Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Marker v. Rieschel

Supreme Court brief1989

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

THE FOLLOWING PAGES WERE POOR HARD COPY

AT THE TIME OF FILMING. IF AND WHEN A

BETTER COPY CAN BE OBTAINED, A NEW FICHE

WILL BE ISSUED.

weniaiihine

Ld

/

}

° AG

Supreme Court, U.S.

89-284 | FILED

No.

3 we

PANIOL, JR.

AERK

IN THE {

Supreme Court of the Hnited —— -

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

JAMES A. MARKER, JR., AND BEVERLY J.

MARKER,

“Petitioners,

Vv.

WAYNE K. RIESCHEL, et al.

Respondents.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals for the

Eighth Circuit :

James A. Marker, Jr., and

Beverly J. Marker, pro se.

P.O. Box A

Langley AFB, Va 23665

(804) 766 2196

Beverly J. Marker

217 East 2nd St. So.

Newton, Iowa 50208

(alternate address

when in midwest)

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether tolling under 50 USC Appx.

sec. 525 applies to an action that has

already been duly filed and served under

the applicable statute of limitations.

The 8th Cir.Ct. says yes, the 3rd Cir.Ct.

and the Sup.Ct. Penn. say no.

2. Whether 50 USC Appx. sec. 525

applies to career service persons as

implied by the 8th Cir.Ct. or does not

apply to a career serviceman as held by

the 11th Cir.Ct.

3. Whether a stay shall be granted

under 50 USC Appx. sec. 521 when the

trial court's finds the ability of the

plaintiff to prosecute an action is

materially affected by his military

service or words to that effect: "...will

accept the facts ... relative to the

interference of his military service in

effectively prosecuting this case...".

€1i>

—_ Whether a dismissal without

prejudice of a military plaintiff's

action, for damages, after the statute of

limitations has run for co-plaintiffs

violates the seventh amendment or other

rights of co-plaintiff when "Demand for

Jury Trial” was made on complaint.

_5. Whether any factors taken into

ee

“consideration should be any different for

etlitery plaintiff under 50 USC App. sec.

501 et seq., than military defendant when

a sec. 521 stay is sought, and plaintiff

has prayed for an injunction to prevent

irreparable injury in the interim:

6. Whether abstention is fatal defect

in a case where a service man is seeking

a Stay and injunctive relief under the

Soldiers’ and Sailors’ Civil Relief Act,

when the service man is not party to any

other action, and the issues raised will

not be addressed in any action a

co-plaintiff may be a party to.

(iid

7. Whether when a defendant party is

in default, can the military plaintiff

ask the Court to consider the

constitutionality of any act, systen,

law, or relief requested as it pertains

to the party in default when the request

for a Stay is acted upon.

{ The 7th question contains within it

subsidiary questions that fall well

within the injunctive relief (36a-39a)

asked for in the complaint filed Nov.

27, 1987, some examples follow. ]

7a. Whether Dallas County refusal to

provide the services of the sheriff's and

prosecutcr'’s office on a equal basis to

plaintiffs violates plaintiff's rights to

equal protection.

_7b>. Whether Dallas County has an

obligation to select those in the local

justice system by a method that assures

plaintiff's a fair decisional process and

an impartial decisionmaker. Does lack of

€iii)d

Such system violate plaintiff's right's

to due process or other rights.

_7c. Whether Dailas County has a duty

under the U.S. Constitution to respect

all federally protected rights and to

take positive or affirmative action to

assure due process and equal protection

of the laws to all that come within their

jurisdiction, for example the plaintiffs.

Attorneys for respondents:

Robert W. Schroff, counsel for Mr.

Rieschel, Suite 203, 2135 E. Sunshine,

Springfield, Mo. 65804

Richard S. Magruder, counsel for Mr. Cox,

Suite 300, 801 Walnut, Kansas City, Mo.

64106

Rodney E. Loomer, caunsel for Mr. and

Mrs. Burtin, P.O. Box 4043, Springfield,

Missouri, 65808

Party in Default: Dallas County, Mo.

TABLE OF CONTEETS

Page

Opinions below .. 0... ccc cece erences 1

FUPMAGAGSCEGR 2.2 ik i is cee pees eee 2

Civ)

Constitutional and Statutory

provisions tavolvad ... 1... ees

Jurisdiction of the District Court..

STATEMBRT 2c eee ee ee cence

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

i. Conflict with lower Courte....:...

2.-Conflict with: lower Courts........

3. Conflict with this Court.. Perry ae

4. Constitutional violation .........

5. 50 USC Appx section 521 has never

been interpreted for a military

plaintiff by this Court,

oe ee ee ee ee ee ee

6. Inproper application of abstention

7. Major social issues and party in

og th eerweerrrrn rawr a ee yee ee ee

ee ere ee ee rer ee ree

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

BEACON THEATRES v. WESTOVER (1959)

359 U.S. 500,

ee ee ee

Cv)

25

38

40

Page

Cases: Page

BOONE v LIGHTNER (1943) 319 US 561,at

571-575, 87 L Bd 15867, 6S S Ct i223,

Teh Gen 320 VS GOS... ccc vrs vvces 22, 32

BROWN v BOARD OF EDUCATION <1954)

347 U.S. 483, 74 S.Ct. 686,

Se RR ee eee eee cree eee 15

CONTINENTAL ILLINOIS NAT. BANK & TRUST

CO. v UNIVERSITY OF NOTRE DAME

(1946 Sup.Ct. ILL) 394 [11 584,

ee ek ee CO CPE: 8k 6 NS Oe ee 8s 31

CURTIS v LOETHER (1974) 415 U.S. 189,

at 194-196, 94 S.Ct. 1005,

~ ee” Ae” rr ee ee 24

DAIRY QUEEN v WOOD (1962) 369 U.S. 469

BS BS. CtS BOE, GOT... wcrc ccc nnwrvvvaes 24

DECK HOUSE v WEW JERSEY ST. BD. OF

ARCHITECTS (1982) 531 F.Supp. 633

UR eee are ee eee ee 39

GIBSON v BERRYHILL (1973) 411 U.S. 564,

93 S.Ct 1689, 1698, 1699,

36 L. Bd2d 488 (1973)... .....00 ees ae

HECK v. ANDERSON (1944 Sup.Ct. Ia)

234 Iowa 379, 12 NWed 849,851-853... 27

KIRCHBERG V FEENSTRA (1981) 450 US 455

at 460,461, 101 S.Ct. 1195,

OF £, BA Ba GBS. . wer wrsesnecnsnanesens 4a

KNOX COUNTY v HARSHMAH (1890)

10 S.Ct. 257,258, 133 U.S. 152,

BS 2. BM. BOG. ccc cere cae eas. 42

KUSPER v PONTIKES (1973) 94 S.Ct. 303°

GE BOG, DOP cc cvcsamasesrcncenees 39, 49

LIGHTNER v.BOOWE (1942 Sup.Ct. W.C.>)

22 S.B.2d 426,426 (3) ....... eee, 22

MASON v TEXACO IWC. (10th Cir. 1958)

862 F2d 242,245 2... ccc e ever ercenenes 21

McCAHCE v. LINDAU (Md. App. 1985)

492 A. 2G 1952, 19SS 2... cc esc cccenvnes 21

PANNELL v. CONTINENTAL CAN CO.

(Sth Cir.1977) 554 Fed 216,225 (13). 20

«vid

Cases: Page

PATRIKES v J.C.H. SERVICE STATIONS INC.

18C Misc 917,922-924

41 NYS2nd 158,166, affd 180 Misc 927,

46 WYS2d 233, (1943 Sup.Ct. W.Y.)

app den 266 App Div 924,

ee PE EE. 6-0 0A Sew © Nod 2 ew ae 25, 27

PERNELL v. SOUTHALL REALITY (1974)

416 U.S. 363, 94 S.Ct. 1723,1727,

ee aks On OE, 8 6 4A Gas BAS Ke Oa 8 OS 24

SELMER v OERTWIG (1943 Sup. la.»

os. 6S OUD, eee eee eee 28, 27

TAHIR v GLENN L. MARTIN CO.

(4th Cir. 1941) 116 F.2d 864,871.... 34

THOMPSON v REEDMAN (1961)

wea FO Bary EOE 6806s ss pees 34

TUMEY v STATE OF OHIO (1927)

ae ek ee, ee EE eer ee eer 47

UNITED STATES v COUNTY COURT (1887)

1g@e U.S. 306, F &.Ce °’lvi,ii7s ..... 43

WARD v VILLAGE OF MONROEVILLE, OHIO

(1972) 93 S.Ct. 80, 82-846 11(2,3](4). 47

WILLIAMS v RED BANK BD. of BEd.,

(Srd Cir. 1981) 662 F.2d 1008,1024.. 40

ZARLINSKY v LAUDENSLAGER

(1961 Sup.Ct. Pa) 402 Pa 290,

Ry Bh. OG Dr ge CMe a's 0h 6 0 Ws ne wwe 18

ZITOMER v HOLDSWORTH (3rd cir. 1971)

SGD FBG FORT santa bk asa ser ceecess i7

ZWICKLER v. KOOTA <1967) 389 U.S. 241,

GE &. CU. 3O1, FOS wc ncccccns ‘Ase eeuses 39

Constitution, statutes, and regulation:

United States Constitution: Page

art. I, @ec. 10, par. 1 O22 ..... 4, Si:

Art. III, sec. 2, par. 1.. 3,4, 40, Sil

Ore. C80, GBG. By, BOR. & .ccanecs 4, $1

Art. IV, sec. 2, par. 1. 3,4,25,49, 51

Are. Vi, BOR. BOD occsceece 4, 48, 51

First Amendment Art.I ...... 3,4,25, 51

Fifth Amendment Art.V ... 3,4,25,47, 51

(vii)

United States Constitution: Page

Seventh Amendment Art.VII 3,4,24, 51

inth Amendment Art.IX ..... 3,4,25, 51

Fourteenth Amendment Art. XIV...........

TERETE 4, 39, 47, 48, 49, 51, S2

Federal Code - Title

2B USC eco. 12546 2. ww ccc cer eesnecnes 2

2B VRC GOS. ASDE onc ccc ccc ecreceens 4

QB UHC GOS. ASSS 2c ccc screws escrens 4

2B USC SOC. ASES 2. n ccc recess envens +

Ge Gi OC. Be. 8 eee ee ee a ee &, Sa

42 USC @ec. 1965 ....cseenes 4&.- Ga

42 URC GOC. 19GB 2. cc ccccs swans 4, 52

ar. cs ns EE hg ca WO fw 0 ee so 0 ee ‘,. we

50 USC App sec. 501 et seq.... 3, 5, 17

re ee SP Se Th ee ERE OTe 25, 40, 41

50 USC App sec. 464 ........5055. 3, 21

50 USC App sec. 466 (C).......056. 3, 21

50 USC App sec.Si10 .... cee ceee, 3, 27

50 USC App sec. 511 .......... « oe FF

50 USC App sec. 515 .......... >, VV, 32?

50 USC App sec. S20 ......... 3, 25, 31

50 USC App sec. 521 a, 3. 3, VF. TF,

.... 19, 20, 26, 31, S2, 33, 34, 36, 37

SQ USC App SOC. S23 . ww crc cree cnn evens

50 USC App sec. S24 .... cee ee reeces 37

50 USC App sec. 525

TrrrrTrr teers e s 3 & iv, 16, 19, 37

SO USC: App Sec. SSH onc cece c ees nnnvveas

(In 3rd Circuit Opinion Appendix 4a)

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure:

mee. 2. GSO. FP. BRR GB sac cesusesace 3, 41

Pee. B.COe.P. Be BE sees easier 3, 34

Ped. 8. Gie. FP. Behe BD wcosessesss 3, 27

Pee. S. Gi. PF. BOA De sacccocesa 3, 42

Local Court Rule of The United States

District Court For The

Of Missouri:

‘Rule i. F. Attorneys

(viii

Western District

)

Missouri Law Page

Missouri Constitution Art.5 sec.i6 ..4,50

Missouri Revised Statutes:

ee ee en ee ae ee 3, 41

ee ee ee ee ee ee 3, 41

(as effective when complaint filed)

ROPE Was GA onc 4A 654 Senet 48 2 4, 45, S50

oh x 4 AE EE eS Ce ee Pe 3, 42

EN crs 5 a aw oe wc es ae 4, 44

x Pe kis 435 <-004ls als WSs ae ee a ek 4, 42

eT RS ar Peer aor tc OF on Sorat ope 4, 42

Ce 666 e Ue an eee wks salhaa es Or ee

PCS. 4% 60% Can we eee hao eee 4, 42

Cix>-

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

JAMES A. MARKER, JR., et al.

Petitioners,

Vv.

WAYNE K. RIESCHEL. et al.

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

EIGHTH CIRCUIT

Petitioners James and Beverly Marker

respectfully petition oe a writ of

certiorari to review the opinion of the

United States Court of Appeals for the

Eighth Circuit and the decision of the

District Court in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeais

is not reported. (la-6a). The two orders

and judgment of the district court are

not reported. (6a-13a). However, photo-

copies of the above ee of the other

appended materials were filed with this

court cn May 26, 1989 when additional

time was requested.

JURISDICTION

The opinion of the court of appeals

(la-6a) was entered on January 9, 1989.

A petition for rehearing was denied March

8, 1989 (la). On May 30, 1989 Associate

Justice Harry A. Blackmun of the Supreme

Court extended the time within which to

file a petition for a writ of certiorari

to July 6, 1989 and on June 26, 1989

further extended the time to August 5,

1989. The jurisdiction of this Court is

invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254.

CORSTITUTIOWAL AWD STATUTORY

PROVISIONS. INVOLVED

1. 50 USCS Appx sec. 525 (78a-79a) of

main interest. Also mentioned: 50 USCS

Appx sec. 521 (75a-76a).

2. 50 USCS Appx sec. 525 (78a-79a) of

main interest. Also mentioned: 50 USCS

Appx sections 464, 466 ‘c) (70a) 511,

(7la-72a), 5S2il (75a-76a).

3. 50 USCS Appx sec. 521 of main inter-

est (75a-76aa). Also: sec. 525 (78a-79a).

4. The 7Th amendment to the United States

Constitution (57a) of main interest. Aiso

mentioned: the lst, Sth, & 9th amendments

(56a-57a) and Art.IV, sec. 2 par.1

privileges and immunities (55a-56a).

5. 50 USCS Appx sec. 501 et seq., in

relevant part ‘69a-79a). Fed.R.Civ.P.

Rules 15 & 19 (80a-8la). Fed.R.Civ.P.

Local Rule 1.F. (39a-41la) Western Dist.

of Mo.

6. Art. III, sec. 2, par. 1 <SSa)

50 USCS Appx sec. 501 et seq. is also

mentioned (69a-79a).

7. Mo. Law 56.360 (87a-88a), Fed.R.Civ.P.

4 (80a) and 55 (81la-82a), Mo. Law 506.140

and 506.150 (83a-84a), of main interest.

3

Also mentioned: Mo. Law: 56.010, 56.060,

56.065, 56.070, 56.110, 56.631 (84a-88a) ;

U.S. Const. (55a-58a), 42 USC sections

1983, 1985, 1986, 1988 ‘(61la-69a). Mo.

Const. Art.5 sec.16 (page 50).

JURISDICTION OF THE DISTRICT COURT

The cause of action stated on the civil

cover sheet was:

"u.S. Constitutional and other State

and Federal Violations including but

not limited to: 42 USC 1985 & 42 USC

1983 and others, both Federal and

State." The Federal Question and

Diversity blocks were marked.

