Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Delta Air Lines, Inc. v. Association of Flight Attendants

Supreme Court brief1989

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

IN THE

4 —_ ;

Supreme Court of the United MSrares

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

DELTA AIR LINES, INC.,

\

Petitioner,

v.

ASSOCIATION OF FLIGHT ATTENDANTS, AFL-CIO,

Respondent.

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The District Of Columbia Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Of Counsel:

ROBERT S. HARKEY

WALTER A. BRILL

DELTA AIR LINES, INC.

Law Department

Hartsfield Atlanta Int’]

~ Airport

Atlanta, Georgia 30320

(404) 765-2387

MICHAEL H. CAMPBELL

PAUL D. JONES

FORD & HARRISON

600 Peachtree at the Circle

Building

1275 Peachtree Street, N.E.

Atlanta, Georgia 30309

(404) 888-3800

*WILLIAM J. KILBERG

Scott A. KRUSE

BARUCH A. FELLNER

GIBSON, DUNN & CRUTCHER

Suite 900

1050 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 955-8500

Attorneys for Petitioner

*Counsel of Record

AEE EES 2 AGATE:

PRESS OF BYRON S. ADAMS, WASHINGTON, D.C. (202) 347-8203

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether, under the Railway Labor Act, a union

grievance which seeks damages for a claimed breach of a

collective bargaining agreement’s successor clause—pur-

portedly requiring a merged airline to recognize the union

as the representative of a minority group of employees—

after a merger—raises issues of employee representation

within the exclusive jurisdiction of the National Mediation

Board.

2. Whether the National Mediation Board’s decision ter-

minating the union representation certification of the ac-

quired carrier’s union, as of the date of the merger, renders

moot the union’s request to arbitrate a grievance involving

representation issues under a successor clause.

ii

LIST OF PARTIES

The names of all parties to the proceedings in the United

States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Cir-

cuit appear in the caption of the case in this Court, except

Western Air Lines, Inc. It should be noted, however, that

Western Air Lines, Inc., which was the original appellee

in these proceedings, ceased to exist when it was merged

into Delta Air Lines, Inc. on April 1, 1987.*

* Pursuant to Rule 28 of the Rules of this Court, the following is a

listing of all parent companies, subsidiaries (except wholly owned sub-

sidiaries) and affiliates of Delta Air Lines, Inc.: Atlantic Southeast

Airlines. Inc.; Comair, Inc.; Gatwick Handling, Ltd.; and SkyWest, Inc.

iil

TABLE OF CONTENTS

OPINIONS AND ORDERS BELOW .......................0005

Tah dinancenhasccqresancenccnsscccetscrssncsnccseses

STATEMENT OF THE CASE .............cccccccccsssssssceees

ee I TE nn. csscannneveanacannenaccececs

II. The Proceedings Below And In Related

Litigation Before This Court ...............000

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ...................

SUMMARY OF REASONS FOR GRANTING THE

I URE AENIIA A LGAU AAS uA bineycapaennencessensissnsovsasecesncasesnesees

I. THE DECISION BELOW CREATES A CON-

FLICT AMONG THE COURTS OF APPEALS

REGARDING THE JURISDICTION OF THE

FEDERAL COURTS IN REPRESENTATION

DISPUTES UNDER THE RAILWAY LABOR

SET Sas sah ASN na Wha UapROnnSh SAssAasAnasancndsecencsnneceeeses

A. The NMB Has Exclusive Jurisdiction Of

All Employee Representation Disputes

Under The Railway Labor Act And Every

Other Court Of Appeals Decision On The

Issue Has Concluded That The Courts Do

Not Have Any Jurisdiction In Cases That

Raise Questions Of Representation, Re-

gardless Of The Context In Which They

5

B. The Present Litigation Invoives A Rep-

resentation Dispute Within The Exclusive

Jurisdiction Of The NMB, Regardless Of

RI I I ssi canncesanaerccnenccccancnncnens

C. The D.C. Circuit’s Decision In The In-

stant Case Conflicts With Every Other

Appellate Decision Regarding The Effect

Of Collective Bargaining Agreements On

Employee Representation Issues In Air-

line Mergers and Acquisitions ................

~)

12

Il.

Ill.

iv

D. The D.C. Circuit’s Attempt To Distin-

guish All The Other Circuit Decisions Is

Unavailing .........ccccssseseeeseeeeeseseneeeeeneeenenes

THE DECISION BELOW CREATES A CON-

FLICT BETWEEN THE D.C. CIRCUIT AND

THE NINTH CIRCUIT IN PARALLEL LITI-

GATION WITH RESPECT TO THIS SAME

MERGER REGARDING WHETHER A

UNION’S CLAIM FOR DAMAGES FOR AL-

LEGED BREACH OF A SUCCESSOR CLAUSE

HAS BEEN RENDERED MOOT ..........00000000

THIS CASE PRESENTS ISSUES OF NaA-

TIONAL POLICY CRITICAL TO THE VITAL

AIR AND RAIL TRANSPORTATION INDUS-

TIRES oscccosccssiccicsccssercnccccsscsscecsecvecessnenssecasonss

CONCLUSION .......ccccsscsscesencccceeeeseeseesescseeeseeecaeeoeenens

18

22

26

30

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: } uge

Air Line Employees Association v. Republic Air-

lines, Inc., 798 F.2d 967 (7th Cir.), cert. denied,

CED Us WE CD ttcteneiinvicseonnbicniens 11,15,16,18,21

Air Line Pilots Association v. Texas Internatioral

Airlines, Inc., 656 F.2d 16 (2d Cir. 198}) ..... 11,21

Air Transport Employees v. Western Air Lines,

Inc., No. 86-8032 (C.D. Cal. Feb. 13, 1987) ... 4

Allegheny-Mohawk Merger Case, 59 C.A.B. 22

SUPUPEEE Scuemushncienaictilalatieadiana sh tact eae 3

Brotherhood of Railway and Steamship Clerks v.

United Air Lines, Inc., 325 F.2d 576 (6th Cir.

1963), cert. dismissed, 379 U.S. 26 (1964) ..... 11,17

Delta Air Lines, Inc. v. Association of Flight At-

tendants, 664 F. Supp. 158 (S.D.N.Y.), aff'd,

S36 F.2d 190 (2d Cir. 1968) .o.....ccccccccccccccccces, 19

Delta Air Lines, Inc. v. International Brotherhood

of Teamsters, 108 S. Ct. 58 (1987) oo... 6

Delta Air Lines/Western Air Lines, 14 N.M.B. 291

(ROUTE simmsibittdsidinietterse ee 5,10

Division No. 14, Order of Railroad Telegravhers v.

Leighty, 298 F.2d 17 (4th Cir.), cert. denied,

See Te Ee Gee eben 11

Flight Engineers’ International Association v.-East-

ern Air Lines, Inc., 359 F.2d 303 (2d Cir.

BOOT sennccchicinbicseditaiindabisahv oem ha naie ae meenaaar 1]

Flight Engineers’ International Association v. East-

ern Air Lines, Inc., 311 F.2d 745 (2d Cir.),

cert. denied, 373 U.S. 924 (1968) .........ccc. 1]

Flight Engineers’ International Association v. Pan

American World Airways, No. 87-6694, slip op.

(S.D.N-Y. July 5, 1989) .....cccccccccccscscccsseeees, 20-21

Galveston Wharves, 4 N.M.B. 200 (1962) .........00.... 24-25

General Committee of Adjustment v. Missouri-Kan-

sas-Teras Railroad Co., 320 U.S. 323 (1948) . )

Table of Authorities Continued ‘

Page

General Committee of Adjustment v. Southern Pa-

cific Co., S20 U.S. SBB (1GEB) ....rccccccccccrcssesesss )

Gondeck v. Pan American World Airways, Inc., 382

GAs SEP CREED wrcdhinasecannedlacsuniatiaisbtaeneneaiiicas 23

IBTCHWA, Local Union No. 2702 v. Western Air

Lines, Inc., 813 F.2d 1359 (9th Cir.), vacated

and remanded, 108 S. Ct. 53 (1987) ........00... 4-5,23

IBTCHWA, Local Union No. 2702 v. Western Air

Lines, Inc., 854 F.2d 1178 (9th Cir. 1988) .... 6,22

Independent Union of Flight Attendants v. Pa

American World Airways, 836 F.2d 130 (2d

RAM RIRIBID csscccisnacenecnelecessnenennaseiaatdeihesonel 11,19,20,21

International Association of Machinists v. Northeast

Airlines, Inc., 5386 F.2d 975 (1st Cir.), cert.

dented, 429 U.S. 961 (1976) .....cccccccccsscscssssssees 11

International Brotherhood of Teamsters v. Texas In-

ternational Airlines, Inc., 717 F.2d 157 (5th

JUG: IPEDS issok casancctnnubcesenchaeemadapeanienaeeie 11,16,17,19,28

International Brotherhood of Teamsters v. Western

Air Lines, Inc., No. 86-7921 (C.D. Cal. Feb.

BG, .SINOTE sansssinwanssnseaeiaanaabelnnanena 4

International Typographical Union v. NLRB, 365

U.S. 705, rehearing denied, 366 U.S. 941

FRO D ‘wikckagusarsecscanasnsassndllagiesbanancaabiematataacnile 23

Maryland v. United States, 381 U.S. 41 (1965) .... 23

Midway Airlines, 14 N.M.B. 447 (1987) 0.0.0.0... 25,26

New York Central Railway Co., 1 N.M.B. 197

DEED sccsmcomitioncassaeee ETE STON 27

Northwest Airlines, Inc., 18 N.M.B. 399 (1986) .... 10

Pennsylvania Railroad Co., 1 N.M.B. 23 (1987) ... 9

Republic Airlines, Inc., 8 N.M.B. 49 (1980) .......... 10,27

Seaboard Coast Line Railroad Co., 6 N.M.B. 63

ROT) cnsccsccsscacsvcnessecisaceinleneieieneeeelaeenaes 24,27

Switchmen’s Union of North America v. National

Mediation Board, 320 U.S. 297 (1948) wo... N)

vii

Table of Authorities Continued

Page

Trans World Airlines/Ozark Airlines, 14 N.M.B.

ee CRs By SE Sihniidenisskctheneciaineaninniionninses 10

Western Air Lines, Inc. v. International Brother-

hood of Teamsters, 480 U.S. 1301 (1987) ... 5,9,14-15

Federal Statutes and Rules:

Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C. §§ 151-88 ............. passim

Se ee IIIT Uniiciiccneiascnccbinbdnhubbnnbceasleisiinbeedddanens 1

Ps Se es 0e | MII sesnistntenghacansetahensesecenenns tnasneds 13

Miscellaneous:

Procedures for Handling Representation Issues Re-

sulting From Mergers, Acquisitions or Consol-

idation in the Airline Industry, 14 N.M.B. 388

CRIDUT ‘ivenisapesbishielsncleoniannatiaanansansunnnenaniataes 10

are

= ,

=~ in 7 -

ony coer es ae

nea ales Te Or ake ae

Tie ; . y , : als

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner Delta Air Lines, Inc. respectfully prays that

a writ of certiorari issue to review the opinion and judg-

ment of the United States Court of Appeals for the Dis-

trict of Columbia Circuit (“D.C. Circuit”), entered in the

proceedings below on July 18, 1989.

OPINIONS AND ORDERS BELOW

The opinion of the D.C. Circuit, entered on July 18,

1989, is reported at 879 F.2d 906, and is reproduced in

Appendix A. Copies of that court’s preliminary orders of

June 6, 1988, and March 31, 1987, are unreported and are

reproduced in Appendices B and C. The final opinion and

judgment of the D.C. Circuit reversed the indgment of the

United States District Court for the District of Columbia.

A copy of the order and opinion of the district court, which

is reported at 662 F. Supp. 1, is reproduced in Appendix

D.

JURISDICTION

The opinion and judgment of the D.C. Circuit were ren-

dered in this case on July 18, 1989. This Petition is filed

within ninety days of that date. This Court’s jurisdiction

is invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTE INVOLVED

The statute involved is the Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C.

§§ 151-88, specifically §§ 152, Fourth and Ninth, and 181.

Those provisions are reproduced in Appendix N.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

I. The Relevant Facts

This case arises from a labor dispute involving the 1987

merger of Western Air Lines, Inc. (‘‘Western’’) into Delta

Air Lines. Inc. (‘Delta’). Respondent Association of Flight

Attendants (“AFA”), which represented Western's flight

tho

attendants prior to the merger, filed suit in the United

States District Court for the District of Columbia seeking

an order compelling Western to arbitrate AFA’s grievance

claim that Western was required to bind Delta to AFA’s

collective bargaining agreement with Western under the

successor clause of that union agreement. AFA’s grievance

alleged that Western violated the successor clause by fail-

ing to secure Delta’s agreement to be bound by AFA’s

union agreement and to recognize the AFA after the

merger was completed. Western refused to arbitrate AFA’s

grievance on the grounds that it raised employee repre-

sentation issues within the exclusive jurisdiction of the

National Mediation Board (‘‘NMB’’).

Prior to the merger, Delta employed more than three

times as many flight attendants as Western. Those Delta

flight attendants have opted to have no collective bar-

gaining representative. Thus, after the merger, a large

majority (greater than 75%) of the flight attendant craft

or class was made up of original Delta employees who

have never chosen to be represented by a union.

Pursuant to a September 1986 merger agreement, Delta

acquired Western on December 18, 1986, at which time

Western become a wholly owned subsidiary of Delta, op-

erating as a separate carrier. On April 1, 1987, Western

was legally and operationally merged into Delta and ceased

to exist as a separate entity. The merger agreement re-

quired Western to honor its collective bargaining agree-

ments as long as it operated as a separate carrier.

As Judge Gesell found in this case, ‘‘No layoffs [of West-

ern employees] are contemplated, either before or after

the merger.’’ App D, 29a, 662 F. Supp., at 2. Delta offered

postmerger jobs to all flight attendants without requiring

any of them to move. Since the wages and benefits paid

by Delta were significantly higher than Western’s, Delta

gave substantial pay increases to most Western emplovees

ad the tig "diel Hight attendants. Jd., at 2¥a.

2 F. Supp.,

In the merger agreement, Delta also voluntarily agreed

to provide Western employees with significant labor pro-

tective provisions (‘‘LPP’s’’) at least as favorable as the

standard LPP’s imposed by the Civil Aeronautics Board

(‘‘CAB”’) in the Allegheny-Mohawk Merger Case, 59 C.A.B.

22 (1971), which the Department of Transportation ceased

imposing after airline deregulation. App. D, 29a, 662 F.

Supp., at 2 n.2. The LPP’s include a fair and equitable

integration of seniority lists. In accordance with the LPP’s,

the former Western employees represented by the AFA

have been integrated with the original Delta employees.

Il. The Proceedings Below And In Related Litigation

Before This Court

AFA filed this action on January 8, 1987, to compel

arbitration of a labor grievance. AFA contended that un-

der the labor agreement’s successor clause Western must

require Delta to be bound to AFA’s labor contract and

recognize AFA as the representative of Western’s flight

attendants after the Delta-Western merger. AFA charac-

terized this as a “minor dispute”’ under the Railway Labor

Act, involving contract interpretation which should be ar-

bitrated before Western’s System Board of Adjustment.

Western refused to arbitrate on grounds that the grievance

actually raised a representation dispute that lay within the

exclusive jurisdiction of the NMB.

On February 20, 1987, Judge Gesell granted summary

judgment for Western, finding that this dispute was within

the NMB’s exclusive jurisdiction:

Where both representational issues and ‘“‘minor”’ dis-

putes which arguably may not involve representational

issues are involved in a single dispute, it is not the

role of a court to attempt to define such minor issues

and require they be segregated for evaluation by the

Svstem Board. As a practical matter the issues inev-

itably overlap, and any attempt to divide jurisdiction

between the System Board and the National Media-

tion Board would defeat the purposes of the RLA....

For AFA to characterize this as a minor dispute

wholly within the province of the System Board ig-

nores the reality of the situation and constitutes an

attempt to circumvent procedures clearly mandated

by Congress for resolution of disputes by the National

Mediation Board under the RLA.

App. D, 31la-32a, 662 F. Supp., at 3 (footnote and citations

omitted). AFA then asked the D.C. Circuit for an injunc-

tion to compel arbitration pending appeal, which that court

denied on March 31, 1987. App. C, 26a.

On June 29, 1987, the D.C. Circuit granted AFA’s un-

opposed motion for stay pending this Court’s disposition

of Delta’s petition for certiorari in the related litigation

initiated by two other Western unions in the Ninth Circuit.

AFA’s motion acknowledged that the Ninth Circuit liti-

gation ‘‘grows out of the same transaction as in the instant

case,” and that it “raises the same legal issue as is posed

here, namely, the arbitrability and enforceability of a suc-

cessorship provision in a collective bargaining agreement

under the Railway Labor Act....’’ AFA Motion to Stay

Briefing Schedule, at 1-2 (“Motion for Stay’’).

In the Ninth Circuit litigation, two other Western unions

filed actions in the Central District of California similar

to AFA’s. They sought to compel arbitration of grievances

over the successor provisions in their labor agreements,

encompassing damages and other relief, the same order

sought by AFA here. Both actions were dismissed by the

California district court on the same jurisdictional grounds

cited by Judge Gesell in the instant case. See International

Brotherhood of Teamsters v. Western Air Lines, Inc., No.

86-7921 (C.D. Cal. Feb. 18, 1987) (App. E, 34a-36a); Air

Transport Employees v. Western Air Lines, Inc., No. 86-

8032 (C.D. Cal. Feb. 18, 1987) (App. F, 37a-38a).

On March 31, 1987, the Ninth Circuit reversed both

decisions and issued an injunction compelling arbitration

of the unions’ grievances and enjoining the merger of Delta

and Western pending arbitration. JBTCHWA, Local Union

No. 2702 v. Western Air Lines, Inc., 813 F.2d 1859 (9th

Cir.) (“JIBTCHWA TI’), vacated and remanded, 108 S. Ct.

