Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Sosebee v. Georgia

Supreme Court brief1989

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, US.

FILED

JUL 31 1989

JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR.

a —GLERK

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1989

¥

GEARY ALAN SOSEBEE,

Petitioner,

V.

STATE OF GEORGIA,

Respondent.

~

~~

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE GEORGIA COURT OF APPEALS

~

—

Bossy Lee Cook

P.O. Box 370

Summerville, Georgia 30747

(404) 857-342}

JAKE ARBES

(Counsel of Record)

233 Mitchell Street

Suite 500

Atlanta, Georgia 30303

(404) 522-1980

Attomeys for Petitioner

July 28, 1989

Lex Publishing Company, 2161 Monroe Dr., Atlanta, Georgia 30324 (404) 875-5140

Mal)

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Georgia Child Hearsay Statute, as enacted by

the state legislature, and as judicially amended by the Supreme Court

of Georgia, is unconstitutional in that it violates a defendant's right

to a full and fair opportunity for effective cross examination, con-

frontation and due process?

2. Whether the Georgia Supreme Court violated the “Separa-

tion of Powers” doctrine by judicially amending the Georgia Child

Hearsay Statute on interlocutory appeal?

3. Whether, assuming arguendo that the Georgia Child Hear-

say Statute is constitutional, its implementation in this case violated

petitioner’s constitutional rights because: (a) the petitioner was not

given a fair opportunity to prepare to meet the child’s alleged state-

ments introduced through the testimony of third parties since the trial

judge refused to give the petitioner access to either the child declar-

ant, her statements or her doctors prior to trial; (b) the petitioner was

not allowed through an independent psychiatric and psychological

exam to contest the child’s competence at the time she allegedly made

the statements introduced through the statute; and (c) the petitioner

was not allowed a fair opportunity to contest the reliability of the

child’s statements?

ii

LIST OF THE PARTIES

Apart from the party named in the caption of this petition, the

other parties involved in the case were Donald Evans, whose ir.dict-

ment was dismissed, Holly Sosebee, who was the child declarant,

and Leslie Sosebee, Mr. Sosebee’s ex-wife.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ..........sccsssessscsssssscssssssesssssssecccsssssecesnsn

OT .....-sscsszssescanveesosensvussconvvencartunds i

is. scsccsnononnusabnnsasnsaniansisibin l

ass canscvesecarcessccnntens 2

STATUTORY AND CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS .......... 2

Sse oe. a ee 4

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ........-ssssssecssssseeesssseees 11

I. The Georgia Child Hearsay Statute, Both As Ongi-

nally Enacted by the State Legislature, And As

Judicially Amended by the Supreme Court of

Georgia On Interlocutory Appeal,

Tene ais sssunacasnonancscccssees 11

II. The Georgia Supreme Court Violated The “Sepa-

ration of Powers” Doctrine by Judicially Amend-

ing The Georgia Child Hearsay Statute on Inter-

Nee ee Guinness nsassdxcnsasisncescnerecesscrers 15

III. The Georgia Child Hearsay Statute as Implemented

in This Case Violated Petitioner’s Constitutional

Righis to Effective Cross Examination and Due

TIA nh hanhAaninasbbnanstwinescsonensvasaceosenseseues 17

IV. The Georgia Child Hearsay Statute is in Con-

flict With Child Hearsay Statutes in the Substan-

tial Majority of States Which Have Enacted Such

Statutes in that the Georgia Statute Lacks Pre-

Trial Notice Requirements that Would Accom-

modate a Defendant’s Right to Prepare

a acca dcsunnatasnuasnanchucesasssecanconasenen 24

iv

V. The Establishment of Evidentiary Procedures for

Protecting Parents in Child Custody Disputes From

False Allegations of Child Sexual Abuse is a Matter

of Great Concern And Importance to the Public

CNT icicsticees aincienitcnlinatetianiniiiinnatiateerinasevensaseces

APPENDIX A.

Opinion of the Georgia Court of Appeals ..........

APPENDIX B.

Order of the Georgia Court of Appeals Modifying

Its Original Opinion But Denying a Rehearing

APPENDIX C.

Order of the Georgia Supreme Court Deny-

ing Application for a Writ of Certiorani ..............

APPENDIX D.

Order of the Georgia Supreme Court Deny-

ing Motion for Rehearing ..................:.cceeceeees

APPENDIX E.

Notice to the Georgia Court of Appeals of

Intention to Seek a Wnit of Certiorani .................

APPENDIX F.

Order of the United States Supreme Court Grant-

ing Extention of Time in Which to File

I id icckrvawecncacecscsecee

APPENDIX G.

Opinion of the Georgia supreme Court in

Sosebee | on interlocutory appeal .......................

“APPENDIX H.

Other States’ Child Hearsay Statutes...................

sseichdinaaies lla

Sebpiaibinks 13a

iatiatieiiia 15a

Pa NEES 17a

ot 21a

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES PAGES

Allen v. State,

150 Ga. App. 605, 258 S.E.2d 285 (1979) 0.0... cece 22

Barnes v. Carter,

RE ED EE, DED CB WUN OD wecccxtnsncesanscensccdinscsnesabncse 16

California v. Green,

I casepantienteieinane 14, 19

Cartee v. State,

85 Ga. App. 532, 69 S.E.2d 827 (1952) ........ ee ceseeeeeees 18

Coy v. lowa,

a BE a ak, PSE CRIED cccsnncccccesscncccsecsessacene 12

Delaware v. Fensterer,

nea lintinsdinasnilindipnnn 13, 19

Dover v. State,

250 Ga. 209, 196 S.E.2d 710

cert. denied, 459 U.S. 1221 (1982) .............. ccc eeesseeeeeees 18

Dutton v. Evans,

I a ss caacinteianesaniabiomabel aa

Estelle v. Williams,

EE me OO TN ll

Kemp v. Mitcheli Co. Demo. Ex. Com.,

216 Ga. 276, 116 S.E.2d 321 (1960) ............0.... HEART ae 16

Kentucky v. Stincer,

TERT aT TE ER RENN 20

Mattox v. United States,

ET ES Ee RCE Meee TNT 13

Miller v. State,

122 Ga. App. 553, 177 S.E.2d 838 (1970) .........:.eeeee 15

Nelson v. O’ Neil,

Ee i ee Ie EB icnesenenonednennn cinensiitenernsshnnennunacenmenssionn 19

vi

Ohio v. Roberts,

III Listas icchidiccnhsrnnsiinsiinstisebsnncedtecnedes 12,14,19

Pennsylvania v. Ritchie,

thai npn saab bahiansiinnsciadssenesinins 20

Perez v. State,

I ID oi ic Ladicnntnnadiinansoasnsabohibaveneatouwens 13

Rutledge v. State,

245 Ga. 768, 267 S.E.2d 199 (1980) ..........cccccccccscccsccesees 18

Snelling v. State,

176 Ga. App. 192, 335 S.E.2d 475 (1985) ..........ceees 16

Sosebee v. State,

257 Ga. 298, 357 S.E.2d 562 (1987) ................ 2, 11, 15, 19

State v. Butler,

256 Ga. 448, 349 S.E.2d 684 (1986)... ceeceeeeeee 26

State v. Ryan, ~!

103 Wash. 2d 165, 691 P.2d 197 (1984) 200... 14

State v. Wright,

Fare aes Hee GO CORD, WONT BDBE) nnn csseccnccccccsscccccccccccssccccsnes 14

Sullivan v. State,

162 Ga. App. 297, 291 S.E.2d 127 (1982) .......................22

U.S. Life Credit Corporation v. Johnson et al.,

161 Ga. App. 864, 290 S.E. 2d 280 (1982) «0.0... 16

Ward v. State,

186 Ga. App. 503, 368 S.E. 2d 139 (1988) ........... 21

Westbrook v. State,

186 Ga. App. 493, 368 S.E.2d 131 (1988) «00... 21, 22

Wilson v. State,

93 Ga. App. 229, 91 S.E.2d 201 (1956)... cee cess 18

vii

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

United States Constitution, Fifth Amendment...........................665 3

United States Constitution, Sixth Amendment ...........................06. 3

United States Constitution,

Fourteenth Amendment, Section 1 ...............0..cccccseeseeeeeeeees 3

Georgia Constitution,

AsmGEs 1, Dection 2, Parnagragit 5. .................c.cccccccssccsecscsees 2

2B Ueda Stats COGS SOCUON 1257 .......sccccsccsscccscccscscccsssscssssscesssens 2

Florida Statute Annotated

a ssanensinsuiatinnebaretins 13,15

Official Code of Georgia Annotated

ai scanaanuinadcnnneneanasevinnnndanrabiansiansh 15

Official Code of Georgia Annotated

BT iriicliaiticatiicetenencernnnansovensatnansrviamneiannns passim

Official Code of Georgia Annotated

acco hak cndandecternscansenkntsienichentauiasanenien 21

South Carolina Code Annotated

Dida hs steetchindtahdnnsbnsamnasncnenhisshsabestige tins 26

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Green, A. H., True And False Allegations

Of Sexual Abuse In Child Custody

Disputes, J. Amer. Acad. Child

Psychiat., 25, 4:449-456 (1986) .0........cccccccseeeeeeeeeees 27

Hopkins, E., Fathers on Trial: Trumped Up Charges

of Child Abuse are Divorce’s Ugly New Weapon,

New York (magazine), 21: 42, 44 (January 11, 1988)......28

Kaplan, S. L. & Kaplan, S. J.,

The Child's Accusation of Sexual

Abuse During a Divorce and Custody

Struggle, The Hillside Joumal of

Clinical Psychiatry, 3(1), 81-95 (1981)... 27

viii

Schuman, D. C., Psychodynamics of

Exaggerated Accusations: Positive

Feedback in Family Systems, Psychiatry

Annals., 242-247 (April 4, 1987) .........ccccccceseeseeeeeeeeeeeenees 28

No.

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1989

,

-

GEARY ALAN SOSEBEE,

Petitioner,

v.

STATE OF GEORGIA,

Respondent.

>

~

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE GEORGIA COURT OF APPEALS

”™

> a

Petitioner Geary Alan Sosebee respectfully prays that a writ of

certiorari issue to review the judgment of the Georgia Court of Ap-

peals entered on February 2, 1989.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Georgia Court of Appeals affirming peti-

tioner’s conviction appears in the Appendix at page 1a. The order of

the Georgia Court of Appeals modifying its original opinion but denying

a Rehearing appears in the Appendix at page 7a. The order of the

2

Georgia Supreme Court denying application for a writ of certiorari

appears in the Appendix at page 9a. The order of the Georgia Su-

preme Court denying motion for rehearing appears in the Appendix

at page 1la. The opinion of the Georgia Supreme Court modifying

and upholding on interlocutory appeal the Georgia Child Hearsay

Statute, reported as Sosebee v. State, 257 Ga. 298, 357 SE2d 562

(1987), is reprinted in the Appendix beginning at page 17a.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Georgia Court of Appeals was entered on

February 2, 1989. A timely petition for rehearing was denied March

14, 1989. The Georgia Supreme Court denied certiorari on April 19,

1989. A timely petition for rehearing was denied on May 3, 1989.

This petition for a writ of certiorari was filed within ninety days of

that date which includes a thirty day extension granted by this Court

on June 19, 1989. This Court’s jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

Section 1257 (a).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

The Child Hearsay Statute, Official Code of Georgia Anno-

tated Section 24-3-16:

A Statement made by a child under the age of 14

years describing any act of sexual contact o: physical

abuse performed with or on the child by another is admissible

in evidence by the testimony of the person or persons to

whom made if the child is available to testify in the

proceedings and the court finds that the circumstances

of the statement provide sufficient indicia of reliability.

