Opposition Brief — Northwestern Bell Telephone Co. v. Minnesota Public Utilities Commission

Supreme Court brief1988

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court of the Anited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

NORTHWESTERN BELL TELEPHONE COMPANY,

Petitioner,

Vv,

MINNESOTA PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE MINNESOTA COURT OF APPEALS

APPENDIX FOR BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

HUBERT H. HUMPHREY, III

Attorney General

State of Minnesota

MICHAEL J. BRADLEY

Assistant Attorney General

(Counsel of Record)

840 Bremer Tower

Seventh Place &

Minnesota St.

Saint Paul, Minnesota 55101

Telephone: (612) 297-4609

GARY R. CUNNINGHAM

Special Assistant

Attorney General

340 Bremer Tower

Seventh Place &

Minnesota St.

St. Paul, Minnesota 55101

Telephone: (612) 297-4611

(See inside front cover for balance of Attorneys.)

224-7651 — Review Publishing Co., 287 E. 6th St., St. Paul, Mim. 55101 — 224-7631

KARL W. SONNEMAN

Special Assistant

Attorney General

780 American Center Building

150 East Kellogg Boulevard

Saint Paul, Minnesota 55101

Telephone: (612) 296-0410

Attorney for the Minnesota

Public Utilities Commission

1100 Bremer Tower

Seventh Place &

Minnesota St.

Saint Paul, Minnesota 55101

Telephone: (612) 296-3301

Attorney for the Minnesota

Department of Public Service

APPENDIX INDEX

TABLE OF CONTENTS

. Initial Northwestern Bell Court of Appeals

ES a A-l

. Initial Northwestern Bell Court of Appeals

A

. Petition for Supreme Court Review ere A-103

A-l

APPENDIX 1

C7-87-1296

STATE OF MINNESOTA

IN COURT OF APPEALS

NORTHWESTERN BELL TELEPHONE COMPANY,

Relator,

v.

MINNESOTA PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION,

Respondent.

BRIEF AND STATUTORY APPENDIX OF

NORTHWESTERN BELL TELEPHONE COMPANY

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

ges a oa eh kn a os been iii

ee Sree a ape iv

I 255s bx din A'o Ship oe Od wees I 1

TEE OP ECE LE Oa Op ore

Argument... 17

I. The Canteen Erred In . Finding That North-

western Bell Engaged In Illegal Contacts Which

Affected The Commission’s Rate Case Delibera-

Cs EG. i oss Bac as eee 17

A. There Was No Illegal Cintas Roveiend in

Any of NWB’s Contacts With The Commis-

ok ee bee eee 17

B. The Contacts Were Not Prohibited Ex Parte

Contacts joa alee ieee os heen yes 21

A-2

C. The Commission Made Several Other Findings

Regarding NWB’s Conduct Not Supported by

Evidence in the Record 23

D. The Contacts Did Not Affect the Rate Case

Deliberations or Order 25

II. The Commission Has No Express, Implied Or In-

herent Authority To Reopen And Vacate A Final

Rate Case Order Which Is Over 2%, Years Old 27

A. There Is No Statutory Nor Inherent Author-

ity 27

B. The Authority Relied Upon by the Commis-

sion Is Not Controlling in this Case 30

III. The Minnesota Supreme Court’s Determination In

Henry v. MPUC That Northwestern Bell’s Rates

Are Just And Reasonable Bars The Commission’s

Action Under The Doctrine Of Res Judicata 41

IV. The Commission’s Order To Vacate, Reopen And

Redeliberate A 2% Year Old Final Rate Case

Order Violates The 10 Month Rule Of Minn. Stat.

§ 237.075 44

V. The Procedures Used By The Commission Violated

Bell’s Constitutional And Statutory Rights 46

VI. Conclusion 49

Statutory Appendix

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Statutes :

Minn, Stat. Chapter 10A 18,19 \|

§ 10A.01 16

Minn. Stat. Chapter 14 48

§ 14.01 ll

A-3

§ 14.63 we ve Eilatie « ¢hahdhiaeduky ee

§ 14.64 7 Piewiaiedicns ¥en

Minn. Stat. Chapter 216A ; 8

§ 216A.02 - ore | | 8

§ 216A.035 ...-19,20

§ 216A.037 anc 20, 21

Minn. Stat. Chapter 216B | |

§ 2163.04, Subd. 4 naa 29

§ 216B.25 29, 30, 38

Minn. Stat. Chapter 237 1, 8, 28, 29, 42

§ 237.01, Subd. 2 . 1,8

§ 237.075 .. | 8, 11, 48

§ 237.075, Subd. 2 ee 45

§ 237.075, Subd. 5 os 28

§ 237.081 ; - 48

§ 237.25 31

§ 237.26 verere 31

Administrative Procedure Act, 5 U.S.C. § 1037 36

Minn. Rules Parts 7830.7000-7830.8000 21

7845.0100, et seq. 8

Cases:

Anchor Cas. Co. v. Bongard’s Coop. Creamery Ass’n.,

253 Minn. 101, 91 N.W.2d 122 (1958) 30

Application of Northwestern Bell Tel. Co.,

367 N.W.2d 655, 661 (Minn. App. 1985) 30

Backus-Brooks Co. v. N.P. Ry. Co.,

(8th Cir.) 21 F.2d 4, 19 28

Bluefield Waterworks & Improvement Co. v.

P.S.C. of W. Vir., 262 U.S. 679, 43 S.Ct. 675

(1923) 49

Continental Tel. Co. of Minn., Inc.,

389 N.W.2d 910 (Minn. 1986) 48

A-4

Great Northern Railway Co. v. Public Service

Commission, 284 Minn. 217, 220,

169 N.W.2d 732, 735 (Minn. 1969) 28

H. J. Inc. v. Northwestern Bell Telephone Company,

648 F. Supp. 419 (D.C. Minn. 1986) 2

H. J. Inc. v. Northwestern Bell Telephone Company,

Minnesota Dist. Ct. Fourth Judicial Dist.,

File No. 86-24166, Judgment Docket,

June 22, 1987 2

Halloran v. Blue & White Liberty Cab Co.,

253 Minn. 436, 92 N.W.2d 794 (1958) 33

Hazel-Atlas Co. v. Hartford-Empire Co.,

322 U.S. 238 (1944) 35

Henry v. Minnesota Public Utilities Commission,

392 N.W.2d 209 (Minn. 1986) 1, 2, 41, 43

Hough Transit Ltd. v. Harig,

373 N.W.2d 327, 332 (Minn. App. 1985) 32, 42

In Re: McDonough,

296 N.W.2d 648 (Minn. 1980) 43

NWB Tel. Co. v. MPUC, C9-87-1257 7

Nelson v. Dorr,

239 Minn. 423, 58 N.W.2d 876 (1953) 43

Peoples Natural Gas Co. v. Minnesota Public

Utilities Commission, 369 N.W.2d 530,

534 (Minn. 1985) 29

Professional Air Traffic Controllers Organizations

v. FRLA, 685 F.2d 547 (D. C. Cir. 1982) 37-40

Re WORZ, Inc., 48 PUR 3rd 56 (1963) 25

Root Refining Co. v. Universal Oil Products Co.,

169 F.2d 514 (3rd Cir. 1948) 34

Standard Oil Co. v. California,

429 U.S. 17 (1976) 35

A-5

State ex rel. Corbin v. Arizona Corporation

Commission, 143 Ariz. 219, 698 P.2d 363 (1984) 36

State ex rel. Halton v. Four Lakes Tel. Co.,

141 Minn. 124, 169 N.W. 480 (1918) 34

State on State ex rel. Turnb'a y. District Court,

259 Minn. 228, 107 N.W'2a > * (1960) 30

State v. Tri-State Tel. & Te:. Uo.,

204 Minn. 516, 284 N.W. 294, 300 (1939) 27, 48, 49

Senior Citizens Coalition of Northern Minnesota v.

Minnesota Public Utilities Commission,

355 N.W.2d 295, 303-304 (Minn. 1985) 29

U.S. v. Utah Construction & Mining Co.,

384 U.S. 394, 422, 86 S.Ct. 1545, 1560,

16 L.Ed. 2d 642 (1966) 42

Universal Oil Products Co. v. Root Refining Co.,

328 U.S. 575, 66 S.Ct. 1176, 90 L.Ed. 1447 (1946) 34,35

Youngstown Mines Corp. v. Prout,

266 Minn. 450, 124 N.W.2d 328 (1963) 43

WKAT, Inc. v. FCC, 296 F.2d 375 (1961) 35, 36

LEGAL ISSUES

I. Did the Minnesota Public Utilities Commission Er ‘or

in Finding that Northwestern Bell Engaged in Illegal

Contacts Which Affected the Commission's 1984 Rate

Case Deliberations in Final Rate Order?

The Commission ruled in the negative.

A. Was there any illegal conduct involved in any of

Northwestern Bell's contacts with the Commission?

The Commission ruled in the affirmative.

B. Were the contacts “prohibited” ex parte contacts?

The Commission ruled in the affirmative.

C. Was the Commission's Finding as to the “public's

perception” of the contacts supported by substan-

tial evidence?

II.

III.

IV.

¥.

A-6

The Commission did not rule on this issue but based

its finding on an assumption.

D. Did the contacts illegally affect the 1984 Rate Case

Deliberations and Order?

The Commission ruled in the affirmative.

Does the Commission Have Statutory or Inherent Au-

thority to Reopen and Vacate a Final Rate Order Which

is Over 23/4, Years Old?

The Commission Ruled in the Affirmative with respect

to inherent authority but did not discuss statutory

authority.

Does the Minnesota Supreme Court’s Decision in Henry

v. MPUC That Northwestern Bell’s Docket 600 Rates

are Just and Reasonable Bar the Commission’s Action

in Docket 177 Under the Doctrine of Res Judicata?

The Commission ruled in the negative.

Is The Commission’s Order to Vacate, Reopen and Re-

deliberate a 234 Year Old Final Rate Case Order a

Violation of the 10 Month Rule of Minn. Stat. 237.075?

The Commission ruled in the negative.

Were the Procedures Used By the Commission in Docket

177 a Violation of Northwestern Bell’s Constitutional

and Statutery Rights?

The Commission ruled in the negative.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Northwestern Bell Telephone Company (“Northwestern

Bell” or “the Company”) is a telephone company within the

meaning of Minn. Stat. § 237.01, Subd. 2. The Minnesota Pub-

lic Utilities Commission (“MPUC” or “the Commission”’) is

an administrative agency which has authority pursuant to

Minn. Stat. Chapter 237 to set Northwestern Bell’s rates for

intrastate telephone services under certain circumstances and

after following certain statutory procedures.

A-7

This case (“MPUC Docket 177”) is an appeal from an order

of the Commission which collaterally reopened and vacated

a 23/4, year old final general rate case order. '

A. Northwestern Bell’s Last Rate Case—Docket 600

Northwestern Bell’s current general telephone rates were

established in MPUC Docket No. P-421/GR-83-600 — “Docket

600” — pursuant to a petition filed by the Company nearly

four years ago on September 29, 1983. The Commission ap-

proved interim rates effective November 28, 1983 and after

lengthy and complex rate proceeding the Commission issued

a 100 page determination establishing rates on July 27, 1984

(“the 1984 Rate Order.”’)

The Commission’s 1984 Rate Order was appealed, and in

Henry v. Minnesota Public Utilities Commission, 392 N.W.2d

209 (Minn. 1986) the Minnesota Supreme Court held, among

other things, that the rates established by the 1984 Rate

Order were just and reasonable and supported by substantial

evidence on the record. (Henry, supra, pp. 215-216). Thus,

Northwestern Bell’s current general telephone rates were

established by a final order of the Commission which, prior

to the issuance of the orders here in question, have been in

effect for over 234, years.

B. The “Summary” Investigation — Docket 177.

On April 9, 1986 the Commission, in a separate docket —

MPUC Docket No. U-999/CI-86-177 (hereinafter ‘Docket

177’) — issued an order initiating a “summary” investiga-

11f the Commission’s action is not overturned, amounts up to or

in excess of $40 million which have already been collected by the

Company and expended on operational expenses, maintenance of

service, capital improvements and dividends may be subject to

unconstitutional confiscation. In addition, until corrected in future

rate proceeding up to $11.9 million per year in future rates may be

subject to unconstitutional confiscation. (MPUC Order, Apri! 3,

1987, Docket 600.)

A-8

tion. (A - 1). The Commission’s Docket 177 order noted the

existence of various newspaper reports and governmental

investigations relating to contacts alleged to have occurred

between former Commissioners and various utilities, and

stated the Commission believed it necessary to investigate

whether any prior Commission decisions may have been ad-

versely affecved by improper contacts.

The Commission, therefore, directed the Minnesota Depart-

ment of Public Service (“DPS’’) to continue an investigation

regarding these contacts which the DPS had begun two

months earlier and also to conduct an investigation on behalf

of the Commissions. (A - 2-3). On July 8, 1986 the DPS

completed its investigation and issued a report summarizing

the result of its summary investigation (“DPS Report’).

(A - 4). Attached to the DPS Report were 7 depositions taken

by the DPS during its investigation and 91 “exhibits” which

were collected by or created by the DPS investigators.

The DPS Report made a number of findings and recom-

mendations related to other parties and other dockets in ad-

dition to Docket 600 not relevant here. With respect to

Docket 600, however, the DPS Report concluded that:

—During the 14-months that Docket 600 was pending be-

fore the Commission, a representative of the Company had

2NWB has voluntarily assisted all said governmental investiga-

tions and has not been found to have violited any law by any of

said governmental investigations, including the FBI and Ramsey

County Attorney’s investigations, referred to in the order. (NWB

Petition for Reconsideration and Vacation, April 15, 1987, p. 2).

Furthermore, a Federal judge has granted NWB a complete dis-

missal of a private federal civil suit brought in connection with

some of the same allegations. H. J. Inc. v. Northwestern Bell

Telephone Company, 648 F. Supp. 419 (D. C. Minn. 1986); and a

state district judge has granted NWB a complete dismissal of a

similar private state civil suit, H. J., Ine. v. Northwestern Bell

Telephone Company, Minnesota Dist. Ct., Fourth Judicial Dist.,

File No. 86-24166, Judgment Docket, June 22, 1987.

A-9

a number of meetings with Commissioners in restaurants

involving meals paid by the Company. (DPS Report, pp. 59,

64-65, A - 66, 71-72).

—The two Commissioners and the Company representative

who participated in these meals all testified under oath that

at no time did these meetings involve discussions of Docket

600 issues. (DPS Report, pp. 58-59, Depositions of Weir,

Adams and Hanson, A - 65-66).

—During the period Docket 600 was pending there was

no statute or rule in effect in Minnesota which prohibited a

regulated Company from paying for meals consumed at meet-

ings attended by Commissioners. (DPS Report, pp. 59-63, A -

66-70). :

—It is unlikely that Commissioners could be bribed with

free lunches or dinners. (DPS Report, pp. 58, A - 65).

—During the period Docket 600 was pending there was

no statute or rule in effect which prohibited ex parte dis-

cussions between representatives of regulated companies and

Commissioners. (DPS Report, pp. 66, A - 73).

The DPS Report contained no evidence or conclusion that

any particular vote of the Commission in Docket 600 had been

influenced either by the purchase of meals or by any discus-

sions which occurred during the meals. The DPS Report did

not recommend reopening or reconsideration of the 1984 Dock-

et 600 Rate Order.

Upon receipt of this report the MPUC solicited comments

from Northwestern Bell and other interested parties. (A - 89).

Northwestern Bell gave written notice to the Commission

and all parties that Northwestern Bell would object to any

action taken by the Commission, based on the so called “evi-

dence” created by the DPS under the “summary” investiga-

tive procedures utilized in Docket 177, to reopen or reconsider

A-10

the 1984 Docket 600 Rate Order. (NWB’s Comments Regard-

ing the MPUC’s October 3, 1986 Order, dated October 22,

1986, pp. 16-17; A - 98-99).

C. The Petitions for Reconsideration or Dismissal of the

Docket 600 Rate Order.

In July 1986 the Residential Utilities Division of the Office

of Attorney General for the State of Minnesota (“AG-RUD”

or “the Attorney General’) filed a petition with the Commis-

sion requesting the Commission to reopen and reconsider the

1984 Rate Order in Docket 600 alleging that the Company had

engaged in improper ex parte contacts regarding the Com-

mission’s rate case deliberations. (A - 100). The AG-RUD’s

petition was entirely based upon the DPS Report and the

AG-RUD filed no evidence itself in support of its petition. The

AG-RUD admitted in its petition that it had no knowledge

of the specific content of any of the discussions which oc-

curred between the Company representative and the Commis-

sioners which were alleged to be improper. (AG-RUD Peti-

tion, July 9, 1986, p. 5, A - 105).

On August 14, 1986, the Minnesota Public Interest Re-

search Group (“MPIRG”) filed a petition with the Commis-

sion also based upon the DPS Report requesting the Com-

mission to vacate and dismiss the 1984 Rate Order as well

as the Commission’s November 13, 1984 Order in Docket 600

relating to intervenor compensation. MPIRG filed no evidence

in support of its petition. MPIRG also admitted in its petition

that it had no knowledge of the contents of any alleged ex

parte discussions. (MPIRG Petition, August 14, 1986, p. 9).

On October 22, 1986 the DPS filed comments with the Com-

mission altering the DPS’s earlier position and recommend-

ing that the Commission redeliberate the 1984 Rate Order in

Docket 600. (Comments of DPS, October 22, 1986, p. 2).

A-11

Northwestern Bell filed responses to the Petitions of the

AG-RUD and MPIRG and the DPS Comments which, in sum-

marized form, asserted:

D.

—The contacts about which the DPS, AG-RUD and MPIRG

complain were not illegal.

—The contacts about which the DPS, AG-RUD and MPIRG

complain were not prohibited “ex parte” contacts.

—The contacts about which the DPS, AG-RUD and MPIRG

complain did not affect Docket 600.

—Under the circumstances of the “summary nature” of the

proceedings in Docket 177, the MPUC has no legal author-

ity to reopen, reconsider or dismiss the 1984 Rate Order

in Docket 600.

—There are other substantial reasons for not reopening

Docket 600. (NWB’s Reply to Comments of the Other

Parties, November 3, 1986; Response of NWB to Petition

to Reopen and Reconsider filed by the AG-RUD, July 18,

1986; Response of NWB to Petition of MPIRG; NWB’s

Response to the AG’s Reply Brief, September 15, 1986;

Response of NWB to July 8, 1986 Report of the DPS to

the MPUC, August 13, 1986).

The Commission’s Deliberation and Order to Vacate and

Reopen the 1984 Rate Order.

