Opposition Brief — Summa Corp. v. Trans World Airlines, Inc.

Supreme Court brief1988

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

>.

SUMMA CORPORATION and WILLIAM R. LUMMIS, Delaware

Ancillary Administrator for the Estate of Howard R. Hughes,

Petitioners,

Vv *

TRANS WORLD AIRLINES, INC.

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SUPREME COURT OF DELAWARE

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION OF RESPONDENT

TRANS WORLD AIRLINES, INC.

WILLIAM E. HEGARTY

Counsel of Record

MARSHALL COx

MICHAEL P. TIERNEY

CAHILL GORDON & REINDEL

(a partnership including

professional corporations)

80 Pine Street

New York, New York 10005

(212) 701-3000

Of Counsel: Attorneys for Respondent

MARK A. BUCKSTEIN Trans World Airlines, Inc.

605 Third Avenue

New York, New York 10158

Louis J. FINGER

RICHARDS, LAYTON & FINGER

One Rodney Square

P.O. Box 551

Wilmington, Delaware 19899 August 26, 1988

Sade

i

Questions Presented

Questions 1 and 2 stated by petitioners Summa Corporation,

formerly Hughes Tool Company (‘‘Toolco’’), and the repre-

sentative of the estate of Howard R. Hughes (‘‘Hughes’’) argue

that orders of the Civil Aeronautics Board in 1944 and 1950

that approved Toolco’s acquisition of control of respondent

Trans World Airlines, Inc. (‘‘TWA’’) and its later increase of

that control constitute a bar—‘‘collateral estoppel’’ (Question

1) or ‘‘immunized’’ (Question 2)—to TWA’s Delaware suit in

chancery for an accounting based upon the breach by Hughes

and Toolco of the fiduciary duty owed by them to TWA and its

minority stockholders. The question actually presented is:

1. Did § 414 of the Federal Aviation Act, 49 U.S.C.

§ 1384 (1976) (amended 10 years ago to clarify its intent by

striking the phrase upon which the argument for review

depends and part of a regulatory scheme administered by a

federal agency which went out of existence on January 1,

1985), bar a suit for damages resulting from a breach of

fiduciary duty under Delaware law?

The question actually presented by Question 3 stated by

Hughes and Toolco is:

2. Did the federal judgment that dismissed TWA’s anti-

trust action in 1973 bar TWA from prosecuting its Dela-

ware suit (i) when personal jurisdiction over Hughes could

be obtained only in the 1962 Delaware suit, not in the 1961

federal action, and when Hughes and Toolco explicitly

acquiesced in the continued pendency of the Delaware suit

and (ii) when the Court’s 1966 decision in United Mine

Workers v. Gibbs, 383 U.S. 715 (1966), held only that

there was no error in the district court’s decision there not

to dismiss a state law claim although the court had the dis-

cretion to do so?

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

(Clashes FE. onicicccvns dv ucensivas tedeeseenes

a fF er rer rary eye

UMOODE a 5 oda 60s xh.69 64S4 4 ee ee

The Delaware summary judgment motions.........

bes er re rer ry Eee

Reasons Why the Writ Should Not Issue .............

ARGUED 00 occes04de seen ye bee eeeaeae eens

I.

Il.

THE 1975 AND 1988 DECISIONS OF THE DELA-

WARE SUPREME COURT CONCERNING SEC-

TION 414 DO NOT PRESENT A QUESTION

WARRANTING REVIEW AND ARE CORRECT .

A. No Question Warranting Review Is Presented...

B. The Decisions Are COnrett. .. i ciccccccccscsces

1. There was no collateral estoppel..........

2. There was no statutory immunity.........

THE DISMISSAL OF TWA’S' ANTITRUST

CLAIM DOES NOT PRECLUDE TWA’S DELA-

WARE CLAIM AGAINST HUGHES AND

FRIAS oc 0ccsa acces vaveseh th aetteasancdedeed>

10

10

10

11

11

13

18

iii

PAGE

A. No Question Warranting Review Is Presented in

EE ea 18

1. Hughes and Toolco acquiesced in the contin-

ued pendency of the Delaware suit from

ei Ois bacnesduienckeces 18

2. If the timing had been different, the result

would be the same, and Hughes and Toolco

would have no argument................. 21

B. The Doctrine of ‘‘Compulsory Pendent Plead-

i ecw etc abebbess cescawee 22

TN Sint kab areas 6 robe ened sees 25

Appendix to Brief in Opposition..................... lb

Transcript of Proceedings at Hearing on July 10,

SE BREE TES aA ee Ib

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: PAGE

Brown v. Felsen, 442 U.S. 127 (1979) ............006. 19

|

Burks v. Lasker, 441 U.S. 471 (1979) ................ 17

Calderone Enterprises Corp. v. United Artists Theatre

Circuit, Inc., 454 F.2d 1292 (2d Cir. 1971), cert.

Po RR er eee 24n

CTS Corp. v. Dynamics Corp. of America, 107 S. Ct.

EP ER eta cca Su avers hon naed chi e eaiaRhees 16-17

Georgia Ry. & Power Ce. v. Endsley, 167 Ga. 439, 145

Sf ee Be er rise ree oe eee 20

Hecht v. City of New York, 60 N.Y.2d 57, 454 N.E.2d

oe ££ 5 oe 2 2: . Se ae ee 21n

Hughes v. Trans World Airlines, Inc., Del. Supr., 185

Pe er ee reer err ee ee 3

Juneau Square Corp. v. First Wisconsin National Bank,

122 Wis. 2d 673, 364 N.W.2d 164 (Ct. App. 1985)... 22n

Hurn v. Oursler, 289 U.S. 238 (1933) .............6.. 23n

Kern Oil & Refining Co. v. Tenneco Oil Co., 840 F.2d

Pe ee Rs be be a eek as cea es eb eae ene 20

Louisiana Public Service Commission v. FCC, 476 U.S.

Ente kad ine gh ahd wene nee eek kes eke hie ka 17

McCann v. Whitney, 25 N.Y.S.2d 354 (Sup. Ct. N.Y. Co

Mississippi Power & Light Co. v. Mississippi ex rel.

pS a a | ee 17

=

PAGE

Nader v. Allegheny Airlines, Inc., 426 U.S. 290 (1976) . 17

Nantahala Power & Light Co. v. Thornburg, 476 U.S.

EE SS vind 0s oboe hak dee bh aswestae as ee res 17

Parklane Hosiery Co. v. Shore, 439 U.S. 322 (1979)... 2in

Ray v. Atlantic Richfield Co., 435 U.S. 151 (1978) .... 16

Rennie v. Freeway Transport, 294 Or. 319, 656 P.2d 919

AR Se rere erty a ak SEE 20 & n, 22n

Santa Fe Industries, Inc. v. Green, 430 U.S. 462 (1977) 17

Seaboard Air Line R.R. v. Daniel, 333 U.S. 118 (1948) 17

Shaffer v. Heitner, 433 U.S. 186 (1977) .............. 9

Shaw v. Chell, 176 Ohio St. 375, 199 N.E.2d 869 (1964) 20

Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee Corp., 464 U.S. 238 (1984)... 16

Todd v. Central Petroleum Co., 155 Kan. 249, 124 P.2d

Pe EN 58 aww ee Web carck cee ee 20

United Mine Workers v. Gibbs, 383 U.S. 715 (1966). . .i, 2, 9,

18, 21-23

Congressional Reports

H.R. Rep. No. 1211, 95th Cong., 2d Sess. (1978),

reprinted in 1978 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News

BERT Sac kncupel bkostemeades Hkh ees eee 15

H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 1779, 95th Cong., 2d Sess. (1978),

reprinted in 1978 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News

SITE 60004.00 bake KT RONAN SRE ROSS EN ene aT tews 15

Statutes

Airline Deregulation Act of 1978, Pub. L. No. 95-504, 92

RL oe eee ae Attn ll,

Federal Aviation Act

§ 414, 49 U.S.C. § 1384 (1976)........ i, 2

9, 10-11, 13

414, 49 U.S.C. app. § 1384 (1982) ...

.

§ 1106, 49 U.S.C. app. § 1506 (1982) .... |

International Air Transportation Competition Act of

1979, Pub. L. 96-192, 94 Stat. 35....

Judicial Code, 28 U.S.C. § 1292(b) (1982)

Other Authorities

13B C. Wright, A. Miller & E. Cooper, Federal Practice

and Procedure: Jurisdiction 2d (1984) ...........

Restatement (Second) of Judgments (1982)....... ee

14

§

, 14

14

13

14n

4

ne i.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

No. 88-149

-

SUMMA CORPORATION and WILLIAM R. LUMMIS, Delaware

Ancillary Administrator for the Estate of Howard R. Hughes,

Petitioners,

TRANS WORLD AIRLINES, INC.,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SUPREME COURT OF DELAWARE

on

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION OF RESPONDENT

TRANS WORLD AIRLINES, INC.

TWA respectfully submits that a writ of certiorari to review

the decisions of the Supreme Court of Delaware, reported at

336 A.2d 572 (1975) and 540 A.2d 403 (1988), should not issue

because no question worthy of the exercise of the Court’s cer-

tiorari jurisdiction is presented and because the decisions are

correct.

l Pursuant to Rule 28.1! TWA states that it does not have any parent

company, any subsidiary that is not wholly owned or any affiliate.

Statement

The petition asks the Court to review a judgment of the Dela-

ware Court of Chancery affirmed unanimously by a panel of

the Supreme Court of Delaware for damages of $17,238,366

caused TWA by the breach by Hughes and his instrumentality,

Toolco, of their fiduciary duty as controlling persons under

Delaware law.’ The self-dealing between 1955 and 1960 of

Hughes and Toolco while they controlled TWA prevented

TWA from purchasing an adequate number of jet aircraft on a

timely basis and hindered and delayed the conversion of TWA’s

fleet from piston to jet aircraft.

That Hughes and Toolco were guilty of self-dealing, that they

could not prove the intrinsic fairness of their dealings with

TWA, that they injured TWA and that the resulting damages

found and prejudgment interest awarded are correct are matters

conclusively established. The only arguments left to Hughes

and Toolco are: (i) that the Delaware courts misconstrued a

now repealed federal statutory provision and (ii) that, contrary

to United Mine Workers v. Gibbs, 383 U.S. 715 (1966), the

Court should adopt a new rule, to be applied retroactively, that

it is a plaintiff’s obligation to prosecute its state claim in federal

court in all circumstances and even when the defendants have

acquiesced in the prosecution of the state claim in the state

court.

