. Plaintiffs have been forced to expend vast sums of money

in order to comply with the Local Law and the Regulations and

in order to undo a problem created not by them but by the City

through its fireproofing requirements and its approval of ACM

as a fireproofing material, and plaintiffs have suffered a severe

loss in the value of the Properties.

35. In particular, plaintiff 77 Water Street Associates has, in

order to comply with the Local Law and the Regulations, been

forced to expend approximately $5,592,083 to remove ACM on

certain floors of 77 Water Street and additionally has lost

$1,240,925 in rent for the period during which it was required

by the Local Law and Regulations to evacuate those floors.

Moreover, asbestos abatement activities must still be performed

on other floors of 77 Water Street at an approximate cost of

$2,954,318, together with an approximate rent loss of $581,473,

while these floors are evacuated.

36. Plaintiff 437 Madison Avenue has been forced to expend

approximately $2,179,746 to remove ACM on certain floors of

437 Madison Avenue in compliance with the Local Law and

Regulations and has lost approximately $197,886 in rent for the

period during which it was required by the Local Law and

A-36

Regulations to evacuate those floors. Moreover asbestos abate-

ment activities must still be performed on other floors at 437

Madison Avenue at an approximate cost of $18,864,238, together

with an approximate rent loss of $5,879,092.

37. Plaintiff 127 John Street Associates has been forced to ex-

pend approximately $722,707 to remove ACM on certain floors

at 127 John Street in order to comply with the Local Law and

with the Regulations, and additionally has lost approximately

$130,222 in rent for the period during which it was required

to evacuate those floors pursuant to the Local Law and the

Regulations. Moreover, asbestos abatement activities must stil]

be performed on other floors of 127 John Street at an approx-

imate cost of $10,536,140 and with an approximate rent loss of

$1,984,795, while those floors are evacuated.

38. Plaintiffs have also, as a direct result of the enactment

of the Local Law and the Regulations, not been able to obtain

the mortgages on the Properties that they were able to obtain

prior to the enactment of the Local Law and the Regulations.

That is, mortgagees, fearful of being deemed owners and of be-

ing held responsible for removing the ACM, either refuse outright

to enter into mortgage agreements or require large reserves

before they will enter into mortgage agreements. Thus, even

when plaintiffs, and other building owners, are able to obtain

mortgages, they must pay interest on reserves they must bor-

row but cannot use. Furthermore, even in buildings which do

not contain ACM, mortgagees refuse to enter into mortgage

agreements, or alternatively require the aforesaid reserves,

because of a fear that ACM might be found in the building.

39. Plaintiffs have no adequate remedy at law.

FIRST CLAIM FOR RELIEF

40. Plaintiffs repeat and reallege paragraphs 1 through 39 with

the same force and effect as if fully set forth herein.

41. The Local Law and the Regulations deprive plaintiffs

of equal protection of the law and of property without due

EE a

A-37

process of law, and take plaintiffs’ property for a public use

without just compensation, in violation of the Fifth and Four-

teenth Amendments of the Constitution of the United States,

42 U.S.C. § 1983, and §§ 6, 7 and LI of Article I of the Con-

stitution of the State of New York, in the following respects:

a. They unfairly single out plaintiffs to affirmatively

bear the costs and obligations of a problem created

and imposed upon them by defendants;

b. They deprive plaintiffs of the use and control of

the Properties;

c. They compel plaintiffs to either allow portions

of their buildings to be entirely shut down for long

periods amounting to a physical taking and to con-

sent to the occupation of said portions of their building

by persons performing asbestos abatement activities

or to keep their buildings unoccupied when current

tenants move out;

d. They substantially impair and diminish the value

of plaintiffs’ properties without compensation;

e. They require plaintiffs either to totally refrain

from altering, renovating or modifying their Proper-

ties and thus leave the buildings vacant, or to under-

take the costly and burdensome task of removing ACM

in their buildings in order to comply with the Local

Law and Regulations; and

f. They impose substantial penalties on plaintiffs

for their mere status as building owners since plain-

tiffs must either expend huge amounts of money to

remove or encapsulate the ACM, which is there

because of prior City requirements, or leave whole

floors or whole buildings vacant, and further since

plaintiffs are liable for substantial violations of the

Local Law and Regulations regardless of whether it

is they or anyone else who violates the Local Law or

SS

A-38

Regulations in removing or failing to remove ACM in

connection with work done on the Properties and re-

gardless of whether plaintiffs are even aware that said

other persons have removed or should remove ACM.

