Opposition Brief — Roe v. Doe

Supreme Court brief1989

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

R

TRE Sepreme cour us.

») F FILED

No. 89-3 ' QCT 24 1999

~» JR,

IN THE CLERK

_——

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

In THE MATTER OF THE ADOPTION OF: JOHN DOE,

INFANT BABY Boy:

RICHARD ROE AND Mary RoE,

Petitioners,

V.

Bop DOE AND JANE DOE, ~—

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SUPREME COURT OF THE

STATE OF FLORIDA

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION |

CHANDLER R. MULLER, ESQUIRE

Florida Bar No. 112381

MULLER, KIRKCONNELL, LINDSEY

AND SNURE, P.A.

1150 Louisiana Avenue, Suite 1

Post Office Box 2728

Winter Park, Florida 32790

Telephone: (407) 645-3000

ANTHONY B. MARCHESE, ESQUIRE

Florida Bar No. 275220

Suite 431 Westshore Place

4350 West Cypress

Tampa, FL 33607

Telephone: (813) 873-3685

Attorneys for Respondents

PRESS OF BYRON S. ADAMS, WASHINGTON, D.C. (202) 347-8203

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

I

IN THE CONTEXT OF A NEWBORN ADOPTION, IS IT

A DENIAL OF DUE PROCESS TO TERMINATE THE PA-

RENTAL RIGHTS OF AN UNWED FATHER WHO FAILED

TO GRASP HIS OPPORTUNITY TO ASSUME PARENTAL

RESPONSIBILITIES BY INTENTIONALLY WITHHOLDING

MEANINGFUL, NEEDED PREBIRTH EMOTIONAL AND

ECONOMIC SUPPORT TO THE PREGNANT MOTHER AND

UNBORN CHILD FROM THE FIRST MOMENT HE

LEARNED OF JOHN DOE’S RECENT CONCEPTION,

THROUGH THE CHILD’S BIRTH, AND UNTIL SUCH TIME

AS AFTER JOHN DOE HAD BEEN PLACED IN THE ADOP-

TIVE HOME IN RELIANCE UPON THE NATURAL MOTH-

ER’S EXECUTION OF A VALID CONSENT.

II

IS IT A DENIAL OF EQUAL PROTECTION TO TERMI-

NATE AN UNWED FATHER’S PARENIAL RIGHTS, FOR

THE REASON THAT HIS PARTICULAR PREBIRTH CON-

DUCT CONSTITUTED ABANDONMENT, WHEN FLORIDA’S

STATUTORY BASIS OF ABANDONMENT (§ 63.072) SUB-

JECTS ALL PARENTS TO POTENTIAL LOSS OF PAREN-

TAL RIGHTS WHEN THEY ABANDON THEIR CHILDREN,

AND SAID STATUTORY BASIS IS FACIALLY NEUTRAL

AS TO GENDER AND MARITAL STATUS?

Ill

IS IT A DENIAL OF DUE PROCESS AND EQUAL PRO-

TECTION GUARANTEES TO PROHIBIT A BIOLOGICAL

PARENT FROM WITHDRAWING HIS OR HER KNOWING

AND VOLUNTARY WRITTEN CONSENT ABSENT A SHOW-

ING SUCH CONSENT IS TAINTED BY LEGAL DURESS OR

FRAUD?

IV

IS IT A DENIAL OF AN UNWED FATHER’S DUE PROC-

ESS RIGHTS TO ADDRESS THE ISSUE OF STATUTORY

ii

ABANDONMENT IN A CASE-BY-CASE ANALYSIS OF

WHETHER HE AFFIRMATIVELY ACTED OR FAILED TO

ACT AS A RESPONSIBLE PARENT TOWARD THE PREG-

NANT MOTHER AND HIS UNBORN CHILD BEFORE THE

MOTHER RELINQUISHED HER PARENTAL RIGHTS IN AN

EFFORT TO PROVIDE FOR THE BEST INTERESTS OF THE

CHILD AND HERSELF’?

ili

THE PARTIES

Respondents, Bob and Jane Doe, are the adoptive,

psychological parents of a little boy named John Doe.

The Respondents join the Petitioners in requesting

that the record from the lower courts continue to be

sealed to help preserve the damental of all impacted

by this litigation.

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS

OPINIONS BELOW ..........cccceeceesseceeenseerensseeeneeeeeeenees

STATEMENT AS TO JURISDICTION ...........000eee00+

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ..........:ssseeeeeeeeeeeeeees woes

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

I.

II.

The Unwed Father’s Federal Equal Protec-

tion and Due Process Rights Were Not Vi-

olated By the Florida Adoption Statute as

APPLIC .......sessseeseeseceseeeecereeneesnseesseensenesensees

The Biological Mother’s Federal Equal Pro-

tection and Due Process Rights Were Not

Violated When Her Consent to the Adoption

was Ruled Irrevocable Absent Proof of Fraud

CO I cvccacocecnececincdsvecsnesisiaseancasncsenstnicoes

Il.

Petitioner Richard Roe’s Parental Rights

Were Terminated in Accordance With the

Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth

i. cssnisnncctvagnnriecekbannhatidinninaeneiaaenn

CONCLUSION ........cccccccsscccccccseecsesscnessececssseceeceeeenens

eeeeseeeeeeee.

11

11

19

23

26

ae 225 Maat gD

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page

Caban v. Mohammed, 441 U.S. 380 (1979)..... 10-11,14,17

Doe v. Roe, 543 So.2d 741 (Fla.

PED. tnliadincdsnsaussnsiuneniddobanennntniee 1,11-19,22-23,25-26

Guaranty Trust Company v. Blodgett, 287 U.S. 509,

GPT SUNUINE sarkieh tnissmnvinkaiasbacasodtehedadaeneaiteie din 16

Guerra v. Doe, 454 So.2d 1 (Fla. 8d DCA 1984).. 7

Herb v. Pitcairn, 324 U.S. 117, 125-126 (1945) .... 14

In the Interest of I.B.J., 497 So.2d 1265 (Fla. 5th

DCA 1985), rev. den. 504 So.2d 766 (Fila.

DOT Wihincieieiiaditininhiestinsigiiaadiie a ee 21,22

Layne & Bowler Corp. v. Western Well Works, 261

iF Fk: RRS oe 19

Lehr v. Robertson, 463 U.S. 248

bE eect Nr ee AT 10-11,13-14,17-18,26

Michigan v. Long, 463 U.S. 1082 (1988) «0.00.00... 14

Prince v. Massachusetts, 321 U.S. 158 (1944) ....... 16,19

Quilloin v. Walcott, 434 U.S. 246

AREER RET pre RC ne 10-11,14,17-18,26

Roe v. Doe, 524 So.2d 1037 (Fla. 5th DCA

DY Siitnveseisiteislibcdtacaieseeitain tia . 1

Santoskey v. Kramer, 455 U.S. 745 (1982) ......... ‘12,17,18

Stanley v. Illinois, 405 U.S. 645 (1972) we. 10,14,17

STATUTES, CONSTITUTION, AND RULES

Fk, Sn HIE TIE Sinidsnsioenitencnineevhtnineantmerstinenicaninscannt 22,23

FLA. Stat. Chapter 68 ................... 1,6,8,9,14,17,22,23,25

BUA, GRRE, WE ID wccccnccaccocconcvaccsucstnsnneas 6,7,23,25

FLA. Stat. § GEGGRI) (2085) ...................<ccccssscoress 15

Pix CAR. Be TD ovnccacecsnnsscsesaseossnucncnseee 6,13,16

FLA. STAT. § 63.072(1) (1985) ..............e eee 7,12,14,23,25

FLA. STAT. § 63.082(3)(a) (1985) ............ccseceeeceee. 20,21

Wisti: Daneh BA architects icc 19,22

vi

Table of Authorities Continued

Page

FLA. STAT. § 63.092 (1985) ...........cceccecssseesseseeeeeeenes 20

FLA. STAT. § 68.122(4)(c) (1985) ...........ceeeeeeeeeeeeeeees 21

FLA. STAT. § 63.122(4)d) (1985) ...........cceeeeeeeeeeeeeees 21

ale 3 a» Beerereet Seidninaicsaibbataiannd Wicaneanasse 11

QB U.S.C. § UBB ......ccreccssccssvcccccccccccscssescessesvezcseseees 1

U.S. Constitution, Fourteenth Amendment ...... 2,10,19,23

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Supreme Court of Florida is

reported as Doe v. Roe, 543 So.2d 741 (Fla. 1989)

[App. la]; that of the intermediate appellate court as

Roe v. Doe, 524 So.2d 1037 (Fla. 5th DCA 1988) [App.

23a]. The decision of the trial court is unreported

1 [App. 40a]. All three (8) decisions are attached in the

appendix. Both the intermediate appellate court and

the Supreme Court of Florida accepted the extensive

factual findings contained in the trial court’s Order

granting the adoption of John Doe by Respondents.

[App. 40a]

STATEMENT AS TO JURISDICTION

The test for whether the jurisdiction of this Court

is properly invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1257 is

not met merely because Florida’s adoption statute was

sustained as against the Petitioners’ claim of repug-

nancy to the United States Constitution. Accordingly,

this Court should not grant certiorari merely to re-

examine the validity of Chapter 63, Florida Statutes.

The root issue in this case was not a federal question,

but, rather, turned on the evidentiary question of

whether a biological father’s prebirth conduct was rel-

evant to the question of whether he had abandoned

the child as it relates to the need for paternal consent.

The Florida Supreme Court concluded that prebirth

conduct was relevant to the issue of abandonment

under Chapter 63 (and therefore was admissible) since

prebirth conduct does tend to prove or disprove ma-

terial facts bearing on the issue of abandonment. The

Court also based its decision on grounds relating to

statutory construction and legislative intent.

Aenean

While the parent-child relationship represents a lib-

erty interest protected under both the state and fed-

eral constitutions, it does not follow that Florida lacks

the constitutional ability to limit parental freedom and

authority once there’s been a relinquishment of pa-

rental rights, either through a valid consent, or by

abandonment. Petitioner Mary Roe relinquished her

parental rights through the execution of a valid writ-

ten consent untainted by legal duress or fraud.

Petitioner Richard Roe relinquished his parental rights

by virtue of abandoning his child, i.e., intentionally

and willfully withholding prebirth support and medical

expenses to the unborn child and the pregnant mother

when such support was within his ability to provide

and desperately needed. Because of his intimate

knowledge as to both the pregnancy and the needs

of the pregnant mother, his failure to assume parental

duties in the form of providing prebirth support and

medical expenses, constituted abandonment of the

child and resulted in a forfeiture of the privilege of

vetoing the adoption by refusing to give consent.

Given the Petitioners’ relinquishment of their parental

rights, the Fourteenth Amendment did not bar the

State of Florida from granting the adoption of John

Doe to Respondents, Bob and Jane Doe.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Respondents oppose further review of a judgment

which upholds their adoption of JOHN DOE, now

three (3) years of age, over the objections of biological

parents who were correctly held to have relinquished

their parental rights at or about the time of John

Doe’s birth. The Florida Supreme Court rejected the

biological father’s argument that he had no parental

responsibility prior to John Doe’s birth; and his re-

lated contention that his conduct of intentionally with-

holding prebirth support and medical expenses, was

irrelevant as it relates to the need for paternal con-

sent. Additionally, the Florida Supreme Court re-

jected the biological father’s claim that the federal

guarantees of equal protection and due process gave

him a constitutionally-sanctioned automatic veto power

over the adoption solely because of the biological con-

nection. The Florida Supreme Court also rejected the

biological mother’s claim that the federal guarantees

of equal protection and due process gave her the un-

fettered right to withdraw her written consent to the

adoption, without any showing of fraud or iegal du-

ress, merely because of a subsequent change of heart

or circumstance.

The Petitioners, Richard and Mary Roe, met in the

summer of 1985 in Tempe, Arizona, and began a dat-

ing relationship which included sexual intimacy. (R.4,

310) They lived separately. At that time Mary was

single and about 24 years of age. She held a bach-

elor’s degree from the University of South Florida,

and was working for very modest wages in a bank

to support herself and a son who was less than a

year old. (R.14, 17) Richard, also single, was approx-

imately the same age and had some college education

behind him. (R.22, 604-605) He was employed as a

salesman in the solar equipment industry and was

earning commissions averaging $1,300 a week. (R.9,

606-607)

In late December of 1985 or early January 1986,

Mary discovered she had just become pregnant as a

consequence of failing to obtain and use any birth

control pills under a renewed prescription. (R.7, 310)

htc nil

4

Richard was aware of the pregnancy by January and

he relentless pressed Mary to abort the child since

he was not ready to commit to marriage. (R.10, 631,

632) He did pay one month’s rent for Mary during

the time frame she could have legally obtained the

abortion he desired. (R.640, 642) However, when Mary

steadfastly refused to have an abortion, Richarc made

a conscious decision to withhold emotional and finan-

cial support, including medica] expenses, from the

pregnant mother even though he continued to “‘date’’

her and was aware that upon her subsequent loss of

steady employment Mary was increasingly reduced to

living off public welfare and private charity. (R.623,

624) Mary repeatedly told Richard that while she

would not abort the child, she could not emotionally

or financially raise yet another child as a single,

unwed parent. (R.17,18) Notwithstanding his first-

hand knowledge of Mary’s pregnant condition and fi-

nancial predicament, Richard made no effort to utilize

either his own financial resources (which included sub-

stantial savings), or the available resources of his fam-

ily to provide for the prenatal needs of his unborn

child or the needs of the pregnant mother. (R.607-

608, 615-616, 640-641) By late March or early April

of 1986, when the time for obtaining a legal abortion

had passed, stretching until some point in July of

1986, Richard was in favor of adoption. (R.20-21, 37-

38, 45, 637) Although aware early on that Mary was

in contact with Jewish Social Services in Phoenix to

explore adoptive placement, Richard initially voiced

no objection. (R.18, 168)

In July of 1986 Mary advised her mother in Florida

of her predicament and asked her to seek suitable

adoptive parents. At some point also in July Rich-

5

ard announced he was against Jewish adoptive place-

ment, but he was still opposed to marriage and offered

no meaningful support to Mary who was now desti-

tute. Through contacts initially developed by her

y mother—Mary and her son, Benjamin, came to Florida

to arrange for the Respondents to adopt her unborn

child in a private adoption. Although Mary left Phoe-

nix in late July without telling Richard, she initiated

regular telephonic contact with him within six (6) days

of her arrival] in Florida. (R.26, 32) In this first call

Richard learned Mary was in Florida and why she

came. (R.26, 32)

As Florida law requires, Mary was interviewed and

counseled by the Department of Health and Rehabi-

litative Services. (R.475, 493) During an August 12,

1986 interview and counseling session, Mary was

shown a blank consent form and a waiver-of-notice

form and read the same. (R.481) She was further

advised as to the irrevocable nature of the consent

in the absence of fraud or duress. (R.483, 484) She

was cautioned not to sign the consent following the

birth of the child if she had any doubts about giving

the child up. (R.482) Mary indicated that she under-

stood. (R.482, 483)

v Unbeknownst to Respondents, Richard and Mary

were in frequent and lengthy telephonic contact from

August 8, 1986 until just before the birth of John

Doe on September 12, 1986. (R.34-35, 87, 655) The

subject of these phone conversations concerned their

relationship. She refused his offer to return and live

with him outside of a marriage relationship and re-

peatedly told him that the unborn child (believed to

be of female gender) would be better off in a stable,

two-parent home. (R.26, 27) While Mary did not pro-

vide Richard with the mailing address of the apart-

ment Respondents had furnished to her and her young

son, she did provide Richard with her Florida phone

number two (2) weeks before giving birth to John

Doe. (R.85, 653)

On Friday, September 12. 1986 John Doe was born.

Two (2) days later on Sunday, September 14, 1986,

Mary signed a consent to adoption, and on the fol-

lowing day John Doe was placed by the attorney han-

dling the intermediary adoption with the Does where

he has remained to this day. [App. 3a]

Upon hearing on September 15, 1986 that Mary

had given birth to a male child Richard told his

mother, ‘Mother, can you believe I have a son? I’m

going to go get it.”” (R.774) He contacted Mary that

same day with a marriage proposal. A joint decision

was made between the two of them, at that time, to

seek “return’”’ of the child on the basis that Richard

had not given written consent to the adoption. (R.39,

628-629, 719, 774)

By September 19, 1986, Richard had come to Flor-

ida where, upon advice of counsel, he signed an ac-

knowledgment of paternity, as well as John Doe’s

birth certificate. (R.601) He has sought custody of

John Doe since that date.

Under Florida’s Adoption Act i.e., Chapter 63, Flor-

ida Statutes, an unwed father who timely files an

acknowledgment of paternity with the Bureau of Vital

Statistics brings himself within the category of unwed

fathers whose consent is required, unless excused by

the Court on a basis such as abandonment or deser-

tion. FLA. STAT. § 63.062, § 63.072 (1985) [App.] An

unwed father’s act of filing a timely acknowledgment

of paternity secures for him a procedural due process

right to be heard and to participate in an adversary

hearing to determine whether or not his claimed pa-

rental privilege of vetoing the adoption, by refusing

to give consent, was previously forfeited by his ac-

tions. Guerra v. Doe, 454 So.2d 1 (Fla. 3d DCA 1984).

: FLA. Stat. § 63.072(1) (1985) explicitly identifies

“abandonment” as a statutory basis, and warrant, for

the waiver of consent from a biological parent whose

consent would otherwise be required under FLA. STAT.

§ 63.062 (1985).

