Opposition Brief — Idaho v. Charboneau

Supreme Court brief1989

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

4

4

Supreme Court, U.S.

(tay FILED

fg AUG 23 1989

No. 89-151 JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR.

CLERK

In The

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1989

°?¢ 8 8 8 *

THE STATE vied IDAHO,

Petitioner,

vs.

JAIMI DEAN CHARBONEAU,

Respondent.

es ehkhkeett

On Writ of Certiorari To The

Supreme Court of the United States

e® 66 2 3.8

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

ee ee oe

Greg J. Fuller

Puller Law Offices

P. O. Box 30

Jerome, Idaho 83338

(208) 324-8193

Attorney for Respondent

i

TABLE CONTENTS

GPISLUN BEUOW » > s 6 + 6 6 6 6 2 © © %

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

STATEMENT OF THE CASE . . « «© «© © © «© «

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT . . . «© «© © © «© «© «

LACK OF JURISDICTION .... 2 © « «

NO CONFLICT ON FEDERAL LAW ISSUES . .

DS, 6 Oe 8 Oe Oe a ee ee

LACK OF JURISDICTION .... ++ © «

NO CONFLICT ON FEDERAL LAW ISSUES . .

ARBAUGH LETTER AND BOOTH V. MARYLAND

HEARSAY EVIDENCE IN CAPITAL SENTENCI

WEIGHING OF MITIGATING

AND AGGRAVATING CIRCUMSTANCES ...

CONCLUS ION . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

APPENDIX

State v. Charboneau, Nos. 16339/16741

Supreme Court of Idaho, 1989, Ida. Lexis No.

NG

53, April 4, 1989, as amended April 18, 1989.

pC Re FO i) a

Letter To Judge Becker From Victim's Father

a0. Beeemen. « + bs % 6 8 ee be

wh: ni on

fo

17

18

80

84

ii

TABLE OF CASES AND AUTHORITIES

CASES

Booth v. Maryland, 428 U.S. 496 (1987) ....

Cabana v. Bullock, 474 U.S. 376 (1986) ....

South Carolina v. Gathers, 109 S.Ct. 2207 (1989)

Godfrey v. Georgia, 446 U.S. 420 (1980). ...

United States v. Grayson, 438 U.S. 41 (1978) .

Green v. Georgia, 442 U.S. 95 (1979) .....

Rech ¥, ‘paceesce, 326 0.8. 117 (19465). . . » -

Lockett v. OGhie, $38 0.8. 5866 (1978) . ..e «

Michigan v. Long, 463 U.S. 1032 (1983) ....

Maynard v. Cartwright, 108 S.Ct. 1853 (1988) .

Mullaney v. Wilbur, 421 U.S. 684 (1975). ...

Muskrat v. United States, 219 U.S. 346 (1911).

State v. Osborne, 631 P.2d 187 (Idaho i981). .

Roberts v. United States, 445 U.S. 552 (1980).

State v. Thompson, 101 Idaho 430, 614 P.2d 970

United States v. Tucker, 404 U.S. 443 (1972) .

Williams v. New York, 337 U.S. 241 (1949) ..

Williams v. State, 358 U.S. 576 (1959) ....

UNITED STATES CODES

28 ¥.8.C. Section 1257(a) . . . . + . . . . ~

STATUTES

IDAHO CODES

19-2515(c) .

Z9eZ0k> » «

19-2515(c) .

yo)

1962916 «2 >»

an AAAAA

a gv a! ae oe Oe

o~o2 6 Oo ©. 6

Ss: O.' Ss “So ws

e686 @&.a ) & #

i. ee oe eo, oe

* £5 @ 4a, 94

ef. © © @ @ @

Se .2 2.8. 6-8: fs

e482 & 2: 'e ©

os 2 2. 8 ull

a ah ie oe ly

19-5306(1)(b) & (3)

SUPREME COURT RULE

IDAHO CRIMINAL RULES

32 . . 7 + . . ~ . . . + . 7 . - . . 7 . . .

32(e)(1) See i cE SR ee a Sa Te a i * 2 @: =

IDAHO RULES OF EVIDENCE

gig en Oe ig es lel ieee ae ele

(1980)

10

OPINION BELOW

The Idaho Supreme Court, in 1989 Opinion Number 44

(Appendix 1 - 79), reversed Jaimi Charboneau's death sentence

for the following reasons: (1) The Rule of Booth v. Maryland,

428 U.S. 496 (1987) was violated when the sentencing Court

admitted into evidence a letter from the murder victim's father

which sets forth the family members‘ opinions and

characterizations of the crime and of the defendant. The

letter also noted the impact of the crime on ‘the victim's

daughter; (2) Hearsay evidence may not be considered by a

sentencing judge in a capital proceeding unless such evidence

has been made a part of a presentence investigation report in

strict compliance with the state's death penalty sentencing

statutes, and in death penalty cases “a strict compliance with

the procedures for sentencing is required." (Appendix 33); (3)

Pursuant to the Idaho Deatn Penalty Statute, the judge must

weigh "all the mitigating circumstances presented...against

each of the [statutory] aggravating circumstances separately."

(Appendix 42); (4) There is no evidence in the record to

support a critical portion of the sentencing Judge's Findings

of Fact. (Appendix p. 38)

The decision is still unpublished and has_ been

included in Appendix 1 - 79.

‘

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Idaho Code Section 19-2515 provides, in pertinent

part:

(c) Where a person is convicted of an offense which

may be punishable by death, a sentence of death shall

not be imposed unless the court finds at least one (1)

statutory aggravating circumstance. Where the court

finds a statutory aggravating circumstance the court

shall sentence the defendant to death unless the court

finds that mitigating circumstances which may be

presented outweigh the gravity of any aggravating

circumstance found and make imposition of death unjust.

(d) In all cases in which the death penalty may be

imposed, the court shall, after conviction, order a

presentence investigation to be conducted according to

such procedures as are prescribed by law and shali

thereafter convene a sentencing hearing for’ the

purpose of hearing all relevant evidence and arguments

of counsel in aggravation and mitigation of the

offense. At such hearing, the state and the defendant

shall be entitled to present all relevant evidence in

aggravation and mitigation. Should any party present

aggravating or mitigating evidence which has not

previously been disclosed to the opposing party or

parties, the court shall, upon request, adjourn the

hearing until the party desiring to do so has had a

reasonable opportunity to respond to such evidence.

Evidence admitted at trial shall be considered and

need not be repeated at the sentencing hearing.

Evidence offered at trial but not admitted may be

repeated or amplified if necessary to complete the

record.

Idaho Code Section 19-2516 provides as follows:

Inquiry into circumstances - Examination of witnesses.

- The circumstances must be presented by the testimony

of witnesses examined in open court, except that when

a witness is so sick or infirm as to be unable to

attend, his deposition may be taken by a magistrate of

the county, out ‘of court, upon such notice to the

adverse party as the court may direct. No affidavit

or testimony, or representation of any kind, verbal or

written, can be offered to or received by the court,

or a judge thereof, in aggravation or mitigation of

the punishment, except as provided in this and the

preceding section.

Idaho Criminal Rule 32 provides, in pertinent part:

The following standards and procedures shall govern

presentence investigations and reports in the Idaho

courts:1

(b) Contents of a presentence report. A trial judge

may request a record check and other background

information concerning the defendant prior to sentence

without conducting a full presentence investigation of

the defendant. However, whenever a full presentence

report is ordered, it shall contain the following

elements:

(1) The description of the situation surrounding the

criminal activity with which the defendant has been

charged, including the defendant's version of the

criminal act and his explanation for the act, the

arresting officer's version or report of the offense,

where available, and the victim's version, where

relevant to the sentencing decision.

(2) Any prior criminal record of the defendant.

(3) The defendant's social history, including family

relationships, marital status, age, interests and

activities.

(4) The defendant's educational background.

(5) The defendant's employment status and

capabilities.

(6) Residence history of the defendant.

(7) Financial status of defendant.

(8) Health of the defendant.

(9) The defendant's sense of values and outlook on

life in general.

(10) (e) Information which may be included in the

presentence report. (1) Content. The presentence

report may include information of a hearsay nature

where the presentence investigator believes that the

information is reliable, and the court may consider

such information. In the trial judge's discretion,

the judge may consider material contained in the

presentence report which would have been inadmissible

under the rules of evidence applicable at a trial.

However, while not all information in a presentence

report need be in the form of sworn testimony and be

admissible in trial, conjecture and speculation should

not be included in the presentence report.

(see Appendix 80 for full text).

Idaho Code Section 19-5306(1)(b) & (3) provides, in

pertinent part:

(1) Upon request, each victim of a felony offense

shall be:

(b) Consulted by the presentence investigator during

preparation of the presentence report and _ have

included in that report a statement of the impact

which the defendant's criminal conduct has had upon

the victim;...

(3) The provisions of this section shall apply

equally to the immediate families of homicide victims

or immediate families of victims of such youthful age

Or incapacity as precludes them from exercising these

rights personally.

28 U.S.C. Section 1257(a) provides in pertinent part:

Final judgments or decrees rendered by the highest

court of the state in which a decision could be had,

may be reviewed by the Supreme Court by Writ of

Certiorari...where the validity of a statute of any

state is drawn in question on the ground of it being

repugnant to the Constitution, Treaties, or the Laws

of the United States, or where any title, right,

privilege, or immunity is specially set up or claimed

under the Constitution or the Treavcies or Statutes of,

Or any commission held or authority exercised under,

the United States.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Respondent, Jaimi Dean Charboneau, was convicted

of the first degree murder of his former wife, Marilyn Arbaugh.

Prior to sentencing and pursuant to I.C. § 19-2515 and

§ 19-2516 and Idaho Criminai Rule 32, a presentence

investigation was conducted and the resulting report was

provided to the Court. At the sentencing hearing, the Trial

Judge admitted into evidence a letter from the victim's

father. The letter, however, was not part of the presentence

report. It set forth the family members’ opinions and

characterizations of the crime and of the defendant. [It also

noted the emotional impact of the crime on the victim's

daughter, as well as describing the good character of the

victim, The letter went on to state:

{S]he walked past him in the barn and he

shot her in the back several times; he could

have changed his mind at this point but he

didn't. He walked up to her, yelling at

her, and shot her several more times in the

chest. (Appendix 86)

The Trial Judge found that:

..-After firing the first volly (sic) of

shots the victim,...could have been

saved... At that moment the defendant,

Jaimi Charboneau had a choice. He could

have saved the women he professed to love.

However, with at least two minutes to give

thought to the matter, the defendant...chose

to fire additional shots. (Appendix 37)

The Trial Court found the existence of aggravating

circumstances which were not outweighed by the mitigating

circumstance:s; presented, therefore, sentenced the defendant to

death.

On review of Charboneau's sentence and conviction, the

Idaho Supreme Court set aside the death sentence on four

separate grounds, the first being that the letter from the

victim's father (Arbaugh) constituted hearsay evidence which,

pursuant to Idaho statute, should only have been presented

through the presentence report.

Secondly, the Idaho Court viewed the “Arbaugh letter"

and portions of the presentence investigation report as a

Victim Impact Statement. The Court held that the letter and

portions of the presentence report, pursuant to Booth v.

Maryland, 428 U.S. 496 (1987), should not have been admitted

into evidence,

The third reason for vacating Charboneau's death

sentence is that the Trial Court had incorrectly weighed

aggravating and mitigating circumstances, pursuant to Idaho

Stacute, in reaching its decision to impose the death

sentence. I.c. § 19=-2515(c) requires that all mitigating

circumstances be weighed against each of the statutory

aggravating circumstances separately.

The final reason for which the Idaho Court vacated

Charboneau's death sentence was no evidence existed in the

record to support the Trial Judge's Finding that the victim's

life could have been saved after the first volley cf shots.

Since it was unclear whether the Trial Court would have imposed

the death penalty without having reached such a conclusion, the

sentence was vacated and remanded. *

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

I. LACK OF JURISDICTION

Charboneau respectfully submits that The State of

Idaho v. Jaimi Dean Charboneau is not an appropriate case for

review by the United States Supreme Court. This is true for

two reasons, the first being lack of jurisdiction. The United

States Constitution has conferred upon the Court the power to

determine actual controversy arising between adverse

litigants, Traditionally, the Court has therefore refrained

from rendering advisory opinions. A decision rendered in this

case would be a departure from that tradition for the following

reasons:

First, the decision to be reviewed is the Idaho

Supreme Court's reversal of the death sentence imposed upon

Charboneau and aeeremand of the case for resentencing.

Regardless of the Court's treatment of the issues raised by the

State, the Idaho decision will remain unchanged because only

three of the four separate grounds for the remand are before

this Court. The Idaho Court found that the actual record did

not support a crucial Finding of Fact made by the Trial Judge

and therefore remanded the case. This issue has not been

raised to this Court, and therefore, the Idaho Court's decision

to remand will remain unaltered.

Even without the fourth justification for reversal,

the Court lacks jurisdiction because there eyvists adequate and

independent State law grounds for the Idaho Court's remand

decision. Of the three issues presented for review, only the

first relating to Booth v. Maryland, supra, primarily addresses

a question of Federal law. The second issue, relating to the

use of hearsay evidence in capital sentencing proceedings, is

expressly couched in terms of interpretation of the statutes of

the State of Idaho, as is the third issue relating to the

process of weighing mitigating circumstances against

aggravating circumstances in death penalty cases. Therefore,

there exists adequate and independent State grounds for the

Idaho decision, and this Court is without jurisdiction.

II. NO CONFLICT ON FEDERAL LAW ISSUES

Charboneau further respectfully urges the Court to

deny the requested review because there are no “special” and

"important" reasons for granting such review. The Idaho

Court's decision is not in conflict with other State Courts,

Federal Courts, or the United States Constitution. The Idaho

Court's determination that the "Arbaugh letter" is an

inadmissible Victim Impact Statement is entirely consistent

with this Court's pronouncement in Booth v. Maryland, supra.

Likewise, no conflict exists as to the {idaho ruling

that hearsay evidence must be contained in the statutoriiy

recognized presentence report in order to be introduced in a

capital sentencing hearing. The decision merely interprets the

Idaho statutory scheme which specifically provides for the use

of hearsay evidence in capital sentencing hearings. The Idaho

Statutes provide that hearsay evidence that has been screened

for reliability and which has been included in a presentence

investigation report can pve considered by the sentencing judge.

Nor does the third issue represent a conflict which

would justify a review by this Court. This issue relates to

the Idaho Court's interpretation of the Idaho Statute that

regulates imposition of the death sentence. The Opinion states

that when statutory aggravating circumstances are found, each

aggravating circumstance must be weighed against any mitigating

circumstances presented. If any one of the aggravating

circumstances are found to outweigh the mitigating

circumstances, then the death sentence can be imposed.

(Appendix 42) The State has cited no authority conflicting

with the Idaho decision on this issue or on either of the other

two, and therefore, none of the “special” and “important®

reasons for review referred to in Supreme Court Rule 17, exist.

ARGUMENT

I. LACK OF JURISDICTION

The Court lacks jurisdiction to review the present

case, and Charboneau therefore respectfully urges the Court to

refrain from doing do so. Charboneau believes that the Court

lacks jurisdiction because any decision rendered by the Court

in this case would be merely advisory. Traditionally, the

Court has recognized that judicial power conferred by the

Constitution is power toc determine actual controversies arising

between adverse litigants and that the Court should not give

opinions in the nature of advice. Muskrat v. United States,

nay G.8. 346 (1911). A test for the existence of an advisory

opinion was stated in Herb v. Pitcairn, 324 U.S. 117 (1945).

We are not permitted to render an advisory

opinion, and if the same judgment would be

rendered by the State Court after we

corrected its views of Federal Law, our

review could amount to nothing more than an

advisory opinion.

Id. at 126.

On the issues presented in the State's Petition, theré

is no actual controversy, there are no adverse litigants, and

an opinion rendered by this Court would be merely advisory.

This is true because the Idaho Supreme Court vacated Jaimi Dean

Charboneau's death sentence and remanded it for resentencing on

four separate grounds. The State of Idaho brings before the

Court but three of those grounds. As the fourth ground, the

Idaho Court vacated Charboneau's death sentence because there

was no evidence in the record to support the Trial Judge's

Finding that the first volley of shots was not fatal to the

victim and that her life could have been saved with medical

attention prior to the second volley of shots. (Appendix 37-38)

The unsupported Finding of the Trial Judge

necessitated a remand for resentencing because it was unclear

from the Findings whether the Trial Court would have imposed

the death penalty without having concluded that the first

volley of shots was not fatal. This imperfection in the Trial

Court's reasoning represented a substantial justification for

vacation and remand and was totally independent from any

Federal law issues.

This case involves no adversary litigants. It has

been remanded for resentencing, and a substantial basis for

that decision has not been challenged. The parties before the

Court at this time are actually the State of Idaho vs. “a

decision of the Idaho Supreme Court" and consequently, this

Court's decision will have no effect on the fate of Jaimi Dean

Charboneau,

Since this fourth issue is not before the Court for

review, the Idaho Court's Order will stand regardless of this

Court's decision on Federal issues, thereby rendering said

Opinion advisory.

In addition to the fourth ground for reversal being

omitted from this proceeding, a decision rendered in this case

would be rendered advisory because there are adequate and

independent State grounds for the Idaho Court's decision to

vacate and remand. The only issue before the Court, which

rests squarely on the Idaho Court's determination of the

Federal law, is the first issue raised by the State dealing

with Booth v. Maryland, supra, and Victim Impact Statements.

