Supplemental Appendix — White Industries, Inc. v. Cessna Aircraft Co.

Supreme Court brief1988

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

oe . 5 FILED

ne Be? FP

AUG 4 1988

JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, ur,

In the Supreme Court of theUnited Stites!

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

WHITE INDUSTRIES, INC., CARTHAGE AIRWAYS,

INC. and EUGENE INGRAM,

Petitioners,

Vs.

THE CESSNA AIRCRAFT COMPANY and

CESSNA FINANCE CORPORATION,

Respondents.

SUPPLEMENTAL APPENDIX TO

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

Epwarp A. McCoNnweELL

(Counsel of Record)

LAW FIRM OF

EpWarD A. McCoNWELL

Cloverleaf V Building

Suite 210

6701 West 64th Street

Overland Park, Kansas 66202

(913) 262-0605

JOHN A. COCHRANE

STEWART C. LOPER

COCHRANE AND BRESNAHAN, P.A.

24 East 4th Street

Saint Paul, Minnesota 55101

(612) 298-1950

Attorneys for Petitioners

E. L. MENDENHALL, INc., 926 Cherry Street, Kansas City, Mo. 64106, (816) 421-3030

eet

_ Supreme Court, U3,

_s'

U\

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Appendix A—Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Eighth Circuit (Filed May 6, 1988) . Al

Appendix B—Order Granting in Part and Denying in

Part “Motion by Cessna Defendants for Determina-

tion of Certain Special Legal Issues” (Filed Novem-

SORE Fy Rar cigs censajtelenesueciatceserbanasigsaciises-seunpwiplvnnsciseiseks Al4

Appendix C—Walston As a Percent of Domestic Total

PESDCEOR TO TS oii i ii ckckcces A23

Appendix D—Order on Defendants’ Motions for In-

voluntary Dismissal and to Decertify Class (October

Be ID ashe sie nic nae caesar meamcomdane wtbensdeanatrecnenaamtepiactrees A27

Appendix E—Order of the United States District Court

for the Western District of Missouri, Western Di-

vision (Filed October 14, 1986) .............0.0..eeeeeeeeeee A96

Appendix F—Order of the United States District Court

for the Western District of Missouri, Western Di-

vision (Filed March 10, 1987) ............... eee er ee A100

Appendix G—Order on Defendants’ Motions for In-

voluntary Dismissal and to Decertify Class (As

Amended by the Court’s Orders of October 14, 1986

and March 10, 1987) (Filed March 13, 1987) ............ Al1l4

A27

APPENDIX D

(Filed October 2, 1986)

IN THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

WESTERN DISTRICT OF MISSOURI

WESTERN DIVISION

No. 20245-B

WHITE INDUSTRIES,

INC., et al.,

Plaintiffs,

v.

The CESSNA AIRCRAFT

COMPANY, et al.,

Defendants.

ORDER ON DEFENDANTS’ MOTIONS FOR

INVOLUNTARY DISMISSAL AND TO

DECERTIFY CLASS

White Industries, Inc. (“White Industries’)

Carthage Airways, Inc. (“Carthage Airways”)! seek, for

themselves and for the members of a nationwide class

1. Although one of Carthage Airways’ shareholders, Eugene

Ingram, is also named as a plaintiff, it is clear that any claims

he might assert would pre-date July, 1966, when Carthage Air-

ways wes incorporated. Those claims were barred by the ap-

plicable four year statute of limitations at the time this suit

was filed, see 15 U.S.C. §15b, and thus will not be considered

further.

A28

composed of all “zone dealers” of Cessna aircraft who

operated as such during the years between April 14, 1965

and June 5, 1974,? treble damages for alleged violations

of §2(a) of the Robinson-Patman Act, 15 U.S.C. §$13(a),

and §1 of the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. §1.° Still present as

defendants are The Cessna Aircraft Company (“‘Cessna’’),

and Cessna Finance Corporation (“CFC’’).

Foilowing assignment to this division, the case pro-

ceeded to trial before the court sitting without a jury.

During the course of trial, it was determined: (a) that

presentation of the individual claims asserted by White

Industries and Carthage Airways would be bifurcated be-

tween liability and damages; (b) that- upon completion

of the liability phase of those individual claims the court

would recess the case, issue its rulings on evidentiary

questions which had been reserved, and thereafter rule

defendants’ anticipated motion for involuntary dismissal

of those claims; and (c), that in tandem with its liability

rulings on the individual claims the court would rule de-

fendants’ motion - made during trial - to decertify the

class. The court’s evidentiary rulings having been made,

see White Industries v. Cessna Aircraft Co., 611 F. Supp.

1049 (W.D. Mo. 1985), I now turn to the substantive mat-

ters mentioned.

2. A class composed of all Cessna dealers - zone and con-

tracted (see definitions, infra) - was originally certified. In

August, 1983, my predecessor narrowed the class to its present

configuration.

3. Plaintiffs’ prayer also includes a request for injunctive

relief. At some unidentified point before this case proceeded

to trial, however, Cessna completed its elimination of the ‘Cessna

distributor” (see definitions, infra) portion of its distribution

network. Since the functioning of that “Cessna distributor”

system forms the whole basis for plaintiffs’ claims, the request

for injunctive relief is now moot.

Ti naoierrrteeeerniaeteiehiitatmaiaeieiemaeniiioniaiaal

A29

I.

DEFINITIONS

Given the scope and complexity of this litigation, I

commence with a definition of certain terms which recur

throughout: The exercise, however, is not purely ad-

visory; the definitions which follow also incorporate find-

ings of fact and conclusions of law.

(a) General Aviation: As described by Cessna it-

self, “general aviation” includes

all flying except for commercial airlines and military,

encomassing everything from the single-seat aerial

application aircraft to a planeload of commuters trav-

eling to major airports for airline connections. It

[includes] air taxi trips, busy executives visiting out-

lying plants, an injured child being airlifted to medical

facilities, pipeline patrol, aerial examination of forests

for fires, the shipment of high priority cargo, rushing

spare parts to equiprnent requiring immediate service,

aerobatics, reseeding strip-mined areas, restocking

lakes with fish [and] floatplane hunting and fishing

trips into the North Woods. It [includes] almost every

conceivable business and recreational use.

Plt. Ex. #2 (Cessna brochure, circa 1969).

(b) Fixed Base Operator (“FBO”): A generic term

signifying a business (individually owned, corporate, or

otherwise) which occupied physical space at an airport

and which carried on some or all of a variety of general

aviation related activities, including flight training, aircraft

rental, aircraft chartering, aircraft maintenance, servicing

and repair, aircraft hangaring or tiedown, and the sale of

aircraft, avionics, accessories and parts. As would be

a

A30

expected, some FBOs were larger and more aggressive in

their operations than others, and some did not engage in

all the activities mentioned above. It appears, however,

that many were at least occasionally involved in the resale

of both new and used aircraft to most kinds of “end con-

sumers” (see “end consumer,” infra), and a number were

active in that line of business. Both “contracted dealers”

of Cessna aircraft (see “Contracted Dealer,” infra) and

“zone dealers” of Cessna aircraft (see “Zone Dealer,” infra)

were ordinarily FBOs, although many other FBOs were

never formally associated with the Cessna distribution

system.*

(c) Cessna Distributor:® As used in this opinion, a

business operating under a franchise contract with Cessna,

performing - at least in theory - a more or less traditional

wholesale function in the distribution of Cessna aircraft,

accessories and parts: viz, the purchase and maintenance

of an inventory of Cessna aircraft, accessories and parts;

the development of “contracted dealers” (see “Contracted

Dealer,” infra) within the distributor’s assigned geographic

“area of responsibility;” and the sale of Cessna aircraft,

paris and accessories to those contracted dealers.

(d) Contracted Dealer: As used in this opinion, a

business - ordinarily if not without exception an FBO -

operating under a contract (ordinarily of a one year

4. As noted elsewhere, some FBOs from time to time be-

came “zone dealers” or “contracted dealers” by virtue of enter-

ing into the necessary contract with Cessna or a Cessna dis-

tributor, and from time to time lost that status by virtue of not

renewing the contract.

5. The witnesses and parties have referred to these entities

as “independent distributors.’ I have chosen to substitute the

present term in order to avoid any perception or suggestion

that there was a relationship between such entities and “inde-

pendent dealers,” infra.

A31

duration) with a Cessna distributor. A “contracted dealer”

was in theory to perform a more or less traditional retail

function in the distribution of Cessna aircraft, accessories

and parts: viz, purchase Cessna aircraft, accessories and

parts and resell the same to the buying public. In prac-

tice, a “contracted dealer” usually acquired its Cessna

aircraft from the Cessna distributor with whom it had a

contract, although nothing in any of the contracts shown

in evidence required the same or restricted either the dis-

tributor or its dealers in buying from or selling to any

person either might choose.

(e) Zone Dealer: A business - again, ordinarily if

not without exception an FBO - operating under a direct

contract (ordinarily of one year duration) with Cessna,

in theory performing a retail function in the distribution

of Cessna aircraft, accessories and parts; a function paral-

lel to that performed by a contracted dealer. As with

contracted dealers, nothing in any of the “zone dealer”

contracts shown in evidence restricted either Cessna or

its zone dealers in buying from or selling to any person

either might choose.

(f) Independent Dealer: As used in this opinion,

a business - usually an FBO - which was not under con-

tract with Cessna or a Cessna distributor, but which en-

gaged (even if occasionally) in the resale of new or used

Cessna aircraft.

(g) Used Aircraft: As used in this opinion, any

aircraft which at the time of the sale in question carried

100 hours or more of flight time. My present selection

of 100 hours of use is based upon the testimony of two of

plaintiffs’ witnesses (Love and Desciose), but of course

is made without prejudice to defendants’ ability to show

that some lesser number of hours would be appropriate.

eS

A32

(h) New Aircraft: As used in this opinion, any

aircraft which at the time of the sale in question carried

less than 100 hours of flight time, unless materially dam-

aged.

(i) Current and Non-Current Aircraft: Cessna mar-

keted each of its models of aircraft on a “model year”

basis. Although there were differences from model to

model, a “model year” generally commenced in the fall

or early winter of each year, and terminated upon the

introduction of the new model the following year. The

term “current aircraft’ refers to an aircraft which, at

the time in question, was still within its “model year.”

By the same token, a non-current aircraft would be any

aircraft, even if “new,” which at the time in question

had been succeeded by the next year’s model.

(j) End Consumer: One who acquired an aircraft

for the immediate principal purpose of using it (whether

for business or for pleasure), as opposed to reselling it.

Thus a commuter airline which purchased a plane for

use in that business was an end consumer; so too was

an individual who purchased a plane to fly for pleasure,

or a company which acquired a plane for executive use.

In theory at least, the definition would also include an

FBO - even a contracted dealer, zone d@aler or inde-

pendent dealer - which purchased an aircraft, as some

did, for the immediate principal purpose of using it in

a flight school, air charter service or similar activity.*

6. Defendants advance a suggestion that the use of an air-

craft in such activities would amount to a “resale by the hour”

(or on whatever other basis the owner’s charges were fixed).

I feel obliged to reject that idea as a matter of law. however

ingenious it may be and even though some of plaintiffs’ witnesses

agreed with it. So far as I can determine, when the Robinson-

(Continued on following page)

A33

II.

GENERAL BACKGROUND

Cessna was incorporated in 1927. It has been en-

gaged, since that time and insofar as pertinent here, in

the manufacture and distribution of aircraft for use in

general aviation.

During the period in question (April 14, 1968 to

June 5, 1974), Cessna manufactured a variety of models

of single and multi-engine aircraft for such use. Those

planes were assembled by Cessna at plants in or near

Wichita, Kansas - also the location of Cessna’s corporate

headquarters - and reached the “consuming” public

through one of two general distribution systems then

utilized by Cessna: (a) the Cessna distributor system;

and (b), the zone dealer system. It is the functioning

and interrelationship of these two systems which form

the core of plaintiffs’ claims.

Historically, in the period before and immediately

after World War II the Cessna distribution system - like

that of other general aviation aircraft manufacturers at

the time - was essentially single-tiered, made up of “dis-

tributors” who purchased aircraft and parts from Cessna

and resold to “operators.” The latter were at that time

the predominant end consumers of general aviation air-

craft, who used the planes they purchased for flight

school training, rentals, charter service and special use

Footnote continued—

Patman Act refers to “resale” it refers to a sale in the con-

ventional sense, as distinguished from “use” or ‘“‘consumption”’

(words it also employs) Compare General Motors Corp.. 3

Trade Reg. Rep. (CCH 22,165, at 23,021 to 23,023 (1984) (a

§2(d) decision, but still applicable here, see fn. 10 infra)

A34

work. The ‘distributors,’ although called such, gener-

ally performed little in the way of traditional “whole-

sale” functions, and in fact generally operated in a capac-

ity which would ordinarily be thought of as that of a

“dealer” or “retailer.”

In the 1950’s, Cessna undertook to broaden the mar-

ket for its aircraft to include more of the general public -

those who would purchase for what might be called

“personal use” (whether business or pleasure, individual

or corporate). To that end, it sought to expand the

number of airport based outlets which would bear its

name and provide a point of contact with the general

public. That effort led to the creation of a more formal,

two-tier distribution system composed of Cessna distrib-

utors operating under contracts with Cessna, and _con-

tracted dealers operating under contracts with those

Cessna distributors - the so-called Cessna distributor sys-

tem. Cessna sold its aircraft to Cessna distributors at

a “Mscount of 25% (during some periods, 26%) from

Cessna’s suggested list price; the suggested “dealer” price

was a discount of 20% from the suggested list price.

In general, the original Cessna distributors were the

larger and more stable of the earlier “distributors,” who

converted their operations and entered into appropriate

contracts with Cessna; the contracted dealers were either

earlier “distributors” who did not convert, or were drawn

from the ranks of FBO’s. In the event, however, Cessna

was unable to obtain and keep a sufficient number of

Cessna distributors to service all areas of the country.

Cessna sought to fill these voids, where they existed,

by the creation of its “zone” distribution system. Under

that arrangement Cessna established, for each geographic

area in need thereof, its own “zone” outlet, responsible

ee

A35

for performing in that geographic area the same func-

tions that a Cessna distributor would otherwise have

performed. These “zones” were wholly owned divisions

of Cessna, but each had its own, separate operating facil-

ity and staff and was in general dealt with as a separate

“profit center’ within the Cessna organization. It was

the responsibility of each “zone” to develop and enter

into contracts with local “zone dealers.” Over the years,

Cessna expanded this “zone” method of operation (by

buying out Cessna distributors or by implementing the

system in areas where Cessna distributors chose not to

renew their agreements), until by 1970 substantially over

60% of the company’s business was conducted through

the “zone” system. Zone dealers acquired their aircraft

from Cessna at a discount of 20% from the suggested

list price.

In summary, during the period in question the Cessna

distribution system was a “dual” system: in some parts

of the country planes were sold by Cessna to Cessna dis-

tributors, who in theory resold to their contracted dealers,

who in turn resold to the buying public; in other parts

of the country planes were sold by Cessna through its

“zone” outlets to zone dealers, with those dealers re-

selling to the buying public.

* * * * « *

CFC is, and was during the time in question, a wholly

owned Cessna subsidiary which provided wholesale and

retail financing to purchasers of Cessna aircraft. It is the

source of a good bit of the documentary evidence offered

in this case, but aside from whatever tactical advantage

may have accrued to plaintiffs in that connection its

presence as a defendant is largely unexplained.

Se gon See Pe To

A36

White Industries was incorporated in 1965. In excess

of 95% of its stock is and always has been held by Frank

Terry White, who is and always has been its President and

chief executive officer. Originally, the company was in-

volved principally in the foreign automobile salvage busi-

ness, although it also maintained an aircraft rental, air-

craft charter, flight instruction and aircraft sales business

at Fairfax Airport in Kansas City, Kansas. The assets of

the automobile salvage business were sold in 1968, and

thereafter the bulk of the company’s operations were rep-

resented by the above mentioned aircraft related activities,

eventually expanded to include the operation of an aircraft

commuter service as well.

On August 8, 1968, the company entered into a con-

tract with Cessna and became a Cessna zone dealer (under

the “Kansas City zone”) for all but one of the models

of Cessna single and twin-engine aircraft. The dealership

was “non-exclusive” (as were all Cessna dealerships,

whether established under a Cessna distributor or under

a zone), with an assigned ‘area of responsibility” consist-

ing of two Missouri counties (Jackson and Clay) and two

Kansas counties (Johnson and Wyandotte), all part of

the greater Kansas City metropolitan area. The arrange-

ment was continued until December 31, 1969, during which

time the company purchased 27 aircraft from Cessna, each

at a discount of approximately 20% from Cessna’s sug-

gested list price.

* + * ~ + +

Eugene Ingram is and was at all relevant times a

resident of Carthage, Missouri, a Southwestern Missouri

community located approximately 150 miles to the south

of Kansas City. In July of 1962, Ingram acquired a fixed

base operation at the Carthage Municipal Airport. That

A37

business had previously been, among other things, a con-

tracted dealer (single engine) under Hackett-Aire Dis-

tributors (“Hackett”), a Cessna distributor located in

Kansas City. Ingram, operating as a sole proprietorship

under the name “Carthage Airways,” continued the rela-

tionship until 1966, when the business was incorporated

under the name “Carthage Airways, Inc.”

In approximately 1967, the Hackett distributorship

was acquired by Cessna and became the Kansas City

“zone” operation. Carthage Airways thereupon entered

into a contract with Cessna and became a zone dealer

(single engine). In late 1968, the dealership was expanded

to include multi-engine aircraft.

