Opposition Brief — Broeckl v. Chicago Park District

Supreme Court brief1990

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

somnty

re ie D

No. 89-1146 {| FEB 2 199

“TOSEPAFSFANOL,

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

@ctober Cerm, 1989

THOMAS E. BROECKL, JAMES A. BROWN AND

ROBERT D. PHELPS III, INDIVIDUALLY, AND ON

BEHALF OF THOSE SIMILARLY SITUATED,

Petitioners

THE CHICAGO PARK DISTRICT,

A UNIT OF LOCAL GOVERNMENT,

Respondent

BRIEF FOR THE CHICAGO PARK DISTRICT IN

OPPOSITION TO THE PETITION FOR

A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

GEORGE F. GALLAND, JR

Davis, Miner, BARNHILL

& GALLAND, P.C.

14 West Erie Street

Chicago, Illinois 60610

(312) 751-1170

Counsel for Respondent

American Reprographics Management, Inc.™ (312, 332-2764

’

Or.

AS\

x

—

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether petitioners have waived their right to have this

Court review the constitutionality of a municipal fee system under

the Fourteenth Amendment’s Equal Protection Clause, when

petitioners deliberately refrained in the courts below from relying

on that Clause and instead based their equal protection claim

solely on the Illinois Constitution’s equal protection provision.

2. Whether the L[llinois Supreme Court correctly held that

the Chicago Park District has a rational basis for charging

nonresidents of Chicago a higher price than it charges residents

to rent recreational boat moorings in the District's harbors.

3. Whether petitioners’ “public trust doctrine” theory presents

any federal question so as to invoke the appellate jurisdiction

of this Court.

ul

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED .........------+eeeeeereeeees i

Pig). oh ty 0. eee Rey oe Tere ory l

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ........-----e-eeceeeecreeeee 2

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION ........------. 4

A. Petitioners Have Waived Their Federal Equa!

Protection Argument .........----++eeeeeeeeeecees i

RB. Petitioners’ New Federal Equal Protection

Claim Has No Merit in Any Case.......-..---+---- 6

C. Petitioners’ “Public Trust Doctrine”

Argument Presents No Federal Claim ........ ... 10

COMIC TINIE 6. os on nccvcctodeuevscdesaccndevneeunessoes Bm

MITES, 6 k.kéc06 cv awcsincadewenene! Zope eaeee asses ee

1. Table of Authorities and pages 12-29 from

petitioners’ opening brief in the Illinois

Supreme Court .........----eee eee ereerereeereees la

9 Table of Authorities and pages 12-20 from

petitioners’ reply brief in the Illinois Supreme

CNS sacces gb dswecebaae are ee

SS ee er ee

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page

Baldwin v. Fish and Game Commission of Montana,

ne ee ewercccvcoececccecs 6,7,9

Bankers Life & Cas. Co. v. Crenshaw, U.sS.——-,

Ne acedccecccoccvccvccscces &

Borough of Neptune City v. Borough of Avon-By-The-Sea,

294 A.2d 47,61 N.E.2d 296 (1972) ....... ccc ccc ccccccces 11

Broecki v. Chicago Park District, 170 Dl.App.3d 1063,

524 N.E.2d 1045 (1st Dist. 1988) ...............ccccecccceeee 8

Broeckl v. Chicago Park District, l.2d , 044

ee lee pccncebevocecovcceovcoess 4

County Board of Arlington, Va. v. Richards, 434

ee da sock bccecéecesceeveces 8

Gibson v. Unites States, 166 U.S. 269 (1897) ................ 10

Martinez v. Bynum, 461 U.S. 321 (1983) ................... 6-9

Michigan v. Long, 463 U.S. 1032 (1983) ...................-. 4

Oregon v. Corvallis Sand & Gravel Co., 429 U.S. 363

GE 10

People ex rel. Scott v. Chicago Park District, 66 01.2d

I WOOO ns crn wcccccvccvcccecececves 11

Phillips Petroleum Co. v. Mississippi, U.S. ——.,

re 10, 11

Shapiro v. Thompson, 394 U.S. 618 (1968) ........... Geass 7,8

Starns v. Malkerson, 401 U.S. 985 (1971), summarily

affirming 326 F.Supp. 234 (D.Minn. 1970) ................. 7

Sturgis v. Washington, 414 U.S. 1057 (1970), summarily

affirming 368 F Supp. 38 (N.D. Wash. 1973) ............... 7

Vlandis v. Kline, 412 U.S. 441 (1973) ........ 0c cee eee eee. 6

Webb v. Webb, 451 U.S. 493 (1983) ..... 00 eee ee eee eee! 5

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND STATUTES

United States Constitution,

Fourteenth Amendment,

Equal Protection Clause ............:eseecesereeveces

Illinois Constitution of 1970,

PE I © 60 0 ont 3s 600 ccteds Hh ocnders sennvnees 3

FN bo oo cs ce cdece cd eiseietesncsdesseonsaeces l

Ill. Rev.Stat. ch. 105,

| kl SSPRPPEETTTTeT TT Terrier erie 2

[ll.Rev.Stat. ch. 105,

EE aa verktvcckeecraCoesvarescessecccosvareebseter? 2

lil. Rev.Stat. ch. 105,

EN Sc s'icdcdbvdcdiceseasan bidet Sacdsieassesyaxes 2

a

No. 89-1146

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

@ctober Germ, 1989

THOMAS E. BROECKL, JAMES A. BROWN AND

ROBERT D. PHELPS III, INDIVIDUALLY, AND ON

BEHALF OF THOSE SIMILARLY SITUATED,

Petitioners

THE CHICAGO PARK DISTRICT,

A UNIT OF LOCAL GOVERNMENT,

Respondent

BRIEF FOR THE CHICAGO PARK DISTRICT IN

OPPOSITION TO THE PETITION FOR

A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Illinois Supreme Court was entered on

September 20, 1989. Petitioners purport to base jurisdiction of

this Court on 28 U.S.C. §1257(a), which gives this Court juris-

diction to review State court final judgments construing the

constitutionality of a State statute under the federal Constitution.

Respondent Chicago Park District denies that this Court has

jurisdiction. The petition purports to seek this Court’s review of

2

the constitutionality of an Illinois statute (1) under the Fourteenth

Amendment’s Equal Protection Clause, and (2) under the Lllinois

“public trust doctrine.” The District’s position is that by failing

to make their Fourteenth Amendment claim in the courts below,

petitioners waived their right to present it to this Court. The

District further asserts that petitioners’ “public trust doctrine”

claim presents no federal question.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioners filed this class action in an [llincis State court

to challenge the fees charged by the Chicago Park District for

renting boat moorings in the District’s recreational harbors along

Lake Michigan. Petitioners presented two challenges to the fees.

First, petitioners asserted that the District was required to set

the level of the fees at “cost.” The “at cost” claim, which petitioners

lost, invoked only Illinois law and is not asserted in the petition.

Second, petitioners challenged the District’s 25% fee surcharge

for nonresidents of Chicago. The trial court held this surcharge

unconstitutional, but the Appellate Court of Illinois reversed, and

the Supreme Court of-Illinois affirmed the Appellate Court.

Petitioners seek this Court’s review.

The facts are not disputed. The Chicago Park District is an

Illinois municipal corporation. It owns and operates Chicago’s

park system. The District finances its operations primarily by

taxes levied on property within the city limits of Chicago.

Ill.Rev.Stat. ch. 105, §§333.19, 333.39.

The Illinois legislature has authorized the District to

construct recreational boat harbors along Lake Michigan and

to charge boaters for the use of harbor facilities. Jd., §333.23n.

The same statute provides that “fees charged to nonresidents

need not be the same as fees charged to residents of the district.”

Id., §333.23n(g). Pursuant to this authorization, the District has

constructed over 5,000 boat moorings in eight recreational

harbors. It rents those moorings to boaters on a seasonal basis.

Its fee levels are competitive with those of other marinas on Lake

Michigan. To the basic seasonal fee, the District adds a 25%

surcharge (the “nonresident surcharge” ) for nonresidents of

Chicago. This price distinction is the only measure taken by the

District to promote its own residents’ access to its harbor

+ enenenenne enti

3

moorings. Notwithstanding the surcharge, about half the

moorings have been rented by nonresidents of Chicago.

Petitioners’ complaint in the trial court listed various federal

and Illinois constitutional provisions that were allegedly violated

by the nonresident surcharge. Among these, petitioners listed

the federal Constitution’s Privileges and Immunities Clause, Art.

IV, §2; the Fourteenth Amendment’s Equa! Protection Clause;

and various provisions of the Illinois Constitution. Petition 33a.

The complaint’s single mention of the federal Equal Pro-

tection Clause was the last time petitioners invoked that Clause

in this litigation until they filed their petition for certiorari in

this Court. Although their complaint mentioned the Equal

Protection Clause, the only federal constitutional provision

actually argued by petitioners to the trial court was the Privileges

and Immunities Clause. On October 7, 1985, the trial court held

unconstitutional the nonresident surcharge and the statute

authorizing it. The court did not state what provision of what

Constitution the surcharge offended. Petition 27a.

The District appealed this ruling to the Illinois Appellate

Court. In defending the trial court’s ruling, petitioners did not

argue that the nonresident surcharge offended the federal Equal

Protection Clause. As in the trial court, the only federal con-

stitutional provision petitioners argued in the Appellate Court

was the Privileges and Immunities Clause. The Appellate Court,

reversing the trial court, upheld the constitutionality of the

nonresident surcharge. Broeckl v. Chicago Park District, 170

Ill. App.3d 1063, 524 N.E.2d 1045 (1st Dist. 1988), Petition 14a-

23a.

Petitioners appealed to the Illinois Supreme Court. Once

again, the only federal constitutional provision invoked by

petitioners was the Privileges and Immunities Clause. Petitioners’

briefs in the Illinois Supreme Court did not argue, or even mention,

the federal Equal Protection Clause. (The relevant sections of

those briefs are reprinted as an appendix to this brief.) Petitioners

made an equal protection argument, but expressly limited that

argument to the equal protection guarantee contained in the

Illinois Constitution. See pp. 12a-15a and 33a-35a, infra.

4

The [llinois Supreme Court affirmed the Appellate Court’s

ruling upholding the constitutionality of the nonresident

surcharge. Broeckl v. Chicago Park District, ___ Il.2d ___, 544

N.E.2d 792 (1989), Petition la-13a. First, the court held that as

Illinois residents, petitioners had no standing to invoke the federal

Constitution’s Privileges and Immunities Clause. 544 N.E.2d at

110, Petition 10a. Second, the court rejected petitioners’ equal

protection challenge. Although petitioners had based their equal

protection argument only on the Illinois constitutional provision,

the court stated that the surcharge was constitutional not only

under that provision but under the federal Equal Protection

Clause as well. Jd. at 111, Petition 1la-12a. Third, the court rejected

petitioners’ contention that the surcharge violated the Illinois

“public trust doctrine.” Jd. at 111, Petition 12a.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

There are three reasons to deny this petition. First, petitioners

have waived their claim that the nonresident surcharge violates

the Fourteenth Amendment’s Equal Protection Clause, because

they failed to present that claim in the courts below. Second,

aside from being waived, petitioners’ equal protection arguments

present no issue worth this Court’s review. Third, the other theory

offered by petitioners - that the nonresident surcharge violates

the “public trust doctrine” - presents no federal question, but

is an issue of Illinois law.