Article 1, Section 2, Paragraph 3 of the Georgia Constitution:

The legislative, judicial, and executive powers shall

forever remain separate and distinct; and no person dis-

charging the duties of one shall at the same time excr-

cise the functions of either of the others except as herein

provided.

3

Fifth Amendment to the United States Constitution:

No person shall be held to answer for a capital, or.

otherwise infamous crime, unless on a presentment or

indictment of a Grand Jury, except in cases arising in

the land or naval forces, or in the Militia, when in actual

service in time of War or public danger; nor shall any

person be subject for the same offence to be twice put in

jeopardy of life or limb; nor shall be compelled in any

Criminal case to be a witness against himself, nor be

deprived of life, liberty, or property, without due proc-

ess of law; nor shall private property be taken for public

use, without just compensation.

Sixth Amendment to the United States Constitution:

In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall en-

joy the right to a speedy and public trial, by an impartial

jury of the State and district wherein the crime shall have

been committed, which district shall have been previ-

ously ascertained by law, and to be informed of the na-

ture and cause of the accusation; to be confronted with

the witnesses against him; to have compulsory process

for obtaining witnesses in his favor, and to have the assistance

of counsel for his defense.

Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution, Sec-

tion 1:

All persons bom or naturalized in the United States,

and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of the

United States and of the State where-in they reside. No

State shall make or enforce any law which shall abridge

the privileges or immunities of citizens of the Untied

States; nor shall any State deprive any person of life,

liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor deny

tO ay person within its jurisdiction the equal protection

of the laws.

4

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On September 9, 1986, Geary Sosebee was indicted in Fayette

County for various counts of child sexual abuse. (R-18, 19-23)' The

charges of abuse stemmed from events that occurred while Mr. Sose-

bee was involved in a divorce proceeding and an extremely bitter

custody battle for his two daughters.

Fayette County Superior Court Judge Andrew Whalen held a

two day custody hearing on April 11 and 12, 1986. At the close of the

hearing, Judge Whalen indicated that Mr. Sosebee was going to get

custody of both children. However, before awarding custody, Judge

Whalen ordered Mr. Sosebee and his wife to have psychological

evaluations. (T. Vol. VII at 1223-1225) Judge Whalen placed the children

with the Fayette County Department of Family and Children Serv-

ices pending the psychological determinations.

On Monday, April 15, 1986, the Department of Family and Children

Services (DFACS) received a telephone call from a person later iden-

tified as the children’s maternal grandmother, Mrs. Birch. The caller

stated that Holly had made statements to her indicating Mr. Soscbee

had sexually abused Holly. The caller stated that she had made Mr.

Sosebee’s wife aware of Holly’s complaints. Holly was then inter-

viewed by a DFACS caseworker who informed the Fayette County

Sheriff’s office that Holly had been abused. Holly was subsequently

examined by a therapist, a pediatrician, a midwife, a gynecologist, a

caseworker and a juvenile court investigator.

After Mr. Sosebee was indicted, defense counsel timely filed

various pre-trial motions requesting that counsel be allowed to inter-

view Holly and that her entire DFACS file and medical records be

made available to the defense. (R-58, 77, 42) A competency hearing

was also requested. (R-24)

Defense counsel then filed a Motion in Limine requesting that

all of Holly’s out-of-court statements be excluded because O.C.G.A.

Section 24-3-16 (the child hearsay exception) was unconstitutional.

' Citations to “R” refer to the Record of proceedings in the state court. Citations to

“T” refer to the transcript of proceedings in the state court. Citations to “a” refer to

the Appendix to this petition.

5

At the hearing oni the motion, the prosecutor indicated that he in-

tended to rely on the child hearsay exception, and that he could do so

without calling the child as a witness. (Transcript of hearing held 10/

16/86 at p. 10).? The trial judge, the Honorable Ben J. Miller, denied

the Motion in Limine, but granted a Certificate of Immediate Re-

view. (R-89, 90-95)

Defense counsel immediately filed an Application for Discre-

tionary Review which the Georgia Supreme Court granted. (R-96)

After a Notice of Appeal was filed (R-98), the trial judge stayed the

trial until the conistitutionality of O.C.G.A. Section 24-3-16 could be

determined by the Georgia Supreme Court. (R-108)

Instead of taking the bull by the homs and deciding the consti-

tutionality of the statute, the Georgia Supreme Count, with Chief Justice

Marshall dissenting, sidestepped the issue, deciding only that the defense

was not required to bear the “‘onus” of calling the child victim to the

stand. The Supreme Court judicially modified the statute by setting

forth a procedure whereby the ial court, rather than the defense,

would call the child-victim as a witness if either party requested the

court to do so. The Court in its opinion stated: “Our construction of

Section 24-3-16 moots the appellant’s constitutional arguments.” Sosebee

v. State, 257 Ga. 298, 357 S.E.2d 562 (1987). (Appendix G)

Following the Georgia Supreme Court’s decision in June the

Case was set down for trial September 21, 1987. Immediately prior to

trial a motions hearing was held ai which defense counsel reiterated

many of his previously filed motions. Defense counsel again objected

that he had been deprived of any meaningful access to Holly and that

he had not been permitted access “‘to the full medical records, the full

DFACS file.” (T.Vol.I at 15). Defense counsel had sought such ac-

cess for almost a year but had been rebuffed by the guardian ad litem

who had been appointed by the judge. This appointment had been

unsuccessfully challenged ‘through separate legal proceedings. (R-

? This transcript and the transcript of the hearing held 11/12/86 were part of the

record in the interlocutory appeal of this case, Sosebee v. State, 257 Ga. 298, 357

S.E.2d 562 (1987). They were added as a supplement to the Record in the Court of

Appeals on direct appeal.

6

111, 112-184, 201-214, Transcript of Hearing on 3/24/87) Counsel

moved in limine to prevent admission of Holly’s testimony since he

was not provided access to Holly or the records but the motion was

denied. (T.Vol.I at 17)

Defense counsel also sought to exclude any “medical reports,

scientific reports or the results of tests or examinations” that were

not provided earlier pursuant to petitioner’s discovery request. (T. Vol.I

at 33). The trial judge appeared ready to grant that motion but backed

off when the state objected to the motion with regard to “results of

examinations” unless they were exculpatory (T. Vol.I at 34)

Defense counsel then attacked the adequacy of Holly’s earlier

competency hearing and again requested that Holly be examined by

a defense psychiatrist and/or psychologist and that the defense be

allowed access to the complete DFACS file and medical records (T. Voi.I

at 36-38). These motions were denied. (T. Vol.I at 39)

At the close of the hearing the prosecutor stated that in compli-

ance with his responsibilities under Brady he wished io inform the

defense that the previous week he had talked to Holly and that she

was recanting what she had previously said and what she was now

saying was that “‘it was alt a lie, that she made it (allegations of sex-

ual misconduct) up and that she dreamed part of it, and this is allega-

tions that she’s made against her father or anybody else.” (T. Vol.I at

42) Defense counsel then again requested an independent examina-

tion of Holly which was again denied. (T. Vol.I at 43-44)

The evidence showed that on March 6, 1986, Holly had a rou-

tine medical exam which failed to indicate any vaginal injury. (T. Vol. V

at 834)

Approximately March 20, the divorce action was filed. (T. Vol. VIII

at 1452)

Between April 7 and Apnil 12 petitioner’s wife, Leslie, had access

to Holly and Holly’s younger sister.

On April 12 Judge Whalen indicated he was leaning toward

granting custody of the children to petitioner and placed the children

under the care of DFACS pending his custody order in the divorce

proceedings. Angela Stinchcomb was assigned as the children’s case-

worker. (T. Vol. VIII at 1466-1467)

7

On April 14, Mrs. Birch, Holly’s maternal grandmother, called

Ms. Stinchcomb and claimed Holly said a man with a mask got in

bed with her (Holly) and made her bottom hurt. (T. Vol. VI at 1029-

1030) Ms. Birch told Ms. Stinchcomb she suspected her son-in-law

of sexually abusing Holly.

On April 17, Holly was examined by a doctor who detected a

vaginal injury. (T. Vol. V at 832) The doctor’s testimony indicated Holly’s

injury appeared to have occurred within the past 7-10 days, but the

evidence showed that the petitioner had not had recent access to Holly.

(T. Vol. V at 752)

Between April 17th and mid-May petitioner had four or five

visits with Holly lasting an hour or less in Ms. Stinchcomb’s pres-

ence. Soon thereafter his visitation rights were terminated by Ms.

Stinchcomb and he was not allowed to visit with Holly again. Dur-

ing the fifteen month period between the termination of petitioner’s

visitation rights and the trial, Holly’s mother and matemal grandpar-

ents had regular access to Holly. (T. Vol. V at 741-742, 751-753)

Ms. Stinchcomb was the first to interview Holly about the al-

leged sexual abuse initially reported by Holly’s grandmother. (T. Vol.1X

at 1695) Ms. Stinchcomb testified this first interview lasted “a con-

siderable amount of time . . . several hours” (Transcript of Hearing

Held on 11/12/86 at 84).

Ms. Stinchcomb did not videotape or audio-tape this or any of

the other numerous interviews she had with Holly. (T. Vol. VI at 1075)

Ms. Stinchcomb failed to testify at or attend the trial although she

was under subpoena by the state and the defense attempted to sub-

poena her. (T. Vol.III at 276-277) Evidence presented at trial showed

Ms. Stinchcomb resigned prior to trial in lieu of being discharged

from DFACS (T.Vol.IX at 1631), that she had lied under oath in a

pre-trial hearing about her education and credentials (T. Vol.IX at 1654-

1661, 1699-1701, 1704-1707, 1718-1720), and that she was a defen-

dant in a criminal case (T.Vol.[X at 1651) and was represented by

Ms. Sosebee’s divorce attomey in the criminal matter. (T. Vol.IX at

1713-1714)

Ms. Opal McRaney, an investigator and intake officer with the

Juvenile Court of Fayette County, was the second official to talk to

8

Holly about the alleged sexual abuse when she met Holly at DFACS

on April 16, 1986. (T. Vol.ITI at 325) Ms. McRaney testified that in

her discussions with Holly, Holly described sexual misconduct and

demonstrated what she said with anatomically correct dolls. (T. Vol. III

at 392-398) Ms. McRaney did not videotape or audiotape any con-

versations with Holly (T. Vol.III at 420) and had little formal training

in how to non-prejudicially handle interviews with alleged child sex

abuse victims. (T. Vol.III at 425-433, 444-445)

Besides her interviews with Ms. Stinchcomb and Ms. McRa-

ney, Holly had numerous examinations by a psychotherapist’ (T. VolL.I'V

at 615), aclinical psychologist (T. Vol. VI at 964), a pediatrician (T. Vol. V

at 827), a midwife (T. Vol. III at 459-460), and a gynecologist. (T. Vol.III

at 485-486) Everyone who talked with Holly was allowed to testify,

over petitioner’s constant objections, as to what Holly allegedly told

them.