In February, 1969, Carthage Airways acquired a fixed

base operation at Miami, Oklahoma, approximately 60 miles

to the southwest of Carthage. That Miami operation,

carried on under the name “Miami Aircraft,” was actually

a separate dealership (multi-engine) conducted under a

contract with Skyliners Distributors, Inc. (“Skyliners’’),

a Cessna distributor located in Wichita, Kansas. Carthage

Airways continued the “Miami Aircraft” operation for ap-

proximately two years.

In 1970 or 1971, the Kansas City “zone” was acquired

by DAD Incorporated (“DAD”), a Cessna distributor lo-

cated in Omaha, Nebraska. Despite that fact, Carthage

Airways apparently continued as a single engine Cessna

dealer under a separate contract with Cessna until Feb-

ruary 4, 1972, although it actually purchased its aircraft

from DAD during that time frame. On the latter date,

it entered into a dealer (single engine) contract with DAD.

This last arrangement continued until Carthage Airways’

business ended in 1973.

A38

During the period at issue in this suit, Carthage Air-

ways purchased 23 Cessna aircraft. Those planes, as with

the planes purchased by White Industries, encompassed

a variety of models extending from the cheapest of Cessna’s

single engine craft (the Model 150) to sophisticated and

expensive twin-engine models (e.g., the model 421A).

Il.

STANDARD OF REVIEW

As noted, the individual plaintiffs’ claims have been

bifurcated between liability and damages. As also noted,

those claims have been bench-tried and are presently be-

fore me on defendants’ motion, pursuant to Rule 41(b),

for involuntary dismissal at the close of that individual

liability evidence.

Both the language of the Rule and the Advisory Com-

mittee comments demonstrate that the standard em-

ployed in dealing with such a motion is quite different

from that applied to counterpart motions made in jury-

tried cases under Rule 50(a). In the latter instance,

of course, the court determines only whether the evidence

presented is sufficient to create an issue of fact for the

jury; a process that requires viewing the evidence in the

light most favorable to the party opposing the motion

and prohibits a weighing of the evidence or any assessment

of witness credibility. See generally 9 Wright and Miller,

Federal Practice and Procedure §2524 (1971). With re-

gard to the present sort of motion, however, there are

no special inferences applied in favor of the party opposing

the motion, id. §2371, at 224-25, and the court may weigh

the evidence presented, resolve any conflicts therein and

A39

decide for itself where the preponderance lies. Id.; and

see Byrd v. Vitek, 689 F. 2d 770, 771 n.2 (8th Cir. 1982);

Shull v. Dain, Kalman & Quall, Inc., 561 F. 2d 152, 154-55

(8th Cir. 1977); Lang v. Cole, 542 F. 2d 751, 754 (8th Cir.

1976). In short, under a Rule 41(b) motion the court may

undertake a full-blown examination of the merits of the

claims to which the motion is directed, complete with fact

finding and credibility resolutions. If, having made that

examination, the court finds that the opposing party has

not supported those claims by a preponderance of the

credible evidence, the motion should be granted.

IV.

THE ROBINSON-PATMAN CLAIM

Reduced to its most prosaic terms, plaintiffs’ Robin-

son-Patman claim is that some or all Cessna distributors

sold Cessna aircraft on other than a ‘wholesale’ basis,

and in fact sold in direct competition with plaintiffs at the

retail level. Because of that, plaintiffs allege, and be-

cause of the price advantage Cessna distributors enjoyed

in their acquisition of Cessna aircraft - a 25% (or during

some periods 26%) discount as against the 20% discount

at which Cessna sold its planes to zone dealers (and at

which contracted dealers often acquired planes from

Cessna distributors) - plaintiffs have been, in Robinson-

Patman vernacular, the victims of discrimination by

Cessna in the price charged “different purchasers [Cessna

distributors vs. zone or contracted dealers] of commod-

ities of like grade and quality [the aircraft in question]...

where the effect of such discrimination may be substan-

tially to lessen competition . .. in any line of commerce,

or to injury ... competition with any person who...

ee EE Ee

A40

knowingly receives the benefit of such discrimination [the

Cessna distributors] ....” See 15 U.S.C. §13(a).’

As the Supreme Court has observed, “the Robinson-

Patman amendments by no means represent an exemplar

of legislative clarity.” FTC v. Fred Meyer, Inc., 390 USS.

341, 349 (1968). Nonetheless, the constitutent elements

of §2(a) are not difficult to identify, even if they are not

always easy to apply. According to the Federal Trade

Commission:

In order to bring the substantive portions of [§2(a)

of] the Act into play, there must be (1) two or more

consummated sales, (2) reasonably close in point of

time, (3) of commodities, (4) of like grade and qual-

ity, (5) with a difference in price, (6) by the same

seller, (7) to two or more different purchasers, (8)

for use, consumption, or resale within the United

States or any territory thereof, (9) which may result

in competitive injury. Furthermore, (10) the “com-

merce”? requirement must be satisfied. All ten of

these jurisdictional elements must be met in order

7. Section 2(a) of the Act, 15 U.S.C. §13(a), as immediately

pertinent, reads as follows:

It shall be unlawful for any person engaged in commerce,

in the course of such commerce, either directly or indirectly, to

discriminate in price between different purchasers of commodi-

ties of like grade and quality, where either or any of the pur-

chases involved in such discrimination are in commerce, where

such commodities are sold for use, consumption, or resale within

the United States or any Territory thereof or the District of

Columbia or any insular possession or other place under the

jurisdiction of the United States, and where the effect of such

discrimination may be substantially to lessen competition or

tend to create a monopoly in any line of commerce, or to injure,

destroy, or prevent competition with any person who either

grants or knowingly receives the benefit of such discrimination,

or with customers of either of them.

eae

A4l

to invoke the power of the Federal Trade Commission

or the courts to consider the lawfulness of pricing

transactions.

International Telephone & Telegraph Corp., 3 Trade Reg.

Rep. (CCH) {22,188, at 23,090-91 (1984). Further (and

finally), in any claim for damages a plaintiff must also

meet the “actual injury” requirement of $4 of the Clayton

Act, 15 U.S.C. $15. J. Truett Payne Co. v. Chrysler Motors

Corp., 451 U.S. 557, 561-62 (1981).

Defendants suggest that plaintiffs’ case fails in con-

nection with several of these elements. Specifically, de-

fendants assert: (a) that plaintiffs have failed to meet

the “like grade and quality’’ requirement with respect

to aircraft purchased by them, as compared to aircraft

purchased within a “reasonably close” time frame by any

alleged competing Cessna distributor; (b) that plaintiffs

have failed to satisfy the “in commerce” requirement with

respect to any sales to them, or any sales to a Cessna dis-

tributor; (c) that plaintiffs have not shown themselves

to be in “competition” with any Cessna distributor; and

(d), that plaintiffs have failed to show any actual injury

within the meaning of §4 of the Clayton Act. In addi-

tion, defendants suggest that portions of Carthage Air-

ways’ claim are time-barred. To the extent necessary

to reach them, these and certain related issues will be

addressed below, seriatim.

A.

The Relevant “Commodities”

As concerns purchases by the plaintiffs and by Cessna

distributors, the relevant “commodities” would be either

A42

new or used (as sold by Cessna)® aircraft, purchased for

resale. Although dealers (and other FBOs) sometime pur-

chased aircraft (new or used) for use in their businesses

(flight school, air charter service, etc.), no one has as-

serted that pricing differentials by Cessna had any impact

upon competition in those endeavors, even if I make the

assumption that such “business use” competition falls

within the Act.* Nor can a purchase for use, albeit with

the idea of resale when sufficient use has been made, be

considered a purchase for resale. General Motors Corp.,

3 Trade Reg. Rep. at 23-023.1° Accordingly, while I do

not suggest that plaintiffs’ claims are adversely affected

8. While Cessna ordinarily sold new aircraft, it also oc-

casionally sold “factory demonstrator” or ‘zone demonstrator”

aircraft. Presumably those aircraft would often be “used,” as

that term has been defined in this opinion.

9. Some commentators have apparently viewed §2(a) as

limited to purchases made for the purpose of resale or distribu-

tion. See III Kinter and Bauer, Federal Antitrust Law 299

(1983); 5 Von Kalinowski, Antitrust Laws and Trade Regulation

30-44 (1986). The statute, however, uses the words “use, con-

sumption, or resale... .” I can certainly see that a purchase

of salt for “consumption” or “use’’ by a family does not impli-

cate “competition” at the purchaser’s level; but a business “use”

and perhaps even a business ‘‘consumption” might arguably be

something else again. The point, however, is academic as far

as this case is concerned, for the reasons stated_in the text.

10. General Motors Corp. is a decision under §2(d) of the

Act. That section is rather clearly limited to situations involv-

ing the resale of products, see General Motors Corp. at 23,021

and authorities cited; and of course the ruling in the case was

made in that context. It is, as noted in fn. 9, supra, less clear

that §2(a) is limited in that fashion. Whatever the theoretical

boundaries of §2(a) may be, however, I am, for the reasons

pointed out in the text, concerned only with aircraft which were

purchased for resale, and I thus believe Generai Motors is ap-

plicable - and persuasive - authority on the present point.

A43

by their use of planes purchased from Cessna if they pur-

chased those planes for the immediate principal purpose

of reselling them, and if their ability to resell them was

adversely impacted by Cessna’s differential pricing pol-

icies, in turn leading to use in order to mitigate loss,

the “commodities” in question here are in fact limited to

aircraft purchased for resale.

In that connection, Frank Terry White testified that

all of the aircraft purchased by White Industries in its

capacity as a zone dealer were purchased for the purpose

of resale. While more elaboration would have been help-

ful, and while the company did use some of those aircraft

in other facets of its business after they remained unsold

for a period of time, I find this testimony sufficient for

the present purpose. The same is true with respect to

Carthage Airways; in fact, the evidence there was in

some respects more explicit. And, of course, Cessna dis-

tributors ordinarily purchased only for the purpose of

resale. I thus find that all parties immediately involved

meet the requirement set forth above.

B.

“Like Grade and Quality”

“Airplanes,” as plaintiffs’ counsel once said (somewhat

unfortunately it might seem), “are not like hotdogs sold

at a ballgame.” And therein lies the nub of the parties’

argument over §2(a)’s “like grade and quality” require-

ment.

A44

Section 2(a) demands, generally speaking, not only

that there be contemporaneous": “actual sales”'* of the

relevant “commodities,” but also that the commodities

thus sold be of “like grade and quality.” Although a dif-

ferent test has been applied where the commodities are

sold to purchasers for use in a manufacturing process,

see, e.g., Bruce’s Juices, Inc. v. American Can Co., 87 F.

Supp. 985, 987 (S.D. Fla. 1949), aff'd, 187 F. 2d 919 (5th

Cir. 1951), modified on other grounds, 190 F. 2d 73 (5th

Cir. 1951), cert. dismissed, 342 U.S. 875 (1951) (applying

substitutability or functional interchangeability as a key

test), and where identical products are sold under a na-

tionally advertised label and a private label, see, e.g.,

FTC v. Borden Company, 383 U.S. 637, 640 (1966) (con-

sumer preference irrelevant), in the more ordinary case,

11. See generally UI Kintner and Bauer, supra, §21.17; 4

Von Kalinowski, supra §24.02[3]. In this case, where Cessna’s

pricing for aircraft generally remained the same throughout

the current model year for each model of aircraft; where no one

suggests that the price differential in question was related in

any fashion to the time of sale by Cessna; where planes often

were not sold for several months after their acquisition by a

dealer; and where there is no indication that customer preference

was affected by any time factor other than that of current model

year, I find as a general matter that all sales of the same model

aircraft, made within the current model year for such aircraft,

would meet the “contemporaneous sales” requirement. Ob-

viously, however, the timing of a given aircraft purchase might

directly impact a plaintiff's ability to show actual injury caused

by a Cessna distributor's alleged sale “in competition” with that

plaintiff, as where the distributor’s sale preceded the plaintiff's

purchase.

12. See, eg., Trm-State Broadcasting Co. v. United Press

Int'l, Inc., 369 F. 2d 268, 269-70 (5th Cir. 1966) (transfer under

an agency or consignment agreement not a “sale”); L & L Gil

Co., Inc. v. Murphy Oil Corp., 674 F. 2d 1113, 1120-21 (5th Cir.

1982) (refusal to deal not a “sale’’); Export Liquor Sales, Inc.

v. Animex Warehouse Co., 426 F. 2d 251, 252 (6th Cir. 1970),

cert. denied, 400 U.S. 1000 (1971) (lease not a “sale’): South

Enid Oil Co. v. Texaco, Inc., 2337 [sic] F. Supp. 650, 652 (N_D.

Ill. 1965) (offer to sell not a “sale’).

A45

where the commodities are destined for resale to the con-

suming public in an unchanged form and where the focus

of the dispute concerns whether those commodities are

sufficiently different (even if the seller’s cost is the same)

to warrant differential pricing, the test is said to be whether

there is any “genuine physical difference [between the

commodities], regardless of magnitude, that is not merely

decorative, artificial or fanciful and which affects consumer

use, preference or marketability.” 4 Von Kalinowski,

Supra §25.02[2], at 25.18, and authorities cited; and see

also III Kintner and Bauer, supra §§21.19, 21.20, 21.21.

The problem is that the instant case is not an ordinary

case. First, and in contrast to most reported §2(a) cases,

it involves highly complex products which are offered

(and sold) with a wide variety of “optional” equipment.

Second, the pricing differential at issue - the difference in

the functional discounts allowed to zone dealers on the

one hand and to Cessna distributors on the other - was

wholly unrelated to any physical differences between those

aircraft or their optional equipment. That is, while as an

abstract matter any two aircraft - unless new aircraft of

the same model and year, identically equipped - would ob-

viously be sold by Cessna at different prices, and legiti-

mately so, it is not that fact which generated the price

differential in question; any Cessna distributor would

always pay approximately'* 5 (or 6) “% less for a given

plane than a zone dealer, solely as a result of the different

functional discounts granted by Cessna.

13. The functional discounts granted on equipment, al-

though greater for distributors than for dealers, were different

in amount than the discount on the basic aircraft. Accordingly,

depending upon how a given aircraft was ultimately equipped

for resale, the total discount differential might vary slightly

from the five or six percent figure for the basic aircraft.

a

A46

In these circumstances, plaintiffs suggest, the op-

tional equipment features of the aircraft in question should

be ignored, with the result that all planes of a given model

(at least all new planes of the same model and year) would

be treated as being of “like grade and quality,” citing Moog

Industries v. Federal Trade Commission, 238 F. 2d 43 (8th

Cir. 1956), aff'd per curiam, 355 U.S. 411 (1958), reh’g

denied. 356 U.S. 905 (1958). Defendants dispute Moog’s

applicability and argue instead for an application of the

conventional test mentioned above, applied to each plane

as actually sold.

I am uncertain how Moog itself would dictate the

result plaintiffs seek, although I also confess to some un-

certainty over just how the case should be interpreted

and applied in the present sort of situation. The products

in Moog (automotive coils, piston rings and leaf springs,

each sold as a separate “line” with a number of different

items in each such “line”) did not involve “optional”

equipment, nor as defendants correctly point out were

Cessna aircraft sold as a “line,” with each purchaser buy-

ing the entire “line” (although, in fairness, apparently

not all of the purchasers in Moog bought all of an entire

“line” either ).* Nevertheless, Moog does s:1(7gest at least

two genera: concepts which bear upon the present issue:

(a) since the “like grade and quality” language of the

Act “ ‘was designed to serve as one of the necessary rough

14. Whether Moog stands for the proposition that when

the price differential is a discount that relates to the entire

“line,” rather than differences in the items themselves, it is

necessary only to find two (or more) competing buyers who

have purchased contemporaneously from the “line” (even if the

items purchased are different) (the idea that the “line” is itself

the “commodity”), or instead whether, even under Moog, it is

still necessary that there be at least two competing buyers who

have each contemporaneously purchased at least one identical

item from the “line,” I do not know.

A47

guides for separating out those commercial transactions

insufficiently comparable for price regulation by the

statute,” Myer 238 F. 2d at 50, quoting from the Report

of the Attor.«, weneral’s National Committee to Study

the Anti-Trust Laws 157 (1955), the phrase demands a

sensible approacii and permits a somewhat flexible appli-

cation; and (b), where the price differential in questior:

is in fact unrelated to physical differences in the items

sold, one should not - at least within certain limits which

remain consistent with the other features and general

purpose of the Act - allow those physical differences to

dictate the answer to the “like grade and quality” issue,

even though they otherwise ordinarily would. See Moog,

238 F. 2d at 49-50.

These two concepts have application here. Given

the highly sophisticated nature of the products in ques-

tion, the wide variety of options available (particularly

in multi-engine aircraft) and the relatively small number

of product sales, defendants’ argument would make it

virtually impossible to apply the Act to the general avia-

tion aircraft sales industry - or to any other industry in-

volving sophisticated products sold with options - despite

the fact that the discounting practice in question, if plain-

tiffs’ allegations concerning its effect are true, is something

the Act was clearly intended to reach and prevent. In

view of the Act’s general prophylactic nature, J. Truett

Payne Co., 451 U.S. at 561, and the fact that it was ob-

viously intended to apply (in a general sense) to the length

and breadth of domestic sellers and purchasers, I am un-

willing to concede such a gap in its practical reach. Fur-

ther, the evidence demonstrates that many optional items

could be readily removed or replaced or (conversely )

ordered and installed by the dealer or by someone in the

a eC

A48

dealer’s area, thus undercutting significantly the idea that

optional equipment must be inevitably considered an in-

tegral part of an aircraft for the present purpose. Finally,

to the extent that the presence or absence of optional

equipment actually did affect any given resale, it seems

to me a point better dealt with in connection with the

“actual injury” requirement imposed by §4 of the Clayton

Act.