Following the contested adoption proceeding held

in May of 1987, the trial court entered judgment ap-

proving the adoption of John Doe by Respondents.

In its Order, which contained extensive factual find-

ings, the trial judge found that Mary had voluntarily

consented to the adoption, that Richard’s prebirth

conduct estopped him from now opposing the adop-

tion, and that his consent was not required because

he had legally abandoned the child. The Court noted

that since the case involved a newborn adoption, it

necessarily followed that the putative father’s conduct

throughout the pregnancy term was relevant to the

issue of abandonment. [App. 49a] Without relying on

the finding as a basis for its final judgment, the Court

also found that John Doe’s best interests would be

served by granting the adoption, and that serious psy-

chological damage to the child could occur if he were

taken out of his home. [App. 50a, 51a]

On appeal, the District Court agreed that Mary had

voluntarily consented to the adoption and explicitly

approved the trial court’s factual findings—including

the finding that John Doe could be seriously harmed,

psychologically, if removed from the adoptive home.

8

[App. 24a, 3la] However, the District Court reversed

the judgment of adoption due to its conclusion that

Richard’s prebirth conduct could not, as a matter of

law, be used as a basis for excusing his consent on

the ground of abandonment. [App. 37a, 38a] The Dis-

trict Court also concluded that John Doe’s best in-

terest was irrelevant. [App. 30a, 3la] To protect the

child from harmful changes in custody, the District

Court preserved the status quo pending the accept-

ance or denial and ultimate disposition of the case by

the Florida Supreme Court.

On discretionary review, the Florida Supreme Court

reversed the intermediate Appellate Court and rein-

stated the trial court’s judgment granting John Doe’s

adoption. [App. 16a, 17a] Again, Petitioner Mary

Roe’s consent to the adoption was held to be valid

and irrevocable. [App. 5a] In addressing the question

of whether the biological father’s consent to the adop-

tion could be waived under the circumstances of the

case, the Court defined the root issue as an eviden-

tiary matter of relevance under the Florida Evidence

Code and began its analysis by noting that Chapter

63 clearly reflects the Legislature’s intent that all

adoptive matters, including abandonment proceedings,

are to promote and protect the best interests of the

child. [App. 6a, 8a, 9a] Having determined that the

welfare of the child is an element to be considered

in an adoption proceeding, the Court soundly rejected

Richard Roe’s principal arguments that he had no

parental responsibility prior to John Doe’s birth, and

that evidence of his failure to provide prebirth support

was therefore irrelevant to the issue of abandonment.

[App. 9a, 10a] The Court’s rejection was grounded on

its recognition that prenatal care of the pregnant

mother and unborn child is critical to the future men-

tal and physical health of the child, and to the in-

terests and needs of society as well. [App. 9a, 10a]

Consequently, a biological father, wed or unwed, has

the responsibility to provide support during the pre-

birth period. [App. 10a] Since prebirth conduct by an

unwed father as it relates to the pregnant mother

who needs the support of the father directly impacts

upon the welfare of the child, the Florida Supreme

Court held that Richard Roe’s conduct of failing to

provide prebirth assistance to Mary, when he was able

and assistance was needed, was relevant to the issue

of abandonment. [App. 10a, 11a]

Secondly, the Florida Supreme Court rejected the

putative father’s claim that Chapter 63 afforded him

absolute veto power over the adoption through his

act of formally declaring his biological connection to

the child subsequent to the natural mother’s execution

of a valid consent. [App. 10a] In holding that Richard

Roe’s failure to provide prebirth assistance to the

pregnant mother, when he was able and assistance

was needed, vested her with the sole parental au-

thority to consent to John Doe’s adoption and re-

moved from Richard any privilege of vetoing the

adoption, the Court explained:

The unwed mother who is unable to obtain

needed support from the father is necessarily

forced to take upon herself the entire respon-

sibility for caring for the unborn child and

for making necessary plans for the well-being

of the child when born. The intermediary

adoption program which the mother selected

here is one of the options provided by the

state to protect the best interest of the child,

10

the parents, and the state. If the biological

father retains an absolute veto power over the

decision of the abandoned pregnant mother to

place the child for adoption, the mother’s abil-

ity to provide for the best interests of the child

and herself are nullified. Clearly this is not

legislative intent. (emphasis supplied)

[App. 10a] The Court then added a caveat to its hold-

ings by stressing that its judgment turned upon an

analysis of the facts involved. In particular, the Court

stated: ;

We caution that this analysis cuts both ways.

In circumstances other than those here, an

unwed father would be justifiably entitled to

argue that his conduct in providing prebirth

support to his unborn child was relevant to

his claimed right to refuse consent to the

adoption of his child. (emphasis added)

[App. lla] After having reached the aforementioned

holdings on state law grounds, the Court then ad-

dressed and rejected the Petitioners’ claims that the

denial of their parental rights violated the due process

and equal protection guarantees of the Fourteenth

Amendment to the United States Constitution. [App.

1la-16a] In denying these claims, the Court noted that

its evaluation of Petitioners’ equal protection and due

process claims, as meritless, was thoroughly consist-

ent with this Court’s decisions in Stanley v. Illinois,

405 U.S. 645 (1972); Quilloin v. Walcott, 434 U.S.

246 (1978); Caban v. Mohammed, 441 U.S. 380 (1979);

and Lehr v. Robertson, 463 U.S. 248 (1983).

ncn inoa ioeecenmesn ound

11

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

Review by certiorari is not a matter of right, but

of judicial discretion. It should be granted only when

there are special and important reasons for doing so.

Sup. Ct. R. 17.1. The Petition presents no basis for

such review. To the contrary, the decision below was

correct and should not be disturbed.

I THE UNWED FATHER’S FEDERAL EQUAL PROTEC-

TION AND DUE PROCESS RIGHTS WERE NOT VIO-

LATED BY THE FLORIDA ADOPTION STATUTE AS

APPLIED.

Although the parent-child relationship represents a

liberty interest entitled to constitutional protection,

principles of due process and equal protection do not

require that an unwed father be afforded veto power

over an adoption if he failed to seize as much parental

responsibility toward the child as was reasonably pos-

sible under the circumstances. Quilloin v. Walcott,

434 U.S. 246, 255-256 (1978); Caban v. Mohammed,

441 U.S. 380, 397 (1979); Lehr v. Robertson, 463 U.S.

248, 262, 266-268 (1983).

In making his various constitutional claims,

Petitioner, Richard Roe, relies upon an extremely

flawed analysis of the Florida Supreme Court’s opin-

ion in Doe v. Roe, 548 So.2d 741 (Fla. 1989), and an

equally flawed analysis of this Court’s prior decisions

discussing the relationship between the assumption of

parental responsibilities and biological fatherhood.

Contrary to Petitioners’ assertion that the Florida

Supreme Court used ‘‘an amorphous standard’’, Rich-

ard Roe’s parental rights were terminated based upon

clear and convincing evidence of abandonment stem-

ming from his failure to assume parental responsi-

12

bilities toward his unborn child. The Florida Supreme

Court explicitly stated its reliance upon the trial

court’s legal -and factual findings, and there is no

question but that the biological father’s parental in-

terest was terminated at the trial level upon a “clear

and convincing” standard of proof. [App. lla, 34a,

49a] See generally Santoskey v. Kramer, 455 U.S. 745

(1982), (due process requires the utilization of the

“clear and convincing evidence’”’ standard in parental

rights termination proceedings in contrast to the

“preponderance of the evidence’’ standard). c

Nor is the decision in Doe v. Roe, Id. constitution-

ally defective or arbitrary simply because the question

of whether a given biological father has or has not

engaged in prenatal and postnatal conduct which ev-

inces a settled purpose to assume parental duties turns

on the individual facts of each case. As the Florida

Supreme Court explained:

[T]he issue of abandonment turns on the

question of whether the parent has evinced

a settled purposed to assume parental duties.

Providing prebirth support to the unborn

child is a parental duty. Evidence of whether

the parent has or has not furnished custom-

ary support to the pregnant mother is rele-

vant to the issue of abandonment. In answer

to the certified question, we hold that an

unwed father’s prebirth conduct in providing

or failing to provide support responsibilities

and medical expenses for the natural mother

is relevant to the issue of abandonment under

63.072(1). We caution that this analysis cuts

both ways. In circumstances other than those

here, an unwed father would be justifiably

13

entitled to argue that his conduct in provid-

ing prebirth support to his unborn child was

relevant to his claimed right to refuse consent

to the adoption of his child. (emphasis added)

x* * *

Unwed mothers and fathers, indeed all par-

-ents, are subject to the loss of parental rights

when they abandon their children. The issue .

here is whether evidence of prebirth conduct

by a parent is relevant to the issue of

whether the parent has abandoned the child.

We hold that such evidence is relevant. Sec-

tion 63.072 is neutral as to sex and marital

status of the parent who has allegedly aban-

doned the child. The weight to be given pre-

birth conduct will vary from case to case

depending on the conduct itself and other

circumstances of the particular case, but, in

as far as the particular prebirth conduct tends

to prove or disprove that the parent has or

has not abandoned the child at issue, such

evidence is relevant and admissible regard-

less of the sex or marital status of the par-

ent.

543 So.2d 741, 746-747 [App. 10a-12a]. Richard Roe’s

failure to show a substantial interest in his unborn

child’s welfare, as evidenced by his steadfast with-

holding of prebirth support from the pregnant mother,

removed from him the full constitutional protection

afforded the parental rights of other classes of par-

ents. Consequently, the case-by-case approach of Doe

v. Roe Id. is entirely consistent with this Court’s rec-

ognition in Lehr v. Robertson, supra at 257 that:

14

[T]he rights of the parents are a counterpart

of the responsibilities they have assumed.

The Petitioners’ assertion, at page 8 of their

Petition, that the Florida Supreme Court “rejected

the rulings of Stanley, Quilloin, Caban, and Lehr’’ is

wholly unfounded since the Court quoted extensively

from these cases (especially Lehr) in addressing Rich-

ard Roe’s constitutional claims and the relationship

between the assumption of parental responsibility and

biological fatherhood. 543 So.2d 741, 747-749 [App.

12a-16a] The Court’s reference to those cases as not

being ‘‘directly on point’’ was clearly intended to

stress that its decision rested on the state law grounds

that: (1) evidence of whether a biological father has

or has not furnished prebirth support to the pregnant

mother is relevant to material facts bearing on the

issue of abandonment under § 63.072(1); and (2) that

it was not the legislature’s intent in Chapter 63 to

accord automatic, absolute veto power to an unwed

father who has willfully refused to act as a parent

toward his unborn child and the pregnant mother un-

til after such time as the mother has placed the child

for adoption in an effort to provide for the best in-

terests of the child and herself. [App. 9a, 10a, 15a,

16a] Since the controlling issues of Doe v. Roe in-

volved the independent state law grounds of eviden-

tiary relevance and legislative intent, rather than a

federal issue, further review by this Court would be

inappropriate. See generally, Michigan v. Long, 463

U.S. 1032 (1983); Herb v. Pitcairn, 324 U.S. 117, 125-

126 (1945).

Petitioners’ assertion, also on page 8, that the Flor-

ida Supreme Court held that Richard Roe ‘“‘ha[d] no

standing in the adoption proceeding”’ is likewise base-

15

eedswediiz <r

less. Here, Petitioners have blurred the distinction

between Richard Roe’s standing to participate in an

adversary hearing on the issue of his claimed right

to refuse consent to John Doe’s adoption; and the

question of whether his biological link to the child

automatically clothes him with substantive veto power.

Richard Roé*clearly had standing to contest the adop-

tion by virtue of filing an acknowledgment of pa-

ternity. The Florida Supreme Court explicitly

recognized his standing when it said:

The natural father here filed an acknowledg-

ment of paternity in accordance with

§ 63.062(1) on the 19th of September, 1986.

Thus, his consent was required unless he had

previously abandoned the child.

543 So.2d 741, 745 [App. 8a]. But in rejecting his

claim of absolute veto power, the Court stated:

[W]e hold that the failure of Respondent nat-

ural father to provide prebirth assistance to

the pregnant mother, when he was able anc

assistance was needed, vested Respondent

natural mother with the sole parental au-

thority to consent to the adoption of the child

and removed from the natural father the

privilege of vetoing the adoption by refusing

to give consent.

543 So.2d 741, 749 [App. 16a]. Earlier, the Court had

explained its rationale for rejecting Richard Roe’s

claim to absolute veto power when it observed:

The unwed pregnant mother who is unable

to obtain needed support from the father is

necessarily forced to take upon herself the

entire responsibility for caring for the unborn

nies

16

child and for making necessary plans for the

well-being of the child when born. The in-

termediary adoption program which the

mother selected here is one of the options

provided by the state to protect the best in-

terests of the child, the parents, and the

state. If the biological father retains an ab-

solute veto power over the decision of the

abandoned pregnant mother to place the child

for adoption, the mother’s ability to provide

for the best interests of the child and herself

are nullified. Clearly this is not legislative

intent.

543 So.2d 741, 746 [App. 10a].

Richard Roe’s “parental rights’’ were not termi-

nated on a whim of the Court or because he was a

less-than-perfect parent. Rather, his parental rights

were terminated because there was clear and con-

vincing evidence that his prebirth conduct toward the

unborn child and the pregnant mother constituted

abandonment. It was well within the Florida Supreme

Court’s power to construe § 63.072 ‘‘abandonment”’

aS encompassing prenatal conduct on the part of a

parent, as well as postnatal conduct. 543 So.2d 741,

747 [App. lla]. See, Prince v. Massachusetts, 321 U.S.

158 (1944), (a state court’s construction of a state

statute is not reviewable in the Supreme Court of the

United States). See also, Guaranty Trust Company v.

Blodgett, 287 U.S. 509, 512-513 (19383).

Relying on the particular facts involved, the Florida

Supreme Court correctly determined that Richard Roe

had lost or forfeited any veto privilege by failing to

provide prebirth assistance to the pregnant mother,

when he was able and assistance was needed; and

17

that neither the provisions of Chapter 63, legislative

intent, nor constitutional principles supported his

claim that his formal acknowledgment of a biological

link to the child gave him automatic veto power. Given

the Lehr relationship between the assumption of pa-

rental responsibilities and biological fatherhood, it was

clearly not a denial of equal protection or due process

to terminate the parental rights of an unwed father

who failed to grasp his opportunity to assume paren-

tal responsibilities by intentionally withholding needed

prebirth emotional and economic support to the_preg-

nant mother and unborn child from the first moment

he learned of John Doe’s conception, through the

child’s birth, and until such time as after John Doe

had been placed in the adoptive home in reliance upon

the biological mother’s execution of a valid consent.

While the instant case differs factually from Stanley

v. Illinois, 405 U.S. 645 (1972); Quilloin supra; Caban

supra; and Lehr supra, since it involves a newborn

adoption rather than the adoption of an older child—

its analysis concerning the inchoate nature of the pa-

rental rights enjoyed by an unwed father, who has

not shouldered parental responsibilities and whose

only link to the child is the biological connection, falls

squarely within the parameters already established by

the aforementioned decisions of this Court. Contrary

to Petitioners’ claims, Doe v. Roe’s application of con-

stitutional principles is mainstream and does not pres-

ent any particularly novel or dubious extensions of

Lehr or its predecessors. For example, on page 11

of the Petition, the Petitioners assert that Doe v. Roe

is coutrary to Santoskey and Quilloin because it re-

- sulted in the termination of parental rights without

a showing of unfitness. Petitioners’ reliance on San-

18

toskey is poorly placed since Santoskey involved a

“permanent neglect” proceeding—rather than any

adoption consent issue. Petitioners’ reliance on Quil-

loin (for the proposition that the rights of biological

parents cannot be terminated in favor of adoption for

any reason short of parental unfitness), could not be

more misplaced since Quilloin was an unwed father

whose failure to shoulder significant responsibility for

his child resulted in his parental rights being termi-

nated, and the adoption granted over his objection,

without any finding that he was an unfit parent. See

also, Lehr v. Robertson, supra (known, unwed father’s

parental rights terminated and adoption granted, over

his objection, without any showing of parental unfit-

ness because he had failed to grasp his opportunity

to shoulder parental responsibilities).

While parents may not be stripped of parental

rights lightly, it does not follow that Florida lacks

the constitutional ability to limit parental freedom and

authority once there’s been a relinquishment of pa-

rental rights by means of a voluntary consent, or by

means of failing to grasp the Lehr “opportunity in-

terest” by not timely assuming significant responsi-

bility for the child’s welfare. Any parent, wed or

unwed, fit or unfit, can relinquish his or her parental

rights. i

Quilloin and Lehr clearly refute Petitioners’ basic

premise that Richard Roe’s parental ‘‘rights” cannot

be constitutionally terminated, and John Doe’s adop-

tion granted over Richard’s objection, when he is os-

tensibly a fit parent. Since this premise fails, the

Petitioners have not demonstrated any real or “‘in-

tolerable” conflict between this Court’s decisions and

Doe v. Roe which would justify the granting of

ee

19

certiorari review. See generally, Layne & Bowler Corp.

v. Western Well Works, 261 U.S. 387, 392-393 (1923).

II THE BIOLOGICAL MOTHER’S FEDERAL EQUAL PRO-

TECTION AND DUE PROCESS RIGHTS WERE NOT VI-

OLATED WHEN HER CONSENT TO THE ADOPTION

WAS RULED IRREVOCABLE ABSENT PROOF OF

FRAUD OR DURESS.