The Delaware suit

TWA brought this suit against Hughes and Tooico in the Del-

aware Court of Chancery in April 1962, charging that prior to

2 In the first paragraph of their statement of questions presented

Hughes and Toolco assert that ‘‘the Delaware courts have now

awarded TWA nearly $50,000,000 in damages’’ (Pet. i). In fact, the

judgment was in the principal amount of $17,238,366 with prejudg-

“ment interest of $31,108,234 awarded from January i, 1960 through

entry of judgment in 1987 at an annual rate of 7.32%. Applications for

a stay of execution were denied by the Delaware Supreme Court and by

Justice Brennan, and the judgment has been paid together with

$1,579,525.58 of postjudgment interest on the principal amount of the

judgment only, as is Delaware practice.

3

December 31, 1960, while defendants were in control of TWA,’

they breached the fiduciary duties they owed to TWA and its

minority stockholders by preventing TWA from purchasing jet

aircraft (complaint 44 5, 9, 10, 13, 14, 16-39, 42, 61; 269a ef

seq.).* After the Delaware Supreme Court had upheld seques-

tration of Hughes’s stock in Toolco, Hughes v. Trans World

Airlines, Inc., Del. Supr., 185 A.2d 886 (1962), and the chan-

cery court had denied Hughes’s motion to dismiss for failure to

state a claim, the Delaware action was informally stayed—at

the urging of Hughes and Toolco (20b, 22b)—while the federal

action between TWA and Toolco, described below, went for-

ward.

The federal action

On June 30, 1961 TWA had filed an aciion in the United

States District Court for the Southern District of New York

charging that Toolco, Hughes and Raymond M. Holliday (a

Toolco employee who had been Hughes’s chief representative

on TWA’s board of directors), while in control of TWA, had

violated the federal antitrust laws through a course of conduct

that included the acts and injuries alleged in TWA’s complaint

in its later-filed Delaware suit. Hughes was never a party to the

federal action since TWA was not able to make service upon

him.

In August 1961 Toolco filed a motion to dismiss grounded,

inter alia, on aclaim of immunity from the antitrust laws result-

ing from orders of the Civil Aeronautics Board (‘‘CAB’’)

approving its control of TWA but did not bring its motion on

for decision. Toolco also asserted its immunity claim as an

affirmative defense in its answer filed in February 1962. Not

3 Hughes owned all of the stock of Toolco. By 1942 Toolco owned

more than 40% of TWA’s common stock and had effective working

control. By 1948 and through the 1950s Toolco increased its interest to

near 80%. Toolco’s control ended in early 1961 when a voting trust

became operative, and Toolco sold its TWA stock to the public in 1966

at a profit of near half a billion dollars.

4 References to a are to the Appendix to Petition; references to

b are to the Appendix to Brief in Opposition.

4

until early 1963 when the district court ordered Toolco to pro-

duce Hughes for a deposition did Toolco seek a determination

of its CAB immunity motion. The district court denied the

motion. 214 F. Supp. 106. Toolco then announced it would not

produce Hughes for a deposition, and the district court entered

a default judgment against it and at the same time granted certi-

fication under 28 U.S.C. § 1292(b) permitting Toolco to seek

an interlocutory appeal on its CAB immunity claim. 32 F.R.D.

604.

At a hearing in the Delaware suit on July 10, 1963, after the

default judgment had been entered in the federal action,

Hughes and Toolco told the chancery court that they could

make a motion to dismiss the Delaware suit based on the pen-

dency of the federal action but had decided not to do so. Their

counsel stated:

‘‘But had we taken this step we would have been con-

fronted with a possible inequitable result because while I

believe we are entitled to seek an order dismissing this

entire proceeding in the light of this final judgment which

has been entered in New York, it would be inequitable to

do so while there is a possibility of reversal.

“*It would require the parties, in the event of a reversal,

to start over again. There are statute of limitation ques-

tions.

‘“‘Therefore we believe that the equitable way of pro-

ceeding is to stay all further proceedings here until such

time as the time when the Court of Appeals has acted,

however it will act, and at that time there may or there may

not be some other ques<ions to be litigated, in Delaware or

wherever else these parties may choose to go.’’ (21b-22b)

Whether the statement made on behalf of Hughes and

Toolco was correct or not is immaterial. What is material is that

Hughes and Toolco formaily acquiesced on the record before

the chancery court in the continued pendency of TWA’s Dela-

ware suit.

5

At the July 10, 1963 hearing TWA’s counsel emphasized to

the court that Hughes was a party in the Delaware suit only:

‘*The only party which is in both actions is the Tool Com-

pany. The fact is we couldn’t and can’t get Hughes indi-

vidually in New York. The fact is no judgment has been, is

being, or will be entered against Hughes individually in

New York in any action filed by TWA to date.’’ (23b)

The court of appeals affirmed the district court’s denial of

Toolco’s CAB immunity motion. 332 F.2d 602 (2d Cir. 1964).

After briefing and argument this Court dismissed the writ of

certiorari as improvidently granted. 380 U.S. 248 (1965). After

a two-year damage hearing before a special master, the district

court in 1969 entered a judgment awarding TWA damages of

more than $45 million before statutory trebling, and the court

of appeals again affirmed. 449 F.2d 51 (2d Cir. 1971). The

Court then granted certiorari and reversed, ruling that TWA’s

antitrust claims were barred because the CAB’s orders approv-

ing Toolco’s acquisition and exercise of control of TWA pre-

empted the federal antitrust laws. 409 U.S. 363 (1973).

Defendants’ motion to dismiss

After TWA’s federal antitrust action was dismissed, Hughes

and Toolco moved to dismiss the Delaware suit on grounds of

alleged CAB-conferred immunity (arguing that CAB control

orders, held by this Court to bar TWA’s federal antitrust

claims, also immunized them from suit under Delaware law for

their breaches of fiduciary duty) and res judicata (arguing that

TWA had impermissibly split its claim). The chancery court

denied the motion. 317 A.2d 114 (1974) (28a et seqg.). The Dela-

ware Supreme Court affirmed. 336 A.2d 572 (1975) (13a et

seq.). Hughes and Toolco sought certiorari from the Court on

the ‘‘splitting’’ defense alone, and the writ was denied. 423 U.S.

841 (1975).

Hughes and Toolec then filed amended answers which admit-

ted ‘‘the well pleaded factual allegations of the Complaint

except for allegations of damage to plaintiff and except as the

6

factual allegations of the Complaint are contradicted by admis-

sions of the plaintiff’’ (30la, 304a).

The Delaware summary judgment motions

In July 1976° Toolco filed a motion for summary judgment,

arguing that the CAB had approved the acts of Toolco upon

which TWA’s damage claims were based and that defendants’

admitted conduct did not breach any fiduciary duty they owed

to TWA. TWA moved for partial summary judgment as to lia-

bility against Hughes an@ Toolco, relying on their admissions.

The motions were briefed, argued and decided together.

The chancery court denied Toolco’s motion and granted

TWA’s motion except in two respects. The chancery court

accepted Toolco’s arguments that TWA could not pursue either

(i) damage claims based upon Toolco’s sale or lease of aircraft

to air carriers other than TWA, 374 A.2d at 10 (51a), or (ii)

claims to Toolco’s profits from leasing and selling aircraft to

TWA in transactions specifically approved by the CAB. 374

A.2d at 12 (54a). These exceptions apart, the court held that

under Delaware law the intrinsic fairness rule and not the busi-

ness judgment rule applied to the conduct of Hughes and

Toolco that prevented TWA from acquiring its own adequate

jet fleet and TWA could recover damages for that injury, 374

A.2d at 9-10 (49a-5la), and that their conduct in preventing

TWA from acquiring its own adequate jet fleet on a timely basis

had not been approved or immunized by the CAB. 374 A.2d at

12 (SSa).

The chancery court ruled that under Delaware law Hughes

and Toolco had the burden of proving intrinsic fairness and

that they had not met it except as to the transactions that had

received specific CAB approval. 374 A.2d at 10, 12 (Sla, 54a).

The court entered an order requiring Hughes and Toolco to

account to TWA for any damages it had suffered (61a).

5 Hughes had died on April 5, 1976, and petitioner Lummis, his Dela-

ware Ancillary Administrator, was substituted for him as a party.

Trial and appeal

After extended discovery by Hughes and Toolco the trial of

the accounting of TWA’s damages took place over six weeks in

April and May 1985. On May 15, 1986 the chancery court

handed down its decision awarding TWA $17,238,366 in dam-

ages (67a et seg.}. After further briefing and factual submis-

sions the chancery court on January 21, 1987 awarded TWA

prejudgment interest on its damages at a 7.32% annual raie

from January 1, 1960 (99a, 114a). Judgment was entered

against Hughes and Toolco, jointly and severally, in the princi-

pal amount of $17,238,366 plus prejudgment interest of

$31,108,234 (115a).

Hughes and Toolco appealed, and the Delaware Supreme

Court affirmed the judgment below in ail respects. 540 A.2d

403 (la et seq.). As in their petition to this Court, Hughes and

Toolco on their appeal below laid their main emphasis upon the

argument that orders of the CAB approving Toolco’s acquisi-

tion of control of TWA and certain specific transactions

between Toolco and TWA immunized defendants from any

claim at all based on their conduct toward TWA, even conduct

that was never put before or approved by the CAB. The Dela-

ware Supreme Court rejected that argument:

‘*Because the sales and leases of airplanes between Toolco

and TWA were approved by the CAB, the Supreme Court

of the United States decided in the federal action that

those transactions were exempt from the antitrust laws and

‘all other restraints or prohibitions made by, or imposed

under, authority of law.’ However, as this Court held in

Hughes v. Trans World Airlines, Del. Supr., 336 A.2d

572, 579 (1975), that did not confer a ‘blanket immunity’

upon the actions of Toolco. Although specific transactions

were immunized by CAB authority, Toolco’s conduct

which was not the subject of CAB review or approval,

when taken as a whole, could involve violations of its fidu-

ciary duties to TWA under Delaware law. The Court of

Chancery later found such violations to the rights of the

TWA minority.’’ 540 A.2d at 406 (6a)

8

In 1975 the Delaware Supreme Court had rejected that same

contention:

‘‘We deal here with an intra-corporate conflict. The

claims are large, the events are dated and complex; but in

essence, the contest simply invokes standards of conduct

applicable to corporate fiduciaries and litigated over the

years in Delaware Courts. Nothing has been called to our

attention which persuades us that the Congress intended to

preempt State power to regulate such conduct (as part of

our ‘housekeeping’ function, if nothing more) and vest it

in the CAB. What remedies would the Board provide?

What judgments would it render? What protection would

it accord to minority stockholders, and by what process?”’

336 A.2d at 579 (24a).

Reasons Why the Writ Should Not Issue

The petition should be denied for the following reasons:

1.A. The Supreme Court of Delaware did not err in its con-

struction of § 414 of the Federal Aviation Act, 49 U.S.C.