A. Petitioners Have Waived Their Federal

Equal Protection Argument

In the Appellate Court and Supreme Court of Illinois,

petitioners carefully avoided relying on the Fourteenth Amend-

ment’s Equal Protection Clause. Instead, they limited their equal

protection argument to the Illinois Constitution’s equal protection

guarantee. This decision was a deliberate gamble. Petitioners

hoped that the Illinois Supreme Court would avoid relying on

the federal Constitution and would instead strike down the

surcharge under the Illinois Constitution. Such a result, resting

solely on a State constitutional guarantee, could have insulated

petitioners from further review by this Court. See Michigan v.

Long, 463 U.S. 1032, 1040-1041 (1983).

+ ieee eee me

5

However, petitioners’ gamble failed. They lost in the Illinois

Supreme Court. They now want this Court to review the federal

equal protection claim that for tactical reasons they suppressed

below.

Such a tactic is impermissible. To have this Court review

their federal equal protection claim, petitioners must have

“adequately presented” that claim in the State courts. Webb v.

Webb, 451 U.S. 493, 496-497 (1983). Petitioners did not present,

much less “adequately present,” their federal equal protection

claim in the Illinois courts. To the contrary, in the [Illinois

Appellate and Supreme Courts, they suppressed that claim. They

thereby waived their right to present the federal claim to this

Court. See Bankers Life & Cas. Co. v. Crenshaw, __ U.S. __,

108 S.Ct. 1645, 1650 (1988): “At the minimum, there should be

no doubt from the record that a claim under a federal statute

or the federal Constitution was presented in the State courts...”

(emphasis in original).

Any other holding would place litigants in a posture of “heads

I win, tails you lose.” Litigants like petitioners could bring equal

protection challenges based solely on State constitutional

guarantees, knowing that if they win, they could prevent review

by this Court, but that if they lose, they could switch to an

analogous federal theory and get review by this Court.

In rejecting petitioners’ [llinois equal protection claim, the

Illinois Supreme Court stated that the nonresident surcharge also

passed muster under the federal Equal Protection Clause as well.

Petition, lla. This comment is a pure example of a dictum: a

statement seeming to decide a claim that petitioners had

deliberately refrained from asking the court to decide. Such a

dictum does not change the fact that petitioners deliberately

avoided relying on the federal Equal Protection Clause in the

courts below. That conduct waived their right to obtain review

under the Clause in this Court. That waiver is not excused by

the Illinois Supreme Court’s reference to the federal Clause in

its decision.

6

B. Petiti ers’ New Federal Equal Protec-

tion Ciaim Has No Merit in Any Case

Petitioners’ claim under the federal Equal Protection Clause

would have no merit even if it had been preserved for review.

Classifications based on residency pass equal protection

muster if they have any rational basis. Martinez v. Bynum, 461

U.S. 321, 325-326 (1983); Baldwin v. Fish and Game Commission

of Montana, 436 U.S. 371, 379 (1979). As the Illinois Supreme

Court held, the surcharge is supported by an eminently rational

basis.

First, the surcharge rationally helps the District promote its

own residents’ access to scarce harbor moorings. This Court has

repeatedly held that when a governmental jurisdiction constructs

facilities for public use, it has a rational basis under the Equal

Protection Clause for favoring its own residents’ use of those

facilities. Vlandis v. Kline, 412 U.S. 441, 452-453 (1973); Martinez

v. Bynum, 461 U.S. 321, 328 (1983). On similar grounds, in

Baldwin v. Fish & Game Commission of Montana, supra, this

Court held that the state of Montana had a rational basis for

preserving its own citizens’ access to the finite supply of elk in

the State. 436 U.S. at 388-390. This Court therefore rejected an

Equal Protection Clause attack on Montana’s huge nonresident

surcharge on hunting licenses for elk.

Vlandis, Martinez, and Baldwin demolish plaintiffs’ equal

protection claim. As the Illinois Supreme Court noted, the

District’s harbor moorings are a finite resource. Just as a school

district may constitutionally favor its own children’s access to

limited school facilities (Martinez), and just as Montana may

constitutionally use fee distinctions to preserve the state’s finite

game supply for the benefit of its own residents (Baldwin), the

Chicago Park District may constitutionally impose a modest

surcharge on nonresidents as an allocation device to preserve

its own residents’ access to the finite supply of harbor moorings.

Second, the nonresident surcharge is a rational method of

compensating for nonresidents’ lesser contribution to the physical

and administrative infrastructure that makes the harbors

possible. This Court has repeatedly affirmed lower courts who

=

/

upheld, using this rationale, the constitutionality of nonresident

surcharges. See Starns v. Malkerson, 401 U.S. 985 (1971),

summarily affirming 326 F.Supp. 234 (D.Minn. 1970) (three-judge

court); Sturgis v. Washington, 414 U.S. 1057 (1970), summarily

affirming 368 F.Supp. 38 (N.D. Was. 1973) (three-judge court).

In Baldwin, supra, this Court noted that Montana’s 2,500%

nonresident surcharge for elk hunting licenses could be justified,

among other reasons, on this ground. This Court wrote that only

Montana residents contributed, with their taxes, to the infras-

tructure that made elk hunting possible. 436 U.S. at 389.

As the Illinois Supreme Court held, this rationale justifies

the nonresident surcharge. The Chicago Park District’s harbors

are embedded in, and depend on, a magnificent park system

that Chicago residents support with their taxes and nonresidents

do not. Moreover, the taxes paid by Chicago’s residents support

not only this physical infrastructure, but also an expensive

administrative infrastructure. The harbors demand continuous

attention from the District’s top management, its financial

officers, its Department of Personnel, its Law Department, its

construction tradesmen, its security department, and more. The

nonresident surcharge rationally helps compensate for the fact

that Chicago residents’ taxes support this infrastructure.

Petitioners’ arguments against these rational bases for the

mooring surcharge have no merit. First, petitioners claim that

this Court has held that “a state cannot discriminate between

its citizens based soley [sic] on past payment of real estate taxes.”

Petition at 12, citing Shapiro v. Thompson, 394 U.S. 618 (1968).

Shapiro holds no such thing. It involved a challenge not to a

bona fide residency requirement, but to a durational residency

requirement for receiving welfare benefits. Bona fide residency

requirements base distinctions on where people live; durational

residency requirements base distinctions on how long people have

lived where they do. Unlike bona fide residency requirements,

durational residency requirements sometimes implicate the right

to travel, as the requirement did in Shapiro. They therefore can

be subjected to a higher standard of scrutiny under the Equal

Protection Clause. Martinez v. Bynum, supra, 461 U.S. at 325-

326, 328 n.7. Using this heightened standard, Shapiro declined

to sustain a durational residency requirement for welfare on the

8

ground that the plaintiffs had not paid past taxes in the

jurisdiction affording the benefits.

But as to bona fide residency requirements, things are

different. This Court routinely upholds bona fide residency

requirements on the rationale that residents pay more to support

local facilities and services than nonresidents pay. See Martinez

v. Bynum, supra, 461 U.S. at 325-329, which refused to apply

the holding of Shapiro v. Thompson to a bona fide residency

requirement that charged tuition to nonresident schoolchildren

but not to resident schoolchildren.

Second, petitioners claim that a municipality may not

constitutionally favor its own residents’ use of “public property”

over nonresidents’. Petition at 14. No citation is given for this

assertion; none exists. Martinez and other cases hold precisely

the opposite. See, e.g., County Board of Arlington, Va. v. Richards,

434 U.S. 5, 7 (1977), which upheld a municipal ordinance that

denied nonresidents the right to park on certain streets.

Third, even though this Court’s decisions recognize the

District’s interest in promoting its own citizens’ access to scarce

facilities, petitioners claim that “rather than being scarce and

limited facilities, the moorings are an expanding asset.” Petition

at 15. Petitioners ask this Court to take “judicial notice” of a

flyer in which the District discusses a plan to increase the number

of moorings. Petitioners airily claim that there are “unused miles

and miles” of Lake Michigan shoreline where new harbors could

be built. -

It is hard to imagine a poorer argument. While the District

may build more moorings in the future, those moorings will

continue to be limited-capacity facilities whose supply is exceeded

by the demand for them. Indeed, it is the heavy demand for

these scarce moorings that may induce the District to undertake -

the huge investment needed to build new harbors. The record

in this case shows that demand for these moorings has sub-

stantially exceeded the supply, resulting in waiting lists. Petition

at 37a. Nothing in the record suggests that this will not continue

to be true. So long as it is, the District may legitimately take

steps to keep its own citizens from being crowded out of the

harbors by nonresident boaters. The allocation measure it has

9

thus far chosen — a modest price break to Chicago residents

— is a highly rational means of carrying out this permissible

government objective.

Fourth, petitioners try to distinguish Baldwin by arguing

that its rationale is applicable only to discrimination by States

against citizens of another State. Petition at 16. Nothing in

Baldwin supports this reading. Petitioners confuse Baldwin’s

discussion of the Equal Protection Clause with its entirely

separate discussion of the Privileges and Immunities Clause. The

Court’s discussion of the Privileges and Immunities Clause

necessarily focused on State discrimination against citizens of

other States, since that is the only kind of discrimination that

the Clause deals with. But in discussing the validity of Montana’s

nonresident surcharge under the Equal Protection Clause, this

Court upheld the surcharge for reasons that are applicable to

residency requirements imposed by any level of government,

whether federal, state, or local. 436 U.S. at 389. And other

decisions of this Court have applied the equal protection principles

discussed in Baldwin to residency discrimination by municipal-

ities. See Martinez v. Bynum, supra.

Fifth, petitioners suggest that upholding the District’s

nonresident surcharge will invite municipalities to use such

surcharges to discriminate on the basis of race. Petition at 18.

The answer to this argument is that petitioners have never alleged

that the Chicago Park District imposes its nonresident mooring

surcharge for that purpose.

Sixth, petitioners say that an Illinois constitutional provision

known as the “Uniform Fees” clause requires this Court to treat

residency as a “suspect” classification, and therefore requires

the nonresident surcharge to be subjected to “strict scrutiny”

under the federal Equal Protection Clause. Petition at 17, 20-

21. No authority or logic supports this attempt to have the Illinois

tail wag the federal dog. Federal law, not State law, dictates

which classifications are “suspect” under the Fourteenth

Amendment. As discussed above, bona fide residency is not a

“suspect” criterion under the Equal Protection Clause. It

implicates no “fundamental right” and receives only the usual

“rational-basis” review underthe Clause. As the Illinois Supreme

10

Court rightly held, the District’s nonresident surcharge easily

passes that review.

C. Petitioners’ ‘‘Public Trust Doctrine’’

Argument Presents No Federal Claim

The Illinois Supreme Court rejected petitioners’ argument

that the nonresident surcharge violates [linois’ “public trust

doctrine.” Petitioners seek this Court’s review of that holding,

claiming that it “conflicts” with holdings by courts in other States.

Petition at 18-19. However, the holding is purely one of linois

law, so that this Court has no appellate jurisdiction to review

it.

The “public trust doctrine” originated in the common law.

Under English common law, title to lands under navigable or

tidal waters was held by the King in trust for public use. In

America, title to such lands passed after independence to the

United States, subject to the same public trust. This Court held

early on that when States were admitted to statehood, they

acquired title to these “public trust lands,” subject to a paramount

“navigational servitude” in favor of the United States to insure

that they remain available for navigation. See Phillips Petroleum

Co. v. Mississippi, __ U.S. ___, 108 S.Ct. 791, 796 (1988); Oregon

v. Corvallis Sand & Gravel Co., 429 U.S. 363, 375-376 (1977).