Given the fact that Petitioner Mary Roe relin-

quished her parental rights on September 14, 1986,

when she voluntarily and intelligently signed a writ-

ten consent form which proclaimed its irrevocable na-

ture, Fourteenth Amendment considerations of equal

protection and due process do not bar the State of

Florida from thereafter limiting her ability to with-

draw her consent absent a clear and convincing show-

ing that her consent was obtained through fraud or

duress. The Petitioners’ arguments in this point suffer

from several infirmities. Chief among them is a failure

to take into account the enhanced ability of the state

to constitutionally limit parental freedom and author-

ity once there has been a relinquishment of parental

rights. See generally Prince v. Massachusetts, supra.

Therefore, it was Mary Roe’s September 14, 1986

relinquishment of her parental rights which furnished :

Florida with the the authority to limit her ability to

withdraw her consent prior to the termination of her

parental rights by a judgment of adoption.

Florida’s practice, under § 63.082(5) of making a

natural parent’s consent irrevocable absent a finding

of fraud or legal duress exists in most other juris-

dictions and stems from public policy considerations

briefly alluded to in Doe v. Roe, supra at 744 when

the Florida Supreme Court adopted the following ra-

tionale given by the District Court below:

20

The trial court found the natural mother gave

up the baby because of generalized social and

financial pressures, but that no one exerted

coercion, duress or fraud to procure her con-

sent. Absent a finding of fraud, duress, or

undue influence, a natural parent’s consent

to an adoption is valid and irrevocable upon

execution of the written consent. This same

rule exists in most other jurisdictions in an

effort to balance the welfare and rights of

the child in both sets of parents involved in

an adoption. If consents to adoption were

freely made voidable, the stability of adoptive

families and the institution of adoption itself

would be threatened.

(App. 4a, 5a) Moreover, the same public policy con-

siderations undergird Florida’s requirement that the

parent seeking to withdraw consent carries the bur-

den of showing fraud or duress by clear and con-

vincing evidence if the substantial ramifications

flowing from that parent’s earlier relinquishment of

parental rights are to be ‘‘derailed’’. Due to her prior

act of relinquishment, Florida’s restriction on Mary

Roe’s ability to withdraw her consent on the basis of

a mere change of heart or circumstance does not

violate federal due process guarantees.

Nor does the Florida Adoption Act violate federal

due process guarantees because: (1) there is no ju-

dicial involvement in the consent procedure; or (2)

because it provides inadequate notice to natural*par-

ents. As to the former concern, § 63.082(3a) and

§ 63.092 specify that the Department of Health and

Rehabilitative Services is to interview and counsel the

biological parent regarding the terms of the consent

21

form, its finality, and irrevocable nature to ensure

that consent is given on an informed and voluntary

basis. Further, the attorney acting as intermediary in

a private adoption also has an active role pursuant

to § 63.082(3Xa) in making sure the natural parent

understands the consent form and its irrevocable na-

ture. These provisions are certainly adequate to sat-

isfy due process. From a factual standpoint, there is

no question but that Petitioner Mary Roe was fully

advised by both an HRS Represeritative and the in-

termediary attorney regarding the contents of the

consent form and its irrevocable nature absent fraud

or duress. (R.482, 354-355). As to the latter due proc-

ess concern of notice, § 63.122(4\Xc) specifies that no-

tice must be given to any person whose consent to

the adoption is required unless that person has con-

sented to the adoption. However, under § 63.122(4\d),

any person who is seeking to withdraw consent is

entitled to notice of the adoption hearing. Factually,

both of the biological parents appeared and fully con-

tested the adoption of John Doe.

As is easily gleaned from pages 11 through 13 of

the Petition for Certiorari, the crux of Mary Roe’s

equal protection argument is that a parent who has

relinquished his or her child for an “‘agency adoption”’

can freely withdraw that consent, whereas a parent

in a “intermediary”’ or private adoption cannot revoke

his or her consent absent a finding of fraud or duress.

To substantiate this claim, she relies heavily on In

the Interest of I.B.J., 497 So.2d 1265 (Fla. 5th DCA’

1986), rev. den. 504 So.2d 766 (Fla. 1987). The flaw -

in her equal protection claim is that it is bottomed

on a gross mis-statement of Florida law. Specifically,

the J.B.J. ‘‘dicta’’ which is so critical to the claim

22

was expressly disapproved by the Florida Supreme

Court in Doe v. Roe, supra at 747 when it. stated:

Respondents’ [equal protection] argument is

misplaced for two reasons. First, the provi-

sion in § 63.082(5) that consents to adoptions

may not be withdrawn, absent fraud or du-

ress, is applicable in all adoption proceedings.

Second, In re J.B.J. was a dependency pro-

ceeding under Chapter 39, as the court made

clear, not an adoption proceeding under

Chapter 63. To the degree that it suggests

that a consent to adoption may be withdrawn

at will, absent fraud or duress, we disapprove

In re I.B.J. (emphasis added)

(App. 13a) In light of Doe v. Roe’s disapproval of that

portion of J.B.J. which suggested that consents to

agency adoptions were freely revocable, and thus dif-

ferent from consents to intermediary adoptions, it is

abundantly clear that Petitioners’ claim to an equal

protection violation is fabricated from wholecloth.

The manner in which Petitioners’ “borrow” from

and treat Chapter 39 Florida Statutes, titled ‘Pro-

ceedings Related to Juveniles” as if it were a com-

peting adoption statute is likewise suspect. Chapter

39 governs juvenile delinquency and dependency cases.

[App. 81la-100a] It is not an adoption statute. By its

own terms, the Juvenile Justice Act limits its defi-

nitions to Chapter 39 proceedings. Its only relevance

to adoption proceedings i is that if a child is adjudicated

“‘dependent”’ under Chapter 39 (for reasons of vol-

untary surrender, abandonment, abuse, or neglect),

and there is a subsequent termination of parental

rights—then if an adoption proceeding is later com-

23

menced under Chapter 63, the agency with legal cus-

tody of the child has the authority to provide the

‘parental’ consent required by § 63.062 (1985). Con-

trary to Petitioners’ assertions, Chapter 39 “‘surren-

ders’ and Chapter 63 “‘consents’’ are not equivalent,

interchangeable terms. Simply because Florida courts

-have, as a matter of convenience, turned to and uti-

lized the statutory definition of “‘abandonment”’ found

in Chapter 39 during the course of Chapter 63 adop-

tion proceedings involving older children, as opposed

to newborns, it does not follow that the two (2) chap-

ters are intertwined in the manner Petitioners, have

suggested in their bid for this Court’s jurisdiction.

III PETITIONER RICHARD ROE’S PARENTAL RIGHTS

WERE TERMINATED IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE

DUE PROCESS CLAUSE OF THE FOURTEENTH

AMENDMENT.

As a statement of abstract principle, the

Respondents could agree that the arbitrary termina-

tion of parental rights under an insufficient or vague

standard of proof, and without a statutory basis,

would be offensive to notions of due process. How-

ever, Petitioners’ effort to portray the Doe v. Roe

opinion as violative of that principle is without basis.

In short, Petitioners can make this argument only by

presenting to this Court an untrustworthy analysis of

Doe v. Roe and the relevant provisions of Chapter 63.

As already addressed. by Respondents at pages 12

through 17 of tnis Brief, Richard Roe’s parental rights

were terminated on the basis of clear and convincing

evidence that his prebirth conduct toward the unborn

child and the pregnant mother constituted abandon-

ment. ‘‘Abandonment”’ under § 63.072(1) was the sta-

tutory basis supporting the judicial excusal of -his

24

consent; and it was well within the power of the

Florida Supreme Court to construe abandonment as

encompassing prenatal conduct as well as postnatal

conduct. Richard Roe’s parental rights were not ter-

minated for his mere failure to pay child support

Rather, his “rights’’ were terminated because he had

abandoned his unborn child and the pregnant mother

as evidenced by his failure to give emotional and eco-

nomic support to the unwed mother when such sup-

port was within his ability to give and sorely needed.

Another reason that further review of this case is

inappropriate is because the decision below turns

solely upon an analysis of the particular facts in-

volved. The Florida Supreme Court was absolutely

correct in its recognition that a number of factors or

“other circumstances” bear on whether an unwed

father’s conduct has evinced a settled purpose to as-

sume parental] duties. In another case, on another set

of facts, a putative father’s failure to provide prenatal

support might not justify a finding of abandonment.

For example, such a failure would be of less signif-

icance if the putative father was unable to assist fi-

nancially or otherwise for some reason; if his efforts

to provide meaningful prenatal support had been re-

buffed by the pregnant mother; or if the pregnant

mother had hid the fact of pregnancy from him and

circumvented his opportunity to shoulder parental re-

sponsibility. However, no such mitigating factors were

present here inasmuch as Richard Roe’s failure to

assume parental responsibilities was accompanied by

full knowledge of the pregnancy, full knowledge of

the extent of the unwed mother’s financial and emo- —

tional stresses resulting from the unplanned preg-

nancy, and a pregnant mother who gave him

:

3

:

-

;

4

¥

i

:

;

y

|

5

z

25

opportunity after opportunity to act as a parent

throughout the full pregnancy term. His own testi-

mony made it clear that, despite his vastly superior

economic resources, he intentionally withheld prenatal

support. (R.623, 624) He even had detailed knowledge

of the private adoption arrangement involving

Respondents yet chose not to take the first affirm-

ative step to develop any tie to the child, apart from

the biological connection, until after John Doe was

placed in the adoptive home in reliance upon Mary’s

valid consent. It is because many factors are involved

that the Florida Supreme Court stressed that its de-

cision turned on the particular facts of the case. Doe

v. Roe, supra at 746. [App. 11a].

Nor does the use of prebirth conduct, as evidence

of abandonment, violate Richard Roe’s due process

right to notice. FLA. STAT. § 63.072(1) comports with

due process by giving notice that a biological father

whose consent is required (by virtue of meeting one

of the criteria of § 63.062), is at risk of having the

need for his consent judicially excused on the basis

of abandonment. Richard’s assertion that he had no

parental responsibility during the prebirth period and

was unconstitutionally “‘broadsided”’ when the Court

construed Chapter 63 ‘‘abandonment”’ as encompass-

ing both prenatal and postnatal conduct, is uncon-

vincing unless Doe v. Roe could be realistically viewed

as creating some new normative standard for biolog-

ical fathers. Plainly, the Florida Supreme Court

viewed its opinion as but reflecting legal and societal

norms rather than forging new ones when it stated:-

Respondent naturai father’s argument that

he has no parental responsibility prior to birth

and that his failure to provide prebirth sup-

26

port is irrelevant to the issue of abandonment

is not a norm that society is willing to rec-

ognize. Such an argument is legally, morally,

and socially indefensible.

Supra at 746 [App. 10a]

CONCLUSION

The Petition should be denied since it has presented

this Court with no basis for certiorari review.

The Florida Supreme Court’s judgment in Doe v.

Roe rests upon independent state law grounds per-

taining to evidentiary questions of relevance and ad-

missibility, statutory construction, and legislative

intent. Since the judgment is not predicated on a

federal issue of a controlling nature, and since it turns

upon an analysis of the particular facts involved, fur-

ther review would be inappropriate. The Court below

fully considered and correctly decided the issues of

the case. Moreover, it is apparent from its analysis

of Petitioners’ federal constitutional claims that Doe

v. Roe is entirely consistent with and follows the prior

decisions of this Court such as Lehr and Quilloin.

Consequently, the Petitioners have fallen far short of

demonstrating any real or intolerable conflict between

this Court’s decisions and Doe v. Roe which would

justify the granting of certiorari review.

For the foregoing reasons, the Petition for

Certiorari should be denied.

27

Respectfully submitted,

CHANDLER R. MULLER, ESQUIRE

Florida Bar No. 112381

MULLER, KIRKCONNELL, LINDSEY

AND SNURE, P.A.

1150 Louisiana Avenue, Suite 1

Post Office Box 2728 |

Winter Park, Florida 32790

Telephone: (407) 645-3000

ANTHONY B. MARCHESE, ESQUIRE

Florida Bar No. 275220

Suite 431 Westshore Place

4350 West Cypress

Tampa, FL 33607

Telephone: (813) 873-3685

Attorneys for Respondents

BOB and JANE DOE

rr

APPENDIX

APPENDIX TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Judgment and Opinion of Supreme Court of

IN ada diibilidaiiinisiiniianderceneistensenes la

Order Denying Rehearing ...................ssssscecccceeeeeeees 22a

Opinion of District Court of Appeal of Florida ..... 23a

Final Judgment of Adoption ............sscccccccccsssssseeees 40a

Chapter 63, Florida Statutes (1985) .............. 54a

Chapter 39, Florida Statutes (1985) (Pertinent

SUED sicccninsuidichallasepanaiacaiibidisdpindsinsshineidnrinesainsseniunes 8la

la

In The Matter Of The ADOPTION OF

John DOE, Infant Baby Boy.

No. 72593.

Bob DOE and Jane Doe,

Petitioners,

v.

Richard ROE and Mary Roe,

Respondents.

Supreme Court of Florida.

April 18, 1989.

Rehearing Denied June 1, 1989.

The Circuit Court, Orange County, Cecil H. Brown, J.,

entered judgment of adoption establishing parental rights

to child in adoptive parents. Natural parents appealed. The

District Court of Appeal, 524 So. 2d 1037, reversed and

certified question to Supreme Court. The Supreme Court,

Shaw, J., held that: (1) father’s prebirth conduct in pro-

viding or failing to provide support responsibilities and

medical expenses for natural mother was relevant to issue

of whether natural father had abandoned child, making his

consent to adoption no longer necessary under statute;

(2) natural father’s conduct constituted abandonment; and

(3) constitutional rights of natural father and natural

mother were not interfered with.

Quashed and remanded.

Barkett, J., concurred specially and filed opinion in which

Kogan, J., concurred.

McDonald, J., dissented and filed opinion.

*_* *

2a

Chandler R. Muller of Muller, Kirkconnell, Lindsey and

Snure, P.A., Winter Park, and Anthony B. Marchese,

Tampa, for petitioners. ;

John L. O’Donnell, Jr. of DeWolf, Ward, O’Donnell &

Hoofman, P.A., Orlando, for respondents.

~ Cynthia L. Greene of Frumkes and Greene, P.A., Miami,

Chairman, and Elaine N. Duggar, Tallahassee, Nancy Rai-

ney Palmer, Casselberry, and Cynthia S. Swanson, Gaines-

ville, amicus curiae for The Family Law Section of The

Florida Bar.

SHAW, Justice.

We review In Re the Adoption of John Doe, 524 So.2d

1037 (Fla. 5th DCA 1988), to answer a certified question

of great public importance. Art. V, § 3(bX4), Fla. Const.

The facts of the case are fully set forth in the decision

below which quoted extensively from the factual findings

of the trial court. Richard and Mary Roe met in Tempe,

Arizona, in the summer of 1985, and Mary became preg-

nant in January 1986. Richard did not want marriage and

urged Mary to have an abortion because he was not ready

to commit to marriage, felt financial pressure, and was

troubled by the whole idea of the marriage. Mary refused

to abort and upon loss of employment was reduced to

living off public welfare and private charity. During the

critical period, Richard failed to provide Mary with mean-

ingful emotional or financial support. Nevertheless, they

continued to see each other regularly and when the subject

of adoption surfaced Richard initially voiced no objection.

In July 1986, Mary advised her mother in Florida of her

predicament and asked her to seek suitable adoptive par-

ents. This was done and in late July Mary came to Florida

to arrange for the Does to adopt her unborn child. Mary

continued to maintain contact with Richard and advised

him of the adoption arrangements in process. Richard now

did not want the child placed for adoption, but still opposed

‘

ae

3a

marriage and offered no meaningful support to the now

destitute mother. The child was born on 12 September ’

1986, Mary signed the adoption agreement two days later,

and the child was placed in the adoptive home on 15 Sep-

tember. Richard then announced his opposition to the

adoption, proposed marriage to Mary, and came to Florida

where he signed an acknowledgment of paternity and the

child’s birth certificate. The adoptive parents refused to

voluntarily relinquish the child and went forward with an

adoption petition in October. Richard and Mary married

in November 1986. After a May 1987 trial, the court en-

tered judgment approving the adoption. The trial judge

found that Mary voluntarily consented to the adoption,

that Richard’s prebirth actions estopped him from opposing

the adoption and that his consent was not required because

he had legally abandoned the child. Without relying on the

finding as the basis for judgment, the court also found

that the best interests of the child would be served by the

adoption because of bonding between the child and the

adoptive parents. On appeal, the district court approved

the factual findings of the trial court, agreed that Mary

had voluntarily consented to the adoption, but held as a

matter of law that Richard’s prebirth conduct could not

be used as a basis for abandonment and that his consent

was therefore required under chapter 63, Florida Statutes

(1985). The district court preserved the status quo, pending

acceptance or denial of jurisdiction and ultimate disposition

by this Court. The district court also concluded that there

was no clear authority in Florida on the issue of prebirth

abandonment and certified the following question of great

public importance.

CAN THE FAILURE OF A PUTATIVE UNMARRIED

FATHER TO ASSUME SUPPORT RESPONSIBILITIES

AND MEDICAL EXPENSES FOR THE NATURAL

MOTHER WHEN SHE REQUIRES SUCH ASSISTANCE

AND HE IS AWARE OF HER NEEDS, BE A BASIS

FOR A TRIAL COURT TO EXCUSE HIS CONSENT TO

4a

THE ADOPTION OF THE CHILD, ON THE GROUNDS

OF ABANDONMENT OR ESTOPPEL, PURSUANT TO

SECTION 63.072(1), FLORIDA STATUTES (1985).