53 (1987). Western and Delta immediately sought an emer-

gency stay of the Ninth Circuit’s order and injunction. On

April 1, 1987, Justice O’Connor, Circuit Justice. granted

the stay (App. G, 39a). On April 2, 1987, Justice O’Connor

issued a written opinion declaring that:

The reasoning of every other Court of Appeals that

has ruled on the issue raised before the Ninth Circuit

casts grave doubt on the validity of the Ninth Circuit’s

action in this case. The great weight of the case law

supports the proposition that disputes as to the effect

of collective bargaining agreements on representation

in an airline merger situation are representation dis-

putes within the exclusive jurisdiction of the National

Mediation Board.

Western Air Lines v. International Brotherhood of Teams-

ters, 480 U.S. 1301, 1805 (1987) (‘‘Western v. Teamsters’’)

(App. H, 44a-45a). Justice O’Connor reviewed the same

“overwhelming and well-developed case law”’ earlier cited

by Judge Gesell in the instant case, id., at 45a, 480 U.S.,

at 1306, and commented favorably upon Judge Gesell’s

analysis and the D.C. Circuit’s denial of AFA’s request

for an injunction pending appeal. Jd., at 46a, 480 U.S., at

1306-07. On April 6, 1987, this Court, without dissent,

denied the unions’ emergency applications to vacate Justice

O’Connor’s stay. 481 U.S. 1002 (1987). Delta then filed a

timely certiorari petition, which was pending before this

Court at the time of AFA’s Motion for Stay in the instant

case.

While that certiorari petition was pending and the in-

stant case was stayed before the D.C. Circuit, on July 9,

1987, the National Mediation Board (‘‘NMB’’) issued its

decision revoking the employee representation certifica-

tions of all former Western unions, including AFA’s, ef-

fective retroactively to April 1, 1987. Delta Air Lines/

Western Air Lines, 14 N.M.B. 291 (‘‘Delta/Western’’) (1987)

(App. I, 50a-62a). On October 5, 1987, after the NMB’s

termination of the former Western unions’ certifications,

this Court, again without dissent, granted Delta’s petition

for certiorari, vacated the Ninth Circuit’s judgment and

remanded those cases to the Ninth Circuit to consider the

question of mootness. Delta Air Lines, Inc. v. Interna-

tional Brotherhood of Teamsters, 108 S. Ct. 53 (1987) (App.

J, 63a). On August 18, 1988, the Ninth Circuit dismissed

the actions as moot (including the damages claims) on the

basis that ‘‘none of the relief sought in the original com-

plaint is now available.’ IBTCHWA, Local No. 2702 v.

Western Air Lines, Inc., 854 F.2d 1178 (9th Cir. Aug. 18,

1988) (“JBTCHWA IT’) (App. K, 64a).

Meanwhile, following this Court’s remand to the Ninth

Circuit, Delta moved the D.C. Circuit to dismiss the instant

case on grounds of mootness, arguing that the decision of

the NMB revoking AFA’s certification supplanted any pos-

sible award of an arbitrator. Denying the motion, on June

6, 1988, the D.C. Circuit held the following:

Although Appellant’s claim based on any right of con-

tinued representation is moot, it is not clear whether

an arbitrator could award damages for breach of the

collective bargaining agreement. It is

FURTHER ORDERED that the parties limit their

briefs to the issue of whether an arbitrator could

award damages to Appellant if the arbitrator finds

that Appellee breached the collective bargaining

agreement.

App. B, 25a (emphasis added).

On July 18, 1989, the D.C. Circuit issued a decision

reversing the district court determination in favor of Delta

and remanding the case to the district court to order ar-

bitration of AFA’s damages claim. The D.C. Circuit con-

curred with the Ninth Circuit’s finding of mootness as to

all of AFA’s claims except those for damages. App. A,

6a-7a, 879 F.2d, at 909. The D.C. Circuit found that the

NMB's action had not mooted AFA’s claims for damages,

id.. at Ya, 879 F.2d, at 910, and that the NMB’s exclusive

jurisdiction over representation disputes did not deprive

~)

the district court of authority to order arbitration of the

damages claims. Jd., at 23a-24a, 879 F.2d, at 917.

Delta moved for a stay of the D.C. Circuit’s mandate

pending certiorari so that the important legal issues could

be resolved by this Court before the arbitration which

Delta contends should not proceed. AFA concurred in the

motion, and the D.C. Circuit granted it. (App. L, 66a)

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

SUMMARY OF REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The D.C. Circuit concluded that the court has jurisdic-

tion to order arbitration of AFA’s damages claim. The

D.C. Circuit’s decision conflicts with a long line of other

circuit court decisions, all of which have concluded that

courts (and arbitrators) do not have any jurisdiction in

cases that involve representation issues and that such mat-

ters must be left to the exclusive jurisdiction of the Na-

tional Mediation Board under the Railway Labor Act. These

cases have so held in a variety of situations, including

some which are factually as well as legally indistinguish-

able from the instant case. The D.C. Circuit reaches its

conflicting result because it incorrectly tries to separate

the damages remedy that AFA now seeks from AFA’s

underlying claim of a contract violation, which necessarily

involves a representation dispute. In order to award dam-

ages or any relief, an arbitrator would first have to make

a finding on the representation issues involved in the con-

tract violation alleged by AFA, i.e, that the successor

clause of the AFA/Western contract entitled AFA to be

recognized by Delta as the representative of former West-

ern flight attendants. Such a finding by an arbitrator,

however, would assume that the arbitrator had the un-

derlying jurisdiction to determine the rights and obliga-

tions of the parties with respect to representation. Any

such finding would invade the exclusive jurisdiction of the

NMB and would be directly at odds with the NMB’s de-

cision that AFA’s right to represent Western’s flight at-

tendants was extinguished on April 1, 1987.

Further, the D.C. Circuit decision conflicts with the

Ninth Circuit’s decision in the parallel litigation with re-

spect to this same Delta-Western merger. The D.C. Circuit

found that the NMB’s decision terminating the represen-

tation certifications of all of Western’s former unions did

not render moot the damages claims of the AFA under

its successor clause, but the Ninth Circuit ruled that those

same damages claims by two other unions were moot. The

D.C. Circuit acknowledged this conflict. Thus, Delta is sub-

ject to two totally inconsistent rulings of law on the same

issue in the same merger. It was this Court that correctly

raised the mootness issue, vacating and remanding the

parallel case to the Ninth Circuit to consider that question.

The resolution of these conflicts are of vital national

importance to our critical air and rail transportation in-

dustries. Only this Court can resolve these conflicts and

put right again this previously settled area of labor law.

I. THE DECISION BELOW CREATES A CONFLICT

AMONG THE COURTS OF APPEALS REGARDING

THE JURISDICTION OF THE FEDERAL COURTS

IN REPRESENTATION DISPUTES UNDER THE

RAILWAY LABOR ACT

A. The NMB Has Exclusive Jurisdiction Of All Em-

ployee Representation Disputes Under The Rail-

way Labor Act And Every Other Court Of Appeals

Decision On The Issue Has Concluded That The

Courts Do Not Have Any Jurisdiction In Cases

That Raise Questions Of Representation, Regard-

less Of The Context In Which They Arise

The Railway Labor Act ’(““RLA’’), 45 U.S.C. §§ 151-63,

regulates labor relations of the nation’s railroads and,

through Title II, 45 U.S.C. §§ 181-88, air carriers. Justice

O'Connor, in related litigation arising out of this same

Delta-Western merger, has summarized the types of dis-

putes cognizable under the RLA as follows:

The [Railway Labor] Act defines three classes of labor

disputes and establishes a different dispute resolution

procedure for each. ‘‘Minor’’ disputes involve the ap-

plication or interpretation of an existing collective-

bargaining agreement. Minor disputes are subject to

arbitration by a System Board of Adjustment. 45

U.S.C. §184....

‘Major’ disputes involve the formation of collective-

bargaining agreements, and the resolution of such dis-

putes is governed by §6 of the Act, 45 U.S.C. §§ 156,

181. ‘Representation’ disputes involve defining the

bargaining unit and determining the employee rep-

resentative for collective bargaining. Under § 2, Ninth

of the Act, the National Mediation Board has exclu-

Sive jurisdiction over representation disputes. 45

U.S.C. §§ 152, 181.

App. H, 41a-42a, 480 U.S., at 1302-03.

The NMB has exclusive jurisdiction of all disputes re-

garding employee representation. 45 U.S.C. § 152, Ninth.

This Court has expressly held that the sweeping jurisdic-

tion of the NMB over representation disputes is exclusive.

See General Committee of Adjustment v. Southern Pacific

Co., 8320 U.S. 338 (1943); General Committee of Adjustment

v. Muissouri-Kansas-Texas Railroad Co., 320 U.S. 3238

(1943); Switchmen’s Union of North America v. National

Mediation Board, 320 U.S. 297 (1948).

The RLA contemplates that employees will be repre-

sented on a carrier-wide basis through crafts or classes of

employees and that the majority of the employees in each

craft or class may select a bargaining representative. 45

U.S.C. § 152, Fourth. The NMB has held on numerous

occasions that it has no authority to split a craft or class

or fragment a carrier’s labor force:

The Railway Labor Act does not authorize the Na-

tional Mediation Board to certify representatives for

small groups of employees arbitrarily selected. Rep-

resentatives may be designated and authorized only

for the whole of a craft or class employed by a carrier.

Pennsylvania Railroad Co., 1 N.M.B. 28, 24 (1937) (em-

phasis in original).

10

Applying this principle, the NMB has specifically held

that upon the merger of two airlines, the representation

certifications of unions of the acquired airline whose em-

ployees will constitute only a minority of the combined

employee groups after the merger, are extinguished by

operation of law at the time of the merger. See Northwest

Airlines, Inc., 138 N.M.B. 399 (1986); Republic Airlines,

Inc., 8 N.M.B. 49 (1980). More recently, in Trans World

Airlines/Ozark Airlines, 14 N.M.B. 218 (““TWA’’’ (Apr. 10,

1987), the NMB reaffirmed these principles, but indicated

that representation certifications are not formally extin-

guished as a result of a merger untii the NMB so rules.

Pursuant to these principles, the NMB revoked the rep-

resentation certifications of all former Western unions, in-

cluding AFA, retroactive to the April 1, 1987 merger date.

Delta/Western, 14 N.M.B. 291 (1987) (See App. I, 50a).

The NMB also said that in view of the increasing num-

ber of mergers under deregulation it would develop new

procedures for handling representation matters resulting

from mergers in the near future. TWA, 14 N.M.B., at 241.

Subsequently, on July 31, 1987, the NMB issued its Pro-

cedures for Handling Representation Issues Resulting From

Mergers, Acquisitions or Consolidation in the Arrline In-

dustry, 14 N.M.B. 388 (1987) (‘‘Merger Procedures’’), for-

malizing its procedures for exercising its exclusive

jurisdiction over representation issues in airline mergers.

Carriers are now required to notify the NMB at the same

time that they seek merger approval from the Department

of Transportation or when they subsequently decide to

merge after one has gained control] of the other. Jd., at

390, 393. Thus, the NMB has demonstrated its intent,

ability, and authority to resolve any and all representation

disputes arising from airline mergers. Reemphasizing the

NMB’s statutory role in such matters, the Merger Proce-

dures reiterate that ‘‘the NMB alone is vested with final

decision-making authority over representation issues.”’ /d.,

at 388; see also id., at 389.

The courts have long held that under the RLA courts

and arbitrators have no jurisdiction over representation

1]

disputes, regardless of the context in which they arise, or

the relief sought (including damages). Prior to this liti-

gation over the Delta/Western merger, an unbroken line

of appellate decisions established that the courts must look

beyond the superficial form of a complaint to determine

whether, as here, it masks an underlying representation

dispute. If representation issues are involved, the courts

are required to dismiss the complaint for lack of jurisdic-

tion. See, e.g., Independent Union of Flight Attendants v.

Pan American World Airways, 836 F.2d 1380 (2d Cir. 1988)

(per curiam) (seeking arbitration of a claim that union’s

contract governed work at another acquired airline); Air

Line Employees Association v. Republic Airlines, Inc., 798

F.2d 967, 968 (7th Cir.) (per curiam), cert. denied, 479

U.S. 962 (1986) (pre-merger action by union from smaller

merging carrier for expedited arbitration of grievance over

contract violation); Jnternational Brotherhood of Teamsters

v. Texas International Airlines, Inc., 717 F.2d 157, 158

(Sth Cir. 1983) (seeking declaration that union’s contract

survived a merger); Air Line Pilots Association v. Texas

International Airlines, Inc., 656 F.2d 16, 19 (2d Cir. 1981)

(action to enforce union contract on carrier’s newly es-

tablished subsidiary); International Association of Machin-

ists v. Northeast Airlines, Inc., 5386 F.2d 975, 977 (1st

Cir.), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 961 (1976) (seeking negotiation

of employees’ post-merger rights); Flight Engineers Inter-

national Association v. Eastern Air Lines, Inc., 359 F.2d

303, 307 (2d Cir. 1966) (action seeking reinstatement of

replaced striking employees “‘flew in the teeth’’ of NMB’s

certification of a different union representing the replace-

ment employees); Brotherhood of Railway and Steamship

Clerks v. United Air Lines, Inc., 325 F.2d 576, 579 (6th

Cir. 1963), cert. dismissed, 379 U.S. 26 (1964) (seeking

declaration that union’s contract with successor provision

’ survived a merger); Flight Engineers’ International As-

sociation v. Eastern Air Lines, Inc., 311 F.2d 745, 746

(2d Cir.), cert. denied, 373 U.S. 924 (1963) (seeking in-

junction requiring airline to bargain); Division No. 14, Or-

der of Railroad Telegraphers v. Leighty, 298 F.2d 17 (4th

12

Cir.), cert. denied, 369 U.S. 885 (1962) (seeking to enjoin

agreement between railroad and parent union). In all of

these cases, the courts found that the union’s action raised

representation issues and dismissed for lack of jurisdiction.

Nothing in those decisions indicated that their outcome

was affected by the form of relief sought by the union.

B. The Present Litigation Involves A Representation

Dispute Within The Exclusive Jurisdiction Of The

NMB, Regardless Of The Relief Sought

AFA’s action seeking to arbitrate contractual grievances

related to its alleged right to maintain its representative

status is simply an attempt to evade the NMB’s exclusive

jurisdiction over representation questions. AFA claimed

that the successor provisions contained in its collective

bargaining agreement required Western to bind Delta to

recognize AFA as the bargaining representative of the

former Western flight attendants and to honor the West-

ern/AFA labor contract after the merger. Since the D.C.

Circuit’s initial ruling that “‘[a]lthough [AFA’s] claim based

on any right of continued representation is moot, it is not

clear whether an arbitrator could award damages. . . if the

arbitrator finds that Appellee breached the collective bar-

gaining agreement” (App. B, 25a), AFA now seeks an

arbitration limited to damages relief.

The D.C. Circuit decision would allow the AFA to take

its damages request to arbitration. The court below would

distinguish between that damages remedy and the under-

lying representation claim:

AFA’s claims for injunctive relief are now moot, and

no resolution of the remaining damage claim could

have any effect upon either the Delta-Western merger

or the representation of Delta’s employees. This dis-

pute is over a sum of money: Delta has it, and AFA

wants it; no other person, and no transaction, is af-

fected by which of them ends up with it.

App. A, 18a, 879 F.2d, at 914.

a

13

This puts the cart before the horse. One must look at

the underlying claim before one can look at the remedy.

A court does not have subject matter jurisdiction over a

claim that one party desires another’s money. Such a claim,

without a proper cause of action as a predicate, would be

dismissed for failure to state a claim upon which relief

may be granted, pursuant to Rule 12(b\X6) of the Federai

Rules of Civil Procedure.

In order to invoke a court’s subject matter jurisdiction,

a party must plead each of the elements of a cause of

action that is within the court’s jurisdiction. A cause of

action founded upon breach of contract comprises four

elements: a duty, a breach of the duty, proximate cause,

and damages or injunctive relief. Similarly, a union’s claim

that it seeks a carrier’s money would not, by itself, be

subject to arbitration under the Railway Labor Act. The

union must assert as a necessary element of its cause of

action that the carrier had a duty to take some action,

that it breached that duty, and that an arbitrator has

jurisdiction to determine those issues. The remedy of dam-

ages is inextricably intertwined with the asserted duty and

breach. a

Here, AFA alleged that Western had a duty to bind a

successor airline—in this case Delta—to recognize AF A's

status as collective bargaining representative and its labor

contract (or, under the alternate formulation of AFA's

argument stated by the D.C. Circuit, that the merger was

prohibited because of Delta’s failure to agree to such rec-

ognition). Western (and Delta) disputed AFA’s claim. That

alleged duty is the subject matter of this dispute and of

AFA’s cause of action—the subject matter is not whether

AFA can have some of Delta’s money. The latter issue

necessarily depends upon the former. That is, absent a

finding of the alleged duty and a breach thereof, AFA

would have no basis for any relief, including damages.

Any finding, whether by an arbitrator or a court, that

AFA had a right to continued recognition would invade

the NMB’s exclusive jurisdiction over representation dis-

a

14

putes. One cannot separate the remedy which AFA seeks

from its underlying representation claim, as the D.C. Cir-

cuit decision does.

The D.C. Circuit dismisses this argument by saying that,

inasmuch as the merger was completed and the NMB al-

ready has ruled on the representation issues, a damage

award could not interfere with or affect those matters.

But the issue of subject matter jurisdiction does not de-

pend upon whether a remedy can be devised that arguably

wili not “‘interfere’’ with the transaction. The issue is

whether the adjudicator, be it a court or an arbitrator,

has jurisdiction to determine the rights and obligations of

the parties with respect to the disputed subject matter:

here the asserted duty of Western to bind Delta to rec-

ognize the AFA contract and AFA as employee repre-

sentative.