According to the people who spoke with Holly, she at first de-

nied her father had done anything of a sexual nature to her and in fact

gave statements of affection for her father. Then she began making

vague dreamlike statements about monsters and people with masks

hurting her. After being unduly influenced by her interviewers and

their methods she identified her father as the monster she claimed

was abusing her. (T. VolL.III at 412-413, T. Vol. VI at 1024-1025) She

also claimed three other men including Donald Evans abused her

and that the abuse was videotaped. (T. Vol.III at 403-404) In fact no

videotape was ever found (T. Vol.III at 421, 447) and although charges

against Evans were brought they were later dismissed. (T. Vol. VI at

1139, 1141) Mr. Evans testified that he was a friend of Holly’s father

and saw Holly often but that he had never abused her. (T. Vol. VI at

1137-1139)

Testimony from defense witnesses indicated that Holly was an

emotionally disturbed child who might be mentally ill. (T. Vol. VI at

1053) She was coy and manipulative and lied. (T.Vol.V at 781-783)

On one occasion she even told her therapist that the petitioner had

told her she could not tell the therapist something (T. Vol. VI at 1002)

> Holly was seen 46 times just by Nancy Aldridge, the state’s testifying psycho-

therapist. (T. Vol. IV at 625)

> G

<a

Gg

when, in fact, the evidence clearly showed the petitioner had not

even seen or spoken with Holly since she began going to the thera-—

pist. (T. Voi.V at 755, T. Vol. VI at 1013)

More than a year after she first began describing the alleged

abuse under the influence of the people to whom she spoke, she re-

canted her allegations. (T.Voi.IV at 654) The state attempted to ex-

plain this away as part of the child sexual abuse accommodation syndrome.

(T.Vol.IV at 663)

The medical evidence showed that in fact Holly’s vaginal open-

ing was larger than normal for a girl her age. (T- Vol.III at 462) However,

the evidence indicated Holly masturbated a great deal (T.Vol.IV at

690) and inserted pencils and other foreign objects into her vagina

which could cause her vaginal area to become red and inflamed (T. Vol. V

at 927). The evidence also indicated Holly had bruised her vaginal

area when she fell off her bicycle. (T.Vol.V at 935)

The evidence further indicated that Holly had contracted a sexually

transmittable disease, hemophilus or vaginitis. (T. Vol.III at 464, 490)

Upon hearing Holly was so infected the petitioner immediately

and voluntarily submitted to a battery of tests which confirmed that

he did not have any sexual disease including the one somehow trans-

mitted to his daughter. (T. Vol. VII at 1364-1366; T. Vol. VIII at 1484-

1485) In fact a medical expert testified that hemophilus is not even

always transmitted by sexual contact (T. Vol. VII at 1277-1278)

The petitioner introduced evidence of a penile plethysmogra-

phy, similar to a blood pressure test, showing he was aroused by

adult females but not by children. (T. Vol. VIII at 1599-1610) He admitted

to having affairs with adult women outside marriage (T. Vol. VIII at

1434) which also was inconsistent with the profile of a pedophile.

Mr. Sosebee was put through a standard battery of psychological

tests — the Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory, the Ror-

schach Inkblot Test, the Jackson Personality Test, the Sentence Completion

Test, the Draw a Person Test, the Bender Gestalt Tests (T. Vol. VIII at

1549-1563) — .he results of which were inconsistent with his being

a pedophile or child sexual offender. (T. Vol. VII at 1244-1254; T. Vol. VIII

at 1546-1563)

10

The evidence indicated that Holly was frequently left with babysitters

(T. Vol. VI at 1100-1106; T. Vol. VIII at 1409-1410) and on at least two

occasions became hysterical when babysitters arrived. (T.Vol.V at

797, T.Vol. VIII at 1496; T. Vol.IX at 1666-1667) Holly had access to

the Playboy Channel (T. Vol.III at 445) and her mother engaged in an

openly adulterous relationship with another man in Holly’s home.

(T.Vol.V at 795; T. Vol. VIII at 1436)

The state’s expert psychotherapist admitted that false allega-

tions of child molestation frequently arise in bitterly disputed child

custody and divorce cases (T.Vol.IV at 702-703; T.Vol.VI at 1032),

and that in cases where children make false claims of attribution of

sex abuse, particularly arising out of heated custody cases, there are

cases where children have actually been molested but name the wrong

person or persons (T.Vol.VI at 1044). There was no evidence from

Holly’s pediatrician during her regular checkups or anyone else of

child abuse up to the time of the custody dispute. (T.Vol.IV at 704-

710, 715-716)

The jury retumed verdicts of guilty on all counts (R-235, 236,

238) and Mr. Sosebee was sentenced tc sixty (60) years in the cus-

tody of the Attomey General. (R-239, 240, 241) A Motion for New

Trial was filed (R-242) and later supplemented. (R-260) The Motion

for New Tnal was denied (R-303) and a timely Notice of Appeal was

filed. (R-1)

The Court of Appeals affirmed the conviction (Appendix A),

then modified its decision but denied a rehearing. (Appendix B) Mr.

Sosebee’s application for a writ of certiorari was denied by the Geor-

gia Supreme Court with one Justice dissenting on April 19, 1989.

(Appendix C). The petition for rehearing was denied with another

Justice dissenting on May 3, 1989 (Appendix D). A Notice of Intent

to seek certiorari to the U.S. Supreme Court was timely filed on May

18, 1989 (Appendix E).

ll

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. The Georgia Child Hearsay Statute, Both As Originally

Enacted by the State Legislature, And as Judicially

Amended by the Supreme Court of Georgia on Inter-

locutory Appeal, Is Unconstitutional.

In Sosebee v. State, 257 Ga. 298, 357 S.E.2d 562 (1987), the

Georgia Supreme Court attempted to avoid petitioner’s arguments

attacking the Child Hearsay Statute, OCGA Section 24-3-16, as violating

the Sixth Amendment right-to-confront witnesses clause by judicially

amencing the statute to require an implementing procedure in which

the court could make the child available in front of the jury for both

the state and defendant “to examine and cross-examine as though the

Child Hearsay Statute has not been invoked [by the state].” /d. at

299. (Appendix G)

Petitioner contends that even with this new implementation

procedure the statute still does not pass constitutional muster.

In the first place the statute continues to deny a defendant state

and federal due process by altering the essential faimess of his trial.

Estelle v. Williams, 425 U.S. 501 (1975). A trial procedure that re-

quires a defendant to request that the court call his accuser as a wit-

ness if he wants to question the witness places the defendant in the

proverbial Catch-22: have the court call the complainant and be abic

to question the witness without preparing the witness or, alternatively,

decline to call the witness thereby waiving the opportunity for cross-

examination. Either way the defendant is placed at a distinct and un-

due disadvantage. Conversely the prosecution is placed in the unique

and substantially advantageous position of being able to, in essence,

present its evidence including the hearsay statements of the child,

then wait for the defendant to either call the complainant, thereby

allowing the state to repeat the hearsay statements, or to not call the

witness and fail to controvert the hearsay statements. Nowhere in

Anglo-American jurisprudence has an accused ever been required to

request that the court call his accuser as a witness in order to enjoy

the fundamental right of cross-examination.

Furthermore, even as modified in the Georgia Supreme Court

12

decision, the statute violates defendant’s constitutional rights of face-

to-face confrontation and opportunity for effective cross-examitia-

tion.

In Coy v. lowa, 487 U.S. __, 108 S Ct 2798 (1988), this Court

recently held that the Confrontation Clause by its terms provides a

criminal defendant the right to confront face-to-face the witnesses

giving evidence against him at trial. In Coy the Court found that appellant’s

right to face-to-fave confrontation was violated by a statutorily sanc-

tioned procedure whereby a screen was used to separate the com-

plaining child witness from the accused during the child's testimony

against the accused. The Court rejected the potential “trauma” to the

child witness from having to face the accused as insufficient justifi-

cation for denying face-to-face confrontation:

[Face-to-face presence may, unfortunately, upset the truth-

ful rape victim or abused child; but by the same ioken it

may confound and undo the false accuser, or reveal the

child coached by a malevolent adult. It is a truism that

constitutional protections have costs.

Coy v. lowa, 108 S Ct at 2802.

The Georgia Child Hearsay Statute violates a defendant's right

to face-to-face confrontation in those cases where, as here, neither

the state nor the defense calls the child to testify but the child’s testi-

mony comes in through a third party. In such a situation the third

party effectively becomes the “screen” found objectionable in Coy.

In fact the procedural application of the Georgia Child Hearsay

Statute is even more constitutionally objectionable than the Iowa screening

procedure because at least the screening procedure allowed an op-

portunity for effective cross-examination. Here, when the cornplain-

ing child witness is not called by either side, there is simply no op-

portunity for amy cross-examination of the child whose statements

nevertheless come in through third parties as admissible hearsay.

Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56 (1980) teaches that hearsay is

admissible only in the case of necessity — usually construed as the

unavailability of the witness — and when the hearsay has indicia of

reliability. If, however, the witness is available, irrespective of the

“indicia of reliability” otherwise present in her statements, there is

no necessity requiring admission of the hearsay.

13

The statute at issue, OCGA Section 24-3-16, specifically re-

quires that “the child is available to testify in the proceedings” before

the hearsay is admitted. Thus the statute effectively tums the hearsay

tule on its head since it allows hearsay only when there is no neces-

sity for hearsay.

The statute pays lip service to the Confrontation Clause by requiring

the child’s availability for cross-examination should either party desire

to have the court put the child on the stand. However, this case demonstrates

the problems inherent in such a twisted statutory scheme. The guard-

ian ad litem claims it is not in the best interests of the child to talk to

defense counsel so counsel is unable to interview the witness. De-

fense counsel is also denied pretrial access to medical records of the

child and any other information that might be of importance in pre-

paring to cross-examine the child.

Under the circumstances counsel can either ineffectively cross-

examine the complainant or, as in the present case, not cross-exam-

ine her at all. Regardless of what choice counsel makes, defendant's

Sixth Amendment right to confrontation is violated since he is not

given a full and fair opportunity to effectively cross-examine the child.

See, e.g. Mattox v. United States, 156 U.S. 237, 242-243 (1895); Dela-

ware v. Fensterer, 474 U.S. 15 (1985).

Certainly there is a compelling state interest to protect chil-

dren. However, prior to taking the massive step of grossly diminish-

ing, if not suspending, a constitutional right en a compelling state

interest there must be evidence that interest outweighs the established

constitutional right. Unquestionably in specific cases a compelling

State interest will exist to a degree sufficient to create a necessity that

requires a diminution of ihe defendant’s right of confrontation. But

this necessity must be the equivalent of a witness’ unavailability.