524 So.2d at 1044.

We first address the issue of the natural mother’s con-

sent to the adoption. The adoption here was performed

through an intermediary. Pursuant to law, the natural

mother was interviewed and counseled by the Department

of Health and Rehabilitative Services on 12 August 1986.

During the interview, Mary said she was an unmarried

parent with one previous child and could not financially

support two children as a single parent. She identified

Richard Roe as the natural father but said, while he did

4 not deny paternity, he had furnished no meaningful fi-

nancial support and eschewed responsibility for the child.

The terms of the consent, its finality, and irrevocability

were explained to Mary and she indicated she understood.

Mary said she had thought through her decision and, while

it was difficult, she believed adoption was best for every-

one. After the birth of the child, Mary executed a consent

to the adoption on 14 September 1986 and the child was

placed with the adoptive parents on the following day.

Within days, Mary attempted to withdraw her consent,

maintaining that she had consented under the duress of

her personal circumstances and that, with Richard’s later

agreement to marriage, she now wished to keep the child.

The trial judge found that Mary was fully aware of the

consequences when she voluntarily executed the consent, ;

that the consent had not been obtained by fraud or duress,

and that she could not thereafter revoke her consent. We

agree with and adopt the rationale of the district court

below in affirming the trial court on this point.

The trial court found the natural mother gave up

the baby because of generalized social and financial

pressures, but that no one exerted coercion, duress

or fraud to procure her consent. Absent a finding of

5a -_

fraud, duress, or undue influence, a natural parent’s

consent to an adoption is valid and irrevocable upon

execution of the written consent. This same rule exists

in most other jurisdictions in an effort to balance the

welfare and rights of the child and both sets of par-

ents invc:ved in an adoption. If consents to adoption

were freely made voidable, the stability of adoptive

families and the institution of adoption itself would

be threatened.

Id. at 1041 (footnotes omitted).

Having determined that the natural mother’s consent to

adoption was valid and could not be revoked, we turn to

the more troublesome issue of whether the natural father’s

consent to the adoption could be waived under the cir-

cumstances present here. The trial court found, and the

district court agreed, that because of bonding of the child

to the adoptive parents, the child would be psychologically

damaged if it were removed from the adoptive home at

that stage of the proceedings. The court held, nevertheless,

“that the best interest of the child is not a relevant factor

unless the child was legally available to be adopted.” Jd.

at 1041 (footnote omitted). This broad statement requires

qualification. The issue here was whether the natural fath-

er’s conduct prior to acknowledging paternity on 19 Sep-

tember 1986 constituted abandonment, or, restated,

whether the natural mother had the sole right and av-

thority before that date to consent to the adoption. At

that time, the child had only been with the adoptive par-

ents for a period of days and bonding was minimal. Thus

the child’s best interest as evidenced by subsequent bond-

ing to the adoptive parents was not a significant consid-

eration in this case. This must be the rule because,

otherwise, a tentative placement or erroneous judgment

would be effectively unreviewable and we would have

adopted a rule that physical custody, because of subsequent

bonding, is determinative in contested adoptions. However,

6a

this does not mean that the best interests of the child as

evidenced by bonding to the adoptive parents is not rel-

evant under other circumstances. For instance, there may

well be circumstances where a natural father does not

acknowledge or declare a parental interest in the child

until after the child has been with the adoptive parents

for a significant period of time during which substantial

bonding has occurred. In such a case bonding would be a

material consideration on the issue of abandanment. The

child’s well-being is the raison d’etre for determining

whether a child has been abandoned by a parent or par-

ents. A finding of abandonment under chapter 63 means,

for whatever reason, the parent or parents have not pro-

vided the child with emotional and financial sustenance

and, consequently, the well-being of the child requires sev-

ering the parent’s legal custody or relationship with the

child. Abandonment under chapter 63 is not a criminal

prosecution for the purposes of punishing parents, it is a

civil proceeding intended to serve the best interests of the

child.! This recognition of the overarching importance of

the child’s well-being is consistent with federal case law

which ‘‘has emphasized the paramount interest in the wel-

fare of children and has noted that the rights of the par-

ents are a counterpart of the responsibilities they have

assumed.”’ Lehr v. Robertson, 463 U.S. 248, 257, 103 S.Ct.

2985, 2991, 77 L.Ed.2d 614 (1983). See also Quzilloin v.

Walcott, 434 U.S. 246, 98 S.Ct. 549, 54 L.Ed.2d 511 (1978)

(constitutional protection of parental rights does not bar

1 Section 63.022(1), Florida Statutes (1985), provides: ‘‘It is the intent

of the Legislature to protect and promote the well-being of persons ~

being adopted and their natural and adoptive parents and to provide

to all children who can benefit by it a permanent family life.’’ Sub-

sequent to the district court opinion, the legislature has made its intent

even more explicit by adding a new subsection 63.022(2X/), Florida

Statutes (1987), which states: ‘‘In all matters coming before the court

pursuant to this act, the court shall enter such orders as it deems

necessary and suitable to promote and protect the best interests of the

person being adopted.”

7a

state from denying legitimation and. granting adoption

pased on best interests of child).

The parties next dispute the certified question of whether

an unwed father’s failure to assume prebirth support re-

sponsibilities and medical expenses for an unwed natural

mother who requires such assistance may constitute aban-

donment of the unborn child under chapter 63. Section

63.062(1) provides:

(1) Unless consent is excused by the court, a

petition to adopt a minor may be granted only if

written consent has been executed after the birth of

the minor by:

(b) The father of the minor, if:

1. The minor was conceived or born while the father

was married to the mother.

2. The minor is his child by adoption.

3. The minor has been established by court pro-

ceeding to be his child.

4. He has acknowledged in writing, signed in the

presence of a competent witness, that he is the father

of the minor and has filed such acknowledgment with

the vital statistics office of the Department of Health

and Rehabilitative Services.

5. He has provided the child with support in a re-

petitive, customary manner.

Under section 63.072(1), the court may excuse consent of

a parent who has abandoned a child. The word “‘aban-

doned”’ is not defined in chapter 63, but chapter 39, Flor-

ida Statutes (1985), titled Proceedings related to juveniles,

defines abandoned as follows:

(1) “‘Abandoned” means a situation in which the

parent or legal custodian of a child or, in the absence

8a

of a parent or legal custodian, the person responsible

for the child’s welfare, while being able, makes no

provision for the child’s support and makes no effort

to communicate with the child, which situation is suf-

ficient to evince a willful rejection of parental obli-

gations. If the efforts of such parent or legal

custodian, or person primarily responsible for the

child’s welfare to support and communicate with the

child are, in the opinion of the court, only marginal

efforts that do not evince a settled purpose to assume

all parental duties, the court may declare the child to

be abandoned. The failure by any such person to ap-

pear in response to actual or constructive service in

a dependency proceeding shall give rise to a rebut-

table presumption of such person’s ability to provide

for and communicate with the child.

§ 39.01(1), Fla.Stat.

The natural father here filed an acknowledgment of pa-

ternity in accordance with section 63.062(1) on 19 Septem-

ber 1986. Thus, his consent was required unless he had

previously abandoned the child. Relying on the definition

of ‘‘abandoned”’ in section 39.01(1), the district court con-

cluded that the reference to communicating with the child

meant, as a matter of !aw, there could be no abandonment

of an unborn child because there could be no communi-

cation with an unborn child. While it is true that there

can be no statutory abandonment under chapter 39 until

the child is born, it does not follow that prebirth conduct

is irrelevant to adoption proceedings. We note, first, that

the definition of ‘‘abandoned”’ is limited by its terms to

chapter 39. However, even under this chapter, communi-

cating, or failing to communicate, with a child, while rel-

evant to the issue of abandonment, is not dispositive: the

failure to communicate does not conclusively establish

abandonment and, conversely, communicating with the

child does not conclusively prove a settled purpese to pro-

9a

vide for the welfare of the child and assume all parental

duties. Assuming for the moment that prebirth conduct is

relevant to material facts bearing on abandonment, we see

nothing in chapters 39 and 63 which precludes the courts

from receiving relevant evidence of prebirth conduct by

the father. The root issue then is whether prebirth conduct

is relevant to the issue of abandonment under chapter 63.

In Florida, evidence is relevant if it tends to prove or

disprove a material fact and, unless prohibited by law, all

relevant evidence is admissible. §§ 90.401, .402, Fla.Stat.

(1985). We conclude that prebirth conduct does tend to

prove or disprove material facts bearing on abandonment

and may be properly introduced and used as a basis for

finding abandonment under the statute.

The importance of prenatal care to the future mental

and physical health of the child has long been recognized.”

The health or well-being of the child is a continuum which

extends back to the pregnancy of the mother: a child’s

good health does not magically begin at birth, it is pow-

erfully affected by the nutrition and health care received

by the mother during pregnancy. In establishing the

Women, Infants and Children Program (WIC), for exam-

ple, Congress found that substantial numbers of pregnant,

postpartum, and breast-feeding women, infants, and chil-

dren were at special risk with respect to physical and

mental health by reason of inadequate nutrition or health

care. Pub.L. No. 95-627, § 3, 92 Stat. 3603 (1978) (codified

at 42 U.S.C. § 1786 (1988)); ch. 88—153, Laws of Fla. In

point of fact, the WIC Program is grounded on the sound

principle that the health of the mother and unborn child

are integral to the health of the child after delivery. So-

cietal norms, and chapters 39 and 63 of Florida Statutes,

contemplate that the natural parents will provide for the

* Public Health Then and Now: The Origin and Development of Ma-

ternal and Child Health Programs in the United States, 75 Am.J. of

Pub. Health § 6, 590-98 (June 1985).

10a

well-being of the child. When either or both fail to do so,

the best interests of the child, and of society, require that

society intercede, as in, for example, abandonment or

adoption proceedings. Because prenatal care of the preg-

nant mother and unborn child is critical to the well-being

of the child and of society, the biological father, wed or

unwed, has a responsibility to provide support during the

prebirth period. Respondent natural father’s argument that

he has no parental responsibility prior to birth and that

his failure to provide prebirth support is irrelevant to the

issue of abandonment is not a norm that society is pre-

pared to recognize. Such an argument is legally, morally,

and socially indefensible.

Prebirth conduct by an unwed father as it relates to

the pregnant mother who needs the support of the father

directly impacts upon the welfare of the child. The unwed

pregnant mother who is unable to obtain needed support

from the father is necessarily forced to take upon herself

the entire responsibility for caring for the unborn child

and for making necessary plans for the well-being of the

child when born. The intermediary adoption program which

the mother selected here is one of the options provided

by the state to protect the best interests of the child, the

parents, and the state. If the biological father retains an

absolute veto over the decision of the abandoned pregnant

mother to place the child for adoption, the mother’s ability

to provide for the best interests of the child and herself

are nullified. Clearly this is not legislative intent.

In summary, the issue of abandonment turns on the

question of whether the parent has evinced a settled pur-

pose to assume parental duties. Providing prebirth support

to the unborn child is a parental duty. Evidence of whether

the parent has or has not furnished customary support to

the pregnant mother is relevant to the issue of abandon-

ment. In answer to the certified question, we hold that

an unwed father’s prebirth conduct in providing or failing

to provide support responsibilities and medical expenses

ila

for the natural mother is relevant to the issue of aban-

donment under section 63.072(1). We caution that this

analysis cuts both ways. In circumstances other than those

here, an unwed father would be justifiably entitled to ar-

gue that his conduct in providing prebirth support to his

unborn child was relevant to his claimed right to refuse

consent to the adoption of his child.

Respondent natural father also argues that even if his

prebirth conduct is considered relevant to the abandon-

ment issue, his conduct did not show-that he abandoned

the child or the mother. In support he cites certain min-

imum assistance that he gave the mother after she became

pregnant. This evidence of support, along with the evi-

dence of nonsupport, was presented to and considered by

the trial court. With due deference to the fact finder who

heard the evidence and observed the demeanor of the wit-

nesses, we are satisfied that the record supports the trial

judge’s conclusion that the respondent natural father’s ef-

forts were marginal and did not evince a settled purpose

to assume parental duties.*

Based on his position that section 63.072 does not permit

the use of prebirth conduct in determining abandonment

of the child, respondent natural father argues that denial

of his right to refuse consent to the adoption is without

Statutory warrant. Consequently, he argues, denial of his

parental rights violates the due process clause of the four-

teenth amendment to the United States Constitution. We

disagree. Abandonment as evidenced by pre- and postnatal

conduct is the statutory basis, and warrant, for the waiver

of consent by respondent natural father.

*To replicate the evidence on which the tral court predicated its

findings would serve no purpose other than to render conclusionary

criticisms of respondent natural father’s Conduct. Suffice it to say that

we agree with the district court that the findings of fact, a large part

of which are set forth in the district court opinion, are supported by

the record.

12a

The natural father next argues that the trial court de-

nied him equal protection under the fourteenth amendment

by relying on his prebirth conduct as an unwed father

when similar conduct by an unwed mother or married

father could not form the basis for denial of parental rights.

This argument misapprehends the nature of the issue.

Unwed mothers and married fathers, indeed all parents,

are subject to the loss of parental rights when they aban-

don their children. The issue here is whether evidence of

prebirth conduct by a parent is relevant to the issue of

whether the parent has abandoned the child. We hold that

such evidence is relevant. Section 63.072 is neutral as to

sex and marital status of the parent who has allegedly

abandoned the child. The weight to be given prebirth con-

duct will vary from case to case depending on the conduct

itself and other circumstances of the particular case, but,

in as far as the particular prebirth conduct tends to prove

or disprove that the parent has or has not abandoned the

child at issue, such evidence is relevant and admissible

regardless of the sex or marital] status of the parent. More-

over, while the relationship between a parent and child is

constitutionally protected, equal protection does not bar

rational distinctions between parents. Quilloin v. Walcott,

434 U.S. 246, 254-56, 98 S.Ct. 549, 554-55, 54 L.Ed. 2d

511 (1978).

Finally, respondents argue that Florida’s intermediary

adoption procedure denies due process and equal protection

rights because it does not give adequate notice to natural

parents and does not permit them to withdraw consent,

absent a showing of fraud or duress. On the issue of notice,

section 63.122(4Xc) requires that notice be given to any

person whose consent to the adoption is required unless

that person has consented to the adoption. Respondents

argue that notice should also be given to any person re-

gardless of whether they have consented. We note, first,

that under section 63.122(4Xd) any person who is seeking

to withdraw consent is entitled to notice of the adoption

13a

hearing and, further, there is no question here that both

natural parents appeared and fully contested the adoption

procedure. On the equal protection issue, respondent nat-

ural mother argues, as a parent in an intermediary adop-

tion, that her consent is irrevocable under section 63.082(5),

absent a showing of fraud or duress, whereas parents in

an agency adoption “have the unfettered right to withdraw

their ‘consent’ or surrender.” Jn re J.B.J., 497 So.2d 1265,

1266 (Fla. 5th DCA 1986), review denied, 504 So.2d 766

(Fla. 1987). Respondents’ argument is misplaced for two

reasons. First, the provision in section 63.082(5) that con-

sents to adoptions may not be withdrawn, absent fraud or

duress, is applicable in all adoption proceedings. Second,

In re I.B.J. was a dependency proceeding under chapter

39, as the court made clear, not an adoption proceeding

under chapter 63. To the degree that it suggests that a

consent to adoption may be withdrawn at will, absent fraud

or duress, we disapprove Jn re J.B...

Underlying and intertwined in the parties’ arguments

are the constitutional effects on the case at hand of Stanley

v. Illinois, 405 U.S. 645, 92 S.Ct. 1208, 31 L.Ed.2d 551

(1972); Quilloin; Caban v. Mohammed, 441 U.S. 380, 99

S.Ct. 1760, 60 L.Ed.2d 297 (1979); and Lehr. These cases

have been extensively reviewed and analyzed elsewhere‘

and are not directly on point. The decision and analysis

in Lehr, however, does address the parental rights of an

unwed biological father who does not assume the respon-

sibilities of parenthood. Several observations of the Court

are pertinent here.

[Tjhe rights of the parents are a counterpart of the

responsibilities they have assumed.

Lehr, 463 U.S. at 257, 103 S.Ct. at 2991.

‘Buchanan, The Constitutional Rights of Unwed Fathers Before and

After Lehr v. Robertson, 45 Ohio St. L.J. 313 (1984).

l4a

When an unwed father demonstrates a full commit-

ment to the responsibilities of parenthood by “‘com[ing]

forward to participate in the rearing of his child,”

Caban, 441 US, at 392, 60 L Ed 2d 297, 99 S Ct

1760, his interest in personal contact with his child ~

acquires substantial protection under the Due Process

Clause. ... But the mere existence of a biological link

does not merit equivalent constitutional protection.

Id. at 261, 103 S.Ct. at 2993.

The significance of the biological connection is that

it offers the natural father an opportunity that no

other male possesses to develop a relationship with

his offspring. If he grasps that opportunity and ac-

cepts some measure of responsibility for the child’s

future, he may enjoy the blessings of the parent-child

relationship and make uniquely valuable contributions

to the child’s development. If he fails to do so, the

Federal Constitution will not automatically compel a

State to listen to his opinion of where the child’s best

interests lie.

Id. at 262, 103 S.Ct. at 2993-94 (footnote omitted).

The Court {in Caban] made it clear, however, that if

the father had not “come forward to participate in

the rearing of his child, nothing in the Equal Pro-

tection Clause [would] preclud{e] the State from with-

holding from him the privilege of vetoing the adoption

of that child.” Id., at 392, 60 L Ed 2d 297, 99 S Ct

1760.

