Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Allstate Insurance v. Hawkins

Supreme Court brief1987

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

<i.

87-40 |

Supreme Court, U.S.

rina28

JUL 6 1987

No. 87-__ JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR.

wo

oo

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1987

\

ALLSTATE INSURANCE CoO.,

Petitioner,

Vv.

JACK RANDY HAWKINS and CYNTHIA HAWKINS,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SUPREME COURT OF ARIZONA

*THEODORE B. OLSON

LARRY L. SIMMS

GIBSON, DUNN & CRUTCHER

1050 Connecticut Ave., N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 955-8500

Attorneys for Petitioner

Of Counsel:

MARK I. HARRISON

DouGLAS L. CHRISTIAN

Mary E. BERKHEISER

HARRISON & LERCH, P.C.

1001 North Central Avenue

Suite 900

Phoenix, Arizona 85004

(602) 257-5800

*Counsel Of Record

PRESS OF BYRON S. ADAMS, WASHINGTON, D.C. (202) 347-8203

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the imposition of a $3,500,000 punitive

damage award violates the Due Process Clause of the

Fourteenth Amendment and the Excessive Fines

Clause of the Eighth Amendment because the amount

of that penalty was established and upheld on the

basis of vague, shifting standards and is grossly dis-

proportionate to the compensatory damages awarded

and to monetary punishments inflicted by the Arizona

legislature for similar or more egregious conduct.

2. Whether a defendant in a civil action must re-

ceive some or all of the federal constitutional pro-

tections accorded to defendants in criminal cases

before punitive damages can be imposed.

3. Whether the Due Process Clause of the Four-

teenth Amendment requires that liability for punitive

damages be established by clear and convincing evi-

dence before such damages may be awarded in a civil

action.

4. Whether the Due Process Clause of the Four-

teenth Amendment requires the application to pend-

ing cases of a decision by this Court that the Eighth

Amendment applies to punitive damage awards and

the application to this case of a decision of the

Supreme Court of Arizona requiring that the entitle-

ment to punitive damages be established by ‘“‘clear

and convincing’”’ evidence.*

* All parties to this case are as named in the caption. Pursuant

to Rule 28.1 of the Rules of the Court, the following constitutes

a list of all parent companies, non-wholly owned subsidiaries and

affiliates of petitioner: Allstate Insurance Company is the wholly

owned subsidiary of Sears, Roebuck & Co.

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Baemad: COP AUTGETAIS ovisccvsscsnsescsssesersseiornses iv

EMIT SEO scisiilisdnoncansaitvcntivionsncdsiecsbiuies 2

aE EET - disrsisntieischarassianeraianniaddetiniaiguaiioeiann 2

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED .. 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE .........ccccccsssccssssoeees 3

A. Facts Relevant to Petitioner’s Constitu-

TEE TIE Sevistvecetctectennadon: 4

B. The Presentation of the Federal Ques-

WOOD ssissaxscisstnnicinnecesiiaaene eel 9

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ............ 15

h. PERE tcc namtiicincmnne 16

1. The Asserted Basis for Refusal To

Reach the Federal Questions Is an In-

adequate State Ground and Does Not

Defeat This Court’s Jurisdiction ....... 16

2. Alternative Basis Requiring Decision

of Petitioner’s Federal Questions by the

Supreme Court of Arizona ....cccccccceees i8

B. The Questions Presented Are Important,

Recurring Questions of Federal Consti-

tutional Law That Should Be Settled by

208 SIDE icc 21

1. The Excessiveness of the $3,500,000 Pu-

nitive Damage Award ......cccccccreseees 21

2. The Questun Whether Punitive Dam-

ages May Be Imposed Without Accord-

ing Federal Constitutional Protections

Due to Defendants in Criminal Cases

Should Be Decided by This Court ..... 24

3. The Question Whether Punitive Dam-

ages May, Under the Due Process

Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment,

Be Imposed Only After Liability Is

Demonstrated by “‘Clear and Convinc-

ing” Evidence Should Be Resolved by

TRIS COUTE ....ccccssosorcocccrcceessscccsessccooess 25

4. This Court Should Decide Whether the

Punitive Purposes Advanced by Funi-

tive Damage Awards Require That

Rules Restricting Their Imposition Be

Applied to Cases Pending on Appeal 27

CONCLUSION o.......ssssescssssssscesssesesssessssosccocccceeeeeens 29

Iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES: Page

Addington v. Texas, 441 U.S. 418 (1979) wu. 26

Aetna Life Insurance Co. v. Lavoie, No. 84-1601

(Apr. 22, 1986), 106 S. Ct. 1580 (1986) ......... 10, 15

Bankers Life and Casualty Co. v. Crenshaw, No.

85-1765 (prob. juris. noted Mar. 9, 1987), 107

Be Se IE ecthralncssiiedsnateaiinnesace ye ae a

Barr v. City of Columbia, 378 U.S. 146 (1954) .... 17, 18

Barrio v. San Manuel Division Hospital for Magma

Copper Co., 143 Ariz. 101, 692 P.2d 280

GRE 5: cicsnshadiidnntbandasccdsahecsccel teal ssutes ectiindounsess 16

Brinkerhoff-Faris Trust Co. v. Hill, 281 U.S. 673

SE: | atsissnsiniteiteueiiskiaaatnabatcanddeccdlebisesaestens 20

Chevron Oil Co. v. Huson, 404 U.S. 97 (1971)... 28

Electrical Workers v. Foust, 442 U.S. 42 (1979) 24-25

Gertz v. Robert Welch, Inc., 418 U.S. 323

IE Soren ehasianAdiiahadlicals catelanieheneitabiiasdtapidvauaesansinesns 22, 25

Giacco v. Pennsylvania, 382 U.S. 399 (1966)... 23

Griffith v. Kentucky, 107 S. Ct. 708

SRN sicditeih asses anddnthucomicbansiokadicdindiaktsibseciadans 27, 28, 29

Henry v. Collins, 380 U.S. 856 (1965) oo... 28

Kennedy v. Mendoza-Martinez, 872 U.S. 144 (1963) a

Kolender v. Lawson, 461 U.S. 352 (1983) 0.0... 23, 27

Linthicum v. Nationwide Life Insurance Co., 150

Ariz. 326, 723 P.2d 675 (1986) ...............<.0... passim

Maricopa County v. Corporation Commission of Ar-

vzona, 79 Ariz. 307, 289 P.2d 183 (1955) ....... 14, 18

Mathews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319 (1976) .......... 27

New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 876 U.S. 254

RE OR eatery ate Spe 28

Rawlings v. Apodaca, 151 Ariz. 149, 726 P.2d 565

Table of Authorities Continued

Page

Rosenbloom v. Metromedia, Inc., 403 U.S. 29

(TQT1) — rerrenccceresssersosssosscccssennecssenssocsoansssncnontusnss 25

Ruth v. Industrial Commission, 107 Ariz. 572, 490

P.2d S28 (1971) .sccscrcscccccesccccssecscrcrsssesscecoesense 16

Santosky v. Kramer, 455 U.S. 745 (1983)... 26

Smith v. Wade, 461 U.S. 30 (1988) «0.0... eseeeeeeeees 25, 26

State v. Yslas, 189 Ariz. 60, 676 P.2d 1718

(19BA) *....ccoressssccsrssorsnsssouersrsnresneoreseconcescnressnness 19

Sullivan v. Little Hunting Park, Inc., 396 U.S. 229

CISC) cccerervssesernvaccsasesssusecsnsesvecsencepsnesaesemiasacene 18

Town of South Tucson v. Board of Supervisors, 52

Ariz. 575, 84 P.2d 581 (1938) ..csssseseseeeseers 16

Travelers Indemnity Co. v. Armstrong, 442 N.E. 2d

B49 (Ind. 1982) ........ccccscccreccsssrsscccssercseooeeees 26

Tuttle v. Raymond, 494 A.2d 1353 (Me. 1985) _ ... 26

United States v. American Railway Express Co.,

965 U.S. 425 (1924) .....ccccccccrcccccccccecccesessneressees 18-19

United States v. Ward, 448 U.S. 242 (1980). ...... 24

Wangen v. Ford Motor Co., 97 Wis. 2d 260, 294

N. W. Bh ABT (190). cnvsncccsscccscccssesccssonssnsssevess 26

FEDERAL CONSTITUTION AND STATUES:

Constitution:

TAR DGD oo ccincvnniccitscscvecconsvssentbusmenantens 24, 25

ie, RN og vc osiicnsinscvastcnsinseesadeobeapanens 24, 25

Eighth Amendment .......ccsssccsseseseesreeeeeeesees passim

Fourteenth Amendment ..........::cseeeeeeereeeeeeeees passim

vi

Table of Authorities Continued

Page

Statutes:

I © ED sca ssp hcdeanvacncuebeecaeanvewlenss 2, 15

STATE STATUTES AND RUiES:

Arizona:

Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 18-803 (Cum. Supp.

I acaba diualad LORD CRO EEA 21

Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 13-804 (Cum. Supp.

SENET. >> caluitalelds acces seacgunnensd ne sd ademas dove eomncs 21

Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 18-2202 (1978) _........ 21

I, UN, I i caclcsacnnmeomcesmmiewens 7

I, FN, Te TE oie sacveisisvecccsactccscornnes 7, 10

Other States:

Act of the State of Alabama, H. 27, §1 (June

i NR i sahitcuiin idanccciedini cendbbieeindaenndlces 26

: Alas. Stat. § 09.17.020 (Supp. 1986) _............ 26

Colo. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 13-25-127(2\Supp.

RR RR eT RENE eae WA ot RO 26

Fla. Stat. Ann. § 768.73 (Supp. 1987) _......... 26

Minn. Stat. Ann. § 549.20 (Supp. 1987) _...... 26

Mont. Code Ann. § 27-1-221(2K1986) ......0..0... 26

Okla. Stat. Ann., Title 23, §9 (1987) ......... 26

Ore. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 30.925 (1983) ........ 26

IN THE

Supreme Court of the GAnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1987

No. 87-

ALLSTATE INSURANCE CoO.,

Petitioner,

Ve

JACK RANDY HAWKINS and CYNTHIA HAWKINS,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SUPREME COURT OF ARIZONA

Allstate Insurance Company petitions the Court to

issue a Writ of Certiorari to the Supreme Court of

Arizona to review four questions raised by that court’s

reinstatement of a $3,500,000 punitive damage award

against petitioner. One of those questions is presently

sub judice in this Court in Bankers Life and Casualty

Co. v. Crenshaw, No. 85-1765 (prob. juris. noted Mar.

9, 1987), 107 S. Ct. 1867 (1987). Petitioner seeks

review of three additional questions not presented in

Bankers Life which also impact broadly on the man-

ner in which punitive damage awards designed to

fulfill the classic objectives of the criminal law—pun-

ishment and deterrence—are imposed in civil litigation

throughout the United States.

OPINIONS BELOW

The February 26, 1987 opinion of the Supreme

Court of Arizona, with dissenting opinion, is reprinted

in the Appendix, App. 1a-33a, and is reported at 733

P.2d 1073 (1987). The opinion of the Court of Appeals

of Arizona, Division One, of August 13, 1985 is re-

printed infra, App. 34a-47a, and is unreported. The

memorandum opinion and order of the Superior Court

of Arizona in and for the County of Maricopa is re-

printed infra, App. 48a-50a, and is unreported. The

order of the Supreme Court of Arizona denying

petitioner’s Motion for Reconsideration, issued on

April 7, 1987, is reprinted infra, App. 51a, and is

unreported.

JURISDICTION

Petitioner seeks review of the February 26, 1987

decision of the Supreme Court of Arizona which va-

cated the decision of the Court of Appeals and re-

manded the case for reinstatement of the original

judgment dated August 3, 1982. The Supreme Court

of Arizona denied petitioner’s timely Motion for Re-

consideration on April 7, 1987. The jurisdiction of this

Court is conferred by 28 U.S.C. §1257(3). This

petition is being filed within ninety days from the

April 7, 1987 order denying petitioner’s Motion for

Reconsideration.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

1. The Excessive Fines Clause of the Eighth

Amendment of the Constitution provides, in pertinent

part, that:

‘“{NJor [shall] excessive fines [be] imposed

2. The Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment of the Constitution provides, in pertinent

part, that:

. “{Njor shall any State deprive any person of

. property, without due process of law

” \

3. The Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment of the Constitution provides, in pertinent

part, that:

‘“(Njor shall any State ... deny to any person

within its jurisdiction the equal protection of

the laws.’

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This is an insurance “‘bad faith” case arising from

the insureds’ dissatisfaction with an automobile pur-

chased to replace their insured car, which had been

demolished in an accident. Although petitioner re-

placed the insureds’ car within two weeks of the ac-

cident with a car having a value within $200 of the

insured car, the jury awarded the insureds $15,000

in compensatory damages and $3,500,000 in punitive

damages. The trial court set the punitive damage

award aside on a number of grounds, including its

excessiveness, and ordered a new trial. The inter-

mediate appellate court affirmed the grant of a new

trial, holding that there was no basis in the record

to warrant a punitive damage award of $3,500,000.

The Supreme Court of Arizona, applying unfavor-

able Arizona law established after the verdict while

refusing to apply post-verdict Arizona law favorable

to petitioner,’ ordered the jury’s verdict reinstated.

While each discrete act of judicial legerdemain per-

formed by the court below to reach its result may

not be cognizable under the federal constitution, the

ultimate result and the process by which it was

reached, taken as whole, raise substantial and im-

portant federal questions which go to the heart of

the manner in which juries, uncontrolled by any mean-

ingful legal standards, administer an ad hoc, govern-

ment-sponsored system of punishment on a daily basis

in Arizona and other States.

A. Facts Relevant to Petitioner’s Constitutional

Questions

On December 6, 1979, respondent Cynthia Hawkins

was involved in an accident in which respondents’

five-month old car was ‘‘virtually demolished.” The

accident was reported to their insurer, petitioner, that

same day. Within a few days, the damaged car had

been determined by petitioner to be a ‘“‘total loss.”

App. la-3a, 733 P.2d, at 1076.

During the first week after the accident, petitioner’s

total loss adjuster determined the Blue Book value of

respondents’ car to be $6,545 and the market value

(actual cash value) to be $6,165. This latter calculation

took into account a $35 subtraction from the esti-

mated cash value as a reconditioning or ‘‘clean-up”’

deduction. On December 13, respondents requested

that petitioner furnish them with a comparable car

‘The Supreme Court of Arizona issued Rawlings v. Apodaca,

151 Ariz. 149, 726 P.2d 565 (1986), on July 22, 1986; it issued

Linthicum v. Nationwide Life Ins. Co., 150 Ariz. 326, 723 P.2d

675 (1986), on July 23, 1986. As discussed infra, the court below

applied Rawlings but refused to apply Linthicum to the case at

bar.

oe it

rather than the actual cash value of their insured car.

Respondents looked at four similar cars and requested

that petitioner purchase one of them, the cost of which

was $300 more than petitioner was prepared to pay.

On December 20, respondents accepted a check

from petitioner for $6,471, payable to respondents

and a local dealership, which they used to acquire a

car. Respondents subsequently determined that the

car they purchased was not sufficiently comparable

to their insured car because it lacked power windows,

had a larger engine, had dealer-installed rather than

factory-installed cruise control, and lacked several

styling features of their insured car. No evidence of

the replacement car’s actual cash value was presented

at trial. The only evidence on this subject was

petitioner’s acknowledgment on appeal that the list

price of the replacement car was at least $161.45 less

than the list price of respondents’ insured car.

Over petitioner’s objections, the trial court permit-

ted testimony of three former employees of petitioner

on the subject of petitioner’s claims practices. One

witness testified concerning policies of petitioner’s Ta-

coma, Washington, office. Another testified concern-

ing activities in petitioner’s Phoenix office during a

period fifteen years prior to respondents’ claim. Al-

though not involved in the adjustment of respondents’

loss, a third testified concerning practices in the Phoe-

nix office at the time of respondents’ claim. That

latter testimony covered the deduction, in valuing a

“total loss,” of a $35 ‘clean-up’ charge and a $5

“tire wear’ charge in determining the actual cash

value of a car. The ex-employee who had worked for

petitioner for two years in the early 1960s, Mr. Wil-

liam Boettcher, testified, inter alia, that petitioner’s

policy was to settle claims ‘for as low an amount as

possible’ so as to ‘‘save the company money ....”

App. 8a, 733 P.2d, at 1078. No evidence was admitted

regarding the number of times the ‘“‘clean-up’”’ fee had

been deducted with respect to other claims. During

the trial, however, the following colloquy took place

between respondents’ counsel and one of the wit-

nesses:

Q. If Allstate has 100,000 total loss claims

every year, and they take $35 off on each

one of those, that amounts to $3,500,000,

doesn’t it?

A. If you say so. 1 can’t figure that far.

App. 18a, 733 P.2d, at 1083 n.9.

After the jury returned its verdict, petitioner moved

for judgment notwithstanding the verdict and, in the

alternative, for a new trial on a variety of grounds,

including the excessiveness of the punitive damage

award’ and the trial court’s errors in admitting the

testimony of petitioner’s three former employees. In

a memorandum order granting these alternative mo-

tions, App. 48a-50a, the trial court expressly held,

inter alia, that the verdict against petitioner for com-

mitting the tort of bad faith was not justified by the

evidence; that punitive damages were not warranted:

that ‘‘the damages are excessive”; that the verdict

was the result of passion and prejudice on the part

of the jury; and that the court had committed error

2 In its memorandum filed in support of its alternative motion,

petitioner argued that the punitive damage award was more than

230 times the size of the award for compensatory damages and

that the excessiveness of the award as a matter of law was

virtually self-evident.

Pon cieeesn ele

in admitting the testimony of the three former em-

ployees. App. 49a-50a.

On respondents’ appeal to the Court of Appeals,

that court concluded that the testimony of two of the

three former employees was admissible but that the

testimony of Mr. Boettcher was inadmissible under

Rule 404(a), Arizona Rules of Evidence, because it

constituted character evidence which was not suffi-

ciently similar to or contemporaneous with the actual

experience of respondents to qualify for admission

under Rule 404(b) as evidence of a pattern of bad

faith conduct by petitioner. App. 39a.

