Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Feltner v. Fleischhauer

Supreme Court brief1990

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

FILED

J

YOosS NOV 29 1389

ders — BOSEPH F. SPANOL, JR,

CLERK

No. _

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

R Dp Boypsto

( el of Recor

S M. Youn

JO} Jay FOSSET1

STI ss & TR

2100 Central Trust Cent:

201 East Fifth Street

Cincinnati, Ohio 45202-4186

(513) 621-212]

Attorneys for Petitioners

C. Elvin Feltner, Jr..,

Palm Beach Properties, Inc., and

Metropolitan Properties, Ine

PRESS OF BYRON S. ADAMS, WASHINGTON, D.C. (202) 347-8203

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

. Is the requirement of a “pattern” of racketeering ac-

tivity for civil liability under RICO unconstitutionally

vague?

. Must the predicate acts of federal mail fraud and wire

fraud in a civil RICO action be proven by clear and

convincing evidence?

. Must the enterprise in a civil RICO action have an

ascertainable structure distinct from that inherent in

the pattern of racketeering activity?

. Is joint and several liability mandated in a civil RICO

action?

- PARTIES

PETITIONERS

(Defendants-appellants in the United States Court

of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit):

1. C. Elvin Feltner, Jr.

2. Metropolitan Properties, Inc., aka Metropolitan

Films, Inc.?

3. Palm Beach Properties, Inc., aka Palm Beach

Films, Inc.!

RESPONDENTS

(Plaintiffs-appellees in the United States Court of

Appeals for the Sixth Circuit):

1. Natividad Aumentado 12.

2. Ken W. Chambers 13.

3. Gordon M. Earle

4. Harry E. Fleischhauer ie

5. Bruce I. Forrester 1S

6. Donald Forrester 16

7. Kathleen D. Forrester

8. Robert P. Gill 17.

9. Dennis M. Harrington 18.

10. Roger Houston 19.

11. Charles E. Judd

C. T. Lee

Robert Mournighan

and Ona Mournighan

. Charles Mueller

. James Ralph

. REF Productions, Ltd.

(an Ohio limited

partnership)

Joseph Reisinger

Louis B. Updegrove

Danie] E. Wright and

Carol B. Wright

1 Petitioner C. Elvin Feltner, Jr. is the sole shareholder of

Petitioners Metropolitan Properties,

Inc., Palm Beach Proper-

ties, Inc., and of Respondent Krypton Corporation. Neither of

in any other corporation.

the corporate Petitioners own stock

Sup. Ct. Rule 28.1.

iil

(Other Defendants-appellants in the United States

Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit):

1. Robert J. Levine

2. Krypton Corporation”

* Krypton Corporation has no interest in the outcome of this

petition. Sup. Ct. Rule 19.6.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ................ i

PUREED wshiconsesdasaumnsiatnidabesindaaambintaatiidabiedetins ii

po) FP iy: < : _-_ NUrnRRNE NTN nN vi

CE SUNAPOE cakznaccisicccnnsansscquensiacedinthuiateeuminbectn 1

EFA ksncscscacaisnutseeenpasaevbicepieeconsabads 2

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

EOE WR PEIEED sein cdawhcnipttsinsshasienrinicienihitaiiadaamuaneaebasiainiaaamabiinieacitn 2

Statement of the Case

S. TE BEF khan ticectentinnicinns 3

2. POC Te chesisisanisntenininernn 6

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

1. The Requirement of a Pattern of Racketeer-

ing Activity for Civil Liability Under RICO

is Unconstitutionally Vague ...........ccccssseeees 10

2. The Predicate Acts of Mail Fraud and Wire

Fraud In a Civil RICO Action Must be Proven

by Clear and Convincing Evidence ................ 16

3. The Enterprise in a Civil RICO Action Must

Have an Ascertainable Structure Distinct

from That Inherent in the Pattern of Rack-

Cteering ActiVIty .......c.ccccccccscesccsccccasesosccsssece 20

4. Joint and Several Liability is not Mandated

in @ Civil RICO ActiOR .nnccccccccsmscecescensonssenns 23

CONCLUSION ...cccccscccccscccccccccccesccssccososscsosesecssessoccses 28

APPENDIX

Opinion and Supplementary Opinion issued,

respectively, June 27 A 31,

1989 by the United States of

Appeals for the Sixth Circuit .............. 1a,26a

nny Dee ee” ial ewe Ae oe

Order entered August 13, 1987 by the district

court trebling damages as determined by

the jury and awarding plaintiffs their costs

PU IE oho ciecseccnsocortnnccsorsenes

Judgment entered August 13, 1987 by the

district court on foregoing order entered

a

Order entered October 29, 1987 denying

defendants’ post-trial motions ..............

Judgment issued June 27, 1989 by the United

States Court of Appeals for the Sixth

eR ove a a a ae Ce

The Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Or-

ganizations Act, 18 U.S.C. 561961, 1962

SR NECA ee A a

36a

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page

Armco Industrial Credit Corp. v. SLT Warehouse

Co., 782 F.2d 475 (5th Cir. 1986) .................. 17

Baggett v. Bullitt, 377 U.S. 360 (1964) ...............0.. 12

B. F. Hirsch v. Enright Refining Co., Inc., 751 F.2d

GOB GG Cir, FIG sinc sctnsinancetsesnavinccsctserstnersieens 22

Bennett v. Berg, 685 F.2d 1053 (8th Cir. 1982), on

reh'g, 710 F.2d 1861, cert. denied, 464 U.S.

1008 LNT eT et ey Healt aloe re ee 21,22

Bennett v. United States Trust Co., 770 F.2d 308

(2d Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 1058

CIID ainicssacoesnnasietsdcachaeinbabioiacaaadandaamaaanas 22

Bishop v. Corbitt Marine Ways, Inc., 802 F.2d 122

CIA CO. TIRED cesicecacsnsinnsinstiniasncosmmmenionsnaneeinn 22

Bosteve, Ltd. v. Marauszwski, 642 F. Supp. 197

CE DDIN. 1. BBG) cececesscccccncsovescudpsesscevessnssstmpnesase 17

Cramp v. Board of Public Instruction, 368 U.S. 278

(ROBT) .ceccsceccccconcscccconcsessvsstenmnsnnceunseseneaboceisescsess 12

Cullen v. Margiotta, 811 F.2d 698 (2d Cir.), cert.

denied, 483 U.S. 1021 (1987) ............cccseeeeeeeees 17

Erie R.R. v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64 (1938) .......... 18

Federal Communications Comm. v. American

Broadcasting Co., 347 U.S. 284, reh’g denied,

BAT U.S. BOG CIGBE) ncocerccenrceraresesrecrssnccnnessensece 12

Ford Motor Co. v. B & H Supply, Inc., 646 F. Supp.

O75 (D. Mien. 1006). ...cncccccccescessessssoseninncssocence i7

Haroco, Inc. v. American Nat'l Bank & Trust Co.,

747 F.2d 384 (7th Cir. 1984), aff'd sub nom.,

GTB UB. GBC CBBBD ncverecrssssissscscvsivenainens 16,20,22

H. J., Inc. v. Northwestern Bell Telephone Company,

__ U.S. __., 108 S.Ct. 1219, 57 U.S.L.W.

QBE1 CRDBD) scorecesccsereescininn 10,11,12,13,14,15,22

Herman & MacLean v. Huddleston, 459 U.S. 375

(19GB) .....0..00ccccerceccsecesosseseenacossnssssnesnesesssseenenense 19

vii

Table of Authorities Continued

Keyishian v. Board of Regents, 385 U.S. 589

STE bdidcsdietiencenceddaaibeldasisaaeabnseatdannienicerenenamesiinniiionsin 11

KIRO, Inc. v. Commissioner, 51 T.C. 155 (1968) .. 5

Liquid Air Corp. v. Rogers, 834 F.2d 1297 (7th Cir.

1987), cert. denied, __. U.S.___ , 109 S.Ct.

Neen ee cncuucbsasbianen 17

Miller v. Affiliated Financial Corp., 624 F. Supp.

fT Al 27

Northwest Airlines, Inc. v. Transport Workers

es ee ee, Oe ED 26

Owl Constr. Co., Inc. v. Ronald Adams Contractor,

Inc., 642 F. Supp. 475 (E.D. La. 1986) ......... 17

Platsis v. E.F. Hutton & Co., 642 F. Supp. 1277

(W.D. Mich. 1986), aff'd, 829 F.2d 13 (6th Cir.

1987), cert. denied, __ U.S.__., 108 S.Ct.

Neen ee iuicchasete 17

Rae v. Union Bank, 725 F.2d 478 (9th Cir.

ICRC EGE, EERE BSS le tea ee oa ae 22

Santosky v. Kramer, 455 U.S. 745 (1982) ............. 18

Sedima, S. P. R. L. v. Imrezx Co., 473 U.S. 479

RS TR 10,11,16,18,19,24,25

Stainton v. Tarantino, 637 F. Supp. 1051 (E.D. Pa.

GES SERED EMM ae Ors Ree eC 17

Texas Industries, Inc. v. Radcliff Materials, Inc.,

I a chnaneeee 25,26

United States v. Aleman, 609 F.2d 298 (7th Cir.

1979), cert. denied, 455 U.S. 946 (1980) ........ 11

United States v. Bargaric, 706 F.2d 42 (2d Cir.),

cert. denied sub nom., 464 U.S. 840 (1983) ... 21

United States v. Bledsoe, 674 F.2d 647 (8th Cir.),

cert. denied, 459 U.S. 1040 (1982) ......0.0000000... 20

United States v. Campanale, 518 F.2d 352 (9th Cir.

1975), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 1050 (1976) ....... 11

viii

Table of Authorities Continued

Page

United States v. Computer Sciences Corp., 689 F.2d

1181 (4th Cir. 1982), cert. denied, 459 U.S.

RID CIID sscasnisonnninnimendaieanieieelinadsiada tenets 22

United States v. Caporale, 806 F.2d 1487 (11th Cir.

RY A oe | a Ye 27

United States v. Huber, 603 F.2d 387 (2d Cir. 1979),

cert. denied, 445 U.S. 927 (1980) ................... 11

United States v. Local 560, Int'l Brotherhood of

Teamsters, 780 F.2d 267 (3d Cir. 1985), cert.

denied, 476 U.S. 1140 (1986) ................cccecceees 17

United States v. Morelli, 643 F.2d 402 (6th Cir.),

cert. denied, 453 U.S. 912 (1981) ................... ll

United States v. Pantone, 609 F.2d 675 (3d Cir.

BSED cocvescsacinensnitetabaeasatenmeeiaaadeliimaaicn 1]

United States v. Parness, 503 F.2d 430 (2d Cir.

1974), cert. denied, 419 U.S. 1105 (1975) ....... 11

United States v. Riccobene, 709 F.2d 214 (3d Cir.),

cert. denied, 464 U.S. 849 (1983) ................... 20,23

United States v. Swiderski, 593 F.2d 1246 (D.D.C.

1978), cert. denied, 441 U.S. 933 (1979) ........ ll

United States v. Tillett, 763 F.2d 628 (4th Cir.

DODD cecevieccnscecocscscenctccnssnessennensenieneeiiaaibeedenstaes 20

United States v. Turkette, 452 U.S. 576 (1981) ..... 23

United States v. Weinstein, 762 F.2d 1522 (11th Cir.

1985), modified, reh’g denied in part, 778 F.2d

673 (1985), cert. denied, 475 U.S. 1110

(RBI cecercervnsrcsesscsnnscesngptnsincussensbeceineeaiatiainiias 20

Wilcox v. First Interstate Bank, N.A., 815 F.2d 522

Citi Clr. BGT ccsrececessccsssendeescuisabetagiaenaiinan 17,18

Statutes

18 U.S.C. §§1961, 1962 and 19664 ................ 3,6,7,8,14,16

Constitution of the United States

Asnentimnant, VY ccsicscsctsctnsintalie 2,3

Table of Authorities Continued

Page

Other Authorities

Harper, James & Gray, The Law of Torts (1986) . 27

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

|

C. ELVIN FELTNER, JR., et al.,

Petitioners,

Vv.

Harry E. FLEISCHHAUER, et al.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

To the Honorable Chief Justice and Associate Justices

of the Supreme Court of the United States:

The Petitioners, C. Elvin Feltner, Jr., Metropolitan

Properties, Inc., and Palm Beach Properties, Inc., re-

spectfully pray that a writ of certiorari issue to re-

view the judgment of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Sixth Circuit.

OPINICNS BELOW

The June 27, 1989 slip opinion and the August 31,

1989 Supplemental Opinion delivered by the United

States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit are

reported at 879 F.2d 1290 and appear in the Appen-

dix hereto beginning at page la. The order entered

August 13, 1987 by the United States District Court

for the Southern District of Ohio trebling the jury’s

damage awards, the judgment also entered August

13, 1987 by the district court on that order and the

jury’s verdict, and the order entered October 29, 1987

by the district court denying defendants’ post-trial

motions are reproduced in the Appendix hereto be-

ginning at page 28a.

JURISDICTION

Petitioners seek review of the judgment entered

June 27, 1989 by the Sixth Circuit on the slip opinion

issued that day by that court and, also, on the August

31, 1989 Supplemental Opinion issued in response to

the petition for rehearing filed by Respondents in the

Sixth Circuit on July 11, 1989. This petition is filed

within 90 days of the Supplemental Opinion. 28 U.S.C.