Id. at 267, 103 S.Ct. at 2996.

It is clear from Lehr that the biological relationship

offers the parent the opportunity to assume parental re-

sponsibilities. Parental rights based on the biological re-

lationship are inchoate, it is the assumption of the parental

responsibilities which is of constitutional significance.

15a

Commentators have emphasized the constitutional

importance of the distinction between an inchoate and

a fully developed relationship. See Comment, 46

Brooklyn L*Rev 95, 115-116 (1979\‘‘the unwed fath-

er’s interest springs not from his biological tie with

his illegitimate child, but rather, from the relationship

he has established with and the responsibility he has

shouldered for his child’’); Note, 58 Neb L Rev 610,

617 (1979\‘‘a putative father’s failure to show a sub-

stantial interest in his child’s welfare and to employ

methods provided by state law for solidifying his pa-

rental rights ... will remove from him the full con-

stitutiona! protection afforded the parental rights of

other classes of parents’’); Note, 29 Emory LJ 833,

854 (1980\“‘an unwed father’s rights in his child do

not spring solely from the biological fact of his par-

entage, but rather from his willingness to admit his

paternity and express some tangible interest in the

child’). See also Poulin, Ilegitimacy and Family Pri-

vacy: A Note on Maternal Cooperation in Paternity

Suits, 70 Nw U L Rev 910, 916-919 (1976) (hereinafter

Poulin); Developments in the Law, 93 Harv L Rev

1156, 1275-1277 (1980); Note, 18 Duquesne L Rev 375,

383-384, n 73 (1980); Note, 19 J Family L 440, 460

(1980); Note, 57 Denver LJ 671, 680-683 (1980); Note,

1979 Wash ULQ 1029, 1035; Note, 12 UCD L Rev

412, 450 n 218 (1979).” -

Lehr at 261 n. 17, 103 S.Ct. at 2993 n. 17. The failure

to assume parental responsibility is abandonment and, un-

der Lehr, is sufficient ground to deny parental rights.

For the reasons set forth above, we concluded that it

was critical to the well-being of the child that the unwed

father provide prebirth support to the unwed pregnant

mother when such support is needed and within his means.

Having determined that the welfare of the child is an

element to be considered in, an adoption proceeding, we

16a

are ineluctably led to the conclusion that prebirth conduct

is relevant to the issue of abandonment. In the instant

case, we hold that the failure of respondent natural father

to provide prebirth assistance to the pregnant mother,

when he was able and assistance was needed, vested

respondent natural mother with the sole parental authority

to consent to the adoption of the child and removed from

the natural father the privilege of vetoing the adoption by

refusing to give consent.

In reaching the two holdings above, we rely on the

relationship recognized in Lehr between the assumption of

parental responsibilities and biological fatherhood, but our

decision is reinforced by the public policy interests of so-

ciety in encouraging unwed fathers to assume parental

responsibilities. The failure of unwed fathers to assume

parental responsibility both pre- and post-birth is a major

national problem. The recently enacted Family Support

Act, Publicbaw No. 100-485, 102 Stat. 2343 (1988), places

major emphasis on national and state programs to establish

paternity of illegitimate children and to enforce child sup-

port by unwed fathers. See Legislative History of Pub.L.

No. 100-485, reported in 1988 U.S.Code Cong. & Admin.

News 2776-3015. As the Congress found in enacting the

WIC Program, substantial numbers of pregnant women

and unborn children are placed at special risk with respect

to physical and mental health by inadequate nutritional or

health care. The failure of unwed fathers to provide sup-

port during pregnancy is certainly a major factor in this

public problem and transfers the burden to society at large,

at it did here. Lehr, as applied here, also represents sound

public policy. Finding no constitutional or statutory pro-

visions that would preclude the state from embracing such

a policy, we answer the certified question in the affirm-

ative, quash the district court decision below, and remand

for proceedings consistent with this opinion.

It is so ordered.

17a

EHRLICH, C.J., and OVERTON, GRIMES and KO-

GAN, JJ., concur.

BARKETT, J., concurs specially with an opinion, in

which KOGAN, J., concurs.

McDONALD, J., dissents with an opinion.

BARKETT, Justice, specially concurring.

I agree with the majority but write separately to em-

phasize that parents may not be stripped of parental rights

lightly. Indeed, the sanctity of the parent-child relationship

is a liberty interest protected under both the state and

federal constitutions. E.g., Santosky v. Kramer, 455 U.S.

745, 102 S.Ct. 1388, 71 L.Ed.2d 599 (1982); Bellotti v.

Baird, 443 U.S. 622, 99 S.Ct. 3035, 61 L.Ed.2d 797 (1979);

In the Interest of R.W., 495 So.2d 188 (Fla.1986); In the

Interest of D.B., 385 So.2d 83 (Fla. 1980). So strong is

this interest that the only civil proceeding in which a per-

son is entitled to free public counsel in Florida is a pro-

ceeding to terminate parental rights. R.W.; D.B.

Obviously, however, a parent can relinquish parental

rights by his or her actions. Thus, I believe that we have

correctly construed and applied ‘‘abandonment”’ as it re-

lates to the need for paternal consent under section

63.062(1), Florida Statutes. However, the precedent set by

this case cannot carry over into those situations involving

the prenatal responsibilities of mothers, in which substan-

tially different factual problems and different competing

rights and interests necessarily arise and must be evalu-

ated. /

KOGAN, J., concurs.

McDONALD, Justice, dissenting.

Today the Court deprives a now married couple of their

natural child because the mother gave an economically

duressed consent for adoption and the father, prior to the

birth of the child and prior to their marriage, failed to

|

18a

fully support the mother. This is done without a finding

that the natural parents are unfit in the slightest. I think

it a sad day.

The opinion of the Fifth District Court of Appeal in this

case should be approved because its legal analysis is cor-

rect. As stated therein:

The key issues in this case ... are whether aban-

donment or desertion may be used as the sole basis

to excuse the necessity for consent to an adoption

under Chapter 63; and whether a putative natural

father can abandon his child by neglecting his re-

sponsibilities to support the natural mother during

pregnancy and assist with her pre-birth medical ex-

penses.

In re Adoption of Doe, 524 So.2d 1037, 1043 (Fla. 5th

DCA 1988). After a thorough discussion of relevant case

law, the district court concluded that pre-birth acts of

abandonment do not excuse consent. Jd. at 1044. The dis-

trict court majority is correct. I further add that, even if

pre-birth conduct can be equated to abandonment, the con-

duct of the father in this case falls far short of abandon-

ment.’

1] will call the natural father Richard and the natural mother Mary.

Even though Richard had lost his job at the end of 1985 and did not

find another until] May 1986, during which time he borrowed money

from his father, it is unchallenged that Richard nonetheless:

(1) spent $4000 on Mary for a ski vacation, including new clothes

for her;

(2) had a continuing relationship with Mary throughout the preg-

nancy, which included a ride to ‘‘dream’’ about their future the week

before she left, following an evening out for her birthday;

(3) cared deeply for Mary’s older son, buying him toys, taking him

on outings with and without Mary, paying his insurance premiums;

(4) gave Mary a maternity gown and robe for Mother’s Day in May

19a

What the father did, or failed to do, is less than he

should have. Even so, his acts fall far short of demon-

strating an intent to abandon the mother and the unborn

child. He did not repudiate or renounce them; he did not

permanently forsake them for others or self; he did not

demonstrate a continuing disinterest in their fate.

Florida has heretofore properly taken a narrow view as

to what constitutes abandonment. Abandonment must be

proven by clear and convincing evidence and must be com-

plete. I am aware of but two appellate decisions, both

bottomed on facts much more egregious over a substantial

time after birth than exist here, where abandonment was

1986, and money for a new outfit for her birthday just days before

she left;

(5) continually took’ Mary and her son out to eat, or to his apartment

where he cooked for them, or to his parents home;

(6) provided his own furniture to furnish Mary’s apartment, in ad-

dition to the furniture his parents provided at his request;

(7) paid Mary’s rent in February, the only time she told him she

needed financial help;

(8) never failed to pick up milk, baby food, diapers, and such when

Mary asked;

(9) urged Mary to come back to Phoenix to have the child, live with

him, and give him time to sort his life out;

(10) opposed the adoption and requested Mary to sign no papers.

That Richard did all of this for Mary, her older son, and the baby,

after Richard knew she was pregnant and before the baby was born,

is uncontradi¢ted in the record.

* In re Adoptien of Noble, 349 So.2d 1215 (Fla. 4th DCA 1977). Accord

In re Adoption of Lewis, 340 So.2d 126 (Fla. lst DCA 1976), cert.

denied, 346 So.2d 1248 (Fla. 1977); In re Adoption of Gossett, 277 So.2d

832 (Fla. lst DCA 1978).

20a

established.* There are a legion of Florida cases where the

courts have found that abandonment was not established.‘

No justification exists in this case for the trial judge to

excuse consent. Section 63.062, Florida Statutes (1985),

requires that written consent be executed after the birth

of a child. If abandonment is to take the place of or excuse

consent, does it not follow that such action also take place |

after birth?, It should.

This Court, by its decision, is wrongfully disturbing one |

of the most fundamental rights of human relations when

it deprives the natural parents of the rights, privileges, |

and responsibilities of rearing their child. Such rights can |

be forfeited only upon a showing of unfitness or rejection

by the parents. While I have grave doubts concerning the

issue of whether the mother’s consent was valid because

of the turmoil in her life and the economic pressures ex-

erted upon her, it is clear that adoption requires the con-

sent of both parents. Here, the father never consented

and sought to obtain the child immediately upon his birth.

The adoptive parents are interlopers, albeit benign, in this

case. The issue of the best interest of this child arises

only when the child is legally free for adoption. § 63.022(2),

Fla.Stat. (1985). Were that issue to be reached, history

has demonstrated that, unless unfit, the best interest of

the child lies with the natural parents. It is but a matter

of time before this child will learn of his adoption and

wonder why. All that can be said to him is that, even

though your mother wanted you, the adoptive parents and

the courts would not let her have you because in moments

of despair she let you go; even though your father wanted

you, the adoptive parents and the courts would not let

him join your mother in having you because he did not

8 Smith v. Moore, 481 So.2d 36 (Fla. lst DCA 1985); Turner v. Adop-

tion of Turner, 352 So.2d 957 (Fla. lst DCA 1977).

‘E.g., cases cited supra note 2; Hinkle v. Lindsey, 424 So.2d 983

(Fla. 5th DCA 1983), and cases cited therein.

2la

treat your mother as well as he might have when she was

pregnant with you. Even to a child these explanations are

inadequate.

I would approve the decision of the district court of

appeal and direct an immediate delivery of the child to

the natural parents.

a aceaen a aia eee

22a

SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA

THURSDAY, JUNE 1, 1989

In the Matter of the Adoption of:

JOE DOE, Infant Baby Boy

CASE NO. 72,593

District Court of Appeal,

- 5th District - No. 87-1277

. BOB DOE and JANE DOE,

Petitioners,

v.

RICHARD ROE and MARY ROE,

Respondents.

Upon consideration of the Motion for Rehearing and

Clarification filed in the above cause by attorney for

respondents, and response thereto,

IT IS ORDERED that said Motion be and the same is

hereby denied.

EHRLICH, C.J., OVERTON, SHAW, BARKETT,

GRIMES and KOGAN, JJ., concur

McDONALD, J., dissents

A True Copy TC

TEST: ec: Hon. Frank Habershaw, Clerk

Hon. William D. Gorman, Clerk

RE . ;

ti ia Hon. Cecil H. Brown, Judge

; ; Chandler R. Muller, Esquire

/s/ Sid J. White John L. O’Donnell, Jr., Esquire

Sid J. White Donald J. Sasser, Esquire

Clerk, Supreme Court Cynthia L. Green, Esquire

Elaine N. Duggar, Esquire

Nancy Rainey Palmer, Esquire

Cynthia S. Swanson, Esquire

Anthony B. Marchese, Esquire

Ms. Janie Yahnke

|

:

23a

In the Matter of the ADOPTION OF 7

John DOE, Infant Baby Boy.

No. 87-1277.

Richard ROE and Mary Roe,

. Appellants,

v.

Bob DOE and Jane Doe,

Appellees.

District Court of Appeal of Florida,

Fifth District.

March 24, 1988.

Rehearing and Rehearing En Banc

Denied May 19, 1988.

The Circuit Court, Orange County, Cecil H. Brown, J.,

entered judgment of adoption establishing parental rights

to child in adoptive parents. Natural parents appealed. The

District Court of Appeal, Sharp, C.J., held that: (1) natural

mother was bound by her consent to adoption, absent clear

and convincing evidence that consent was obtained through

duress, and (2) adoption without putative father’s consent

could not be sustained by proof of putative father’s pre-

birth acts of abandonment.

Reversed; question certified.

John L. O’Donnell, Jr., of DeWolf, Ward & Morris, P.A.,

Orlando, for appellants.

Chandler R. Muller, of Muller, Kirkconnell and Lindsey,

P.A., Winter Park, for appellees.

SHARP, Chief Judge.

The Roes, natural parents of the infant, John Doe, appeal

from a judgment of adoption establishing parental nghts

in the Does te the child. The Roes argue that the natural

mother’s consent to the adoption was obtained under du-

ress and should he invalidated. We affirm the trial court’s

conclusion that the natural mother is bound by her con-

sent. However, the Roes also argue the adoption is invalid

because the natural father’s consent to the adoption was

not obtained. The trial court found his lack of consent

should be excused because of certain irresponsible actions

on his part prior to the child’s birth, which the trial court

found constituted abandonment. We reverse.

This case was tried over a period of months. It was

ably and well presented by the attorneys for both sides.

As do all contested adoption cases, it caused the trial judge

and the appellate panel that heard it much concern, and

empathy for all of the parties involved.’

The transcripts of testimony in the case are lengthy,

and contain conflicts regarding the natural mother’s con-

sent and the natural father’s abandonment of her and the

unborn child. After this adoption proceeding commenced,

the natural parents married. There are numerous discrep-

ancies between the natural mother’s testimony at trial and

the testimony concerning her prior statements to social

workers, friends and professionals during her pregnancy

with respect to the natural father abandoning her. In any

event, there is evidence in this record to support the trial

judge’s fact findings, and we are bound as appellate judges

to accept them as proven.’

1 See In re Adoption of Cox, 327 So.2d 776, 778 (Fla.1976); Wyle v.

Botos, 416 So.2d 1253 (Fla. 4th DCA 1982).

2 Wylie v. Botos, 416 So.2d 1253 (Fla. 4th DCA 1982).

peer |

Pome» weet.

25a

“Factual Findings of the Court

1. The natural father:and mother met in Tempe, Ari-

zona, in the summer of 1985.

2. During the course of their later relationship, the nat-

ural mother discovered she was pregnant and advised the

natural father of this fact before going on a ski vacation

over the Christmas break in December of 1985.

3. At the time he was advised of the natural mother’s

pregnancy, the natural father had accumulated savings and,

additionally, had earned commissions in the amount of

$10,060 during the month of December 1985 from the sale

of solar water-heating units. The natural father was also

aware he would need to obtain a new job beginning in

January of 1986 because the tax credits for solar equip-

ment were being terminated by the federal government in

December of 1985.

4. Knowing of the ending of his employment and being

advised of the natural mother’s pregnancy, the natural

father expended $4,000 on equipment and ski vacation ex-

pense.

5. In January 1986 the natural father urged the natural

mother to obtain an abortion because he was not ready

to commit to marriage, felt financial pressure, and was

troubled by the whole idea of the pregnancy.”’

“6. The natural mother responded by attempting to have

third parties counsel the natural father against abortion.

7. During the time of her early pregnancy, the natural

mother was living with a small son, born out of wedlock

in another previous relationship, in an apartment in Phoe-

mx Arizona. She told the natural father she would not

abort the child in utero, but that she could not raise two

children as a single, unwed mother.

8. The natural mother lost her job in January of 1986,

and her economic position deteriorated as 1:2 pregnancy

26a

continued. The natural father, during the time he was

urging the natural mother to abort the child, paid one

month’s rent for her in February 1986. Some family fur-

niture and a microwave oven were also made available to

the natural mother. No further repetitive or continual sup-

port in the form of contributions toward prenatal medical

expense, care, food, rent or support was forthcoming from

the natural father during the balance of the natural moth-

er’s pregnancy, which ended with the birth of a son on

September 12, 1986.

9. The natural mother discussed the option of adoption

with the natural father from the beginning of the preg-

nancy and during the entire term of the pregnancy.

10. The natural father knew from the beginning of the

pregnancy that if he would not marry the natural mother,

she wanted their child adopted into a loving, middle-class,

Jewish home because the natural mother stated repeatedly

and strongly that the child needed the stability and pre-

manency [sic] of a loving, two-parent home. She was Jew-

ish, and the natural father was not.

11. The natural father agreed to have the child placed

for adoption, deferring to the wishes of the natural

mother.‘ However, the natura! father expressed that he

did not want the child raised in a Jewish home.

12. In March 1986 the natural mother wrote a letter to

the natural father’s mother, which the natural father later

discussed with his mother.

* However, the record reveals that the natural mother lost her em-

ployment at a bank in February 1986, but obtained a babysitting job

three weeks. She maintained this minimal employment unti] the end of

July 1986.

* However, just prior to the child’s birth, the natural father said he

did not want the child adopted.

4

ec ioe

27a

13. The letter explained why the natural mother would

not abort the child and why the child was being placed

for adoption.”

