Petition for Writ of Certiorari — 57,261 Items of Drug Paraphernalia et al., Contempo Products, Inc., by and through its president, Richard K. Rowland v. United States of America

Supreme Court brief1989

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 89 - 2 t Supreme Court, U.S. |

IN THE |

+1 gern F. SPANIOL, JR.

Supreme Court of the United Séfee—

ee ea

October Term, 1989

57,261 ITEMS OF DRUG PARAPHERNALIA, et al.,

Petitioners,

CONTEMPO PRODUCTS, INC., by and through its

president, Richard K. Rowland,

Claimant-Petitioner,

vs.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

To the United States Court of Appeals

For the Sixth Circuit

ROBERT T. VAUGHN, Counsel of Record

926 Stahlman Building

211 Union Street

Nashville, Tennessee 37201

(615) 242-2550

LARRY D. Woops

Woops AND Woops

121 17th Avenue South

Nashville, Tennessee 37203

(615) 259-4366

Counsel for Petitioners

THE GATES LEGAL PUBLISHING CO., CLEVELAND, OHIO—TEL. (216) 621-5647

ee

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

The Mail Order Drug Paraphernalia Control Act of —

1986 is being applied against innocent merchants around

the country, putting many of them out of business. The

law is now being extensively challenged, and decisions

are conflicting both with precedent established by this

Court as well as with ec:h other. This case presents the

following questions for review:

1. Whether the Mail Order Drug Paraphernalia

Control Act, 21 U.S.C. §857, has been applied

unconstitutionally in violation of Due Process

requirements of the Constitution.

2. Whether the mandatory requirement of a

criminal conviction, set forth as a condition precedent to

property seizure in the Mail Order Drug Paraphernalia

Control Act, can be ignored by the United States

Government.

LIST OF ALL PARTIES

Petitioners herein, Appellants in Case Number 88-

5320 below, are 57,261 Items of Drug Paraphernalia and

Contempo Products, Inc., by and through its president

Richard K. Rowland. Respondent herein, Appellee in

Case Number 88-5320 below, is the United States of

America.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ..................5.

LIST OF ALL PARTIES.................000055

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

RUE Sas essence ccccncesccscceccs

A ee

STATUTES INVOLVED.................00008:

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ..................

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT........

I,

Il.

III.

THE JUDGMENT OF THE SIXTH

CIRCUIT DIRECTLY CONFLICTS WITH

THE PRIOR JUDGMENT OF THIS

COURT IN HOFFMAN ESTATES. ........

THE QUESTIONS PRESENTED ARE OF

SUBSTANTIAL IMPORTANCE, THE

RESOLUTION OF WHICH WILL HAVE

NATIONWIDE IMPACT ................

THE DECISION OF THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

IS CLEARLY IN ERROR AND SHOULD

BBE FRR V MRED ov ccc ces cccnccccccccecs

A. The Definition Of “Drug Paraphernalia’”’

As All Items “Designed For Use”

With Controlled Substances Is

Unconstitutionally Vague As _ Applied

EE SEMe ech anh Gu gacatacaceandceces

1. The Standards Defining The Void-For-

Vagueness Doctrine And The Manner Of

Their Application Have Been Set Forth

By The Sixth Circuit And This Court...

oeeeevreereeeeeeeseeee eee

Oo +» BO WN

8

iv

2. The Definition Of Drug Paraphernalia As

Items ‘Designed For Use” With

Controlled Substances Is

Unconstitutionally Vague When Applied

To Items Based, Not On Structural

Characteristics, But Instead On The

Intent Of The Seller Or _ User,

Particularly When No Use Has Been

Made Of The Items ..................

(a) The phrase ‘designed for use’’ refers

to an item’s objective, structural

Characteristics. .... ccc ccc cceees

(b) The Supreme Court upheld the facial

constitutionality of the phrase

“designed for use’ because it

theoretically could be applied to

items solely usable with drugs based

on structural characteristics.......

(c) The phrase “designed for use” is

unconstitutionally vague when ~

applied to the seized items herein ..

(d) The items seized in_ the instant

action have lawful uses and are not

per se designed for illegal use......

10

10

10

ll

12

B. The Sixth Circuit Erred In Failing To Find

A Criminal Conviction As A Condition

Precedent To Forfeiture ................

1. A Specific Provision Must Be Given

Preference Over A More General One...

2. The Court Below Failed To Consider This

ee a. wan nn tnebeseet ss

3. Section 857(c) Applies Specifically To

4.

Drug Paraphernalia, While Section

1595a(c) Applies Generally To Any

Merchandise ........... Seer

A

Forfeiture Provisions Requiring

Conviction Are Not Uncommon........

5. Cases Decided Under The National

Prohibition Act Confirm The Sixth

oe als seu Lai

PINE 64 0 rd e's bio os cued eGasdewsetee

APPENDIX:

Appendix A. United States v. 57,261 Items of

Drug Paraphervalia, etc., 869 F.2d 955 (6th Cir.

BE Seon a reac cs ee bee 44.00cbReORNeres ss Al

Appendix B. United States v. 57,261 Items of

Drug Paraphernalia, 705 F. Supp. 1256 (M.D.

(©: OVC TOPOL rebar Tray) cf. ere Al7

Appendix C. Mail Order Drug Paraphernalia

Control Act, 21 U.S.C. §857, enacted as

Subtitle O of Title I of the Anti-Drug Abuse

Act of 1986, P.L. 99-570, 100 Stat. 3207 (1986). A44

Appendix D. 19 U.S.C. §1595a.... 6.6... ee ee eee A48

Appendix E. Brief of Amici Curiae, The American

Pipe and Accessory League and The National

Association of Tobacco Distributors, Inc. ..... A50

Appendix F. Transcript of the District Court,

August 31 - September 12, 1987, Case No. 3-

87-0656 (selected pages) ............50e ee eee All4

Appendix G. Mail Order Drug Paraphernalia

Control Act: Hearings on H.R. 1625 Before the

House Subcommittee on Crime of the

Committee on the Judiciary, House of

Representatives, 99th Cong., 2d Sess. (May 8,

1986) (selected pages) .............0 eee eeees A206

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Baker v. State, 343 So. 2d 622, cert. denied, 348 So.

Ns oo. cays Oeceee baa 6 bh oe 18

Blackshear v. State, 521 P.2d 1320 (Oregon

Sines Kees be ED 6 4b wee os ea wah Oo eR ce 18

Busic v. United States, 446 U.S. 398 (1980) .. . 7,15,17,19

Colautti v. Franklin, 439 U.S. 379 (1979) .......... 9

Fleuti v. Rosenberg, 302 F.2d 652 (9th Cir.

FNL TS TE TT Te TERE CRO TCC TT Perr ere 9

Grayned v. City of Rockford, 408 U.S. 104

GE sth ROOM bles eeiakin aly ears 8 bn oie e's i)

Indiana v. McCray, Case No. A1586-875 (Municipal

Ct. Marion County, Ind., June 8, 1987}.......... 13

International Maven, Inc. v. McCauley, 687 F. Supp.

300 (U.S. Ct. of International Trade 1988) ....... 14

Lanzetta v. New Jersey, 306 U.S. 451 (1939)....... 9

Metropoiitan Detroit Area Hospital Services, Inc. v.

United States, 634 F.2d 330 (6th Cir. 1980), cert.

denied, 450 U.S. 1031 (1981) .................. 15,17

One Lot Emerald Cut Stones v. United States, 409

EE ERT CR ee Se, ae 16.17

One 1958 Plymouth Sedan v. Pennsylvania, 380 U.S.

PER Sho kednn cSR daw a Nak been eee dees 9

Papachristou v. City of Jacksonville, 405 U.S. 156

ENG CSS kb 5k heas wd Sbiene ks wks beaveeba <

viii

Record Revolution No. 6, Inc. v. City of Parma, 638

F.2d 916 (6th Cir. 1980), vacated and remanded,

456 U.S. 968 (1982), on remand, 709 F.2d 534 (6th

GR ER ceninraid's voce andens ¢g0s en Redeeae ee 9

Joseph E. Seagram & Sons, Inc. v. Hostetter, 384

if S * SPT Terere rire er re kT ee ll

Sedima, S.P.R.L. v. Imrex Co., 473 U.S. 479 (1985). . 9

Shipman v. DuPre, 73 S.E.2d 716 (South Carolina

eee or ee rer ee ery. 18

Singleton v. Commonwealth, 208 S.W.2d 325

SE Da vckccccccetecccsecavesseccen 18

Smith v. Goguen, 415 U.S. 566 (1974). ............ 9

State v. Rossitto, 331 A.2d 385 (Del. 1974) ........ 17

United States v. Dunn, 802 F.2d 646 (2d Cir. 1986),

cert. denied, 480 U.S. 931, 107 S.Ct. 1568

Doc. ci iitcennnn bite echknukee tanh daanen 16,17

United States v. One Reo Speed Wagon (1927), 9 PA

D & C 265 (Federal District Court) ............. 18

United States v. Southern Agency Co., 66 F.2d 336

NX. RR Pee re rere Pere Tree 18

United States v. Wagner, 435 F. Supp. 850 (1978)... 18

Village of Hoffman Estates v. Flipside, Hoffman

Estates, Inc., 455 U.S. 489 (1982). ............ passim

Winters v. New York, 333 U.S. 507 (1948)......... 9

United States Codes:

18 U.S.C. $§111, 545 and 924(c) ...............5. 15,16

19 U.S.C. $§1595a(c) and 1497.......... 3,5,6,9,14,16,17

21 U.S.C. §§40, 853, 857 and 881...... 3,5,6,8,9,14,16,17

26 U.S.C. §501(cM3) and (e)...... 0.0... cece eee ee 15

PPM Go av nis ccaccswacckadessus 18

No.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1989

57,261 ITEMS OF DRUG PARAPHERNALIA, et al,

Petitioners,

CONTEMPO PRODUCTS, INC., by and through

its president, Richard K. Rowland,

Claimant-Petitioner,

vs.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

To the United States Court of Appeals

For the Sixth Circuit

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

fo: the Sixth Circuit has been officially reported at 869

F.2d 955 (6th Cir. 1989), rehearing denied May 10, 1989.

The opinion is in Appendix A.

The opinion of the United States District Court for

the Middle District of Tennessee has been officially

reported at 705 F. Supp. 1256. The opinion is in

Appendix B.

2

JURISDICTION

The Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit (‘Sixth

Circuit’’) filed its judgment on March 14, 1989. On May

10, 1989, the Sixth Circuit denied a Petition for

Rehearing En Banc. The jurisdiction of this Court is

invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1254(1).

3

STATUTES INVOLVED

1. The Mail Order Drug Paraphernalia Control Act,

21 U.S.C. §857 (‘Section 857’), is set forth in

Appendix C.

2. 19 U.S.C. §1595a(c) (“Section 1595a’’) is set forth

in Appendix D.

4

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In this action, United States Government Customs

agents seized from a merchant, Contempo Products, Inc.,

three types of items: water pipes, ceramic (clay) pipes

and cigarette holders. The Government claimed that said

items constituted drug paraphernalia as defined by the

Mail Order Drug Paraphernalia Control Act (‘Drug

Paraphernalia Act”). All the seized items were in their

original packaging; none had yet been used or

distributed to stores. Unrebutted evidence at trial

established that all three types of products typically are

distributed to and sold by legitimate tobacco and

tobacco-related accessory businesses in traditional

tobacco stores around the country.’

None of the seized-items are “‘principally used with

illegal drugs by virtue of their objective features.”’ For

example, the Government’s own witnesses testified at

the trial below that the seized water pipes would not be

of interest to marijuana smokers without substantial

adaptation. To make one usable for drugs, a drug user

first would have to break off the existing wooden bowl,

then drill or cut a knob off of the bottom of a lamp, thread

the knob from the lamp to match the threads on the water

'These businesses include: United States Tobacco Corporation, a

Fortune 500 company which is a leading pipe and tobacco accessory

manufacturer and importer and the largest manufacturer of moist

smokeless tobacco; CAO Meerschaum Pipe Company, the nation’s

largest meerschaum pipe importer and distributor; Lane Limited, the

largest distributor of bulk pipe tobacco in the United States and of

the Dunhill lines of pipes, tobacco and accessories; numerous Tinder

Box International retail stores, the nation’s largest chain of retail

tobacco stores; and Van Der Want Pijpenfabrieken, the world’s oldest

pipemaker. See Brief of Amici Curiae, The American Pipe and

Accessory League and The National Association of Tobacco

Distributors, Inc. (“Amici Curiae’) at pages 1-2, 8 and citations

therein, Appendix (‘‘App.’’) E hereto.

? Village of Hoffman Estates v. Flipside, Hoffman Estates, Inc., 455

U.S. 489, 501 (1982).

5

pipe, and finally solder on a metal bow! in place of the

wooden one.* Without undertaking those substantial

efforts to change the objective features of the pipes, the

pipes would be usable to smoke tobacco but not to

smoke controlled substances.*‘

This case presents two important issues. The first is

whether a merchant who purchases or sells ceramic

pipes, water pipes and cigarette holders, all of which

have objective features making them usable by third

parties with legal tobacco products, may be subjected to

civil forfeiture and criminal prosecution. Since U.S.

Customs agents seized items which are not “principally

used with illegal drugs by virtue of [their] objective

features,” Village of Hoffman Estates v. Flipside,

Hoffman Estates, Inc, 455 U.S. 489, 501 (1982)

(“Hoffman Estates”), the Act has been applied

unconstitutionally in the instant case, in violation of the

standards announced by this Court in Hoffman Estates.

The second issue is whether the blackletter law that

a specific statute. controls over a general one may be

abrogated in circumstances’ involving drug

paraphernalia. In the instant action, a general seizure

provision (Section 1595a(c)), rather than the seizure

provision applying specifically to drug paraphernalia

(Section 857(c)), was used impermissibly to seize

supposed drug paraphernalia because the Government

would have been unable to satisfy the stricter standards

imposed under the sires drug paraphernalia seizure

provision.

* Transcript (‘‘Tr.’’) of heiiiie in the District Court, August 31 -

September 2 and November 12, 1987. Case No. 3-87-0656 at 123-24,

153-54, attached hereto as App. F.

‘Tr. at 85, 134-35, 153, 160-61, 174-75, 177-79, 248, 252, 262, 281,

470-71, 489-90; Mail Order Drug Paraphernalia Control Act: Hearings

on H.R. 1625 Before the House Subcommittee on Crime of the

Committee on the Judiciary, House of Representatives, 99th Cong.,

2d Sess. (May 8, 1986), at 122-23 (hereinafter ‘‘Hearings’’), attached

hereto as App. G.

6

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. THE JUDGMENT OF THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

DIRECTLY CONFLICTS WITH THE PRIOR

JUDGMENT OF THIS COURT IN HOFFMAN

ESTATES.

The Supreme Court in Hoffman Estates upheld the

constitutionality of a drug paraphernalia ordinance which

applied to items “designed ... for use’ with controlled

substances. 455 U.S. at 500. The Court determined that

the ‘‘designed for use standard was not

unconstitutionally vague on its face so long as it was }

applied to items “principally used with illegal drugs by —

virtue of [their] objective features, i.e., features designed

by the manufacturer.” 455 U.S. at 501. The “phrase

refers to structural characteristics of an item,” id., and

cannot be made to depend on the “‘intent of the retailer

or manufacturer.” Jd.

The Supreme Court further warned that the

‘designed for use’’ language does “contain ambiguities,”’

455 U.S. at 502, which could rise to the level of

constitutional defects if not carefully limited as required

by the Court. However, the Sixth Circuit failed to heed

the warning of this Court. The court below expressly

held that the “‘designed for use” language in Section 857

could be applied based on the intent of the seller or

manufacturer, rather than on the structural features of

the item. E.g., 869 F.2d at 957-59. By so ruling, the

Sixth Circuit opinion directly conflicts with this Court’s

decision in Hoffman Estates.

Moreover, the Sixth Circuit held that the general

seizure provision of Section 1595a(c) could be applied to

drug paraphernalia, despite the existence of a narrow

seizure provision, Section 857(c), which specifically

7

applies to drug paraphernalia. 869 F.2d at 954. Such

ruling conflicts with long-standing precedent that a

specific statute controls over a general one. E.g., Busic v.

United States, 446 U.S. 398, 410 (1980).

Il. THE QUESTIONS PRESENTED ARE OF

SUBSTANTIAL IMPORTANCE, THE

RESOLUTION OF WHICH WILL HAVE

NATIONWIDE IMPACT.

The instant action involves a challenge to a federal

paraphernalia statute which is being used on a regular

basis to seize lawful items from innocent merchants all

over the country.

As is explained in the Brief of Amici Curiae (App. E),

legitimate tobacco and _ tobacco-related accessory

businesses are at risk of criminal prosecution and

property seizure. The law as applied by Customs herein

and as interpreted by the Sixth Circuit below is so vague

that it fails to provide fair notice of the persons covered

and the conduct proscribed. The lack of clear standards

leaves ‘‘legitimate”’ businesses and individuals open to

arbitrary, erratic, and discriminatory arrests,

prosecutions, convictions, and property seizures.

One of the primary problems with the law is that

there are few, if any, items which are designed for use

with controlled substances based on their structural

characteristics. Water pipes, ceramic pipes and cigarette

holders, those items seized in this case, are produced,

sold, imported and exported by traditional, legitimate

merchants for use with tobacco, not drugs.' Yet the Drug

*E.g., United States Tobacco Corporation, which is without question

a weal-established manufacturer of legitimate and generally accepted

tobacco products, has imported water pipes identical to those seized.

Tr. 172. Many Tinder Box retail tobacco stores sell water pipes

similar to those seized. Tr. 176. See also Hearings at 135 (Statement

of L. Page Maccubbin, owner of the nationally known Earthworks

tobacconists).

8

Paraphernalia Act puts virtually every “‘legitimate’’,

traditional pipe and tobacco accessory business in

serious jeopardy.°®

This Court previously has recognized the importance

of issues presented by statutes and ordinances banning

“drug paraphernalia,” having determined Hoffman

Estates seven years ago. A resolution of the conflict

between this Court’s opinion in Hoffman Estates and the

Sixth Circuit’s opinion below will have a substantial

impact upon merchants in states across the nation.

III. THE DECISION OF THE SIXTH CIRCUIT IS

CLEARLY IN ERROR AND SHOULD BE

REVERSED.

A. The Definition Of ‘Drug Paraphernalia” As All

Items “Designed For Use’ With Controlled

Substances Is Unconstitutionally Vague As

Applied Herein.

Section 857 defines ‘‘tirug paraphernalia,” ii part, as

any item which is “designed for use’’ with controlled

substances. As defined by the Sixth Circuit and applied

herein, that phrase is unconstitutionally vague.

1. The Standards Defining The Void-For-Vagueness

Doctrine And The Manner Of Their Application

Have Been Set Forth By The Sixth Circuit And This

Court.

