Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Evans v. Thompson (No. 89-516)

Supreme Court brief1989

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

ae

—

Suprame Court, U.S.

89-5 16" FILED

SEP 27 1889

}

EN@, commen | JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, .

CLERK

1

—

- i—_—_-—

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

WILBERT LEE EVANS,

Petitioner,

Ve

CHARLES THOMPSON, Superintendent,

Mecklenburg Correctional Center,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

ARTHUR F. MATHEWS *

THOMAS F.. CONNELL

MARK D. CAHN

WILMER, CUTLER & PICKERING

2445 M Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20037-1420

(202) 663-6000

JONATHAN SHAPIRO

1013 Princess Street

Alexandria, Virginia 22314

(703) 684-1700

Counsel for Petitioner

September 27, 1989 * Counsel of Record

._~: ——"

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. When a defendant has been sentenced to death un-

der a state statute which automatically mandates a sen-

tence of life imprisonment if the death sentence is later

set aside because of constitutional error, and the sentence

is later set aside for that reason, does it violate the ex

post facto clause of the United States Constitution to

resentence the defendant to d«.:th under a statute, en-

acted long after the defendant’s initial sentence had be-

come final, which permits capital resentencing.

2. When a defendant has been sentenced to death un-

der a state statute which automatically mandates a sen-

tence of life imprisonment if the death sentence is later

set aside because of constitutional error, and the sentence

is later set aside for that reason, does it violate the equal

protection clause of the United States Constitution to

resentence the defendant to death under a new statute

which permits capital resentencing, when other similarly

situated defendants tried under the earlier law received

the mandatory sentence of life imprisonment.

3. When a state has secured a death sentence through

the knowing use of false evidence, at a time when state

law mandated a sentence of life imprisonment for any

defendant whose death sentence was later determined to

be unconstitutional, does it violate the defendant’s fed-

eral right to the due process of law if the state fails for

two years to disclose the known misconduct, and then

seeks to resentence the defendant under a newly enacted

statute which (unlike the prior law) authorizes capital

resentencing.

4. When the trial record in a capital case plainly in-

dicates that the defendant has been sentenced to death on

the basis of false evidence, does it violate the defendant’s

federal rights to effective assistance of counsel and the

due process of law if his counsel fails to discover or as-

(i)

ii

sert those errors during the course of the defendant’s

direct appeal, at a time when, but for counsel’s failure,

the defendant’s sentence would automatically have been

commuted to life imprisonment.

5. When a capital sentencing jury asks the court dur-

ing deliberations if a split decision will automatically re-

sult in the imposition of a sentence of life imprisonment,

and the answer to that question plainly is yes, does it

violate the defeadant’s federal right to the due process of

law when the court refuses to answer the jurors’ ques-

tion, but instead instructs them that they must reach a

unanimous verdict.

octet .

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ................2..22..2..eceeeeeeeneeeeees

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ...........22..........-----eeeeeeseeeees

Be asd ccenadninpiinncenintdoewnntcnennenenesetunnces

aed nk hebitlantesthnderlnctisiwinncatehsoutacenenscarenremnees

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVI-

TIED iccicterlisanhinsln cherebdaresionacenuneadiendnceenreceens

oe vy iy | El ot | nnn

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT .....................

I.

ITI.

THIS COURT SHOULD GRANT CERTIORARI

TO CLARIFY THE SCOPE OF DOBBERT v.

FLORIDA, WHICH THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

MISCONSTRUED TO REACH AN UNPRECE-

IE nccntinintiennictanchbunnansenamnnecencercees

A. Resentencing Evans to Death Under Vir-

ginia’s Amended Capital Statute Violated

the Ex Post Facto Clause ..................-----.--------

B. Resentencing Evans to Death Under Vir-

ginia’s Amended Capital Statute Violated

the Equal Protection Clause ....

. THE LOWER COURT’S REJECTION OF

EVANS’ DUE PROCESS CLAIM RESTS

ON A FUNDAMENTAL MISCONCEPTION,

WHICH THIS COURT SHOULD CORRECT,

ABOUT THE LEVEL OF SCRUTINY RE-

QUIRED IN FEDERAL HABEAS CORPUS

IIE ibiridtiantechchacminnnne (CS SUT A a ae

THE DECISION BELOW EVISCERATES THE

IMPORTANT CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHT TO

EFFECTIVE ASSISTANCE OF COUNSEL

reals ccndiethnaeennannsacnassnaiannmyeenannence

10

12

15

18

22

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Page

IV. THIS COURT SHOULD GRANT CERTIORARI

TO RESOLVE THE CONFLICT BETWEEN

STATE AND FEDERAL COURTS OVER

WHETHER DUE PROCESS REQUIRES A

CAPITAL SENTENCING JURY TO BE TOLD,

IN RESPONSE TO THEIR SPECIFIC QUES-

TION, THAT A SPLIT DECISION WILL AU-

TOMATICALLY RESULT IN A SENTENCE

OF LIFE IMPRISONMENT .....WWw ww. 25

ITT <iiciceninncnintsnnesaialaatintgussieth aaa a 30

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page

Arizona v. Youngblood, 109 S. Ct. 333 (1988) -....... 21

Barfield v. Harris, 540 F. Supp. 451 (E.D.N.C.

1982), aff'd, 719 F.2d 58 (4th Cir. 1983), cert.

denied, 467 U.S. 1210 (1984) .............................. 28

Caldwell v. Mississippi, 472 U.S. 320 (1985) _...... 28-29

Cartwright v. State, 1989 Okla. Crim. App. LEXIS

Gr ee I Waitt es cattniihcsihinetecinterienen 11

Clark v. Commonwealth, 220 Va. 201, 257 S.E.2d

784 (1979), cert. denied, 444 U.S. 1049 (1980).. 27

Clements v. United States, 266 F.2d 397 (9th Cir.),

cert. denied, 359 U.S. 985 (1959) —....................... 15

Coleman v. McCormick, 874 F.2d 1280 (9th Cir.

Be Me I iii nian etek ecieigdacinietneintinemeenaninie 10

Coleman v. Saffle, 869 F.2d 1877 (10th Cir. 1989) .. 10

Commonwealth v. Crenshaw, 470 A.2d 451 (Pa.

RED eidsotbaeteviasshneodastedetaendcigth beskes Aiciiddaishiaihdanaetinlasgmetnitansnensntiin 18

Commonwealth v. Story, 440 A.2d 488 (Pa. 1981).. 18

Cuyler v. Sullivan, 446 U.S. 335 (1980) _................ 20

Darden v. Wainwright, 477 U.S. 168 (1986) -........ 29

Dobbert v. Florida, 482 U.S. 282 (1977) ................. passim

Dutton v. Dixon, 757 P.2d 376 (Okla. Crim. App.

EERO a oh Cra are ce eel 11

Evans v. Bair, 483 U.S. 1010 (1987) ...................... 10

Evans v. Commonwealth, 222 Va. 766, 284 S.E.2d

816 (1981), cert. denied, 455 U.S. 1038 (1982)

ek gp me SE PINE A 5

Evans v. Commonwealth, 228 Va. 468, 323 S.E.2d

14 (1984), cert. denied, 471 U.S. 1025 (1985)

I aaah lita caiiandptinesehianseanionl 6, 10, 20

Evitts v. Lucey, 469 U.S. 387 (1985) ..................-..... 22

Falter v. United States, 23 F.2d 420 (2d Cir.),

cert. denied, 277 U.S. 590 (1928) ...............0.0020.. 15

Klasing v. State, 771 S.W.2d 684 (Tex. Ct. App.

BE Wiidieicstacthessiekiciateadcereicctneeamliaea dL aigillca ee ais cecaeaancenese 11

Kring v. Missouri, 107 U.S. 221 (1888) —.............. 14

Lee v. State, 340 So. 2d 474 (Fla. 1976) (per

I decttice te aicihictinatenel iladl cicapiseubchdiabe couse eeaaeintinaitan 17

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Mafnas v. Government of Guam, 228 F.2d 283 (9th

ere nes eet ee Or re

Marshall v. Lonberger, 459 U.S. 422 (19838) ...... 18,

Miller v. Fenton, 474 U.S. 104 (1985) —..........000......

Mills v. Maryland, 108 S. Ct. 1860 (1988) ............

Meller v. State, 581 P.2d 3 (Nev. 1978) (per

SETA EES nares Some re Re es A ge ee

Patterson v. Commonwealth, 222 Va. 653, 283

I a as hthicliniols

Proffitt v. Florida, 428 U.S. 242 (1976) —.......00.......