§2101(c). This Court has jurisdiction to review said

judgment and Supplemental Opinion pursuant to 28

U.S.C. Section 1254(1). This case involves the follow-

ing provisions of the Constitution of the United States

and federal statutes:*

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

INVOLVED

CONSTITUTION OF THE UNITED STATES,

AMENDMENT V

No person shall be held to answer for a cap-

ital, or otherwise infamous crime, unless on

228 U.S.C. §2403(a) may be applicable. No court has certified

to the Attorney General of the United States the fact that the

constitutionality of the above referenced Act of Congress is

drawn in question in this case. Sup.Ct. Rule 28.4(b).

a presentment or indictment of a Grand Jury,

except in cases arising in the land or naval

forces, or in the Militia, when in actual ser-

vice in time of War or public danger; nor

shall any person be subject for the same off-

ence to be twice put in jeopardy of life or

limb; nor shal] be compelled in any criminal

case to be a witness against himself, nor be

deprived of life, liberty, or property, without

due process of law; nor shall private property

be taken for public use, without just com-

pensation.

THE RACKETEER INFLUENCED AND CORRUPT OR-

GANIZATIONS ACT, 18 U.S.C. Sections 1961, 1962

and 1964.

Found in the Appendix hereto beginning at page

36a.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

1. Statement of the Facts

This controversy arises out of purchases by the first

19 listed Respondents of nontheatrical rights to dis-

tribute 23 films, consisting variously of full-length fea-

ture motion pictures and seria] episodes.

The purchase contracts included the right to dis-

tribute the films on television and cable television, by

videocassette, and for other viewing except in movie

theaters. The purchase contracts were entered into

with either Petitioners Metropolitan Properties, Inc.

or Palm Beach Properties, Inc. in November or De-

cember of 1980 (except for Respondent Donald

Forrester who contracted in late 1981).

Petitioners and the two Respondents-defendants*‘ all

allegedly participated in the marketing and sale of

the film rights to the Respondents-purchasers. Kryp-

ton Corporation was not incorporated until September

28, 1982, but was alleged, nonetheless, to have ac-

tively engaged in the film marketing plan as early as

November of 1980. Petitioner C. Elvin Feltner was

the sole shareholder, a director, and the chairman of

the three defendant corporations. Robert Levine was

an officer of each of the defendant corporations.

In October 1980, Levine mailed a packet of infor-

mation to Respondent Harry E. Fleischhauer, an in-

vestment advisor, on the availability of the films in

question. Levine followed up the mailing by tele-

phoning Fleischhauer. As a result of that conversa-

tion, Levine mailed Fleischhauer a ‘‘full kit’’ detailing

the terms of the film program offered. Fleischhauer

contacted Donald Forrester, his accountant and a cer-

tified public accountant, to review the full kit. Levine

then traveled to Cincinnati in November to discuss

the investment with Fleischhauer and Donald Forres-

ter.

Most Respondents-purchasers received their infor-

mation either directly or indirectly (through Fleis-

chhauer or Forrester) from the full kit, a document

more than 100 pages long and containing material

relating to the tax benefits of the transaction, a list

of film titles available, a purchase and sale agreement,

copies of financing options, a 64-page legal opinion,

and miscellaneous questions, answers and examples.

The transaction was described as a purchase for

both income and tax-advantage purposes to be fi-

‘Robert J. Levine and Krypton Corporation.

ee Le EN Se ee |

nanced through an initial down payment, the balance

expected to be paid with interest from revenues gen-

erated by the buyers’ distribution activity over a ten-

year period. The purchase prices and down payments

varied depending upon the nature of the film. The

standard form contract included a provision for mak-

ing the down payment in installments. Respondents-

purchasers were to take full responsibility for ar-

ranging the distribution of the film. It was repre-

sented that the purchasers could enter into further

distribution contracts providing that the distributor

would retain 40% of the gross revenues without any

reimbursement of expenses.

The full kit explained that a purchaser could obtain

a refinancing agreement with an unaffiliated entity,

Southwest Capital Corporation, in the event revenues

were not sufficient to pay the purchase price over

the ten-year period. It also addressed the tax impli-

cations of the purchase and discussed KIRO, Inc. v.

Commissioner, 51 T.C. 155 (1968), under which the

owner of film distribution rights was permitted a

specified accelerated depreciation.

The full kit also advised that there was a significant

chance a purchaser would be audited by the Internal

Revenue Service because of earlier abuses regarding

production and distribution of motion pictures. The

purchasers were offered the opportunity to convert

liability on the purchase contract from full recourse

to nonrecourse in the event the IRS disallowed an-

ticipated deductions and write-offs on the investment.

A condition of the conversion option was that the

purchaser contest the IRS determination.

A list of numerous distributors was provided to

Fleischhauer. All Respondents-purchasers initially en-

tered into distribution contracts with Joseph Green

Film Enterprises, Inc., which was not named as a

defendant. Letters were provided to Green for the

benefit of all the Respondents-purchasers in order that

Green could obtain access to the films, but Green

failed to secure distribution of any of the films. The

Respondents-purchasers attributed this failure to the

existence of “‘pirated’’ copies of the films, the poor

quality of the copies provided to Green and/or the

failure of the sellers to provide copies.

Because of the distribution problems, within a few

months after execution of their purchase contracts,

several Respondents-purchasers who had made only

partial down payments began withholding further in-

stallment payments due. In all, Respondents-pur-

chasers paid a total of $211,700 of the $346,600 due

as down payments under their respective film pur-

chase contracts.

Faced with demands that balances be paid and the

failure to distribute the films, Bruce Forrester and

Donald Forrester solicited the other Respondents-pur-

chasers to pursue litigation.

2. Proceedings Below

Respondents-purchasers filed an action for fraud

under Ohio common law and for violation of the Rack-

eteer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations Act, 18

U.S.C. §1961 et seg. (“RICO’’) against the three

Petitioners and the two Respondents-defendants in

the United States District Court for the Southern

District of Ohio. The jurisdiction of the district court

was invoked under 28 U.S.C. §1331 and 18 U.S.C.

§1964(c) by reason of the RICO claims and under the

~)

pvinciple of pendent jurisdictior as to the state law

fraud claims.

The first RICO claim, separately alleged by each

plaintiff in the complaint, states, in part, that:

defendants ‘“‘... and John Does and Jane

Does, enterprises engaged in and whose ac-

tivities affect interstate commerce, did con-

duct and participate in their affairs through

a ‘pattern of racketeering activity,’ as that

term is defined in 18 U.S.C. Sections 1961(1)

and 1961(5), and, in so doing, violated 18

U.S.C. Section 1962’’ thereby injuring

plaintiffs in their business

and further that:

“... defendants, acting as a group and con-

stituting an enterprise as that term is defined

in 18 U.S.C. Section 1961(4)’’ devised a

scheme to defraud each plaintiff ‘in a man-

ner prohibited by 18 U.S.C. Sections 1341

and 1343 and thereby violated 18 U.S.C. Sec-

tion 1962.”

The second RICO claim alleges, in part, that:

“For the purpose of executing the aforesaid

scheme”’ Messrs. Feltner and Levine “uti-

lized, or caused to be utilized, the United

States mail facilities in interstate commerce

on two or more occasions and thereby vio-

lated 18 U.S.C. Sections 1341, 1343, and

1962”

and further that:

Messrs. Feltner and Levine ‘“‘did conduct and

participate in the affairs of’ defendants, ‘‘en-

terprises engaged in and whose activities af-

fect interstate commerce, through a ‘pattern

of racketeering activity,’ as that term is de-

fined in 18 U.S.C. Section 1961(1) and Sec-

tion 1961(5), through a scheme, artifice, and

device to defraud’ and, in so doing, “injured

plaintiffs in their business and property.”’

Defendants requested the district court instruct the

jury that the burden of proof for plaintiffs on their

RICO claims, as on their state law fraud claims, was

by clear and convincing evidence. The district court

instead adopted a preponderance of the evidence

standard. Defendants also moved for a directed ver-

dict, both at the conclusion of plaintiffs’ case and of

defendants’ case. A primary basis for the motion was

that Krypton had not been formed as a corporate

entity until well after the sales to plaintiffs.

The jury was given ten separate interrogatories,

five on the RICO claims, five on the common law

fraud claims, and two separate damages charts, one

for the RICO claims and the other for the common

law fraud claims.

The jury answered the interrogatories by indicating

that all defendants had violated the RICO statute and

had committed both mail fraud and wire fraud (except

that there was no wire fraud on the part of Krypton)

and that all plaintiffs had been affected by either such

mail or wire fraud. The jury at the same time did

not find that any defendant had committed fraud un-

der Ohio law. The jury assessed damages in favor of

each of the 19 plaintiffs in various specific amounts

against each of the five defendants, which damages

totalled $1,317,177.

owe”

APN lah os nat ae

The district court then entered an order trebling

the damages in favor of each plaintiff against each

defendant to produce a total money judgment in the

amount of $3,951,351. Defendants filed post-trial mo-

tions for directed verdict, judgment notwithstanding

the verdict, and for a new trial. The district court

denied all of the defendants’ post-trial motions.

Petitioners and the two Respondents-defendants

appealed to the United States Court of Appeals for

the Sixth Circuit. Three distinct issues under RICO

were raised on the appeal: (1) that the district court

should have charged the jury that the burden of proof

for the predicate acts of wire and mail fraud is clear

and convincing evidence; (2) that plaintiffs failed to

prove separate persons and an enterprise; and (3) that

plaintiffs failed to prove a pattern of racketeering

activity. Also raised on appeal were the issues of

damages and the liability of Krypton. The Sixth Cir-

cuit affirmed the district court’s instruction that the

burden of proof was a preponderance of the evidence

and found that plaintiffs had proven separate persons

and an enterprise and, also, a pattern of racketeering

activity, although the Sixth Circuit conceded the last

issue was ‘“‘a close question.’’ The Sixth Circuit re-

versed the judgment against Krypton on the basis it

had no legal existence as of the dates of the sales of

the film distribution rights. The Sixth Circuit also

reversed the damage award and held the amount re-

coverable by the plaintiffs-purchasers was limited to

the actual amount each paid to the selling corporate

defendant as listed in the chart attached to the

defendants-appellants’ brief. Finally, the Sixth Circuit,

sua sponte, raised the issue of joint and several lia-

bility among defendants in a civil] RICO action and,

10

relying on cases concerning criminal RICO violations,

held that all defendants were jointly and severally

liable for the total amount of damages incurred by

each of the plaintiffs-purchasers.

Respondents-purchasers timely filed a petition for

rehearing. The Sixth Circuit requested and received

a response from the defendants and thereafter issued

a Supplemental] Opinion on August 31, 1989. The Sixth

Circuit increased the damage award in favor of six

purchasers in the total amount of $3,520 (for pay-

ments made to a nonparty on refinancing options) and

remanded for determination by the district court

whether the actual amount paid by two purchasers

was $4,500 (as set forth in the damage chart) or

$30,000 (as alleged in the petition for rehearing).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

1. The Requirement of a Pattern of Racketeering Ac-

tivity for Civil Liability Under RICO is Unconstitu-

tionally Vague.

This Court has addressed the pattern requirement

in civil RICO cases on two occasions. In Sedima, S.

P. R. L. v. Imrex Co., 473 U.S. 479 (1985), this Court

acknowledged that “‘in its private civil version, RICO

is evolving into something quite different from the

original conception of its enactors.’’ 473 U.S. at 500.

This Court attributed the “extraordinary” uses to

which civil RICO has been put, at least partially, to

the failure of Congress and the courts to develop a

meaningful concept of ‘‘pattern.’’ Jd. Subsequently, in

H. J., Ine. v. Northwestern Bell Telephone Co.,

__ U.S.___, 108 S.Ct. 1219, 57 US.L.W. 4951

(1989), this Court acknowledged that:

eee ree foes

1]

Congress has done nothing in the interim fur-

ther to illuminate RICO’s key requirement of

a pattern of racketeering; and as the plethora

of different views expressed by the Courts

of Appeals since Sedima demonstrates, see

n.2, supra, developing a meaningful concept

of “pattern’”’ within the existing statutory

framework has proved to be no easy task.

57 U.S.L.W. at 4952. The futile struggle by the lower

courts to define ‘‘pattern’’ and, with al] due respect,

the recent decision by this Court in Northwestern Bell,

demonstrate that no judge, no jury, and no person

can know with reasonable certainty what constitutes

a RICO “‘pattern.’’ The statute is incurably vague and

for that reason is unconstitutional.‘

This Court has recognized that a noncriminal stat-

ute is unconstitutionally vague under the due process

clauses of the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to

the Constitution of the United States where its lan-

guage does not convey sufficiently definite warning

as to the proscribed conduct. See, e.g., Keyishian v.

Board of Regents, 385 U.S. 589 (1967). A statute is

* Several courts of appeals have upheld the constitutionality

of the RICO statute in a criminal context. See, e.g., United States

v. Morelli, 643 F.2d 402 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, 453 U.S. 912

(1981); United States v. Aleman, 609 F.2d 298 (7th Cir. 1979),

cert. denied, 455 U.S. 946 (1980); United States v. Pantone, 609

F.2d 675 (38d Cir. 1979); United States v. Huber, 603 F.2d 387

(2d Cir. 1979), cert. denied, 445 U.S. 927 (1980); United States

v. Swiderski, 593 F.2d 1246 (D.D.C. 1978), cert. denied, 441

U.S. 933 (1979); United States v. Campanale, 518 F.2d 352 (9th

Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 1050 (1976); United States v

Parness, 503 F.2d 430 (2d Cir. 1974), cert. denied, 419 U.S

1105 (1975).

12

unconstitutional if it lacks “terms susceptible of ob-

jective measurement,’ Cramp v. Board of Public In-

struction, 368 U.S. 278, 286 (1961), or where ‘‘men

of common intelligence must necessarily guess at its

meaning and differ as to its application.”’ Baggett v.

