Petition for Writ of Certiorari — General Motors Corp. v. Wells

Supreme Court brief1990

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

, | US ERIN, Bady

FILED

89-1067 DEC 27 1999

JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR.

= — SEER

ED

N

IN THE —

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

GENERAL MOTORS CORPORATION,

Petitioner,

VS.

MARY R. WELLS, ET AL.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

PAUL O. MIELER, III JAMES D. HOLZHAUER

W. THOMAS SILER, JR. Counsel of Record

Phelps, Dunbar, Marks STEPHEN M. SHAPIRO

Claverie & Sims KENNETH 8S. GELLER

Suite 1400 THOMAS C. BERG

Mirror Lake Plaza Mayer, Brown & Platt

2829 Lakeland Drive 190 South LaSalle Street

Jackson, Mississippi 39296 Chicago, Illinois 60603

(601) 939-3895 (312) 782-0600

DAVID M. DAVIS

MARK R. FLORA

General Motors Corporation

3031 West Grand Boulevard

Detroit, Michigan 48202

(313) 556-5000

Midwest Law Printing Co., Chicago 60611, (312) 321-0220

q a. p47

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Respondents, former employees of General Motors Cor-

poration (““GM’’), elected to leave their employment dur-

ing an industry-wide slowdown in 1983. Under the terms

of a Voluntary Termination of Employment Plan (““VTEP’’)

negotiated between GM and respondents’ union, each of

the respondents received special severance payments of

between $10,000 and $22,000. In 1986 GM’s workforce

began to expand again, but respondents were ineligible

to obtain new positions with the company because they

had accepted the VTEP benefits. They sued GM, claim-

ing that at meetings heid in 1983 to explain the VTEP

to employees, GM assured them that they could be re-

hired if new jobs were created. The court of appeals held

that respondents’ state law fraud and misrepresentation

claims were not pre-empted by federal law. The questions

presented are:

Whether respondents’ claims that GM misrepresented

that they would be eligible for future employment even

though they had accepted severance benefits under the

negotiated VTEP agreement are pre-empted by:

(a) the National Labor Relations Act, because they al-

lege conduct on the part of GM that arguably violates Sec-

tion 8 of the Act;

(b) Section 301 of the Labor Management Relations

Act, because they are substantially dependent upon the

terms of a collective bargaining agreement between GM

and respondents’ union; or

(c) the Employee Retirement Income Security Act, be-

cause they relate to the terms of an employee benefit

plan.

il

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

AND RULE 29.1 STATEMENT

In addition to the parties named in the caption, the

following persons were appellees in the court of appeals

and are respondents in this Court:

Mamie L. Marshall

Patricia Ann Lewis

Johnny Lee Thompson

Connie Prentiss

Lavern Turner

Lee E. Mack

Rosie Lee Smith

Lillie Bullie

Emma Hall

Loretta Anderson

Mildred Cecilia Grigsby

Mao Lee

Katie Mae Warren

Mary Fields Ward

Direthia Maberry

Shirley S. Jones

Lenda Hamilton Burns

Billy Dewain Ferguson

Brenda Sue Ezell

Estella Dunson

Mary L. Taylor

Elaine W. Davis

Doris S. Brown

Sarah Buggs

Lois Marie Barnett

Herman Williams

Hugh Dorsey Thompson (Robinson)

Thomas Leon Ward

Shirley P. Taylor

Verilillian Kay Grant

Sandra Beard Murphy

A listing of petitioner's subsidiaries (other than wholly-

owned subsidiaries) and affiliates is set forth in the Ap-

pendix. App., ifra, 52a.

iil

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ...................

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING —

AND RULE 29.1 STATEMENT ............

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .................

|

ee ii ask enh VK 6 DAE aA eRe ee

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

eC eh beh ek kee h Rhee eeanens

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION:

I. The Court Of Appeals’ Decision That Re-

spondents’ Claims Were Not Pre-empted

Under The Garmon Doctrine Conflicts

With The Decisions Of This Court And

Other Courts Of Appeals ..............

A. The Court Of Appeals Has Misinter-

preted This Court’s Davis Decision To

Effectively Abolish The ‘Arguably Pro-

hibited” Branch Of Garmon .......

B. The Court Of Appeals Improperly And

Incorrectly Decided That Future Eligi-

bility For Employment Is Not A Man-

datory Subject Of Bargaining ......

Il. The Court Of Appeals’ Decision That Re-

spondents’ Claims Were Not Pre-empted

By Section 301 Of The LMRA Conflicts

With Decisions Of Other Courts Of Appeals

ee eee ee — 1

10

12

iv

And With This Court’s Repeated Admoni-

tion That Disputes Relating To The Terms

Of Collective Bargaining Agreements Must

Be Resolved Solely Under Federal Law ..

A. The Court Of Appeals Erred In De-

ciding That Respondents’ Claims Were

Not Pre-empted By Section 301

B. The Cireuits Are In Conflict Over

Whether Extra-Contractual Promises

Made To Bargaining Unit Employees

Can Be Enforced Under State Law ..

III. The Court Of Appeals’ Decision That GM’s

Severance Pay Pian Was Not An Employee

Benefit Plan Within The Meaning Of

ERISA Conflicts With Decisions Of Other

Courts And Is Contrary To The Policies

Underlying The Statute ...............

PE Ace n caves ssa ean aene seu encceacs

Nx a nea sive e wh ce ceed Deka ee ee ee

SE 6 Cis acek ess bskaaeeseews baer

I TN ae hel van wees PRE eno caren

oo Gee ee ere ree ree eT ae

IEEE, “Syl Vaetivayeiccws leah ke sehen es

EN ese ea hen caatdsay ev ewneeacnn

EEE 4.0 'n a Sans ensntandea sy ndsesawska

og EE Te Te Teer eT ero TTS ee

19

20

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES: PAGE

Alessi v. Raybestos-Manhattan, Inc., 451 U.S. 504

fee (os ao oa annus cane sone aan 25

Allis-Chalmers Corp. v. Lweck, 471 U.S. 202 (1985) .

‘ds Seek Gece alee we ee Sean 7, 16, 17, 20

Anderson v. Ford Motor Co., 803 F.2d 953 (8th

Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 483 U.S. 1011 (1987) .. 21, 23

Babcock & Wilcox Co. v. Illinois Human Rights

Comm’n, 545 N.E.2d 799 (Ill. App. 1989) .. 27

Bale v. General Telephone Co., 795 F.2d 775 (9th

C.D ics one cy ree ge eee ie a 22, 23

Berda v. CBS Inc., 881 F.2d 20 (8d Cir. 1989), peti-

tion for cert. pending, No. 89-589 ......... 21, 23

Blau v. Del Monte Corp., 748 F.2d 1348 (9th Cir.),

cert denied, 474 U.S. 865 (1985) ........... 28

Caterpillar Inc. v. Williams, 482 U.S. 386 (1987) . 23

Chmiel v. Beverly Wilshire Hotel Co., 873 F.2d

eo Bo Re | Be pesre en 22

Darden v. United States Steel Corp., 830 F.2d 1116

(oath GR. Be kn i siecictri eee 23

DeLapp v. Continental Can Co., 868 F.2d 1073 (9th

Ca. TOD isc widen ccastbesdeeeeeeee 22, 23

Fibreboard Corp. v. NLRB, 379 U.S. 203 (1964).. —-:18

First Nat’l Maintenance Corp. v. NLRB, 452 U.S.

GOD CRORE ac oc accsescessseedenkse oe 14

Ford Motor Co. v. NLRB, 441 U.S. 488 (1979) .. 6, 18, 15

Fort Halifax Packing Co. v. Coyne, 482 U.S. 1

(RUE. cues cbusschcuseucunes pees 7, 25, 27, 28

vi

Franchise Tax Board v. Construction Laborers

Vacation Trust, 463 U.S. 1 (1988) ......... 16

International Longshoremen’s Ass’n v. Davis, 476

aes WEEE cA saci uenccuxeuvekeserrns passim

Kocman v. Safeguard Business Systems, Civ. A.

No. 88-5127 (E.D. Pa. June 28, 1989) ...... 27

Kolentus v. Avco Corp., 798 F.2d 949 (7th Cir.

1986), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 1032 (1987) ... 11

Lingle v. Norge Div. of Magic Chef, Inc., 108 S.

pene COE ix Kc is a5 ka cue ceeaeven 9, 11, 18-20

Local 174, Teamsters v. Lucas Flour Co., 369 U.S.

Oe SUNN Wadiees sind OR eee 16

Mason v. Continental Group, Inc., 763 F.2d 1219

(11th Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 1087

PE 8a 04405 0x ds chunds caeneen eee 23

Master Slack Corp., 230 N.L.R.B. 1054 (1977), en-

forced, 618 F.2d 6 (6th Cir. 1980) ......... 13

Muenchow v. Parker Pen Co., 615 F. Supp. 1405

Pa WO MONEE. ciucks cevuneaweerennueele 27

Overby v. Chevron USA, Inc., 884 F.2d 470 (9th

We UE. ch 3 hcdck uc can beeen rae ee eter 12

Pane v. RCA Corp., 868 F.2d 631 (3d Cir. 1989) . 27

Parker v. Connors Steel Co., 855 F.2d 1510 (11th

Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 109 S. Ct. 2066 (1989) . 11

Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux, 481 U.S. 41 (1987) . 25

Redmond v. Dresser Indus., 734 F.2d 633 (11th

Sey EE 50k csc ak cece uk oan peneel saan 23

San Diego Building Trades Council v. Garmon,

oe ee errr ree passim

Vil

Scott v. Gulf Oil Corp., 754 F.2d 1499 (9th Cir.

ho cand bathe aka ek ea eee 27

Sly v. P.R. Mallory & Co., 712 F.2d 1209 (7th Cir.

EY vewessaawead oeewes ke aa ve ee See 28

Textile Workers Union v. Lincoln Mills, 353 U.S.

ee I a ic ck Xo ihc eae eka Ri ee \ 15

United States Gypsum Co., 94 N.L.R.B. 112 (1951),

amended, 97 N.L.R.B. 889 (1951), modified, 206

F.2d 410 (5th Cir. 1953), cert. denied, 347 U.S.

EE 3s obs CCA a Cee eae ee Se 13

Varnum v. Nu-Car Carners, Inc., 804 F.2d 638

(11th Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 481 U.S. 1049

CED cucihoevedcaxcediss eeuebecetcnnlees 22, 23

Young v. Anthony’s Fish Grottos, Inc., 830 F.2d

fg Bt ree eee ere rare 22, 23

STATUTES:

Section &(aX5) of the National Labor Relations Act,

, ie ka fl ere 1, 5, 6, 10, 11

Section 301 of the Labor Management Relations Act,

Bit of i eer rr rrr rr yr 1, 7, 15-24

Section 514(a) of the Employee Retirement Income

Security Act, 29 U.S.C. § 1144(a) .......... 1, 24

SD WE. GORMANMD 6 new ene cudeccnvuicecees 25

on

General Motors Corporation petitions for a writ of cer-

tiorari to review the judgment of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (App., infra, 1a-20a)

is reported at 881 F.2d 166. The opinion of the district court

(App., infra, 25a-40a) is reported at 721 F. Supp. 107.

JURISDICTION

The court of appeals entered its judgment on August

24, 1989 (App.,-%nfra, 21a), and denied GM’s petition

for rehearing on September 28, 1989 (App., infra, 23a).

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Section &(aX5) of the National Labor Relations Act, 29

U.S.C. § 158(aX5), Section 301(a) of the Labor Management

Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. § 185{a), and Section 514(a) of

the Employee Retirement Income Security Act, 29 U.S.C.

§ 1144(a), are set forth at App., infra, 5la.

STATEMENT

Respondents Mary R. Wells, et al., are former GM em-

ployees who voluntarily left their jobs during a wide-

spread reduction-in-force. Pursuant to a Voluntary Termina-

tion of Employment Plan (“VTEP’’) negotiated between

GM and respondents’ union, respondents each received be-

tween $10,000 and $22,000 in special severance benefits.

They now claim that GM assured them at the time that

if they accepted VTEP benefits they would nevertheless

iii

be eligible for reemployment on a preferential basis or

at least on the same basis as other applicants. GM asserts

to the contrary that it informed the employees that VTEP

beneficiaries would not be eligible for reemployment with

the company.

Even though respondents’ allegations, if true, would

mean that GM arguably violated the National Labor Rela-

tions Act, even though the parties’ dispute clearly relates

to the terms of an agreement between an employer and

a labor organization governed by the Labor Management

Relations Act, and even though the dispute involves em-

ployee benefits regulated by the Employee Retirement

Income Security Act, the court of appeals held that re-

spondents’ state law claims were not pre-empted by fed-

eral law. This ruling is plainly wrong and conflicts with

numerous decisions of this Court and other courts of ap-

peals on frequently recurring questions of federal pre-

emption. Further review is essential to preserve the juris-

diction of the National Labor Relations Board, to protect

the collective bargaining process, and to prevent piecemeal

state regulation of employee benefit plans.

1. Respondents were employed in CM’s Packard Elec-

tric Division plant in Clinton, Mississippi. As a result of

a general slowdown in the automobile industry in the

early 1980s, GM found it necessary to lay off several hun-

dred Packard Electric employees at Clinton and thousands

elsewhere. The prospect for reemployment of many of

those on layoff appeared dim. App., infra, la-2a, 26a-27a.

The employees at Clinton are represented for purposes

of collective bargaining by Local No. 698 of the Inter-

national Union of Electrical, Radio & Machine Workers,

AFL-CIO. Responding to a demand from a group of laid-

off Clinton workers, the union requested that GM consider

a Voluntary Termination of Employment Plan (“VTEP’’)

for Clinton. A VTEP allows employees to “‘cash in’”’ their

seniority rights and to terminate their employment rather

willis

than remain on layoff status with its inherent uncertainty.

On December 17, 1982, after a period of negotiations, the

company and the union entered into a VTEP Agreement.

App., infra, 2a, 27a, 41a-43a. It is undisputed that the

question of whether employees who accepted VTEP bene-

fits would be eligible for reemployment with GM was dis-

cussed during the negotiations. Jd. at 3a.}

The VTEP Agreement provided that any ‘employee

covered by the Collective Bargaining Agreement with

Plant Seniority * * * will be eligible to apply for a ter-

mination allowance under this VTEP.” App., infra, 41a.

Benefits would be paid to only 450 employees, “subject

to Management’s approval consistent with business con-

ditions.’”’ [bid. In the event that more than 450 employees

applied for VTEP benefits, beneficiaries would be selected

on the basis of seniority. Jbid. GM was authorized to limit

or delay processing of applications “based on [its] capabil-

ity to operate the business and train employees” and re-

tained the discretion to further limit, delay or deny ap-

plications from skilled trades employees. Jbid. The amount

of severance benefits an employee was entitled to receive

ranged from $10,000 to $22,000, depending on years of

seniority and on whether the employee elected to receive

the benefit in a lump sum or over 24 monthly install-

ments. Id. at 42a. The amount of the VTEP benefit would

be reduced by the amount of any excess supplemental un-

employment benefit (““SUB”) or other benefit received by

the employee. Jbid. Any disputes regarding the amount

of VTEP benefits or eligibility for those benefits could

1 According to the court of appeals, GM claimed “that the parties

raised the issue of ‘rehire rights’ in bargaining over the VTEP

and that GM officials specifically told union representatives that

employees opting for VTEP would not be eligible for rehire. [Re-

spondents] and their union claim[ed] that the representatives asked

about future eligibility and were told that would be ‘no problem’ ”.

App., infra, 3a.

a o

be appealed under the procedures established by the SUB

Plan. Id. at 43a.

An employee who applied for and received a VTEP

benefit would be terminated as an employee and would

lose his rights as an employee. App., infra, 42a. The

VTEP Agreement did not expressly address the question

of whether such an employee would be eligible for re-

employment by GM, but the provision relating to repay-

ment of benefits appeared to acknowledge that possibil-

ity (id. at 48a):

If a former employee is again employed by the

Division after he has received a VTEP, no repayment

(except with respect to an overpayment) of the VTEP

shall be required or allowed; and no seniority previ-

ously cancelled shall be reinstated.

The agreement also provided that if a former employee

received a larger VTEP benefit than he was entitled to

and did not otherwise return the overpayment, it “‘shall

be recoverable from any monies receivable from the Com-

pany should the former employe be rehired.” [bid.

Following execution of the VTEP Agreement, manage-

ment and union officials met with the Clinton employees

(including those on layoff) to explain the plan’s terms.

App., infra, 2a, 27a-28a. According to respondents’ al-

legations—which GM vigorously disputes (see id. at 3a)—

GM managers at those meetings told employees that

should they accept VTEP benefits, they would neverthe-

less be eligible for future employment either on a prefer-

ential basis or on the same terms as other applicants. Jd.

at 3a, 27a-28a, 46a.

