Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Zapp v. United Transportation Union

Supreme Court brief1990

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

LARRY ZAPP, et al.,

Petitioners

Vv.

UNITED TRANSPORTATION UNION,

Respondent

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

DEAN E. RICHARDS *

9000 Keystone Crossing

Suite 920

Indianapolis, IN 46249

(317) 848-4775

Attorney for Petitioners

* Counsel of Record

WILSON - Epes PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

I. Was there a material issue of fact or law as to when

the statute of limitations began to run against Petition-

er’s duty of fair representation claim against Respondent,

which was brought six (6) years before Del Costello,

462 U.S. 151 (1983), 103 S. Ct. 2281, 76 L. Ed. 2d 476,

was decided by this Court and made retroactive by the

Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals in Landehl v. P.P.G.

Industries, Inc.?

II. Was there material issue of fact or law as to

whether the Doctrine of Equitable Estoppel and Equitable

Tolling should apply against Respondent’s defense of stat-

ute of limitation when it was admitted by the parties

hereto that when the December 18, 1975 Multiple Party

Railroad-Union Collective Bargaining Agreement was

signed, concerning the issue if the Petitioner’s employer,

Indianapolis Union Railway Co., an independent sub-

sidiary railroad of Penn Central, would even be included

in the collective bargaining terms and conditions and

Petitioners be thus affected by its terms and conditions.

III. Whether the Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals’

decision in this matter conflicts with an applicable decision

of this Court as to when the Del Costello’s retroactive six

(6) month statute of limitations began to run against

Petitioner’s fair representation claim against Respondent.

IV. Whether the Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals’

decision in this matter conflicts with the decision of an-

other Federal Circuit Court of Appeals on the same issue.

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEY ................ i

ET iv

III li dein cnshedvabiteshisenshantiivssesentnnsanitanemnioinne 1

IIL, Scrabchececcideitsstaahinneaniaiunnbinineiitntinsiniiennnsetanninennniin 2

ce ceeinsbn abet snaaianeinsnstions 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ......00w.o... eee 2

BASIS FOR FEDERAL JURISDICTION IN THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF INDIANA _.. 8

REASONS FOR GRANTING WRIT .... nw... 8

Ta ald tn intennltechdinahannnaieninninettienitannisisannio 17

aici sila ensicckanstaianesnsnaaennennianivisiin la

(iii)

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page

Atkinson v. International Union of Electrical

Radio and Machine Workers, 729 F.2d 330 (6th

Cir. 1985) .. x eneniieas 15

Cliff v. UAW, 818 F. 2d 623. (7th Cir. 1987) . iebiadiand 9

Del Costello v. International Brotherhood of Team-

eters, 462 U.S. 161 (1988) -..........................6, 9, 11, 16

Dement v. Richmond, Fredricksburg, & Pennsyl-

vania Railroad Company, 345 F.2d 451 (4th

SESTIGID secnndesicnewsseiatecacinsamaludsctimsidactinidiplatiedaialaa Uh aiaiioactiaetiael 14, 15

Gettes v. Chrysler Corporation, 608 F.2d 261 (6th

AN I a anaes 15

Glover v. St. Louis-San Francisco Railroad Com-

ates, SEB UTE. GHG CRBGB) on... -nccneneeveecec cna nies.. 15

Hayes v. Reynolds Metal Company, 769 F.2d 1520

I ldianen 15

Humphrey v. Moore, 375 U.S. 335 (1964) .............. 16

Landahl v. PPG Industries, Inc., 746 F.2d 1312

(7th Cir. 1984) -......... inpbiteadisanihcelaiiaciaaitiidcesh siidains Dataatied 9

United Transportation Union, Local 74 v. Consoli-

dated Rail Corporation and United Transporta-

tion Union, 881 F.2d 282 (1989) _..........000......... ; 15

Vaca v. Sipes, 386 U.S. 171 (1967) ......... coecraaeaens 16

Zapp v. UTU, et al., 727 F.2d 617 (1984) -.....0.2.... 6

STATUTES

I ial 2

EE RIERA Ae ae Mees, Ate bat A 2,8

Ta, ecsgnas damanieetnamsaiensantnsesene 2,8

(lo: ° a" es RR MIP eae EAN 2,8

IN THE

Sipreme Court of the Wuited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

No. ——

LARRY ZAPP, et al.,

Petitioners

Vv.

UNITED TRANSPORTATION UNION,

Respondent

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Seventh Circuit is reported under 879 F.2d 1439, and

is printed in the Appendix hereto, infra, page la.

The Memorandum, Decision and Judgment of the

United States District Court for the Southern District of

Indiana, Indianapolis Division, is printed in the Appendix

hereto, infra, page 7a.

The decision of the Interstate Commerce Commission,

under Finance Docket No. 21989, and is printed in the

Appendix hereto, infra, page 54a. The previous decision

of the United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh

Circuit reported under 727 F.2d 617 is printed in the

Appendix hereto, infra, page 29a.

JURISDICTION

The Judgment of the United States Court of Appeals

of the Seventh Circuit was entered on July 7, 1989. A

timely Petition for Rehearing was denied on July 26,

1989. The jurisdiction of the Supreme Court is invoked

under 28 U.S.C, 1254(1).

STATUTES INVOLVED

Petitioner’s duty of fair representation claim was based

upon 45 U.S.C. 152 relating to railway labor disputes and

further, 49 U.S.C. 11347 which deals with employees pro-

tective arrangements and transactions involving rail car-

riers, and 28 U.S.C. 1336 which relates to an interstate

commerce commission order which Petitioner previously

requested the District Court to enforce.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

When the Pennsylvania Railroad merged with the New

York Central Transportation Company there was an en-

tity created known as the Penn Central Transportation

Company. That the 145 Petitioners herein were all for-

mer employees of the Indianapolis Union Railway Com-

pany and on February 1, 1968 I.U.R.C. was a wholly

owned, though independently operated, subsidiary of the

Pennsylvania Railroad.

That prior to the Penn Central merger certain nego-

tiations took place to protect the seniority rights of af-

fected employees of the two (2) railway systems and

subsidiaries. These negotiations produced a Collective

Bargaining Agreement that granted most employees a

February 1, 1968 seniority date on the Penn Central

Track. That the Indianapolis Union Railway Company

employees, due to its independent status, was not a party

to the February 1, 1968 agreement. Thus, said employees,

while retaining their original date of hire of seniority on

track within the I.U. Territory, did not receive any

Se

3

seniority date on other Penn Central tracks, a fact that

was alleged to have produced inequitable results. Shortly

after the merger was effected the I.U. employees retained

the UTU as their exclusive bargaining representative.

During the mid 1970’s Congress created Conrail, a

corporation formed to acquire the assets of several bank-

rupt railroads, including the Penn Central. That on De-

cember 18, 1975 a Collective Bargaining Agreement was

signed that defined the seniority rights of employees af-

fected by the pending Conrail Acquisition. Essentially

the agreement preserved the seniority status quo for em-

ployees throughout the territory of the acquired railroad

while granting them a seniority date on other Conrail

tracks commensurate with the date of acquisition of their

former employer. That it is admitted by the Petitioners

and the Respondent, and the District Court, that when

the December 18, 1975 Collective Bargaining Agreement

was signed it had not yet been determined whether the

Petitioners’ employer, Indianapolis Union Railway Com-

pany, would be included in said December 18, 1975 Col-

lective Bargaining Agreement or remain an independent

subsidiary as before.

That on January 24, 1977 seniority rosters detailing the

status of former I.U. employees were posted and Peti-

tioners’ representative then immediately complained to

the Respondent about the inequitable results produced by

the Respondent’s interpretation of the December 18, 1975

Collective Bargaining Agreement terms, which apparently

did apply to Indianapolis Union Railway Company and

its employees.

That all of said Petitioners, except two, Rather and

Overstreet, all signed affidavits that they had no knowl-

edge that the December 18, 1975 Collective Bargaining

Agreement even applied to them or to the Indianapolis

Union Railway Company and further signed affidavits

that they had no knowledge of the Collective Bargaining

cen aeenarinaeeneeneatait stele

4

Agreement or its terms until the seniority roster was

posted in January of 1977.

That the Petitioners did, on or about January 24, 1977,

through their representative, complain to the Respondent

of the inequitable seniority status of said Indianapolis

Union Railway Employees and requested an administra-

tive hearing to obtain relief for the affected Petitioners

herein on January 24, 1977. That a request for internal

union relief from Petitioners’ representative was for-

warded by General Chairman, Overstreet, to Respondent’s

Vice President, Craigo, which forwarded said demand

on to Respondent’s Internationa! President, Chessar. That

on or about March 25, 1977 President, Chessar, directed

correspondence te the Petitioners’ attorney representative

that he disagreed with the Petitioners’ position concerning

the Respondent’s alleged breach of its duty to fairly rep-

resent Petitioners concerning their seniority rights, Ches-

sar aiso made reference to the disgruntled Petitioners

herein that the Respondent, Union, would defend them-

selves in a civil action if Petitioner brought an action

against Respondent. The Respondent did not refer the

matter to further union proceedings as required under

the Union.

That the Local Chairman, Charles 0. Baker, did file an

affidavit with the District Court stating that he was an

agent of Respondent and was not aware that Respondent

had negotiated and executed a December 18, 1975 Agree-

ment for engine, servicemen, and train employees, until

the later part of 1977. That further, General Chairman,

Rather, an agent of the Respondent, stated that based

upon President Chessar’s correspondence to Petitioners’

attorney representative, dated March 25, 1977 there was

no doubt in General Chairman Rather’s mind that UTU

had no intentions of fairly representing the I.U. em-

ployees’ interest with respect to seniority. That further

he swore that various Respondent officials, including

President Chessar and Vice President, Burke, had acted

in bad faith in dealing with Petitioners’ seniority rights

and further that Rather, as a General Chairman of said

Respondent, did not become aware of what the Union’s

position was as to the Petitioners’ seniority rights until

the actual consolidation of the I.U. facilities with the

Penn Central Track in the later part of January, 1977.

Further, Rather was not invited to the Respondent’s

meeting at which the Nespondent’s General Chairman

elected a committee of five (5) general chairmen to nego-

tiate a system wide seniority plan and further Rather’s

affidavit did verify when the 1975 Collective Bargaining

Agreement was entered into it was not determined yet

whether the Indianapolis Union Railway Company would

be included in said Collective Bargaining Agreement

term or remain independent as before.

Respondent’s General Chairman, Russell Overstreet,

also signed an affidavit that he represented all I.U. em-

ployees, including the Petitioners herein, and stated that

he did not know whether the Indianapolis Union Railway

employees, would be included in the 1975 Collective Bar-

gaining Agreement. Further, General Chairman, Over-

street, signed an affidavit in the District Court that the

Respondent purposely concealed information especially in

regard to the Interstate Commerce decision relative to

said merger and that he and other Respondent offic‘als

did act in bad faith in representing the Petitioners with

respect to their seniority rights choosing to favor former

New York and Pennsylvania employees of which the

Indianapolis Union Railway employees were only a small

minority in dealing with the larger, in numbers, New

York and Pennsylvania employees.

That after receiving Respondent’s President, Chessar’s,

letter of March 25, 1977, addressed to Petitioners’ repre-

sentative, the Petitioners, on July 12, 1977, did file its

claim against the Respondents herein, their duty of fair

representation claim in the United States District Court

for the Southern District of Indiana.

EEE

6

That the District Court did grant a 12(b) Motion to

Dismiss said proceedings after a delay of several years.

The Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals did remand the pro-

ceedings back to the United States District Court under

the decision Zapp v. UTU, et al., 727 F.2d 617 (1984),

stating that the Petitioners did have a cause of action

against Respondent and gave the Petitioners an election

to also seek relief from I.C.C. Declaration Order.

That after remand to the United States District Court

Petitioners did petition the Interstate Commerce Com-

mission for a decision for an Order of Clarification con-

cerning the Indianapolis Union Railway Company em-

ployees seniority rights under the Penn Central merger.

The Interstate Commerce Commission, under Finance

Docket No. 21989, issued an order on May 6, 1986 stating

that the Indianapolis Union Railway Company was wrong-

fully left out of the Penn Central merger and should have

been treated as a subsidiary of Pennsylvania Railroad

and the employees of Indianapolis Union Railway Com-

pany should have seniority rights in said Penn Central

merger labor agreements. That the Respondent then filed

their Motion for Summary Judgment and Petitioners filed

opposition thereto and the District Court, on July 20,

1988 entered an order dismissing litigation based upon

the Del Costello six (6) month statute of limitation doc-

trine.

On July 20, 1988 the District Court ruled that the

Petitioners action against the UTU is barred by the

statute of limitations in ruling that the Petitioners had

not met the burden necessary to avail themselves of a

“discovery” statute of limitations and furthermore the

District Court ruled that the undisputed facts indicate

that the Petitioners should have discovered the existence

of a seniority agreement more than six (6) months prior

to the filing of suit. Further, the District Court ruled

that the Petitioners had demonstrated no basis for the

7

tolling of the limitation and granted said Motion for

Summary Judgment.

That the United States Court of Appeals for the Sev-

enth Circuit on July 7, 1989 did affirm the decision of

the District Court. The Circuit Court stated that each

of the individual Petitioners were required to produce

evidence demonstrating that they had not discovered the

existence of the Collective Bargaining Agreement prior

to January 12, 1977, and ruled that none of the Peti-

tioners had produced enough evidence to satisfy the dis-

covery exception issue and affirm the District Court’s

ruling.

The Circuit Court found that Respondent had sent

copies of the Collective Bargaining Agreent to Petition-

ers’ representative by September 1, 1976.

The Circuit Court held that the affidavit was insuffi-

cient as submitted by Charles Baker, who was the local

chairman of the Respondent, Union. Baker did not

learn of the existence of the Collective Bargaining Agree-

ment until the early part of 1977 which the Court held

was not sufficient evidence to avoid Summary Judgment

on the discovery exception issue.

The Circuit Court stated that the existence of rumors

that the Respondent was not adequately representing the

interest of the I.U. employees and in view of these

rumors the Circuit Court stated that they could fail to

see why. a diligent employee, who was concerned about

his seniority status under Conrail, would not have asked

his representatives, who were in possession of the Col-

lective Bargaining Agreement, about the seniority mat-

ter. That further, the Circuit Court ruled that Peti-

tioners’ contention that statute of limitations was toll

due to the Respondent’s fraudulent concealment of the

existence of the Collective Bargaining Agreement was not

a valid argument since the Respondent had sent copies of

the Collective Bargaining Agreement to General Chair-

8

man Overstreet by September 1, 1977. That further, the

Circuit Court held that Petitioners limitation period was

not tolled while the Petitioners exhausted their inter-

union remedies. That Circuit Court finally held that

the Petitioners’ argument that the Respondent should be

estopped from asserting the statute of limitations as a

defense was not valid because there was not sufficient

facts to show that the Respondent had induced the Pe-

titioners from forebearing suit within the applicable lim-

itation period.

BASIS FOR FEDERAL JURISDICTION IN THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF INDIANA

Jurisdiction rests with the United States District Court

for the Southern District of Indiana under 28 U.S.C.

1336, 45 U.S.C. 152, 28 U.S.C. 1331, and 49 U.S.C. 11347,

and the Petitioners were, at the time of the filing of the

original complaint in this action residents of the State

of Indiana or lived in or near Indianapolis, Indiana. All

of the Petitioners were either engineers or trainmen,

formerly or presently employed by Conrail. Further, all

Petitioners were, at all times pertinent, paying members

of, and in good standing, in the Respondent, Union.

REASONS FOR GRANTING WRIT

The Petitioners who are, or were former, employees of

the Indianapolis Union Railway Company, have since

1968 been denied any seniority rights relative to their

prior rights under the Penn Central Merger. That the

Petitioners have prior rights on the old Indiana Union

Railway Company tracks but do not have prior-prior

seniority rights under the Penn Central Collective Bar-

gaining Agreement, accord of February 1, 1968. This

results in former Pennsylvania and New York Central

employees who have prior-prior rights to out bid the

Petitioners and former Penn Central and have superior

seniority rights for jobs on the new Conrail seniority

districts.

a

9

Thus, the inequitable condition did, and does now,

exist, whereas, a former Penn Central employee has

seniority rights over an Indianapolis Union Railway Com-

pany employee who might have fifteen (15) years more

seniority within the system than the former Penn Central

employee and yet, while bidding under the new Conrail

seniority system the former Penn Central employee has

superior seniority rights to bid on jobs under the new

Conrail seniority system than the former Indianapolis

Union Railway employee who has been employed longer

than said former Penn Central employee.

The 145 Petitioners have literally lost millions of dol-

lars of lost wages and benefits by not being able to

compete with former Penn Central employees under the

old Penn Central Consolidated Seniority Rosters and

presently under the new Conrail Seniority Rosters which

only give the Petitioners prior seniority rights but not

prior-prior seniority rights as given to the Penn Central

employees.