Smith v. Murray, 477 U.S. 527 (1986) 000.

Sobiek v. Superior Court, 28 Cal. App. 3d 846, 106

Rs ___. RRR NR Tere gree aeerrer wm Pom

State v. Creekpaum, 782 P.2d 557 (Alaska App.

1987), rev’d, 753 P.2d 1189 (Alaska 1988) .........

State v. Creekpaum, 753 P.2d 1139 (Alaska 1988) ..

State v. Edwards, 701 P.2d 508 (Wash. 1985) (en

IED. cccesencushithsiiinndtnestttitissiihitsdualidliiiceidanaabididiahah ameatinadasis

State v. Loyd, 459 So. 2d 498 (La. 1984) ................

State v. Norton, 675 P.2d 577 (Utah 1983), cert.

denied, 466 U.S. 942 (1984) 2.00.00...

State v. Ramseur, 524 A.2d 188 (N.J. 1987) .........

State v. Rodgers, 242 S.E.2d 215 (S.C. 1978) ......

State v. Williams, 392 So. 2d 619 (La. 1980) .........

Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S. 668 (1984)....

Sumner v. Mata, 449 U.S. 5389 (1981) (“Sumner

cg Leh a nee OT ee ES, SN

Sumner v. Mata, 455 U.S. 591 (1988) (per curiam)

ge. gg FREE eee cc aero

Thigpen v. Thigpen, 541 So. 2d 465 (Ala. 1989)...

Thompson v. Utah, 170 U.S. 348 (1898) —...0000.....

United States v. Arpan, 861 F.2d 1078 (8th Cir.

1988}, vacated for rehearing en banc, 867 F.2d

pL ERS Rea ee trad

United States v. Fraidin, 68 F. Supp. 271 (D. Md.

FE TE eee eee: ERNE | mee NC RR I

United States v. Henson, 486 F.2d 1202 (D.C. Cir.

ERE SD ERE tare ae cL LETC

Page

14

20

a a a a -

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

United States v. Juvenile Male, 819 F.2d 468 (4th

Ci BI sencecetencnetecieseniecnsenninhnninsinnnnverinlemnnninnnnemanans

United States v. Morrison, 449 U.S. 361 (1981)....

United States ex rel. Massarella v. Elrod, 682 F.2d

688 (7th Cir. 1982), cert. denied, 460 U.S. 1037

I ciscirnanstinsnietsicissnapnrnsiggnenennnsnainnsneemmmnssennnnamanssianan

Virginia Department of Corrections v. Clark, 227

Va. 525, 318 S.E.2d 399 (1984) ............................

Weaver v. Graham, 450 U.S. 24 (1981) ...................

Statutory Provisions

BB TAGs B REO GED CIID -nn-xan..nracneevenececcecenecsseceresee

SB U.S.C. 5 RBS (E) CRGGE) q........--2.0 22... renn2e.n22s

Virginia Code § 19.2-264.2(1) (1983) -................... 4,

Virginia Code § 19.2-264.4(E) (1983) ................. Aer

Page

14

22

15

27

14

1

21

26, 27

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

No.—

WILBERT LEE EVANS,

Petitioner,

v.

CHARLES THOMPSON, Superintendent,

Mecklenburg Correctional Center,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

Wilbert Lee Evans (“Evans”) petitions for a writ of

certiorari to review the judgment of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit entered in this

case.

OPINIONS BELOW

In this capital case, the United States Court of Appeals

dismissed Evans’ first (and only) federal habeas corpus

petition, affirming the judgment of the federal district

court. The opinions of the court of appeals (hereafter,

the “lower court,” “circuit court,” or “Fourth Circuit’’)

and the district court, which are unreported, are set forth

in the Appendix (“App.”) at 2a, and 17a, respectively.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court below was entered on

August 2, 1989. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked

under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1) (1982).

2

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The constitutional and statutory provisions involved

are set forth separately at the end of this volume.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In this capital case the Commonwealth’s pervasive,

gross, and admitted misconduct has so far successfully

deprived Evans of the sentence of life imprisonment to

which he would otherwise be entitled. As we show below,

Evans was sentenced to death in April 1981 on the basis

of evidence that the Commonwealth later admitted was

known to be false. For 23 months thereafter, the Com-

monwealth stonewalled, citing the false evidence in plead-

ings filed in four courts (including this Court), while

falsely denying for a full year Evans’ explicit, repeated

attacks upon that evidence. Throughout this entire pe

riod, the Virginia Attorney General’s office was lobbying

the state legislature to enact emergency legislation per-

mitting for the first time resentencing in capital pro-

ceedings. On the very day that legislation was adopted

(twenty-three months after Evans’ trial), the Common-

wealth confessed what it had known all along—that

Evans’ death sentence rested on false and unconstitutional

evidence.

This case presents several novel and important ques-

tions concerning whether a state which obtained a death

sentence through the knowing use of false evidence, at a

time when state law prohibited capital resentencing, may

subject the defendant to resentencing under a new law

enacted years after the defendant’s first sentence had

become final. (See Points I-III, below). This case also

presents the important question, on which the lower

courts have divided, of whether a capital sentencing jury

should be told, in response to their specific inquiry during

deliberations, that a split decision will automatically

3

result in a sentence of life imprisonment. (Point IV,

below).

All of the facts material to Evans’ claims are undis-

puted: they come straight from contemporaneous docu-

ments, court filings, and the sworn admissions of two

Commonwealth prosecutors. Because so few of the mate-

rial facts are even mentioned in the opinions below, they

are set forth at length here.

1981 Conviction and Sentencing

Wilbert Evans was convicted of capital murder in

April 1981, for the January 1981 shooting of an Alex-

andria, Virginia Deputy Sheriff. At the sentencing phase

of Evans’ bifurcated trial, the Commonwealth’s evidence

consisted almost exclusively of three Exhibits (Com-

monwealth Exhibits 19-21) that purported to depict

Evans’ prior conviction record. The Exhibits showed

seven separate prior convictions, for offenses in North

Carolina, the state of Evans’ birth. They included a con-

viction for “[a]ssaulting a police officer with a knife

while the officer was in the performance of his duties”

(App. 87a)—an offense strikingly similar to the one for

which Evans had just been convicted.

Evans’ court-appointed counsel, Long and Brown,

raised several technical objections to the Exhibits, but did

not attack their underlying validity. Out of the presence

of the jury, the court reviewed each of the Exhibits,

page-by-page, asking Commonwealth prosecutor John

Kloch whether each of the offenses shown was in fact a

conviction, and whether the convictions were for felonies

or misdemeanors. (App. 3la-40a). The prosecutor said

1The shooting occurred as Evans was being returned to jail

after a court appearance and as he struggled with the deputy in

an attempt to escape. Evans was captured less than one hour after

the shooting. From the outset Evans admitted responsibility for

the shooting. However, Evans has always contended, and still

contends, that he never intended to kill the deputy, but that the gun

fired accidentally as he and the deputy struggled to control it.

4

nothing to indicate that there were any flaws in the Ex-

hibits, which were then admitted into evidence. (App.

31a-40a). ,

In closing argument, prosecutor Kloch repeatedly re-

ferred to Evans’ prior conviction records as shown in the

Exhibits, and twice referred to the offense of assaulting

a police officer with a knife. (App. 41a). On April 17,

1981, the jury recommended the death penalty on the

basis of the statutory aggravating factor of “future

dangerousness,” ? and was discharged.

Sentencing and Appeal

On June 1, 1981, the trial court held a hearing for the

imposition of sentence. At the outset the court reviewed

and received into evidence a “post-sentence report” dated

May 12, 1981, prepared by the Commonwealth’s Probation

Department. (App. 42a-45a). In a section listing Evans’

prior conviction record, the report showed that the most

serious conviction depicted in Commonwealth Exhibit 21

—“Assault on Officer/Affray with a Deadly Weapon”’—

was not a valid conviction, but had been nolle prossed.

(App. 43a). Defense counsel told the court that they had

read the report (App. 47a); but they raised no question

about the contradiction between the report’s account of

Evans’ prior record and the Commonwealth Exhibits that

had been admitted into evidence at the April trial. After

expressly including the report in the trial record (App.

48a-49a), the trial judge sentenced Evans to death.

(App. 49a).

Long and Brown continued to represent Evans through-

out his direct appeal, from June 1981 through March

1982. During that period counsel raised no objection to

any of the seven prior convictions depicted in Common-

*The jury found that there was a “probability that [Evans]

would commit criminal acts of violence that would constitute a

continuing serious threat to society... .”’ Va. Code § 19.2-264.2(1)

(1983).