2. In 1985, GM began hiring new employees at its Clin-

ton plant. The company declined to consider applications

from former employees who had accepted VTEP benefits.

Respondents did not file a grievance under the collective

bargaining agreement or challenge GM’s position pursuant

=

to the appeal provisions set out in the VTEP Agreement.

App., infra, 2a. Instead, they each filed a virtually iden-

tical diversity complaint in the United States District

Court for the Southern District of Mississippi. A copy of

the complaint of the lead plaintiff, Mary R. Wells, is set

forth in the Appendix. Jd. at 44a-50a. Respondent Wells

claimed that GM “falsely and fraudulently, and with intent

to deceive plaintiff, represented to plaintiff * * * that if

competitive conditions improved and [GM] later began hir-

ing employees * * * that those employees who had ac-

cepted VTEP benefits (VTEP employees) would be given

preference over other applications for employment; and

that VTEP employees would be eligible for employment

at defendant’s other locations on the same basis as other

applicants.” Id. at 46a. In the alternative, respondents

claimed that the same misrepresentations by GM were

negligent. Jd. at 48a. GM moved for summary judgment

on the grounds that the state law suits were pre-empted

by the National Labor Relations Act, the Labor Manage-

ment Relations Act, and the Employee Retirement In-

come Security Act. The district court denied GM’s motion.

Id. at 40a.

Finding that the pre-emption issues presented “‘control-

ling questions of law as to which there is substantial

ground for difference of opinion,” the district court cer-

tified its order for interlocutory appeal pursuant to 28

U.S.C. § 1292(b). App., infra, 2a.

3. The court of appeals affirmed. The court rejected

GM’s contention that respondents’ claims fell within the

exclusive jurisdiction of the National Labor Relations

Board and were therefore pre-empted under the Garmon

doctrine. GM argued that respondents’ claims, if true,

would show that GM violated Section 8(aX5) by failing to

bargain with the union over future employment eligibility.

The court disagreed, holding that eligibility for future em-

ployment is not a mandatory subject of bargaining. In the

caidas

court’s view, “evaluation and consideration of individual

applicants for employment lies ‘at the very core of en-

trepreneurial control.’ The Supreme Court has held that

these types of managerial decisions are not mandatory

subjects of bargaining. Ford Motor Co. v. NLRB, 441 U.S.

488, 498 (1979).” Therefore, any failure or refusal on GM’s

part to bargain with the union over that issue did not

violate Section 8(aX5) of the NLRA. App., infra, 5a-7a.

The court of appeals also rejected GM’s argument that

respondents’ claims amounted to a charge that GM bar-

gained directly with the employees and circumvented the

union in arguable violation of Section 8(aX5). App., infra,

7a-10a. Relying on this Court’s decision in /nternational

Longshoremen’s Ass’n v. Davis, 476 U.S. 380 (1986), the

court below held that a state law claim is no longer pre-

empted under Garmon if the party asserting pre-emption

contends that its own conduct is “arguably prohibited”

by the Act (App., infra, 8a, 9a; emphasis in original):

(T]he implication of GM’s argument is that if its con-

duct indeed was wrong, it is the Board that should

declare it so. We hold, however, that Davis defeats

GM’s attempt to invoke the NLRB’s exclusive juris-

diction in this fashion.

* * * KX *

By its own cast, GM’s argument concerning its “cir-

cumvention” of union representatives goes only to

show that its conduct was arguably prohibited by the

Board; hence, its claim could not reasonably be up-

held by the Board.

The court of appeals held that the same analysis ap-

plied to GM’s contention that “its failure to raise the issue

of future employment eligibility amouritted to a form of

deception at the bargaining table and thus, a failure to

bargain in good faith.” App. infra, 9a n.7. Because GM’s

claim was that its own conduct was “arguably prohibited”

by the Act, the court below held that it was not a claim

a

that could be “upheld” by the Board and thus did not

pre-empt respondents’ state law claims. [bid.

Turning to GM’s argument under Section 301 of the

LMRA, the court of appeals held that respondents’ claims

were not pre-empted because they were not “ ‘suwbstan-

tially dependent upon analysis of the terms’ of the col-

lective bargaining agreement”’ and because, in the court’s

view, respondents were not claiming that GM fraudulently

misrepresented the terms of the VTEP, but that it “fraud-

ulently induced individual employees to opt for the VTEP

by making an extraneous promise concerning their future

employment eligibility.” App., infra, 14a (quoting Allis-

Chalmers Corp. v. Lueck, 471 U.S. 202 (1985)). The court

acknowledged that respondents’ claims would nevertheless

be preempted if the agreement governed the disputed

issue, but it heid that “{a}fter careful review of the VTEP,

we find no provision that reasonably might be construed

to govern the issue of future employment eligibility, nor

are there ‘vague and ambiguous’ references to eligibility

that might be construed in GM’s favor.” Id. at 16a.

Finally, the court of appeals held that respondents’ claims

were not pre-empted by ERISA because the VTEP does

not constitute an “employee benefit plan” within the

meaning of that statute. Relying on Fort Halifax Pack-

ing Co. v. Coyne, 482 U.S. 1 (1987), the court held that

the VTEP was not a plan because it did not require “‘an

ongoing administrative program to meet the employer’s

obligation.” App., infra, 19a. “The [VTEP] plan was not

ongoing, nor was there any need for continuing adminis-

tration of the payment program (though employees could

elect a two-year installment payment option).” Jd. at 20a.

Judge Reavley concurred in the judgment on the ground

that “GM does not demonstrate any relationship between

the VTEP and its decision not to rehire the plaintiffs.”

App., infra, 20a.

sain:

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

When Congress passed the National Labor Relations

Act, the Labor Management Relations Act and the Em-

ployee Retirement Income Security Act, it constructed

comprehensive federal regulatory schemes that this Court

has repeatedly protected from undue interference in the

form of private lawsuits under state law. The court of

appeals’ decision circumvents those federal regulatory

schemes and permits state law resolution of claims that

concern (a) the obligation of a company to bargain with

a union, (b) the consequences that flow from a collectively-

bargained labor agreement, and (c) the operation of an

employee benefit plan. In doing-se,the-court_below_ has

disregarded the decisions of this Court, has created or

exacerbated conflicts with other courts of appeals on im-

portant and frequently recurring federal issues, and has

established a precedent that will impair the achievement

of important federal objectives. It is essential that this

Court grant the petition to resolve the conflicts and to

further define and preserve the proper scope of federal

regulation.

I. The Court Of Appeals’ Decision That Respondents’

Claims Were Not Pre-empted Under The Garmon

Doctrine Conflicts With The Decisions Of This

Court And Other Courts Of Appeals.

In order to preserve the exclusive jurisdiction of the

National Labor Relations Board over claims relating to

conduct regulated by the National Labor Relations Act,

this Court held in San Diego Building Trades Council

v. Garmon, 359 U.S. 236, 244-245 (1959), that state regula-

tion of conduct arguably within the realm of the Board

is pre-empted by the Act:

When it is clear or may fairly be assumed that the

activities which a State purports to regulate are pro-

tected by §7 of the National Labor Relations Act,

sail

or constitute an unfair labor practice under § 8, due

regard for the federal enactment requires that state

jurisdiction must yield.

* * * * X

When an activity is arguably subject to §7 or §8

of the Act, the States as well as the federal courts

must defer to the exclusive competence of the Na-

tional Labor Relations Board if the danger of state

interference with national policy is to be averted.

As the Court only recently emphasized in Longshoremen

v. Davis, 476 U.S. at 389-390, even in ambiguous cases

in which it is not “clear whether the particular activity

regulated by the States [is] governed by §7 or §8 * * *

‘courts are not primary tribunals to adjudicate such issues.

It is essential to the administration of the Act that these

determinations be left in the first instance to the * * *

Board.’ ”’ See also Lingle v. Norge Div. of Magic Chef,

Inc., 108 S. Ct. 1877, 1883 n.8 (1988).

The court of appeals’ ruling runs roughshod over the

Garmon pre-emption doctrine. To begin with, it incorrect-

ly reads this Court’s decision in Davis as abolishing the

“arguably prohibited’”’ branch of Garmon by providing

that a party asserting pre-emption must assert a claim

that the Board could decide in its favor. In addition, the

court below improperly took it upon itself to decide an

issue that is “at the heart of the Board’s function’’: whether

the eligibility of existing employees for future employment

is a mandatory subject of bargaining. Both aspects of the

court of appeals’ Garmon analysis require this Court’s

review.?

2 Because the Garmon pre-emption aspects of the court of ap-

peals’ decision implicate the jurisdiction of the National Labor

Relations Board and the scope of the federal enactment, the Court

may wish to request the views of the Solicitor General before it

decides whether to grant this petition.

a

A. The Court Of Appeals Has Misinterpreted This

Court’s Davis Decision To Effectively Abolish The

**Arguably Prohibited’? Branch Of Garmon.

In support of its assertion that respondents’ claims were

pre-empted under Garmon, GM argued that those allega-

tions, if true, amounted to claims that the company had

circumvented the union and bargained directly with em-

ployees (by offering them an “inducement” it had not of-

fered at the bargaining table) and that it had deceived

the union and thus failed to bargain in good faith. The

court of appeals acknowledged that circumventing the

union would violate Section 8(aX(5) of the Act, but it held

that under Davis state regulation of conduct arguably

prohibited by the NLRA is no longer pre-empted (App.,

infra, 9a; emphasis in original):

By its own cast, GM’s argument concerning its “cir-

cumvention” of union representatives goes only to

show that its conduct was arguably prohibited by the

Board; hence, its claims could not reasonably be

upheld by the Board.

The court below read Davis in a startling and un-

precedented way: as eliminating the ‘arguably prohibited”

branch of Garmon by concluding that a party’s assertion

that its own conduct (as alleged by its opponent) arguably

violated the Act is not sufficient to require pre-emption

because it is not a claim that could “reasonably be upheld

by the Board.” Ibid.

The court of appeals’ interpretation of Davis is plainly

incorrect. Contrary to the broad reading given it by the

court below, Davis merely defined the term “arguably.”’

The Court held that, to sustain its burden of showing that

a claim involves conduct that is “arguably” prohibited or

protected by the NLRA, “a party asserting pre-emption

must advance an interpretation of the Act that is not

plainly contrary to its language and that has not been

‘authoritatively rejected’ by the courts or the Board.” 476

=o

U.S. at 395. The party must show “that the Board rea-

sonably could uphold a claim based on such an interpreta-

tion.” Ibid. In other words, Davis requires the party

asserting Garmon pre-emption to do more than articulate

a farfetched theory under which there would be a remote

possibility that the Board would find its eonduct pro-

hibited or protected.

The erroneous construction of Davis adopted by the

court of appeals would have widespread and unfortunate

consequences not even remotely contemplated by this

Court. By abolishing the “‘arguably prohibited” branch of

Garmon, it would open the door to wholesale state regula-

tion of conduct that Congress intended to be regulated

only through the NLRB. In fact, the court of appeals’

reformulation of Garmon would not be met even in cases

where the conduct alleged was actually (rather than

arguably) prohibited by the Act. This Court’s subsequent

reiteration of the ‘‘arguably prohibited” branch in Lingle,

108 S. Ct. at 1883 n.8, makes clear that it does not inter-

pret Davis as the Fifth Circuit did.

Moreover, the court of appeals’ interpretation directly

conflicts with the decisions of several other courts of ap-

peals that have recently applied the “arguably prohibited”

branch of the Garmon doctrine to pre-empt claims similar

to those of respondents. In Parker v. Connors Steel Co.,

855 F.2d 1510 (11th Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 109 S. Ct.

2066 (1989), for example, several laid-off employees sued

their employer claiming that the company had fraudulently

represented that it would keep a plant open in return for

certain concessions from the union. The Eleventh Circuit

upheld the company’s argument that the employees’ claims

were pre-empted because the alleged conduct was arguably

prohibited by Section 8(aX5). 855 F.2d at 1515-1518. Simi-

larly, in Kolentus v. Avco Corp., 798 F.2d 949, 960-962 (7th

Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 1032 (1987), the Seventh

Circuit agreed with an employer that nearly identical state

we

law fraud claims were pre-empted, reasoning that “{a]

state law claim presumptively is preempted where the un-

lawful activity charged actually or arguably constitutes

an unfair labor practice under the NLRA.” See also Overby

v. Chevron USA, Inc., 884 F.2d 470 (9th Cir. 1989) (citing

Davis and remanding to the district court to determine

whether plaintiffs’ claims involved conduct that was argu-

ably prohibited by the Act). —

This Court should grant review to resolve the conflict

among the circuits on this basic and frequently recurring

labor law issue.

B. The Court Of Appeals Improperly And Incorrectly

Decided That Future Eligibility For Employment Is

Not A Mandatory Subject Of Bargaining.

In addition to contending that respondents’ allegations

amounted to a claim that it cireumvented and deceived

the union and thus failed to bargain in good faith, GM

argued below that the issue of future employment eligibil-

ity is a term and condition of employment and thus a

mandatory subject of bargaining. Respondents’ alleyations

therefore amounted to a claim, plainly pre-empted by the

NLRA, that GM unilaterally modified a mandatory subject

without bargaining with the union. The court of appeals

rejected GM’s pre-emption argument on the basis of its

own determination that the eligibility of present em-

ployees for future employment is not a mandatory sub-

ject of bargaining. App., infra, 6a-7a.

The court of appeals’ approach once again blatantly dis-

regards the Garmon framework. The court below should

not have decided independently whether future employ-

ment eligibility is a term and condition of employment;

instead, it should have asked whether GM’s contention

that it is a mandatory subject of bargaining was “an in-

terpretation of the Act that is not plainly contrary to

oe

its language and that has not been ‘authoritatively re-

jected’ by the courts or the Board.” Davis, 476 U.S. at

395. As this Court has noted, “{clonstruing and applying

the duty to bargain and the language of § 8&(d), ‘other

terms and conditions of employment,’ are tasks lying at

the heart of the Board’s function.”” Ford Motor Co. v.

NLRB, 441 U.S. 488, 497 (1979).

The court of appeals cited two cases in support of its

holding, but neither amounts to an authoritative rejection

of GM’s assertion that future eligibility is a mandatory

subject of bargaining. In Ford Motor Co. v. NLRB, this

Court upheld the Board’s determination that the price of

food in an in-plant cafeteria is a mandatory subject of

bargaining and is not ‘among those ‘managerial deci-

sions, which lie at the core of entrepreneurial control.’ ”’

441 U.S. at 498. The court below did not explain how that

statement warranted the conclusion that eligibility for

future employment does “lie at the core of entrepreneurial

control.”’ The court of appeals also cited Justice Stewart’s

concurring opinion in Fibreboard Corp. v. NLRB, 379 U.S.

203, 222 (1984); that decision upheld a Board ruling that

the contracting out of bargaining union work under cer-

tain conditions is a mandatory subject of bargaining.

Again, it is not at all clear how that supports the court

of appeals’ ruling.

In actuality, the Board and the courts have consistent-

ly supported GM’s position that future employment eligi-

bility is a mandatory subject of bargaining. The Board

has long held that the rights of laid off employees to be

recalled (and the terms and method of recall) are manda-

tory subjects of bargaining. Master Slack Corp., 230

NLRB 1054, 1055 (1977), enforced, 618 F.2d 6 (6th Cir.

1980). United States Gypsum Co., 94 NLRB 112, 114-115

(1951), modified in other respects, 206 F.2d 410 (5th Cir.

1953), cert. denied, 347 U.S. 912 (1954). The label applied

to the employee’s separation—‘“‘termination” rather than

ntiinn

“layoff’—cannot be determinative of bargaining rights.

Furthermore, this Court has held that although an em-

ployer need not bargain over its decision to close part

of its business, it must bargain over the effects of such

a decision on the terminated employees. First Nat’l Main-

tenance Corp. v. NLRB, 452 U.S. 666, 677 n.15 (1981).

Among those effects are the “job security” rights of the

employees being terminated (id. at 681), which include

their rights to transfer or to bid on jobs that might open

up with the company at a later time or at other locations.

The court of appeals did not explain why an employer

should be required to bargain over the job security rights

of terminated employees following a plant closure or lay-

off, but not over whether its employees have any right

to future employment after they have been “voluntarily

terminated”’ in lieu of a layoff.

The court of appeals’ resolution of this issue—reached

without benefit of the Board’s expertise—will have dramatic

practical consequences well beyond the context of this

case. It means that unions representing employees who

are about to be terminated as part of a reduction in force

have no right to bargain over the eligibility of those em-

ployees for reemployment. Although it is unquestionable

that unions have the right to bargain over the reinstate-

ment rights of laid off employees, once the layoff is char-

acterized as a termination, under the court of appeals’

view, unions (and the employees they represent) lose all

bargaining rights. And this is so even though the union

seeks to bargain before the employees are terminated pur-

suant to a voluntary termination agreement. It may in-

deed be the case that evaluation of completely new appli-

cants for employment “lies at the very core of entre-

preneurial control,’’ but that does not mean that existing

employees have no right to bargain over their future re-

employment.