The Sixth Circuit has previously set forth the well-

established standards defining the void-for-vagueness

doctrine:

The void-for-vagueness doctrine commands any

statute to give persons of common intelligence fair

notice of the persons covered and the conduct

* E.g., Hearings at 119, 121, 126, 159, 163.

._

proscribed. Colautti v. Franklin, 439 U.S. 379, 390-

391 ... (1979). Fundamental fairness, as well as a

proper regard for preventing the deterrence of

constitutionally protected conduct, requires that

persons not be compelled to guess at their own peril

the meaning and application of a statute. Grayned v.

City of Rockford, 408 U.S. 104, 108 ... (1972);

Lanzetta v. New Jersey, 306 U.S. 451, 453 ...

(1939). Ascertainable standards of guilt are

imperative in order to protect against arbitrary,

erratic, and discriminatory arrests, prosecutions and

convictions. Papachristou v. City of Jacksonville,

405 U.S. 156, 172 ... (1972); Winters v. New York,

333 U.S. 507, 515 ... (1948). Unless the statute

itself prescribes sufficiently precise standards, basic

policy decisions are impermissibiy delegated to the

personal predilections of the police, prosecutors and

juries. Smith v. Goguen, 415 U.S. at 575 ... (1974);

Grayned v. City of Rockford, 408 U.S. at 108 ....

‘‘Legislators may not so abdicate their

responsibilities for setting the standards of the

criminal law.” 415 U.S. at 575...

Record Revolution No. 6, Inc. v. City of Parma, 638 F.2d

916, 927 (6th Cir. 1980), vacated and remanded, 456 U.S.

968 (1982), on remand, 709 F.2d 534 (6th Cir. 1983). The

United States Supreme Court in Hoffman Estates

confirmed the vitality of those standards governing

vagueness challenges. 455 U.S. at 498 (quoting Grayned

v. City of Rockford, 408 U.S. 104, 108-109 (1972)).

Section 857 is a criminal statute carrying stiff

penalties,’ and Section 1595a(c) is a ‘“quasi-criminal”’

forfeiture provision® which has a serious “‘prohibitory and

" Penalties are imprisonment for no more than three years and a fine

of no more than $100,000, Section 857(b), coupled with forfeiture of

property, Section 857(c).

* E.g., One 1958 Plymouth Sedan v. Pennsylvania, 380 U.S. 693, 700

(1965) (‘‘a forfeiture proceeding is quasi-criminal in character’’); Fleuti

v. Rosenberg, 302 F.2d 652, 655 (9th Cir. 1962). See also Sedima,

S.P.R.L. v. Imrex Co., 473 U.S. 479, 492-93 (1985) (stating that a

quasi-criminal law requires constitutional ‘‘protection normally

applicable oniy to criminal proceedings’’).

10

stigmatizing effect/.]'’* Accordingly, the void-for-

vagueness standards cited above apply herein and

require ‘‘a relatively strict test.’”°

2. The Definition Of Drug Paraphernalia As Items

‘Designed For Use’’ With Controlled Substances Is

Unconstitutionally Vague When Applied To Items

Based, Not On Structural Characteristics, But

Instead On The Intent Of The Seller Or User,

Particularly When No Use Has Been Made Of The

Items.

(a) The phrase ‘designed for use” refers to an item’s

objective, structural characteristics.

The Supreme Court in Hoffman Estates ruled that

the phrase “designed for use’ “refers to structural

characteristics of an item.’’'' Under this definition, ‘drug

paraphernalia” consists of those items “per se fashioned

for use with drugs,’’"? and “‘necessarily designed for use

with cannabis or illegal drugs’ by virtue of their

physical characteristics.

(b) The Supreme Court upheld the facial

constitutionality of the phrase ‘designed for use”’

because it theoretically could be applied to items

solely usable with drugs based on structural

characteristics.

The Supreme Court in Hoffman Estates recognized

that the “designed for use’ language ‘‘contains|s]

ambiguities,” 455 U.S. at 502) 504," and conceded that

* Hoffmann Estates, 455 U.S. at 499 n. 16.

10 Td. ‘

'' 455 U.S. at 501.

27d at 501 n.19 (quoting with approval the Brief for Appellee

therein).

'S Td. at 501 n.18.

“The Supreme Court found it “significant” that the Village of

Hoffman Estates ‘‘primarily relied on the ‘marketing’ aspect of the

standard, which does not require the more ambiguous item-by-item

analysis of whether paraphernalia are ‘designed for’ illegal drug use.”

Id. at 504.

11

“specific future application ... may engender concrete

problems of constitutional dimension.’’'* However, the

Supreme Court nonetheless upheld that definition

against a facial vagueness attack because the law

theoretically could be applied to items with only illegal

uses based on their structural characteristics.

In fact, the licensing guidelines incorporated into the

Hoffman Estates regulation included a list of items

considered to be “per se” drug paraphernalia. ‘The

guidelines refer to ‘paper of colorful design’ and to other

specific items as conclusively ‘designed’ or not ‘designed’

for illegal use.’’’* Since the Hoffman Estates regulation

applied, at least, to certain specifically designated, easily

identifiable items, ‘no issue of fair warning” existed."

Given this definition of the phrase ‘‘designed for

use,” it is easy to understand why the Supreme Court

held it constitutional on its face. Certainly a law may

flatly prohibit clearly designated, easily identifiable

items, such as cocaine, having only illegal uses based on

structural characteristics. By defining ‘‘drug

paraphernalia’’ based on an _ item’s objective

characteristics, the definition is not unconstituticnally

vague on its face. However, the fatal vagueness in the

definition appears, as in the instant acticn, when the law

is applied to items which do not have objective

characteristics making them drug items.

(c) The phrase ‘‘designed for use’ is

unconstitutionally vague when applied to the

seized items herein.

In the instant action, the Government has attempted

to apply the Drug Paraphernalia Act to items which are

not per se ‘‘drug paraphernalia” but instead have many

'* Id. at 504 (quoting Joseph E. Seagram & Sons, Inc. v. Hostetter,

384 U.S. 35, 52 (1966)).

'* Td. at 500-501.

Id. at 501.

12

lawful uses. Rather than relying on objective

characteristics of the items, the Government was forced

to look to the subjective intent of the distributor, based

largely upon the ambiance in one of the many stores

carrying the seized items.

James Knapp, United States Deputy Assistant

Attorney General, a witness for the Government in the

Congressional hearings on the Drug Paraphernalia Act,

and Timothy Hardin, a witness for the Government in

the hearing before the district court below, testified to

the vagueness of the law as it applies to items which are

not structurally “drug items.’’ Mr. Knapp stated:

[The Drug Paraphernalia Act} is too broad in scope.

It attempts to cover paraphernalia items like

spoons, straws and roach clips, as well as any other

items primarily intended or designed for use in

connection with drugs."*

Similarly, Timothy Hardin testified that the Drug

Paraphernalia Act is ‘‘too vague’’ because it

encompasses virtually any pipe sold in traditional

tobacco stores.

(d) The items seized in the instant action have lawful

uses and are not per se designed for illegal use.

Unlike the ordinance in Hoffman Estates, the Drug

Paraphernalia Act does not. list items which are

‘““necessarily”’ and “conclusively” drug paraphernalia per

se.'* The record herein is replete with evidence that the

items seized by the Government have lawful uses.

'*Hearings at 54. Similarly, Jack E. Swagerty, Assistant Chief

Inspector for the U.S. Postal Service, expressed his concern about the

breadth and vagueness of the definition of drug paraphernalia. Jd. at

61.

'* See Hearings at 15.

13

The district court below itself recognized that the

seized items were not per se drug paraphernalia based on

structural characteristics:

These items are not ... like cocaine. They are not

like heroin, something you can just put your finger

on, per se, and say it’s ... mala in se ... something

evil, wicked, in and of themselves. They are items

conceivabiy could have a legitimate use.”

Consider, for example, the seized water pipes.

Because water pipes filter the harmful tars and nicotine

from tobacco, they are becoming popular with tobacco

smokers concerned about the health risks of smoking.

The Government witnesses even admitted that, because

the seized water pipes had wooden bowls, they would not

be of interest to drug users without substantial

structural changes.”' Accordingly, the seized water pipes

were not drug paraphernalia based upon ‘features

designed by the manufacturer’ but rather only after

substantial structural changes by the end-user.

If the importer, manufacturer or seller of the seized

water pipes can be held liable under the Drug

Paraphernalia Act, then Brooks Brothers could be liable

for selling belts because belts can be and have been

adapted for use with controlled substances,” and any

seller of lawful shotguns could be arrested, since it is a

simple matter to change a lawful shotgun into an illegal

sawed-off shotgun.”

* Tr. 596.

" E.g., Tr. 123, 153-54. *

* 455 U.S. at 501.

* Eg. Tr. 154-55.

** In declaring unconstitutional the definition of ‘drug paraphernalia”’

as items “‘designed” for use with drugs, the court in Indiana v.

McCray, Case No. A1586-875 (Municipal Ct. Marion County, Ind.,

June 8, 1987) (copy attached to App. E) stated:

(Footnote continued on following page.)

14

B. The Sixth Circuit Erred In Failing To Find A

Criminal Conviction As A Condition Precedent To

Forfeiture.

Both Sections 857 and 1595a contain forfeiture

provisions. Section 1595a(c) is a general section providing

“broad seizure authority for any merchandise imported

contrary to law.” 705 F. Supp. at 1266 (emphasis in

original).”*> On the other hand, Section 857(c) is a narrow

forfeiture provision applying specifically to seizure of

drug paraphernalia ‘‘upon conviction of a violation of 21

U.S.C. §857(a).”” Id.

While the district court below expressly recognized

that Section 1595a(c) is a general forfeiture provision and

Section 857(c) is a specific forfeiture provision, it and the

Court of Appeals failed to apply blackletter law under

which the more specific Section 857(c) should exclusively

apply to seizure of ‘drug paraphernalia’. Accordingly,

the Sixth Circuit mistakenly ruled that the Government

could choose to ignore Section 857(c) and instead proceed

under Section 1595a(c).

1. A Specific Provision Must Be Given Preference Over

A More General One.

It is blackletter law that a specific statute controls

over a general one. This Court has so held.

(Footnote continued from preceding page.)

IC 35-47-5-4 prohibits dealing in sawed off shotguns. It is well

known in law enforcement circles that single shot shotguns of

cetain gauges are favorite subjects to be transformed into these

forbidden weapons. If the logic of the State in the instant case,

... were to be followed, then the dealers of these particular size

and type of shotguns would be held liable for the future illegal

acts of third parties.

*® See, e.g., International Maven, Inc. v. McCauley, 687 F. Supp. 300

(U.S. Ct. of International Trade 1988) (government used Section

1595a(c) to seize English Leather toiletries).

15

Consider, for example, Busic v. United States, 446

U.S. 398 (1980). In that case, the defendants were

convicted of armed assault on federal officers under 18

U.S.C. $111. That statute also provided for enhanced

punishment when the assaulter used a deadly weapon.

Rather than use 18 U.S.C. §111, however, the

government sought to have the defendants sentenced

instead under the enhancement provision of 18 U.S.C.

§924(c), a more general statute authorizing the

imposition of enhanced penalties on defendants who use

firearms while committing any federal felony.

The Supreme Court refused to allow the government

to choose between statutes. Instead, this Court held that

‘“‘a more specific statute will be given precedence over a

more general one,” id. at 406, and determined that the

defendants could be sentenced only under the more

specific 18 U.S.C. §111. Jd. at 410.

The Sixth Circuit has recognized the same basic rule:

It is an elementary rule of statutory

construction that a specific provision controls when

the same subject matter is addressed by a more

general provision.

Metropolitan Detroit Area Hospital Services, Inc. v.

United States, 634 F.2d 330, 334 (6th Cir. 1980), cert.

denied, 450 U.S. 1031 (1981). In that case, the plaintiff, a

cooperative hospital organization, sought tax exempt

status under 26 U.S.C. §501(c)(3), which broadly grants a

tax exemption to any organization meeting certain

qualifications. The court ruled that the plaintiff could not

choose to invoke $501(c)(3) when a more specific

provision (26 U.S.C. §501(e)) provided tax exempt status

(under certain conditions) specifically to cooperative

hospital organizations such as the plaintiff.

The law is clear: a specific provision must take

precedence over a more general one.

16

2. The Court Below Failed To Consider This Basic Rule

Of Law.

The court below failed to address or consider the

basic principles discussed above. Instead, the court relied

upon two cases, One Lot Emerald Cut Stones v. United

States, 409 U.S. 232 (1972), and United States v. Dunn,

802 F.2d 646 (2d Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 480 U.S. 931,

107 S.Ct. 1568 (1987), for the proposition that the

Government was free to choose to exercise the general

forfeiture provision of Section 1595a(c) while ignoring the

specific forfeiture provision of Section 857(c). The two

cases relied upon by the court below are wholly

inapposite herein.

The court cited both cases for the proposition that,

in cases involving ‘‘civil and criminal forfeiture

provisions which apply to the same acts,’ the

‘Government may choose” which to apply. However,

those cases have nothing to do with the instant action

because both involved equally specific statutes, not

competing general and specific statutes. Accordingly, the

basic principle that ‘‘a specific provision controls when

the same subject matter is addressed by a more general

provision,” controlling in this case, is not pertinent to

the cases cited by the court below.

For example, in One Lot of Emerald Cut Stones v.

United States, the Court held that an acquittal under 18

U.S.C. §545 did not bar a civil forfeiture under 19 U.S.C.

§1497. Both statutes were equally specific, designed to

sanction the same activity: that is, bringing merchandise

into the country without declaring them.” In that case,

one statute did not apply generally to any merchandise

while the other applied specifically to jewelry, therefore

presenting a completely different situation than that

herein.

7° 409 U.S. at 237.

Me —

17

Similarly, the two statutes at issue in United States

v. Dunn also were equally specific. 21 U.S.C. §§853 and

881 both provided for forfeiture of funds used in drug-

related transactions. In that case, one statute did not

permit forfeiture of funds specifically in drug-related

transactions while the other generally permitted

forfeiture of funds in any unlawful transactions. Again,

United States v. Dunn is completely distinct from this

action.

3. Section 857(c) Applies Specifically To Drug

Paraphernalia, While Section 1595a(c) Applies

Generally To Any Merchandise.

Unlike the situations in One Lot of Emerald Cut

Stones v. United States and United States v. Dunn, in

the instant action the Government seeks to seize ‘‘drug

paraphernalia’’ under a general forfeiture provision which

expressly applies to any merchandise imported contrary

to any law, while ignoring the narrow forfeiture provision

which specifically applies to seizure of ‘drug

paraphernalia”’ imported in violation of Section 857. The

Government’s rationale is obvious: by using Section

1595a(c) rather than Section 857(c), it can avoid the

difficult task of gaining a conviction by proof beyond a

reasonable doubt under Section 857. However, under the

basic blackletter principles set forth in Busic v. United

States and Metropolitan Detroit Area Hospital Services,

Inc. v. United States, the Government does not have an

option; the narrow forfeiture provision must take

precedence.

4. Forfeiture Provisions Requiring Conviction Are Not

Uncommon.

Numerous state statutes have found a criminal

conviction prerequisite to a civil forfeiture, including

State v. Rossitto, 331 A.2d 385 (held a criminal

18

conviction prerequisite to the forfeiture of alleged

gambling paraphernalia), Baker v. State, 343 So. 2d 622,

cert. denied, 348 So. 2d 953 (trial court ordered to return

- seized money when defendants were not found guilty on

the criminal charge), Singleton v..Commonwealth, 208

S.W.2d 325 (Kentucky 1948) (State not entitled to sell

vehicle without a valid conviction), Blackshear v. State,

521 P.2d 1320 (Oregon 1974) (conviction of a person

arrested for transporting narcotics was held to be an

essential precondition for the forfeiture of the

vehicle involved), and Shipman v. DuPre, 73 S.E.2d 716

(South Carolina 1952) (conviction of boat owner for

trolling for shrimp without a license was found to be a

condition precedent to the confiscation and sale of the

boat). See also U.S. v. Wagner, 435 F. Supp. 850 (1978).

5. Cases Decided Under The Nationa! Prohibition Act

Confirm The Sixth Circuit’s Error.

The clearest example of the correct interpretation of

this type of legislation is found under the repealed

National Prohibition Act, previously found at 27 U.S.C.

§40. The relevant code section provided “The court upon

conviction of the person so arrested shall order the liquor

destroyed ...” (Emphasis added).

In numerous reported cases under the National

Prohibition Act, a criminal conviction was impracticable

due to the escape of the accused. The government, left

holding seized merchandise, was prohibited from seeking

forfeiture under 21 U.S.C. §40 and thereby attempted

forfeiture under other statutes which did not require a

previous conviction. These attempts on the part of the

government to use other general forfeiture statutes,

including internal revenue laws, were held invalid. See

United States v. Southern Agency Co., 66 F.2d 336 (10th

Cir. 1933) and United States v. One Reo Speed Wagon

(1927),9 PAD &C 265 (Federal District Court).

19

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the Sixth Circuit directly conflicts

with the decision of this Court in Hoffman Estates and

ignores basic blackletter law as set forth in Busic uv.

United States. The questions presented herein are of

substantial importance, the resolution of which will have

nationwide impact. Moreover, the opinion of the Sixth

Circuit is plainly in error. For these reasons, this Court

should grant Contempo’s Petition for Certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

ROBERT T. VAUGHN, Counsel of Record

926 Stahlman Building

211 Union Street

Nashville, Tennessee 37201

(615) 242-2550

LARRY D. Woops

WoopDs AND Woops

121 17th Avenue So. -

Nashville, Tennessee 37203

(615) 259-4366

Attorneys for Petitioners

f ’

ve E ‘

Nae 2s Pe Pe

Dad aoe : > ee i a)

Mei hh, xé : . = ian q 2 elie cle a a } . .

; - i ees. — = ee a ee ee Te eee A Ee ee ee

- ia a at iia SS Drtt iat Fa Cae Oe Ne ee, ee Te a eee a ae — ss -

Al

APPENDIX A

Opinion of the Court of Appeals

for the Sixth Circuit

(Filed March 14, 1989)

Nos. 88-5320/87-6018

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For the Sixth Circuit

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

Vv.

57,261 ITEMS OF DRUG

PARAPHERNALIA, etc., (88-5320),

Defendant,

CONTEMPO PRODUCTS, INC., by and

through its president Richard K.

Rowland, (88-5320),

Claimant-Appellant. |

CONTEMPO Probucts, INC., )

Plaintiff-Appellee,

Vv.

RALPH WHITESIDE and BILL CRANE

(87-6018),

Defendants-Appellants. J

On APPEAL from the

United States District

Court for the Middle

District of Tennessee

On APPEAL from the

United States District

Court for the Middle

District of Tennessee

A2

Before: MERRIT, MARTIN and MILBURN, Circuit

Judges.