SECOND CLAIM FOR RELIEF

42. Plaintiffs repeat and reallege paragraphs 1 through 39 with

the same force and effect as if fully set forth herein.

43. In enacting the Local Law, the City has unconstitutionally

delegated its lawmaking and sovereign power to defendant

Schultz in the following ways:

a. The Local Law unconstitutionally grants defen-

dant Schultz the power to determine who will be sub-

ject to the civil penalties imposed for failure to com-

ply with the Local Law and any regulations pro-

mulgated pursuant thereto by defendant Schultz. In

particular, the Local Law unconstitutionally grants

defendant Schultz the power to determine who will

be subject to said penalties (a) for failure to properly

perform the asbestos abatement activities required by

the Local Law and the Regulations, (b) for failure to

properly determine whether ACM will be disturbed

in connection with any alteration, renovation or

modification work on the Properties, (c) for failure

to properly undertake the notification requirements

set forth in the Local Law and Regulations and (d)

for failure to properly undertake the sampling,

analysis and/or monitoring requirements of the Local

Law and Regulations; and

b. The Local Law unconstitutionally grants defen-

dant Schultz the power to determine who should bear

the cost of sampling, monitoring, and/or analysis and

to determine who must bear the cost of the filing fees

required in connection with the notification re-

quirements of the Local Law and Regulations in con-

nection with work which will disturb ACM.

A-39

THIRD CLAIM FOR RELIEF

44. Plaintiffs repeat and reallege Paragraphs 1 through 39 with

the same force and effect as if fully set forth herein.

45. The Local Law unconstitutionally delegates sovereign

authority to a private person (a) by allowing an “asbestos in-

vestigator” to determine whether an applicant for a building

permit or approval of plans is required to undertake the asbestos

abatement activities required by the Local Law and Regula-

tions, (b) by making failure to comply with the asbestos in-

vestigator’s determination subject to fines of up to $10,000 per

cited violation, and (c) by not allowing an appeal from the

asbestos investigator's determination.

FOURTH CLAIM FOR RELIEF

46. Plaintiffs repeat and reallege paragraphs | through 39 with

the same force and effect as if fully set forth herein.

47. Defendant Schultz has singled out and imposed all of the

obligations and liabilities set forth in and resulting from the

Local Law and the Regulations on plaintiffs as building owners

and on other similarly situated owners of buildings regardless

of whether it is they or anyone else who undertakes or should

undertake removal of ACM in connection with work undertaken

at plaintiffs’ or other owners’ buildings and regardless of whether

the building owner is even aware that anyone else has or should

have removed ACM in connection with work undertaken at his

building.

48. The Regulations are thus a nullity since they are out of

harmony with the Local Law, which does not impose all these

obligations and liabilities on the building owners.

FIFTH CLAIM FOR RELIEF

49. Plaintiffs repeat and reallege paragraphs | through 39 and

47 with the same force and effect as if fully set forth herein.

A-40

50. Because the Regulations specifically impose all the obliga-

tions and liabilities of the Local Law and Regulations on plain-

tiffs as building owners, and on other building owners similar-

ly situated, the Regulations are inconsistent with the Local Law.

The Regulations are thus invalid under Air Pollution Control

Code at § 24-116 which provides that where regulations are in-

consistent with the Air Pollution Control Code, of which the

Local Law is a part, the code is controlling.

SIXTH CLAIM FOR RELIEF

51. Plaintiffs repeat and reallege paragraphs | through 39 with

the same force and effect as if fully set forth herein.

52. The Local Law and the Regulations have a significant

effect on the environment, as said term is defined in Section

8-0105(6) of the Environmental Conservation Law (“ECL’), 6

N.Y.C.R.R. § 617.2(k) and Executive Order No. 91 (August 1977),

“City Environmental Quality Review” (“CEQR”), § 1(f).