Bullitt, 377 U.S. 360, 366 (1964).

In his concurring opinion in Northwestern Bell, Jus-

tice Scalia pointed out that since RICO has criminal

applications it must, even in its civil applications, pos-

sess the degree of certainty required for criminal laws.

57 U.S.L.W. at 4957-58 (citing Federal Communica-

tions Com. v. American Broadcasting Co., 347 U.S.

284, 296, reh’g denied, 347 U.S. 905 (1954)). The ma-

jority of this Court virtually admitted that the pa-

rameters of the elements of ‘‘pattern’’ remain vague

and that potential defendants will be left guessing as

to its meaning and as to whether their conduct falls

within the concept:

The limits of the relationship and continuity

concepts that combine to define a RICO pat-

tern, and the precise methods by which re-

latedness and continuity or its threat may be

proved, cannot be fixed in advance with such

clarity that it will always be apparent

whether in a particular case a “pattern of

racketeering activity’ exists. The develop-

ment of these concepts must await future

cases, absent a decision by Congress to re-

visit RICO to provide clearer guidance as to

the Act’s intended scope.

57 U.S.L.W. at 4954. This language is just short of

a declaration that this element of RICO does not pos-

sess the degree of certainty required by the Consti-

13

tution and the fundamental principles of justice and

fair play.

In attempting to illuminate the elusive concept of

“pattern,” this Court in Northwestern Bell delved into

the legislative history of RICO which, it was said,

reveals Congress’ intent that “‘to prove a pattern of

racketeering activity a plaintiff or prosecutor must

show that the racketeering predicates are related, and

that they amount to or pose a threat of continued

criminal activity.”’ 57 U.S.L.W. at 4958. With respect

to the relatedness aspect of this proof requirement,

this Court found conspicuously absent in the text of

RICO any identification of forms of relationship or

external principles to be used in determining whether

racketeering activity falls into a pattern for purposes

of the Act. Jd. This Court inferred from this absence,

together with the relaxed limits to the pattern con-

cept in §1961(5), that Congress must have intended

to take a “flexible” approach and that it envisaged

that a pattern might be demonstrated by a “‘range”’

of different ordering principles or relationships be-

tween predicates. Jd. This Court ultimately borrowed

the following language from Title X of the Organized

Crime Control Act of 1970 to define the concept of

relatedness: ‘‘[C]riminal conduct forms a pattern if it

embraces criminal acts that have the same or similar

purposes, results, participants, violations, or methods

of commission, or otherwise are interrelated by dis-

tinguishing characteristics and are not isolated

events.”’ Jd. This definition is ‘utterly uninforma-

tive.” Id. at 4957 (Scalia, J., concurring). It and the

statement that Congress intended a ‘‘flexible’’ ap-

proach and that it envisaged a ‘‘range’’ of relation-

ships provides no more notice to potential RICO

14

defendants as to whether their conduct may constitute

a “‘pattern’’ than they possessed prior to Northwest-

ern Bell.

When it attempted to define what must be proved

by a plaintiff or prosecutor by way of continuity (a

concept this Court found more difficult to define than

relatedness), this Court acknowledged that “[t]his may

be done in a variety of ways, thus making it difficult

to formulate in the abstract any general test... .”

Id. at 4954.

The Court’s offering that “continuity” is both a

closed- and open-ended concept, referring either to a

closed period of repeated conduct, or to past conduct

that by its nature projects into the future with a

threat of repetition” similarly fails to provide any

more guidance as to what may constitute a pattern

than its attempt to define ‘“relatedness.”’

In addition to the fact that potential RICO

defendants will not be able to predict with any cer-

tainty whether their conduct constitutes a pattern,

this Court’s vain struggle to define the concept will

be multiplied countless times hence as the lower courts

attempt to instruct juries in RICO cases. The district

court charged the jury on the RICO pattern require-

ment as follows:

Section 1962(c) of Title 18 of the United

States Code provides in part that:

It shal] be unlawful for any person em-

ployed by or associated with any enterprise

engaged in, or the activities of which af-

fect, interstate ... commerce, to conduct

or participate, directly or indirectly, in the

15

conduct of such enterprise’s affairs through

a pattern of racketeering activity... .

*-_* *

To show that a defendant has violated section

1962(c), plaintiff must prove each of the fol-

lowing elements by a preponderance of the

evidence:

“ eee ee

1. conduct

| 2. of an enterprise

3. through a pattern

4. of racketeering activity.

| A plaintiff can only recover to the extent he

. has been injured in his business or property

by that conduct constituting the violation.

“A pattern of racketeering activity’ requires

more than one episode of criminal conduct

occurring within the past 10 years. Separate

acts in furtherance of the same criminal ep-

isode or transaction do not constitute a pat-

tern of racketeering activity under RICO.

| “Racketeering Activity’’ consists of no more

and no less than commission of a predicate

act i.e. criminal violation of a federal statute

concerning mail fraud or fraud by use of

communication devices [wire fraud].

This intruction stands in stark contrast to the prolix

explanation of the pattern requirement in Northwest-

ern Bell. An instruction on the pattern requirement

in conformity with this Court’s views in Northwestern

ii aia ai i i

16

Bell would, Petitioners respectfully submit, be such

that persons “of common intelligence must guess at

its meaning and differ as to its application.”

2. The Predicate Acts of Federal Mail Fraud and Wire

Fraud in a Civil RICO Action Must be Proven by

Clear and Convincing Evidence.

This case presents the Court with the opportunity

to decide an important issue of federal law: the ap-

propriate standard of proof to be applied in civil RICO

actions. ‘‘In the courts, the appropriate standard of

proof in the various forms of civil RICO actions are

not yet firmly settled, and the relevant considerations

are numerous.” Haroco, Inc. v. American Nat’l Bank

& Trust Co., 747 F.2d 384, 404 (7th Cir. 1984), affd

sub nom., 473 U.S. 606 (1985).

Petitioners argued on appeal to the Sixth Circuit

that the district court had erred in instructing the

jury that plaintiffs need only prove the predicate acts

of wire fraud and mail fraud by a preponderance of

the evidence. In rejecting Petitioners’ argument that

the burden of proof on these issues should be clear

and convincing evidence, the Sixth Circuit stated that

“(t]he Supreme Court has hinted, but not held,” that

the appropriate evidentiary standard was a prepon-

derance of the evidence. 879 F.2d at 1296 (citing

Sedima, S. P. R. L. v. Imrex Co., 473 U.S. 479, 491

(1985)).

This Court has never directly ruled on the appro-

priate standard of proof in civil RICO actions. In

Sedima, this Court rejected the view of the Second

Circuit that civil liability under RICO requires a prior

conviction of a predicate act and stated, in dictum:

“We are not at all convinced that the predicate acts

17

must be established beyond a reasonable doubt in a

proceeding under §1964(c).... But we need not de-

cide the standard of proof issue today.” 473 U.S. at

491. This statement has been taken by the lower fed-

eral courts to be a “strong suggestion” by this Court

that the proper burden of proof of predicate acts in

RICO litigation is by a preponderance of the evidence.

See, e.g., Liquid Air Corp. v. Rogers, 834 F.2d 1297,

1302 (7th Cir. 1987), cert. denied, __. U.S. __, 109

S.Ct. 3241 (1989); Wilcox v. First Interstate Bank,

N.A., 815 F.2d 522 (9th Cir. 1987); Cullen v. Mar-

giotta, 811 F.2d 698, 731 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 483

U.S. 1021 (1987); Armco Industrial Credit Corp. v.

SLT Warehouse Co., 782 F.2d 475, 480-81 (5th Cir.

1986); United States v. Local 560, Int’l Brotherhood

of Teamsters, 780 F.2d 267, 279-80 n.12 (3d Cir. 1985),

cert. denied, 476 U.S. 1140 (1986); Ford Motor Co.

v. B & H Supply, Inc., 646 F. Supp. 975, 1001 (D.

Minn. 1986); Bosteve, Ltd. v. Marauszwski, 642 F.

Supp. 197, 202 n.7 (E.D. N.Y. 1986); Owl Constr. Co.,

Inc. v. Ronald Adams Contractor, Inc., 642 F. Supp.

475, 477 (E.D. La. 1986); Platsis v. E.F. Hutton &

Co., 642 F. Supp. 1277, 1309 (W.D. Mich. 1986), aff'd,

829 F.2d 13 (6th Cir. 1987), cert. denied, _ US.

—__._ , 108 S.Ct. 1227 (1988); Stainton v. Tarantino,

637 F. Supp. 1051, 1070 (E.D. Pa. 1986).

There are many sound and cogent reasons why a

clear and convincing evidence standard is required in

civil RICO actions. The instant case illustrates the

presumably common situation where a plaintiff alleges

both a RICO claim based on predicate acts of federal

criminal wire and mail fraud, and, a common law

fraud claim. The jury was instructed by the district

court that the elements of a RICO violation, including

18

the predicate acts, must be proven by a preponder-

ance of the evidence. The district court also instructed

the jury that common law fraud must be proven by

clear and convincing evidence and that fraud is never

presumed. Defendants were held liable for treble dam-

ages under RICO arising from predicate acts of fed-

era] criminal mai] and wire fraud, whereas, based on

the very same conduct, no liability for fraud at com-

mon law was found. This incongruous result arose

solely from the different burdens of proof on the fed-

era] statutory fraud and state common law fraud

claims.

The federalization of common law fraud by RICO

has been noted in this Court. Sedima, 473 U.S. at

501-502 (Marshall, J., dissenting). Prior to Erie R.R.

v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64 (1938), federal common law

required clear and convincing evidence of fraud. W1l-

cox v. First Interstate Bank, N.A., 815 F.2d 522, 534

(9th Cir. 1987) (Boochever, J., dissenting). To add to

this federalization the treble damage and attorneys

fees provisions of RICO and a lower standard of proof

is an incredible result.

In Santosky v. Kramer, 455 U.S. 745 (1982), this

Court identified the following factors to be considered

when determining whether a particular standard of

proof in a particular proceeding satisfies due process:

1) the private interests affected by the proceeding;

2) the risk of error created by the chosen procedure;

and 3) the countervailing governmental interest sup-

porting use of the challenged procedure. 455 U.S. at

754. Thus, in civil disputes over money damages with-

out more, application of a preponderance of the evi-

dence standard indicates society’s minimal concern

with the outcome and a conclusion that the litigants

ee ee

19

should share the risk of error in roughly equal fash-

ion. By contrast, this Court has mandated a higher

standard of proof—‘‘clear and convincing evidence’’—

when the individual interests at stake are both “‘par-

ticularly important” and ‘‘more substantial than mere

loss of money.” Jd. at 756. This Court has deemed

this level of certainty necessary to preserve funda-

mental fairness in a variety of proceedings that

threaten the individual involved with ‘‘a significant

deprivation of liberty” or “stigma.” Jd.

There can be no doubt but that a finding of liability

under RICO carries a heavy stigma. It is fundamen-

tally unfair to say that conduct that can be punished

as criminal] only upon proof beyond a reasonable doubt

need be proven only by a preponderance of the evi-

dence to impose civil liability under RICO. This un-

fairness is, by example, illustrated by a defendant who

is alleged to have committed two murders as the rea-

uisite predicate acts in a civil RICO suit. Sedima held

that a prior conviction of a predicate act is not a

prerequisite to civil liability under RICO. Thus, under

the standard applied by the courts of appeals and

district courts after Sedima, this defendant can be

found by a jury to have committed the underlying

predicate acts and be publicly stigmatized as a mur-

derer and racketeer only upon a mere “more probable

than not’’ standard.

The interests of defendants in RICO cases differ

qualitatively from the interests of defendants sued for

violations of other federal statutes, such as the federal

securities and antitrust laws in which a preponderance

of the evidence standard is applied. Cf, Herman &

MacLean v. Huddleston, 459 U.S. 375 (1983). Unlike

defendants in those other federal law actions, RICO

20

defendants risk emerging from the litigation ‘‘con-

victed” of at least two counts of a federal or state

felony.

The Seventh Circuit has suggested that requiring

private RICO plaintiffs to prove the elements of a

section 1962 violation beyond a reasonable doubt

“could address some of the legitimate concerns about

unfair stigmatization of defendants as ‘racketeers’ and

other abuses of RICO’s criminal dimensions through

civil proceedings.’’ Haroco, 747 F.2d at 404. “RICO

liability must be based, after all, on findings of crim-

inal conduct.” Id.

3. The Enterprise in a Civil RICO Action Must Have

an Ascertainable Structure Distinct from That In-

herent in the Pattern of Racketeering Activity. ©

This case presents this Court the opportunity to

address and to define the enterprise requirement and

to resolve a conflict between the federal courts of

appeals.

The Sixth Circuit in this case acknowledged there

exists a split of authority as to whether the “enter-

prise’ under RICO must have an “ascertainable struc-

ture, distinct from that inherent in the pattern of

racketeering activity.” 879 F.2d at 1297 n.4. This

requirement has been adopted by three circuits* and

rejected by two.’

* United States v. Tillett, 763 F.2d 628, 632 (4th Cir. 1985);

United States v. Bledsoe, 674 F.2d 647, 663-64 (8th Cir.), cert.

denied, 459 U.S. 1040 (1982); United States v. Riccobene, 709

F.2d 214, 223-24 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 849 (1983).

* United States v. Weinstein, 762 F.2d 1522, 1537 n. 18 (11th

Cir.), modified, reh’g denied in part, 778 F.2d 678 (1985), cert.