MERRITT, Circuit Judge. The two ‘drug

paraphernalia’’ cases before us on appeal arise from

government seizure of shipments of a large quantity of

ceramic pipes, water pipes and cigarette holders brought

into the United States from Japan by Contempo

Products, Inc. Customs agents, working with the DEA,

seized these items in Nashville prior to delivery to

Contempo in early 1987. They made the seizure under

the remedial provisions for civil forfeiture found in the

customs statute, 19 U.S.C. §1595a(c) (“merchandise .. .

introduced in United States contrary to law ... may be

seized and forfeited’’), in combination with §857(a) of the

1986 statute making it ‘unlawful for any person ... to

import or export drug paraphernalia.” 21 U.S.C. $857(a).'

The government did not use the remedy of criminal

forfeiture provided in §857(c) of the drug paraphernalia

statute.

E.

In No. 88-5320, a civil forfeiture action under the

customs statute, Contempo’s contentions are as follows:

1. Section 857 is unconstitutionally vague, or

overbroad, because it can be extended, and in this

case is being extended, to tobacco pipes used for

innocent smoking of regular tobacco.

2. Even if constitutional, §857 was misapplied

on the facts by District Judge Higgins because the

ceramic products shipped into the country were not

“primarily intended or designed for use in ...

introducing into the human body a controlled

substance,”’ as defined by §$857(d).

‘See Appendix for the full text of the drug paraphernalia statute.

AT EO ere

o LE ROM 0A aE LIMA PAE EN MELONS A 6 hn Naa ty

A3

3. Even if §857 is constitutional, and even if

the shipments in question constitute “drug”

paraphernalia subject to forfeiture, §857(c) of the

1986 statute, a specific criminal forfeiture section,

provides the government’s only forfeiture remedy

and by implication prevents the use of the civil in

rem forfeiture remedy for imported articles found in

§1595a(c) of the customs statute.

We find none of these three arguments persuasive-

A. Constitutionality

The Supreme Court has upheld against the same

kind of constitutional challenge a similar local ordinance

outlawing drug paraphernalia. In Village of Hoffman

Estates v. The Flipside, Hoffman Estates, Inc., 455 U.S.

489 (1982), the Court held:

Flipside also argues that the ordinance is

“‘overbroad”’ because it could extend to “innocent”

and “lawful’”’ uses of items as well as uses with

illegal drugs. Brief for Appellee 10, 33-35. This

argument seems to confuse vagueness and

overbreadth doctrines. If Flipside is objecting that

it cannot determine whether the ordinance regulates

items with some lawiul uses, then it is complaining

of vagueness. We find that claim unpersuasive in

this pre-enforcement facial challenge. See infra, at

497-504. If Flipside is objecting that the ordinance

would inhibit innocent uses of items found to be

covered by the ordinance, it is complaining of denial

of substantive due process. The latter claim

obviously lacks merit. A retailer’s right to sell

smoking accessories, and a purchaser’s right to buy

and use them, are entitled only to minimal due

process protection. Here, the village presented

A4

evidence of illegal drug use in the community. App.

37. Regulation of items that have some lawful as

well as unlawful uses is not an irrational means of

discouraging drug use. See Exxon Corp. v. Governor

of Maryland, 437 U.S. 117, 124-125 (1978).

The hostility of some lower courts to drug

paraphernalia laws—and particularly to those

regulating the sale of items that have many

innocent uses, see, e.g., (Flipside, Hoffman Estates,

Inc. v. Village of Hoffman Estates] 639 F.2d 373,

381-383 ([7th Cir.] 1981); Record Revolution No. 6,

Inc. v. City of Parma, 638 F.2d 916, 928 (CA6 1980),

vacated and remanded, 451 U.S. 1013 (1981)—may

reflect a belief that these measures are ineffective in

stemming illegal drug use. This perceived defect,

however, is not a defect of clarity. In the unlikely

event that a state court construed this ordinance as

prohibiting the sale of all pipes, of whatever

description, then a seller of corncob pipes could not

complain that the law is unduly vague. He could, of

course, object that the law was not intended to

cover such items.

455 U.S. 497 n.9. The case of Record Revolution No. 6,

Inc. v. City of Parma, Ohio, 638 F.2d 916 (6th Cir. 1980)

(invalidating on vagueness grounds a similar local

ordinance}, relied upon heavily by Contempo and amici,

the American Pipe League and the National Association

of Tobacco Distributors, is no longer good law after

Hoffman. The Supreme Court in the above quotation

specifically rejected our decision in Record Revolution.

The Court has now vacated that decision also. See 456

U.S. 968 (1982), on remand, 709 F.2d 534 (6th Cir. 1983).

The Hoffman case is squarely on point. Like the

ordinance at issue in Hoffman, the statute at issue here

is not invalid on its face. It is clear that the federal

A5

statute may not be applied under its terms to items

intended for innocent use. The statute requires intent. It

does not leave open the question of whether the statute

criminalizes innocent use, as Contempo and amici seem

to argue. The explicit intent requirement saves the

statute from this claim of vagueness.

Under the terms of §857(d), the 1986 statute may

only be applied to items “primarily intended or

designed”’ for drug use. The statute requires an intent to

distribute the items for drug use. The person to whom

the statute is being applied, here the importer, must

have knowledge that there is a strong probability that

the items will be used in this way. The statute thus

creates a scienter requirement. If the items are not

intended for drug use, the statute does not create

criminal liability or subject the goods to forfeiture.

Our reading the statute to impose a knowledge

requirement is the same reading as that given to the

model drug paraphernalia act drafted for enactment by

state and local governments, on which the federal act

was based. See, e.g., Levas and Levas v. Village of

Antioch, Ill, 684 F.2d 446, 450 (7th Cir. 1982) (guilty

knowledge requirement contained in model act); Tobacco

Accessories and Novelty Craftsmen Merchants Ass'n of

Louisiana v. Treen, 681 F.2d 378, 383-85 (5th Cir. 1982)

(same). See also Judge Raggi’s recent opinion upholding

§857 against a similar vagueness challenge, United

States v. Main Street Distributing, Inc., 700 F. Supp.

655 (E.D. N.Y. 1988). Like automobiles, boats and

airplanes subject to forfeiture when used in the drug

trade, drug paraphernalia become subject to forfeiture

when the knowledge or intent element is present.

A6

Contempo and amici seem to rely on the following

argument: the act of possessing goods capable of both

culpable and innocent uses may not be made unlawful,

and subject the goods to forfeiture, until the goods are

actually used unlawfully. Since it is conceivable that the

goods may in the end be used lawfully by some, the law

may not make the lawfulness of possession turn on the

possessor’s knowledge of their likely future use. This

argument does not reflect the current state of the law.

Many acts otherwise lawful are made unlawful on the

basis of the actor’s state of mind regarding future

conduct—for example, possession of a firearm with intent

to facilitate commission of unlawful acts, 18 U.S.C. §231

(transporting firearm ‘‘having reason to know’’ it will be

used in civil disorder); use of the mails with intent to

defraud, 18 U.S.C. §1341; and travel in interstate

commerce ‘‘with intent to’’ do certain illegal acts, 18

.S.C. §1952. The Constitution permits the law to

criminalize otherwise lawful steps which are preliminary

to the commission of a crime, using intent as the

distinguishing element, rather than wait for the

completed crime, just as the common law criminalized

attempts and certain otherwise innocent possessory acts.

See Clark & Marshall, Crimes 202-17, 455 (1958); Fletcher,

Rethinking Criminal Law 197-205 (1978) (discussing

possession offenses that turn on the actor’s state of

mind).

It is important to insist, however, that the requisite

element of intent must be clearly demonstrated by the

proof in the case when a statute makes the lawfulness of

a preliminary step or possessory act turn on a particular

state of mind. We turn, therefore, to Judge Higgins’

findings of fact.

A7

B. Application of the Statute to the Facts

In a comprehensive opinion concisely reciting the

evidence witness by witness, Judge Higgins found that

“in this country these items are intended for use with

controlled substances.”’ United States v. 57,261 Items of

Drug Paraphernalia, No. 3-87-0565, slip op. at 18 (M.D.

Tenn. 1988).

The trial was a battle of experts. Ten witnesses

testified. Judge Higgins based his findings on the

testimony of four narcotics enforcement officials and a

civilian expert in tobacco products. They testified that

the ceramic pipes, cigarette holders and water pipes are

“used frequently and exclusively for the purpose of

inhaling controlled substances, primarily marijuana.”’ Jd.

at 12. Contempo does not appear to dispute the

qualifications of the witnesses to testify as experts on

this subject.

The five witnesses detailed a number of factors

which make the items unsuitable for smoking regular

tobacco but suitable for smoking marijuana: for example,

the extremely small bowls of the ceramic pipes equipped

with metal screens and “carburetor holes’’ in the bowl;

the conical shape of the cigarette holders which permits

hand-rolled cigarettes to be entirely consumed; and

multiple holes in the water pipes allowing more than one

person to smoke at the same time. They also testified

that marijuana smokers follow the custom of using these

items, but regular tobacco smokers do not.

The record demonstrates that the Court did not err

in finding that these items are associated exclusively

with the inhalation of drugs in the American drug

culture. Possession or importation of a large quantity of

such items for distribution, in itself, raises an inference

of guilty knowledge. The most devastating evidence of

A8

Contempo’s guilty knowledge, however, came when Mr.

Owensby, a knowledgeable expert, testified from

personal observation about the items sold in Contempo’s

retail store in Nashville. The store sold ‘‘coke spoons,”

“coke vials,” “coke straws,” and substances known to be

used primarily for cutting and diluting cocaine, as well as

many other items associated with the use of drugs. The

District Court concluded that Contempo’s retail outlet

was a “head shop” which sold drug gear and equipment.

From all of these circumstances, the Court made a

reasonable inference that Contempo had knowledge that

the shipment would be used in the drug trade.

Thus, the statute on its face, and as applied, is valid;

the evidence is sufficient; the District Court correctly

interpreted the element of intent found in $857(d); and

we find no reason to set aside the judgment of civil

forfeiture entered by the District Court on these

grounds.

C. Exclusivity of the Forfeiture Provision of §857(c)

Contempo’s last argument is that $857(c), providing

for “‘seizure and forfeiture upon the conviction of a

person”’ for an offense under $857(a) (emphasis added), is

the exclusive method of forfeiture of drug paraphernalia.

Contempo makes no argument that there were

procedural defects in the civil forfeiture proceeding, or

that the burden of persuasion was allocated improperly.

Although the parties advise us that there is no case

authority or legislative history on the specific issue of

whether §857(c) preempts the application of $1595a(c) to

imported drug gear, application of the general rule to

this issue poses no difficulty. Judge Higgins’ analysis is

correct:

A9

One of the most basic rules of statutory

construction is that where two statutes are capable

of co-existence, it is the duty of the courts, absent a

clearly expressed Congressional intention to the

contrary, to regard each as effective. Ruckelhaus v.

Monsanto Co., 467 U.S. 986, 104 S. Ct. 2862, 81 L.

Ed.2d 815. Neither 19 U.S.C. §1595a(c) nor 21

U.S.C. $857(c) contain any explicit limitation with

respect to the other....

The courts have recognized that civil and

criminal forfeiture provisions which apply to the

same acts can co-exist as alternative sanctions. One

Lot of Stones v. United States, 409 U.S. 232, 93 S.

Ct. 489, 34 L. Ed.2d 438 (1972) and United States v.

Dunn, 802 F.2d 646 (2d Cir. 1986). In cases where

Congress had provided both a criminal and civil

sanction, the courts have held that the Government

may choose which of those sanctions it may seek to

impose. In One Lot of Stones v. United States,

supra, the Supreme Court permitted the

Government to seek forfeiture of one lot of emerald

cut stones pursuant to 19 U.S.C. $1947, which

provided for the civil forfeiture of undeclared items,

even though the claimant had been indicted, tried

and acquitted of charges of violating 18 U.S.C.

§1545, the criminal forfeiture provision for

undeclared items, which contained its own criminal

forfeiture provision. The Court held that Congress

may impose both criminal and civil sanctions

respecting the same act or omission and allowed the

Government to seek civil forfeiture even after it had

failed to meet its burden of proof in its efforts to

pursue a criminal conviction and a criminal

forfeiture.

United States v. 57,261 Items of Drug Paraphernalia, 21-

23.

Al0

Moreover, we note that the purposes of the civil and

the criminal forfeiture provisions are quite different. The

customs forfeiture statute aims to prevent the

importation of goods deemed to be unlawful, and, we

believe, incorporates by reference $857 and its definition

of drug paraphernalia. It is well established that the full

panoply of Fourth Amendment protections does not

apply to imports inspected at the border. Almeida-

Sanchez v. United States, 413 U.S. 266 (1973). Once drug

paraphernalia have entered the country, of course, their

owners have all the procedura) protections of the

criminal forfeiture statute, backed up by the full force of

the Fourth Amendment. But the existence of those more

ample protections within the United States does not

foreclose Congress from deciding that it will impose a

less protective forfeiture scheme at the border. Further,

there is no reason for applying less protective seizure

and forfeiture rules to imported drug gear than to any

other unlawfully imported goods. It would be anomalous

for imported cars which do not meet our exhaust or

safety requirements to be subject to civil forfeiture but

for imported drug gear to be subject to the more

stringent criminal provisions reserved for domestic

goods.

Thus, the two statutory forfeiture remedies are rot

mutually exclusive. Accordingly, the judgment of the

District Court in No. 88-5320 is affirmed.

Il.

The second case on appeal, No. 87-6018, was brought

by Contempo against the government agents who seized

the shipments. Contempo brought the case after the

physical seizure of the goods but before the government

actually filed its forfeiture action in court. Contempo

sought an injunction against the seizure and damages

against the agents.

ee ee ee eae eee

——eeoiOo— rr lr S—CS

All

The only question before us on this appeal concerns

qualified immunity from liability for damages: are the

agents entitled to qualified immunity because in

effecting the seizure they did not violate ‘‘clearly

established law’’ under the principles set out in Harlow

v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800 (1982), Mitchell v. Forsyth,

472 U.S. 511 (1985), and Anderson v. Creighton,

US. 107 S. Ct. 3034 (1987)?

Uncertain of the facts and the law applicable to the

new drug paraphernalia statute, Judge Higgins declined

to rule on the pleadings on the qualified immunity issue.

He apparently wanted to hear more facts and to

postpone a definitive ruling on qualified immunity until

after he had heard the government’s forfeiture action.

Government counsel took an immediate Anderson uv.

Creighton interlocutory appeal on behalf of its agents

from the court order declining to rule on the pleadings on

the qualified immunity issue.

The case is in a different posture before us on appeal

than it was before Judge Higgins. We now have the

benefit of his rulings and of our ruling on the merits on

the government’s forfeiture action. The facts are known.

Neither Judge Higgins nor this court has found any

illegality in the seizure and forfeiture of the shipments.

We have upheld the constitutionality of $857. We have

agreed with the District Court’s application of $857 to

the facts of the case. We have agreed that the civil

forfeiture provisions of §1595a may be used to effectuate

the seizure and forfeiture of imported drug paraphernalia

and that criminal forfeiture under $857 is not the

exclusive procedure for such items.

No purpose would now be served by a remand to the

District Court for application of the doctrine of qualified

immunity. It is obvious at this stage that the doctrine

Al2

applies to protect the agents from damages because we

have found that they not only did not violate a ‘‘clearly

established law’’—they violated no law at all. They acted

properly under a constitutional statute to effuctuate a

civil forfeiture under the customs statute.

Accordingly, in light of our ruling in No. 88-5320, the

order in No. 87-6018 on qualified immunity is reversed

and the case remanded with instructions to dismiss the

claim against the defendants for damages.

Al13

Appendix

§857. Use of Postal Service for sale of drug

paraphernalia

(a) Unlawfulness

It is unlawful for any person—

(1) to make use of the services of the Postal

Service or other interstate conveyance as part of a

scheme to sell drug paraphernalia;

(2) to offer for sale and transportation in

interstate or foreign commerce drug paraphernalia;

or

(3) to import or export drug paraphernalia.

(b) Penalties

Anyone convicted of an offense under subsection (a)

of this section shall be imprisoned for not more than

three years and fined not more than $100,000.

(c) Seizure and forfeiture

Any drug paraphernalia involved in any violation of

subsection (a) of this section shall be subject to seizure

and forfeiture upon the conviction of a person for such

violation. Any such paraphernalia shall be delivered to

the Administrator of General Services, General Services

Administration, who may order such paraphernalia

destroyed or may authorize its use for law enforcement

or educational purposes by Federal, State, or local

authorities.

Al4

(d) Definition of ‘drug paraphernalia”

The term ‘drug paraphernalia’”” means any

equipment, product, or material of any kind which is

primarily intended or designed for use in manufacturing,

compounding, converting, concealing, producing,

processing, preparing, injecting, ingesting, inhaling, or

otherwise introducing into the human body a controlled

substance in violation of the Controlled Substances Act

(title II of Public Law 91-513). [21 U.S.C.A. $801 et seq.]

It includes items primarily intended or designed for use

in ingesting, inhaling, or otherwise introducing

marijuana, cocaine, hashish, hashish oil, PCP, or

amphetamines into the human body, such as—

(1) metal, wooden, acrylic, glass, stone, plastic,

or ceramic pipes with or without screens, permanent

screens, hashish heads, or punctured metal bowls;

(2) water pipes;

(3) carburetion tubes and devices;

(4) smoking and carburetion masks;

(5) roach clips: meaning objects used to hold

burning material, such as a marihuana [sic] cigarette,

that has become too small or too short to be held in

the hand;

(6) miniature spoons with level capacities of

one-tenth cubic centimeter or less;

(7) chamber pipes;

(8) carburetor pipes;

(9) electric pipes;

(10) air-driven pipes;

(11) chillums;

Ald

(12) bongs;

(13) ice pipes or chillers;

(14) wired cigarette papers; or

(15) cocaine freebase kits.

(e) Matters considered in determination of what

constitutes drug paraphernalia

In determining whether an item constitutes drug

paraphernalia, in addition to all other logically relevant

factors, the following may be considered:

(1) instructions, oral or written, provided with

the item concerning its use;

(2) descriptive materials accompanying the

item which explain or depict its use;

(3) national and local advertising concerning its

use;

(4) the manner in which the item is displayed

for sale;

(5) whether the owner, or anyone in control of the

item, is a legitimate supplier of like or related items

to the community, such as a licensed distributor or

dealer of tobacco products;

(6) direct or circumstantial evidence of the ratio

of sales of the item(s) to the total sales of the

business enterprise;

(7) the existence and scope of legitimate uses of

the item in the community; and

(8) expert testimony concerning its use.

Al6

_(f) Exemptions

This section shall not apply to— >.

(1) any person authorized by local, State, or |

Federal law to manufacture, possess, or distribute |

such items; or :

|

(2) any item that, in the normal lawful course

of business, is imported, exported, transported, or

sold through the mail or by any other means, and

primarily intended for use with tobacco products,

including any pipe, paper, or accessory.