Diversity and amount in controversy

exceeds $10,000 exclusive of costs and

interest were also mentioned in the

complaint. All this seems basically to

be covered by: 28 USC sections 1331,

1332, 1343 (59a-61a)

At the end of the appendix is a list of

contents where the page location of each item in

the appendix may be found for easy reference. I

have tried to include whatever law may be

relevant herein.

References td. pages followed by the letter “a”

are to the Appendix to the Petition for

Certiorari.

STATEMENT

In 1940, Congress enacted the Soldiers’

and Sailors’ Civil Relief Act ‘to replace

the earlier Act of 1918) to protect the

legal and other interests of servicemen

and their families. It has been in the

Nation's military defense interest in

both times of peace and war to provide

the protection this Act offers. Congress

has shown their cont inued support for the

Act by reviewing it and making amendments

from time to time over the last 71 years.

i

The first six questions are primarily

federal questions about the Soldiers’ and

Sailors’ Civil Relief Act of 1940 as

amended, revised and as it is applicable

to this case, also referred to as 50 USC

Appx. sec. 501 et seq. (69a-79a). Part of

the matter before this Court at this

time, in the first six questions, is

whether or not a Stay under sec. 521 of

the Act (75a-76a) and the additional

5

relief requested shouid have been granted

by the district court or whether the

action taken by the district court: to

dismiss without prejudice, holding out

sec. 525 of the Act (78a-79a) as

protection for both plaintiffs will

protect this service man and his family

under the Act as congress intended.

Several of the questions mentioned

above involve conflict between the

different appeals courts or where state

courts of last resort disagree with

appeals courts. Constitutional questions

that have not, but should be answered by

this Court for all those so situated, are

part of the 6th and 7th question.

The complaint contained: "Demand for

Jury Trial"; prayer for monetary damages

for injures suffered and an injunction

sought to avoid further irreparable

injury; also a request to amend at a

later date for the pro se plaintiffs.

6

The action taken by the district court

amounts to @ final judgment as far as

co-plaintiff is concerned because, as the

appeals court and other courts has agreed

the tolling provision does not apply to

military dependents as some other parts

of the Act do. The district court had

the duty to stay the action, under the

Act sec. 521 in regards to all parties:

plaintiffs and also non-military

defendants, once they accepted the fact

that Major Marker'’s military duty did in

fact materially affect, or interfered in

his "effectively prosecuting this case”.

sec. 511, 513, 521 (7la-73a, 75a-76a).

We, the petitioners, do not believe the

opinion of the appeals court correctly

reflects the facts in this case, both as

mentioned above and in the following:

The injunction that was requested was

quite different than what was understood

or stated by the appeals court. We filed

this case asking for injunctive relief,

that would compel the county és provide

equal protection and services on an equal

basis with other citizens ‘and reforms)

so that our family and I could hopefully

be safe in the area to facilitate a

resolution of problems that could not be

done by long distance. As you can see

from the injunction requested in the

complatat, a state action was never asked

to be stayed by the Fed. Cts. (36a-39a).

A reading of the request for injunctive

relief and Attorney Lynch’s letter (41la-

47a), and other items from the District

Court. record will reveal the true nature

and purpose of the request for injunctive

relief. Please see Major Markers letter

(25a-27a, par 15-25) also.

Without law enforcement protection I

cannot remain in the area long enough to

resolve anything. We have been trying to

find a way to get the law enforcement

protection we need ever since these

problems began. Attorney Lynch began

representing me on a state action in

middle of 1986. He had represented my

husband earlier in an effort to get a

special prosecutor.

The 8Th Circuit Court opinion states

that the complaint requested a Stay until

1995 when my husbands service ends, this

is in error. My husband does not know,

nor did he know when the complaint was

written when his service would end (27a

para. 24). I later suggested a date

because case law seemed to indicate that

a date was required.

The seventh question concerns the party

in default, Dallas County, and is one

that eddresses important constitutional

questions that again have not but should

also be settled by this Court. They are

matters that might affect anyone from the

larger more heterogeneous population of

the United States who might choose to

travel through, or move to, a very rural

homogeneous area of this country where

hostility exists towards many outsiders,

especially those with different beliefs,

values, skin color, or with family and

friends that are different.

We filed this case because we believed

Dallas County, Mo., and the respondents

violated our civil rights in several

ways, inclucing our rights to equal

protection because of the counties

refusal to provide the services of the

sheriff and prosecutors office on an

equal basis with other citizens. Because

of this repeated refusal of law enforce-

ment protection in face of a variety of

wrongful acts committed by the client of

the local county prosecutor, we the

petitioners, and our other family members

found we could not safely remain in the

area and enjoy our property located in

10

Dallas County, Missouri.

4

The petitioners are a military couple

from Aiaska: Major James A. Marker Jr. is

a career military man who has devoted his

life to law enforcement and the military.

He was a Chief of Police and a Squadron

Commander when the complaint was filed.

The Markers have very equalitarian views

and family members of mixed blood, both

distant and closer family members,

including Indian grandchildren, and also

have a well know historical figure on the

family tree who was instrumental in

abolishing slavery. The petitioners had

no problems with the respondents from

1979, when they were transferred from

Alaska, until after some of the above,

and other similar information, was re-

vealed in 1984. We believe our problems

began with, and were motivated by the

above revelations. Unknown to us at the

time was the fact that white surpremacict

11

activity was wide spread in the county

and area.

Since 1984 there has been wide variety

of harassments where the prosecutors

client: Mr. Burtin, was either a known

participant (sometimes aided by his

friends and relatives) or was the only

person known to be in the area when

various acts occurred, including ‘amongst

many other actions): gun fire near our

house; threats of various types; physical

assaults; attempt on my life; burning of

property; theft and/or damage to

property, both real and personal; regular

removal of no trespassing signs; efforts

to run people off we sent to check on the

place after we found it too unsafe to

stay there because of the repeated re-

fusal of the sheriff to respond to calls

for help, and the lack of help from any

other county officials. We believe we

will be able to show at trial that Mr.

l2

all

Burtin and his friends were clearly aided

by the actions and inactions of the chee

respondents and that there was a

conspiracy to violate our civil rights.

However that is not at issue today.

Jim sought a special prosecutor over

only a part of the criminal acts commit-

ted (where there was plenty of witnesses

and evidence). It was only with great

difficulty and expense that one was

reluctantly appointed. The appointee

immediately dismissed the complaint

without looking at our evidence, talking

to our witnesses, to us, or Jim's lawyer.

We believe we have evidence we couid have

produced, had the county responded and

this matter gone to trial, that the

county judge, now the circuit judge,

acted inproperly to influence the special

prosecutor. In addition he threatened

Jim with a writ of execution if he did

not pay for the special prosecutor's

13

services in that criminal action. Jim

paid it "under protest” in spite of the

fact we had never heard of the victim of

a crime being required to do so.

Dallas County is a very rural area with

a county seat of 2,217, as of the last

census. Because of information and evi-

dence provided to us we have since found

out the county to be made up of a very

racist electorate who have voted in their

sheriff, judge, prosecutor, and circuit

judge from individuals who grew up in

Dallas County. These officials must de-

pend on the good will of their friends -

and relatives, to be elected and reelect-

ed. In addition the local county prose-

cutor/attorney is allowed to have private

clients. It appears that this practice

has clearly become an effective tool of

white supremacists in the area who wish

to keep the area for their own, without

interference from law enforcement and the

14

justice systen.

Dallas County is located in a former

slave state that required segregation by

state law until this Courts actions

caused a change as a result of BROWN v

BOARD OF EDUCATION (1954) 347 U.S. 483.

That decision is still being struggled

with in Missouri's cities, where nearly

all her minorities are located, and is

yet to be fully and completely implement-

ed there. Little has changed in most of

the rural areas that Dallas County is a

part of over the years since BROWN except

the methods used to maintain the status

quo: more covert activity.

There has been very little else to

cause Dallas County to evolve in regards

to equality and respect for civil rights.

In fact we believe quite the opposite is

true. The white southerners who settled

much of Missouri were hostile to Indians

(50a). Today, there are no [Indian

15

reservations in Missouri. The high

population of minorities who voted for

change in the south since the 1960's are

not present. Others who might encourage

change, such as ourselves, seem to be

systematically ejected from the area.

We believe that such a system itself

and the laws and statutes on which it is

founded violates our rights to equal

protection and other rights, and also the

rights of others similarly situated who

might move to such an area. We further

believe the Burtin law suit in state

court was more of a guise and excuse for

other activity designed to get us and our

family out of the county and to hinder us

in obtaining any other relief.

Other materials from the record deemed

necessary to clarify the facts for the

purpose of this petition for a writ of

certiorari are included in the appendix

and will be referred to as appropriate.

16

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITIOB#

is This Court has never heard a case

about a career military plaintiff under

50 USC Appx. sec. 521 (75a-76a) and there

are several questions that have not been,

but should be, settled by this Court in

regards to the Soldiers’ and Sailors’

Civil Relief Act as it relates to

plaintiffs and the Act, and to resolve

conflict in the appeals and other courts.

The 8Th Cir. has held that my husband

can refile this action later as the

statute of limitations is tolled during

his military service. This is in direct

conflict with what the Srd Cir. has said

in regards to 50 USC Appx sec. 525:

ZITOMBR v HOLDSWORTH (3rd Cir.1971) 449

F.2d 724 at 726, "...This provision

affords him no relief; it simply tolls

the statute of limitations during the

period of military service and has no

applicability to an action duly filed

and served within the applicable

statute of limitations.” also:

17

ZARLINSKY v LAUDENSLAGER (1961 Sup.Ct.

Pa.> 167 &.a@ 317 at 320 (2) "™... this

Section expressly applies to the

limitation of time for bringing an

action, not to a limitation of time for

the continuing of process in an action

already brought ...”

If tolling is only for the "bringing of

any action” we have had no choice except

to ask this Court to clarify sec. 525

because to do less would risk the end of

even Major Marker's standing.

If the eighth circuit's opinion were to

stand it would create a severe burden on

both military plaintiffs and defendants.

It would mean a military plaintiff who

was concerned over the safety of his

family could file his case over and over

again seeking some sort of injunctive or

other relief from the Courts, creating

great expense for both plaintiff and

defendants. Wot to mention the extra

burden for the Courts themselves.

Whether a service man files an action and

18

asks for a stay under sec. 521 untii he

is either out of the service or whether

he waits until he is out and files an

action under sec. 525, the effect on

witnesses and evidence is the same. The

same amount of time is passed.

Once a case is filed it appears that

the military person should be given

reasonable protection, and sec. 521 must

be relied upon until — is out of

service or his circumstances change to

where he could prosecute his action.

a There is a conflict over the issue

oe

—_—_—___

of whether 50 USC sec. 525 is applicable

to career service persons between the

11Th Cir. and the 8Th Cir. I believe it

was clear to the district and circuit

courts that Major Marker is a career

serviceman from the papers filed (27a par

24). When a career serviceman is aware

of a case by a Federal Appeals Court,

such as the following Pannell case, the

19

only prudent course of action seems to be

to file his complaint within the

applicable statute of limitations and 4

for a Stay under sec. 521:

PANNELL v. CONTINENTAL CAN CO. (5th

Cir.1977) 554 Fed 216, 225 (13) "We are

of the opinion the the Soldiers’ and

Sailors' Civil Relief Act, 50

U.S.C. A.App. section 525 is

inapplicable to a career service man

like Cclonel Pannell....”

For a career man to file and ask for a

etay seems most appropriate when filing

later may not be possible, considering

PANNELL, and especially when one is look-

ing for some sort of injunctive relief

that will compel county officials to

preform their duties because the sheriff

will not respond to repeated calls for

help and assistance on a variety of dates

and situations, even those of a life

threatening nature, because the county

attorney/prosecutor has, or has had, the

perpetrator as a private legal client.

What we did was our only option. In

20

considering which Appeals Circuit is

correct I would call your attention to 50

USC Appx sec. 464, 466(c), 511 (38a-40a).

It important to us and others so situated

to know which court is correct.

McCANCE v. LINDAU 492 A.2d 1352

(Md.App. 1985) at 1355 disagreed with

Pannell and offers a good discussion of

the Act. The McCance couple had a bad

experience but it does not hold a candle

to the endless nightmare we have endured.

If we were to detail all that happened to

our family and ourselves several large

volumes would be needed. We have only

attempted to give a thumbnail sketch.

Another very recent case, in agreement

with McCANCE, that was decided since we

filed our case is MASON v TEXACO (10th

Cir.1988) 862 F.2d 242 at 245.

3. This unprecedented ruling by the

_—_—

_—

Bight Circuit seriously misconstrues

and/or is conflict with this Courts

21

decision in BOONE v LIGHTNER (1943) 319

US 561 at 571-575 in regards to what the

Obligations are of the district court

when it "...accepts the facts as set

forth in Major Marker'’s letter

relative to the interference of his

military service in effectively

prosecuting this case." (8a last para. &

lla-l3a) if there is any application of

BOONE v LIGHTNER to a plaintiffs action.

LIGHTWER v. BOONE (1942 Sup.Ct. N.C.) 22

S.E.2d 426 at 428 (3) further reveals the

trial court's reasoning in Boone.

Col. Ash's letter (14a-16a) and some of

the other papers in the record makes it

very clear that Jim's ability to

prosecute was materially affected. Jim

even tried to obtain a deferment from the

military to remain in Missouri, but was

unsuccessful. After that he even

submitted papers to leave the military

service-terminate his career-just a few

22

days before he was due to be promoted,

but the Air Force turned him down. I do

not know what else he could have known to

do legally to remain in Missouri to

resolve these problems (24a para. 14).

We now have copies of much of the Air

Force paperwork to substantiate those

efforts by my husband. Even as a

Commander and officer he did not know

what else he could do. ‘careeeas he

could not proceed unrepresented from half

a continent away, nor forget the problen.

The district court (l2a) makes refer-

ence to "...to the great prejudice of

plaintiffs in that by that time, evidence

may be lost and witnesses misplaced.”

and also talks about the rights of the

defendants. As already stated, there is

no difference in what happens to evidence

or witnesses whether a Stay is granted or

the case is tolled and filed later. The

same amount of time will have passed. A

23

stay does not make a judgement on defend-

ant/respondents, only preserves the day

for the case to be heard. However, the

rignonts of co-plaintiff are destroyed when

a case like this is dismissed rather than

stayed, and violates the 7th amendment.

. I believe the seventh amendment

protects the right to a jury trial ina

tort action for damages and other relief.

A "Demand for Jury Trail” was very

clearly made at the end of the complaint.

The language was very broad and I feel

certain it fell within the common law.

For the Federal District Court to dismiss

without prejudice was in effect to deny

me any right to be heard and to violates

my rights under the seventh amendment.

PERNELL v. SOUTHALL REALITY (1973) 94

S.Ct. 1723,1727, CURTIS v. LOBTHER (1974)

415 U.S. 189,194-196, DAIRY QUBEH v. WOOD

(1962) 82 S.Ct. 894,896,897, BEACON

THEATRES v. WESTOVER (1959) 79 S.Ct.

24

948,953-955, in addition to my due pro-

cess rights under the fifth, also ninth

amendment rights, and Art. IV, sec.2,

par.1. (55a-58a), plus my first amendment

rights to a redress of grievances.

Co-plaintiffs should not be penalized

because a military person's military duty

prevents his going to trial, when to deny

them a stay would cause injury to the

interests of the ai litary person:

PATRIKES v J.C.H. SERVICE STATIONS IWC.