=<_

The court of appeals’ conclusion is fundamentally at odds

with the important federal policy favoring resolution of

disputes through peaceful bargaining. It is also plainly con-

trary to the ways in which the Board and the courts have

handled other questions involving layoffs and plant clos-

ings. But even if that were not the case, the Fifth Cir-

cuit’s determination was not one for a court to make in

the first instance. Deciding whether future employment——————

eligibility of existing employees is a mandatory subject

of bargaining is a “task{ ] lying at the heart of the Board’s

function.”” Ford Motor Co., 441 U.S. at 497. The court

of appeals accordingly should have held that respondents’

state law claims were pre-empted and should have left

this important question for the Board to resolve in the

first instance.

II. The Court Of Appeals’ Decision That Respondents’

Claims Were Not Pre-empted By Section 301 Of

The LMRA Conflicts With Decisions Of Other

Courts Of Appeals And With This Court’s Repeated

Admonition That Disputes Relating To The Terms

Of Collective Bargaining Agreements Must Be Re-

solved Solely Under Federal Law.

Section 301 of the Labor Management Relations Act,

29 U.S.C. § 185, creates federal jurisdiction over “‘[s]uits

for violation of contracts between an employer and a iabor

organization representing employees in an industry affect-

ing commerce * * *.” In Textile Workers Union v. Lincoln

Mills of Alabama, 353 U.S. 448 (1957), this Court held

3 In a footnote, the court of appeals stated that GM’s duty to

bargain over future eligibility ‘did not arise in the absence of * * *

a demand [for bargaining.]” App., infra, 7a n.6. But as the court

acknowledged, the union did raise the issue of employment eligibil-

ity at the bargaining table and supposedly was “told that would

be ‘no problem.’ ” App., infra, 3a. It thus can hardly be main-

tained that the union did not seek to bargain on the issue.

—16—

that Section 301 is not merely a jurisdictional statute;

rather it “expresses a federal policy that federal courts

should enforce [collective bargaining] agreements’ and

that “the substantive law to apply in suits under § 301(a)

is federal law, which the courts must fashion from the

policy of our national labor laws.” Jd. at 455, 456. Thus,

in defining rights and responsibilities in the labor context,

“{flederal interpretation of the federal law will govern,

not state law.” Id. at 457.

The Court elaborated on this rule in Local 174, Team-

sters v. Lucas Flour Co., 369 U.S. 95, 103 (1962), which

held that ‘(t]he dimensions of § 301 require the conclu-

sion that substantive principles of federal labor law must

be paramount in the area covered by the statute.’’ Dis-

putes about the meaning of a collective bargaining agree-

ment cannot be left to state law because “the subject mat-

ter of §301(a) ‘is peculiarly one that calls for uniform

law.’’”’ Ibid. As the Court explained, “(t]he possibility that

individual contract terms might have different meanings

under state and federal law would inevitably exert a dis-

ruptive influence upon both the negotiation and adminis-

tration of collective agreements.” Jbid. “{I]n enacting

§ 301,” therefore, “Congress intended doctrines of federal

labor law uniformly to prevail over inconsistent local

rules.”’ Lucas Flour, 369 U.S. at 104. Indeed, the “pre-

emptive force of § 301 is so powerful as to displace en-

tirely any state cause of action’”’ that contends, explicitly

or implicitly, than an employer breached its obligations

under a labor contract. Franchise Tax Board v. Construc-

tion Laborers Vacation Trust, 463 U.S. 1, 23 (1983) (em-

phasis added).

This Court recently had occasion to apply these prin-

ciples in Allis-Chalmers Corp. v. Lueck, 471 U.S. 202

(1985). In Lueck, an employee subject to a collective bar-

gaining agreement brought a state law tort suit contend-

ing that his employer “intentionally, contemptuously, and

= =

repeatedly failed” to make disability insurance payments

under a union-negotiated disability plan. Jd. at 206. The

Wisconsin Supreme Court rejected the employer's argu-

ment that federal law pre-empted the employee’s state

law cause of action, holding that the employee’s suit did

not arise under Section 301 of the LMRA because ‘‘{uJn-

der Wisconsin law, the tort of bad faith is distinguishable

from a bad-faith breach-of-contract”’ and “is independent

of that contract.”’ Jd. at 207. In the court’s view, “‘viola-

tion of the labor contract was ‘irrelevant to the issue of

whether the defendants exercised bad faith in the manner

in which they handled Lueck’s claim.’ ” Ibid.

This Court unanimously reversed. The Court observed

that “‘ilf the policies that animate § 301 are to be given

their proper range, * * * the pre-emptive effect of § 301

must extend beyond suits alleging contract violations.” 471

U.S. at 210. As the Court explained (id. at 211):

[Qjuestions relating to what the parties to a labor

agreement agreed, and what legal consequences were

intended to flow from breaches of that agreement,

must be resolved by reference to uniform federal law,

whether such questions arise in the context of a suit

for breach of contract or in a suit alleging liability

in tort.

If state law were permitted to determine the conse-

quences flowing from particular contract terms, “(t]he par-

ties would be uncertain as to what they were binding

themselves to” when they entered into the labor contract.

Ibid. Such a result would make it “more difficult to reach

agreement, and disputes as to the nature of the agree-

ment would proliferate.” bid.

In light of these concerns, the Court in Lueck announced

the governing test for pre-emption under Section 301: a

state law claim is pre-empted whenever it “is inextricably

intertwined with consideration of the terms of the labor

contract” (471 U.S. at 213), such that “any attempt to

"a

assess liability * * * inevitably will involve contract in-

terpretation.”” /d. at 218. In other words, whenever

“resolution of a state-law claim is substantially dependent

upon analysis of the terms of an agreement made between

the parties in a labor contract, that claim must either be

treated as a § 301 claim or dismissed as pre-empted by

federal labor-contract law.” Jd. at 220 (citation omitted).

Applying that test, this Court rejected the Wisconsin

Supreme Court’s conclusion that the state law tort claim

could be resolved without interpreting the collective bar-

gaining agreement. The state court’s assertion that the

labor contract was irrelevant to the tort claim was “based

*** not solely on its unassailable understanding of the

state tort, but also on assumptions about the scope of the

contract provision which it had no authority to make un-

der state law.”” The Wisconsin court “evidently assumed

that the only obligations the parties assumed by contract

are those expressly recited in the agreement.” But “(t]he

assumption that the labor contract creates no implied

rights is not one that state law may make.” 471 U.S. at

214-215.

Moreover, the language of the collective bargaining

agreement and the nature of the employee’s tort claim

made the Wisconsin court’s assumption that there were no

implied rights “highly suspect.’’ The bad-faith handling

claim “‘intrinsically relates to the nature and existence of

the contract.” 471 U.S. at 216. Clearly, “(t]he duties imposed

and rights established through the state tort * * * derive

from the rights and obligations established by the con-

tract.”’ Jd. at 217. In these circumstances, the employee’s

claims ‘‘must be evaluated by federal contract law.” [bid.

The Court reiterated these same concerns in Lingle v.

Norge Div. of Magic Chef, Inc., 108 S. Ct. 1877 (1988).

In that case, an employee alleged that she had been dis-

charged in retaliation for filing a workers’ compensation

claim. The Court held that the state law claim contesting

her discharge was not pre-empted by Section 301 even

though the employee was covered by a collective bargain-

ing agreement that required “just cause’’ for discharge.

The fact that the plaintiff may have had a “remedy [under

the labor contract] for conduct that coincidentally violates

state law does not make the existence or the contours of

the state law violation dependent upon the terms of the

(labor] contract.” Jd. at 1885 (emphasis added).

The Court emphasized that its holding in Lingle should

not be interpreted to allow state law to determine ques-

tions relating to the terms of collective bargaining agree-

ments. ““Today’s decision should make clear that interpre-

tation of collective-bargaining agreements remains firmly

in the arbitral realm; judges can determine questions of

state law involving labor-management relations only if such

questions do not require construing collective-bargaining

agreements.” 108 S. Ct. at 1884.

A. The Court Of Appeals Erred In Deciding That Re-

spondents’ Claims Were Not Pre-empted By Section

301.

The court of appeals’ conclusion that respondents’ state

law fraud and misrepresentation claims were not pre-

empted by Section 301 cannot be reconciled with this

Court’s decisions. To begin with, it is beyond dispute that

respondents’ claims owe their existence to the VTEP

Agreement. They allege that GM falsely represented that

“employees who had accepted VTEP benefits * * * would

be given preference over other applications for employ-

ment” and that they “would be eligible for employment

at [GM’s] other locations on the same basis as other appli-

cants.”” App., infra, 46a. No matter how respondents (or

the court of appeals) may choose to characterize these

claims, at bottom they allege that as part of the VTEP

settlement (which is governed by the VTEP Agreement),

—~20—

GM promised that respondents would be eligible for future

employment, either on a preferential basis or on the same

terms as other applicants. Thus, the very “‘existence [as

well as] the contours of the state law violation [are] depen-

dent upon the terms of the [VTEP] contract” (Lingle, 108

S. Ct. at 1885); respondents’ state law claim “‘intrinsical-

ly relates to the nature and existence of the contract.”

Lueck, 471 U.S. at 216. Lueck and Lingle thus require

a finding of pre-emption.

Furthermore, the Fifth Circuit’s finding of no pre-emption

must also rest on the questionable assumption that the

VTEP Agreement created no implied rights regarding

future employment eligibility. Even though the VTEP

Agreement alluded to the possibility of reemployment in

its provisions relating to overpayment and repayment of

benefits, and even though the parties negotiated over the

“rehire rights” of VTEP beneficiaries, the court below

“evidently assumed that the only obligations the parties

assumed by contract are those expressly recited in the

agreement.”’ Lueck, 471 U.S. at 214. But in this case, as

in Lueck, “(t]he assumption that the labor contract creates

no implied rights is not one that state law may make.”

Id. at 215. Indeed, in light of several specific terms of

the VTEP Agreement, the court of appeals’ assumption

of no implied rights related to reemployment is, as in

Lueck, “highly suspect.” Ibid.

B. The Circuits Are In Conflict Over Whether Extra-

Contractual Promises Made To Bargaining Unit

Employees Can Be Enforced Under State Law.

The court of appeals held that respondents’ fraud and

misrepresentation claims were not pre-empted by Section

301 because they related to “‘an extraneous promise con-

cerning their future employment eligibility” rather than

the terms of the VTEP Agreement. As discussed above,

that characterization of respondents’ claims is “highly

oii.

suspect” and rests on assumptions about implied contrac-

tual rights that state law is not permitted to make. But

even if the court of appeals’ characterizations were cor-

rect, this case would still warrant further review.

The courts of appeals are hopelessly divided on the fre-

quently recurring issue of whether Section 301 pre-empts

state law fraud and misrepresentation claims based on al-

leged “extraneous” promises relating to the terms and

conditions of employment of workers covered by collec-

tive bargaining agreements. The Third and Eighth Cir-

cuits agree with the Fifth Circuit that such claims are

not pre-empted. In Berda v. CBS Inc., 881 F.2d 20 (3d

Cir. 1989), petition for cert. pending, No. 89-589, a former

CBS employee alleged that the company had told him be-

fore he was hired that “he would be guaranteed employ-

ment with CBS for the reasonably foreseeable future.”

881 F.2d at 21. When he was laid off, the employee filed

suit in state court, claiming that CBS had breached an

oral contract and that it had committed fraud and negli-

gent misrepresentation under state tort law. The Third

Circuit, which characterized the case as involving a “‘cir-

cuit-splitting question” (881 F.2d at 20), held that the

employee’s tort claims were not pre-empted by Section

301 because ‘“‘Berda was not required to refer to the col-

lective bargaining agreement in order to state his tort

claim.” Id. at 27.

The Eighth Circuit reached the same conclusion in Ander-

son v. Ford Motor Company, 803 F.2d 953 (1986), cert.

denied, 483 U.S. 1011 (1987). The plaintiffs were former

Ford employees who alleged that Ford assured them

when they were hired that they would not be bumped

by laid-off employees from other plants around the coun-

try. After the employees were bumped, they brought suit,

contending that Ford’s representations were fraudulent

or negligent. The Eighth Circuit held that the tort claims

were not pre-empted. The Court acknowledged that the

=_ =

Ninth Circuit had reached the opposite conclusion on simi-

lar facts (Bale v. General Telephone Co., 795 F.2d 775

(9th Cir. 1986)), but held that ‘“‘we do not agree with [the

Ninth Circuit] that adjudication of these state law claims

requires any significant reference to the terms of the col-

lective bargaining agreement.” 803 F.2d at 959.

The Ninth and Eleventh Circuits, on the other hand,

have held that such claims are pre-empted by Section 301.

In Young v. Anthony’s Fish Grottos, Inc., 830 F.2d 993

(9th Cir. 1987), an employee claimed that the company

assured her when she was hired that she could be dis-

charged only for just cause, even though under the col-

lective bargaining agreement she would be classified as

a probationary employee subject to discharge at the com-

pany’s discretion. When the employee was fired without

apparent cause, she brought suit, alleging fraud and mis-

representation. The Ninth Circuit held that her claims

were pre-empted by Section 301. ‘Because any ‘indepen-

dent agreement of employment * * * could be effective

only as part of the collective bargaining agreement,’ the

CBA controls and the contract claim is preempted.” 830

F.2d at 997. See also Chmiel v. Beverly Wilshire Hotel

Co., 873 F.2d 1283, 1285-1286 (9th Cir. 1989) (employee’s

claim that he was promised that he would not be dis-

charged without cause during probationary period pre-

empted by Section 301); DeLapp v. Continental Can Co.,

868 F.2d 1073, 1074-1076 (9th Cir. 1989) (employee’s claim

that employer promised him while he was a member of

the bargaining unit that if he remained on the job for

three extra months he would be eligible for early pen-

sion pre-empted by Section 301).

The Eleventh Circuit’s approach to the issue of “‘extrane-

ous promises’’ focuses on whether the promise was made

when the employee was a member of the bargaining unit.

If the state law suit alleges a pre-employment promise,

the action is not pre-empted by Section 301. Varnum v.

Nu-Car Carriers, Inc., 804 F.2d 638, 640 (11th Cir. 1986),

cert. denied, 481 U.S. 1049 (1987). But if the promise was

made to employees who were members of the bargaining

unit, the state law claims are pre-empted. Darden v.

United States Steel Corp., 830 F.2d 1116, 1119-1120 (11th

Cir. 1987); Mason v. Continental Group, Inc., 763 F.2d

1219 (11th Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 1087 (1986);

Redmond v. Dresser Indus., 734 F.2d 633 (11th Cir. 1984).

The Eleventh Circuit would thus agree with the Third

and Eighth Circuit decisions in Berda and Anderson and

with the Ninth Circuit in DeLapp (and would disagree

with the Ninth Circuit in Young and Bale), but it would

disagree with the Fifth Circuit in this case because re-

spondents “‘were clearly employees within the meaning

of the collective bargaining agreement when the alleged

misrepresentations, which constitute the crux of their com-

plaints, were made to them.” Darden, 830 F.2d at 1119.

Berda, Anderson, Young and Varnum present facts

analogous in some respects to those of Caterpillar Inc.

v. Williams, 482 U.S. 386 (1987). In Caterpillar, this

Court held that state law claims for breach of individual

employment contracts were not ‘completely pre-empted”

by Section 301 and thus were not removable to federal

court. The individual contracts were allegedly made before

the employees became members of the bargaining unit

and thus before they were covered by any collective bar-

gaining agreement. In this case, by contrast, as well as

in the Eleventh Circuit’s decision in Darden and the Ninth

Circuit’s decision in DeLapp, the alleged promises were

made while respondents were members of the bargaining

unit subject to the labor contract. Unlike Caterpillar,

therefore, this case, Darden and DeLapp do “address the

relationship between the individual [alleged promise] and

the collective agreement.” Caterpillar, 482 U.S. at 395.

Whatever the status of pre-hire individual contracts after

Caterpillar, a difficult issue—and a clear conflict—still

exists as to the pre-emption of state law claims relating

to individual promises allegedly made while the employees

were members of the bargaining unit.

It is essential that this Court resolve the conflict. Dis-

putes between employers and employees are common-

place, and it would be the rare employee who could not

package his complaint as an “independent” state law cause

of action by alleging ‘‘extraneous promises’”’ relating to—if

not directly governed by—the terms of a collective bar-

gaining agreement. As a result, state law claims will con-

tinue to proliferate until this Court clarifies the govern-

ing principles. Nothing could be more destructive of the

goals Congress sought to achieve in enacting Section 301

than a rule facilitating attempts by individual employees

to make end runs around the terms of collectively bar-

gained agreements and around contractual dispute resolu-

tion mechanisms. Unfortunately, the Fifth Circuit’s deci-

sion in this case—by disregarding the pre-emptive effect

of Section 301—offers a blueprint for evasion of the con-

gressional scheme.