ER

“OS. 2 torh vane tara cemichd BD PEARS Bre LE

———aOOooo eae:

Al7

APPENDIX B

Memorandum and Order of the

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

(Dated March 11, 1988)

No. 3-87-0656.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

M.D. Tennessee,

Nashville Division.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

v.

57,261 ITEMS OF DRUG PARAPHERNALIA.

United States brought action seeking forfeiture for

three shipments consisting of over 57,000 cigarette

holders, ceramic pipes and water pipes. The District

Court, Higgins, J., held that: (1) three shipments

contained “drug paraphernalia’ and were therefore

subject to civil forfeiture, and (2) three shipments were

subject to seizure under general civi! forfeiture statute

despite claim that criminal forfeiture statute for drug

paraphernalia provided exclusive method for forfeiture.

Items condemned and forfeited.

l. Forfeitures

In rem civil forfeiture proceeding, pursuant to

general forfeiture statute, Government must prove that

there is probable cause to believe that items in question

are subject to forfeiture under that provision, and burden

Al8

then shifts to claimant who must prove that items are

not subject to forfeiture; showing of probable cause is

made if there is reasonable ground, supported by less

than prima facie evidence but more than mere suspicion,

for belief that items are subject to forfeiture. Tariff Act

of 1930, §596(c), as amended, 19 U.S.C.A. §1595a(c).

2. Drugs and Narcotics

Three shipments consisting of over 57,000 cigarette

holders, ceramic pipes, and water pipes were “drug

paraphernalia’ and therefore subject to civil forfeiture;

Government provided substantial convincing evidence

that primary use for items contained in shipments was to

introduce controlled substances into body. Tariff Act of

1930, §596(c), as amended, 19 U.S.C.A. §$1595a(c); Anti-

Drug Abuse Act of 1986, §1822, 21 U.S.C.A. $857.

3. Drugs and Narcotics

Three shipments consisting of over 57,000 items of

drug paraphernalia were subject to seizure under general

civil forfeiture statute, which allows forfeiture of any

merchandise which is introduced or is attempted to be

introduced into United States contrary to law, despite

claim that criminal forfeiture statute for drug

paraphernalia provided exclusive method for forfeiture.

Tariff Act of 1930, §596(c), as amended, 19 U.S.C.A.

§$1595a(c); Anti-Drug Abuse Act of 1986, $1822, 21

U.S.C.A. §857.

Joe B. Brown, U.S. Atty., Harold B. McDonough,

Asst. U.S. Atty., Nashville, Tenn., for plaintiff.

Robert T. Vaughn, Larry D. Woods, Nashville,

Tenn., for defendant. '

| :

5

;

a

4

Al9

MEMORANDUM

HiGGIns, District Judge.

On April 15, 1987, Contempo Products, Inc.,

(Contempo) filed civil action No. 3-87-0292 against Ralph

Whiteside, Bill Crane and the Department of the

Treasury, Customs Service of the United States of

America (the Customs Service). Contempo alleged that

Mr. Whiteside, Mr. Crane, and the Customs Service

seized Contempo’s property, three shipments of ceramic

cigarette holders, ceramic pipes and water pipes, in

violation of Contempo’s due process rights. Contempo

simultaneously filed a motion for a_ preliminary

injunction. Jurisdiction was alleged on the basis of 28

U.S.C. $1331.

On April 27, 1987, Mr. Whiteside, Mr. Crane and the

Customs Service filed a motion to dismiss, challenging

the subject matter jurisdiction, in personam jurisdiction

and sufficiency of process and alleging a failure to state

a claim. Then, on April 30, 1987, the plaintiff filed an

amendment to the complaint, adding the United States

as a party defendant and alleging jurisdiction on the

basis of the Tucker Act, 28 U.S.C. §$1346(a) and the All

Writs Act, 18 U.S.C. §1651. On May 21, 1987, a hearing

was held on the motion to dismiss. At that time,

Contempo’s counsel dismissed all claims against the

Customs Service, leaving the two individual customs

agents and the United States as defendants in civil

action No. 3-87-0292. On June 18, 1987, the Court

entered an order denying the motion to dismiss. On the

same day, the Court entered an order consolidating the

preliminary injunction for hearing with the trial on the

merits.

A20

On July 13, 1987, Mr. Crane and Mr. Whiteside filed

a motion to dismiss the individual defendants on the

ground of qualified immunity. On August 19, 1987, the

Court entered an order denying that motion.

Also, on August 19, 1987, the United States (the

Government) filed the action before this Court, civil

action No. 3-87-0656, United States of America v. 57,261

Items of Drug Paraphernalia, Including Ceramic Pipes,

Holders and Water Pipes, for forfeiture of the

merchandise, which is also the subject of civil action No.

3-87-0292, i.e., the three shipments of ceramic cigarette

holders, ceramic pipes and water pipes which were

imperted by Contempo and later seized by the

Government.

On August 26, 1987, the defendants in civil action

No. 3-87-0292 filed a motion to dismiss or stay the trial

of that action until judgment was entered in this action.

Then, on August 27, 1987, Mr. Whiteside and Mr. Crane

filed a notice of appeal from the order entered in civil

action No. 3-87-0292, denying their motion to dismiss on

the basis of qualified immunity. They also filed a motion

to stay further proceedings against them in civil action

No. 3-87-0292, while their appeal was pending.

A hearing on the motion to stay the trial of civil

action No. 3-87-0292 was held on August 28, 1987. At

the hearing, the attorneys agreed to stay civil action No.

3-87-0292 and to proceed to trial on this forfeiture action,

No. 3-87-0656. This action was tried on August 31, 1987,

September 1, 1987, and September 3, 1987, without the

intervention of a jury.

For the reasons set forth in this memorandum, the

Court finds that the three seized shipments of cigarette

holders, ceramic pipes and water pipes are drug

paraphernalia as defined by 21 U.S.C. §857. The Court

A21

further finds that these ceramic cigarette holders,

ceramic pipes and water pipes were properly seized

pursuant to 19 U.S.C. §1595a(c). Therefore, the

defendant, 57,261 items of drug paraphernalia, is

condemned and forfeited to the Government.

I,

In eurly 1987, a shipment of ceramic pipes and

ceramic cigarette holders, manufactured by the Niki

Glass Company, Inc., of Japan, was imported into the

United States by Contempo. Although the shipment was

unloaded at the port of Seattle, Washington, the items

were kept in sealed containers until they reached

Nashville, Tennessee, which served as the port of entry.

On February 25, 1987, Customs agents in Nashville

were alerted by the Customs Service national computer

that items with the tariff number of the items imported

by Contempo might be prohibited items of drug

paraphernalia as defined by 21 U.S.C. $857, a provision

of the Anti-Drug Abuse Act of 1986."

On February 26, 1987, Customs agents in Nashville

examined the ceramic pipes and ceramic cigarette holders

which made up the initial shipment imported by

Contempo. Samples of those items were sent to the

Customs Service Regional Counsel’s Office in New

Orleans, Louisiana. On March 2, 1987, Customs agents

in Nashville received a copy of the Anti-Drug Abuse Act

of 1986. Then, on March 5, 1987, Customs agents went

to the offices of Mr. V. Alexander, the import broker for

Contempo, and informed him that the shipment of

ceramic pipes and cigarette holders was being detained

while a determination was made as to whether these

' P.L. 99-570. 100 Stat. 3207 (1986).

A22

items were drug paraphernalia imported in violation of

the Anti-Drug Abuse Act. At that time, the Customs

agents were informed that two additional imported

shipments of similar items were expected to arrive in

Nashville shortly. The import broker provided the agents

with copies of the invoices for the two subsequent

shipments. The invoices showed that one of those

shipments consisted of water pipes imported from Japan,

while the other shipment consisted of ceramic water

pipes and ceramic cigarette holders and was similar to

the shipment which had already arrived.

Customs special agent Jerry Owensby, who had ten

years’ experience as an agent for the Drug Enforcement

Administration, was sent to observe the environment in

which Contempo sold the detained items. Mr. Owensby

went to Contempo’s offices on McNally Drive in

Nashville, Tennessee, and was told by the receptionist

that he could not examine the products in their

showroom because he was not a retail dealer but that he

could visit Contempo’s retail store, Jean Marie’s,’? on

Elliston Place in Nashville. Mr. Owensby proceeded to

visit and observe the Elliston place store. He then

reported his observations to Mr. Ralph Whiteside, the

Port Director for U.S. Customs, Nashville.

* The name for this store has since been changed to the Elliston Place

Pipe and Tobacco Shop. The ownership of the shop, however, has not

changed. At trial, Mr. Rowland testified that Contempo did not own

this retail store. The evidence showed, however, that Mr. Rowland

was the president of both Contempo and the retail store and that the

other officers of the retail store were also associated with Contempo.

In addition, the evidence showed that Contempo and the retail store

were both owned by trusts which had the same settlor and the same

trustee. In light of these facts and the fact that Mr. Owensby was

informed by a Contempo employee that the store was Contempo’s

retail outlet, the Court will consider the store as if it were

Contempo’s retail store. In addition, because the store has changed

names during the course of events leading to this action, the Court

will, for the purposes of clarity, refer to the shop as Contempo’s retail

store.

A23

Agent Owensby reported that he saw a plastic

marijuana plant in the _ receptionist’s office at

Contempo’s offices. He also reported that Contempo’s

retail store sold many products, such as the ceramic

pipes and cigarette holders which were contained in the

shipment, as well as water pipes, scales, mirrors, straws

and razors, which he believed were intended for use with

controlled substances. Mr. Owensby told Mr. Whiteside

that Contempo’s retail store appeared to be a “head’”’

shop, a store which sells drug paraphernalia to drug

users. Mr. Owensby also informed Mr. Whiteside that, in

his opinion, based on his experience in drug law

enforcement, the ceramic pipes, ceramic cigarette holders

and water pipes were used exclusively for introducing

controlled substances, particularly marijuana, into the

body.

On March 18, 1987, Mr. Whiteside during a

telephone conversation with Attorney Mary Cupp, from

the Regional Counsel’s Office, and Attorney Joe Taranto,

a Fines, Penalties and Forfeitures Officer, also from the

Regional Counsel’s Office, discussed whether the

shipments should be seized. He was advised by Ms.

Cupp and Mr. Taranto that the items in the shipments

did qualify as drug paraphernalia and that they could be

seized and forfeited. The Regional Counsel’s Office

advised Mr. Whiteside that he should proceed to seize

and forfeit the shipments pursuant to 19 U.S.C.

$1595a(c), another provision of the Anti-Drug Abuse Act

of 1986.

Mr. Whiteside considered the information that he

had received from Ms. Cupp, Mr. Taranto, Mr. Owensby

and others and decided to commence forfeiture

proceedings.

A24

On March 19, 1982, the items in the first shipment

were seized and forfeiture proceedings were commenced.

On that date, Mr. Whiteside sent notice to the V.

Alexander Company that the shipment was being seized.

The second shipment which contained water pipes

arrived on March 20, 1987. Mr. Whiteside sent agents to

inspect the shipment and instructed them that if the

shipment matched the invoice furnished by the import

broker, the shipment was to be seized for forfeiture. The

shipment did match the invoice, and the agents seized

the second shipment on March 20, 1987.

The third shipment, which contained ceramic pipes

and ceramic cigarette holders identical to those contained

in the first shipment, arrived on March 26, 1987. Again,

Mr. Whiteside sent Customs agents to inspect the

shipment and instructed them that if the contents mated

the invoices furnished to them by the V. Alexander

Company, the shipment was to be seized for forfeiture

proceedings. The contents of the shipment matched the

invoice, and the agents seized the third shipment on

March 26, 1987.

All three shipments were combined into one seizure

for the purposes of the forfeiture proceedings, which

were commenced by the Customs Regional Office in New

Orleans, Louisiana. Contempo was notified of the seizure

by the Customs Office and filed a claim to the seized’

property. The proceedings for forfeiture were then

commenced in this Court.

-_——__

A25

II.

Contempo contends that the ceramic cigarette

holders, ceramic pipes and water pipes are not drug

paraphernalia as defined by 21 U.S.C. §857, which

provides:

(a) Unlawfulness

It is unlawful for any person—

(1) to make use of the services of the Postal

Service or other interstate conveyance as part of a

scheme to sell drug paraphernalia;

(2) to offer for sale and transportation in

interstate or foreign commerce drug

paraphernalia; or

(3) to import or export drug paraphernalia.

(b) Penalties

_Anyone convicted of any offense under

subsection (a) of this section shall be imprisoned for

not more than three years and fined not more than

$100,000.

(c) Seizure and forfeiture

Any drug paraphernalia involved in any

violation of subsection (a) of this section shall be

subject to seizure and forfeiture upon the conviction

of a person for such violation. Any such

paraphernalia shall be delivered to the

Administrator of General Services, General Services

Administration, who may order such paraphernalia

destroyed or may authorize its use for law

enforcement or educational purposes by Federal,

State, or local authorities.

A26

(d) Definition of “drug paraphernalia”

The term “drug paraphernalia” means any

equipment, product, or material of any kind which is

primarily intended or designed for use in

manufacturing, compounding, converting,

concealing, producing, processing, preparing,

injecting, ingesting, inhaling, or otherwise

introducing into the human body a controlled

substance in violation of the Controlled Substances

Act (title II of Public Law 91-513). [21 U.S.C.A.

$801 et seq.] It includes items primarily intended or

designed for use in ingesting, inhaling, or otherwise

introducing marijuana, cocaine, hashish, hashish oil,

PCP, or amphetamines into the human body, such

as—

(1) metal, wooden, acrylic, glass, stone,

plastic, or ceramic pipes with or without screens,

permanent screens, hashish heads, or -punctured

metal bowls;

(2) water pipes;

(3) carburetion tubes and devices;

(4) smoking and carburetion masks;

(5) roach clips: meaning objects used to hold

burning material, such as a marijuana cigarette,

that has become too small or too short to be held

in the hand;

(6) miniature spoons with level capacities of

one-tenth cubic centimeter or less;

(7) chamber pipes;

(8) carburetor pipes;

(9) electric pipes;

oe

A27

(10) air-driven pipes;

(11) chillums;

(12) bongs;

(13) ice pipes or chiller;

(14) wired cigarette papers; or

(15) cocaine freebase kits.

(e) Matters considered in determination of what

constitutes drug paraphernalia

In determining whether an item constitutes

drug paraphernalia, in addition to all other logically

relevant factors, the following may be considered:

(1) instructions, oral or written, provided

with the item concerning its use;

(2) descriptive materials accompanying the

item which explain or depict its use;

(3) national and local advertising concerning

its use;

(4) the manner in which the item is displayed

for sale;

(5) whether the owner or anyone in control of

the item, is a legitimate supplier of like or related

items to the community, such as a licensed

distributor or dealer of tobacco products;

(6) direct or circumstantial evidence of the

ratio of sales of the item(s) to the total sales of the

business enterprise;

(7) the existence and scope of legitimate uses

of the item in the community; and

(8) expert testimony concerning its use.

(f) Exemptions

(1) any person authorized by local, State, or

Federal law to manufacture, possess, or distribute

such items; or

(2) any item that, in the normal lawful course

of business, is imported, exported, transported, or

sold through the mail or by any other means, and

primarily intended for use with tobacco products,

including any pipe, paper, or accessory.

Contempo attempted to establish through its

witnesses, Mr. Benjamin Rapaport, an expert on tobacco

use and tobacco smoking devices, Mr. Takefumi Niki, the

President of Niki Glass Co., Ltd., and Mr. Richard

Rowland, the President of Contempo that the items in

the three seized shipments are primarily intended for use

with tobaccco and are, therefore, exempt from the

provisions of 21 U.S.C. §857 in accordance with 21

U.S.C. §857(f). Mr. Rapaport testified that ceramic pipes,

ceramic cigarette holders and water pipes, like those

contained in the seized shipments, are devices which

have been used throughout history for smoking tobacco

products. Mr. Rapaport also testified that these items

are part of a new trend in the tobacco industry; he stated

that the water pipes are becoming popular because they

provide the least hazardous means of tobacco inhalation

and that the smaii ceramic pipes are becoming popular

among women and people who wish to smoke less. Mr.

Rapaport also stated that such items are sometimes

purchased by collectors of smoking devices, a hobby

which he says is becoming more common. Mr. Rapaport

further noted that items similar to the ceramic cigarette

holders, ceramic pipes and water pipes in the shipments

are displayed at the Retail Tobacco Dealers Association

trade shows. Finally, Mr. Rapaport opined that the

ceramic cigarette holders, ceramic pipes and water pipes,

are primarily intended for use with tobacco.

A29

Mr. Niki, the President of the company that

manufactures the ceramic pipes and ceramic cigarette

holders contained in the seized shipments, testified that

he manufactured these items for use with tobacco. Mr.

Richard Rowland then testified that Contempo imports

the ceramic cigarette holders, ceramic pipes and water

pipes for use with tobacco. He pointed out that these

items are, in fact, marketed with descriptive literature

which expressly states that they are intended for use

with tobacco products. He further testified that

Contempo’s Elliston Place retail store carries these

products for use with tobacco products, such as natural

tobacco. Mr. Rowland also testified that the products

sold by the Elliston Place retail store that Mr. Owensby

identified as drug paraphernalia were sold for use with

legitimate products such as snuff, natural tobacco, and

vitamins, and were not sold for use with controlled

substances.

The Government, however, provided substantial and

convincing evidence that the primary use, in this

country, for items like the ceramic cigarette holders,

ceramic pipes and water pipes contained in the seized

shipments is to introduce controlled substances into the

body. Mr. William Hopkins, a former New York City

policeman with experience in undercover work, who has

participated in research conducted in New York City

about the methods of using controlled substances, Mr.

Howard Morris, an agent for the Tennessee Bureau of

Investigation who specializes in the investigation of

narcotics cases, and Mr. Phillip Taylor, a police officer

with the Metropolitan Nashville Police Department who

specializes in narcotics investigations, all testified that

they had seen items like the seized items used frequently

and exclusively for the purpose of inhaling controlled

A30

substances, primarily marijuana. All three of these

experts opined that these items were intended for the

purpose of inhaling controlled substances.

In addition, Mr. Hopkins, Mr. Morris, Mr. Taylor,

Mr. Owensby and Mr. Tim Harden, a_ tobacconist,

testified that there are numerous factors which make the

items in this case particularly suited to the inhalation of

controlled substances and not to the inhalation of

tobacco products. The bowls in the seized ceramic pipes

are very small and will not hold enough tobacco to

satisfy the average tobacco smoker. However, much

smaller amounts of marijuana are needed to obtain the

desired results of smoking marijuana. Therefore, these

ceramic pipes are suitable for the average marijuana

smoker. In addition, the pipes are easily washable and

will permit a marijuana smoker to wash out the dark,

sticky residue which is generated when marijuana ‘is

smoked. Furthermore, the pipes are equipped with a

metal screen which permits marijuana to be smoked

without being drawn into the mouth of the person

smoking it. Mr. Tim Harden, the tobacconist, testified

that a metal screen such as those in these ceramic pipes,

would not be conducive to smoking tobacco products

because it would cause condensation and create a wet

smoke, and because it would make the already small

- bowl even smaller. Finally, some of the ceramic pipes

have a hole in the bowl with a removable rubber stopper.