5

wealth Exhibits 19-21—even though the Commonwealth’s

Brief to the Virginia Supreme Court explicitly recited

each of those convictions (App. 50a-53a), and even though

the Virginia Supreme Court explicitly discussed their

significance in a published opinion affirming Evans’ con-

viction and death sentence. Evans v. Commonwealth, 222

Va. 766, 284 S.E.2d 816, 820, 823 (Dec. 4, 1981), cert.

denied, 455 U.S. 1088 (1982) (“Evans I’). Likewise,

counsel raised no challenge when the Commonwealth, in

opposing Evans’ certiorari petition, filed a brief which

explicitly recited the seven prior convictions. (App. 54a-

57a). This Court denied certiorari on March 22, 1982.

The Commonwealth’s Confession of Error

Days before his scheduled execution, Evans obtained

new counsel (“habeas counsel”), who discovered almost

immediately that Evans’ death sentence rested on false

and unconstitutional evidence. Represented by his new

counsel, Evans filed in April 1982 a petition for a writ

of habeas corpus in the Circuit Court of Alexandria,

Virginia. From April 1982, through January 1983, Evans

filed four separate pleadings * in that court that attacked

explicitly and in exacting detail the validity of the seven

prior “conviction” records presented at Evans’ April 1981

sentencing. Specifically, Evans asserted that there was

no valid conviction for assaulting a police officer; that

three of the supposed convictions were duplicative of each

other; and that the others were inadmissible, because

they had been obtained while Evans was without benefit

of counsel. (App. 58a-74a). For a full year the Com-

monwealth resisted these petitions, filing pleadings in the

state habeas court on July 23, 1982, and March 38, 1983,

that denied each of Evans’ factual allegations. (App.

3 These included Evans’ Petition for Habeas Corpus (filed April

9, 1982) (App. 58a-61a), Amended Petition for Habeas Corpus

(May 5, 1982) (App. 62a-65a), Bill of Particulars (July 6, 1982)

(App. 67a-70a), and Second Amended Petition (December 22, 1982)

(App. 72a-74a).

6

83a-86a). The Commonwealth’s denials were signed by

Assistant Attorney General Jerry P. Slenaker.

As discussed below, these denials had a devastating

impact on Evans’ case because, at the time they were

made, Virginia law prohibited capital resentencing. As

the court below correctly noted, “[p]rior to [March 28,

1983], if the Commonwealth failed to secure a valid death

sentence due to errors in the sentencing process it was

foreclosed from seeking capital resentencing and the de-

fendant received an automatic sentence of life imprison-

ment.” (App. 5a). That point was settled at least as

early as October 1981, when the Virginia Supreme Court

authoritatively construed the state’s capital sentencing

statute in Patterson v. Commonwealth, 222 Va. 653, 283

S.E.2d 212 (Oct. 16, 1981)—a decision issued by the same

court that decided Evans’ direct appeal six weeks later.‘

During the entire year that Evans’ state habeas peti-

tion was pending, representatives of the Virginia Attor-

ney General, including Assistant Attorney General Slo-

naker, lobbied the Virginia legislature to overrule

Patterson and allow capital resentencing. On March 28,

1983, Virginia adopted the amendment proposed by the

Attorney General, which, effective immediately, permitted

capital resentencing. On that same day Slonaker in-

formed Evans’ counsel that the Commonwealth intended

to confess error in the Evans case. The Commonwealth’s

written confession of error, dated April 12, 1983, ad-

*The Patterson decision was based on Virginia’s then-existing

capital sentencing statute, under which only the same jury that

found a capital defendant guilty could fix his punishment. Because

the jury in Patterson had been tainted by constitutional error, it

could not be reconvened to resentence the defendant. And because

Virginia had no statute authorizing resentencing before a dif-

ferent jury, the Virginia Supreme Court concluded that Patter-

son’s death sentence had to be reduced automatically to life im-

prisonment. 283 S.E.2d at 216. See also Evans v. Commonwealth,

228 Va. 468, 323 S.E.2d 114, 117 (1984), cert. denied, 471 U.S.

1025 (1985) (“Evans II’’).

7

mitted to each of the errors that Evans had begun alleg-

ing a year earlier: that three of the seven convictions

were duplicative; that there was no valid conviction for

assaulting a police officer; and that the other convictions

were uncounselled. The written confession asserted, how-

ever, that these errors were made “unbeknownst to the

prosecution.” (App. 88a). Subsequent events proved

that assertion false.

By order dated May 2, 1983, the court vacated Evans’

death sentence. Thereafter, the Commonwealth sought

resentencing under Virginia’s newly amended capital sen-

tencing statute. When Evans objected, the state trial

court held an evidentiary hearing, in September 1983, to

determine whether resentencing was permissible.

At the hearing, two Commonwealth prosecutors ad-

mitted under oath to a series of actions that for two

years effectively deceived four courts (including this

Court) about the true facts surrounding Evans’ first

death sentence. Far from claiming ignorance of the

errors in the prior conviction records (as the Com-

monwealth’s confession of error had suggested), the trial

prosecutor (Kloch) admitted that he had known as early

as February 1981—two months before the trial—that

three of the seven convictions were duplicative, and that

there was no valid “conviction” for assault on a police

officer. (App. 92a-95a). Kloch’s sworn admissions were

corroborated by a written report, prepared by Kloch’s

assistant and given to Kloch in February 1981, which

plainly identified the errors in Evans’ supposed conviction

records. (App. 29a-30a). In defending his conduct at

trial, Kloch claimed that in an off-the-record discussion—

held after the bench conference with the judge and after

the tainted evidence had gone to the jury, but before final

arguments—Kloch told defense counsel about the errors,

but that counsel had failed to object.° Kloch had no ex-

5 (App. 95a-96a, 100a-108a). Kloch claimed that he believed

defense counsel had some “tactical” reason for failing to object.

Even if this testimony were plausible, it is irrelevant. By Kloch’s

8

planation, however, for his decision to proffer the false

conviction records in the first place, or for his failure to

inform either the trial court or jury about the known

errors. (App. 96a, 100a).

Although Kloch’s office did not represent the Common-

wealth in the direct appeal, Kloch testified that he had

read an “advance sheet” copy of the Virginia Supreme

Court’s December 1981 opinion—which explicitly recited

and relied on the seven supposed convictions, with par-

ticular emphasis on the one concerning a police officer:

See Evans I, 284 §.E.2d at 820, 823. By his own admis-

sion, Kloch did nothing to correct the court’s unwitting

reliance on that false evidence. (App. 97a-98a).

Slonaker was the other key witness at the September

1983 hearing. Although he denied making any conscious

effort to delay the confession of error to achieve a tac-

tical advantage, he made several crucial admissions that

are nowhere discussed in the opinion below. First, Slo-

naker admitted that on or before January 1983, he and

Kloch had met to discuss Evans’ case. At that meeting,

Kloch told Slonaker that Evans’ death sentence had been

obtained by the knowing use of false evidence.*®

Second, Slonaker acknowledged that in January 1983—

two months before the law was amended, and three

months before the confession of error—he had received

letters directly from the clerk of the court in North

Carolina confirming that the “conviction” records prof-

fered by the Commonwealth at the 1981 trial were false

and misleading. (App. 77a-82a, 117a). It is undisputed

own account, his supposed disclosure to defense counsel occurred

after the tainted Exhibits had gone to the jury and thus, after

the damage had been done. (App. 100a-103a). In any event, both

of Evans’ defense counsel denied under oath that Kloch had ever

made such a disclosure (App. 103a-110a), and no court has ever

resolved that disputed issue of fact. See Evans I], 323 S.E.2d at

120.

® Both Slonaker and Kloch testified about this meeting. (App.

115a-117a (Slonaker), 98a-99a (Kloch) ).

9

that six weeks after receiving these letters, and after

his face-to-face meeting with Kloch, Slonaker filed an

Amended Answer in the state habeas court again denying

the allegations in Evans’ state habeas petitions—allega-

tions which by that point Slonaker knew were true.

(App. 83a-86a).

Finally, Slonaker admitted that throughout this same

period—while Evans was pressing his appeal and state

habeas petition, and Slonaker was receiving reports that

Evans’ allegations were accurate—Slonaker had been

actively involved in lobbying the Virginia legislature to

adopt emergency legislation permitting capital resentenc-

ing. By his own admission, Slonaker had written a

memorandum in September 1982 urging adoption of the

measure (App. 113a); helped draft and revise the actual

language of the proposed amendment (App. 113a); and

appeared twice before legislative committees in support

of it, in January and February 19838. (App. 113a-114a).