The other issues raised in this proceeding are issues of

construction of State statutes and not of Federal law.

In determining whether the Idaho Court's reference to

State law constitutes an adequate and independent State ground

for its decision, the Court should not look beyond the Opinion

itself. Michigan v. Long, 463 U.S. 1032 (1983). Beginning on

Page 31 of the Idaho Court's Opinion (Appendix 31), the Idaho

Court addresses the issue of whether hearsay, in the form of a

letter from the victim's father should have been admitted into

evidence at the sentencing hearing.

In its discussion, the Idaho Court resorts exclusively

to an analysis of the Idaho sentencing statutes. The Idaho

Court reasoned’ that TC. § 19-2516 requires that’ the

circumstances in aggravation or mitigation of punishment must

be presented by live testimony, except as provided in §

19-2515. I.C. § 19-2515(d) provides for a _ presentence

investigation in all death penalty cases. The Idaho Court went

on to interpret said statute as allowing the Sta.e and the

defendant to present all relevant evidence in aggravation and

mitigation at the sentencing hearing, that would otherwise be

admissible,

The Court also interpreted the death penalty statutes

in light of Idaho Criminal Rule 32(e):l1) and Idaho Rule of

Evidence 101l(e)(3). Rule 32(e)(1) allows a presentence report

to contain hearsay only where the presentence investigator

believes that the information is reliable, Idaho Rule of

Evidence 10l(e)(3) provides that the Idaho Rules of Evidence do

not apply to sentencing hearings. (Appendix 33) The Idaho

Opinion shows a concerted effort to construe the Idaho Statutes

consistently with one another, while at the same time providing

for the admission of reliable hearsay at the sentencing hearing.

There is no citation of Federal law in this section of

the Opinion. Given the Idaho Court's overriding concern with

construction of Idaho Statutes and Criminal Rules, it is

obvious that this part of the decision addresses the manner in

which reliable hearsay is to be presented at a capital

sentencing hearing. It does not address the Federal law issue

of whether hearsay evidence is admissible. Since State Courts

are the ultimate expositors of State Law, Mullaney v. Wilbur,

421 U.S. 684 (1975), and since no Federal issue was addressed,

the Court lacks jurisdiction to review this claim.

Likewise, the "interpretation of state statutes

argument* applies to the Idaho Court's determination that

mitigating circumstances must be weighed against each statutory

aggravating circumstance individually prior to imposition of

the death penalty. Beginning on page 41 of it's Opinion

(Appendix 41), the Idaho Court cited State v. Thompson, 101

Idaho 430, 614 P.2d 970 (1980), for the proposition that

criminal statutes must be strictly construed. The Idaho Court

then went on to interpret the plain meaning of the words

contained in the Idaho death penalty’ statute, I.C. 5

19-2515(c). The Court stated:

I.C. § 19-2515(c) refers to ‘mitigating

circumstances*” that are to be weighed

10

against "any aggravating circumstance

found". If the legislature had intended the

mitigating circumstances to be weighed

against all the aggravating circumstances

found as a group, it would have referred to

"the aggravating circumstances found". The

plain meaning of the statute dictates our

conclusion on this issue. (Appendix 42)

The quotation set out above evidences a "plain

statement" that the Court's decision rests upon the adequate

and independent state ground of interpretation of the wording

of a state statute. Consequently, the Court is without

jurisdiction on this issue,

The Petitioner argues that, although the Idaho Opinion

relating to the ‘hearsay issue* and the ‘weighing of

circumstances issue" refers only to Idaho law, the Idaho Court

necessarily decided these two issues based on Federal law

because the statutory constructions were interwoven with

Federal concerns. It is true that in State v. Osborne, 631

P.2d 187 (Idaho 1981), the Idano Court ceéecognized that the

Idaho legislature enacted [Idaho's present death penalty

statutes in response to the United States Supreme Court's

mandate that:

{t]he sentencing authority must be given

specific and detailed guidance to assist

them in deciding whether to impose a death

penalty in order to assure that the death

penalty will not be imposed in an arbitrary

Or capricious manner. Id. at 191.

However, this recognition of legislative purpose does not

transform every interpretation of the legislative enactment

into a determination of Federal law. The Idaho Court clearly

recognized that the Idaho legislature had attempted to give

specific and detailed guidance in death penalty cases, and in

the present case, the Idaho Court proceeded to interpret the

guidance that had been given. No question of Federal law was

addressed,

ll

II. NO CONFLICT ON FEDERAL LAW ISSUES

Even if the Court finds that there is a jurisdictional

basis on which to review this case, Charboneau urges the Court

to deny the requested review because there are no “special® and

*important®” reasons for granting said review. More

specifically, the Idaho Court's decision is not in conflict

with the decisions of other State Courts, Federal Courts, or

the United States Constitution.

A. ARBAUGH LETTER AND BOOTH V. MARYLAND

The Idaho Court's decision that the “Arbaugh letter"

was an inadmissible "Victim Impact Statement" pursuant to Booth

v. Maryland, supra, is consistent with this Court's Opinion in

that case. In South Carolina v. Gathers, 109 S.Ct. 2207

(1989), the Court described Booth as follows:

We address the question whether use of

‘victim impact statements’ in capital

sentencing proceedings violated this

principal that a sentence of death must be

related to the morai culpability of the

defendant. We held that such statements

introduced factors that might be ‘wholly

unrelated to the blameworthiness of a

particular defendant’. (citation omitted)

The statements placed before the jury in

Booth included descriptions of the victim's

personal characteristics, statements

concerning the emotional impact of the crime

on the victim's family, and the family

members’ opinions about the crime and the

defendant. Id. at 2210.

The hearsay statement addressed in Gathers concerned the

personal characteristics of the victim. The Court held that

said statement should not have been made part of the sentencing

considerations.

In the present case, the lengthy letter written by the

victim's father (Appendix 84) sets forth the family members'

opinions and characterizations of the crime and the defendant.

Por that reason, the Idaho Court held that the letter should

12

not have been considered by the Trial Court in sentencing

(Appendix 33-36).

The Idaho Court's reasoning and decision are not in

conflict with the Court's pronouncements in either Booth or

Gathers; nor are they in conflict with Lockett v. Ohio, 438

U.S. 586 (1978), as inferred in the Petition.

The Lockett case dealt with a state statute which

limited the range of mitigating circumstances which could be

considered by the sentencing court. The Court held that the

sentencer in capital cases must be allowed to give independent

mitigating weight to “aspects of the defendant's character and

record and to circumstances of the offense proffered in

mitigation". Id. at 605. The case did not involve issues of

Victim Impact Statements.

Furthermore, the Court's Opinion in Lockett actually

tends to support the Idaho Court's decision that the Booth

rule, at least in Idaho, will apply, regardless of whether the

capital sentencer was a judge or a jury. The Idaho Court held

that since the risk of arbitrary and capricious decisions

exists, regardless of whether the sentence is rendered by a

judge or a jury, the Booth rule would apply to death penalty

sentences rendered by Idaho judges. The Court in Lockett also

recognized that "this qualitative difference between death and

other penalties calls for a greater degree of reliability when

the death sentence is imposed". Id. at 604.

The Petitioner attacks the Idaho Court's ruling on the

Booth issue on grounds that the Idaho Court impermissibly

applied a “reversible error per se" approach to the admission

of the Victim Impact Statement. In support of this

proposition, Petitioner cites Maynard v. Cartwright, 108 S.Ct.

1853 (1988). In Maynard, a death penalty was overturned by a

state appeals court because one of two aggravating

circumstances found by the jury had been struck down. The

13

State argued that since one aggravating circumstance would

sustain the sentence, the United States Supreme Court should

not allow the sentence to be automatically reversed. The Court

held that where State law did not provide for curing the

sentencer's consideration of an invalid aggravating

circumstance, the United States Supreme Court would not

interfere. This Court had no problem with the “reversible

error per se" approach in Maynard. Therefore, the Idaho

decision does not conflict with Federal law. -

The Petitioner goes on to infer that the consideration °

of the "Arbaugh letter" was harmless error and that the Idaho

Supreme Court concluded that the Trial Court's Findings were

not based upon said letter. Said inference is simply not

true. On this issue, the Idaho Court stated as follcws:

We are not dissuaded from our conclusion on

this issue by the statement of the Trial

Court in the written sentencing findings

that he hac “endeavored to avoid anything

that might be hearsay, not absolutely

pertinent or not totally supported by the

evidence" (citation omitted)...Even a well

intentioned and conscientious effort by the

Trial Court to avoid considering the hearsay

contained in the letter does not suffice.

(Appendix 33)

In fact, Charboneau submits that the Trial Judge did

rely on statements contained in the “Arbaugh letter". Please

note the similarity between the statements of the victim's

father:

{S]he walked past him in the barn and he

shot her in the back several times; he could

have changed his mind at this point but he

didn't. He walked up to her, yelling at

her, and shot her several more times in the

chest. (Appendix 86)

and the unsupported Finding of the Trial Court that:

...after firing the first volly (sic) of

shots the victim Marilyn Arbaugh was wounded

but her life could have been saved...At that

moment the defendant, Jaimi Charboneau had a

choice. He could have saved the women he

professed to love, However...Jaimi Dean

Charboneau, chose to fire additional shots

into the wounded and helpless body of

Marilyn Arbaugh. (Appendix 37 )

14

Evidence that the victim's life could have been saved

after the first volley of shots appears in the record in one

Place only. That place is the letter of the victim's father

(Appendix 84 - 88).

The Idaho Court's decision relating to Booth, supra,

is consistent with Federal law. Furthermore, the Trial Court's

reliance on assertions contained in the ‘"“‘Arbaugh letter"

demonstrates the necessity for application of the Booth rule in

capital sentencings that are conducted by a judge.

B. HEARSAY EVIDENCE IN CAPITAL SENTENCING

The Idaho Court ruling that hearsay evidence in

capital sentencing proceedings is admissible if made part of a

presentence report is consistent with Federal law and with the

United State's cases cited by Petitioners. The Idaho approach

provides for a wide variety of informational sources in order

that the sentencer can gain a realistic view of the defendant's

character, propensities and culpability. It provides for a

presentence investigation, conducted by trained probation

officers, I.C. § 2515(d). These officers provide the sentencer

with a report of their investigation which can be considered at

the sentencing hearing, I.C. § 2516 (Appendix 31-33). Hearsay

evidence can be presented at the sentencing hearing through the

presentence report. The investigator however, is required to

screen said hearsay evidence for reliability prior to

including it in his report, I.C.R. 32(e)(1).

In United States v. Grayson, 438 U.S. 41 (1978), the

Court recognized the importance and utility in using trained

probation officers to conduct presentence investigations and to

submit investigative reports to the sentencing judge (Grayson

did not address issues of hearsay).

In Williams v. New York, 337 U.S. 241 (1949), the

15

Court confirmed the appropriateness of the sentencing judge's

reliance on evidence presented at trial, and.on a wide range of

hearsay information contained in the presentence report. The

Court held that:

Under the practice of individualizing

punishments, investigational technics have

been given an important role. Probation

workers making reports of their

investigations...have been given a high

value by conscientious judges who want to

sentence persons on the best available

information..the probation report draws on

information concerning every aspect of a

defendant's life. Id. at 250.

In Willians v. state, 358 U.S. 576 (1959), the

defendant objected to the State's attorney making a _ sworn

statement to the Court relating the details of the “etitioner's

past criminal record. The defendant objected to the statement

as being contrary to an Oklahoma statute which required that

information be entered by the testimony of witnesses examined

in open court. The Court held that the defendant waived his

right to a formal hearing pursuant to the Oklahoma statute

because he failed to request it.

Green v. Georgia, 442 U.S. 95 (1979), also cited by

the Petitioner, was found not to involve the exclusion of

relevant hearsay. This Court held that the excluded testimony

was highly relevant to a critical issue of punishment. The

evidence was corroborated, and was later used to procure a

conviction of a co-defendant. Additionally, the statement was

against interest and constituted a confession to a crime, and

therefore, the statement was not hearsay under Georgia law.

Under these circumstances, the exclusion of the statement

constituted a violation of the defendant's right to Due Process,

Godfrey v. Georgia, 446 U.S. 420 (1980), likewise

involved no hearsay issues. However, the Court in that case

did recognize that if the State authorizes capital punishment,

it must tailor and apply its law in a way that channels the

16

sentencer's discretion and which will make the sentencing

process rationally reviewable. This is what the Idaho

Legislature and the Idaho Supreme Court has attempted to do.

The propriety of acceptance of hearsay evidence at a

sentencing hearing was not addressed by this Court in United

States v. Tucker, 404 U.S. 443 (1972), nor was it addressed in

Roberts v. United States, 445 U.S. 552 (1980).

The Petitioner has cited absolutely no United States

authority which conflicts with the Idaho Court's interpretation

of the Idaho death penalty sentencing statutes. Therefore,

Charboneau urges the Court to decline review of this matter.

C. WEIGHING OF MITIGATING AND AGGRAVATING CIRCUMSTANCES

Again, Petitioner fails to cite even one decision of

this Court which is in conflict with the Idaho Court's

interpretation of I.C. § 19-2515(c). It is true that the Idaho

legislature enacted the present death penalty statutes in

response to relevant Opinions of this Court. However, all

states have discretion to structure their system of death

sentence imposition in their own way. Cabana v. Bullock, _474

U.S. 376 (1986). The Idaho legislature has complied with the

mandate of this Court and has structured a system by which

mitigating circumstances must be weighed against each

aggravating circumstance individually prior to imposition of

the death sentence. I.C. § 19-2515(c), (Appendix 42).

The Idano Court's interpretation and application of

the Idaho death sentence statute does not conflict with the

ruling of this Court. The fact that the Petitioner speculates

that it will be difficult to weigh mitigating circumstances

against each aggravating circumstance does not constitute a

"special and important" reason for the Court to review this

decision.

17

CONCLUSION

For the above stated reasons, Jaimi Dean Charboneau

respectfully requests that the Court deny the State's Petition

for Writ of Certiorari.

RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED ThisAY day of August, i989.

LLER

Law Offices

Box 30

Jerome, ID 83338

(208) 324-8193

18

APP. 1

APPENDIX

1989 Opinion No. _44.

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF IDAHO

Nos. 12329 and 16741

THE STATE OF IDAHO,

Plaintiff-Respondent. Boise, November 1988 Term

v. Filed: April 4, 1989

JAIMI DEAN CHARBONEAD, Frederick C. Lyon, Clerk

Defendant-Appeliant,

ee ee ee Ne ee ee ee ee ee

Appeal from the district court of the Fifth Judicial District

of the State of Idaho, in and for the County of Jerome. Honorable

Phillip M. Becker, District Judge.

Review of death sentence and appeals from conviction of first

degree murder and from denials of applications for post-conviction

relief. Conviction affirmed; sentence vacated; remanded for

resentencing.

Greg J. Fuller, of Jerome, Idaho, attorney for

appellant.

Hon. Jim Jones, Attorney General; Lynn E. Thomas,

Solicitor General, of Boise, Idaho, attorneys for

respondent. Mr. Thomas argued.

JOHNSON, J.

This is a first degree murder case that comes to us for review

of a death sentence pursuant to I.C. § 19-2827 and on appeal from

= APP. 2

the conviction and from denial of applications for post-conviction

relief. We affirm the conviction but vacate the sentence and

remand the case to the trial court for resentencing.

L

THE BACKGROUND AND PRIOR PROCEEDINGS.

Jaimi Dean Charboneau (Jaimi) was convicted of the first

degree murder of his former wife, Marilyn Arbaugh (Marilyn). Jaimi

was sentenced to death for this crime. The trial court twice

denied post-conviction relief.

Jaimi and Marilyn lived together for approximately two years

before they were married in June 1983. Marilyn had two teenage

daughters, Tiffnie and Tira. The relationship between Jaimi and

Marilyn was stormy. There is evidence that Jaimi physically abused

Marilyn. In August 1983 Marilyn shot Jaimi with a .22 caliber

pistol during a dispute. An aggravated battery charge was filed

against Marilyn but was subsequently dismissed on the motion of the

prosecuting attorney. In the spring of 1984 Marilyn filed for

divorce. A default judgment was granted on June 13, 1984. There

is evidence that Jaimi and Marilyn continued to see each other and

were sometimes intimate after the divorce.

On June 21, 1984, Jaimi went to the cafe where Marilyn worked.

They left in Marilyn’s car. There is some dispute whether Marilyn

went with Jaimi voluntarily. The next day Marilyn reported to the

police that Jaimi had kidnapped and raped her and had stolen her

car. There is evidence that Jaimi travelled to Nevada after June

21. ##The burned remains of Marilyn’s car were found in southern

Idaho in late June 1984. On June 25, 1984, Jaimi was charged in

Jerome County, Idaho with first degree kidnapping of Marilyn and

grand theft of her car.

On June 28, 1984, Jaimi purchased a .22 caliber rifle froma

hardware store in Gooding, Idaho. About mid-morning on Sunday,

July 1, 1984, Marilyn returned to her residence on a ranch near

Jerome, after being gone since the evening before. Some time after

11:00 o’clock that morning Marilyn went out to check some horses

in a corral near her home. Shortly after that Marilyn’s daughter

Tiffnie heard shots outside, grabbed Marilyn’s .22 pistol, and went

-2-

to see what had happened. She found her mother sitting on the

ground in the barn with blood on her. Jaimi was standing close to

Marilyn with a .22 caliber rifle pointed at Marilyn. Tiffnie asked

Jaimi to leave and told him she was going to call the police.

