Opposition Brief — Bermuda Star Line, Inc. v. Markozannes
Supreme Court brief1990
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
| Si pene Court. U.S,
in FILED
z
OFC 14 #89
No. 89-523
JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR
CLERK
In The sition tings q
Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1989
>
BERMUDA STAR LINE, INC.,
Petitioner,
versus
JOHN SPYRIDON MARKOZANNES,
Respondent
+
BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF
CERTIORARI TO THE SUPREME COURT OF THE
STATE OF LOUISIANA
.
C. Joun Caskey
Counsel of Record
628 North Boulevard
Suite 200
Baton Rouge, LA 70802
Telephone: 504/343-9850
Attorney for Respondent
QUESTIONS PRESENTED
Does an interlocutory Order by a State Court denying
a forum non conveniens dismissal of a maritime case consti-
tute a final judgment or decree within the jurisdictional
scope of 28 U.S.C. sec. 1257 for purposes of a review by
this Court?
Is a State Court able to apply its own rule with
respect to forum non conveniens in a Jones Act and a
general maritime claim brought pursuant to the “savings
to suitors” clause contained in 28 U.S.C. sec. 1233, as it
could if it were hearing a claim under the Federal
Employers’ Liability Act?
Sy a ae ar Ese Ae Or eat
ii
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
Corrections to Statement of the Case ........ eeuen
Summary of Argument... ....5062.<9sss00seneeee ban
ATQUMOR 0... occ neds cee ctsecsncek tne eee
COMCHABION « ooo sch ccneunneheeeaes ue eee 10
ili
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
Cases:
Exxon vs. Chick Kam Choo, __ U.S. __, 108 S.Ct.
eee 10
Garrett vs. Moore-McCormack Company, 317 USS.
2 6, 8
Gulf Oil Corp. vs. Gilbert, 330 U.S. 501, 67 S.Ct. 839
EE ee 2
Hellenic Lines, Ltd. vs. Rhoditis, 398 U.S. 306, 90
ee , ae
In Re: Air Crash Disaster Near New Orleans, Louisi-
nO nees WAS, 1967)..................... 9
Kassapas vs. Arkon Shipping Agency, Inc., 485 So.2d
565 (La. App. 5th Cir., 1986), writ denied 488
So.2d 203, U.S. cert. denied 107 S.Ct. 422 (1986)..... 6
Missouri ex rel. Southern Ry. Co. vs. Mayfield, 340
eh ee 2 48900) ................ 6, 7, 8, 9, 10
Norfolk and Western Railway Company vs. Beatty,
400 FSupp. 234 (S.D. Ill. 1975), aff'd, 423 US.
I MOPS. 200555 eee ee eee eee ee eee 7
Red Cross Line vs. Atlantic Fruit Company, 264 U.S.
EDT 8
Sibaja vs. Dow Chemical Company, 757 F.2d 1215
(CA11, 1985), cert. denied 106 S.Ct. 347 (1985)..... 8
Van Dusen vs. Barrack, 376 U.S. 612, 84 S.Ct. 805
Tee en kee ence ccccccee 8
Wilfried Van Cauwenberghe vs. Baird, 486 U.S. __,
ani oases cess eee n ee eeoee 4
iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued
Page
Zipfel vs. Halliburton Co., 832 F.2d 1477 (CAQ,
1987), cert. denied 108 S.Ct. 2819, as amended
OG1 Tia SUS COP cv cans cccicsacaccucemeu. een 9
STATUTES:
ep teas OE, TE ak x kee eu caus exe eee 3, 4
ae SAA. OR TE 5 a 5 vn occu candebvessaeners eee 2
ARTICLES:
Bickel, The Doctrine of Forum Non Conveniens as
Applied in Federal Courts in Matters of Admiralty,
3S Conmell ©. Go. 22 GUPGRD i 6c. cscs ls ees hein es eee 9
Stein, Forum Non Conveniens and the Redundancy of
Court-Access Doctrine, 133 U. Pa. L.Rev. 781
CHI ss s.n nw a's 0 0 035 aoe Wek SR ee 9
¢——_——__«
No. 89-523
a
~
In The
Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1989
BERMUDA STAR LINE, INC.,
Petitioner,
versus
JOHN SPYRIDON MARKOZANNES,
Respondent.