Once a State has acquired title to public trust lands, federal

law in general ceases to govern the use of those lands. In Oregon

v. Corvallis Sand & Gravel Co., supra, this Court held that issues

of ownership of a State’s public trust lands are governed by the

law of the State, not by federal common law. And this Court

has long made it clear that “the individual States have the

authority to define the limits of the lands held in public trust

and to recognize private rights in such lands as they see fit.”

See Phillips Petroleum Co. v. Mississippi, supra, 108 S.Ct. at 794.

Federal law impinges on State-owned public trust lands in

only two limited particulars. First, such lands remain subject

to a “navigational servitude” in favor of the United States. See

Gibson v. United States, 166 U.S. 269, 271-272 (1897). Second,

in land title disputes between States and private citizens, it is

sometimes necessary to determine whether certain lands were

11

in fact public trust lands owned by the United States at the

time Congress passed the statehood act admitting the State in

question. If they were, then the State acquired title to them

through the federal statehood act, and the private claimants lose.

See, e.g., Phillips Petroleum Co. v. Mississippi, supra.

Neither of these federal issues, of course, is involved in this

lawsuit. No one claims that the Chicago Park District’s price

_ structure for the seasonal rental of boat moorings interferes with

the paramount right of the United States to assure the continued

navigability of Lake Michigan. And this case raises no issue

of whether title to the lands underlying the District’s harbors

did or did not pass to Illinois by virtue of the federal act admitting

Illinois to statehood. Accordingly, while the lands underlying

the District’s harbors are “public trust lands,” no federal issue

is raised by their status as such.

In invoking the “public trust doctrine,” petitioners mistake

a state-law doctrine for a federal one. Over the years, a number

of State courts have had occasion to decide what uses of public

trust lands owned by the State in question (or a municipality

of that State) serve the “public trust.” See, e.g., People ex rel.

Scott v. Chicago Park District, 66 T.2d 65, 360 N.E.2d 773 (1976);

Borough of Neptune City v. Borough of Avon-By-The-Sea, 294

A.2d 47, 61 N.E.2d 296 (1972). Such decisions have been decided

under the law of the particular State in question. These courts

have not claimed to be interpreting federal law. They have not

claimed to be enforcing a federal standard of what the “public

trust” is. Rather, they are defining Statelaw standards for the

use of lands that are owned by the State in question or its political

subdivisions.

For this reason, the “conflict” claimed by petitioners between

different States’ “public trust doctrine” decisions does not involve

federal law, and in fact is not a conflict. Instead, these decisions

reflect variations in different States’ views of what uses of land

serve the public trust as each of those States defines that concept.

For example, New Jersey thinks that the public trust requires

beach fees to be equal for everyone (see Neptune City, supra).

Illinois thinks that the public trust allows reasonable municipal

price distinctions based on residency (see the decision below).

Our federal system is designed to allow (and encourage) such

12

varying views among States. Neither view implicates federal law,

much less conflicts with any federal definition of the “public

trust.”

Petitioners failed to persuade the Illinois Supreme Court that

the public trust, as defined by Illinois law, forbids the District’s

administrative pricing distinction between residents and non-

residents of Chicago. This Court has no appellate jurisdiction

to review that statelaw decision.!

CONCLUSION

The District respectfully requests that the petition for certiorari

be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

GEORGE F. GALLAND, JR.

Davis, Miner, BARNHILL

& GALLAND, P.C. _

14 West Erie Street

Chicago, Illinois 60610

(312) 751-117

Counsel for Respondent

1 One further argument in the petition deserves only a footnote.

Petitioners assert that the Illinois Supreme Court deprived them of

federal due process by failing to hold that the nonresident surcharge

violates a provision of the Illinois Constitution requiring uniform fees

and taxes. Petition at 22-23. This argument unmistakably says that

because petitioners lost one of their State constitutional claims, they

have been denied federal due process. Not so.