That the Petitioners did file their cause of action

against the Respondent on July 12, 1977. That this

Court, in entering its decision in Del Costello v. Inter-

national Brotherhood of Teamsters, 462 U.S. 151 (1983),

did place the fair representation claims on a “fast track”’

by adopting a six (6) month statute of limitations retro-

active prior to 1983, but that Del Costello, supra, did

recognize the validity of tolling defenses such as equitable

estoppel or equitable tolling. That the Seventh Circuit

decision held that even though this action was com-

menced approximately six (6) years before Del Costello

was decided under Landahl v. PPG Industries, Inc., 746

F.2d 1312 (7th Cir. 1984), that the Del Costello ruling

was retoractive within the Seventh Circuit. That fur-

ther, the Seventh Circuit in Cliff v. UAW, 818 F.2d 623,

629 (7th Cir. 1987). It further held that they recognized

a narrow discovery exception in that in holding the six

(6) month statute of limitation period does not begin

10

to run until the aggrieved party discovers or with the

exercise of reasonable diligence could have discovered

the existence of the collective bargaining agreement. The

Seventh Circuit committed plain error is failing to fol-

low its own prior decisions.

It was conceded by the District Court’s opinion and

not even addressed by the Circuit Court (it is further con-

ceded by the Respondent), that when the December 18,

1975 Collective Bargaining Agreement was entered into

it had not yet been decided by the Respondent and Con-

rail whether the Indianapolis Union Railway Company

would be included in the Conrail Acquisition. That fur-

ther the facts are undisputed that neither Conrail or the

Respondent gave any individual Petitioner any type of

notice as to the rights under the former Penn Central

Seniority Contract and Implementation Agreement, nor

gave any individual Petitioner any type of notice as to

the rights relative to any Interstate Commerce decision,

more specifically its Sixth Supplemental Report. That

further, there is no evidence in the record throughout

these proceedings that the Respondent in any way advised

the Petitioners of the affect of the December 18, 1975

Collective Bargaining Agreement or even when said

Agreement would become effective or what affect it would

have upon the Petitioners herein. That as pled in the

District Court and as addressed by the Circuit Court, the

affidavits of General Chairman Overstreet of the Re-

spondent, Union, and the affidavits of General Chairman

Rather, did show not only that the Respondent did not

try to assert any of the rights of the Petitioners who

were the employees o fthe Indianapolis Union Railway

but, in fact, Respondents’ General Chairmans, Overstreet

and Rather, stated under oath that they did not know nor

could have learned of the status of the Petitioners senior-

ity rights during the year of 1976 until the January 24,

1977 seniority rosters were posted detailing the seniority

status of the former Indianapolis Union Railway employ-

a oe nell

11

ees. That further, the record is undisputed that as late

as October 8, 1976 that neither President Chessar of the

Respondent, Union, nor Vice President, Craigo, of the

Respondent, Union, nor General Chairman, Rather or

Overstreet, knew when and if Conrail would acquire

actual control and management of the Indianapolis Union

Railway and whether the Petitioners would receive their

seniority dates equivalent with former Pennsylvania, New

York, and/or Penn Central employees in the new con-

solidated seniority district.

The Petitioners argue that if the President of the Re-

spondent, Union, down through the Vice President, and

General Chairmans, and through the Local Chairman, did

not know or would not disclose any information concerning

the Petitioners’ seniority status relative to the Conrail

Acquisition, then how could the Petitioners (Indiaanpolis

Union Railway employees) know, or could possibly learn

of their seniority status or of the statute of limitations

or know that it was running against them and thus be

able to stop the tolling of the statute of_limitations by

bringing some action against the Union.

It is further undisputed that even the Local Chair-

man for the engine service employees, Baker, in the year

1976 and 77, was not aware that a December 18, 1975

Seniority Agreement for engine service and train service

employees had even been negotiated or signed and it was

not until January 1977 that he even learned of said

1977 bargaining agreement when they were read to him

by Attorney Richards, in late January, 1977.

That since the consolidated rosters were not posted

until January 24, 1977, and since the statute of limita-

tions would not run against Petitioners under the Del

Costello, supra, Doctrine until Petitioners knew or should

have known of their cause of action against Respondent

the statute would not have started running until after

January 24, 1977 and since their cause of action against

the Respondent was filed on January 12, 1977 then the

Petitioners did timely file their fair representation ac-

12

tion against the Respondent, Union, herein within 180

days as Required by DelCostello.

That further the Petitioners argue that the statute of

limitations was tolled until they discovered or in the

existence of reasonable diligence could have discovered

the acts constituting the alleged unfair labor representa-

tion violations. The Circuit Court did hold that knowl-

edge by a Respondent, Union, representative, namely a

General Chairman should be imputed to the general

membership of the Union, including the Petitioners

herein. The Petitioners argue this is plain error. How

can knowledge of the Respondent, United Transportation

Union’s, General Chairmen, Overstreet and Rather, and

the Local Chairman Baker, be imputed to its general

membership without some type of communication,

whether oral or written. It is conceded by the District

Court and Circuit Court (and by the Respondent herein),

that no such communication was ever made. It is illogi-

cal to hold that a general chairman or a local chairman

of a union should, or did have, knowledge of the exist-

ence of a Collective Bargaining Agreement, then that

knowledge or lack of knowledge would be binding on and

should be imputed to said union officials’ general member-

ship without some type of oral or written communication

to the membership including the Petitioners herein. Such

is the exact case in this present action.

As stated, said Union officials, General Chairmen,

Rather and Overstreet, and Union official Local Chair-

man, Baker, both signed affidavits that they did not have

any actual knowledge or any actual information that the

December 18, 1975 Agreement would directly pertain to

the Indianapolis Union Railway employees until January

24, 1977 when the new consolidated Conrail Seniority

Rosters were posted. Both of the General Chairmen

stated in the District Court that they made inquiry but

that any information was concealed from them by the

Respondent, President and Vice President. Thus, if the

General Chairmen of the Respondent, Union, made in-

a ee

13

quiry and could not learn of the existence of the status

of Petitioners’ seniority rights how could the alleged lack

of diligence by said Union official be imputed to the

general membership and to the Petitioners herein. The

Petitioners argue that manifest error has occurred in this

matter and that this Court should grant a Writ of Cer-

tiorari to correct said plain error.

That further, after learning that when the Consoli-

dated Seniority Rosters for the new Conrail seniority

district was “posted” and it clearly showed that former

Penn Central employees had superior seniority rights

over former I.U. Territories and did not give former

I.U. employees rights over former Penn Central Terri-

tory.. Former Penn Central employees were given Febru-

ary 1, 1968 seniority rights on all territory within said

seniority district while the Indianapolis Union Railway

employees only received seniority rights as of April 1,

1976 on said seniority territorial districts. That as stated

Petitioners were given prior rights, but no prior-prior

rights as given former Pennsylvania employees. As ad-

mitted in the District Court’s Judgment Entry on Page

13, Paragraph 2, the District Court stated:

“As stated before, the parties to this action were not

certain, at the time the seniority agreements were

signed (December 18, 1975), that I.U. (Indianapolis

Union Railway Employees) would become part of

Conrail.”

Thus, since none of the Petitioners nor the Respondent,

Union’s, Local Chairman or General Chairman, did not

participate in the negotiations of the December 18, 1975

Agreement how could the Petitioners know or have any

way of knowing as to whether they would have prior-

prior rights if it would be decided after December 18,

1975 that Indianapolis Union Railway Employees would

become part of the Conrail seniority districts.

The Petitioners further argue that even if they had

discovered the existence of the December 18, 1975 Col-

14 .

lective Bargaining Agreement, (and there is no proof

in the record, whatsoever, that they had) even the read-

ing of said December 18, 1975 Collective Bargaining

Agreement would not show what their seniority rights

were. That further, an argument can be stated that the

Collective Bargaining Agreement could very weil have

been interpreted differently by the Respondent and Con-

rail and the Petitioners could very well have received the

February 1, 1968 seniority rights from a literal reading

of the Collective Bargaining Agreement versus the lim-

ited rights that they did receive as of August 1, 1976

through the posting of the Conrail Consolidated Rosters

on January 24, 1977 since the agreement is vague and

Apparently the decision to not give Petitioners prior-prior

rights was not made until the posting of the January

24, 1977 consolidated Seniority Roster.

That the Petitioners further argue that the lower

court’s opinion statement that September 1, 1976 is the

target date that the Petitioners should have filed the law

suit within 180 days thereof is also without merit and

should be reversed because within 180 days of the Sep-

tember 1, 1976 artificial target date, set up by the lower

court that, in fact, the Petitioners attempted to exhaust

their inter union remedies which clearly tolled the stat-

ute. On January 24, 1977 the request for arbitration

was made by Petitiom.s for a hearing with the Union

concerning their senionty rights. It aws filed by Peti-

tioners’ legal representative to the General Chairmen,

Overstreet and Rather. That when Rather and Over-

street did not respond thereto a further request was

made by the Petitioners’ legal representative directly to

the President of the Union, Chessar, who basically wrote

back and denied that the Respondent had violated any of

the Petitioners’ rights and, in fact, said “sue us”.

In the case of Dement v. Richmond, Fredricksburg, &

Pennsylvania Railroad Company, 345 F.2d 451, 4th Cir.,

that Circuit did hold differently than the Seventh Circuit

concerning exhaustion of inter union remedies. The Court

15

held “generally speaking a cause of action for breach of

duty of fair representation accrues at the point where

the grievance has been exhausted or otherwise breaks

down to an employees disadvantage.” (Emphasis added).

“It is only at this point that an employee is cognigent of

any alleged breach of the duty owed him by the Union.”

That said Dement, supra, decision also cites Hayes v.

Reynolds Metal Company, 769 F.2d 1520 (llth Cir.

1985) (per curiam). That the Sixth Circuit held simul-

taneously in Atkinson v. International Union of Electri-

cal Radio and Machine Workers, 729 F.2d 330, 336 (6th

Cir. 1985).

That in a more recent decision, dated July 31, 1989,

in the case of United Transportation Union, Local 74 v.

Consolidated Rail Corporation and United Transporta-

tion Union, 881 F.2d 282 (1989). The Court held that

the issues had been examined in cases in which the De-

fendant, Union’s, duty of fair representation arose in

actions concerning both 301 Labor Management Rela-

tions Act and the Railroad Labor Act and held that

Courts have refused to distinguish between the two Acts

for purposes of fair representation suits and stated that

there is a conflict among the Circuits. Further the Sixth

Circuit held that employees need not resort to internal

union remedies if it would be futile to do so because the

position of the Union is clearly “hardened against them”.

Gettes v. Chrysler Corporation, 608 F.2d 261 (6th Cir.

1979). Furthermore, this Court has held that it is well

settled that futility is an excuse for failure to exhaust

internal union remdeies, Glover v. St. Louis-San Fran-

cisco Railroad Company, 393 U.S. 324 (1969).

Further, the Local 74, decision, supra, does clearly hold

opposite to the Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals’ decision

in this matter.

16

The Sixth Circuit held that:

“It is clear that Local 74 did not exhaust all avail-

able internal union remedies, for it could have ap-

pealed to the Union Board of Appeal, the October,

1981 decision by the UTU President not to merge

seniority rosters to establish yard equity, and his

subsequent refusal to alter this decision.”

“Local 74 contends that it should be excused from the

exhaustion requirements because UTU was clearly

hostile toward the position of the employees. We hold

that Local 74 presented sufficient evidence to preclude

a directed verdict on this issue.” Thus, there is a

direct conflict between the different Federal Circuits

on the same matter and respectfully request this

Court to grant Certiorari to resolve said conflicting

decisions.

In summary Del Costello, supra, this Court held that

the duty of fair representation is grounded in labor

organizations exclusive right to represent all unit em-

ployees in collective bargaining, thereby depriving indi-

viduals of ability to bargain individually or select a

minority union as their representative. That as held in

Vaca v. Sipes, 386 U.S. 171 (1967), it was stated that in

order to permit individual employees to protect their own

interest, the representative organization has a duty “to

serve the interest of all members without hostility or dis-

crimination towards any, to exercise its discretion with

complete good faith and honesty, and to avoid arbitrary

conduct”. The test of whether the duty to represent has

been upheld by the union seeking to accommodate two

(2) conflicting groups is whether a rational method was

used to resolve the conflict. Humphrey v. Moore, 375

U.S. 335 (1964).

The Seventh Circuit decision is plain error and is

conflicting with other circuits decision on the same facts

and issues.

17

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons this Petition for a Writ of

Certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

DEAN E. RICHARDs *

9000 Keystone Crossing

Suite 920

Indianapolis, IN 46240

(317) 848-4775

Atterney for Petitioners

* Counsel of Record

Dated: October 24, 1989

APPENDIX

APPENDIX TABLE OF CONTENTS

Opinion Below—Larry Zapp, et al. v. United Trans-

portation Union, decided: July 7, 1989, cited as 879

SU CN ak ce amen

Opinion of the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Indiana Cause No. IP 77-425-C,

RRR oe ee ene em EN

Larry Zapp, et al. v. United Transportation Union and

Consolidated Rail Corporation, 727 F.2d 617, de-

ma tS A ee

Interstate Commerce Commission decision Finance

Docket No. 21989, decided: May 6, 1986 .................

Page

la

Ta

29a

la

APPENDIX

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 88-2541

LARRY ZAPP, et al.,

Appeliants,

v.

UNITED TRANSPORTATION UNION,

Appellees.

On Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Southern District of Indiana,

Indianapolis Division

No. IP 77-425-C—Sarah Evans Barker, Judge

ARGUED MARCH 31, 1989—DEcIDED JULY 7, 1989

Before CUMMINGS, POSNER, and FLAUM, Circuit Judges.

FLAUM, Circuit Judge. This case comes before us for

the second time. See Zapp v. United Transportation

Union, 727 F.2d 617 (7th Cir. 1984). Plaintiffs, 145

former employees of the Indianapolis Union Railway

Company (IU), appeal from the district court’s entry of

summary judgment in favor of defendant United Trans-

portation Union (UTU). For the reasons discussed be-

low, we affirm.

2a

I.

On February 1, 1968, the Pennsylvania Railroad, of

which the IU was a wholly-owned though independently

operated subsidiary, merged with the New York Central

Transportation Company thereby creating an _ entity

known as the Penn Central Transportation Company.

Prior to the effectuation of the merger, negotiations de-

signed to protect the seniority rights of affected employees

took place. Those negotiations ultimately produced an

agreement that granted most employees a February 1,

1968 seniority date on Penn-Central track. Due to its

independent status, IU employees were not a party to

this agreement. Consequently, these employees, while re-

taining their original date of hire seniority on track

within IU territory, did not receive any seniority date on

other Penn-Central track, a fact that was alleged to

have produced inequitable results. Shortly after the

merger was effected, the IU employees retained the UTU

as their exclusive bargaining representative.

During the mid-1970’s Congress created Conrail, a

corporation formed to acquire the assets of several

bankrupt railroads including the Penn-Central. On De-

cember 18, 1975, a collective bargaining agreement was

signed that defined the seniority rights of employees af-

fected by the pending Conrail acquisitions. Essentially,

the agreement preserved the seniority status quo for em-

ployees throughout the territory of the acquired railroad

while granting them a seniority date on other Conrail

track commensurate with the date of acquisition of their

former employer. For IU employees, the agreement meant

that they retained their date of hire seniority on former

IU track while obtaining an April 1, 1976 seniority date

on all other Conrail track including track within the ter-

ritory of the defunct Penn-Central Transportation Com-

pany. Plaintiffs’ representatives received copies of the

collective bargaining agreement sometime before Septem-

ber 1, 1976.

aeionttnnie ph WAMeciae deter Mim KE

ny Oe ee ne ee en eee ee

Nd CC, ORLA RAMEE ie ALE

+8 2 PRENSA Lad Sie

3a

On January 24, 1977, seniority rosters detailing the

status of former IU employees were posted. Shortly

thereafter, plaintiffs’ representatives complained to the

UTU about the inequitable result produced by the De-

cember 18, 1975 collective bargaining agreement. The

UTU’s response, however, failed to mollify the former

IU employees. As a result, on July 12, 1977, plaintiffs

filed this suit in the district court alleging that the UTU

breached its duty of fair representation by entering into

an unsatisfactory collective bargaining agreement. Spe-

cifically, the plaintiffs decried the fact that the UTU had

failed to obtain a February 1, 1968 seniority date on

former Penn-Central track for them. The complaint was

amended four times over an eleven year period before the

district court entered summary judgment in favor of the

defendants. The district court, in a comprehensive and

well-reasoned opinion, held that plaintiffs’ suit was not

filed within the applicable limitations period, i.e. six

months after the signing of the collective bargaining

agreement, see United Independent Flight Officers, Inc. v.

