Petition for Writ of Certiorari — General Dynamics Corp. v. Trevino

Supreme Court brief1989

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

1 . FILED

89-376 Fl so 1 ts

JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR.

7 CLERK

--

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

GENERAL DYNAMICS CORPORATION,

. Petitioner,

GLORIA TREVINO, et al.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

HERBERT L. FENSTER

Counsel of Record

RAYMOND B. BIAGINI

CHARLOTTE D. YOUNG

MCKENNA, CONNER & CUNEO

1575 Eye Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20005

(202) 789-7500

Attorneys for Petitioner

General Dynamics Corporation

WILSON - EPES PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

J

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Whether the Fifth Circuit’s decision in Trevino v.

General Dynamics Corp., 865 F.2d 1474 (5th Cir. 1989),

conflicts with Boyle v. United Technologies Corp., 108

S. Ct. 2510 (1988) in holding that the “approval” ele-

ment of the government contractor defense requires proof

that a government official performed a policy level “sub-

stantive review and evaluation” constituting a discretion-

ary act under the Federai ‘fort Claims Act.

2. Whether the Fifth Circuit’s decision in Trevino v.

General Dynamics Corp., 865 F.2d 1474 (5th Cir. 1989),

conflicts with Boyle v. United Technologies Corp., 108

S. Ct. 2510 (1988) in holding that General Dynamics

failed to prove the “approval” element of the government

contractor defense despite undisputed facts that the gov-

ernment was fully aware of the alleged defects in the

product yet chose to use it as designed for thirteen years.

3. Whether the holding by the Fifth Circuit in Trevino

v. General Dynamics Corp., 865 F.2d 1474 (5th Cir.

1989) that government approval under the government

contractor defense can occur only during the design stage,

conflicts with the Fourth Circuit’s post-Boyle decision in

Ramey v. Martin-Baker Aircraft Co., 874 F.2d 946 (4th

Cir. 1989) and the several fededal circuit court decisions

prior to Boyle that approval cen occur after the design

stage where the government subsequently discovers the

defects yet chooses to use the product as designed.

(i)

ii

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW

The parties to the proceedings below are:

(1) Gloria Trevino Parker, plaintiff, formerly Gloria

Trevino,

(2) Donald and Emily Bloomer,

(3) Maureen Denisha Bond,

(4) Robert and Rose Fitz,

(5) Esther B. Shelton,

(6) the United States of America, and

(7) General Dynamics Corporation.

Pursuant to Sup. Ct. R. 28.1, General Dynamics Cor-

poration has the following parents, subsidiaries (except

wholly-owned subsidiaries) , and affiliates:

Etudes Techniques et Constructions Aerospatiales,

Societe Anonyme

General Dynamics Limited, Mansour-General Dy-

namics Limited

Ankara Hilton

Perdata Corporation

Tusas Aerospace Industries, Inc.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEYW ...............

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW..............

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ...................--.--------------+---

OPINIONS BELOW ...............--......-.-.c..ccsnessessecenscecesessnses

JURISDICTION

ee cece cee See ee See SSeS SS SHES ewes He SSSE SSE SSSSSSESSSssseesseresesese

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

we ee wee ee eee eee eee eee ee eee ee eee ee

REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE OF THE WRIT

I. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT’S OPINION CON-

FLICTS WITH THIS COURT’S DECISION IN

BOYLE v. UNITED TECHNOLOGIES COR-

PORATION IN ITS APPLICATION OF THE

DISCRETIONARY FUNCTION EXCEPTION

TO THE GOVERNMENT CONTRACTOR DE-

A. The Boyle Opinion Could Not Have Intended

To Require Proof Of A Policy Level Discre-

tionary Function To Satisfy The Approval

Element Of The Government Contractor

EES eee ey OF a Sa CO

B. To The Extent Some Proof Of Governmental

Discretion Is Required By Boyle, The Trevino

Court Failed To Recognize That It Was

II IN TERI CRIED seisccsncnncessnscncrcnvepntencenecenece

C. The Trevino Court’s Discretionary Function

Test Necessarily Requires Second-Guessing

Of Military Decision-Making And Ultimately

Will Result In Higher Costs To The United

11

12

15

17

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Page

Il. THE TREVINO COURT’S RIGID DEFINI-

TION OF APPROVAL CREATES A CON-

FLICT AMONG THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

COURSED GP Bim tabi. 19

A. The Fifth Circuit’s Limited View Of When

And How Approval May Take Place Conflicts

With The Law Established By The Federal

Circuits Prior To And Unchanged By Boyle

Regarding Approval ....................................... 20

B. The Fifth Circuit’s Limited View Of When

And How Approval May Take Place Conflicts

With The Fourth Circuit’s Post-Boyle Inter-

pretation Of Approval ....... Ssuliechietceeshcaileiidtnaismnien 23

TET seit neciinisitesiasiti cilecetttca esi iesinbitarncen icant 25

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page

In re Air Crash Disaster at Mannheim Germany,

769 F.2d 115 (3d Cir. 1985), cert. denied sub

sebetn., SFE TIE. ROBB CIGD BY nvcceceeneseccsccerenecsecceses ess. 21

Blessing v. United States, 447 F. Supp. 1160 (E.D.

as Be icckihcinniechontatlecidhaihnscvbitagninnetaliniiniattidieinaentaiciation 19

Boyle v. United Technologies Corp., 108 S.Ct. 2510

CIN ead cilcslintaiotisnitnpipenststistnsntshdenciceniahbcniacaningpanecitgeiatinnnibannail passim

Boyle v. United Technologies Corp., 792 F.2d 413

Ce CI dictate saceninietaceen baatiatiiitittaiaitinnaieninen 21

Dowd v. Textron. Inc., 702 F.2d 409 (4th Cir.

1986), cert. denied, 108 S. Ct. 2897 (1988) ....... 21, 24

Dube v. Pittsburgh-Corning Corp., 870 F.2d 790

CRT Be iiaticahicisncetcintileenncisletiiaiainitibicninceririnatins 8,18

Feres v. United States, 340 U.S. 185 (1950) -.......... 4

Gordon v. Lykes Brothers Steamship Co., 835 F.2d

96 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 109 S. Ct. 73 (1988) .. 17

Harduvel v. General Dynamics Corp., No. 87-3705

(lith Cir. July $1, 1989) ............................. 14, 18, 21, 22

Hendrix v. Bell Helicopter Textron, Inc., 634 F.

Bam. DGGE CHER. Bees BOWED qa nennncvcnnteseenncessn-- 21

Kennewick Irrigation District v. United States,

No. 87-4203 et al. (9th Cir. July 12, 1989) ........... 8,18

Koutsoubos v. Boeing Vertol, 755 F.2d 352 (3d

Cir.), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 821 (1985).............. 21

Myslakowski v. United States, 806 F.2d 94 (6th

Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 480 U.S. 948 (1987)...... 18

Niemann v. General Dynamics Corp., No. 85-5528

(S.D. Ill. June 28, 1989), appeal docketed, No.

89-2577 (7th Cir. July 28, 1989) .................0...... 14

Ramey v. Martin-Baker Aircraft Co., 874 F.2d 946

Cs I aderteinrdesncsdiinanttnistaics EE. SEI CO passim

Ramey v. Martin-Baker Aircraft Co., 656 F. Supp.

984 (D. Md. 1987), aff’d, 874 F.2d 946 (4th Cir.

REET ERE SS, SS RI Pe ea Se 24

Schwindt v. Cessna Aircraft Co., No. CV485-472

reer ree 22

Shaw v. Grumman Aerospace Corp., 778 F.2d 736

(11th Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 108 S. Ct. 2896

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Smith v. Xerox Corp., 866 F.2d 185 (5th Cir.

1989) 10, 20

Trevino v. General Dynamics Corp., 865 F.2d 1474

(Ee Ab) passim

Trevino v. General Dynamics Corp., 876 F. 2d 1154

(5th Cir. 1989) (en bane) 0... 10, 14, 23, 25

Tillett v. J.J. Case Co., 756 F.2d 591 <7th Cir.

1985) .. 21

Tozer v. LTV Corp., 792 F.2d 408 (4th Cir. 1986),

cert. denied, 108 S. Ct. 2897 (1988) _........... 20, 24

STATUTES

Federal Tort Claims Act, 28 U.S.C. § 2680(a)

OSE ae 11-12

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

No.

GENERAL DYNAMICS CORPORATION,

- Petitioner,

GLORIA TREVINO, et al.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED-STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

General Dynamics Corporation petitions for a writ of

certiorari to review a judgment of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit affirming the find-

ing by the United States District Court for the Eastern

District of Texas that General Dynamics failed to satisfy

the “approval” element of the government contractor

defense.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Fifth Circuit affirming the lower court appears at

865 F.2d 1474 (5th Cir. 1989), and is reproduced in the

Appendix to this Petition at la. The denial by the Fifth

Circuit of General Dynamics’ Petition for Rehearing En

Bane and the accompanying dissenting opinion by four

Fifth Circuit judges appears at 876 F.2d 1154 (5th Cir.

1989) and also is reproduced in the Appendix at 32a.

The opinion of the Eastern District of Texas is published

2

at 626 F. Supp. 1830 (E.D. 1986) and also is reproduced

in the Appendix at 40a.

JURISDICTION

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Fifth Circuit was filed on February 24, 1989. The

Fifth Circuit’s denial of General Dynamics’ Petition for

Rehearing En Banc was filed June 25, 1989. The judg-

ment was entered on July 6, 1989. General Dynamics

seeks a writ of certiorari pursuant to the provisions of

28 U.S.C. § 1254(1) (1982).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case arises out of an accident which occurred on

January 16, 1982, in which five Navy divers died within

the diving chamber of the U.S.S. GRAYBACK, a Navy

submarine. The U.S.S. GRAYBACK had been on maneu-

vers off the coast of the Philippine Islands when the acci-

dent occurred. The five divers had just returned to the

submarine after conducting demolition exercises at sea.

While the divers were inside the flooded diving chamber

of the GRAYBACK, one of the divers, Mr. Bloomer, was

supposed to open the ventilation valve to allow air in as

he drained the chamber of its water. Mr. Bioomer failed

to completely open the ventilation valve. As the water

drained from the chamber, a vacuum formed, causing the

divers to lose consciousness and drown.

In the early 1960s, the Navy had decided to convert

the U.S.S. GRAYBACK from a missile-carrying subma-

rine to one which was capable of allowing divers to exit

the submarine to conduct exercises in the open sea and

then to re-enter the submarine through a flooded diving

chamber. In its 339-page Circular of Requirements, the

Navy established the basic design concept for the diving

chamber. The Navy then chose one of its own shipyards,

Mare Island Naval Shipyard located off the coast of Cali-

ns S li soe oom

3

fornia, to develop the detailed design for the chamber

and actually to build, test and install it into the U.S.S.

GRAYBACK.

Because of the Viet Nam war, the Navy experienced

manpower shortages in the 1960s. Specifically, Mare Is-

land Naval Shipyard contracted with General Dynamics

to borrow hourly drafismen who were then relocated

from Groton, Connecticut, to work literally alongside

the Navy design personnel in a large “bull-pen” in

the Navy’s own facility at Mare Island. Between 1966

and 1968, these personnel supplemented the existing

Navy staff and assisted them in generating some of the

detailed working drawings for the design of the diving

chamber. Each working drawing generated by General

Dynamics personnel had on its face a review and ap-

proval block which ultimately set forth the signatures of

several Navy personnel, including the Navy Assistant

Design Superintendent of Mare Island who “approved”

the drawing. Appendix at 63a.

After 1968, all General Dynamics personnel left Mare

Island and the Navy alone continued on its own to gen-

erate working drawings for the diving chamber design.

In about 1969, the Navy alone built the chamber pursu-

ant to the design and installed it into the U.S.S. GRAY-

BACK. The Navy then conducted sea trials with the

newly converted submarine. During these trials, that

is, before use, and then thereafter through its own over-

haul, maintenance and use of the chamber between 1969

and 1982, the Navy became aware of and was repeatedly

alerted to the very characteristics of the chamber at is-

sue, i.e., that the ventilation valve was difficult to open

and that it was difficult for a diver to discern whether

it was fully open. Nevertheless, the Navy chose not to

alter the design but, rather, trained its divers to deal

with these various features. Between 1969 and 1982, the

Navy used the U.S.S. GRAYBACK diving chamber 555

times without mishap.

4

The families of the divers first sued the United States

under the Federal Tort Claims Act, but the suit was dis-

missed pursuant to Feres v. United States, 340 U.S. 135

(1950). In 1982, the families of the divers sued General

Dynamics Corporation in tort for damages and General

Dynamics filed a contractual indemnity cross-claim

against the United States. In Trevino v. General Dy-

namics Corp., 626 F. Supp. 1330 (E.D. Tex. 1986), Ap-

pendix at 40a, the United States District Court for the

Eastern District ‘of Texas concluded inter alia that Gen-

eral Dynamics had not proven the government contractor

defense because it had not shown that the government

had approved reasonably precise specifications for the div-

ing chamber.’

The district court assessed that General Dynamics was

80% negligent in the design of the chamber and the

Navy was 20% negligent in failing to maintain the cham-

ber and adequately train its divers in its use. The dis-

trict court noted that because the Navy was immune

from tort liability, its finding of Navy negligence was of

no consequence. The district court ultimately assessed

damages against General Dynamics in the amount of

$4.25 million and found that the United States was not

liable to General Dynamics on the contractual indemnity

claim.

General Dynamics appealed the decision on numerous

grounds. Following the Supreme Court’s opinion in Boyle

v. United Technologies Corp., 108 S. Ct. 2510 (1988),

which established the government contractor defense as

a matter of federal common law, the United States Court

1 This conclusion was directly at odds with the explicit admission

of the United States Navy made to the court in its post-trial brief

that “the Navy approved the working drawings” (Post-Trial Brief

of Defendant/Cross-Defendant United States at 15) (dated Nov. 25,

1985), and that “whatever General Dynamics’ degree of participa-

tion in the design decisions .. . the basic design for such a cham-

ber was the Navy’s.” Id. at 9.

data tanh

5

of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit rendered its opinion in

Trevino on February 23, 1989. The Fifth Circuit af-

firmed the lower court’s decision, concluding that Gen-

eral Dynamics had not proven the “approval’’ element

of the defense.? The Fifth Circuit vacated the lower

court’s findings regarding the United States’ indemnity

obligations. On June 26, 1989, the Fifth Circuit denied

General Dynamics’ Petition for Rehearing En Banc, with

a vigorous dissent filed by Circuit Judge Jolly and joined

by three other judges. 876 F.2d 1154 (5th Cir. 1989) ;

Appendix at 32a.

The Fifth Circuit panel reached the following conclu-

sions which are material to the consideration of the ques-

tions presented in this Petition:

(1) “The U.S.S. GRAYBACK was designed and

constructed in the late 1950s as a missile-carrying

submarine. .. . In the late 1960s the GRAYBACK

was converted to a personnel-carrying submarine

capable of dispatching divers underwater.” Trevino

v. General Dynamics Corp., 865 F.2d at 1476; Ap-

pendix at 3a.

(2) “The Navy established the basic design con-

cept for the modifications to the GRAYBACK in a

339-page circular of requirements (COR) describing

the design concept . .. [and] selected Mare Island

Naval Shipyard (MINS) as the site for the design

and conversion work.” 865 F.2d at 1476; Appendix

at 3a.

(3) “In 1966 and 1967 the Navy contracted with

General Dynamics Corporation Electric Boat Divi-

sion to do the design work on the diving hangar.

The contracts required General Dynamics to produce

2 This conclusion by the Fifth Circuit was directly contrary to

the explicit admission made on the record to the court by the United

States Navy that “there is no serious question in this case that the

Navy indeed approved the final plans .. .” and that “General

Dynamics has met this element of the Boyle test.” Letter Brief of

the United States at 8 (dated Aug. 15, 1988).

6

working drawings of the hangar... .” 865 F.2d

at 1476; Appendix at 3a.

(4) “After General Dynamics completed the draw-

ings, the Navy “did undertake to reviev’ the working

drawings for compliance with the COR.” 865 F.2d at

1487 n.14; Appendix at 26a n.14.

(5) “{T]he Navy performed all the manufactur-

ing and conversion work [for the diving chamber]

on the GRAYBACK.” 865 F.2d at 1477; Appendix

at 3a.

(6) “The defective aspects of the design and the

dangers of the vacuum were so obvious that the Navy

must be charged with knowledge of the defect; yet

the Navy built the diving hangar as designed and

operated it for thirteen years.” 865 F.2d at 1487

n.13; Appendix at 25a n.13.

(7) “The Navy operated the submarine for 13

years without mishap, although Navy personnel noted

on at least four occasions that the ventilation valve

control was difficult to turn.” 865 F.2d at 1477;

Appendix at 4a.

(8) “The Navy had control over the product and

had every opportunity to exercise discretion over the

design. This the Navy did not do.” 865 F.2d at

1487 n.13; Appendix at 25a n.13.

(9) The Navy “knew that the system as designed

could create a partial vacuum.” The Navy “could

see that the final design included no safety devices.”