The Court of Appeals rejected respondents’ argu-

ment that the $3,500,000 punitive damage award could

be sustained on the theory that it bore a “reasonable

relationehip to the nature of the misconduct, All-

state’s profit from such misconduct, its history,

wealth, and income, and the deterrent effect fof that

award].” App. 44a. The Court of Appeals determined

that petitioner’s conduct could be found to be “‘op-

pressive’ as a matter of Arizona law, and therefore

sufficient to sustain a punitive damage award, only

if petitioner was shown at trial to have engaged in

a “corporate policy, sufficient to constitute a pattern,

whereby an insurer chisels an amount small enough

from each claimant such that only the occasional per-

son will object and litigate the matter.’’ App. 4a.

The Court of Appeals held that ‘‘where punitive dam-

ages are based on wrongful corporate policies which

are profit oriented, the supporting evidence [regard-

ing the amount of punitive damages] must go far

beyond informed speculation.” App. 46a.

Finding that the only portion of the record re-

garding the “profits’’ petitioner might have realized

from its $35 “clean-up” deduction practice was the

speculation of respondents’ counsel in the question

quoted above, at p. 6, a majority of the Court of

Appeals held that “‘the amount of punitive damages

is not justified by the evidence,” id., and affirmed

the trial court’s grant of a new trial. Because it found

a basis for sustaining the grant of a new trial on this

ground, the Court of Appeals did not reach the ques-

tions whether the punitive damage award was oth-

erwise excessive or whether the verdict was the result

of passion and prejudice. One member of the Court

of Appeals would have affirmed the grant of judgment

notwithstanding the verdict. App. 47a.

On December 17, 1985 respondents filed in the court

below a Petition for Review of the Court of Appeals’

decision. In the questions presented by respondents

for review, which are reprinted in full infra, App.

66a-67a, respondents did not present to the Supreme

Court of Arizona the questions whether the punitive

damage award was ‘“‘excessive” or whether the ver-

dict was the result of “passion and prejudice’ —

grounds for the grant of the motion for new trial

which had not been passed on by the Court of

Appeals. In that petition, respondents did assert that

Mr. Boettcher’s testimony was admissible to show the

“duration” of petitioner’s alleged pattern of miscon-

duct and that review should be granted on that ques-

tion because “[nJo Arizona decision specifically

indicates whether or not duration of misconduct is a

factor ... in assessing punitive damages.”’ App. 67a.

Respondents also argued that they were not required

to introduce evidence regarding the amount of

petitioner’s ill-gotten ‘‘profits” in order to sustain a

punitive damage award. Respondents acknowledged

that there was ‘“‘no controlling Arizona decision” on

this point, App. 67a, and sought review so that the

court below could “clarify that rule ....’’ App. 72a.

The court below scheduled, oral argument on

respondents’ Petition for Review to determine

whether the case presented issues not presented by

two other cases then pending on its docket, Linthi-

cum v. Nationwide Life Insurance Co., 150 Ariz. 326,

723 P.2d 675 (1986), and Rawlings v. Apodaca, 151

Ariz. 149, 726 P.2d 565 (1986). Oral argument was

presented to the court below in both Linthicum and

the case at bar on May 1, 1986. On July 23, 1986,

the court below handed down its decision in Linthi-

cum, holding that punitive damages may not be

awarded in Arizona unless proof of liability is estab-

lished by “clear and convincing” evidence.

B. The Presentation of the Federal Questions

On May 16, 1986, petitioner filed in the court below

a motion for leave to file a ‘‘supplemental”’ brief in

order to brief a number of issues of state law and

“the federal constitutional implications of the manner

in which this punitive damage award was imposed

....” App. 22a, 733 P.2d, at 1085-86. That motion

was necessary because more than three years had

elapsed since the parties had filed briefs in the case

and, under Arizona practice, the court below disposes

of cases in which it grants review on the basis of the

briefs filed in the intermediate appellate court unless

one or both of the parties request permission to file

“supplemental” briefs or the court directs the parties

to do so sua sponte. Petitioner’s motion was granted

and its Supplemental Brief was filed on June 11, 1986.

In its Supplemental Brief, petitioner drew the at-

tention of the court below to this Court’s then-recent

10

decision in Aetna Life Insurance Co. v. Lavoie, No.

84-1601 (Apr. 22, 1986), 106 S. Ct. 1580 (1986).

Petitioner argued that punitive damages constitute a

criminal penalty and expressly invoked what it char-

acterized as the ‘‘due process” argument in Lavoie—

that the excessive size of the award in this case was

attributable to the lack of sufficient standards for

assessing the size of punitive damage awards in Ar-

izona. Petitioner also argued that it was entitled, un-

der the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment, to the federal constitutional protections

accorded to defendants in criminal cases because pu-

nitive damages in Arizona are imposed to punish and

deter and therefore constitute a criminal penalty. Fi-

nally, petitioner argued that the Due Process Clause

prohibits the imposition of punitive damages absent

“clear and convincing”’ evidence of the underlying li-

ability.

On February 27, 1987, the court below handed down

its decision, vacating the decision of the Court of

Appeals and remanding the case for reinstatement of

the jury’s verdict. In addressing the admissibility of

Mr. Boettcher’s testimony, the court applied its newly

formulated substantive test for punitive damages

adopted on July 22, 1986 in Rawlings v. Apodaca,

151 Ariz. 149, 726 P.2d 565 (1986), to justify an ex-

pansion of Rule 404(b), Ariz. R. Ev. The court then

determined that the testimony was also admissible on

the issue of the “sum of punitive damages’ to be

imposed by the jury because it constituted ‘direct

evidence of the duration of Allstate’s misconduct

.... App. 15a, 783 P.2d, at 1082. ;

1]

With respect to the punitive damage award, the

court below held that Arizona law does not require

any evidence of the profits realized by a defendant

from its misconduct to sustain a punitive damage

award. Following this rationale, the court reversed

the contrary decision of the Court of Appeals on this

point. App. 18a, 733 P.2d, at 1083.

The court below then proceeded to reach several

additional questions which had not been addressed by

the Court of Appeals and had not been presented in

respondents’ Petition for Review. First, the court held

that ‘the amount of punitive damages awarded ...

is neither so excessive nor unreasonable ... as to

show passion or prejudice” on the part of the jury.

App. 20a, 733 P.2d, at 1084. Regarding the amount

of the award, the court next observed that, in Ari-

zona, a punitive damage award is acceptable if it does

not ‘“shock the conscience of the court’” and does

“not financially kill the defendant.” Jd. The court

then went on to observe that it had previously ‘‘up-

held punitive damage awards representing a greater

percentage of the defendant’s wealth against claims

of excessiveness.” App. 20a, 733 P.2d, at 1084-85.

By virtue of these holdings on issues not decided by

the Court of Appeals and not included as questions

in respondents’ Petition for Review, the court below

positioned itself to reinstate the jury’s verdict by elim-

inating the remaining grounds supporting the trial

court’s grant of a new trial.

The court below then turned to petitioner’s federal

constitutional challenges to the punitive damage

award. The court acknowledged that its practice in

the past had been to consider “issues of ‘general

statewide’ significance’ on appeal “as an exception

12

to the general rule that an appellate court will not

consider issues not raised in the trial court.” App.

23a, 733 P.2d, at 1086. Without contesting the dis-

senting Justice’s assertion that the federal questions

raised by petitioner were ones of great statewide and

national significance, App. 33a, 733 P.2d, at 1090,

the court below held, sua sponte and as a matter of

first impression, that whether it would reach a con-

stitutional question raised for the first time in that

court was in its absolute discretion:

Thus, while we agree that this court has the

power to consider the constitutional issues

raised by Allstate, we decline to exercise that

power in this case.

App. 24a, 733 P.2d, at 1086.

Justice Holohan, in dissent, pointed out that the

$3,500,000 punitive damage award is three and one-

half times the maximum fine imposable in Arizona for

the commission of the most serious felony recognized

by the legislature. App. 3la, 733 P.2d, at 1089. Jus-

tice Holohan also recognized that there “appear to

be strong arguments ... that due process requires

... maximum limits [on punitive damage awards] be-

cause of [their] penal nature ....”’ App. 33a, 733

P.2d, at 1090.

Finally, the court considered another dispositive is-

sue which had not been briefed or argued by the

parties. That issue arose as a result of the court’s

holding in Linthicum v. Nationwide Life Insurance

Co., supra, in July of 1986, that the same “clear and

convincing” evidence standard of proof which had

been urged upon it by petitioner in this case under

the federal and Arizona constitutions would be ap-

13

plied to punitive damage cases as a matter of state

“policy.” The issue was whether the standard adopted

in Linthicum would be applied to the case at bar.

The court acknowledged that ‘‘[iJn Arizona, a civil

opinion is presumed to operate retroactively,’’ App.

25a, 733 P.2d, at 1087, and that retroactive appli-

cation of the Linthicum standard of proof to this case

would not result in unfairness to respondents, who

had no “right”’ to punitive damages and who ‘“‘the-

oretically [had been] fully compensated for their actual

injury ....” App. 27a, 733 P.2d, at 1088. Nonethe-

less, the court below held that Linthicum’s “clear and

convincing” evidence standard would not be applied

to this case. This result was said to arise from the

court’s purported concern about “‘the potential burden

on the judicial system from further litigation where

claims have been disposed of by prior litigation ....”

App. 27a-28a, 783 P.2d, at 1088. Without any dis-

cussion of the number of cases which might be af-

fected, the court below determined that Linthicum

would not be applied if a verdict or judgment had

been entered prior to September 15, 1986 and “‘there

is no reason to require a new trial other than appli-

cation of the new burden of proof.” App. 28a, 733

P.2d, at 1088.

In refusing to apply Linthicum to this case, the

court below ignored the fact that petitioner had come

into that court entitled to a new trial and arguing

that it was entitled te a “clear and convincing” stand-

ard of proof. On the other hand, the appellant in

Linthicum had not even raised the ‘‘clear and con-

vincing”’ evidence issue in its Petition for Review;

rather, the parties had been directed by the court

below, sua sponte, to brief and argue that question.

14

150 Ariz., at 327, 723 P.2d, at 676. Justice Holohan,

in dissent, concluded that all of the factors previously

identified by that court as relevant to the “retroac-

tivity” issue favored retroactive application. App. 30a,

733 P.2d, at 1089.

After the decision of the court below, petitioner

filed a timely ‘Motion for Reconsideration.” In that

motion, petitioner pointed out that, by refusing to

reach petitioner’s federal constitutional arguments,

the court had failed to recognize that those arguments

were advanced in support of the judgment of the trial

court under which petitioner was entitled to a new

trial. Because of this, if petitioner prevailed on any

of its federal questions, it would not have expanded

its rights under that judgment nor contracted those

of respondents. App. 58a-55a. Thus, petitioner argued

that the court below was required to consider its

federal constitutional challenge to the excessiveness

of the punitive damage award and the manner in

which that award had been imposed because that court

had adopted and followed the familiar rule that an

appellee is free, without filing a cross-appeal, to raise

arguments on appeal in support of the judgment be-

low so long as those arguments neither expand its

rights nor contract the appellant’s rights under the

judgment from which the appeal has been taken. E.g.,

Maricopa County v. Corporation Commission of Ar-

wzona, 79 Ariz. 307, 310, 289 P.2d 188, 185 (1955).

In addition, petitioner argued for the first time—and

at its first opportunity to do so—that the refusal of

the court below to apply the Linthicum “clear and

convincing”’ evidence standard to its case violated the

Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment.

et i Tara

15

App. 55a-58a. Petitioner’s motion was denied with-

out opinion. App. 51a.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Each of the questions presented herein raises fun-

damental federal constitutional issues regarding the

manner in which punitive damage awards are as-

sessed in civil actions in Arizona and all other States

which recognize punitive damages. Question 1 pre-

sented herein is presently sub judice in this Court in

Bankers Life and Casualty Co.-v. Crenshaw, No. 85-

1765 (prob. juris. noted Mar. 9, 1987), 107 S. Ct. 1367

(1987). This question is manifestly deserving of plen-

ary consideration, having been described by this Court

as raising an “important issue[ ] which, in an appro-

priate setting, must be resolved.” Aetna Life Insur-

ance Co. v. Lavoie, slip op., at 13, 106 S. Ct., at

1589.

The remaining questions presented by petitioner are

not yet before the Court. Before discussing the im-

portance of those questions, petitioner shall address

the question whether this Court’s jurisdiction under

28 U.S.C. § 1257(3) may properly be invoked not-

withstanding that the court below expressly refused

to reach any of the federal questions raised by

petitioner in its “supplemental” brief filed in that

court and that the court did not expressly decide any

of the federal questions renewed, or raised initially,

in petitioner’s Motion for Reconsideration.

A. Jurisdiction

1. The Asserted Basis for Refusal To Reach the Federal

Questions Is an Inadequate State Ground and Does Not

Defeat This Court’s Jurisdiction

In a series of cases going back almost five decades,

the court below has made it clear to litigants in Ar-

16

izona that it has the power to decide issues raised

for the first time on appeal and that it will do so if

the issues are sufficiently important. Town of South

Tucson v. Board of Supervisors, 52 Ariz. 575, 84 P.2d

581 (1938). In 1971, the court below reiterated that

although as a general matter it will not decide issues

raised for the first time in that court, it will hear

such issues if they are of “general statewide signif-

icance.”’ Ruth v. Industrial Commission, 107 Ariz.

572, 574, 490 P.2d 828, 830 (1971). In Ruth, the court

entertained and decided a state constitutional chal-

lenge to an Arizona statute raised in neither the trial

court nor the court of appeals.

In 1984, the court below characterized this practice

as ‘‘a well recognized exception’’ to the general rule

when! it decided a dispositive issue of state consti-

tutional law which had been raised for the first time

in a motion for rehearing in the court of appeals.

Barrio v. San Manuel Division Hospital for Magma

Copper Co., 143 Ariz. 101, 692 P.2d 280 (1984). In

Barrio, the court allowed the parties to file supple-

mental briefs, noting that resolution of the constitu-

tional issue did not turn on “disputed” facts. The

court struck down the challenged Arizona statute in

that case. Jd., at 107, 692 P.2d, at 286.

In this case, the court below did not dispute in any

way—nor could it have done so—that petitioner’s fed-

eral questions comprise isSues of “general statewide

significance” for purposes of applying the court’s own

“well recognized exception.”” Nor did the court below

suggest that it needed any additional facts in order

to decide petitioner’s federal questions (which are, in

any event, not dependent on facts). Instead, after

granting petitioner’s motion to brief the issues, the

ote Set

17

court unexpectedly departed from its ‘‘well recog-

nized’? rule and asserted absolute discretion not to

consider an issue of statewide significance raised for

the first time on appeal:

We hold that consideration of a constitu-

tional issue raised for the first time on appeal

is discretionary with this court. This is not

a case involving denial of a fundamental con-

stitutional right in a criminal trial nor con-

tentions which affect the jurisdiction of the

court, and we do not feel compelled to ex-

ercise our discretion.

App. 24a, 733 P.2d, at 1086.°

This Court’s cases establish that a state rule re-

garding the proper presentation of federal questions

may not be invoked successfully to deny this Court

jurisdiction over a case unless that state rvie is

“strictly or regularly” followed. Barr v. City of Co-

lumbia, 378 U.S. 146, 149 (1954). Until the decision

of this case by the court below, the rule in Arizona

was clear: the Supreme Court of Arizona had juris-

diction to entertain questions raised for the first time

on appeal and would exercise that jurisdiction if the

question presented for the first time on appeal was

one of general statewide significance. The complete

3 By holding that this case did not involve a “fundamental

constitutional right in a criminal trial,” the court below implicitly

rejected on the merits petitioner’s federal constitutional argu-

ment that because of the penal nature of the punitive damage

award, it was entitled to all of the federal constitutional pro-

tections accorded to criminal defendants. Thus, at a minimum,

the court below erroneously applied its new rule to this case

because freedom from excessive fines is clearly a right available

under the Eighth Amendment to all defendants in criminal cases.

a Se Te

18

departure from that settled rule in this case cannot,

under Barr, constitute a basis for divesting this Court

of its jurisdiction over the substantial federal ques-

tions raised by petitioner.‘

2. Alternative Basis Requiring Decision of Petitioner’s

Federal Questions by the Supreme Court of Arizona

Although Barr refutes any argument that this Court

does not have jurisdiction over this case, petitioner

would add that its presentation of the federal ques-

tions was also fully consistent with the rule of the

court below that an appellee, without filing a cross-

appeal or cross-petition, may raise on appeal any ar-

gument in support of the judgment below so long as

that argument would not, if successful, expand its

rights under the judgment or contract the rights of

the appellant. See, e.g., Maricopa County v. Corpo-

ration Commission of Arizona, 79 Ariz. 307, 289 P.2d

183 (1955).5

‘The assertion of the court below that it has absolute discre-

tion to hear or not to hear questions raised for the first time

on appeal is itself insufficient to constitute an adequate state

ground for defeating this Court’s jurisdiction because it vests

too much discretion in the court below to discriminate against

the presentation of federal questions. See Sullivan v. Little Hunt-

ing Park, Inc., 396 U.S. 229, 234 (1969) (procedural rule re-

quiring “‘reasonable notice’ to opposing counsel “more properly

deemed discretionary than jurisdictional’ because “‘reasonabie”’

is subject to a variety of interpretations; rule therefore cannot

“bar review [in this Court] by certiorari’’).

* In Maricopa County, the Supreme Court of Arizona embraced

the classic formulation of this principle articulated by Justice

Brandeis in United States v. American Railway Express Co.,

265 U.S. 425 (1924). As stated by Justice Brandeis, an appellee

may “‘‘urge in support of a decree any matter appearing in the

record, although his argument may involve an attack upon: the

° 19

There is no doubt that the favorable resolution of

petitioner’s federal constitutional questions would not

have enhanced its right to a new trial or diminished

respondents’ rights under the trial court’s judgment

as affirmed by the Court of Appeals. It is clear in

Arizona that if a jury verdict is ‘‘excessive,’’ a new

trial on punitive damages is appropriate. Excessive-

ness was a ground for the trial court’s grant of |

petitioner’s motion for a new trial. App. 49a. There-

fore, petitioner was entitled in the Court of Appeals

and the Supreme Court of Arizona to argue exces-

siveness under any theory as long as its argument,

if successful, would not expand its right to a new

trial. As noted above, petitioner argued successfully

to the trial court that the punitive damage award was

excessive because it was grossly disproportionate to

the compensatory damage award. In the court below,

petitioner did nothing more than raise federal grounds

by which the trial court could have reached precisely

the same result using essentially the same analysis.*

The compelling need to apply this principle to this

ease is obvious because, as discussed above, the court

below stripped petitioner of its state-law right to a

reasoning of the lower court or an insistence upon matter over-

looked or ignored by it.”’ Id., at 435 (footnote omitted).