C. The D.C. Circuit’s Decision In The Instant Case

Conflicts With Every Other Appellate Decision Re-

garding The Effect Of Collective Bargaining

Agreements On Employee Representation Issues

In Airline Mergers and Acquisitions

In reviewing the Ninth Circuit’s finding of jurisdiction

and granting of an injunction compelling Western to ar-

bitrate in the parallel litigation, Justice O’Connor discussed

the long line of cases cited in Section A above:

The reasoning of every other Court of Appeals that

has ruled on the issue raised before the Ninth Circuit

casts grave doubt on the validity of the Ninth Circuit's

action in this case. The great weight of.the case law

supports the proposition that disputes as to the effect

of collective-bargaining agreements on representation

in an airline merger situation are representation dis-

putes within the exclusive jurisdiction of the National

Mediation Board.

*. «= *

The Ninth Circuit’s divergence from this line of Court

of Appeals decisions leads me to find it very likely

15

that at least four Justices would vote to grant

certiorari, and that the applicant is likely to prevail

on the merits.

App H, 44a, 46a, 480 U.S., at 1305, 1307. This Court

subsequently granted certiorari, vacated the Ninth Cir-

cuit’s decision and remanded to consider the question of

mootness. App. J, 68a, 108 S. Ct. 53 (1987).

The Courts of Appeais of five circuits, the First, Second,

Fifth, Sixth and Seventh, have ruled that the courts have

no jurisdiction in actions to enforce union contracts in

connection with airline mergers and acquisitions because

such actions inevitably raise representation questions. The -

D.C. Circuit decision conflicts with these other circuits.

The Seventh Circuit’s decision in Air Line Employees

Association v. Republic Airlines, Inc., 798 F.2d 967 (7th

Cir.) (per curiam), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 962 (1986)

(‘ALEA v. Republic’), is especially instructive as its facts

are indistinguishable from those here. In anticipation of a

merger with Republic Airlines, Northwest Airlines agreed

to recognize two of its own unions as representatives of

the combined workforce after the merger was to take place.

Before this “‘transition agreement” became effective, one

of Republic’s unions, the Air Line Employees Association

(“ALEA”’), brought an action prior to the merger against

Republic anc Northwest challenging the transition agree-

ment as a breach of ALEA’s labor contract with Republic.

ALEA’s complaint sought the same relief AFA sought

here, ‘‘an order compelling expedited arbitration of its

grievance challenging defendants’ contract violations and

preserving the status quo pending issuance of the arbitra-

tor’s decision.” Jd., at 968.’

‘ AFA’s Complaint sought the same relief to ‘‘[o}rder Western

to submit on an expedited basis to the jurisdiction of the System

Board of Adjustment, sitting with a referee in accordance with

the 1984 Agreement, to resolve the parties’ dispute over the

Company's asserted breach of Section 1(C)” and “‘if expedited

arbitration before the System Board is not ordered, issue a

0 Ee

|

16

Thus, the Seventh Circuit had before it all of the same

elements of the instant case, i.e., a premerger contract

action brought by the union against the premerger carrier

to compel arbitration of a claim that the carrier violated

the union’s contract in the merger by not recognizing that

union. The union there, like AFA here, sought te compel

arbitration of an alleged contract violation, in which ar-

bitration the union would be entitled to any appropriate

relief, including damages. Nevertheless, unlike the D.C.

Circuit, the Seventh Circuit affirmed the dismissal of

ALEA’s complaint for lack of jurisdiction:

[T]he district judge’s decision was in conformity with—

as he put it—‘‘the overwhelming and well-developed

case law addressing issues similar to those presented

in the instant complaint.’”’ ... [W]e find no reason to

depart from the consistent and well-considered anal-

ysis of our colleagues in other circuits.... [E]ven

though the complaint was couched in terms of enforcing

the collective bargaining agreement, the dispute was

basically a representational dispute and therefore com-

mitted to the sole jurisdiction of the NMB.

Id. (footnote and citation omitted) (emphasis added).

To the same effect is the Fifth Circuit’s decision in

International Brotherhood of Teamsters v. Texas Interna-

tional Airlines, Inc., 717 F.2d 157 (5th Cir. 1983). After

Texas International merged with the larger Continental

Air Lines, Texas International’s 1,800 Teamsters found

themselves subsumed in an unorganized unit of 4,000 Con-

tinental employees, and Continental refused to recognize

the Teamsters or their premerger agreement. Although

preliminary injunction to preserve the status quo pending arbi-

tration by the System Board of the parties’ contractual dispute.”’

(AFA Complaint, at 10, requests for relief). It should be noted

that a complaint seeking an order compelling arbitration typically

would not specify the nature of the relief sought in the arbi-

tration. It is understood that, if the arbitrator has jurisdiction

over a grievance, he may issue an order in the nature of in-

junctive relief, he may award damages, or both.

17

the Teamsters’ declaratory action, like AFA’s suit here,

purported only to seek enforcement of the union’s con-

tract, the Fifth Circuit nevertheless held that the action

for contract enforcement hinged on the underlying rep-

resentation dispute. Jd., at 161. The court found as a con-

sequence that it had no jurisdiction to intervene:

Given the Mediation Board’s undeniable sole jurisdic-

tion over representation matters, we infer from the

practical problems of divided jurisdiction a congres-

sional intention to allow that agency alone to consider

the post-merger problems that arise from existing col-

lective bargaining agreements.

Id., at 164.

Since Brotherhood of Railway and Steamship Clerks v.

United Air Lines, Inc., 325 F.2d 576 (6th Cir. 1963), cert.

dismissed, 379 U.S. 26 (1964), the courts have recognized

that placing a representation issue in the form of a con-

tract dispute cannot oust the NMB of its exclusive juris-

diction. There the union sought to enforce its premerger

contract, which contained a successor clause, with United's

merger partner. The Sixth Circuit affirmed lack of juris-

diction:

[A]lthough the suit is cast in the form of an action

under the law of contracts, it in fact involves a rep-

resentation dispute. Even though an action is brought

as one sounding in contract the courts have no juris-

diction “where ‘validity’ of the contract depends upon

the merits of a representation dispute.”

325 F.2d, at 579 (citation omitted). ©

The same principles of these cases apply here. The D.C.

Circuit's decision compelling arbitration of AFA’s damages

claim would authorize and require an arbitrator, in order

to award damages, to determine first whether under the

successor clause of the union’s contract AFA was entitled

to representation status after the merger. Thus, the D.C.

Circuit would erroneously allow an arbitrator to decide a

representation issue within the NMB’s exclusive jurisdic-

18

tion, when the NMB has already decided that represen-

tation issue against AFA. The D.C. Circuit decision simply

cannot be reconciled with the other circuit decisions.

D. The D.C. Circuit’s Attempt To Distinguish All The

Other Circuit Decisions Is Unavailing

The D.C. Circuit decision attempts to distinguish all the

“cited [circuit] cases, however, since in each one (with a

single exception discussed more fully below), the union

sought not damages, but rather a declaration or an in-

junction that would have given it an ongoing right of rep-

resentation.” App. A, 16a, 879 F.2d, at 913. None of the

many circuit cases upholding the exclusive jurisdiction of

the NMB support the distinction between injunctive relief

and damages. Nor do those cases suggest that damages

relief might be allowed or that the form of relief makes

any difference. Indeed, a number of the decisions are di-

rectly contrary to the purported distinction.

In ALEA v. Republic, supra, discussed more fully supra

at page 15, the Seventh Circuit was faced with a union's

request for an order compelling arbitration of the union's

grievance over contract violations in a merger, just as the

D.C. Circuit faced here. The claims of contract violations

that the union there sought to arbitrate would have en-

titled them to damages and any other appropriate relief,

if the union established a contract violation in arbitration.

Damages were just as much a part of the relief available

to ALEA in arbitration in that case as they are to AFA

in the instant case. Yet, the Seventh Circuit affirmed the

district court’s refusal to compel arbitration and its dis-

missal of the complaint for lack of subject matter juris-

diction because ‘‘the complaint was basically ‘a

representational dispute over which the federal courts do

not have jurisdiction.’ Order, No. 86 C 5239 (N.D. Ill. July

28, 1986).”’ 798 F.2d, at 968. The fact that the union in

ALEA v. Republic would have been able to seek damages

in arbitration (see note 1, supra) did not make any dif-

ference as to court jurisdiction in that case, any more than

it should have in the instant case.

19

Another similar case is the Second Circuit’s Independent

Union of Flight Attendants v. Pan American World Air-

ways, supra. There, the union sought to compel arbitration

of its claim that Pan Am violated its labor contract by

not applying that contract to another newly acquired air-

line. There again if the court had ordered the matter to

arbitration as the union sought, the union would have nat-

urally been able to seek damages in arbitration if it could

establish a contract violation. Nevertheless, the district

court refused to compel arbitration for any relief and dis-

missed for lack of subject matter jurisdiction, and the Sec-

ond Circuit “‘affirm[ed] for substantially the reasons stated

by the district court. 664 F. Supp. 156 (S.D.N.Y. 1987).”’

836 F.2d, at 131. As the district court stated:

It is also generally recognized that labor relations

problems after a merger or acquisition in the airline

industry may in some instances straddle the Railway

Labor Act’s seemingly discrete lines of demarcation.

That is, what may be characterized as a “minor” dis-

pute over the interpretation of a contract may also

implicate concerns which are representational in na-

ture. Where the issues thus overlap, a jurisdictional

problem arises. The proper course for a court to fol-

low in such circumstances is to allow the National

Mediation Board ‘‘alone to consider the post-merger

problems that arise from existing collective bargaining

agreements.’ Teras International Airlines, 717 F.2d

at 164. See also Western Airlines, 107 S. Ct. at 1517.

_ *- *

[A] decision on the contract issues will necessarily

implicate representational concerns.

664 F. Supp., at 158, 159 (S.D.N.Y.), affd, 836 F.2d 130

(2d Cir. 1988). The possibility of damages relief which ex-

isted there, just as it did here, did not change the lack

of court jurisdiction.

That case involved circumstances quite similar to the

instant case; by the time the case got to the Second Circuit

20

the NMB had resolved the representation issue. The Sec-

ond Circuit noted in reference to the NMB’s having as-

serted jurisdiction:

We believe that these events underscore the correct-

ness of the district court’s decision that representation

issues within the jurisdiction of the Mediation Board

are implicated in the instant matter.

836 F.2d., at 131.°

* Following the Second Circuit decision in Pan American, su-

pra, another Pan Am union amended its contract grievance and

complaint for a similar claim over work at the newly acquired

Ransome Airlines, so as to seek only damages, and sought to

compe] arbitration of that claim. Flight Engineers’ International

Association v. Pan American World Airways, No. 87-6694, slip

op. (S.D.N.Y. July 5, 1989) (“FEIA v. Pan American’’) (See App.

M. 67a). The court expressly rejected the distinction the D.C.

Circuit would draw and dismissed for lack of jurisdiction:

Plaintiff's attempts to distinguish JUFA and the present

case ultimately turn upon the notion that seeking contrac-

tual damages calls for a different result than seeking the

right to perform the work; that representational] issues are

not implicated in the former action, while they may be in

the latter. The Court does not find this distinction deter-

minative, and it does not strike at the essence of the JUF'A

opinion. The JUFA Court stated, ‘‘{iJn essence... [t]he

IUFA flight attendants in this case claim, just as the pilots

in Air Line Pilots Ass'n v. Texas Intern. Airlines, 656 F.2d

16 (2d Cir. 1981) claimed, that work on a related carrier

should be assigned to them.’’ That same basic question

underlies any claim for past damages here; the union claims

that work on a related carrier should have been assigned

to them.

Plaintiff seeks to isolate the damage issue from a deter-

mination of representation, but the inquiries are inextric-

able. In order to determine whether the plaintiff is entitled

to damages, the court must first conclude that the union

is entitled to the work. Deciding the representation issue

is a necessary predicate to determining whether a con-

21

The D.C. Circuit acknowledged that in at least one case,

Air Line Pilots Association v. Texas International Air-

lines, Inc., 656 F.2d 16 (2d Cir. 1981), ‘“‘a court specifically

noted a union’s claim for damages, 656 F.2d at 17, yet

required dismissal of the action on the authority of Switch-

men’s Union.”’ App. A, 2la, 879 F.2d, at 916. The D.C.

Circuit, nevertheless, drew the following distinction of that

case from the present case:

The case is not on point, however, because the union

there was seeking a judicial award of damages, not

an order compelling arbitral resolution of its money

claim.

Id., 879 F.2d, at 916 (emphasis in original).

That artificial distinction between whether the damages

are sought from a court or an arbitrator is one that the

same Second Circuit did not observe in its subsequent case

Independent Union of Flight Attendants v. Pan American

World Airways, 836 F.2d 130 (2d Cir. 1988). Nor was that

distinction followed in ALEA v. Republic, supra, or in FEIA

v. Pan American, supra (see note 2, supra). All of these

cases, like the present case, involved union actions to com-

pel arbitration of contract violations which, if proven, would

have entitled the union to relief, including any damages.

Nevertheless, the courts declined to order arbitration of

anything because the courts and an arbitrator lacked ju-

risdiction since a representation issue was involved.

No circuit court has drawn or even suggested either of

the distinctions created by the D.C. Circuit. Nor has any

district court to our knowledge. The D.C. Circuit’s decision

creates a direct conflict among the circuits regarding the

jurisdiction of the courts, of the NMB and of arbitrators

in connection with representation issues arising under the

RLA. This Court must resolve that conflict which is of

critical importance in airline and railroad mergers and ac-

quisitions.

tractual remedy of damages is appropriate.

App. M, 74a-7ida, slip op., at 9-10 (footnote omitted).

22

II. THE DECISION BELOW CREATES A CONFLICT BE-

TWEEN THE D.C. CIRCUIT AND THE NINTH CIRCUIT

IN PARALLEL LITIGATION WITH RESPECT TO THIS

SAME MERGER REGARDING WHETHER A UNION’S

CLAIM FOR DAMAGES FOR ALLEGED BREACH OF

A SUCCESSOR CLAUSE HAS BEEN RENDERED MOOT

The National Mediation Board’s decision terminating all

the Western unions’ representation certifications, including

AFA’s, renders this action moot. AFA has attempted to

revive its action by claiming entitlement to damages for

purported breach of the successor clause and arguing that

such damages claim is not moot. AFA’s damages claim,

however, is inseparable from AFA’s other claims for relief

and, like those other claims, the damages claim was ren-

dered moot by the NMB’s decision.

The D.C. Circuit opinion notes:

Delta points out that the Ninth Circuit held that the

Teamsters litigation was moot, 854 F.2d at 1178, even

though the plaintiff unions there argued, as does AFA

here, that even if their claims for injunctive and dec-

laratory relief were moot, an arbitrator could still

award damages for breach of the successorship clauses

in their CBA’s.

The argument was indeed made in the briefs before

the Ninth Circuit, vet in its per curiam order -dis-

missing the Teamsters action, the court made no men-

tion of it.

App. A, 9a, 879 F.2d, at 910.

The D.C. Circuit had before it the parties’ briefs to the

Ninth Circuit, in which the damages argument was fully

made by the unions and responded to. However, the Ninth

Circuit, in JBTCHWA II, rejected that damages argument

and dismissed the entire action as moot (including the

damages claims) on the basis that ‘‘none of the relief sought

in the original complaint is now available.”’ App. kK, 65a.

854 F.2d, at 1178.

23

The D.C. Circuit acknowledges the split between its de-

cision and the Ninth Circuit’s:

Were the Ninth Circuit decision binding precedent in

this circuit, it might give us greater cause for concern,

since its judgment necessarily, if implicitly, rejected

all of the arguments that the unions made.

App. A, 9a, 879 F.2d, at 910. The split between the two

circuits could not present a clearer or a more compelling

case for review: the two decisions involve the same merger

and the same arguments, and the Air Transport Employ-

ees union even had the same successor clause language as

AFA. IBTCHWA I, 813 F.2d 1359, 1860 (9th Cir.), vacated

and remanded, 108 S. Ct. 53 (1987). Thus, Delta and this

same merger of Western into Delta will be subject to two

totally inconsistent rulings of law on the same issue. Only

this Court can resolve this conflict.®

Before reaching the issue of a damage remedy, an ar-

bitrator would first have to conclude that the successor

clause bound Western to require Delta to recognize AFA

and to assume AFA’s collective bargaining agreement fol-

lowing the merger or, under the alternate formulation of

AFA’s arguments, that the merger was prohibited because

of Delta’s failure to agree to such recognition. Either inter-

pretation presumes that AFA had a vested contractual

right to continued representation of the former Western

flight attendants following the merger. Absent an entitle-

ment to such representation, AFA would have no basis

° See Gondeck v. Pan American World Airways, Inc., 382 U.S.

25 (1965) (denial of certiorari vacated and certiorari granted

after conflict arose between two circuits on same legal issue

involving same accident); Maryland v. United States, 381 U.S.

41 (1965) (certiorari granted to resolve conflict between two

circuits on same legal] issue involving same airline accident and

same record); International Typographical Union v. NLRB, 365

U.S. 705, rehearing denied, 366 U.S. 941 (1961) (certiorari

granted in both cases to resolve conflict between two circuits

concerning lawfulness of same collective bargaining agreement

clause).

24

for any relief, including a damage claim. Any holding that

AFA or its contract was entitled to recognition by Delta,

however, would eviscerate the NMB’s ruling that AFA was

not entitled to representation rights following the merger—

and would encroach upon the NMB’s exclusive jurisdiction.

Thus, the D.C. Circuit’s decision allowing an arbitrator to

consider AFA’s damages claim would affirmatively con-

tradict the NMB’s decision by authorizing damages for

Delta’s failure to recognize AFA, despite the NMB’s de-

termination that AFA was not entitled to recognition.

In addition, since the NMB’s decision was retroactive

to the date of the merger on April 1, 1987, there was

never any period following the merger when AFA or its

labor agreement was entitled to recognition or, conversely,

any period when AFA could have been damaged by Delta’s

failure to recognize it. Even if Western had done precisely

what AFA says the labor contract required, 7.e., obtained

Delta’s voluntary recognition of AFA and its union con-

tract, any such recognition would have been futile. Any

voluntary recognition by Delta would have been rendered

unenforceable at its inception by the NMB’s ruling, pre-

cluding any accrual of damages.

