Opposition Brief — Sheehan v. Purolator, Inc.

Supreme Court brief1988

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

>

PATRICIA SHEEHAN, ELIZABETH HENOCH, and KAYHAN

HELLRIEGEL, on Behalf of Themselves and All Others

Similarly Situated,

Petitioners,

—VvV.—

PUROLATOR, INC. and PUROLATOR COURIER CORP.,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

COLLEEN MCMAHON

1285 Avenue of the Americas

New York, New York 10019

Counsel of Record

for Respondents

Of Counsel:

Morris B. Abram

Jay Cohen

Diana Hassel

PAUL, WEISS, RIFKIND,

WHARTON & GARRISON

wth PNRM TE SN LTB D7

-

: oe aaesaeh

s 7 » eal baat 14 — a Re ae ee eT Ee sani :

» 2 ia - 3 7 ? - os oe or aes

: | )

: e

} re

/ | :

j | :

\ |

| |

| | } :

j E

.

5 : |

©

,

¢

, :

‘ :

ae ;

Y 3

: De be i FEE 3 . .

: | 3 :

: |

me : 7

‘ J

(

'

3 .

2

4

| 3

6

.

i ‘ J Ra é | ,

3

| :

~ ; |

S |

>

| Y

ba /

4 ; : :

.

| *

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Should this Court review the Second Circuit’s affirmance

of the discretionary decision not to certify a class in this action,

where that decision was based on a failure of proof—

specifically, petitioners’ failure to satisfy the court that their

application for class certification complied with the require-

ments of Fed. R. Civ. P. 23(a), as required by General Tele-

phone Co. of the Southwest v. Falcon, 457 U.S. 147 (1982)?

2. Should this Court review the denial of class certification in

light of Watson v. Fort Worth Bank & Trust, LS. ‘

108 S. Ct. 2777 (1988), even though (a) Watson did not change

the standard for obtaining class certification articulated in Fal-

con, and (b) the sole issue addressed in Watson—namely,

whether claims of subjective discrimination can be analyzed

under the so-called ‘‘disparate impact’? model—was raised by

petitioner in the District Court but abandoned on appeal?

il

List of Parties and Rule 28.1 List

The parties are listed in the petition. Respondent Purolator

Courier Corp. (‘‘Courier’’) is a wholly owned subsidiary of

Emery Air Freight Corp.

ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS

EES eee

Lest Of Parties and Rule 28.1 List. .........cccccscces

cc. esas dgesdeesbhenenenneces

es ko ccd owes en ec.evdecebanec ns

chad daadsdcesssesescbaeces

Reasons for Denying the Writ.............cccccccees

I. This Case Presents No Question of General

Importance Warranting Review by this Court..

A. Petitioners Are Seeking Review of Affirmed

Findings of Fact, Which Is Not The Prov-

EE i. eo Son cdeabeneaecesee

B. Petitioners’ Attucks on the Decisions Below

Under Eisen and Bazemore Do Not Raise

Issues Worthy of Certiorari..............

Il. Watson v. Fort Worth Bank & Trust Does Not

Require that this Court Review the Denial of

et ede daweeeeeeene

A. Falcon, Not Watson, Controls The Propri-

ety of Class Certification ................

B. Petitioners Cannot Raise The Disparate

Impact Issue Here Because They Abandoned

tis cote sagt babies sue aues és

ee ee aaneaee

i ss eee widened ethecéckeesecnsobe ee

PAGE

il

12

12

15

17

la

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: PAGE

Adickes v. S.H. Kress & Co., 398 U.S. 144 (1970)..... 1S

Bazemore v. Friday, 478 U.S. 385 (1986)........... 9, 10, 11

Berenji v. District Director, Immigration and Naturaliza-

OR BOVIS, SES U.S. GRO CHOY cn cccccccccscscces i)

Branti vy. Finkel, 445 U.S. 507 (1980). ................ y

Coopers & Lybrand v. Livesay, 437 U.S. 463 (1978) ... i]

Delta Air Lines, Inc. v. August, 450 U.S. 346 (1981)... 15

Eisen v. Carlisle & Jacquelin, 417 U.S. 156 (1974) ..... 9, 10

General Telephone Co. of the Southwest v. Falcon, 457

Se ee ES Cc tokyo ncuu areas vb bases eens passim

Graver Tank & Mfg. Co. vy. Linde Air Products Co., 336

Ser ee es Sa wsn asd as VaR E 6s 64k sakenee 2

Helvering y. Clifford, 309 U.S. 331 (1940)............ 16

Helvering v. Wood, 309 U.S. 344 (1940). ............. 16

International Brotherhood of Teamsters v. United

ee. Se Se Te 6c edn deb ceeeesesetaencs 4, 10

Layne & Bowler y. Western Well Works, 261 U.S. 387

DN cciaceeruseonss cere eeneetkeieeerssaesekes 7

Neely v. Martin 4. by Construction Co., Inc., 386 U.S.

ee te des ch ee nese aaa a's ag wh bg 5's 15

Rogers v. Lodge, 458 U.S. 613 (1982) ................ 9

Rossini v. Ogilvy & Mather, Inc., 798 F. 2d 590 (2d Cir.

PAGE

Watson v. Fort Worth Bank & Trust, __. U.S. ___,

SOP S. Ch. SIRF CUBR s voce cicccrevenccccssasasane 16

Watson v. Fort Worth Bank & Trust, __. U.S. ___.,

' § Se Mrrel|\,. PRPPPPrrererer ieee er passim

Statutes and Regulations:

ro Rik Foe >. rr rrr rr rrr rer eo. 3

Bod, RR. Clu. BP. ZOD occ cccccccccasdccestnaccaneces passim

Sep. Ct. Ru 17 onc cccccccncesscccscescccecceasecses 1]

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

No. 88-281

PATRICIA SHEEHAN, ELIZABETH HENOCH, and KAYHAN

HELLRIEGEL, on Behalf of Themselves and All Others

Similarly Situated,

Petitioners,

—

PUROLATOR, INC. and PUROLATOR COURIER CORP.,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

>

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

Preliminary Statement

In Generai Telephone Co. of the Southwest v. Falcon, 457

U.S. 147 (1982), this Court held that it was not appropriate to

certify a class in a Title VII case unless the named plaintiffs sat-

isfied the trial court, after rigorous analysis, that they shared

common claims of discrimination with an identifiable class of

similarly situated persons.

In this Title VII case, the United States District Court for the

Eastern District of New York, after reviewing the meager and

2

unpersuasive evidence presented by petitioners in support of

their motion for class certification, ruled that petitioners had

not met their burden under Falcon and declined to certify a

class. On appeal, a panel of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Second Circuit examined the same evidence and decided

that the District Court's assessment of that evidence was not

clearly erroneous. The Court of Appeals therefore ruled—

unanimously—that the District Court had not erred in denying

the class certification motion.

Petitioners now ask this Court to review—for a third time-—

whether their evidence was sufficient to sustain their burden

under Falcon. To put it in petitioners’ own words, they ask this

Court to find that, ‘*[t}he District Court committed clear error

and abused its discretion’’ by not certifying a class, and that,

““[t}he Second Circuit erroneously disregarded . . . highly

probative evidence”’ in affirming that decision. (Pet. 6)

This Court, however, sits to decide questions of federal law

that raise novel, general or important issues. It does not exercise

its jurisdiction to review findings of fact that relate solely to an

individual case. Indeed, as described in Graver Tank & Mfg.

Co. v. Linde Air Products Co., 336 U.S. 271, 275 (1949), this

Court is “‘a court of law. . . rather than a court for correction

of errors in fact finding, [and] cannot undertake to review the

concurrent findings of fact by two courts below. . . .** Under

this long-established principle, nothing presented by this case is

worthy of review by this Court.

Petitioners also assert that certiorari should issue because the

denial of class certification is inconsistent with this Court's

recent decision in Watson v. Fort Worth Bank & Trust

U.S. _

, 108 S. Ct. 2777 (1988), in which allegations that

subjective employment practices are discriminatory were

deemed amenable to analysis under the “‘disparate impact”’

model. But the propriety of certifying a class in this particular

case presents no issue that warrants further review in light of

Watson, because Watson did not modify the standards for class

certification established by this Court in Falcon for all class

actions, whether brought under a disparate impact or disparate

treatment theory.

Moreover, while the District Court rejected petitioners’ argu-

ment that subjective employment practices could be analyzed

under the disparate impact model, petitioners abandoned that

argument when they took their appeal, as the Court of Appeals

specifically noted. (App. 6)' This Court customarily declines to

review questions that were not presented to the Court of

Appeals; the fact that the issue was raised and then abandoned

only reinforces the propriety of not making an exception to that

rule in this case.

Statement of the Case

In February 1982, Patricia Sheehan and Elizabeth Henoch,

along with a third plaintiff,’ filed a class action under Title VII,

42 U.S.C. § 2000(e). They alleged that Courier had discrimi-

nated against them and other women on the basis of their sex in

job assignment, pay, fringe benefits, promotion and transfer

and had retaliated against them for filing discrimination

charges with the EEOC.

Each of the three plaintiffs had unique jobs at Courier. (App.

$8-59, 64) They were all highly successful, well-paid employees.

(App. 53, 59, 64) Two of the plaintiffs—Sheehan and

Henoch—were officers of the company. The third was the sen-

ior regional manager of Courier’s Chicago terminal and one of

the highest paid managers—male or female—in Courier’s field

operations. (App. 64)

Proceedings Below

District Court Decisions

On March 23, 1983, petitioners moved for class certification.

After extensive discovery and briefing, the motion was denied

by the District Court on December 26, 1984. (App. 35)

l Appendix references are to the petition appendix unless otherwise

noted.

2 The third plaintiff, Kayhan Hellriegel, entered into a stipulation

with Courier dismissing her complaint with prejudice.

4

The trial court articulated two bases for its decision.

First, the District Court held that petitioners failed to show

that an aggrieved class of similarly situated persons existed, as

required by General Telephone Co. of the Southwest v. Falcon,

457 U.S. 147 (1982). Although petitioners introduced what they

referred to as ‘‘significant proof that [Courier] operated under

a general policy of discrimination,’’ Falcon, supra, 457 U.S. at

159, n.15, in support of their class certification motion, the Dis-

trict Court concluded that the evidence did not amount to ‘‘sig-

nificant proof’”’ of anything.

The court ruled that the statistical evidence (including regres-

sion analyses) submitted by petitioners in support of their

motion was fundamentally flawed because it did not ‘‘offer the

relevant comparison of similarly situated female and male

employees (i.e., females and males with the same qualifications

and experience). . . .’’ (App. 52) (Emphasis added)

In light of the defects in petitioner’s statistical evidence, the

non-statistical evidence about similarly aggrieved women that

they introduced to bring ‘‘the cold numbers convincingly to

life,’’ International Brotherhood of Teamsters v. United States,

431 U.S. 324, 339 (1977), assumed great importance. (App. 52)

The District Court, however, found that evidence to be both

inadequate and unpersuasive. It held that an affidavit from one

member of the proposed class and a list of employees who had

filed discrimination complaints against Courier—only three of

whom would have been members of the proposed class—did

not establish a class of aggrieved employees that bore ‘‘some

Statistically significant relationship to the size of the relevant

parts of the employer’s work force.’’ (App. 50, citing Falcon at

457 U.S. 157-158)’

In the alternative, the District Court concluded that class cer-

tification was not warranted because petitioners, with their

unique jobs and high ranking status, were atypical of the broad

3 The proposed class consisted of approximately 315 women, consti-

tuting all women in jobs categorized as ‘‘exempt,’’ no matter what job

they held. (App. 50)

2

class they sought to represent. (App. 54-59, 61-67)* The District

Court judge acknowledged that a narrower class of high rank-

ing women employees might have been appropriately certified,

but noted, ‘‘[pji. intiffs have not articulated any basis for defin-

ing such a class.’’ (App. 68-69)

After class certification was denied, petitioners pressed their

individual claims at an eight-day trial, following which the Dis-

trict Court entered judgment in favor of Courier. (App. 22) The

trial court, sitting as fact-finder, found that petitioners had

failed to carry their burden of proof on any of their individual

claims of discrimination. That court described petitioners’ evi-

dence as ‘‘unpersuasive,’’ ‘‘lack[ing] merit’’ and ‘‘not credi-

ble.’’ (App. 22-33)

Petitioners introduced at trial the same flawed statistics that

had been submitted and found wanting on the motion for class

certification. They offered this evidence both in support of their

individual claims and in support of a renewed request for class

certification, which was made during trial. The District Court

again held that the statistics proved nothing, this time remark-

ing that the ‘‘statistical evidence is not persuasive because it

does not take into account non-discriminatory variables that

explain disparities in pay.’’ (App. 25)

Court of Appeals Decision

The Second Circuit Court of Appeals issued its opinion

affirming the judgment on February 12, 1988.

The panel unanimously affirmed the District Court’s denial

of class certification. The Court of Appeals held that the Dis-

trict Court had not erred in denying class certification, because

petitioners failed to present ‘‘class-wide proof of an aggrieved

class’’ as required by Falcon. (App. 7)°

4 Job categories within the proposed class included positions as

diverse as officers and professionals, on the one hand, and customer

service representatives and secretaries, on tiie other. (App. 57)

5 The Court of Appeals did not reach the alternate ground relied on

by the District Court in denying class certification; namely, that peti-

tioners were atypical of the class they wanted to represent. (App. 7)

6

In the view of the Court of Appeals, the District Court was

not clearly erroneous in finding petitioners’ statistical evidence

not probative of whether petitioners satisfied the requirements

of Fed. R. Civ. P. 23(a), because ‘‘[t]he regression analysis did

not take into account various relevant non-discriminatory fac-

tors, such as education and prior work experience.’’ (App. 9)

The Court of Appeals observed that Courier had presented evi-

dence which showed that such factors could explain any dispari-

ties between men and women to which petitioners pointed.

(App. 9)

The Second Circuit also affirmed the District Court’s conclu-

sion that petitioners’ ‘‘limited amount’’ (App. 9) of anecdotal

evidence about the existence of a class was insufficient to sup-

port certification of a class. Reviewing the particular pieces of

evidence, the Court of Appeals agreed with the District Court

that a list of employees who had filed charges against Courier

with the EEOC (only a few of whom were even members of the

putative class) ‘‘had little probative value.’’ (App. 9) It also

affirmed the District Court’s finding that a single affidavit

from only one potential class member out of a proposed class of

315 members ‘‘was insufficient to establish a class of aggrieved

individuals’’ under Rule 23(a). (App. 9) Finally, the Court of

Appeals noted that statements from outdated personnel man-

uals that petitioners had introduced did not establish that there

existed a class of similarly situated women with grievances simi-

lar to theirs because the manuals ‘‘were not in effect at corpo-

rate headquarters,’’ where petitioners worked. (App. 9)

By a 2-1 vote, the Court of Appeals also upheld the District

Court’s decision to dismiss petitioners’ individual claims, ruling

that the findings of fact made by the District Court with respect

to those claims were also not clearly erroneous. (App. 16) Judge

Kearse dissented from the decision to affirm the judgment dis-

missing the individual claims, on the sole ground that she would

have accorded more weight to certain non-statistical evidence

presented at trial. (App. 17-21)

On April 13, 1988, petitioners’ request for a rehearing was

denied by the Court of Appeals.

On August 15, 1988, respondents received the petition for a

writ of certiorari. Petitioners sought review only of the Court of

Appeals’ unanimous affirmance of the decision denying class

certification. They did not ask this Court to review the dismissai

of their individual claims.

Reasons for Denying the Writ

I.

THIS CASE PRESENTS NO QUESTIONS OF GENERAL

IMPORTANCE WARRANTING REVIEW

BY THIS COURT

A. Petitioners Are Seeking Review of Affirmed Findings of

Fact, Which is Not the Province of This Court

The Court of Appeals did not decide in this case any impor-

tant question of federal law that requires further review. There

is no conflict among the circuits on any point that needs to be

resolved. Nor does this matter raise any novel, general or

important legal issue. The Court of Appeals held only that the

District Court did not clearly err when it found that petitioners

had failed to meet their evidentiary burden of proving that a

class of similarly aggrieved women existed, and, hence, that

class certification was unwarranted. That ruling, which is of no

moment to any case but this one, hardly raises an issue worthy

of certiorari. Layne & Bowler v. Western Weli Works, 261 U.S.

387, 393 (1923) (Supreme Court will not review a case unless it

involves principles of public importance).

That the named plaintiffs in a Title VII case must convince a

court that they are proper representatives of a defined class as a

prerequisite to obtaining class certification has been settled ever

since this Court recognized that

. . the allegation that such discrimination has occurred

neither determines whether a class action may be main-

tained in accordance with Rule 23 nor defines the class that

may be certified. Conceptually, there is a wide gap

between (a) an individual’s claim that he has been denied a

promotion on discriminatory grounds, and his otherwise

unsupported allegation that the Company has a policy of

discrimination, and (b) the existence of a class of persons

who have suffered the same injury as that individual, such

that the individual’s claim and the class claims will share

common questions of law or fact and that the individual’s

claim will be typical of the class claims. For respondent to

bridge that gap, he must prove much more than the valid-

ity of his own claim.

Falcon, supra, 457 U.S. at 157. To bridge that gap, any putative

class representative in a Title VII case must demonstrate that he

or she and others share grievances against their employer that

arise out of common questions of law and fact. Jd. at 158. Only

‘‘if the trial court is satisfied, after rigorous analysis, that the

prerequisites of Rule 23(a) have been satisfied’’ may it certify a

Title VII class. Jd. at 161.

Petitioners do not contest the proposition that the District

Court and Court of Appeals were bound to follow Falcon in

this case. What petitioners do challenge is the District Court’s

holding, affirmed by a unanimous Court of Appeals, that class

certification was appropriately denied because the evidence they

presented in support of their motion for class certification did

not suffice to bridge the gap identified in Falcon.

Before denying class certification, the District Court engaged

in the rigorous analysis required by Falcon. It rested its decision

squarely on factual findings that were thereafter reviewed by

the Court of Appeals and found not to be clearly erroneous.

Petitioners recognize this. The petition frames the issue raised

by the case as follows: ‘‘The District Court committed clear

error and abused its discretion in failing to recognize that sub-

jective decisions at Purolator were being made in a highly sex-

biased atmosphere and by officers and supervisors with

company mandated sex-biased directives. The Second Circuit

erroneously disregarded this highly probative evidence.’’ (Pet.