Jaimi told Tiffnie that he would take Marilyn to the doctor. Both

Marilyn and Jaimi told Tiffnie to leave.

At 11:38 that morning Tiffnie called the Jerome County

Sheriff’s office and said that Jaimi had shot her mother. Tiffnie

then told her sister Tira about the shooting, and they both got

dressed. They heard more shots and ran outside where they hid

behind a sheep wagon and called to their mother. Tiffnie had her

mother’s .22 caliber pistol with her, and it accidentally

discharged behind her. She ran into the house, hid the gun,

returned to the sheep wagon, and then ran to the barn. Tira

followed close behind. Marilyn was lying on her back with her arms

over her head. The girls ran back to call for an ambulance. At

11:42 a.m. Tira telephoned for assistance and reached the Jerome

County Sheriff’s office. She told them to get an ambulance and

that her mother was dying. When the sheriff’s deputies arrived at

the scene, they found Marilyn’s body in the barn and located Jaimi

in a field near the barn with a .22 caliber rifle lying nearby.

Jaimi was arrested and charged with first degree murder. At the

time of his arrest, Jaimi acknowledged that he had shot Marilyn,

although he stated that he did so because she was going to shoot

hin.

The Jerome County public defender (the public defender) was

appointed to represent Jaimi on the murder, kidnapping, and grand

theft charges. Prior to a preliminary hearing on these charges,

Jaimi’s mother employed a private defense attorney (the defense

attorney) to represent him. Following the preliminary hearing,

Jaimi was bound over for trial on all three charges.

Jaimi told the defense attorney that he had not kidnapped or

raped Marilyn and that he had not stolen her car. He stated that

he and Marilyn had maintained a close and intimate relationship

after their divorce, that she had been with him voluntarily on June

21 and 22, 1984, and that they had had consensual sexual

intercourse on that occasion. He said that he had purchased the

.22 caliber rifle as a present for Tira and on June 28, 1984, had

taken it with him to the ranch-where Marilyn and her daughters

lived. He told the defense attorney that he and Marilyn had

reconciled and were going to live together again, but that she

wanted him to stay in the barn until she broke the news to her

daughters.” He said that he and Marilyn had sexual relations on the

evening of June 30, 1984, and that she then left the ranch and did

not return until the next morning.

Initially, Jaimi told the defense attorney that on the morning

of July 1, 1984, Marilyn had taken the .22 caliber rifle he had

purchased for Tira into the house to remove a scope sight from it.

He said that when she returned to the barn she loaded the rifle,

pointed it at Jaimi, and pulled the trigger, but that it did not

fire. Jaimi told the defense attorney that he grabbed the rifle

from Marilyn and pulled the trigger several times while the rifle

was on his hip and Marilyn was running away. He said that he

closed his eyes while shcoting. He said that after the shooting

he took the rifle and fled to the nearby field.

Later, but prior to August 22, 1984, Jaimi told the defense

attorney that after he fired the shots at Marilyn, instead of

running directly out into the field, he had stayed around the end

of the barn. He told the defense attorney that he heard Tiffnie

talking to her mother and had looked around the corner. He said

he saw Tiffnie holding a pistol in both hands pointed at Marilyn.

Jaimi said that Tiffnie told Marilyn that Marilyn had screwed up

their lives, ruined Tira’s life, and was ruining Jaimi. He stated

that he saw Tiffnie fire a shot from the pistol and saw Marilyn’s

hair fly up.

The defense attorney contends that based on this second

version of the events of July 1, 1984, he tried to convince the

prosecuting attorney to reinvestigate the crime. On August 23,

1984, he also discussed this version in a telephone conversation

with his niece who was a psychic. Shortly after August 23, 1984,

the defense attorney received a letter from his niece in which she

reported having made contact with Marilyn through clairvoyance.

APP. 5

The letter reported Marilyn’s version of how she was killed. Among

other things, the letter intimated that Marilyn’s daughter had shot

Marilyn after Jaimi had, because she couldn’t stand to see her

mother suffer.

The defense attorney was unable to convince the prosecuting

attorney to dismiss the kidnapping and grand theft charges and to

pursue the “second gun" theory. The defense attorney then filed

a motion to dismiss the charges. At a hearing on this motion, the

defense attorney called Jaimi to testify. The district judge

carefully advised Jaimi that he could not be required to testify

and gave the defense attorney an opportunity to explain fully to

Jaimi his right to remain silent. Jaimi confirmed to the district

judge that he understood that he had the right not to testify and .

that anything he said might be used as evidence against him. Jegimi

was then sworn and testified.

In his testimony in support of the motion to dismiss Jaimi

related fully the events concerning the alleged kidnapping and

theft on June 21 and 22, 1984, as well as the events of July 1,

1984, surrounding Marilyn’s death. He testified that when Marilyn

came to the barn that morning she picked up the .22 caliber rifle

and took it into the house to remove a scope sight that had come

with it. He said that Marilyn told him that she was going to tell

the girls that day that Jaimi was there and would let Tira take the

gun to the gun range and let her sight it in. Jaimi told the court

that when Marilyn came back to the barn she had a handful of

bullets and loaded the rifle. He said that after going out to the

corrals to move some horses, he and Marilyn returned to the barn.

He said he asked Marilyn where she had been all night, and that she

told him he thought she was sleeping with every guy in the valley.

He stated that Marilyn picked up the rifle, pointed it at him, and

told him that he was dead and that no other woman was going to have

him. He said he heard a click, grabbed the barrel of the rifle and

wrestled it away from her. Jaimi testified that Marilyn screamed

for Tiffnie to bring Marilyn’s shotgun to her, and that when-he got

the rifle away from Marilyn, she turned around and ran. He said

that he saw Tiffnie coming from the house, that he had the rifle

APP. 6

at his hip, and that he thought Marilyn might be going to run

around and get another gun. He said that he closed his eyes and

that the gun went off several times. He opened his eyes and

Marilyn was on her knees and bleeding. He said that Marilyn told

Tiffnie to leave and that he told Tiffnie to call an ambulance.

He testified that as he knelt beside Marilyn, Tiffnie came running

toward them with a pistol saying, "I hate both of you guys." He

said that Tiffnie fired the pistol two or three times and that he

ran out of the barn. He stated that when he realized that Tiffnie

was not coming after him he eased back to the barn and heard

Tiffnie talking to her mocher. He testified that he saw Tiffnie

standing above her mother, heard the pistol go off, and saw

Marilyn’s hair fly up.

After the district judge denied the motion to dismiss, the

defense attorney wrote a letter to the deputy attorney general who

had been appointed as a special prosecutor in the case. In this

letter the defense attorney set forth Jaimi’s version of the events

involved in the charges against him. He also sought to have the

special prosecutor arrange for Jaimi to be given a polygraph

examination and to make his own investigation of the charges.

Subsequently, the defense attorney revealed to the special

prosecutor all the evidence and information he had regarding the

case and arranged for Jaimi to be interrogated by an investigator

from the attorney general’s office, without the defense attorney

being present. This interrogation took place and lasted over two

hours. Jaimi divulged a great many more particulars concerning

the alleged kidnapping, theft and murder.

On the motion of defense counsel venue was changed to Ada

County and the three charges were consolidated for trial. The

trial was scheduled to begin in Boise on April 15, 1985. On March

13, 1985, Jaimi indicated that he did not want the defense attorney

to continue to represent him. The trial court allowed the defense

attorney to withdraw and reappointed the public defender. Jaimi

contended that the defense attorney had delegated too much of the

investigation in the case to an investigator whom he described as

“living in some kind of a fantasy world.” Jaimi confirmed that it

APP. 7

had been his desire to testify at the hearing on the motion to

dismiss, that the decision to do so was a joint decision between

him and the defense attorney, and that he agreed that was the best

thing to do. Jaimi said he understood that if a new attorney was

appointed to represent him, the trial would begin on April 15,

1984. He told the trial court that he wanted the trial to begin

on that day. The trial court agreed that the defense attorney

would be allowed to sit at counsel table with the public defender

during the trial.

The trial began as scheduled on April 15, 1985. Before any

evidence was received, the public defender moved to preclude the

prosecution from using in any fashion Jaimi’s statements during

his testimony at the hearing on the motion to dismiss and during

his interrogation by the investigator from the attorney general’s

office. The trial court denied the motion.

At the conclusion of the prosecution’s case, the public

defender moved to dismiss the kidnapping and theft charges on the

ground that the court lacked jurisdiction, since there was no proof

that the crimes occurred in Jerome County. The trial court agreed

and dismissed the charges. The public defender then moved to

strike all of the evidence that had been admitted relating to the

kidnapping and theft cases. The court denied the motion on the

ground that the evidence would have been admissible in the murder

case in any event. The trial court informed the jury that the

charges had been dismissed. The trial then proceeded on the murder

charge.

Jaimi did not testify at the trial. The public defender chose

not to call him. The public defender felt that Jaimi’s testimony

would be “nit picked" by the prosecution, because of the

availability of Jaimi’s version of the events surrounding Marilyn’s

death provided by Jaimi’s testimony at the hearing on the motion

to dismiss, by the defense attorney’s letter to the special

prosecutor, and by Jaimi’s interrogation by the investigator for

the attorney general. The defense presented on Jaimi’s behalf was

designed to convince the jury that Jaimi shot Marilyn but did not

kill her, or, that if he did kill her, he did not intend to. The

defense argued that the killing did not amount to first degree

murder.

Among the instructions given to the jury by the trial court

was one concerning lesser included offenses. This instruction

included a provision that the jury “should consider the included

offenses only in the event the state has failed to convince you

beyond a reasonable doubt of the guilt of the accused with respect

to the crime charged."

Following the jury’s verdict that Jaimi was guilty of first

degree murder, a presentence report was prepared and the trial

court conducted sentencing hearings. At the time of these

hearings, Jaimi was represented by another private defense attorney

(the second defense attorney). At one of these sentencing hearings

a letter written to the trial judge by Marilyn’s father was

admitted in conjunction with the father’s testimony. This letter

described the relationship between Jaimi and Marilyn, including

Jaimi’s physical abuse of Marilyn and the circumstances surrounding

Marilyn’s shooting Jaimi in August 1983. The letter also discussed

Jaimi’s violent nature, his harassment of the Arbaugh family after

Marilyn’s death, the lack of any likelihood that Jaimi could be

rehabilitated, and hearsay statements that were adverse to Jaimi.

The letter had not been submitted with the presentence report, but

the presentence report contained some of the same information in

the form of statements from Marilyn’s parents. Mr. Arbaugh adopted

the letter as part of his testimony at the sentencing hearing. The

trial court admitted the letter and added, “taking into

consideration that probably great portions of it may be hearsay and

stimulated by some prejudice and sympathy, and I will take that

into consideration when reviewing it." The prosecutor asked Mr.

Arbaugh the following question: “Mr. Arbaugh, is there anything

else you would like to say to the Court as to what you think ought

to happen to Mr. Charboneau in view of the damage caused to your

family by his actions?” In response, Arbaugh stated:

Well, I think anyone that’s been around him that,

the last two years that he was loose, knows if he

was ever on the street again that the Arbaugh

family would be going through the same thing again.

He’s vowed to destroy the Arbaugh family, and you

see what he done to start with. There’s no doubt

in my mind that he wouldn’t try to kill the rest of

us.

He gave his opinion that Jaimi should be put to death or given a

fixed life sentence. The second defense attorney was given an

opportunity to cross-examine Mr. Arbaugh.

Following the sentencing hearings, the trial court made

findings concerning aggravation and mitigation and sentenced Jaimi

to death. Among the facts found by the trial court was that at the

time Tiffnie went to the barn after she heard the first shots fired

on July 1, 1984, Marilyn’s lite “probably could have been saved if

she had received the necessary medical attention." The trial court

also found that within not less than two minutes after leaving the

barn Tiffnie heard more shots. The trial court concluded:

That after firing the first volly (sic) of shots

the victim Marilyn Arbaugh was wounded but her life

could have been saved if she had received necessary

medical attention. At that moment the defendant, 5

Jaimi Charboneau had a choice. He could have saved

the woman he professed to love. However, with at

least two minutes to give thought to the matter,

the defendant, Jaimi Dean Charboneau, chose to fire

additional shots into the wounded and helpless body

of Marilyn Arbaugh. It appears from the facts that

Jaimi Dean Charboneau’ acted _ intentionally,

methodically and violently while he erased from the

face of this earth the life of a human being.

The trial court found “beyond a reasonable doubt that the facts

establish the statutory aggravating circumstances set forth in

Idaho Code Section 19-2515 (g)(5) and 19-2515 (g)(6)." The trial

court was “unable to find any mitigating circumstances which would

overcome or outweigh the aggravating circumstances."

The second defense attorney filed an application for post

conviction relief, including claims of ineffective assistance of

counsel. Following a hearing on this application, the trial court

denied the post conviction relief.

APP. 10

Following the appointment of the second defense attorney to

become a district judge, he was allowed to withdraw as Jaimi’s

attorney. The trial court then appointed another attorney (the

segond public defender) to represent Jaimi. The second public

defender filed another application for post-conviction relief

alleging, among other things, newly discovered evidence relating

to ineffective assistance of counsel. The hearing on this

application dealt with a claim that the defense attorney had relied

on “supernatural, clairvoyant phenomena to dictate his strategy in

defending Jaimi." The trial court found that the letter the

defense attorney had received from his niece shortly after

August 23, 1984, did not influence the manner in which the defense

attorney defended the case. The trial court denied post-conviction

relief.

This Court has before it the mandatory review of Jaimi’s death

sentence, together with appeals from his conviction and from the

denials of post-conviction relief. There are a plethora of issues

involved in this case. We will address each of them in turn.

7]

DID CHARBONEAU RECEIVE EFFECTIVE ASSISTANCE

OF COUNSEL?

A. The standards.

1. Federal.

This Court has recently restated the test for determining

whether a defendant has been denied effective assistance of counsel

under the Constitution of the United States: "First, a claimant

must’ prove that counsel’s performance was deficient. Second, a

claimant must show that this deficient performance prejudiced his

or her case. [Citing Strickland vy. Washington, 466 U.S. 668, 680,

104 S.Ct. 2052, 2064, 80 L.Ed. 674, 686 (1984)]}" Aragon v. State,

114 Idaho 758, ___, 760 P.2d 1174, 1176 (1988).

In Aragon this Court also pointed out that “there is a strong

presumption that counsel’s performance falls within the ‘wide range

of professional assistance,’" and that "the defendant bears tne

- 10 -

ee wee:

APP. il

burden of proof to show that ‘counsel’s representation fell below

an objective standard of reasonableness.’" Id. at __. Unless

prejudice is presumed, “the defendant must affirmatively prove

prejudice." Jd. at __—.~=o Prejudice is presumed only in cases such

as “where the defendant is denied counsel altogether, or where

counsel represents conflicting interests." Jd. at.

2. State.

In Aragon this Court cited Gibson v. State, 110 Idaho

631, 635, 718 P. 2d 283, 287 (1986) for the proposition that "‘the

Idaho Constitution potentially can be read to afford a broader

right to effective counsel than does the federal Constitution.’"

The Court then opined:

To date that has not taken place. However, as

noted in Gibson, we have not yet been -~required to

define the differences between the rights afforded

by federal and state constitutions. [Citation

omitted.}] Nor are we required to do so here. Our

review of the record persuades us that the district

court did not err in concluding that Aragon failed

to establish that counsel’s conduct contributed to

the conviction.

114 Idaho at , 760 P..2da at 1177.

From Aragon we are bound to conclude that it remains the

burden of one claiming ineffective assistance of counsel under the

Idaho Constitution to prove that “counsel’s conduct contributed to

the conviction."

The starting point in evaluating counsel’s conduct under

the state constitution remains the American Bar Association’s

standards entitled "The Defense Function." (The ABA standards).

Aragon, 114 Idaho at __, 760 P.2d at 1177.

B. The issues.

i. Jaimi’s testimony at the motion to dismiss hearing.

Reviewing Jaimi’s testimony at the hearing on the motion

to dismiss does not convince us that this testimony proves that he

was denied effective assistance of counsel. While any of us in

hindsight might conclude that Jaimi should not have testified at

-ii1-

APP. 12

the hearing and given the prosecution five months to investigate

the story he told, looking at the case as a whole, we cannot say

that Jaimi has proved that the reliability of the result at trial

would have been different if he had not testified at the hearing.

At the hearing Jaimi testified that Tiffnie had shot Marilyn

with Marilyn’s pistol after Jaimi had left the barn. Jaimi has

continued to assert this version even after his conviction and even

after his sentencing. Presumably this is the version that he would

have told, if he had testified at trial. It was Jaimi’s choice

whether to testify at trial. The public defender advised him not

to, and Jaimi accepted this advice. We can only speculate whether

his testimony would have been impeached and whether the jury would

have believed his testimony. It is Jaimi’s burden to prove that

the reliability of the result has been affected because he

testified at the hearing on the motion to dismiss. We are not

convinced that the celiability of the result was affected.