United Air Lines, 756 F.2d 1262, 1273 (7th Cir. 1984)

and rejected various arguments supporting a tolling of

the limitations period. Plaintiffs now appeal from the

district court’s decision.

II.

The problem presented by this case is determining when

plaintiffs’ claims accrued. In Ranieri v. United Transpor-

tation Union, 743 F.2d 598, 599 (7th Cir. 1984), this

court held that a suit by an employee alleging a breach

of the duty of fair representation is governed by the six

month statute of limitations held applicable to “hybrid”

fair representation/employer suits by the Supreme Court

in Del Costello v. International Brotherhood of Teamsters,

462 U.S. 151 (1983).1 Subsequently, in United Independ-

1 Although this action was commenced approximately six years

before Del-Costello was decided, we have held that that decision

applies retroactively. See Landahl v. PPG Industries, Inc., 746

F.2d 1312 (7th Cir. 1984).

4a

ent Flight Officers, Inc. v. United Air Lines, 756 F.2d

1272, 1273 (7th Cir. 1984), we enunciated the general

principle applicable to this case that causes of action based

on entry into collective bargaining agreements accrue

when the agreement is signed. In Clift v. UAW, 818 F.2d

623, 629 (7th Cir. 1987) (per curiam), we recognized a

narrow discovery exception to this principle holding that

the six-month statute of limitations period does not begin

to run until the aggrieved party discovers or with the

exercise of reasonable diligence could have discovered the

existence of the contract. We emphasized, however, that

the plaintiff has the burden of proving that he or she

falls within this exception. Jd. Moreover, we stated that

in_cases involving multiple plaintiffs which have not been

certified as class actions (such as the present case), each

individual plaintiff must adduce evidence demonstrating

that he or she fit within the discovery exception. Jd. at

630.

In the present case, each individual plaintiff was re-

quired to adduce evidence demonstrating that he or she

had not discovered the existence of the collective bargain-

ing agreement prior to January 12, 1977 and could

not have done so through the exercise of reasonable dili-

genee in order to come within the discovery exception to

the time-bar rules. In our view, none of the plaintiffs has

satisfied this exacting standard. The record contains three

items of evidence relevant to the discovery exception. The

first item is a stipulation of fact entered into by most of

the plaintiffs. This stipulation stated that the plaintiffs

had no idea when they first became aware of the collective

bargaining agreement. Obviously, a statement of this

nature does not provide this court with evidence that these

plaintiffs did not know of the existence of the collective

bargaining agreement prior to January 12, 1977.

The second item of evidence in the record is an affidavit

submitted by Russell Overstreet, one of plaintiffs’ repre-

5a

sentatives. In his affidavit, Overstreet stated that he re-

ceived a copy of the collective bargaining agreement in

the middle or latter part of 1976. (The district court

found no later than September 1, 1976). Obviously, this

is more than six months prior to July 12, 1977.

The final item of evidence is an affidavit submitted by

one Charles Baker. In his affidavit Mr. Baker stated that

he did not learn of the existence of the collective bargain-

ing agreement until the early part of 1977. Again, how-

ever, this submission is not sufficient to avoid summary

judgment on the discovery exception issue. “The early

part of 1977” could be a date in January prior to January

12—tthe precise date is crucial—and as we emphasized

above plaintiff bore the burden of proving that he came

within the discovery exception. Moreover, even if we

were to interpret this statement as alleging that Mr.

Baker did not actually know of the existence of the agree-

ment until the posting of the seniority rosters untii Janu-

ary 24, 1977, we would still conclude that Baker as well

as all other plaintiffs have failed to show that they could

not have reasonably discovered its existence much earlier.

Baker’s affidavit states that in the fall of 1976 rumors

that the UTU was not adequately representing the inter-

ests of IU employees were rampant on the IU track. In

view of these rumors, we fail to see why a diligent em-

ployee who was concerned about his seniority status under

Conrail would not have asked his representatives, who

were in possession of the collective bargaining agreement

at the time, about the matter.

In sum, we find that no plaintiff has adduced specific

facts demonstrating that he or she had not discovered the

existence of the collective bargaining agreement prior to

January 12, 1977 and could not have done so through the

exercise of reasonable diligence. Consequently, we affirm

6a

the district court’s entry of summary judgment in favor

of the UTU.?

AFFIRMED.

Clerk of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

2 Plaintiffs also raise several other arguments on appeal, none

of which have merit. First, plaintiffs contend that the statute of

limitations was tolled due to the UTU’s fraudulent concealment

of the existence of the collective bargaining agreement. See Bonds

v. Coca-Cola, 806 F.2d 1324 (7th Cir. 1986). This argument, how-

ever, strains credulity in view of the fact that the UTU had sent

copies of the collective bargaining agreement to plaintiffs’ represen-

tatives by September 1, 1976.

Second, plaintiffs claim that the limitations period was tolled

while the plaintiffs exhausted their intra-union remedies. See

Frandsen v. Brotherhood of Railwey, Airline and Steamship Clerks,

782 F.2d 674 (7th Cir. 1982). As the district court correctly

pointed out, however, the plaintiffs clearly did not exhaust their

intra-union remedies in this case.

Finally, plaintiffs argue that defendants should be estopped from

asserting the statute of limitations as a defense. In Bomba v.

Belvidere, Inc., 579 F.2d 1067, 1070 (7th Cir. 1978), we held that

a party who has induced another into forebearing suit within the

applicable limitations period will be estopped from arguing the stat-

ute of limitations. We emphasized, however, that on a motion for

summary judgment, the burden is on the plaintiff to present facts

. which if true would require a court as a matter of law to

estop the defendant from asserting the statute of limitations. /d.

at 1070-71 (quoting Burke v. Gateway, 441 F.2d 946, 948-49 (3d

Cir. 1971). The record in this case is devoid of any such facts.

ee ne eee

Ta

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF INDIANA

INDIANAPOLIS DIVISION

Cause No. IP 77-425-C

LARRY ZaPP, et al.,

Plaintiffs,

vs.

UNITED TRANSPORTATION UNION,

Defendant.

ENTRY

[Filed July 20, 1988]

This matter is before the court on the motion for

summary judgment filed by defendant United Transpor-

tation Union (“UTU”) on September 28, 1987. The

plaintiffs, one hundred forty-five individuals formerly

employed by the Indianapolis Union Railway Company

(“IU”), responded to the motion on December 8, 1977.

The defendant replied on December 17, 1987. The parties

have supplemented their submissions with affidavits, docu-

ments, deposition testimony, answers to interrogatories,

and stipulations of fact in accordance with Fed. R. Civ.

P. 56/e).1 The court’s ruling on the motion is set out

in the memorandum below.

1 These supplementary materials include the affidavits and at-

tached exhibits of Charles O. Baker, Clyde Rather, and Russell

H. Overstreet, excerpts from the deposition testimony of William

R. Imel and J. H. Palmer, the seniority agreements at issue, and

four sets of stipulated facts (including exhibits).

8a

Memorandum

Background

The long and complicated history of this case has been

fully chronicled on previous occasions * and need not be

repeated in great detail here. However, certain facts,

undisputed by the parties, warrant recitation as the basis

for the court’s analysis of the issues presented by UTU’s

summary jdgment motion.

The plaintiffs are former employees of the IU, an inter-

change railroad circling Indianapolis. Originally, the [U

was a wholly-owned subsidiary of the Pennsylvania Rail-

road but operated as a separate unit. On February 1,

1968, the New York Central Railroad was merged into

the Pennsylvania Railroad to become the Penn Central

Transportation Company (“Penn Central”).

At that time, the IU became a subsidiary of the Penn

Central by virtue of the change in name of its parent. As

a result of the merger, employees of the former Penn-

sylvania and New York Central railroads were given a

February 1, 1968 seniority date on Penn Central track.

The IU and its employees, however, were not repre-

sented by a union signatory to the employee protection

agreement executed in conjunction with that merger,

probably because the continued independent operation of

the IU lines was contemplated. IU employees therefore

were not expressly afforded any seniority date on Penn

Central track and merely kept their original date of hire

seniority on IU track.

Shortly following the Penn Central merger, the UTU

became the labor relations representative of the plain-

2 The facts and procedural history of the case prior to Judge

Dillin’s entry of judgment on December 18, 1981, are set out in

Zapp v. United Transportation Union, 727 F.2d 617 (7th Cir. 1984).

Subsequent developments are outlined in this court’s entry of

February 9, 1987.

tiffs. Also following the merger, the operations of the

Penn Central in relation to its subsidiaries changed in a

manner that had an adverse impact on the IU employees.

Specifically, Penn Central personnel (employees of the

former Pennsylvania and New York Central railroads)

began to take a greater role in the day-to-day operations

of the IU and therefore took over some of the positions

that had formerly been filled by IU employees.

After these adverse consequences to the IU employees

became apparent, the UTU in 1971 petitioned the Inter-

state Commerce Commission (“ICC”), seeking a ruling

that the merger protective conditions set out in the ICC’s

earlier order regarding the Penn Central merger (ICC

Order of April 6, 1966) should extend to subsidiaries of

the Penn Central like the IU.* The ICC issued its ruling

on the UTU petition, the “Sixth Supplemental Report,”

in October of 1974, and plaintiffs Clyde Rather and Rus-

sell Overstreet, then union general chairmen for the IU

employees, received copies of the report about three

weeks later.

During the pendency of the union petition, Congress

ereated the Consolidated Rail Corporation (“Conrail”)

to acouire the assets of a number of bankrupt railroads,

including the Penn Central. In conjunction with the

merger of the bankrupt railroads into Conrail, negotia-

tions aimed at protecting the prior seniority rights of

the emplovees of the railroads were conducted. Accord-

ing to Mr. Imel, an official of UTU, a meeting of union

general chairmen was held in Cleveland to elect a com-

mittee of five persons to negotiate seniority agreements

on behalf of the emplovees. Mr. Ime! has testified that

Mr. Rather, then a union general chairman and now a

plaintiff, was present at the meeting. Both Rather and

Overstreet maintain that they were not invited to this

* Actually, the unions involved with that petition sought exten-

sion of the merger protective conditions to the employees of a

number of railroads subsidiary to the Penn Central.

10a

meeting (and presumably did not attend) despite prior

expressions of interest in the matter and inquiries to

UTU officials on behalf of the IU employees they rep-

resented.

On December 18, 1975, Conrail officials and the five-

member UTU committee executed seniority agreements

to govern the seniority rights of the employees of the

merged railroads. One agreement applied to trainmen

and conductors, the other to engine service employees.

Essentially, the agreements provided that all employees

with standing on prior seniority district rosters would

retain their prior seniority date throughout the territory

of their prior seniority districts. They would also gain

new rights in other Conrail territories as of the date of

their railroad’s conveyance to Conrail.‘ Applied to IU

employees, these agreements provided for a seniority date

in the former IU territory based on their date of hire

and April 1, 1976 (the date of conveyance to Conrail)

seniority on all other track. Plaintiffs Rather and Over-

street received copies of these seniority agreements some-

time in 1976, apparently no later than September 1, 1976,

according to correspondence between Rather and UTU

official R.E. Swert. Fourth Stipulation of Fact, Exhibits

A and B.

The parties agree, however, that at the time the sen-

iority agreements were executed in December of 1975,

it was still unclear whether IU would be subsumed in the

Conrail merger. That uncertainty was resolved, at the

latest, on April 1, 1976, the date of IU’s conveyance to

Conrail.

Immediately following conveyance to Conrail, the oper-

ations of the IU and its employees apparently did not

change appreciably. In January of 1977, however, IU

facilities and jobs were consolidated with those of other

*A full explanation of this seniority scheme is set out in Zapp,

727 F.2d at 620-22.

lla

track under the jurisdiction of Conrail. The plaintiffs

maintain that

{with the posting of new selection order lists and

seniority rosters, it became apparent to the IU em-

ployees that they would receive only a 1976 Conrail

seniority date on all track other than former IU

track and that the inequitable seniority treatment

they had endured for many years would not be

changed.

Plaintiffs’ Response, p. 9 (citing Affidavits of Baker,

Overstreet, and Rather).

Subsequent to these postings, the lawyer who had been

retained by the plaintiffs, Mr. Richards, sent letters to Mr.

Overstreet and Mr. Rather complaining of the seniority

arrangement. On March 22, 1977, Mr. Richards also

directed a letter of similar content to A.H. Chesser, In-

ternational President of UTU. On March 25, 1977, Pres-

ident Chesser responded, in pertinent part:

I do not agree with your suggestion that the United

Transportation Union may not have filled its duty or

fair representation in regard to the seniority rights

of former Indianapolis Union Railway employees.

I also do not concur in your position that requesting

an “administrative meeting” with the undersigned

or other union official constitutes exhaustion of ad-

ministrative remedies. It is my understanding that

timely appeals must be made in accordance with the

procedures set forth in the union’s Constitution be

fore any claim of exhaustion of administrative reme-

dies may be sustained.

In regard to your threat to resort to the courts in

this matter I can only tell you that it is our practice

to defend ourselves to the fullest extent permitted

by law and I can assure you that we will do so in

this case.

12a

Third Set of Stipulations, Exhibit K.

On July 12, 1977, the plaintiffs filed this lawsuit, al-

leging, among other things, that UTU breached its duty

of fair representation. Count I of the complaint alleges

that UTU breached its duty of fair representation by en-

tering into collective bargaining agreements on Decem-

ber 18, 1975, which would not afford the plaintiffs senior-

ity equivalent to that of former Pennsylvania, New York,

or Penn Central employees. Count II alleges hostile dis-

crimination by UTU in agreeing to such a consolidation

plan and in “continuously, arbitrarily and capriciously”

refusing to attempt an alteration of the seniority system.

Analysis

With its summary judgment motion, UTU maintains

that it is entitled to judgment as a matter of law because

the plaintiffs’ claims are barred by the applicable six-

month statute of limitations.

In Del Costello v. International Brotherhood of Team-

sters, 462 U.S. 151 (1983), the Supreme Court resolved

the question of which statute of limitations should apply

to a suit by an employee against an employer under sec-

tion 301 of the Labor Management Relations Act joined

with an action against a union for breach of its duty of

fair representation (the “hybrid section 3801 claim’).

The Court held that the six-month limitation period of

section 10(b) of the National Labor Relations Act ap-

plies to both aspects of the hybrid action. /d. at 169-73.

This six-month limitation period also applies to fair rep-

resentation suits brought, like this one, under the Railway

Labor Act. United Independent Flight Officers, Inc. v.

United Air Lines, 756 F.2d 1262 (7th Cir. 1984). Fur-

thermore, the fact that this action now proceeds only

against the union does not present a reason for departure

from the Del Costello rule. See Flight Officers, 756 F.2d

at 1270. :

Q

3

:

4

4

j

13a

Additionally, the limitation period mandated by Del

Costello is retroactive, so it applies to this action even

though the events underlying this litigation occurred well

before Del Costello was decided. Bonds v. Coca-Cola Com-

pany, 806 F.2d 1324, 1326 (7th Cir. 1986) (citing Lan-

dahl v. PPG Industries, Inc., 746 F.2d 1312 (7th Cir.

1984) ).°

Finally, the Del Costello six-month limitation period ap-

plies to claims arising out of the negotiating process as

well as to claims based on the handling of employee griev-

ances. See Flight Officers, 756 F.2d at 1270-71.

The foregoing rules regarding the applicability of a

six-month statute of limitations to this action have not

been the subject of disagreement between the parties.

Rather, the parties disagree about when the limitations

period began to run and whether it was tolled by virtue

of circumstances preceding the filing of this lawsuit.

Generally speaking, causes of action based on entry

into collective bargaining agreements accrue, and the lim-

itations period begins to run, when the contract is signed.

Flight Officers, 756 F.2d at 1273 (citing Local Lodge No.

1424, International Association of Machinists v. NLRB,

362 U.S. 411 (1960)). In Clift v.§ UAW, 818 F.2d 623

(1987), the Seventh Circuit refined that rule somewhat

by stating that the plaintiffs’ claims accrue when the col-

lective bargaining agreement is entered into, unless the

existence of the new contract could not reasonably have

been discovered until later and was not actually discov-

ered by the plaintiffs until later. 7d. at 629. The court

pointed out, however, that the discovery rule is an excep-

tion to time-bar rules and each individual plaintiff bears

5 In Landahl, the Seventh Circuit found that retroactive applica-

tion was warranrted because Del Costello represented a clarification

of the law, not a “clean break” with past precedent. 746 F.2d at

1315.

l4a

the burden of proving that he or she personally met the

discovery exception. Id. at 629-30.

The seniority agreements, the negotiation of which the

plaintiffs claim constituted a breach of UTU’s duty of

fair representation, were signed on December 18, 1975.