180 Misc 917,923 (1943 Sup.Ct. N.Y.) app

den 266 App Div 924. Wor should any

party be denied their day in court:

SEMLER v OERTWIG (1943 Sup.Ct Ia.) 12

HW2d 265 at 275 (10-12).

5. The Soldiers' and Sailors' Civil

ae

Relief Act itself treats plaintiffs and

defendants in different ways. A careful

examination of the Act will reveal that

this is true. (69a-79a). i.e. 50 USCS

Appx sec. 520 (74a-75a) provides for

25

different protection for military

defendants than plaintiffs. Where a

military plaintiff has been injured and

is looking to the Court for injunctive

and other relief there would naturally be

different considerations than when the

serviceman was accused of causing grief

and injury to others. We would suggest

the following are some of the important

factere this Court may wish to address:

Distance from the Court; Co-plaintiffs

rights; Availability of appropriate

counsel; Local impediments to obtaining

unbiased counsel; Current status of

section 521 (Military lawyers view);

Efforts required of plaintiff to obtain

military dispensation; Conditional stay.

The distance from the Court's

jurisdiction seems a very important

consideration by itself. Absence when

ones rights are being decided or the lack

of opportunity to properly prepare for

26

OOO

trial is in itself prejudicial: HECK v.

ANDERSON (1944 Sup.Ct. Ia) 12 NWWed 849 at

851 (2,3) first para. The lowa Supreme

Court indicates at 852,853 (6-8) that a

stay could be granted to others, "...so

far as, necessary to protect the

interests of the service..." person, also

FATRIKES v J.C.H. SERVICE STATIONS INC.

180 Misc 917 at 922-924, (1943 Sup.Ct.

N.Y.) app den 266 App Div 924, and;

SEMLER v OERTWIG (1943 Sup.Ct Ia.) 12

NWed 265 at 275 (10-12). Certainly if

co-defendants are proper candidates for a

stay when the interests of the service

person are affected than certainly when

co-plaintiffs are wife or other of the

serviceman's financially dependant family

members, the actin should be stayed as to

all parties in the actic,. 50 USC Appx

sec. 513 mentions dependents, sec. 510

(70a-73a) Acts purpose, Fed.R.Civ.P. Rule

19 (80a-8la) joiner of persons needed.

27

ofl

We need to be together on this action.

Jim thought he had an attorney who

would represent him in this case in

September 1985, but as you can see from

Attorney Lynch's letter (41a-47a) it was

much too threatening to his practice to

challenge the local system. Mr. Lynch

helped us on other matters: Jim in 1965;

and than me in 1986, but could not bring

cimanve to do anything about what even he

saw as the real problem-the problem of

inequality in the Dallas County system.

Jim really never had a chance to try and

find another attorney in the area and my

efforts to find other attorneys found the

same problems Mr. Lynch had. Jim

discussed this problem in more detail in

his letter requesting a stay filed May

26, 1989 with this Court. Plenty of

lawyers thought the system needed

changing-but thought someone else should

do it, mentioning conflict of interest.

28

Some thought their practice would be

destroyed. ! have heard of endless

people hurt by the system as it is. I

think the only hope for change can come

from a suit such as ours.

The availability of unbiased Counsel

who's first concern is for the client and

the ability to freely consult with such

counsel, person to person, is very

important. Any restricting rules becomes

even more important when one is in

mtlitary service half a continent away.

When Fed.R.Civ.P. local rule 1.F.

restricts representation to the "Division

thereof” (39a-41la), this presents real

problems: obtaining representation that

is unbiased, the attorney is after all a

part of that same small legal community,

and his livelihood depends on their good

will; attorneys see a conflict of

interest in representing someone in a

suit that addresses problems that are

29

common to the other rural counties in

this very limited area; Some of the

problems | am addressing are similar to

what Mr. Lynch mentioned in his letter.

Local rule 1.F. seems to effectively

impede any action that would challenge

the local system abuses in this rural

area and impedes our ability to resolve

any-of our problems. Wot being lawyers

“ it hard to understand the purpose

of this Rule 1.F. It seems any good

decent lawyer from anywhere could handle

the matter. I have even wondered if this

did not constitute a restraint of trade?

We hope this court would look at this

rule and see if it needs modification, at

least where military, outsiders, etc. are

concerned in this type of case.

It seems that there should be pro-

visions in the rules to eliminate this

type of conflict of interest especially

for absent military persons and their

30

family members who are domiciled in

another state, and now stationed far from

the Court's jurisdiction and the area

where they were injured. He should have

the ability to have an attorney more of

his choosing without having to have an

attorney from the "division thereof”

rubber stamp the action. An unbiased

legal system and counsel seems the very

heart and soul of our judicial systen.

To refuse a Stay for many of the cases

where defendants are represented seems

reasonable. Especially since Courts will

frequently use section 520 (3) to appoint

an attorney. But to use the same yard

stick for the injured military plaintiff

seems not to be within the meaning of 50

USC section 521 or the spirit of the Act.

In CONTINENTAL ILLINOIS WAT. BANK &

TRUST CO. v UNIVERSITY OF HOTRE DAME

(1946 Sup.Ct. ILL) 69 WE2d 301 at 304-305

(3) the ILL. Supreme Court upholds the

31

serviceman’s right to not only be present

at trial but to be able to participate in

the presentation of his case, even if he

has counsel. However in most cases the

servicemember has been denied a stay when

he has an attorney. Almost always BOONE

vy LIGHTNER (1943) 319 U.S. 561, 571-575

is cited in these cases.

Military lawyers have published many

articles that indicate that a combination

of rulings by the lower courts has served

to almost totally eliminate protection

that congress wanted to provide for the

military under 50 USCS Appx section 521.

They suggest that what ever you do, if

you need a stay under 521 do not hire a

lawyer! Have anyone else ask for the

stay: your wife; your mother; someone in

the military chain of command; anyone but

a lawyer. The most recent article I have

seen on this was in "The Army Lawyer"

Feb. 1989. I am certain this Court did

32

not intend to nullify the Act in regards

to sec. 521, nor send the current message

that: if you need a stay one best not

have an attorney for representation.

When congress drafted the words in

50 USC Appx sec. 521: "...on application

to it by such person or some person on

his behalf...” I do not believe that

congress meant for plaintiffs to have to

file their own cases to utilize sec. 521

or to enlist the help of their mothers,

wives, fellow military members, or anyone

else not trained in the law to obtain a

stay. We do not believe we can proceed

against the other plaintiffs alone. That

is one of the several reasons why a stay

was requested in the first place and the

request to amend our suit later was made.

This issue is very important not only to

us but others that come after us. We

need to know if we can acquire a lawyer

and what effect that has on obtaining or

33

retaining a stay under sec. 521 (75a).

Not being lawyers we also asked for

the right to amend the action when it was

reopened as we hoped to be represented

than: THOMPSON v REEDMAH (1961) 201

F.Supp 837,838 (4) states in part, "Leave

to amend ‘shall be freely given when

justice so requires.’ FED.R. CIV.P. rule

15<a), 28 U.S.C.A. The Courts have shown

much liberality in allowing amendments.

TARIR ERK v. GLENN L. MARTIN Co. 116 F.c2a

864 (4th Cir. 1941)." at 871.

Wo plaintiff who has been injured

should have to SACRIFICE THEIR LIVELIHOOD

TO OBTAIN JUSTICE. As discussed earlier

husband tried to get a deferment to

remain in Missouri and other dispensation

from the military to keep him stationed

as close as possible so as to do what he

could to resolve our problems (supra 22-

23>. He was so desperate for help and so

concerned about leaving me behind in such

34

a hostile situation he almost ended his

career in the process. We can only be

grateful that the Air Force did not grant

Jim his request to leave the Air Force.

We have needed the income to fight this

legal battle.

The Air Force expects their service

people to go where they want them to go

when they want them to go, to put the Air

Force and the defense of their country

first. I am concerned that many Judges

may not understand what military life is

like. They may have never served, or if

so as legal officers, or pilots entitied

to certain protections such as crew rest.

Such duty may be quite different from

other servicemen. Wormally one has

little control over when and where you

are sent. Life is uncertain because our

national defense needs can change

rapidly. For a plaintiff to have to

consider abandoning a career which the

35

U.S. government may have spent many

thousands-in some cases millions training

the individual for, seems unreasonable,

especially in the case of a plaintiff.

I have selected parts of Jim's letter

dated May 5, 1988 that you may wish to

read to more fully understand what was

said to the District Court on this matter

(17a-25a). These parts particularly

irene some of the probiems he faced in

regards to his career and duty. This is

the letter the Court required him to

write and is referred to in the District

Court orders (6a-13a). My husband did

every thing he could. For military

plaintiffs to have to be so concerned

about civilian legal problems is not in

the interest of either the serviceman or

the country he serves.

I can understand that career military

plaintiffs present a different problem to

the courts with regards to sections 521

36

and 525 than those who enlist for a short

time. However, nearly all officers are

on indefinite assignments. The except-

ions being primarily those with short

term commitments made because of Govern-

ment provided schooling. Many NW.C.O.

even though they have a discharge date

are none the less career persons. With

sec. 525 the same time passes. I do not

see anything-in the Act or sec. 521 that

would preclude the court from granting a

stay with conditions. Section 524 (77a-

78a) provides for the stay to be SUBJECT

TO SUCH TERMS AS MAY BE JUST.

It seems reasonable that the court

could include language that would subject

the stay to re-examination if it could be

shown the plaintiff had been reassigned

to the jurisdiction of the court and had

been there for more than 90 continuous

days and had not sought to proceed with

the action himself, as most plaintiffs

37

would want to do. This would seem to

protect ail parties.

I don't know if a stay could include

any language that would allow any

discovery to preserve evidence without

violating the stay itself, but if that

could be done it seems that it should be

something the military plaintiff should

be able to initiate when duty would

permit, if he had an attorney to help him

and if a time convenient for the

defendants could also be found. I can ~

see where in many cases a military

plaintiff may not be able to proceed with

the action, but may be able to initiate

come limited discovery and that might be

desirable for all if it was possible

under the stay.

6. This question addresses the

application of abstention to this case.

The 3rd Cir.Ct. sets out 3 criteria for

applying this doctrine in:

38

DECK HOUSE v WEW JERSEY ST. BD. OF

ARCHITECTS (1982) 531 F.Supp. 633 at

642 "...¢i) the state proceedings

reflect strong and compelling state in-

terests; (ii) the state proceedings are

adequate to vindicate federal claims,

and ‘(iii)» federal intervention

would be substantial and

disruptive....”

In our case the state proceedings do

not even address the problems in this

case, Lynch (41a-47a). In this Federal

case we are trying to get equal

protection and other federal interests

addressed and they are no part of the

state action. The state proceedings will

not address the federal claims and our

other rights including those under the

14th amendment.

ZWICKLER v KOOTA (1967) 88 S.Ct 391 at

395 (4) this Court held that the federal

judiciary is to give due respect toa

suitor's choice of a federal forum and:

KUSPER v. PONTIKES (1973) 94 S.Ct. 303

at 306 (2,3) "...abstention would

amount to shirking the solemm respon-

sibility of the federal courts to

‘guard, enforce, and protect every

39

right granted or secured by the

constitution of the United States...”

We believe isianes ten eeiset and a Stay

under 50 USC Appx section 501 et seq.

should have beer granted and Federal

jurisdiction should have been retained by

the Federal District:

"... Once the state proceedings are

terminated, any further action in

federal court would interfere with

important stat: interests no more than

does any other suit brought under

section 1983."" WILLIAMS v RED BANK BD.

OF ED. (3rd. Cir. 1981) 662 F.2d

1008,1024. and;

Art. If, eeac. 2, par. i (Sa

Without some sort of injunctive

relief, and/or a ruling from this Court

on question seven, we will suffer

irreparable injury. We have already been

deprived of our rights and suffered great

loss over a number of years because of

this unequal treatment and should not

have to suffer further.

7. This question goes to the default of

—_ -—

Dallas County and whether this Court or

40

any court or clerk can address the

default and such issues that may be part

of the relief prayed for when a request

for a stay is acted upon under 50 USC

Appx. sec. 501 et seq. In the interest

of brevity and because of the need to

know if this Court will consider the

constitutional questions and injunction

prayed for, as it relates to Dallas

County, we will keep _— commentary

short. The injunction requested contains

within it subsidiary questions of

constitutional law (36a-39a).

First, I wish to present why ! believe

good service was had and why I believe we

are intitled to a default judgement. The

law was complied with: Fed.R.Civ.P. Rule

4 (80a); Missouri laws 506.140, 506.150

(83a-84a) as applicable when the

complaint was filed (33a-39a). Summons

were servec twice and this Court has

copies on file (Filed: May 26, 1989),

41

The prosecutor, who answered for

himself, had a duty to answer for both

Dallas County and the State of Missouri

or find someone else to do it for him Mo.

law 56.060 (84a-85a). He could have had

the court appoint someone if he felt it

was not proper for him to make the

Selection of a substitute attorney Mo.

law 56.110 (87a). The exceptions to this

duty is covered by Mo. Law 56.070 (86a).

When a county counselor should be

appointed to handle the exceptions is

covered by Mo. Law 56.631 (88a). Dallas

County is not a first or second class

county so there were no exceptions. It

was Mr. Wayne K. Rieschel’s duty to act.

Fed.R.Civ. P. Rule 55 (81a-82a)

provides for a default judgement against

Dallas County. Any neglect of a duty by

county officials does not affect the

validity of the service or judgment we

are entitled to: KNOX COUNTY vy HARSHMAH

42

’

(1890) 10 S.Ct.257 at 258. When Mr. Cox

and Mr. Rieschel answered for themselves

they can hardly say that they did not

have any knowledge or notice thereof or

that county officials were uninformed.

This Court held under such circumstances

the county has no right to question such

actions that may result from their

default and that plaintiffs do not need

to go through the normal procedure of

proving their case to obtain the judgment

or other relief desired:

UNITED STATES v COUHTY COURT (1887)

7 S.Ct 1171 at 1175. "...The averment

to that effect in the petition in the

action, if material and traversable,

was confessed by the default .... If

the defendant had denied it by a proper

pleading, the fact would have been put

in issue, and the plaintiff would have

been bound to prove it....”

However, I do believe we are obligated to

present more that has been presented thus

far.

Missouri law 56.360 (87a-88a) allows

the private practice of prosecutors in

43

places like Dallas County. Mo.Law 56.065

(85a-86a) prohibits private practice in

certain first and second class counties.

Private practice is allowed in Dallas

County under 56.360 and as a result of

this we have been deprived of the

peaceful enjoyment of our home and

personal property just as surely as Mrs.

Freenstra was in KIRCHBERG v FEENSTRA 450

US 455 at 460,461 This Court held that

to have to”... made a ‘declaration by

authentic act’..."” to protect her

interests did not redeem the basic

inequality and "...the ‘absence of an

insurmountable barrier’ will not redeem

an otherwise unconstitutionally

discriminatory law...”

There is no overwhelming state interest

in continuing with this provision, such

as there was when the state was new, when

travel by horse and buggy could take a

day for twelve miles and there were no

44

phones. If our state of Alaska can

manage with a approximately twelve

district prosecutor system, Missouri,

much smaller and with more and better

means of communication can manage also

with district prosecutors that are not

allowed private practice. There are

endless numbers of people ready and

willing to do the job if the changes are

made in Mo. law 56.010 (84a). This

provision now weibe to assure that a

local fellow will be prosecutor and tends

to perpetuate the local problems as far

as those coming into the county with

different ideas, skin color, etc.