The premise of the claim of ineffective assistance of counsel

with regard to Jaimi’s pretrial testimony is that the defense

attorney placed Jaimi on the stand without any legitimate reason

or purpose. While it may not have been the game plan that other

attorneys would have followed, we may not second guess counsel’s

strategic and tactical choices. Aragon, 114 Idaho at ___, 760 P.2da

at 1177. The defense attorney testified in conjunction with the

post-conviction relief proceedings that he knew the murder case was

going to trial. He said that his objective in having Jaimi

testify at the hearing on the motion to dismiss was to “embarrass

the prosecutor into looking to the true facts" of the kidnapping

and grand theft cases. The defense attorney disavowed any

anticipation that the murder charge would be dismissed. Despite

this stated lack of anticipation during the hearing on the motion

to dismiss, the defense attorney questioned Jaimi in detail about

the -events leading to Marilyn’s death on July 1, 1984. He also

argued to the district judge that the murder charge should be

dismissed on the ground that there was not sufficient evidence

submitted at the preliminary hearing to support a finding of

probable cause. While this inconsistency is troubling to us, we

- 12 -

~ i

APP. 13

are unable to conclude that the defense attorney failed to render

effective assistance of counsel to Jaimi concerning the pretrial

testimony. ;

When confronted with the defense of serious felony charges

such as those in this case, defense counsel may have to rely on

creative and sometimes risky tactics to secure the best possible

result for a defendant. We are not prepared to say that the

decision to have a defendant testify in a pretrial proceeding is

sufficient to indicate ineffective assistance of counsel. We find

nothing in the American Bar Association’s standards relating to

“The Defense Function" that would indicate a deficiency of the

defense attorney in calling Jaimi as a witness at the hearing on

the motion to dismiss.

Three experienced and respected criminal defense attorneys

testified at the first post-conviction proceeding that it was not

competent representation for the defense attorney to have called

Jaimi as a witness at the hearing on the motion to dismiss. These

attorneys also testified that other actions of the defense attorney

constituted incompetent representation. While we are respectful

of the opinions of these attorneys, it is for us to determine in

each case whether the constitutional mandate of effective

assistance of counsel has been fulfilled. The question is one of

law and not one of fact.

2. Divulging information and evidence to special prosecutor.

The letter of the defense attorney to the special

prosecutor that was written after the hearing on the motion to

dismiss, together with the conversation of the defense attorney

with the special prosecutor, divulged all of the information and

evidence that the defense attorney and his investigator had

developed about the case. While other attorneys might not have

pursued this course, we are not persuaded that this constituted a

violation of Jaimi’s right to effective assistance of counsel.

The defense attorney’s stated purpose in divulging the

information and evidence was to convince the special prosecutor to

conduct an independent investigation. The defense attorney

believed that if the special prosecutor and his investigators would

- 13 <=

ae

APP. 14

pursue this investigation they would conclude that Jaimi was

telling the truth and the cases would be resolved favorably. This

may seem like a naive plan to those looking back now, but it is

apparent that at the time, the.defense attorney was convinced that

this was the best course of action. He testified later that he

wanted a polygraph examination of Jaimi and hoped that the special

prosecutor would be persuaded by the investigation to give Jaimi

the examination at state expense. He stated that resources were

not available to him to have the examination otherwise. He stated

that he did not believe that the district judge would have granted

Jaimi the right to have a polygraph examination at county expense.

Even though divulging this information and evidence by the

defense attorney did not produce the result the defense attorney

wanted, we are not persuaded that it was ineffective assistance for

the defense attorney to have tried this tactic. There is no

portion of the ABA standards that prohibits disclosures such as

these by a defense attorney. It is true that Standard 4-3.1

requires that "the lawyer should explain the obligation of

confidentiality which makes privileged the accused’s disclosures

relating to the case." Here, Jaimi had already testified to his

actions in relationship to the charges. The defense attorney

divulged nothing new about Jaimi’s version. The other information

and evidence divulged by the defense attorney was the result of

investigation by the defense attorney and his investigator, not

what Jaimi had told then.

3, Jaimi’s interrogation by the investigator.

The interrogation of Jaimi by the investigator from the

attorney general’s office was merely an extension of the plan that

the defense attorney had initiated by divulging the information and

evidence that were contained in his letter to the special

prosecutor and his conversation with the special prosecutor and his

investigators. We are not persuaded that allowing Jaimi to be

interrogated by the investigator without counsel being present

constituted ineffective assistance of counsel.

The defense attorney testified in the first post-conviction

proceeding that he discussed the interrogation with Jaimi before

- 14 -

APP. 15

it occurred, that he explained Jaimi’s right to remain silent, and

that Jaimi agreed that he should submit to the interrogation.

4. Failure to apply for funds to assist in the defense and

failure to employ experts.

The defense attorney did not apply to the trial court for

funds to investigate or to employ experts. No facts are asserted

that would have been discovered by additional investigation. No

expert testimony is offered that could have been produced if funds

had been sought from the trial court. In the absence of this

proof, we find no evidence of ineffective assistance of counsel on

these grounds.

5. Inadequate investigation.

The defense attorney employed an investigator whom the

defense attorney later described as a "flake." Jaimi now complains

that the defense attorney did not investigate the charges

thoroughly enough. Standard 4-4.1 of the ABA standards sets out

the defense attorney’s duty to investigate the circumstances of

Jaimi’s case. Jaimi has not presented any evidence in order to

substantiate that an inadequate investigation affected the outcome

of the case.

6. Inadequate preparation for trial and failure to request

continuance.

The public defender was appointed to replace the defense

attorney approximately three weeks prior to trial. The public

defender testified at the rirst post-conviction proceeding that he

found that the case was not prepared for trial. He stated that he

should have requested that the trial court vacate the trial to

allow him to investigate the case further and to prepare for trial.

No evidence has been offered as to what new facts or defenses could

have been developed if the trial had been continued and further

preparation conducted.

7. Consolidation of cases.

The defense attorney sought and obtained the

consolidation of the trials on the three charges on the premise

that it would be to Jaimi’s advantage to have all the facts

concerning the events from June 21 through July 1, 1984, presented

- 15 -

bis

APP. 16

to the jury. Although many defense attorneys might not agree with

this approach, we are not prepared to say that this choice amounted

to ineffective assistance of counsel.

In his testimony at the first post-conviction proceeding the

defense attorney described his reason for seeking’ the

consolidation:

Well, ... they were all so interrelated that the

only way that we could show that it was really the

intent of Marilyn to murder Jaimi, rather than the

other way around, that and from what Jaimi had told

us that he had wrestled the gun, that she pointed

the rifle at him and pulled the trigger, but it

didn’t go off, and that he took the gun away from

her, and then is when she went dancing down the

hall and when he shot her, and none that of (sic)

would have had any meaning to the jury at all

unless they had the whole scenario which would

include the phoney (sic) rape allegation and the

phony kidnap allegation.

He also testified that he discussed the motion with Jaimi before

it was made.

Standard 4-5.2 of the ABA standards provides that the only

decisions that must be made by the accused after full consultation

with counsel are what plea to enter, whether to waive jury trial,

and whether to testify. This standard states:

(b) The decisions on what witnesses to call,

whether and how to conduct cross-examination, what

jurors to accept or strike, what trial motions

should be made, and all other strategic and

tactical decisions are the exclusive ~~ovince of

the lawyer after consultation with the client.

There was no obligation for the defense attorney to leave the

decision on whether to request consolidation to Jaimi. We will not

second guess the decision.

8. Reliance on clairvoyance.

In the decision on the second application for post-

conviction relief the trial court found that none of the evidence

directly established that the letter the defense attorney received

- 16 =

, alk a

APP. 17

from his niece about her clairvoyant contact with Marilyn had any

influence on the manner in which the defense attorney defended the

case. Our review of the record confirms this finding. Jaimi

claims that the defense attorney relied upon his niece’s

clairvoyant contact with MHarilyn and, therefore, did not

investigate any alternative defenses. Standard 4-4.1 of the ABA

standards sets out the defense attorney’s duty to investigate the

circumstances of Jaimi’s case. We conclude that this standard was

not violated. The discussion of the defense attorney with his

niece concerning Tiffnie’s participation in the death of her mother

occurred after Jaimi had related his new version of the facts to

the defense attorney. There is no evidence to support the

supposition that Jaimi’s new version implicating Tiffnie was

provoked by the clairvoyance of the defense attorney’s niece or the

defense attorney’s belief in it. In the absence of such evidence

we are not prepared to use reliance on clairvoyance as a basis for

ineffective assistance of counsel.

9. Failure to have psychological or psychiatric examination.

Jaimi asserts that the public defender or the defense

attorney should have advised him about being examined by a

psychiatrist or a psychologist before trial. No evidence is

vuffered that would establish any defense for Jaimi through such

expert testimony. The psychologist who examined Jaimi after his

conviction and who testified in conjunction with the sentencing did

not offer any opinion that would excuse the killing. His testimony

indicated only that there was some possibility that Jaimi could be

rehabilitated. We are unable to conclude that the failure to have

Jaimi examined before the trial constituted ineffective assistance

of counsel.

10. Excessive use of alcohol.

Jaimi contends that the defense attorney came to his cell

on many occasions when the defense attorney was under the influence

of alcohol. Even if we assume these allegations are true, no

evidence is offered to show in what way this affected the defense

attorney’s representation of Jaimi.

-17-

APP. 18

11. Failure to object to evidence and to request mistrial.

The prosecutor referred in his opening statement to two

"hot" checks that Jaimi had reportedly written in Battle Mountain,

Nevada. When the checks were offered, the public defender

objected, and the checks were not admitted. Jaimi argues that the

failure of the public defender to object to the statement of the

prosecutor and to move for a mistrial constituted ineffective

assistance of counsel. We cannot agree. No ection is made

between the checks and the murder. We must assume that the jury

followed the instructions of the trial court and made its judgment

in the case based on the evidence presented and not on statements

of counsel concerning evidence that was not connected with the

homicide.

12. Failure to request a new trial.

Jaimi asserts that the public defender should have moved

for a new trial. Ne basis for such 4 motion is suggested. We find

no basis for supporting an ineffective assistance of counsel claim

on this ground.

AS TO PART II: SHEPARD, C.J., BAKES and HUNTLEY, JJ., concur.

BISTLINE, J., dissents.

Il.

WAS THE LESSER INCLUDED OFFENSE INSTRUCTION

ERRONEOUS?

Jaimi asserts that the trial court erred in giving the jury

Instruction No. 15, concerning lesser included offenses. Tais

instruction stated:

The law permits the jury to find the defendant

guilty of any lesser offense which is necessarily

included in the crime charged in the Information,

whenever such a course is consistent with the facts

found by the jury from the evidence in the case,

and with the law as given in the instructions of

the Court.

When you are deliberating with respect to each

count, you should first consider the crime charged.

You should consider the included offenses only in

the event the State has failed to convince you

- 18 -

APP. 19

beyond a reasonable doubt of the guilt of the

accused with respect to the crime charged.

The jury will bear in mind that the burden is

always upon the Prosecution to prove beyond a

reasonable doubt every essential element of any

lesser offense which is necessarily included in any

crime charged in the Information; the law never

imposes upon a defendant in a criminal case the

burden or duty of calling any witnesses or

producing any evidence.

Jaimi argues that the second sentence of the second paragraph

of this instruction required the jury to agree unanimously to

acquit Jaimi of first degree murder before they could consider any

lesser included offenses. In support of this position Jaimi

presents the instruction given by the trial court which states:

"The verdict reached in this case must be unanimous, that is, you

must agree unanimously as to whether the defendant is guilty or not

guilty as regards any offense." State v. Korbel, 231 Kan. 657, 647

P.2a 1301 (1982) is cited as a basis for Jaimi’s position on the

error asserted. We find no error in the instruction given on

lesser included offenses.

The major premise of the argument that Instruction No. 15 was

erroneous is that the words “failed to convince you beyond a

reasonable doubt" would be interpreted by the jury to mean “if you

unanimously agree." The fallacy in this major premise is that the

words "failed to convince you beyond a reasonable doubt" could

reasonably only be interpreted by the jury to mean "if you cannot

; agree." These are precisely the words that the Kansas Supreme

Court found to cure any problem with the instruction that was at

issue in Korbel.

Instruction No. 15 allowed the jury to consider lesser

included offenses if they could not agree that Jaimi was guilty of

first degree murder. That was a correct statement of the law. We

note that in State v. Gilman, 105 Idaho 891, 673 P.2d 1085, (Ct.

App. 1983) rev. den. (1984) our Court of Appeals considered an

instruction relating to lesser included offenses. The comparable

language in the instruction at issue there was: “If you are not

satisfied beyond a reasonable doubt that the defendant is guilty

- 19 -

APP. 20

of (the offense charged], you may still find him guilty of any such

lesser offense ...." Id. at 897, 673 P.2d at 1091. While the

point at issue in Gilman was not the same as presented here, our

Court of Appeals did not question the propriety of this portion of

the instruction. We denied review of the case. We are reinforced

in our conclusion here by the implicit approval of this similar

language in the instruction in Gilman.

AS TO PART III: SHEPARD, C.J., BAKES, BISTLINE and HUNTLEY,

JJ., concur.

IV.

FAILURE TO SUPPRESS USE OF JAIMI’S TESTIMONY AT

THE HEARING ON THE MOTION TO DISMISS AND HIS

STATEMENTS IN THE INTERVIEW WITH THE

INVESTIGATOR FOR THE ATTORNEY GENERAL.

Jaimi asserts that the trial court erred when it refused to

suppress the use of the testimony he gave at the hearing on the

motion to dismiss and the statements he made in his interview with

the investigator for the attorney general’s office. The motion to

suppress was presented to the court before the receipt of any

evidence in the trial of this case. In denying the motion the

trial court stated:

Well, my ruling will be as follows, and for

the record I want to make it clear why I am rvling

the way I am. As I related to you last evening at

the conclusion of your motion, at the time we had

the motion to dismiss hearing and at which time Mr.

Charboneau did testify, I was very careful, I feel,

in admonishing the defendant and advising him of

his right to remain silent, that he did not have to

testify, that if he did testify that anything he

may say, that he would say, may later be used

against him. We went into a second day on that

hearing, and again on the second day I admonished

him. I don’t know what else you can do. I think he

has the right if he so desires to waive his right

to remain silent. He has the right to take the

witness stand. He has the right to give testimony.

In this motion he wants me to suppress it because

he waived his right to remain silent and made a

statement.

- 20 -

APP. 21

And it’s interesting for the record to note

that Mr. Charboneau through counsel filed a lawsuit

in Jerome County in a habeas corpus action alleging

that we were violating his First Amendment right to

freedom of speech. And a similar action involving

Mr. Charboneau against the Sheriff of Jerome County

is pending in Federal Court again alleging that

he’s violated Mr. Charboneau’s right to freedom of

speech, his First Amendment right. So it’s a

little inconsistent when on one hand you’re

complaining that his rights to remain silent were

violated because he waived that right and took the

stand, and then on the other hand he’s complaining

because we are violating his rights to freedom of

speech. Inconsistent.

That’s a lengthy way to get to my ruling, but

I want it as a matter of this record so that in

review of this matter the higher court will know

why I am ruling the way I an. The motion is

denied. The State has the right to use the

testimony from that hearing on the motion to

dismiss, and the State has the right to use the

interview between the defendant and Mr. Carr in all

respects.

The record of the hearing*on the motion to dismiss indicates

that Jaimi was given ample advice both by the district judge and

by the defense attorney of his right to remain silent. The

interview between Jaimi and the investigator for the attorney

general’s office tcok place at the request of the defense attorney.

Jaimi consented to talk with the investigator, was advised of his

constitutional rights before the interview, and waived those

constitutional rights.

To the extent that the State relied at the trial on any of

Jaimi’s testimony at the hearing on the motion to dismiss or his

statements to the investigator for the attorney general’s office

there was no violation of Jaimi’s rights. In fact, the record

indicates that at trial the State did not attempt to rely on

Jaimi’s testimony at the hearing and used only a very minor portion

of his statements to the investigator.

AS TO PART IV: SHEPARD, C.J., BAKES, BISTLINE and HUNTLEY,

JJ., concur.

- 21 -

WAS PREJUDICIAL EVIDENCE ADMITTED ENTITLING

JAIMI TO A NEW TRIAL?

Jaimi asserts that the trial court admitted inadmissible

prejudicial evidence entitling Jaimi to a new trial. While it is

not entirely clear from the brief filed on Jaimi’s behalf, the

following are apparently the items of evidence that are referred

to in this issue:

Pictures of Marilyn’s two children.

Pictures of Marilyn’s vehicle showing the vehicle

identification numbers had been either totally or partially

removed.

Testimony of Marilyn’s boyfriend as to statements Marilyn made

on June 30, 1984, regarding Jaimi.

The record indicates that the only motion for new trial filed

on behalf of Jaimi related to newly discovered evidence. In the

absence of a motion for new trial on the basis of the allegedly

inadmissible prejudicial evidence, there is no proper basis to

bring this issue before this Court. In any event, we see no error

in the trial court’s admission of the evidence questioned in this

issue. The only portion of this evidence that raises any question

of impropriety is the testimony of Marilyn’s boyfriend who was out

with her the night before her death. The defense offered evidence

of the relationship of Marilyn and Jaimi up to the time of her

death. In rebuttal the State offered the testimony of the

boyfriend as to statements made to him by Marilyn the night before

her death about her relationship with Jaimi. The boyfriend’s

testimony indicated that Marilyn told him she was worried because

she did not know where Jaimi was. That testimony was admissible

under I.R.E. 803, as evidence of her existing state of mind.