§ 1384 (1976) (the ‘‘Act’’).

1. The Court’s 1973 opinion ruled that the CAB’s orders

approving Toolco’s control of TWA and the CAB’s power to

oversee Toolco’s exercise of that control preempted the federal

antitrust laws under which TWA had made its federal claim.

The arguments of Hughes and Toolco that the Court in 1973

also decided that Hughes and Toolco were immune from suit

under the standards of conduct that Delaware applies to corpo-

rate fiduciaries and that collateral estoppel binds TWA to that

alleged decision have no basis in the Court’s 1973 opinion.

2. Then as now the Act emphatically stated in § 1106, 49

U.S.C. app. § 1506 (1982): ‘‘Nothing contained in this chapter

shall in any way abridge or alter the remedies now existing at

common law or by statute, but the provisions of this chapter are

in addition to such remedies.’’ In 1978, the phrase upon which

the petition relies was eliminated from § 414 by the enact-

‘4

3

9

ment of a bill that ‘‘clarifies that Section 414 immunity is lim-

ited to the antitrust laws.’’ The amendment echoed the Dela-

ware Supreme Court’s statement quoted above that Congress

did not intend to preempt ‘‘state power to regulate’’ what was

‘*intra-corporate conflict.”’

B. If the Supreme Court of Delaware erred in its construc-

tion of § 414, it did not do so in conscious defiance of the

Supremacy Clause. This Court does not sit to correct error

alone, particularly when the statute allegedly misconstrued has

been repealed and the construction given it accords with a clari-

fying amendment.

II].A. The particular circumstances present here make the

question based upon the effect of United Mine Workers v.

Gibbs and the principles of ves judicata not worthy of consider-

ation by the Court.

1. Hughes avoided service of process in the federal antitrust

action, and TWA was able to obtain his appearance only in the

Delaware suit. For this reason, TWA could prosecute its claim

of breach of fiduciary duty against Hughes only in the Dela-

ware chancery court, while TWA could prosecute its claim of

violation of the antitrust laws only in the federal court and only

against Toolco. A Delaware judgment of joint and several lia-

bility could be executed against the property of Hughes. After

the Court’s decision in Shaffer v. Heitner, 433 U.S. 186 (1977),

which set aside the Delawzie sequestration process—the only

method by which Hughes could be brought to book-—it is

improbable that the situation will arise again.

2. Hughes and Toolco explicitly acquiesced in the continued

pendency of the Delaware suit on the record before the Dela-

ware chancery court. They may not now claim that the dis-

missal of the federal action is a bar to the Delaware suit.

B. The Court’s 1966 ruling in Gibbs that a federal court has

the discretionary power to adjudicate a state law claim does not

support the argument that TWA’s 1961 federal antitrust action

and TWA’s 1962 Delaware suit constitute impermissible

“‘claim-splitting.’’ The state court and court of appeals deci-

10

sions relied on in the petition did not involve situations where,

as here, it was impossible to obtain personal jurisdiction over a

defendant in the federal action.

ARGUMENT

THE 1975 AND 1988 DECISIONS OF THE DELAWARE

SUPREME COURT CONCERNING SECTION 414 DO NOT

PRESENT A QUESTION WARRANTING REVIEW AND

ARE CORRECT.

Hughes and Toolco argue under both point I and point II of

their petition that Hughes and Toolco cannot be held account-

able in damages for any injury they inflicted upon TWA and its

minority stockholders after the CAB approved Toolco’s control

of TWA, although the CAB neither approved nor was aware of

the fact that Hughes and Toolco were violating Delaware law

regulating the conduct of corporate fiduciaries.° In a revealing

phrase Hughes and Toolco assert that they were ‘‘immunized

from suit’’ (Pet. 3). Although they make their argument twice

under purportedly distinct headings of ‘‘colJateral estoppel’’

and ‘‘CAB immunity,” it is one and the same.

The global immunity argument does not presemt a question

warranting review. There is no basis for the global immunity

argument in the Court’s 1973 opinion holding that the CAB’s

orders preempted the federal antitrust laws.

A. No Question Warranting Review Is Presented.

Hughes and Toolco argue that the Delaware Supreme Court

in its 1975 and 1988 decisions misconstrued the phrase ‘‘all

6 Throughout the petition, the arguments of Hughes are made sub

silentio since the opening three words of the petition under ‘‘Question

Presented’’—‘‘Petitioners (collectively ‘Toolco’)’’ (Pet. i)—ignore the

fact that the judgment below is joint and several and attempt to define

Hughes out of the Court’s consciousness. Hughes was a party in the

Delaware action only, never in the federal action.

11

other restraints or prohibitions made by, or imposed under,

authority of law’’ in § 414 of the Act. The argument is wrong

but, if it were right, the purported error does not warrant

review.

The phrase, never adverted to in the text of the Court’s 1973

opinion that addressed only preemption of the antitrust laws,

was stricken from the Act in 1978. The regu'atory scheme of the

Act changed substantially with enactment of the Airline Dereg-

ulation Act of 1978, Pub. L. No. 95-504, 92 Stat. 1705, and the

agency that administered the former scheme came to an end on

January 1, 1985.

The correctness vel non of the Delaware Supreme Court’s

decisions is of interest only to Hughes and Toolco and to

TWA —to the outcome of one litigation only. The exercise of

the Court’s certiorari jurisdiction would be inappropriate.

B. The Decisions Are Correct.

Hughes and Toolco were not globally ‘‘immunized from

suit’’ either by the Court’s 1973 decision or by § 414 itself.

1. There was no collateral estoppel.

The collateral estoppel argument is rhetoric intended to bol-

ster the ‘“‘immunity from suit’? contention by iteration. The

argument assumes an interpretation as to the reach of § 414 of

the Act that this Court did not make and had no occasion to

make in its 1973 opinion.

Section 414 formerly provided:

**Any person affected by any order made under [§ 408

of the Act]. . . shall be, and is hereby, relieved from the

operations of the ‘antitrust laws,’ as designated in [15

U.S.C. § 12], and of all other restraints or prohibitions

made by, or imposed under, authority of law, insofar as

may be necessary to enable such person to do anything

authorized, approved, or required by such order.’’

The Court’s 1973 opinion ruled that the CAB’s orders

approving Toolco’s control of TWA and the CAB’s power to

12

oversee Toolco’s exercise of that control preempted the federal

antitrust laws.

*‘Competition and monopoly—two ingredients of the

antitrust laws—are thus standards governing the CAB’s

exercise of authority in granting, allowing, or expanding

or contracting the control which Toolco had over TWA by

reason of the various orders issued by the CAB under

§ 408. In this context, the authority of the Board to grant

the power to ‘control’ and to investigate and alter the man-

ner in which that ‘control’ is exercised leads us to conclude

that this phase of CAB jurisdiction, like the one in the Pan

American [World Airways v. United States, 371 U.S. 296

(1963)] case, pre-empts the antitrust field.’’ 409 U.S. at

385 (footnotes omitted).

The truncated quotations from the Court’s 1973 opinion that

Hughes and Toolco set out (e.g., Pet. 15-16) excise the words

that limited the Court’s holding to preemption of the federal

antitrust laws.’

In its 1975 decision construing the Court’s 1973 opinion the

Delaware Supreme Court correctly concluded that ‘‘the Court

considered the controversy only and entirely in the context of

the Federal anti-trust statutes’’ and ‘‘the Court disposed of the

litigation entirely on the basis of anti-trust principles, statutory

and decisional.’’ 336 A.2d at 574, 575 (16a).

The Court’s 1973 opinion did not speak to any variety of pre-

emption except preemption of the federal antitrust laws. The

7 ~~ The sentence that precedes the quotation at p. 15 of the petition

states:

**We think the Court of Appeals erred also in construing § 414,

which immunizes from antitrust liability any conduct approved,

authorized, or required by any Board order issued under § 408.”’

409 U.S. at 386.

Missing from the fragmentary quotations at p. 16 of the petition are

references to ‘‘a derivative antitrust suit’? and to ‘‘TWA’s suit in

1961’’ which was ordered dismissed precisely because it was an anti-

trust suit. 409 U.S. at 388. Other references in the opinion emphasizing

that it dealt with preemption of the antitrust laws only can be found in

409 U.S. at 364, 366, 369, 384, 385, 387, 389.

snitch capil

ee ep oe eee ee AI EA.

13

Court did not consider what Congress intended by the provision

in § 414 which refers to ‘‘all other restraints or prohibitions

made by, or imposed under, authority of law.’’ Certainly the

opinion did not construe that language against the equally

emphatic language of § 1106 of the Act, which provided then

and still provides:

‘‘Nothing contained in this chapter shall in any way

abridge or alter the remedies now existing at common law

or by statute, but the provisions of this chapter are in addi-

tion to such remedies.”’

Hughes and Toolco attempt to suggest that there were spe-

cific rulings on damage claims in the Court’s 1973 opinion that

would preclude TWA’s damage judgment below (Pet. 16-18).

The attempt is mistaken. When the Court decided that TWA’s

antitrust claims were wholly preempted by the CAB’s ‘‘author-

ity . . . to grant the power to ‘control’ and to investigate and

alter the manner in which that ‘control’ is exercised,’’ 409 U.S.

at 385, it reversed TWA’s judgment for damages and directed

that its complaint be dismissed. Nothing in the 1973 opinion

suggests a determination that particular damage claims had

been rejected for any reason but that TWA’s entire antitrust

action was preempted.

2. There was no statutory immunity.

The Delaware courts have awarded TWA damages for the

injuries it suffered when Hughes and Toolco engaged in self-

dealing while they controlled it. Those damages were awarded

after Hughes and Toolco failed to prove, as Delaware law says

they must, that their self-dealing transactions were ‘‘intrinsi-

cally fair’? to TWA and its minority stockholders.

Hughes and Toolco argue that Delaware has impermissibly

**sought through a fiduciary action to exercise ‘divided author-

ity’ over the Toolco-TWA control relationship by substituting

Delaware determinations for determinations by the CAB that

Toolco’s control of TWA was in the public interest and on just

and reasonable terms’’ (Pet. 19-20). Their argument ignores the

14

facts of this case. Hughes and Toolco were controlling persons

and have been found to have cheated the corporation they con-

trolled and its minority stockholders. TWA is a Delaware cor-

poration, as is Toolco. TWA went to the Court of Chancery of

Delaware to obtain restitution of what it had been deprived by

Hughes and Toolco.

Hughes and Toolco argue that ‘‘[i]n section 414, Congress

expressly addressed the preemptive effects of CAB control

orders, providing that mo ‘restraints or prohibitions’ were to

impede effectuation of what the CAB had approved’’ (Pet. 19).

