Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Lucas v. Lloyd's Leasing
Supreme Court brief1989
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
———-~ es awn ee ee ——
/ eae | 0 née Supreme Ceurt
89-3 27. | a
NO. eens
In the ns
Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1989
WILLIS LUCAS, ET AL
Petitioners
VS.
LLOYD’S LEASING, ET AL
Respondents
VS.
CONOCO, INC.
Respondent
ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT
PETITIONERS’ PETITION FOR
WRIT OF CERTIORARI
McLEOD, ALEXANDER, POWEL
& APFFEL, P.C.
ERVIN A. APFFEL, JR.
OTTO D. HEWITT, III.
‘ KENNETH J. BOWER
MICHAEL L. NEELY
802 Rosenberg; P. O. Box 629
Galveston Texas 77553
409/763-2481; 713/488-7150
A B Letter Service, Inc., 327 Chartres St., New Orleans, La. (504) 581-5555 \
(1)
(2)
(3)
(4)
i
QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW
Does the owner/operator of an oil tanker afloat 70
miles from Galveston Island owe the island’s
beachfront residents and businesses a duty of care
to prevent a massive oil spill?
When the M/V Alvenus spilled 2.6 million gallons of
oil into the Gulf of Mexico, 11 miles offshore and 70
miies from Galveston Island, was the risk of harm
to beachfront property so unforeseeable as to place
it beyond the scope of Respondents’ legal duty of
care to prevent massive oil spills?
Did the scope of Respondents’ duty to prevent
massive oil spills extend to harm caused by people
“‘tracking”’ the oil from Galvestson beaches to adja-
cent homes and businesses?
Was it proper for the Fifth Circuit to reject the
district court’s basis for summary judgment, then
affirm on grounds not advanced or argued before
the district court?
ii
LIST OF PARTIES
Pursuant to Rule 21.1(b), counsel for Petitioners cer-
tifies that the following is a complete list of all parties:
Petitioners:
Petitioners (Plaintiffs below) are 135 individuals and
businesses directly harmed by the tracking of oil off from
Galveston beaches. They are listed in Appendix E.
Respondents:
1. Lloyds Leasing, Ltd.
2. Cammell Laird Shipbuilding, Ltd.
3. Alvenus Shipping Company, Ltd.
4. Conoco, Inc.
5. Lake Charles Pilots, Inc.
6. Malcolm Gillis, Pilot
7. Mitchell Energy & Development Corp.
8. Mitchell Realty, Inc.
9. State of Texas.
0. Ms. Leonore M. Gutierrez Doody
1
1
11. Bob White, et al
ae
TABLE OF CONTENTS
PAGE
QUESTIONS PRESENTED .....:................. i
LIST OF PARTIES .............. Cait cdeus PO ii
TABLE OF CONTENTS ...~..................... iii
Reape GO EIS Le eee iv
Ske ecw tec e wees 1
JURISDICTION a a vn os oe 4s och o.e a 2
STATUTES AND’RULES INVOLVED ............. 2
STATEMENT OF THE CASE ..................... 2
REASONS FOR GRANTING WRIT................ 4
ARGUMENT AND AUTHORITIES................ 5
CONCLUSION AND PRAYER ................. 17-19
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE ................. 20-21
APPENDIX A (5th Circuit Opinion) .............. A-1
APPENDIX B (Order Overruling Motion for
Rehearing)........ ea ees « Es gaan ss ck A-10
APPENDIX C (Trial Court Memorandum and
VS SEEPS STS USGA (a's a A-i2
APPENDIX D (Motion for Rehearing)............ A-21
APPENDIX E (List of Petitioners) .............. A-35
iv
LIST OF AUTHORITIES
CASES
Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, 477 US 242, 255
is a 5 i'd a.se! ose Ak WO REE REID AS ORD AF 5,7
Arenas v. U.S., 322 U.S 419, 434 (1944) ............ 5,7
Arizona Copper Co. v. Gillespie, 230 US 46, 57
a ile ek enw ae nes 9
Consolidated Aluminum Corp. v. C.F. Bean Corp.,
833 F.2d 65, 67 (5th Cir. 1987) ........ §,8,13,14,15,17
Commercial Transport Corp. v. Martin Oil Service,
374 F.2d 813, 817 (7th Cir. 1970) ................ 10
Heywood v. pub. Housing Administration, 238 F.2d
GOO, GOS Wek Cer. BOGE. ee. 7
Horton & Horton, Inc. v. T/S J. E. DYER, 428,F.2d
SI, Ba ee Ses BE fa Fee KC PERAK, 9
Kernedy v. Silas Mason, 334 US 249, 256-7 (1948) .. .5,7
Nunley v. M/V Dauntless, 727 F.2d 455 (5wth Cir.
RE ChB ae. See. Sad wed biases SeaeNs 11
State ex rel. Guste v. M/V Testbank, 752 F.2d
I ike CERNE a Nica dw 5,14
U.S. v. Fryd Constr. Corp., 423 F.2d 980, 984
ee ats og i Ok ee BU IEE web 7
Union Oil Co. v. Oppen, 501 F.2d 558 (9th Cir.
NY Fag es ee a re eins hats 5,9
Watz v. Zapata Offshore Co., 431 F.2d 100 (5th
ee oe Le as Gee wean Cake rode sane’ 12
STATUTES
i os ca eee eey cha aO cas Dae Cese 2
ee onc. ka lug Ul a wo ace aw 3
es on. oy yk sk ae cae alen sw 3
v
RULES
Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 56................. 2,5
re Pen eee eg oe ccc ewecekns een 4
TEXTS AND TREATISES
Gilmore & Black, The Law of Admiralty, p. 404
Reg) a Se 10
eS ee ee 11
CN I og ons cu cic e cu wevesoscn 12
NO.
IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
? OCTOBER TERM, 1989
WILLIS LUCAS, ET AL
Petitioners
VS.
LLOYD’S LEASING, ET AL
Respondents
VS.
CONOCO, INC.
Respondent
ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT
PETITIONERS’ PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE HONORABLE UNITED STATES SUPREME
COURT:
Come now, Petitioners and seek Writ of Certicrari to
the Fifth Circuit’s April 4, 1989 judgment and May 19,
1989 order refusing rehearing and pray that same issue in
these regards.
OPINIONS BELOW
The Fifth Circuit Opinion, reported at F.2d.
(5th Cir. 1989), is attached as Appendix A. The Court’s
order denying the Motion for Rehearing is attached as Ap-
pendix B. The district court’s Memorandum and Order,
reported at 697 F.Supp. 289 (S.D. Tex. 1987), is attached as
Appendix C.
JURISDICTION
Jurisdiction is based on 28 U.S.C. §1254(1). The Fifth
Circuit entered judgment on April 4, 1989 and denied Peti-
tioners’ motion for rehearing on May 19, 1989.
FEDERAL STATUTES AND RULES INVOLVED
Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 56.
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
-A-
On July 30, 1984, M/T Alvenus ran aground just off
the coast, 11 miles from Cameron, Louisiana. The groun-
ding cracked the Alvenus’ hull, producing a massive oil
spill of 2-3 million gallons of heavy crude oil and tar. The
U.S. Coast Guard expressed concern for damage to
Galveston as early as the first day after the spill. U.S.
Coast Guard landfall predicitions varied in the early hours
after the oil spill, but on August 2nd, the Coast Guard
issued an alert to Galveston and Respondents at bar set up
a command post in Galveston and began hiring clean up
crews. On August 4, 1984, the Alvenus’ oil washed ashore
in Galveston and continued to do so for over a month, caus-
ing enormous damage at the height of Galveston’s summer
tourist season.
-B-
Respondents at bar filed this limitation of liability
3
action per 46 U.S.C. 183. thereafter, over 375 claimants
(among them Petitioners at bar) filed claims for damages
caused by the massive oil spill. Respondents at bar moved
for summary judgment and Petitioners responded.
Respondents at bar did not raise foreseeability — the basis
of the trial court’s ultimate order and the 5th Circuit's deci-
sion — in their summary judgment motion. Their
foreseeability argument came in a Reply to Petitioners’
Response to Respondents’ Motion for Summary
Judgment.
The trial court entered partial summary judgment as
to certain claims made by the “tracking damage”
claimants (Petitioners), who moved to reconsider. On
January 22, 1988, the trial court modified its earlier order,
dismissing the ‘‘tracking damage” claimants themselves,
despite substantial summary judgment proof that ‘‘track-
ing damage” from the massive oil spill was “highly pro-
bable’’. The gist of the trial court summary judgment was
that “‘tracking’’ oil from the beaches into Petitioners’
homes and businesses was not foreseeable. In its January
22 order, the trial court invited Petitioners to file another
motion to reconsider, which was done. By order of Apri!
14th, the trial court denied same. Harboring significant
doubts, however, the trial court also ordered Petitioners to
file an interlocutory appeal per 28 U.S.C. 1292(b).
On April 25, 1988, they did so. The 5th Circuit, by
order of June 7, 1988, denied the interlocutory appeal! but
held that the matter was, in any event, “‘appealable as of
right’’. Appeal was thereafter docketed and timely proceed-
ed. On April 4, 1989, the 5th Circuit reversed the trial
court’s holding but affirmed summary judgment per
1 ““(T)he (trial) court did not properly certify the order appealed from as
required by §1292(b)”’.
4
curiam, Judge Higginbotham concurring and dissenting in
part. Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc and Motion for
Rehearing timely followed, being denied on May 19, 1989.
Application for Writ to this Honorable Court timely
followed.
GROUNDS FOR GRANTING WRIT
Pursuant to Rule 17, there are + sauna and important
grounds for granting Writ:
(1) The 5th Circuit has decided questions of federal
law which have not been, but should be, settled by this
Honorable Court.
(a) Whether the owner/operator of an oil tanker
afloat 70 miles from coastal communities owes
the residents and businesses of those com-
munities a duty of care to prevent massive oil
spills?
(b) Whether the winds and tides that bring
massive oil spills ashore constitute intervening
causes that break the chain of foreseeability and
preclude liability for resulting harm?
(c) Whether the fact that a coastal region is not
fully developed provides a reason to conclude that
the owner/operator of an oil tanker owes no duty
to coastal communities in that region?
(ad) Whether people tracking oil from beaches to
adjacent homes and businesses constitutes an in-
tervening cause that breaks tshe chain of
foreseeability and precludes liability for resulting
harm?
(e) Whether the ultimate destination of a
5
massive offshore oil spill must be predictable
with certainty before there can be liability for
resulting damages?
(f) Whether a 1-in-5 probability that a massive oil
spill will drift to a heavily populated area renders
that likelihood so unforeseeable as to preclude
liability for resulting damages?