This need for unavailability before hearsay is admissible in a

child sex abuse case was most recently recognized by the Florida

Supreme Court in Perez v. State, 536 So.2d 206 (Fla. 1988) where it

upheld Florida’s Child Hearsay Statute, Section 90.803 (23), Fla. Stats.

(1985). The Florida statute provides that a statement relating to cer-

tain specified sex offenses and made by a child under the age of 11

years is admissible if: (1)-the court finds in a hearing that the time,

14

content, and circumstances of the statement provide sufficient indi-

cia of reliability, and (2) the child either (a) testifies or (b) is unavail-

able as a witness, provided there is other corroborative evidence of

the abuse or offense. The Florida statute is totally consistent with

Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56 (1980) whereas the Georgia statute is

not since the Florida statute requires unavailability before admission

of the hearsay statements whereas the Georgia statute requires availa-

bility which negates the only justification for the admission of the

hearsay in the first place. See also State v. Wright, 751 S.W.2d 48

(Mo. banc 1988) and State v. Ryan, 103 Wash. 2d 165, 171, 691 P.2d

197, 203 (1984) (upholding statutes similar to the Florida statute).

Petitioner further contends that the statute is unconstitutional

because it fails to satisfy the second prong of the Ohio v. Raberts test,

reliability, since the child is not required to underge cross examina-

tion at the time the statement was given. In California v. Green, 399

U.S. 149, 157-164 (1970) the Supreme Court found no constitutional

violation in the admission of testimony that had been given at a pre-

liminary hearing where the defendant had the opportunity to cross-

examine the witness contemporancously with his statement. The Court

in Green observed that the preliminary hearing testimony was ad-

missible “wholly apart from the question of whether respondent had

an effective opportunity for confrontation at the subsequent tral.”

The preliminary hearing testimony, the Court explained, had been

given under circumstances approximating those at trial: the witness

was under oath, the defendant was represented by counsel, and the

proceedings were conducted before a judicial tribunal, equipped to

provide a judicial record.

The Child Hearsay Statute appears in theory to recognize the

necessity of complying with the reliability requirement in Ohio v.

Roberts by requiring a finding by the court that the circumstances of

the statement provide sufficient indicia of reliability. However, at

least in its application in the present case, the statute is not deemed to

require contemporaneous cross-examination for the statement later

to be admissible. Petitioner contends that unless there is contempo-

raneous cross-examination, under Green there is not sufficient indi-

cia of reliability for the admission of the statements.

Petitioner also contends the statute is void for vagueness. Nei-

15

ther the statute nor the Georgia Supreme Court opinion sets forth any

criteria for determining how the competence of the declarant or the

reliability of her statements is determined. The Statute thus fails to

protect a defendant's constitutional rights. Compare Section 90.803

(23), Fla.Stats. (1985) which sets forth specific factors to be consid-

ered in determining reliability: time, content and circumstances.

Finally, petitioner contends the implementing mn rae with

which the Georgia Supreme Court amended the statute on interlocu-

tory appeal is unconstitutional in that it violates a defendant's duc

process rights by allowing a irial judge to bolster the credibility of

the child victim by himself calling the child as a witness. Such a

procedure, in effect, puts the trial court’s seal of approval on the tes-

timony of the child since the Court obviously would npt call a wit-

ness that it did not believe was telling the truth. See Miller v. State,

122 Ga. App. 553, 554, 177 S.E.2d 838 (1970) and cases cited therein.

The entire procedure appears to be contrary to O.C.G\A. § 17-8-57

which forbids even an intimation of an opinion by the judge as to

matters proved or the guilt of the accused.

II. The Georgia Supreme Court Violated the “Separation

of Powers” Doctrine by Judicially Amending the Geor-

gia Child Hearsay Statute on Interlocutory Appeal.

In its original opinion, the Georgia Supreme Court attempted

to save the Child Hearsay Statute by amending it as follows:

We therefore hold that if the prosecution invokes

the Child Hearsay Statute to introduce out-of-court dec-

larations by the alleged victim, the court shall do as fol-

lows: Before the state rests, the court shall, at the re-

quest of either party, cause the alleged victim to take the

stand. The court shall then inform the jury that it is the

court who has called the child as a witness, and that

both parties have the opportunity to examine the child.

The court shall then allow both parties to examine and

cross-examine the child as though the Child Hearsay

Statute has not been invoked. Sosebee v. State, 257 Ga

at 299. (Appendix G)

16

Mr. Sosebee contends that the Georgia Supreme Court’s amend- —

ment of the statute violates the Separation of Powers doctrine and is

an unconstitutional usurpation of legislative power by the judiciary.

In Snelling v. State, 176 Ga.App. 192, 194, 335 SE2d 475 (1985)

the Court of Appeals reiterated the well known rule:

We are not authorized to impose additional require-

ments to those delineated by our legislature, which are

contained in the Code. Our constitution demands that

the legislative and judicial powers shall forever remain

separate and distinct. Art.1, Sec. 2, Par. 3. Legislation is

the domain of the legislature and only interpretation of

such codified legislation lies within the province of the

courts. Modern Homes Constr. Co. v. Burke, 219 Ga.

710, 714-715 (135 SE2d 383); Pearle Opticai v. State

Bd of Examiners in Optometry, 219 Ga. 364, 373 (133

SE2d 374)...

Id. at 194 (Emphasis added). See also Kemp v. Mitchell Co. Demo.

Ex. Com., 216 Ga. 276, 283, 116 S.E.2d 321 (1960) (“This court has

no power to modify, amend or repeal a valid constitutional statute en-

acted by the General Assembly of this State” (emphasis added); Barnes

v. Carter, 120 Ga. 895, 48 S.E. 387 (1904); U.S. Life Credit Corpo-

ration v. Johnson et al., 161 Ga. App. 864, 865, 290 S.E.2d 280 (1982)

(“This court cannot add language to a statute by judicial decree’’).

The Georgia Supreme Court went far beyond its legitimate authority

of interpretation when it amended the statute in an attempt to save it

from constitutional attack.

If the Georgia Supreme Court believed “judicial surgery’’ was

needed to save the statute,‘ it should have established a procedure for

the implementation of the statute that would have protected a defen-

dant’s constitutional rights to effective cross-examination, confron-

tation and due process.

The judicial amendment by the Georgia Supreme Court simply

made an unconstitutional statute even less constitutional through

unconstitutional means.

‘ See Insurance Co. of North America v. Russell, 246 Ga. 269, 271 S.E.2d 178 (1980).

17

Ill. The Georgia Child Hearsay Statute as Implemented

in This Case Violated Petitioner’s Constitutional Rights

to Effective Cross-Examination and Due Process.

a) No Opportunity for Effective Cross-Examination — Trial

counsel in pre-trial motions (R-58, 77, 42), pre-trial hearings and at

trial (T. Vol.I at 15) repeatedly requested that he be allowed to inter-

view Holly Sosebee and examine her medical records.

The prosecutor claimed he had no objection to defense counsel

meeting with Holly or her medical experts but was powerless to force

DFACS, temporary custodian of the child, to allow the interview or

release the records. DFACS claimed the interviews would not be in

the best interests of the child. When it later appeared that DFACS,

under a federal court consent order formalized in an internal agency

letter, would be required to release medical records from the DFACS

files, the court sua sponte appointed a guardian ad litem for Holly.

(Transcript of Hearing on 11/12/86 at p. 99) The guardian ad litem

refused to permit the release of the records despite the fact that ear-

lier the DFACS representatives, Mr. Dabbs and Mrs. Wyatt, both stated

they were not aware of any information in the medical records “that

would be detrimental to the best interest of this child.” (Transcript of

Hearing on 11/12/86 at pp. 89, 94).-Although Mr. Dabbs answered

affirmatively when the judge asked him if he felt that releasing the

medical records placed the interests of DFACS adversely to that of

the child, he could articulate no reason why releasing the records

was not in the best interest of the child.

Also instructive is the comment by the trial judge in explaining

why he was appointing a guardian ad litem:

The obligation that I feel that supersedes every other

obligation in this case is to make sure the interest of this

child is protected and that nobody play mind games with

her, that nobody do anything to her or in her presence

that would cause any future detriment to this five-year

old child, either physical or mental. That is the way I

view my duties. (Transcript of Hearing on 11/12/86 at

p.100) (emphasis added)

There was no evidence that Holly would have been harmed in

18

any way by being interviewed by defense counsel or an independent

doctor. She had already been interviewed many times by various doctors

and members of the prosecution team. Nor would she have been harmed

if defense counsel had been given her medical records and been al-

lowed to speak with her doctors. The DFACS representatives con-

_ceded as much. By pledging allegiance to Holly’s interests which

were never threatened by defense counsel’s requests, the rights of

the petitioner were trampled underfoot.

The court stated it was powerless to require DFACS or the guardian

ad litem to allow petitioner’s counsel or other medical experts to

interview Holly even if Holly did not object to the interview.’ The

court relied on Dover v. State, 250 Ga. 209, 212, 296 S.E.2d 710,

cert. denied 459 U.S. 1221 (1982) ana Rutledge v. State, 245 Ga.

768, 267 S.E.2d 199 (1980) to support its decision.

Petitioner submits that Dover and Rutledge are distinguishable

from the present case because they were decided prior to the Child

Hearsay Statute. In Dover and Rutledge the witnesses sought to be

interviewed were considered adverse witnesses. Under the Child Hearsay

Statute as interpreted in the Sosebee decision the child witness may

~~ be called through the court as defendant’s own witness. In Wilson v.

State, 93 Ga. App. 229, 91 S.E.2d 201 (1956) the Georgia Court of

Appeals held that:

[A] defendant cannot be required to call a person to the

stand as his own witness without knowing in advance

what his testimony will be . . . Counsel for the defen-

dant not only had the right, but it was his plain duty

toward his client to fully investigate the case and to inter-

view any persons who might be able to assist him in as-

certaining the truth conceming the event in controversy.

Id. (Emphasis added.)

As the Georgia Court of Appeals stated in Cartee v. State, 85

> It is ironic that only minutes after claiming he had no control over whether the

child spoke to defense attorneys the judge asserted his control over the child by

transferring custody of Holly from DFACS to a guardian ad litem, thereby prevent-

ing the defense from obtaining Holly's medical records which DFACS was prepared

to turn over to defense counsel.

wit

19

Ga. App. 532, 69 S.E.2d 827 (1952):

An intellectual giant, prescient in and informed upon

every abstract principle of law, familiar with every de-

cided case upon the subject is little better than a fool on

the trial of a case if he is to be kept in ignorance of the

facts of his client’s case and denied [access to] witnesses

who might substantiate his client’s defense. /d. at 536.