53. The Local Law and the Regulations violate Article 8 of

the ECL, also known as the State Environmental Quality Review

Act (“SEQRA”), 6 N.Y.C.R.R. § 617 and CEQR.

54. In particular, upon information and belief, the City, in

enacting the Local Law, and defendant Schultz in promulgating

the Regulations, failed to consider the potential environmental

impact thereof and the damage thereto resulting from the en-

forcement of the Local Law and/or the Regulations.

55. Upon information and belief, the City, in enacting the

Local Law, and defendant Schultz, in promulgating the Regula-

tions, among other things, failed to:

a. Consider or analyze the effect on the environ-

ment of the Local Law and the Regulations or the en-

vironmental significance thereof;

b. Consider the necessity for preparation and cir-

culation of an environmental impact statement;

A-41

c. Prepare either a draft or final environmental im-

pact statement;

d. Circulate appropriate SEQRA or CEQR notices

and impact statements with respect to environmental

impact of the Local Law or Regulations;

e. Conduct public hearings on the environmental

impact of the Local Law or Regulations or with

respect to a draft environmental impact statement;

f. Make any recommendations or come to any con-

clusions as to the minimization of adverse impact of

the Local Law or Regulations upon the environment;

g. Consult with appropriate public agencies con-

cerning the environmental impact of the Local Law

or Regulations; or

h. Otherwise take action consistent with the ECL,

6 N.Y.C.R.R. § 617, or CEQR.

56. The Local Law and the Regulations are thus null and void

under the ECL, 6 N.Y.C.R.R. § 617 and CEQR.

SEVENTH CLAIM FOR RELIEF

57. Plaintiffs repeat and reallege paragraphs 1 through 39 with

the same force and effect as if fully set forth herein.

58. When the Properties were being built, the City af-

firmatively required plaintiffs to fireproof their buildings.

59. When the Properties were being built, the City limited

the materials which could be used for fireproofing to materials

approved by the BSA. The BSA only approved two such

materials, one of which was ACM, which effectively could be

used in fireproofing steel deck structural steel buildings, such

as the Properties.

A-42

60. In reliance on the BSA approval of ACM as a fireproof-

ing material, plaintiffs used said material to fireproof their

buildings.

61. Defendants have now singled out plaintiffs, and other

building owners similarly situated, to bear the costs and

liabilities of removing the very same ACM that defendants ef-

fectively required them to install in the Properties.

62. Manifest injustice would result if the provisions of the

Local Law and Regulations are enforced by defendants insofar

as said enforcement places the costs of compliance and the

liabilities of non-compliance with said provisions on plaintiffs

and other similarly situated building owners. Defendants are

thus estopped from enforcing the Local Law and the

Regulations.

EIGHTH CLAIM FOR RELIEF

63. Plaintiffs repeat and reallege paragraphs 1 through 62 with

the same force and effect as if fully set forth herein.

64. Plaintiffs have, in compliance with the Local Law and

Regulations, expended the amounts set forth in paragraphs 35

through 37 above which amounts were rightly the responsibili-

ty of defendants and should rightly have been expended by

defendants.

65. As a result defendants have been unjustly enriched.

WHEREFORE, plaintiffs demand judgment:

a. Declaring New York City Local Law no. 76 of

1985, as amended by New York City Local Law no.

80 of 1986, and the Regulations purportedly pro-

mulgated pursuant thereto, to be, null, void and of

no legal effect;

__ b. Enjoining defendants from taking any action to

enforce said Local Laws and Regulations;

A-43

c. Awarding plaintiffs damages in an amount

representing plaintiffs’ cost of compliance with the

Local Law and Regulations; and

d. Awarding plaintiffs such other and further relief

as to the Court may seem just and proper.

Dated: New York, New York

July 21, 1988

SHEA & GOULD

By /s/Robert J. Ward

A Member of the Firm

Attorneys for Plaintiffs

1251 Avenue of the Americas

New York, New York 10020

(212) 827-3000

A-44

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

Te ee are ame Oe nea CS ORR Rk X

MELVYN KAUFMAN, et al., 88 Civ. 5194

Plaintiffs, arr)

: AFFIDAVIT

- against - IN

. a ; : OPPOSITION

THE CITY OF NEW YORK, et al., TO MOTION

Defendants. : TO DISMISS

STATE OF NEW YORK )

.