That hole, known in the street vernacular as a carburetor

hole, permits a marijuana smoker to inhale and fill his

lungs with the marijuana smoke. The carburetor hole is

not useful to tobacco smokers because the tobacco

smoker does not seek to fill his lungs the way a

marijuana smoker does.

A3l

According to these witnesses, the ceramic cigarette

holders are also particularly suited to smoking

marijuana. They are easily washable to permit the

marijuana smoker to wash away the sticky resin left by

burning marijuana. Moreover, they are conical in shape

and are, therefore, particularly useful for holding hand-

rolled cigarettes, a form in which marijuana is frequently

consumed, but are not useful for holding conventional

commercially-rolled cigarettes, a form in which tobacco is

frequent consumed. Finally, the cigarette holders permit

the smoker to consume the entire cigarette, a practice

common among marijuana smokers because of the cost

of marijuana, but which is not common among tobacco

smokers. Items such as these, which permit a marijuana

smoker to smoke a marijuana cigarette which has

become too small to hold, are described in the street

vernacular as roach clips.

Finally, these witnesses also testified that the water

pipes are also particularly suited for smoking marijuana.

Marijuana burns much better than tobacco, and the

water cools the marijuana smoke. Although water pipes

are used for smoking tobacco in other countries, they are

not used for smoking tobacco in the United States

because tobacco in this country is cured and processed

and is, therefore, not so strong as to require filtering. In

addition, several of the water pipes confiscated had more

than one opening to allow more than one person to

smoke the burning substance at the same time. This is a

practice common among marijuana smokers, but not

among tobacco smokers. Mr. Hopkins and Mr. Harden

did concede that the water pipes in the seized shipments

have wooden bowls which are more suitable for tobacco

than marijuana, but testified that these bowls are easily

exchanged for bowls of other substances.

. t

A32

At trial, Mr. Owensby also testified about his site

visit to Contempo’s Elliston Place retail store. Mr.

Owensby testified that, in addition to tobacco products

and tobacco pipes, the retail store sold water pipes, small

ceramic pipes, ceramic cigarette holders, roach clips,

pornographic pipes, hashish pipes, straws, razor blades,

cocaine vials, cocaine spoons and scales. Mr. Owensby

conceded that some of the items were displayed with

literature indicating that they were manufactured for use

with tobacco and snuff but testified that, in his

experience, all these items are associated with the drug

culture and are used in conjunction with controlled

substances. Mr. Owensby further testified that he

believed that most of the items sold by the retail store

were drug paraphernalia. Mr. Morris, who had visited the

Elliston Place retail store on a number of occasions als

testified that, in his opinion, the retail store is a “head”

shop selling drug paraphernalia, such as roach clips,

cocaine spoons, cocaine vials, cocaine mirrors and cocaine

kits.

[1] In an in rem civil forfeiture proceeding, pursuant

to 19 U.S.C. §1595a, the Government must prove that

there is probable cause to believe that the items in

question are subject to forfeiture under that provision.

The burden then shifts to the claimant who must prove

that the items are not subject to forfeiture. United

States v. “Monkey,” 725 F.2d 1007, 1010 (5th Cir. 1984).

A showing of probable cause is made if ‘there is a

reasonable ground, supported by less than prima facie

evidence but more than mere suspicion, for the belief

that the items are subject to forfeiture. Id.

[2] In this case, the Government is required to show

probable cause for its belief that the items in question

are drug paraphernalia. The Court finds that the

A33

Government more than met its burden. In making the

determination to seize the ceramic pipes and the ceramic

cigarette holders for the purpose of forfeiture, Mr.

Whiteside had the benefit of (1) 21 U.S.C. §857, which

specifically names ceramic pipes and roach clips as

possible items of drug paraphernalia, (2) the advice of

attorneys with the Customs Service who had examined

the ceramic pipes and ceramic cigarette holders and

determined that they were drug paraphernalia, (3) the

opinions of agents, including Mr. Owensby, familiar with

drug use and drug paraphernalia, who had examined the

ceramic pipes and ceramic cigarette holders and opined

that they were drug paraphernalia and (4) the opinion of

Mr. Owensby, who had visited Contempo’s office and

Contempe’s retail store, and opined that the items

contained in the three shipments were sold in a ‘‘head”’

shop.

The decision to seize the shipments was made on

March 18, 1986, two days before the shipment of water

pipes arrived in Nashville, on March 20, 1986. Therefore,

the decision to seize the water pipes was made before the

Customs officials had seen and inspected those pipes.

However, in making the decision to seize the water pipes,

Mr. Whiteside had (1) the benefit of 21 U.S.C. §857,

which specifically names water pipes as a possible item

of drug paraphernalia, (2) the opinion of Mr. Owensby,

who had visited Contempo’s offices and Contempo’s

retail store, and opined that the items contained in these

shipments were sold at a ‘“‘head”’ shop and (3) the opinion

of Mr. Owensby that some of the items sold in

Contempo’s retail store, including the water pipes, were

drug paraphernalia.

The Court concludes that the Government had much

more than a mere suspicion that all three of the items,

the ceramic pipes, ceramic cigarette holders, and water

A34

pipes, were drug paraphernalia_and had more than

sufficient probable cause to initiate these forfeiture

proceedings.

The Court further finds that the claimant had failed

to meet its burden of proving that the seized items are

not drug paraphernalia. Mr. Rapaport provided

information about the history and traditional uses of

these items, about their collectability, about their

suitability for tobacco, and about their potential uses.

However, Mr. Rapaport provided no substantial or

convincing evidence to refute the testimony of numerous

expert Government witnesses that in their experience, in

this country, these items are used primarily for the

inhalation of controlled substances. This is also true of

Mr. Niki’s testimony. Although Mr. Niki testified that

he manufactures the ceramic pipes and cigarette holders

for use with tobacco and that in Japan such items are

used for smoking tobacco, Mr. Niki had no knowledge of

how such products are used in this country. The Court

gives little credit to Mr. Rowland’s | self-serving

testimony.’ However, even Mr. Rowland, while testifying

that he imported these products for use with tobacco and

that these products were suitable for use with tobacco,

failed to provide any credible evidence to refute the

Government’s contention that in today’s society these

products are used solely for inhaling controlled

substances.

*The Court notes that Mr. Rowland testified that he had no

knowledge that Manitol, a baby laxative, which was sold in

Contempo’s retail store, is used as a cutting agent for cocaine.

However, Mr. Morris, a governmental witness, testified that Manitol

is commonly used for diluting cocaine. In addition, Mr. Rowland did

not offer any testimony that would explain why Contempo’s retail

store, which Mr. Rowland contends is a legitimate tobacco shop,

offered Manitol for sale. Moreover, the Court cannot conceive of any

logical reason for a tobacco store to carry a baby laxative such as

Manitol. Therefore, the Court finds that Mr. Rowland’s credibility is

suspect.

A35

The Court has considered all the relevant criteria set

forth in 21 U.S.C. $857(e), including the descriptive

material included with the seized items, the manner in

which the items were displayed for sale at Contempo’s

retail store, the fact that Contempo’s retail store sold

legitimate tobacco products, the scope of the legitimate

uses of the items in the community, and the expert

testimony concerning the items’ use, in determining

whether these items are drug paraphernalia as defined by

21 U.S.C. §857. The Court finds that the proof

overwhelmingly establishes that the primary use, in this

community, for ceramic pipes, ceramic cigarette holders

and water pipes like those in the seized shipments is to

introduce controlled substances into the body. The Court

further finds that there are minimal, if any, legitimate

uses for such items in this community. The Court

concludes, therefore, that in this country these items are

intended for use with controlled substances and are drug

paraphernalia as defined by 21 U.S.C. §857.

Ill.

[3] Contempo further contends that even if these ~

items are drug paraphernalia as defined by 21 U.S.C.

§857, the shipments are not subject to seizure under 19

U.S.C. §1595a(c), a general civil forfeiture provision,

because 21 U.S.C. §857 contains its own criminal

forfeiture provision, 21 U.S.C. §857(c). 19 U.S.C.

§1595a(c) provides:

(c) Any merchandise that is introduced or

attempted to be introduced into the United States

contrary to law (other than in violation of section

1592 of this title) may be seized and forfeited.

While 21 U.S.C. $857 provides:

(c) Seizure and forfeiture

A36

Any drug paraphernalia involved in any

violation of subsection (a) of this section shall be

subject to seizure and forfeiture upon the conviction

of a person for such violation. Any such

paraphernalia shall be delivered to _ the

Administrator of General Services, General Services

Administration, who may order such paraphernalia

destroyed or may authorize its use for law

_ @nforcement or educational purposes by Federal,

State, or local authorities.

Contempo argues that 21 U.S.C. §857 provides the

exclusive method for the forfeiture of items which are

imported into this country in violation of 21 U.S.C.

§857(a).

Both 21 U.S.C. §857 and 19 U.S.C. §1595a(c) were

enacted as part of the Anti-Drug Abuse Act of 1986. The

Anti-Drug Abuse Act of 1986 is an omnibus bill and,

therefore, there is little legislative history which deals

specifically with either of the provisions at issue in this

case. However, it is clear that Congress intended to

enact a comprehensive law, designed to strike at drug

use through all available means. Mr. Quillen, a

Representative from Tennessee, described the bill as

follows:

HS®: 5484, the Omnibus Drug Enforcement,

Education and Control Act of 1986, is a

comprehersive bipartisan response to the severe

substance and drug abuse problem which afflicts our

country...

The bill provides new funds and new weapons

for the war on substunce and drug abuse and drug

related crime. It is a major step forward in our

national effort to turn the tide against the drug-

A37

pushers and drug traffickers who have for years

flooded the country and sold them at great profit to

corrupt, injure and kill our people.

- This bill is a tough bill. I believe it signals the

beginning of a forceful counteroffensive against the

drug underworld and this is a counteroffensive we

must win...

Drug dealers, drug traffickers, drug users,

beware. This Congress means business and the

passage of this measure and this rule will bring all

the efforts of this Federal Government into play to

do what muet be done to save lives and to eradicate

this cancer which is growing and growing upon us.

(emphasis added)

H.R. 5484, 99th Cong., 2nd Sess., 132 Cong. Rec. H6520

(1986). One of the weapons which the Congress relies

upon in its war against drugs is the U.S. Customs

Service. As Mr. Quillen expresses, one of the highlights

of the bill is that it ‘strengthens the U.S. Customs drug

enforcement capability.”’ Id.

The legislative history makes it clear that Congress

also intended to level an attack on the drug

paraphernalia industry. Mr. Levine, a Representative

from California, who introduced the amendment, which

became codified as 21 U.S.C. $857, stated:

The drug~ paraphernalia industry both glamorizes

the use of illegal drugs and contributes to the

problem of drug abuse...

The open sale of drug paraphernalia misleads

many young Americans to believe that drugs are

acceptable to use. Advertisements in catalogs

touting the paraphernalia ignore the _ serious

consequences of drug abuse-health risks, addiction,

A38

progression to stronger drugs—and instead sell the

idea that drug use is a normal and acceptable

activity. A further danger, again especially for

young people is the idea that if drug paraphernalia

can be openly sold ... then society is not serious

about enforcing drug laws, that the health risks are

not really so great and that the legal consequences

are not serious.

H.R. 5484, 99th Cong. 2d Sess. 132 Cong. Rec. H6656

(1986). Mr. Rockefeller, a Senator from West Virginia,

also discussed the problem of the sale of drug

paraphernalia:

To the extent that we are unsuccessful in

interdicting the supply of drugs, we have to make

the distribution and sale of them as difficult as

possible and one of the gaping holes in the existing

law is that, ironically, as local ordinances have

succeeded in shutting down ‘“‘head shops’’—that is

those stores in which drug paraphernalia is sold—it

has remained possible for those who wish to

maintain their profit in the sale of these items to do

so by shipping their products interstate, even using

the mails to do so. This legislation contains as one

of its important points the fact that it was very

closely adapted to the model act adopted by the

Drug Enforcement Administration, a mail order

drug paraphernalia control act, which will outlaw the

sale and shipment of drug paraphernalia, these

items which will enhance or aid in the use of

dangerous controlled substances.

S. 2878, 99th Cong., 2nd Sess., 132 Cong. Rec. S13758

(1986).

A39

The Congress which enacted the provisions of the

Anti-Drug Abuse Act of 1986 clearly intended to use all

available methods to crack down on drug-related

business, including the drug paraphernalia business. The

U.S. Customs Service provided Congress with a valuable

- tool to use in pressing its war against drugs. Congress

apparently recognized the usefulness of this tool and —

enacted provisions which utilized the forfeiture powers of

the U.S. Customs Service. Two of the provisions which

provided for forfeiture were the general provision of 19

U.S.C. $1595a(c) and the specific — of 21 U.S.C.

§857/(c).

One of the most basic rules of statutory construction

is that where two statutes are capable of co-existence, it

is the duty of the courts, absent a clearly expressed

Congressional intention to the contrary, to regard each

as effective. Ruckelshaus v. Monsanto Co., 467 U.S. 986,

104 S.Ct. 2862, 81 L.Ed.2d 815 (1984). Neither 19 U.S.C.

§1595a(c) nor 21 U.S.C. §857(c) contain any explicit

| limitation with respect to the other. 19 U.S.C. §1595a(c)

provides broad seizure authority for any merchandise

imported contrary to law. Its only limitation concerns

violations of 19 U.S.C. $1592. By comparison, 21 U.S.C.

§857 contains a criminal penalty provision which includes

forfeiture. This provision requires forfeiture upon a

conviction of a violation of 21 U.S.C. §857(a). However, it

does not contain any language making its provisions the

exclusive remedy. Although the statute does not

specifically provide for forfeiture unrelated to criminal - -

action, it does not exclude the possibility of a separate

and individual civil forfeiture.

The courts have recognized that civil and criminal

forfeiture provisions which apply to the same acts can

) co-exist as alternative sanctions. One Lot Emerald Cut

Ss Canc tS ee

ee

A40

Stones v. United States, 409 U.S. 232, 93 S.Ct. 489, 34

L.Ed.2d 438 (1972) and United States v. Dunn, 802 F.2d

646 (2d Cir. 1986). In cases where Congress had provided

both a criminal and civil sanction, the courts have held

that the Government may choose which of those

sanctions it may seek to impose. In One Lot Emerald

Cut Stones v. United States, supra, the Supreme Court

permitted the Government to seek forfeiture of one lot of

emerald cut stones pursuant to 19 U.S.C. $1497, which

provided for the civil forfeiture of undeclared items, even

though the claimant had been indicted, tried and

acquitted of charges of violating 18 U.S.C. $545, the

criminal forfeiture provision for undeclared items, which

contained its own criminal forfeiture provision. The

Court held that Congress may impose both criminal and

civil sanctions respecting the same act or omission and

allowed the Government to seek civil forfeiture even

after it had failed to meet its burden of proof in its

efforts to pursue a criminal conviction and a criminal

forfeiture.

In United States v. Dunn, supra, the Second Circuit

considered the relationship between civil and criminal

forfeiture provisions. In that case, Mr. Dunn was

brought to trial on the charge of possessing cocaine with

intent to distribute. The United States had applied for

the criminal forfeiture of two sums of currency—$4,000

and $28;500—which had allegedly been tendered by Mr.

Dunn to Drug Enforcement Administration agents. Mr.

Dunn was convicted and the jury found that the $4,000

was subject to forfeiture but that the $28,500 was not.

Mr. Dunn filed a motion for a new trial which was

granted by the District Court and affirmed by the

Appellate Court. While the order granting a new trial

was being appealed, the Government instituted civil

forfeiture proceedings against the sum of $28,500

eta

a ita IE TINS te ens gen

A41

pursuant to 21 U.S.C. §881. Mr. Dunn moved to enjoin

such action. The District Court granted Mr. Dunn’s

motion for a permanent injunction. The Government

appealed and the Appellate Court reversed the District

Court. The Appellate Court found that it was not the

intent of Congress that the remedies of criminal and civil

forfeiture be mutually exclusive and permitted the

government to pursue a civil forfeiture.

In this case, there is no indication that Congress

intended the criminal forfeiture provision of 21 U.S.C.

§857(c) to be the exclusive provision for the forfeiture of

drug paraphernalia imported into this country contrary

to law. The civil forfeiture provision of 21 U.S.C.

§1595a(c) does not conflict with the criminal forfeiture

provision of 21 U.S.C. $857(c). In fact, these provisions

compliment one another. The provisions permit the U.S.

Customs Service to use both civil and criminal forfeiture

powers to combat the influx of drugs, and those items

which encourage and enhance drug use, into this

country.

The Court concludes that the provisions of 19 U.S.C.

$1595a(c), which provide for the forfeiture of any

merchandise that is introduced or attempted to be

introduced into the United States contrary to law, is

applicable to drug paraphernalia, as defined by 21 U.S.C.

$857, introduced into this country in violation of 21

U.S.C. $857(a). The Court has already determined that

the seized items are drug paraphernalia, as defined by 21

U.S.C. §857. Therefore, the Court finds that these items

were properly seized in accordance with 19 U.S.C.

$1595a(c). These 57,261 items of drug paraphernalia are

hereby condemned and forfeited to the United States of

America.

A42

IV.

Contempo also raises several constitutional claims.

First, in its Answer, Contempo contends that the

government instituted these forfeiture proceedings under

an unconstitutional statute as alleged in Contempo

Products, Inc. v. Ralph Whiteside, et al, Civil Action No.

3-87-0292. As stated above, Civil Action No. 3-87-0292 is

a separate action which was stayed by the agreement of

the parties. The Court rejects Contempo’s attempt to

incorporate by reference the allegations made in Civil

Action No. 3-87-0292 in its answer in this separate

action. Therefore, the Court will not address the issue of

the alleged unconstitutionality of the statutes at issue,

21 U.S.C. §857 and 19 U.S.C. §1595(a).

Second, in its Answer, Contempo contends that the

substantive federal statutes are unconsitutional because

the plaintiff has not followed the proper forfeiture

procedure. The issue of whether the plaintiff followed the

proper procedure in instituting this civil in rem forfeiture

proceeding is a matter of statutory construction and

does not give rise to a constitutional claim. The issue of

statutory construction has already been addressed.

Finally, in its Post-trial Brief, the defendant has

made hypothetical arguments concerning’ the

unconstitutionality of 21 U.S.C. §857 and 19 U.S.C.