The preemption of the antitrust laws that doomed TWA’s anti-

trust action flowed from the CAB’s approval of Toolco’s con-

trol of TWA, not from its approval of any specific transaction

between Toolco and TWA. The Court’s decision does not refer

to CAB approval of the particular transactions upon which

TWA’s antitrust damage claims depended.

The attempt by Hughes and Toolco to argue what Congress

must have intended by § 414 (Pet. 20) is particularly inappro-

priate. Congress amended § 414 in 1978 to eliminate the refer-

ence to ‘“‘all other restraints or prohibitions made by, or

imposed under, authority of law’’ on which Hughes and Toolco

rely. Airline Deregulation Act of 1978, Pub. L. No. 95-504,

§ 30(a), 92 Stat. 1705, 1731. After that amendment § 414 pro-

vided:

**In any order made under [§ 408 of the Act]. . . the

Board may, as part of such order, exempt any person

affected by such order from the operations of the ‘anti-

trust laws’ set forth in [15 U.S.C. § 12(a)] to the extent

necessary to enable such person to proceed with the trans-

action specifically approved by the Board in such order

and those transactions necessarily contemplated by such

order, except that the Board may not exempt such person

unless it determines that such exemption is required in the

public interest.’’ 49 U.S.C. app. § 1384 (1982).°

8 Additional language, not pertinent here, was added to § 414 by the

International Air Transportation Competition Act of 1979, Pub. L.

96-192, § 27, 94 Stat. 35, 47.

1 nce Tite

15

H.R. Rep. No. 1211, 95th Cong., 2d Sess. 18 (1978), reprinted

in 1978 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News 3737, 3754, explained

the purpose of the amendment as follows:

**Section 414 of the Federal Aviation Act grants immu-

nity from the antitrust laws and other laws for transactions

or relationships that have received Board approval pursu-

ant to other provisions of the act.

“Section 414 has been interpreted to give antitrust

immunity far beyond the scope intended by the Board. For

example, in Hughes Tool Company v. Trans World Air-

lines, 409 U.S. 363, 1973), the Supreme Court held,

despite CAB disclaimers, that a broad course of conduct

allegedly violating the antitrust laws had been immunized

as a result of CAB orders approving certain limited trans-

actions.

**H.R. 12611 limits section 414 immunity in several

respects. First, the bill clarifies that section 414 immunity

is limited to the antitrust laws. Second, the bill provides

that immunity shall be granted only insofar as is necessary

to permit completion of transactions specifically approved

by the Board, or transactions necessarily contemplated by

a Board order. Third, the bill provides that the grant of

antitrust immunity is discretionary with the Board and

that the Board in granting immunity must find the grant to

be in the public interest.’ (Emphasis added)

The House-Senate Conference Committee adopted the lan-

guage of the House bill and the explanation in the House

Report. H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 1779, 95th Cong., 2d Sess. 78

(1978), reprinted in 1978 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News

3773, 3792.

Neither here nor below have Hughes and Toolco ever

explained why the extraordinary result they are seeking makes

sense. Why should the fact that a federal regulatory agency had

oversight over the Toolco/TWA control relationship preempt

Delaware law and immunize self-dealing by Hughes and Toolco

16

when the CAB never approved or considered the particular acts

of self-dealing? As the Delaware Supreme Court said in 1975:

‘*‘What remedies would the Board provide? What judg-

ments would it render? What protection would it accord to

minority stockholders, and by what process?’’ 336 A.2d at

579 (24a).

As the Court observed in Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee Corp.,

464 U.S. 238, 251 (1984), when it refused to preempt state law

remedies for injuries resulting from safety violations even

where safety regulation was exclusively a federal concern:

“*(T]here is no indication that Congress even seriously con-

sidered precluding the use of such remedies either when it

enacted the Atomic Energy Act in 1954 or when it

amended it in 1959. This silence takes on added signifi-

cance in light of Congress’ failure to provide any federal

remedy for persons injured by such conduct. It is difficult

to believe that Congress would, without comment, remove

all means of judicial recourse for those injured by illegal

conduct.”’

The Court has emphasized that a federal statutory scheme

will be held to preempt state regulation—and especially state

regulation of the governance of corporations which are crea-

tures of state law—only

eee

where compliance with both federal and state regula-

tions is a physical impossibility . . . ,’ Florida Lime &

Avocado Growers, Inc. v. Paul, 373 U.S. 132, 142-143

(1963), or where the state ‘law stands as an obstacle to the

accomplishment and execution of the full purposes and

objectives of Congress.’ Hines v. Davidowitz, 312 U.S. 52,

67 (1941). . . .”’ Ray v. Atlantic Richfield Co., 435 U.S.

151, 158 (1978).

The Court repeated this language in CTS Corp. v. Dynamics

Corp. of America, 107 S. Ct. 1637, 1644, 1648 (1987) (‘‘The

longstanding prevalence of state regulation in this area suggests

that, if Congress had intended to pre-empt all state laws that

17

delay the acquisition of voting control following a tender offer,

it would have said so explicitly’’); accord Santa Fe Industries,

Inc. v. Green, 430 U.S. 462, 479 (1977) (‘‘Absent a clear indica-

tion of congressional intent, we are reluctant to federalize the

substantial portion of the law of corporations that deals with

transactions in securities, particularly where established state

policies of corporate regulation would be overridden’’). See

also Louisiana Public Service Commission v. FCC, 476 U.S.

355, 368-70 (1986); Burks v. Lasker, 441 U.S. 471, 478-80

(1979). In Nader v. Allegheny Airlines, Inc., 426 U.S. 290, 299,

300 (1976), the Court concluded that ‘‘we are not faced with an

irreconcilable conflict between the statutory scheme and the

persistence of common-law remedies’’ and ruled that a state

tort claim for fraudulent misrepresentation in connection with

the ‘‘bumping”’ of an airline passenger who held a valid reser-

vation could proceed because ‘‘the common-law action and the

Statute are not ‘absolutely inconsistent’ and may coexist, as

contemplated by § 1106 [of the Act].’’

Like the situations that were the subjects of these decisions

TWA’s Delaware suit did not present any irreconcilable conflict

between state and federal regulatory schemes. The reliance

placed by Hughes and Toolco upon Mississippi Power & Light

Co. v. Mississippi ex rel. Moore, 108 S. Ct. 2428 (1988), and

Nantahala Power & Light Co. v. Thornburg, 476 U.S. 953

(1986), is inexplicable. In each of those cases the petitioners

were faced with an order of the Federal Energy Reguiatory

Commission resulting in one rate while a state public utility

commission was permitted to make determinations that would

result in another and conflicting rate. Seaboard Air Line R.R.

v. Daniel, 333 U.S. 118 (1948), is no more apposite, for it

involved an express order of the Interstate Commerce Commis-

sion that South Carolina sought to countermand.

There is no hint of any such conflict between the federal regu-

latory scheme and Delaware law governing the relationship

between corporate fiduciaries and their cestui que trust. Immu-

nizing the misconduct of Hughes and Toolco would allow these

admitted wrongdoers to avoid responsibility for what they have

done—nothing more.

18

THE DISMISSAL OF TWA’S ANTITRUST CLAIM DOES

NOT PRECLUDE TWA’S DELAWARE CLAIM AGAINST

HUGHES AND TOOLCO.

Hughes and Toolco contend that TWA impermissibly split its

claim against both of them because it did not assert in its federal

action against Toolco in 1961 the Delaware state law claim that

it brought in Delaware chancery court against both Hughes and

Toolco in 1962. Their contention assumes that TWA was bound

to anticipate the Court’s 1966 decision in United Mine Workers

v. Gibbs and the later rulings, principally of state courts (Pet.

24n.36 and 25n.37), that would turn Gibbs’s ‘‘doctrine of dis-

cretion’’ under which ‘‘[nJeedless decisions of state law should

be avoided,’’ 383 U.S. at 726, into what amounts to compul-

sory pendeni pleading—an inescapable obligation that plaintiff

must plead the state law claim, whatever its nature and what-

ever the other pertinent circumstances, in the federal court

along with the federal claim. The Court denied certiorari in

1975 when Hughes and Toolco made the same contention. 423

U.S. 841.

A. No Question Warranting Review Is Presented

in the Circumstances.

Whether or not to consider the ‘‘compulsory pendent plead-

ing’’ concept that defendants urge may be left by the Court to

an appropriate case. The facts here preclude the argument that

TWA split a single claim (i) because the Delaware state law

claim of breach of fiduciary duty could only be and was liti-

gated against Hughes in the Delaware chancery court and

(ii) because Hughes and Toolco acquiesced in any splitting that

occurred.

1. Hughes and Toolco acquiesced in the continued

pendency of the Delaware suit from 1963 until 1973.

In arguing the general principles of res judicata or claim split-

ting, it is not helpful to rely upon statements of general princi-

19

ples taken from the opening words of opinions that turn on

particular facts. For example, the words Hughes and Toolco

quote from Brown v. Felsen, 442 U.S. 127 (1979) (Pet. 22),

hardly forecast the Court’s unanimous holding that, because

**res judicata shields the fraud and the cheat as well as the hon-

est person’’ and ‘‘is to be invoked only after careful inquiry

[,]. . . neither the interests served by res judicata, the process

of orderly adjudication in state courts, nor the policies of the

Bankruptcy Act would be well served by foreclosing petitioner

from submitting additional evidence to prove his case.’’ 442

U.S. at 132.

The Restatement (Second) of Judgments (1982) states an apt

exception to the rule for which Hughes and Toolco contend:

**§ 26. Exceptions to the General Rule Concerning

Splitting

**(1) When any of the following circumstances exists, the

general rule of § 24 does not apply to extinguish the claim,

and part or all of the claim subsists as a possible basis for a

second action by the plaintiff against the defendant:

**(a) The parties have agreed in terms or in effect that

the plaintiff may split his claim, or the defendant has

acquiesced therein. .. .”’

TWA filed an antitrust complaint against Toolco in federal

court in 1961, and Toolco answered in February 1962, asserting

its CAB immunity defense; TWA could not effect service upon

Hughes in the federal action. TWA filed its Delaware action

against Toolco and Hughes in April 1962, obtaining personal

jurisdiction over both. Toolco answered but did not assert an

affirmative defense of prior pending action or take any other

steps to keep the two actions from proceeding concurrently. In

February 1963 Toolco defaulted in the federal action but

obtained an interlocutory appeal of the district court’s decision

rejecting its CAB immunity defense.