6 Because Arizona courts apply the salutary rule that consti-

tutional questions should be decided only if there is a necessity

for doing so, eg., State v. Yslas, 189 Ariz. 60, 63, 676 P.2d

1118, 1121 (1984), there is no reason to believe that either the

trial court or the Court of Appeals would have resolved

petitioner’s federal questions had they been presented to those

courts. The necessity for deciding petitioner’s federal questions

did not even arise until the court below determined that

petitioner was not entitled as a matter of state law to a new

trial of this case.

20

new trial granted by the trial court and affirmed by

the Court of Appeals by reaching and deciding ad-

versely to petitioner questions regarding the exces-

siveness of the punitive damage award which were

not even presented by respondents to the court below

in their Petition for Review. This Court should not

permit state courts to manipulate its jurisdiction

through the revision, misapplication and failure to ap-

ply state rules regarding proper presentation of fed-

eral (and state-law) questions as occurred in this case.”

B. The Questions Presented Are Important, Recurring

Questions of Federal Constitutional Law That Should

Be Settled by This Court

1. The Excessiveness of the $3,500,000 Punitive Damage

Award

As stated by the court below, the purposes of the

punitive damage award in this case, as in any case,

’ Because, as discussed in the text above, petitioner could not

have anticipated that the court below would reinstate the jury’s

verdict based on its resolution of questions in respondents’ favor

which had been decided adversely to respondents by the trial

court, not ruled on by the Court of Appeals and not presented

as questions for review in respondents’ Petition for Review in

the court below, petitioner would in any event be entitled, under

this Court’s decision in Brinkerhoff-Faris Trust Co. v. Hill, 281

U.S. 673, 677-78 (1930), to raise all of its federal questions for

the first time in this Court.

In addition, it is clear that Question 4 did not arise until the

court below had determined, sua sponte, that it would not apply

its decision in Linthicum to this case without giving petitioner

the opportunity to brief or argue that question.

ied oh be

21

are “‘not to compensate the plaintiff, but to express

society’s disapproval of outrageous conduct,’’ App.

lla, 733 P.2d, at 1080, and to “‘punish the defendant

and serve as an example to deter future similar mis-

conduct.” App. 19a, 733 P.2d, at 1084. In Arizona,

the maximum monetary punishment that could have

been inflicted on petitioner if it had been convicted,

after a criminal trial accompanied by all of the rights

and procedural safeguards accorded to criminal

defendants, of a deceptive business practice would

have been $20,000.8 Thus, petitioner suffered the im-

position of a fine 175 times as great as it could have

received at the conclusion of a criminal trial for what

would appear to be roughly analogous conduct.

In addition, as petitioner argued to the trial court

in successfully urging that the punitive damage award

was excessive, the award is 233 times as great as

the award for compensatory damages. This punitive

fine was imposed in a civil action in which no limit

had been placed on the verdict the jury could return.

Indeed, in Arizona the “gentle rule that [punitive

damages] not be excessive,” Gertz v. Robert Welch,

Inc., 418 U.S. 323, 350 (1974), means that an appel-

8 Arizona punishes the commission of deceptive business prac-

tices as “class 1” misdemeanors, Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 13-

2202 (1978), which carry a fine of up to $20,000. § 13-803 (Cum.

Supp. 1986). Under Arizona law, all or a portion of that criminal

fine may be paid over to any person who suffered damage be-

cause of the crime. In determining the amount of restitution,

the court cannot take into consideration the ‘‘economic circum-

stances of the defendant.” Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 13-804C (Cum.

Supp. 1986). As pointed out by Justice Holohan in dissent below,

the highest monetary fine imposed by the legislature of Arizona

for any criminal offense is $1,000,000. App. 3la, 733 P.2d, at

1089.

a

22

late court may intervene to reduce an award only if

the award will “kill” the defendant. App. 20a, 733

P.2d, at 1084.

As appellant Bankers Life and Casualty Company

has demonstrated in its opening brief in this Court,

the concept of proportionality carried from Chapter

20 of Magna Carta into the Eighth Amendment pro-

vides far more protection from the infliction of ex-

cessive monetary punishment than simply preservation

of the financial life of the defendant. Bankers Life

and Casualty Co. v. Crenshaw, Br. of Appellant, at

25-27, 36-39. By any standard this Court might adopt

in that case or the case at bar, the punishment in-

flicted on petitioner is constitutionally excessive.

Furthermore, the jury’s award in this case was rein-

stated only after an extraordinary exercise by the

court below of judicial gymnastics in which the rules

of the game were changed or ignored wherever nec-

essary in order to reinstate the excessive award. The

court held, for the first time, that the “duration” of

the alleged conduct warranting the imposition of pu-

nitive damages is an appropriate consideration in de-

termining the amount of punitive damages which

Should be assessed. App. 15a, 733 P.2d, at 1085. This

holding of substance was then relied upon by the court

below both to justify its refusal to set aside the award

as excessive and to justify the admission of the tes-

timony of a former employee who had not worked

for petitioner for fifteen years, the wrongful admis-

sion of which had been one of the bases for the trial

court’s grant of petitioner’s motion for a new trial

and the affirmance of that grant by the Court of

Appeals. Finally, in order to reinstate the jury ver-

dict, the court below had to decide in respondents’

23

favor two crucial questions that had not been pre-

sented to the court by respondents, while simulta-

neously disallowing petitioner’s attempt to invoke the

protections of the federal constitution for the limited

purpose of preserving its right to a new trial.

Whatever may be said of the due process impli-

cations of these and other similar actions set forth

above in the context of the imposition of compensa-

tory damages, the imposition of a $3,500,000 punitive

fine in this fashion surely is violative of the Due Pro-

cess Clause. The standards and rules under which this

award was reinstated produced the opposite of the

certainty which this Court has required when criminal

penalties are to be imposed. See generally Kolender

v. Lawson, 461 U.S. 352, 359 n.8 (1983). Petitioner

had no fair warning that its conduct in 1979 could

lead, in 1987, to reinstatement of a jury verdict that

was sustained under legal standards that were non-

existent in 1979. This violation of due process was

compounded by the jury’s exercise of its uncontrolled

discretion to assess punitive damages in a virtually

unlimited amount, acting with carte blanche to impose

a punitive fine based upon ‘“‘their own notions of what

the law should be ....’”’ Giaccio v. Pennsylvania, 382

L.S. 399, 403 (1966). This Court should grant

certiorari in order to make clear to all state courts

that the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment precludes the administration of a system

of punitive justice in this fashion.

24

2. The Question Whether Punitive Damages May Be Im-

posed Without According Federal Constitutional Pro-

tections Due to Defendants in Criminal Cases Should

Be Decided by This Court

Punitive damages in Arizona, as in other jurisdic-

tions, comprise a governmentally sponsored system

for imposing penal fines for the purposes of enforcing

society's standards through punishment and deter-

rence. In Kennedy v. Mendoza-Martinez, 372 U.S. 144,

165-66 (1963), this Court struck down a federal stat-

ute under which persons were punished with loss of

citizenship in proceedings that did not afford them

the procedural safeguards guaranteed by the Fifth

and Sixth Amendments. Since that case was decided,

this Court has made clear that the imposition of a

monetary penalty, without more, may also require the

State to provide the same procedural protections as

are available to defendants in criminal cases. United

States v. Ward, 448 U.S. 242, 248-51 (1980).

There can be no dispute that punitive damages are

imposed in Arizona solely for the purposes of pun-

ishment and deterrence. As observed by Justice Ho-

lohan below in this case, jurors in Arizona “are told

that the purpose of punitive damages is to punish the

defendant and to deter others. This also is the pur-

pose of the criminal law.” App. 31a, 733 P.2d, at

1089 (Holohan, J., dissenting). This Court has also

commented on the close relationship between punitive

damages and fines imposed in criminal cases, stating

that

[p]unitive damages ‘‘are not compensation for

injury. Instead, they are private fines levied

by civil juries to punish reprehensible conduct

and to deter its future occurrence.”’

25

Electrical Workers v. Foust, 442 U.S. 42, 48 (1979),

quoting Gertz v. Robert Welch, Inc., 418 U.S., at 350.

Indeed, as Justice Marshall has observed, punitive

damages “serve the same function as criminal pen-

alties and are in effect private fines.” Rosenbloom v.

Metromedia, Inc., 403 U.S. 29, 82 (1971) (dissenting

opinion).

Question 2—whether ‘‘a punitive ‘fine’ should be

imposed after a civil tria ” Smith v. Wade, 461 U.S.

30, 59 (1983) (Rehnquist, J., dissenting) (emphasis

added)—is manifestly of great importance and worthy

of plenary consideration by this Court in the case at

bar. By permitting the award of punitive damages to

private plaintiffs, the States have, for all practical

purposes, conferred on those plaintiffs the power to

prosecute defendants for “reprehensible” conduct and

to impose monetary punishments on defendants which

are constitutionally indistinguishable from the puni-

tive fines imposed after conviction in a criminal trial.

This civil imposition of criminal punishment cannot

be reconciled with this Court’s cases, which require

that before the States may impose sanctions in order

to punish and deter antisocial conduct, the guarantees

of the Fifth and Sixth Amendments must be accorded

to the defendant.

3. The Question Whether Punitive Damages May, Under

the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment,

Be Imposed Only After Liability Is Demonstrated by

“Clear and Convincing’’ Evidence Should Be Resolved

by This Court

Like the court below in Linthicum v. Nationwide

26

Life Insurance Co., supra, a number of state courts?

and state legislatures’ have recognized the- penal

function served by punitive damages and the arbitrary

fashion in which punitive damages are imposed—being

“frequently based upon the caprice and prejudice of

jurors,’ Smith v. Wade, 461 U.S., at 59 (Rehnquist,

J., dissenting). Accordingly, these courts and legis-

latures have determined that punitive damages should

not be imposed absent clear and convincing evidence

of liability for such damages.

This Court has similarly recognized that the Due

Process Clause requires a higher standard of proof

when persons are at risk of being deprived of certain

types of rights. See Santosky v. Kramer, 455 U.S.

745 (1982) (clear and convincing evidence required in

order to support extinguishment of parent-child re-

lationship); Addington v. Texas, 441 U.S. 418 (1979)

(clear and convincing evidence required to support

involuntary commitment). This Court has also rec-

°E.9., Tuttle v. Raymond, 494 A.2d 1353, 1363 (Me. 1985);

Travelers Indemnity Co. v. Armstrong, 442 N.E.2d 2d 349, 362-

63 (Ind. 1982); Wangen v. Ford Motor Co., 97 Wis. 2d 260, 294

N.W. 2d 487 (1980).

0 E.g., Act of the State of Alabama, H.27, 1 (June 9, 1987):

Alas. Stat. § 09.17.020 (Supp. 1986); Minn. Stat. Ann. § 549.20

(Supp. 1987); Mont. Code Ann. § 27-1-221(2) (1986); Ore. Rev.

Stat. Ann. § 30.925 (1983); Fla. Stat. Ann. § 768.73 (Supp. 1987)

(clear and convincing evidence required to sustain punitive dam-

age awards greater than three times the amount of actual dam-

ages); Okla. Stat. Ann., Title 23, § 9 (1987) (clear and convincing

evidence required to sustain punitive damage awards in excess

of actual damages). The Colorado legislature has gone even fur-

ther, requiring proof beyond a reasonable doubt to sustain a

punitive damage award. Colo. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 13-25-127(2)

(Supp. 1986).

27

ognized that where criminal penalties are to be im-

posed, “‘the standard of certainty is higher.’’ Kolender

v. Lawson, 461 U.S. 352, 359 n.8 (1983).

This Court should decide in this case whether the

Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment

requires clear and convincing evidence of a plaintiff's

right to recover punitive damages. Whether or not,

as petitioner argues above, the size of punitive dam-

age awards should be made subject to the restraints

of the Eighth Amendment because of their punitive

purposes, the arbitrariness with which such punish-

ment may be and is routinely imposed implicates sub-

stantial due process considerations. Where the chance

of error is great, this Court has not hesitated to

impose the Due Process Clause as a shield against

arbitrary governmental action. See, e.g., Mathews v.

Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319 (1976). It should do so once

again in this case.

4. This Court Should Decide Whether the Punitive Pur-

poses Advanced by Punitive Damage Awards Require

That Rules Restricting Their Imposition Be Applied to

Cases Pending on Appeal

In Griffith v. Kentucky, 107 S. Ct. 708 (1987), this

Court held that its decisions announcing new federal

constitutional rules for the conduct of criminal pros-

ecutions must, under the Due Process Clause of the

Fourteenth Amendment, be applied retrospectively to

cases pending on direct review or otherwise not yet

final. As the Court observed in Griffith, failure to do

so “violates the principle of treating similarly situated

defendants the same.” Jd., at 713.

If this Court holds, in Bankers Life and Casualty

Co. v. Crenshaw, that the Eighth Amendment applies

to control the size of punitive damage awards in civil

28

cases, the question will necessarily arise whether its

decision will be applied retrospectively to other cases,

like the case at bar, as a matter of constitutional

compulsion or practice.’ Whether the constitutional

dimension of this question is to be governed by the

rule laid down in Griffith, or by the rule established

for civil cases as articulated in Chevron Oil Co. v.

Huson, 404 U.S. 97, 106-07 (1971), is an important

issue which should be decided in this case.

The court below held that it was under no consti-

tutional compulsion to apply its decision in Linthi-

cum—adopting the ‘‘clear and convincing” standard

of proof—“‘retrospectively” to this case. As pointed

out above, this issue had been raised in Linthicum

by the court below sua sponte. It would be difficult

to posit two cases in which two similarly situated

defendants had been subjected to more disparate

treatment than Linthicum and the case at bar. This

Court should decide whether the court below was en-

titled to treat petitioner as a “‘civil’’ defendant for

purposes of its retrospectivity analysis or whether,

instead, petitioner was entitled, as a matter of federal

constitutional right, to ‘‘retrospective’’"? application of

This Court’s decision in Henry v. Collins, 380 U.S. 356

(1965) (per curiam), which applied retrospectively the constitu-

tional rules announced in its decision in New York Times Co.

v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254 (1964), establishes that petitioner is

in any event entitled to the benefits of any ruling favorable to

Bankers Life and Casualty Co. in No. 85-1765 as a matter of

this Court’s settled practice.

2 As is evident from the circumstances discussed above, the

evidentiary rule announced in Linthicum was not “applied”’ to

the case at bar solely because the court below chose to use

Linthicum as the vehicle for announcing this new evidentiary

= en ee

ee eee ee

29

Linthicum because the rule announced in Linthicum,

although grounded on state “policy,” nevertheless af-

fected directly the circumstances under which essen-

tially criminal punishment was and is to be

administered in Arizona. In an area of the law in

which the rules are being modified constantly as re-

gards the imposition of punishment, it is particularly

important for this Court to clarify the circumstances

under which similarly situated defendants may be sub-

jected to different punishments on the basis of the

“selective application of new rules ....” Griffith v.

Kentucky, 107 S. Ct., at 718.

CONCLUSION

The questions presented by petitioner are substan-

tial and arise on a daily basis in litigation occurring

throughout the United States. As the dissenting Jus-

tice below noted, these questions ‘‘will not disappear.”

App. 33a, 733 P.2d, at 1090. The petition should be

granted and these questions set for plenary consid-

eration.

July 6, 1987 Respectfully submitted,

*THEODORE B. OLSON

LARRY L. SIMMS

GIBSON, DUNN & CRUTCHER

1050 Connecticut Ave., N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 955-8500

Attorneys for Petitioner

*Counsel of Record

standard rather than this case, which was argued to the court

below on the same day as Linthicum.

30

Of Counsel:

MARK I. HARRISON

DOUGLAS L. CHRISTIAN

MARY E. BERKHEISER

HARRISON & LERCH, P.C.

1001 North Central Avenue

Suite 900

Phoenix, Arizona 85004

(602) 257-5800

APPENDIX

la

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE

OF ARIZONA

Supreme Court

No. CV-86-0010-PR

Court of Appeals

No.1 CA-CIV 6881

Maricopa County

No. C-432754

JACK RANDY HAWKINS and CYNTHIA HAWKINS, husband

and wife,

Plaintiffs-A ppellants,

VS.

ALLSTATE INSURANCE INSURANCE COMPANY, a foreign cor-

poration, and Does I through V,

Defendant-A ppellee.

Appeal from the Superior Court of Maricopa County

The Honorable David J. Perry, Judge

REVERSED AND REMANDED

FILED

FEB 26 1987

Memorandum Decision of the Court of Appeals

Filed August 13, 1985

Vacated

2a

Thur, Dawson & O'Sullivan Phoenix

By; Calvin C. Thur

Attorneys for Plaintiffs-Appellants

Harrison & Lerch, P.C. Phoenix

By: Mark I. Harrison

Douglas L. Christian

Attorneys for Defendant-Appellee

Allstate Insurance Company

GORDON, Chief Justice

Jack and Cynthia Hawkins (Hawkins) petitioned this

court to review a decision of the court of appeals reversing

the trial court’s grant of a motion for judgment notwith-

standing the verdict in favor of Allstate Insurance Com-

pany (Allstate) and affirming the trial court’s grant of

Allstate’s motion for a new trial. Hawkins v. Allstate In-

surance Company, No. 1 CA-CIV 6881 (Ariz.Ct.App. filed

Aug. 13, 1985). We granted review to determine the ad-

missibility of an insurer’s past claims practices and policies

and to examine the quantum of proof necessary to sustain

an award of punitive damages. Rule 23, Ariz.R.Civ.App.P.,

17A A.R.S. In its supplemental brief, Allstate questioned

the constitutionality of the manner by which punitive dam-

ages are imposed. We have jurisdiction pursuant to Ariz.

Const. art. 6, §5(3) and A.R.S. §12-120.24.