The plaintiffs’ complaint was filed July 12, 1977, well be-

yond the six-month period. The plaintiffs claim, however,

that they “did not know and had no reason to know of the

Seniority Agreements’ provisions until long after Decem-

ber 18, 1975.” Furthermore, the plaintiffs maintain that

principles of equitable tolling or equitable estoppel de-

layed the running of the limitations period. Finally, they

contend that the limitations period was tolled while they

“exhausted their intra-union remedies.”

Although the plaintiffs’ arguments overlap somewhat

in terms of facts and legal authority, the court will, for

the sake of clarity, address each argument separately.

A. Discovery of Seniority Agreements

As articulated above, a claim for breach of the duty of

fair representation based on a union’s entry into a collec-

tive bargaining agreement accrues when the agreement

is entered into “unless the existence of the new contract

could not reasonably have been discovered until later and

was not actually discovered by plaintiffs until later.”

Clift, 8i8 F.2d at 629.° Significantly, each individual

® The plaintiffs have articulated the rule to be that the action

does not accrue until the claimant discovered or should have dis-

covered the acts constituting the alleged violations, citing Metz

v. Tootsie Roll Industries, Inc., 715 F.2d 299 (7th Cir. 1983), cert.

denied, 464 U.S. 1070 (1984). That formulation of the rule is

correct, of course, but is too imprecise in this context. The alleged

violation in Metz was based on the union’s failure to pursue a

grievance on behalf of the plaintiff; the court therefore focused on

the time at which the plaintiff should have discovered that par-

ticular failure. However, in Flight Officers and Clift, as in this

case, the asserted violation was predicated on the union’s entry

15a

plaintiff bears the burden of proving that he or she fell

within this “discovery” exception. Jd. at 629-30.

Initially, the court must note that the submissions of

the plaintiffs fall short of the standard necessary to en-

able the court to make the sort of individualized inquiry

contemplated by the Seventh Circuit in Clift. All of the

plaintiffs except Overstreet and Rather state, in answer

to the question when they first became aware of the

seniority agreements, that

I have no idea when I first became aware, if I be-

came aware at all, of the provisions of what this

Interrogatory refers to as “the Agreement between

Conrail and certain of its Employees represented by

the United Transportation Union, concerning the

seniority of Conductors and Trainmen.” My counsel,

Dean Richards, has referred to several agreements

and contracts during the course of this litigation,

but I do not honestly know if those references dealt

with this Agreement or other agreements.

Third Set of Stipulations of Fact, 9. These conclusory

statements do not reveal when the plaintiffs became aware

of the existence of the seniority agreements or of their

efforts made that would have led to the discovery of the

seniority agreements. These general assertions therefore

do not aid the court with regard to the relevant inquiry.

Instead, the court must look to other undisputed evi-

dence proffered by the parties. That evidence compels

the conclusion that the plaintiffs had discovered, or, with

the exercise of reasonable diligence, should have discov-

ered, the existence of the seniority agreements more than

six months prior to filing this lawsuit.

into a collective bargaining agreement that allegedly evidenced

discrimination against the plaintiffs. In this context, the Seventh

Circuit has pinpointed “the acts constituting the alleged violation”

as the time at which the collective bargaining agreement was

signed.

16a

The seniority agreements were signed December 18,

1975. Mr. Overstreet and Mr. Rather, local representa-

tives of the plaintiffs (and now plaintiffs themselves) re-

ceived copies of those agreements in 1976. Those agree-

ments essentially preserved for the IU employees what

they had before—date of hire seniority on IU track. The

agreements also created a seniority date on all other Con-

rail track as of the date of the railroad’s conveyance to

Conrail. The inequitable situation the plaintiffs were in

was born out of their previous lack of an express prior

-seniority date on Penn Central track. Presumably, the

plaintiffs’ claim is predicated on the argument that UTU

should have done something affirmatively in the Conrail

negotiations to improve this situation.? The provisions of

the agreements make clear that no such affirmative im-

provement was negotiated. For this reason, Mr. Over-

street was justifiably concerned when he received the

seniority agreements in the middle or latter part of 1976

because

the Seniority Agreements made a distinction between

former Pennsylvania, New York and IU track in the

proposed Conrail Seniority District “B’. While this

distinction was not in and of itself alarming, the pro-

visions of the agreements, when coupled with the un-

certainty of whether IU Employees would be treated

differently than other former Penn Central employ-

ees, could be, and eventually were, interpreted to

favor other Penn Central employees at the expense

of IU Employees.

Affidavit of Rusell H. Overstreet, § 10.

Mr. Overstreet and Mr. Rather, general chairmen of

the plaintiff IU employees, undisputably became aware

7 Prior to the ICC’s order of May 6, 1986, the gist of the plain-

tiffs’ claim against UTU was that it was “derelict in failing to

recognize plaintiffs’ entitlement to Pennsylvania employee status

at the time of the 1975 collective bargaining agreements.” Zapp,

727 F.2d at 625.

17a

of the collective bargaining agreements sometime prior to

September 1, 1976. Two uncertainties may have argu-

ably delayed the beginning of the limitations period be-

yond this point. The first uncertainty is easily disre-

garded. As stated before, the parties to this action were

not certain, at the time the seniority agreements were

signed, that [U would become part of Conrail. It might

therefore be inequitable to impute knowledge of the agree-

ments to them if the agreements may not have applied

to them. This uncertainty was resolved, however, by

April 1 of 1976 at the latest, when IU was conveyed to

Conrail, a date well before Mr. Overstreet and Mr.

Rather apparently received their copies of the agree-

ments.

The other uncertainty, to which Mr. Overstreet alluded

in his affidavit, was whether IU employees would be

treated differently from other Penn Central employees.

Obviously, the agreements’ provisions, coupled with a sen-

iority distinction between IU employees and other Penn

Central employees, would place the IU employees at the

disadvantage of which they now complain. Two years

before Mr. Overstreet and Mr. Rather received their

copies of the agreements, the distinction between the IU

employees (as well as the employees of other subsidiary

lines) and other Penn Central employees had been the

subject of the ICC’s Sixth Supplemental Report. Un-

fortunately, the Sixth Supplemental Report did not lay

the uncertainty regarding the differing treatment to rest.

Specifically, if did not unambiguously order that the

plaintiffs were entitled to February 1, 1968 seniority on

Penn Central track, an interpretation urged by the plain-

tiffs. See Zapp, 727 F.2d at 625. See also supra note 7.

This ambiguity caused the Seventh Circuit to determine

that the ICC should resolve the matter under the doctrine

of primary jurisdiction. 7d. The plaintiffs seem to be

arguing, then, that they could not have discovered the

acts constituting UTU’s breach of its fair representation

duty because they could not have ascertained at that

18a

time how the seniority agreements would operate in light

of the Merger Report of 1966 and the Sixth Supplemental

Report of 1974. This argument is unavailing for at least

two reasons. \

First, it ignores what was the current state of affairs

at the time Mr. Overstreet and Mr. Rather received the

seniority agreements. As the plaintiffs have emphasized

a number of times, the alleged inequitable treatment of

the plaintiffs had been ongoing for a number of years

following the merger of the Pennsylvania and New York

Central railroads. In other words, it was obvious in late

1976 that the plaintiffs were not being accorded Feb-

ruary 1, 1968 seniority on Penn Central track. The sen-

iority agreements, which clearly did nothing affirmatively

to change this situation, reasonably should have alerted

the plaintiffs to UTU’s alleged breach of its duty in the

negotiation of those agreements.

This argument is also unavailing because it improp-

erly focuses on the point at which the plaintiffs discovered

or could have discovered the deleterious effect the agree-

ments would have on their seniority rights. The proper

focus is simply on when the plaintiffs discovered or should

have discovered the existence of the agreements. See

Clift, 818 F.2d at 630. For this reason, the plaintiffs’

sole reliance upon the time when the new seniority ros-

ters were actually posted is also misplaced for purposes

of determining when they discovered the existence of the

agreements. The postings of the seniority rosters merely

reflected the implementation of the seniority agreements.

“The claim does not wait to accrue until the time at

which the contested provisions of the agreement are en-

forced.” Id. at 629.

The undisputed facts make clear, then, that plaintiffs

Rather and Overstreet had discovered the existence of

the seniority agreements sometime in 1976. (The court

also believes that they should even have discovered the ad-

verse impact of the agreements by that time.) The ques-

19a

tion remains, though, whether each of the other individual

plaintiffs discovered, or reasonably should have discov-

ered, the existence of the agreements. As the court

pointed out earlier, the plaintiffs’ submissions in this re-

gard do not satisfy the burden imposed on plaintiffs who

wish to avail themselves of a “discovery” accrual date.

Clift, 818 F.2d at 629-30. None of the plaintiffs un-

equivocally denies that he knew of the seniority agree-

ments more than six months prior to the filing of suit.

This leaves the court unable to conclude that the plain-

tiffs had not discovered the existence of the agreements.

Furthermore, the other plaintiffs do not indicate what

efforts on their behalf they undertook to discover the

existence of the agreements. Instead, all of the other

plaintiffs simply maintain that they “have no idea when”

they first became aware of the provisions of the agree-

ments. Third Set of Stipulations of Fact, §9 (emphasis

added) .°

The parties have not clearly addressed the effect of

Rather and Overstreet’s receipt of the seniority agree-

ments vis a vis the knowledge of the other plaintiffs. In

other words, it is not clear whether Rather and Over-

street’s actual knowledge of the agreements should be

imputed to the other plaintiffs. The court need not resolve

this issue, however, because the undisputed facts demon-

strate that all of the plaintiffs, through the exercise of

reasonable diligence, should have discovered the existence

of the seniority agreements. Their on-site representatives,

Mr. Rather and Mr. Overstreet, were in possession of

these agreements in 1976, a time during which the IU

workers, in light of the Conrail merger, undoubtedly were

concerned about their seniority status. Reasonable in-

quiries directed to Rather and Overstreet should have led

8 In his affidavit, Charles Baker does state more specifically that

he did not become aware of the seniority agreements until early

1977. 6. For the reasons cited infra, however, the court finds that

Mr. Baker should have discovered the existence of the agreements

more than six months before suit was filed.

20a

to discovery of the seniority agreements. This conclu-

sion, in addition to the plaintiffs’ failure to satisfy the

burden incumbent on parties asserting a discovery ac-

crual date, compels the court to find that the plaintiffs’

cause of action accrued more than six months prior to

their filing suit.

B. Equitable Tolling or Estoppel

The plaintiffs further argue that, even if the limita-

tions period began to run more than six months prior to

the filing of this action, equitable principles preclude the

application of the limitations bar. First, they contend,

equitable tolling of the limitations period is appropriate

because the plaintiffs’ ignorance of their cause of action

was a result of the defendant’s fraudulent concealment.

See Bonds v. Coca-Cola Co., 806 F.2d 1324 (7th Cir.

1986). Alternatively, the plaintiffs maintain that UTU

should be estopped from asserting the limitations defense

because it lulled the plaintiffs into a false sense of se-

curity and into a position they would not otherwise have

taken. See Bomba v. W.L. Belvidere, Iac., 579 F.2d 1067

(7th Cir. 1978). See also Bonds, 806 F.2d at 1330 (Swy-

gert, J., concurring in part and dissenting in part), for

an explication of the two principles.

In support of these arguments, the plaintiffs point to

inquiries made by Mr. Rather, Mr. Overstreet, and the

plaintiffs’ attorney to UTU officials regarding the plain-

tiffs’ seniority rights. These inquiries, the plaintiffs con-

tend, went for the most part unanswered until President

Chesser’s letter of March 25, 1977. With regard to the

plaintiffs’ allegation of fraudulent concealment of the

cause of action, their line of reasoning has two basic

flaws. First, none of the facts cited by the plaintiffs

supports the contention that UTU fraudulently concealed

the existence or the provisions of the seniority agree-

ments. Indeed, UTU sent copies of the agreements to

Rather and Overstreet, then union general chairman, in

|

|

3

:

2la 5

1976. According to the unrefuted testimony of Mr. Imel,

a UTU official, the normal practice of UTU was to send

such agreements to each general chairman, who would

then make copies for distribution to the members under

his individual jurisdiction. Ime! Dep., vol. II, p. 29. Sec-

ond, the plaintiffs’ argument muddles two distinct in-

quiries: the existence (and provisions) of the seniority

agreements and the plaintiffs’ rights as granted by the

Sixth Supplemental Report. As indicated previously, the

seniority agreements preserved whatever prior seniority

rights the plaintiffs had and granted April 1, 1976 sen-

iority on all other Conrail track. No ambiguity resided

in the provisions of those agreements. On the other hand,

both the UTU and the plaintiffs had looked to the Sixth

Supplemental Report to define the protective conditions

to which the plaintiffs were entitled. The impact of that

report was the focus of the plaintiffs’ inquiries.° Even if

the defendant’s alleged fraudulent concealment of the

impact of the seniority agreements in light of the Sixth

Supplemental Report were a relevant consideration, this

court could not charge the UTU with fraudulent conceal-

ment in 1976 for failing to explain an impact that was

not even clarified until the ICC’s order of May 6, 1986.

See Zapp, 727 F.2d at 627 n.14. Furthermore, UTU offi-

cial R.E. Swert unequivocally informed Mr. Rather by

letter on September 1, 1976, that the new seniority agree-

ments did not provide the plaintiffs with anything more

than their prior rights on IU track and April 1, 1976

seniority on all other track. Mr. Swert also stated the

® The muddling of these two concepts was noted in the Seventh

Circuit’s opinion. 727 F.2d at 624. As that court concluded, the

Sixth Supplemental Report provided that the plaintiffs were en-

titled to the merger protective conditions, which included preser-

vation of jobs, wages, and fringe benefits, it they were determined

through arbitration to be “affected” by the merger of the Pennsyl-

vania and New York Central railroads. The court further noted

that such protective conditions have little to do with seniority

directly, a matter determined by a collective bargaining agreement.

Id.

22a

UTU’s position that the Sixth Supplemental Report “does

not deal with the question of seniority.” Fourth Stipula-

tion of Fact, Exhibit B.

Unlike a fraudulent concealment of the defendant giv-

ing rise to an equitable tolling of the limitations period,

equitable estoppel applies when the plaintiff knew of the

existence of the cause of action, but the defendant's con-

duct caused him to delay bringing a lawsuit. “ ‘Estoppel

arises where one, by his conduct, lulls another into a

false security and into a position he would not take

[otherwise].’” Bonds v. Coca-Cola Co., 806 F.2d 1324,

1330 (Swygert, J., concurring in part and dissenting in

part) (quoting McWaters & Bartlett v. United States,

272 F.2d 291, 296 (10th Cir. 1959)). The plaintiffs ap-

parently rely on the same set of facts cited in support

of their fraudulent concealment contention as a basis for

their argument that UTU “lulled” them into forebear-

ing suit. It is difficult to see, however, how UTU’s con-

duct lulled the plaintiffs into a false security regarding

their seniority status. In general, the plaintiffs maintain

that their inquiries made to UTU officials regarding their

seniority rights went unanswered until President Ches-

ser’s letter of March 25, 1977. This silence does not dem-

onstrate the type of affirmative conduct that would cause

a reasonable person to be lulled into a false security; if

anything, it should have triggered a greater concern on

the part of the plaintiffs.

Furthermore, the court rejects the plaintiffs’ suggestion

that the UTU’s earlier efforts in petitioning the ICC on

behalf of the IU employees lulled the plaintiffs into be-

lieving the union was on their side. See Plaintiffs’ Re-

sponse, pp. 17, 20. A union cannot be forced to fulfill its

duty of fair representation at its peril. In other words,

the court cannot accept the assertion that a prior act of

the defendant for the plaintiffs’ advantage should be in-

terpreted later as conduct designed to lull the plaintiffs

into abandoning their cause of action. The plaintiffs’

23a

position on this matter, if the court is correctly appre-

hending it, is without legal or factual support.

In sum, the court finds no factual or legal basis for the

contention that the UTU fraudulently concealed the

plaintiffs’ cause of action or falsely caused the plaintiffs

to forebear in filing suit.

C. Exhaustion of Intra-Union Remedies

The Seventh Circuit has held that the six-month stat-

ute of limitations is tolled by the pursuit of internal

union remedies, even when those remedies are ultimately

determined to have been futile. Frandsen v. Brotherhood

of Railway, Airline and Steamship Clerks, 782 F.2d 674

(1986). The plaintiffs maintain that “to the extent they

knew that a problem existed with respect to UTU’s rep-

resentation,”” plaintiffs exhausted every available union

remedy in an effort to resolve this dispute.” As the

plaintiffs noted in their response, the Frandsen court

adopted a holding reflecting “an effort to encourage every

attempt of exhaustion.” Plaintiffs’ Response, p. 23.

