Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Al-Marayati v. University of Toledo

Supreme Court brief1990

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

1 ——

Susreme Court, US,

89-975 \ FILED

. ”~ ‘ft DEC 20 1989

Case No. —— tf JOSEPH F. SPAN'OL, JR,

CLERK

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1989

ity

MS

ABID A. AL-MARAYATI

PETITIONER

Ws

UNIVERSITY OF TOLEDO,

GEEN DRISCOLL,

KARL VEZNER,

and

SHARRON E. DOERNER

RESPONDENTS

anf'%

—

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF

APPEALS FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

Ly

Vv

Francis J. Landry of

WASSERMAN, BRYAN, LANDRY & HONOLD

300 Inns of Court Bldg.

405 N. Huron Street

Toledo, Ohio 43604

Telephone: (419) 243-1239

Counsel of Record for Petitioner

i

I. QUESTIONS PRESENTED BY PETITION FOR

WRIT OF CERTIORARI:

. Whether a tenured professor of a state university

may amend his complaint which was originally

cast seeking relief pursuant to Title VII of the Civil

Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. Section 2000 (e) et seq.,

in order to re-cast the complaint as one seeking

relief in part against university officials under 42

U.S.C. Section 1983 in their individual capacities

for damages when said amendment was sought

two years and one (1) day after the filing of the

original complaint.

. Whether in a case arising out of Ohio, claims

rFrought pursuant to 42 U.S.C. Section 1983 are

properly governed by the residual four year

personal injury statute of limitations contained in

Ohio Revised Code Section 2305.09 in light of this

Court's previous opinion in Owens v. Okure,

USS. , 109 S.Ct. 573 (1989), and whether The

United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth

Circuit has in Browning v. Pendleton, 86 F.2d 989

(6th Cir. 1989) misapplied a two year statute of

limitations for actions brought pursuant to 42

U.S.C. Section 1983 in Ohio.

. Whether a tenured professor of a state university

may amend his complaint which was originally

cast seeking relief pursuant to Title VII of the Civil

Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. Section 2000 (e) et seq.,

in order to re-cast the complaint as one seeking in

part prospective injunctive relief against a state

university and university officials acting in their

official capacities despite claims that said claims

were barred under the Eleventh Amendment to

the United States Constitution.

ii

D. Whether a District Court, in finding that claims

sought to be alleged by a tenured professor of a

state university are barred by the Eleventh

Amendment to the United States Constitution

under the principle of Sovereign Immunity is

required to analyze relevant factors relating to its

Sovereign Immunity finding and to examine

whether the particular state has consented to suit

and thus waived its claim to Sovereign Immunity

and whether said district court's failure to do so

constitutes grounds for a remand.

E. Whether a state university and/or university

officials, in reprimanding a tenured professor for

objecting in a memorandum to the promotion of

a fellow faculty member on the basis, in part, of

said fellow faculty member's civil rights record

constitutes a retaliatory act in violation of Section

704 (a) of Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964

notwithstanding claims by the state university and

its officials that said tenured professor's conduct

was disruptive.

lil

PARTIES TO PROCEEDINGS BELOW

Professor Abid A. Al-Marayati, plaintiff-appellant

below and petitioner herein is and has been since

1968 a member of the Department of Political Science

of the University of Toledo. Dr. Al-Marayati, a

former Departmental Chairman and a tenured full

professor is a resident of Toledo, Ohio. His country of

national origin is Iraq and he is a Shiite Muslim in

his religious beliefs.

The defendant-appellee, University of Toledo, is a

part of the Ohio State University system and was Dr.

Al-Marayati's employer since 1968. Glen Driscoll, at

the time of the filing of Dr. Al-Marayati's original

complaint, was the president of the University of

Toledo. Dr. Karl Vezner was an employee of the

University of Toledo and then chairman of the

Department of Political Science. Dr. Sharron Doerner

was at the time of the filing of Dr. Al-Marayati's

original complaint, a member of the Political Science

Department of the University of Toledo and a former

Chairman of the Department of Political Science.

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Cousens PE itcctcn sets nnensinnelisinniniinncstinnenmnivinninnnes i

Parties to Proceedings Below...........sssssssenesneneneeees iii

Tebe OF Anti oiicnccecinccncnsncescsepsosepsosennascssoneanvoeversnees v

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United

States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit................ 1

Opinions Below................cccescsscssseeeccsnserenenssesessessosscossecess 1

Statement of Jurisdictional Groumnd6...............scccseeeeeees 2

Statutory Provisions Involved ...........:ssseseeeseseseseneseees 3

Senbermesit OF COaG0........00secerscsscrovssccerecancoccscnsesevesssocenaseoosconte 3

Reasons for Granting the Wit...........ccssssssceseneeeeeeees 6

ro eanseseiiienniaaabinennliaa 16

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES: Page

Ainsworth v. Aristocrat International Pty.

United v. Tourism Company of the Common-

wealth of Puerto Rico, 818 F.2d 1034

CRE GR RI eshapeniinsiastintccnticnnichtinescenrieamasinevicnnscemneenan 15

Amer v. Akron City Hospital, (1976) 47 Ohio

Fe Ry 8 POM: SEP ecnentnisinnriancataileanninnninmnnenie 12

Berndt v. State of Tennessee and Lakeshore

Mental Health Institute, 796 F.2d 879

ae ae deeninentonesininessensinsineespiitalttiaianninieaiee 9

Bowling v. Brendamour’s, Inc., 40 Ohio App.

3d 37 (Ct. App. Hamilton Cty. 1988) .......c:cceeeeee 12

Browning v. Pendleton, 869 F.2d 989

GO GOP... SED eesctecnshenenpiviiicinshiennmnsthinrnninnisnenemncniiinnn 11

Clark v. Beville, 730 F.2d 739 (11th Cir. 1984)............... 9

Clark v. Tarrant County, 798 F.2d 736

I. Fe iciciensiriesspnnininitesinieniceasatinenicennieiaieneinimeisunnn 14

Ex parte Young, 209 U.S. 123 (1908) .........cccsesesssesseeseeees 12

Fitzpatrick v. Bitzer, 427 U.S. 445 (1976)........ssseseseeees 15

Florida Dept. of Health and Rehabilitation

Services v. Florida Nursing Home

Association, 450 U.S. 147 (1981)........cscsseseeseeseeeees 15

Greenwood v. Ross, 778 F.2d 448 (8th Cir. 1985)....13,14

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - continued

Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800 (1987) ..........ssceceseee 9

Kashari v. Purdue University, 813 F.2d 843

CFOs COP, TRG PP ccnserenissnitininninvinaeiatitnbibiibitamnniiannnniteinmnen 13

Kovats v. Rutgers, 822 F.2d 1303 (3rd. Cir. 1987)......... 15

Merritt v. Mackey, 827 F.2d 1368 (9th Circ. 1987).......... 9

O'Connor v. Donaldson, 422 U.S. 563 (1975)....-....0000+ 9

Owens v. Okure, US. , 109 S.Ct.

BFS CRIED eevevrnnsnniinenneninnbanaeniia 10, 11, 12

Procunier v. Nabarette, 434 U.S. 555 (1970)... 9

Scheuer v. Rhodes, 416 U.S. 232 (1974).....scsscsseesseeseeeeees 9

Thomas v. Columbus, 39 Ohio App. 3d. 53, 528

N.E. 1274 (Ct. App. Franklin Cty. 1974)........0:s00+ 12

Will v. Michigan Department of State Police,

US. , 109 S.Ct. 2304 (1989)... 8,12

OHIO REVISED CODE Pages

I Te eisctststinsticnsansisscinihinciasamnipanaionamicianitaad one ae

I en sarensincrselintesshieiibiicatiianaanardaaienaniadiaaal 11,12

Baca GEIST CAG) wo cercecesessscernnntsiirennnnnniennninas 15

OCU GEES. DD ener csccenesentnternensncnrecnannennsrensineniienannniisaibttslasions 15

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - continued

UNITED STATES CODE Pages

SP aes IE TIED TOD sc cccscssccecnannarsceceniaeseecnconennnsesnnes 2

GS A ,, BIEN BI as ineissensecrsncsscrsoscescernsers 3, 7, 10, 12, 13

42 US.C. Sections 2000 (€) et Seq. ..........ccceesseceeesees 3, 6,7

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

Petitioner, Abid A. Al-Marayati, respectfully prays

that a writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment

and opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Sixth Circuit entered in this matter on August 29,

1989. On September 22, 1989, the United States Court

of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit denied Petitioner's

Petition for rehearing which had been timely filed on

September 12, 1989.

6

OPINIONS BELOW

The August 29, 1989 opinion of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit, whose

judgment herein is sought to be reviewed was not

recommended for publication in accordance with the

Sixth Circuit's Local Rules. The decision is

represented in the Separate Appendix to this petition

at Appendix A, pp. Al to Al5. The prior opinion of

the United States District Court for the Northern

District of Ohio, Western Division, also reprinted in

Appendix B at pp. Al6 to A32, is an unreported

decision. Interlocutory orders of the United States

District Court for the Northern District of Ohio,

Western Division have been set forth at Appendix D,

1

2

at pp. A34-A42; Appendix E at pp. A43-A47; Appendix

F at pp. A48-A52; and Appendix G at pp A53-A55. All

interlocutory orders are unreported.

ah >

~— >=

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTIONAL GROUNDS

The judgment of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Sixth Circuit was entered on August

29, 1989. On September 12, 1989, petitioner filed a

timely petition for rehearing before the United States

Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit. In its Order

filed on September 22, 1989, the United States Court

of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit denied petitioner's

petition for rehearing. The jurisdiction of this Court

is invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. Section 1254 (1)

af}

~)>*

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The statutes involved as set forth in Appendix I at

pp. A57 et seq.

«f>

~~)

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This petitioner challenges the judgment of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

which affirmed a judgment by the United States

3

District Court for the Northern District of Ohio in

favor of respondents in an action filed pursuant to

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C.

Section 2000 (e) et seq. Key to this challenge are two

interlocutory orders of the United States District

Court for the Northern District of Ohio. At Appendix

F, pages A48-A52 is a Memorandum and Order of the

District Court filed on August 5, 1987 which denies

petitioner's Motion for leave to amend his complaint

in order to substitute 42 U.S.C. Section 1983 for 42

U.S.C. Section 2000 (e) as the theory of liability.

Petitioner had sought to make one new factual

allegation in the amended complaint, to add the then

present president of the University of Toledo as a

new party defendant, to name all defendants in their

individual and official capacities, to add a jury

demand, and to predicate a prayer for attorney's fees

on 42 U.S.C. Section 1988. In an earlier interlocutory

Memorandum and Order filed on February 21, 1986,

discrimination which occurred outside of the 300 day

filing period was held time barred. Petitioner's case

proceeded to a non-jury trial commencing on

February 16, 1988. On June 21, 1988, the District Court

filed its Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law

finding that plaintiff was not entitled to relief under

42 U.S.C. Section 2000 (e) - 3 (a) et seq. and ordering

that judgment be entered in favor of defendant and

against plaintiff with costs to defendants dismissing

this case on June 27, 1988. (Appendix B at pp Al6-

A32). An appeal followed to the United States Court

of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit which affirmed the

4

Decision of the District Court in all respects.

(Appendix A at pp. Al-A15)

Professor Abid A. Al-Marayati was born in

Baghdad, Iraq on October 14, 1931. Dr. Al-Marayati is

a Shiite Muslim by religious persuasion and practice.

Dr. Al-Marayati became a U.S. Citizen in 1971.

Professor Al-Marayati was hired at the University of

Toledo as an Associate Professor in 1968. He

subsequently obtained tenure in 1972 and a full

professorship in 1971. From 1972 to 1975 he served as

Chairman of the Department of Political Science. At

trial Petitioner's Complaints centered around poor

teacher evaluations, poor merit salary increases and

the respondents’ reprimanding of petitioner for

exercising his first amendment right of free speech

when petitioner had commented on _ the

qualifications of Sharron E. Doerner, who was being

considered for promotion in the Political Science

Department. Petitioner had in part of that

memorandum criticized Doerner's civil rights record.

(Appendix J at ppA74-A75). Although petitioner's

original complaint, filed on May 10, 1985, sought

relief for discrimination in teaching evaluations and

merit salary increases and for retaliatory acts since

1975, the District Court on February 21, 1986 dismissed

all acts of alleged discrimination that occurred outside

the 300 day filing period as time barred, but held that

the events could be used as background on the timely

charges if relevant. (Appendix A, p. A2).

5

Petitioner had also filed four grievances with the

University of Toledo relative to his Complaints of

discriminatory treatment. The fourth grievance

pertained to respondent, Doerner's refusal as

department chairman to provide petitioner in

writing with documentation that supported the low

evaluation and merit increase which petitioner

received in 1983. The University of Toledo's

Conference Committee requested the then President,

Defendant Driscoll, to advise petitioner to cease his

ongoing stream of complaining memoranda. On

November 21, 1983, President Driscoll directed

petitioner to refrain from any effort to renew the

above grievances or be subject to disciplinary action.

On November 14, 1983, plaintiff sent a memorandum

to the department and executive committee

complaining of the departmental masters program

and specifically the treatment that two Arab students

in the program had received. The executive

committee chose on their own to expand the nature

of the inquiry into plaintiff's memorandum to

include issues raised by plaintiff in other memoranda

which he had presented in the department resulting

in a request to defendant Doerner that plaintiff be

censured and a warning that if he continues his

present pattern, the department would request

disciplinary action. On January 27, 1984, the

Department of Political Science adopted the executive

committee's unprecendented resolution of censure

against petitioner.

6

On December 21, 1984, respondent Driscoll

officially reprimanded petitioner as a result of the

letters objecting to the promotion of Professor

Sharron E. Doerner in part because of Doerner's being

discriminatory on the basis of race and politics.

(Appendix A at p. A5)

This official reprimand occurred after the filing of

a change of employment discrimination with the

Ohio Civil Rights Commission on December 14, 1984.