AS TO PART V: SHEPARD, C.J., BAKES, BISTLINE and HUNTLEY,

JJ., concur. .

= 22 =<

_*

APP. 23

VI.

FAILURE TO STRIKE EVIDENCE OF GRAND THEFT AND

KIDNAPPING AFTER DISMISSAL OF THOSE CHARGES.

Jaimi asserts that the trial court erred by failing to strike

from the record all evidence pertaining to the grand theft and

kidnapping charges after those charges had been dismissed for lack

of jurisdiction. At the time the trial court denied the motion to

strike this evidence, the district judge stated that the evidence

pertaining to the grand theft and kidnapping would have been

admissible, even if those charges had not been filed and

consolidated with the first degree murder charge. The district

judge stated: "This thing occurred over a period of some ten or

twelve days and I think the jury needs the benefit of all of that

testimony in order to properly arrive at a decision, whichever way

they decide." We agree.

I.R.E. 404(b) provides:

Evidence of other crimes, wrongs, or acts is not

admissible to prove the character of a person in

order to show that he acted in conformity

therewith. It may, however, be admissible for

other purposes, such as proof of motive,

opportunity, intent, preparation, plen, knowledge,

identity, or absence of mistake or accident.

In State v. Needs, 99 Idaho 883, 892-93, 591 P.2d 130, 139-40

(1979) this Court approved the admission of evidence that two weeks

prior to the homicide the defendant assaulted the victim with a

butcher knife on the grounds that the evidence of this assault

tended to show the defendant’s motive or intent. We believe the

same is true of the evidence of the kidnapping and grand theft

here. The circumstances of these acts indicated the hostility of

Jaimi toward Marilyn.

AS TO PART VI: SHEPARD, C.J., BAKES and HUNTLEY, JJ., concur.

BISTLINE, J., dissents.

APP. 24

Vil.

WAS THE EVIDENCE SUFFICIENT

TO SUPPORT THE VERDIUiI?

Jaimi asserts that there was not sufficient evidence to

Bupport the verdict of the jury. We disagree.

As this Court has pointed out in another recent first degree

murder case where this same issue was presented:

In analyzing appellant’s contention, the

appropriate standard of review is whether there is

substantial competent evidence to support the

jury’s verdict. (citations omitted) Our function

on uppeal is to examine the supporting evidence,

not to place ourselves in the jury’s position or

reweigh the significance of evidence as it relates

to specific elements. (Citations omitted. ] On

appeal, all facts, and inferences to be drawn from

those facts, are construed in favor of upholding

the lower court decision.

State v. Aragon, 107 Idaho 358, 366, 690 P.2d 293, 301 (1984).

The evidence in this case, together with the inferences that

the jury could have drawn from that evidence, provide a sufficient

basis for the verdict of the jury. Jaimi had previously

perpetrated several acts of violence toward Marilyn. He had also

made threats to kill her. He purchased the rifle a few days before

Marilyn’s death. Shortly before Marilyn’s death Tiffnie heard

shots. When she went to the barn to investigate, Tiffnie observed

Jaimi holding a rifie pointed at Marilyn as Marilyn sat wounded on

the ground. A short time later, Tiffnie and Tira heard more shots

and found their mother apparently dead. Jaimi was found by the

investigating officers in a nearby field with the rifle lying

nearby. At the time of his apprehension Jaimi acknowledged to tne

arresting officers that he had shot Marilyn. These facts and the

inferences were sufficient for the jury to find that Jaimi

unlawfully killed Marilyn with malice aforethought, wilfulness,

deliberation, and premeditation. State v. Warden, 100 Idaho 21,

592 P.2d 836 (1973).

- 24 -

AS TO PART VII: SHEPARD, C.J., BAKES and HUNTLEY, JJ.,

concur.

BISTLINE, J., expresses no opinion.

Vill.

POST-CONVICTION HEARINGS.

A. The first hearing. -

Jaimi asserts that the findings of fact and conclusions

cf law of the trial court after the first post-conviction hearing

were erroneous. This hearing dealt with the alleged ineffective

assistance of counsel. We have reviewed the findings cf fact in

light of the evidence submitted at the hearing and find that these

findings were supported by substantial competent evidence. The

conclusions of law announced by the trial court are consistent with

our conclusions here as to the ineffective assistance of counsel

based on the facts submitted at the hearing. We find no error in

then.

B. The second hearing.

1. Failure to consider evidence.

At the second post-conviction hearing the trial court limited

the evidence to matters that were not presented on the original

application for post-conviction relief. At the hearing the primary

issue that was addressed was the purported reliance of the defense

attorney on clairvoyance in preparing Jaimi’s defense. The public

deZender also testified regarding his state of preparation before

trial and how the errors of the defense attorney prejudiced his

ability to defend Jaimi. Jaimi asserts that the trial court failed

to consider the testimony of the public defender at this hearing.

The transcript of the second post-conviction hearing reveals

that the trial court allowed testimony of the public defender

relating to matters that were considered at the first hearing “for

foundation purposes in order to make more clear [the] testimony in

this matter." The trial court stated definitely that it was not

going back and adjudicating any of those issues that it had already

ruled on in the original application. The second defense attorney

stated to the trial court that he did not intend to relitigate

- 25 -

-_

APP. 26

those issues, “but rather to show how those issues affected the

trial stage of this case." The trial court then commented:

For guidance, counsel, I will agree with you, that

if you are going to proceed on this amended

application for post-conviction relief, alleging

that the defendant’s Sixth Amendment rights were

violated, you do have to show not only that they

were violated but how they affected the trial of

this case, so I would allow you to show that and,

likewise, go back into it. ... But I’m not going

to relitigate any of those other issues.

In the findings of fact and conclusions of law rendered by

the trial court after the second post-conviction hearing, the trial

court stated that the only new issue raised concerned a claim that

the defense attorney relied “on supernatural, clairvoyant phenomena

to dictate his strategy in defending Jaimi Charboneau and,

therefore, allegedly rendered ineffective the assistance of counsel

provided by [the defense attorney])."

We conclude from this record that the trial court did not

intend to consider the testimony of the public defender that went

beyond this new issue, except by way of background. We agree that

this was proper. Essentially, Jaimi contends that the trial court

failed to consider the effect that the defense attorney’s reliance

on clairvoyance had on the public defender’s ability to render

effective assistance to Jaimi in the trial. The fallacy in this

position is that in its findings and conclusions after the second

post-conviction hearing the trial court concluded that clairvoyance

played no part in the strategy for Jaimi’s defense developed by the

defense attorney. Therefore, we conclude that there was no basis

for the trial court to rule that this strategy affected the public

defender’s defense of Jaimi.

2. Were the findings and conclusions erroneous?

Jaimi asserts that the findings of fact and conclusions

of law rendered by the trial court after the second post-conviction

hearing were erroneous. We have reviewed those findings and

conclusions. The findings of fact are supported by substantial

competent evidence. The conclusions of law are in concurrence with

- 26 -

mm -

App. 27

our own conclusions contained in this opinion concerning the

relationship of clairvoyance to the effective assistance of

counsel.

AS TO PART VIII: SHEPARD, C.J., BAKES and HUNTLEY, JJ.,

concur. mn

BISTLINE, J., expresses no opinion.

rx.

SENTENCING.

A. Participation of jury.

Jaimi asserts that the imposition of the death penalty

with no participation by the jury in the sentencing process

violates the sixth, eighth, and fourteenth amendments to the

Constitution of the United States. He also contends that the

sentence was unconstitutional because he was denied a jury

determination of the aggravating circumstances enumerated in I.C.

§ 19-2515(g).

In 1983 this Court held “that there is no _ federal

constitutional requirement of jury participation in the sentencing

process and that the decision to have jury participation in the

sentencing process, as contrasted with judicial discretion

sentencing, is within the policy determination of the individual

states." State v. Creech, 105 Idaho 362, 373, 670 P.2d 463, 474

(1983) cert. den. 465 U.S. 1051, 104 S.Ct. 1327, 79 L.Ed.2d 722

(1984). See also State v. Sivak, 105 Idaho 900, 902, 674 P.2d 396,

398 (1983) cert. den. 458 U.S. 1220, 104 S.Ct. 3591, 82 L.Ed.2d

8&7, (1984); State v. Fetterly, 109 Idaho 766, 710 P.2d 1202

(1985) cert. den., 479 U.S. 870, 107 S.Ct. 239, 93 L.Ed.2d 164

(1986); State v. Fain, Slip Op. No. (released today). In 1984

the United States Supreme Court upheld death sentencing by trial

judges. Spaziano vy. Florida, 468 U.S. 447, 104 S.Ct. 3154, 82

L.Ed.2d 340 (1984).

This Court has also held “that Art. 1, § 7, of the Idaho

Constitution does not require the participation of a jury in the

sentencing process in a capital case." Sivak, 105 Idaho at 904,

674 P.2d at 400. See also Fain, Slip Op. No. __—s (released today).

= 27 <-

a SaaS SaaS

2515(g) “Linke |

factual findinga,' “ ;

deciding wnetner thief a 34 Us.

1323, 98 S.Ct, @, 5¢:h. Bg. 34° U8, O42, 98°

S.Ct. 49, $4 L. 8d, PY i 6q° 1 Ray ‘ ie $f, .eisting as a

circuit justice,” ‘denied’ bei Pel tengion to Ghepbnsicn of an order |

denying certiorari oF, in thea} Sena tiiice,. der ata ¥ Of execution.

8

Applicant solens b

for rehearing chat was Pe.

Arizona Supreme Court er in ua pas zt tion

for certiorari. A Oo aeh, ay FDA: 2 pizgna

statute violates a th

Amendments in Aa " Ky

into the deterninat 3

mitigating circumsts ¢ cs ch

jury input would oat Y: az

this Court’s decision in | i

U.S. 242, 96 S.Ct. 2960, 9@

yay

434 U.S. at 1325, 98 U.S. at 9, 8a" a

Jaimi correctly points out that SH

the entire Supreme Court, but oply WR

argues that McM an enr aia! i

91 L.Ed.2d 67 (1986) supports his pa tig by

interesting that Justice

Court in McMillan, including SPS. gh

Amendment right to jury ef

on specific findings of fact.4 : Y Or

91 L.Ed.2d at 76. In his detail 9

for the proposition: “Sentenci F,

circumstances of an oftang citys ab aa ‘ Meter iat

RBS te Leh Rog ik tag

punishment, and we have cons Laanedy fre :

that mandate consideration of + akatind Say ae” ey -

477 U.S. at 88, 106 S.Ct. at 2420, 9} L.Ed. alae 76. TRA erux of

the decision in MceMillan was the eppelugion Shale she foqtiag isgue

there -- visible possession of a fireays “r Wag Rat aw elagent af

the crimes for which the defendants! were cepvicted, but were

- 28 - a

APP, 29

instead “a sentencing factor that comes into play only after the

defendant has been found guilty ...." McMillan, 477 U.S. at 84, 106

S.Ct. at 2416, 91 L.Ed.2d at 72. That is how we view the

aggravating circumstances listed in I.C. § 19-2515(g).

To accept Jaimi’s argument that the jury must be involved in

determining whether aggravating circumstances exist, we would have

to conclude that the aggravating circumstances listed in I.c. § 19-

2515(g) are elements of first degree murder. We are unable to

reach that conclusion. The circumstances listed in the statute are

clearly circumstances to be considered in sentencing and not

elements of first degree murder. It is not unconstitutional for

a judge, instead of a jury, to determine whether any of the

aggravating circumstances listed in the statute exist.

Our opinion in this aspect of the case is not changed by the

décision of the Ninth Circuit in Adamson v. Ricketts, 865 F.2d 1011

(9th Cir. 1988}. In Adamson the Ninth Circuit held Arizona’s death

penalty sentencing statutes to be in violation of the sixth

amendment. During ceargument of this case to determine what impact

Adamson might have on our opinion here, the solicitor general for

the state of Idaho acknowledged that there is no significant

difference between the Arizona death penalty sentencing statutes

and those of Idaho. Nevertheless, we are not convinced that

Adamson correctly states the requirements of the sixth amendment

on this issue.

Judicial sentencing in capital cases does not violate the

sixth amendment. Spazianc vy. Florida, 468 U.S. 447, 104 §&.Ct.

3154, 82 L.Ed.2d 340 (1984). Adamson attempts to distinguish

Spazgiano on the ground that in Spaziano “the Court never reached

the particular contention Adamson has raised: that Arizona’s

capital sentencing statute requires the judge to determine elements

of the offense charged, thereby taking this factual element out of

the jury’s hands in violation of the Sixth Amendment." 865 F.2d

at 1028. We disagree.

In Spaziano the Court noted that the Florida capital

sentencing statute that was at issue directed the sentencing judge

“to determine whether statutory aggravating circumstances were

= 29 -

APP, 30

outweighed by statutory mitigating circumstances." 468 U.S. 450

n.4, 104 S.Ct. at 3157 n.4, 82 L.Ed.2d at 343 n.4. The Florida

statute was similar in the important aspects to those portions of

I.C. § 19-2515 relating to death penalty sentencing. The Florida

statute provided that the sentencing judge should weigh the

aggravating and mitigating circumstances. If the judge imposed a

sentence of death, the judge was required to set forth in writing

“findings upon which the sentence of death is based as to the

tracts: (a) That sufficient aggravating circumstances exist as

enumerated in subsection (5), and (6) That there are insufficient

mitigating circumstances to outweigh the aggravating

circumstances.” 1972 Fla. Laws, ch. 72-724, Sec. 921.141(3)(b).

The aggravating circumstances enumerated in the Florida law at

issue in Spaziano were similar in some respects to those contained

in I.C. § 19-2515(g). Significantly, one of the aggravating

circumstances in Florida was: “The capital felony was especially

heinous, atrocious, or cruel." 1972 Fla. Laws, ch. 72-724,

Sec. 921.141(6)(h). This is substantially the same as I.C. § 19-

2515(g)(5) that is at issue here, except thet our statute adds the

qualifying phrase, “manifesting exceptional depravity."

The Florida Supreme Court noted in its decision “the trial

judge found that the circumstances of the offense were especially

heinous, atrocious, and cruel, and secondly, found that the

defendant was previously convicted of felonies involving the use

or threat of violence to the person." Spazgiano v. State, 393 So.2d

1119 (Fla. 1981). On certiorari the United States Supreme Court

held:

The fact that a capital sentencing is like a trial

in the respects significant to the Double Jeopardy

Clause, however, does not mean that it is like a

trial in respects significant to the Sixth

Amendment’s guarantee of a jury trial. ... The

sentencer, whether judge or jury, has a

constitutional obligation to evaluate the unique

circumstances of the individual defendant and the

sentencer’s decision for life is final.

» (467 U.S. 203, 104 S.Ct. 2305, 81 L.Ed.2d

164 (1984}]. More important, despite its unique

aspects, a capital sentencing proceeding invoives

the same fundamental issue involved in any other

- 30 -

APP. 31

sentencing proceeding--a determination of the

appropriate punishment to be imposed on an

individual. [Citations omitted, except) Williams

» 337 U.S. 241, 247-249, 69 S.Ct. 1079,

1083-1084, 93 L.Ed. 1337 (1949). The Sixth

Amendment never has been thought to guarantee a

right to a jury determination of that issue.

468 U.S. at 454, 104 S.Ct. at 3161, 82 L.Ed.2d at 347.

These comments were made by the Court in considering death penalty

sentencing by a judge under a statute substantially similar to our

statute and with findings of aggravating circumstances similar to

those here. This convinces us that the Court inherently considered

and rejected the premise of the Ninth Circuit in Adamson: that a

capital sentencing statute that requires the judge to determine

aggravating circumstances takes this factual element out of the

jury’s hands in violation of the sixth amendment.

AS TO PART IX(A): SHEPARD, C.J., and BAKES, J., concur.

BISTLINE and HUNTLEY, JJ., dissent.

B. The letter from Marilyn’s father.

1. Hearsay.

Jaimi asserts that it was a violation of the hearsay rule

for the trial court to admit the letter written by Marilyn’s

father. We agree.

Prior to the sentencing hearings, the second defense attorney

filed a motion “for a formal sentencing hearing in accordance with

the provisions of Idaho Code §§ 19-2515, 19-2516, and that the

defendant be afforded all of the rights, both procedural ard

substantive, therein provided." I.C. § 19-2516 states:

The circumstances [in aggravation or mitigation of

punishment) must be presented by the testimony of

witnesses examined in open court, except that when

a witness is so sick or infirm as to be unable to

attend, his deposition may be taken by a magistrate

of the county, out of court, upon such notice to

the adverse party as the court may direct. No

affidavit or testimony, or representation of any

kind, verbal or written, can be offered to or

received by the court, or a judge thereof, in

aggravation or mitigation of the punishment, except

as provided in this and the preceding section.

-31-

ROLE ak EE

APP. 32

I.C. § 19-2515(d) provides for a presentence investigation in all

death penalty cases anc states that c<fter the investigation the

court shall “convene a sentencing hearing for the purpose of

hearing all relevant evidence and arguments of counsel in

aggravation and mitigation of the offense. At such hearing, the

state and the defendant shall be entitled to present all relevant

evidence in aggravation and mitigation."