At the close of the September 1983 hearing, Judge

Wright ruled from the bench, permitting resentencing

under the amended statute. (App. 117a). That ruling

was followed by a terse order, which the court below

characterized as “findings of fact.” (App. 118a-120a).

1984 Resentencing

A resentencing hearing was held on January 31-Febru-

ary 3, 1984. During the course of its deliberations, the

resentencing jury asked the court whether “a split deci-

sion automatically become[s] life.” (App. 122a). As de-

scribed below, over defense counsel’s objection, the court

responded in a way that deliberately left the question

unanswered. See pp. 26-27, infra. The jury then recom-

mended the death sentence, based on the statutory ag-

gravating factor of “future dangerousness.”* On March

7 Four months later Evans was involved in an event that is flatly

inconsistent with any finding that he poses a “future danger’ to

society or deserves the death penalty. In May 1984, six death row

inmates escaped from Mecklenburg Correctional Center (where

10

7, 1984, the court imposed sentence of death. The Su-

preme Court of Virginia affirmed, and this Court denied

certiorari. Evans 11.8

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. THIS COURT SHOULD GRANT CERTIORARI TO

CLARIFY THE SCOPE OF DOBBERT v. FLORIDA,

WHICH THE FOURTH CIRCUIT MISCONSTRUED

TO REACH AN UNPRECEDENTED RESULT.

The circuit court’s entire justification for rejecting

Evans’ ex post facto and equal protection claims was a

mistaken construction of this Court’s decision in Dobbert

v. Florida, 432 U.S. 282 (1977). Although Dobbert arose

out of peculiar factual circumstances that have seldom

if ever been repeated, the lower courts have struggled for

more than a decade to apply Dobbert’s principles to a wide

array of other circumstances. The result has been a

series of confusing and inconsistent decisions in both

federal and state courts.® No case more plainly illustrates

Evans was incarcerated), after holding fourteen prison guards

hostage. Despite extreme pressure to join the escape, or simply to

yield to events, Evans prevented violence and helped those who had

been taken hostage. Though unarmed, he placed himself between

the heavily armed escapees and the hostages, intervening on the

hostages’ behalf, urging the escapees to remain calm and non-

violent, and helping the hostages when he could. The fourteen

hostages credit Evans with saving their lives, and one female

hostage credits him with preventing her rape. (App. 124a-129a).

8 Thereafter, Evans exhausted the remaining claims in his state

habeas petition; the Virginia Supreme Court denied review of

those claims in a two-sentence order, Evans v. Bair, No. 860831

(Feb. 26, 1987), and this Court denied certiorari. 483 U.S. 1010

(1987).

®The decision below squarely conflicts with the result, if not

the reasoning, of another federal circuit on the same issue. See

Coleman v. McCormick, 874 F.2d 1280, 1286 & n.7 (9th Cir. 1989)

(en banc) (distinguishing Dobbert; due process violated by retro-

active application of new capital sentencing statute to defendant

whose sentence under earlier statute had been set aside as uncon-

stitutional). But cf. Coleman v. Saffle, 869 F.2d 1377, 1385-87

11

that confusion than this one, or more clearly demon-

strates the need for this Court to revisit and clarify the

law of ex post facto. Until this case, no federal court

had extended Dobbert to authorize the retroactive applica-

tion of a statute enacted years after the defendant’s

crime, sentencing, and direct appeal had become final, and

thereby retroactively deprive him of a complete statutory

defense to a capital sentencing. Under the banner of en-

couraging state legislatures to reform their criminal laws

(see App. 8a), the lower court made a wholesale revision

of the ex post facto and equal protection clauses, which

plainly misconstrues Dobbert and ignores other applicable

authority.

(10th Cir. 1989) (due process not violated by retroactive applica-

tion of new capital sentencing principles governing weighing of

aggravating and mitigating factors; due process analysis should be

identical to ex post facto analysis in Dobbert). The state courts

have cited Dobbert as both prohibiting retroactive application of new

sentencing statutes, and as authorizing it. Compare Thigpen v. Thig-

pen, 541 So. 2d 465, 467 (Ala. 1989) (resentencing under new capital

statute violates ex post facto; Dobbert distinguished), State v.

Rodgers, 242 S.E.2d 215, 217-18 (S.C. 1978) (distinguishing Dob-

bert; resentencing even under ameliorative statute barred, where

defendant had already been tried and convicted under earlier law),

and Meller v. State, 581 P.2d 3, 4 n.3 (Nev. 1978) (per curiam)

(same); with Klasing v. State, 771 S.W.2d 684, 686-87 (Tex. Ct.

App. 1989) (no ex pest facto violation from retroactive applica-

tion of new law permitting resentencing) and State v. Norton,

675 P.2d 577, 585-88 (Utah 1983), cert. denied, 466 U.S. 942

(1984) (same). Even within the same jurisdiction, there has been

repeated, sharp disagreement over the proper construction of Dob-

bert. Compare Dutton v. Dixon, 757 P.2d 376, 380 (Okla. Crim.

App. 1988) (distinguishing Dobberi; ex post facto clause prohibits

resentencing) with Cartwright v. State, 1989 Okla. Crim. App.

LEXIS 45 (July 31, 1989) (citing Dobbert as basis for overruling

Dutton v. Dizon). Compare State v. Creekpaum, 732 P.2d 557,

561-68 (Alaska App. 1987) (distinguishing Dobbert; ex post facto

clause violated by retroactive extension of statute of limitations

before prosecution had become time-barred) with State v. Creek-

paum, 753 P.2d 1139, 1141-42 (Alaska 1988) (taking contrary

view of Dobbert and reversing lower court).

12

A. Resentencing Evans to Death Under Virginia’s

Amended Capitai Statute Violated the Ex Post

Facto Clause.

As the court below explicitly conceded, “[p]rior to

th[e] amendment [of March 28, 1983], if the Common-

wealth failed to secure a valid death sentence due to

errors in the sentencing process it was foreclosed from

seeking capital resentencing and the defendant received

an automatic sentence of life imprisonment.” (App. 5a).

The only death sentence that the Commonwealth secured

against Evans prior to March 1983 was, by the Common-

wealth’s own admission, unconstitutional and could not

“be sustained.” (App. 87a). Thus, as the lower court’s

opinion explicitly recognizes, if Evans’ death sentence

had been vacated at any time prior to March 1983, he

would have been entitled to an automatic sentence of life

imprisonment, and could have successfully asserted an

absolute defense against any effort by the state to re-

sentence him to death. The issue presented here is

whether Virginia violated the ew post facto clause when it

retroactively applied its amended capital sentencing stat-

ute—enacted more than two years after the offense, and

a fuli year after Evans’ appeal was final—to deprive

Evans of the automatic sentence of life imprisonment

provided by the earlier law.

The lower court’s effort to squeeze this case into the

Dobbert mold ignores Dobbert’s facts, holding, and ex-

press language. The facts in Dobbert bear no resemblance

to the ones here. The defendant in Dobbert committed

his offense at a time when Florida had in place a capital

sentencing statute which was manifestly unconstitu-

tional, because it provided an automatic presumption in

favor of death unless a majority of the sentencing jury

recommended mercy. By the time of Dobbert’s trial,

Florida had replaced its unconstitutional sentencing stat-

ute with a new statute that provided the defendant with

a full panoply of procedural rights. Dobbert was tried

and sentenced to death under the new, ameliorative, con-

stitutional sentencing statute. His ex post facto chal-

13

lenge to that sentence stood both the law and common

sense on its head: though sentenced to death under the

constitutional law, he claimed that the result would have

been different had he been tried under its unconstitu-

tional and draconian predecesscr. In rejecting that claim,

the Court did no more than recognize that a defendant

has no constitutional right to be sentenced under an un-

constitutional statute. Moreover, since Dobbert had never

been tried under the old statute, his prediction about how

the jury might have voted if that law had been in place

was rank “speculation.” 432 U.S. at 294.

Evans’ case is manifestly distinguishable from Dobbert

in ways that the lower court did not address. Evans was

tried under a law that is conceded to be constitutional;

that was in place at every phase of his criminal pro-

ceeding, from indictment through direct appeal and be-

yond; and that plainly prohibited resentencing if the

Commonwealth committed error, as indeed it did. More-

over, Virginia’s new statute, unlike the one in Dobbert,

was anything but ameliorative, as the district court

recognized. (App. 20a (n.1)). Its sole purpose was to

provide the state additional, repetitive opportunities,

foreclosed under the earlier law, to secure death sen-

tences against capital defendants.