On November 7, 1986 the Commission met in Docket 177

and deliberated the AG-RUD and MPIRG petitions regarding

the 1984 Rate Order in Docket 600. The Commission had not

referred the matter to a contested case hearing and had no

evidence before it except the disputed “evidence” created over

Northwestern Bell’s objection in the DPS summary investi-

gation.

The Commission voted not to reopen any of the dockets

recommended by the DPS in its original report. The Commis-

sion also voted to deny MPIRG’s Petition to dismiss the Com-

A-12

mission’s July 27, 1984 and November 13, 1984 Orders in

Docket 600. The Commission did however vote to approve

the AG-RUD’s Petition to reconsider the 1984 Rate Order

in Docket 600. (A - 107-108).

During the Commission’s November 7, 1986 deliberations

and vote to reopen and reconsider Rate Case Docket 600, no

Commissioner indicated he or she was aware of any evidence,

in the DPS Report or otherwise, that any particular vote in

Docket 600 had in fact been influenced by any contact be-

tween any Commissioner and any representative of North-

western Bell. (MPUC tape #86-166 (partial), tape #86-167,

tape +86-168, tape #86-169, and tape #86-170 (partial) ).

During said deliberations several of the Commissioners com-

mented that they had no knowledge as to what was discussed

at any of the meal meetings which occurred between the Com-

pany’s representative and former Commissioners Adams and

Hanson and had no knowledge that any particular vote was

influenced by the contacts. (MPUC tape #86-166 (partial),

+86-167, tape +#86-168, tape #86-169 and tape +86-170

(partial) ).

Between February 12 - 19, 1987 the Commission met in

Docket 600 and redeliberated on all the issues involved therein.

At no time during the redeliberations and votes did any Com-

missioner state that the rates which had been previously es-

tablished in Docket 600 were unjust or unreasonable. (MPUC

tapes +87-36 through #+87-65). The Commission voted, how-

ever, to change a number of the decisions which had been

made in Docket 600 several years earlier. Those changes,

if put into effect, would result in lowering the Company’s

annual revenue requirement by $11.9 million.*

3 The redeliberations and votes in Docket 600 and the MPUC’s re-

sulting orders of April 3, 1987 and June 4, 1987 in Docket 600 are

the subject of a separate appeal to this court in NWB Tel. Co. v.

MPUC, C9-87-1257.

A-13

On April 2, 1987 the Commission issued its final order in

Docket 177 vacating the July 27, 1984 Rate Order in Docket

600. (A - 109). Northwestern Bell’s Motion for Reconsidera-

tion was denied upon June 4, 1987. (A - 131). Northwestern

Bell obtained a Writ of Certiorari to review said April 2, 1987

order and said June 4, 1987 order in this appeal.

In the event Northwestern Bell is successful in this appeal

in reversing those orders in Docket 177, the 1984 Rate Order

would be reinstated and Northwestern Bell’s appeal in Dock-

et 600, C9-87-1257, would be moot.

STATEMENT OF FACTS

As a “telephone company” within the meaning of Minn.

Stat. § 237.01, Subd. 2 (1984) many of Northwestern Bell’s

intrastate business activities are subject to regulation by the

Minnesota Public Utilities Commission pursuant to various

provisions of Chapter 237 and Chapter 216A of the Minne-

sota Statutes. For example, the Commission has jurisdiction

to determine appropriate changes in the general rates which

the Company charges for its Minnesota intrastate telephone

services. Minn. Stat. § 237.075.

Ratemaking, however, is not the only activity which brings

Northwestern Bell into contact with the MPUC. (Wier Dep.

25-26). As defined by Minn. Stat. § 216A.02 the MPUC en-

gages in some functions which are “legislative” in nature,

some which are “administrative” in nature, and some which

are “quasi-judicial” in nature.

An example of a legislative function would be the promul-

gation of rules having general applicability to all telephone

utilities such as MN Rule 7845.0100, et seq. (A - 138). An ex-

ample of an administrative function would be the issuance of

policy statements, not amounting to formal rulemaking, re-

garding such matters as scheduling or staffing. Also, from

A-14

time to time the Commission meets informally with groups

such as Senior citizens, the handicapped or investment an-

alysts for general background information purposes. (Hanson

Depo. 12). An example of a quasi-judicial function would be

resolving disputed issues resulting from a contested case hav-

ing particular applicability to the conduct of a particular reg-

ulated entity. Some of the issues in a ratemaking case such

as Docket 600 fall into the quasi-judicial category.

In addition, the MPUC engages in other activities which

can have an affect on the telephone industry in general and

Northwestern Bell as one of its members. For example, from

time to time the Company or Commission takes positions on

issues before the state legislature as to changes in the law

or additions to the law applicable to the telephone industry.

(Weir Dep. 16-17). Commissioners and staff members would

sometimes seek information regarding such legislative con-

cerns from Northwestern Bell. (Madison Dep. 54-56).

During any given year there are hundreds if not thousands

of topics of information which are of mutual interest to tele-

phone companies such as Northwestern Bell and the MPUC.

Some relate to particular pending matters but most relate to

general background information. Furthermore, many fall into

the legislative or administrative functions of the Commission

and fewer fall into its quasi-judicial function. (Hanson Dep.

11-14).

In order to facilitate the transfer of information between

Northwestern Bell on the one hand and the state legislature

or the Minnesota Public Utilities Commission on the other,

the Company has utilized its Government Relations/Regula-

tory Department. During 1984 and for eight years prior there-

to Roy Weir was the head of that department. (Weir Dep.

21-23). There was a small group of employees, who had pri-

mary responsibility for issues and concerns related to the

A-15

state legislature who reported to Mr. Weir. There was a larger

group of employees, who were primarily responsible for assist-

ing Mr. Weir in preparing and providing information to the

Commission and its staff and receiving information therefrom

in connection with Regulatory matters. The total staff was

about 32 or 33. (Weir Dep. 23-24). In addition the Company’s

Legal Department would coordinate its activities with the

Regulatory Department in providing information to the Com-

mission of a legal nature. (Weir Depo. 24-25).

1984 was an extremely eventful year in the corporate life

at Northwestern Bell. It was the first year following the

breakup of AT&T on January 1, 1984 it was the first year

Northwestern Bell operated under the ownership of the newly

created U.S. West, Inc. It was the first year that a number

of U.S. West subsidiaries were created and began working

out relationships with Northwestern Bell.

Similarly, state regulatory activities are significantly af-

fected by regulation at the Federal level by the Federal Com-

munication Commission (“FCC”) and by the decisions of

U.S. District Court Judge Harold Greene who presided over

the AT&T breakup. It is important for the Commission to

know how the Company views the effects of Federal regula-

tion on its Minnesota operations.

During 1984 there was a veritable explosion of information

related to the telecommunications industry in general and

Northwestern Bell in particular completely unrelated to Dock-

et 600. Some of it was related to technology, some was related

to business concerns and some to state and regulatory issues.

Most of this information had nothing whatsoever to do with

particular pending quasi-judicial contested case issues such

as Docket 600.

During 1984, however, the Commission did consider and

decided the extent to which Northwestern Bell’s request for

A-16

an increase in rates would be granted in Docket 6€0 which had

been filed in September 1983.

In Docket 600 Northwestern Bell introduced testimony,

exhibits and economic arguments through the normal con-

tested case hearing process pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 237.075

and Minn. Stat. § 14.01, et seq. The Company argued in favor

of aud believed it proved to the Commission that its general

rates should be increased to approximately $107 million a

year (its original application for $109 million was lowered

during the hearing process) and that its authorized rate of

return should be set at approximately 16.5%. The Com-

mission’s decision in Docket 600 was issued July 27, 1984 to

the following effect:

—The Commission voted to slash approximately $50 million

from the amount of the revenue increase NWB requested

resulting in a $57.5 million increase.

—The Commission voted to lower the Company’s requested

authorized rate of return from 16.5% to 14.5%.

—The Commission voted to order Northwestern Bell’s

transfer of its Yellow Pages business to U.S. West Direct

to be null and void.

—The Commission also determined dozens of other issues

many of which were against Northwestern Bell’s posi-

tions. (MPUC Minutes re: Docket 600 Proceedings.)

During 1983, 1984, and 1985 Mr. Weir had a number of

personal contacts with Commission members. As head of the

Company’s Regulatory activities Mr. Weir’s signature ap-

peared on cover letters and correspondence which passed

thousands of pages of documents to the Commission and its

staff on a variety of subjects. (Weir Depo. p. 25-27, also see

MPUC correspondence files.) Some were related to Docket

600, most were not. Mr. Weir also had a number of meetings

A-17

with Commissioners in their offices as well as at other public

locations such as restaurants. (Hanson Depo. 45-46, Adams

Depo. 23-24). Some of these occurred on or near days the

Commission was discussing Docket 600, but the vast majority

did not.

While Docket 600 was technically “pending” from the time

it was filed in September 1983 unti! it was finally concluded

in October 1984, there were only two dozen days out of that

14 month (420 day) period on which any Commission activity

occurred regarding Docket 600. (MPUC Order April 12, 1986,

pp. 6-9, MPUC Minutes, September 1983 - October 1984). On

15 of these 420 days the MPUC’s order selectively links, by

time only, a date on which some Docket 600 activity occurred

within three days (day before, day of, or day after) a meal oc-

curring between Weir and one or more Commissioners. (MPUC

April 2, 1987 Order, pp.6-9). At no time does the MPUC order

find that any specific discussion occurred at any of the meal

meetings regarding Docket 600.

The MPUC order fails to mention that the DPS Report

also produced “evidence” that during the 24 month period

from May 1983 through April 1985, ten of which involved

no Docket 600 activity, there were a total of approximately

125 meal meeting attended by Weir and one or more Com-

missioner. (DPS Report, Exh. 17, Doc. “6,” Exh. 18, Doc. “E”

and Doc. “F,” Exh. 23, Doc. “K”, Adams Depo. Exh. 4 and

Madison Depo. Exh. 3). Again, only 15 of these 125 meal

meetings were within three days (day before, day of, day

after) some MPUC rate case activity. One hundred ten were

not. (See Exhibits and Minutes referred to in this and prior

paragraph).

According to the depositions of Mr. Weir and Commission-

ers Hanson and Adams taken by the Department of Public

A-18

Services, Mr. Weir and both Commissioners had extremely

busy schedules and they found it convenient to combine some

of their discussions with meal time. These meals were paid

for by Weir for which he was reimbursed by the Company.

According to Company expense records Mr. Weir met more

frequently with Commissioners Adams and Hanson but he

also had at least some similar meetings with the other Com-

missioners.

Weir, Hanson and Adams have all testified under oath,

however, that at no time at any of these meetings did they

discuss the issues pending in Docket 600. (MPUC April 2,

1986 Order, p. 9 and DPS Report, p. 64). Furthermore, Han-

son and Adams testified that neither was influenced in any

way by the fact that the meals were provided at Company

expense. (Adams Depo. 93-94, Hanson Depo. 53-57). Finally,

Weir testified that he did not intend to influence the decision

of the Commissioners Hanson and Adams regarding Docket

600 by the conduct of these meetings. (Weir Depo. 224-243,

257-261).

Furthermore, a!] three deponents testified that topics which

were discussed at these meetings were legitimate topics. For

example, both Hanson and Adams testified that they were

former members of the state legislature. They testified that

they first became acquainted with Mr. Weir while he was

acting as a lobbyist on behalf of Northwestern Bell regarding

the state legislature. (Hanson Depo. 10, 39-40; Adams Depo.

8). Thus, they were familiar with the practice of legislators

meeting with lobbyists for lunch. They were also comfortable

in meeting Weir because they had come to know him well.

Both Hanson and Adams testified, however, that they knew

their role as MPUC members was different than that as leg-

islators, and thus avoided some topics of discussion, such as

A-19

contested rate case issues. (Hanson Depo. 22.24, 54: Adams

Depo. 13-15, 25.)

During his deposition Hanson also was asked to explain

why the meetings between Hanson and Adams were more

frequent than other Commissioners. (Hanson Depo. 44). Han-

son testified that since Adams and Hanson were former leg-

islators, and since Weir had first met them in that capacity,

“the three of us shared a common history.” Their joint in-

terest in that history and the politics associated with it formed

the basis of many of their discussions. (Hanson Depo., p. 45).

Hanson also testified that 1984 was the last year of his term

on the Commission. Hanson testified that during 1984 he was

approached regarding a vacant seat on the Minnesota House

of Representatives and sought Weir’s opinion regarding that

subject because he valued Weir’s legislative experience and

political advice (Hanson Depo., p. 48). Hanson also testified

that during 1984 there was general speculation that the senate

seat formally occupied by Hanson might come up for election

on short notice because the plans of the incumbent to seek

another office. Hanson testified that he consulted with Weir

regarding that subject. (Hanson Depo., 49-50). Hanson testi-

fied that he sought Weir’s advice on whether it was worth-

while for him to seek reappointment to the Commission given

the fact that Hanson was a member of the opposite political

party from the Governor who would be making the appoint-

ment. (Hanson Depo., p. 50).

Hanson also testified that during this period one or both of

Weir’s parents died and Weir also was troubled from time to

time regarding the serious illness of his granddaughter. Han-

son testified that, “I have lost my mother and father and our

families being the same age, although the families are not

socializing together, we would talk at length about that.”

A-20

(Hanson Depo., p. 50). Hanson testified that he believed

during the same period he wrote an extensive “position

paper” on the subject of “ameliorated rates.” This in-depth

position paper was on an issue not before the Commission at

the time. Hanson testified he valued Weir’s technical advice

and political advice regarding this subject. (Hanson Depo.,

p. 51).

Hanson was specifically asked under oath whether he be-

lieved his personal relationship with Weir in anyway affected

Hanson’s view of issues pending before the Commission. Han-

son replied as follows:

... 1 realized that the process of making decisions in

regulatory arena is a result of receiving expert testi-

mony, receiving record evidence, and making a determina-

tion strictly on what the Commission has before it ir-

respective of who your friends are and even who your

enemies are.

I would say this is more, I would say some people can’t

understand this and I realize that. But is more a carry-

over from the legislative experience where it is not un-

common at all and I have experienced it myself, where

you are in a position to make very important decisions

quite often against your friends, quite often against the

people, your roommate, quite often against the people

in the political party and everybody in the legislative

process understands very well that your votes have noth-

ing to do with who you know well or how well you know

a person.

They are strictly based on the merits before us. (Hanson

Depo., p. 54).

Weir also gave testimony concerning the legitimate topics

of conversation which occurred during such meetings. Weir

A-21

testified that he made himself available to Commissioners so

that if Commissioners saw problems with the way the Com-

mission was operating they could bring it to his attention.

Weir also testified that he made himself available to Com-

missioners at such meetings to clear up any rumors or hearsay

they might have heard about the Company or to clarify any

stories in the news media. (Weir Depo., p. 55).

Weir was a registered lobbyist under Minn. Stat. § 10A.01

et seq. (Lobbyist Reg. No. 5-0185-0673—DPS Report, Exh.

11). Weir filed quarterly disclosure forms with the Govern-

ment Ethics Practices Board which disclosed the quarterly

amount he spent on entertainment and food and beverages

in connection with legislative or administrative lobbying.

(DPS Report, Exh. 11, Weir Depo. 268).

Both Hanson and Adams testified that they had more dis-

cussions with policy advocates of the Department of Public

Service, one of the other parties in Docket 600, than they did

with Weir and that the nature and extent of their discussions

of regulatory matters with Weir was not substantially differ-

ent from that with the Department of Public Services rep-

resentatives. (Hanson Depo. 157-160; Adams 95-96). No wit-

ness testified that any of the contacts involving Weir and

the Commissioners at which meals were purchased involved

discussions of Docket 600 issues.

ARGUMENT

I. THE COMMISSION ERRED IN FINDING THAT

NORTHWESTERN BELL ENGAGED IN ILLEGAL

CONTACTS WHICH AFFECTED THE COMMISSION’S

1984 RATE CASE DELIBERATIONS AND FINAL

RATE ORDER.

The Commission’s April 2, 1987 order in Docket 177 which

vacated the 1984 Rate Order in Docket 600 purports to be

A-22

based upon certain contacts which occurred between a Com-

pany representative, Mr. Weir, and former Commissioners

Adams and Hanson during the 14-month period between

September 2, 1983 and October 23, 1984 while Docket 600

was pending. (MPUC April 2, 1987 Order, p. 10). The Com-

mission found these contacts to be a serious abuse and viola-

tion of the regulatory process because they were (1) allegedly

illegal ex parte contacts relating to the Docket 600 rate case

proceeding and (2) because Northwestern Bell paid for the

meals involved in these contacts allegedly creating an illegal

conflict of interest for the Commissioners. (MPUC April 2,

1987 Order, p. 12).

It is clear, however, even from the summary nature of the

DPS investigation and report, that none of these contacts

were illegal and none of these contacts had any effect on the

1984 Rate Order. The Commission’s conclusions to the con-

trary are not based upon substantial evidence in the record.

A. There Was No Illegal Conduct Involved in any of

Northwestern Bell’s Contacts With the Commission.

During the period in question, September 1983 through

October 1984, there was no Minnesota statute, rule or regu-

lation in effect which specifically prohibited a representative

of a regulated company from paying for meals consumed by

members of the Public Utilities Commission while matters

involving the regulated company were pending before the

Commission. Similarly, during said period there was no Min-

nesota statute, rule or regulation in effect which specifically

prohibited a regulated company from engaging in ex parte

contacts with members of the Public Utilities Commission.

Furthermore, legislation which was in effect at that time im-

plicitly authorized the contacts which the Commission now

finds to be illegal. Finally, legislation and rules which have

A-23

been passed long after said contacts occurred unquestionably

demonstrate that both the State Legislature and the Com-

mission are aware that the contacts in question did not violate

any prior existing law or regulation.

1. Meals as Conflicts of Interest.

The Minnesota Ethics in Government Act, Minn. Stat. Chap-

ter 10A (1984), among other things, regulates lobbying activ-

ities. It is clear from § 10A.01 of the Act as it existed during

the pendency of Docket 600, that lobbying activities in con-

nection with administrative actions, including utility rate

determinations, were covered by the Act. The Act, however,

did not prohibit the purchase of meals in connection with

such activities but merely required that lobbyists register and

file quarterly disclosure statements in a proscribed format

regarding lobbying disbursements. Furthermore, since the

proscribed lobbying disbursement form (DPS Report, Exh.

11) had specific line items for disclosing “entertainment” and

“food and beverages” for “administrative” lobbying, it is

clear that during the period in question Minnesota law autho-

rized registered lobbyists to purchase meals for public officials

including members of the Public Utilities Commission. Mr.