la

POINTS AND AUTHORITIES

Page

BRIEF AND ARGUMENT FOR PLAINTIFF-APPELLANTS

5. RMR DUI TEINS voce ccc ccvcencrscavcssecen l

2. ISSUES PRESENTED FOR REVIEW .................. 2

el Leip pe paaane sea eeeneeew wnt 3

Illinois Supreme Court Rule 302(a) ...................022055. 3

Illinois Supreme Court Rule @15(a) ...................0.0005. 3

4. CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND STATUTES

ai ee ol cL kanen Wea semeeansekwaes’ 4

Hee ty ny, 7

ARGUMENT

I. THE APPELLATE COURT WAS WITHOUT JURIS-

DICTION TO HEAR THE APPEAL OF THE CHI-

CAGO PARK DISTRICT ON THE LOWER COURT'S

RULING THAT THE NON-RESIDENT SURCHARGE

See AARP REE EINES 8 55 cbs cv evanscdesebevecncees 9

Lombard v. Elmore,

112 011.2d 467. 493 N.E.2d 1063,

os en ce ne eke hepa eee eens 11

Illinois Supreme Court

re Cit ea an a ote a ene es 9,11

er CcL lo. aaa coca ie dee ac ane rhea ee eee ees 9,10

ee is nec cao abuse bowk necks ChEs ae eeeuh eats 9

Ill. Rev. Stat., Chap. 105, Sec. 333.23n(g) ..............00000- 9

UW. THE COURT ERRED IN HOLDING THAT THE

CHICAGO PARK DISTRICT MAY DISCRIMINATE

AGAINST NON-RESIDENTS OF THE DISTRICT BY

CHARGING THEM A SURCHARGE. ................ 12

4a

Page

People ex. rel Scott v. Chicago Park District,

66 [li.2d 65, 360 N.E.2d 773, 4 Ill.Dec. 660 (1977) ........... 23

Village of Braceville v. Doherty,

Cee ee ed erat eesemae 23

W.C.M. Window Co., Inc. v. E. Allen Bernardi,

I 9k 4.n 6 otha caes caksckecdenacaeden 24

Il. Rev. Stat., Chap. 48, para. 39s - 1 et seq. ................. 24

E. The State Statute Which Authorizes That Fees Charged

To Nonresidents Need Not Be The Same As Residents

Must Be Interpreted to Mean That The Fees May Be

Larger Only If Additional Burdens Are Imposed On The

Park As A Result of Nonresident Usage. ............... 25

Douglas v. Village of Melrose Park,

389 Il. 98, 101, 58 N.E.2d 864, 865 (1945) ............0.... 25

Williams v. City of Chicago,

66 Ill.2d 423, 362 N.E.2d 1030 (1977) ................0 cue. 26

Illinois Revised Statutes _

a ccbuwebesseseccens 27

Chapter 105, Section 333.23n(g) ....................0005- 25

Chicago Park District Code

a ee eT od oe cm anecbabae 26

ERT a a 24

F. The Park District’s Own Ordinances Prohibit

Discrimination: Fees Must Be Uniform ................ 27

Chicago Park District Code

Dee aaa pceshowa 28

G. The Same Panel Of The Appellate Court Has Issued

An Opinion Exactly Opposite To Its Opinion In This

MG cs os Giada ck ca cvadssccbcvebéecdevneudecness 28

Bobrowicz v. City of Chicago,

168 Dl.App.3d 227, 522 N.E. 2d 663, 669.

ee ee ea en undue ws bkbdsenes 28

Il. THE COURT ERRED IN HOLDING THAT THE

CHICAGO PARK DISTRICT CAN MAKE A PROFIT

ON ITS NON-BONDED FACILITIES. ................ 29

Ward Baking Co. v. City of Chicago,

UD Ee Ee UG, REM es ATE CRUD oo ssc vss ece ce cesnceuy's 29

Il. Rev. Stat., Chap. 105, Sec. 333.23 (p) .... 2.2... cece sceees 29

A. TheChicago Park District, A Unit Of Local Government,

Has No Implied Powers, to “Rent” Its Moorings At A

Profit, Or Otherwise Under The Illinois Constitution of

eae Sy ad ga eet SN PMO gd ORES, PS Ce RBar 30

Nlinois Constitution

Ne ne ea yaeees aokneu Ueeees 31

Eo he cent eeeener an 30

Illinois Revised Statutes

Chapter 106, Gectiom BIS.Dp) .... ww ccc cece ese cccnsss 31

Cy SU NN IN ig can cucesbcsnccuccancsdanses 31

B. The Chicago Park District Exercises A Governmental

Or Police Power When It Licenses Non-Bonded Moorings

For Revenue By Making A Profit - It Does Not Have

A Proprietary Power To “Rent” Moorings. ............. 32

Bauer v. City of Chicago,

eee ee el a esac sc cenhandeheeedeas can 36

City of Bloomington v. Ramey,

393 Ill. 467, 66 N.E. 2d 385 (1946) ... 0... ccc eee e eee 37

City of Carrollton v. Bagette,

Se es ee EE ET CIID ww ceae ccc cnctccecnccsececes 38

2a

Page

A. Residency-Based Discrimination Is Not Permissible

Under The United States Constitution Unless It Is

Reasonably Related To Some Additional Burdens

Imposed By The Non-Residents ....................44. 12

Baldwin v. Fish and Game Commission of Montana,

ee GEE ss Shc a wb ceecedeusaveenenaceies> passim

B. The Court’s Opinion Is Contrary To The Equal Protec-

tion And Uniform Fees Clauses Of The Illinois

NAT Ee LS TIO IEE FG: et AE ES OE EN 16

Anderson V. Wagner,

61 Dl.App.3d 822, 378 N.E.2d 805, 809 (4th Dist. 1978),

affirmed 79 Tll.2d 295, 402 N.E.2d 558 (1980) .............. 16

Baldwin v. Fish and Game Commission of Montana,

I rc hws 17

Corfield v. Coryell,

6 F. Cas. 546, 551-52 (No. 3, 230) (CCED Pa. 1825) ......... 17

People ex. rel. Scott v. Chicago Park District,

66 Il.2d 65, 360 N.E.2d 773 (1977)... 2.2... cece eee 17

Searle Pharmaceuticals, Inc. v. Department of Revenue,

117 D.2d 4544, 512 N.E.2d 1240 (1987) ................ 17,18

Illinois Constitution

Article I, Section 2

Article IX, Section 2 .............. cc cece cece ee ees passum

C. The Appellate Court’s Opinion Is Contrary To The

Illinois Public Trust Doctrine. ..................0.0005. 19

Basker v. West Chicago Park Commissioners,

66 TLApp. 507, 510 (1886) ..... 0... ccc ccc cecnccees Sam iche 21

Borough of Neptune City v. Borough of Avon-By-The-Sea,

61 N.J. 296, 294 A.2d 47 (1972)... ccc ce eee eee 19

|

AS th Nl i LE

3a

Page

Lincoln Park Traps v. Chicago Park District,

323 DL.App. 107, 114, 55 N.E. 2d 123 (1944)................ 21

Love v. Glencoe Park District,

I Att I iin sd anavueibeacsestueas ean 21

People ex. rel. Scott v. Chicago Park District,

66 Ill.2d 65, 360 N.E.2d 773, 4 Il.Dec. 660 (1977) ........... 19

Quinn v. Irving Park District,

ee ns a ccccchcese ences ena ecinnses 21

10 McQuillin on Municipal Corporations

SERRE ae RELY, vy ya <8 Pee a Ea Pa rE CB 20

10 L.L.P. Cities, Villages, and Other Municipal Corporations

CRT ot ct ch eunut e Comenie rat nbameenaecie es 21

D. The Opinion Of The Appellate Court Is Contrary To

92 Years of Illinois Case Law Prohibiting Discrimination

I CL Re Las atau an awe ces wd kan hin

American Baking Co. v. City of Wilmington,

ps fp EB foe toby fh ee eee

Borough of Neptune City v. Borough of Avon-By-The Sea,

61 N.J. 296, 294 A.2d 47, 57 A.L.R. 3d 983 (1972) ..........

City of Carrollton v. Bazzette,

SN ee eas ie b bcsevs ck paudncde need ees

City of Elgin v. Winchester,

ee Ee, Me es PAE) 5a ccc scans cvececncnccces y

Larson v. City of Rockford,

371 Ill. 441, 21 N.E. 2d 396 (1939) .....................0..

Lucas v. City of Macomb,

ear ds ive Cues leuawas deen tae eia we

People ex. rel Bernardi v. Leary Construction Company,

102 Il.2d 295, 464 N.E.2d 109, 80 Ill.Dec. 36 (1984)......... |

6a

Page

City of Chicago Heights v. Public Service Company,

GA Be, OF Bee CHD Whin cdivcccnccccccccccccess 40

City of Chicago Heights v. Western Union Telegraph Co.,

406 Ill. 428, 94 N.E.2d 306 (1950) ............. cece eee ee eee 40

City of Peoria v. Gugenheim,

ee irc ska vec tkdanveeesnstisccececes 39

City of Peoria v. Postal Telegraph Cable Co.,

es ED ov cccdcccvdccvecvessevcces 39

Condon v. Village of Forest Park,

Be BP EMEED Sc cscs ccnccvvccvocieccvs 41

Great Plains Resources, Inc. v. Benton,

ED one cccccccctctscecesecuseees 34

Herb Bros. v. City of Chicago,

ee, Ee NONI coco cccccdncccocccccesooes 38

Lamere v. City of Chicago,

nt os ess cekenedeceeoteses 34, 37

McNeil v. Chicago Park District,

ee co dicaccecerdscsscoevctrecvnsvess 32

Nature’s Rival Co. v. City of Chicago,

aU eee ie. ek weeeewanewens 36

Quad Canteen Service Corp. v. Ruzak,

85 Ill.App.3d 256. 40 Ill.Dec. 610 (1980) ................... 40

Rozner vu. Korshak,

55 Ill.2d 430, 303 N.E.2d 389, 390 (1973) .................. 34

Ward Baking Co. v. City of Chicago,

Se Bn FRE BEE CEOOED ccc cccccvccccccocsonsscves 35

Wiggins v. City of Chicago,

Be sas ce aee ene ned spvienbueees 38

Illinois Constitution of 1970

ee. aL she akuwpadabencsasees 33

i ee . . ceecvcdeeuceevevereenvena 34

Page

Illinois Revised Statutes

Chapter 106, Section 3382.23(p)........ccccccceccsccces 34, 41

Chicago Park District Code

eee al ine hd kdee ge deearnen eee 33

10 McQuillin on Municipal Corporations

REIN ae eh en ee 39

C. This Court Has Rejected The “Implied Rental” Theory

Relied Upon By The Appellate Court In Its Decisions

ee youn ae a. es wkisieneraeeet es 42

City of Chicago Hts. v. Western Union,

a ie a rer 42, 43

Village of Lombard v. Illinois Bell Telephone Co.,

pF ES POP OCT EE PECTE ETT CCETET ECT ETE EET 42

Illinois Revised Statutes

Chapter 105, Section 3383.23n(g) ...........-ccsscccceeeee 44

D. The Court’s Reliance On A Supposed “Statutory

Scheme” Is Erroneous Because The Cited Statutes Relate

Only To Bonded Facilities, While This Case Deals Only

dd i ccsncnvecctoneussess. 44

Illinois Revised Statutes

I II ED go cs vcccccccssccnccnscsocces 46

ee os cet ecccasracccecetusee 46

Chanter 106, Section 383.23q .........cccccccccaccccscces 46

Chapter 105, Section 333.23r .............cccceseeee .. 44, 46

Ce PI RITE) on cnc ccccvccccccceccoseecs 44

Chapter 105, Section 333.236 .......cccccccccccccccces 45, 46

COE BE I IG oo vc cewccvdnccnsccvcsscnce 46

Ce Se ID oo ccc vvvccesivesevavscvesess 47

E. The Appellate Court Effectively Overruled This Court’s

Prior Decisions That Fees Charged By Units Of Local

Government Are Subject To Judicial Review When It

Refused To Review The 500% Profit Charged By The

DRL occ ue duyassaueeNnncae dora cras arsine ase 50

8a

Page

Condon v. Village of Forest Park,

eo eens Revaebb aces ees 52

McNeil v. Chicago Park District,

RE SR ee ee 50, 51

F. The “Implied Rental” Authority Found By The Appellate

Court Is Contrary To The Evidence Produced In The

ee eae ee anaes seen 53

McNeil v. Chicago Park District,

401 DL. 556 (1948)

Illinois Revised Statutes

I ND ove ccc c eb ercccccvercsccnens 53

Chicago Park District Code

AEE TE ee Aa ee Poe 54

Black’s Law Dictionary 1298 (4th ed. 1968) .............. 53, 54

G. No Ordinance Of The Park District Allows Profits To

Be Made On Mooring Fees Or Permits An Unreasonable

Pesca uN UCU NASsEd dae eee eceENRAbhdesdneksdeeccerce 56

Chicago Park District Code

ete el Us lata kes baa heaadeeh pee wane 56

H. The Decisions Of The United States Supreme Court Are

Uniform That Fees Must Approximate Costs, Cont: ary

To The Holding Of The Appellate Court. ............... 56

American Airlines v. Massachusetts Port Authority,

a ee ee FED sok i bee wncdicdeccicccnncsss 56

Evansville-Vanderburgh Airport Authority District v. Delta

Airlines, 405 U.S. 707, 92 S.Ct. 1349, 31 L.Ed. 2d 620

Ee ee ra sera dbs ude woe wwe 8 6.6 56

SCs cdushaseebeveedesetacadnaebee swe 57

PEE iS bik ceasuersoeicsindsevecsennacs 58

a oe

9a

I.

THE COURT ERRED IN HOLDING THAT THE

CHICAGO PARK DISTRICT MAY DISCRIMI-

NATE AGAINST NON-RESIDENTS OF THE

DISTRICT BY CHARGING THEM A SUR-

CHARGE

Discrimination by an [linois Park District against certain

citizens of the State of Illinois who are nonresidents of the Park

District, contrary to the opinion of the appellate court, is illegal

and void under the United States and [Illinois Constitutions and

under the “Public Trust Doctrine” fashioned by this Court and

the appellate courts governing the use of parks in Lllinois. The

appellate court in its opinion addressed only the federal consti-

tutional aspects of the Plaintiffs’ arguments as to the invalidity

of the non-resident surcharge imposed by the Chicago Park

District. The appellate court erred in its analysis under the United

States Constitution but, more disturbingly, the appellate court

failed to even address Plaintiffs’ arguments under the Lllinois

Constitution and the case law establishing the Public Trust

Doctrine, under which the surcharge was found to be void, illegal,

and unconstitutional by the trial court.

A. Residency-Based Discrimination Is Not Permis-

sible Under The United States Constitution Unless

It Is Reasonably Related To Some Additional

Burdens Imposed By The Non-Residents.

The appellate court based its entire opinion for overturning

the trial court’s order regarding the non-resident surcharge on

Baldwin v. Fish and Game Commission of Montana, 436 U.S.

371 (1979). The Baldwin case upheld a Montana hunting license

system, which charged non-residents of the state a substanitally

higher fee than residents for a license to hunt elk and other

game. The Baldwin Court discussed at length the relationship

between citizens of different states. In discussing the Privileges

and Immunities clause, the Court pointed out that its only concern

in that decision was with the relationship of residents of one

state to another state. See 436 U.S. at 380-82. The appellate court’s

faith in the power of this case is misplaced. The trial court’s

succinct and accurate summation of its irrelevency was as follows:

10a

“THE COURT: I don’t have any trouble with

Baldwin. Baldwin dealt with non-residents of a state

as opposed to residents of a state. The class of people

that we are dealing with are all residents and taxpayers

of the same state.” (R.373, p. 19)

It is obvious from Baldwin that the Court there was dealing

with the relationship of Citizens of one state with another state.

This is not issue in this case. The issue here is whether the Chicago

Park District can charge an Illinois citizen who is a resident

of, e.g., Wilmette or Evanston, an extra fee for use of its harbor.

Baldwin is therefore totally irrelevant to a determination of this

issue. Even the Baldwin Court recognized that the case did not

apply to discrimination among residents of the same state when

it stated as follows:

“It appears to have been generally accepted that

although the States were obligated to treat all those

within their territory equally in most respects, they

were not obligated to share those things they held in

trust for their own people.” 436 U.S. at 384.

Thus, the Court acknowledges that a higher level of scrutiny

would attach to discrimination based on residency within a state.

The U.S. Supreme Court, in a case decided six years later, held

that discrimination based upon municipal residency is subject

to the “substantial reason” test of the Privileges and Immunities

Clause. United Building and Construction Trades Council of

Camden County and Vicinity v. City of Camden, 465 U.S. 208,

79 L.Ed. 249, 104 S.Ct. 1020 (1984).

Even under the standards of Baldwin, however, the non-

resident surcharge in the present case must fall. The Supreme

Court applied the standard “additional burdens imposed”

analysis used in privileges and immunities cases in Baldwin.

Under the facts of that case, the Court held that the nonresidents’

use of Montana hunting facilities did create additional burdens

on the State of Montana (436 U.S. at 390) which justified a higher

fee to be imposed on nonresidents. In the case at bar, there are

absolutely no additional burdens imposed on the Chicago Park

District in providing moorings to nonresidents, which the

appellate court acknowledged. (Op. p. 4).

eee OK om

wo meres til

lla

Furthermore, Baldwin does not deal with property “heid in

trust for the equal benefit of all the people” that must not be

operated “in such a manner that a preferential use thereof is

granted to any one person or to any group of persons.” Lincoln

Park Traps v. Chicago Park District, 323 Il. App. 107, 114, 55

N.E.2d 123 (1944). Finally, the Baldwin Court was not confronted

with a state constitution which prohibits non-uniform fees.

(linois Constitution, Art. IX, sec. 2). In fact, as illustrated by

the Baldwin majority in the quote above, and as clearly expressed

by the dissent, a fundamental right long recognized of every

citizen is to be treated equally as every other citizen of his or

her state by that state in regards to “taxes and impositions.”

436 U.S. at 395, 56 L. Ed. at 373 (Brennan, J., dissenting), quoting

Mr. Justice Washington in Corfield v. Coryell, 6 F. Cas. 546,

551-52 (No. 3,230) (CCED Pa. 1825).

Of even greater import is the decision by the U.S. Supreme

Court that holds the Privileges and Immunities Clause applies

to laws that discriminate among state residents on the basis

of municipal residencey. In United Building and Construction

Trades Council of Camden County and Vicinity v. Mayor and

Council of the City of Camden, 465 U.S. 208, 79 L.Ed.2d 249,

104 S. Ct. 1020 (1984), at issue was the ordinance of Camden,

New Jersey, which required that 40% of the employees of

contractors working on city projects be Camden residents. The

Court specifically addressed the question of whether the Priv-

ileges and Immunities Clause of the United States Constitution

applied to a municipal ordinance. In holding that it did, the Court

said at 79 L.Ed. 256:

“(A) municipality is merely a political subdivision of

the State from which its authority derives. (Citation)

It is as true of the Privileges and Immunities Clause

of the Equal Protection Clause that what would be

unconstitutional if done directly by the State can no

more readily be accomplished by a city deriving its

authority from the State.”