I. FACTS

In July 1979, the Hawkins purchased a new Chevrolet

Monte Carlo, loaded with options, for approximately

$8,000. Five months after purchasing the Monte Carlo,

Cynthia was involved in an automobile accident that vir-

tually demolished the car.

The Hawkins were insured by Allstate under a standard

automobile liability policy. That policy included a collision

provision limiting Allstate’s liability to either paying the

3a

actual cash value of the car at the time of the loss or to

replacing the car with one of like kind and quality.

The Hawkins reported the accident to A'lstate the day

it happened, December 6, 1979. Within a few days, Allstate

classified the car as a “total loss” after determing that

the actual cash value of the car was less than the estimated

repair cost. The Hawkins’ claim was transferred to a total

loss adjuster, Paul Schwenk. |

According to Allstate’s witnesses, the actual cash value

of a car is its market value. To determine actual cash

value, Allstate’s total loss adjusters first establish a guide

book value by calculating the high retail Blue Book value

of the car and its optional equipment minus deductions for

the car’s condition immediately prior to the loss. Such

deductions represent amounts needed to bring the car to

average retail condition and include deductions for the con-

dition of the exterior of the car, paint, bumpers, uphol-

stery, glass, tires, and clean up. The adjusters then perform

a “market verification” by asking three or four local deal-

erships to estimate the insured car’s worth and sometimes

by checking the selling price of similar cars advertised in

local car magazines. From the range of values resulting

from this procedure, Allstate’s adjusters determine a spe-

cific dollar amount as the actual cash value, apparently

relying most heavily on the low estimates received from

local dealerships.

In the Hawkins’ case, Schwenk determined that the Blue

Book value of the Hawkins’ car was $6,545. Schwenk did

not examine the car and failed to consider many of the

accessories on the insured car. From this figure, Schwenk

deducted a $35 clean-up fee, which resulted in a guide

book value of $6,510. Four dealer estimates of the value

of a similar car ranged from $6,150 to $6,300. These es-

timates were based on Schwenk’s description of the car

and did not reflect all the options on the insured car. The

4a

actual cash value recorded in the Hawkins’ claim file was

$6,165 and was accompanied by the following explanation:

Dealers have replacements, similar equipment but

more miles; say one like this worth $6,200. De-

duction for reconditioning. ACV $6,165.

Schwenk first contacted Hawkins on December 13, 1979,

one week after the accident. At that time, the Hawkins

requested that Allstate provide them with a replacement

car, rather than a sum of money equal to the actual cash

value of their ‘‘totalled’” car. Schwenk sent them to look

at four similar Monte Carlos at a local dealership. Schwenk

would not let the Hawkins have the car they selected

because it was $300 more than Allstate was willing to

pay.’ Instead, Schwenk selected one of the other cars and

insisted that the Hawkins take it. The Hawkins refused

because the car Schwenk selected had few of the options

their insured car had and was not comparable in either

quality or gas mileage.

Four days after Schwenk rejected the car the Hawkins

selected as a replacement, Schwenk told the Hawkins he

would pay them $4,500 in cash unless they took the car

he had selected. The Hawkins refused, explaining that they

had paid over $8,000 for their car five months earlier and

could not purchase a comparable car for $4,500. Later,

during the same conversation, Schwenk threatened to de-

liver a check for $5,000.

By December 20, the Hawkins, desperate for a car,

accepted a check for $6,471, payable to Hawkins and a

local dealership, to purchase the car Schwenk had selected.

It had been approximately a week since the Hawkins

viewed the car, and when Jack Hawkins went to pick up

the car, he again realized the cars were not comparable

‘The evidence is conflicting whether the car the Hawkins selected

was $300 more than the actual cash value of their insured car or $300

more than one of the remaining three cars.

5a

and called Schwenk from the dealership to tell him he did

not want the car. After a lengthy, heated discussion and

assurances from Schwenk that the replacement car would

be brought up to the insured car’s standards after the

holidays, Jack Hawkins reluctantly gave the check to the

dealer.

The replacement car lacked power windows, had a larger

engine and got worse gas mileage, had dealer-installed (not

factory-installed) cruise control, and lacked several styling

features of the original car. After the holidays, Allstate

sent an additional $125 to the Hawkins to install power

windows, but the Hawkins were unable to get the work

done for less than $600. Allstate refused to make any other

adjustments and closed the file. Although no evidence of

the replacement vehicle’s actual cash value was presented,

Allstate conceded on appeal that the list price of the re-

placement vehicle was at least $161.45 less than that of

the insured car.

The Hawkins sued Allstate for fraud and bad faith. At

trial, three former Allstate employees testified about Al-

Istate’s claims procedures and practices. None had any

direct experience with the Hawkins’ claim. In addition,

Schwenk and his supervisor testified.

The trial judge directed a verdict in favor of Allstate

on the fraud count but submitted that bad faith claim to

the jury to consider liability for both compensatory and

punitive damages. The jury awarded the Hawkins $15,000

compensatory damages and $3.5 million punitive damages.

The trial court subsequently granted Allstate’s motion for

judgment notwithstanding the verdict on the ground that

the evidence presented at trial was insufficient to sustain

the verdict. In the alternative, the trial court granted Al-

Istate’s motion for a new trial on five grounds. The court

of appeals held that the trial court erred in entering a

judgment notwithstanding the verdict, but affirmed the

grant of a new trial for two reasons: 1) the testimony of

6a

a former Allstate claims adjuster was improperly admitted,

and 2) the amount of the punitive damages award was not

justified by the evidence.? Hawkins, slip op. at 11, 16.

II. ADMISSIBILITY OF INSURER’S PAST CLAIMS

PRACTICES

During trial, Hawkins called three former Allstate em-

ployees to testify about Allstate’s procedures for handling

total loss claims. Over Allstate’s objection on the grounds

of relevancy, each testified concerning Allstate’s method

of determining the amount of an insured’s loss (the actual

cash value of the property) and general company policies

regarding claims handling.

One former claims representative, Pat Paterno, testified

about Allstate’s claims practices in the Phoenix office at

the time the Hawkins claim was processed. Although she

did not work on the Hawkins claim, Paterno testified that

as a claims representative Allstate instructed her to au-

tomatically make certain deductions in determining a car’s

actual cash value. Specifically, she testified that adjusters

were instructed to deduct an extra $5 for tire wear and

always to deduct a $35 cleaning fee, regardless of the

car’s cleanliness. She testified that her supervisors ex-

plained that a $5 deduction ‘“‘wouldn’t mean much to an

insured or claimant, but $5 on every claim would mean a

lot to the company.”

Another former claims representative, Jan Mauritz, was

employed by Allstate in Tacoma, Washington from 1978

to 1981. Like Paterno, Mauritz testified that he was in-

structed automatically to make certain deductions, includ-

ing a cleaning fee, in valuing a “‘total loss.” He testified

that he was instructed to offer an insured the lowest value

of a claim because the insured probably would take it in

order to get his car fixed quickly. He also testified that

*The Hawkins abandoned their appeal from the directed verdict on

the fraud count. Hawkins, slip op. at 4.

Ta

Allstate used the adjusters’ “severity rating,” a ratio of

total dollars paid out in claims over the number of claims,

to evaluate adjusters’ performance and promotion poten-

tial. Mauritz opined that the claims-handling practices and

policies to which he testified were followed throughout the

company and not merely in the Tacoma office because they

were promulgated through corporate literature and policy

statements. In his opinion, these practices. “may lead to

what one may call chiseling, to calculated offers substan-

tially below fair value... .”

The third former Allstate employee that testified, Wil-

liam Boettcher, was employed by Allstate as a claims ex-

aminer in Phoenix from 1962 to 1964, 15 years before the

Hawkins’ claim. He testified that he was instructed au-

tomatically to take certain deductions on property damage

claims, including amounts for tire wear. He also testified

as to Allstate’s explanation for making the deductions:

Q Was an explanation given as [to] why you

should make various deductions?

A Yes, it was.

Q What explanation was given?

A Basically, that particularly in terms of prop-

erty damage or collision claim, that the owner of

the vehicle was concerned whether or not he was

going to get his vehicle back, how soon he could

! get it repaired and so forth. Therefore, he would

i not perhaps object to some of these small de-

ductions. And you’d be able to settle the claim

at a cheaper rate. The statement was frequently

made that if you could save one dollar on a mil-

lion claims, you would save the company as much

as a million dollars.

Boettcher testified that he heard this explanation from

instructors at an Allstate regional claims school, which he

attended for approximately 2 weeks in 1962, from regional

——————=—

3 > leetiend’ Nae al

8a

claims supervisors, and from his local assistant manager

in the Phoenix office.

Boettcher testified that both the local and regional claims

supervisors’ general policy was to settle claims for as low

an amount as possible. He also testified about the function

of the claims department during his employment: “In gen-

eral terms, I’d say it was perhaps not to settle claims as

much as it was to save the company money, because this

would increase their profits.”

Among other reasons, the trial court granted Allstate’s

motion for a new trial after deciding it had erred in ad-

mitting the testimony of the former Allstate employees.

The trial court did not explain the perceived error, but

only summarily concluded that the testimony of the three

witnesses should not have been admitted.

The court of appeals affirmed the grant of a new trial,

but held that the testimony of only one of the former

employees, William Boettcher, was erroneously admitted.

The appellate court reasoned that Boettcher’s testimony

was inadmissible under Rule 404(b), Ariz. Rules of Evid.,

17A A.R.S.* because Allstate did not deny its acts nor

claim they were unintentional and because the evidence

was irrelevant as the pratices Boettcher described were

not sufficiently similar to the Hawkins’ experience to be

admissible to establish a pattern of bad faith to support

a punitive damages award.

In light of this procedural history, the issue we address

is whether the trial court’s admission of Boettcher’s tes-

* We take this opportunity to voice our objection to such conclusory

rulings because they impair effective appellate review. We urge trial

judges to articulate their reasoning so appellate courts can determine

on appeal whether the ruling was erroneous.

‘The Rules of Evidence, 17A A.R.S., will be referred to as ‘“‘Rule

——’’ throughout this opinion.

9a

timony was an error that justified granting Allstate’s mo-

tion for new trial.

The power to grant a new trial is largely within the

trial court’s discretion, but this power is not unlimited.

King v. Superior Court, 138 Ariz. 147, 151, 673 P.2d 787,

791 (1983). “{I]f it appears clearly from the record that

there was no error in the matters presented in the motion

for new trial, it is an abuse of discretion for the court to

grant a new trial.” Helena Chem. Co. v. Coury Bros.

Ranches, 126 Ariz. 448, 450, 616 P.2d 908, 910 (App.

1980).

A party cannot urge in a motion for new trial that

evidence was erroneously admitted unless a proper objec-

tion, stating the specific ground of the objection, was made

at the time the evidence was offered, unless the error is

fundamental. M. Udall & J. Livermore, Arizona Law of

Evidence, §12, at 14 (2d ed. 1982); see Helena Chem. Co.,

126 Ariz. at 453, 616 P.2d at 913; Rule 103. At trial,

Allstate objected to Boettcher’s testimony only on grounds

of relevancy.’ We disagree with the court of appeals that

Boettcher’s testimony was erroneously admitted because

it was irrelevant.®

A. Relevance

1. Rules of Evidence

Relevant evidence is defined as ‘‘evidence having any

tendency to make the existence of any fact that is of

consequence to the determination of the action more prob-

able or less probable than it would be without the evi-

‘In pre-trial motions, Allstate also objected to Boettcher’s qualifi-

cations as an expert, but his testimony was not offered as expert

opinion evidence.

6 Allstate’s precise objection was that the testimony was “irrelevant

and immaterial.” Modern rules of evidence capture both concepts in

the tern “relevance.” M. Udall & J. Livermore, supra § 81, at 160;

Rule 401.

10a

dence.”” Rule 401. Relevancy is not an_ inherent

characteristic of proffered evidence; instead, it is the re-

lationship between the proffered evidence and the fact

sought to be proved. See M. Udall & J. Livermore, supra,

at 163; 1 Weinstein’s Evidence 4401[03], at 401-17 (1986).

Essentially, relevancy is a two-part test. First, evidence

is relevant only if it relates to a consequential fact; evi-

dence directed to an undisputed issue is irrelevant. What

is at issue in a particular case is determined from the

pleadings and the substantive law. M. Udall & J. Liver-

more, supra, at 161; Weinstein’s Evidence, supra, at 401-

17 to -19. Second, to be relevant, evidence need only alter

the probability, not prove or disprove the existence, of a

consequential fact. M. Udall & J. Livermore, supra, at

162; Weinstein’s Evidence, supra §401[06], at 401-33 to -

36. Allstate’s liability for both the tort of bad faith and

punitive damages was at issue during the trial. Therefore,

evidence that tends to establish a prima facie case of bad

faith or entitlement to punitive damages is relevant.

a. Bad Faith—Prima Facie Case

We recently clarified that tort recovery for bad faith is

allowed if an insurer intentionally breaches the implied

covenant of good faith and fair dealing in the insurance

contract by denying the insured the security and protection

from calamity that is the object of the insurance relation-

ship. Rawlings v. Apodaca, _____ Ariz. , 726 P.2d

565 (1986). To establish a prima facie case of bad faith,

Hawkins had to prove that Allstate acted intentionally,

not inadvertently or mistakenly, and that Allstate dealt

unfairly or dishonestly with the Hawkins’ claim or failed

to give fair and equal consideration to the Hawkins’ in-

terests. Id. at , 726 P.2d at 576.

b. Punitive Damages—Prima Facie Case

Punitive damages are recoverable in insurance bad faith

tort actions only if the insured acted with an “evil mind”

in breaching the implied covenant of good faith and fair

lla

dealing. Rawlings, Ariz. at ——_, 726 P.2d at 578-

79. The requisite evil mind is found if the insurer intended

to injure the insured or consciously pursued a course of

conduct knowing that it created a substantial risk of sig-

nificant harm to the insured. Jd. at ___, 726 P.2d at

578. In addition, the requisite evil mind may be inferred

if the insured’s conduct is sufficiently ‘‘oppressive, out-

rageous or intolerable.’’ Jd. at _—_., 726 P.2d at 578-79.

To recover punitive damages, the plaintiff must also

introduce sufficient evidence to allow the trier-of-fact to

calculate a punitive damage award that is reasonable under

the circumstances. E.g., Nielson v. Flashberg, 101 Ariz.

335, 341, 419 P.2d 514, 520 (1966) Although a precise

laundry list of relevant evidence is impossible, evidence is

properly considered by the trier-of-fact in assessing pu-

nitive damages if it bears upon the purpose and function

of punitive damages. The purpose of punitive damages is

not to compensate the plaintiff, but to express society's

disapproval of outrageous conduct and to deter such con-

duct by the defendant and others in the future. See, ¢.9.,

Nielson v. Flashberg, 101 Ariz. at 341, 419 P.2d at 520;

Acheson v. Shafter, 107 Ariz. 576, 578, 490 P.2d 832, 834

(1971).

One category of relevant evidence is the defendant’s

: financial position. See, e.g., Acheson v. Shafter, 107 Ariz.

at 578, 490 P.2d at 834 (wealth or financial status of

defendant relevant to allow jury to impose an appropriate

punishment), Nielson v. Flashberg, 101 Ariz. at 341, 419

P.2d at 520. Obviously, the goals of punishment and de-

terrence would be circumvented if the financial position of

the defendant allowed it to comfortably absorb the award.

a

Another category of relevant evidence is the nature of

the defendant’s conduct, including the reprehensibility of

the conduct and the severity of the harm likely to result,

as well as the harm that has occurred, from the defendant’s

conduct. See Mallor & Roberts, Punitive Damages: Toward

12a

a Principled Approach, 31 Hastings L.J. 639, 667 (1980);

Owen, Punitive Damages in Products Liability Litigation,

74 Mich. L. Rev. 1257 (1976). The more reprehensible the

act and the more severe the resulting harm, the greater

the award of punitive damages that is reasonable under

the circumstances. The duration of the misconduct, the

degree of defendant’s awareness of the harm of the risk

of harm, and any concealment of it are elements to con-

sider in judging the reprehensibility of the defendant’s

conduct. See Neal v. Farmers Ins. Exchange, 21 Cal.3d

910, ___, 582 P.2d 980, 990, 148 Cal.Rptr. 389, 399,

(1978); Chodos v. Ins. Co. of North America, 126

Cal.App.3d 86, 104, 178 Cal.Rptr. 831, 841 (1981); State

ex rel. Young v. Crookham, 290 Or. 61, ___ , 618 P.2d

1268, 1274 (1980).

A third relevant consideration is the profitability of the

defendant’s conduct. See Cox v. Stolworthy, 94 Idaho 683,

——, 496 P.2d 682, 690 (1972); Wangen v. Ford Motor

Co., 97 Wis.2d 260, , 294 N.W.2d 437, 460 (1980);

Mallor & Roberts, supra, at 667-68. A punitive damage

award that disgorges ill-gotten profits serves to deter fu-

ture similar conduct by eliminating any profit incentive.

These factors are presented only as guidelines to the

character of evidence that is relevant to assessing punitive

damages and should be viewed as neither exhaustive nor

exclusive.* Furthermore, it is well settled that not all rel-

evant evidence is admissible and whether such evidence is

admissible in a particular case depends upon the circum-

stances of that case. See Rules 402-411.

‘ Although the authors advocate that the judge, not the jury, assess

the sum of punitive damages, the evidence discussed here is appropri-

ately considered by the trier-of-fact under Arizona’s procedure for im-

posing punitive damages.

*Some courts and commentators suggest that the jury consider the

plaintiff's litigation expenses in assessing punitive damages. We express

no view on this factor in this case.

Peewee See oi

Chel tn ile

13a

Thus, to establish a prima facie case for the recovery

of punitive damages, Hawkins had to prove that an evil

mind—either a desire to harm or conscious disregard of

the Hawkins’ right to a fair valuation of their property

loss—motivated Allstate’s bad faith conduct. To recover

punitive damages Hawkins also had to establish a factual

basis from which the jury could assess a sum of punitive

damages that would accomplish the goals of punishment

and deterrence. |

2. Application to Present Case

Boettcher’s testimony is relevant both to Allstate’s li-

ability for the tort of bad faith and punitive damages. See

Dunlap v. Jimmy GMC of Tucson, Inc., 136 Ariz. 338, 343,

666 P.2d 83, 88 (App. 1983) (evidence of past deceptive

sales practices relevant to whether those practices are cur-

rently used and to issue of punitive damages). Regarding

Allstate’s liability for bad faith, Boettcher’s testimony is

relevant to whether Allstate acted intentionally. Evidence

of previous, similar acts alters the probability that the

conduct in question was unintentional; the more frequently

an act occurs, the more probable it is intentional. Thus,

Boettcher’s testimony made it more probable that the in-

valid $35 cleaning fee deduction used in estimating the

actual cash value of Hawkins’ loss was not mistakenly nor

inadvertently made.