(2) The 5th Circuit decision, deciding a complex case
of far-flung import on summary judgment, conflicts with
guidance from Kennedy v. Silas Mason, 334 US 249, 256-7
(1948); Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, 477 US 242, 255 (1986)
and Arenas v. U.S., 322 US 419, 434 (1944).
(3) The 5th Circuit decision conflicts with the doc-
trine of foreseeability applied in Union Oil Co. v. Oppen,
501 F.2d 558 (9th Cir. 1974), as well as Consolidated
Aluminum Corp. v. C.F. Bean, 833 F.2d 65 (5th Cir. 1987)
and State ex rel. Guste v. M/V Testbank, 752 F.2d 1019
(5th Cir. 1986).
(4) the 5th Circuit has sanctioned a gross departure
from Fed.R.Civ.P. 56.
ARGUMENT AND AUTHORITIES
I
Generally
The 5th Circuit called for “far-reaching exoneration
of the shipping industry from responsibility’ for massive
oil spills. (Slip. Op., 2714 — Higginbotham, J., concurring
and dissenting). Given the exoneration of an entire in-
dustry, the panel majority impacts far beyond this case
and this oil spill. The absolution of the shipping industry
6
will discourage industry efforts towards greater safety
measures, oil spill containment technology and
mechanisms to predict oil spill landfall. What rational ship-
ping executive would invest tirae and money in such mat-
ters, where to do so might remove an unbeatable defense to
any liability at all?
II
Fifth Circuit’s ‘‘Far-Reaching Exoneration of
Shipping Industry From Responsibility”
for Massive Oil Spills — Summary Judgment
Contrary to Sound Public Policy
Judge Higginbotham accurately assessed the 5th
Circuit’s holding as calling for ‘‘far-reaching exoneration of
the shipping industry from responsibility” for massive oil
spills. (Slip Op., 2714 — Higginbotham, J., concurring and
dissenting in part).
Massive oil spills present complex issues of profound
public import. These incidents visit heavy damage on a
legion of individuals and impact business, quality of life,
local/regional economy and the environment. Additionally,
safety standards and rules, and accountability are im-
plicated. This case (and that presented by the recent
Alaska spill?) stand as examples.
This Honorable Court has repeatedly cautioned
against summary disposition of cases involving complex
issues of profound public import:
(Summary Judgment procedures, however
salutory where issues are clear-cut and simple,
present a treacherous record for deciding issues of
2 The Alaska oil spill was characterized by the Court setting
the Captain’s bond as the worst disaster since Hiroshima.
7
far-flung import. . . . We consider it . . . good
judicial administration to withhold decision of
the ultimate questions . . . until this or another
record shall present a more solid basis of findings
based on litigation or on a comprehensive state-
ment of agreed facts.
While we might be able, on the present record, to
reach a conclusion that would decide the case, it
_might well be found later to be lacking in the
thoroughness that should precede judgment of
this importance and which it is the purpose of the
judicial process to provide. (emph. added).
Kennedy v. Silas Mason Co., 334 U.S. 249, 256-7 (1948);
Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, 477 U.S. 242, 255 (1986) (citing
Silas with approval); Arenas v. U.S., 322 U.S. 419, 434
(1944) (“‘duty of court . . . can be discharged in a case of this
complexity only by trial. . . . ”, reversing summary
judgment)5
The wisdom of this cautionary principle is seen at
bar. On a record developed only by affidavit and legal argu-
ment, 135 Petitioners heavily damaged in a massive oil
spill are precluded from relief — despite 5th Circuit agree-
ment that the “tracking damage” they suffered was a
foreseeable and probable result of the presence of oil on
Galveston beaches. With the 5th Circuit opinion as prece-
dent, an oil tanker owner/operator may be absolved from
liability simply with an affidavit swearing an inability to -
predict exactly where the oil spill ‘bullet’ would hit.
Issues of profound public import — such as massive oil
spills — should not be decided by affidavit in a summary
3 This is also the 5th Circuit rule. U.S. v. Fryd Constr. Corp., 423 F.2d
980, 984 (5th Cir. 1970); Heywood v. Pub. Housing Administration, 238
F.2d 689, 698 (5th Cir. 1956).
judgment procedure.
Petitioners have no quarrel with the principle of
“foreseeable risk’’ employed by the 5th Circuit to deter-
mine the scope of Respondent’s duty of reasonable care.
That principle limits a tortfeasor’s responsibility to:
harm of a general sort to persons of a general
class which might have been anticipated by a
reasonably thoughtful person, as a probable
result of the act or omission, considering the in-
terplay of natural forces and likely human
intervention.
Slip Op., 2713, quoting from Consolidated Aluminum Corp.
v. C.F. Bean Corp., 833 F.2d 65, 68 (5th Cir. 1987). Surely,
Respondents might have anticipated the likelihood that
spilling two to three million gallons of oil so near the coast
would damage coastal businesses and other beachfront pro-
perty. One day after the spill, the Coast Guard raised con-
cerns about damage to Galveston and its staff met with
Galveston officials to take protective measures.
However, the 5th Circuit exonerated Respondents,
concluding that there was no reason to anticipate that the
oil would reach a “‘heavily populated area”. This conclusion
was derived from the fact that the spill occurred 70 miles
from Galveston and that only 60 miles of 340 miles of
coastline from Calcasieu, Louisiana to the Mexican border
was ‘“‘developed”’. According to Justice Higginbotham, this
reasoning:
calls for far-reaching exoneration of the shipping
industry from responsibility to the gulf coast,
making curious indeed our effort in the Testbank
line of cases to adopt a pragmatic limitation on
the doctrine of foreseeability. Slip. Op., 2714.
9
“Stripped to essentials’’, the 5th Circuit holds that
vessel owners ‘‘owe no duty shoreward’’ — at least not to
residents of the Texas coast. Id. So long as the oil tanker
is far enough from the Texas coast that an oil spill might
make landfall in an undeveloped area, the vessel owner
owes no duty of care to Texans. Stated differently, unless
and until Texas chooses to fully develop its coastline,
owners of tankers in the Gulf owe no duty to coastal
residents. This narrow concept of legal duty conflicts with
the views of this Court, as well as otHer federal circuits, in-
cluding the Fifth Circuit itself. /
In Union Oil Co. v. Oppen, 501 F.2d 558, 569 (9th Cir.
1974), the 9th Circuit held that damage caused to coastal
fishermen — when ‘‘vast quantities of raw crude oil were
released and subsequently carried by wind, wave and tidal
currents over vast stretches of . . . coastal waters .. .’’ was
foreseeable. The crucial consideration for the 9th Circuit
was not whether it could be predicted exactly where the oil
would drift. Rather, foreseeability resided in the fact that
defendants could reasonably foresee that negligently con-
ducted drilling operations ‘’might diminish aquatic life and
. . . the business of commercial fishermen”. As the court
said, ““The dangers of pollution were and are known even by
school children.” Jd., at 569. Similarly, Respondents at bar
could reasonably foresee that spilling 2-3 million gallons of
oil 11 miles from the Gulf Coast might adversely impact on
a populated coastal community. The U.S. Coast Guard cer-
tainly did! See also, Arizona Copper Co. v. Gillespie, 230
US 46, 57 L.Ed. 1384 (1912) (riparian ownér may recover
property damage caused by pollution 25 miles upstream).
The 5th Circuit has generally adopted a more liberal
stand regarding foreseeability in the context of admiralty
cases. For example, in Horton & Horton, Inc. v. T/S J. E.
10
_ DYER, 428 F.2d 1131, 1135 (5th Cir. 1970), the court made
the following comment about foreseeability and interven-
ing causation:
In determining causation in maritime matters,
the applicability of such doctrines as . . . interrup-
tion of negligence by a subsequent intervening
negligence is questionable. ‘‘[T]he maritime court
has been less ready than the shore courts to find
that a subsequent wrongful act by one party
breaks the chain of causation connecting the acci- -
dent with the prior negligence of the other party.”
Gilmore & Black, The Law of Admiralty, p. 404 (1957). See
also, Commercial Transport Corp. v. Martin Oil Service,
374 F.2d 813, 817 (7th Cir. 1970).
IV.
THIRD PARTY HUMAN INTERVENTION: “TRACKING
DAMAGE” WAS “VERY COMMON”, “VERY LIKELY” AND
“HIGHLY PROBABLE” — NOT “HIGHLY EXTRAORDINARY”
AS A MATTER OF LAW
The trial court held that ‘‘tracking damage’’ was not
recoverable because third party human intervention (those
who tracked oil off the beaches) broke the causal chain of
foreseeability (Ex. C — Order of 1/22/88, at 4). The 5th Cir-
cuit, however, disagreed with the trial court and held that
“tracking damage” was a “common sense conclusion’’s,
agreeing with Petitioners that ‘‘tracking damage” was pro-
bable and foreseeable.®
4 Slip, Op., at 2713.
5]d., at 2713-14. Petitioners presented expert affidavits below that
establish ‘‘tracting damage’’ from a massive oil spill as “common”,
“very likely” and “highly probable’. (Tr. 1165-76 — U.S. Coast Guard
11
Nunley v. M/V Dauntless, 727 F.2d 455 (5th Cir.
1984) adopted Rest. of Torts 2d §§442, 447. There, the 5th
Circuit held that the negligence of an intervening third par-
ty does not break the causal chain if:
(a) the actor at the time of his negligent conduct
should have realized that a third party person
ight so act (i.e., track oil off the beach into Ap-
ts’ homes and businesses), or
(b} a reasonable man knowing the situation ex-
isting when the act of a third party was done (i.e.,
when the oil was tracked off the beaches into Ap-
pellants’ homes and businesses) would not regard
it as highly extraordinary that the third party
would so act, or
(c) the intervening act (i.e., tracking oil off the
beach into Appellants’ homes and businesses) as
a normal consequence of a situation created by
the actor’s conduct in a matter in which it is done
is not extraordinarily negligent.
Id, at 464-5.
Given the summary judgment proof that “tracking
damage” from massive oil spills was “common” and
“highly probable’ (Tr. 1165-76), it cannot be said — as a
matter of law — that the “tracking damage”’ at bar was so
“highly extraordinary”’ as to break the causal chain. It
would have been extraordinary had “‘tracking damage’”’ not
occurred! The inconsistency of the 5th Circuit with Nunley
5 continued. Veteran of 20 years experience in oil spill investigation and
clean-up, president of oil spill clean-up company involved in over 100 oil
spills, college professor training oil spill clean-up personnel for 11 years,
etc.).
12
guidelines introduces uncertainty into an already com-
plicated field of law.
Watz v. Zapata Offshore Co., 431 F.2d 100 (5th Cir.
1970) adopted Rest. of Torts 2d §435(i), holding that
if the actor’s conduct is a substantial factor in
bringing about the harm to another, the fact that
the actor neither foresaw nor should have fore-
seen the extent of harm or the manner in which it
occurred does not prevent him from being liable.