COUNTY OF NEW YORK )

ROBERT KAUFMAN, being duly sworn, deposes and says:

1. I am Executive Vice President of Sage Realty Corp., the

managing agent of the three properties at issue here. I submit

this affidavit in opposition to defendants’ motion to dismiss this

action for failure to state a claim upon which relief can be

granted.

2. The asbestos removal work already done at the three

buildings at issue here in order to comply with Local Law 76

and the Regulations purportedly promulgated thereunder has

forced us physically to seal off nineteen floors at 77 Water Street

for a total of approximately 950 days (at an average of 50 days

per floor to remove the asbestos); two floors at 437 Madison

Avenue for a total of approximately 100 days; and three floors

at 127 John Street for a total of approximately 150 days.

A-45

3. Moreover, future asbestos work will force us to close six

floors of 77 Water Street for a total of approximately 300 days;

thirty-seven floors of 437 Madison Avenue for a total of approxi-

mately 1,850 days; and twenty-six floors of 127 John Street for

a total of approximately 1,300 days.

4. The tremendous financial burden imposed on plaintiffs by

the Local Law and Regulations is made particularly evident

when the assessed value of each of plaintiffs’ buildings is com-

pared to the financial burdens of complying with the Law and

Regulations.

(a) The structure at 77 Water Street is assessed at

$19,500,000. The cost of asbestos treatment at that site

will amount to approximately $8,546.401, and the

total of lost rent for that building during the time

spent to remove the asbestos will be approximately

$1,822,398, for a total of $10,368,799, which is more

than half the assessed value of the structure.

(b) The structure at 437 Madison Avenue is assessed

at $46,000,000. The total cost of asbestos treatment

will be approximately $21,043,984, and the total lost

rent figure for that building will total approximately

$6,076,978, for a total of $27,120,962, which is

significantly more than half the assessed value of the

structure.

(c) The structure at 127 John Street is assessed at

$27,000,000. The total cost of asbestos removal there

will reach approximately $11,258,847 and the total of

lost rent for this building will be approximately

$2,115,017, for a total of $13,373,864, which is more

than half the assessed value of the structure.

5. It is also important to note that plaintiffs cannot pass the

cost of asbestos treatment on to their tenants. The required treat-

ment of asbestos is a capital charge, not a routine operating ex-

pense which can be passed on to tenants. No tenant’s attorney

A-46

will allow his client to sign a lease requiring the tenant to pay

such a capital expenditure. Pass-through clauses in leases deal

with ongoing operating expenses like electricity or taxes, not

capital expenditures. In addition, we cannot even attempt to

have current tenants share the costs of asbestos treatment,

because these tenants have long-term leases which predate the

enactment of the legislation at issue here. Lastly, market forces

alone prevent us from passing on the asbestos removal costs to

our tenants. Many office buildings in New York never contained

asbestos. We must compete with these buildings for tenants, and

we would not stand a chance of securing tenants if we demanded

higher rents, to cover asbestos removal charges, while other

buildings without asbestos removal costs offered substantially

lower rents.

6. As a result none of our leases have pass through clauses

for asbestos removal charges nor will they ever, given market

forces and the fact that such pass-through clauses deal with

operating expenses, not capital charges. Further, I am unaware

of any leases which have such pass through clauses in any other

buildings in New York City.

7. Finally, I must note the great reluctance of private “asbestos

investigators” to certify that a proposed office renovation pro-

ject will not require treatment of asbestos. It has been our ex-

perience that these private uninsured citizens are greatly con-

cerned about personal liability for their decisions and thus are

not affording building owners a neutral decision on whether

a particular project will require asbestos treatment under the

Local Law and Regulations.

/s) Robert Kaufman

Robert Kaufman

Sworn to before me this

28th day of October, 1988

/s/Robert J. Ward

Notary Public

A-47

FIFTH AMENDMENT TO THE CONSTITUTION

No person shall be held to answer for a capital, or otherwise

infamous crime, unless on a presentment or indictment of a

Grand Jury, except in cases arising in the land or naval forces,

or in the Militia, when in actual service in time of War or public

danger; nor shall any person be subject for the same offence

to be twice put in jeopardy of life or limb; nor shall be com-

pelled in any criminal case to be a witness against himself, nor

be deprived of life, liberty, or property, without due process of

law; nor shall private property be taken for public use, without

just compensation.