865 F.2d at 1487; Appendix at 27a.

(10) “The Navy chose to use the GRAYBACK as

designed and dealt with the possibility of a vacuum

by training its employees rather than modifying the

submarine. Furthermore, the Navy exacerbated the

dangers by failing to lubricate the shaft of the valve

properly, making it more difficult to turn and more

likely that a diver would not realize that it was

partially closed.” 865 F.2d at 1488-89; Appendix at

29a.

7

(11) “[{T]he Navy’s method of dealing with the

dangers in the design were effective for thirteen

years.” 865 F.2d at 1489; Appendix at 29a.

REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE OF THE WRIT

In Boyle v. United Technologies Corp., 108 S. Ct. 2510

(1988), this Court defined the three elements of the gov-

ernment contractor defense:

Liability for design defects in military equipment

cannot be imposed, pursuant to state law, when (1)

the United States approved reasonably precise specifi-

cations; (2) the equipment corformed to those specifi-

‘cations; and (8) the supplier warned the United

States about the dangers in the use of the equipment

that were known to the supplier but not to the United

States.

108 S. Ct. at 2518. Because the Fifth Circuit in Trevino

found that General Dynamics met the second and third

elements of the defense, 865 F.2d at 1487; Appendix at

26-27a, the sole issue addressed in this Petition is the

first, or “approval,” element of the defense.

The Fifth Circuit’s opinion in Trevino, issued not even

one year after Boyle, essentially dismantles and emas-

culates the government contractor defense by adopting an

unworkable interpretation of Boyle’s approval test.* In

Boyle, this Court stated that the approval element is sat-

isfied so long as it is demonstrated that the design feature

in question was “considered” not only by the contractor

but also by a government official. 108 S. Ct. at 2518.

Commenting that “[t]he Supreme Court’s use of the

terms ‘approved’ and ‘considered’ is unfortunate,” 865

F.2d at 1481 n.7; Appendix at 18a, the Fifth Circuit

proceeded to redefine those terms so as to render this

Court’s choice of words meaningless.

3 Notably, in an opinion dissenting from the Fifth Circuit’s de-

nial of General Dynamics’ Petition for Rehearing, Circuit Judge

Jolly stated that “Trevino has effectively rewritten the Supreme

Court’s test for government contractor immunity given in Boyle.”

876 F.2d at 1155; Appendix at 34a.

8

-The Trevino court’s microscopic focus on the word

“approval,” unwarranted by Boyle, begins with the state-

«nent that mere government “rubber stamping” of con-

tractor specifications will not suffice, a standard which

General Dynamics does not dispute. 865 F.2d at_ 1485-86;

Appendix at 23a-24a. The court proceeded, however, to

the other end of the spectrum, holding that if the con-

tractor participates in the design of military equipment,

the government’s approval” of that design must embody

the exercise of a discretionary function under the Federal

Tort Claims Act. To show “approval” or “consideration”

under Trevino, a government contractor must show that

the government official performed a “substantive review

and evaluation” rising to the level of a policy decision.

865 F.2d at 1486; Appendix at 23a.

By unconditionally importing into the government con-

tractor defense the body of law interpreting the discre-

tionary function exception, Trevino introduced into the

elements of the defense an entire area of legal analysis

clearly not intended by this Court.* Under Trevino, the

government must insert itself into the design process to

such an extent that it may as well have generated the

design itself.

Moreover, the Fifth Circuit’s impossible test for ap-

proval reaches far beyond the Boyle requirement, placing

artificial limits on when and how government approval

can take place. In this respect the Trevino decision con-

flicts directly with the established law in the federal cir-

cuits, prior to (and unchanged by) Boyle, that “ap-

proval” can occur during or after the design phase. In

contrast, the Fifth Circuit held that approval can only

occur during the design phase of the product and then

4 Notably, there is currently extraordinary tension among the

federal circuits regarding the parameters of the discretionary func-

tion exception. Compare Dube v. Pittsburg-Corning Corp., 870 F.2d

790 (1st Cir. 1989) with Kennewick Irrigation District v. United

States, No. 87-4203 et al. (9th Cir. July 12, 1989).

vi cw so cual

9

only through an expert evaluation of written design spec-

ifications. Under Trevino, government approval cannot

occur after such time even where, as here—and as the

court found—the military itself: (a) actually builds the

product at issue; (b) uses it for 13 years as designed;

(c) knows of the alleged defec’x for the entire period of

use; and (d) elects not to alter the design. Trevino’s

unwarranted fixation on the design phase completely

eclipses this Court’s choice of the word “approval.”

This approval test also is in direct conflict with a post-

Boyle decision from the United States Court of Appeals

for the Fourth Circuit, which has established that pro-

longed use of a military product by the government with

knowledge of the defect constitutes approval and accept-

ance of that design. As Circuit Judge Jolly stated simi-

larly in his opinion dissenting from the Fifth Circuit’s

denial of General Dynamics’ Petition for Rehearing:

[Although the Boyle Court chose thé word “ap-

prove”,] the panel in Trevino finds that the term

“approve” as used in Boyle actually means to estab-

lish reasonably precise specifications, id. at 1479; it

actually means to “choose” a design feature, id. at

1480; it actually means to exercise judgment or policy

choice, id. at 1484; it actually means to substantively

review and evaluate, id. at 1487 n.12; in short, it

actually means to exercise a discretionary function

within the strict meaning of the FTCA. We learn

further in Trevino that one cannot “approve” a design

by full awareness and acceptance of that design,

defect and all, for thirteen years, id.; and finailiy,

we learn that “approve” is a term that cannot be

applied to work done by someone else, id. at 1486

(“If the government delegates its design discretion to

the contractor and allows the contractor to develop

the design, the government contractor defense does

not apply....”)..

876 F.2d at 1155; Appendix at 35a (emphasis in origi-

nal).

10

Notably, the Fifth Circuit’s Trevino opinion directly

conflicts with another opinion issued in the same circuit

on the same day. In Smith v. Xerox Corp., 866 F.2d 135

(5th Cir. 1989), the Fifth Circuit affirmed the district

court’s decision entering judgment for the military con-

tractor on the basis of the government contractor defense.

In particular, the Smith panel adopted pre-Boyle case law

that approval could occur not only through a review of

specifications but also through a review of the product

itself. Jd. at 187-38 (discussing favorably the Fourth

Circuit’s recognition that approval can occur where the

military reviews and approves a mock-up of the equip-

ment). The Smith court also found that the lower court

properly allowed the defense “in light of the government’s

acceptance and extended use” of the product. Jd. at 139

(emphasis added). Thus, the Smith panel implicitly re-

jected the narrow Trevino approval test by acknowledg-

ing that approval can take place in ways other than a

substantive, policy-level review of reasonably precise

specifications. Even Circuit Judge Jolly, the author of

Smith, acknowledged that his analysis in Smith would

“surely have been different” had the Trevino approval test

been the applicable law at the time. 876 F.2d at 1156;

Appendix at 38a.

Not only does Boyle’s rationale embrace a _ broader

“approval” test which would cover these subsequent

events, but the practical and direct result of Trevino’s

unduly limited interpretation is to eliminate the protec-

tion from tort liability afforded to military contractors

and to deter contractors from participating in design ef-

forts. The Trevino court’s wholesale importation of the

discretionary function test into the government contractor

defense inexorably will force the courts to second-guess

governmental judgments regarding the design of military

weaponry, for no contractor could prove that a “substan-

tive” evaluation by the military took place without prob-

ing the depth and merit of that evaluation. Because the

approval test of the government contractor defense will

igi

ie Nest oot é

11

be rendered impossible for military contractors to prove

under Trevino, the Boyle decision itself will be rendered

a nullity.

Therefore, if the Fifth Circuit’s narrow definition of

approval is allowed to go unreviewed by this Court, gov-

ernment contractors will not only be subjected to incon-

sistent legal definitions of approval, but also, at least in

the Fifth Circuit, will be essentially denied the protection

of the government contractor defense. Moreover, plain-

tiffs will easily plead around the Trevino test and—win

or lose—will force the courts at trial to examine in depth

military decision-making relating to equipping the armed

forces. This Court should grant this Petition to minimize

any further multifarious pronouncements from the lower

courts and to ensure that their approach to the govern-

ment contractor defense does not proceed down various

inconsistent and illogical paths so soon after Boyle.

I. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT'S OPINION CONFLICTS

WITH THIS COURT’S DECISION IN BOYLE ov.

UNITED TECHNOLOGIES CORPORATION IN ITS

APPLICATION OF THE DISCRETIONARY FUNC-

TION EXCEPTION TO THE GOVERNMENT CON-

TRACTOR DEFENSE

The Boyle Court began its consideration of the govern-

ment contractor defense with the issue of whether such

a defense could exist “in the absence of legislation spe-

cifically immunizing Government contractors from liabil-

ity for design defects.” 108 S. Ct. at 2513. Ultimately,

this Court concluded that liability for design defects can-

not be imposed, as a matter of federal common law, where

the three elements of the defense were met. Jd. at 2518.

This Court found the requisite “significant conflict” to

justify displacement of state law in the policies under-

lying the discretionary function exception to the Federal

12

Tort Claims Act (“FTCA”), 28 U.S.C. § 2680(a) (1982).

Id. at 2517.5

In Boyle, the discretionary function exception provided

a “statutory provision that demonstrates the potential

for, and suggests the outlines of, ‘significant conflict’

between federal interests and state law in the context

of government procurement.” 108 S. Ct. at 2517. The

first two elements of the defense, approval and conform-

ance, “assure that’ the suit is within the area where the

policy of the ‘discretionary function’ exception would be

frustrated.” Id. at 2518. ;This Court’s reliance on the

discretionary function exception left unresolved to what

extent, if any, the body of law addressing that exception

should be imported into the government contractor de-

fense. It does not appear, however, that the Boyle deci-

sion intended to engraft the entire body of FTCA discre-

tionary function exception law on to the government con-

tractor defense.®

A. The Boyle Opinion Could Not Have Intended To

Require Proof-Of A Policy Level Discretionary

Function To Satisfy The Approval Element Of The

Government Contractor Defense

At the Fifth Circuit, General Dynamics argued that

this Court’s reliance on the discretionary function ex-

ception was intended only to signal the necessary thresh-

old conflict with state law to justify and trigger applica-

tion of federal common law. The Fifth Circuit disagreed,

finding instead that this. Court intended essentially to

j

5 Under that exception, the government is exempt from consent to

suit for any claim “based upon the exercise or performance or the

failure to exercise or perform a discretionary function or duty on

the part of a federal agency or an employee of the Government,

whether or not the discretion involved be abused.” 28 U.S.C.

§ 2680 (a).

6 The law regarding the discretionary function exception is itself

pertubated and in a high state of conflict among the circuits. See

n.4, supra.

Ws a

13

replace “approval” with “exercise of discretion.” * Thus,

rather than using the exception as a precondition which

“suggests the outlines” of the defense, 108 S. Ct. at 2517,

the Trevino court held that when the contractor partici-

pates in the design of military equipment, the govern-

ment’s approval of that design “must constitute a dis-

cretionary function.” 865 F.2d at 1480; Appendix at 10a

(emphasis added). The Fifth Circuit held: “If the gov-

ernment contractor exercised the actual discretion over

the defective feature of the design, then the contractor

will not escape liability via the government contractor

defense” unless “the government’s cognizance of the rele-

vant design features ... [is] on par with that of the

government contractor.” 865 F.2d at 1480, i481 n.7;

Appendix at lla, 18a n.7. The government’s approval

must “involve the use of policy judgment.” 865 F.2d

at 1472; Appendix at 10a.

The Trevino requirement that governmental “approval”

cannot exist without a policy level cognizance by the gov-

ernment of relevant design features “on par with that

of the government. contractor” will not only overly burden

an already arduous design process for military equip-

ment, but will stifle the contractor’s creative participation

in that process. As such, the defense is stripped of one

of its primary objectives: to encourage and protect con-

tractors’ participation in the design of military equip-

ment. 108 S. Ct. at 2518. If the contractor can only

show approval by showing that the government, not the

contractor, made all the design choices, the contractor’s

participation in the design process becomes meaningless.

™ The Trevino court noted that Boyle “imports into this area of

the law ...a rich case law defining what the government’s exer-

cise of discretion is and what it is not.” 865 F.2d at 1483; Ap-

pendix at 18a.

14

This Court in Boyle could not have intended the first

element of the government contractor defense to become

so burdened. In his opinion dissenting from the Fifth

Cireuit’s denial of General Dynamics’ Petition for Re-

hearing, Circuit Judge Jolly suggested the role of the

discretionary function exception:

Mr. Justice Scalia specifically explained that gov-

ernment ‘“‘approvai” assures that the design is within

the area where the discretionary function policy

would not be frustrated, because it assures that the

design feature in question was considered by a gov-

ernment officer and not “merely by the contractor

itself.” Boyle, 108 S. Ct. at 2518. This explanation

appears immediately after the use of the word “ap-

proved” and gives it its meaning. That government

involvement be “within the area” does not mean that

strict compliance with all of the elements of the dis-

cretionary function exception is required. Indeed,

the Court indicated that the discretionary function

exception only “suggests the outlines of ‘significant

conflict’ between federal interests and state law in

the context of government procurement.” 108 S. Ct.

at 2517. .

876 F.2d at 1156; Appendix at 36a (emphasis in origi-

nal).®

8 Since Boyle, other lower courts have agreed with the view that

this Court’s use of the discretionary function exception was only

intended to provide a basis for conflict to justify the displacement

of state law. None have adopted the “discretionary function”

approval test required by Trevino. E.g., Harduvel v. General Dy-

namics Corp., No. 87-8705 (11th Cir. July 31, 1989); Ramey v.

Martin-Baker Aircraft Co., 876 F.2d 946 (4th Cir. 1989); accord

Niemann v. General Dynamics Corp., No. 85-5528 (S.D. Ill. June 28,

1989) (first prong of Boyle test does not require production of

evidence that government exercised discretionary judgment), appeal

docketed, No. 89-2755 (7th Cir 1989).

ee en eer, oe

ies TUR 2 Ce ee at Dp ee ct one >

tt hee Maia DOO AE

15

B. To The Extent Some Proof Of Governmental! Dis-

cretion Is Required By Boyle, The Trevino Court

Failed To Recognize That It Was Present In This

Case

Even if this Court did intend for government contrac-

tors to show some exercise of discretion by the govern-

ment to establish approval, there can be no question but

that such discretion was exercised in this case. The un-

disputed facts are: (1) the Navy chose itself, rather than

General Dynamics, to build the diving chamber from the

design and to instail it into the U.S.S. GRAYBACK; (2)

the Navy discovered the design features at issue when

it tested the chamber before placing it in service; (3) the

Navy chose to place the chamber into service knowing of

the design characteristics at issue; (4) the Navy con-

tinued to note, within the first years of its use, the very

features that allegedly caused the accident but nonethe-

less chose to use the chamber as designed; and (5) the

Navy chose to address these design characteristics in the

chamber not by redesigning it but by training its per-

sonnel around these features. All of these conscious and

knowing decisions by the Navy represent elections which

are the very essence of approval. Thus, even assuming

Trevino’s use of the discretionary function test is ap-

propriate, the Trevino court erred in its application of

that test.

In Boyle this Court placed no time limits on when

discretionary acts constituting approval had to be made

or whether they could be made only through a review of

specifications as opposed, for example, to a review of the

vroduct itself. In affirming the district court’s finding

that General Dynamics failed to meet the approval eie-

ment of Boyle, however, the Trevino panel focused solely

on whether the Navy had exercised its discretion during

the design phase by substantively evaluating written spec-

ifications. 865 F.2d at 1480; Appendix at 11-12a. The

Fifth Circuit completely ignored its own statements

16

which establish without question that the Navy exercised

discretion through a series of decisions at various points

in time. As the Trevino opinion states:

(1) “[Tjhe Navy performed all the manufactur-

ing and conversion work on the GRAYBACK.” &65

F.2d at 1477; Appendix at 3a.

(2) “The Navy operated the submarine for 13

years without mishap, although Navy personnel noted

on at least four occasions that the ventilation valve

control was difficult to turn.” 865 F.2d at 1477;

Appendix at 4a.

(3) “Because both General Dynamics and the Navy

knew that the system as designed could create a

partial vacuum, and because both the Navy and Gen-

eral Dynamics could see that the final design included

no safety devices, liability of General Dynamics could

not be based upon non-disclosure of these dangers.”

865 F.2d at 1487; Appendix at 27a.

(4) “The Navy actually did the manufacturing

and conversion work. The defective aspects of the

design and the dangers of the vacuum were so ob-

vious that the Navy must be charged with knowledge

of the defect; yet the Navy built the diving hangar

as designed and operated it for thirteen years.” 865

F.2d at 1487 n.13; Appendix at 25a n.13.

(5) “The Navy chose to use the GRAYBACK as

designed and dealt with the possibility of a vacuum

by training its employees rather than by modifying

the submarine. . . . [T]he Navy’s method of dealing

with the dangers in the design were effective for

thirteen years.” 865 F.2d at 1488-89; Appendix at

29a.

(6) “The Navy had control over the product and

had every opportunity to exercise discretion over the

design.” 865 F.2d at 1487 n.13; Appendix at 25a

n.13.