‘

Even the trial judge in the present case unwittingly agreed with

this proposition when he stated:

It’s obvious to me that no attomey that’s worth his salt,

and I’m sure both of you are, ever put witnesses on a

witness stand that you haven’t talked to. You have an

obligation, obviously Mr. Catts, to interview witnesses

for the defense . . . (T.Vol.I at 55)

This Court has repeatedly affirmed that the right of confronta-

tion ensures “‘an opportunity for effective cross-examination.” Dela-

ware v. Fensterer, 474 U.S. 15,20 (1985) (emphasis added); see also

Nelson v. O’ Neil, 402 U.S. 622, 629 (1971) (Confrontation Clause

does not bar admission of out-of-court statement where defendant

has the benefit of full and effective cross-examination of [declarant]”’

(emphasis added); California v. Green, 399 U.S. 149, 159 (1970)

(introduction of out-of-court statement does not violate Confronta-

tion Clause “‘as long as the defendant is assured of full and effective

cross-examination at the time of trial”) (emphasis added)

Effectiveness is not measured in terms of the defendant’s ulti-

mate success, but rather by the performance of the attomey which

must be sufficient to afford “the trier of fact . . . a satisfactory basis

for evaluating the truth of the prior statement.” California v. Green,

399 US. at 161. See also Ohio v. Roberis, 448 U.S. 56, 73 (1980).

In the present case, without being allowed access to Holly pre-

trial, petitioner’s counsel could not hope to effectively cross examine

her at trial. Rather than ineffectively examine a critical witness who

with one unexpected response could devastate petitioner’s case, counsel

had no choice but to not examine her at all. This rendered totally

illusory the “opportunity to examine the child” which the Georgia

Supreme Court in Sosebee v. State, 257 Ga. 298, 357 S.E.2d 562

20

(1987) (Appendix G) supposedly guaranteed the petitioner in its

construction of the Child Hearsay Statute.®

The trial judge here erred when he relied on Dover and Rut-

ledge to deny access to potentially the most important witness in the

entire trial when there was no objective evidence that the witness

would have been harmed by talking to petitioner’s counsel under the

carefully controlled conditions counsel was willing to accept. (T. Vol.III

at p.376) As Justice Blackmun recently stated in Kentucky v. Stincer,

482 U.S. 730, 738, n.9 (1987), a state rule precluding access to cer-

tain information before trial “may hinder [the] defendant’s opportu-

nity for effective cross examination at trial, and thus . . . may violate

the Confrontation Clause.” (emphasis in original)

In overruling this enumeration of error on appeal (Appendix

A), the Court of Appeals panel misconstrued Pennsylvania v. Ritchie,

480 U.S. 39 (1987). In Ritchie this Court held that full disclosure of

a DFACS file was not constitutionally required. The Court’s deci-

sion was based on the state’s compelling interest in protecting its

child abuse information. In the present case the DFACS representa-

tives specifically stated that there was nothing in the file the disclo-

sure of which would have been detrimental to the child (Transcript

of Hearing on 11/12/86 at pp. 89, 94). Thus here there was no com-

. pelling state interest in failing to disclose any or all of the informa-

tion in the file.

Ritchie is further distinguishable from the present case in that

Ritchie involved access only to a DFACS file, not, as here, access to

a Critical witness. Furthermore, Pennsylvania did not have a Child

Hearsay Statute similar to Georgia’s that allowed the defendant to

call the alleged child victim.

b) No Opportunity To Test Competency — Petitioner filed a

Motion For Pre-Trial Hearing to Determine the Competency of Holly

Ann Sosebee (R-24) and a Motion to Cause Witnesses to Corifer

with Defense Counsel. (R-58)

® By failing to allow petitioner's counsel access to complainant and her records the

court was in effect making her unavailable to the defense which should have made

the Child Hearsay Statute inapplicable.

nae rceenneaena cantante

RT Ey he oe 0

Le TS

ob AA

21

In the motions hearing immediately prior to trial, counsel re-

newed these motions requesting that an independent psychiatric and

psychological examination of Holly be conducted to determine her

competency. (T. Vol.I at 36-38) The motions were denied (T. Vol.I at

39)

It is important to note that the purpose for the requested compe-

tency hearing was not to determine Holly’s competency just at the

time of the trial, but rather her competency at the time she made the

hearsay statements later introduced through the Child Hearsay Stat-

ute. Furthermore, the basis for the hearing was not just Holly’s age,

but also her mental condition. There was considerable evidence in

the files, particularly from Dr. Kleemeier, indicating that the child

was substantially disturbed and perhaps mentally ill. (T. Vol.I at 36)

Shortly after the pre-trial motions were filed but well before

the trial the trial judge held a brief competency hearing during which

the prosecutor and judge, but not the petitioner, examined Holly. The

court ruled that Holly “would be competent to take an oath and tes-

tify in a trial in the Superior Court of the State of Georgia.” (Tran-

script of Hearing on 10/16/86 at pp. 2-4).

Petitioner contends that the trial judge erred in allowing Holly’s

hearsay statements into evidence through the Child Hearsay Statute

without determining her competenicy at the time she made the State-

ments. Petitioner also contends that the competency hearing that was

conducted was legally inadequate.

In Westbrook v. State, 186 Ga. App. 493, 368 S.E.2d 131 (1988),

the Georgia Court of Appeals implicitly held that the phrase ‘‘avail-

able to testify” in the Child Hearsay Statute means competent to tes-

tify as well as present to testify. See also Ward v. State, 186 Ga. App.

503, 368 S.E.2d 139 (1988).

This seems to be the proper interpretation of the statute in view

of the Sosebee decision wherein the Georgia Supreme Court required

that the child be made available in front of the jury for both the state

and defendant “to examine and cross-examine as though the Child

Hearsay Statute has not been invoked.” (emphasis added) On its face

this would require that as a threshold matter the child be competent

under OCGA Section 24-9-5 which provides:

22

Persons who do not have the use of reason, such as idi-

ots, lunatics during lunacy, and children who do not under-

stand the nature of an oath, shall be incompetent wit-

nesses.

In Westbrook the defendant called the child as a witness. Here

Holly was not called as a witness by either party. However, her state-

ments came in just as if she had testified to them live at the trial

except there was no cross-examination.

Petitioner contends that if competency is required for her live

testimony competency also must be required for her hearsay state-

ments. Certainly the public policy is the same in-both cases — to

ensure truthfulness in the evidence. It would be violative of a defen-

dant’s due process rights to prevent the admission of live testimony

from an incompetent witness while allowing the admission of hear-

say evidence from an incompetent witness.

Furthermore, if the declarant was incompetent at the time the

hearsay statements were made the hearsay statements would not have

the requisite “indicia of reliability” for admissibility under the Child

Hearsay Statute.

Only after competency is “thoroughly tested in court’”’ may the

trial judge determine competency. Sullivan v. State, 162 Ga. App.

297, 291 S.E.2d 127 (1982); Allen v. State, 150 Ga. App. 605, 258

S.E.2d 285 (1979).

In a situation where hearsay is admitted the need for thorough

testing is even greater since the jury does not have an opportunity to

independently determine the declarant’s credibility as a matter of fact.

In the present case the court declined to hold a competency

hearing to determine whether Holly was competent when she made

her statements despite the fact that there was ample evidence that

Holly had mental problems and that many of her statements were

unconfirmed, contradictory and made under circumstances where she

could have been influenced by others. Even the competency hearing

that was held did not allow a “thorough testing” of competency. The

hearing was woefully inadequate and there was not even any cross-

examination by the defense. Compare Westbrook v. State, supra (victim

subjected to “thorough and sifting” cross-examination by defense

:

4

4

23

counsel as well as questions propounded by the court and the state’s ~

_ attomey).

Since Holly was not shown to be competent at the time she

made her statements, which were admitted as if she had testified to

them in open court, petitioner’s conviction should be vacated on due

process grounds.

c) No Opportunity to Contest Reliability of Statements — Under

the Child Hearsay Statute in order for the child’s hearsay statements

to be admissible the court must find that “the circumstances of the

statement provide sufficient indicia of reliability.” OCGA Section

24-3-16.

In Dutton v. Evans, 400 U.S. 74, 88 (1970) this Court stated:

The indicia of reliability required for admissibility are

that the statements be non-narrative; that the declarant

is shown by the evidence to know whereof he speaks;

that the witness is not apt to be proceeding on faulty

recollection; and that the circumstances show that the

declarant had no apparent reason to lie to the witness.

In the present case, as trial counsel pointed out in his objec-

tions, the court did not give petitioner sufficient opportunity to con-

test the indicia of reliability of the statements before admitting them.

(T.VoL.I'V at 591-596) The failure of the court to provide petitioner

access to the entire DFACS file and Holly’s medical records and

Statements destroyed his ~ uility to effectively cross-examine the wit-

nesses on the reliability of the statements. Also the court declined to

allow the petitioner to call witnesses that could have contested the

reliability of the statements before their admission. Thus when the

court ruled the statements admissible there had not been a thorough

sifting of the evidence to determine whether the circumstances of the

statements were in fact reliable.

Even assuming the court used the proper procedures in deter-

mining reliability, the court’s conclusion of reliability was not sup-

ported by the evidence.

First, many of the statements admitted were narrative. Second,

the evidence as to whether Holly knew “whereof [she] speaks,”” was

contradictory at best. Many of her statements were not supported by

24

any evidence and made no sense. She changed her story as time went

on and the evidence showed that there were outside sources from

which she could have gained her sexual information such as the Play-

boy Channel and her mother’s sexually promiscuous lifestyle. The

evidence showed that the people who questioned Holly frequently

used suggestive leading questions (T.Vol.VI at 1024) and that her

first interview concerning the alleged sex abuse was with Angela St-

inchcomb who was shown to have lied under oath about her creden-

tials and who was inadequately trained and biased in favor of peti-

tioner’s wife.

Most importantly, the circumstances showed that Holly had a

reason to lie to the people to whom she made her statements. Holly

was locked in the center of a ferocious custody battle in a bitter di-

vorce between her parents. The first we hear of any alleged sexuai

abuse is soon after a custody hearing in the divorce proceeding when

the judge states he is leaning towards giving Holly’s father, the peti-

tioner, custody of the children. Holly is taken away by her mother

and maternal grandparents and then within two days her matemal

grandmother claims Holly has indicated she was abused. Clearly there

was ample opportunity for Holly to have been influenced by her mother’s

side of the family to lie about her father’s involvement in the alleged

abuse. Even the state’s medical experts conceded that Holly had reason

to lie regardless of whether they themselves believed she was lying.

(T.VoL.IV at 577-579)

IV. The Georgia Child Hearsay Statute is in Conflict With

Child Hearsay Statutes in the Substantial Majority of

States Which Have Enacted Such Statutes in that the

Georgia Statute Lacks Pre-Trial Notice Requirements

that Would Accommodate a Defendant’s Right to Pre-

pare his Defense.

In both the statute as written and in its judicially amended form,

there is an absence of the following rights to a defendant: (1) Pre-

trial notice to a defendant by the state of its intention to use the child’s

hearsay statements; (2) Pre-trial production by the state to the defen-

dant of a copy of the hearsay statements; (3) Pre-trial notice by the

State to the defendant of the person to whom the statements were

made; (4) Pre-trial notice by the state to the defendant of the circum-

stances surrounding the giving of the hearsay statements which pro-

vides “sufficient indicia of reliability.”

a a eee ee

25

Without the above rights being recognized in the statute itself

or in its application as pronounced by the Georgia Supreme Court, a

defendant in Georgia is denied the opportunity to effectively cross-

examine the witnesses to whom the alleged hearsay statements were

made as well as the child who allegedly made the statements. Peti-

tioner contends that the hearsay statements of the child, along with

the circumstances surrounding the giving of the hearsay statements,

be provided to a defendant prior to trial.