On balance, I conclude that plaintiffs’ ultimate premise

is correct: in determining the “like grade and quality”

issue in this case, the options sold with a particular aircraft

should be disregarded. I find, accordingly, that for pur-

poses of this case all new, current Cessna aircraft of a

given model were commodities of “like grade and quality,”

as were all new, non-current Cessna aircraft of a given

model and, as sold by Cessna, all used aircraft of a given

model and year (since Cessna applied the same functional

discounts to those aircraft, simply adding an additional

discount based on hours of use). I note, however, that

used aircraft, even as sold by Cessna, cannot be consid-

ered of “like giade and quality” when compared with

new aircraft (either current or non-current) - a point

that perhaps needs no explanation - and that the same

would often if not always be true as between current and

non-current aircraft.’®

15. The evidence makes clear that non-current aircraft

did not ordinarily compete with current aircraft at any level:

that is, the two were not viewed as equivalents by purchasers,

and different prices were charged for each both on sale and on

resale. In part, it appears, this was the result of actual physical

changes made in aircraft from one model year to the next, and

in part was simply the result of buyer perceptions and prefer-

ences. The same point has been noted with automobile sales,

although in connection with the Act’s ‘contemporaneous sales”

requirement. See Valley Plymouth v. Studebaker-Packard Cor-

(Continued on following page)

—-

Cc.

The “In Commerce” Requirement

Although there were exceptions, Cessna ordinarily

sold its aircraft to Cessna distributors and to zone dealers

on an “f.a.f.” (“fly away field’) basis from its facilities

in Wichita, Kansas. Under that arrangement, a purchaser

from Cessna would take possession of the aircraft at

the factory in Wichita and at that point assumed both

the risk of subsequent loss and the cost of transporting

the aircraft to the purchaser’s facility. Defendants urge

that any sale thus accomplished will fail to meet the “in

commerce” requirement of the Act.'®

It is true that §2(a)’s “in commerce” language is

considerably more restrictive than the broad “effect on

commerce” test adopted in Sherman Act cases. See Gulf

Oil Corp. v. Copp Paving Co., 419 U.S. 186, 194-95 (1974):

and see generally III Kintner and Bauer, supra 146; 4

Von Kalinowski, supra §26.01[2], at 26-6 to 26-14. Essen-

tially, the requirement under the present aspect of §2(a)

Footnote continued—

poration, 219 F. Supp. 608, 610-11 (S.D. Cal. 1963). In any

event, whether one considers that current and non-current air-

craft were commodities not of like grade and quality, or instead

simply that Cessna’s sales of current and non-current aircraft

cannot meet the Act’s contemporaneous sales requirement, the

end result is the same: such sales will not satisfy the “analogous

transactions” rationale that underlies both aspects of §2(a). Id.

16. There are, as a reading of the section demonstrates.

actually three (or four) “in commerce” clauses in §2(a). See

III Kintner and Bauer, supra 145; 4 Von Kalinowski, supra

§26.01. The present question technically relates only to the

third such clause, although at least in the present sort of case

a satisfaction of that third clause will ordinarily dictate a finding

that the other clauses are also satisfied. III Kintner and Baur,

supra 145-46; 4 Von Kalinowski, supra 26-16.

————e

A50

is that “‘at least one of the two [or more] transactions

which, when compared, generate a discrimination .

[have] crossed a state line,” Gulf Oil Corp., 419 USS.

at 200, although it is immaterial which of the relevant

transactions meets that test, see Moore v. Mead’s Fine

Bread Co., 348 U.S. 115, 119 (1954). Despite the super-

ficial plausability of defendants’ argument in this con-

nec‘ion, however, I believe it overlooks the “flow of

commerce” doctrine: a general doctrine of federal law

which considerably antedates the Robinson-Patman Act,

see, e.g., Swift & Co. v. United States, 196 U.S. 375, 398

(1905), which in fact forms part of the legislative his-

tory of the Act, see Representative Utterback’s remarks

at 80 Cong. Rec. 9416 (June 15, 1936), and which clearly

may be utilized in meeting the Act’s “in commerce”

requirements, see Gulf Oil Corp., 419 U.S. at 195; L & L

Oil Co., Inc. v. Murphy Oil Co., 674 F. 2d at 1116-17;

S & M Materials Co. v. Southern Stone Co., 612 F. 2d

198, 200 (5th Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 449 U.S. 832 (1980);

Roorda v. American Oil Co., 446 F. Supp. 939, 941-43

(W.D. N.Y. 1978). Under that doctrine, the “flow of

commerce” begins when goods are transported from their

place of origin, if the movement of those goods is in-

tended or expected to cross a state line (unless the

goods are raw materials which are to be physically altered

before they cross a state line), and continues until the

goods come to rest at their ultimate intended destination

17. Representative Utterback cautioned that the exemption

for purchases in intrastate commerce

[i]s not important for practical purposes [since the manu-

facturer] may not sell to a mass buyer at discriminatory

prices for delivery within the State and shipment then to

other States, since such sales are, by long-settled law, in-

terstate commerce.

Adl

in another state or states;'* all that occurs during that

flow is “in commerce” for Robinson-Patman purposes.

See generally 4 Von Kalinowski, supra at 26-38. It is

likewise clear that the existence of the flow depends

(with the limitations mentioned above) only upon the

general fact that the goods are intended or expected to

and do in fact cross a state line during the course of the

flow; technicalities regarding passage of title, or whether

the goods are shipped f.o.b. (or, as in this case, f.a.f.)

are essentially immaterial. S & M Materials Co. v. South-

ern Stone Co., 612 F. 2d at 200; and see also L & L Oil

Co., Inc. v. Murphy Oil Corp., 674 F. 2d at 1116-17;

Vanco Beverages, Inc. v. Falls Cities Industries, Inc., 654

F. 2d 1224, 1228 (7th Cir. 1981), vacated on other grounds,

460 U.S. 428 (1983).

Here, each of the Cessna distributors in question

was located outside the State of Kansas.’* It was obvi-

ously clear to all concerned that the aircraft they pur-

chased from Cessna, whether delivered f.a.f. in Wichita

or otherwise, would be transported from Wichita to their

respective places of business in those other states. No

18. Where goods are moved from out of state to an instate

wholesaler for redistribution in state, the flow stops when the

goods reach that wholesaler, unless the goods were purchased

by the wholesaler (a) to fill a specific order; (b) under a con-

tract or understanding by which the wholesaler has agreed to

fill the needs of a particular customer; or (c), to fill the an-

ticipated needs of a particular customer even though no contract

or understanding to do so exists. See Walling v. Jacksonville

Paper Co., 317 U.S. 564, 567-70 (1943); Burke v. Ford, 377 F. 2d

901, 904 (10th Cir. 1967), rev’d on other grounds, 389 U.S. 320

(1968) ; 4 Von Kalinowski, supra §26.02[3][b].

19. During the period in question, in fact, all Cessna dis-

tributors except for one (Skyliners) were located outside the

State of Kansas. Plaintiffs apparently make no claim that Sky-

liners sold in competition with them, or at least have adduced no

proof of that fact.

A52

more is necessary for the purpose of §2(a)’s “in com-

merce” requirement, and I accordingly reject defendants’

argument.

D.

Carthage Airways as a “Purchaser”

from Cessna

As noted, during the years 1971 and 1972 Carthage

Airways purchased its aircraft from DAD, a Cessna dis-

tributor in Omaha, Nebraska. In addition, Carthage Air-

ways’ “Miami Aircraft” operation purchased its aircraft

from Skyliners, a Cessna distributor in Wichita, Kansas.

Defendants suggest that all such purchases fall outside

the scope of §2(a), since they were not made directly from

Cessna.

By conventional analysis defendants’ position would

be correct, since the case law makes clear that one who

does not purchase directly from the alleged discriminatory

seller (here Cessna) cannot ordinarily be considered a

“purchaser” within the meaning of §2(a). See Barnosky

Oils, Inc. v. Union Oil Co., 665 F. 2d 74, 83 (6th Cir. 1981);

Hiram Walker, Inc. v. A & S Tropical, Inc., 407 F. 2d 4,

7 (5th Cir. 1969), cert. denied, 396 U.S. 901 (1969); Klein

v. Lionel Corp., 237 F. 2d 13, 14-15 (3d Cir. 1956); and

see generally Sanitary Milk Producers v. Bergjans Farm

Dairy, Inc., 368 F. 2d 679, 691 (8th Cir. 1966); III Kintner

and Bauer, supra at 192; 4 Von Kalinowski, supra at 24-40.

The only commonly recognized exception is found in the

so-called “indirect purchaser” doctrine: where one pur-

chases a manufacturer’s goods through a distributor, he

may be deemed to have purchased directly from the man-

ufacturer if the latter in fact deals directly with him in

A53

promoting the sale of the goods, or exercises control over

the terms on which he buys.”° See Barnosky Oils, Inc.

v. Union Oil Co., 665 F. 2d at 83-4; Hiram Walker, Inc. v.

A & S Tropical, Inc., 407 F. 2d at 7-8; and see generally

III Kintner and Bauer, supra at 202-08; 4 Von Kalinowski,

supra at 24-49 to 24-58. That exception is clearly inap-

plicable here, since there is no showing that Cessna dealt

directly with Carthage Airways in promoting the sale of

aircraft, or controlled the prices charged it by Cessna

distributors. In truth, the most to be said in this respect

is that Cessna’s “wholesale” price to those distributors

had the practical effect of establishing a “floor” on the

resale price imposed by them. That undistinguished fact

of life is not a sufficient basis for invoking the doctrine.

Barnosky Oils, Inc. v. Union Oil Co., 665 F. 2d at 84.

Carthage Airways concedes as much, and instead urges

the application of a new and different exception said to be

based upon the Supreme Court’s holding in Fred Meyer,

20. In contrast to the position take in H.A.B. Chemical

Co., Inc. v. Eastman Kodak Co., 1981-1 Trade Cas. (CCH)

§63,912 at 75,749 (C.D. Cal. 1980), I do not consider that “third

line” and “fourth line” claims, see generally Perkins v. Standard

Oil Co., 395 U.S. 642 (1969), are also an exception to the general

rule mentioned above. Those claims are allowed because of

§2(a)’s express reference to discriminatory effects which “may

. Substantially . . . lessen competition . . . with any person

who either grants or knowingly receives the benefit of such

discrimination, or with customers of either of them” (emphasis

added). Accordingly, claims by an injured “customer” of a

disfavored buyer are allowed without regard to the number of

sales “levels” that separate the ‘customer’ from the discrim-

inatorily priced sale (or, more precisely, the number of sales

levels that separate the claimant from the seller of the favored

buyer, III Kintner and Bauer, supra at 315 n. 289). See Perkins,

395 U.S. at 606-07. Nonetheless, unless the exception noted in

the text applies, or some new exception is recognized, the “dis-

favored” sale must have been made directly by the alleged dis-

criminating seller.

i i

A54

390 U.S. 341.21. I believe Fred Meyer does indeed sup-

port - in fact perhaps dictates - the result sought, and ac-

cordingly find the argument persuasive.

In that case, suppliers of canned corn and canned

peaches sold those products both to the Fred Meyer Com-

pany, which operated a chain of supermarkets, and to cer-

tain wholesalers who in turn sold to supermarkets which

competed with Meyer. Meyer’s supermarkets were the

beneficiaries of promotional allowances paid by those

suppliers; the same allowances were not made available

to the wholesalers or to the supermarkets which purchased

from them. The Federal Trade Commission found (among

other things) that this practice violated §2(d) of the

Act,2 and entered a cease and desist order barring Meyer

from inducing the suppliers to grant promotional allow-

ances which were not available to the wholesalers. Fred

Meyer, 390 U.S. at 344-47. The Court of Appeals reversed

that portion of the order, holding (a) that Meyer and the

21. Plaintiffs also seek to support their argument with a

citation to Perkins v. Standard Oil Co., 395 U.S. 642. Perkins

simply held, as applied to this case, that there is, in a causal

relationship sense, no artificial limit to the number of sales

levels which may separate an injured “customer” of a disfavored

buyer from a discriminating seller. See fn. 20 supra. For the

reasons stated in fn. 20, I do not believe Perkins has any direct

bearing upon the present question.

22. Section 2(d) reads as follows:

(d) It shall be unlawful for any person engaged in com-

merce to pay or contract for the payment of anything of value

to or for the benefit of a customer of such person in the course

of such commerce as compensation or in consideration for any

services or facilities furnished by or through such customer in

connection with the processing, handling, sale, or offering for

sale of any products or commodities manufactured, sold, or of-

fered for sale by such person, unless such payment or considera-

tion is available on proportionally equal terms to all other cus-

tomers competing in the distribution of such products or com-

modities.

A55

wholesalers did not themselves compete (since Meyer sold

only to the public while the wholesalers sold only to super-

markets), and (b), that the supermarkets which purchased

from those wholesalers, and did compete with Meyer,

were not “customers” of the suppliers within the mean-

ing of §2(d)’s use of that term. Fred Meyer, 390 U:S. at

348.

The Supreme Court in turn reversed. The essence

of the holding is captured in the following two quotations,

390 U.S. at 348-49, 352:

Respondents press upon us a view of §2(d) which

leaves retailers who buy from wholesalers for the

most part unprotected from discriminatory promo-

tional allowances granted their direct-buying com-

petitors. We are told that §2(d) in specific terms

requires this result. To benefit from the statute’s

requirement of proportional equality, it is urged, a

buyer must be a “competing customer” within the

narrowest sense of that phase. Thus, the wholesalers

in this case are not competing customers because they

do not compete with Meyer, and the retailers who do

compete with Meyer in the resale of the suppliers’

products are outside the protection of §2(d) because

they are not customers of the suppliers. For reasons

stated below, we agree with respondents that, on the

facts of this case, §2(d) reaches only discrimination

between customers competing for resales at the same

functional level and, therefore, does not mandate pro-

portional equality between Meyer and the two whole-

salers. But we cannot accept the second half of this

argument, for it rests on a narrow definition of “cus-

tomer” which becomes wholly untenable when viewed

in light of the central purpose of §2(d) and the eco-

A56

nomic realities with which its framers were con-

cerned.

* * * * * *

Of course, neither the Committee Report nor

other parts of the legislative history in so many words

define “customer” to include retailers who purchase

through wholesalers and compete with direct buyers

in resales. But a narrower reading of §2(d) would

lead to the following anomalous result. On the one

hand, direct-buying retailers like Meyer, who resell

large quantities of their suppliers’ products and there-

fore find it feasible to undertake the traditional whole-

saling functions for themselves, would be protected

by the provision from the granting of discriminatory

promotional allowances to their direct-buying com-

petitors. On the other hand, smaller retailers whose

only access to suppliers is through independent whole-

salers would not be entitled to this protection. Such

a result would be diametrically opposed to Congress’

clearly stated intent to improve the competition posi-

tion of small retailers by eliminating what was re-

garded as an abusive form of discrimination. If we

were to read “customer” as excluding retailers who

buy through wholesalers and compete with direct

buyers, we would frustrate the purpose of §2(d).

We effectuate it by holding that the section includes

such competing retailers within the protected class.

As did the courts in Julius Nasso Concrete Corp. v.

DIC Concrete Corp., 467 F. Supp. 1016, 1019 (S.D. N.Y.

1979), and Checker Motors Corp v. Chrysler Corp, 283 F.

Supp. 876, 887 (S.D. N.Y. 1968), aff'd on other grounds,

405 F. 2d 319 (2d Cir. 1969), cert. denied, 394 U.S. 999

(1969), I believe this language rather clearly leads - at

A57

least in the circumstances of this case - to the same result

with regard to the word “purchaser” as used in §2(a).

Granted, the holding in Fred Meyer involves §2(d) and

the word “customer” rather than §2(a) and the word

“purchaser,” but those terms, as they appear ir their re-

spective sections of the statute, have long been heid synon-

ymous, see American News Co. v. FTC, 300 F. 2d 104, 109

(2d Cir. 1962), cert. denied, 371 U.S. 824 (1962); Kennedy

Theater Ticket Service v. Tickertron, Inc., 342 F. Supp.

922, 925 (E.D. Pa. 1972); K.S. Corp. v. Chemstrand Corp.,

198 F. Supp. 310, 312 (S.D. N.Y. 1961), a holding which

certainly seems correct given the similar context in which

the two words are used Nor is the spirit of the two sec-

tions essentially different; both seek, within the limits

of the statutory language employed, to prevent “ ‘all de-

vices by which large buyers gained discriminatory prefer-

ences over smaller ones by virtue of their greater purchas-

ing power,’” see Fred Meyer, 390 U.S. at 349, quoting from

FTC v. Henry Brock & Co., 363 U.S. 166, 168 (1960). And

certainly an indirect purchaser in the present situation

would suffer precisely the same ultimate competitive dis-

advantage the Supreme Court noted in Fred Meyer in con-

nection with §2(d), unless a similar definition is given

the word “purchaser” in §2(a). In short, if it makes sense

to construe the word “customer” in §2(d) as including an

indirect purchaser - and the Supreme Court says it does -

it makes equal sense, at least in some situations, to con-

strue the word “purchaser” in §2(a) in that same way.