21

Respondents-purchasers failed to allege or other-

wise prove that the alleged enterprise was an entity

separate and distinct from the pattern of racketeering

activity in which they claimed the defendants were

engaged. The facts in this case point out precisely

why this Court and courts of appeals have required

that a RICO enterprise be separate and distinct from

the pattern of racketeering activity. Respondents-pur-

chasers alleged that all defendants, individually and

collectively, were enterprises. An amorphous “‘enter-

prise’” such as this, with no ascertainable structure,

merges into the “pattern of activity’’ so that neither

element is distinct or separable, causing the confusion

that manifested itself in the jury decision in this case.

From the pleadings it is unclear whom Respondents-

purchasers allege to be ‘‘persons’’ and whom they

allege to be “‘enterprises’” under RICO. In the first

cause of action under RICO, each of the 21 named

plaintiffs alleged that all of the defendants, both sep-

arately and in the aggregate, were ‘‘enterprises.’’ In

the second cause of action under RICO, the plaintiffs

seemed to allege, although it is not clear, that Messrs.

Feltner and Levine were persons who conducted and

participated in the affairs of the corporate defendants

described as ‘‘enterprises engaged in and whose ac-

tivities affect interstate commerce.”

The Sixth Circuit has stated that the distinction

between the “‘person” and the “‘enterprise’’ must be

described in RICO pleadings. 879 F.2d at 1296-97

(citing Bennett v. Berg, 685 F.2d 1053, 1061 (8th Cir.

denied, 475 U.S. 1110 (1986); and United States v. Bargaric,

706 F.2d 42, 55 (2d Cir.), cert. denied sub nom., 464 U.S. 840

(1983).

22

1982), on reh’g, 710 F.2d 1861, cert. denied, 464 U.S.

1008 (1983)). In addition, courts have been virtually

unanimous in holding that a defendant cannot be si-

multaneously the “enterprise,” against which dam-

ages are not recoverable, and a ‘“‘person’’ who

conducts the affairs of the enterprise through a pat-

tern of racketeering activity and against whom dam-

ages are properly recoverable. See, e.g., Bishop v.

Corbitt Marine Ways, Inc., 802 F.2d 122, 123 (5th

Cir. 1986); Bennett v. United States Trust Co., 770

F.2d 308, 315 (2d Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 474 U.S.

1058 (1986); Rae v. Union Bank, 725 F.2d 478, 481

(9th Cir. 1985); Haroco v. American Nat'l Bank &

Trust Co., 747 F.2d 384 (7th Cir. 1984), affd, 473

U.S. 606 (1985); B. F. Hirsch v. Enright Refining

Co., Inc., 751 F.2d 628 (3d Cir. 1984); United States

v. Computer Sciences Corp., 689 F.2d 1181, 1190 (4th

Cir. 1982), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 1105 (1983); Bennett

v. Berg, 685 F.2d 1053, 1061 (8th Cir. 1982), on reh’g,

710 F.2d 1861, cert. denied, 464 U.S. 1008 (1983).

Similarly, in H. J., Inc. v. Northwestern Bell Tele-

phone Company, _—_ U.S.__., 108 S.Ct. 1219, 57

U.S.L.W. 4951, 4952 n.1, this Court acknowledged

that the district court found plaintiffs’ complaint de-

fective because it failed to ‘“‘allege the existence of

an ‘enterprise’ separate and distinct from the ‘person

identified,’ but refused to express an opinion as to

the soundness of this holding.

Despite the overwhelming weight of authority hold-

ing that one may not simultaneously be a person and

an enterprise in a RICO action, Respondents-pur-

chasers accomplished this simultaneity in the instant

case. In their pleadings they alleged all defendants

were enterprises. If this were true, then none could

23

be a person against whom damages were recoverable.

By the same reasoning, if any one of the defendants

was the enterprise—a corporate defendant, for ex-

ample—then damages were not recoverable against it.

In this case, the jury assessed damages against all

named defendants.

In United States v. Turkette, 452 U.S. 576, 583

(1981), this Court stated that ‘‘the ‘enterprise’ is not

the ‘pattern of racketeering activity;’ it is an entity

separate and apart from the pattern of activity in

which it engages. The existence of an enterprise at

all times remains a separate element which must be

proved... .”’

In United States v. Riccobene, 709 F.2d 214, 223-

24 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 849 (1983), the

court, relying upon the above-quoted language from

Turkette, stated that to prove that an entity is sep-

arate and distinct from a pattern of racketeering ac-

tivity, the plaintiff must show that the entity ‘“‘has

an existence beyond that which is necessary merely

to commit each of the acts charged as predicate rack-

eteering offenses.”

This petition affords this Court the opportunity to

extend its prior holding on the nature of a RICO

enterprise and to resolve the conflict between the

courts of appeals as to whether proof of a distinct

“ascertainable structure”’ is required.

4. Joint and Several Liability is not Mandated in a Civil

RICO Action.

The Sixth Circuit raised sua sponte the question of

whether liability for a civil violation of RICO must

be joint and several. Despite the fact that RICO itself

does not address this issue and it was not raised on

24

appeal, the court held that the defendants were jointly

and severally liable for the total of all damages as-

sessed against each of them individually.

Along with interrogatories, the district court pre-

sented the jury with two charts to calculate damages,

if awarded, one under the RICO claims and one under

the Ohio common law fraud claims. Each chart con-

sisted of 19 horizontal columns, one for each plaintiff,

and five vertical columns, one for each defendant.

This grid of 95 separate calculations was completed

by the jury in assessing damages on the RICO claims.

The Sixth Circuit held that “‘[aJlthough there is little

direct law on this point, there are numerous RICO

criminal forfeiture cases which indicate that the na-

ture of the RICO offense mandates joint and several!

liability.’’ The Sixth Circuit thus concluded the district

court had erred in instructing the jury to award dam-

ages against each defendant separately and individ-

ually. 879 F.2d at 1301.

The Sixth Circuit’s reliance upon criminal forfeiture

cases to determine whether joint and several liability

is appropriate in a civil RICO case is misplaced. In-

stead of relying upon statutory provisions dealing with

criminal forfeiture, the court should have examined

federal statutes that impose civil liability in the same

manner as RICO, specifically the federal antitrust

statutes.

The legislative history of the private treble-damages

remedy found in RICO indicates that Congress “‘bor-

rowed"’ the remedy from the federal antitrust stat-

utes. Sedima, 473 U.S. at 486-88. The civil remedies

in the RICO bill passed by the Senate, S 30, were

limited to injunctive actions by the United States. Jd.

25

at 486. During hearings on S 30 before the House

Judiciary Committee, Representative Steiger pro-

posed the addition of a private treble-damages action

“similar to the private damage remedy found in the

anti-trust laws....’’ Jd. at 487 (citing Hearing on

S 30, and Related Proposals, before Subcommittee

No. 5 of the House Committee on the Judiciary, 91st

Cong., 2d Sess., 520 (1970)). In summarizing the bill

on the House floor, its sponsor described the treble-

damages provision as “‘another example of the anti-

trust remedy being adapted for use against organized

criminality."” Sedima, 473 U.S. at 487 (citing 116

Cong. Rec. 35295 (1970)).

The treble-damages provision of RICO tracks vir-

tually word for word the treble-damages provision of

the antitrust laws, §4 of the Clayton Act. As the

dissent recognized in Sedima, the parallel] between

these two statutes offers “‘little doubt that the latter

served as a model for the former.’’ Sedima, 473 U.S.

at 510. Thus, it is aphoristic that an interpretation

of the private-damages provision of the antitrust laws

would prove helpful in interpreting the private-dam-

ages provision of RICO.

In Texas Industries, Inc. v. Radcliff Materials, Inc.,

451 U.S. 630 (1981), this Court held that antitrust

defendants against whom civil damages, costs, and

attorney's fees had been assessed had no right to

contribution under federal statutory or common law.

The principles of contribution and of joint and several

lability are related concepts dealing with apportion-

ment of damages among tortfeasors. The application

of these concepts with respect to federal] statutes can

arise in only two ways: first, through the affirmative

creation of such doctrines by Congress, either ex-

26

pressly or by clear implication; or, second, through

the power of the federal courts to fashion a federal

common law establishing such principles. See North-

west Airlines, Inc. v. Transport Workers Union, 451

U.S. 77, 90-91 (1981).

This Court concluded in Texas Industries that Con-

gress neither expressly nor implicitly intended to cre-

ate a right to contribution under antitrust laws. This

Court held that the federal common law did not create

such a right in such actions. Instead, this Court, after

examining the detailed and specific remedial provi-

sions of antitrust laws and finding that they did not

address the issue of contribution, held that neither

the Sherman Act nor the Clayton Act conferred on

federal courts the right to contribution.

The presumption that a remedy was delib-

erately omitted from a statute is strongest

when Congress has enacted a comprehensive

legislative scheme including an integrated

system of procedures for enforcement. (Ci-

tation omitted).

-_s *

There is nothing in the statute itself, in its

legislative history, or in the overall regula-

tory scheme to suggest that Congress in-

tended courts to have the power to alter or

supplement the remedies enacted.

Texas Industries, 451 U.S. at 645.

Similarly, there is nothing in the RICO statute it-

self, or its legislative history, or its overall regulatory

scheme to suggest that Congress intended for

defendants to be jointly and severally liable for vio-

27

lations of the Act. Indeed, the RICO provision on

private damages is virtually identical to the private

damages provision in the federal antitrust laws. If

Congress had intended to include the common law

tert concepts of contribution and joint and several

liability in civil RICO, it would have specifically pro-

vided therefor. See Miller v. Affiliated Financial

Corp., 624 F. Supp. 1008, 1004 (N.D. Ill. 1985) (con-

tribution is not available as to RICO liability).

Even if the common law tort principle of joint and

several liability can be applied in RICO cases, it should

not be applied in the instant case, where the jury

went to great length to make 95 separate damage

calculations—one set for each of the 19 plaintiffs

against each of the five defendants.

It is an axiomatic principle of tort law that ‘“‘where

the independent concurring acts have caused distinct

or separate injuries to the plaintiff, or where some

reasonable means of apportioning the damages is ev-

ident, the courts generally will not hold the tortfeasors

jointly and severally liable.” Harper, James & Gray,

The Law of Torts §10.1 at 5 (1986) (emphasis added).

An appellate court cannot sua sponte impose joint and

several liability upon the defendants after the jury

has apportioned the damages among them.

In holding that the defendants were jointly and

severally liable, the Sixth Circuit applied by analogy

criminal RICO cases imposing joint and severai lia-

bility with respect to forfeitures. The court’s reliance

upon these cases is questionable at best. First, valid

issues have been raised as to whether the imposition

of joint and several liability is proper in the criminal

context at all. See United States v. Caporale, 806 F.2d

1487, 1507 (11th Cir. 1986). Second, the goals sought

28

to be accomplished by criminal RICO and the method

used to attain such goals are different than those

sought to be accomplished by civil RICO. For in-

stance, as discussed above, the standard of proof re-

quired in a criminal RICO case of beyond a reasonable

doubt is far more stringent than the preponderance

of the evidence standard of proof applied in the in-

stant civil RICO case.

If criminal and civil RICO were both designed to

punish, as Respondents-purchasers have suggested,

the Sixth Circuit properly recognized that the appli-

cation of the treble multiplier to damages is sufficient

to accomplish this purpose. 879 F.2d at 1299. To im-

pose joint and several liability in addition to this tre-

bling provision goes beyond any punitive purpose

intended by Congress. This is especially true for a

defendant whose involvement in an alleged pattern of

racketeering activity is either partial or minimal, but

because of the insolvency of more culpable defendants,

is required to pay the entire amount of damages

awarded. Such a rule is simply and, manifestly unfair:

under it, Oliver Twist and each of Fagin’s boys, as

well as Fagin himself, would be liable to pay all of

the money pickpocketed, regardless of who snatched

it or who among them kept it.

CONCLUSION

Based upon the foregoing, Petitioners respectfully

submit that a writ of certiorari should issue to review

the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Sixth Circuit.

29

Respectfully submitted,

RICHARD BOYDSTON

Counsel of Record

SHAWN M. YOUNG

JOHN JAY FOSSETT

Strauss & Troy

2100 Central Trust Center

201 East Fifth Street

Cincinnati, Ohio 45202-4186

(513) 621-2121

Attorneys for Petitioners

C. Elvin Feltner, Jr.,

Palm Beach Properties, Inc., and

Metropolitan Properties, Inc.

No. 87-4060

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

Harry E. FLeiscHHaver, et al

ON APPEAL from the

Plainuffs-Appellee:

United States District

\ > Court for the South-

= . or sctr ‘ ¢ f

C. ELVIN FELTNER, JR., et al mg District of Ohi

Defendants-Appellant estern Divisior

Decided and Filed June 27, 1989

Before: KRUPANSKY and WELLFORD. Circuit Judge

and JOINER,*® Senior District Judge

WELLFORD, Circuit Judge. This appea! follows a

verdict awarding appellees treble damages of $3,951,351 0

for RICO violations associated with appellees’ participation

in appellants’ film investment program. Appellants raise sev-

eral issues regarding liability and damages. We affirm the |ia-

bility determination, except as to Krypton, and reverse, in

part, the damages award

*The Honorable Charies W. Joiner, Senior United States District

Judge for the Eastern District of Michigan, sitting by designation

2a

Il. FACTS

This controversy arose when 19 separate plaintiffs pur-

chased non-theatrical rights to the distribution of 23 full

length feature motion pictures and television episodes from

five defendants.’