To allow this unholy marriage of a

private persons interests with the power

of the state by allowing a private person

to hire a county prosecutor has enabled

the private person to influence, if not

command, the degree of law enforcement

protection and other services provided to

45

us. Certainly everything that has

happened here, criminal acts included,

appear to have been done with the full

Support and permission of the Dallas co.

authorities.

Both private practice and the current

selection to office method used in a area

such as Dallas County puts those on the

state pay role in the position of having

their livelihood depend on their

decisions. They do not need to simply

perform tueir job, and dispense justice,

but they must consider if they will loss

their jobs if they do not bend to the

prejudices and whims of both their

private clients and their friends,

relatives, aunts, uncles, cousins: the

local electorate, who put and keep them

in public office.

Private practice by prosecutors allows

someone who makes judge like decisions

about who is to be prosecuted, when law

46

enforcement is to act, who is allowed to

do as they please, to have "substantial

pecuniary interests” and adjudicate

disputes from an unlevel playing field.

GIBSON v BERRYHILL, (1973) 93 S.Ct 1689

at 1699 (7). Even the slightest

pecuniary interest of any officer,

judicial or quasi judicial invalidates

his decisions TUMEY v STATE OF OHIO

(1927) 47 S.CT. 437 at 441.

A personal, substantial pecuniary

interest by a decision maker violates the

14th amendment and due process. Statutory

provisions to over sie such an

inequality are not sufficient under

principles laid down by this Court in

WARD v VILLAGE OF MONROEVILLE, OHIO

(1972) 93 S.Ct. 80 at 82-84 (1) [2,3] [4]

Ability to ask for a special prosecutor

does not overcome the basic inequality.

The incentive needs to be directed to

justice and support of the U.S.

47

Constitution rather than to the above

pecuniary incentive. The 14th amendment

and Art VI par.2 & 3 (56a-58a) creates a

further obligation on local government,

below the federal level, to be certain

the laws are ones that achieve those ends

to the greatest possible degree at the

current point in history, understanding

of undesirable consequences, current

techaaiaay, and still achieve an orderly

society. There is also a county duty to

run the schools and to train officials to

better understand their constitutional

duties and individual rights in an effort

to combat local prejudices that clearly

lead to i4th amendment (58a) violations.

There is a special obligation when:

groups known to have such violation of

equality as their main goals and claim to

want to pass(ed) laws to accomplish their

objectives (48a-49a); when such groups

are known to be active in the area (47a-

48

48a); when they claim to have infiltrated

the system itself (50a-53a); and official

action tends to lend support to such

groups (49a -50a, 52a, 54a).

We as a nation can do better in the

Dallas Counties of America.

KUSPER v PONTIKES (1973) 94 S.Ct. 303

at S07 (5). If freedom to associate is a

protected right under the constitution

than certainly we bioula be able to have

and enjoy our Indian grandchildren and

friends regardless of their skin color at

our property in Dallas County and we

should all be able to enjoy the property

with the expectations of fair and equal

treatment from Dallas County, Art. IV,

sec.2, par.1 (56a), 14th amendment (58a).

Without the relief asked in regards to

the county in the complaint we will

suffer further irreparable injury. We

have already been deprived of the

peaceful use of our farm, our home and

49

personal property all these years since

1984; put to great expense to only be

able to protect our interests in a very

limited way; required medical treatment

for the resulting physical problems;

denied protection from criminal acts or

even investigation into the acts; and

suffered a break in this spring reported

to the court and attorneys for the

imeriee and prosecutor, but no return

communication was received on the matter,

plus much, much more.

The system in Missouri cities may be

very good. But the playing field will

not be level in places like Dallas County

until another method of selecting

prosecutors and local Judges is devised

rather than Mo. Law 56.010 and Mo. Const.

Art. 5 sec. 16. "...associate circuit

judges shall be elected in the county in

which they are to serve.” (adopted Aug.

3,1976) and private practice is ended

50

|

(supra 43-47).

States that build up sites to honor

those who divided this nation:

confederate monuments and museums with

tax payers money rather than civil war

historical sites certainly help to foster

racist beliefs within their borders

(54a). We find what is going on in

Dallas county and Missouri to be

outrageous and eksthing, yet the facts

are there (47a-54a). The facts, as I see

them, places those responsible as coming

very close to giving aid and comfort to

the enemies of democracy in violation of:

Art. III, sec.3, par 1; Art. I, sec.10,

par.1 (55a) and in neglecting to uphold

Art.VI, par.3 (55a-56a), our whole

Constitution all amendments, including

the Bill of Rights and the 14th amend-

ment. The oath required in Art. VI, par.

2 & 3 (56a) should also bind them to

positive action in training subordinates

51

and teaching school children about equal-

ity and respect for others rights, etc.

It seems self evident that a judicial

system as described in the statement

beginning this petition, such as Dallas

County has, violates the 14th amendment

and the laws passed under it (56a-70a).

It is wise that Judges and prosecutors

are immune from being sued in their

official capacity, they need as much

independence as justice will allow.

However, the reasons behind such immunity

are compromised when prosecutors and

Judges are chosen by a vote in a place

like Dallas County. The local citizens

can and will turn them out of office if

they do not do their will to a very large

degree. Their independence is only an

illusion and in such places and an

impartial decisionmaker and a fair

decision process does not exist. The

conflict of interest is too great to be

52

overcome. Where does that leave the

outsider wit views, beliefs,

skin color, etc? Add to that the private

practice and someone like us faces an

insurmountable wall of inequality.

The right to vote for representation

and those that pass our laws is nearly

sacred in a democracy and guarenteed

under our form of government, but our

founding fathers made ne such provision

for the selection of those chosen to

interpret our laws, in fact on the

federal level it is quite to the

contrary. Prosecutors have to be

considered with Judges because of the

nature of their duty. They must make

judgments about the law when they decide

whether or not to prosecute.

The Mo. rural system may have made good

sense a century ago and was perhaps the

best that could be done than, but today

we as a nation can do better. Only this

: 53

Court can mandate such a consideration o:

this matter of such magnitude. It is in

the interest of the legal system, judges.

eo lawyers, prosecutors, the general public

and all those of good will with a sense

of justice and fair play that you do so

consider this matter. Not to allow

replacement with another unequal systen,

but to mandate safe guards built in to

give confidence to the stranger or

minority that justice will truly prevail

and if they believe it does not, a well

known place to go to lodge compiaints

that will be taken into consideration

upon selection or reselection of those

for office or advancement.

Unless "all persons” as the amendment

reads, are able to count on the whole

government: State, Federal, and the

Courts to treat them all equally under

the law we will again soon have "A Watior

Divided” part protected by the law and

54

EEE

part not protected. The hostility that

will grow from that will undo all the

progress America has made. It will be a

Nation different than we want for either

cur Indian or white grandchildren or for

our friends of many colors.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the writ of

certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

James A. Marker, Jr., and

Beverly J. Marker, pro se.

P.Q. Box A

Langley AFB, Va 23665

(804) 766 2196

Beverly J. Marker

217 East 2nd St. So.

Newton, Iowa 50203

(alternate address

when in midwest)

55

— ee

APPENDIX

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

EIGHTH CIRCUIT Marker v Rieschel, et al.

Ho. 88-1905 ORDER Filed: April 7, 1989

"A petition for rehearing and rehearing

en banc was denied March 8, 1989, and the

mandate of this court issued March 17,

1989. Since that time appellants have

filed a motion for stay on March 21,

1969. As the mandate has issued, this

court has no further jurisdiction in this

case. Appellants are notified that

further filings may result in imposition

of sanctions.”

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

EIGHTH CIRCUIT Marker v Rieschel, et al.

No. 88-1905 OPINION Filed: Jan. 9, 1989:

"James and Beverly Marker appeal pro se

from the district court (1) order dis-

(1) The Honorable Russell G Clark, United States

District Judge for the Western District of

Missourl

missing their complaint without

prejudice. We affirm.

The Markers filed this diversity suit

on Wovember 27, 1987, alleging various

constitutional violations arising out of

a boundary-line dispute with their

neighbors, Earnie and Mae Burtin. Samed

as defendants in their complaint were

Wayne Rieschel (the county prosecuting

attorney) ,—Jerry Cox ‘(the county

sheriff>, and the Burtins. Included in

the complaint was a request for a stay

pursuant to the Soldiers’ and Sailors’

Civil Relief Act of 1940, 50 U.S.C.

section 521, until the year 1995, when

James Marker completes his military

service, and 4 request for an injunction

of a pending state court action involving

the same property dispute.

On February 9, 1988, the district court

granted the Markers a temporary stay

until May 13, 1988, and directed them to

advise the court of any facts which

materially affected their ability to

prosecute their case. The Markers

responded that James Marker’s military

service interfered with his effective

prosecution of the case, and requested

the court to stay the cause of action

until 1995.

The district court dismissed the

Markers’s complaint without prejudice,

finding there were no facts to support a

stay. In reaching this result, the court

noted that the underlying property

boundary dispute was pending in state

court, and that the issue was not complex

nor would it take an extended period of

time to resolve. In addition, the court

noted that the Missouri statute of

limitations governing the Markers’ cause

of action tolled during James Marker's

military service, and that it was not in

the interests of the defendants, the

W

o

Markers, or of the court to have the case

pending until 1995. This appeal followed.

Title 50 U.S.C. section 521 provides

that the court in which an action is

pending has the discretion to stay the

proceedings if the ability of the

plaintiff to prosecute the action is

‘materially affected by reason of his

military service.’ The stay provision is

not mandatory and the court has the

ultimate discretion in determining, from

all the circumstances of the case,

whether a stay is warranted. Boone v.

Lightner, 319 U.S. 561, 564-65 (1943);

Taber v. Miller, 389 F.2d 645, 647 (3d

Cir.), cert. denied, 391 U.S. 915 (1968).

The stay provision applies only to

persons in military service. Growder v.

Capital Greyhound Lines, 169 F.2d 674,

ers <o.G. Gir. ix966).

Title 50 U.S.C. section 535 mandates

that the statute of limitations governing

a suit in which a serviceman is a party

be tolled during that person’s military

service. Bickford v. United States, 656

F.2d 636, 640 (Ct. Cl. 1981). Spouses of

servicemen are not entitled to the

benefits of the tolling provision of this

section. Lester v. United States, 487 F.

Supp. 1033, 1039 (H.D.Tex. 1980).

We find no abuse of discretion in the

district court's refusal to stay the

Markers’ cause of action until 1995,

particularly considering that the

applicable Missouri statute of

limitations is tolled during James

Marker's military service. Although the

Markers correctly note that Mrs. Marker

does not receive the benefits of the

tolling section, she also is not entitled

to a stay.

Furthermore, as noted by the district

court, there is currently a quiet-title

action pending in state court which

addresses the underlying property dispute

in this case. Principles of abstention

are particularly appropriate when state’s

property rights are involved, Luecke v.

Mercantile Bank of Jonesboro, 720 F.2d

15, 16-17 «8th Cir. 1983), and as a state

action is pending, the state law

questions can be resolved without lengthy

delay. Edwards v. Arkansas Power & Light

Co., 683 F.2d 1149, 1157 («8th Cir. 1982).

We have considered the Markers’

remaining points of error and find them

to be without merit.

Accordingly, we affirm.”

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT WESTERN

DISTRICT OF MISSOURI SOUTHERN DIVISION

Marker v Rieschel, et al. Wo.87-3650-

CV-S-4 ORDER Filed May 20, 1988

"On February 9, 1988, the Court entered

an order staying any action in the

above-captioned case through May 13, 1988

on the basis that one of the plaintiffs

James A. Marker, Jr. was in the military

service. The Court directed Major Marker

to file a report in writing advising this

Court of any facts existing at that time

which would materially affect his ability

to prosecute his action on or before May

6, 1988. Under date of May 5, 1988, the

Clerk received a nine and one-half page

single spaced typewritten report from

Major Marker. In conclusion he indicated

that he felt that his military service

would prevent him from prosecuting this

action until his release from same and

requested a stay until December 31, 1995.

Major Marker did not indicate any efforts

which he had made to obdtain a leave or

other dispensation from the military

authorities which would give him an

Opportunity to prosecute this action.

The Court is aware that there is a

quiet title action pending between Major

Marker’'s wife Beverly Jean Marker and

Farnie and May Burtin. In short, the

underlying dispute in this case is over a

property boundary line and the state

court action seeks to resolve that issue.

Disposition of this issue is neither

complex nor would it take an extended

period of time in which to try the issues

involved and dispose of that case.

The Court will accept the facts as set

forth in Major Marker'’'s letter dated

April 29, 1988 and filed in this case on

May 5, 1988 relative to the interference

of his military service in effectively

prosecuting this case. However, as

pointed out in the Court's Order of

February 9, 1988 the Missouri statute of

limitations is tolled pending Major

Marker's military service. It certainly

is not in the interests of the defendants

in this case to have it pending beyond

the date of December 31, 1995 nor is it

in the interest of the business of this

Court. This Court seriously doubts that

it is in the plaintiffs’ interest to

postpone the disposition of this case

until sometime after December 31, 1995.

It is the opinion of this Court that it

would be in the interests of justice and

in the best interests of all pzrties

concerned for the case to be dismissed

without prejudice to a refiling by

plaintiffs. Therefore, it is

ORDERED that the Clerk is directed to

enter a judgement of dismissal without

prejudice."

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT WESTERN

DISTRICT OF MISSOURI SOUTHERN DIVISION

Marker v. Rieschel, et al.

No. 87-3650-CV-S-4

JUDGEMENT IB A CIVIL CASE: May 20, 1988

"Decision by Court. This action came

to a determination before the Court. The

issues have been determined and a

decision has been rendered.

It is ordered and adjudged That this

case be dismissed without prejudice."

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT WESTERN

DISTRICT OF MISSOURI SOUTHERN DIVISION

Marker v Rieschel, et al. Wo. 87-3650-

CV-S-4 ORDER Filed: February 9, 1988

"A motion for a stay of the proceeding

in this case has been filed by Beverly

Jean Marker on behalf of James A. Marker,

Jr. who is presently in the military

service located at Homestead Air Force

Base at Homestead, Florida. She alleges

that because of the military service of

her husband, his ability to prosecute

this lawsuit is materially affected.

Under 50 U.S.C. section 521, it is

provided that upon the application of a

party in the military service or on

application by someone on his behalf, any

10 a

legal proceedings shall be stayed unless

in the opinion of the Court, the Court

determines that the service person's

military service does not materially

affect the person's ability to prosecute

or defend the action. Based upon the

allegations set forth in the motions of

Beverly Marker and facts set forth in the

letter of Robert K. Ask, James A Marker's

commanding officer, this Court is unable

to say that the ability of James A.

Marker, Jr. to prosecute this action may

not materially be affected by reason of

his military service.

It would appear that a stay is being

sought through July 31, 1995 or at such

other time as plaintiff James A. Marker,

Jr. determines that his military service

does not materially affect his ability to

prosecute the action.

This Court has an obligation to see

that cases on its docket are processed in

a speedy and effective manner. To etay

the case until July, 1995 appears to this

Court to be to the great prejudice of

plaintiffs in that by that time, evidence

may be lost and witnesses misplaced. In

addition the defendants have a right to

an early determination of their liability

if any to the plaintiffs in this case.