A-48

LOCAL LAWS

OF

THE CITY OF NEW YORK

FOR THE YEAR 1985

No. 76

Introduced by Council President (Ms. Bellamy) and Council

Members Katzman and Greitzer; also Council Members Robles,

Albanese, Alter, Berman, Dryfoos, Eisland, Ferrer, Friedlander,

Gerges, Horwitz, Lisa, Maloney, Messinger, Michels,

O’Donovan, Pinkett and Povman — (Passed under a Message

of Necessity from the Mayor).

A LOCAL LAW

To amend the administrative code of the city of New York,

in relation to the control of asbestos.

Be it enacted by the Council as follows:

Section 1. Declaration of legislative findings and intent. The

council hereby finds that exposure to airborne asbestos fibers

and particles in the air has been linked by reputable medical

and scientific authorities to a significant increase in the incidence

of diseases such as asbestosis, bronchogenic carcinoma,

mesothelioma, and other malignancies and that substantial

amounts of materials containing asbestos have been used in

buildings for fireproofing, insulation, soundproofing, decorative

and other purposes. The council further finds that the predomi-

nant cause of asbestos becoming airborne is due to the perform-

ance of building renovation and demolition without adequate

adherence to procedures for safeguarding workers and the

general public, by persons who have not received adequate train-

ing in the handling of materials containing asvestos.

Therefore, it is the purpose of this local law to safeguard the

public health by requiring that renovation or demolition proj-

ects which disturb asbestos be conducted in accordance with

A-49

procedures established pursuant to the provisions of this local

law and that workers who handle materials containing asbestos

receive appropriate training.

§2. Article three of part one of title C of chapter twenty-

six of the administrative code of the city of New York is amend-

ed by adding a new section C26-34.1 to read as follows:

§C26-34.1 Special fees; asbestos. — Whenever application

for a permit is made for work which will involve the perform-

ance of an asbestos project and for which the filing with the

department of an asbestos inspection report, or proof of approval

by the commissioner of environmental protection of an asbestos

removal plan is required, the department shall be entitled to

charge an additional fee as established by the commissioner of

environmental protection in an amount not to exceed eight hun-

dred dollars. For purposes of this section, the terms “asbestos

project,” “asbestos inspection report” and “asbestos removal plan”

shall have the meanings as are ascribed in section 1403.2-9.12

of part two of chapter fifty-seven of the code.

§3. Section C26-108.7 of sub-article 108.0 of article one of

part two of such title of such chapter of such code, as amended

by local law number nineteen for the year nineteen hundred

eighty-three, is amended to read as follows:

§C26-108.7 Approval of application and plans. — Except

as otherwise provided in section C26-111.8 and section C26-118.9,

application and plans complying with the provisions of this code

and other applicable laws and regulations shall be approved by

the commissioner and written notice of approval shall be given

the applicant promptly and no later than 40 calendar days after

the submission thereof, and applications and plans failing to

comply with the provisions of this code and other applicable

laws and regulations shall be rejected and written notice of re-

jection, stating the grounds of rejection, shall be given the ap-

plicant promptly, and not later than 40 calendar days after the

submission thereof, except that on or before the fortieth day,

the commissioner may on good cause shown, and upon notifica-

tion to the applicant, extend such times for an additional twenty

A-50

days. Whenever an application and accompanying plans have

been rejected and are thereafter revised and resubmitted to meet

stated grounds of rejection, the revised application and plans

shall be approved if they meet the stated grounds of rejection,

or shall be rejected if they fail to meet the stated grounds of

rejection; and written notice of approval or written notice of

rejection, stating the ground of rejection shall be given the ap-

plicant promptly and not later than 20 calendar days after the

resubmission thereof.