Assuming arguendo that an exercise of discretion is

necessary under Boyle, the Trevino court’s view of when

17

and how this exercise must take place cannot be recon-

ciled with case law addressing that exception even in the

Fifth Circuit. E£.g., Gordon v. Lykes Brothers Steamship

Co., 835 F.2d 96 (5th Cir.) (discretion exercised after the

injury-causing asbestos was incorporated into the ships

on which plaintiff worked), cert. denied, 109 S. Ct. 73

(1988). Indeed, the Fifth Circuit’s statement that the

Navy had control over the product and had “every oppor-

tunity to exercise discretion over the design’ acknowl-

edges exactly that: discretionary acts constituting ap-

proval are not and should not be arbitrarily limited in

time. 865 F.2d at 1487 n.13; Appendix at 25a n.13.

Thus, even assuming this Court intended the discretion-

ary function exception to replace the “approval” element

of the government contractor defense, General Dynamics

provided more than adequate proof that the government

exercised its discretion in this case. The 7’revino court’s

requirement that the exercise of discretion can only occur

during the design stage has no precedential or rational

basis.

C. The Trevino Court’s Discretionary Function Test

Necessarily Requires Second-Guessing Of Military

Decision-Making And Ultimately Will Result In

Higher Costs To The United States

The Trevino court’s unwarranted requirement that the

first element of the government contractor defense must

rise to the level of a “substantive review and evaluation

of the relevant design features” is flawed for yet another

reason: its detrimental impact on military decision-mak-

ing and increased costs to the United States. 865 F.2d —

at 1486; Appendix at 23a. When, as Trevino requires,

the trier of fact “must locate the actual exercise of the

discretionary function,” 865 F.2d at 1480; Appendix at

lla, and then must find that this exercise of discretion

“involve[s] the use of policy judgment,” 865 F.2d at

1480; Appendix at 10a, that trier of fact is inevitably

forced to do something specifically prohibited by Boyle:

18

“second-guess” the military’s “judgment as to the bal-

ancing of many technical, military, and even social con-

siderations, including specifically the trade-off between

greater safety and greater combat effectiveness.” 108 S.

Ct. at 2517.°

The inquiry that Trevino requires in order to “locate

the discretion” and determine if it was a “policy level

decision” unavoidably leads a court down a slippery slope

of delving into military decisions.’° While the Fifth Cir-

cuit advised future triers of fact not to evaluate the

“quality” of the government’s review, 865 F.2d at 1480-

81; Appendix at 11-12a, in fact lower courts will be

compelled to do just that. Indeed, in searching for “dis-

cretion,” even the Trevino court. itself was drawn into

examining the competence of the government officials who

approved General Dynamics’ working drawings. 865 F.2d

at 1487 n.12; Appendix at 25a n.12 (“The government’s

use of clearly unqualified individuals to review and ap-

prove highly technical design work . . . may be evidence

that the government does not intend to exercise design

discretion.” (emphasis added) ).

®As Justice Powell recently stated, writing for the Eleventh

Circuit, the judiciary is “the branch of government least competent

to review” sensitive military decisions. Harduvel v. General Dy-

namics Corp., No. 87-3705, slip op. at 35385 (11th Cir. July 31,

1989).

10 Case law addressing the discretionary function exception con-

firms this point: Was there—or did there have to be—a “conscious

decision” by the military when it approved the defect? E.g.,

Kennewick Irrigation District v. United States, No. 87-4203 et al.

(9th Cir. July 12, 1989). Was the military acting at an “opera-

tional” or “planning level” when it made the choice? E.g., Mysla-

kowski v. United States, 806 F.2d 94 (6th Cir. 1986), cert. denied,

489 U.S. 948 (1987). Was the military’s choice a “traditional gov-

ernment function?” E.g., Dube v. Pittsburgh-Corning Corp., 870

F.2d 790 (1st Cir. 1989). If so, was the choice “susceptible of dis-

cretion?” Jd. As these and other cases show, an extraordinary

controversy is rapidly developing among the circuits over the ex-

tent to which the government must actually act in order to exer-

cise its “discretion.”

19.

In addition to ignoring this Court’s admonition against

judicial intrusion into military decisions, the Trevino

court also ignored this Court’s stated goal of ensuring

that the government does not ultimately bear the burden

of these state law tort suits. In Boyle, this Court warned

that the financial burden of state law tort suits “would -

ultimately be passed through, substantially if not totally,

to the United States itself” if-contractors are not pro-

tected by the defense. 108 S. Ct. at 2518. The Trevino

court disagreed: “Actual review and evaluation . . . does

come at a cost to the government.” 865 F.2d at 1480-81

n.5; Appendix at 12a n.5 (emphasis added).

The inevitable second-guessing of military judgments

and increased costs to the government resulting from

the Trevino opinion completely undermines Boyle, and, at

bottom, starkly reveals the unworkability of importing

discretionary function exception case law into the gov-

ernment contractor defense. The difficulty with which

the courts have grappled with the parameters of the ex-

ception highlights how inappropriate it is as an element

of the government contractor defense. The exception does

not, as the Fifth Circuit claims, bring a “rich case law”

to the government contractor defense. As one court

stated, “[r]jather than a seamless web, however, we find

the law in this area to be a patchwork quilt.” Blessing

v. United States, 447 F. Supp. 1160, 1167 (E.D. Pa.

1978).

II. THE TREVINO COURT'S RIGID DEFINITION OF

APPROVAL CREATES A CONFLICT AMONG THE

FEDERAL CIRCUIT COURTS OF APPEAL

As is discussed above, it appears that the Boyle Court

never intended the first element of the government con-

tractor defense to be defined by the myriad of case law

on the discretionary function exception to the Federal

Tort Claims Act. Rather, the reference in Boyle to the

exception was intended to provide the requisite threshold

20

conflict for adoption of federal common law. A review

of the cases both before and after Boyle shows that, with

the exception of the Fifth Circuit, the courts below have

adopted a simpler, broader approval test which had been

established by the majority of the federal circuits prior

to Boyle.

A. The Fifth Circuit’s Limited View Of When And

How Approval May Take Place Conflicts With The

Law Established By The Federal Circuits Prior

To And Unchanged By Boyle Regarding Approval

In carefully choosing the words “considered” and “ap-

proval” to define the first element of the government

contractor defense, this Court in no way suggested that

such consideration is limited to a specific point in the

design process."* The established law in the majority of

the federal circuits, unchanged by Boyle, recognizes ap-

proval in at least four forms:

(1) approval of working drawings or design speci-

fications; !”

11 Although in this Petition General Dynamics argues that “ap-

proval” can and did take place after the design was complete, Gen-

eral Dynamics in no way admits that approval did not take place

during the design phase. For example, the Navy, through the De-

partment of Justice, took the position at trial that there was a con-

tinuous back and forth discussion between the Navy and General

Dynamics during the design stage. In fact, five Navy officials at

successive levels of seniority formally reviewed and approved the

drawings in question, some of which were actually drafted not by

General Dynamics personnel but, remarkably enough, by the Navy

itself. Thus, essentially the Navy approved its own drawings. Ap-

pendix at 63a. Because the Fifth Circuit set forth adequate facts

to show that later approval took place, however, General Dynamics

has not raised the issue of that earlier approval in this Petition.

12 F.g., Smith v. Xerox Corp., 866 F.2d 1385 (5th Cir. 1989);

Trevino, 865 F.2d at 1480; Tozer v. LTV Corp., 792 F.2d 403, 408

(4th Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 108 S. Ct. 2897 (1988).

21

(2) approval through “back-and-forth” discussions

conducted during the design process; **

(3) approval through examination and acceptance

of a prototype or mock-up; * or -

(4) approval through extended use of the equip-

ment as produced.”

Logically, approval of a design can take place at any

point in time prior to the injury at issue; timing is

essentially irrelevant. As one court recently stated:

The Court believes that, contrary to what plaintiff

asserts, the relevant time to evaluate the first prong

is not limited to the time when the Air Force origi-

nally took delivery of the O-2 aircraft. The Air

Force’s later decisions regarding the equipment may

13 F’.g., Harduvel v. General Dynamics Corp., No. 87-3705 (11th

Cir. July 31, 1989) ; Koutsoubos v. Boeing Vertol, 755 F.2d 352, 355

(3d Cir.), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 821 (1985); Boyle v. United

Technologies Corp., 792 F.2d 418, 414 (4th Cir. 1986).

14 F.g., Ramey v. Martin-Baker Aircraft Co., 874 F.2d 946 (4th

Cir. 1989) ; accord In re Air Crash Disaster at Mannheim Germany,

769 F.2d 115, 123 (3d Cir. 1985) (Army inspection and modifica-

tion of the prototype aircraft “alone is sufficient to satisfy the

level of government participation in design so as to constitute

‘approval’”) (emphasis added), cert. denied sub nom. 474 U.S.

1082 (1986); Boyle v. United Technologies Corp., 792 F.2d at 414-

15 (approval proven by the Navy’s review and approval of a mock-up

aircraft) ; see also Tillett v. J.I. Case Co., 756 F.2d 591, 599 (7th

Cir. 1985) (defendant proves approvai element of defense solely

on the basis of the government’s approval of a prototype, i.e., after

design and after construction).

15 F.9., Dowd v. Textron, Inc., 792 F.2d 409, 412 (4th Cir. 1986)

(where Army had been using helicopter, knowing of defect, for

over twenty years, approval test is “amply established’), cert. de-

nied, 108 S. Ct. 2897 (1988); see also Harduvel v. General Dynam-

ics Corp., No. 87-3705, slip op. at 3540 (11th Cir. July 31, 1989)

(“[glovernment review and approval of design and production

methods continued after production began”); Hendrix v. Bell Heli-

copter Textron, Inc., 634 F. Supp. 1551, 1554 (N.D. Tex. 1986)

(court finds military approval of the design because all the allegedly

defective helicopters are still in operation).

22

constitute approval of reasonably precise specifica-

tions.

Schwindt v. Cessna Aircraft Co., No. CV485-472, mem.

op. at 7 (S.D. Ga. Aug. 31, 1988) ; see Harduvel v. Gen-

eral Dynamics Corp., No. 87-3705, slip. op. at 3542 (11th

Cir. July 31, 1989) (government contractor defense proven

where Air Force was aware of design defect and “([dle-

spite its knowledge . . . continued to fly the hundreds of

F-16’s in operation, and to purchase additional ones’).

In finding that General Dynamics failed to show “ap-

proval” by the Navy even where the Navy knew of the

very characteristics at issue in this case, accepted the

design with such features, built the chamber with these

characteristics, and chose to train around them for thir-

teen years, the Fifth Circuit set a standard for “ap-

proval” which conflicts with federal circuit case law

defining the defense. The 7'revino court’s fixation on one

particular indicia of approval—approval of working

drawings and whether mere “rubber stamping” took

place—ignores the other evidence which the courts before

and after Boyle have uniformly acknowledged demon-

strate approval.

The one definition of approval which is no longer viable

after Boyle is that previously enunciated by the Eleventh

Circuit in Shaw v. Grumman Aerospace Corp., 778 F.2d

736 (11th Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 108 S. Ct. 2896 (1988).

The Shaw approval test, like the Trevino approval test,

focused on whether an informed government approval oc-

curred during the design phase.’** Both Trevino and Shaw

16 The Shaw test required a showing that: “(1) the contractor

did not participate, or only participated minimally, in the design

of the defective equipment; or (2) the contractor timely warned the

Government of the risks of the design and notified it of alternative

designs reasonably known by it, and the Government, although fore-

warned, clea.ly authorized the contractor to proceed with the dan-

gerous design.” Boyle, 108 S. Ct. at 2518 (emphasis supplied).

require a court to compare the nature and level of con-

tractor and government participation during the design

stage. This Court rejected Shaw, however, holding that

“(while this formulation may represent a perfectly rea-

sonable tort rule, it is not a rule designed to protect

the Federal interest embodied in the ‘discretionary func-

tion’ exemption.” Boyle, 108 S. Ct. at 2518.

It is clear that the Trevino result—no approval even

in the face of full acceptance with knowledge—cannot

coexist with Boyle or other case law. As Circuit Judge

Jolly stated in his dissenting opinion:

I agree with the panel that “approve” is not synon-

ymous with “rubber stamp.” It does seem to me,

however, that when the government furnishes 339

pages of specifications and involves a review team

with the plans, “rubber stamp” is not an apt descrip-

tion of the government’s involvement. Generally

speaking, I would think that in this case if the gov-

ernment considered the plans and affirmatively as-

sented to them, it has “approved’’; or if the govern-

ment, in the panel’s words, was “charged with the

knowledge of the defect” and accepted the design,

especially for a period of years with no complaint, it

has “approved” contract specifications within the

meaning of Boyle.

876 F.2d 1156; Appendix at 36a.

B. The Fifth Circuit’s Limited View Of When And

How Approval May Take Place Conflicts With The

Fourth Circuit’s Post-Boyle Interpretation Of

Approval

In addition to conflicting with the Lroad approval test

outlined by the case law prior to Boyle and adopted by

this Court in Boyle, the Trevino court’s narrow defini-

tion of when and how approval can take place conflicts

with the Fourth Circuit’s interpretation of Boyle. In

Ramey v. Martin-Baker Aircraft Co., 874 F.2d 946 (4th

Cir. 1989), the Fourth Circuit considered the government

24

contractor defense, explicitly holding that the approval

element of Boyle may be established in two ways: (1)

proof that the government’s review of the specifications

was more than a rubber stamp; or (2) a showing that

the military continued using the product, even therch it

knew of its defective feature. Ramey’s adoption ot the

traditional broad approval test cannot be reconciled with

Trevino’s narrow test.

In Ramey, the plaintiff was injured while trying to

remove an ejection seat from the cockpit of a Navy F-18

fighter aircraft. Martin-Baker Aircraft Company manu-

factured the ejection seat as a subcontractor to McDonnell

Douglas, the designer and producer of the F-18. De-

fendant Martin-Baker asserted that it was immune from

liability based on the government contractor defense, and

the district court agreed. Ramey v. Martin-Baker Air-

craft Co., 656 F. Supp. 984 (D. Md. 1987), aff'd, 874

F.2d 946 (4th Cir. 1989).

On appeal, the Fourth Circuit applied the defense as

adopted by this Court in Boyle, affirming that the con-

tractor had proven the three elements. With respect to

the approval element of Boyle, the Fourth Circuit stated

that there are “two routes” by which the approval ele-

ment may be established. The Ramey court held that,

first, “‘[t]he length and breadth of the [military’s]

experience with the [component]—and its decision to con-

tinue using it—amply establish government approval of

the alleged design defects.’” 874 F.2d at 950 (quoting

Dowd v. Textron, 792 F.2d at 412). Second, “the de-

fense will be permitted to a participating contractor so

long as government approval of a design ‘consists of

more than a mere rubber stamp”” Jd. (quoting Tozer,

792 F.2d at 407-08). The court held that the evidence

produced by Martin-Baker established either test, finding

inter alia that the Navy was aware of the possible haz-

ards of the ejection seat configuration prior to the acci-

dent and that the Navy had approved a prototype or

“mock-up” of the design. Jd,

25 cE

It is the Fourth Circuit’s conclusion that Martin-Baker

‘adequately showed approval through the “length and

breadth” of the military’s experience with the component

that directly conflicts with the Fifth Circuit’s conclusion

that General Dynamics did not. In both cases the Navy

approved the design—in Ramey through approval of a

mock-up, in Trevino by building the equipment itself and

then actually discovering the design features in question

through testing. In both cases, the Navy had prolonged

experience with the allegedly defective component. In

both cases, the Navy was aware of the possible hazards

the component presented. In both cases, the Navy chose

to continue using that component with full knowledge.

Yet in Ramey these facts established approval; in T're-

vino they did not. The incongruity of these two federal

circuit court opinions alone is adequate and proper

grounds for this Court to grant this Petition for a writ of

certiorari.

CONCLUSION

As Circuit Judge Jolly stated in his opinion dissenting

from the Fifth Circuit’s denial of General Dynamics’

Petition for Rehearing En Banc:

The United States Supreme Court, only less than

a year ago specifically chose to use the word “ap-

prove” when it held that “Liability for design de-

fects in military equipment cannot be imposed, pur-

suant to state law, when (1) the United States ap-

proved reasonably precise specifications.” In doing

so, the Court selected a less demanding word than

any of the synonyms it might have chosen... .

876 F.2d at 1155; Appendix at 34a (quoting Boyle, 108

S. Ct. 2518).

Historically, the approval element of the government

contractor defense has been a-simple concept. By over-

defining the word, the Trevino court has created a morass

of confusion unwarranted and unintended by the Su-

preme Court in Boyle. The Trevino definition necessarily

26

draws the judiciary into second-guessing the military, for

the court cannot locate the government’s exercise of dis-

eretion and perform the required analysis of that dis-

cretion without probing the quality and character of the

military’s review. Finally, the Trevino definition of ap-

proval will discourage contractor participation in the

design of military equipment, for under Trevino if the

contractor undertakes to design military products, the

government’s discretionary decision-making will virtually

make the government a clone for all of the contractor’s

design choices.

Respectfully submitted,

HERBERT L. FENSTER

Counsel of Record

RAYMOND B. BIAGINI

CHARLOTTE D. YOUNG

McKENNA, CONNER & CUNEO

1575 Eye Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20005

(202) 789-7500

Attorneys for Petitioner

Date: September 1, 1989 General Dynamics Corporation

APPENDICES

la

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FIFTH CIRCUIT

Nos. 86-2965, 87-2175

GLORIA TREVINO, et al.,

Plaintiffs-A ppellees,

v.