The substantial majority of states which have enacted child hearsay

Statutes have accommodated the right of a defendant to prepare his

defense. A substantial majority of the states which have enacted child

hearsay statutes provide for the furnishing of the content or substance

of the child’s statements to defense counsel sufficiently in advance

of trial to prepare a defense. Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Iowa, Indi-

ana, Maryland, Minnesota, Missouri, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Texas,

Utah, Virginia, and Washington’ have tempered the far reaching

ramifications of their child hearsay statutes with procedures for the

implementation of the statutes which gives a defendant in those states -

a fair opportunity to defend himself against the charges. These states

enable the defendant to prepare pre-trial for the cross-examination of

the child declarant as weli as for the cross-examination of the third

party that testifies to the hearsay statement in court.

This Court should grant certioran in order to bring Georgia into

line with those states set forth above that protect the constitutional

rights of their citizens by requiring in their child hearsay statutes that

defendants be given copies of the child’s statements in advance so

that the defendant might have a fair opportunity to defend himself

against the charges.

V. The Establishment of Evidentiary Procedures for Pro-

tecting Parents in Child Custody Disputes From False

Allegations of Child Sexual Abuse is a Matter of Great

Concern And Importance to the Public.

There is a growing awareness of the increase in the incidence

of false allegations of child sexual abuse, especially in the context of

divorce and custody cases, which create strong public policy reasons

7 The text of the relevant portions of these statutes are reprinted in Appendix H.

—

26

for this Court to grant certiorari in this case and remedy the present

diminution of a defendant's right to defend himself against allega-

tions of child sexual abuse.

In State v. Butler, 256 Ga. 448, 454 at fn. 4, 349 S.E.2d 684

(1986), Justice Smith in a dissent joined by Justices Weltner and Bell!

stated:

We must proceed slowly and carefully in this era of public

awareness. We cannot allow our revulsion of sexual abuse

or molestation to tum our courts into a forum in which

the accusation becomes the conviction and affirmance.

According to a recent newspaper article some studies

show that there has been an increase in accusations of

sexual abuse of children in custody battles. This is an

area in which we need to carefully weigh the conflict- .

ing findings and studies of the experts before we change

the law.

Some experts who delivered papers at the annual meet-

ing of the American Academy of Child and Adolescent

Psychiatry asserted that “many social workers and fam-

ily counselors who interview alleged molestation vic-

tims lack adequate training for the task, . . . Too many

counselors believe they can determine if molestation

occurred by relying solely on how alleged victims play

with anatomically correct dolls.”

“A study of 15 children who played with such dolls showed

‘children with a history of sexual abuse could not be

discriminated’ from those who weren't molested, wrote

Dr. Jonathan Jensen, author of the University of Minne-

sota study.”

Fathers In Custody Fights Face Sex Abuse Charges, The

Adanta Joumal and Constitution, Oct. 19, 1986.

ee ae

ee ee ee

The South Carolina Child Hearsay Statute reflects these con-

cems in prohibiting child hearsay statements made in the context of

divorce proceedings: South Carolina Code Ann. § 19-1-180(G) (Lawyers

Co-op 1988) (effective June 3, 1988) provides:

27

If the parents of the child are separated or divorced, the |

hearsay statement shall be inadmissible if (1) one of the

parents is the alleged perpetrator of the alleged abuse or

neglect and (2) the allegation was made after the parties

separated or divorced.

Fabrication of a child’s statement of sexual abuse by persons

who have an interest in prosecuting the defendant have been increas-

ingly recognized in the literature:

More frequent false allegations of sexual abuse are made

by parents during court litigation involving custody and/

or visitation. Benedek and Schetky (1984) failed to docu-

ment charges of sexual abuse in 10 of 18 children evalu-

ated during disputes over custody and visitation. This

strikingly high (55%) incidence of false allegations is

somewhat comparable to this author's documentation

of 4 false allegations in 11 children reported to be sexu-

ally abused by the noncustodial parent in the context of

child custody and visitation disputes (36%).

Green, A. H. (1986), True And False Allegations Of Sexual Abuse In

Child Custody Disputes, J. Amer. Acad. Child Psychiat., 25, 4:449-

456.

According to another article:

The problem arises during divorce and custody proceed-

ings when a child, for the first time, accuses the parent

with whom he/she is not residing, of sexual abuse. This

raises the possibility that the parent with whom the child

is residing has prompted the child to make the accusa-

tion of sexual abuse against the alienated spouse and

non-custodial parent.

In cases where the initial accusation of sex abuse occurs

after parental separation, and refers to a time when the

parents were living together, the possibility that the custodial

parent has prompted the accusation toward the non-custodia!

pavent must be considered. (emphasis in original)

Kaplan, S. L. & Kaplan, S. J., The Child’s Accusation of Sexual Abuse

28

During A Divorce and Custody Struggle, The Hillside Journal of Clinical

Psychiatry, 3(1), 81-95 (1981).

Also, according to a recent article published in Psychiatry Annals:

[Children] are also exquisitely sensitive to their parents’

emotions, thus setting the stage for an intense, rapidly-

oscillating feedback loop that usually operates within

the privacy of the family, isolated from outer visibility.

* * *

A child confronted with sequential “evaluations” begins

to demonstrate increasing accommodation of memory

as well as of affect. In adults, memory function can be

said to comprise conviction along with historical verifi-

cation by retrospection within one’s own data bank. Child-

ren younger than puberty seem to “remember” differ-

ently, using an amalgam of conviction along with veri-

fication by “check-in” with an extemal, trusted ally.

* * *

“Positive” feedback thus operates on both affective and

cognitive axes. Both operations stem from children’s

alliances with, and dependency on, powerful caretakers

at times of loss and anxiety. Affectively, they affiliate

with a frightened, dependent parent. Cognitively, their

perceptions can be “shaped” inadvertently but with exquis-

ite detail by selective, positive reinforcement.” (Foot-

note omitted)

___. Schuman, D. C., Psychodynamics of Exaggerated Accusations: Posi-

tive Feedback In Family Systems, Psychiatry Annals. 242-247 (April

4, 1987).

The extent of the problem posed by false reports of child abuse

by a divorcing spouse are reflected in estimates that 30% of all con-

tested-custody cases in New York involve sex abuse charges. Hopkins,

E., Fathers on Trial, New York (magazine), 21: 42, 44 (January 11,

1988). Hopkins noted:

The Brooklyn Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to

29

Children went even further in its vindication [of a father

who was accused of molesting his five-year-old daugh- —

ter]. It recommended that all charges against the father

be dropped and a petition of neglect be filed against the

mother.

“For all practical purposes,” states the report to the judge,

“(The child has] suffered as if [she were an] actual vic-

tim of child sexual abuse.”

“The real abuse in this case,”’ says Robert Dobrish, [the

father’s] lawyer, “was the brain-washing done on this

child. Imagine what it took to persuade her that her fa-

ther did these terrible things. (Child abuse] charges are

the latest tactic in a nasty divorce. If you wanted to hurt

your ex-husband before, what would you say? He has

affairs? He cheats on his income tax? He’s a homosex-

ual? Big deal. Who even cares about that stuff anymore?

But this is the ultimate weapon. I don’t care how liberal

society gets, it will never be okay to molest your own

children.”

30

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, a writ of certiorari should issue to

review the judgment of the Georgia Court of Appeals.

Respectfully submitted,

Bossy Lee Cook

P. O. Box 370

Summerville, Georgia 30747

(404) 857-3421

JAKE ARBES

(Counsel of Record)

233 Mitchell Street

Suite 500

Adanta, Georgia 30303

(404) 522-1980

Attomeys for Petitioner

July 28, 1989

APPENDICES

AS A gO

la

Appendix A

Opinion of Georgia Court of Appeals

In the Court of Appeals of Georgia

77282. SOSEBEE v. THE STATE.

POPE, Judge.

In 1986, defendant Geary Sosebee was a party to a divorce

proceeding and custody dispute regarding his two children. The court,

in the divorce proceeding, placed the two children in the custody of

Department of Family and Children Services pending a determina-

tion of custody. While the court was considering the custody issue,

defendant’s mother-in-law reported to DFACS her suspicion that defen-

dant had sexually abused one of the children. Following an investi-

gation of the complaint, defendant was indicted for multiple counts

of child molestation. Defendant appeals his convictions.

1. At trial, defendant raised the issue that others, including the

child’s babysitters, had had the opportunity to commit the acts com-

plained of by the child. In closing argument, the prosecuting attomey

stated: “I could have called every babysitter that’s ever been around

that child, and what would they have said? If I asked every one of

those babysitters, have you ever touched this child, what would they

have said? No? Does that surprise you? Did I have to put them up

here to prove that to you?” Defendant’s attomey objected on the ground

the prosecutor was arguing matters not in evidence, but the objection

was overruled. On appeal, defendant argues this portion of the state’s

closing argument constitutes reversible error.

A prosecutor may not inject in his final argument matters which

were not proven in evidence. Williams v. State, 254 Ga. 508 (3) (330

SE2d 353) (1985). However, even an improper statement, when taken

in context, may not constitute reversible error. Smith v. State, 141

Ga. App. 529 (2) (233 SE2d 841) (1977). A review of the transcript

shows the objectionable statement concerning the expected testimony

of witnesses not actually called to testify was made in context of

explaining to the jury why such witnesses were not called. The prose-

cuting attomey went on to state: “I could have brought every man

that has ever been around this child in here, and what would you

2a

expect them to say if they were asked [whether they had touched the

child] . . . .” When considered in the context of the entire closing

argument, it is obvious that the prosecuting attomey was not stating

as a fact what the unpresented testimony would have been but was

posing a rhetorical question to the jury as to whether they would

have expected any given witness to admit they had molested the child.

We find no reversible error in this portion of the closing argument.

Defendant also argues the prosecuting attomey improperly

questioned the defendant’s failure to call his wife as a witness. De-

fendant maintains such argument constitutes reversible error because

the defendant could not compel his wife to testify. In fact, spousal

immunity does not apply to proceedings in which one spouse is charged

with a crime against a minor child. OCGA § 24-9-23(b). Thus, de-

fendant’s wife could have been compelled to testify and we find no

reversible error in the state’s remarks on defendant’s failure to call

her as a witness.

Defendant also argues the prosecuting attomey committed revers-

ible error in appealing to the passions or prejudices of the jury by

asking the jury to convict defendant in order to protect the victim

from further harm. The prosecuting attomey may make a rhetorical

argument about what acts the defendant could be expected to com-

mit in the future so long as it is a reasonable deduction from the

evidence. See Brand v. Wafford, 230 Ga. 750 (9) (199 SE2d 231)

(1973); Davis v. State, 178 Ga. App. 357 (3) (343 SE2d 140) (1986).

The record shows the prosecuting attomey repeatedly stated that if

they did not believe the evidence against defendant, the jury should

acquit him. However, if the jury believed the defendant was guilty,

the attomey asked them not to “put [the victim] back into this trap . .