The Court further held that discrimination based on munic-

ipal residency was equally bad as that based on state residency

and that both came under the Privileges and Immunities Clause.

The Court said at 79 L.Ed. 257:

12a

“We have never read the Clause so literally as to apply

it only to distinctions based on state citizenship. For

example, in Mullaney v. Anderson, 342 U.S. 415, 410-

420, 96 L.Ed. 458, 72 S. Ct. 428 (1952), the Court held

that the Alaska Territory had no more freedom to

discrimnate against those not resident in the Territory

than did any State to favor its own citizens...A

person who is not residing in a given State is ipso

facto not residing in a city within that State. Thus,

whether the exercise of a privilege is conditioned on

state residency or on municipal residency he will just

as surely be excluded.”

The appellate court’s holding is without basis in the law

and the facts of the case. It sets a dangerous precedent. Can

it be seriously doubted that Park Districts throughout the Chicago

metropolitan area and the entire State seeking ways to invidiously

discriminate against their neighbors welcome the appellate

court’s opinion with open arms, and cannot hesitate to draw

this sword from their sheath? The potential for abuse is enormous.

B. The Court’s Opinion Is Contrary To The Equal

Protection and Uniform Fees Clauses of The

Illinois Constitution.

Article I, Section 2 of the Illinois Constitution of 1970 (the

Illinois Equal Protection Clause”) provides as follows:

“No person shall be deprived by life, liberty or property

without due process of law nor be denied the equal

protection of the laws.” (Emphasis added.)

It is undisputed that no additional burden has been imposed

by non-residents on the Park District, thus raising serious

questions under the Illinois Constitution of 1970 as to the unequal

treatment of non-residents. Significant by its absence is any

_ mention of the [Illinois Constitution in the appellate court’s

opinion, even though the statute at issue was found unconsti-

tutional under it. Not one word is used to attempt to show how

a subdivision of the State (the Park District) can discriminate

against state citizens based upon their residence when the State

itself cannot do so under the Illinois Constitution. The appellate

unned ids

et. Pe me! Der

13a

court did not even discuss the residency issue even though it

raises a stricter level of scrutiny. As the court stated in Anderson

v. Wagner, 61 Ill. App. 3d 822, 378 N.E.2d 805, 809 (4th Dist.

1978), affirmed 79 [l.2d 295, 402 N.E.2d 558 (1980), in discussing

the tests to be applied in Equal Protection analysis:

“The yardstick for measuring equal protection argu-

ments has a number of sides. The traditional test for

equal protection is not whether a statute results in

unequal treatment, but whether the statutory inequal-

ity of treatment has a reasonable basis in fact.

(McGowan v. Maryland (1961), 366 U.S. 420, 425-26.)

A more exacting test known as the strict scrutiny test

is employed in cases concerning ‘suspect classifica-

tions’ (e.g., race, sex ethnic background, residency, and

alienage) or ‘fundamental interests’ (e.g., the right to

travel freely or to practice a religion).” (Emphasis

added.)

Here, where residency-based disrimination exists in an area

well known for communities highly-segregated by both race and

economic wealth, heightened scrutiny is called for. Furthermore,

under Illinois law, the privilege of Illinois citizens to share equally

the recreational resources of the state is a “fundamental” interest

demanding more than cursory review. See People ex rel. Scott

v. Chicago Park District, 66 I1l.2d 65, 360 N.E.2d 773 (1977). See

also, Baldwin, 436 U.S. at 395, 56 L. Ed. at 373 (Brennan, J.,

dissenting), quoting Mr. Justice Washington in Corfield v.

Coryell, 6 F. Cas. 546, 551-52 (N. 3,230) (CCED Pa. 1825).

In addition, Article IX, Section 2 of the Illinois Constitution

of 1970 (the “Uniformity Clause” or “Uniform Fees Clause”)

provides as follows:

“In any law classifying the subjects or objects of non-

property taxes or fees, the classes shall be reasonable

and the subjects and objects within each class shall

be taxed uniformly.” (Emphasis added)

The Uniformity Clause of Article IX, Section 2, where

applicable, attaches a stricter standard of review than the Illinois

Equal Protection Clause. Searle Pharmaceuticals, Inc. v.

l4a

Department of Revenue, 117 Ill.2d 454, 512 N.E.2d 1240 (1987).

The appellate court should have applied the stricter standard

of the Uniformity Clause to the Park District’s practice of

discriminating against non-residents, but failed to even consider

the provision. The Park District charged a fee 25% greater to

nonresidents that to residents, while admitting that there are

no additional costs for supplying moorings to nonresidents than

to residents. The Park District’s actions thus violate Article IX,

Section 2 of the [Illinois Constitution, which provides further

support for affirming the trial court’s ruling on the surcharge

and reversing the appellate court.

This Court, in Searle Pharmaceuticals, Inc. v. Department

of Revenue, 117 Iil.2d 454, 512 N.E.2d 1240 (1987), explained in

detail the Uniformity Clause’s limitations on non-property taxes

and fees. In Searle, this Court, after reviewing the history behind

Article IX, Section 2 (117 Ill.2d at 468-69, 512 N.E.2d at 1245-

46), held that “a broader limitation on the legislative power to

classify for non-property purposes was intended to be included

in the language of section 2 than the limitation of the equal

protection clause.” 117 Ill.2d at 469, 512 N.E.2d at 1246.

The non-resident surcharge cannot withstand scrutiny under

even the rational basis test under the Equal Protection Clause

employed by the appellate court, for the basis found by the court

to support the discrimination is fallacious and illusory. The

appellate court’s basis was given as follows:

“(Where a local public entity has recreational resources

which are finite, it has a justifiable interest in favoring

the utilization of those resources by its residents over

nonresidents.” (Opinion p. 8.)

No authority is given by the appellate court for its above

conclusion. Certainly there is none which will support it. The

stated reason is fallacious, because it permits discrimination in

every instance - since ail recreational facilities and resources can

be considered finite. It is illusory also because it ignores the strong

public policy of this State, embodied in the Public Trust Doctrine,

of preserving the natural resources of this State not just for a

segment of its citizenry, but for all citizens equally.

es

a a ee eee

ee! aa ne Peas a

a rd

lda

Under any constitutional test the Park District residency

discrimination fails to pass muster.

C. The Appellate Court’s Opinion Is Contrary To The

Illinois Public Trust Doctrine.

This Court, in People ex rel. Scott v. Chicago Park District,

66 Ill.2d 65, 360 N.E.2d 773, 4 Ill.Dec. 660 (1977), discussed the

history of the “Public Trust Doctrine” when it invalidated an

enactment of the legislature based upon that doctrine. This Court

cited as authority Borough of Neptune City v. Borough of Avon-

By-The-Sea, 61 N.J. 296, 294 A.2d 47 (1972) (which invalidated

a beach fee where non-residents of a municipality were charged

a higher fee than residents, although all users were citizens of

the same state), when it stated that the use of “Lake Michigan

is a valuable natural resource belonging to the people of this

State in perpetuity,” and that the use of said resource by the

government “has to withstand a most critical examination.” 66

0l.2d at 79, 360 N.E.2d at 781. In Scott, this Court states as

follows:

“When a state holds a resource which is available

for the free use of the general public, a court will look

with considerable skepticism upon any governmental

conduct which is calculated either to reallocate that

resource to more restricted uses or to subject public

uses to the self-interest of private parties.’ [Sax, The

Public Trust Doctrine in Natural Resource Law:

Effective Judicial Intervention, 68 Mich.L.Rev. 471, 490

(1970).] And it may be pointed out that, in considering

what is the public interest, courts are not bound by

inflexible standards.

‘We have no difficulty in finding that, in this latter

half of the twentieth century, the public rights in tidal

lands are not limited to the ancient prerogatives of

navigation and fishing, but extend as well to recrea-

tional uses, including bathing, swimming and other

shore activities. The public trust doctrine, like all

common law principles, should not be considered fixed

or static, but should be molded and extended to meet

changing conditions and needs of the public it was

l6a

created to benefit.’ Borough of Neptune City v. Borough

of Avon-By-The-Sea (1972); 61 N.J. 296, 309, 294 A.2d

47, 54-55, and cases and authorities cited therein; see

also Marks v. Whitney (1971), 6 Cal.3d 251, 98 Cal.Rptr.

790, 491 P.2d 374.” Id.

The Public Trust Doctrine is stated succinctly in 10 McQuillin

on Municipal Corporations, Sec. 28.52, p.160:

“Parks are for the benefit of, and are held in trust

by the municipality for, the public.”

As stated in 10 L.L.P. Cities, Villages, and Other Municipal

Corporations, Sec. 1761:

“The facilities of a park district, such as its parks and

boulevards, are held for the general public or the People

of the State at large, and not merely for those person

residing in the park district or in the immediate vicinity

of the park facilities.”

The public trust doctrine has been cited with approval in

numerous Illinois cases, dating back to 1896:

(a) “It follows, therefore, that the park, swimming tank

and gymnasium located therein are held for the use

of the citizens of the State generally and not for the

exclusive use of the citizens of the park district, and

the ordinance which seeks to limit the use to the citizens

of the district is null and void”. (Quinn v Irving Park

District, 207 Tl. App. 449, 457 [1917])

(b) “The parks and boulevards owned and controlled

by the park board are held for the use of the public

generally, as well as for the public in their immediate

vicinity. West Chicago Park Commissioners v. The

City of Chicago, 152 Ill. 393”. (Basker v. West Chicago

Park Commissioners, 66 Ill. App. 507, 510 [1896)}).

(c) “The fact that the park district, as created by the

act, is carved out of a particular section or portion of

. another municipality does not take from it the con-

_ trolling feature of its public use. Its enjoyment and

amusement are not limited to the particular park

17a

district, but are for the benefit. health and recreation

of the public generally.” (Love v. Glencoe Park District,

270 Il. App. 117, 120 [1933]).

(d) “It is clear from the foregoing authorities that all

lands, the title to which is in commissioners of park

districts, are held in trust for the equal benefit of all

of the people of the State, that the facilities of park

districts are for the equal benefit of all the people of

the State and that park districts cannot operate their

facilities or permit them to be operated in such a

manner that a preferential use thereof is granted to

any one person or to any group of persons.” (Lincoln

Park Traps v. Chicago Park District, 323 Ill. App. 107,

114, 55 N.E.2d 123 [1944]).

The effect of the appellate court’s ruling is to emasculate

the Public Trust Doctrine, and to replace it with a system akin

to feudalism, whereby the privilege to use a particular park or

facility becomes an incident of one’s birth. Moreover, it encour-

ages park districts across the State to build Great Walls of

discrimination around each district, to keep out the non-resident

infidels, who are not worthy to share equally the privileges to

which the residents were accidently born.

D. The Opinion Of The Appellate Court Is Contrary

To 92 Years Of Illinois Case Law Prohibiting

Discrimination Based On Residency.

The leading case in [llinois holding that nonresidents may

not be discriminated against by being charged higher fees is

City of Elgin v. Winchester, 300 Ill. 214, 133 N.E 205 (1921). In

that case a $300 fee was levied on nonresidents distributing

advertisements. Residents were charged no fee. This Court held

the ordinance invalid and went into the subject of discrimination

in detail on pages 216 and 217 as follows:

“In our judgment, under the authorities, the ordinance

is void as being discriminatory between residents and

nonresidents as to the payment of license fees. A citizen

of the city may procure a permit without the payment

of a license fee and distribute advertisements concern-

18a

ing sales by such citizens. Beyond question the ordi-

nance permits local merchants to advertise by the

distribution of circulars or pamphlets. A statute or

ordinance which in imposing a license tax dis-

criminates in favor of the residents of a State

or city and against non-residents of the same

class is unconstitutional. (McGraw v. Town of

Marion, 98 Ky. 673; Eales v. City of Barbourville, 177

id. 216; State of North Carolina v. Williams, 158 N.C.