I agree that this sert of cross-pollination from Fred

Meyer should be allowed only with “great caution,” III

Kintner and Bauer, supra 208, so as to avoid consequences

unintended by Congress. In the limited circumstances

of this case, however, I do not believe an application of

A58

the principle in question will produce any such result.

Where (as here) a retailer who purchases indirectly claims

to be in competition with someone who purchases directly,

where (as here) that direct purchaser receives a func-

tional discount predicated upon its claimed status as a

wholesaler - a discount not available to the indirect pur-

chaser - and where (as here) the seller in question has

notice that its direct purchaser may in fact be competing

at the retail level,” the seller’s options - and duties - are

(or should be) no more or less than where both purchasers

buy directly. The suggested answer to the latter problem

is one as old as the Act itself: the seller must take reason-

able steps to keep advised of the resale activities of those

who receive its functional discounts, and where retail

selling by one who receives a wholesaler’s discount occurs,

post-resale price adjustments should be made.* See

Sherwin-Williams, 36 F.T.C. 25, 73-4 (1943); E. Edelman

& Co., 51 F.T.C. 978, 988 (1955); Schniderman, “The Tyr-

anny of Labels” - A Study of Functional Discounts Under

the Robinson-Patman Act, 60 Harv. L. Rev. 571, 601-02

(1947); and compare Abbott Labs v. Portland Retail Drug-

gists, 425 U.S. 1, 19-20 (1976). This is admittedly a burden .

upon the seller, but it represents the price paid under

the Act for maintaining a dual distribution system. The

burden would be no greater in the present instance.

:

The problem is by no means easy. All things con- |

oe ee _

sidered, however, I believe Carthage Airways’ suggested

23. The evidence, in the form of various complaints to

Cessna, makes clear that Cessna had such notice, at least as a

general matter. :

24. Cessna, of course, had no legal way of controlling the

aw f--- £ a b---- It could, on the other

obviously control the prices which it charged those dis-

tributors. The requirement noted in the text amounts to no

more than requiring it to exercise that ability.

EE

A59

application of Fred Meyer is appropriate, and I accordingly

hold that, as to the aircraft it purchased from DAD and

Skyliners, Carthage Airways was in fact a “purchaser”

from Cessna within the meaning of §2(a).

E.

“Competition”

With exceptions not pertinent here, it is axiomatic

that a seller's differential pricing as between purchasers

of a commodity can be a violation of the Robinson-Pat-

man Act only when those purchasers actually compete

in the resale or distribution - or perhaps business use -

of that commodity, see National Distillers and Chemical

Corp. v. Brad’s Mach. Products, Inc., 666 F. 2d 492, 496

(11th Cir. 1982), reh’g denied, 673 F. 2d 1342: M.C. Manu-

facturing Co., Inc. v. Texas Foundaries, Inz., 517 F. 2d

1059, 1066 (Sth Cir. 1975); Ag-Chem Equipment Co.,

Inc. v. Hahn, Inc., 480 F. 2d 482, 490 (8th Cir. 1973):

III Kintner and Bauer, supra 295; 5 Von Kalinowski.

supra 30-41, 30-50, or would, but for that differential

pricing, see Patman, Complete Guide to the Robinson-

Patman Act 60 (1963). Such purchasers must thus com-

pete both in the geographic sense - that is, in the same

relevant geographic market area, see III Kintner and

Bauer, supra 295-98; 5 Von Kalinowski, supra 30-41, 30-72

- and in the functional sense - that is, at the same func-

tional level in the distribution system for the commodity,

see III Kintner and Bauer, supra 298-99: 5 Von Kalinow-

ski, supra 30-48 to 30-64. Accordingly, a determination

as to whether two purchasers are “in competition” within

the meaning of §2(a) will involve two separate points

of inquiry: (a) an identification of the kinds of cus-

A60

tomers for which each competes in connection with the

commodity in question; and (b), an identification of the

geographic area in which each thus competes.

1.

Functional Competition

The parties have argued at length over whether a

Cessna distributor's sales to FBOs should be treated as

sales made “in competition” with plaintiffs. Since the

term “FBO” does not even necessarily identify a dealer

in aircraft, much less what an FBO’s immediate principal

purpose in perchasing an aircraft might have been, I

believe both a?guments miss the mark to some extent.

As will be seen, however, it is the plaintiffs who ulti-

mately suffer from that fact.

I do reject plaintiffs’ theory that an aircraft sold

by a Cessna distributor to any purchaser other than an

“authorized Cessna dealer” (defined by plaintiffs as a

dealer under current contract with a Cessna distributor

or with a Cessna zone) would be (assuming the neces-

sary geographic market factors) a sale made “in com-

petition” with plaintiffs, no matter what the purchaser's

reselling function might be. In particular, plaintiffs urge,

a sale by a Cessna distributor to an independent dealer,

who purchased in order to resell. would be a sale “in

competition” with plaintiffs even though that dealer in

turn actually competed with plaintiffs in the resale of

the aircraft to an end consumer. Plaintiffs take this

position despite the fact that their contracts with Cessna

(as with all Cessna contracts shown in evidence, both

zone dealer and Cessna distributor) clearly specify that

the sales rights thereunder are “non-exclusive” (see, e.g.,

nf

A61

White Industries 1969 contract, Plt. Ex. +40, page 2

para. 1), and despite the fact, clearly shown by the

evidence, that any given independent dealer may have

been, in its business operations, indistinguishable from

one of the plaintiffs except for the fact that the latter

was a party to a Cessna contract for that particular year

and the former was not. Indeed, as the evidence shows,

that independent dealer may in fact have been an “au-

thorized” Cessna dealer the previous year, or may have

become one the next, or both, all with no observable

change in its business functioning or functions.

Plaintiffs’ theory results, apparently, from an attempt

to apply an oft-repeated statement regarding the legality

of functional discounts under the Robinson-Patman Act,

viz:

Section 2(a) does not exempt functional differen-

tials from its general prohibitions. Such differentials

are neither prohibited nor expressly permitted. They

must therefore be subjected to the same tests as any

other price differences in determining whether they

amount to unlawful discrimination in price. The

only need for a separate discussion of functional dif-

ferentials, therefore, is with respect to certain situa-

tions in which the granting of such differentials may

result in injury to competition. Manufacturers do

not ordinarily compete with wholesalers, nor whole-

salers with retailers; but it cannot be assumed that

differentials as between those classes of customers.

granted solely on a functional basis and not justifi-

able by difference in costs, may not result in injury

to competition and be unlawful. If injury to com-

petition results, the fact that the differential was

A62

made in good faith on functional grounds is no de-

fense.

Austin, Price Discrimination and Related Problems Under

the Robinson-Patman Act 50 (rev. ed. 1953); and see also

I ABA Antitrust Section, Monograph No. 4, The Robinson-

Patman Act: Policy and Law 54, 59 (1980); Rowe, Price

Discrimination Under the Robinson-Patman Act 176

(1962); Shniderman, supra at 579-88. Such statements

in turn suggest that determining the presence or absence

of functional competition between purchasers of a com-

modity is not so much a process of identifying or labeling

their respective functions or functional levels, or the func-

tions or functional levels of their customers, as it is simply

a factual process of determining whether they normally

compete for the same business of the same customers - a

rather straightforward approach I generally accept. But

see 5 Von Kalinowski, supra, at 30-16 n.35. If that is plain-

tiffs’ theory, however, it encounters an immediate im-

passe, at least as concerns new aircraft (either current or

non-current), since the available evidence fails to show

that either White Industries or Carthage Airways ever

competed, in any meaningful way, in selling such aircraft

to other dealers for resale. Carthage Airways, for example,

never sold any plane to a dealer (or an FBO) for any

purpose, so far as the evidence shows. Neither did White

Industries, insofar as new planes are concerned. Nor does

the evidence show that dealers elsewhere customarily

sold new aircraft to other dealers (independent or other-

wise) for resale,*® other than perhaps on an accomodation

25. Plaintiffs’ offer of some 387 aircraft sales files and

sales tickets maintained by Walston Aviation, Inc. (a contracted

dealer located in East Alton, Illinois), for the purpose of showing

(Continued on following page)

A63

basis - something which is the antithesis of a competitive

sale.**° Indeed, if Cessna distributors supplied new air-

craft to independent dealers at dealer cost prices as com-

monly as plaintiffs claim, practical market economics alone

would tend to dictate the absence of any real dealer-to-

dealer market involving new planes for resale.

The alternative argument, of course, is that plaintiffs

were “frozen out” of that market by virtue of Cessna’s

differential pricing as between Cessna distributors and zone

Footnote continued—

dealer sales to other dealers, falls far short of the mark. In the

first place, the available evidence does not in many instances

even allow me to find that the purchasers were in fact dealers,

and I cannot of course simply accept counsel’s representation

on the point. Second, many if not most of the aircraft involved

in these 387 sales were non-current when purchased from Cessna

by the various Walston distirbutors, who in turn made them

available to Walston Aviation, Inc. Even if these sales by the

latter were to other dealers for purposes of resale the situation

appears to have been atypical, resulting from the fact that when

Cessna attempted to dispose of its remaining inventory of air-

craft following the end of a model year, the Walston distribu-

tors customarily purchased the bulk of them. The evidence

does not reflect that dealers other than Walston Aviation, Inc.

ordinarily dealt to any extent in reselling non-current new air-

craft to other dealers for resale, nor, as mentioned, that either

White Industries or Carthage Airways did so.

26. A customer sometimes had very particular require-

ments regarding the plane he wished to purchase. If the dealer

he approached did not have a plane meeting those requirements,

the dealer would call his distributor (or, if a zone dealer, pre-

sumably his Cessna zone). If the distributor (or zone) did not

have the plane in stock, an effort would be made by the dis-

tributor (or zone) to find the plane elsewhere in the system

and to acquire it by purchase or trade. Whether this same sort

of thing also occurred with any consistency at the dealer level,

as is common in the automobile sales business, see Cartrade, Inc.

v. Ford Dealers, Etc., 446 F. 2d 289, 290-93 (9th Cir. 1971), is

unknown. In any event, an ‘‘accommodation sale” of this nature

(involving a search for and acquisition of the only aircraft of

a particular sort which can be located with reasonable ease),

even if made between dealers, would not be the kind of transac-

tion which demonstrates the existence of a general dealer-to-

dealer for resale market.

A64

dealers; that plaintiffs wished to compete in that market,

and would have done so but for the differential pricing -

an approach which might be theoretically acceptable, see

Patman, supra; Schniderman, supra 596, but which also

poses certain dangers, since the viewer may be led to

substitute his own concepts of what “ought to be” for the

actual realities of the marketplace. In any event, this

approach does require an examination of the parties’ func-

tions and functional levels in the distribution of general

aviation aircraft, as well as an inquiry into some of the

more theoretical aspects of Robinson-Patman policy. When

that analysis is performed, the argument flounders.

Plaintiffs urge, in this connection, that it is the in-

dependent dealers’ status as purchasers which controls,

not whether they resell. That suggestion is directly con-

trary to the law on the subject (much of which plaintiffs

freely acknowledge elsewhere in their brief): that one’s

functional level is determined not by “the character of his

buying, but [by] the character of his selling” (emphasis

added). Kintner, A Robinson-Patman Primer 154 (1979),

quoting from Mennen Co. v. F.T.C., 288 Fed. 774, 782 (2d

Cir. 1923); and see Attorney General’s National Committee

to Study the Antitrust Laws, 1955 Report 204-05 (1955).

And, of course, the argument also ignores the fact that

independent dealers and “authorized” Cessna dealers oc-

cupied precisely the same functional level in the resale

of new Cessna aircraft. In fact, if the two were located

at the same airport (as in fact was sometimes the case),

the ordinary independent dealer would be the direct, pri-

mary competitor of the ordinary “authorized” Cessna

dealer in all aspects of their respective businesses: flight

training, aircraft rental, aircraft charter, aircraft servic-

ing, maintenance and repair, aircraft hangaring and tie-

down, new aircraft sales and used aircraft sales.

A65

It has been said that the purpose of the Robinson-

Patman Act is to protect competition, not competitors.?’

See Hampton v. Graff Vending Company, 478 F. 2d 527,

533 (5th Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 859 (1973),

reh’g denied, 414 U.S. 1087 (1973); Anheuser-Busch v.

F.T.C., 289 F. 2d 835, 840 (7th Cir. 1961); Kintner, supra,

at 117-20; Rowe, supra, at 126-32. Perhaps more to the

point, it has also been said that

[iJn short, Congress intended to assure, to the extent

reasonably practicable, that businessmen at the same

functional level would start on equal competitive

footing as far as price is concerned.

Federal Trade Comm'n v. Sun Oil Co., 371 U.S. 505, 520

(1963); and see also Abbott Labs v. Portland Retail

Druggists, 425 U.S. 1, 12 (1976). Given these principles,

to accept plaintiffs’ alternative theory would be to stand

the Act on its head. Since independent dealers were

plaintiffs’ direct competitors in the only new plane resale

market in which either actually competed (the end con-

sumer market), to find illegal a Cessna pricing policy

which allowed a Cessna distributor to sell new aircraft

for resale to both at the same price could only curtail

competition, not enhance it. I refuse to apply the Act

in that fashion.

27. The statement is ordinarily made in addressing a

slightly different problem, but I think it has application here,

at least in spirit.

28. A much better point for the argument could be made

in connection with distributor sales to an independent dealer -

or for that matter to any dealer, contracted, zone or indepen-

dent - for use, although the result might not be very practical.

The point is largely academic, however, since even in those

instances where I am able to identify a distributor’s purchaser

as a dealer of some sort, or even simply as an FBO, the evidence

usually does not provide so much as a hint concerning the prin-

cipal reason for purchase. See text infra.

A66

The situation with respect to used aircraft, sold as

such by Cessna (factory or zone demonstrator aircraft),

is more troublesome. There is no question that dealers

sold used aircraft to FBOs, including other dealers. White

Industries, for example, did so with regard to several

planes. It is, however, considerably less clear how fre-

quently such sales were made for the immediate prin-

cipal purpose of resale, and how frequently factory or

zone demonstrator aircraft - which were considered the

“cream puffs’ of the trade, because of the care given

them by Cessna - were involved, at least without a

substantial number of added use hours by the selling

dealer. And, of course, the same theoretical principles

regarding competition, noted above, would apply here as

well. I conclude, in these circumstances, that the answer

must be the same as for new Cessna aircraft.

All this leaves plaintiffs in a rather awkward posi-

tion, given their method of proof. As suggested by the

preceding passages, for the purpose of ascertaining com-

petition between plaintiffs and any Cessna distributor I

will consider only distributor sales to end consumers -

i.e., sales to those who purchased for the immediate prin-

cipal purpose of using an aircraft. Unfortunately, plain-

tiffs’ technique of lumping together all of a distributor’s

sales to any purchaser other than a contracted dealer

of that distributor, usually without further elaboration,

does not ordinarily allow me to make that determina-

tion.*® Simply being advised, for example, that Florida

29. The mere fact that a given sale was a ‘“‘pass-thru”’ or

“conduit” sale by a distributor - i.e., a sale actually negotiated

and consummated by the distributor, but with the chain of

title reflecting a sale to a dealer and a resale by that dealer -

does nothing to prove the point; the evidence reflects a number

of such sales which were made to dealers (independent or

otherwise), thus leaving the inquiry where it started.

A67

Air Distributors (“FAD”) (a Cessna distributor in Ft.

Lauderdale, Florida) made a sale to “Cam Aircraft” dur-

ing the relevant time period does not teli me that the

sale was to an end consumer (a purchase for use); “Cam

Aircraft” may, for all I know, have been a dealer pur-

chasing to resell.*° Accordingly, unless a given Cessna

distributor sale is affirmatively shown to have been an

end consumer sale - as where the buyer is shown, di-

rectly or by fair inference, to have purchased for use

(e.g., a commuter airline’s purchase of aircraft suitable

for use in that business), or where the buyer is at least

shown to have had no connection with the business of

reselling aircraft - the sale cannot be used in deciding

plaintiffs’ claims. The end result is the rather meager

collection of sales tabulated in Appendix A.

9

«.

“Captive” Dealerships

According to plaintiffs, where a contracted dealer

was a wholly owned (or perhaps even partially owned)

subsidiary of a Cessna distributor, or where both were

owned by a third party, the distributor and the dealer

should be classed as a single entity for present purposes,

with sales by the dealer treated as sales in fact made by

30. Trying to identify the nature of a purchase by virtue

of the purchaser’s name alone is generally a futile exercise, even

though there was testimony that the presence of the word “ser-

vice” in the name usually signified an FBO. And, of course,

merely knowing that a purchaser was an FBO is of no help;

not all dealers were FBOs, and not all FBOs bought all their

planes for the immediate principal purpose of resale. An ex-

ception has been made in a very limited number of instances,

however, where the name and the accompanying evidence allow

a reasonable inference that the purchaser was not involved in

any aspect of aircraft sales.

A68

the distributor - “in competition,” of course, with plain-

tiffs. Under the proof here, I am obliged to reject the

argument.