The rights in the films the plaintiffs purchased included

the right to distribute the films on television and cable televi-

sion, by video cassette, and for other viewing except in movie

theaters. Most plaintiffs entered into contracts with either

Metropolitan or Palm Beach in November or December of

1980, but Donald Forrester entered into a contract with Met-

ropolitan in early 1981.

The five defendants all allegedly participated in the market-

ing and sale of the film rights to the plaintiffs. Metropolitan

and Palm Beach sold to the plaintiffs the distribution rights

to the films. Krypton was not incorporated until September

28, 1982, but it is alleged, nonetheless, that Krypton was

actively engaged in the film marketing plan as early as

November of 1980. Feltner was the sole shareholder, a direc-

tor and the chairman of the three defendant corporations.

Mr. Levine, an attorney, was an officer of each defendant cor-

poration.

In October, 1980, Levine mailed a packet of information

to Fleischhauer, an investment advisor, on the availability

of the films in question. Levine followed up the mailing by

telephoning Fleischhauer. As a result of that conversation,

Levine mailed Fleischhauer a “full kit” detailing the terms

of the film program offered. Fleischhauer contacted Donald

Forrester, his accountant and a certified professional accoun-

tant, to review the full kit. Levine then traveled to Cincinnati

1The defendants are: C. Elvin Feltner, Jr., Robert J. Levine, Palm

Beach Properties, Inc., a/k/a Palm Beach Films, Inc. (Palm Beach),

Metropolitan Properties, Inc., a/k/a Metropolitan Films, Inc. (Metro-

politan), and Krypton Corporation (Krypton).

3a

in November to discuss the investment with Fleischhauer

and Donald Forrester and afterward Fleischhauer checked

references Levine furnished.

In the agreement reached at the meeting, Fleischhauer was

to receive a 10% commission on each sale Metropolitan made

and a 20% commission on each sale Palm Beach made.

Fieischhauer agreed to share the commissions with Donald

Forrester. Fleischhauer received $56,000 in commissions on

sales of the film rights to the plaintiffs. At oral argument,

appellees noted that no evidence was admitted indicating that

Fleischhauer paid any commissions to Donald Forrester. All

other plaintiffs were initially advised of the investment

opportunity by Fleischhauer or by Donald Forrester.

Most plaintiffs received their information either directly

or indirectly (through Fleischhauer or Forrester) from the full

investment kit, in which a written explanation of the prospec-

tive: investment was set forth. This kit is over 100 pages long

and contains material relating to the tax benefits of the trans-

action, a list of film titles available, a purchase and sale agree-

ment, copies of financing options, a 64 page legal opinion

and miscellaneous questions, answers and examples.

The transaction was described by the seller defendants as

a purchase for both income and tax advantage purposes to

be financed through an initial “down payment,” the balance

expected to be paid with interest from revenues generated

by the buyers’ distribution activity over a ten year period.

The purchase prices and down payments varied depending

upon the nature of the film.? The standard form contract

included a provision for making the down payment in install-

ments. Buyer plaintiffs were to take full responsibility for

arranging the distribution of the film. Sellers represented that

plaintiffs could enter into further distribution contracts pro-

?The required down payment was, generally, approximately five per-

cent higher in a sale by Palm Beach than one offered by Metropolitan.

4a

viding that the distributor would retain 40% of the gross reve-

nues without any reimbursement of expenses.

The kit issued by defendants explained that a plaintiff

could obtain a refinancing agreement with an unaffiliated

entity, Southwest Capital Corporation, in the event revenues

were not sufficient to pay the purchase price over the ten year

period. It also addressed the tax implications of the purchase

and discussed K/JRO, Inc. v. Commissioner, 51 T.C. 155

(1968). (Under that decision, the owner of film distribution

rights was permitted under certain circumstances to deduct

100% of the purchase price of the films over 7 years at a rate

of 60% in the first year, 15% in the second year, and 5% for

each of the following five years.)

Through the kit materials furnished, defendants also

advised interested parties that there was a significant chance

that the purchaser would be audited by the Internal Revenue

Service because of earlier abuses regarding production and

distribution of motion pictures. Defendants offered to con-

vert liability on the purchase contract from full recourse to

nonrecourse in the event the IRS disallowed anticipated

deductions and write-offs on the investment. A condition of

that conversion option was that the purchaser plaintiff must

contest the IRS determination.

A list of numerous distributors was provided to Fleisch-

hauer, but it was expected that those films which were epi-

sodes in a series would be handled by a single distributor.

In the event all episodes in a series were not sold, the seller

agreed to make the unsold episodes available to the purchas-

er’s distributor.

A number of the plaintiffs testified that they never spoke

with either Feltner or Levine prior to purchasing their film

and that they relied solely on the advice of Fleischhauer.

Plaintiff Ralph testified that he spoke to neither Feltner nor

Levine before purchasing his film but relied solely on the

advice of Fleischhauver and Donald Forrester and his own

5a

review of the kit. Several plaintiffs testified that they spoke

with Levine before signing his contract on limited subjects

such as selection of film or the distribution process. Only four

plaintiffs, including the Forresters and Fleischhauer, spoke

with Feltner before purchasing their film rights.

There was no evidence about the identity of the particular

seller in the case of four other plaintiffs.? Six plaintiffs pur-

chased their films from Metropolitan; the remaining plain-

tiffs purchased their films from Palm Beach.

All plaintiffs allegedly entered intitially into distribution

contracts with Joseph Green Film Enterprises, Inc. (Green)

which was not named as a defendant. Access letters were pro-

vided to Green for the benefit of all plaintiffs in order that

Green could obtain access to the films, but Green failed to

secure distribution of any of the films because many unautho-

rized copies of the films were available to those who wished

to use them and the copies plaintiffs purchased were of poor

quality. Testimony was offered that Levine knew, before the

films were sold, that the films were not marketable either

because they were unauthorized copies or because unautho-

rized copies were readily available.

Because they were unsuccessful in efforts to distribute or

lease the films, several plaintiffs who had made only partial

down payments withheld the balances within a few months

after execution of their contracts. Others testified that

although they obtained options with Southwest Capital Cor-

poration to extend the ten year period in which the contract

balance was to be paid, they subsequently failed to pay the

required annual fee to preserve that option.

As a result of their failure and resulting frustration in

effecting distribution of their films, plaintiffs were solicited

>There were also six plaintiffs as to which there was no contract iden-

tified, offered, or admitted into evidence.

6a

by Bruce Forrester and Donald Forrester to pursue this litiga-

tion against defendants seeking compensatory and punitive

damages and attorney’s fees, based on RICO charges and

Ohio common law fraud.

Appellants have submitted a chart, which is attached as

an appendix, compiled from trial testimony and exhibits, set-

ting out pertinent data concerning each plaintiff, the purchase

price involved, the actual payment made to defendant or

defendants, whether that plaintiff who claimed tax write-offs

was audited, a purported outline of tax treatment, and dam-

age awards rendered (before any trebling of the award under

RICO). Appellees have not challenged appellants’ computa-

tions. In all, fourteen of the nineteen investors were audited

by the Internal Revenue Service, which disallowed very sub-

stantial deductions claimed. The bulk of damages awarded

to plaintiffs was against defendant Feltner. Donald Forrester,

as an extreme example, paid nothing on his investment of

$162,500, yet claimed $97,500 worth of tax benefits which

have been challenged by IRS. Donald Forrester was awarded,

nonetheless, almost $171,500 in damages subject to trebling.

Fleischhauer invested some $138,500, paid only $200 and

claimed $40,000 in tax benefits, which was challenged by

IRS. He was awarded $56,754 in damages (apart from com-

missions and trebling). Total damages awarded all plaintiffs,

before trebling, against the defendants was $1,317,117.00.

Of the nineteen investments made, fourteen of the nineteen

investors were audited by the Internal Revenue Service for

deductions taken relating to their film purchase.

The first RICO claim by each plaintiff alleges, in part, as

follows:

Defendants “... John Does and Jane Does, enter-

prises engaged in and whose activities affect inter-

state commerce, did conduct and participate in their

affairs through a ‘pattern of racketeering activity,’

as that term is defined in 18 U.S.C. §§ 1961(1) and

1961(5), and in so doing, violated 18 U.S.C. § 1962”

thereby entering plaintiffs and their business [and,

further, that].

“... defendants, acting as a group and constituting

an enterprise as that term is defined in 18 U.S.C.

§ 1961(4)” devised a scheme to defraud each plain-

tiff “in a manner prohibited by 18 U.S.C. §§ 1341

and 1343 and thereby violated 18 U.S.C. § 1962.”

The second RICO claim by each plaintiff alleges, in part,

that:

“for purpose of executing the aforesaid scheme”

Messrs. Feltner and Levine “utilized, or caused to

be utilized, the United States Mail facilities in inter-

state commerce on two or more occasions and

thereby violated 18 U.S.C. §§ 1341, 1343, and 1962”

{and further, that]

Messrs. Feltner and Levine “did conduct and partic-

ipate in the affairs of” defendants, “enterprises

engaged in and whose activities affect interstate

commerce, through ‘pattern of racketeering activ-

ity,” as that term is defined in 18 U.S.C. § 1961(1)

and § 1961(5), through a scheme, artifice, and device

to defraud” and, in so doing, “injured plaintiffs in

their business and property.”

Defendants requested the district Gowft to instruct the jury

that the burden of proof for plaintiffs on their RICO claims

as in the case of their state law fraud claims, was by clear

and convincing evidence. The district court instead adopted

a preponderance of the evidence standard. Defendants also

F moved for a directed verdict, both at the conclusion of plain-

tiffs’ case and of defendants’ case. A primary basis for the

motion, on the part of Krypton, was that it had not been

formed as a corporate entity until well after the sales to plain-

tiffs.

8a

In closing argument to the jury, plaintiffs contended that

the damages they sustained were the actual total purchase

price of the films acquired, plus the down payments actually

paid, plus the penalty and interest they incurred in tax

charges and “everything they had to go through and are still

going through” as a result of the alleged wrongdoing by defen-

dants.

Submitted to the jury with the instructions were ten sepa-

rate interrogatories, five on the RICO claims, five on the com-

mon law fraud claims, and two separate damages charts, one

for the RICO claims and the other for common law fraud

claims.

The jury answered these interrogatories by indicating that

all defendants had violated the RICO statute and had com-

mitted both mail fraud and wire fraud (except that there was

no wire fraud on the part of Krypton), and that all plaintiffs

had been affected by either such mail or wire fraud. The jury

at the same time did not find any defendant had committed

fraud under Ohio law.

The district court then entered an order trebling the dam-

ages in favor of each plaintiff against each defendant to pro-

duce a total money judgment in the amount of $3,951,351.

It is unclear how damages were calculated and what basis

existed for the differentiation between the defendants in dam-

ages allocation. Defendants filed post-trial motions for

directed verdict, judgment notwithstanding the verdict and

for a new trial. The district court denied all of defendants’

post-trial motions and this appeal ensued.

II. LIABILITY

Under 18 U.S.C. § 1962(c), it is unlawful:

for any person employed by or associated with any

enterprise engaged in, or the activities of which

affect, interstate or foreign commerce, to conduct

9a

or participate, directly or indirectly, in the conduct

of such enterprise’s affairs through a pattern of rack-

eteering activity. ...

The terms “enterprise,” “person,” “racketeering activity,”

and “pattern of racketeering activity” are defined in 18

U.S.C. § 1961, as follows:

(1) “racketeering activity” means... (B) any act

which is indictable under any of the following provi-

sions of [18 U.S.C.]: ... section 1341 (relating to

mail fraud), section 1343 (relating to wire fraud)

(3) “person” includes any individual or entity

capable of holding a legal or beneficial interest in

property;

(4) “enterprise” includes any individual, part-

nership, corporation, association, or other legal

entity, and any union or group of individuals associ-

ated in fact although not a legal entity;

(5) “pattern of racketeering activity” requires at

least two acts of racketeering activity, one of which

occurred after the effective date of this chapter and

the last of which occurred within ten years (exclud-

ing any period of imprisonment) after the commis-

sion of a prior act of racketeering activity, ....

A private right of action is provided for a person injured

in his business or property by reason of a RICO violation.

18 U.S.C. § 1964(c).

On appeal appellants raise several questions regarding civil

RICO liability: (1) did the judge instruct the jury properly

on the evidentiary standard; (2) have plaintiffs differentiated

between liable “persons” and the RICO “enterprise”; (3) have

plaintiffs proven the existence of a RICO “pattern”; and (4)

10a

is Krypton, an unformed corporation, a “person” liable for

RICO violations.

A. Burden of Proof

Appellants claim that the district court erred in instructing

the jury that plaintiff must prove each of the predicate wire

aid mail fraud violations by a preponderance of the evi-

dence. They contend that because this RICO action is prem-

ised upon federal wire and mail fraud—criminal offenses that

have no corresponding private rights of action—a higher

standard of proof is required. They also contend that the

court should have adopted the burden of proof applicable

to state law fraud actions. This is essentially the position

advocated in a dissent to a RICO decision in the Ninth Cir-

cuit. See Wilcox v. First Interstate Bank of Oregon, N.A., 815

F.2d 522, 532-35 (9th Cir. 1987) (Boochever, J., dissenting).

We reject these contentions; a preponderance standard is

the appropriate standard of proof. The Supreme Court has

hinted, but not held, that this is the appropriate evidentiary

standard. The Court stated: “We are not at all convinced that

the predicate acts must be established beyond a reasonable

doubt in a proceeding under § 1964(c). In a number of set-

tings, conduct that can be punished as criminal only upon

proof beyond a reasonable doubt will support civil sanctions

under a preponderance standard.” Sedima, S.P.R.L. v. Imrex

Co., 473 U.S. 479, 491 (1985). Other circuits specifically

addressing this issue have followed the Court’s suggestion.