50 U.S.C. section 525 tolls the statute

of limitations while the plaintiff James

A. Marker Jr. is in military service so

even on a dismissal of plaintiffs’

complaint, a later filing promptly after

Major Marker’'s discharge from service

would net be barred by the Missouri

statute of limitations. It appears to

the Court that it would be in the

interests of justice to promptly process

this case to a conclusion; however, in

view of the motion for stay, the Court is

of the opinion that it must stay the

action temporarily. The Court will grant

12 a

the motion for stay through May 13, 1988.

Plaintiff James A. Marker, Jr. will be

directed to inform the Court in writing

on or before May 6, 1988 as to the facts

existing at that time which support his

position that by reason of his military

service, his ability to prosecute this

action is materially affected. Any stay

beyond May 13, 1968 will result in the

Court either entering an order

statistically closing this file or

dismissing it without prejudice.

Therefore, it is

ORDERED that plaintiffs’ motion for

stay is granted through May 13, 1988; and

it is further

4 ORDERED that on or before May 6, 1988,

plaintiff James A. Marker, Jr. shall

report in writing to this Court any facts

existing at that time which would

materially affect his ability to

prosecute this action.”

13 a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT WESTERN

DISTRICT OF MISSOURI SOUTHERN DIVISION

Marker v Rieschel, et al. Wo. 87-3650-

CV-S-4 LETTER REFERRED TO IB ABOVE

ORDER of February 9, 1988 From:

ROBERT K. ASH, JR., COLONEL, USAF

DEPUTY COMMANDER letter dated Dec 29,

1987 (Hote on page 7 above the name is

misspelled in the order as: Ask.)

"The purpose of this letter is to

provide current information on the

military service status of Major James

Marker. Be advised that I am currently

serving as the Deputy Commander, 3ist

Combat Support Group, Homestead Air Force

Base, Florida, and have been continously

assigned here since July 1985; first as

Director of Tersonnel, and now as the

Deputy Commander. In these capacities, |!

have been closely associated with Major

Marker and maintained control over his

service record.

14 a

Major Marker is on extended active duty

with the U.S. Air Force. He is presently

the Commander of the 3ist Security Police

Squadron and has been continuously since

May 1985. In this capacity, his duties

require his virtually constant presence

to include his frequent, immediate

availability during nonduty hours.

Please note that shortly after his

arrival from Whiteman Air Force Base,

Missouri, our mission changed from a

training wing to an operational Tactical

Fighter Wing. This change significantly

altered our security requirements and

proportionally compounded the complexity

and demands embraced in the key command

position he fills. During the past year

and a half, he faced a demanding schedule

of multiple, important wing exercises and

inspections that precluded predictable or

lengthly leaves away from his duties. As

the 31ist Tactical Fighter Wing continues

its preparation toward full operational

capacity, we face another series of

crucial inspections and other major wing

responsibilities which require Major

Marker's personal presence here at

Homestead Air Force Base. As a result,

he has been and will be unable to make

reqular or extended visits to Missouri to

pursue the interests addressed in the

case filed in U.S. District Court in

Springfield, Missouri, on 27 Wov 87,

# 87-3650-CV-S-4.

I have been briefed on the nature and

complexity of this case and believe the

requirements for a STAY as provided for

in the Soldiers and Sailors Civil Relief

Act, 50 USCA App 521, are met and are

both appropriate and fully supportable.

The situation described in paragraph 33

of the case is accurate to the best of my

knowledge to include the likelihood of a

near-term reassignment from Homestead Air

Force Base."

16 a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT WESTERS

DISTRICT OF MISSOURI SOUTHERN DIVISION

Marker v Rieschel, et ai. No. 87-3650-

CV-S-4 LETTER OF MAJOR JAMES A. MARKER,

JR. FILED WITH THE DISTRICT COURT May 5,

1986, letter reads in part:

"1. The purpose of this letter is: to

provide the information concerning facts

which would materially affect my ability

to prosecute this action....

3. Prior to my arrival here at

Homestead Air Force Base (HAFB). the

mission of the base was to train pilots

and to host the United States Air Force

Conference Center for top civilian and

military leaders from both our nation and

other nations. Additionally, the 3lst

Tactical Training Wing maintained a

Professional Military Education (PME)

school and other activities for members

from HAFB and other Air Force bases.

Since my arrival, the mission of HAFB has

changed from one of training to one of an

Operational tactical (eeter wing. The

base still hosts the United States Air

Conference Center and PME school, while

continuing with many other activities.

4. The full impact on activities that

changing the mission of a base has on

people’s working hours, especially

Commanders like myself, is difficult to

convey to someone like yourself not

involved in such a transition....Colonel

Ash, in his letter, gives you some idea

of what is involved with the transition

to the 3ist Tactical Fighter Wing, and

his expectations for the near future for

HAFB to fine tune our capabilities; we

will be very busy, ‘spelled Colonel Ash

not Colonel Ask).

5. Homestead Air Force Base (HAFB) is

located south of Miami, Florida. In fact

some of our base personal reside in

Miami. To the best of my knowledge HAFB

18 a

is the most southern military base that

the United States has located on the

mainland of the United States of America

(USA); we are the closest to Cuba and our

other neighbors to t. > south involved in

those issues in the news that are of such

vital concern to our nation at this point

in history.

6. My duties and responsibilities have

been covered to some degree by previous

communications from others, however it

seems desirable to touch on this subject

again, bearing in mind that there are

some subjects I can not cover due to

their sensitivity. As Chief of Police

here at HAFB and as 3lst Security Police

Squadron Commander (31st SPS/CC), I wear

"two hats” so to speak. I am responsible

for law enforcement at HAFB, working in

cooperation with the Metro Dade Police

Department, FBI, and various other law

enforcement agencies....close enough to

19 a

Miami that, unfortunately, criminal

activity bleeds over into the HAFB

community.

7. My squadron also provides the

security for all the resources on base,

including the fighter aircraft and the

equipment that supports a fighting

mission, as well as security for those

individuals that use the Conference

Center....the Air Force sent me to two

anti-terrorim schools. My men have all

been mobility trained in airbase ground

defense...One must remember the Air Force

has no infantry...From time to time, men

from my squadron are deployed to other

bases worldwide, wherever they are

needed. But that is about all I can say

on this issue.

8&8. My work days are long. I normally

spend twelve hours or more in the office

daily, plus time on the weekends,

holidays, down days, and evenings.

20 a

A.

I routinely receive telephone calls at

night or communication by radio on law

enforcement or security matters...

(my note: here is listed 1/2 to 3/4

page of additional duties and meetings he

needed to keep on top of, this list would

take up several full pages here. )

11. Since filing the complaint, I have

been approached by Tactical Air Command

Headquarters at Langley Air Force Base,

Virginia, concerning overseas assign-

ments. In January 1988, they asked me if

I would take an assignment to Japan.

Because I still did not have anything in

writing about the Stay, and because of

concern for the safety of my wife, i told

them I would rather not take that assign-

ment. Again this month, they approached

me about an assignment to Ankara, Turkey,

working directly for the general in

charge there. I told them if I had to go

I would have to go without my wife

because we were waiting to hear about a

Stay in a Federal case. I was told the

general might not want me without my wife

there too. So far, I have not heard any

more on that assignment, but could any

day. Both of these assignments would

have been good jobs and opportunities for

advancement from what I have been told.

However, I do not want to leave my wife

stateside so far from home, going in and

out of such a hostile situation alone,

every few weeks, with no one here to

return to. It is also difficult tor her

to resolve anything when there, since we

do not even have the benefit of law

enforcement protection.

12. From what I have been told, when I

leave here it will be to an overseas

assignment. Hot only am I due for one,

but the Air Force has tried to completely

eliminate state-to-state moves because of

budget constraints....if Headquarters

22 a

likes your work, when they know you are

due for an overseas move they will try

and offer you first what they consider

some of thee more choice assignments. If

one does not agree to accept one of these

Opportunities, than after a short while

the service member will be given an

assignment from Military Personal Center

(MPC) in Texas in which there is iittle

or no choice about where or when the

assignment will be. To turn down all

these earlier offers is not wise, in fact

can be quite detrimental to ones future.

The Air Force does not look favorably on

those who turn down good opportunities.

...I know I am due to go overseas on a

long tour. it would be best to be able to

do it on more favorable terms....

13. The Air Force in its efforts to

save money, is trying to induce those

currently overseas to... (double) their

overseas assignments ...been known to

23 a

change what has been voluntary to

involuntary...may find myself overseas

for a prolonged period of time....From

what my wife has been able to research in

case law it seems that one must ask for a

Stay for a long enough period of time

that one can reasonably hope to proceed

with the case...Case law does not appear

to support a second request.

14. When I was stationed in Missouri,

and realized that we had some problems to

solve, I did everything I knew to remain

stationed there to do so. SAC wanted me

to fill one of their Commander's

positions, but when I tried to remain in

Missouri and they found my wife could not

accompany me, my first assignment was

cancelled and I was sent instead to the

Tactical Air Command (‘(TAC)...I wanted to

be able to resolve the problems at that

time, however, my military duty

materially affected my ability to even

24a

protect my wife or my interests. WE

received no cooperation from Dallas

County authorities...It was with a heavy

heart that I left my wife there in

Missouri, knowing that the services I

provide to others in the form of law

enforcement were being denféd to my wife

and myself. Things certainly did not get

any better after I left.

15. After the October 1985 incident it

seemed the risk to my wifes safety out

weighed any benefit, or property interest

we had in her remaining there alone

without protection. It was after this

time she began going back and forth every

few weeks. Our property insurance is

only good if one of us is physically in

the house every so many days. I did

everything I could to get help from the

local system, but was unsuccessful....I

find it shocking when someone can use the

power of the state to put another person

25 a

in the position of having to go in late

at night, or backpack into their own

property.

17. ...She felt like she had lived like

a tormented hostage in her own house,

with Dallas County legal system in the

employee of her tormentor and being used

against her rather than to protect her.

19. ...it is an important case for not

just us but for all those others that

come after us who might be so wronged.

21. ...The request for a mandatory

injunction is for the most part only a

simple request for Dallas County to be

required to provide that law enforcement

protection be provided on an equal basis

that I believe we have a right to expect

and that we have not received from

Sheriff Cox's Office or from the

Prosecutor's Office.

23. Wo one in Law Enforcement who must

make a decision about arrest,

26a

prosecution, or investigation of a crime

should be allowed to enter into or

maintain any possible conflicting

personal income producing relationship

....I believe that there are very

important issues to be decided in this

case and that all the defendants acted

under "COLOR OF LAW", so it is important

for both our rights and public policy

that this case be preserved....

24....1 ama regular officer and

therefore a day certain for the end of my

military service is not known....

25. I must OBJECT to any... provision

to dismiss this case without

prejudice...because this would deny my

wife a right to be heard....I believe

that my wife's interests in this case and

my Own interests are so interwoven that

it is essential that we proceed in one

action...A dismissal without prejudice

would not only greatly prejudice my case,

27 a

ientanieeeiiniee tie

but would deny my wife's right to be

heard with me...

26. I must OBJECT...Local FRCP 1...

er. I must OBJECT... geographic

location.

28. I must OBJECT.. default judgement

tation County is in default....

29....I1 would like you to make note of

the fact that Dallas County is in

default.

31. I am especially concerned that in

Missouri that rural county prosecutors

can have private clients....can leave a

citizen with no place to turn in respect

to that law enforcement agency one

depends upon and which has a monopoly on

the types of actions it can legally

take...I believe they have a duty to

provide that protection without bias in

an equal manner...

32. ...injunction in our complaint

...we were simply asking that the court

28 a

require Dallas County to provide its

services in an equal and impartial basis

to all alike and to make any reforms

necessary to see that others do not

suffer as we have....

32. As you have seen we asked for a

mandatory injunction in our complaint.

Perhaps this is not the correct

title...we were simply asking that the

court require Dallas County to provide

its services in an equal and impartial

basis to all alike and to make reforms

necessary to see that others do not

c-ffer as we have...

36. It seems amazing that what has

happened to us could go on in America in

1986. It is hard to believe that my wife

is still having to drive thousands of

miles every few weeks...Do you realize

she has been making these trips and

backpacking in, or going in at night, for

going on three years now?...Wo serviceman

29 a

—_——_— ————— a-

should have such worry'’s while trying to

defend his country....

37. We have both spent our lives

around the military. We work, cooperate,

and live in harmony and dignity with all

sorts of persons from this ‘melting pot,

every race, color, and creed. Therefore

our values are perhaps a little different

than some others in Dallas County. We

believe that everyone should be entitled

to equality and dignity. Ve know that a

wide variety of service people protect

our liberties and way of life in America.

We know that when they lay down their

lives for our freedoms that all of our

blood runs the same color of red. I am

responsible within my squadron to see

that every person is treated fairly and

equally. I would hope that this case

would bring the reality of justice,

freedom, and equality to the backwoods of

America. When one moves to such a place

30 a

and stays much to yourself it may take

five years before your neighbors find out

that you believe in ‘freedom and justice

for all.’ We lived in Dallas County for

five years in peace and harmony. We

believe the cause of our problems goes

beyond any property concerns....

38. ...because both the scoop and

magnitude of my military duty require-

ments and my geographic location do both

materially affect my ability to prosecute

this action...it is extremely important

that I receive the Stay ... under 50

U.S.C.A. App. sections 521 et seq...

39. As I have said above it is my

desire to proceed with case just as soon

as possible, and will request to do so

just as soon as it seems we can do sc

I believe that if this case is dismissed

even without prejudice that it will cause

prejudice to many of my ielite and cause

me great damage e.g. any rights I may

31a

have to © eetentt judgement, my wife's

right to be heard, my right to have her

as a plaintiff with me on this case, and

all other rights...In addition we would

be left without the legal and law

enforcement protection I believe I not

only have as a birthright as a citizen of

the United States of America, but have

earned serving my country. I believe the

intent of Congress in passing the

Soldiers and Sailors’ Civil Relief Act

was to relieve service personal of

concern for such matters so they could

devote themselves to the full service of

their Country....”

DISTRICT COURT CIVIL DOCKET SHEET ENTRIES

reads in part:

1987 NR.

"Nov. 27 2 MOTION - ... (5 summons

issued and handed to Nrs.

Marker)"

"Dec. 22 6 RETURN OF SERVICE -

Dallas County, Mo, by

certified mail...”

"Jan. 26 13 RETURN OF SERVICE -

Dallas County, Mo, by

personally serving..."

32 a

{ Wote: copy of this whole sheet, both

summons and return service were filed

with this Court May 26, 1989 in Mr.

Turners office: DOCUMENTS May 1989. j

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT WESTERN

DISTRICT OF MISSOURI SOUTHERN DIVISION

Marker v Rieschel, et al. No. 87-3650-

CV-S-4 COMPLAINT Filed Hov 27, 1987

STATEMENT OF FACTS reads in part:

" 1. The Plaintiff...spouse...domiciled

in the State of Alaska.

5S. The Plaintiffs have been unable to

use the military orders issued to Major

Marker to move their household goods from

Dallas County, nor vacate, nor rent, nor

list, nor otherwise use as they would

choose the Dallas County Property because

of a lack of equal protection by the

current Dallas County Officials, and

concerns for the safety that exists for

any occupant because of this lack of

protection.

7. ...Defendants are residents ... of

Missouri...

33 a

8. The amount in controversy ...exceeds

... ($10,000.00), exclusive of costs and

interest.