(emph. added).
Id, at 116. the conduct at bar was Respondents’ negligence
producing a massive oil spill on the Gulf Coast — obviously
a “substantial factor” in bringing about Petitioners’ harm.
Under Watz, Respondents cannot be absolved, even if
(arguendo) they did not foresee the “‘common”’ and “‘highly
probable” tracking of oil off the beaches into Petitioners’
homes and businesses.
Vv
THE 5TH CIRCUIT’S NEW TEST
The 5th Circuit misconstrued the proper
“foreseeability” test. In a nutshell, it held that Peti-
tioners’ harm was not foreseeable as a matter of law —
because Respondents could not predict that individuals
and businesses would probably be harmed. Under this new
6 The 5th Circuit agreed that “Appellee [Respondents] might reasonably
anticipate that the oil might wash ashore somewhere. . . . ”’ (Slip Op.,
2713) but concluded that since the precise coastal point to be hit by the
oil spill ‘‘bullet”” was not foreseeable, neither wes the harm. (Jd). Thus,
the 5th Circuit reasoned that — since Respondent did not precisely
know that the oil spill would wash ashore in Galveston — Petitioners’
harm was not foreseeable and Respondents were absolved of liability.
13
standard, a defendant shooting a gun into a crowd would
be absolved from liability because he did not know precise-
ly who the bullet would hit!’ This is not the correct
““foreseeability”’ test.
The 5th Circuit cited the correct test,8 but misap-
plied and rewrote it. As announced in Consolidated
Aluminum Corp. v. C.F. Bean Corp., 833 F.2d 65, 67 (5th
Cir. 1987):
harm ... (is) . . . foreseeable . . . if (1) harm of a
general sort (2) to persons of a general class (3)
might have been anticipated by a reasonably
thoughtful person, (4) as a probable result of the
act or omission, (5) considering the interplay of
natural forces and likely human intervention.
(numbering and emph. added).
The 5th Circuit based its decision on the ‘“‘persons of
a general class” element,? reasoning that if oil spill landfal!
at Galveston was not predicted with certainty, then — as
a matter of law — harm to the Galveston Petitioners was
not foreseeable. This ‘‘certainty”’ requirement is not the
Consolidated standard; it is a new, incorrect standard,
deleting Consolidates’s ‘general class’’ element and
substituting an onerous “predictable with certainty”
element.
Consolidated requires that harm of some type (‘‘a
general sort”’) ‘‘might have been anticipated’”’ to be visited
upon “‘persons of a general class’’. That “general class’’ is
7 Slip. Op., 2714 (Higginbotham, J., concurring and dissenting).
8 Slip. Op., 2713, citing Consolidated Aluminum Corp. v. C.F. Bean
Corp., 833 F.2d 65, 67 (5th Cir. 1987).
9 Slip. Op., 2713.
14
Gulf Coast residents and businesses.!° Consolidated does
not require the victims to be identified with exactitude —
prior to the oil spill landfall — but only that the ‘‘general
class” of victims potentially to be harmed be identifiable.
cf: State of La. ex rel. Guste v. M/V Testbank, 752 F.2d
1019 (5th Cir. 1985) (en banc) (noting that a general class
of “commercial fishermen were foreseeable, Plaintiffs
whose interests . . . (Defendant) had a duty to pro-
tect. «:..° 2
=
Under the 5th Circuit’s new standard, ‘‘foreseeabili-
ty’’ now requires that oil spill victims be identified prior to
landfall. Under the Consolidated ‘‘foreseeability’’ stan-
dard, however, the ‘‘general class’”’ element is met by simp-
ly demonstrating ‘’anticipation”’ of landfall along the Gulf
Coast, the “‘general class’’being persons and businesses in
that “general” area. Indeed, the ‘‘data’”’ relied on by the 5th
Circuit reflects a 1-in-5 probability for the oil spill ‘‘bullet’’
to hit populated Gulf areas like Galveston, establishing a
1-in-5 probability of harm to Petitioners.!! More exactitude
than even a 1-in-5 probability of harm is now required! This
is not Consolidated’s ‘‘general class’ element; it is
something new and onerous — and an exoneration of the
shipping industry from responsibility for massive oil
spills.!2 cf: Testbank, supra at 1032-3 (Gee, J., concurring).
10Consolidated dealt with persons and businesses suffering harm up to
6 miles inland; Petitioners at bar suffered harm within 300 yards inland.
11 Sip. Op. at 2713 (reflecting 340 miles of coastline, 60 miles being
populated like Galveston). indeed, landfall at Galveston was by the
third day after the spill — 2 days before it washed ashore. Coast Guard
Report (4/23/85), pp. 6-7.
12 Slip. Op., 2713 (Higginbotham, J.r, concurring and dissenting).
15
The risk at bar is damage due to tracking oil off the
beaches inte homes and businesses. This risk (as all panel
members agreed — Slip Op.,2713-14) was foreseeable and
probable. Indeed, Petitioners tendered expert testimony
that “tracking damage” was a ‘’common”’, “very likely’”’
and “‘highly probable” result of a massive oil spill. (Tr.
1165-76). The 5th Circuit however, extended Consolidated
to exonerate the shipping industry in almost all oil spills
(Slip. Op., 2714). Geasaieedhandiied nd ect entre Giid coor
insurmountable) layer atop the “‘foreseeability’’ test — to
avoid summary judgment. One must now establish as a
matter of law that the oil spill’s precise landfall was predic-
table. Foreseeability does not require a crystal ball.
VI
ONE-IN-FIVE PROBABILITY — NOT ENOUTH |
FORESEEABILITY AS A MATTER OF LAW?
The 5th Circuit, contrary to Consolidated’s ‘‘general
class’’ element, now requires oil spill landfall to be
predicted with certainty before harm is ‘“‘foreseeable’’. The
import of the 5th Circuit decision is that a 1-in-5
probability! of harm is insufficient to raise a fact issue to
bar summary judgment in this case of profound public im-
port. A 1-in-5 probability of harm more than meets Con-
solidated’s ‘‘general class” of victims elements. A 1-in-5
probability of harm does nut establish — as a matter of law
— that harm was not “FORESEEABLE”.
13 Slip. Op., 2713 (340 miles of coastline, 60 miles being populated,
yields an approximate 1-in-5 probability of oil spill landfall.
16
Vil
THE ULTIMATE IRONY: TRIAL COURT: OIL HITTING
GALVESTON IS FORESEEABLE BUT “TRACKING
DAMAGE” IS NOT; 5TH CIRCUIT — “TRACKING
DAMAGE” IS FORESEEABLE BUT OIL HITTING
GALVESTON IS NOT
This case presents the ultimate irony. The trial court
held Petitioners’ ‘tracking damage’ was_ not
foreseeable,!4 although it was foreseeable for the oil spill
“‘bullet”’ to hit Galveston. The trial court allowed certain
classes of Galveston Claimants to recover for direct
physicai harm and for damages due to oil-laden windblown
mist. The 5th Circuit, contrary to the trial court, agrees
that ‘tracking damage” was foreseeable!® but — going
beyond the trial court decision on a matter no one appealed
— heJd that oil on Galveston beaches from the massive oil
spill was not foreseeable!!® Judge Higginbotham noted the
distinction between the decision appealed from and the
basis of the 5th Circuit’s ruling (Slip Op., 2713-4 — i.e., trial
court found “tracking damage”’ not foreseeable (which all
panel members disagree with) but majority found oil spill
landfall at Galveston not foreseeable). The ultimate irony is
14 App. C — (Order of 1/22/88 at 4):
“as a matter of law, .. . the damages . . . resulting from the
tracking of oil were not foreseeable.*** (T)he damages were
indeed possible but in no fashion probable. The element of
third party intervention that allowed the oil to be carried
from the beaches to claimants’ foreseeability’’. (emph.
added).
15 Slip. Op.,2713. Judge Higginbotham (concurring and dissenting) also
agrees that Petitioners’ “tracking damage’ was foreseeable (Siip.
Op., 2714).
16 Slip Op., 2713.
17
that the 5th Circuit opinion turns on a ruling below from
which no one appealed! Petitioners obviously did not
challenge any ruling that it was foreseeable for the oil spill
“bullet” to hit Galveston; Respondents filed no cross-
appeal and no cross-points.
CONCLUSION
The 5th Circuit, discarding Testbank and Con-
solidated, presents ‘far-reaching exoneration of the shipp-
ing industry from responsibility” for massive oil spills.
(Slip Op., at 2714 — Higginbotham, J., concurring and
dissenting). Thus, the import of its opinion reaches far
beyond this case and this oil spill. So long as tanker
owners/operators can claim inability to predict oil spill
landfall with certainty, oil spill harm is not ‘foreseeable’
as a matter of law, absolving them of liability. In policy
terms, such a state of law will hardly encourage industry ef-
forts toward greater safety measures, oil spill containment
technology and techniques of predicting oil spiil landfall.
Indeed, a rational industry executive would be discouraged
from investing time and money in such critical areas,
because to do so might remove an unbeatable defense to
liability.
The 5th Circuit presents a new ‘‘foreseeability’’ stan-
dard, abandoning Testbank’s “pragmatic limitation on .. .
foreseeability’”’!’ anc Consolidated’s “general class’’ of vic-
tims element. Contrary to these authorities, the new stan-
dard requires oil spill landfall to be predicted with certainty
before oil spill harm may be “foreseeable”. This onerous
16 Sip Op. 2713.
17 Slip. Op., 2714 (Higginbotham, J., concurring and dissenting). Judge
Higginbotham authored Testbank.
18
standard would absolve the industry from almost all oii
spills, as it would absolve one from liability for shooting in-
to a.crowd where one could not predict who the bullet
would hit. Slip Op., at 2714).
the 5th Circuit recites data reflecting a 1-in-5 pro-
bability that the oil spill ‘‘bullet’”” would harm populated
Gulf areas like Galveston. Even a 1-in-5 probability of
harm is not enough” foreseeability”’ of harm — as a matter
of law — under the new standard! Besides a divergence
from the law, a 1-in-5 probability of harm, at the least,
presents a fact question as to the foreseeability of harm,
barring summary judgment.
WHEREFORE PREMISES CONSIDERED, Peti-
tioners pray that the Petition be granted, the Fifth Circuit
Opinion regarding these complaints be reversed and
remanded with instructions, costs be assessed against
Respondents and for such other relief as may be just.
Respectfully submitted,
BY:
ERVIN A. APFFEL, JR.
TBA: 01278000
BY:
OTTO D. HEWITT, III
TBA: -09559500
BY:
KENNETH J. BOWER
TBA: -02727900
19
BY:
MICHAEL L. NEELY
TBA: -14861800
ATTORNEYS FOR
PETITIONERS
OF COUNSEL:
McLEOD, ALEXANDER, POWEL & APFFEL, P.C.