See Liquid Air Corp. v. Rogers, 834 F.2d 1297, 1302 (7th Cir.

1987); Wilcox, 815 F.2d at 531; Cullen v. Margiotia, 811 F.2d

698, 731 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 107 S. Ct. 3266 (1987); Armco

Industrial Credit Corp. v. SLT Warehouse Co., 782 F.2d 475,

480-81 (Sth Cir. 1986); United States v. Local 560, Int'l Broth-

erhood of Teamsters, 780 F.2d 267, 279-80 n.12 (3d Cir.

1985), cert. denied, 476 U.S. 1140 (1986). Appellants’ conten-

tions were raised, discussed and rejected in Liguid Air, and

we are in agreement. 834 F.2d at 1301-03.

lla

B. Distinguishing RICO “Persons” from the RICO

“Enterprise”

Appellants argue that plaintiffs’ pleadings do not ade-

quately describe the “enterprise” and the “persons” partici-

pating in the “enterprise.” Only “persons” can be held liable

for RICO violations; the “enterprise” itself is not liable. 18

U.S.C. § 1962(c). See, e.g., Yellow Bus Lines, Inc. v. Local

Union 639, 839 F.2d 782 (D.C. Cir.), cert. denied, 109 S. Ct.

309, (1988). The “person” and the “enterprise” must be sepa-

rate and different entities. See, e.g., United States v. Feldman,

853 F.2d 648, 656 (9th Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 109 S. Ct.

1164 (1989). This distinction must be described in the plead-

ings. Bennett v. Berg, 685 F.2d 1053, 1061 (8th Cir. 1982),

cert. denied, 464 U.S. 1008 (1983).

The pleadings ia this case satisfactorily describe and distin-

guish the “persons” and the “enterprise.” The statute defines

an “enterprise” as “any individual, partnership, corporation,

association, or other legal entity, and any union or group of

individuals associated in fact although not a legal entity.” 18

U.S.C. § 1961(4). We believe the pleadings adequately state

that each of the five defendants was a “person” and together

they formed a racketeering “enterprise.” An enterprise must

be merely “an ongoing organization, formal or informal.”

United States v. Turkette, 452 U.S. 576, 583 (1981). In this

case, Metropolitan, Palm Beach, Krypton, Levine and Felt-

ner comprised such a group. See also Feldman, 853 F.2d at

655-56 (individuals and corporations can associate to create

RICO “enterprise”).

Appellant contends that the “enterprise” alleged and

proven was not sufficiently distinct from the “person”—in

other words, because Feltner owned 100% of the corpora-

tions, they were the equivalent of his “right arm,” with whom

he could not “conspire.” See United States v. Computer Sci-

ences Corp., 689 F.2d 1181, 1190 (4th Cir. 1982), cert. denied,

459 U.S. 1105 (1983). Such argument has no merit; the fact

12a

that Feltner owned 100% of the corporations’ shares does not

vitiate the fact that these corporations were separate legal

entities. See Feldman, 853 F.2d at 656 (stating, “[i]f one cor-

poration possesses an existence separate from its incorpora-

tor, clearly a group of corporations formed by defendant is

also distinct”); United States v. Benny, 786 F.2d 1410 (9th

Cir.), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 1017 (1986); McCullough v. Suter,

757 F.2d 142, 143-44 (7th Cir. 1985). Clearly, the jury had

ample basis to find that all defendants were collectively, the

“enterprise.”

C. The Existence of a RICO “Pattern”

Appellants contend that their conduct did not amount to

a “pattern of racketeering activity” required for RICO liabil-

ity. 18 U.S.C. § 1962(c). The statute defines “pattern of racke-

teering activity” as “at least two acts of racketeering activity”

occurring within a ten year period. 18 U.S.C. § 1961(5).

Despite the language of the statute, the Supreme Court has

stated that “while two acts are necessary, they may not be

sufficient. Indeed, in common parlance two of anything do

not generally form a ‘pattern.’ ” Sedima, 473 U.S. at 496 n.14.

Instead, quoting legislative history, the Court observed that

“We note that-there is a split of authority as to whether the

“enterprise” must have an “ ‘ascertainable structure,’ distinct from that

inherent in the pattern of racketeering activity.” United States v. Bled-

soe, 674 F.2d 647, 665 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 1040 (1982).

Such a requirement of “ascertainable structure” has been adopted in

United States v. Tillett, 763 F.2d 628, 632 (4th Cir. 1985); Bledsoe,

674 F.2d at 665; United States v. Riccobene, 709 F.2d 214, 223-24 (3d

Cir.), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 849 (1983); it has been rejected in United

States v. Weinstein, 762 F.2d 1522, 1537 n.13 (11th Cir.), modified,

778 F.2d 673 (1985), cert. denied, 475 U.S. 1110 (1986), and United

States v. Bargaric, 706 F.2d 42, 55 (2d Cir.), cert. denied sub nom.,

464 U.S. 840, (1983).

Because appellant has failed to raise this as a basis for reversal we

need not address this troublesome issue.

13a

isolated incidents of “racketeering activity” do not implicate

Congress’ concerns about organized crime infiltrating legiti-

mate business activity. Therefore, it repeated the language

of the Senate Report stating “ ‘[i]t is this factor of continuity

plus relationship which combines to produce a pattern.” ” Jd.

(emphasis added by Court).

The Supreme Court has heard argument on a case dealing

with the “pattern” requirement and will perhaps provide

additional guidance in the application of the “continuity plus

relationship” test. See H. J., Inc. v. Northwestern Beil Tele-

phone Co., 829 F.2d 648 (8th Cir. 1987), cert. granted, 108

S. Ct. 1219 (1988).

In the meantime, however, we believe that the Third and

Seventh Circuits have correctly ascertained the Court’s incli-

nations regarding the “pattern” requirement. “In determining

whether the predicate acts are sufficiently continuous and

related ... [the following factors are relevant]: the number

and variety of predicate acts and the length of time over

which they were committed, the number of victims, the pres-

ence of separate schemes and the occurrence of distinct

injuries.” Liguid Air, 834 F.2d at 1304; see Environmental

Tectronics v. W. S. Kirkpatrick, Inc., 847 F.2d 1052, 1063

(3d Cir. 1988) (stating, “a court should consider a combina-

tion of specific factors such as the number of unlawful acts,

the length of time over which the acts were committed, the

similarity of the acts, the number of victims, the number of

perpetrators, and the character of the unlawful activity”); see

also Sedima, 473 U.S. at 496 n.14 (suggesting that courts

define “pattern” with the language employed in Liguid Air).*

*We also note that some circuits have adopted a literal, and

extremely lenient, interpretation of the pattern requirement: two predi-

cate acts in a related endeavor. See United States v. lanniello, 808 F.2d

184, 190 (2d Cir. 1986), cert. denied sub nom., 107 S. Ct. 3229 (1987):

California Architectural Bldg. Products v. Franciscan Ceramics, Inc.,

818 F.2d 1466, 1469 (9th Cir. 1987), ceri. denied, 108 S. Ct. 698 (1988)

l4a

We believe that appellants’ conduct was of a magnitude

sufficient to exhibit a “pattern of racketeering activity.” The

jury found that each defendant had committed wire and mail

fraud (except Krypton which committed only mail fraud)—

9 separate acts, each constituting a “racketeering activity.”

All 19 plaintiffs (excluding spouses) were alleged victims of

mail fraud and wire fraud.* Two specified individuals, two

corporations and Krypton were embroiled in this scheme.

The acts occurred over a period of time; the solicitations

began in October 1980; the sales occurred between November

1980 and early 1981; the contract envisioned a 10-year rela-

tionship between defendants and plaintiffs.’ We conclude

that these acts, even though arguably in furtherance of a sin-

gle scheme to defraud a class of investors, constituted a suffh-

cient “pattern of racketeering activity.”

We also reject any contention that a “pattern” requires

“multiple schemes.” See H. J., Inc., 829 F.2d at 650; Jnt’]

Data Bank, Lid. v. Sepkin, 812 F.2d 149 (4th Cir. 1987);

United States v. lanniello, 808 F.2d 184, 192 (2d Cir. 1986);

cert. denied, 107 S. Ct. 3229, 3230 (1987); Bank of Amer.

v. Touche Ross & Co., 782 F.2d 966, 971 (11th Cir. 1986);

®See, e.g., Calif. Architectural Bldg. Prods., 818 F.2d at 1469 (where

defendants made multiple fraudulent sales to multiple victims, activity

was a “pattern”); see also Bank of Amer., 782 F.2d at 971 (pattern

requirement satisfied when defendants prepared false reports which

they knew would be mailed to victims).

”See, e.g., Bank of Amer., 782 F.2d at 971 (where acts of wire and

mail fraud extended over three years, the pattern requirement was sat-

ished).

*See, e.g., Barticheck v. Fidelity Union Bank/First Nat. State, 832

F.2d 36, 38 (3d Cir. 1987) (investment fraud scheme involving misrep-

resentations to 20 investors was “pattern” of racketeering activity);

United Energy Owners Comm., Inc. v. United Energy Mngmni., 837

F.2d 356 (9th Cir. 1988) (single scheme, involving multiple victims,

to defraud through solar energy tax shelter program met pattern

requirement).

;

——E LL

—

15a

Sun Sav. & Loan Ass'n v. Dierdorff, 825 F.2d 187 (9th Cir.

1987); Calif. Architectural Bldg. Prods., Inc. v. Franciscan

Ceramics, Inc., 818 F.2d 1466, 1469 (9th Cir. 1987);

Barticheck v. Fidelity Union Bank/First Nat. State, 832 F.2d

36, 39 (3d Cir. 1987) (pattern need not involve more than

one unlawful scheme). In Hospital Employees’ Divison of

Local 79 v. Mercy Memorial Hospital Corp., 862 F.2d 606,

608-09 (6th Cir. 1988) and Hofstetter v. Fletcher, No.

87-3502, slip op. (6th Cir. Oct. 14, 1988), we have implicitly

rejected a multiple scheme requirement.

We find that the scheme was significant enough to consti-

tute a “pattern of racketeering activity,” although we concede

it is a close question.

D. Liability of Krypton

Krypton, in its motion for a directed verdict and j.n.o.v.,

claimed that it could not be liable because it was not yet

incorporated during the existence of the alleged scheme. The

district court denied the motions holding Krypton liable as

a “de facto” corporation.

RICO allows parties injured by RICO violations to recover

from the RICO violators, but only “persons” can violate

RICO. 18 U.S.C. § 1962(c) and § 1964(c). “Person” is defined

to include “any individual or entity capable of holding a legal

or beneficial interest in property.” 18 U.S.C. § 1961(3).

Under the uncontested circumstances of this case, we hold

Krypton to be entitled to a directed verdict. During all times

relevant to the RICO violations, Krypton, as an entity, did

not have the capacity to hold either legal or beneficial title

to property. It follows that Krypton could not violate RICO

because it was not a legal “person.”

Although a de facto corporation under Ohio law can hold

property, under the facts here, a de facto corporation could

not have existed. See 11 Ohio Jur. 3d, Business Relationships

l6a

§ 36 (1979) (stating, “a de facto corporation posesses all of

the power and authority of a de jure corporation”). In order

for a corporation to have de facto status, however, three con-

ditions must be fulfilled: there must be: (1) a general law

under which a corporation may lawfully exist; (2) a good faith

attempt to organize under the law and a colorable compliance

with the statutory requirements; and (3) actual use or exercise

of corporate privileges. Read v. Tidewater Coal Exchange.

Inc., 116 A. 898 (Del. Ch. 1922); Society Perun v. Cleveland,

3 N.E. 357 (Ohio 1885); Henn & Alexander, Laws of Corpora-

tions § 140 (3d ed. 1983); 11 Ohio Jur. 3d, Business Relation-

ships § 40 (1979).

The record makes no indication that there was a good faith

attempt to organize or to comply with the statutory require-

ments. The only evidence in the record was the two letters

written on Krypton stationery and Feltner’s remark that he

thought he told his lawyer to incorporate Krypton. These

efforts fall far short of any good faith attempt to incorporate.

There is nothing else in the record to indicate that Krypton

was any kind of entity capable of holding legal or beneficial

title to property.

Whatever Krypton was, it was a part of the enterprise, but

it was not a “person” associated with such “enterprise.” It

cannot, then, be held liable, although individuals who owned

and/or operated this entity may have had liability.

Ill. DAMAGES

The defendants vigorously contend that the award of dam-

ages cannot stand because plaintiffs paid out, cumulatively,

only $211,700 and yet were awarded nearly six times this

total in actual damages. Plaintiffs simply assert that damages

are not confined to the amount appellees paid in down pay-

ments, and that the purpose of the RICO statute is to punish

offending defendants. Plaintiffs have failed to set out with

particularity the tax adjustments and have offered little proof

17a

to indicate what reasonable return could be expected on their

investment (if and when paid for).

Even if we accept the principle that RICO damages are

designed to punish, we require plaintiffs in RICO cases to

set Out a reasonable and principled basis of recovery. The

effective means of punishing a defendant in the civil RICO

context is to apply the treble multiplier to damages estab-

lished by competent proof, not based upon mere speculation

and surmise.

18 U.S.C. § 1964(c) states that “Any person injured in his

business or property by reason of a violation of section 1962

of the chapter may sue therefore in any appropriate United

States district court and shall recover threefold the damages

he sustains and the cost of the suit, including a reasonable

attorney’s fee.” We begin our consideration of the damage

award with reference to the statutory standard, which, we

concede is not very enlightening.