GENERAL DYNAMICS CORP.,

Defendant-A ppellant.

GLORIA TREVINO, et al.,

Plaintiffs,

v.

GENE? AL DYNAMICS CORP.,

Defendant-Cross Claim

Plaintiff-Appellant,

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Defendant-Cross Claim

Defendant-Appellee.

Appeals from the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Texas

Feb. 23, 1989

2a

Herbert L. Fenster, Lawrence M. Farrell, Raymond B.

Biagini, Risa H. Rahinsky, McKenna, Conner & Cuneo,

Washington, D.C., for General Dynamics Corp.

Michael J. Maloney, Houston, Tex., John Dd&y, Atty.,

Robert S. Greenspan, Civ. Div., U.S. Dept. of Justice,

Washington, D.C., Wayne Fisher, Houston, Tex., Thomas

W. Kopf, U.S. Atty., Beaumont, Tex., Hugh Johnston,

Trial Atty., Torts Branch, Civ. Div., Dept. of Justice,

Washington, D.C., for Gloria Trevino, et al. and U.S.

Before REAVLEY, HIGGINBOTHAM and SMITH,

Circuit Judges.

REAVLEY, Circuit Judge:

The families of Navy divers killed in a Navy sub-

marine diving chamber brought this products liability

action under the Death On The High Seas Act, 46 U.S.C.

App. § 761 et seq., and the federal Admiralty law, 28

U.S.C. § 1833, against General Dynamics Corporation,

the designer of the chamber. General Dynamics also filed

a cross-claim against the United States claiming that, in

the event it was found liable to the plaintiffs, the United

States would be liable to General Dynamics under a con-

tractual indemnification clause. Trial was to the court,

which held that General Dynamics was liable for the

deaths of the divers and that the United States was not

liable to General Dynamics under the indemnification

clause. Trevino v. General Dynamics Corp., 626 F. Supp.

1330 (E.D.Tex.1986). We affirm the judgment for the

families of the divers against General Dynamics and

vacate, for lack of jurisdiction, that part of the judg-

ment favoring the United States on contractual indemnity.

I. Factual Background

On the night of January 16, 1982, five United States

Navy divers died in an accident aboard the submarine

U.S.S. GRAYBACK. The ventilation valve, which al-

8a

lowed air to enter the flooded diving chamber, was not

fully open; and as the divers drained the water, a vacuum

formed in the chamber.

The U.S.S. GRAYBACK was designed and constructed

in the late 1950s as a missile-carrying submarine. It was

equipped with two large cylindrical pressure chambers

on its forward deck, which were used as storage hangars

for the missiles. In the late 1960s the GRAYBACK was

converted to a personnel-carrying submarine capable of

dispatching divers underwater. One portion of that con-

version was the installation of a diver lock-in/lock-out

system in the cylindrical pressure chambers. The Navy

established the basic design concept for the modifications

to the GRAYBACK in a 339-page circular of require-

ments (“COR”) describing the design concepts, including

two pages describing the design of the diving hangar

and a one-page diagram of the flood and drain system,

and selected Mare Island Naval Shipyard (“MINS”) as

the site for the design and conversion work.

In 1966 and 1967 the Navy contracted with General

Dynamics Corporation Electric Boat Division to do the

- design work on the diving hangar. The contracts re-

quired General Dynamics to produce working drawings

of the hangar and the lock-in/lock-out system and to as-

sume full responsibility for all necessary technical re-

search, to review its work product to assure compliance

with the COR, and to conduct all quality assurance, in-

cluding inspection of the end product, before issue to the

Navy. General Dynamics supplied 37 employees, who

worked on-site at MINS and produced 71 pages of de-

tailed working drawings. Each of the drawings was

signed by a government employee in a box marked “ap-

proved.” After General Dynamics completed the draw-

ings, their employees left MINS, and the Navy performed

all the manufacturing and conversion work on the GRAY-

BACK.

4a

The design concept, as stated in the COR, called for a

“control bubble,” a plexiglass enclosure that would be

lighted and filled with air while the diving hangar was

flooded, from which a diver could operate all the controls

necessary to drain the diving hangar. General Dynam-

ics’s design, however, placed the hand wheel control for

the ventilation valve adjacent to, but not controllable

from, the control bubble. General Dynamics’s design did

not include a lighted position indicator on the ventilation

valve control, a remote valve position indicator, vacuum

gauges, safety interlocks, or any other type of warning

or safety device to prevent a vacuum or to notify the

divers or the crew inside the submarine (“the dry side”)

of the presence or possibility of a vacuum. The Navy op-

erated the submarine for 13 years without mishap, al-

though Navy personnel noted on at least four occasions

that the ventilation valve control was difficult to turn.

The Navy never performed nor required a formal design/

safety review of the GRAYBACK’s diving system prior

to the accident.

Following the accident, the Navy conducted an investi-

gation and concluded that the accident was caused by

“a combination of design deficiency, material defect, un-

sound operating procedures, and personnel error.” Spe-

cifically, the Navy found the following four design defi-

ciencies: that there was no safety interlock mechanism

to prevent the opening of the hangar drain valve when

the main vent valve was not fully opened; that the only

valve position indicator on the main vent valve was a

metal tab that was underwater and could not be seen

1 General Dynamics argues that the hand wheel was controllable

from the bubble. The plaintiffs concede that a diver could turn the

wheel without leaving the plexiglass enclosure but point out that

the wheel was under water and that the divers were generally fully

submerged when operating the control. It is undisputed that the

hand wheel control was not visible from the air bubble. Therefore,

we accept the district court’s finding that, as a practical matter, the

ventilation valve was not controllable from the air bubble.

5a

when draining the hangar; that there was no remote

position indicator that could be seen from the dry side of

the hangar; and that the genera! design of the hangar

made proper maintenance of the main vent valve ex-

tremely difficult, “if not impossible.” Trevino v. General

Dynamics Corp., 626 F.Supp. at 1332-33. The district

court found that both the Navy and General Dynamics

were negligent and that the design was dangerously de-

fective. General Dynamics was negligent in failing (1)

to provide for a safety interlock device, (2) to provide

for a valve position indicator that is visible when draining

the hangar, (3) to provide for a remote position indi-

cator that could be seen from the dry side, (4) to design

the valve so that proper maintenance was possible, (5)

to adhere to the Navy’s COR requiring that the vent

valve be controllable from the control bubble, (6) to warn

the Navy about the dangers associated with the design’s

potential to create a partial vacuum, and (7) to warn or

instruct the Navy. concerning the failure to provide for

basic safety and warning devices. The Navy was negli-

gent in failing (1) to provide for basic safety features

in its COR, (2) to perform sufficient operational testing,

(3) to conduct a formal-design review of the system,

and (4) to properly lubricate and maintain the shaft to

the main hangar vent valve. The court attributed 80%

of the fault to General Dynamics and 20% of the fault

to the Navy.? Although many aspects of the faulty de-

2 The trial court noted that the finding as to the Navy “is merely

superfluous as the Court has already ruled that the United States

is immune from the Plaintiff’s direct suit under the Feres-Stencel

doctrine.” 626 F.Supp. at 1333. As will be explained hereafter, the

district court’s findings of negligent conduct by the Navy, with the

exception of its finding that the Navy failed to properly lubricate

and maintain the shaft, are also superfluous because these acts

by the Navy are discretionary functions. The Navy may delegate

the design and testing of military equipment to a private contractor,

~ and the Navy need not perform a design or safety review of the

6a

sign and the improper maintenance of the system con-

tributed to the accident, the fundamental design defect

was that the design of the hangar made it impossible for

the diver who was draining the system to know whether

the vent valve-was fully open and that there was no

back-up system of any sort to prevent a vacuum or to

warn the diver or the crew if the diver did begin to

drain the hangar while the vent valve was partially

closed. None of the parties on appeal question the cor-

rectness of the finding that the design was defective.

The parties do dispute whether General Dynamics, as

a government contractor, is responsible for the injuries

caused by its defective design.. The principal question

presented in this case is what are the contours of the

government contractor defense recognized by the United

States Supreme Court in Boyle v. United Technologies

Corp., —— U.S. ——, 108 S.Ct. 2510, 101 L.Ed.2d 442

(1988).

II. A Government Contractor’s Derivative Immunity

Prior to the Boyle decision, this circuit and others

had recognized under federal common law a defense that

protected government contractors from liability in prod-

ucts liability actions based on injuries to servicemen

caused by defectively-designed military equipment. See

Bynum v. FMC Corp., 770 F.2d 556, 574 (5th Cir. 1985) ;

see also Tozer v. LTV Corp., 792 F.2d 403, 406 (4th Cir.

1986), cert. denied, —— U.S. ——, 108 8.Ct. 2897, 101

L.Ed.2d 931 (1988) ; Shaw v. Grumman Aerospace Corp.,

778 F.2d 736, 738 (11th Cir. 1985) ; In re Air Crash Dis-

aster at Mannheim Germany on Sept. 11, 1982, 769 F.2d

115, 122 (3d Cir. 1985), cert. denied, Schoenborn v. Boe-

ing Co., 474 U.S. 1082, 106 S.Ct. 851, 88 L.Ed.2d 891

(1986) ; Tillett v. J. I. Case Co., 756 F.2d 591, 597 (7th

contractor’s work. The government is not answerable in court

for its delegation of these decisions when the contractor is negli-

gent.

Ta

Cir. 1985) ; McKay v. Rockwell Int’l Corp., 704 F.2d 444,

451 (9th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 10438, 104 S.Ct.

711, 79 L.Ed.2d 175 (1984). This immunity for govern-

ment contractors was derived from the government’s im-

munity under the Feres-Stencel doctrine.2 See Bynum,

770 F.2d at 565; see also McKay, 704 F.2d at 449 (“The

reasons for applying the government contractor defense

to suppliers of military equipment with design defects

approved by the government parallel those supporting the

Feres-Stencel doctrine.”). Bynum established the follow-

ing elements for the government contractor defense:

To establish the government contractor defense, a

military contractor must first demonstrate that the

government is immune from liability under the

Feres-Stencel doctrine. ... Second, the military con-

tractor must prove that the government established

reasonably precise specifications for the allegedly de-

fective military equipment and that the equipment

conformed to those specifications. . . . Finally, it

must be shown that the military contractor warned

the government about errors in the government spec-

ifications or dangers involved in the use of the equip-

ment that were known to the contractor but not to

the government.

770 F.2d at 574. The primary purpose behind this for-

mulation of the defense is to prevent the contractor from

being held liable when the government is actually at fault

3 Feres v. United States, 340 U.S. 135, 71 S.Ct. 153, 95 L.Ed. 152

(1950), held that a soldier may not sue the United States for in-

juries caused by the negligence of his superior officers or the

government if those injuries were incident to his military service.

Stencel Aero Engineering Corp. v. United States, 431 U.S. 666,

97 S.Ct. 2054, 52 L.Ed.2d 665 (1977), extended Feres and held

that the United States is immune from liability to a rovernment

contractor for contribution or indemnity when a soldier has recov-

ered against a government contractor for injuries partially caused

by the negligence of the government.

8a

but is protected by the Feres-Stencel doctrine. See id. at

565.

A. The Boyle Defense

The Supreme Court in Boyle v. United Technologies

Corp., —— U.S. ——, 108 S.Ct. 2510, 101 L.Ed.2d 442

(1988), recognized the government contractor defense.

The Court’s opinion began with fundamentals, noting

that state tort law is preempted by federal common law

in areas of unique federal interests and holding that the

- procurement of equipment by the United States is such

an area. See id. 108 S.Ct. at 2513-15. The scope of the

displacement of state law is defined by the elements of

the defense that the Court adopted.

Liability for design defects in military equipment

cannot be imposed, pursuant to state law, when (1)

the United States approved reasonably precise spec-

ifications; (2) the equipment conformed to those

specifications; and (3) the supplier warned the

United States about the dangers in the use of the

equipment that were known to the supplier but not

to the United States.

Id. at 2518. The Court specifically rejected the Feres-

Stencel doctrine as the basis for this defense, and instead

grounded the defense in the policies underlying the dis-

cretionary function exception of the Federal Tort Claims

Act (FTCA), 28 U.S.C. § 1846(b). Id. at 2517.

With the exception of discarding the first Bynum ele-

ment, the Supreme Court’s articulation of the elements

of the government contractor defense is virtually identi-

cal to the existing Fifth Circuit law. As we noted re-

cently, the Boyle opinion “does not change the law in this

and other Circuits, except to reject the ideological basis

for contractor immunity based upon the Feres doctrine.”

McGonigal v. Gearhart Indus., Inc., 851 F.2d 774, 777

(5th Cir. 1988). Yet that change may be significant. The

9a

discretionary function exception, 28 U.S.C. § 2680(a), ex-

cepts from the FTCA consent to suit “[a]ny claim...

based upon the exercise or performance or the failure to

exercise or perform a discretionary function or duty on

the part of a federal agency or an employee of the Gov-

ernment, whether or not the discretion involved be

abused.” The Supreme Court noted that this statutory

provision “demonstrates the potential for, and suggests

the outlines of, ‘significant conflict’? between federal in-

terests and state law in the context of government pro-

curement” and held that “the selection of the appropriate

design for military equipment to be used by our Armed

Forces is assuredly a discretionary function within the

meaning of this provision.” 108 S.Ct. at 2517. The Su-

preme Court’s rejection of the Feres-Stencel doctrine as

the basis for the defense means that the purpose behind

the three elements of the defense is not the attainment of

the policies identified in Feres and in Bynum, but defer-

ence to the discretionary functions of the government.

The district court applied the three elements of the de-

fense almost exactly as stated in Boyle. See 626 F. Supp.

at 1334-35. Although government employees signed each

page of the working drawings indicating their approval

of the design, the district court held that “the level of

review here was not sufficient to constitute ‘approval.’ ”

Id. at 1336. Thus, this case presents the question, un-

resolved by the Supreme Court, of what constitutes “ap-

proval” under the first element of the Boyle defense.

B. “Approval” Under Boyle

Assuming for the moment that the signatures denoting

government approval of General Dynamics’s designs were

made without any sort of review cr evaluation of the

designs, that they were mere bureaucratic rubber stamps,

that they signified at most the government’s decision to

allow General Dynamics to make all of the important

design choices and the government’s confidence in Gen-

10a

eral Dynamics’s ability to do so, would such “approval”

be sufficient to satisfy the first element of the Boyle de-

fense? The majority in Bogle did not define approval,

but the dissent clearly feared such a possibility arising

from the majority’s formulation of the defense: “Re-

spondent is immune from liability so long as it obtained

approval of ‘reasonably precise specifications’—perhaps

no more than a rubber stamp from a federal procurement

officer who might or might not have noticed or cared

about the defects, or even had the expertise to discover

them.” Boyle, 108 S.Ct. at 2519 (Brennan, J., dissent-

ing).* Actually, the sufficiency of the government ap-

proval was not an issue in Boyle. The Fourth Circuit

had noted that the Navy and the contractor had worked

closely together on the design, that there was abundant

evidence of back-and-forth discussions and exchange of

information between the contractor and the Navy, and

that the Navy had reviewed fully and had approved the

final design. Boyle v. United Technologies Corp., 792

F.2d 418, 414-15 (4th Cir. 1986), aff'd, US. —,

108 S.Ct. 2510, 101 L.Ed.2d 442 (1988).

We hold that “approval” under the Boyle defense re-

quires more than a rubber stamp. First, the Court’s

rejection of the Feres-Stencel doctrine in favor of the

discretionary function exception as the basis for the de-

fense tells us that the purpose of the defense is to protect

the discretionary functions of the government and that,

therefore, approval under the defense must constitute a

discretionary function. Second, our reading of the case

law defining the notion of a “discretionary function”

reveals that not all government acts involving some ele-

ment of choice are discretionary functions, but only those

that involve the use of policy judgment. When the gov-

4In Bynum, we also left this question open by refusing to decide

what level of government participation in generating design speci-

fications was necessary to satisfy the approval requirement. See

770 F.2d at 574 n. 23.

lla

ernment merely accepts, without any substantive review

or evaluation, decisions made by a government contrac-

tor, then the contractor, not the government, is exercising

discretion. A rubber stamp is not a discretionary func-

tion; therefore, a rubber stamp is not “approval” under

Boyle.