610; 40 L.R.A. (N.S.) 279, and cases cited in note; City

of Saginaw v. Circuit Judge, 106 Mich. 32; Clements

v. Town of Casper, 4 Wyo. 494; 25 Cyc. 610; 17 R.C.L.

510; 2 Dillon on Munc. Corp. Sec. 593, and cases cited

in note; 2 McQuillin on Munc. Corp. Sec. 739; Ward

v. Maryland, 79 U.S. 418; Ex parte Thornton, 12 Fed.

538.) While this court seems never to have had this

precise question before it for consideration, its reason-

ing in cases where similar principles are involved

would tend to uphoid the conclusions of the decisions

above cited from other States. (City of Carrollton v.

Bazzette, 159 Ill. 284; City of Monmouth v. Popel, 183

id. 634; Tugman v. City of Chicago, 78 id. 405.) While

other cases have been cited by appellee as supporting

the validity of the ordinance we do not consider them

controlling. By reason and the great weight of author-

ity the conclusion must be reached, in our judgment,

that the provision in question under which the fine

was entered against appellant renders the ordinance

discriminatory and therefore void.” (Emphasis added)

The rule was reaffirmed in American Baking Co. v. City

of Wilmington, 370 Ill. 400, 19 N.E.2d 172 (1938), and in Larson

v. City of Rockford, 371 Ill. 441, 21 N.E. 2d 396 (1939), at page

445 as follows:

“Arbitrary discrimination between residents and

nonresidents in the issuance of licenses or the fees

charged will invalidate a municipal ordinance... ”

Numerous decisions before the City of Elgin case had struck

down ordinances favoring residents. E.g., Village of Braceville

v. Doherty, 30 Il. App. 645 (1889); Lucas us. City of Macomb,

19a

49 Ill. App. 60 (1892); City of Carrollton v. Bazzette, 159 Ill. 284

(1896).

Because of its inclusion in A.L.R. and adoption by this Court

in People Ex. Rel Scott v. Chicago Park District, 66 Ill.2d 65,

360 N.E.2d 773, 4 Il.Dec. 660 (1977), the leading case nationally

on this subject is Borough of Neptune City of Borough of Avon-

By-The-Sea, 61 N.J. 296, 294 A.2d 47, 57 A.L.R. 3d 983 (1972).

In that opinion the court considered the subject at length and

stated:

“We are convinced it has to follow that, while munic-

ipalities may validly charge reasonable fees for the

use of their beaches, they may not discriminate in any

respect between their residents and nonresidents.” (57

A.L.R. 3d 994)

Supporting the doctrine that nonresident citizens of the same

state may not be discriminated against are two recent cases

holding the Illinois Preference Act to be unconstitutional. The

Preference Act (Ill. Rev. Stat. Ch. 48, para. 39s - 1 et seq.) provided

that only Illinois laborers would be used on state or other

governmental construction contracts. The Act was contested in

both the federal and the state courts. In the federal case, W.C_M.

Window Co., Inc. v. E. Allen Bernardi, 730 F.2d 486 (7th Cir.

1984), the Court of Appeals held that the law violated both the

commerce clause and the privileges and immunities clause of

the United States Constitution. It went so far as to say that

the law suffered from “prima facie invalidity.” In the state case

this court also found the law to be violative of the privileges

and immunities clause. People ex rel. Bernardi v. Leary Con-

struction Company, Inc., 102 [ll.2d 295, 464 N.E. 2d 1019, 80

Ill. Dec. 36 (1984).

Both cases resoundingly condemned residency-based dis-

crimination, even in a situation where there was no public trust

doctrine applicable to the government involved - as there is here

with park district property. Sanctioning residency discrimination

is contrary to the case law oi Dlinois.

20a

E. The State Statute Which Authorizes That Fees

Charged To Nonresidents Need Not Be The Same

As Residents Must Be Interpreted To Mean That

The Fees May Be Larger Only If Additional

Burdens Are Imposed On The Park District As

A Result Of Nonresident Usage.

The trial court struck down as unconstitutional and void

Section 333.23n(g) of the Chicago Park District Code, which reads

as follows:

“The Chicago Park District, to carry out the purposes

of this section, has all the rights and powers over its

harbor as it does over its other property, and its rights

and powers include but are not limited to the following:

*~* *

(g) To establish and collect fees for all facilities and

services, and compensation for materials furnished.

Fees charged non-residents of such district need

not be the same as fees charged to residents of

the district.” [ll]. Rev. Stat., ch. 105, Sec. 333.23n(g)

(1987) (emphasis supplied).

The Park District relies on this statute for authority for

charging non-residents more than residents for mooring permits.

However, in the case at bar the Park District has admitted that

the cost of providing non-resident moorings is the same as

providing resident moorings, and has coupled that admission

with the admission that it makes a huge profit even on resident’s

mooring permit fees; thus, there is no rational basis for the 25%

surburban surchage. A state statute cannot overrule the consti-

tutional provisions mandating that citizens not be treated

unequally without a rational basis.

It is a long-standing doctrine that if at all possible, a statute

must be interpreted as being in accord with constitutional

provisions; if it cannot, then it must be struck down as uncon-

stitutional. As stated in Douglas v. Village of Melrose Park, 389

Ill. 98, 101, 58 N.E. 2d 864, 865 (1945):

“Legislative enactments should be construed in a

2la

manner which will prevent their running counter to

constitutional provisions.”

Thus, in order for the statute permitting fees to be charged

to nonresidents at a different rate from residents, to be consti-

tutional on its face, it must be interpreted to mean that non-

residents can be charged more only if the Park District incurs

additional burdens as a result of their usage of the facilities.

To interprete the statute otherwise would not be in accord with

prior case law (Williams v. City of Chicago, 66 [1l.2d 423, 362

N.E.2d 1030 [1977]) and the constitutional principles enunciated

in the cases holding that nonresidents cannot be charged more

that residents. Even under such an interpretation of the statute,

which plaintiffs urge the Court to adopt, the above-cited statute

is unconstitutional as applied to plaintiffs. The Park District’s

practice of charging non-residents a surcharge fee for a mooring

permit cannot stand where there is absolutely no basis for the

surcharge.

Plaintiffs point out that although the above statute applies

only to the Chicago Park District, this issue affects the entire

state through the Illinois Park District Code, applicable to all

other park districts within the state. Section 8-1 of that Code

provides:

“Every park district shall... have and exercise the

following powers:

** *

(h) To establish fees for the use of the facilities of the

district. Fees charged non-residents need not be

the same as fees charged to residents of the

district.” Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 105, sec. 8-1(h) (1987)

(emphasis supplied).

This Court must make a clear pronouncement to the entire

State the arbitrary discrimination against non-residents based

on these statutes shall nut be tolerated. Each park district may

impose a surcharge upon non-residents for the use of park district

facilities only on the basis of an additional burden imposed by

the non-residents.

22a

F. The Park District’s Own Ordinances Prohibit

Discrimination: Fees Must Be Uniform.

The additional(non-uniform) charge imposed on nonresi-

dents is in direct contravention of the Park District’s own code.

The higher charge is mentioned in the Schedule of User Fees

of the Park District in the budget of each year and carries the

following footnote on all Marine Fees (R. 482 et seq.)

“A non-resident surcharge of 25% of the base fee is

assessed on all permits issued to boaters residing

outside the City of Chicago.”

No ordinance of the Chicago Park District exists which authorizes

a 25% higher fee for non-residents. Contrary thereto, Sec. 30-8

of the Chicago Park District Ordinance provides as follows (R.

186):

“The Park Board or the General Superintendent may

fix and collect reasonable fees for the use of park

facilities. Such fees may be fixed at a uniform rate

to all users of such facility or facilities.” (Emphasis

added.)

Thus, a non-resident surcharge of 25% additional fee is not in

the ordinance, is contrary to the Park District’s own ordinances,

and yet the appellate court failed to even discuss this mandate

of uniformity.

G. The Same Panel Of The Appellate Court Has

Issued An Opinion Exactly Opposite To Its

Opinion In This Case.

Two months prior to its decision here, the appellate court

(in fact, the same Division, per Justice McNamara, with Justices

Rizzi and Freeman concurring) affirmed a trial court’s summary

judgment in a class action striking down a surcharge imposed

by the City of Chicago’s Metropolitan Sanitary District on non-

resident users of the system, because (i) the charges were

unreasonable, and (ii) the charges were discriminatory. Stated

the appellate court in Bobrowicz v. City of Chicago, 168 Ill. App.

3d 227, 522 N.E.2d 663, 669, 119 Ill. Dec. 1, 7 (1988):

“The result of the surcharge is to impose upon residents

23a

of unincorporated areas a 50 percent higher rate than

that charged residents of Chicago, or residents of

municipalities to whom Chicago sells water. This, in

our estimation, is an arbitrary imposition of a sur-

charge on the plaintiff class and clearly in violation

of defendant’s common law duty not to charge unrea-

sonable or discriminatory rates.”

Inexplicably, the same panel ignored its own prior case law,

i.e., the common law duty (Illinois Public Trust Doctrine in this

case) and the Illinois constitution, in writing its opinion in this

case. The arbitrariness condemned by the appellate court in

Bobrowicz cannot be countenanced in this case.

ITI.

THE COURT ERRED IN HOLDING THAT THE

CHICAGO PARK DISTRICT CAN MAKE A

PROFIT ON ITS NON-BONDED FACILITIES.

The Chicago Park District has not been given the power

to raise revenue through mooring fees by the general assembly

and is precluded from assessing taxes on the harbor or its personal

property. Ill.Rev.Stat ch. 105, sec.333.23(p). Since they are a

limited unit of local government, without the state authority to

raise revenue through mooring fees, it is irrelevant whether the

fees charged are called permit fees or “implied rent” (profits by

definition are taxes). Stated this Court in Ward Baking Co. v.