Weir was a duly registered lobbyist under the Act. (Lobbyist

Registration No. 5-0185-0673—-DPS Report, Exh. 11). As

such Mr. Weir filed quarterly lobbyist disbursement reports

with the Minnesota Government Ethics Practices Board on

proscribed forms provided him by the state on which he dis-

closed the quarterly amounts he spent on food and beverages

in connection with his administrative lobbying activities.

(DPS Report, Exh. 11; Weir Depo. 268).

The Commission’s findings, conclusions and order of April

2, 1987 and order denying reconsideration of June 4, 1987

totally ignore the applicability of Minn. Stat. Chapter 10A

A-24

(1984) to Mr. Weir’s contacts in this matter. Furthermore,

the Commission’s orders totally ignore the finding of the

DPS Report that the purchase of said meals was not a viola-

tion of law as it existed during the pendency of Docket 600.

(DPS Report, pp. 58-62, A-66-70).

Similarly, the Commission’s orders totally ignore the only

Minnesota Statute which specifically discusses conflicts of

interest and members of the Public Utilities Commission.

Minn. Stat. § 216A.035 (a) (1984), as it existed during the

pendency of Docket 600, specifically stated:

No person during his term of membership on the Public

Utilities Commission shall receive any significant portion

of his income directly or indirectly from any public util-

ity.... (Emphasis added).

Since the law at that time specifically stated that a Com-

missioner could receive some portion of his income from a

public utility’ so long as it was not a significant portion of his

income, it is clear that the Commission’s determination that

NWB’s purchase of meals for Commissioners Adams and

Hanson was an illegal conflict of interest is without merit.

It is also important to note that in March 1986, long after

the conduct in this case had occurred, the Minnesota State

Legislature changed the law. Minn. Stat. § 216A.035 was

amended in two relevant respects. First, it now prohibits

members of the Public Utilities Commission from receiving

any income from any public utility. Second, the 1986 amend-

ments specify that the new prohibitions apply to telephone

companies as well as public utilities. Thus, it is clear the state

legislature has recognized that the conflict of interest pro-

4 Minn. Stat. § 216A.035(a) (1984) only applied to gas and electric

public utilities in 1984. In 1986 it was amended to apply to tele-

phone companies as well.

A-25

visions of the prior statute were not applicable to the present

case. For the Commission to attempt to bring Northwestern

Bell’s 1984 conduct under the reach of a 1986 change in the

law, therefore, would be a gross and obvious denial of due

process.

' 2. Meals as Ex Parte Contacts.

In March 1986 the Minnesota State Legislature passed

Minn. Stat. § 216A.037 which for the first time required the

Commission to adopt rules regarding “permissible and im-

permissible ex parte communications.” Prior to the passage

of Minn. Stat. § 216A.037 in 1986 there was no Minnesota

statutory nor regulatory definition of ex parte communica-

tions, let alone a prohibition against such communications in

MPUC proceedings. The Commission has now adopted rules

defining impermissible ex parte contacts. They did not be-

come effective until 1987. (A-137). The legislative activity

of the Minnesota State Legislature and the rulemaking activ-

ity of the Commission in 1986 and 1987, respectively, clearly

underscores the fact that the contacts which occurred be-

tween Mr. Weir and Commissioners Hanson and Adams in

1984 were not then illegal. For the Commission to rely on

ex post facto statutory and regulatory prohibitions to punish

conduct which previously was perfectly legal would be a

clear violation of due process of law. 7

B. The Contacts Were Not “Prohibited” Ex Parte

Contacts.

The Commission’s April 2, 1987 order in Docket 177 wrong-

fully characterizes the meetings between Mr. Weir and Com-

missioners Adams and Hanson as illegal ex parte contacts.

However, even under the current statute (Minn. Stat. § 216A.-

037 (1986)) and the new Commission rules (Minn. Rules

Parts 78545.7000-78545.7600), which were not in effect dur-

A-26

ing 1984, a communication is not an illegal ex parte contact

unless it involves communications regarding a “material is-

sue” in a pending contested case proceeding or disputed

petition. (A-137).

Thus, the mere fact that a party to a proceeding meets and

has discussions with a Commissioner without other parties

being present while a contested matter is pending is not a

“prohibited” ex parte contact in and of itself. There must be

probative evidence on the record that such a meeting also

involved the discussion of a “material issue” in the contested

proceeding to make the ex parte contact impermissible.

While the Commission’s 1987 orders in Docket 177 ignore

this ‘material issue” requirement of prohibited ex parte con-

tacts, prior to the current controversy the Commission’s own

legal counsel did not. On August 1, 1985 the Special Assistant

Attorney General assigned to the Commission issued a legal

memorandum which gave the Commission some “guidelines”

in answering the question, “what is an ex parte contact?”

After providing a formal definition which included such re-

quirements as (a) the communication must be “related to a

specific case or docket,” and (b) the communication must

include, “specific facts relating to a specific utility or tele-

phone” company, the opinion went on to state:

However, not all contacts with parties or persons in-

terested in a case are ex parte contacts. Inquiries that

do not address the merits of the case . .. would not be

considered an ex parte contact.”

(Attorney General’s Office Memorandum, August 1, 1985

referred to in DPS Report Exh. 69; A-141, emphasis added).

The contacts involving Mr. Weir and Commissioners Adams

and Hanson which the Commission’s April 2, 1987 order

found to be illegal were not such contacts. Former Commis-

A-27

sioner Adams testified that at the meetings in question,

“[WJe would discuss anything that was not a contested case

before the Commission.” (Adams Depo., pp. 13-14, emphasis

added). Similarly, Hanson testified that he and Weir did not

discuss “anything that would be even remotely or tangentially

related to the 83-600 case.” (Hanson Depo., p. 80). Further-

more Hanson testified that Weir did not attempt to influence

Hanson’s decision on the 600 case “during any of those meals

or at any other time.” (Hanson Depo., pp. 83-84). Weir also

testified that he did not discuss contested case dockets or

issues with the Commissioners ex parte. (DPS Report, p. 66,

A-73).5

Since none of the petitioning parties to this docket have

produced any evidence which refutes this sworn testimony,

there is no evidence in the record which supports the Commis-

sion’s finding and conclusion that Northwestern Bell engaged

in illegal ex parte contacts during Docket 600. Thus, those

portions of the Commissions orders should be stricken as not

based upon substantial evidence in the record and the 1984

Rate Order should be reinstated.

C. The Commission’s Finding as to the “Public’s Percep-

tion” of the Contacts is not Supported by any Evidence

in the Record.

In addition to the matters discussed in the previous section,

the Commission made a number of other findings regarding

Northwestern Bell’s conduct during Docket 600 which are

not supported by evidence in the record. One of these related

to the “public’s perception” of the contacts in questions.

5 There are many more similar sworn statements from Adams,

Hanson and Weir which establish this point which are set forth

in the Statement of Facts, supra, pages 13-16.

A-28

On page 12 of its order the Commission finds that North-

western Bell’s contacts with the Commission in connection

with Docket 600 “have created an atmosphere of public dis-

trust and lack of confidence in the regulatory process.” On

page 4 of its order the Commission states that the Com-

mission is concerned not with whether the original decision

in a Docket 600 was correct but with “the public’s perception

of the process” used in making that decision. There is, how-

ever, absolutely no evidence in the record as to what the

publie’s perception is of that process or that supports the

Commission’s finding that Northwestern Bell created an

atmosphere of distrust.

During the original Docket 600 proceedings in 1984, a

number of public hearings were held in communities all over

the state which enabled the public to testify as to their view-

point on the merits of Northwestern Bell’s rate increase

application. In addition, during the 1984 Docket 600 eviden-

tiary hearings some of the parties submitted public opinion

survey data regarding some of the original issues contested

in Docket 600. Thus, with respect to those original issues the

Commission, the parties and the Administrative Law Judge

felt it important and necessary to provide some evidence in

the record as to the public’s perception. With respect to the

Commission’s Docket 177 order to vacate and reopen the 1984

Rate Order, however, there was absolutely no public testi-

mony taken regarding the public’s perception of the alleged

contacts or their affect on the Docket 600 ratemaking process,

nor did any of the parties submit any public opinion survey

data regarding said public’s perception.

The Commission, nevertheless, based its cataclysmic de-

cision to throw out a 23, year old rate order, not on evidence

that particular votes or issues were improperly influenced,

vt

A-29

but on the Commission’s unsupported belief that the public

distrusted the process. In fact, in the MPUC’s official minutes

of its motion and vote the Commission admits it was an “as-

sumption” not a “finding.” (A-107). Thus, the Commission’s

“finding” and conclusion in its Docket 177 order regarding

the public’s perception of the processes used in conducting

Docket 600 not only lacks substantial evidence to support it

but it lacks any evidence whatsoever. The Commission’s find-

ings, conclusions and order regarding the public’s perception

of the processes used in Docket 600, therefore, should be

stricken.

D. The Contacts did not Affect the 1984 Rate Case De-

liberations or Order.

As stated earlier Commissioners Adams and Hanson both

gave sworn testimony during the DPS investigation denying

that the contacts involving Weir had any affect whatsoever

on their decision-making in Docket 600. None of the parties

to Docket 177 have offered any evidence that any specific

vote or decision made in Rate Case Docket 600 was affected

by said contacts. In fact, a number of the parties have ad-

mitted in their pleadings in Docket 177 that they are not

aware of what was discussed during the contacts in question

and what effect any such discussions may have had on any

particular issue in the case.

The Commission’s April 2, 1987 order attempts to sub-

stitute disbelief, suspicion and inference for evidence to

refute the uncontradicted sworn testimony of record. As noted

by the FCC in Re WORZ, Inc., 48 PUR 8rd 56 (1963),

however:

“Sworn denials, while not conclusive of the facts, are

not to be brushed aside lightly on the basis of an indefin-

able ‘normal human experience,’ . . . Suspicion, specula-

A-30

tion, and conjecture are not proper substitutes for

evidence, and cannot of themselves form the basis for

conclusions that an applicant engaged in improper con-

duct requiring its disqualification and that two or more

witnesses testified falsely. .. .” (/d., p. 60-61, emphasis

added).

Furthermore, during the deliberations in this matter a

number of Commissioners admitted they did not know what

Weir may have discussed with Commissioners Adams and

Hanson and did not know that any particular vote was in-

fluenced in anyway by such contacts. (MPUC tape recordings

86-166 through #86-170). In fact, in its April 2, 1987 order

the Commission specifically found that, “. . . it is difficult

to accurately assess the effect NWB’s actions had on partic-

ular votes on particular issues.” (April 2, 1987 Order, p. 10).

It is also apparent from the origina] decision in Docket 600,

however, and the Commission’s later analysis of that decision

that it was not improperly influenced in any way by the

contacts in question. During the 1984 original Docket 600

proceeding, Northwestern Bell had requested and believed it

had proved to be entitled to a rate increase in excess of $107

million. The Commission, however, voted to cut that request

by approximately $50 million. The Company originally re-

quested and believed it proved to be entitled to an authorized

rate of return of 16.5%. The Commission, however, voted to

cut that request to 14.5% (which also was lower than the

then existing actual authorized return of 14.9%).

Two years later on August 21, 1986 the Commission received

a report jointly prepared by the Commission staff and the

DPS staff. (A-146). The Joint Staff Report analyzed the

financial operations of the company for 1985, the first full

year Northwestern Bell operated under the rates set by the

1984 Rate Order, and made the following conclusions:

A-31

—Based on 1985 economic data the Commission in 1984 had

set the Company’s authorized rate of return (14.5%)

too low. It should have been set at 15.25%.

—The rates set by the Commission’s 1984 Rate Order were

also too low to allow the Company to earn either its

authorized rate of return (14.5%) or the rate of return

which should have been required (15.25%).

Thus it is clear that Weir’s contacts with Commissioners

Adams and Hanson in 1984 did not have a pro Company

affect on the 1984 Rate Order. Otherwise, the Joint Staff

Report would have found the Company’s authorized rate of

return and rates to be too high, not too low.

Since there is absolutely no evidence in the record that

any of the alleged improper contacts had any affect on any

decision made in Docket 600, there is no factual basis upon

which the Commission can support its order to vacate and

reopen the 1984 Rate Order due to tainted affect. All Com-

mission decisions must be based upon substantial evidence

in the record. State v. Tri-State Tel. & Tel. Co., 204 Minn. 516,

284 N.W. 294, 300 (1939).

Il. THE COMMISSION HAS NO STATUTORY OR IN-

HERENT AUTHORITY TO REOPEN AND VACATE

A FINAL RATE CASE ORDER WHICH IS OVER

2% YEARS OLD.

A. There is No Statutory Authority.

The Commission’s sole authority for determining rates

regarding Northwestern Bell comes from Minnesota Statutes,

Chapter 237. There is no provision in that Chapter which

authorizes the Commission to reopen and reconsider a tele-

phone rate order once it has become final—let alone one that

has been fina! for over 2%, years.

Minn. Stat. § 237.075, Subd. 5 states that once the Com-

mission has issued an order fixing the rates of a telephone

A-32

company and has served that order on the telephone company

—all of which happened in this case in 1984—“the rates shall

thereafter be observed until changed, as provided by this

Chapter.” (Emphasis added.) Since the State Legislature has

not provided the Commission authority under Chapter 237

to change a final rate order established pursuant to Chapter

237 other than by following the procedures set forth therein,

the Commission does not have express statutory authority

to reopen and vacate the 1984 Rate Order.

The MPUC is a creation of the State Legislature and its

jurisdiction and authority are strictly limited as provided by

statute. As noted by the Minnesota Supreme Court in Great

Northern Railway Co. v. Public Service Commission, 284

Minn. 217, 220, 169 N.W.2d 732, 735 (Minn. 1969):

It is elementary that the Commission, being a creature

of statute, has only those powers given to it by the legis-

lature. Backus-Brooks Co. v. N. P. Ry. Co., (8th Cir.)

21 F.2d 4, 19, where the court said: It is well settled the

powers of a state Commission are special and limited, and

they can exercise only such authority as is legally coa-

ferred by express provisions of law, where such. cs is

by fair implication and intendment incident to and in-

cluded in the authority expressly conferred for the pur-

pose of carrying out and accomplishing the objects for

which the Commission was created, and that any reason-

able doubt of existence of any particular power in the

Commission should be resolved against the exercise of

such power. (Emphasis added).

The Minnesota Supreme Court in recent years has continued

to insist that the Commission live by this doctrine of limited

express authority. Peoples Natural Gas Co. v. Minnesota

Public Utilities Commission, 369 N.W.2d 530, 534 (Minn.

=——— ~<a

A-33

1985) and Senior Citizens Coalition of Northern Minnesota

v. Minnesota Public Utilities Commission, 355 N.W.2d 295,

303-304 (Minn. 1985).

Furthermore, it is clear that the State Legislature knows

how to grant the Commission the authority to reopen final

rate orders if it feels that power is appropriate. In Minn. Stat.

§ 216B.25 (1986), the State Legislature explicitly gave the

Public Utilities Commission authority in rate cases involving

gas and electric utilities to reopen and rescind prior orders

at any time. That statute, however, as well as the rest of

Chapter 216B is specifically inapplicable to telephone rate

determination cases. (Minn. Stat. § 216B.02, Subd. 4). While

there are many provisions of Chapter 216B (the gas and elec-

tric statute) which are similar to Chapter 237 (the telephone

regulatory statute), there is no provision in Chapter 237 re-

motely similar to the power to reopen and amend prior gas

and electric orders as set forth in § 216B.25. Thus it is clear

the legislature has never given, nor intended to give, the

Public Utilities Commission the power to reopen a final tele-

phone rate order such as the 1984 Rate Order.

This is especially clear from action taken by the State

Legislature during its most recent session. During its 1987

session, the legislature had before it a bill, S.F. No. 1193

(A-177). Section 3 of S.F. No. 1193 proposed to amend Chap-

ter 237 by adding a new provision to the telephone statute

which would have given the Commission authority similar

to the authority the Commission has to reopen and amend

prior orders as set forth in the gas and electric statute, §

216B.25. The legislature, however, refused to adopt S.F. 1193

and give the Comniission that authority. This court has re-

lied on similar actions by the State Legislature in other cases

as an indication of a legislative intent not to expand MPUC

A-34

authority by implication. Application of Northwestern Bell

Tel. Co., 367 N.W.2d 655, 661 (Minn. App. 1985).

The Commission’s Docket 177 order to vacate and reopen

the 1984 final rate order was, therefore, a clear abuse of its

statutory authority.

B. The Authority Relied Upon by the Commission Regard-

ing its “Inherent” Authority is not Controlling in this

Case.

The Commission’s April 2, 1987 Order contains a discussion

of its authority to reopen and vacate the 1984 Rate Case

Order. (April 2, 1987 Order, pp. 4-6, A-112). At the outset

Commission, in effect, acknowledges it has no express stat-

utory authority by its complete failure to cite any. Instead,

the Commission begins by citing State on State ex rel. Turn-

bladh v. District Court, 259 Minn. 228, 107 N.W.2d 307 (1960)

and Anchor Cas. Co. v. Bongard’s Coop. Creamery Ass’n.,

253 Minn. 101, 91 N.W.2d 122 (1958). In doing so the Com-

mission acknowledges that these cases are among those

which stand for the proposition that, “. . . courts have

expressed a strong disinclination to reopening orders and

judgments after a reasonable time.” (April 2, 1987 Order,

p. 4). The Commission also acknowledges these two cases as

holdings which prohibit state agencies, such as the MPUC,

from reopening prior orders after agency jurisdiction is lost

by appeal or lapse of time for appeal. Faced with the reality

that the Commission in the present case had lost such juris-

diction due to the passage of time,® the Commission’s order

vainly attempted to distinguish Turnbladh and Anchor Cas.

Co. rather than be bound by them.

6 The time for appeal of the 1984 Rate Order lapsed 30 days after

the final order was issued or from the determination of any

motion for reconsideration. Minn. Stat. § 14.63, § 14.64, § 237.25,

and § 237.26.

— 7

eee

A-35

The Commission’s order asserts that these two cases only

limit the authority of the Commission to correct erroneous

decisions and that in the present case the Commission is not

concerned with correcting an erroneous decision, “but with

the integrity of the decision-making process itself, and the

public’s perception of the process.” (April 2, 1987 Order,

p. 4). This attempt by the Commission to create a meaningful

distinction, however, fails for a number of reasons.

First, neither Turnbladh nor Anchor Cas. Co. make such a

distinction. Thus, they cannot be relied upon as authority.