The result plaintiffs seek - a disregard of separate

corporate entity status - can certainly be accomplished in

Robinson-Patman litigation, see, e.g., National Dairy Prod-

ucts Corporation v. United States, 350 F. 2d 321, 326-27

(8th Cir. 1965) (subsidiary and parent treated as same

entity for Robinson-Patman criminal liability); Reines Dis-

tributors, Inc. v. Admiral Corp., 256 F. Supp. 581, 585-86

(S.D. N.Y. 1966) (parent and subsidiary treated as same

seller for Robinson-Patman purposes); and see generally

III Kintner and Bauer, supra §§21.15, 21.16; 4 Von Kalinow-

ski, supra §24.04[2]; the doctrine is, after all, one of gen-

eral application. The difficulty here is simply that plain-

tiffs have generally shown, in this regard, no more with

respect to any Cessna distributor and its alleged “captive”

dealer(s) than the fact of ownership (i.e., a parent sub-

sidiary relationship, or ownership of both by some third

party), varying degrees of director or officer interlock,

and in one instance (FAD, a Cessna distributor, and

Sunny South, a dealer, both wholly owned by a third cor-

poration) a sharing of the common parent’s accounting

services. None of these things - or even all of them to-

gether - are sufficient to support the end plaintiffs propose.

See generally Tennessee Valley Authority v. Exxon Nu-

clear Co., 753 F. 2d 493, 497 (6th Cir. 1985); Baker v.

Raymond Intern., Inc., 656 F. 2d 173, 179-81 (5th Cir.

1981); REA v. An-Son Corp., 79 F.R.D. 25, 29 (W.D. Okl.

1978); 1 Fletcher, Cyclopedia Corporations 472 (Perm. ed.

1983) (all standing for the proposition that “[o]wnership

of all the stock of a corporation coupled with common

management and direction does not .. . operate as a merger

A69

of the two corporations into a single entity,” or otherwise

permit a disregard of the separate corporate entities, 1

Fletcher, supra). To the contrary, the general rule is

that separate corporate entity status can be disregarded

only “where [the corporation in question] is so organized

and controlled, and its affairs are so conducted, that it

is merely an instrumentality, agency, conduit or adjunct

of another corporation,” 1 Fletcher, supra; that is, where

there is “such domination of finances, policies and prac-

tices that the controlled corporation has, so to speak, no

separate mind, will or existence of its own and is but a

business conduit for its principal,” id.; and see also Ten-

nessee Valley Authority v. Exxon Nuclear Co., 753 F. 2d

at 497; Baker v. Raymond Intern. Inc., 656 F. 2d at 179-81;

REA v. An-Son Corp., 79 F.R.D. at 29.

With one exception, there is no proof that any Cessna

distributor “passed on” the benefit of its discount to any

“captive” dealer. To the contrary, the testimony was gen-

erally that dealings between all distributors and “captive”’

dealers were carried on at arms length, with no favoritism

shown. Except in that single instance, accordingly, there

is no reason to depart from the general rule noted above.

Since plaintiffs’ evidence entirely fails to address the

“domination” test posed by that rule, their general argu-

ment is without merit.*? Compare National Dairy Prod-

31. The evidence does reflect that “Aircraft Finance Com-

pany,” a separately incorporated Walston company which func-

tioned, on occasion, as a dealer, in fact had no operating facil-

ities or employees of its own. However, even if it is treated

as a single entity with its parent on that basis, the ruling does

not aid plaintiffs: the parent was Walston Aviation, Inc.,

another dealer, not a distributor. Nor do I believe the discus-

sion in the text is altered by the fact that Walston Aviation, Inc.

(the dealer) was actually the parent of the various Walston

distributors. In applying the “domination” test, it should make

no difference what the respective functional levels of the parent

and subsidiary may be.

A70

ucts Cooperative v. United States, 350 F. 2d at 326-27;

Carl Zeiss Stiftung v. E.B. Carl Zeiss Jena, 298 F. Supp.

1309, 1317-18 (S.D. N.Y. 1969), aff'd, 433 F. 2d 686 (2d

Cir. 1970).*

The single exception noted relates to Walston Aviation,

Inc. (the dealer) and the various Walston distributors in

the year 1970. In that year, Walston distributors pur-

chased the bulk of Cessna’s remaining 1969 model year

aircraft (after the end of their model year) at a discount.

See text infra p. 66. The discount, however, was paid in

the form of a cash rebate from Cessna and was promptly

disbursed in kind among the Walston companies, includ-

ing the dealership. I am willing to find, on that basis,

that sales by the dealership of those aircraft should be

treated as sales by the Walston distributors. In view of

the isolated nature of this occurrence and the other facts

mentioned in the preceding paragraphs, however, there

is no reason to expand this to a ruling that all other sales

by Walston Aviation, Inc. represent or should be treated

as sales by the Walston distributors. Nor does the find-

ing assist plaintiffs’ case, even as to those 1970 non-current

aircraft sales: neither White Industries nor Carthage Air-

ways ever purchased any new, non-current 1969 aircraft

and, as previously noted, their purchase of new, current

1969 aircraft would not have represented “analogous trans-

actions” for purposes of the Robinson-Patman Act.

42. I have not overlooked plaintiffs’ citations to Alhambra

Motsr Parts, 57 F.T.C. 1007 (1960), aff'd in part, set aside in

part, and remanded, 309 F. 2d 213 (9th Cir. 1962), on remand,

68 F.T.C. 1039 (1965), and similar “group buying” cases. I

do not consider those cases in point: they involve situations

where the putative wholesaler was found to be, in substantial

part, nothing more than a passive “front” for the group buyers,

and in addition usually reflect a consistent partial pass-thru of

the wholesaler’s discount to those group buyers. Those are

not the facts of this case.

dnnidtaaiiak. tly uablion

2A Ee 0d Pe

A7l

3.

Geographic Competition

I also reject, to a large extent, plaintiffs’ apparent

theory of the geographics of competition in the general

aviation aircraft sales industry. According to that theory,

at least as advanced at trial (although, oddly, unbriefed

here) the relevant geographic market area for any dealer

(or Cessna distributor) with respect to any model of air-

craft was at least nationwide; that is, every dealer, no

matter where located in the continental United States,

actually and in fact competed with every other dealer in

the continental United States, in the sale of every sort

of Cessna aircraft. The evidence, however, clearly fails

to support such a sweeping generalization.

Plaintiffs did not present, for example, the sort of

price and price movement relationship analysis which

might have been helpful in ascertaining the existence of

a single, unitary national market for general aviation air-

craft, see generally II Areeda & Turner, Antitrust Law

351, 355-57 (1978); perhaps because, as their own econ-

omist seems to have accepted, an analysis of that type

would have tended to show the non-existence of such a

market. Instead, plaintiffs rely principally upon the ex-

istence of a trade publication of nationwide distribution

(“Trade-A-Plane’’) in which various dealers (Cessna and

otherwise) and individuals advertised planes for sale

(usually without price quotations, and more often than

not in connection with used or non-current aircraft), and

upon the opinions of their economist. As to the former,

while I can certainly accept that the location and scope

of certain types of advertising may furnish some insight

into where a given seller actually competes, I cannot ac-

A72

cept that advertising of the sort involved in “Trade-A-

Plane” in fact demonsirates the existence of a nationwide

market for all general aviation aircraft sellers, or even

for all of those who advertise therein: such advertising

may often be - as plaintiffs’ economist admitted - intended

to reach or effectual in attracting only those in the adver-

tiser’s immediate general location. As to the latter, I

note that the economist’s opinions on the subject were

based upon the fact of “Trade-A-Plane” advertising (de-

spite his above-mentioned admission), coupled with an

assumption that ads therein by certain sellers, even though

ordinarily unaccompanied by price quotations, would in

some unexplained fashion generate nationwide price stan-

dards;” upon the location of sales by certain contracted

dealers and Cessna distributors without distinguishing

between the two; and upon reading “the testimony [of

others who] treat the market as being a single market

for a particular model plane,” although no more factual

support is shown in the record for the opinions of those

others than is shown for the opinions of the economist him-

self, and even though the testimony of plaintiffs and other

witnesses suggests just the opposite. I am thoroughly

unpersuaded.

Unfortunately, plaintiffs’ reliance upon their theory,

and upon their expert in support of it, has left them with

very little real proof on this subject. The evidence which

— ee ee cece ae lt.

33. , 2 ee ee ee oon, eS eee

amount of price advertising could generate such standards; the

evidence simply does not convince me that this occurred on

the sort of continuing, generalized basis plaintiffs suggest. In

fact, plaintiffs’ own computer generated summaries reflect a

wide variation in resale prices for the same model of aircraft.

sn cutee tal ak fetes tenant ts ee

were eq but that further variable hardly helps prove

plaintiffs’ point.

A73

does exist suggests that a number of factors impact the

matter, including the population density of the area in

which the seller is located (the more sparsely populated

that area, the greater the likely radius of the actual mar-

keting area), the model and cost of the aircraft (e.g., the

more expensive aircraft generally involve buyers who are

willing, because of economies of scale in connection with

cost, to travel greater distances to shop), the flying range

of the aircraft (a factor that affects, among other things,

the distances the seller is willing to take the aircraft for

demonstration purposes), the particular seller’s advertis-

ing and other merchandising efforts, and matters of buyer

convenience (some rather peculiar to the general aviation

industry). In short, it is not possible, at least on the evi-

dence before me, to generalize fairly with respect to all

sellers and all aircraft - except to reiterate that plaintiffs’

“nationwide” theory is clearly unacceptable.

Insofar as White Industries is concerned, I find that

the Company’s actual, effective geographic market area

with respect to single engine aircraft, at least as a sort

of composite for all models thereof, extended a distance

of approximately 150 miles from the company’s location

at Fairfax Airport, Kansas City, Kansas - somewhat less,

perhaps, for Model 150 aircraft, slightly more, perhaps,

for Model 182 aircraft. This is admittedly an approxima-

tion, but appears reasonable given the area in which White

Industries actually sold single engine aircraft (a maximum

distance of 100 miles), the maximum distance covered by

the company’s mailings (150 to 250 miles) and demon-

stration flights (ordinarily within 200 miles on single

engine aircraft), and the testimony of other witnesses

(Hoster, Cox, Hunt; but see DeScoise) who offered gen-

eralized estimates of geographic trade or market areas.

A74

For the time being at least, I will also use the same figure

to designate the single engine aircraft trade area enjoyed

by Carthage Airways (calculated separately for aircraft at

its Carthage, Missouri and Miami, Oklahoma locations),

although I do so with less confidence since the record

contains little information about that company’s actual

sales locations and marketing efforts.

Determining the plaintiffs’ respective geographic trade

areas for multi-engine aircraft is another matter. As

regards White Industries and Model 402A aircraft, I find

that its relevant area area of competition was in fact nation-

wide, given the extraordinary marketing effort the com-

pany undertook with respect to those planes (direct mail

advertising to all air taxi and commuter airline companies

in the country, together with installation of a WATS line

and direct telephone calling of every person who had

received a direct mailing, as well as most of the FBOs

and a great many individual aircraft owners across the

country). I cannot make the same finding with respect

to White’s other multi-engine aircraft, however, or with

respect to any of Carthage Airways’ multi-engine air-

craft. As to the latter categories, while it is clear the

relevant trade area would have been materially in excess

of that for single engine aircraft of any model, the evi-

dence does not permit me to determine how much so:

I am simply left with a market area extending to some

undefined point more than 150 miles from the point of

operation. How this lack of more precise information

will affect matters remains to be seen.

The other half of the equation, of course, involves

determining the geographic area in which Cessna dis-

:

.

A75

tributors made end consumer sales.“ If the geographic

area in which a Cessna distributor was thus marketing

overlapped in any more than a marginal fashion the

geographic trade area of either plaintiff, I will treat the

requisite fact of competition as shown.

Unfortunately, once again plaintiffs’ theory of a na-

tionwide market, coupled with their reliance upon “Trade-

A-Plane” advertising and their expert's opinions in that

connection, leave me little more than bare bones with

which to work. In fact, I have nothing at all except

the location of such sales, and those with respect to only

three of the Cessna distributors” - certainly relevant in-

formation, but hardly all that might be useful.

The information which does exist is shown in Appen-

dix A to this opinion. Capsulized briefly, it reflects,

with respect to end consumer sales of single engine air-

craft by Aviation Activities, Inc. - the only Cessna dis-

tributor for whom such information exists, see Appendix

A - that 11 of 15 such sales (73%) occurred within

approximately 100 miles of that company’s offices in

Valparaiso, Indiana, one at approximately 200 miles, one

at approximately 275 miles, one at approximately 300

miles, one at approximately 600 miles, and one at approx-

34. One might argue that the area in which a distributor

made aircraft sales of any kind should be the relevant stan-

dard. There is, however, an obvious potential difference be-

tween the geographic area in which a distributor, dealing with

its own or with other dealers, might expect to market aircraft

for resale, and the area involved when that distributor deals

with at least some kinds of end consumers. Lacking any testi-

mony on the subject, I am unwilling simply to assume that the

two areas are co-extensive.

35. Aviation Activities, Inc., of Valparaiso, Indiana; South-

aire, Inc., of Memphis, Tennessee; and Florida Aircraft Dis-

tributors, Inc., of Ft. Lauderdale, Florida.

A76

imately 950 miles. If one excludes the last two such

sales as representing the sort of abberant items referred

to by Professors Arieda and Turner, see II Areeda &

Turner, supra at 357-58, it is obvious, given no more

than this sparse information, that the geographic area

in which Aviation Activities was effectively marketing

single engine aircraft to end consumers extended no more

than a radius of approximately 300 miles from Valparaiso,

Indiana. This is wholly insufficient to show the fact of

geographic market competition with Carthage Airways

regarding single engine aircraft; and while that radius

does overlap marginally (in one sparsely populated sector

of north central Missouri) the 150 mile radius of White

Industries’ single engine aircraft marketing area, I con-

clude - particularly since the closest end consumer sale

by Aviation Activities was actually approximately 150 miles

distant from the furthest reach of White Industries’ 150

mile radius - that this area of theoretical market prox-

imity is in fact too marginal to support a showing of

actual geographic market competition. See 5 Von Kalin-

owski, supra at 30-74 (“mere fringe or marginal com-

petition is usually not sufficient to satisfy the competitive

effects requirement of Section 2(a)”).

The situation with respect to multi-engine aircraft -

excluding for the moment 400 series aircraft - is even

more problematical, given the paucity of end consumer

sales with which to work. Again, Aviation Activities

is the only Cessna distributor shown to have made such

sales: two in number, one at a distance of approxi-

mately 260 miles, and one at a distance of approximately

950 Miles (see Appendix A). This information is ac-

tually too sparse to be particularly meaningful. When,

however, I consider the fact that the multi-engine air-

AT77

craft geographic market areas for both Carthage Airways

and White Industries (other than White’s 402A aircraft)

\. re postulated as being materially in excess of a 150

mue radius, and the additional fact that the respective

trade areas of all three parties would, if extended only

a distance of 150 miles over their respective marketing

areas for single engine aircraft, overlap significant popula-

tion centers (including the St. Louis metropolitan area), I

conclude that the fact of geographic market competition

as between both Carthage Airways and White Industries

on the one hand, and Aviation Activities on the other,

regarding multi-engine aircraft other than 400 series air-

craft, is sufficiently shown.

As to 400 series aircraft, the answer comes more easily.

With White Industries’ 402A aircraft, the relevant com-

petitive market area has in fact been found to be nation-

wide; hence any sales by Cessna distributors to end con-

sumers within a reasonably approximate time frame will

be sufficient to show the fact of geographic market com-

petition. Nine such sales are shown (see Appendix A):

four by Aviation Activities (three to a customer in Wash-

ington, D.C., and one in Odessa, Texas), three by FAD

(all to the same customer, located in Fort Lauderdale,

Florida), and two by Southaire to a customer in Memphis,

Tennessee. Further, with respect to other 400 series air-

craft, the end consumer sales by Aviation Activities - again

the only Cessna distributor shown to have made such sales

(two in Cincinnati, Ohio, one in Los Angeles, California,

and one in Atlanta, Georgia) - clearly suggest (as one

would expect given the increased cost, flight range and

relative sophistication of such aircraft) a competitive

geographic market area considerably in excess of that for

other multi-engine aircraft. Whether Aviation Activities’

A78

market area for these planes was actually nationwide is

questionable, but it seems clear that it would have en-

compassed the area in which Carthage Airways and White

Industries might reasonably have expected to sell them.

The net result of the foregoing, obviously, is a finding

that Carthag> Airways and White Industries have shown

that they were, more likely than not, “in geographic com-

petition” with Aviation Activities in connection with end

consumer sales of contemporaneously purchased models

of multi-engine aircraft during the relevant time period

(for White Industries, 1969 Model 402As; for Carthage Air-

ways, 1969 Model 337s and 421As), and that White In-

dustries was, in connection with such sales of 1969 402A

aircraft, more likely than not competing geographically

with FAD and Southaire as well.

F.

“Competitive Injury” under §2(a)

The final element required for a §2(a) violation is

that there be a “reasonable possibility that [the] price

difference [in question] may harm competition.” See Falls

Cities Industries, Inc. v. Vanco Beverage, Inc., 460 U.S.

428, 435 (1983). Given the relative magnitude of the price

advantage which Cessna distributors enjoyed in their ac-

quisition of Cessna aircraft, it would appear that this

element is also shown.

True, as discussed in Section G. infra, I am unable

to find any actual diverted sale with regard to either plain-

tiff. Nor is there any real evidence that a reduction in

either plaintiff’s profits occurred as a result of that pricing

differential, whether from a loss of sales to distributors

or from a lowering of resale prices to meet competition

from distributors. ‘Actual injury,” however, as separately

A79

required for any antitrust damages claim by §4 of the

Clayton Act, 15 U.S.C. §15, is not the issue at this point.