City of Chicago, 340 Ill. 212, 214, 172 N.E. 171 (1930):

The city has no power to exact such a license fee solely

for the purpose of raising revenue. In the exercise of

police power for the purpose of regulation the authority

of a municipality is limited to such a charge for

a license as will bear some reasonable relation

to the additional burdens imposed upon the

municipality by the business or occupation

licensed and the necessary expense involved in

police supervision. [Citations.}”’

Regardless of the nomenclature, the Chicago Park District

is precluded from raising revenue by this means and thus the

500% profit is illegal. The mooring permit fees should be “limited

to such a charge... as will bear some reasonable relation” to

the

Page

POINTS AND AUTHORITIES

PLAINTIFFS’ COMBINED REPLY BRIEF TO BRIEF

AND ARGUMENT FOR DEFENDANT-RESPONDENT,

BRIEF OF THE ILLINOIS MUNICIPAL LEAGUE AND

BRIEF OF THE ILLINOIS ASSOCIATION OF PARK

I So de ae ano calc éeb eneleees 1

Illinois Supreme Court Rule 341(f),(e) (6) ...............-.045. 2

I. THE CHICAGO PARK DISTRICT JUSTIFIES ITS

DISCRIMINATING AGAINST NONRESIDENTS

AND MAKING PROFITS ON MOORING FEES BY

VERE Ue Gee BREe MEE EE 0 vnc cc sc ccccccdsceccccsces 3

Paepcke v. The Public Building Commission of Chicago,

46 T1234 330, 968 W.E3d 11, IB (IGTO) ... ccccccccccccccees 3

Illinois Constitution of 1970

FE er ee i 5

Illinois Revised Statutes

Ce I RID oc vce cicvcscccconccctévesecees 3

ll. THE PARK DISTRICT IS NOT PERMITTED TO

MAKE A PROFIT ON THE FEES CHARGED FOR

THE SERVICES AND FACILITIES IT SUPPLIES. ....6

A. The MacNeil Case Holds That Fees Must Be

Eat AEE BR Ron ty OE ans PD RG oy eae 6

MacNeil v. Chicago Park District, 401 Ill. 556 (1948) ........ 6,7

B. The Bond Statute Relates to Facilities Constructed With

Bond Proceeds Only And Does Not Govern Pre-Existing

Nonbonded Facilities Or Harbors. ...................5-. 8

C. Section 333.23r(1) Is Cited Out Of Context. .............. y

Chicago Park District v. City of Chicago, 111 [l.2d 7,

ee I NUE oc nc Caccccecevuessecdcvedestec 10

23a

Page

Illinois Revised Statutes

ee iiss iseccccedbocnsnecepase 9

D. There Is Neither Logic Nor Fairness Behind Permitting

The Park District To Make a Profit On Its Fees. ........ 11

Illinois Revised Statutes

occ ccscccccsdvcdvessee ses 11

Chapter 105, Section 333.23n(g) ........-.2-eeeeeeeeeeees 11

ns icccvcsencnsessacbon’ 11

Ill. THERE IS NO JUSTIFICATION FOR CHARGING

NONRESIDENTS A GREATER FEE THAN RESI-

DENTS FOR THE SAME SERVICES. ................ 12

A. The Park District Receives State Funds And Is Therefore

Supported Ey WomresiGemts. ... 0... ccc cccesccccevocees 12

Illinois Revised Statutes

nl np wapeadbcee war ences seen 12

B. The Park District's Arguments Are Bottomed On

EELS OF PO PCC C EET ET CTTCTEE 12

(1) This case does not deal with scarce resources....... 13

Baldwin V. Montana Fish and Game Commission

GF RECTOR, GEE Ue OF CD cose cc ceccccencnvocsvcces 13

Chicago Park District v. City of Chicago, 111 [l.2d 7,

ge G8 ER ee 13

(2) Levying a surcharge on nonresidents is the same

as denying use of the facilities .................... 13

C. The Park District’s Arguments And Laws Are

Misleading And Erroneous. .......... pnbeteeeeseseees 15

(1) The Park District misstates the holding and

reasoning of the Camden case. ..............22++. 15

Association of Data Processing Service Organization v.

CO Ge SE SG SEED 5 sk dcccesceseosncecvasonvere 16

26a

Page

City of Chicago us. Vokes, 28 Il.2d 475 (1963) .............. 17

Gilligan v. Korzen, 56 Ill.2d 387 (1974) ...............20000- 16

Heartt v. Village of Downers Grove, 278 Tl. 92 (1917) ........ 16

Illinois Housing Development Authority v. Van Meter,

GE GUE 6 SuiWicbccea ccs ectuenctade xeon taneres 16

Jenkins v. Wu, 102 IlL.2d 468 (1984) ........................ 16

United Building and Construction Trades Council v.

City of Chicago, 465 U.S. 208 (1984) .................. 15, 16

(3) There is no support in the cases cited for the

proposition that courts have sustained the right to

impose a surcharge on nonresidents. .............. 17

Baldwin v. Fish & Game Commission of Montana,

SD UE Bers te hans Kioe secs wencnbiee cbikas tocecnnes 17

Bastian v. The Personnel Board of City of Chicago,

¥ § bag: Eager ee yt 74199 ota re 18

Fagiano v. Police Board of the City of Chicago,

re ee and warn 00 58 Hae EA eR eee cess 18

Harvey Firemen’s Association v. City of Chicago,

Fe CED 6 koa 3 Gunns chan renee eh scan skeet: 18

Johns v. Redeker, 406 F.2d 878 (8th Cir. 1969) .............. 18

Martinez v. Bynum, 461 U.S. 321 (1983) .................... 17

McClain v. South Pasadena, 318 P.2d 199

errs ory peer Pe er er ore ee ee 17

Quinn v. Irving Park District, 207 Ill.App. 449 (1917) ........ 18

Sturgis v. Washington, 368 F.Supp. 38 (N.E. Wash. 1970)

(three-judge court), summarily affirmed

Sas Se Ce Boho eh ied ee ck bke eee Rks bc enceses 18

Vaswedis w. Bane, 4UB UB. O68 CTE onc cccccccccscccesccces 17

27a

Page

(4) The Public Trust Doctrine in Illinois prohibits

the Park District from imposing a surcharge

Re RG es SEE re 19

Borough of Neptune City v. Borough of Avon-by-the-Sea,

EE ORO oc codec ccncntvsscecvcces 20

Gerwirtz v. City of Long Beach, 330 N.Y.S.2d 495 (1972) ..... 20

Hyland v. Borough of Allenhurst, 148 N.J.Super. 437,

eee ce aces dbicpeessudonescere 19, 20

Hyland v. Borough of Allenhurst, 78 N.J. 190, 393

re skh pb epbbenebvrececeese 20

Paepcke v. The Public Building Commission of Chicago,

46 Ti. 2a 330, 263 N.E.2d 11, 13 (1970) ..........2.-0eceees 19

People ex rel. Scott v. Chicago Park District, 66 U1.

2d 65, 360 N.E.2d 773, 4 Ill. Dec. 660 (1976) ............... 19

Quinn v. Irving Park District, 207 Dl.App. (1917)............ 20

Van Ness v. Borough of Deal, 145 N.J.Super. 368, 367

ee ee iwcheecthnesoo sessed 19

Van Ness v. Borough of Deal, 78 N.J. 174,

LE ee 20

(5) The use of the word ‘may’, in the Park

District's Ordinances, must be read as man-

Ne ee oe occa nkneth ees ves ss 20

City of Chicago v. Grafman, 42 Ill_App. 3d 139, 354 N.E.2d

572 (1976), reversed and remanded on other grounds,

68 T11.2d 112, 368 N.E.2d 891, 11 Ill.Dec. 283 (1977)......... 21

Figures v. Swank, 128 fl.App. 2d 211, 263 N.E.2d

a os el is eater abee ve eecese aes 20

Heartt v. Village of Downers Grove, 278 Ill. 92, 96 (1971)..... 21

Village of Woodridge v. Bohnen Intern., Inc., 60 Il_App.

3d 692, 17 Ill. Dec. 931, 933, 377 N.E.2d 121 (1978).......... 20

28a

Page

Williams v. City of Chicago, 66 I1l.2d 423, 362 N.E.2d

TE cc ete OIG Lace cauau dae ntddek Peweenseenes 21

Chicago Park District Code -

OU OC. Ua ce ke enta va ee debe voes taweweus 20

ee oo eet eee ees eean ee 20

(6) The Park concedes that Article IX Section 2

of the Illinois Constitution applies to any fees

that are in the nature of taxes. ................... 21

Illinois Constitution of 1970

oe ai nc seh rene cacneunsee sea baud’ 21

(7) Bobrowicz is applicable to the case at bar ......... 22

Bobrowicz v. City of Chicago, 168 Ill.App.3d 227,

nnn e eda e eke abb aaeestade 22

Illinois Revised Statutes

os ons va bib veceusa ese nnenc’s 22

Co ee I ED oo cecscccceuwecevwvesewns 22

IV. THE ILLINOIS MUNICIPAL LEAGUE CITES NO

AUTHORITY WHICH SUPPORTS A 100% TO 500%

Sy yee foe | ots). re 22

A. Dillon’s Rule Does Not Support The Chicago Park

No hic 00 904 6 oa SARS AN SS REEW SHORT ARE CuCe Ch ane 22

Chariton v. Champaign Park District, 110 Dl.App.3d

554, 442 N.E.2d 915, 917, 66 Ill. Dec. 354, 356 (1982) ........ 23

Illinois Constitution of 1970

rac ve kanes be eaeness 23

B. Impact Fees Are Limited To Costs..................... 24

Larsen & Zimet, Impact Fees: Et Tu, Illinois?, 21 J. Mar.

pe cute cha cvansebepsiesees 24

Page

V. PLAINTIFFS HAVE NOT WAIVED ANY OF THEIR

Se 5s ec ca bco ake ke eae Rakiuees atas 24

Hux v. Raben (1967), 38 Ill.2d 223, 224, 230 N.E.2d 831 ...... 25

Schutzenhofer v. Granite Steel Co. (1982), 93 Ill.2d 208,

SEF GS Fee es Oe GE onan ck in civascrcsennce 25

Spinelli v. Immanuel Lutheran Evangelical Congregation,

Inc., 118 Tl.2d 389, 515 N.E.2d 1222, 1227, 113 Ill.Dec.

ee SD 3 ios oss cicadas kee aedenne bik eek eae eel eees 25

CA onc ck ob ache cues tadeseetectdranseseeugtaese 26

ia 30a

ITI.

THERE IS NO JUSTIFICATION FOR CHARG-

ING NONRESIDENTS A GREATER FEE THAN

RESIDENTS FOR THE SAME SERVICES.

The Park District devotes almost 60 percent of its brief to

defending its surcharge on nonresidents. It never comes to grips

with the rule in this State parks are for all the citizens of the

state, not for just the residents of the district.

A. The Park District Receives State Funds And Is

Therefore Supported By Nonresidents.

The Park District’s argument that the residents of Chicago

solely support the District’s activities and facilities and should

therefore be able to discriminate against non-residents of Chicago

because they do not support the activities of the Park, flies in

the face of the amount the Park District receives from the State

of Illinois Personal Property Replacement Fund (Ill..Rev.Stat. ch

85, Sec. 616), which in 1983 amounted to $9,164,152, as contrasted

with the $3,402,113 the the Park received from its harbor

operations (R. 432, “Comptroller of the Chicago Park District

Annual Report 1983”, p. 17). Since this tax is collected state wide

and taxing districts in Cook County receive 51.65% of the proceeds

of the tax, all nonresidents of the Chicago Park District subject

to the Personal Property Replacement Tax subsidize the Chicago

Park District each and every year just as if their real estate were

taxed in Cook County. The Chicago Park District is directly and

indirectly financially supported by nonresidents of Chicago.

B. The Park District’s Arguments Are Bottomed On

Specious Foundations.

There are several dominant and recurring themes that

pervade the arguments of the CPD that are specious.

(1) This case does not deal with scarce

resources.

In an attempt to bring this case under Baldwin v. Montana

Fish and Game Commission of Montana, 436 U.S. 371 (1983),

the CPD claims that its harbors and facilities are “scarce” and

“limited.” Disregarding the interstate aspects of Baldwin, there

ee

3la

are two things wrong with this claim. First, there is nothing

in the record to show it to be true. (Contrast that with the evidence

produced in Baldwin.) Second, it is just not true. Harbors are

not wasting assets. They use up only a minute fraction of the

shore space available to the Park District. There are unused miles

and miles of potential harbors. As this Court stated in Chicago

Park District v. City of Chicago, 111 Il.2d 7, 488 N.E.2d 968,

972 (1986) “This [a decrease in the waiting list] was accompanied,

however, by a steady increase in the number of moorings

available from 3,674 in 1978 to 5,090 in 1983.” This growth is

continuing. Plaintiffs ask the court to take judicial notice of the

CPD’s Director of Harbors announcement, circulated to the class

members, that the Chicago Park District is adding a new Turning

Basin Marina and has plans for additional harbors (Appendix

B attached hereto, p.2). Rather then being scarce and limited

facilities, CPD moorings are an expanding asset.