In Frandsen, the Seventh Circuit was called upon to

reconcile Del Costello’s six-month limitations period with

the Supreme Court’s holding in Clayton v. UAW, 451

U.S. 679 (1981), generally requiring the exhaustion of

internal union remedies prior to filing suit unless such

exhaustion would be futile. Frandsen clearly reconciled

those “two Supreme Court doctrines in favor of exhaus-

tion of intra-union remedies.” 782 F.2d at 674. In so

doing, the Seventh Circuit held that the six-month lim-

itations period is tolled until intra-union procedures are

1 This assertion, of course, somewhat undermines the plaintiffs’

argument that they did not know of their cause of action against

the union prior to January of 1977. Some of the plaintiffs’ efforts

cited in support of their exhaustion argument (letters from Rather

and Overstreet to UTU officials) were undertaken long before

January of 1977.

24a

exhausted, even if those procedures were futile for the

employee. /d. at 681.

The problem with the plaintiffs’ invocation of the

Frandsen tolling principle is that the plaintiffs admittedly

did not exhaust their intra-union remedies. As President

Chesser’s letter of March 25, 1977, clearly pointed out,

the union’s constitution required a timely appeal from

his determination. That procedure, set out in Articles 90

and 28 of the UTU Constitution, provides for (and re-

quires) the filing of an appeal within ninety days with

the General Secretary and Treasurer of the Union, that

appeal to be heard by the Union’s Board of Directors.

First Set of Stipulations, Exhibit C.

The plaintiffs seek to be excused from the exhaustion

requirement on the ground that exhaustion would have

been futile. The plaintiffs fail, however, to offer concrete

evidence of futility; rather, they expect the court to ac-

cept their conclusory allegation that appeal would have

been futile and that the plaintiffs themselves were “ex-

hausted.” ™

Allowing the plaintiffs to avail themselves of the tolling

principle enunciated in Frandsen when they made no at-

tempt to exhaust their union remedy would result in a

subversion of the principle announced in that decision.

The plaintiffs’ assertion that holding their action time-

barred would impose a “ ‘Catch 22’ double standard upon

employees caught between the exhaustion requirement

and a short six month statute of limitations” entirely

misses the point. Exhaustion of their intra-union rem-

The only evidentiary support offered by the plaintiffs for

their futility contention is that they had been making fruitless

inquiries of the union “for years.” That assertion ignores the

undisputed efforts UTU had made on behalf of the plaintiffs in

petitioning the ICC. Furthermore, the basis for the plaintiffs’ fair

representation claim—the negotiation of the seniority agreements

—was not the subject of their communications with UTU until

the latter part of 1976.

25a

edies was the very avenue by which the plaintiffs could

have avoided the real “Catch 22” recognized by the

Frandsen court. 787 F.2d at 681.

The plaintiffs also cite footnote 8 of the Frandsen opin-

ion in support of their futility argument. In that foot-

note, the Seventh Circuit addressed the union’s argument

that tolling the limitation period in that case would have

postponed the litigation for up to four years because the

final appeal procedure occurred before a body that met

only every four years, The court faulted this argument

by pointing out that the union itself was responsible for

the excessive length of the appeal procedure. The court

additionally noted that “it would be blatently [sic] un-

reasonable to find that a union member did not exhaust

all intra-union procedures when he did not appeal to a

ruling board that meets only once every four years.” 782

F.2d at 682 n.8. Apparently, then, the court would have

been willing, in certain egregious circumstances, to ex-

cuse a failure to exhaust all remedies. The plaintiffs have

not urged, however, and this court does not find, that the

union’s appellate procedures in this case make exhaustion

‘blatantly unreasonable.”

For all of these reasons, then, the limitations period

was not tolled while the plaintiffs “exhausted” their intra-

union remedies.

Conclusion

For all of the foregoing reasons, the plaintiffs’ action

against UTU is barred by the statute of limitations. The

plaintiffs have not met the burden necessary to avail

themselves of a “discovery” statute of limitations; fur-

thermore, the undisputed facts indicate that the plaintiffs

discovered or should have discovered the existence of the

seniority agreements more than six months prior to filing

suit. Finally, the plaintiffs have demonstrated no basis

for the tolling of the limitations period,

a

26a

In light of the court’s ruling on the statute of limita-

tions defense, the other defenses raised in UTU’s motion

need not and will not be addressed.

The defendant’s motion for summary judgment is

GRANTED pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c). Judg-

ment is therefore entered accordingly in favor of the de-

fendant. The parties will bear their own costs.

It is ss ORDERED this 20th day of July, 1988.

/s/ Sarah Evans Barker

SARAH EVANS BARKER, Judge

United States District Court

Southern District of Indiana

Copies to:

Joseph H. Hogsett, Esquire

Wayne O. Adams, Esquire

BINGHAM, SUMMERS, WELSH & SPILMAN

2700 One Indiana Square

Indianapolis, Indiana 46204

Dean E. Richards, Esquire

9000 Keystone Crossing, Suite 920

Indianapolis, Indiana 46240

Andrew K. Light, Esquire

Lynne D. Lidke, Esquire

SCOPELITIS, GARVIN & WICKES

1301 Merchants Plaza, East Tower

Indianapolis, Indiana 46204

27a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF INDIANA

INDIANAPOLIS DIVISION

Cause No. IP 77-425-C

LARRY ZAPP, et al.,

Plaintiffs,

vs.

UNITED TRANSPORTATION UNION,

Defendant.

FINAL JUDGMENT

The court, having considered the submissions of the

parties in this action, including defendant’s motion for

summary judgment and the briefs in support and in op-

position thereto, the supporting affidavit, documents, dep-

osition testimony, answers and stipulations, and being

fully advised in the premises, now enters its ruling on

the defendant’s motion for summary judgment as fol-

lows, to-wit:

(H.I.)

NOW. THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED AND AD-

JUDGED the the defendant’s motion for summary judg-

ment is GRANTED pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c).

Final Judgment is hereby entered accordingly in favor

of the defendant. The parties will bear their own costs.

It is so ORDERED this 20th day of July, 1988.

/s/ Sarah Evans Barker

SARAH EVANS BARKER, Judge

United States District Court

Southern District of Indiana

7

28a

Copies to:

Joseph H. Hogsett, Esquire

Wayne O. Adams, Esquire

BINGHAM, SUMMERS, WELSH & SPILMAN

2700 One Indiana Square

Indianapolis, Indiana 46204

Dean E. Richards, Esquire

9000 Keystone Crossing, Suite 920

Indianapolis, Indiana 46240

Andrew K. Light, Esquire

Lynne D. Lidke, Esquire

SCOPELITIS, GARVIN & WICKES

1301 Merchants Plaza, East Tower

Indianapolis, Indiana 46204

29a

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

_ SEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 81-3072

LARRY ZAPP, et al.,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

Vv.

UNITED TRANSPORTATION UNION

and CONSOLIDATED RAIL CORPORATION,

Defendants-A ppellees.

Argued Dec. 3, 1982

Decided Feb. 6, 1984

Dean E. Richards, Indianapolis, Ind., for plaintiffs-

appellants.

John P. Price, Bingham, Summers, Welsh & Spilman,

William A. Wick, White, Raub, Wick & Riegner, Indian-

apolis, Ind., for defendants-appellees.

Before CUMMINGS, Chie Judge, CUDAHY, Circuit

Judge, and TIMBERS, Senior Circuit Judge.*

CUDAHY, Circuit Judge.

Plaintiffs appeal from the judgment of the district

court dismissing their Third Amended Complaint against

* The Honorable William H. Timbers, Senior Circuit Judge for

the Second Circuit, is sitting by designation.

30a

their Union, the United Transportation Union (the

“UTU”), and their employer, the Consolidated Rail Cor-

poration (“Conrail”). We affirm in part, reverse in part,

and remand for further proceedings consistent with this

opinion.

I. The Parties

Plaintiffs are 126 individual engineers and trainmen

(this is not a class action) formerly employed by the In-

dianapolis Union Railway Company (the “IU’’), a “belt-

line” industry and interchange railroad circling Indian-

apolis. The iU was originally a wholly-owned subsidiary

of the Pennsylvania Railroad. On February 1, 1968, the

New York Central Railroad was merged into the Penn-

sylvania to form the Penn Central Transportation Com-

pany (the “Penn Central”), and the IU became a sub-

sidiary of the Penn Central by virtue of the change in

name of the parent. The parties agree that, despite the

intercorporate ties, the IU at all times operated as a unit

separate from the Pennsylvania and the Penn Central.

Defendant Conrail, an entity created by the Regional Rail

Reorganization Act of 1973 (the “8R Act’), 45 U.S.C.

§ 701 et seg., was formed to acquire the assets of a num-

ber of bankrupt railroads. On April 1, 1976, the assets

of the Penn Central and the IU were conveyed to Conrail,

and empioyees of both railroads were offered employment

with Conrail.! Defendant UTU was formed in 1969 by

the merger of various craft unions, and thereafter rep-

resented ground service employees on the 1U; from 1969

to 1976 the Brotherhood of Locomotive Firemen and En-

gineers represented IU firemen and engineers, and, since

1976, the UTU has represented the firemen, while the

engineers have been represented by the Brotherhood of

Locomotive Engineers. The UTU denies any responsibil-

ity for plaintiffs who are locomotive engineers.

1 Other railroads were also acquired by Conrail, but only the

IU and the Penn Central are relevant to this litigation.

+a ere

sla

II. The Claims

Prior to the conveyance of the various rail properties

to Conrail, the UTU and Conrail signed a collective bar-

gaining agreement dated December 18, 1975, consolidat-

ing the seniority rosters of the various acquired railway

lines. Plaintiffs allege that as a result of this agreement,

they received a seniority date of April 1, 1976 (the date

of the conveyance to Conrail), while employees of the

former Penn Central received a February 1, 1968 senior-

itv date (the date of the merger of the New York Cen-

tral into the Pennsylvania). Plaintiffs further allege that

as a result of the disparity in seniority dates, former

IU employees are consistently bumped by formed Penn

Central employees with later dates of hire and are more

often furloughed or awarded less favorable job assign-

ments. Plaintiffs therefore seek to have the seniority

provisions of the collective bargaining agreement between

Conrail and the UTU reformed to give them February 1,

1968 seniority throughout their Conrail seniority district.

Plaintiffs assert three discrete complaints against the

Union:? (1) The Union violated a 1974 Interstate Com-

merce Commission (“ICC”) order protecting the rights

of employees of subsidiaries of railroads involved in the

Penn Central merger. (2) Section 504(b) of the 3R Act,

45 U.S.C. § 774(b), requires that local unions be involved

in negotiations relating to the seniority rights of em-

ployees affected by mergers, and this requirement was

not met. (3) The Union breached its duty of fair rep-

resentation by failing to protect the seniority rights of

2 Plaintiffs’ discursive complaint is not divided into counts, but,

according to plaintiffs’ brief on appeal, the district court was cor-

rect in concluding that these were plaintiffs’ distinct claims.

3It is unclear whether the claim against the UTU is that it

should have refrained from negotiating on plaintiffs’ behalf or

should have taken affirmative steps to include the IU locals in the

negotiations. Plaintiffs do not claim that Conrail was at fault in

negotiating with the wrong representatives.

32a

plaintiffs, who were employees of a small railroad and a

numerically small contingent within the UTU.

The district court dismissed the first claim on alterna-

tive grounds. First, if the claim is construed as a suit

to enforce an order of the ICC, the claim is jurisdiction-

ally defective on account of plaintiffs’ failure to join the

United States, a necessary party under the Urgent De-

ficiencies Act, 28 U.S.C. § 2321 et seg. Second, even if

the enforcement claim were properly in federal court, the

ICC order could not be enforced until plaintiffs’ rights

under the order are clarified, and that is a matter appro-

priately referred to the ICC under the doctrine of pri-

mary jurisdiction.

The claim under Section 504(b) of the 3R Act was

dismissed for failure to state a claim since neither the

statute nor the cases interpreting it provide support for

plaintiffs’ contention that local rather than system-wide

bargaining over seniority rights is required. The duty

of fair representation claim was dismissed on the ground

that plaintiffs had made only conclusory allegations of

discrimination.

Two claims were advanced against Conrail: (1) Con-

rail violated the 1974 ICC order in establishing the con-

solidated seniority rosters. (2) Conrail failed to follow

the requirements of Sections 4 and 5 of the 3R Act. In

addition there was a general allegation that Conrail had

acted “in concert with” the Union in negotiating senior-

itv. The first claim is essentially the same as the first

claim raised against the Union, and Judge Dillin dis-

missed it on the same alternative jurisdictional grounds.

The second claim was dismissed for vagueness; the 3R

Act contains no Section 4 or 5.‘

4 We approve the dismissal of this claim. It is conceivable that

plaintiffs meant to refer to some other sections of the 8R Act or to

Section 5 of the ICC Act; Section 5(2) (f) of the ICC Act contains

the labor protection provisions at issue in the 1974 ICC order.

However, even under the liberal requirements of notice pleading,

33a

On appeal, plaintiffs argue that the duty of fair rep-

resentation claim was improperly dismissed, that the

1974 ICC order may be enforced without clarification by

the ICC, that the United States either is not a necessary

party to an enforcement action or should have been joined

by the district court under Rule 19, FEp.R.CIv.P., and

that for purposes of a motion to dismiss, plaintiffs’ alle-

gations about the meaning of the ICC order and the 3R

Act must be taken as true. Plaintiffs also argue that the

district court should have converted defendants’ motion

to dismiss to a motion for summary judgment and that

the court improperly considered matters outside the plead-

ings in ruling on the motion to dismiss.®

Ill. Background

While there is at least a superficial appeal to plain-

tiffs’ claim that there is an obvious injustice in the dis-

parity between the February 1, 1968 and April 1, 1976

seniority dates, plaintiffs’ claims must be evaluated in

the context of twenty years of rail consolidations within

the Northeastern United States. In each successive mer-

ger or acquisition culminating in the formation of Con-

defendants should not have to guess about the statutory basis for

this lawsuit. Plaintiffs have had three opportunities to amend

their complaint, and this court ought not to speculate further about

the real nature of this claim.

5 The thrust of this contention is not entirely clear. Some of

plaintiffs’ claims were dismissed under Rule 12(b) (1) for lack of

subject matter jurisdiction, and some under Rule 12(b)(6) for

failure to state a claim upon which relief can be granted. A

12(b) (6) motion is to be treated as a motion for summary judg-

ment “when matters outside the pleadings are presented to and

not excluded by the court.” Rule 12(b), FEpD.R.Ctv.P. This pro-

vision by its terms is not applicable to a 12(b)(1) motion. The

only extraneous evidentiary material in the record is a deposition

extract included by plaintiffs in a memorandum in opposition to a

motion to dismiss. It is clear from the district court’s entry that

neither this nor any other factual material was considered by the

district court.

84a

rail, redundant lines and facilities—and, unfortunately,

jobs—have been eliminated. Such streamlining is fre-

quently an element of consolidation into a more economi-

eally viable unit, and the ICC is charged with determin-

ing when such consolidation, appropriately hedged with

labor protective conditions, is in the public interest. As

an integral part of these organizational changes, previ-

ously independent seniority rosters have been consoli-

dated.

Inevitably, at least some workers will be less well off

than they were prior to facility or seniority consolidation,

not because of legally cognizable wrongdoing, but because

they had the ill fortune to be part of a declining indus-

try. And, of course, a union cannot, in a situation of

job contraction, easily satisfy all its members. Plaintiffs

seem undoubtedly to be less well off than they were prior

to the acquisition by Conrail. But the question for us in

reviewing the dismissal of their complaint is whether

they have alleged cognizable injury (and whether they

have sued appropriate parties). Accordingly, some delv-

ing into the history of the ICC orders and the successive

rail and seniority consolidations is necessary in order to

determine whether plaintiffs have enforceable claims un-

der the ICC orders or have adequately alleged that the

UTU discriminated against them.

A. Seniority and Facility Consolidation

As we understand it, the present consolidated seniority

system is the end result of a succession of mergers and

acquisitions under which each employee retained seniority

rights on his prior seniority district and acquired new

seniority rights, as of the date of merger, throughout the

new consolidated seniority district formed.® Such a pro-

6 A consolidated seniority district might be composed of several

prior seniority districts belonging to each of the merging (or

acquired) lines. An individual trainman would thus retain “prior

35a

cedure for consolidating seniority rosters seems, on the

face of it, one acceptable approach to the problem.’

right” seniority in his original district and would acquire new

rights in seniority districts formerly belonging to another railroad

and in such other seniority districts of his own line as might be

assigned to the new district. Since “prior right” seniority is

specific to a particular section of track, prior rights are extin-

guished if the track is abandoned.

Seniority rights then held are typically guaranteed by the terms

of the collective bargaining agreement accompanying each merger

or acquisition. The legislation creating Conrail similarly provided

that the procedure for determining Conrail system seniority “shall,

to the extent possible, preserve [the employees’] prior seniority

rights. ...” 45 U.S.C. § 774(b) (4). Thus, an employee with a

lengthy employment history might, after a succession of such con-

solidations, have seniority throughout the most recently formed

district as of the date of its formation, “prior right” seniority

throughout a previously consolidated sub-area as of the date of

that consolidation, and “prior prior right” seniority as of his date

of hire on his original seniority district. In theory, with gradual

employee retirement, a seniority roster will eventually be deter-

mined only by the date of hire into the newest consolidated district.