a
4
BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF
CERTIORARI TO THE SUPREME COURT OF THE
STATE OF LOUISIANA
sa
4
May It Please The Court:
CORRECTIONS TO STATEMENT OF THE CASE
Undersigned counsel respectfully takes issue with
material omissions from the Statement of the Case made
by counsel for Petitioner. At the outset of litigation, Peti-
tioner stipulated that it was amenable to jurisdiction in
personam in Orleans Parish, Louisiana. Moreover, Peti-
tioner stipulated that its “base of operations” is in Tea-
neck, New Jersey. Unlike the typical maritime case
involving a seaman of foreign nationality, Respondent
was hired directly by the New Jersey-based Petitioner,
and his letter of engagement (i.e., employment contract)
contains no foreign litigation clause whatsoever. The Peti-
tioner cruise line operates cruises to the Caribbean and
Mexico from the Port of New Orleans during the winter
cruising season, principally utilizing the cruise vessels
S/S QUEEN OF BERMUDA and S/S BERMUDA STAR.
On the “off” season, Petitioner’s vessel S/S BERMUDA
STAR operates a cruise service from the Northeast United
States to Bermuda. Respondent sustained a personal
injury on one such domestic cruise. Petitioner and its
cruise ship S/S BERMUDA STAR in particular have been
subjects of multiple personal injury cases in State and
Federal Courts in New Orleans over the years. In this
case, having stipulated to personal jurisdiction and a
New Jersey base of operations, Petitioner would have
been precluded from obtaining a forum non conveniens
dismissal of this case in favor of a foreign forum even had
the case been brought in Federal Court.! Petitioner’s real
objective was to effect a “change of venue” to New York
near its base of operations by means of a forum non
conveniens dismissal. While Petitioner’s position was
arguable, it presents a quite atypical factual and pro-
cedural scenario. In Federal Court, an argument that a
case ought be dismissed on ground of forum non conve-
niens in preference to an alternative American forum has
been procedurally inappropriate since 28 U.S.C. sec.
1404(a) was enacted following Gulf Oil Corp. vs. Gilbert,
330 U.S. 501, 67 S.Ct. 839 (1947).
rx
ss
' Hellenic Lines, Ltd. vs. Rhoditis, 398 U.S. 306, 90 S.Ct. 1731
(1970).
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
Petitioner invokes the jurisdiction of this Court pur-
suant to 28 U.S.C. sec. 1257 despite the fact that a denial of
a forum non conveniens dismissal in a maritime case is
patently an interlocutory order by State or Federal crite-
ria. 28 U.S.C. sec. 1257 authorizes a review by this Court
of “[flinal judgments or decrees” rendered by the Louisi-
ana Supreme Court, and Respondent respectfully submits
that the Louisiana Supreme Court’s reinstatement of the
Trial Court’s interlocutory order dismissing Petitioner’s
forum non conveniens defense does not rise to the status of
a final judgment or decree.
The principle of uniformity is no different in general
maritime or Jones Act litigation than it is in Federal
Employers’ Liability Act litigation. In both instances, the
general rule is that the substantive Federal law must be
followed by the State Court hearing the matter under the
Savings to Suitors Statute, but in matters of procedure the
State Court is able to follow its own statutes and require-
ments. While it is often difficult to classify a particular
issue as entirely substantive versus procedural, neverthe-
less this Court has previously definitively ruled that
forum non conveniens is not a part of the Federal substan-
tive FELA remedy, with the result that a State Court is
free to apply its own rule with respect to that defense.