6) In page after page of the petition, petitioners catalogue the

9

evidence that allegedly proves their point—never once pointing

to the rebuttal evidence that the trial court found more convinc-

ing, and never once alluding to the actual findings of fact

(including credibility findings) that were made and affirmed

below.

But this Court, unlike petitioners, does defer to factual deter-

minations in which the District Court and Court of Appeals

have concurred. It has repeatedly held that it will not review

such findings. Rogers v. Lodge, 458 U.S. 613, 623 (1982);

Branti v. Finkel, 445 U.S. 507, 512 n.6 (1980); Berenji v. Dis-

trict Director, Immigration and Naturalization Service, 385

U.S. 630, 635 (1967). And where, as here, there is no dispute

that the lower courts correctly followed controlling legal prece-

dent in making and reviewing those factual findings, there is no

basis for further review by this Court.

B. Petitioners’ Attacks on the Decisions Below Under Eisen

and Bazemore Do Not Raise Issues Worthy of Certiorari

In an attempt to mask their request for further review of the

District Court’s factual findings, petitioners also assert that the

lower courts committed two errors of law which require certio-

rari. The assertion is baseless.

Petitioners first argue that the decisions below run afoul of

this Court’s opinion in Eisen v. Carlisle & Jacquelin, 417 U.S.

156 (1974). According to petitioners, the lower courts, in con-

travention of Eisen, required them to prove the merits of their

claims of discrimination in order to obtain class certification.

That is simply not the case.

Under Eisen, a court cannot hold a hearing on the ultimate

merits of the claim to determine whether to certify a class. But

as this Court has observed in several post-Eisen decisions,

‘*it]he class determination generally involves considerations

that are ‘enmeshed in the factual and legal issues comprising the

plaintiff’s cause of action.’ ’’ Coopers & Lybrand v. Livesay,

437 U.S. 463, 469 (1978), cited in Falcon, supra, 457 U.S. at

160. The Court has never suggested that this enmeshing of

10

issues either contravenes Eisen or places an impossible burden

on putative class plaintiffs.

Here, neither the District Court nor the Court of Appeals

held, or even suggested, that petitioners were required to prove

the merits of their class claims in order to obtain certification.

The lower courts only required, in accordance with Falcon, that

petitioners satisfy the court that the prerequisites of Rule 23(a)

had been met. That petitioners chose to do so by offering what

they contended was ‘‘significant proof’’ of Courier’s discrimi-

natory practices—evidence that was necessarily ‘‘enmeshed in

the factual and legal issues’’ raised by their complaint—is of no

moment. The District Court evaluated that evidence and found

it insufficient to bridge the Fa/con gap. That does not run afoul

of Eisen; it does not even implicate Eisen.

Second, petitioners allege that the Court of Appeals erred in

not overturning the denial of class certification because the Dis-

trict Court failed to consider petitioners’ statistical evidence, as

required by Bazemore v. Friday, 478 U.S. 385 (1986). As the

Second Circuit held on appeal, this argument has no merit.

As petitioners read Bazemore, the trial court was required to

find that they had discharged their burden under Fa/con simply

by offering statistical evidence to support their claim that other

women had grievances similar to theirs—no matter how defec-

tive those statistics might be. That, of course, is not what Baze-

more says. All Bazemore holds is that a court may not ignore

statistics simply because they do not control for all relevant var-

iables. This Court also recognized in Bazemore that the failure

to include all relevant variables would necessarily affect the

weight accorded to statistical evidence. /d., 478 U.S. at 400.

And in a post-Bazemore Title VII decision, Justice O’Connor

observed, ‘‘courts or defendants [are not] obliged to assume

that plaintiffs’ statistical evidence is reliable. ‘If the employer

discerns fallacies or deficiencies in the data offered by the plain-

tiff, he is free to adduce countervailing evidence of his own.’ ”’

Watson, supra, 108 S. Ct. at 2789. See also Teamsters, supra,

431 U.S. at 340 (“‘[S]tatistics, are not irrefutable, they come in

infinite variety and, like any other kind of evidence, they may

1]

be rebutted. In short, their usefulness depends on all of the sur-

rounding facts and circumstances.’’)

That is precisely what happened here. The District Court did

not ignore petitioners’ statistics. That evidence was part of the

record, both on the motion for class certification (App. 50-51)

and at trial (App. 25, 30), and it was discussed in both lower

court opinions. Contrary to petitioners’ assertion (Pet. 13), the

statistical evidence was controverted; Courier introduced unre-

butted evidence which showed that elementary non-

discriminatory factors, such as education, prior job experience

and job level, could (and did) explain any disparities in pay

between men and women employees at Courier. (App. 9) Peti-

tioners failed to control for those basic factors in their statisti-

cal analyses. (App. 8-9)

Obviously, the District Court, after rigorous analysis, found

Courier’s countervailing evidence more persuasive than peti-

tioners’ seriously flawed statistics, and its conclusion was

affirmed by the Court of Appeals as not clearly erroneous.

Such a finding, as the Court of Appeals held, does not run

afoul of Bazemore. (App. 8-10)

Thus, petitioners cannot identify any error of law that was

committed by the Court of Appeals, let alone an error of law

that qualifies as worthy of certiorari under Rule 17 of the

Supreme Court Rules. There is, therefore, no ground for this

Court to review the decision below.

12

il.

WATSON V. FORT WORTH BANK & TRUST DOES NOT

REQUIRE THAT THIS COURT REVIEW THE DENIAL OF

CLASS CERTIFICATION

A. Falcon, Not Watson, Controls The Propriety of Class

Certification

Petitioners also argue that certiorari should issue to review

the decision denying class certification because the District

Court held that the purely subjective employment practices at

issue in this case could not be analyzed under the disparate

impact model as well as the disparate treatment model. That

holding, petitioners argue, does not accord with this Court’s

recent decision in Watson v. Fort Worth Bank & Trust,

U.S. , 108 S. Ct. 2777 (1988).

The flaw in petitioners’ argument is that Watson did not con-

cern class certification or anything related to class certification.

It is Falcon, not Watson, that outlines the burden a putative

class plaintiff must assume in order to obtain class certification.

That burden is no different in disparate impact cases than in

disparate treatment cases—to bridge the gap between individual

and class claims by satisfying the court, after rigorous analysis,

that the prerequisites of Rule 23(a) have been complied with.

Nothing said in Watson alters that settled principle of law.

Indeed, the Watson Court specifically declined to address any

questions other than whether disparate impact analysis could

apply to a subjective promotion system. Jd. at 2791. Thus, there

is no support for petitioners’ assertion that Watson rendered

the decision denying class certification erroneous in any respect.

Further misreading Watson, petitioners suggest that Falcon

has minimal or no relevance in disparate impact cases. (Pet. 9)

However, that is clearly not correct. In Falcon, the class certi-

fied contained members who had disparate impact claims as

well as disparate treatment claims. Falcon, supra, 457 U.S. at

154. This Court overturned certification of the class on the

ground that the lower courts had failed to require fhe named

13

plaintiff to prove that the case satisfied the requirements of

Rule 23(a). At no point did the Court suggest that its discussion

of the burdens imposed on putative class plaintiffs by Rule

23(a) applied only when disparate treatment complaints, rather

than claims of disparate impact (whether objective or subjec-

tive), were involved. And no subsequent decision of this

Court—including Watson—has so held.

But even assuming that Watson had some relevance on the

question of class certification, certiorari would still be inappro-

priate, because the findings of the District Court, as affirmed

by the Court of Appeals, demonstrate conclusively that no class

could be certified under any theory.

As the Watson plurality noted, the burden on a plaintiff seek-

ing to prove that subjective employment practices had a dispar-

ate impact on a class of employees is not met as easily as in a

case involving facially neutral practices, such as height require-

ments or intelligence tests. The plaintiff must both identify the

specific employment practice that is challenged and then offer

statistics ‘‘of a kind and degree sufficient to show that the prac-

tice in question’’ has resulted in the exclusion of those in a pro-

tected group from some job benefit, such as employment or

promotion. Watson at 2777-78. Further, courts and defendants

are not ‘“‘obliged to assume that plaintiffs’ statistical evidence is

reliable. ‘If the employer discerns fallacies or deficiencies in the

data offered by the plaintiff, he is free to adduce countervailing

evidence of his own.’ ’’ Watson at 2789.

That is precisely what happened here. Respondents estab-

lished, to the satisfaction of both courts below, that the statis-

tics offered in support of petitioners’ motion for class

certification were so fallacious and deficient as to prove nothing

because:

1) they failed to offer comparisons between similarly situ-

ated men and women (App. 9, 52); and

2) they failed to control for the most elementary non-

discriminatory factors that can account for differences in treat-

14

ment among employees, such as education and prior work

experience. (App. 9, 25)

Nothing in Watson suggests that such patently defective sta-

tistics would be any more acceptable as evidence that a dispar-

ate impact class exists than they were under the disparate

treatment model. Indeed, the plurality’s recognition of the need

for rigorous statistical proof in a disparate impact case involv-

ing subjective decisions compels the conclusion that the class

certification decision would have been the same if this had been

analyzed as a disparate impact case from the beginning.

Relying on extensive quotations from Judge Kearse’s dissent,

petitioners also assert that their non-statistical evidence alone

would be sufficient to guarantee certification of a class under

the disparate impact theory. But nothing in Watson suggests

that the minimal and largely irrelevant anecdotal evidence

rejected by the courts below would be sufficient, in and of

itself, to certify a class under the disparate impact model.

Moreover, petitioners’ reliance on Judge Kearse’s dissent is

misplaced, inasmuch as she was concerned solely with evidence

she thought should have been given more weight by the District

Court in deciding petitioners’ individual claims. As petitioners

recognize, (Pet. 5) Judge Kearse joined the majority in affirm-

ing the District Court's denial of class certification. Even Judge

Kearse did not believe petitioners’ anecdotal evidence was suffi-

cient to warrant class certification.

In sum, Watson neither vitiates a plaintiff's burden of prov-

ing the existence of a class under Falcon nor endows evidence as

flimsy as that introduced by petitioners with sufficient proba-

tive value to sustain that burden. Thus, petitioners’ reliance on

Watson is misplaced.

15

B. Petitioners Cannot Raise The Disparate Impact Issue Here

Because They Abandoned It On Appeal

In any event, petitioners are in no position to invoke Watson

here because, while they raised the disparate impact issue in

their motion for class certification, they abandoned it on

appeal. (App. 46)

Petitioners assert that the District Court's ruling on the dis-

parate impact question was affirmed by the Court of Appeals.

(Pet. 9) It was not. The briefs submitted to the appellate court

by petitioners make no mention of the issue (Courier’s App. la-

88a), and the Court of Appeals took pains to note that the Dis-

trict Court’s ruling on the question “‘has not been challenged on

appeal.’’ (App. 6)°

This Court has repeatedly held that it will not normally con-

sider an issue that was not considered by the Court of Appeals.

Adickes v. S.H. Kress & Co., 398 U.S. 144, 147 n.2 (1970)

(‘‘Where issues are neither raised before nor considered by the

Court of Appeals, this Court will not ordinarily consider

them.’’); Delta Air Lines, Inc. v. August, 450 U.S. 346, 362

(1981); Neely v. Martin K. Eby Construction Co., Inc., 386

U.S. 317, 330 (1967).

Petitioners obviously believe that, in light of Watson, this

Court should invoke an exception to this well-established rule

However, there is no reason to depart from customary practice

in this case. Only in exceptional cases will this Court consider

an issue that was not raised in the Court of Appeals; this case

hardly qualifies as exceptional. And where the petitioner (like

6 The Court of Appeals stated: **The court analyzed the case as one of

disparate impact, requiring proof of discriminatory motive. This find

ing has not been challenged on appeal."’ (App. 6) It is obvious, Dorh

from reading the District Court's decision and from the Court of

Appeals’ reference to discriminatory motive (which only comes into

play in disparate treatment cases) that the word “‘impact™’ should be

““treatment."* Petitioners recognize this. (Pet. 17 n.6) It is equally clear

from context that this error is far more likely to be the result of care-

less proofreading than some misunderstanding of the law, as petition-

ers suggest.

16

petitioners here) has expressly waived reliance on a particular

issue On appeal, this Court will not consider that issue on certio-

rari, even in cases where the Court has addressed a previously

unsettled point of law in a supervening opinion. Helvering v.

Wood, 309 U.S. 344, 349 (1940). (Supreme Court declined to

consider an issue when petitioner specifically waived reliance on

that issue in the Court of Appeals, even though, under opinion

announced in a companion case, Helvering v. Clifford, 309

U.S. 331 (1940), petitioner would have prevailed on the merits.)

Attempting to avoid the impact of their waiver, petitioners

apparently suggest that they should be excused from their fail-

ure to press their disparate impact argument on appeal in this

case because the Second Circuit had already rejected the identi-

cal argument in a prior case. Rossini v. Ogilvy & Mather, Inc.,

798 F. 2d 590 (2d Cir. 1986). (Pet. 5 n.2, 9 n.3) Such a conten-

tion is unpersuasive for two reasons.

First, the Second Circuit in Rossini did not even consider the

question that petitioners failed to preserve here—whether dis-

parate impact treatment for subjective employment practices

would affect the propriety of certifying a class in a Title VII

case. Thus, petitioners could not rely on the decision in Rossini

to excuse their failure to raise the issue, even if the pendency of

an adverse decision would otherwise have vitiated their

waiver—which it would not.

Second, petitioners’ failure to preserve their disparate impact

argument is particularly inexplicable in light of the fact that the

issue was the subject of conflict between the circuits; indeed,

petitioners’ counsel (who were, coincidentally, counsel in Ros-

sini ) made that very point to the Second Circuit in Rossini. /d.,

798 F.2d at 605. And this court granted certiorari in Watson to

resolve that conflict a mere three weeks after the District Court

announced its decision in this case, which was well before the

instant appeal was perfected. Watson v. Fort Worth Bank &

Trust Co., cert. granted, _U.S. , 107 S. Ct. 3227 (June

22, 1987). Petitioners could have apprised the Second Circuit of

the pendency of Watson and, if they deemed the case important

or relevant here, they could even have moved for a stay of pro-

17

ceedings in the Court of Appeals pending the decision in Wat-

son. That they chose not to do so, thereby depriving this Court

of the Second Circuit’s views on the question they now pro-

pound, speaks volumes about the irrelevance of Watson to the

issue of class certification in this case.

Conclusion

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Dated: New York, New York

September 13, 1988

Respectfully submitied,

COLLEEN MCMAHON

1285 Avenue of the Americas

New York, New York 10019

(212) 373-3000

Counsel of Record for

Respondents

Of Counsel:

Morris B. Abram

Jay Cohen

Diana Hassel

la

No. 87-7540

United States Court of Appeals

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

te

PATRICIA SHEEHAN, ELIZABETH HENOCH, and KAYHAN

HELLRIEGEL, on Behalf of Themselves and All Others

Similarly Situated,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

—against—

PUROLATOR, INC. and PUROLATOR COURIER CORP.,

Defendants-Appellees.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

PLAINTIFFS-APPELLANTS’ BRIEF

VLADECK, WALDMAN, ELIAS

& ENGELHARD, P.C.

Attorneys for Plaintiffs-Appellants

1501 Broadway, Suite 800

New York, New York 10036

(212) 354-8330

Of Counsel:

Judith P. Vladeck

Joseph J. Garcia

Laura S. Schnell

2a

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TAREE CD ALR SUD ccc ckssccssescnsasecneen

FIED WEG NMED oc cn cece vecsencenseaneeouapes

POINT |

DENIAL OF CLASS CERTIFICATION WAS AN

Pe AOE CEC hb 6c nc nkg ns ackadkan donne

A. The District Court Erroneously Required Affi-

davits From Class Members When Plaintiffs

Presented Substantial Evidence of Defendants’

Discriminatory Policies .................eee-

B. The District Court’s Refusal To Certify The

Plaintiffs As Class Representatives Was An

Pa SE TORR «no vk Se a ex dvkeus

POINT II

THE DISTRICT COURT’S FINDINGS ON

SHEEHAN’S AND HENOCH’S DISCRIMINA-

TION CLAIMS ARE CLEARLY ERRONEOUS..

A. The District Court’s Failure To Consider The

Discriminatory Atmosphere And The Sex-

Biased Attitude Of Purolator’s Decisionmakers

Constitutes Reversible Error

PAGE

19

19

19

26

36

36

ean oan

3a

PAGE

B. The District Court Improperly Evaluated the

Statistical Evidence........----++e essere eee: 39

POINT Ill

THE DISTRICT COURT’S FAILURE TO EXAM-

INE FULLY PLAINTIFFS’ RETALIATION

CLAIMS REQUIRES REVERSAL .........----- 44

Pe a os 50

4a

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: PAGE

AFSCME y. County of Nassau, fe

FEP Casts SB3 C.07.00. 8. PTs ohaktacncsaadencen 4

Anderson v. City of Bessemer City, 470 U.S. 564 (1985) 46

Avagliqano v. Sumitomo Shoki America, Inc., 104

ie ROR ae | ee rr re 28

Bauman vy. U.S. District Court, 557 F.2d 650 (9th Cir.

oe) A er On BAPE Em eet y rer ENE t See u ee Met 21

Bazemore vy. Friday, aah , 106 S.Ct. 3000, 92

| Me BEd CUES ci ee Lao ae secu hw da 3, 7, 25, 42, 43, 44

Bell v. Birmingham Linen Service, 715 F.2d 1552 (11th

Cees Woe ba ke kobe Ree ahd aneene sarees 36

Benson vy. Little Rock Hilton Inn, 30 Empl. Prac. Dec.