7 This territory-specific system for consolidating seniority rosters

has been used in a number of railorad mergers. Another possibility

for seniority consolidation involves “dovetailing,” or the compiling

of a single roster with workers listed in the order of their dates

of hire; under this plan, no employee retains any superior right to

work on track within his prior seniority district. Another possible

system uses “work equity” seniority consolidation. This was the

system used in the merger that resulted in the formation of the

Burlington Northern; see Augspurger v. Brotherhood of Loco-

motive Engineers, 510 F.2d 853, 855-56 (8th Cir. 1975), for a

detailed description of variations on this theme. Under this ap-

proach, the total number of slots on the consolidated roster allo-

cated to each of the merging railroads (or to the various seniority

districts of any one railroad) reflects the relative amount of work

(typically measured by engine hours) brought into the new con-

solidated district from each prior district. No employee retains

any claim on work in his prior district. Individual employees ob-

tain work on the slots allocated to their prior district according

to their standing on their prior district rosters. We do not under-

stand plaintiffs to be complaining about the choice of a territory-

specific method of seniority consolidation for the Penn Central and

86a

An agreement dated December 21, 1966 between the

Pennsylvania and the New York Central Railroads and

their employees represented by the Order of Railway

Conductors and Brakemen and the Brotherhood of Rail-

way Trainmen provided for the establishment, in the

event of merger, of new Penn Central seniority districts,

to be arranged so that employees in the new districts

would retain prior rights to employment in their pre-

existing seniority districts. A November 16, 1967 Im-

plementing Agreement between the same parties specifi-

cally provided for the creation of Penn Central Seniority

District No. 2, Southwestern, which was to encompass

the Indianapolis Terminal Yards of the Pennsylvania

and New York Central Railroads (and three other Penn-

sylvania and fifteen other New York Central prior right

districts). Geographically, District No. 2 is roughly de-

scribed as a triangle with vertices at Indianapolis, Pe-

oria and Cairo, Illinois. The effect of this agreement was

to give former employees of the Pennsylvania and New

York Central Railroads seniority throughout Penn Cen-

tral Seniority District No. 2, effective as of the date of

merger, February 1, 1968, while such employees would

at the same time retain prior rights within their respec-

tive former seniority districts. Priority among the large

group of employees with the same Penn Central seniority

date who might be competing for jobs on track on which

none of them had prior right seniority would be deter-

mined by their earliest retained seniority date as a train-

“man (generally the employee’s date of hire). Plaintiffs

were not directly involved in the Penn Central merger,

hence, acquired no seniority in Penn Central Seniority

District No. 2. Conrail, not yet in existence, was of course

not a party to any of these agreements.

Conrail consolidations. Rather, plaintiffs apparently want only to

be assigned the same seniority date as former Penn Central em-

ployees.

37a

In advance of the conveyance of the Penn Central to

Conrail, a Single Implementing Agreement was entered

into on July 23, 1975 between Conrail and various craft

unions representing employees of the railroads in reor-

ganization. All employees of railroads acquired by Con-

rail would be offered employment with Conrail and would

not lose seniority rights then held. A December 18, 1975

collective bargaining agreement between defendants Con-

rail and the UTU provided for the creation of eight Con-

rail seniority districts, including District B, Southwest-

ern, which encompassed all of the former Penn Central

Seniority District No. 2 (four Pennsylvania road and

yard prior right districts and sixteen former New York

Central road and yard prior right districts) as well as

all of the territory of the former Indianapolis Union Rail-

way Company. This Agreement provided that all em-

ployees with standing on prior seniority district rosters

would retain their prior rights throughout the territory

encompassed by their prior seniority districts; in addi-

tion these employees would gain new rights in territories

which were previously separate and unrelated. This ap-

pears to be the same system used for Penn Central senior-

ity consolidation. Thus, former Pennsylvania and New

York Central employees who were in Penn Central Sen-

iority District No. 2 would acquire an effective April 1,

1976 seniority date in the prior Indianapolis Union sen-

iority district (where they previously had no rights),

and would retain February 1, 1968 seniority in Penn

Central District 2 territories (“prior” rights), as well

as whatever seniority they had on their old Pennsylvania

or New York Centra! districts (“prior prior” rights).

Former Indianapolis Union employees, on the other hand,

acquired April 1, 1976 seniority in all former Pennsyl-

vania and New York seniority districts encompassed by

former Penn Central Seniority District Noe. 2 (where they

previously had no rights) and retained their IU territory

seniority.

38a

A June 23, 1976 Agreement between the UTU and

Conrail provided for the consolidation of the Indianapolis

yard facilities of the former Penn Central and IU rail-

roads and for the allocation of jobs in accordance with a

selection order list designed to insure that overall, for-

mer Pennsylvania, New York Central, and IU employees

received a proportionate share (based on engine hours

worked) of the available jobs. The proportions appear to

be New York Central, 40%, and 30% each for the IU

and Pennsylvania.* Prior seniority rosters for each line

determine which individual IU employees are assigned

the jobs allocated to the IU. The Penn Central February

1, 1968 and Conrail April 1, 1976 seniority dates would

seem to play no role in establishing the selection ordcr

list.

In view of this history of seniority and facility consoli-

dation, the allegation that Indianapolis Union employees

have April 1, 1976 seniority and all other employees have

February 1, 1968 seniority seems to us to cover only part

of the story. If we are correct about the operation of the

various successor seniority districts, the picture is com-

plex. The resolution of any given seniority conflict in-

volving “road” or “track” jobs apparently depends pri-

marily on the origin of the track where the conflict arises.

Thus (for example) on a line near Indianapolis once

owned by the Pennsylvania Railroad, a former Indian-

apolis Union employee would have April 1, 1976 seniority,

a former New York Central employee February 1, 1968

seniority, and a former Pennsylvania Railroad employee

8 This “work equity” system (see n. 7 supra) is the system

typically used in consolidating yard facilities. In contrast io the

prior right system used in the Penn Central and Conrail track job

roster consolidations (in which prior rights are lost if the track

is abandoned), employees have no “prior right” to jobs on their

former yard facilities. However, even if a terminal yard formerly

owned by one of the merging carriers is completely abandoned,

employees from that prior seniority district are entitled to a pro-

portionate share of the remaining jobs.

39a

might have seniority back to his date of hire well before

February 1, 1968. In any conflict among three such hypo-

thetical employees, the Indianapolis Union worker loses.

On the other hand, if the track in question were previously

owned by the Indianapolis Union Railroad, the IU em-

ployee would have whatever seniority he had on the old

Indianapolis Union seniority roster, and the hypothetical

Pennsylvania and New York Central alumni would both

have only April 1, 1976 seniority. Under this latter hy-

pothetical scenario, it is the Indianapolis Union man who

should win. At oral argument, the Union asserted that

this would indeed be the case. If the seniority conflict in-

volves consolidated “yard” jobs, prior ownership of the

facility is apparently irrelevant and the amount of work

contributed by each carrier determines the number of

jobs allocated to that line’s employees. Employees from

a line which contributed little work would have fewer

slots on the selection list, and thus a trainman from that

line might have lower job priority than a former employee

of the more heavily used yard who had a later date of

hire. Even if, as seems to be the case in Indianapolis,

severa: merging lines contributed equal amounts of work,

and thus obtained equal numbers of slots, the distribu-

tion of dates of hire within each prior seniority roster

could lead to situations in which an employee on one line

with a later date of hire takes precedence over an em-

ployee from another line with an earlier date of hire.

Plaintiffs’ Amended Complaint lists several pages of

instances in which a former Indianapolis Union employee

is bumped by, or furloughed in favor of, a former Penn

Central employee with a later date of hire. These ex-

amples may apply to our first hypothetical—Indianapolis

Union employees seeking to compete for work on track

formerly owned by the Penn Central. The Complaint

gives us no information on this point, but at oral argu-

ment plaintiffs claimed, contrary to our hypothesis, that

all instances involved jobs on former [Indianapolis Union

40a

lines. It may well be that these are yard jobs. (No one

has explained to us what portion of the old Indianapolis

Union Railroad is “road” and how much “yard.”) The

Complaint also asserts that the desirable “long pool” jobs

(e.g., Indianapolis to St. Louis, a prior Penn Central

route) are awarded to Penn Central employees with later

dates of hire. Because IU employees would have no prior

right seniority on the track involved, this result is con-

sistent with a territory-specific system of prior right

seniority. At oral argument plaintiffs additionally claimed

that the IU lines have been removed from service (al-

though the date of this development has not been indi-

cated), so the sole seniority date applicable to former IU

employees is April 1, 1976. We presume this is a reference

to road jobs.

B. The ICC Orders

Section 5(2) (f) of the ICC Act, 49 U.S.C. § 5(2)f,

since amended and recodified at 49 U.S.C. § 11347 (1978),

provides that a rail merger will not be approved by the

ICC unless “a fair and equitable arrangement to protect

the interests of the railroad employees affected” (em-

phasis added) is made. Accordingly, labor protective con-

ditions were an important aspect of the planning begun

in the early 1960’s for the eventual merger of the New

York Central into the Pennsylvania.® A May 20, 1964

agreement negotiated by the two merger applicants and

23 unions representing 75% of their employees required

job retention without diminution or impairment of com-

pensation, working conditions, or fringe benefits (es-

sentially the conditions of the 1936 Washington Job Pro-

tection Agreement); further, the Penn Central would

have only limited freedom to reduce the work force, and,

® The formation of Conrail was not a merger pursuant to Sec-

tion 5(2) of the ICC Act. Rather, it was created by independent

legislation, the 3R Act. ICC orders geverning labor protective con-

ditions of the Penn Central merger are not applicable to Conrail.

4la

while the merged company could transfer work through-

out its system, it had to pay severance allowances to any

workers who chose not to move.

An ICC Order dated April 6, 1966, 327 I.C.C. 475,

which authorized the Penn Central merger (the “merger

report”), adopted these 1964 labor protective conditions *°

and made them applicable to Pennsylvania and New York

Central employees who had not been represented in the

1964 negotiations and to employees of other carriers which

the ICC might subsequently require to be included in the

merger. Plaintiffs, who were not involved in the Penn

Central merger, had of course not been represented. After

the February 1, 1968 merger, various labor organizations

sought to have the labor protective conditions extended

to employees of the subsidiaries of the Penn Central."

The case proceeded (despite the Penn Central’s 1970 pe-

tition for reorganization under section 77 of the Bank-

ruptey Act) and in 1971 an Administrative Law Judge

recommended that all the subsidiaries be covered by the

1964 merger protective conditions incorporated in the

merger report. Exceptions were filed by the trustees of

the Penn Central and by numerous labor organizations

(including the UTU) and subsidiaries (not including the

Indianapolis Union). On October 18, 1974 the ICC issued

10Tt should be noted that these labor protective conditions set

forth the rights of the employees vis-a-vis the railroad, not vis-a-vis

one another. While section 5(2) (f) has been held to require a fair

seniority consolidation system, see Anderson v. United Transpor-

tation Union, 557 F.2d 165 (8th Cir. 1977), relative position on

a consolidated seniority roster is primarily a problem of priority

among employees once the union and employer have determined

the total number and type of jobs available and is not directly

addressed by these labor protective orders.

11 The New York Central and the Pennsylvania each had a num-

ber of subsidiaries which, like the Indianapolis Union, had become

subsidiaries of the Penn Central. Conrail’s brief asserts that there

are 57 such subsidiaries.

42a

the Order, Finance Docket No. 21898, 347 I.C.C. 536,

that is the focus of plaintiffs’ lawsuit.

Two classes of subsidiaries were considered in the 1974

order: those which had become integral operating units

of the Penn Central system and those (including the

Indianapolis Union) that continued to operate as inde-

pendent railroads after the merger albeit under the legal

ownership of the Penn Central. There was general agree-

ment that the former group of subsidiaries, being involved

in and directly affected by the merger, were entitled to the

same job protections as New York Central and Pennsy]l-

vania employees; the only dispute concerned the “inde-

pendent” subsidiaries.

The order is clear enough in its statement of policy.

The Commission began with the premise that to be enti-

tled to the protections of 5(2) (f), an employee need only

meet two criteria: he must be an employee of some rail-

road engaged in common carriage, and must be affected

by the merger in question. Protection is not limited to em-

ployees of the carriers directly involved in the merger,

but applies to all railroad employees affected. Since there

is usually little difficulty determining whether or not an

individual is an employee of a common carrier, the only

real question is whether he has been “touched sufficiently”

by the transaction. 347 I.C.C. at 546, citing Railway

Labor Executives’ Association v. United States, 216 F.

Supp. 101 (1963). Under this standard, the employees

of the independent subsidiaries were eligible for 5(2) (f)

protection.

The order was considerably less clear about how this

statement of entitlement might translate into benefits for

individual employees. The order stated only that “retro-

active and prospective application of the merger report

conditions to some of the employees of the subsidiaries”

would be required. 347 I.C.C. at 551. Presumably this

is a reference to “affected” employees. The order pro-

43a

vided no guidelines for determining when an employee is

to be deemed sufficiently “affected.”

The trustees of the Penn Central promptly asked for

reconsideration, arguing that the labor protective condi-

tions were negotiated in the context of the Penn Central

merger and should not be read to require employment

guarantees and severance benefits for railroad workers

who were not operationally part of the Penn Central sys-

tem. The Commission responded, by order dated April

10, 1975, that the trustees had misunderstood the prior

order, which held that employees of the subsidiaries “are

entitled to benefits under the § 5(2) (f) labor conditions

. . only in those instances where they are shown to be

directly and adversely affected by the merger” of the

New York Central into the Pennsylvania, and that

whether an employee was indeed so affected was to be

determined by arbitration. This is apparently a reference

to compulsory arbitration before the National Railroad

Adjustment Board.

IV. The Merits

With this background in mind, we turn now to plain-

tiffs’ specific claims.

A. The ICC Enforcement Claim

At oral argument, members of the panel repeatedly

asked why plaintiffs thought that the arbitration require-

ment of the 1975 order did not apply to them. The

answer was that there was nothing to be determined

by arbitration because the 1974 order itseif, and of its

own force, gave plaintiffs the February 1, 1968 seniority

date they sought, and their only problem was in obtain-

ing enforcement of that 1974 order.

t appears to us that much of the confusion in this case

has arisen because the parties are concentrating on very

different aspects of the 1974 order (as modified by the

1975 order), and consequently neither side is really ad-

44a

dressing the arguments raised by the other. We con-

clude that the orders provide that, if plaintiffs are “af-

fected” by the merger of the New York Central into the

Pennsylvania (a matter to be determined by arbitration),

they are entitled to the protections specified in the 1966

merger report. This also is how defendants read the

orders. These section 5(2)(f) protections include the

preservation of jobs, wages, and fringe benefits that might

otherwise be lost in the course of a merger. However, as

we have already observed, supra n. 10, merger protective

conditions, which circumscribe the carrier’s ability to

reduce labor costs, have little to do with seniority directly;

that is a matter determined by a collective bargaining

agreement, which determines which employees are en-

titled to the available jobs.

Given that plaintiffs are interested only in seniority,

their lack of interest in arbitration proceedings des‘gned

to determine their right to 5(2) (f) protections makes a

certain amount of sense; they are not arguing about

merger protection, the ostensible subject matter of the

ICC orders. Rather, they have focused on the language

stating that employees of the subsidiaries are to be con-

sidered employees of the Pennsylvania, and they have

built their case for Pennsylvania seniority on this lan-

guage. Specifically, they argue that by referring to them

as Pennsylvania employees, the ICC ordered that plain-

tiffs were to be considered Pennsylvania employees for

purposes of collective bargaining over seniority rights.

That is, the 1974 order meant that in 1975 the IU em-

ployees should have been integrated into the Penn Central

seniority rosters (with Pennsylvania employee 1968 sen-

iority) before the Conrail seniority list was created.

Defendants were allegedly derelict in failing to recognize

plaintiffs’ entitlement to Pennsylvania employee status at

the time of the 1975 collective bargaining agreement.

We think this is a rather strong implication to be de-

rived from the use of the word “employee” in the 1974

45a

order. We have no idea whether the 1974 order can prop-

erly be construed in this fashion. We therefore cannot

act to enforce the 1974 order so construed until we know

unambiguously what rights the order accords plaintiffs

and whether the order has indeed heen violated. That is

the sort of determination (involving an extremely com-

plex ICC-supervised merger) classically committed to

agency discretion under the doctrine of primary jurisdic-

tion. See Far East Conference v. United States, 342 U.S.