802 Rosenberg, P. O. Box 629
Galveston, Texas 77553 .
409/763-2481; 713/488-7150
20
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE
I hereby certify that three copies of this Petition for
Writ have been served on opposing counsel on this the 17th
day of August, 1989, as follows:
Mr. James Patrick Cooney
Mr. John Elsley
Ms. Lisa Wesley
Royston, Rayzor, Vickery & Williams |
2200 Texas Commerce Tower
Houston, Texas 77002
Mr. Henry S. Morgan
Mr. Knox D. Nunnaly
Vinson & Elkins
2600 First City Tower
Houston, Texas 77002-6760
Ms. Constance M. Walker
McLean Bldg., Room 2038
600 N. Dairy Ashford
Houston, Texas 77079
Mr. R. Scott Blaze
Ms. Mee Lon Lam
U.S. Dept. of Justice
Civil Division-Torts Branch
Aviation & Admiralty Section
P. O. Box 14271, Ben Franklin Station
Washington, DC 20044
21
Mr. Lester Lautenschlaeger
Lautenschlaeger & Oberhelman
424 Gravier Street, Suite 300
New Orleans, LA 70130
Mr. Charles R. Houssiere, III
Robert K. Schaffer
Houssiere & Durant
1990 Post Oak Boulevaard, Suite 810
Houston, Texas 77056
Mr. Ralph K. Harrison
Mitchell Energy
& Development Corp.
P. O. Box 400
The Woodlands, Texas 77380
Ms. Susan Theisen
Energy & Environmental -
Protection Division
P. O. Box 12548
Austin, Texas 78711-2548
Mr. Wendell Radford
Benckenstein, Oxford,
Radford & Johnson
P. O. Box 150
Beaumont, Texas 77704
Mr. Henry Oncken
U.S. Attorney
515 Rusk Avenue, 12th Floor
Houston, Texas 77002
Otto D. Hewitt, III
A-l
APPENDIX A
In the Complaint and Petition of LLOYD'S LEASING
LIMITED. As Owner, and Cammell Laird Shipbuilding,
Ltd., et al.,
Petitioners-Appellees
CONOCO, Claimant-Third Party
Defendant-Appellee
Vv.
Bob WHITE et al, Claimants-Third Party
Plaintiffs-Appellants.
Vv.
U.S. ARMY CORPS OF ENGINEERS,
Lake Charles Pilots, Inc. and Simrad
Subsea, Inc. of Oslo Norway, Third Party
Defendants-Appellees
In the Complaint of Petition of
LLOYD‘S LEASING LTD., etc., et al.
Petitioners-Appelles
Willis LUCAS, et al.,
Claimants-Appellants.
Nos. 88-2350, 88-2515.
United States Court of Appeals,
Fifth Circuit.
April 4, 1989.
Owners of property approximately 70 miles from site
of ship’s grounding filed claims in shipowner’s limitation of
liability action to recover for damages caused when oil spill-
ed from ship washed ashore and was tracked onto their pro-
perty by tourists and beachgoers. The United States
District Court for the Southern District of Texas. Hugh
A-2
Gibson, J., entered summary judgment against property
owners, and they appealed. The Court of Appeals held that
harm suffered by property owners was not foreseeable. -
Affirmed.
Patrick E. Higginbotham, Circuit Judge, concurred
in part, dissented in part, and filed opinion.
1. SHIPPING 20%15/8)
Issue of whether harm suffered by property owners
as result of ship’s grounding and resulting oil spill was
foreseeable was properly addressed by trial court in limita-
tion of liability proceeding because determinination of tort-
feasor’s duty and its parameters, including foreseeability,
is function of court rather than of jury.
2. SHIPPING 81(1)
Harm suffered by property owners when oil spilled
from ship that ran aground was washed ashore apporx-
imately 70 miles from site of grounding and tracked onto
property by tourists and beachgoers was not foreseeable;
ship owner therefore owed no duty to property owners and
property owners’ claim were properly dismissed in
shipowner’s limitation of liability action.
Appeals from the United States District Court for the
Southern District of Texas.
Before GEE, HIGGINBOTHAM, and DUHE, Cir-
cuit Judges.
PER CURIAM:
In July 1989 the M/T Avenues grounded in the
A-3
Calcasieu River Bar Channel about eleven nautical miles
south/southeast of Cameron, Louisiana. As a result of the
grounding one of the ship’s tanks cracked, spilling 65,500
barrels of crude oil into the waters of theGulf of Mexico.
Given the particular combination of tides and winds that
existed at the time of the spill, the oil washed ashore on
Galveston Island, approximately 70 miles west of the site
of the grounding.
Following the accident the peteitioners appellees
filed an admirality limitation of liability action. Over 375
claimants filed claims against the petitioner and third par-
ty defendants. The trial court divided the claimants into
four groups based on the type of damages sustained. One
of these groups consisted of claimants who suffered
damages from oil tracked onto their premises by tourists
and beachgoers. The appellants are the members of this
group of claimants. In January 1988 the trial court granted
the petitioners/appellees’ motion for summary judgment as
to this group of claimants. The basis for the court’s deci-
sion was that these claimants were barred from recovery
because the darcage to them was, as a matter of law, not
foreseeable. The appellants contend that the trial court er-
red in granting summary judgment. Because we agree with
the district court’s conclusion that the harm suffered by
the appellants was not foreseeable we AFFIRM the judg-
ment of the district court.
The [Supreme] court has stated that Fed.R.Civ.P.
56(c) mandates summary judgment in any case
where a party fails to establish the existence of an
element essential to this case and on which he
bears the burden of proof. A complete failure of
abe on an essential eiement renders all other
acts immaterial because there is no longer a gen-
uine issue of material fact.
A-4
Washington v. Armstrong Werld Industries, Inc. 839 F.2d
1121 (5th Cir.1988) (citation omitted).
To establish a cause of action based on negligence
the plaintiff must establish the existence of four elements.
These elements are: ‘‘(1) the defendant was under a duty to
the plainttiff to use due care, (2) the defendant was guilty
of a breach of that duty, (3) the plaintiff has suffered
damages, and (4) the breach of the duty proximately caused
these damages.”’ Morris, Morris on Torts. 44 (2nd Edition)
(emphasis in original). In this case the district court
granted the appellees’ motion for summary judgment bas-
ed on its determination that the appellants had failed to
establish the existence of one of these elements, i.e., that
the defendant had a duty to the plaintiff. This determina-
tion was in turn, based on the court’s conclusion that the
harm suffered by the plaintiff was not foreseeable.
[1,2] The appellants advance two arguments for
reversal: First, the foreseeability is a question of fact and
should not be decided as a matter of law; Second, that sum-
mary judgment was inappropriate because the affidavits of
their experts raised a material fact issue.
In Consolidated Aluminum Corporation v. C.F. Bean
Corp., 833 F.2d 65, 67 (5th Cir.1987) we stated that
“{djetermination of the tortfeasor’s duty, and its
parameters, is a function of the court. That determination
involves a number of factors, including most notably the
foreseeability of the harm suffered by the complaining par-
ty.”’ (citations omitted) The district court therefore proper-
ly addressed the issue of whether the harm suffered by the
plaintiff was foreseeable. We must now determine whether
it correctly decided that issue.
In Consolidated Aluminum Corp. supra, we held that
A-5
[djuty . . . is measured by the scope of the risk that
negligent conduct foreseeably entails . . . and marks the
limits placed on a defendant’s duty . . .’’ Id. at 65. (citation
omitted)
The court went on to state that harm is ‘the
foreseeable consequence of an act or omission if harm of a
general sort to persons of a general class might have been
anticipated by a reasonably thoughtful person, as a pro-
bable result of the act or omission, considering the in-
terplay of natural forces and iikely human intervention.”
Id. at 68.
Applying this definition, we conclude that the
district court's determination that the harm suffered by
the plaintiffs was not foreseeable and that the appellees
therefore owed no duty to the appellants is correct. The
original oil spill occurred seventy (70) miles from Galveston
in the Gulf of Mexico. The coastline between Calcasieu,
Louisiana, the site of the spill, and Port Isabel, on the Mex-
ico border, extends for approximately 340 miles. Approx-
imately 60 miles of this coastline is developed. To produce
the possibility of tracking damages such as these the oil
had to wash ashore on a developed shore, where there were
peopie to track it and places to track it into. The ap-
pellants’ experts testified that tracking damages are a pro-
bable consequence of oil spills that wash ashore in in-
habited areas, a commonsense conclusion that gains little
force when voiced by an expert. Their testimony did not,
however, address the probability that this oil spill would
wash ashore in such an area. Therefore their testimony
does not preclude a grant of summary judgment. While the
appellee might reasonably anticipate that the oil would pro-
bably wash ashore somewhere, it had no reason to have an-
ticipated that the oil would probably wash ashore in a
heavily polulated area and then be tracked into businesses
A-6
and homes. ‘‘[T]o be found liable a defendant must have
‘knowledge of a danger, not merely possible by probable
...’ Id. at 68. (citation omitted).
In light of these facts we conclude that the ap-
pellants have failed to establish a requisite element of a
negligence action. i.e., that the ‘harm to the appellants was
foreseeable and that the appellees therefore owed a duty to
the appellant. Consequently the district court properly
granted the appellees’ motion for summary judgment.
The judgment of the district court is
AFFIRMED
PATRICK E. HIGGINBOTHAM.
Circuit Judge, concurring in part and dissenting in part:
The M/V Alvenus ran aground in the Calcasieu Chan-
nel Pass off the Louisiana Coast in the Gulf of Mexico.
When its hull split it spilied between two and tree million
gallons of heavy crude oil and tar approximately eleven
nautical miles off the coast. Most of the crude oil floated
ashore along the Gulf Coast and the Galveston County
area. The predictable result was a significant downturn in
the fortunes of surrounding businesses dependent on the
tourist trade. Confronted with our opinion in State of La.
ex rel. Guste. v. M/V Testbank, 752 F.2d 1019 (5th Cir.
1989) (en banc) (no recovery of economic losses absent
physical injury to a proprietary interest),an innovative
group of merchants located in the vicinity of the oiled
beach suggest that they suffered the requisite physical in-
jury in that beachgoers, their customers, tracked the sticky
oil residue into their businesses. They offered ‘‘expert
testimony” in opposition to summary judgment for the
self-evident proposition that such “tracking” is the
| ait
A-7
foreseeable consequence of the spill. The district court
granted summary judgment concluding that such damage
was not foreseeable. The majority here affirm that decision,
apparently concluding that it was not foreseeable that the
oil would find its way to this beach. With deference,
although I am in substantial agreement with the majority
over the outcome of this case, I would travel a different
path.