Ser DS oe ee, Ps RE eka aan aeeeuuden eens 23

Carpenter v. Stephen F. Austin State University, 706

oe fe Ee oe. er er eee 28

Castaneda v. Partida, 430 U.S. 482 (1977)............ 8

Cox v. American Cast Iron Pipe Co., 784 F.2d 1546 (11th

Cir. 1986), cert. denied, U.S. , 107 S.Ct. 274

CURR a 5 60 05 ioe 40 oP EES Oh ahha ois AGES 20, 21, 28

Davis v. State University of New York, 802 F.2d 638 (2d

Cs Sd sine has Ws eae aR eee ae 44

DeCintio v. Westchester County Medical Center,

F.2d , 44 FEP Cases 32 (2d Cir. 1987)...... 44, 45, 49

De La Fuente v. Stokley-Van Camp, Inc., 713 F.2d 225

(7th Cir. 1983)

SCH ESL ECHABHHRSEBEA HEC CCE ALH OD TAB E ODE SE 6 0

ig. anon

Sa

PAGE

Dominic v. Consolidated Edison Co., F.2d ?

eo et UU Re ef rere 45

Duke v. University of Texas at El Paso 729 F.2d 994 (Sth

Cir.), cert. denied, U.S. , 105 S.Ct. 386

RE Wns WHO's oe ke RES Ee CNT REWER Seas 7

Eastland v. TVA, 704 F.2d 613 (11th Cir. 1983), cert.

Ge ia FO CR evans cen donccaakadnes 43

Eisen v. Carlisle, 417 U.S. 1567 (1974) ............... 28, 35

Equal Employment Opportunity Commission v. Sage

Realty Corp., 87 F.R.D. 365 (S.D.N.Y. 1980)....... 39

Francis vy. American Telephone & Telegraph Co., 55

Fee. ee NEED ci iio cb wlkn saab eda Raa des 47

General Telephone Company of the Southwest v. Falcon,

ee Pe I io hes oe cdg oe uaale eee oe 3, 4, 20, 27

Grant v. Bethlehem Steel Corp., 622 F.2d 43 (2d Cir.

SN ceed acn each Ke ed Cte bb hae eae eee 45

Grant v. Morgan Guaranty, 548 F.Supp. 1189 (S.D.N.Y.

264k CERES CLEAN R VEES RGN a OREN 22

Griffin v. City of Omaha, 785 F.2d 620 (8th Cir. 1985) 36

Hansen v. Webster, 41 FEP Cases 223 (D.D.C. 1986).. 29

Hazelwood School District v. United States, 433 U.S. 299

SE See Doce ie teat ade bug ease sloaede ae 8

Herbst v. Able, 46 F.R.D. 11 (S.D.N.Y. 1969) ........ 35

Holsey v. Armour & Co., 743 F.2d 199 (4th Cir. 1984). 35

Hopkins v. Price Waterhouse, F.2d ___, 44 FEP

eee eee ee, ED oh oh ec ba waa ke eee ncn ae 38

6a

PAGE

Jordan v. Wilson, 649 F.Supp. 1038 (M.D. Ala. 1986) . 39

Lilly v. Harris Teeter Supermarket, 720 F.2d 326 (4th

Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 466 U.S. 951 (1984)........ 27

Lo Re v. Chase Manhattan Corp., 431 F.Supp. 189

(S.D.N.Y. TS7F bs ik cceceeakeea eres 33

Martin vy. Eastern Pub. Co., 73 F.R.D. 678 (E.D. Pa.

IDTT). oc cccrivccncsdawiae pase ee eee ee 34

McDonnell Douglas v. Green, 411 U.S. 792 (1973)..... 45

McKenna v. Weinberger, 729 F.2d 789 (D.C. Cir. 1984) 38

McKenzie v. Sawyer, 684 F.2d 62 (D.C. Cir. 1982) .... 28

Mersey v. First Republic Corporation, 43 F.R.D. 465

(S.D.N. 7. YOR. i oscsca va cane eens 35

Meyer v. MacMillan Publishing Co., Inc., 95 F.R.D. 411

(S.D.N.Y . FO) 66nd dense 33

Moffett v. Gene B. Glick Co., 621 F. Supp. 244 (N.D.

ind. 96S) 2 occa kceec¢asaae eee eee 46

Mosley vy. General Motors Corp., 497 F. Supp. 583,

aff'd, 691 F.2d S04 (Gth Cir, JOBE)... occ ncccacesc 49

Odom vy. U.S. Homes Corp., 76 F.R.D. 381 (S.D. Tex.

W975)... ucccsthans desde eee eee 34

Richardson v. Restaurant Marketing Associates, Inc., 83

F.B.D. 268 GN.0D. Cae. Biles see ee ee 24

Rossini v. Ogilvy & Mather, 798 F.2d 590 (2d Cir.

| POPPER ere ry rere el he ery ra oe passim

Rowe v. Bailar, 26 FEP Cases 1145 (D.D.C. 1981)..... 31

Rule v. Iron Workers, Local 296, 568 F.2d 558 (8th Cir.

+ cna lll

7a

PAGE

Sheehan v. Purolator, 103 F.R.D. 641 (E.D.N.Y.

Sai penis PPPereeee reer erereee errr e eee passim

Sheehan v. Purolator, 676 F.2d 877 (2d Cir. 1981)..... 2

Sheehan v. Purolator, 36 FEP Cases 1449 (E.D.N.Y.

eee ia sua seaseceaescasesecss 2

Society for Good Will to Retarded Children v. Cuomo,

ee 19

Sperry Rand Corp. v. Larson, 554 F.2d 868 (8th Cir.

Os 35

Steffin v. First Charter Financial Corporation, 77 F.R.D.

es dei aheacecseceeadicdusss 26

Teamsters v. United States, 431 U.S. 324 (1977)....... 7, 25

Thompkins v. Morris Brown College, 752 F.2d 558 (11th

Cs eel beedesaceuneeenewes errr. 36

Warren v. ITT World Communications, 95 F.R.D. 425

Ee a 23

Wheeler v. City Of Columbus, 686 F.2d 1144 (Sth Cir.

ee eC aaiddesbscecewans 38

Womack v. Munson, 619 F.2d 1292 (8th Cir.), cert.

Se ee EO, PW COMED caso cect cesecsscascecs 45

Williams v. Boorstin, 451 F. Supp. 1117 (D. D.C. 1978),

rev’d on other grounds, 663 F.2d 109 (D.C. Cir. 1980),

ey SS EE UP. DOS CEDUED ccc cece ticscesees 34

Wright v. Stone Container Corp. , 524 F.2d 1058 (8th Cir.

8a

PAGE

Statutes and Rules:

ra ery passim

Ge SPs NEED 6 645d Saks cee tescccdseducawene 2

Rule 23, Federal Rules of Civil Procedure............ passim

Treatise:

Manual for Complex Litigation ..................... 20, 21

9a

ISSUES PRESENTED

1. Whether the District Court erred in its class certification

decision in requiring affidavits from class members when plain-

tiffs presented substantial evidence of defendants’ discrimina-

tory policies, discriminatory attitude and statistical evidence of

discrimination.

2. Whether the District Court erred in holding that the plain-

tiffs were inadequate class representatives.

3. Whether the District Court clearly erred in finding that

plaintiffs did not suffer from discrimination, when it failed to

consider the discriminatory atmosphere at Purolator and the

sex-biased attitude of defendants’ officials, and when it

improperly rejected plaintiffs’ statistical evidence.

4. Whether the District Court’s findings of no retaliation

against Sheehan and Henoch are clearly erroneous.

10a

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

Docket No. 87-7540

~~

PATRICIA SHEBHAN, ELIZABETH HENOCH, and KAYHAN

HELLRIEGEL, on behalf of themselves and all others simi-

larly situated,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

—against —

PUROLATOR, INC. and PUROLATOR COURIER CORP.,

Defendants-Appellees.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This action was brought pursuant to Title VII of the Civil

Rights Act of 1964, as amended, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e ef seq.

(‘Tithe VII'"), by plaintiffs Patricia Sheehan (‘‘Sheehan’’),

Elizabeth Henoch (‘‘Henoch’’) and Kayhan Hellriegel

(‘*Hellriegel’’), on behalf of themselves and a proposed class of

female exempt (salaried) employees and former employees

of Purolator Courier Corporation and Purolator Inc.

(‘‘defendants’’/**Purolator’’). The Complaint generally alleged

that defendants unlawfully discriminated against plaintiffs, and

the class of women they sought to represent, in assigning them

to lower paying, lower status positions, in promotion and trans-

fer opportunities and in the payment to them of lower salaries

and other benefits than those given to similarly-situated males.

In addition, plaintiffs Sheehan and Henoch asserted that they

were retaliated against for having filed charges of discrimina-

tion. See Tithe VII, 42 U.S.C. [2] § 2000e-3(a). Plaintiffs

requested injunctive relief and monetary compensation for

back pay and other benefits lost by them and by members of the

proposed class as a result of the defendants’ unlawful practices.

a

In March, 1983 plaintiffs moved, pursuant to Rule 23(b)(2)

of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, for class certification. '

That motion was denied by the Hon. |. Leo Glasser in Decem-

ber, 1984. The Court’s decision is reported at 103 F.R.D. 641.

After the class certification motion was denied, Hellriege! and

Purolator entered into a settlement agreement resolving all of

her claims.

The claims of discrimination and retaliation’ alleged by plain-

tiffs Sheehan and Henoch were tried to the Court from June 24

through July 3, 1985. The District Court issued its decision on

May 27, 1987, dismissing all of plaintiffs’ claims. That decision

is unreported. (See J.A. 3224-38). Plaintiffs renewed their

motion for class certification at the conclusion of the trial on

the merits (J.A. 3152-53) and, although in its decision on the

merits the District Court acknowledged that [3] plaintiffs’

renewed motion was pending, it did not comment on it further.

(See J.A. 3224-38). Judgment was entered on June 2, 1987. On

June 30, 1987, plaintiffs Sheehan and Henoch appealed from

all adverse opinions and orders of the Court below. (J.A. 3240-

41).

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Plaintiffs appeal from the denial of their motion for class cer-

tification pursuant to Rule 23 of the Federal Rules of Civil Pro-

cedure and from the dismissal of their individual claims, which

alleged sex discrimination in the terms and conditions of their

! Many months of discovery, at large expense to plaintiffs, were

wasted in resisting defendants’ motion to dismiss the complaint as against

Purolator, Inc. Well after all papers were filed on the class certification

motion, Purolator, Inc. and Purolator Courier announced consolidation of

their headquarters and that the executive officers of Purolator, Inc. were

assuming responsibility for their respective functions at Courier. This made

de jure what plaintiffs had asserted was the fact at an earlier time. (See Joint

Appendix 1199-1200; “J.A.”*).

2 = This District Court earlier denied defendants’ motion for summary

judgment with respect to Sheehan's retaliation complaint. 6 FEP Cases 1449

(1982). This case was before this Court in 1981 when the Court reversed the

District Court's holding that it was without jurisdiction to hear Sheehan's

retaliation claim. 676 F.2d 877 (1981)

l2a

employment, and retaliation for having complained of discrimi-

nation.

In its analysis of plaintiffs’ application for class certification,

the Court below ignored plaintiffs’ factual showing and made

fundamental errors of law in applying General Telephone Com-

pany of the Southwest v. Falcon, 457 U.S. 147 (1982). These

errors resulted not only in the incorrect initial denial of the

motion, but also permeated the Court's erroneous assessment

of the merits of the individual plaintiffs’ claims. The District

Court’s failure to consider or rule on the renewed motion for

class certification in its final opinion is inexplicable and in disre-

gard of the additional evidentiary support for the motion devel-

oped on trial. It also is contrary to controlling decisions of this

Court and the United States Supreme Court issued after the

trial, but before issuance of the Court’s opinion and order of

May 27, 1987. See Bazemore vy. [4] Friday, 478 U.S. , 106

S.Ct. 3000, 92 L.Ed.2d 315 (1986); Rossini v. Ogilvy & Mather,

798 F.2d 590 (2d Cir. 1986).

The Court’s rulings not only disregard the requirements of

Rule 23(c)(1), but also reject sub silentio the express admonition

of this Court in Rossini that ‘‘the primary thrust of Falcon was

that satisfaction of Rule 23a) requirements may not be pre-

sumed’’ and that the Supreme Court in Falcon ‘‘did not hold

that a plaintiff asserting one particular type of claim can never

represent a class of employees asserting other types."’ 798 F.2d

at 597 (emphasis in original). In addition, had the District

Court applied Bazemore, 92 L.Ed.2d at 329-33, to the statistical

evidence, it would have been obliged to credit plaintiffs’ proof

both for purposes of class certification and liability.’

3 The Court's failure to address Rossini is even more baffling in view

of the citation to it in an opinion issued by the same Court less than two

months after it issued its final opinion in this case, in which the Court

granted class certification on allegations similar to those herein. See

AFSCME v. County of Nassau, F.Supp. , 44 FEP Cases 583,

$86 (E.D.N.Y. 1987). Applying the law as it was set forth in AFSCME, id.

at 585-86, the Court could not have denied plaintiffs’ motion for class certifi-

cation here. There, the Court, in what it deemed a disparate treatment case

l3a

The Court below misapprehended the law, and its obligations

under Rule 23(c)(1), in the following critical respects:

1. The Court ruled that, since Falcon, class representatives

are required to supply affidavits from class members to demon-

strate not only the ‘‘existence of an aggrieved class’’, but also

that other class members ‘‘feel aggrieved’’ in order to show typ-

icality. 103 F.R.D. at 648-49. In so doing, the Court errone-

ously required what in effect was an opt-in procedure.

[5] 2. The Court, ignoring the facts and prevailing law, found

that Sheehan, Henoch, and Hellriegel could not represent a

class of all female exempt employees because they occupied

‘‘relatively high level’’ positions. 103 F.R.D. at 650, 653, 655.

3. The Court ruled that Sheehan, Henoch and Hellriegel

could not be proper class representatives because they asserted

that they had suffered unlawful retaliation, in addition to their

class wide claims of discrimination in compensation, promo-

tion, and other conditions of employment. 103 F.R.D. 652,

653-54, 656.

The District Court also made far-reaching and fundamental

errors in evaluating the evidence before it, at both the class cer-

tification and trial stages of the litigation. The Court committed

clear error and abused its discretion in failing to recognize that

decisions were being made in a highly sex-biased atmosphere

and by officers and supervisors with company mandated sex-

biased directives. Thus,

1. The District Court never mentioned Purolator’s blatantly

sex-biased written policies, which were distributed to all officers

of the company and ‘‘to all managers within the field organiza-

tion, terminal mangers, [and] those people having direct day to

day responsibility for running the operations,’’ and which were

issued in 1971, renewed in 1975, and not withdrawn until

of salary discrimination, certified a class of all female Nassau County civil

service employees who were employed in traditionally female jobs (those hav-

ing 70% or more females).

l4a

shortly before trial in 1983 or 1984. (J.A. 2101-02, 2106; E.A.

1). Those policies and interperations included:

(a) An express belief that ‘‘{t]he sex of the individual is

more often related to job success than one might expect.”’

(Exhibit Appendix 1; ‘‘E.A. ___’’). ‘‘The sex of the

employee is often related to turnover.’’ (/d.)

(b) An admonition that the amount of responsibility an

employee may be allowed to assume should be related to

the number of dependents. Specifically, ‘‘[i]n the case of

women applicants, the number and ages of children are

important.’’ Managers and supervisors also are directed to

determine how the children are to be cared for while the

‘*mother’’ works. (/d.)

(c) An express preference for promoting men by

instructing managers and supervisors that, ‘‘before decid-

ing on a man for promotion’”’ consider such highly subjec-

tive criteria such as the candidate’s ‘‘heat [6] resistance’’

and loyalty because ‘‘being loyaltothe Company. . . . is

a quality of men who are responsible for the success of its

operation.’’ (J.A. 726) (emphasis added).

The District Court also ignored testimony that showed the

sex-biased attitude of Purolator officials:

2. The District Court erroneously ignored an admission by

Sheehan’s supervisor that he did not take her request for trans-

fer seriously because he knew she had children. (J.A. 2203).

This testimony not only demonstrated the biased attitude of her

supervisor, but also showed that he took seriously and imple-

mented the express policy that women with children were not to

be given responsibility within Purolator.

3. It was erroneous for the District Court to ignore the testi-

mony of a former male manager that he was told to pay women

low salaries because they had husbands, and that based upon

his management experience within Purolator, he observed

women were paid less than their male counterparts, and that it

was more difficult to get promotions or salary increases for

women than for men. (E.A. 362-63, 365-66, 394, 399).

lSa

4. The District Court erroneously refused to allow a witness

to testify at trial that John Delany (‘‘Delany’’) (both Henoch’s

and Sheehan’s supervisor) told her she would not be considered

for a position because no one would be respectful of a woman

in that position. (J.A. 2524-25).

5. The District Court completely ignored testimony support

ing Purolator’s former affirmative action officer that Purolator

only paid lip service to affirmative action (B.A. 125; J.A. 2174-

77), including the written admission that women in Purolator’s

work force are underutilized as officials and managers (E.A. 3)

and that Purolator’s affirmative action deficiencies disqualified

it for certain government contracts. (J.A. 2277-79)

6. The District Court erroneously rejected plaintiffs’ statis-

tics in foto on the ground that plaintiffs’ regression analysis,

which included all exempt employees, did not have variables for

education and prior experience, even though defendant’s expert

testified that he could not state what effect, if any, including

those variables would have on the results—and defendants

offered no study of all exempt employees although it had the

data available to do so.

These errors, independently and cumulatively, so tainted the

District Court’s evaluation of plaintiffs’ case as to require

reversal and vacation of both the class certification [7] decision

and the decision on the merits. Both Sheehan’s and Henoch’s

individual claims were unfairly burdened by the Court’s errone-

ous Class certification determination. As the Fifth Circuit noted

in Duke v. University of Texas ai El Paso, 729 ¥.2d 994, 997

(Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 982 (1984), ‘‘had [plaintiff’s}

class claims prevailed, she would have faced a distinctly less

onerous burden at the trial of her individual claim.’’ See also

Rossini, 798 F.2d at 606. Findings in favor of the class would

have simplified plaintiffs’ proof in the individual! claims and

shifted the burden of proof to Purolator on their claims. See

Teamsters v. United States, 431 U.S. 324, 362 (1977)

l6a

FACTS

Work Force Distribution

Purolator is engaged in the business of providing courier ser-

vice over ground and air routes. Of the 1,113 salaried employ-

ees in 1982, 798 were male and 315 female; women thus

comprised approximately 28% of defendants’ exempt (salaried)

work force. (J.A. 727).* In Corporate Headquarters, of 109 sal-

aried positions, 34 were occupied by women (31%); in the East-

ern division, of 482 salaried employees, 155 were women

(32%); in the Western division, of 240 salaried employees, 67

were women (28%); and the Southern division, 57 of 264 sala-

ried employees were women (22%). (J.A. 727-28)

[8] The women represented in Purolator’s exempt work force

were at the lowest levels and in a few job categories: in 1982,

there were 39 officers, of whom only two were women; of 32

directors, only one was a female; there were no female senior

managers, and of the 222 managers, only 31 were female. (J.A.