(2) Levying a surcharge on nonresidents is

the same as denying use of the facilities.

One of the Park District’s more pervasive sophistries is its

insistence that it is not denying or limiting access to its facilities

by requiring a nonresident to pay a 25% surcharge over the fee

charged residents. By the District's own admission, one (and

the predominant one) of the purposes of its own surcharge is

to exclude nonresidents. On pages 56 to 58 of its brief the Park

District tells us the extra fee will not deny nonresidents the use

of its facilities. On pages 34 to 37, though, it argues that the

surcharge does just exactly that, to wit: It protects residents from

not having the facilities available to them because nonresidents

have crowded them out. According to the caption, the surcharge

is a “rational means of preserving scarce recreational amenities

for the benefit of the District’s residents.” (CPD, p.34) The Park

District’s arguments have the consistency of an archer with the

hiccups.

The Park District’s argues that “history” has shown that

it has not happened. (CPD, p.44) All “history” is not in the record

in this case. If it were, it would show that the opposite were

true: that it is becoming a common practice for park districts

to attempt to exclude nonresidents by imposing higher fees on

them, as an article from the Chicago Tribune of February 15,

32a

1987, attached hereto as Appendix C. shows, giving lie to the

Park District’s statement. Lake Forest has beaches and wants

to make sure nonresidents don’t use them; they therefore require

a $750 fee from nonresidents. As the article states:

“City officials in Lake Forest are up front about their

motives for planning to charge 15 times what they used

to charge for lakefront parking: They don’t want

outsiders cluttering up their nice new beach.”

Further giving lie to the “historical” answer of the Park

District are the amici briefs. The LAPD admits that 95% of the

park districts in Illinois (p.8) discriminate against nonresidents

and both amici want this court to approve residency

discrimination.

C. The Park District’s Arguments And Law Are

Misleading And Erroneous.

The CPD has cited in its brief a number of cases not cited

by Plaintiffs. Because these decisions’ factual foundations are

substantially and meaningfully distinguishable, their stated

rationale do not stand as conflicting authority from Plaintiffs’

positions.

(1) The Park District Misstates The Holding

And Reasoning Of The Camden Case.

The Park District deliberately quotes from United Building

and Construction Trades Council v. City of Camden, 465 US.

208 (1984), out of context to make it appear that Camden says

something that it does not. On page 30 of its brief the District

says:

“Such discrimination [by a state against nonresidents]

can be attacked only ‘at the behest of out-of-state

residents.’” 465 U.S. at 218.

The quoted phrase is lifted from language that said some-

thing completely different. The omitted language preceding the

CPD’s quotation is:

“We conclude that Camden’s ordinance is not immune

from Constitutional! review at the behest of out-of-state

33a

residents merely because some in-state residents are

similarly disadvantaged.” Jd.

As the full quotation shows, the quote by the CPD does not

at all support the meaning of Camden. The quotation does

buttress the meaning of the case as posited by Plaintiffs. however.

It is encapsulated in another quotation from the case:

“A person who is not residing in a given state is ipso

facto not residing in a city within that state. Thus

whether the exercise of a privilege is conditioned on state

residency or on municipal residence he will just as surely

be excluded.” (79 L.Ed. at 257.)

In support of its misleading interpretation of Camden, the

District cites (p. 30) Association of Data Processing Service

Organization vs. Camp, 397 U.S. 150, 158 (1950). Ite bearing on

the instant case is nonexistent.

(2) The Park District Misstates The Hold-

ings Of The Cases Cited Under The Equal

Protection Clause.

The Park District cites five Illinois cases and two federal

cases on pages 32 to 34 of its brief to support its argument that

the discrimination against nonresidents is supported by the Equal

Protection Clause. None do so.

Jenkins us. Wu, 102 Il.2d 468 (1984), dealt with the right

of access to medical files and is irrelevant, both in facts and

law. The Illinois Housing Development Authority v. Van Meter,

82 I1.2d 116 (1980), case is even wider of the mark. It dealt with

the State Housing Development Act’s eligibility requirement that

was based on wealth. The Gilligan v. Korzen, 56 [1].2d 387 (1974),

case dealt with a motor vehicle tax on residents of unimproved

areas of a county where the levying authority was home rule

unit and the tax was within the powers granted it. The court

rested its decision on the Heartt v. Village of Downers Grove,

278 Ill. 92 (1917). Both Gilligan and Heartt support Plaintiffs’

position in this case. City of Chicago v. Vokes, 28 Il.2d 475 (1963),

case is merely one of a long series of taxicab cases that have

dealt with the prosecution of a taxicab driver who was not licensed

in Chicago, but picked up a customer in Chicago.

36a

considerable skepticism upon amy governmental con-

duct which is calculated either to reallocate that

resource to more restricted uses or to subject public uses

to the self-interest of private parties.” [emphasis in

originals, Paepcke v. The Public Building Commission

of Chicago, 46 T11.2d 330, 263 N.E.2d 11, 16 (1970); People

Ex Rel. Scott v. Chicago Park District, 66 111.2d 65, 360

N.E.2d 773, 780, 4 Ill. Dec. 660, 667 (1976)]

The CPD ignores the relevant aspect of the doctrine: reallocating

public resources to more restricted uses. The CPD is violating

the first restriction by reallocting the mooring facilities from the

general public to the residents of the CPD. Not one authority

cited by the CPD supports its contention that it can promote

its own residents over nonresidents. See discussion of Paepcke

at page 4 of this reply.

The CPD cites, at pp. 54-56, intermediate-level New Jersey

case law as authority for the supposed proposition that the Public

Trust Doctrine does not extend to the use of man-made facilities.

However, both Van Ness v. Borough of Deal, 145 N.J.Super. 368,

367 A.2d 1191 (1976), and Hyland v. Borough of Allenhurst, 148

N.J.Super. 437, 372 A.2d 1133 (1977), cited and relied on by the

CPD were reversed by the Supreme Court of New Jersey, based

on the Public Trust Doctrine established in Borough of Neptune

City v. Borough of Avon-by-the-Sea, 61 J.J. 296, 294 A.2d 47

(1972). See Van Ness, 78 N.J. 174, 393 A.2d 571 (1978); Hyland,

78 N.J. 190, 393 A.2d 579 (1978). Other cases have applied the

Public Trust Doctrine to public lands including any improve-

ments thereon. See, e.g., Quinn v. Irving Park District, 207 T.App.

(1917); Gewirtz v. City of Long Beach, 330 N.Y.S.2d 495 (1972)

(citing Neptune City).

The CPD cannot avoid the application of the Public Trust

Doctrine which invalidates their discriminatory surcharge on

non-residents.

37a

(5) The Use Of The Word “May”, In The Park

District’s Ordinances, Must Be Read As

Mandatory, Not Permissive.

The CPD’s assertion that its Sec. 30-3 controls the amount

that can be charged (CPD, p.59) is in error. The ordinance says

nothing concerning the amount of the fee or how it is to be

assessed, all of which is covered in Sec. 30-8. The CPD cites

no authority for its assertion that the word “may” in Sec. 30-

8 is permissive. Contrary thereto, the word “may” is mandatory

in Sec 30-8, requiring that fees be uniform to all users and

reasonable in amount. The sentence would otherwise make no

sense since “permission” is always available to those setting the

fees. Under the case law the word is mandatory, otherwise the

sentence would have to be considered superfluous. Village of

Woodridge v. Bohnen Intern., Inc., 60 IApp. 3d 692, 17 Ill. Dec.

931, 933, 377 N.E.2d 121 (1978); Figures v. Swank, 128 Ill. App.

2d 211, 263

34a

Neither of the two federal cases is any more relevant than

the five Illinois cases.

(3) There is no support in the cases cited for

the proposition that courts have sus-

tained the right to impose a surcharge

on nonresidents.

The Park District cites three U.S. Supreme Court cases as

support for its right to impose a surcharge on nonresidents. These

are Baldwin v. Fish & Game Commission of Montana, 436 U.S.

371 (1977), Martinez v. Bynum, 461 U.S. 321 (1983), and Viandis

v. Kline, 412 U.S. 441 (1973). Baldwin has already been discussed

at length.

The issue in Viandis was not whether a right to discriminate

had taken place, but whether an irrebuttable presumption of

nonresidence was valid. The quotation printed by the Park

District was actually part of what the court was careful to

emphasize was not being decided in the case. The line imme-

diately following the words quoted is:

“We hold only that a permanent irrebuttable presump-

tion of nonresidence . . . is violative of the Due Process

Clause... .”

Thus Viandis did not deal at all with the issues in this case.

Nor did Martinez. The parents of Martinez lived in Mexico and

Martinez left to live with his sister in Texas in order to go to

school. The question was whether Texas could exclude him from

the in-state tuition rates. The court held it could, but the case

does not support the right of a park district to impose a surcharge

on residents of other communities within the same state.

Nor do either of the two lower holdings (in California and

New York) cited on page 36 of the CPD’s brief support this

position. In fact McClain v. South Pasadena, 318 P.2d 199 (Cal.

App. 1957) permitted total exclusion of nonresidents from the

park facilities which is contrary to Illinois Law. See Quinn v.

Irving Park District, 207 Tl.App. 449 (1917).

The CPD cites two other tuition residency cases on page

38. Both of them were concerned with the definition of “resi-

35a

dency”, not the reasonableness of the fees. However, in Sturgis

v. Washington, 368 F.Supp. 38 (N.D. Wash. 1970) (three-judge

court), summarily affirmed 414 U.S. 1057 (1973), we find the court

concerned with whether the nonresident was being overcharged,

and the court found that nonresidents were not being charged

more than their share of expenses:

“{TJhe only evidence before this court which relates to

the actual cost of higher education in the State of

Washington shows that the fees for a non-resident

student are directly related to the cost of educating that

student. Thus, the non-resident student merely pays his

way and no penalty can correctly be said to have

attached to the non-resident status.”

See also Johns v. Redeker, 406 F.2d 878 (8th Cir. 1969) (same

holding as Sturgis - non-resident students merely paying the per

pupil cost of education).

The Illinois cases cited by the CPD — Fagiano v. Police

Board of the City of Chicago, 98 012d 277 (1983), Bastian v.

The Personnel Board of City of Chicago, 98 U11.2d 277 (1983),

and Harvey Firemen’s Association v. City of Harvey, 75 U0l.2d

358 (1979) — similarly did not deal with the issues of this case.

Both Fagiano and Bastian dealt with whether residency require-

ments were definite or ambiguous. In both, the courts held that

the requirements contained sufficient standards to meet [Illinois

law. The issue in Harvey was what powers had been granted

by the General Assembly and is obviously unrelated to the issues

in this case.

(4) The Public Trust Doctrine In Illinois

Prohibits The Park District From Im-

posing A Surcharge On Nonresidents.

The CPD attempts to evade the Public Trust Doctrine by

focusing on an irrelevant aspect of the doctrine: ceding ownership

of public land to private interests. There is more than one aspect

to the Public Trust Doctrine in Illinois. The public trust doctrine

as enunciated by this court is as follows:

“When a state holds a resource which is available for

the free use of the general public, a court will look with

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.