III. The Court Of Appeals’ Decision That GM’s Sever-

ance Pay Plan Was Not An Employee Benefit

Plan Within The Meaning Of ERISA Conflicts

With Decisions Of Other Courts And Is Contrary

To The Policies Underlying The Statute.

In Section 514(a) of ERISA, 29 U.S.C. § 1144(a), Con-

gress established the broad pre-emptive effect of federal

regulation of employee benefit programs:

Except as provided in subsection (b) of this section

{listing exceptions not relevant to this case], the pro-

visions of this subchapter and subchapter III of this

chapter shall supersede any and all State laws insofar

as they may now or hereafter relate to any employee

benefit plan described in section 1003(a) of this title

and not exempt under section 1003(b) of this title.

—95—

The pre-emptive force of ERISA is thus “deliberately ex-

pansive” and designed to make regulation of employee

benefit plans “ ‘exclusively a federal concern.’ ”’ Pilot Life

Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux, 481 U.S. 41, 46 (1987) (quoting Alessi

v. Raybestos-Manhattan, Inc., 451 U.S. 504, 523 (1981)).

It is beyond dispute that the VTEP benefits are ‘‘em-

ployee benefits’ within the meaning of ERISA.* Never-

theless, the court of appeals concluded that the VTEP was

not an “employee benefit plan’ governed by ERISA.

Relying on this Court’s decision in Fort Halifax Pack-

ing Co. v. Coyne, 482 U.S. 1 (1987), the court below held

that “t]he [VTEP] plan was not ongoing, nor was there

any need for continuing administration of the payment

program (though employees could elect a two-year install-

ment payment option).’”’ App., infra, 20a. The court of ap-

peals’ rationale cannot survive careful scrutiny and would

have substantial adverse consequences well beyond the

context of this case.

In Coyne, the Court held that a Maine statute requir-

ing employers to make severance payments in designated

amounts in the event of a plant closing “neither estab-

lishes, nor requires an employer to maintain, an employee

benefit plan.’’ 482 U.S. at 12 (emphasis in original). The

Court described an ERISA “plan” as involving “an ongo-

ing administrative program to meet the employer’s obliga-

tion” (id. at 11) and held that while ‘“{slome severance

benefits by their nature necessitate’”’ such an administra-

tive program, the Maine law’s “requirement of a one-time,

lump-sum payment triggered by a single event” was not

(and did not require) such a program. Id. at 18.

This limited holding, involving a statutory lump-sum

benefit requirement, does not support the court of appeals’

4 See Fort Halifax Packing Co. v. Coyne, 482 U.S. 1, 7 (1987);

29 U.S.C. § 1002(1XB).

==

conclusion that GM’s very different VTEP program was

not an employee benefit plan. The Fifth Circuit’s analysis,

which would apply to all severance benefit programs

enacted to accommodate a particular event, ignores the

nature of the VTEP program and the fundamental differ-

ences between the VTEP and the Maine plant closing law.

To begin with, the VTEP was not a state-imposed benefit,

but a benefit plan negotiated between an employer and

a union representing its employees. Moreover, as the

VTEP Agreement plainly indicates, the GM program

clearly contemplated an administrative scheme. Not all

employees could elect VTEP benefits; the program was

limited to 450 employees who had to apply for the bene-

fits. Management retained discretion in selecting among

the applicants and in the timing of the termination, with

seniority governing between equal employees. The benefit

amount also depended on seniority, and employees could

elect between a lump-sum payment and a larger benefit

to be paid out over two years. The VTEP Agreement es-

tablished a procedure for resolving disputes and for col-

lecting overpayments and gave employees the option to

return the benefit within 14 days and to resume employ-

ment. The VTEP program thus required and included an

administrative scheme. It is precisely the kind of employee

benefit plan regularly governed by ERISA.

The court of appeals’ decision not only means that ERISA

does not pre-empt state law actions relating to severance

plans like the VTEP; it also means that the entire, care-

fully constructed regulatory framework of ERISA is in-

applicable to such plans. The reporting and disclosure re-

quirements, the fiduciary responsibility provisions, the

detailed statutory mechanism for administration and en-

forcement—all of these provisions do not apply to VTEP

and similar severance benefit plans. Accordingly, the court

of appeals’ decision would strip countless employees of im-

_27—

portant statutory protections thought to have been in

place since 1974.

In light of the language of the statute and Congress’s

clear intent to provide broad protection to employees, it

is hardly surprising that the other courts of appeals to

consider the issue have held that plans similar to the

VTEP are employee benefit plans covered by ERISA.

The only other court of appeals to decide the issue since

Coyne is the Third Circuit. In Pane v. RCA Corp., 868

F.2d 631 (1989), the court held that a severance benefit

program was an employee benefit plan under ERISA and

that a state law suit relating to that program was there-

fore pre-empted. The RCA plan was similar to GM’s VTEP:

it applied to a limited number of employees, involved con-

siderable management discretion, and was instituted by

the company (not the state) to deal with a single antici-

pated set of job terminations. Jd. at 633.

On these similar facts, the Third Circuit—expressly ap-

plying Coyne—held that RCA’s employee benefit plan “‘re-

quired an administrative scheme” and was subject to

ERISA. 868 F.2d at 635. The court thus reached a result

directly contrary to that of the Fifth Circuit in this case.5

Prior to this Court’s decision in Coyne, several other

courts of appeals had also held that similar severance

benefit programs were covered by ERISA. Scott v. Gulf

Oil Corp., 754 F.2d 1499, 1503-1504 (9th Cir. 1985) (prom-

ise of severance pay in connection with sale of refinery);

5 At least two other courts subsequent to Coyne have held that

similar severance benefit plans are covered by ERISA. See Kocman

v. Safeguard Business Systems, Civ. A. No. 88-5127 (E.D. Pa. June

28, 1989); Babcock & Wilcox Co. v. Illinois Human Rights Comm'n,

545 N.E.2d 799 (Ill. App. Ct. 1989). One court reached the same

conclusion before Coyne on facts nearly identical to those of this

case. Muenchow v. Parker Pen Co., 615 F. Supp. 1405, 1416-1419

(W.D. Wis. 1985).

22

Blau v. Del Monte Corp., 748 F.2d 1348, 1352 (9th Cir.

1985) (separation allowance program triggered by reorgan-

ization, consolidation, or elimination of operations); Sly v.

P.R. Mallory & Co., 712 F.2d 1209, 1211 (7th Cir. 1983)

(severance policy adopted in anticipation of large-scale

layoffs).

This Court should grant review to clarify the scope of

its Coyne decision, to resolve the conflict among the cir-

cuits on a significant issue of federal law, and, most im-

portantly, to make clear that severance benefit plans, even

if they are instituted in anticipation of a single set of job

terminations, are subject to ERISA regulation. The court

of appeals’ decision would have far-reaching consequences

beyond the pre-emption context and would leave employees,

employers, and benefit plan administrators in an intoler-

able state of uncertainty as to whether severance benefit

programs must comply with ERISA.

—29—

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted.

PAUL O. MILLER, III JAMES D. HOLZHAUER

W. THOMAS SILER, JR. Counsel of Record

Phelps, Dunbar, Marks STEPHEN M. SHAPIRO

Claverie & Sims KENNETH S. GELLER

Suite 1400 THOMAS C. BERG

Mirror Lake Plaza Mayer, Brown & Platt

2829 Lakeland Drive 190 South LaSalle Street

Jackson, Mississippi 39296 Chicago, Illinois 60603

(601) 939-3895 (312) 782-0600

DAVID M. DAVIS

MARK R. FLORA

General Motors Corporation

3031 West Grand Boulevard

Detroit, Michigan 48202

(313) 556-5000

December 1989

APPENDICES

—jla—

APPENDIX A

MARY R. WELLS, et al.,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

v.

GENERAL MOTORS CORPORATION,

Defendant-Appellant.

No. 88-4665

United States Court of Appeals,

Fifth Circuit

August 24, 1989

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Mississippi.

Before REAVLEY, POLITZ, and SMITH, Circuit

Judges.

JERRY E. SMITH, Circuit Judge:

We review here another case involving alleged promises

made and broken in the highly-charged environment of

large-scale layoffs and shifts in the labor market.' The

thirty-two plaintiffs in this action are former employees

1 E.g., Cefalu vy. B.F. Goodrich Co., 871 F.2d 1290 (5th Cir. 1989)

(promise concerning availability of retirement benefits after em-

ployer’s sale of assets to another company); Degan v. Ford Motor

Co., 869 F.2d 889 (5th Cir. 1989) (promise concerning availability

of early retirement benefits for employee who, during plant clo-

sure, accepted severance pay); Bache v. American Tel. & Tel. Co.,

840 F.2d 283 (5th Cir.) (promise of job security following reor-

ganization and divestment of subsidiaries), cert. denied, _____ U.S.

___, 109 S. Ct. 219, 102 L.Ed.2d 210 (1988).

— PQ —

at the Packard Electric plant, a subsidiary of General

Motors Corporation (‘GM’), in Clinton, Mississippi. When

GM announced layoffs in 1983, it negotiated with the

union a separation agreement, according to which em-

ployees could opt for a severance payment in lieu of pre-

serving their seniority and rehire rights. At meetings to

explain the plan, a GM representative allegedly told the

employees that they could be rehired if new jobs were

created, although they would have to apply like everyone

else. Plaintiffs contended that when new positions opened

in 1985, management informed them they were ineligible

under the severance plan.

The plaintiffs sought redress in the district court, bas-

ing jurisdiction upon diversity, and positioning their claims

upon theories of state iaw fraud and misrepresentation.

GM moved for summary judgment on the ground that the

district court lacked subject matter jurisdiction since the

proper forum was the National Labor Relations Board

(“NLRB” or “‘Board’’). In the alternative, GM claimed

that plaintiffs’ state law claims were preempted by federal

law. The district court denied the motion and certified

the question for interlocutory appeal. We accepted the

case for review and now affirm, holding that the NLRB

has no jurisdiction and that state law governs the action.

I. Right To Be Considered For Rehire.

In 1982, demand for domestic automobiles began to

slump, resulting in planned layoffs at the Packard Elec-

tric plant (“the plant’). A committee comprised of both

union and management created the Voluntary Termination

of Employment Plan (the ““VTEP”’), offering severance

pay, either in lump-sum or two-year installment payments,

to those who agreed to resign. This much the parties

—ta—

agree upon; they differ with respect to GM’s position con-

cerning the future employment eligibility of those who

opted for the VTEP.

GM’s version of the facts contradicts that of the plain-

tiffs and their union in every important respect. GM con-

tends that the parties raised the issue of “rehire rights”

in bargaining over the VTEP and that GM officials spe-

cifically told union representatives that employees opting

for VTEP would not be eligible for rehire. Plaintiffs and

their union claim that the representatives asked about

future eligibility and were told that would be “no prob-

lem.”’ GM alleges that during collective bargaining over

the plan’s details, management negotiators told union

negotiators that employees who accepted plan benefits

would not be eligible for rehire. GM further contends that

when its officials presented the plan to the employees,

they told the employees that those accepting plan benefits

would be ineligible for rehire. Lastly, GM reads the VTEP

itself as ‘“‘vague’’ and ‘‘ambiguous” on the issue of

employee eligibility for rehire.

Plaintiffs would explain the differing factual accounts

aS a semantic miscue: GM’s references were to “rehire

rights,” a term of art as between the parties that denotes

those rights held by laid-off employees under the general

collective bargaining agreement. Such rehire rights would

include the rights of laid-off employees to be called back

in a certain priority, to have their seniority and benefits

reinstated, to work at a particular wage level, and so

forth. In contrast, plaintiffs assert that the issue of “future

employment eligibility’’ was independent of the discussion

of rehire rights, concerned only the potential for those

who opted for VTEP of ever being GM employees again,

and was not the subject of collective bargaining.

—4g—

Plaintiffs, who are thirty-two former GM employees who

opted for VTEP, brought independent actions in federal

district court, premising jurisdiction upon diversity and

alleging (1) that GM, when presenting the VTEP to em-

ployees, offered false inducements to employees to opt for

the VTEP, in the form of promises concerning future em-

ployment eligibility; (2) that GM knew these inducements

and representations were false; (3) that plaintiffs relied

upon these representations in accepting the plan; and (4)

that plaintiffs were injured as a result of this reliance.

II. Subject Matter Jurisdiction: Is This a Case for

the NLRB?

Congress vested exclusive jurisdiction in the NLRB

over conduct that is ‘arguably protected or arguably pro-

hibited” by Sections 7 and 8 of the NLRA. See Interna-

tional Longshoremen’s Ass’n v. Davis, 476 U.S. 380, 394,

106 S. Ct. 1904, 1914, 90 L.Ed.2d 389 (1986).2 These sec-

tions protect the right of the employees to engage in col-

lective bargaining and prohibit both management and

labor from engaging in the enumerated unfair labor prac-

tices. 29 U.S.C. §§ 157, 158. GM bears the burden of show-

ing that the challenged conduct is arguably protected or

prohibited by the NLRA. See Davis, 476 U.S. at 395, 106

S. Ct. at 1914. It presents three arguments designed to

meet this burden and invoke NLRB jurisdiction. We deal

with each argument in turn, reviewing them as did the

district court; that is, after examining the record de novo

we resolve all reasonable doubts and draw all reasonable

inferences in favor of the non-movant, and then determine

2 Citing San Diego Bldg. Trades Council v. Garmon, 359 U.S.

236, 244, 79 S. Ct. 773, 779, 3 L.Ed.2d 775 (1959).

—— he —

whether the movant is entitled to judgment as a matter

of law. Schuster v. Martin, 861 F.2d 1369, 1371 (5th Cir.

1988).

A. Mandatory Subjects Of Bargaining.

First, GM contends that future employment eligibility

is a mandatory subject of bargaining under 29 U.S.C.

§ 158(d); hence, plaintiffs’ claims about GM’s representa-

tions necessarily implicate GM’s good faith in bargaining,

or in failing to bargain,? over the future-employment issue.

GM also asserts that its conduct was arguably prohibited

or protected by the NLRA because Section 8(aX5) requires

employers to bargain with union representatives before

modifying policies that affect mandatory subjects of bar-

gaining. See Armour & Co., 280 NLRB 824, 826 (1986).4

3 Included within GM’s good-faith bargaining obligation is the

duty to provide adequate infermation about the subject at issue

so that the negotiation process can function properly. See NLRB

v. Truitt Mfg. Co., 351 U.S. 149, 152, 76 S. Ct. 753, 755, 100 L.Ed.

1027 (1956) (“‘Good-faith bargaining necessarily requires that claims

made by either bargainer should be honest claims.’’); Serrano v.

Jones & Laughlin Steel Co., 790 F.2d 1279, 1286-87 (6th Cir. 1986).

Thus, to the extent, if any, that GM “hid the ball” in the VTEP

negotiations by keeping silent about its intentions concerning em-

ployee eligibility for rehire, it would not have bargained in good

faith.

4 In Armour the Board held that the employer’s decision whether

to allocate severance pay and vacation pay to weeks following the

employee’s termination date—which would result in making the em-

ployee ineligible for unemployment compensation in Wisconsin dur-

ing that period—was a mandatory subject of bargaining. Contrary

to GM’s recitation of the holding in Armour, the Board did not de-

clare that “‘the power to allocate * * * rested exclusiveiy within the

authority of the employer in the sense that it was a traditional

management prerogative.”’ Instead, the Board’s point was that, vis-

a-vis the state, the employer’s authority to allocate vacation and sev-

(Footnote continued on following page)

a

The district court assumed arguendo that the VTEP

was a mandatory subject of bargaining, such that GM had

a duty to bargain with union representatives over the

VTEP.> But the court concluded that the issue of future

eligibility for rehire was not, in itself, a mandatory sub-

ject of bargaining so as to require GM to engage in bar-

gaining over that issue as well: “‘The fact that the mat-

ter at issue here, eligibility for future employment, in

retrospect could have been and perhaps should have been

included within [the VTEP] does not render that topic a

fortiori a mandatory subject of bargaining.”’

We agree. As plaintiffs observe, the company’s evalua-

tion and consideration of individual applicants for employ-

ment lies “fat the very core of entrepreneurial control.”

The Supreme Court has held that these types of mana-

gerial decisions are not mandatory subjects of bargain-

ing. See Ford Motor Co. v. NLRB, 441 U.S. 488, 498,

99 S. Ct. 1842, 1849, 60 L.Ed.2d 420 (1979) (quoting Fibre-

board Paper Prods. Corp. v. NLRB, 379 U.S. 203, 222,

85 S. Ct. 398, 409, 13 L.Ed.2d 233 (1964) (Stewart, J., con-

4 continued

erance pay on unemployment compensation forms gave it mean-

ingful authority over the payment of unemployment compensation

and hence, the ability to debase or enhance the worth of severance

and vacation pay. The Board therefore did not imply that this

authority was an exclusive management prerogative, vis-a-vis the

workers; by holding that the employees were entitled to have their

say in that decision, the Board concluded that it was not an exclu-

sive prerogative.