570, 72 S.Ct. 492, 96 L.Ed. 576 (1952); Texas & Pacific

R. Co. v. Abilene Cotton Oil Co., 204 U.S. 426, 27 S.Ct.

350, 51 L.Ed. 553 (1907). We therefore approve the

district court’s decision to decline jurisdiction at this time

and to dismiss the complaint against both the Union and

Conrail insofar as the complaint is construed as a suit

for enforcement of the 1974 order interpreted as an auto-

matic award of February 1, 1968 seniority. To deter-

mine whether the 1974 order grants them the right to

Pennsylvania employee seniority status, plaintiffs may

petition the ICC for a declaratory order. After the ICC

has clarified plaintiffs’ rights, a suit in federal court to

enforce the order may be entirely proper.’*? The primary

jurisdiction doctrine simply defers court consideration

until the administrative agency has had an opportunity

to evaluate the claim.

In view of our holding that this lawsuit cannot prop-

erly be construed now as one for the enforcement of an

ICC order, we do not need to decide whether, for an ac-

tion predicated on 28 U.S.C. § 1336, the United States

must be a party by virtue of the Urgent Deficiencies Act

or whether, under our decision in Carothers v. Western

12 We note that the district court was not requested to, nor did

it elect to, follow the apparent option of referring the question to

the ICC for determination. In such cases, the district court re-

ferring the question then has exclusive jurisdiction over civil ac-

tions arising from the new ICC order. See 28 U.S.C. § 1336(b).

We express no opinion as to whether the jurisdictional posture

of the case would have brought § 1336 into play.

4Ca

Transportation Co., 554 F.2d 799, reh. denied, 563 F.2d

311 (7th Cir.1977), the United States need not be in-

volved. It is enough here to point out that the United

States is, of course, not a required party when the case,

under the doctrine of primary jurisdiction, is referred for

adjudication to an agency of the United States.

If plaintiffs do not wish to pursue their argument that

the 1974 order entitles them to February 1, 1968 senior-

ity, they may wish to determine what rights to merger

protection they do have under the 1974 and 1975 orders.

For this they must seek arbitration before the Adjust-

ment Board. It is not immediately obvious why the In-

dianapolis Union employees would be considered directly

affected by the Penn Central merger; if the Penn Central

had not collapsed, the IU would presumably have con-

tinued to operate independently, and plaintiffs would

have had no reason to seek relief under the 1974 ICC

order. Plaintiffs’ problems arise directly from the forma-

tion of Conrail, so it is only at one step removed that the

Penn Central merger can be said to be relevant to them;

“but for’ that merger and accompanying seniority con-

solidation, workers with whom plaintiffs now compete

would not have obtained February 1, 1968 seniority. It

is not even clear to us that plaintiffs have adequately

alleged “but for” causation. The real problem seems to

be that, while all employees gained Conrail seniority

(throughout their new consolidated seniority district)

effective April 1, 1976, prior right seniority is territory-

specific. Given that such a seniority consolidation plan

was adopted, any merger between the IU and a larger

railroad would have left the IU employees with a senior-

ity disadvantage throughout the majority of the lines in

the resulting system—unless the boundaries of the new

seniority district were carefully selected to encompass

equal amounts of territory from the larger and the

smaller railroad, and that, of course, is not the case here.

47a

It is conceivable that the Penn Central merger itself

did have an indirect effect on plaintiffs in that New York

Central and Pennsylvania employees, who retained “prior

prior right” seniority on their own lines thereby obtained

February 1, 1968 “prior right” seniority on each other’s

lines; the IU employees had no such opportunity to ex-

pand their seniority territory prior to the formation of

Conrail. We do not know whether such retrospective “but

for” causality amounts to the IU employees being “af-

fected” by the merger of the Penn Central within the

meaning of Section 5(2) (f) of the ICC Act and the 1974

and 1975 ICC orders, but plaintiffs are certainly entitled

to go to arbitration to find out.

B. The Duty of Fair Representation Claim

The duty of fair representation claim against the UTU

at least states a claim more amenable to resolution in

the first instance by a federal court. Plaintiffs have made

several different allegations that can collectively be char-

acterized as alleged breaches of the duty of fair repre-

sentation: Paragraph 28 of the Third Amended Com-

plaint refers to the Union’s failure “to act in good faith

as a collective bargaining agent” and failure to give

plaintiffs “fair representation in negotiating their senior-

ity rights with Defendant Conrail.” '* Paragraph 27 al-

13In addition. {28 alleges that Conrail “did not act in good

faith” because it failed to follow Sections 4 and 5 of the 3R Act

and the various ICC Orders. We have already approved the dis-

missal of the claim concerning the 3R Act, supra n. 4, and have

concluded, supra n. 9, that the labor protective provisicns of the

1974 ICC order are not applicable to Conrail. Insofar as the com-

plaint can be construed as alleging that Conrail has some common

law duty to act in good faith to protect plaintiffs’ interests, we

approve the dismissal of this claim. An employer’s duty in labor

negotiations is to protect its own interests (within the limits of

the law). Harrison v. United Transportation Union, 530 F.2d 558,

561 (4th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 425 U.S. 958, 96 S.Ct. 1739, 48

L.Ed.2d 203 (1976). We similarly conclude that an allegation that

48a

leges that in giving IU employees April 1, 1976 seniority

and Penn Central employees February 1, 1968 seniority,

the Union was in violation of both the ICC Act and the

duty of fair representation. At oral argument, plaintiffs

asserted that the IU lines no longer exist, and this ap-

pears implicitly to state a claim that the Union acqui-

Conrail acted “in concert” with the Union fails to state a claim.

We believe that to be liable on a “concerted” denial of fair repre-

sentation theory, Conrail would have had knowingly to have assisted

the Union in a breach of its duty. This is not alleged. See O’Mara

v. Erie Lackawanna R. Co., 407 F.2d 674 (2d Cir. 1969), aff'd

sub nom. Czosek v. O’Mara, 397 U.S. 25, 90 S.Ct. 770, 25 L.Ed.2d

21 (1970) (because carrier was not alleged to be implicated in the

union’s breach of duty, the complaint against the carrier was

properly dismissed, and any recourse against carrier was before

National Railroad Adjustment Board).

Conrail also argues on appeal (the point was not dealt with by

the district court) that plaintiffs’ claim for reformation of the

seniority roster should be dismissed because the claim is a “minor

dispute” subject to the exclusive jurisdiction of the National Rail-

road Adjustment Board. See 45 U.S.C. §153(i). We disagree.

A minor dispute is one concerning the interpretation or application

of the terms of a collective bargaining agreement. See, e.g., United

Transportation Union v. Baker, 499 F.2d 727 (7th Cir.), cert.

denied, 419 U.S. 839, 95 S.Ct. 69, 42 L.Ed.2d 66 (1974) (whether

a computer print-out could be substituted for the “crewboard”

required by the collective bargaining agreement) ; Slagley v. Illinois

Central R. Co., 397 F.2d 546 (7th Cir. 1968) (whether injured

conductor was properly deprived of seniority rights upon transfer

to less arduous job). The case before us does not involve a dis-

pute over the meaning of the collective bargaining agreement

between the UTU and Conrail, it is perfectly clear to all concerned

that under the agreement, plaintiffs’ seniority throughout the

vast majority of the territory of Seniority District B is April 1,

1976, while former Pennsylvania and New York Central employees

have seniority at least as far back as February 1, 1968 throughout

the same territory. What plaintiffs object to is the fact that the

collective bargaining agreement establishes this result. (This “mi-

nor dispute” issue is somewhat academic in view of the fact that

we have already dismissed on other grounds all of the claims

against Conrail.)

tan deast,

49a

esced in wiping out plaintiffs’ only prior right seniority

territory.

A complaint should be dismissed on the pleadings only

if “it appears that plaintiff can prove no set of facts in

support of his claim which would entitle him to relief.”

Conley v. Gibson, 355 U.S. 41, 45-46, 78 S.Ct. 99, 101-

102, 2 L.Ed.2d 80 (1957). As we noted above, we do not

know what seniority rights, if any, the 1974 ICC order

accords plaintiffs, and they have not gone to arbitration

to determine whether they are “affected” by the Penn

Central merger within the meaning of the 1974 and 1975

ICC orders. It necessarily follows that plaintiffs could

not at present state a claim for breach of the duty of fair

representation if the only allegation were that the Union

failed to apply the ICC orders as plaintiffs interpret

them."

It is, however, entirely possible that plaintiffs could

prove that the Union discriminated against them in agree-

ing to a seniority consolidation plan that left employees

of a very small railroad as low men on the resulting

totem pole or did not attempt to alter the seniority sys-

tem once the IU lines were abolished.” Plaintiffs have

adequately alleged hostile discrimination against them.

We accordingly disapprove this much of the district

14 If the ICC confirms plaintiffs’ interpretation of the 1974 order,

plaintiffs might still not have a duty of fair representation claim

based on application of the 1974 order; the Union would likely not

be liable for failing to give the order an interpretation that we are

unable to give the 1974 order on its face.

145On a motion to dismiss, the well-pleaded allegations of the

complaint are to be taken as true. Information mentioned in memo-

randa filed before the district court, and asserted before this court

for the first time at oral argument, is neither well-pleaded nor part

of the complaint. However, in the hopes of bringing this litigation

to a conclusion, and in the interests of making sense of this con-

fusing complaint, we will assume the truth of this allegation.

50a

court’s dismissal of the breach of duty of fair represen-

tation claim.

This decision does not, however, dispose of the question

of who should decide the duty of fair representation case.

The Eighth Circuit, in Augspurger v. Brotherhood of

Locomotive Engineers, 510 F.2d 853 (8th Cir.1975), was

faced with.a similar problem. Plaintiffs in that case were

members of one of the Northern Pacific seniority dis-

tricts involved in the Burlington Northern merger. They

alleged that their union had violated its duty of fair rep-

resentation by agreeing to a work equity seniority con-

solidation scheme. Their former district had had rela-

tively little traffic; they would have been better off under

a pure date of hire seniority integration plan. The dis-

trict court had dismissed the complaint, holding that the

fair representation doctrine does not apply to cases aris-

ing out of mergers. The Eighth Circuit rejected this

reasoning, concluding that a proper fair representation

case is an exception to the doctrine of primary jurisdic-

tion, even in merger cases."* However, since plaintiffs

had not adequately alleged intentional or hostile conduct

on the part of the union, the court concluded that the

claim really dealt only with the conditions of the merger

and affirmed the dismissal on primary jurisdiction

grounds.

Defendant UTU argues that Augspurger is exactly on

point and that the IU employees’ fair representation

claim should be dismissed on grounds of primary juris-

16 The court cited this circuit’s decision in Oling v. Airline Pilots

Association, 346 F.2d 270 (7th Cir. 1965), as holding that the

Seventh Circuit is unwilling to recognize a fair representation

exception to the primary jurisdiction doctrine in merger cases.

We do not consider that to be a fair reading of Oling. The only

issue on appeal there was whether plaintiffs, who did not appeal a

Civil Aeronautics Board decision consolidating seniority rosters,

could collaterally attack the C.A.B. decision by filing an independent

suit in federal district court.

5la

diction. We disagree. Plaintiffs complain that in negoti-

ating seniority rights, their union deliberately discrimi-

nated against employees of a small railroad in order to

benefit the larger Penn Central constituency. They also

allege that they have essentially no seniority standing

because of the abandonment of the Indianapolis track

and lack Conrail seniority sufficient to bid for long pool

jobs. These claims adequately (although inartfully) state

a fair representation claim.

We therefore remand this issue for further proceed-

ings.’ We do note, however, that the district court may

well determine that even this duty of fair representation

claim cannot be resolved without referring some or all

issues in the case to the ICC under the primary jurisdic-

tion doctrine. Plaintiffs’ allegations are so vague that it

may develop that all issues are inextricably entwined with

matters properly decided by the ICC."*

C. The Claim Under § 504(b) of the 8R Act

Plaintiffs argue that section 504(b) of the 8R Act, 45

U.S.C. § 774(b) (in effect at all times pertinent to this

litigation, although repealed August 18, 1981), required

that negotiations concerning seniority consolidation be

conducted with individual union locals. Conrail and the

UTU therefore allegedly erred in negotiating a single

system-wide implementing agreement (the December 18,

1975 Agreement) establishing the Conrail seniority dis-

tricts.

Plaintiffs’ sole support for this argument is an unre-

ported decision, Maloof v. United Transportation Union,

No. 78-3797 (E.D.Pa.1980), which dealt with § 504(d),

'’ On remand it will be necessary to determine whether all 126

plaintiffs were indeed represented by the UTU at the times in

question.

“In this event, the district court could appropriately enter an

order staying proceedings until the ICC reaches a determination.

52a

not §504(b) (the section relevant to seniority consolida-

tion). Maloof held that Section 504(d), which refers to

“collective bargaining agreements” for pay rates, work

rules and work conditions, did net require a single system-

wide agreement. In reaching this decision, the Maloof

court specifically contrasted the language of 504(d), and

its reference to “agreements” (plural), with the language

of 504(b), which requires a “single implementing agree-

ment.” Even assuming that Maloof is the last word on

the meaning of 504(d),’* Maloof is thus itself an argu-

ment against plaintiffs’ position on 504(b). In the ab-

sence of any case law supporting local seniority negotia-

tion or any suggestion as te how Conrail could operate

with a variety of seniority rosters that failed to mesh

throughout a consolidated district, we must reject plain-

tiffs’ argument. We approve the district court’s dismissal

of this count for failure to state a claim.

V. Conclusions

Plaintiffs will have to decide what they wish to do next

in light of the options set forth in this opinion. If they

want to pursue their interpretation of the 1974 ICC or-

der, they must go to the ICC under the primary jurisdic-

tion doctrine to obtain a clarification resulting in an en-

forceable order. If they want to determine their rights

as employees “affected” by the merger of the Penn Cen-

tral in accordance with the 1975 ICC order, they should

go to arbitration. If they want to litigate their fair rep-

resentation claim against the Union, they may do so on

remand.” Whatever course plaintiffs select, we strongly

19 By an Act of October 14, 1980, Congress amended 504(d) to

replace “collective bargaining agreements” with “single collective

bargaining agreement.”

20 We do note, however, that if plaintiffs do not raise ell of their

fair representation claims now, res judicata may bar a subsequent

suit raising additional such claims. Plaintiffs may therefore first

want a decision from the ICC in order to determine whether they

53a

suggest that they try a more coherent presentation of

their case; this court has struggled to fill the gaps in

plaintiffs’ arguments—an effort which should not be de-

manded of it. .

have a viable fair representation claim against the Union for fail-

ure to apply the 1974 ICC order as plaintiffs interpret it.

54a

[Service Date May 13, 1986]

INTERSTATE COMMERCE COMMISSION

DECISION

Finance Docket No. 21989

PENNSYLVANIA RALIROAD COMPAN Y—MERGER—

NEW YORK CENTRAL RAILROAD COMPANY

IN THE MATTER OF LARRY ZAPP, et al.—

PETITION FOR DECLARATORY ORDER

Decided: May 6, 1986

By petition filed November 23, 1984, Larry Zapp, et

al., 126 engineers and trainmen formerly employed by the

Indianapolis Union Railway Company (IU), a wholly-

owned subsidiary of the former Pennsylvania Railroad

Company (Pennsylvania), seek reopening and/or a de-

claratory order setting forth the rights of these IU em-

ployees arising out of the merger. Comments in reply

were submitted by Consolidated Rail Corporation (Con-

rail) and the United Transportation Union (UTU).

The petition was prompted by the decision in Zapp V.

United Transportation Union, 727 F.2d 617 (7th Cir.

1984) (Zapp). Based on the doctrine of primary juris-

diction, the court suggested that these parties seek a ce-

claratory ruling from this Commission to interpret the

55a

meaning of the sixth supplemental report issued by the

Commission in Pennsylvania R. Co.-Merger-New York

Central R. Co., 347 I.C.C. 536 (1974) (Sixth Supple-

mental Report), as it relates to the seniority rights of the

IU employees. ;

BACKGROUND

In Pennsylvania R. Co.-Merger-New York Central R.

Co., 327 I.C.C. 475 (1966) (Merger Report), we ap-

proved the merger of the New York Central Railroad

Company (Central) into the Pennsylvania under the pro-

visions of former section 5(2) of the Interstate Com-

merce Act. The resulting entity became known as the

Penn Central Transportation Company (Penn Central).

Consistent with the requirements of former section 5(2)

(f) ' to provide “a fair and equitable arrangement to

protect the interests of railroad employees affected,” we

conditioned our approval of the merger by, in effect,

adopting an agreement entered into on May 20, 1964, be-

tween the merger applicants and 23 labor organizations

representing approximately 75 percent of merger appli-

cants’ railway employees. The adopted agreement dealt

with the protection of those employees represented by the

labor signatories who might be adversely affected by the

merger. The agreement provided, inter alia, for the re-

tention of all employees willing to accept employment

without their “being placed in a worse position with re-

spect to compensation, rules, working conditions, fringe

benefits or rights and privileges pertaining thereto at

any time during employment.” * We also concluded that

affected employees not represented by a labor signatory

he afforded the same protection as that extended to em-

ployees covered by the agreement. Merger Report, supra,

545, 552. The transactions authorized in the Merger Re-

port were consummated on February 1, 1968.