. .” We find no error in the closing argument.

2. Prior to the trial of the case, defendant challenged the con-

Stitutionality of the Child Hearsay Statute, OCGA § 24-3-16. The

Georgia Supreme Court granted interlocutory review of this issue

and, in Sosebee v. State, 257 Ga. 298 (357 SE2d 562) (1987), upheld

the constitutionality of the statute by holding that where the statute is

implemented it inust be accompanied by the night of either party to

examine or cross-examine the child witness by requesting the court

to call the child as a witness. On appeal of the guilty verdict, defen-

3a

dant again challenges the constitutionality of the statute, arguing that

its constitutionality should be reconsidered in light of the more re-

cent prouncement of the United States Supreme Court in Coy v. Jowa,

487 U.S. __ (108 SC 2798, 101 LE2d 857) (1988). We find no merit

to defendant’s argument and therefore are not required to transfer the

appeal to the supreme court pursuant to Rule 21(b) of the Rules of

the Court of Appeals of Georgia.

3. Defendant argues his constitutional rights pursuant to the

Sixth Amendment Confrontation Clause were violated by the court’s

denial of his motion to compel access to the witness and examination

of the child’s medical records. The state may not deny defendant

access tO a witness material to the defense, but a witness can not be

compelled to submit to a pre-trial interview. See Rutledge v. State,

245 Ga. 768 (2) (267 SE2d 199) (1980); Emmett v. State, 232 Ga.

110 (2a) (205 SE2d 231) (1974). The child witness in this case was

in the custody of the state acting through DFACS. In an effort to

eliminate the conflict of interest between the state as prosecutor and

the state’s role in supervising the child, the court appointed a guard-

ian ad litem to represent the legal interests of the child. The guardian

refused to make the child available to defendant and refused to con-

sent to the release of confidential medical records. “A witness may

refuse to be interviewed prior to trial [cit.]; and when the witness is a

child, the child’s guardian may make this decision.” Dover v. State,

250 Ga. 209, 211-212 (296 SE2d 710) (1982), cert. denied, 459 U.S.

1221 (1983).

Defendant’s constitutional argument has been decided adversely

to him by the United States Supreme Court. In Pennsylvania v. Ritchie,

480 U.S. 39 (_SC__, _ LE2d__ ) (1987), the criminal defendant,

charged with sexual child abuse, similarly argued that by denying

him access to information necessary to prepare his defense, the trial

court interfered with his right of “effective” cross-examination of

witnesses. The United States Supreme Court rejected this argument.

“If we were to accept this broad interpretation . . . the effect would be

to transform the Confrontation Clause into a constitutionally-cora-

pelled rule of pretrial discovery. Nothing in the case law supports

such a view. The opinions of this Court show that the nght to con-

frontation is a trial right. . . . In short, the Confrontation Clause only

4a

guarantees ‘an opportunity for effective cross-examination, not ‘cross-

examination that is effective in whatever way, and to whatever ex-

tent, the defense might wish.’ [citing Delaware v. Fensterer, 474 U.S.

15, 20 (106 SC 292, 88 LE2d 15) (1985)].” Pennsylvania v. Ritchie

at 52-53. According to Pennsylvania v. Ritchie, the defendant is en-

titled to an in camera inspection by the trial judge to determine what,

if any, material information should be released as useful to the de-

fense. The record of the case now before us shows the court con-

ducted such an inspection in response to defendant’s request.

Defendant also maintains he was denied the right of effective

cross-examination by the court’s denial of his motion for an inde-

pendent psychiatric evaluation of the child to determine her compe-

tence at the time her out-of-court statements were made. The statu-

tory test for determining the competency of a child to testify as a

witness in a judicial proceeding is that he understand the nature of an

oath. OCGA § 24-9-5. See generally Smith v. State, 247 Ga. 511 (277

SE2d 53) (1981). Therefore, the concept of “competency” at the time

an out-of-court statement was made is meaningless and irrelevant.

OCGA § 24-9-7 contemplates only that a small child be found com-

petent to testify at trial; the code section has no applicability to out-

of-court statements and does not require that the court determine the

child’s competency at the time the out-of-court statements were made.

Newberry v. State, 184 Ga. App. 356 (4) (361 SE2d 499) (1987).

Thus, defendant had no right, at the competency hearing, to present

evidence conceming the child’s competency at the time the out-of-

court statements were made.

Defendant also argues he was denied a sufficient opportunity

to contest the indicia of reliability as to the out-of-court statements of

the child. The record shows defendant conducted extensive cross-

examination of the witness who testified conceming the out-of-court

statemenis during a hearing on reliability outside the presence of the

jury. Under the circumstances of this case, we find no requirement

for expert testimony to establish the reliability of the child’s out-of-

court statements. Cf. Godfrey v. State, 258 Ga. 28 (9365 SE2d 93)

(1988) (in which the out of court statements consisted of “sleep talk’”’,

which the court held to be a phenomenon requiring expert testimony

to establish its reliability).

5a

4. Defendant had no constitutional right to examine all materi-

als in the file maintained on this case by DFACS. The record reflects

that the trial court inspected the DFACS file on several occasions in

response to defendant’s motion to examine the records. Thus, defen-

dant’s right to obtain material information from the state’s files was

protected. See Pennsylvania v. Ritchie, supra.

5. Defendant argues the trial court erred in failing to require

the state to produce “all” scientific reports gathered in the case. The

State is not required to disclose all reports but, upon a proper written

request, the state is required to disclose those scientific reports which

will be used as evidence at trial. OCGA § 17-7-211. Defendant does

not identify which reports were improperly admitted pursuant to said

code section and our review of the record reveals no improperly admitted

scientific evidence. .

6. An investigator employed by the Fayette County Juvenile

Court testified that she observed the child victim in a waiting room

of the DFACS offices saying to her father, who was visiting her there,

“T won’t tell [the DFACS officer] our special secret.”” Defendant objected

to the statement as inadmissible hearsay. “‘A witness may testify as to

what he saw and heard in the defendant’s presence.” Moore v. State,

240 GA. 210, 212 (240 SE2d 68) (1977); accord Broome v. State,

141 Ga. App. 538 (2) (233 SE2d 833) (1977). Defendant argues the

overheard statement would not be admissible as an exception to hearsay

because the witness stated she was not in the room with the child and

defendant but observed them and heard the statement through an open

doorway. The necessary element for this exception is that the out-of-

court statement was made in defendant’s presence. See Green v. State,

175 Ga. App. 849 (335 SE2d 4) (1985). The witness need only be in

a position to hear what was said in defendant’s presence.

7. Defendant argues he was entitled to a continuance in order

to secure the attendance of a former DFACS caseworker who was

out of state at the time defendant attempted to serve her with a sub-

poena to appear at trial. A defendant is not entitled to a2 continuance

to secure the attendance of a witness when it wa’ within his power to

subpoena the witness but he failed to do so. OCGA § 17-7-192; see

Parrish v. State, 125 Ga. App. 97 (186 SE2d 541) (1971). Defendant

6a

admits he was aware of the caseworker’s involvement in the case at

least as early as November 1986. Trial commenced in September

1987. It appears from colloquy on the record that no effort was made

to subpoena the case worker until after trial had commenced. Where

defendant could have served a subpoena on a witness at an earlier

date but failed to do so, the court does not err in denying a continu-

ance because at the time of trial the witness was outside the sub-

poena power of the court. Coker v. State, 87 Ga. App. 411 (1) (74

SE2d 12) (1953).

8. Defendant argues the court erred in excluding the testimony

of a witness that she had been told by a friend of the child’s mother,

at the child custody hearing prior to the report of child molestation,

“It’s not over yet, we’ve got our bag of tricks.” Hearsay evidence is

admitted only from necessity. OCGA § 24-3-1(b). In ruling to ex-

clude the testimony, the trial court noted that the declarant of the out-

of-court statement had been present at trial and was obviously avail-

able to testify. We agree that the statement was not admissible to

impeach an earlier witness who had denied hearing the statement

because the witness offering the hearsay testimony admitted she did

not know if the other witness had heard the statement. We find no

error in excluding the hearsay testimony.

9. Prior to trial, the prosecuting attomey revealed, in response

to defendant’s Brady motion, that the child witness had recanted her

earlier statements against defendant. Defendant argues the court improperly

denied his motion to disqualify the prosecuting attomey because he

would be called as a witness at trial. First, the prosecuting attomey’s

testimony was not necessary to establish that the child had recanted

her statements since the attomey identified two other persons who

witnessed the recantation. Secondly, although the prosecuting attor-

ney was subpoenaed as a witness, he was never called to testify. Thus,

the court was not required, nor was it necessary, to disqualify the

prosecuting attomey.

10. Finally, a review of the record shows sufficient evidence

was presented to enable a rational trier of fact to find defendant guilty

beyond a reasonable doubt of the crimes charged.

Judgment affirmed. McMurray, P. J., and Benham, J., concur.

7a

Appendix B

Order of Georgia Court of Appeals

Upon Motion for Reconsideration

Court of Appeals

of the State of Georgia

Adanta, March 14, 1989

The Honorable Court of Appeals met pursuant to adjoumment.

The following order was passed:

77282. GEARY ALAN SOSEBEE v. THE STATE

Upon consideration of the motion for rehearing filed on behalf

of appellant in the above styled case, it is hereby ordered that new

page 2 attached hereto be substituted for old page 2 of the original

opinion dated February 2, 1989. Motion for rehearing is hereby denied.

8a

commit the acts complained of by the child. In closing

argument, the prosecuting attomey stated: “I could have

called every babysitter that’s ever been around that child,

and what would they have said? If I asked every one of

those babysitters, have you ever touched this child, what

would they have said? No. Does that surprise you? Did

I have to put them up here to prove that to you?” Defen-

dant’s attomey objected on the ground the prosecutor

was arguing matters not in evidence, but the objection

was overruled. On appeal, defendant argues this portion

of the state’s closing argument constitutes reversible error.

A prosecutor may not inject in his final argument mat-

ters which were not proven in evidence. Williams v. State,

254 Ga. 508 (3) (330 SE2d 353) (1985). However, even

an improper statement, when taken in context, may not

constitute reversible error. Smith v. State, 141 Ga. App.

529 (2) (233 SE2d 841) (1977). A review of the tran-

script shows the objectionable statement conceming the

expected testimony of witnesses not actually called to

testify was made in the context of explaining to the jury

why such witnesses were not called. The prosecuting

attomey went on to state: “I could have

9a

Appendix C

Order of the Georgia Supreme Court Denying

Application for a Writ of Certiorari

Clerk’s Office, Supreme Court of Georgia

ATLANTA, April 19, 1989

Case No. 46869, Geary Alan Sosebee v. The State

(C/A #77282

The Supreme Court today denied the writ of certiorari in this case.

All the justices concur, except Smith, J. dissents.

Yours very truly,

MRS. JOLINE B. WILLIAMS, Clerk

~

lla

Appendix D

Order of the Georgia Supreme Court

Denying Motion for Rehearing

Clerk’s Office, Supreme Court of Georgia

ATLANTA, May 03, 1989

The motion for a rehearing was denied today:

Case No. 46869, Sosebee v. The State

Bell, J. dissents.