More importantly, Boettcher’s testimony is relevant both

to establish a prima facie case for recovery of punitive

damages and to assess a sum of punitive damages. We

note that unless the defendant is willing to take the stand

and admit its ‘evil mind,” the plaintiff must prove enti-

tlement to punitive damages with circumstantial evidence.

Thus, whether the defendant intended to injure the plaintiff

or consciously disregarded the plaintiff's rights may be

suggested by a pattern of sir ‘lar unfair practices. Colonial

Life & Acc. Ins. Co. v. Superior Court, 31 Cal.3d 785,

792, 647 P.2d 86, 90, 183 Cal.Rptr. 810, 814 (1982); Moore

l4a

v. American United Life Ins. Col., 150 Cal. App.3d 610,

624-25, 197 Cal.Rptr. 878, 886-87 (1984); see Rawlings v.

Apodaca, ____Ariz. at , 726 P.2d at 578-79 (im-

proper motives may be inferred from sufficiently oppres-

Sive, outrageous or intolerable conduct).

We disagree with the court of appeals that the practices

about which Boettcher testified lacked sufficient similarity

to the Hawkins’ experience and the other adjusters’ tes-

timony to constitute such a pattern. All three former em-

ployees described a policy of routine, automatic deductions,

regardiess of their validity, in valuing an insured’s loss.

Boettcher’s testimony is different because he did not de-

scribe the specific cleaning fee deduction testified to by

Mauritz and Paterno and included in the actual cash value

valuations of the Hawkins’ car. This difference is imma-

terial to the purpose for which the evidence was offered.

Boettcher’s testimony was offered to show that Allstate

engaged in a conscious course of conduct, firmly grounded

in corporate policy, which denied Hawkins and countless

other insureds the actual cash value of their property. The

evidence was not offered to establish any particular con-

duct regarding the Hawkins’ claim. This testimony was

offered to explain Allstate’s motive or its state of mind

when dealing with the Hawkins and other insureds.

Boettcher’s testimony also is different because he de-

scribed Allstate’s claims procedures and policies 15 years

before the Hawkins claim. Allstate argues this time span

robs the evidence of its relevance. We disagree. Remote-

ness in time goes to the weight of the evidence, not its

admissibility. State v. Jeffers, 135 Ariz. 404, 418, 661 P.2d

1105, 1119, cert. denied, 464 U.S. 865, 104 S.Ct. 199, 78

L.Ed.2d 174 (1983). As noted above, relevance requires

only a modieum of rationally probative forced. While a

Significant time span may reduce the probative force of

evidence, it does not eliminate it.

15a

Clearly, Boettcher’s testimony concerning Allstate’s past

claims practices also was relevant to assessing an appro-

priate sum of punitive damages. Boettcher’s testimony pre-

sents direct evidence of the duration of Allstate’s

misconduct and establishes evidentiary facts from which

the jury could determine the reprehensibility of Allstate's

conduct. See ante at 12-14.

Because we find Boettcher’s testimony relevant to both

the issue of bad faith and punitive damages, we hold that

the trial court abused its discretion if it granted a new

trial because Boettcher’s testimony was not relevant.

B. Character Evidence

We also disagree with the court of appeals that a new

trial was justified because Boettcher’s testimony was er-

roneously admitted in violation of Rule 404. Because Al-

Istate did not object to Boettcher’s testimony as

impermissible character evidence, this error was not pre-

served as an issue for Allstate’s motion for a new trial.

M. Udall & J. Livermore, supra § 12, at 18; Grant v.

Arizona Public Service Co., 183 Ariz. 434, 450, 652 P.2d

507, 523 (1982) (objection that evidence is irrelevant, with-

out specifying how or why, does not raise any issue on

appeal where the evidence would have been relevant under

any possible circumstance); 1 Weinstein’s Evidence

€ 103[02], at 103-28 to -24 (if a general objection is over-

ruled, party objecting is precluded from asserting a proper

objection on appeal). Therefore, we hold that the trial court

abused its discretion if it granted a new trial because

Boettcher’s testimony was inadmissible character evidence.

However, even if the issue was properly preserved, the

evidence was not admissible pursuant to Rule 404. Sub-

section (b) permits evidence of ‘other crimes, wrongs or

acts’ if the purpose is to show a party’s motive, intent

or absence of mistake or accident. These are precisely the

purposes for which Boettcher’s testimony was admitted.

See ante at 15-17. We disagree with the court of appeals

l6a

that Rule 404(b) “is inapplicable.” See Rawlings slip op.

at 6. We interpret the court’s statement to mean that

because Allstate did not deny its acts nor allege that they

were unintentional, the deliberateness of Allstate’s conduct

was not at issue and Boettcher’s testimony was irrelevant

because it was not directed to a fat of consequence to the

determination of the case. This reasoning ignores that

Boettcher’s testimony is relevant and admissible to prove

Allstate’s improper motives for purposes of punitive dam-

ages. Furthermore, proof of intentional conduct is neces-

sary to establish a prima facie case of the tort of bad

faith. Absent a stipulation by Allstate to this element of

the claim, Hawkins was required to put on such proof to

survive a directed verdict. Also, when Allstate did present

its defense, it took the position that its claims practices

were innocent, cost-saving measures taken to prevent ov-

erpayment of claims. Certainly, Boettcher’s testimony was

admissible to rebut this contention.

C. Unfair Prejudice

Allstate also argues that in granting a new trial based

on erroneously admitted evidence, the trial court properly

exercised its discretion to exclude Boettcher’s testimony

because the probative force of the evidence was substan-

tially outweighed by the danger of unfair prejudice. See

Rule 403. Allstate urges that its objection on grounds of

unfair prejudice. This argument finds support in our case

law. See Jones v. Pak-Mor Mfg. Co., 145 Ariz. 121, 125,

700 P.2d 819, 823 (question of relevancy looks at whether

evidence lacks probative value and whether probativeness

is outweighed by danger of prejudice), cert. denied, ___

U.S. —_., 106 S.Ct. 314, 88 L.Ed.2d 295 (1985). But

see 1 Weinstein’s Evidence 4 103[02], at 103-23 (objec-

tions pertaining to undue prejudice or impermissible char-

acter evidence must be stated specifically and are not

raised by “incompetent irrelevant and immaterial” objec-

tion); Jay Edwards, Inc. v. New England Toyota Distrib-

utor, Inc., 708 F.2d 814, 823 (1st Cir. 1983) (only stated

vaaseculay

eae Wille Beek ai i ete US CT Be

ale mace 6

i

i

‘

i

17a

objection was relevancy and court refused to consider pre)-

udicial effect), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 894, 104 S.Ct. 241,

78 L.Ed.2d 231. However, Allstate misperceives the pos-

ture of this case on review. The issue is not whether the

trial court could have exercised its discretion to exclude

Boettcher’s testimony as unfairly prejudicial, but whether

admitting the testimony was an error that justified a new

trial. Because we discern no legal error in the admission

of Boettcher’s testimony, we hold that the trial court

abused its discretion by ordering a new trial on this basis.

III. PUNITIVE DAMAGE AWARD

The court of appeals reversed the entry of judgment

notwithstanding the verdict, holding that Hawkins had es-

tablished a prima facie case for punitive damages. How-

ever, the court affirmed the grant of a new trial because,

inter alia, ‘“‘the amount of punitive damages award was

not justified by the evidence.” Slip op. at 16. The court

considered evidence of Allstate’s corporate policy to deduct

routinely a $35 cleaning fee from the estimated value of

a total loss vehicle, as well as Allstate’s dealings with the

Hawkins, but concluded that the amount of the punitive

damages award was improper because there was no proof

of the profits made by Allstate from its improper deduc-

tions. See slip op. at 16 (‘Where punitive damages are

based on wrongful corporate policies which are profit ori-

ented, the supporting evidence must go far beyond in-

formed speculation.”’). The court of appeals found the only

reference to either the number of total loss claims adjusted

by Allstate or the amount of illicit profits was by Hawkins’

counsel when he suggested to adjuster Schwenk that if

Allstate improperly deducted $35 from 100,000 total loss

claims, Allstate would gain $3.5 million.®

*“Q, [Hawkins’ counsel] My question was, this decision to take $35

off on every total loss for car cleanup is really quite an important

18a

The court of appeals appears to have carved out a new

requirement of proof to support a punitive damage award.

Neither the court of appeals, the parties, nor our research

reveals any authority that proof of ill-gotten gains is nec-

essary for an award of punitive damage. See Moore v.

American United Life Ins. Co., 150 Cal.App.3d 610, 197

Cal.Rptr. 878 ($2.5 million punitive award for insurance

company’s bad faith upheld without evidence of the profits

from company’s deceptive claims practices); Chodos v. Ins.

Co. of North America, 126 Cal.App.3d 86, 178 Cal.Rptr.

831 ($200,000 punitive award upheld in light of insurer’s

wealth and nature of its acts, without proof of profits

derived from insurer’s appraisal practices). Indeed, Allstate

admits that the ‘‘[a]ppellants were not required to present

evidence of illicit profits to obtain an award of punitive

damages.’’ Appellee’s Supplemental Brief at 34.

Allstate argues that once Hawkins “‘intentionaliy re-

leased the specter of illicit profits’ to solicit punitive dam-

ages, Hawkins must present more than speculative proof

of such profits. Allstate suggests that the $3.5 million

punitive damage award ‘‘bears more than a casual resem-

blance’”” to the amount Hawkins’ counsel hypothetically

suggested Allstate would gain from improperly deducting

$35 from 100,000 total loss claims. See ante at n. 8. In

effect, Allstate contends Hawkins did not meet its burden

of producing evidence that establishes a reasonable basis

from which the jury could estimate damages.

decision from the company’s standpoint; isn’t that true?

A. [Schwenk] I would say so, yes.

Q. As a matter of fact, we could figure it out mathematically. If

Allstate has 100,000 total loss claims every year, and they take $35

off on each one of those, that amounts to $3,500,000; doesn’t it?

Q. If you say so. I can’t figure that far.

Q. If Allstate has one million total loss claims every year in the

United States, if we figure it out mathematically, it would amount to

a 35 million decision; isn’t that right?

A. Yes.”

19a

We agree that a damage award, punitive or otherwise,

must be based on more than mere speculation or conjec-

ture. However, we disagree that the punitive damage

award in this case is the result of speculation or not jus-

tified by the evidence.

Arguably, if it were the only evidence from which to

determine an appropriate award, a hypothetical suggestion

of the profitability of a defendant’s conduct would result

in an award based merely on speculation. However, ample

evidence was presented in this case from which the jury

could assess an amount of punitive damages that would

accomplish the dual goal of punishment and deterrence.

We vest the trier-of-fact with discretion to award an

amount of punitive damages that, in its judgment, will

punish the defendant and serve as an example to deter

future similar misconduct. Once exercised, this discretion

should not be disturbed unless the award is the result of

passion or prejudice. Nielson v. Flashberg, 101 Ariz. at

341, 419 P.2d at 520. The appropriate test of passion or

prejudice is whether the verdict is ‘‘so manifestly unfair,

unreasonable and outrageous as to shock the conscience

of the court.’’ Acheson v. Shafter, 107 Ariz. at 579, 490

P.2d at 835 (citing Young Candy & Tobacco Co. v. Mon-

toya, 91 Ariz. 363, 370, 372 P.2d 703, 707 (1962); accord

Linsenmeyer v. Hancock, 23 Ariz. App. 444, 448, 533 P.2d

1181, 1185 (1985) (quoting Wry v. Dial, 18 Ariz. App. 503,

515, 503 P.2d 979, 991 (1972) (‘‘The test to be applied ...

is whether the ‘verdict is so outrageously excessive as to

suggest, at first blush, passion or prejudice.’”’)). The

amount of the award alone is not sufficient evidence to

prove the jury acted with passion or prejudice. Nienstedt

v. Wetzel, 1383 Ariz. 348, 357, 651 P.2d 876, 885.

The previously outlined categories of evidence relevant

to assess a sum of punitive damages see ante at 13-14,

are equally applicable to determine whether sufficient evi-

dence supports the $3.5 million award. A plaintiff is not

20a

required to put on proof of every factor, nor is any single

factor a prerequisite to recovery of punitive damages. See

Nienstedt v. Wetzel, 133 Ariz. at 357, 651 P.2d at 885

(evidence of defendant’s wealth not required to recover

punitive damages). Rather, the plaintiff must produce evi-

dence so that the amount awarded may not be said to be

‘“‘so unreasonable in regard to the circumstances as to

show the influence of passion or prejudice.’’ Nielson v.

Flashberg, 101 Ariz. at 341, 419 P.2d at 520.

We find that the amount of punitive damages awarded

against Allstate is neither so excessive nor unreasonable

in light of the circumstances as to show the influence of

passion or prejudice. First, the $3.5 million punitive dam-

age award is not disproportionate to Allstate’s financial

position. It is axiomatic that the wealthier the wrongdoing

defendant, the greater the award of punitive damages nec-

essary to punish him. Maxwell v. Aetna Life Ins. Co., 143

Ariz. 205, 219, 693 P.2d 348, 362 (App. 1984). We rec-

ognize, however, that the award must not financially kill

the defendant. Jd. Allstate’s 1981 Annual Statement re-

ported total assets of $8.6 billion, unassigned (surplus)

funds of $2.4 billion, and net income of $346.7 million.

The jury’s award represents approximately 3-1/2 days’ net

income or 1/25 of 1% of total assets. This court, as well

as others, has upheld punitive damage awards representing

a greater percentage of the defendant’s wealth against

claims of excessiveness. See Acheson v. Shafter, 107 Ariz.

576, 490 P.2d 832 (1971) (award representing 5% of net

worth upheld); accord Dodge City Motors v. Rogers, 16

Ariz. App. 24, 490 P.2d 853 (1971) (award representing

2+ weeks’ net income and 4% net worth upheld);'° Moore

v. American United Life Ins. Co., 150 Cal.App.3d 610, 197

Cal.Rptr. 878 (1984) (award representing 3.4 weeks of

© The net worth and income amounts are not set forth in the reported

decision but are contained in the record. See Maricopa Superior Court

Case No. C-222384; Appellee’s brief in CA-CIV 1457.

2la

defendant’s income and 3.2% of net assets upheld); Weth-

erbee v. United Ins. Co., 18 Cal.App.3d 266, 271, 95

Cal.Rptr. 678, 681 (1971) (award equal to one week’s after-

tax earnings upheld). Cf. Egan v. Mutual of Omaha Ins.

Co., 24 Cal.38d 809, 824, 169 Cal.Rptr. 691, 620 P.2d 141

(1979) (award reversed where it represented more than

seven months of net income), cert. denied and appeal dis-

missed, 445 U.S. 912, 100 S.Ct. 1271, 63 L.Ed.2d 597

(1980); Merlo v. Standard Life and Acc. Ins. Co., 59

Cal.App.3d 5, 180 Cal.Rptr. 416 (1976) (punitive award

constituting nearly one-third of defendant’s net worth set

aside).

Second, the amount of punitive damages is not outra-

geous or excessive in light of the particular nature of

Allstate’s conduct. In general, the more reprehensible the

defendant’s conduct and the more serious the harm likely

to occur, the larger the appropriate punishment. See ante

at 13-14. The jury could have rationally concluded that

Allstate’s conduct was highly reprehensible and resulted

in harm to countless insureds. The jury reasonably could

have concluded that Allstate engaged in deceptive claims

practices spanning up to 18 years whereby Allstate took

advantage of its insureds’ predicaments to settle claims at

lesser amounts by deducting relatively small, innocuous

amounts from each total loss claim under the guise of cost

saving. The jury could have found this conduct particularly

reprehensible because the average insured would be un-

likely to discover or prosecute this misconduct, see Moore

v. American Life Ins. Co., 150 Cal.App.3d at 637, 197

Cal.Rptr. at 895, and the deceptive practices were estab-

lished company policy.

We hold that evidence of Allstate’s wealth, the repre-

hensibility and duration of its conduct, and the potential

effect on innumerable claimants is sufficient to support

the $3.5 million punitive damage award.

22a

IV. CONSTITUTIONAL CHALLENGE

After oral argument and after our order granting the

Hawkins’ Petition for Review “on the issues set forth

therein,” filed May 2, 1986," we granted Allstate’s request

to file supplemental briefs. Order (filed May 28, 1986).

Allstate stated that the following reasons necessitated sup-

plemental briefing:

A. It has been more than three years since

the parties briefed the issues on appeal.

B. Significant developments in Arizona law re-

lating to punitive damages have occurred since

the filing of appellate briefs.

C. Since oral arguments were heard before the

petition for review was granted, the entire record

was presumably unavailable at the time of ar-

guments and supplemental reference to the re-

cord is necessary and appropriate.

D. Questions by the court at oral argument

suggest that clarification of certain critical evi-

dentiary facts may be necessary.

Motion for Leave to File Supplemental Briefs and For

Additional Oral Argument (filed May 16, 1986).

In its discussion of reason “‘B,’’ Allstate pointed to three

recent Arizona Court of Appeals cases relating to punitive

damages and also requested ‘that this court allow addi-

tional briefing on the federal constitutional implications of

the manner in which this punitive damage award was im-

posed under Arizona law.”’ Id. at 5-6. Allstate ultimately

argued in its Supplemental Brief that punitive damages

We heard oral argument before accepting review to determine

whether this case raised issues not presented by two other cases pre-

viously accepted for review: Rawlings v. Apodaca, __ Ariz. ___ , 726

P.2d 565 (1986); Linthicum v. Nationwide Life Ins. Co., 150 Ariz. 326.

723 P.2d 675 (1986)

23a

are a criminal penalty, which entitle a civil defendant to

the same constitutional protections as a criminal defendant

(e.g., proof beyond a reasonable doubt, protection against

double jeopardy, privilege against self-incrimination, and

conviction by a unanimous jury in Arizona) and, in the

alternative, that procedural due process requires clear and

convincing proof of entitlement to punitive damages.