Petitioner also presented extensive testimony and

documentation to the District Court relating to his

claims that he was unfairly discriminated against in

teaching evaluations, salary increases and merit

increases for the academic year 1980-81 on as well as

evidence relating to the highly subjective nature of

the process.

on™,

©

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Petitioner, Abid A. Al-Marayati, respectfully

submits that the United States Court of Appeals for

the Sixth Circuit has erroneously affirmed the District

Court's denial of petitioner's first Motion for Leave to

Amend his Complaint filed on May 11, 1987. This

decision runs contrary to authority of this Court in

two important respects as will be detailed below. In

said motion, petitioner sought to re-cast his original

complaint, which was filed pursuant to Title VII of

the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. Section 2000 (e)

7

et seq., as one seeking relief against Respondent, The

University of Toledo, and Glen Driscoll, Karl Vezner,

and Sharron E. Doerner both in their official

capacities and individually. The proposed complaint

which was lodged with the District Court sought

compensatory damages, declaratory relief, and

attorney's fees (Appendix J at pp. A66-A71). In its

Memorandum and Order of August 5, 1987 and the

District Court stated in pertinent part:

The amended complaint alleges that the same

acts described in the complaint are now violations

of 42 U.S.C. Section 1983, thereby substituting 42

U.S.C. Section 1983 for 42 U.S.C. Section 2000 (e) as

a theory of liability. Plaintiff makes one new

factual allegation in the amended complaint, seeks

to add the present president of the University as a

new party, names all defendants in their

individual capacities, seeks to add a jury demand

and predicates his prayer for attorney's fees on 42

U.S.C. Section 1988... On February 21, 1986, this

Court issued an order dismissing all of plaintiff's

allegations which occurred outside the 300 day

filing period under Title VII. The only new

factual allegation in the amended complaint

occurred no later than 1982. Therefore, under the

precedent of Wilson v. Garcia, 471 U.S. 261 (1985),

and Mulligan v. Hazard, 777 F.2d 340 (6th Cir.

1985), cert. denied, 106 S.Ct. 2902 (1986). This new

allegation contained in paragraph 10 of the

amended complaint is not cognizable in this

proceeding.

Furthermore, the Eleventh Amendment

establishes an absolute bar to a suit for monetary

damages against the state unless the state has

8

consented to be sued. Alabama v. Pugh, 438 U.S.

781 (1978). Under the precedent established by the

Sixth Circuit and this Court, the University of

Toledo and the individual defendants in their

official capacities are entitled to immunity under

the Eleventh Amendment as an alter ego or arm

of the state. Hall v. Medical College of Ohio, 742

F.2d 299 (6th Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1113

(1985); Crenshaw v. University of Toledo No C84-

8067 (N.D. Ohio January 28, 1986). Therefore, the

addition of the new allegations against the

University and the individual defendants in their

official capacities would not withstand a motion to

dismiss pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 12 (b) (6).

The court determines that pursuant to the

criteria of Fed. R. Civ. P. 15 (a) that, although any

prejudice to defendants may be slight, the

additional allegations of the proposed amended

- complaint are futile. (emphasis added). Appendix

F. at pp A50 - A51.

The United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth

Circuit noted that the alleged First Amendment

deprivation sought to be added to the complaint by

petitioner was based on a decision by President

Driscoll and thus since Driscoll was sued solely in his

official capacity, he was clothed with immunity under

this Court's holding in Will v. Michigan Dept. of

State Police, U.S. __, 109 S.Ct. 2304 (1989).

It is respectfully submitted that in his proposed

amended complaint, petitioner realleged all facts

contained in his original complaint. Moreover, he

specifically sued the Respondents Doerner, Driscoll

and Vezner both individually as well as in their

9

official capacities. He also sought compensatory

damages which were not available under Title VII.

It is respectfully submitted that their is no absolute

immunity covering the individual defendants in

their individual as opposed to official capacities. See

Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800 (1982); Scheuer v.

Rhodes, 416 U.S. 232 (1974). See generally O’Connor

v. Donaldson, 422 U.S. 563 (1975); Procunier v.

Nabarette, 434 U.S. 555 (1970); Harlow v. Fitzgerald,

457 U.S. 800 (1982). Qualified immunities can be

rebutted by a showing that the defendant lacked good

faith. Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800 (1982); Clark

v. Beville, 730 F.2d 739 (11th Cir. 1984). Qualified

immunities can also be rebutted by a showing that the

defendant's conduct exceeded the scope of his

authority. Merritt v. Mackey, 827 F.2d 1368 (9th Cir.

1987). The proposed Amended complaint and Jury

Demand contained allegations at paragraphs 10, 12

and 14 of violations of the First, Fifth and Fourteenth

Amendments to the United States Constitution. It is

submitted that both courts below overlooked the

issue of petitioner's claims against the defendants as

individuals and supervision of this Court is essential

to secure a day in Court for petitioner on such

sensitive issues.

The Sixth Circuit itself in Berndt v. State of

Tennessee and Lakeshore Mental Health Institute,

796 F.2d 879 (6th Cir. 1986), stated at 796 F.2d. at 882:

The Eleventh Amendment does not bar suits for

money damages brought against state officials in

10

their individual capacities when they are alleged

to have violated federal law. Banas v. Dempsey,

742 F.2d 277, 284, n. 10 (6th Cir. 1984), aff'd, Green

v. Mansour, __ U.S. ____, 106 S.Ct. 423, 88 L.Ed.

2d 933 (1985).

The Sixth Circuit's overlooking of petitioner's

proposed Amended Complaint and Jury Demand

insofar as it was in part against state officials in their

individual capacities departs from precedent of this

Court and the Sixth Circuit. The need for this Court's

supervisory intervention is underscored.

In another important and intertwined respect,

both courts below held that claims pursuant to 42

U.S.C. Section 1983 could not be presented if they

were beyond the 300 day time bar previously applied

by the District Court. The District court never reached

the issue as to whether the proposed amendment, if

granted, would relate back to the date of the filing of

the original complaint. The Sixth Circuit's rationale,

at Appendix A, pp A13-A14, is somewhat cryptic. The

Sixth Circuit noted in passing that the Petitioner's

Motion for Leave to Amend his Complaint was filed

two years and one day after the original complaint

was filed. The seeming uncertainty of the Sixth

Circuit on the Statute of Limitations issue should be

resolved in light of this Court's recent holding in

Owens v. Okure,___s—~ US. , 109 S.Ct. 573 (1989).

In that case, this Court held that where state law

provides multiple statutes of limitations for personal

injury actions, courts considering Section 1983 claims

should borrow the state's general or residual personal

11

injury statute of limitations. Subsequent to this

Courts' decision in Owens, supra, the United States

Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit held in

Browning v. Pendleton, 869 F.2d 989 (6th Cir. 1989)

(en banc) that the appropriate statute of limitations

for section 1983 actions in Ohio is Ohio Revised Code

Section 2305.10 which requires that actions for "bodily

injury or injury to property” be filed within two years

after their accrual. However, the Sixth Circuit did not

discuss the applicability of Ohio Revised Code Section

2305.09, a four year limitations period for certain

specified torts and “for an injury to the right of the

plaintiff not arising on contract nor enumerated in

Sections 2305.10 to 2305.12, inclusive, 2305.14 and

1304.29 of the Revised code." The Sixth Circuit did

not consider the applicability of the four year statute

because neither party to the Court in Browning

briefed or argued the issue.

As in New York, there are multiple statutes of

limitations for personal injury in Ohio. The most

general personal injury statute or residual statute

encompassing personal injury claims is Ohio Revised

Code Section 2305.09, the four year residual statute of

limitations. This statute has been held to encompass

types of personal injury claims that do not fall within

the category of actions “for bodily injury or injury to

property" under Ohio Revised Code Section 2305.10.

Those claims would include, for example, personal

injury claims for loss of consortium, loss of services

and medical expenses, intentional infliction of

mental distress, false imprisonment, invasion of

privacy, conversion, and accountant's malpractice.

12

See e.g., Amer v. Akron City Hospital, (1976) 47 Ohio

St.2d 85, 351 N.E. 2d 479; Thomas v. Columbus, 39

Ohio App. 3d 53, 528 N.E. 2d 1274 (Ct. App. Franklin

Cty. 1974); Bowling v. Brendamour’s, Inc., 40 Ohio

App. 3d 37 (Ct. App. Hamilton Cty. 1988).

In Owens v. Okure, supra, this Court cited several

examples of appropriate general personal injury or

residual statutes of limitation. Included in the

examples are similar Alabama and North Carolina

statutes. See Owens v. Okure, supra, 109 S.Ct. at 580,

n 9. The language in both of the examples more

closely resembles Ohio Revised Code Section 2305.09

(four year statute) than Ohio Revised Code Section

2305.10 (two year statute adopted by the Sixth Circuit

in Browning). Application of the four year statute by

the Courts below would have included most if not all

claims alleged by petitioner in his proposed Amended

Complaint and Jury Demand and, clearly, the newly

alleged claim if the District Court permitted the

amendment to relate back to the date of original

filing.

Even if petitioner's proposed Amended

Complaint and Jury Demand were construed to

advance claims only against the respondent

University and officials in their official capacities,

assuming arguendo, the Courts below erred in not

permitting the action to proceed under 42 U.S.C.

Section 1983 for prospective injunctive relief. This

Court has allowed suit against a state where

prospective injunctive relief is sought. Ex parte

Young, 209 U.S. 123 (1908). Most recently, in Will v.

13

Michigan Department of State Police, US.

109 S.Ct. 2304 (1989), this Court noted at footnote 10

that official capacity actions for prospective injunctive

relief under 42 U.S.C. 1983 are not treated as actions

against the state. Therefore, the proposed Amended

Complaint should have been permitted at least to the

extent of allowing petitioner to seek prospective relief

under 42 U.S.C. 1983. It is submitted that prospective

relief could have been fashioned to restore petitioner

to his claimed proper salary status. In Kashari v.

Purdue University, 813 F.2d 843 (7th Circ. 1987), the

Seventh Circuit noted at 813 F.2d at 848:

Although the Eleventh Amendment bans all

claims against Purdue and the damages claims

against its officials in their official capacities, it

does not thwart the claims against the officials in

their official capacities for the injunctive relief of

reinstatement. Under the doctrine of Ex parte

Young, 209 U.S. 123, 28 S.Ct. 441, 52 L.Ed. 714

(1908), a suit for prospective injunctive relief is

not deemed a suit against the state and thus is not

barred by the Eleventh Amendment...

...We recently held that an injunction ordering

reinstatement of a pharmacist "is clearly

prospective in effect and thus falls outside the

prohibitions of the Eleventh Amendment." Elliot

v. Hinds, 786 F.2d 298, 302 (7th Circuit 1986). The

same result has been reached be the Sixth Circuit

regarding reinstatement of a medical student, Hall

v. Medical College of Ohio at Toledo, 742 F.2d 299,

307 (6th Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1113, 105

S.Ct. 796, 83 L.Ed. 2d 789 (1985)...

14

See also Greenwood v. Ross, 778 F.2d 448 (8th Cir.

1985).

It is respectfully submitted that, once again the

Sixth Circuit did not consider this Court's precedent

and its own precedent in its refusal to recognize

petitioner's contention that he should have been

permitted to obtain prospective relief under his

sought for amendment.

Although the District Court, in its Memorandum

and Order of August 5, 1987, held that the University

of Toledo and the individual defendants in their

official capacities were entitled to immunity under

the Eleventh Amendment as an alter ego or arm of

the state, it made no findings of fact supporting its

conclusion. (Appendix F. at p. A48). In its Findings of

Fact and Conclusions of Law filed June 21, 1988, the

District Court found in its finding of fact number 9

that the Defendant "is a state funded educational

institution whose operation and management is

provided for in Ohio Rev. Code Section 3360.01 et.

seq." (Appendix B at p. A19). In its August 29, 1989

decision, the Sixth Circuit did not address whether or

not sovereign immunity was applicable. In

Greenwood v. Ross, 778 F. 2d 448 (8th Cir. 1985), a case

involving the University of Arkansas, the Eighth

Circuit noted that since it was unable to determine

from the District Court order the basis for its decision

that a Section 1983 action was barred by the Eleventh

Amendment, it reversed and remanded the action.

Appellate courts have considered multiple factors in

reaching the Eleventh Amendment issue none of

15

which were addressed by the lower courts. See Clark

v. Tarrant County, 798 F.2d 736, 744 (5th Cir. 1986);

Kovats v. Rutgers, 822 F. 2d 1303, 1307 (3rd Cir. 1987);

Ainsworth v. Aristocrat International Pty. Limited v.

Tourism Company of the Commonwealth of Puerto

Rico, 818 F.2d 1034 (1st Cir. 1987). Moreover, the

lower courts did not examine whether the State of

Ohio had waived its immunity for suit. See Florida

Dept. of Health and Rehabilitation Services v. Florida

Nursing Home Association, 450 U.S. 147 (1981);

Fitzpatrick v. Bitzer, 427 U.S. 445 (1976). It is

submitted that the State of Ohio has consented to be

sued for all discriminatory actions under Ohio

Revised Code Chapter 4112 effective September 28,

1987. Ohio Revised Code Section 4112.01 (2) states

that:

"Employer" includes the state, or any political

or civil subdivision therof, any person employing

four or more persons within the state, and any

person acting in the interest of an employer,

directly or indirectly.

Moreover, Ohio Revised Code Section 4112.99 as

amended effective September 28, 1987 provides:

Whoever violates this chapter is subject to a

civil action for damages, injunctive relief, or any

other appropriate relief.

It is respectfully submitted that the State of Ohio

had waived, prior to trial on the within cause, its

immunity to suit as to all discriminatory practices as

set forth in Ohio Revised Code Chapter 4112. This

16

issue should have been remanded for examination by

the Disctrict Court.

The Disctrict Court further found that Dr. Al-

Marayati's reprimand of December 21, 1984 was

justified as resulting from disruptive activity.

However, the reprimand itself resulted from a

memorandum dated November 19, 1984 to the

Administrative Committee for Academic Personnel

complaining that he could not support Professor

Vezner's recommendation (for promotion) on behalf

of Professor Doerner. In part, petitioner complained

in that memorandum about Doerner's rendering

meaningless the principles of academic freedom and

tenure at the University of Toledo and that Doerner

had exhibited discriminating behavior in social and

political contexts. It is submitted that the memo-

randum was a protected expression of concern and

that the respondent's reprimand was inherently

retaliatory. (See Appendix J at p. A72).

ff

—

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth above, Petitioner prays

that a Writ of Certiorari be granted.

Respectfully Submitted,

WASSERMAN, BRYAN,

LANDRY & HONOLD

Francis J. Landry

Attorney for Petitioner

Abid A. Al-Marayati

APPENDIX

TABLE OF CONTENTS

A. Opinion and Judgment of United States Court

of Appeals for the Sixth District (Case No.