5 The court supported this assumption with citations to labor

cases involving disputes over the status of similar subjects of bar-

gaining such as pension plans and severance pay. See Allied 7

& Alkali Workers vy. Pittsburgh Plate Glass Co., 404 U.S. 157

92 S. Ct. 383, 30 L.Ed.2d 341 (1971); Armour. We make no pol

ment on the correctness of this assumption, as the issue is not

before us: Here, the union and management indeed collectively

bargained over the VTEP.

|

curring)). An empioyer’s failure or refusal to bargain over

a non-mandatory subject does not violate Section 8(aX5).®

See NLRB v. Wooster Div. of Borg-Warner Corp., 356

U.S. 342, 349, 78 S. Ct. 718, 722, 2 L.Ed.2d 823 (1958).

Thus, the fact that future eligibility for rehire might,

in the context of the VTEP, have an economic value for

those workers who accepted the plan, or that GM raised

the issue during collective bargaining (a claim which plain-

tiffs contest), does not transmogrify a management prerog-

ative into a mandatory subject of bargaining. The status

of the issue of future eligibility does not change by vir-

tue of its relation to, or even its purported inclusion in,

a union-management agreement concerning other manda-

tory subjects of bargaining. See Wooster, id. As plaintiffs

note, to hold otherwise would provide both management

and labor with a “bootstrap” with which to make any

bargaining subject a mandatory one.

B. Bargaining Directly With Employees.

Section 8(aX5) of the NLRA requires employers to bar-

gain in good faith with employee representatives. We have

read that section to preclude employers from circumvent-

ing those representatives by bargaining directly with em-

6 Moreover, if, as GM contends, future employment eligibility

were a mandatory subject of bargaining by virtue of its value in

the context of the VTEP, then the duty to bargain over that sepa-

rate subject was not triggered unless and until there was a clear

and unequivocal demand for bargaining by the union. See NLRB

v. Katz, 369 U.S. 736, 748, 82 S. Ct. 1107, 1111, 8 L.Ed.2d 230

(1962) (‘A refusal to negotiate in fact as to any subject that is

within § &(d), and about which the union seeks to negotiate, violates

§ &(aX5)” (emphasis added)). Hence, even if we accepted GM’s argu-

ment that future eligibility itself was a mandatory subject of bar-

gaining, GM’s duty did not arise in the absence of such a demand.

—8a—

ployees. See Standard Fittings Co. v. NLRB, 845 F.2d

1311, 1317 (5th Cir. 1988). GM asserts that in making its

representations to the group of employees who attended

the VTEP meetings, it engaged in conduct “arguably pro-

hibited”’ by the NLRA. Thus, GM maintains that the NLRB

is the appropriate forum to hear even the claims of those

whose conduct the Act arguably prohibits; in even more

basic terms, the implication of GM’s argument is that if

its conduct indeed was wrong, it is the Board that should

declare it so. We hold, however, that Davis defeats GM’s

attempt to invoke the NLRB’s exclusive jurisdiction in

this fashion.

In Davis, the Court gave the following construction to

the phrase “arguably protected or prohibited”’:

If the word ‘arguably’ is to mean anything, it must

mean that the party claiming pre-emption is required

to demonstrate that his case is one that the Board

could legally decide in his favor. That is, a party

asserting pre-emption must advance an interpretation

of the Act that is not plainly contrary to its language

and that has not been ‘authoritatively rejected’ by

the courts or the Board. The party must then put

forth enough evidence to enable the court to find that

the Board reasonably could uphold a claim based on

such an interpretation.

476 U.S. at 395, 106 S. Ct. at 1914 (citations omitted).

GM contends throughout its brief that its positions on the

status of future employment eligibility as a bargaining

subject and on the propriety (or impropriety) of its rep-

resentations to the employees were not ones which the

Board or courts have rejected authoritatively. But that

contention, even if accepted, does not bring us to a resolu-

tion, for as the Court explains in the passage quoted

above, the party attempting to invoke the Board’s juris-

diction must then demonstrate that the Board could rea-

=

sonably uphold that party’s claim. The reason for this re-

quirement is simple and instructive here: The exclusivity

of the Board’s administrative province, made necessary

by the need for uniform treatment in labor disputes, may

not serve as a shelter for those whose claims have no

realistic chance of acceptance and no import for national

labor policy. Cf Gray v. Local 714, Int’l Union of Op-

erating Eng’rs, 778 F.2d 1087, 1090 (5th Cir. 1985) (em-

ployee’s claim for fraudulent inducement not preempted

by NLRA because alleged conduct was of only “peripheral

concern” regarding federal law).

By its own cast, GM’s argument concerning its “circum-

vention” of union representatives goes only to show that

its conduct was arguably prohibited by the Board; hence,

its claim could not reasonably be upheld by the Board.’

Nor does GM convincingly demonstrate the import of its

claim for national labor policy: As plaintiffs observe, the

challenged conduct here was not an attempt on the part

of GM to interfere with the collective bargaining process

or to diminish the union’s representative role; instead, it

was a post-bargaining effort to induce individual employ-

ees to accept VTEP benefits. While not dispositive,® it

7 The same flaw is found in a similar argument made by GM,

that is, that its failure to raise the issue of future employment

eligibility amounted to a form of deception at the bargaining table

and thus, a failure to bargain in good faith.

8 GM correctly observes that an employer that makes unilateral

decisions concerning mandatory subjects of bargaining violates

§ 8(aX5) regardless of whether the employer makes those decisions

during collective bargaining or attempts to implement them after

the collective bargaining agreement has been ratified. E.g., Stan-

dard Fittings, 845 F.2d at 1315; Huck Mfg. Co.. v. NLRB, 693

F.2d 1176, 1186 (5th Cir. 1982); N L Industries, Inc. v. NLRB,

536 F.2d 786, 789-90 (8th Cir. 1976). Thus, had future employment

(Footnote continued aa following page)

—10a—

is relevant that the parties had completed collective bar-

gaining over the VTEP; GM’s alleged inducements had

no direct bearing upon the collective bargaining process

in that they were not offered in order to obtain ratifica-

tion of an agreement.® For better or worse, the bargain-

ing process had served its function, and the union repre-

sentatives had fulfilled their role. It was then left to the

individual employees to choose whether they would opt

for the plan, and it is upon that choice that GM’s alleged

inducements operated.

C. Sweet Promises.

Finally, GM would have us hold that its representations

at the VTEP meetings were protected expression under

Section &(c) of the NLRA, which provides,

The expressing of any views, argument, or opinion, or

the dissemination thereof, whether in written, printed,

graphic, or visual form, shall not constitute or be evi-

dence of an unfair labor practice . . . if such expres-

8 continued

eligibility been a mandatory subject of bargaining included in the

agreement, GM’s attempt to make a unilateral change after ratifi-

cation would have been a breach of its duty to bargain in good

faith. Here, however, future eligibility was not a mandatory sub-

ject, nor is it GM’s conduct in the collective bargaining process

that is at issue; instead, it is the alleged inducement offered to

the individual employees that is the source of plaintiffs’ claims.

As a result, adjudication of these claims under the rubric of state

law presents little danger of subjecting the employer to conflict-

ing substantive rules. See Local 926, Int’l Union of Operating

Eng’rs v. Jones, 460 U.S. 669, 676, 103 S. Ct. 1453, 1458, 75

L.Ed.2d 368 (1983).

8 Cf. Serrano, (employer allegedly made promises to keep coke

plant open if steelworkers would accept and ratify concessions in

addendum to collective bargaining agreement); Parker v. Conners

Steel Co., 855 F.2d 1510 (11th Cir. 1988) (same), cert. denied,

U.S. __, 109 S. Ct. 2066, 104 L.Ed.2d 631 (1989).

—lla—

sion contains no threat of reprisal or force or prom-

ise of benefit.

29 U.S.C. § 1580). Here, GM’s contention is that its repre-

sentations at the meetings amounted only to a statement

of fact about the VTEP: Employees who opted for the

plan were not eligible for rehire.

We cannot accept this characterization of the facts in

the current procedural posture of the case. As we explain

below, we find no provision in the VTEP that reasonably

might be construed as governing the dispute over future

eligibility. Making all reasonable inferences in favor of

plaintiffs, we must conclude that GM’s representations

went beyond a recitation of what was contained in the

VTEP. Hence, we can only construe GM’s statements as

a promise of benefit over and above what the VTEP of-

fered. As such, GM’s statements were not protected ex-

pression under Section 158£(c).

III. Preemption.

Holding as we do that the district court, and not the

NLRB, had subject matter jurisdiction, we address GM’s

alternative claim that federal, rather than Mississippi, law

governs this case.!° GM premises its preemption claims

10 Plaintiffs’ claims of fraudulent inducement are premised upon

Mississippi common law. See Berkline Corp. v. Bank of Miss., 453

So.2d 699, 702 (Miss. 1984), in which the Mississippi Supreme Court

observed, “As all know . . ., running deep in our law is the no-

tion that a person must respond where his statements or conduct

reasonably induce another to rely to his detriment.” The elements

of a state law cause of action for fraud are set forth in Martin

v. Winfield, 455 So.2d 762, 764 (Miss. 1984), as follows:

(1) a representation, (2) its falsity, (3) its materiality, (4) the

speaker’s knowledge of its falsity or ignorance of its truth,

(Footnote continued on following page)

—12a—

upon both Section 301 of the LMRA and Section 514(a)

of the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974

(ERISA), 29 U.S.C. § 1144(a). Though we agree with GM

that the preemptive scope of these statutes is broad,'!

we conclude that it is not so broad as to reach this case.

A. Preemption Under Section 301.'?

When resolution of a state law claim is substantially

dependent upon analysis of the terms of an agreement

made between parties to a labor contract, the claim must

be treated as a Section 301 claim. See Allis-Chalmers

Corp. v. Lueck, 471 U.S. 202, 220, 105 S. Ct. 1904, 1915,

10 continued

(5) his intent that it should be acted upon by the person and

in the manner reasonably contemplated, (6) the hearer’s ig-

norance of its falsity, (7) his reliance on its truth, (8) his right

to rely thereon, and (9) his consequent and proximate injury.

[Citations omitted.]

11 Under the Avco exception to the well-pleaded complaint rule,

state law claims that implicate § 301 must be recharacterized as

stating a federal cause of action. Avco Corp v. Aero Lodge No.

735, 390 U.S. 557, 560, 88 S. Ct. 1235, 1237, 20 L.Ed.2d 126 (1968);

Aaron vy. National Union Fire Ins. Co., 876 F.2d 1157, 1161-62

(5th Cir. 1989). The Supreme Court has held that the Avco prin-

ciple operates to “federalize” state law claims implicating ERISA

benefit plans as well. See Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Taylor,

481 U.S. 58, 65, 107 S. Ct. 1542, 1547, 95 L.Ed.2d 55 (1987).

12 Section 301(a) provides,

Suits for violation of contracts between an employer and a

labor organization representing employees in an industry af-

fecting commerce as defined in this chapter, or between any

such labor organizations, may be brought in any district court

of the United States having jurisdiction of the parties... -

29 U.S.C. § 185d(a).

19a.

85 L.Ed.2d 206 (1985).!* But Section 301 is not implicated

unless resolution of the state claim requires interpreta-

tion of a collective bargaining agreement. Lingle v. Norge

Div. of Magic Chef, Inc., ___. U.S. , 108 S. Ct. 1877,

1883, 100 L.Ed.2d 410 (1988). The Court declared in Cater-

pillar Inc. v. Wilivams, 482 U.S. 386, 396, 107 S. Ct. 2425,

2431, 96 L.Ed.2d 318 (1987), that “a plaintiff covered by

a collective-bargaining agreement is permitted to assert

legal rights independent of that agreement, including

state-law contract rights, so long as the contract relied

upon is not a collective-bargaining agreement” (emphasis

in original).4 Here, the district court concluded that no

interpretation of the collective bargaining agreement or

of the VTEP would be required in order to resolve the

plaintiffs’ claims.

GM presents a forceful argument that resolution of

plaintiffs’ fraudulent misrepresentation claims requires in-

terpreting the terms of the collectively-bargained VTEP.

Its claim is that in order to determine whether GM falsely

represented the consequences of accepting the VTEP,

there must be an examination and interpretation of the

13 In Lueck, the Court carefully delimited the scope of its rul-

ing, writing that it did not hold “that every state-law suit assert-

ing a right that relates in some way to a provision in a collective-

bargaining agreement, or more generally to the parties to such

an agreement, necessarily is preempted by § 301.” 471 U.S. at 220,

105 S. Ct. at 1915. We conclude that the instant claims, premised

as they are upon independent state-created rights, present precise-

ly the type of case which the Court excised from its holding by

this language in Lueck.

14 In an analogous ERISA case involving another employee at

the Packard Electric plant, we recently held that the employee

could litigate his state-law contractual rights in state court and

that his claim was not preempted by ERISA. See Hartle v.

Packard Elec., 877 F.2d 354, 355-56 (5th Cir. 1989) (per curiam).

—l4a—

VTEP to determine what a truthful representation would

have been. In such a case, it argues, preemption occurs.

See Lingle.

However, GM’s position is flawed in two important re-

spects: First, it is not the case that Section 301 preemp-

tion occurs whenever a collectively-bargained agreement

becomes relevant to a dispute of this nature; rather, the

resolution of the particular dispute must be “substantially

dependent upon analysis of the terms’”’ of the collective

bargaining agreement. Lueck, 471 U.S. at 220, 105 S. Ct.

at 1915. Second, the argument rests upon an unsound

premise: namely, that the plaintiffs’ claim is that GM’s

representatives fraudulently misrepresented what was in

the contract. Instead, as plaintiffs observe, their claim was

that GM fraudulently induced individual employees to opt

for the VTEP by making an extraneous promise concern-

ing cheir future employment eligibility. They do not claim

that the promise had anything to do with the contents

of the VTEP.

Thus, plaintiffs urge that they are not relying upon any

contract at all, but only upon an inducement that was

separate and apart from the VTEP, was not covered by

it, and was never a subject of negotiation. It is GM that

claims, as a defense, that the contract contemplates, albeit

not expressly, the circumstances that eventually occurred

and therefore must be “‘interpreted”’ in order to resolve

these claims.

But that is not a defense to a fraudulent-inducement

claim in this context. The dispute is a highly fact-bound

one concerning what was said, or promised, at the meet-

ing. The defense to such a claim is not that “the VTEP

might be construed to say otherwise”; rather, it is that

‘“‘we made no such representation” or that ‘‘no such rep-

—l5a—

resentation could have been made given the VTEP’s pro-

visions.’ 15

We recognize, as have other circuits, that the existence

of an agreement nevertheless may invoke Section 301 pre-

emption where a court determines that the agreement

contains provisions that might reasonably be construed

as governing the disputed matter.1® The agreement might,

15 GM has given tacit recognition to the necessity of this defense

by asserting before us that, in fact, the statement of GM’s rep-

resentative was the exact opposite of what plaintiffs claim he said,

in other words, that he told employees that they would not be

eligible for rehire if they opted for the VTEP.

16 GM directs us to a number of cases, from other circuits, which

it considers similar in fact to the instant case. The distinguishing

characteristic of these cases, however, is that the subject agree-

ments contained provisions that reasonably could be construed to

govern the issue that had become the source of tension. See e.g.,

Darden v. United States Steel Corp., 830 F.2d 1116 (11th Cir. 1987)

(per curiam) (laid-off employees with rehire rights were ‘‘employ-

ees’”’ nonetheless and could not avoid obligation under collective

bargaining agreement to bring their grievance to arbitration); Bale

v. l Tel. Co., 795 F.2d 775 (9th Cir. 1986) (contract definition

of “temporary employee” governed dispute); Gibson v. AT & T

Technologies, Inc., 782 F.2d 686 (7th Cir.) (employees sought layoff

allowance provided for in agreement), cert. denied, 477 U.S. 905,

106 S. Ct. 3275, 91 L.Ed.2d 565 (1986); Mason v. Continental

Group, Inc., 763 F.2d 1219 (11th Cir. 1985) (employer’s closure of

plant and termination of employees was governed by arbitration

clause in agreement, especially where employees had two months

between announcement and closing to bring grievances), cert. de-

nied, 474 U.S. 1087, 106 S. Ct. 863, 88 L.Ed.2d © 2 (1986); Moore

v. General Motors Corp., 739 F.2d 311 (8th Cir. 1984) (contract

provision concerning transfer was source of, and governed, plain-

tiffs claim that employer required transfer without exercising due

care), cert. denied, 471 U.S. 1099, 105 S. Ct. 2320, 85 L.Ed.2d 839

(1985).