This Court has approved the consideration by a sentencing

judge in a death penalty case of the presentence investigation

report provided for in I.C. § 19-2515(d), despite the requirement

for live testimony in I.C. § 19-2516. State v. Creech, 105 Idaho

362, 670 P.2d 463 (1983). In reaching its decision in that case

this Court stated: “We hold that the closing language of I.C.

§ 19-2516 clearly and unambiguously provides an exception to the

otherwise required oral testimony and that those authorizations of

I.C. § 19-2535 fall within the purview of the intended exception."

105 Idaho at 368, 670 P.2d at 469. We note that in Creech the

defendant had “demanded that the entire sentencing record be

produced by live witnesses testifying in open court, basing his

demand on I.C. §§ 19-2515 -2516 and the case law interpreting those

statutes." 105 Idaho at 365, 670 P.2d at 466. Cf. State y.

Coutts, 101 Idaho 110, 609 P.2d 642 (1980) and State v. Osborn, 102

Idaho 405, 631 P.2d 187 (1981) (no demand for a formal sentencing

pursuant to I.C. § 19-2516).

The letter in question here was not part of a presentence

report. Even if it had been, the hearsay could only have been

included “where the presentence investigator believes that the

information is reliable." I.C.R. 32(e)(1). Although the letter

was offered and admitted at the time Mr. Arbaugh was testifying,

permitting cross-examination of Mr. Arbauvgh as to the statements

made in the letter, this did not cure the hearsay nature of the

statements. We construe I.C. § 19-2515(d) to permit the parties

in a formal sentencing hearing to present all relevant evidence

that would otherwise be admissible. Under Creech the contents of

presentence investigation reports are an exception to this

- 32 -

APP. 33

requirement. The State would have us also except from the

requirement for live testimony under I.C. § 19-2516 “all relevant

evidence" as referred to in I.C. § 19-2515(d). This interpretation

would make relevant hearsay admissible in a sentencing hearing,

even though it was not included in a presentence investigation

report.

We note that the Idaho Rules of Evidence, except those with

respect to privileges, do not apply to sentencing proceedings.

I.R.E. 101(@)(3). Therefore, there is no conflict between I.C. §

19-2515(d) and these rules that would render the statute of no

force or effect under I.R.E. 1102. However, if we were to allow

all relevant hearsay to be admitted in formal death penalty

sentencing hearings we would destroy the requirement of I.C.R.

32(e)(1) that hearsay included in presentence reports be only that

which the presentence investigator believes is reliable. The

practice would quickly become for hearsay to be offered at the

hearing rather than through the presentence report. Therefore, we

hold that the letter should not have been admitted.

We are not dissuaded from our conclusion on this issue by the

statement of the trial court in the written sentencing findings

that he had “endeavored to avoid anything that might be hearsay,

not absolutely pertinent or not totally supported by the evidence."

(FINDINGS OF THE COURT IN CONSIDERING DEATH PENALTY UNDER I.C. 19-

2515, p. 13) In a matter as awesome as the decision whether to

impose the death penalty, a strict compliance with the procedures

for sentencing is required. Even a well intentioned and

conscientious effort by the trial court to avoid considering the

hearsay contained .in the letter does not suffice.

AS TO PART IX B(1): HUNTLEY, J., concurs.

BAKES, and BISTLINE, JJ., concur in the result.

SHEPARD, C.J., dissents.

Victim impact statement.

Jaimi also asserts that Mr. Arbaugh’s letter should not

have been admitted because it was a victim impact statement (VIS),

prohibited in death penalty cases by Booth v. Maryland, 428 U.S.

- 33 -

APP. 34

496, 107 S.Ct. 2529, 96 L.Ed.2d 440 (1987). We agree. We also

take this opportunity te advise the trial court on resentencing to

apply Booth to the VIS contained in the presentence report.

In Booth the Court held that the introduction of a VIS at the

sentencing phase of a capital murder case violates the eighth

amendment to the United States Constitution. The Court held

invalid a Maryland statute that requires consideration of a VIS

describing the effect of the crime on the victim and the victim’s

family. Here, the State filed a motion for the crial court to

receive Mr. Arbaugh’s letter into evidence pursuant to I.C. § 19-

5306(1)(b) and (3). That statute provides:

(1) Upon request, each victim of a felony offense

shall be:

(b) Consulted by the presentence investigator

during preparation of the presentence report and

~ have included in that report a statement of the

impact which the defendant’s criminal conduct has

had upon the victim;

(3) The provisions of this section shall apply

equally to the immediate families of homicide

victims or immediate families of victims of such

youthful age or incapacity as precludes them from

exercising these rights personally.

This statute is similar to the Maryland statute considered by the

Court in Booth.

The presentence report contains an indication that the

investigator received both written and oral comments from Marilyn’s

parents. These comments were included in the report as a VIS.

This VIS refers to the relationship between Marilyn and Jaimi,

assaults on Marilyn by Jaimi on several occasions, pleas by Marilyn

to Jaimi that he stay away from Marilyn and her children,

statements by Marilyn to her father about threats made toward

Tiffnie and Mr. Arbaugh by Jaimi, and a handwritten will by Marilyn

naming her daughters as beneficiaries as a result of her

- 34 -

a ° Se

hi.

APP. 35

expectation of the outcome of the threats by Jaimi. The report

also indicates that Marilyn’s mother told the presentence

investigator that Tira seemed to have withdrawn into herself after

Marilyn’s death. Marilyn’s parents are reported by the presentence

investigator to have a deep fear of Jaimi and to have expressed the

hope that the trial court would take measures to insure the safety

of themselves and Marilyn’s two daughters.

Mr. Arbaugh’s letter to the trial judge was written almost

five months after the presentence report was submitted. Much of

the information contained in the letter had already been included

in the VIS portion of the presentence report. We note that the

second defense attorney moved to strike the VIS portion of the

presentence report.

In Booth the Court found that two types of information were

included in the _ VIS: “First, it described the personal

characteristics of the victims and the emotional impact of the

crimes on the family. Second, it set forth the family members’

opinions and characterizations of the crimes and the defendant."

482 U.S. at 500, 107 S.Ct. at 2533, 96 L.Ed.2d at 444. The Court

found that "this information is irrelevant to a capital sentencing

decision, and that its admission creates a constitutionally

unacceptable risk that the jury may impose the death penalty in an

arbitrary and capricious manner." 482 U.S. at 500, 107 S.Ct. at

2533, 96 L.Ed.2d at 444. The letter did not contain the first type

of information described in Booth, but did contain the second type.

The VIS portion of the presentence report contained both types of

information.

While sentencing in death penalty cases in Idaho is by a judge

and not by a jury, as is the case in Maryland, we do not consider

this to be a distinction that makes Booth inapplicable to a VIS in

a death penalty case in Idaho. Although we have upheld sentencing

by district judges in death penalty cases, we are not prepared to

interpret the eighth amendment to give judges more latitude than

juries in making their decisions as to whether a defendant should

be executed. The risk of arbitrary and capricious decisicns exists

whether the sentence is determined by a jury or a judge.

- 35 -

APP. 36

Therefore, we hold that the letter should not have been considered

by the trial court in the sentencing. We advise the trial court

that when resentencing Jaimi, as provided below, Booth should also

be applied to the VIS contained in the presentence report. We also

declare that I.C. § 19-5306(1)(b) and (3) are unconstitutional

under the eighth amendment insofar as they allow the two types of

information proscribed in Booth to be considered in a death penalty

case.

AS TO PART IX B(2): BAKES, BISTLINE and HUNTLEY, JJ., concur.

SHEPARD, C.J., dissents.

c. Findings. :

1. Did the trial court improperly consider aggravating

circumstances not listed in I.C. § 19-2515?

Jaimi asserts the in its FINDINGS OF THE COURT IN

CONSIDERING DEATH PENALTY UNDER I.C. 19-2515 (the Findings) the

trial court improperly considered circumstances not listed in the

statute. Secondarily, he asserts that he was gravely prejudiced

because when the trial court considered these circumstances, he was

denied notice that the trial court would predicate its sentence on

these circumstances. We disagree with both of these assertions.

As an example of the findings that he argues were

objectionable, Jaimi cites the portion of the Findings which states

that at the time Tiffnie left the barn after finding her mother

bleeding and wounded with Jaimi standing over her, “the life of

Marilyn Arbaugh probably could have been saved if she had received

the necessary medical attention." He argues that if he had been

notified that the trial court intended to consider this

circumstance, he would have contested the issue vigorously. He

also contends that the consideration of these "non-statutory

aggravating circumstances" violated the cruel and unusual

punishment clause of the eighth amendment and permits circumstances

not found beyond a reasonable doubt to enter the sentencing

decision.

This Court has previously rejected all these arguments except

_ the one based on the eighth amendment. Creech, 105 Idaho at 369-

- 36 -

gree ee

mS ee

[we

APP. 37

70, 670 P.2& at 470-71; Sivak, 105 Idaho at 905, 674 P.2d at 401. —

With regard to the eighth amendment ciaim, we note that the trial

court concluded the Findings by stating:

This Court finds beyond a reasonable doubt that the

facts establish the statutory aggravating

circumstances set forth in Idaho Code Section 19-

2515 (G)(5) and 19-2515 (G)(6). This murder was

especially heinous, atrocious and cruel thereby

manifesting exceptional depravity. Further by this

murder and the circumstances surrounding its

commission, Jaimi Dean Charboneau exhibited utter

disregard for human life.

Through this portion of the Findings the trial court made clear

that its decision was not based on non-statutory aggravating

circumstances. Therefore, we need not address the eighth amendment

argument.

AS TO PART IX C(1): SHEPARD, C.J., BAKES, and HUNTLEY, JJ.,

concur.

BISTLINE, J., dissents.

2. Findings not supported by evidence.

Jaimi asserts that there was not sufficient evidence to

support a critical portion of the Findings. He challenges the

following statement of the trial court:

That after firing the first volly (sic) of shots

the victim Marilyn Arbaugh was wounded but her life

could have been saved if she had received necessary

medical attention. At that moment the defendant,

Jaimi Charboneau had a choice. He could have saved

the woman he professed to love. However, with at

least two minutes to give thought to the matter,

the defendant, Jaimi Dean Charboneau, chose to fire

additional shots into the wounded and helpless body

of Marilyn Arbaugh. It appears from the facts that

Jaimi Dean Charboneau acted intentionally,

methodically and violently while he erased from the

face of this earth the life of a human being.

Jaimi relies on the testimony of the State’s pathologist to rebut

the trial court’s statement that Marilyn could have been saved, if

- 37 -

APP. 38

she had received necessary medical attention before the final shots

were fired. The pathologist testified that the cause of death was

gunshot wounds of the chest that severed arteries to the heart and

lungs. He stated that he had no opinion as to which of the bullets

caused the fatal wounds and that it was beyond the expertise of a

pathologist to give an opinion as to the order in which the wounds

occurred. There is no other evidence in the record that

contradicts this testimony. Therefore, we agree that there is no

evidence in the record that supports the trial court’s statement.

It is unclear from the Findings whether the trial court would

have imposed the death penalty without having concluded that

Marilyn was not mortally wounded until the second volley of shots

was fired. For that reason, together with others expressed above

and below, we vacate the sentence and remand for resentencing.

AS TO PART IX C(2): BISTLINE and HUNTLEY, JJ., concur.

SHEPARD, C.J. and BAKES, J., dissent.

3. Mitigating factors.

Jaimi asserts that the trial court failed to list in the

Findings all the mitigating factors that were presented. He argues

particularly that the trial court failed to consider significant

family information contained in the presentence report. We have

compared the trial court’s statement of mitigating factors with the

presentence report and are unable to agree with Jaimi on this

issue. All of the material mitigating information contained in

the report is reflected in the Findings.

AS TO PART IX C(3): SHEPARD, C.J., BAKES, BISTLINE and.

HUNTLEY, JJ., concur.

4. Vagueness of I.C. § 19-2515(g)(5) and (6).

Jaimi asserts that I.C. § 19-2515(g)(5) and (6) are

unconstitutionally vague and that their use in determining Jaimi’s

sentence violates the eighth amendment. He argues that Maynard v.

Cartwright, 486 U.S. ___, 108 S.Ct. 1853, 100 L.Ed.2d 372 (1988)

and Adamson v. Ricketts, 865 F.2d 1011 (1989) support his position

with regard to I.C. § 19-2515(g)(5). He argues that the meaning

- 38 -

APP. 39

given to I.C. § 19-2515(g)(6) in State vy. Osborn, 102 Idaho 405,

631 P.2d 187 (1981) was inadequate. We disagree.

In Maynard the Supreme Court held that the “especially

heinous, atrocious, or cruel" aggravating circumstance of the

Oklahoma death penalty statute was unconstitutionally vague under

the eighth amendment because it did not offer sufficient guidance

to the jury in deciding whether to impose the death penalty. The

decision of the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals that was affirmed

in Maynard (Cartwright v. Maynard, 822 F.2d 1477 (10th Cir. 1987))

noted that the Oklahoma courts had not “adopted a limiting

construction that cured the [vagueness] infirmity." 486 U.S. at

__,» 108 S.Ct. at 1857, 100 L.Ed.2d at 376. In its opinion the

Supreme Court also distinguished the situatior. in Maynard from that

in Proffitt v. Florida, 428 U.S. 242, 254-56, 96 S.Ct. 2960, 2972-

73, 49 L.Ed.2d 913, 925-26 (1976).

In Qsborn this Court adopted the definition of "heinous,

atrocious and cruel" of the Florida Supreme Court that was approved

in Proffitt. This court quoted the following interpretation of the

Florida court:

“It is our interpretation that heinous means

extremely wicked or shockingly evil; that

atrocious means outrageously wicked and vile; and,

that cruel means designed to inflict a high degree

of pain with utter indifference to, or even

enjoyment of, the suffering of others.

the crime apart from the norm of capital felonies-

~the conscienceless or pitiless crime which is

." [Citation

omitted.}) (Emphasis added.)

102 Idaho at 418, 631 P.2d at 200.

This Court also adopted the definition of “exceptional depravity"

of the Nebraska Supreme Court in State v. Simants, 197 Neb. 549,

250 N.W.2d 881, 891 (1977) cert. den., 434 U.S. 878, 98 S.Ct. 231,

54 L.Ed.2d 158, reh. den., 434 U.S. 961, 98 S.Ct. 496, 54 L.Ed.2d

322 (1977). This Court quoted the following definition of the

Nebraska court:

- 39 -

APP. 40

"In interpreting this portion of the statute, the

key word is ‘exceptional.’ It might be argued that

every murder involves depravity. The use of the

word ‘exceptional,’ however, confines it only to

those situations where depravity is apparent to

such an extent as to obviously offend all standards

of morality and intelligence."

102 Idaho at 418, 631 P.2d at 200.

We find that these definitions remove the vagueness from I.C. § 19-

2515(g)(5) that would cause us to hold the use of it to be in

violation of the eighth amendment according to Maynard.

In Osborn this Court also construed the “utter disregard for

human life" provision of I.C. § 19-2515(g) (6):

(Wje hold that the phrase “utter disregard" must be

viewed in reference to acts other than those set

forth in I.C. §§ 19-2515(f)(2), (3), and (4) [now

§§ 19-2515(g)(2), (3), and (4)}. We conclude

instead that the phrase is meant to be reflective

of acts or circumstances surrounding the crime

which exhibit the highest, the utmost, callous

disregard for human life, i. e.; the cold-blooded,

pitiless slayer. With such an interpretation, it

is our conclusion that this aggravating

circumstance meets the constitutional requirements

set forth by the United States Supreme Court.

102 Idaho at 419, 631 P.2d@ at 201.

We agree.

Our opinion as to this issue is not changed by Adamson vy.

Ricketts. In Adamson the Ninth Circuit held that’ the

interpretation by the Arizona Supreme Court of the portion of

Arizona’s death penalty sentencing statute that is similar to I.C.

§ 19-2515(g)(5) was not sufficient “to provide satisfaction of

Godfrey’s (Godfrey v. Georgia, 446 U.S. 420, 100 S.Ct. 1759, 64

L.Ed.2ad 398 (1980)]} mandate that aggravating circumstances

objectively guide discretion and narrow application of the death

penalty." 865 F.2d at 1033. We note that Godfrey cited Proffitt

vy. Florida without distinguishing its rationale or its result. 446

U.S. at 425, 100 S.Ct. at 1764, 64 L.Ed.2d at 403. As we have

- 40 -

APP. 41

indicated above, the definition of “heinous, atrocious and cruel"

adopted by this Court in Osborn was that of the Florida Supreme

Court that was approved in Proffitt. Therefore, we are convinced

that whatever validity there may be to the decision in Adamson

concerning the Arizona definitions of their statutory terms, the

definitions contained in Osborn remain constitutionally sufficient.

AS TO PART IX C(4): SHEPARD, C.J., BAKES and HUNTLEY, JJ.,

concur.

BISTLINE, J., dissents.

5. No duplication of aggravating circumstances.

The trial court found that the aggravating circumstances

referred to in both I.C. § 19-2515 (g) (5) and (6) were present in

this case. Jaimi asserts that it was improper for the trial court

to use both of these aggravating circumstances in determining his

sentence, because they duplicate each other. Today, this Court has

held that these two factors are not duplicative. State v. Fain,

1989 Slip Op. No. ___. Therefore, we reject Jaimi’s assertion.

AS TO PART IX C(5): SHEPARD, C.J., BAKES and HUNTLEY, JJ.,

concur.