The same rationale ought to be applied to the instant
Jones Act and unseaworthiness case, and the Petition for
Certiorari accordingly ought to be denied.
»
A
ARGUMENT
It would be most extraordinary for this Court to
review an interlocutory order of a State Supreme Court
reinstating a Trial Court’s denial of a defense. Certainly
under Federal procedural guidelines, a majority of the
Federal Courts of Appeals have held that an order deny-
ing a motion to dismiss on the ground of forum non
conveniens is not immediately appealable, and this Court
has recently so held. Wilfried Van Cauwenberghe vs. Baird,
486 U.S. __, 108 S.Ct. 1945 (1988). Similarly, Respondent
doubts that the denial of a forum non conveniens defense
rises to the status of a “final judgment or decree” contem-
plated by the review grant relied upon by Petitioner in 28
U.S.C. sec. 1257. With respect, Respondent suggests that
this Court is without the cited statutory authority to
review the interlocutory order issued by the Louisiana
Supreme Court.
Although uniformity is the rallying cry of Petitioner,
the effective result of Petitioner’s forum non conveniens
defense would have been the same had Petitioner been
favored with a Federal forum in addressing the defense
on the merits. The concept of jurisdiction in Louisiana
and all State Courts is considerably more narrow than the
constitutional grant in favor of courts of the United States
in maritime cases. A fortiori, there is characteristically less
frequent opportunity for the defense of forum non conve-
niens to be raised in State Court because the defense
technically assumes valid jurisdiction and venue.
In the case at bar, Petitioner stipulated to valid in
personam jurisdiction by the Louisiana State Court, and
moreover stipulated to the fact that its base of operations
is in the State of New Jersey. Not only are Petitioner's
cruise vessels frequent visitors to the Port of New
Orleans, but the Port of New Orleans is additionally the
departure and termination point for cruises during the
high winter season. Significantly, Petitioner has been a
frequent litigator in State and Federal Court in New
Orleans over the years in personal injury cases. It is
perhaps less than a statement of advocacy to suggest that
most Federal and State Courts would have been inclined
to dismiss Petitioner’s forum non conveniens argument on
the merits. Hellenic Lines, Ltd. vs. Rhoditis, 398 U.S. 306, 90
S.Ct. 1731 (1970).
Thus, with the foregoing factual scenario offering
Petitioner a remote chance of prevailing on the forum non
conveniens issue at best, Petitioner sought at the outset to
characterize its forum non conveniens dispute in terms of a
matter of monumental importance. Louisiana is patently
not an “open forum” state and has recently enacted a
statute giving its courts the heretofore unrecognized right
to dismiss a case on forum non conveniens grounds. The
statute in question explicitly excepts maritime cases from
the scope of forum non conveniens dismissals. The Court
will note that the Louisiana appellate disagreement
between the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeal and the
Louisiana Supreme Court in large measure dealt with
interpretation of that recently enacted statute, with the
Louisiana Supreme Court definitively stating that the
forum non conveniens statute did not contemplate mar-
itime cases.
However, this is not the first time that Louisiana
procedural law in the area of forum non conveniens and
maritime cases has come to the attention of this Court.
Petitioner fails to note for the Court that a United States
Supreme Court Writ of Certiorari was sought, and
denied, in Kassapas vs. Arkon Shipping Agency, Inc., 485
So.2d 565 (La. App. 5th Cir., 1986), writ denied 488 So.2d
203, U.S. cert. denied 107 S.Ct. 422 (1986). In Kassapas the
Louisiana Court-of Appeal for the Fifth Circuit had noted,
with concurrence by the Louisiana Supreme Court, that
the non-statutory doctrine of forum non conveniens was
unavailable to maritime litigants in cases brought pur-
suant to the Savings to Suitors Statute in Louisiana State
Court. The underlying rationale of the decision was Loui-
siana’s historic posture as a civilian jurisdiction free of
non-statutory procedural remedies and this Court’s deci-
sion in Missouri ex rel. Southern Ry Co. vs. Mayfield, 340
U.S. 1, 71 S.Ct. 1 (1950).