The same is also true of the Supreme Court precedents upon

which GM relies. See International Bhd. of Elec. Workers v.

Hechler, 481 U.S. 851, 107 S. Ct. 2161, 95 L.Ed.2d 791 (1987)

(employee’s claim that union violated implied duty of care express-

(Footnote continued on following page)

—16a—

for example, contain provisions that are contrary to the

representations made, or might reserve the particular

issue for further collective bargaining or preclude such

inducements on the part of employer representatives. Un-

der such circumstances, interpretation of the collective

bargaining agreement, in the sense of construction and

application of these provisions, would be required, and

federal law probably would govern.!7 But that is not the

case here. After careful review of the VTEP, we find no

provision that reasonably might be construed to govern

the issue of future employment eligibility, nor are there

“vague and ambiguous” references to eligibility that might

be construed in GM’s favor.

Therefore, we hold that where, as here, the employee/

plaintiffs’ state law claims are founded upon contractual

rights or common-law rights independent of those which

the collectively-bargained agreement creates, a defense

that relies upon the provisions of a collectively-bargained

agreement does not invoke federal preemption unless that

agreement contains provisions that govern, or reasonably

might be construed as governing, the circumstances at

hand.!® Contrary to GM’s assertions here, a court’s peru-

16 continued

ly premised upon collective bargaining agreements); Lueck, (em-

ployee’s complaint concerning bad faith handling of disability bene-

fits was substantially dependent upon analysis of contract and the

implied duties arising thereunder).

17 See supra note 15.

18 See Varnum vy. Nu-Car Carriers, Inc., 804 F.2d 638, 640-41

(11th Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 481 U.S. 1049, 107 S. Ct. 2181, 95

L.Ed.2d 838 (1987). There, the court refused to invoke the preemp-

tion doctrine in the context of an employee’s complaint that the

employer should not have made a representation concerning a

salary figure when, at the same time, it was drafting a change

in the seniority system/pay scale that would have resulted in a

(Footnote continued on following page)

—l7a—

sal of the agreement to determine whether such provi-

sions are contained within it does not constitute “‘inter-

pretation” of that agreement.

Because no governing provision can be found in the

VTEP,'® resolution of the plaintiffs’ claims is not inex-

tricably intertwined with the agreement in the sense de-

18 continued

lesser salary for the employee. The court concluded that the com-

plaint did not go to ‘‘a term of employment covered by the col-

lective bargaining agreement.”’ Similarly, in Anderson v. Ford

Motor Co., 803 F.2d 953, 957 (8th Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 483 U.S.

1011, 107 S. Ct. 3242, 97 L.Ed.2d 747 (1987), the court rejected

§ 301 preemption of the state-law fraud claims of a group of laid-

off employees whom Ford rehired and to whom Ford promised

security against being bumped by employees on the preferential

hiring list. The court held that ck did not mandate preemp-

tion, as the employees’ rights to gain redress for fraud were inde-

pendent of any contractually-established expectations of the parties.

19 GM argues in its reply brief that the contract’s provisions con-

cerning grievance procedures should govern the plaintiffs’ attempt

to resolve the dispute and that therefore, § 301 preemption is man-

dated. In the context of employees’ claims that rest upon indepen-

dent, state-created substantive rights, GM’s argument begs the

question. In Lingle, the Court recognized that although there are

strong policies encouraging arbitration, “differen. considerations

apply where the employee’s claim is based upon rights arising out

of a statute designed to provide minimum substantive guarantees

to individual workers.” 108 S. Ct. at 1884 (quoting Barrentine v.

Arkansas-Best Freight System, Inc., 450 U.S. 728, 737, 101 S. Ct.

1437, 1443, 67 L.Ed.2d 641 (1981)). Here, the state’s substantive

guarantees apply not just to workers, but to all individuals in their

contractual dealings. The difficulty with arbitration, and thus the

danger inherent in accepting GM’s argument, is that even if an

arbitrator were to conclude that some provision of the VTEP gov-

erned this dispute and dictated a resolution, “that conclusion might

or might not be consistent with a proper interpretation of state

law” and its substantive guarantees against fraud in the induce-

ment. Lingle, id. at 1885.

—18a—

scribed by the Lueck/Hechler/Lingle line of cases.2° Under

these narrow circumstances, the rationale supporting Sec-

tion 301 preemption, i.e., avoiding the danger of inconsis-

tent interpretations of collectively-bargained labor agree-

ments, is not at work. Mississippi has a deeply-rooted in-

terest in protecting its citizens from fraudulent conduct,

and unlike the federal scheme, provides remedies designed

to compensate the victims of fraud for economic harm

they may have suffered as a result of their reliance upon

false promises. See Moore, 739 F.2d at 317 (Fagg, J.,

dissenting); Berkline, 453 So.2d at 702. Accordingly, we

conclude that there is no federal preemption here.

20 Our holding does not require that a court conclude that the

collectively-bargained agreement is irrelevant to the dispute; such

an agreement might still be used by either party to support the

credibility of its claims as to the alleged inducements or represen-

tations made. Cf. Hartle v. Packard Elec., at 356, holding that

ERISA did not preempt an employee’s claim, based upon Mis-

Sissippi common law, that he had an employment contract with

Packard Electric that was not subject to the “at-will” doctrine.

The employee alleged that his participation in provisions of a Gen-

eral Motors pension plan created the employment contract. The

court observed that “(ujnlike other cases in which preemption has

been found to exist, Hartle’s case does not in any manner implicate

the federal regulation of employee benefit plans.”

We find that the same is true here with respect to federal reg-

ulation of the collective-bargaining process. The VTEP contains

provisions that govern unrelated aspects of the separation program

(e.g., overpayments, repayment) but might be viewed as not in-

consistent with future eligibility, though by no means could they

be read as creating or precluding such eligibility. At most, those

provisions will serve as evidence to support claims that the alleged

inducements were or were not made, or to negate claims that the

parties did not raise that issue in bargaining. The agreement thus

may remain “intertwined”’ with the plaintiffs’ state law claims; we

seek only to mark that point at which it becomes “inextricably

intertwined” with those claims.

—19a—

B. ERISA Preemption.?!

The resolution of GM’s ERISA preemption claim turns

on whether the VTEP constitutes an ‘‘employee benefit

plan” within the meaning of the statute. Relying principal-

ly upon the Supreme Court’s recent decision in Fort Hali-

fax Packing Co. v. Coyne, 482 U.S. 1, 107 S. Ct. 2211,

96 L.Ed.2d 1 (1987), we conclude that the VTEP is not

such a plan.??

In Fort Halifax, the Court held that ERISA did not

preempt a state statute requiring employers to provide

a one-time severance payment to employees in the event

of a plant closing. The Court based its decision upon sev-

eral factors: First, ERISA refers to employee benefit

plans, not employee benefits. Second, the goal of ERISA’s

preemption provision is to provide a single set of admin-

istrative practices for benefit plans in order to avoid a

patchwork scheme of regulation. However,

[t]his concern only arises . . . with respect to benefits

whose provision by nature requires an ongoing admin-

istrative program to meet the employer’s obligation.

It is for this reason that Congress preempted state

laws relating to plans, rather than simply to benefits.

Only a plan embodies a set of administrative prac-

tices vulnerable to the burden that would be imposed

by a patchwork scheme of regulation.

21 ERISA states that

[e]xcept as provided in subsection (b) of this section, the pro-

visions of this subchapter and subchapter III of this chapter

shall supersede any and all State laws insofar as they may

now or hereafter relate to any employee benefit plan described

in Section 1003(a) of this title and not exempt under Section

1003(b) of this title... .

29 U.S.C. § 1144(a).

22 See also Hartle, at 356, holding that ERISA preemption does

not occur where state law claims are ‘‘only peripherally connected

to the concerns addressed by ERISA.”’

—20a—

Id. at 11-12, 107 S. Ct. at 2217 (emphasis in original).

Because the Maine statute did not require employers to

maintain employee benefit plans, and because there was

no need to create an administrative scheme to make a

one-time lump payment, the Court held that the ERISA

pre-emption provision did not apply.

The operative facts in Fort Halifax are remarkably sim-

ilar to those in the instant case. GM established a pro-

cedure by which employees could elect to receive a one-

time lump payment if they ceased working at the plant.

The plan was not ongoing, nor was there any need for

continuing administration of the payment program (though

employees could elect a two-year installment payment op-

tion). The facts that GM made the payments pursuant to

a Voluntary Termination of Employment “Plan” and that

the employees received a benefit do not convert the plan

into an “employee benefit plan” for purposes of ERISA.

IV. Conclusion.

Holding as we do that the district court had subject

matter jurisdiction over the plaintiffs’ state-law fraudulent

inducement claim and that that claim is not preempted

by federal law, the district court’s denial of GM’s sum-

mary judgment motion is in all respects AFFIRMED.

This cause, here on interlocutory appeal, is REMANDED

to the district court for further proceedings consistent

herewith.

REAVLEY, Circuit Judge, specially concurring:

The plaintiffs complain only of GM’s representations to

persuade them individually to choose the severance pay-

ment. GM does not demonstrate any relationship between

the VTEP and its decision not to rehire the plaintiffs. |

concur in the judgment.

—2la—

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 88-4665

D. C. Docket No. CA-J-86-0337-L thru 0367

and J-86-381 (1)

MARY R. WELLS, ET AL.,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

versus

GENERAL MOTORS CORPORATION,

Defendant-Appellant.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Southern District of Mississippi

Before REAVLEY, POLITZ, and SMITH, Circuit

Judges.

JUDGMENT

This cause came on to be heard on the record on ap-

peal and was argued by counsel.

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, It is now here

ordered and adjudged by this Court that the judgment

of the District Court in this cause is affirmed, and the

cause is remanded to the District Court for further pro-

ceedings in accordance with the opinion of this Court.

—22a—

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that defendant-appellant

pay to plaintiffs-appellees the costs on appeal, to be tax-

ed by the Clerk of this Court.

August 24, 1989

REAVLEY, Circuit Judge, specially concurring.

—23a—

APPENDIX C

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 88-4665

MARY R. WELLS, ET AL.,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

versus

GENERAL MOTORS CORPORATION,

Defendant-Appellant.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Southern District of Mississippi

ON SUGGESTION FOR REHEARING EN BANC

(Opinion August 24, 5 Cir., 1989, ____ F.2d ___)

(SEPTEMBER 28, 1989)

Before REAVLEY, POLITZ and SMITH, Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM:

(X) Treating the suggestion for rehearing en banc as

a petition for panel rehearing, it is ordered that the peti-

tion for panel rehearing is DENIED. No member of the

panel nor Judge in regular active service of this Court

having requested that the Court be polled on rehearing

en bane (Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure and Local

Rule 35), the suggestion for Rehearing En Banc is

DENIED.

—~24a—

( ) Treating the suggestion for rehearing en banc as

a petition for panel rehearing, the petition for panel re-

hearing is DENIED. The judges in regular active service

of this Court having been polled at the request of one

of said judges and a majority of said judges not having

voted in favor of it (Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure

and Local Rule 35), the suggestion for Rehearing En Banc

is DENIED.

APPENDIX D

MARY R. WELLS, et al., Plaintiffs,

v.

GENERAL MOTORS CORPORATION, Defendant.

Civ. A. Nos. J86-0337(L) to J86-0367(L)

and J86-0381(L).

United States District Court

S.D. Mississippi,

Jackson Division.

July 21, 1988.

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER

TOM S. LEE, District Judge.

This cause is before the court on the motion of defen-

dant General Motors Corporation (GM) to dismiss or, alter-

natively, for partial summary judgment. Plaintiffs timely

responded to the motion and the court has considered the

memoranda of authorities together with attachments sub-

mitted by the parties. The thirty-two plaintiffs in this

cause, all former employees of GM’s Packard Electric Di-

vision at its Clinton, Mississippi plant, brought this ac-

tion charging that GM induced them by fraudulent and/or

negligent misrepresentations to terminate their employ-

ment with GM.! Plaintiffs purport to seek remedies based

1 Each of the thirty-two plaintiffs filed a separate complaint in

May of 1986. Their cases were consolidated by orders of this court

dated January 16, i987 and February 6, 1987, respectively.

—2ta—

on alleged violations of state tort law by defendant. GM,

though, contends that plaintiffs’ claims are in fact collec-

tive bargaining disputes concerning employee benefits

which plaintiffs have attempted to characterize as state

law tort claims to avoid the consequences of federal labor

law. Defendant has therefore moved for summary judg-

ment alleging that plaintiffs’ state law claims are pre-

empted by Section &aX5) of the National Labor Relations

Act (NLRA), 29 U.S.C. § 158(aX5), by Section 301 of the

Labor Management Relations Act (LMRA), 29 U.S.C.

§ 185, and by Section 514(a) of the Employee Retirement

Income Security Act (ERISA), 29 U.S.C. § 1144(a). In

essence, what defendant seeks is a dismissal of this ac-

tion in favor of the jurisdiction of the National Labor

Relations Board (NLRB), but in the event the court deter-

mines that dismissal is not warranted, defendant requests

a determination that federal labor law, and not state tort

law, is applicable.

THE FACTS

Packard Electric is a division of GM which performs the

final assembly of wiring harnesses for use in GM automo-

biles. Packard’s divisional headquarters is located in War-

ren, Ohio. At all times relevant to this action, Packard

operated a number of plants in Warren, as well as three

plants in Clinton, Mississippi, and one in Brookhaven,

Mississippi. Packard employees are represented by the

International Union of Electrical, Radio and Machine

Workers, AFL-CIO (IUE), and each of the local plants,

including the one in Clinton, is represented by a local af-

filiate of IUE. Packard’s Clinton employees, and in par-

ticular these plaintiffs, were represented by Local 698.

In the early 1980s, the domestic automobile industry ex-

perienced a severe downturn. GM and Packard became

—2ia—

less competitive and as a consequence, between January

and March 1982, several hundred employees at the Clin-

ton plant, including plaintiffs, were laid off. Because GM

believed that prospects for improvement were bleak, in

early 1982, Packard Warren developed a “plan to com-

pete” for implementation in Warren. As part of this plan,

the Warren JOBS Committee? developed and instituted

an “incentive attrition” plan, known as the Voluntary Ter-

mination of Employment Plan (VTEP or the Plan), which

permitted employees to sell their seniority back to the

company and terminate their employment in exchange for

monetary payment.

After the VTEP was implemented in Warren, Ohio, the

Clinton JOBS Committee began to consider adoption of

a VTEP. After numerous meetings between the bargain-

ing committees of Local 698 and of GM management for

the purpose of negotiating the terms of a VTEP, the

bargaining committees sent a proposed VTEP Memoran-

dum of Understanding incorporating the terms agreed

upon to the Packard Clinton JOBS Committee for ap-

proval. In early November, the JOBS Committee recom-

mended that the proposed VTEP be offered to Packard

Clinton employees and on December 17, 1982, the mem-

bers of the bargaining team executed a final VTEP Memo-

randum of Understanding which set the terms of the Plan.

Management met with Packard Clinton employees, in-

cluding the laid-off employees, in early January 1983 to

present the Plan and answer employees’ questions. Ac-

cording to plaintiffs, it was represented to the employ-

ees that prospects for future work increase at Packard

were bleak and that, although by accepting VTEP employ-

The JOBS Committee was a joint union-management committee

designed to develop joint solutions to business problems.

a

—2a—

ees would be giving up their right to be rehired or re-

called, should work increase and new jobs materialize, ex-

employees would be eligible for future employment. Be-

cause the prospect of being recalled from their lay-off was

not very promising, each of the plaintiffs ultimately chose

to accept the VTEP option and received payments rang-

ing from $10,000 to $22,000, depending on their years of

seniority.

THE CLAIMS

Plaintiffs state that they understood that by accepting

the plan for termination, they were relinquishing all of

their seniority and losing all rights attendant to that se-

niority. They claim, however, that GM misrepresented to

them, either fraudulently or negligently, that while they

were giving up their rights of seniority, they would still

be eligible for future employment with the company just

as would any other applicant for employment with GM.

However, in 1985, when Packard for the first time since

plaintiffs’ acceptance of VTEP, began hiring new employ-

ees, it refused to consider plaintiffs for employment,

stating that any former employee who accepted the ter-

mination plan offered by GM was not eligible for employ-

ment with Packard. Plaintiffs assert that at no time had

they understood that their acceptance of the Plan ren-

dered them ineligible for re-employment with GM, and

that only when GM began hiring in 1985 did plaintiffs

learn of GM’s position that they were ineligible for em-

ployment. Plaintiffs claim that had they known at the time

the termination plan was offered to them, acceptance of

the Plan would render them ineligible for future employ-

ment at GM’s plants, they would not have agreed to ter-

mination and would have remained in the employ of defen-

dant.