Falls Cities Industries, 460 U.S. at 434-35; and cf. J. Truett

Payne Co., 457 U.S. at 561-62. The immediate question,

instead, is simply whether Carthage Airways and White

Industries have established a prima facie case of $2(a)

“injury to competition” so as to require - at least for pur-

poses of that statute, if analyzed alone - that defendants

assume their burden of defense. See Falls Cities Industries,

460 U.S. at 434-35. In view of the Supreme Court’s recent

reaffirmation of the Morton Salt doctrine, see Falls Cities

Industries, 460 U.S. at 435 (for §2(a) purposes, “injury to

competition is established prima facie by proof of a sub-

stantial price discrimination between competing purchasers

over time’’), that much seems clear. Here, the 5 (or 6)

% purchase price differential in question must be taken

as “substantial,” given the general and the low profit

margins experienced in the general aviation aircraft sales

industry, see generally Von Kalinowski, supra $31.01, at

31-44 to 31-50, 31-61 to 31-66, and cases cited, or as al-

ternatively measured, in the sense that it was sufficient

in amount to “influence” the competing parties’ resale

prices, see FTC v. Morton Salt Co., 334 U.S. 37, 47 (1948).

So too must the duration of that pricing differential be

taken as meeting the requirements of Morton Salt - it ex-

isted for at least fifteen years, and encompassed all of

the time that Carthage Airways and White Industries

were Cessna dealers.

G.

ACTUAL INJURY

As indicated by the preceding passages, White In-

dustries and Carthage Airways have - with occasional

A80

faltering, to be sure - managed to satisfy the elements

of §2(a) of the Robinson-Patman Act itself. Since their

only remaining claim is for damages, however, that show-

ing is not enough; they must also establish, as a part

of their liability case, “actual injury” resulting from that

violation. 15 U.S.C. §15; J. Truett Payne Co., 451 USS.

at 462, 568; Chrysler Credit Corp. v. J. Truett Payne

Co., 670 F. 2d 575, 581-82 (5th Cir. 1982) (on remand),

cert. denied, 459 U.S. 908 (1982). On that issue, the

claim dissolves.

Actual injury cannot simply be inferred from the

fact of price discrimination, even if the discrimination

is substantial. J. Truett Payne Co., 451 U.S. at 561-62.

Instead, it will ordinarily be necessary to show a loss

of profits or diverted sales which can be causally linked

to the violation. See World of Sleep, Inc. v. La-Z-Boy

Chair Co., 756 F. 2d 1467, 1480 (10th Cir. 1985); Olympia

Co., Inc. v. Celotex Corp., 597 F. Supp. 285, 291-92 (E.D.

La. 1984); Double H Plastics, Inc. v. Sonoco Products

Co., 575 F. Supp. 389, 400-01 (E.D. Pa. 1983); III Kintner

and Bauer, supra at 657. Here, unfortunately, plaintiffs

have made no real effort to show either, and instead

rely again for the most part upon general economic the-

ories advanced by their economist.

I find those opinions unpersuasive. First, even the

general theory behind the opinions is fatally flawed, at

least as far as the law and the facts of this case are

concerned. The theory begins with a premise that there

was in fact a single, nationwide market for the sale of

Cessna aircraft (something I have found to be unsup-

ported by the evidence); proceeds with a further premise

that a sale by a Cessna distributor to any person or

entity other than a contracted dealer of that distributor

A81

represents a sale made “in competition” with every zone

or contracted dealer in the United States, even if the

sale is to another zone dealer, a contracted dealer of

another distributor or an independent dealer (something

contrary to both the law and the evidence); adds yet

another premise to the effect that any sale by a so-called

“captive dealer” of a Cessna distributor constitutes a

sale by the distributor in competition with all zone and

other contracted dealers (again, something unsupported

by either the law or the evidence); and concludes with

the general proposition that the result of all such sales,

given the purchase price differential available to dis-

tributors, was to depress, nationwide, the profits of the

“average” zone or contracted dealer by at least the amount

of the “average” distributor mark-up on such sales - a

proposition which simply cannot be accepted, given the

failure of so many of its bases. Second, as may be ob-

vious, even if the general theory was accevtable it tells

me only what may have happened to the hypothetical

“average” Cessna dealer; as the economist himself finally

admitted, it does not tell me that a particular dealer

in fact suffered injury. In short, whatever role general

economic theories might play in proving the fact of in-

jury in Robinson-Patman cases, the effort fails here.

Nor does the proof in this case satisfactorily demon-

strate a loss of profits by White Industries or Carthage

Airways, caused by violations of the Act. I do have

generalized, conclusory testimony that both operated un-

profitably in selling aircraft throughout their respective

periods as zone dealers (and in the case of Carthage

Airways, while it was a contracted dealer as well), and

data reflecting that many planes ultimately sold by them

were sold at a loss. Whether that general unprofitability

A82

of business was caused in any part by violations of the

Act, however, or instead was caused by other factors,

the evidence does not tell me. Plaintiffs made, for ex-

ample, no effort at establishing profit comparisons with

others who operated both during and before or after

the period of the business practices in question. Com-

pare Bigelow v. RKO Radio Pictures, Inc., 327 U.S. 251,

257-60 (1946). Furthermore, the evidence reflects that

both plaintiffs suffered losses on their sales of single

engine aircraft; yet, so far as the evidence shows, those

were not sales affected by competition from any Cessna

distributor. And, on the other hand, I do know that

the mid-1969 to 1971 time frame (which encompasses

much of White Industries’ time of operation as a zone

dealer and much of Carthage Airways’ time of “active”

operation as a dealer) was a period of serious economic

recession in the general aviation aircraft industry. In

addition, the evidence reflects that neither White Indus-

tries nor Carthage Airways was experienced in the type

of dealer operation it attempted to maintain during this

period, and that in fact both made rather serious errors

of business judgment with respect to their inventory

practices during that period. White Industries, for in-

stance, attempted to “corner the market” on 402A series

aircraft by purchasing six of the highly expensive, newly

introduced planes, and in doing so both saddled itself

with a significant debt service problem and with an

inventory of aircraft it had no experience selling - prob-

lems which were exacerbated when Cessna _ ultimately

produced more of the aircraft than anticipated.”

36. Carthage Airways apparently made a similar, although

more diversified mistake, purchasing and carrying a larger in-

ventory of expensive aircraft than would make good business

sense for a dealer of its size and location, see Love testimony;

a point which Ingram himself appears to have accepted.

A83

Admittedly, a plaintiff attempting to prove the fact

of actual injury in an antitrust case is not required to

exhaust all possible alternative sources of injury in order

to fulfill his burden. Zenith Radio Corp. v. Hazeltine

Research, Inc., 395 U.S. 100, 114 n9 (1969). In fact,

once a violation of the operative statute (here, §2(a))

is shown, a plaintiff need only prove that the violation

is a material cause of his injury. Bohack Corp. v. Iowa

Beef Processors, Inc., 715 F. 2d 703, 710-11 (7th Cir.

1983). Nonetheless, the finder of fact must be able to

determine that the alleged injury is, more likely than

not, causally linked to that violation. Here, given the

other factors mentioned above, all of which are in evi-

dence and cannot be ignored, I am unable to reach that

conclusion with regard to a loss of profits, as such, by

either plaintiff. Compare Richard Short Oil Co., Inc. v.

Texaco, Inc., No. 85-1665, slip op. at 10 (8th Cir. Aug. 25,

1986).

Finally, the evidence fails to reflect any sale which I

can find was actually diverted from either plaintiff as a

result of any violation of the Act. In fact, the evidence

does not reflect any sale by a distributor to a customer

with whom Carthage Airways had ever had dealings or

communications, and only three with whom White In-

dustries had dealings or communications.”

Of those three purchasers who acquired aircraft from

a distributor, with whom White Industries also had com-

37. I do not suggest that a seller must always have had

actual communications with a buyer in order to show diverted

sales. Presumably, in some circumstances a simple downturn

in sales might suffice. However, that sort of evidence is lack-

ing here. Without one sort of proof or the other, or some

comparable approach, it is difficult to see how such diversions

could be shown.

A84

munications, two may be dealt with rather quickly. As

to Florida Airlines, the evidence tells me only that Terry

White had a “contact” at some unspecified time in 1969,

without evidence even that a price was quoted. As to

Priority Air Dispatch, I know only that at some unstated

time (even the year is unidentified, although presumably

it was 1969) White “quoted prices.” What those prices

were is unknown, although the testimony does reveal

that in “early 1969” White Industries - apparently in the

belief that it had cornered the market on 402A aircraft -

was generally seeking a 12% mark-up on those planes, as

opposed to the 6% mark-up it ordinarily sought on new

aircraft. I note that this was not an especially competi-

tive pricing structure, particularly since White’s effort at

mini-monopolization had failed, and might in and of itself

have been discouraging to a prospective buyer. In ad-

dition, the actual sales to Priority Air Dispatch were made

through a third party - apparently a broker - with whom

White had no communications at all. Further, all the

aircraft ultimately purchased by Florida Airlines and Pri-

ority Air Dispatch were equipped a good bit differently

than any 402A aircraft White Industries had for sale; a

matter of no small significance, since the evidence sug-

gests that buyers of this sort of aircraft often had highly

specific equipment requirements.** Given these points,

together with the fact that White Industries had no prior

dealings with either of the two companies, and the fact

38. Florida Airlines, for example, did not want their

planes equipped with Cessna avionics or autopilot, and did not

want dual instruments, twin doors, de-ice propellors, an auxil-

iary fuel system or an oxygen system. Each of White Industries’

402A aircraft had Cessna avionics, de-ice propellors, auxiliary

fuel system, oxygen system and twin doors. Some of these

items on White Industries’ planes could have been modified,

but it would have been prohibitively expensive to remove others,

and totally impracticable to change twin doors to single doors.

A85

that I have not the least idea what actually motivated

either company to purchase when and where it did, I must

and do conclude that neither has been shown to be a pur-

chaser diverted from White Industries by virtue of any-

thing causally linked to a violation of the Robinson-Patman

Act. It is possible, of course, that such was the case, but

that bare possibility hardly makes the point more likely

that not.

The evidence regarding Sun Airlines is only slightly

more developed. Frank Terry White’s testimony was that

he had conversations with Sun personnel over a two month

period in the late winter or early spring of 1969 (the first

conversation occurred at some point prior to March 17,

1969), and quoted prices on five different 402A aircraft.

Apparently discussions ended at that point. In late May

of 1969, Sun purchased two 402A aircraft from Southaire

at dealer cost.

It is clear, of course, that dealer cost prices were prices

White Industries could not profitably have matched. It

is considerably less than clear, however, that the above

facis reflect a sale diverted from White Industries by virtue

of those prices. There is, for example, no indication that

White Industries had ever had any prior relationship with

Sun, or even any prior dealings. Neither is there any

indication that Southaire’s discussions with Sun overlapped

those between Sun and White. Indeed, I do not even know

what the general substance or tenor of the discussions be-

tween White and Sun may have been, much less what

White’s “quoted prices” were or whether actual price ne-

gotiations took place - all gaps of some significance given

the potential discouraging effect of the 12% mark-up price

White was generally quoting at that time. Furthermore,

Sun had very particular equipment specifications for the

A86

aircraft it wished to purchase - specifications that none of

White Industries’ 402A aircraft could meet or, except in

two instances, even be modified to meet.” Whether discus-

sions on the subject of modification took place, or instead

whether Sun simply determined that it had no interest

in planes that did not meet its equipment requirements,

is again unknown.

To summarize, I am unable to say with any degree of

assurance that Southaire’s pricing had any causal relation-

ship to Sun’s decision not to purchase from White In-

dustries. Certainly, of course, it is possible that it did,

but the lack of any evidence on the subject, coupled with

the presence of equally likely contrary possibilities, leaves

the matter no further advanced than the realm of specula-

tion.

I conclude that both White Industries and Carthage

Airways have failed to show, by a preponderance of the

credible evidence, any actual injury caused by a viola-

tion of the Robinson-Patman Act. Their claims under

that statute must accordingly be dismissed.

IV.

THE SHERMAN ACT CLAIM

Given the result reached with plaintiffs’ Robinson-

Patman claim, there is probably a short answer to at least

portions of their partially parallel Sherman Act §1 claim:

even if that claim might otherwise be viable, there has

39. Sun's specifications called for aircraft without Cessna

avionics and with de-ice equipment sold separately rather

than installed. All but two of White Industries’ 402A aircraft

had complete, installed de-ice systems. The testimony was that

it would be impractical to attempt to remove those de-ice sys-

tems.

ee ee ee.

A87

been a failure to prove actual injury in connection with it.

There are, however, more fundamental difficulties as well.

The claim is apparently premised upon a theory that

there was a vertical conspiracy between Cessna and the

Walston distributors (Aviation Activities, Inc. and South-

aire, Inc.), the object of which was to extend discrimina-

tory discounts and allowances to those distributors. As

the Ninth Circuit pointed out in Zoslav v. MCA Distribut-

ing Corp., 693 F. 2d 870, 886-87 (9th Cir. 1982), however,

such an agreement cannot form the basis for a Sherman

Act claim - at least in a situation of alleged secondary

line discrimination such as this one - unless the intent of

the arrangement was to exclude others from the buyer's

market. Further, even if there is proof of such an intent

there is no per se violation; the situation must be tested

by the rule of reason (a balancing of the competitive evils

of the restraint against the anti-competitive benefits as-

serted on its behalf). Id.

Here, as in Zoslav, there is no credible evidence -

direct or circumstantial - of any arrangement which con-

templated plaintiffs’ exclusion from a distributor's market

for the resale of new, current aircraft, even if that market

is assumed to include end consumer sales. To the con-

trary, the evidence reveals no more than the fact that

Cessna and the distributors in question entered into the

same Cessna distributorship contract that all Cessna dis-

tributors signed - a contract, it may be noted, that did not

restrict either party with regard to where or with whom

sales could be made. It may be, of course. that the dis-

tributors in question undertook to sell in the end con-

sumer market, and in doing so realized a competitive ad-

vantage over dealers, but in view of Cessna’s efforts at

establishing its zone dealer system it approaches the ri-

A88 )

diculous to suggest that it sought, at the same time, to

“exclude” those dealers from the very market they were

to serve. In short, while the evidence in this case may

reflect a distribution system which gave Cessna distribu-

tors a price advantage if they in fact sold in the end con-

sumer market, that evidence falls far short of supporting

a Sherman Act claim.

Neither does the evidence reflect any sort of an agree-

ment or understanding to exclude plaintiffs from the gen-

eral market for resales to other dealers. Cessna simply

granted a larger functional discount to those who were

willing to undertake the additional cost and effort of mer-

chandising its products in a wholesale capacity - some-

thing that plaintiffs never sought and probably lacked

the resources to accomplish in any event. In fact, there

is nothing even in the effect of this which is anti-competi-

tive, at least in the sense that it violates the rule of reason.

Nor does the evidence - and this is apparently plain-

tiffs’ real theory - satisfactorily support a finding that

there was any agreement or understanding to exclude plain-

tiffs from the resale market in new, non-current aircraft.

The testimony, instead, reveals no more than that at the

end of each current model year, Cessna offered its remain-

ing inventory of that year’s aircraft to distributors on a

close-out basis, and if all such aircraft were not disposed

of in that way then on a “best-bid” basis. True, there is

no showing that the same offers were made to zone dealers,

but neither is there any showing that zone dealers in gen-

eral, or plaintiffs in particular, were ever precluded from

buying such aircraft. Indeed, White Industries bought

several, albeit at dealer prices. And, more importantly

perhaps, even if one might find some evidence of an ex-

clusionary effect in all this, I am unable to conclude that

L

A89

the same represents an unreasonable restraint on trade

as measured by the rule of reason. At worst, Cessna

simply offered and sold most such aircraft to the class of

buyer best able to purchase them in quantity - something

inoffensive in and of itself, which in turn allowed Cessna

to compete effectively with other manufacturers by clear-

ing out old inventory after it introduced new aircraft, and

(according to the testimony) stimulated aircraft sales

of all sorts at all levels. I find no violation of the Sherman

Act in this.

V.

DECERTICATION OF THE CLASS

The fact that the designated class representatives

have lost their own claims does not, itself, necessarily

require a decertification of the class. East Texas Motor

Freight System, Inc. v. Rodriguez, 431 U.S. 395, 406 n.12

(1977); Scott v. City of Anniston, Ala., 682 F. 2d 1353,

1356-57 (11th Cir. 1982); Sirota v. Solitron Devices, Inc.,

673 F. 2d 466, 472 (2d Cir. 1982), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 838

(1982). Where, however, the class certification is found

to have been improvident because the basic requirements

of Rule 23 cannot be met, the court may - indeed must,

to my thinking - enter a decertification order. Valentino

v. U.S. Postal Service, 674 F. 2d 46, 66 n.12 (DC. Cir.

1982); Eggleston v. Chicago Journeyman Plumbers, Etc.,

657 F. 2d 890, 896 (7th Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 455 US.

10i7 (1982); Stastny v. Southern Bell Tel. and Tel. Co.,

628 F. 2d 267, 275-76 (4th Cir. 1980). This is so even if

the finding is not made until during or at the conclusion

of the trial on the merits, Stastny v. Southern Bell Tel. and

Tel. Co., 628 F. 2d at 275-76; and of course should be equally

true where, as here, the proceedings have been bifurcated.

ee

A90

From what has been said in the preceding sections of

this opinion, it should now be clear that the class certifica-

tion order in this case was improvident or at least, with

the disappearance of the claim for injunctive relief, is

now. Rule 23(a), of course, requires (among other things)

that there be “questions of law or fact common to the

class.” Rule 23(b)(3) in turn requires that “the ques-

tions of law or fact common to the members of the class

predominate over any questions affecting only individual

members, ...” Here, by contrast, the individual ques-

tions overwhelm any common ones. For example, each

class member, in order to prevail on a Robinson-Patman

claim, would find it necessary to show, on an individual

basis, (a) the immediate principal purpose for which it

purchased its aircraft; (b) the geographic market area in

which it actually competed for aircraft sales to end con-

sumers during the time in question; (c) whether any

Cessna distributor actually competed for aircraft sales to

end consumers in that same geographic the time in ques-

tion; and (d), the fact of actual injury (no small task, as

the present case illustrates). In fact, of the issues which

have been contested in this case, there are none which

could even be profitably be treated on an “issues only”

class basis under Rule 23(c)(4). I conclude, accordingly,

that defendants’ motion to decertify the class must be

granted.