Second, even if such a distinction were recognized by law

in Minnesota, as indicated earlier there is no evidence on the

record in this docket establishing what the public’s percep-

tion is of the process. Third, the Commission cites no Minne-

sota decision or decision from another jurisdiction which

states that a Minnesota administrative agency has “inherent”

authority to do anything, let alone, to reopen a final admin-

istrative decision which is 234 years old. Nor does the Com-

mission cite any authority allowing it to base such a decision

on “public perception.” Finally, the Commission’s order com-

pletely ignores the only decision of a Minnesota court which

is on point. In Hough Transit Ltd. v. Harig, 373 N.W.2d 327

(Minn. App. 1985) this court held that the decision of a

Minnesota administrative agency (the Department of Eco-

nomic Security) is res judicata with respect to a later attempt

by the same agency to change it. In doing so this court stated

that even if the agency had the power to reverse its earlier

adjudication:

. . . the second decision would be unlawful because not

made within a reasonable time. The second representa-

tive’s decision was made almost two years after the first

representative’s decision. (Jd., p. 332, fn. 1, emphasis

added).

A-36

Since this court has held that the passage of less than two

years would preclude the reopening of a final administrative

order, the Commission in the present case was clearly without

authority to reconsider and vacate its 2%, year old order.

The Commission’s order, however, goes on to cite decisions

from several foreign jurisdictions and one Minnesota decision

in its attempt to formulate its argument that the Commission

has “inherent power” to remedy matter whenever it feels its

regulatory process has been abused. Again, the Commission’s

citation of authority is faulty for a number of reasons. First,

the Commission cites no authority which specifically states

that state administrative agencies, in general, or Minnesota

administrative agencies, in particular, have the “inherent

power” to do anything let alone reopen a final rate case

order which is over 234, years old. Second, the Commission’s

position regarding “inherent” authority is totally inconsistent

with the limited express power doctrine discussed earlier in

this brief. (II. A. pp. 27-30). Third, the Commission only

cites one Minnesota case for this proposition which, simply

put, does not apply.

Halloran v. Blue & White Liberty Cab Co., 258 Minn. 436,

92 N.W.2d 794 (1958), cited by the Commission, did not even

involve an administrative agency, thus, it could not have

involved the inherent power of an administrative agency. It

involved the power of a court to reopen a prior court order.

Halloran held that if one party to a lawsuit conducted in a

state district court can prove that another party obtained a

judgment by committing intentional fraud on the court, that

court may vacate and modify the judgment. In doing so, how-

ever, the Halloran court noted that the moving party was

basing its allegation of fraud on conduct which specifically

involved Canon 30 of the Canons of Professional Ethics of

ij

4

:

on

i

*

ere

A-37

the bar association. The present situation is distinguishable

from Halloran in that (a) there is no allegation that North-

western Bell engaged in conduct which violated a specific

statute, rule or regulation, and (b) Minnesota administrative

agencies do not have the same powers as Minnesota state

district courts.

Rule 60 of the Minnesota Rules of Civil Procedure spe-

cifically empowers Minnesota state district courts to reopen

judgments obtained by fraud under certain circumstances.

There is no similar grant of authority to the MPUC. In fact,

the Minnesota Supreme Court has specifically held that the

granting of rate determining authority to a Minnesota ad-

ministrative agency is not the same as the granting of judicial

powers. State ex rel Halton v. Four Lakes Tel. Co., 141 Minn.

124, 169 N.W. 480 (1918). Thus, Halloran does not support

the Commission’s claim of “inherent” administrative agency

power.

In addition, the Commission’s April 2, 1987 order also relies

on a number of decisions from non Minnesota jurisdictions

which are equally inapplicable here. They all involve enabling

authority and statutory schemes significantly different than

that governing the MPUC.

Universal Oil Products Co. v. Root Refining Co., 328 U.S.

575, 66 S. Ct. 1176, 90 L. Ed. 1447 (1946), cited by the

Commission, involved a party to an appeal before a federal

appellate court who allegedly bribed one of the appellate

justices with over $30,000 and obtained a favorable decision.7

While dicta in the Supreme Court’s opinion states that “a

federal court” has the “inherent power” to “investigate

whether a judgment was obtained by fraud,” the court went

* Facts from decision below, Root Refining Co. v. Universal Oil

Products Co., 169 F.2d 514 (3rd Cir. 1948).

A-38

on to hold merely that the attorneys involved in the case who

acted as amici to the court in the investigation were not en-

titled to obtain attorney’s fees from the losing party. The

Supreme Court did not state anything about the “inherent

power” of a state agency to reopen a prior decision. Further-

more, the Supreme Court specifically stated that even though

a federal court has the inherent power to conduct an investiga-

tion, that if the rights of the party who obtained the prior

judgment are to be adjudicated based upon the investigation

“the usual safeguards of adversary proceedings must be ob-

served.” (Id., 328 U.S. at 580, 66 S. Ct. at 1179). Further-

more, the court went on to state, “. . . obviously, a court can-

not deprive a successful party of his judgment without a

proper hearing.” (Id., 328 U.S. at 580, 66 S. Ct. at 1179).

Thus, Universal Oil does not provide the MPUC with the

authority it seeks in this case, nor does it approve the “sum-

mary” nature of the procedures used by the MPUC to vacate

the prior order in this case.

Hazel-Atlas Co. v. Hartford-Empire Co., 322 U.S. 238

(1944), also relied upon by the Commission, was overruled

in some respects later by the Supreme Court in Standard Oil

Co. v. California, 429 U.S. 17 (1976). Even the original ruling

in Hazel-Atlas, however, did not discuss the authority of a

state agency. In Hazel-Atlas the Supreme Court held that

when a circuit court of appeals makes a finding based on un-

disputed evidence that a party to an appeal had submitted a

forged document to the court and paid a witness $8,000 to

commit perjury in connectiox. with the authenticity of the

document, the court has the authority under its powers of

equity to “devitalize” the prior judgment. Minnesota state

agencies do not have the powers of equity that federal courts

have and Hazel-Atlas does not say that they do.

A-39

WKAT, Inc. v. FCC, 296 F.2d 375 (1961) also did not

involve the inherent power of a state commission. It involved

the power of a U. S. Circuit Court of Appeals under a section

of the Administrative Procedure Act, 5 U.S.C. § 1037 (c), to

issue an order based upon a recommendation from the FCC.

The issue involved in WKAT was who, among competing

licensed applicants, was ertitled to a license to provide broad-

cast services to the public. The moral character of applicants

was one of the issues the FCC was required by law to judge

in making its decision. This is clear from the FCC opinion

which stated:

.. . the misconduct of [the applicants] reflects so ad-

versely upon their character as to demonstrate that they

lack the qualifications to operate the station sought in

this application. .. (296 F.2d at 382).

It is also important to note that the FCC did not make its

findings of misconduct on behalf of the applicants in WKAT

based on a “summary” investigation. It appointed a hearing

officer who conducted extensive hearings, who made findings,

conclusions and an initial decision followed by exceptions be-

ing filed by the parties and a hearing and opinion by the FCC

under the Administrative Procedures Act. The MPUC in the

present case acted under different enabling authority and

utilized summary procedures which ignored the requirements

of the Minnesota Administrative Procedures Act.

Finally, State ex rel. Corbin v. Arizona Corporation Com-

mission, 143 Ariz. 219, 693 P. 2d 363 (1984), cited by the

Commission’s order, is no more controlling than the others.

First, the Corbin case is a decision under Arizona law, not

Minnesota law. The Arizona Corporation Commission is cre-

ated by the Arizona constitution rather than by the Arizona

state legislature. Thus, while the Minnesota Public Utilities

A-40

Commission has been held only to have specific powers dele-

gated to it by the state legislature, the Arizona Corporation

Commission has powers in addition to those granted it by

its state legislature. Second, in Corbin the regulatory com-

mission acted prior to the issuance of a final order during a

proceeding in which it learned that the attorney for an elec-

trical utility and the director of the Commission’s Utilities

Division admitted engaging in a material ex parte contact

with the administrative law judge—they drafted his proposed

decision for him. In the present case the Commission acted

over two years after the rate was final and had no evidence

before it that any decision in question was actually affected

by any ex parte contacts. Third, the Corbin court held that

even under circumstances involved it was not required to

‘dismiss the order or the case. Finally, in Corbin while the

problem came to light prior to the issuance of the final order,

the court noted that the defenses of laches would be applicable

to circumstances involving greater delay. Thus, it is unlikely

that even under Arizona law a rate order that had been final

and operating for more than 234, years would have been re-

opened.

The MPUC’s Docket 177 order then goes on to list five

criteria it asserts should be utilized in exercising its alleged

inherent authority for evaluating the need to reopen the 1984

Rate Order. In doing so, the Commission relies on Northern

States Power Co., Docket No. G-0002/GR-85-108, Order Va-

cating December 30, 1985 Order (February 19, 1986, Slip.

Op.) (A-162)* and Professional Air Traffic Controllers Or-

ganizations v. FLRA, 685 F.2d 547 (D.C. Cir. 1982). Neither

decision is applicable here.

8This decision is currently on direct appeal to the Minnesota

Supreme Court.

A-41

NSP involved a motion to reopen a prior order of the Com-

mission brought within a few weeks of the issuance of the

order reopened and within the time limits established by Com-

mission rule for bringing motions for reconsideration. In

the present case, that time limit expired several years ago.

Also, in NSP the utility company itself was one of the parties

who moved for and therefore consented to the reconsideration.

In the present case, Northwestern Bell has never waived its

right to be governed by the Minnesota Supreme Court ap-

proved 1984 Rate Order. Finally, in NSP the Commission

was acting under different enabling legislation which specifi-

cally authorizes the reopening of rate orders in gas and electric

cases at any time. Minn. Stat. § 216B.25. Rate case proceed-

ings involving telephone companies are governed by Minn.

Stat. Chapter 237 which, as was indicated earlier, has no sim-

ilar provision authorizing the reopening of final orders.

In PATCO, supra, the court dealt with a violation of a fed-

eral statute which specifically prohibits ex parte contacts in

federal administrative proceedings. In the present case, there

was no statute, federal or state, which prohibited the contacts

involving Northwestern Bell. Furthermore, in PATCO the

court refused to set aside the agency decision involved de-

spite the fact that the court found illegal ex parte contacts

involving wining and dining had actually occurred in the

case. The court did so because, despite the contacts, it found

the final decision was not affected by the contacts. In the

present case all the participants to the contacts have testified

under oath that the Commission’s decision was not affected

by the contacts. Furthermore, the Commission made no

finding that any specific issue or vote in Docket 600 was af-

fected by any of the contacts.

Even if the five criteria the Commission derived from

NSP/PATCO were applicable to the present case, however,

they were not properly applied by the Commission. In addi-

A-42

tion the Commission, over Northwestern Bell’s objection,

ignored a sixth fundamental criterion.*® The sixth fundamental

criterion should have been formulated as follows:

[6] What specific statute, rule or regulation, if any, was

in effect during the relevant time period which prohib-

ited each alleged conflict of interest or alleged ex parte

communication?

As demonstrated earlier, there were no such applicable

statutes, rules or regulations then in effect.

Furthermore, it is clear that the Commission did not even

abide by the requirements of the five NSP/PATCO criteria

it claimed to have set for itself. For example, the Commission

listed as its second requirement, “Whether the contacts may

have influenced the agency’s ultimate decision.” (April 2,

1987 Order, p. 6; A-114). This is an important criterion be-

cause in the PATCO case, which the Commission relied on in

establishing its criteria, the court decided not to undo a prior

decision despite the fact that it found illegal ex parte contacts

had occurred during the case. The PATCO court also found,

however, there was no proof that the final decision was im-

properly influenced by the statutorily prohibited contacts. If

the Commission is going to rely on PATCO it should also

follow it.

In the present case it is clear, however, the Commission

did not apply the second criterion. On page 10 of its order,

the Commission admits “it was difficult to accurately assess

the effect NWB’s actions had on particular votes on particular

issues.” 1°

9 NWB’s Comments Regarding the MPUC’s October 3, 1986 Order,

dated October 22, 1986, pp. 15-16).

10 Even this statement, which does not find there was an actual

effect overstates the evidence. As indicated earlier there is no

evidence on the record that any vote was affected and several

Commissioners stated so during their November 7, 1986 delibera-

tions.

eee

A-43

Instead of applying the second criterion as stated, the Com-

mission changed it and found not that any votes or issues had

been affected but that an “impression” was created by North-

western Bell’s contacts of “an unduly receptive atmosphere.”

(April 2, 1987, Order, p. 10; A-118). The Commission cited

no authority in support of this substituted criterion. Thus,

the Commission failed to apply that criteria it said it was

going to and the criteria it felt PATCO and NSP required.

Similarly, the Commission ignored its third NSP/PATCO

criterion which it stated to be, “Whether the party making

the improper contacts benefited from the agency’s ultimate

decision.” This is a rather simple requirement to understand.

Did Northwestern Bell, in fact, benefit in the final order

from its alleged improper contacts.

Instead of applying this criterion, as stated, the Commis-

sion, ignored sworn testimony to the contrary, and found that

the contacts in question were “intended” to benefit North-

western Bell in Docket 600. (April 2, 1987 Order, p. 11). The

Commission cited no authority for this substituted criterion.

In addition, the Commission’s finding under this criterion

ignore contrary conclusions reported to it by its own staff.11

For the foregoing reasons it is clear that the Commission’s

order vacating the 1984 Rate Order was issued without statu-

tory authority and the Commission’s attempt to justify its

actions based upon nonexistent inherent authority is meritless.

III. THE MINNESOTA SUPREME COURT’S DECISION

IN HENRY V. MPUC THAT NORTHWESTERN

BELL’S DOCKET 600 RATES ARE JUST AND REA-

SONABLE BARS THE COMMISSION’S ACTION IN

DOCKET 177 UNDER THE DOCTRINE OF RES

JUDICATA.

11 See discussion of Joint Staff Report, Supra, 26-27.

A-44

The practical effect of the Commission’s orders in Docket

177 vacating the 1984 Rate Order when combined with the

Commission’s action in Docket 600 is to illegally lower North-

western Bell’s rates which have been in effect for several

years by $11.9 million a year. (See Commission order of

April 3, 1987 in Docket 600).

As indicated earlier, Northwestern Bell’s current rates

were reviewed by the Minnesota Supreme Court in Henry v.

Minnesota Public Utilities Commission, 392 N.W.2d 209

(Minn. 1986) and found to be just and reasonable and sup-

ported by substantial evidence in the record. (Henry, supra,

pp. 215-216). Both the Commission and Northwestern Bell

were parties of record to the Henry litigation. As such, both

the Commission and Northwestern Bell are bound by the

court’s decision in Henry regarding the issue of whether or

not the final order in Docket 600, the same order which is at

issue in this proceeding, established rates that were just and

reasonable.

Both the United States Supreme Court and Minnesota

courts have held that the principles of res judicata apply to

actions by administrative agencies. U.S. v. Utah Construction

& Mining Co., 384 U.S. 394, 422, 86 S.Ct. 1545, 1560, 16 L. Ed.

2d 642 (1966) and Hough Transit, Ltd. v. Harig, 373 N.W.2d

327, 332 (1985).

In Henry the court stated:

“Based on our careful review of evidence in the record

of this case and the 100-page order of the MPUC, we

conclude that the decision of the MPUC was supported

by evidence in the record and was not arbitrary and

capricious. We therefore hold Northwestern Bell met

its statutory burden of proof under Minn. Stat. § 237.075,

Subd. 4 (1984) as to the rate increase order. (Henry, id.,

p. 216).

A-45

Thus, in Henry the Minnesota Supreme Court has already

ruled, as a matter of law, that the evidence in the record in

Docket 600 establishes that the rates put into effect under

the 1984 Rate Order were just and reasonable regardless of

the procedures utilized in establishing those rates. The Com-

mission, therefore, is bound by that decision and was not en-

titled to change it. If the Commission felt for whatever reason

that Northwestern Bell’s current rates which had previously

been found to be just and reasonable were unjust and unrea-

sonable, the Commission could have commenced a new rate

proceeding to determine that issue and have afforded the

company ail its procedural rights under Minn. Stat. Chapter

237.

The Commission’s deliberations in this matter totally ig-

nored the applicability of the Henry decision until its order

denying reconsideration of June 4, 1987 despite the fact that

Northwestern Bell had repeatedly raised it throughout this

proceeding. (NWB’s Response to the AG-RUD’s Reply Brief,

September 15, 1986, p. 20; and NWB’s Comments Regarding

the MPUC’s October 3, 1986 Order, October 22, 1986, pp.

43-44). The Commission’s only response was to state that the

issue of abuse of the Commission’s process, which the Com-

mission asserted as its legal basis for redeliberating Docket

600, was not before the court in Henry.

This response lacks merit for two reasons. First, it ignores

the fact that in Henry the court held that the evidence of

record supported the rates which were established as being

just and reasonable. This would still be true even if NWB had

attempted to bring additional evidence to the attention of the

Commission regarding Docket 600 by ex parte means. (The

latter circumstance, however, was denied under oath by all

participants). The fact that the evidence of record support

A-46

the rate decision would also be true regardless of the motiva-

tion of the decision makers.

Second, the doctrine of res judicata not only bars issues

which were raised and decided but also those which could have

been raised. In Re: McDonough, 296 N.W.2d 648 (Minn.

1980) ; Youngstown Mines Corp. v. Prout, 266 Minn. 450, 124 .

N.W.2d 328 (1963); and Nelson v. Dorr, 239 Minn. 423, 58

N.W.2d 876 (1953). The Commission knew some of the facts

involved in this matter as early as April 9, 1986 when it issued

its order initiating the investigation. The Commission knew

all of the facts upon which it based its decision as of July 8,

1986 when the Department of Public Services submitted its

report. The Minnesota Supreme Court did not render its

decision in Henry until a month later on August 8, 1986.

Despite the fact that the Commission had this knowledge, it

made no attempt to bring these issues to the attention of the

Minnesota Supreme Court nor to request a stay of the appeal

or remand of the case for the purpose of enabling the parties

to deal with these issues and include them in the Docket 600

appeal.

Furthermore, the policy reasons underlying the doctrine of

res judicata are applicable here. Parties need certainty and a

reasonable end to litigation. Both the Commission and the

Company need to be bound by prior Supreme Court decisions

which declares particular orders of the Commission to be

valid and final. Otherwise the conduct of any regulated busi-

ness would be plagued with uncertainty and chaos.

Furthermore, any dissatisfaction the Commission had with

the practices of parties in this case could have been and have

been corrected by rulemaking. (A-137). Any concern regard-

ing the present reasonableness or unreasonableness of the

Company’s rates can be resolved by the Commission’s com-

—— =

~ - .