88-3643) entered August 29, 1989 .........ccscseseseeseees Al

B. Opinion and Order of the United States

District Court for the Northern District of

Ohio, Western Division (Case No. 85-7497),

ts Sr re cecckeceincecteeeic peti Geiss Al6

C. Judgment of United States District Court for

the Northern District of Ohio, Western Division

(Case No. C85-7497), entered June 27, 1988........ A33

D. Memorandum and Order of United States District

Court for the Northern District of Ohio, Western

Division (Case No. C85-7647), entered February

E. Memorandum and Order of United States District

Court for the Northern District of Ohio,

Western Division (Case No. C85-7647),

entered December 31, 1987. ....ccccccccccccocccscososcosesees A43

F. Memorandum and Order of United States District

Court for the Northern District of Ohio, Western

Division (Case No. C85-7647), entered

SE ey Ps titnscchnnrsiettttancciennterncanivesssisennsssnsesins A48

G. Memorandum and Order of United States District

Court for the Northern District of Ohio,

Western Division (Case No. C85-7647),

entered February 21, 1986. .........sssssssrseereersnenenees A53

H. Order of United States Court of Appeals

for the Sixth Circuit (Case No. C85-7647),

entered September 22, 1989 denying

Petition for Rehearing. ........csssesesesssersecnserenees A56

L Text of Statutes Involved........ccccccccccccccssccccccscscssees A57

J. Complaint, Proposed Amended Complaint

and Jury Demand and Trial Exhibit TT

(Petitioner's November 19, 1984 Memorandum

relating to promotion of Sharron E. Doerner... A61

Al

APPENDIX A

NOT FOR PUBLICATION

NO. 88-3643

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

ABID AL-MARAYATI

ON APPEAL FROM

THE UNITED STATES

COURT FOR THE

NORTHERN DISTRICT

OF OHIO

Plaintiff-Appellant,

V.

TOLEDO; GLEN

DRISCOLL; KARL

VEZNER; AND

SHARRON E.

)

)

)

)

)

UNIVERSITY OF )

)

)

)

)

DOERNER, )

)

)

Defendants-Appellee.

(Filed August 29, 1989)

BEFORE: MARTIN, WELLFORD AND MILBURN,

Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM. Piaintiff-appellant Abid Al-Marayati

appeals from a judgment in favor of defendants-

appellees, the University of Toledo ("the University-

"); its president, Glen Driscoll; and two former

chairmen of the University's Department of Political

Science, Karl Vezner and Sharron Doerner, in this

action filed pursuant to Title VII of the Civil Rights

Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e et seg. For the reasons

that follow, we affirm.

A2 \

Al-Marayati, a native of Iraq, embraces the tenents

of the Shiite sect of the Muslim religion. In this

action commenced under Title VII on May 10, 1985,

he contends that he has suffered discrimination since

1975 because of his national origin and religious

beliefs in that the defendants intentionally gave him

poor teaching evaluations and merit salary increases,

inhibited and punished him for expressing his beliefs

concerning matters affecting the University, and

harassed him in the hope that he would resign his

tenured position. He further contends that the

defendants retaliated against him for filing a civil

rights charge by reprimanding him for commenting

on the qualifications of defendant Doerner when

Doerner was being considered for a promotion.

On February 21, 1986, the district court dismissed

all acts of alleged discrimination that occurred outside

the 300-day filing period as time-barred, but held that

the events could be used as background on the timely

charges if otherwise relevant. On May 11, 1987, Al-

Marayati sought to amend his complaint to dismiss

the Title VII allegations and proceed instead under 42

U.S.C. § 1983. He also sought to allege a deprivation

of his First Amendment rights in addition to

unlawful discrimination and retaliation and

requested a jury trial. The district court denied leave

to amend, however, holding that allowing Al-

Marayati to recast his complaint under section 1983

would be frivolous in that the court had previously

dismissed all events occurring outside the 300-day

filing period, the allegations regarding the First

Amendment occurred outside the applicable

A3

limitations period, and the Eleventh Amendment

barred recovery of any monetary damages from the |

University and the defendants in their official

capacity.

Al-Marayati filed a second motion to amend on

November 6, 1987, seeking to add a claim for

intentional employment discrimination under 42

U.S.C. §§ 1981 and 1985. He contended that such a

claim was not cognizable until the Supreme Court's

decision in St. Francis College v. Al-Khazraji, 481 U.S.

604 (1987). On December 31, 1987, the district court

denied leave to amend. In light of a trial date of

February 16, 1988, the district court held that

defendants would have insufficient time to conduct

discovery and would be unfairly surprised and

prejudiced by a complete change of theory on the eve

of trial.

On January 26, 1988, Al-Marayati sought a

continuance on the grounds that defendant Doerner's

medical condition precluded the conclusion of his

oral deposition and testimony at trial. However, the

district court denied the motion without opinion on

February 3, 1988.

A nonjury trial commenced on February 16, 1988.

On March 9, 1988, at the conclusion of plaintiff's case,

the defendants jointly moved for dismissal under

Rule 41 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. The

district court denied the motion, concluding that Al-

Marayati had presented sufficient evidence to

establish prima facie claims of discrimination and

retaliation. The trial then proceeded to a conclusion.

A4

On June 21, 1988, the district court entered its

findings of fact and conclusions of law. The district

court held that plaintiff was not entitled to relief

because he had failed to establish that the reasons

given for the employment actions in question were

pretextual. This timely appeal followed.

The record shows that Al-Marayati has repeatedly

filed grievances within the University's structure for

resolving disputes. It is undisputed that every

grievance has been ultimately rejected following

extensive review within the University. The record

also establishes that Al-Marayati maintained a steady

stream of memoranda within the Political Science

Department wherein he complained of employment

decisions and raised allegations of discrimination

among fellow political science professors.

After the denial of Al-Marayati's fourth grievance

on October 4, 1983, the University's Faculty

Conference Committee sent a memorandum to the

University's president, defendant Driscoll, wherein it

stated its conclusion that Al-Marayati's persistent

memos within the department were becoming

counterproductive, that Al-Marayati had ignored the

Committee's previous request that he cease the flow

of memoranda within the department, and

recommended that defendant Driscoll inform Al-

Marayati in the strongest possible terms that his

actions within the department were preventing him

and other members of the faculty from performing

their responsibilities as University professors.

Driscoll testified that he corresponded with Al-

Marayati on November 21, 1983, and informed him

A5

that he had exhausted all remedies within the

University and that he should seek redress elsewhere,

specifically mentioning the courts. He additionally

informed Al-Marayati that he would request that the

Board of Trustees approve disciplinary

recommendations if Al-Marayati did not refrain from

raising old grievances within the University.

During the following academic year, 1983-1984,

defendant Doerner was recommended for promotion

to the rank of full professor by then-department

chairman, defendant Vezner, and the corresponding

faculty committee. Although plaintiff did not attend

any of the departmental meetings and chose not to

submit an absentee ballot, he went outside of the

University's processes and objected to Doerner's

promotion with inter-University memoranda

wherein he accused Doerner of being discriminatory

on the basis of race and politics.

The Political Science Department ultimately

decided to request disciplinary action against Al-

Marayati and informed President Driscoll of its

conclusion. Driscoll subsequently informed Al-

Marayati on December 21, 1984, that he viewed the

substance of the memoranda to be an effort to renew

old grievances and noted that he had previously

warned Al-Marayati on two prior occasions to refrain

from "plowing the same ground." Noting that Al-

Marayati had filed charges against the University

with the Equal Employment Opportunity

Commission, Driscoll encouraged Al-Marayati to

pursue avenues of relief outside of the University.

He instructed Al-Marayati to cease attempts to use the

A6

University's internal grievance mechanisms to

resolve his old grievances and informed Al-Marayati

that if he persisted in renewing old grievances, he

would recommend to the Board of Trustees that he be

suspended without pay. Driscoll concluded his letter

to Al-Marayati by stating that the letter should be

viewed as an official reprimand.

There was significant testimony at trial regarding

the conduct of Al-Marayati and others within the

University's Political Science Department which

indicates that Al-Marayati's relationship with his

colleagues has steadily deteriorated since 1975.

Department members testified that plaintiff refrained

from speaking to colleagues who, while performing

their duties as members of faculty committees or

other positions, evaluated him less favorably than

others. Al-Marayati stopped attending departmental

meetings during the 1982-1983 academic year, and

there was considerable testimony that he affected the

department's morale. Finally, there was testimony

that he was repeatedly advised over the years that he

should “bury the hatchet," but that all attempts at

reconciliation between him and other members of

the department had been unsuccessful.

The issues presented in this appeal are whether

the district court erred (1) in finding that Al-Marayati

was not the subject of intentional discrimination on

the basis of his religion or national origin; (2) in

finding that Al-Marayati's censure and reprimand

were not in retaliation for the exercise of his Title VII

rights; (3) in denying Al-Marayati's motion for a

continuance; (4) in denying Al-Marayati'’s two

A7

motions to amend his complaint; and (5) in

dismissing several of Al-Marayati's claims as

untimely.

Il.

In Daniels v. Board of Education, 805 F.2d 203, 208

(6th Cir. 1986), we held that when a district court

decides "the ultimate factual issue, whether the

plaintiff was a victim of intentional discrimination,"

then the focus of our inquiry on appeal is not on

whether the district court properly applied the correct

legal standard in reaching the ultimate question of

discrimination, but whether the district court's

finding is supported by substantial evidence. This

court reviews a district court's findings of fact only for

clear error under Rule 52(a) of the Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure and will overturn a district court's

findings of fact only when it "is left with the definite

and firm conviction that a mistake has been

committed." United States v. United States Gypsum

Co., 333 U.S. 364, 395 (1948).

If a district court's findings "are based on

determinations regarding the credibility of witnesses,

Rule 52(a) demands even greater deference to the trial

court's findings; for only the trial court can be aware

of the variations in demeanor and tone of voice that

bears so heavily on the listener's understanding of

and belief in what is said." Anderson v. City of

Bessemer City, 470 U.S. 564, 575 (1985). As noted in

Henry v. Lennox Indus., Inc., 768 F.2d 746 (6th Cir.

1985),

A8

[t]he reviewing court oversteps the bounds of its

duty under Rule 52 if it undertakes to duplicate

the role of the lower court ... If the district court's

account of the evidence is plausible in light of the

record viewed in its entirety, the Court of Appeals

may not reverse it even though convinced that

had it been sitting as the trier of fact it would have

weighed the evidence differently.

Id. at 750 (quoting Anderson, 470 U.S. at 573-74).

A.

Al-Marayati contends that he suffered

discrimination on the basis of his national origin and

religion in the manner in which he was evaluated

pursuant to the University's procedures. In response

to the University's proffered reasons for the alleged

discriminatory adverse employment decisions, Al-

Marayati relies upon three instances which he alleges

prove discriminatory animus. He relies on a note

found in his mailbox wherein defendant Doerner was

critical of the Iraq government and a letter Doerner

penned to him while he was in Kuwait on leave of

absence. In the letter, Doerner wrote of the hot and

humid weather in Kuwait and noted his hope that

Kuwait, like the American South, was an air-

conditioned society. He further warned Al-Marayati

to "keep his back against the wall." Doerner testified

on deposition that the comments on the note were a

furtherance of a lunch conversation between Doerner

and Al-Marayati concerning Iraq. With regard to the

letter, Doerner testified the first comment was in

A9

reference to an earlier conversation in which the

effect that Kuwait's hot and humid weather would

have on Al-Marayati's bronchitis was discussed, and

the latter comment was an expression of his concern

for Al-Marayati's safety as an American in the Middle

East. Finally, testimony was presented by one of Al-

Marayati's colleagues of hearing racial comments in

reference to plaintiff as a "camel driver". However,

the testimony that he quickly tries to strike such

comments from his mind and therefore could

provide little information about them. He was

unable to remember who made the comments or

when they were made.

With regard to the above three incidents, the

district court found that they were not indicative of

any discriminatory animus on behalf of the

defendants, and that the racial comments could not

be linked to any of the defendants. After reviewing

the record, we conclude that the district court's

findings are not clearly erroneous.

B.

In his complaint, Al-Marayati contends that three

separate actions taken by the defendants constitute

retaliatory conduct as prohibited by Title VII. At trial,

however, it appears that he only pursued one of these

actions, his reprimand by the University, and

additionally sought to establish that the mierit

increase he received after the University learned of

his Title VII complaint was retaliatory.

A 10

Section 704(a) of Title VII, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-3,

prohibits an employer from discriminating against an

employee “because he has made a charge, testified,

assisted or participated in any manner in any

investigation, proceeding, or hearing" under Title

VII. However, employees are not protected or

insulated from discipline or discharge merely due to

the fact that they have filed charges of discrimination

or opposed employer practices that they believe to be

discriminatory. This court has made it clear that

employers do not violate Title VII when they make

an adverse employment decision regarding an

employee within a protected category when the

decision is made for reasons such as insubordination,

poor work pe.formance, difficulty in getting along

with fellow employees, or where the potential exists

that the employee's continued presence would cause

resentment or hostility. -See Daniels, 805 F.2d at 208-

09; Weems v. Ball Metal and Chem. Div., Inc., 753

F.2d 527, 529-30 (6th Cir. 1985); Morvay v. Maghielse

Tool and Die Co., 708 F.2d 229, 233 (6th Cir.), cert.

denied, 464 U.S. 1011 (1983).

In light of the substantial evidence in the record of

Al-Marayati's conduct, we conclude that the district

court did not err in concluding that the adverse

employment decisions of which Al-Marayati

complains were not in retaliation for the exercise of

his Title VII rights. An employer is allowed to

maintain internal discipline and a stable work

environment, and [a]Jn employee is not protected by

Title VII when he violates legitimate rules and orders

of his employer, disrupts the employment

All

environment, or interferes with the attainment of his

employer's goals. Unt v. Aero Space Corp., 765 F.2d

1440, 1446 (9th Cir. 1985); see also Rosser v. Laborers’

Int'l Union, 616 F.2d 221, 223 (5th Cir.), cert. denied,

449 U.S. 886 (1980).

..

Al-Marayati contends that the district court erred

when it denied his request for a continuance of the

trial date and to reopen discovery on the basis that

defendant Doerner's medical condition precluded Al-

Marayati from obtaining further discovery and

Doerner's testifying at trial. Doerner's physician

opined at the time that Doerner's heart condition was

such that further testimony was potentially life-

threatening.