729). Almost one-half of the male exempt employees were in the

high salaried, upper level ranks; about one-fourth of the

women were at those levels. (See id.)

Purolator admitted that it underutilized women in manage-

rial, professional, and sales areas. (E.A. 3). It was also shown

that from 1976 forward, 60% to 88% of all exempt job titles

were sex segregated. (J.A. 730).° The facts were confirmed by

plaintiffs’ unchallenged statistical analysis, which showed that

there was a statistically significant underrepresentation of

4 Plaintiffs sought to represent a class comprised of defendants’

female exempt employees. The facts provided herein are derived from the

record the District Court had before it for initial determination of the Rule

23 motion and after trial.

5 There are no jobs in Purolator that require male only/female only

assignments. Purolator has a promote from within policy, and as Paul

Wolfrum, a Senior Vice President testified, a high school education, ‘‘with

experience’’ was sufficient qualification for most jobs. (J.A. 2860).

hae TatSe

17a

women in Purolator’s exempt work force, when compared with

a census-derived nationally qualified work force. (E.A. 110).°

Criteria Used In Personnel Decision Making

The District Court was provided with, and totally ignored,

direct evidence of highly subjective and gender-related [9] crite-

ria applied by Purolator in all aspects of employment.’ The

Supervisory Manual instructs personnel conducting initial inter-

views of applicants for jobs that it is ‘‘especially important to

detect’’ the applicant’s marital status and ages of any children.

(J.A. 723). The Manual goes on to explain:

Inahe case of women applicants, the number and ages of

children are important. Follow-up in the interview should

ascertain how the children are to be taken care of while the

mother works and whether it will be necessary for her to

leave her job in the event that they are sick.

(E.A. 1). The Supervisory Manual explains that ‘‘the sex of the

individual is more often related to job success than one might

expect’? and further that the ‘‘sex of the employee is related to

turnover.’’ (E.A. 1). These policies remained in effect at least

until 1983 or 1984. (J.A. 2102).

Two high level company officials, James Rapp (‘‘Rapp’’)

and Paul Wolfrum (‘‘Wolfrum’’), confirmed that promotions

are based on supervisors’ selections, for which no objective

qualifications are established; nor is there job posting within

Purolator. Both Rapp and Wolfrum testified that they never

had to request a promotion to a higher position; rather, each

6 The results of this study were statistically significant at two standard

deviations or greater. See Castaneda vy. Partida, 430 U.S. 482, 497 n.17

(1977). ‘‘As a general rule for such large samples, if the difference between

the expected value and the observed value is greater than two or three stan-

dard deviations,’’ then the hypothesis that exempt employees at Purolator

were hired without regard to sex would be suspect. Jd. See also Hazelwood

School District v. United States, 433 U.S. 299, 309 n.14 (1977).

7 The Court ignored this direct evidence both in the denial of class cer-

tification and in its ultimate decision on liability. The evidence was uncon-

troverted and clearly highly relevant; the Court simply made no reference to

it.

18a

was tapped for each promotion by another male superior. (See

J.A. 668; 2862). In conformity with that practice, Purolator’s

manuals instruct supervisors that, ‘‘before deciding on a man

for promotion,’’ they should weigh subjective criteria, such as

the candidates’ ‘‘heat resistance’’ or ability ‘‘to handle himself

when [the] heat is on’’, [10] whether he is a ‘‘self-starter’’, or is

‘‘loyal’’ because ‘‘being loyal to the Company. . . is a quality

required of men who are responsible for the success of its oper-

ation.’’ (J.A. 668).

The trial evidence also showed, without contradiction, that

Sheehan’s supervisor refused to ‘‘take [ ] seriously’’ her request

for transfer to a field position because she had children. (J.A.

2203).° A former male manager testified that he was told to pay

women low salaries because they had husbands, that women

were paid less than their male counterparts and that based upon

his management experience within Purolator, it was more diffi-

cult to get salary increases and promotions for women than for

men. (E.A. 362-63, 365-66, 394, 399).

Finally, Purolator’s former affirmative action officer

believed that affirmative action at Purolator was given only lip

service. (E.A. 125; J.A. 2174-77). This was borne out by the

admission in Purolator’s affirmative action plan that women

were underutilized at the official managerial levels. (E.A. 3-4).

Another witness testified without contradiction that Purola-

tor’s affirmative action deficiencies disqualified it for certain

government contracts. (J.A. 2277-79).

8 Another female employee would have testified that Delany

(Sheehan’s and Henoch’s supervisor) told her that she would not be consid-

ered for a position because no one would be respectful of a woman in it.

(J.A. 2524-25). The Court did not permit the employee to testify on the

ground that her testimony went to the classwide issues. In so doing, the

Court erroneously rejected the argument that the testimony was relevant to

show Delany’s sex-biased attitude in personnel decisionmaking. (See infra,

pp. 38-39).

19a

Salary Disparities

[11] Plaintiffs established that women were not only relegated

to a limited number of jobs, but that they were paid far less

than men who occupied male only jobs. Thus, plaintiffs’ evi-

dence showed:

Average Weekly Average Weekly

Salary of Female- Salary of Male- Difference

Only Job Titles Only Job Titles Weekly Annually

1976 $248 $364 -$116 -$ 6,032

1977 293 437 - 144 - 7,488

1978 261 444 - 183 - 9,516

1979 277 476 - 199 - 10,348

1980 311 513 - 202 - 10,504

1981 31] 621 - 310 - 16,120

1982 362 711 - 349, - 18,148

(E.A. 108; J.A. 733).

In 1982, the mean salary for all exempt employees was

$435.41 per week. The mean salary of the 798 male exempts was

$490.21 per week; the mean salary of the 315 female exempts

was $296.58. That difference between male and female salaries

translated into an annual disparity of $10,068.76 in favor of

men. (E.A. 107; J.A. 733-34).

Gross salary differences between Purolator’s male and

female exempt employees were shown to exist even within job

groupings. For example, in 1982, male managers earned $622

per week—female managers earned $387 (an annual difference

of $12,220); similarly, in 1982, male supervisors earned $450

per week—female supervisors earned $322 (an annual differ-

ence of $6,656). The male salary advantage persisted even

where males and females with comparable tenure were com-

pared. (j.A. 734-35).

[12] Plaintiffs’ regression analysis, which remained unrebutted

by defendants (see, infra, p. 41) showed that when sex, age of

employee, tenure with Purolator, and job groupings were fac-

tored and considered simultaneously, male salary domi-

20a

nance persisted at a statistically significant level of two standard

deviations or greater:

Weekly Annual

Male-Female Salary Male-Female Salary

Difference Difference

1980 -$60 ~$3,120

1981 - 81 - 4,212

1982 - 99 - 5,148

(J.A. 735; E.A. 106).’

Promotion and Training

Plaintiffs’ evidence established, through proof of longstand-

ing sex-segregation of Purolator’s work force and gross male

salary advantage, that defendants’ promote from within policy

was not applied evenhandedly and that Purolator’s written

preference for promoting men over women (see J.A. 726) was

in fact applied to personnel decisions.

Promotion discrimination also was demonstrated by the fact

that men who achieve high-level, male-only positions are pro-

moted out of job categories occupied by both sexes. For exam-

ple, in 1982, men who were in the male-only job categories of

Division Transportation Manager, Regional Operations Man-

ager, [13] District Operations Manager, Divisional Vice Presi-

dent, District Manager, and Account Executive had at one time

occupied sex-integrated ‘‘feeder’’ positions of courier, courier

Supervisor, dispatcher, and sales representative. (J.A. 735).

Plaintiffs established, without contradiction, that during the

years 1981 and 1982, ten men and no women were appointed to

defendant’s Management Training program, and that since

1975, thirty-nine men and five women held the position of Man-

agement Trainee. (E.A. 113). In 1982, a woman who had gone

9 When geographic location was factored in, the male-female salary

difference increased; to wit, in 1980—$3,432; 1981—$4,524; and 1982—

$5,356. (J.A. 1258). These disparities were statistically significant at two

standard deviations or greater.

Pa RAR ae 0 tt BRB OO 8! ont esta i

PD nts:

2la

through the Training Program was earning approximately

$108.00 less per week than the male who had completed that

same Program. (E.A. 113).

Women also have been denied the right to certain important

fringe benefits, including corporate automobiles, a not incon-

siderable supplementary form of compensation. (See, infra,

p. 41).

Personnel Policies

Purolator is highly centralized and all decisions affecting its

employees at all locations emanate from Corporate Headquar-

ters. All business decisions come from Headquarters; all

personnel decisions, including job descriptions, lines of pro-

gression, hire, discipline, termination and salary are dictated by

Headquarters. Uniformity is achieved through periodic meet-

ings with management personnel and issuance by Headquarters

of standarized policies and procedures. (See J.A. 707-22).

[14] Additionally, for many personnel matters, managers from

headquarters go into the field to assure uniformity of response

to particular problems. (See J.A. 712-22). Purolator’s efforts to

portray itself as decentralized were put to rest during trial, when

its former Senior Vice President for Human Resources

explained his resignation in 1982 as arising from his philosophi-

cal differences with Senior Management: He espoused decen-

tralization; they insisted on strict centralization. (J.A. 2156).

Claims of the Proposed Class Representatives

The plaintiffs are women who were employed by Purolator in

exempt positions.'° Plaintiffs’ claims were typical of those of

the proposed class. Sheehan and Henoch asserted that, as other

class members had been, they had been discriminated against in

the terms and conditions of their employment because they

were women; that they had been denied opportunities open to

similarly qualified or less qualified men; and were paid low sal-

aries and denied other benefits because they were women.

10 ~=At the time of the class certification motion, Sheehan’s employment

had been terminated; Hellriegel had quit, claiming that harassment had made

her continued employment impossible; Henoch remained employed.

22a

Just before she was fired, Sheehan was classified as a Staff

Vice President, Administration. She alleged that her employ-

ment was unlawfully terminated on August 5, 1981 in retalia-

tion for her complaints against defendant. (J.A. 34). Prior to

joining Purolator in 1969, she had been employed as a [15]

manager with another company for nine years. (J.A. 697-98,

1785).

From early in her employment, Sheehan sought opportunities

to move from a staff position at Corporate Headquarters into a

line position in the field, where there were better opportunities

for advancement and increased salary. (J.A. 698, 1819-22). She

repeatedly expressed to top management her observation that

women in the Corporation were being denied a chance to move

into higher level positions and were being grossly under-

compensated in comparison to similar males. (J.A. 698, 1819,

1838, 1840). She pointed out that a simple head count would

confirm the longstanding practice of excluding women from

upper-level jobs. (J.A. 698). John Nichols (‘‘Nichols’’), one of

the supervisors, recorded for the file Sheehan’s discussions with

him reflecting her efforts to obtain a fair salary and promotion

opportunity. One of his memoranda quotes her as saying in

1980 that she would wait to see what the new President’s ‘‘pol-

icy toward women and men in similar positions was.’’ (E.A. 8).

Sheenan’s requests for equity for herself and other women in

the Corporation first were rebuffed by either the excuse that

there were no available positions, although she saw her male

subordinates getting the jobs she had sought, or the promise to

‘*get back to her’’. (J.A. 698). Nichols, Sheehan’s supervisor at

the time. testified at trial that he did not take seriously

Sheeha, . request for transfer because she had children (J.A.

2203).

[16] Henoch received a B.S. in Marketing from New York Uni-

versity in 1947. (J.A. 700, 2233). At the time Henoch was hired

as a secretary by defendant in 1967, she had acquired business

experience. (J.A. 700, 2233-34). Shortly after her hire, Henoch

became responsible for handling applications to the Interstate

Commerce Commission (‘‘ICC’’) for Purolator’s tariff approv-

als. (J.A. 700, 2239-43).

On her own time and at her own expense, Henoch pursued a

course to become licensed as an ICC practitioner. (J.A. 700).

— a

23a

Despite the responsibilities she had assumed in the handling of

tariffs, and despite the title changes which resulted in her ulti-

mately acquiring the title of Staff Vice President, Henoch’s sal-

ary did not keep pace with that of men who were promoted

faster or paid more than she, although their responsibilities and

qualifications were comparable to hers. (J.A. 700). Like

Sheehan, Henoch was denied use of a company automobile

while her male counterparts enjoyed this perquisite. (J.A. 700-

01).

Henoch’s requests for consideration for transfers and for

promotions were ignored by Purolator. During the seventies,

she applied for a position in the Marketing Department,

because she had a marketing degree and was seeking opportuni-

ties to advance. (J.A. 2247-48). Her application, in her words,

was ‘‘not taken seriously.’’ (J.A. 2248). Henoch spoke on a

number of occasions to Delany, Nichols and to Executive Vice

President, James Perry (‘‘Perry’’), about the slowness of her

progress in the Company. (J.A. 2311-12). In those conversa-

tions, Henoch [17] emphasized that she was seeking a line posi-

tion with decision-making functions. (J.A. 2312). She was

never offered such an opportunity.

Like Sheehan, Henoch was denied salary and bonuses equiv-

alent to those granted similarly qualified males. As early as

1975, Henoch began to complain about her salary, after she saw

less qualified and lower ranking males being hired at higher

wages than she was making. (J.A. 2308).

Retaliation

Within months of filing her EEOC charge Sheehan was fired.

Almost immediately after she filed the charge, her responsibili-

ties were changed drastically. (See J.A. 1908-11, 1894-95). Her

long-time subordinates were called into a meeting to witness her

demotion. She was the target of insults; her ability and integrity

were impugned. Her hours were montiored, she was yelled at by

her supervisors and a memo-writing campaign was designed to

keep her on the defensive. (See J.A. 1902, 1904-07).

Sheehan finally reached the end of her rope when she was

required to endure a meeting to review her job responsibilities

24a

and was asked whether her main job function was typing the

purchase orders. (J.A. 1911-12). Rather than blow up and cause

a scene, as other Purolator employees were wont to do,

Sheehan simply left the meeting. When summoned back to the

meeting, she returned as directed, only to be accused of having

constructed a false job description. She again left and refused

to go back because she ‘‘was so upset and could not take any-

more.’* {18} (J.A. 1912-20). She was immediately fired for what

the District Court called ‘‘gross insubordination.’’ (J.A. 3225).

Sheehan was forced to leave Purolator’s premises immedi-

ately and was denied severance pay. As a result, Sheehan was

not permitted to vest in her pension (which she would have done

just one month later), and her son was forced to withdraw from

college in order to support his mother. (J.A. 1923).

The District Court’s own findings show the infirmity of its

ruling that Sheehan was not retaliated against. The Court found

that ‘*‘Delany’s temper was manifested indiscriminately, against

men and women both subordinate and superior to him.”’ (J.A.

3233). Yet, Purolator tolerated that behavior from him, and,

unlike Sheehan, allowed him to resign.

Although not as dramatic, Henoch suffered from a similar

pattern of retaliation—a day-to-day harassment in the form of

memos, surveillance, insults and maligning her to outsiders.

(See, e.g., J.A. 2271, 2304, 2339, 2340-42). Again, that Purola-

tor tolerated the outrageous, unprofessional behavior from

Delany, while not putting an end to the abuse suffered by

Henoch, mandated a finding of unlawful retaliation.

119) ARGUMENT

POINT I

DENIAL OF CLASS CERTIFICATION WAS

AN ABUSE OF DISCRETION

The District Court’s decision refusing to certify the class was

an abuse of discretion, and in direct contravention of the pre-

vailing law in this Circuit. See Rossini v. Ogilvy & Mather, Inc.,

798 F.2d 590, 594 (2d Cir. 1986); Society for Good Will to

25a

Retarded Children v Cuomo, 737 F.2d 1239, 1243 (2d Cir.

1984). The Court’s failure to rule on plaintiffs’ motion in light

of the evidence adduced at trial is also error. See Rossini, 798

F.2d at 594-96.

A. The District Court Erroneously Required Affidavits from

Class Members When Plaintiffs Presented Substantial Evi-

dence of Defendants’ Discriminatory Policies and Statisti-

cal Evidence of Discrimination

The District Court incorrectly held that, in its view of Falcon,

the following substantial evidence was insufficient to show an

aggrieved class:

1) a lengthy affidavit describing the experiences of the

three named plaintiffs, including their deposition testi-

mony; 2) affidavits from two former employees, one, a

woman formerly employed, describing pervasive sex dis-

crimination, and one from a male officer, no longer

employed by the company, describing Purolator’s person-

nel policies and practices; 3) hundreds of pages of exhibits

from defendants’ own records which constituted direct

evidence of Purolator’s discriminatory personnel policies;

and 4) unrebutted statistics showing sex segregation of

jobs and an unrefuted regression analysis showing statisti-

cally signficant male-female salary disparities.

{20} Despite the evidence of discrimination presented by plain-

tiffs, the District Court nonetheless refused to certify a class

primarily because of its view that, since Falcon, plaintiffs are

required to provide affidavits from class members showing that

they too felt aggrieved. 103 F.R.D. at 648-49.

The Court’s clear belief, couched in terms of either the

‘existence of an aggrieved class,’ or commonality or typical-

ity, is that there must be a show of hands by the class on

whether they support the class action and whether they want the

named plaintiffs to be their representatives. 103 F.R.D. at 648;

see also J.A. at 1670-71. Such an “‘opt-in’’ procedure is anti-

thetical to the class action device and has been rejected. See,

e.g., Cox v. American Cast Iron Pipe Co., 784 F.2d 1546, 1556-

26a

$7 (llth Cir.), cert. denied, 107 S.Ct. 274, 93 L.Ed.2d 250

(1986); Rule v. Iron Workers, Local 296, 568 F.2d 558 (8th Cir.

1977): Bauman v. U.S. District Court, 557 F.2d 650 (9th Cir.

1977).

Rule 23 does not require that class members opt-in. At most,

class actions certified under 23(b)(3) require class members to

be permitted to opt-out.'' The Manual for Complex Litigation

recommends that courts not make submission of a proof of

claim by class members a condition to membership in the class

because this would be the equivalent of an ‘‘opt-in’’ procedure

and inappropriate under Rule 23. MCL 2d (1985) § 30.232. It

also provides that courts should avoid class definitions that

“depend on . . . the seeking of relief (for example, persons

claiming [21] injury or seeking damages from some stated prac-

tice),’” because such a definition would constitute ‘‘an improper

opt-in procedure.”’ Jd. ¢ 30.14.