BISTLINE, J., dissents.

6. Weighing mitigating circumstances against I.C. § 19-

2515(g)(5) and (6) separately.

I.C. § 19-2515(c) states:

{c) Where a person is convicted of an offense

which may be punishable by death, a sentence of

death shall not be imposed unless the court finds

at least one (1) statutory aggravating

circumstance. Where the court finds a statutory

aggravating circumstance the court shall sentence

the defendant to death unless the court finds that

mitigating circumstances which may be presented

=é@l1-<-

APP. 42

outweigh the gravity of any aggravating

circumstance found and make imposition of death

unjust.

Jaimi asserts that this statute requires the trial court to

weigh all the mitigating circumstances presented against each

aggravating circumstance found, separately. He argues that if the

trial court finds that all the mitigating circumstances presented

outweigh any one of the aggravating circumstances found, then the

sentence of death may not be imposed. He contends that this

required weighing was done incorrectly by the trial court in this di

case. We agree that all the mitigating circumstances presented

must be weighed against each of the aggravating circumstances

separately. We hold that the trial court may not sentence the

defendant to death, unless the trial court finds that all the

mitigating circumstances outweigh the gravity of each of the

aggravating circumstances found and make imposition of death

unjust.

Criminal statutes must be strictly construed. State v.

Thompson, 101 Idaho 430, 437, 614 P.2d 970, 977 (1980). I.C. § 19-

2515(c) refers to "mitigating circumstances" that are to be weighed

against “any aggravating circumstance found." If the legislature

had intended the mitigating circumstances to be weighed against all

the aggravating circumstances found as a group, it would have

referred to “the aggravating circumstances found." The plain

meaning of the statute dictates our conclusion on this issue.

We are unable to accept Jaimi’s argument that the statute

requires the trial court not to impose the death penalty, if the

mitigating circumstances outweigh any one of the aggravating

circumstances found. The plain meaning of the statute is that the

mitigating circumstances must outweigh “any" of the aggravating

circumstances. The word “any" means “whichever one chance may

select." Webster’s Third New International Dictionary, (1969).

For the mitigating circumstance in this case to outweigh “any”

aggravating circumstances found, the mitigating circumstances must

outweigh each of the aggravating circumstances, since chance may

select either one.

- 42 -

APP. 43

In its findings the trial court quoted I.C. § 19-2515 as

stating:

Where the court finds a statutory aggravating

circumstance the court shall sentence the defendant

to death unless the court finds that mitigating

circumstances which may be presented outweigh the

gravity of any aggravating circumstances found and

make imposition of death unjust. (Emphasis added).

In making its decision as to the appropriate sentence to impose,

the trial court said:

After due consideration to all the facts contained

herein, the Court is unable to find any mitigating

circumstances which would overcome or outweigh the

aggravating circumstances and must therefore comply

with the legislature’s mandate. (Emphasis added).

It appears to us that the trial court weighed all the

mitigating circumstances against the two aggravating circumstances

found, collectively rather than separately. For this reason also,

we vacate the sentence and remand for resentencing in accordance

with our decision.

AS TO PART IX C(6): SHEPARD, C.J., BAKES, BISTLINE and

HUNTLEY, JJ., concur.

7. Presumption of death.

Jaimi asserts that I.C. § 19-2515 violates the eighth and

fourteenth amendments because it places the burden on a defendant

to prove the existence of mitigating circumstances that outweigh

any aggravating circumstance that is found. We disagree.

I.C. § 19-2515(c) presumes that a life sentence is the

sentence for first degree murder. Only if at least one of the

aggravating circumstances listed in I.c. § 19-2515(g) is found to

exist beyond a reasonable doubt may a sentence of death be imposed.

It is only then that a defendant has the burden of coming forward

with mitigating circumstances. To the extent that Adamson reaches

a contrary result, we disagree with the Ninth Circuit.

AS TO PART IX C(7): SHEPARD, C.J., BAKES, BISTLINE and

HUNTLEY, JJ., concur.

- 43 -

APP. 44

AUTOMATIC REVIEW UNDER L.C. § 19-2827.

A. Was the sentence imposed under the influence of passion,

prejudice, or any other arbitrary factor?

Jaimi asserts that the sentence of death in this case was

arbitrary because there was no evidence tc support portions of the

Findings that we have reviewed above. To the extent of our

holdings above that there was not sufficient evidence to support

portions of the Findings, we agree. We disagree that there was

arbitrariness because mitigating factors concerning Jaimi’s family

background were not considered. We also disagree that there was

arbitrariness because this was an act of passion rather than a case

involving malice aforethought. That question was submitted to the

jury, and the jury found otherwise.

B. Did the evidence support the findings of a statutory

aggravating circumstance under I.C. § 19-2515?

We have held above that there was no evidence in the

record to Bupport the trial court’s statement that Jaimi could have

saved Marilyn’s life, if he had sought medical attention for her.

We have also held that it was a violation of Booth v. Maryland and

the hearsay rule for the trial court to admit and consider the

letter written by Marilyn’s father. Therefore, it is unnecessary

for us to consider at this time whether the evidence supports a

finding of either statutory aggravating circumstance under I.C.

§ 19-2515(g)(5) and (6). This review can be made following

resentencing, if it is necessary.

c. Was the sentence excessive or disproportionate to the

penalty imposed in similar cases?

In light of our decision to vacate the sentence, this

review is also unnecessary.

AS TO PART X: HUNTLEY, J., concurs.

SHEPARD, C.J., concurs in result.

BAKES, J., concurs in all of Part X, except that part. which

incorporates the analysis of Part IX(C)(2), with which he

disagrees.

BISTLINE, J., expresses no opinion.

- 44 -

CONCLUSION.

For the reasons stated above, we affirm the conviction, vacate

the sentence, and remand for resentencing.

SHEPARD, C.J. concurring in part and dissenting in part.

I concur in the majority opinion except parts IX B and IX C(2), and as to those

portions I disagree and therefore dissent.

The majority holds that during the sentencing procedure a letter written by the

father of the victim was improperly “admitted” in violation of the hearsay rule. This,

although the report of the presentence javestigator, is also hearsay and in fact hearsay

upon hearsay. I believe the focus of the majority opinion, the hearsay rule, is inapplicable.

In my view the letter, while "hearsay," was at worst only duplicative of the oval testimony

of that same witness at the sentencing hearing. That oral testimony taken in open court

was subject to cross-examination. Hence the admission of the letter written by the father

of the victim was at most harmiess error.

The testimony of that witness, both oral and written, in essence related the well

justified fear of the remaining members of the family of defendant Charboneau. In my

view such evidence was particularly relevant since, as indicated by the majority opinion,

the defendant Charboneau had accused his stepdaughter of the killing.

I also disagree with the majority holding that Booth v. Maryland, __ U.S. __ (1987),

requires the exclusion of the Arbaugh letter, and portions of the presentence report as

being a “victim impaci statement." Booth was a jury setting death penalty case rather than

a court setting death penalty case. That alone, in my view, makes Booth distinguishable

from the instant case. Further, Booth was a 5-4 decision by the then membership of the

then Court. In view of the vigorous dissents to Booth and the now changed member-

ship of that Court, I am not persuaded that the now constituted

United States Supreme Court would continue the view espoused in

Booth.

+ eS

APP. 46

LC. § 19-5306 requires a sentencing court to consider the impact of the crime upon

the immediate families of homicide victims. I perceive no corstitutional invalidity of that

statutory scheme since here we consideronly Idaho's mandated court setting of the death

penalty. ;

I disagree with the conclusion of the majority in IX C(2). -In my view the majority

opinion, in its recitation of the facts, supports the language of the trial court in its

sentencing. The testimony of Tiffnie supports the statement of the trial court.

I would affirm the conviction and the imposition of the death penalty.

HUNTLEY, J., concurring and dissenting.

While I support the death penalty and concur in the bulk of the majority opinion,

I respectfully suggest that Idaho's present capital sentencing procedure is unconstitutional

because it removes the jury from its constitutional fact-finding role. Our process violates

the federal constitution for the reasons stated in Adamson v. Ricketts, (Ct. App. 9th Cir.,

December 22, 1988) and violates the Idaho Constitution for the reasons I have articulated

in State v. Creech, 105 Idaho 362, 670 P.2d 463 (1983) and State v. Sivak, 105 Idaho 900,

674 P.2d 396 (1983). I will discuss each analysis in turn.

I.

The Jury as Fundamental to Preserving Democracy

The determination of the issue presented on appeal should be made in the context

of the history and purposes of the right to trial by jury. Our forefathers wisely provided

in Article 1, Section 7 of the Idaho Constitution: "The right to trial by jury shall remain

inviolate ..." They so provided because they recognized that the jury system is the single

most important guardian of the people's right to be protected from oppressive and

overreaching government.

Few Americans realize that the right to jury trial in civil cases has almost been lost

in England. English judges, with the acquiescence of a compliant bar, have totally

eliminated the right to trial by jury in civil cases, except in cases of libel or slander, The

APP. 47

English themselves seem to have forgotten the words of their eminent jurist, Blackstone,

who wrote that trial by jury is:

. the glory of the English law . . . [ijt is the most

transcendent privilege which any subject can enjoy, or wish for,

that he cannot be affected in his property, his liberty, or his

person but by the unanimous consent of twelve of his

neighbors and equals.

Blackstone Commentaries 79.

Some American judges and legislators have similarly lost touch with the following

language in our Declaration of Independence:

[George III] has combined with others to subject us to a

jurisdiction foreign to our Constitution, and unacknowledged

by our laws; giving his assent to their acts of pretended

legislation: . . . For depriving us, in many cases, of the benefits

of trial by jury. . .

The French philosopher and essayist, de Tocqueville, who understood and

appreciated democracy in America with keener insight than any other observer of the

Nineteenth Century, ‘ated that the jury system in America:

. . . places the real direction of society in the hands of the

governed .. . and not in. . . the government... He who

punishes the criminal . . . is the real master of society. All the

sovereigns who have chosen to govern by their own authority

and to direct society, instead of obeying its direction, have des-

troyed or enfeebled the institution of the jury.

Those who believe in strict construction of our Constitution recognize that the

judiciary’s oath to "support and defend the Constitution" requires that we resist the

temptation to enhance judicial power through encroachment into the provinces constitu-

tionally delegated to the jury.

Il.

The Federal Right to Jury Fact Finding in Capital Cases

In Adamson vy. Ricketts, the 9th Circuit stated the issue:

-47-

APP. 48

Adamson also contends that the Arizona statutory scheme for

imposing the death penalty erroneously lists elements of the

offense as factors to be determined by the sentencing judge,

thus depriving him of his right to a jury decision on the

elements of the crime in violation of the Sixth and Fourteenth

Amendments. We agree.

The Idaho sentencing procedure under I.C. § 19-2515 is virtually identical in all

material respects to the defective Arizona statutory scheme. Noteworthy is the fact that

Idaho and Arizona are two of only four states which have the death penalty which have

taken the jury out of the fact-finding process of making the ultimate determination as to

whether the death penalty is appropriate. The fact that thirty-one of the thirty-five states

which have the death penalty utilize the jury in making that determination speaks volumes

as to what our Anglo-American traditions and constitutions require.

As the Adamson court noted:

An aggravating "circumstance" which elevates a murder to a

“death-eligible" murder in the penalty phase, remarkably

mirrors the attributes of an essential element of the offense

during the guilt phase of a trial. . Like an element of a crime,

an aggravating circumstance in the Arizona scheme informs the

prosecutor what facts must be proven to obtain a convicticn.

The circumstance must be proven beyond a reasonable doubt.

The hearing is adversarial, with oral argument and the prose-

cution’s presentation of evidence governed by the usual rules

of evidence. The presiding trial judge must make findings on

the existence or nonexistence of each of the statutory aggravat-

ing and mitigating circumstances. If the judge finds an

aggravating circumstance, the burden then shifts to the

defendant who must put on sufficient evidence of mitigation

or the death penalty will be imposed. A.R.S. § 13-703; see

also Arizona v. Rumsey, 467 U.S. 203, 21 (1984). If the

prosecution is unable to prove the existence of a single

aggravating circumstance, like not proving an essential element,

the defendant cannot be put to death. Cf. Poland v. Arizona,

106 S.Ct. 1749, 17454 (1986) (Court framed the relevant [*39]

inquiry as "whether the sentencing judge or the reviewing court

has “decid[ed] that the prosecution has not proved its case for

the death penalty and hence has ‘acquitted’ petitioners");

Rumsey, 467 U.S. at 212 (where findings of fact at sentencing

hearing were all favorable to defendant, he was "acquitted" of

the death penalty).

pe —

a

APP. 49

Although Idaho's majority in Charboneau, similarly to the judiciary in Arizona and

the prosecutors in both states, urge that a trial court in finding facts as to aggravating

circumstances is exercising a "sentencing determination" as distinguished from finding the

elements of a death-eligible murder, their use of the language in justifying that position

frequently results in Freudian slips which indicate otherwise. In fact, to rule for the state’s

position it is necessary to do exactly what the majority did in this case, that is, engage in

a circular argument, the majority reasoning at pages 28-29:

To accept Jaimi’s argument that the jury must be involved in

determining whether aggravating circumstances exist, we would

have to conclude that the aggravating circumstances listed in

LC. § 19-2515(g) are elements of first degree murder. We are

unable to reach that conclusion. The circumstances listed in

the statute are clearly circumstances to be considered in

sentencing and not elements of first degree murder. It is not

unconstitutional for a judge, instead of a jury, to determine

whether any of the aggravating circumstances listed in the

Statute exist.

The sentence I have underscored is totally circular. Of course, if one can

pronounce that the circumstances are part of sentencing and not part of the elements of

a death penalty crime, then they are not elements of a death penalty crime.

The plain fact is, before a person is eligible to be executed, a finding must be

made that the aggravating circumstance existed. That finding is typically a jury finding,

it was a jury function in Idaho from territorial days through 1977, and is a fact to be

found by the jury in all but four of the states which have the death penalty.

It could of course be argued that my position is circular if I were to take the

underscored sentence from the majority opinion, supra, and restate it as follows:

The circumstances listed in the statute are not circumstances

to be considered in sentencing but are elements of death-

eligible murder.

However, I would submit that the issue is best resolved by recognizing that it is traditional

and accepted jurisprudence that every factor required to prove a crime is considered an

element of that crime. One cannot be sentenced to death without the finding of the

aggravating circumstances having taken place and, thus, they would appear to be essential

APP. 50

elements of the crime rather than some less important procedural matters occurring

during sentencing.

The United States Supreme Court has not passed directly upon the issue presented

in this case, but what it has written about the jury and its function in death penalty cases

indicates that the process would be best served by bringing the four states in line at this

time. ‘

Since the Court has held that death sentences must comport with the community’s

sense of evolving standards of decency and its legitimate desire for moral retribution, an

essential question is whether judges alone can reliably reflect the communal values that

are the source of the constitutionality of capital punishment.

By definition, juries, not judges, are “the cross-section of the community," reflecting

community values. Duren v. Missouri, 439 U.S. 357, 359 99 S.Ct. 664, 666, 58 L-Ed.2d

579 (1979). Only a representative jury assures “meaningful community participation."

Ballew v. Georgia, 435 U.S. 223, 235 98 S.Ct. 1029, 1036, 55 L-Ed.2d 234 (1978) (plurality

opinion). Jurors, unlike judges, are selected to enhance the likelihood that they represent

the whole range of community beliefs and backgrounds, Taylor v. Louisiana, 419 U.S. 522,

531-33 95 S.Ct. 692, 698-699, 42 L.Ed.2d 690 (1975); the different segments of the

community bring to the representative jury “perspectives and values that influence both

jury deliberation and result," id. at 532 n. 12 95 S.Ct. at 698 n. 12. See Humphrey v,

Cady, 405 U.S. 504, 509 92 s.Ct. 1048, 1052, 31 L.Ed.2d 394 (1972). Moreover the sheer

difference in size between a twelve-member jury panel and a single judge may bear

significantly on the validity of a sentencing decision under the Eighth Amendment.

Canvassing expert empirical studies, the United States Supreme Court has concluded that

the likelihood that a decision in a criminal case correctly applies "the common sense of

the community to the facts" increases with the number of decisionmakers. Ballew v.

APP. 51

Georgia, supra, 435 U.S. at 232 98 S.Ct. at 1035.! Twelve individuals are obviously more

likely to reflect the prevailing views of society than one person.

= A jury need not engage in questionabie speculation to determine what community

sentiment would say in a particular case. Its very function is to bespeak that community

sentiment by exercising its own judgment. The jury’s response is society’s response.

Witherspoon v. Illinois, supra, 391 U.S. at 519-20 88 S.Ct.at 1775-1776. “The jury . . . is

a significant and reliable objective index of contemporary values because it is so directly

involved," Gregg v. Georgia, supra, 428 U.S. at 181 96 s.Ct. at 2928. By contrast, judges

cannot themselves speak for community sentiment. If they are to fulfill the demands of

the Eighth Amendment by bringing evolving standards of decency and principles of

retribution to bear in a capital punishment case, they can do so only indirectly since

"{Cjourts are not representative bodies. They are not designed to be a good reflex of a

democratic society. Their judgment is best informed, and therefore most dependable,

within narrow limits." Dennis v. United States, 341 U.S. 494, 525 71 S.Ct. 857, 875, 95

L.Ed. 1137 (1951) (Frankfurter, J. concurring). Unable to represent community

sentiment, a judge must undertake to ascertain it. That is necessarily a difficult task,?