While the NMB has acknowledged that, under some lim-

ited circumstances, a carrier may voluntarily recognize a

representative for a group of employees which does not

constitute a system-wide craft or class, an NMB deter-

mination of the representative status of the overail craft

or class supersedes any such voluntary recognition. Sea-

board Coast Line Railroad Co., 6 N.M.B. 68 (1976). As

the NMB explained in Galveston Wharves, 4 N.M.B. 200

(1962):

This restriction [that the NMB can only certify rep-

resentatives on a carrier-wide basis] upon the Board

does not preclude a carrier from voluntarily recog-

nizing a particular union as a representative of a group

or groups of employees which may not constitute a

generally recognized craft or class. But, when a dis-

pute over representation is brought before the Board,

25

the legislative procedures take precedent [sic], and the

craft or class must be the controlling factor in its

determination. Therefore private representation

agreements which do not conform to the recognized

craft or class lines cannot be relied upon to modify

the requirements of the statute.

Id., at 203 (emphasis added).

In the instant case, the NMB ruled that the merger of

Western into Delta created a single transportation system

and that AFA’s certification as the representative of for-

mer Western employees was terminated on the date of

the merger. Thus, any voluntary recognition previously

obtained by Western from Delta (and any entitlement to

damages for failure to do so) would have been superseded

and rendered ineffective at the very moment it was sup-

posed to become effective upon the merger.

The NMB decision in Midway Airlines, 14 N.M.B. 447

(1987), demonstrates that any voluntary recognition agree-

ment entered into by Delta would have been ineffective

at its inception. Midway involved the merger of Midway

Airlines (‘‘Midway’’) and its subsidiary, Midway Airlines

(1984) (‘Midway 1984’’). Similar to Delta, Midway invoked

the NMB’s jurisdiction under the Merger Procedures to

determine whether the certifications of the unions at Mid-

way 1984 would be terminated by the merger.

Prior to development of the merger plans, however, a

separate subsidiary, Midway Aircraft Engineering

(‘‘MAE”’), had been set up to perform heavy maintenance

work, and MAE was to remain a separate subsidiary fol-

lowirg the merger. The labor agreement between the In-

ternational Brotherhood of Teamsters (““IBT’’) and Midway

1984 required voluntary recognition of the IBT as the

separate collective bargaining representative of certain

Midway 1984 employees in Miami in the event that MAE

took over operation of Midway 1984’s Miami maintenance

facility. 14 N.M.B., at 452-58. As part of the merger plans,

the Miami facility and employees were to be transferred

to MAE and. in accordance with the Midway 1984 agree-

26

ment, MAE recognized the IBT as the separate post-

merger representative of the MAE Miami employees.

That voluntary recognition of the IB[ by MAE was

nullified by the NMB. The NMB, after examining the ap-

plicable factors, found that Midway, Midway 1984 and

MAE constituted a single transportation system for pur-

poses of the RLA and could have but a single represent-

ative covering each combined craft or class. 14 N.M.B.,

at 460. The Board held that the transfer of employees to

MAE was ineffective to ‘‘deprive them or others of their

rights under the Railway Labor Act’’ to have a single

system-wide and craft-wide representative. Jd.

The same outcome would have occurred in the instant

case, even if Western had obtained Delta’s recognition of

AFA as the post-merger representative for the former

Western employees. Midway demonstrates that any such

recognition by Delta, and therefore any damages based on

an entitlement to such recognition, would have been nul-

lified effective April 1 by the NMB’s decision.

Thus, the NMB decision does render moot AFA’s entire

action, including any damages claim. The Ninth Circuit

rejected the same damages argument made by two other

Western unions and dismissed their parallel actions as

moot, after this Court remanded those cases to the Ninth

Circuit precisely to consider the question of mootness.*

Now that the Ninth and D.C. Circuits have decided that

mootness question inconsistently, only this Court can re-

solve that conflict on the important legal question the Court

itself raised.

Ill. THIS CASE PRESENTS ISSUES OF NATIONAL POL-

ICY CRITICAL TO THE VITAL AIR AND RAIL

TRANSPORTATION INDUSTRIES

AFA sought to avoid the mandatory NMB processes,

including its employee election procedure, by seeking ju-

*The question of damages had been raised before this Court

by the Teamsters in the parallel actions in the Ninth Circuit in

the Teamsters’ Brief In Opposition to Delta’s Petition for a Writ

of Certiorari, at 12.

27

dicial and arbitral relief instead. By permitting such forum

shopping and endorsing the intervention of the federal

courts and labor arbitrators in representation disputes, the

decision of the D.C. Circuit conflicts not only with the

other circuits, but with the purposes of the RLA.

The D.C. Circuit decision permitting arbitration where

representation issues are involved would allow the possi-

bility or mere threat of an arbitrator’s award of damages

to unions to affect the outcome of such representation

disputes and lead to fragmentation of the carrier’s system-

wide craft or class bargaining units provided for by the

RLA. The imposition or mere threat of large damages

awards by arbitrators over successor provisions purport-

edly governing representation issues in mergers and ac-

quisitions woule © use airlines and railroads to depart from

the carrier-wide bargaining units provided for by the RLA.

Damages can be just as influential of the parties’ conduct

as injunctive orders in causing such fragmentation.

The RLA provides: ‘‘The majority of any craft or class

of employees shall have the right to determine who shail

be the representative of the craft or class for the purposes

of this chapter.”” 45 U.S.C. § 152, Fourth. As the NMB

explained in the New York Central Railroad Co., 1 N.M.B.

197, 209-10 (1941), single representation for a craft or

class on a carrier-wide basis was mandated by Congress,

and splitting a craft or class contravenes the legislative

directive. See also Seaboard Coast Line Railroad Co., 6

N.M.B. 63, 64-65 (1976).

The NMB has consistently refused to fragment crafts

or classes in exercising its jurisdiction in airline merger

cases because of its RLA mandate to preserve employee

relations stability in the vital transportation industries. It

has also recognized that such fragmentation would pre-

clude effective integration of a combined carrier’s post-

merger operations into a single transportation system. Re-

public Airlines, Inc., 8 N.M.B. 49, 54-55 (1920). Effective

integration of a post-merger labor force is impossible where

some employees are represented by a union, while others,

28

performing the same job alongside union members, are not.

Different work rules and terms and conditions of employ-

ment would apply to employees doing the same jobs at

the same locations, and the inefficiencies of such an op-

eration would be totally inconsistent with the original pur-

pose of the merger. See International Brotherhood 0)

Teamsters v. Texas International Airlines, Inc., 717 F.2d

157, 163 (5th Cir. 1988).

Airline mergers, acquisitions, international marketing

agreements and other related transactions have become

and continue to be increasingly frequent events in the

transportation industry, impelled in large part by height-

ened competition resulting from airline deregulation and

by the recognition that the economy of the United States

is increasingly linked to the international economic order.

These transactions involve the integration of thousands of

employees and hundreds of millions of dollars in assets.

They affect systems which transport many millions of per-

sons and tons of cargo annually. Any disruption to the

effective employee integration of carriers in this vital in-

dustry, such as that threatened by the D.C. Circuit deci-

sion, is of national concern. The fragmentation of the

adjudicatory processes and jurisdictional rules governing

labor relations and collective bargaining obligations in this

area, which would be authorized by the D.C. Circuit de-

cision, is likewise of national importance. The decision

would also inhibit the merger or acquisition of failing car-

riers leading to their disruptive demise. Moreover, because

the decision is under the RLA, it could lead to similar

effects upon the critical railroad industry as well.

The D.C. Circuit’s decision cannot be viewed as merely

an isolated, localized or technical construction of the law.

Many airlines, such as Delta and Western, are subject to

suit in several circuits, including the D.C. Circuit, because

of their extensive operations. Further, most union con-

tracts in the airline industry contain successor provisions,

or other provisions that might be construed to empower

arbitrators to decide representation issues, as the AFA

would construe its contract here. The combination of these

29

factors not only subjects airlines to the disruptions caused

t by the D.C. Circuit’s invasion of the NMB’s jurisdiction,

but also potentially subjects them to conflicting require-

j ments in different circuits with regard to the same trans-

f action.®

j It was precisely to avoid such conflicts, and the resulting

fragmentation of the carrier’s labor force, that Congress

vested exclusive jurisdiction over representation disputes

in the NMB. It is intolerable for the NMB’s exclusive

jurisdiction over representation disputes arising in airline

and railroad mergers to be recognized in the First, Second,

| Fifth, Sixth and Seventh Circuits, but not in the D.C.

Circuit. It is just as intolerable for any damages claim in

this merger to be moot in the Ninth Circuit, but not in

the D.C. Circuit.

With so much at stake in the transactions involving air

and rail carriers, the interests of the parties involved and

those o; the general public require that the issues raised

here be definitely resolved, and that this previously settled

area of labor law be put right again. The confusion caused

by the D.C. Circuit’s ruling in the instant merger alone

is of national concern, but, even more broadly, the ques-

tions raised here are certain to arise again as pending and

future transactions are consummated in the airline and

‘ The instant merger illustrates how those inconsistencies arise.

On the same day (March 31, 1987) that the Ninth Circuit issued

its decision compelling arbitration of two other unions’ griev-

ances and enjoining the Delta-Western merger, the D.C. Circuit

denied AFA’s motion to compel arbitration pending appeal, which

was brought on a legal theory identical to those advanced by

the ATE and IBT unions in the Ninth Circuit. App. C, 26a.

Later, after thi. Court vacated the Ninth Circuit’s decision and

remanded on the question of mootness, the Ninth Circuit found

the entire case, including any damages claim, to be moot. But

the D.C. Circuit decision here found that the AFA’s damage ;

claim was not moot, acknowledging that its decision was at odds

with the Ninth Circuit’s decision. Thus, Delta is presented with

the situation that different results have been reached by two

circuits on the same legal issue in the same merger.

oe

30

railroad industries. It is therefore most important that the

Court finally resolve these questions.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, Delta respectfully requests

that this Petition be granted.

September 15, 1989

Of Counsel: Respectfully submitted,

ROBERT S. HARKEY *WILLIAM J. KILBERG

WALTER A. BRILL Scott A. KRUSE

DELTA AIR LINES, INC. BARUCH A. FELLNER

Law Department GIBSON, DUNN & CRUTCHER

Hartsfield Atlanta Int’) Airport 1050 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.

Atlanta, Georgia 30320 Washington, D.C. 20036

MICHAEL H. CAMPBELL (202) 955-8500

PAUL D. JONES Attorneys for Petitioner

FORD & HARRISON ”

600 Peachtree at the Counsel of Record

Circle Building :

1275 Peachtree Street, N.E.

Atlanta, Georgia 30309

APPENDICES

APPENDICES

TABLE OF CONTENTS

A eI, UB cuit nsaensaisscemneminrsasenesnicnebaptaanicimalaioninsianbintiaas

AN EE Oe si inicascgnnanepecreranauandassenmsaitcnsnswveuteusinianiaa

ID | Saati pdachscinceoussiprinnneenasneuvonedeilaxhmmepcummebibeied

RE ss etesiensrcnencisantccninpsiesbenencenvaasniaumnamintivsnnsies

SER TI, cbvinyinsesnsuntenivconsocomsserdmnkronnapbanclomepraceens

SITE TE ann iinsksacsonnstankcuvnsveccarsveshinnettvsremmenusananaiene

NE FE aiickresinvekcacnansdtauh rencedasVcenpeebdenetanignaninigonoaniennen

EN SIE sesichicienanieassnnonseonsaebeniens secneicane laa aieereneisaeeanaions

I Onis Shae caren csaca tn iiiercaanasan re coteecnartinincianiatin

I abiiicdcetrecibmieczaniicksLcceacewnncensennrenessninte

I GL necstlsdascasnasevaincciaactasebaniGavdi nodosa aconiprmkdsnns

EE sabhcsnacee sak oteindcinubotevon sid ehasanahiiosehcasanaeeh

Fe TI ie da asciascycsnieniacnndtin esate termaeinpubatnesee Dapads

ge ty | RRRRNE a ss tis Ap Ret re Sven eg a a REA NPN

la

APPENDIX A

United States Comet of Appeals

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

Argued November 15, 1988 Decided July 18, 1989

No. 87-7040

ASSOCIATION OF FLIGHT ATTENDANTS, AFL-CIO,

APPELLANT

Vv.

DELTA AIR LINES, INC.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the District of Columbia

(Civil Action No. 87-00040)

Deborah Greenfield, for appellant. David A. Borer en-

tered an appearance for appellant.

Scott A. Kruse, with whom Michael H. Campbell, Paul

D. Jones, Robert S. Harkey and William J. Kilberg were

on the brief, for appellee. Baruch A. Fellner entered an

appearance for appellee.

2a

Before: MIKVA, BUCKLEY, and D.H. GINsBuRG, Cir-

cuit Judges.

Opinion for the Court filed by Circuit Judge D.H.

GINSBURG.

D.H. GINSBURG, Circuit Judge: This appeal arises

from a labor dispute involving the 1987 merger of West-

ern Airlines, Inc. into Delta Air Lines, Inc. The Asso-

ciation of Flight Attendants, which represented West-

ern’s flight attendants prior to the merger, filed suit in

the district court seeking an order compelling Western

to arbitrate the question whether Western breached the

“suecessorship clause” in its collective bargaining agree-

ment (CBA) with AFA by failing to bind Delta to the

Agreement. The district court dismissed the action, hold-

ing that it involves a representative dispute under § 2,

Ninth of the Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C. § 152, Ninth,

and thus comes within the exclusive jurisdiction of the Na-

tional Mediation Board. 662 F. Supp. 1, 3 (D.D.C.

1987).

The Union appealed and, as discussed below, on West-

ern’s motion, we held that some of AFA’s claims for re

lief are moot. The questions now before us are (1)

whether AFA’s remaining claim is moot in light of the

consummation of the Delta-Western merger and the sub-

sequent determination by the NMB retroactively to ex-

tinguish AFA’s certificate as bargaining representative

for Western's flight attendants; and (2) if AFA’s re

maining claim is not moot, whether the district court has

subject matter jurisdiction over it.

I. FACTUAL BACKGROUND

Prior to its acquisition by Delta, Western entered into

a CBA with the Union, in which it recognized AFA “as

the duly designated bargaining agent for the Flight At-

tendants in the employment of [Western],” and as re-

[2]

3a

quired by the Act, 45 U.S.C. § 184, established a Sys-

tem Board of Adjustment “for the purpose of adjusting

and deciding disputes which may arise under the terms

of the Flight Attendant’s Agreement... .” The agree-

ment conferred upon the System Board “jurisdiction over

disputes . . . growing out of grievances or out of in-

terpretation of [or] application of any of the terms of

the Flight Attendants’ Agreement.”

In addition to these essentially standard terms, the

CBA contained the following successorship provision:

This agreement shall be binding on any successor or

merged Company or Companies, or any successor in

the control of the Company, its parent‘s) or sub-

sidiary(ies) until changed in accordance with the

Railway Labor Act, as amended.

In September 1986, Western entered into a merger

agreement with Delta. Under the terms of this agree-

ment, the merger would be affected in two steps: (1) on

December 18, 1986, Delta would acquire 100°- control

of Western; and (2) on April 1, 1987, Western would

be merged into Delta and cease to operate as a sep-

arate entity. The merger agreement provided that West-

ern would honor its CBAs as long as they remained in

effect, but did not purport to bind Delta to Western’s

CBAs.

In October 1986, AFA filed a grievance against West-

ern. Specifically, AFA asserted that Western had a con-

tractual duty to bind any successor to the CBA and that

it breached that duty by agreeing to merge with Delta

without so binding it. Western denied the grievance on

the ground that it raised “representation issues within

the exclusive jurisdiction of the National Mediation

Board.” AFA then submitted the dispute to the System

Board, but Western refused to arbitrate.

Shortly after the first step of the merger took effect,

AFA brought this action in the district court to compel

[3]

4a

arbitration. In its complaint, AFA alleged that its griev-

ance raised a “minor dispute” under the RLA and thus

fel! within the jurisdiction of the System Board. AFA

sought an order directing Western to submit to expedited

arbitration before the System Board for a determination

whether it had breached the CBA, or in the event that

the court did not expedite arbitration, preserving the

status quo pending proceedings before the System Board.

In a memorandum submitted to the district court in

support of its motion for summary judgment, AFA sug-

gested that in the event the System Board were to rule

in its favor, available relief might take the form of: (1)

an order binding Delta to the terms of the CBA, “in-

cluding the provisions recognizing AFA” as the exclu-

sive representative of Western’s flight attendants; or (2)

an order requiring Western (a! to bind Delta to the

CBA as a condition of its consummating the merger: and

(b) to continue to operate as a separate entity; or (3)

a declaration that without a term in the merger agree-

ment binding Delta to the CBA. the merger could not oc-

cur; or (4) a determination that Western would be re-

quired to respond in damages in the event that it failed

to bind Delta to the CBA.

In February 1987, the district court dismissed the action

on the ground that AFA’s complaint raised a ‘“‘representa-

tion dispute” within the exclusive jurisdiction of the

NMB. 622 F. Supp. at 3. Accordingly, the court held

that it lacked jurisdiction to grant the relief sought by

AFA, and dismissed the action with prejudice. AFA

then filed the appeal now before us.

While AFA was pursuing this action in the district

court, two other Western unions challenged the Delta-

Western merger in the District Court for the Central

District of California. They, too, sought both an order

compelling arbitration of their claim that Western had

breached the successorship clauses in their CBAs by fail-

[4]

5a

ing to bind Delta to those agreements, and an injunction

against consummation of the merger pending arbitra-

tion. The district court denied the requested relief, but

the Ninth Circuit, on March 31, issued an order (1)

directing the district court to enter orders compelling

arbitration; and (2) enjoining the merger until either

‘a’ completion of arbitration proceedings: or (b) entry

of a stipulation by Western and Delta that the result of

the arbitration would bind the successor corporation.