In July 1963 when Toolco’s CAB immunity defense was

scheduled to go before the court of appeals, Hughes and Toolco

told the Delaware chancery court that, although they believed

20

they could move to dismiss the Delaware suit based on the pen-

dency of the federal action, they had decided not to do so (see

p. 4, supra). Not until the Court decided almost a decade later

that Toolco’s motion asserting its CAB immunity defense to

TWA’s antitrust claims should have been granted in the first

instance did Hughes and Toolco argue that TWA had split its

claim.

As the Delaware Supreme Court recognized in 1975, 336

A.2d at 578 (22a), Toolco’s choice not to assert ‘‘splitting’’ for

more than a decade while each case continued pending in a dif-

ferent court is plainly acquiescence within the meaning of

§ 26(1)(a) of the Restatement (Second) of Judgments. Kern Oil

& Refining Co. v. Tenneco Oil Co., 840 F.2d 730, 735 (9th Cir.

1988) (‘‘Tenneco, by never objecting to separate trials of the

price and supply cases, cannot now object to their being split’’)

(footnote omitted); Shaw v. Chell, 176 Ohio St. 375, 199

N.E.2d 869, 874 (1964) (defendant consents to splitting cause of

action when he withholds objection until judgment is entered in

one of two pending actions); Todd v. Central Petroleum Co.,

155 Kan. 249, 124 P.2d 704, 707 (1942) (one who seeks the ben-

efit of the splitting rule ‘‘must claim its benefit on the institu-

tion of a second or unnecessary action at an early stage of the

proceedings, otherwise he will waive his right to its benefit’’);

Georgia Ry. & Power Co. v. Endsley, 167 Ga. 439, 145 S.E.

851, 855 (1928) (‘‘It was too late for the defendant to object to

the splitting of the action into two suits after judgment had

been rendered against it in one of them’’). See also Rennie v.

Freeway Transport, 294 Or. 319, 656 P.2d 919, 924 (1982) (‘‘a

defendant is free to waive the right to a combined action and

the parties are competent to agree mutually to the splitting and

separate litigation of the various aspects of a plaintiff’s claim’’)

(cited at Pet. 24, 25, 27).”

9 In the Rennie case the court ruled that defendants had not acqui-

esced in plaintiff’s claim-splitting because they had moved to dismiss

or abate the prior-pending federal case immediately after the complaint

in the state action was filed. 656 P.2d at 924-25.

AED Catch Raa RE anak ORS alga eRe Si ind ect heh nate a IR wR A SD:

AMATI A Roe ied’ Ani oles

—s

21

2. If the timing had been different, the result would be the

same, and Hughes and Toolco would have no argu-

ment.

If in 1961 TWA had foreseen Gibbs and the subsequent mis-

reading of Gibbs discussed below, TWA might have appended

its Delaware claim against Toolco to its antitrust claim against

Toolco. We say ‘‘might’’ because TWA was able to obtain

Hughes’s appearance only in the Delaware chancery court.'°

The district court’s denial of Toolco’s motion to dismiss

based on its claim of immunity by reason of the CAB orders

was affirmed by the court of appeals in 1964. The Court in 1965

(at TWA’s suggestion) dismissed the writ of certiorari to review

that decision as improvidently granted. If instead the Court had

made then the ruling it made in 1973, TWA’s federal claim

would have been dismissed before any trial and the appended

Delaware claim would have been dismissed as well. Gibbs, 383

U.S. at 726. TWA would have instituted (or revived) the Dela-

ware suit and by hypothesis the judgment that Hughes and

Toolco wish the Court to review would have been reached with-

out, however, any possible basis for a claim of res judicata as to

the Delaware claim by reason of the dismissal of the federal

claim.

10 The arguments that led the Court to abandon the requirement of

mutuality of parties for collateral estoppel (or issue preclusion), see

Parklane Hosiery Co. v. Shore, 439 U.S. 322 (1979), do not apply to

claim preclusion—especially when the party seeking to assert claim pre-

clusion was not subject to personal jurisdiction in the prior action on

which the asserted preclusion is based. The rules against splitting a

claim apply only between parties. Hecht v. City of New York, 60

N.Y.2d 57, 62, 454 N.E.2d 527, 530, 467 N.Y.S.2d 187, 190 (1983) (‘‘a

judgment for or against one tort-feasor does not operate as a merger or

bar of a claim against other tort-feasors’’); Restatement (Second) of

Judgments § 49 (1982) (‘‘A judgment against one person liable for a

loss does not terminate a claim that the injured party may have against

another person who may be liable therefor’’).

22

B. The Doctrine of ‘‘Compulsory Pendent Pleading’’ Cannot

Apply.

Perhaps the plainest statement of the theory of compulsory

pendent pleading appears at Restatement (Second) of Judg-

ments, § 25, Comment e:

“*e. State and federal theories or grounds. A given

claim may find support in theories or grounds arising from

both state and federal law. When the plaintiff brings an

action on the claim in a court, either state or federal, in

which there is no jurisdictional obstacle to his advancing :

both theories or grounds, but he presents only one of

them, and judgment is entered with respect to it, he may

not maintain a second action in which he tenders the other

theory or ground. If however, the court in the first action

would clearly not have had jurisdiction to entertain the

omitted theory or ground (or, having jurisdiction, would

clearly have declined to exercise it as a matter of discre-

tion), then a second action in a competent court presenting

the omitted theory or ground should be held not pre-

cluded.”’

. adie

This Comment, like all but one of the cases on which Hughes

and Toolco rely in contending for compulsory pendent pleading

(Pet. 24n.36 and 25n.37),"' depends upon United Mine Workers

11 Most of the post-Gibbs cases that Hughes and Toolco depend upon

involve a second lawsuit against the same defendant or defendants

after judgment was entered against plaintiff in his first lawsuit. The

defendants in the two cases involving concurrent, not consecutive, law-

suits did not acquiesce in the pendency of the second suit. Rennie v.

Freeway Transport, supra, 656 P.2d at 924-25; Juneau Square Corp. v.

First Wisconsin National Bank, 122 Wis. 2d 673, 364 N.W.2d 164, 171

(Ct. App. 1985) (prior pending action pleaded as a defense).

The one pre-Gibbs case, McCann v. Whitney, 25 N.Y.S.2d 354, 354-

55 (Sup. Ct. N.Y. Co. 1941), is a trial court decision granting summary

judgment dismissing a state antitrust law claim ‘‘based upon the same

allegedly wrongful and unlawful acts, in which final judgments have

been entered in favor of the defendants’’ in two prior federal antitrust

actions brought successively against the same defendants in federal dis-

trict court.

— ee n

23

v. Gibbs and is not fairly applicable to a pre-Gibbs case like

this.'*

The fundamental difficulty with the Restatement’s Comment

and the decisions upon which Hughes and Toolco rely is that

they extend the Gibbs ruling as to the scope of federal ‘‘judicial

power,’’ 383 U.S. at 725, into a rule of preclusion of a state

claim that is materially different from the federal claim. The

Gibbs opinion stressed that the exercise of pendent jurisdiction

is discretionary.

‘‘That power need not be exercised in every case in

which it is found to exist. It has consistently been recog-

nized that pendent jurisdiction is a doctrine of discretion,

not of plaintiff’s right. Its justification lies in consider-

ations of judicial economy, convenience and fairness to

litigants; if these are not present a federal court should

hesitate to exercise jurisdiction over state claims, even

though bound to apply state law to them, Erie R. Co. v.

Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64. Needless decisions of state law

should be avoided both as a matter of comity and to pro-

mote justice between the parties, by procuring for them a

surer-footed reading of applicable law.’’ 383 U.S. at 726

(footnotes omitted).

12

According to 13B C. Wright, A. Miller & E. Cooper, Federal Prec-

tice and Procedure: Jurisdiction 2d § 3567, at 112 (1984), Gibbs

‘*changed the law in this area so significantly that pre-1966 cases are

now of historical interest only’’ (footnote omitted). Before 1966 the

scope of pendent jurisdiction was defined by Hurn v. Oursler, 289

U.S. 238 (1933). Under that case the basic criterion for a federal

court’s exercising pendent jurisdiction over a common law claim was

not commonality or identity of facts with the federal claim but whether

plaintiff was suing for violation of a singie right and was thus asserting

a single ‘‘cause of action.’’ If separate rights were invoived—even

though the conduct complained of was the same—there were separate

causes of action, and the non-federal claim had to be dismissed. 289

U.S. at 248. Applying the Hurn test, the conduct of Hughes and

Toolco invaded two separate rights of TWA—the right to be free from

unfaithful dealing by a fiduciary and the right to be free from an

unlawful restraint of trade.

24

In any event, the test set out in the Comment is whether the

federal court would have declined to entertain TWA’s Delaware

state law claims. The district court’s May 23, 1973 opinion

when it entered the judgment dismissing TWA’s antitrust com-

plaint stated that, while the dismissal was on the merits with

respect to the federal claims, ‘‘it does not follow that such a dis-

missal would be a bar to the nonfederal claims,’’ citing a case in

which pendent non-federal claims were dismissed before trial

along with the antitrust claims that made it a federal case. 359

F. Supp. 783, 785 (119a).'° If speculation were required, the

only appropriate conclusion is that the district court would not

have entertained the Delaware claims on which TWA’s judg-

ment is grounded.

13. Calderone Enterprises Corp. v. United Artists Theatre Circuit, Inc.,

454 F.2d 1292, 1297 (2d Cir. 1971), cert. denied, 406 U.S. 930 (1972)

(‘Since the federally-based claims were properly dismissed prior to

trial, however, the pendent state claims must also be dismissed and the

plaintiff relegated to the state courts for relief’’).

25

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons the writ of certiorari should not

issue.

Respectfully submitted,

WILLIAM E. HEGARTY

Counsel of Record

MARSHALL COX

MICHAEL P. TIERNEY

CAHILL GORDON & REINDEL

(a partnership including

professional corporations)

80 Pine Street

New York, New York 10005

(212) 701-3000

Of Counsel:

MARK A. BUCKSTEIN

605 Third Avenue

New York, New York 10158

LOUIS J. FINGER

RICHARDS, LAYTON & FINGER

One Rodney Square

P.O. Box 551

Wilmington, Delaware 19899

August 26, 1988

en War

yin” Ne

ree

Ges

Ib

Transcript of Proceedings at Hearing on July 10, 1963

IN THE

COURT OF CHANCERY OF THE

STATE OF DELAWARE

In anv F'or New Castiz County

Civil Action No. 1607

Trans Woritp Aruines, Inc.,

Plaintiff,

Vs.

Hvucues Toot Company, et al.,

Defendants,

and

Tue Equirasute Lire Assurance Society or THE UNITED

States, Merropourtan Lire Insurance Company, Irvine

Trust Company, Damion, Reap & Co., Inc., James F.