AE

:

A-47

mencing a new ratemaking proceeding rather than trashing

one that has been in effect and final for several years.

IV. THE COMMISSION’S ORDER TO VACATE, REOPEN

AND REDELIBERATE A 2%, YEAR OLD FINAL

RATE CASE ORDER VIOLATES THE 10 MONTH

RULE OF MINN. STAT. § 237.075.

Even if the Commission had the autherity and jurisdiction

to vacate a 2%, year old final order, and even if there were a

proper factual basis for doing so based upon proceedings

which did not violate the Company’s due process rights, the

Commission, nevertheless, should not have vacated the 1984

Rate Order and subsequently issued another rate order be-

cause the legal effect of said action is a violation of the 10

month rule of Minn. Stat. § 237.075, Subd. 2.

That statute requires the Commission to issue its final de-

termination in a general rate case “within 10-months after

the initial filing date.” In the present case the initial filing

date was September 29, 1983. The Commission’s final deter-

mination of July 27, 1984 was within the 10 month period.

The Commission’s orders of April 2, 1987 and April 3, 1927

are well beyond it.

The Commission has stayed the ratemaking effects of its

April 2, 1987 order in this matter and its new April 3, 1987

ratemaking order in Docket 600 pending judicial review of

both orders. Once that stay is lifted, however, ualess those

orders have been overturned by this court the plain language

of Minn. Stat. § 237.075, Subd. 2 would apply.

That statute specifically provides that in cases of a 10

month violation the schedule of rates initially filed by the

Company (in this case calling for a $109 million annual in-

crease) “. . . shall be deemed to have been approved by the

Commission . . .” Thus, the legal effect of the Commission’s

A-48

action of not issuing a “final determination” until after April.

2, 1987 on a rate increase petition filed by the Company on

September 23, 1983 would be to increase the Company’s cur-

rent rates by more than $50 million rather than decrease them

by $11.9 million as the Commission intended to do in its

April 3, 1987 order.

Furthermore, the Commission’s own staff and the staff of

the Department of Public Service advised the Commission in

the Joint Staff Report!? that the Commission’s 1984 Rate

Order established an authorized rate of return for the Com-

pany which was too low and established rates which did not

produce sufficient revenue for the Company to earn either

its authorized rate of return or required rate of return during

1985. Thus, while a rate increase resulting from the present

docket would not be what the Commission intended, it would

be no more inequitable than the Commission’s decision to

lower the Company’s rates by $11.9 million annually in 1987

based on a 1983 test year without affording the Company due

process of law.

V. THE PROCEDURES USED BY THE COMMISSION

IN DOCKFT 177 VIOLATED NORTHWESTERN

BELL’S CUNSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

RIGHTS.

Docket 177 was a summary investigation. (MPUC Order

April 9, 1986 and MPUC Order, October 3, 1986). The DPS

Report indicates that Northwestern Bell was officially desig-

nated a party to the investigation. (DPS Report, Ex. 55). Yet,

the DPS Report also indicates Northwestern Bell was denied

the rights of a party by the DPS during the investigation.

For example, while the DPS required Northwestern Bell to

12 See discussion of Joint Staff Report, Supra, pp. 26-27.

A-49

have Northwestern Bell employees respond to interrogatories

and requests for production of documents (DPS Report, Exhs.

49 and 53), the DPS refused to respond to interrogatories and

requests for the production of documents propounded by

Northwestern Bell. (DPS Report, Exh. 65). Northwestern

Bell brought this to the Commission’s attention but obtained

no relief.

In addition, many of the exhibits to the DPS Report are

documents which were not disclosed to Northwestern Bell

during the investigation but only after the DPS Report was

filed. [Exhs. 1-9, 11, 14-15, 30, 32, 87, 47, 51, 52, 55, 56

(Partial), 57-58, 59 (Partial), 63-64, 67, 71-72 and 91]. Since,

many of the exhibits consist of affidavits or DPS memoranda

to the file of interviews or telephone conversations regarding

information provided to the DPS under circumstances which

did not provide Northwestern Bell with notice or an oppor-

tunity to cross-examine or otherwise participate (Exhs. 32,

57-58, 67, 71 and 91) Northwestern Bell was denied funda-

mental due process rights in the manner in which these

“exhibits” were compiled and unilaterally presented to the

Commission.

The Commission, nevertheless, took administrative notice

of the DPS Report, depositions and exhibits and considered

them to be “evidence” of record. (MPUC Order, October 3,

1986, p. 3).

Northwestern Bell, therefore, gave written notice to the

Commission and all parties to Docket 177 that, in addition to

many other reasons, Northwestern Bell would object to any

action taken by the Commission to reopen or reconsider the

1984 Rate Order based on the so called “evidence” created by

the DPS under the “summary” investigative procedures in-

volved in Docket 177. (NWB’s comments, October 22, 1986,

pp. 16-17).

ai a aA i be

A-50

The Commission did not order a contested case under Minn.

Stat. § 237.075 and Minn. Stat. Chapter 14 as it had in pro-

ducing the record which resulted in the 1984 Rate Order in

Docket 600. Since this is a ratemaking proceeding which re-

sulted in a lowering of the Company’s rates based upon dis-

puted issues and evidence, the Commission was required to

do so. State v. Tri-State Tel. & Tel. Co., 284 N.W. 294 (1939)

(“Due process demands that rates be fixed only after a hear-

ing attended by at least the rudiments of fairplay.” IJd., at

300) and Continental Tel. Co. of Minn., Inc., 389 N.W.2d 910

(Minn. 1986). Even under Minn. Stat. § 237.081, which was

relied upon by the Commission in initiating Docket 177 (A-2)

Northwestern Bell is entitled to a formal hearing prior to any

order being issued which changes its rates. Northwestern Bell

never received one.

It is Northwestern Bell’s position that even assuming

arguendo that the Commission has the authority to reopen a

234 year old final rate order, the Commission cannot and

should not do so unless some party has produced evidence in

a proceeding which affords Northwestern Bell its due process

adversarial rights which meets a prima facie threshold en-

abling reopening. In its October 22, 1986 comments to the

Commission, Northwestern Bell took the position that (1)

since no party had come forward in Docket 177 with any

evidence that Mr. Weir’s contacts with Commissioners Adams

and Hanson violated any statute, rule or regulation and (2)

since there was no evidence that Docket 600 issues had ever

been discussed in those meetings and (3) since all the sworn *

evidence of record established that no vote in Docket 600 had

been affected by the contacts, the prima facie threshold had

not been met and no further proceedings were appropriate

or necessary.

A-51

If the Commission or any party disagreed with Northwest-

ern Bell, the Commission should have submitted the matter

to the Office of Administrative Law Judges for contested case

pursuant to Chapter 14. The Commission’s failure to do so

resulted in the Commission issuing an order based on a

record which denied Northwestern Bell statutory and con-

stitutional rights.

Since the ultimate result of the proceedings in Docket 177

was to vacate an order which entitled Northwestern Bell to

$56.5 million annually and later replaced with an order in

Docket 600 which, if not reversed, would result in a $11.9

million reduction to Northwestern Bell, the Commission has

confiscated Northwestern Bell’s property in violation of its

state and federal constitutional rights to due process and in

violation of its statutory rights. Bluefield Waterworks & Im-

provement Co. v. P.S.C. of W. Vir., 262 U.S. 679, 48 S. Ct.

675 (1923) and State v. Tri-State Tel. & Tel. Co., 284 N.W.

294 (Minn. 1939).

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons Northwestern Bell requests that

this court reverse and vacate the Commission’s orders in

Docket 177 of April 2, 1987 and June 4, 1987 and reinstate the

Commission’s 1984 Rate Order.

Dated :

Respectfully submitted,

NORTHWESTERN BELL

TELEPHONE COMPANY

A-52

APPENDIX 2

C9-87-1297

STATE OF MINNESOTA

COURT OF APPEALS

NORTHWESTERN BELL TELEPHONE

COMPANY,

Relator,

vs.

MINNESOTA PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION,

Respondent.

BRIEF OF NORTHWESTERN BELL |

TELEPHONE COMPANY

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

i oe eae ek eeeoes 1

Te oak epee ad havea enees 4

on. ee eh irre ih 5

A. Facts Related To Capital Structure........ 5

B. Facts Related To Directory Adjustment ... 10

C. Facts Related To Tax Flow Through... 13

D. Facts Related To Free Services.......... 14

E. Facts Related To Other Errors....... he 18 }

1. Denial of Oral Argument.............. 18 ,

2. Failure to Deal with Issues Raised in the

Petition for Reconsideration ...... 18

Basing Prospective Rates on Out-of-Date

yy ae 19

|

A-53

BY.) Se ec ee Poe ee ee eee

A. The MPUC Erred In Using A Hypothetical

Capital Structure To Set Northwestern Bell’s

Been Eat ee I ee as

) A

The MPUC’s Capital Structure Determina-

tion is Barred by the Supreme Court’s

Decision in the Henry Case............

The MPUC’s Capital Structure Decision

is Contrary to Established Law .........

The MPUC’s Capital Structure Determina-

tion Is Arbitrary and Capricious........

The MPUC’s Capital Structure Determina-

tion Is Not Supported By Substantial Evi-

dence Viewing the Record Whole...__....

B. The MPUC’s Decision To Impute Hypothetical

Directory Revenues Is Contrary To Law, Un-

supported By Substantial Evidence And Arbi-

wary Ame Gapeeme ......... 2. is,

FR

The MPUC’s Decision to Impute Revenues

Is Barred By This Court’s Decision in the

ee I reo eee

The MPUC’s Decision To Impute Direc-

tory Revenues Is Contrary To Other Ap-

plicable Principles of Substantive Law _.

The MPUC’s Decision To Impute Hypo-

thetical Directov;, Revenues to the Com-

pany is Not Supported By Substantial Evi-

dence and is Arbitrary and Capricious .

C. The MPUC’s Decision To Require The Com-

pany To Reduce Rates Prospectively Due To

A Non-Existent Tax Surplus Is Contrary To

21

31

31

33

35

A-54

Law, Unsupported By Substantial Evidence

And Is Arbitrary And Capricious ..........

The MPUC’s Decision To Require The Com-

pany To Give Services Away Free Of Charge

Is Contrary To Law, Unsupported By Sub-

stantial Evidence And Is Arbitrary And

Casttaea. ... as Ar eee

1.

The Requirement That the Company’s

Must Give Away Services Violates Minn.

Bint. 3 Des ss oi kee ee

The MPUC’s Decision Is Not Supported

By Adequate Findings ...........i26:.:

The MPUC’s Decision Is Not Supported

By Any Evidence and Is Arbitrary and

Comme 6. i See ee

The MPUC’s Decision Confiscates the

Company's TROMNRE so) Blin ek oe

The MPUC Lacks Jurisdiction to Require

the Company to Give Away Service .....

The Order After Redeliberation And The

Order Denying Reconsideration Are Affected

By Substantial Legal And Procedural! Errors.

}

Denial of the Company of the Opportunity

to Present Oral Argument to a Majority

of the Commissivners Who Rendered These

Decisions Violates Due Process and the

Administrative Procedures Act.........

The MPUC’s Failure to Deal With Sub-

stantive Issues Raised on Reconsideration

i RS +. Saw ee See

Page

39

39

40

41

42

43

44

44

46

A-55

Page

8. The MPUC Erred In Attempting to Set

Prospective Rates Based on Out-of-Date

rt Souk a cm ao v's ew 48

I ts vaya cea dadbavcccves 49

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Minnesota Statutes:

Ne oy esas ice ced ae ese ate 45

ES pet seste aalaceate 45, 46

er ee ewes 46

I i, vc cave weve scaneten 42, 43

Den = meme, OGnG. 4 ..............4.. 22, 25, 28

ner © merre, gue. © ...............2.2.. 37, 43

Minn. Stat. § 237.075, subd.6 ................... 37, 43

Sr re 43

re 39, 40, 43

ES re 44

Minn. Stat. §§ 237.69-.72 ....... Sh A Me eke ae 44

Internal Revenue Code:

a a spn ca ce dee ba eee 37

Treasury Regulations:

Section 1.167(a)-11(b)6 SO Art OBL Feo 37, 38

Section 1.167(1)-1(h) (2) Fee Go A ee earn ear a 38

Minnesota Supreme Court Decisions:

Hauser v. Mealey,

263 N.W.2d 803 (Minn. 1978) .................. 33

Henry v. Minnesota Public Utilities Commission,

b 392 N.W.2d 209 (Minn. 1986) ..... 1, 2, 18, 21, 22, 35, 47

Hibbing Taconite Co. v. Public Service

Commission, 302 N.W.2d 5 (Minn. 1980) ........ 35, 46

Holden v. Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Co.,

34 N.W.2d 920 (Minn. 1948) ............ 32

A-56

Janssen v. Neal,

ee Rg ) rae ae eee vas

Lange v. Nelson-Ryan Flight Service, Inc.,

116 N.W.2d 266 (Minn. 1962) ............... 23, 24, 33

Matter of Haugen,

yy PR Rh | 45

Minnesota Power & Light Co. v. Minnesota

Public Utilities Commission, 342 N.W.2d 324

i Is ek Casi Oe ers told are Wk oa 23, 33

Northwestern Bell Telephone Company v. State,

253 N.W.2d 815 (Minn. 1977) ............... ..86, 48

Northwestern Bell v. State,

216 N.W.2d 841 (Minn. 1974) ......._... . 18, 24, 25, 33

Reserve Mining Co. v. Herbst,

256 N.W.2d 808 (Minn. 1977) ........ ee

Shimp v. Sederstrom,

233 N.W.2d 292 (Minn. 1975) ............. So) Oe

Tankar Gas, Inc. v. Lumbermen’s Mutual inant

Co., 9 N.W.2d 754 (Minn. 1943) ......... <- 33

Minnesota Court of Appeals Decisions:

Application of Northwestern Bell Telephone

Company, 374 N.W.2d 758 (Minn. App. 1985),

aff’d in part, reversed in part, 386 N.W.2d 723

Ce cr het eee Gatianieete an ast; 1

Application of Northwestern Bell Seteplestia

Company, 371 N.W.2d 563 (Minn. App. 1985),

review denied, September 29, 1986 1, 21, 32

Application of Northwestern Bell Telephone

Company, 367 N.W.2d 655

(Minn. App. 1985) | | 1, 12, 19, 31, 32, 34, 37

Central Telephone Co. v. Minnesota Public Utilities

Commission, 356 N.W.2d 696

(Minn. App. 1984) 10, 18, 25, 26, 27, 28, 47

| A-57

In the Matter of Determining the Natural

Ordinary High Water Level of Lake Pulaski,

384 N.W.2d 510 (Minn. App. 1986) ............. 45

In Re Estate of Boysen,

: 851 N.W.2d 398 (Minn. App. 1984) ............. 33

People’s Natural Gas Co. v. Minnesota Public

Utilities Commission, 342 N.W.2d 348

: Ca es ee iia sk. 24, 25, 27

Petition of Northern States Power Company,

402 N.W.2d 135 (Minn. App. 1987) . .18, 23, 25, 26, 29, 47

Roseberg v. Steen,

363 N.W.2d 102 (Minn. App. 1985) ............. 33

State by Johnson v. Sports & Health Club,

392 N.W.2d 329 (Minn. App. 1986) ............. 23

Yellowbird, Inc. v. MSP Express, Inc.,

377 N.W.2d 490 (Minn. App. 1985) ....... 40, 45, 46, 48

Decisions from Other Jurisdictions:

Coastal Oil & Gas Corp. v. F. E. R. C.,

782 F.2d 1249 (5th Circuit 1986) ............... 35

Southern Union Gas Co. v. F. E. R. C.,

725 F.2d 99 (10th Circuit 1984) ................ 35

United States v. Western Electric Company, Inc.,

569 F.Supp. 990 (D.D.C. 1982) ........... eh ee

South Central Bell v. Louisiana Public Service

Commission, 373 So.2d 478 (La. 1979) ........... 10

I. PROCEDURAL HISTORY

This case (“Docket 600’) originated with a Petition for a

general rate increase filed in September, 1983, by North-

western Bell Telephone Company (““NWB’’). After contested

case proceedings, the Minnesota Public Utilities Commission

(“MPUC’”’) issued its initial decision on July 27, 1984 (‘1984

Rate Order’’). (A-6-106). The MPUC issued its Order After

ee eT

A-58

Reconsideration and Rehearing on September 26, 1984.

(A-107-119). On October 17, 1984 (A-120-127), the MPUC

approved the implementation of new rates designed to in-

crease NWB’s authorized revenues by $57,511,000 annually.

The new rates have been in effect since October 19, 1984.

A variety of appeals were taken from the MPUC’s 1984

orders. This Court reversed two aspects of the MPUC’s de-

cisions (see Application of Northwestern Bell Tel. Co., 367

N.W.2d 655 (Minn. App. 1985)), and the Minnesota Supreme

Court affirmed these orders in all other respects in Henry v.

Minnesota Public Utilities Commission, 392 N.W.2d 209

(Minn. 1986),! holding:

“Based on our careful review of the evidence in the rec-

ord of this case and the 100-page order of the MPUC we

conclude the decision of the MPUC was supported by

evidence in the record and was not arbitrary and capri-

cious. We therefore hold Northwestern Bell met its

statutory burden of proof under Minn. Stat. Section

237.075, subd. 4 (1984) as to the rate increase ordered.”

(392 N.W.2d at 216).

In April, 1986, the MPUC initiated a proceeding (Docket

No. U-999/CI-86-177, (“Docket 177”)) to investigate contacts

between a Company representative and certain former Com-

missioners. The Department of Public Service (“DPS”) con-

ducted an investigation and submitted a Report to the MPUC

on July 8, 1986. Thereafter, several parties to Docket 600

1 Additional appeals include Application of Northwestern Bell Tei

Co., S71 N.W.2d 563 (Minn. App. 1985), review denied, Sept. 2

1986 (relating to a January 10, 1985 order dealing with directory

accounting matters), and Application of Northwestern Bell Tel

Co., 374 N.W.2d 758 (Minn. App. 1985), aff'd in part and reversed

in part, 386 N.W.2d 723 (1986) (relating to intervenor compensa

tion in telephone rate proceedings)

A-59

moved the MPUC to reopen, reconsider or vacate the previous

decisions in Docket 600. The Company opposed these requests.

The MPUC deliberated on these and other matters in No-

vember, 1986, and February, 1987. On April 2, 1987, it issued

its order in Docket 177, vacating its 1984 Rate Order. The next

day, the MPUC issued the Order After Redeliberation

(“OAR”) in Docket 600 based on the factual record, briefs

and arguments presented in 1984. (A-130-269).