§1595a(c) as applied to a hypothetical retailer. The Court

finds it unnecessary to address constitutional challenges

based on hypothetical situations which are not pertinent

to this action.

For the reasons stated above, the Court need not

address the constitutional challenges raised by

Contempo.

An appropriate order will be entered.

ee

ee ee

Sanh Rib ArT ARRONT IE At dae mde Rea Ati

A43

ORDER

In accordance with the memorandum

contemporaneously filed, the Court finds in favor the

plaintiff and against the defendant. Accordingly, the

defendant, 57,261 items of drug paraphernalia, including

ceramic pipes, holders and water pipes, is hereby

condemned and forfeited to the United States of America

and shall be delivered into the possession of the District

Director of Customs, New Orleans, Louisiana, for

disposition according to law.

It is so ORDERED.

A44

APPENDIX C

21 U.S.C. §857

§857. Use of Postal Service for sale of drug

paraphernalia

(a) Unlawfulness

It is unlawful for any person—

(1) to make use cf the services of the Postal

Service or other interstate conveyance as part of a

scheme to sell drug paraphernalia;

(2) to offer for sale and transportation in

interstate or foreign commerce drug paraphernalia;

or :

(3) to import or export drug paraphernalia.

(b) Penalties

Anyone convicted of an offense under subsection (a)

of this section shall be imprisoned for not more than

three years and fined not more than $100,000.

(c) Seizure and forfeiture

Any drug paraphernalia involved in any violation of

subsection (a) of this section shall be subject to seizure

and forfeiture upon the conviction of a person for such

violation. Any such paraphernalia shall be delivered to

the Administrator of General Services, General Services

Administration, who may order such paraphernalia

destroyed or may authorize its use for law enforcement

or educational purposes by Federal, State, or loéal

authorities.

(d) Definition of “drug paraphernalia”

The term “drug paraphernalia’’ means any

equipment, product, or material of any kind which is

primarily intended or designed for use in manufacturing,

On relate,

A45

compounding, converting, concealing, producing,

processing, preparing, injecting, ingesting, inhaling, or

otherwise introducing inte the human body a controlled

substance, possession of which is unlawful under the

Controlled Substances Act (title II of Public Law 91-

513). [21 U.S.C.A. §861 et seq.] It includes items

primarily intended or designed for use in ingesting,

inhaling, or otherwise introducing marijuana, cocaine,

hashish, hashish oil, PCP, or amphetamines into the

human body, such as—

(1) metal, wooden, acrylic, glass, stone, plastic,

or ceramic pipes with or without screens, permanent

screens, hashish heads, or punctured metal bowls;

(2) water pipes;

(3) carburetion tubes and devices;

(4) smoking and carburetion masks;

(5) roach clips: meaning objects used to hold

burning material, such as a marihuana cigarette,

that has become too small or too short to be held in

the hand;

(6) miniature spoons with level capacities of

one-tenth cubic centimeter or less;

(7) chamber pipes;

(8) carburetor pipes;

(9) electric pipes;

(10) air-driven pipes;

(11) chillums;

(12) bongs;

(13) ice pipes or chillers;

(14) wired cigarette papers; or

(15) cocaine freebase kits.

A46

(e) :Matters considered in determination of what

constitutes drug paraphernalia

In determining whether an item constitutes drug

paraphernalia, in addition to all other logically relevant

factors, the following may be considered:

(1) instructions, oral or written, provided with

the item concerning its use;

(2) descriptive materials accompanying the

item which explain or depict its use;

(3) national and local advertising concerning its

use;

(4) the manner in which the item is displayed

for sale;

(5) whether the owner, or anyone in control of

the item, is a legitimate supplier of like or related

items to the community, such as a licensed

distributor or dealer of tobacco products;

(6) direct or circumstantial evidence of the ratio

of sales of the item(s) to the total sales of the

business enterprise;

(7) the existence and scope of legitimate uses of

the item in the community; and

(8) expert testimony concerning its use.

(f) Exemptions

This section shall not apply to—

(1) any person authorized by local, State, or

Federal law to manufacture, possess, or distribute

such items; or

A47

(2) any item that, in the normal lawful course

of business, is imported, exported, transported, or

sold through the mail or by any other means, and

traditionally intended for use with tobacco products,

including any pipe, paper, or accessory.

" (Pub.L. 99-570, Title I, $1822, Oct. 27, 1986, 100 Stat.

3207-51; Pub.L. 100-690, Title VI, §6485, Nov. 18, 1988,

102 Stat. 4384.)

— i

A48

APPENDIX D

19 U.S.C. $1595a

§ 1595a. Forfeitures; penalty for aiding unlawful

importation

(a) Except as specified in the proviso to section

1594 of this title, every vessel, vehicle, animal, aircraft,

or other thing used in, to aid in, or to facilitate, by

obtaining information or in any other way, the

importation, bringing in, unlading, landing, removal,

concealing, harboring, or subsequent transportation of

any article which is being or has been introduced, or

attempted to be introduced, into the United States

contrary to law, whether upon such vessel, vehicle,

animal, aircraft, or other thing or otherwise, shall be

seized and forfeited together with its tackle, apparel,

furniture, harness, or equipment.

(b) Every person who directs, assists financially or

otherwise, or is in any way concerned in any unlawful

activity mentioned in the preceding subsection shall be

liable to a penalty equal to the value of the article or

articles introduced or attempted to be introduced.

June 17, 1930, c. 497, Title IV, § 596, as added Sept. 1,

1954, c. 1213. Title V, § 502, 68 Stat. 1140.

A49

AMENDED

§1595a. Forfeitures; penalty for aiding unlawful

importation

(a) Except as specified in subsection (b) or (c) of

section 1594 of this title, every vessel, vehicle, animal,

aircraft, or other thing used in, to aid in, or to facilitate,

by obtaining information or in any way, the importation,

bringing in, unlading, landing, removal, concealing,

harboring, or subsequent transportation of any article

which is being or has been introduced, or attempted to

be introduced, into the United States contrary to law,

whether upon such vessel, vehicle, animal, aircraft or

other thing or otherwise, may be seized and forfeited

together with its tackle, apparel, furniture, harness, or

equipment.

[See main volume for text of (b/]

(c) Any merchandise that is introduced or

attempted to be introduced into the United States

contrary to law (other than in violation of section 1592 of

this title) may be seized and forfeited.

(As amended Oct. 27, 1986, Pub.L. 99-570, Title III,

§ 3123, 100 Stat. 3207-87.)

A50

APPENDIX E

Brief of Amici Curiae, The American Pipe and

Accessory League and The National Association of

Tobacco Distributors, Inc.

No. 88-5320

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FoR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

vs.

57,261 ITEMS OF DRUG PARAPHERNALIA,

Defendant-Appellant.

APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE MIDDLE DISTRICT OF TENNESSEE

NASHVILLE DIVISION

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE,

THE AMERICAN PIPE AND ACCESSORY LEAGUE

AND THE NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF

TOBACCO DISTRIBUTORS, INC., IN

SUPPORT OF APPELLANT

ARMOND D. BuUDISH

800 National City

East Sixth Building

Cleveland, Ohio 44114

(216) 621-0150

Attorney for Amici Curiae American

Pipe and Accessory League and

The National Association of

Tobacco Distributors, Inc.

Of Counsel:

HAHN LOESER & PARKS

A5l

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

TAR Oe Pe ee oo vc cctecccccccvces vii

Se ES ae 50 oie ¥ bos a 0's BEN so 000% 1

A. STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF AMICI

B.

C.

D.

ES ee ee Se ee

HISTORY OF “DRUG PARAPHERNALIA’”’

DECISIONS OF THIS CIRCUIT...........

COMPARISON OF THE OHIO

ORDINANCES AND THE DRUG

PARAPHERNALIA ACT .................

STATEMENT OF FACTS ................

Bs EE Bas 0 6ab0.0 #640 W ti00 610 8

sedan nenb eve eee ee

(b) Ceramic (Clay) Pipes:................

III, Bink sw kic cece secrcess

2. Legitimate Sellers vs. Head Shops .......

SS et ee ret PET eee Teer ee

I.

THE DEFINITION OF ‘‘DRUG

PARAPHERNALIA” AS ALL ITEMS

“PRIMARILY DESIGNED FOR’ USE”

_WITH CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES IS

UNCONSTITUTIONALLY VAGUE..........

A. The Standards Defining The Void-

For-Vagueness Doctrine And The Manner

Of Their Application Were Correctly

Set Forth By This Court .................

16

A52

B. The Definition Of Drug Pdraphernalia

As Items ‘Primarily Designed For

Use” With Controlled Substances Is

Unconstitutionally Vague As Applied To

Items Not Designed Solely For Drug

1. The phrase ‘‘designed for use”

refers to an item’s objective,

structural characteristics..............

2. The Supreme Court upheld the facial

constitutionality of the phrase

“designed for use’ because it

theoretically could be applied to

items solely usable with drugs .........

3. The phrase ‘‘designed for use”

is unconstitutionally vague when

applied to the seized items

DOO oS. ia cadkicns oi heenee ee eases

a. The “designed for use’ language

cannot constitutionally be applied

to items having lawful uses.........

b. The items seized in the

instant action have at least some

lawful uses and are not per se

designed for illegal use.............

THE LIST OF “LOGICALLY RELEVANT

FACTORS” IS UNCONSTITUTIONAL ......

—X-—The ‘Legitimate Supplier’ Factor Is

Unconstitutionally Vague................

18

18

18

19

20

A53 see

B. The Remaining ‘Logically Relevant

Factors’’ Unconstitutionally Permit

Criminal Conviction And Seizure

Of Property Based Upon Guilt By

III. THE LIST OF EXAMPLES OF POSSIBLE

DRUG PARAPHERNALIA HAS BEEN

APPLIED UNCONSTITUTIONALLY ......

IV. THE OFFENSE PROVISION OF THE

ACT IS UNCONSTITUTIONALLY

WR IE oo bobo ccc cence caeee

A. The District Court Parma Decision

Clearly Held That A Knowledge

Requirement Was Necessary For The

Law To Withstand Constitutional

B. The Lack Of Any Knowledge Requirement

In Section 857 Renders the Drug

Paraphernalia Act Unconstitutional.......

V. SEIZURE OF “DRUG PARAPHERNALIA”

UNDER SECTION 1595a‘c) IS

Ee

A. Proof ‘‘Beyond A Reasonable Doubt’’

Is Required To Avoid Vagueness.........

B. Section 1595a(c), As Applied To

“Drug Paraphernalia,’ Is Unconstitutional —

VI. THE FORFEITURE PROVISION OF

SECTION 857(c), NOT SECTION 1595a(c),

SHOULD HAVE BEEN APPLIED .........

A. A Specific Provision Must Be Given

Preference Over A More General

26

28

30

30

33

36

A54

B. The Court Below Failed To Consider

This Basic Rule Of Law..............+--

C. Section 857(c) Applies Specifically

To Drug Paraphernalia, While Section

1595a(c) Applies Generally To Any

Meroe . ooo cicc sce crecccccccceces

D. Congress Did Not Intend That Section

1595a(c) Would Apply To Forfeiture

Of Drug Paraphernalia.............--+--

Teo GE i ee ere ee

NY

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE ..........-.++++--

38

39

HS Aa eT NM I ah te ot

Sp CCAR Tate A e

A55

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Busic v. United States, 446 U.S. 398 (1980)....... 37,39,

42,43

Colautti v. Franklin, 439 U.S. 379 (1979) .......... 17

County Court of Ulster County v. Allen, 442

I oe PE o's a tlee 26

Fleuti v. Rosenberg, 302 F.2d 652 (9th Cir. 1962) ... 17

Grayned v. City of Rockford, 408 U.S. 104 (1972) .. 17,25

Hammontree v. Phelps, 605 F.2d 1371 (5th Cir. 1979) 26

Indiana v. McCray, Case No. A1586-875 (Municipal

Ct. Marion County, Ind., June 8, 1979).......... 23

International Maven, Inc. v. McCauley, 678 F. Supp.

300 (U.S. Ct. of International Trade 1988)........ 36

Joseph E. Seagram & Sons, Inc. v. Hostetter,

AGA s b tienc hs eens ene enue 19

Knoedler v. Roxbury Township, 485 F. Supp. 990

ee ee ee ee ee 32

Kolender v. Lawson, 461 U.S. 352 (1983) .......... 43

Lanzetta v. New Jersey, 306 U.S. 451 (1939) ....... 17

McKinney v. Kentucky, No. 84-Ca-1172-DG (Ct.

we Fe rr re rer er reer er eee 23

Metropolitan Detroit Area Hospital Services, Inc. v.

United States, 634 F.2d 330 (6th Cir.

MME tree hehe ick saan hk edee hanes eis cos 37,39,

42,43

One Lot Emerald Cut Stones v. United States, 409

a sr ee eee puma ee 38

A56

One 1958 Plymouth Sedan v. Pennsylvania, 380 U.S.

ger ys re ee 17

Papachristou v. City of Jacksonville, 405 US.

SO CR ac clk 06 ke Wes Nt we eee ee eee 17

Record Revolution No. 6, Inc. v. City of Parma,

Ohio, 492 F. Supp. 1157 (N.D. Ohio 1980),

rev'd, 638 F.2d 916 (6th Cir. 1980),

vacated and remanded, 452 U.S. 1013

(1981), on remand decision at 638

F.2d 916, reinstated, vacated and

remanded, 456 U.S. 968 (1982), on

remand, 709 F.2d 534 (6th Cir. 1983).......... passim

Sawyer v. Sandstrom, 615 F.2d 311 (5th Cir.

| Perera nr te re en 27

Sedima, S.P.R.L. v. Imrex Co., 473 U.S. 479 (1985).. 17

Smith v. Goguen, 415 U.S. (1974) ...........2000- 17

United States v. Dunn, 802 F.2d 646 (2d Cir.

RO soc ods 0 ve 6nd ae eeeee ee eee 38,39

United States v. Stephens, 569 F.2d 1372 (5th Cir.

rn Ay mere ree 34

Village of Hoffman Estates v. Flinside, Hoffman

Estates, Inc., 455 U.S. 489 (1982)............... 22

Winters v. New York, 333 U.S. 507 (1948) ......... 17

ere ee.

ee ae rks

cette Galati Gas

el SEANAD PAA at

A57

INTRODUCTION

A. STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF AMICI

CURIAE.

This Brief is presented on behalf of the American

Pipe and Accessory League (““APAL”), a not-for-profit

corporation comprised of over 700 tobacco, pipe and

related accessory producers, importers, exporters,

distributors and retailers, and The National Association

of Tobacco Distributors, Inc. (‘‘NATD”), a not-for-profit

corporation with about 500 members that sell cigarettes,

tobacco and related accessories.

APAL members include United States Tobacco

Corporation, a Fortune 500 company which is a leading

pipe and tobacco accessory manufacturer and importer

and the largest manufacturer of moist smokeless

tobacco; CAO Meerschaum Pipe Company, the nation’s

largest meerschaum pipe importer and distributor;' Lane

Limited, the largest distributor of bulk pipe tobacco in

the United_States and of the Dunhill lines of pipes,

tobacco and accessories;*> numerous Tinder Box

International retail stores, part of the nation’s largest

chain of retail tobacco stores;* and Van Der Want

Pijpenfabrieken, the world’s oldest pipemaker.‘

The NATD has been conducting business for over

fifty years. Of the $13.2 billion in yearly sales by

wholesale distributors of cigarettes, tobacco and related

‘Transcript of hearing in the court below, August 31-September 2

and November 12, 1987, Case No. 3-87-0656, at 246 (hereinafter

ey

* Tr. 473.

* re. 876:

*See Mail Order Drug Paraphernalia Control Act: Hearings on H.R.

1625 Before the House Subcommittee on Crime of the Committee on

the Judiciary, House of Representatives, 99th Cong., 2d Sess. 174

(May 8, 1986) (hereinafter ‘‘Hearings’’).

[1]

[2]

A58

accessories, NATD members’ sales comprise more than

70% of the total, or over $9 billion annually.

The Mail Order Drug Paraphernalia Control Act‘ (the

“Drug Paraphernalia Act’’), at issue in this action, is

aimed at so-called “drug paraphernalia,’ sold in so-called

“head shops.” APAL and NATD members do not

manufacture, sell, import, or export ‘drug

paraphernalia” or any items for drug use; APAL and

NATD members do not operate “head shops.” The

APAL and NATD strongly oppose drug use.

Then why are the APAL and NATD concerned

about the Drug Paraphernalia Act? The Act puts all

APAL and NATD members at risk of criminal

prosecution and property seizure. The law is so vague

that it fails to provide fair notice of the persons covered

and the conduct proscribed. The lack of clear standarus

leaves “‘legitimate’’ businesses and individuals open to

arbitrary, erratic, and discriminatory rrests,,

prosecutions, convictions, and property seizures.

One of the primary problems with the law is that

there are few, if any, items which are designed solely for

use with controlled substances. Water pipes, ceramic

pipes and cigarette holders, those items seized in this

case, are produced, sold, imported and exported by

APAL and NATD members* for use with tobacco, not

drugs. Yet the Drug Paraphernalia Act puts virtually

every ‘“legitimate’’, traditional pipe and _ tobacco

accessory business in serious jeopardy.’

’ Codified at 21 U.S.C. §857, enacted as Subtitle O of Title I of the

Anti-Drug Abuse Act of 1986, P.L. 99-570, 100 Stat. 3207 (1986).

*E.G., United States Tobacco Corporation, which is without question

a well-established manufacturer of legitimate and generally accepted

tobacco products, has imported water pipes similar to those seized.

Tr. 172. Many Tinder Box retail tobacco stores sell water pipes

similar to those seized. Tr. 176. See also Hearings at 135 (Statement

of L. Page Maccubbin, owner of the nationally known Earthworks

tobacconists). .

"E.g., Hearings at 119, 121, 126, 159, 163 —- of L. Page

Maccubbin).

a

For that reason, APAL and NATD are appearing as [3]

amici curiae in support of the Plaintiff/Appellant. Amici

submit that the analysis contained in their brief will

provide a different perspective on the issues herein and

will not be merely repetitive of the issues addressed in

Appellant’s brief.

B. HISTORY OF “DRUG PARAPHERNALIA”

DECISIONS OF THIS CIRCUIT.

This is not the first time courts in this Circuit have

been asked to rule on the constitutionality of so-called

“drug paraphernalia” laws.

In 1980, the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Ohio (Manos, J.) considered a

challenge to ‘drug paraphernalia” ordinances adopted by

the cities of Parma, Lakewood and North Olmsted, Ohio

(the ‘Ohio Ordinances’). The District Court upheld the

constitutionality of the Ohio Ordinances, but only after

carefully limiting their operation. Record Revolution No.

6, Inc. v. City of Parma, Ohio, 492 F. Supp. 1157 (N.D.