—29a—

THE DEFENSES

GM has raised three separate preemption defenses. The

first is predicated upon Section 8(aX5) of the NLRA, 29

U.S.C. § 158, which grants exclusive jurisdiction to the

NLRB over any claim of unfair labor practices. The sec-

ond arises from Section 301 of the LMRA, 29 U.S.C.

§ 185, which has been held to preempt state law claims

where resolution of the claims requires the interpretation

of a collective bargaining agreement. The third is based

on ERISA, 29 U.S.C. § 1144, which preempts state law

as it relates to an employee benefit plan. Plaintiffs deny

that any of defendant’s preemption defenses are available

and claim that they are entitled to pursue their state law

remedies.

NLRA

The initial preemption defense raised by GM is that Sec-

tion &aX5) of the NLRA preempts the plaintiffs’ putative

state law claims. Unlike defendant’s other preemption

defense, this defense calls into question the court’s sub-

ject matter jurisdiction. That is, it raises the issue of

whether this court has subject matter jurisdiction or whether

the NLRB is vested with exclusive jurisdiction pursuant

to the NLRA. Under the NLRA, Congress created the

National Labor Relations Board and granted it the power

to “prevent any person from engaging in any unfair labor

practice .. . affecting commerce.” 29 U.S.C. § 160; see

also 29 U.S.C. §§ 153, 158 and 159. As interpreted, the

NLRB enjoys exclusive jurisdiction over any conduct that

is ‘arguably protected” or “arguably prohibited” by the

NLRA. San Diego Building Trades Council v. Garmon,

359 U.S. 236, 79 S. Ct. 773, 3 L.Ed.2d (1959). Defendant

GM, as the party claiming preemption, has the burden

to demonstrate that the conduct complained of by plain-

ee = ll

—30a—

tiffs is arguably protected or arguably prohibited. /d. As

the Supreme Court recently explained,

(ilf the word “arguably” is to mean anything, it must

mean that the party claiming preemption is required

to demonstrate that his case is one that the Board

could legally decide in his favor. That is, the party

asserting preemption must advance an interpretation

of the Act that is not plainly contrary to its language

and has not been “authoritatively rejected’”’ by the

courts or the Board. . . . The party must then put

forth enough evidence to enable the court to find that

the Board reasonably cannot try the claim based on

such an interpretation.

International Longshoremen v. Davis, 476 U.S. 380, 106

S. Ct. 1904, 90 L.Ed.2d 389 (1986).

GM contends that VTEP was a mandatory subject of

bargaining and as such, GM was required under federal

labor law to bargain with the union in good faith before

implementing the Plan. Included within its good faith

bargaining obligation is the duty to provide adequate in-

formation about the subject at issue so that the negotia-

tion process can function properly. See NLRB v. Truitt

Manufacturing Co., 351 U.S. 149, 76 S. Ct. 758, 100 L.Ed.

1027 (1956); Serrano v. Jones & Laughlin Steel Co., 790

F.2d 1279 (6th Cir. 1986). GM submits that during the

negotiating process over the VTEP, its negotiating team

clearly informed the union’s bargaining committee that

employees who accepted VTEP benefits would not be con-

sidered for rehire if GM’s financial picture ever improved.

Plaintiffs, however, argue that even if the issue of eligibil-

ity for rehire had been discussed during the course of

negotiations, the plaintiffs’ right to seek future employ-

ment with the company was never an issue in the bargain-

ing process and was neither discussed nor included in the

VTEP. According to plaintiffs, the conduct at issue in the

—3la—

case at bar was not the subject of bargaining, was not

a term of the VTEP, and was not part of the underlying

collective bargaining agreement; the conduct, they claim,

is GM’s having made fraudulent representations to indi-

vidual employees, wholly apart from any aspect of the col-

lective bargaining process, in an attempt to prevail upon

individual employees to apply for and accept the benefits

of VTEP.

GM reasons that if, as it contends, the VTEP was a

mandatory subject of bargaining, and if GM bargained

with the union in good faith, then the NLRB could legally

decide that GM met its NLRA obligations and that its

conduct was therefore protected. If, on the other hand,

it were determined that defendant did not negotiate over

VTEP in good faith, by failing to disclose its true inten-

tions regarding rehire rights or otherwise misleading the

union or GM employees, then GM’s actions could be held

to be in violation of the NLRA and plaintiffs could ob-

tain relief.

GM further points out that once VTEP was negotiated,

it was prohibited from by-passing the union and dealing

with the employees regarding rehire rights under VTEP.

Accordingly, defendant further reasons that if it made the

misrepresentations claimed by plaintiffs to have been

made, its conduct could be held to be arguably prohibited

since good faith bargaining regarding mandatory subjects

of bargaining

means the employer may not as to this subject deal

with its employees individually, or unilaterally, and

disregard their bargaining agent. And this of course

means that after the employer has bargained with

the Union about such benefits, and signeda....

contract ... , it may not thereafter deal with its

employees individually, or unilaterally, without the

approval of their bargaining agent.

—32a—

In re A.S. Abell Co., 230 N.L.R.B. 17 (1977), aff'd sub

nom, NLRB v. Baltimore News American Division, 590

F.2d 554, 556 (4th Cir. 1979).

The court accepts, at least for the sake of argument,

that VTEP was in fact a mandatory subject of bargain-

ing.2 Payment to employees for relinquishment of their

employment and rights attendant to that employment whose

employment is governed by a collective bargaining agree-

ment is in some respects similar to severance pay or pen-

sion benefits which have been held to be a mandatory sub-

ject of bargaining. See Allied Chemical & Alkali Workers

v. Pittsburgh Plate Glass Co., 404 U.S. 157, 92 S. Ct. 383,

30 L.Ed.2d 341 (1971); In re Armour and Co., 280 NLRB

96 (1986). In the case at bar, there is no dispute that there

was bargaining concerning the terms of the Plan. It does

not follow, however, that every conceivable matter which

might have been included within VTEP must be charac-

terized as a mandatory subject of bargaining. The fact

that the matter at issue here, eligibility for future employ-

ment, in retrospect could have been and perhaps should

have been included within such a termination plan does

not render that topic a fortiori a mandatory subject of

bargaining. In the court’s view, the right to eligibility for

future employment is not a subject which necessarily re-

quired union/management bargaining. Moreover, the al-

leged misrepresentations concerning plaintiffs’ future

eligibility for employment, according to plaintiffs’ allega-

tions, were not made to employees on an individual basis

in an attempt to bargain with employees individually.

Rather, they were made, if at all, to the group of em-

3 A “mandatory” subject of bargaining is any matter “with re-

spect to wages, hours, and other terms and conditions of employ-

ment.” 29 U.S.C. § 158(d).

—33a—

ployees inquiring concerning VTEP. According to plain-

tiffs’ allegations, the representatives were made simply

to induce individual employees to accept the payments

made available under the previously negotiated Plan. At

that time, the Plan itself had been formally adopted and

the alleged misrepresentations were not made during any

bargaining process.

In sum, the court is of the opinion that the defendant

has failed to sustain its burden to establish the applicabil-

ity of preemption under Section 8(aX5) of the NLRA. Ac-

cordingly, this court enjoys subject matter jurisdiction

over plaintiffs’ claims.

Section 301 of the LMRA

Although the court concludes that plaintiffs’ claims are

not preempted by the NLRA, there remains the more dif-

ficult issue of whether plaintiffs’ claims are preempted by

Section 301 of the LMRA. Section 301 provides a jurisdic-

tional basis in federal courts for

(s)uits for violation of contracts between an employer

and a labor organization representing employees in

an industry affecting commerce as defined in [the

LMRAj} or between any such labor organizations.

Section 301 was and is intended to govern disputes be-

tween parties to collective bargaining agreements. The

mere fact, however, that parties to a particular dispute

have a collective bargaining agreement does not mean that

their dispute will always fall within the coverage of Sec-

tion 301. Rather, the dispute must relate to the parties’

agreement.

In determining whether plaintiffs’ claims are preempted

by Section 301, the court’s inquiry is guided by the Su-

preme Court’s opinion in Allis-Chalmers v. Lueck, 471

—34a—

U.S. 202, 105 S. Ct. 1904, 85 L.Ed.2d 206 (1985), which

set forth a framework for analysis of Section 301 preemp-

tion issues. The Allis-Chalmers Court held that an em-

ploye’s tort suit alleging bad faith handling of an insurance

claim was preempted by Section 301 since the alleged

state law tort arose from an alleged violation of the terms

of a collective bargaining agreement and resolution of the

claim would thus have required interpretation of that

agreement. The actual source of the rights and obligations

which Lueck sought to enforce was not state law but

rather was the collective bargaining agreement, which pro-

vided both the basis for the benefits and the right to have

payment made in a timely manner.

The court observed that the preemptive effect of Sec-

tion 301 extends beyond suits alleging contract violations,

stating that

questions relating to what the parties to a labor

agreement agreed, and what legal consequences were

intended to flow from breaches of that agreement,

must be resolved by reference to uniform federal law,

whether such questions arise in the context of a suit

for breach of contract or in a suit alleging liability

in tort.

Id. at 211, 105 S. Ct. at 1911 (emphasis supplied). Rec-

ognizing that the preemptive scope of Section 301 does

not encompass state law rules which prescribe conduct

or establish rights and obligations independent of a labor

contract, the Court observed that

[not] .. . every state-law suit asserting a right that

relates in some way to a provision in a collective-

bargaining agreement, or more generally to the par-

ties to such an agreement, necessarily is pre-empted

by § 301. The full scope of the pre-emptive effect of

federal labor-contract law remains to be fleshed out

on a case-by-case basis. [But] when resolution of a

—35a—

state-law claim is substantially dependent upon anal-

ysis of the terms of an agreement made between the

parties in a labor contract, that claim must either

be treated as a § 301 claim . . . or dismissed as

preempted by federal-contract law.

Id. at 220, 105 S. Ct. at 1916 (citations omitted) (emphasis

supplied). Thus, plaintiffs’ claims are preempted if “evalua-

tion of their tort claim[s] is inextricably intertwined with

consideration of the terms of the labor contract. If the

state tort law purports to define the meaning of the con-

tract relationship, that law is preempted.” Jd. at 214, 105

S. Ct. at 1913. Consequently, plaintiffs can avoid preemp-

tion only if their claims can be said to be independent

of the collective bargaining agreement in the sense that

resolution of their claims does not substantially depend

upon interpretation or construction of the collective

bargaining agreement, for

if the resolution of a state-law claim depends upon

the meaning of a collective bargaining agreement, the

application of state law is pre-empted and federal

labor-law principles . . . must be employed to resolve

the dispute.

Lingle v. Norge Division of Magic Chef, Inc., 486 U.S.

399, ____, 108 S. Ct. 1877, 1881, 100 L.Ed.2d 410 (1988).

The cases in which Section 301 preemption issues have

been treated under the analysis provided in Allis-Chal-

mers have revealed little consistency and often appear

conflicting. For example, in Bale v. General Telephone Co.

of California, 795 F.2d 775 (9th Cir. 1986), former employ-

ees of General Telephone alleged that the defendant had

misrepresented to them at the time of hiring that they

would serve as temporary employees for six months after

which they would become regular employees. After six

months on the job, and as a result of union pressure,

SE

—36a—

plaintiffs were terminated because under the terms of

their collective bargaining agreement, a temporary em-

ployee’s term could not exceed six months. The court con-

cluded that plaintiffs’ state law tort claims of fraud and

negligent misrepresentation were preempted under Sec-

tion 301, reasoning that

[in] order to prove their fraud and negligent misrep-

resentation claims, [plaintiffs] would be required to

show that the terms of the collective bargaining

agreement differed significantly from the individual

employment contracts they believed they had made.

Resolution of their state tort claims is therefore

“substantially dependent upon analysis of the terms

of an agreement made between the parties in a labor

contract.”

Bale, 795 F.2d at 780 (quoting Allis-Chalmers, 471 U.S.

at 220, 105 S. Ct. at 1915). A contrary result was reached

in Anderson v. Ford Motor Co., 803 F.2d 953 (8th Cir.

1986), a case in which “bumped” employees of Ford al-

leged that at the time of hiring, Ford had assured them

they would not be “bumped” from their job by persons

on a preferential hiring list. Addressing plaintiffs’ claim

of fraudulent misrepresentation, the court concluded that

it was not preempted.

Fraud is a common law action deeply rooted in local

standards of individual and social responsibility. . . .

Unlike the tort claim for bad faith handling of an in-

surance claim considered in Lueck, a claim of fraud

does not derive from nor depend upon an underly-

ing contract. Under Minnesota law, proof of fraud

does not depend on the existence of any contractual

relationship, nor do the standards for judging fraud-

ulent misconduct derive from any contractually estab-

lished expectations of the parties.

Anderson, 803 F.2d 953.

Both plaintiffs and defendant acknowledge that the key

issue on this motion is whether resolution of plaintiffs’

I ni ane Jeseraeenntcceremnaee s e.cmscnnnsnens meme

—37a—

claims require an interpretation of the VTEP. The par-

ties, at the time pla.ntiffs accepted the VTEP, were cov-

ered by a master collective bargaining agreement and the

VTEP itself was a supplemental agreement which resulted

from bargaining between union and management. Plain-

tiffs assert, though, that their complaints relate not to

the agreement itself but to entirely separate conduct by

defendant in fraudulently inducing them to accept the

Plan. Thus, they claim that resolution of their claim is

not “substantially dependent” upon an analysis of the

terms of the agreement between the parties, but can be

resolved independently of the agreement.

Under the collective bargaining agreement in effect at

the time the VTEP was developed by the bargaining com-

mittees and later accepted by plaintiffs, laid-off employees

enjoyed rehire rights or recall rights for five to seven

years, depending on seniority. That is, GM was obligated

to rehire its laid-off employees, including plaintiffs, for a

period of at least five years if work became available.4

Under the VTEP, it was provided that

[aln employe [sic] who was issued and accepts a

VTEP payment shall cease to be an employ [sic] and

shall have seniority cancelled at any and all of the

Company’s plants and locations... .

The VTEP further cited that

lilf a former employe [sic] is again employed by the

Division after he has received a VTEP, no repayment

(except with respect to an overpayment) of the VTEP

shall be required or allowed; and no seniority pre-

viously cancelled shall be reinstated.

4 The length of time during which an individual employee was

entitled to recall was determined by reference to his seniority

Status.

niet

—38a—

According to plaintiffs, they understood that acceptance

of VTEP entailed termination of their ‘rehire’ rights

thereby making them ineligible for rehire or recall. But

they did not consider termination of their rehire rights

to render them ineligible for any future employment with

GM. Accordingly, plaintiffs assert that the fact that rehire

rights may have been discussed and may have been in-

cluded to some degree in the VTEP does not affect their

claims since future eligibility for employment was not a

matter bargained over and was not included within the

VTEP.

Defendant asserts that although there is some evidence

in the record that some form of rehire rights was dis-

cussed in bargaining over the VTEP, and while there is

some language in the VTEP itself which could be con-

strued as touching upon rehire rights, rehire rights were

not negotiated into the VTEP. Nevertheless, defendant

reasons that there must be a determination of whether

rehire rights in any form were negotiated into the VTEP,

and if so, whether the representations allegedly made to

employees were consistent with what was in the VTEP,

or whether the representations instead amounted to mis-

statements; this in turn implicates the VTEP itself and

requires that the court construe the terms of the Plan

to determine whether the representations, if made, were

correct or were misstatements.

It is noteworthy that neither side has taken the posi-

tion that eligibility for future employment was included

in the VTEP nor does it appear they could do so. Al-

though the term “rehire rights” has been bandied about

in connection with this motion, neither party has been able

to seriously contend that that phrase is synonymous with

future eligibility for employment. Thus, even if rehire

rights were discussed and included in a sense in the

VTEP, a matter which both parties deny, that would not

resolve this dispute. Hence, resolution of plaintiffs’ dispute

Ne

—39a—

is not inextricably intertwined with interpretation of the

meaning of the VTEP. Rather, it appears that the issues

raised by plaintiffs’ claims are

purely factual questions [which] [pertain] to the con-

duct of the employee and the conduct and motiva-

tion of the employer. Neither of [these] [requires] the

court to interpret any term of a collective-bargaining

agreement.

Lingle, 486 U.S. at ___, 108 S. Ct. at 1888. Moreover,

the right of the employees which was allegedly violated,

the right to be free from fraud, derives not from any

agreement between the parties but from state law. It is

a right which exists independently of and does not de-

pend upon the underlying contract. See Anderson, 803

F.2d at 957; see also Berkline Corp. v. Bank of Missis-

sippi, 453 So.2d 699, 702 (Miss. 1984) (award of damages

based on misrepresentation is notion running deep in our

law). The mere fact that this substantive right is advanced

in an employment context does not require preemption.