Elementary principles of fairness suggest that notice

of the court’s ruling should be given to the absent class

members so that they may determine what further in-

dividual courses of action they wish to pursue. Class

counsel will be ordered to prepare a suggested form of

notice; defendants of course will be given the opportunity

to comment.

A91

VI.

ORDERS

For the foregoing reasons, it is hereby

ORDERED that judgment shall be entered in favor

of defendants The Cessna Corporation and Cessna Finance

Corporation on all the claims of plaintiffs Whice Industries,

Carthage Airways and Eugene Ingram as asserted in this

case; and it is further.

ORDERED that the original class certification order

entered in this case on October 9, 1973, as modified by the

court’s orders of June 5, 1974, November 24, 1978 and

Aug'st 22, 1983, is herewith vacated, and such class is

herevy decertified; and it is further

ORDERED that class counsel shall, within thirty (30)

days of the date of this Order, prepare, file and serve

a suggested form of notice to absent class members, ad-

vising of the court’s action in decertifying the class and

further advising said absent class members of their right

to proceed individually if they wish; and it is further

ORDERED that defendants shall have fifteen (15)

days from and after the filing of the suggested form of

notice called for by the preceding paragraph, within which

to comment on the same; and it is further

ORDERED that each party shall bear its own taxable

costs herein incurred and expended.

/s/ Ross T. Roberts

Ross T. Roberts, District Judge

DATED: OCTOBER 2, 1986.

A92

APPENDIX A

End Consumer Sales by Cessna Distributors

Aviation Activities, Inc. (a Cessna Distributor located

in Valparaiso, Indiana); single engine aircraft:

Date of Sale Purchaser

Aircraft Model

1. 150

2. 150

3. 150

4. 171

5. 172

6. 172

40.

All of the alleged com

Southaire and FAD have been e

2/28/70

7/15/70

11/30/70

3/31/70

3/31/70

9/4/69

Emninated

Swanke Aviation,

Rochelle, Illinois

(flight school)

Flight Tech, Inc.,

Chicago, Illinois

(for lease to

flight school)

B & W Aviation,

Chicago, Illinois

(flying club)

B & W Aviation,

Chicago, Illinois

(flying club)

Ralph Sherrill,

Parkridge, Illinois

(for lease to

flight school)

Magnolia Airport,

Magnolia, Ohio

(for use in

flight school)

e single engine aircraft sales b

, as well as most of the multy-

engine sales by Southaire, FAD and Aviation Activities, either because

the sale has not been shown to have been made to the ultimate purchaser

or (as in most instances) because that ultimate purchaser has not been

shown to have purchased for the immediate principal purpose of use.

4

10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

Aircraft Model

A93

Date of Sale Purchaser

172

172

172

172

172

172

172

177

6/13/72

5/13/68

5/18/68

7/31/68

8/29/68

7/26/68

11/12/68

12/13/71

Max C. Emory,

Bay City, Michigan

(individual, for use)

Aviation Training

Enterprises,

Chicago, Illinois

(flight school)

Aviation Training

Enterprises,

Chicago, Illinois

(flight school)

Aviation Training

Enterprises,

Chicago, Illinois

(flight school)

Aviation Training

Enterprises,

Chicago, Illinois

(flight school)

Chicago Area Pilots

Association, Chicago,

Illinois (flying club)

Dan Chislom,

Philadelphia, PA.

(individual, for use)

Robert G. Zimmer,

Carbondale, Illinois

(individual, for use)

Aviation Activities, Inc.; multi-engine aircraft:

210

8/31/70

John & Ann Huttig,

Orlando, Florida

(individuals,

apparently for use)

16.

-,

18.

19.

20.

21.

22.

23.

Aircraft Model

A94

Date of Sale Purchaser

337

401

402A

402A

402A

402A

414

421A

7/24/69

11/27/68

4/22/69

6/26/69

7/22/69

3/27/70

7/18/70

8/30/69

Centurion Corporation,

Cincinnati, Ohio (con-

struction company)

Centurion Corporation,

Cincinnati, Ohio (con-

struction company)

Priority Air Dispatch,

Washington, D.C.

(contract air carrier)

Priority Air Dispatch,

Washington, D.C.

(contract air carrier)

Priority Air Dispatch,

Washington, D.C.

(contract air carrier)

Wooly Tool and

Manufacturing, Inc.,

Odessa, Texas

(apparently a manu-

facturing company)

Hassen Motors, Inc.,

Cincinnati, Ohio

(apparently a business

unrelated to aircraft

sales)

Teledyne, Inc., Los

Angeles, California

(an engine manu-

facturing company)

24.

25.

26.

27.

28.

29.

A95

Aircraft Model Date of Sale Purchaser

421B 1/26/71 Big Creek Farms,

Atlanta, Georgia

(apparently a business

unrelated to aircraft

sales)

Southaire, Inc. (a Cessna Distributor located in Mem-

phis, Tennessee); multi-engine aircraft:

402A 5/23/69 Sun Airlines,

Memphis, Tennessee

(commuter airline)

402A 5/23/69 Sun Airlines,

Memphis, Tennessee

(commuter airline)

Florida Aircraft Distributors (a Cessna distributor

located in Ft. Lauderdale, Florida); multi-engine air-

craft:

402A 8/20/69 Florida Airlines (Hill

Leasing Corporation),

Ft. Lauderdale,

Florida (commuter

airline)

402A 9/15/69 Florida Airlines (Hill

Leasing Corporation),

Ft. Lauderdale,

Florida (commuter

airline)

402A 10/31/69 Florida Airlines (Hill

Leasing Corporation),

Ft. Lauderdale,

“orida (commuter

aline)

A96

APPENDIX E

(Filed October 14, 1986)

IN THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT

OF MISSOURI

WESTERN DIVISION

No. 20245-B

WHITE INDUSTRIES,

INC., et al.,

Plaintiffs,

Vv.

The CESSNA AIRCRAFT

COMPANY, et ai.,

Defendants.

ORDER

The court herewith makes the following technical

changes to its October 2, 1986 order in the above-styled

cause:

1. P.1, fn.3, 1.6: change “forms” to “formed.”

2. P.8, 1.23, strike the apostrophe between “FBO”

and “s.”

3. P.23, 1.25, insert the words “and model year,”

between the word “model” and the word “and.”

A97

4. P.29, fn.20, revised to read as follows:

“20. In contrast to the position taken in H.A.B.

Chemical Co., Inc. v. Eastman Kodak Co., 1981-1 Trade

Cas. (CCH) §63,912 at 75,749 (C.D. Cal. 1980), I

do not consider that “third line” and “fourth line”

claims, see generally Perkins v. Standard Oil Co.,

395 U.S. 642 (1969), are also an exception to the

general rule mentioned above. Those claims are al-

lowed because of $2(a)’s express reference to dis-

criminatory effects which ‘may .. . injure, destroy

or prevent competition with any person who either

grants or receives the benefit of such discrimination,

or [competition] with customers of either of them’

(emphasis added). Under this language, and under

the construction given it in Perkins, 395 U.S. at

606-07, claims which involve injury to a ‘customer’

of a disfavored buyer are allowed without regard

to the number of sales ‘levels’ that separate the

‘customer’ from the discriminatorily priced sale (or,

more precisely, the number of sales levels that sep-

arate the favored ‘customer’ from the discriminating

seller, III Kintner and Bauer, supra at 315 n. 289).

Nonetheless, unless the exception noted in the text

applies, or some new exception is recognized, both

the ‘favored’ sale and the ‘disfavored’ sale must have

been made directly by the alleged discriminating

seller.”

5. P.38, 18, strike the words “identifying or.”

6. P.38, 1.12, insert the words “kinds of” between

the word “some” and the word “customer.”

7. P.43, £n.30, 1.5, strike the words “not all dealers

were FBOs, and”; 1.7, change “resale” to use.”

A98

8. P.48, 1.2, change “dealer” to “seller.”

9. P.48, 14, change “dealer” to “seller.”

10. P.51, 1.11, strike the word “area” as it first

appears in that line.

11. P.52, 1.19, change figure “11° to “10,” and figure

— to at

12. P.52, 1.20, change figure “73” to “71.”

13. P.53, 13, insert the word “and” at the beginning

of the line, a period after the word “miles,’ and strike

all following words.

14. P.53, 1.4, strike the word “miles,” the word

“two,” and change “sales” to “sale.”

15. P.53, 1.5, change “items” to “item,” and “Arieda’”’

to “Areeda.”’

16. P.56, last line, add the words “keenness of com-

petition” at the end of the line.

17. P.57, 1.1, strike the word “the” between the word

“and” and the word “law.”

18. P.57, 1.11, change the words “preceding passages”

to “above comments.”

19. P.57, 1.12, insert the word “managed” after the

word “have.”

20. P.57, 1.13, strike the word “managed.”

21. P.58, 1.8, reverse the words “rely” and “again.”

22. P.60, 1.3, change the word “much” to “part.”

23. P.63, 1.8, strike the word “late.”

A99

24. P.68, last line, add the words “area during” at

the end of the line.

25. P.69, 1.4, strike the word “be” between the word

“even” and the word “profitably.”

IT IS SO ORDERED.

/s/ Ross T. Roberts

Ross T. Roberts, District Judge

DATED: OCTOBER 14, 1986.

A100

APPENDIX F

(Filed March 10, 1987)

IN THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT .- -

OF MISSOURI

WESTERN DIVISION

No. 20245-B

WHITE INDUSTRIES,

INC., et al.,

Plaintiffs,

v.

The CESSNA AIRCRAFT

COMPANY, et al.,

Defendants.

ORDER

Pending before the court are two post-judgment mo-

tions (and supplements thereto) filed by plaintiffs. The

first is a motion for new trial or other relief; the second.

a motion to make amended or further findings of fact.

For the reasons which follow, the former motion will be

denied; the latter will be granted in part and denied in

part.

o ree

Al0l

I.

MOTION FOR NEW TRIAL OR OTHER RELIEF

1. Passage of Time in Rendering Judgment. Plain-

tiffs have argued at least one point not otherwise identi-

fied in the motion itself: that because of the time it took

the court to hand down its opinion on the merits, the judg-

ment should be set aside and the case retried to a jury.

For rather obvious reasons, I reject the point. I have

previously indicated to counsel my embarrassment over

the length of time it took the court to render judgment

in this case. That passage of time, however, hardly con-

stitutes any basis for the truly astonishing demand that I

now simply set the judgment aside, and retry the case to

a new fact finder.

2. The Functional Competition Issue. Plaintiffs sug-

gest that the court’s opinion on the merits “confuses com-

petition with function ....” Given the language of the

original opinion, see original opinion on the merits, p. 38.

I can perhaps see why plaintiffs make that suggestion,

although a careful reading of the entire section of the

opinion dealing with functional competition, and a read-

ing of the amendment made on October 14 (see item 6.

therein) should have helped clarify the matter. To in-

sure that no confusion as to my view remains, however,

I will further amend the sentence in question (first full

sentence on page 38), and the following sentence, so that

the two will now read as follows:

Such statements in turn suggest that determining the

presence or absence of functional competition between

purchasers of a commodity is, with reference to any

particular kind (in a functional sense) of customer.

not so much a process of labeling as simply a factual

A102

process of determining whether they both sell the

commodity to that kind of customer - a rather straight-

forward approach I generally accept. But see 5 Von

Kalinowski, supra, at 30-16 n.35. If that is plaintiffs’

theory, however, it encounters an immediate impasse,

at least as concerns new aircraft (either current or

non current), since the available evidence fails to

show that either White Industries or Carthage Air-

ways ever competed, in any meaningful way, in sell-

ing such aircraft to other dealers for resale, and since

a dealer (independent or otherwise) who purchases

to resell is obviously not the same kind of customer

(in a functional sense) as an end consumer.

Plaintiffs also point out - correctly - that both zone

dealer and contracted dealer contracts required things of

those dealers that were not required of independent deal-

ers (who of course were not under contract). However,

none of the 26 points listed by plaintiffs in this regard -

to the extent they bear upon the issue at all (points 1.

through 5. and 21. through 23. arguably do; points 6. through

20. and 24. through 26., in my judgment, do not) - demon-

strate a difference in the reselling functions of plaintiffs

and independent dealers. That is the function which is

critical to the analysis.

Finally, the fact Cessna or CFC chose to label in-

dependent dealer sales as “retail” sales is not controlling.

The respective reselling functions of independent dealers

and zone or contracted dealers are what they are; labels

are not the touchstone.

3. The Identity of Dealers. Plaintiffs suggest, in con-

nection with the independent dealer/functional competi-

tion issue and the comments made in footnote 23. of the

A103

opinion on the merits, that Plaintiffs’ Exhibits 545-568

allow an identification of all authorized Cessna dealers

(zone or contracted) during the relevant time period.

The point remans, however, that I am, as I was at the time

the opinion was written, “in many instances” unable to

find that the purchasers in question were “dealers,” since

they are not shown on those lists.

4. Erroneous Conclusion of Law on (a) National

Market; (b) Standards for Measuring Competition Be-

tween Distributors and Dealers; (c) Standards for Measur-

ing “Injury to Competition,” and (d) Standards for Measur-

ing “Actual Injury.” Although plaintiffs assert errors

of law in the court’s treatment of these issues, their brief-

ing deals only with disputed factual matters. I will

address those items in Part hereof. I am not aware of

any erroneous legal standards applied in dealing with those

issues, and sO pass on.

5. Captive Dealers. Again, the primary thrust of

plaintiffs’ argument deals with factual] matters. As con-

cerns legal issues, I will simply reiterate what I attempted

to say in the original opinion on the merits: as I view

the matter, the general rule for disregarding separate

corporate entity status (and the general case law, Rob-

inson-Patman or otherwise, which supports that rule)

is fully applicable here, unless there is some specific

reason peculiar to antitrust litigation for departing from

it. I have identified, in the original merits opinion, the

single instance in which I found such a reason.

6. Function of the Manual for Complex Litigation.

Plaintiffs complain, apparently, that the court erred, or

that they were otherwise disadvantaged, because the

court did not attempt to force defendants into admissions

ae

A104

of plaintiffs’ narrative fact statements, or did not take

judicial notice of the propositions submitted or otherwise

deem them admitted. There is no authority whatsoever

for a court to take those kind of steps, and plaintiffs had

no good reason to suppose otherwise. When defendants

denied the narrative fact statements they chose to deny,

plaintiffs were put on notice (in some instances, several

years before the trial) that they would be obliged to prove

those points at trial if they thought them important. The

matter is no different in this respect than with requests

for admissions under Rule 36, a point made clear by the

court to plaintiffs early in the triai.

7. Sam Vires and “Conduit Sales.” During trial,

plaintiffs offered a number of aircraft files to show that

the transactions reflected therein were so-called “conduit

sales” by Southaire, a Cessna distributor (for a definition

of “conduit” sale, see fn. 29 to the court’s opinion on the

merits). The files in question were offered to prove that

point solely on the basis of the fact that they had been,

prior to trial, gathered and segregated as such by a South-

aire secretary (who did not testify). Defendants’ hearsay

objection was ultimately sustained. See White Industries

v. Cessna Aircraft Co., 611 F. Supp. 1049, 1075-76 (W.D.

Mo. 1985). Plaintiffs now complain that they would have

been able to introduce the files, or at least pertinent in-

formation from them, had they been able to secure one Sam

Vires at a witness, but that Mr. Vires, after having been

contacted by defendants, refused to appear and testify.

Plaintiffs made no mention of any problem with Mr.

Vires until the time of their present motion. That is an

omission which is inexplicable in view of the fact that

the court, when confronted with similar complaints about

other witnesses during trial, went to considerable lengths

itil

A105

to assure that nothing untoward had occurred and to assist,

within the limits of judicial propriety, in obtaining the

presence of witnesses or in offering to recess to permit

their deposition testimony to be taken.’ The omission is

all the more inexplicable in light of the fact that no men-

tion of a problem was made even at the time of the court’s

evidentiary ruling mentioned above. In the circumstances,

I consider the point to be totally without merit.

8. FAA Records and “Dealer Witnesses.” Plaintiffs

apparently desire to reopen their case to offer records from

the FAA registry in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, and to call

persons they denominate as ‘dealer witnesses” in order to

prove the existence of a “national market.” The trial

record makes clear that neither of these things constitutes

newly discovered evidence. The request is without merit.

9. Inadequate Briefing or Argument Time. Perhaps

one of the strangest of plaintiffs’ complaints is that, in

view of the court’s delay in rendering an opinion, they

should have been given an opportunity “to comment on the

evidence and provide assistance to the court in clarifying

matters in the record or offering to provide additional evi-

dence.” First, while the court certainly would have ap-

preciated more assistance from plaintiffs in marshalling

the evidence from the voluminous documents they pre-

sented, such marshalling could have been accomplished far

more easily by way of written suggestions. Plaintiffs

had more than a sufficient opportunity to accomplish that,

and did not request any time beyond the briefing contin-

uances the court permitted. Never did they request cral

argument. Finally, plaintiffs overlook the fact that the

1. The charge that witnesses had been “scared off’ bv

defendants eventually proved baseless.