In Consolidated Aluminum Corp. v. C.F. Bean Corp.,
833 F.2d 65, 68, we explained how foreseeability limits the
tortfeasor’s duty. We explained that it is ‘the foreseeable
consequence of an act or omission if harm of a general sort
to persons of a general class might have been anticipated
by a reasonably thour” ‘ful person, as a probable result of
the act or omission, considering the interplay of natural
forces and likely human intervention.”
I am persuaded that spilling millions of gallons of
crude oil into the sea eleven miles off the gulf coast created
a direct and foreseeable risk of tainting the coastline. It is
no answer that the precise coastal point to be hit was not
foreseeable;-it is enough that the risk realized be within the
set of foreseeable risks. Defendants point to the seventy-
mile movement of the spill and the weather and winds that
might have brought the oil ashore elsewhere. Stripped to
essentials, defendants urge that the vessel owner owed no
duty shoreward. This arguiment calls for far-reaching ex-
oneration of the shipping industry from responsibility to
the gulf coast, making curious indeed our effort in the
Testbank line of cases to adopt a pragmatic limitation on
the doctrine of foreseeability.
In Testbank, the collision in the Mississippi River
blocked river traffic causing “‘wave upon wave of suc-
cessive economic consequences” up the river and around it.
A-8
We confined recovery for injury to persons who suffered a
physical injury to a proprietary interest. For the reasons
that we explained there, we refused to allow recovery to ex-
tend to the full reach of forseeability.
The defendants in today’s case would have us believe
that foreseeability encompasses little more that specifical-
ly identified and inevitable outcomes. But surely the duty
of a person firing a gun into the air in a populated area ex-
tends to all persons in the zone of danger of his acts. That
is the essence of duty and foreseeability.
The majority understandably balks at the claims of
businesses who point to the tracking of oil. I would find the
answer in Testbank, rather than in a forced reading of
foreseeability, for the reasons we there explained. Our in-
sistence upon physical injury to a proprietary interest was
a forth-right pragmatic limit on the doctrine of foreseeabili-
ty. Undoubtedly many persons suffered some foreseeable
physical loss and yet were not allowed to recover general
economic losses. These physical losses were not a direct
consequence of the collision and spill but were the secon-
dary consequences of shipping delays.
Testbank limits which parties can recover for
foreseeable injuries. In this appeal, the claimants’ only
physical injury is two parties removed from the mosts im-
mediate Testbank plaintiff, the owner of the affected shore
property. The spillage came to rest upon the property of
one party, and was then removed by a second party—the
sticky-footed interlopers—onto the property of still a third
party, the plaintiffs in this case. Arguably such injury is a
foreseeable consequence of the spill, but its nexus with the
spill is a step removed, and so the plaintiffs are beyond the
ambit of permissible claimants under Testbank.
A-9
I would hold that these claimants cannot recover
general economic losses attributed to the general loss of
custom attending the spill because they have no physical
injury within the meaning of Testbank. I would affirm the
summary judgment for defendants, to this extent, allowing
them to proceed only with their claim for losses at-
tributable to actual physical injury and any losses which
that physical injury cause. I would not allow recovery for
losses attributable te the general loss of customers
resulting from the spoiled beach.
A-10
APPENDIX B
IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT
No. 88-2450
88-2515
In the Complaint and Petition of U.S. ARMY CORPS OF ENGINEERS,
LLOYD‘S LEASING LIMITED, As Lake Charles Pilots, Inc. and Simrad
Owner, and Cammell Laird Shipbuild- Subsea, Inc. of Oslo Norway, Third-
ing, Ltd., et al, Petitioners-Appellees, Party Defendants-Appellees.
Vv.
CONOCO, Claimant-Third Party
Defendant-Appellee
In the Complaint & Petition of
LLOYD’S LEASING Ltd., etc.,
et al., Petitioners-Appellees,
v. v.
Bob WHITE et al., Claimants-Third
Willis LUCAS, et al,
Party Plaintiffs-Appeliants,
Claimants-Appellants.
Nos. 88-2450, 88-2515
FILED
MAY 19 1989
Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Southern District of Texas
ON PETITIONS FOR REHEARING AND SUGGESTIONS FOR
REHEARING EN BANC
(Opinion April 4, 5 Cir., 1989, Pad.)
( MAY 19, 1989 )
Before GEE, HIGGINBOTHAM and DUHE, Circuit
Judges.
A-11
PER CURIAM:
(~) The Petitions for Rehearing are DENIED and no
member of this panel nor Judge in regular active service on
the Court having requested that the Court be polled on
rehearing en banc, (Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure
and Local Rule 35) the Suggestions for Rehearing En Banc
are DENIED.
( ) The Petitions for Rehearing are DENIED and the
Court having been polled at the request of one of the
members of the Court and a majority of the Circuit Judges
who are in regular active service not having voted in favor
of it, (Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure and Local Rule
35) the Suggestions for Rehearing En Banc are also
DENIED.
( ) A member of the Court in active service having re-
quested a poll on the reconsideration of this cause en banc,
and a majority of the judges in active service not having
voted in favor of it, rehearing en banc is DENIED.
CLERK’S NOTE:
SEE FRAP AND LOCAL
RULES 41 FOR STAY OF THE
MANDATE.
ENTERED FOR THE COURT:
/s/_ illegible
United States Circuit Judge
A-12
APPENDIX C
In the Matter of the Complaint & Petition
of LLOYD’S LEASING LTD., as Owner
& Cammel Laird Shipbuilders., Ltd.
and Alvenus Shipping Co., Ltd., As
Charterers or Owners Pro Hac Vice, of
the M/T ALVENUS, Her Engines,
Tackle, etc., In a Cause of Exoneration
From or Limitations of Liability.
No. Civ. A. G-84-293.
United States District Court,
S.D. Texas,
Galvestson Division. _
Jan. 22, 1988.
During limitation of liability action by owner and
charterer of tanker whose cracked hull caused oil spill
which was beached at city, petition for summary judgment
as to claims was filed. The District Court, Hugh Gibson, J.,
held that: (1) recovery was denied to persons who claimed
economic damage exclusive of physical damage; (2)
damages caused by tracking the oil deposit from beach
were not foreseeable; (3) state was proper party to assert
loss of sand and beach; (4) direct physical damages were
recoverable; and (5) class certification was denied to
shrimpers allegedly injured by the spill.
So ordered.
1. Navigable Waters 35
Owner and charterer of oil tanker which had cracked
A-13
hull and caused oil spill which beached was not liable to
those persons who claimed economic damage exclusive of.
any physical damages by the effects of the oil on the beach.
2. Navigable waters 35
Damages to property resulting from persons track-
ing oil deposit from city beaches onto property, following
beaching of oil spill caused by tanker with cracked hull,
were not sufficiently foreseeable to allow recovery in limita-
tion of liability proceeding; third-party intervention which
allowed oil to be carried from beaches to claimants’ proper-
ty broke chain of foreseeability.
3. Navigable Waters 35
State, not private citizens, was proper party to
assert loss of sand, loss of beach, loss of vegetation and
resulting economic loss caused by beaching of oil slick after
tanker developed split in its hull and spilled oil off shore.
4. Navigable Waters 35
Direct physical damages resulting from beaching of
oil slick caused by tanker with cracked hull which was car-
ried to beach by currents and waves were foreseeable and
recoverable in limitation of liability proceeding.
5. Federal Civil Procedure 181
Shrimpers whose businesses were allegedly damaged
by arrival of oil slick caused by leading tanker were not en-
titled to class certification in limitation of liability pro-
ceeding; presence of only six shrimper plaintiffs after
publicity attending spill and _ repeated _ notices
demonstrated that class certification would not advance
A-14
the litigation. Fed.Rules Civ.Proc.Rule 23(a)(1), 28
U.S.C.A.
Charles R. Houssiere, III, Houstson, Tex., for White,
et al.
Mike Gallagher, Fisher, Gallaher, Perrin & Lewis,
Houston, Tex. for J.L. Sasser.
Susan Thiesen, Asst. Atty. Gen. and Ben F.
McDonald, Jr., Sp. Asst. Atty. Gen., Atty. General’s Of-
fice, Austin, Tex. for State of Tex.
H.S. Morgan, Jr., Theodore G. Dimitry, Vinson &
Elkins, Houston, Tex., for Conoco.
George W. Lederer, Jr., Paul W. Wommack, Ralph
K. Harrison, The Woodlands, Tex., for Mitchell Develop-
ment Corp. of the Southwest, Mitchel] Realty Co., The Fort
Crockett Hotel Ltd., and George P. Mitchell.
Charles Houssiere, Houssiere & Durant, Houston,
Tex., for Earl Stark.
Steve Williams, for City of Galveston.
Ervin A. Apffel, Jr., McLeod, Alexander, Powel &
Apffel, Galveston, Tex. for Mitchell Duncan, Ski Trek, Inc.
and City of Galveston.
Gordon Speights Young, Jack Shepherd, Houston,
Tex., R. Scott Blaze, Trial Atty., U.S. Dept. of Justice,
Washington, D.C. for U.S.A, U.S. Army Corps of
Engineers, Colonel Eugene Witherspoon.
A-15
Beck Smith, Smith & Stowers, Galveston, Tex., for
David Richard, Theo Carroll White, Charles Richard and
Billy Kesel.
Lester J. Lautenschlaeger, Jr., Lautenschlaeger &
Oberhelman, New Orleans, La., for third party defendant
Malcolm Gillis and Lake Charles Pilots, Inc.
James Patrick Cooney, John M. Elsley, Roystan,
Raynor, Vickery & Williams, Housston, Tex., for third par-
ty Silver Line, Ltd., and Silver Navigation, Ltd.
MEMORANDUM AND ORDER
HUGH GIBSON, District Judge.
The genesis of the current limitation of liability ac-
tion before the Court is to be found in 1984 when the M/T
ALVENUS, on a voyage from Venezuela to Lake Charles,
Louisiana, sustained a crack in her hull while in the
Calcasieu Pass Channel of the Gulf of Mexico. The
epicenter of the resultant oil spill was approximately seven-
ty miles distance from Galveston, Texas, and took several
days to reach the coastal city. Over 375 “Galveston”
claimants have filed claims against petitioners alleging
damages of varied and sundry natures.
Petitioners have filed four motions for summary
judgment, two of which were granted by this Court on
November 20, 1987. Claimants, in response, have filed a
joint motion to vacate and set aside the November orders.
Six of the claimants have also filed a motion for class cer-
tification. The ensuing responses and replies have become
“fragmented” and have led ‘‘to a confused presentation.”
Cononco’s Reply Memorandum to Pollution Claimants’
Responses to Motion for Summary Judgment. In order to
A-16
clarify the present legal and factual conundrum, the Court
will lay forth the legal principles by which it will decide the
case sub judice.