The question of a continuance is addressed to the

sound discretion of the district judge and will not be

reversed on appeal unless there has been a clear abuse

of discretion. Pingatore v. Montgomery Ward & Co.,

419 F.2d 1128, 1141 (6th cir. 1969), cert. denied, 398 U.S.

928 (1970). In this instance, we do not find a clear

abuse of discretion. There was no evidence at the

time of the denial of the motion that Doerner's

medical condition would ever improve to the point

that he could withstand the rigors of trial or even a

discovery deposition. Moreover, Al-Marayati is

unable to show any substantial prejudice in that the

discovery he had already obtained from Doerner was

inadequate. Doerner's 150-page discovery deposition,

his answers to written interrogatories, and his six-

A 12

page affidavit were admitted without protest by the

defendants, and the plaintiff has not established why

live testimony was needed. Accordingly, we do not

find error.

D.

Al-Marayati contends that the district court erred

in denying his two motions to amend. In his first

motion filed on May 11, 1987, Al-Marayati sought to

dismiss his allegations under Title VII and to proceed

instead under 42 U.S.C. § 1983. In denying the

motion, the district court held that allowing the

plaintiff to recast his complaint as a section 1983

action would be frivolous because the court had on

February 21, 1986, dismissed all of the allegations

occurring outside of the 300-day period, the new

allegations regarding deprivation of First

Amendment rights occurred outside the applicable

statute of limitations for section 1983 actions, and the

Eleventh Amendment stood as an absolute bar to any

section 1983 action for monetary damages. In this

connection, we note that Al-Marayati's action had

been pending since May 10, 1985.

In his second motion to amend filed on

November 6, 1987, Al-Marayati sought to amend his

complaint to allege violations of his rights under 42

U.S.C. §§ 1981 and 1985. The district court denied the

motion because the case was in the final stages of trial

preparation, and the defendants would be prejudiced

by being denied the opportunity to adequately prepare

A 13

and file any motions regarding the added causes of

action.

As noted by the Supreme Court in Zenith Radio

Corp. v. Hazeltine Research, Inc., 401 U.S. 321, 330

(1981), a district court is empowered to deny a motion

for leave to amend a complaint if the denial is based

valid grounds, and a trial court's discretion whether

or not to grant leave to amend is subject to limited

appellate review for abuse of discretion. In Marx v.

Centran Corp., 747 U.S. 1125 (1985), this court upheld

the district court's refusal to allow amendment on

"futility of amendment" grounds. We held that the

district court had not abused its discretion in refusing

to allow a plaintiff to amend his complaint to add

claims which are unsupported by facts or were time-

barred.

With respect to Al-Marayati's first motion to

amend, we do not find abuse of discretion. As the

Supreme Court has recently held in Will v. Michigan

Dept. of State Police, 109 S. Ct. 2304, 2310-11 (1989),

state officials acting in their official capacities are not

"persons" under section 1983. In this instance, the

alleged First Amendment deprivation was the

decision by President Driscoll to prohibit Al-Marayati

from commenting on matters affecting the

University. President Driscoll was sued solely in his

official capacity and, under the holding in Will, was

clothed with immunity under the Eleventh

Amendment. Accordingly, the district court correctly

concluded that allowing the amendment would be

futile.

Al4

We are also of the view that the district court did

not err in denying the second motion to amend. The

case was on the eve of trial, discovery was in its later

stages, and it would have been of obvious prejudice

to require the defendants to defend on a theory not

yet presented. Plaintiff contends that he was not

aware of the potential cause of action under section

1981 until the Supreme Court's holding in St. Francis

College v. Al-Khazraji, 481 U.S. 604 (1987). However,

that decision was handed down one month after Al-

Marayati's first motion to amend, and we see no

justification for allowing him to wait until the eve of

trial to seek to amend his complaint.

E.

The final issue before us is Al-Marayati's

contention that the district court erred in barring him

from pursuing acts of discrimination occurring before

the 300-day limitations-period. Relying upon this

court's holding in Sawchik v. E. I. DuPont de

Nemours & Co., 783 F.2d 635 (6th Cir. 1986), the

district court determined that the continuing

violation theory was inapplicable and, therefore,

dismissed all alleged acts occurring outside the 300-

day filing period. However, the district court allowed

the acts as background material.

In United Air Lines v. Evans, 431 U.S. 553, 557

(1977), the Supreme Court held that the present

effects of an earlier time-barred action are insufficient

to constitute a present or continuing violation which

A115

can be the subject of a timely EEOC charge. The Court

concluded:

A discriminatory act which is not made the basis

of a timely charge is the legal equivalent of a

discriminatory act which occurred before the

statute was passed. It may constitute relevant

background evidence in a proceeding in which the

status of a current practice is at issue, but

separately considered, it is merely an unfortunate

event in history which has no present legal

consequences. ;

Id. at 558. In this instance, it is undisputed that Al-

Marayati filed grievances and sought relief within the

avenues of the University at the time of the alleged

discriminatory actions. Clearly, he was of the view at

that time that he had suffered discrimination and,

therefore, should have engaged the machinery of

Title VII if he did not obtain the desired redress

within the University.

Il.

Accordingly, for all of the foregoing reasons, the

judgment of the district court is AFFIRMED.

a aie |

A 16

APPENDIX B

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

WESTERN DIVISION

ABID AL-MARAYATI, _ )

Plaintiff ) Case No. C 85-7497

)

vs. ) FINDINGS OF FACT }

) AND CONCLUSIONS

UNIVERSITY OF ) F LAW

TOLEDO, et al., )

)

Defendants

(Filed June 21, 1988)

POTTER, J.:

This case was originally filed by plaintiff on May

10, 1985 pursuant to the provisions of Title VII of the

Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. §§ 2000e et seq.

(Title VII) against defendant University of Toledo

(University) and individual defendants Glen Driscoll,

Carl Vezner and Sharron Doerner in their individual

and official capacities as University Administrators.

On February 5, 1988, this Court granted in part and [

denied in part defendants’ motion for summary i

judgment, and this matter proceeded to trial on two :

distinct issues: (1) whether from 1984. to the present

time plaintiff has been denied employment benefits,

including adverse annual evaluations and resulting

merit increases affecting his salary and benefits

because of his national origin and religion; and (2)

whether or not defendants have retaliated against

plaintiff because of his assertion that defendants had

SaaS |

A 17

denied him rights protected by Title VII because of his

national origin and religion in the fall of 1984. This

matter proceeded to the taking of evidence on these

issues in a trial to the Court on February 16 through

19 and March 3 through 10, 1988.

On March 9, 1988, at the conclusion of plaintiff's

case, defendants moved for an involuntary dismissal

of plaintiff's claims pursuant to Rule 41 of the Federal

Rules of Civil Procedure, which the Court denied

indicating that plaintiff had presented sufficient

evidence to establish a prima facie claim of violation

of Title VII on both issues. Thereafter, defendants

presented their evidence and plaintiff submitted

rebuttal testimony.

The parties were invited to and have submitted

briefs on plaintiff's retaliation claim in addition to

proposed findings of fact and conclusions of law. The

Court finds that counsel's proposed findings of fact in

the main were narratives of witnesses’ testimony.

The Court makes its own independent findings of fact

and conclusions of law.

indin f Fa

1. Plaintiff was born in Iraq and came to the

United States in 1949, becoming a permanent resident

in 1967 and a US. citizen in 1971. Plaintiff believes in

and embraces the tenets of the Muslim religion as a

member of the Shiite sect thereof.

2. Plaintiff obtained his Bachelor of Science

degree and thereafter his Master of Arts degree in

political science from Bradley University in 1952 and

A 18

1954, respectively. In 1959 he received his doctoral

degree in political science from New York University.

3. Thereafter plaintiff worked as a United

Nations intern, assigned to the secretaries of the

Delegations of Iraq and Yemen until 1969 when he

taught one semester of political science as an

instructor at the University of Massachusetts. From |

1960 until 1962 he was a technical assistant officer |

with the United Nations International Atomic

Energy Agency assigned in Vienna. From 1962 until

January of 1964, he was employed as an associate

professor at New York State College. In 1964 he was

chosen to be a research fellow at Harvard University

where he concentrated his research on the United

Nations in the Middle East and Middle Eastern

constitutions. He remained a research fellow until

June of 1965 when he was employed as an assistant

professor in the Political Science Department at

Arizona State University.

4. In 1967 plaintiff was promoted to associate

professor at Arizona State University, where he

remained until he was hired at the University of

Toledo in 1968.

5. Frank Lewis was the Chairman of the Political

Science Department in 1968. In 1968, Lewis hired {

plaintiff to teach classes in International Relations

and the Middle East. Plaintiff was hired as an

associate professor at an initial salary of $12,500.00.

6. Plaintiff was granted tenure in 1970 and was

promoted to the rank of full professor in 1972.

Plaintiff was elected Department Chairman and

|

A 19

served a three year term beginning in Academic Year

(AY) 1972-73.

7. Lewis also recruited and hired George Jan in

1968 at an initial salary of $16,500. Jan was a full

professor at the University of South Dakota, where he

had taught for seven years and was hired in that rank

by the University. Jan was born and raised in China,

now the People's Republic of China.

8. From 1968 until the present time, plaintiff has

been the only faculty member with the Department of

Political Science of Arab descent and who embraces

the Muslim religion. However, there were 615

ranked faculty members at the University at the time

of trial. Twenty-three ranked faculty members were

born in the following countries: Iran, Lebanon, Israel

and Egypt. Of this group, 18 are Arabs.

9. Defendant University is a state funded

educational institution whose operation and

management is provided for in Ohio Rev. Code §

3360.01 et seq.

10. Defendant Glen Driscoll was President of the

University from October, 1972 until July 1, 1985.

11. Defendant Sharron E. Doerner is a full

professor with tenure in the Political Science

Department at the University. Doerner was elected

Department Chairman for three consecutive three-

year terms and served from AY 1975-76 through AY

1983-84. Based upon the recommendation of a

physician selected by plaintiff, Doerner, who has a

history of coronary problems, did not testify, nor was

he present, at trial. The parties stipulated that he was

A 20

unavailable within the meaning of the Federal Rules

of Civil Procedure.

12. Defendant Karl O. Vezner, a full professor

with tenure in the Political Science Department at the

University, succeeded Doerner as Chairman and is

the current Chairman.

13. Plaintiff testified as to various alleged

instances of discriminatory conduct on the part of

Doerner in connection with his allegations of

discriminatory treatment regarding his merit

increases for the AY 1984-85 to present. One incident

was a note taped to plaintiff's mailbox referring to the

weather in Baghdad for the year 1978. The note was

of unknown authorship except for a comment by

Professor Doerner as follows: "Yes, but what about

freedom of speech, press, assembly, petition and

religion? And the freedom to be a non-Marxist?" -

Plaintiff did not know who placed the note on his

mailbox. The earliest this note was called to the

attention of the administration was 1981. Another

incident was a letter from Professor Doerner to

plaintiff dated September 21, 1981, when plaintiff was

in Kuwait, which stated in pertinent part that

plaintiff “ought to be an old Kuwaiti hand and have

sampled both their sandstorms and high humidity. I

hope for your sake that they are, like the American

South, an air-conditioned society," and "Everyone

wishes you well and keep your back to the wall." The

Court finds as a fact that these incidents do not

establish a discriminatory animus against this

plaintiff.

re. es ee ge

A 21

14. Plaintiff also complained of racial slurs, but

could not connect any of the statements to the

defendants.

15. Plaintiff asserted that he received low merit

and salary increases for the periods in question

because of his national origin and religious

preference. The University has a complicated, many-

leveled process for determination of merit and salary

increases with many safeguards.

16. At all relevant times hereto, the guidelines

governing the salary process were set forth in the

University's Manual of Policies and Procedures,

Guidelines for Accountability (Guidelines). The

opening paragraph of the Guidelines refers to the

"long and continuing concern" that the faculty of the

University has had regarding the University's system

of accountability with respect to salaries, tenure,

promotions and non-renewals. It is stated therein:

The document on accountability has a primary

purpose of assuring that each member has been

advised on how the various levels of

administration value his/her contribution to the

University and, perhaps even more important,

informing him/her on who makes the

evaluations and what criteria are used in making

them. The accountability guidelines are to be used

by all levels and units where decisions are made

with respect to salaries, tenure, promotion, and

non-renewals.

17. The Guidelines also set forth the definition of

academic freedom at the University. Academic

freedom is defined in part as the right of free

expression of ideas and opinions. |

A 22

18. The Guidelines set forth five separate areas for

evaluation: teaching, research and publication,

service to the University other than classroom

teaching and research, professional development and

professional conduct, and public service relating to

the University goals.

19. The Guidelines set forth the five independent

units in the decision process which shall make

recommendations prior to final decision by the

President as follows: the department chairman; the

college committee on salaries, promotions and

tenure, or an equivalent committee; the college dean;

the University Committee on Academic Personnel

(ACAP); and the Offices of the Vice President for

Academic Affairs and the President.

20. The Political Science Department had a

department executive committee (D.E.C.), whose

function is to advise the chairman, at all relevant

times hereto. Departmental faculty elect the three

members of the D.E.C. annually, and the composition

of the D.E.C. generally changes completely from year

to year.

21. As part of the merit evaluation process, a

departmental faculty member prepares an annual

report of professional activities (ARPA) covering the

year under review. The ARPA is reviewed by the

D.E.C. and the chairman the following academic year

for merit increases to be awarded the next academic

year.

22. Departmental members are notified after the

chairman has arrived at the recommended merit

increases. The information is next forwarded to the

LOT ON ET AY EET ARNT SOT OORT IE TE POA Nem ty

A 23

ACAP. ACAP members are elected by their

colleagues. According to ACAP's bylaws, its purpose

is to "examine recommendations of the various

departments to the Dean in order to insure the

equitable treatment of all academic personnel and

make college recommendations to the Dean to effect

such treatment" and to advise the Dean of the College

of Arts and Sciences on such matters.

23. The College Dean’ reviews’ the

recommendations of ACAP and submits his

recommendations to the University Committee or

Academic Personnel (UCAP). UCAP also is a

committee composed of elected faculty

representatives. According to the Guidelines,

UCAP’s function is to see that there is equitable

treatment to faculty in all colleges with respect to

tenure, promotion and faculty ranks, salary and

sabbatical leaves, and to advise the Vice President for

Academic Affairs on such matters.

24. The Vice President for Academic Affairs

advises the President. The final administrative

judgment rests with the President. The information

is then sent to the Academic Affairs Committee of the

Board of Trustees for their review and final

recommendation to the Board of Trustees, the final

approving authority within the University.