‘{T]here is nothing novel about recognizing that substan-

tive rights in a labor relations context can exist without

interpreting collective-bargaining agreements.” Lingle, 486

U.S. at , 108 S. Ct. at ___. In the case at bar, the

court, after careful consideration of the issue, finds that

no interpretation of the parties’ collective bargaining

agreement or VTEP is required. Hence, the court is of

the opinion that Section 301 preemption is inapplicable.

ERISA

The defendant’s preemption argument based on ERISA

is not persuasive. ERISA preemption, while concededly

broad, applies only to an employee benefit “‘plan.’’ 29

U.S.C. § 1144. Under ERISA, an employee benefit plan

is ‘any plan, fund, or program which was heretofore or

is hereafter established or maintained by an employer or

an employee organization’? and which provides certain ben-

—40a—

efits. 29 U.S.C. § 1002(1). In the case at bar, the fact that

the termination agreement between plaintiffs and the de-

fendant concerned an employee benefit and was termed

a ‘“‘plan” does not make it a benefit plan for purposes of

ERISA. See Fort Halifax Packing Company, Inc. v.

Coyne, 482 U.S. 1, 6, 107 S. Ct. 2221, 2215, 96 L.Ed.2d

1 (1987) (ERISA’s preemption provision does refer to state

laws relating to “employee benefits” but to those relating

to employee benefit “plans’’). In the Fort Halifar case,

the Supreme Court concluded that ERISA did not pre-

empt a state law providing a one-time severance benefit

to employees in the event of a plant closing.

ERISA preemption encompasses only those plans which

are “established or . . . maintained for the purpose of pro-

viding its participants or their beneficiaries” those benefits

listed under the Act. 29 U.S.C. § 1002(1). In the present

case, it is clear that the purpose of GM in instituting

\ TEP was not to provide its employees with benefits un-

der the Act but was instead to reduce its work force

necause of the poor conditions of the industry and of GM.

And, in the court’s view, the termination plan adopted

by GM was not such a plan as envisioned by ERISA.

Most of the payments to employees were made on a single

payment basis and were made solely for the purpose of

employee attrition. The court simply does not view the

VTEP as coming within the meaning of a “plan” for

ERISA purposes. This is consistent with the Supreme

Court’s decision in Fort Halifar.

In conclusion, the court is of the opinion that defendant's

motion for summary judgment is not we}! taken and should

be denied. Accordingly, this court has jurisdiction to enter-

tain this matter.

Accordingly, it is ordered that defendant's motion for

summary judgment is denied.

ORDERED.

—4la—

APPENDIX E

MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING

VOLUNTARY TERMINATION OF

EMPLOYMENT PLAN

VTEP

ELIGIBILITY

1. An employe covered by the Collective Bargaining

Agreement with Plant Seniority as of the date of the most

current period of implementation of this program will be

eligible to apply for a termination allowance under this

VTEP.

2. Skilled Trades employes may apply for a VTEP Ben-

efit, however, processing of application may be limited,

delayed or denied at Management’s discretion.

4. Applications for VTEP will be limited to 450 em-

ployes and are subject to Management’s approval consis-

tent with business conditions. Processing of applications

from employes may be limited and/or delayed based on

Management’s capability to operate the business and train

employes. Employes whose applications are delayed will

be notified of the delay and will be advised thirty (30)

days prior to the anticipated date of processing. VTEP

will be granted by seniority with preference given the

most senior applying.

APPLICATION PROCEDURE

1. An eligible employe may file an application for a

VTEP Benefit under this plan. Such application must be

filed within the time frame, to be announced after all ap-

provals are obtained.

2. VTEP benefits are payable based on the employes

years of seniority as of a date to be determined by the

Company. VTEP benefits may be payable in a lump sum

or in equal monthly installments as shown below:

YEARS OF

SENIORITY

DEFINED TOTAL

IN 2 AMOUNT

APPLICATION 24 MONTHLY INSTALLMENT

PROCEDURE LUMP SUM INSTALLMENTS PAYOUT

Less Than 5 $10,000.00 $458.33 $11,000.00

5 But Less Than 10 $15,000.00 $687.50 $16,500.00

10 But Less Than 15 $20,000.00 $916.67 $22 000.00

3. The amount of an employe’s VTEP payment, as de-

fined in 2 above, shall be reduced by any outstanding

overpayment to the SUB Plan and any other debts to the

Company or trustees of any Company benefit plan or pro-

gram including overpayments under the GIS Program.

The amount of the reduction of the VTEP payment be-

cause of SUB Plan overpayments or outstanding debts

to the Company or trustees of any Company plan or pro-

gram, shall be paid by Packard Electric Division to the

Company trustee of the SUB Plan Fund, or other Com

pany plan or program, as applicable.

4. An employe who is issued and accepts a VTEP pay-

ment shall cease to be an employe and shall have seniority

cancelled at any and all of the Company’s plants and loca-

tions as of the date determined by the Company under

the provisions of Paragraph 34(a) of the GM-IUE National

Agreement.

5. VTEP payments shall be paid by Packard Electric

Division.

6. If it is determined that any VTEP payment should

not have been paid or should have been paid in a lesser

i3a—

amount, written notice thereof shall be mailed to the for-

mer employe and the employe shall be obligated to return

the amount of the overpayment to the VTEP. Any re-

maining overpayment balance shall be recoverable from

any monies receivable from the Company should the

former employe be rehired.

REPAYMENT

1. If a former employe is again employed by the Divi-

sion after he has received a VTEP, no repayment (ex-

cept with respect to an overpayment) of the VTEP shall

be required or allowed; and no seniority previously can-

celled shall be reinstated.

GENERAL

1. Any complaint with respect to the payment or denial

of a VTEP payment may be appealed to local Manage-

ment utilizing procedures similar to the SUB Plan. All

appeals will be handled locally.

2. Any term used in the SUB Plan and used in this

Plan has the same meaning in this Plan as in the SUB

Plan.

3. In the event that an employe receives a VTEP

benefit and returns it within fourteen (14) calendar days

of the date of the original payment draft shall have se-

niority reinstated as though it haa not been broken.

INTERNATIONAL UNION OF ELECTRICAL,

RADIO AND MACHINE WORKERS,

LOCAL NO. 698, AFL-CIO-CLC

GENERAL MOTORS CORPORATION

PACKARD ELECTRIC DIVISION

—44a—

APPENDIX F

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF MISSISSIPPI

JACKSON DIVISION

MARY R. WELLS, )

Plaintiff, ) CIVIL ACTION

) No. J&86-0337(L)

) TRIAL BY

GENERAL MOTORS JURY REQUESTED

CORPORATION,

Defendant. )

COMPLAINT

Comes now Mary R. Wells, by and through counsel of

record, and files this Complaint against General Motors

Corporation and would respectfully show unto the Court

the following, to-wit:

l.

Plaintiff is an adult resident citizen of Hinds County,

Mississippl.

ee

Defendant, General Motors Corporation, is a Delaware

corporation, having its principal place of business in a

state other then the State of Mississippi, licensed and

authorized to do business and doing business in Hinds

County, Mississippi, where it may be served with process

—45a—

on its agent for service of process, CT Corporation

System, whose address is 118 N. Congress St., Jackson,

Mississippi.

3.

There is complete diversity of citizenship between the

parties and the amount in controversy exceeds Ten Thou-

sand and No/100 Dollars ($10,000.00) exclusive of interest

and costs. .

4.

Plaintiff was employed on or about September 13, 1986,

by the defendant at its Packard Electric Division located

in Clinton, Mississippi. As a result of said employment,

plaintiff enjoyed certain employee rights, benefits and

privileges, including, but not limited to, seniority, all of

which were of value to plaintiff.

Prior to January 14, 1983, Plaintiff made application for

payment under the provisions of the defendant’s Volun-

tary Termination of Employment Plan (VTEP) whereby

she agreed, in consideration of receipt of a VTEP benefit

payment, to cease employment with the defendant and

to relinquish seniority at any and all Packard Electric and

General Motors’ plants as of the date terminated by the

company.

I. COUNT ONE

6.

Plaintiff realleges and adopts by reference all allegations

contained in paragraphs 1 through 5 above.

—46a—

t

In December 1982, and January 1983, in a series of

group meetings at defendant’s facility in Clinton, Missis-

sippi, defendant, through its authorized agents and em-

ployees who were acting within the course and scope of

their employment, falsely and fraudulently, and with in-

tent to deceive plaintiff, represented to plaintiff and other

active and inactive (laid off) employees that there was no

prospect in the foreseeable future of recalling the nu-

merous inactive employees at the Clinton plant, and, that

in fact, the Clinton plant was experiencing such severe

competitive disadvantages that it might be necessary to

shut down the plant permanently and terminate most if

not all of its active and inactive employes at the Clinton

facility; and, that defendant was offering Voluntary Ter-

mination of Employment Plan (VTEP) benefits to bargain-

ing unit employees with plant seniority whereby such

employees could apply for, on a seniority preference basis,

VTEP payments which ranged in amounts from $10,000.00

to $22,000.00; and, that any employee who applied for and

accepted VTEP payment would be selling their seniority

to the company at any and all of the defendant’s plants

and locations and would cease to be an employee at the

defendant’s Clinton, Mississippi, location and that if plain-

tiff or any other employee who accepted VTEP benefits

was later employed by the defendant then the seniority

previously cancelled would not be reinstated; and, that

if competitive conditions improved and the defendant later

began hiring employees and increasing its workforce at

the Clinton plant that those employees who had accepted

VTEP benefits (VTEP employees) would be given prefer-

ence over other applications for employment; and, that

VTEP employees would be eligible for employment at

defendant’s other locations on the same basis as other ap-

plicants.

—4fa—

3.

Plaintiff, relying upon the truth of defendant’s represen-

tations, and with every right to rely thereon, and believ-

ing that the representations were true, was fraudulently

induced to apply for, and was issued, and accepted VTEP

benefits on or about February 11, 1983.

9.

Defendant’s representations were false and fraudulent

in that the defendant knew or should have know that

there were no plans or intentions whatsoever to shut

down the Clinton plant and that in fact the defendant had

plans to restructure its employee workforce and hire ad-

ditional employees; and, that instead of giving preference

to VTEP employees the defendant would, and has, refused

to accept applications or employ plaintiff or any other

employee who accepted VTEP benefits; and, that defen-

dant would implement, and has implemented, a policy at

all of its locations nationwide which prohibits the re-

employment of plaintiff or any other employee who ac-

cepted VTEP benefits. :

10.

As a consequent and proximate result of the aforesaid

misrepresentations, plaintiff has been misled and de-

frauded, and has suffered damages in a sum far exceeding

$10,000.00, to be proved with specificity at a trial on the

merits of this cause.

II. COUNT TWO

i.

Plaintiff realleges and adopts by reference all allegations

contained in paragraphs 1 through 9 above.

EE

—48a—

12.

Defendant, in December 1982, and January 1983, in a

series of group meetings at defendant’s facility in Clin-

ton, Mississippi, and in response to employee questions,

and in written documents distributed to plaintiff and other

active and inactive employees, negligently misrepresented

and negligently omitted material and significant facts rele-

vant to the financial and economic situation at the Clin-

ton facility, the defendants’ plans to rehire new employees

and to restructure and increase its employee workforce,

and the effect upon plaintiff and other employees who ac-

cepted VTEP benefits with regard to preference for fu-

ture employment and eligibility for employment at defen-

dant’s other locations.

13.

In making the aforesaid negligent representations and

omitting other material and significant facts, the defen-

dant’s agents and employees, who were acting within the

course and scope of their employment, failed to exercise

that degree of diligence, good faith, fair dealing and ex

pertise that the plaintiff and other employees were rea-

sonably entitled to inspect [sic] from reasonably compe

tent officers, agents and employees of the defendant.

Plaintiff reasonably relied upon the defendant’s misrep-

resentations and omissions in applying for and accepting

VTEP benefits.

LD.

That as a direct and proximate result of such reason-

able reliance, plaintiff has suffered damages in a sum far

exceeding $10,000.00, to be proved with specificity at

trial on the merits of this cause

—49a—

Il]. PRAYER FOR RELIEF

WHEREFORE, PREMISES CONSIDERED, the plain-

tiff respectfully prays for judgment of this Court as

follows:

A. Under Count I: A judgment of this Court against

the defendant awarding the plaintiff compensatory dam-

ages, including but not limited to lost wages and benefits,

and all damages proximately resulting from lost wages

and benefits, along with pre-judgment and post-judgment

interest thereon, the sum of which is uncertain at this

time, but which the plaintiff believes to be far in excess

of $10,000.00. Plaintiff further requests punitive damages

for defendant’s fraudulent actions, all costs, fees and ex-

penses of this action, including reasonable attorney’s fees.

B. Under Count II: A judgment of this Court award-

ing to plaintiff compensatory damages, including but not

limited to, lost wages and benefits, and all damages pro-

ximately resulting from lost wages and benefits, along

with pre-judgment and postjudgment interest thereon, the

sum of which is uncertain at this time, but which the

plaintiff believes to be far in excess of $10,000.00. The

plaintiff further requests that the defendant be required

to pay punitive damages for its grossly negligent misrep-

resentation, and to pay all costs in this action, including

a reasonable attorney’s fee.

C. Such other and further relief to which the plaintiff

may be entitled in the premises.

—50a—

Respectfully submitted,

MARY R. WELLS

BY:

RICHARD C. ROBERTS III

814 North President Street

P.O. Box 55882

Jackson, MS 39216-1882

(601) 3538-9455

BY:

EDWARD J. CURRIE, JR.

STEEN, REYNOLDS,

DALEHITE & CURRIE

P.O. Box 900

Jackson, MS 39205-0900

(601) 969-7054

ATTORNEYS FOR PLAINTIFF

—5la—

APPENDIX G

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

1. Section 8(aX5) of the National Labor Relations Act,

29 U.S.C. § 158(aX5) provides:

§ 158. Unfair Labor Practices.

(a) Unfair Labor Practices by Employer.

It shall be an unfair labor practice for an employer:

* * *

(5) to refuse to bargain collectively with the repre-

sentatives of his employees, subject to the provisions

of Section 159(a) of this title.

2. Section 301(a) of the Labor Management Relations

Act, 29 U.S.C. § 185(a), provides:

§ 185. Suits by and Against Labor Organizations.

(a) Venue, Amount, and Citizenship.

Suits for violation of contracts between an employer

and a labor organization representing employees in

an industry affecting commerce as defined in this

chapter, or between any such labor organizations,

may be brought in any district court of the United

States having jurisdiction of the parties, without

respect to the amount in controversy or without re-

gard to the citizenship of the parties.

3. Section 514(a) of the Employee Retirement Income

Security Act, 29 U.S.C. § 1144(a), provides:

§ 1144. Other Laws.

(a) Supersedure; Effective Date.

Except as provided in subsection (b) of this section,

the provisions of this subchapter and subchapter III

of this chapter shall supersede any and all State laws

insofar as they may now or hereafter relate to any

employee benefit plan described in Section 1003(a) of

this title and not exempt under Section 1003(b) of this

title. This section shall take effect on January 1, 1975.

—52a—

APPENDIX H

The affiliates and non-wholly owned subsidiaries of peti.

tioner General Motors Corporation are:

Aralmex, S.A. de C.V. (Mexico);

Automotriz Gencor S.A. (Ecuador);

Autos y Maquinas del Ecuador S.A. (AYMESA)

(Ecuador);

Companis Nacional de Direcciones Automotrices,

S.A. de C.V. (Mexico);

Compresores Delfa, C.A. (Venezuela);

Convesco Vehicle Sales GmbH (West Germany);

Daewoo Motor Co., Ltd. (Korea);

DHB-Componentes Automotives S.A. (Brazil);

Fabrica Columbians de Automotores S.A.

(““Colomotores’’) (Columbia);

General Motors de Columbia S.A. (Columbia);

General Motors Egypt, S8.A.E. (Egypt);

General Motors Iran Limited (Iran);

General Motors Kenya Limited (Kenya);

GM Allison Japan Limited (Japan);

GM Fanuc Robotics Corp. (USA);

Industries Mecaniques Meghrebires, S.A. (Tunisia);

Industrija Delova Automobils, Kikinda (Yugoslavia);

Isuzu Motors Limited (Japan);

Isuzu Motors Overseas Distribution Corp. (Japan):

Kabelwerke Reinshagen GmbH (West Germany);

Kabelwerke Reinshagen Werk Berlin GmbH

(West Germany);

Kabelwerke Reinshagen Werk Neumarkt GmbH

(West Germany);

Moto Diesel Mexicana,.S.A. de C.V. (Mexico);

Motor Enterprises, Inc. (USA);

New United Motor Manufacturing, Inc. (USA);

Omnibus BB Transportes, S.A. (Ecuador);

Promotora de Partes Electronicos Automotrices

(Mexico);

P.T. Mesin Isuzu Indonesia (Indonesia);

Senalizacion y Accessorios del Automobil Yorka,

S.A. (Spain);

Suzuki Motor Co., Ltd. (Japan);

Unicables, S.A. (Spain).

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.