Petitioners have placed the claimants in three
categories based on the alleged damage suffered.! The
Court, although declining to follow petitioners’ classifica-
tion scheme, will, likewise, categorize the claimants in
question according to damages suffered. Claimants will be
classified in the following manner:
(1) those who suffered economic loss exclusive of
physical damage;
(2) those who suffered ‘‘tracking’’ damages and
resultant economic loss; and
(3) those who suffered direct physical impact
damages and resultant economic loss.
Thus, two of the three groups of claimants have suffered |
some type of physical damage in addition to the alleged
economic loss.
(1) As to the first category of claimants, State of
Louisiana ex rel Guste v. M/V Testbank, 752 F.2d 1019 (5th
Cir.) (en banc), cert. denied, 477 U.S. 903, 106 S.Ct. 3271, 91
L.Ed.2d 562 (1986) controls. The Court, in Testbank, held
that ‘physical damage to a proprietary interest [is] a pre-
requisite to recovery for economic loss in cases of uninten-
tional maritime tort.” 752 F.2d at 1020. the claimants in
the first category are, therefore, precluded from seeking
economic damages and the Court’s summary judgment
order of November 20, 1987, dismissing claimants therein
1 A fourth category is based upon a group of claimants who allegedly
failed to respond to petitioners’ interrogatories. As to this fourth
category, petitioners seek default judgments
ee TN Te
A-17
will be left undisturbed. Those claimants who are of the opi-
nion that they should not be considered under the first
category of claimants as delineated by the Court should file
individual, specific motions for reconsideration within
twenty (20) days of the date of this order.
In Consolidated Aluminum Corp. v. C.F. Bean Corp.
772 F.2d 1217 (5th Cir. 1985), the Court determined that
Testbank did not apply because plaintiff had ‘suffered
physical harm to property in which it [had] a proprietary in-
terests.” Id. at 1222. The harm to plaintiff in Consolidated
consisted of damage to the physical equipment at plain-
tiff’s aluminum plant. Jd. at 1218. the Fifth Circuit remend-
ed the case for analysis under traditional tort principles ap- -
plied in admiralty. Id. On a second appeal, the Fifth Circuit
affirmed the trial court’s finding that the damage to plain-
tiff in Consolidated was not foreseeable as a matier of law.
Consolidated Aluminum Corp. v. C.F. Bean, 833 F.2d 65, 68
(5th Cir.1987), Aff’g, 639 F.Supp. 1173 (W.D.La. 1986), The
Fifth Circuit, in affirming the district court, perceived
harm
“to be the foreseeable consequence of an act or
omission if harm of a general sort to persons of a
general class might have been anticipated by a
reasonably thoughtful person, as a probable
result of the act or omission, considering the in-
terplay of natural forces and likely human
intervention.”
Consolidated, 833 F.2d at 68. Applying the above defini-
tion, the Court concluded that the damage to plaintiff was
“beyond the pale of general harm which reasonably might
have been anticipatec ...”’ Jd.
[2j; In 1984, the vagaries of winds and currents
A-18
caused the beaches of Galveston and the surrounding areas
to be inundated with crude oil from a cracked tanker hull
seventy miles away. The second category of claimants suf-
fered physical damage as a result of third parties ‘‘track-
ing’’ oil into claimants’ businesses and condominiums and
onto the personal property therein. ‘“To be found liable, a
defendant must have ‘‘knowledge of a danger, [the danger
is} not merely possible but probable. . . "Jd. (citing
Republic of France v. United States, 290 F.2d. 395, 401 (5th
Cir.1961)). In view of the above interplay of human in-
tervention and Nature’s capriciousness, the Court finds as
a matter of law that the damages, both physical and
economic, resulting from the tracking of oil were not
foreseeable. In this instance, the tracking damages were in-
deed possible, but in no fashion probable. The element of
third-party intervention that aliowed the oil to be carried
from the beaches to the claimants’ businesses and con-
dominiums broke the chain of foreseeability. The Court,
therefore, modifies its partial summary judgment order of
November 29, 1987, so as to DISMISS claimants, not just
certain claims, who seek damages for physical and
economic damages.”
{3} A companion order will be entered dismissing
claimants who seek. in addition to tracking damages,
recovery for damage to the public beaches such as loss of
sand, loss of beach, loss of vegetation and the alleged resul-
tant economic loss. The party to seek damages of this
nature is the State of Texas, not private citizens. Further-
more, the Park Board of Trustees of the City of Galveston
is REINSTATED in the current cause as a claimant. Prior
summary judgment orders entered against, the Park Board
2 The Court finds that the damages sought pursuant to theories of In-
tentional tort and public or private nuisance are simply not sustainable
under the pleadings of this case nor under Testbank. See Tesbank, 752
F.2d 1019, 1030-31.
A-19
are, therefore, VACATED, but only insofar as they affect
the Park Board, unless otherwise stated. Finally, claimants
who are of the opinion that they do not fall into this second
category of claimants shall file individual, specific motions
for reconsideration with twenty (20) days of the date of this
order.
[4] The direct physical impact of oil on various in-
strumentalities, e.g. the hulls of boats, was precipaitated
without the aid of third-party human intervention but, in-
stead, flowed directly from the M/T ALVENUS via cur-
rents and waves. The foreseeability chain, in regard to
direct physical impact damages, remains unbroken and
petitioners, therefore, liable. Under Consolidated, 833 F.2d
at 68, the Court finds that both physical and economic
damages sustained as a result of the direct physical impact
of oil are recoverable. Sea-Arama, Inc., who seeks recovery
for costs incurred in the removal of oil from water intake
valves and the resultant economic damages, will be allowed
to continue as a claimant in the present case. Prior sum-
mary judgment orders entered against Sea-Arama are,
therefore, VACATED. Such orders are vacated only as to
Sea-Arama, Inc., unless otherwise stated. All claimants
who have suffered direct physical impact damages, as
described above, and have been dismissed in prior sum-
mary judgment orders shall file individual, explanatory
motions for reconsideration within twenty (20) days of the
date of this order.
[5] Claimants’ motion for class certification on behalf
of James Bates, et, al., fails in several respects. Under Rule
23(a)(1), Fed.R.Civ.P., a class action may be maintained if
‘the class is so numerous that joinder of all members is im-
practicable.”’ Since 1984, only six claimants in the class
seeking certification, shrimpers in Galvestson, Harris and
Chambers County, have come forth. No credible attempt
A-20
has been made by movants to demonstrate that the six
claimants are representative of a vastly larger “hidden’”’
class of shrimpers who have failed to file actions as
claimants. The publicity surrounding the Alvenus oil spill
and the necessary prerequisites, including repeated notices
in local papers, to the petition for limitation of liability
would seem to have brought forth those shrimpers who a
interested in pursuing their claims. Certification of a class
of shrimpers at this late date would in no way advance the
litigation of this cause or protect the rights of a possible
class. Furthermore, in Lykes Bros. Steamship Co., Inc., v.
Tug Bayou La Fourche, 1974 A.M.C. 1783, 1786
(S.D.Tex.1974). Judge Singleton found a “class claim’’ in-
appropriate and directly contrary to the purpose of a
limitation suit. The Court, for these reasons, respectfully
DENIES claimants’ motion for class certification at this
time.
Finally, the Court, on the basis of the record as it cur-
rently exists, DENIES petitioners’ motion for entry of
default judgment against those claimants who have failed
to respond to petitioners’ interrogatories. Claimants who
have failed to respond are, hereby, ORDERED to RES-
POND within twenty (20) day s of the date of this order.
Failure to respond will, once again, subject these claimants
to dismissal.
A-21
APPENDIX D
NOS. 88-2515/88-2450
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FIFTH CIRCUIT
NEW ORLEANS, LOUISIANA
IN ‘THE COMPLAINT AND PETITION OF LLOYDS LEAS-
ING, LTD., AS OWNER AND CAMMEL LAIRD SHIP.
BUILDERS, LTD. AND ALVENUS SHIPPING COMPANY,
LTD., AS CHARTERS AND OWNERS PRO HAC VICE OF
THE M/T ALVENUS, HER ENGINES, TACKLES, ETC.
VS.
CONOCO, INC.
Appellees/Third Party
Defendants/Claimants
VS.
WILLIS LUCAS, ET AL
Appellants/Claimants/
Third Party Plaintiffs
APPELLANTS‘ MOTION FOR REHEARING
TO THE HONORABLE JUDGES OF SAID COURT:
COME NOW Appellants and file this Motion for
Rehearing directed to this Court’s judgment and opinion
dated April 4, 1989 and would show as follows:
A-22
REHEARING ISSUE 1
THE COURT OF APPEALS ERRED IN AFFIRMING SUMMARY
JUDGMENT BECAUSE APPELLEES DID, IN FACT, OWE A DU-
TY OF DUE CARE TO APPELLANTS AND THEIR PROPERTY IN
THIS MASSIVE OIL SPILL DISASTER, THE COURT OF AP-
PEALS APPLYING A NEW AND INCORRECT LEGAL STAN-
DARD TO THIS MATTER.
REHEARING ISSUE 2
THE COURT OF APPEALS ERRED IN AFFIRMING SUMMARY
JUDGMENT BECAUSE APPELLANTS’ “TRACKING DAMAGE”
WAS FORESEEABLE AND APPELLEES’ CLAIMED INABILITY
TO PREDICT THE EXACT SPOT WHERE THE OIL SPILL
WOULD WASH ASHORE DID NOT RENDER THE “TRACKING
DAMAGE” UNFORESEEABLE AS A MATTER OF LAW.
REHEARING ISSUE 3
THE COURT OF APPELAS ERRED IN AFFIRMING SUMMARY
JUDGMENT BECAUSE COMPLEX CASES INVOLVING
MASSIVE OIL SPILLS SHOULD NOT BE DECIDED ON SUM-
MARY JUDGMENT, OUR SUPREME COURT GENERALLY
DIRECTING THAT “ISSUES OF FAR FLUNG IMPORT“ SHOULD
NOT BE DECIDED ON SUMMARY JUDGMENT AS A MATTER
OF “GOOD JUDICIAL ADMINISTRATION”.
REHEARING ISSUE 4
THE COURT OF APPEALS ERRED IN AFFIRMING SUMMARY
JUDGMENT BECAUSE THIRD PARTY HUMAN INTERVEN-
TION (PEOPLE TRACKING OIL OFF OF BEACHES ADJACENT
TO HOMES AND BUSINESSES INTO THOSE HOMES AND
BUSINESSES) DID NOT BREAK THE CAUSAL CHAIN OF
FORESEEABILITY AS A MATTER CF LAW.
A-23
ARGUMENT AND AUTHORITIES
I.