Yours very truly,

MRS. JOLINE B. WILLIAMS, Clerk

13a

Appendix E

Notice to the Georgia Court of Appeals of

Intention to Seek a Writ of Certiorari

In the Court of Appeals State of Georgia

GEARY ALAN SOSEBEE,

Applicant for Certiorari,

Vv.

THE STATE,

Respondent.

COURT OF APPEALS

NO. 77282

SUPREME COURT

NO. 46869

OO OO

NOTICE OF INTENT

TO PETITION FOR CERTIORARI

The applicant, Geary Alan Sosebee (hereinafter referred to as

applicant or Sosebee), by and through his undersigned counsel, pur-:

suant to Court of Appeals Rule 16(b) respectfully gives this Court

notice of his intention to petition to the United States Supreme Coun

for the writ of certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

BOBBY LEE COOK

Attomey for the Applicant

P. O. Box 370

Summerville, GA 30747

(404) 857-3421

JAKE ARBES

Attomey for the Applicant

233 Mitchell Street

Suite 500

Atlanta, GA 30303

(404) 522-1980

15a

Appendix F

Order of the United States Supreme Court Granting

Extension of Time in Which to File Petition for Certiorari

Supreme Court of the United States

No. A-999

Geary Alan Sosebee,

Petitioner

v.

Georgia

ORDER

UPON CONSIDERATION of the application of counsel for

the petitioner,

IT IS ORDERED that the time for filing a petition for a writ of

certiorari in the above-entitled case, be and the same is hereby, ex-

tended to and including August 1, 1989.

(s/ Anthony M, Kennedy

Associate Justice of the Supreme

Court of the United States

Dated this 19th

day of June, 1989.

17a

Appendix G

Opinion of the Georgia Supreme Court

In Sosebee I on Interlocutory Appeal

Docket No. 44131

STATE OF GEORGIA,

Appellee,

Vv.

GEARY ALAN SOSEBEE,

Appellant.

Before:

BELL, Justice:

The Appellant, Geary Alan Sosebee, was indicted on charges

of sexually abusing his five-year-old daughter.' He moved in limine

to exclude incriminating hearsay statements which had been made

by his daughter, but the trial court denied his motion. We granted

Sosebee’s interlocutory application. On appeal, the issue is whether

the Child Hearsay Statute, OCGA § 24-3-16 (eff. July 1, 1986), which

allows the state to use a child’s out-of-court statements without re-

quiring the state to call the child as a witness, unconstitutionally in-

fringes upon a defendant’s Sixth Amendment right to confront wit-

nesses.

OCGA § 24-3-16 provides that “[a] statement made by a child

under the age of 14 years describing any act of sexual contact or

' The state alleges that the appellant committed the crimes for which he has been

indicted between September 1, 1985, and April 12, 1986. Three indictments were

returned on September 9, 1986. They charge appellant with one count of child mo-

lestation; two counts of aggravated sodomy; one count of rape; and one count of

incest. Appellant filed his motion in limine on September 22, 1986. The motion was

heard on October 16, 1986, and was denied on October 17. On October 17 the supe-

rior court granted a certificate of immediate review, and on November 4, 1986, we

granted the application for interlocutory review. On November 12, 1986, appellant

filed his notice of appeal, and on December 2 the record was docketed in this court.

The appeal was orally argued on February 9, 1987.

18a

physical abuse performed with or on the child by another is admis-

sible in evidence by the testimony of the person or persons to whom

made if the chiid is available to testify in the proceedings and the

court finds that the circumstances of the statement provide sufficient

indicia of reliability.” By its terms, this statute allows the prosecu-

tion to satisfy its burden of proof under certain circumstances by

introducing the alleged victim’s hearsay declarations without putting

the victim on the stand. The statute does not, however, specify all the

implications of the phrase, “if the child is availabie to testify in the

proceedings.” More particularly, it is unclear whether the legislature

intended to require the defendant to call the child as a defense wit-

ness in order to exercise his right of confrontation. We think it is

unlikely that this was the legislative intent, since it is possible that

jurors could resent the defendant for forcing the child to take the

stand and undergo cross-examination. Absent a clear directive from

the legislature, we are reluctant to require the defendant to bear this

onus, especially since a reasonable alternative construction of the

Statute exists.

We therefore hold that if the prosecution invokes the Child Hearsay

Statute to introduce out-of-court declarations by the alleged victim,

the court shall do as follows: Before the state rests, the court shall, at

the request of either party, cause the alleged victim to take the stand.

The court shall then inform the jury that it is the court who has called

the child as a witness, and that both parties have the opportunity to

examine the child. The court shall then allow both parties to examine

and cross-examine the child as though the Child Hearsay Statute has

not been invoked.

Our construction of § 24-3-16 moots the appellant’s constitu-

tional arguments. Accordingly, we find that the trial court correctly

denied the motion in limine. On remand, the court is directed to conduct

the trial in a manner consistent with OCGA § 24-3-16, as interpreted

by this court.

Judgment affirmed with directions. All the Justices concur, except

Marshall, C_J., who dissents.

DECIDED JUNE 19, 1987 —

RECONSIDERATION DENIED JULY 19, 1987.

19a

Interlocutory appeal. Fayette Superior Court. Before Judge Miller.

Austin E. Catts, Robert G. Rubin, for appellant.

Johnnie L. Caldwell, Jr., District Attorney, J. David Fowler, J.

Thomas Morgan, Assistant District Attorneys, for appellee.

21a

Appendix H

Other States’ Child Hearsay Statutes

Arizona

A statement may not be admitted under this section unless the propo-

nent of the statement makes known to the adverse party his intention

to offer the statement and the particulars of the statement sufficiently

in advance of the proceedings to provide the adverse party with a fair

Opportunity to prepare to meet the statement. Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann.

§ 13-416.B (Supp. 1988)

Arkansas

2. The proponent of the statement shall give to the adverse party

reasonable notice of his intention to offer the statement and the par-

ticulars of the statement. Ark. Rules of Evid. Rule 803(25)(A) 2 (1988)

Florida

In a criminal action, the defendant shall be notified no later than 10

days before trial that a statement which qualifies as a hearsay excep-

tion pursuant to this subsection w ll be offered as evidence at trial.

The notice shall include a written statement of the content of the

Child’s statement, the time at which the statement was made, the

circumstances surrounding the statement which indicate its reliabil-

ity, and such other particulars as necessary to provide full disclosure

of the statement. Fla. Stat. Ann. § 90.803 (23)(b)(West Supp. 1989)

(effective July 1, 1985)

Idaho

Statements may not be admitted unless the proponent of the state-

ments notifies the adverse party of his intention to offer the state-

ments and the particulars of the statements sufficiently in advance of

the proceedings to provide the adverse party with a fair opportunity

to prepare to meet the statements. /daho Code § 19-3024 2 (1987)

22a

Indiana

(e€) A statement or videotape may not be admitted in evidence under

this section unless the prosecuting attomey informs the defendant

and the defendant’s attomey of:

(1) His intention to introduce the siatement or videotape

in evidence; and

(2) The content of the statement or videotape; within a

time that will give the defendant a fair opportunity to

prepare a response to the statement or videotape before

the trial. 35-4-6 (e) /nd. Code Ann. § 35-37-4-6(2)(e)(Bums

Supp. 1988) .

Maryland

(3) In order to provide the defendant with an opportunity to prepare

a response to the statement, the prosecutor shall give to the defen-

dant and the defendant’s attomey, at least 20 days before the criminal

proceeding in which the statement is to be offered into evidence,

notice of: (i) The prosecution’s intention to introduce the statement;

and, (ii) The content of the Statement. Md. Cts. & Jud. Proc. Code

Ann. § 9-103.1 (c)(3) (Supp. 1988) (effective July 1, 1988)

Minnesota

The proponent of the statement notifies the adverse party of the pro-

ponent’s intention to offer the statement and the particulars of the

statement sufficiently in advance of the proceeding at which the proponent

intends to offer the statement into evidence to provide the adverse

party with a fair opportunity to prepare to meet the statement. Minn.

Stat. Ann. § 595.02 Subd. 3 (c) (West Supp. 1989)

Missouri

A statement may not be admitted under this section unless the prose-

cuting attomey makes known to the accused or his counsel his inten-

tion to offer the statement and the particulars of the statement suffi-

23a

ciently in advance of the proceedings to provide the accused or his

counsel with a fair opportunity to prepare to meet the statement. Mo.

Ann. Stat. § 491.075 3 (Vernon Supp. 1989)

Oklahoma

B. A statement may not be admitted under this section unless the

proponent of the statement makes known to the adverse party his

intention to offer the statement and the particulars of the statement at

least ten (10) days in advance of the proceedings to provide the ad-

verse party with an opportunity to prepare to answer the statement.

Okla. Stat. Ann. 12, § 2803.1 B (Supp. 1989)

South Carolina*

(C) The proponent of the statement shall inform the adverse party of

the proponent’s intention to offer the statement and the content of the

statement sufficiently in advance of the proceeding to provide the

defendant with a fair opportunity to prepare a response to the state-

ment before the proceeding at which it is offered. S.C. Code Ann.

§ 19-1-180 (C) (Law. Co-op. 1988)

South Dakota

No statement may be admitted under this section unless the propo-

nent of the statement makes known his intention to offer the state-

ment and the particulars of it, including the name and address of the

declarant to the adverse party sufficiently in advance of the trial or

hearing to provide the adverse party with a fair opportunity to pre-

pare to meet the statement. S.D. Codified Laws Ann. § 19-16-38 (1987)

* South Carolina's additional prohibition against any use of child hearsay state-

ments arising in the context of divorce proceedings is discussed at page 26, infra.

24a

Texas

(1) On or before the 14th day before the date the proceeding begins,

the party intending to offer the statement:

(A) Notifies the adverse party of its intention to do so;

(B) Provides the adverse party with the name of the witness through

whom it intends to offer the statement; and,

(C) Provides the adverse party with a written summary of the statement.

Tex. Code Crim. Proc. Ann. art. 38.08 (1) (Vernon Supp. 1989)

Utah

(3) A statement admitted under this section shall be made available

to the adverse party sufficiently in advance of the trial or proceeding,

to provide him with an opportunity to prepare to meet it. Utah Code

Ann. §76-5-411 (3) (Supp. 1988)

Virginia

C. A statement may not be admitted under this section unless the

proponent of the statement notifies the adverse party of his intention

to offer the statement and the substance of the statement sufficiently

in advance of the proceedings to provide the adverse party with a

reasonable opportunity to prepare to meet the statement, including

the opportunity to subpoena witnesses. Va. Code Ann. § 63.1-248.13:2

C (Supp. 1988) :

Washnigton

A Statement may not be admitted under this section unless the propo-

nent of the statement makes known to the adverse party his intention

to offer the statement and the particulars of the statement sufficiently

in advance of the proceedings to provide the adverse party with a fair

Opportunity to prepare to meet the statement. Wash. Rev. Code § 9A.120

(1988)

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.