IBTCWHA v. Western Airlines, Inc. (Teamsters), 813

F.2d 1359, 1864 (9th Cir. 1987). On April 1, however,

the scheduled date of the operational merger, Justice

O’Connor granted the carriers’ ex parte application for

a stay of the Ninth Circuit’s order. 480 U.S. 1301 (1987)

(in chambers). With the injunction thus lifted, the second

step of the Delta-Western merger took place as planned,

Western ceased to exist as a separate operating entity,

and Delta refused to recognize either the CBA or AFA’s

status as the representative of the former Western flight

attendants.

Shortly thereafter, Delta petitioned the NMB to ‘“de-

termine whether the Board’s certifications of the Western

labor organizations as collective bargaining representa-

tives of the various crafts or classes at Western have been

extinguished or terminated effective April 1, 1987." Jn 1

Delta Air Lines, Inc. and Western Air Lines, Inc., 14

N.M.B. 291 (1987). On July 9, the NMB ruled that, the

merger having eliminated Western as a separate onerat-

ing identity, the certifications of the Western unions (in-

cluding AFA) that represented a minority of their crafts

in the merged entity were extinguished retroactively to

April 1. 7d. at 301.

On October 5, 1987, the Supreme Court granted certio-

rari in the Teamsters litigation, vacated the decision of

the Ninth Circuit, and remanded the case for that court to

consider whether it was moot. 108 S. Ct. 53 (1987).

Thereafter, the Ninth Circuit, having requested and re-

[5]

6a

ceived briefing on the issue of mootness, issued a per

curiam order dismissing that action as moot. 854 F.2d

1178 (9th Cir. 1988).

Meanwhile, Delta had moved to dismiss this appeal on

the ground that the NMB’s retroactive decertification of

AFA rendered it moot. Another panel of this court held,

on June 6, 1988, that “Appellant’s claim based on any right

of continued representation” was moot, but that it was

“not clear whether an arbitrator could award damages

for breach of the collective bargaining agreement.” Ac-

cordingly, the court denied Delta’s motion but ordered

the parties to limit their briefs to that issue. We turn

now to the question left open in our order of June 6.

II. MOOTNESS

By virtue of “the constitutional command that the

judicial power extends only to cases or controversies,” a

federal court lacks jurisdiction ever a case that has become

moot. Powell v. McCormack, 395 U.S. 486, 496 n.7

(1969). A case is moot when “the issues presented are

no longer ‘live’ or the parties lack a legally cognizable

interest in the outcome,” but as long as some issues remain

alive, “the remaining live issues supply the constitutional

requirement of a case or controversy.” Jd. at 496, 497.

Even though a claim for injunctive or declaratory relief

has been rendered moot by intervening events, which our

June 6 order indicates happened here, a claim for dam-

eges keeps the controversy alive if that claim “is not so

insubstantial or so clearly foreclosed by prior decisions

that th[e] case may not proceed.” Memphis Light, Gas &

Water Division v. Craft, 436 U.S. 1, 8-9 (1978). See also

Textile Workers Union of America v. Lincoln Mills of

Alabama, 353 U.S. 448, 459 (1957) (request for order

to arbitrate not moot because arbitrator could award

damages); Ellis v. Bretherhcod of Railway Clerks, 466

U.S. 435, 441-42 (1984). Thus, the question whether the

consummation of the merger and the decertification of

[6]

AFA rendered this case moot turns upon whether AFA

appears to state a claim upon which it could recover in

arbitration an award of damages against Western for

breach of the successorship provision in the CBA.

Delta’s principal argument is that in order to award

damages to AFA, the arbitrator would first have to find

that the CBA entitled the Union to represent Western’s

flight attendants after the merger; and that any such

finding would contravene the NMB’s determination to

decertify AFA as of the merger date, thus “encroach [ing]

upon the NMB's exclusive jurisdiction” over representa-

tion disputes. Since the NMB has already exercised its

jurisdiction with respect to the Delta-Western merger,

the argument runs, this court no longer has the power to

grant the relief that AFA seeks, viz., an order compelling

Delta to arbitrate the Union’s grievance.

Delta’s argument is framed in terms of mootness, but it

necessarily implicates the statutory question whether

AFA’s claim for damages is within the exclusive jurisdic-

tion of the NMB, since if it is not, the predicate under-

lving Delta’s argument would fail. Although that ques-

tion could plausibly be resolved on mootness grounds, we

think it is more properly addressed in terms of the district

court's subject matter jurisdiction over the damage aspect

of this ease. Cf. Marshall v. Local Union No. 639, Int'l

Brotherhood of Teamsters, 593 F.2d 1297, 1301 n.16 (D.C.

Cir. 1979) ‘court may decide issue of subject matter

jurisdiction where both jurisdiction and mootness ques-

tions are raised and where “the two are partially inter-

locked’:. As set forth in Part III below, we conclude

that the district court has jurisdiction over AFA’s damage

claim.

Delta argues in the alternative that even if the district

court has jurisdiction, AFA cannot possibly demonstrate

a claim for damages because (1) at all times prior to

April 1, Western properly recognized AFA under the

[7]

8a

terms of the CBA; and (2) the NMB’s decertification of

AFA divested it of any right it may have had to enforce

its agreement with Western after that date. Delta also

argues, in a similar vein, that even if the successorship

clause of the CBA required Western to bind Delta to that

agreement, Delta’s voluntary recognition of AFA would,

by virtue of the NMB’s retroactive decertification of AFA,

be ‘superseded and rendered ineffective at the very

moment it was supposed to become effective upon the

merger.”

Neither of these arguments is entirely responsive to the

issue. AFA does not now dispute that the NMB’s de-

certification order deprived it of any right to represent

Western employees beyond the April 1 merger date, and

this court has already held that any claim seeking to

assert such a right would be moot. That AFA no longer

has the right to specific enforcement of the successorship

clause, however, simply does not answer the question

whether Delta is answerable in damages for Western’s

alleged pre-merger breach of that clause. (Delta does not

dispute that, as a general rule, grievances arising before

expiration of a CBA survive and continue to be governed

by its terms. See Elgin, Joliet & Eastern Railway Co. v.

Burley, 325 U.S. 711 (1945). Cf. Nolde Brothers, Inc. v.

Local No. 858, Bakery & Confectionery Workers Union,

430 U.S. 243, 250-52 (1977) (same under NLRA)).

Assuming, as we must in this context, that Western

was obliged by the successorship clause to bind any

merger partner to the CBA, an arbitrator might find

that Western was required to structure the merger

so as to preserve itself as a separate operating

entity. In that event, the arbitrator might also find that

the NMB’s determination to extinguish AFA’s certifica-

tion as representative of the former Western flight at-

tendants was a foreseeable consequence of Western’s

breach, and that the carrier is liable to AFA for its

(8)

9a

contract damages. The situation would be no different

analytically if the CBA had expressly provided for a

sum of liquidated damages in the event that Western

breached the successorship clause. Neither of Delta’s

theories explains why the arbitrator could not award

relief in the form of damages based upon such a breach.

Delta points out that the Ninth Circuit held that the

Teamsters litigation was moot, 854 F.2d at 1178, even

though the plaintiff unions there argued, as does AFA

here, that even if their claims for injunctive and declara-

tory relief were moot, an arbitrator could still award

damages for breach of the successorship clauses in their

CBA’s.

The argument was indeed made in the briefs before the

Ninth Circuit, yet in its per curiam order dismissing the

Teamsters actions, the court made no mention of it. In-

deed, the court characterized the relief requested as

merely “an order compelling Western to arbitrate and an

injunction prohibiting the merger,” and concluded that in

light of the intervening consummation of the Delta-

Western merger, ‘none of the relief sought in the original

complaint is now available.” Jd. Were the Ninth Circuit

decision binding precedent in this circuit, it might give

us greater cause for concern, since its judgment neces-

sarily, if implicitly, rejected all of the arguments that

the unions made. Because the court did not explain why

it rejected the unions’ argument that their damage claim

was live, however, its decision adds no persuasive force

to the arguments already advanced by Delta in this action.

For the reasons given above, we conclude that AFA'’s

damage claim is not “so insubstantial or so clearly fore

closed by prior decisions that th[e] case may not proceed,”

Memphis Light, 436 U.S. at 8-9, and turn to the question

of the district court’s subject matter jurisdiction over that

claim.

(9]

10a

III. JURISDICTION

Section 2, Fourth of the RLA, which establishes the

right of covered employees to bargain collectively, also

provides that “the majority of any craft or class of em-

plovees shall have the right to determine who shall be the

representative of the craft or class.” 45 U.S.C. § 152,

Fourth. Section 2, Ninth of the Act provides:

If any dispute shall arise among a carrier’s em-

plovees as to who are the representatives of such

employees ..., it shall be the duty of the Mediation

Board, upon request of either party to the dispute, to

investigate such dispute and to certify to both parties,

in writing, the name or names of the individuals or

organizations that have been designated and author-

ized to represent the employees involved in the dis-

pute, and certify the same to the carrier.

45 U.S.C. § 152, Ninth. Section 2, Ninth further pro-

vides that upon receipt of a certification from the RLA,

“the carrier shall treat with the representative so certi-

fied as the representative of the craft or class for the

purposes of this chapter.” Jd.

In Switchmen’s Union v. National Mediation Board,

320 U.S. 297 (1943), the Supreme Court held that the

NMB’s power to resolve “any dispute... among a car-

rier’s employees as to who are the representatives of such

emplovees” is exclusive. 7d. at 303. The right of a

majority of the employees to choose the bargaining repre-

sentative is protected by the NMB’s certification powe.

under §2, Ninth, to the exclusion of any concurrent

judicial protection. Jd. at 301.

In reaching this conclusion, the Court looked to the

structure and legislative history of the RLA, and there

found that Congress has consistently expressed a strong

preference for “conciliation, mediation, and arbitration,”

providing judicial remedies only in specific narrow cir-

cumstances. Jd. at 302. Against that background, the

[10]

lla

Court concluded that “Congress intended to go no further

in its use of the processes of adjudication and litigation

than the express provisions of the Act indicate.” Jd. The

Court further noted that Congress intended the NMB

finally to resolve “jurisdictional disputes between unions,”

and concluded that “if Congress had desired to implicate

the federal judiciary and to place on the federal courts

the burden of having the final say on any aspect of the

problem, it would have made its desire plain.” Jd. at 303.

The Court then found that a district court has no

power either to review the NMB’s certification of a repre-

sentative, or to make such a certification itself, but that

it does have the power, which the Board itself lacks, to

enforce the NMB’s certification:

The Mediation Board makes no “order.” And its

only ultimate finding of fact is the certificate. The

function of the Board under § 2, Ninth is more the

function of a referee. To this decision of the referee

Congress has added a command enforcible by judicial

decree.

Id. at 304.

The Court’s opinion in Switchmen’s Union leaves open

two questions central to this dispute. First, apart from a

challenge by one union to the merits of the NMB’s

certification of another union, such as that case presented,

what types of claims constitute “jurisdictional disputes”

and are thus within the NMB’s jurisdiction? Second,

may a party laying claim to a remedy that the NMB

cannot give seek relief elsewhere, either through court-

ordered arbitration, or in the district court itself?

The Court suggested an answer to the second question

in General Committee of Adjustment v. Missouri-Kansas-

Texas Railroad Co., 320 U.S. 297 (1943) (M-K-T), a

companion case to Switchmen’s Union involving a dispute

between two unions, representing separate crafts of loco-

motive employees, over the correct system for handling

[11]

12a

cross-assignments and promotions from one craft to an-

other. Although the precise question presented in M-K-T,

as in Switchmen’s Union, was whether a court could hear

a representation dispute between two unions, the Court

strongly suggested that arbitration is available for the

pursuit of a remedy unavailable from the NMB.

The Court again noted that in enacting the RLA, Con-

gress “entrusted large segments of this field to the volun-

tary process of conciliation, mediation, and arbitration,”

while singling out only certain disputes, such as those

covered by § 2, Ninth, for resolution by the NMB (aided

by judicial enforcement of any certification so obtained).

320 U.S. at 332. The Court then conecludued that a juris-

dictional dispute was not properly brought into court if,

although not within the jurisdiction of the NMB, it could

be resolved through arbitration:

However wide may be the range of jurisdictional]

disputes embraced within § 2, Ninth, Congress did

not select the courts to resolve them. To the con-

trary, it fashioned an administrative remedy and

left that group of disputes to the National Media-

tion Board. If the present dispute falls within § 2,

Ninth, the administrative remedy is exclusive. If a

narrower view of $2, Ninth is taken .. ., the con-

clusion is irresistible that Congress carved out of the

field of conciliation, mediation and arbitration only

the select list of problems which it was ready to place

in the adjudicatory channel. All else it left to those

voluntary processes whose use Congress had long en-

couraged to protect these arteries of interstate com-

merce from industrial strife.

Id. at 336-37. The Court emphasized that whatever the

proper scope of the NMB’s jurisdiction, “[bleyond the

mediation machinery furnished by the Board lies arbitra-

tion.” Id. at 332.

Switchmen’s Union and M-K-T lay down several prin-

ciples relevant to the present dispute. First, the Court

[12]

13a

made it perfectly clear in both cases that only the NMB

may certify an employee representative. Second, the

Court in Switchmen’s Union suggested that the scope of

the NMB’s power under § 2, Ninth, is narrowly limited

to determining the representative and issuing its certifi-

cate. Finally, the Court’s analysis in M-K-T strongly

suggests that if a dispute is not governed by § 2, Ninth

it is not precluded, but rather may be pursued through

the voluntary processes, such as arbitration, that Congress

made the norm.

These principles do not resolve, but they do inform,

our resolution of the precise issues before us, which are:

(1) whether AFA’s remaining claim raises a “dispute

. as to who are the representatives of [Western’s]

employees” within the meaning of § 2, Ninth of the RLA:;

and (2) assuming this action is not technically within

the NMB’s jurisdiction, whether the relief sought by

AFA is nonetheless precluded on the ground that the

complaint raises—as Delta calls them—‘“representation

issues.”

A. Jurisdictional disputes

All of the courts of appeals to have considered the issue

(as this court has not) have held that the question

whether a union’s certification survives an airline merger

is a matter within the exclusive jurisdiction of the NMB.

See International Ass’n of Machinists v. Northeast Air-

lines, Inc., 536 F.2d 975, 977 (1st Cir. 1976); Air Line

Pilots Ass’n v. Texas Int'l Airlines, Inc., 656 F.2d 16,

23-24 (2d Cir. 1981) ; International Brotherhood of Team-

sters v. Texas Int'l Airlines, Inc., 717 F.2d 157, 159 (Sth

Cir. 1983); Brotherhood of Ry. Clerks v. United Air

Lines, Inc., 325 F.2d 576, 579-80 (6th Cir. 1963); Air

Line Employees Ass’n v. Republic Airlines, Inc., 798 F.2d

967, 968-69 (7th Cir. 1986). The result is no different if

the union frames its action as a contract dispute arising

from a successorship clause in a CBA. A claim seeking

[13]

l4a

either specific performance of such a clause or a declara-

tion that it is binding is nonjusticiable because the relief

sought is, in effect, a certification within the meaning of

§ 2, Ninth; and as such, it is within the exclusive com-

petence of the NMB. See, e.g., Brotherhood of Ry. Clerks,

325 F.2d at 579-80. See also Texas Int’l Airlines, 717

F.2d at 162 (“The form of the complaint [does] not con-

trol, for the substance of the dispute in fact involve[s] the

question of representation of the employees.”) ; Brother-

hood of Ry. Clerks, 325 F.2d at 579 (“Even though an

action is brought as one sounding in contract the courts

have no jurisdiction ‘where “validity” of the contract

depends upon the merits of a representation dispute.’ ’’)

(citation omitted).

The principle that 4 court lacks power to declare, even in

an action framed so as to sound in contract, whether

a union may continue to represent employees in the post-

merger context, is supported, if not compelled, by the

Supreme Court’s analysis in General Committee of Ad-

justment v. Southern Pacific Co., 320 U.S. 338 (1943).

There one of the carrier’s unions sought a declaratory

judgment invalidating a CBA insofar as it purported to

designate another union as the representative of certain

employees. The Court held that the action, though framed

as a dispute over the validity of the CBA, was in sub-

stance a “jurisdictional dispute,” since it “raise[d] the

question whether one collective bargaining agent or the

other is the proper representative for the presentation

of certain claims to the employer.” Jd. at 343. Seeing

“no reason for differentiating this jurisdictional dispute

from [those involved in Switchmen’s Union and M-K-T],”

the Court held that it fell within the exclusive jurisdiction

of the NMB. Id. at 343-44.

Application of the Southern Pacific principle to an ac-

tion seeking either injunctive or declaratory relief with

respect to the successorship clause of a CBA clearly ad-

vances the policies underlying the RLA, as implemented

[14]

15a

by the NMB. Congress entrusted the NMB with ex-

clusive power to resolve representation disputes between

unions because of the inherent divisiveness of such dis-

putes and the strong interest of the parties in nonetheless

“get([ting}] the matter settled.” Switchmen’s Union, 320

U.S. at 303.

The NMB has in turn adopted the rule that when two

or more airlines merge their operations, the certificate of

any union representing only a minority of the relevant

employees of the merged carrier is extinguished, to be

replaced by whatever new certificate the NMB may grant

with respect to representation of the employees of the

merged entity as a whole. Republic Airlines, Inc. and

Hughes Air Corp., 8 N.M.B. 49, 54-55 (1980). As Judge

Rubin of the Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

explained in the context of a merger between a unionized

airline and a non-union airline, post-merger judicial en-

forcement of any provision of a pre-merger CBA would

undermine the NMB’s rule, because it would necessarily

entail the union’s continued representation of its former

constituents, regardless of whether they constitute a ma-

jority of their class in the merged enterprise; as a result,

some employees could be represented while others in the

same class would not be. Texas Jnt’l Airlines, 717 F.2d

at 163. For a court even to “grant injunctive relief main-

taining the staus quo if the underlying dispute is repre-

sentational in nature’ would be problematic, the court

observed, ‘because to do so would necessarily have the

effect, at least during the period of the injunction, of

deciding the representational issue.” Jd. at 161. The

court therefore inferred “a congressional intent to allow

{the NMB)] alone to consider the post-merger problems

that arise from existing collective bargaining agreements.”