Ohio 1980), rev'd, 638 F.2d 916 (6th Cir. 1980), vacated

and remanded, 452 U.S. 1013 (1981), on remand decision

at 638 F. 2d 916 reinstated, vacated and remanded, 458

U.S. 968 (1982), on remand, 709 F. 2d 534 (6th Cir. 1983)

(affirming district court’s original opinion) (the “District

Court Parma Decision”’).

On appeal, this Court reversed the District Court

} Parma Decision and held the Ohio Ordinances

unconstitutional on their face. The Court determined,

: inter alia, that the definition of “drug paraphernalia’ and

the description of the offenses rendered the law void-for-

vagueness. Record Revolution No. 6, Inc. v. City of

Parma, 638 F. 2d 916 (6th Cir. 1980), vacated and

remanded, 458 U.S. 968 (1982), on remand, 709 F.2d 534

(6th Cir. 1983) (the ‘Sixth Circuit Parma Decision’’).

Sa Pha Ae LNT pleas AAR HIE SF reimaim Ave

[4]

A60

Following this Court’s Parma Decision, the United

States Supreme Court decided Village of Hoffman

Estates v. Flipside, Hoffman Estates, Inc., 455 U.S. 489

(1982) (“‘Hoffman Estates’), and vacated and remanded

the Sixth Circuit Parma Decision for ‘further

consideration in light of’’ Hoffman Estates. See Record

Revolution No. 6 v. City of Parma, Ohio, 709 F. 2d 534,

535 (6th Cir. 1983). Hoffman Estates made it impossible

in most cases to challenge a law for facial vagueness,

holding that a facial vagueness challenge may only

succeed “if the enactment is impermissibly vague in all

of its applications.’’ Hoffman Estates, 455 U.S. at 495

(emphasis added).

In light of Hoffman Estates, this Court “‘reluctantly”’

determined that it could no longer sustain a facial

vagueness challenge to the Ohio Ordinances. 709 F. 2d at

536. ‘“‘We reach this conclusion recognizing that we

are faced solely with pre-enforcement facial challenges to

the constitutionality’’ of the Ohio Ordinances. Jd.

“At the same time, this Court affirmed the District

Court Parma Decision. The Court made special note of

the ‘‘carefully-drawn limitations which the district court -

placed upon the operations of these statutes,’”’ id, and

warned that, at the least, ‘‘[t]hese boundaries are not to

be overstepped.” id. (emphasis added). The District Court

Parma Decision presently is the law of this Circuit.

This Court’s concerns over the cdnstitutional

infirmities of the Ohio Ordinances have now been

realized in the Government’s application of the almost

identical Drug Paraphernalia Act. Even the Court’s

admonition that the strict boundaries set forth in the

District. Court Parma Decision ‘are not to be

overstepped” has been ignored and the ‘boundaries’’

have been violated in numerous respects. Accordingly,

the decision of the court below should be reversed and

the Drug Paraphernalia Act should be declared

unconstitutionally vague as applied.

A61

C. COMPARISON OF THE OHIO ORDINANCES [5]

AND THE DRUG PARAPHERNALIA ACT.

A review of the Ohio Ordinances and the Drug

Paraphernalia Act reveals that, in almost all pertinent

) respects, the laws are identical. The following chart

demonstrates the close similarities.

1. Definition of drug paraphernalia.

Ohio Ordinances: All items ‘‘used, intended for

use or designed for use’’ with

controlled substances.*®

ee

Drug Paraphernalia ‘

Act: All items “primarily intended

or designed for use’ with

controlled substances.’

<9 O -ak owe

2. List of items which may be drug paraphernalia.

Ohio Ordinances: Items listed in Section

620.01(dd)(1)(L), including

| ‘‘metal, wooden, acrylic,

{ glass, stone, plastic, or

ceramic pipes;’’ ‘‘water

pipes;’’ ‘“‘roach _ clips;’’

‘‘carburetor pipes;’’

“chillums”’ and “‘bongs.”’’*

Drug Paraphernalia

Act: Items listed. in 21 U.S.C.

§857(d), including “metal,

wooden, acrylic, glass, stone,

: plastic, or ceramic pipes;”

4 ‘“‘water pipes;” “roach clips;”’

‘‘carburetor pipes;’’

“chillums;” and “‘bongs.’’”"

* Codified Ordinance 620.01(dd)(1), quoted in the Sixth Circuit Parma

_ Decision 638 F.2d at 939.

* Section 857(d).

'* Codified Ordinance 620.01(dd)(1)(L), 638 F.2d at 939.

"' Section 857(d).

A62

[6] 3. List of factors to consider in determining whether

an item constitutes drug paraphernalia.

Chio Ordinances:

Drug Paraphernalia

Act:

4. Offense.

Ohio Ordinances:

Factors listed in

620.01(dd)(2), including

“instructions, oral or written,

provided with the object

concerning its use’’; ‘‘national

and local advertising

concerning its use”; and

‘“‘whether the owner, or

anyone in control of the

object, is a_ legitimate

supplier of like or related

items to the community.’’”

Factors listed in 21 U.S.C.

$857(e), including

“instructions, oral or written,

included with the item

concerning its use’’; ‘‘national

and local advertising

concerning its use; and

‘‘whether the owner, or

anyone in control of the item,

is a legitimate supplier of like

or related items to the

community.’’."*

Illegal, inter alia, to use,

deliver, sell or manufacture

drug paraphernalia ‘‘knowing,

or under circumstances where

'? Codified Ordinance 620.01(da)(2), 638 F.2d at 939-40.

'S Section 857(e).

one reasonably should know,”

that the item would be used

with controlled substances."*

Drug Paraphernalia

Act: Illegal, inter alia, to sell, offer

for sale, transport, import or

export drug paraphernalia.'*

The reason both laws are so much alike is that both [7]

are closely based on the Model Drug Paraphernalia Act

drafted by the Drug Enforcement Administration of the

United States Department of Justice.'* Because the laws

are so similar, the Sixth Circuit Parma Decision is

instructive, and the District Court Parma Decision,

affirmed by this Court, is controlling.

sere hatha ine NA i IG hel

D. STATEMENT OF FACTS.

The District Court Parma Decision recognized the

difficulty in defining ‘‘drug paraphernalia’ because

“nearly every item that is used with illegal narcotics also

has a more customary and innocent use.’’’’ This Court

concurred in that finding, recognizing that, ‘“The type of

object that can become, or be used as, drug

paraphernalia is limited only by the imagination of the

; user.”"* So-called “drug paraphernalia” consists of

“everyday items that have a myriad of innocent, lawful

and beneficial uses’’’® and which “lack ... any design

. characteristics that distinguish lawful purposes from

unlawful purposes.’’”*

'* Codified Ordinance 620.04(a) and (b), 638 F.2d at 940.

'* Section 857/(a).

‘ '* Sixth Circuit Parma Decision, 638 F. 2d at 919; Hearings at 15

: (Statement of Congressman Mel Levine).

'’ District Court Parma Decision, 492 F.Supp. at 1166.

‘* Sixth Circuit Parma Decision, 638 F.2d at 30.

'* Td. at 928.

*° Id. at 930.

[8]

A64

The experts for the Department of the Treasury,

Customs Service of the United States (the

“Government’”’) and Contempo Products, Inc.

(‘‘Contempo”’), the claimant herein, agreed that virtually

any lawful item, including belt buckles, lamps, walking

sticks and electrician’s alligator clips, can be used or

adapted for use with controlled substances.** Moreover,

every one of the items listed in Section 857(d) as possible

“drug paraphernalia” can also be used lawfully.” Fc~

example, any type of traditional pipe can be (and

probably has been) used to smoke tobacco or controlled

substances.”*

In the instant action, the Government seized three

types of items: water pipes, ceramic (clay) pipes and

cigarette holders. All three of the seized items are

displayed at the annual trade show of the Retail Tobacco

Dealers Association (“RTDA’),* an association of

‘legitimate’ manufacturers, wholesalers, dealers, and

distributors of tobacco and_ tobacco-related

acccessories—‘‘pure tobacconists.”** Only lawful items

intended for use with tobacco may be displayed at the

RTDA show.”* Moreover, all three of the seized items are

sold in ‘“‘traditional’’ tobacco stores around the country.”

*! E.g., Tr. 154-155, 171, 191, 196, 277, 390.

2 “(T]he listed items [as examples of possible drug paraphernalia]

have many lawful uses’’ and “could serve only as an example of

possible forms of drug paraphernalia.’’ Sixth Circuit Parma Decision,

638 F.2d at 132.

3 F.G., Tr. 154, 171, 191, 196, 277; Hearings at 124 (Statement of L.

Page Maccubbin).

* E.g., Tr. 172, 189, 461-62; Memorandum Opinion of the court below,

March 10, 1988 (‘Memorandum Opinion’’) at 11.

6 Eg, Tr. 172, 465.

* E.g., Tr. 189-90, 465-66.

7 E.g., Tr. 190, 264, 461.

—_

A65

While it is clear that none of the items are

exclusively usable with controlled substances by virtue

of any design characteristics, the trial saw a battle of

experts and witnesses testifying about the primary uses

and intended uses of these items.

1. Seized Items.

(a) Water Pipes.

Witnesses for both Contempo”* and_ the

Government” testified that the seized water pipes were

primarily intended for use with tobacco, not drugs.

As described in a study by the National Cancer

Institute for the federal government, water pipes provide

the safest means to smoke tobacco; the water filters out

many of the tars and nicotine harmful to one’s health.**

Water pipes are also popular collector’s items."

According to the Government’s own witnesses,, the

seized water pipes would not be of interest to marijuana

smokers without substantial adaptation.** The drug user

must break off the existing wooden bowl, drill or cut a

knob off of the bottom of a lamp, thread, the knob from

the lamp to match the threads on the water pipe, and

then solder on a metal bow! in place of the wooden one.**

* Eg, Tr. 175, 177-79.

*E.g., Tr. 85, 153, 248, 252, 262, 281, 470; Hearings at 119

(Staternent of L. Page Maccubin).

% F.g., Tr. 160-61, 174-75, 178-79, 471, 489-90; Defendant’s Exhibit 9:

Hearings at 122 (Statement of L. Page Maccubin); Memorandum

Opinion at 10.

*' E.g., Tr. 134-35, 186, 252, 584; Hearings at 123 (Statement of L.

Page Maccubin); Memorandum Opinion at 10.

* Eg, Tr. 123-24.

[9}

[10]

be A66

(b) Ceramic (Clay) Pipes.

The seized ceramic pipes are primarily intended and

designed for use with tobacco.* The President of the

company which manufactured these pipes, Takefumi

Niki, testified concerning their design for, and intended

use with, tobacco.” =

The small bowl permits only about five minutes of

tobacco smoking and so is ideal for people who want only

a short smoke, such as when trying to cut down or in

between acts of a play.** In addition, the seized pipes are

collector’s items*’ and may be used to smoke various

herbs.*

The Government’s witnesses indicated that pipes

intended for use with marijuana generally are made from

non-porous material,*® and it is clear that the seized pipes

are made from clay and are porous.** The screens are

innocent and prevent a smoker from drawing bits of

charred tobacco into his/her mouth.‘' The holes permit

the smoker to control the draw and to clean the pipe

easily and were necessary to the manufacturing

process.“

** E.g., Tr. 179.

*§ F.g., Tr. 224-43; Memorandum Opinion at 11.

* E.g., Tr. 180-81, 184, 204-205, 208, 492; Hearings at 124 (Statement

of L. Page Maccubin); Memorandum Opinion at 10.

7 E.g., Tr. 186, 274-75.

% Eg. Tr. 267-68.

* E.g., Tr. 113.

“ E.g., Tr. 183, 204, 207-208, 240-41, 243.

“ E.g., Tr. 188, 209, 493.

* E.g., Tr. 210, 225-26, 228, 492.

A67

(c) Cigarette Holders.

The seized cigarette holders are primarily intended

and designed for use with tobacco.“* They are commonly

sold in “traditional” tobacco stores,“ and are very useful

to keep the tobacco smells and stains off the smokers’

fingers.“* Any cigarette, regardless of what is in the

cigarette, can be held in one of these holders.** The

seized cigarette holders are smaller than the old “‘movie-

star’ types, making them more convenient to use.‘

Moreover, they may also be used as_ keychains,

necklaces, tie holders, or worry stones.“* The cigarette

holders are patented under the law of the United

States.“

2. Legitimate Sellers vs. Head Shops.

The Government’s agents conceded that the same

items may be legal if sold in a “‘legitimate’’ store but

illegal if sold in a less “respectable’’ or “traditional”

establishment. For example, Mr. Hopkins, one of the

Government’s witnesses, stated that it would be “highly

possibie” that a water pipe could be used lawfully, and

whether it was “drug paraphernalia’ depended on how it

was sold and/or used.*' Using McDonald’s coffee stirrers

to illustrate, Mr. Hopkins said that the sstirrers

themselves were legal but, when sold in “head shops”

* Eg, Tr. 190, 193.

“ E.g., Tr. 189-90.

‘S E.g., Tr. 494-95.

“Eg. Tr. 211, 214.

E.g., Tr. 345.

“* E.g., Tr. 479-80, 499; Defendant’s Exhibit 1.

* E.g., Tr. 190, 496; Defendant’s Exhibit 30.

Tr. 135.

Tr. Id.

(11)

[12]

[13]

A68

and used to measure drugs, became illegal drug

paraphernalia.” Similarly, Mr. Hopkins testified that,

although they could be used with tobacco, cigarette

rolling papers are “primarily intended for use with

marijuana”.** Yet he would not flatly call it drug

paraphernalia,“ because ‘cigarette rolling papers are

sold in legal tobacco shops.’’** Again, he said whether

cigarette rolling papers are drug paraphernalia depends

on whether they are sold “in legal tobacco stores” or

‘“‘head shops’’.**

In the instant action, the Government did not seize

items based upon any inherent design characteristics. In

fact, with respect to the water pipes, their physical

characteristics could not have played any role in the

Government’s decision that they were ‘drug

paraphernalia”, since the Government decided to seize

them even before seeing them.’ To determine whether

the items were “drug paraphernalia’, the Government

looked at the “‘logically relevant factors” listed in Section

857(e), and in particular, the Government relied most

heavily on the factor in Section 857(e)(5), “‘whether the

owner, or anyone in control of the item, is a legitimate

supplier.”

Before seizing any items, the Government sent

agents to visit Contempo’s office to try to determine its

“legitimacy’’.** Unfortunately, Contempo is just an

82 Id.

Tr. 155.

“Tr. 156.

55 Tq.

Ee. abe.

‘'The decision that all the items, including the water pipes, were

“drug paraphernalia” was made on March 18, 1987, yet the water

pipes did not even arrive in the United States until two days later,

March 20, 1987. Memorandum Opinion at 6; Tr. 36, 37, 83, 295.

** E.g., Tr. 16, 20; Memorandum Opinion at 4-5.

A69

importer and its address is basically just a warehouse,

not particularly helpful in determining the importer’s

“‘legitimacy”’.** However, the agents did state they they

saw a “plastic replica of a marijuana plant’’ near a

secretary's desk, which affected their view of Contempo’s

“legitimacy’’.*° While Contempo vigorously denied that

any secretary had a plastic marijuana plant,*’ and while

the court below initially stated that such testimony

would not affect his decision,“* in fact the court took

specific note of that testimony in his written opinion."

The agents apparently were told by a receptionist at

Contempo that some of Contempo’s items were sold at a

store named Elliston Place Pipe and Tobacco Shop.“

After viewing the Elliston Place Pipe and Tobacco Shop,

they decided that the store appeared to be a “head

shop.,”’ not a “‘legitimate”’ store.**

They made that appraisal despite the fact that the

items soid at the Elliston Place Shop were displayed and

marketed for use with Tobacco, not drugs.** The fact that

the Elliston Place Pipe Tobacco Shop was, in their view,

a ‘‘head shop” was admittedly one of the key factors in

the Government’s determination to seize Contempo’s

items and in the court’s decision to approve the seizure."’

*° E.g., Tr. 20-21.

* E.g., Tr. 22, 312.

*' E.g., Tr. 506-508.

* E.g., Tr. 604-605.

** E.g., Memorandum Opinion at 5, 16.

“ E.g., Tr. 16, 21. Elliston Place Pipe and Tobacco Shop was formerly

named Jean Marie’s. Memorandum Opinion at 5 n.2.

** E.g., Memorandum Opinion at 5-6, 14-15; Tr. 17, 321, 357, 368.

* E.g., Tr. 359, 512-14, 517-19, 521, 523-24; Memorandum Opinion at

11, 14, 17.

* E.g., Tr. 25, 298, 321, 357; Memorandum Opinion at 16, 17-18.

[14]

[15]

A70

The Government agents did nothing to determine

whether Elliston Place was owned by Contempo.” In

fact, Elliston Place is not owned by Contempo” and

Contempo has no control over how Elliston Place

markets its products and to whom that store sells its

goods.”°

Moreover, Contempo sells to 120 distributors

throughout the world, who in turn sell to many more

retailers." Contempo expressly markets to distributors

its products for use with tobacco; it neither markets nor

sells to retailers or consumers.” There is no evidence in

the record that the seized items would have ended up at

Elliston Place as opposed to one of the hundreds of other

stores around the country carrying Contempo’s products.

Contempo’s “intended use’’ for the seized items cannot

be determined by looking at the saies marketing of those

items by any one retailer.

Finally, it should be noted that Cano Ozgener, owner

of the CAO Meerschaum Pipe Company, the nation’s

largest meerschaum pipe importer and distributor,

described Contempo as a legitimate business importing

items for tobacco, not drug, use.”

ARGUMENT

In the instant action, the Government seized certain

items being imported into the United States. The

Government made the seizure under 19 U.S.C. $1595a(c)

** E.g., Tr. 298, 448-49.

* E.g., Tr. 509-10.

” E.g., Tr. 300, 301.

" E.g., Tr. 499-500.

” E.g., Tr. 300, 489-90, 492, 497-99, 501; Defendant’s Exhibits 12 and

13; Memorandum Opinion at 11.

”* E.g., Tr. 473, 480.

A71

(“Section 1595a’’), which applies to “any merchandise

that is introuced or attempted to be introduced into the

United States contrary to law.” The law which the

Government claimed was violated was the Drug

Paraphernalia Act, 21 U.S.C. §857 (‘Section 857’’). The

court below approved the Government’s seizure.

Section 857, as applied herein, fails to pass

constitutional muster in several respects. As is discussed

below, the definition of “drug paraphernalia’’, in part, as

items “primarily ... designed” for use with controlled

substances, is unconstitutionally vague as applied to

items with lawful as well as unlawful uses. The “‘logically

relevant factors’’ which courts are encouraged to use,

and which the court below relied upon, to determine

whether an item is ‘drug paraphernalia’ are

unconstitutionally vague and impermissibly permit guilt

by association. Perhaps most important, the offense

provision of Section 857, making illegal the importation

of ‘‘drug paraphernalia’’ without the essential knowledge

requirement, cannot withstand constitutional challenge.