§4. Section C26-109.4 of sub-article 109.0 of such article of

such part of such title of such chapter of such code, as added

by local law number seventy-six for the year nineteen hundred

sixty-eight, is amended to read as follows:

C26-109.4 Application for permit. All applications for per-

mits shall be submitted on forms furnished by the department,

and shall be accompanied by the required fee. The application

shall contain a general description of the proposed work or

equipment, its location, and such other pertinent information

as required pursuant to section 118.9 or as the commissioner may

require.

§5. Section C26-113.1 of sub-article 113.0 of such article of

such part of such title of such chapter of such code, as amended

by such local law, is amended to read as follows:

§C26-113.1 General requirements. — All applications for

demolition or removal permits shall be subject to the re-

quirements of sub-article 109.0, section C26-11.0, section

C26-118.8 and section C26-118.9.

§6. Sub-article 118.0 of such article of such part of such title

of such chapter of such code is amended by adding a new sec-

tion C26-118.9 to read as follows:

C26-118.9 Approval of plans and permit applications where

an asbestos project is performed.

A-51

a. The commissioner shall not approve any plans pursuant

to sub-article iJ8.0 unless an asbestos investigator has certified

that the work to be performed will not constitute an asbestos

project or the applicant submits with the application for ap-

proval of plans an asbestos inspection report completed in ac-

cordance with the provisions of section 1403.2-9.12 of part two

of chapter fifty-seven of the code.

b. Where the commissioner of environmental protection has

by regulation required that, in connection with other work for

which a permit but not plans is required under this article, that

an asbestos investigator certify that the work to be performed

will not constitute an asbestos project or that an asbestos in-

spection report be completed in accordance with the provisions

of section 1403.02-9.19 of part two of chapter fifty-seven of the

code, the commissioner shall not issue such permit unless such

certification or such report is submitted in connection with the

application for such permit.

c. Where the commissioner of environmental protection has

by regulation required that, in connection with work for which

an alteration permit or demolition permit is required under this

article, that an asbestos investigator certify that the work to be

performed will not constitute an asbestos project or that the ap-

plicant submit with the application for such permit proof that

an asbestos removal plan has been approved by the commissioner

of environmental protection in accordance with the provisions

of section 1403.2-9.12 of part two of chapter fifty-seven of the

code, the commissioner shall not issue such permit unless such

certification or proof of such approval has been submitted in

connection therewith.

d. The commissioner shall not issue any permit under this

article for work which constitutes an asbestos project and for

which an asbestos inspection report is required unless the ap-

plicant at the time of application for such permit certifies on

forms prescribed by the commissioner of environmental protec-

tion that he or she is familiar with federal, state and local laws

and regulations applicable to asbestos related work.

A-52

e. Whenever proof of approval of an asbestos removal plan

is required for plan or permit approval, any requirement for

the submission of an asbestos inspection report shall be deemed

waived.

f. For purposes of this section, the terms “asbestos”, “asbestos

inspection report”, “asbestos investigator”, “asbestos project” and

“asbestos removal plan”, shall have the meanings as are ascribed

in section 1403.2-9.12 of part two of chapter fifty-seven of the

code.

§7. Part two of chapter fifty seven of such code is amended

by adding a new section 1403.2-9.12 to read as follows:

§1403.2-9.12 Asbestos work. — (a) For purposes of this sec-

tion, the following terms shall have the following meanings:

(1) “Asbestos” shall mean any hydrated mineral silicate

separable into commercially usable fibers, including but not

limited to chrysotile (serpentine), arnosite (cumingtonite-

grunerite), crocidolite (riebeckite), tremolite, anthrophyllite and

actinolite.

(2) “Asbestos inspection report” shall mean a report on the

condition of a building or structure in relation to the presence

and condition of asbestos therein.

(3) “Asbestos investigator” shall mean an individual certified

by the commissioner as having satisfactorily demonstrated his

or her ability to identify the presence and evaluate the condi-

tion of asbestos in a building or structure.

(4) “Asbestos containing material” shall mean asbestos or

any material containing more than one percent asbestos by

weight.

(5) “Asbestos removal plan” shall mean a plan which will

be undertaken so as to prevent asbestos from becoming airborne

in the course of the alteration, renovation, modification or

demolition of any building or structure.