Oates, Jz., Harry C. Hacerty, Ben-Fteminc Sessex,

Ernest R. Breecu, and CHarues C. Trmircnast, JR.,

Additional Defendants

on Counterclaims.

County Court House

Wilmington, Delaware

July 10, 1963

2:30 P.M., E.D.S.T.

Before:

HonoraBLe Wituiam Marvet,

Vice Chancellor.

[Appearances ]

2b

Transcript of Proceedings at Hearing on July 10, 1963

[2] * ee

The Court: * * *

Mr. Finger, I think you arranged this hearing.

Mr. Finger: This hearing is upon the order to be entered

upon your Honor’s opinion of June 7, 1963. On a prior

occasion we appeared before your Honor and submitted a

draft of order, and by agreement the matter was put off

until today.

We desire to renew our request for an order on that

opinion, and the form of the order that we present is the

one which during the informal conference in Chambers we

presented, and copies of which were handed to other counsel.

I now present the same form of order. The only change

is that the earlier draft spoke of June; this speaks of July.

The only other change is in the date near the end of the

order, about five lines from the bottom, where we have

substituted July for June.

{3] This form of order in paragraph 4 contains provi-

sions with respect to the taking of depositions. Since that

time there has been served upon us a motion to stay with

respect to the taking of depositions, and I presume that

both matters should be considered together. The decision

on the motion to stay presumably will govern the form of

the order.

That is to say, if the stay is granted, then there will be

a substanial change in the last paragraph of our form of

order. If the stay is not granted, then we presume that the

order in the form that we present it would still be in order.

It would be my suggestion, subject to your Honor’s ap-

proval, that since the matter of the stay enters into the

matter of the form of order, that perhaps we should hear

from the attorney for Hughes and Hughes Tool Company

3b

Transcript of Proceedings at Hearing on July 10, 1963

on their motion for stay and the position of the respective

parties with respect to that application.

The Court: Mr. Tunnell.

Mr. Tunnell: May it please the court, from the very in-

stitution of the action in this court it has been affirmed by

the plaintiff and acknowledged by the defendants that all

of the acts complained of in the complaint as filed in this

court are included within the sweep and scope of the [4]

complaint that has been filed in New York.

We have at various times discussed the reason why the

Delaware action was filed, but whatever the reason may

have been initially it must be clear to all of us that the

time is bound to come when it will be impossible for the

plaintiff to get judgment in both of these cases.

The relief cannot be thus duplicated, or quadrupled in

this case, because, as your Honor will recall, there is a

prayer for treble damages in connection with the New York

suit.

It seems perfectly apparent to us that at some stage, one

case or the other will have to come to a standstill.

Since we were before your Honor on the last occasion,

Judge Metzner has taken actions which we talked about as

a possibility and a likelihood at the time of our previous

argument, But what we only thought about as a future

action at that time has now become a reality. Judge Metz-

ner has dismissed with prejudice five counterciaims, given

summary judgment with respect to one, and has given judg-

ment with respect to the complaint, and has asked that the

damage hearing be commenced.

Following his decision of the merits and setting down

the matter of damages for hearing, appeal has been [5]

noticed and the appeal has been received and will be enter-

tained by the Cincuit Court of Appeals.

4b

Transcript of Proceedings at Hearing on July 10, 1963

I don’t know just how far this court means to permit

counsel to travel in parallel roads, but we want your Honor

on this occasion very seriously to think, as we represent

to the court, that this is probably the time in which to sus-

pend proceedings in this case pending the determination

by the Circuit Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit of

the validity of the judgments which Judge Metzner has

entered.

There are many things that could be said to elaborate

upon this application. I could not say them under any cir-

cumstances any better than they are said in the affidavit

of Mr. Davis which is attached to the motion which I am

now speaking to, your Honor. I don’t know if the court

has had an opportunity to study the facts set forth in that

affidavit but they are the facts which I have just, with a

broad brush, now outlined.

So we say to the court that it seems to us that it would

be an unnecessary duplication of the effort of all concerned

to go forward now when apparently the case is in the form

of final judgment, and there it will remain unless of course

the judgments of the trial court are reversed, or amended

in some substantial fashion.

{6] Therefore, we respectfully ask your Honor to enter

an order at this time staying any further proceedings in

this case.

We find ourselves at this moment in agreement with

what I took to be a feeling on the part of Mr. Finger when

he waved us to the lectern. It seems to us that for the court

now to enter an order would perhaps defeat, to some extent,

the purpose of this application for stay because your Honor

would, by entering an order in the form that either of us

hes suggested, start the time running for an appeal, which

5b

Transcript of Proceedings at Hearing on July 10, 1963

again seems to us to fall upon all the parties and counsel

for all the parties, and some court, to do a lot of work

which is really unnecessary.

So we respectfully ask your Honor to consider the sub-

stance of the affidavit and the prayer of the motion.

The Court: Mr. Tunnell, is there any kind of order that

should be entered? You say no order is required.

Mr. Tunnell: I’m sorry, your Honor, that was too broad

a statement. There is certainly an order to be entered. It

seems to me that an appropriate order would be that the

motion for a general stay, which is here presented, should

be granted, and in the meantime no further orders will be

undertaken in this court.

Now, your Honor’s opinion is on file and the force [7]

of it will not be lost or deteriorate. It will only be put

in a posture where work must be done with respect to it

if it is implemented in the form of an order as the court

thought appropriate under the facts as they stood at the

time the memorandum opinion came down.

But we think, and respectfully submit to your Honor,

that the facts which were then before your Honor have now

been amplified in a significant way. So we think there

should be just a simple general order of stay pending the

outcome of these appellate proceedings.

The Court: In other words, any other kind of order

dealing with the matters sought to be decided in the opinion

would set time running as to responsive pleadings, deposi-

tions, and so on?

Mr. Tunnell: Yes, and that we would ask your Honor

not to do. But all counsel and the court will remember the

posture of the matter, and if the case should take the turn

that made it wise, and to your Honor apparently just, for

6b

Transcript of Proceedings at Hearing on July 10, 1963

these proceedings to resume, I suppose that is precisely at

the point where they would resume.

[8] * * *@

The Court: Yes. Your thought is that not to have a

stay now might lead to duplication of work?

Mr. Tunnell: Yes, your Honor, it would. For instance,

these depositions are very frankly mentioned. There needs

to be a reply to counterclaims here, counterclaims similar

to those that have been dismissed with prejudice in New

York. There would have to be a reply.

They want to take depositions with respect to the coun-

terclaims. That is illustrative of the type of thing that is

going to have to be undertaken unless the case is stayed.

The Court: I gather that the appeal is being accelerated

in some way—I don’t know how successful you have been

on that—but if you and your associates are successful, <

reversal might mean that this whole very bitterly contested

litigation might go before the Civil Aeronautics Board in

the first instance.

Mr. Tunnell: That is one possibility, your Honor.

The Court : Well, that is what you would hope for, I

gather.

Mr. Tunnell: Yes, sir.

The Court: Very well, Mr. Sonnett.

[9] I might say, perhaps in fairness to myself, that I

came in here expecting to have an order presented. I was

not aware of the fact that a motion for stay was in the file.

Mr. Sonnett: Nor were we, your Honor, until it was

belatedly received just a few days ago.

The Court: It was filed July 8. It was served starting

on the 5th, I guess,

7b

Transcript of Proceedings at Hearing on July 10, 1963

Mr. Sonnétt: However, I don’t press the point, your

Honor, about the late service because I think this is the

time to make a disposition of the matter which has been

before you several times before.

[10] * 0. @

In respect of the motion for a stay, your Honor, I think

a short and simple answer to it is that Mr. Hughes, who is

by all accounts the principal actor in all of these events,

is not a defendant in the New York case. Although we

spent many thousands of dollars trying to bring about that

happy result, we never could find him and serve him with

process, and he has not seen fit to appear in the New York

litigation.

So that we have in New York, Toolco on the one hand,

which as your Honor knows is 100% owned by Hughes, but

we don’t have Mr. Hughes.

We also have in the New York case Mr. Holliday, who

is the chief executive officer under Mr. Hughes controlling

the activities of the Tool Company. We do not have Mr.

Holliday as a defendant in the Delaware case.

In the Delaware case we now, after strenuous °fforts

and by reason of decisions of this court, have Mr. Hughes

before this court as an individual defendant. This is the

only court in which he is a defendant, and it [11] is to

the orders of this court, and this court alone, that he will

respond if he responds to the orders of any court.

The prayer for relief in this case, as your Honor will

recall, seeks a very sign.ficant—indeed, essentially equi-

table—relief against Hughes and the Tool Company, in

addition to damages. We cannot get that equitable relief

8b

Transcript of Proceedings at Hearing on July 10, 1963

against Howard R. Hughes individually any place in the

world except from your Honor, and we think in due course

that we are going to prove to your satisfaction that we

are entitled to it, we need it, and that we should have r.

So that what the motion for a stay comes down to, I

respectfully submit, is another effort—and there have been

many, many efforts before—to keep Hughes beyond the

reach of any court. It’s that simple.

I think, therefore, your Honor should, in the exercise

of your sound discretion and judgment, deny the motion

for a stay on that ground alone.

As to the form of an order to be entered on your

Honor’s last decision, we think the form of order which we

have submitted is for the reasons set forth in my affidavit

served and submitted today, the appropriate form. Our

form of order, your Honor, is identical with the form of

order submitted by the Tool Company with the exception

that we, in our form of order, have contained the provi-

sions [12] in paragraph 1 for the service of an answer

by Hughes.

May we hand up the affidavit, your Honor, to which I

referred, and serve copies.

We have in paragraph 3 provision for the service of a

reply by TWA to the counterclaims of Toolco, and we have

in paragraph 4 a provision which we think suitable, sub-

ject to your Honor’s selection of a date, with respect to

the depositions which have been noticed to be taken by the

additional defendants, and.in which TWA will participate

when, as and if the deposition of Hughes is taken pursuant

to those notices.

In summary, your Honor, therefore, I see nothing be-

fore your Honor which would warrant indefinitely delay-

9b

Transcript of Proceedings at Hearing on July 10, 1963

ing this case because of the New York case, on the one

ground alone that Hughes is not in the New York case and

that he is an essential defendant in this case, and on the

further ground that your Honor has pointed out, that the

well settled policy of this court is against staying the

hand of this court in matters over which it has jurisdiction

because there may be some other, somewhat related, litiga-

tion elsewhere.

We don’t know when the New York case will be disposed

of. It may be November, it may be December, it may be

next year. We just don’t know. Were your Honor [13]

therefore to grant the stay they seek, it would mean that

this court would be paralyzed in this case, I would suggest,

for at least six months.

This is the kind of result Hughes has sought individually

to achieve by evading process in the New York case and

by delaying, until he was dragged in by the heels, his ap-

pearance in this case.