Allstate acknowledges that the question of the consti-

tutionality of punitive damage awards was not raised at

trial, but argues that this issue properly may be raised

for the first time on appeal because it involves issues “of

a general public nature, affecting the interests of the state

at large.”’ Appellee’s Supplemental Brief at 35 (citing Town

of South Tucson v. Board of Supervisors, 52 Ariz. 575,

583, 84 P.2d 581, 584 (1938)). We agree that issues of

“general statewide significance” are an exception to the

general rule that an appellate court will not consider issues

not raised in the trial court. E.g., Barrio v. San Manuel

Div. Hosp. for Magma Copper Co., 143 Ariz. 101, 692

P.2d 280 (1984). However, this general rule and its ex-

ception are rules of procedure, not matters of jurisdiction,

established for the purpose of orderly administration and

the attainment of justice. Town of South Tucson v. Board

of Supervisors, 52 Ariz. at 582-83, 84 P.2d at 584.

‘Whether this court should review a question raised here

for the first time depends upon the facts and circumstances

disclosed by the particular record. It undoubtedly has the

power, but ordinarily will not exercise it. The question is

one of administration, not of power.’’ Jd. (quoting Cappon

v. O’Day, 165 Wis. 486, ____ , 162 N.W. 655, 657 (1917)).

Thus, while we agree that this court has the power to

consider the constitutional issues raised by Allstate, we

decline to exercise that power in this case.

Efficient and orderly administration requires some point

in time at which it is too late to raise new issues on appeal.

We note that Allstate did not raise its constitutional ar-

guments in the pleadings, post-trial motions, court of

24a

appeals, petition (or cross-petition) for review, response to

petition for review, or at oral argument. Allstate first

voiced its constitutional concerns after the issues for re-

view by this court were set by our order granting the

petition for review. In light of this procedural history, we

believe it does not promote sound appellate practice to

consider issues so belatedly urged. Our: order allowing is-

sues accepted for review and was premised on the parties’

need to update its briefs ‘filed three years earlier.

We hold that consideration of a constitutional issue

raised for the first time on appeal is discretionary with

this court. This is not a case involving denial of a fun-

damental constitutional right in a criminal trial nor con-

tentions which affect the jurisdiction of the court, and we

do not feel compelled to exercise our discretion.

Our decision to decline consideration of the constitu-

tionality of the manner in which punitive damages were

imposed is bolstered by our recent adoption of the clear

and convincing standard of proof Allstate seeks. Linthicum

v. Nationwide Life Ins. Co., 150 Ariz. 326, 723 P.2d 675,

681 (1986) (recovery of punitive damages “only upon clear

and convincing evidence of defendant’s evil mind’’). Our

decision to require a more stringent standard of proof for

punitive damages than for compensatory damages was

grounded on policy, not constitutional, considerations. Jd.

em , 723 P.2d at 680-81 (higher burden of proof

necessary to preserve deterrent effect and prevent op-

pressiveness of loosely-assessed punitive damages).

V. RETROACTIVITY OF CLEAR AND CONVINCING

BURDEN OF PROOF

Here, the jury was instructed that it could award pu-

nitive damages in its discretion if a preponderance of the

evidence established conduct by Allstate that warranted

such damages. Because we decline to consider whether the

clear and convincing burden of proof is constitutionally

required, the question we must address is whether the

25a

clear and convincing burden of proof for punitive damages

announced in Linthicum applies retroactively to the dis-

pute sub judice.

| In Arizona, a civil opinion is presumed to operate ret-

) roactively, as well as prospectively, unless otherwise stated.

Brannigan v. Raybuck, 186 Ariz. 513, 520, 667 P.2d 213,

220 (1983) (citing Chevron Chemical Co. v. Superior Court,

| 131 Ariz. 431, 435, 641 P.2d 1275, 1279 (1982)). To over-

come this presumption of retroactive application, Arizona

utilizes the three factors set forth by the United States

Supreme Court in Chevron Oil Co. v. Huson, 404 U.S. 97,

106-07, 92 S.Ct. 349, 355, 30 L.Ed.2d 296, (1971):

(1) Whether the decision establishes a new legal

principle by either overruling clear and reli-

able precedent or deciding an issue whose res-

olution was not clearly foreshadowed;

(2) Whether retroactive application will further

or retard operation of the rule, considering

its prior history, purpose and effect; and

(3) Whether retroactive application will produce

_, substantial inequitable results.

See Brannigan v. Raybuck, 136 Ariz. at 520, 667 P.2d at

220; Chevron Chemical Co. v. Superior Court, 131 Ariz.

at 436, 641 P.2d at 1280; Peagler v. Phoenix Newspapers,

Inc., 114 Ariz. 309, 313, 560 P.2d 1216, 1220 (1977). These

factors are sometimes referred to as the reliance, purpose,

and inequity factors, respectively.

The reliance factor strongly favors prospective-only ap-

plication. Linthicum announced a new principle of law that

overruled clear and reliable precedent. Proof by a pre-

ponderance of the evidence is the traditional measure of

proof for most civil cases. See Schwalback v. Jones, 27

Ariz. 260, 232 P. 558 (1925); E. Cleary, McCormick on

Evidence § 339, at 956 (3d ed. 1984). Our research reveals

no reported Arizona decisions foreshadowing this change;

26a

indeed, none even broaches the subject of a higher burden

of proof for punitive damages.

Regarding the purpose factor, retroactive application of

the new clear and convincing burden of proof standard

would not ‘‘affect adversely the purpose behind the new

rule.” See Chevron Chemical Co. v. Superior Court, 131

Ariz. at 436 641 P.2d at 1280 (restating Chevron Oil Co.

v. Huson’s second factor). An important purpose of the

more stringent burden of proof is to assure that punitive

damages are properly awarded. The higher burden of proof

underscores that punitive damages are an extraordinary

remedy, to be assessed only in “the most egregious of

cases.’ Linthicum, 150 Ariz. at , (28 P.2d at 681.

The effect of the Linthicum rule is to allow the trier of

fact to impose punitive damages only where he is con-

vinced to a higher degree. of probability that the defendant

possessed the requisite evil mind. Applying this new rule

retroactively obviously would not impair the purpose of

the rule; however, neither would retroactive application

significantly further its purpose. Current practice provides

several avenues of review to assure that an award of pu-

nitive damages is justified: the plaintiff must get past a

motion for a directed verdict, the jury must exercise its

discretion to award punitive damages, the verdict is subject

to post-trial motions and review by the trial judge, and

the judgment is subject to appeal. All of these procedures

are designed to assure that the award is justified and not

the result of the jury’s passion or prejudice.

The inequity factor also neither strongly favors nor dis-

favors prospective-only application of the change in law.

This factor is closely related to the reliance factor and

focuses on the injustice or hardship resulting from ret-

roactive application of the new rule. See Peagler v. Phoenix

Newspapers 114 Ariz. at 313, 560 P.2d at 1220. Retro-

active application of the new burden of proof would force

further litigation in this and other lawsuits similarly sit-

uated, where the parties have prepared and presented their

ee

27a

cases in reliance upon clear precedent and with adequate

protection against an improper award of punitive damages.

Requiring plaintiffs to retry cases under a higher burden

of proof where the passage of time will have impaired

considerably their ability to discover evidence and prove

their case certainly works an injustice. On the other hand,

plaintiffs are not entitled to punitive damages as a matter

of right; and, theoretically, they are fully compensated for

their actual injury by the compensatory damage award.

Arguably then, retroactive application creates only a minor

hardship and goes one step further in assuring properly

awarded punitive damages.

Whether retroactive application is inappropriate if a sin-

gle factor favors prospective application, or whether all

factors must favor prospective application, is unclear. See

Brannigan-v. Raybuck, 136 Ariz. at 521, 667 P.2d at 221

(‘{E]ven if three-part test of Chevron Oil Co. v. Huson is

interpreted liberally, so that the proponent of prospective

application is not required to satisfy all three elements,

_...”); Chevron Chemical Co. v. Superior Court, 131 Ariz.

at 436-37, 641 P.2d at 1280-81 (decision given retroactive

application where all three factors were satisfied); Peagler

v. Phoenix Newspapers, Inc., 114 Ariz. 309, 560 P.2d 1216

(looked only to lack of substantial inequitable results to

conclude retroactive application proper). See generaliy Note,

Confusion in Federal Courts: Application of the Chevron

Test in Retroactive-Prospective Decisions, 1985 ae eM

Rev. 117. However, we need not establish a precise for-

mula for applying these factors. Whether a judicial holding

will be given only prospective application is a question of

policy. See Lemieux v. Superior Court, 132 Ariz. 214, 644

P.2d 1300 (1982) (United States Constitution does not re-

strict retrospective-prospective decision of state courts).

In this case, we are faced with a judicial decision an-

nouncing an unforeshadowed departure from clear and re-

liable precedent. We are concerned with the potentiai

burden on the judicial system from further litigation where

28a

claims have been disposed of by prior litigation or settle-

ment. See Harmann v. Hadley, 128 Wis.2d 371, , 382

N.W.2d 673, 677 (1986). Under these circumstances, we

hold that the new burden of proof shall be given only

prospective application. After September 15, 1986, the date

Linthicum was mandated, punitive damages are recover-

able only upon clear and convincing evidence of a

defendant’s evil mind.

The new burden of proof shall not apply where a verdict

or judgment based upon proof by a preponderance of the

evidence has been entered and where there is no reason

to require a new trial other than application of the new

burden of proof. See Wangen v. Ford Motor Co., 97 Wis.2d

260, ___, 294 N.W. 2d 437, 458 (1980). Cf. Tuttle v.

Raymond, 494 A.2d 1353 (Me. 1985) (higher standard of -

proof given retroactive application where prior case law

gave notice of intent to reexamine burden of proof).

The opinion of the court of appeals is vacated. The

verdict for compensatory and punitive damages is affirmed

and the matter is remanded for reinstatement of the orig-

inal judgment dated August 3, 1980.

FRANK X. GORDON, JR.

Chief Justice

CONCURRING:

STANLEY G. FELDMAN

Vice Chief Justice

BRUCE MEYERSON

Judge Pro Tempore, Court of

Appeals, Division One

2

o

;

3

1

;

;

|

|

3

|

|

}

:

,

q

4

29a

Justice James Duke Cameron recused himself and did

not participate in the determination of this matter, and

Bruce Meyerson, Judge Pro Tempore, Court of Appeals,

Division One, sat in his place and stead.

Justice Jack D. H. Hays participated in the determi-

nation of this matter but retired before this opinion was

filed.

30a

HOLOHAN, Justice dissenting

The concept of punitive damages has been the subject

of considerable controversy among legal scholars. Punitive

damages are not allowed in some states; in others, re-

strictive rules have been developed to control such dam-

ages. The entire concept of punitive damages has been

subjected to attack from some sources. RESTATEMENT

(SECOND) OF TORTS § 908 comment f (1965). This court

in Rawlings v. Apodaca, 151 Ariz. ____ , 726 P.2d 565

(1986), and Linthicum v. Nationwide Life Ins. Co., 150

Ariz. 326, 723 P.2d 675 (1986), narrowed the field of con-

duct justifying punitive damages and adopted a higher

standard of proof to justify the imposition of punitive dam-

ages. These reforms should not be viewed as the end of

the reexamination of the concept of punitive damages.

The action by the court in this case in declining to apply

the Linthicum standard of proof retroactively does not

appear justified. The three factors of reliance, purpose and

inequity, adopted in Chevron Chemical Co. v. Superior

Court, 131 Ariz. 431, 641 P.2d 1275 (1982), for the ret-

roactive-prospective analysis, weigh heavily for retroactive

application of the Linthicum rule. Reliance on the old rule

is the only factor which favors prospective application. The

purpose of the new rule to avoid loosely assessed punitive

damage favors retroactive application. Finally, the factor

of inequity does not favor the plaintiffs because there is

no particular right to punitive damages—they are a wind-

fall. Punitive damages are a discretionary matter with the

jury, and a retrial of the punitive damage issue does not

deprive the plaintiffs of their right to compensatory dam-

ages—which are the only damages they had a right to

recover.

From my review of the Chevron factors I conclude that

they weigh in favor of the usual rule in civil cases of

retroactive application. I therefore dissent from the deci-

sion of the court.

3la

There is also another matter which deserves comment.

The compensatory damage award in this case is $15,000,

but the punitive damage award is $3.5 million which is

three and one-half times the maximum fine which could

have been imposed upon the defendant if it had been con-

victed of a felony. See A.R.S. § 13-803(A\(1) (Supp. 1986).

The amount of the award in this case is a clear illustration

of the penal nature of such damages. The court, however,

declines to consider the constitutional issues raised by the

defendant concerning the current procedures for assessing

punitive damages. I believe that this case presents the

right opportunity for the court to consider the constitu-

tionality of our procedures in determining and assessing

punitive damages.

Two notableJaw review articles discuss a number of the

constitutional issues arising from the current procedure

employed by a number of states in determining and as-

sessing punitive damages. Wheeler, The Constitutional Case

for Reforming Punitive Damages Procedures, 69 VA. L.

REV. 269 (1983); Grass, The Penal Dimensions of Punitive

Damages, 12 HASTINGS CONST. L. Q. 241 (1985). Es-

sentially, the authors agree that punitive damages are penal

in nature and require a due process procedure greater than

that required for civil matters but not as strict as that

required for criminal matters. The authors note that juries

are usually given no standards to guide them in assessing

the amount of punitive damages. They are told that the

purpose of punitive damages is to punish the defendant

and to deter others. This is also the purpose of the criminal

law. Unlike the criminal law, however, there are no defined

limits to the punishment in the instance of punitive dam-

ages. The jury’s discretion is virtually unlimited save and

except for the occasional finding by an appellate court that

the award was manifestly unfair, unreasonable or outra-

geous so as to shock the conscience of the appellate court.

The authors conclude that such broad unguided discretion

32a

does not meet due process requirements for the assess-

ment of what is in fact a criminal penalty.

At least three minimum requirements have been sug-

gested as necessary for punitive damage procedures to

meet due process standards: (1) the procedure should be

bifurcated from the compensation portion of the case; (2)

proof of the right to punitive damages should be by clear

and convincing evidence; and (3) the maximum amount for

punitive damages should be established by law. Wheeler,

supra.

The United States Supreme Court has not directly ad-

dressed the issue of procedural due process for assessing

punitive damages. That court has noted that the due proc-

ess clause protects civil litigants who seek recourse in the

courts either as defendants hoping to protect their prop-

erty or as plaintiffs attempting to redress grievances. Lo-

gan v. Zimmerman Brush Co., 455 U.S. 422, 102 S.Ct.

1148, 71 L.Ed.2d 265 (1982). On another occasion it has

observed that in most jurisdictions jury discretion over the

amounts awarded is limited only by the general rule that

punitive damages not be excessive. Consequently, juries

assess punitive damages in wholly unpredictable amounts

bearing no necessary relation to the actual harm caused.

Juries remain free to use their discretion selectively to

punish or not punish. Gertz v. Robert Welch, Inc., 418

U.S. 323, 94 S.Ct. 2997, 41 L.Ed.2d 789 (1974). Last year

in Aetna Life Insurance Co. v. Lavoie, U.S. :

106 S.Ct. 1580, 89 L.Ed.2d 823 (1986), the court acknowl-

edged that challenges to the constitutionality of the lack

of standards for the award of punitive damages raised

important issues which, in an appropriate setting, must be

resolved. The case was, however, decided on another basis

which made it unnecessary for the court to resolve the

challenge to the award of punitive damages.

No purpose can be accomplished by delaying a decision

on the important issues raised by the defendant’s challenge

33a

to the corstitutionality of our present procedure for award-

ing punitiy. damages.

In Linthicum this court adopted the higher standard of

proof to establish a claim for punitive damages. This action

brings us part of the way towards meeting the suggested

due process standards for assessing punitive damages. The

mechanism for meeting another requirement—bifurcated

trial—is already in place. Arizona Rule of Civil Procedure

42(b), 16 A.R.S. permits separate trials of claims on any

issue. A claim for punitive damages could and should be

separated from the other issues in the case and tried sep-

arately after the plaintiff has prevailed on the issues for

compensatory damages. The same jury which heard the

first phase of the case could hear the second phase dealing

with the punitive damages issue.

The only matter of real controversy is whether due proc-

ess requires that limits be placed on the maximum amount

which may be awarded for punitive damages. There ap-

pears to be strong arguments for the position that due

process requires such maximum limits because of the penal

nature of punitive damages. In any event, the issue should

be considered and resolved.

The constitutional issues raised in this case will not dis-

appear. Other counsel faced with the problem will, per-

haps, make a better record, but ultimately this court must

decide the issues. The case presented the opportunity for

this court to resolve the challenges to the constitutionality

of the Arizona procedure for awarding punitive damages.

The decision of the court leaves the matter in doubt and

speculation.

WILLIAM A. HOLOHAN, Justice

34a

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS

STATE

OF ARIZONA

DIVISION ONE

1 CA-CIV 6881

Department A

JACK RANDY HAWKINS and CYNTHIA

HAWKINS, husband and wife,

Plaintiffs-A ppellants,

VS.

ALLSTATE

INSURANCE COMPANY, a foreign corporation, and Dogs I

through V,

Defendant-A ppellee.

MEMORANDUM DECISION

(Not for Publication, Rule 28, Arizona Rules of Civil

Appellate Procedure)

An Appeal from the Superior Court for Maricopa County

Cause No. C-432754

The Honorable David J. Perry, Judge

AFFIRMED IN PART; REVERSED IN PART; RE-

MANDED

Thur, Dawson & O’Sullivan

by Calvin C.Thur

Attorneys for Plaintiffs-Appellants

Scottsdale

Harrison & Lerch, P.C.

by Mark I. Harrison

Douglas L. Christian

Attorneys for Defendant-Appellee Phoenix

Phoenix

Filed Aug 13 1985

CORCORAN, Judge

Appellants, Jack and Cynthia Hawkins,.in a two-count

tort action alleging bad faith and fraud in the resolution

of an auto insurance claim, appeal from the trial judge’s

grant of a motion for judgment notwithstanding the ver-

dict, or in the alternative for a new trial. The Hawkins

had obtained a jury verdict for $15,000 compensatory dam-

ages and $3,500,000 punitive damages. We must decide

whether the trial court erred in its assessment of the

evidence as to both type of damages, and if so, also erred

as to the grant of a new trial.