In the OAR, the MPUC reduced the previously authorized

rate increase from $57,511,000 to $45,603,000 annually. (See

A-267). The major revenue requirement changes made by the

MPUC were: (1) to impute a hypothetical capital structure

and hypothetical interest expense to NWB for purposes of

calculating NWB’s authorized rate of return and test year

income tax expense (Compare A-78-79, with A-196-197, 226-

231); (2) to impute $2.527 million of hypothetical directory

revenues to NWB (A-71-74); and (3) to require NWB to con-

tinue to flow through in prospective rates a deferred income

tax surplus that had already been flowed through in rates

charged since 1982 (A-164-165).

The MPUC also altered the previously-approved metro-

politan rate structure. (Compare A-103-104, para. b & c, with

A-138, para. c) and, sua sponte, ordered NWB to provide

certain services free to handicapped customers. (Compare

A-104, para. m & n, with A-268, para. m & n).

NWB filed timely Petitions for Reconsideration of the

OAR in Docket 600 and the April 2, 1987 order in Docket 177.

By orders dated June 4, 1987, the MPUC denied both peti-

tions. (See A-?70-274 regarding Docket 600.)? The MPUC

~WR has sepal ste ly ippealed the MPUC's orde rs of April 2

and June 4, 1987, in Docket 177 to this Court in Northwest

Bei! Tel. C Vv esota Public Utilities Ce on, CY-87-

1296

A-60

denied reconsideration of the Docket 600 Petition without dis-

cussing any of NWB’s substantive issues. However, it clarified

and expanded its direction to NWB to provide free services

to the handicapped. (Order Denying Reconsideration

(“ODR”) A-272-273).

NWB filed compliance tariffs as directed by the MPUC’s

orders, as well as tariffs and supporting documentation that

more appropriately calculate the revenue impact, and the re-

sulting rates for other services, of the MPUC’s decision to

require NWB to give away service. On July 21, 1987, the

MPUC approved the compliance tariffs and rejected NWB’s

alternative tariffs and revenue calculations. (A-280-286).

On June 30, 1987, the MPUC stayed any requirements that

NWB implement new rates pending the outcome of NWB’s

appeals. (A-275-279).*

II. ISSUES ON APPEAL

NWB separately appealed the MPUC’s orders in Docket

177. Issues related to the propriety of the MPUC’s decision

to vacate the 1984 Rate Order will be addressed in that appeal

and will not be addressed here.* If the Court determines that

The combined result of the Tier and handicapped services rate

design decisions is that NWB’s approximately 99,000 customers

in Tiers 3 and 4 of the Metropolitan area will experience rate

increases if the approved compliance tariffs are implemented,

even though the MPUC reduced NWB’s rate increase by ap-

proximately $12 million. By its ODR dated June 4, 1987, the

MPUC specifically rejected a Suburban Rate Authority request

that the MPUC reconsider the Tier decision. (A-274). llowever,

a second petition for further reconsideration of the Tier issue

was recently filed by the Suburban Rate Authority and that

petition is presently pending before the Commission.

4 Those issues include whether the MPUC had authority and juris

diction to vacate the 1984 Rate Order in the manner in which it

did, whether the procedures the MPUC followed were lawful,

what is the appropriate legal impact of the MPUC’s order vacat-

ing the 1984 Rate Order on NWB’s current rates, and whether

there was a factual record that supported the MPUC’s vacation

action.

A-61

the MPUC improperly vacated the 1984 Rate Order and re-

instates the 1984 Rate Order, this appeal will be moot. How-

ever, if the Court affirms the vacation of the 1984 Rate Order,

it will be necessary to consider the merits of the following is-

sues raised in this appeal:

(1) Is the MPUC’s decision to impute a hypothetical

capital structure and cost of debt to NWB contrary to

law, unsupported by substantial evidence and arbitrary

and capricious?

(2) Is the MPUC’s decision to impute hypothetical

directory revenue to NWB contrary to law, unsupported

by substantial evidence, and arbitrary and capricious?

(3) Is the MPUC’s decision to require NWB to re-

duce rates prospectively due to a non-existent tax surplus

contrary to law, unsupported by substantial evidence and

arbitrary and capricious?

(4) Is the MPUC’s decision to require NWB to pro-

vide services free of charge to certain customers contrary

OL wk BIN hey

20 ome) i

to constitutional principles and law, unsupported by evi-

dence in the record and arbitrary and capricious?

(5) Were the procedures the MP'JC utilized with

regard to arriving at its decision contrary to NWB’s con-

stitutional right to due process of law, contrary to other

legal standards and contrary to the provisions of Admin-

istrative Procedures Act?

Ill. STATEMENT OF FACTS

A. FACTS RELATED TO CAPITAL STRUCTURE.

In its OAR, the MPUC used a hypothetical capital structure

to set NWB’s rates, holding NWB had failed to establish the

reasonableness of its actual capital structure. (A-227-230).

Capital structure impacts the rate-setting process, because the

cost of each type of capital (i.e., debt and equity) is weighted

A-62

by its percentage of the total capital to determine NWB’s

overall rate of return.® (See, Id., p. 103).

The record reflected the equity ratios of 17 telephone com-

panies, including NWB:

Company

Cincinnati Bell

Rochester Telephone

AT&T

Bell South

Bell Atlantic

Northwestern Bell actual

Ameritech

US West—used in 1984 Rate Order

Southwestern Bell

Southern New England Tel.

NYNEX

Pacific Telesis

United Telephone

Centel

GTE

Continental

Mid-Continent

Equity Ratio

61.7%

58.1%

57.4%

56.9 %

56.7 %

56.4%

56.2 %

55.9%

55.4%

54.5 %

54.9%

53.5 %

44.7%

43.5 %

40.7 %

38.8 %

33.5 %

5 For example, if a company’s capital structure were 60% common

equity, at a cost of 15%, and 40% debt, at a cost of 10%, its over-

all cost of capital (its overall rate of return) would be 13%

(60% x 15% + 40% x 10% = 13%). Capital structure also in-

directly impacts allowable income tax expense, because interest

paid on dept is a deductible expense for income tax purposes.

Thus, hypothetically increasing the percentage of debt in a com-

pany’s capital structure will not only reduce the overa!] rate of

return (because debt is generally less expensive than common

equity), it will also reduce allowed income tax expense by (hypo-

thetically) increasing the interest deduction.

A-63

(Exh. 157, Sched. 2; Exh. 188, Sched. 11R, 13R; Exh. 150,

Sched. 18.) The MPUC adopted a hypothetical equity ratio of

50.1%.

Four witnesses addressed the capital structure issue. Wil-

liam L. Bauhard, NWB’s Assistant Treasurer, testified that

NWB’s service obligations require it to be able to raise large

amounts of capital. That ability is enhanced by a AAA bond

rating, which is affected by NWB’s capital structure. (Exh.

15, pp. 5-6). Mr. Bauhard therefore recommended the MPUC

use NWB’s actual capital structure (56.4% equity, 43.6%

debt) to set rates. (/d., pp. 18-19). In rebuttal, Mr. Bauhard

presented the capital structures of the seven regional Bell

holding companies created at divestiture. Their equity ratios

ranged from 53.5% to 56.9%, averaging 55.6%. (Exh. 188,

pp. 26-27; Exh. 189, Scheds. 10R, 11R).°

Eugene W. Meyer, Vice President and Director of Kidder,

Peabody & Co., explained that, to have ready access to the

capital markets on reasonable terms, it would be essential for

NWB to maintain a capital structure consistent with a AAA

or AA bond rating. (Exh. 4, p. 11). Such a bond rating en-

sures access to a wider range of investors, thus enhancing

NWB’s ability to raise capital (/d., p. 5). A lower bond rating

would not produce a lower incremental cost of capital; how-

ever, if NWB’s bond rating were lowered, raising it would

be costly. (/d., pp. 4-6; Exh. 5, App. C; Vol. 1, p. 146, lines

1-4).

Dr. Matityahu Marcus, testifying on behalf of the OAG,

recommended the use of a capital structure consisting of 55%

equity and 45% debt. (Exh. 149, p. 38). Later, the OAG

6The testimony expressiv states the debt ratios of these com-

panies. Their equity ratios can be determined by subtracting tie

debt ratio from 100%.

A-64

urged the use of US WEST’s actual capital structure con-

taining 55.94% equity and 44.06% debt.’ (Initial Brief of

OAG, Vol. I, pp. 23-24).

Dr. Luther Thompson, on behalf of the DPS, recommended

a structure of 50% equity, 43.6% debt and 6.4% imputed

debt. (Exh. 196, p. 4). Asserting the MPUC must “balance”

shareholders’ needs against ratepayers’ concerns, he argued

the MPUC should not defer to NWB’s actual capital structure

“for regulatory purposes.” (Exh. 156, pp. 4-5, 7).

Dr. Thompson based his recommendation on some—but not

all—of the groups of companies analyzed by some of the rate

of return witnesses. He calculated the average equity ratio

of four telephone companies analyzed by Dr. Eilon Amit, the

five telephone companies analyzed by Mr. Robert Morris,®

the 25 electric companies analyzed by Mr. Bauhard, and four

telephone companies and four electric companies analyzed by

Dr. Litzenberger. Dr. Thompson selected these groups because

their average bond ratings and average “betas” were similar

to NWB’s.® He also considered the capital structure used by

the MPUC in NWB’s 1982 rate case, containing 50.1% equity.

7 That, in fact, was the consolidated capital structure of US WEST’s

three operating telephone companies (Mountain Beil, North-

western Bell and Pacific Northwest Bell). The structure thus did

not reflect US WEST’s other subsidiaries. (Exh. 189, Sched. 10).

*The Morris “group” contained the same four companies as the

Amit group (Cincinnati Bell, Mid-Continent Telephone, Ro-

chester Telephone and Southern New England Telephone) plus

AT&T. (Exh. 157, Sched. 2, pp. 1-2). In fact, Mr. Morris analyzed

the four “Amit” companies as a group, and AT&T separately.

(Exh. 9, p. 7; Exh. 10, Sched. 2).

®“Beta” is a measure of the movement of the rate of return of

a given stock, relative to the stock market as a whole. If that

movement is relatively less than the market, the stock is per-

ceived to be less risky than the market as a who/le, and vice

versa. (Exh. 7, p. 21).

a ere ee

ee ae

2 PERO He

ALE AD, La BM te EE TDD CG ti a ee

a a ae ee ae Se

A-65

(Id., pp. 10-11).'° He did not consider the Bell regional hold-

ing companies which were analyzed by Dr. Marcus (Exh. 149,

p. 3), by Dr. Litzenberger in his supplemental testimony’?

(Exh. 217, p. 1), and by Dr. Amit in a secondary analysis.

(Exh. 191, p. 36).

In its 1984 Rate Order, the MPUC rejected Dr. Thompson’s

recommendation :

“The DPS analysis merely demonstrated that NWB’s

capital structure was not equal to the composite groups

its witness, Dr. Thompson, had chosen for comparison

purposes. Dr. Thompson never demonstrated that NWB’s

capital structure was imprudent or unreasonable. The

Commission is not convinced by the DPS’s argument and

has rejected similar arguments in NWB, P-421/GR-82-

203 at 32, and NWB, P-421/GR-80-911 at 45.” (A-78).'?

The MPUC, however, also rejected NWB’s proposal to use

its capital structure to set rates:

“The Commission agrees that since divestiture, the same

Bell System consolidated capital structure that the Com-

pany advocated using in its last rate case .. ., no longer

exists and therefore it would be impossible to use that

capital structure. However, although the actual entity

has disappeared, the principle of using the parent com-

pany’s consolidated capital structure, which has been the

10In that case, decided before divestiture, the MPUC used the Bell

System consolidated capital structure. (Northwestern Bell Tele-

phone Co., Docket No. P-421/GR-82-203, pp. 30-32 (April 20, 1983)

(“203 Order”)).

11 Dr. Litzenberger withdrew his original analysis in favor of the

analysis in his supplemental testimony. (Exh. 217, pp. 1, 16).

12 In its 203 Order, the MPUC had stated:

“The DPS analysis merely demonstrated that the Bell System

equity ratio was not equal to the industry average, not that it

was unreasonable or imprudent.” (203 Order, p. 32).

A-66

Commission’s consistent practice in the last two NWB

rate cases .. ., did not disappear with Bell System con-

solidated capital structure. The Commission finds it rea-

sonable and appropriate, therefore, to use the consolidated

capital structure of US WEST... to determine the over-

all rate of return in this proceeding.” (/d.)

In the OAR the MPUC did an abrupt about-face. On the

basis of two precedents—its own Central Telephone rate

order (which had been reversed by this Court)'* and a Lou-

isiana Supreme Court decision'*—the MPUC rejected the

principle that it could impose a hypothetical capital structure

only on a showing that NWB’s actual structure was unrea-

sonable. (A-227-229). Rather, NWB had the burden of prov-

ing the reasonableness of its actual capital structure, which,

the MPUC held, it failed to do. (A-229-230). Relying on Dr.

Thompson, the MPUC adopted a hypothetical capital struc-

ture containing 50.1% equity to set NWB’s rates. (/d., p. 101).

B. FACTS RELATED TO DIRECTORY ADJUSTMENT.

In 1988, NWB decided to have its directories published by

US West Direct, an affiliate. To facilitate this transition,

NWB transferred certain assets (charged against retained

earnings of the shareholders) to Landmark Publishing (Di-

rect’s parent company) and entered into a series of contracts

with Direct. (A-54, 197). The MPUC was notified of the

transfer in December, 1983, and it directed that the issues

related to the transfer be considered in Docket 600.

In its initial presentation NWB did not adjust its test

year financials to reflect the change in operations; from the

13 Central Telephone Company, Docket No. P-405/GR-83-300 (March

30, 1984), reversed, Central Telephone Co. v. Minnesota PUC, 356

N.W.2d 696 (Minn. App. 1984).

14 South Central Bell v. Louisiana P.S.C., 373 So.2d 478 (La. 1979).

tae Bet

DONG BIER BBS eset

A-67

ratepayers’ perspective, rates would be set as though NWB

had remained in the publishing business. (A-54, 198). This

approach insulated ratepayers from any claimed detrimental

effects of the transfer.'®

Based on incomplete data available in February of 1984,

NWB’s financial expert testified that the change in opera-

tions, if considered by the MPUC, would likely be beneficial

to the ratepayers. The best information, then available to

NWB (based on FCC/MPUC prescribed accounting proce-

dures), indicated that the change in operations could reduce

revenue requirements by about $827,000 annually. He also

testified that this estimate—largely because of inadequacies

in accounting data—was not sufficiently reliable for use in a

rate analysis. (NWB Exh. 279, p. 26, lines 3-18).

Other parties objected to the transfer, urging the MPUC

to set it aside and order NWB to resume directory publica-

tion. They also attempted to show that the ratepayers would

be worse off after the transfer. For example, the OAG esti-

mated NWB would lose about $9.6 million in 1985 revenue,

while the DPS estimated the revenue loss in that year (if

the transfer were recognized) would be $3,183,000.1* But, as

long as NWB’s financial presentation was on a business-as-

usual basis, none of these alleged losses would be reflected in

15 The only change reflected in the financial data was a change in

capital structure that had the impact of reducing NWB’s recom-

mended rate of return by 4 basis points. Thus, the reflection of

this effect was beneficial, not detrimental to the ratepayers.

16 These estimates were succinctly critiqued in NWB’s Reply Brief

to the Hearing Examiner, dated May 4, 1984, at pages 172-178,

copies of which are included in the Appendix at pages A-304-311,

and in NWB’s Supplemental Statement of Facts in its Reply

Brief, at pages 2-7, in Application of Northwestern Bell Tel. Co.,

367 N.W.2d 655 (Minn. App. 1985), copies of which are included

in the Appendix at pages A-312-318.

A-68

rates until after the next general rate proceeding, and then

only if the MPUC found it appropriate to do so.

In its 1984 Rate Order, the MPUC ordered NWB to resume

publishing directories. NWB appealed and this Court re-

versed; it held prior MPUC approval of the transfer was not

required, but noted:

“The Commission’s hands aren’t completely tied. If it

decides the contract was not in the best interests of the

ratepayer and that the fees paid by West Direct to North-

western were unreasonable, it can make an adjustment

to Northwestern’s rate request.” (367 N.W.2d at 661,

emphasis added).

The Court of Appeals also hela:

“The Commission’s order voiding the agreement trans-

ferring Northwestern’s directory operations is reversed.

Accordingly, this case is remanded to the Commission to

enter findings consistent with this opinion and the Com-

mission is ordered to reinstate the contract between

Northwestern and West Direct. The Commission can

make a review of the transfer and its future impact on

Northwestern’s rates on a more complete record in the

next rate case. If appropriate, an adjustment can be

made at that time.” (867 N.W.2d at 663, emphasis added).

On redeliberation in 1987, the MPUC accepted the 1984

Hearing Examiner’s recommendation that pre-tax income be

increased by $2,526,666 “to allow for the impact of the re-

moval of directory operations during the time the rates

would be in effect.” The MPUC’s stated rationale was that

the “benefits [of the transfer] appear to lay heavily on the

side of US West’s shareholders without a corresponding bene-

fit falling to Minnesota ratepayers.” (A-203).

A-69

C. FACTS RELATED TO TAX FLOW THROUGH.

In the 1983 203 Order, the MPUC adjusted test year finan-

cials to amortize, over a three year period, an identified de-

ferred tax reserve surplus resulting from a reduction in the

federal tax rate from 48% to 46%. (A-29). Thus, commenc-

ing in July, 1982, NWB’s rates were reduced to flow the

alleged excess reserve back to the ratepayers. (A-30).

As part of the 1984 Rate Order, the MPUC decided to con-

tinue to flow the remaining excess deferred taxes through to

ratepayers via reduced rates over the three year period:

“The Commission finds that the reduction in the federal

income tax rate from 48% to 46% was an extraordinary

event that effectively created a surplus in the Company’s

accumulated deferred federal income tax account. The

Commission concludes that the surplus tax reserve should

continue to be amortized over a three year period as

ordered in NWB, P-421/GR-82-203 to insure that a

greater proportion of the amortization will be received

by ratepayers who actually paid income taxes at the

prior 48% tax rates.” (A-30, emphasis added). P

The new October 1984 rates continued to reflect the flow

through.'!7

Thus, since July, 1982, NWB’s rates have been reduced for

the express purpose of returning a specific tax surplus to the

ratepayers. The MPUC’s scheme was predicated upon spe-

cific adjustments to revenue requirements designed and in-

tended to eliminate the surplus over three years. By late

1985 the entire surplus had been returned to ratepayers in

the form of reduced rates.