In considering the first element of the Boyle defense

in a case like this one, the trier of fact will deter-

mine whether the government has exercised or dele-

gated to the contractor discretion over the product de-

sign. The government exercises its discretion over the

design when it actually chooses a design feature. The

government delegates the design discretion when it buys

a product designed by a private manufacturer; when it

contracts for the design of a product or a feature of a

product, leaving the critical design decisions to the pri-

vate contractor; or when it contracts out the design of

a concept generated by the government, requiring only

that the final design satisfy minimal or genera! stand-

ards established by the government. If the government

delegates the design discretion to the contractor, the ex-

ercise of that discretion does not revert to the govern-

ment by the mere retention of a right of “final approval”

of a design nor by the mere “approval” of the design

without any substantive review or evaluation of the rele-

vant design features or with a review to determine only

that the design complies with the general requirements

initially established by the government. The mere signa-

ture of a government employee on the “approval line” of

a contractor’s working drawings, without more, does not

establish the government contractor defense. The trier of

fact should not evaluate the wisdom or quality of any

government decision, but must locate the actual exercise

of the discretionary function. If the government contrac-

tor exercised the actual discretion over the defective fea-

ture of the design, then the contractor will not escape

liability via the government contractor defense—the gov-

12a

ernment’s rubber stamp on the design drawings notwith-

standing.®

That Boyle requires more than a rubber stamp is clear

from its formulation of the elements of the defense, each

of which serve to locate the exercise of discretion in the

government. Under the first element the government

must approve reasonably precise specifications. The re-

quirement that the specifications be precise means that

the discretion over significant details and all critical de-

sign choices will be exercised by the government. If the

government approved imprecise or general guidelines,

then discretion over important design choices would be

left to the government contractor. The same is true for

the second element, which requires that the equipment

conform to the specifications. If the contractor were free

to deviate from the government’s specifications, then dis-

5 General Dynamics takes issue with the trial court’s conclusion

that under any other reading of the approval requirement “the

government contractor’s defense would seem always to apply and

contractors would never be liable for a defective product because

the government would always be in a position to approve a con-

tractor design.” 626 F.Supp. at 1337. But the district court was

correct. If the signature of a government employee on a design

drawing in a box marked “approved” establishes the first element

of the government contractor defense as a matter of law, govern-

ment contractors would make sure that they would never face lia-

bility for defective design of military equipment merely by bar-

gaining for a guarantee that some federal employee would place

his signature at the bottom of every sheet of paper involved in the

design of a product and thus confer the government’s “approval.”

Such a provision likely would be agreed to by the government

because it would come at absolutely no cost. Actual review and

evaluation of design decisions, however, does come at a cost tu

the government. That is why the government must decide wheiner

to exercise the design discretion itself or to delegate that discre-

tion to the government contractor. As the district court noted

“Tijn the real world, although the government and the contractor

may jointly work together in producing specifications, the level of

participation always varies. Sometimes the government’s partici-

pation is minimal at best. That is the very case here.” Id.

Se ech abe

NO et a A oe

—

cretion over the design choices would be exercised by the

contractor, not by the government.* Boyle noted that

“(t]he first two of these conditions assure that the suit

is within the area where the policy of the ‘discretionary

function’ would be frustrated—i.e., they assure that the

design feature in question was considered by a Govern-

ment officer, and not merely by the contractor itself.” 108

S.Ct. at 2518.7 It would be absurd, then, to fashion a

rule that allowed liability when the specifications were

not sufficiently precise or when the contractor deviated

from the specifications while disallowing liability when

the federal officer signing the design approval did not

review or understand the specifications or care whether

the contractor deviated from them. As we noted in

Bynum, the purpose of the test is to deny the defense to

a government contractor ‘that is itself ultimately re-

sponsible for the design defect.” 770 F.2d at 574.

The third element of the Boyle defense requires that

the government contractor warn the government when

®It could be asserted that the second element functions only to

remove the government contractor defense for manufacturing de-

fects, and is not about discretion at all. But Boyle specifically

stated that the three elements established a defense to “[l]liability

for design defects in military equipment.” 108 S.Ct. at 2518. A

manufacturer is liable for manufacturing defects no matter who

designed or approved the specifications. As we noted in McGonigal,

“military contractor immunity does not apply in cases of defective

manufacture.” 851 F.2d at 777.

™The Supreme Court’s use of the terms “approved” and “con-

sidered” is unfortunate. Taken out of context these terms might

suggest that a rubber stamp is sufficient. But we must note that

the term “considered” is linked in the sentence to the notion of

a discretionary function and is meant to indicate that the govern-

ment has exercised discretion. The exercise of a discretionary

function cannot be equated with a rubber stamp approval. More-

over, the Court’s statement indicates that the government’s cogni-

zance of the relevant design features must be on a par with that

of the government contractor. At a minimum, the federal officer

approving the design must not only sign it but know what is there.

14a

the contractor has information which the government

lacks. This element clearly contemplates that the govern-

ment’s approval of the design will involve informed de-

cisions and considered choices. As we noted in Bynum,

the primary purpose of the warning element is “to

enable the government to make determinations as to the

design and use of military equipment based on all readily

available information.” Jd. at 574. The Court’s inclusion

of a warning element must indicate that approval re-

quires some level of evaluation and review; otherwise a

government contractor might argue one day that it

should have the benefit of the defense despite its failure

to give a warning because the government had rubber-

stamped the design, because the information withheld

would have been of no use to the government and was not

desired by the government, and because the provision of

the information would not have affected the government’s

“approval” of the design. The Supreme Court noted that

the warning requirement prevents the defense from creat-

ing an incentive to withhold information: “We adopt

this provision lest our effort to protect discretionary

functions perversely impede them by cutting off informa-

tion highly relevant to the discretionary decisions.” 108

S.Ct. at 2518. That purpose would be a farce if the gov-

ernment could approve specifications without evaluating

them.

In discussing the federal interests involved, Boyle gives

two hypothetical cases in which the government contrac-

tor defense would not apply. First, if the United States

contracts for the purchase and installation of an air con-

ditioning unit, specifying the cooling capacity but not the

precise manner of the construction, and the state law re-

quired a duty of care to inelude a certain safety feature,

“no one suggests that state law would generally be pre-

empted in this context.” 108 S.Ct. at 2516. Second, if a

federal procurement officer orders, by model number, a

quantity of stock helicopters that happen to be equipped

15a

with improperly designed escape hatches, the govern-

ment’s order would not establish its significant interest

in that particular design. “That would be scarcely more

reasonable than saying that a private individual who

orders such a craft by model number cannot sue for the

manufacturer’s negligence because he got precisely what

he ordered.” Jd. These examples do not square with an

interpretation of the Boyle defense that contemplates ap-

proval without evaluation. In both cases the government

has no interest in the defective design feature because

the contractor, not the government, exercised discretion

over the design choice. If discretion is unimportant to

approval, if the government may approve by rubber

stamp, then the government ought to be able to approve

the design by accepting and using the air conditioning

unit or by ordering and accepting delivery of the helicop-

ters. Boyle clearly indicates that such “approval” would

be insufficient.

Decisions in the circuit courts prior to Boyle also sup-

port our holding. The Third Circuit flatly held that the

government’s approval must consist of “more than a

mere rubber stamp.” In re Aircrash Disaster, 769 F.2d

at 122. The Third Circuit held that the government’s

approval of a design satisfies the first element of the gov-

ernment contractor defense if it comes “after a substan-

tive review of the specifications.” Jd. at 123. The case

of Shaw v. Grumman Aerospace Corp., 593 F.Supp. 1066

($.D.Fla.1984), affd, 778 F.2d 736 (11th Cir.1985),

cert. denied, U.S. ——, 108 S.Ct. 2896, 101 L.Ed.2d

930 (1988), presents almost exactly the same relation-

ship between the United States Navy and a military con-

tractor as we find in the present case. Shaw concerned

defects in the design of the Navy’s A-6 aircraft. The

district court found that the Navy provided general per- |

formance, mission and criteria specifications to Grum-

man, that Grumman exclusively designed the aircraft and

submitted the detailed specifications to the Navy, that

16a

the Grumman drawings were routinely examined and

approved by Navy personnel, that the Navy did not eval-

uate the design data or check the accuracy or compliance

of the drawings, that Grumman in fact had final control

of the design of the aircraft, that Grumman decided to

use a defectively-designed stabilizer system on the air-

craft, and that the Navy was not aware of the design

defect at the time of approval. Jd., 593 F.Supp. at 1070-

73. Moreover, after the defect was discovered by the

Navy, the Navy requested Grumman to solve the problem:

Grumman designed “self-retaining bolts” for the stabilizer

system, and the Navy installed them as instructed, but

this modification was also defective. 778 F.2d at 738.

Although the district court explicitly found the Navy had

approved the defective design, both the district court and

the Eleventh Circuit discounted that approval because

it was merely a rubber stamp. The Eleventh Circuit

noted that the Navy “relied” on Grumman’s advice and

that the approval did not constitute an “informed mili-

tary decision.” Jd. at 747. The Eleventh Circuit affirmed

the holding that the military contractor defense was not

available to Grumman, but that court went further and

changed the elements of the defense. The new defense

did not examine the exercise of discretion but keyed im-

munity to the level of contractor participation in the de-

sign process. See id. at 746.

The Supreme Court in Boyle specifically rejected the

Eleventh Circuit’s formulation of the military contractor

defense: “[I]t does not:seem to us sound policy to pen-

alize, and chus deter, active contractor participation in

the design process, placing the contractor at risk unless

it identifies all design defects.” 108 S.Ct. at 2518. Boyle

rejected the Shaw formulation of the defense because it

was not “designed to protect the federal interests em-

bodied in the ‘discretionary function’ exception.” Jd. But

the Supreme Court never indicated that the result

17a

reached in Shaw was incorrect.* The district court in

Shaw had applied the formulation of the defense that

was adopted in Boyle and held the Navy’s “approval” of

the A-6 was insufficient to satisfy the government con-

tractor defense. See 593 F.Supp. at 1074.

Not only does a careful analysis of the elements of the

government contractor defense suggest that a rubber

stamp is insufficient approval, the Supreme Court’s rejec-

tion of the Feres-Stencel doctrine and recognition of the

discretionary function exception as the basis for this de-

fense mandates that result. In McKay v. Rockwell Int’l

Corp., 704 F.2d 444 (9th Cir.1983), the Ninth Circuit

was confronted with an older case that had apparently

conditioned the government contractor defense upon the

exercise of design discretion. In Merritt, Chapman &

Scott Corp. v. Guy F. Atkinson Co., 295 F.2d 14 (9th

Cir.1961), a private firm had contracted with the govern-

ment to build a dam, and the contract had specified the

location, height, and some performance requirements of

the upstream cofferdam but left the design, materials

and method of construction to the discretion of the con-

tractor. The Ninth Circuit held that the government

contractor defense was not available to shield the con-

tractor from liability for damages caused by the collapse

of the defective cofferdam. Jd. at 15-16. The McKay

court concluded “[u]nder these circumstances, Merritt,

Chapman properly precludes the government -ontractor

rule. When only minimal or only very generai require-

ments are set for the contractor by the United States the

rule is inapplicable.” 704 F.2d at 450. But the McKay

court went on to hold that “[t]he situation is different

where the United States reviewed and approved a de-

tailed set of specifications.” Jd. (emphasis added). But

8In fact, the Supreme Court denied the petition for writ of

certiorari, —— U.S. ——, 108 S.Ct. 2896, 101 L.Ed.2d 930 (1988),

and a petition for rehearing, —— U.S. , 109 S.Ct. 10, 101

L.Ed.2d 961 (1988), in the Shaw case after its decision in Boyle.

18a

the question remained how much review is necessary and

what constitutes approval. The Ninth Circuit held that

“lijt is at this point that the Feres-Stencel doctrine

comes sharply into focus,” id., and concluded that the

Feres-Stencel doctrine required a broader application of

the rule than Merritt, Chapman might suggest, id. 704

F.2d at 450-51. Yet, the Supreme Court in Boyle re-

jected F'eres-Stencel as the basis of the government con-

tractor defense both because it was too narrow in that it

did not cover suits by civilians and because it was too

broad in precluding recovery for some injuries that were

not in any way the result of the exercise of government

discretion. See Boyle, 108 8.Ct. at 2517. Boyle rejected

the Feres-Stencel doctrine because it defines the federal

interests in terms of the military subject matter of the

case, regardless of whether any discretion was exercised

by the government.

The Supreme Court’s choice of the discretionary func-

tion exception is also important because it imports into

this area of the law the policies underlying that provi-

sion, which are quite different from those underlying the

Feres-Stencel doctrine, and a rich case law defining what

the government’s exercise of discretion is and what it is

not. The Feres-Stencel doctrine is strictly based on sep-

aration of powers concerns and the need to prevent any

sort of “second-guessing” of military orders by civilian

courts. See Stencel Aero Engineering Corp. v. United

States, 481 U.S. 666, 673, 97 S.Ct. 2054, 2059, 52 L.Ed.2d

665 (1977).° The discretionary function exception also

seeks to “prevent judicial ‘second-guessing’ of legislative

and administrative decisions grounded in social, economic,

and political policy through the medium of an action in

® See also Tozer, 792 F.2d at 406 (holding that the pre-Boyle

military contractor defense is heavily dependent on Feres doctrine

considerations and that the defense seeks to prevent courts from

second-guessing military decisions); Bynum, 770 F.2d at 563

(same).

ae

ee ek

19a

tort.” United States v. S.A. Empresa de Viacao Aerea

Rio Grandense (Varig Airlines), 467 U.S. 797, 814, 104

| §.Ct. 2755, 2765, 81 L.Ed.2d 660 (1984). However, this

policy is balanced against the “broad and just purpose”

of the FTCA to compensate victims of negligence in the

conduct of governmental activities. Indian Towing Co.

v. United States, 350 U.S. 61, 68, 76 S.Ct. 122, 126, 100

L.Ed. 48 (1955).

Courts have found it “unnecessary—and indeed im-

possible—to define with precision every contour of the

discretionary function exception.” Varig Airlines, 467

U.S. at 818, 104 S.Ct. at 2764; see also Williamson v.

United States Dept. of Agric., 815 F.2d 368, 374-75 (5th

Cir.1987) (noting the difficult task of divining the bound-

aries of governmental discretion). The Supreme Court

has held that the discretionary function exception turns

on “the nature of the conduct, rather than the status of

the actor,” that the provision covers acts by all federal

employees, regardless of rank, if the challenged acts are

of the “nature and quality” to fall within the exception.

Varig Airlines, 467 U.S. at 813, 104 S.Ct. at 2764. The

court must determine whether the judgment exercised is

of the kind that the discretionary function exception was

designed to shield.. Berkovitz by Berkovitz v. United

States, —— U.S. ——, 108 S.Ct.1954, 1959, 100 L.Ed.2d

531 (1988). The courts have been adamant about one

point, however: not all decisions made by government

employees are covered by the discretionary function ex-

ception. “Every act of a rational being involves some

choices,” and the discretionary function exception must

be read carefully or it will totally insulate the govern-

ment from tort liability. Collins v. United States, 783

F.2d 1225, 1233-34 (5th Cir.1986) (Brown, J., concur-

ring). Courts have generally drawn a line between deci-

sions at a planning level, or decisions that exercise policy

judgment, and decisions at a operational level, or deci-

sions that are merely incident to carrying out a govern-

20a

ment policy. See Dalehite v. United States, 346 U.S. 15,

35-36, 73 S.Ct. 956, 968, 97 L.Ed. 1427 (1958). “Dis-

cretionary decision-making . . . is accompanied by non-

discretionary acts of execution, whether termed opera-

tional, ministerial, or clerical.” Payton v. United States,

679 F.2d 475, 480 (5th Cir. Unit B 1982) (en banc).

Once the government makes a discretionary decision, the

discretionary function exception does not apply to subse-

quent decisions made in the carrying out of that policy,

“even though discretionary decisions are constantly made

as to how those acts are carried out.” Wysinger v.

United States, 784 F.2d 1252, 1253 (5th Cir.1986). The

decisions of this circuit have been extraordinarily careful

to avoid any interpretation of the dis.retionary function

exception that would embrace any governmental act

merely because some decision-making power was exercised

by the official whose act was questioned. See, e.g., Den-

ham v. United States, 834 F.2d 518, 520 (5th Cir.1987)

(noting that the “government’s approach would subsume

practically any decision within the discretionary function

exception and thereby vitiate the FTCA”); Smith v.

United States, 375 F.2d 248, 246 (5th Cir.) (noting that

a broader reading of the exception would destroy the

“corpuscular vitality” of the Federal Tort Claims Act),

cert. denied, 389 U.S. 841, 88 S.Ct. 76, 19 L.Ed.2d 106

(1967).

Although the planning/operational distinction does not

always work, a government decision, at a minimum, must

involve judgment or policy choice to fall within the

discretionary function exception. See Berkovitz, 108 S.Ct.

at 1958-59; Dalehite, 346 U.S. at 34, 73 S.Ct. at 967.

The discretionary function exception “properly construed,

therefore protects only governmental actions and deci-

sions based on considerations of public policy”; discre-

tionary decisions involve “the permissible exercise of

policy judgment.” Berkovitz, 108 S.Ct. at 1959. The

Boyle Court noted that the selection of the appropriate

ae eens Sa hath

a ll a cle ls cli al

2la

design for military equipment to be used by our armed

forces is a discretionary function because it involves

“not merely engineering analysis but judgment as to the

balancing of many technical, military, and even social

considerations, including specifically the trade-off between

greater safety and greater combat effectiveness.” 108

S.Ct. at 2517.

In discretionary function cases, the Supreme Court has

recognized that a government agency may delegate its

discretion to private parties. In Varig Airlines, the gov-

ernment answered a suit against the FAA for certifying

a dangerously defective plane that the responsibility for

safety rests with the airplane manufacturer and that the

government may enforce those safety standards with

“spot checks”; the Court agreed and held that the gov-

ernment’s decision to use spot checks was a discretionary

function. 467 U.S. at 815, 104 S.Ct. at 2765. The Court

specifically noted that the discretionary function excep-

tion protects “policy judgments regarding the degree of

confidence that might reasonably be placed in a given

manufacturer.” Id. at 820, 104 S.Ct. at 2768. In fact,

the Boyle Court noted that “[t]he design ultimately

selected may well reflect a significant policy judgment

by Government officials whether or not the contractor

rather than those officials developed the design.” 108

S.Ct. at 2518.