In Rule v. Iron Workers, Local 296, the district court certi-

fied a class action under 23(b)(3) and directed that notice be

sent to the class stating that any member who did not request

exclusion or who did not return the notice would be in the class.

The district court then decertified the class on the ground that

the number of persons affirmatively requesting inclusion in the

class was so small in relation to the entire class that it failed to

meet the numerosity requirement. See Rule, 568 F.2d at 561.

The Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit reversed, explain-

ing that “‘to use as a yardstick the number of class members

who affirmatively opted in (17) although not ever requested to

do so, was to employ a totally unreliable, if not irrelevant, sta-

tistic.”’ Id. at 564. The court noted that a required response

would be inconsistent with the opt-out provisions of Kule 23.

Id. at 563 n.4. See also Bauman v. United States District Court,

557 F.2d 650, 659 (9th Cir. 1977) (“‘If the district court intends,

however, to use non-responses [to notices to class members] to

determine that the nunerosity requirement has not been satis-

fied, it is abusing its discretion because the probable practical

effect of the notice would be to preclude all class actions in

11 =Plaintiffs’ motion was brought pursuant to Rule 23(b,(2), not

2b).

a

27a

major employment discrimination cases.’’) Similarly, in Cox v.

American Cast Iron Pipe Co. , 784 F.2d at 1556-57, the Court of

Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit reversed the use of discovery

sanctions to dismiss class members [22] on the grounds that it

had the same effect as an affirmative opt-in procedure and was

contrary to Rule 23.

Here, the District Court ignored the purpose of class actions,

which are designed to vindicate the rights of persons in the class

who need not come forward and be named, nor expend funds to

litigate their claims. A requirement of affidavit submissions by

class members would be tantamount to an opt-in requirement,

which is unquestionably inappropriate in any Rule 23(b)(2)

class action, and especially so in employment cases where many

of the class members are currently employed by the defendant.

The Court below, in applying its view of the need for such

affidavits, referred to fifty-six sex discrimination complaints

that had been filed by Purolator female employees but dis-

counted that evidence. 103 F.R.D. at 649. The Court assumed

that most of the complaints were automatically irrelevant on

the theory that they had come from non-exempt (hourly paid)

female employees. Jd. The Court failed to recognize that these

complaints were relevant to the discriminatory atmosphere in

which women were forced to function at Purolator and about

which they were complaining. Such evidence of biased attitude

in the work place is not irrelevant, as the Court apparently

believed.

The decisions cited by the Court below do not support its

erroneous view that, since Falcon, affidavits from class mem-

bers who “‘feel aggrieved’’ are essential. In Grant v. Morgan

Guaranty Trust Company, 548 F.Supp. 1189, 1193 (S.D.N.Y.

1982), plaintiffs’ counsel conceded during argument on the

class [23] certification motion that the class claims rested pri-

marily on the allegation that defendant had discriminated

against plaintiff individually. Warren v. [TT Worid Communi-

cations, Inc., 95 F.R.D. 425 (S.D.N.Y. 1982) was similar.

There, the individual plaintiff's EEOC charge was limited to

plaintiff's individual complaint that her job description dis-

criminatorily omitted some of the tasks for which she was

responsible, thereby depressing her compensation. In refusing

28a

to certify a class, the court concluded that her class claim rested

entirely on her allegation that she had been discriminated

against individually.'* 95 F.R.D. at 428-30.

The Arkansas opinion, Benson v. Little Rock Hilton Inn, 30

Empl. Prac. Dec. (CCH) 4 33, 188 (E.D. Ark. 1982) is so

wholly inapposite as to make puzzling the Court’s citation to it.

That court initiated its own inquiry concerning the facts under-

lying the class allegations:

The Court’s inquiries have been directed to a number of

specific areas in which the plaintiffs’ case for class certifi-

cation appeared questionable. Despite the ample opportu-

nity the Court has afforded the plaintiff to factually

support the allegations with respect to the certification

requirements enumerated above, the plaintiff has failed to

adequately document her claims with affidavits, deposi-

tions, interrogatories, or otherwise, and has failed even to

properly proffer the supportive facts which would be

adduced at an evidentiary hearing, if one were held.

[24] Jd. at p. 27,701."°

The District Court also referred to pre-Falcon decisions in

which some courts had refused to certify Title VII class actions

where the plaintiffs had failed to produce affidavits or other

evidence to establish the existence of an aggrieved class. How-

ever, the cases do not support the Court’s broad statement, and

to the extent they support an absolute requirement of affidavits

from class members, plaintiffs submit they are wrong and con-

trary to controlling law of this Circuit.

12 Nor do the two cases from the Northern District of Georgia support

the proposition that affidavits of class members are needed for class certifi-

cation. See 103 F.R.D. at 648. Those two cases, decided by the same District

Court Judge, invited renewed submissions by plaintiffs on class certification

motions as a result of the Court’s view of the impact of Falcon on pending

motions. Nowhere in either opinion is it said that such affidavits are required

by Falcon.

13 Here, during the argument on the class certification motion, the

Court inquired concerning procedures to satisfy it of compliance with Rule

23. Plaintiffs’ counsel informed the Court that the Court could hold a hear

ing to receive additional evidence. (J.A. 1671)

29a

Wright v. Stone Container Corp., 524 F.2d 1058 (8th Cir.

1975}, simply has no relevance to the case at bar. Nowhere in

the decision did the court state that affidavits from the class

members were necessary.“

Richardson vy. Restaurant Marketing Associates, Inc., 83

F.R.D 268, 270 (N.D. Cal. 1978) is also inapposite. In that case,

the court denied certification on the ground that plaintiffs

sought to certify six restaurant facilities owned by [25] defen-

dant while the allegations concerned only one restaurant that

was no longer managed by the defendant and its previous man-

ager, who was no longer employed by the company.

Compounding its error in requiring affidavits, the District

Court’s class certification decision failed to consider plaintiffs’

substantial evidence of defendants’ discriminatory policies, as

well as plaintiffs’ unrebutted statistical showing of sex-based

salary differences between men and women.

The District Court found fault with the statistics offered by

plaintiffs in support of the class certification motion, and stated

that the statistics did not, by themselves, establish the existence

of an aggrieved class of female employees. Since Teamsters v.

United States, 431 U.S. 324, 339 (1977), it has been axiomatic

that employment discrimination may be established by statisti-

cal proof. See also Rossini, 798 F.2d at 604. Teamsters has been

uniformly endorsed by subsequent decisions of the Supreme

Court. Falcon did not overrule it or diminish its vitality. To

require preliminary proof for class certification of a different

14 In the instant case, the named plaintiffs in their depositions referred

to other women who, in their opinion had suffered discriminatory treatment.

The Court was provided this information. (J.A. 697-704).

The Court also was referred to Sheena’s deposition testimony that she had

urged defendants to review their own records to confirm her statements that

women were underpaid. (J.A. 698-699) When, during trial, a female

employee was called as a witness by plaintiffs to testify as to her own experi-

ence which showed a general attitude of discrimination against women by

defendants, and specifically by a male who had supervised both Sheehan and

Henoch, the Court refused to hear her testimony. (See, infra, pp. 38-39)

30a

kind than is required to prove liability to the class is simply

unwarranted.

[26] Finally, in rejecting plaintiffs’ statistics, the District Court

reiterated its view that plaintiffs needed to submit additional

affidavits from class members because ‘‘statistics alone [do not]

indicate that other female employees feel aggrieved,’’ citing

Steffin v. First Charter Financial Corporation, 77 F.R.D. 498

(C.D. Cal. 1978). 103 F.R.D. at 649. As discussed infra, such

requirement, standing alone, is error.'®

B. The District Court’s Refusal To Certify The Plaintiffs

As Class Representatives Was An Abuse Of Discretion

The District Court’s reasons for finding that plaintiffs did

not meet the commonality or typicality requirements of Rule

23(a) can be summarized as follows: (1) the plaintiffs were too

‘thigh level;’’ (2) the plaintiffs were unique; and (3) the plain-

tiffs filed retaliation charges. These reasons are wrong as a mat-

ter of law and fact. The Court misconstrued the class claims,

placed undue emphasis on plaintiffs’ titles and elevated plain-

tiffs to an unduly high status. The Court also imported a new

requirement into Rule 23—plaintiffs cannot be different in any

respect from other members of the class.

Although the District Court purportedly rejected defendant.’

attempt to have it rule that disparate treatment Title VII class

actions were barred by Falcon, the District Court’s decision, if

1S The Court, on the class certification motion, had substantial statisti-

cal evidence of both sex segregation and gross male/female salary disparities

presented by plaintiffs based on a study of a// exempt employees. (See J.A.

727-35). Defendants responded with a study based on an artificial sample, '/2

male and '/2 female (where females constituted less than 30% of all

exempts), ‘‘randomly”’ selected employees, which in total were fewer than

8% of all exempt employees in 1982. (See J.A. 1255-60), Defendants’ expert

admitted ‘‘that the sample size was not large enough to permit [him] to draw

a firm conclusion about all exempt employees.’’ (J.A. 1072). The Court,

nonetheless, rejected plaintiffs’ statistics on the ground that all relevant vari-

ables had not been considered, a view that is directly at variance with Baze-

more, 92 L. Ed. 2d at 331.

16 To the extent that Steffin turns on the absence of class member affi-

davits, its holding is erroneous, and certainly not good law in this Circuit or

elsewhere.

3la

left undisturbed, would have nearly the same effect. In Rossini,

this Court rejected a narrow reading of Falcon and reversed the

District Court’s decertification of [27] promotion and training

claims very similar to those alleged here. 798 F.2d at 596-600.

As in Rossini, the plaintiffs here claimed they had to ‘‘ ‘per-

form’ at a higher level than men in order to advance their

careers.’’ Id. at 599.

In Falcon, the Supreme Court did not create a new require-

ment that a class representative have individual claims identical

to all of the class claims. See Rossini, 798 F.2d at 596-600; Lilly

v. Harris Teeter Supermarket, 720 F.2d 326, 333 (4th Cir.

1983), cert. denied, 466 U.S. 951 (1984) (‘‘the [Supreme] Court

also rejected those cases. . . . requiring that the class repre-

sentatives necessarily have suffered discrimination in precisely

the same employment practice as did all the other members of

the class’’). Class claims need only be ‘‘fairly encompassed”’ in

the named plaintiff’s claims. Falcon, 457 U.S. at 156. While the

Supreme Court rejected the use of unsupported inferences as

satisfying the requirements of Rule 23, id. at 158, it directed the

focus to defendants’ practices, and whether the different prac-

tices operated ‘‘in the same general fashion such as through

entirely subjective decisionmaking processes.’’ Jd. at 159 n.15.

Focus on the practice at issue in the instant case reveals that,

as plaintiffs both alleged and demonstrated, those practices

operated in the ‘‘same general fashion’’ and Purolator’s policy

of sex discrimination affected the class in the same way that it

did the individual plaintiffs. Jd. at 159 n. 15. This showing is

sufficient for commonality and typicality under Rule 23. See

Rossini, 798 F.2d at 598-99; Cox v. American Cast Iron [28]

Pipe Co., 784 F.2d at 1557-58 (holding it was an abuse of dis-

cretion to decertify class raising compensation, promotion, and

training claims); McKenzie v. Sawyer, 684 F.2d 62, 74 (D.C.

Cir. 1982) (‘‘similar employment practices, applied to related

employment decisions’’); De La Fuente v. Stokely-Van Camp,

Inc. , 713 F.2d 225, 232 (7th Cir. 1983) (‘‘similarity of legal the-

ory may control even in the face of differences of fact’’). Plain-

tiffs, therefore, need not, for example, hold the same job title

as other class members. See Rossini, 798 F.2d at 599; Carpenter

v. Stephen F. Austin State University, 706 F.2d 608, 616-17

32a

(Sth Cir. 1983) (custodial employees can represent class includ-

ing clerical workers in case alleging channeling of female work-

ers).

Rather than following Falcon as it purported to do, the Dis-

trict Court erroneously ventured into the merits of the class

claims and required virtual identicality rather than typicality of

the claims. See Eisen v. Carlisle, 417 U.S. 156, 177 (1974). See

also Avagligano v. Sumitomo Shoki America, Inc., 104 F.R.D.

562, 573 (S.D.N.Y. 1984) (rejecting a similar attempt by a

defendant to inject a merits of inquiry into the class certifica-

tion proceeding in order to narrow the class).

1. High Level. The District Court’s refusal to certify plain-

tiffs as class representatives based on their ‘‘high level’’ is espe-

cially troubling. Plaintiffs sought to represent a class of exempt

employees, not Purolator’s entire female work-force. The

Court rejected the plaintiffs as class representatives because

over the years they had received [29] ‘‘promotions’’ and salary

increases. However, the class promotion claim was that females

were promoted more slowly than similarly situated males, and

that defendants refused to promote women into line jobs, not

that they were never promoted. (See J.A. 33). The named plain-

tiffs claimed, in common with the class, that if they had been

male, they would have advanced more rapidly and would have

reached higher levels; they would have been considered for line

rather than staff positions; and they would have been paid

higher salaries. (See J.A. 32-33).

Plaintiffs claimed that men who started at low levels as the

plaintiffs had were promoted far more often and received much

higher salaries. (J.A. 33). Just because plaintiffs managed to

have been promoted does not mean that their experience was

unrelated to that of other women who were at different points

in their careers but who, like the plaintiffs, encountered the

Same sex-based barriers. The fact that a plaintiff is subject to

the same discriminatory practices ‘‘and yet overcame them does

not disqualify her from serving as a class agent provided there is

‘significant proof that an employer operated under a policy of

discrimination.’ ’’ Hansen v. Webster, 41 FEP Cases 214, 223-

24 (D.D.C. 1986) (quoting Falcon, 457 U.S. at 159, n.15)

(emphasis in original). As discussed supra, plaintiffs provided

33a

such proof in the form of evidence of discriminatory personnel

policies, other direct evidence of discrimination, as well as sta-

tistical evidence.

In any event, plaintiffs were not nearly as high level as tne

District Court suggested. In rejecting defendants’ [30] argu-

ment that Henoch’s officer title disqualified her from being a

class representative, the District Court claimed to reject an

argument that emphasized form over substance. See 103 F.R.D

at 651 n.10. Nonetheless, the Court, in effect, let the plaintiffs’

titles determine its decision. The District Court simply ignored

other compelling evidence, such as plaintiffs’ salaries and job

functions. Sheehan was earning $28,000 per year when her

employment was terminated in 1981, hardly the salary of a high

level executive. (E.A. 115). Henoch’s salary at the time the class

complaint was filed was $34,240. (E.A. 119). At trial, defen-

dants’ strategy was to attempt to protray Henoch essentially as

a clerical. (See generally J.A. 2398-2410).

Purolator’s former Senior Vice President of Human

Resources candidly testifed at trial that titles were often given

instead of salary increases. (J.A. 2191). Although plaintiffs

were among the higher-ranking women at Purolator, the Dis-

trict Court in finding plaintiffs to be inadequate representatives

ignored the many higher-level men and the virtual, if not total,

absence of women at higher levels. Sheehan and Henoch both

had titles of Staff Vice President, the ‘‘entry level into the offi-

cer hierarchy’’ (J.A. 2192); there were many levels of officers

above them, virtually all of which were occupied by males.

(J.A. 2191-92; E.A. 105).

The effect of ‘he District Court’s rule is that any employee at

one end or another of a group could not be an appropriate class

representative, a proposition which finds no support in the law.

Rowe v. Bailar, 26 FEP Cases 1145 (D.D.C. [31] 1981), upon

which the District Court so heavily relied, see 103 F.R.D. at

651, is inconsistent with the law in this Circuit, and its facts also

bear no resemblance to those presented here. In Rowe, the

plaintiff, unlike Sheehan and Henoch, does not appear to have

alleged salary discrimination. In addition, the court there sug-

gested that statistics cannot be used as the primary proof of dis-

crimination in a disparate treatment case, 26 FEP Cases at

34a

1146, a position emphatically rejected by the Supreme Court in

Bazemore, and by this Court in Rossini. The court also found

the class allegations to be ‘‘conclusory allegations of discrimi-

nation’’ and noted that the defendant had facially neutral per-

sonnel policies, id. at 1147; neither factor is found in this case."

Finally, the Rowe court noted that the plaintiff had received

generally favorable treatment throughout his employment; that

question goes to the merits of the plaintiffs’ discrimination

claims and should not be resolved at the class certification

stage.

Ultimately, the District Court’s finding that the plaintiffs

were inappropriate representatives because of their high level

rests on the Court’s erroneous, unsupported, statement that:

The interests of secretaries and customer-service represent-

atives may not be co-extensive with the interests of a Staff

{32} Vice President or Director. Nor can it be assumed that

the same practices and criteria are applied to employment

decisions including low level and high level employees.

103 F.R.D. at 652. The District Court’s reference to secretaries

and customer service representatives is inexplicable. In early

1982, Purolator reclassified the salaried position of Customer

Service Representative as ‘‘salaried, non-exempt’’, although

from the creation of the classification in or about 1978 through

early 1982, the position was classified as exempt. (J.A. 706

n.10). At the time the job was reclassified, a few secretarial

positions were also changed from exempt to non-exempt status.

(/d.) The Court’s decision cites to Defendants’ Supplemental

Memorandum of Law, at 13, where defendants claimed without

citation that ‘‘[w]omen exempt employees at Courier run the

gamut from secretaries and customer service representatives to

17 _—_— in this case, the District Court found that plaintiffs failed to specify

acts of discrimination with respect to the class claims and equated that

alleged failure to the general conclusory class claims in Rowe. 103 F.R.D. at

651 n.11. As discussed supra, plaintiffs provided the Court with more than

should be required on a motion for class certification. Moreover, plaintiffs

presented additional evidence at trial showing defendants’ discriminatory

policies. The Court simply ignored that evidence and plaintiffs’ motion for

_ reconsideration of the class certification motion.

35a

corporate officers and professionals.’’ This memorandum was

submitted in February 1983 a year after Courier had changed

the status of these women to non-exempt.'®

Finally, noticeably absent from the District Court’s opinion

is any reference to the many decisions in which courts have cer-

tified classes of exempt or professional employees similar to

that sought here. See, e.g., Rossini, 798 F.2d 590; Meyer v.