17 The flow through had also been reflected in the interim rates

established by the MPUC in November of 1983 in this proceeding

because, pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 237.075, subd. 3, interim rates

had to be based on the substantive decisions made by the MPUC

in the 203 Order.

A-70

Nonetheless, in the OAR the MPUC ordered NWB to imple-

ment new rates (effective May 14, 1987), reflecting the con-

tinued flow through of the surplus that had been fully amor-

tized nearly two years earlier. (See A-164-165). The MPUC

also denied reconsideration without discussion of this issue.'®

(A-271).

D. FACTS RELATED TO FREE SERVICE.

NWB provides a variety of central office based optional

services that simplify, expedite and enhance customers’ ability

to use the telephone. Two such services are Touch Tone and

Speed Call 8.'°

In the 1984 Rate Order, the MPUC concluded that Touch

Tone is an adjunct to local service and increased the rates

for that service in relationship to the local rate increase.

(A-99). With regard to Speed Call 8, the MPUC generally

agreed to the price increase proposed by NWB, but added:

“The Commission is aware that the speed-calling feature

may facilitate use of the telephone system by persons

with certain physical or mental impairments. In order

to facilitate the use of the telephone system by these

persons, the Commission will set the rate for the speed-

calling 8 feature at $1 for customers who indicate to

the Company that the service is used by a physically or

mentally impaired person.” (A-100).

18 NWB argued this issue for the first time in its Petition for Re-

consideration because the surplus had not been fully extinguished

at the time of the 1984 Rate Order and because the MPUC did not

allow the filing of new briefs or arguments prior to the issuance

of the OAR.

19Touch Tone enables a customer to dial a number by pushing

number buttons on the telephone, rather than using a rotary dial.

Speed Call 8 service enables a customer to dial up to eight

numbers by dialing preprogrammed two-digit codes, rather than

the complete telephone number, for each of the eight prepro-

grammed numbers.

4

¥

4

A

dh at a

sh ey tres a Cr adhe V IO tt OME Uren inlbabth tea a! cli

wr A

A-71

In the OAR the MPUC expanded the 1984 Rate Order as it

affected these services. The MPUC determined that Touch

Tone “may facilitate the use of the telephone system by

persons with certain physical or mental impairments”

(A-258) and ordered NWB to provide the service “to qualified

physically or mentally impaired persons without charge.”

(Id.) The MPUC determined that Speed Call 8 service should

also be provided free to those persons, instead of at the $1

rate established in the 1984 Rate Order. (A-259).

NWB requested reconsideration of both decisions, noting:

(1) the scope of the order was unclear (i.e., whether “‘with-

out charge” applied to both recurring and non-recurring

charges and to residential and business services) ; (2) the rev-

enue effect of these decisions (based on company estimates)

could be millions of dollars; (3) the lost revenues would have

to be recovered from other customers; and (4) there was no

evidence at all to support the MPUC’s actions. The MPUC

denied reconsideration, but clarified the OAR. First, the

MPUC decided that both recurring and nonrecurring charges

are to be foregone, but that the decision applies only to

residentiai services. Eligible customers were defined as

those having a household member certified by a qualified

authority?® to have a disability requiring the use of Speed

Call 8 or Touch-Tone service. (A-272). Finally, the MPUC

directed NWB to determine the amount of recurring and non-

recurring revenue obtained from the provision of these ser-

vices to eligible customers during 1983. That amount was

to be recovered in other rates. (A-273-274). In other words,

20 A “qualified authority” includes doctors, nurses, ophthalmolo-

gists, optometrists, therapists, professional staff of hcspitals, insti-

tutions and public welfare agencies, and professional librarians

or any person whose competence is acceptable to the Librarian

of Congress. (A-272).

A-72

NWB was required to assume that providing services free

would not increase the number of eligible customers who

would subscribe.

NWB is aware of no evidence to support the MPUC’s de-

cision to require NWB to provide these services free, or the

MPUC’s method of calculating the revenue NWB will lose or

the increased costs that NWB will incur as a result of pro-

viding these services free.

NWB’s compliance filing included two sets of customer

estimates and revenue calculations and rates: one based on

the MPUC-ordered methodology, and the other on a method-

ology NWB believed would more closely track reality if

NWB provides free service to substantial numbers of cus

tomers. The MPUC’s order of July 21, 1987 (A-281-282),

shows the following comparisons:

MPUC Method Company Method?

Touch Tone customers

that will subscribe 38,489 232,889

Touch Tone recurring

revenues foregone $531,148 $3,353,748

Speed Call 8 customers

that will subscribe 330 123,889

Speed Call 8 recurring

revenues foregone 11,880 $4,429,080

Total non-recurring

revenue foregone for

both services 37,326 $1,429,080

-1 These numbe! 1) nts NWR ing

the MPUC refused to consider. However, the total numb

Speed Call 8 customer nd total non-recurring revenues as

: in the MPT th raer f ne ti Lis ' ? S hart) liffer

what from the data filed by NWB

A-73

The MPUC refused to consider NWB’s estimates of lost

revenue. It approved the compliance rates NWB filed based

on the MPUC’s method for estimating lost revenue. (A-283-

284). Thus, if more current customers demand free services,

NWB will lose the current revenues from those customers.

If additional customers demand free services, NWB will not

recover any of the non-recurring or recurring costs it will

thereby incur.

Dozens of vendors (including Target, Sears, Wards,

K-Mart, Radio Shack, Best-Buy, Penney’s, Spiegel and AT&T

and many others) sell or lease telephone equipment providing

both touch tone and speed calling features in direct competi-

tion with the services NWB has been ordered to give away.

E. FACTS RELATED TO OTHER ERRORS.

1. Denial of Oral Argument.

When the MPUC issued the 1984 Rate Order the Commis-

sioners were Leo G. Adams, Harry Seymour Crump, Roger L.

Hanson, Terry Hoffman, and Cynthia A. Kitlinski. (See A-6,

107, 120). By the time the MPUC redeliberated and issued

the OAR and ODR, Commissioners Adams, Hanson and Hoff-

man had been replaced by new Commissioners, Barbara Beer-

halter, Robert J. O’Keefe and Darrel L. Peterson. (See A-130,

270.) Despite its requests, NWB was afforded no opportunity

to present oral argument on the merits of its 1983 Petition

to the majority of the Commissioners who issued the OAR

(See A-284-285), or to present oral argument to any of the

Commissioners on its Petition for Reconsideration of the

OAR. (See A-286-288.)

2. Failure to Deal With Issues Raised In the Petition for

Keconsideration.

A-74

After the issuance of the OAR, NWB filed an extensive

Petition for Reconsideration pointing out many of the errors

the MPUC made in the OAR, including: (1) the Supreme

Court's decision in the Henry case, supra, barred the MPUC’s

action (See NWB’s Petition, pp. 2-3, 26-27, 39-41); (2) this

Court had reversed the Central decision, which the MPUC

had relied upon as authority to adopt a hypothetical capital

structure, and that this Court had reaffirmed the validity of

Northwestern Bell v. State, 216 N.W.2d 841 (Minn. 1974),

in Petition of Northern States Power Co., 402 N.W.2d 135

(Minn. App. 1987) (See NWB’s Petition, pp. 5-7); (3) the

entire tax surplus had aiready been flowed back to rate-

payers and the OAR subjected NWB to grave tax risks (See

NWB’s Petition, pp. 27-31); (4) the imputation of directory

revenues is contrary to a prior Minnesota Supreme Court

decision and this Court’s decision in Application of North-

western Bell Tel. Co., 367 N.W.2d 655 (Minn. App. 1985)

(See NWB’s Petition, pp. 31-34); and (5) no evidence sup-

ported the MPUC’s actions with regard to Touch Tone and

Sreed Call 8 services and those actions were arbitrary and

capricious. (See NWB’s Petition, pp. 37-39).

The MPUC’s OAR did not discuss any of these matters.

Neither did the ODR; rather, the ODR simply states:

“The Cemmission finds that the parties have raised no

new arsrurmments or evidence in Petitions for Reconsider-

ation thal nave not already been thorough!» considered

by the Commission.” (A-271).

3. Failure to Make Requisite Findings and Basing Pro-

spective Rates on Out-of-Date Financial Data.

.

A-75

As noted earlier, the MPUC issued its OAR and the ODR

based on a record created in 1984. One of the express pur-

poses of those orders was to reduce NWB’s rates commencing

May 14, 1987. (A-266). When the MPUC issued those orders,

it had no evidence before it to establish that the record com-

piled in 1984 was adequate to set prospective rates.

In fact, prior MPUC decision established the contrary. In

June, 1986, the Federal Executive Agencies (based on matters

unrelated to the MPUC’s decision to redeliberate this case)

asked the MPUC to investigate the reasonableness of NWB’s

current rates. (A-287). In that proceeding, Docket P-421/

CI-86-354, the MPUC ordered the DPS and the MPUC staff

to investigate the reasonableness of NWB’s rates. (A-288-

289). In mid-1986 the MPUC received a Joint Report showing

that in 1985 NWB (based on the rates set by the MPUC in

the 1984 Rate Order) had been unable to earn either its

authorized return or the substantially higher market-required

return. (A-292). Therefore, in an order dated October 24,

1986, the MPUC determined:

“It is in the public interest to determine reasonable rates

based upon a full, fair record. To make this determina-

tion, the Commission will need to know NWB’s 1986

costs and revenues, and these are not yet known. The

Commission concludes that it must base its decision on

complete 1986 data.” (A-294, emphasis added).

The MPUC also observed that a variety of substantial pend-

ing matters would have a “significant financial impact on

NWB’s earnings after 1986. (A-294). Accordingly, the MPUC

ordered NWB to submit a detailed financial filing on April

1, 1987. (A-295-297). NWB submitted that filing, and a

A-76

scant two days later, on April 3, 1987, the MPUC issued its

OAR—based on 1983 data—cutting “current rates” by more

than $12 million annually. Thereafter, on May 27, 1987, the

MPUC further decided that it:

“TC]annot resolve all questions regarding the reason-

ableness of NWB’s current rates to its satisfaction and

that sufficient grounds exist to warrant a contested case

hearing to determine whether NWB’s current rates are

just and reasonable or would result in excessive and

unreasonable earnings for the Company.” (A-299).

Thus, in October, 1986, the MPUC squarely recognized that

NWB’s rates set in 1984 had been inadequate in 1985 and that

careful examination of 1986 data was necessary in order

to set prospective rates. Yet, in the OAR issued six months

later, the MPUC used 1983 data to set prospective rates

without affording NWB the benefit of any hearing at all.

Two months after that, it decided it could not determine the

reasonableness of the rates set by the OAR without contested

hearings.

IV. ARGUMENT

A. THE MPUC ERRED IN USING A HYPOTHETICAL

CAPITAL STRUCTURE TO SET NORTHWESTERN

BELL’S RATES IN THE OAR.

In the OAR, the MPUC used a hypothetical capital struc-

ture, consisting of 50.1% equity, 43.6% debt and 6.3% im-

puted debt, to redetermine NWB’s revenue requirement. That

is contrary to the Supreme Court’s decision in Henry, supra,

contrary to law, arbitrary and capricious, and not supported

by substantial evidence, considering the record as a whole.

The MPUC should have used US WEST’s actua! capital struc-

ture (55.9% equity, 44.1% debt), as it did in its 1984 Rate

A-77

Order? or NWB’s capital structure (56.4% equity, 43.6%

debt), as NWB recommended.??

1. The MPUC’s Capital Structure Determination is Barred

by the Supreme Court’s Decision in the Henry case.

In the OAR, the MPUC stated:

“TT jhe Commission concludes that NWB has presented

no convincing evidence as to the reasonableness of its

capital structure for ratemaking purposes and has thus

failed to sustain its burden of proof... .” (A-230).

The MPUC is wrong as a matter of law.

In the 1984 Rate Order, the MPUC considered the capital

structure issue and determined to use US WEST’s capital

structure, based on its application of “the unreasonable or

imprudent” standard and its view that the evidence presented

by the DPS was insufficient to establish unreasonableness.

(A-78). That Order was appealed ultimately to the Supreme

Court, which disposed of a challenge to the sufficiency of the

evidence as follows:

“We will review the MPUC’s determination of a just and

reasonable rate in this case according to the substantial

evidence standard for rate of return determinations and

the arbitrary and capricious standard for rate design

determinations. (citation omitted) Based on our careful

review of the evidence in the record of this case and the

22 The MPUC adjusted US WEST’s capital structure to remove the

effects of NWB’s transfer of directory operations to US WEST

Direct, which it had attempted to void. (1984 Rate Order, p. 75).

This Court later overturned that attempt. (Re Northwestern

Bell Telephone Company, 371 N.W.2d 563 (Minn. App. 1985)).

Thus that adjustment is no longer appropriate.

23 This error affected not only the calculation of the overall rate of

return, but also the calculation of interest for purposes of ascer-

taining test-year tax expense and the calculation of cash working

capital. These aspects of the OAR must also be corrected.

A-78

100-page order of the MPUC, we conclude the decision

of the MPUC was supported by evidence in the record

and was not arbitrary and capricious. We therefore hold

Northwestern Bell met its statutory burden of proof

under Minn. Stat. Sec. 237.075, subd. 4 (1984) as to the

rate increase ordered.” (Henry v. Public Utilities Com-

mission, 392 N.W.2d 209, 216 (1986), emphasis supplied).

In assessing the rate of return evidence, the Supreme Court

had to consider capital structure. As this Court has stated:

“Capital structure is one component used in determining

overail rate of return by weighing the cost of capital

by its percentage in the company’s capita] structure—

.... ” (Petition of Northern States Power Co., 402

N.W.2d 135, 140 (Minn App. 1987)).

The issue of capital structure was fully litigated before

the MPUC in 1984 and reviewed by the Supreme Court, which

held, as a matter of law, that NWB met its burden of proof.

That determination became the law of the case, and the MPUC

cannot now reverse it. Janssen v. Neal, 256 N.W.2d 292 (Minn.

1977) ; State by Johnson v. Sports & Health Club, 392 N.W.2d

329 (Minn. App. 1986). Nor can this Court change the result

on this appeal:

“There exists a well-established rule that issues consid-

ered and adjudicated on a first appeal become the law of

the case and will not be reexamined or readjudicated on a

second appeal of the same case.” Lange v. Nelson-Ryan

Flight Service, Inc., 263 Minn. 152, 155, 116 N.W.2d 266,

269 (1962).

This rule applies to matters adjudicated before the MPUC

and reviewed by the appellate courts. See Minnesota Power

& Light Co. v. Minn. P.U.C., 342 N.W.2d 324 (Minn. 1983).

Moreover, once the MPUC’s 1984 Rate Order, which utilized

the “arbitrary or imprudent” standard, was affirmed by the

Pe eee eee ee, ee ee ee ee et ee ee

A-79

Supreme Court on this issue, the MPUC was powerless to use

a different standard in its redeliberation:

“Since our prior decision the membership of the court

has changed. If we were to assume that the arguments

of the defendant presently advanced on the issues pre-

viously determined might now be persuasive to a majority

of the court, we nevertheless are not at liberty under this

rule to engage in a reexamination, much less to so declare.

This attitude is consistent with the rule of the law of the

case and is founded upon a policy which requires that

issues once fully litigated be set at rest.” Lange v. Nelson-

Ryan Flight Service, Inc., supra, 263 Minn. at 155, 116

N.W.2d at 269.

Regardless of the merits of the standard used in the OAR,

the MPUC erred by using it in the face of a contrary Supreme

Court decision on the prior appeal.

2. The MPUC’s Capital Structure Decision is Contrary to

Established Law.

The seminal case concerning the regulatory treatment of

capital structure issues in Minnesota is Northwestern Bell v.

State, 299 Minn. 1, 216 N.W.2d 841 (1974). There the Su-

preme Court stated:

“We have difficulty accepting the concept that in a

rate case of this kind the state may collaterally attack

the judgment of the company in maintaining its embed-

ded debt at a low figure. We agree with the position of

the company that this is a discretionary matter of man-

agement...” (Id. at 14-15, 216 N.W.2d at 850; emphasis

supplied).

Though this passage plainly states a general rule, the MPUC

dismissed it as merely reflecting the state of the record, which

did not contain “competing capital structure proposals.” (A-

228-229).

A-80

This Court has considered—and reaffirmed—the appli-

cation of Northwestern Bell to capital structure issues three

times.** Peoples Natural Gas Co. v. Minnesota P.U.C., 342

N.W.2d 348 (Minn. App. 1983), involved an unincorporated

division of InterNorth. Since it had no capital structure of its

own, Peoples proposed the use of InterNorth’s capital struc-

ture; the MPUC used a hypothetical structure containing less

equity. This Court held the MPUC did not have to find

Peoples’ structure unreasonable before it could use a hypo-

thetical capital structure because:

“Northwestern Bell applies to utilities that have an ob-

jective capital structure of their own.” (Jd. at 352).

With no objective capital structure, Peoples’ proposal was

hypothetical and thus entitled to no deference.

In Central Telephone Co. v. Minnesota P.U.C., 356 N.W.2d

696 (Minn. App. 1984), the MPUC used the capital structure

of Centel, Central’s parent, rather than Central’s own struc-

ture. (Jd. at 698). The MPUC held Northwestern Bell no

longer applied because of the intervening passage of Minn.

Stat. § 237.075, subd. 4, and that Central had to prove the

reasonableness of its capital structure. (Jd. at 702). This

Court rejected the notion that this statute had implicitly

overruled Northwestern Bell, noting that its Peoples Natural

Gas opinion had expressly stated the continued vitality of

that decision. Thus, the MPUC’s decision was based on an

error of law. (/d.)?5

24 The most telling fact about the OAR is its disregard of these three

decisions, which received no mention.

25 Here, the MPUC made essentially the same argument, stating:

“a substantive or legal presumption in favor of a company-

proposed capital structure . . . would be inconsistent with...

Sec. 237.075, subd. 4. . .” (A-228).

A-81

Finally, in Petition of Northern States Power Co., 402

N.W.2d 135 (Minn. App. 1987), the MPUC imposed a hypo-

thetical capital structure, stating:

““NSP has not come forward with sufficient evidence

to justify the reasonableness of its capital structure for

ratemaking purposes.’ ” (Jd. at 140).

With a citation to Northwestern Bell, this Court reversed

the MPUC, holding it should have utilized NSP’s actual struc-

ture, “especially since the record shows it to be within the

normal range for comparable utilities.” (Jd.)