“14. After the natural mother lost her job, she went

on unemployment, received prenatal vitamins and free

counseling from the Jewish Social Services in Phoenix,

Arizona, and applied for other assistance, as well as re-

ceiving groceries from a local church.

15. The natural father was aware of the natural moth-

er’s financial situation but did not offer any financial as-

sistance for prenatal care.

16. The natural mother told her physician, mother, sis-

ter, and friend who tried to previously counsel the natural

father against aborting the child, that she was going to

Florida to start her life over and place the child with a

Jewish family. _

17. ‘vhe natural mother’s mother, a resident of Tampa,

Florida, contacted a local rabbi and said her daughter was

pregnant and that her daughter wanted her child placed

with a Jewish family.

18. The prospective adoptive parents, a middle-class,

Jewish couple, residents of central Florida, husband age

36, wife age 34, have been married since 1975, and have

tried to conceive a child with no success.

19. The prospective adoptive parents have placed their

names with several sources of adoption and heard through

friends that there was a Jewish baby available, through

the source of the Tampa rabbi previously contacted by the

natural mother’s mother.

20. An attorney whom the prospective adoptive parents

had contacted as a source of adoption was then in contact

with the natural mother’s mother, who then had the

attorney cal] the natural mother in Arizona.

28a

21. In a long-distance telephone call lasting over one

and one-half hours, the attorney questioned the natural

mother at length about her motivation for placing the child

for adoption.

22. The natural mother told the attorney that the nat-

ural father had washed his hands of her and the child and

had not given needed prenatal financial and emotional sup-

port; that she did not love the natural father, and that it

was best for her child to be placed with a two-parent home

for adoption, because the natural mother was already rais-

ing one child on her own as a single parent and she could

not afford, emotionally or financially, to raise two. She

was happy to learn that the attorney was in contact with

a Jewish couple fitting her criteria for adoption.

23. The natural mother left Phoenix without telling the

natural father. He was given a letter by the natural moth-

er’s sister explaining why she left.”

“24. Within a matter of days, the natural mother called

the natural father and told him she was in Florida.’ She

then reiterated that she was placing the child for adoption

because the natural father would not marry her; she could

not support two children on her own, and the child would

be better off in a two-parent home.

25. The natural mother and natural father were in tel-

ephonic contact up until just before the birth of the child.

26. The subject of the phone conversations primarily

dealt with the relationship of the natural mother and nat-

ural father, with the natural father urging the natural

mother to come to Phoenix to have the child, live with

him and give him time to sort his life out and make the

ultimate decision of marriage.

’ The record reveals, however, that the natural mother did not advise

him of her Florida address or telephone number.

29a

27. The natural mother told the natural father she would

not live with him out of a marriage relationship and re-

peatedly told him why placing the child up for ee

was best for all.

28. The natural father had an insurance coupon book

sent to the natural mother with a letter enclosed dated

August 18, 1986. The natural mother dropped a copy of

the letter by the intermediary attorney’s office.

29. The letter discussed the relationship of the natural

parents and also asked the mother to “‘at least think about’’

letting the natural father raise the child.

30. The attorneys concluded, based upon the lack of

prenatal financial or emotional support given by the unwed

father, that the natural father’s consent fit the criteria for

excusal by the Court under Florida’s adoption statute. They

did not contact the natural father or the prospective adop-

tive parents about the letter.

31. After sending the letter, the natural father and nat-

ural mother were in contact again by telephone. In the

last telephonic contact before the birth of the child, the

natural mother, after having heard within a short one- to

two-week period the natura] father say he would marry

her and then say he had changed his mind and could not

decide upon marriage, asked the natural father to let her

make the decision. He did not say no.®

32. The natural mother, during the two weeks before

the birth of the child, was wrestling with whether to place

her child for adoption or to keep the child. She counseled

with a Roman Catholic nun employed as a social worker

with an Orlando, Florida center for unwed mothers, BETA

House. She spoke with her mother and sister.

* However, the record reveals that in their last conversation before

the child’s birth, the natural father told the natural mother not to “‘sign

any papers,” and she agreed she would not do so.

30a

33. Concluding that the natural father was staying with

his original position of wanting her to keep seeing him

but not making a commitment to marriage and not re-

ceiving any support emotionally or financially or any offers

of prenatal financial support, the natural mother contacted

her physicians and asked them to induce labor.

34. In the hospital the natural mother cried and ex-

pressed concern over placing her baby for adoption, but

on Sunday, September 14, 1986, two days after the birth

of the child on Friday, September 12, 1986, the natural

mother told the attending postpartum nurse she was sure

she wanted the child placed for adoption. She had previ-

ously consented to medication to dry up her breast milk,

and she told the nurse at 8:30a.m., forty-five minutes

before signing the consent, to take the child back to the

nursery, that she did not want to see him anymore.

35. At 9:15 a.m. the natural mother signed the required

consent, later stating she knew what she was signing,

although she did not like it.

86. The natural mother called an exgirlfriend of the

natural father’s on Monday, September 15, 1986, telling

her of the birth of the child.

37. The natural father was called by the exgirlfriend

and he then called the natural mother saying to get the

child back and that he would marry her.”

In addition, the trial court found that the adoption was

clearly in the best interest of this child, although it earlier

disclaimed this as a consideration in determining the con-

sent issues. We agree with the appellants that the best

interest of the child is not a relevant factor unless the

7 The natural father also immediately called the intermediary handling

the adoption to tell him he wanted his child and flew to Orlando with

baby clothes.

3la

child was legally available to be adopted. However, the

adoptive parents have had custody of the child since its

birth, and it is now over one year old. The record supports

the trial court’s finding that there may possibly be serious

psychological damage at this point to the child, upon being

removed from the only home it has ever known.

Validity of the Natural Mother’s Consent

The trial court found that the natural mother failed to

show by clear and convincing evidence that her consent

was not freely and voluntarily given.

The natural mother was intelligent, articulate, and

knew the consequences of signing the consent for

adoption—a form the intermediary attorney had dis-

cussed with her two months before the birth of her

child and that the HRS worker had reviewed with

her in a meeting before having her physician induce

labor. While surrender of a baby for adoption is up-

setting to a natural mother, this is universal and not

grounds for supporting duress.

[1] The trial court found the natural mother gave up

the baby because of generalized social and financial pres-

sures, but that no one exerted coercion, duress or fraud

to procure her consent. Absent a finding of fraud, duress,

or undue influence, a natural parent’s consent to an adop-

tion is valid and irrevocable upon execution of the written

*The best interests of the child cannot be considered in a contest

between natura] parents and third parties, absent a finding of aban-

donment, that the parent is disabled from exercising custody, or that

custody in the natural parent would otherwise be detrimental to the

the child. In re Adoption of Baby Girl C., 511 So.2d 345 (Fla. 2d DCA

1987); In re Guardianship of D.A. McW., 460 So.2d 368 (Fla.1984);

Hinkle v. Lindsey, 424 So.2d 983 (Fla. 5th DCA 1983); In re Adoption

of Coz, 327 So.2d 776 (Fla.1976).

32a

consent.? This same rule exists in most other jurisdictions

in an effort te balance the welfare and rights of the child

and both sets of parents involved in an adoption.’ If con-

sents to adoption were freely made voidable, the stability

of adoptive families and the institution of adoption itself

would be threatened.

Necessity for Naturai Father’s Consent to the Adoption

Pursuant to Florida’s current statute governing adop-

tions (Chapter 63), the natural father’s consent to this

adoption was required.” Section 63.062(1\b) provides that

the natural father must give his written consent following

the birth of the child, if he has filed an affidavit of pa-

ternity with the vital statistics office of the Department

of Health and Rehabilitative Services.’* The natural father

filed such an acknowledgment in Florida, shortly after the

birth of the child and before this adoption proceeding com-

menced.

However, the adoption statute also provides that such

consent to an adoption may be excused by the court.”

Section 63.072(1) specifies that consent is excusable in the

case of ‘‘a parent who has deserted a child without af-

* § 63.082(5), Fla.Stat. (1985); In re Adoption of Cox, 327 So.2d 776

(Fla.1976); Grabovetz v. Sachs, 262 So.2d 703 (Fila. 8rd DCA), cert.

denied, 267 So.2d 329 (Fla.1972); compare In re Adoption of Baby Girl

C., 511 So.2d 345 (Fla. 2d DCA 1987); In re Adoption of P.R. McD.,

440 So.2d 57 (Fla. 4th DCA 1983). ,

1 See Petition of Steve B.D., 112 Idaho 22, 730 P.2d 942 (Idaho 1986);

In re Adeption of Child by P., 114 N.J.Super. 584, 277 A.2d 566 (A.D.

1971); In re G.K.D., 382 S.W.2d 62 (Mo.App. 1960).

1 Guerra v. Doe, 454 So.2d 1 (Fla. 8rd DCA 1984), review denied,

462 So.2d 1106 (Fla.1985).

12 The natural father’s written consent is also required in other cir-

cumstances not relevant to this case.

8 § 63.062(1), Fla.Stat. (1985).

33a

fording means of identification, or who has abandoned a

child.”

The trial court in this case found that the natural fath-

er’s consent was excused because of estoppel (i.e., he had

impliedly consented to the adoption prior_to the birth of

the child) and he had abandoned the child by his actions

and failures to act with respect to the natural mother,

prior to its birth:

41. The natural father is estopped to claim his writ-

ten consent is required under Florida law because his

actions and communications to the natural mother and

third parties show that he impliedly consented to the

adoption. Wylie v. Botos, 416 So.2d 1253 (Fla. 4th

DCA 1984).

42. When the natural feather learned the natural

mother was pregnant, he initially attempted to have

the pregnancy terminated, later agreed to the child

being placed for adoption, and then did nothing show-

ing continual and repetitive prenata] support. Fla.Stat.

§ 63.062(1\bX5) (1985); Wylie v. Botos, supra; In re

Adoption of Mulleniz, 359 So.2d 65 (Fla. lst DCA

1978).

43. On notice that the natural mother could not

raise two children on her own because of her diffi-

culties raising one child out of wedlock, the natural

father paid no monies toward prenatal medical bills,

food, or medications, and only one month’s rent. As

such, there was a shirking of the responsibilities cast

by law and nature. Hinkle v. Lindsey, 424 So.2d 983

(Fla. 5th DCA 1983); Wylie v. Botos, supra; Fla.Stat.

§ 63.062(1)(bX5) (1985).

44. The Court notes that Wylie v. Botos, supra,

has remarkably similar facts wherein the unwed father

Correct year is 1982.

34a

first ignored the fact of pregnancy, then gave initial

assent to “her decision’’ to adopt the behv out. Shortly

after the birth of the child, the unwed father and

mother reconciled, decided to contest the adoption on

the basis of no written consent executed by the pu-

tative father, and subsequently married. The adoption

petition was granted notwithstanding the natural fath-

er’s objection and lack of written consent on the basis

that the father’s pre-birth actions evidenced consent

and that he was equitably estopped to claim his writ-

ten consent was required.

45. In light of the fact that this newborn child was

placed up for adoption by the natural mother because

the unwed father had been unwilling to show mean-

ingful support during the pregnancy, the Court con-

siders his pre-birth conduct to be relevant to the issue

of whether he gave consent, implied or otherwise, to

the adoption, and is now estopped to claim his written

consent is required.

x*_* * *©* &

49. The Court finds, by clear and convincing evi-

dence, that the natural father abandoned the devel-

oping child by failing to provide the unwed mother

with meaningful, repetitive, and customary support

either during the pregnancy or at any point before

the unwed mother executed the consent two days fol-

lowing the child’s birth. Wylie v. Botos, supra.

50. During this critical time frame, the natural

father’s conduct evinced a “‘settled purpose’’ to shed

himself of the responsibility presented by pregnancy.

To this end he was intent upon placing his “‘freedom’’

and desires above the needs of the child developing

in the natural mother’s womb. Additionally, he with-

eld [sic] emotional and financial support that was

within his ability to give when the mother lost her

job and was incurring prenatal and other expenses

35a

that were beyond her ability to pay. This Court lis-

tened with rapt concentration to the natura! mother

about this agonizing period; how she defended her

position against the Father’s urging that she permit

her unborn child to be destroyed by abortion; how

she squeezed by economically, accepting welfare and

the charity of others, and how in the early days of

August in her 8th or 9th month of pregnancy she

sought so desperately with the help of her family to

replace her medical, health, and economic uncertainty

and anxieties with security and direction when she

finally chose the course of adoption for her unborn

child and moved back to Florida. Historically, an eq-

uity Court has been concerned with unclean hands.

The key issues in this case, which are so far as we can

determine ones of first impression, are whether abandon-

ment or desertion may be used as the sole basis to excuse

the necessity for consent to an adoption under Chapter

63; and whether a putative natural father can abandon his

child by neglecting his responsibilities to support the nat-

ural mother during pregnancy and assist with her pre-

birth medical expenses.

Adoption is a statutory creation, not existent at common

law, and courts generally require strict compliance with

the statute.’* Under current adoption statutes, the trend

is to give unmarried natural fathers substantive and pro-

cedural rights analogous to married fathers and natural

mothers,’* although because of the psychological and bio-

logical differences between begetting and bearing a child,

no court has held that an unmarried father’s rights must

be equal to the natural mother’s or even to a married

2 Am.Jur.2d Adoption §§ 2, 3, 6; see In re Palmer’s Adoption, 129

Fla. 630, 176 So. 537 (1937).

1% See In re Guardianship of D.A. McW., 429 So.2d 699 (Fla. 4th

DCA 1983) approved, 460 So.2d 368 (Fla.1984).

36a

_~

father’s. See Lehr v. Robertson, 463 U.S. 248; 103 S.Ct.

2985, 77 L.Ed.2d 614 (1983); Quilloin v. Walcott, 434 U.S.

246, 98 S.Ct. 549, 54 L.Ed.2d 511 (1978); In re Adoption

of Mullenix, 359 So.2d 65 (Fla. lst DCA 1978); Department

of HRS v. Herzog, 317 So.2d 865 (Fla. 2d DCA 1975).

The closest case factually to this one that we have dis-

covered is Wylie v. Botos, 416 So.2d 1253 (Fla. 4th DCA

1982). In Wylie, the unmarried natural father expressly

agreed with the mother’s decision to have the unborn child

adopted. In contrast to this case, he helped support the

mother and paid medical expenses with the understanding

he would be reimbursed by the adoptive parents. Not until

after the child was born, the consent executed by the

mother, and a petition to adopt had been filed did the

natural father file his acknowledgment of paternity (some

two months after the child’s birth). The Fourth District

Court of Appeal held that the natural father was estopped

to claim his consent was necessary under section 63.062(1).

In this case, however, the natural father timely filed his

acknowledgment of paternity, which triggered the neces-

sity for his consent under the adoption statute.

[2] In other contexts the Florida courts have required

clear and convincing proof of abandonment by a parent in

order to terminate his or her parental rights.’’ Proof of

abandonment may be by any word, deed or course of ac-

tion, from which a settled purpose to abandon can be

inferred.’* But we can find to Florida case which has based

a finding of abandonment on pre-birth, laggard activity by

a putative father. Other jurisdictions which have consid-

ered this issue have reached different conclusions. See Jn

re Adoption of Nelson, 202 Kan. 663, 451 P.2d 173 (1969)

17 See Webb v. Blancett, 473 So.2d 1376 (Fla. 5th DCA 1985); Hinkle

v. Lindsey, 424 So.2d 983 (Fla. 5th DCA 1983); In re Adoption of

Braithwaite, 409 So.2d 1178 (Fla. 5th DCA 1982).

1 Webb, supra.; see Turner v. Adoption of Turner, 352 So.2d 957

(Fla. lst DCA 1977).

37a

(rejected view that a natural father can abandon an unborn

child); Doe v. Attorney W., 416 So.2d 1312 (Miss.1982)

(upheld termination of parental rights on grounds the

father abandoned his unborn child); State v. ex rel. Lewis

v. Lutheran So. Ser., 68 Wisc.2d 36, 227 N.W.2d 643 (1975)

(upheld termination of natural father’s parental rights be-

cause of pre-birth abandcnment).

[3] The only statutory definition of “abandonment” in

Florida is that found in section 39.01(1), Florida Statutes

(1985):

(1) ‘“‘Abandoned”’ means a situation in which the

parent or legal custodian of a child or, in the absence

of a parent or legal custodian, the person responsible

for the child’s welfare, while being able, makes no

provision for the child’s support and makes no effort

to communicate with the child, which situation is suf-

ficient to evince a willful rejection of parental obli-

gations. If the efforts of such parent or legal

custodian, or person primarily responsible for the

child’s welfare to support and communicate with the

child are, in the opinion of the court, only marginal

efforts that do not evince a settled purpose to assume

all parental duties, the court may declare the child to

be abandoned. The failure by any such person to ap-

pear in response to actual or constructive service in

a dependency proceeding shall give rise to a rebuttal

presumption of such person’s ability to provide for

and communicate with the child.

As we read the above definition, the reference to a child

contemplates one that has been born. How could one be

expected to communicate with an unborn child? We there-

fore conclude this adoption cannot be sustained by proof

of pre-birth acts of abandonment.

However, we recognize that there is no clear legislative

or case law authority on the issue of pre-birth abandon-

ment in Florida. We certify that this is a question of great

38a

public importance,’® due to its impact on Florida’s adoption

statute and procedures. We therefore certify the following

question to the Florida Supreme Court:

CAN THE FAILURE OF A PUTATIVE UNMARRIED

FATHER TO ASSUME SUPPORT RESPONSIBILITIES

AND MEDICAL EXPENSES FOR THE NATURAL

MOTHER WHEN SHE REQUIRES SUCH ASSISTANCE

AND HE IS AWARE OF HER NEEDS, BE A BASIS

FOR A TRIAL COURT TO EXCUSE HIS CONSENT TO

THE ADOPTION OF THE CHILD, ON THE GROUNDS

OF ABANDONMENT OR ESTOPPEL, PURSUANT TO

SECTION 63.072(1), FLORIDA STATUTES (1985).