The principle of uniformity relied upon by Petitioner
in argument is no different in Jones Act or maritime
claims than it is in Federal Employers’ Liability Act
claims. This was made perfectly clear by this Court in
Garrett vs. Moore-McCormack Company, 317 U.S. 239, 244,
63 S.Ct. 246, 250 (1942):
“This Court has specifically held that the Jones
Act is to have a uniform application throughout
the country unaffected by ‘local view of com-
mon law rules.’ Panama R. Co. v. Johnson, 264
U.S. 375, 392, 44 S.Ct. 391, 396, 68 L.Ed. 748. The
Act is based upon and incorporates by reference
the Federal Employers’ Liability Act, 45
U.S.C.A. sec. 51 et seq., which also requires uni-
form interpretation. Second Employers Liability
Cases (Mondou vs. New York, New Haven &
Hartford Railroad Co.), 223 U.S.1, 55 et seq., 32
S.Ct. 169, 177, 56 L.Ed. 327, 38, 38 L.R.A., N'S.,
44.”
In the case of Missouri ex rel. Southern Railway Company vs.
Mayfield, 340 U.S. 1, 4, 5, 71 S.Ct. 1, 3 (1950). specifically
relied upon by the Louisiana Supreme Court, this Court
noted:
”
. . . Whether a State makes such a choice is,
like its acceptance or rejection of the doctrine of
forum non conveniens, a question of State law not
open to review here.”
» * .
“Therefore, if the Supreme Court of Mis-
souri held as it did because it felt under compul-
sion of federal law as enunciated by this Court
so to hold, it should be relieved of that compul-
sion. It should be freed to decide the availability
of the principle of forum non conveniens in these
suits according to its own local law.”
Petitioner mentions Mayfield only in passing, with a par-
enthetical statement suggesting that “issues of unifor-
mity” are present in Jones Act cases that are not apparent
in FELA cases. Petitioner’s Writ, p. 17. Contrary to this
unsupported proposition, the Court in Norfolk and West-
ern Railway Company vs. Beatty, 400 F.Supp. 234, 237 (S.D.
Ill. 1975), aff’d, 423 U.S. 1009, 96 S.Ct. 439 (1975) held that
this Court’s Mayfield pronouncement was equally applica-
ble to Jones Act cases tried in State Court:
“Since state rules on forum non conveniens gov-
ern in FE.L.A. and Jones Act matters, by anal-
Ogy state procedure should control here.
issouri ex rel. Southern Railway vs. Mayfield, 340
U.S. 1, 71 S.Ct. 1 (1950).”
Since there is no difference in the principle of unifor-
mity between FELA cases tried in State Court on the one
hand and Jones Act and general maritime law cases tried
in State Court on the other hand, Garrett, supra, and the
holding by this Court in Mayfield, supra, concerning forum
non conveniens should be equally applicable and disposi-
tive in the instance case. The Court's attention is drawn
to the United States Court of Appeals decision from the
Eleventh Circuit in Sibaja vs. Dow Chemical Company, 757
F.2d 1215 (CA 11, 1985), cert. denied 106 S.Ct. 347 (1985),
in which the Court held that a Federal Court in a diver-
sity case is not obligated by the Erie doctrine to apply
state forum non conveniens law, which the Court charac-
terized as “a rule of venue, not a rule of decision” and a
matter “completely apart from any application of .. .
substantive law.”
This Court has previously recognized that a state is
free to adopt remedies and procedures in maritime cases
in supplementation of Federal law, even where an admi-
ralty court would not be able to accord a similar remedy.
For example, in Red Cross Line vs. Atlantic Fruit Company,
264 U.S. 109, 44 S.Ct. 274 (1924). this Court noted that the
right of a commordaw-remedy afforded suitors does not
include all means which may be employed to enforce the
right or redress the injury involved, and conversely that a
state having concurrent jurisdiction is free to adopt such
remedies and attach to them such incidents as it sees fit.