If the government has chosen to delegate its design

discretion to a private contractor, however, the govern-

10 It must be noted that, although the government’s decision to

delegate its discretion on a matter to a private contractor is itself

a discretionary function, that is not the discretion with which the

government contractor defense is concerned. The discretionary

function at issue in the government contractor defense is that dis-

cretion involved in “selecti{ng] the appropriate design for military

equipment to be used by our armed forces.” 1028 S.Ct. at 2517. The

three elements of the government contractor defense determine

whether the government exercised the design discretion or dele-

gated that discretion to the government contractor.

22a

ment does not exercise a discretionary function by merely

approving the contractor’s work. This circuit confronted

that issue in Butier v. United States, 726 F.2d 1057 (5th

Cir.1984). In Butler the families of eight persons who

had drowned in an underwater depression created by an

Army Corps of Engineers project sued the government

and the private contractors that had performed work

for the Army Corps of Engineers. The project was the

repair of a seawall in Hancock County, Mississippi, that

was damaged in a hurricane. The sand needed for the

repair was obtained by the dredging the Mississippi

Sound, thereby creating a depression in shallow water

near a popular beach. The Army Corps of Engineers

contracted out the operation to Farrell Construction Co.,

who subcontracted parts of it to two other companies.

The contract provided that the Army Corps of Engineers

would retain ultimate control, would approve all plans,

shop drawings, construction practices, methods and ma-

terials and that completion of the project was subject to

the inspection and acceptance by the Corps. The contract

also required the posting of warning signs for swimmers.

The suit alleged that the warnings were inadequate. See

id. at 1059-60. In determining the government’s liability,

this court held that the preparation of the contract was

a discretionary function but that the “controlling, super-

vising, contracting and carrying out of the contract”

were not discretionary; those actions were operational

in nature and did not enjoy immunity under the dis-

cretionary function exception. Jd. at 1062. This court

held that the decisions by the Army Corps of Engineers

to repair the seawall and to dredge the sound were dis-

cretionary, but ‘‘once these decisions were made, the

Government was no longer exercising a discretionary

function.” Jd. at 1063. This is not to say that it is im-

possible for the government to exercise a discretionary

function when supervising a private contractor, but only

that once the government has delegated authority to the

private contractor to make important choices, the gov-

23a

ernment does not exercise a discretionary function by

merely accepting the contractor’s work."

To summarize: The government contractor defense as

reformulated in Boyle protects government contractors

from liability for defective designs if discretion over the

design feature in question was exercised by the govern-

ment. If the government delegates its design discretion

to the contractor and allows the contractor to develop the

design, the government contractor defense does not apply.

If the government has so delegated its discretion to the

contractor, mere government acceptance of the contractor’s

work does not resuscitate the defense unless there is ap-

proval based on substantive review and evaluation of the

contractor’s design choices. A mere rubber stamp by a

federal procurement officer does not constitute approval

11 Our recent case of Gordon v. Lykes Bros. S.S. Co., 8385 F.2d

96 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, —— USS. , 109 S.Ct. 78, 102

L.Ed.2d 50 (1988), illustrates this point. During World War II,

the United States decided to operate a fleet of merchant ships, and

the government gained control of ships that had been built by

private manufacturers and previously owned by private parties and

that had asbestos insulation. The government continued to operate

these ships and expose the sailors to asbestos fibers, and the gov-

ernment did not institute any sort of safety program. Some of the

Gordon plaintiffs sued for injuries caused by this exposure to

asbestos. Although the decisions that caused the sailors to be

exposed to asbestos were seemingly operational, and indeed the

decision to incorporate asbestos into the design of these ships was

made by private parties prior to the government’s gaining con-

trol of them, this court held that the government’s decisions to

expose sailors to asbestos fibers fell within the discretionary

function exception. Jd. at 99. This holding, however, was based

on “a substantial amount of historical evidence” showing that the

decision to expose U.S. sailors to asbestos was a considered policy

choice. Jd. at 100. Although the result is unusual, Gordon does not

mark a departure in Fifth Circuit discretionary function law.

Gordon suggests that the government can exercise discretion in

approval only if the government reviews and evaluates the choices

made by the private contractor.

24a

and does not give rise to the government contractor de-

fense.

C. The District Court’s Application of the Defense

General Dynamics argues that the Navy approved the

design specifications set forth in each of the General

Dynamics’ working drawings, and points to the signature

of a government official in a box marked “approved” at

the bottom of each of the working drawings. The dis-

trict court, however, found that “the level of review here

was not sufficient to constitute ‘approval’.” 626 F. Supp.

at 1336. The district court held that contracts “left de-

sign entirely to the discretion of General Dynamics. The

Navy set only general performance standards leaving the

details to General Dynamics.” Jd. at 1335-36. The dis-

trict court held that the COR promulgated by the Navy

was “silent” on the questions of the precise location of

the main hangar vent valve and the use of warning or

safety devices. “The evidence shows that such determina-

tions were left to the discretion and expertise of the Gen-

eral Dynamics designers assigned to prepare the working

drawings.” Jd. at 1336. These findings are not clearly

erroneous. The record reveals that Navy personnel at

MINS assigned a relatively low priority to the GRAY-

BACK work and delegated their design discretion to Gen-

eral Dynamics. Paul Lawrence, the section leader of the

Navy group in charge of the hangar flood and drain

system design for the GRAYBACK, wrote in a memo to

his superiors at MINS in 1969: “The design work on the

GRAYBACK was initially given a low work priority due

to more important shipyard work. . .. Due to this ex-

tremely heavy workload the piping branches were re-

quired to assign less experienced engineers/technicians to

GRAYBACK than would normally be assigned. In many

cases, farm-in personnel were used to man the GRAY-

BACK work. ... Most of the GRAYBACK design work

was accomplished by farm-in contractor personnel and

not checked by Mare Island experienced technical peo-

ea ree eee ee

:

i

}

|

i

i

4

25a

ple.” ** After the accident, the Navy investigation con-

cluded that one of the problems with the GRAYBACK

design was the absence of a formal Navy design re-

view."* Because the record clearly shows that “General

Dynamics, rather than the government, was ultimately

responsible for the design defects in the [diving] hangar

aboard the GRAYBACK,” id. at 1338, the district court

was correct in holding that the approvai element of the

government contractor defense was not satisfied.

The district court noted that the second element, that

the product comply with the design specifications, was

not implicated in this case because General Dynamics

only did the design work, not the manufacturing of the

12 The district court also noted the “disparity in the level of

experience between the Navy and General Dynamics.” It held that

this imbalance of knowledge prevented the Navy from undertaking

any substantial review of the specifications. 626 F.Supp. at 1337.

It is not for the court to undertake to evaluate the quality of the

government’s review. The only factual question is whether the

government actually exercised design discretion. If the government

intended to exercise its discretion over the design of a product

and a government official undertakes to substantially review, evalu-

ate, and then approve the design, the first element of the Boyle

test is satisfied even if the government official doing the review

was incompetent or negligent. The government’s use of clearly

unqualified individuals to review and approve highly technical

design work, however, may be evidence that the government does

not intend to exercise design discretion but is merely rubber-

stamping the contractor’s design specifications. That seems to be

the case here.

13 Tt must be emphasized that the absence of review is critical

in this case. The Navy actually did the manufacturing and con-

version work. The defective aspects of the design and the dangers

of the vacuum were so obvious that the Navy must be charged

with knowledge of the defect; yet the Navy built the diving hangar

as designed and operated it for thirteen years. The Navy had con-

trol over the product and had every opportunity to exercise discre-

tion over the design. This the Navy did not do. Both the Navy

investigation and the district court faulted the Navy for its failure

to exercise discretion over the design.

26a

product. Jd. at 1837-38. Furthermore, it is undisputed

that the Navy in converting the GRAYBACK followed

General Dynamic’s specifications exactly. The district

court noted, however, “that the system as designed by

General Dynamics did not even conform to the general

requirements provided by the government.” Jd. at 1338.

Under the General Dynamics design the vent valve was

not controllable from the air bubble as required by the

COR. This finding does not go to the second element be-

cause the working drawings, not the COR, were the rea-

sonably precise specifications."

The district court also held that General Dynamics had

failed to prove the final element of the defense, that it

had warned the government about the dangers in the use

of the equipment that were known to the contractor but

not to the United States. The district court committed

two errors in this holding. First, it held General Dy-

namics to a duty to warn the government of dangers

about which it “knew or should have known.” After Boyle

a government contractor is only responsible for warning

the government of dangers about which it has actual

knowledge. Second, the district court held that General

Dynamics should have warned the Navy of the possibility

that a vacuum would form while draining the diving

hangar, even though both the Navy and General Dy-

namics knew or should have known of the dangers asso-

ciated with the system’s potential to create a partial

vacuum. After Boyle, 2 government contractor only has

14The Navy did undertake to review the working drawings for

compliance with the COR but approved the drawings even with

this alleged noncompliance. It is important to note, however, that

such review, mere review for compliance with very general perform-

ance criteria, is insufficient to satisfy the first element of Boyle.

If the government sets very general criteria for a design and

delegates its design discretion over all of the critical details to a

government contractor, the government does not exercise design

discretion by merely reviewing the completed design for compliance

with the general criteria.

27a

the duty to warn the government of dangers of which it

has knowledge but the government does not. Because

both General Dynamics and the Navy knew that the

system as designed could create a partial vacuum, and

because both the Navy and General Dynamics could see

that the final design included no safety devices, liability

of General Dynamics could not be based upon non-

disclosure of these dangers. Because the Navy delegated

its design discretion to General Dynamics, however, and

thus never approved reasonably precise specifications

within the meaning of Boyle, the district court’s holding

that the government contractor defense was not available

to General Dynamics in this case was correct.

III. The Borrowed Servant Doctrine

General Dynamics alternatively argues that its em-

ployees who worked on the design of the GRAYBACK at

MINS were borrowed servants of the Navy and therefore

the Navy, and not General Dynamics, was responsible for

their defective design choices. The district court, how-

ever, held that “General Dynamics was an independent

contractor given discretionary, independent decision-

making authority and, therefore, its employees were not

borrowed servants of the government.” 626 F. Supp. at

1340. Whether an employee of one is a “borrowed

servant” of another is a factual question. Among the

considerations for determining whether a servant has

been borrowed by another employer are who has control

over the employees and the work he is performing, be-

yond mere suggestion of details or cooperation; whose

work is being performed; and who pays the employee.

See Alday v. Patterson Truck Line, Inc., 750 F.2d 375,

876 (5th Cir. 1985). No one factor or combination of

factors is decisive and no test has been fixed to determine

the existence of a borrowed servant relationship. Jd. The

degree of control an employer has over the employee and

the employee’s work, however, has generally been con-

sidered to be the most important of the considerations.

28a

See West v. Kerr-McGee Corp., 765 F.2d 526, 530-31

(5th Cir. 1985); Hebron v. Union Oil Co. of California,

634 F.2d 245, 247 (5th Cir. Unit A Jan. 1981).

The district court’s findings of fact on the government

contractor defense largely answer this issue as well. The

Navy contracted with General Dynamics to have General

Dynamics perform a specific task for the Navy and dele-

gated the Navy’s design discretion over the GRAYBACK

conversion to General Dynamics. The Navy did not,

therefore, control the work of General Dynamics or its

employees. The district court also found it significant

that the Navy hired General Dynamics specifically be-

cause its employees were experienced and would not need

supervision, that the Navy did not intend to control. or

supervise the particulars or actual details of the Gen-

eral Dynamics employees’ work, that the Navy did not

direct the tasks of General Dynamics’s employees but

spelled out specifically their duties in a contract, that

General Dynamics maintained its employer/employee re-

lationship and retained the obligation to pay its employ-

ees, and that General Dynamics maintained an admin-

istrative structure among its employees while they were

at the MINS facility. 626 F. Supp. at 1339-40. The dis-

trict court’s findings are not clearly erroneous.

IV. The Navy’s Negligence

General Dynamics next argues that the district court’s

findings of causation were clearly erroneous and that the

negligence of the United States Navy was the sole cause

of the accident. Under Texas law, “[t]he act of a third

person which intervenes and contributes a condition nec-

essary to the injurious effect of the original negligence

will not excuse the first wrongdoer if that act ought to

have been foreseen.” Clark v. Waggoner, 452 S.W.2d

437, 440 (Tex.1970). General Dynamics, however, notes

that under § 452(2) of the Restatement (Second) of

Torts (1965) the duty to prevent harm to another threat-

29a

ened by the actor’s negligent conduct may be shifted to

a third party if, because of the lapse of time, the magni-

tude of the risk of harm, the character and position of

the third party, his knowledge of the danger or his rela-

tionship to the plaintiff, the failure of the third party

to prevent the harm is a superseding cause. It is unclear

whether Texas recognizes § 452. Cf. French v. Grigsby,

571 S.W.2d 867, 867 (Tex.1978) (“Since the advent of

comparative negligence with the adoption of art. 2212a,

Tex. Rev. Civ. Stat. Ann., this court has sought to abolish

those doctrines directed to the old choice between total

victory and total defeat for the injured plaintiff.”’)

General Dynamics’s design was negligent; however, the

Navy knew or reasonably should have known of the dan-

gers inherent in the design. The Navy ehose to use the

GRAYBACK as designed and dealt with the possibility

of a vacuum by training its employees rather than by

modifying the submarine. Furthermore, the Navy exac-

erbated the dangers by failing to lubricate the shaft

of the valve properly, making it more difficult to turn

and more likely that a diver would not realize that it

was partially closed. Nevertheless, the Navy relied on

General Dynamics’s design expertise, and that reliance

and the Navy’s use of the defective design were foresee-

able by General Dynamics. Moreover, the Navy’s method

of dealing with the dangers in the design were effective

for thirteen years. The district court held that the

Navy’s negligence was not the sole cause of the accident

and that the circumstances of the Navy’s negligence

were not of such a character as to sever the chain of

causation and shift all responsibility from General Dy-

namics to the Navy. The district court found that both

the Navy and General Dynamics were negligent and as-

signed 80% of the fault to General Dynamics and 20%

of the fault to the Navy. We cannot say that those

findings are clearly erroneous.

80a

V. The Indemnification Agreement

The cortracts between General Dynamics and the

United States provide that the government will indem-

nify General Dynamics for liabilities arising out of the

performance of the contract. The district court held that

General Dynamics had failed to satisfy one of the condi-

tions of the contract and was therefore not entitled to

indemnification from the government. We hold, however,

that the district court was without jurisdiction to con-

sider this question, and we therefore vacate the judgment

on this issue.

General Dynamics’s claim is a contract claim, and

the essence ef the claim is to obtain money from the gov-

ernment. The action must proceed, therefore, under the

applicable provisions of federal statutes regarding gov-

ernment contracts. See Amoco Production Co. v. Hodel,

815 F.2d 352, 361 (5th Cir.1987), cert. denied, —— U.S.

—-, 108 S.Ct. 2898, 101 L.Ed.2d 982 (1988). General

Dynamics’s claim is controlled by the Contract Disputes

Act. 41 U.S.C. § 601 et seg. Under the Act, § 609(a) (1),

a contracting party may bring an action directly on the

contract claim against the United States after an adverse

decision by a contracting officer concerning the claim.

All claims by a contractor against the United States

relating to a contract must be submitted in writing to a

contracting officer for a decision. 41 U.S.C. § 605(a).

General Dynamics never did so prior to filing this coun-

ter-claim against the United States. General Dynamics

claims that its tender of a defense of this action to the

United States Justice Department constituted a claim to

a contracting officer. A contracting officer, however, is de-

fined as a person who has the authority to enter into and

administer contracts and make determinations and find-

ings with respect thereto. 41 U.S.C. §601(3). The

Justice Department certainly cannot enter into contracts

for the Navy and is not a contracting officer for the

purposes of the Contract Disputes Act. The decision, or

Se a nse ee

5 eS

mney kd dah

31a:

failure to decide, by a contracting officer is an absolute

jurisdictional prerequisite to filing a suit under the Con-

tract Disputes Act. See Thoen v. United States, 765

F.2d 1110, 1116 (Fed.Cir.1985) ; Paragon Energy Corp.

v. United States, 645 F.2d 966, 971, 227 Ct.Cl. 176

(1981). The district court was therefore without juris-

diction to decide General Dynamics’s cross-claim against

the United States for indemnification.”®

The judgment for plaintiffs against General Dynamics

is AFFIRMED; the judgment on the cross-claim by Gen-

eral Dynamics, seeking contractual indemnity from the

United States, is VACATED.

15 The government alleges that General Dynamic’s claim failed to

comply with the requirements of §605 in some other important

respects. Although these arguments may have merit, General Dy-

namics never presented that claim to a contracting officer, and we

need not reach any of its other deficiencies.

32a

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

oo

No. 86-2965

GLORIA TREVINO, et al.,

; wi Plaintiffs-Appellees,

versus

GENERAL DYNAMICS CORPORATION,

Defendant-A ppellant.