25. Plaintiff's salary determinations were made in

accordance with the Guidelines.

26. In regard to merit evaluation, teaching,

research and service were considered. As to

plaintiff's teaching ability, ratings from students, as to

plaintiff's ability and attitudes were mixed.

A 24

27. Plaintiff received the University's

Outstanding Teaching Award was not a factor in the

recommendations regarding plaintiff's merit

increases from AY 1984-85 to date because it was not

received during any of the periods under review.

28. Plaintiff was Director of the Center for

International Studies since 1972. The Center's

effectiveness over the years was called into question

by other departmental members affiliated with the

Center and by the college dean.

29. Plaintiff received a low evaluation for

research and publication and service.

30. Plaintiff, for the years 1984-85 and 1985-86,

received merit increases of 0% and 1.4%.

31. Other faculty members at the University in

addition to plaintiff have received zero merit

increases. None were Arabic.

32. Other departmental faculty members in

addition to plaintiff have raised salary grievances.

33. Other faculty members have been censured,

reprimanded and/or fired.

34. The Court finds that the members of the

Political Science Department of the University were

not always congenial and were concerned about

standing and relative compensation, but that their

competitive conduct and rivalry were not motivated

by discriminatory reasons involving national origin

and religion.

35. Plaintiff was very active in voicing his

opinion relative to policies and promotions of his

colleagues. His numerous grievances, redundant

memos and failure to use existing procedure irrated

A 25

defendants. The Court finds irritation, but no

discrimination based on national origin or religion.

36. The Court further finds by a preponderance of

the evidence that the reasons given for plaintiff's low

evaluation by defendants during said ARPA periods

are not pretextual.

37. The Court finds that the censure, reprimand

and low merit evaluations were not in retaliation for

plaintiff's exercising his Title VII rights. The Court

also finds that plaintiff's censure and the letters of

reprimand from President Driscoll, dated November

21, 1983, March 6, 1984 and December 21, 1984 were

the result of plaintiff's refusal to follow the

Guidelines and University procedure and not because

plaintiff was utilizing Title VII procedures. President

Driscoll advised plaintiff to seek external remedies

and to resort to the civil courts.

Conclusions of Law

1. A Title VII case of sexual discrimination must

be analyzed under the three prong test articulated by

the Supreme Court in Texas Department of

Community Affairs v. Burdine, 450 U.S. 248, 101 S. Ct.

1089, 67 L. Ed.2d 207 (1981) and McDonnell Douglas

Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S. 792, 93 S. Ct. 1817, 36 L. Ed.2d

668 (1973). A plaintiff carries the burden of

establishing a prima facie case. 450 U.S. at 252-53, 101

S. Ct. at 1093-94. If she establishes a prima facie case,

the defendant must then articulate a

nondiscriminatory reason for its actions. Id. If the

employer does this, the burden is again on the

A 26

plaintiff to prove that the articulated reason was

pretextual and not the true reason, either by showing

that a discriminatory reason was the more likely

motivation, or by showing that the articulated reason

is unworthy of belief. (Citations omitted.)

Mills v. Ford Motor Co., 800 F.2d 635, (6th Cir. 1986).

2. “The plaintiff must ultimately prove that the

defendant intentionally discriminated against her.

450 U.S. at 253, 101 S. Ct. at 1093." Id. at 638.

3. But McDonnell Douglas did make clear that a

Title VII plaintiff carries the initial burden of

showing actions taken by the employer from which

one can infer, if such actions remain unexplained,

that it is more likely than not that such actions were

"based on a discriminatory criterion illegal under the

Act." (Citations omitted.)

Furnco Construction Corp. v. Waters, 438 U.S. 567,

576 (1978).

4. The controlling legal authority in Title VII

"disparate treatment” cases is the Supreme Court's

recent decision in Texas Department of Community

Affairs v. Burdine (citation omitted). Burdine is, in

essence, a refinement of the burden of proof analysis

previously set out in McDonnell Douglas Corp. v.

Green, (citation omitted).

Miller v. WFLI Radio, Inc., 687 F.2d 136, 138 (6th Cir.

1982).

5. “Proof of the four McDonnell Douglas

elements or other direct or statistical proof raises a

rebuttable presumption of discrimination.”

(Footnotes omitted.) Id.

.) a 7

—

A 27

6. Establishment of the prima facie case in effect

creates a presumption that the employer unlawfully

discriminated against the employee. If the trier of fact

believes the plaintiff's evidence, and if the employer

is silent in the face of the presumption, the court

must enter judgment for the plaintiff because no

issue of fact remains in the case. (Footnotes omitted.)

Burdine, 450 U.S. at 254.

7. “The burden of production then shifts to the

defendant employer to provide a legitimate

nondiscriminatory reason for the action taken."

Simpson v. Midland-Ross Corp., 823 F.2d 937, 940 (6th

Cir. 1987).

8. A plaintiff can establish that the legitimate,

nondiscriminatory reason for the employment

decision articulated by the defendant employer is

pretextual in one of two ways. The first is to establish

by a preponderance of the evidence that the

discriminatory reason was the true reason motivating

the employer's conduct. Alternatively, the plaintiff

can prove pretext by showing that the proffered

legitimate reason was false. (Citations omitted.)

Sims v. Cleland, 813 F.2d 790, 792 (6th Cir. 1987).

9. The Court concludes that plaintiff has

established a prima facie case of unlawful

discrimination by demonstrating his membership in

a protected category due to his religion and national

origin, and by establishing that he was treated

disparately in his employment under alleged

circumstances which, if proven true, raise a rebuttable

presumption of discrimination. In making this

finding, however, the Court is mindful that the

A 28

burden of establishing a prima facie case is not

enormous. Burdine, 450 U.S. at 253.

10. Defendant has articulated the following

legitimate, nondiscriminatory reasons for plaintiff's

merit increases: that plaintiff's teaching was the

subject of student complaints; the plaintiff's

professional conduct was disruptive and counter-

productive; that plaintiff's service was not of a level

to warrant a greater merit increases; and that

plaintiff's scholarly research for the periods under

review was minimal.

11. Plaintiff now has the burden to prove that the

articulated reason is pretextual. Mills, 800 F.2d at 637.

12. The Court does not evaluate whether the

employment decision was a correct decision or the

best approach. The question is whether the decision

was based upon impermissible considerations of

religion and/or national origin. The focus is upon an

employer's motivation, not its business judgment.

Burdine, 450 U.S. at 258-259; Liberman v. Gant, 630

F.2d 60, 67 (2d Cir. 1981).

13. Personnel policies or practices which take into

account subjective factors are not unlawful or even

suspect absent a showing of adverse impact upon

minority groups. Burgus v. United Telephone -Co. of

Kansas, Inc., 683 F.2d 339, 243 (10th Cir. 1980. cert.

denied 459 U.S. 1071 (1983); Wilkins v. University of

Houston, 654 F.2d 383. (10th Cir. 1981), cert. denied,

459 U.S.822 (1983).

14. This Court is not empowered to sit as a super

review board of the University's employment

decisions. The same difficulties inherent in

en

A 29

reviewing tenure decisions are present here. Sec., e.g.

Kemar v. Bd. of Trustees, Univ. of Mass., 774 F.2d 1

(1st Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 475 U.S. 1097 (1986).

15. The Court finds that the low merit increases

were not based on retaliation or prompted by a

discriminatory animus.

16. While the low ratings given to plaintiff

during the years in question have been in error or

based on professional rivalry or personal dislike,

these factors do not constitute Title VII violations.

Furthermore, plaintiff was subject, as previously

found, to a multi-step evaluation process.

17. The Court concludes that plaintiff has failed to

meet the burden to establish by a preponderance of

the evidence either that any discriminatory reason

was the true reason or that the proffered legitimate

reasons were false. See, Sims, 813 F.2d at 792.

18. The evidence in the case does not establish

that either religion or national origin was a factor in

the treatment plaintiff perceived as disparate.

Plaintiff has failed in his ultimate burden to prove by

a preponderance of the evidence that defendants

intentionally discriminated against him on the basis

of his religion or national origin.

19. Plaintiff is not entitled to relief under 42

U.S.C. § 2000e-2(a)(1).

20. Title VII also makes it an unlawful

employment practice for an employer subject to its

provisions to discriminate against an employee

"because he has made a charge, testified, assisted or

participated in any manner in an investigation,

A 30

proceeding, or hearing” under Title VII. 42 U.S.C. §

2000e-3(a).

21. Proof of a retaliation claim under title VII is

governed by McDonnell Douglas and its progeny.

Plaintiff must establish by a preponderance of the

evidence: (1) that he engaged in a protected activity;

(2) that the exercise of the civil rights was known by

the defendant; (3) that, thereafter, the defendant took

an employment action adverse to the plaintiff; and (4)

that there was a causal connection between the

protected activity and the adverse employment

action. Wrenn v. Gould, 808 F.2d 493, 500-01 (6th Cir.

1987); Jackson v. RKO Bottlers of Toledo, Inc., 743 F.2d

370, 377 (6th Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 106 S. Ct. 3208

(1986); Burrus, 683 F.2d at 343.

22. Employers are not protected or insulated from

discipline or discharge merely due to the fact that they

have filed charges of discrimination or opposed

employer practices that they believe to be

discriminatory. See Brown v. Ralston Purina, XX

F.2d 570, 572 (6th Cir. 1977); Williams v. Boorstin, 663

F.2d 109 (D.C. Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 451 U.S. 985

(1981).

23. Employers do not violate Title VII when they

terminate or refuse to hire employees who are within

protected categories for such reasons as

insubordination, poor work performance, difficulty

in getting along with fellow employees, or the

potential that the employee's continued presence

would cause resentment or hostility. See Daniels v.

Board of Ed. of Ravenna City Schools, 805 F.2d 203,

208-209 (6th Cir. 1986); Weems v. Ball Metal & Chem.

ee

A 31

Div., Inc., 753 F.2d 527 (6th Cir. 1983), cert., denied, 464

U.S. 1011 (1984).

24. The Court concludes that plaintiff has

established a prima facie case of unlawful retaliation

for filing a charge of discrimination by demonstrating

| that he was engaged in protected conduct, that

defendant was aware of his protected activity and that

defendant thereafter took an employment action

adverse to plaintiff under circumstances which justify

anf inference or retaliatory motive.

25. Defendants assert that plaintiff's reprimand

was a result of progressive discipline for his

continuing disruptive behavior in raising grievances,

the merits of which had been previously adjudicated.

26. The Court concludes that the reason asserted

for the reprimand is the true reason. The progressive

warnings issued to plaintiff, which culminated in the

reprimand, are well documented and precede the

filing of plaintiff's charge of discrimination.

Defendants’ witnesses testified credibly as to the

lawful motivation behind the reprimand. Plaintiff

has failed to demonstrate that the reason for the

reprimand is pretextual or that defendants acted

intentionally to unlawfully retaliate against plaintiff

for engaging in protected conduct.

27. Plaintiff is not entitled to relief under 42

U.S.C. § 2000e-3(a).

THEREFORE, for the foregoing reasons, good

cause appearing, it is ORDERED that judgment be,

and hereby is, entered in favor of defendants and

against plaintiff, with costs to defendants.

Leateseeeneeneenen teenie

A 32

United States District Judge

I hereby certify that this instrument is a true and

correct copy of the original on file in my office, on

file in my Office.

Attest: James S. Gallas, Clerk

U.S. District Court

Northern District of Ohio

By:

Deputy Clerk

A 33

- APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

WESTERN DIVISION

ABID AL-MARAYATI, Case No. C85-7497

Plaintiff JUDGMENT IN A

CIVIL CASE

UNIVERSITY OF

)

)

)

)

V. )

)

)

TOLEDO, et al., )

)

)

Defendants

(Filed June 27, 1988)

JURY VERDICT. This action came before the Court

for a trial by jury. The issues have been tried and the

jury has rendered its verdict.

DECISION BY COURT. This action came to trial or

hearing before the Court. The issues have been tried

or heard and a decision has been rendered.

IT IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED

that judgment is hereby entered in favor of

defendants and against plaintiff, with costs to

defendants. Case dismissed.

United States District Judge

A 34

APPENDIX D

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

WESTERN DIVISION

ABID AL-MARAYATI, _ )

)

Plaintiff, ) Case No. C 85-7497

)

V. ) MEMORANDUM

) AND ORDER

UNIVERSITY OF )

TOLEDO, et al., )

)

Defendants, )

(Filed February 5, 1988)

POTTER, J.:

This matter is before the Court on defendants’

motion for summary judgment, plaintiff's

opposition, and defendants’ reply. Also before the

Court is plaintiff's request for clarification of this

Court's February 21, 1986 order, and defendants’

response. Plaintiff instituted this action for

employment discrimination pursuant to Title VII of

the Civil Rights Act of 1964. Defendants are The

University of Toledo (University), Glen Driscoll in

his official capacity as President of The University,

Karl Vezner individually and in his official capacity

as Chairman of the Department of Political Science,

and Sharon E. Doerner individually and in her

official capacity as past chairman of the Department of

Political Science. Plaintiff contends that the

eens

ee

A 35

defendants have intentionally discriminated against

plaintiff on the basis of plaintiff's religion and

national origin. Plaintiff also contends that

| defendants have retaliated Commission (EEOC).

Plaintiff seeks recovery from defendants for

; compensatory damages, punitive damages, and the

. costs of this action, including an award of attorney's

| fees.

On February 21, 1986, this Court granted

defendants’ motion to dismiss the time-barred

claims. The Court determined that any acts of

discrimination occurring before February, 1984 are

time barred and not compensable. Although the

Court did determine that other acts of discrimination

may be used to establish discrimination, the decision

whether to admit these other acts will be based on

their relevancy and probativeness, pursuant to Fed.

R. Evid. 401 and 403, not on whether the evidence is

derived from events that occurred within a certain

time period. Black law Enforcement Officers Ass'n v.

City of Akron, 824 F.2d 475, 483 (6th Cir. 1987).

However, even though this Court may allow plaintiff

to admit evidence of acts occurring outside the 300

day time period, plaintiff must establish that because

of plaintiff's national origin and religion, defendants

discriminated against plaintiff by refusing to give him

a 1984 merit increase.

Plaintiff alleges that this Court's order was vague.