Thank you.

Mr. Tunnell: If the court please, may we have five

minutes or so to read this paper? We haven’t seen it

before, and while we have had five minutes we did have

to listen to Mr. Sonnett.

The Court: I will take a recess for five or ten minutes

and read it myself.

(Brief recess.)

& 2 *

[25] Mr. Tunnell: May it please your Honor, I want

to speak briefly, and then I would like to ask your Honor

to hear Mr. Davis on behalf of our clients.

Our friends, with laudable unanimity, concur in every-

thing they ask. They concur that nothing has happened

10b

Transcript of Proceedings at Hearing on July 10, 1963

that wasn’t predicted the last time we were before your

Honor, and indicate that therefore there isn’t really much

significance to it. It simply means we are repeating every-

thing that we said before and your Honor ruled upon

before.

There is perhaps no better way for us to emphasize

the importance of what has happened since, and that we

are not repeating what we said before but are relying upon

what happened since, then to talk a little bit about this

ease of Chadwick against Parkhill, which illustrates the

significant point as we see it.

Incidentally, that case is reported as Chadwick against

Gill in 141 Atlantic page 618, but that is the Parkhill case.

The Court: It is also in 16 Delaware Chancery 127.

There are several opinions. That is the one on the motion

to stay?

Mr. Tunnell: Yes, your Honor, and that is the one that

I cited to the court in 141 Atlantic, the stay order.

£26] Your Honor may have just read the ease, in which

ease T will try to be very quick indeed, but I did have

to say a little something in fairness to any of our adver-

saries who may not have the book in front of them at the

moment.

Chadwick filed suit in the King’s Bench Division in the

High Court of Justice in England, and then subsequently

filed a similar action in the Court of Chancery of this

State, in this court, as a matter of fact. Gill moved to

stay the proceedings in the Court of Chancery of the State

of Delaware on the ground that the action in England had

been filed before the one in Delaware was, but, as Chan-

cellor Wolcott pointed out, he did not rely upon or point

out to the court any particular equity, I suppose, of op-

11b

Transcript of Proceedings at Hearing on July 10, 1963

pressiveness or any of the things that the Chancellor

specifically cited. He merely said there is a prior action

pending over in England, so I want this one stayed.

Chancellor Wolcott then decided, incidentally, not that

he couldn’t have stayed it but that he needn’t stay it, and

in the absence of equity would not stay it on that ground.

He then concluded his comments, after having written

a brief opinion on the fact that he wasn’t compelled to

stay it in those circumstances, by this dictum, which is

the last thing he said in the opinion:

[27] “Of course, if the prior suit had proceeded to

judgment, the court rendering it having jurisdiction,

the later suit must end.”

Your Honor will recall that this suit was the second

one filed. The prior suit—take the counterclaims which

I cited to your Honor a while ago, the counterclaims in

New York. They have proceeded to judgment and for

whatever meaning and effect it has, they have proceeded

to judgment with prejudice.

Now our friends stand before your Honor today and

say, “Oh, there is ndthing changed.” Well, first of all a

judgment was entered, which Chancellor Wolcott thought

would have dramatic consequences. That was not the fact

when we stood before your Honor before. True enough,

it was anticipated, but the juridical effect of that antici-

pation is certainly different from the juridical effect of

a judgment.

It appears to us that had Chancellor Wolcott had this

matter before him and been in the same mood that he

was when he wrote this opinion, the mood being induced

by the equities that he heard in this case—I don’t mean

12b

Transcript of Proceedings at Hearing on July 10, 1963

anything else there—he would have felt that the entry of

a judgment as an interposed factor here would have an

[28] electric effect upon a motion to stay pending before

The Court: He seems to have gone beyond that. He

says the later suit must end. This is more than just a

stay.

Mr. Tunnell: Oh, yes. That’s a good point. Here our

friends say, your Honer, with appeal in their voices, they

have had no chance to take any depositions. They haven’t

had any chance to take a part in these proceedings; they

haven’t been afforded an opportunity to take what they

eall normal procedures.

Well, so what? They got a judgment. Is a person equi-

tably entitled, after having: obtained a judgment, to the

exercise of discovery which he would have had had he

not been successful in the meantime in some other court?

It seems to us not.

Your Honor made the point which I want to cover just

for a second that Chancellor Wolcott said that the case

must end. That’s right; we agree with that. But we don’t

say to your Honor you ought to end this case and say

it has, by a final order, become moct, it has abated, or any-

thing of the kind, because frankly we have appealed from

these judgments in New York and it is possible, your

Honor would quickly point out to us, “Well, suppose you

succeed in getting these judgments reversed in New York

that you now [29] point to as justifying the stay? If in

the meantime you had caused an abatement of these pro-

ceedings, or maybe the statute of limitations had run, or

something of the kind, you would be obtaining an inequi-

table advantage.”

13b

Transcript of Proceedings at Hearing on July 10, 1963

So what we are asking is not that your Honor end the

case in the language of Chancellor Wolcott until and unless

it appears that the Court of Appeals in New York, and

maybe even the Supreme Court, if it goes there—I don’t

know whether it will go there—but until it has been finally

decided that these judgments are final judgments, either

valid and therefore with prejudice, or invalid, or valid

for some purpose but not with prejudice to action else-

where.

I am not sure what the ramifications might be of the

“with prejudice” argument, but it seems to us that Chad-

wick against Parkhill is a good authority for our position

today.

Now I would like, if your Honor will, to have Mr. Davis

address the court on other aspects of this matter.

Mr. Davis: If your Honor please, I don’t know that I

am justified in taking up any more of the court’s time in

view of the way in which Judge Tunnell has presented the

question, because it seems to me that this talk about dupli-

eation and discovery proceeding, or rights to discovery,

[30] are completely meaningless to me in view of what

has happened in the New York action.

It is true that once before, in anticipation that at some

time, to us then unknown, although I must admit well pre-

dicted by Judge Bromley, as to when Judge Metzner was

going to act and enter a judgment, we did argue before

your Honor that in the light of the probability that a judg-

ment was likely to be entered in the New York action

fairly soon, we ought not to take up any more of the court’s

time here, or waste any more time or money in litigating

here in Delaware.

What has happened—it happened the next day, I be-

lieve—was that what Judge Bromley anticipated, which

14b

Transcript of Proceedings at Hearing on July 10, 1963

we knew was going to happen sooner or later but we can’t

actually predict when the court will act, Judge Metzner

did enter a number of judgments following the decisions

which he announced. I submit that those judgments are

controlling on all the parties here involved until such

time as the Court of Appeals reverses or modifies them.

Your Honor will recall that the last time we were here

we pointed out the history of this litigation, that all this

litigation started with TWA suing Mr. Hughes and the

Hughes Tool Company, starting in New York, and then

subsequently brought a similar action in Delaware.

[31] It has always been admitted, up until today, that

the Delaware action was encompassed by the New York

action. In fact, when we, on behalf of the Tool Company,

sought to begin discovery proceedings in the Delaware ac-

tion, and we were at that time before Vice Chancellor

Short, counsel for TWA effectively convinced Vice Chan-

cellor Short that since the New York action was proceed-

ing apace, and merely on the ground that the New York

action was proceeding there and was the first action there

commenced, that the Delaware action should, insofar as

our efforts to take depositions were concerned, not be per-

mitted to continue, and the relief that Vice Chancellor

Short at that time granted, if your Honor will reeall, was

to vacate or set-aside our notices for the taking of the

depositions in the Delaware action on the ground that the

Delaware action was encompassed in the New York action.

To be sure, because of jurisdictional questions which are

raised in the New York action, it could happen, depending

upon what the Court of Appeals does, that there could be

left some issues to be tried in the Delaware action. But

until such time as the Court of Appeals acts in New York

15b

Transcript of Proceedings at Hearing on July 10, 1963

there is no question whatever in my mind, and | don’t

believe that these gentlemen are claiming, or I don’t believe

that they could be claiming, that the New York action

is not [32] finally dispositive of the rights between

the parties. And what is that? With respect to the claim

by TWA against the Tool Company and Mr. Hughes, the

100% owner of the Tool Company, it is to recover treble

the damages which they claim TWA has suffered.

Obviously if they recover that in the New York action

they can’t recover anything here. It has been admitted

that the Tool Company, 100% owned by Mr. Flughes, has

assets well in excess even of the huge judgment which

they are seeking. I believe it was referred to in this pro-

ceeding that the assets of the Tool Company, and they’ve

got the balance sheets, are well in excess of $250,000,000,

substantially in excess of that figure.

That disposes of the rights of TWA, the plaintiff.

These additional defendants are persons who are in con-

trol of TWA, the lending institutions which control TWA

and who started this action against the Tool Company.

Now, the Tool Company, both in the New York action

and when TWA brought the similar action in Delaware,

responded with affirmative defenses and counterclaims.

In essence, stripped of all the matters in which the plead-

ings are couched, the Tool Company has said if TWA has

been damaged as you claim it is not the result of the con-

duct of the Tool Company but it is the result of the con-

duct of these [33] additional defendants. That is what

the counterclaims in effect say, and set it up in the Del-

aware action as affirmative defenses and counterclaims.

Now, if TWA recovers what it claims it is entitled to

recover as a result of what has taken place in the New

16b

Transcript of Proceedings at Hearing on July 10, 1963

York action, and if the Court of Appeals affirms, that is

the end; they can’t recover anywhere else, not with re-

spect to the counterclaims.

On the counterclaims, the Tool Company, as I said,

claims that the injury, if any, or the extent to which TWA

was injured by reason of these delays in financing, or

acquisition of aircraft, was not by reason of the conduct

of the Tool Company but was a result of the conduct of

these additional defendants, these lending institutions.

But that counterclaim has been dismissed with preju-

dice. We opposed the dismissal of those counterclaims in

the New York action. They prevailed. We opposed it

being dismissed with prejudice. They prevailed on that

point.

Now I don’t understand what Mr. Barr or anybody else

here today means when they say to your Honor, we want

an opportunity to examine Mr. Hughes, unless it is indeed

what seems to be somewhat apparent, to try to take ad-

vantage of a well-known factual situation with respect

to the [34] availability of Mr. Hughes.

I respectfully submit to your Honor that the purpose

and function of the courts of this country is not to enable

any litigant to annoy and harass anyone else. They’ve

got their judgment; they’ve got the dismissai of the coun-

terclaim as they sought, with prejudice, and I respectfully

submit that until such time as the New York Court of

Appeals, or the Supreme Court of the United States, acts

in the New York action, that matter is at an end, and

there is no discovery proceeding, there is nothing else for

us to do here in the Delaware action, unless your Honor

wants to undertake to make some kind of a decision as to

17b

Transcript of Proceedings at Hearing on July 10, 1963

the meaning and effect of the New York action, because

if we were to proceed tomorrow what would we proceed

about?