Ignoring these factua) distinctions, the lower court

claims that in this case, as in Dobbert, “ex post facto

concerns were satisfied because the applicable statute

when [the defendant] committed murder warned him of

the penalty ... prescribed for first-degree murder.” (App.

6a). Once that warning had been given, the court asserts,

the state had free rein to make any retroactive changes

it wished, as long as they did not increase the quantum

of punishment or change the proof necessary to convict.

(App. 6a-8a). Though supposedly based on Dobbert, these

conclusions go far beyond the narrow facts of that case

and virtually read the ex post facto clause out of existence

—particularly for capital crimes where, by definition, the

state can do nothing to increase the quantum of punish-

ment.

14

The lower court’s construction of Dobbert also un-

necessarily pits that case against numerous decisions of

this and other courts which have struck down as ex post

facto laws that neither increased the quantum of punish-

ment associated with the offense, nor altered any of the

statutory elements of proof."° These include laws retro-

actively reducing the size of the petit jury in criminal

cases;'' permitting criminal proceedings to commence

by information, rather than indictment; * and altering

the standard for the admission of impeachment evidence

in criminal trials."* Moreover, in a particularly relevant

line of cases dealing with extensions of statutes of limita-

tion for criminal offenses, courts have uniformly recog-

10 The circuit court’s construction of Dobbert is plainly at odds

with this Court’s decision in Kring v. Missouri, 107 U.S. 221

(1883). The circuit court is inexplicably mistaken in suggesting

that Kring’s case can be distinguished from Evans’ because Kring

was “on notice” at the time of the offense that “he [could] never

be subjected to a death sentence... .” (App. 7a). To the contrary,

Kring had been charged from the outset with capital murder, and

indeed, had earlier been sentenced to hang. 107 U.S. at 221-22,

236. When that sentence was set aside, Kring pled guilty to a

lesser offense; and when the plea was set aside, the State sought

to amend its law to strip Kring of his absolute defense to another

capital sentencing. Jd. at 229, 234. This Court held that Missouri's

effort retroactively to abrogate Kring’s defense violated the ex

post facto clause, just as it does here.

Unlike the circuit court, the district court correctly recognized

that respondent’s construction of Dobbert cannot be reconciled

with Kring. The district court’s solution, however, was to declare

that Kring had been “modified or overruled” by Dobbert. (App.

22a (n.4)). That is plainly wrong: this Court cited Kring with

approval in a case decided four years after Dobbert. See Weaver v.

Graham, 450 U.S. 24, 29 n.12 (1981).

11 Thompson v. Utah, 170 U.S. 348, 355 (1898). See United

States v. Juvenile Male, 819 F.2d 468, 471 (4th Cir. 1987) (citing

Thompson with approval).

12 Mafnas v. Government of Guam, 228 F.2d 283, 285-86 (9th

Cir. 1955).

13 United States v. Henson, 486 F.2d 1292, 1308 (D.C. Cir.

1973) (en banc).

15

nized that once a statutory period has lapsed, the state

may not prosecute a potential defendant for the offense

under a new, longer statutory period. In those cases,

like this one, the state has sought not to change the ele-

ments of the crime or increase the quantum of punish-

ment associated with it, but rather to enlarge the class

of potential defendants to include those for whom prose-

cution would otherwise be time-barred. The cases stand

for the precise proposition at issue here: a state violates

the federal ex post facto clause when it retroactively seeks

to strip from the defendant a complete statutory defense

to the crime (or in this case, the resentencing). The

lower court’s unprecedented construction of the ex post

facto clause casts doubt on the continued validity of these

cases and adds significantly to the confusion in this al-

ready difficult area of the law. This Court should grant

certiorari to clarify and resolve the uncertainty created

by the lower court’s opinion.

B. Resentencing Fvans to Death Under Virginia’s

Amended Capital Statute Violated the Equal Pro-

tection Clause.

Because “death is different,” this Court has long in-

sisted that the procedures used to impose it produce re-

liable results, and that the state courts “ensure that

4 That principle was articulated by Judge Learned Hand in

Falter v. United States, 23 F.2d 420, 425-26 (2d Cir.), cert. denied,

277 U.S. 590 (1928), in which the court permitted prosecution under

the amended statute because it had been adopted before the initial

statutory period had expired. Accord United States ex rel. Mas-

sarella v. Elrod, 682 F.2d 688, 689 (7th Cir. 1982), cert. denied,

460 U.S. 1037 (1983); Clements v. United States, 266 F.2d 397,

399 & n.4 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 359 U.S. 985 (1959); United

States v. Fraidin, 68 F. Supp. 271, 279 (D. Md. 1945). However.

once a defense to prosecution exists because the statutory period

has lapsed, the state may not prosecute the potential defendant

for the offense under a new, longer statutory period. See, e.g.,

Sobiek v. Superior Court, 28 Cal. App. 3d 846, 106 Cal. Rptr. 516,

518 (1972); State v. hdwards, 701 P.2d 508 (Wash. 1985) (en

banc). Although those cases were extensively discussed in the

briefs below, the circuit court did not mention them.

16

similar results are reached in similar cases.” Precisely

the opposite happened here: two strikingly similar cases

produced dramatically different results. Although Pat-

terson and Evans both received flawed death sentences

under the same law in 1981, and their cases moved vir-

tually in tandem through the Virginia courts, the results

could not have been more different: Patterson was sen-

tenced to an automatic term of life, while Evans was

forced to face the renewed prospect of death. See note 4,

supra. The sole reason for this disparate result was one

illegitimate circumstance: each of the four courts (in-

cluding this Court) that reviewed Evans’ case in the two

years after his trial was materially misled by the Com-

monwealth’s failure to disciose that Evans’ death sentence

rested on false and uncons-itutional evidence. Although

the prosecution knew of ihe false evidence from the

moment it was offered, and Evans squarely challenged

that evidence in the state habeas proceeding a full year

before Virginia’s capital sentencing amendment was

adopted, the courts were denied the truth about Evans’

sentence until the new amendment was in place. No ra-

tional or legitimate purpose is served by a legislative

classification that distinguishes two otherwise identical

cases solely on that basis.

The lower court’s cryptic rejection of Evans’ equal

protection claim is premised, once again, on a misreading

of Dobbert. Contrary to the Fourth Circuit’s claim (App.

9a), the line-drawing authorized by Dobbert provides no

justification for what occurred here. In Dobbert, the Court

upheld a death sentence obtained under a constitutional

penalty statute enacted after commission of the crime

but before trial. Although permitting the line to be

drawn at that point because “the new statute... was in

effect at the time of {Dobbert’s] trial’ and _ sentencing,

432 U.S. at 301, the Court stated: “Florida obviously

had to draw the line at some point between those whose

cases had progressed sufficiently far in the legal process

15 Proffitt v. Florida, 428 U.S. 242, 258 (1976) (citation omitted)

17

as to be governed solely by the old statute . . . and those

whose cases involved acts which could properly subject

them to punishment under the new statute.” Jd.

Here, by contrast, Virginia did not apply the law in

effect at the time of Evans’ trial and sentence, or even

in effect at the time of Evans’ direct appeal and state

habeas petition. Rather, it applied a law passed two

years after Evans’ trial, and more than a year after his

death sentence had become final. By that time, Evans’

case had not only “progressed sufficiently far in the legal

process as to be governed solely by the old statute,” id., it

could not possibly have progressed any farther. Pushing

Dobbert’s line to that point makes any line-drawing irra-

tional and meaningless; a line drawn there includes every-

thing and excludes nothing.

The lower court’s “line-drawing” ignored two other

crucial distinctions between this case and Dobbert. First,

not onlv had Dobbert never been sentenced under the old

law, but he could not have been sentenced under it, be-

‘ause it was unconstitutional. By contrast, Virginia’s

earlier law was plainly constitutional and had actually

been applied to Evans’ case as it progressed through

every stage of the judicial system, from trial, through

direct appeal, through certiorari, and through the state

habeas system.