No. 87-2175

GLORIA TREVINO, et al.,

Plaintiffs,

versus

GENERAL DYNAMICS CORPORATION,

Defendant-Cross Claim

pani ai Plaintiff-Appellant,

versus

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Defendant-Cross Claim

Defendant-A ppellee.

33a

Appeal from the United States District Court for

the Eastern District of Texas

ON SUGGESTION FOR REHEARING EN BANC

(Opinion 2-23-89, 5th Cir., 1989, 865 F.2d 1474)

[Filed June 26, 1989]

Before REAVLEY, HIGGINBOTHAM and SMITH, Cir-

cuit Judges.

PER CURIAM:

Treating the suggestion for rehearing en banc as a

petition for panel rehearing, the petition for panel re-

hearing is DENIED. The judges in regular active serv-

ice of this Court having been polled at the request of one

of said judges and a majority of said judges not having

voted in favor of it (Federal Rules of Appellate Proce-

dure and Local Rule 35), the suggestion tor Rehearing

En Banc is DENIED.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

Thomas M. Reavley

United States Circuit Judge

“

34a

E. GRADY JOLLY, Circuit Judge, with whom GEE,

GARWOOD and JONES, Circuit Judges, join dissenting

from denial of petition for rehearing en banc:

... Words strain,

Crack and sometimes break, under the burden,

Under the tension, slip, slide, perish,

Decay with imprecision, will not stay in place,

Will not stay still...

T.S. Eliot, Burnt Norton, Part V.

Because I believe that Trevino has effectively rewritten

the Supreme Court’s test for government contractor im-

munity given in Boyle, I respectfully dissent from the de-

nial of en bane review. Further, I believe that en banc

~ review is necessary because Trevino is at odds with, if

not in conflict with, this circuit’s almost contemporaneous

opinion in Smith v. Xerox, 866 F.2d 135 (5th Cir. 1989),

and that we have a responsibility to clarify ourselves.

Instead, we leave the bench and bar to divide and argue

over whether they can be reconciled, and if not, which

will be followed as the law of the circuit.

I

The United States Supreme Court, only less than a

year ago specifically chose to use the word “approve”

when it held that “Liability for design defects in military

equipment cannot be imposed, pursuant to state law,

when (1) the United States approved reasonably precise

specifications.” Boyle v. United Technologies, 108 S. Ct.

2510, 2518 (1980). In doing so, the Court selected a less

demanding word than any of the synonyms it might have

chosen: c

Approve the most widely applicable, may indicate

varying degrees of admiration. Endorse (or in-

dorse), stronger than approve, implies expression of

support, often by public statement. Sanction adds

authorization, usually official, to approval. Certify

35a

and accredit imply official endorsement gained upon

conforming to set standards. Ratify refers to mak-

ing legal by formal official approval... .

The American Heritage Dictionary (Second College Edi-

tion 1982). Yet the panel in Trevino finds that the term

“approve” as used in Boyle actually means to establish

reasonably precise specifications, id. at 1479; it actually

means to “choose” a design feature, id. at 1480; it ac-

tually means to exercise judgment or policy choice, id.

at 1484; it actually means to substantively review and

evaluate, id. at 1487 n.12; in short, it actually means to

exercise a discretionary function within the strict mean-

ing of the FTCA. We learn further in Trevino that ene

cannot “approve” a design by full awareness and accept-

ance of that design, defect and all, for thirteen years,

id.; and finally, we learn that “approve” is a term that

cannot be applied to work done by someone else, id. at

1486 (“If the government delegates its design discre-

tion to the contractor and allows the contractor to develop

the design, the government contractor defense does not

apply....”).

Indeed, the panel, in departing from any plain mean-

ing of the word, dolorously observes that “the Supreme

Court’s use of the terms ‘approve’ and ‘considered’ is

unfortunate,” id. at 2066, n.7. I would doubt, however,

that the author of Boyle thinks it quite such a mishap.

Mr. Justice Scalia was plainly aware of the precise re-

quirements of exercising a discretionary function. He

was aware that the “selection” of the appropriate design

for military equipment is a discretionary function, 108

S.Ct. at 2517; and he was aware, as Justice Brennan re-

minded him, that the use of the word “approval” might

be construed so broadly as to include rubberstamping, id.

at 2519. Yet, when he concluded the analysis for the

majority, and defined the specific test to be applied, he

chose the word “approve.” He did not hold that the gov-

ernment must “select” the design, or “choose” the design,

36a

or “review and evaluate” the design, or “exercise its

discretion,” or any of the other words the panel seeks to

substitute for “approve.” All of the words that the panel

would force on Mr. Justice Scalia, it should be added,

were immediately before him as he defined the test, and

he chose none of them.

Mr. Justice Scalia specifically explained that govern-

ment “approval” assures that the design is within the

area where the discretionary function policy would not

be frustrated, because it assures that the design feature

in question was considered by a government officer and

not “merely by the contractor itself.” Boyle, 108 S. Ct.

at 2518. This explanation appears immediately after

the use of the word “approved” and gives it its meaning.

That government involvement be “within the area” does

not mean that strict compliance with all of the elements

of the discretionary function exception is required. In-

deed, the Court indicated that the discretionary function

exception only “suggests the outlines of ‘significant con-

flict? between federal interests and state law in the con-

text of government procurement.” 108 S.Ct. at 2517.

I agree with the panel that “approve” is not synony-

mous with “rubber stamp.” It does seem to me, however,

that when the government furnishes 339 pages of spe-

cifications and involves a review team with the plans,

“rubber stamp” is not an apt description of the govern-

ment’s involvement. Generally speaking, I would think

that in this case if the government considered the plans

and affirmatively assented to them, it has “approved”;

or if the government, in the panel’s words, was “charged

with the knowledge of the defect” and accepted the de-

sign, especially for a period of years with no complaint,

it has “approved” contract specifications within the

meaning of Boyle. More specifically, I would suggest that

an appropriate inquiry under the first Boyle prong is to

ask: was the challenged feature disclosed with reasonable

precision in the accepted design documents, and was the

37a

design accepted on behalf of the government by an officer

who had, and knew he or she had, the duty and authority

to decline to accept the challenged design feature on

safety grounds if he or she deemed it appropriate to do

so? I believe this test would be truer to the spirit and

deliberately chosen language of Boyle.

II

I also dissent from the denial of rehearing en banc in

this case because the panel opinion cannot comfortably

coexist with our circuit’s holding in Smith v. Xerox, 866

F.2d 135 (5th Cir. 1989). Both cases were decided on

the same day.

Both Smith and Trevino construe Poyle’s first prong of

the government contractor defense: that the government

have “approved reasonably precise specifications.” The

cases have different focuses, however. At issue in Smith

was whether Xerox, the government contractor, was im-

properly granted summary judgment on its government

contractor defense because it had not been able to produce

its original specifications. In Smith, we looked at the

language “reasonably precise,’ catalogued the informa-

tion Xerox had produced, and found that from the evi-

dence, the specifications that had been produced satisfied

the “reasonably precise” requirements of Boyle. Because

those specifications had been approved by the government,

we found that Xerox had satisfied the first prong of the

Boyle test.

It is true that superficially the holdings of Smith and

Trevino do not appear to be inconsistent. In applying

the first prong of the Boyle test and asking whether the

government “approved reasonably precise specifications,”

we focused in Smith upon the requirement that the spe-

cifications be “reasonably precise,” not that they be “ap-

proved,” which is the focus of the 7J’revino opinion. If,

however, T’revino had been applicable law, our analysis

88a

and holding in Smith would surely have been different,

since the appeal was from the grant of summary judg-

ment and there was little or no evidence in the record on

how extensive the government’s “substantive review and

evaluation,” i.e., approval, had been. Thus, although the

opinions may be able to coexist, they can do so only

because they were simultaneous.

Second, to the limited extent that Smith referred to

“approval,” we quoted the Ninth Circuit in McKay to

the effect that approval meant “examining and agreeing”

to a detailed description of the workings of the system.

Id. at 138. Further, we referred to the Fourth Circuit’s

opinion in Boyle, and found that the Navy had “ap-

proved” reasonably precise specifications, where the con-

tractor and Navy worked together to prepare detailed

specifications, engaging in back and forth discussions,

and where the Navy reviewed the mock-up and approved

the design (all present in Trevino to some extent). Id.

at 138.

Further, we held in Smith that the government had

satisfied its burden on the first prong of the Boyle test,

when the government “reviewed and approved Xerox

final drawings and specifications.” Jd. at 138.

It is thus suggested in Smith that government review

of the contractor’s final precise specifications, followed

by assent, is all that is required for contractor immunity,

which is a considerably less stringent requirement than

imposed by the Trevino panel. Thus, I would suggest that

there is significant potential for conflict between Smith

and Trevino. In any event, conflict or not, analytical

comparison yields confusion. The bench and bar have a

right to a clearer statement from us as to what Boyle

means and how it should be applied.

Finally, I would observe that the Trevino panel’s

microscopic focus on the word “approval,” unwarranted

by Boyle, allows that term to eclipse the significant re-

39a

mainder of the phrase—“of reasonably precise specifica-

tions.” The phrase “approved reasonably precise specifi-

cations” must be interpreted as a whole. It is the ap-

proval “of reasonably precise specifications” that assures

that the government retains veto power over all design

details and assures that “the suit is within the area

where the policy of ‘discretionary function’ would not be

frustrated.” Boyle, 108 S.Ct. at 2518. If Trevino is

sincere when it states that “[t]he requirement that spe-

cifications be precise means that the discretion over sig-

nificant details and all critical design choices will be

exercised by the government; if the government approved

imprecise or general guidelines, then discretion over im-

portant design choices would be left to the government

contractor,” Trevino, at 1418, then it is not clear why

the submission and simple approval of reasonably precise

specifications cannot serve as a proxy for government

involvement in the design decisions.

lil

In sum, I do not think that it is necessary to over-

define the word “approved” in order to make certain in

these cases that the government has sufficiently exercised

its discretion and judgment over the design at issue. With

great respect for those whose views seem to differ, be-

cause I think that this case is enbaneworthy, I respect-

fully dissent from the failure of the court to grant en

bance review.

40a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

E.D. TEXAS

BEAUMONT DIVISION

Civ. A. No. B-83-573-CA

GLORIA TREVINO, et al.

Vv.

GENERAL DYNAMICS CORPORATION

Feb. 3, 1986

Wayne Fisher, Charles M. Price and Michael J.

Maloney, Fisher, Gallagher, Perrin & Lewis, Houston,

Tex., for plaintiffs.

Herbert L. Fenster, Lawrence M. Farrell and Raymond

B. Biagini, McKenna, Conner & Cuneo, Washington, D.C.,

for defendant.

MEMORANDUM OPINION CONTAINING

FINDINGS OF FACT AND

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

ROBERT M. PARKER, District Judge.

This case was tried to the Court. It is a case arising

under the Death On The High Seas Act, 46 U.S.C. See-

761 et seq. and Federal Admiralty Law, 28 U.S.C. Sec.

1333. The Court now enters the following findings of

fact and conclusions of law based upon the evidence pre-

sented.

4la

A. THE FACTS

On the night of January 16, 1982, five Navy divers

lost their lives in an accident aboard a Navy submarine,

the USS GRAYBACK. The cause of death was vacuum

induced bends. The accident occurred in the starboard

hangar diving chamber of the GRAYBACK as the divers

were preparing to exit the flooded chamber into the dry

side of the hangar. To exit the chamber, it was neces-

sary to drain the water from the wet side. This was to

be accomplished by Plaintiff, Petty Officer Bloomer, who

was stationed in the “control bubble,” a plexiglass en-

closure from which he was to open the hangar and valve

to allow air into the chamber as the water drained out.

After reporting the valve open, Bloomer opened the drain

valve to drain the water from the hangar.

The five Navy divers died when a vacuum condition

occurred as the chamber was draining. The families of

four of the five deceased Navy divers brought this law-

suit against General Dynamics Corporation and the

United States alleging strict liability, negligence, and

breach of warranty claims.

General Dynamics also filed suit against the United

States claiming that, in the event it was found liable to

the Plaintiffs, the United States would be liable to Gen-

eral Dynamics under a contractual indemnification clause.

This Court, in its September 25, 1985 order, ruled that

the indemnity clause of the contracts here involved are

valid and enforceable and that, therefore, the United

States must as a matter of contract law indemnify Gen-

eral Dynamics for any adjudged liability it may have to

the Plaintiffs. Such liability, however, is contingent upon

whether or not this Court finds General Dynamics has

met the contractual prerequisites for the claimed in-

demnity.

On the eve of trial, the Court, upon the government’s

motion, dismissed the Plaintiff’s direct complaint against

42a

the United States ruling that the United States was im-

mune from such a suit under the Feres/Stencel doctrine.

See Feres v. United States, 340 U.S. 135, 71 S.Ct. 153, 95

L.Ed. 152 (1950), Stencel Aero Engineering Corporation

v. United States, 431 U.S. 666, 97 S.Ct. 2054, 52 L.Ed.2d

665 (1977).

The government, nonetheless, still contends that it can-

not be liable to the Plaintiffs under any legal theory.

However, although it may be true that the government

is immune from liability in a direct suit by the Plaintiffs,

the same cannot be said where the United States has

knowingly and contractually waived its Feres/Stencel im-

munity with respect to the third party suit by the govern-

ment contractor. See Order and Memorandum Opinion

of May 29, 1985, discussing and disposing of this issue.

As will be discussed in more detail later, the deaths of

these divers was caused chiefly by the negligence of Gen-

eral Dynamics in the work that it performed with respect

to the design of the starboard hangar diving system

aboard the GRAYBACK during the conversion of the

GRAYBACK from a missile-carrying submarine to a per-

sonnel-carrying submarine during the 1960’s.

The United States Navy contracted with General Dy-

namics for performance of the design work with respect

to the conversion of the diving system because of General

Dynamics’ experience and expertise in the design of sub-

marine systems. See Plaintiff’s Ex. 152, p. 43, 1. 3-17;

p. 44, 1. 10-17; See also Plaintiff’s Ex. 156 p. 63, 1. 7-27.

To accomplish the conversion of the GRAYBACK, the

United States entered into a series of contracts with Gen-

eral Dynamics. See Plaintiff’s Ex. 1 and 2. In Plaintiff’s

exhibit 1, the scope of the work required of General Dy-

namics is set forth in section 2.7.2, as follows:

The scope of work required of the contractor for

USS GRAYBACK is the furnishing of the engineer-

ing effort needed for the preparation of working

48a

drawings, including rip-out plans, planning depart-

ment instruction sheets, test specifications and other

documents necessary to effect conversion to APSS

and SUBSAVE. The specific areas in which the con-

tractors shall render assistance are: (after which

are listed 24 specific areas of the GRAYBACK con-

version including numerous piping, trim and drain,

flood vent, ventilation, and air systems).

The responsibilities of General Dynamics with respect

to the work that General Dynamics was performing un-

der the contracts is set forth in Section 2.1.4 of the con-

tracts which state:

(1) The contractor shall assume full responsibility

for all technical research necessary to accom-

plish the work specified herein.

(2) All work produced is to be reviewed by the con-

tractor to assure that the conditions set forth in

this circular are complied with.

(3) The contractor is responsible for all quality as-

surance actions pertaining to the design product,

plans, ete., including inspection of the end prod-

uct item before issue.

B. NEGLIGENCE

Following the accident, the United States Navy con-

ducted an investigation, the report and attachments of

which have been introduced into evidence as Plaintiffs’

Exhibits 27, 40, 41A, 41B, 41C, 42 and 43. The United

States Navy found that there were four specific design

deficiencies with respect to the starboard hangar diving

system in the hangar diving system aboard the GRAY-

BACK which contributed to the accident. These four de-

sign deficiencies are stated as follows:

1. There is no safety interlock mechanism to prevent

the opesing of the hangar drain valve when the

main vent valve is not fully opened.

2.

44a

The only valve position indicator on the main

vent valve consists of a metal tab which is under

water and cannot be seen when draining the

hangar.

There was no remote position indicator which can

be seen from the dry side of the hangar.

The general design of the hangar made propel

maintenance of the main vent valve extremely

difficult, if not impossible.

The Court has no quarrel with the findings of the Navy

report, and for the reasons outlined below, concludes that

the effort put forth by the Navy and General Dynamics

in converting the GRAYBACK constituted negligence

which proximately caused the deaths of the divers.

to:

1.

Specifically, General Dynamics was negligent in failing

provide for a safety interlock device to prevent

the opening of the hangar drain valve when the

main vent valve is not fully opened;

provide for a valve position indicator that is

visible when draining the hangar;

provide for a remote position indicator which can

be seen from the dry side of the hangar;

design the hangar so that the main hangar valve

could be properly maintained;

adhere to the Navy’s circular of requirements

(COR) calling for the vent valve to be placed

inside the control bubble rather than outside as

was actually done;

warn the Navy about the dangers associated with

the design’s potential to create a partial vacuum;

and :

warn or instruct the Navy concerning its failure

to provide for basic safety features such as safety

45a

interlocks, vacuum gauges, and vent valve open/

close indicator lights in the Navy’s COR.