16. ...Deputy Thieson, in front of

witness, left a complaint form with

Plaintiff, Beverly J. Marker for

Plaintiff, James A. Marker, Jr., to sign

when he retuned to the house. Later that

same day, Deputy Thieson informed the

Plaintiff, Beverly J. Marker, that the

Dallas County Sheriff, Jerry Cox, had

instructed him that he could not keeept

the complaint because the Dallas County

Prosecuting Attorney represented the

Defendants, Earnie Burtin and Mae

Burtin...

23. on other occasions...effective

equal protection and help was either

denied or ignored...

24. The Law Enforcement System Dallas

County has for its rural residents and

property owners consists of the Dallas

34 a

County Sheriff's Office, the Dallas

County Prosecutor's Office and the Dallas

County Court Systen.

26. During the Summer and Fall of 1985

the adult Son and Daughter of the

Plaintiffs moved from Alaska, together

with their families, and with financial

help of the Plaintiffs, to the referred

premises...it was considered by family

and friends that the property had become

unsafe to occupy by one person alone or

to put renters in because ot the uncon-

trolled actions of the defendants...and

the lack of law enforcement...

e7. After the Plaintiffs adult children

had been on the above referred to

premises for a short period of time, they

decided that without law enforcement

protection...that it was unsafe for their

families to remain under such lawless

conditions...

31. ...The Plaintiffs believe that the

ae

main root of their problems is this lack

of protection by the county, which they

believe the county has a duty to

provide....”

(SUMMARY of some remaining important

points: The above was followed by a

request for a Stay in paragraph 33; and

request to amend later in paragraph 34

explaining we were filing pro se and

were not sure if the complaint was |

properly worded; paragraphs 36 through

49 covered SEVEN COUNTS, as best as we

could word them, and asked for a sum

certain, MONEY DAMAGES, for each of the

seven counts. COUNT VIII of the

complaint is for injunctive relief and

reads as follows: )

"MANDATORY INJUNCTION

COMES WOW the Plaintiff and for Count

VIII of their complaint states as

follows:

50. Plaintiffs incorporates by reference

in this Count Paragraphs 1 through 35 of

the Statement of Facts contained herein.

51. Defendants, actions or failure to

provide protection, as set forth herein

are of such a continuing nature such as

to deprive the Plaintiffs of an adequate

36 a

remedy at law.

WHEREFORE, the Plaintiffs, James Allen

Marker, Jr. and Beverly Jean Marker, his

wife, prays as follows:

1. That this Court enters its mandatory

injunction requiring The Cownty of

Dallas, Missouri, to be required to

provide the services of the offices of

the Prosecutor and the Sheriff's Office,

on which it has a monopoly, to the

Plaintiffs on the same basis and with the

same ease of access, as impartially, and

with the same equal protection as

provided any other person or tax payer

within its jurisdiction; and

2. That this Court enters its mandatory

injunction requiring The County of Dallas

Missouri, to treat for purposes of

upholding the law, or any other purpose,

all persons in its jurisdiction, whether

born in Missouri, stranger, military, or

"outsider", or regardless of whom might

37 a

be, or might have been, their legal

representative, in an equal manner, and

to offer equal protection without any

person being able to use the powers

thereof the County or State to an unfair

or onesided advantage; and

3. That this Court enters its mandatory

injunction requiring the County of

Dallas, Missouri, to examine itself or

summit itself to inspection by an outside

body appointed by this Court, to remove

any of those in Law Enforcement, the

Justice System, or other County Officials

that have not fullfilled the duties of

their offices, with held Equal Protect-

ion, or have used the power of their

office to an unfair advantage to increase

their personal gain, or that of their

fellow county employees; and

4. That this Court enters its mandatory

injunction requiring the County of Dallas

Missouri, to make such reforms, update

38 a

we

such laws or practices, as is necessary

to assure true and full equal protection

and full civil rights to all those that

come within its jurisdiction; and

5S. That this Court order the Defendants,

to pay the Plaintiffs reasonable attor-

ney's fees, if the services of an attor-

ney are used, or to pay reasonable ex-

penses for the Plaintiffs in prosecuting

this injunction, and in their efforts to

secure their Rights and Justice; and

6. That this Court orders the Defendants

to pay costs hereof; and

7. _For such other and further relief as

is just and proper in the premises."

"Demand for Jury Trial”

LOCAL COURT RULES OF THE USITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT FOR THE WESTERH DISTRICT

OF MISSOURI Effective: January 1, 1983

Rule 1. F: "“F. VISITING ATTORNEYS;

PERMISSION TO APPEAR IN A PARTICULAR

39 a

CASE. Any attorney not a member of this

Bar but who is a member in good standing

of the Bar of any court of record, may be

permitted to appear and participate in a

particular case, civil or criminal, under

the following conditions:

Where any visiting attorney undertakes

to represent clients in this court, there

shall be filed with the initial pleading

a written statement, identifying each

court of which the visiting attorney is a

member of the Bar; and stating that

neither said lawyer nor any member of a

firm to which the attorney belongs

appears on any list of attorneys

disqualified to appear in that, or any

other, court of record. The statement

shall designate some member of the Bar of

this Court having an office for

transaction of law business in the

District and Division thereof in which

the visiting attorney seeks to appear,

40 a

upon whom service of all papers may be

made. The member of this Bar so

designated shall consent to said

designation and endorse all pleadings

thereafter filed in the cause.

Unless the statement, Supra, is filed

with the initial pleading, or within 15

days thereafter, the Court, upon motion,

may dismiss any action commenced in

violation of this Rule. Upon compliance

with the foregoing and introduction of

the visiting attorney to the Court the

sponsoring attorney may be excused from

further attendance and the visiting

attorney will be permitted to appear for

the purpose of the particular case,

without enrollment." Local FRCP Rule 1.F.

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

EIGHTH CIRCUIT Marker v Rieschel, et al.

No. 88-1905 Filed: Feb. 28, 1989

ATTORNEY GARY W. LYNCH'S LETTER dated

4la

February 23, 1989.

"IT have had the occasion to represent

Major and Mrs. Marker on matters at their

request arising out of their ownership of

their property in Dallas County, Miss-

ouri, since the early part of September,

1985, and particularly with regard to the

above referenced litigation.

In the first petition filed by the

Burtins it was claimed that they had an

ownership interest in the land upon which

the Marker'’s house is located. These

allegations have been stricken by the

Court and there are no allegations cur-

rently pending by the Burtins that they

have any claim on the Marker’s house.

Mrs. Marker has expressed to me on

numerous occasions that she is afraid to

Stay at her and her husband's home with-

out her husband being present. She

related to me several instances when she

was threatened by Mr. Burtin and the

42 a

Sheriff of Dallas County, although re-

quested to assist, refused to investigate

or for that matter even come out to the

property to lend assistance. The Burtins

have been represented in their civil act-

ion against Mrs. Marker by the Prosecut-

ing Attorney of Dallas County, Missouri.

I have had an investigator with this

office visit the premises and attempt to

verify Mrs. Marker's allegations. He has

obtained statements from third parties

confirming Mrs. Marker's statements about

the failure of the Dallas county Sheriff

to respond to her requests for

assistance. My investigator found no

instance where a witness’s statement

contradicted what had been conveyed to me

by either Major or Mrs. Marker.

Mrs. Marker has indicated to me that as

a result of the threats made against her

by Mr. Burtin and the threatening actions

taken by Mr. Burtin against her, coupled

with the fact that the Sheriff has re-

fused to respond to her requests for

assistance, that she is afraid to stay on

her own property without her husband.

Major Marker is in the military and be-

cause of his assignments cannot stay on

the Dallas County property. Therefore,

Mrs. Marker has hed no choice but to live

away from Dallas County, except for peri-

odic ei back to the property to main-

tain her residence. She has related to me

that on these trips to the Dallas County

property she has had to enter and leave

the premises surreptitiously because of

her fear and her lack of confidence that

the law enforcement officials of Dallas

County would provide her protection.

Because the state court action is

strictly between the Burtins'’s and Mrs.

Marker, the resolution of the pending

litigation in state court would not offer

Mrs. Marker any comfort or assurance that

_

44 a

she could rely upon the law enforcement

officials of Dallas County to provide her

protection under the law.

The absence of Mrs. Marker from the

area and Major Marker's duty assignments

in the military have contributed to the

inability to conclude the above litiga-

tion. In fact, the progress of this

litigation has been pending for some time

on scheduling the deposition of Major

Marker. Given the nature of his duty

assignment we have been unable to

schedule it at a time when he was

available. Until Mrs. Marker can be

present in the area for an extended

period of time to prepare properly, this

case may not be capable of resolution.

Although I am representing the Markers

in their land controversy, I! am not ina

position to represent them in any action

involving the law enforcement officials

of Dallas County, Missouri. _! have on

45 a

humerous occasions had to request of

these individuals to lend assistance to

several of my clients. it would not be

fair to my other clients to jeopardize

that relaticaship any further than what

my current representation of the Marker's

has already done. In addition, because I!

have had many occasions to deal with

these individuals I have developed

personal relationships that would make it

personally very difficult to oppose them

in a personal manner. I have explained

this on several occasions to the Markers

and urged that they seek the advice of

counsel that is not personally involved.

My comments should not be construed as an

indication on my part as to any belief as

to the propriety of the conduct of any of

these individuals but rather as an

explanation of my personal inability to

assist the Marker's as it relates to the

conduct of the law enforcement officials

46 a

of Dallas County, Missouri.

When Mrs. Marker mentioned to me that

she felt that some of the edtions that

had occurred to her in Dallas County were

the result of actions taken by the Klu

Klux Klan (KKK), I told her that I had

seen newspaper articles and ads in re-

lation to the Klan and that I had heard

rumors that they were indeed active in

the Dallas County area. Mrs. Marker

obtained a copy of a letter to the editor

of a local newspaper written by Mr. Ted

Dickover who professed to be a member of

the local Klan. I recall discussing this

and the activities of the Klan in the

Dallas County area with various members

of the community when it was published.

Yours truly.

DOUGLAS, LYNCH, MUNTON & HAUS, P.C.

BY Gary W. Lynch”

(Note: a copy of the above and also the

following is on on file with this Court

in Mr. Turners Office, filed May 26, 1989

see last part of DOCUMENTS May 1989)

47 a

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

EIGHTH CIRCUIT Marker v Rieschel, et al.

No. 88-1905 Filed Feb. 28, 1989

SWORN STATEMENT of EUGENE R. WOVAK,

JRNIOR, LONG LANE, DALLAS CO. MISSOURI

reads in most relevant part:

"I, Junior Novak, was raised in Dallas

County, Missouri....how many people did I

think ether belonged to the Klan OR

shared their views....in my opinion it

was probably about 95%...the Klan and

racism is very active in the County.

..remain low key...manage to accomplish

their goals... I believe that the

problems Major and Mrs. Marker are having

is because they hold beliefs different

than most of the people that live in this

area....

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

EIGHTH CERCUIT Marker v Rieschel, et al.

Ho. 88-1905 Filed Feb. 28, 1989 article

Dated 23 Feb. From Buffalo ‘(Dallas Co. )

48 a

Mo. Newspaper by Mr. Ted Dickover reads

in most relevant part:

"Dear Editor: ... Dallas County...

Knights of the Klu Klux Klan ... We

believe in white supremacy. We do not

believe in Mob violence, but we do

believe that laws should be enacted to

prevent the cause of mob violence....

I am a Kieagle in this organization,

which is the same as a recruiting

officer, and males 18 years old or older

who would like more information or

desires to join this order may contact me

at P.O. Box 529, Buffalo, Mo. 65622. For

God and Country. Kleagle Ted Dickover" _

{ Full copy of the above and also the

following articles are on file with this

Court in Mr. Turners Office, filed May

26, 1989, please see last part of

DOCUMENTS May 1989 ]

"MADAME CHOUTEAU" by Roy Blunt

(Missouri) Secretary of State, published

in the Buffalo Missouri, County Courier

20 April 1989 page 10: "...Madame

49 a

Chouteau became an accomplished business—

woman, Indian slave trader and property

Owner."

COMMENTARY, March 22, 1989 by Jim

Hamilton, Editor and Publisher of the

Buffalo Reflex: "...I would like to

have seen Missouri’s streams as the Osage

knew them. But several million people

have moved into the state since we ran

the Indians out....”

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

EIGHTH CIRCUIT Marker v Rieschel, et al.

No. 88-1905 Filed Feb. 28, 1989, dated

23 Feb. From THE NEWS-LEADER the main

newspaper in Springfield, Missouri

Sunday, Feb. 14, 1988. Article by Rodney

Bowers of Gannett Wews Service, reads in

most relevant part:

"... Robert Edwards Miles, 63,

reportedly the Wo. 2 man in the Aryan

Nations group.... Miles, a former grand

dragon of the Michigan Realm of the

50 a

United Klans of America...had called for

"a new order in which followers, through

paramilitary and covert actions, would

attain total social, total political and

total theological power.' The highest

officials of this new order, said Miles,

should ‘include ones already holding

policy-making positions within the

federal, state, county or other govern-

mental levels,’ including members of the

armed forces and police officers....

FURTHER INFORMATION ON "MILES" mentioned

in above article from: page 50 of SPEC-

IAL REPORT, "The Ku Klux Klan A History

of Racism and Violence” Third Edition

1988, Published by Klanwatch, a project

of THE SOUTHERN POVERTY LAW CENTER, 400

Washington Ave., Montgomery, Ala. 36104:

"Robert Miles, 62, is the former grand

dragon of the United Klans of America's

Michigan chapter.... heads the Mountain

Church (also called Mountain Kirk) a

white supremacist church ... in Cohoctah,

Mich., and publishs "From The Mountain" a

newsletter read by a wide range of white

5ia

supremacists. Miles conducts an exten-

sive prison ministry and hosts national

gatherings at his farm twice a year.

During the 1970s, Miles spent six years

in federal prison... According to the

\

FBI, Miles was a regional commander of

the Order, and he allegedly directed many

of the Order crimes. Miles was acquitted

along with other top leaders of seditious

conspiracy charges in 19886...." ( in

Federal Court in Fort Smith, Ark. ] ,

tFOOTNOTE: A full copv of the article: 2/14/88

pPaje SUa, and a map that was with the article is

ON page Soa; additional relevant articles were

filed with this Court May 26, 1989 in DOCUMENTS

May 1989. 1 e.: the pictures on page S4a were

taken at Higginsville, Mo on a 108 acre park

where Mo. 1s Duilding a Confederate Museum and

adding adjacent acreage for a cemetery; there was

also an article titled "KLAN CANDIDATES ANGERING

SOME.” The Klan article 16 about two white

supremacists who ran for public office this

spring in Northmoor, Mo. (population S06 last

census ) They were reported to be: Dennis Mahon,

a mational Ku Klux Klan organizer, and Joe

Howard, a Klan sympathizer and former member of

the National Association for the Advancement of

White People. They sent out Klan literature to

gain votes, upsetting some of those supporters of

the opposing candidates. Northmoor is located

near Kansas City. These (47a- S4a) are relevant

to question 7, and show a little of what is

going on in the Western Dist. of Mo.