Id. at 164.

Relying on the cases canvassed above, Delta argues that

AFA’s claim raises a representation dispute under § 2,

Ninth, and that as a result “[a}ny order of this Court

[15]

16a

or any award of an arbitrator in AFA’s favor in this

dispute inevitably would invade the NMB’s exclusive juris-

diction over representation issues and exceed the Court’s

or the arbitrator’s jurisdiction.” Delta’s conclusion is not

compelled by the cited cases, however, since in each one

(with a single exception discussed more fully below), the

union sought not damages, but rather a declaration or

an injunction that would have given it an ongoing right

of representation—truly the functional equivalent of the

certificate that the NMB alone can issue. The courts

found, quite sensibly, that these nominal contract claims

were de facto claims to judicial certification of the plain-

tiff union’s representative status. To entertain such a case

would not only violate the spirit of the Supreme Court’s

teaching, it could also create a situation where, contrary

to NMB policy, employees working side by side would be

represented by different unions (or some would be repre-

sented and others not) and subject to diverse terms of

employment.

An award of damages for a past breach of contract, on

the other hand, would not have those untoward results.

First, the NMB’s policy of revoking a minority union’s

certificate as of the date of an operational merger would

not be affected if it were later determined that the carrier,

by agreeing to the terms of the merger, had breached its

CBA. The merger would not be undone; the old CBA

would not be reinstated; all employees in any one craft

would still be subject to uniform terms of employment.

Second, an award of damages would have no effect on

the NMB’s certification determination. The plaintiff

union’s pre-merger status as representative would not be

revived, nor could any factual finding by an arbi-

trator in a damage action for breach of the CBA either

overturn or predetermine the NMB’s decision certifying

a post-merger representation. Finally, a damage award,

unlike prospective relief, would not cause any confusion

as to which union is the proper post-merger representative.

[16]

l7a

The NMB would make that determination as usual; the

employees would continue to be represented by the sole

representative it has certified; and any failure on the part

of the employer to “treat with” the certified representa-

tive would be remediable in federal court, regardless of

any determination that the arbitrator might make in the

course of deciding the damage case.

Delta points, however, to Justice O’Connor’s opinion

staying the injunction in the Teamsters litigation, and

notes that although there was a damage issue in that case,

Justice O'Connor nonetheless looked to the “great weight

of the case law” holding that “disputes as to the effect of

collective-bargaining agreements on representation in an

airline merger situation are representation disputes

within the exclusive jurisdiction of the National Media-

tion Board.” 480 U.S. at 1805. Delta would have us read

Justice O’Connor’s opinion as standing for the unqualified

proposition that (in the carrier’s words) all “disputes

over labor contract successorship clauses are within [the]

NMB’s jurisdiction.”

We do not read Justice O’Connor’s opinion so broadly,

however. The only issue before the Justice was the pro-

priety of the Ninth Circuit’s order enjoining the merger

pending the outcome of arbitration. In that posture, the

case warranted her expedited attention only because of

the disruptive effect of the injunction; her opinion focuses

accordingly on the nature and consequences of the emer-

gency relief that the unions sought. For example, the

opinion notes, quoting Judge Rubin in Texas /nt’l Air-

lines, 717 F.2d at 161, 164, that even a status quo injunc-

tion “would necessarily have the effect, at least during

the period of the injunction, of deciding the representa-

tional issue,” and that Congress intended the NMB “alone

to consider the post-merger problems that arise from exist-

ing collective bargaining agreements.” 480 U.S. at 1306.

Although the opinion comments favorably upon the deci-

sion of the district court in the case now before us, that

[17]

18a

decision had given no hint of a damage claim lurking

behind the injunction then of immediate concern, and

Justice O’Connor’s opinion therefore understandably de-

scribes AFA’s complaint only as one “seeking an order

compelling Western to submit to arbitration .. . and en-

joining the merger pending completion of [arbitral] pro-

ceedings.” Jd. at 1306-07. It is thus plain enough that

Justice O’Connor was addressing only the issue directly

before her, and had no occasion to consider, much less to

rule upon, the question whether a claim for damages

might survive a merger after her order staying the

injunction.

As this case currently stands, it simply does not raise

the concerns set forth in Justice O’Connor’s opinion.

AFA’s claims for injunctive relief are now moot, and no

resolution of the remaining damage claim could have anv

effect upon either the Delta-Western merger or the repre-

sentation of Delta’s emplovees. This dispute is over a sum

of money: Delta has it, and AFA wants it; no other

person, and no transaction, is affected by which of them

ends up with it.

We do not see here a jurisdictional dispute within § 2,

Ninth of the RLA. Neither the certification (or decerti-

fication! of a representative, nor the functional equivalent

thereof, nor anything even remotely akin thereto, is at

stake. Thus, we turn to the only other issue that Delta

seeks to interpose between AFA and its demand to arbi-

trate its damage claim, viz., whether, even in the absence

of a jurisdictional dispute, § 2, Ninth by implication bars

arbitration of any dispute that raises a “representation

issue.” We now turn to that question.

B. Representation issues

Delta’s argument proceeds from the premise that

“lw]hen a representation issue is shown to exist in the

course of other legal proceedings, the court immediately

must dismiss the legal action and require the parties to

[18]

19a

proceed, if at all, before the NMB.” From that Delta

reasons that because AFA’s complaint raises “issues” of

representation, neither the district court nor an arbitrator

may hear it; even if it does not raise a true “juris-

dictional dispute,” that is, “Dismissal is required even

if the union’s complaint arguably raises issues of contract

interpretation intertwined with the representation dis-

pute.” As we understand this argiment, it encompasses

two alternative legal theories. The first is that any case

raising an “issue” of representation, no matter what form

of relief it seeks, can be resolved only by the NMB. The

second is that, if the NMB lacks jurisdiction to entertain

a claim in which a representation issue is raised, then

there is simply no remedy available because the RLA bars

any other tribunal from deciding the representational

issue.

Delta’s first theory is premised, as an initial matter,

upon AFA’s complaint raising an issue of representation.

According to Delta: (1) For AFA to prevail on its claim

for damages, the arbitrator would have to find that the

successorship clause conferred some right upon AFA, and

that (2) had that right been honored, AFA would still

be representing the Western flight attendants. Thus, (3)

the arbitrator, in order to uphold AFA’s claim, would

have to resolve an issue of representation—which, as we

have seen, Delta claims may be decided only by the NMB.

Assuming arguendo that AFA’s claim, although not a

jurisdictiona! dispute, raises an issue of representation,

we do not find Delta’s argument persuasive. First, Delta

does not maintain that NMB, under § 2, Ninth, can

award damages for breach of a CBA or otherwise; as the

Supreme Court made clear in Switchmen’s Union, the

powers granted to the NMB under that section are quite

narrow. 820 U.S. at 304. In effect, then, Delta urges

upon us, or so it seems, the anomalous result that the

NMB has exclusive jurisdiction_over a claim as to which

it has no power to grant a remedy.

[19]

20a

Second, we question whether (at least in the absence

of a clear statutory allocation of competence) any adjudi-

catory tribunal can have exclusive jurisdiction over an

issue, as opposed to a type of claim or a remedy. Vir-

tually any issue may arise in a variety of different con-

texts. As a general rule, whether a case is within the

exclusive jurisdiction of an expert tribuna! depends upon

the nature not of the issues that may have to be decided,

but of the substantive cause of action. See Laborers

Health and Welfare Trust Fund v. Advanced Lightweight

Concrete Co., Inc., 108 S. Ct. 880, 832-33 (1988) /‘not-

withstanding NLRB’s exclusive jurisdiction over labor law

matters, “federal courts may decide labor law questions

that emerge as collateral issues in suits brought under

independent federal remedies”) (quoting Connel! Con-

struction Co., Inc. v. Plumbers & Steamfitters Local Union

No. 100, 421 U.S. 616, 626 (19751); Pan American

Petroleum Corp. v. Superior Court of Delaware, 366 U.S.

656, 662-66 (1961! (FPC’s exclusive jurisdiction does not

extend to state contract action seeking recovery of over-

charges merely because the action calls for a determina-

tion of the validity of rates under the Natural Gas Act) ;

Great Northern Ry. Co. v. Merchants Elevator Co.,

259 U.S. 285, 290-91 (1921) (notwithstanding ICC’s ex-

clusive jurisdiction to determine rates, “the attainment of

uniformity does not require that in every case where the

construction of a tariff is in dispute, there shall be a

vreliminary resort to the Commission.”). Cf. Pratt v.

Paris Gas Liaht & Coke Co., 168 U.S. 255, 259 (1897)

(“Section 711 [conferring on the federal courts exclusive

jurisdiction over patent disputes] does not deprive the

state courts of the power to determine questions arising

under the patent laws, but enly of assuming jurisdiction

of ‘cases’ arising under those laws.”) (emphases in orig-

inal).

To illustrate, suppose that a newspaper published an

article stating that AFA, as the certified representative

[20]

2la

of Western’s employees, had by racial discrimination vio-

lated its duty of fair representation, even though the pub-

lisher knew that in reality, AFA did not represent any

Western employees. In the ensuing libel action, the issue

would necessarily arise—since AFA would have to show

that the published statements were false—whether AFA

was or was not the employees’ representative. Under

Delta’s first theory, the presence of the “representation

issue’ would mean that the NMB would have to hear the

suit. In addition to being inconsistent with the limited

role Congress envisioned for that tribunal, Switchmen’s

Unien, 320 U.S. at 304, the result is obviously absurd.

To the extent Delta suggests that every case that merely

entails an issue of representation must be brought before

the NMB, then, that argument plainly proves too much.

In support of its argument, Delta points to the Second

Circuit’s decision in Air Line Pilots, the only case we

have found in which a court specifically noted a union’s

claim for damages, 656 F.2d at 17, yet required dismissal

of the action on the authority of Switchmen’s Union. The

case is not on point, however, because the union there

was seeking a judicial award. of damages, not an order

compelling arbitral resolution of its money claim. As we

read Air Line Pilots, the court did not hold, as Delta

suggests, that there is a “jurisdictional dispute” within

the exclusive province of the NMB wherever an “issue”

of representation appears; rather, the court merely held

that to the extent a damage action for breach of a CBA

may fall outside the jurisdiction of the NMB, the general

principle of judicial noninterference in labor disputes bars

the court from itself entertaining the claim.

We may assume that Congress could grant a tribunal

exclusive authority to pass upon a particular issue of

federal law (though Delta has pointed to no instance in

which it has done so); still, we find no evidence that

Congress intended to do that here. In support of its

theory, Delta does cite to statements in several cases

[21]

22a

where the courts, faced with that clearly were jurisdic-

tional disputes within the scope of § 2, Ninth, described

the scope of the NMB’s exclusive jurisdiction somewhat

expansively, that is, without distinguishing between “ju-

risdictional disputes” and “representation issues.” Sce,

e.g., Texas Int'l Airlines, 717 F.2d at 161, 162. We re-

iterate, however, that the relief sought in those cases

Was either the functional equivalent of certification by

the NMB, see id. at 158 (union’s complaint would require

the court to “determin{e] who represents the hitherto

covered employees after the merger’’), or a judicial award

of damages that appeared to be inconsistent with the

background of “conciliation, mediation, and arbitration”

emphasized by the Court in M-K-T, 320 U.S. at 332, sec

Air Line Pilots Ass’n, 656 F.2d at 17. and with the

“narrow role of the courts in enforcing the RLA,” id at

24. In the absence of some specific indication that the

legislature intended that all issues arguably related to

representation must be decided by the NMB, we cannot

conclude that Congress vested in a body with such limited

powers exclusive jurisdiction over a potentially broad

range of disputes that may only tangentially raise issues

within its competence.

We turn then to Delta’s second theory, that even if the

NMB cannot entertain a particular claim for relief in

which a representation issue has arisen, the presence of

that issue precludes any other authority from passing

upon it, with the result that no remedy is available any-

Where. Under this theory, the statutory provision for

certification exclusively by the NMB has a preclusive

effect, and any clause in a CBA, such as a successorship

clause, the interpretation of which would require an

arbitrator to make a finding on a representation issue,

would simply be unenforceable and of no effect.

Due respect for privately bargained outcomes cautions

against that result, unless some important public policy

[22]

23a

would otherwise be compromised. Delta has pointed us

only to the policies underlying Congress’s delegation to

the NMB of exclusive jurisdiction to determine who will

represent employees in a post-merger setting. Although

those policies do support the rule that a successorship

clause cannot be specifically enforced, they simply do not

require that an award of damages for breach of such a

clause be barred. The most that can be said in support

of Delta’s position is that if a carrier were liable in dam-

ages for breach of the successorship clause in its CBA,

it might forego entering into an otherwise desirable

merger.

Delta has pointed us to nothing in the language, the

legislative history, or even the spirt of the RLA to sug-

gest that Congress, in vesting the NMB with exclusive

jurisdiction over jurisdictional disputes, intended to re-

move barriers to economically efficient merger activity on

the part of airline carriers. Cf. 49 U.S.C. § 11341/a)

(exempting railroad mergers from, inter alia, the anti-

trust laws). In the absence of such an indication, we

decline to hold, in the context of the threshold jurisdic-

tiona] issue now before us, that a bargained-for successor-

ship clause creates no legal rights or duties whatsoever.

Whether the successorship clause in this case creates any

legal obligations is, of course, a matter within the province

of the arbitrator.

IV. CONCLUSION

This damage action is not a jurisdictional dispute

within the NMB’s exclusive jurisdiction under § 2,

Ninth, of the RLA. At most, it may raise what Delta

calls a “representation issue.” In light of the Supreme

Court’s emphasis in M-K-T on the background availability

of arbitration for disputes not within the purview of & 2,

Ninth, however, we do not think it is non-arbitrable

merely because that issue arises, because its resolution in

arbitration would not interfere, as a practical matter,

[23]

24a

with the NMB’s certification function. We therefore con-

clude that § 2, Ninth of the RLA does not divest the

district court of jurisdiction to order arbitration of AFA’s

claim for damages.

For all the foregoing reasons, the order of the district

court dismissing the action is reversed, and the action is

remanded for further proceedings.

It is so ordered.

—S

25a

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

September Term, 1987

CA 87-00040

No. 87-7040

Association of Flight Attendants, AFL-CIO,

Appellant

v.

Western Airlines, Inc.

BEFORE: Silberman, D.H. Ginsburg, and Sentelle, Circuit

Judges

Upon consideration of Defendant/Appellee’s Motion to

Dismiss for Mootness and Appellant’s opposition thereto,

it 1s

ORDERED by the court that Defendant/Appellee’s Mo-

tion to Dismiss for Mootness be denied. Although Appel-

lant’s claim based on any right of continued representation

is moot, it is not clear whether an arbitrator could award

damages for breach of the collective bargaining agreement.

It is

FURTHER ORDERED that the parties limit their briefs

to the issue of whether an arbitrator could award damages

to Appellant if the arbitracor finds that Appeilee breached

the collective bargaining agreement.

United States Court of Appeals

For the District of Columbia Circuit

FILED JUN 06 1988

CONSTANCE L. DUPRE

CLERK

Per Curiam

| EE Se

26a

+

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

September Term, 1986

No. 87-7040

ASSOCIATION OF FLIGHT ATTENDANTS, AFL-CIO,

Appellant,

V.

WESTERN AIRLINES, INC.

BEFORE: Mikva, Buckley and D.H. Ginsburg, Circuit

Judges

FILED MAR 31 1987

ORDER

Upon consideration of Appellant’s Emergency Motion

for Injunction To Compel Arbitration Pending Appeal and

the Opposition and Response thereto and of Appellee’s

Emergency Motion For Expedited Appeal And Decision

Before April 1, 1987, it is

ORDERED by the court that Appellant’s motion to com-

pel arbitration be denied. It is

FURTHER ORDERED by the court that Appellee’s mo-

tion to expedite be denied.

27a

APPENDIX D

[1] ASSOCIATION OF FLIGHT

ATTENDANTS, AFL-CIO,

Plaintiff,

v.

WESTERN AIRLINES, INC.,

Defendant.

Civ. A. No. 87-0040.

United States District Court,

District of Columbia.

Feb. 20, 1987.

Deborah Greenfield, Stephen Crable, for plaintiff.

William J. Kilberg, Baruch A. Fellner, Washington, D.C.,

Scott A. Kruse, Los Angeles, Cal., for defendant.

MEMORANDUM

GESELL, District Judge.

This is a labor dispute which has arisen under the Rail-

way Labor Act, 45 U.S.C. §151 to 188 (1982) (““RLA”’).

It comes before the Court on plaintiff union’s (‘‘AFA’’)

verified complaint and dispositive cross-motions. Defendant

Western Air Lines, Inc. is scheduled to merge with Delta

Air Lines, Inc. on April 1, 1987. Western's employees are

represented by several different unions according to craft,

including AFA. Delta is a non-union carrier. AFA claims

that Western has breached its 1984 collective bargaining

agreement with AFA by failing to bind Delta to the terms

of that agreement.

Facts

There are no material facts in dispute.

I ss taaieeeieneenenetill

28a

(1) On September 9, 1986, Western and Delta entered

into an Agreement and Plan of Merger.

(2) On October 21, 1986, AFA filed a grievance over

Western’s failure to bind Delta to the 1984 collective bar-

gaining agreement.

(3) On November 19, 1986, Western denied the griev-

ance.

(4) On November 26, 1986, AFA submitted the dispute

to Western’s System Board of Adjustment pursuant to

Section 24 of the collective bargaining agreement, and

Western refused to arbitrate. Section 24(D), established

under 45 U.S.C. § 184 of the RLA, provides for jurisdiction

in the System Board over disputes ‘‘growing out of griev-

ances or out of interpretation of application of any of the

terms of the” collective bargaining agreement but ‘‘shall

not extend to change in hours of employment, rates of

compensation or working conditions....”’

(5) On December 11, 1986,_ the U.S. Department of

Transportation gave final approval to the Agreement and

Plan of Merger under the Federal Aviation Act.