In the present case, the Louisiana Supreme Court has
continued a history of judicial observations that non-
statutory arguments of forum non conveniens are not rec-
ognized in the purely statutory framework of Louisiana’s
procedural law. Obviously, the defense of forum non con-
veniens is procedural only and not substantive. A change
in courtrooms at least ideally ought not bring about a
change of substantive law. Van Dusen vs. Barrack, 376 U.S.
612, 639, 84 S.Ct. 805, 821 (1964). Louisiana currently has
a statutory procedural device for urging a forum non
conveniens dismissal of a case. However, Louisiana’s
Supreme Court has interpreted that statute in this case
not to include within its scope Jones Act or maritime
cases. It is the prerogative of the State of Louisiana to
make procedural distinctions of this nature. Mayfield,
supra.
Petitioner argues the need for uniformity in the
American maritime law, blurring the distinction between
the procedural implications and differences in fora con-
templated by the Savings to Suitors Statute and substan-
tive maritime law. Petitioner assumes a uniformity in
forum non conveniens procedural law in the Federal Courts
and in states other than Louisiana in the maritime con-
text. Forum non conveniens is a matter committed to the
wide discretion of the Trial Court, and it is commonly
conceded that there is absolutely no uniformity even in
Federal practice in the area of forum non conveniens in
maritime and other cases. See Stein, Forum Non Conve-
niens and the Redundancy of Court-Access Doctrine, 133
U.Pa.L.Rev. 781, 831-40 (1985); Bickel, The Doctrine of
Forum Non Conveniens as Applied in the Federal Courts in
Matters of Admiralty, 35 Cornell L. Q. 12 (1949). There is
inconsistency in the Federal Circuits currently in cases of
forum non conveniens involving seamen in such areas as
whether or not clear applicability of the Jones Act pre-
cludes a forum non conveniens dismissal. Compare, Zipfel
vs. Halliburton Co., 832 F.2d 1477 (CA9, 1987), cert. denied
108 S.Ct. 2819, as amended 861 F.2d 565 (1988) with In Re:
Air Crash Disaster Near New Orleans, Louisiana, 821 F.2d
1147, 1164, note 29 (CA5 1987).
10
Thus, it is doubtful whether in actual practice recog-
nition by Louisiana State Courts of a forum non conveniens
non-statutory defense would bring about any “unifor-
mity” in application at all, and certainly Petitioner cannot
point to a single body of principles which indisputably
constitutes the procedural “law” on forum non conveniens
at present. The case of Exxon vs. Chick Kam Choo, __ U.S.
__, 108 S.Ct. 1684 (1988) does not mandate a reversal of
the historical distinction between substantive and pro-
cedural law in forum non conveniens decisions made here-
tofore by this Court. Uniformity of decisions and
protection of judgments issues addressed in Exxon more
properly dealt with the finality of decisions on forum non
conveniens made in the first instance by a Federal Court.
These issues are obviously not present in the case at bar.
,
-
CONCLUSION
Louisiana’s appreciation of the doctrine of forum non
conveniens is a matter entirely procedural and not open to
review in the context of this Case. Mayfield, supra. The
goal of substantive uniformity necessary for FELA and
Jones Act cases brought in State Court is and must be
recognized in Louisiana. However, the same procedural
freedom that a state has to apply its own understanding
of forum non conveniens in an FELA case is open to Louisi-
ana logically in a Jones Act case as well. This Court
respectfully ought not recognize jurisdiction to review an
interlocutory order of the Louisiana Supreme Court rein-
stating a Trial Court’s denial of a forum non conveniens
11
defense. Moreover, on the merits certiorari should be
denied.
RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED:
C. JouHn Caskey
628 North Boulevard, Suite 200
Baton Rouge, LA 70802
Telephone: (504) 343-9850
Attorney for Respondent
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.