Finally, although the timing of events in Dobbert’s case

was completely fortuitous, here it was not. Whatever

the state’s motives in waiting twenty-three months before

confessing error, two things are certain: the state knew

that its own sentencing evidence was false from the mo-

ment that evidence was offered; and the state exercised

exclusive control over when and how those errors would

be disclosed. Under those circumstances, it is unconscion-

able to conclude that Patterson and Evans should be

treated differently under the equal protection clause.'*

16 The highest courts of at least two other states have held that

the equal protection clause prohibits the sort of “line-drawine” that

occurred here. See Lee v. State, 340 So. 2d 474 (Fla. 1976 per

|

18

II. THE LOWER COURT’S REJECTION OF EVANS’

DUE PROCESS €LAIM RESTS ON A FUNDA-

MENTAL MISCONCEPTION, WHICH THIS COURT

SHOULD CORRECT, ABOUT THE LEVEL OF

SCRUTINY REQUIRED IN FEDERAL HABEAS

CORPUS REVIEW.

As this Court has observed, for more than a century

federal habeas corpus review “has been a source of fric-

tion between state and federal courts... .”'’ In recent

years, the Court has repeatedly revisited the thorny issues

of federalism raised by the federal habeas statute, which

requires the courts of one sovereign to review the deci-

sions of another. The Court has on occasion found it

necessary to admonish the lower federal courts against

substituting their own view of the merits for that of the

state judge whe heard the evidence and saw the wit-

nesses firsthand."*

That salutary principle has been utterly misunderstood

and misapplied in this case. Here, the lower federal

courts did more than defer to the state factfinder: they

abdicated their statutory responsibility to provide any

meaningful review of the state court’s decision. This

case vividly illustrates that the lower courts still do not

know how to strike the appropriate balance between

deference to state factfinding and the federal mandate to

curiam) (no legitimate state objective advanced by sentencing to

death one defendant who exercised his appellate rights while per-

mitting all other similarly situated defendants to live). Common-

wealth v. Story, 440 A.2d 488, 491-92 (Pa. 1981) (same). See also

Commonwealth v. Crenshaw, 470 A.2d 451, 454-55 (Pa. 1983)

(death sentence vacated where, but for extraordinary delay of

almost three years in bringing defendant to trial, defendant would

have been tried under old law and received life sentence). Those

decisions were discussed extensively in the briefs below, but are

unmentioned in the lower court’s opinion.

17 Sumner v. Mata, 449 U.S. 539, 550 (1981) (“Sumner I’’).

18 See, e.g., Marshall v. Lonberger, 459 U.S. 422, 432-34 (1983

Sumner v. Mata, 455 U.S. 591, 596-98 (1982) (per curiam) (“Sum-

ner II’); Sumner I, 449 U.S. at 446-51.

19

review. This Court should grant certiorari both to pro-

vide further guidance on that important issue and to

correct a result that is demonstrably unjust.

The lower court is plainly and completely wrong in

asserting—without citing a shred of the record evidence—

that “the state habeas courts found the Commonwealth

acted in good faith.” (App. 12a (n.1); see also App.

10a). Equally groundless, and even more inexplicable,

is the suggestion that there are findings of fact concern-

ing the “ ‘credibility of witnesses whose demeanor has

been observed by the state trial court... .’” ' In truth,

the state habeas judge who heard two Commonwealth

prosecutors admit under oath to the knowing use of false

evidence in a capital case, and other actions that effec-

tively concealed that wrongdoing for two years, made no

findings of fact at all. Rather, his entire explanation for

rejecting Evans’ due process claim is confined to two sen-

tences of an order drafted by the Commonwealth:

'Evans] failed to prove by a preponderance of the

evidence that the prosecution engaged in such mis-

conduct or tactics of a nature which should preclude

the Commonwealth from again seeking the death

penalty in this case;

and....

(T]he evidence fails to prove by a preponderance of

the evidence that the Commonwealth purposefully

and wrongfully delayed resolution of [Evans’] peti-

tion for a writ of habeas corpus in order to achieve

a tactical advantage as alleged by the defendant....

(App. 118a-119a) .”

19 (App. lla) (quoting Marshall v. Lonberger, 459 U.S. at 434).

2° That order was based on the court’s oral ruling from the

bench, made immediately at the close of the evidence and without

benefit of post-trial briefs. (App. 117a).

To be sure, the Virginia Supreme Court provided some of the

missing analysis in Evans II. But that opinion was based on a

cold review of the written record and is no substitute for the fact-

finding that should have been made by the judge who heard the

live testimony of the witnesses. But cf. Sumner I, 449 U.S. at 541-

eran etenreteninii eee

20

However “elusive” the distinction may sometimes be

between findings of fact and legal conclusions,”' the state

court order at issue here is at the far end of the spec-

trum. It bears no resemblance to the findings of “ ‘basic,

primary, or historical facts’” to which the presumption

of correctness was intended to apply.’ It tells nothing

whatsoever about the court’s view of what happened,

when, or under what circumstances; which witnesses were

credible, and which were not; what other evidence was

probative, and what was not; and what other factors or

events were considered and why. Indeed, the order sheds

no light even on the /egal standards that the court applied

in reaching the result. On its face the order is nothing

more than a cryptic summary ruling, which is certainly

not a finding of fact, and may not even be a conclusion

of law. The lower court’s deference to this supposed “‘find-

ing’ fundamentally misconceives the mandate of federal

courts in habeas review.”

12, 546-47 (presumption cf correctness applies to state appellate

court findings where issue was never presented to trial judge and

thus, the only state findings were necessarily made by appellate

court). In any event, far from finding good faith, the Virginia

Supreme Court castigated the prosecutor for the “indifferent,

careless manner’ in which he had handled the evidence, and par-

ticularly, for proffering evidence that he knew was false. Evans II,

323 So. 2d at 120.

21 See Miller v. Fenton, 474 U.S. 104, 113 (1985).

22 Cuyler v. Sullivan, 446 U.S. 335, 341-42 (1980) (citations

omitted). See also Sumner II, 455 U.S. at 597.

23 Citing Marshall v. Lonberger, 459 U.S. at 433-34, the Com-

monwealth argued below that the state habeas judge’s order re-

jecting Evans’ due process claim was an “implicit” finding that the

Commonwealth had acted in good faith. There is nothing in the

opinion below to suggest that the circuit court accepted that argu-

ment, which in any event, is mistaken. In Marshall the issue re-

solved by the state trial court was a simple, narrow question of

fact that turned entirely on whether the court believed, or dis-

believed, the defendant’s story; thus, the trial court’s rejection

of the defendant’s claim necessarily implied a finding against the

defendant’s credibility. Here the factual record is complex, and

:

.

'

}

:

21

Even if this record did include some “findings of fact,”

the lower court completely failed to exercise its statutory

responsibility to determine whether they were “fairly sup-

port[ed]” by the record “considered as a whole.” 28 U.S.C.

§ 2254(d) (1982). The circuit court’s examination of the

record begins and ends with the prosecutors’ self-serving

declarations that they acted in good faith. Whether sin-

cere or not, those statements are irrelevant to the issues

presented.** What the circuit court failed to consider, or

even mention, is the conduct that the prosecutors ad-

mitted occurred. Thus, prosecutor Kloch acknowledged

that he knew the conviction records were false two

months before trial; that he knowingly proffered them

into evidence without mentioning their flaws to judge or

jury; and that when he learned in December 1981 that

the Virginia Supreme Court had explicitly relied on the

false evidence, he did nothing to correct the court’s un-

witting error. (App. 92a-100a).

Likewise, the undisputed record evidence is that by

January 1983—two months before the new sentencing

law came into effect—Assistant Attorney General Slon-

aker had proof positive that Evans’ claims of error in

the state habeas petitions were accurate. Slonaker and

Kloch both testified without contradiction that by Janu-

ary 1983 Kloch had told Slonaker in a face-to-face meet-

ing that he knew prior to the trial that several of the

seven convictions were duplicative, and that another was

non-existent.** Moreover, the undisputed evidence estab-

lished that by January 24, 1983, Slonaker had received

written confirmation directly from the clerk of the court

the state trial judge gave no clue about his reasons for rejecting

Evans’ claims.

24 Cf. Arizona v. Youngblood, 109 S. Ct. 333, 337 (1988) (“[Tlhe

good or bad faith of the State [is] irrelevant when the State fails

to disclose to the defendant material exculpatory evidence.”).

25 See note 6, supra. At that meeting the two men even dis-

cussed whether it would be “easier” to seek resentencing of Evans

if the capital sentencing amendment then pending in the Virginia

legislature were adopted. (App. 99a).

22

in North Carolina that each of Evans’ assertions was ac-

curate. (App. 77a-82a). Whatever Slonaker’s subjective

estimate of his own good intentions, one thing is certain:

he was obligated promptly to disclose the known errors

and to correct the state’s July 1982 Answer, which was

materially inaccurate. What Slonaker did instead was to

perpetuate the wrongdoing by filing, two months later

(on March 8, 1983), an Amended Answer that continued

to deny the factual allegations in Evans’ petition. (App.