A-53

(6) “Asbestos handling certificate” shall mean a certificate

issued to a person who has satisfactorily completed an approved

asbestos safety and health program.

(7) “Approved safety and health program” shall mean a pro-

gram certified by the commissioner providing training in the

handling and use of asbestos containing material, and safety

and health risks inherent in such handling and use, together with

methods for minimizing the exposure of workers and the public

to asbestos fibers and, instruction in all applicable federal, state

and local laws and regulations pertaining to asbestos related

work.

(8) “Asbestos project” shall mean any form of work per-

formed in connection with the alteration, renovation, modifica-

tion or demolition of a building or structure which will disturb

more than two hundred sixty linear feet or more than one hun-

dred sixty square feet of friable asbestos containing material or

such smaller amounts as the commissioner may establish by

regulation.

(9) “Friable asbestos material” shall mean any asbestos or

any asbestos containing material that can be crumbled, pulver-

ized or reduced to powder when dry, by hand pressure.

(b)(1) It shall be unlawful for any individual to handle

friable asbestos material in the course of performing work for

compensation on an asbestos project unless such individual is

a holder of a current, valid asbestos handling certificate.

(2) It shall be unlawful to employ or otherwise permit any

individual to handle friable asbestos material on an asbestos pro-

ject when such person is not a holder of a current, valid asbestos

handling certificate.

(c) The commissioner shall promulgate regulations

establishing procedures for the safeguarding of the health and

safety of the public and all persons who work at or in the vicinity

of an asbestos project.

A-54

(d)(1) The commissioner shall promulgate regulations

establishing criteria for certifying individuals as eligible to

receive an asbestos handling certificate and for certifying

programs as approved safety and health programs. The com-

missioner may restrict the asbestos handling certificate as to cer-

tain supervisory and non-supervisory functions and

responsibilities.

(2) The commissioner shall promulgate regulations

establishing criteria for certifying individuals as asbestos

investigators.

(3) Any certificate issued under this subdivision shall be valid

for a period of two years unless sooner suspended or revoked

and may be renewed upon submission of proof satisfactory to

the commissioner that the individual continues to meet the

criteria established pursuant to this subdivision.

(4) The commissioner, after providing notice and an oppor-

tunity to be heard, may suspend or revoke any certificate issued

under this subdivision where it is found that the holder has failed

to comply with this section or any rules or regulations prom-

ulgated thereunder.

(5) The commissioner shall charge a fee not to exceed one

hundred dollars upon issuing or renewing an asbestos handling

certificate and a fee not to exceed one hundred dollars upon

certifying an individual as an asbestos investigator.

(e)(1) The commissioner shall prescribe forms for and the

content of an asbestos inspection report to be submitted in ac-

cordance with the provisions of subdivision a of section C26-118.9

of title C of chapter twenty-six of the code. Such report shall

require the furnishing of information deemed relevant by the

commissioner for evaluating the scope, complexity and dura-

tion of an asbestos project, and the compliance with the provi-

sions of this section, any regulations promulgated thereunder,

and any applicable federal and or state laws or regulations.

A-55

(2) The commissioner may by regulation also require for any

work which is not subject to the provisions of subdivision a of

section C26-118.9 of title C of chapter twenty-six of the code

and for which a permit is required under sub-article 109.0 of

such tide that an asbestos investigator certify that the work to

be performed will not constitute an asbestos project or that an

asbestos inspection report be completed and submitted to the

department of building in conjunction with an application for

such permit. The commissioner may exclude from any regula-

tion promulgated pursuant to this paragraph certain types of

work within a permit category.

(f)(1) The commissioner shall promulgate regulations

establishing the requirements of an asbestos removal plan to be

submitted in accordance with the provisions of subdivision c

of section C26-118.9 of title C of chapter twenty-six of the code

and shall specify the type or types of demolition and alteration

work for which such submission shall be required. Plans sub-

mitted shall be approved by the commissioner only upon a

satisfactory showing that such plan will effect compliance with

all applicable provisions of this section, regulations promulgated

thereunder, all applicable federal or state laws or regulations,

and, in addition, that to the extent feasible, the removal of

asbestos will be completed prior to the commencement of any

demolition work. No plan shall be considered for approval unless

accompanied by the payment of a fee established by the com-

missioner not to exceed one thousand dollars.