The measure of damages under civil RICO has been

described as the harm occasioned as a result of the predicate

acts of the offenders. Sedima, S.P.R.L. v. Imrex Co., 473 U.S.

479, 497 (1985). A plaintiff injured by civil RICO violations

deserves a “complete recovery.” Carter v. Berger, 777 F.2d

1173, 1176 (7th Cir. 1985); see Liguid Air, 834 F.2d at 1310.

Courts have interpreted this statute to mean that a plaintiff

may recover only the “damages flowing directly from the

predicate acts.” Volk v. D. A. Davidson & Co., 816 F.2d 1406,

1415 (9th Cir. 1987); Haroco, Inc. v. American Nat'l Bank

& Trust Co., 747 F.2d 384, 398 (7th Cir. 1984) aff'd, 473 U.S.

606 (1985); DeMent v. Abbott Capital Corp., 589 F. Supp.

1378, 1386 (N.D. Ind. 1984). Recovery for physical injury

or mental suffering is not allowed under civil RICO because

it is not an injury to business or property. See e.g. Drake v.

B. F. Goodrich, 782 F.2d 638, 644 (6th Cir. 1986).

As a general rule, RICO plaintiffs are entitled only to dam-

ages to business or property proximately caused by the predi-

18a

cate acts. See Haroco, 473 U.S. at 609. Applying this rule

to the circumstances of this case we believe that plaintiffs’

damages should be limited to the amounts actually invested.

Appellants indicate that plaintiffs collectively paid out to

defendants only $211,700; plaintiffs do not challenge these

computations.

Plaintiffs contend that the jury intended to award them

expectancy or “benefit of the bargain” damages. Although in

some cases expectancy damages might be appropriate, clearly

they are not in this case. One district court case is especially

illustrative of this point. In Heinhold v. Perlstein, 651 F.

Supp. 1410 (E.D. Pa. 1987), the court dismissed a case

because the plaintiff failed to show how defendant’s conduct

caused him any injury. Plaintiffs similarly have failed here.

The conduct of the defendants in the case at bar caused the

parties to invest in the films but it did not cause the invest-

ment items to become less profitable than defendants repre-

sented. As in Heinhold, the fraud could not simultaneously

induce plaintiffs to invest and reduce the value of the invest-

ment’s object. There was ample warning about risks involved,

particularly tax hazards, therefore, expectancy damages are

not recoverable under these circumstances. In addition, there

was no realistic evidence presented as to a reasonable value

or estimate of lost profits or of the “bargain” based on anal-

ogy, experience, or practice.

Plaintiffs also contend that they are entitled to future tax

benefits and the penalties associated with the IRS actions

against them. Once again, we cannot say that these expenses

were caused by the illegal predicate acts. Appellants’ fraudu-

lent conduct was confined to representations of the value of

the films sold to plaintiffs. Parties remain “free to arrange

[their] financial affairs to minimize [their] tax liability,”

Stranahan v. Commissioner, 472 F.2d 867, 869 (6th Cir.

1973), and plaintiffs were not mislead about tax conse-

quences, particularly, Donald Forrester, the C.P.A. The evi-

dence unequivocally indicates that plaintiffs were truthfully

19a

advised of the risks associated with the investment’s tax treat-

ment. This case is very different from Hofstetter v. Fletcher,

No. 87-3502, slip op. (6th Cir. Oct. 14, 1988), in which the

fraudulent acts were representations, which defendants knew

were false, that plaintiffs could eliminate their federal tax lia-

bility by purchasing a life insurance policy in conjunction

with the formation of a home-based business and deducting

household expenses as business expenses.

During closing argument before the jury, plaintiffs asserted

that they were entitled to damages for “everything they had

to go through and are still going through” as a result of the

alleged wrongdoing. To the extent that this was an invitation

for physical injury or mental suffering, it was improper; these

damages are not allowed under RICO because they are not

injuries to business or property. Drake v. B. F. Goodrich Co.,

782 F.2d 638, 644 (6th Cir. 1986).

After addressing the extent of plaintiffs’ damages, appel-

lants contend that damages should be reduced by the amount

of tax benefits plaintiffs received. We disagree. In Randall

v. Loftgaarden, 478 U.S. 647 (1986), the Supreme Court held,

in a securities case, that the rescissory recovery should not

be reduced by tax benefits received from a tax shelter invest-

ment. The court articulated several reasons for its decision.

First, tax benefits are not “income.” The securities law at

issue stated that the amount of recovery would be consider-

ation paid less income received. See id. at 651-52, 658; 15

U.S.C. § 772). This factor is not specifically relevant in the

RICO context. Second, however, at common law tax benefits

were not a direct product of the security. Randall, 478 U.S.

at 658. And third, the statute seeks rescission plus deterrence,

therefore, denying defendants the benefit of offsetting tax

benefits generated by their illegal offering is an appropriate

result. See also Freschi v. Grand Coal Venture, 767 F.2d 1041

(2d Cir. 1985); vacated, 106 S. Ct. 3325, on remand, 800 F.2d

305, reconsidered, 806 F.2d 17 (Supreme Court remanded

to determine tax question in light of Randall and Sedima).

20a

Plaintiffs’ award should not be reduced by tax benefits, if any,

received.

Finally, the district court also erred in instructing the jury

to award damages against each defendant separately and in-

dividualiy. Although there is little direct law on this point,

there are numerous RICO criminal forfeiture cases which

indicate that the nature of the RICO offense mandates joint

and several liability. See United States v. Caporale, 806

F.2d 1487, 1506-09 (11th Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 482 U.S.

917 (1987); United States v. Benevento, 663 F. Supp. 1115,

1118-19 (S.D.N.Y. 1987), 836 F.2d 129 (2d Cir. 1988);

see also Beneficial Standard Life Ins. Co. v. Madarriaga,

851 F.2d 271, 272 (9th Cir. 1988) (civil RICO liability

assessed joint and severally); cf, Texas Industries, Inc. v.

Radcliff Materials, Inc., 451 U.S. 630, 638-46 (1981) (no

right to contribution implied under Sherman or Clayton Act);

Northwest Airlines, Inc. v. Transport Workers, 451 U.S. 77,

86-99 (1981) (no right to contribution implied under Equal

Pay Act or Title VII); Miller v. Affiliated Financial Corp.,

624 F. Supp. 1003, 1004 (N.D. Ill. 1985) (contribution is

not available as to RICO liability, relying on Texas Industries

and Northwest Airlines). Defendants all participated in the

‘enterprise’ responsible for the RICO violations; awarding

damages separately between each plaintiff and defendant is

inconsistent with the nature of the injury appellants inflicted

and brings about a danger of multiplying damages before

they are trebled.°

%It is an interesting question as to whether the award to Fleischhauer

should be reduced by the commissions he received. Upon reflection,

we conclude that Fleischhauer may be compensated for the time he

spent promoting the program on the theory that loss to his time was

damage to his business induced by defendants’ conduct.

2la

CONCLUSION

We AFFIRM the jury’s verdict on all liability issues with

the exception of Krypton. We REVERSE the judgment as

to Krypton. We also REVERSE the damages determination;

plaintiffs are entitled to damages, assessed jointly and sever-

ally against defendants, equal to their investment in the pro-

gram, in the amount of $211,700. Based on RICO principles,

this award will be trebled, the amounts to be allocated based

on the schedule attached reflecting the total payments made

by each plaintiff.

22a

APPENDIX

Damage Awards (without trebling) (R.6!)

Purchase Actual Damages Damages

Price/ Down Against Againsi Total

Down Payment C. Elvin Each of Againsi All

Plaintiff/ Payment Made Tax Felner, Other 4 Defendanis

Transcript Due Audit Tax Jr. Defendants

Testumony Treatment (seperately)

1. Natividad $65,000/ $6,000 yes received $10,048 + $2,512 = $20,096

Aumentado $12,500 benefits; x4

(Tr. after audit

1096-1097) $3,578 in

(stipulation) interesi &

penalties

paid

2. Ken W 65,007 5,000 yes received 26,929 + 6,732 = $3,857

Chambers 12,500 benefits; x4

(Tr. audit

921-931) pending

3. Gordon 350,500/ @35,000 yes received 43,166 + 10,792 = 86,334

M. Earte 68,000 (Tr. benefits, x4

tr. 233, total tax

199-253) 240) Savings

unknown

(Tr.241-245,

248); after

audit

approx

$35,000

owed

(Tr.212-215,

800 $38.

4. Harry E 129, 200 yes 38,998 in 28,378 + 7,094 = 56,754

Puucnhenael 8,600 (Tr.484) benefis x4

(Tr. received;

628-697) after audit

(Ts $26,000 tax,

840-869) $25,000 ”

(Tr. interest,

875-921) $3,000

penalty paid

(Tr. 910,

919-20)

$. Bruce |. 65,0007 1,300 yes $50,00 in 14,833 + 3,708 = 29,665

- Forrester 10,000 benefits x4

(Tr. (Tr. received;

942-989) 964) after audit

$50,000 in

tmterest &

es —

sf” (Tr.

96 5-966)

6. Donald 162,507” O yo $97,500 in 85,732 + 21,433 = 171,464

Forresier 2,500 benefits x4

(Tr. received,

1048-1052) audit

(Tr. pending

1064-1095) with

poteaual

payment duc

(Tr

1008-1015)

Dennis 65,000/

M 12,500

Charles 65,000/

(stipulation)

c= 65,000/

Lee 12,500

(Tr.

$12-$47)

3,000

12,500

$,000

25,000

$,000

no

yes

yes

23a

Forrester

received

benefits, in

excess of

$12,500

cash net

profi (Tr

1013-1014)

received

benefits;

after audit

received,

$34,000

received

benefits,

after audi

benefits

disallowed

$20,000 in

federal tax

benefits

received (Tr

$37)

17,166

37,742

14,488

41,878

26,929

28,394

3,622

10,469

6,732

75 486

28.976

83.754

04.479

$6.786

14 Charts

Muciier

(Tr

931-942)

(Tr

(Tr

253-319)

TUTALS

65,000 § 6,000

12,500

65000 12500

12.500

200.000 35,0008

6500N 12.500

ss 4000

$2,085, 750621 1.700

$346 oi

‘4

yewno

>

RUE

24,259

$2,747

25.510

4

x4

+ 922%

4

+ 20.68)

$io4.264

«4

46519

= 165.495

- $id?

= #85017

eee

FOOTNOTES:

2.

3.

Received commissions on all sales to plaintiffs and others in the

amount of $55,858 (JTX-62) (Tr. 1288)

Stipulation (Tr. 51)

Balance of $8200 to be paid through offset on commissions duc

(JTX-115)

. Joint return filed in 1980 for Bruce Forrester and Kathiecen Forrester

per the former (Tr. 964-965), and separate return per the latier (Tr.

911)

. Paid $25,000 by Charles Eppling and $10,000 by George Renker

(nothing paid by REF or Donald Forrester) (Tr. 1036)

. No tax paid by REF or by Donald Forrester as general partner,

Charlies Eppling paid $106,668 and George Renker paid $113,114

to IRS

26a

SUPPLEMENTAL OPINION

Issued August 31, 1989

In our original opinion in this case, we affirmed the

jury’s verdict on liability issues, with the exception of

Krypton Corporation’s liability which we reversed, and we

reversed the damages determination finding that the evi-

dence could not support the amount of damages the jury

awarded. We held that in civil actions under the Racketeer

Influenced Corrupt Organizations Act, a successful —

is “entitled to damages to business or property proxi

mately caused by the predicate acts,” andi daily tnd

severally. Under the evidence introduced at that trial, we

concluded that the plaintiffs were entitled, for the most

part, to recover the “amounts actually invested,” subject

to trebling. To assist the district court in modifying its

judgment on remand, we attached to the opinion, as an

Appendix, a chart summarizing the evidence presented re-

lating to these amounts.

Appellees filed a motion for rehearing on July 11, 1989,

to which this court requested a response from appellants.

A response was filed on July 28, 1989. Appellees asked

the panel to reconsider some of the Appendix entries in

light of information in the transcript not previously brought

to the attention of the panel. Appellants conceded several

of appellees’ objections in their response.

In light of appellants’ concessions and our evaluation of

the other points raised in appellees’ motion to reconsider,

ve et ee the opinion to reflect the fol-

lowing payments several of the appellees made to South-

west Capital Corporation. The following appellees should

be credited with having paid the amounts in parentheses

following their names in addition to the amounts reflected

in the Appendix: Bruce I. Forrester ($254); Dennis M.

Harrington ($630); Roger Houston ($1,416); Charles Muel-

27a

ler ($600); Daniel E. & Carol Ann Wright ($410); and

Joseph Reisinger ($210).

Appellees also contest the amount of down payments

made by Bruce I. Forrester and Kathleen D. Forrester.

The precise amounts of their down payments should be

determined by the district court on remand.

In all other respects the Court’s opinion is AFFIRMED.

28a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

WESTERN DIVISION -

Civil No. C-1-84-0872

Harry Fleischhauer, Et al.,

Plaintiffs,

v.

Elvin Feltner, Jr., Et al.,

Defendants.

ORDER

This matter is before the Court upon consideration of

the jury award attached hereto as Chart A. In accordance

therewith and in accordance with 18 U.S.C. § 1964 the

Court does order that each of such damages award be and

it is hereby tripled resulting in an award of damages as

attached in Chart B.

In addition to the foregoing, Plaintiffs are hereby

awarded their costs and a reasonable attorney fee.