1. The Facts

In July, 1979, the Hawkins purchased a new Chevrolet

Monte Carlo, which included many options, for just over

$8,000. On December 4, 1979, Cynthia had an accident

which resulted in damages to her car totaling $6,900. The

Hawkins were insured under a standard Allstate auto-

mobile liability insurance policy. The collision provision lim-

ited Allstate’s liability to the actual cash value of the car,

or replacement with a car of like kind or quality.

Cynthia reported the accident to her agent the day it

occurred. Once Allstate determined that the actual cash

value of the insured car was less than the estimated cost

of repair, it was classified as a ‘‘total loss” and transferred

to a total loss adjuster, Paul Schwenk. Schwenk contacted

the Hawkins on December 13, 1979. The Hawkins indi-

cated to Schwenk that they wanted a replacement car.

Schwenk sent the Hawkins to look at four similar Monte

Carlos at a local car dealership. The Hawkins chose one

of the vehicles but were told that they could not have it

36a

because its actual cash value was $300 more than their

insured car. Schwenk told the Hawkins they would have

to take one of the other cars or $4,500 in cash. On De-

cember 20, 1979, Schwenk brought the Hawkins a check

for $6,471, payable to the Hawkins and Midway Chevrolet,

intending that they purchase the car he had selected. After

an acerbic exchange between Jack and Schwenk, the

Hawkins reluctantly accepted the replacement vehicle. The

replacement vehicle lacked power windows, got worse gas

mileage due to a more powerful engine, had dealer (rather

than factory) installed cruise control, and lacked several

styling features of the original car. There was no evidence

produced at trial concerning the actual cash value of the

insured vehicle or the replacement vehicle at the time of

the accident. Calculations based on the “‘list price” of the

vehicles indicate a difference of several hundred dollars.

Taking into account all of the amounts paid, Allstate con-

cedes the difference in list price between the insured ve-

hicle and replacement was at least $161.45 in favor of

Allstate.

At trial, the Hawkins testified as to their dealings with

Allstate, and also called three former Allstate adjusters.

The latter group testified as witnesses rather than as ex-

pert witnesses. One adjuster testified as to Allstate’s claim

procedures in Phoenix from 1962 until 1964; another spoke

to its practices in Tacoma, Washington, from 1978 to 1981:

and the last described the practice at the Phoenix office

at the time the Hawkins’claim was processed. Each tes-

tified to Allstate’s methods of determing the loss to the

insured, termed ‘‘chiseling’’ by the Hawkins and ‘‘cost sav-

ing” by Allstate.

At the conclusion of the trial, the trial judge directed

a verdict in favor of Allstate on the fraud complaint and

submitted the bad faith claim to the jury on both com-

pensatory and punitive damages. The jury returned a ver-

dict for the Hawkins. The court subsequently granted

Allstate’s motion for judgment notwithstanding the verdict

= - ey ete Le el

37a

on the basis that there was insufficient evidence presented

at trial to justify the verdict. It further granted Allstate’s

motion for a new trial, in the alternative, for the following

reasons: (1) the verdict was not supported by the evidence;

(2) the verdict was the result of passion or prejudice; (3)

the damages were excessive; (4) the court erred in ad-

mitting the testimony of the former Allstate employees;

and, (5) the court erred in instructing the jury on the

nature of bad faith, the duty owed by Allstate to the

Hawkins, and the extent of the damages.

The Hawkins appeal from the judgment notwithstanding

the verdict and the order for a new trial, and from the

directed verdict on the fraud count. The fraud issue was

not addressed in the briefs or in oral argument and we

deem it abandoned.

2. Standard of Review

On appeal, the standard of review for a judgment not-

withstanding the verdict favors the appellant, whereas his

burden is greater in showing that the trial court should

also not have ordered a new trial. If there is substantial

evidence from which reasonable minds could differ as to

the ultimate facts, a motion for judgment notwithstanding

the verdict should be denied. Times Mirror Co. v. Sisk,

122 Ariz. 174, 593 P.2d 924 (App. 1978). On the other

hand, an appellate court will not disturb an order granting

a new trial in the absence of a clear showing of abuse of

discretion. Suciu v. Amfac Distrib. Corp., 138 Ariz. 514,

675 P.2d 1333 (App. 1983). We discuss separately the per-

tinent evidence as to the judgment and the order.

3. Testimony of Former Allstate Employees

The Hawkins contend that the trial court erred in its

post-trial determination that the testimony of former Al-

Istate employees was inadmissible. They argue that it was

properly received pursuant to rule 404(b), Arizona Rules

38a

of Evidence, to show motive (profit), knowledge (that its

agents knew of the company’s policies), and state of mind

(that it expressly intended to engage in the practices which

were the subject matter of the suit). They also contend

that it was admissible to show a pattern.

Rule 404(b) is a specialized exception to the general rule

excluding circumstantial use of character evidence. 1 M.

Udall and J. Livermore, Arizona Practice: Law of Evidence

§ 84 (2d ed. 1982). It is primarily invoked in criminal cases

but its use in civil litigation is permitted. E.g., Sequoia

Mfg. Co. v. Halec Constr. Co., 117 Ariz. 11, 570 P.2d 782

(App. 1977); American Hot Rod Ass’n v. Carrier, 500 F.2d

1269 (4th Cir. 1974); 10 Moore’s Federal Practice §

404.21[2] (2d ed. 1985). Such testimony generally tends to

prove culpability where the defendant acknowledges an act

but claims it was unintentional, or it shows a compelling

situational similarity with past acts that it makes it more

likely that the defendant was the perpetrator. Allstate does

not deny its acts nor does it claim that they were unin-

tentional. Therefore, we believe this rule is inapplicable.

The pertinent query is whether the testimony is rele-

vant. But see Dunlap v. Jimmy G.M.C., 136 Ariz. 338,

666 P.2d 83 (App. 1983) (holding that evidence of past

unethical] sales practices is relevant on the issue of whether

defendant was currently involved in deceptive sales prac-

tices and on the issue of punitive damages). Plaintiffs,

alleging a pattern of behavior which taken as a whole con-

stitutes bad faith may use indirect evidence to support an

award of punitive damages. Colonial Life & Acc. Ins. Co.

v. Superior Court, 31 Cal.3d 785, 183 Cal.Rptr. 810, 64”

P.2d 86 (1982). In Moore v. American United Life Ins. Cv.,

150 Cal.App.3d 610, 197 Cal.Rptr. 878 (1984), the court

held that evidence of another insured’s claim was admis-

sible to establish a pattern or practice of unreasonable

behavior. In its analysis, the California court stated the

antecedent practice must be substantially similar to the

case before the trial court. We agree.

al cat 6 LS tat MeN le wet the

rai wenas

39a

The first former adjuster testified in very general terms

as to Allstate’s claim practice 20 years ago.

Q. Did they [Allstate] have a general policy re-

garding claims handling?

A. Yes, they did.

Q. What was that general policy?

A. They were interested in settling claims for as

low a dollar possible. Oftentimes, again, if they

could save the company money, or if the adjuster

could, you were doing a good job.

Q. In

other words, you were praised if you could cut

a claim down below its true value?

A. Well, it’s difficult to determine what it’s true

value is, that’s always a matter of opinion. But

you felt you were saving the company money for

what the claimant desired to settle his claim for,

then you were doing a good job.

This testimony is not sufficiently similar to the Hawkins’

experience; rather, it resembles character evidence which

is not admissible for the purpose of proving that Allstate

acted in a specific manner on a particular occasion. Rule

404(a), Arizona Rules of Evidence. This testimony was

improperly admitted.

The second and third former adjusters testified in detail

regarding company procedures for handling total loss

claims. Although neither had any direct experience with

the Hawkins’ claim, each described deductions and settle-

ment practices that were nearly identical to those in the

Hawkins’ adjustment. Nonetheless, the trial court ulti-

mately ruled their testimony inadmissible without stating

any reason. A trial court’s rulings on exclusion or admis-

sion of evidence will not be disturbed on appeal! unless

clear abuse of discretion appears and prejudice results.

40a

Selby v. Savard, 134 Ariz. 222, 655 P.2d 342 (1982). How-

ever, counsel] must state each specific ground of objection.

Cf. State v. Evans, 88 Ariz. 364, 373, 356 P.2d 1106, 1111,

cert. denied, 371 U.S. 835 (1960). Our review of the record

indicates no substantial objections to the adjusters’ testi-

mony, other than those pertaining to relevancy which we

answered adverse to Allstate’s position. An objection as

to relevance may constitute a waiver of other specific

grounds of objection. See Killingsworth v. Nottingham, 18

Ariz. App. 356, 501 P.2d 1197 (1972); 1 M. Udall and J.

Livermore, Arizona Practice: Law of Evidence § 12 (2d

ed. 1982); McCormick on Evidence § 52 at 129 (8rd Cleary

ed. 1984). For the remainder of this decision we will refer

to the testimony of those witnesses where relevant.

4. Bad Faith: Compensatory Damages

Under this bad-faith claim, the Hawkins were required

to prove that Allstate violated the implied promise of good

faith and fair dealing which an insurance company owes

to its insured. Sparks v. Republic Nat’l Life Ins. Co., 132

Ariz. 529, 647 P.2d 1127 (App. 1982). The promise carries

the obligation to process claim applications in a timely and

thorough manner. A plaintiff must show, on the basis of

an objective standard, that an insurer unreasonably denied

or delayed payment of a claim under the facts and cir-

cumstances of the case. Noble v. National Am. Life Ins.

Co., 128 Ariz. 188, 624 P.2d 866 (1981); Continental Life

& Acc. Co. v. Songer, 124 Ariz. 294, 603 P.2d 921 (App.

1979). Allstate contends that the Hawkins did not meet

their burden of proof on several grounds.

Allstate first argues that it neither failed nor delayed

payment of the claim. It points to the fact that it provided

a replacement vehicle with a retail value of 97.5% of the

insured car within 14 days of the loss. In offering these

facts as dispositive of one of the core issues, Allstate im-

plicitly assumes that the final sum paid is the only cri-

terion, and that shaving a point here or there is not bad

Sen ne Le eee ene Eee

4la

faith. We believe Allstate construes this tort too narrowly:

it is a cause of action which arises out of contract but

stands on an independent footing as a means to redress

injuries which occur when an insurer unreasonably refuses

to recognize a valid claim. Noble v. National Am. Life Ins.

Co., supra. Unlike other contracts in which the parties

seek pecuniary advantage, an insurance contract protects

in the event of a calamity. Egan v. Mutual of Omaha Ins.

Co., 24 Cal.3d 809, 157 Cal.Rptr. 482, 487, 598 P.2d 452,

457 (1979). Therefore, when an insured, who has already

suffered an accident or other misfortune, has also been

forced to jump through his own insurer’s hoops to receive

the policy benefits, the trier of fact must look beyond the

bottom line to the facts and circumstances of the claims

transaction in determining whether there was a breach of

good faith. See Comment, Good Faith and Fair Dealing

in Insurance Contracts: Gruenberg v. Aetna Insurance Co.,

25 Hastings L.J. 699 (1974). Where, as in this case, an

insurer presents an offer significantly below the amount

it actually settles for, the offer is made in a take-it or

leave-it fashion, and there are other hard-ball tactics, suf-

ficient evidence is present to go to the jury on bad faith.

Allstate next contends that a breach of contract action

is the gravaman of a bad faith claim. It relies upon lan-

guage from Sparks, 132 Ariz. at 539, 647 P.2d at 1137,

that the trial court’s determination of a breach, taken in

conjunction with other facts, is sufficient to take the mat-

ter to the jury. We disagree with this procedural inter-

pretation. It goes without saying that where an insurer

fully complies with the provisions of its contract in a timely

manner there can be no bad faith; however, to require the

plaintiff to first plead and prove a breach of contract claim

is both inefficient and ignores the policy behind the bad

faith tort. The plaintiff must offer evidence which would

constitute breach of contract if so pleaded, but this is not

a pleading requirement nor is it necessary for the trial

court to so find. See Safeco Ins. Co. v. Sims, 435 So.2d

42a

1219, 1224-1225 (Ala. 1983) (Jones concurring). Allstate’s

concession that the value of the replacement car was less

than the value of the insured car satisfies this element.

We hold that the trial court erred in granting Allstate’s

motion for judgment notwithstanding the verdict as it ap-

plies to the award for compensatory damages. As discussed

above, we agree with the trial court’s determination that

the general testimony of an adjuster from 20 years ago

is not relevant without more to establish a pattern of bad

faith. Therefore, we affirm the trial court’s grant of the

alternative motion for a new trial on the basis that the

trail court improperly admitted testimony.

5. Bad Faith: Instruction

The trial court also concluded that it erroneously in-

structed the jury on “the nature of bad faith, the duty

owed by the defendant to plaintiffs, and the extent of

damages.’ We address this issue for the guidance of the

parties at the new trial.

The principal instruction given to the jury defining the

tort of bad faith read as follows:

Every insurance contract contains an implied

promise of good faith and fair dealing which the

insurance company owes to its insured. This

promise imposes an obligation on the insurance

company to deal fairly in handling a claim made

by its insured under the policy; and to not un-

reasonably delay, withhold, or fail to make full

payment of promised benefits to its insured. Rea-

sonableness is to be determined on the basis of

whether the conduct of the parties was justified

and reasonable under all of the circumstances.

Allstate first contends that the language “failed to make

full payment of promised benefits,’”’ implies that the simple

payment of less than full benefits constitutes bad faith.

43a

We do not read this instruction so narrowly; further, we

have discussed and resolved the issue of partial payment

of benefits in relation to Allstate’s contention that a breach

of contract was neither pleaded nor proven.

Allstate next contends that the jury should have been

instructed on intent. While acknowledging that our

Supreme Court has held that “[a] jury need not be spe-

cifically instructed that an intent element is necessary to

establish the tort of bad faith,’ Sparks v. Republic Nat’l

Life Ins. Co., 182 Ariz. at 588, 647 P.2d at 1136, Allstate

characterizes Sparks and Noble as involving a clear intent

on the part of the insurer to deny the claims. We do not

agree. The evidence supports the inference that Allstate

fully intended to pay the amount offered, or replace the

Hawkins’ car with a vehicle equal to the amount offered.

Since, as Allstate now acknowledges, the value of the re-

placement vehicle was less than the insured vehicle, the

determination by the trier of fact turns on ‘‘whether the

insurer failed to honor a claim without a reasonable basis

for doing so.’’ Sparks, 132 Ariz. at 538, 647 P.2d at 1136.

The instruction correctly informed the jury that failure to

make full payment of the contracted benefits must be un-

reasonable under all of the circumstances to justify a find-

ing of bad faith. We find no error in the jury instruction.

6. Bad Faith: Punitive Damages

Our conclusion that there was sufficient evidence to take

the matter to the jury on compensatory damages does not

necessarily apply to punitive damages. Bad faith which is

sufficient to support a punitive damages award must re-

flect conduct in excess of the reckless disregard that is

needed to support the bad faith claim. Farr v. Transa-

merica Occid. Life Ins. Co., ——Ariz.__, 699 P.2d 376

(App. 1984). There must be a showing of motive and intent

indicative of aggravation, insult, vindictiveness, or malice.

Anderson v. Continental Ins. Co., 85 Wis. 2d 675, 686,

271 N.W.2d 368, 379 (1978).

44a

The Hawkins first argue that the behavior of the claims

adjuster was egregious, supporting the award of punitive

damages. They do not serious pursue this line of argument,

as neither do we, but instead concentrate on their primary

contention that the punitive award bore a reasonable re-

lationship to the nature of the misconduct, Allstate’s profit

from such misconduct, its history, wealth, and income, and

the deterrent effect. We agree with the Hawkins that the

purpose of punitive damages is not only to punish the

offender, but also to serve as a deterrent to others. Price

v. Hartford Acc. & Indem. Co., 108 Ariz. 485, 502 P.2d

522 (1972); Pistorious v. Prudential Ins. Co., 123 Cal.App.

3d 541, 176 Cal.Rptr. 660 (1981); D. Dobbs, Law of Rem-

edies § 3.9 (1973). As noted in the Restatement (Second)

of Torts § 908, (1979) the purpose of punitive damages is

“to deter him and others like him from similar conduct in

the future.’’ The California Supreme Court has concluded,

and we agree, that punitive damages may serve a partic-

ular purpose in instances of bad faith:

[T]he principal purpose of ... [punitive damages]

is to deter acts deemed socially unacceptable and

consequently, to discourage their perpetuation of

objectionable corporate policies.

As one commentary has noted, ‘‘the insurers’

obligations are ... rooted in their status as purv-

eyors of a vital service labeled quasi-public in-

nature. Suppliers of services affected with a pub-

lic interest must take the public’s interest seri-

ously, where necessary placing it before their

interest in maximizing gains and limiting dis-

bursements ... [A]s a supplier of a public service

rather than a manufactured product, the obli-

gations of insurers go beyond meeting reasonable

expectations of coverage. The obligations of good

faith and fair dealing encompass qualities of de-

el

45a

cency and humanity inherent in the responsibil-

ities of a fiduciary. Insurers hold themselves out

as fiduciaries, and with the public’s trust must

go private responsibility consonant with that

trust.’’ Furthermore, the relationship of insurer

and insured is inherently unbalanced; the adhe-

sive nature of insurance contracts places the in-

surer in a superior bargaining position. The

availability of punitive damages is thus compat-

ible with recognition of insurers’ underlying pub-

lic obligations and reflects an attempt to restore

balance in the contractual relationship.

Egan v. Mutual of Omaha Ins. Co., 24 Cal.3d 809, 820,

157 Cal.Rptr. 482, 487, 598 P.2d 452, 457 (1979), cert.

denied., 445 U.S. 912, 100 S.Ct. 1271, 68 L.Ed.2d 597

(1980). See also, Walker v. Sheldon, 10 N.Y.2d 401, 223

N.Y.S.2d 488, 179 N.E.2d 497 (1961).