(2) The commissioner shall act within a reasonable time not

to exceed sixty days on an application for approval of an asbestos

removal plan, and shall notify the applicant in writing of his

or her approval or disapproval of the application. If an applica-

tion is disapproved, the commissioner shall set forth his objec-

tions in the notice of disapproval. Within sixty days after ser-

vice on the applicant of the notice of disapproval, the appli-

cant may request the commissioner to reconsider the applica-

tion by responding in writing to the stated objections. The com-

missioner shall consider the applicant’s responses to his objec-

tions, and shall notify the applicant in writing within a

A-56

reasonable time, not to exceed sixty days, of his approval or denial

of the application. Failure to respond to the stated objections

or request an extension of time within sixty days after service

of the notice of disapproval shall be deemed-a denial of the

application.

(g) The commissioner may promulgate any regulations he

or she deems necessary to protect the health and safety of workers

and the public in connection with work not constituting an

asbestos project in which asbestos is or is likely to be disturbed.

(h) A notice or order to stop work may be issued by the com-

missioner, or his authorized representative, at any time when

it is found that work is being performed in violation of the pro-

visions of this section, or any rules or regulations promulgated

thereunder and which poses a threat to human safety. Such

notice or order may be given orally or in writing to the owner,

lessee or occupant of the property involved, or to the agent of

any of them, or to the person or persons performing the work

and may require all persons in or about the building or premises

to vacate the same forthwith, and also require such work to be

done as, in the opinion of the commissioner, may be necessary

to remove any danger therefrom. Such notice or order shall be

valid for a period of time not to exceed seventy-two hours and

may be extended only upon application to the board in accord-

ance with the provisions of section 1403.2-15.01 of this code.

(i) The commissioner may promulgate any additional

regulations he or she deems necessary to effectuate the purposes

of this section.

§8. The table of civil penalties contained in subparagraph

A of paragraph five of subdivision b of section 1403.2-15.01 of

such part of such chapter of such code, as added by loca! law

number seventy-five for the year nineteen hundred eighty-two,

is amended by inserting between the penalty prescribed for a

violation of section 1403.2-9.11(f) and the penalty prescribed for

a violation of section 1403.2-9.13 the following penalties:

=

A-57

Civil Penalties

Maximum Minimum

1403.2-9.12; provided that such

$1,000-$10,000 penalty 10,000.00 1,000.00

shall not apply to violations

of 1403.2-9.12 (b)(1)

1403-2-9.12 (b)(1) 1,000.00 250.00

§9. Within eighteen months of the enactment of this local

law, the commissioner of environmental protection shall sub-

mit to the council a report identifying and evaluating the poten-

tial risks, if any, which may be posed to workers and the general

public from asbestos which is not disturbed by renovation, altera-

tion or demolition work and recommending action deemed ap-

propriate to ameliorate such risks as may be identified.

§10. This local law shall take effect sixty days after its enact-

ment into law except that section C26-118.9 of article one of part

two of the administrative code of the city of New York as added

by section six of this local law and paragraphs one and two of

subdivision b of section 1403.2-9.12 of part two of chapter fifty-

seven of the administrative code of the city of New York as added

by section seven of this local law shall take effect one year after

its enactment.

THE Crry oF New York, OFFICE OF THE Crry CLERK, S:.s.:

I hereby certify that the foregoing is a true copy of a loca!

law of The City of New York, passed by the Council on

November 19, 1985, and approved by the Mayor on December

2, 1985.

DAVID N. DINKINS, City Clerk, Clerk of the Council.

A-58

Oo”

at

CERTIFICATION PURSUANT TO MUNICIPAL HOME RULE Law §

Pursuant to the provisions of Municipal Home Rule Law § 27,

I hereby certify that the enclosed local law (Local Law 76 of

1985, Council Int. No. 891-B) contains the correct text and,

received the following vote at the meeting of the New York City

Council on November 19, 1985: 35 for, 0 against.

Was approved by the Mayor on December 2, 1985

Was returned to the City Clerk on December 3, 1985.

HADLEY W. GOLD, Acting Corporation Counsel

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.