GENERALLY
The panel majority calls for ‘far-reaching exonera-
tion of the shipping industry from responsibility” for
massive oil spills, in keeping with Judge Gee’s concurring
Testbank? opinion, suggesting rules to bar recovery in
“disaster” cases. The import of the majority opinion is
that anytime an oil tanker owner/operator is unable to
predict with exactitude the oil spill’s ultimate, precise land-
fall, oil spill harm is not foreseeable as a matter of law:
thus, the tanker owner/operator owes shoreside victims
“no duty” and is absolved from liability.4 The majority’s
rationale and holding is contrary to settled principles of
tort law and Fifth Circuit precedent. Indeed, the majority's
new test would exonerate one from shooting a gun into a
crowd because it was unpredictable who the bullet would
hit.5 The majority opinion is also contrary to Supreme
Court guidance against Summary Judgments in complex
cases of ‘far-flung import”’.
1 Slip. Op., at 2714 (Higginbotham, J., concurring and dissenting in
part).
2 State ex rel. Guste v. M/V Testbank, 752 F.2d 1019 (5th Cir. 1985) (en
banc) (Maj. op. by Higginbotham, J.).
3 Id, at 1032-33 (Gee, J., concurring).
4 Slip Op., at 2714.
5 Id, at 2714.
A-24
Il.
PROFOUND ISSUES OF PUBLIC IMPORT SHOULD
NOT BE DECIDED BY SUMMARY JUDGMENT
The Coast Guard accurately called this a “‘major”’ oil
spill. (Suppl. Tr. — Coast Guard Report, at 2). A major oil
spill is a disaster, because so much harm is caused to in-
dividuals, businesses, the economy, and the environment.
Here, for example, Appellees spilled 2-3 million gallons of
oil near the Gulf Coast, causing literally a disaster across
a broad sweep of every aspect of life in the affected area.
Where cases involve complex issues of profound
public import, our Supreme Court cautions against sum-
mary disposition. The reason for this salutory caution is
clear:
(Summary Judgment procedures, however
salutory where issues are clear-cut and simple,
present a treacherous record for deciding issues of
far-flung import .... We consider it . . . good
judicial administration to withhold decision of
the ultimate questions . . . until this or another
record shall present a more solid basis of findings
based on litigation or on a comprehensive state-
ment of agreed facts.
While we might be able, on the present record, to —
reach a conclusion that would decide the case, it
might well be found later to be lacking in the
thoroughness that should precede judgment of
this importance and which it is the purpose of the
judicial process to provide. (emph. added).
Kennedy v. Silas Mason Co., 334 U.S. 249, 256-7 (1948);
Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, 477 U.S. 242 255 (1986) (citing
A-25
Silas with approval); Arenas v. U.S., 322 U.S. 419, 434
(1944) (“duty of court . . . can be discharged in a case of this
complexity only by trial. ... ”, reversing Summary
Judgment).§
At bar, Kennedy’s cautionary principle has not been
applied. Instead, the majority decides what everyone
agrees was a disaster — on a “treacherous” record compos-
ed of affidavit and attorney argument. This was error and
not Kennedy’s good judicial administration’’.
III.
THE ULTIMATE IRONY
The ultimate irony appears at bar in the distinction
between the trial court ruling being appealed and the
fulcrum of the majority opinion — a matter no one appealed
from.
Tracking Damage Oil Spill ‘‘Bullet’’
Hits Galveston
Trial Court Not Foreseeable? Foreseeable®
6This is also the Fifth Circuit rule. U.S. v. Fryd Constr. Corp., 423 F.2d
980, 984 (5th Cir. 1970); Heywood v. Pub. Housing Administration, 238
F.2d 689 698 (5th Cir. 1956):
TOrder of 1/22/88 at 4:
“as a matter of law, .. . the damages . . resulting from the
sreee se oe enn ats Caneeeeee. ses The element of third
Spmeneharasd smeriin ©
the chain of foreseeability’”’. (emph. added).
8Orders of 1/22/88 and 10/27/88, certain Galveston claimants to
recover for physical harm and damage due to oil-laden windblown mist.
A-26
Panel Majority Foreseeable? Not Foreseeable!®
The dissent noted the disparity between the decision ap-
pealed from and the basis of the majority opinion (Slip Op.,
at 2713-14).
The gist of the trial cour. Order appealed from was
the precise holding that
***The element-of-third party human interven-
tion that allowed the oil to be carried from the
beaches to . . . (Appellants’) businessés and con-
dominiums broke the chain of foreseeability.
(emph. added).
Order of 1/22/88, at 4. Clearly, the basis of the trial court’s
Order was “third party human intervention”. Appellants,
however, had submitted a hosts of expert affidavits that
“tracking damage” (i.e., tracking oil from the beaches to
Appellants’ homes’ and businesses) was — indeed — a
“common”, “very likely” and “‘highly probable” result of
a massive oil spill.11 The entire panel agrees that this is a
“common sense conclusion’’.!2 Thus, the very basis of the
9Stip. Op. at 2713. Judge Higginbotham (concurring and dissenting)
also agrees that Appellants’ “tracking damage” was foreseeable (Slip.
Op., at 2714).
10 Slip. Op., at 2713.
lly, 1165-76 (i.e., U.S. Coast Guard Veteran of 20 years experience in
oil spill investigation and clean-up, president of oil spill clean-up com-
pany involved in over 100 oil spills, college professor training oil spill
clean-up personnel for 11 years, etc.).
12 Majority, at 2713; Dissent, at 2714.
a —— ee!
A-27
trial court Order has been burst on appeal!3 and remand
should have resulted.
The majority (perhaps in keeping with the Testbank
concurrence) reached beyond the trial court holding being
appealed to produce a far-reaching exoneration of the ship-
ping industry from oil spill liability. Appellants certainly
did not appeal the trial court decision that oil on Galveston
beaches was foreseeable and Appellees launched no cross-
appeal on the matter.
IV.
FORESEEABILITY: THE “CONSOLIDATED” TEST
AND THE MAJORITY’S “NEW” ONE
As announced in Consolidated Aluminum Corp. v.
C.F. Bean Corp., 833 F.2d 65, 67 (5th Cir. 1987):
harm .. . (is) . . . foreseeable . . . if (1) harm of a
general sort (2) to persons of a general class (3)
might have been anticipated by a reasonably
thoughtful person, (4) as a probable result of the
act or omission, (5) considering the interpllay of
natural forces and likely human intervention.
(numbering and emph. added).
The majority, based on the “general class” of victims
element,!4 reasoned that if oil spill landfall at Galveston
was not predicated with certainty, then harm to the
Galveston Appelants was not — as a matter of law —
13 See, e.g., Nunley v. M/V Dauntless, 727 F.2d 455 (5th Cir. 1984) (Rest.
of Torts2d $§442, 447); Watz v. Zapata Offshore Co., 431 F.2d 100 (5th
Cir. 1970) (adopting Rest. of Torts2d $435[i)).
14Stip. Op.,at 2713.
A-28
foreseeable. this “certainty” requirement is not the Con-
solidated standard. The new standard deletes Con-
solidate’s ‘‘general class’’ element, substituting an onerous
‘predictable with certainty” element.
Consolidated’s “general class’’!5 is made up (at bar)
by Gulf Coast individuals and businessses. Unlike the ma-
jority, Consolidated does not require the victims to be iden-
tified with exactitude — prior to the oil spill landfall — but
only that the “general class” of victims be identifiable. cf:
Testbank, supra at 1026 (general class of “commercial
fishermen were foreseeable, Plaintiffs whose interests .. .
(Defendant) had a duty to protect... . ”’).
The majority's new standard reasons that one’s
harm is not foreseeable as a matter of law — anytime the
tortfeasor cannot predict the exact spot where harm would
be felt.16 Under this new standard, a Defendant shooting a
gun inte a crowd would be absolved from liability because
he did not know precisely who the bullet would hit! While
such might meet the suggestion in Judge Gee’s
Testbank concurrence, it is not the correct
“foreseeability” test.17
15 It is noteworthy that Consolidated dealt with persons and businesses
suffering harm up to 6 miles inland; Appellants at bar suffered harm
within 300 yards inland.
16 Sip, Op., at 2714.
17 The panel majority agrees that “Appellee might reasonably an-
ticipate that the oil might wash ashore somewhere. . . ”* (Slip. Op., at
2713) but concludes that since the precise coastal point to be hit by the
oil spill ‘‘bullet’’ was not foreseeable, neither was the harm. (Jd). Thus,
the panel majority reasons that — since Appellees did not precisely
know that the oil spill would wash ashore in Galveston— Appellants’
harm was not foreseeable and Appellees were absolved of liability.
i feos en - Smee em ae
THE COAST GUARD REPORT: ACCURATE PROJECTIONS
NOT IMMEDIATELY AVAILABLE BUT CONCERN FOR
GALVESTON RAISED 1 DAY AFTER SPILL
The Coast Guard Report reflects that the computer
— generated ‘‘modeling and simulation studies’’ were pro-
duced in Seattle, Washington (Coast Guard Report, Appen-
dix IIB). The “studies ” did not include ‘‘on scene” obser-
vations, and specifically noted that
(tjo improve the accuracy of these trajectory
estimates, on scene observations .. . are
necessary. With such date . . . forecasting pro-
cedures could be initiated. . . . (emph. added).
While accuraate projections were not available (due to lack
of computer staff on-site observations),!® the Coast Guard
raised concern for damage to Galveston as early as July
31st — 1 day after the spill! (Coast Guard Report, at 4). On
August Ist, the computer staff met with Galveston of-
ficials (Id. at 5). On August 2nd ‘“‘boom deployment”’ at
Galveston Bay was planned. (Id, at 6) and a formal “‘alert”’
issued to Galveston officials (Id, at 6-7). The next day —
August 3rd — “the (tanker) owners’ representatives
established a command post . . . in Galveston” and began
hiring cleanup crews. (Id, at 7) “Over 200 miles of
coastline” was at risk (Id). That day — August 3rd — oil
began to wash ashore in Galveston (Jd).
Thus, while the majority adopts Appellees’ loose
reading of a map as the fulcrum for the decision, the Coast
Guard was expressing concern for oil spill harm to
18 This was remedied by the agreement of the computer staff to come
to Texas on August Ist. (Coast Guard Report, at 4-5).
A-30
Galvesston as early as July 31st — 1 day after the oil spill!
w VI.
1-IN-5- PROBABILITY OF HARM IS NOT ENOUGH
FORESEEABILITY AS A MATTER OF LAW?