MacMillan Publishing Co., Inc., 95 F.R.D. 411 (S.D.N.Y.

1982). If the Court had legitimate concerns about some women,

such as secretaries, being included in the class, it should have

[33] certified the class expressly omitting them from the defined

class. See, e.g., Lo Re v. Chase Manhattan Corp., 431 F.Supp.

189, 198 (S.D.N.Y. 1977) (certifying a class of all females who

‘fare now employed, have been employed, or have sought

employment with the corporate defendants in official, manage-

rial or professional positions’’ and excluding clericals, tellers

and secretaries from the class.)

2. Uniqueness. The District Court also found Henoch to be

an inappropriate representative ‘‘because of the particularly

unique circumstances of her employment.’’ 103 F.R.D. at 652.

Because Henoch might have to prove additional facts to sup-

port her claim, does not mean she is not a proper class repre-

sentative. ‘‘Commonality was not destroyed merely because

[the plaintiff’s] individual claim also required proof of some

facts that differed from those of the class claim.’’ Rossini, 798

F.2d at 599. The effect of the Court’s ruling, if left to stand,

would mean that a company like Purolator, which has a myriad

of job titles and functions in its exempt work force, many of

which could be called ‘‘unique’’ would be immune from class

actions.

It simply is not required that a representative perform the

same type of work as class members. See Rossini, 798 F.2d at

599 (‘‘The distinction that [the class representative] was per-

forming on creativity tests while class members were perform-

18 In moving for class certification of a class of exempt employees

plaintiffs should not be faulted for defendants’ erroneous inclusion of cer-

tain employees in the exempt category, arguably in violation of the federal

wage and hour laws.

36a

ing on day-to-day work assignments is of little importance in

light of the allegation that it was the same standardless, subjec-

tive evaluation system that operated in both cases’’). The cases

cited by the District Court to support its disqualification [34] of

Henoch present extreme examples where the class claims clearly

were added as an afterthought to individual litigation over ter-

mination of employment. The cases do not involve employees

who occupy a “‘special position.’’””

3. Retaliation. Finally, the Court found the plaintiffs to be

inadequate representatives because they made retaliation

claims. The Court held that Sheehan’s retaliatory discharge

claim made her an inadequate representative of the class, and,

similarly, that Hellriegel’s harassment and retaliation claims

and Henoch’s retaliation claims made them inadequate repre-

sentatives, 103 F.R.D. at 652, 656. The disqualification of

plaintiffs by virtue of their retaliation claims has no basis in fact

and is contrary to the policies underlying the laws prohibiting

retaliation. For a court to hoid that a plaintiff becomes an

inadequate class representative by [35] virtue of claiming retali-

ation invites retaliation as a means of defeating a class suit. See

19 In Williams v. Boorstin, 451 F.Supp. 1117, 1124 (D.D.C. 1978),

rev'd on other grounds, 663 F.2d 109 (D.C. Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 451 U.S.

985 (1981), the plaintiff, although apparently alleging class claims of discrim-

ination in recruitment, hiring, promotion, and termination, claimed only his

discharge in common with the class. The termination of his employment

occurred in the very unusual circumstances of his having masqueraded as a

law student and lawyer during his employment although he had attended

only one year of law school. See id. at 1119-21. The other two cases cited by

the District Court similarly involve discrimination actions arising out of

employment termination, without a showing, as here, of discriminatory poli-

cies. See Martin v. Easton Pub. Co., 73 F.R.D. 678 (E.D. Pa. 1977); Odom

vy. U.S. Homes Corp., 76 F.R.D. 381 (S.D. Tex. 1975).

20 In rejecting Hellriegel as a class representative, the Court cited the

lower court decision in Rossini, 80 F.R.D. 131, 135-36, reversed by this

Court, to hold that because Hellriegel supervised some members of the class,

she could not be a representative for those members. 103 F.R.D. at 655 n.12.

That position was rejected in this Court's decision in Rossini, 798 F.2d at

596.

37a

Holsey v. Armour & Co., 743 F.2d 199, 217 n.8 (4th Cir.

1984).”"

The test of adequacy of representation is whether the pro-

posed representative has interests antagonistic to those of the

class members. Eisen v. Carlisle & Jacquelin, 391 F.2d 555, 562

(2d Cir. 1968). Any antagonism between the representative and

the class must be real rather than academic, Herbst v. Able, 46

F.R.D. 11 (S.D.N.Y. 1969), and must relate to the subject mat-

ter in controversy. Sperry Rand Corp. v. Larson, 554 F.2d 868,

874 (8th Cir. 1977); Mersey v. First Republic Corporation, 43

F.R.D. 465, 468 (S.D.N.Y. 1968). Here, there was no showing

of a conflict with the proposed class members over the subject

matter of the litigation. Defendants made no such showing, nor

did they submit any affidavits from class members in opposi-

tion to certification of the plaintiffs as class representatives.

Accordingly, the Court abused its discretion in refusing to

certify a class of exempt employees.

[36] POINT Il

THE DISTRICT COURT’S FINDINGS ON SHEEHAN’S

AND HENOCH’S DISCRIMINATION CLAIMS ARE

CLEARLY ERRONEOUS

A. The District Court’s Failure To Consider The Discrimina-

tory Atmosphere And The Sex-Biased Attitude Of Purola-

tor’s Decisionmakers Constitutes Reversible Error

A district court’s findings are clearly erroneous ‘‘to the extent

they fail to recognize [important] incidents and reject or fail to

draw inferences which [are] found [to be] inescapable from the

record.”’ Griffin v. City of Omaha, 785 F.2d 620, 628 (8th Cir.

1985) (quoting Alexander v. National Farmers Organization,

21 During oral argument, the Court asked plaintiffs’ counsel whether

the plaintiffs would forgo their ‘‘personalized’’ retaliation claims. (J.A.

1672-73). Although believing this to be a totally improper request, counsel

stated that if necessary plaintiffs would. (/d.) Nonetheless, the Court per-

sisted in holding that the retaliation claims made the plaintiffs unique and,

therefore, atypical.

38a

687 F.2d 1173, 1203 (8th Cir. 1982), cert. denied, 461 U.S. 637

(1983)) (bracketed [important] in original). It is also error for a

court to ignore, without comment, highly probative evidence of

discrimination. ‘‘When direct evidence of discrimination has

been introduced, the lower court must, as an initial matter, spe-

cifically state whether or not it believes plaintiff's proffered

direct evidence."’ Thompkins v. Morris Brown College, 752

F.2d 558, 564 (llth Cir. 1985). If the court rejects such evi-

dence, it should state ‘‘why this apparently highly probative evi-

dence was discredited. . . [since] [i}n these circumstances some

indication of the Court’s reasons for rejecting this evidence

must be given in order for us to exercise properly our function

of appellate review.’’ Jd. (quoting Lee v. Russell County Board

of Education, 684 F.2d 769, 775 (11th Cir. 1982) (bracketed

[since] [in] in original.) See also Bell v. Birmingham Linen Ser-

vice, 715 F.2d 1552, 1557 (11th Cir. 1983). The District Court

committed such error here, where it totally [37] ignored plain-

tiffs’ direct evidence of discrimination, offered both at the class

certification stage and during trial, and provided no explana-

tion in either opinion for the failure to give weight even to

uncontraverted, direct evidence.

Plaintiffs offered written policies in which Purolator specifi-

cally referred to sex as an important element to be considered in

personnel decisionmaking (E.A. 1), expressed a preference for

promoting males (J.A. 726), and advised supervisors to con-

sider the number of children that female employees have in

order to determine level of responsibility to give them. (E.A. 1).

Significantly, these policies were signed by James Rapp and

Robert Ulrich, former President of Purolator, who made deci-

sions with respect to plaintiffs Sheehan and Henoch, and whose

Signatures on those policies indicated their attitudes with

respect to gender as a consideration in Purolator’s decision-

making. The testimony at trial was that these policies were dis-

tributed company-wide to all managerial personnel and not

superceded until December 1983 or January 1984—three years

after this litigation was commenced. (J.A. 2101-02). None of

this evidence was even commented upon by the District Court.

In addition to those written policies the Court also ignored

testimony from a former manager of Purolator that he had

Wa

been told by Rapp, among others, to hire women at lower sala-

ries than comparably situated men because women have ‘‘hus-

bands.”’ (E.A. 399). The witness also observed that, based on

his managerial experience within Purolator, it was more diffi-

cult to get women promoted than men and that if you were

female ‘‘you weren't going to move ahead with Purolator.”’

(E.A. 381).

At trial, the Court precluded a witness, Providence Balzano

(‘‘Balzano’’), from testifying that Delany (one of the defen-

dants’ major policy makers) told her she could not have a job

because men would not respect a woman in that particular posi-

tion. (J.A. 2525). The Court’s rationale for precluding this tes-

timony was that this was not a class action case.” The Court

abused its discretion in precluding this testimony, where it was

highly relevant to show Delany’s bias.

The Court’s utter failure to acknowledge such highly relevant

evidence of discrimination is puzzling, and its decision should

be reversed on that ground alone. See Hopkins v. Price

Waterhouse, _____ F.2d ___, 44 FEP Cases 825, 833 (D.C.

Cir. 1987) (violation of Title VII established by plaintiff's

showing that ‘‘Price Waterhouse was impermissibly infected by

stereotypical attitudes towards female candidates’’); Wheeler v.

City of Columbus, 686 F.2d 1144, 1154 (Sth Cir. 1982) (decision

vacated for lower court’s failure to consider and analyze dis-

crimination claim in the light of sexist comments and pattern of

discriminatory hiring practices, which ‘“‘would constitute proof

probative of the existence of intentional discrimination’’);

McKenna v. Weinberger, 729 F.2d 789, 790 (D.C. Cir. 1984)

(‘‘Where a woman is frustrated in her attempts to work [39]

cooperatively by the sexist attitudes and actions of her male co-

workers, she is a victim of discrimination.’’) See also Equal

Employment Opportunity Commission v. Sage Realty Corp.,

87 F.R.D. 365, 368 (S.D.N.Y. 1980) (‘‘[Njo matter what form

the sex-biased or sex-stereotyped decision may take, when it

operates as an impediment to employment opportunity for

22 It is ironic that the Court prevented Balzano from testifying in view

’

the Court's concern in its class certification decision that plaintiffs had r

supplied affidavits from women complaining about Purolator’s discrimina

40a

women, Title VII requires its elimination.”’); Jordan v. Wilson,

649 F.Supp. 1038, 1058 n.13 (M.D. Ala. 1986) (general state-

ments about women probative evidence of discrimination

because they “‘help| ] illuminate the department's general atti-

tude towards female officers.’’)

B. The District Court Improperly Evaluated The Statistical

Evidence

At trial and in support of class certification, plaintiffs

offered an array of statistical evidence in support of their

claims, including a regression analysis which showed that on

average Purolator’s exempt male employees were earning

between three and five thousand dollars per year more than

Purolator’s exempt female employees, and that difference in

pay was Statistically significant at 2 standard deviations or

greater.’ (See J.A. 727-36; E.A. 106).

Plaintiffs also demonstrated that, based upon a comparison

between the 1982 census-derived, nationally qualified female

work force and the Purolator work force, there was an [40]

underrepresentation of females in Purolator’s exempt job cate-

gories, and the underrepresentation was statistically significant

at two standard deviations or greater. (J.A. 732; E.A. 110).

Furthermore, unlike what appears generally to be true in the

United States, the salary differential between Purolator’s male

and female exempt employees, based on seniority, is increasing:

1982 PERCENT MALE SALARY, ADVANTAGE BY YEAR

OF EXEMPT EMPLOYEE’S HIRE AT PUROLATOR

Pre- 1966 1966-75 1976-7 1978-79 1980-81 1982

(N/A—only 48.87% 49.1% 62.3% 49.5% 66.1%

one female

current employee

hired pre-1966)

23 Plaintiffs’ regression analysis included variables for sex, age, years

of service with Purolator, and job itle. (E.A. 106). A study including these

same variables and geographic jocation showed similar results. (J.A

1255-60)

———eooO

4la

(E.A. 111). Thus, for example, in 1982, men who had from

seven to sixteen years of service with Purolator were earning

about 49% more than women with the same seniority; and men

who had from three to four years of service with Purolator were

earning 62% more than women with equal seniority. This in a

company which has an express policy of promoting from

within, and in which a high school education ‘‘with experience”’

are sufficient qualifications for most jobs. (J.A. 2860).

As to traiuing, plaintiffs showed that during 1981-82, ten

men and no women were allowed to participate in Purolator’s

Management Training Program and during the period [41]

1975-1980 of thirty-four participants in that same Program,

only five were women. As of 1982, a female employed by Puro-

lator who had gone through the Management Training Pro-

gram was earning about $108.00 less per week than the

remaining male who had been appointed to that same program.

(E.A. 113).

Finally, with respect to fringe benefits, plaintiffs showed that

the proportionate difference between the number of women

employed in job categories eligible to receive the automobile

fringe benefit and men employed in job categories eligible to

receive that same benefit was statistically significant at two

standard deviations or greater. (E.A. 114).

Defendants did not challenge the validity of any of plaintiffs’

studies. Their expert conceded the accuracy of plaintiffs’

regression analysis and testified that the methodology employed

for that study was sound. (J.A. 3026-27). Nor did he comment

on or challenge plaintiffs’ work force analysis or plaintiffs’

automobile fringe benefit study.

Rather, defendants’ expert criticized plaintiffs’ regression

analysis on the ground that it excluded variables {primarily edu

cation and prior experience) that might make a difference in the

results. He testified that, although he had performed an analy-

sis of only one hundred of Purolator’s employees, he could

draw no conclusion about what effect, if any, the omission of

these variables would have on plaintiffs’ regression analysis,

which included a// exempt employees:

42a

Court: You indicated several minutes ago that two very

Significant variables are education and total job experi-

ence?

[42] Witness: Yes.

* * *

The Court: What effect would the exclusion of those vari-

ables have, upon the validity of this? [Plaintiffs’ regres-

sion analysis (Ex. 227) (E.A. 106)}.

* + *

The Witness: That’s a terrific question. I don’t know. The

answer is, it could have a big effect. And unless you have

the data you don’t know.

(J.A. 3037). With respect to his own regression, defendants’

expert stated “‘the sample size of his study was not large enough

to permit me to draw a firm conclusion about all exempt

employees.’’ (J.A. 3142). Accordingly, defendants’ expert con-

cluded:

[I]t [defendants’ study] doesn’t prove there is no signifi-

cant difference for the whole group of exempts.

[T}hat could only be shown by doing the calculations and

doing the collecting the data for all the exempts.

(J.A. 3143). Plaintiffs’ studies, however, included ‘‘the whole

group of exempts’’ and remained unrebutted.

!n Bazemore, the Supreme Court reaffirmed its approval of

the use of regression analysis to prove a plaintiffs’ case of dis-

crimination, and in so doing, stated:

Importantly, it is clear that a regression analysis that

includes less than all measurable variables may serve to

prove a plaintiff’s case. A plaintiff in a Title VII suit need

not prove discrimination with scientific certainty; rather,

his or her burden is to prove discrimination by a prepon-

derance of the evidence.

[43] 92 L.Ed.2d at 331 (citations omitted). The Supreme Court

in Bazemore also disapproved the rejection based on specula-

tion of uncontradicted statistical evidence. Thus, in finding that

43a

the lower court had improperly rejected plaintiffs’ regression

studies by crediting the questionable evidence offered by the

defendant, the Court explained:

There was very little evidence to show that there was in

fact no disparity in salaries between blacks and whites, or

to demonstrate that any disparities that existed were the

product of chance. . . . Respondents’ strategy at trial

was to declare simply that many factors go into making up

an individual employee’s salary; they made no attempt

that we are aware of—statistical or otherwise—to demon-

strate that when these factors were properly organized and

accounted for there was no significant disparity between

the salaries of blacks and whites.

Bazemore, 92 L.Ed.2d at 333 n.14.

This Court, too, found the rejection of a plaintiff's regres-

sion study to be an abuse of discretion when that rejection was

based ‘‘on the speculative basis that the table’s results might

‘possibly’ have been different if [the] military experience [vari-

able] had been included.’’ Rossini, 798 F.2d at 604, citing Baze-

more, for the proposition that regression analysis excluding

some variables may still be valid evidence of employment dis-

crimination.” See also Eastland v. TVA, 704 F.2d 613, 623

(11th Cir. 1983) (variables in statistical models should be those

[44] likely to have actual effect in decision-making process

under study), cert. denied, 465 U.S. 1066 (1984)).*°

It was error for the District Court to reject plaintiffs’ uncon-

tradicted statistical proof on the ground that the regression

analysis excluded certain variables, when defendants’ own

expert testified that he did know what effect the exclusion of the

variable had on the results. As in Bazemore, the defendants

here offered no evidence to show that there was ‘‘in fact no dis-

24 This Court found an abuse of discretion, notwithstanding the pres-

ence of other statistical studies in which inclusion of a military experience

variable had reduced the male-female salary differential. 798 F.2d at 603-04.

25 The inclusion of a variable for education in a study of Purolator’s

workforce would have been highly questionable given defendants’ admission

that high school was deemed a sufficient educational background for most

jobs. (J.A. 2860).

44a

parity in salaries between [males] and [females], or to demon-

Strate that any disparities that existed were the products of

chance.’’ Bazemore, 92 L.Ed.2d at 333 n.14. It offered only a

limited study, from which its expert conceded, no conclusions

could be drawn. And with respect to plaintiffs’ work-force and

automobile benefit analyses, defendants offered no evidence to

undermine them and simply never questioned them. The

Court’s rejection of these studies without comment is reversible

error.

POINT Ill

THE DISTRICT COURT’S FAILURE TO EXAMINE

FULLY PLAINTIFFS’ RETALIATION CLAIMS

REQUIRES REVERSAL

To establish a prima facie claim of retaliation under Title

VII, a plaintiff may show: (a) known statutorily protected

opposition; (b) adverse employment action against the plaintiff;

and (c) a causal connection between the two, i.e., a retaliatory

[45] motive playing a part in the adverse employment action.

Davis v. State University of New York, 802 F.2d 638, 642 (2d

Cir. 1986). See also DeCintio v. Westchester County Medical

Center, F.2d , 44 FEP Cases 33, 36-37 & n.8 (2d Cir.