However, the order clearly explained that plaintiff's

cause of action was limited to acts of discrimination

occurring 300 days prior to the filing of the charge of

discrimination. Therefore, the Court, without

a

Pe EI Se PW -. wet

A 36

objection from defendants, will consider whether

defendants discriminated against plaintiff from

February, 1984 until the present.

Without opposition from plaintiff, defendants

contend that a Title VII action can only be maintained

against a state government official in his official

capacity. Richey, Manual on Unemployment

Discrimination Law & Civil Rights Actions in the

Federal Courts, A-7(A) (1984). However, plaintiff may

maintain a cause of action against state entities

pursuant to Title VII. Fitzpatrick v. Bitzer, 427 U.S.

445, 457 (1976). Furthermore, Title VII defines an

employer as including any agent of any employer. 42

U.S.C. § 2000e(b) (1981). Sumervisory employees may

be agents of the employer. Kelly v. Richland School

District 2, 463 F. Supp. 216, 218 (D.S.C. 1978).

Therefore, plaintiff may maintain this action against

the named defendants in their official and not

individual capacity.

Title VII entitles a prevailing plaintiff to equitable

relief. 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5(g) (1981). Defendants

contend that, since a prevailing plaintiff is only

entitied to equitable relief including back pay, plaintiff

is not entitled to compensatory or punitive damages.

Wilkins v. Walters, 571 F. Supp. 474, 476 (N.D. Ohio

1983). This Court determines that, pursuant to Title

VII, plaintiff is not entitled to compensatory or

punitive damages.

Pursuant to this Court's February 21, 1987 order,

plaintiff's only remaining charge of discrimination

was the decision of defendants regarding the 1984

merit increase. Also, plaintiff alleges that three

eee

| A 37

actions taken by defendant constituted retaliatory

conduct. The retaliatory conduct includes

defendants’ decision to change plaintiff's office,

| defendant Driscoll's official reprimand of plaintiff,

| and defendants’ handling of plaintiff's request for a

leave of absence.

Proof of a charge of discrimination and a claim of

retaliation under Title VII is governed by McDonnell

' Douglas Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S. 792 (1983) and its

| progeny. McDonnell requires that the plaintiff

establish a prima facie case. Although this burden is

easily met, the plaintiff must affirmatively establish

the existence of each element of a prima facie case.

Texas Department of Community Affairs v. Burdine,

450 U.S. 248, 253 (1981). Once the plaintiff has

established a prima facie case, an inference of

discrimination is created, and the burden of going

forward shifts to the defendants "to articulate some

legitimate non-discriminatory reason for the

employees rejection." McDonnell, 411 U.S. at 802. If

the defendant meets this burden of going forward, the

burden of going forward shifts back to the plaintiff to

demonstrate “that the legitimate reasons offered by

. the defendant were not true reasons, but were a

pretext for discrimination.” Id. at 804. The ultimate

burden of proving that the defendant intentionally

discriminated or retaliated against the plaintiff

remains with the plaintiff at all times. Burdine, 450

U.S. at 253.

To establish a prima facie case of retaliation, the

plaintiff must establish:

A 38

(1) that plaintiff engaged in an activity protected by

Title VII; (2) that the exercise of his civil rights

was known by the defendant; (3) that, thereafter,

the defendant took an employment action adverse

to the plaintiff; and (4) that there was a causal

connection between the protected activity and the

adverse employment action.

Wrenn v. Gould, 808 F.2d 493, 500 (6th Cir. 1987).

Plaintiff does not dispute defendant's contention

regarding defendant's decision to move plaintiff's

office and defendant's handling of plaintiff's request

for a leave of absence. As Vezner's affidavit states,

Vezner was unaware that plaintiff filed a charge of

discrimination when Venzer made the decision to

change plaintiff's office. Also, defendants’ handling

of plaintiff's request for leave of absence was prior to

plaintiff's filing the charge of discrimination.

Therefore, since defendants were not aware that

plaintiff had exercised his civil rights, plaintiff has

failed to establish a genuine issue of fact regarding

these two claims of retaliatory conduct. Therefore,

defendants are entitled to judgment as a matter of law

of these claims.

The Court has considered plaintiff's charge of

retaliatory conduct regarding Driscoll's decision to

officially reprimand plaintiff. When Driscoll sent the

letter to plaintiff, plaintiff was engaged in a protected

activity and plaintiff's exercise of these rights was

known to defendants. Since Driscoll officially

reprimanded plaintiff, defendant did take an

employment action adverse to plaintiff. A genuine

issue Of material fact exists regarding the causal

connection between the protected activity and the

A 39

employment action. The Court has considered

defendants’ contentions that Driscoll's letter was the

logical consequence of plaintiff's own action.

Whether or not Driscoll had legitimate reasons for

sending the letter or the letter was sent in retaliation

for plaintiff instituting legal proceedings against the

University creates a genuine issue of material fact.

Therefore, defendants are not entitled to judgment

on this claim.

Plaintiff's remaining allegation of discrimination

is based on not receiving a 1984 merit increase.

Plaintiff contends that defendants' conduct in

denying plaintiff a merit increase constituted

unlawful discrimination against plaintiff on the basis

of his religion and national origin. Two theories of

employment discrimination exist under Title VII,

disparate treatment and disparate impact cases. A

disparate treatment case is one in which an employee

alleges that he has been treated less favorably than his

peers because of his race, sex, religion or national

origin. Burdine, 450 U.S. at 256. In a case alleging

disparate treatment, the plaintiff must prove

differences in treatment and a discriminatory motive

on the part of the employer. Underwood v. Jefferson

Memorial Hospital, 639 F.2d 455, 457 (8th Cir. 1981). A

disparate impact case is one in which the plaintiff

alleges that facially neutral tests or employment

criteria impact upon a protected group more harshly

than other groups, and that this practice is not

justified by legitimate, nondiscriminatory reasons. A

party relying on both theories is not required to elect

between the theories before, during or after the trial.

A 40

Rowe v. Cleveland Pneumatic Co., Numerical

Control Inc., 690 F.2d 88, 92 (6th Cir. 1982).

A plaintiff alleging that his employer treated him

less fairly than others because of his race, color,

religion, sex or natioal origin has articulated a claim

based on disparate treatment. Chrisner v. Complete

Auto Transit Co., Inc., 645 F.2d 1251, 1257 (6th Cir.

1981). Since plaintiff is contending that he received a

low 1984 merit increase in comparison with other

similarly situated faculty members, plaintiff has

alleged a cause of action under the disparate

treatment theory. However, under the disparate

impact theory, plaintiff may establish theory.

However, under the disparate impact theory, plaintiff

may establish that the criteria used to determine the

1984 merit increase, although facially neutral,

impacted upon individuals of plaintiff's religion or

national origin more harshly than members of other

groups. Construing the materials submitted under

Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(e)! in the light most favorable to the

plaintiff, this Court determines that, for the purpose

of this motion only and defendants concede, plaintiff

has established a prima facie case.

Defendants contend that even if plaintiff does

establish a prima facie case, the decision not to give

plaintiff a merit increase for 1984 was based on

legitimate, nondiscriminatory reasons. The Court

1 This Court has considered all materials submitted in the

proceeding, pursuant ot the mandates of Fed. R. Civ. P. 56.

Therefore, in deciding the present motion, this Court has

considered only those portions of the record which are properly

before the Court.

A 41

has reviewed the depositions and affidavits of the

parties. Plaintiff contends that the defendants

subjected him to racial slurs and harassment.

According to the plaintiff, the decision of defendants

not to give plaintiff a merit increase was based on

defendants’ unlawful discrimination against plaintiff.

Defendants reply to plaintiff's allegation of

harassment and racial slurs by contending that these

incidents were not intended as harassment or racial

slurs.

The Court has considered Kumar v. Board of

Trustees, University of Mass., 774 F.2d 1 (1st Cir. 1985),

cert. denied, 475 U.S. 1097 (1986). However, Kumar is

procedurally distinguishable from the present

proceeding. Notwithstanding this difference, this

Court realizes that it cannot become a super

reviewing board for university decision. Id. at 12,

(Campbell, C. J., concurring). But the University is

not permitted to make decisions based on an

employee's religion or national origin.

The Supreme Court has recently held that a

motion for summary judgment requires an inquiry to

determine whether "there are any genuine issues that

properly can be resolved only by a trier of fact because

they may reasonably be resolved in favor of either

party.” Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 106 S. Ct.

2505, 2511 (1986). In determining whether

defendants’ reasons for denying plaintiff a merit

increase were legitimate or pretextual, this Court

must evaluate the credibility of the respective parties

and resolve factual disputes. Upon the record

presently before this Court, the Court, as the trier of

A 42

fact, may resolve these factual disputes in favor of

either party. Therefore, defendants’ motion for

summary judgment as to plaintiff's claim of

discrimination is not well taken.

THEREFORE, for the foregoing reasons, good

cause appearing, it is ORDERED that defendants’

motion for summary be, and hereby is, GRANTED in

part and DENIED in part.

United States District Judge

ee Oe Eo ees Gee See

RT i ee Ae

:

:

‘

A 43

APPENDIX E

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FORK THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

WESTERN DIVISION

ABID AL-MARAYATI, _)

) Case No. C 85-7497

Plaintiff, )

)

V. ) MEMORANDUM

) AND ORDER

UNIVERSITY OF )

TOLEDO, et al., )

)

Defendants, )

(Filed December 31, 1987)

POTTER, J.:

This matter is before the Court on plaintiff's

motion for leave to amend the complaint,

defendants’ opposition, and plaintiff's reply. This

action was filed in May, 1985. The complaint set forth

two causes of action under Title VII of the Civil

Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S. C. § 2000e. Defendants’

filed a motion to dismiss contending that all of the

allegedly discriminatory acts except one were time

barred. On February 21, 1986, the Court granted

defendants’ motion to dismiss. This is plaintiff's

second motion to amend. Plaintiff's first motion to

amend sought to amend the complaint to include a

cause of action under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 and to add a

jury demand. The Court denied plaintiff's first

motion to amend.

A 44

Plaintiff's second motion to amend seeks to add

claims against the defendants under 42 U.S.C. § 1981

and 42 U.S.C. § 1985, alleging that "the denial of

employment benefits and opportunities was the

result of actions and a conspiracy to intentionally

deny him benefits because of his natioal origin."

Plaintiff's motion and memorandum for leave to file

amended complaint at 2. Plaintiff claims that his

cause of action for intentional employment

discrimination was not recognized until the Supreme

Court's decision of Saint Francis College v. Al-

Khazraji, 407 S. Ct. 2022, reh’g denied, 107 S. Ct. 3244

(1987). Therefore, since this cause of action was not

available to plaintiff when he filed his complaint,

plaintiff maintains that the motion to amend should

be granted.

Defendants contend that this motion is untimely

because the Supreme Court's decision was issued

within a few days of plaintiff's first motion to amend.

Therefore, defendants contend that plaintiff could

have incorporated this argument into the first

motion to amend. Also, defendants maintain that

the Sixth Circuit has recognized a cause of action for

discrimination on the basis of national origin under

42 U.S.C. § 1981 and § 1985. Marlowe v. Fisher Body,

489 F.2d 1057, 1060 (6th Cir. 1973).

Although plaintiff alleged a cause of action for

discrimination based on national origin in Marlowe,

the court did not expressly recognize this type of

discrimination as a valid cause of action under 42

U.S.C. § 1981 and § 1985. id. at 1063. In this present

proceeding, plaintiff should have been cognizant of

a

A 45

his rights shortly after the Supreme Court ruling in

Al-Khazraji.. However, even though a motion to

amend was pending, plaintiff did not attempt to

include a cause of action under 42 U.S.C. § 1981 until

six months after the Supreme Court decision.

Fed. R. Civ. P. 15 (a) provides:

[a] party may amend the party's pleading once as a

matter of course at any time before a responsive

pleading is served or, if the pleading is one to

which no responsive pleading is permitted and

the action has not been placed upon the trial

calender, the party may so amend it at any time

) within 20 days after it is served. Otherwise a party

) may amend the party's pleading only by leave of

court or by written consent of the adverse party;

| and leave shall be freely given when justice so

requires.

Fed. R. Civ. P. 15(a). The granting or denying of a

motion for leave to file an amended complaint is

committed to the discretion of the Court. Zenith

Radio Corp. v. Hazeltime Research, Inc., 401 U.S. 321,

330 (1971). If the non-moving party will be prejudiced

by the amended complaint, the motion should be

denied. Id. at 331. Also, if an amended complaint

could not withstand a motion to dismiss under Fed.

R. Civ. P. 12, plaintiff's motion to amend the

complaint should be denied. Neighborhood

Development v. Advisory Council on Historic

Preservation, Dept. of Housing & Urban

Development, 632 F.2d 21, 23 (6th Cir. 1980).

. Therefore, if, as a result of permitting the plaintiff

to amend the complaint, defendants will have

insufficient time to conduct discovery, will be

unfairly surprised by the change in theories or in

heel

a NN ee

A 46

anyway be unable to effectively rebut plaintiff's new

theory at trial, defendants will have demonstrated

that the amendment adversely affected their posture

in this litigation. Roth Steel Products v. Sharon Steel

Corp., 705 F.2d 134, 155 (6th Cir. 1983). However,

"(t]he fact that the defendants might have to

undertake some discovery proceedings and have time

within which to answer is not sufficient reason for

denial of the motion.” Farrell v. Hollingsworth, 43

F.R.D. 362, (D.S.C. 1968).

Furthermore, the request to amend the complaint

to add civil rights claims should not be denied on the

grounds of timeliness where no prejudice is alleged

by the defendants. Boileau v. Bethlehem Steel Corp.,

730 F.2d 929, 938 (3d Cir.) cert. denied, 469 U.S. 871

(1984). But this issue of timeliness must be

considered in conjunction with Fed. R. Civ. P. 1's

express concern for the "just, speedy and inexpensive

determination of every action.” Fed. R. Civ. P.1.

This matter is in the final stages of trial

preparation.! Furthermore, the Court has established

December 1, 1987 as a motion practice deadline. If the

plaintiff is permitted to amend, defendants are

prejudiced by being denied an opportunity to

adequately prepare and file any motions regarding

these added causes of action. Therefore, plaintiff's

motion is not well taken.

THEREFORE, for the foregoing reasons, good

cause appearing, it is ORDERED that plaintiff's

motion to amend be, and hereby is, DENIED.