52 a

.. Seriddne se;0m Buyynjjod

on = JO woTONIE:

sBujquoq Aq ‘ednasd au

‘pevoge sem idweie ey, wy ‘eNIAeleAe4 ‘uoneu UBAIY Ue WO) PUB juewWUIeACO

JO xOuH ‘GQ :RET jee (G4 PUB WY 8181S PelUM ey MOsYUEAO OF Buljeow

o - “erepBupds j0 see UWHUBs4 1H eOpNr eu) 18 pendsucc vew 10 dnosd @ sebeye

1830P0) 174 OF ‘EBEL ‘92 “26Q Gwed juewUseACO BYU, “OUeP| ‘exe VEPAeH !e

VSO Pui 1 Ajpa6eys sseqwew ySO @) sses6u0D suoen uedy ey) Bunp ‘eg61

"Nees 18 “S61 ‘OZ 260 ‘OL-Z Ane jew sisinewesdns e114 00Z ®

fUBQ © POQQO! J0PIO SUL JO Grequene © :sAes juewwercd eu)

- 98, Ut 8M, Burunepold “yy

‘Munod uoven uy dweo vSo ou 1e E8G6L Vous sdno:5

C861 4eQweleg Wj jUeWNDOP B sUD;s

vosmg suueg sewer epee yso (8) Buim-Uubu jeoipes 0}

painquye suonoy

and with the

The News

From

May |9s9

983

53 a

1

court 2b

a. M> Feb 114, 1388 page G-!

tnote page Sga and article page 50a

tm this ¢

Soringtiel

Please see foo

sth Cir Ct on 26 Feb

Filed wy

Leader.

PROPOSED SITE OF

MISSOURI STATE

VETERANS CEME TEN)

HIGGINSVILLE, MO.

JOHN ASHCROFT GOVERNOR

-ARD RICE. DIRECTOR RONALDL.NORRIS PE Ont

PUBLIC SAFETY DIV. = DESIGN © CONSTRUCT

“2! FS R. ROBERTS. DIRECTOR

“TERANS AFFAIRS

ie Oe TO

.)

THE “IssOUR! DIVISK yo

ean < nan %

NITED DAUGHTERS. OF THE C’

By 7

SEPTEMBER 26. {°

Le: | conrenenare | Missourians Improving

Stare wstonc | 6Their Parks

SITt

Ay

ee NCONS TRU TUR These improvements to your park are

q sen cn an paid for by money Missourians

F wee aaa approved through a statewide bond

eS issue and Constitutional Amendment

Ww TGA TION

No. 2, the parks and soils sales tax.

i These projects are scheduled to be

completed during the next five years.

frederct A. Grammer

Ow ec tor

epertment of Netw al Rese

CONSTITUTION OF THE UBITED STATES

OF AMERICA ‘(in relevant part)

Art. I, sec. 10, par. 1 & 2:

" No state shall enter into any treaty,

alliance or confederation; grant letters

of marque and reprisal...pass any ...ex

post facto law..."

" No state shall...pass any law...

impairing the obligation of contracts..."

Art. III, sec. 2, par. 1:

" The judicial power shall extend to all

cases, ir law and equity, arising under

this constitution, the laws of the United

States, and treaties made or which shall

be made under their authority;...between

citizens of different states”

Art. III, sec. 3, par. 1:

" Treason against the United States shall

consist only in levying war against then,

or in adhering to their enemies, giving

them aid and comfort."

Art. IV, sec. 2, par. 1:

55 a

" The citizens of each state shall be

entitled to all privileges and immunities

of citizens in the several states.”

Art. VI, par. 2 & 3:

" This constitution and the laws of the

United States which shall be made in pur-

suance thereof, and all treaties made or

which shall be made under the authority

of the "Inited States, shall be the Su-

preme law of the land; and the judges in

every state shall be bound thereby, any-

thing in the constitution or laws of any

state to the contrary notwithstanding.”

" The ... members of the several state

legislatures, and all executive and

judicial officers, both of the United

States and of the several states, shall

be bound, by oath or affirmation to

support this constitution...”

AMENDMENTS TO THE

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION:

FIRST AMENDMENT "“Congess shall make no

56 a

law respecting an establishment of

religion, or prohibiting the free

exercise therecf: or abridging the

freedom of speech, or of the press: or

the right of the people peaceably to

assemble, and to petition the Government

for redress of grievances.”

FIFTH AMENDMENT: " Bo person

shall...be deprived of life, liberty or

property without due process of law...”

SEVENTH AMENDMENT: " In suits at

common law where the value in controversy

shall exceed twenty dollars, the right of

trial by jury shall be preserved, and no

fact tried by jury shall be otherwise

re-examined in any court of the United

States, than according to the rules of

common law. "

NINTH AMENDMENT: *" The Enumeration in

the constitution of certain rights shall

not be construed to deny or disparage

others retained by the people.”

FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT, section 1:

' All persons born or naturalized in the

United States and subject to the

jurisdiction thereof are citizens of the

United States and of the state wherein

they reside. Wo state shall make or

enforce any law which shall abridge the

the privileges or immunities of citizens

of the United States, nor shall any state

deprive any person of life, liberty or

property without due process of law, nor

deny to any person within its jurisdic-—

tion the equal protection of the laws.”

ART. XIV, section 5: " The Congress

shall have power to enforce, by

appropriate legislation, the provisions

of this article.”

28 USC section 1254 COURTS OF APPEALS;

CERTIORARI; APPEAL; CERTIFIED QUESTION

Cases in the courts of appeal may be

reviewed by the Supreme Court by the

following methods:

58 a

(1) By writ of certiorari granted upon

the petition of any party to any civil or

criminal case, before or after rendition

of judgement or decree;

28 USC section 1331 FEDERAL QUESTION

The district courts shall have original

jurisdiction of all civil actions arising

under the Constitution, laws, or treaties

of the United States.

28 USC section 1332

(a) The district courts shall have

original jurisdiction of all civil

actions where the matter in controversy

exceeds the sum or value of $10,000,

exclusive of interest and costs, and is

bet ween--—

(1) citizens of different States;

28 USC section 1343 CIVIL RIGHTS AND

ELECTIVE FRANCHISE

(a) The district courts shall have

59 a

Original jurisdiction of any civil action

authorized by law to be commenced by any

person:

(1) To recover damages for injury to

his person or property. or because of the

deprivation of any right or privilege of

a citizen of the United States, by any

act done in furtherance of any conspiracy

mentioned in section 1985 of Title 41;

(2) To recover damages from any person

who fails to prevent or to aid in

preventing any wrongs mentioned in

section 1985 of Title 42 which he had

knowledge were abdout to occur and power

to prevent;

(3) To redress the deprivation, under

color of any State law, statute,

ordinance, regulation, custom or usage,

of any right, privilege or immunity

secured by the Constitution of the United

States or by any Act of Congress

providing for equal rights of citizens or

60 a

of all persons within the jurisdiction of

the United States;

(4) To recover damages or to secure

equitable or other relief under any Act

of Congress providing for the protection

of civil rights, including the right to

vote.

42 USC section 1983. CIVIL ACTION FOR

DEPRIVATION OF RIGHTS

Every person who, under color of any

statute, ordinance, regulation, custon,

or usage, of any State or Territory or

the District of Columbia, subjects, or

causes to be subjected, any citizen of

the United States or other person within

the jurisdiction thereof to the

deprivation of any rights, privileges, or

immunities secured by the Constitution

and laws, shall be liable to the party

injured in an action at law, suit in

equity, or other proper proceeding for

redress. For the purposes of this

61 a

section, any Act of Congress applicable

exclusively to the District of Columbia

shall be considered to be a statute of

the District of Columbia. .R.S section

1979; Pub.L. 96-170, section 1, Dec. 29,

1979, 93 Stat.1284.)

42 USC section 1985. CONSPIRACY TO

INTERFERE WITH CIVIL RIGHTS

(1) Preventing Officer From Performing

Duties

If two or more persons in any State or

Territory conspire to prevent, by force,

intimidation, or threat, any person from

accepting or holding any office, trust,

or place of confidence under the United

States, or from discharging any duties

thereof; or to induce by like means any

officer of the United States to leave any

State, district, or place, where his

duties as an officer are required to be

performed, or to injure him in his person

or property on account of his lawful

62 a

discharge of the duties of his office, or

while engaged in the lawful discharge

thereof, or to injure his property so as

to molest, interrupt, hinder, or impede

him in the discharge of his official

duties;

(2) Obstructing Justice; Intimidating

party, witness, or juror

If two or more persons in any State or

Territory conspire to deter, by force,

intimidation, or threat, any party or

witness in any court of the United States

from attending such court, or from

testifying to any matter pending therein,

freely, fully, and truthfully, or to

induce such party or witness in his

person or property on account of his

having so attended or testified, or to

influence the verdict, presentment, or

indictment of any grand or petit juror in

any such court, or to injure such juror

in his person or property on account of

63 a

any verdict, presentment, or indictment

lawfully assented to by him, or of his

being or having been such juror; or if

two or more persons conspire for the

purpose of impeding, hindering,

obstructing, or defeating, in any manner,

the due course of justice in any State or

Territory, with intent to deny to any

citizen the equal protection of the laws,

or to injure him or his property for

lawfully enforcing, or attempting to

enforce, the right of any person, or

class of persons, to the equal protection

of the laws;

(3) Depriving Persons Of Rights Or

Privileges

If two or more persons in any State or

Territory conspire or go in disguise on

the highway or on the premises of

another, for the purpose of depriving,

either directly or indirectly, any person

or class of persons of the equal

64 a

protection of the laws, or of equal

privileges and immunities under the laws;

or for the purpose of preventing or

hindering the constitued authorities of

any State or Territory from giving or

securing to all persons within such State

or Territory the equal protection of the

laws; or if two or more persons conspire

to prevent by force, intimidation, or

threat, any citizen who is lawfully

entitled to vote, from giving his support

or advocacy in a legal manner, toward or

in favor of the election of any lawfully

qualified person as an elector for

President or Vice President, or as a

Member of Congress of the United States;

Or to injure any citizen in person or

proverty on account of such support or

advocacy; in any case of conspiracy set

forth in this section, if one or more

persons engaged therein do, or cause to

be done, any act in furtherance of the

65 a

object of such conspiracy, whereby

another is injured in his person or

property, or deprived of having exercised

any right or privilege of a citizen of

the United States, the party so injured

or deprived may have an action for the

recovery of damages occasioned by such

injury or deprivation, against any one or

more of the conspirators.

C(R.S. section 1980)

42 USC section 1986. ACTION FOR

NEGLECT TO PREVENT

Every person who, having knowledge

that any of the wrongs conspired to be

done, and mentioned in section 1985 of

this title, are about to be committed,

and having power to prevent or aid in

preventing the commission of the same,

neglects or refuses so to do, if such

wrongful act be committed, shall be

liable to the party injured, or his legal

66 a

neneeentemeeetnmsieniaiiiilmeieiaial

representatives, for all damages caused

by such wrongful act, which such person

by reasonable diligence could have

prevented; and such damages may be

recovered in an action on the case; and

any number of persons guilty of such

wrongful neglect or refusal may be joined

as defendants in the action; and if the

death of aiy party be caused by any such

wrongful act and neglect, the legal

representatives of the deceased shall

have such action therefor, and may

recover not exceeding $5,000 damages

therein, for the benefit of the widow of

the deceased, if there be one, and if

there be no widow, then for the benefit

of the next of kin of the deceased. But

no action under the provisions of this

section shall be sustained which is not

commenced within one year after the cause

of action has accrued. (R.S. section 1981)

67 a

42 USC section 1988 PROCEEDINGS IW

VINDICATION OF CIVIL RIGHTS;

ATTORNEY'S FEES

The jurisdiction in civil and criminal

matters conferred on the district courts

by the provisions of this Title, and of

Title "CIVIL RIGHTS," and of Titles

"CRIMES," for the protection of all

persons in the United States in their

civil rights, and for their vindication,

shall be exercised and enforced in

conformity with the laws of the United

States, so far as such laws are suitable

to carry the same into effect; but in all

cases where they are not adapted to the

object, or are deficient in the

provisions necessary to furnish suitable

remedies and punish offenses against law,

the common law, as modified and changed

by the constitution and statutes of the

state wherein the court having

jurisdiction of such civil or criminal

68 a

eT

cause is held, so far as the same is not

inconsistent with the Constitution and

laws of the United States, shall be

extended to and govern the said courts in

the trial and disposition of the cause,

and, if it is of a criminal nature, in

the infliction of punishment on the party

found guilty. In any action or

proceeding to enforce a provision of

sections 1981, 1982, 1983, 1985, and 1986

of this title IX of Public Law 92-318 [20

U.S.C. 1681 et seq.), or title VI of the

Civil Rights Act of 1964 (42 U.S.C. 2000d

et seq.], the court, in its discretion,

may allow the prevailing party, other

than the United States, a reasonable

attorney's fee as part of the costs.

SOLDIERS’ AND SAILORS' CIVIL RELIEF ACT

of 1940 as amended, modified, and in

relevant part:

69 a

en

50 USC App Section 464 SOLDIERS' AND

SAILORS’ CIVIL RELIEF ACT AS APPLICABLE

wren: te ® | Be the provisions of the

Soldiers’ and Sailors’ Civil Relief Act

of 1940, as amended ... shall be

applicable to all persons in the armed

forces of the United States ... until

such time as the Soldiers’ and Sailors’

Civil Relief Act of 1940, as amended...is

repealed or otherwise terminated by

subsequent Act of Congress ....”"

— CC ——- CO

SO USC App Section 466 DEFINITIONS

(c) The term "armed forces” shall be

deemed to include the Army, the Wavy, the

Marine Corps, the Air Force, and the

Coast Guard.

50 USC App section 510 PURPOSE;

SUSPEBSION OF EWFORCEMEST OF CIVIL

LIABILITIES

In order to provide for strengthen,

and expedite the national defense...of

70 a

the United States and to enable the

United States the more successfully to

fulfill the requirements of the national

defense, provision is made to suspend

enforcement of civil liabilities, in

certain cases, Of persons in the military

seraten of the United States in order to

enable such persons to devote their

entire energy to the defense needs of the

Wation, and to this end the following

provisions are made for the temporary

suspension of legal proceedings and

transactions which may prejudice the

civil rights of persons in such

SOP Vie. :s-s-

50 USCS Appx section 511 DEFINITIONS

(3) The term "person", when used in

this Act...with reference to the holder

of any right alleged to exist against a

person in military service or against a

person secondarily liable under such

71a

right, shall include individuals,

partnerships, corporations, and any other

forms of business association.

(4) The term "court", as used in this

Act...shall include any court of

competent jurisdiction of the United

States or of any State, whether or not a

court of record.

50 USC App section 513. PROTECTION OF

PERSONS SECONDARILY LIABLE

(1) Whenever pursuant to any of the

provisions of this Act...the enforcement

of any obligation or liability, the

prosecution of any suit or proceeding,

the entry or enforcement of any order,

writ, judgment, or degree, or the per-

formance of any other act, may be stayed,

postponed, or suspended, such stay, post-

ponement, or suspension may, in the dis-

cretion of the court, likewise be granted

to sureties, guarantors, endorsers,

accommodation makers, and others, whether

72 a

primarily or secondarily subject to the

Obligation or liability, the performance

or enforcement of which is stayed,

postponed, or suspended.

(2) When a judgment or decree is

vacated or set aside in whole or in part,

as provided in this Act...the same my ,

in the discretion of the court, likewise

be set aside and vacated as to any

surety, guarantor, endorser,

accommodation maker, or other person

whether primarily or secondarily liable

upon the contract or liability for the

enforcement of which the judgment or

degree was entered.

(4) ...no such waiver shali be valid

after the beginning of the period of mil-

itary service if executed by an indi-

vidual who subsequent to the execution of

such waiver becomes a person in the

military service, or if executed by a

dependent of such individual...