1 Recodified at 49 U.S.C. 11347.

2 The subject of emplovee conditions was dealt with in the Merger

Report, supra, pp. 543-546.

56a

Implementing agreements dated December 21, 1966 and

November 16, 1967, governing the seniority rights of

Pennsylvania and Central employees after the date of the

merger, were entered by the merger applicants and labor

representatives. The effect of these agreements was to

establish Penn Central seniority districts arranged so that

employees in the new districts would retain prior rights

to employment on their former tracks. The area served

by IU was incorporated within Penn Central Seniority

District No. 2. Pennsylvania and Central employees

within Penn Central Seniority District No. 2 were also

granted a seniority date of February 1, 1968 throughout

this district, thus extending their job protection beyond

their former seniority district. Because IU was not

directly involved in the Penn Central merger, IU em-

ployees were not represented at the negotiations that pro-

duced the December 21, 1966 and November 16, 1967

agreements, and no provision for seniority rights in the

district was made for them. As a further consequence,

IU employees obtained no seniority rights for parts of

the Penn Central system not owned and operated by IU.

The applicability of the conditions for the protection of

employees imposed in the Merger Report to employees of

the railroad subsidiaries and affiliates of Penn Central

such as IU was the subject of the Sixth Supplemental

Report. In that decision, employees of the subsidiaries

were acknowledged by the Commission to be railroad em-

ployees entitled to the same protection as employees of the

parent railroads. The Commission concluded that “em-

3 The Sixth Supplemental Report was served November 6, 1974.

It was supplemented by a clarifying order served April 9, 1975,

issued in response to assertions contained in a complaint filed by

the Trustees of the Penn Central that the Commission had afforded

the benefits of the labor protective conditions to employees of the

subsidiaries without regard to whether these employees were

affected by the merger. The clarifying order indicated that the

Trustees had misunderstood our decision in this regard. We reit-

erated our previously-stated position that only employees actually

57a

ployees of the two merging carriers...are entitled, ab

initio, to the protection afforded by the conditions pre-

scribed in the merger report, regardless of whether the

employees were on the rolls of the involved systems or on

those of their re:pective subsidiaries.” The Commission

further stated that “[t]hese subsidiary employees have

. . . been entitled to the protection of the merger report

conditions since the merger . . . as unrepresented em-

ployees.” Sixth Supplemental Report, supra, 548-549.

No effort to consider the effect of the Sixth Supple-

mental Report on the earlier-negotiated implementing

agreements was undertaken by the involved railroads or

labor unions. As a result, the seniority status of the IU

employees with respect to other Penn Central employees

remained unchanged.

On April 1, 1976, as a consequence of the Penn Central

bankruptcy, most of the assets and operating responsi-

bilities of the Penn Central railroad system, including

the IU, were acquired by Conrail.‘ Prior to its acquisition

of Penn Central, Conrail entered into implementing agree-

ments dated July 23, 1975, and December 18, 1975, with

various Penn Central employee union representatives.®

Under these agreements, employees of the acquired lines

would be offered employment with Conrail and would

retain seniority rights then held.°

affected by the merger were entitled to protection, and in an effort

to avoid any future misunderstanding we directed that the Sixth

Supplemental Report be supplemented to provide specifically that

employees of the rail subsidiaries are entitled to the benefits of the

labor conditions only where they are shown to be directly and ad-

versely affected by the merger.

4 This acquisition was accomplished under implementing legisla-

tion contained in the Regional Rail Reorganization Act of 1973 and

the Railroad Revitalization and Regulatory Reform Act of 1976.

51IU employees were represented in the negotiations which pro-

duced these agreements.

® The effect of the implementing agreements with Conrail was to

provide to all employees of the lines acquired from the Penn Cen-

58a

As IU employees were never covered under the 1966

and 1967 implementing agreements when Central merged

into Pennsylvania, they were not given seniority dates

for determining seniority rights at that time. The 1975

implementing agreements executed prior to the Conrail

acquisition failed to recognize that IU employees had

never received the earlier seniority dates in connection

with the Penn-Central merger. This, allegedly, put IU

employees at a disadvantage compared to former Pennsyl-

vania and Central personnel directly employed by those

carriers.

Consequently, petitioners on July 12, 1977, instituted a

complaint action in the United States District Court for

the Southern District of Indiana (No. I.P. 77-425-C)

against the UTU and Conrail, alleging, inter alia, viola-

tion of the Sixth Supplemental Report in failing to pro-

tect the rights of employees of subsidiaries of railroads

involved in the Penn Central merger. The district court

dismissed petitioners’ claims, and a subsequent appeal

to the 7th Circuit was filed. The decision in Zapp, supra,

which affirmed in part, reversed in part, and remanded

the matter to the district court for further proceedings

was the result of that appeal. The court in Zapp stated

at 625:

We therefore approve the district court’s decision

to decline jurisdiction at this time and to dismiss the

complaint against both the union and Conrail insofar

as the complaint is construed as a suit for enforce-

tral system (including the IU employees) a basic seniority date

of April 1, 1976. The December 18, 1975 agreement provided for

the creation of a series of Conrail seniority districts, including

District B Southwestern, which encompassed all of former Penn

Central District No. 2. Within Conrail District B Southwestern,

former Pennsylvania and Central employees retained the February

1, 1968 seniority rights previously held by them in Penn Central

District No. 2 while former IU employees (who previously held no

seniority rights in Penn Central District No. 2) acquired only the

April 1, 1976 seniority date, except for IU track. Former IU

employees retained their prior seniority rights in IU territory.

59a

ment of the 1974 order interpreted as an automatic

award of February 1, 1968 seniority. To determine

whether the 1974 order grants them the right to

Pennsylvania employee seniority status, plaintiffs may

petition the ICC for a declaratory order. After the

ICC has clarified plaintiff’s rights, a suit in federal

court to enforce the order may be entirely proper.

PRELIMINARY MATTER

Because of the long history and complexity of this pro-

ceeding, petitioners request that the matter be set for

oral hearing to elaborate upon the issues and allow for

cross-examination. The subject petition was submitted to

the Commission at the suggestion of a court for the pur-

pose of securing a Commission interpretation of a rela-

tively narrow question involving the meaning of a prior

Commission decision. As there are no questions of fact

that cannot be resolved on this written record, no useful

purpose would be served for setting the matter for oral

hearing. The request for oral hearing is denied.

DISCUSSION AND CONCLUSIONS

Petitioners request reopening of the Penn Central mer-

ger and/or the issuance of a declaratory order. The peti-

tion for reopening must be denied. Other than the request

in the opening paragraph of the petition, no facts or argu-

ments were submitted to support reopening of the merger.

The transaction was consummated in 1968, and created a

rail carrier that no longer exists. Petitioners have not pre-

sented assertions of material error, new evidence, or sub-

stantially changed circumstances that are necessary to

support reopening an administratively final action of the

Commission. See 49 U.S.C. 10327(g) (1) and 49 C.F.R.

1115.4. More importantly, reopening is unnecessary to

resolve the question the court suggested should be an-

swered here.

60a

Turning to the declaratory order, petitioners request the

issuance of an order setting forth the rights acquired by

them in the Penn Central merger as well as specific find-

ings on certain contentions. The specific findings re-

quested are reproduced in the appendix. Consideration

of a petition for declaratory order is a matter solely

within the discretion of this Commission. Under 5 U.S.C.

554(e!, we are authorized to issue a declaratory order to

terminate a controversy or remove uncertainty.’ The

scope of the declaratory order sought by petitioners in

both specific and general terms far exceeds the extent of

the inquiry that the court in Zapp suggested and goes

beyond the role we assume in labor-management disputes.

In view of the uncertainty expressed by the court with

regard to whether the Sixth Supplemental Report granted

petitioners a specific right to Pennsylvania employee sen-

iority status, we will exercise our discretion and grant

the request for a declaratory order. The subject to be

considered, however, will be limited to that suggested for

our examination by the court in Zapp: the seniority status

to be accorded petitioners under the merger. This requires

only an analysis of the Commission’s intentions at the

time of the Merger Report and Sixth Supplemental Re-

port. Since no facts are in dispute, we can resolve this

matter without further submissions from the parties.

The Merger Report extended the benefits of the May

20, 1964 labor agreement to Pennsylvania and Central

employees who were neither parties to nor represented by

a signatory to the agreement. It contemplated the equi-

table consolidation and extension of seniority rosters and

seniority districts under negotiated implementing agree-

ments which made provision for the use of employees ard

7 Section 554(e), which is part of the Administrative Procedure

Act, states: “The agency, with like effect as in the case of other

orders, and in its sound discretion, may issue a declaratory order

to terminate a controversy or remove uncertainty.”

6la

the allocation and rearrangement of forces.* The method

by which this was to be accomplished was not set by Com-

mission directive, but rather through the collective bar-

gaining process.

Since the Sixth Supplemental Report confirmed that

the merger protections were applicable to the employees

of subsidiary carriers, IU employees, being employees of

a subsidiary carrier, were thus entitled to full and equal

benefits of the merger protective conditions. See Sixth

Supplemental Report, at 549, where the status of unrep-

resented employees is discussed, and at 553, where IU is

listed as a carrier controlled by the Pennsylvania Rail-

road Company. Implicitly, 1U employees were considered

protected employees.

Although the benefits conferred on IU employees in the

Sixth Supplemental Report included no specific directive

with regard to their seniority status, it was contemplated,

consistent with the Merger Report that the equitable con-

solidation and extension of seniority rosters and districts

would be acomplished through negotiated implementing

agreements. To date, this has not been done. However,

the Sixth Supplemental Report made no attempt to estab-

lish the seniority structure or assess seniority dates for

IU employees. Our role under former section 5(2) (f)

is to require a fair and equitable arrangement for af-

fected employees and to ensure that affected employees

not be “in a worse position with respect to their employ-

ment” for four years from the transaction. This respon-

8In describing the May 20, 1964 agreement, the Merger Report

noted:

The Company is free to transfer work throughout its system

and employees will have the opportunity to move to places

where new jobs are created; but transfer of employees across

seniority lines will be within their craft on the basis of imple-

menting agreements to be negotiated from time to time as

provided for in the basic agreement. Merger Report, supra,

543.

62a

sibility does not require nor has it been the intention of

this Commission to displace collective bargaining as the

appropriate vehicle for establishing seniority, or to dis-

place arbitration as the proper means for determining

whether an employee is affected by a transaction and the

specific benefits accruing from that status. See Zapp, 727

F.2d at 624, 625 and the April 9, 1975 order.

We find that the Sixth Supplemental Report, while con-

firming that petitioners were entitled to benefits of the

employee protective conditions imposed in the merger

proceeding, was not directed to and did not determine

petitioners’ seniority status.

This decision will not significantly affect either the

quality of the human environment or energy conservation.

It is ordered: oy

1. The petition of the IU employees to the extent it

seeks reopening of this proceeding is denied.

2. The petition of the IU employees for the issuance of

a declaratory order is granted and a declaratory order

proceeding is instituted under 5 U.S.C. 554(a) and the

exercise of this Commission’s sound discretion, for the

purpose of making the above finding.

3. The proceeding is discontinued.

4. This decision is effective on the date served.

By the Commission, Chairman Gradison, Vice Chair-

man Simmons, Commissioners Sterrett, Andre, and Lam-

boley.

JAMES H. BAYNE

Secretary

[SEAL }

63a

APPENDIX

Specific findings requested by Petitioners

1. That, in confirmation of the Commission’s previous

orders, the I.U. Employees, as a group, are Penn Central

employees directly and adversely affected by the merger

of the Pennsylvania and the New York Central and are

thus entitled to benefits under former 49 U.S.C. § 5(2)

(f) (“Section 5(2) (f)”) and the Protective Conditions

previously approved by the Commission in the Merger

Report.

2. That equitable preservation of seniority rights in a

railroad merger proceeding is a concern encompassed by

the Protective Conditions and Section 5(2) (f) and sub-

ject to Commission jurisdiction.

3. That the I.U. Employees are and were automatically

entitled by the Commission’s previous orders to a Penn

Central Seniority District No. 2 seniority date determined

in the same manner applied with respect to similarly sit-

uated former Pennsylvania and New York Central em-

ployees.

4, That the Penn Central failed to notify any I.U. Em-

ployee that he was or would be affected in his employment

as a result of the Penn Central merger.

5. That the I.U. Employee’s monthly compensation

guarantees with respect to the Penn Central merger have

been and continue to be abrogated.

6. That the extent of injury or damage, if any, suf-

fered by the individual I.U. Employees due to abrogation

of their rights, including seniority rights, under Section

5(2)(f), as established in this proceeding, shall be arbi-

trated by the parties involved, namely the I.U. Em-

ployees; the UTU and any other collective bargaining

representative that represented any I.U. Employee since

December 21, 1966; and Conrail as successor to Penn

64a

Central. Further, that the involved parties shall submit

a plan of arbitration within thirty (30) days of a final

Commission order in this matter, and if the parties are

unable to do so within that time, the Commission, upon

petition by any involved party, shall establish a method

of arbitration.

Richard D. Adams

Lynn Amick

James R. Andrews

John R. Bahr

Matt Bailey

Robert C. Bailey

Joseph W. Bailey

steven W. Bailey

Charles O. Baker

Donald R. Barnard

J. J, Bauerle

Charles F. Bear

John J. Beck

William R. Becker

Jeffery J. Bell

Homer L. Bennett, Jr.

Donald E. Black

W. L. Booker

William Bowen

Louis E. Bowman

William J. Breeden

Raymond D. Brown

Ronnie J. Buchanan

Daniel L. Bushey

Hal D. Butler

John D. Case

Daniel R. Chrisman

Richard E. Clark

Ralph Edward Cook

Ralph Elmo Cook

L. J. Cooper

Raymond P., Coulson

Wallace Craven

P. J. Cronnon

Roy Davis

William D. Davis

Clarence W. Deeren

George M. Dobson

L. Dorn

Clyde H. Downing

Charles E. Draper

Willis C. Dunlop

Jack L. Durham

James E. Durham

Leeman Durham

Robert J. Dye, Jr.

Theodore C. Edwards

Lawrence I. Eggers

William T. Ehret

65a

LIST OF PARTIES

Gene L. Geist

William H. George

Staniey R. Glass

kdward L. Grimes

i verrett K. Grogg

Loy Hacker

Basil R. Hadley

Daniel P. Ham

William E. Ham

James O. Harper

Cheodore S. Hatfield

M. R. Hatmaker

Wayne C. Hessong

Dwight Hinshaw

Monroe W. Hockman

Jesse House

Harry W. Irons

Robert J. Irvin

John M. Jaynes

Rtioy H. Jewell

George W. Joslin

Jimmy R. Jones

George Keller

Steve Kimbler

Albert D. Kingery

Glenn A. Lawson

John W. Lawson, Sr.

Robert Lawson

Richard M. Leslie

James K. Litzelman

Joseph P. Loney

Clifton A. Lyons

Donald J. Maris

Harry C. Masencale

Wayne McBurney

Billie Smith McCrady

John P. McGuire

’ Earl C. McKinney

Arvine G. Meadows

Scott L. Miller

Edward W. Miskowiec

John S. Miskowiec

Raymond Miskowiec

Darrell W. Mitchell

Danny L. Moore

James M. Moore

James W. Moore

Robert H. Morgan

Kenneth L. Morgwenthaler

Nevelyn D. Myers

k:lmer Napier

Ardell (George) Novak

James D. O’Connor

Carl Ogden

Gene E. Onstott

Russell H. Overstreet

Mick Parsons

Edward R. Ping

Frank W. Pluckebaum, Jr.

James W. Plummer

Phillip J. Price

Clyde Rather

T. J. Ray

Raymond Reddy

William J. Reddy

James W. Richardson, Jr.

James W. Richardson, Sr.

red H. Rohde

Joseph Sabo

Henry A. Sanford

James A. Sanford

Kenneth W. Scott

Morris H. Shelton

Paul M. Shields

Herbert W. Smith

Paul L. Smith

Charles E. Spears

Milton R. Spears

Earl Stewart

Eugene A. Tansel

Robert H. Tempke

William E. Thomas

Lanice D. Thompson

Vaso S. Todor

Lew A. Townsend

Walter J. Troutman

Tennyson T. Turner

Richard E. True

John M. Wagaman

Thomas K. Wallsmith

Joseph R. Wente

James D. Whitaker

Ivan E. Whitlow

J. Eddie Whitney

James D. Williams

Larry V. Zapp

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Zapp v. United Transportation Union · 493 U.S. 1021 | Frix