(6) On December 18, 1986, as the first step looking to-

ward merger, Delta acquired [2] 100% control of Western

and became its parent.

(7) On January 8, 1987, AFA filed its complaint with

this Court. Western’s motion to transfer the case to the

U.S. District Court for the Middle District of California’

was denied on January 20, 1987, and the motions now

before the Court were promptly filed and opposed.

(8) In Section 5.9 of the Agreement and Plan of Merger,

Delta and Western agreed that Western would continue

to honor its 1984 collective bargaining agreement with

‘ Unions certified as representing Western employees engaged in other

crafts are raising comparable issues there.

29a

AFA while it was a separate company under Delta’s con-

trol. This has been done and there is no claim to the

contrary. No layoffs are contemplated, either before or

after the merger. If Western merges as planned into Delta

on April 1, 1987, all Western flight attendants presently

represented by AFA will become employees of Delta, sup-

plementing and combining with Delta’s much larger com-

plement of flight attendants. Significantly higher wages

and benefits will be paid flight attendants now represented

by AFA when they are Delta employees but, of course,

they will be subject to Delta’s own procedures, policies

and rules governing fliyht attendants.’

(9) AFA’s 1984 collective bargaining agreement with

Western stated in Section 1(C):

This Agreement shall be binding on any successor or

merged Company or Companies, or any successor in the

control of the Company, its parent(s) or subsidiary(ies) un-

til changed in accordance with the provisions of the Rail-

way Labor Act, as amended. (Emphasis added.)

The Contentions of the Parties

If the merger occurs on April 1, 1987, AFA’s certifi-

cation as the bargaining representative for flight attend-

ants formerly employed by Western who become Delta

employees will automatically be extinguished pursuant to

the National Mediation Board’s established policy.*

‘In addition, Delta has voluntarily provided significant labor protec-

tive commitments to the Western flight attendants.

’ Where two airlines are merged to form a single transportation sys-

tem the National Mediation Board, to promote stable labor relations

and remove problems of uneven representation, redundancy and con-

fusion, considers the certification of all unions representing the em-

ployees of the acquired airline as extinguished on the date of integration.

See Northwest Airlines, Inc., 13 N.M.B. 399, 400-01 (1986); Republic

Airlines, Inc., 8 N.M.B. 49, 54-56 (1980). See also Air Line Employees

Assoc., Int'l v. Republic Airlines, Inc., 798 F.2d 967, 968-69 n. 4 (7th

30a

Characterizing the controversy as simply a “‘minor’’ dis-

pute involving the proper interpretation of Section 1(C)*

and therefore appropriate for resolution by Western’s Sys-

tem Board of Adjustment, AFA contends that Section 1(C)

does not allow its collective bargaining agreement to be

extinguished, but rather requires Western ‘‘to bind any

successor or parent to that Agreement,’ by providing as

a condition to merger that after the merger takes place

Delta accept and be bound by the terms of AFA’s 1984

collectively bargained agreement with Western. AFA

seeks an order from this Court directing Western to sub-

mit the issue to the System Board of Adjustment and asks

the Court thereafter to retain jurisdiction to enforce com-

pliance with any award the System Board makes against

Western. If a prompt award is not made the Court is

further requested to preserve the status quo by preventing

the merger pending completion of proceedings before the

System Board.

Western contends that the 1984 collective bargaining

agreement is subject to change in accordance with re-

quirements of the RLA as paragraph 1(C) states, noting

that by operation of the RLA AFA’s certifica- [3] tion as

the bargaining representative of Western employees must

dissolve with the merger. It also contends that a funda-

mental question of post-merger representation is pre-

sented, and that since issues of representation are current

and directly involved the System Board lacks jurisdiction

under the RLA and the issues fall under the exclusive

jurisdiction of the National Mediation Board.

Cir.1986), cert. denied, US. , 107 S.Ct 458, 93 L.Ed.2d 404

(1986); International Bhd. of Teamsters v. Texas Int'l Airlines, Inc.,

717 F.2d 157, 163 (5th Cir.1983).

‘See Elgin, J. & E. Ry. v. Burley, 325 U.S. 711, 723-25, 65 S.Ct.

1282, 1289-1290, 89 L.Ed. 1886 (1945).

> Complaint, q 17.

* Complaint, q 18.

3la

Discussion

The situation presented by these conflicting positions is

not one of first impression. Other federal courts have con-

fronted similar labor disputes and their consistent recog-

nition of the primary role of the National Mediation Board

in resolving questions of representation has governed. Pur-

suant to the RLA, 45 U.S.C. §§ 155, 181 and 183, Con-

gress has clearly relegated all cases involving the

representation of airline employees for collective bargain-

ing purposes to the exclusive jurisdiction of the National

Mediation Board. See General Committee of Adjustment v.

Missourt-K.-T. Ry., 320 U.S. 323, 335-38, 64 S.Ct. 146,

151-53, 88 L.Ed. 76 (1943); Switchmen’s Union v. National

Mediation Board, 320 U.S. 297, 303-07, 64 S.Ct. 95, 98-

100, 88 L.Ed. 61 (1948); International Brotherhood of

Teamsters v. Texas International Airlines, Inc., 717 F.2d

157, 161-62 (5th Cir.1983); Air Line Pilots Association v.

Teras International Airlines, Inc., 656 F.2d 16, 22-24 (2d

Cir.1981). See also 9 T. Kheel, Labor Law § 50.07(2] (1986).

Where both representational issues and ‘“‘minor’’ dis-

putes which arguably may not involve representational is-

sues are involved in a single dispute, it is not the role of

a court to attempt to define such minor issues and require

they be segregated for evaluation by the System Board.

As a practical matter the issues inevitably overlap, and

any attempt to divide jurisdiction between the System

Board and the National Mediation Board would defeat the

purposes of the RLA.’ This is particularly true in merger

situations where representational issues inevitably arise and

it is ‘‘impossible to look only to the existence of a collective

* See International Bhd. of Teamsters, supra, 717 F.2d at 164 (‘‘Given

the [National] Mediation Board’s undeniable sole jurisdiction over rep-

resentation matters, we infer from the practical problems of divided

jurisdiction a congressional intention to allow that agency alone to

consider the post-merger problems that arise from existing collective

bargaining agreements’).

32a

bargaining agreement and to isolate it from the other op-

erational and representational matters.’”’ International

Brotherhood of Teamsters, supra, 717 F.2d at 163. Thus,

in cases presenting union challenges to airline mergers,

“(wJhere a representation dispute appears on the face of

the complaint .. . the court is bound to dismiss the action.”’

Air Line Pilots Association, International, supra 656 F.2d

at 24 (citing Ruby v. American Airlines, Inc., 323 F.2d

248 (2d Cir.1963) (Friendly, J.), cert. denied, 376 U.S. 9138,

84 S.Ct. 658, 11 L.Ed.2d 611 (1964)).

There can be no question that the issue of post-merger

representation is presented by this dispute. AFA itself

recognized in its memorandum in support of summary

judgment that a System Board arbitrator might bind Delta

to the 1984 agreement “‘if it wants to proceed with an

operational merger,’’ or might otherwise take action that

would require Delta, a non-party to the 1984 agreement,

to set Western’s flight attendants apart from Delta's flight

attendants regardless of operational requirements.®

For AFA to characterize this as a minor dispute wholly

within the province of the System Board ignores the real-

ity of the situation and constitutes an attempt to circum-

vent procedures clearly mandated by Congress for

resolution of disputes by the National Mediation Board

under the RLA. See, e.g., Air Line Employees Association,

International v. Republic Airlines, Inc., 798 F.2d 967, 968-

69 (7th Cir.1986) (per curiam), cert. denied, —— USS.

__., 107 S.Ct. 458, 98 L.Ed.2d 404 (1986); International

Brotherhood of Teamsters, supra, 717 F.2d at 160-61; Air

Line Pilots Asso- [4] ciation, International, supra, 656 F.2d

at 23-24.

Conclusion

AFA is entitled to no relief from this Court, and its

motion for summary judgment is denied. Western is

* Plaintiff's Memorandum at 25.

33a

granted summary judgment and the complaint is dismissed

with prejudice. An appropriate Order is filed herewith.

34a

APPENDIX E

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFOPNIA

Case No. CV 86-7921 JMI (Px)

FILED

FEB 13 1987

INTERNATIONAL BROTHERHOOD OF TEAMSTERS,

CHAUFFEURS, WAREHOUSEMEN AND HELPERS OF AMERICA,

et al.,

Plaintiffs,

Cr

WESTERN AIR LINES, INC., e¢ al.,

Defendants.

ORDER DENYING PLAINTIFFS’ MOTION FOR

PARTIAL SUMMARY JUDGMENT; ORDER

GRANTING DEFENDANTS’ MOTION TO DISMISS

FOR LACK OF JURISDICTION

This matter came regularly before the Honorable James

M. Ideman, United States District Judge, for considera-

tion. After full consideration of the moving and responding

papers, and the file in the case, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED

as follows:

1. Plaintiffs’ Motion for Partial Summary Judgment is

DENIED.

2. Defendants’ Motion to Dismiss for lack of jurisdiction

is GRANTED without prejudice.

It is the duty of the National Mediation Board (here-

inafter ‘‘NMB’’) to investigate all disputes regarding em-

35a

ployee representatives. 29 C.F.R. § 1203.2. In the present

case, the dispute is between the carrier (Western) and the

union (the employee representative). The Supreme Court

has held that the jurisdiction of the NMB over represen-

tation disputes under the Act is exclusive and the decisions

of the NMB are representation matters and not subject

to judicial review. Switchman’s Union v. National Media-

tion Board, 320 U.S. 297, 64 S.Ct. 95, 98-100 (1943); Gen-

eral Committee v. Missouri-Kansas-Texas Railroad, 320

U.S. 323 (1943). Federal Courts may not intervene in a

representation dispute but must disclaim jurisdiction and

leave to the NMB, the protection of the conditions nec-

essary to insure employee free choice. Texador v. Suressa,

590 F.2d 357 (1st Cir. 1978); Aircraft Fraternal Associ-

ation v. United Airlines, Inc., 406 F. Supp. 492 (N.D. Cal.

1976).

In the following cases, the Court dismissed the action

since a representation issue was raised which was within

the exclusive jurisdiction of the NMB. In Airline Employ-

ees Associations v. Republic Airlines, Inc., 798 F.2d 967,

968 (7th Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 55 U.S.L.W. 3358 (No-

vember 18, 1986), the Court held that the union’s action

for expedited arbitration of a grievance and an injunction

pending arbitration in a merger case raised representation

issues. Similarly, in Teamsters v. Texas International Air-

lines, Inc., 717 F.2d 157, 158 (5th Cir. 1983), the Court

held that an action by a union seeking a declaration that

its contract survived a merger raised an issue of repre-

sentation.

Similarly, in the present case the union’s action for an

injunction and arbitration of a grievance in a merger, raises

a representation issue. Therefore, the Court declines ju-

risdiction since representation disputes are within the ex-

clusive jurisdiction of the NMB and are not subject to

judicial review.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

36a

DATED: 13 FEB 87

JAMES M. IDEMAN

United States District Judge

37a

APPENDIX F

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

Case No. CV 86-8032 JMI (Bx)

FILED

FEB 13 1987

AIR TRANSPORT EMPLOYEES,

Plaintiffs,

V.

WESTERN AIR LINES, INC.,

Derendants.

ORDER DISMISSING THE ACTION FOR LACK OF

JURISDICTION

This matter came regularly before the Honorable James

M. Ideman, United States District Judge, for considera-

tion. After full consideration of the file in the case, IT IS

HEREBY ORDERED as follows:

1. The Court sua sponte dismisses the instant action for

lack of subject matter jurisdiction, without prejudice. The

Court finds that the present action raises a representation

issue, which is within the exclusive jurisdiction of National

Mediation Board (hereinafter ‘“NMB’’).

2. On January 21, 1987, the Court issued an Order to

Show Cause Re Dismissal, whereby the parties were in-

structed to respond to the Court’s Order on or before

January 28, 1987. However, the parties have failed to show

cause as to why the action should not be dismissed. Ac-

cordingly, the Court declines jurisdiction since represen-

tation disputes are within the exclusive jurisdiction of the

NMB and are not subject to judicial review.

38a

IT IS SO ORDERED.

DATED: 31 Feb 87

JAMES M. IDEMAN

United States District Judge

39a

APPENDIX G

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

No. A-716

WESTERN AIRLINES, INC., et al.,

Applicants,

2

IBTCWHA, LOCAL Union No. 2702, et al.

ORDER

UPON CONSIDERATION of the application of counsel for

the applicants,

IT IS ORDERED that the injunction issued by the United

States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit on March

31, 1987,-case Nos. 87-5657 and 87-5667, be, and the same

is hereby, stayed pending the timely filing and disposition

of a petition for a writ of certiorari. Should the petition

for a writ of certiorari be denied, this stay terminates

automatically. In the event the petition for a writ of

certiorari is granted, this stay shall continue pending the

sending down of the judgment of this Court.

/s/ SANDRA Day O'CONNOR

Associate Justice of the Supreme Court

of the United States

Dated this lst

day of April, 1987

40a

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

No. A-716

WESTERN AIRLINES, INC., ef al.,

Applicants,

Vv.

INTERNATIONAL BROTHERHOOD OF TEAMSTERS

AND AIR TRANSPORT EMPLOYEES

AMENDED ORDER

UPON CONSIDERATION of the application of counsel for

the applicants,

IT IS ORDERED that the injunction and order compelling

arbitration before the Systems Boards issued by the United

States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit on March

31, 1987, case Nos. 87-5657 and 87-5667, be, and the sarne

are hereby, stayed pending the timely filing and disposition

of a petition for a writ of certiorari. Should the petition

for a writ of certiorari be denied, this stay terminates

automatically. In the event the petition for a writ of

certiorari is granted, this stay shall continue pending the

sending down of the judgment of this Court.

/s/ SANDRA _D. O’CONNOR

Associate Justice of the Supreme Court

of the United States

Dated this 2nd

day of April, 1987.

4la

APPENDIX H

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

No. A-716

WESTERN AIRLINES, INC., ET AL. v. INTERNATIONAL

BROTHERHOOD OF TEAMSTERS, ET AL.

ON APPLICATION FOR STAY

Decided April 2, 1987

[1302]

JUSTICE O'CONNOR, Circuit Justice.

Applicants request that I issue a stay pending the filing

and disposition of a petition for certiorari to review the

judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Circuit.

The underlying dispute in this case involves the division

of responsibility for regulation of collective bargaining be-

tween airlines and their employees under the Railway La-

bor Act, 44 Stat. 577, 45 U.S.C. §151 et seg. The Act

defines three classes of labor disputes and establishes a

different dispute resolution procedure for each. ‘Minor’

disputes involve the application or interpretation of an ex-

isting collective-bargaining agreement. Minor disputes are

subject to arbitration by a System Board of Adjustment.

45 U.S.C. §184. While courts lack authority to interpret

the terms of a collective-bargaining agreement, a court

may compel arbitration of a minor dispute before the au-

thorized System Board.

‘““Major’’ disputes involve the formation of collective-bar-

gaining agreements, and the resolution of such disputes is

governed by §6 of the Act, 45 U.S.C. §§156, 181.

42a

‘‘Representation” disputes involve defining the bargain-

ing unit and determining the employee representative for

collective bargaining. Under §2, Ninth of the Act, the Na-

tional [1303] Mediation Board has exclusive jurisdiction

over representation disputes. 45 U.S.C. §152, 181.

Applicants, Western Airlines and Delta Air Lines, en-

tered into an agreement and plan of merger on September

9, 1986. The merger agreement was approved by the

United States Department of Transportation on December

11, 1986. On December 16, 1986, shareholder approval of

the merger was conferred and Western Airlines became

a wholly-owned subsidiary of Delta. On the morning of

April 1, 1987, the merger of Western Airlines with Delta

was scheduled to be completed. See infra, at 1308.

Respondents represented various crafts or classes of em-

ployees of Western Airlines. The Air Transport Employees

(ATE) was designated by the National Mediation Board as

the bargaining representative for a unit of Western em-

ployees consisting of clerical, office, fleet and passenger

service employees. The International Brotherhood of

Teamsters Local 2707 was the certified representative of

three crafts or classes employed by Western: mechanics

and related employees, stock clerks, and flight instructors.

Each union’s collective-bargaining agreement has a pro-

vision stating that the agreement shall be binding upon

successors of the company.

Delta has substantially more employees than Western in

the crafts or classes represented by the unions, and these

Delta employees had no bargaining representative.

Respondents filed grievances alleging that Western vio-

lated the successorship provisions of the two collective-

bargaining agreements by failing to secure Delta’s agree-

ment to be bound by the collective-bargaining agreements

between Western and respondent unions. Western refused

to arbitrate the grievances, asserting that they necessarily

43a

involved representation issues and therefore were within

the exclusive jurisdiction of the National Mediation Board.

The unions filed separate complaints in the District Court

for the Central District of California, each requesting the

(1304] District Court to treat the successor clause dispute

as a minor dispute, and compel arbitration of the dispute

by the System Adjustment Board. Both complaints were

dismissed for lack of subject matter jurisdiction.

On March 17, 1987, the Court of Appeals for the Ninth

Circuit entered an interim order directing arbitration of

the grievances to proceed before the unions’ respective

System Adjustment Boards pending appeal.

At approximately 8:00 p.m. Eastern Time, March 31—

little more than 12 hours before the merger was scheduled

to take place—the Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

issued the following order:

“1. The judgments of the district court dismissing

the unions’ actions are reversed and the causes are

remanded with instructions to enter orders compelling

arbitration.

‘2. Western’s motion for reconsideration of our or-

der compelling arbitration pending appeal is denied.

‘3. The contemplated merger of Western Air Lines

and Delta Air Lines is enjoined pending completion

of arbitration proceedings or until Western and Delta

file with the Clerk of this Court a stipulation that the

result of the arbitration, subject to appropriate judicial

review and all valid defenses, will bind the successor

corporation. Upon filing of such stipulation and ap-

proval by the court, the injunction of the merger shall

terminate.