Accordingly, we reverse the judgment of adoption in

this case and certify the above question as one needing

clarification by our State Supreme Court. To preserve the

status quo in this situation, our mandate shall be stayed

pending the acceptance or denial of jurisdiction by the

supreme court in this case, and its ultimate disposition of

this cause. Pending final resolution of the case, we direct

that the trial court shall have jurisdiction to establish vis-

itation rights for the natural parents.

REVERSED; QUESTION CERTIFIED.

COBB and COWART, JJ., concur.

ON MOTION FOR REHEARING AND REHEARING EN

BANC

PER CURIAM.

DENIED.

SHARP, W., C.J., COBB, COWART and DANIEL, JJ., con-

cur.

DAUKSCH, J., dissents with opinion.

ORFINGER, J., did not participate.

* Fla.R.App.P. 9.030(aX2XBXi).

OO ee

39a

DAUKSCH, J., dissenting.

I respectfully dissent.

In my opinion we should decide this case en banc. This

is a case of exceptional importance and warrants excep-

tional treatment.

40a

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE NINTH JUDICIAL

CIRCUIT, IN AND FOR ORANGE COUNTY, FLORIDA

CASE NO. CI86-13653

IN THE MATTER OF THE ADOPTION OF:

JOHN DOE, Infant Baby Boy.

FINAL JUDGMENT OF ADOPTION

THIS CAUSE came before the Court for a trial begin-

ning on Tuesday, May 19, 1987, through Thursday, May

21, 1987, upon a Petition for Adoption and Response

thereto, and the Court having considered testimony and

documentary evidence presented by the parties, having

heard argument of counsel, and being otherwise duly ad-

vised in the premises, finds as follows:

FACTUAL FINDINGS OF THE COURT

1. The natural father and natural mother met in Tempe,

Arizona, in the summer of 1985.

2. During the course of their later relationship, the nat-

ural mother discovered she was pregnant and advised the

natural father of this fact before going on a ski vacation

over the Christmas break in December of 1985.

3. At the time he was advised of the natural mother’s

pregnancy, the natural father had accumulated savings and,

additionally, had earned commissions in the amount of

$10,000 during the month of December 1985 from the sale

of solar water-heating units. The natural father was also

aware he would need to obtain a new job beginning in

January of 1986 because the tax credits for solar equip-

ment were being terminated by the federal government in

December of 1985.

4la

4. Knowing of the ending of his employment and being

advised of the natural mother’s pregnancy, the natural

father expended $4,000 on equipment and ski vacation ex-

pense.

5. In January 1986 the natural father urged the natural

mother to obtain an abortion because he was not ready

to commit to marriage, felt financial pressure, and was

troubled by the whole idea of the pregnancy.

6., The natural mother responded by attempting to have

third parties counsel the natural father against abortion.

7. During the time of her early pregnancy, the natural

mother was living with a small son, born out of wedlock

in another previous relationship, in an apartment in Phoe-

nix, Arizona. She told the natural father she would not

abort the child in utero, but that she could not raise two

children es a single, unwed mother. :

8. The natural mother lost her job in January of 1986,

and her economic position deteriorated as the pregnancy

continued. The natural father, during the time he was

urging the natural mother to abort the child, paid one

month’s rent for her in February 1986. Some family fur-

niture and a microwave oven were also made available to

the natural mother. No further repetitive or continual sup-

port in the form of contributions toward prenatal medical

expense, care, food, rent or support was forthcoming from

the natural father during the balance of the natural moth-

er’s pregnancy, which ended with the birth of a son on

September 12, 1986.

9. The natural mother discussed the option of adoption

with the natural father from the beginning of the preg-

nancy and during the entire term of the pregnancy.

10. The natural father knew from the beginning of ine

pregnancy that if he would not marry the natural mother,

she wanted their child adopted into a loving, middle-class,

Jewish home because the natural mother stated repeatedly

42a

and strongly that the child needed the stability and pre-

manency of a loving, two-parent home. She was Jewish,

and the natural father was not.

11. The natural father agreed to have the child placed

for adoption, deferring to the wishes of the natural mother.

However, the natural father expressed that he did not

want the child raised in a Jewish home.

12. In March 1986 the natural mother wrote a letter to

the natural father’s mother, which the natural] father later

discussed with his mother.

13. The letter explained why the natural mother would

not abort the child and why the child was being placed

for adoption.

14. After the natural mother lost her job, she went on

unemployment, received prenatal vitamins and free

counseling from the Jewish Social Services in Phoenix,

Arizona, and applied for other assistance, as well as re-

ceiving groceries from a local church.

15. The natural father was aware of the natural moth-

er’s financial situation but did not offer any financial as-

sistance for prenatal care.

16. The natural mother told her physician, mother, sis-

ter, and friend who tried to previously counsel the natural

father against aborting the child, that she was going to

Florida to start her life over and place the child with a

Jewish family.

17. The natural mother’s mother, a resident of Tampa,

Florida, contacted a local rabbi and said her daughter was

pregnant and that her daughter wanted her child placed

with a Jewish family.

18. The prospective adoptive parents, a middle-class,

Jewish couple, residents of central Florida, husband age

36, wife age 34, have been married since 1975, and have

tried to conceive a child with no success.

43a

19. The prospective adoptive parents have placed their

names with several sources of adoption and heard through

friends that there was a Jewish baby available, through

the source of the Tampa rabbi previously contacted by the

natural mother’s mother.

20. An attorney whom the prospective adoptive parents

had contacted as a source of adoption was then in contact

with the natural mother’s mother, who then had the

attorney call the natural mother in Arizona.

21. In a long-distance telephone call lasting over one

and one-half hours, the attorney questioned the natural

mother at length about her motivation for placing the child

for adoption.

22. The natural mother told the attorney that the nat-

ural father had washed his hands of her and the child and

had not given needed prenatal financial and emotional sup-

port; that she did not love the natural father, and that it

was best for her child to be placed with a two-parent home

for adoption, because the natural mother was already rais-

ing one child on her own as a single parent and she could

not afford, emotionally or financially, to raise two. She

was happy to learn that the attorney was in contact with

a Jewish couple fitting her criteria for adoption.

23. The natural mother left Phoenix without telling the

natural father. He was given a letter by the natural moth-

er’s sister explaining why she left.

24. Within a matter of days, the natural mother called

the natural father and told him she was in Florida. She

then reiterated that she was placing the child for adoption

because the natural father would not marry her; she could

not support two children on her own, and the child would

be better off in a two-parent home.

25. The natural mother and natural father were in tel-

ephonic contact up until just before the birth of the child.

44a

v

26. The subject of the phone conversations primarily

dealt with the relationship of the natural mother and nat-

ural father, with the natural father urging the natural

mother to come to Phoenix to have the child, live with

him and give him time to sort his life out and make the

ultimate decision of marriage.

27. The natural mother told the natural father she would

not live with him out of a marriage relationship and re-

peatedly told him why placing the child up for adoption

was best for all.

28. The natural father had an insurance coupon book

sent to the natural mother with a letter enclosed dated

August 18, 1986. The natural mother dropped a copy of

the letter by the intermediary attorney’s office.

29. The letter discussed the relationship of the natural

parents and also asked the mother to ‘“‘at least think about”

letting the natural father raise the child.

30. The attorneys concluded, based upon the lack of

prenatal financial or emotional support given by the unwed

father, that the natural father’s consent fit the criteria for

excusal by the Court under Florida’s adoption statute. They

did not contact the natural father or the prospective adop-

tive parents about the letter.

31. After sending the letter, the natural father and nat-

ural mother were in contact again by telephone. In the

last telephonic contact before the birth of the child, the

natural mother, after having heard within a short one- to

two-week period the natural father say he would marry

her and then say he had changed his mind and could not

decide upon marriage, asked the natural father to let her

make the decision. He did not say no.

32. The natural mother, during the two weeks before

the birth of the child; was wrestling with whether to place

her child for adoption or to keep the child. She counseled

with a Roman Catholic nun employed as a social worker

45a

with an Orlando, Florida center for unwed mothers, BETA

House. She spoke with her mother and sister.

33. Concluding that the natural father was staying with

his original position of wanting her to keep seeing him

but not making a commitment to marriage and not re-

ceiving any support emotionally or financially or any offers

of prenatal financial support, the natural mother contacted

her physicians and asked them to induce labor.

34. In the hospital the natural mother cried and ex-

pressed concern over placing her baby for adoption, but

on Sunday, September 14, 1986, two days after the birth

of the child on Friday, September 12, 1986, the natural

mother told the attending postpartum nurse she was sure

she wanted the child placed for adoption. She had previ-

ously consented to medication to dry up her breast milk,

and she told the nurse at 8:30 a.m., forty-five minutes

before signing the consent, to take the child back to the

nursery, that she did not want to see him anymore.

35. At 9:15 a.m. the natural mother signed the required

consent, later stating she knew what she was signing,

although she did not like it.

36. The natural mother called an ex-girlfriend of the

natural father’s on Monday, September 15, 1986, telling

her of the birth of the child.

37. The natural father was called by the ex-girlfriend

and he then called the natural mother saying to get the

child back and that he would marry her.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

The parties have raised several issues. The Petitioners

contend that the natural mother’s written consent to the

adoption is valid and cannot be withdrawn absent evidence

of fraud or duress; that the natural father gave implied

consent to the adoption prior to the child’s birth; that he

46a

is now equitably estopped to claim his written consent is

required; that his lack of consent should be excused be-

cause he abandoned the child as it developed within the

womb of the unwed mother; and the child’s best interest

would be served by granting the adoption.

The Respondents’ position is that the mother’s consent

was obtained by duress; that the father’s consent is re-

quired and has not been given; and that the mother is

constitutionally entitled to withdraw her consent until a

judgment is entered terminating her parental rights.

38. The Court has jurisdiction of the subject matter and

of the parties.

A. Duress in Mother’s Consent

39. The natural mother has not shown by clear and

convincing evidence that her consent was not freely and

voluntarily given. The natural mother was intelligent, ar-

ticulate, and knew the consequences of signing the consent

for adoption - a form the intermediary attorney had dis-

cussed with her two months before the birth of her child -

and that the HRS worker had reviewed with her in a

meeting before having her physician induce labor. While

surrender of a baby for adoption is upsetting to a natural

mother, this is universal and not grounds for supporting

duress. See, In re Adoption of Cox, 327 So. 2d 776 (Fla.

1976); Pugh.v. Barwick, 56 So. 2d 124 (Fla. 1952); Gra-

boretz v. Sachs, 262 So. 2d 703 (Fla. 83d DCA), cert. den.

267 So. 2d 329 (Fla. .1972); Chartier v. John Doe, 11 Fila.

Supp. 2d 818 (Fla. 16th Cir., May 13, 1985). See also, In

re Surrender of Minor Children, 344 Mass. 230, 181 N.E.2d

836, 839 (1962); People ex rel Drury v. Catholic Home

Bureau, 34 Ill. 2d 84, 218 N.E.2d 507 (1966). Likewise,

here, there was no evidence that the natural mother was

economically coerced by her family or the intermediaries.

The surrender of a baby for adoption is caused in the

usual instance by some social and financial pressures on

the natural mother. Indeed, it would be a rare adoption

47a

where this is not the case. See, In re Surrender of Minor

Children, supra at 839; People ex rel Drury v. Catholic

Home Bureau, supra at 512; Chartier v. John Doe, supra

at 18. However, the natural mother here deliberately

signed a consent, unambiguous in form, after having

weighed and discussed the other factors leading to her

ultimate decision. The Court concludes that there was no

legal duress on the mother to sign the consent.

B. Withdrawal of Consent by Natural Mother

40. The Court finds that the natural mother has not

been denied equal protection by the application of Section

63.082(5), thus rendering her consent irrevocable in this

intermediary adoption, absent a showing of fraud or du-

ress. The Court specifically holds that Section 63.082(5),

Florida Statutes (1985), is constitutional. Adoptive parents

in a dependency proceeding under Chapter 39, Florida

Statutes, are not similarly situated to adoptive parents in

a private or intermediary adoption proceeding, since in the

latter instance the third-party adoptive parents’ rights are

triggered immediately by the signing of the consent and

the child is directly placed in the home of the prospective

adoptive parents. In Interest of I.B.J., 497 So. 2d 1265

(Fla. 5th DCA 1986).

C. Implied Consent of the Father and Equitable Estop-

pel

41. The natural father is estopped to claim his written

consent is required under Florida law because his actions

and communications to the natural mother and third par-

ties show that he impliedly consented to the adoption.

Wylie v. Botos, 416 So. 2d 1253 (Fla. 4th DCA 1984).

42. When the natural father !earned the natural mother

was pregnant, he initially attempted to have the-pregnancy

terminated, later agreed to the child being placed for adop-

tion, and then did nothing showing continual and repetitive

prenatal support. FLA. Stat. § 63.062(1\bX5) (1985); Wylie

48a

—s

v. Botos, supra; In re Adoption of Mullenix, 359 So. 2d

65 (Fla. lst DCA 1978).

43. On notice that the natural mother could not raise

two children on her own because of her difficulties raising

one child out of wedlock, the natural father paid no monies

toward prenatal medical bills, food, or medications, and

only one month’s rent. As such, there was a shirking of

the responsibilities cast by law and nature. Hinkle v. Lind-

sey, 424 So. 2d 983 (Fla. 5th DCA 1983); Wylie v. Botos,

supra; FLA. STAT. § 63.062(1bX5) (1985).

44. The Court notes that Wylie v. Botos, supra, has

remarkably similar facts wherein the unwed father first

ignored the fact of pregnancy, then gave initial assent to

“her decision’”’ to adopt the baby out. Shortly after the

birth of the child, the unwed father and mother reconciled,

decided to contest the adoption on the basis of no written

consent executed by the putative father, and subsequently

married. The adoption petition was granted notwithstand-

ing the natural father’s objection and lack of written con-

sent on the basis that the father’s pre-birth actions

evidenced consent and that he was equitably estopped to

claim his written consent was required.

45. In light of the fact that this newborn child was

placed up for adoption by the natural mother because the

unwed father had been unwilling to show meaningful sup-

port during the pregnancy, the Court considers his pre-

birth conduct to be relevant to the issue of whether he

gave consent, implied or otherwise, to the adoption, and

is now estopped to claim his written consent is required.

46. Based on the Florida Legislature’s intent, as ex-

pressed in the Senate Judiciary hearing which took place

in April of 1975 on Senate Bill 41; the permissive language

of Section 63.072, ‘“‘The court may excuse”; and Guerra

v. Doe, 454 So. 2d 1 (Fla. 3d DCA 1984), this Court has

the inherent power, under these facts, to grant the adop-

tion of the child (over the putative father’s objection) when

49a

adoption would be in the child’s best interest and welfare.

To conclude otherwise would provide a putative father,

whose consent is required, with absolute and arbitrary veto

power over an adoption proceeding without regard to the

child’s needs and welfare.

D. Abandonment by the Father

47. While the natural father is a person from whom a

consent is required under Section 63.062(1\b\4), Florida

Statutes (1985), because he executed a certificate and filed

it with the Bureau of Vital Statistics, his consent may be

excused by the Court if he has abandoned the child. ‘‘Aban-

donment”’ in this context means “‘conduct which manifests

a settled purpose to premanently forego all parental rights

and the shirking of the responsibilities case by law and

nature so as to relinquish all parental claims to the child.”

Hinkle v. Lindsey, supra at 985.

48. Since the case sub judice has as its subject matter

the contested adoption of a newborn, it necessarily follows

that the putative father’s opportunity to establish a pattern

of conduct toward the child focuses on his conduct through-

out the pregnancy term.

49. The Court finds, by clear and convincing evidence,

that the natural father abandoned the developing child by

failing to provide the unwed mother with meaningful, re-

petitive, and customary support either during the preg-

nancy or at any point before the unwed mother executed

the consent two days following the child’s birth. Wylie v.

Botos, supra.

50. During this critical time frame, the natural father’s

conduct evinced a “‘settled purpose” to shed himself of the

responsibility presented by pregnancy. To this end he was

intent upon placing his “freedom’’ and desires above the

needs of the child developing in the natural mother’s womb.

Additionally, he witheld emotional and financial support

that was within his ability to give when the mother lost

50a

her job and was incurring prenatal and other expenses

that were beyond her ability to pay. This Court listened

with rapt concentration to the natural mother about this

agonizing period; how she defended her position against

the Father’s urging that she permit her unborn child to

be destroyed by abortion; how she squeezed by economi-

cally, accepting welfare and the charity of others, and how

in the early days of August in her 8th or 9th month of

pregnancy she sought so desperately with the help of her

family to replace her medical, health, and economic un-

certainty and anxieties with security and direction when

she finally chose the course of adoption for her unborn

child and moved back to Florida. Historically, an equity

Court has been concerned with unclean hands.