1987); Dominic v. Consolidated Edison Co.., F.2d ,

44 FEP Cases 268, 272 (2d Cir. 1987). Once the plaintiff has

established those three elements, a prima facie case of retalia-

tion has been made, and the employer is obliged to articulate a

legitimate, non-retaliatory reason for the adverse action in

order to attempt to refute any inference of retaliation which

may be drawn from the plaintiff’s prima facie showing. See

Grant v. Bethlehem Steel Corp., 622 F.2d 43, 46 (2d Cir. 1980).

If such a justification is offered, plaintiff then is entitled to

offer evidence calculated to show that the employer’s articu-

lated justification for the employment action was pretextual,

i.e., *‘a cover up for retaliation.’’ See Womack v. Munson, 619

F.2d 1292, 1296 (8th Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 450 U.S. 979

4Sa

(1981); see, generally, McDonnell Douglas v. Green, 411 U.S.

792, 802-04 (1973).

Evidence that an employee who has complained of discrimi-

nation is disciplined for an infraction, while the employer does

not take similar action against others for ‘‘similar derelic-

tions,’’ provides the causal connection between protected activ-

ity and retaliation. DeCintio, 44 FEP at 36. See also at id. at 37

n.8.

The District Court simply made no effort either to analyze

defendants’ purported reasons for the treatment of [46]

Sheehan and Henoch after they filed charges, compared with

how they were treated before that event, or to assess the credi-

bility of the evidence with regard to the reasons offered by

defendants for their actions against those women. In addition,

the Court below ignored direct evidence of defendants’ retalia-

tory motive and failed to weigh defendants’ asserted reasons in

light of that evidence. The Court’s finding must be reversed, for

it does not represent the result of a choice between two permis-

sible views of the evidence, Anderson v. City of Bessemer City,

470 U.S. 564, 574 (1985), but rather is supported by no plausi-

ble evidence whatsoever.

The District Court simply ignored substantial evidence that

the filing of charges had a very profound effect on Sheehan’s

and Henoch’s supervisors, which was reflected in their subse-

quent treatment of Sheehan and Henoch. The Court below

made no mention of the direct evidence of retaliatory intent,

including Delany’s emotional reaction to their filing of charges

(J.A. 2551-55), or uncontradicted testimony from a non-party

witness that defendants undertook to solicit unfavorable com-

ments about Sheehan’s job performance and ‘‘set her up.”’

(E.A. 370-76).

Both plaintiffs were subject to surveillance by their super-

visors (see E.A. 61, 62-67) and subjected to memo-writing cam-

paigns. None of this evidence is even hinted at in the Court’s

opinion. Yet this type of behavior has been found to constitute

retaliation. Moffett v. Geme B. Glick Co., 621 F. [47] Supp.

26 One of defendants’ owm witnesses testified about how Delany blew

up when told of the charges and had to be calmed down with ‘‘booze.’’ (J.A.

2554-55).

46a

244, 282 (N.D. Ind. 1985) (‘‘[t]he attempt to build up documen-

tation to justify a dismissal after an employee has filed a charge

against the employer can be evidence of retaliation’’). See Fran-

cis v. American Telephone & Telegraph Co., 55 F.R.D. 202,

207 (D.D.C. 1972).

The District Court examined Sheehan’s retaliation claim in a

vacuum, ignoring evidence that Sheehan’s one-time infraction

under great duress, was de minimis as compared to the routine

behavior of Courier’s male officers, who went unpunished or

were dealt with far less severely. In contrast, the Court below,

while discussing few facts at all, referred to events that defen-

dants did not even offer as bases for Sheehan’s discharge as if

the Court were searching for non-discriminatory explanations.

The Court stated that Sheehan on occasion left work early,

ignoring evidence that other officers also left early and came in

late. (J.A. 2527). The Court stated that Sheehan ‘‘left work’’

for more than one month, ignoring the fact that she was out of

work because of a medically certified severe back problem.

(J.A. 1876). And there is absolutely no support in the record for

the Court’s statement that Sheehan was frequently absent after

she returned to work.

The District Court found that Sheehan began to act differ-

ently after she filed EEOC charges. (J.A. 3230).”’ Again, the

Court ignored substantial evidence that it was Purolator’s [48]

top management who began to act differently toward Sheehan.

A review of the long series of petty memos directed at Sheehan,

usually by Delany, (see, e.g., E.A. 14, 16, 17, 20, 22, 23, 24, 29,

45, 171, 181, 184) shows that something more than the normal

course of business was going on. Many of the inemoranda were

criticisms of Sheehan for the mail and supply room and with

respect to the telephones, areas over which Sheehan no longer

had responsibility. (See E.A. 14, 20, 22, 23, 181; J.A. 1890,

1900). Sheehan continued to receive these memos, even after

she requested that the campaign stop. (E.A. 34).

One of the examples the Court cites is that Sheehan sought an exten-

sion of a loan she had from Courier. This was incorrect; she protested having

her loan called in before it was due. (J.A. 3230). No explanation is offered of

how this is an example of ‘‘different behavior.’’

47a

Finally, the District Court erroneously analyzed the termina-

tion of Sheehan’s employment without reference to evidence of

Purolator’s treatment of male, non-complaining employees.

Sheehan, who worked for Purolator for ten years was fired for

one act of insubordination, that is, leaving a meeting. Yet

Delany, who kicked a hole in Henoch’s desk (J.A. 2328, 2544-

45), and who the Court found had a temper which ‘‘manifested

[itself] indiscriminately, against men and women both subordi-

nate and superior to him,’’ (J.A. 3233) was never fired for any

of his behavior, which included ‘‘blow[ing] up on more than

one occasion with senior officers, officers of rank equal to him

and subordinates.’’ (J.A. 2958). Anthony Graziano, Purola-

tor’s Senior Vice President of Legal and Corporate Affairs sim-

ilarly testified that Delany was well known for losing his temper

and was not fired when he did so with executives. (J.A. 3002-

03). Only after many years of his behavior did Purolator ask for

his [49] resignation—he was not fired as was Sheehan.”* Disci-

plining employees in a protected class more harshly than

employees outside the class is a violation of Title VII, and evi-

dence of retaliation. See DeCintio, 44 FEP Cases at 36 n.8. See

also Mosley v. General Motors Corp., 497 F. Supp. 583, 589

(E.D. Mo. 1980), aff’d 691 F.2d 504 (8th Cir. 1982). Tie i*=-

trict Court’s failure to recognize the disparity in treatment

between Delany and Sheehan and between Delany and Henoch,

revealed by the Court’s own findings, constitutes reversible

error.

[50] CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, and based upon the record,

plaintiffs-appellants respectfully request that this Court reverse

the decisions below in their entirety, and order certification of

the class and entry of judgment in favor of plaintiffs Sheehan

and Henoch on their individual claims, or, alternatively reverse

the decisions below and remand the case to the District Court

for further proceedings consistent with this Court’s opinion.

28 If Sheehan has been permitted to resign, she would have qualified

for severance benefits (see J.A. 2110) and her pension would have vested.

48a

Dated: New York, New York

September 4, 1987

Respectfully submitted,

VLADECK, WALDMAN ELIAS

& ENGELHARD, P.C.

By: JUDITH P. VLADECK

Attorneys for Plaintiffs-Appellants

1501 Broadway, Suite 800

New York, New York 10036

(212) 354-8330

Of Counsel:

Judith P. Vladeck

Joseph J. Garcia

Laura S. Schnell

49a

87-7540

IN THE

United States Court of Appeals

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

>

PATRICIA SHEEHAN, ELIZABETH HENOCH, and KAYHAN

HELLRIEGEL, on Behalf of Themselves and all Others Simi-

larly Situated,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

—against—

PUROLATOR, INC. and PUROLATOR COURIER CORP.,

Defendants-A ppellees.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

PLAINTIFFS-APPELLANTS’ REPLY BRIEF

VLADECK, WALDMAN, ELIAS

& ENGELHARD, P.C.

Attorneys for Plaintiffs-Appellants

1501 Broadway, Suite 800

New York, New York 10036

(212) 354-8330

Of Counsel:

JUDITH P. VLADECK

JOSEPH J. GARCIA

LAURA S. SCHNELL

TABLE OF CONTENTS

ARGUMENT

POINT I

DEFENDANTS FAIL TO JUSTIFY THE

COURT’S REFUSAL TO CERTIFY A CLASS

A. Defendants Misread Falcon ..............

B. Centralization of Personnel Decisionmaking

C. Class Representatives... ..........ccesece

D. Effect of Dismissal of Plaintiffs’ Individual

MeN wae usa ee ness vexed eel

\

POINT II

DEFENDANTS HAVE FAILED TO JUSTIFY

THE DISTRICT COURT’S ERRONEOUS

TREATMENT OF THE EVIDENCE.........

A. Statistical Evidence .....................

B. Non-Statistical Evidence.................

C. Plaintiffs’ Individual Salary and Other

RR sare oe rae or, ore eee

POINT III

THE DISTRICT COURT’S DECISION ON

RETALIATION IS WHOLLY INDEFENS-

IBLE, AND DEFENDANTS’ ATTEMPT TO

wwEwwms 0) FALLS SHORT . 2... cece css

et St. fn Rear

aon > Lf

S5la

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Alexander v. Gino’s Inc., 621 F.2d 71 (3d Cir.) cert.

denied. 4490 US. 953 GOD) cc uansccvnnsvtaccvewens

Bazemore v. Friday, ___ U.S. ___, 106 S.Ct. 3000

1, Ore reer yr rrrr ry verre ty ree |

Betts v. Reliable Collection Agency Ltd., 659 F.2d 1000

| A, || rrr y ror rar rns yc ae

Carpenter v. Stephen F. Austin State University, 06

wit: F. ve ae, °) errr rr ry

Craik v. Minnesota State University, 731 F.2d 465 (1984)

Coser v. Moore, 739 F.2d 746 (2d Cir. 1984)..........

General Telephone Company of the Southwest v. Falcon,

AST G5 .S TET CURD so an cc dad wncdd wha ceseneeaeees

Goodman vy. Lukens Steel Co., 777 F.2d 113 (3d Cir.

PPE Pee eee rer Prete ee fe

Harris v. Pan American World Airways, Inc., 74 F.R.D.

rT A & gi Serre rnp reer rer rrr

Hazelwood School Dist. v. United States, 433 U.S. 299

Le) ee ee ree eer ean e erry ey

Lo Re v. Chase Manhattan Corp., 431 F.Supp% 189

OO UTS ick ccna cee tenes ko kere e seen

Lowe v. City of Monrovia, 775 F.2d 998 (9th Cir. 1985)

Martin v. Citibank, 762 F.2d 212 (2d Cir. 1985).......

Martin yv. Easton Publishing Co., 73 F.R.D. 678 (E.D.

et ed ie a LN cag a ala a ne eee eee

PAGE

tJ

‘fs Vacn in Publishine Cy

~ y~N y IR&.>

/ , Shultz, 815 F.2d 84 (D.¢

f? r ' 4 ’] \ d ‘ rai Ban A 5

( 8D) er lenied,. 460 LS 1OR3 (1983)

Penh Or n State Board of Higher Education. 816

| ad 458 (Oth Cir 1987)

Perrymar lohnson Products Co., 698 F.2d 1138 (1th

{ sy 4)

Rossi Or: & Mather, Inc., 597 F.Supp. 1120

S.D.N.Y. 1984)

R 4 () a Via ier Ine 798 I 2d $90 (2d Ci

WA) 6. 12. 13, 14,

\, ‘ Vy ; fl» er 656 | Sup] SR7 (CS 1) N y

jx)

sone Yes 20? er 797 I 2d 1478 (2d ¢ ir 1986)

lean er U? ed States, 431 U.S 324 (1977)

Vlorris Brow nC Olle

Thompkins \

’

Cir. 1985)

l lé a Siates Parok {

IRR (TORO)

ve

, YS F.R D. 411

Cir

88 F.2d $52,

$62 (8th

, 752 F.2d 558 (11th

1987) are 8

A)

18

19

S3a

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

Docket No. 87-7540

—_> —

PATRICIA SHEEHAN, ELIZABETH HENOCH, and KAYHAN

HELLRIEGEL, on behalf of themselves and all others simi-

larly situated,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

—against—

PUROLATOR, INC. and PUROLATOR COURIER CORP..

Defendants-Appellees

PRELIMINARY STATEMENT

Defendants’ Brief is filled with smoke and mirrors. In an

attempt to justify the glaring failure of the District Court even

to acknowledge the existence of highly probative evidence,

defendants misrepresent the facts, attribute findings to the Dis-

trict Court that the Court did not make, and misstate the hold-

ings and reasoning of controlling precedent. For example:

1. Defendants say that ‘‘the undisputed record showed that

appellants’ claims were atypical of those of the alleged class.”’

(Def. Br. at 1-2) (emphasis added). Not only did plaintiffs

establish otherwise, but also for defendants to call the record

‘**undisputed’’ shows how hyperbole is substituted for fact.

2. Defendants attempt to distinguish Rossini on the ground

that Purolator’s decisionmaking was decentralized. (Def. Br. at

26-27). The [2] District Court made no such finding, and the

record overwhelmingly establishes highly centralized decision-

making. (See, infra, pp. 5-8).

3. Defendants say that the Supreme Court’s decision in

Bazemore addresses the admissibility of regression analyses,

S4a

not the proper evidentiary weight to be accorded them. (Def.

Br. at 16-17). They are wrong. All of the regression analyses

addressed by the Supreme Court in Bazemore had been admit-

ted into evidence. The Supreme Court reversed the lower court

because it had improperly discounted the plaintiffs’ analyses

tor having excluded certain variables.

4. Defendants say that the District Court ignored the Com-

pany’s gender-biased policies because those policies were ‘‘old’’

and because they allegedly were not applied at corporate head-

quarters. (Def. Br. at 19, 43). The District Court made no such

finding. Those policies were not old; they were issued in 1971,

renewed in 1975 and remained in effect until 1983 or 1984.

(J.A. 2101-02, 2106; E.A. 1). It also is disingenuous at best for

defendants to ask this Court to overlook such highly relevant

evidence when the policies emanated from corporate headquar-

ters, were signed by a former President of Courier, and were

contained in the Transportation Manual—the Manual consid

ered to be every field supervisor’s ‘‘bible’’ and the prime refer-

ence for corporate policy. (J.A. 1212 n.9).

5. Defendants characterize plaintiffs’ salaries of $28,000

(Sheehan) and $38,000 (Henoch) as ‘‘substantial,’’ without

comparing them with those earned by males. (Def. Br. at

3-4, 6).

6. Without citation, and without disputing plaintiffs’ state-

ment to the contrary, defendants continue to assert that secre-

taries and customer service representatives would be part of the

class (Def. Br. at 9, [3] 24), notwithstanding defendants’ knowl-

edge that those two grours *ad been misclassified as exempt

employees on the computer tapes defendants had given plain-

tiffs in discovery. (J.A. 706 n.10).

Defendants, in attempting to justify the District Court’s

failure to give proper weight to plaintiffs’ regression analysis,

say that the study excluded ‘‘concededly’’ relevant variables.

(Def. Br. at 16). Nowhere have plaintiffs conceded the rele-

vance of the variables; in fact, plaintiffs assert that education

level (one of the variables) is totally irrelevant given that many

corporate officers started as couriers (J.A. 667-68), and many

SSa

officers, including Purolator’s President, had only a high

school diploma. (J.A. 2860). A high school diploma plus expe-

rience was sufficient for most jobs in the company. (/d.)

8. Defendants repeatedly say that plaintiffs did not have

‘‘anecdotal’’ testimony, apparently contending that ‘‘anec-

dotal’’ evidence can come only from affidavits or testimony of

class members. That argument is nothing more than an attempt

io avoid the facts that: plaintiffs submitted written policies of

discrimination; a witness who had been a manager for many

) 2ars testified that he was told to pay women less because they

had husbands and that in his experience as a manager he found

it more difficult to get women promoted than men (E.A. 362

63, 365-66, 394, 399); a witness was precluded from testifying

that she was told by Delany that she could not be promoted into

a certain position because she was a woman (J.A. 2524-25);

another female employee submitted an affidavit on the Rule 23

motion that described discrimination against women as the

defendants’ standard operating procedure throughout the

Company (J.A. 1234-38)—the affidavit was discounted by

defendants because this woman was “‘in the field’’ (Def. Br. at

9 [4] n.5); Purolator’s former affirmative action manager test)

fied that affirmative action at Purolator was a negative subject

and given lip service at best. (E.A. 125; J.A. 2174-77). All of

this evidence was ignored by the District Court in both deci

sions, and defendants deal with it no better here.

9. Defendants in their Brief never address the District

Court’s failure to decide plaintiffs’ renewed motion for class

certification made at the end of trial. This silence is sharply at

odds with defendants’ suggestion that this Court should con

sider facts concerning the individual claims developed at trial in

reviewing the class certification decision. (Def. Br. at 16, 25)

56a

ARGUMENT

POINT I

DEFENDANTS FAIL TO JUSTIFY THE COURT’S

REFUSAL TO CERTIFY A CLASS

A Defendants Misread Falcon

Defendants say that Falcon, 457 U.S. 147 (1982) requires

plaintiffs to show for class certification that there existed ‘‘a

significant number of female empioyees at Courier who share

appellants’ claims.’’ (Def. Br. at 1; see also, Def. Br. at 9, quot-

ing the District Court). Defendants never give a citation to a

page in Falcon for that proposition. In view of the fact that

numerosity was never in issue, with a putative class of 315

women, that argument simply should have no place in this case.

Moreover, in so arguing, defendants resolutely ignore, as did

the District Court, plaintiffs’ proof of defendants’ corporate-

wide policy of discrimination. The District Court’s memoran-

dum opinion fails even to mention plaintiffs’ unrebutted

showing of defendants’ blatantly discriminatory employment

[5] practices. The Supreme Court in Falcon made clear, how-

ever, that with the showing of such biased practices ‘‘a class

action on behalf of every employee who might have been preju-

diced . .. would satisfy the commonality and typicality

requirements of Rule 23(a).’’ See 457 U.S. 147, 159 n. 15.

Nor does Falcon make any mention of affidavits from class

members as either a necessary or a preferred form of evidence

supporting class certification. At the urging of defendants, the

District Court erroneously focused on the lack of affidavits

from class members here. This approach to Rule 23(a)’s com-

monality and typicality requirements finds no support in the

applicable case law.’