Unless this court is prepared now, and I think the answer

is so simple I don’t think it deserves any extended argu-

ment, but unless this court is prepared to try to make

some decision as to the meaning and effect of these New

York judgments, I don’t know what there is left to try

in the Delaware action.

But as Judge Tunnell pointed out, rather than seeking

at this time a dismissal of the complaints and of all pro-

ceedings in the Delaware action, because we do not know

what the Court of Appeals will do, and there is no [35]

question of the position of the Tool Company that the

decision of the District Court in New York is wrong and

should be reversed, that upon such reversal we would be

restored to the position of the factual situation which

exists many times, namely, when a plaintiff deliberately

elects to bring the same cause of action in several juris-

dictions, the law, as I understand it, is that to the extent

to which the courts in these various jurisdictions in their

discretion will permit this multiplicity of actions to be

commenced by a plaintiff—in this case TWA—the one

which proceeds to judgment first is the one which controls

all other actions. Here we have the situation where they

started in New York, they subsequertly started in Del-

aware, we defended ourselves in New York, we tried to

defend ourselves in Delaware, and the New York action

has proceeded to judgment.

I respectfully submit that at this point there is no need

for any further action by this court other than to stay all

18b

Transcript of Proceedings at Hearing on July 10, 1963

further proceedings until such time as the Court of Ap-

peals, or any other appellate court, has acted, and then,

depending upon the circumstances then present, entry of

a further order of this court I believe to be just and equi-

table under the circumstances.

We recognize that the decision that the court has [36]

made to the effect that the counterclaims are not to be

dismissed and that the parties are entitled to examine Mr.

Hughes as the managing agent, are very important ques-

tions to us, certainly. We have filed some notices to take

the depositions of TWA, to which Mr. Sonnett today filed

an affidavit indicating that he does not think that we

should proceed in those depositions until some other ques-

tions are passed upon.

I respectfully submit that all those questions ought to

be laid aside and reconsidered should, as we expect, the

Circuit Court of Appeals dispose of the New York judg-

ments in such a way as to leave something else to be tried.

That is a possibility.

But until the Court of Appeals has acted to that effect,

I respectfully submit that we do not have any issue which

has not been adjudicated between the parties that are

present here today; I should say with the possible excep-

tion of Mr. Breech. But I should say in that connection

they have filed an application—it was done informally by

way of a letter to Judge Metzner pointing out to Judge

Metzner that in view of the basis upon which the counter-

claims against the other additional defendants were dis-

missed with prejudice, they requested Judge Metzner to

enter a similar order dismissing the counterclaims being

asserted against Mr. Breech also [37] with prejudice.

19b

Transcript of Proceedings at Hearing on July 10, 1963

Judge Metzner. as of this moment has not yet acted

upon that, but I think we will all admit quite frankly that

Mr. Breech’s position in that regard is one on which he

will stand or fall. As a result, the other additional defen-

dants who allegedly acted in concert with him, whatever

relief they get will obviously become applicable to him.

I respectfully submit that we ought to give Judge Metz-

ner an opportunity to act on this application that is now

being made by Mr. Breech.

Now, Mr. Barr has made references to the history of the

litigation in New York. He made a reference to the

Panagra case. I don’t know to what extent Mr. Barr in-

advertently confused the decision of the District Court

in the Panagra case, which was reversed by the Supreme

Court of the United States.

However that may be, I don’t think it would be partic-

ularly illuminating to this court for me to go into the

reasons why in the New York action, based upon the de-

cision of the United States Supreme Court in the Panagra

case, which has been even more recently reaffirmed in the

Bank case, we concluded that the issues, insofar as they

involved a violation of the Federal Aviation Act by these

additional defendants, were issues to be determined [38]

preliminarily, if not exclusively, by the Civil Aeronautics

Board.

I might add that today I was told, and Mr. Barr before

the start of the day permitted me to read a copy of the

order entered by the CAB today requiring all the parties

to file briefs with the CAB with respect to the complaint

that was filed before the CAB involving the issues involved

in these pleadings with respect to our contentions that

these additional defendants and lending institutions have

20b

Transcript of Proceedings at Hearing on July 10, 1963

in fact violated the Federal Aviation Act by the manner in

which they acquired control of this airline.

I respectfully submit that even though it would be ap-

propriate to enter an order following the memorandum

decision that this court has entered, that the mere entry

of an order would start running the appellate time that we

would have in which to act.

I respectfully submit to your Honor that in view of the

judgments that have been obtained by these parties in

New York, that there is no conceivable harm or injustice

that could take place to freeze as of this moment all further

proceedings in this litigation until such time as the New

York Court of Appeals has acted and the time for further

appeal or review has gone, so that we know definitively what

the status is of these final judgments which were entered

[39] in New York.

May I answer any questions that your Honor may have?

The Court: You say that moves the time of appeal,

and that is usually the point of litigation, to keep the thing

moving, the judge being impartial and as judicial as

possible but interested in the progress of the litigation.

While what you say is convincing, I just don’t like to see

a case on dead center where there has not been a judgment

in the sense that there was in the Chadwick case. That

judgment is not an effective one because you have taken

an appeal and are quite confident that it will be reversed.

Mr. Davis: May I submit, your Honor, that I believe the

law is clear that the judgment adjudicates the rights as

between the parties even though there is an appeal pending.

The effect of the judgment of the New York action is that

it effectively adjudicates the rights as between the parties

21b

Transcript of Proceedings at Hearing on July 10, 1963

until such time as the Court of Appeals modifies it or

changes it.

I respectfully submit that there is at this moment in ex-

istence a judgment by a Federal District Court [40] which

adjudicates the rights of the parties, which I believe this

court must recognize as an effective judgment. To be sure,

that judgment may be modified or reversed, but until it is,

it is the judgment which is binding upon the parties here

present before you.

Therefore, I don’t know what we have to litigate here.

There is no need from my point of view, to the extent to

which we might feel aggrieved by the conclusions reached

by your Honor in connection with the other matters before

you, there is no earthly reason why we should be required

to take procedural steps or do any work, or burden the

Supreme Court of this State, to review anything which has

taken place here while this judgment in New York is ef-.

fective and binding upon us.

So all we really have is a procedural problem that we

would be confronted with if this court should at this time

take any further action in the Delaware action.

The alternative would be for us to have made an applica-

tion to dismiss all the proceedings in Delaware. But had we

taken this step we would have been confronted with a

possible inequitable result because while I believe we are

entitled to seek an order dismissing tlis entire proceeding

in the light of this final judgment which has been entered

in New York, it would be inequitable to do so [41] while

there is a possibility of reversal.

It would require the parties, in the event of a reversal,

to start over again. There are statute of limitation ques-

tions.

22b

Transcript of Proceedings at Hearing on July 10, 1963

Therefore we believe that the equitable way of proceed-

ing is to stay all further proceedings here until such time

as the time when the Court of Appeals has acted, however

it will act, and at that time there may or there may not be

some other questions to be litigated, in Delaware or wher-

ever else these parties may choose to go.

[44] * 2¢ 8

Mr. Sonnett: Your Honor, may I have 30 seconds?

The Court: Yes.

Mr. Sonnett: I think it is necessary for me, since it is

my first appearance before your Honor, to state something

which has been said before. But as a matter of [45] per-

sonal and professional privilege, and as a matter of re-

sponsibility to the 20,000-odd minority stockholders of

TWA, I would like to correct the record.

A misstatement was made to you by Mr. Davis. He knows

that to be a misstatement by now, or should.

This case was filed by Trans World Airlines after its new

board of directors appointed a committee to select inde-

pendent counsel to investigate whether TWA had any

claims or not arising out of its past history, and if so, to

make recommendations.

We investigated. I did it with my assistants. We recom-

mended the suit in New York at that time, and we gave

further consideration to a suit in Delaware in due course.

The new management saw fit to approve that recom-

mendation. The case was filed. i

No additional defendant has exercised any measure of

control whatsoever over my firm or me. We are acting as

independent counsel for this airline. This airline has had

23b

Transcript of Proceedings at Hearing on July 10, 1963

very, very real troubles, as your Honor noted in your

opinion. It is very difficult for the airline and its 20,000

minority stockholders to disentangle themselves from the

controversy between Hughes, on the one hand, and the

lending institutions on the other.

[46] But the fact of the matter is that the New York

ease which we filed is a very different case from this case

as to the violations of law charged. The only thing which

might be said to be similar as a matter of law in any re-

spect is the third cause of action in the New York case,

which charges a breach of common law in the period 1961

and 1962, a non-Federal cause of action. The first two are

Federal.

The second point is that the parties.in the two litigations

are different. The only party which is in both litigations is

the Tool Company. The fact is we couldn’t and can’t get

Hughes individually in New York. The fact is no judgment

has been, is being, or will be entered against Hughes in-

dividually in New York in any action filed by TWA to date.

So this is merely a red herring. The parties are different,

the causes of action are different, the relief sought is dif-

ferent.

Now, they urge to you that if TWA recovers substantial

damages against the Tool Company in New York, that is

an end to their damage claim in this case. That is simply

not so. The theories of damages involved are radically

different and the items of damage which will be recovered

in New York remain to be seen and remain to be [47]

adjudicated,

There are items of damage, your Honor, which we will

be pressing in this court which are not involved in the

New York case whatsoever.

24b

Transcript of Proceedings at Hearing on July 10, 1963

But beyond and above the damage question entirely, it

is this court and this court alone which is the only court

in the world in which TWA has a case pending that can

give TWA equitable relief against Howard R. Hughes in-

dividually, and that relief is sorely needed.

We have said from the outset of this case here, your

Honor, that when Hughes was in this case as a party in-

dividually, and when his answer was in so that we knew

what issues were admitted and what issues were disputed,

and we knew the scope of the deposition tuat we would

have to take of Hughes, we would then wish to examine

Hughes as an individual defendant on those issues.

That has been our position from the outset. It is still

our position. We do want to examine him on those matters

which his answer, when filed, will establish to be in dispute.

We have no wish to examine him a day longer than we

have to, but we would like to get the issues defined and

narrowed down before we start.

So from TWA’s standpoint we urge that there be no stay

and that the matter progress in the form of order which

[48] we have submitted to your Honor.

[56] ** 8

The Court: Anyway, I won’t do anything. I will have

to read these affidavits with more care and examine the

order of the New York judge to see exactly what he did

in dismissing the counterclaims. If there is to be any agree-

ment on further procedure I will expect to hear from coun-

sel tomorrow. I will take no action until then.

Court is adjourned.

:

|

:

’

:

3

;

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.