It is so ordered. A written opinion will be filed as

soon as practicable.’ Application Exh. 4.

44a

The timing and substance of the Court of Appeal’s order

under the exigencies of this case made compliance with

Rule 44.4 of this Court, requiring that a motion for a stay

first be filed with the court below, both virtually impossible

and legally futile. I conclude that this situation presents

one of those rare extraordinary circumstances in which

request for [1305] a stay before the Court of Appeals is

not required under the Rule.

I also conclude that the judgment of the Court of

Appeals, reversing the district court decisions, requiring

the entry of orders compelling arbitration, and enjoining

the merger, is final within the meaning of 28 U.S.C.

§2101(f). The Court of Appeal’s provision for lifting the

injunction upon certain stipulations of applicants does not

divest the judgment of finality when, as in this case, the

required stipulations, to have any significance, must bind

applicants to a concession of their position on the only

question before the Court of Appeals: whether the suc-

cessor clause dispute is within the jurisdiction of the Sys-

tem Adjustment Board or the National Mediation Board.

Moreover, regardless of the finality of the judgment

below, “‘a Circuit Justice has jurisdiction to vacate a stay

where it appears that the rights of the parties to a case

pending in the court of appeals, which case could and very

likely would be reviewed here upon final disposition in the

court of appeals, may be seriously and irreparably injured

by the stay, and the Circuit Justice is of the opinion that

the court of appeals is demonstrably wrong in its appli-

cation of accepted standards in deciding to issue the stay.”’

Coleman v. Paccar, Inc., 424 U.S. 1301 (1976) (REHNQUIST,

J., in chambers).

The reasoning of every other Court of Appeals that has

ruled on the issue raised before the Ninth Circuit casts

grave doubt on the validity of the Ninth Circuit’s action

in this case. The great weight of the case law supports

the proposition that disputes as to the effect of collective-

45a

bargaining agreements on representation in an airline

merger situation are representation disputes within the

exclusive jurisdiction of the National Mediation Board. In

International Brotherhood of Teamsters v. Texas Interna-

tional Airlines, Inc., 717 F. 2d 157 (CA5 1983), the Court

of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit held that ‘(t]he [Railway

Labor] Act commits disputes involving a determination of

who is to represent airline employ- [1306] ees in collective

bargaining to the exclusive jurisdiction of the National Me-

diation Board.’”’ The Fifth Circuit stated, ‘“‘A court may

not entertain an action involving such a dispute even if it

arises in the context of otherwise justiciable claims. More-

over, a court may not grant injunctive relief maintaining

the status quo if the underlying dispute is representational

in nature, because to do so would necessarily have the

effect, at least during the period of the injunction, of de-

ciding the representation issue.”’ Jd., at 161. ‘Given the

Mediation Board’s undeniable sole jurisdiction over rep-

resentation matters,” and the practical problems of divided

jurisdiction among the other dispute-resolution fora, the

Fifth Circuit inferred ‘‘a congressional intention to allow

that agency alone to consider the post-merger problems

that arise from existing collective bargaining agreements.”’

Id., at 164. The Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

treated the question of National Mediation Board jurisdic-

tion over alleged collective bargaining violations implicat-

ing post-merger representation as one settled by ‘‘the

overwhelming and well-developed case law,’’ and found ‘‘no

reason to depart from the consistent and well-considered

analysis of our colleagues in other circuits.”’ Air Line Em-

ployees v. Republic Airlines, Inc., 798 F.2d 967, 968 (quot-

ing Order No. 86C5239 (N.D. Ill. July 28, 1986)), cert.

denied, 479 U.S. 962 (1986). See also Air Line Pilots Ass’n

Int'l v. Texas Int'l Airlines, 656 F. 2d 16 (CA2 1981);

International Ass’n of Machinists v. Northeast Airlines,

Inc., 536 F. 2d 975, 977 (CA1), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 961

(1976); Brotherhood of Ry. & S.S. Clerks v. United Air

46a

Lines, Inc., 325 F. 2d 576 (CA6 1963), cert. dismissed,

379 U.S. 26 (1964). It was upon this overwhelming body

of case law that the District Court for the District of

Columbia relied when it considered the complaint of the

_ Association of Flight Attendants (AFA), also arising from

the Western-Delta merger. AFA’s complaint, seeking an

order compelling Western to submit to arbitration by the

System Board of Adjustment and enjoining [1307] the

merger pending completion of proceedings before the Sys-

tem Board, was dismissed. Association of Flight Attend-

ants, AFL-CIO v. Western Airlines, Inc., No. 87-0040 (D

DC February 20, 1987). On March 31, 1987 the Court of

Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit denied AFA’s

motions to compel arbitration pending appeal, and its mo-

tion for expedited appeal and decision before April 1. As-

sociation of Flight Attendants, AFL-CIO v. Western

Airlines, Inc., No. 87-7040. The Ninth Circuit’s divergence

from this line of Court of Appeals decisions leads me to

find it very likely that at least four Justices would vote

to grant certiorari, and that the applicant is likely to pre-

vail on the merits.

To appreciate the balance of the equities created by the

Ninth Circuit’s order, one must focus on the stipulation

clause of that order. What was to be gained or lost by

the applicants and respondents in this case was not the

merger of Western and Delta Airlines alone but the sub-

stance of the stipulation on which that merger was con-

ditioned by the Ninth Circuit.

The stipulation which the Ninth Circuit required from

Western and Delta Airlines is subject to two interpreta-

tions. The first is a requirement that Delta and Western

agree that if, after full judicial review of the jurisdictional

as well as other issues raised, it is determined that the

claims presented by the respondents fall under the juris-

diction of the System Adjustment Board, the successor

corporation will be bound by the result of the completed

arbitration process. Under this interpretation of the stip-

47a

ulation, the successor corporation was required to do no

more than adhere to the obligations placed upon it by law,

as those obligations are determined in the litigation. Those

legal obligations, of course, would exist independent of any

stipulation. If the stipulation would leave the applicants

free to assert any of their arguments against the juris-

diction of the System Adjustment Boards, the applicants

would have remained in the [1308] same position after the

stipulation as they were before, and the stipulation would

have served no purpose.

The other interpretation of the clause is that, in order

to avoid an eleventh hour injunction of the merger, Delta

and Western were required to stipulate as to the cor-

rectness of respondents’ argument that this dispute did in

fact fall under the jurisdiction of the Systems Adjustment

Board. As to the balance of equities on this interpretation

of the Ninth Circuit’s order, they clearly weigh in favor

of the applicants. The potential harm that would be suf-

fered by applicants as a result of the Court of Appeals’

injunction of their merger is seriously aggravated by the

fact that the order issued on the very eve of the merger’s

consummation. For several months, applicants have been

planning to combine their large-scale, complex, inter-re-

lated and heavily regulated operations effective April 1,

1987. That planning included the transfer, modification and

cancellation of hundreds of Western’s contracts for sup-

plies and services and equipment leases. The approval of

the Federal Aviation Administration of changes in West-

ern’s operating certificates, specifications and training pro-

grams have been sought and received. Maintenance

schedules, flight schedules and staffing schedules have been

modified in order to effect a smooth transition to a merged

operation on April 1. Large numbers of Western man-

agement personnel, without whom it cannot operate as an

independent entity, are to be severed effective April 1;

many have presumably arranged for new employment.

Delta has negotiated for transfer of Western's Mexican

48a

and Canadian routes with the respective governments of

those countries. It is doubtful that these arrangements car

be undone if the merger does not take place as anticipated.

Because of the operational adjustments that are already

in place, the FAA has expressed doubt whether Western

will be permitted to continue operations should the merger

not take place, potentially stranding thousands of travel-

ers. [1309] Employees, expecting to be transferred to new

locations after April 1, have sold old homes and bought

or leased new ones. Changes in pay, working conditions,

and conditions of employment all have been planned for

and relied upon in anticipation of the merger. Millions of

dollars of advertising have been targeted toward the April

1, 1987 merger date. And the list of consequences goes

on. See Emergency Application for Stay and Vacation of

Injunction, Affidavit of Hollis Harris and Exhibit 1 thereof:

Affidavit of Robert Oppenlander; Affidavit of Russell H.

Heil; Affidavit of Whitley Hawkins; Affidavit of C. Julian

May; Affidavit of Jason R. Archambeau. The cost of en-

joining this huge undertaking only hours before its long

awaited consummation is simply staggering in its magni-

tude, in the number of lives touched and dollars lost. To

assume that enjoining of the merger would do no more

than preserve the ‘‘status quo,” in the face of this up-

heaval, would be to blink at reality. Under the second

interpretation of the stipulation clause—the only interpre-

tation under which the required stipulations would have

had meaning—applicants could prevent these losses only

by conceding their argument, supported by the great

weight of authority, that their dispute with respondents

fell under the jurisdiction of the National Mediation Board.

On the other side, respondents had no entitlement to such

a concession, obtained under these circumstances, from

parties that had otherwise indicated their intent to con-

tinue to assert the contrary position on the jurisdictional

issue. Before the Court of Appeals the unions argued that

completion of the merger would moot their claims under

49a

the collective-bargaining agreement to System Board ar-

bitration. For the reasons stated above, I doubt that

respondents’ claims would ultimately prevail. Moreover,

preservation of respondents’ claims could have been ac-

complished equitably by a speedier resolution of the juris-

dictional issue, rather than by the inequitable last-minute

foisting of a Hobson’s choice on applicants. Finally, the

employees themselves are protected by Delta’s assumption

of the Allegheny-Mohawk Labor Protec- [1310] tive Pro-

visions, requiring the continuation of certain fringe ben-

efits, displacement and dismissal allowances for up to four

to five years for employees who lose their jobs or get

lesser-paying jobs, moving and related cosis ior employees

required to move, integration of seniority lists and binding

arbitration of any dispute relating to the labor protective

provisions. See Allegheny-Mohawk Merger Case, 59 C. A.

B. 22 (1972); Heil Affidavit, 46.

Because the stipulation upon which the lifting of the

injunction was conditioned appears to be either unneces-

sary or extremely inequitable, depending upon its inter-

pretation, and because it appears to me likely that at least

four Justices would vote to grant certiorari and that the

applicants are likely to prevail on the merits, I grant the

requested stay of the Court of Appeals for the Ninth Cir-

cult's injunction and order compelling arbitration before

the System Boards, pending the timely filing and subse-

quent disposition of a writ of certiorari in this case. -

50a

APPENDIX I

NATIONAL MEDIATION BOARD

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20572

14 NMB No. 86

FILE NO. C-5955

[291] In the matter of

the merger of

DELTA AIR LINES, INC.

and

WESTERN AIR LINES, INC.

TERMINATION OF

CERTIFICATIONS

(WESTERN AIR LINES)

July 9, 1987

On April 20, 1987, the National Mediation Board (Board)

received a request from Delta Air Lines, Inc. (Delta) in-

voking the Board’s services ‘‘to determine whether the

Board’s certifications of the Western labor organizations

as collective bargaining representatives of the various

crafts or classes at Western have been extinguished or

terminated effective April 1, 1987.’’ Delta’s request was

made in accordance with Trans World Airlines/Ozark Air

Lines, 14 NMB 218 (1987).

Review of the Board’s records reveals that several labor

organizations were certified to represent various crafts or

classes at Western Air Lines, Inc. (Western). In R-4995,

5la

the Air Transport Employees was certified to represent

the craft or class of Office, Clerical, Fleet & Passenger

Service Employees. The Association of Flight Attendants

was certified to represent the craft or class of Flight At-

tendants in R-3665. The International Brotherhood of

Teamsters was certified to represent the crafts or classes

of Instructors (R-4785), Mechanics and Related Employees ~

(R-3951) and Stock Clerks (R-3788). The Air Line Pilots

Association represents the craft or class of Pilots pursuant

to voluntary recognition.

On Delta the Pilots are represented by ALPA.The craft

or class of Dispatchers is represented by the Professional

Airline Flight Control Association pursuant to certification

in R-4254.

[292] The Board, on April 23, 1987, directed Delta and

Western to furnish certain information on the present op-

erations of the airlines. Delta and the involved labor or-

ganizations submitted responses. Pursuant to the Board’s

request Delta submitted additional information on May 21,

1987, as well as June 16 and 22, 1987.

ISSUES

The following issues are before the Board:

1) Whether Delta and Western combined to form a sin-

gle transportation system, for purposes of the Railway

Labor Act, on April 1, 1987 and;

2) If a single transportation system was created, what

affect if any does this have on the representation certi-

fications of the organizations at Western and when did

the affect occur?

PENDING LITIGATION

An issue arose from grievance actions filed by ATE,

IBT and AFA prior to April 1, 1987. In those actions the

—

unions sought te compel arbitration of grievances under

their labor agreements with Western, alleging breach of

successorship clauses in connection with the then-proposed

merger of Western into Delta. The unions alleged that

Western violated those clauses by failing to secure Delta’s

agreement to be bound by the unions’ contracts after the

merger was completed. Western refused to submit to ar-

bitration contending that it might result in a decision on

representation of Delta employees after the merger. Rep-

resentation matters, Delta asserted, are within the exclu-

sive jurisdiction of the Board.

52a

The unions filed actions in the district court for injunc-

tions to compel arbitration. ATE and the IBT filed such

action in the United Stated District Court for the Central

District of California while AFA sought relief in the United

States District Court for the District of Columbia. In all

instances, the district courts denied the unions the relief

requested. However, on appeal, the United States Court

of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, on March 31, 1987, [293]

ordered the IBT and Western to ‘‘select an arbitrator to

decide the merits of the parties’ disagreement over the

interpretation of their collective bargaining agreement.’’

The merger was also enjoined. IBT v. Western Air Lines,

Inc., Civil No. 87-5657 (9th Cir., March 17, 1987). A similar

ruling regarding Western and ATE was made in ATE v.

Western Air Lines, Inc., Civil No. 87-5667 (9th Cir. March

17, 1987). AFA unsuccessfully appealed the decision of the

District Court to the Circuit for the District of Columbia.

On April 1, 1987, the Honorable Sandra Day O’Connor,

the Circuit Justice for the Ninth Circuit, stayed the orders

of the Ninth Circuit pending the filing and disposition of

a petition for certiorari to review the judgment of the

Ninth Circuit. A Petition for Writ of Certiorari was filed

by Delta on May 20, 1987.

53a

CONTENTIONS

Delta

Delta contends that Western merged with it on April

1, 1987, and ceased to exist on that date. Therefore, Delta

concludes that the certifications of the Western labor or-

ganizations were extinguished or terminated as of April

1, 1987.

Air Line Pilots Association (ALPA)

ALPA which represented pilots on both airlines has not

taken a position on this matter.

Air Transport Employees (ATE)

ATE contends that before the Board can resolve the

question of a merger, the agency must first decide whether

it ‘“‘has exclusive jurisdiction to resolve disputes over the

obligations of carriers under a successorsnip clause.’’ The

organization requests that the Board ‘‘proceed to order an

arbitration to resolve the interpretation of the successor-

ship clause in the ATE-Western agreement.” If the Board

decides that it does not have the jurisdiction, ATE argues

that the Board should state so in a very definitive manner

and also state that the application of the successorship

(294] clause in the ATE-Western agreement would not

impinge on representation matters which are within the

exclusive jurisdiction of the Board. ATE asserts that the

Board should state that its certification is ‘‘in effect’’ until

the successorship question has been resolved through ar-

bitration or an election has been held. Citing Continental

Airlines, 10 NMB 25 (1982) for the proposition that the

Board has permitted the recognition of two contracts and

two labor organizations in a single craft or class pending

an election, ATE argues that such action would not cir-

cumvent any provision of the Act.

54a

International Brotherhood of Teamsters (IBT)

It is the IBT’s position that its certifications cannot be

terminated because there are outstanding contractual is- a

sues which are outcome determinative and the Board

should not terminate certifications without an election. The

IBT’s position is based on two arguments. First, the IBT

argues that due process considerations and relevant Board

criteria ‘“‘counsel”’ against termination of the union’s cert-

ifications. In support of this argument, the IBT makes the

following points:

1. Factual developments after April 1 would be

radically different if the adjustment board

[system board] proceeding had not been inter-

rupted and the Union had prevailed.

2. Carriers must be made to understand that an

Operational integration conducted in violation

of outstanding contractual obligations will not

furnish grounds for termination of existing

certifications.

3. It would violate the Union’s due process rights

for the Board to give conclusive effect to the

Carriers’ actions that occurred only because

of a legal proceeding in which the Union was

not allowed to participate.

[295]

4. It is wrong to allow actions undertaken under

a temporary order to have ‘“‘decisional signif-

icance.”’ On this point, the IBT contends that

the Carrier’s object in this proceeding is to

obtain a determination from the Board that

the Union’s certifications terminated, effective

April 1, 1987, so they can conclude that West-

ern’s agreements are extinguished. This will

enable them to claim that the Teamsters’ legal

case has been rendered moot by intervening

55a

events, i.e., the Board’s decision. Thus, the

Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals’ judgment and

order must be vacated and the case dismissed.

5. Because of the pending litigation, the Board’s

relevant criteria as developed in TWA/Ozark

cannot be fairly or accurately applied at the

present time.

Second, the IBT argues that the Board should not ter-

minate certifications, thereby allowing represented em-

ployees to become’ unrepresented, without first

investigating the employees’ representation desires. In this

case, termination of certificates is inconsistent with the

scheme of the Act because it presumes that a majority of

employees in the post-merger craft or class reject repre-

sentation based solely on the fact that a majority of craft

or class employees on the acquiring carrier as it existed

prior to the merger, have not selected a representative.

Because of the unique circumstances of this case, termi-

nation of the certification effectively would constitute de-

certification.

Association of Flight Attendants (AFA)

AFA believes that the Board should rule that “AFA’s

certificate should be maintained pending final resolution

of AFA’s successorship claim.’’ The unresolved question

of the survivability of the col- [296] lective bargaining

agreement is crucial to any Board determina

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Delta Air Lines, Inc. v. Association of Flight Attendants · 493 U.S. 962 | Frix