Allstate contends that punitive damages should be lim-

ited to cases in which there was an actual intent to cause

injury, an evil motive, horrendous injuries, or flagrantly

oppressive conduct by the insurer. We believe that ‘‘op-

pressive conduct” as set out in Farr encompasses a cor-

porate policy, sufficient to constitute a pattern, whereby

an insurer chisels an amount smal] enough from each

claimant such that only the occasional person will object

and litigate the matter.

The testimony concerning Allstate’s corporate policies

came from Schwenk and the three claims adjusters.

Schwenk testified that in his initial work-up of the value

of the car he deducted a $35 “‘clean-up fee.’’ Further, he

was instructed by his supervisor to always deduct some

amount for clean-up on a total loss.

While the clean-up fee was not actually deducted from

the Hawkins’ settlement because it was not a cash settle-

ment, it would lower the amount that Allstate would pay

for a replacement vehicle and presumably is reflected in

46a

the settlement. If the Hawkins had instead been given the

“actual cash value’’ for the car, the deduction would have

reduced that figure accordingly. Schwenk acknowledged

that he had deducted the $35 fee without actually inspect-

ing the car or having any information as to its cleanliness.

Two of the claims adjusters, Mauritz and Paterno, tes-

tified that they were instructed to routinely deduct the

$35 clean-up fee from the estimated value of total loss

vehicles. There is no evidence, however, concerning the

number of total loss claims each vear or for any time

period. In fact, the only suggestion of a number is from

counsel for the Hawkins:

Q. [by Mr. Thur] As a matter of fact, we could

figure out mathematically. If Allstate has 100,000

total loss claims every year, and they take $35

off on each one of those, that amounts to

$3,500,000; doesn’t it?

A. [by Mr. Schwenk] If you say so. I can’t figure

that far.

This evidence of Allstate’s corporate policy, combined with

the Hawkins’ testimony regarding their dealings with AI-

Istate, is sufficient to support a jury instruction on punitive

damages. We do not believe, however, that there is any

relationship between that evidence and a $3,500,000 pu-

nitive damage award. Where punitive damages are based

on wrongful corporate policies which are profit oriented,

the supporting evidence must go far beyond informed spec-

ulation. Cf Farr, supra.

We find that the Hawkins met their burden of estab-

lishing a prima facie case for punitive damages; therefore,

the trial court erred in granting Allstate’s motion for

judgement notwithstanding the verdict. We affirm the trial

court’s grant of Allstate’s motion for a new trial on the

basis that the amount of punitive damages award is not

justified by the evidence.

47a

We remand to the trial court for a new trial as to

liability and both compensatory and punitive damages. The

testimony of the first Allstate adjuster should be precluded

unless it rises above mere character evidence.

/si/ ROBERT J. CORCORAN

ROBERT J. CORCORAN

Presiding Judge

CONCURRING:

/s/ JACK L. OGG

JACK L. Occ, Judge

Froeb, Judge Dissenting in Part, Concurring in Part

In my opinion, the trial court correctly granted judg-

ment in favor of appellee Allstate notwithstanding the ver-

dict and I would therefore affirm the judgment appealed.

I concur with the portion of the decision which affirms

the order granting the alternative motion for new trial.

/s/ DONALD F. FROEB

DONALD F. FROEB, Judge

48a

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF

ARIZONA

IN AND FOR THE COUNTY OF MARICOPA

No. C 432754

JACK RANDY HAWKINS, et uz.,

Plaintiffs,

VS.

ALLSTATE INSURANCE COMPANY, a foreign corporation, et

al.,

Defendants.

JUDGMENT N.0.V. OR IN THE ALTERNATIVE

ORDER FOR NEW TRIAL PURSUANT TO RULE

50(c)

(Assigned to Honorable David J. Perry, Division 16)

This cause came on regularly for trial on July 27, 1982.

The plaintiffs and the defendant appeared through their

attorneys, and a jury was regularly empanelled and sworn

to try said cause. At the close of all the evidence the

defendant moved the court for a directed verdict which

the court denied. After returning to consider its verdict,

the jury returned a verdict in favor of plaintiffs and against

defendant in the amount of $15,000.00 for compensatory

damages and 3.5 million dollars in punitive damages.

The defendant, thereafter, having timely moved the court

to set aside the verdict and the judgment entered thereon,

and to enter judgment notwithstanding the verdict on be-

half of the defendant; and the court having considered the

memoranda filed by the defendant in support of the Judg-

ment N.O.V. and the memoranda filed by plaintiff in op-

49a

position thereto; and the court having heard oral argument

in open court;

And the court further making a determination that the

evidence presented at trial was insufficient to justify the

granting of a verdict in favor of plaintiffs;

NOW, THEREFORE, it is hereby

ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND DECREED pursuant to

Rule 50(b) granting judgment notwithstanding the verdict

in favor of the defendant and against the plaintiffs; and

awarding the defendants their taxable costs incurred

herein.

The defendant having moved the court for Judgment

N.O.V. or in the alternative, new trial, and the court hav-

ing granted the defendant’s motion for Judgment N.O.V.;

and the court having considered the memoranda of the

defendant in support of the alternative motion for new

trial and the memoranda of the plaintiffs filed in opposition

thereto; and the court having considered oral argument of

the parties offered in open court on the defendant’s motion

for new trial in the alternative;

And the court finding that the motion for new trial in

the alternative pursuant to Rule 50(c) of the Arizona Rules

of Civil Procedure should be granted for the following

reasons:

1. The verdict in resulting judgment determining that

the defendant committed a tort of bad faith is not justified

by the evidence.

2. The verdict in resulting judgment imposing punitive

damages on the defendant for the tort of bad faith is not

justified by the evidence.

3. The verdict is the result of passion or prejudice.

4. The damages are excessive.

50a

5. The court committed error in the admission of tes-

timony by William Boettcher, Jan Mauritz and Pat Pa-

terno.

6. There was error in instructing the jury on the nature

of bad faith, the duty owed by the defendant to plaintiffs,

and the extent of damages.

NOW, THEREFORE, pursuant to Rule 50(c) it is hereby

ORDERED conditionally granting the defendant’s motion

for new trial, so that if this judgment is reversed on appeal

the new trial shall proceed.

DATED this 1st day of October, 1982.

/s/ Davip J. PERRY

DAVID J. PERRY

Judge of the Superior Court

COPY of the foregoing mailed/delivered this __day of

Septernber, 1982, to:

Calvin C. Thur, Esq.

THUR & PRESTON

7007 East Indian School Road

Scottsdale, Arizona 85251

Attorneys for Plaintiffs

5la

Supreme Court

STATE OF ARIZONA

251 West Wine STATE Capitol

1700 West Washington

Phoenix Arizona 14021 255-4534

Telephone (602) 255-4534 .

April 8, 1987

RE: JACK RANDY HAWKINS et ux vs. ALLSTATE

INSURANCE CO et al

Supreme Court No. CV-86-0010-PR

Court of Appeals No. 1 CA-CIV 6881

Maricopa County No. C-482754

GREETINGS:

The following action was taken by the Supreme Couri of

the State of Arizona on April 7, 1987, in regard to the

above-referenced cause:

ORDERED: Motion for Reconsideration En Banc—DE-

NIED.

Justices Cameron and Moeller recused themselves and did

not participate in the determination of this matter.

DAVID R. COLE, Clerk

TO: Calvin C. Thur, Esq., Thur, Dawson & O’Sullivan,

7007 E. Indian School Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251

Douglas L. Christian, Esq., and Mark I. Harrison,

Esq., Harrison & Lerch, P.C., 1001 N. Central, Suite

900, Phoenix, AZ 85002

Hon. B. Michael-Dann, Presiding Judge, Maricopa

County Superior Court, 201 W. Jefferson, Phoenix,

AZ 85003

jeh

52a

IN THE SUPREME COURT

FOR THE STATE OF ARIZONA

NO. CV-86-0010-PR

Court of Appeals

No. 1 CA-CIV 6881

Maricopa County

Superior Court

No. C-432754

JACK RANDY HAWKINS and CYNTHIA HAWKINS, husband

and wife,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

VS.

ALLSTATE INSURANCE COMPANY, a foreign corporation, et

al.,

Defendant-A ppellee.

MOTION FOR RECONSIDERATION EN BANC

The defendant-appellee, Allstate Insurance Company,

through its counsel, Mark I. Harrison and Douglas L.

Christian of Harrison & Lerch, P.C., moves this Court,

pursuant to Rule 22, A.R.C.A.P., to reconsider en banc its

decision issued and filed in this case on February 26, 1987.

DATED this 20th day of March, 1987.

HARRISON & LERCH, P.C.

By:/s/ MARK I. HARRISON

MarRK I. HARRISON

DouGLas L. CHRISTIAN

1001 North Central Avenue

_ ee eee

53a

Suite 900

Phoenix, Arizona 85004

Attorneys for Defendant/Appellee

I. Introduction

The issues presented in this Motion for Reconsideration

should be viewed in the context of three circumstances

which must govern the Court’s disposition of the Motion.

First, appellee came into this Court legally entitled to

advance all available arguments in support of the Order

entered by the trial court granting a new trial. See cases

cited infra at 4.

Second, this Court decided, sua sponte, that Linthicum

v. Nationwide Life Insurance Co., 150 Ariz. 326, 723 P.2d

675 (1986) should not be applied ‘“‘retrospectively” to the

disposition of this appeal without affording appellee notice

or the opportunity to present argument that Linthicum

must, aS a matter of the Due Process Clause of the Four-

teenth Amendment of the United States Constitution, be

applied “‘retrospectively”’ to this case.

Third, appellee stands convicted of bad faith under a

sentence of $3,500,000 in punitive damages on the basis

of decision of this Court which post-date the underlying

facts of this case and which created rules of substantive

conduct of which appellee could not have been aware when

the conduct occurred. This combination of circumstances

has led this Court to reinstate a judgment which is vio-

lative of the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amend-

ment and all other rights incorporated by that Clause,

including the Excessive Fines Clause of the Eighth Amend-

ment.

II. The Posture of This Case Before This Court.

Appellee successfully argued to the trial court its en-

titlement to a new trial based upon five separate grounds.

Thus, at that time the question whether appellee had raised

54a

any federal constitutional objections to the jury’s verdict

was irrelevant because a new trial was to be conducted

and all such objections could have been raised to any new

verdict against appellee. Indeed, at most what can be said

of appellee’s failure to present to the trial court its federal

constitutional challenges to the judgment is that appellee

did not advance arguments which the trial court would

not have decided in any event because of their gravity

and the lack of necessity for the trail court to decide them.

State v. Yslas, 139 Ariz. 60, 63, 676 P.2d 1118, 1121

(1984); Hare v. Superior Court of the State of Arizona, in

and for the County of Pima; 138 Ariz. 540, 548, 652 P.2d

1387, 1390 (1982); School District No. 26 (Bouse Elemen-

tary) of Yuma County v. Strohm, 106 Ariz. 7, 9, 469 P.2d

826, 828 (1970); County of Maricopa v. Anderson, 81 Ariz.

339, 341, 306 P.2d 268, 269 (1957).

On appeal to the Court of Appeals, the same result

obtains. If appellee had presented its federal constitutional

objections to the jury’s verdict there, that court would

presumably not have decided those objections in light of

its determination that the Order granting a new trial had

to stand as a matter of state law. Furthermore, appellee

was entitled in this Court to raise any and all available

arguments in support of the trial court’s Order so long as

it did not seek to expand its rights under that Order.

Madisons Chevrolet, Inc. v. Donald, 109 Ariz. 100, 505 P.2d

1039 (1973); Talley v. Paradise Memorial Gardens, Inc.,

107 Ariz. 585, 491 P.2d 439 (1971); Santanello v. Cooper,

106 Ariz. 262, 475 P.2d 246 (1970); Maricopa County v.

Corporation Commission of Arizona, 79 Ariz. 307, 289

P.2d 183 (1955); Rogers v. Mountain States Telephone &

Telegraph Co., 100 Ariz. 154, 412 P.2d 272 (1966); Mer-

ryweather v. Pendleton, 90 Ariz. 219, 367 P.2d 251 (1961);

Arizona Public Service Company v. Mountain States Tele-

phone and Telegraph Company, Inc., 149 Ariz. 239, 717

P.2d 918 (App. 1985); Lake Havasu Resort, Inc. v. Com-

mercial Loan Insurance Corporation, 139 Ariz. 369, 678

\

' — cect iii ctl

55a

P.2d 950 (App. 1983); Stiles v. Industrial Commission, 25

Ariz. App. 548, 545 P.2d 54 (1976); City of Kingman v.

Havatone, 14 Ariz. App. 585, 485 P.2d 574 (1971); Wagner

v. Coronet Hotel, Inc., 10 Ariz. App. 296, 458 P.2d 390

(1969); Aegerter v. Duncan, 7 Ariz. App. 239, 437 P.2d

991 (1968). Appellee was and is entitled to raise on direct

appeal and have decided its federal constitutional objec-

tions to the jury’s verdict if this Court’s decision is to

reinstate that verdict.

In addition, appellee could not have anticipated that this

Court would, inconsistently with the well-established pre-

sumption of retrospective application of its decisions, see,

e.g., Chevron Chemical Co. v. Superior Court, 131 Ariz.

431, 485, 641 P.2d 1275, 1279 (1982), decide, swa sponte

and without hearing any argument from appellee, not to

apply retrospectively its decision in Linthicum to this case.

This action by the Court is exacerbated becuase at the

same time the Court did apply retrospectively its decision

in Rawlings v. Apodaca, 151 Ariz. 149, 726 P.2d 565 (1986),

in order to justify the admission of blatantly prejudicial

testimony and thereby reverse the grant of appellee’s mo-

tion for a new trial.

The only interest present in this case which even re-

motely justifies this Court’s refusal to consider and decide

appellee’s federal objections to the jury’s verdict is the

interest of appellants in collecting the enormous windfall

represented by the $3,500,000 punitive damage award.

However, the State of Arizona has no interest in securing

to litigants the collection of palpably unconstitutional judg-

ments. Therefore, the decision of this Court must be re-

considered en banc and vacated and this case remanded

to the trial court for additional proceedings.

56a

IlI. The Failure of This Court To Apply Linthicum

“*Retrospectively’’ Violates Appellee’s Rights Un-

der the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment.

In Linthicum, after argument on the petition for review

which did not specifically raise the issue, this Court asked

the parties to address the standard of proof required to

justity an award of punitive damages. That suit had been

brought in 1982 based upon conduct of the defendant in-

surer alleged to have occurred in the summer of 1980 at

the earliest. On appeal to the Court of Appeals, the insurer

successfully challenged the sufficiency of the evidence to

sustain the award of punitive damages. This Court af-

firmed and, in doing so, announced that “the burden of

proof for punitive damages is by clear and convincing evi-

denee.”’ 150 Ariz. at 332, 723 P.2d at 681.

In the case at bar, appellee’s conduct alleged to have

been in bad faith occurred in December of 1979. The in-

sufficiency of the evidence to sustain the punitive damage

award was successfully urged in support of appellee’s post-

trial motions. Appellant subsequently brought this case to

this Court. In defense of the decision of the Court of Appeals,

under which appellee retained its right to a new trial,

appellee advanced, inter alia, the argument that the Due

Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment required

proof by ‘‘clear and convincing’ evidence in order to sus-

tain the punitive damage award. This argument was not

one which, if accepted by this Court, would have expanded

appellee’s rights under the decision of the Court of

Appeals, because under that decision appellee was entitled

to demand that the jury be instructed on the ‘clear and

convincing’ standard.!

Thus, and totally contrary to the result reached by this

Court in declining to consider appellee’s Due Process

‘As held by this Court in this case, Linthicum is to be applied to

ali trials held after September 15, 1986.

eS eT me

57a

Clause challenge, appellee had an absolute right under this

Court’s precedents to raise and have decided its Due Proc-

ess Clause , including its argument involving the standard

of proof required in order to impose punitive damages. At

the worst, appellee was situated no differently than the

defendant in Linthicum. Indeed, the operative facts and

trial of this case pre-dated the facts and trial in Linthicum;

further, these cases were argued to this Court on the same

day. Thus, it is somewhat facile to say that appellee’s

entitlement to the ruling in Linthicum required that de-

cision to be applied ‘‘retrospectively.”” This Court’s denial

to appellee of the rule laid down in Linthicum is violative

of the Fourteenth Amendment and necessitates a decision

by this Court of appellee’s Due Process Clause contentions.

This inexplicable departure from the Court’s historic

practice is not cured by its incorrect suggestion, slip op.

at 32-33, that the question of Linthicum’s retrospective

application is one of policy having no federal constitutional

dimension. Because punitive damages are imposed to fulfill

the same purposes as are punishments administered in

criminal proceedings—to punish and deter, retrospective

application of any decision recognizing any of the federal

constitutional rights asserted by appellee in its Supple-

mental Brief and again urged in this Motion for Recon-

sideration would be required under the Supreme Court’s

recent decision in Griffith v. Kentucky, 107 S. Ct. 708

(1987).?

2In declining to reach appellee’s federal constitutional challenges to

the jury’s verdict, the Court observed that it did so because, ‘‘This is

not a case involving denial of a fundamental right in a criminal trial

....” Slip op. at 28. But appellee argued in its Supplemental Brief

that it was and is constitutionally entitled to certain guarantees afforded

by the Federal Constitution to criminal defendants before punitive dam-

ages may be imposed, which include the right to various procedural

protections as well as the right to be free from the imposition of

excessive fines. If appellee’s federal constitutional challenges are well

taken, then this case does involve the same consideration that this

—--

58a

In Griffith, the Supreme Court squarely rejected the

proposition, implicit in the opinion of this Court in the

case at bar, that a decision which implicates federal con-

stitutional rights of citizens who are subjected to criminal

punishments and which constitutes a “‘clean break” with

precedent need not be applied retrospectively. This Court

cannot avoid the Griffith rule simply by adopting the ‘‘clear

and convincing” standard as a matter of state policy. If

the Court’s decision in Lithicum is constitutionally com-

pelled, that decision must be extended to this case.

The failure of this Court to apply Linthicum retrospec-

tively is especially troubling because, as discussed infra,

the Supreme Court has recently set for argument the ques-

tion whether excessive punitive damage awards are subject

to the constraints of, inter alia, the Due Process Clause

ex proprio vigore and as that clause incorporates the Eighth

Amentment. Under Griffith, appellee would be entitled to

the retrospective application of any such constitutional rule

in this case.

IV. Addition

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.