S3a-86a).

Finally, the lower court erred in concluding that the

“traditional remedy” of capital resentencing removed the

prejudice Evans had suffered from the Commonwealth’s

two-year delay in confessing error. The plain fact is that

if the Commonwealth had disclosed the known errors and

misconduct at any time prior to March 1983, as it was

obligated to do, Evans would not now be facing death.

Thus, in the circumstances of this case, resentencing

could not remove the prejudice, because resentencing

itself was the prejudice. But for the Commonwealth’s

two-year delay in disclosing the truth, there would have

been no resentencing, and hence, no death sentence. Under

these circumstances, Evans was entitled to a more “drastic

remedy” than resentencing.** His sentence should be com-

muted to life imprisonment, as the earlier law required.

Ill. THE DECISION BELOW EVISCERATES THE IM-

PORTANT CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHT TO EFFEC-

TIVE ASSISTANCE OF COUNSEL ON APPEAL.

In Evitts v. Lucey, 469 U.S. 387, 389 (1985), this

Court held that “the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment guarantees the criminal defendant effective

assistance of counsel on [his] appeal.” Since Evitts the

26 See United States v. Morrison, 449 U.S. 361, 365-66 & n.2

(1981) (“drastic remedy” appropriate where there is “continuing

prejudice which . . . could not be remedied by a new trial,” or

where there has been a “pattern of recurring violations” or “law-

lessness” by the state).

23

Court has made plain that claims of ineffective assistance

of counsel on appeal should be judged by the criteria set

forth in Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S. €68 (1984),

and has recognized that this right “may in a particular

case, be violated by even an isolated error... if that

error is sufficiently egregious and prejudicial.” 2" The

circuit court recognized these standards in principle, but

not in practice. (See App. 14a-15a). This Court should

grant certiorari to provide needed guidance concerning

the proper application of this important constitutional

right.

The circuit court’s recitation of the record evidence

concerning Evans’ appeal ignores the single most striking

fact, which is uncontested: although defense counsel rep-

resented Evans continuously from the moment of his

arrest (January 1981) through the denial of certiorari

on his direct appeal (March 1982), counsel somehow

failed to do the cardinal task of any lawyer representing

the defendant in a capital sentencing—they failed ac-

curately to determine their client’s prior conviction record.

That failure is particularly egregious in light of the Vir-

ginia capital sentencing statute’s prominent emphasis on

the prior conviction record of the accused,?* counsel’s

lengthy representation of Evans, the ease with which the

prosecution accurately determined the same information,”

27 See Smith v. Murray, 477 U.S. 527, 535-36 (1986) (citations

omitted).

*8 Virginia’s sentencing statute explicitly identifies “the past

criminal record of convictions of the defendant” as the principal

factor to be considered by the capital sentencing jury. Va. Code

§ 19.2-264.2(1) (1983).

29 It is undisputed that two months before trial, a junior lawyer

from the prosecutor’s office correctly discovered Evans’ true record

after a brief trip to North Carolina. (See App. 29a-30a). Evans’

habeas counsel, Mr. Shapiro, discovered the same information al-

most immediately after beginning the representation and without

leaving Virginia.

24

and Evans’ own efforts to alert counsel to the errors in

the Commonwealth’s Exhibits.*°

The circuit court’s rejection of Evans’ claim rests on

three crucial errors. First, the court errs in suggesting

that because counsel traveled to North Carolina to in-

vestigate Evans’ prior conviction record, “counsel’s per-

formance was reasonable.” (App. 14a). Under Strick-

land counsel must do more than perform; they must per-

form effectively. In a capital case, counsel’s utter failure

to ascertain their client’s conviction record cannot pos-

sibly be deemed “effective” assistance.

Second, the lower court inexplicably errs in asserting

that “[t]he errors in the certified conviction records in-

troduced at trial could only be shown by going outside

the trial record.” (App. 15a). That conclusion is flatly

at odds with the court’s own statements, in an earlier

portion of the opinion, that defense counsel “had been

given pretrial access to the discovery materials which

showed the conviction records were questionable,” and

that “during the sentencing proceeding, the prosecutor

advised defense counsel of the discrepancies regarding

the convictions... .” (App. 10a-lla).*

More importantly, the Commonwealth’s post-sentence

report, dated May 12, 1981, unmistakably stated that

the most serious of the supposed “convictions” presented

at trial—‘‘Assault on Officer/Affray with a Deadly

Weapon”—had been nolle prossed. (App. 48a). Without

30 The record includes a handwritten letter from Evans to his

lawyer, dated March 2, 1982, stating in part: “I never assaulted

a police officer. If you still think I did? please send me his name.”

[sic]

81 If the prosecutor’s highly improbable testimony on this matter

(which defense counsel contradicted under oath) is to be credited

as a basis for rejecting Evans’ due process claim (see App. 10a-

lla), it also establishes that defense counsel utterly failed to pro-

tect Evans’ interest by failing to challenge the errors on appeal.

25

question that report was part of the trial record.” If

Evans’ counsel had read the report, as counsel claimed

to have done (see App. 47a), he should have known—

without investigating any matters “outside the record”—

that Evans’ death sentence was invalid.*

Moreover, contrary to the lower court’s assertion

(App. 15a), Evans suffered drastic prejudice from his

counsel’s errors. The plain fact is that if Evans’ counsel

had discovered the essential facts about their client’s prior

record at any time during the year-long appeal, Evans’

sentence would have been voided, the Commonwealth

would have been “foreclosed from seeking capital resen-

tencing,” and Evans would have “received an automatic

sentence of life imprisonment.” (See App. 5a).

IV. THIS COURT SHOULD GRANT CERTIORARI TO

RESOLVE THE CONFLICT BETWEEN STATE

AND FEDERAL COURTS OVER WHETHER DUE

PROCESS REQUIRES A CAPITAL SENTENCING

JURY TO BE TOLD, IN RESPONSE TO THEIR

SPECIFIC QUESTION, THAT A SPLIT DECISION

WILL AUTOMATICALLY RESULT IN A _ SEN-

TENCE OF LIFE IMPRISONMENT.

Even if Virginia’s amended sentencing statute could

be applied to Evans, his 1984 resentencing proceeding

was fatally flawed by the trial court’s erroneous in-

struction, in response to a specific jury question, about

the effect of a split decision. The court’s instruction

substantially increased the likelihood of a death sen-

32 See App. 49a (“Tie report of the probation officer is hereby

filed as part of the record of this case.’’).

33 At the September 21, 1983 hearing, counsel acknowledged that

the portion of the post-sentence report indicating that the charge

of assaulting a police officer had been nollied “should have” raised,

but did not “raise a red flag to me.” He stated: “I should have

been more diligent. I should have read everything I got in the dis-

covery, but I didn’t, plain and simple.” (App. 109a).

26

tence because it erroneously suggested that each juror

had far less power to influence the outcome than

was actually the case. The Fourth Circuit’s opinion re-

jecting Evans’ challenge to the jury instruction is a novel

ruling that squarely conflicts with the decisions of the

highest courts of two other states.** This Court should

grant certiorari to resolve the conflict on this crucial

issue.

Though scarcely mentioned in the opinion below, the

relevant facts are neither complex nor contested. In the

middle of its deliberations in the 1984 resentencing pro-

ceeding, the jury asked:

The decision must be unanimous for death, must the

decision also be unanimous for life, or does a split

decision automatically become life?

(App. 122a) (emphasis added). Defense counsel then

requested a response, based on the language of Virginia

Code § 19.2-264.4(E), which would inform the jury that

“if they cannot be unanimous on death, then it is life.”

(App. 122a). The court rejected that request, explain-

ing:

I will tell you what the flaw in that is, Mr. Howard

[defense counsel], that encourages a single person

34 See State v. Loyd, 459 So. 2d 498, 502-03 (La. 1984); id. at

509 (separate opinions of Dennis, J., and Lemmon, J., concurring) ;

State v. Williams, 392 So. 2d 619 (La. 1980). See also State v.

Ramseur, 524 A.2d 188, 282-86 (N.J. 1987) (in a capital case, due

process requires judge to inform jury about the effect of a split

decision even if jury has not asked). The Fourth Circuit’s deci-

sion also conflicts with the reasoning, if not express hoiding, of a

decision of a panel of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Eighth Circuit in a non-capital case. See United States v. Arpan,

861 F.2d 1073 (8th Cir. 1988), vacated for rehearing en banc, 867

F.2d 1188 (8th Cir. 1989). Although the panel decision in Arpan

is now under review, its existence underscores that the lower courts

are divided on how to answer jury questions concerning the effect

of a split decision.