There can be no question of the continued vitality of North-

western Bell, or of its applicability to NWB, which has its

own capital structure. Nor can there be a serious question as

to the meaning of the case, though the MPUC asserts other-

wise:

“The Commission does not believe that the Supreme Court

in [Northwestern Bell] v. State established as a matter

of law that the Commission must first determine that

the company-proposed capital structure is unreasonable

before it evaluates or selects an alternative proposal.

In that decision the Court conducted its review on the

basis of the record before it. That record did not contain

competing capital structure proposals.” (A-228).

The short answer is that both Central Telephone, supra,

and Northern States Power, supra, contained “competing cap-

ital structure proposals,” yet, in each case, this Court reversed

the MPUC’s attempt to require the utility to prove the reason-

ableness of its actual capital structure. Indeed, Central Tel-

ephone is virtually indistinguishable from this case—except

that the “hypothetical” capital structure there was the par-

ent’s actual structure; here, the MPUC used a wholly fictitious

structure.

A-82

In Central Telephone, this Court noted the MPUC’s “strict

adherence to Northwestern Bell in recent cases,” in which

the MPUC had used the unreasonable or imprudent standard.

(356 N.W.2d at 702). In other words, that standard is the

standard of Northwestern Bell, just as the Company has

claimed all along.

3. The MPUC’s Capital Structure Determination Is Arbi-

trary and Capricious.

The MPUC’s capital structure determination is also con-

trary to its own precedents. In NWB’s 1982 general rate pro-

ceeding, the MPUC stated:

“In Northwestern Bell Telephone Co. v. State ... the

Minnesota Supreme Court indicated that the Commission

may not readily substitute its judgment for that of

company management on the issue of appropriate capital

structure. While this decision does not give utility man-

agement absolute discretion, the Commission believes

that the capital structure must be found unreasonable

or imprudent before the Commission chooses a different

structure.” (203 Order, at 32; See also, United Telephone

Co., Docket No. P-480/GR-82-200 (April 27, 1983)).?°

While the MPUC can overrule its own precedents, it must

provide sufficient reasons for doing so. (Central Telephone

Co. v. Minnesota P.U.C., supra, 356 N.W.2d at 702; Peoples

Natural Gas Co. v. Minnesota P.U.C., supra, 342 N.W.2d at

352-53).

Here, the MPUC made no effort to justify its departure

from its own precedents. Instead, it simply denied the con-

flict, stating that:

26In the 1984 Rate Order in this proceeding, the MPUC dismissed

the DPS’s recommendation, stating: “Dr. Thompson never demon-

strated that NWB’s capital structure was imprudent or unreason-

able.” (A-27).

SLL

A-83

“in so far [sic] as they may be interpreted to suggest

that there must be a finding of unreasonableness of a

company’s proposed structure before an alternative is

entertained, [these decisions] are clarified by this Order.”

(A-229).

But the 203 Order flatly stated:

“the Commission believes that the capital structure must

be found unreasonable or imprudent before the Commis-

sion chooses a different structure.” (203 Order, p. 32).

That these words require “clarification” is dubious, at best;

that they can be interpreted as the MPUC now suggests—the

opposite of their plain meaning—is nonsense. The words

simply will not bear the meaning the MPUC now wishes them

to carry, and no reasonable person could so find.

To support its conclusion in the OAR that NWB had the

burden of proving the reasonableness of its capital structure,

the MPUC cites and relies on Minn. Stat. § 237.075, subd. 4.

(A-227). But this Court has expressly rejected the notion

that this statute overruled Northwestern Bell and requires

the utility to prove the reasonableness of its capital structure.

(Central Telephone Co. v. Minnesota P.U.C., supra, 356 N.W.

2d at 702).?7

The MPUC must “give reasons for departing from its

prior norms and decisions.” (/d.) Implicit in that is the re-

quirement that the reasons form a legitimate basis for the

decision, which plainly is not the case here. The MPUC’s

decision is arbitrary and capricious and must be reversed.

(Id.)

27 The OAR also cites Rule 301 of the Minnesota Rules of Evidence

as support for the four-step procedure the MPUC purported to

follow here. (A-228). However, the MPUC denied any intent to

effect substantive changes by means of this procedure (/d.). and

Rule 301 has nothing to say about who has the burden of proof

on a given issue in a rate case.

A-84

4. The MPUC’s Capital Structure Determination Is Not

Supported By Substantial Evidence Viewing the Record

Whole.

No matter who had the burden to prove what, the record

establishes the reasonableness of NWB’s actual capital struc-

ture. The seven regional Bell holding companies created at

divestiture provide the vast bulk of exchange telephone ser-

vice in this country, serving some 80% of all telephone sub-

scribers. (See United States v. Western Elec. Co., Inc., 569

F. Supp. 990, 993 n. 8 (D.D.C. 1982)). The record indicates

that these companies’ equity ratios range from 53.5% to

56.9%, averaging about 55.6%. (Exh. 189, Scheds. 10R, 11R;

Ex. 188, pp. 26-27). NWB’s equity ratio of 56.4% and US

WEST’s equity ratio of 55.9% are thus “within the normal

range for comparable utilities” and should not have been

rejected by the MPUC. Petition of Northern States Power

Co., supra, 402 N.W.2d at 140.

Unwilling or unable to contradict or explain away this evi-

dence, the MPUC just ignored it. The OAR makes no men-

tion of the equity ratios of the regional Bell holding com-

panies, even though they were put into the record expressly

for the purpose of demonstrating the reasonableness of

NWPB’s actual capital structure. (Ex. 188, pp. 26-27).

This is particularly outrageous, in that the MPUC, citing

Dr. Thompson’s testimony, surveyed some of the comparable

groups used by some of the rate of return witnesses in their

cost of equity analysis, to determine its hypothetical capital

structure. (A-230-231). These groups did not include the

regional Bell companies, even though they were the subject

of Dr. Marcus’s and Dr. Litzenberger’s rate of return anal-

yses (Ex. 149, p. 3; Ex. 217, p. 1) and of Dr. Amit’s second-

ary analysis. (Ex. 191, p. 36). Instead, the MPUC looked at

the capital structures of the four telephone companies ana-

A-85

lyzed by Dr. Amit, the same four companies, plus AT&T,

analyzed by Mr. Morris, four telephone companies and four

electric companies initially analyzed by Dr. Litzenberger (who

later discarded that analysis in favor of a subsequent analysis

of the regional companies), and 25 electric companies analyzed

by Mr. Bauhard. The MPUC’s “analysis” of these groups con-

sisted of calculating their mean (average) equity ratios and

averaging the averages. (Ex. 157, Sched. 2).

Two of the five groups were from another industry: forty

percent of the analysis did not even involve telephone com-

panies. One of the three groups of telephone companies

(Centel, Continental Telephone, Mid-Continent Telephone,

and United Telephone) came from a rate of return study

withdrawn by its sponsor. The other two groups each con-

sisted of four companies (Cincinnati Bell, Mid-Continent

Telephone, Rochester Telephone, and Southern New England

Telephone) plus, in one case, AT&T. Thus, Mid-Continent

Telephone—a tiny fraction the size of NWB—was counted

three times, while the regional Bell companies—80% of the

industry—were ignored. Rational decisions are not made this

way.

The three telephone-company groups relied on by the

MPUC have a total of eight companies, with equity ratios

ranging from 33.54% to 61.69%. (Exh. 158). One can con-

clude from these data only that telephone companies have

vastly different capital structures, which is essentially what

the MPUC concluded in the 1984 Rate Order and in the 203

Order, when presented with similar data (A-78; 203 Order,

pp. 31-32).?8

28 Assuming electric companies have any relevance to the capital

structure determination (as opposed to return on equity), they

show similar disparities. The 29 electric utilities in the Bauhard

and Litzenberger groups have equity ratios ranging from 36.34%

to 51.45%. (Ex. 157, Sched. 2, pp. 3-4).

0

A-86

For all these reasons, the MPUC erred in using a hypo-

thetical capital structure in this proceeding. Its OAR should,

therefore, be reversed with a mandate to reinstate its original

determination utilizing the capital structure of US WEST

or to utilize NWB’s capital structure.*°

B. THE MPUC’S DECISION TO IMPUTE HYPOTHET-

ICAL DIRECTORY REVENUES IS CONTRARY TO

LAW, UNSUPPORTED BY SUBSTANTIAL EVI-

DENCE AND ARBITRARY AND CAPRICIOUS.

1. The MPUC’s Decision to Impute Revenues Is Barred

By This Court’s Decision in the Prior Appeal.

Issues related to the directory transfer and the appropriate

regulatory response were before this Court in Application of

Northwestern Bell Tel. Co., 367 N.W.2d 655 (Minn. App.

1985). This Court was there informed that NWB’s financial

data had been so presented as to insulate ratepayers from

any adverse impact of the directory decision and that, be-

cause of deficiencies in the available accounting data, there

were differences of opinion regarding the ultimate impact

on ratepayers. (See A-313-318). In light of this controversy,

this Court reversed the MPUC’s decision to order NWB to

resume publishing directories. In light of the fact that rate-

payers had been protected, and the existing controversy about

the ultimate effect of the transfer, this Court held:

“Accordingly, this case is remanded to the Commission

to enter findings consistent with this opinion and the

29 If the Court agrees that the Henry decision established the law

of the case on this issue, the MPUC should be directed to use US

WEST’s capital structure, as it did in the 1984 Rate Order. If,

however, the MPUC was free to reconsider this issue in the OAR,

it should have used NWB’s capital structure, and the Court's

mandate should so direct it now. As noted earlier, these structures

closely approximate each other.

A-87

Commission is ordered to reinstate the contract between

Northwestern and West Direct. The Commission can

make a review of the transfer and its future impact on

Northwestern’s rates on a more complete record in the

next rate case. If appropriate, an adjustment can be

made at that time.” (367 N.W.2d at 663, emphasis added).

In a subsequent, related decision, this Court upheld an

MPUC order imposing substantial new, detailed accounting

requirements on the Company with regard to directory mat-

ters so that more reliable and complete information would be

available in the next case. (See Application of Northwestern

Bell Telephone, 371 N.W.2d 563 (Minn. App. 1985)).

The MPUC ignored this Court’s direction. It did not enter

findings consistent with the Court’s opinion. Nor has it abided

by the Court’s admonition that adjustments, if appropriate,

should be made after an evaluation, based on a more complete

record, in the next rate proceeding. Instead, based on the

same record—with no new evidence—the MPUC made rate

adjustments. The law is clear that the MPUC cannot act

contrary to the reviewing Court’s mandate. In Holden v.

Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Co., 34 N.W.2d 920 (1948), the

Supreme Court held, that on remand, not only the express

findings and conclusions in the Supreme Court’s decision had

to be followed, but also any findings inherent and implicit

in that decision. See, also, In Re Estate of Boysen, 351 N.W.2d

at 398, 400-401 (Minn. App. 1984); Tankar Gas, Inc. v.

Lumbermen’s Mut. Casualty Co., 9 N.W.2d 754, 758 (1943).

Here the MPUC acted flatly contrary to this Court’s mandate.

The MPUC’s action is also contrary to the law of the case

as established by this Court. See Lange v. Nelson-Ryan Flight

Service, Inc., supra; see also, Minnesota Power & Light Co. v.

Minn. P.U.C., 342 N.W.2d 324 (Minn. 1983). It is also barred

A-88

by the doctrine of res judicata. Roseberg v. Steen, 363 N.W.2d

102, 105 (Minn. App. 1985); Hauser v. Mealey, 263 N.W.2d

803, 806 (Minn. 1978); Shimp v. Sederstrom, 233 N.W.2d

292, 294 (Minn. 1975).

The MPUC could not, consistent with the Court’s prior de-

cisions, make major adjustments to NWB’s revenue require-

ments.

2. The MPUC’s Decision To Impute Directory Revenues

Is Contrary To Other Applicable Principles of Sub-

stantive Law.

Under Minnesota law, the MPUC can make affiliated inter-

est adjustments only in limited circumstances. In Northwest-

ern Bell Telephone Company v. State, 216 N.W. 841, 854

(Minn. 1974), the Supreme Court held:

“[I]t seems to us unreasonable to arbitrarily penalize

the company for doing business with an affiliate where

there is no evidence that subscribers would benefit by

the company’s securing supplies elsewhere. That is not

to say that if prices charged both by the affiliate and by

its competitors are exorbitant and improperly reflect

leverage obtained by monopolistic practices, the commis-

sion would not be warranted in disallowing what is

excessive.”

As noted by this Court in Application of Northwestern Bell

Tel. Co., 367 N.W.2d at 661, the MPUC’s authority is limited

to “disregard[ing] unwarrented payments to affiliates when

calculating the ‘just and . °° onable’ rates.” 367 N.W.2d at

661, emphasis added.

The MPUC ignored these standards. It did not analyze

the directory contracts or find them to be substantively in-

appropriate in the fashion required by the Supreme Court.

It made no meaningful attempt to adjust the Company’s rate

A-89

case financials to reflect the impact of the contracts. All the

MPUC has done is express a vague concern about the relative

benefits of the contracts and impose a heavy penalty upon

the Company because the MPUC dislikes the transfer.

This is obvious because NWB’s rate case financials were

presented on a business-as-usual basis—i.e., as though the

transfer had never taken piace—and the ratepayers were

fully insulated from any alleged detrimental financial effects

of the transfer. The MPUC’s OAR captures all of the benefits

of the business-as-usual approach and, by imputing addi-

tional hypothetical revenues to NWB—“to allow for the im-

pact of the removal of directory operations”—, the MPUC

has placed the ratepayers in a better position than they would

have been if the transfer had never taken place. Thus, under

the OAR, NWB is placed in the anomalous position of suffer-

ing a $2.5 million penalty*°—and the ratepayers get a $2.5

million windfall—merely because NWB made a lawful bus-

iness decision with which the MPUC disagrees.

3. The MPUC’s Decision To Impute Hypothetical Directory

Revenues to the Company is Not Supported By Substan-

tial Evidence and is Arbitrary and Capricious.

Major adjustments to NWB’s test year financials must be

supported by substantial evidence. See, e.g., Henry v. Minne-

sota Public Utilities Commission, 392 N.W.2d 209, 216 (Minn.

1986); Hibbing Taconite Co. v. Public Service Commission,

302 N.W.2d 5, 9 (Minn. 1980). The major adjustment to di-

rectory revenues adopted by the MPUC is without such sup-

port.

As discussed earlier, NWB’s business-as-usual approach

fully protected ratepayers. Beyond that, however, the adjust-

30The MPUC has no jurisdiction to impose penalties. See Coastal

Oil & Gas Corp. v. FERC, 782 F.2d 1249 (5th Cir. 1986); Southern

Union Gas Co. v. FERC, 725 F.2d 99 (10th Cir. 1954).

A-90

ment adopted by the MPUC was faulty in several major re-

spects. The adjustment was not sponsored by any witness to

the proceeding; it was merely a refinement of a calculation

constructed by the DPS for the first time in its Brief to the

ALJ.

Moreover, the adjustment completely ignored the fact that

—pursuant to FCC and MPUC prescribed accounting systems

—many directly related expenses (i.e., expenses associated

with pensions, profit sharing, payroll taxes and general over-

head) are not separately identifiable and were not taken into

account in the adjustment. (See Exh. 359). Thus, the expenses

considered in constructing the adjustment are hopelessly er-

roneous.

Similarly, the adjustment is predicated upon continuation

of historical growth in directory revenues. The evidence was

to the contrary, demonstrating that past revenue growth was

attributable almost entirely to price increases, not volume

growth. (Tr. Vol. 45, p. 71). At the end of 1983, directory

advertising prices in Minnesota were among the highest in

the nation and widespread price cutting and increased com-

petition in the industry was anticipated. (Exh. 317, p. 4; Tr.

Vol. 45, p. 71, p. 92). in short, there was no basis to assume

that growth in directory revenue was sufficiently certain to

form the basis for a major adjustment. See Northwestern

Bell Tel. Co. v. State, 253 N.W.2d 815, 822 (Minn. 1977).

C. THE MPUC’S DECISION TO REQUIRE THE COM-

PANY TO REDUCE RATES PROSPECTIVELY

DUE TO A NON-EXISTENT TAX SURPLUS IS

CONTRARY TO LAW, UNSUPPORTED BY SUB-

STANTIAL EVIDENCE AND IS ARBITRARY AND

CAPRICIOUS.

The OAR requires NWB to reduce rates to reflect a spe-

cific deferred tax surplus that no longer exists. Pursuant to

A-91

prior MPUC’s orders, rates have been reduced on a continuous

basis since 1982, so that the entire surplus has been ex-

tinguished. Yet the OAR and the MPUC’s subsequent orders

require NWB to reduce rates prospectively, as though rate-

payers are entitled to future rate discounts based on the non-

existent surplus.

This MPUC’s decision is contrary to law and confiscatory

because it results in an arbitrary reduction in NWB’s cost of

service and the establishment of rates insufficient to earn the

MPUC authorized rate of return. This is contrary to Minn.

Stat. § 237.075, subdivisions 5 and 6 and NWB’s constitutional

right to avoid confiscation of its property.

The decision is also contrary to the decision of this Court

in Application of Northwestern Bell Tel. Co., 367 N.W.2d

655 (Minn. App. 1985). One of the issues there was whether

the MPUC could require NWB to amortize and return to

ratepayers unamortized investment tax credits that NWB no

longer owned. This Court held the MPUC erred by reducing

NWB’s cost of service to reflect non-existent credits. (367

N.W.2d at 661-663). The MPUC attempted essentially the

same thing here. It wants to give the ratepayers continuing

credit—on a prospective basis—for a surplus that no longer

exists.

The situation here is analogous to the investment tax credit

issue in the Court’s prior decision in another respect. There,

this Court determined that the MPUC’s decision to reflect

non-existent tax credits in the Company’s cost of service

would violate the Internal Revenue Code. Precisely the same

situation exists here.

The Internal Revenue Code requires the “normalization

method of accounting” be followed in order to qualify for

accelerated depreciation for tax purposes. (Section 167(1)

i ab ae

A-92

(3)(G)). Corresponding IRS regulations provide that the

taxpayer loses its tax deferral if it fails to normalize. (Trea-

sury Regulation 1.167(a)-11(b)6.) In addition, Treasury Reg-

ulation § 1.167(1)-1(h) (2) states:

“The taxpayer must credit the amount of deferred Fed-

eral income tax determined under subparagraph (1) (i)

of this paragraph for any taxable year to a reserve for

deferred taxes, a depreciation reserve, or other reserve

account. The taxpayer need not establish a separate re-

serve account for such amount but the amount of deferred

tax determined under subparagraph (1)(i) of this para-

graph and must be accounted for in such a manner so as

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.