1 February 16, 1988 is the fourth trial date assigned to this case.

——eoOe

A 47

United States District Judge

A 48

APPENDIX F

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

WESTERN DIVISION

ABID AL-MARAYATI, _ )

) Case No. C 85-7497

Plaintiff, )

) MEMORANDUM

V. ) AND ORDER

)

UNIVERSITY OF )

TOLEDO, et al., )

)

Defendants, )

(Field August 5, 1987)

POTTER, J.:

This matter is before the Court on plaintiff's

motion for leave to amend the complaint and

defendants’ opposition. This action was filed in May,

1985. The complaint set forth two causes of action

under Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42

U.S.C. § 2000e. Defendants filed a motion to dismiss

contending that all of the allegedly discriminatory

acts except one were time-barred. On February 21,

1986, the Court granted defendants' motion to

dismiss.

The amended complaint alleges that the same acts

described in the complaint are now violations of 42

U.S.C. § 1983, thereby substituting 42 U.S.C. § 1983 for

42 U.S.C. § 2000e as the theory of liability. Plaintiff

makes one new factual allegation in the amended

aia

A 49

complaint, seeks to add the present president of the

University as a new party, names all defendants in

their individual and official capacities, seeks to add a

jury demand and predicates his prayer for attorney's

fees on 42 U.S.C. § 1988.

Plaintiff contends that the change of attorneys,

| after plaintiff's original counsel withdrew, is

sufficient justification for allowing plaintiff to amend

| the complaint to Fed. R. Civ. P. 15(a). Defendants

contend tnat the motion for leave to amend the

complaint should be denied because it wouid be futile

and unfair to allow the filing of the proposed

amendment.

Fed. R. Civ. P. 15(a) provides:

[a] party may amend the party's pleading once as a

matter of course at any time before a responsive

pleading is served or, if the pleading is one to

which no responsive pleading is permitted and

the action has not been placed upon the trial

calender, the party may so amend it at any time -

within 20 days after it is served. Otherwise a party

may amend the party's pleading only by leave of

court of by written consent of the adverse party;

and leave shall be freely given when justice so

requires.

Fed. R. Civ. P. 15(a). The granting or denying of a

motion for leave to file an amended complaint is

committed to the discretion of the Court. Zenith

Radio Corp. v. Hazeltine Research, Inc., 401 U.S. 321,

330 (1971). If the non-moving party will be prejudiced

by the amended complaint, the motion should be

denied. Id. at 331. Also, if an amended complaint

could not withstand a motion to dismiss under Fed.

R. Civ. P. 12, plaintiff's motion to amend the

A 50

complaint should be denied. Neighborhood

Development v. Advisory Council on Historic

Preservation, Dept. of Housing & Urban

Development, 632 F.2d 21, 23 (6th Cir. 1980).

Therefore, if, as a result of permitting the plaintiff

to amend the complaint, defendant will have an

insufficient time to conduct discovery, will be

unfairly surprised by the change in theories or in

anyway be unable to effectively rebut plaintiff's new

theory at trial, defendant will have demonstrated that

the amendment adversely affected their posture in

this litigation. Roth Steel Products v. Sharon Steel

Corp., 705 F.2d 134, 155 (6th Cir. 1983). However,

"(t]he fact that the defendants might have to

undertake some discovery proceedings and have time

within which to answer is not sufficient reason for

denial of the motion." Farrell v. Hollingsworth, 43

F.R.D. 362, 363 (D.S.C. 1968).

Defendants contend that by allowing plaintiff to

recast his complaint as a § 1983 actio, defendants

would be unfairly prejudiced, it would defeat the

reasonable expectations of the defendants and would

require additional expensive’ discovery.

Furthermore, defendants contend that the

amendment is frivolous and therefore plaintiff is not

acting in good faith in filing this motion for leave to

amend. On February 21, 1986, this Court issued an

order dismissing all of plaintiff's allegations which

occurred outside the 300 day filing period under Title

VII. The only new factual allegation in the amended

complaint occurred no later than 1982. Therefore,

under the precedent of Wilson v. Garcia, 471 U.S. 261

|

A 51

(1985), and Mulligan v. Hazzard, 777 F.2d 340 (6th Cir.

1985), cert. denied, 106 S. Ct. 2902 (1986), this new

allegation contained in paragraph 10 of the amended

complaint is not cognizable in this proceeding.

Furthermore, the eleventh amendment

establishes an absolute bar to a suit for monetary

damages against the state unless the state has

; consented to be sued. Alabama v. Pugh, 428 U.S. 781

(1978). Under the precedent established by the Sixth

Circuit and this Court, the University of Toledo and

the individual defendants in their official capacities

are entitled to immunity under the eleventh

) amendment as an alter ego or arm of the state. Hall

| v. Medical College of Ohio, 742 F.2d 299 (6th Cir.

| 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1113 (1985); Crenshaw v.

University of Toledo, No. C 84-8067 (N.D. Ohio

January 28, 1986). Therefore, the addition of the new

allegation of paragraph 10 and the allegations against

the University and the individual defendants in their

official capacities would not withstand a motion to

dismiss pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(b)(6).

The Court determines that pursuant to the criteria

of Fed. R. Civ. P. 15(a) that, although any prejudice to

defendants may be slight, the additional allegations of

the proposed amended complaint are futile, thereby

rendering plaintiff's motion for leave to amend the

complaint unnecessary. Since the cases relied on by

plaintiff involve the addition of counts to the

complaint, not the deletion of existing theories of

liability, these cases are unpersuasive.

THEREFORE, for the foregoing reasons, good

cause appearing, it is ORDERED that plaintiff's

A 52

motion for leave to file an amended complaint be,

and hereby is, DENIED and the amended complaint

be, and hereby is, STRICKEN.

United States District Judge

A 53

APPENDIX G

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

WESTERN DIVISION

ABID AL-MARAYATI, _ )

) Case No. C 85-7497

Plaintiff, )

) ME NDUM

V. ) AND ORDER

)

UNIVERSITY OF ) 7

TOLEDO, et al., )

)

Defendants, )

(Filed February 21, 1986)

POTTER, J.:

This cause came on to be heard on defendants'

joint motion to dismiss and motion for stay.

Defendants acknowledge that the motion to stay is

moot and for this reason the motion to stay will be

denied.

Defendants’ motion to dismiss is directed to

certain acts which fall outside the 300 day filing

period. Plaintiff's complaint is in very general terms

as to when the discrete acts of discrimination

occurred. Defendants refer to the charge affidavit and

assert that except for the merit increase act of 1984, all

other discrete acts fall outside the 300 day filing

period.

Plaintiff asserts that the other acts may be

"background" to prove intent and that there is a

A 54

continuing violation. See United Air Lines, Inc. v.

Evans, 431 U.S. 553 (1977).

The Court first discusses the issue of continuing

violation. The recent case of Sawchik v. E. I. DuPont

De Nemours & Co., No. 84-3783 (6th Cir. Feb. 13,

1986), is helpful. On page 6 the court said the

following:

Plaintiff's attempt to fix July 1, 1981 as the date that

the 300-day time starts to run won't stand scrutiny.

This was simply the date his retirement became

effective. There is no suggestion, nor could there

be, that any discriminatory act occurred on that

date. It is now settled that the 300 day time period

begins to run in a discrimination case when the

individual involved became aware of the

discriminatory act and not when the consequences

are felt. Delaware State College v. Ricks, 449 U.S.

250, 258 (1980). Ricks also teaches that "[mJere

continuity of employment, without more, is

insufficient to prolong the life of a cause of action

for employment discrimination.” Id. at 257.

"A plaintiff may not circumvent Title VII's

stringent time limits merely by characterizing a

completed act of discrimination as a ‘continuing

violation.’ Delaware State College v. Ricks, 449 U.S.

250, 257 (1980)." Richey, Manual on Employment

Discrimination Law and Civil Rights Actions in the

Federal Courts (1984) at p. A-18.

See also Chardon v. Fernandez, 454 U.S. 6 (1981).

It is the order of the Court that all acts of

discrimination which occurred outside the 300 day

filing period are, therefore, time-barred. Pursuant to

Evens, such acts may be relevant as background.

A55

Since the Court has ruled that prior acts may be

background, the Court instructs counsel, pursuant to

Local Civil Rule 3.04, at attempt to resolve their

differences concerning discovery.

THEREFORE, for the foregoing reasons, good

cause appearing, it is ORDERED that defendants’

motion to stay be, and hereby is, DENIED; and it is

FURTHER ORDERED that defendants’ motion to

dismiss be, and hereby is, GRANTED; and it is

FURTHER ORDERED that plaintiff's motion to

compel be, and hereby is, DENIED.

United States District Judge

A 56

APPENDIX H

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

ABID AL-MARAYATI,

Case No. 88-3643

ORDER

Plaintiff-Appellant,

UNIVERSITY OF

)

)

)

)

V. )

)

)

TOLEDO, et al., )

)

Defendants-Appellees )

(Filed September 22, 1989)

BEFORE: MARTIN, WELLFORD, and MILBURN,

Circuit Judges.

Upon consideration of the petition for rehearing

filed herein by the appellant, the Court concludes that

all of the questions addressed in the petition for

rehearing were fully considered upon the original

submission and decision of this case.

It is THEREFORE ORDERED that the petition for

rehearing be, and it hereby is, DENIED.

ENTERED BY ORDER OF THE COURT

Leonard Green, Clerk

A 57

APPENDIX I

Qhio Revised Code 2305.09 Four years; certain torts

An action for any of the following causes shall be

brought within four years after the cause thereof

accrued:

(A) For trespassing upon real property;

(B) For the recovery of personal property, or for

taking or detaining it;

(C) For relief on the ground of fraud;

(D) For an injury to the rights of the plaintiff not

arising on contract nor enumerated in sections

2305.10 to 2305.12, inclusive, 2305.14 and 1304.29 of the

Revised Code.

If the action is for trespassing under ground in

injury to mines, or for the wrongful taking of

personal property, the causes thereof shall not accrue

until the wrongdoer is discovered; nor, if it is for

fraud, until the fraud is discovered.

HISTORY: 129 v 13, eff. 7-1-62

1953 H 1; GC 11224

Ohio Revised Code 2305.10 Bodily injury or injury to

personal property; when certain causes of actio arise

An action for bodily injury or injuring personal

property shall be brought within two years after the

cause thereof arose.

For purposes of this section, a cause of action for

bodily injury caused by exposure to asbestos or to

A 58

chromium in any of its chemical forms arises upon

the date on which the plaintiff is informed by

competent medical authority that he has been injured

by such exposure, or upon the date on which, by the

exercise of reasonable diligence, he should have

become aware that he had been injured by the

exposure, whichever date occurs first.

For purposes of this section, a cause of action for

bodily injury incurred by a veteran through exposure

to chemical defoliants or herbicides or other causative

agents, including agent orange, arises upon the date

on which the plaintiff is informed by competent

medical authority that he has been injured by such

exposure.

As used in this section, "agent orange,” "causative

agent,” and "veteran" have the same meanings as in

section 5903.21 of the Revised Code.

For purposes of this section, a cause of action for

bodily injury which may be caused by exposure to

diethlystibestrol or other nonsteroidal synthetic

estrogens, including exposure before birth, arises

upon the date on which the plaintiff learng from a

licensed physician that he has an injury which may

be related to such exposure, or upon the date on

which by the exercise of reasonable diligence he

should have become aware that he has an injury

which may be related to such exposure, whichever

date occurs first.

ww

HISTORY: 1984 H 72, eff. 5-31-84

1982 S 406; 1980 H 716; 1953 H 1; GC 11224-1

Qhio Revised Code 4112.01 Definitions

ee

A 59

(A) As used in sections 4112.01 to 4112.11 of the

Revised Code: ...

(2) “Employer” includes the state, or any political

or civil subdivision thereof, any person employing

four or more persons within the state, and any person

acting in the interest of any employer, directly or

indirectly.

Qhio Revised Code 4112.99 Civil Action for

violations

Whoever violates this chapter is subject to a civil

action for damages, injunctive relief, or any other

appropriate relief.

HISTORY: 1987 H 5, EFF. 9-28-87

1976 S 162; 1969 H 432; 128 V 12

42 USC § 1983

Ohio Revised Code Section 1983. Civil action for

deprivation of rights

Every person who, under color of any statute,

ordinance, regulation, custom, or usage, of any State

or Territory or the District of Columbia, subjects, or

causes to be subjected, any citizen of the United States

or other person within the jurisdiction thereof to the

deprivation of any rights, privileges, or immunities

secured by the Constitution and laws, shall be liable to

A 60

the party injured in an action at law, suit in equity, or

other proper proceeding for redress. For the purposes

of this section, any Act of Congress applicable

exclusively to the District of Columbia shall be

considered to be a statute of the District of Columbia.

(R.S. § 1989; Dec. 29, 1979, P. L. 96-170, § 1, 93 Stat.

1284.)

42 USC § 2000(e)-3(a)

§ 2000e-3. Other unlawful employment practices

(a) Discrimination for making charges, testifying,

assisting, or participating in enforcement proceedings.

It shall be an unlawful employment practice for an

employer to discriminate against any of his

employees or applicants for employment, for an

employment agency, or joing labor-management

committee controlling apprenticeship or other

training or retraining, including on-the-job training

programs, to discriminate against any individual, or

for a labor organization to discriminate against any

member thereof or application for membership,

because he has opposed any practice made an

unlawful employment practice by this title [42 USCS

§§ 2000e-2000e-17], or because he has made a charge,

testified, assisted, or participated in any manner in an

investigation, proceeding, or hearing under this title

[42 USCS §§ 2000e-2000e-17].

A 61

APPENDIX J

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

WESTERN DIVISION

ABID AL-MARAYATI,

Case No. C 85-7497

Plaintiff

_. COMPLAINT

UNIVERSITY OF

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

TOLEDO, )

)

and )

)

GLEN DRISCOLL, )

)

and )

)

KARL VEZNER, )

)

and )

)

SHARON E. DOERNER, )

)

)

Defendants,

1. Jurisdiction for this action is based upon

Section 706 of Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964,

42 USC 2000e-5. In the alternative jurisdiction is

based upon 28 USC 1331 and 2201.

2. The Plaintiff is a citizen of the State of Ohio,

and a resident of Toledo, Lucas County, Ohio. His

A 62

country of national origin is Iraq and he is a Muslim

in his religious beliefs.

3. The Defendant, University of Toledo

(hereafter University) is a part of the Ohio State

University System and has been the Plaintiff's

employer since 1968.

4. The Defendant, Glen Driscoll is the President

of the University and is charged by law and by the

Board of the Trustees of the University with the

operation and management of the University.