27

to hold out, and tells a single person that they have

the ability to dictate the outcome.

(App. 122a) (emphasis added).

The trial judge then answered the jury’s question as

follows: “You are instructed that your verdict must be

unanimous as to either life imprisonment or death.”

(App. 123a). Although that response was technically

accurate—a “verdict” by definition is a unanimous deci-

sion—it was both unresponsive and misleading. The jury

had asked what would happen if it failed to reach unani-

mous agreement. The answer to that question could not

be clearer: under Virginia law a split decision by a

capital sentencing jury doe “automatically become

life.” ** The trial court’s response to the jury’s specific

request for guidance not only withheld important infor-

mation about the true state of Virginia law, but also

could not have failed to leave the misleading and inac-

curate impression that Evans would nut receive a life

sentence unless the jury’s verdict was unanimous. This

violated due process.

The circuit court’s rejection of Evans’ claim simply

sidesteps the issue. In paraphrasing the jury’s question,

the court subtly distorts its meaning and misses its essen-

tial thrust. The jury did not simply inquire “whether

a life sentence must be unanimous” (App. 13a); rather,

in the heat of its deliberations it asked the trial judge

33 The Virginia Code explicitly provides that if a capita] sen-

tencing jury cannot reach a unanimous verdict, “the court shall

dismiss the jury, and impose a sentence of imprisonment for life.”

Va. Code § 19.2-264.4(E) (1983) (emphasis added). See, e..,

Virginia Dept. of Corrections v. Clark, 227 Va. 525, 318 S.E.2d 399,

406 n3 (1984) (“a single juror can prevent imposition of the

death penalty”); Clark v. Commonwealth, 220 Va. 201, 257 S.E.2d

784, 791 (1979), cert. denicd, 444 U.S. 1049 (1980) (“[A] dis-

agreement by one or more of the jurors as to the proper sentence

would, by statute, result in life imprisonment.”).

28

“does a split decision automatically become life?” That is

a different question, and it demanded a candid response.*®

The precise federal question presented here was ex-

haustively addressed in two decisions of the Louisiana

Supreme Court that directly contradict the Fourth Cir-

cuit’s reasoning and result. In those cases, the court held

that federal due process is violated by an instruction that

leaves the individual jurors “free to speculate as to what

the outcome would be in the event there was not una-

nimity” and creates the “false impression” that “a new

trial, before another jury would be required.” ** Such

errors are highly prejudicial because “[i]f only one of

the twelve jurors was swayed by the failure to inform

him fully of the consequences of his sentence recommenda-

tion, then, in the absence of that error, the death penalty

would not have been imposed.” **

The Louisiana decisions correctly apply principles of

this Court articulated in other contexts. Thus, in Cald-

*6 The due process issue presented here is not even addressed,

let alone resolved, by the decision in Barfield v. Harris, 540 F. Supp

451-472 (E.D.N.C. 1982), aff'd. 719 F.2d 58 (4th Cir. 1983), cert.

denied, 467 U.S. 1210 (1984), cited and relied upon by the court

below. In Barfield the petitioner challenged the effectiveness of her

trial counsel because he had not requested an instruction concerning

the effect of a split decision in the penalty phase of her capital

trial. See 540 F. Supp. at 461. The court held that petitioner was

not denied due process either by counsel’s failure to make the

request, id. at 461-62, or by the trial judge’s failure to give such an

instruction on his own initiative, id. at 472. Unlike here, there

was no defense request for an instruction on unanimity, no jury

question at all, and no misleading response from the court.

37 State v. Williams, 392 So. 2d at 631. See also State v. Loyd

459 So. 2d 498 (La. 1984).

38 State v. Williams, 392 So. 2d at 631. See also State v. Loyd,

459 So. 2d at 503 (capital sentencing presents a “unique” situation

in which “a single juror, by persisting in a sentencing recommenda-

tion at variance with all of his fellow jurors, may alone cause

imposition of a life sentence.” )

At Cas we

29

well v. Mississippi, 472 U.S. 320 (1985), the Court voided

a death sentence because the prosecutor’s summation had

created an “intolerable danger” that the jurors would

underestimate the importance of their role in the sen-

tencing process. Jd. at 333. More recently, the Court

ordered resentencing because an “ambiguity” in the state

verdict form made it possible that the jurors “misunder-

st{oo}/d the previous instructions as to unanimity. .. .”

Mills v. Maryland, 108 S. Ct. 1860, 1869-70 (1988). The

danger here was far greater than in either Caldwell or

Mills. Each individual juror in the Evans case was in

effect told—by the trial court, not the prosecutor **—that

without the unanimous concurrence of his eleven peers,

he was powerless to effect a life sentence, when in fact

the precise opposite was true.

This Court has already imposed a “high requirement

of reliability on the determination that death is the appro-

priate penalty in a particular case.” Mills, 108 S. Ct. at

1870. Because the Fourth Circuit’s decision endorses a

sentencing instruction that falls far short of that stand-

ard, and conflicts with the express decisions in two other

jurisdictions, this Court should grant certiorari to re

) +} — . 4

solve the issue.*

: "4 — , 2s —es | T : 1< 72° 0° » 7 1ORe

a ¢ Darden v. Wainwright, 477 U.S. 168 185-84 n.15 (1986

erroneous statements to the jury are more serious when they are

approved by the judge).

* The question whether Evans is entitled to another resentencing

takes on additional importance in light of the events that oc urred

after his 1984 sentencing. See n-te 7, supra. The } iry that sen-

tenced Evans to death did not know and could not have known that

ive months later Evans would risk his life to save the guards held

hostage in the 1984 uprising at Mecklenburg prison. In any re

sentencing that evidence will be highly probative of whether there

is still a “probability that [Evans] would commit criminal acts of

violence that would constitute a continuing serious threat to so-

‘iety Va. Code § 19.2-264.2/1 1983

30

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, Petitioner prays that a

writ of certiorari issue to review the order and opinion

of the United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth

Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

ARTHUR F. MATHEWS *

THOMAS F. CONNELL

MARK D. CAHN

WILMER, CUTLER & PICKERING

2445 M Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20037-1420

(202) 663-6000

JONATHAN SHAPIRO

1013 Princess Street

Alexandria, Virginia 22314

(703) 684-1700

Counsel for Petitioner

September 27, 1989 * Counsel of Record

CONSTITUTIONAL AND

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

United States Constitution

Amendment VI provides:

In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shal] en-

joy the right .. . to have the Assistance of Counsel

for his defence.

Amendment XIV, § 1 provides:

No State shall . . . deprive any person of life,

liberty, or property, without due process of law: nor

deny to any person within its jurisdiction the equal

protection of the laws.

Virginia Code § 19.2-264.2 provides:

s 19.2-264.2. Conditions for imposition of death

j

sentence.

In assessing the penalty of any person con-

victed of an offense for which the death penalty

may be imposed, a sentence of death shal] not

be imposed unless the court or jury shall (1)

after consideration of the past criminal record

of convictions of the defendant, find that there

is a probability that the defendant would com-

mit criminal acts of violence that would consti-

tute a continuing serious threat to society .

Virginia Code § 19.2-264.3 provides:

19.2-264.3. Procedure for trial by jury.

A. In any case in which the offense may be

punishable by death which is tried before a jury

the court shall first submit to the jury the issue

of guilt or innocence....

C. If the jury finds the defendant guilty of an

offense which may be punishable by death, then

stein enema neeien eee

SA-2

a separate proceeding before the same jury shall

be held as soon as is practicable on the issue of

the penalty....

(If the sentence of death is subsequently set

aside or found invalid, and the defendant or the

Commonwealth requests a jury for purposes of

resentencing, the court shall impanel a different

jury on the issue of penalty.] [Bracketed por-

tion added by amendment of March 28, 1983).

Virginia Code § 19.2-264.4 provides:

§ 19.2-264.4. Sentence proceeding—A. Upon a finding

that the defendant is guilty of an offense which may be

punishable by death, a proceeding shall be held which

shall be limited to a determination as to whether the de-

fendant shall be sentenced to death or life imprisonment.

In case of trial by jury, where a sentence of death is not

recommended, the defendant shall be sentenced to im-

prisonment for life... .

E. In the event the jury cannot agree as to the pen-

alty, the court shall dismiss the jury, and impose a sen-

tence of imprisonment for life.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.