Specifically, the Navy was negligent in failing to:

1. provide for basic safety features in its COR

which would prevent a partial vacuum from oc-

curring;

perform sufficient operational testing;

3. conduct a formal design review of the system;

v and

4. properly lubricate and maintain the shaft to the

main hangar vent valve.

The Court apportions the negligence as follows: 80

percent of the fault is attributable to General Dynamics,

20 percent of the fault is attributable to the Navy. Such

a finding as to the Navy, however, is merely superfluous

as the Court has already ruled that the United States is

immune from the Plaintiff’s direct suit under the Feres/

Stencel doctrine. The Court finds no contributory negli-

gence on the part of the Navy divers.

Before the question of damages can be reached, this

Court must address General Dynamics’ three contentions

which, if accepted, would entitle General Dynamics to

the same immunity that the Navy now possesses. The

public policy question, the government contractor’s de-

fense, and the borrowed contractor’s defense, and the bor-

rowed servant doctrine are discussed in turn below.

C. THE PUBLIC POLICY CONSIDERATIONS

General Dynamics argues that as a matter of policy,

the Court should exercise judicial restraint and defer to

the Navy’s conclusions that the design of the hangar vent

system was not defective but was adequate and safe for

its intended purpose and that the direct, proximate cause

of the accident was Plaintiff Bloomer’s failure to open

the hangar vent valve. This Court does not agree.

46a

In Bynum v. FMC Corporation, 770 F.2d 556 (5th

Circuit 1985), the Fifth Circuit endorsed, in its entirety,

the Supreme Court’s admonition of judicial restraint in

reviewing military decisions relating to the armed forces.

Tracing the historical underpinnings of the government

contract defense, the Fifth Circuit noted that the Supreme

“ourt’s emphasis “on judicial restraint in military mat-

ters is, of course, not surprising.” Jd. at 562. The Court

stated that:

It has long been recognized that interference by

civilian courts with military authority inevitably

raises both questions about judicial competency in

this avea and separation of powers concerns.

The Fifth Circuit found that the same policy con-

siderations underlying the Feres/Stencel doctrine also

are at issue “whether the named defendant happens to be

the government or the military contractor.” Id. at 565.

The most important policy consideration in either case

is that “civilian courts would be compelled to second

guess professional military judgment concerning, at least,

the proper equipping of the armed services.” Id.

Public policy, however, does not require any judicial

restraint in this case simply because this Court is not

reviewing military decisions relating to the armed forces.

The Plaintiffs are not challenging a military decision

concerning military operations. The issue is a design

decision concerning design defects in the diving hangar

aboard the GRAYBACK made by General Dynamics de-

signers. This was purely a non-military decision requir-

ing no military expertise. Nor was there a conscious

decision on the part of the military to accept a known

hazard because of military considerations.

By example, if the Army had contracted for the design

of a tank desiring speed and mobility in combat it might

conclude that the tank must be designed with less armor

to reduce weight so as to maximize speed and mobility.

47a

Less armor, of course, would offer more risk and less

protection to the servicemen inside the tank, but this is

clearly a conscious military decision on the part of the

Army to accept a known hazard because of the Army’s

desire for speed and mobility of its tank in combat.

Such a decision would not be reviewable im this Court’s

opinion. That is not the case here. No evidence has been

presented to show that the Navy consciously decided on

this specific diving system design for military reasons,

e.g., to reduce noise under water so as to avoid detection

by the enemy.

Furthermore, the Court has found no authority to the

effect that the accident reports by the military are con-

clusive on liability. There are very few cases which even

discuss whether military accident reports should be given

conclusive weight. The general rule that reports by the

military are not binding on the courts is stated by the

Fifth Circuit in Mac Towing, Inc. v. American Commer-

cial Lines, 670 F.2d 548, 547 (5th Cir.1982).

Finally, General Dynamics and the Navy contend that

even if the Court does not defer to the Navy’s conclu-

sions, considerations of public policy demand that mere

approval by the government of a contractor’s design be

sufficient to preclude recovery by the plaintiffs. As is

discussed more fully later, this Court is not persuaded

that mere approval from a public policy standpoint is

sufficient to preclude recovery.

D. THE GOVERNMENT CONTRACTOR’S DEFENSE

General Dynamics contends that the government con-

tractor’s defense shields General Dynamics from any

liability to the Plaintiffs in negligence. This Court dis-

agrees.

The Lew

The burden of proof regarding the availability of the

government contractor’s defense rests with General Dy-

48a

namics. McKay v. Rockwell International Corp., 704

F.2d 444, 451 (9th Cir.1983), cert. denied, 464 U.S,

1043, 104 S.Ct. 711, 79 L.Ed.2d 175 (1984). General

Dynamics must prove each element of the defense by

preponderance of the evidence. Jd. at 453.

In Bynum, the Fifth Circuit recognized the govern-

ment contractor’s defense as a matter of federal com-

mon law. To establish the government contractor’s de-

fense, a military contractor must:

1. First, demonstrate that the government is im-

mune from liability under the Feres/Stencel

Doctrine...

2. Second, the military contractor must prove that

the government established reasonably precise

specifications for the allegedly defective military

equipment

3. and that the equipment conformed to those speci-

fications...

4, Finally, it must be shown that the military con-

tractor warned the government about errors in

the government specifications or in dangers in-

volved in the case of the equipment that were

known to the contractor but not known to the

government.

Id. at 574.

The Fifth Circuit’s four-prong test conforms to the

trend in the law on the government contractor’s defense

as represented by the Third Circuit’s decisions in

Koutsoubos v. Boeing Vertol, 755 F.2d 352 (8rd Cir.

1985), cert. denied, US. , 106 S.Ct. 72, 88

L.Ed.2d 59 (1985) and In Re Air Crash Disaster at

Mannheim, Germany, 769 F.2d 115 (8rd Cir.1985) ; the

Seventh Circuit’s holding in Tillett v. J.J. Case Co., 756

F.2d 591 (7th Cir.1985); the Ninth Circuit’s decision in

McKay v. Rockwell International Corp., 704 F.2d 444

49a

(9th Cir.1983), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 1048, 104 S.Ct.

711, 79 L.Ed.2d 175 (1984) and the Eleventh Circuit’s

decision in Burgess v. Colorado Serum Co., 772 F.2d 844

(11th Cir.1985).

In the instant case, General Dynamics has failed to

establish by a preponderance of the evidence that the

government contractor’s defense applies. Although Gen-

eral Dynarrics has demonstrated that the government is

immune ‘.om suit under the Feres/Stencel doctrine,

meeting the first prong, it cannot meet the second prong

because it was General Dynamics and not the Navy,

who ultimately “established reasonably precise specifica-

tions” for the diving system. Bynum, 770 F.2d at 574.

Given this finding, the third prong of Bynum is not even

implicated. As to the final prong, General Dynamics

failed not only to warn of the danger of a partial vacuum

but also failed to warn of design deficiencies in the

Navy’s general requirements. Each prong is discussed

in turn below.

The Law Applied

1. The first requirement of the government contrac-

tor’s defense is the presence of Feres/Stencel immunity

on the part of the government. Feres/Stencel immunity

requires that a Plaintiff’s complaint arise from an injury

to a serviceman in the course of activity incident to

military service. Stencel, 431 U.S. at 673, 97 S.Ct. at

2058; Feres, 340 U.S. at 146, 71 S.Ct. at 159. In this

ease, Plaintiff’s complaint arises from the death of

servicemen caused by a partial vacuum in the submarine

starboard hangar diving chamber which the servicemen

were in incident to their service in the United States

Navy. This case, thus, falls squarely within the pro-

tective shield created by Feres/Stencel doctrine. Ac-

cordingly, the government is immune from liability to

the Plaintiffs.

2. The second element of the government contractor’s

defense, as the Ninth Circuit foimulated the defense in

50a

McKay, 704 F.2d at 451, is establishment or approval

by the United States government of reasonably precise

specifications for the allegedly defective product. In this

case, General Dynamics contends that the Navy estab-

lished the specifications for the diving chamber by either

preparing them itself or by reviewing in detail and ap-

proving those prepared by General Dynamics employees.

For the reasons discussed below, this Court does not

agree that the Navy established these specifications or

approved them.

a. The Establishment Question

Under Bynum, it is clear that when the product is

“manufactured in accordance with precise design speci-

fications furnished by the . . . government,” the second

prong of the government contractor’s defense is satis-

fied. Id. at 574 n. 23. Bynum, however, did not address

the “extent to which the government must participate in

generating the design specifications of the military equip-

ment before the government contractor’s defense would

be applicable,” which is directly at issue in this case.

Id.

The contracts involved here left design entirely to the

discretion of General Dynamics. The Navy set only gen-

eral performance standards leaving the details to Gen-

eral Dynamics. Specifically, the United States provided

General Dynamics with mere skeletal guidelines em-

bodied in the COR and schematic line drawings. See

Plaintiff’s Ex. 38 & 39. However, less than two pages of

the COR refer to the conversion of the diving hangar

while the line drawings consist of only a one page

diagram of the flood and drain system. These general

guidelines did not specify the precise location of the main

hangar vent valve and were silent on the existence of

vacuum gauges, indicator lights, or safety interlocks for

the main hangar flood and drain system. The evidence

shows that such determinations were left to the discre-

5la

tion and expertise of the General Dynamics designers

assigned to prepare the working drawings.

The Court credits the testimony of Mr. Bill Milwee,

the Plaintiff’s expert, and is persuaded that General

Dynamics’ designers had to use a great deal of expertise

and discretion in converting the information provided

by the Navy into working drawings. See Plaintiff’s Ex.

5-10. The Court is also persuaded by the testimony of

Mr. Urbani and Mr. Reall, both General Dynamics em-

ployees, and finds that because the system diagrams

were not very detailed, General Dynamics had to use

their own specialized knowledge in converting the dia-

grams into working drawings. See Urbani depo. p. 18;

Reall depo. p. 31, 1. 6-10.

With this sparse information, General Dynamics pro-

duced 71 pages of highly detailed working drawings for

the starboard hangar diving system. Under such circum-

stances, where “only minimal or very general require-

ments are set for the contractor by the United States”

it cannot be seriously maintained by General Dynamics

that it was the governmer.t and not General Dynamics

who “established reasonably precise specifications.” Mc-

Kay, 704 F.2d at 450; cf. Price v. Tempo, Inc., 603 F.

Supp. 1859, 1863 (E.D.Pa. 1985). Simply concluding,

however, that these plans were reasonably detailed speci-

fications of General Dynamics does not dispose of the

second prong of the government contractor’s defense since

the trend in the law is to interpret the phrase “estab-

lished by the government” as including the situation

where the government, after having conducted a detailed

review, approves drawings and specifications on which

the contractor assisted.

b. The Approval Question

From a factual standpoint, the level of review here

was not sufficient to constitute “approval”. Koutsoubous

and Mannheim definitively analyzed this standard of

52a

proof. In Koutsoubous, a helicopter manufactured by

Boeing Vertol crashed causing the deaths of several Navy

pilots. In granting Boeing’s motion for summary judg-

ment on the government contractor’s defense, the Dis-

trict Court concluded that the Navy had established the

specifications by approving them after a substantial re-

view and that Boeing had complied with the specifica-

tions. See Koutsoubous, Memorandum Decision p. 7A,

note 4, Dec. 22, 1982.

In affirming the District Court, the Third Circuit con-

cluded that “government approval of the specifications”

means the process by which the government “examines

and agrees to a detailed description of the workings of

the system.” Koutsoubous 755 F.2d at 355. In Koutsou-

bous, the Third Circuit noted that the District Court

found a “continuous back and forth relationship between

Boeing and the Navy with the Navy always, expectedly

and properly, having the responsibility for and exercis-

ing responsibility for making final decisions as to the

specifications.” Id.

Five months later, the Third Circuit in Mannheim

reaffirmed Koutsoubous on the “approval” standard. In

Mannheim, forty-six persons were killed when a heli-

copter manufactured by Boeing crashed. The Third Cir-

cuit, stated:

The government contractor defense is available to

a contractor that participates in the design of the

product, so long as the government’s approval con-

sists of more than a mere rubber stamp. The defense

is available so long as there is true government par-

ticipation in the design.

769 F.2d at 122 (emphasis added). The Third Circuit

then ordered the District Court to enter judgment for

Boeing on the basis of the government contractor’s

defense.

If approval of the design. of military hardware by

examining agreeing to a detailed description of the work-

53a

ing drawings of the system is sufficient to satisfy the

requirements of the government contractor’s defense,

then there was no such “approval” under the facts of the

case. Although the government’s review did involve some

subjective evaluation of the contents of the plans, the

level of examination did not equate to the amount of

engineering expertise required by General Dynamics to

prepare the plans. Therefore, this Court concludes that

“true government participation in the design” necessary

to constitute approval was lacking. Mannhein, 769 F.2d

at 122.

Under Bynum’s balancing test, General Dynamics’ level

of participation in the design so outweighed the govern-

ment’s level of. participation that it was General Dyna-

mics, who was ultimately responsible for the “reasonably

precise specifications” involved here. Jd. at 574. In the

real world, although the government and the contractor

may jointly work together in producing specifications,

the level of participation always varies. Sometimes the

government’s participation is minimal at best. That is

the very case here.

Given the disparity in the level of expertise between

the Navy and General Dynamics and the “imbalance of

knowledge” about the safety deficiencies in the design at

the time General Dynamics’ specifications were approved,

it cannot be seriously argued that the Navy engaged in

any “substantial review of the specifications.” Mann-

heim, 769 F.2d at 128; See Also Shaw v. Grumman

Aerospace Corp., 593 F.Supp. 1066, 1074 (S.D.Fla.

1984).

The most telling evidence of the limited review which

the work of General Dynamics’ designers and engineers

received is Plaintiff’s Exhibit 28. This exhibit is a memo

prepared by Paul Lawrence to his superiors at Mare

Island Naval Shipyard which discusses the history of

the GRAYBACK design. Mr. Lawrence was the section

leader of the group which prepared the hangar flood and

ee

54a

drain system drawings. On page 4, paragraph (e), Mr.

Lawrence stated, “Most of the GRAYBACK design work

was accomplished by farmed-in contractor personnel and

not checked by Mare Island experienced technical people.”

General Dynamics was hired-for the expertise and the

experience it possessed. The government neither possessed

the qualifications nor the ability to engage in any sub-

stantial review of General Dynamics’ specification.

Moreover, the design decisions, material to the defects

alleged, required no military expertise, therefore, there

is no justification for insulating General Dynamics from

liability where the government merely approves of the

decision. “In any case, mere Navy approval of the de-

tailed design specifications and drawings developed by

General Dynamics does not make the government con-

tractor’s defense available to it.” Shaw, 593 F.Supp.

at 1074. If it did then under Koutsoubous and Mann-

heim, the government contractor’s defense would seem

always to apply and contractors would never be liable

for a defective product because the government would

always be in the position to approve a contractor design.

The government’s approval in this case is no different

from the approval of any product or design prepared for

the government. If that type of approval is sufficient to

satisfy the second prong, then there would never be a

recovery under any circumstances against defense con-

tractors. Where the government has only given mere

approval, Bynum does not contemplate no recovery un-

der any circumstances against defense contractors. Jd. at

574 n.28.

3. The third element of the defense is compliance with

the government’s specifications. This prong is not im-

plicated in this case because it was General Dynamics

and not the government who established “reasonably

precise specifications” for the defective design. This

Court notes, however, that the system is designed by

General Dynamics did not even conform to the general

requirements provided by the government. Specifically,

55a

the COR required that the main hangar vent valve be

“controllable from the air bubble and the berthing space.”

See Plaintiff’s Ex. 28, p. 223, 1. 95. The design of the

system by General Dynamics did not conform to this

requirement. The working drawings of the system pre-

pared by General Dynamics shows the main hangar vent

valve located on the vent pipe at a 45 degree angle.

See Plaintiff’s Ex. 6. The testimony of the witnesses in

this case forces the conclusion that the General Dynamics

designer intended that the valve control handle be located

outside the control bubble and berthing space, despite

the government’s instructions to the contrary. This is

where, in fact, the valve was located at the time of

the accident.

4, Finally, to satisfy the fourth and final prong of the

government contractor’s defense, General Dynamics has

the burden to prove that it “warned the United States

about patent errors in the government’s specifications or

about dangers involved in the use of the equipment that

were known to the contractor but not to the United

States.” Bynum, 770 at 574. The fact that there was

no warning is undisputed.

The Navy hired General Dynamics specifically because

it had specialized knowledge of submarine design. Gen-

eral Dynamics assumed the responsibility of advising and

warning the Navy on the safety aspects of the systems

that General Dynamics was designing. See Plaintiff’s Ex.

30. Both the Navy and General Dynamics knew or should

have known of the dangers associated with the system’s

potential to create a partial vacuum absent basic safety

features. The creation of a vacuum and its effect on

humans is a fundamental engineering principle deserv-

ing no further comment. If either General Dynamics or

the Navy had paid sufficient attention to the COR or the

working drawings or had engaged in any quality assur-

ance or operational testing procedures, the problem of a

partial vacuum would have been obvious. General Dy-

56a

namics, howecer, failed to warn the Navy about patent

errors in the government’s general requirements or their

own working drawings.

Specifically, General Dynamics did not warn the Navy

of its failure in the general

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — General Dynamics Corp. v. Trevino · 493 U.S. 935 | Frix