5. The Defendant, Karl Vezner is an employee of

the University and is currently the Chairman of the

Political Science Department. The Defendant Sharon

Doerner is a member of the Political Science

Department and was its former Chairman.

FIRST CAUSE OF ACTION

6. In 1972 Plaintiff was promoted by the

University to the rank of full professor in the

Department of Political Science.

7. Since 1975 the Plaintiff has been subjected to

an ongoing campaign of harassment affecting the

terms and conditions of his employment because of

Plaintiff's national origin and/or religious beliefs.

8. The Defendants have intentionally

discriminated against the Plaintiff because of his

national origin and/or religious beliefs by:

a. giving Plaintiff poor teaching evaluations

while knowing that such evaluations were false;

A 63

b. giving Plaintiff poor merit salary

increases;

c. inhibiting and punishing Plaintiff for

expressing his beliefs concerning matters effecting

the University and the Political Science

Department;

d. conducting a campaign of harassment

with a view towards forcing Plaintiff t to resign his

tenured faculty position.

9. Specific examples of the Defendants’

discrimination include, but are not limited to the

following incidents:

a. The year the Plaintiff won the

University’s "Outstanding Teacher Award" is the

same year Plaintiff was given a poor salary merit

increase, substantially less than the average in the

: department, because the Defendant was evaluated

by his department as a "poor teacher";

b. Another member of the Political Science

Department was hired the same year as Plaintiff.

Although Plaintiff has the same seniority at the

University of Toledo as this individual. The other

non-Muslim non-Iraqi faculty member, now has a

salary significantly higher than Plaintiff which is -

solely the result of the unlawful discrimination

which Plaintiff is suffering.

Se ta ets yi UR Sh srt tt da te lh 5.3

10. The actions of the Defendants as set out above

are in violation of Civil Rights Act of 1964, as

amended.

A 64

11. On or about April 19, 1985, after having filed

the charge of discrimination with the Ohio Civil

Rights Commission, as required by law, Plaintiff

received a "right to sue” letter from the Equal

Employment Opportunity Commission, a copy of

which is attached as Exhibit A.

SECOND CAUSE OF ACTION

12. After filing the charge of discrimination with

the Ohio Civil Rights Commission as required by law,

the Defendants retaliated against the Plaintiff. The

retaliatory conduct of the Defendants included:

a. Moving Plaintiff from the office that be

occupied for over fifteen years to a smaller and

less desirable office, and moving into Plaintiff's

old office a non-Iragi, Non-Muslin, faculty

member with less seniority than Plaintiff;

b. Reprimanding Plaintiff for exercising his

first amendment right of free speech when

Plaintiff commented on the qualifications of

Sharon E. Doerner, who was being considered for

promotion in the Political Science Department;

c. By refusing to inform Plaintiff whether he

could take a leave of absence for 1984-1985 after

Plaintiff filed an application pursuant to the

University's official rules and regulations.

13. The actions of the Defendant as set out above

are in violation of Section 704 (a) of the Civil Rights

Act of 1964, as amended.

A 65

WHEREOF, Plaintiff respectfully prays this Court

to advance this case on the docket, order a speedy

hearing at the earliest practicable date, cause this case

to be in every way expedited, and upon such hearing

to:

a. Declare that the Plaintiff has suffered from

the acts of discrimination at the hands of the

Defendants;

b. Award Plaintiff the back pay he should

have earned together with the related benefits and

interest had he not been discriminated against by

the Defendants;

c. Award Plaintiff compensatory and

punitive damages;

RE LE ARR. Ne Re IB i Rte

d. Award Plaintiff the costs of this action,

including an award of reasonable attorney fees and

such an other and further relief as may be just and

proper.

ee ere tone

PRE at ON OI ek Gl Sins B ey

| Michael N. Vaporis

; Dennis P. Strong

. BAYFORD, SENERIUS, VAPORIS & STRONG

Suite 238

4334 West Central Avenue

Toledo, Ohio 43615

(419) 537-8631

A 66

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

WESTERN DIVISION

ABID AL-MARAYATI, _ )

) Case No. C 85-7497

Plaintiff, )

) AMENDED

V. ) COMPLAINT AND

) TURY DEMAND

UNIVERSITY OF )

TOLEDO and GLEN )

DRISCOLL, KARL )

VEZNER, SHARRON _ )

E. DOERNER and JAMES )

D. McCOMAS, )

Individually and in their )

Official Capacities, )

Jointly and Severeally, )

)

Defendants, )

AMENDED COMPLAINT

NOW COMES PLAINTIFF, by and through his

attorneys, Lawrence D. Hochman and Jeffrey Lydy,

and for his Amended Complaint states as follows:

* I - VIOLATION OF 42 198

1. Jurisdiction is based upon 28 USC 1331 and

1343.

2. The Plaintiff is a citizen of the State of Ohio,

and a resident of Toledo, Lucas County, Ohio. His

A 67

country of national origin is Iraq and he is a Muslim

in his religious beliefs.

— 3. The Defendant, University of Toledo

(hereafter University) is a part of the Ohio State

University System and has been the Plaintiff's

employer since 1968.

4. The Defendant, Glen Driscoll was the

President of the University and was charged by law

i and by the Board of the Trustees of the University

. with the operation and management of the

University.

5. The Defendant, Karl Vezner is an employee of

the University and is currently the Chairman of the

Political Science Department. The Defendant

Sharron Doerner is a member of the Political Science

Department and was its former Chairman. The

Defendant James E. McComas is the current President

of the University.

6. In 1972 Plaintiff was promoted by the

University to the rank of full professor in the

Department of Political Science.

7. Since 1975 the Plaintiff has been subjected to

an ongoing campaign of harrassment affecting the

terms and conditions of his employment because of

Plaintiff's national origin and/or religious beliefs.

|

;

A 68

8. The Defendants have _ intentionally

discriminated against the Plaintiff because of his

national origin and/or religious beliefs by:

a. giving Plaintiff poor teaching evaluations

while knowing that such evaluatios were false;

b. giving Plaintiff poor merit salary

increases;

c. inhibiting and punishing Plaintiff for

expressing his beliefs concerning matters effecting

the University and the Political Science

Department;

d. conducting a campaign of harrassment

with a view towards forcing Plaintiff to resign his -

tenured faculty position.

9. Specific examples of the Defendants'

discrimination include, but are not limited to the

following incidents:

a. The year the Plaintiff won the

University's "Outstanding Teacher Award" is the

same year Plaintiff was given a poor salary merit

increase, substantially less than the average in the

department, because the Defendant was evaluated

by his department as a "poor teacher";

b. Another member of the Political Science

Department was hired the same year as Plaintiff.

Although Plaintiff has the same seniority at the

University of Toledo as this individual. The other

non-Muslim non-Iraqi faculty member, now has a

salary significantly higher than Plaintiff which is

wot

A 69

solely the result of the unlawful discrimination

which Plaintiff is suffering.

10. When Plaintiff, at the request of a student,

posted a summary of Baghdad, Iraq weather for a

particular year, Defendant Doerner wrote on that

summary the following,

"Yes, but what about freedom of speech, press,

assembly, petition, and religion? And the

freedom to be a non-Marxist?"

and attached same to the mailboxes for all to see, in

an attempt to harass, embarrass and intimidate

Plaintiff and in implicit violation of Plaintiff's

protected liberty rights under the First and

Fourteenth Amendments.

11. On or about April 19, 1985 Plaintiff filed a

charge of discrimination with the Ohio Civil Rights

Commission and Defendants retaliated against

Plaintiff in the following ways, among others:

a. Moving Plaintiff from the office that he

occupied for over fifteen years to a smaller and

less desirable office, and moving into Plaintiff's

old office a non-Iragi, Non-Muslim, faculty

member with less seniority than Plaintiff;

b. _Reprimanding Plaintiff for exercising his

first amendment right of free speech when

Plaintiff commented on the qualifications of

Sharon E. Doerner, who was being considered for

promotion in the Political Science Department;

A 70

_¢ By refusing to inform Plaintiff whether he

could take a leave of absence for 1984-1985 after

Plaintiff filed an application pursuant to the

University's official rules and regulations.

12. By virtues of its acts and omissions

Defendants, acting under color of State law, deprived

Plaintiff of his protected liberty, property and due

process and equal protection interests under the First,

Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to the United

States Constitution in violation of 42 USC 1983.

13. The acts and omissions of Defendants were a

proximate cause of Plaintiff's injuries and damages.

14. Plaintiff suffered loss of income, humiliation,

outrage, indignity, mental distress and the loss of

valued civil rights due to the invidious

discrimination by Defendants.

WHEREFORE PLAINTIFF RESPECTFULLY PRAYS

for the following:

a. Actual, compensatory and punitive damages

in excess of $10,000.00, together with costs.

b. Reasonable attorney fees as per 42 USC 1988.

c. A declaratory judgment that the acts

complained of are unconstitutional.

A71

[URY DEMAND

Plaintiff demands a trial by jury.

Lawrence D. Hochman P28924

24715 Five Mile Rd., Suite 3

Redford, MI 48239

(313) 537-3624

R. Jeffrey Lydy (5256)

LYDY, MOAN & DOUGLAS

4052 Holland-Sylvania Road

Toledo, Ohio 43623

(419) 885-5070

Dated: June 21, 1987

PROOF OF SERVICE

The undersigned certifies that he served this pleading

upon all attorneys of record by placing same in an

evelope, properly addressed and stamped, and

depositing same in a U.S. Mailbox in Ann Arbor, MI

on June 21, 1987.

A 72

November 19, 1984 (Trial Exhibit TT)

MEMORANDUM TO:

Administrative Committe for Academic

Personnel

FROM:

Abid A. Al-Marayati, Professor

Department of Political Science

RE: Nomination for Promotion of Mr. Sharron

E. Doerner

I have received a memorandum from Karl O.

Vezner, Chairman, Department of Political Science,

in which he endorses the recommendation of the

Executive Committee of the Department, that Mr.

Doerner be promoted to the rank of professor.

Professor Vezner's memorandum refers also to the

availability of promotion materials in the main office

of the Department on Monday, November 5. I have

examined the material relating to Professor Doerner

as follows:

1. his curriculum vitae

2. letters from Professors, Bigney, Larson,

Weisfelder and Wilson

3. pamplet, "Indian Votes: Election Returns for

United States Representatives and State Assembly

1922-1958," of which Professor Doerner is co-editor.

Recast 9 2 ei Aaa a A

A 73

This is all of the material that was presented in the

office relating to the nomination, and I assume there

was nothing further to be added to it. There was no

explanation of the rationale of the Executive

Committee and the Chairman in making their

recommendation. I wish to state on the basis of the

materials presented, I find no grounds whatever for

supporting the nomination of Professor Doerner for

professional rank. According to Professor Vezner's

memorandum a departmental meeting to discuss the

recommendation was held on Friday, November 9; I

was unable to attend this meeting, being absent at a

conference.

I cannot support Professor Vezner's

recommendation on behalf of Professor Doerner, for

reasons as follows:

Teaching: In respect of Professor Doerner's

teaching record, I have been shown no written

reports from students. Rather, anonymous oral

attributions are cited purporting to favor Professor

Doerner. In the circumstances, where were are

involved in considering “the highest recognition the

University can bestow upon individual." I find such

citations insubstantial and unacceptable.

I submit that alleged hearsay on the part of

academic personnel whose function in no way relates

to teaching evaluations, is not only unacceptable but

rather dangerous, as being open to abuse, postively or

negatively.

Professor Doerner received the Outstanding

Teaching Award in 1970: it may be assumed that

A 74

reward for this distinction has already been bestowed.

In any case, the Department has not recognized this

Award in merit evaluation. Moreover, there is

provision in the Department for written evaluations

by students: no such evaluation has been produced

for Professor Doerner.

Service: The service attributed to Professor

Doerner has been mainly in the political area within

the University. This is not to say that such service

may not be useful, and that the nominee has not

already been rewarded for it from year to year in

merit pay. It does not compare however, with the

broader areas of service extending to the community

at large.

One letter of support for Professor Doerner's

nomination reports his steady attendance at meetings

of the Conference Committe. However, as a

department chairman, Professor Doerner was but

rarely in his office, and conducted department

business from his residence. In this context , I see

nothing about the service record of the nominee that

in any way would recommend him for promotion,

bearing especially in mind the guidelines for

promotion of the College of Arts and Sciences.

It has been suggested on behalf of Professor

Doerner that he is a defender of faculty rights. This

opinion is altogether at variance with my own

knowledge of Professor Doerner's behavior, where he

grossly violated all canons of civil discourse and

accountability, rendering meaningless the principles

of academic freedom and tenure at The University of

A 75

Toledo. The damage in this context to Department,

College, and University is yet to be assessed.

In addition, he as exhibited discriminating

behavior in racial and political contexts.

Research: Professor Doerner's contribution under

this heading is so negligible as to be of no significance.

He is listed as co-editor of what is essentially a

compilation of statistics in a pamphlet that was

published some twenty-two years ago: no doubt, if

any credit was due for this, it has already been given.

The exhibition of this as grounds for promotion

merely highlights the absence of any other

contribution under this heading. Professor Doerner

has, of course, never proceeded to the Ph.D. degree.

Considering the foregoing, and_bearing in mind

the wording of the Guidelines for faculty promotion,

which says, in part: "The professor should be a

mature faculty member of established teaching ability,

scholarly achievements, and service. Normally, he

should be a recognized, creative, and highly regarded

scholar in his field ...," it is clear that the academic

profile of Mr. Doerner in no way correlates with the

profile of the faculty member who is to be considered

for the "highest recognition the University can

bestow upon an individual."

These representations in writing as an integral

part of the documentation relating to the proposal to

promote Professor Doerner. I do this with the

reasonable expectations that, as my representations

herein are available to anyone concerned with this

matter, any representations made by others, apart

A 76

from those I have listed above, will be made available

to me for my information and possible response.

I draw the attention of everyone concerned that I

may be going on a leave of absence about the end of

this Fall Quarter. Accordingly, if further information

or elaboration is desired, I should be glad to provide

it.

cc: William N. Free, Vice President for Academic

Affairs

Alfred A. Cave, Dean, College of Arts and Sciences

University Committee on Academic Personnel

S.E. Doerner, Associate Professor, Department of

Political Science

Karl O. Vezner, Chairman, Department of

Political Science

Committee on Promotion, Department of Political

Science

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.