Despite the fact that Contempo vigorously argued

the unconstitutionality of the law in the court below, the |

court inexplicably refused to consider those

constitutional arguments! Memorandum Opinion at 24-

25. In fact, the Memorandum Opinion of the court below

is remarkably without any reference whatsoever to the

District Court Parma Decision or to the Sixth Circuit

Parma Decision. The court below failed to understand

that it had to consider the constitutionality of the Act

because it could not uphold the Government’s seizure

under an unconstitutional law.

The constitutionality of the Drug Paraphernalia Act [16]

could only be upheld if- the law was applied within

“carefully drawn limitations’’ and strict ‘‘boundaries”’

A72

defined by the District Court Parma Decision. Had the

court below considered Contempo’s_ constitutional

arguments, it would necessarily have determined that

these “‘boundaries’”’ have been overstepped.

The use of Section 1595a(c) to make the seizure was

also impermissible. By failing to require proof ‘‘beyond a

reasonable doubt,’’ Section 1595a(c) as applied to

seizures of so-called ‘‘drug paraphernalia’ is

unconstitutional.

Finally, this Court need not even reach the

constitutional issues presented herein to invalidate the

seizure. Section 1595a(c) cannot be used to seize items

imported in violation of Section 857 in any event,

because Section 857 contains its own seizure and

forfeiture provision which precludes application of

Section 1595a(c) in the instant action.

For any and all of these reasons, the decision of the

district court below should be reversed.

I. THE DEFINITION OF “DRUG

PARAPHERNALIA’ AS ALL ITEMS

“PRIMARILY DESIGNED FOR USE” WITH

CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES Is

UNCONSTITUTIONALLY VAGUE.

Section 857 defines “drug paraphernalia,’’ in part, as

any item of ‘‘any kind which is primarily . . . designed for

use” with controlled substances. As this Court has

previously determined, that phrase is unconstitutionally —

vague.

A73

A. The Standards Defining The Void-For-Vagueness

Doctrine And The Manner Of Their Application

Were Correctly Set Forth By This Court.

This Court has previously set forth the well-

established standards defining the void-for-vagueness

doctrine;

The void-for-vagueness doctrine commands rw d [17]

statute to give persons of common intelligence fair

notice of the persons covered and the conduct

proscribed. Colautti v. Franklin, 439 U.S. 379, 390-

391 ... (1979). Fundamental fairness, as well as a

proper regard for preventing the deterrence of

constitutionally protected conduct, requires that

persons not be compelled to guess at their own peril

the meaning and application of a statute. Grayned v.

City of Rockford, 408 U.S. 104, 108 ... (1972);

Lanzetta v. New Jersey, 306 U.S. 451, 453 ...

(1939). Ascertainable standards of guilt are

imperative in order to protect against arbitrary,

erratic, and discriminatory arrests, prosecutions and

convictions. Papachristou v. City of Jacksonville,

405 U.S. 156, 172 ... (1972}; Winters v. New York,

333 U.S. 507, 515 ... (1948). Unless the statute

itself prescribes sufficiently precise standards, basic

policy decisions are impermissibly delegated to the

personal predilections of the police, prosecutors and

juries. Smith v. Goguen, 415 U.S. at 575 ... (1974);

Grayned v. City of Rockford, 408 U.S. at 108 ....

“Legislators may not so abdicate their

responsibilities for setting the standards of the

criminal law.”’ 415 U.S. at 575...

Sixth Circuit Parma Decision, 638 F.2d at $27. The

United States Supreme Court in Hoffman Estates

confirmed the vitality of those standards governing

vagueness challenges. 455 U.S. at 498 (quoting Grayned

v. City of Rockford, 408 U.S. 104, 108-109 (1972)).

* See also District Court Parma Decision, 492 F. Supp. at 1164-66.

[18]

A74

Section 857 is_a criminal statute carrying stiff

penalties,”"> and Section 1595a(c) is a ‘‘quasi-criminal’’

forfeiture provision” which has a serious “prohibitory

and stigmatizing effect{.]’"’ Accordingly, the void-for-

vagueness standards cited above apply herein and

require ‘‘a relatively strict test.’’”*

B. The Definition Of Drug Paraphernalia As Items

“Primarily Designed For Use’ With Controlled

Substances Is Unconstitutionally Vague As

Applied To Items Not Designed Soiely For Drug

, Use.

1. The phrase ‘designed for use’ refers to an

item's objective, structural characteristics.

The Supreme Court in Hoffman Estates ruled that

the phrase “designed for use’ “refers to structural

characteristics of an item.’ Under this definition, ‘drug

paraphernalia” consists of those items ‘‘per se fashioned

for use with drugs,’"*® and “‘necessarily designed for use

with cannabis or illegal drugs’®' by virtue of their

physical characteristics.

"> Penalties are imprisonment for no more than three years and a fine

of no more than $100,000, Section 857(b), coupled with forfeiture of

property, Section 857(c).

* E.g., One 1958 Plymouth Sedan v. Pennsylvania, 380 U.S. 693, 700

(1965) (‘‘a forfeiture proceeding is quasi-criminal in character’’); Fleuti

v. Rosenberg, 302 F.2d 652, 655 (9th Cir. 1962). See also Sedima,

S.P.R.L. v. Imrex Co., 473 U.S. 479, 492-93 (1985) (stating that a

quasi-criminal law requires constitutional “‘protection normally

applicable only to criminal proceedings’’).

” Hoffman Estates, 455 U.S. at 499 n. 16.

78 Td.

** 455 U.S. at 501.

*Jd. at 501 n.19 (quoting with approval the Brief for Appellee

therein).

"Td. at 501 n.18.

A75

This Court, in the Sixth Circuit Parma Decision,

similarly determined that the phrase “designed for use”’

refers to objective characteristics of an item, discussing

the definition in terms of ‘unique design

characteristics.’

2. The Supreme -Court upheld the facial

constitutionality of the phrase ‘designed for

use’’ because it theoretically could be applied to

items solely usable with drugs.

The Supreme Court in Hoffman Estates recognized

that the “designed for use” language ‘‘contains[s]

ambiguities,’’ 455 U.S. at 502, 504,"* and conceded that

“specific future applications ... may engender concrete

problems of constitutional dimension.’ However, the

Supreme Court nonetheless upheld that definition

against a facial vagueness attack because the iaw

theoretically could be applied to items with only illegal

uses. ;

In fact, the licensing guidelines incorporated into the

Hoffman Estates regulation included a list of items

considered to be ‘“‘per se’ drug paraphernalia. ‘The

guidelines refer to ‘paper of colorful design’ and to other

specific items as conclusively ‘designed’ or not ‘designed’

for illegal use.’’** Since the Hoffman Estates regulation

applied, at leasi, to certain specifically designated, easily

identifiable items, ‘‘no issue of fair warning’’ existed."*

* 638 F.2d at 930-31.

“The Supreme Court found it “significant” that the Village of

Hoffman Estates “primarily relied on the ‘marketing’ aspect of the

standard, which does not require the more ambiguous item-by-itam

analysis of whether paraphernalia are ‘designed for’ illegal drug use.”

Id. at 504.

“Id. at 504 (quoting Joseph E. Seagram & Sons, Inc. v. Hostetter,

384 U.S. 35, 52 (1966)).

** Id. at 500-501. bape

** 7d. at 501.

[19]

[20]

A76

Given this definition of the phrase ‘designed for

use,” it is easy to understand why the Supreme Court

held it constitutional on its face. Certainly a law may

flatly prohibit clearly designated, easily identifiable

items, such as cocaine, having only illegal uses. Such a

law would allow a “person of ordinary intelligence a

reasonable opportunity to know what is prohibited.”

Sixth Circuit Parma Decision, 492 F. Supp. at 1164. By

defining ‘‘drug paraphernalia’’ as items with

characteristics making them solely usable with drugs,

the definition is not unconstitutionally vague in every

possible application. However, the fatal vagueness in the

definition appears, as in the instant action, when the law

is applied to items which may be used lawfully.

3. The phrase ‘designed for use’ is

unconstitutionally vague when applied to the

seized items herein.

In the instant action, the Government has attempted

to apply the Drug Paraphernalia Act to items which are

not per se “drug paraphernalia’ but instead have both

lawful and unlawful uses. In fact, the language of the

Drug Paraphernalia Act by its own terms encompasses

items not exclusively designed for use with drugs.*’ As

this Court previously held, the “designed for use’

language, when applied to items with lawful and

unlawful uses, is unconstitutionally vague.

a. The “designed for use’’ language cannot

constitutionally be applied to items having

lawful uses.

In the Sixth Circuit Parma Decision, this Court

pinpointed the vagueness problem inherent in the

“designed for use” language:

*’ Section 857(d) defines drug paraphernalia as all items ‘‘primarily

intended or designed”’ for use with controlled substances.

A77

The major ambiguity in defining drug

paraphernalia in terms of the “design’’ of items is

the lack of any design characteristics that

lawful purposes from unlawful purposes.

ae + ee ob

is limited only by the

rae Bo of the user.

638 F.2d at 930. As soon as the “designed for use’

language is applied to items with at least some lawful

uses, the unconstitutional vagueness of the law becomes

inescapable:

[T]he ordinances would apply to items which are not

solely designed to be drug paraphernalia. Vagueness

enters in our case once the ordinances begin to

define drug paraphernalia in terms of the primary

adaption or dominant purpose of the design. Then

the definition begins to depend upon the ingenuity

or purpose of the purchaser rather than the seller

and upon the current practices of the clandestine

society of drug users.

Id. at 930.

As a result, the Drug Paraphernalia Act presents

traditional ‘“‘legitimate’’ importers, manufacturers and

sellers of pipes and tobacco accessories with the

intolerable risk of criminal prosecution and seizure of

their inventory without any criminal intent or knowledge

of the end use of items. James Knapp, United States

Deputy Assistant Attorney General, a witness for the

Government in the Congressional hearings on the Drug

Paraphernalia Act, and Timothy Hardin a witness for the _

Government in the hearing before the court below,

testified to the vagueness of the law as it applies to

items with at least some legitimate uses. Mr. Knapp

stated:

(21)

[22]

A78

[The Drug Paraphernalia Act] is too broad in scope.

It attempts to cover paraphernalia items like

spoons, straws and roach clips, as well as any other

_ items primarily intended or designed for use in

connection with drugs.

Similarly, Timothy Hardin testified that the Drug

Paraphernalia Act is ‘too vague’ because it

encompasses virtually any pipe sold in traditional

tobacco stores.*®

This Court posed the right question when it asked:

If the manufacturer intended that a chamber pipe be

used for ingesting hashish, and the purchaser so

uses the chamber pipe, do the ordinances permit the

seller, who lacks such intent, and did not use the

chamber pipe himself to ingest hashish, to be

arrested, prosecuted or convicted on the basis of the

manufacturer’s intent and the purchaser’s use?

Sixth Circuit Parma Decision, 638 F.2d at 928. The

Court also provided the right answer, concluding that

“(t]he phrase ‘designed for use’ is vague and overbroad.”’

Id. at 930. i

b. The items seized in the instant action have at

least some lawful uses and are not per se

designed for illegal use.

Unlike the ordinance in Hoffman Estates, the Drug

Paraphernalia Act does not list items which are

“necessarily” and ‘“‘conclusively”’ drug paraphernalia per

** Hearings at 54 (Testimony of Hon. Charles B. Rangel). Similarly,

Jack E. Swagerty, Assistant Chief Inspector for the U.S. Postal

Service, expressed his concern about the breadth and vagueness of

the definition of drug paraphernalia. Jd. at 61.

eer ere ee ee

ee eee —

A79

se.*° The record herein is replete with evidence that the

items seized by the Government have at least some

unlawful uses."

These items are not ... like cocaine. They are not

like heroin, something you can just put your finger

on, per se, and say it’s ... mala in se ... something

evil, wicked, in and of themselves. They are items

conceivably could have a legitimate use.

Memorandum Opinion at 596.”

Consider, for example, the seized water pipes.

Because water pipes filter the harmful tars and nicotine

from tobacco, they are becoming popular with tobacco

smokers concerned about the health risks of smoking. In

fact, the Government conceded that the seized water

pipes were not designed ‘only for marijuana.” Tr. 617.

The Government witnesses even admitted that, because

the seized water pipes had wooden bowls, they would not

be of interest to drug users without substantial

adaptation by them.** In other words, water pipes

become ‘‘drug paraphernalia’ because of the “ingenuity

or purpose of the purchaser rather than the seller and

upon the current practices of the clandestine society of

drug users’’—the very problem pointed out by this Court

in the Sixth Circuit Parma Decision.”

*° See Hearings at 15. Section 857(d), which contains a list of items

which may be “drug paraphernalia’, is virtually identical to

subsection (L) of the Ohio Ordinances. This Court determined that the

listed items ‘‘have many lawful uses’’ and “could serve only as an

example of possible forms of drug paraphernalia.”” Sixth Circuit

Parma Decision, 638 F.2d at 932. ‘‘Interpreting the listed items as

drug paraphernalia per se would clearly make the ordinances vague

and overbroad.” Jd.

*' See Statement of Facts, supra.

*? While the court below found that the ‘‘primary”’ use for the seized

items was with controlled substances, the court did not conclude that

these items are solely usable with drugs. E.g., Memorandum Opizion

at 11, 17-18.

** E.g., Tr. 123, 153-54; see Memorandum Opinion at 14.

** Sixth Circuit Parma Decision, 638 F. 2d at 930.

[23]

[24]

A80

If the importer, manufacturer or seller of the seized

water pipes can be held liable under the Drug

Paraphernalia Act, then Brooks Brothers could be liable

for selling belts because belts can be and have been

adapted for use with controlled substances,** and any

seller of lawful shotguns could be arrested, since it is a

simple matter to change a lawful shotgun into an illegal

sawed-off shotgun.”

Since the “designed for use’ language is being

applied to items which are not solely designed for use

with controlled substances, the law must be declared

unconstitutional.*’ Otherwise, a “legitimate” importer or

manufacturer could be arrested, prosecuted, and

convicted and could have its inventory seized simply for

failing to guess the intended use of these items by a

purchaser or the marketing strategy of a retailer.

© Eg., Tr. 154-55.

** In declaring unconstitutional the definition of ‘‘drug paraphernalia’’

as items ‘designed’ for use with drugs, the court in Indiana v.

McCray, Case No. A1586-875 (Municipal Ct. Marion County, Ind.,

June 8, 1987) (copy attached hereto) stated:

IC 35-47-5-4 prohibits dealing in sawed off shotguns. It is well

known in law enforcement circles that single shot shotguns of

certain gauges are favorite subjects to be transformed into these

forbidden weapons. if the logic of the State in the instant case,

... were to be followed, then the dealers of these particular size

and type of shotguns would be held liable for the future illegal

acts of third parties.

*? See also McKinney v. Kentucky, No. 84-Ca-1172-DG (Ct. App. Dec.

15, 1985) (copy attached hereto). In fact, Congress never intended

that the Drug Paraphernalia Act would apply to items with both

lawful and unlawful uses. For example, Congressman Mel Levine, who

introduced the Act, stated: ‘‘We simply can’t include dual use items

or instruments which happen to be convertible into drug

paraphernalia.’’ Hearings at 17.

i sacnr rm site Ho

ree Fy

ey See

A81

Il. THE LIST OF “LOGICALLY RELEVANT

FACTORS” IS UNCONSTITUTIONAL.

Because the law does not outlaw only items which

are per se “drug paraphernalia” based on their design

characteristics, Congress included a list * of “logically

relevant factors’* which law enforcement officers,

judges and juries ‘“‘may use to determine whether an

object is ‘drug paraphernalia.” Rather than enhancing

the clarity of the law, however, the factors themselves

are unconstitutional.

,

A. The ‘Legitimate Supplier’’ Factor Is

Unconstitutionally Vague.

The factor listed in Section 857(e)(5) is

unconstitutionally vague. Section 857(e)(5) provides:

In determining whether an item constitutes drug

paraphernalia, in addition to all other logically

relevant factors, the following may be considered:

(5) whether the owner, or anyone in control of the

item, is a legitimate supplier of like or related

items to the community, such as a licensed

distributor or dealer of tobacco products. ...

(Emphasis added.) Under the law of this Circuit, that

provision is unconstitutionally vague. The District Court

Parma Decision correctly explained:

[T]he reference to “‘legitimate’’ suppliers creates a

danger of arbitrary and discriminatory enforcement.

See Grayned v. City of Rockford, supra. Because the

provisions of this Ordinance apply to all who use,

** Section 857(e). The list in Section 857(e) is largely the same as the

list in the Ohio Ordinances. See District Court Parma Decision, 492

F. Supp. at 1170-71.

** Sixth Circuit Parma Decision, 638 F.2d at 933.

'* District Court Parma Decision, 492 F. Supp. at 1171.

[25]

[26]

A82

distribute or advertise even an innocent item with

the requisite intent, the term “legitimate’’ supplier

is imprecise ad misleading.

492 F.Supp. at 1171. This Court agreed with the

determination that the “legitimate supplier’ factor “‘is

both vague and overbroad’ and affirmed that ruling,'®

making it the unequivocal law of this Circuit.

While the District Court Parma Decision excised the

“legitimate supplier” factor, the district court below did

just the opposite, relying heavily on it. The Government

specifically offered its witnesses to provide evidence

about the “legitimate supplier’ factor.'** Repeatedly, the

Court cited to government testimony that the seized

goods were sold in an illegitimate “head shop,” not a

“legitimate store,”’ to justify the decision that the seized

items were ‘‘drug paraphernalia.’’'*

The use by the district court below of the ‘‘legitimate

supplier’ factor illustrates the serious threat posed to

‘legitimate’ manufacturers and sellers of pipes and

tobacco accessories identical to those seized. Police,

prosecutors, judges and juries are encouraged

subjectively to decide whether a supplier is “legitimate,”

without any explicit standards to guide them. Law-

abiding business people, including APAL and NATD

members, can be dragged into court and their inventories

can be seized arbitrarily and discriminatorily.

Since the district court below relied upon a provision

which has specifically been declared unconstitutional in

this Circuit, the decision of the district court below must

be reversed.

1! Sixth Circuit Parma Decision, 638 F.2d at 933 n.24.

2 709 F.2d at 536.

103 F.g., Tr. 105.

1 P.g., Tr. 602-603; Memorandum Opinion at 5-6, 14, 15, 16.

A83

B. The Remaining “Logically Relevant Factors”

Unconstitutionally Permit Criminal Conviction

And Seizure Of Property Based Upon Guilt

By Association.

Far from clarifying the meaning of ‘drug

paraphernalia,”’ several of the other “‘logically relevant

factors” also create addi

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — 57,261 Items of Drug Paraphernalia et al., Contempo Products, Inc., by and through its president, Richard K. Rowland v. United States of America · 493 U.S. 933 | Frix