: also amassed considerable empirical evidence to

prove that reducing the number of decisionmakers in a criminal case

impairs the accuracy, fairness, thoroughness and consistency of the

decision, generally to the detriment of the defendant. Ballew v.

, 435 U.S. 223, 232-39 (98 S.Ct. 1029, 1035-38, 55 L.Ed.2d

234) (1978) (plurality opinion).

: Significantly, every state authorizing jury involvement

in capital sentencing appears to require a jury of twelve persons.

, Deciding Who Dies, 129 U.Pa.L.Rev. 63, n. 298.

Judges may theoretically have access to community

sentiment through social contact, as well as through such sources

as polls, editorials, journals, and newspaper reports. Cook,

Public Opinion and Federal Judicial Policy, 21 Am.J.Pol.Sci. 567,

576 (1977). Unfortunately, these sources greatly overstate the

willingness of members of the community to impose the death penalty

on specific defendants for specific crimes. Research on jury

behavior reveals that jurors are substantially more lenient when

trying an actual case and sitting through deliberations than they

will otherwise indicate. Aeisel & Diamond, The Effect of Peremp-

tory Challenges on Jury and Verdict:

-51-

APP. 52

made even more difficult because judges--whether considered in terms of race, sex, or

economic class--do not reflect the wide range of backgrounds or beliefs within the

community.4 "[T]he reluctance of juries in many cases to impose the sentence [of death]

may well reflect the humane feeling that this most irrevocable sanction should be reserved

fora small number of extreme cases," Gregg v. Georgia, supra, 428 U.S. at 182 96 S.Ct.

at 2929. For a variety of reasons, judges appear less likely to reflect that same reluc-

tance.»

District court, 30 -Stan.L.Rev. 491, 511-12 (1978) (shadow juries

drawn randomly and not subject to peremptory challenges vote guilty

far more often than real juries; probably because the defendant's

liberty was not in their hands). People who favor the death

penalty in the abstract are more lenient when presented with

descriptions of actual cases.

: As of 1979 judges in state courts of general trial

jurisdiction earned salaries ranging from $24,000 in Oklahoma to

$54,205 in California, with a mean of approximately $41,000. Nat'l

Center for St. Cts., Survey of Judicial Salaries 1 (Sept. 1979).

As of 1977 in these general jurisdiction courts, only 2.5 percent

of the 5,155 judges were women, and 20 states had no women at all

on these courts. Cook, Women Judges: The End of Tokenism, in Women

in the Courts, 84, 87- 88 (Nat'l Center for St. Cts. 1978). It

appears that as of 1977 only 2.6 percent of the judges on these

general trial courts were black. G.W. Crockett, Number and

Distribution of Black Judges (March 1977) (unpublished charts on

file with Nat'l Center for St. Cts.). Finally, the rigorous

educational requirements for admission to the bar make it in-

evitable that the average educational attainment of judges will far

exceed that of the community in general.

’ Kalven and Zeisel's classic report shows that judges and

juries disagree in a substantial number of cases. In a study of

3576 trials, judge and jury reached the same decision about a

criminal defendant only 72 percent of the time. H. Kalven & H.

Zeisel, , 68 (1966). In their specific study of

the death penalty, the authors report that judge and jury disagreed

about the imposition of a death sentence in 19 percent of the

cases, id, at 436. To view the results yet another way, in those

cases where one or both recommended death, judge and jury disagreed

60 percent of the time. In those cases in which either the judge

or jury or both would have voted for the death penalty, in 40

percent, judge and jury agreed, and in 40 percent only the judge

would have voted for the death penalty, yet in only 20 percent of

the cases would the jury but not the judge vote for execution.

Thus, the juries were essentially twice as lenient as the judges.

Ibid. As a United Nations Report concludes:

-52-

APP. 53

As a means of reliably reflecting community sentimeni on capital punishment,

bringing lay jurors into the sentencing process "places the real direction of society in the

hands of the governed . . . and not in. . . the government.” Powell, Jury Trial of Crimes,

23 Wash. & Lee L.Rev. 1, 5 (1966) quoting de Tocqueville, Democracy in America 282

“(Aj)mong the leading authorities in penal

science, the supporters of abolition appreci-

ably outnumber those who favour the retention

of capital punishment. The specialists of the

social sciences, penologists, doctors and

writers on social science or criminology are,

in their great majority, abolitionists. The

supporters of capital punishment, apart from

a number of political figures and persons

holding high public office, are generally

jurists with a traditional training and jud-

ges."

United Nations, Dept. of Economic and Social Affairs, Capital

Punishment (ST/SOA/SD/9-10-64) (1968).

The reason for these differences may lie in the greater

reluctance of judges to depart from what they perceive to be the

letter of the law. See, e.g., Eddings v. Oklahoma, 455 U.S. 104,

102 S.Ct. 869 71 L.Ed.2d 1 (1982). Kalven and Zeisel discovered

in more than one judge “a kind of envy of the freedom of the jury

to reach a decision which he as a judge could not reach" Kalven

, at 428. The judge's role as a strict enforcer

even restricts his discretion in sentencing decisions where that

discretion would seem to be wholly lawful. As one judge said of

draft evasion cases: “I am opposed to conscription. I also believe

that the war in Vietnam is both immoral and impractical. My

sentencing policies are based upon the fact that as long as law

exists, it should be imposed to effectuate its intent and purpose."

Cook, Sentencing Behavior of Federal Judges: Draft Cases--1972, 42

Cinn.L.Rev. 597, 623 (1973). At the same time, Cook's study also

reveals that as judges (unlike individual jurors) accrue experience

in a given type of case, their sentencing settles into distinct and

regular patterns of severity or leniency, id., at 602-03, so that

the judge's first decision whether a person lives or dies may

inspire far more deliberation and consideration than subsequent

decisions. For individual jurors, however, the gravity with which

they approach their decisions in capital cases will rarely be

affected by suck routinization.

Florida studies cited in Gillers, supra, note 2, at 67-68 n.

318, report that sentencing judges were significantly more inclined

to impose death than the juries that recommended sentences to then.

The studies also show that the judges' decisions seem to correlate

with the race, sex, and social background of the defendant and

victim, while the juries showed no evidence of any such biases.

-53-

APP. 54

(Reeve Tran.1948). Quintessentially, the right to a jury “is granted to criminal defendants

in order to prevent oppression by the government," Duncan v. Louisiana, 391 U.S. 145,

155 88 S.Ct. 1444, 1450, 20 L-Ed.2d 491 (1968), and to protect against “arbitrary action"

by the compliant, biased, or eccentric judge. Jd. at 156 88 S.Ct. at 1451. It “reflects a

fundamental decision about the exercise of official power--a reluctance to entrust plenary

powers over the life and liberty of the citizens to one judge or to a group of judges."

Ibid. ® These concerns are even more compelling where life stands immediately in the

balance.

Il.

The Idaho Constitutional Mandate

The Idaho Constitution, as first approved on July 3, 1890, and as it reads today,

provides in Art. 1, § 7:

“Right to trial by jury. -- The right of trial by jury shall remain inviolate .. . ."

That right of trial by jury as it existed at the time our constitution was adopted, provided

* . The Profitt plurality's speculation that “judicial

sentencing should leei, if anything, to even greater consistency

in the imposition ~° che trial court level of capital punishment,

since a trial judge is more experienced in sentencing than a jury

and therefore is better able to impose sentences similar to those

imposed in analogous cases," Proffitt v. Florida, 428 U.S. 242, 252

96 S.Ct. 2960, 2966, must, of course, be read in the context in

which it was made: as a statement of the probable result of the

Florida system in which an advisory jury sentence may be mitigated

at the discretion of the trial judge, or increased from life

imprisonment to death only where a life sentence would be mani-

festly unreasonable. Id. at 249-50 96 S.Ct. at 2965-2966.

Moreover, empirical evidence suggests that individual state trial

judges are not likely to achieve consistency among death sentences

meted out across the state. Gillers, supra, note 2, at 58-59.

Cook, , 21 Am.J.Poli.Sci.

567, 623 (1977). Rather the state can better take advantage of the

purported ability of judges to ensure consistency in capital

sentencing, at no cost to the defendant's right to jury sentencing,

by relying on the automatic appeal procedure by which this Court

must review each death sentence in comparison to other cases

involving similar crimes or defendants. I.C. § 19-2827. See,

, 428 U.S., at 204-06 96 S.Ct. at 2939-2940; id,

at 211-12, 96 S.Ct. at 2942-2943 (White, J., concurring).

-54-

Se > a

APP. 55

for jury participation in the capital sentencing process. Section 17 of the Criminal

Practice Act of 1864 provided in pertinent part:

[A]nd the jury before whom any person indicted for murder

shall be tried, shall, if they find such person guilty thereof,

designate by their verdict, whether it be murder of the first or

second degree; but, if such person shall be convicted on

confession in open court, the court shall proceed, by

examination of witnesses, to determine the degree of the

crime, and give sentence accordingly. Every person convicted

of murder of the first degree, shall suffer death, and every

person guilty of murder in the second degree is punishable by

imprisonment in the territorial prison for a term not less than ~

ten years, and which may be extended to life.

Section 17 was carried over verbatim into Revised Statute § 6563 (1887) enacted two

years before the adoption of the Constitution.

In other words, the jury, by determining whether the party was guilty of either first

or second degree murder, determined whether or not the death penalty would be

imposed.

In Blue Note Inc yv. Hopper, 85 Idaho 152, 157, 377 P.2d 373 (1962), we stated:

The provisions of the constitution pertaining to the right to

trial by jury are construed to apply as it existed at the date of

the adoption of the constitution.

Accord. Anderson v. Whipple, 71 Idaho 112, 227 P.2d 351 (1951); Christensen v.

Hollingsworth, 6 Idaho 87, 53 P. 211 (1898); Comish v. Smith, 97 Idaho 89, 540 P.2d 274

(1975).

Idaho continued to employ the jury in the capital sentencing process during all of

the intervening years until the Supreme court of the United States struck down the death

penalty statutes of most states through its 1972 decision in Furman v. Georgia, 408 U.S.

238, 92 S.Ct. 2726, 33 L.Ed.2d 346.

At the time of Furman, I.-C. § 18-4004 read:

Punishment for murder. -- Every person guilty of murder in

the first degree shall suffer death or be punished by

imprisonment in the state prison for life, and the jury may

decide which punishment shall be inflicted. Every person

guilty of murder in the second degree is punishable by

-55- —

APP. 56

imprisonment in the state prison not less than ten years and

the imprisonment may extend to life.

In its first post-Furman session (1973), the Idaho legislature deleted the jury function from

LC. § 18-4004 and made all convictions of first degree murder subject to the death

penalty. This was done in an attempt to remove the “cruel and unusual punishment"

aspects disapproved in Furman. I.C. § 18-4004 was amended by striking out the words

as lined out below:

18-4004. PUNISHMENT FOR MURDER.-- Every person

guilty of murder in the first degree shall suffer death erbe

; Every

person guilty of murder in the second degree is punishable by

imprisonment in the state prison not less than ten years and

the imprisonment may extend to life.

The 1973 Amendment restored the law to its 1864 standing.

After the United States Supreme Court in a series of cases declared statutes of

other states which were similar to Idaho’s 1973 version unconstitutional, the Idaho

legislature responded in 1977 with the present statutory scheme providing for inquiry into

mitigating or aggravating circumstances as set forth in I.C. § 19-2515 et seq. That

amendment changed the statute back to its pre-1973 language except that it omitted

restoring the jury function and added the reference to I.C. § 19-2515:

18-4004. PUNISHMENT FOR MURDER. Every Subject to

the provisions of 19-2515, Idaho Code, every person guilty of

murder ie of the first degree shall suffer be panished by death

or by imprisonment for life. Every person guilty of murder in

of the second degree is punishable by imprisonment inthe

stete-prison not less than ten (10) years and the imprisonment

may extend to life.

Except for four stares which entirely abolished capital punishment in the nineteenth

century, every American jurisdiction has at least at some time employed jury sentencing

in capital cases. McGautha v. California, 402 U.S. 183, 200 n. 11, 91 S.Ct. 1454, 1463 n.

11, 29 L.Ed.2d 711 (1971). During a period of over a century, beginning in 1838,

jurisdiction after jurisdiction that retained the death penalty replaced its mandatory capital

punishment law with discretionary jury sentencing, Woodson v. North Carolina, 428 U.S.

-56-

APP. 57

280, 291-92, 96 S.Ct. 2978, 2985, 49 L.Ed.2d 944 (1976) (plurality opinion). By the time

of the Furman decision in 1972, Colorado was the only state in the nation to impose

capital punishment without jury involvement in the sentencing process.

Despite the long history at common law and under statutory law of the states

throughout this nation of involving jury in the capital sentencing process, the Idaho

legislature in the present statute enacted in 1977 totally excluded the jury from its tradi-

tional function. The legislative history shows that the legislature was not even presented

with a bill which provided for jury participation. The only bill presented, was one drafted

by the attorney general, Senate Bill 1082, which was presented to the legislature with the

foliowing statement of purpose:

RS 1954

S 1082

STATEMENT OF PURPOSE

Only a few years ago, the United States Supreme court made

new "rules" concerning the imposition of the death penalty for

serious crimes. So that we conformed with this U.S. Supreme

Court interpretation of the federal Constitution, the Idaho

Legislature enacted in 1973 our present death penalty Section

18-4003 and 18-4004, Idaho Code.

Then, last year, the United States Supreme court again

changed the rules relating to capital punishment--after many

states, like Idaho, had acted in response to its previous

decision. The Court, in five cases, set forth new, more

definitive rules concerning sentencing where the death penalty

was sought to be imposed.

The _purpose_of _this_bill_is_to_codify into Idaho _law these : by tl

Court decisions on capital

punishment so that we will conform with this latest expression

of the law. (Emphasis supplied.)

The statement of purpose is misleading insofar as it suggests that the Supreme Court

decisions mandated the removal of the jury from its traditional powers and functions; the

United States Supreme court never at an earlier time or in this “latest expression of the

law" required jury non-involvement.

-57-

APP. 58

Since jury participation in the capital sentencing process is part of the right to “trial

by jury" as guaranteed inviolate by Art. 1, § 7 of the Idaho Constitution, | would reverse

and remand for proper sentencing and would urge the legislature to amend the statutes

to provide for proper jury participation in order that future capital punishment cases will

not be subject to this serious defect.

IV.

Interim Solution by District Judges

Since this Court has not seen fit to bring the Idaho sentencing process into a

constitutional posture, and since the curren’ ~*ssion of the Idaho Legislature has not even

formally taken up the effect of Adamsor we are undoubtably going to be faced with a

year or more of uncertainty while we await the review of Adamson by the United States

Supreme Court on Certiorari. Should the 9th Circuit be affirmed, then all death sentence

cases in Idaho which have been imposed in that interim period will have to be reversed

and remanded for resentencing, if not a total new trial. I believe there is a method

whereby our Idaho district judges, exercising their intelligence and their plenary power,

can bring order to this chaos and validly complete capital cases. It has always been the

law of Idaho that district judges have the power to call for advisory juries in cases where

juries are not mandated by statute or common law. Our district judges could, Gn their

own motion, adopt the procedures of the thirty-one other states by bifurcating the trial

and bringing the jury in as an advisory jury at the sentencing phase. So that the jury

would be fully apprised of the seriousness of its undertaking, the district judge would

inform the jury that he would not impose the death penalty unless they so recommended.

The district judge would, of course, retain his traditional power under Idaho law to

impose a sentence less than death if he deemed such reduction appropriate. By engaging

in this procedure, a district judge would not only be doing a service to the taxpayers by

way of judicial economy in obviating the need for retrials or resentencing, but additionally

the court would be properly serving both society and the defendant by protecting the

constitutional right to trial by jury.

- 58 -

APP. 59

BISTLINE, J. dissenting. :

In this capital murder case, where the guilt of the accused would be determined

by a jury, and where a guilty verdict might be of murder in the first degree, murder in the

second degree, or voluntary manslaughter, defense counsel's first strategic tactic was to

utilize the results of a SEANCE conducted by a spiritualist; from the report of this seance

counsel unquestionably believed that he had received the “true facts" concerning the

homicide caused by gun shot wounds. Armed with the “true facts," counsel then devoted

his talents toward convincing the prosecutors that the real culprit was not defendant, but

the deceased’s daughter. Having wholly succumbed to relying entirely on that hypothesis,

counsel not only forewent making any of the ordinary preparations for a defense, but,

even more damaging to the defendant, exposed him for uncounseled interrogation by

prosecuting authorities. :

Generally, a person’s willingness to learn life’s past or future secrets from a

spiritualist, fortune-teller, a seer or even a Ouija board, would be of no concern.

However, if Charboneau’s then counsel was rendering “effective assistance of counsel," as

the majority today holds, then the sixth amendment’s guarantee of right to counsel has

flown the coop. As Chief Justice Shepard has written, there is no insurance that

defendants will receive a perfect trial -- there is only the guarantee of a fair trial. A fair

trial cannot be had if a defendant is precluded from being represented by counsel who is

knowledgeable and competent. Such was not the circumstance here. Worse yet, the

defendant appears to have had no outside counselling or advice of any kind which would

have informed

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.