_———-iis i

A106

court had a complete transcript, as well as its own trial

notes, from which to work. Again, I find the point en-

tirely devoid of merit.

10. Consideration of Fraud and Breach of Contract

Theories. As a final matter in this category, plaintiffs re-

quest that the court reopen its judgment to consider the

fraud and breach of contract theories they now wish to

assert. The request comes far too late. At no time during

any phase of the case in which the undersigned has been

involved have either of those theories been argued, briefed

or even mentioned as a theory of recovery for this case.

Indeed, even now plaintiffs do not specify what fraud

or breach of contract they refer to. Nor, for that matter,

would such a consideration be consistent with the Final

Pretrial Order entered by my predecessor on July 25,

1980, or with elementary principles of fairness.

II.

SUFFICIENCY OF THE FINDINGS

I have no thought of granting plaintiffs’ extraordinary

request that I “make specific findings of fact concerning

the testimony of each witness and the content of each

document” (numbering in the many thousands, when in-

dividual documents are counted) on some eleven diffuse

and broadly worded topics that plaintiffs list. To the con-

trary, I am of the opinion that the court’s memorandum

opinion of October 2, 1986, fully complies with all the

requirements of Rule 52. Nonetheless, because I may

have characterized some of plaintiffs’ efforts at proof too

abruptly, even though I fully considered the evidence

relating to them, or because plaintiffs seem to have mis-

apprehended the import of some of the court’s findings,

I will provide the following brief additional comments.

.

A107

1. Competition Between Cessna Distributors and

Dealers. I have no doubt that some actual competition

occurred between some Cessna distributors and some zone

or contracted dealers. The issues presented on defen-

dants’ motion for involuntary dismissal, however, were

necessarily limited to the cases of the two individual plain-

tiffs. I had neither the proof nor the need to make find-

ings as to other specific dealers; indeed, the practical im-

possibility of doing so was the predicate for decertifying

the class. I am unaware of any instances (and plaintiffs

cite to none) involving Cessna distributor sales to end

consumers for whose business either individual plaintiff

was even potentially competing, other than the multi-

engine aircraft sales identified at items 16., 18. through

21., 23. and 25. through 29. in Appendix A to the merits

opinion.”

Much of the material plaintiffs now cite deals with

Cessna distributor sales to independent dealers,* and their

point in reality becomes a quarrel with the court’s treat-

2. I have not overlooked White’s testimony that ‘they all’

(referring to Cessna personnel at the Kansas City zone office)

acknowledged the “problem” of independent distribution com-

petition with White Industries, or the comments made by Mr.

Rausch to Mr. Crawford. See White Industries, 611 F. Supp.

at 1074. As mentioned in the evidentiary rulings, the gen-

erality of those statements renders them less than useful. It

may well be, for example, that the speakers were referring

to distributor sales to independent dealers; sales which, as I

interpret the Robinson-Patman Act, were not sales “in com-

petition” with White Industries in the legal sense.

3. Although it leads to the same result, for the sake of

consistency I believe the definition of “independent dealer,”

as given in the original opinion on the merits, should be amended

to read as follows: “As used in this opinion, a business -

usually an FBO - which was not under contract with Cessna

or a Cessna distributor, but which engaged (even if occasion-

ally) in purchasing new or used Cessna aircraft for the imme-

diate principal purpose of resale.”

A108

ment of the functional competition issue as a legal matter.

This is particularly evident in their claim that the court

has overlooked distributor sales to Zoller, Horridge and

their affiliated companies. That evidence was not over-

looked; the point is simply that the record makes clear

that Zoller, Horridge and their companies were function-

ing as independent dealers (purchasing planes for the

purpose of resale), and were in fact competing with White

Industries in reselling those aircraft.* As I held in the

original merits opinion, Cessna distributor sales to such

persons were not sales made “in competition” with White

within my interpretation of the Robinson-Patman Act.

2. Captive Dealers. Plaintiffs refer the court to cer-

tain historical evidence concerning Cessna distributors

and dealerships owned by them. In the final analysis,

however, I am concerned only with the state of affairs

which existed during the period at issue in this suit.

Whatever may have been the situation ten years before

then, I am satisfied, from the evidence at hand, that

for the period in question the findings on this subject

made in the original merits opinion were correct. The

fact that “captive” dealerships sometimes allowed them-

selves to be utilized for “conduit” sales does not alter

the situation; non-“captive’’ dealers were also used for

such purposes, and in either event, where a “conduit”

__ 4. Zoller was an aircraft dealer who functioned as Hor-

ridge’s partner or employee (Tr. 2835-36, 2838-39). Horridge

was involved in several general aviation related companies,

and either individually (with or without Zoller) or through

those companies purchased a number of new or used Cessna

aircraft. While some of these aircraft were used in various

ways by the companies while being held for resale (as was

the case with both White Industries and Carthage Airways),

the record makes reasonably clear that all were purchased for

the immediate principal purpose of resale (Tr. 4406, 4407, 4410,

4412, 4437, 4441, 4462, and see particularly 4465).

A109

sale has in fact been shown, I have treated it as a sale

by the distributor. Nor does the fact that a distributor

was interested in or kept track of the profitability of

its wholly or partially owned dealer affiliates change

the situation: if it did, all but the most blithe parent

corporations would be treated as one with their subsid-

iaries, no matter how little actuai domination was exer-

cised. Given the affirmative testimony that dealings be-

tween Southaire (distributor) and Sunny South (“cap-

tive” dealer) were at arms length (Tr. 2529, 2632), that

the two had separate sales managers and sales staffs

(Tr. 2632-34), and that the operating philosophy of the

third party parent was that each was to operate as an

independent company and as a separate profit center

(Tr. 2632-33); that dealings between Skyliners (distrib-

utor) and Yingling ‘Aircraft (‘“‘captive” dealer) were ac-

complished with no (or “very little”) favoritism shown

to the dealer (Tr. 3085), and that the two were operated

separately (Tr. 3085); that Capitol Aviation (distributor)

and Ragsdale Aviation (“captive” dealer) dealt with each

other at arms length (Tr. 3708); that dealings between

the various “Walston” distributorships and Walston Avia-

tion, Inc. (dealer), were carried out at arms length (Tr.

5223), with each having separate profit center respon-

sibility (Tr. 4901, 5272); and the lack of any real evi-

dence showing a “domination” of these or any other

“captive” dealerships by a distributor or other parent,

the only conclusion I can reach is the one previously

made in the opinion on the merits.

3. National Market. In the opinion on the merits,

I was perhaps unduly short in stating that plaintiffs

“rely principally upon the existence of a trade publication

of nationwide distribution . . ., and upon the opinions

A110

of their economist.” As plaintiffs point out, they also

offered testimony from several witnesses (Robinson,

Desoise, Love, Walker), to the effect that nationwide

advertising could or did tend to have a nationwide effect.

I was, and am, unpersuaded by that testimony, at least

in the sense that it demonstrates a nationwide market

for any or all Cessna aircraft. First, the vast bulk of

the advertising in evidence is by individuals selling used

aircraft. Second, where the advertising was by a Cessna

dealer (there was none by a distributor, except in two

instances regarding float planes), actual asking prices

were ordinarily given only for used or non-current air-

craft. For example, Walston Aviation, Inc., the dealer

which plaintiffs claim “set the price,” never (so far as

I can determine) advertised a price for new, current

aircraft, other than the “list price” (which was of course

established by Cessna) (see Tumbleson testimony, and

see Trade-A-Plane ads). I simply do not understand

how, in these circumstances, a nationwide price market

is shown; a point which led, in turn, to the comment

made in footnote 33. to the merits opinion.

There was also testimony that a dealer would sell

to anyone who happened by the dealer’s place of busi-

ness, even if the individual was from the cpposite end

of the country (what witness Robinson referred to as

a “fleeting sale’). I have no doubt that was so, but

it does not demonstrate the existence of a unitary, nation-

wide market anymore than does the fact that a vaca-

tioner from California buys a soft drink in Maine.

I was, and am, convinced that the evidence does

not fairly reflect a single, nationwide market for the

sale of all Cessna aircraft, either at the dealer level

or as concerns distributors selling to end consumers. I

Alll

rely, in that regard, upon the evidence cited in the merits

opinion (see Robinson, Desoise, Hoster, Hunt, Cox and

the testimony of White and Ingram themselves) as well

as upon the actual sales patterns referred to therein.

4. Actual Injury. Again, perhaps my statement that

plaintiffs “rely for the most part upon general economic

theories advanced by their economist,’ in connection with

the necessary showing of actual injury, was too abbre-

viated. Frank Terry White, for example, opined gen-

erally that Cessna distributors were competing with him,

that he could not compete with them, and that such

competition came close to destroying White Industries.

Eugene Ingram also offered his thought that Cessna dis-

tributors were competing with him, creating an unprof-

itable situation. However, neither White’s comments,

nor Ingram’s, were related to any specific, creditable

facts, and in the circumstances (particularly the matters

noted in the original merits opinion) I gave (and give)

them no more weight than did the Fifth Circuit in

Chrysler Credit Corp. v. J. Truett Payne Co., 670 F.2d

575, 581 (5th Cir. 1982) (on remand), cert. denied, 459

U.S. 908 (1982), with respect to similar conclusory ob-

servations.

It is also clear that both White Industries and Carthage

Airways had unprofitable operations, at least with respect

to aircraft sales. For the reasons pointed out in the orig-

inal merits opinion, however, I am unable to conclude

that such unprofitability was causally related to any viola-

tion of the Robinson-Patman Act.

5. Plaintiffs’ “Price Fixing” Claim. I am, frankly,

at somewhat a loss as concerns the predicate for plain-

tiffs’ claim of price fixing in violation of Section 1 of the

A112

Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. §1. As nearly as I can understand,

the assertion is that when Cessna sold the balance of its

aircraft at the end of their model year, or at least where

such sales were to the Walston distributors, there was

an accompanying agreement or understanding to fix the

resale price of those aircraft. That, at least, is the only

sort of claim I can envision which would meet the con-

ventional definition of vertical “price fixing.” See Bender

v. Southland Corp., 749 F.2d 1205, 1212 (6th Cir. 1984);

General Cinema Corp. v. Buena Vista Distribution Co.,

681 F.2d 594, 497 [sic] (9th Cir. 1982); and see generally II

Kintner, Federal Antitrust Law §§10.15, 10.17 (1980). lf

that is the theory, there is not one shred of evidence to

support it, either in terms of an express agreement or an

implied understanding. As pointed out in the original

opinion on the merits, when Cessna undertook to dispose

of its remaining inventory of aircraft at the end of their

model year, it offered the aircraft to distributors on a

close-out basis, and if all such aircraft were not disposed

of in that way, then on a “best-bid” basis. The Walston

distributors ordinarily were the purchasers in such “best-

bid’”’ sales, with the terms thereof often involving special

discount or financing terms. There is absolutely no in-

dication, however, of any agreement or understanding

between Cessna and those distributors with respect to

resale prices, or even any indication of some unilateral

effort by Cessna to compel adherence to a particular

resale price.

Plaintiffs also urge that the “effect’’ of the above

(presumably referring to a “rule of reason” standard)

was to allow “Cessna to establish artificially higher prices

for new Cessna aircraft at a time when a glut of aircraft

on the market had forced other manufacturers to shut

A113

down.” Ido not find any such “effect,” but even if it did

exist, I do not find any violation of the rule of reason

therein. The practice in question simply allowed Cessna

tu dispose of its old inventory when introducing new models

- a common business practice in which I can find nothing

anticompetitive at all.

Ill.

ORDERS

Based upon the foregoing, it is

ORDERED that plaintiffs’ motion for new trial or other

relief is hereby denied; and it is further

ORDERED that plaintiffs’ motion for amended or

further findings of fact is hereby granted to the extent

of the additional findings and comments set forth in Part

II hereof, and in all other respects is hereby denied, the

judgment previously entered being unaffected thereby; and

it is further

ORDERED that class counsel shall, within thirty (30)

days from the date hereof, prepare, serve and file the sug-

gested form of notice to absent class members referred

to in the third “ORDERED” paragraph of the original

merits opinion; and that defendants shall have fifteen (15)

days from the filing of such suggested form of notice

within which to comment on the same.

/s/ Ross T. Roberts

Ross T. Roberts, District Judge

DATED: MARCH 10, 1987.

All4

APPENDIX G

(Filed March 13, 1987)

IN THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT

OF MISSOURI

WESTERN DIVISION

No. 20245-B

WHITE INDUSTRIES,

INC., et al.,

Plaintiffs,

v.

The CESSNA AIRCRAFT

COMPANY, et al..

Defendants.

ORDER ON DEFENDANTS’ MOTIONS FOR

INVOLUNTARY DISMISSAL AND TO DE-

CERTIFY CLASS (AS AMENDED BY THE

COURT’S ORDERS OF OCTOBER 14, 1986

AND MARCH 10, 1987

White Industries, Inc. (“White Industries”) and

Carthage Airways, Inc. (“Carthage Airways”)' seek, for

1. Although one of Carthage Airways’ shareholders, Eugene

Ingram, is also named as a plaintiff, it is clear that any claims

he might assert would pre-date July, 1966, when Carthage

Airways was incorporated. Those claims were barred by the

applicable four year statute of limitations at the time this suit

was filed, see 15 U.S.C. §15b. and thus will not be considered

further.

All5

themselves and for the members of a nationwide class

composed of all “zone dealers” of Cessna aircraft who

operated as such during the years between April 14, 1968

and June 5, 1974,* treble damages for alleged violations

of §2(a) of the Robinson-Patman Act, 15 U.S.C. §13(a),

and §1 of the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. §1.° Still present as

defendants are The Cessna Aircraft Company (“Cessna”),

and Cessna Finance Corporation (“CFC”).

Following assignment to this division, the case pro-

ceeded to trial before the court sitting without a jury.

During the course of trial, it was determined: (a) that

presentation of the individual claims asserted by White

Industries and Carthage Airways would be bifurcated

between liability and damages; (b) that upon completion

of the liability phase of those individual claims the court

would recess the case, issue its rulings on evidentiary

questions which had been reserved, and thereafter rule

defendants’ anticipated motion for involuntary dismissal

of those claims; and (c) that in tandem with its liability

rulings on the individual claims the court would rule

defendants’ motion - made during trial - to decertify the

class. The court's evidentiary rulings having been made,

see White Industries v. Cessna Aircraft Co., 611 F. Supp.

1049 (W.D. Mo. 1985), I now turn to the substantive

matters mentioned.

2. A class composed of all Cessna dealers - zone and

contracted (see definitions, infra) - was originally certified.

In August, 1983, my predecessor narrowed the class to its

present configuration.

3. Plaintiffs’ prayer also includes a request for pe meere oe

relief. At some unidentified point before this case

to trial, however, Cessna completed its elimination of the * “Cessna

distributor” (see definitions, twnfra) portion of its distribution

network. Since the functioning of that “Cessna distributor”

system formed the whole basis for plaintiffs’ claims, the request

for injunctive relief is now moot.

All6

I.

DEFINITIONS

Given the scope and complexity of this litigation, I

commence with a definition of certain terms which recur

throughout. The exercise, however, is not purely ad-

visory; the definitions which follow also incorporate find-

ings of fact and conclusions of law.

(a) General Aviation: As described by Cessna it-

self, “general aviation” includes

all flying except for commercial airlines and military,

encompassing everything from the single-seat aerial

application aircraft to a planeload of commuters

traveling to major airports for airline connections.

It [includes] air taxi trips, busy executives visiting

outlying plants, an injured child being airlifted to

medical facilities, pipeline patrol, aerial examination

of forests for fires, the shipment of high priority

cargo, rushing spare parts to equipment requiring

immediate service, aerobatics, reseeding strip-mined

areas, restocking lakes with fish [and] floatplane

hunting and fishing trips into the North Woods. It

fincludes} almost every conceivable business and

recreational use.

Plt. Ex. +2 (Cessna brochure, circa 1969).

(b) Fixed Base Operator (“FBO”): A generic term

signifying a business (individually owned, corporate, or

otherwise) which occupied physical space at an airport

and which carried on some or all of a variety of general

aviation related activities, including flight training, air-

craft rental, aircraft chartering, aircraft maintenance,

All7

servicing and repair, aircraft hangaring or tie-down, and

the sale of aircraft, avionics, accessories and parts. As

would be expected, some FBOs were larger and more

aggressive in their operations than others, and some did

not engage in all the activities mentioned above. It ap-

pears, however, that many were at least occasionally

involved in the resale of both new and used aircraft

to most kinds of “end consumers” (see “end consumer,”

infra), and a number were active in that line of busi-

ness. Both “contracted dealers” of Cessna aircraft (see

“Contracted Dealer,” infra) and “zone dealers” of Cessna

aircraft (see “Zone Dealer,” infra) were ordinarily FBOs,

although many other FBOs were never formally asso-

ciated with the Cessna distribution system.‘

(c) Cessna Distributor:* As used in this opinion,

a business operating under a franchise contract with

Cessna, performing - at least in theory - a more or less

traditional wholesale function in the distribution of Cessna

aircraft, accessories and parts: viz, the purchase and

maintenance of an inventory of Cessna aircraft, acces-

sories and parts; the development of “contracted dealers”

(see “Contracted Dealer,” infra) within the distributor's

assigned geographic “area of responsibility;” and the sale

of Cessna aircraft, parts and accessories to

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.