BEST INTEREST OF THE CHILD

51. The Court has not discussed the best interest of the

child, nor has it considered it in reaching its decision, nor

does it rely upon it in making its determination in this

cause. Based upon the evidence and the applicable law

which has been discussed heretofore, the Court believes

that the natural mother has not shown by clear and con-

vincing evidence that her consent was obtained by fraud

or coercion. Likewise, the prospective adoptive parents

have shown by clear and convincing evidence that the nat-

ural father impliedly consented to the adoption, is now

estopped to claim that he did not consent to the adoption,

and, furthermore, that he abandoned the child as it de-

veloped in the womb. The reason the Court has not con-

sidered the best interest of the child is because the Court

is not certain that Florida law sets forth whether or not

the Court may consider this in circumstances such as these.

It is unclear whether or not in the face of allegations of

fraud, duress and the like, the Court is able to reach the

best interest of the child in making its determination. The

Court would be remiss, however, if it did not discuss this

5la

matter for the benefit of the district court of appeal should

that court feel it is a proper factor.

If the best interest of the child is considered to be a

relevant factor, it is clear that the child should remain

where he is. George Lindenfeld, Ph.D., testified at length

regarding the bonding which has occurred between the

minor child and the prospective adoptive parents and in-

dicated that serious psychological damage to the child could

occur because of the stage in which the child is in its

development. Furthermore, Dr. Lindenfeld testified that

as time goes on, the damage would become more severe.

The natural parents did not contest the suitability of

the prospective adoptive parents’ home as far as a good

home and having good parents raise the minor child.

Jan Yahnke, who testified on behalf of the Florida De-

partment of Health and Rehabilitative Services, indicated

that but for the legal issues involved concerning the ques-

tion of the natural parents’ consent, she would have rec-

ommended placement of the child with the prospective

adoptive parents.

It is clear that the bonding process which has been going

on during the first fragile months of this child’s life is

vital to the healthy emotional development of the little

boy. This question of bonding creates an overriding inter-

est in keeping the child where it is in the absence of the

clearest and most compelling reasons:

This viewpoint was summed up by our own

Supreme Court in the case of In Re Adoption by

Cox, 327 So. 2d 776 (Fla. 1976), in which the

Court stated “ijn this case the record reveals

that the trial judge found that the child’s best

interest would be served by allowing the child to

remain with persons she had known her entire

(albeit short) life. In such circumstances we will

not say that the natural mother’s recantation of

52a

consent, or her fitness and desires, must prevail

over the trial court’s judgment to the contrary”’.

Id. at 778. This viewpoint was also put forth by

the Court of Appeals in Arizona in Jn Re Adap-

tion of Hammer, 15 Ariz. App. 196, 487 P.2d 417

(1971); ‘{F]rom a strictly humanitarian stand-

point there must be an end to the emotional

stress and strain that is involved in the natural

parents’ attempt to regain custody of their child.

Ths strain is particularly acute to the adoptive

child itself, who may have established strong

bonds of affection and love for the adoptive par-

ents, and to the adoptive parents who must suf-

fer the spectre of losing their child.”’ 487 P.2d

at 419.

Chartier v. John Doe, supra at 21.

IT IS FURTHER THE FINDING OF THE COURT:

That the Petitioners are fit and proper persons to adopt

the minor child sought to be adopted;

That the child is suitable for adoption by the Petitioners,

and all the fees paid by the Petitioners are proper and

reasonable; it is, therefore,

ORDERED AND ADJUDGED:

That the minor child involved herein is declared to be

the legal child of the Petitioners and is given the name

of [John Doe], by which said child shall hereafter be known,

and it is

FURTHER ORDERED AND ADJUDGED:

That this child shall be the child and legal heir of the

Petitioners, entitled to all rights and privileges and subject

to all the obligations of the child born to the Petitioners

in lawful wedlock.

ORDERED AND ADJUDGED in Chambers at Orlando,

Orange County, Florida, this 22nd day of June, 1987.

— _

53a

/s/ Cecil H. Brown

CIRCUIT JUDGE CECIL H. BROWN

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I HEREBY CERTIFY that a true and correct copy of

the foregoing Final Judgment of Adoption has been fur-

nished by U.S. Mail this 22 day of June, 1987, to: CHAN-

DLER R. MULLER, ESQ., Post Office Box 2728, Winter

Park, Florida 32790; JOHN L. O’DONNELL, ESQ., Suite

1475, Hartford Building, 201 East Robinson Street, Or-

lando, Florida 32801; and ANTHONY B. MARCHESE,

ESQ., Suite 431, Westshore Place, 4350 West Cypress,

Tampa, Florida 33607.

/s/ Mary Holland ms

Secretary

54a

CHAPTER 63

ADOPTION

63.012 Short title.

63.022 Legislative intent.

63.032 Definitions.

63.042 Who may be adopted; who may adopt.

63.043 Mandatory screening or testing for sickle-cell trait

prohibited.

63.052 Guardians designated; proof of commitment.

63.062 Persons required to consent to adoption.

63.072 Persons whose consent to an adoption may be

waived.

63.082 Execution of consent; family medica! history.

63.085 Disclosure by intermediary.

63.092 Report to the department of intended placement

by an intermediary; preliminary study; injunction

against intermediary.

63.097 Approval of fees to intermediaries.

63.102 Filing of petition; venue.

63.112 Petition for adoption; description.

63.122 Notice of hearing on petition; investigation.

63.132 Report of expenditures and receipts.

63.142 Hearing; judgment of adoption.

63.152 Application for new birth record.

63.162 Hearings and records in adoption proceedings; con-

fidential nature.

63.165 State registry of adoption information; duty to in-

form and expiain.

63.172 Effect of judgment of adoption.

63.182 Appeal and validation of judgment.

63.192 Recognition of foreign judgment affecting adoption.

63.202 Authority to license.

63.207 Out-of-state placement.

63.212 Prohibited acts; penalties for violation.

63.222 Effect on prior adoption proceedings.

63.232 Duty of person adopting.

55a

63.012 Short title.—This chapter shall be known as the

“Florida Adoption Act.”’

63.022 Legislative intent.—

(1) It is the intent of the Legislature to protect and

promote the well-being of persons being adopted and their

natural and adoptive parents and to provide to all children

who can benefit by it a permanent family life.

(2) The basic safeguards intended to be provided by this

act are that:

(a) The child is legally free for adoption;

(b) The required persons consent to the adoption or the

parent-child relationship is terminated by judgment of the

court;

(c) The required social studies are completed and the

court considers the reports of these studies prior to judg-

merit on adoption petitions;

(d) All placements of minors for adoption are reported

to the Department of Health and Rehabilitative Services;

(e) A sufficient period of time elapses during which the

child has lived within the proposed adoptive home under

the guidance of the department or a licensed child-placing

agency;

(f) All expenditures by intermediaries placing, and per-

sons independently adopting, a minor are reported to the

court and become a permanent record in the file of the

adoption proceedings;

(g) Social and medical information concerning the child

and the natural parents is furnished by the natural parent

when available and filed with the consent to the adoption

when a minor is placed by an intermediary;

(h) A new birth certificate is issued after entry of the

adoption judgment;

56a

(i) At the time of the hearing the court is authorized

to order temporary substitute care when it determines that

the minor is in an unsuitable home;

(j) The records of al] proceedings concerning custody

and adoption of children are confidential, except as pro-

vided in s. 63.162; and

(k) The natural parent or parents, the adoptive parent

or parents, and the child shall receive the same or similar

safeguards, guidance, counseling, and supervision in an

intermediary adoption as-they receive in an agency or

department adoption.

63.032 Definitions.—As used in this act, unless the con-

text otherwise requires, the term:

(1) ‘‘Department’”’ means the Department of Health and

Rehabilitative Services.

(2) ‘“‘Child’’ means a son or daughter, whether by birth

or adoption.

(3) ‘‘Court’’ means any circuit court of this state and,

when the context requires, the court of any state that is

empowered to grant petitions for adoption.

(4) ‘‘Minor’’ means a person under the age of 18 years.

(5) “‘Adult’”” means a person who is not a minor.

(6) ‘“‘Person’”’ includes a natural person, corporation,

government or governmental subdivision or agency, busi-

ness trust, estate, trust, partnership, or association, and

any other legal entity.

(7) ‘‘Agency’”” means any child-placing agency licensed

by the department — to s. 63.202 to place minors

for adoption.

(8) “Intermediary” means an attorney or physician who

is licensed or authorized to practice in this state or, for

the purpose of adoptive placements of children from out

57a

of state with citizens of this state, a child-placing agency

licensed in another state that is qualified by the depart-

ment.

(9) “To place’ or ‘‘placement” means the process of

giving or transferring of possession or custody, or ar-

ranging for the giving or transferring of possession or

custody, of a child by any person to another person for

adoption.

(10) ‘‘Adoption” means the act of creating the legal re-

lationship between parent and child where it did not exist,

thereby declaring the child to be legally the child of the

adoptive parents and their heir-at-law and entitled to all

the rights and privileges and subject to all the obligations

- of a child born to such adoptive parents in lawful wedlock.

(11) ‘Suitability of the intended placement” includes the

fitness of the intended placement, with primary consid-

eration being given to the welfare of the child; the fitness

and capabilities of the adoptive parent or parents to func-

tion as parent or parents for a particular child; and the

compatibility of the child with the home in which the child

is intended to be placed.

63.042 Who may be adopted; who may adopt.—

(1) Any person, a minor or an adult, may be adopted.

(2) The following persons may adopt:

(a) A husband and wife jointly;

(b) An unmarried adult, including the natural parent of

the person to be adopted;

(c) The unmarried minor natural parent of the person

to be adopted; or

(d) A married person without the other spouse joining

as a petitioner, if the person to be adopted is not his

spouse, and if:

58a

1. The other spouse is a parent of the person to be

adopted and consents to the adoption; or

2. The failure of the other spouse to join in the petition

or to consent to the adoption is excused by the court for

reason of prolonged unexplained absence, unavailability,

incapacity, or circumstances constituting an unreasonable

withholding of consent.

(3) No person eligible to adopt under this statute may

adopt if that person is a homosexual.

(4) No person eligible under this section shall be pro-

hibited from adopting solely because such person possesses

a physical disability or handicap, unless it is determined

by the department or the licensed child-placing agency that

such disability or handicap renders such person incapable

of serving as an effective parent.

63.043 Mandatory screening or testing for sickle-cell

trait prohibited.—No person, firm, corporation, unincor-

porated association, state agency, unit of local government,

or any public or private entity shall require screening or

testing for the sickle-cell trait as a condition for employ-

ment, for admission into any state educational institution

or state-chartered private educational institution, or for

becoming eligible for adoption if otherwise eligible for

adoption under the laws of this state.

63.052 Guardians designated; proof of commitment.—

(1) For minors who have been placed for adoption with

and permanently committed to an agency, the agency shall

be the guardian of the person of the child; for those who

have been placed for adoption with and permanently com-

mitted to the department, the department shall be the

guardian of the person of the child.

(2) For minors who have been placed for adoption with

or voluntarily surrendered to an agency, but have not been

59a

a

permanently committed to the agency, the agency shall

have the responsibility and authority to provide for the

needs and welfare for such minors. For those minors placed

for adoption with or voluntarily surrendered to the de-

partment, but not permanently committed to the depart-

ment, the department shall have the responsibility and

authority to provide for the needs and welfare for such

minors. The department or agency shall have the authority

to authorize all appropriate medical care for the children

who have been placed for adoption with or voluntarily

surrendered to them.

(3) The recital in the written consent given by the de-

partment that the child sought to be adopted has been

permanently committed to the department shall be prima

facie proof of such commitment. The recital in the written

consent given by a licensed child-placing agency or the

declaration in an answer or recommendation filed by a

licensed child-placing agency that the child has been per-

manently committed and the agency is duly licensed by

the department shall be prima facie proof of such com-

mitment and of such license.

(4) Unless otherwise authorized by law, the department

shall not be responsible for expenses incurred by licensed

child-placing agencies or intermediaries participating in

placement of a child for the purposes of adoption.

63.062 Persons required to consent to adoption.—

(1) Unless consent is excused by the court, a petition

to adopt a minor may be granted only if written consent

has been executed after the birth of the minor by:

(a) The mother of the minor,

(b) The father of the minor, if:

1. The minor was conceived or born while the father

was married to the mother.

2. The minor is his child by adoption.

60a

3. The minor has been established by court proceeding

to be his child.

4. He has acknowledged in writing, signed in the pres-

ence of a competent witness, that he is the father of the

minor and has filed such acknowledgment with the vital

statistics office of the Department of Health and Reha-

bilitative Services.

5. He has provided the child with support in a repeti-

tive, customary manner.

(c) The minor, if more than 12 years of age, unless the

court in the best interest of the minor dispenses with the

minor’s consent.

(2) The court may require that consent be executed by:

(a) Any person lawfully entitled to custody of the minor;

or

(b) The court having jurisdiction to determine custody

of the minor, if the person having physical custody of the

minor has no authority to consent to the adoption.

(3) If the minor has previously been permanently com-

mitted to a licensed child-placing agency or the depart-

ment, consent may be given by the licensed child-placing

agency or the department, to which the minor has been

so committed, and this consent is sufficient.

(4) A petition to adopt an adult may be granted if:

(a) Written consent to adoption has been executed by

the adult and the adult’s spouse, if any.

(b) Written consent to adoption has been executed by

the natural parent or parents, if any, or proof of service

of process has been filed, showing notice has been served

on the parent or parents as provided herein.

63.072 Persons whose consent to an adoption may be

waived.—The court may excuse the consent of the follow-

ing individuals to an adoption: .

6la

(1) A parent who has deserted a child without affording

means of identification or who has abandoned a child;

(2) A parent whose parental rights have been termi-

nated by order of a court of competent jurisdiction;

(3) A parent judicially declared incompetent for whom

restoration of competency is medically improbable;

(4) A legal guardian or lawful custodian of the person

to be adopted, other than a parent, who has failed to

respond in writing to a request for consent for a period

of 60 days or who, after examination of his written reasons

for withholding consent, is found by the court to be with-

holding his consent unreasonably; or

(5) The spouse of the person to be adopted, if the failure

of the spouse to consent to the adoption is excused by

reason of prolonged, unexplained absence, unavailability,

incapacity, or circumstances that are found by the court

to constitute unreasonable withholding of consent.

63.082 Execution of consent; family medical history.—

(1) Consent shall be executed as follows:

(a) If by the person to be adopted, by oral or written

statement in the presence of the court or by being ac-

knowledged before a notary public.

(b) If by an agency, by affidavit from its authorized

representative.

(c) If by any other person, in the presence of the court

or by affidavit.

(d) If by a court, by an appropriate order or certificate

of the court.

(2) A consent that does not name or otherwise identify

the adopting parent is valid if the ‘consent contains a state-

ment by the person consenting that the consent was vol-

62a

untarily executed and that identification of the adopting

parent is not required for granting the consent.

(8Xa) The Department of Health and Rehabilitative Ser-

vices shall provide a consent form and a family medical

history form to an intermediary who intends to piace a

child for adoption. Said forms completed by the natural

parent or parents shall be attached to the petition and

shall contain such biological and sociological information,

or such information as to the family medical history, re-

garding the child and the natural parents as is required

by the department. The department shall incorporate the

information into the preliminary study and the social in-

vestigation. The court may also require that the natural

mother be interviewed by a representative of the depart-

ment.

(b) Consent executed by the department, by a licensed

child-placing agency, or by appropriate order or certificate

of the court shall be attached to the petition and shall be

accompanied by a family medical history which shall con-

tain such information concerning the medical history of

the child and the natural parents as is available or readily

obtainable. ~

(4) The consent shall be executed only after the birth

of the child, in the presence of two witnesses, and be

acknowledged before a notary- public.

(5) Consent may be withdrawn oniy when the court finds

that the consent was obtained by fraud or duress.

63.085 Disclosure by intermediary.—

(1) An intermediary shall disclose the following circum-

stances to a person or persons who are seeking to adopt

a child being placed for adoption by the intermediary:

(a) That the payment of the medical or hospital care

received by the natural mother or by the minor during

the mother’s prenatal care and confinement or of the living

63a

expenses of the natural mother does not guarantee that ~

the natural mother will give the required consent for adop-

tion of the child.

(b) That a consent for adoption which is executed pur-

suant to s. 63.082 is binding from the time of valid exe-

cution of consent, unless it is shown that the consent was

obtained by fraud or duress.

(c) That the termination of parental rights will occur

simultaneously with the finalization of the adoption, which

will be 90 days after placement. —

(d) That, pursuant to s. 63.182, for a period of 1 year

from the entry of a judgment of adoption, any irregularity

or procedural defect in the adoption proceeding may be

the subject of an appeal contesting the validity of the

judgment.

(2) The intermediary shall obtain a statement signed by

the person or persons seeking to adopt a child that such

person or persons have been informed of the circumstances

enumerated in subsection (1). A copy of the statement shall

be maintained in the files of the intermediary, and a copy

shall accompany the report to the department of intended

placement as required by s. 63.092.

63.092 Report to the department of intended place-

ment by an intermediary; preliminary study; injunction

against intermediary.—

(1) The intermediary shall report any intended place-

ment of a minor for adoption with any person not related

within the third degree or a stepparent if the intermediary

has knowledge of, or participates in, such intention to

place. The report shall be made to the Department of

Health and Rehabilitative Services at least 30 days prior

to the placement of a minor in the home. In exceptional

cases when placement is immediately possible, the 30-day

requirement may be waived by the Department of Health

64a

and Rehabilitative Services if it is determined to be in the

best interest of the child; however, prior to the placement, | -

the report of the intermediary must be submitted to the ~

department, and the preliminary study must have been

completed by the department. The report shall contain:

(a) The name and address of the person with whom the

minor is intended to be placed.

(b) The identification of the child proposed for pl

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.