Using Appellees’ argument (based loosely on a map),
the majority relied on “‘data’’ reflecting a 1-in-5 probability
of harm to populated Gulf Coast areas like Galvestson.!9
This 20% chance of harm is not enough foreseeability — as
a matter of law — under the majority’s new test‘ a 20%
chance of harm, thus, presents no fact issue to bar Sum-
mary Judgment! this new standard is accurately portrayed
by the dissent as enough to relieve one of liability for
shooting into a crowd, simply because the tortfeasor may
not have been exactly sure who the “bullet” would hit.?°
Clearly, the majority’s new standard is simply an exonera-
tion of the shipping industry from oil spill responsibility.?!
cf: Testbank, supra at 1032-3 (Gee, J., concurring).
WHEREFORE PREMISES CONSIDERED, Ap-
pellants pray that Rehearing be granted and, upon such,
the April 4th majority opinion be vacated, the trial court
judgment be reversed and remanded, costs be assessed
against Appellees and for such other and further relief as
may be just.
19 Slip. Op., at 2713 (340 miles of coastline, 60 miles being populated,
yields an approximate 1-in-5 probability of oil spill landfall).
20 Slip. Op., at 2714.
21 Id.
A-31
Respectfully submitted,
/ McLEOD, ALEXANDER, POWEL
& Apffel, P.C.
By: /s/ E. A. Apffel, Jr.
ERVIN A. APFFEL, JR.
Federal I.D. -2571
By: /s/ Otto D. Hewitt, III
OTTO D. HEWITT, III
Federal I.D. -283
By: _/s/ Michael L. Neely
MICHAEL L. NEELY
Federal I.D. -7295
802 Rosenberg; P. O. Box 629
Galveston, Texas 77553
(409) 763-2481; (713) 488-715 5
ATTORNEYS FOR APPELLANT
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE
I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the
foregoing has been forwarded to all counsel of record
(counsel list attached) on this 2nd day of May, 1989.
/s/__ Otto D. Hewitt, III
OTTO D. HEWITT, III
A-32
ATTORNEY PARTY
James Patrick Cooney Lloyd’s Leasing, Ltd.
John Elsley Cammell Laird Shipbuilders
Lisa Wesley Alvenus Shipping Co., Ltd.
Royston, Rayzor, Vickery & Silver Line, Ltd.
Williams Silver Navigation, Ltd.
2200 Texas Commerce Tower Capt. Rudyard Cecil Shipley
Houston, TX 77002
Theodore Dimitry ) Conoco, Inc.
Henry S. Morgan
Vinson & Elkins
2600 First City Tower
Houston, TX 77002-6760
Ms. Mee Lon Lam U S Army Corps of
U. S. Dept. of Justice Engineers
Civil Division-Torts Branch
Aviation & Admiralty Section
P. O. Box 14271, Ben
Lester Lautenschlaeger Lake Charles Pilots Assoc.
Oberhelman .
424 Gravier Street, Suite 300
New Orleans, LA 70130
A-33
Charles R. Houssiere, III Bob White, et al
Robert K. Schaffer (Claimants)
Houssiere & Durant
1990 Post Oak Boulevard,
Suite 810
Houston, TX 77056
Ralph K. Harrison Mitchell Energy, et al
Mitchell Energy & Develop- (Claimants)
ment Corp.
P. O. Box 400 ©
The Woodlands, TX 77380
Susan Theisen State of Texas
Energy & Environmental Pro- (Claimants)
tection Div.
P. O. Box 12548
Austin, TX 78711-2548
Wendell Radford Stephen O. Johnson, et al
Benckenstein, Oxford, (Claimants)
Radford & Johnson
P. O. Box 150
Beaumont, TX 77704
Henry Oncken . United States
U.S. Attorney
515 Rusk Avenus, 12th Floor
Houston, TX 77002
Ervin A. Apffel, Jr. Willis Lucas, et al
W. Daniel Vaughnm J. L. Sasser, et al
Michael L. Neely City of Galveston
McLeod, Alexander, Acapulco Homeowners
Powel & Apffel Assoc., et al
802 Rosenberg, P. O. Box 629 James Bates, et al
Galveston, TX 77553 Ski Trek, Inc.
A-34
OF COUNSEL FOR J. L. SASSER, ET AL CLAIMANTS:
Michael T. Gallagher
Richard Hogan, Jr.
Fisher, Gallagher, Perrin & Lewis
70th Floor Allied Bank Plaza
1000 Louisiana
Houston, TX 77002
13.
14.
A-35
APPENDIX E
“TRACKING DAMAGE” CLAIMANTS
Willis Lucas,. Individually and d/b/a The Reef Con-
dominium Asscciation.
The Commodore Hotel, a partnership.
Las Palmas, Inc.
Galvestson First Financial Corp. d/b/a Econo Lodge
of Galveston.
Leisure Services, Inc.
Larry L. May d/b/a May’s Concessions.
Pam Walker, Individually and d/b/a Beach Pocket
park #1 Concession, a partnership.
Carolyn Johnson, Individually and d/b/a Beach
Pocket part #1 Concession, a partnership.
Dennis Swearingen, Individually and d/b/a Beach
Pocket park #1 Concession, a partnership.
GTG/Sanric Galveston Joint Venture d/b/a Ramada
Inn.
Beryl Ames.
Morris L. Bayard.
Russell S. and Barbara P. Bentley.
William H. Berry.
26.
27.
&
Ps
30.
31.
32.
A-36
Jane S. Bickel.
Margaret P. Buchanan.
Richard L. Burleson.
Leoncio Z. Campos.
Herbert V. Carson, Jr.
Douglas H. Cashmore.
Fred A. ond Iva Cash.
Archie T. Chapman.
Walter C. Cherry.
Thomas J. Couinard.
Marion R. Clark.
Charles F. Cole.
Walter C. Corbin.
P. Richard and Carolyn M. Dalton
Jerald L. Darnold.
Carol L. Davis.
David F. Decort.
John D. Dedivitis.
33.
34.
35.
36.
37.
38.
39.
40.
41.
42.
43.
44.
45.
46.
47.
48.
49.
50.
A-37
Melba Joy Derrick.
Jack Q. Dunaway.
Mitchell Duncan.
Roger M. Feig.
Anthony and Margaret Filyk.
John M. Floyd. ;
Emery and Lillian Fontenot.
Stephen State
Phillip E. Grossman.
J. M. Haggard.
Garnet M. Heishman.
Michael T. Hennings.
Mack D. Hickman.
Sally A. Hintz. |
Dennis O. and Diane K. Holiday.
Diane M. Hood.
Thomas Grant Johnson.
Vance Jow.
66.
67.
A-38
Vic F. Jue. -
Joseph L. Jurica.
Charles R. Kelly.
Anthony M. Kindred.
Cliff C. and Hazel S. Laborde, Jr.
Paul R. Lawrence.
Saul G. Levin.
Michael A. Levine, M.D.
Charies J. Loew.
Ronald Eugene Lohec.
William S. Magness.
Hugh L. Mayo.
Luc C. R. Mazzini.
Carol McAndrews.
Jerry P. and Constance A. Metz.
Thelma M. Moore.
Delilah J. Morgan.
Robert Norris.
sD i a i
A-39
James K. Owens.
Lorraine Panfilli.
Archie F. Panfilli, Jr.
Mark A. and Karen M. Peterson.
Roger and Jill Peterson.
Robert J. Phillips.
Horacio A. and Carole B. Prado.
Tom W. Ritter.
John M. T. Ros.
Thomas V. Ryan.
Anthony D. Sabino
Joseph J. Saia.
Bobby S. Sallee.
J. H. and Lindsay Samuel.
Frank G. Satterfield.
Harold H. Schierloh.
Donald S. Schiller.
Arthur J. Schroeder.
103.
104.
A-40
Walter A. and Leona F. W. Schroeder.
Richard Scobey.
Robert R. Scott.
Charles E. Shaver.
Hasdell Sheinberg.
Billy Bob Shiflett.
Louis A. Sordahl.
— - --
Gerald W. Spotts.
Dennis S. Stepanik.
Stanley R. Strassburg.
Nick and Mary H. Suciu, Jr.
R. E. Sullivan, M.D.
L. W. and Hazel S. Surratt.
R. E. Sullivan, M.D.
Alan L. and Renee N. Tucei.
Neal Lloyd Wallach.
Jimmy E. Walters.
Douglas Watts.
105.
106.
A-41
Kenneth W. Westra.
Cyril Wolf. _
David L. Wolf.
James A. Woodward.
Eugene J. Woznicki.
Rajendran and Poh-Chooh Ambiavagar.
Hal F. Anders.
Ivan Dale Browne.
Julian Byrd.
C. Ronald Capps.
Charter Financial Group.
David Cisco.
Robert W. Clum.
Melvin E. and Mary Cowart.
Clark Griswold.
Robert A. Gritta
Stephen W. C. Holbrook.
Charles Hunsinger.
123.
124.
125.
126.
127.
128.
129.
130.
131.
182.
133.
134.
135.
A-42
Ralph Douglas James.
Leonard Leon.
Raymond Ludena.
Roy McIntosh.
Charles E. Neumann.
Hugh E. Parsons.
Richard C. Redpath.
Ernest Richardson.
Raul Rivera.
Richard Rothfeld.
Walter J: Teachworth, Individually and d/b/a
Sherwood Village.
Ann Keeling.
James Karolik.
jf. pasts Py) eee en a eR ES oe
A-43
IN THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FIFTH CIRCUIT
CAUSE NO. 88-2450
IN THE COMPLAINT AND PETITION OF LLOYDS
LEASING, LTD., AS OWNER AND CAMMEL LAIRD SHIP-
BUILDERS, LTD. AND ALVENUS SHIPPING COMPANY,
LTD., AS CHARTERS AND OWNERS PRO HAC-VICE OF
THE M/T ALVENUS, HER ENGINES, TACKLES, ETC.
Appellees/Petitioners
V.
CONOCO, INC.
Appellees/Third Party
Defendants/Claimants
V.
BOB WHITE, ET AL
Appellants/Claimants/
Third Party Plaintiffs
TO THE HONORABLE JUDGES OF SAID COURT:
COMES NOW, APPELLANTS, BOB WHITE;
JAMAICA BEACH IMPROVEMENT COMMITTEE;
GEORGE M. WILSON; JOSEPH A. SHAIA; CAPTAIN
TOM E. DORAN; WINDSOR T. and HELEN M.
ANDERSON; WILLIAM J. HITZHUSEN; MARION
TRAVIS and DOLORES ANN PAIR; JERRY KNAUFF;
DWIGHT R. BOREL; FRANCIS M. DARR, JR.; GOR-
DON SCHRADER; WILLIAM C. SHADDOCK;
ROBERT J. MOORE; JERRY R. SCHRADER;
A-44
LAWRENCE R. ELBERT; BRIGGS MOTOR COM-
PANY; JAMES DAVID BRIGGS AND HUGH ROGERS
FERGUSON as Independent executors of the Estate of
Luella Grace Briggs, hereinafter Appellants, and files this
their Brief in the
yt.
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.