73 a

50 USC App section 520. DEFAULT

JUDGMENTS; AFFIDAVITS; BONDS; ATTORNEYS

FOR PERSONS IW SERVICE

(1)>...Unless it appears the defendant

is not in such service the court my

require...that the plaintiff file a

bond... to indemnify the defendant, if in

military service, against any loss or

damage that he may suffer...the court my

make such other and further order or

enter such judgment as in its opinion my

be necessary to protect the rights of the

defendant...

(3) In any action or proceeding in

which a person in military service is a

party if such party does not personally

appear therein or is not represented by

an authorized attorney, the court may

appoint an attorney to represent him; and

in such case a like bond may be required

and an order made to protect the rights

of such person. But no attorney

74 a

appointed under this Act...to protect a

person in military service shall have

power to waive any right of the person

for whom he is appointed or bind him by

his acts.

(4) If any Judgement shall be rendered

..and it appears that such person was

prejudiced by reason of his military

service in making his defense thereto,

such judgement may...be opened by the

Sours. . «

50 USCS App section 521 STAY OF

PROCEEDINGS WHERE MILITARY SERVICE

AFFECTS CONDUCT THEREOF

At any stage thereof any action or

proceeding in any court in which a person

in military service is involved, either

as plaintiff or defendant, during the

period of such service or within sixty

days thereafter may, in the discretion of

the court in which it is pending, on its

own motion, and shall, on application to

75 a

it by such person or some person on his

behalf, be stayed as provided in this Act

(50 USCS Appx. sections 501 et seq.],

unless, in the opinion of the court, the

ability of plaintiff to prosecute the

action or the defendant to conduct his

defense is not materially affected by

reason of his military service. (Oct. 17,

1940, ch 888, section 201, 54 Stat. 1181)

50 USCS Appx section 523 STAY OR VACATION

OF EXECUTION OF JUDGEMENTS, ATTACHMENTS,

ETC.

In any action or proceeding commenced

in any court against a person in military

service, before or during the period of

such service, or within sixty days

thereafter, the court may, in its

discretion, on its own motion, or on

application to it by such person or some

person on his behalf shall, unless in the

opinion of the court the ability of the

76 a

defendant to comply with the judgment or

order entered or sought is not materially

affected by reason of his military

service--

(a) Stay the execution of any judgment or

order entered against such person, as

provided in this Act (50 USCS Appx.

sections 501 et seq.]; and

(b) Vacate or stay any attachment or

garnishment of property, money, or debts

in the hands of another, whether before

or after judgment as provided in this Act

(50 USCS Appx. sections 501 et seq.].

(Oct. 17, 1940, ch 888, section 203, 54

Stat. 1181.)

50 USCS Appx section 524 DURATION AND

TERM OF STAYS; CODEFENDANTS NOT IB

SERVICE

Any stay of any action, proceeding,

attachment, or execution, ordered by any

court under the provisions of this Act

77 a

(50 USCS Appx. sections 501 et seq.] may,

except as otherwise provided, be ordered

for the period of military service and

three months thereafter or any part of

such period, and subject to such terms as

may be just...

50 USCS Appx section 525. STATUTES OF

LIMITATICNS AS AFFECTED BY PERIOD OF

SERVICE

The period of military service shall

not be included in computing any period

now or hereafter to be limited by any

law, regulation, or order for the

bringing of any action or proceeding in

any court, board, bureau, commission,

department, or other agency of government

by or against any person in military

service or by or against his heirs,

executors, administrators, or assigns,

whether such cause of action or the

right or privilege to institute such

action or proceeding shall have accrued

78 a

prior to or during the period of such

service, nor shall any part of such

period which occurs after the date of

enactment of the Soldiers' and Sailors’

Civil Relief Act Amendments of 1942 (Oct.

6, 1942) be included in computing any

period now or hereafter provided by any

law for the redemption of real property

sold or forfeited to enforce any obliga-

tion, tax, or assessment. ‘Oct. 17, 1940,

ch 888, section 205, 54 Stat. 1181; Oct.

6,1942, ch 581, section 5, 56 Stat. 770.)

50 U.S.C. section 535. PROTECTION OF

ASSIGNOR OF LIFE INSURANCE POLICY;

ENFORCEMENT OF STORAGE LIENS; PENALTIES

(1) Where any life insurance policy on

the life of a person in military service

has been assigned prior to such person's

period of military service to secure

(2) Wo person shall exercise any right to

foreclose or enforce any lien for

79 a

FEDERAL CIVIL JUDICIAL PROCEDURE AWD

RULES Fed. R.Civ.P. Rule 4. Process

(d) Summons and Complaint: Person to be

Served.

(6) Upon a state or municipal cerporation

or other governmental organization

thereof subject tc suit, by delivering a

copy of the summons and of the complaint

to the chief executive officer thereof or

by serving the summons and complaint in

the manner prescribed by the law of that

state for the service of summons or other

like process upon any such defendant.

FEDERAL CIVIL JUDICIAL PROCEDURE AND

RULES Fed.R.Civ.P. Rule 15. AMENDED AND

SUPPLEMEBTAL PLEADINGS "A party may

amend the party's pleading... leave shall

be freely given when justice so requires

se

hus

Fed. R.Civ.P. Rule 19. JOINER OF PERSOSS

HEEDED FOR JUST ADJUDICATION

"(a) Persons to be Joined if Feasible.

80 a

..Shall be joined...if (1) in the

person's absence complete relief cannot

be accorded... (2) the person claims an

interest... disposition of the action in

the person's absence may (i) ...impair or

impede the person's ability to protect

that interest (ii) leave any of the

persons already parties parties subject

to a substantial risk...

FEDERAL CIVIL JUDICIAL PROCEDURE AND

RULES Fed.R.Civ.P. Rule 55. DEFAULT

(a) ENTRY. When a party against whom a

judgment for affirmative relief is sought

has failed to plead or otherwise defend

as provided by these rules and that fact

is made to appear by affidavit or

otherwise, the clerk shall enter the

party's default.

(b) JUDGMENT. Judgment by default may

be entered as follows:

(1) BY THE CLERK. When the plaintiff's

81a

claim against a defendant is for a sum

certain or for a sum which can by

computation be made certain, the clerk

upon request of the plaintiff and upon

affidavit of the amount due shall enter

judgment for that amount and costs

against the defendant, if the defendant

has been defaulted for failure to appear

and if he is not an infant ur incompetent

person.

(2) BY THE COURT. In all other cases

the party entitled to a judgment by

default shall apply to the court

therefor; but no judgment by default

shall be entered against an infant or

incompetent person unless represented

in the action by a general guardian,

committee, conservator, or other such

representative who has appeared therein.

If the party against whom judgment by

default is sought has appeared in the

action

82 a

MISSOURI REVISED STATUTES

506.140 WHO SHALL SERVE PROCESS Service

of process except as otherwise provided

shall be made by a sheriff, or his de-

puty, or in case the sheriff in any cause

is for any reason disqualified, then pro-

cess may be issued to and served by the

coroner of the county in which such pro-

cess is to be served; or for good cause

shown, some person, other than a sheriff

Or coroner, may be specially appointed by

the court for service of process in any

cause, but such appoint- ment shall be

valid for service of the process only for

which such person was specially appoint-

ed. (L.1943 p. 353 section 26)

506.150. SUMMONS AND PETITION SHALL BE

SERVED TOGETHER---HOW SERVICE SHALL BE

MADE The summons and petition shall be

served together. Service shall be made

as follows: (4) Upon a public, municipal,

governmental, or quasi-public corporation

83 a

or body, by delivering a copy of the

summons and of the petition to the clerk

of the county court in the case of a

county, to the mayor or city clerk or

city attorney in the case of a city, and

to the chief executive officer in the

case of any other public, municipal,

governmental or quasi-public corporation

or body.... (L.1943 p. 353 section 27)

56.010. PROSECUTING ATTORNEY -- ELECTION

--QUALIFICATIONS: ...shall be elected in

each county of this state a prosecuting

attorney...has been a bona fide resident

of the county in which he seeks election

for twelve months next preceding the date

of the general election at which he is a

candidate for such office...

56.060 DUTIES-GENERAL-IW CHANGES OF

VENUE-ON APPEAL Each Prosecuting

attorney shall commence and prosecute all

civil] and criminal actions in his county

84 a

in which the county or state is concern-

ed, defend all suits against the state or

county, and prosecute forfeited recog-

nizances and actions for the recovery of

debts, fines, penalties and forfeitures

accruing to the state or county....or

shall employ some attorney at his own

expense to represent the state in the

courts..

56.065 PROSECUTING ATTORNEY TO DEVOTE

FULL TIME TO OFFICE ‘(CERTAIB FIRST ABD

SECOND CLASS COUNTIES) " Notwithstanding

the provisions of section 56.360, the

prosecuting attorney of every first class

county and of counties of the second

class having a population of more than

one hundred thousand inhabitants, and of

counties of the second class having a

population of more than thirty thousand

containing a part of a city having a

population of more than four hundred

thousand, and of counties of the second

65 a

class having a population of more than

eighty thousand at the 1970 decennial

census, but less than ninety thousand

shall devcte his time full time to his

office, and except for the performance of

his official duties, shall not engage in

the practice of law.”

—-

56.070 PROSECUTING ATTORNEY'S DUTIES--

EXCEPTION

" The prosecuting attorney shall

represent generally the county in all

matters of law, investigate all claims

against the county, and draw all

contracts relating to the business of the

county. He shall give his opinion,

without fee, in matters of law in which

the county is interested, and writing

when demanded, to the county commission

or any commissioner thereof, except in

counties in which there is a county

counselor....”

86 a

56.110. IF INTERESTED IN CASE, COURT TO

APPOINT SUBSTITUTE " If the prosecuting

attorney and assistant prosecuting

attorney be interested or shall have been

employed as counsel in any case where

such employment is inconsistent with the

duties of his office, or shall be related

to the defendant in any criminal prose-

cution, either by blood or by marriage,

the court having criminal jurisdiction

may appoint some other attorney to prose-

cute os defend the cause. (R.S. 1939

section 12948)

56.360. EMPLOYMENT IB CRIMINAL CASES

PROHIBITED--CIVIL PRACTICE AUTHORIZED.

"It shall be unlawful for any

prosecuting attorney or circuit

attorney, or any assisting prosecuting

attorney or any assistant circuit

attorney, during the term of office for

which he shall have been elected or

appointed, to accept employment by any

87 a

party other than the state of Missouri in

any criminal case or proceeding;

provided, that nothing in this section

shall be deemed to preclude the officers

specified in this section from engaging

in the civil practice of law. Any

violation of the provisions of this

section shall be deemed a misdemeanor."

56.631 COUNTY COUNSELOR--CERTAIW FIRST

‘CLASS COUNTIES

"The county commission of any county of

the first class not having a charter fcrm

of government or any second class county

which contains part of a city witha

population of at least three hundred

fifty thousand may by order of the court

appoint some suitable person to the

position of county counselor...

4. The county commission may require the

county counselor to devote his full time

to the duties of his office. ‘

88 a

Filed with the 8th Cir. Court of Appeals

Marker v. Rieschel, et al. No. 88-1905:

ORDER Filed: April 7, 1969 .......... la

OPINION Filed: January 9, 1989 .... la-6a

Dist. Ct. Marker v. Rieschel, et al.

Ho. 87-3650-CV-S-4

ORDER: Filed May 20, 1968 ......... 6a-9a

JUDGMENT IW A CIVIL CASE: Filed May 20,

iran tesa ir aks ate ara ee es eee eee 9a-10a

ORDER: Filed Feb. 9, 1988 ....... 10a-13a

LETTER REFRRED TO IW ABOVE ORDER from:

R. K. ASH, JR., COLONEL, USAF.... 14a-16a

LETTER OF MAJOR MARKER .......... 17a-32a

DEGe. Ges “ROIS Gee 6 i a ais cece 32a-33a

COMPLAINT filed Wov. 27, 1987 ... 33a-39a

G4 om go: EAs a en eee 36a-39a

LOCAL RULES OF THE U.S. DIST. CT. for the

WESTERN DIST. OF MO. Rule 1. F. . 39a-41la

Filed with the 8th Cir. Court of Appeals

Marker v. Rieschel, et al. No. 88-1905:

ATTORNEY LYNCH’'S LETTER Filed: Feb. 28

RO + 6-8. 0g 6 020-5 a8 eh od eee ee a eS 41a-47a

Sworn Statement from Eugene R. Novak,

Junior, Long Lane, Dallas Co. Missouri

Pilea: Feb. 26, 1960 ..cccrsscveenvvn 48a

Misc. Filed with the Courts as indicated.

er ere ee ee ee een ee 48a-54a

Photo Copies of nearly all of the above

was filed with This Supreme Court on May

26, 1989 when we requested addition time.

89 a

Constitution, statutes, and regulation:

CONSTITUTION OF THE UNITED STATES

OF AMERICA (‘in relevant part)

Art. I, sec. 10, par. 18@2....... 55a

Art. III, @ec. 2, POF. © .rsessescs 55a

Art. III, @@c. 3, pear. 2 ..esssnens 55a

Art. IV, sec. 2, par. 1 ....... 55a-56a

Art. VI, par. 2 OSD wcrc cecssvssseas 56a

First Amendment Art.I ......... 56a-57a

Fifth Amendment Art.V ............. 57a

Seventh Amendment Art.VII ......... 57a

Winth Amendment Art.IX ............ 57a

Fourteenth Amendment Art.XIV....... 58a

Federal Code - Title:

26 USC @@c. 1254 2... secesesees 58a-59a

28 USC ec. ISS nc crc ccssetvnnses 59a

28 UBC @ec. ABTS oes 6 cs ene s Si eee 59a

28 USC sec. 13943 .... cece eeaes 59a-6la

42 USC @ec. 19635 ....eessaedas 61a-62a

42 UEC amc. 1965 fii ws irseaes 62a-66a

42 USC mec. 1966 ...cecscscees 66a-67a

42 USC @ec. 1968 .....ssiesenss 68a-69a

50 USC App sec. 501 et seq..... 69a-79a

50 USC App sec. 464 .... cc eeseseves 70a

50 USC App sec. 466 (c)............ 70a

50 USC App sec. 510 ........... 70a-7la

50 USC App sec. 511 ........... 7la-72a

SO USC App sec. S13 .....cscaes 72a-73a

50 USC App sec. 520 ....-sssses 74a-75a

50 USC App @@c. S2i ...cseseees 75a-76a

50 USC App sec. 52S ........... 76a-77a

50 USC App sec. 524 .....-...4. 77a-78a

50 USC App sec. S25 .....seeees 78a-79a

50 USC App S@C. SSS . nc scesecvesesce 79a

(In 3rd Circuit Opinion Appendix 4a)

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure:

Fed.8.Civ.F. Bula @ 254-5 s eee we ee 80a

Fed. R.Ci¢v. FP. Bam Be sss eee ee eee 80a

Fed. 8.Giv.P. BObe@ 20 ins eva ewes 80a-8la

Ped. R.Civ. FP. RGi@ De «+.sssaneee 8la-82a

Local Court Rule of The U.S. Dist.Ct.

The Western DistrictOf Missouri:

Rule 1. F. Attorneys ......... 3S9a-4la

90a

EE Ee eee

Missouri Constitution Art.5 sec.16 ... 50

Missouri Revised Statutes:

ES ee 83a

OS A a 83a-84a

(as effective when complaint filed)

ee ee a 84a

a ae ee a 84a-85a

ea ee 85a-86a

EES ee ee 86a

ee Gre Ws SW 6) 5A KOK Sos ee 8 8 ek 87a

ES eee 87a-88a

Pe eS 66 ehh a6 5 6k ee ee eee ee ws 88a

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.