Plaintiffs’ counsel is directed to submit to the Court within

thirty (30) days of the date of this Order a statement

setting forth in detail the legal services rendered and the

appropriate costs therefor.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

/s/ Carl B. Rubin

Carl B. Rubin, Chief Judge

United States District Court

WEyUsRRy YEW A, LEBEL

oo zEL'9 $ oozeL's $ oo zEL's $ oo zeL's $ 00 626 92 wyosy PF PPYe WD FaP peer “| SEA)

oozeL'9 $ oozes $ oo zeL's $ 00 zeL'9 $ 00 626 92$

00 9226 $ 00°922'6 $ 009226 $ 00°922'6 $ 00°b06 ‘ot

008602 $ 00860. $ 00 860. $ 008602 $ 00 P68 '8z$

oo eer 12s oo'eer Iz 00 Ser 'izs oo'eer iz 00282 ‘Ses

oozIsz $ OOZISZ $ oozisz $ oOzIsz $ 00'sP0 01

00°922'6 $ 009226 $ 00°922'6 § 00°922'6 00°h06 68

ooo90's F 00 090'8 00 0908 00 090'8 00 682 zed

0o's90'9 $ 00°S90°9 00°990'9 00°$90'9 00692 bz$

oo'zz9's $ 00°22z9'S oo zzo's $ 00 2z9's oo seP'bis

00 La9"0z$ yy 00 La9"0z$ Cyt os ae OL tet

0026201 00°26 018 00°26. 01 00°26. 018 00°991

00202 01$ 00°Z02‘01$ 00202 0I$ 00°20 OI 00"

oo'ser'é $ oo'9e?'6 oo'9er'6 oo'ger'’é $ 00 ZPL"

00162? oo'1é6z'> $ 00° 162° oo'ré6z'> $ oo'99T "LI

BS wove ¢ ORO | wwe’ oowot weer

N 00'69P OI 00°699 OI! 00°69? 01 00°69'0I 008281

o0'6le'9 $ 00°6z8'9 00'6le'9 ¢ 00°68'9 00919

Orel $ 00 F607 00 9602 P60 wee et

Su] BURY UE YOdO.QoW ou] SwRy eeg wey mULAy)] 4¢

won todo) wye ou] Weaquedaiy Wye ou] wequeduy c +4

word y ue yodol oy Yotey wile HeQoy wag “OD

SSOVAVG OO1W

Vv LUVHD

LLVNNIONID “AIG LSM OIHO 4O LORALSIG NYSHLNOS LUNOOD LOMAsid ‘sn

48, Wd L9°§ 62 Thr WUT “AHdYNW ff HLUNNGYX

aaa

ZL80-F8-T-D

J9U}}24f -A- JENVYYISIEL J

CK: aa 961 02s

961 zd 961 0cs

Tye } Tyr}

per tes vec ics

~~“66z 098 662 b98

seo. $ oeo'L

ry Oryis ¥

Cie er

961 BI ort

99801 98 014

190 190 298

Ts} oie zed

ores 901 ees

~ ge Bz poe Bzs

cis zis ties

, peril vers

. Lor Lol

\ Lees “evel

‘ waz tes eel

Quy SWI URYQOdOL OQ ou] SwY PRY wey outa’)

wpe ou] equodady we cup equedauy c

wyodouyo yowoy WIRY oqo’

SHOVAVG Ga 1dsaaL

W@ LUVHO

3la

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

WESTERN DIVISION

CASE NUMBER: C-1-84-0872

HARRY FLEISCHHAUER ET AL.

v.

ELVIN FELTNER, JR. ET AL.

JUDGMENT IN A CIVIL CASE

©) Jury Verdict. This action came before the Court for a

trial by jury. The issues have been tried and the jury

has rendered its verdict.

@ Decision by Court. This action came to trial or hearing

before the Court. The issues have been tried or heard

and a decision has been rendered.

IT IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that the jury award

be TRIPLED. Further ORDERED that plaintiffs are

AWARDED their costs and reasonable attorney fees.

Plaintiff's counsel is DIRECTED to submit to the

Court within 30 days a statement seting forth in

detail the legal services rendered and appropriate

costs. .

August 13, 1987 Kenneth J. Murphy, Clerk

Date Clerk

/s/ Paul Hennessy

(By) Deputy Clerk

32a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

WESTERN DIVISION

Civil No. C-1-84-0872

Harry Fleischhauer, Et al.,

Plaintiffs,

v.

Elvin Feltner, Jr., Et al.,

Defendants.

FILED

KENNETH J. MURPHY

CLERK

OCT 29 1:47 PM ‘87

U.S. DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

WESTERN DIV. CINCINNATI

ORDER

This matter is before the Court on a motion for a di-

rected verdict, judgment not withstanding the verdict and

for new trial by defendant C. Elvin Feltner, Jr., Robert

J. Levine, Palm Beach Properties, Inc., (also know as Palm

Beach Films, Inc.), Metropolitan Properties, Inc., (also

known as Metropolitan Films, Inc.), and Krypton Prop-

erties, Inc. (doc. 65) and upon Krypton Corporation’s mo-

tion for directed verdict and/or judgment notwithstanding

the verdict and in the alternative for a new trial (doc. 67).

Plaintiff responded to such motions by document 71 and

defendants have replied by documents 72 and 73. Upon

33a

consideration of the foregoing motions, the Court deter-

mines that defendants were accorded a fair trial and that

the jury was properly instructed as to the applicable law.

The determination by the jury was consistent with the

evidence presented and with the instructions of the Court.

Accordingly, such motions are hereby DENIED.

Plaintiffs’ counsel has submitted a statement for services

in accordance with the judgment entered August 13, 1987.

Such statement, however, does not comply with the re-

quirements of this Court and must be resubmitted pur-

suant to Section III of the “Instructions for Trial

Preparation in the Court of Carl B. Rubin, Chief Judge’’.

Plaintiffs’ counsel have presented a chronological state-

ment which is incapable of review by this Court. Plaintiffs’

counsel are hereby granted thirty days within which to

refile such request in accordance with this Court’s Instruc-

tions.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

/s/ Carl B. Rubin

Carl B. Rubin, Chief Judge

United States District Court

34a

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

No. 87-4060

HARRY E. FLEISCHHAUER, et al.,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

v.

C. ELVIN FELTNER, JR., et al.,

Defendants-A ppellants.

FILED

JUN 27 1989

LEONARD GREEN, Clerk

Before: KRUPANSKY and WELLFORD, Circuit Judges; and

JOINER, Senior District Judge.

JUDGMENT

ON APPEAL from the United States District Court for

the Southern District of Ohio.

THIS CAUSE came on to be heard on the record from

the said district court and was argued by counsel.

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, It is now here ordered

and adjudged by this court that the judgment of the said

district court in this case be and the same is hereby af-

firmed in part and reversed in part.

Each party is to bear its own costs on appeal.

ENTERED BY ORDER OF THE COURT

Leonard Green, Clerk

/s/ Leonard Green

Clerk

35a

Issued as Mandate: September 25, 1989 A True Copy.

COSTS None Attest:

SIND cccuvscanssacpeswossensd $ /s/ Gary McCarthy

IIE: bit cialitnnsssacosbynccancs $ Deputy Clerk

36a

18 U.S.C. §1961. Definitions

(1) ‘racketeering activity’’ means (A) any act or threat

involving murder, kidnapping, gambling, arson, robbery,

bribery, extortion, dealing in obscene matter, or dealing

in narcotic or other dangerous drugs, which is chargeable

under State law and punishable by imprisonment for more

than one year; (B) any act which is indictable under any

of the following provisions of title 18, United States Code:

Section 201 (relating to bribery), section 224 (relating to

sports bribery), sections 471, 472, and 473 (relating to

counterfeiting), section 659 (relating to theft from inter-

state shipment) if the act indictable under section 659 is

felonious, section 664 (relating to embezzlement from pen-

sion and welfare funds), sections 891-894 (relating to ex-

tortionate credit transactions), section 1084 (relating to the

transmission of gambling information), section 1341 (relat-

ing to mail fraud), section 1343 (relating to wire fraud),

sections 1461-1465 (relating to obscene matter),

section 1503 (relating to obstruction of justice), section 1510

(relating to obstruction of criminal] investigations),

section 1511 (relating to the obstruction of State or local

law enforcement), section 1512 (relating to tampering with

a witness, victim, or an informant), section 1513 (relating

to retaliating against a witness, victim, or an informant),

section 1951 (relating to interference with commerce, rob-

bery, or extortion), section 1952 (relating to racketeering),

section 1953 (relating to interstate transportation of wag-

ering paraphernalia), section 1954 (relating to unlawful

welfare fund payments), section 1955 (relating to the pro-

hibition of illegal gambling businesses), section 1956 (re-

lating to engaging in monetary transactions in property

derived from specified unlawful activity), sections 2312 and

2318 (relating to interstate transportation of stolen motor

vehicles), sections 2314 and 2315 (relating to interstate

transportation of stolen property), section 2320 (relating to

trafficking in certain motor vehicles or motor vehicle parts),

sections 2341-2346 (relating to white slave traffic), (C) any

=

37a

act which is indictable under title 29, United States Code.

section 186 (dealing with restrictions on payments and

loans to labor organizations) or section 501(c) (relating to

embezzlement from union funds), (D) any offense involving

fraud connected with a case under title 11, fraud in the

sale of securities, or the felonious manufacture, importa-

tion, receiving, concealment, buying, selling, or otherwise

dealing in narcotic or other dangerous drugs, punishable

under any law of the United States; or (E) any act which

is indictable under the Currency and Foreign Transactions

Reporting Act;

(2) “State” means any State of the United States, the

District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.

any territory or possession of the United States, any po-

litical subdivision, or any department, agency, or instru-

mentality thereof;

(3) “person” includes any individual or entity capable of

holding a Jegal or beneficial interest in property;

(4) “enterprise”’ includes any individual, partnership, cor-

poration, association, or other legal entity, and any union

or group of individuals associated in fact although not a

legal entity;

(5) “pattern of racketeering activity’’ requires at least

two acts of racketeering activity, one of which occurred

after the effective date of this chapter and the last of

which occurred within ten years (excluding any period of

imprisonment) after the commission of a prior act of rack-

eteering activity;

(6) ‘unlawful debt’? means a debt (A) incurred or con-

tracted in gambling activity which was in violation of the

law of the United States, a State or political subdivision

thereof, or which is unenforceable under State or Federa!

law in whole or in part as to principal or interest because

38a

of the laws relating to usury, and (B) which was incurred

in connection with the business of gambling in violation

of the law of the United States, a State or political sub-

division thereof, or the business of lending money or a

thing of value at a rate usurious under State or Federal

law, where the usurious rate is at least twice the enforce-

able rate;

(7) “racketeering investigator’”’ means any attorney or

investigator so designated by the Attorney General and

charged with the duty of enforcing or carrying into effect

this chapter;

(8) “racketeering investigation’”’ means any inquiry con-

ducted by any racketeering investigator for the purpose

of ascertaining whether any person has been involved in

any violation of this chapter or of any final order, judg-

ent, or decree of any court of the United States, duly

entered in any case or proceeding arising under this chap-

ver;

(9) ‘documentary material” includes any book, paper,

document, record, recording, or other material; and

(10) ‘Attorney General” includes the Attorney General

of the United States, the Deputy Attorney General of the

United States, any Assistant Attorney General of the

United States, or any employee of the Department of Jus-

tice or any employee of any department or agency of the

United States so designated by the Attorney General to

carry out the powers conferred on the Attorney General

by this chapter. Any department or agency so designated

may use in investigations authorized by this chapter either

the investigative provisions of this chapter or the inves-

tigative power of such department or agency otherwise

conferred by law.

18 U.S.C. §1962. Prohibited activities

(a) It shal] be unlawful for any person who has received

any income derived, directly or indirectly, from a pattern

39a

of racketeering activity or through collection of an unlaw-

ful debt in which such person has participated as a prin-

cipal within the meaning of section 2, title 18, United

States Code, to use or invest, directly or indirectly any

part of such income, or the proceeds of such income, in

acquisition of any interest in, or the establishment or op-

eration of, any enterprise which is engaged in, or the

activities of which affect, interstate or foreign commerce.

A purchase of securities on the open market for purposes

of investment, and without the intention of controlling or

participating in the contro] of the issuer, or of assisting

another to do so, shal] not be unlawful under this sub-

section if the securities of the issuer held by the purchaser,

the members of his immediate family, and his or their

accomplices in any pattern of racketeering activity or the

collection of an unlawful debt after such purchase do not

amount in the aggregate to one percent of the outstanding

securities of any one class, and do not confer, either in

law or in fact, the power to elect one or more directors

of the issuer.

(b) It shal] be unlawful for any person through a pattern

of racketeering activity or through collection of an unlaw-

ful debt to acquire or maintain, directly or indirectly, any

interest in or contro] of any enterprise which is engaged

in, or the activities of which affect, interstate or foreign

commerce.

(c) It shal] be unlawful for any person employed by or

associated with any enterprise engaged in, or the activities

of which affect, interstate or foreign commerce, to conduct

or participate, directly or indirectly, in the conduct of such

enterprise’s affairs through a pattern of racketeering ac-

tivity, or collection of unlawful debt.

(d) It shall be unlawful for any person to conspire to

violate any of the provisions of subsections (a), (b), or (c)

of this section.

40a

18 U.S.C. §1964 Civil Remedies

(c) Any person injured in his business or property by

reason of a violation of section 1962 of this chapter may

sue therefor in any appropriate United States district court

and shal] recover threefold the damages he sustains and

the cost of the suit, including a reasonable attorney’s fee.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.