] During oral argument on the class certification motion, the Court

asked: ‘‘Is it your view that affidavits from other persons who feel aggrieved

by a discriminatory or disparate practice are required as a precedent to my

making a class certification determination?’’ Counsel for defendants

responded: ‘‘Your Honor, I believe that is the case. . . I refer your Honor

57a

B. Centralization of Personnel Decisionmaking

In attempting to distract attention from the District Court’s

failure to assess properly plaintiffs’ statistical evidence, and to

make any findings whatsoever with respect to the plaintiffs’

direct evidence of defendants’ sex-biased, corporate-wide writ-

ten policies, defendants focus on an issue as to which the Dis-

trict Court made no reference, allusion or finding: the

centralization of defendants’ personne! decisionmaking. Defen-

dants state, as if the District Court had so found, that Purolator

is decentralized. (Def. Br. at 2, 26-27). Defendants’ ipse dixit is

flatly contradicted by the record. Substantial submissions on

the Rule 23 motion [6] were addressed to the issue of defen-

dants’ centralized decisionmaking, and plaintiffs showed, over-

whelmingly, that defendants’ corporate headquarters

completely controlled the development and implementation of

all personnel policies. (J.A. 1203-22; 1247-54; 1265-1300).

Nonetheless, defendants attempt to distinguish this case from

Rossini v. Ogilvy & Mather, Inc., 798 F.2d 590 (2d Cir. 1986)

on the totally specious basis that defendants’ personnel deci-

sions allegedly were made on a decentralized basis. Defendants

claim that in Rossini all employment decisions were made ‘‘by a

small group of people at headquarters’’ (Def. Br. at 2), and

then argue that the ‘‘record in this case demonstrates that Cou-

rier did not make centralized decisions in that way.’’ /d.

Apart from the fact that the District Court’s denial of class

certification neither turned on centralization of decisionmak-

ing, nor, indeed, even referred to it, defendants’ absolute, rigid

centralization of all personnel decisionmaking could not have

been matched or exceeded in any business establishment.’

to the discussion of the Hicks case— . . .”’ (J.A. at 1663). As explained at

length in plaintiffs’ initial Brief to this Court, however, defendants in fact

can cite no meaningful authority standing for such a proposition (See

Plaintiffs-Appellants’ Br. at 19-26). The District Court’s novel and mis-

guided prerequisite to class certification should be reversed.

2 While defendants argued ‘‘decentralization’’ before the District

Court, they were arguing more strenuously before the N.L.R.B. that they

were highly centralized. (J.A. 1272-84).

58a

Some of the undisputed facts that were before the District

Court on this issue are summarized here:°

1. All personnel policies issued from corporate headquarters

in New Hyde Park and all personnel records were maintained

there regardless of [7] where the employee worked. All pay-

checks issued from corporate headquarters. (J.A 654, 830).

2. Qualifications for various jobs were standardized and,

according to Senior Vice President Rapp, persons with the same

title should be reasonably interchangeable throughout the coun-

try. (J.A. 654).

3. Uniform job descriptions applicable nationally were

developed by the Director of Compensation, a member of the

corporate staff. (J.A. 661).

4. Purolator had standardized numbers of holidays, dress-

codes, employee benefits, etc. It had a standard layoff policy,

the implementation of which was monitored from New Hyde

Park. (J.A. 661).

5. Corporate guidelines governed discipline of employees.

When an employee in any location was to be discharged or sus-

pended, the local manager was required to check with the divi-

sional vice president, who in turn called corporate headquarters

to ensure that the discipline was consistent with uniform

corporate-wide policy. (J.A. 656).

6. Corporate Headquarters investigated and responded to all

EEO charges filed by any employee. Since 1976 Douglas, a

Group Vice President at Headquarters, determined whether an

EEO charge should be litigated or settled. (J.A. 656).

3 All statements in this summary are taken from affidavits submitted

in support of plaintiffs’ Rule 23 Motion. They were, without exception,

based on Defendants’ Answers to Interrogatories or deposition testimony of

defendants’ officers. (J.A. 649-64). Plaintiffs’ motion papers also described

the total centralization of all business decisionmaking in corporate headquar-

ters, including marketing, legal, financial and purchasing. (J.A. 650-54).

Additionally, defendants admitted that Courier’s personnel practices ‘‘are

fixed by Mr. Borgna [defendants’ then Senior Vice President for Human

Resources], in consultation with Courier’s President’’ (J.A. 797).

59a

7. Douglas developed job application forms that were dis-

tributed nationally and that he ‘‘sanitized to insure compli-

ance’’ with the law. Douglas’ office prepared the EEO-1 report

for all field locations and the Corporation’s consolidated EEO-

1 report. (J.A. 657).

8. Salary administration policies, salary structures and

ranges, and all salary expense budgets for all categories of

employees were approved and authorized by the President and

Chief Executive Officer of the Corporate Office of Personnel.

Salary increases were determined at New Hyde Park for all

employees. (J.A. 659).

9. The Corporate Personnel Department reviewed all salary

actions recommended by supervisory personnel in the field to

ensure compliance with established policy and consistency

between Departments; reviewed and approved all merit

increases recommended by the field for non-managerial

employees; approved salary adjustments resulting from a

reclassification, promotion, or merit review; reclassified posi-

tions upon a substantial change in the job’s content. (J.A. 659-

60).

10. Corporate perquisites, such as use of a company auto-

mobile, were the subject of detailed policy. (J.A. 660).

11. Personnel selection clinics, at which attendance of area

managers was mandatory, were held around the country to

teach interviewing skills. Recruitment was centralized to the

extent that classified advertisements for job openings in any

part of the Corporation, and anywhere in the country, were

placed by someone on Eugene Borgna’s staff. (J.A. 661).

[8] 12. Corporate headquarters coordinated all recommenda-

tions for promotions of management and sales personnel. No

commitment could have been made to any employee in the Cor-

poration without Headquarters’ review of the intended promo-

tion. (J.A. 662).*

4 In 1982, then President Wilfred Lebert issued a memorandum to

Courier executives which stated that: ‘‘/NJo promotion or transfer of person-

nel will occur unless authorized by me with cost and position evaluations

fully documented.”’ (J.A. 1209) (emphasis in original).

60a

13. Supervisory skills were taught through standardized

training programs conducted by the Training Department at

Corporate Headquarters. Its purpose was to expose trainees to

work in the various areas of the Corporation in both the field

and Headquarters, so that at the end of two years they would

have been able to choose the area in which they wished to work.

(J.A. 663).

14. All requests for intracompany transfers were handled by

the Corporate Office of Personnel in the case of non-exempt

employees, and by the Corporate Office of Executive Planning

in the case of exempt employees. (J.A. 664).

Defendants’ statement in its Brief that ‘‘the push’’ for cen-

tralization began in 1984 (Def. Br. at 30. n.19) is belied so

resoundingly by every one of defendants’ witnesses that the

statement cannot have been inadvertent error. Eugene Borgna

and James Rapp testified that since at least 1975 Purolator

attempted to achieve national uniformity with respect to wages

and salaries (J.A. 654); Douglas testified that even before he

was hired in 1974, defendants had begun to standardize person-

nel policies, such as wages, number of holidays, dress habits,

employee benefits, and that he continued those efforts. (J.A.

655). The statements referred to in the summary above

described long standing practices, not those planned for some

time in the future.

C. Class Representatives

Defendants’ assertion that plaintiffs ‘‘cannot and do not dis-

pute’’ what defendants characterize as ‘‘the essential element

underlying the [9] trial court’s conclusion’’-—that ‘‘they (the

named plaintiffs) were atypical of other women’’ is patently

absurd. (Def. Br. at 23). Plaintiffs, from the inception of this

action have been steadfast in their claim that they were

5 Defendants’ argument that this Court should ignore Hellriegel in its

review of the District Court’s decision is erroneous. At the time the District

Court decided the class certification motion Hellriegel had not settled her

claims. Had the Court correctly decided the motion, the ‘‘expiration’’ of

Hellriegel’s claims would not have affected the class action. See U'niied

States Parole Commission v. Geraghty, 445 U.S. 388 (1980).

6la

typical—typical of all women in the proposed class—in that

they shared a workplace where men were given preferred treat-

ment and job opportunities because they were male. They urged

the District Court to see that the jobs of all women in the class

did not have to be the same; that only their legal claims had to

be the same. The plaintiffs never said they were clones of the

other class members; they said they were women, and, as all

women in the class, suffered different and less favorable treat-

ment than men. (J.A. 1646-8; 1670).

Defendants combine argument on the merits with argument

on class certification in their discussion of typicality. Their

argument that plaintiffs were too successful is an extension of

their argument that plaintiffs were not discriminated against,

since if they were successful, they could neither claim discrimi-

nation nor be typical. Both on the class certification motion and

at trial plaintiffs claimed that had they been male they would

have been successful, that they would have been paid as well as

comparable males and given opportunities to move up the

ranks.°

[10] Rather than address plaintiffs’ arguments that plaintiffs

were not atypical of the class of women salaried employees,

defendants claim that the District Court’s ruling is consistent

with ‘‘well-established’’ case law precluding high ranking

employees from being class representatives. (Def. Br. at 24).

Defendants fail to cite to such well-established case law and

completely ignore the case law to the contrary cited in plain-

tiffs’ Brief. In any event, defendants never answer plaintiffs’

claim that had plaintiffs been male they would have been more

successful, they would have been paid as well as comparable

men and they would have been given different and better

opportunities to move up. These are the typical and common

elements plaintiffs share with the class.

6 Defendants’ reference to Sheehan’s ‘‘success,’’ for example, is heavy

with irony. They say she was responsible for purchasing office supplies—

approximately 15% of Courier’s purchases ‘‘company-wide.’’ Defendants

also report her salary after ten years with the company as $28,000, a fraction

of that earned by similarly ‘‘successful’’ males. (See Def. Br. at 4; J.E. 115-

18; J.A. 1760).

62a

Defendants also rely on clear misstatements about the com-

position of the putative class to attack plaintiffs’ ‘‘typicality.’’

Without disputing plaintiffs’ assertion that secretaries and cus-

tomer service representatives were excluded from the class for

which plaintiffs sought certification, that is, a class of exempt

employees, defendants, again without citation, rely on their

presence ‘‘in the class.’’’

Defendants further erroneously claim that plaintiffs suggest

the District Court should have certified a ‘‘narrower class of

higher ranking female employees.’’ (Def. Br. at 24). To the con-

trary, plaintiffs argued that, if the District Court had consid-

ered the presence of secretaries and service representatives in

the class to have been inappropriate (despite the fact that few if

any would have remained in the class after defendants corrected

their records), it could have excluded them from the class.

[11] As to the claim that plaintiffs were ‘‘unique,’’ defendants’

arguments would preclude class certification in any workforce

such as Purolator’s and limit class actions only to workforces

composed of employees with the same job. This is not the law:

The fact that the jobs performed by the named plaintiffs

are, in some sense unique, is not a bar to their being class

representatives. If it were, no class of professional employ-

ees could ever be certified.

Meyer v. Macmillan Publishing Co., Inc., 95 F.R.D. 411, 414

(S.D.N.Y. 1982) (citing Lo Re v. Chase Munhattan Corp., 431

F.Supp. 189 (S.D.N.Y 1977)). See also Rossini, 597 F.Supp.

1120, 1131-32 (S.D.N.Y. 1984), rev’d on other grounds, 798

F.2d 590 (2d Cir. 1986); Carpenter v. Stephen F. Austin State

University, 706 F.2d 608, 617 (Sth Cir. 1983); Paxton v. Union

National Bank, 688 F.2d 552, 562 (8th Cir. 1982), cert. denied,

460 U.S. 1083 (1983).

7 Defendants do not and cannot dispute that women !n those catego-

ries had prior to 1982 been erroneously classified as exempt employees by

Purolator. Plaintiffs’ complaint described the putative class as including only

exempt (salaried) employees, using defendants’ terminology and classifica-

tion.

63a

Defendants again repeat the erroneous argument made to the

District Court that plaintiffs disqualified themselves from serv-

ing as class representatives because they asserted retaliation

claims in addition to salary, promotion and transfer claims.

(Def. Br. at 10). As usual, defendants fail to address plaintiffs’

arguments, no doubt because there is no legitimate response to

the fact that a rule such as that proposed here would require

plaintiffs to abandon retaliation claims in order to pursue class

claims. Nothing in the law requires class representatives to

make such a choice. In any event, Sheehan’s “‘principal’’ claim

is not retaliation. (Def. Br. at 28). She claims and claimed dis-

crimination in salary, promotion, transfer and retaliation.

(J.A. 34-5; J.A. 14-16).

Finally, the cases cited by defendants are not on point. (Def.

Br. at 25). In Alexander v. Gino’s Inc., 621 F.2d 71 (3d Cir ).

cert. denied, [12] 449 U.S. 953 (1980), for example, the court

did not consider whether a plaintiff working at one level or

location within a company could represent a class that included

employees at different levels. The Alexander court rejected a

class action challenge to Gino’s discharge and promotion poli-

cies because members of the proposed discharge class each left

the company under very different circumstances and because

the plaintiff could not specify any member of the proposed pro-

motion class. In Martin v. Easton Publishing Co., 73 F.R.D.

678 (E.D. Pa. 1977) and Harris v. Pan American World Air-

ways, Inc., 74 F.R.D. 24 (N.D. Cal. 1977) the plaintiffs’

employment was terminated and they then brought class actions

alleging discrimination in virtually all terms and conditions of

employment. Indeed, in Pan American the plaintiff refused

another position with the defendant, 74 F.R.D. at 56. Here,

Sheehan was fired only after complaining about discrimination

in terms and conditions of employment and Henoch remained

employed. Thus, the nexus with the class in this case was estab-

lished and continued throughout the litigation.

— =

64a

D. Effect of Dismissal of Plaintiffs’ Individual Claims

Defendants’ claim that class certification is now precluded

because plaintiffs failed to prevail on the merits at the trial of

their individual claims is plainly wrong. (See Def. Br. at 31).

They ask this Court to review this case in a wholly inappro-

priate and backwards way. The Court first should look to the

class certification decision; if it is reversed, the Court should

then remand the individual cases to be considered in the light of

a decision on the class claims. Rossini, 798 F.2d at 606. That is

so because, as this Court ruled in Rossini, if class certification

were granted and plaintiffs prevailed in proving class-wide dis-

crimination, [13] they would then be entitled to a presumption

of discriminatory intent. See Jd.

The Fifth Circuit decision Trevino v. Holly Sugar Corp., 811

F.2d 896 (Sth Cir. 1987), cited by defendants, is not consistent

with the law of this Circuit.* The rule in this Circuit is to look at

the class certification first. If it is in error, the named plaintiffs’

individual claims should be remanded. Rossini, 798 F.2d at 606.

The Trevino court did just the opposite, first affirming the

judgment against the plaintiffs on their individual claims, then

affirming denial of class certification because these plaintiffs

without individual claims could not serve as class representa-

tives. This backward logic totally ignores the interests of the

class. Significantly, however, in contrast to the trial here, the

District Court in Trevino did analyze evidence of class-wide dis-

crimination in considering the individual claims. The Trevino

defendants ‘‘presented legitimate, non-discriminatory reasons

to account for the disparities that plaintiffs attributed to dis-

crimination.’’ 811 F.2d at 905. In this case, the District Court

refused to consider any class-type evidence during the trial of

the individual claims, and defendants’ counsel repeatedly

8 The Ninth Circuit decision cited by defendants, Betts v. Reliable

Collection Agency Ltd., 659 F.2d 1000 (9th Cir. 1981) (Def. Br. at 31), is not

on point. That court held that the district court had no authority under Rule

23 to create one “‘subclass’’ two years after judgment, for which there was no

representative.

65a

argued that this was not a class trial.” Evidence of class-wide

discriminatory practices by [14] defendants remains unrebutted

and has been ignored by the trial court. Under these circum-

stances, both the class claims and the individual claims should

be remanded. Rossini, 798 F.2d at 606.'°

POINT Il

DEFENDANTS HAVE FAILED TO JUSTIFY

THE DISTRICT COURT’S ERRONEOUS TREATMENT

OF THE EVIDENCE

A. Statistical Evidence

In discussing plaintiffs’ arguments on the statistics, defen-

dants again resort to hyperbole, distortion and outright mis-

statements. For example, defendants say that the Supreme

Court’s decision in Bazemore v. Friday, ____, U.S. , 106

S.Ct. 3000, 92 L.Ed.2d. 315 (1986) controls only as to the

admissibility of regression analyses, and that the District Court

here complied with Bazemore because it admitted plaintiffs’

studies into evidence and ‘‘considered’’ them. Thus, defendants

9 In an offer of documents into evidence by plaintiffs, the following

colloquy occurred:

The Court: What is your position with respect to those?

Plaintiffs’ Counsel: Our position with respect to all these documents is

that it shows a pattern of treatment of women and the attitude of

supervisors toward women as either permitted or encouraged by the

upper level management which issues these documents.

The Court: It seems to me that goes to proof which may be relevant in

a class action. We are not dealing with a class action. We’re dealing

with claimed discrimination against Ms. Sheehan and Ms. Henoch.

(J.A. 2592-93; see also, J.A. 3089; 2522-24).

10 ‘The failure of the named plaintiffs to prove that they were victims of

individual instances of discrimination does not necessarily prevent the court

from finding the existence of a “pattern or practice of discrimination as to

the class.’’ Perryman v. Johnson Products Co., 698 F.2d 1138, 1146 (11th

Cir. 1983) (citations omitted). See also Goodman v. Lukens Steel Co., 777

F.2d 113, 123 n.6 (3d Cir. 1985) (*‘[t}he fact that some of the named piain-

tiffs did not prevail on their individual claims does not make them inade-

quate class representatives’).

66a

state: ‘‘In Bazemore, the district court refused to admit into evi-

dence a regression analysis that, like [15] appellants’ here, did

not include all possible variables that might contribute to salary

disparities.’ (Def. Br. at 16).

Defendants’ reading of Bazemore is plainly and simply

wrong, for ali the regression analyses addressed by the Supreme

Court in Bazemore had been admitted into evidence. See 92

L.Ed. at 330-33. The Supreme Court reversed the lower court,

not because of a refusal to admit studies into evidence but

because, like the District Court here, the court did not accord

Proper evidentiary weight to the

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.